Petition for Writ of Certiorari — San Marcos County Water District v. San Marcos Unified School District

Supreme Court brief1987

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Court, U.S.

FILED

NOV 26 1966

YOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

inn.

86-8 92,

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1986

AO eg

SAN MARCOS COUNTY

WATER DISTRICT,

Petitioner,

VS.

SAN MARCOS UNIFIED

SCHOOL DISTRICT,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

LOUIS E. GOEBEL”

GOEBEL, SHENSA & BEALE

Suite 6000

1202 Kettner Boulevard

San Diego, California 92101

(619) 239-2611

VERNON A. PELTZER

JEFFREY G. SCOTT

SMITH & PELTZER, A.P.C.

Suite 2

751 East Rancheros Drive

San Marcos, California 92069

(619) 744-7125

Attorneys for Petitioners

* Counsel of Record

Lawyers Brief Service / Legal Publishers / (213) 383-4457 / (714) 720-1510 be

aerate nentntenaensent ates

eet cities

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Does the arbitrary requirement of the California

Supreme Court that private customers of petitioner Water

District pay for all of the capital improvements of the

Water District, including the share required for and used by

public entities, such as respondent School District, violate

the guarantees of the Taking Clause of the Fifth

Amendment against such uncompensated exactions?

2. Does the arbitrary classification of payers for use of

the Water District’s capital improvements into fuli-paying

private customers and non-paying public entity customers

lack a legitimate purpose and thereby violate the Equal

Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment?

3. Where not insubstantial constitutional issues such as

violation of the Taking Clause of the Fifth Amendment and

violation of the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment are raised, is it not the heavy obligation of the

courts to interpret state statutes, if fairly possible, to avoid

the constitutional questions?

4. Have not the California trial court and the California

intermediate appellate court clearly demonstrated that it is

fairly possible — indeed convincingly preferable — to

interpret the state statutes to avoid uncompensated

exactions and arbitrary classifications which would violate

the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments?

pe ee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

ge. Be PF eg gt Leg |. SR nenn NE TOM NeR mm N mm

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI ...........:....0005 l

Ce OT MUI TY cislscasicenisusansciakteiciuuntipbenaditanaseebenaitaga tile l

PRMD iat F RUEN cciccnstssnonsaisdestssoicadiatanidaaieapnsaaabiaiacaditnlaaiatae 2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED .......... 2

a A eee oO Ee CAD wissscassactseilcicctcsinhinen cite 3

PRARA FUT REBT. sscdussscciceitcmpatnccouasasenpeebaianusataaaaiaaeieie taint 8

I IT IS A CARDINAL PRINCIPLE OF

THIS COURT TO INTERPRET LEG-

ISLATION, IF FAIRLY POSSIBLE, TO

AVOID CONSTITUTIONAL QUES-

ER IDUDD cssnsssassassiasnascetanistceantsaeanpnadatamaalabiniaintians 8

II THE DECISION OF THE CALIFOR-

NIA SUPREME COURT MANDATES

A TAKING OF PRIVATE PROPERTY

WITHOUT JUST COMPENSATION

(OR ANY COMPENSATION) IN DIR-

ECT VIOLATION OF THE FIFTH

AMENDMENT OF THE UNITED

SEAT ES CONG EES 8 GY scctescncsessalacticsasicnnsees 10

III THE DECISION OF THE CALIFOR-

NIA SUPREME COURT MANDATES

A VIOLATION OF THE EQUAL PRO-

TECTION CLAUSE OF THE UNITED

STATES COPIES EE G2 WIS wcestncsscssntiansadiinscsseas 15

A. The Requirement of Equal

PRORIIIIOU. | ccisinsRiccacodsrvencivnteasiaaaies ioe iin 15

—iti—

eI... 0 < insnsebasesanccsoocae

C. The Classification Fails the Equal

I Ss cosuemmnnsogonnnnns

ial sesdabbonepecenenesseence

APPENDIX

A

B

Opinion, California Supreme Court, Filed

July 21, 1986

Opinion, Court of Appeal, Fourth Appel-

late District, Filed August 19, 1985

Judgment, Superior Court of San Diego

County, Filed January 31, 1984

Petition For Rehearing, Filed July 31,

1986

Reply to Petitioner’s Supplementary Au-

thority Submitted at Oral Argument, Filed

June 17, 1986

Order Denying Rehearing by Supreme

Court, Filed August 28, 1986

Complaint on Agreed Case, Superior

Court of San Diego County, Dated

November 18, 1982

Page

socal 16

seats 16

—

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Federal Cases

Adaman Mutual Water Co. v. United States

278 F.2d 842 (9th Cir. 1960) occcccccccscccseeose

Califano v. Yamasaki

442 US. 682, 99 S.Ct. 2542 (1979) o00000....

City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Center

an US aw, TOS SAX. 3269 (1965 ............

Crowell v. Benson

285 US. 22, 32 S.Ct. 28S (1932) ................

Hoffman v. United States

767 F.2d 1431 (Sth Cir. 1985) .............c..000.

Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp.

458 U.S. 419, 102 S.Ct. 3164 (1982) .........

Rackelshaus v. Monsanto Co.

Reed v. Reed

404 U.S. 71, 92 S.Ct. 251 (1971) ceecccccccssee.

Royster Guano Co. v. Virginia

Be Oe IE so cccnstindnstiienssncaeivacissinptinaiens

Tyler v. Doe

I cea

United States v. 129.4 Acres of Land

Cee me TES COU Gee TODD ocecentitnscntccsessn.

United States v.Security Industrial Bank

459 U.S. 70, 103 S.Ct. 407 (1982) .....000000..

Page

Page

Webb’s Fabulous Pharmacies, Inc. v. Beckwith

449 U.S. 155, 101 S.Ct. 446 (1980) ..... 12, 13, 19

State Cases

Beaumont Investors v. Beaumont Cherry Valley

Water District

165 Cal. App.3d 287 (1985) ...ccccssseesessteeseeseees 18

Carlton Santee Corp. v. Padre Dam Mun. Water

Dist.

120 Cal.App.3d 14 (1981) ...cccccccsseseeeeeeeseeeseesees 6

County of Riverside v. Idylwild County Water Dist.,

84 Cal. App.3d 655 (1978) -..cccccseseceseseeereseeeeeeseesees 5

Eisley v. Mohan

BE Gab Dd G37 C196) nnceccsccsrccccrssccrcccoscrcccossescsecsesas 17

Regents of the University of California v.

City of Los Angeles

100 Cal.App.3d 547 (1979) [Regents I] ............4. 5

Regents of the University of California v.

City of Los Angeles

148 Cal.App.3d 451 (1983) [Regents II] .............. 5

Serrano v. Priest

18 Cal.3d 728 (1976) ...........ccccccrccrcsccssecscscesssssrsnees 16

Young v. Haines

41 Cal.3d 883 (1986) .............scccccssrrrcessrssessssscessssonees 9

Federal Statute

28 USCA § 1257(3) ...ecccscccsscesseeseeesecssesenesensssssssrassnsensssenssensenes 2

a

Page

State Statutes

California Code of Civil Procedure

Ie I inhi hence a Sa Da 3

Be SRE SAS EE Ls en eee ey 17

California Education Code

RSS EN ae ee a 5, 18

California Health and Safety Code

I aa 4

California Water Code

I kl te 6

TE NE Rn eee aa OO 6

Government Code

ST landicsicasctiahnntaietianiinadiitainita elie lan een 18

ip TUNED cttinsdnssthieniinniniaiaaiiiia ais idee tS 18

Text

State of California Annual Report,

1984-85 Fiscal Year pp. A-8 and A-9 .............. 19

Constitutions

United States Constitution

_, ERE RMD EI 2, 10, 14

Fourteenth Amendment .............ccccccccccecsceesceees 2, 15

California Constitution

CANES Seineesenteentpettnescentnsievnitnesitiniintinns Renisnane 5

GN, Fi eteikidiiaitenetnninnicsidintemenedbcatiie eee ae 18

et See ne aNred tte de ee er OT TTY 18

es

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1986

SAN MARCOS COUNTY

WATER DISTRICT,

Petitioner,

vs.

SAN MARCOS UNIFIED

SCHOOL DISTRICT,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner San Marcos County Water Dis‘rict respect-

fully prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the order

of the California Supreme Court excusing respondent San

Marcos Unified School District from paying a capacity fee

based upon projected use even though it utilizes the

petitioner’s sewer facilities, and imposing the entire burden

of cost of capital improvements upon the private customers

of petitioner.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the California Supreme Court issued on

July 21, 1986 reversing the judgment of the trial court and

is set forth in Appendix A, infra. The Opinion of the Court

of Appeal is attached as Appendix B, and the Judgment of

the trial court is attached as Appendix C.

JURISDICTION

The decision of the California Supreme Court reversing

the judgment of the trial court was filed on July 21, 1986. A

timely petition for rehearing was filed, and the California

Supreme Court denied rehearing by order filed August 28,

1986. Jurisdiction of this Court is proper pursuant to 28

US.C.A.§ 1257(3).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

INVOLVED

Fifth Amendment to United States Constitution:

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or

otherwise infamous crime, unless on a present-

ment or indictment of a Grand Jury, except in

cases arising in the land or naval forces, or in the

Militia, when in actual service in time of War or

public danger; nor shall any person be subject for

the same offence to be twice put in jeopardy of life

or limb; nor shall be compelled in any criminal

case to be a witness against himself, nor be

deprived of life, liberty, or property, without due

process of law; nor shall private property be taken

for public use, without just compensation.

Fourteenth Amendment to United States Constitution:

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the

United States, and subject to the jurisdiction

thereof, are citizens of the United States and of

the State wherein they reside. No State shall make

or enforce any law which shall abridge the

privileges or immunities of citizens of the United

States; nor shall any State deprive any person of

life, liberty, or property, without due process of

law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction

the equal protection of the laws.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case was tried as an Agreed Case pursuant to

California Code of Civil Procedure § 1138. See, Complaint

on Agreed Case, Appendix G, for full details.

Briefly, petitioner Water District provides sewer services,

and respondent School District provides educational

services for the San Marcos area in San Diego County,

California. Although the boundaries of the two districts are

not contiguous, they serve roughly the same community.

All of the currently used school sites of the School District

are within the Water District.

Beginning in 1971, the School District applied for sewer

service and connected its school sites and facilities to the

Water District’s sewer system, incurring various charges

from the Water District and paying capacity fees. The

Water District charges all customers three different types

of fees. A connection [cost to install] fee is charged when a

customer’s property is initially connected to Water

District’s sewer lines. A monthly sewer service charge is

imposed to cover operation, maintenance, and sewage

treatment and disposal costs based on the amount of sewage

discharged monthly. A capacity [user] fee is also charged,

which, like the monthly service charge, is based on quantity

of sewage discharged. For schools, the capacity fee charge

is equal to $2,400.00 for each 25 students, faculty, staff, etc.,

assigned to the school.

The capacity [user] fee is a primary source of funds for

the development of replacement capacity for that

ciliata iis 5

Fy

oa test Reta

committed to the user and is set at a level which will defray

the costs of providing replacement sewage treatment

and/or reclamation facilities, major trunk and transmission

pipelines, and facilities for pumping, as such facilities are

needed. It is not used for local benefit (assessment)

facilities.

The sole question presented to the trial court and on

appeal is whether the Water District may validly collect the

capacity fee — user fee — from the School District, an ad

valorem property tax-exempt entity.

There is no dispute as to the Water District’s authority to

collect or the School District’s obligations to pay the

connection fees and monihly service charges. Nor is there

any contention by the School District that the capacity fee it

is charged is any different from the capacity fees charged

non-property-tax-exempt entities.

The Water District’s capacity fee is imposed pursuant to

the provisions of the California Water Code, Education

Code, and Health and Safety Code. California Health and

Safety Code § 5471 provides in relevant part, as follows:

Any entity shall have power ...to prescribe,

revise and collect, fees, tolls, rates, rentals, or

other charges, including sewer standby or

immediate availability charges, for services and

facilities furnished by it, either within or without

its territorial limits, in connection with its

Sanitation or sewerage.... Revenues derived

under the provisions in this section, shall be used

only for the acquisition, construction, reconstruc-

tion, maintenance and operation of water systems

and sanitation or sewerage facilities... ;

provided, however, that such revenue shall not be

used for the acquisition or construction of new

ee

local sewers or laterals as distinguished from main

trunk, interceptor and out-fall sewers. [Emphasis

supplied; Ergo, not used for local assessment-t ype

facilities].

The School District relied primarily on a series of three

cases, which, with minor factual variations, address the

question whether a local government entity which operates

a sewer system can collect a fee designed to defray the costs

of capital improvements from public entities exempt from

the ad valorem property tax (California Constitution,

Article 13, § 3). See: County of Riverside v. Idyllwild

County Water Dist., 84 Cal.App.3d 655 (1978); Regents of

the University of California v. City of Los Angeles, 100

Cal.App.3d 547 (1979) [Regents I]; Regents of the

University of California v. City of Los Angeles, 148

Cal.App.3d 451 (1983) [Regents IJ]. In each case, the

California appellate court concluded that to the extent the

fee was used to finance capital improvements, it constituted

a special assessment which could not be collected from ad

valorem property tax-exempt entities absent legislative

authorization.

Water District presented alternative contentions. It

contends the capacity fee is not a special assessment, but

rather, a user fee; the fact that the School District is exempt

from an ad valorem property tax is not relevant.

Alternatively, if the capacity fee is a special assessment,

legislative authorization for the assessment is provided by

the California Education Code, the California Water Code,

and the California Health and Safety Code. California

Education Code § 39613 empowers school districts to

construct their own sewer systems or to contract for the

right to utilize sewer systems constructed by others, viz:

In addition to the other powers granted, the

governing body of each school district may

provide sewers and drains adequate to treat

and/or dispose of sewage and drainage on or

away from each school property. For this purpose

it may construct adequate systems or acquire

adequate disposal rights in systems constructed or

to be constructed by others for these purposes

without regard to their proximity. The cost

thereof may be paid from the building fund,

including any bond moneys therein. [Emphasis

supplied]

The construction of a sewer system by a school district

involves capital costs. The alternative is for a school district

to “contract” for sewer disposal rights — pay a user fee

based on capital costs to replace the capacity committed to

and used by the School District in the sewer system owned

by another agency. The School District voluntaril y pursued

the latter alternative, paid capacity fees from 1971 to 1979,

but now refuses to pay the fees while continuing to use

increasing amounts of Water District’s sewer capacity.

A user [capacity] fee for tax-exempt entities is specifically

authorized with the enactment of California Water Code

§ 31101.5 in 1982. [Effective January 1, 1983: “A district may

supply sewage and waste services to property not subject to

district taxes at special rates, terms, and conditions as are

determined by the board for the services.”] (Cf. California

Water Code § 71670.5; Carlton Santee Corp. v. Padre Dam

Mun. Water Dist.,120 Cal.App.3d 14, 30 (1981).)

The trial court ruled there was a valid contract obligating

School District to pay capacity [user] fees to Water District.

School District appealed.

The California intermediate appellate court affirmed the

judgment of the trial court, holding that a capacity [user] fee

is a valid user charge (as contended by Water District) and

not an invalid assessment (as contended by School District).

School District petitioned the California Supreme Court for

review and review was granted. ‘

The California Supreme Court reversed the judgment of

the trial court and the decision of the Court of Appeal,

holding that the capacity [user] fee was a special assessment

not authorized by the California Legislature and that the

private customers of Water District must pay the entire cost

of capital improvements, including those used by public

entities, such as School District.

Water District raised its federal constitutional objections

at the earliest stage the constitutional violations manifested

and documented its federal constitutional objection by post-

argument brief (Appendix E) and Petition for Rehearing

(Appendix D).

The California Supreme Court refused to address Water

District’s federal constitutional objections and rehearing

was denied.

The issue here involved is one of enormous statewide

importance in California and many, many millions of

dollars are ultimately involved unless the proper constitu-

tional restraints are imposed by this Court and the

misdirection of the California Supreme Court righted.

a

ARGUMENT

I

IT IS A CARDINAL PRINCIPLE OF THIS

COURT TO INTERPRET LEGISLATION, IF

FAIRLY POSSIBLE, TO AVOID CONSTITU-

TIONAL QUESTIONS

This Court has frequently stated a controlling rule of

practice in statutory interpretation — indeed, a cardinal

principle — to interpret a statute, if fairly possible, to avoid

a constitutional question. For example, in the case of

United States v. Security Industrial Bank, 459 US. 70, 103

S.Ct. 407 (1982), this Court declared:

We consider the statutory question because of the

“cardinal principle that this Court will first

ascertain whether a construction of the statute is

fairly possible by which the constitutional question

may be avoided.” 459 U.S. 78, 103 S.Ct. 412

(1982).

In concluding, this Court stated:

. “‘we decline to construe the Act in a manner

that could in turn call upon the Court to resolve

difficult and sensitive questions arising out of the

guarantees of the” taking clause. 459 U.S. 82, 103

S.Ct. 414 (1982). |

Similarly, in Califano v. Yamasaki, 442 US. 682, 99 S.Ct.

2545 (1979), this Court declared:

And if “a construction of the statute is fairly

possible by which [a serious doubt of constitution-

ality] may be avoided,” Crowell y. Benson, 285 US.

22, 62, 52 S.Ct. 285, 296, 76 L.Ed. 598 (1932), a

ne a

CL cab LE abate: om wifey REE

lhl ite Pani oem

sundliit

court should adopt that construction.

442 US. at 693, 99 S.Ct. at 2553.

See, also, Crowell v. Benson, 285 US. 22, 52 St. 2685

(1932).

The California Supreme Court is no stranger to this

important principle. Indeed, in deciding a case only one

month before the instant case was decided, the California

Supreme Court acknowledged:

Finally, today’s conclusion is compelled by the

precept “that a court, when faced with an

ambiguous statute that raises serious constitu-

tional questions, should endeavor to construe the

statute in a manner which avoids any doubt

concerning its validity.” (Citations.) (Emphasis

original.) Young v. Haines, 41 Cal.3d 883, 898

(1986).

Yet, in this case, despite the urgings of petitioner at oral

argument, by post-argument briefing, and on petition for

rehearing, the California Supreme disregarded its acknow-

ledged cardinal precept and navigated into troubled

constitutional waters raising “difficult and sensitive

questions arising out of the guarantees of the Taking

Clause” (United States v. Security I ndustrial Bank, supra)

and similar serious questions regarding equal protection.

snes

II

THE DECISION OF THE CALIFORNIA

SUPREME COURT MANDATES A TAKING

OF PRIVATE PROPERTY WITHOUT JUST

COMPENSATION (OR ANY COMPEN-

SATION) IN DIRECT VIOLATION OF THE

FIFTH AMENDMENT OF THE UNITED

STATES CONSTITUTION

While steadfastly refusing to address the federal

constitutional issues raised by petitioner, the California

Supreme Court was candid enough in its opinion to project

the practical effect of its decision:

Our conclusion does not mean that the water

district cannot collect money for capital improve-

ments from its customers; it simply means that the

private customers will pay the entire cost of

capital improvements. Slip Opinion, p. A- 2,

Appendix A. (emphasis original).

Put a little more directly, the practical effect of the

decision of the California Supreme Court is to create for

public entities and users such as the respondent School

District a right of use in the sewer System, without paying

for it. In short, the California Supreme Court decision

attempts to transform private property into public property

without compensation.

This Court has dealt with a number of situations in the

past where the same objective was evident — whether for

noble reasons or by candid admission or subterf uge or

otherwise, private property was taken by the government

without compensation. The consistent thread of the

“Taking Clause” cases arising under the Fifth Amendment

_ | a

of the United States Constitution is there is no “set

formula” and ordinarily the Court must engage in

“essentially ad hoc, factual inquiries.” Loretto v. Tele-

prompter Manhattan CATV Corp, 458 US. 419, 426, 102

S.Ct. 3164, 3171 (1982).

This Court has found numerous types of tangible and

intangible property to be property for purposes of the Fifth

Amendment’s Taking Clause. In Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto

Co., 467 US. 986, 104 S.Ct. 2862, 2873 (1984), this Court

summarized:

Although this Court has never squarely addressed

the question whether a person can have a property

interest in a trade secret, which is admittedly

intangible, the Court has found other types of

intangible interests to be property for purposes of

the Fifth Amendment’s Taking Clause. See, e.g.,

Armstrong v. United States, 364 US. 40, 44, 46, 80

S.Ct. 1563, 1566-67, 4 L.Ed.2d 1554 (1960)

(materialman’s lien provided for under Maine law

protected by Taking Clause); Louisville Joint

Stock Land Bank v. Radford, 295 US. 555, 596-

602, 55 S.Ct. 854, 866-69, 79 L.Ed. 1593 (1935)

(real estate lien protected); Lynch v. United States,

292 U.S. 571, 579, 54 S.Ct. 840, 843, 78 L.Ed. 1434

(1934) (valid contracts are property within

meaning of the Taking Clause). That intangible

property rights protected by state law are

deserving of protection of the Taking Clause has

long been implicit in the thinking of this Court:

“It is conceivable that [the term ‘property’ in

the Taking Clause] was used in its vulgar and

untechnical sense of the physical thing with

respect to which the citizen exercises rights

—— wn

recognized by law. On the other hand, it may

have been employed in a more accurate sense

to denote the group of rights inhering in the

citizen’s relation to the physical thing, as the

right to possess, use and dispose of it. In point

of fact, the construction given the phrase has

been the latter.” 467 U.S. 986 , 104 S.Ct. 2873,

2874.

The cases have made it clear that the assessment base or

the capacity of a special district, such as Water District, to

collect from others to defray various costs and expenses is a

property interest, the taking of which requires compen-

sation. See, United States v. 129.4 Acres of Land, 789 F.2d

715 (9th Cir. 1986); United States v. 129.4 Acres of Land,

572 F.2d 1385 (9th Cir. 1978); and Adaman Mutual Water

Co. v. United States, 278 F.2d 842 (9th Cir. 1960).

Despite the endless variety of Taking Clause cases, to

find a close analogue to the instant case, we need look no

further than Webb’s Fabulous Pharmacies, Inc. v. Beckwith,

449 US. 155, 101 S.Ct. 446 (1980). In Webb’s Fabulous

Pharmc cies, supra, as here, we have

e A state statute (or statutes) drawn into question.

e An attempt to transform private property into public

property without compensation in reliance upon the

statute.

e@ The decision of the highest state court interpreting the

Statute to support such a result.

In determining that the private entity and not the public

entity was entitled to the interest accruing on an

interpleader fund deposit in the registry of a county court,

this Court provided a primer of principles applicable to

disputes such as the one now before this Court:

_ we

The pertinent words of the Fif th Amendment of

the Constitution of the United States are the

familiar ones: “Nor shall private property be

taken for public use, without just compensation.”

That prohibition, of course, applies against the

States through the Fourteenth Amendment.

(Citations.) Our task is to determine whether the

second exaction by Seminole County amounts to a

“taking” — it was obviously uncompensated —

within the Amendment’s proscription.

“Here, however, Seminole County has not merely

adjusted the benefits and burdens of economic life

to promote the common good (citation). Rather,

the exaction is a forced contribution to general

governmental revenues, and it is not reasonably

related to the costs of using the courts. Indeed, the

Fifth Amendment’s guarantee ... was designed

to bar Government from forcing some people

alone to bear public burdens which, in all fairness

and justice, should be borne by the public as a

whole. (Citation.)

Neither the Florida Legislature by statute, nor the

Florida courts by judicial decree, may accomplish

the result the County seeks simply by recharacter-

izing the principal as “‘public money” because it is

held temporarily by the court. The earnings of a

fund are incidents of ownership of the fund itself

and are property just as the fund itself is property.

The state statute has the practical effect of

appropriating for the county the value of the use

_

/

of the fund for the period in which it is held in the

registry.

To put it another way: A State, by ipse dixit, may

not transform private property into public

property without compensation, even for the

limited duration of the deposit in court. This is the

very kind of thing that the Taking Clause of the

Fifth Amendment was meant to prevent. That

Clause stands as a shield against the arbitrary use

of governmental power. 449 U.S. at 160, 163-64, 101

S.Ct. at 450, 452 (emphasis added).

Here, too, by interpretation of state statutes, the highest

State court has made an exaction which

e “Is a forced contribution to general governmental

revenues and .. . is not reasonably related to the costs

of [use]”.

e ... [forces] some people alone to bear public burdens

which, in all fairness and justice should be borne by the

public as a whole.”

@ “Seeks to accomplish its result simply by recharacter-

izing” the obligation.

e Is, in substance and practical effect, nothing more than

an attempt to transform private property into public

property without compensation.

Both the trial court and the intermediate appellate court

in California found a reasonable means of interpretation to

avoid this constitutional dilemma. The California Supreme

Court remained oblivious and insensitive to the issue and its

decision cannot stand. This is the very thing that the Taking

Clause ofthe Fifth Amendment was meant to prevent. This

Court must intervene because the state Statutes, as

interpreted by the state’s highest court, to paraphrase again

— {5—

the words of Webb’s Fabulous Pharmacies, supra — has the

practical effect of appropriating for the [School District] the

value of the [contributions of private customers of the

Water District]. 449 U.S. 164, 101 S.Ct. 452.

THE DECISION OF THE CALIFORNIA

SUPREME COURT MANDATES A VIO-

LATION OF THE EQUAL PROTECTION

CLAUSE OF THE UNITED STATES CON-

STITUTION

A. The Requirement of Equal Protection.

The equal protection clause of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment of the United States Constitution commands that no

state shall deny any person the equal protection of the laws.

City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Center, _ U.S. — , 105

S.Ct. 3249, 3254 (1985). This requires that “all persons

similarly circumstanced shall be treated alike.” Tyler v. Doe,

451 US. 202, 216 (1982); Royster Guano Co. v. Virginia, 253

US. 412, 415 (1920).

As this Court noted in Reed v. Reed, 404 US. 71, 92 S.Ct.

251 (1971):

The Equal Protection Clause of [the Fourteenth]

Amendment does, however, deny to States the

power to legislate that different treatment be

accorded to persons placed by a statute into

different classes on the basis of criteria wholly

unrelated to the objective of that statute. A

classification “must be reasonable, not arbitrary,

and must rest upon some ground of difference

—=* =

having a fair and substantial relation to the object

of the legislation, so that all persons similarly

circumstanced shall be treated alike.” Royster

Guano Co. y. Virginia, 253 U.S. 412, 415, 40 S.Ct.

560, 561, 64 L.Ed. 989 (1920). 404 US. at 75-76, 92

S.Ct. at 253-54.

B. The Classification.

The California Supreme Court’s decision mandates that

“private customers” of the area served by the Water

District are subject to discrimination — they must pay taxes

to support the schools; pay capacity fees for their own use

and as an added exaction, an additional sum for the entire

cost of capital improvements provided by the Water District

for the use of the School District.

Persons residing outside the water district who use the

school (public hospital, prison, etc.) do not pay the

additional exaction. There is no rational basis for the

difference. It rests on chance, the place of residence, and

the situs of the public entity. This is contrary to the

constitutional doctrine of equal protection of the laws.

C. The Classification Fails the Equal

Protection Test.

The requirement to pay the additional exaction is not

based on ability to pay. It is not levied statewide on a

uniform basis. It imposes costs on the local community

which, as mandated by the California Supreme Court in

Serrano v. Priest, 18 Cal.3d 728 (1976), are the responsibility

of the state to obviate local financing as a violation of equal

protection in education. The cost of building and operating

schools is a state, not local, responsibility. Under the state

=

statutory scheme, the state has the funds and system to

meet this duty.

To justify the difference in classification between those

who must pay the additional exaction and those not paying

it, there must be a rational basis for the difference. This

requires (I) a legitimate purpose, and (2) a classification

which promotes the purpose. Hoffman v. United States,

767 F.2d 1431, 1436-1437 (9th Cir. 1985).

The purported purpose of the state court-created (not a

legislative creation) implied exemption is to avoid

impairment of the exercise of government powers.

The historical basis for a tax or assessment exemption is

the prohibition against enforcing a lien on public property

(selling the property to enforce the lien). That rationale has

no application to a sewer capacity fee. A user fee is not for a

lien.

A public agency is not subject to a mechanic’s /ien, but a

public agency does not get capital improvement benefits for

free; a “stop notice” is used to extract payment, not a lien.

California Code of Civil Procedure §§ 3179-3214. The stop

notice does not become a lien merely by serving the same

purpose — to enforce payment. No valid purpose emerges.

The other reason for an exemption from ad valorem

taxation is that the object of taxation is revenue and none

results from state taxation of its own property. Eisley v.

Mohan, 31 Cal.2d 637, 642 (1948). That is not the issue here.

At bench the question is which residents are the source of

funds to pay the capacity fee for the Schcol District.

Factually, there is no impairment of the school function

in this case. There is no attempt to regulate or impose liens

or levy an ad valorem tax on the school. There is aid, not

impairment, for education by providing sewer facilities at

far less cost than the school could provide the facilities, the

alternative required by California Education Code § 39613.

The School District paid fees from 1971 to 1979 without

impairing education and then stopped payment on a legal,

not factual impairment basis. The intermediate appellate

court decision demonstrates conclusively and at length that

sister states pay user-impact fees and the functioning of

their government is not impaired.

There are no facts in this record showing that education

(or other government functions) will be impaired by paying

user (capacity) fees. The belated $66.24 million self-serving

cost statement, by the Los Angeles Unified School District,

is unaudited and based on speculation and conjecture. It is

not based on the Los Angeles capacity fee nor related to

incremental payments over a period of time. It is not in the

Agreed Case nor subject to judicial notice and is not

properly before this Court as a basis for decision any more

than the comparable cost-fee relationship excluded by the

California Supreme Court. Slip Opinion, pp. A-17, 18,

Appendix A.

There being no valid purpose served by the distinction of

classification of payers of the additional exaction, , i.e.

private parties, and nonpayers of the exaction, there is a

denial of equal protection of the laws as defined by this

Court.

An attempt to surcharge private users to pay the School

District’s fee would be a forbidden special tax. Government

Code §§ 50076 and 54992 (charges exceeding the reasona-

ble cost of providing the service are a “special tax”

requiring a two-thirds voter approval). Beaumont Investors

v. Beaumont Cherry Valley Water District, 165 Cal.App.3d

287 (1985); California Constitution, Articles 13A and 13B.

This is not a case of exchanging tax dollars between

public agencies, but a case of which citizens — consistent

~—

with the federal and state constitutions and state statutes —

must pay the bill.

There is no need for (or purpose served by) this

classification. The state has funding sources of a magnitude

not applicable to the Water District or residents of the

Water District. Illustratively, the state is known to have an

excellent bond rating and the ability to spread costs over a

wide population base. The state is responsible for funding

education. In addition to the lottery, the state has a fund

balance, as of June 30, 1985 of $1,400,210,818.00, State of

California Annual Report, 1984-85 Fiscal Year, pp. A-8 and

A-9 (Exhibits A-l and A-2 to Petition for Rehearing,

Appendix D), an increase from $490,621,849.00 at the

beginning of the period June 20, 1984. (This impartial

source is not a party to this litigation, as is the self-serving

speculation of Amicus Los Angeles Unified School District

cited by the California Supreme Court in Footnote 2, Slip

Opinion, p. A-4, Appendix A.)

Consistent with the cardinal principle of interpretation,

the statutes must be interpreted to avoid this untenable

classification. The decisions of the trial court and the

intermediate appellate court clearly demonstrate that such

an interpretation is fairly possible.

CONCLUSION

This Court in Webb’s Fabulous Pharmacies, supra, laid

down a clear blueprint for protection from arbitrary

exactions by government. The blueprint fits the instant case.

The arbitrary exaction of the California Supreme Court of

the entire cost of capital improvements from private

customers alone when public entities, such as School

District, enjoy the benefits of use cannot stnd.

?

oe, el

As the California trial and intermediate appellate courts

clearly demonstrated, there is a fairly possible — indeed,

much preferable — interpretation of state statutes which

will avoid the constitutional violations.

The Petition for Certiorari should be granted and the

Judgment of the California Supreme Court reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

GOEBEL, SHENSA & BEALE

By: Louis E. Goebel

SMITH & PELTZER, A.P.C.

By: Vernon A. Peltzer

By: Jeffrey G. Scott

Attorneys for Petitioner

APPENDIX A

SUPREME COURT

FILED

JUL 21 1986

Laurence P. Gill, Clerk

DEPUTY

IN THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SAN MARCOS L.A. 32134

WATER DISTRICT, (Ct. of Appeal No.

Plaintiff and Respondent, 4/1 DOO1951

Super. Ct. No.

v. N24145)

SAN MARCOS UNIFIED

SCHOOL DISTRICT,

Defendant and Appellant.

I. INTRODUCTION

Are utility fees for capital funding “special assessments”

from which public entities are exempt, or “‘user fees” which

public entities must pay? This case presents the question

whether the San Marcos Unified School District (school

district) is obligated to pay “sewer capacity right fees”

(capacity fees) imposed by the San Marcos Water District

(water district). The capacity fees are used by the water

district to fund capital improvements. The school district

argues that the capacity fee is a special assessment, and that

school districts and other public entities are impliedly

A-2

exempt from paying special assessments unless the

Legislature directs otherwise. The water district argues that

the capacity fee is not a special assessment, but is a user

charge which all utility users must pay. In the alternative,

the water district argues that even if we hold that the

capacity fee is a special assessment, it is legislatively

authorized by either the Education Code or the Water

Code. Finally, the water district maintains that the school

district should be required by its water use contract or by

the doctrine of promissory estoppel to pay the capacity fees

imposed for the use of the sewer system.

We conclude that the trial court erred in finding that the

school district is required to pay the sewer capacity fee. We

believe that the capacity fee is an assessment whick has not

been authorized by the Legislature, and that the school

district is not required by either contract or promissory

estoppel to pay the capacity fee. Our conclusion does not

mean that the water district cannot collect money for

capital improvements from its customers; it simply means

that the private customers will pay the entire cost of capital

improvements. Public entities, such as the school district,

will not be required to allocate their limited tax revenues to

pay for capital improvements built by the sewer district.

II. THE FACTS

This case was submitted to the trial court on

November 15, 1983, as an “agreed case” as provided for in

Code of Civil Procedure section 1138. Thus, the parties

filed an agreed statement of facts and sought adjudication

of their obligations concerning any payment of future fees

or return of fees already paid. The facts which follow are

derived from the agreed statement.

A-3

Both the water district and the school district are located

in the San Marcos area of San Diego County. The territory

of the school district is larger than that of the water district,

but all currently used school sites are within the water

district’s sewer service area.

In 1971, the school district connected its facilities to the

water district’s sewer system. From 1971 to 1981, the school

district paid three type of fees to the water district:

connection fees, monthly service fees, and capacity fees. The

water district imposed these fees pursuant to Health and

Safety Code section 5471.'! The connection fee is charged

when the property is connected to the sewer system in order

to pay for labor and materials involved in making the new

connection. The monthly service fee is based on the

approximate amount of sewage discharged and is computed

according to the number of students, faculty, and staff

members assigned to the school. The capacity fee is a one-

time fee for capital improvements paid at the time of

connection; the capacity fee is based on anticipated sewage

discharge. (The capacity fee charged is $2,400 for each 25

students and staff members assigned to the school.) If the

population of a school increases, the water district on an

annual basis can charge an additional capacity fee. The

capacity fee is “a primary source of funds for the

development of additional capacity and [is set] at a level

which will defray the costs of providing additional sewage

! This section provides in pertinent part: “Any entity shall have power,

by an ordinance approved by a two-thirds vote of the members of the

legislative body thereof, to prescribe, revise and collect fees, tolls, rates,

rentals, or other charges, including sewer standby or immediate

availability charges, for services and facilities furnished by it, either

within or without its territorial limits, in connection with its sanitation or

sewerage system;....”

A-4

treatment and/or reclamation facilities; major trunk and

transmission pipelines and facilities for pumping when such

facilities are needed.” (San Marcos Water District Ord.

No. 47-6, art. X,§ 4.)

Although the school district paid $59,750? in capacity

fees from 1971 to 1980, beginning in 1981 the school district

refused to pay the capacity fees, claiming to be exempt from

such assessments. Litigation ensued and the trial court

entered judgment on March 14, 1984, ruling that “the

Education Code, particularly section 39613,” provides the

authority for imposing capacity fees upon the school

district. In addition, the court found that Water Code

section 31101.5, effective January 1, 1983, also provides

authority for the water district to impose the capacity fees.

Because the trial court based its ruling on the statutory

authority for the capacity fee, the court impliedly found that

the capacity fee is a special assessment requiring such

authorization. The trial court ruled that the school district

must pay to the water district “all amounts owing as

capacity fees billed but unpaid together with interest at 7%

per annum up to the time of Judgment and 10% per annum

on said amount thereafter until paid.”

III, THE COURT OF APPEAL OPINION

Because this case came to us on a petition for review, we

will review the Court of Appeal opinion. The Court of

Appeal upheld the judgment, but its reasoning was different

than that of the trial court. The appellate court did not

? Amicus Los Angeles Unified School District (LAUSD) notes that,

with its population of over 690,000 students and employees, LAUSD

would have to pay $66.24 million ($2,400 per 25 students and staff

members) if it were charged an identical capacity fee.

A-5

reach the question whether there is legislative authority in

the Education Code or the Water Code for the water

district’s capacity fee. The Court of Appeal found that no

such authority was needed, because the capacity fee is not a

special assessment, but rather a user charge, and as such the

school district must pay the fee.

The court declined to follow three California appellate

decisions which had held that a local public utility which

operates a sewer system cannot collect a fee, designed to

defray the costs of future capital improvements, from public

entities not subject to the property tax. (See County of

Riverside v. Idyllwild County Water Dist. (Riverside)

(1978) 84 Cal.App.3d 655; Regents of University of

California v. City of Los Angeles (Regents IT) (1979) 100

Cal.App.3d 547; hg. den.; Regents of University of

California v. City of Los Angeles (Regents IT) (1983) 148

Cal.App.3d 451, hg. den.) Instead, the Court of Appeal

examined the differences between “assessments” and “user

charges,” and the manner in which several out-of-state

cases treated similar situations. The court found that the

weight of authority in the out-of-state cases was that a fee

for capital improvements to a sewer system is a user fee, not

an assessment. The court noted that Associated Home-

builders v. City of Livermore (1961) 56 Cal.App.2d 847,

held that a sewer charge for capital improvements imposed

pursuant to Health and Safety Code section 5471 “does not

constitute an assessment on the value of property . . . but

rather is in the nature of an excise tax . . . .” (/d. at p. 853.)

The Court of Appeal concluded that “The capacity fee

does not constitute a special assessment for the purpose of

the implied exemption [from paying such assessments]

because it is not assessed against all property benefited by

the sewer system but is only imposed on users of the system

A-6

whose use gives rise to the need for additional sewer

capacity.” Because the school district is not exempt from

paying “user fees,” the Court of Appeal held that it must

pay the capacity fees at issue here.

In a dissenting opinion, Acting Presiding Justice

Staniforth asserted that the majority should have followed

the three California appellate decisions previously cited. He

believed that, based on California law, the capacity fee is a

special assessment which has not been positively authorized

by the Legislature in ei. er the Education Code or the

Water Code. He also rejected the water district’s argument

that the school district is bound by contract or promissory

estoppel to pay the capacity fees. Because a public entity

which is exempt from property taxes is also impliedly

exempt from “special assessments” not expressly authorized

by the Legislature, the dissent found that the school district

should not have to pay the capacity fees.

IV. DISCUSSION

A. Special Assessment or User Charge?

Article XIII, section 3, subdivision (b), of the California

Constitution provides that property owned by public entities

such as the school district is exempt from property taxation.

Courts have held that such property is likewise impliedly

exempt from “special assessments.” “While publicly owned

and used property is not exempt from special assessments

under the constitution or Statutory law of this state, there is

an implied exemption of such property from burdens of that

nature .... The principle which makes property of the

State ... nontaxable . . . also precludes the imposition of a

special assessment for a street or other local improvement

upon such property, unless there is a positive legislative

authority therefor. [Citations.]” (Inglewood v. County of

Los Angeles (1929) 207 Cal. 697, 703-704).

The rationale behind a public entity’s exemption from

property taxes and special assessments is to prevent one tax-

supported entity from siphoning tax money from another

such entity; the end result of such a process could be

unnecessary administrative costs and no actual gain in tax

revenues. (Eisley v. Mohan (1948) 31 Cal.2d 637, 642.) On

the other hand, when one tax-supported entity provides

goods or services to another, neither the California

Constitution nor decisional law exempts the public entity

from paying for these goods or services.

Although both parties agree that the school district is

exempt from special assessments unless there is contrary

legislative authority, the parties disagree as to whether the

challenged capacity fee is a special assessment. The water

district and its amici argue that the capacity fee does not

have the characteristics of an assessment, but rather those

of a usage fee. For example, the amount of the capacity fee

is based on anticipated usage, not the value of ihe benefit to

the property. The capacity payment is “voluntary” — in the

sense that it is the payor’s solicitation and utilization of the

sewage service which triggers the charge As such, the

capacity fee must be paid by the school district as well as by

all other users of the sewer system. The school district and

its amici urge the court to reach the same conclusion as did

the courts in Riverside, Regents I, and Regents II: a fee

used to provide funds for capital improvements to sewer

facilities, rather than simply to cover ongoing costs of

service, is a special assessment, even if the amount of the fee

is based on actual or anticipated usage.

What is a special assessment? “A special assessment is

not in the constitutional sense a tax at all. It is a compulsory

charge placed by the state upon real property within a

predetermined district, made under express legislative

authority for defraying in whole or in part the expense of a

permanent public improvement therein ... .” (Spring Street

Co. v. City of Los Angeles (1916) 170 Cal.24, 29.) The

court in Solvang Municipal Improvement District v. Board

of Supervisors (1980) 112 Cal.App.3d 545, discussed the

difference between a property tax and a special assessment:

“An ad valorem tax on real property describes a general tax

levy which applies a given rate to the assessed valuation of

all taxable property within a particular taxing district. Such

is the tax levied by a county to pay for general expenditures,

such as fire and police protection, and for general

improvements, such as fire Stations, police stations, and

public buildings, which are deemed to benefit all property

owners within the taxing district, whether or not they make

use of or enjoy any direct benefit from such expenditures or

improvements.... In contrast, a special assessment,

sometimes described as a local assessment, is a charge

imposed upon particular real property for a local public

improvement of direct benefit to that property, as for

example, a street improvement, lighting improvement,

irrigation improvement, sewerage connection, drainage

improvement, or flood control improvement . . . . This view

makes a clear distinction between taxes which are levied for

general revenue and for general public improvement; and

Special assessments, which are levied for local improve-

ments which directly benefit specific real property.” (Jd. at

pp. 552-553.)

The Court of Appeal in the instant case described the

average special street assessment as a_ typical special

assessment. The assessment is a one-time charge. “‘The cost

of paving a street is assessed against all abutting property

Owners in proportion to the amount of property fronting on

ee ees

oe ne

A-9

the street. The assessment is involuntary (a property owner

cannot refuse to have the street in front of his house paved)

and unrelated to actual use of the paved street (a similarly

situated property owner with no vehicles is assessed by the

same as one with several).”

In contrast to a special assessment, a usage fee typically is

charged only to those who use the goods or services. The

amount of the charge is related to the actual goods or

services provided to the payer. The usage fee for an ongoing

service would normally be a monthly charge rather than a

one-time charge.

In its opinion, the Court of Appeal pointed out that

Health and Safety Code section-5471, enacted in 1945,

authorizes the collection of “fees, tolls, rates, rentals, or

other charges” for services and facilities furnished by the

water district. The court found it significant that the

Legislature did not include the word “‘assessments” in the

list, and concluded that the Legislature understood that a

user charge does not become a special assessment merely

because it is used for capital improvements.

We do not find the absence of the word “assessments” to

be convincing evidence that the Legislature would not

consider fees for capital improvements to be special

assessments. Amicus University of California, supporting

the school district, points out that the state and its agencies

are not bound by general words used in a statute

(Inglewood v. County of Los Angeles, supra, 207 Cal. 697,

707) unless compliance with that statute would result in no

impairment of sovereign powers. (Hoyt v. Board of Civil

Service Commrs. (1942) 21 Cal.2d 399, 402.) In this case,

according to amicus, such an impairment could occur,

because the charges necessary to fund local capital

improvements to the sewer district would reduce the

resources which the school district may use to perform its

other functions. (County of Santa Barbara v. City of Santa

Barbara (1976) 59 Cal.App.3d 364, 369).

The Court of Appeal concluded that the capacity fee in

the instant case is a hybrid: “‘The capacity fee thus has some

characteristics which resemble a special assessment (one

time charge; not based on actual use) and some which look

more like a user charge (charge only applies to users; based

on anticipated use).” We agree that the capacity fee is a

hybrid, but we conclude we should follow the three prior

appellate opinions which held that a similar fee is a special

assessment. These opinions established a rule which looks to

the purpose of the fee being charged, and not simply to form

of the fee, a matter which can be easily manipulated.

In Riverside, a water district attempted to collect a

“capital cost sewer capacity charge” from all tax-exempt

entities. The county refused to pay, contending the charge

was invalid. The Riverside court held that “unless the

Legislature expressly so authorizes, property publicly

owned and used is exempt from special assessments.

[Citations.] The imposition of a capital cost charge on tax

exempt entities was a means of making such entities

contribute a proportionate share of the cost of constructing

the district’s sewerage facilities. The charges are in effect a

special assessment under a different name and constitute an

attempt by the district to do indirectly that which it could

not do directly. [Citations.]” (Italics added, Riverside, supra

84 Cal.App.3d 655, 659-660.)

In Regents I, the Regents of the University of California

challenged a “sewage facilities charge” imposed by the City

of Los Angeles on all users of the city sewer system. (The

Regents did not dispute a connection charge and a monthly

service charge which were also imposed.) The court stated

+

that “although the amount of the ‘sewage facilities charge’

is based upon anticipated use of the sewer system by the

user, the collected revenues are not used to defray the costs

of providing sewer service to the users. Such costs are

funded through the ‘sewer connection charge’ and the

‘monthly sewer service charge,’ charges whose payment the

Regents do not dispute. Rather, the revenues collected as a

result of the ‘sewage facilities charge’ are used by the city to

provide capital for sewer construction, i.e., to finance local

improvements. Such a charge for capital funding is little

more than a disguised special assessment. [Citation.]”

(Italics added, Regents I, supra, 100 Cal.App.3d 547, 549-

550.) The court concluded that, although it might be more

fair if the Regents were required to pay their share of the

capital costs of local improvements whose benefits they

enjoy, the court had no authority to modify the tax-exempt

status of the university.

Following Regents I, the City of Los Angeles amended

its municipal code to increase its sewer service charge. The

new charge included a portion for capital funding and was

based on actual rather than anticipated use. The Regents

nonetheless refused to pay the portion of the service charge

that was earmarked for capital improvements. The Court of

Appeal in Regents II, supra, 148 Cal.App.3d 451, rejected

the city’s argument that this new charge differed from the

one in Regents I because it was based on actual use. The

court held that “The Regents test is the purpose of the

disputed charge. [Citation.] Nor does the method of

calculating a charge define its nature. Whether the charge

is a one time occurrence or a monthly assessment is

irrelevant to the purpose for which the collection is made.

The character of the assessment is also not affected by the

fact that the sewer service charge is unrelated to property

value. [Citation.]” (Jd. at p. 456.)

A-12

The Court of Appeal in the instant case found that the

Capacity fee at issue is a user charge because it was charged

only to users of the sewer system rather than being assessed

to all property owners in the district. Although the courts in

Riverside, Regents I, and Regents II did not analyze this

factor, we suggest that charging users rather than property

Owners is a factor as easily manipulated as is the method of

computing the fee.

In Regents I and Regents II, the capital improvements

charge was assessed only to users of the sewer system, yet

the courts found the charge to be an assessment. By placing

the emphasis on the purpose of the charge, the courts in

those cases created a rule which both conforms to the policy

behind the implied exemption for public entities, and avoids

easy manipulation. A contrary ruling would, in effect,

abrogate the public entities’ implied exemption from

assessments by sewer districts. Under the rule we adopt, no

matter how the form of the fee is varied (i.e., whether based

on actual or anticipated use, or unrelated to use; whether a

one-time fee or monthly fee; and whether charged to all

property owners or only to users of the sewer system), the

purpose of the fee will determine whether or not public

entities are exempt from paying the fee. In sum, a fee aimed

at assisting a utility district to defray costs of capital

improvements will be deemed a Special assessment from

which other public entities are exempt.

Amicus University of California points out that the 5,244

special districts in California are responsible for most of the

basic infrastructure systems which are vital to our economy.

Costs for these special districts often exceed revenues and

the districts frequently need more money. Rather than

allowing these essentially local special districts to determine

that public entities should contribute to their capital

improvements, however, we believe that the Legislature

should evaluate statewide needs and allocate funds

accordingly. Thus, a state agency is responsible for paying a

special assessment such as the instant capacity fee only

when the Legislature authorizes such payment.

B. Legislative Authority for the Capacity Fee

The water district and its amici argue that even if we find

that the capacity fee is a special assessment from which

public entities ordinarily would be impliedly exempt, there

is legislative authority, in either the Education Code or the

Water Code, for requiring the school district to pay the

challenged assessment. We will examine these codes

separately.

1. The Education Code

Education Code section 39613? permits a school district

to construct its own sewer system or acquire “rights” in

sewer systems constructed by others. The water district

contends that this section provides express legislative

authorization for its capacity fee. We disagree.

The water district’s argument is that because the section

permits the school district to build its own sewer system or

acquire rights in another system, and to pay for such

projects with money from the district’s building fund

3 This section provides: ‘In addition to the other powers granted the

governing board of each school district may provide sewers and drains

adequate to treat and/or dispose of sewage and drainage on or away

from each school property. For this purpose it may construct adequate

systems or acquire adequate disposal rights in systems constructed or to

be constructed by others for these purposes without regard to their

proximity. The cost thereof may be paid from the building fund,

including any bond moneys therein.”

A-14

(which is used for funding capital improvements), therefore

this section implicitly authorizes the school district to pay

an assessment imposed on it by the water district. But if the

Legislature intended school districts to be subject to special

assessments for sewer systems, it undoubtedly would have

said so directly. For example, Education Code

Section 39609 expressly authorized school districts to

“appropriate money to pay assessments, for the improve-

ment of streets or other public places.” By contrast,

Education Code section 39613 contains no _ reference

whatsoever to assessments.

The predecessor of Education Code section 39613 was

enacted as an urgency measure in 1950 to allow school

districts to use building funds to construct sewer systems

either alone or in conjunction with others, without regard to

the proximity of the systems. According to section 39613, a

school district can build its own sewer system or acquire

ownership rights in a system built with others. In addition,

Education Code section 39011° authorizes or requires a

* This section provides: “The governing board of any school district

may appropriate money to pay assessments, for the improvement of

streets or other public places, levied against any real property owned by,

or under the control of the board, when the property is included within

an assessment district formed in pursuance of any general law of the

State or under the charter of any municipality. The assessments may be

paid out of any funds belonging to the school district, except funds

derived from the sale of bonds or required by law to be used for teachers’

salaries.”

5 This section provides in pertinent part: “Where a city, district, or

other political corporation or subdivision of the state is authorized by

law to furnish sewerage, water or other utility facilities to a school

district and is not required to provide for the installation thereof to such

school district at its own expense, it may enter into an agreement with

such school district whereby the cost of installation will be paid by the

school district to pay for the installation costs when

contracting with a water district for sewer service. Neither

statute authorizes or requires a school district to

appropriate money to pay special assessments. As we have

previously explained, a special assessment may not be

imposed on property belonging to a public agency absent

express legislative authorization. (Riverside, supra, 84

Cal.App.3d at pp. 659-660.)

2. The Water Code

The water district next argues that section 31101.5 of the

Water Code, which became effective in 1983, authorizes the

water district to levy a special assessment for capital

improvements upon the school district. Section 31101.5

states: “A district may supply sewage and waste services to

property not subject to district taxes at special rates, terms,

and conditions as are determined by the board for the

services.” But this section uses the word “‘services”; it does

not mention assessments and it does not mention fees for

capital improvements. It simply allows water districts to set

rates for public agencies that are different than the rates for

private customers.

Other sections of the Water Code cited by the water

district likewise provide no authority for assessing property

owned by public agencies. Section 31100 gives water

districts the right to contract with public agencies.

Section 31101 permits water districts to charge for services

and facilities. None of these sections provides the express

school district under such terms as the parties may agree to, with

reimbursement from charges made or to be made to other users of such

facilities as may be agreed upon between the parties, same insofar as

other provisions of law control the terms of such reimbursement.”

authority that is required for imposing a special assessment

on a public entity.

C. Payment Not Required by Contract or

Promissory Estoppel

Finally, the water district points out that the school

district had a choice of constructing its own sewer system

or contracting with another agency to provide the service.

Because the school district has voluntarily elected to

connect its schools to the water district’s System, the school

district should be required by contract to pay all fees,

including the capacity fee. It is uncontested, of course, that

the school district is required to pay the water district

connection fee and the monthly service fee. But because we

believe the capacity fee is a special assessment, it is not a fee

that the school district can agree by contract to pay.

According to Riverside, supra, 84 Cal.App.3d at page 659,

“whether the [school district] can agree to pay the charge

depends on whether the [water] district has the power to

impose it.” Because the water district does not have the

power to impose the capacity fee here, if the school district

pays the invalid charge it would amount to a “gift of public

funds in contravention of article XVI, section 6 of the

California Constitution.” (7d. p. 660.)

The water district alternatively urges us to hold that the

doctrine of promissory estoppel applies to require the

school district to pay the capacity fee. Here, the school

district (1) promised to pay the capacity fee upon first being

allowed to connect to the water district’s sewer system, and

(2) furthermore paid the capacity fees for 10 years before

claiming an exemption. The water district contends that the

school district is accordingly estopped from denying the

obligation to pay Capacity fee.

In City of Long Beach v. Mansell (1975) 3 Cal.3d 462, we

stated that it is a “well-established proposition that an

estoppel will not be applied against the government if to do

so would nullify ‘a strong rule of policy, adopted for the

benefit of the public, ....’ [Citation.]” (Jd. at p. 493.) Public

entities are exempt from property taxes and special

assessments in order to preserve the balance in funding

established by the Legislature and to avoid unnecessary

administrative costs. (See Eisley v. Mohan, supra, 31 Cal.2d

637, 642.) Because we believe that the implied exemption

against special assessments on property owned by public

agencies is indeed a “strong” public policy, the doctrine of

promissory estoppel is not applicable to this case.

D. The “Special Tax” Issue

The school district had argued that even if the capacity

fee is not deemed a special assessment, the fee is not

reasonably related to the cost of the service for which it is

imposed within the meaning of Government Code

section 50076.° Therefore, according to the school district,

the capacity fee is a “special tax” which would require a

two-thirds voter approval to be valid under article XIIIA,

section 4 of the California Constitution.

The school district raised this argument for the first time

on appeal and the water district had no opportunity to make

a record on this issue. Although we do not find it necessary

to reach it because we hold the capacity fee is a special

assessment, we agree with the Court of Appeal’s statement

6 ‘As used in this article, ‘special tax’ shall not include any fee which

does not exceed the reasonable cost of providing the service or

regulatory activity for which the fee is charged and which is not levied

for general revenue purposes.”

that the issue was untimely raised. Because the issue of

reasonable relationship is largely factual (see Beaumont

Investors v. Beaumont Cherry Valley Water Dist. (1985)

165 Cal.App.3d 227, 234-235), the appellate court’s refusal

to examine this issue was correct.

Vv. CONCLUSION

Because the capacity fee is a special assessment which has

not been authorized by the Legislature, we hold that the

school district is not required to pay the fee. The judgment

of the Court of Appeal is reversed. As for capacity fees that

were paid by the school district from 1971 to 1980, this

matter is remanded to the Court of Appeal for further

proceedings to determine whether those fees must be

refunded.

LUCAS, J.

WE CONCUR:

MOSK, J.

BROUSSARD, J.

REYNOSO, J.

PANELLI, J.

COPY

SAN MARCOS WATER DIST. vy. SAN MARCOS

UNIFIED SCHOOL DIST. L.A. 32134

CONCURRING OPINION BY GRODIN, J.

It is not entirely clear to me — nor was it to the Court of

Appeal — why a fee which is based upon an estimate of

prospective use is a “special assessment” rather than a “user

fee” because its purpose is to fund capital improvement. I

agree with the majority, however, that we should defer to

the now well-established precedent to that effect and invite

the Legislature, if it sees fit, to establish a different rule. On

that basis, I concur.

GRODIN, J.

I CONCUR:

BIRD, CJ.

APPENDIX B

wants ey fic)

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

FILED

Keenan G. Casady, Clerk

AUG 19 1985

COURT OF APPEAL

FOURTH DISTRICT

COURT OF APPEAL

FOURTH APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION ONE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SAN MARCOS WATER DISTRICT,

Plaintiff and Respondent, D001951

(Super. Ct. No. N24145)

v.

SAN MARCOS UNIFIED

SCHOOL DISTRICT,

Defendant and Appellant.

APPEAL from a judgment of the Superior Court of San

Diego County, F. V. Lopardo, Judge. Affirmed.

Vernon A. Peltzer, Jeffrey G. Scott and Smith & Peltzer

for Plaintiff and Respondent.

Lynn R. McDougal and McDougal, Meloche, Love &

Eckis for Defendant and Appellant.

Defendant San Marcos Unified School District (School

District) appeals from a judgment entered on an agreed case

pursuant to Code of Civil Procedure sections 1138 and

1139 validating a “‘sewer capacity right fee” (capacity fee)

imposed on the School District by plaintiff San Marcos

Water District (Water District.) We affirm.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL

BACKGROUND

The case was submitted to the trial court on a stipulated

set of facts. The Water District provides sewer services and

the School District provides educational services for the San

Marcos area. Although the boundaries of the two districts

are not contiguous, they serve roughly the same

community. All of the currently used school sites of the

School District are within the Water District.

Beginning in 1971, the School District connected certain

of its school sites and facilities to the Water District’s sewer

system and thereby began incurring various charges from

the Water District. The Water District charges its

customers three different types of fees. A connection fee is

charged when a customer’s property is initially connected to

District sewer lines. (See post, p. 10 and fn. 8.) A monthly

sewer service charge is assessed based on rates approxi-

mating the amount of sewage discharged monthly.' And a

one-time capacity fee is also charged prior to connection

which, like the monthly service charge, is based on

approximate amounts of sewage discharged.* According to

a 1983 Water District ordinance, the capacity fee “‘is a

primary source of funds for the development of additional

capacity and [is set] at a level which will defray the costs of

providing additional sewage treatment and/or reclamation

facilities, major trunk and transmission pipelines and

facilities for pumping when such facilities are needed.”

' For schools, the monthly service charge amounts of $5.75 for the

first 25 students, faculty, staff, etc., at the facility and $3.50 for each

additional 25 persons assigned to the school.

2 For schools, the capacity fee charged is equal to $2,400.00 for each

25 students, faculty, staff, etc. assigned to the school.

DISCUSSION

The sole question presented to the trial court and to us on

appeal is whether the Water District may validly collect the

capacity fee from a property tax-exempt entity such as the

School District. There is mo dispute as to the Water

District’s authority to collect or the School District’s

obligation to pay the connection fees and monthly service

charges. Nor is there any contention by the School District

that the capacity fee it is charged is any different from the

capacity fees charged non-tax-exempt entities. Because the

facts a ¢ undisputed, we review the trial court action as

involving solely a question of law.

I

The Water District’s capacity fee is imposed pursuant to

Health and Safety Code section 5471. That section provides

in relevant part as follows:

“An entity shall have power... to prescribe,

revise and collect, fees, tolls, rates, rentals, or

other charges, including sewer standby or

immediate availability charges, for services and

facilities furnished by it, either within or without

its territorial limits, in connection with its

sanitation or sewerage. ... Revenues derived

under the provisions in this section, shall be used

only for the acquisition, construction, reconstruc-

tion, maintenance and operation of water systems

and sanitation or sewerage facilities . . .; provided,

however, that such revenue shall not be used for

the acquisition or construction of new local

sewers or laterals as distinguished from main

trunk, interceptor and outfall sewers.”

B-4

The School District relies on a series of three cases

which, with minor factual variations, address the question

whether a local government entity which operates a sewer

system can collect a fee designed to defray the costs of

capital improvements from public entities not subject to the

property tax. (See County of Riverside v. Idyllwild: County

Water Dist. (1978) 84 Cal.App.3d 655; Regents of

University of California vy. City of Los Angeles (1979) 100

Cal.App.3d 547; Regents of University of California v.

City of Los Angeles (1983) 148 Cal.App.3d 451.) In each

case, the court concluded that to the extent the fee was used

to finance capital improvements, it constituted a special

assessment which could not be collected from tax-exempt

entities absent legislative authorization.

The Water District responds with a sequential argument.

It first contends the capacity fee is not a special assessment

but rather a service charge or user fee. Accordingly, in the

District’s view, the fact that the School District is exempt

from the property tax is irrelevant. Even if the capacity fee

is a special assessment, however, the Water District finds

legislative authorization for the assessment in Education

Code section 39613 which empowers school districts to

construct their own sewer systems or to contract for the

right to utilize sewer systems constructed by others.4 The

3 Under established law, public agencies in California are generally

exempt from property taxation under the provisions of article XIII,

section 3 of the California Constitution. (J nglewood v. County of Los

Angeles (1929) 207 Cal. 697, 702.) Although the constitutional

exemption does not apply to special assessments, the courts have

considered public property impliedly exempt from special assessments

unless the Legislature provides otherwise. (Id., at pp. 703-704.)

* Education Code section 39613 provides:

“In addition to the other powers granted the governing

me el A ET ana nate RN Saetiad

District suggests that since the construction of a sewer

system by a school district would clearly involve capital

costs, the Legislature must have intended that a school

district’s “contracts” for sewer utilization rights include

payment of capital costs. Finally, the Water District argues

that capacity fees for tax-exempt entities were specifically

authorized with the enactment of Water Code

section 31101.5 in 1982.5 (Cf. Water Code, 71670-.5;

Carlton Santee Corp. v. Padre Dam Mun. Water Dist.

(1981) 120 Cal.App.3d 14, 30.)

II

The first question we must address is whether the Water

District’s capacity fee constitutes a “special assessment.” If

it does, the School District cannot be required to pay it

absent special legislative authorization. On the other hand,

if the capacity fee is merely a user service charge, i.e., the

price charged for a governmental service, there is no reason

to exempt the School District from a fee all users of the

sewer system must pay.

board of each school district may provide sewers and drains

adequate to treat and/or dispose of sewage and drainage on

or away from each school property. For this purpose it may

construct adequate systems or acquire adequate disposal

rights in systems constructed or to be constructed by others

for these purposes without regard to their proximity. The

cost thereof may be paid from the building fund, including

any bond moneys therein.”

5 Water Code section 31101.5, effective January 1, 1983, provides:

“A distr’ct may supply sewage and waste services to

property not subject to district taxes at special rates, terms,

and conditions as are determined by the board for the

services.”

B-6

County of Riverside v. Idyllwild County Water Dist.,

supra, 84 Cal.App.3d 655 was the first case to confront a

similar question. The water district sought to impose a

monthly sewer capacity charge against tax-exempt public

entities as an “ ‘equitable contribution toward the capital

cost of the sewerage system.’ ” (Jd, at p. 657.) The court

began by stating the general rule that tax-exempt public

entities are also impliedly exempt from special assessments.

(/d., at pp. 659-660.) It then framed its conclusion in the

following terms:

“The imposition of a capital cost charge on tax

exempt entities was a means of making such

entities contribute a proportionate share of the

cost of constructing the district’s sewerage

facilities. The charges are in effect a special

assessment under a different name and constitute

an attempt by the district to do indirectly that

which it could not do directly.” (/d., at p. 660.)

The court then goes on to support is holding by citing an

Attorney General’s Opinion (19 Ops. Cal. Atty.Gen. 195)

which states that charges and fees for sewer services may be

assessed against public entities to the extent the same

charges and fees are paid by all other sewer users. Noting

that the water district’s capacity charge was assessed only

against tax-exempt entities, the court concluded the charge

was invalid. (84 Cal.App.3d at p. 660.)

® The Riverside court cited County of Santa Barbara v. City of

Santa Barbara (1976) 59 Cal.App.3d 364, 376 in support of its holding.

While the Santa Barbara case does indicate that a public entity cannot

label as a “‘charge” that which is really a special assessment, there is no

discussion of how to distinguish the two concepts.

i Vu reenable

TO aT

B-7

A fact situation virtually identical to the present case was

considered by the court in Regents of University of

California v. City of Los Angeles, supra, 100 Cal.App.3d

547 (Regents I.) The City of Los Angeles operated a sewer

system and imposed a one-time “sewer facilities charge”

before a property improvement could be connected for

sewer service. The charge was scaled to anticipated use by

each user and was used to defray the costs of sewer

- construction. As in the present case, the charge was

imposed on all sewer system users, not just tax-exempt

entities. Relying almost exclusively on the Riverside

opinion, the court ignored the portion of that case which

discussed the selective impact of the capacity fee on tax-

exempt public entities and focused solely on the evaluation

of the fee as a special assessment. Defining a special

assessment as “a charge imposed on property owners within

a limited area to help pay the cost of a local improvement

designed to enhance the value of the property within that

area” (id. at p. 549), Regents I court syllogistically

concluded:

‘(T]he revenues collected as a result of the

‘sewage facilities charge’ are used by the city of

provide capital for sewer construction, i.e. to

finance local improvements. Such a charge for

capital funding is little more than a disguised

special assessment.” (Ibid.)

The same parties again squared off in Regents of

University of California v. City of Los Angeles, supra, 148

Cal.App.3d 451 (Regents II.) Los Angeles responded to the

Regents I decision by increasing its monthly sewer service

charge so that monies from such charge could be used to

finance capital improvements. The Regents II court

responded by striking down the increased charge, holding

B-8

that the critical issue in determining whether the charge

was a special assessment “is the purpose of the disputed

charge.” (Id., at p. 455, emphasis in original.) The court

read the Regents I decision to hold that where the purpose

of the charge is to finance capital improvements rather than

operating expenses, it constitutes a special assessment

which, as a general rule, cannot be imposed against tax-

exempt public entities. (J bid.)

Ill

It would be a simple matter for us to cite Riverside and

the two Regents decisions for the “purpose of the charge”

proposition in rejecting the Water District’s contention.

Unfortunately, the easy way is not always the correct one.

We are concerned that a statement unnecessary to the

holding in Riverside has been developed by the Regents

cases into a full-blown proposition of law without

sufficient — indeed without any — analysis of the econ-

omic implications of the proposition on local government

finance.

t is perhaps helpful to begin by analyzing the economic

rationale behind the Water District’s capacity fee. We will

then proceed to examine the economic factors which

distinguish user charges from special assessments and, more

generally, from taxes.

A

It is obvious that the Water District has sought to finance

its sewer system largely by payments from users of that

system rather than from general tax revenues. Accordingly,

each sewer user pays a connection fee to compensate for the

labor and materials involved in connecting a property

B-9

improvement to the sewer system. In addition, a monthly

service charge is imposed to cover the operating expenses

associated with treating the amount of sewage discharged

by the user during the month. Both of these charges,

however, assume the existence of an operating sewage

system including main sewer lines, a treatment plant and a

sewage outfall for discharge of the treated sewage into the

ocean. The Water District has sought to recoup the costs of

constructing such major facilities by way of the challenged

capacity fee. The capacity fee assumes that a system with x

capacity is needed to effectively treat a monthly sewage

discharge of x. If a new building is connected to the sewer

system which increase the monthly sewage discharge to

x + y, the capacity of the system must correspondingly be

increased by y. By setting its capacity fee at a level equal to

the cost of adding y capacity, the Water District is simply

charging to each new sewer use the capacity costs

associated with its impact on the system.

B

In economic terms, user charges are merely one source of

revenue for local governments. For our purposes we can

divide self-generated revenues into three general categories:

taxes, special assessments and user fees. There is a great

deal of legal literature attempting to distinguish between

taxes and special assessments, but very little which analyzes

the concept of a user charge. (E.g., State Highway

Commission v. City of Topeka (Kan. 1964) 393 P.2d 1008,

1010; see also 14 McQuillin, Municipal Corporations (1970

rev.) § 38.01 and cases there cited.) In contrast, economists

writing on the topic of public finance spend a great deal of

time discussing taxes and user charges but routinely omit

extensive references to special assessments. (See, e.g.,

B-10

Hirsch, The Economics of State and Local Government

(1970); Kamer, Crisis in Urban Public Finance (1983).) This

is because, to the economist, there is a great deal of

difference between taxes and user charges but significantly

less difference between special assessments and _ user

charges. User charges for public services are viewed as

analogous to the prices charged by private business entities

for commercial services. The amount of the charge is

closely tied to the benefits received by the purchaser. (See,

e.g., Hirsch, op. cit. supra, at p. 31.) Special assessments,

though distinguishable from user charges, are functionally

quite similar because the amount of the assessment, at least

in theory, is tied to the benefits received by the owner of the

assessed property. (E.g., Bird & Slack, Urban Finance and

User Charges, in State and Local Finance (Break edit.

1983), p. 216; 4 Sands & Libonati, Local Government Law

(1982) § 24.06, pp. 24-17.) Taxes on the other hand, are

quite different from both user charges and special

assessments because their amount is generally determined

not by reference to benefits received but rather on some

measure of the taxpayer's ability to pay. (Due and

Friedlaender, Government Finance — Economics of the

Public Sector (1973) pp. 236-237; Hirsc’. 2p. cit. supra, at

pp. 50-51.)

Economists have for some time advocated more extensive

utilization of user charges by local governments to finance

certain public services. (E.g., Bird & Slack, op. cit. supra, at

p. 251.)

“User charges put public prices on _ public

products. They apply to those who voluntarily

consume public services or use _ public

facilities. ... They are favored by economists not

only because they raise additional revenues, but

B-11

also because they can lead to a more efficient

allocation of resources arid a more equitable

distribution of public services. Efficiency is served

because user charges provide a price signal as to

what goods should be produced and at what

levels. Equity is served because only those who

benefit from a service actually pay for it.”

(Kamer, op. cit. supra, at p. 64.)

As noted above, economists tend to view special

assessments as analogous to user charges because the

amount of the assessment varies with the benefits received.

Special assessments, however, are not true “public prices.”

One set of economists has sought to define special

assessments and distinguish user charges:

“Special assessments and related devices such as

subdivision exactments or lot levies are compul-

sory payments (in cash or kind) intended to defray

the cost of certain public sector capital outlays.

They are not ‘user charges’ as normally defined,

because the amount charged is not related to the

use made of any good or service provided by

governments.” (Bird & Slack, op. cit. supra, at

p. 216.)

Thus defined, special assessments are properly viewed as a

one-time benefit tax which, like taxes based on the ability-

to-pay principle, are distinguished from user charges by

their involuntariness and the fact that the amount of the

assessment is unrelated to use of the public service.’

7 The average special street assessment is a typical example. The cost

of paving a street is assessed against all abutting property owners in

proportion to the amount of property fronting on the street. The

assessment is involuntary (a property owner cannot refuse to have the

B-12

Because they view user charges as a pricing system for

public services, it seems clear economists would have no

trouble concluding that the type of monthly fee struck

down by the court in Regents II, supra, 148 Cal.App.3d

451 is in reality a true user charge rather than a special

assessment. While it is true that special assessments are

used to fund capital improvements, it does not follow that

any charge used to fund capital improvements is necessarily

a special assessment. By analogy to the private sector,

businesses normally obtain capital to finance improvements

from the prices they charge for their goods and services. If a

dry cleaning business needs new equipment, there is no

procedure for specially assessing its customers. The cost of

the new equipment must be factored into the prices charged

for cleaning clothes in the same way as Los Angeles

factored the cost of sewer treatment improvements into the

price charged for sewer service in Regents IJ. As one

economist has stated in explaining the advantages of user

charges:

“User charges can reduce congestion by rationing

scarce facilities to those who place the highest

value on access to them. User charges can also

provide the capital needed to maintain or expand

existing public facilities. For example, a user

charge imposed on motorists who travel on major

highways during peak rush hours can reduce

highway congestion while, at the same time,

generating the capital needed for highway

Street in front of his house paved) and unrelated to actual use of the

paved street (a similarly situated property owner with no vehicles is

assessed the same amount as one with several.)

B-13

improvements.” (Kamer, op. cit. supra, at p. 64,

emphasis added.)

The major difference between the capacity fee in this case

and in Regents I compared with the service charge in

Regents II is that the capacity fee is a one-time charge

based on anticipated use whereas the service charge is a

monthly assessment based on actual use. The capacity fee

thus has some characteristics which resemble a special

assessment (one time charge; not based on actual use) and

some which look more like a user charge (charge only

applies to users; based on anticipated use). (Compare Seal

Tanning Co. v. City of Manchester (N.H. 1978) 393 A.2d

1382, 1386 (A special assessment “is incurred only once

and is collected from a landowner who is specially benefited

by the sewer’s construction whether or not he is actually

connected to the sewer system.’’).) To resolve the question

of which category this hybrid is most properly placed

within, we must turn from the realm of public economics to

that of legal precedent. Our examination will necessarily

include an analysis of the rationale underlying the

exemption from special assessments enjoyed by public

entities to determine whether policy considerations warrant

its extension to the capacity fee at issue in this case.

IV

Our research has disclosed several out-of-state cases in

which courts have been asked to review sewer charges

analogous to the Water District’s capacity fee. The closest

on point would appear to be Murray City v. Board of Ed.

of Murray City Sch. Dist. (Utah 1964) 396 P.2d 628.

Murray City issued revenue bonds for extensions and

improvements to the city’s water plant and sewer system.

To pay off the bonds, the city imposed a sewer charge based

B-14

on anticipated use of the sewer system. (/d., at p. 629.) As

in California, public agencies in Utah are generally exempt

from taxes and special assessments. The school district

accordingly contended it was exempt from the sewer

charge. Rejecting the school district’s argument that the

sewer charge was in reality a special assessment, the Utah

Supreme Court sought to distinguish the two concepts:

“An assessment ... is levied under the taxing

power and is imposed upon property within a

limited area for an improvement to enhance all

property within that area. [Citation.] On the other

hand, the cost of a service is determined by the

benefits conferred upon the occupants of the land

rather than an increase in value to the land itself.”

(Jd. at p. 630).

Murray City was relied on by that same court in Home

Builders Ass’n of Gr. Salt Lake v. Provo City (Utah 1972)

503 P.2d 451, sustaining a $100-per-living-unit “connection

fee”® designed to defray the costs of improvements and

enlargements to the sewer system. Citing Murray City, the

court noted that sewer charges and connection fees “are

neither taxes nor assessments but payments for services

furnished.” (/d., at p. 452.)

A similar conclusion with respect to a similar connection

fee was reached by the Indiana Supreme Court in Brandel

8 The connection fee in Home Builders and some of the cases we later

discuss would be distinguished from the connection fee charged by the

Water District in this case. (See ante, p.2.) The Water District’s

connection fee is designed solely to compensate for the labor and

materials costs incurred in physically connecting a property improve-

ment to the sewer system. The connection in Home Builders and the

other cases is analogous to the Water District’s capacity fee because it is

designed to defray the cost of capital improvements to tiie sewer system.

a ne Be

v. Civil City of Lawrenceburg (Ind. 1967) 230 N.E.2d 778.

In distinguishing benefit taxes such as special assessments

from user charges (referred to in the opinion as “use taxes”’)

the Brandel court explained:

‘The tax here involved, it should be noted, is not a

benefit tax, but rather a use tax for the services of

disposing of sewage from particular property. It is

not a benefit tax for the reason that not all

property in the area under the ordinance is

required to pay the $200.00 fee. It is only such

property as has sewage to be disposed of to which

the tax is applicable.” (/d., at p. 780.)

In City of Dunedin v. Contractors & Builders Assn’n(Fla.

App. 1975) 312 So.2d 763, the city imposed a $325 “impact

fee” for connections to the city’s sewer system to cover the

costs of capital improvements to that system. The court

quite succinctly defined the issue before it:

“No one doubts that a municipality has the power

to make reasonable charges for water and sewer

services. The question is whether the cost of

projected capital improvements can be considered

in setting the charges.” (/d., at p. 766, fn. 4.)

In concluding that sewer service charges may properly

include the cost of projected capital improvements, the

court stated as follows:

“The imposition of fees for the use of a municipal

utility system is not an exercise of the taxing

power nor is it the levy of a special assessment.

[Citation.] In our view, connection fees such as

those invo'ved in this case do not constitute a tax

but a charge which may be made for the use of the

utility service... .” (/d., at p. 766, fn. omitted.)

B-16

In Opinion of Justices (N.H. 1944) 39 A.2d 765, the New

Hampshire Supreme Court was asked to consider whether

the City of Concord could charge the State certain “sewer

rents” based on “ ‘the metered consumption of water on the

premises connected with the sewer system, the number and

kind of plumbing fixtures connected with the sewer system,

the number of persons served by the sewer system or upon

any other equitable basis.” (Jd., at p. 766.) The funds

raised by such charges were to be used for, among other

things, the construction and repair of the sewer system

including treatment and disposal facilities. (Jbid.)

Responding to the argument that the sewer rents

constituted a special assessment for which the state was

impliedly exempt, the court responded that “the difficulty

with this contention, as here applied, lies in the fact that the

price which the city charges for sewer service is in no sense

a special assessment.” (Jd., at p. 767.) In support of its

conclusion, the court cited a major treatise in the field:

.. Another form of a charge which is in

substance a contract is to be found where a

municipality, under authority conferred by

Statute, imposes a charge upon property owners

who connect their land with a sewer system

constructed by the city, the owner being free to

avoid liability by refraining from making such

connection. Such charge may be a fixed sum for

the privilege of making the connection, or it may

be a charge based upon the amount of sewage

discharged from the premises into the sewer. Such

a charge is not ord.aarily regarded as a local

assessment.’ Page & Jones, Taxation by Assess-

ment, § 6.” (Jbid. (emphasis added); to the same

effect, see also Louisville and Jefferson County

B-17

Met. Sewer D. v. Barker (Ky. 1948) 212 S.W.2d

122)?

Opinion of Justices was cited with approval by the court

in Hayes v. City of Albany (Ore.App. 1971) 490 P.2d 1018.

The Hayes court validated a sewer connection charge

which ranged from $255 for a single family dwelling to as

much as $400,000 for a major industrial plant. Of particular

interest is the fact that Hayes also relied on a California

Supreme Court decision in support of its holding. In

Associated Homebuilders v. City of Livermore (1961) 56

Cal.2d 847, the city imposed a $150-per-dwelling-unit sewer

connection charge designed to defray the cost of capital

improvements to the sewer system. Relying on Health and

Safety Code section 5471 (ante, p. 4), the court sustained

the charge against a challenge by builders and developers

that imposition of the charge exceeded the city’s taxing

power:

“In any given case the charge prescribed by the

subject ordinances is measured by the use to

which the property (and consequentially the city’s

sewer system) will be put, including the number

and type of plumbing fixtures to be installed.

Accordingly, it does not constitute an assessment

on the value of the property . . . but rather is in the

nature of an excise tax imposed on all persons

thereafter applying for building permits for the

privilege of connection to (and is reasonably

commensurate with the burden to be imposed on)

? Interestingly, both Opinion of Justices and Barker were heavily

relied on in 19 Ops. Cal.Atty.Gen. 195, the same Attorney General’s

Opinion relied on by the court in Riverside, supra, 84 Cal.App.3d ad

p. 660 to support its conclusion that public agencies could not be charged

for sewer services at rates different from private persons. (See ante, p. 7.)

B-18

the facilities of defendant’s sewer system.” (/d., at

pp. 852-853 (emphasis added).).)

We are not totally sure what the Supreme Court meant

by a charge “‘in the nature of an eacise tax.” We suspect the

court had in mind the type of analysis it employed in City

of Glendale v. Trondsen (1957) 48 Cal.2d 93, 102-103

where it validated a city’s rubbish collection fee alterna-

tively characterized as a “excise tax” and “service

charge”.!° In any event, it seems clear the Livermore court

did not view the sewer connection charge as a special

assessment.!!

10 Under California law, an “excise tax” is generally considered to be

any charge imposed pursuant to the government’s taxing power other

than a property or poll tax. (City of Glendale v. Trondsen, supra, 48

Cal.2d at pp. 103-104; accord 16 McQuillin, Municipal Corporations (3d

ed. 1984) § 44.190, 0. 619.) Thus, even if sewer capacity and connection

fees are characterized as excise taxes, the School District would be hard-

pressed to argue it is exempt from such taxes based on the constitutional

provision which exempts it from paying property taxes. (See ante, fn. 3.)

'! Although the Livermore court did not focus on it, our heading of

Health and Safety Code section 5471 suggests the Legislature possessed

a similar view. That section, pursuant to which the Water District’s

capacity fee was imposed, authorizes the collection of ‘“‘fees, tolls, rates,

rentals or other charges .. for services and facilities furnished by the

sewer district] ...” (Emphasis added.) The statute further specifically

provides that revenue from such charges may be used to acquire or

construct sewer facilities (i.e., capital improvements). In view of the

specific contemplation of capital costs, we think it highly significant the

Legislature omitted the term ‘“‘assessments” from the generic list of

charges. Implicit in the wording of the statute, we believe, is the

Legislature’s understanding that a user charge does not become a special

assessment merely because it is used to defray the cost of capital

improvements.

B-19

Vv

We are thus faced with a situation in which the rationale

of a series of three recent Court of Appeal opinions, with

which we have already expressed our concern, is

inconsistent with the weight of authority from other states

and is arguably inconsistent with language in a California

Supreme Court decision. Significantly, neither Riverside

nor either of the Regents decisions discuss the out-of-state

authority or cite the Supreme Court’s opinion in Livermore.

Under such circumstances, we think it appropriate to

briefly analyze the rationale underlying the rule which

generally exempts public agencies from special assessments.

As previously noted, the special assessment exemption

derives by analogy from the constitutional exemption from

property taxation enjoyed by public agencies. That rule

arose at a time when there were far fewer local agencies

whose boundaries much less frequently overlapped. The

exemption of public property from taxation was viewed as

avoiding the necessity of a municipality assessing its own

property. (See Holbrook & O’Neill, California Property

Tax Trends: 1850-1950 (1951) 24 So.Cal.L.Rev. 252, 268.)

To the extent local agency boundaries did overlap, the

transaction costs associated with inter-entity tax payments

were apparent!y perceived as outweighing any theoretical

advantages in terms of tax equity.'*

12 The theoretical inequity of the tax exemption can be illustrated if

we assume a small public entity located entirely within a considerably

larger public entity. We can further assume the large entity owns

significant amounts of property within the small entity’s boundaries but

that the small entity owns very little property. Normally we would

expect that any burdens created by a public agency will be borne equally

by all its taxpayers. But if the large entity’s property is exempt from

It is because special assessments are viewed as being

within the government’s taxing power (see Inglewood v.

County of Los Angeles, supra, 207 Cal. at p. 703) and are

clearly levied on property that the analogy to the property

tax exemption developed. While there is a clear difference

between a tax for general governmental purposes imposed

on ability-to-pay principles and an assessment for a specific

improvement levied on benefit principles, the facial

similarity has been seen as sufficient to justify the implied

exemption. (/d., at pp. 703-704.)

Where there is no necessary relationship between the

amount of a tax and the amount of benefits received from

governmental services (i.e., where a tax is imposed on an

ability-to-pay principle), it is arguable that the transaction

costs associated with assessing public agencies do not justify

the results, especially in view of the theoretical difficulties

involved in determining the “‘ability-to-pay” of a govern-

mental body. Even in the case of a special assessment,

where the benefits received are solely related to increases in

the value of the subject property, such a benefit is perhaps

less useful to a public agency which is not in business to

make a profit. But where the benefit to the public entity is

direct, defined as in the present case in terms of use of a

service, there is no more reason to exempt the agency from

payment of the charge than there is to exempt it from

paying private businesses for goods delivered and services

rendered.

taxation, the tax burden on the small entity’s taxpayers must be

correspondingly increased. This results in a situation where small entity

taxpayers effectively subsidize large entity taxpayers who do not also

reside within the small entity.

B-21

VI

The general rule with respect to tax exemptions is that

they should be strictly construed against the person or

entity claiming the exemption. (See Cedars of Lebanon

Hosp. v. County of LA. (1950) 35 Cal.2d 729, 734.) While

this general rule has been held inapplicable to exemptions in

favor of public agencies (see Pasadena v. County of Les

Angeles (1920) 182 Cal. 171, 174), this rule of liberalized

construction has only been invoked where a tax exemption

is express. Where a tax exemption is created neither by

constitution nor statute but is rather a creature of judicial

interpretation (see ante, fn. 3), we believe the general rule is

more appropriate and the implied exemption must be

strictly construed. So construed, and in view of the

abundant precedent from other states sustaining similar

sewer capacity charges coupled with the supportive

language in the Supreme Court’s Livermore opinion, we

conclude the School District is to impliedly exempted from

paying the Water District’s capacity fee. The capacity fee

does not constitute a special assessment for the purposes of

the implied exemption because it is not assessed against all

property benefited by the sewer system but is only imposed

on users of the system whose use gives rise to the need for

additional sewer capacity.'?

'3 The School District argues that even if the capacity fee is not

properly characterized as a special assessment, the Water District has

failed to demonstrate that the amount of the fee “‘does not exceed the

reasonable cost of providing the service or regulatory activity for which

the fee is charged...” within the meaning of Government Code

section 50076. (See Beaumont Investors v. Beaumont-Cherry Valley

Water Dist. (1985) 165 Cal.App.3d 227.) Accordingly, it suggests that

the capacity fee, lacking a two-thirds voter approval, is an invalid

“special tax” under article XIII A, section4 of the California

B-22

We do not reach this conclusion lightly. We recognize

that it places us in conflict with the holdings of at least two

other division of the Court of Appeal. Despite our respect

for the principle of state decisis, however, we believe those

courts’ failure to consider the arguments and precedent we

have discussed here mandates our taking a fresh look at the

question. Our contrary conclusion is a function of those

different arguments and additional precedent. !4

DISPOSITION

Judgment affirmed.

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

/8/ WIENER, J.

I CONCUR:

/s/ BUTLER, J.

Constitution. (/bid.)

The School District’s contention is raised for the first time on this

appeal. The Water District had no opportunity to make a record on this

issue in the trial court. Our holding here that the capacity fee is not an

invalid special assessment should not be read to preclude a subsequent

challenge to the fee based on section 50076. As a footnote, however, we

observe that special assessments do not constitute “special taxes” within

the meaning of article XIII A, section 4. (See J. W. Jones Companies v.

City of San Diego (1984) 157 Cal.App.3d 745, 753-754.)

'4 In view of our conclusion that its capacity fee does not constitute a

special assessment, we need not reach the Water District’s additional

contentions that the Legislature has specifically authorized its collection

from public agencies so as to negate any implied exemption. (See ante,

pp. 5-6.)

B-23

I respectfully dissent.

The issue presented in this case is whether the San

Marcos Water District (Water District) may impose on the

San Marcos Unified School District (School District) a

“sewer capacity right fee” which is used by the Water

District to fund capital improvements.

The majority refuses to follow the clear reasoning and

the general rule found in the California Supreme Court

decision of Inglewood v. County of Los Angeles, 207 Cal.

697, 703-704.! The majority would in effect overrule three

precisely-in-point appellate decisions, Regents of Univers-

ity of California v. City of Los Angeles, 100 Cal.App.3d

547 (hg. den.) (Regents I); Regents of University of

California v. City of Los Angeles (Regents II), 148

cal.App.3d 451 (hg. den.); and County of Riverside v.

Idyllwild County Water Dist. 84 Cal.App.3d 655, that rely

on Inglewood, supra, as the foundational authority. The

majority ignores, refuses to follow two well-reasoned

opinions of the Attorney General, 19 Ops. Cal.Atty.Gen.

195, and 67 Ops. Cal.Atty.Gen 13. The reasoning

underlying this abandonment of controlling long-standing

precedent as well as a fundamental constitutional aversion

to allow one taxing body to assess another taxing body

(without express legislative authority) for capital improve-

ment is difficult to grasp and evaluate. Learned discourse

on economic philosophy or out-of-state cases resting on

different statutory-constitutional judicial concepts, while of

academic interest, have little to no persuasive value. Our

' “While publicly owned and used property is not exempt from special

assessments under the constitution or statutory law of this state, there is

an implied exemption of such property from burdens of that nature.”

(Inglewood v. County of Los Angeles, supra, at p. 703, italics added.)

B-24

own Constitution, as interpreted by the California Supreme

Court, binds us, controls our decisions.

The parties’ stipulated statement of facts shows Water

District and School District serve roughly the same

community. School District is larger but all of its school

sites are located within Water District’s boundaries. Water

District has been handling sewage for the property involved

here since 1971.

Water District charges School District and its other

customers three types of fees: (1) a connection fee when the

customer’s property is initially connected to the district’s

sewer system; (2) a monthly sewer service charge computed

based on an estimated amount of sewage discharged

monthly; and (3) a one-time capacity fee computed based on

anticipated sewage discharge. The capacity fee is “a

primary source of funds for the development of additional

capacity and [is set] at a level which will defray the costs of

providing additional sewage treatment and/or reclamation

facilities, major trunk and transmission pipelines and

facilities for pumping when such facilities are needed.” (San

Marcos Water District Ordinance, No. 47-6, art. X, § 4.)

The School District disputes only the applicability of the

capacity fee.

Under the California Constitution, public schools are

exempt from property taxation. (Cal. Const., art. XIII, § 3.)

The California Supreme Court has held there exists also an

implied exemption for public property from _ special

assessments. (Inglewood v. County of Los Angeles, supra,

207 Cal. 697, 703.) Unless the Legislature has expressly

authorized a special assessment, publc property is exempt.

B-25

(County of Riverside v. Idyllwild County Water Dist.

supra, 84 Cal.App.3d 655, 659-660.)

A special assessment is a charge imposed on property

owners in a limited area to help pay for a local improvement

designed to enhance property value in that area. (Regents

of University of California v. City of Los Angeles, supra,

100 Cal.App. 3d 547, 549.) Whether a charge is a special

assessment depends on the purpose of the disputed charge,

not on whether the charge is calculated based on actual use

rather than property value. (Regents of University of

California v. City of Los Angeles, supra, 148 Cal.App. 3d

451, 455.) Similarly, it is irrelevant that the public entity

benefits from the capital improvements; it is exempted from

property taxations and special assessments and is not

required to contribute to its capital costs. (Regents II,

supra, 148 Cal.App.3d 451, 456.) A sewage fee, used to

provide capital for sewer construction, is a_ special

assessment which may not be imposed on state or local

government property absent express legislative authori-

zation. (Regents II, supra, 148 Cal.App.3d 451; Regents I,

supra, 100 Cal.App.3d 547; County of Riverside v.

Idyllwild County Water Dist, supra, 84 Cal.App.3d 650,

655.)

II

Water District contends the capacity fee is authorized by

the Education Code?

The Education Code requires a school district to consider

“waste disposal facilities” when evaluating potential school

2 All statutory references are to the Education Code unless otherwise

specified.

B-26

sites (§ 39002) and to provide “water closets” for its

students (§ 39612). The code also permits a school district

to enter into an agreement with a water district for the

installation charges for sewer service (§ 39011), to dedicate

land or grant an easement for sewers (§ 39540), to construct

sewers on or in close proximity to school property (§ 39606)

and, without regard to proximity, to construct adequate

systems “‘to treat and/or dispose of sewage and drainage”

or “acquire adequate disposal rights in systems constructed

or to be constructed by others for these purposes.”

(§ 39613.)

Water District asserts section 39613’s language permit-

ting a school district to “acquire disposal rights in systems

constructed or to be constructed by others” (emphasis

added) is the express legislative authorization for its

capacity fee.

The Legislature enacted section 39613’s predecessor

(§ 15811) as an urgency measure in 1950 in response to the

rapid growth of schools and attendant sewage disposal

problems. Prior to its enactment, school districts lacked

explicit authority to use their funds, including building

funds,’ to construct sewage treatment and disposal facilities

and were limited to constructing sewers on or adjacent to

their property. (See § 39606 (former Ed. Code (1959)

§ 15804, Ed. Code (1943) § 18003); Los Angeles City School

Dist v. Payne, 219 Cal. 106.) Section 39613 was designed to

alleviate these problems, i.e., to allow sclhivol districts to use

their funds to construct sysiems either exclusively for their

3 In the original section, school districts were required to use only

building funds for sewage treatrnent and disposal systems. In 1959, the

Legislature amended this section to make the use permissive rather than

mandatory.

B-27

own use or in conjunction with orders without regard to

proximity.

Contrary to Water District’s assertion, the authorization

to “acquire disposal rights in systems constructed or to be

constructed by others” does not equate with an authori-

zation to impose a capacity fee. Rather, the Legislature

intended by this language to permit a school district the

option of using its buildings funds to acquire an ownership

interest in a system with others, an alternative that might

provide for sewage disposal in a more economical manner

than either constructing its own system (§ 36913) or

contracting with a water district (§ 39011). This sentiment

is echoed in Water Code section 31049 which permits a

water district and public entity to enter a contract “for the

joint construction, acquisition, disposition or operation of

any property or works of a kind which might be

constructed, acquired, disposed of or operated by the

district.”

Moreover, the Legislature in Education Code section

39609 (former Ed. Code (1959) § 15806, Ed. Code (1943)

§ 18005), expressly authorized school districts to

“appropriate money to pay assessments, for the improve-

ment of streets.” (Italics added.) Had the Legislature

intended school districts to be subject to assessments for

sewage treatment facilities, it could have easily have said so,

as it did for street improvements in section 39609. The fact

it did not authorize such an assessment in section 39011 or

39613 while it did so in section 39609 supports the

conclusion the omission was intentional. (Inglewood v.

County of Los Angeles, supra, 207 Cal. 697, 707-708.)

B-28

III

Alternatively, Water district argues its capacity fee is

authorized by the Water Code.

Water District points to Water Code sections authorizing

it to contract with any public agency for sewer outfall

facilities (§ 31100), to “prescribe, revise and collect rates or

other charges for [its] services and facilities” (§ 31101, italics

added), to enter into an agreement with a public agency for

the “‘joint construction, acquisition, disposition or operation

of any property or works” which a water district might

construct or operate (§ 31049), and to “supply sewage and

waste services to property not subject to district taxes at

special rates, terms, and conditions as are determined by the

board for the services (§ 31101.5). ‘

While these sections may authorize a water district to

enter into contracts with public agencies for sewage

treatment or for joint ownership and generally allow the

assessment of fees for improvements, none of the sections

expressly authorize a water district to impose such fees

against public property. The California Supreme Court

made it clear that a general grant of authority to assess real

property for improvement of sewer facilities will not be read

to authorize such an assessment of public property.

(Inglewood v. County of Los Angeles, supra, 207 Cal. 697,

707-708.)

IV

Water District contends School District signed a contract

to pay the capacity fees and is bound by it. This argument

was disposed of in County of Riverside vy. Idyllwild County

Water Dist., supra, 84 Cal.App.3d 655, 659, where the court

B-29

reasoned “whether the [tax-exempt entity] can agree to pay

the charge depends upon whether the district has the power

to impose it.” If the District does not have the authority to

impose the charge, then the tax-exempt entity’s agreement

“to pay [the] invalid charge would amount to a gift of public

funds in contravention of article XVI, section 6, of the

California Constitution.” (Id., at p. 660). The court

concluded: **The charges are in effect a special assessment

under a different name and constitute an attempt by the

district to do indirectly that which it could not do directly.”

(I[bid.)

Nor does the doctrine of equitable estoppel apply since

there is a strong public policy against one public entity

taxing or assessing another public entity (see Eisley v.

Mohan, 31 Cal.2d 637, 642; Inglewood v. County of Los

Angeles, supra, 207 Cal. 697, 703-704; Regents II, supra,

148 Cal.App. 3d 451, 454, fn. 2) and estoppel will not be

applied against the government if it would annul a strong

rule of public policy (City of Long Beach v. Mansell, 3

Cal.3d 462, 493).

I would reverse the judgment.

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION.

/s/ STANIFORTH, ACTING PJ.

APPENDIX C

FILED

Robert D. Zumwalt, Clerk

JAN 31, 1984

BY

SMITH & PELTZER, A.P.C.

Attorneys at Law

751 E. Rancheros Drive, Suite 2

Vista, California 92083

(619) 744-7125

Attorneys for Plaintiff

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA

COUNTY OF SAN DIEGO

NORTH COUNTY JUDICIAL DISTRICT

In the Matter of the No. N24145

Agreed Case Between

SAN MARCOS COUNTY JUDGMENT ON

WATER DISTRICT, AGREED CASE

Plaintiff,

and

SAN MARCOS UNIFIED

SCHOOL DISTRICT,

Defendant.

The above-named parties have submitted a controversy

on Agreed Case, duly verified by a declaration as required

by Section 1138 of the Code of Civil Procedure. On

C-2

January 13, 1984, in Department A of the above-entitled

court the Honorable F.V. LOPARDO, Judge of the

Superior Court after examining the Agreed Case, after

hearing oral argument from VERNON A. PELTZER,

Attorney for Plaintiff and LINDA M. WOOLCOTT,

Attorney for Defendant, and after due deliberation, finds on

the facts submitted that:

1. Pursuant to the Education Code, particulary Section

39613, Defendant SAN MARCOS UNIFIED SCHOOL

DISTRICT has a duty to provide sewerage service to

schools and has entered into a contract with the SAN

MARCOS COUNTY WATER DISTRICT for the

disposal of sewage including the payment of sewage

capacity fees.

Education Code § 39613 provides:

Sewers and Drains

“In addition to the other powers granted the

governing board of each school district may

provide sewers and drains adequate to treat

and/or dispose of sewage and drainage on or

away from each school property. For this purpose

it may construct adequate systems or aquire

adequate disposal rights in systems constructed or

to be constructed by others for these purposes

without regard to their, proximity. The cost

thereof may be paid from the building fund,

including any bond moneys therein. (Stats.1976,

c. 1010§ 2, operative April 30, 1977.)

C-3

2. Although the Court’s ruling is based upon the

authority provided in the Education Code, the Court also

finds that Water Code § 31101.5 is not applicable until

January 1, 1983 and this section now gives the SAN

MARCOS COUNTY WATER DISTRICT the right to

impose the fees it has imposed.

IT IS HEREBY ADJUDGED AND ORDERED that

Plaintiff SAN MARCOS COUNTY WATER DISTRICT

have judgment against Defendant SAN MARCOS UNI-

FIED SCHOOL DISTRICT for all amounts owing as

capacity fees billed but unpaid together with interest at 7%

per annum up to the time of Judgment and 10% per annum

on said amount thereafter until paid.

Dated: JAN 31 1984

F.V. LOPARDO

Judge of the Superior Court

Approved as to form and content:

Dated : , 1984

HIGGS, FLECTHER & MACK by

LINDA M. WOOLCOTT, Attorneys for

SAN MARCOS COUNTY UNIFIED

SCHOOL DISTRICT

APPENDIX D

IN THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SAN MARCOS COUNTY L.A. No. 32134

WATER DISTRICT,

Plaintiff and Respondent,

Vv.

SAN MARCOS UNIFIED

SCHOOL DISTRICT,

Defendant and Appellant.

PETITION FOR REHEARING

SMITH & PELTZER, A.P.C.

VERNON A. PELTZER, Esq.

JEFFREY G. SCOTT, Esq.

Attorneys at Law

751 East Rancheros Drive, Suite 2

San Marcos, California 92069

(619) 744-7125

Attorneys for Plaintiff / Respondent

SAN MARCOS COUNTY

WATER DISTRICT

D-2

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Pe TIT witicvanevnmsassrchansininthiunibabsiniibhasadbissintuinansiansnnice 7

POINT ONE

THE DECISION MANDATES A VIO-

LATION OF THE FIFTH AMENDMENT

OF THE UNITED STATES CONSTITU-

TION AND ARTICLE I, SECTION 19 OF

THE CONSTITUTION OF THE STATE

CF ee ETE dlsusecechasnistsneonuianntnnenssttneeniancsnensse 8

A

THE DECISION MANDATES A

TAKING OF PRIVATE PROPERTY IN

VIOLATION OF THE FIFTH AMEND-

MENT OF THE FEDERAL CONSTITU-

Te EUs shamtenicseventasnnianddianinalihidadhabbanpnadkineduiisaletiectanniain 8

B

THE DECISION MANDATES A VIO-

LATION OF THE CALIFORNIA CON-

STITUTION AS IMPLEMENTED BY

Fe PERE, III: palasaicinerehsnintakapscsabsarscnnsiiconseve 9

POINT TWO

THE DECISION MANDATES A VIO-

LATION OF THE EQUAL PROTEC-

TION CLAUSE OF THE UNITED

STATES CONSTITUTION AND ARTI-

CLE I, SECTION 7 OF THE STATE

EE UE TURNED iiarasisinstine dngndcnnsactadbeteainipaklilatiacioiniveas 10

Page

A

REQUIREMENT OF EQUAL PROTEC-

TEs scicdbnokanctnnkinnsasasetsinsapbasceniidensaniasnsscasrensicinesenesenes 10

B

THE CLASSIFICATION .........cccccccssesccccceeeeeeeeseees 12

&

THE CLASSIFICATION FAILS THE

EQUAL PROTECTION TEST. .....cccccccessessesseeeeees 12

POINT THREE

THE BURDEN IS ON THE SCHOOL

DISTRICT TO DEMONSTRATE THAT

PUBLIC ENTITIES ARE EXEMPT

FROM PAYMENT OF USER FEES. ...........:00 16

CONCLUSION crccccsssscscssescsssssccsscscssccscsscsssscsssorosesssonsvevceseess 17

D-4

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Beaumont Investors v. Beaumont Cherry

Valley Water District

CRM BUS GI LE rece cintxscasecsencivacicncseseve 15

Cedars of Lebanon Hosp. v. County of Los Angeles

CR tO ibateasttccretscchdecesssescavkiassccsaines 16

City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Center

Ce can) is is, RP es SIO viskisanscccacesscanieons 10

City of Inglewood v. County of Los Angeles

CF Pe SAR ME sicccdvtaisntciacccssddsencs . fs 36,07

Eisley v. Mohan

CRIP Pe NE WS iciei ca ddcentcaccecstvimncivesacecssaruns 14

“F.S.” Royster Guano Co. v. Virginia

I anc uecteciestcenssvrecorstncessseneinante 11

Hoffman v. United States

767 Pea. 2a 143i (Sth Cie. 1985) ...................... 13

Pacific Gas & Electric Co. v.

Superior Court of Trinity County;

Hayfork Valley Public Utility District

CRUD Fae SB FI raisins vccscicsvcccsssesccseses 10

School Finance Cases (Placentia Unified

School District, et al) v. Riles

(May 15, 1986) 86 Daily journal D.A.R.

I Seiler ab ih aeeercch dia bin Alonanisccuhigvevebuednwsbatietbcpsecdesss 17

Serrano v. Priest (1976)

Oe SO HIN is chin istesssliidoeenspnctcdvaseneiniclacs Laceaincesie 3, 47

ER SPOT hn

=

D-5

Page

Tyler v. Doe

(1982) 451 U.S. 202 wneccerccrcrceeseseeecerseesseeeeneenesnens 11

United State of America v. 129.4 Aces of Land

572 Fed.2d 1385 (9th Cir. 1978) .......cceccseseesereeees 8

United States of America v. 129.4 Acres of Land

and Yuma Mesa Irrigation and Drainage

District

789 Fed.2d 715 (9th Cir. 1986) 0.0... cesses 8, 9

Young v. Haines

(June 5, 1986) 86 Daily Journal D.A.R.

I a Let oe eas Samana baseaknbdabniptmpecauaes 11

STATUTES

California State Constitution

Article I, Section 7(a) ..........scccssssereceesssscoees 10, 11

Article I, Section 19 ..............cccccccccssssssrersees 8, 9, 17

Article 13, Section 3 ...........sccccccccseserecssercesssscssees 16

I i cisunadacanscvecsinseanastossutnasesbancetionhs 15

I I ar. ccacknndvinsdescucsudntvessdesasesteceneckeenseats 15

Code of Civil Procedure

ED iso coscisnnavscocatensoansscsehsgunescsasetaneases 10

I I . . ,ccscasaescnuauenecnentaevaneuctatenheetens 10

BD pacavvnncsnderssesctarsccsssivessceesseccunacsonsness 10

I o, cdiscsanssunienstucensacessacknansndsderebebpies 10

Section 1240.510, et Seq. ...........ccccccrcscesserreeeeesess 10

Section 1240.610, et Seq. .......ccccserreeesssserreesesees 10

Section 1255.010, et Seq. ....cccccscssrreeessererreesseeees 10

Section 1263.010, et Seq. ......ccccssssrreerseseeeeeserers 10

eR Be PRAT UU. scicésusindnnacianocsnnteneerenissustussepersianies 14

D-6

Page

Education Code

Ss AIRE ee ee mT Lae Te Gre LS 14

Government Code

I URINE skis tsascvansisnasiadsnccestenatsdeamipnasiactuls sanieaien 16

SE eae ae mee eo 15

NS I eco te eed 15

OTHER

California Law Revision Com. com.

to Code of civil Procedure § 1235.170 wo... 10

State of California Annual Report

1984-85 Fiscal Year, pp. A-8 and A-9 2.00.0... 15

State Water Control Board Letter

IT te a as 16

Clean Water Grant Bulletin

I Ue I ooo oes ciscininsroiciccrace cc 16

i ll

D-7

To the Honorable ROSE BIRD, Chief Justice, and to the

Honorable Associate Justices of the Supreme Court of the

State of California, the SAN MARCOS COUNTY

WATER DISTRICT (“WATER DISTRICT’) requests a

rehearing and reargument and offers the following points

and authorities on eminent domain, equal protection and

burden of proof to assist the Court in reevaluating the legal

issues previously presented.

THE DECISION

The issue on appeal before the Supreme Court is whether

the SAN MARCOS UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT

(“SCHOOL DISTRICT”) is obligated to pay sewer

capacity fees charged by the WATER DISTRICT. The

capacity fees are used by the WATER DISTRICT to fund

capital improvements. In the decision the Court concluded

that the SCHOOL DISTRICT is not required to pay

because the capacity fee is an assessment which has not

authorized by the Legislature, and that the SCHOOL

DISTRICT is not bound to pay the fee by either contract or

promissory estoppel. The Court held that private customers

must pay the school’s (public entity) share, viz:

“Our conclusion does not mean that the water

district cannot collect money for capital improve-

ments from its customers; it simply means that the

private customers will pay the entire cost of

capital improvements. Public entities, such as the

school district, will not be required to allocate

their limited tax revenues to pay for capital

improvements built by the sewer district.”

Decision, p. 2.

D-8

POINT ONE

THE DECISION MANDATES A VIOLATION

OF THE FIFTH AMENDMENT OF THF

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION AND

ARTICLE I, SECTION 19 OF THE CONSTI-

TUTION OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA.

A

THE DECISION MANDATES A TAKING OF

PRIVATE PROPERTY IN VIOLATION OF

THE FIFTH AMENDMENT OF THE FEDER-

AL CONSTITUTION.

The Fifth Amendment provides in part:

“(Nor shall private property be taken for public

use, without just compensation.”

In United States of America y. 129.4 Acres of Land and

Yuma Mesa Irrigation and Drainage District 789 Fed. 2d

715 (9th Cir. 1986), the Court held that when the United

States takes benefited property by eminent domain and

makes use of the facilities benefiting the property, the

United States must pay the related assessments imposed for

operation, maintenance, and capital costs. The failure to pay

would decrease the assessment base and shift the added cost

to other users in violation of the Fifth Amendment. Ibid. In

‘United States of America v. 129.4 Acres of Land 572

Fed.2d 1385 (9th Cir. 1978), the Court held that a special

district must be compensated for the decrease in the

assessment base caused by the condemnation.

Assuming arguendo that the fee in this case is an

assessment, to allow the SCHOOL DISTRICT to take

(confiscate) capacity rights, paid for by private users

without payment of the assessment, would be contrary to

the Constitution as expounded in the United States v. 129.4

Acres of Land cases supra. and is in violation of the Fifth

Amendment.

The incompatibility and lack of viability of City of

Inglewood v. County of Los Angeles (1929) 207 Cal. 697

(which did not address this constitutional issue) with the

Ninth Circuit Fifth Amendment decisions was raised in the

supplemental authorities and the response to SCHOOL

DISTRICT’s late submission at the hearing and also stated

in oral argument in response to a question from Justice

Mosk.

B

THE DECISION MANDATES A VIOLATION

OF THE CALIFORNIA CONSTITUTION AS

IMPLEMENTED BY THE LEGISLATURE.

The California State Constitution, Article I, Section 19

provides in part:

“private property may be taken or damaged for

public use only when just compensation, .. . has

first been paid to, . . . the owner.”

This section and the Fifth Amendment to the United

States Constitution guarantee the right not to have property

taken without just compensation. The SCHOOL DIS-

TRICT, by utilizing capacity and capital improvements of

the WATER DISTRICT’S sewer system and not paying, is

taking property paid for by private users (the contract right

to discharge sewage into the WATER DISTRICT'’s system)

without just compensation. For eminent domain purposes,

‘‘property” includes any type of right, title, or interest in

real or personal property that may be acquired for public

use. Cal. Law Revision Com. com. to Code of Civil

Procedure § 1235.170; CCP § 1235.170 and § 1240.1 10.

Under California law, a taking by one public entity of the

property of another public agency is a condemnation

regulated by statute. CCP §§ 1240.6 10, et seg. The Statute

provides for taking for either a compatible or a more

necessary use. CCP §§ 1240.5 10, et seg. and §§ 1240.6 10, et

seq. Payment is required. CCP §§ 1255.010, et seq;

§§ 1263.010, et seq. A failure to follow proper procedures

(more necessary public use) is fatal to the eminent domain

action. Pacific Gas & Electric Co. v. Superior Court of

Trinity County; Hayfork Valley Public Utility District

(1986) 180 Cal.App.3d 770. A school is a “public entity”’.

CCP §§ 1235.150 and 1235.190

POINT TWO

THE DECISION MANDATES A VIOLATION

OF THE EQUAL PROTECTION CLAUSE OF

THE UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

AND ARTICLE I, SECTION 7 OF THE

STATE CONSTITUTION.

A

THE REQUIREMENT OF EQUAL PROTEC-

TION.

The equal protection clause of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment of the United States Constitution commands that no

State shall deny any person the equal protection of the laws.

City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Center __ U.S. — 105

S.Ct. 3249, 3254 (1985). This requires that “all persons

similarly circumstanced shall be treated alike.” Tyler v. Doe

451 U.S. 202, 216 (1982); “F.S.” Royster Guano Co. v.

Virginia 253 U.S. 412, 415 (1920). Article I, Section 7 (a) of

the California Constitution provides for due process and

equal protection of the law.

As recently stated by this Court in Young v. Haines

(June 5, 1986), 86 Daily Journal D.A.R. 2033, 2034:

“As the United States Supreme Court recently

phrased the federal constitwtional standard:

‘The Equal Protection Clause ... den(ies) to

States the power to legislate that different

treatment be accorded to persons placed by a

statute into different classes on the basis of

criteria wholly unrelated to the objective of that

statute. A classification “must be reasonable, not

arbitrary, and must rest upon some ground of

difference having a fair and substantial relation to

the object of the legislation, so that all persons

similarly circumstanced shall be treated alike.” °

(Quoting Reed v. Reed (1971) 404 US. 71, 75-76,

and other citations.) Thus, when a statute provides

that one class shall receive different treatment

from another, our constitutional provisions de-

mand more ‘than nondiscriminatory application

within the class . . . establish (ed) . . . . (They) also

(impose) a requirement of some rationality in the

nature of the class singled out.’ (Citations)”

(Brown v. Merlo, supra, 8 Cal.3d at pp. 861-862.

emphasis omitted.) The equal protection clause of

the California Constitution (Cal.Const., art. I, sec.

7) also requires some rational relationship

between the legislative goal and the class singled

out for unfavorable treatment. (Brown, supra at

pp. 861, 882.)

A statutory classification “must involve some-

thing more than mere characteristics which will

serve to divide or identify the class. There must be

inherent differences in situations related to the

subject-matter of the legislation. .. .” (Heckler vy.

Conter (Ind. 1933) 187 N.E. 878, 879.)

B

THE CLASSIFICAT'ON

The Court’s decision mandates that “private customers”

ofthe area served by the WATER DISTRICT are subject

to discrimination — they must pay taxes to support the

schools; pay capacity fees for their own use and an override

for the entire cost of capital improvements provided by the

WATER DISTRICT to the SCHOOL DISTRICT.

Persons residing outside the water district who use the

school (public hospital, prison, etc.) do not pay the override.

There is no rational basis for the difference. It rests on

chance, the place of residence, and the situs of the public

entity. This is contrary to the constitutional doctrine of

equal protection of the laws.

Cc

THE CLASSIFICATION FAILS THE EQUAL

PROTECTION TEST,

The requirement to pay the override is not based on

ability to pay. It is not levied statewide on a uniform basis. It

imposes costs on the local community which, as mandated

by this Court in Serrano v. Priest (1976) 18 Cal.3d 728, is

the responsibility of the State to obviate local financing as a

violation of equal protection in education. The cost of

building and operating schools is a State, not local,

responsibility. As subsequently noted, the State has the

funds and system to meet this duty.

To justify the difference in classification between those

who must pay the override and those not paying the

surcharge, there must be a rational basis for the difference.

This requires (1) a legitimate purpose and (2) a

classification which promotes the purpose. Hoffman v.

United States 767 Fed.2d 1431, 1436-1437 (9th cir. 1985).

At bench the lynchpin for the decision is application of

the Inglewood, supra. case decided in 1929. The Court did

not reevaluate that decision. That case has been drained of

all vitality by subsequent events, including the Ninth Circuit

decisions discussed in POINT ONE and the absence of any

discussion of Federal and State Eminent Domain Law. The

comprehensive State Eminent Domain Law was operative

on July 1, 1976, after the Inglewood decision.

The purpose of the Court created (not a legislative

creation) Inglewood assessment implied exemption is to

avoid impairment of the exercise of government powers.

The historical basis for a tax or assessment exemption is

the prohibition against enforcing a lien on public property

(selling the property to enforce the lien). Amicus Chico

Brief, pp. 11-14. That rational has no application to a sewer

capacity fee. Ibid, pp.13-14. A user fee is not a basis for a

lien.

A public agency is not subject to a mechanic’s lien, Ibid.,

pp. 12-13, but a public agency does not get capital

improvement benefits for free; a ‘‘stop notice’’ is used to

D-14

extract payment, not a lien. CCP §§-3179-3214. The stop

notice does not become a lien merely by serving the same

purpose — to enforce payment. The fallacious “purpose”

test is not accepted by drafters of comprehensive legislation

or the Legislature.

The other reason for an exemption from ad valorem

taxation is that the object of taxation is revenue and none

results from State taxation of its own property. Eisley vy.

Mohan (1948) 31 Cal.2d 637, 642. That is not the issue here.

At the bench the question is which residents are the source

of funds to pay the capacity fee for the SCHOOL

DISTRICT. i

Factually there is no impairment of the school function |

in this case. There is no attempt to regulate or impose liens

or levy an ad valorem tax on the school. There is aid, not

impairment, for education by providing sewer facilities at

far less cost than the school could provide the facilities, the

alternative required by the Education Code § 39613. The

SCHOOL DISTRICT paid fees from 1971 to 1979 without

impairing education and then stopped payment on a legal,

not factual impairment, basis. The Appellate Court decision

demonstrates conclusively that sister States pay user-impact

fees and the functioning of their government is not

impaired.

There are no facts in this record showing that education

(or other government functions) will be impaired by paying

user (capacity) fees. The belated $66.24 Million self- serving

cost statement, by the Los Angeles Unified School District,

is unaudited and based on speculation and conjecture. It is

not based on the Los Angeles capacity fee nor related to

incremental payments over a period of time. It is not in the

Agreed Case or subject to judicial notice and is not properly

before this Court as a basis for decision any more than the |

es

D-15

comparable cost-fee relationship excluded by the Court.

Decision, p. 2 1-22.

There being no valid purpose served by the classification

into payers of the override and nonpayers of the surcharge,

there is a denial of equal protection of the laws as defined

by the Ninth Circuit (and the United States and California

Supreme Courts).

An attempt to surcharge private users to pay the

SCHOOL DISTRICT’s fee would be a forbidden special

tax. Government Code §§ 50076 and 54992 (charges

exceeding the reasonable cost of providing the service is a

“special tax” requiring a two-thirds voter approval).

Becumont Investors v. Beaumont Cherry Valley Water

District (1985) 165 Cal.App.3d 287; California Constitu-

tion, Articles 13A and 13B.

This is not a case of exchanging tax dollars between

public agencies, but a case of which citizens — consistent

with the Federal and State Constitution and State statutes

— must pay the bill.

There is no need for (or purpose served by) this

classification. The State has funding sources of a magnitude

not applicable to the WATER DISTRICT or residents of

the WATER DISTRICT. Illustratively, the State has an

excellent bond rating and the ability to spread costs over a

wide population base. The State is responsible for funding

education. In addition to the Lottery, the State has a fund

balance, as of June 30, 1985 of $1,400,210,818.00, State of

California Annual Report, 1984-85 Fiscal Year, pp. A-8 and

A-9 (Exhibits A-1 and A-2), an_ increase from

$490,62 1,849.00 at the begining of period, June 30, 1984.

(This impartial source is not a party to this litigation, as is

the self-serving speculation of Amicus Los Angeles Unified

School District cited by the Court in Footnote 2, p.4).

POINT THREE

THE BURDEN IS ON THE SCHOOL DISs-

TRICT TO DEMONSTRATE THAT PUBLIC

ENTITIES ARE EXEMPT FROM PAYMENT

OF USER FEES.

California Constitution Article 13, Section 3 exempts

public entities from ad valorem property taxes only. The

Legislature did not create an exemption from assessments.

This is a Court created implied exemption . Inglewood,

supra. The burden is not on the WATER DISTRICT to

demonstrate specific legislative authorization for payment

of the user fee, the burden is on the SCHOOL DISTRICT

to demonstrate an exemption. Exemptions are strictly

construed, and the public entity claiming the exemption has

the burden of showing clear entitlement. Cedars of

Lebanon Hosp. v. County of Los Angeles (1950) 35 Cal.2d

729 at 734-735.

At bench the Court has expanded the defunct Inglewood

decision to include user fees, despite the fact that Federal

and State eminent domain and equal protection laws

precludes that course of action. POINTS ONE and TWO.

The WATER DISTRICT is required to employ user fees by

State law. Government Code § 16270. The WATER

DISTRICT, as a member of Encina, is required to employ

user fees, and users include “institutional users” [schools].

State Water Control Board Letter dated September 5, 1985

and Clean Water Grant Bulletin, April 20, 1980, Exhibits

B1, B-2, and B-3, attached.

The opinion does not hold that a “user fee” is an

“assessment”. The opinion could not reach that conclusion

considering the different characteristics, including but not

limited to, voluntary-involuntary, impact-value benefit.

Instead, the Court, contrary to the rule against expanding

exemptions, includes user fees in the exemption as a matter

of expedience (to avoid easy manipulation, Decision, p. 15).

The “policy” of the Inglewood exemption (whatever that

may be) is not legislative, it is not served, it is contrary to the

Federal and State Constitutions, POJ NTS ONE and TWO,

and this Court’s Serrano decisions, and is unnecessary since

the State has the funds to pay the cost, POINT TWO, and

the State has the mechanism for removing /ocal wealth-

related disparities for School financing, School Finance

Cases (Placentia Unified School District, et al) v. Riles

(May 15, 986) 86 Daily Journal D.A.R. 1702.

CONCLUSION

It is respectfully requested that the Court grant a

rehearing and reargument in this case. There are issues

which deserve more consideration and explanation by the

Court for the guidance of public entities involved in

municipal finance.

The Court did not address the issue of whether the use of

the WATER DISTRICT’S sewer capacity by the SCHOOL

DISTRICT violates the Fifth Amendment of the Federal

Constitution and Article I, Section 19 of the State

Constitution which prohibit taking of property without

compensation. The Court did not address the issue of the

denial of Equal Protection of the private customers who

will have to pay both their own costs and the entire costs of

capital improvements which are used by the SCHOOL

DISTRICT. The decision also did not address the issue that

the SCHOOL DISTRICT had the burden of demonstrating

an exemption from user fees or the total absence of any

need for the exemption which forces a local community to

discharge an obligation of the State.

With the exception of the annual report (not previously

available) and the State Water Resources Control Board

materials (both subject to judicial notice) no new facts are

added to support the issues previously raised but left

unresolved.

Neither the trial court nor the Appellate Court, having

based their decisions on contract and user fees, respectively,

were required to resolve the constitutional issues which

must be resolved in the decision of this Court.

Respectfully Submitted,

SMITH & PELTZER, A.P.C.

By: /s/ VERNON A. PELTZER

Attorneys for Plaintiff /Respondent

SAN MARCOS COUNTY

WATER DISTRICT

I a Se

D-19

818017 ‘00r'I$

BISTOO LETT

Or7‘611*E9$

LLy‘ev6987'1$

BOPEVOT

¥78°68

7S8'rS0°OE

10S‘1Z9‘Lb

7ZS‘8h8°961

£6S‘9PEEbb

LSI'8bS‘ZSS$

S861 “OE euns

‘gouryeg pun. [eI0L

sonureyaousr SNUOUODF

JO} VAIasay ADuasuNUOD

suoneudoiddy

SuinuNnuoD jo ssoueyeg

polaquinouous) J0j poyeudisaq

SONV Tv d GNNA

Soniiqery [BIOL

santyiqery JoMIO

sysodoq

SUOTDOIJOD BuRAPY

a[qeAeg ISaJaU] pond0y

SJUIWIUIZAODH Joyo 03 9NG

(9 210N 99S) Spun, JayIO 0} ONG

(QI 210N 92S) e1qedeg UNODDY

SSLLITIAVIT

S67 PS *L89‘7$

BBOCET

€1s‘ec9'6zI

SLS*S97‘ZOI

9rS‘109°71

98E‘7SS‘E80'I

8E1°780‘°78

6PO'OZTL‘OLT I$

S861 ‘OE Guns

.(siseg Armjospng jesa])

NOLLIGNOD TVIONVNIS JO LNAWSLVLS

GONNA ‘TVYANAD

I-¥ wqIyxXg

Sassy [BIOL

Sassy J2NO

Spun,j JOC 0} SooURAPY

sosuedxq predaig

SJUSWUIBAOD JoyIO Woy ang

(¢ puke p SON 929)

spun,y JOMIO Wo 3nGg

(¢ RON 20S)

S2TQeATI90Y

sjunodoy Asussy

pue Amsealy 2813S Ul yseD

SLASSV

re POET SO Peo He gm Spar Kooy A oH BO TES (he eer I ere ENn en, ee aOR ese | aaeatdectio eae oe pate

D-20

I-V wqryxg

suone[ndas pue sme] a7e)s YIM soueldwoo uy ,

TZ CTO OST CF SUONESIIGO WAL -8uc7 19N

COC TST S729 X 9ININ{ UI B1qQeAeg ISaIDIUT

| 000°0L0‘8rE‘¢ 19°C Pepuog [esauan ray

WOT UTE spuog dunepinbr7-y15 ‘SS¥]

000°L60‘08S‘z$ Spuog suonesi1qO Jes0uanH

TLOCIO OST OS suOnesI1qQ W391 -Su07y

JO WIWaMIyY JOY NoINsIG

(PI 210N 999) SSsSy poxiy [OOYDS pue snusady asnjn.j

UF JUSUNSSAU] puny [eJoUaDH WOJJ PEPIAOIg 9q 0} JUNOUTY

SLASSV GAXIy ANN “‘IVYANAD SNOILVOITSO WUFL-ONOT

D-21

801 “EbS 979 '97$

IZ1‘06r*ES

L99‘00%‘ZSS‘97$

9T8°ESL‘OESS

OCPTIOSE

Les‘071 ‘7

6h8°179‘O6r$

c-V Uqryxy

Se RRS SAAR AAA EA SSO RES RO ee 6g eB ae ache ee oe

Ce ne MSR RR REPRE REO RE ORS SEES Ae Oe ee we ek ee ieee ds oe eee

SUONIPPY J3I9O

Spun JOO Wo sJZysueLy

~ —S90INOg Buldueuty INO

Ce ee te RS SS SESE SR, OG eS ON ON wR Wei Bl ie er We a eg tee

SRO SD OED ES 68O'6 OS: 00.1 SOO Se SO 6 & OE Se

ie i te ee ee ke ee ee as ee

S\UdWI}E)SOY

P86I ‘OE PUNE ‘polad Jo SuruUI3ag—ooueyeg puny

+(siseg Areja8png je3a7)

S861 ‘Of ANNI GHANA AVA IVOSIA AHL YO

YONV'TVd GNM NI SHONVHO GNV SAYNLIGNAdXa ‘SANNAATY dO LNAWALVLS

CNNd TYYANAD

D-22

818‘OIZ‘00r I$

BIS TOO LECT

Or2‘6I1‘E9$

ZOO'LS F*698$

90T‘980°LSL‘SZ7$

SLIOSCECST

9Z0°SS1°6

8hS*PES ‘87661

LSZIL0‘099°S$

.

c-V UQIyX”

SuUONENGaI pue SME] 9)e1S YIM DOULTTdWIOD UT ,

tt SOSA SE RASS ASS Se ‘O€ oune ‘souRleg pun, [rI0]

Trt tteseesescesss +s sonureygoul orMOUOsg JOJ aAJasay KouesunUOD

** *suonerdoiddy surnunuos jo seoueyeg posoquinouauy) 103 pareusisoq

oourjeg puny

"S8Sf) JoWIO pue SamnyIpuedxg J9ACG S9dINOS JoNIO pue SaNnUdAdY JO SS2oxq

Totes reese sereeeseses** “Sas JaIO pure sonpusdxgq [ro]

Peete tees sees sees sree eeeeeeaeeeeeeess + gpung J9M1C O} SIOJSUELL

—SasSf JNO

Reinet ett a Minho ter bet re ey

TTR S EE eee teeta cece eee e sete eeeeseeeeeeeeeees QOUBISISSY [BIO]

FSCS TOOEH CHEN KER OCEC EEE HOO ORO 6 OH 68 6 OO 8 6 OOe-8 suonesodg 2781S

somnjipusdxg

D-23

STATE OF CALIFORNIA (Letterhead)

RECEIVED

Sep 09 1985

EWPCF

In Reply Refer

to: 550: FP

STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL BOARD

DIVISION OF CLEAN WATER GRANTS

PAUL R. BONDERSON BUILDING

xxx P STREET

P.O. Box 100

SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA 95801

Sep 5 1985

Mr. Richard W. Graff

General Manager

Encina Water Pollution Control Facility

6200 Avenida Encinas

Carlsbad, CA 92008-0171

Dear Mr. Graff:

REVENUE PROGRAM APPROVAL FOR WATER

POLLUTION CONTROL GRANT NO. C-06-1016-210,

220, 230, 240, 250 AND 270, VISTA SANITARY

DISTRICT

The final Revenue Program for the subject project is hereby

approved for compliance with State and Federal regulations

for User Charges. Therefore, progress payments, as they

relate to the requirements of 40 CFR 35.2208, are

authorized beyond 90 percent of the Federal share of your

Step 3 grant.

EXHIBIT B-1

D-24

Upon completion of the project, implementation and

maintenance of the user charge system becomes a condition

of the grant. 40 CFR 35.2208 requires that the user charge

system and sewer use ordinance be implemented for the

useful life of the treatment works. The California State

Water Resources Control Board, Division of Clean Water

Grants, must be notified when either of these

ordinances/resolutions is changed. Your agency will be

subject to the provisions of 40 CFR 30.430 of Chapter 1 of

the Federal Regulations in the event of non-compliance

with these requirements. In addition, your agency must

maintain records necessary to document compliance with

these requirements.

Any questions you may have regarding the contents of this

letter should be referred to Frank E. Peters of the

California State Water Resources Control Board, Division

of Clean Water Grants, at (916) 322-6558.

Sincerely,

/S/ Kurt Wassermann, Chief

Engineering Branch

Clean Water Grant Program

D-25

CLEAN WATER GRANT PROGRAM

BULLETIN

STATE WATER RESOURCES CONTROL

BOARD

Division of Water Quality

Raymond Walsh, Chief

Manager, CLEAN WATER GRANT

PROGRAM

P.O. Box 100 Sacramento, California 95801

April 24, 1980

NO. 54B - REVENUE PROGRAM GUIDELINES FOR

WASTEWATER AGENCIES

Attached for your information and use is the final edition of

the Revenue Program Guidelines adopted by the State

Water Resources Control Board on April 17, 1980.

There is a moratorium on the collection of Industrial Cost

Recovery (ICR), described on page 3, until June 30, 1980.

During this period, grantees must calculate ICR, but are

not required to collect it until July 1, 1980. The Division of

Water Quality will notify all grantees when ICR is

reinstituted. See 40 CFR 35.928-4 for more detailed

information on the moratorium.

Clean Water Grant Bulletin 54A, dated February 14, 1978,

is superseded. EXHIBIT B-2

D-26

Any questions should be directed to Frank Peters, Financial

Management Unit, at (916) 322-6558.

/s/ Raymond Walsh

Division Chief

Manager - Clean Water Grant Program

Attachment

D-27

Section 3 - Identification of Users

After the annual revenue requirements are determined, the

users of the treatment works and the characteristics of their

wastewater must be identified. Flows and loadings (BODs5

and SS) must be documented for the user groups listed below, so

that proportional costs can be calculated. The methods for

allocating the annual costs to various types of users is described in

Section 4 of this Article.

A.

B.

Industrial Users. Industrial users subject to ICR must

have costs allocated individually.

Residential Users. Individual cost allocations need not

be made for various type of residential users. However,

grantees may wish to divide residential users into single-

family, multiple-family, or mobile home sub-groups to

allow for more refined cost allocations.

Commercial Users. Because of great variability in

waste characteristics, the commercial group should be

divided into sub-groups defined in Appendix F. The

flow and loads given in Appendix F need not be used if

the grantee has supportable data relating to other

specific flows and loads. Large commercial users

subject to ICR must have costs allocated individually.

D-28

D. Institutional Users. Costs may be allocated to indi- i

vidual users or to user groups, such as public or private

hospitals, convalescent homes, schools, colleges, correc-

tional facilities, etc. Institutional users subject to ICR

must have costs allocated individually.

E. Septage. If septage is received at the treatment works,

this category must be listed as a user class with the

corresponding flows and loads. The charges established

for septage dumpings must be based on its contributing

loadings. Generally a 1000 gallon dumping contains 45

lbs of BOD and 100 Ibs of suspended solids. Unless

other loadings are documentable, these should be

utilized.

F, Water Reclamation. Beneficiaries of the reclaimed

water must be identified for projects involving water

reclamation. Beneficiaries may be users of the reclaimed

water or indirect beneficiaries, such as potable waters

users that benefit by the increase in total water supply.

A narrative describing the basis for classifying the types

of beneficiaries should be included. A table listing the

beneficiaries, the type (direct and indirect), description

of benefit, and projected use of the reclaimed water

should also be included.

D-29

DECLARATION OF SERVICE BY MAIL

(Code of Civil Procedure, §§ 1013(a), 2015.5)

I, the undersigned, say: I am a citizen of the United

States, over 18 years of age, employed in San Diego County,

California, in which County the within-mentioned mailing

occurred, and not a party to the subject cause. My business

addres. is 751 East Rancheros Drive, Suite 2, San Marcos,

California 92069. I served the attached:

PETITION FOR REHEARING

by placing » copy thereof in a separate envelope for each

addressee named hereafter, addressed to each such

addressee respectively as follows:

See Attachment “A”

Each envelope was then sealed and with the postage

thereon full prepaid, deposited in the United States mail by

me at San Marcos, California on July 31, 1986.

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is

true and correct: July 31, 1986, San Marcos, California.

/s/ Sharon I. Heafey

2 Dea le eer Sane

Attachment “A” 5

Clerk, Court of Appeal

Fourth Appellate District

Division One

1350 Front Street, Room 6010

San Diego, California 92101

Lynn R. McDougal, Esq.

McDougal, Meloche, Love & Eckis

460 North Magnolia

Drawer 1466

El Cajon, California 92022-1466

Clerk, San Diego County

San Diego Superior Court

County Courthouse

220 West Broadway

San Diego, California 92101

George Marchand, Esq.

Office of the General Counsel

Regents of the University of California

590 University Hall

Berkeley, California 94720

Honorable F. V. Lopardo

Judge of the Superior Court

North County Branch

325 South Melrose Drive

Vista, California 92083

D-31

Art Kidman, Esq.

David B. Cosgrove, Esq.

Routan & Tucker

611 Anton Boulevard

Suite 1400

Costa Mesa, California 92628

John Haggerty, Esq.

Los Angeles, County City Attorney

200 North Main Street, Room 1800

Los Angeles, California 90012

Robert G. Boehm, City Attorney

Office of the City Attorney

196 East Fifth Street

Post Office Box 3420

Chico, California 94927

B. Richard Marsh

Knapp, Grossman, Marsh & Jones

Manulife Plaza, Suite 1240

515 South Figueroa Street

Los Angeles, California 90071

Ada Treiger, Esq.

Legal Advisors Office

Los Angeles School District

450 North Grand Avenue, room A337

Los Angeles, California 90012

APPENDIX E

E-1

RECEIVED

JUN 17 1986

Clerk Supreme Court

IN THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

L.A. No. 32124

SAN MARCOS COUNTY No. D0001951

WATER DISTRICT, (Sup. Ct. No. N24145)

Plaintiff and Respondent,

We

SAN MARCOS UNIFIED

SCHOOL DISTRICT

Defendant and Appellant.

RESPONDENT SAN MARCOS COUNTY WATER

DISTRICT’S REPLY TO PETITIONER’S SUPPLEMENTARY

AUTHORITY SUBMITTED AT ORAL ARGUMENT

SMITH & PELTZER, A.P.C.

VERNON A. PELTZER, Esq.

JEFFREY G. SCOTT, Esq.

Attorneys at Law

751 East Rancheros Drive, Suite 2

San Marcos, California 92069

(619) 744-7125

Attorneys for Plaintiff /Respondent

SAN MARCOS COUNTY

WATER DISTRICT

E-2

INTRODUCTION

Pursuant to the permission of the Supreme Court, the

SAN MARCOS COUNTY WATER DISTRICT submits

this response to Petitioner’s (SAN MARCOS UNIFIED

SCHOOL DISTRICT) Supplementary Authority filed with

the Court at the time of oral argument. The Supplementary

Authority submitted by the SCHOOL DISTRICT is 67

Ops. Cal. Atty. Gen. 13, January, 1984).

DISCUSSION

A

THE ATTORNEY GENERAL OPINION IS

BASED ON REASONING REJECTED BY

THE COURT OF APPEAL AND WAS

REACHED WITHOUT THE BENEFIT OF

THE ANALYSIS IN THE BRIEFS BEFORE

THIS COURT.

The problem with accepting the 1984 Attorney General

Opinion, as a means to decision in this case, is that the

Attorney General did not have the benefit of the majority

opinion (Justice Weiner with Justice Butler concurring) in

the case of San Marcos [County] Water District vy. San

Marcos Unified School District (1985) 171 Cal.App.3d 223

which, after critical and detailed analysis, rejected the same

reasoning advanced by the Attorney General as contrary to

basic tenets of municipal finance, logic, and cases decided by

sister states, as well as California precedent. The majority

held that a public agency must pay a uniform nondiscrimi-

natory capacity (user-impact) fee, the same as any other

user of a public sewer system. Without the benefit of that

E-3

Court’s reasoning and the briefs submitted to this Court, set

in juxtaposition to the authorities cited by the Attorney

General, his opinion becomes an uncritical, superficial,

repetition of the same, mistaken analysis rejected by the

Court of Appeal in the case before this Court. The absence

of any perceptive analysis by the Attorney General is stated

below.

The issue with respect to the hospital involved in the

Attorney General Opinion, and the issue in the case before

this Court for a school, is not whether a hospital or school

should function, and not whether or not they should

function with or without sewer service. It is a fact of life

that the efficient operation of the educational system, the

efficient operation of hospitals, and the efficient operation

of a sewer system are essential to modern society.

Further, the question is not who is going to pay the sewer

bill. The ultimate payor is the public who pays a variety of

taxes, assessments, and fees to finance government

operations and facilities. The ultimate question is how the

money to finance these facilities is channeled and accounted

for.

The SCHOOL DISTRICT and the Attorney General are

advocating a basic proposition that the schools and the

hospital will pay for all on-site sewer facilities, the kitchens,

the cafeterias, the bathrooms, the laboratories, and other

waste-generating facilities, and will collect and channel that

waste into the public sewer system, and at that point there is

absolutely no responsibility for further payment for the cost

of sewage disposal, that cost is to be shifted to the

unfortunate other customers of the sewering agency who

happen to live in the same area with that facility and use the

same sewer system. Thus, the true cost of operating the

hospital, or school, or university (or prison) is concealed

from the public and this burden is unfairly shifted to these

other, unfortunate citizens.

It is of no consequence to the Attorney General or to the

SCHOOL DISTRICT that some or all of the people who

use the university, or the school, or the hospital (or a prison)

contribute nothing to pay for that cost. It is axiomatic that

someone must bear the cost. For the Attorney General and

the SCHOOL DISTRICT that is a cost that must be borne

by other local sewer users.

That proposition is devoid of any basis in logic or reason.

The classification of payors without a fair substantial basis

violates the Constitutional principle of Equal Protection.

Haman v. County of Humboldt (1973) 8 Cal.3d 922 [cited in

SCHOOL DISTRICT Reply Brief, p. 4].

The Federal cases also cited by SCHOOL DISTRICT

(Reply Brief, p. 4) require application of “equal protection”

to the taxing power even though the latitude of Federalism

applies to the Federal-State relation.

In any event, that shift of cost burden is not permitted by

the Federal Constitution; the government must pay for the

benefit taken and used. United State of America y. 129.4

Acres of Land and Yuma Mesa Irrigation Drainage

District (9th Cir. 1986) 86 Daily Journal DAR 1582. Under

California law, a taking by one public entity of the property

of another public agency is a condemnation regulated by

Statute. CCP § 1240.610 et seq. The statute provides for

compatible use by public agencies. CCP § 1240.510.

Payment is required. CCP § 1255.010, et seq.; § 1263.010,

et seq. A failure to follow proper procedures (more

necessary public use) is fatal to the eminent domain action.

Pacific Gas & Electric Co. v. Superior Court of Trinity

County, Hayfork Valley Public Utility District (1986) 180

Ca!l.App.3d 770.

The WATER DISTRICT, on the other hand, contends

that if a prison, school, university, or hospital

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.