Petition for Writ of Certiorari — California v. Carney

Supreme Court brief1985

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

. a ©

83-859

NO.

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATS

October Term, 1983

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Petitioner,

v.

CHARLES R. CARNEY,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JOHN K. VAN DE KAMP,

Attorney General of the

State of California

MICHAEL D. WELLINGTON,

Deputy Attorney General

LOUIS R. HANOIAN,

Deputy Attorney General

110 West A“ Street, Suite 700

San Diego, California 92101

Telephone: (619) 237-7281

Attorneys for Petitioner

i.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Fourth and

Fourteenth Amendments to the United

States Constitution permit law enforce-

ment officers to conduct a search of a

fully mobile “motor home" without a

search warrant, pursuant to the vehicle

exception to the warrant requirement

created by this Court in Carroll v.

United States (1925) 267 U.S. 132, 149,

when the officers have probable cause

to believe the motor home contains that

which is lawfully subject to seizure.

2. Whether the underlying

basis for the vehicle exception is

inherent mobility, as this Court

announced in Carroll, or whether the

California Supreme Court correctly

interpreted the United States Consti-

tution when it repudiated the Carroll

reasoning and announced the underlying

ii.

basis for the vehicle exception was

reduced expectation of privacy.

3. If a motor home is

entitled to different treatment from

other vehicles, how does one distin-

guish between a motor home and any

other vehicle for purposes of the

vehicle exception.

iii.

TOPICAL INDEX

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

STATEMENT OF FACTS

HOW THE FEDERAL QUESTION

IS PRESENTED

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

ARGUMENT

I

THE CALIFORNIA SUPREME

COURT ERRONEOUSLY

DISREGARDED PRECEDENT

OF THIS COURT IN HOLDING

THAT MOBILITY OF A

VEHICLE HAS BEEN

SUPPLANTED BY REDUCED

EXPECTATION OF PRIVACY

AS THE BASIS FOR THE

VEHICLE EXCEPTION TO

THE FOURTH AMENDMENT'S

WARRANT REQUIREMENT

/

/

/

Pages

2

2

3

3- 4

4- 8

S8- 9

10 - 13

14 30

14 - 23

iv.

TOPICAL INDEX

(continued)

11 PETITIONER'S WRIT OF

CERTIORARI SHOULD BE

GRANTED TO RESOLVE A

CONFLICT IN THE FEDERAL

CIRCUIT COURTS OF

APPEALS AS TO THE BASIS

FOR THE VEHICLE EXCEPTION 24 = 25

III THE CALIFORNIA SUPREME

COURT'S FAILURE TO

DEFINE "MOTOR HOME" IS

CONTRARY TO THE NEED TO

PROVIDE LAW ENFORCEMENT

WITH WORKABLE GUIDELINES

BY WHICH TO REGULATE

THEIR CONDUCT 26 - 30

CONCLUSION 30

APPENDICES

Vv.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Arkansas v. Sanders (1979)

442 U.S. 753

Brinegar v. United States

(1949) 338 U.S. 160

Cady v. Dombrowski (1973)

413 U.S. 433

Carroll v. United States

(1925) 267 U.S. 132 15, 20,

Chambers v. Maroney (1970)

399 U.S. 42

Colorado v. Bannister (1980)

449 U.S. 1

Dyke v. Taylor Implement Co.

(1968) 391 U.S. 216

New York v. Belton (1981)

453 U.S. 454

Pecple v. Carney (1983)

34 Cal.3d 597 15,

People v. Chavers (1983)

33 Cal. 3d 462

People v. Laursen (1972)

8 Cal.3d 192

People v. McKinnon (1972)

7 Cal.3d 899

21, 25

27

2, 14,

17, 27

17, 27

17

17

vi.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(continued)

CASES Pages

South Dakota v. Opperman

(1976) 428 U.S. 364 22.

State v. Million (Ariz. 1978)

583 P. 2d 897 17

State v. Sardo (Ariz. 1975)

543 P. 2d 1138 17

United States v. Cadena

(5th Cir. 1979)

588 F.2d 100 16, 21, 25

United States v. Clark

(5th Cir. 1977)

559 F.2d 420 23

United States v. Cusanelli

(6th Cir. 1973)

472 F.2d 1204 16, 25

United States v. Gonzalez-Rodriguez

(9th Cir. 1975)

513 F.2d 928 25

United States v. Lovenguth

(9th Cir. 1975)

514 F.2d 96 16, 21, 25

United States v. Miller

(10th Cir. 1972)

460 F.2d 582 16, 21. 25

United States v. Montgomery

(10th Cir. 1980)

620 F.2d 753 21, 25

vii.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(continued)

CASES Pages

‘United States v. Rodgers

(5th Cir. 1971)

442 F.2d 902 21, 25

United States v. Ross (1982)

456 U.S. 798 15, 18, 27

United States v. Wiga

(9th Cir. 1981)

662 F.2d 1325 24

United States v. Williams

(9th Cir. 1980)

630 F.2d 1322 24

CONSTITUTIONS

United States Constitution,

Fourth Amendment 23, 24, 26, 29

Fourteenth Amendment 26

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1983

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Petitioner,

CHARLES R. CARNEY,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner, State of California,

respectfully prays that a writ of cer-

tiorari be issued to review the judgment

and opinion of the Supreme Court of the

State of California reversing the order

of probation, entered on September 8,

1983. A petition for rehearing was

denied October 6, 1983. The remittitur

was issued on October 11, 1983.

2 So

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the California

Supreme Court reversing the order of

probation (People v. Carney (1983) 34

Cal.3d 597) appears as Appendix A of

this petition. A copy of the California

Supreme Court's order denying the peti-

tion for rehearing without opinion

appears as Appendix B.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the California

Supreme Court was filed on September 8,

1983. A timely petition for rehearing

was denied on October 6, 1983. This

petition is filed within 60 days of that

date and is therefore timely. This

Court's jurisdiction is invoked under

28 U.S.C. section 1257(3).

/

/

/

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

United States Constitution,

Amendments Five and Fourteen.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In an information filed by the

District Attorney of San Diego County of

September 14, 1979, respondent, Charles

Richard Carney, was charged with a

single count of possession of marijuana

for sale. (CT 1.)/

Respondent's motion to suppress

evidence taken from the search of his

motor home was submitted on the tran-

script of the preliminary hearing and

/

/

/

1. The designation "CT" refers to

the Clerk's Transcript on appeal. The

designation "RT" refers to the

Reporter's Transcript on appeal.

ec

subsequently denied on October 19, 1979.

(CT 41.)

On November 5, 1979, respon-

dent withdrew his not guilty plea and

entered a plea of nolo contendere to the

charge. On January 8, 1980, respondent

was granted probation for a period of

three years. (CT 34-36, 44.)

Respondent's conviction was

affirmed by the California Court of

Appeal on March 18, 1981. On September

8, 1983, the California Supreme Court

reversed respondent's grant of proba-

tion.

STATEMENT OF FACTS”/

While engaged in an ongoing

investigation into narcotics activities

2. The facts are taken from the

Reporter's Transcript of the preliminary

examination held on September 5, 1979.

This testimony served as the sole evi-

dentiary basis for the trial court's

decision to deny respondent's motion to

suppress evidence.

= 2

in downtown San Diego on May 31, 1979,

Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA)

Agent Robert Williams observed respon-

dent, Charles Carney, approach a young :

Mexican boy. Williams continued to

observe the transaction because respon-

dent did not seem to belong in the area.

Agent Williams watched as respondent and

the boy got into a Dodge Mini Motor Home

which was parked in a public parking lot

at 4th and G Streets. (RT 4-8, 10.)

Agent Williams noted the

license number of the motor home and

recalled he had, on numerous occasions,

received informaton that this particular

vehicle was involved in drug activity.

The information was received by letter

and telephone contacts from an organiza-

tion known as “WETIP" (We Turn In

Pushers). Agent Williams knew the motor

home belonged to Lee Bowman. Williams

also knew an unidentified man had taken

Bowman's place in dealing narcotics, and

exchanging marijuana for sex with young

boys, from the motor home. Williams

estimated the age of the boy respondent

escorted into the motor home to be 15 or

16. (RT 8-10, 14-15, 51, 55.)

The boy emerged from the motor

home approximately an hour and a quarter

after entry. Williams, along with

Agents Clem and Peralta, followed the

boy, made contact with him and informed

the boy they were agents conducting a

narcotics investigation. In response

to Williams’ questions, the boy stated

the “older man" asked him to have sex

with him. He allowed the older man to

orally copulate him in exchange for a

small bag of marijuana. (RT 15-22.)

Williams took the boy back to

the motor home and had the boy knock on

2 955

the door. When respondent opened the

door and stepped out of the motor home,

Williams, Clem and Peralta identified

themselves as agents. Agent Clem

stepped up one step and looked inside

the motor home to see if there were any

other occupants in the vehicle. Clem

observed, in plain view on a table

inside the motor home, a large bag of

marijuana, a small bag of marijuana,

some Ziploc baggies and a scale. When

Clem informed Williams of his observa-

tions, Williams placed respondent under

arrest. Photographs of the interior of

the motor home were taken by Agent

Williams. The vehicle was then driven

to the National City office of the

Narcotics Task Force for an inventory.

During the inventory search marijuana

was found inside the cupboard above the

table and inside the refrigerator. (RT

23-27, 29, 34-35, 40-49, 72-73.)

HOW THE 12 —

In the trial court, counsel

for respondent filed a motion to sup-

press the evidence seized from his motor

home on the ground the seizure violated

both the federal and state constitu-

tions. (CT 2-16.) The trial court

denied respondent's motion on several

bases, one of which was that the search

of the motor home and seizure of evi-

dence therefrom was authorized by the

vehicle exception to the Fourth Amend-

ment's warrant requirement. Respondent's

argument to the California Court of

Appeal, that the “automobile exception"

did not apply to a motor home, was

rejected by the Court of Appeal.

Respondent presented the same argument

2 @<

to the California Supreme Court. In its

opinion, the California Supreme Court

held a motor home is fully protected by

the United States Constitution's Fourth

Amendment guarantee against —

search and seizure and is not subject to

the “automobile except ion“ to the

warrant requirement. (34 Cal.3d 597,

610; appen. A, p. 30.) Underlying the

California Supreme Court's decision is

the premise that inherent mobility has

been supplanted by reduced expectation

of privacy as the primary reason for

the “automobile exception." (34 Cal.3d

at pp. 604-605; appen. A, pp. 11-17.)

Petitioner's timely petition for

rehearing unsuccessfully urged the

California Supreme Court's decision was

erroneously based on a mistaken premise,

and that the court failed to define the

scope of its rule.

- 10 -

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The California Supreme Court

has erroneously disregarded the holdings

of this Court concerning the basis under-

lying the vehicle exception to the Fourth

Amendment's warrant requirement. The

California Supreme Court held inherent

mobility of a vehicle no longer provides

the basis for the vehicle exception.

Instead, the California Supreme Court

erroneously referred to the exception as

an “automobile exception" and concluded

it is premised on a reduced expectation

of privacy an individual has in his

automobile. Based upon this false pre-

mise, the California Supreme Court held

the search of respondent's motor home

could not be based on the “automobile

exception" because an individual has a

greater expectation of privacy ina

motor home than in an automobile.

5 if «

The premise underlying the

California Supcene Court's decision con-

flicts with close to 60 years of prece-

dent from this Court. According to the

opinions of this Court, inherent mobi- ,

lity of a vehicle creates sufficient

exigency to render a warrant unnecessary

to search a vehicle, provided there is

probable cause to search. Thus, this

Court should grant the writ to insure

the Federal Constitution is properly

interpreted in accordance with this

Court's decisions.

This case is critically

important because there are millions

of vehicles travelling the highways

of this nation which could be called

"motor homes." Most of these vehicles

have added room and facilities inside

which make them particularly useful as

mobile criminal operational centers.

2 12 -

Increasingly law enforcement is finding

the larger models being used as illegal

drug laboratories. Though many of the

vehicles which could be characterized

as motor homes are large, they are no

less mobile than a subcompact automobile.

In fact, because they may be fully self-

contained, such vehicles are far more

mobile than the traditional automobile.

Though the California Supreme

Court creates a constitutionally signi-

ficant class of vehicles, those vehicles

which make up the class remain a mystery

because the California Supreme Court

never defines the class. Law enforce-

ment officers have been saddled with the

impossible burden of discerning the

constitutional significance of the

hunreds of shapes, makes and present

uses of motor vehicles. This burden

Stands in stark contrast to need for

e 13 «

clear standards or “brightlines* which

has been recognized by this Court.

(New York v. Belton (1981) 453 U.S. 454,

458.) Thus, instead of interpreting the

United States Constitution in such a

fashion as to provide guidance to those

sworn to enforce its provisions, the

California Supreme Court has created

a rule which defies definition. This

unacceptable state of affairs can be

settled only through intervention from

this Court.

_ eh i a a a eee

- 14 «

THE CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT

ERRONEOUSLY DISREGARDED

PRECEDENT OF THIS COURT IN

HOLDING THAT MOBILITY OF A

VEHICLE HAS BEEN SUPPLANTED

BY REDUCED EXPECTATION OF

PRIVACY AS THE LASIS FOR

THE VEHICLE EXCEPTION TO

In its majority opinion, the

California Supreme court engages in a

discussion of the genesis of what it

calls the “automobile exception" to the

warrant requirement of the Fourth

Amendment. (People v. Carney (1983) 34

Cal.3d 597, 604-605; appen. A, pp. 9-17.)

Though it recognized the Original reason

for the exception was the inherent mobi-

lity of vehicles, the California Supreme

Court incorrectly concluded mobility is

no longer the prime justification for

the automobile exception under the

—

federal constitution, focusing instead

on the diminished expectation of privacy

which surrounds the automobile. (People

v. Carney, supra, 34 Cal.3d pp. 604-605;

appen. A, pp. 10-17.) The California

Supreme Court's conclusion is contrary

to this Court's decisions and accepted

policy.

The overwhelming bulk of

authority supports the position the

Primary reason for the vehicle exception

under the federal constitution is the

inherent mobility of the vehicle.

Mobility was the justification used

by this Court 59 years. ago when it

announced the vehicle exception.

(Carroll v. United States (1925) 267

U.S. 132, 153.) As recently as 1982.

this Court confirmed mobility as the

basis for the exception. (United States

. Ross (1982) 456 U.S. 798, 804-809.)

- 16 -

Between 1925 and 1982 this Court

repeatedly reconfirmed this premise.

(See, Colorado v. Bannister (1980) 449

U.S. 1, 3; Chambers v. Maroney (1970)

399 U.S. 42, 48-49; Dyke v. Taylor

Implement Co. (1968) 391 U.S. 216, 221;

Brinegar v. United States (1949) 338

u.S. 160, 164.) The United States

Circuit Courts of Appeals have applied

the Carroll analysis. (See, United

States v. Cadena (5th Cir. 1979) 588

F.2d 100, 102; United States v.

Lovenguth (9th Cir. 1975) 514 F.2d 96,

99; United States v. Cusanelli (6th Cir.

1973) 472 F.2d 1204, 1206; United States

v. Miller (10th Cir. 1972) 460 F.2d 582,

585.) The Supreme Court of Arizona twice

addressed the vehicle exception in the

context of a motor home case and based

its decisions on the inherent mobility

e 19 «

of the vehicle. (State v. Million

(Ariz. 1978) 583 P.2d 897, 902; State

v. Sardo (Ariz. 1975) 543 P.2d 1138,

1142.) As recently as February of 1983,

the California Supreme Court recognized

mobility as the primary basis for the

vehicle exception. (People v. Chavers

(1983) 33 Cal.3d 462, 468-469; see also,

People v. Laursen (1972) 8 Cal.3d 192,

201; People v. McKinnon (1972) 7 cal. 3d

899, 907.)

For whatever reason, the

California Supreme Court chose to rede-

fine the exception ignoring this Court's

precedent. In its discussion of United

States v. Ross (People v. Carney, supra,

34 Cal. Id at pp. 605-606, fn. 3; appen.

A, pp. 14-16 ) the California court

ignored the Ross court's discussion of

mobility as the primary basis for the

« 16

vehicle exception. (United States v.

Ross, supra, 456 U.S. at pp. 804-809.)

Such action demonstrates a steadfast

refusal to follow this Court's inter-

pretation of the United States

Constitution.

This case demonstrates the

critical importance of the reason

underlying tne exception. Obviously,

if mobility is the primary reason for

the vehicle exception an operable motor

home, like the one in this case, would

be subject to the exception. A contrary

result was reached in this case because

it was analyzed by the court purely on

a privacy theory, completely ignoring

mobility. Thus, it is evident the basis

for the vehicle exception is a critical

factor in the analysis of vehicle search

cases. Defining the basis for the

exception is the exclusive province of

- 19 -

this Court, and this Court has defined

the exception as one based on mobility.

The California Supreme Court's disagree-

ment on this point cannot survive.

One reason for the California

Supreme Court's mistaken interpretation

of the basis for the exception is demon-

strated by its characterization of the

exception as an “automobiie exception"

instead of a vehicle exception. Though

commonly referred to as the automobile

exception, Chief Justice Taft announced

a vehicle exception in Carroll v. United

States.

"On reason and authority

the true rule is that if the

search and seizure without a

warrant are made upon probable

cause, that is, upon a belief,

reasonably arising out of cir-

cumstances known to the seizing

officer, that an automobile

or other vehicle contains that

aw is subject to

seizure and destruction, the

search and seizure are valid.

The Fourth Amendment is to be

e 2 «

construed in the light of what

was deemed an unreasonable

search and seizure when it was

adopted, and in a manner which

will conserve public interests

as well 23s the interests and

rights of individual citizens."

87 united 9145

67 U.S. at p.

— added.)

The rationale for the rule

underscores its application to all

vehicles.

"We have made a somewhat

extended reference to these

statutes to show that the

guarantee of freedom from

unreasonable searches and

seizures by the Fourth Amend-

ment has been construed, prac-

tically since the beginning of

the Government, as recognizing

a necessary difference between

a search of a store, dwelling

house or other structure in

respect of which a proper

official warrant readily may

be obtained, and a search of

hig otor boat gon Or

5 J hes for e 8e

r

ccality of jurisdictic

ch the warrant m

= 21 «

ht." (Carroll v. United

e

The application of the Carroll rule to

vehicles and vessels other than auto-

mobiles further demonstrates mobility

is the true basis for the exception.

(See, United States v. Montgomery (10th

Cir. 1980) 620 F. 2d 753, 760, (warrant-

less search of an airplane and camper);

United States v. Cadena, supra, 588 F.2d

at p. 102, (search of a ship); United

States v. Lovenguth, supra, 514 F.2d at

p. 99 (search of a camper) ; United

States v. Miller, supra, 460 F.2d at p.

585, (search of a fully self-contained

Econoline van); and ited States v.

Rodgers (Sth Cir. 1971) 442 F.24 902,

904, (search of camper).) Without

question, the exception is based upon

the inherent mobility of the vehicle and

the exception applies to every operable

vehicle in use, be it an automobile, a

motor boat, or a Conestoga Wagon, the

19th century equivalent of a motor home.

Petitioner does not suggest

expectation of privacy does not have a

place in the analysis of a vehicle

search. Indeed, the lack of a reason-

able expectation of privacy serves as an

independent justification for a warrant-

less search. (Arkansas v. Sanders

(1979) 442 U.S. 753, 761.) Once a

vehicle has been rendered immobile,

expectation of privacy becomes a factor

for consideration in evaluating the

propriety of a warrantless search.

(See, South Dakota v. Opperman (1976)

428 U.S. 364, 368; Cady v. rowski

(1973) 413 U.S. 433, 441-442.) However

the vehicle in this case was Clearly not

rendered immobile. Furthermore, peti-

tioner is aware of no authority prior to

e 33 «

the California Supreme Court's decision

in this case, which has held expectation

of privacy totally supplants mobility as

the touchstone for analysis of a warrant-

less search of an occupied vehicle in a

public place. It is critical for this

Court to grant petitioner's writ of

certiorari to insure the vehicle excep-

tion to the Fourth Amendment's warrant

requirement is properly and consistently

applied in all the courts of this land.

R * *

» £6 «

11

PETITIONER'S WRIT OF

CERTIORARI SHOULD BE

GRANTED TO RESOLVE A

CONFLICT IN THE FEDERAL

CIRCUIT COURTS OF APPEALS

AS TO THE BASIS FOR THE

VEHICLE EXCEPTION

The California Supreme Court

is not the only appellate court in the

country to hold expectation of privacy

has supplanted mobility as the basis for

the vehicle exception. The Ninth Circuit

Court of Appeals held a motor home is not

subject to the vehicle exception because

of the heightened expectation of privacy

associated with the vehicle. (United

States v. Williams (9th Cir. 1980) 630

F.2d 1322, 1326; accord, United States

v. Wiga (9th Cir. 1981) 662 F.2d 1325,

1329.) Williams and Wiga provide a

stark contrast to cases from the other

federal circuits and prior Ninth Circuit

cases which apply the mobility analysis

— =

of Carroll v. United States, supra, 267

U.S. at page 153, to searches of vehicles

and vessels capable of serving as one's

home. (In the Tenth Circuit, United

States v. Montgomery, supra, 620 F.2d

at p. 760; United States v. Miller,

supra, 460 F.2d at p. 585; in the Ninth

Circuit, United States v. Lovenguth,

supra, 514 F.2d at p. 99; United States.

v. Gonzalez-Rodriguez (9th Cir. 1975)

513 F. 2d 928, 931; in the Sixth Circuit,

United States v. Cusanelli, supra, 472

F.2d at p. 1206; and in the Fifth

Circuit, United States v. Cadena, supra,

588 F.2d at pp. 101-102; United States

v. Clark (5th Cir. 1977) 559 F.2d 420,

423-424; United States v. Rodgers (5th

Cir. 1971) 442 F.2d 902, 903.) This

schism in the circuits serves as an

independent and compelling justification

for the granting of petitioner's writ.

—

111

THE CALIFORNIA SUPREME

COURT'S FAILURE TO

DEFINE “MOTOR HOME”

IS CONTRARY TO THE

NEED TO PROVIDE LAW

ENFORCEMENT WITH

WORKABLE GUIDELINES

BY WHICH TO REGULATE

THEIR CONDUCT

The Fourth Amendment of the

United States Constitution es applied to

the states by the Fourteenth Amendment

protects individuals from unreasonable

searches and seizures. A police officer,

who is not trained to make fine legal

distinctions must nonetheless insure his

conduct in searching a vehicle is reason-

able. Guidance for the officers is

essential. An indisputable need for

Clear standards or “brightlines" to

guide the conduct of police in vehicle

searches has been articulated by this

Court and by the California Supreme

Court. (New York v. Belton (1981) 453

U.S. 454, 458; United States v. Ross,

supra, 456 U.S. at pp. 803-804; People |

v. Chavers, supra, 33 Cal.3d at p. 469.)

Flying in the face of this

pressing need for stability in search

cases is the California Supreme Court's

steadfast refusal to define the term

"motor home." (People v. Carney, supra,

34 Cal.34 at p. 614 (dissenting opinion);

appen. A, pp. 46-47.) The California

Supreme Court has thus created a consti-

tutionally significant class of vehicles,

without providing a useable definition

of the class.

The term “motor home" defies

objective definition. The California

Supreme Court simply concluded a motor

home is a hybrid“ between a motor

vehicle and a home. (People v. Carney,

Supra, at p. 606; appen. A, p. 17.)

Such a characterzation is of no help to

law enforcement officers who must now

distinguish between motor homes and

motor vehicles. The particular hybrid

referred to by the court has the charac-

teristics of a chameleon and covers the

entire range of vehicle configurations.

A subcompact car where the driver keeps

a sleeping bag may be done“ just as the

Winnebago with interior plumbing, refri-

geration and sleeping for six may simply

provide transportation. Present use and

subjective intent of the user of the

vehicle is the critical factor to the

characterization of a vehicle as a motor

home. Unlike mobility, such factors are

not subject to objective confirmation.

On a daily basis law enforce-

ment will come in contact with every

imaginable vehicle in innumerable

situations. They will be expected to

make reasonable decisions regarding

search and seizure based upon objective

factors. Yet, in vehicle search cases

the California Supreme Court has taken

away the brightline of mobility as the

basis for the search and replaced this

brightline with the fuzzy concepts of

present use and intent. By erasing the.

brightline, this case does little but

announce a new search and seizure issue

which will require law enforcement to

work “at risk" and will both encourage

and require years of litigation to

fashion a workable rule. This rule was

announced under the guise of the Fourth

Amendment of the United States Consti-

tution. In light of the acknowledged

need for brightlines, it is vitally

important to the citizens of al. states

and to law enforcement officials for

this Court to ensure a workable, readily

@ 96 «

def inable rule to apply to all vehicle

searches.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons

petitioner respectfully submits that

the writ of certiorari should issue to

review the decision of the Supreme Court

of the State of California.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN R. VAN DE KAMP,

Attorney General of the

State of California

MICHAEL D. WELLINGTON,

Deputy Attorney General

.

IS R. HANOIAN,

Deputy Attorney General

Attorneys for Respondent

LRE:mb/bah

11/21/83

SD80DA0 206

APPENDIX A

APPENDIX A

[Filed September 8, 1983]

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

No. CRIM 22047

Superior Court No. CR 47927

OPINION

THE PEOPLE,

Plaintiff and Respondent,

v.

CHARLES R. CARNEY,

Defendant and Appellant.

al

Defendant was charged with

possession of marijuana for sale.

(Health & Saf. Code, § 11359.) After

unsuccessful motions to suppress evi-

dence seized from his motor home, defen-

dant pleaded nolo contendere and was

SEE DISSENTI PINION

granted probation. He appeals from that

order.

The major issue presented is

whether the warrantless search of defen-

dant's motor home was justified by an

exception to the warrant requirement.

The People seek to justify the search

on two alternate theories: (1) the

automobile exception and (2) the pro-

tective sweep exception.2/ We conclude

that neither of these proposed justifi-

cations is applicable under the facts of

this case and hence the order must be

reversed.

/

/

1. The People have apparently

abandoned their contention, raised

below, that the motor home was validly

searched as an “instrumentality of the

crime.“ In any event, our decision in

People v. Minjares (1979) 24 Cal.3d

410, 421-422, explicitly rejected this

argument.

e fe} «

I

Agent Robert Williams of the

Drug Enforcement Administration under-

took a surveillance of suspected drug

dealer Lee Bowman in the Horton Plaza

area of downtown San Diego. Williams

noticed defendant because “he did not

look like he fit in the area there, and

he was approaching a Mexican boy and

talking to him." Defendant and the

youth walked to a nearby parking lot,

entered a Dodge motor home parked there

and closed the curtains, including one

across the front window.

Williams noted the license

plate number of the motor home and

recalled having received uncorroborated

information from which he inferred that

defendant “had taken the place of the

person [i.e., Bowman] we were following

and [that he was] dealing narcotics."

e Ahead

The information was furnished by an

organization called "WeTip" (We Turn in

Pushers); it suggested that the motor

home was associated with an individual

who reportedly was exchanging marijuana

for sex.

Additional officers, including

an agent by the name of Clem, arrived in

response to a request by Williams. The

motor home was kept under surveillance

during the entire hour and a half that

defendant and the youth were inside.

After the youth left the motor home the

officers followed, stopped and questioned

him. He told them the occupant of the

motor home had given him marijuana in

exchange for allowing the man to perform

oral copulation on him.

The youth then complied with

the officers’ request that he return to

the motor home, knock on the door, and

o AaS

ask defendant to come out. Defendant

answered the door and as he stepped out

of the motor home, the agents identified

themselves as law enforcement officers.

Agent Clem entered the motor home; '

inside he observed marijuana, ziploc

bags, and a scale on a table. On the

basis of Clem's observations, Williams

arrested defendant, seized the motor

home, and drove it to the police sta-

tion. A subsequent search of the motor

home revealed additional marijuana in

the cupboards and refrigerator.

At the preliminary hearing

defendant moved to suppress the evidence

seized from both searches of the motor

home. The motion was denied by the

magistrate on the ground that as to the

initial search, Agent Clem had the right

to enter to look for other persons; the

more thorough second search was upheld

© Ac6 o

as a standard inventory search. Defen-

dant unsuccessfully renewed his suppres-

sion motion in the superior court, which

found that (1) there was sufficient pro-

bable cause to arrest defendant; (2) the

search of the motor home was authorized

under the automobile exception; and (3)

the motor home itself could be seized as

an instrumentality of the crime.

11

Article I, section 13, of the

California Constitution establishes the

tight of the people of this state to be

secure in their persons, houses, papers

and effects against unreasonable searches

and seizures. The Fourth Amendment pro-

vides a similar guarantee. This protec-

tion has repeatedly been interpreted to

require the impartial approval of a

judicial officer before undertaking most

searches. (Payton v. New York (1980)

o fa? o

445 U.S. 573, 583-585; People v. Dalton

(1979) 24 Cal.3d 850, 855.) “In the

ordinary case .. a search of private

property must be both reasonable and

pursuant to a properly issued search

warrant." (Arkansas v. Sanders (1979)

442 U.S. 753, 758.)

The importance of the judicial

warrant cannot be overemphasized: "'The

warrant requirement has been a valued

part of our constitutional law for

decades, and it has determined the result

in scores and scores of cases in courts

all over this country. It is not an

inconvenience to be somehow “weighed”

against the claims of police efficiency.

It is, or should be, an important working

part of our machinery of government,

operating as a matter of course to check

the “well-intentioned but mistakenly

overzealous executive officers" who are

o Rne®

a part of any system of law enforcement’

.. By requiring that conclusions

concerning probable cause and the scope

of a search ‘be drawn by a neutral and

detached magistrate instead of being

judged by the officer engaged in the

often competitive enterprise of ferreting

out crime' [citation], we minimize the

risk of unreasonable assertions of exe-

cutive authority." (Id. at pp. 758-759.)

Thus, searches conducted without the

benefit of the judicial warrant process

are per se unreasonable under the

Fourth Amendment — subject only to a

few specifically established and well-

delineated except ions. (Mincey v.

Ar i zona (1978) 437 U.S. 385, 390,

quoting Katz v. United States (1967)

389 U.S. 347, 357; accord, People v.

Minjares, supra, 24 Cal.3d at p. 416.)

o i®

It is against this background

that we examine defendant's challenge to

the warrantless search of the living

compartment of his motor home. If that

search is to be upheld, it is the state's

burden to show that it falls within one

of the "few carefully circumscribed and

jealously guarded exceptions" (People v.

Dalton, supra, 24 Cal. zd at p. 855) to

the warrant requirement. (People v.

Dumas (1973) 9 Cal. 3d 871, 881; Arkansas

v. Sanders, supra, 442 U.S. at p. 760;

McDonald v. United States (1948) 335

U.S. 451, 456.)

In the present case the state

seeks to justify the search primarily

under the so-called "automobile

exception.” Our formulation of the

controlling principles of that doctrine

provides that "officers are empowered

- »« to search an automobile as ‘long

- A-10 -

as it can be demonstrated that (1)

exigent circumstances rendered the

obtaining of a warrant an inpossible

or impractical alternative, and (2)

probable cause existed for the search.“

(Wimberly v. Superior Court (1976) 16

Cal. 3d 557, 563.)

The “automobile exception" had

its genesis in Carroll v. United States

(1925) U.S. 132; it has since been

expanded and extensively litigated to

the point that this area of search and

seizure law is now characterized as

"troubled" (United States v. Ross (1982)

798, 172 L. Ed. 2d 572, 589)) and

"something less than a seamless web"

(Cady v. Dombrowski (1973) 413 U.S.

433, 440). The court in Carroil pre-

mised its analysis on the notion that

there is a constitutional difference

between houses and cars. The underlying

- A-ll -

rationale for this distinction was the

inherent mobility of automobiles. 3

(Carroll, supra, 267 U.S. at p. 153;

Cooper v. California (1967) 386 U.S. 58,

59; see also Katz, Automobile Searches

and Diminished Expectations in the

Warrant Clause (1982) 19 M. cr in. L. Rev.

557, 563-565 (hereafter referred to as

Katz).) California courts have indepen-

dently relied on similar reasoning.

(People v. Laursen (1972) 8 Cal. 3d 192,

201; People v. McKinnon (1972) 7 Cal. 3d

899, 907; People v. Odom (1980) 108

Cal.App.3d 100, 107.)

Although subsequent decisions

have purported to rely on the mobility

justification, the courts have recog-

nized that this reasoning alone fails

to support their sustaining of "“warrant-

less searches of vehicles . . in cases

in which the possibilities of the

- A-12 -

vehicle's being removed or evidence in

it destroyed were remote, if not non-

existent." (Cady v. Dombrowski, supra,

413 U.S. at pp. 441-442; accord, United

States v. Chadwick 11977 433 U.S. 1, |

12; South Dakota v. Opperman (1976) 428.

U.S. 364, 367.) This is demonstrated

first by the line of cases in which

warrantless searches were upheld regard-

less of the automobile's actual mobi-

lity, e.g., where there was no immediate

danger that the vehicle would be removed

from the jurisdiction. (See, e.g., Cady,

supra, 413 U.S. 433 [car, disabled as

result of accident, in control of police;

driver, sole occupant, arrested and

hospitalized]; Chambers v. Maroney

(1970) 399 U.S. 42 [occupants of car

arrested and car taken to police

station]; Cooper v. California (1967)

386 U.S. 58 [defendant arrested and car

- A-13 -

impounded J.) Conversely, another line

of decisions disapproves certain warrant-

less searches of containers despite the

recognition of their “mobility."

(Sanders, supra, 442 U.S. 753 (suitcase

in trunk of car]; Chadwick, supra, 433

U.S. 1 [footlocker in trunk of car];

People v. Minjares, supra, 24 Cal.3d at

p. 418 lreal, rather than theoretical,

exigencies are required before luggage

may be searched without a warrant]; see

also United States v. Ross, supra, 456

U.S. at p. 172 L. Ed. 2d at pp. 584-

586, 592-593] [containers in cars in

which there is probable cause to believe

contraband is being transported deter-

mined to be less protected than con-

tainers in other settings]; but see

/

/

/

- A-14 -

Coolidge v. New Hampshire (1971) 403

U.S. 443, 461, fn. 18.27

In the face of this apparent

volatility, the courts have recognized

that mobility is no longer the prime

justification for the automobile excep-

tion; rather, “the answer lies in the

diminished expectation of privacy which

surrounds the automobile." (Chadwick,

supra, 433 U.S. 1, 12; People v.

Minjares, supra, 24 Cal.3d at p. 418;

see also Katz, op. cit. supra, 19

Am.Crim.L.Rev. at pp. 564-572; State v.

Bottelson (Idaho 1981) 625 P. 2d 1093,

1096.)2/ A variety of factors that

Be For a thoughtful discussion

of the development of the “automobile

exception,“ see Note, Warrantless

Vehicle Searches and the Fourth Amend-

ment: The Burger Court Attacks the

Exclusionary Rule (1982) 68 Cornell

L.Rev. 105.

3. This reasoning is not under-

mined by United States v. Ross, supra,

- A-15 -

that reduce the expectation of privacy

in automobiles have been identified

Footnote 3 continued:

the most recent Supreme Court decision .

to address the “automobile «xception."

In Ross, the court was called upon to

resolve the conflict, which is involved

in every case in which an automobile is

stopped on a highway or public street,

"between the individual's constitution-

ally protected interest in privacy and

the public interest in effective law

enforcement." (456 U.S. at p. 172

L. Ed. 2d at p. 580].) The court

suggested that an "individual's expec-

tation of privacy in a vehicle and its

contents may not survive if probable

cause is given to believe that the

vehicle is transporting contraband."

(Id. at pp. 592-593.) Thus, it held

that "if probable cause justifies the

search of a lawfully stopped vehicle,

it justifies the search of every part

of the vehicle and its contents that

may conceal the object of the search."

(Id. at p. 594.) This holding signals

a retreat from the earlier container“

cases without overruling them entirely.

As one commentator has paraphrased it,

under the new rule "when police officers

have probable cause to stop an automobile

on the street and the object of their

search is not some specifically iden-

tifiable container known to be inside,

they may search the entire car and open

any package or container the officers

find inside whether they have a search

- A-16 -

by the courts. one has a lesser expec-

tation of privacy in a motor vehicle

because its function is transportation

and it seldom serves as one's residence

or as the repository of personal effects

[t travels public thoroughfares

where both its occupants and its con-

tents are in plain view." (Italics

Footnote 3 continued:

warrant or not." (Note, United States

v. Ross: Search and Seizure Made Simple

(1983) 10 Pepperdine L.Rev. 421, 446.)

This expansion of the scope of

automobile searches has no relevance to

the issue raised by the case at hand if

we determine that the justifications for

the “automobile exception" are inappli-

cable to motor homes. The only aspect

of Ross that relates to the present case,

therefore, is the extent to which the

court expresses a continued concern for

expectations of privacy in the search

and seizure area. As discussed above,

although Ross holds there is a lowered

expectation of privacy in automobiles

and containers placed in automobiles,

this does not signal a retreat from the

general principles of expectations f

privacv in other settings such as those

presented by the case at ber.

- A-17 -

added.) (Cardwell v. Lewis (1974) 417

U.S. 583, 590.) In other words, the

expectation of privacy as to automobiles

is . . .« diminished by the obviously

public nature of automobile travel."

(South Dakota v. Opperman, supra 428

U.S. at p. 368; see also Rakas v.

Illinois (1978) 439 U.S. 128, 154, fn. 2

(conc. opn. by Powell, J.).) Moreover,

"automobiles, unlike homes, are subject

to pervasive and continuing governmental

regulation and controls“ which adds to

the lessened expectation of privacy.

(Id.; accord, United States v. Chadwick,

supra, 433 U.S. 1, 12-13.)

In the present case, we are

called upon to apply this reasoning to

a hybrid ~- a motor home -- which has

the mobility attribute of an automobile

combined with most of the privacy

characteristics of a house. Defendant

- A-18 -

maintains that the factors discussed

above that dilute the expectation of

privacy in automobiles do not so affect

the privacy interests in a motor home.

We agree.

First and foremost, unlike an

automobile the primary function of a

motor home is not transportation. Motor

homes are generally designed and used as

residences; their essential purpose is

to provide the occupant with living

quarters, whether on a temporary or a

permanent basis. Both Vehicle Code

section 396 and Health and Safety Code

section 18008 refer to a mobilehome not

as a vehicle but as a transportable

"structure." The motor home at issue

here was equipped with at least a bed,

/

/

/

- A-19 -

a refrigerator, a table, chairs, cur-

tains and storage cabinets .4/ Thus the

contents of the motor home created a

setting that could accommodate most

private activities normally conducted

in a fixed home. The configuration of

the furnishings, together with the use

of the motor home for all manner of

strictly personal purposes, strongly

suggests that the structure at issue

is more properly treated as a residence

than a mere automobile.

Homes are afforded the maximum

protection from warrantless searches and

4. The record does not disclose

what other fixtures, furnishings or

appliances (i.e., stove, sink, etc.)

were installed in this particular motor

home. Amicus implies that it also had

bathing and toilet facilities, but the

record is silent on the point. Although

a more complete record would have been

helpful, its omission does not bar us

from concluding that defendant's motor

home is more akin to living quarters

than to a mere mode of transportation.

- A-20 -

seizures. (People v. Ramey (1976) 16

Cal.3d 263, 271, 273-276; People v.

Dumas, supra, 9 Cal.3d at p. 882, fn.

8.) The physical entry of the home

is the chief evil against which the

wording of the Fourth Amendment is

directed.'" (Payton v. New York, supra,

445 U.S. at p. 585.) The fact that a

motor home is not affixed to real pro-

perty does not demean its protected

status as a house.

"The concept that a man's home

is his castle is an ancient one. It has

had a profound effect upon our legal

history. Its application to the inno-

cent and the guilty, the rich and the

poor it no figment of the imagination

of modern-day judges." (United States

v. Nelson (6th Cir. 1972) 459 F.2d 884,

885.) The classic exhortation of

William Pitt, Earl of Chatham, bears

- A-21 -

repetition: the poorest man may in

his cottage bid defiance to all the

force of the Crown. It may be frail;

its roof may shake; the wind may blow

through it; the storms may enter, the

rain may enter; but the King of England

cannot enter -- all his force dares not

cross the threshold of the ruined

tenement!'" (Quoted in Miller v. United

States (1958) 357 U.S. 301, 307.) The

principal function of the structure here

was to provide living quarters rather

than a means of transportation; further-

more, this function was reasonably

apparent from the exterior of the motor

home. For these reasons, it is entitled

to a degree of protection similar to

that accorded an Englishman's cottage

or “ruined tenenent.

Se In People v. Dumas, supra, 9

Cal.3d at page 882, footnote 9, we cited

= A-22 -

We recognize that motor homes

are commonly used as temporary living

quarters for vacations or other short-

term visits away from one's primary

residence. This factor, however, does

not diminish the reasonable expectation

of privacy. No less than a tenant of

a house, or the occupant of a room in a

Footnote 5 continued:

United States v. Miller (10th Cir. 1972)

460 F.2d 582, as holding that a “mobile

camper van" is to be accorded protection

similar to that given an automobile.

This reference, however, was merely part

of a review of the law of other juris-

dictions in various related fact situ-

ations; we did not intend thereby to

express any approval of the holding in

Miller. In any event, the Miller court

not undertake an expectation of pri-

vacy analysis, but instead upheld the

search under the “totality of the facts

and circumstances." (Id. at p. 586.)

Furthermore, Miller was decided prior

to Chadwick, supra, which significantly

altered the federal constitutional

analysis to be applied to automobile

search cases. For these reasons, Miller

is not persuasive authority on the

question presented here.

- A-23 -

boarding house, [citation] a guest in a

hotel room is entitled to constitutional

protection against unreasonable searches

and seizures." (Stoner v. California

(1964) 376 U.S. 483, 490; accord, People

v. Escudero (1979) 23 Cal.3d 800, 807.)

It is established beyond question that

those who stay temporarily in hotels or

motels while away from their —

residences are protected from intrusions

into the privacy of such temporary

Iiv. 3 quarters (ibid.); no pervasive

reason has been suggested why persons

who rely on motor homes for such shelter

should be penalized by depriving them of

similar protections.

In this same vein, although an

automobile may seldom be used as a repo-

sitory of intimate effects, the same

characteristic is not true of a motor

home. To the extent an individual uses

- A-24 -

a motor home as his permanent or tem-

porary residence, it, as much as a

house, serves as his “place of refuge"

in which he should be "free from

unreasonable governmental intrusion."

(Silverman v. United States (1961) 365

U.S. 505, 511.) In this sense, a motor

home often serves as a repository for

personal effects to the same degree as

a home, an office, or certainly a piece

of luggage.

Finally, unlike a car, the

interior and contents of an ordinary

motor home are not generally exposed

to the public, nor are the occupants,

the furnishings or any personal effects

in plain view. The decisions of the

Supreme Court have time and again

underscored the essential purpose of the

Fourth Amendment to shield the citizen

from unwarranted intrusions into his

- A-25 -

privacy.’ [Citations.] I.. III [I]t

is [therefore] the right to privacy that

is the touchstone of our inquiry."

(Cardwell v. Lewis, supra, 417 U.S. at

pp. 589, 591; see also Katz v. United

States, supra, 389 U.S. at pp. 351-352.)

The interior of a motor home is often

fully shielded from view by its design:

the windows, if any, are generally so

small or placed in such a manner that

little or none of the interior can be

seen by a person standing outside.

Moreover, whatever view exists may be

blocked by window coverings such as sha-

des, curtains, or blinds. Regardless of

its particular configuration, however,

in the case of a motor home as with a

fixed house the issue is whether the

occupant manifests an objectively

reasonable expectation of privacy in

the interior. Defendant's expectation

— A-26 -

of privacy in the motor home here was

clearly justifiable.

In a recent decision the Ninth

Circuit has also held the “automobile

exception" inapplicable to a motor home.

(United States v. Williams (9th Cir.

1980) 630 F.2d 1322, 1326.) In Williams,

border patrol agents detained an auto-

mobile that had been — with a

Pace Arrow motor home; the agent

suspected the car might be transporting

illegal aliens. The driver of the car

directed the agent to the motor home to

obtain a key for the car's trunk; occu-

pants of the motor home denied any

knowledge of the key or the car. The

agents broke into the trunk of the car

and discovered contraband and substances

used in the manufacture of contraband.

One agent, suspicious of the association

between the car and the motor home,

- A-27 -

returned to the motor home, which had

moved in the interim, and arrested its

occupants. Five hours later, narcotics

agents arrived and searched the motor

home without a warrant.

The court held this search

could not be justified under the “auto-

mobile exception" because of the greater

expectation of privacy associated with

a motor home: “The vehicle in question

was not an ordinary automobile but a

motor home. Whatever expectations of

privacy those travelling in an ordinary

car have, those travelling in a motor

home have expectations that are signifi-

cantly greater. People typically do not

remain in an auto unless it is going

somewhere. The same is not true of a

motor home, in which people can actually

live. In the ordinary motor home, the

glass is tinted or shades can be drawn

- A-28 -

so that passers-by cannot peer in.

Moreover, many, like the one in this

case, have beds and fully equipped

baths, making them in some senses more

akin to a house than a car. In light

of .. . these factors, we cannot uphold

this search merely because it was a

search of a motor home." Ai.)

At the very core of the Fourth

Amendment protection against warrantless

searches stands the right of an invidi-

dual to retreat into his own home and

there be free from unreasonable govern-

ment intrusion. An individual can

still control a small part of his

environment, his house; he can retreat

6. Ultimately the court upheld

the search on the basis of exigent cir-

cumstances of danger arising from the

special risks associated with the manu-

facture of a particular controlled

substance under these conditions (i.e.,

the presence of volatile chemicals).

(Id. at p. 1327.)

- A-29 - ‘

thence from outsiders, secure in the

knowledge that they cannot get at him

without disobeying the Constitution. é'

- « « A sane, decent, civilized society

«ust provide some such oasis, some .

shelter from public scrutiny, some

insulated enclosure, some enclave, some

invoilate place which is a man's

castle. (Silverman v. United States,

supra, 365 U.S. 505, 511-512, fn. 4.)

These principles hold true no less for

the home resting on wheels than for the

home resting on a cement foundation. In

that the outward appearance of the motor

home here would have alerted a reason-

able person to believe it was likely to

be serving as at least a temporary resi-

dence, it was entitled to the protec-

tions traditionally given to a nome.

7. Of course, even if the func-

tion of the structure or vehicle is not

- A-30 -

Accordingly, we esnciuée that

a motor home is fully protected by the

Fourth Amendment and is not subject to

the “automobile exception." Of course

this does not preclude all warrantless

searches of motor homes; it simply means

that such searches cannot be justified

by that particular exception to the

warrant requirement .2/ We therefore

proceed to inquire into the remaining

Footnote 7 continued:

apparent from its exterior, the protec-

tions will come into play at whatever

point a reasonable person would realize

that the place being searched is serving

as a home (e.g., from its furnishings or

other residential accoutrements.)

8. We note in this respect that

the People present no cognizable claim

of "exigent circumstances" independent

of the automotible exception itself. In

that the incident occurred on a weekday

afternoon while the motor home was parked

within a few blocks of the courthouse,

it would have been quite simple for the

officers to seek a warrant from a magi-

strate and to have thereby avoided all

their present difficulties.

- A-31 -

justification for the search offered by

the People.

111

The People next assert that

their initial search of the living quar-

ters of defendant's motor home should be

upheld as a “protective sweep" for other

suspects who might endanger the law

enforcement officers or destroy evi-

dence. On the record before us this

purported justification must fail.

Defendant contends the protec-

tive sweep theory is being raised for

the first time on appeal and must there-

fore be disregarded. (See Lorenzana v.

Superior Court (1973) 9 Cal.3d 626, 640;

People v. Superior Court (Simon) (1972)

7 Cal. d 186, 198-199.) He concedes the

argument was made by the People at the

preliminary hearing, but maintains that

their failure to renew it in superior

- A-32 -

court bars them from asserting it on

appeal. In the circumstances of this

case, the point is not well taken.

First, the record does not support

defendant's version of the superior

court hearing: at that hearing the

district attorney, although not arguing

the point, expressly stated that “we are

not conceding the fact that the officer

had no right to look for other suspects,

because I think he had every right to

protect himself by doing just that. The

points and authorities just point out

there are a number of different theories

upon which the search . .. can be

justified."

Second, the parties agreed to

make the preliminary hearing transcript

a part of the record in the superior

court proceeding. “While it is prefer-

able for the prosecution to set forth

- A-33 -

its justification for a warrantless

search... in its responses to the

defendant's motion to suppress evidence,

the People’s theory or justification can

be determined from the evidence and

argument offered." (People v. Whyte

(1979) 90 Cal.App.3d 235, 242; see also

People v. Manning (1973) 33 Cal.App.3d

586, 601.) One rationale for the rule

prohibiting the People from raising a

new justification on appeal is that to

allow them to do so would “deprive the

defendant of a fair opportunity to pre-

sent an adequate record in response.

(People v. Superior Court (Simon),

supra, 7 Cal. Id at p. 198; accord,

People v. Miller (1972) 7 cal. 3d 219,

227.) The People here advanced the pro-

tective sweep theory at the preliminary

hearing; in fact the magistrate appar-

ently ruled in the People's favor on

- A-34 -

that ground. Defendant had the oppor-

tunity to, and did, attack the proposed

justification at that time. The full

record of the preliminary hearing

reflecting these arguments and counte-

rarguments was before the superior court

when it ruled on the suppression motion.

Under these circumstances, there is no

bar preventing the People from now

urging the point.

We turn therefore to the

substance of the People's protective

sweep justification. In People v. Block

(1971) 6 Cal.3d 239, we articulated the

rule that under certain limited cir-

cumstances warrantless searches for

additional suspects are permissible.

In Block, police officers arrested

defendant and a number of other people

during a well-attended “pot party"; one

officer then went upstairs in search of

- A-35 -

other possible suspects, ‘and while there

observed marijuana in plain view. We

held that the facts known to the officer

(i.e., presence of six or seven persons

downstairs at a “pot party“ involving an

undetermined number of participants;

‘lights on upstairs) supported a reason-

able belief that additional culpable

persons might be in the house; the

officer's search was therefore reason-

able.

We emphasized, however, that

a determination of the reasonableness

of the officer's actions was “dependent

upon the existence of facts available to

him at the moment of the search or

seizure which would warrant a man of

reasonable caution in the belief that

the action taken was appropriate.

[Citation.] And in determining whether

the officer acted reasonably, due weight

- A-36 -

must be given not to his unparticu-

larized suspicions or ‘hunches,' but

to the reasonable inferences which he

is entitled to draw from the facts in

the light of his experience; in other

words, he must be able to point to

specific and articulable facts from

which he concluded that his action was

necessary." (Id. at p. 244.)

In Dillon v. Superior Court

(1972) 7 Cal.3d 305, we applied Block

and held that the circumstances pre-

sented did not justify a search for

other suspects. There, police officers

investigating reports of marijuana

cultivation in a backyard accompanied

the defendant to the suspected location

behind the house and arrested her. The

defendant then went inside the house to

make a phone call, again accompanied by

the officers. The officers, over the

- A-37 -

defendant's objection, searched the

entire house and located contraband.

We held that the information

known to the officers did not constitute

"sufficient and articulable facts“ to

justify the search: None of the offi-

cers testified hat he was in fear of

his life or safety. The detective in

charge admitted that he had no specific

articulable information that any

suspects were in the house at that

moment; only general information that

two other persons had been living at

the house." (Id. at p. 313.) We

concluded that “the mere possibility of

additional persons in the house, without

more, is not enough to provide probable

cause to search the entire premises for

additional suspects. ... [4] [Tjhe

mere fact that the marijuana plants were

found in the backyard and that two

- A-38 -

others had been living at the house,

without additional facts, does not

furnish probable cause to believe that

others may be present in the house.

(Id. at p. 314.)

Federal law applies a similar

standard and allows protective sweep

searches only “when the officers reason-

ably believe that there might be other

persons on the premises who could pose

some danger to them." (United States v.

Gardner (9th Cir. 1980) 627 F.2d 906,

909-910, and cases cited; accord, United

States v. Allen (9th Cir. 1980) 675 F.2d

1373, 1382; United States v. Bowdach

(Sth Cir. 1977) 561 F. 2d 1160, 1168-

1169.) The underlying rationale for the

protective sweep doctrine is, of course,

the exigent circumstances exception to

the warrant requirement: “When police

officers, acting on probable cause and

- A-39 -

in good faith, reasonably believe from

the totality of circumstances that (a)

evidence or contraband will imminently

be destroyed or (b) the nature of the

crime or character of the suspect (s)

pose a risk of danger to the arresting

officers or third persons, exigent cir-

cumstances justify a warrantless entry,

search or seizure of the premises."

(ns. omitted; italics added.) (United

States v. Kunkler (9th Cir. 1982) 679

F.2d 187, 191-192; accord, United States

v. Gardner (5th Cir. 1977) 553 F.2d 946,

948; United States v. Guidry (6th Cir.

1976) 534 F.2d 1220, 1222-1223; see also

People v. Ramey, supra, 16 Cal. Id at p.

276.)

Applying the foregoing prin-

ciples to the case at hand, we conclude

that the facts presented did not justify

the warrantless entry of the motor home.

- A-40 -

As we have noted herein, the

burden is on the People to establish

that a warrantless search was justified

under an exception to the warrant

requirement. Thus, to the extent the

People relied on the protective sweep

theory, it was their burden to show that

the officers were aware of specific,

articulable facts from which they could

reasonably infer other suspects were in

the motor home.

In essence, the People contend

that the WeTip letter sufficiently jus-

tified a reasonable belief that other

suspects might be present. This letter

purportedly (1) linked the motor home to

drug dealing activities, and (2) indi-

cated that Lee Bowman was customarily

using the motor home for such activi-

ties. We note first that the WeTip

letter was based on uncorroborated

- A-41 -

anonymous information, rot a justifiable

basis, without more, for specific and

articulable suspicions. Second, the

reference to Bowman in the letter had no

relevance to whether he was inside the

motor home at the time defendant vas

arrested. In Dillon, we held that the

mere possibility that others might be 7

inside the house based on the fact more

than one person lived there was insuf-

ficient to support a protective sweep

search. In the present case there was

even less support: the WeTip infor-

mation was of marginal reliability, and

even if relied on, it indicated only a

possible association of Bowman to the

motor nome. Bowman's tenuous connection

to the motor home provides little sup-

port for a reasonable belief that he

lived there or that he was present at

the time of defendant's arrest. Indeed,

- A-42 -

Agent Williams testified he believed

defendant “had taken the place“ of

Bowman.

Moreover, the motor home had

been under surveillance for over an hour

and no one except defendant and the

youth had entered or left. None of the

officers testified that they had any

reason to believe there were other

suspects inside or that they did in fact

subjectively believe this was the case.

Furthermore, the record is silent as to

whether the officers questioned the

youth to discover if there were others

inside, and if they did, what his

response was. Had the officers been

truly concerned for their safety, it

would have been elementary for them to

have asked the person who had just left

the motor home how many people were

- A-43 -

inside. Thus, the People failed to

establish that the officers had a

reasonable belief, grounded on specific

articulable facts, that other persons

were inside the motor nome. / The

People's attempt to justify the search

9. This is not to say, of course,

that had the youth stated defendant was

alone, the officers would have been

required to trust his response. It

appears likely, however, that if the

officers believed the boy's admission

that he received marijuana for sex,

there would be little reason to dis-

believe a far less incriminatory state-

ment as to the number of occupants in

the motor home. In any event, any

response would simply have been another

factor for the officers to consider in

determining whether there was reasonable

cause under the totality of the circum-

stances to believe others were inside

the motor home.

10. We also note that none of the

officers even alluded in his testimony

to a suspicion that evidence or contra-

band was in danger of imminent destruc-

tion. We conclude therefore that the

People did not rely on potential destruc-

tion of evidence as part of their justi-

fication for the protective sweep search.

- A-44 -

on the basis of the protective sweep

exception must, therfore, be rejected.

In light of the foregoing, the

order of probation is reversed and the

/

, an Ti

ll. Because of our conclusion in

parts II and III, ante, that the initial

warrantless search of the motor home was

not justified by an exception to the

warrant requirement, we need not reach

the issue of the validity of the sub-

sequent search. In any event, the bur-.

den, of course, would be on the People

to justify this additional warrantless

search. The only argument asserted by

the People on this point, however,

relies solely on the validity of the

initial search of the motor home; i.e.,

the People contend that the marijuana

and paraphernalia found as a result of

the first search provided probable cause

to believe additional contraband would

be found insidethe motor home. Our

holding that the initial search was

unreasonable leads inevitably to the

conclusion that its fruits cannot be

used to justify the subsequent search.

- A-45 -

case is remanded to the trial court to

permit defendant to withdraw his plea

and for further proceedings consistent

with this opinion. (People v. Miller

(1983) 33 Cal. 3d 545, 556.)

MOSK, J.

WE CONCUR:

BIRD, C.J.

KAUS, J.

BROUSSARD, J.

REYNOSO, J.

GRODIN, J.

- A-46 -

BY J

I respectfully dissent.

In my view, under the facts of

the present case the officer's search of

defendant's vehicle was valid by reason

of the “automobile exception" to the war-

rant requirement. (See People v. Chavers

(1983) 33 Cal.34 462.) The majority

holds, however, that “a motor bone

is not subject to the ‘automobile excep-

tion.'" (Ante, p. [maj. opn., at p.

A-30 Ip. 16 of orig. opn.].) Considering

the necessity for careful guidance to

law enforcement, I have several objec-

tions to that generalization.

First, the majority fails

to define its terms. What precisely

sre “motor homes"? They are almost

- A-47 -

infinitely variable in size, shape,

design, access, and visibility. Some of

the smaller ones are the most enclosed.

Others are separately attahched as

trailers, while still others have direct

access from the driver's cab. Is a |

camper or recreational vehicle a “motor,

home"? What about a large van or truck?

As we explained so recently in Chavers,

"there is a demonstrable need for clear

guidelines by which the police can gauge

and regulate their conduct, rather than

a complex set of rules dependent upon

the particular facts ...." (33

Cal. Jd at p. 469.) Although the

majority uses the term as if it were

readily understood, I fird no definition

either in statute or dictionary.

Moreover, the majority implies

that any motorized vehicle which also

serves as a residence“ would be

- A-48 -

afforded constitutional protection as

a “motor home." Some people live in the

cab of a truck. For others, “home” may

be a sleeping bag thrown in the back of

a pickup truck. The interior of many

vehicles is obscured by tinted glass or

shades or venetian blinds. Does this

fact alone establish the vehicle as a

residence“ for Fourth Amendment pur-

poses? If it does not, how then are.

police officers to determine that a

protectible "residential" use actually

exists without first entering the

vehicle? If a motor home is a resi-

dence, what is the address of the

residence?

We are concerned, here, with

metters of degree. I fully agree that

definitions are difficult and that those

who “reside” or “live” in a motorized

vehicle have a heightened expectation

- A-49 -

of privacy, but broad generalizations

are not useful. While protecting the

citizens from unreasonable police intru-

sions, we also should recognize the

difficulty facing law enforcement in

balancing its obligation to protect

the general public from criminal

depredation.

In my view, if the facts

reasonably indicate to the investigating

officers that the vehicle is currently

being used primarily as a residence

rather than for transportation purposes,

then the “automobile exception" would be

inapplicable. Such residential use

might be indicated by the attachment to

exterior utility services, for example.

On the other hand, if the facts reason-

ably disclose no such residential use,

or if they indicate that such use is

- A-50 -

secondary or collateral to transpor-

tation purposes, then the exception

should apply. The reason for the

"exigency" exception, the full mobility

of a motor vehicle, has equal applica-

tion to “motor homes." With most motor

homes, the residence“ can be three

states away in a matter of hours.

In the present case, defen-

dant's “motor home" was parked on a

weekday afternoon in a downtown vehicular

public parking lot near commercial

enterprises, rather than in a neighbor-

hood mobile home park or other usual

facility indicating current residential

use. To me, a “motor home" parked in a

public parking lot is more “vehicle”

than "residence." Of course, it may be

both and I readily acknowledge that we

are working in gray areas. However,

given the time of day and the location

- A-51 -

of defendant's vehicle, the officers

reasonably could assume that it was then

being used primarily, predominantly and

principally for transportation uses. |

Accordingly, the search was valid.

I would affirm the judgment.

RICHARDSON, J.

- A-52 -

PEOPLE v. CHARLES R. CARNEY

Crim. 22047

COUNSEL FOR THE PARTIES:

FOR APPELLANT/PETITIONER:

Thomas F. Homann

1168 Union St., Suite 201

San Diego, CA 92101

(619) 239-9459

FOR RESPONDENT:

Louis R. Hanoian

Office of the Attorney

General

110 West A Street

San Diego, CA 92101

(619) 237-7370

SUPERIOR COURT: San Diego

SUPERIOR COURT NO.: CR 47927

SUPERIOR COURT JUDGE: Honorable

William T. Low

APPENDIX B

APPENDIX B

[Filed October 6, 1983]

Order Due

October 7, 1983

ORDER DENYING REHEARING

Crim. No. 22047

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

IN BANK

PEOPLE

Vv.

CHARLES R. CARNEY

Application for stay of

issuance of remittitur DENIED.

Respondent's petition for

rehearing DENIED.

Richardson, J., is of the

opinion the petition should be granted.

[signed] BIRD

Chief Justice

d Ale

szegg pue AQ tres 103 pue u

8 7 1 qu jO dor) stu

aw S 10g eq oa UIOMS pue/ peqrzoSqns

7

1

DD BP OTLL ‘etuzost1eo ‘obetd ues ye peqed

200 pue

ani3z st bufoßpszog ayy zeug AanfC1red 30 Ajjteued sepun srejpoep I

*pesseippe os soetd does pue buyTTew jo soeTd oy useMjeq Tren

$03e3S pez tun Aq UOTZeOTUNWUOD IeTNbel 10 pesseippe os aoetd

yoea 3e Tren seze3s pez tun Aq 9428s AiaatTep e St 2H

e fuzogiteg ‘obeata ues ze su Aq Tren sezeas peafun sda UT 23}sodep

ptedeid ebeysod sua data pue peTeess usyy sem dot sau yore”

Spe ‘MoT °L WeTTTIM uon

OL AUZAITAG AOA

Totz6 Wo ‘obetd ues

Aempeoig 389M Ot r

31no9 101 1Tedng obetgq ues

Nato ‘3TeMwNZ d 32

ZOTP6 WO oss fue ues

osor sans “a8 JSAISTTTWOW OSE

eTUIOJTITeD JO 3anog sweidns

1119 ros *d Susanne

totes Wo ‘obetd ues

Totz6 Wo ‘obetd ues

ZOOL wood ‘Aempeoig 359M OCT

Aauzo0jzaw a0 fas HG Oed ueg

21 Tn ufap A uo

c O TY 6 WD ‘oostoueig ues

ser e3tNS 430979S a n4eH OGET

japueyed OTTQnd sgeas And

zeeizyos *T 852099

OTO9 e3TNS “39238 UCIT OSET

suo unos rA

zo tfaasHd getteddw ua ano

Teeddy jo 32209

Totz6 Wo ‘obetda ues

tot sans 439079S UOTUN 8911

met 3e Aug

uuewoyH A sewouL

:SMOTTOJ se peueu vosseippe yoRee og puke 103 pesseippe adoTeaue

ajzeiedes e ut satdoo ¢ Buroetd Aq ‘GNW ‘pextTzze oguns zd ST asneo

STUQ UT PeTTJ ausungop sda 30 Adog 3981309 pue nag e uod jo

‘satdoo ét pue teufbfao ue ‘EpSoz od 'uoaufusen sszegs ber fun

dug 30 ano susadns “A210 ‘seaeas I aJepuexeTY OL *SMoTTOJ

Se IUVUOIIuao JO LIUM uod NOILILAd UTYITM sua PQ SAeY I

"TOTZ6 eTusoJTTeD ‘obetd ues ‘OOL @3tNs “388438

ase OTT Bbuteq sseippe sseuTsnqg Aw ‘asneo joefqns su OF

Izzed e jou pue ‘peizinooo buftfeu pegeas 012 aya AqunoD YyoTYyA

ut obefd ues 30 AQunoD sua UT pedotdwe ‘abe jo ses BT 1290

‘saqeq3s peatun sua jo uaezT ATO e we 1 :Aes ‘GENSISUBGNN AHL ‘I

* quapuocdsey

ANN “a Sa'TYWHO

"A

JaUuOTII3ed

*WINYOAI TWO

JO AZLWLS FHL 40 a1dOdd

AG AOIANaS dO LIAVGIddV

TOTZ6 etTusozytTeD ‘obetd ues

OOL sans „seas WY 359M OTT

te asus Aauz033y KAZ nde

NVIONWVH Au 8100707

eTUIOJTTeD JO seas sua

jo TezsueH Asuzogav

dNMVI Ad NWA N NHOC

ꝛ AU On

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.