Appendix — Drummond Co. v. Hodel

Supreme Court brief1987

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

86 - 10 aia Supreme Court, U.S,

FILED

| DEC 9R 1986

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

No. 86- CLERK

IN THE

Siywenw Court of the Wuited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

DRUMMOND COMPANY, INC.,

Petitioner,

V.

DONALD P. HODEL,

SECRETARY OF THE INTERIOR,

Respondent.

APPENDIX TO

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Of Counsel: MICHAEL B. BARR

WILLIAM B. LONG (Counsel of Record)

DRUMMOND Co., INC. CHARLES D. OSSOLA

101 Walston Bridge Road DEBORAH S. COLBY

Jasper, Alabama 35501 HUNTON & WILLIAMS

(205) 387-0501 P.O. Box 19230

2000 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 955-1500

Counsel for Petitioner

Drummond Company, Inc.

December 26, 1986

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

APPENDIX

TABLE OF CONTENTS

CASES:

Drummond Coal Company v. Hodel, 796 F.2d 503

Eee I saccadic krcndcks Sh cence pdeomdeticeansAanakentoping

Drummond Coal Company v. Hodel, 610 F. Supp.

Se BE Sette kn cicncntniidomealin

Order Denying Petition for Rehearing and Sug-

gestion for Rehearing Hn Bane in Drummond

Coal Company v. Hodel, No. 85-5827 (D.C. Cir.

Sept. 26, 1966) (per curiam) .................................

Drummond Coal Company v. Watt, Civil No. CV82-

H-1838-S (N.D. Ala. May 18, 19838) .....................

Drummond Coal Company v. Watt, 735 F.2d 469

ee: I ah cer a re amtendeacns

United States v. Brook Contracting Corp., 759 F.2d

320 (8rd Cir. 1985) ........ REARS IG SO. Rese PELL BER en

A. J. Taft Coal Company v. United States, 605

F. Supn. 366 GN.D. Ala. 1986) ..............02............

Combs v. Sun-Up Coal, Civil No. CV-80-P-0236-J

(N.D. Ala. Sept. 3, 1980) ............ en ieee iy

A. J. Taft Coal Company v. Connors, Civil No.

CV-86-H-245-S (N.D. Ala. June 18, 1986) ........

Section 401 and 402 of SMCRA, 30 U.S.C. §§ 1231

I an cs ga ssecc bis Aahanssen deoueusibesns

ae yn CD aaa in css

Be i te Oe PI GED nts cepa ensnsencacnncnanse nanan sanen

ee Bis

Memorandum from W. Hord Tipton, Acting Re-

gional Director, Region II, Office of Surface

Mining Reclamation and Enforcement, to J.

Steven Griles, Deputy Director, dated August 6,

1981

Page

la

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

Memorandum from Phyllis Thompson, Chief,

Branch of Fund Management, to Director, re-

garding request for Policy Decision on Excess

Moisture Deduction by Drummond Coal Com-

la

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

No. 85-5827

DRUMMOND COAL COMPANY,

Appellant

v.

DONALD P. HODEL, Secretary of the Interior

Argued March 7, 1986

Decided July 22, 1986

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of Columbia

(Civil Action No. 82-02439)

Michael B. Barr, with whom Charles D. Ossola, Wash-

ington, D.C., was on brief for appellant.

Albert M. Ferlo, Jr., Dept. of Justice, with whom

Alfred Ghiorzi, Dirk D. Snel and Beverly Perry, Dept.

of Justice, Washington, D.C., were on brief for appellee.

James T. Hemphill, Washington, D.C., was on brief

for amicus curiae, Mining and Reclamation Council of

America, urging reversal.

2a

Robert F. Stauffer, Washington, D.C., was on brief

for amicus curiae, Nat. Coal Ass’n, urging reversal.

Before MIKVA, STARR, and SILBERMAN, Circuit

Judges.

Opinion for the Court fiied by SILBERMAN, Circuit

Judge.

SILBERMAN, Circuit Judge:

Appellant Drummond Coal Co. challenges a regulation

of the Interior Department’s Office of Surface Mining

(OSM). A full exposition of the facts and procedural

history relating to Drummond’s challenge appears in the

district court’s careful and thorough opinion granting the

agency’s motion for summary judgment. Drummond

Coal Co. v. Hodel, 610 F.Supp. 1489 (D.D.C.1985). For

the reasons stated herein, we affirm the district court’s

judgment.

The Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act

(SMCRA), 30 U.S.C. §$ 1201 et seg. (1982), upon which

the regulation at issue is premised, creates an Abandoned

Mine Reclamation Fund to finance the restoration of land

and water resources damaged by coal mining. Jd. § 1231

(ec) (1). The Fund’s principal source of revenue is a fee

assessed on each ton of “coal produced” in the United

States. Coal operators are required to pay the Secretary

thirty-five cents per ton of “coal produced” by surface

mining and fifteen cents per ton of coal produced by

underground mining, or ten percent of the value of

the coal at the mine, whichever is less. Jd. § 1232(a).

Through a revised regulation, the Secretary has mandated

that the fee be assessed on the gross weight of coal prior

to sale—including impurities such as water which have

not been removed. 30 C.F.R. § 870.12(b) (3) (i) (1985).

Drummond claims that the revised regulation exceeds

the Secretary’s statutory authority because it includes

within the material taxed “excess” moisture attributable

8a

to post-evacuation rainfall or washing, which Drummond

asserts is not properly regarded as part of “coal.” Drum-

mond also argues, in the alternative, that the regulation

constitutes an arbitrary and capricious deviation from

the Secretary’s past practice. We do not find merit in

either contention.

The Secretary’s initial fee regulations, promulgated in

October 1978, were not entirely clear as to what was

subject to the tax:

(a) The operator shall pay a reciamation fee on each

ton of coal produced for sale, transfer, or use... .

(b) The fee shall be determined by the weight and

value at the time of initial bona fide sale, transfer

of ownershin, or use by the operator.

30 C.F.R § 870.12(b) (1978). In Alabama (though seem-

ingly nowhere else in the country), certain OSM person-

nel and at least six Alabama coal companies interpreted

this regulation as analogous to Alabama’s severance tax.

Alabama law permits coal operators to deduct the weight

of “excess” moisture—moisture in excess of 2.88% of the

total weight of taxable coal.2 See Ala.Code § 40.13-31

‘ With an exception not here relevant, Section 1276(a) (2) of the

SMCRA incorporates the arbitrary and capricious standard of re-

view set forth in the Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C.

§ 706(2) (A) (1982).

* That percentage represents what Alabama has established as

the “inherent” moisture content of coal in Alabama. Coal in its

unmined state naturally contains some moisture, along with ash

and sulfur. See A.J. Taft Coal Co. v. United States, 605 F.Supp.

366, 871 n. 7 (N.D.Ala. 1984), aff'd mem. 760 F.2d 279 (11th Cir.

1985). This contrasts with “non-inherent” or “excess” moisture,

which accumulates after coal is extracted from the ground as a

result of immersion in water during the washing process or ex- ~

posure to rainfall. See Drummond Coal Co. v. Hodel, 610 F.Supp.

1489, 1493 (D.D.C.1985). The precise percentage of inherent mois-

ture varies widely from one coal seam to another throughout the

United States. See A.J. Taft Coal Co., 605 F.Supp. at 369. Ala-

4a

(1975); State of Alabama Department of Revenue, Coal

Severance Tax Regulation (July 13, 1979). This interpre-

tation, by which “excess moisture deductions” were made

on approximately seventy percent of the coal tonnage re-

ported by Alabama coal companies to OSM, came to the

attention of OSM’s Washington headquarters from a num-

ber of sources in 1980 and 1981. In response, OSM

proposed new regulations in December 1981 to clarify its

position :

(3) The weight of each ton shall be determined by

the actual gross weight of the coal.

(i) impurities, including water, that have not been

removed prior to the time of initial bona fide sale,

transfer of ownership, or use by the operator shall

not be deducted from gross weight.

30 C.F.R § 870.12(b) (3) (i) (1982) (emphasis in origi-

nal).

Drummond, one of the Alabama coal companies that

had been deducting “excess moisture” in its quarterly fee

filings with OSM from 1977 through 1981,° contends that

the revised regulation, by taxing impurities not removed

prior to sale, exceeds the Secretary’s authority under the

Act. According to Drummond, the SMCRA limit: the

Secretary to taxing coal with its inherent impurities, see

bama’s 2.88% figure for inherent moisture in coal is therefore an

approximation that would not hold true even for all coal mined in

that State. (OSM has noted, for example, that Alabama’s Bureau

of Mines found an average inherent moisture of 3.0% for Alabama

coal seams).

’ Drummond inadventently omitted the excess moisture deduc-

tion from the tonnage report for the last quarter of 1981 and

claimed a “refund” in its first quarter 1982 report. OSM denied

the refund claim and disallowed any future deductions, but it has

not, as far as the record shows, sought to recoup from Drummond

the amounts deducted between 1977 and 1981.

5a

supra note 2.‘ The statute does not, in Drummond’s view,

permit the Secretary to tax that portion of the weight of

coal represented by post-extraction added impurities such

as rainwater or debris. Phrased in Gertrude Stein’s

style, Drummond argues that coal is coal is coal.* Con-

gress, however, did not define “coal” in the statute—still

less the term “coal produced,” upon which the fee is levied.

Like the district court, we do not find the ordinary mean-

ing of that term unambiguous: “ ‘Production’ could rea-

sonably be interpreted to include the entire process of

* Drummond's position comes close to advocating a Btu tax, be-

cause the inherent moisture and ash in coal also add nothing to its

value as determined by the Secretary. Yet Con2ress rejected a

Btu tax in the final version of the SMCRA. Its sole concession to a

tax based on the heat value of coal was the provision whereby if

10% of the value of surface-mined coal at the mine, as determined

by the Secretary, is less than 35 cents per ton, then the lesser figure

is paid into the reclamation fund. See 30 U.S.C. § 1232(a); H.R.

Rep. 218, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. 137, U.S.Code Cong. & Admin.News

1977, p. 669. The House Report stated that “only a small propor-

tion of the low-heat sub-bituminous coal wil! be eligible for this

reduced fee.” Jd. The contrast between this provision, based on

heat value as determined by the Secretary, and the weight-based

provision under which Drummond is taxed cuts strongly against

Drummond's position in this case.

* In support of its argument, appellant relies on the reasoning of

A.J. Taft Coal Co., 605 F.Supp. at 366. In that case, the district

court found that the Black Lung Tax on “coal sold by the producer”

required the exclusion from gross weight of moisture in excess of

the Alabama statutory 2.88% limit. Relying upon the “plain mean-

ing” of the word “coal,” the district court adopted the State's 2.88%

severance tax standard. The Taft court distinguished the holding

in Drummond Coal Co. v. Watt, No. CV82-H-1838-S (N.D.Ala. May

18, 1983) [Available on WESTLAW, DCTU database], with whose

reasoning we today agree, by reference to the fact that the agency

administering the Black Lung Tax had issued no clarifying regu-

lations, and that there was “no clear intent in [the Black Lung

Tax statute], as there was in the [revised OSM] regulation, to tax

water or any other ‘impurities.’ ” 605 F.Supp. at 371. To the extent

that Taft’s rationale nevertheless may implicitly contradict our own,

we respectfully disagree with it.

6a

extracting and selling coal, complete from pit to buyer’s

door, or it could refer solely to the process of extraction.

[Nlowhere does the [SMCRA] specify what ele-

ments comprise a ‘taxable’ piece of coal.” 610 F.Supp.

at 1497. Drummond’s “plain meaning” argument is fur-

ther undermined by the prevailing industry practice be-

tween the passage of the SMCRA in 1977 and the final

promulgation of the revised reguiations in 1982. Ac-

cording to the record, the vast majority of U.S. coal

operators, as well as OSM personnel outside of Alabama,

interpreted the phrase “coal produced” as do the revised

regulations.

In view of the ambiguity of the statutory language,

then, unless Congress in the legislative history specifically

disleosed its intent on the question at issue we must defer

to the Secretary’s construction of the Act. Chevron U.S.A.

v. Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837,

842-43, 104 S.Ct. 2778, 2781-82, 81 L.Ed.2d 694 (1984).

Drummond contends that the legislative history indeed re-

veals Congress’ intent on the matter at issue here—an in-

tent inconsistent with the Secretary’s regulations. In sup-

port of this contention, Drummond deploys the Third

Cireuit’s decision in United States v. Brook Contracting

Corp., 759 F.2d 320 (3d Cir.1985). Our review of the

relevant legislative history * leads us respectfully to dis-

agree, with the Third Circuit and agree with the district

court below. See 610 F.Supp. at 1501 n.9. The legislative

history simply does not disclose the requisite specific intent

upon which a court could properly rely to overturn the

Secretary’s regulations.’

®* The House Report states that the legislative history of the

SMCRA would include the legislative history of previously vetoed

versions of the enactment from the two prior Congresses. H.R.

Rep. No. 218, 95th Cong., 1st Sess. 140, reprinted in 1977 U.S.Code

Cong. & Ad.News 593, 672.

7 There is, moreover, reason to doubt that the Third Circuit had

jurisdiction over the suit in Brook. The Eleventh Circuit has held

7a

Congress in fact never addressed the particular issue

that we confront in this case. The House Report reflects

general concern in connection with the level of the recla-

mation fee to be assessed, with the burden placed on the

industry and consumers and with the inflationary impact

of the fee. See H.R.Rep. No. 218, 95th Cong., 1st Sess.

137, reprinted in 1977 U.S.Code Cong. & Ad.News 669;

see also Brook, 759 F.2d at 324-25 (discussing House

Report). Those considerations were explicitly balanced,

however, against the need to raise sufficient funds to meet

program objectives. Jd. In any event, we fail to see how

the general policy concerns relating to the impact on

industry and consumers—even standing alone—could be

dispositive of the issue before us.

In support of its holding the Brook court reviewed oc-

casions, during the three years of legislative deliberations

leading to the 1977 passage of the Act, when Congress

considered estimates of the ultimate cost of the reclama-

tion fee to industrial purchasers of coal and consumers.

Id. at 325-26. These estimates used rough (‘“conserva-

tive”) assumptions about the number of Btu’s per pound

of coal—assumptions that the Third Circuit regarded as

more consistent with “clean” coal than with coal that

includes some amount of non-inherent impurities. Jd. at

325. Congress also considered certain calculations based

on the spot price per ton of coal, in which there was

apparently no indication that the price had been adjusted

to reflect the existence of such impurities. Jd. at 325-26.

that Section 1276(a) (1) of the SMCRA vests exclusive jurisdiction

to review challenges to national regulations, like the regulations at

issue here and in Brook, in the federal courts of the District of

Columbia Circuit. Drummond Coal Co. v. Watt, 735 F.2d 469, 476

(11th Cir.1984). We are not compelled in this case to address this

jurisdictional question. As the district court pointed out, it is

indisputable that Section 1276(a) vests either concurrent or exclu-

sive jurisdiction over suits like this in the United States District

Court of the District of Columbia. Regardless of which interpreta-

tion is correct, the district court properly exercised jurisdiction over

this case, and, therefore, so does this Court. 610 F.Supp. at 1494-95.

eT

8a

Finally, the Brook court cited the arguments of members

of Congress advocating a lower, ten-cents-per-ton fee,

premised on gross revenue calculations for total 1975

coal tonnage which the court thought to be exclusive of

noninherent moisture and debris. Even if the scientific

and mathematical calculations upon which the Brook

court’s analysis is founded are correct,*® they do not estab-

lish, as Chevron requires, a specific congressional intent

as to the interpretation of the words “coal produced.”

The Third Circuit’s opinion appears to us to be based

merely on speculative inferences from the legislative his-

tory harnessed to a conviction that the Secretary’s regula-

tion will cost too much.® Since Congress did not explicitly

8 The calculations reviewed by Congress assume 10,000 Btu’s per

pound of coal, whereas the Brook court cites figures compiled by the

American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM), the principal

source for industry data, for a range running from 6,300 to more

than 15,500 Btu’s per pound of coal. ‘See 759 F.2d at 325. Congress

may have chosen the 10,000 Btu’s per pound figure rather than a

higher one to take account of the presence of non-inherent moisture

or debris. Similarly, the Third Circuit states that “[t]here is abso-

lutely no indication that Congress sought to include in the spot

price of coal in adjustment for tonnages of non-coal material,” id.

at 326. This seems to assume, without citation of support, that the

1975 spot price was per ton of clean coal rather than for “run-of-

mine” coal, i.e., coal prior to the removal of non-inherent impuri-

ties. Finally, the House Report’s figure for total 1975 coal produc-

tion of 654 million tons which the Brook court cites, see id., multi-

plied by the ten-cents-per-ton fee proposed by the House minority,

would yield $65.4 million; yet the court quotes the minority report

as claiming that the minority’s proposed ten cent fee “could gener-

ate between $60 and $70 million dollars [sic] on an annualized

vasis.” Id. (quoting H.R.Rep.No. 45, 94th Cong., 1st Sess. 168

(1975) ). We cannot say that this differential was not included in

whole or in part to account for the fee falling on certain quantities

of non-inherent moisture or debris.

® Nor could it be argued, as the Brook court seems to suggest,

that under the revised regulation the fee would as a practical matter

be imposed on an unlimited amount of impurities. If the amount of

9a

address the proper meaning of the words “coal produced”

in either the statutory language or the legislative history,

we conclude that the Secretary was authorized to give the

term a reasonable construction. By leaving the operative

statutory terms undefined and delegating broad rulemak-

ing authority to the Secretary, see 30 U.S.C. §§ 1211,

1242(a) (1982), Congress has left a gap in the regulatory

regime for the agency to fill. See Chevron, 467 U.S. at

842-44, 104 S.Ct. at 2781-83; Montana v. Clark, 749 F.2d

740, 745 (D.C.Cir.1984), cert. denied, US. , 106

S.Ct. 246, 88 L.Ed.2d 255 (1985). And in formulating

a definition of “coal produced,” the Secretary is entitled

to balance the countervailing policies at stake. See Chev-

ron, 467 U.S. at 844-45, 104 S.Ct. at 2782-83. We have

no warrant to set aside the Secretary’s interpretation, if

reasonable, merely because we might strike this policy

balance in a different fashion.

One cannot say that the Secretary’s definition is un-

reasonable. The Secretary felt that important adminis-

trative considerations supported his interpretation: “[I]f

moisture deductions were allowed, audit of operator rec-

ords would be further complicated and laboratory analy-

ses required to document moisture content.” 47 Fed.

Reg. 28,578 (1982). Further, he deemed it desirable to

achieve “uniform application of Part 870 and equitable

treatment of all operators.” Jd. Drummond contends

that whatever administratve problems the Secretary would

encounter elsewhere in the country, OSM’s Alabama

regional office would be able to police deductions for non-

inherent post-excavation moisture, presumably because of

the apparatus already in place for administering Ala-

bama’s severance tax, which requires measurement of the

total moisture content of coal for comparison with the

non-inherent moisture or other debris in coal reaches a point where

the portion of the fee ascribable to such impurities exceeds the cost

of “cleaning” the coal, then the operators will of course remove the

impurities rather than pay the fee.

cineca

10a

2.88% figure established in the statute.’? But the Secre-

tary’s desire to employ a national standard that uni-

formly prohibits deductions for post-excavation moisture

is obvious commonsense. The inherent moisture of coal

varies considerably among coal deposits in different parts

of the country. Allowing excess moisture deductions for

producers in all parts of the country would entail either

the considerable burden of setting different inherent mois-

ture levels for different localities or the inaccuracy (and

inequity) of setting a single, approximate nationwide

standard. And even if the percentage of inherent mois-

ture in coal were uniform across the nation, or some ap-

proximate figure were selected, Drummond still has not

suggested how the Secretary could avoid conducting com-

plex and extensive audits to determine the accuracy of

operators’ measurements of non-inherent moisture and

debris.

Drummond further contends that the Secretary’s re-

vised regulation is inconsistent with the definition of coal

as “combustible carbonaceous rock” found elsewhere in

the regulations. See 30 C.F.R. § 700.5 (1985). Appellant

ignores the fact that this definition is prefaced by the

words, “except where otherwise indicated.” Jd. The re-

vised regulation clearly “otherwise indicate[s]” that im-

purities included in the gross weight prior to sale are to

be treated as “coal” for purposes of the tonnage fee. This

argument, moreover, like Drummond’s statutory argu-

ment, overlooks the point that the crucial statutory lan-

guage is “coal produced,” not coal.

a = e

1 Alabama is seemingly unique in the “excess moisture” provi-

sions of its severance tax. Drummond Coal Co. v. Watt, No. CV &2-

H-1838-S, slip op. at 3 (N.D.Ala. May 18, 1983) [Available on

WESTLAW, DCTU database]. Throughout Drummond has ig-

nored the non-inherent debris mixed with the coal, although the

logic of their position would apply to all impurities. See Brook, 759

F.2d 320 (8d Cir.1985). Drummond apparently avoided making

this argument because the Alabama severance tax provides a

mechanism only for calculating excess moisture.

lla

Drummond also maintains that even if the Secretary’s

interpretation would be reasonable if adopted initially, it

is nevertheless arbitrary and capricious because when

promulgated in 1982 it constituted a change of policy

without adequate explanation. See Motor Vehicle Mfrs.

Ass’n v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 463 U.S. 29,

103 S.Ct. 2856, 77 L.Ed.2d 443 (1983). Drummond thus

seek to leverage the benefit of the “Alabama interpreta-

tion” it enjoyed for four years into a national policy

which it asserts OSM cannot so easily change. We find

this argument, to put it kindly, insubstantial. There was

certainly no national policy reflecting Drummond’s in-

terpretation of the statute. The Secretary has represented

to us that only twelve of 6000 operators took advantage

of this “policy,” eleven of whom were based in Alabama.

At most, the record reflects some degree of confusion prior

to 1982 at the lower echelons of OSM." At the national

level the agency’s position has been unchanged since 1977.

See 42 Fed.Reg. 62,714 (1977); 610 F.Supp. at 1503.

We do not say that the Secretary is or was forbidden

to adopt Drummond’s suggested definition of “coal pro-

duced.” Rather, we hold that because Congress had no

specific intention on this point, the Secretary, under Chev-

ron, had the authority to fashion a reasonable interpre-

tation. This the Secretary has done. The judgment of the

district court is therefore

Affirmed.

11 Drummond doubts the Secretary’s representation and seeks to

impose a burden on the Secretary to affirmatively “prove” that all

but 12 coal operators followed his policy prior to 1982—which, of

course, would require the Secretary, in order to support his position

here, to conduct an enormously burdensome audit of thousands of

quarterly reports. But the precise number of confused coal oper-

ators is patently irrelevant. Drummond’s position seems to us to

stem from a profound misunderstanding of State Farm’s rationale.

That case does not hold that an agency is restricted in clarifying

an ambiguous regulation that does not precisely convey an agency’s

statutory interpretation.

12a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Civ. A. No. 82-2439

DRUMMOND COAL COMPANY,

Plaintiff,

V.

DONALD P. HopDEL,* Secretary of the Interior,

Defendant.

June 11, 1985

Michael B. Barr, Hunton & Williams, Washington,

D.C., for plaintiff.

Alfred T. Ghiorzi, Land & Natural Resources Div.,

U.S. Dept. of Justice, Washington, D.C., for defendant.

MEMORANDUM OPINION

AND ORDER

JOYCE HENS GREEN, District Judge.

Before the Court are the parties’ cross motions for

summary judgment. The plaintiff, Drummond Coal Com-

pany, seeks declaratory and injunctive relief to prevent

the Department of Interior (DOI) and the Office of Sur-

face Mining (OSM) from enforcing regulations designed

to govern the collection of reclamation fees under the

Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act of 1977

(SMCRA, the Act), 30 U.S.C. § 1201, et seg. At issue

* Pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 25(d), Donald P. Hodel has been sub-

stituted for William P. Clark as Secretary of the Interior.

13a

is a recently revised regulation that determines the

method by which the plaintiff must calculate the fee it

is required to pay under the Act for each ton of coal

produced. Drummond contends that this revision, under-

taken to clarify existing regulations, is both inconsistent

with the language of section 402 of SMCRA (380 U.S.C.

$ 1232) and contrary to prior administrative practice

and policy. The defendant, in turn, argues that the re-

vised regulation is “not repugnant to the language of the

statute or its underlying purposes” and is consistent with

prior practice. As such, the defendant concludes, the pro-

mulgation of the challenged regulation falls within the

scope of DOI’s broad rulemaking power and is entitled

to “great deference” upon review by this Court.

For the reasons set forth below, the Court concludes

that the Secretary did not exceed his authority in pro-

mulgating the chalienged regulations. Accordingly, the

defendant’s cross-motion for summary judgment shall be

granted.

I. Background

A. Regulatory Framework

In 1977 Congress passed the Surface Mining Control

and Reclamation Act. The purpose of the Act, as stated

by Congress, was in part to “establish a nationwide pro-

gram to protect society and the environment from the

adverse effects of surface coal mining operations.” 30

U.S.C. § 1202(a). It was Congress’ hope that the Act

would “promote the reclamation of mined areas” while

striking a “balance between protection of the environ-

ment ... and the Nation’s need for coal.” 30 U.S.C.

§ 1202 (f).

To achieve this end, Congress included in the Act a

provision establishing an “Abandoned Mine Reclamation

Fund.” 30 U.S.C. § 1231. The terms of the fund pro-

gram, as set out in section 1232(a) of the Act, required

all coal operators subject to the SMCRA to pay into the

l4a

fund a reclamation fee of 35 cents for each ton of coal

produced by surface mining.

In December, 1977 the Secretary of the Interior, acting

through OSM, promulgated national regulations setting

forth the procedures to be used by coal mine operators

in computing their reclamation fees. 42 Fed.Reg. 62715

(1977). The regulations stated in pertinent part that:

(a) The operator shall pay a reclamation fee on

each ton of coal produced for sale, transfer, or use,

including the products of in situ mining.

(b) The fee shall be determined by the weight and

value at the time of initial bona fide sale, transfer

of ownership, or use by the operator.

These regulations,| however, did not explain precisely

how the “weight and value” of the coal at the time of

initial sale or transfer was to be calculated. As a result,

from 1977 to 1981 the regulations were subject to vary-

ing interpretations, both by operators and by certain

OSM officials. In Alabama, for example, coal operators

regularly reduced their “‘taxable” coal tonnage by claim-

ing a deduction for the alleged “excess moisture” content

of the coal.

Faced with evidence of confusion among operators and

inconsistent interpretation by the OSM representatives,

in December, 1981 the Secretary proposed revised regu-

lations for reclamation fee computations. The revised

regulations, ultimately approved in final form and codi-

fied at 30 C.F.R. § 870.12(b) (3) (i) (1982), stated in

relevant part that:

(a) The operator shall pay a reclamation fee on

each ton of coal produced for sale, transfer, or use,

including the products of in situ mining.

1 The regulations promulgated in December, 1977 were incorpo-

rated in the final regulations issued nearly one year later. See 30

C.F.R. 870.12 (b), 43 Fed.Reg. 49940 (1978).

ans eet nanan aaa

15a

(b) The fee shall be determined by the weight and

value at the time of initial bona fide sale, transfer

of ownership, or use by the operator.

(3) The weight of each ton shall be determined by

the actual gross weight of the coal.

(i) Impurities, including water, that have not been

removed prior to the time of initial bona fide sale,

transfer of ownership, or use by the operator shall

not be deducted from the gross weight. |Emphasis

added. ]

It is these 1981 revised regulations that serve as the

focus for the plaintiff’s challenge in this case. Before

turning to the merits of Drummond’s claim, however, a

brief review of the coal company’s involvement in this

litigation is required.

B. Factual and Procedural History

Drummond Coal Company, a Delaware corporation,

mines substantial amounts of coal in Alabama. Begin-

ning in 1977 when the reclamation fee regulations were

first issued, and continuing until June, 1982 when the

revised regulations were promulgated, Drummond rou-

tinely subtracted a deduction for moisture from the ac-

tual tonnage of coal mined, before calculating the recla-

mation fee it believed was owing. The deductions were

approved without exception by the OSM official respon-

sible for the OSM region (“Region II’) in which Ala-

bama was located. Five other Alabama based coal pro-

ducers also followed this practice. The operators insisted

that their calculations were based on an Alabama state

coal severance tax law’ that permitted an excess mois-

ture deduction.

2 Alabama’s excess moisture provision sets a flat figure—2.88%

of the gross weight of mined coal—as the “inherent moisture” con-

tent of the coal. Any moisture content over and above 2.88% may

16a

According to OSM, it was not until March, 1981 that

the Secretary discovered that certain operators were sub-

tracting a deduction for moisture. Drummond’s practice,

in particular, did not come to the attention of the Secre-

tary until March 13, 1982, when Drummond filed its

report with OSM for the first quarter of 1982. In that

report, Drummond explained that it had inadvertently

failed to take a moisture deduction for December, 1981

tonnage, and that it expected to receive a credit for the

“overpaymeit” of reclamation fees.

In March 1981, before Drummond’s practice came to

light, the Deputy Director of OSM ordered an investiga-

tion of the fee collection method used in Region II. (See

Secretary’s Record Supplement, Exhibit D). The results

of that investigation—revealing a unique, albeit accepted,

practice of excess moisture deductions in Alabama—

sparked a policy decision at the highest levels of OSM to

bring Region II and Alabama in line with what the Secre-

tary argues had always been OSM’s nationally accepted

method of fee calculation. Accordingly, in December,

1981 OSM promulgated the revised regulations. OSM

notified Drummond on July 23, 1982, that OSM regula-

tions did not permit an “excess moisture” deduction. Cit-

ing the revised regulations, OSM informed Drummond

that “the deduction claimed . . . for the fourth quarter of

1981 and all subsequent quarters is disallowed. ... Any

future requests for refund of fee payments should...

not [be] ‘offset’ by reduced payments in subsequent quar-

ters.” Secretary’s Record Supp. Exh. C.

Drummond responded immediately to OSM’s decision by

filing two separate actions simultaneously—one in the

Northern District of Alabama, Drummond Coal Co. v.

James Watt, No. CV82-H-1838-S (slip op. May 18, 1983),

and the other before this Court. The complaints, identical

be deducted from the gross taxable tonnage. Ala.Code § 40.13-31.

See Coal Severance Tax Regulations, State of Alabama, Dep’t of

Revenue, Montgomery, Ala., July 9, 1979.

17a

in all substantive respects, sought declaratory relief and

injunctive relief. Specifically, Drummond requested that

the revised 1982 regulations be declared and adjudged

“arbitrary, [and] capricious[,] an ubuse of the Defend-

ant’s discretion[,] and .. . inconsistent with . . . [the]

SMCRA.” Plaintiff’s Complaint at 7. The complaint fur-

ther requested that the defendant be permanently enjoined

and restrained from enforcing or applying the challenged

regulations.

At the heart of Drummond’s objection to OSM’s action

was its belief that a coal operator should not be taxed

for excess moisture added to the coal after severance and

extraction from the ground. According to Drummond,

coal was often exposed to water in the mine, or to rain,

after severance and before sale. Absorption of this water

might add to the gross weight of the coal, but not its

value. It made little sense, Drummond argued, to tax an

operator based on a gross weight that did not reflect the

true quantity of coal removed from the ground.

Insofar as the SMCRA was designed to tax coal and not

water, Drummond insisted, the revised regulations ex-

ceeded the scope of the Act and thus were unlawful. More

importantly, Drummond noted, between 1977 and March,

1982, OSM never objected to a request from a Region II

operator for a moisture deduction. From Drummond’s

perspective, therefore, the 1982 revised regulations repre-

sented a departure from a prior administrative practice

without a “reasoned justification”. Plaintiff’s Motion for

Summary Judgment at 16-17. As such, the Secretary’s

decision to promulgate the regulations was arbitrary and

capricious, and constituted an abuse of discretion. For

these reasons, Drummond argued, the regulations should

be held void.

Shortly after the filing of the complaints, the Secretary

filed a motion in the Northern District of Alabama to

dismiss or transfer the Alabama case on the ground that

the SMCRA provided for exclusive jurisdiction in the

18a

District of Columbia. On January 13, 1983, the Alabama

court denied that motion. One week later, the Secretary

requested a permanent injunction to prevent further pros-

ecution in the Northern District of Alabama. Drum-

mond opposed that motion by moving to stay all proceed-

ings in the District of Columbia pending the outcome of

the suit in the Northern District of Alabama. On Febru-

ary 24, 1983, this Court granted Drummond’s motion to

stay.

In response to Drummond’s challenge on the merits,

the Secretary asserted two central claims. First, the Sec-

retary argued that the revised regulations did not repre-

sent a change from prior administrative practice because

Region II officers—allegedly the only officers to approve

excess moisture deductions *—were never authorized to

grant deductions. Actions, of these “insubordinate” offi-

cials, the Secretary insisted, could neither bind DOI nor

constitute the Department’s official administrative prac-

tice or policy.

Second, the Secretary argued that the regulations were

entitled to “great deference” on review because they were

consistent with the broad, remedial purposes of the

SMCRA, and promoted the twin agency goals of uniform-

ity in application and administrative efficiency. Specific-

ally, the Secretary maintained that the ambiguity of the

1977 regulations permitted certain coal operators to pay

less tax by contracting to sell coal based on its “energy

value” per ton, as opposed to its gross weight. The 1982

revised regulations, the Secretary pointed out, merely en-

sured that all operators would be taxed on the same basis

and at the same point in the coal mining process; the

new regulations, therefore, were national in both purpose

% According to the Secretary, only 12 out of 6000 coal operators

nationwide were permitted to take deductions, and 11 of the 12

were based in Alabama; the other was in Pennsylvania.

|

19a

and design. The decision to promulgate could not be con-

sidered arbitrary or capricious.‘

Subsequently, the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Alabama ruled that the 1982 revised

regulations were valid. That court concluded that the

new regulations did not constitute a “substantive change

in the policy of the agency,” but rather represented a

clarification of the SMCRA “so as to ensure uniform

application of the law.” Drummond Coal Co. v. James

G. Watt, CV 82-H-1838-S (Slip op., N.D.Ala. May 18,

1983 at 6). The Court also found that the regulations

were not inconsistent with the plain language of the Act:

The regulations are invalid, Drummond argues, be-

cause they tax impurities such as water, while the

Act authorizes a tax only on coal. This argument is

not persuasive. The revised regulations are clearly

within the scope of the agency’s authority under the

Act. Congress chose to tax tonnage of “coal.” Obvi-

ously there are impurities mixed with coal—dirt,

sulfur, water, etc. Congress made no attempt to

remove from taxation this small percentage of im-

purities found in the mined coal. Had Congress been

concerned that the inclusion of impurities would

work an undue hardship on the coal operators, the

tax could have been calculated in other ways. For

example, Congress could have taxed the coal on its

BTU content. Since Congress refused to distinguish

coal from its impurities, the regulation requiring the

inclusion of impurities in calculating gross weight at

the time of initial sale, transfer, or use, is within the

* Because the Secretary never attempted to recover the sums de-

ducted by the Alabama operators from 1977 to 1981, Drummond lim-

ited its challenge to the validity of the 1982 revised regulations. As

best as can be determined, the plaintiff has challenged only the

prospective enforcement of the 1982 regulations. Accordingly, this

decision does not purport to address the validity of the 1977 regu-

lations, or the propriety of the Secretary’s actions carried out under

those regulations.

20a

scope of the agency’s authority. The fact that the

impurities involved here are “added” to the coal after

it is mined does not change the result. Again, Con-

gress was well aware that after mining and before

sale or use, coal is exposed to water from a variety

of sources.

Drummond, slip op. at 7.

On appeal, the United States Court of Appeals for the

Eleventh Circuit reversed and vacated the Alabama dis-

trict court decision. Although the Court expressed its “be-

lie[f] that Drummond’s challenge to the revised regula-

tions is wholly without merit,” the basis of the decision

to reverse and the actual holding of the case were limited

to the conclusion that section 1276(a) (1) of the SMCRA

“vests in the United States District for the District Court

of Columbia exclusive jurisdiction over th[ej case.”” Drum-

mond Coal Co. v. Watt, 735 F.2d 469 (11th Cir.1984).

With the Alabama litigation complete, this Court lifted

the earlier stay. Thereafter, cross motions for summary

judgment were filed on the very issues that the Eleventh

Circuit found itself without jurisdiction to review. It is

to these motions that the Court now turns.

il. Jurisdiction

Before reaching the merits of Drummond’s claim, a juris-

dictional question need be addressed. 30 U.S.C. § 1276

(a) (1) states that:

Any action of the Secretary to approve or dis-

approve a State program or to prepare or promulgate

a Federal program pursuant to this chapter shall be

subject to judicial review by the United States Dis-

trict Court for the District which includes the capital

of the State whose program is at issue. Any action

by the Secretary promulgating national rules or reg-

ulations including standards pursuant to sections

1251, 1265, 1266, and 1273 of this title shall be sub-

——————

2la

ject to judicial review in the United States District

Court for the District of Columbia Circuit. Any

other action constituing rulemaking by the Secretary

shall be subject to judicial review only by the United

States District Court for the District in which the

surface coal mining operation is located. Any action

subject to judicial review under this subsection shall

be affirmed unless the court concludes that such ac-

tion is arbitrary, capricious, or otherwise inconsistent

with law. A petition for review of any action subject

to judicial review under this subsection shall be filed

in the appropriate Court within sixty days from the

date of such action, or after such date if the petition

is based solely on grounds arising after the sixtieth

day. Any such petition may be made by any person

who participated in the administrative proceedings

and who is aggrieved by the action of the Secretary.

[Emphasis added. ]

Before the Eleventh Circuit, Drummond argued that this

section conferred concurrent jurisdiction over the case on

the United States District Court for the District of Co-

lumbia and on “all other district courts that otherwise

would have jurisdictien. . . .” The Eleventh Circuit dis-

agreed with this interpretation, accepting instead the

Secretary’s argument that Congress intended to vest ez-

clusive jurisdiction over challenges to national regula-

tions in the District Court for the District of Columbia.

The Eleventh Circuit drew support for its conclusion

from a decision by the Fourth Circuit, Tug Valley Re-

covery Center v. Watt, 703 F.2d 796 (1983), but noted

that other circuits had reached the opposite conclusion.

See, e.g., Holmes Limestone Co. v. Andrus, 655 F.2d 732

(6th Cir. 1981), cert. denied sub nom. Watt v. Holmes

Limestone Co., 456 U.S. 995, 102 S.Ct. 2280, 72 L.Ed.2d

1292 (1982).

For the purposes of this suit at this point in the pro-

ceedings, it matters little whether the jurisdictional deci-

22a

sion of the Eleventh Circuit in the “duplicate” case filed

in Alabama would or would not be held appropriate upon

review by the Supreme Court. Regardless whether this

Court has concurrent or exclusive jurisdiction, the statute

plainly provides the District Court for the District of

Columbia with jurisdiction in some form over a challenge

to national regulations. The cross motions for summary

judgment, therefore, are properly before the Court.

III. Consistency, Legislative Purpose,

| and Prior Practice

Under the strict standard established by this Circuit,

a motion for summary judgment may be granted only

when it is shown that there “is no genuine issue as to

any material fact and that the moving party is entitled

to judgment as a matter of law. ... In ruling on a

summary judgment motion, the Court must draw all

inferences from the record in the light most favorable

to the party opposing the motion.” Williams v. Wash-

ington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority, 721 F.2d

1412, 1414-15 (D.C. Cir. 1983). “To warrant summary

judgment the record ‘should show the right of the

[movant] to a judgment with such clarity as to leave no

room for controversy. ...’” Weiss v. Kay Jewelry

Stores, Inc., 470 F.2d 1259, 1262 (D.C. Cir. 1972).

In this instance, neither party disputes the validity of

the evidence contained in the administrative record. The

sole issues that remain for resolution are lega! ones: (1)

whether the decision to promuigate the 1982 revised reg-

ulations constitutes an unlawful abuse of discretion on

the part of the Secretary because the regulations are in-

consistent with the language and purposes of the Act;

and (2) whether the Secretary’s decision to piomulgate

the revised regulations should be held arbitrary and ca-

pricious insofar as it represents a change in prior ad-

ministrative practice for which no reasoned justification

has been offered. Disposition of the suit on summary

judgment, therefore, is proper.

23a

A. Statutory Language and

Legislative History

1. The “Deference” Standard

It is well established that when faced with a problem

or statutory construction, “great deference [must be

shown] to the interpretation given the statute by the

officers or agency charged with its administration.”

Udall v. Tallman, 380 U.S. 1, 16, 85 S.Ct. 792, 801, 13

L.Ed.2d 616 (1965). See also EPA v. National Crushed

Stone Ass’n, 449 U.S. 64, 83, 101 S.Ct. 295, 306, 66

L.Ed.2d 268 (1980). Deference becomes all the more

important when the interpretation of an administrative

regulation is involved. Jd. In that instance “ ‘the ulti-

mate criterion is the administrative interpretation, which

becomes of controlling weight unless it is plainly errone-

ous or inconsistent with the regulation.’” Bowles v.

Seminole Rock Co., 325 U.S. 410, 413-14, 65 S.Ct. 1215,

1217, 89 L.Ed.2d 1700 (1945), quoted in Udall, 380

U.S. at 16-17, 85 S.Ct. at 801-802.

To sustain the agency’s interpretation, the Court “need

not find that [the agency’s] construction is the only rea-

sonable one, or even that it is the result [that] would

have [been] reached had the question arisen in the first

instance in judicial proceedings.” Udall, 380 U.S. at 16,

85 S.Ct. at 801. To the contrary, the burden rests with

the party challenging the administrative action to demon-

strate invalidity. “Absent a contrary indication in the

statute,” the Secretary’s judgment must be accepted. Jn

Re: Permanent Surface Mining Regulation, 653 F.2d

514, 522 (D.C. Cir. 1981). As both the Supreme Court

and this Circuit have noted,

it is not a reasonable canon of interpretation [to as-

sume] that the draftsmen of acts delegating agency

powers, as a practical and realistic matter, can or do

include specific consideration of every evil sought to

be corrected.... [This] is precisely one of the rea-

24a

sons why regulatory agencies . . . are created, for

it is the fond hope of their authors that they bring

to their work the expert’s familiarity with industry

conditions which members of the delegating legisla-

tures cannot be expected to possess.

American Trucking Ass’n v. United States, 344 USS.

298, 309-10, 73 S.Ct. 307, 314, 97 L.Ed. 337 (1953),

quoted in In Re: Permanent Surface Mining, 653 F.2d

at 522. See also Miller v. Youakim, 440 U.S. 125, 145

n.25, 99 S.Ct. 957, 969 n.25, 59 L.Ed.2d 194 (1979);

Maryland National Capital Park and Planning Comm’n

v. Lynn, 514 F.2d 829, 834 (D.C. Cir., 1975) (burden

rests on challenging party to overcome presumption of

validity).

Application of the Bowles Court’s “rebuttable defer-

ence” standard of review is particularly appropriate in

this instance because the drafters of the SMCRA clearly

intended to delegate to the Secretary broad rulemaking

power. Section 201(c)(2) (30 U.S.C. $1211) of the

Act states that the Secretary shall “publish and promul-

gate such rules and regulations as may be necessary to

carry out the purposes and provisions of this Act.” Simi-

larly, section 412 (30 U.S.C. § 1242) of the Act provides

that the Secretary “shall have the power and authority,

if not granted it otherwise, to engage in any work and

to do all things necessary or expedient, including pro-

mulgation of rules and regulations, to implement and

administer the provisions of this Subchapter.” 30 U.S.C.

§ 1242(a).®

Even were Congress not to have granted the Secretary

broad d secretion in administering the Act, a “deference”

standard of review would stil! be presumptively appro-

5 Indeed, as the defendant points out, the phrase “all things neces-

sary or expedient” is rarely used by Congress. See Defendant’s

Mera. at 14, n. 11. Congress’ decision to use that phrase in this

instance, therefore, connotes a deliberate effort to delegate broad

discretion to the Secretary for enforcement of the Act.

25a

priate here because the regulatory framework underlying

the SMCRA is the product of a long and complex legisla-

tive process:

Deference to the administering agency is particu-

larly appropriate when a complex regulatory statute

emerges from a process of difficult legislative gesta-

tion. The Surface Mining Act was the result of a

protracted effort, dating back to the Ninetieth Con-

gress, and including presidential veto of bills passed

by the Ninety-third and Ninety-fourth Congresses.

From such a process of compromise and adjustment,

a symmetrical statute containing explicit answers to

every question of administrative implementation is

unlikely to emerge.

In Re: Permanent Surface Mining, 653 F.2d at 522.

OSM’s interpretation of the 1977 regulations, there-

fore, and of the statute as set forth in the revised regula-

tions, must be accorded broad deference unless the record

reflects that the agency’s interpretation is “plainly er-

roneous”, Udall, 380 U.S. at 17, 85 S.Ct. at 801, or

patently “inconsistent” with the earlier regulation. To

determine whether deference should be accorded the Sec-

retary in this instance, two questions must now be ad-

dressed: (1) whether the 1982 regulations are consistent

on their face with the language of the statute and of the

1977 regulations; and (2) whether the 1982 regulations

are reasonably related to the legislative intent and pur-

pose of the SMCRA.

2. Consistency with Statutory Language

30 U.S.C. § 1232 states that a reclamation fee of 35

cents per ton of “coal produced by surface coal mining”

shall be levied on all coal operators. Emphasis added.

The term “produced” is ambiguous. “Production” could

reasonably be interpreted to include the entire process of

extracting and selling coal, complete from pit to buyer’s

26a

door, or it could refer solely to the process of extraction.

The latter interpretation would support the conclusion

that impurities added after extraction, such as moisture,

should not be taxed. The former interpretation would

imply that the gross product sold to the buyer-——even if it

contains impurities and moisture—should serve as the

basis for taxation.

The statute also fails to define the term “coal”. Types

of coal—such as “lignite” coal, surface mined coal, and

underground coal—are distinguished, but nowhere does

the Act specify what elements comprise a “taxable” piece

of coal.

As published in 1978, the 1977 regulations did little

to remedy these ambiguities. The 1977 regulations, see

30 C.F.R. § 870.12(b), 43 Fed. Reg. 49940 (1978), state

only that

(a) The operator shall pay a reclamation fee on

each ton of coal produced for sale, transfer, or use,

including the product of in situ mining.

(b) The fee shall be determined by the weight and

value at the time of initial bona fide sale, transfer

of ownership, or use by the operator.®

The preamble to the 1977 regulations, however, does

provide some insight into OSM’s interpretative intent.

In response to a question from a commentator about

whether the fee was to be paid on “clean coal” or “run

of mine” coal, OSM stressed that the erucial factor was

not the composition of the coal, but the point in the

mining and selling process that “first sale or transfer”

took place:

Section 837.12(a) and (b) of the regulations spec-

ify that the fee be paid on each ton of coal produce

for sale, transfer, or use and that the fee shall be

6 The 1977 regulations also include an “attempted” definition of

coal. See 30 C.F.R. § 700.5, quoted in full infra Part III B, n. 9.

Po ee

27a

determined at the time of initial bona fide sale,

transfer of ownership, or use by the operator. For

example, if the initial transaction is based on the

weight of run-of-mine coal then the reclamation fee

must be paid for each ton of run-of-mine coal sold,

transferred or used. If the initial transaction is

based on the weight of clean coal, then the reclama-

tion fee must be paid on each ton of clean coal sold,

transferred, or used.

42 Fed. Reg. 62714, Dec. 18, 1977 (Dec. 13, 1977). Sig-

nificantly, this interpretation of the 1977 regulations was

reiterated one year later, in 1978, in an OSM Solicitor’s

opinion:

. . . The fee must be determined by the weight and

value of the coal at the time of initial bona fide

sale. More [sic] computations or estimations of the

clean coal weight would not be in compliance. The

coal would actually have to be cleaned prior to sale

or use to meet the conditions in Section 837.12(b).

Advisory Opinion of Apr. 17, 1980, quoted in Plaintiff’s

Supp to Admin. Record, Attachment 3 at 3.

The 1982 revised regulations adopt the first of the two

possible interpretations of section 1232. The regulations

state expressly that the time of sale, and not the value

of the coal, is the determining factor. Impurities that

have not been removed before the time of initial bona fide

sale, transfer of ownership, or use by the owner, will be

taxed.

Both interpretations, however, are potentially consistent

with the Act. The conclusion reached depends upon the

particular objectives that Congress sought to further in

enacting the legislation. If, for example, the Act’s drafters

intended to create a tax mechanism that would promote

administrative efficiency and ensure consistent, evenhanded

enforcement, the first interpretation is reasonable, for it

envisions a flat tax based on a uniform time of sale. If,

28a

however, Congress hoped to tax operators based solely on

the value and quantity of coal extracted, then the latter

interpretation would be most logical.

At one extreme, therefore, the 1982 regulations are not

in consistent with the plain language of the statute or its

supporting regulations. They simply make express what

had been implied. Because the SMCRA does not contain

an express provision to the contrary in the SMCRA, there

is nothing “plainly erroneous” about interpreting ‘“coai

produced” to refer to the condition of the coal at the time

of sale or transfer. At the other extreme, the 1982 regu-

lations may be viewed as consistent with an interpreta-

tion of section 1232 that OSM represented as its own from

1977 until 1981. See Solicitor’s Advisory Opinion of Apr.

17, 1980; preamble to 1977 regulations, 42 Fed.Reg.

62714 (Dec. 13, 1977). That this interpretation was not

the only one possible is of minor consequence. See Udall,

380 U.S. at 16, 85 S.Ct. at 801. For purposes of this

review, what matters is that the 1982 regulations were

potentially consistent with a plausible—indeed, reason-

able—interpretation.

In neither event, therefore, under either of the two

possible interpretations, can the 1982 regulations be con-

sidered clearly inconsistent with the plain meaning and

language of the statute.

3. Consistency With Legislative Purpose

In its 1977 House Report, Congress listed the objectives

of the reclamation program as including

the protection of health or safety of the public; pro-

tection of the environment from continued degrada-

tion and conservation of land and waier resources;

the protection or enhancement of public facilities as

part of reclamation of land and water conservation

projects; the improvement of lands and waters to a

suitable condition useful in economic social develop-

29a

ment; and research and demonstration relating to

the development of surtace mining reclamation and

water quality control program methods.

H.R. Rep. No. 95-218, 95th Cong., 1st Sess. 169; U.S.

Code Cong. & Ad.News 593, 700 (1977). An earlier

House Report that accompanied the SMCRA made clear

that the reclamation fund provisions were designed to be

remedial in purpose and function:

[T]he widespread environmental degradation associ-

ated with coal surface mining—including the indis-

criminate dumping of coal mine waste on the lance

surface and into streams—has resulted in the serious

deterioration of the social and economic climate of

affected regions. Where states have nct accepted the

burden of rehabilitating these regions, the environ-

mental and social costs have devolved upon local resi-

dents. The injustice of requiring persons least able

to shoulder such an enormous burden to do so is

obvious.

H.R.Rep. No. 93-1072, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. 116 (1974).

It was considered critical, therefore, that the fee provi-

sions generate sufficient revenue to fund the Abandoned

Mine Program. See id. at 117. Early reports estimated

that as much as $180 million per year would be needed

to meet “high priority program needs.” Jd.

The bill’s sponsors, however, hoped to find a way to

impose a reclamation fee without “constrain[ing] the de-

velopment or production” of coal:

Several principal considerations form the basis for

the... reclamation fee:

First, to set the fee at such a level that it is not

a burden on the industry;

Third, to structure the fee so it would not exert

an inflationary influence in the economy.

30a

H.R.Rep. No. 95-218, 95th Cong., 1st Sess, 136, 137, U.S.

Code Cong. & Ad.News 5938, 668-69 (1977). To achieve

this end, Congress devised a differential fee based solely

on the genus of coal mined. Types of coal were limited

to three: surface mined coal was to be taxed at 35 cents

per ton; underground mined coal at 15 cents per tor;

and lignite coal at 10 cents per ton. See 30 U.S.C. § 1232

(a). Significantly, Congress expressly rejected an amend-

ment to the reclamation fee provisions that would have

provided for a uniform tax based on the BTU content

(energy value) of the coal, see H.R.Rep. No. 93-1072,

93d Cong., 2d Sess. 116-17 (1974) (proposing fee of 1.23

cents per million BTUs), and rejected proposed amend-

ments that would have permitted credits or deductions

for state severance tax payments that, in turn, either

provided for excess moisture deductions or were based

on BTU value. See 120 Cong.Rec. H25230 (July 25,

1974) (amendment of Congressman Seiberling proposing

a tax of $2.50 per ton of coal mined minus a credit of

$0.01 for each 1000 BTUs “by which the weighted aver-

age BTU value of coal mined... falls below 16,000 BTU

per pound’); 121 Cong.Rec. H6809 (Mar. 17, 1975)

(amendment of Congressman Regula proposing a credit

for “the amount of any reclamation fee or severance tax

... paid to the State during that year.”).

This decision to base the fee on the weight of the coal

at a given time during the coal production process, and

not on the value or “inherent content” of the coal, was not

an arbitrary choice unsupported by logic or reason; to

the contrary, by focusing on uniformity of application

rather than value Congress furthered three legitimate

and itiportant governmental interests.

First, the time-based tax ensured that the Abandoned

Mine Reclamation Fund provisions would be enforceable.

Clearly, a BTU tax, or any tax requiring a determination

of moisture content, possesses the inherent liability of

entangling federal authorities in the complicated process

3la

of overseeing testing for impurities. A tax based on gross

weight at a definable point of time in the production

process, however, avoids this problem because it elimi-

nates the need to test. Second, by selecting an enforceable

tax, Congress ensured that the funds necessary to con-

duct the program would be available. Given Congress’

concern that the cost of rehabilitating environmentally

degraded areas not fall upon the shoulders of those [citi-

zens| least able to afford it, see supra, H.R.Rep. No. 93-

1072, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. 116 (1974), the mine program’s

financial health was of critical importance. Third, by

selecting a time-based tax Congress avoided the need to

“choose [arbitrarily] between impurities”. If excess mois-

ture were a deductible impurity, operators might argue,

why not also deduct the weight of other impurities, such

as sulphur, dust, or debris. Once caught in a technica!

debate over the “true” elements of “pure” coal, there

might, conceivably, be no end to the deductions claimed.

To permit such a situation would jeopardize efforts to

meet the costly, remedial purposes of the Act without im-

posing new taxes—clearly an “inflationary influence,’—

on other sectors of the economy. See H.R.Rep. No. 95-

218, U.S.Code Cong. & Ad.News at 668-69.

The 1982 revised regulations are based on precisely

these policy concerns. As discussed supra, although the

preamble to the 1977 regulations and the Advisory Opin-

ion of April 17, 1980, attempted to clarify the confusion

surrounding the 1977 regulations and establish the recla-

mation fee as time, not value, based, the 1977 regulations

continued to create uncertainty among operators. In 1980

OSM completed a review of the Abandoned Mine Recla-

mation Fund Fee Collection Program. The review cov-

ered enforcement activities from October 1977 through

June 1980, and concluded that inconsistencies in the 1977

regulations had resulted in disparate treatment of coal

operators. Specifically, OSM found that the wording of

the preamble to the 1977 regulations had created a tax

loophole that was currently being exploited by operators

|

32a

in Region II. The preamble stated that the reclamation

fee was to be computed “on the weight on which the

initial transactions was based.” Secretary’s Record Supp.,

Exh. A at 12. The regulations themselves stated only that

the fee was to be “based on the weight at the time of

initial bona fide sale, transfer of ownership, or use by op-

erator.” Jd. By devising contractual terms that permit-

ted the operator to be paid at a higher rate for fewer

tons of “clean” or “pure” coal, an operator would pay

significantly less under the preamble interpretation be-

cause the “weight on which the transaction was based”

would be the weight of the anticipated clean coal. The-

oretically, therefore, two operators could tender the same

gross weight of coal for sale, and depending on the con-

tractual terms used, one might pay considerably less than

than the other. Secretary’s Record Supp., Exh. A at

11-13."

7OSM identified three possible ways of interpreting the regula-

tions:

“1. The fee has been based on real weight of the coal (either

run-of-mine or cleaned) at the time of sale.

“2. The fee has been based on the ‘calculated’ reduced weight

(supported by lab analysis), for which the operator was paid.

“3. The fee has been based on the ‘calculated’ reduced weight

(supported by lab analysis), even when the operator was not paid

on the basis of fewer tons.”

Secretary’s Record Supp. Exh. A at 16. Drummond, OSM concluded,

followed the third approach, and in so doing exploited a lucrative

loophole:

“Drummond fits into the third category. Drummond sells coal by

the ton and gets paid more or less per ton, according to the BTU’s

per ton. If the coal has more moisture, it has fewer BTU’s per ton,

and Drummond gets paid less per ton. (Note that Drummond does

not get paid for fewer tons; they get paid less per ton.) Drummond

is not the only company to be allowed this deduction; the IG report

estimates that such a deduction reduced fees in Alabama by $304,811

over the 33-month period examined, and the FCO estimated that

approximately 70 percent of the tonnage reported by operators in

that State included an adjustment for excess moisture.” Jd. at 16-

17.

| seein tiie leanne eat

|

83a

In addition to this loophole, the OSM report also found

that some operators in Region II were reading the plain

language of the regulations to permit excess moisture

deductions. Secretary’s Record Supp., Exh. A at 10-11.

Fearful that these interpretations would significantly and

critically deplete the revenues needed to fund the Aban-

doned Mine Program,*® thereby jeopardizing the broad,

remedial purposes of the Act, OSM moved quickly to draft

revised regulations unequivocally defining the fee as

time, not value, based.

Viewed against this background, it is apparent that

the 1982 regulations were promulgated out of a need

to ensure uniform enforcement, a workable administra-

tive framework, and adequate, “inflation free” funding.

As a direct response to those parts of the 1977 regula-

tions that failed to enforce effectively the remedial pur-

poses of the SMCRA, the 1982 revisions are patently con-

sistent with the legislative intent of the Act.

Finally, even were it not possible to identify the origi-

nal purposes of the Act or analyze their relationship to

the stated justifications for the 1982 regulations, the re-

vised regulations would still survive judicial review be-

cause the explanation tendered by OSM reflects a “ra-

tional connection between the facts found and the choice

made.” Burlington Truck Lines, Inc. v. United States,

371 U.S. 156, 168, 83 S.Ct. 239, 246, 9 L.Ed.2d 207

(1962).

Under the standard established by the Supreme Court,

an agency’s action will be found arbitrary and capricious

if, inter alia, the agency has

entirely failed to consider an important aspect of the

problem, offered an explanation for its decision that

runs counter to the evidence before the agency, or

is so implausible that it could not be ascribed to a

difference in view or the product of agency expertise.

8 See supra, n. 7.

34a

Motor Vehicle Manufacturers Ass’y v. State Farm Mut.

Auto Ins. Co., 463 U.S. 29, 43, 103 S.Ct. 2856, 2867, 77

L.Ed.2d 443 (1983), quoted in Nat’l Ass’n of Patents

on Hemodialysis and Transplantation, Inc. v. Heckler, 588

F. Supp. 1108 (D.D.C. 1984). In this instance, the rec-

ord does not support the conclusion that OSM entirely

failed to consider an aspect of the problem. The rationale

tendered to support the 1982 regulations is both reason-

able and logical given the evidence of administrative con-

fusion before the agency. More important, one cannot

reasonably conclude, in the absence of express statutory

language or legislative history to the contrary, that it

was “implausible” for the Secretary to assume that Con-

gress was aware of the importance of creating an ad-

ministratively enforceable tax mechanism—one that would

meet the funding needs of the Abandoned Mine Program

without requiring overly-intrusive regulation of local op-

erators. To the contrary, it is fair to assume that had

Congress wanted to ensure that impurities added during

the coal mining process, but not part of the “inherent con-

tent” of the coal, would not be taxed, it would fave chosen

one of the value-based amendments. Congress was free

to strike a different type of balance between the needs of

compliance and the nature of the tax burden on the coal

operator.

In short, the 1982 regulations are neither patently “in-

consistent” with nor plainly erroneous in their interpre-

tation of the legislative purposes of the SMCRA.° Indeed,

®In support of its poeition Drummond cites a recent decision by

the Third Circuit, United States v. Brook Contracting Corp., 759

F.2d 320 (3rd Cir.1985). In Brook the Third Circuit held that the

1982 regulations could not serve as a basis for including “rock,

clay, dirt, and other debris in the computation of the reclamation

fee.” Brook, at 327. The court ruled that “[t]o the extent that the

government interprets § 870.12(b) [the 1982 regulations} to auth-

orize imposition of the reclamation fee on noncoal material mined

by appellants here, we hold this regulation exceeds the scope of 30

U.S.C. § 1232(a) and is therefore invalid.” Brook, at 327.

[Continued }

a

35a

the revised regulations reflect governmental and agency

interests which, in the absence of express language to

the contrary, stand on their own as legitimate bases for

agency action. As such, the agency’s decision to promul-

® [Continued ]

In reaching its conclusion the Third Circuit relied heavily on leg-

islative history indicating that:

“Congress was very much concerned about economic burdens to the

economy in general, and the coal industry in particular. Congres-

sional research went to great pains to project costs to the consum-

ers and the industry that would result from implementation of the

reclamation fees. These projections strongly suggest that Congress

intended to impose the fee on combustible coal only, and not... on

additional tonnages of rock, clay and dirt.”

Brook, at 325. The legislative excerpts cited in Brook refer to cost

studies contemplated, or actually undertaken, by Congress. Signi-

ficantly, however, none of the excerpts noted by the court actually

discuss the cost studies in the context of the question at issue here,

and at issue in Brook. More important, Brook curiously ignores

the legislative history underscoring Congress’ equally pressing con-

cern for the remedial purposes of the Act. As the Brook court

points out, Congress’ purpose in establishing the reclamation fund

was to avoid burdening the coal industry and exerting inflationary

pressures on the economy, as well as “providing sufficient funds for

meeting program objectives within a reasonable time frame.” H.R.

Rep. No. 218, 95th Cong., 1st Sess., 170, reprinted in 1977, U.S.Code

Cong. & Ad.News 593, 672; see supra at Part III A 3. Congress’s

goal was to satisfy all of these concerns. An objective analysis,

therefore, must consider all of the legislative history. Because Con-

gress did not expressly discuss whether the fee actually agreed

upon (35 cents per ton) would constitute an undue burden on the

coal industry or the economy if based on a definition of coal that

included impurities, we respectfully disagree with the conclusion

that legislative history focusing solely on a “concern for costs” is

either persuasive or dispositive of the issues involved in this case.

To the contrary, it would appear that had a concern for “burdens

to the industry” been of paramount concern to Congress, proposed

amendments basing the fee on the BTU content of the coal would

not have been rejected in favor of the current “flat tax” approach.

Viewed in this light, then, the legislative history suggests that

the remedial purposes of the Fund, and the need to rehabilitate

those regions unable to absorb the costs associated with surface

a 86a

gate the 1982 regulations is entitled to substantial defer-

ence,

B. Prior Practice

The Supreme Court has held that if an agency

“chang[es] its course by rescinding a rule[,] [it] is obli-

gated to supply a reasoned analysis for the change beyond

that which may be required when an agency does not act

in the first instance.” Motor Vehicles, 463 U.S. at 42, 103

S.Ct. at 2866. The Court has also pointed out, however,

that “ ‘regulatory agencies do not establish rules of con-

mining, were the focus of Congress’ concern. The 1982 regulations

are reasonably consistent with this purpose.

In reaching its conclusion, Brook also relied on the definition of

coal as promulgated by the Secretary in 30 C.F.R. § 700.5:

“As used throughout this chapter, the following terms have the

specified meaning except where otherwise indicated—-

“Coal means combustible carbonaceous rock, classified as anthracite,

bituminous, subbituminous, or lignite by ASTM Standard D 388-77,

referred to and incorporated by reference in the definition of “an-

thracite” immediately above.” Because this definition does not ex-

pressly include impurities, the court reasoned that impurities could

not reasonably be included in the term “coal produced by surface

mining.” 30 U.S.C. §§ 1201.

The Secretary correctly points out, however, that the definition

of “coal” is irrelevant to the question at issue here. The regulatory

scheme challenged in this instance assesses the reclamation fees

based on weight at a given time, not based on value. The focus of

this Court’s analysis need only address the reasonableness of that

scheme. If valid reasons exist to support the Secretary’s decision

to base this tax on “time” rather than “value”, the manner in which

coal is defined in section 700.5 clearly is not dispositive of the cen-

tral issue. Of course, precisely the opposite would be true if Con-

gress had in fact intended to base the tax on the inherent value of

the coal mined. Cf. A.J. Taft Coal Co. v. United States, 605 F.Supp.

866 (N.D.Ala.1984), aff'd without opinion, 760 F.2d 280 (11th Cir.

1985) (distinguishing Drummond as a case that, unlike Taft,

(1) does not involve the interpretation of a “statute and regulation

which make reference only to coal”, and (2) does not involve a tax

based on the coal’s BTU value).

37a

duct to last forever.” Jd. quoting American Trucking

Ass’ns v. Atchinson, T. & S.F.R. Co., 387 U.S. 397, 416,

87 S.Ct. 1608, 1618, 18 L.Ed.2d 847 (1967). “[A]n

agency must be given ample latitude to ‘adapt their rules

and policies to the demands of changing circumstances.’ ”

Motor Vehicles, 463 U.S. at 42, 103 S.Ct. at 2866, quoting

Permian Basin Area Rate Cases, 390 U.S. 747, 784, 88

S.Ct. 1344, 1368, 20 L.Ed.2d 312 (1968). When faced

with “new developments”, an agency “may alter its past

interpretation and overturn past administrative rulings

and practice.” American Trucking, 387 U.S. at 416, 87

S.Ct. at 1618. Regulatory agencies “are supposed, within

the limits of fair and prudent administration, to adapt

their rules and practices to the Nation’s needs in a vola-

tile, changing economy. They are neither required nor

supposed to regulate the present and the future within

the inflexible limits of yesterday.” Id.

Drummond contends that the 1982 revised regulations

represent a change in OSM’s “policy and practice” for

which a reasoned justification is required. It is Drum-

mond’s position that the Secretary has failed to provide

the necessary “reasoned analysis.” Motor Vehicles, 463

U.S. at 42, 103 S.Ct. at 2866.

Based on the record before the Court, there is little evi-

dence to support the claim that the 1982 regulations repre-

sented a change in OSM policy on the national level. In

the preamble to the 1977 regulations, discussed at length,

supra, OSM clearly stated that the reclamation fee would

be based on the gross weight of the coal in its current

condition—with or without impurities—at the time of

initial sale, transference, or use. Subsequent policy ex-

planations released between 1978 and 1980 were largely

consistent with this basic position. See e.g. Solicitor’s

Opinion of Apr. 17, 1980, cited in Drummond’s Supp. to

Admin. Record, Attachment 3 at 3 (discussed supra, Part

III A 2). No official statement dealing with OSM’s na-

38a

tional policy may be found to the contrary in the adminis-

trative record.

OSM’s practice and policy at the local level, however, is

more complicated. According to the Secretary, only 12 of

approximately 6000 coal operators nationwide claimed a

moisture deduction. Defendant’s Mem. at 4. Of those

who claimed deductions, all but one were located in Re-

gion II. Affidavit of Jane S. Robinson, Secretary’s Record

Supp., Exh. E."° The Secretary cannot be bound, the de-

fendant argues, by the action of maverick officials in

Region II.

Drummond correctly points out that the 1981 Inspector

General’s report, drafted for the Assistant Secretary of

the Interior and the Associate Solicitor, however, specifi-

cally found that “(t]he [1977] regulations concerning

reclamation for computations are subject to various inter-

pretations” and that “[a]s a result, the regulations have

not been applied consistently by both the coal industry and

OSM fee compliance personnel. . . .” Secretary’s Record

Supp., Exh. A at 10. See also Drummond’s Supp. to

Admin. Record Attachment 1 at 4. Other reports drafted

by OSM personnel concede that “OSM has never disal-

lowed . . . a deduction [for excess moisture] ; we simply

never gave it to anyone who did not ask for it.” Drum-

mond’s Supp. to Admin. Record, Attachment 8 at 4. It is

Drummond’s position that the defendant’s admitted fail-

ure to deny a single request for a deduction amounted to

a prior practice or policy to permit deductions when asked.

Insofar as the 1982 regulations altered this “prior policy”,

without justification, Drummond concludes, the Secretary’s

decision to issue the revised regulations was arbitrary

and capricious.

Drummond’s argument is flawed in several respects.

First, on the basis of the record here it is difficult to con-

According to the affidavit, a fee compliance officer in Pennsyl-

vania permitted an operator to take a deduction on one occasion. Af-

fidavit of Jane E. Robinson, Secretary’s Record Supp., Exh. E at 2.

oe ene

pe —«

39a

clude that OSM knowingly and deliberately altered a prior

practice. All but one of the excess moisture deductions

were authorized by fee compliance officers in a single

region—Region II. There is no indication that either

senior OSM officials or the Secretary’s Office learned that

the deductions had been authorized for Alabama operators

by the Region II Compliance Chief until well into 1981

when Steven Griles, Deputy Director of OSM, requested

W. Hord Tipton, Acting Regional Director of Region II,

to investigate the treatment of moisture deductions in

Region II. See Drummond Supp. to Admin. Record, At-

tachment 2, Tipton letter of Aug. 6, 1981, at 1. Upon

learning of Region II’s policy and discovering general

uncertainty over the proper interpretation of the 1977

regulations, OSM moved quickly to correct Region II’s

deviation and clarify the regulations. In short, once

OSM was made aware of the problem, remedial action

was taken relatively promptly. The record does not sup-

port the conclusion that senior OSM officials in Washing-

ton knowingly endorsed'a policy of permitting moisture

deductions.

Indeed, as a matter of law, the activities of insubordi-

nates or misinformed government officials generally will

not bind the government. See Federal Crop Ins. v. Merrill,

332 U.S. 380, 384, 68 S.Ct. 1, 3, 92 L.Ed. 10 (1947)

(“anyone entering into an arrangement with the Govern-

ment takes the risk of having accurately ascertained that

he who purports to act for the Government stays within

the bounds of his authority’) ; Schweiker v. Hansen, 450

U.S. 785, 101 S.Ct. 1468, 67 L.Ed.2d 685 (1981) (gov-

ernment not estopped from enforcing regulation where

social security claimant given erroneous information by

government field representative); cf. Boggs v. Regan,

Civil Action No. 79-1090 (D.D.C., decided Sept. 18, 1981)

(Hansen distinguished on grounds that plaintiffs made

“every effort to obtain information from all sources in-

cluding the responsible decisionmakers.” Slip op. at 5

(emphasis added) ). In this instance, therefore, the activi-

40a

ties of OSM officials in Region II cannot properly be at-

tributed to the Secretary. Because Drummond and the

other Alabama operators who requested moisture deduc-

tions did not seek advice from the highest levels of OSM,

they were in effect charged under the law with knowledge

of the proper meaning and intent of the 1977 regulations.

Viewed from this perspective, it is difficult to find that

OSM ever altered its practice, for without knowledge or

legal responsibility for Region II’s activities the Secretary

could not have authorized excess moisture deductions."!

Yet, even if Region II’s activities can be attributed to

the higher levels of OSM, Drummond’s argument remains

flawed for a second reason. In cases where a reasoned

justification for a policy change has been required, the

agency involved made a distinct and decisive break from

an affirmatively established rule or regulation. See, e.g.,

Motor Vehicles (rescinding an agency rule requires rea-

soned justification) ; Farmers Union Central Exchange,

Inc. v. FERC, 734 F.2d 1486 (D.C.Cir.1984) (agency

decision to return to old ICC rate base requires reasoned

justification).

11 In support of its argument that the Secretary’s interpretation

of the Act is not entitled to deference, Drummond argues that the

Secretary’s interpretation is not “contemporaneous with enactment

of [the] SMCRA.” Plaintiff’s Mem. at 15. Judicial deference to an

agency interpretation, Drummond concludes, is “not warranted

where [t]he interpretation is not contemporaneous with enactment

of the statute [citing General Electric v. Gilbert, 429 U.S. 125, 142-

43, 97 S.Ct. 401, 411, 50 L.Ed.2d 343 (1975); Northern Colorado

Water Conservancy District v. FERC, 730 F.2d 1509, 1519-20 (D.C.

Cir. 1984) ]j”. Zd.

To the extent that the Court now concludes OSM’s current inter-

pretation of the Act does not conflict with the prior administrative

practice “begun when that statute became law,” id., Drummond’s

“contemporaneous” argument is essentially moot. Even were the

Court less convinced that Region II’s activities cannot be attributed

te the OSM’ national policy, the absence of any clear or consistent

policy at the local level would militate against overturning the

agency’s decision on the grounds that the interpretation was “con-

temporaneous” with the enactment of the SMCRA.

4la

In this case, however, there is no distinct, affirmative

policy from which the 1982 regulations may be said to

have deviated. OSM concedes that it never denied a deduc-

tion when requested, but it is also apparent that OSM

never asserted in regulations, comments, or policy state-

ments, that moisture deductions were permissible. Indeed,

all of OSM’s official pronouncements implied the opposite.

In short, the lack of a consistent practice at the local level

argues not for the conclusion that OSM had a prior prac-

tice different from that required by the 1982 revised regu-

lations, but rather that OSM had no real policy at all at

the local level.

Third and finally, even if the actions of OSM officials

in Region II can be held to constitute a “prior practice”

that may be imputed to the Secretary, the promulgation

of the 1982 regulations represented a legitimate, justifi-

able response to the “demands of changing circumstances.”

Permian Basin, 390 U.S. 747, 88 S.Ct. 1844, 20 L.Ed.2d

312 (1968). It is clear from the record that the confusion

which developed in Alabama over the 1977 regulations

represented an unexpected but serious threat to the Aban-

doned Mine Reclamation Fund Program. Given the broad,

remedial purposes of the Act, the need to insure continued

funding for the program, and Congress’ clear intent to

establish an administratively enforceable regulatory

scheme that would not be based on a BTU or impurities-

credit fee system, it was not unreasonable for OSM to

promulgate new regulations designed to clarify the old.

All of these reasons for the 1982 revisions—discussed at

length supra—are contained in the administrative record.

See Inspector General’s Report, Secretary’s Record Supp.,

Exh. A; Drummond’s Supp. to Admin. Record, Attach-

ments 1, 3.

IV. Conclusion

After a “careful and searching inquiry into the record

... to assure itself that the agency has examined the

relevant data and articulated a reasoned explanation for

42a

its action,” Farmers Unions, 734 F.2d at 1499, the Court

concludes that a rational connection exists between “the

facts found and the choice made.” Burlington Truck

Lines v. United States, 371 U.S. 156, 168, 83 S.Ct. 239,

246, 9 L.Ed.2d 207 (1962).

Because the revised regulations are consistent with the

plain language and purpose of the SMCRA, and because

the challenged regulations do not constitute a change from

a prior administrative policy or practice, the Secretary’s

interpretation of the SMCRA and the 1977 regulations is

entitled to broad deference. Based on this record, the

plaintiff has not met its burden of establishing that the

challenged agency action was arbitrary and capricious.”

Aceordingly, for the reasons set forth above, summary

judgment must be granted in favor of the defendant. A

separate Judgment accompanies this Memorandum

Opinion and Order.

12 The Court notes that as a practical matter this decision need

not work an undue hardship on the plaintiff. As the District Court

in Alabama pointed out, there is nothing in the new regulations

that would prevent an operator from removing impurities before

the initial bona fide sale, transfer, or use. If Drummond chooses to

clean or dry the coal before the coal is treated, there will be no tax

on excess moisture or other impurities.

43a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

SEPTEMBER TERM, 1986

CA No. 82-02439

No. 85-5827

DRUMMOND COAL COMPANY

Vv.

DONALD P. HODEL, Secretary of the Interior

[Filed Sept. 26, 1986]

BEFORE: Wald, Chief Judge; Robinson, Mikva, Ed-

wards, Ginsburg, Bork, Starr, Silberman,

Buckley and Williams, Circuit Judges

ORDER

Appellant’s suggestion for rehearing en banc has been

circulated to the full Court. No member of the Court

requested the taking of a vote thereon. Upon considera-

tion of the foregoing, it is

ORDERED, by the Court en bane, that appellant’s

suggestion is denied.

Per Curiam

FOR THE COURT:

GEORGE A. FISHER

Clerk

By: /s/ Robert A. Bonner

ROBERT A. BONNER

Chief Deputy Clerk

44a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ALABAMA

SOUTHERN DIVISION

CV82-H-1838-S

DRUMMOND COAL COMPANY,

Plainttff,

VS.

JAMES G. WATT,

Defendant.

[Filed May 18, 1983]

MEMORANDUM OF DECISION

On August 27, 1982, plaintiff Drummond Coal Com-

pany (Drummond) filed in this court a petition for re-

view and complaint for declaratory and injunctive relief.

Drummond requests that the court review revised na-

tional regulations promulgated by defendant James G.

Watt, Secretary of the Department of the Interior (Sec-

retary), acting through the office of Surface Mining

Reclamation and Enforcement (OSM), pursuant to the

Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act of 1977,

30 U.S.C. §§ 1201, et seq. (the Act). Drummond is peti-

tioning the court to declare invalid and enjoin the en-

forcement of the Secretary’s revision of 30 C.F.R.

§ 870.12 on the ground that it is arbitrary, capricious,

and inconsistent with the law. The Act imposed a recla-

mation fee (the fee) on all coa! produced for sale, trans-

fer or use in the United States. The fee is imposed by

Section 402(a) of the Act in the following manner:

45a

All operators of coal mining operations subject to

the provisions of this Act shall pay to the Secretary

of the Interior, for deposit in the fund, a reclama-

tion fee of 35 cents per ton of coal produced by sur-

face coal mining and i5 cents per ton of coal pro-

duced by underground mining or 10 per centum of

the value of the coal at the mine, as determined by

the Secretary, whichever is less, except that the recla-

mation fee for lignite coal shall be at a rate of 2 per

centum of the value of the coal at the mine, or 10

cents per ton, whichever is less.

Section 201(c) (2) of the Act empowers the Secretary to

“publish and promulgate such rules and regulations as

may be necessary to carry out the purposes and provi-

sions of this Act.” More particularly, Section 412(a) of

the Act empowers the Secretary “to engage in any work

and do all things necessary or expedient, including pro-

mulgation of rules and regulations, to implement and

administer” the abandoned mine land program.

On December 13, 1977, under the authority delegated

by the Secretary, OSM promulgated regulations which

established procedures for the computation of reclama-

tion fees. 30 C.F.R. Part 837 (42 Fed. Reg. 62713).

These regulations, which were incorporated in the final

regulations issued by OSM on October 25, 1978, provide

in Section 870.12(b) that:

The reclamation fee shall be determined by the

weight and value [of the coal] at the time of initial

bona fide sale, transfer of ownership or use by the

operator.

30 C.F.R. § 870.12(b) (43 Fed. Reg. 49940).

These regulations attempted to establish a _ simple

method. of determining when the coal should be weighed

and the value that should be used when establishing the

amount owed by the operator. The regulations were uni-

formly applied in all states but Alabama. In Alabama,

46a

Drummond and perhaps several other Alabama producers,

with the knowledge of the Secretary, deducted “excess”

moisture when calculating the weight of coal for purposes

of computing the fee. Drummond defines “excess” mois-

ture as water which is added to coal after it has been

severed from the ground. This moisture, Drummond ex-

plains, is absorbed by coal when it is immersed in water

during the washing process or when it is exposed to rain-

fall or other water that collects in the mine or pit. Since

water adds weight but not value to the coal, Drummond

argues that this added weight should not be subject to

taxation.

These Alabama operators apparently had become ac-

custom to taking this deduction when computing their

tax under the Alabama Coal Severance Tax. See Ala.

Code § 40-13-1, et seq. (1975). From the evidence before

the court, it appears that Alabama has the only state

severance tax which allows for such an “excess” moisture

deduction in computing state severance taxes on coal.

The Secretary states that OSM has never interpreted

its regulations to permit coal operators to deduct mois-

ture content from the weight of their coal when calculat-

ing the reclamation fees which become due under the

Act. But contrary to agency policy, the OSM fee com-

pliance officer for Alabama permitted the “excess” mois-

ture deduction to those Alabama operators who requested

it. Elsewhere in the United States the fee was uniformly

calculated without a deduction for moisture, excess or

otherwise.

Due to the inconsistent application of the first set of

regulations, the Secretary opted to promulgate a new

set of regulations. On December 11, 1981, the Secretary

published in the Federal Register proposed revisions to

the Abandoned Mine Reclamation Program, including

regulations for fee computations. 46 Fed. Reg. 6077

(1981). The preamble to the new regulations set forth

the purpose for the revision to § 870.12: “T{o] clarify

ee

47a

the point in time of fee determination, as well as the

weight parameters for calculating reclamation fees.”

47 Fed. Reg. 28577, col. 3 (June 30, 1982).

The new pertinent part of the 1982 revised regulations

including the clarifying provisions provides as follows:

(a) The operator shall pay a reclamation fee on

each ton of coal produced for sale, transfer, or use,

including the products of in situ mining.

(b) The fee shall be determined by the weight and

value at the time of initial bona fide sale, transfer

of ownership, or use by the operator.

. * * *

(3) The weight of each ton shall be determined by

the actual gross weight of the coal.

(i) Impurities, including water, that have not

been removed prior to the time of initial bona fide

sale, transfer of ownership, or use by the operator

shall not be deducted from the gross weight.

47 Fed. Reg. 28594 (June 30, 1982).

Both the 1977 and 1982 regulations implement Section

402 of the Act and have national applicability to all

operators of coal mining operations subject to the Act.

Both regulations require computation of the reclamation

fee on the basis of the weight and value of the coal at

the time of initial bona fide sale, transfer or use by the

operator. But most importantly for this present litiga-

tion, the revised regulations expressly prohibit coal opera-

tors from taking an “excess” moisture deduction. The

issue before this court is whether the promulgation of

these new regulations is within the scope of the Secre-

tary’s authority.

The standard of judicial review of the Secretary’s gen-

eral rulemaking authority to promulgate national rules

or regulations is clearly established in Section 526(a) (1)

of the Act which provides, in relevant part, the following:

ee eee

48a

Any action subject to judicial review under this sub-

section shall be affirmed unless the court conc!:des

that such action is arbitrary, capricious, or otherwise

inconsistent with law.

The “arbitrary or capricious” standard of review is a

limited one. The Supreme Court has stated the following

concerning this standard:

[T]he court must consider whether the [agency’s]

decision was based on a consideration of the relevant

factors and whether there has been a clear error of

judgment. . . . Although this inquiry into the facts

is to be searching and careful, the ultimate standard

of review is a narrow one. The court is not em-

powered to substitute its judgment for that of the

agency.

Citizens to Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe, 401 U.S. 402,

416 (1971).

The arbitrary and capricious standard reflects two

basic principles of judicial review of administrative ac-

tion: that agency actions are presumed valid, United

States v. Southern Ry. Co., 364 F.2d 86 (5th Cir. 1966).

cert. denied, 386 U.S. 1031 (1967), and that the burden

is on the challenger to show that the agency’s action vio-

lates the standard. Maryland-National Capital Park and

Planning Comm’n v. Lynn, 514 F.2d 829, 834 (D.C. Cir.

1975).

Drummond contends that the June 30, 1982 clarifica-

tions to 30 C.F.R. 870.12 are arbitrary and capvicious.

However, the case law is clear that an agency’s inter-

pretation of a statute will be upheld so long as the inter-

pretation is part of a range of reasonable interpretations.

After a thorough review of the record presented in this

action, this court finds that Drummond has failed to

carry its burden of showing that the regulations are

arvitrary or capricious.

49a

Drummond argues that the new regulations amount to

a substantive change in the policy of the agency without

a rational explanation. This court views the new regula-

tions as a clarification of the statute by the agency so as

to ensure uniform application of the law. Drummond, in

its own brief, cites an intra-agency memo which observes

that the initial regulations were subject to varying inter-

pretations and applications. See Memorandum in Opposi-

tion to Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment, p. 5.

Because the initial regulations were not being interpreted

uniformly, the agency was acting responsibly by seeking

to clarify its position. The preamble to the revised regu-

lations states that one of the purposes of the regulations

was to “clarify the weight parameters for calculating

reclamation fees.” This court views the action of the

agency as reasonable and within the scope of its authority.

A pam RA gee eal te reel

Drummond also contends that the new regulations are

inconsistent with the plain language of the Act. The

regulations are invaiid, Drummond argues, because they

tax impurities such as water, while the Act authorizes

a tax only on coal. This argument is not persuasive.

The revised regulations are clearly within the scope of

the agency’s authority under the Act. Congress chose to

tax tonnage of “coal.” Obviously there are impurities

mixed with coal—dirt, sulfur, water, etc. Congress made

no attempt to remove from taxation this small percentage

of impurities found in the mined coal. Had Congress

been concerned that the inclusion of impurities would

work an undue hardship on the coal operators, the tax

could have been calculated in other ways. For example,

Congress could have taxed the coal on its BTU content.

Since Congress refused to distinguish coal from its im-

purities, the reguiation requiring the inclusion of im-

purities in calculating gross weight at the time of initial

sale, transfer, or use, is within the scope of the agency’s

authority. The fact that the impurities involved here are

“added” to the coal after it is mined does not change the

SES TAROS IER TURNS Ye

50a

result. Again, Congress was well aware that after min-

ing and before sale or use, coal is exposed to water from

a variety of sources.

Finally, there is nothing in the new regulations which

will prevent the coal operators from removing the im-

purities prior to the initial bona fide sale, transfer or

use. If the operator chooses to clean or dry the coal be-

fore the initial sale, transfer or use, there will be no tax

on water or other impurities, as Drummond contends.

For these reasons, this court is of the opinion that the

challenged regulations are valid and not arbitrary or

capricious. A separate order will be entered in accord-

ance with this memorandum.

DONE this 18th day of May, 1983.

/s/ James H. Hancock

United States District Judge

5la

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 83-7366

DRUMMOND COAL COMPANY,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

. Cross-A ppellee,

JAMES G. WATT,

Defendant-Appellee,

Cross-Appellant.

July 2, 1984

Fournier, J. Gale, III, Birmingham, Ala., for plaintiff-

appellant, cross-appellee.

Kathleen P. Dewey, Robert L. Klarquist, U.S. Dept.

of Justice, Washington, D.C., Frank W. Donaldson, U.S.

Atty., Herbert J. Lewis, III, Asst. U.S. Atty., Birming-

ham, Ala., Glenda Hudson, Div. of Surface Mining, Dept.

of Interior, George R. Hyde, Dept. of Justice, Land and

Natural Resources Div., Washington, : D.C., for defendant-

appellee, cross- -appellant.

Appeals from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Alabama

Before RONEY and JOHNSON, Circuit Judges, and

MORGAN, Senior Circuit Judge.

52a

JOHNSON, Circuit Judge:

Drummond Coal Company (“Drummond”) appeals the

judgment of the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Alabama, denying Drummond’s peti-

tion for review and its complaint for injunctive and

declaratory relief from regulations promulgated by the

Secretary of the Interior (“the Secretary”), acting

through the Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and

Enforcement (“OSM”), pursuant to the Surface Mining

Control and Reclamation Act of 1977, 30 U.S.C.A.

$$ 1201 et seq. (“the Act”). The regulations at issue ©

govern the reclamation fund created under the Aban-

doned Mine Land Reclamation Program established by

the Act. Specifically, the challenged regulation deter-

mines the method by which Drummond must calculate

the fee it is required to pay into the fund on each ton of

coal it produces.

The Secretary filed a cross-appeal, challenging the

denial of his motion to dismiss the case for lack of juris-

diction, pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure

12(b) (3)... The Secretary maintains that Section 526

(a) (1) of the Act, 30 U.S.C.A. § 1276(a) (1), vests the

United States District Court for the District of Colum-

bia with exclusive jurisdiction to hear challenges to na-

tional regulations promulgated under the Act, and thus

the district court here should have dismissed this case.

Although we believe that Drummond’s challenge to the

revised regulations is wholly without merit, we do not

here reach that issue because we agree with the Secre-

tary that Section 1276(a) (1) vests in the United States

1 The district court refused to certify the jurisdictional question

for interlocutory appeal. The district court also denied the Secre-

tary’s motion to transfer the case to the United States District

Court for the District of Columbia, pursuant to 28 U.S.C.A. § 1404,

where Drummond concurrently had filed another action challenging

the same regulation on the same grounds. On appcal, the Secretary

does not challenge the denial of his motion to transfer the case.

—

53a

District Court for the District of Columbia exclusive juris-

diction over this case. Consequently, we reverse the dis-

trict court’s decision on the jurisdictional question, vacate

its decision on the merits, and remand the case with in-

structions to the district court to dismiss the action.

I.

Congress in 1977 enacted the Surface Mining Control

and Reclamation Act for the purpose of, among other

things, establishing “a nationwide program to protect so-

ciety and the environment from the adverse effects of

surface coal mining operations,” 30 U.S.C.A. § 1202(a),

and promoting “the reclamation of mined areas left with-

out adequate reclamation . . . which continue, in their

unreclaimed condition, to substantially degrade the qual-

ity of the environment, prevent or damage the beneficial

use of land or water resources, or endanger the health

or safety of the public.” 30 U.S.C.A. § 1202(h). Title IV

of the Act created the Abandoned Mine Reclamation

Fund, 30 U.S.C.A. § 1231, and enacted a requirement

that all coal operators subject to the statute pay into the

fund a reclamation fee on every ton of coal they produce,

30 U.S.C.A. § 1232.

On December 13, 1977, the Secretary first promulgated

regulations governing the payment of the reclamation

fee. 42 Fed.Reg. 62713 (codified at 30 C.F.R. Part 870

(1981) ). These regulations, which were incorporated in

the final regulations issued on October 25, 1978, 43 Fed.

Reg. 49940, provided that the fee was “determined by

the weight and value [of the coal] at the time of the

initial bona fide sale, transfer of ownership, or use by

the operator.” 30 C.F.R. § 870.12(b) (1981). The regu-

lations did not prescribe the elements that define the

weight and value of the coal.

The Secretary later discovered that some coal opera-

tors in Alabama, before calculating their fees, were sub-

a

54a

tracting from the actual tonnage mined a deduction for

the moisture content of the coal. The Secretary in June

1982 published revised regulations prohibiting such de-

ductions. 47 Fed.Reg. 28593 (1982). The revised regula-

tions stated that “(t]he weight of each ton shall be deter-

mined by the actual gross weight of the coal,” 30 C.F.R.

§ 870.12 (b) (3) (1983),? and specified that “[i]mpurities,

2 The revised regulation provides in full:

§ 870.12 Reclamation fee.

(a) The operator shall pay a reclamation fee on each ton of

coal produced for sale, transfer, or use, including the products

of in situ mining.

(b) The fee shall be determined by the weight and value at

the time of initial bona fide sale, transfer of ownership, or use

by the operator.

(1) The initial bona fide sale, transfer of ownership, or use

shall be determined by the first transaction or use of the coal

by the operator immediately after it is severed, or removed

from a reclaimed coal refuse deposit.

(2) The value of the coal shall be determined F.O.B. mine.

(3) The weight of each ton shall be determined by the actual

gross weight of the coal.

(i) Impurities, including water, that have not been removed

prior to the time of initial bona fide sale, transfer of ownership,

or use by the operator shall not be deducted from the gross

weight.

(ii) Operators selling coal on a clean coal basis shall retain

records that show run-of-mine tonnage, and the basis for the

clean coal transaction.

(iii) Insufficient records shall subject the operator to fees

based on raw tonnage data.

(c) If the operator combines surface mined coal, including

reclaimed coai, wit] underground mined coal before the ccal is

weighed for fee purposes, the higher reclamation fee shall

apply, unless the operator can substantiate the amount of coal

produced by surface mining by acceptable engineering calcula-

tions or other reports which the Director may require.

30 C.F.R. § 870.12 (1983).

55a

including water, that have not been removed prior to the

time of initial bona fide sale, transfer of ownership, or

use by the operator shall not be deducted from the gross

weight.” 30 C.F.R. § 870.12(b) (3) (i) (1983).

In August 1982, Drummond filed this suit challenging

30 C.F.R. § 870.12 on the ground that it was arbitrary,

capricious and inconsistent with the Act. The Secretary

in October 1982 moved the court to dismiss the case for

lack of jurisdiction, arguing that Section 1276(a) (1)

conferred exclusive jurisdiction to hear challenges to na-

tional regulations on the federal district court for the

District of Columbia. The district court denied the mo-

tion in January 1983, concluding that the Act provided

the District of Columbia district court with concurrent

jurisdiction in cases involving national regulations. In

May 1983, the district court entered judgment for the

Secretary on the merits of Drummond’s challenge, con-

cluding that the regulations promulgated by the Secre-

tary were valid and not arbitrary or capricious. Drum-

mond filed its notice of appeal, and the Secretary cross-

appealed from the May judgment and the January order

insofar as they determined that the United States Dis-

trict Court for the Northern District of Alabama had

jurisdiction to hear challenges to national regulations

promulgated under the Act.

Il.

We address first the jurisdictional question raised by

the Secretary. The statutory provision governing juris-

diction, 30 U.S.C.A. § 1276(a) (1), states that:

Any action of the Secretary to approve or dis-

approve a State program or to prepare or promul-

3 Drummond at the same time filed an action in the United States

District Court for the District of Columbia. See n. 1 supra. On

February 24, 1983, the district court in the District of Columbia

entered an order suspending proceedings in that action until all

proceedings, including appeals, in this case are completed.

Maine

56a

gate a Federal Program pursuant to this chapter

shall be subject to judicial review by the United

States District Court for the District which includes

the capital of the State whose program is at issue.

Any action by the Secretary promulgating national

rules or regulations including standards pursuant to

sections 1251, 1265, 1266, and 1273 of this title shall

be subject to judicial review in the United States

District Court for the District of Columbia Circuit.

Any other action constituting rule-making by the

Secretary shall be subject to judicial review only by

the United States Court for the District in which

the surface coal mining operation is located. Any

action subject to judicial review under this subsec-

tion shall be affirmed unless the court concludes that

such action is arbitrary, capricious, or otherwise in-

consistent with the law. A petition for review of

any action subject to judicial review under this sub-

section shall be filed in the appropriate Court within

sixty days from the date of such action, or after such

date if the petition is based solely on grounds aris-

ing after the sixtieth day. Any such petition may be

made by any person who participated in the admin-

istrative proceedings and who is aggrieved by the

action of the Secretary.

Id. (emphasis added).

The Secretary maintains that the plain language of the

statute reveals Congress’ intent to vest exclusive jurisdic-

tion over challenges to national regulations in the Dis-

trict Court for the District of Columbia. In addition, the

Secretary contends that the legislative history and pur-

pose of the Act, as well as case law interpreting this

statute and others and a survey of jurisdictional statutes,

support the Secretary’s conclusion. Drummond argues

that the language of the statute and its legislative history

support the conclusion reached by the court below that

the statute confers concurrent jurisdiction on the District

57a

of Columbia district court and all other district courts

that otherwise would have jurisdiction of the case.

Only two other circuits have addressed this question,

and they have not agreed on the answer. In Holmes

Limestone Co. v. Andrus, 655 F.2d 732 (6th Cir.1981),

cert. denied sub nom. Watt v. Holmes Limestone Co.,

456 U.S. 995, 102 S.Ct. 2280, 72 L.Ed.2d 1292 (1982),

the Court reversed the district court’s determination that

the statute vested exclusivse jurisdiction in the District of

Columbia district court. Jd. at 733. The Fourth Circuit,

in Tug Valley Recovery Center v. Watt, 703 F.2d 796

(1983), without citing Holmes Limestone and with little

discussion, disagreed.* Id. at 799 n. 3.

“It is elementary that the meaning of a statute must,

in the first instance, be sought in the language in which

the Act is framed.” Caminetti v. United States, 242 U.S.

470, 485, 37 S.Ct. 192, 194, 61 L.Ed. 442 (1917). If the

language is plain and does not lead “to absurd or wholly

impracticable consequences, it is the sole evidence of the

ultimate legislative intent.” Jd. at 490, 37 S.Ct. at 196.

When the “legislative purpose is expressed in ‘plain and

unambiguous language, . . . the . . . duty of the courts

is to give it effect according to its terms’.” United States

v. Rutherford, 442 U.S. 544, 551, 99 S.Ct. 2470, 2475, 61

L.Ed.2d 68 (1979) (quoting United States v. Lexington

Mill & Elevator Company, 232 U.S. 399, 409, 34 S.Ct. 337,

340, 58 L.Ed. 658 (1914) ).

Section 1276(a)(1) states that national regulations

“shall be subject to judicial review in the United States

* District courts also have decided the question both ways. Con-

cluding that the statute confers exclusive jurisdiction are: Virginia

Mining & Reclamation Ass’n v. Watt, No. 82-2799 (D.D.C. June 8,

1983) (unpublished opinion) ; Reading Anthracite v. Office of Sur-

face Mining Reclamation and Enforcement, No. 80-0667 (E.D.Pa.

October 8, 1980) (unpublished opinion); Union Carbide Corp. v.

Andrus, 13 E.R.C. 1481 (S.D.W.Va. 1979). Concluding that the

statute confers concurrent jurisdiction is: Utah International, Inc.

v. Department of the Interior, 553 F.Supp. 872 (D.Utah 1982).

58a

District Court for the District of Columbia Circuit.” °

The language that Congress chose for this provision indi-

cates its intent. The word “shall” is a mandatory, not

permissive, form * and indicates a congressional i::tent to

require that judicial review of regulations having nation-

wide application occur in the federal district court in the

District of Columbia. This result is neither absurd nor

wholly impracticable. A rational basis can be conceived

for centralizing review of national regulations. Congress

may have had a particular desire to foster uniformity in

the interpretation of these regulations.’ Congress’ provi-

sion in other statutes of a single avenue for judicial re-

® No party challenges here the assertion that the regulation under

review is a national regulation.

® The word “shail” has been defined as follows:

Shail. As used in statutes, contracts, or the like, this word is

generally imperative or mandatory. In common or ordinary

parlance, and in its ordinary signification, the term “shall” is

a word of command, and one which has always or which must

be given a compulsory meaning; as denoting obligation. It has

a peremptory meaning, and it is generally imperative or man-

datory. It has the invariable significance of excluding the idea

of discretion, and has the significance of operating to impose

a duty which may be enforced, particularly if public policy is in

favor of this meaning, or when addressed to public officials, or

where a public interest is involved, or where the public or

persons have rights which ought to be exercised or enforced,

unless a contrary intent appears. People v. O’Rourke, 124

Cal.App. 752, 13 P.2d 989, 992.

But it may be construed as merely permissive or directory

(as equivalent to “may”), to carry out the legislative intention

and in cases where no right or benefit to any one depends on

its being taken in the imperative sense, and where no public or

private right is impaired by its interpretation in the other

sense. Wisdom v. Board of Sup’rs of Polk County, 236 Iowa

669, 19 N.W.2d 602, 607, 608.

Black’s Law Dictionary 1233 (rev. 5th ed. 1979).

7 See text accompanying nn. 11 & 12 infra.

59a

view * and its subsequent enactment of this statute sug-

gest that limiting review to one court is not impracticable.

Even if we were not to rely on the plain meaning of

the statute, we would reach the conclusion that we do on

the basis of the Act’s legislative history and purpose, ap-

plicable case law, and Congress’ treatment of other juris-

dictional statutes. In so doing, we explicitly reject the

reasoning and conclusions reached by the district court in

this case and by the Sixth Circuit in Holmes Limestone.

The court below compared the Senate and House ver-

sions of the bill considered by the Conference Committee

with the bill that emerged from Conference. The court

noted that the House and Senate bills both provided that

review of national regulations would occur only in the

Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia, that review

of actions by the Secretary to approve or disapprove a

state program would occur only in the federal court of

appeals for the circuit that contains the state whose pro-

gram is at issue, and finally that review of any other

action by the Secretary would occur only in the district

court (House bill) or court of appeals (Senate bill) for

the district in which the mining operation at issue is

located. The district court noted that the bill that emerged

from Conference omitted the word “only” in the sentences

regarding the review of national regulations and state

programs but retained the word in the sentence providing

for the review of other actions by the Secretary. (It also

changed the court in which review would occur from the

circuit to the district.) The court concluded that the omis-

8 See, e.g., 42 U.S.C.A. §1973c (Voting Rights Act) (certain

states seeking to impose new voter qualifications may institute an

action in the United States District Court for the District of

Columbia); 42 U.S.C.A. § 7607 (Clean Air Act) (certain regula-

tions subject to review only in the United States Court of Appeals

for the District of Columbia) ; 47 U.S.C.A. § 402(b) (Federal Com-

munications Act) (certain orders of the FCC may be reviewed by

the United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia).

60a

sion of the word “only” from the sentence providing for

review of nationa: regulations was purposeful and indi-

cated Congress’ intent to create concurrent jurisdiction.

The court found this conclusion bolstered by the retention

of “only” in the sentence involving other actions by the

Secretary. The majority in Holmes Limestone, supra,

adopted essentially the same reasoning. 655 F.2d at 737.”

We cannot agree. The Conference Committee Report

did not explain the reason, if any existed, for omitting the

word “only” from the Conference bill. H.R.Rep. No.

95-493, p. 111 (1977), reprinted in 1977 U.S.Code Cong.

& Ad.News 728, 743. Unexplained changes made in com-

mittee are not reliable indicators of congressional intent.

See Trailmobile Company v. Whirls, 331 U.S. 40, 61, 67

S.Ct. 982, 992, 91 L.Ed. 1328 (1947). Although the omis-

sion may represent an intention to vest concurrent juris-

diction, as the government notes, it may represent instead

a congressional! recognition of the force of the word “shall”

and an intention to avoid redundancy. Alternatively, as

Justice White suggested in his dissent from the denial of

certiorari in Holmes Limestone, the omission may have

been completely inadvertent. 156 U.S. 995, 996, 102 S.Ct.

2280, 2281, 72 L.Ed.2d 1292 (1982) (White, J., with

Blackmun, J., dissenting) ."°

*In a separate opinion, Judge Merritt rejected the reasoning of

the majority, but concurred in the result. See Holmes Limestone

Co. v. Andrus, 655 F.2d 732, 739-41 (6th Cir. 1981) (Merritt, J.,

concurring), cert. denied sub nom. Watt v. Holmes Limestone Co.,

456 U.S. 995, 102 S.Ct. 2280, 72 L.Ed.2d 1292 (1982). Judge Merritt

concluded that the language of Section 1276(a)(1) is unclear and

the legislative history inconclusive on the matter of congressional

intent.

1 In support of its argument that the omission was intentional,

Drummond suggests that without the explicit provision for judicial

review in the District of Columbia district court, that court might

not have venue over an action challenging national regulations

promulgated under the Act, and thus inclusion of the provision

merely indicates Congress’ intention to ensure that the D.C. court

6la

Legislative history reveals the purposes behind the Act

and supports our conclusion. In enacting the Surface

Mining Control and Reclamation Act, Congress sought to

establish uniform national standards for the surface min-

ing of coal and reclamation of lands damaged by past

mining practices. Congress expressly found that uniform

federal standards were essential “to insure that competi-

tion in interstate commerce among sellers of coal produced

in different States will not be used to undermine the abil-

ity of the several States to improve and maintain adequate

standards... .” 30 U.S.C.A. §$1201(g). “The [House

and Senate] Committees also explained that inadequacies

in existing state laws and the need for uniform minimum

nationwide standards made federal regulations impera-

tive.” Hodel v. Virginia Surface Mining & Reclamation

Association, 452 U.S. 264, 280, 101 S.Ct. 2352, 2362, 69

L.Ed.2d 1 (1981) (citing S.Rep. No. 95-128, at 49; H.R.

Rep. No. 95-218, at 58, reprinted in 1977 U.S.Code Cong.

& Ad.News 593, 596). Although Congress also intended

to provide the flexibility required by the widely differing

local conditions under which mining occurs throughout the

country," its concern for minimum national standards ap-

would have venue. The government correctly points out that under

28 U.S.C.A. § 1391(e) (1), except as otherwise provided by law,

actions to review federal administrative decisions properly lie in the

United States District Court for the District of Columbia.

11 See 30 U.S.C.A. § 1201(f) (“because of the diversity in terrain,

climate, biologic, chemical, and other physical conditions in areas

subject to mining operations, the primary governmental responsi-

bility for developing, authorizing, issuing, and enforcing regulations

for surfac’ mining and reclamation operations subject to this Act

should rest with the States”), 30 U.S.C.A. § 1202(g) (a purpose of

the Act is to “assist the States in developing and implementing a

program to achieve the purposes of this Act”); 30 U.S.C.A. § 1253

(“Each State in which there are or may be conducted surface coal

mining operations on non-Federal lands, and which wishes to assume

exclusive jurisdiction over the regulation of surface coal mining

and reclamation operations . . . shall submit to the Secretary . . .

a State program which demonstrates that such State has the capa-

62a

plicable to all is abundantly clear in the legislative his-

tory. A provision establishing one forum in which judicial

review of nationally applicable regulations must occur is

entirely consistent with this expressed concern.” It was

on this basis that the Fourth Circuit in Tug Valley, supra,

determined that jurisdiction to review national regulations

promulgated under the Act was vested exclusively in the

United States District Court for the District of Columbia.

703 F.2d at 799 n.3.

Our reading of the statute is further supported by the

case law interpreting other jurisdictional statutes. “It is

well settled that if Congress, as here, specifically desig-

nates a forum for judicial review of administrative ac-

tion, that forum is exclusive. And this result does not

depend on Congress using the word “exclusive” in the

statute providing for a forum for judicial review.” Gard-

ner v. Alabama, 385 F.2d 804, 810 (5th Cir.1967), cert.

denied, 389 U.S. 1046, 88 S.Ct. 773, 19 L.Ed.2d 839

(1968) (construing Civil Rights Act of 1964 and Social

Security Act) (citations omitted) (citing Whitney Na-

tional Bank in Jefferson Parish v. Bank of New Orleans

bility of carrying out the provisions of this Act”); 30 U.S.C.A.

§ 1255 (State laws are not preempted by the Act unless incon-

sistent with it).

#2 Justice White adverted to another congressional purpose that

supports the conclusion we reach here.

. . « §526(a)(1) provides that regulations with a national

impact be reviewed in the District of Columbia, those with a

statewide impact in the district court for the district of the

capital of the State involved, and all other regulations only in

the district where the surface mining operation at issue is

located. By allowing a national regulation to be challenged in

federal courts other than those in the District of Columbia, the

Court of Appeals here arguably frustrated Congress’ carefully

devised plan for judicial review.

Watt v. Holmes Limestone Co., 456 U.S. 995, 996, 102 S.Ct. 2280,

2281, 72 L.Ed.2d 1292 (1982) (White, J., with Blackmun, J., dis-

senting from denial of certiorari).

63a

& Trust Co., 379 U.S. 411, 85 S.Ct. 551, 13 L.Ed.2d 356

(1965)).1* See also Denberg v. United States Railroad

Retirement Board, 696 F.2d 1193, 1195 (7th Cir.1983)

(construing Railroad Retirement Act of 1974) (“if there

is a special statutory review proceeding, it is exclusive’) ;

Aminoil U.S.A., Ine. v. California State Water Resources

Control Board, 674 F.2d 1227, 1235 (9th Cir.1982) (con-

struing Clean Water Act) (“when interpreting a | detailed

regulatory] statute .. ., the remedies provided are pre-

sumed to be exclusive absent clear contrary evidence of

legislative intent”); City of Rochester v. Bond, 603 F.2d

927, 935 (D.C.Cir.1979) (construing the Federal Aviation

Act of 1958 and the Federal Communications Act)

(“ ‘even where Congress has not expressly conferred ex-

clusive jurisdiction, a special review statute vesting juris-

diction in a particular court cuts off other courts’ origina!

jurisdiction in all cases covered by the special statute’ ”)

(quoting Investment Company Institute v. Board of Gov-

ernors of the Federal Reserve System, 551 F.2d 1270,

1279 (D.C.Cir.1977) ).

Finally, we note that when Congress has intended to

provide litigants with a choice of fora, it has done so ex-

pressly. See, e.g., 12 U.S.C. § 1818(i) (2) (iv) (FDIC Act)

(agency action may be reviewed in the United States

Court of Appeals for the circuit in which the home office

of the insured bank is located or in the United States

Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit) ;

12 U.S.C.A. § 1848 (Bank Holding Company Act of 1956)

(Federal Reserve Board action may be reviewed in the

United States Court of Appeals within any circuit wherein

the aggrieved party has its principal place of business or

in the Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia) ; 29

13 The Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals has adopted the cass

law of the former Fifth Circuit handed down as of September 20,

1981, as its governing body of precedent, which is binding unless

and until overruled or modified by this Court en banc. Bonner °

City of Prichard, 661 F.2d 1206, 1209 (J1th Cir. 1981) ‘(en bane

64a

U.S.C.A. § 660(a) (Occupational Safety and Health Act

of 1970) (OSHA Review Commission order may be re-

viewed in any United States Court of Appeals for the cir-

cuit in which a violation of the statute is alleged to have

occurred or where the employer has its principal office or

in the Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia) ; 49

U.S.C.A. §$1486(a) (Federal Aviation Act of 1958)

(agency action may be reviewed by the courts of appeals

of the United States or the United States Court of Ap-

peals for the District of Columbia). The counter-

argument that if Congress intended to confer exclusive

jurisdiction it could do so expressly has already been re-

jected by the cases previously cited, which hold that

explicit designation of a forum implies exclusive jurisdic-

tion in that forum.

Thus, we conclude from the language of the statute, the

legislative history and purpose of the statute, as well as

from case law and other jurisdictional statutes, that Sec-

tion 526(a) (1) of the Surface Mining Control and Recla-

mation Act of 1977, 30 U.S.C.A. § 1276(a) (1), confers

exclusive jurisdiction on the United States District Court

for the District of Columbia to hear challenges to national

regulations promulgated under the Act.

Il.

For the foregoing reasons, we REVERSE the district

court’s decision on its jurisdiction under 30 U.S.C.A.

§$ 1276(a) (1), VACATE its decision on the merits of

Drummond’s challenge to the revised regulations, and

REMAND the case with instructions to dismiss the action.

65a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 84-5607

U.S.A.

Ve

BROOK CONTRACTING CORP.

(D.C. Civil No. 82-1362)

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

V.

TRI-COUNTY LAND AND COAL COMPANY

(D.C. Civil No. 83-0171)

Appeal of Brook Contracting

Corporation and Tri-County

Land and Coal Company

Argued March 25, 1985

Decided April 18, 1985

Rehearing Denied July 10, 1985

Leon H. Kline (Argued), Sharon T. Walsh, Phila-

delphia, Pa., for appellants.

David Dart Queen, U.S. Atty., James J. West, First

Asst. U.S. Atty., Harrisburg, Pa., Stuart A. Sanderson.

66a

Office of the Sol., Beveriy Perry (Argued), U.S. Dept.

of the Interior, Washington, D.C., for appellee.

Before ALDISERT, Chief Judge, SLOVITER, Circuit

Judge, and MANSMANN, District Judge.*

OPINION OF THE COURT

ALDISERT, Chief Judge.

In this appeal by two coal producing companies from

summary judgment in favor of the government, we must

decide what is meant by the expression “coal produced

by surface mining” under the Surface Mining Control

and Reclamation Act (SMCRA or the Act), 30 U.S.C.

$$ 1201-1328. This is not mere semantic exercise, be-

cause upon our decision depends the extent of tonnage

upon which a reclamation fee of 35 cents per ton may

be levied by the Secretary of the Interior. The govern-

ment argues, and the district court found, that tonnage

of “coal produced” includes the weight of rock, clay.

dirt and other debris mined with the “coal” that was

delivered by the companies to a coal washing and sizing

plant. The companies seem to borrow from Gertrude

Stein’s “a rose is a rose is a rose’ and argue that coal

is coal and it means a mineral that is combustible. We

conclude that we have jurisdiction to hear this appeal,

and that the district court erred in determining that

all the material mined by appellants was subject to the

reclamation fee. Accordingly, we reverse the judgment

of the district court.

i,

Consolidated actions for collecting reclamation fees

were brought by the United States against Brook Con-

tracting Corporation and Tri-County Land and Coal

Company in the district court. The complaints alleged

* Honorable Carol Los Mansmann, of the United States District

Court for the Western District of Pennsylvania, sitting by desig-

nation.

67a

that the companies, which have identical corporate offices

and are represented by the same counsel, owed $73,930.98

and $24,378.67 respectively in delinquent reclamation

fees under the SMCRA. The companies had paid only

for the combustible coal that was mined; the government

concluded that they owed additional fees for the rock,

clay, dirt and other debris that was unearthed in the

surface mining process. The district court granted the

government’s motion for summary judgment and the

companies’ appeal followed.

Il.

The SMCRA states in relevant part:

All operators of coal mining operations subject to

the provisions of this chapter shall pay to the Secre-

tary of the Interior, for deposit in the fund, a recla-

mation fee of 35 cents per ton of coal produced by

surface coal mining and 15 cents per ton of coal

produced by underground mining or 10 per centum

of the value of the coal at the mine, as determined by

the Secretary, whichever is less, except that the

reclamation fee for lignite coal shall be at a rate of

2 per centum of the value of the coal at the mine,

or 10 cents per ton, whichever is less.

30 U.S.C. §1232(a) (emphasis supplied}. The com-

panies contend that the district court accorded an overly

expansive meaning to the language “coal produced by

surface coal mining.” In construing the Act, the district

court relied in part on 30 C.F.R. § 837.12 (now codified

at 30 C.F.R. § 870.12) :

(a) The operator shall pay a reclamation fee on

each ton of coal produced for sale, transfer, or use,

including the products of in situ mining.

(b) The fee shall be determined by the weight and

value at the time of initial bona fide sale, transfer

of ownership, or use by the operator.

* * * *

a

68a

The companies argue that application of this regulation

to support imposition of the reclamation fee on the total

tonnage of material mined is an improper extension of

the scope of 30 U.S.C. § 1232 (a).

Because resolution of this case turns on statutory

construction involving the interpretation and applica-

tion of legal precepts, our standard of review is plenary.

University Minerals, Inc. v. C.A. Hughes & Co., 669

F.2d 98, 102 (3d Cir.1981).

ITI.

As a preliminary matter we decide that we have juris-

diction, properly based on the final judgment rule of 28

U.S.C. § 1291. The government argues that the order

appealed from is not final, relying on UGI Corp. v. Clark,

747 F.2d 893 (3d Cir. 1984). In UGIJ, a mining com-

pany sought a declaratory judgment that it did not owe

reclamation fees and in a separate action the government

sued the company to collect delinquent fees. The actions

were consolidated and the district court awarded sum-

mary judgment in favor of the government on the declar-

atory judgment action. We dismissed the mining com-

pany’s appeal from this order because there was no

disposition of the consolidated collection case. The re-

quirements of Rule 54(b), Federal Rules of Civil Pro-

cedure, were not satisfied and, therefore, there was no

final judgment. Jd. at 894. The UGI case differs from

the case before us in which the only underlying action—

the government’s collection case—has been disposed of in

favor of the government.

The government argues, however, that the judgment

entered below is not final because the district court did

not specify in its order the exact amount of fees owed

by appellants. We find this argument unpersuasive. The

government alleged in its complaint against Brook Con-

tracting Corporation that “defendant owes the Secretary

the total of $73,930.98 in delinquent reclamation fees

69a

plus interest at the rate of one percent per month com-

mencing thirty (30) days after the end of the calendar

quarter for which reclamation fees are due... .” App.

at 9a. The government alleged that Tri-County Land

and Coal Company “owes the Secretary $24,378.67 in

delinquent fees, plus such additional amounts as may be

determined upon review of defendant’s records,” plus

interest computed in the manner alleged in the Brook

Contracting Corporation complaint. App. at 16a. In its

motion for summary judgment the government stated:

[T]he United States of America respectfully re-

quests the Court grant summary judgment in favor

of the Plaintiff and against the Defendants Tri-

County Land and Coal Company and Brook Con-

tracting Corporation in the amounts, plus interests

and costs, set forth in the respective complaints filed

in this matter and supported by the affidavits filed

with this motion.

App. at 22a (emphasis supplied). The order of July 6,

1984 granted the government’s motion for summary

judgment. The exact amount of fees that the district

court adjudged were owed by the companies can be read-

ily determined by reading the complaint, the motion for

summary judgment, and the July order in conjunction

with one another.

We refuse to adopt a mechanistic and overly technical

view of the final judgment rule contained in 28 U.S.C.

$1291. In Hattersley v. Bollt, 512 F.2d 209 (8d Cir.

1975), we held that a judgment of contribution against

a general contractor in favor of a building owner arising

out of a personal injury action was final and appealable

notwithstanding the fact that the judgment did not spec-

ify a precise amount owed the building owner. /d. at

213. The building owner had been adjudged liable to the

plaintiffs in an amount of $500,000. The judgment of

contribution provided that the contractor would be liable

for any amount in excess of $250,000 paid by the build-

ing owner to the plaintiffs. We stated:

70a

[Bjecause the judgment fixes [the contractor’s| ulti-

mate liability and clearly estabiishes the parameters

of that liability, it is a final, appealable order. The

Supreme Court of the United States has emphasized

that “the requirement of finality is to be given a

‘practical rather than a technical construction.’ ”

Gillespie v. United States Steel, 379 U.S. 148, 152,

85 S.Ct. 308, 311, 138 L.Ed.2d 199 (1964).

Where the practical effect of a judgment or order

is final and only requires a ministerial act to imple-

ment it, such judgment or order is appealable under

28 U.S.C. § 1291. Since the effect of this district

court judgment settles “the primary issue then ex-

isting between the parties,” Massachusetts Casualty

Ins. Co. v. Forman, 469 F.2d 259, 260 (5th Cir.

1972), and determines the rights and equities be-

tween the parties, it is a final judgment, notwith-

standing any provision for future determination of

the actual amount of recovery.

Id. at 213-214 (footnote omitted). We have no difficulty

in holding, based on the language in the government’s

complaints, its motion for summary judgment and the

district court order, and on the strength of Hattersley,

that the order appealed from is final and that we have

jurisdiction under § 1291. We turn now to the merits.

IV.

The government urges that we need not go beyond

United States v. Devil’s Hole, Inc., 747 F.2d 895 (3d

Cir.1984), because that case qualifies as “the elusive case

on all fours.” To trace this metaphor to its original form,

“the case runs on all four feet,” we conclude that the

government has added a leg or two to the facts in that

case. In Devil’s Hole, we affirmed the district court’s

factual finding that anthracite silt was “coal” and the

removal and sale of the silt was “surface mining” and

thus subject to the reclamation fee imposed by § 1232(a).

7la

The government relies heavily on our affirmance of the

Secretary’s position that the noncombustible portion of

the silt was properly included in calculating the weight

upon which the reclamation fee was imposed. The gov-

ernment reasons that the noncombustible rock, clay, dirt

and other non-coal material at issue in this case should

likewise be included in the weight calculations. The case

now before us, however, differs significantly.

In Devil’s Hole, the district court’s finding that anthra-

cite silt was “coal,” 548 F.Supp. 451 at 454 (E.D.Pa.

1982) was supported in the record by expert testimony

and other evidence that anthracite silt was combustible

and qualified as “coal” under American Society for Test-

ing and Materials (ASTM) standard 388-77 based on

its fixed carbon and BTU content. Numerous tests, in-

cluding a reflectant’s analysis and a point count analy-

sis, also established that anthracite silt was coal. /d.

This court affirmed the finding as not being clearly er-

roneous. 747 F.2d at 897. In the case before us now,

however, there is no factual finding supported by expert

testimony or any other evidence that the aggregate of

material mined by appellants qualifies as coal under the

ASTM standards. Accordingly, Devil’s Hole does not sup-

port the government’s position.

Were this simply a matter of comparing this case

with Devil’s Hole, our work would be at an end. But

the master Cardozo has taught us that deciding cases

is much more than a “color-matching” procedure.’ Ap-

1 [Some judges believe that adjudication] is a process of search,

comparison, and little more. Some judges seldom get beyond

that process in any case. Their notion of their duty is to match

the colors of the case at hand against the colors of many sample

cases spread upon their desk. The sample nearest in shade

supplies the applicable rule. But, of course, no system of living

can be evolved by such a process, and no judge of a high

court, worthy of his office, views the function of his place so

narrowly.

B. Cardozo, The Nature Of The Judicial Process 20 (1921).

72a

pellants argue that the government interpreted and ap-

nlied the SMCRA too broadly. Acccrdingly, we turn our

attention to the Act’s construction.

V.

Our review of the district court’s interpretation of

the critical phrase in § 1232(a) is plenary.

As in all cases involving statutory construction,

“our starting point must be the language employed

by Congress,” Reiter v. Sonotone Corp., 442 US.

330, 337 [99 S.Ct. 2326, 2330, 60 L.Ed.2d 931]

(1979), and we assume “that the legislative pur-

pose is expressed by the ordinary meaning of the

words used.” Richards v. United States, 369 U.S. 1,

9 (82 S.Ct. 585, 591, 7 L.Ed.2d 492] (1962). Thus,

“lalbsent a clearly expressed legislative intention

to the contrary, that language must ordinarily be

regarded as conclusive.” Consumer Product Safety

Comm'n v. GTE Sylvania, 447 U.S. 102, 108 [100

S.Ct. 2051, 2056, 64 L.Ed.2d 766] (1980).

American Tobacco Co. v. Patterson, 456 U.S. 63, 102

S.Ct. 1534, 71 L.Ed.2d 748 (1982). It therefore devolves

upon us to ascertain the legislative intent. “In the inter-

pretation of statutes, the function of the court is easily

stated. It is to construe the language so as to give effect

to the intent of Congress. There is no invariable rule

for the discovery of that intention.” United States v.

American Trucking Association, 310 U.S. 534, 542, 60

S.Ct. 1059, 1063, 84 L.Ed. 1345 (1940). But here we

will take as our starting point the legislative history,

because it is extensive and extremely relevant. See Mc-

Caughn v. Hershey Chocolate Co., 283 U.S. 488, 51 S.Ct.

510, 75 L.Ed. 1183 (1931).

A.

In discerning this history, we are not limited to the

Report accompanying the final Act. We are informed by

- ——— e+

73a

this Report that “[t]he legislative history of H.R. 2

[the SMCRA] includes the history of H.R. 25 ..., S.

425..., H.R. 9725 ..., and H.R. 13950 ....” H.R.Rep.

No. 218, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. 140, reprinted in 1977

U.S.Code Cong. & Ad.News 593, 672. These bills, vir-

tually identical to H.R. 2, were passed by Congress in

1975 and 1976 but vetoed by the President. We have

examined that history in detail and conclude that it

counsels against an expansive interpretation of the term

“coal” and a broad-based imposition of the reclamation

fee, as urged by the government. Congress evinced con-

cern that the provisions of the Act—particularly imposi-

tion of the reclamation fee—not be burdensome on the

coal industry nor fuel inflation in the national economy.

Several principal considerations form the basis

for the Title IV reclamation fee:

First, to set the fee at such a level that it is not

a burden on the industry;

Second, to provide at the same time sufficient

funds for meeting program objectives within a rea-

sonable time frame; and

Third, to structure the fee so it would not exert

an inflationary influence in the economy.

ld. at 137, reprinted in 1977 U.S.Code Cong. & Ad.News

at 669. Notwithstanding these explicitly stated consid-

erations, the government urges upon us an expansive

interpretation of the reclamation fee provision that is

not consistent with the stated “principal considerations”.

B.

The legislative history instructs us that Congress was

very much concerned about economic burdens to the

economy in general, and the coal industry in particular.

Congressional research went to great pains to project

costs to the consumeis and the industry that would

result from implementation of the reclamation fees.

74a

These projections strongly suggest that Congress intended

to impose the fee on combustible coal only, and not, as

urged by the government, on additional tonnages of rock,

clay and dirt. For example, the House Report explained

the effect that imposition of reclamation fees, passed on

to the consumer by the coal producers, would have on

the manufacturers or distributors of electric power, an

industry conceded to be a primary large scale customer

of coal producing companies:

When [the increase caused by imposition of the

reclamation fee is] translated into power costs per

kilowatt hour—assuming conservative figures of 10,-

000 Btu’s/lb. and a conversion rate of 10,000

Btu’s/kWh—it is less than 0.015 cents per kWh of

electricity. The consumer is utilizing 250 kWh per

month, this represents an increase of 4 cents per

month on his utility bill. The committee does not

consider this small increase a burden on current

coal consumers or inflationary in nature.

Id. The compelling conclusion is that the “conservative

figure” of 10,000 BTU’s per pound of coal was based

on combustible coal, not on some unspecified combina-

tion of coal and rock, clay or dirt. This is clear because

the ASTM has classified mineral matter-free coals by

rank according to BTU content, ranging from 6,300

BTU’s per pound to greater than 15,500 BTU’s per

pound. Appendix to Appellants’ Brief at 4. Absent a

valid factual finding to the contrary, and there is no

such finding in the record before us, we will not conclude

as a matter of law that the aggregate of material mined

by appellants would have a sufficient BTU rating te

qualify as coal.

C.

Still another aspect of the cost studies set forth in the

legislative history of the SMRCA suggests that the ap-

pellants’ proffered interpretation of the reclamation fee

provision is correct. Detailed analyses were made to as-

Tda

certain the cost burden on the producers that, of course,

would immediately be passed on to the consumers. As

indicated, Congress projected the tonnage costs with pro-

duction of heat, and came to the conclusion that there

would be 10,000 BTU’s per pound of coal, and that the

conversion rate to electricity was approximately 10,000

BTU’s/kWh. These figures can be transformed into the

equation: 1 pound of coal = 1 kWh. Hence, in project-

ing the increase in electric utility bills that H.R. 25 would

cause—increased coal costs resulting from both the rec-

lamation fee and compliance with SMCRA’s regulatory

provisions—Congress reported that a $1.00 increase in

a ton of coal translates into a .05 cent increase per kilo-

watt hour of electricity. H.R.Rep. No. 896, 94th Cong.,

2d Sess. 148 (1976) (appendix). It is readily apparent

that this figure was computed by assuming that 1 pound

of coal == 1 kWh and then merely dividing the 1.00

increase ‘ton by 2000 to arrive at .05 cents. (1.00 /2000 =

.0005). Obviously this projected increase would be sub-

stantially higher if the underlying premise—that one

pound of coal is required to produce one kilowatt hour—

were rendered incorrect by the imposition of the reclama-

tion fee on significant amounts of non-energy producing

matter.

D.

But there were even additional cost studies made. Con-

gress compared the increased costs in coal caused by

enactment of the SMCRA to the total price of coal per

ton. Again, in language reflecting congressional concern

that the SMCRA not be financially burdensome on the

coal industry, consumers and the general economy, the

House Report states:

The Library of Congress analysis concluded that

even using overgenerous estimates of reclamation

costs, the price of reclamation is small. If one adds

the 35-cent-a-ton reclamation fee to an 85-cent-per-

ton reclamation cost, the reclamation cost of $1.20 is

76a

only 6 percent of the spot price of $21.49 for 1976.

The Library study concluded that the price of coal is

not expected to be increased by this amount because

coal prices are more reflective of the unusual situa-

tion in the energy markets than of small changes in

production costs.

H.R.Rep. No. 218, 95th Cong., 1st Sess. 149, reprinted in

1977 U.S.Code Cong. & Ad.News 593, 681. There is ab-

solutely no indication that Congress sought to include in

the spot price of coal an adjustment for tonnages of non-

coal material.

VI.

Then, too, the views of those members of Congress who

dissented from passage of H.R. 25 are relevant. They

opposed the Act because they believed 35 cents per ton

was too high, and opted for a reclamation fee of 10 cents.

They based their argument on the basis that the total

tonnage of coal produced in 1975 was 654,000,000 tons.

See id. at 72, reprinted in 1977 U.S.Code Cong. & Ad.

News at 610. The dissenting report to H.R. 25 contended

that the reclamation fee of 35 cents per ton was too high,

“extracting unneeded cash from the consumer and the

money supply... .” H.R.Rep. No. 45, 94th Cong., Ist

Sess. 168 (1975). The dissenters advocated a fee of 10

cents per ton, stating that this “could generate between

$60 and $70 million dollars on an annualized basis.” Id.

at 169. This is a computation based on the tonnage of

combustible coal produced. Had these legislators been

proceeding on the basis that the reclamation fee of 35

cents was to be applied to more tonnage than the 654

million tons of actual coal produced, that figure would

have been included in their argument as an a fortiori

proposition.

In sum, Congress’s analysis of costs associated with

imposition of the reclamation fee supports appellants’

argument that Congress intended to impose the fee on ton-

nages of combustible coal only.

77a

VIL.

The definition of coal promulgatec by the Secretary

likewise militates against the expansive construction

adopted by the district court. Title 30, C.F.R. § 700.5

states in pertinent part:

As used throughout this chapter, the following

terms have the specified meaning except where other-

wise indicated—

Coal means combustible carbonaceous rock, classi

fied as anthracite, bituminous, subbituminous, or

lignite by ASTM Standard D 388-77, referred to and

incorporated by reference in the definition of ‘“‘anthra-

cite” immediately above.

We note that the provisions dealing with the imposition

of the reclamation fee do not explicitly “otherwise indi-

cate” an alternative definition of “coal,” although 30

C.F.R. § 870.12(b)* seemingly permits reclamation fee

230 C.F.R. § 870.12(b) states in pertinent part:

(b) The fee shal! be determined by the weight and value at

the time of initial bona fide sale, transfer of ownership, or use

by the operator.

(1) The initial bona fide sale, transfer of ownership, or use

shall be determined by the first transaction or use of the coal

by the operator immediately after it is severed, or removed

from a reclaimed coal refuse deposit.

(2) The value of the coal shal’ be determined F.O.B. mine.

(3) The weight of each ton shall be determined by the actual!

gross weight of the coal.

(i) Impurities, including water, that have not been removed

prior to the time of initial bona fide sale, transfer of ownership,

or use by the operator shall not be deducted from the gross

weight.

(ii) Operators selling coal on a clean coal basis shal! retain

records that show run-of-mine tonnage, and the basis for the

clean coal transaction.

78a

liability to be determined in the basis of the gross weight

of all mined material at the time of the initial bona fide

sale. To the extent that the government interprets

§ 870.12(b) to authorize imposition of the reclamation fee

on the noncoal material mined by appellants here, we hold

this regulation exceeds the scope of 30 U.S.C. § 1232 (a)

and is therefore invalid.

The government relies on Combs v. Hawk Contracting,

Inc., 543 F.Supp. 825 (W.D.Pa.1982). At issue in Combs

was the meaning of a provision in the Coal Wage Agree-

ment obligating employers to pay royalties into the Miners

Pension Fund based on the amount of “coal produced by

each employer for use or sale.” Jd. at 827. The district

court rejected the company’s argument that it could deduct

the coal’s ash content in computing its royalty payment,

reasoning that any coal mine production scld or used as

fuel qualifies for inclusion in calculating royalties. Id.

Combs does not compel us to adopt the government’s posi-

tion here. First, and most obviously, Combs dealt with

construction of a contract between the employers and the

union. The court’s task in that case was to determine the

intent of the parties to the agreement. We scarcely need

mention that a statute and a contract with similar pro-

visions need not be construed identically because con-

gressional intent may differ from the intent of parties to

the contract. Second, the company’s argument in Combs

that the ash content be deducted from the coal weight is

qualitatively different from appellants’ argument here.

Appellants do not seek a reduction in the coal tonnage

based on impurities within the combustible coal itself.

Rather they seek a reduction based on the weight of the

overburden that is mixed with the coal prior to the wash-

ing and sizing operations. Much of this debris is loose

material that is inadvertently “scooped” from the mine

and loaded with the coal. App. at 41a-42a.

Gromer.

79a

VIII.

We therefore hold as a matter of law, that as used in

the statute, “coal produced by surface coal mining” means

combustible coal that would qualify as such under ASTM

standards and excludes the weight of rock, clay, dirt and

other debris in the computation of the reclamation fee.’

The judgment of the district court will be reversed with

a direction to enter judgment in favor of the appellants.

8 Appellants also argue that the reclamation fee provisions as

applied violate the equal protection component of the due process

clause of the 5th amendment. Because we have disposed of this

case on statutory grounds, we do not meet this issue.

80a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

N.D. ALABAMA

JASPER DIVISION

Civ. A. No. CV82-PT-2145-J

A.J. TAFT COAL COMPANY,

i: Plaintiff,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant.

June 14, 1984

On Application for Attorney Fees

Aug. 22, 1984

Charles A. Powell, III, Stephen A. Rowe, Lange, Simp-

son, Robinson & Somerville, Birmingham, Ala., for plain-

tiff.

Frank W. Donaldson, Sharon Lovelace, Caryl P.

Privett, Asst. U.S. Attys., Birmingham, Ala., Karl L.

Kellar, Tax Div., Dept. of Justice, Washington, D.C., for

defendant.

Fournier J. Gale, III, Roy J. Crawford, Cabaniss,

Johnston, Gardner, Dumas & O’Neal, Birmingham, Ala.,

amici curiae for Alabama By-Products Corp., Drummond

Coal Co., McWane Coal Co. and Mulga Coal Co.

FINDINGS OF FACT AND

CONLUSIONS OF LAW

PROPST, District Judge.

8la

UNDERLYING FACTS

During the years in question, April 1, 1978 through

June 30, 1980, A.J. Taft Coal Company (Taft) was en-

gaged in the business of surface mining coal in Walker

County, Alabama (RT. 22). Taft’s only customer was

Alabama Power Company, which also owned the mineral

rights to the land mined by Taft (Plaintiff’s Exhibit

[hereinafter “P.Ex.”] 3; RT. 22, 25).

Taft sold coal on a washed and on an unwashed basis

during the audit period (RT. 22). Coal to be sold on a

washed basis was hauled by Taft trucks to the Bankhead

washer where the trucks were weighed, loaded and un-

loaded, to determine tons of raw, unwashed coal (RT.

22). The Bankhead washer was neither owned nor oper-

ated by Taft, but rather was an independent facility

(RT. 23). Alabama Power Company paid approximately

$2.00 per ton to have Taft’s coal washed (RT. 124).

After the coal reached the washer, a float-sink test was

performed on the Taft coal to determine the ratio of coal

to refuse (RT. 24). Using this ratio, Alabama Power

Company estimated the tons of coal that would remain

after washing, for which it paid Taft (RT. 128). Taft

was paid nothing for the refuse separated from the coal

in the washing process and the Internal Revenue Service

(hereinafter “I.R.S.”) does not here seek to tax the ref-

use (RT. 50, 54).

Taft was paid based on the BTU content of the washed

coal (RT. 82). The amount of BTU’s per ton of coal is

a measure of the quality of said coal; coal having a

higher number of BTU’s per ton is of better quality than

coal with a lower number of BTU’s per ton. (Transcript,

83; 122-23). The quality of coal, and its ability to release

BTU’s, is determined by the purity of said coal; the

greater the amount of impurities in the coal, the fewer

BTU’s will be produced per ton of coal. (Transcript 122-

123; 138-139; 141-143). Sulfur, ash, dirt, rocks, and ref-

82a

use are all considered to be impurities which reduce the

quality of coal. Water has no BTU content. (Transcript

122-123; 224-225; 226; 292-294; 56; 60). In paying its

Black Lung Tax, Taft reported to the I.R.S. based on the

ealeulated dry tons of coal which it sold to Alabama

Power Company (RT. 50). Raymond Clemmons, the

I.R.S. agent who audited Taft’s records, adjusted the

tonnage reported by Taft for washed coal sold by increas-

ing the tonnage by six percent (RT. 13, 51). Clemmons

arrived at the six percent figure by estimation (RT. 13,

78).1 The six percent gross up of the weight of washed

coal resulted in the addition of 1325.68 tons to the

22,094.68 tons of coal already reported (RT. 308-311;

P.Ex. 21). The addition of these tons caused an addi-

tional tax of $331.43 to be assessed against Taft (RT.

308; P.Ex. 21).

Coal sold on an unwashed basis was delivered to the

Gorgas Steam Plant or the Segeco Mine where it was

weighed and sampled by Alabama Power Company (RT.

58, 55). Taft was paid for this coal on the basis of the

BTU value of the coal determined by Alabama Power

Company, the purchaser (RT. 55). The unwashed coal

was not processed by Taft before delivery and was sam-

pled and analyzed in its raw, as-received state (RT. 56).

The contract under which the coal in question was sold

provides, in reference to the unwashed coal, that

. .. Trucks delivering coal hereunder shall be

weighed both loaded and empty, and the difference

in weight shall be the governing weight hereunder.

... The aggregate weights determined during any

payment period shall be accepted as the quantity of

coal sold and purchased during such period for which

invoices are to be rendered and payments to be

made. . . . (emphasis supplied).

1The six per cent figure is not at issue per se. The plaintiff

disputes that any percentage should be added.

83a

The as-delivered weight of coal, as opposed to the dry

weight, was used in determining the price paid Taft for

unwashed coal (RT. 145). Taft paid its Black Lung Tax

by eliminating, by mathematical calculation, all moisture

in excess of 2.88%, which it estimated to be the inherent

or bed moisture of the coal it mined (RT. 64). For pur-

poses of the Federal excise tax, Taft originally reported

gross tons of coal sold, without any adjustment for mois-

ture. Only after learning that the State of Alabama had

decided to allow for severance tax purposes a “moisture

adjustment” for all moisture in excess of 2.88 percent,

did Taft attempt to claim an equivalent adjustment for

federal tax purposes. (Transcript, 91). Agent Clem-

mons added back the 2.88% which Taft eliminated and

recalculated the tax due (RT. 66). This adjustment re-

sulted in the addition of 3,557.83 tons to the tons of coal!

previously reported by Taft and in the imposition of an

additionai tax due of $889.46 (P.Ex. 21).

The total tax adjustment resulting from Agent Clem-

mons’ changes was $1,220.89 (RT. 310). The difference

between the Excise Tax Examination changes and the

$1,400.80 additional excise tax levied against Taft is a

result of the addition of interest.

Both the washed and unwashed coal in question was

mined in the Warrior Basin coal field from the Pratt,

America, Nickel Plate and Cob seams. Harry Raykes,

Principal Mining Engineer for Southern Company Serv-

ices, testifying as an expert witness, testified that these

seams have been mined since the beginning of mining

in Alabama (RT. 263). The seams cover an extensive

area and have reasonably consistent bed moisture (RT.

264).* Based on Mr. Raykes’ experience in the Warrior

Basin coal field, it was Mr. Raykes’ testimony that bed

moisture in the seams in question would vary from

* There was no evidence that this characteristic likely changed

between 1980 and 1982.

84a

1.75% to 2.75% with an average moisure of 2.25% (RT.

249, 264-265). Mr. Raykes also testified that he per-

formed a study for Alabama Power Company of the re-

serves later mined by Taft (RT. 265). Based on this

study, it was Mr. Raykes’ opinion that the coal mined

by Taft and involved in the audit in question had an

average bed or inherent moisture of 2.25% (RT. 265).

Jack Davis of Tuscaloosa Testing testified that he ana-

lyzed core samples from the Taft mine in question for

total moisture (RT. 195). Mr. Davis utilized test proce-

dures prescribed by ASTM, which is a reasonable stand-

ard accepted in the coal industry (RT. 192-193, 279).

The analysis of 123 samples resulted in an average total

moisture of 2.30% (RT. 199; P.Ex. 20).

The samples taken by Mr. Davis were obtained from

the same seams from which the coal in question was

mined. However, the samples were taken from different

sections of the mine, since the coal in question had al-

ready been mined and sold at the time the samples were

taken (RT. 175, 181-185). Harry Raykes testified that

the prior mining would not affect the average bed mois-

ture of the unmined coal remaining in the area (RT.

272). Likewise, Mr. Raykes testified that the analysis

on the remaining coal seams, performed by Jack Davis

and Tuscaloosa Testing, would yield a reliable measure

of the bed or inherent moisture of the coal involved in

this case (RT. 271-272).

Coal lying in an undisturbed state contains inherent

or bed moisture (P.Ex. 4, para. 2). The testimony of

expert witnesses Raykes and Davis was to the effect

that the Pratt, America, Nickel Plate, and Cobb seams

are consistent in general with regard to bed moisture

and could be expected to have an average bed moisture

of 2.25% (RT. 200, 264). Test results performed by

Tuscaloosa Testing of the specific coal seam in question

showed an average total moisture of 2.30%. Bed mois-

ture or inherent moisture is a component of ‘total mois-

85a

ture (RT. 256, 302). Reynold Shotts testified that Ala-

bama coals contain, on the average, 2.88% inherent or

bed moisture (P.Ex. 4). Taft utilized this average when

calculating its Black Lung Tax (RT. 66). Taft reported

washed coal based on a removal of all moisture including

bed moisture."

Harry Raykes and Dan Thornburgh testified that it

is the custom and practice in

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Appendix — Drummond Co. v. Hodel · 480 U.S. 941 | Frix