Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Potomac Electric Power Co. v. Curran

Supreme Court brief1988

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Re -8 71 —

i | DFC 1 1986

' CLERK

7) _ Supreme Court, U.S,

FILED

JR.

IN THE

Siuwreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

THE PoTOMAC ELECTRIC POWER COMPANY,

- Petitioner,

STEPHEN H. SACHS, ATTORNEY GENERAL OF MARYLAND,

AND ADELE WILZACK, SECRETARY OF THE MARYLAND

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND MENTAL HYGIENE,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT, OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

E. BARRETT PRETTYMAN, JR.*

SHERWIN J. MARKMAN

JOHN C. KEENEY, JR.

DAVID J. HAYES

JOHN G. ROBERTS, JR.

HOGAN & HARTSON

(a partnership including

professional corporations)

815 Connecticut Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 331-4685

ARNOLD W. WEINER

Of Counsel: MICHAEL SCHATZOW

KATHLEEN B. DEWEESE ETHAN L. BAUMAN

Associate General Counsel MELNICOVE, KAUFMAN, WEINER,

POTOMAC ELECTRIC SMOUSE & GARBIS, P.A.

PowER COMPANY 36 South Charles St.

1900 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W. Baltimore, MD 21201

Washington, D.C. 20068 (301) 332-8525

(202) 872-2520 Counsel for Petitioner

* Counsel of Record

ET

WILSON - EPes PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Did the court below err in holding that federal

courts must abstain in favor of state grand jury investi-

gations, contrary to the recent holding of the Third Cir-

cuit in Monaghan v. Deakins, 798 F.2d 632 (1986)?

2. Did the court below err in holding that abstention

was appropriate in a case seeking relief under a preemp-

tive federal statute, contrary to the holdings of the Sec-

ond, Third, Fifth, Eighth, Ninth, and Eleventh Circuits?

(i)

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

Petitioner The Potomac Electric Power Company

(“PEPCO”) is the electrical utility corporation that

services the District of Columbia and parts of Maryland

and Virginia.* Respondents are Stephen H. Sachs, in his

official capacity as Attorney General of Maryland, and

Adele Wilzack, in her official capacity as Secretary of the

Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene.

* Pursuant to Rule 28.1, petitioner notes that it has no affiliates

and no subsidiaries that are not wholly owned.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .................... scalinteaianieiamnliohn

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS ........-.2ow....

SM SP RIE II sc ccccsssescecassuasacnensnecesnesses

i

aha cetiaesneeemenessinninecnsenininasat

PERTINENT CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATU-

a

I. The Decision Below Is In Direct And Irrecon-

cilable Conflict With The Decision Of The Third

Circuit in Monaghan v. Deakins ....................-.....

II. The Court Below Misinterpreted This Court’s

Abstention Decisions In Extending Younger To

Grand Jury Investigations .....00000000000.00-

III. The Court Below Erred In Requiring Absten-

tion In A Case Involving A Preemptive Federal

SE CS ce

IV. The Uniform Resolution Of The Questions Pre-

sented Is Of Overriding Importance To The

Smooth Functioning Of The Federal System .......

IES a

APPENDICES

Appendix A: Opinion of Court of Appeals...

Appendix B: Opinion of District Court on Ab-

EEG Sa

Appendix C: Opinion of District Court on Pre-

RR

Appendix D: Judgment of Court of Appeals .......

Appendix E: Order of District Court on Motion

EE a

Appendix F: Declaratory Judgment Order of

tant

(iii)

10

20

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Aluminum Company of America v. Utilities Com-

mission of North Carolina, 713 F.2d 1024 (4th

Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1052 (1984)... 23

Baggett v. Department of Professional Regulation,

poh? § Bo: Cs | ee 24-25

Bartram vy. State, 280 Md. 616, 374 A.2d 1144

SUITE .niiecssadpilnicscheielasangtedatiedlsibinsssadiadsaniiglisaunjiéecienes 14

Blair v. United States, 250 U.S. 273 (1919)...:........ 14

Brennick V. Hynes, 471 F. Supp. 863 (N.D.N.Y.

TT Sete a Oi Gre AEN Mee ee 9

Burford v. Sun Oil Co., 319 U.S. 315 (1943) -...... 23

Capital Cities Cable, Inc. v. Crisp, 467 U.S. 691

II acct seccecat cedistndapeneiiciadanichicesiinlaisdeihlnianilicaibeess 21

Champion International Corp. v. Brown, 731 F.2d

I Be a ccinciinicenientlnciideiaptiietssccnesinks 24

Coblentz v. State, 164 Md. 558, 166 A. 45 (1933)... 13

Ellis v. Dyson, 421 U.S. 426 (1975) ......................---- 10

Four Unnamed Plaintiffs v. Hall, 424 F. Supp. 357

(D. Mass. 1976), rev’d on other grounds, 550

7 @ B 3: oe , , St okien one 10

Gibson Vv. Berryhill, 411 U.S. 564 (1973) —.............. 12,17

Grandco Corp. Vv. Rochford, 536 F.2d 197 (7th Cir.

AERC MM ed ab Ness A ANN enc er ee 13

Hawaii Housing Authority v. Midkiff, 467 U.S. 229

| TEETER AORN Er reer a treet 12-13, 15, 17

Hicks v. Miranda, 422 U.S. 332 (1975) ............... a 19

Hotel & Restaurant Employees International Union

v. Danziger, 709 F.2d 815 (3d Cir. 1983), va-

cated on other grounds, 468 U.S. 491 (1984)... 22

Hurtado vy. California, 110 U.S. 516 (1884) ......... 20

In re Neff, 206 F.2d 149 (3d Cir. 1953).................. 16

In re Special Investigation No. 224, 54 Md. App.

137, 458 A.2d 454, cert. denied, 296 Md. 414

CI iicichesseiccissataialahiccccindchiagteaeimelaniaciceahtinaiatestiiess 8,14

In re Special Investigation No. 287, 54 Md. App.

201, 458 A.2d 450, cert. denied, 296 Md. 414

a, 8,14

Johnson v. State, 199 Ark. 196, 183 S.W.2d 15

«RESTORE SUR oe einai Ea EA ER ote ne een 20

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Jones V. Rath Packing Co., 430 U.S. 519 (1977)... 21

Kaylor v. Fields, 661 F.2d 1177 (8th Cir. 1981)... 20

Kentucky West Virginia Gas Co. v. Pennsylvania

Public Utility Comm’n, 791 F.2d 1111 (3d Cir.

A aI IE ine li IIR A Sk Sin Nh 22, 24

Langley v. Ryder, 602 F. Supp. 335 (W.D. La.),

aff'd on other grounds, 778 F.2d 1092 (5th Cir.

DS deceit PI Te CRON SI RNP ER OP Ra. ore Ie NAN 10

Marcal Paper Mills, Inc. v. Ewing, 790 F.2d 195

fe PILE SNA DOr a An a See N 22

Marshall v. Chase Manhattan Bank, 558 F.2d 680

OR MR I sccicnkien ihe a 21-22

McCune V. Frank, 521 F.2d 1152 (2d Cir. 1975)... 13

McDonald v. Metro-North Commuter Railroad Di-

vision of Metropolitan Transportation Authority,

565 F. Supp. 87 (S.D.N.Y. 19838) .......................... 13

Middle South Energy, Inc. v. Arkansas Public

Service Comm’n, 772 F.2d 404 (8th Cir. 1985),

cert. denied, 106 S. Ct. 884 (1986) _...0.0022 23-24

Middlesex County Ethics Comm. v. Garden State

Bar Ass’n, 457 U.S. 423 (1982) .......0.0000000.0....... 11-13, 15

Monaghan v. Deakins, 798 F.2d 632 (3d Cir.

SUED ccchsccuninsstiactuhiasteneaiiiae Sosinidiehiadiaeheenieal 6-9, 13, 14, 19-20

New Orleans Public Service, Inc. v. City of New

Orleans, 798 F.2d 858 (5th Cir. 1986) ........0........ 23

Notey v. Hynes, 418 F. Supp. 1320 (E.D.N.Y.

PO eceeaseepiiisioisitertans tains Minatitlan dataacaceahactei li alia 10

Ohio Civil Rights Comm’n v. Dayton Christian

Schools, Inc., 106 S. Ct. 2718 (1986) ........... 11-13, 15-17,

18, 25

Rose V. Mitchell, 443 U.S. 545 (1979) ..02000002 2. 20

South Central Bell Telephone Co. v. Louisiana

Public Service Comm’n, 744 F.2d 1107 (5th Cir.

1984), vacated and remanded on other grounds,

o£ Se Se 8 eee 23

Sovereign News Co. v. Falke, 448 F. Supp. 306

(N.D. Ohio 1977), remanded on other grounds,

610 F236 438 (6th Cie. 1979) ..................-............ 10

Steffel v. Thompson, 415 U.S. 452 (1974) 0.00000... 17

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Stone & Webster Engineering Corp. v. Ilsley, 690

F.2d 323 (2d Cir. 1982), aff'd mem. sub nom.

Arcudi v. Stone & Webster Engineering Corp.,

GS Cl Be Ce eit 21

Town of Springfield, Vermont v. McCarren, 549

F. Supp. 1134 (D. Vt. 1982), aff'd mem., 722

F.2d 728 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 942

SRE ae se Se nee 22

United Services Automobile Ass’n Vv. Muir, 792

re Ge Ge Fe certtercescentetitteeenicciecctieteeenes 22

United States v. Calandra, 414 U.S. 338 (1974) ... 9,14

United States v. Cleary, 265 F.2d 459 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 360 U.S. 936 (1959) 0 14

United States vy. Coachman, 752 F.2d 685 (D.C.

SR eS 16

United States v. Housand, 550 F.2d 818 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 431 U.S. 970 (1977) —.00 16

United States v. Johnson, 319 U.S. 508 (1943)....... 19

United States v. Malone, 111°F. Supp. 37 (N.D.

GUID SUIT sesnsscecscsnncnnntinatieniiaiiiiebniiiealigiaianiinseManiseitiiien 16

United States v. Sells Engineering, Inc., 463 U.S.

| EC i EL ee Se 19

Williams v. Red Bank Board of Education, 662

F.2d 1008 (3d Cir. 1981) 2.0... ee Seen 13

Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 837 (1971) 0.0. passim

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions

nn 2

ht Tok | See i ae 4

BD Se ae CS CUED CD CD ceereeeennccenasesestennenosoncnnencceee 2-3, 4

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 4112.05 (Supp. 1985)... 12

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 4112.06 (I) (1980) 0... 16

Regulations

40 C.F.R. § 761 (1986) —.......W.- PORES Deane ct seta SOON 4

Md. Admin. Code tit. 10, § 51 000 4

Miscellaneous

1A Moore’s Federal Practice 21

National Institute of Justice, Grand Jury Reform:

A Review of Key Issues (1983) 27

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

No.

THE PoTOMAC ELECTRIC POWER COMPANY,

Petitioner,

Vv.

STEPHEN H. SACHS, ATTORNEY GENERAL OF MARYLAND,

AND ADELE WILZACK, SECRETARY OF THE MARYLAND

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND MENTAL HYGIENE,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner, The Potomac Electric Power Company, re-

spectfully prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review

the judgment and opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Fourth Circuit entered in the above-

entitled proceeding on October 17, 1986.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Fourth

Circuit is reported at 802 F.2d 1527 and is reprinted in

the appendix hereto (“App.”’) at la.

The opinion of the District Court for the District of

Maryland (Black, J.) on the abstention issue was de-

2

livered orally and is unreported. It is reprinted at App.

20a. The opinion of the District Court on the merits

of the preemption issue is reported at 639 F. Supp. 856

and is reprinted at App. 31a.

JURISDICTION

Petitioner brought suit in the District Court for the

District of Maryland seeking a declaratory judgment that

the Toxic Substances Control Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 2601 et

seq., preempts the State of Maryland from extending its

general hazardous waste regulations to the use and dis-

posal of polychlorinated biphenyls. Petitioner moved for

summary judgment. Respondents moved to dismiss, con-

tending, inter alia, that the District Court should abstain.

The District Court denied respondents’ motion on March

25, 1986, and subsequently, on April 16, 1986, denied pe-

titioner’s motion for summary judgment and entered

judgment on the merits for respondents. App. 55a-58a.

Petitioner appealed and respondents cross-appealed.

The Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit issued an

opinion on October 17, 1986, holding that the District

Court should have abstained. App. la.

The jurisdiction of this Court to review the judgment

of the Fourth Circuit is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254

(1).

PERTINENT CONSTITUTIONAL AND

STATUTORY PROVISIONS

Article VI of the United States Constitution provides,

in pertinent part, that “this Constitution, and the Laws

of the United States which shall be made in Pursuance

thereof * * * shall be the supreme Law of the Land.”

Section 18(a) (2) (B) of the Toxic Substances Control

Act, 15 U.S.C. § 2617(a) (2) (B), provides:

if the Administrator prescribes a rule or order under

section 2604 or 2605 of this title (other than a rule

imposing a requirement described in subsection (a)

(6) of section 2605 of this title) which is applicable

to a chemical substance or mixture, and which is de-

signed to protect against a risk of injury to health

or the environment associated with such substance or

mixture, no State or political subdivision of a State

may, after the effective date of such requirement,

establish or continue in effect, any requirement which

is applicable to such substance or mixture, or an arti-

cle containing such substance or mixture, and which

is designed to protect against such risk unless such

requirement (i) is identical to the requirement pre-

scribed by the Administrator, (ii) is adopted under

the authority of the Clean Air Act or any other

Federal law, or (iii) prohibits the use of such sub-

stance or mixture in such State or political subdivi-

sion (other than its use in the manufacture or proc-

essing of other substances or mixtures).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Potomac Electric Power Company (“PEPCO”) is

the electrical utility corporation that provides service in

the District of Columbia and some surrounding suburbs

in Maryland and Virginia. In providing service, PEPCO

uses electrical transformers that it purchases from man-

ufacturers. Until recently, the mineral oil used in many

transformers was contaminated with polychlorinated bi-

phenyls (“PCBs”) during the manufacturing process.

Transformers become obsolete or unusable after a num-

ber of years, and must be scrapped. For several years

United Rigging and Hauling, Inc. (“United”) purchased

PEPCO’s scrap transformers in the District of Columbia

and transported them to a United salvage yard in Belis-

ville, Maryland, where they were stored with transform-

ers and scrap from other sources. In the spring of 1985,

Maryland authorities discovered that the United site was

contaminated with PCBs.

The use and disposal of PCBs is governed by a com-

prehensive federal regulatory scheme. Under Section

4

6(e) of the Toxic Substances Control Act, 15 U.S.C.

§ 2605(e), Congress directed the Administrator of the

Environmental Protection Agency to promulgate rules

regulating PCBs, and the Administrator has done so.’

Congress also specified that once “the Administrator pre-

scribes a rule or order under section 2604 or 2605 * * *,

no State or political subdivision of a State may * * *

establish or continue in effect, any requirement which

is applicable to such substance or mixture * * *.” 15

U.S.C. § 2617(a) (2) (B). Despite this preemption pro-

vision, the State of Maryland has also undertaken to

regulate PCBs as a hazardous waste under its waste

management program. See Md. Admin. Code tit. 10,

§ 51.

Since May 1985, the Maryland Attorney General has

been investigating PEPCO’s sale and delivery of scrap

transformers to United, as well as the scrapping activ-

ities of United, for alleged violation of Maryland law

and regulations governing PCBs. The Attorney General

convened a grand jury to assist in his criminal investi-

gation. App. 13a.

Quite apart from this pending investigation, the State’s

effort to regulate PCBs has had a direct and immediate

effect on PEPCO’s ongoing operations. The Maryland

regulations have created a climate of uncertainty con-

cerning operations at a PEPCO generating station in

Maryland, since the State has yet to issue the permit

for that station that it required PEPCO to apply for

over two years ago. The Maryland regulations also com-

pelled PEPCO to adopt inefficient trucking and burning

practices for oil shipped to the station, since there is no

storage facility at that site that complies with state as

opposed to federal law. The challenged state regulations

also restrict PEPCO’s use of its facilities in Maryland

1 See 40 C.F.R. § 761 (1986).

5

for storage of electrical equipment, and have compelled

PEPCO to alter its solicitation of bids for scrap trans-

formers so as to exclude bidders who might take the

transformers into Maryland. See Ct. App. JA at 66-69,

127-129.

In response to the foregoing, PEPCO filed a complaint

in the United States District Court for the District of

Maryland, seeking a declaratory judgment that the Toxic

Substances Control Act preempted Maryland from ex-

tending its hazardous waste regulations to cover PCBs.

Respondents moved to dismiss, arguing inter alia that the

state grand jury investigation was a pending state judi-

cial proceeding to which the District Court must defer

under Younger Vv. Harris, 401 U.S. 87 (1971).

The District Court declined to abstain, noting that

“li]t is clear that PEPCO has no present opportunity

to raise its Federal concerns in the Grand Jury proceed-

ings. * * * [I]f there is no opportunity to raise the

Federal issue in the State proceedings, then * * * Younger

abstention is inappropriate.” App. 28a. The court con-

cluded that:

There is no certainty that the Grand Jury will actu-

ally return an indictment, nor is there any indica-

tion of how long PEPCO would have to wait before

it had its forum to raise the Federal defense. Under

such circumstances, it would be harsh, indeed, to

foreclose the opportunity to bring the preemption

challenge to Federal Court prior to indictment. PEP-

CO has no opportunity at all to raise its Federal

claim in the State Grand Jury proceedings[;] princi-

ples of abstention under Younger, therefore, do not

apply. [Jd. at 29a.]

The District Court subsequently ruled on the merits in

favor of respondents, and PEPCO appealed. The State

cross-appealed, reasserting its abstention argument.

6

The Court of Appeals reversed, holding that the Dis-

trict Court should have abstained.2 The Court of Ap-

peals began by noting that the “Supreme Court has never

addressed the issue of whether Younger applies to state

grand jury proceedings,” and also noted that “the Su-

preme Court has never analyzed the treatment of a pre-

emption claim in applying the Younger doctrine.” App.

15a, 16a n.7. The court recognized “the requirement

that the federal plaintiff have an opportunity to present

the federal claim in the state proceedings.” Jd. at 17a.

It held that the requirement was satisfied in this case

not because of any opportunity PEPCO had before the

grand jury, but because of a possible opportunity PEPCO

might have after the grand jury concludes its work: “If

indicted, PEPCO can present its claim of federal pre-

emption by TSCA as a defense to the criminal prosecu-

tion, and therefore has an adequate opportunity to pre-

sent the claim in the_ongoing proceedings.” Id. at 18a.

The court also concluded that Younger should be applied

in a preemption case, stating that “the same logic requir-

ing abstention when there is a constitutional challenge

to a state criminal statute applies to litigation where

there is a claim of federal preemption due to a congres-

sional enactment.” App. 16a n.7.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Decision Below Is In Direct And Irreconcilable

Conflict With The Recent Decision Of The Third Cir-

cuit In Monaghan vy. Deakins

The court below held that federal courts must abstain .

in favor of a pending state grand jury investigation.

Less than three months earlier, the Court of Appeals for

the Third Circuit reached the exact opposite conclusion

in an indistinguishable case, Monaghan v. Deakins, 798

F.2d 632 (1986). This Court should grant the writ to

2In light of its holding, the court did not consider PEPCO’s

appeal on the merits. See App. 14a.

7

resolve this direct and irreconcilable conflict between the

Circuits on a question of overriding importance to rela-

tions between the state and federal courts and the proper

functioning of our federal system.*

The pertinent facts in Monaghan are indistinguishable

from those of the present case. The federal plaintiffs in

Monaghan were the targets of an ongoing state grand

jury investigation, as PEPCO is in this case. Both in

Monaghan and in this case the state investigation in-

volved issuance of subpoenas, search and seizure of cor-

porate documents, and the physical search of premises.

In both cases, however, the grand jury had not issued

any indictments, and the State accordingly had not com-

menced any prosecution at the time the targets of the

investigation filed suit in federal District Court.

The plaintiffs in Monaghan alleged in their complaint

that the search of their premises was unconstitutional

and sought return of the documents seized by the State.

PEPCO’s complaint, as noted, alleged that the Maryland

law and regulations that formed the basis of the investi-

gation were expressly preempted by federal law. In both

cases the State moved for dismissal, contending that the

federal court should abstain because of the pending state

grand jury investigation.

The District Court in Monaghan agreed with the State

and abstained; the District Court in this case did not.

On appeal, the Third Circuit and the Fourth Circuit

below framed an identical issue for decision. Compare

798 F.2d at 636 (“whether the existence of the state

grand jury proceeding required the district court to ab-

stain under Younger’) with App. 15a (“whether

Younger applies to state grand iury proceedings”). The

3 Counsel for the state authorities in Monaghan have advised that

they will file a petition for certiorari with this Court. The petition

in this case should be considered in conjunction with the petition in

Monaghan.

8

two courts reached diametrically opposed conclusions. As

the Third Circuit stated:

No indictment had been returned against the plain-

tiffs at the time they filed their complaint in the

district court. Thus there was not, for Younger pur-

poses, any ongoing state proceeding warranting ab-

stention by the district court. [798 F.2d at 637.]

The court below, however, held that no indictment was

required for Younger abstention to apply, since PEPCO

eculd raise its federal claim “[i]f indicted.” App. 18a.

The Third Circuit in Monaghan recognized that

“Younger abstention is appropriate only when there is

pending a proceeding in which a state court will have the

authority to adjudicate the merits of a federal plaintiff’s

federal claims.” 798 F.2d at 637 (emphasis in original).

The court noted that a New Jersey grand jury cannot

adjudicate anything, but can only “issue an indictment,

which is no more than a charge that the defendant has

violated the criminal law.” Jd. Only when an indictment

is returned does a state judicial proceeding commence,

thereafter affording an opportunity to have the federal

claims adjudicated. /d.* |

Maryland grand juries are no different from their

counterparts in New Jersey, and they too cannot adjudi-

cate the claims of targets or witnesses.’ The court below

4 Judge Adams dissented from the panel opinion in Monaghan

and from the subsequent denial of petition for rehearing en banc.

798 F.2d at 639-645.

5 See In re Special Investigation No. 237, 54 Md. App. 201, 203,

458 A.2d 450, 452 (“a mere witness, even if the witness might pos-

Sibly at some future time become a- defendant, is utterly incom-

petent to challenge the authority of the grand jury to act’’), cert.

denied, 296 Md. 414 (1983) ; In re Special Investigation No. 224,

54 Md. App. 187, 458 A.2d 454, cert. denied, 296 Md. 414 (1983).

The role of the grand jury in New Jersey and Maryland is the same

as that of the grand jury in the federal system, and clearly does

ra Sita lia iio docu aiaabacalalll

9 at

did not rely on any opportunity PEPCO might have to

raise its preemption claim before the grand jury, since

there clearly is no such opportunity. Where the Third

Circuit declined to order abstention on the basis of a

possible future indictment, however, the court below held

that abstention was required precisely because of that

possibility.

The conflicting holdings of the Third Circuit and the

Fourth Circuit below cannot be reconciled. Nor is it

likely that either court will reconsider its holding. This

is not a situation in which arguments or theories not

raised hefore one court might cause that court to re-

evaluate its position, or a situation in which one court

had the benefit of guidance from this Court not available

to the other. Monaghan was decided after argument but

before decision below, and counsel alerted the court below

to the Monaghan decision. The court below was thus

fully aware of the views of the Third Circuit, but none-

theless adopted directly contrary reasoning and reached

the opposite conclusion. Judge Adams’s dissent in

Monaghan advanced the same arguments accepted by the

court below, and failed.to dissuade the Third Circuit from

its conclusion.’

not include the adjudication of legal claims such as those raised by

PEPCO. See United States v. Calandra, 414 U.S. 338, 345 (1974).

®If anything, Monaghan was a stronger case for abstention than

this one. In Monaghan, the federal plaintiffs’ claim was at least

directed to the conduct of the grand jury investigation itself, seek-

ing return of documents seized in the course of the investigation.

Here, the relief sought does not go directly to the operation of the

grand jury but only to the underlying law being applied. Indeed,

PEPCO has fully complied with the various subpoenas with which

it has been served.

—

7™The District Courts have also provided conflicting answers to

the question whether it is appropriate to abstain under Younger in

favor of a state grand jury investigation. See, e.g., Brennick v.

Hynes, 471 F. Supp. 863, 867 (N.D.N.Y. 1979) (Younger “does not

apply to state grand jury proceedings where the target for investi-

10

II. The Court Below Misinterpreted This Court’s Absten-

tion Decisions In Extending Younger To Grand Jury

Investigations

The court below correctly recognized that this Court

“has never addressed the issue of whether Younger ap-

plies to state grand jury proceedings.” App. 15a.

The decision to apply Younger in the present case, how-

ever, was not only directly contrary to that of the Third

Circuit but also inconsistent with this Court’s pronounce-

ments on abstention. The court below, like the lower

court in an earlier Supreme Court case, was “under the

misapprehension that the Younger doctrine applied when

there is a threatened state criminal prosecution as well

as when there is a state criminal prosecution already

pending.” Ellis v. Dyson, 421 U.S. 426, 433 (1975). No

prosecution is pending against PEPCO. The only action

the State has taken has been to commence an investiga-

tion of PEPCO, an investigation that is now in its nine-

teenth month. The fact that’ the State has invoked the

assistance of a grand jury as an investigative tool does

not transform the investigation into a pending state judi-

cial proceeding to which federal courts must defer.

Abstention under Younger is appropriate only if there

is an “ongoing state judicial proceeding” that “impli-

cate[s] important state interests” and if there is “an

gation has no immediate recourse to state courts’); Sovereign

News Co. V. Falke, 448 F. Supp. 306 (N.D. Ohio 1977) (Younger

abstention appropriate in favor of grand jury proceeding), re-

manded on other grounds, 610 F.2d 428 (6th Cir. 1979); Notey

v. Hynes, 418 F. Supp. 1320, 1826 (E.D.N.Y. 1976) (same). See

also Langley v. Ryder, 602 F. Supp. 335, 338-339 (W.D. La.)

(Younger abstention inapplicable when arrest warrants were issued

and arrests made but no indictments had been filed), aff’d on other

grounds, 778 F.2d 1092 (5th Cir. 1985); Four Unnamed Plaintiffs

v. Hall, 424 F. Supp. 357, 362 (D. Mass. 1976) (Younger does not

“require federal courts to avoid interference with state criminal

or administrative proceedings in the pre-indictment stage’) (em-

phasis in original), rev’d on other grounds, 550 F.2d 1291 (ist

Cir. 1977).

dint —s a

Ah 6 ee OOS Ret SATE NES Dita adits

A AP OLS Madi Dias el” 26 Ae.

6 te oust

il

adequate opportunity in the state proceedings to raise con-

stitutional challenges.” Middlesex County Ethics Comm.

v. Garden State Bar Ass’n, 457 U.S. 423, 432 (1982).

In this case there is no ongoing judicial proceeding af-

fording PEPCO any opportunity to raise its preemption

claim. A grand jury investigation is not a “judicial

proceeding” for abstention purposes. The court below dis-

missed this element of the test for abstention in a foot-

note, noting that “grand juries operate under the auspices

of the judicial branch.” App. 16a n.8. That is not,

however, the pertinent inquiry. Regardless of the extent

to which grand juries are or are not supervised by the

courts, the grand jury proceeding itself is not “ ‘judicial

in nature.’” Ohio Civil Rights Comm’n v. Dayton Chris-

tian Schools, Inc., 106 S. Ct. 2718, 2723 (1986) (quoting

Middlesex County, 457 U.S. at 433).

The requirement that the pending state proceedings be

“judicial in nature” to command abstention looks not to

the extent of supervision or control by the courts but

rather to the function and nature of the proceeding itself.

When this Court has extended Younger to state proceed-

ings that were not in the state courts themselves, those

proceedings have always been “judicial in nature” in

that the agencies had adjudicatory responsibilities and

functioned like courts, issuing a decision on the merits

after hearing from both sides of a dispute and affording

the affected private party an opportunity to present argu-

ments and evidence.

Thus, in Middlesex County, this Court held that ab-

stention was appropriate in favor of proceedings before

a state bar ethics committee. The Court looked to “the

nature of the proceedings” in determining that they could

8 Nor, in light of PEPCO’s preemption claim, can the grand jury

investigation be considered to implicate important state interests.

A state can have no legitimate interest in enforcing regulations

preempted by federal law. See infra at 20-25.

12

be considered “an ongoing state judicial proceeding” for

abstention purposes. Jd. at 435, 432. As the Court ncied:

[A] formal hearing on the complaint is held before

three or more members of the Ethics Committee, a

majority of whom must be attorneys. The lawyer

who is charged with unethical conduct may have

counsel, discovery is available, and all witnesses are

sworn. The panel is required to prepare a written

report with its findings of fact and conclusions. [Jd.

at 426-427. |

In other words, the ethics committee functioned like a

court in considering the charge and rendering its deci-

sion, and abstention was therefore appropriate.

Similarly, in Ohio Civil Rights Comm’n, this Court held

that absteniion was appropriate in favor of proceedings

before the state agency charged with adjudicating civil

rights complaints. Those proceedings were commenced by

the filing of a complaint, the charged party was given an

opportunity to respond, and the agency conducted a full

adversarial hearing. The charged party could appear in

person or through an attorney and could examine and

cross-examine witnesses. See 106 S. Ct. at 2721; Ohio

Rev. Code Ann. § 4112.05 (Supp. 1985). The agency

action constituted “a formal adjudication of the matter,”

and the proceeding could thus be considered “ ‘judicial in

nature’” for abstention purposes. 106 S. Ct. at 2721,

2723 (quoting Middlesex County, 457 U.S. at 433).

The agencies in both Middlesex County and Ohio Civil

Rights Comm’n functioned as courts, and the proceedings

before them thus “ ‘command the respect due court pro-

ceedings’” under Younger. Ohio Civil Rights Comm’n,

106 S. Ct. at 2723 (quoting Gibson v. Berryhill, 411 U.S.

564, 577 (1973)). In contrast, the Court declined to re-

quire abstention in favor of a state administrative pro-

ceeding in Hawaii Housing Authority v. Midkiff, 467

U.S. 229 (1984). The proceeding in that case was not a

formal adjudication similar to a court proceeding but

13

rather mandatory arbitration before the state agency.

See id. at 238. The mandatory arbitration was in ad-

vance of and not any part of the subsequent court action,

id., and the arbitration itself—unlike the formal agency

adjudication in Middlesex County and Ohio Civil Rights

Comm’n—could not be considered “judicial in nature.” °

A state grand jury proceeding is nothing like the

formal agency adjudication in Middlesex County and Ohio

Civil Rights Comm’n, or any of the other agency proceed-

ings in cases in which abstention has been ruled proper.

As the court noted in Monaghan, a state grand jury does

not have “the authority to adjudicate anything.” 798

F.2d at 637. A Maryland grand jury, like its counter-

parts in New Jersey and the federal system, “is an

accusing body, and not a judicial tribunal.” Coblentz v.

State, 164 Md. 558, 566, 166 A. 45, 49 (1933). “[A]

grand jury is an accusatory body which hears but one

side of a case, not a trier of fact which hears both sides

of a case and makes a determination accordingly.”

®In Ohio Civil Rights Comm’n, this Court cited with approval

four lower court decisions ruling that Younger could be applied to

state administrative proceedings that were “judicial in nature.”

106 S. Ct. at 2723 n.2. Those cases clearly indicate that abstention

is only appropriate when the pending proceeding itself is like a

court proceeding. See Williams v. Red Bank Board of Education,

662 F.2d 1008, 1015 (3d Cir. 1981) (abstention in favor of state

administrative proceeding that was “a quasi-judicial, adjudicatory

proceeding that in many respects resembles the judicial proceedings

to which Younger has already been held to command deference’’) ;

McCune v. Frank, 521 F.2d 1152, 1158 (2d Cir. 1975) (abstention

in favor of “trial” before state police disciplinary board) ; McDonald

v. Metro-North Commuter Railroad Division of Metropolitan Transit

Authority, 565 F. Supp. 37, 39 (S.D.N.Y. 1983) (abstention appro-

priate when claims could be raised in multi-tiered administrative

“trials”) ; Grandco Corp. v. Rochford, 536 F.2d 197, 206 (7th Cir.

1976) (abstention not appropriate when proceedings are not before

“any established adjudicatory body’).

aa

14

Bartram v. State, 280 Md. 616, 633, 374 A.2d 1144, 1152

(1977). As the Third Circuit emphasized in Monaghan:

A grand jury proceeds ex parte. * * * It can issue

an indictment, which is no more than a charge that

the defendant has violated the criminal law. Only

when such a charge is filed does there commence a

judicial proceeding that affords the adjudicatory

opportunity that Hawaii Housing and Middlesex

County require. [798 F.2d at 637 (footnote omit-

ted).]

It is the function of a grand jury to investigate and

charge—not to adjudicate." A grand jury investigation,

therefore, cannot be considered to constitute an ongoing

state proceeding that is “judicial in nature” for Younger

purposes.

Moreover, the various proceedings in favor of which

federal courts have abstained have been ones where the

federal claims could be raised and considered. PEPCO

had no opportunity—let alone an adequate opportunity—

to raise its preemption claim before the grand jury in-

vestigating its activities. The State does not suggest that

PEPCO could do so, and Maryland law rather clearly

precludes any effort by a grand jury witness or the tar-

get of an investigation to challenge the authority of the

grand jury to act.” Nor did the court below suggest

that PEPCO could raise its claim in the only state pro-

10 See United States v. Calandra, 414 U.S. at 343 (“A grand jury

proceeding is not an adversary hearing in which the guilt or

innocence of the accused is adjudicated”).

11 See United States v. Cleary, 265 F.2d 459, 461 (2d Cir.)

(“Basically the grand jury is a law enforcement agency”), cert.

denied, 360 U.S. 986 (1959).

12 See In re Special Investigation No. 2387, supra; In re Special

Investigation No. 224, 564 Md. App. at 145, 458 A.2d at 458 (“‘a

witness * * * is not interested to challenge the jurisdiction of

court or grand jury over the subject-matter that is under inquiry’ ”)

(quoting Blair v. United States, 250 U.S. 273, 279 (1919)).

15

ceeding then pending—the grand jury investigation.

Rather, the court required abstention because of the op-

portunity PEPCO would have to raise its claim in a

“separate” prosecution that might be commenced at some

point in the future. App. 18a.

This Court, however, has never required abstention

when the plaintiff had no present opportunity to raise

his federal claims in pending state adjudicatory proceed-

ings. Abstention results in dismissal of the federal suit

in order to permit the federal claims to be raised in the

pending state proceeding, not to preclude or delay litiga-

tion of those claims. If there is no pending proceeding

in which the federal claims can be adjudicated, there is

no justification for a federal court to abdicate jurisdic-

tion and deny the federal plaintiff any opportunity to

have his claims heard. In such a case, federal courts

must “fulfill their duty to adjudicate federal questions

properly brought before them.” Hawaii Housing Au-

thority v. Midkiff, 467 U.S. at 238.

The court below relied upon Middlesex County and

Ohio Civil Rights Comm’n for the proposition that “an

adequate opportunity exists when the federal plaintiff

can present its claim on judicial review of the state

administrative action or order.” App. 17a. Neither

Middlesex County nor Ohio Civil Rights Comm'n, how-

ever, based abstention on the mere possibility of an op-

portunity to raise federal claims at some point in the

future. In Middlesex County there was no question that

the federal claims could he raised and decided in the

pending agency proceeding, and the federal plaintiff could

raise those claims again on review in the state Supreme

Court. See 457 U.S. at 435-436, 427. The Court in

Ohio Civil Rights Comm’n assumed that the federal

claims could be considered in the pending agency pro-

ceeding,”* and noted that “[iJn any event” the claims

13 As the Court noted, “even if Ohio law is such that the Com-

mission may not consider the constitutionality of the statute under

16

could be raised through the judicial-review provided as

a matter of statutory right by the same law authorizing

the agency adjudication. 106 S. Ct. at 2724. The statute

specified that review actions “shall be heard and deter-

mined as expeditiously as possible.” Ohio Rev. Code Ann.

§ 4112.06(I) (1980). The agency adjudication and judi-

cial review were parts of a single pending proceeding,

and the federal plaintiff could raise his claims in that

proceeding. }

PEPCO, however, will only have an opportunity to

raise its claims “[i]f indicted.” App. 18a. A crim-

inal prosecution is not in any sense “judicial review” of

a grand jury proceeding. The two proceedings are en-

tirely separate and addressed to quite distinct questions."

“It is clear * * * that the investigation of a grand jury

is a proceeding which is wholly separate and distinct

from, and of a different nature than, the subsequent trial

of the defendant in the district court.” In re Neff, 206

F.2d 149, 152 (3d Cir. 1953). See United States v.

Coachman, 752 F.2d 685, 691 (D.C. Cir. 1985) (“A

grand jury investigating a suspect and a court trying

an accused * * * engage in separate and dissimilar func-

tions”)."* Indeed, the court below expressly acknowledged

that the grand jury proceeding was “separate” from any

possible future proceeding at which PEPCO could raise

its claims. App. 18a. Thus, even if Ohio Civil Rights

which it operates, it would seem an unusual doctrine * * * to say

that the Commission could not construe its own statutory mandate

in the light of federal constitutional principles.” 106 S. Ct. at 2724.

4 For example, a finding after trial that a defendant is innocent

does not mean that the grand jury was wrong in determining that

there was a sufficient basis for indictment.

See also United States v. Housand, 550 F.2d 818, 821 n3 (2d

Cir.) (grand jury proceeding and case growing out of it “separ-

ate”), cert. denied, 431 U.S. 970 (1977); United States v. Malone,

111 F. Supp. 37, 38-39 (N.D. Cal. 1953) (grand jury and later

case “independent” proceedings).

eee Ee

ae 12S. 42 eee

17

Comm’n is read most broadly as authorizing abstention

when claims can be raised on a judicial review that is

part of the pending adjudicatory proceeding, it does not

control the_present case. A grand jury investigation is

not an adjudicatory proceeding, a subsequent criminal

prosecution is not a part of that pending proceeding, and

such a prosecution is not a “review” of any adjudication

arising from that proceeding.

It is one thing to hold that abstention is proper when

federal claims can be raised on review of a pending pro-

ceeding; it is quite another to require abstention on the

basis of a possible separate future proceeding. Absten-

tion is only appropriate when “federal claims have been

or could be presented in ongoing judicial proceedings,”

Hawaii Housing Authority v. Midkiff, 467 U.S. at 237

(emphasis supplied), not when they could be presented

in proceedings that have yet to commence.’® The lack of

a particular pending proceeding indicates that an oppor-

tunity may never materialize, or that it may not mate-

rialize in timely fashion. Federal courts cannot take the

momentous step of dismissing an action within their

jurisdiction on the strength of such mere possibilities. As

the Court concluded in Steffel v. Thompson, 415 U.S. 452,

472 (1974): “Requiring the federal courts totally to step

aside when no state criminal prosecution is pending

against the federal plaintiff would turn federalism on its

head.”

As noted, the grand jury investigation in this case

has been pending for nineteen months, and PEPCO has

yet to be indicted. The investigation in Monaghan was

pending for eighteen months without indictment when

the Third Circuit issued its opinion. 798 F.2d at 634.

16 As this Court has said: “Younger v. Harris contemplates the

outright dismissal of the federal suit, and the presentation of all

claims, both state and federal, to the state courts. Such a course

naturally presupposes the opportunity to raise and have timely

decided by a competent state tribunal the federal issues involved.”

Gibson v. Berryhill, 411 U.S. at 577 (emphasis supplied).

18

The opportunity to raise federal claims in Ohio Civil

Rights Comm’n was available at the very latest upon

review of a then-pending proceeding. There is no telling

when—if ever—PEPCO will have the opportunity to

raise its federal claims.

The court below reasoned that PEPCO’s federal rights -

were fully protected since PEPCO could raise its-pre-

emption claim if indicted, apparently assuming that if

PEPCO were not indicted the issue would simply go

away. PEPCO, however, did not seek declaratory relief

simply to forestall indictment. As noted previously,

Maryland’s insistence on regulating PCBs in defiance of

the express preemption provision in federal law has di-

rectly affected PEPCO’s ongoing business operations,

quite apart from the subject matter of the grand jury

investigation. Even in the absence of possible indictment,

PEPCO would still have a compelling reason to seek

declaratory relief. The decision below permits the State

to deny PEPCO its right to have its federal claim de-

cided, simply by continuing the grand jury investigation.

So long as that investigation continues, PEPCO is pre-

cluded from raising its claim. Such a result is a perver-

sion of the principles animating Younger. The purpose

of Younger abstention is to have federal claims decided

in pending state judicial proceedings, not to permit a

State to hold such claims hostage awaiting the com-

mencement of such proceedings.

The decision below permits state authorities to pre-

clude access to federal court through the simple expe-

dient of invoking the aid of a grand jury in an investi-

gation. Apparently any involvement by a grand jury is

sufficient to mandate abstention under the ruling below.

Since grand juries operate ex parte and in secret, a plain-

tiff would typically have no way of knowing that his

federal suit was barred until after it was filed, if the

State chooses at that time to disclose the pendency of its

grand jury investigation.

19

Indeed, the State need not even commence its investi-

gation prior to the filing of the federal suit. Under Hicks

v. Miranda, 422 U.S. 332, 349-350 (1975), abstention is

required even when the state proceedings begin after

filing of the federal suit, so long as there have been no

proceedings of substance on the merits in the federal

suit. The decision below thus invites States to respond

to suit in federal court simply by initiating an investi-

gation directed at the federal plaintiff, thereby divest-

ing the federal court of jurisdiction

The ruling below also may well have the unintended

result of increasing the disruption of state proceedings

by federal courts that Younger was intended to prevent.

Under that ruling, it will be necessary for federal courts

to determine if in fact the federal plaintiff is the target

of a pending state grand jury investigation. The neces-

sity of such a finding not only deprives the grand jury

of the secrecy that is often critical to its investigative

efforts,’7 but also may require the federal court to scru-

tinize and intrude upon the operations of the state grand

jury. If the federal plaintiff challenges the State’s asser-

tion that he is the target of a grand jury investigation,

some factfinding by the District Court will be necessary

to resolve the dispute. Such factfinding could well include

testimony by the state prosecutor and the grand jurors

themselves, as well as review of testimony and evidence

presented to the grand jury to determine if the federal

plaintiff is in fact a target. Presumably it would be

necessary to permit discovery on these issues. It is dif-

ficult to discern how such necessary proceedings would

promote the “proper respect for state functions” under-

lying Younger, 401 U.S. at 44.%

17 See United States v. Sells Engineering, Inc., 463 U.S. 418, 425

(1983) (“the traditional rule of grand jury secrecy”); United

States v. Johnson, 319 U.S. 508, 518 (1948) (“the indispensable

secrecy of grand jury proceedings’’).

18 These issues are not merely hypothetical. In Monaghan v.

Deakins, 798 F.2d at 636 n.4, the plaintiffs claimed that they were

20

Nor is there any apparent reason to restrict the deci-

sion below to investigations aided by a grand jury. The

States are not required to employ grand juries,” and in

many States prosecutors are authorized to “ ‘take[] the

place of a grand jury’” in conducting investigations.

Kaylor v. Fields, 661 F.2d 1177, 1182 (8th Cir. 1981)

(quoting Johnson v. State, 199 Ark. 196, 204, 133 S.W.2d

15, 18 (1939) ).

The logic of the court below would seem to require

abstention in favor of any pending state investigation:

if the investigation—however conducted—culminates in a

prosecution, the defendant can raise his federal claims

at that point. The fact that such a result is implicit in

the ruling below simply highlights the fundamental error

in requiring abstention in favor of a mere investigation

rather than an actual prosecution.

III. The Court Below Erred In Requiring Abstention In A

Case Involving A Preemptive Federal Statute

As noted above and as the court below recognized, “the

Supreme Court has never analyzed the treatment of a

preemption claim in applying the Younger doctrine.”

App. 16a n.7. At least six other Circuits have, how-

ever, and each has held—contrary to the decision below—

that Younger generally does not apply in a preemption

case. Indeed, application of the contrary rule adopted

by the court below would have meant that several of

this Court’s most important decisions holding that fed-

eral law preempted state law would never have been

not in fact subject to a state grand jury investigation, and the

Court of Appeals noted that the finding by the District Court that _

they were was not supported by the sources cited by the District

Court. The holding of the Third Circuit that abstention was not

appropriate in favor of grand jury proceedings avoided the necessity

of resolving the factual challenge.

19 See Rose v. Mitchell, 443 U.S. 545, 557 n.7 (1979); Hurtado v.

California, 110 U.S. 516 (1884).

21

decided, given the pendency of some kind of state in-

vestigative effort directed against the plaintiff at the

time the preemption ruling was sought.”

The decision in Younger was based on “the belief that

the National Government will fare best if the States and

their institutions are left free to perform their separate

functions in their separate ways.” 401 U.S. at 44. When

Congress expressly preempts state jurisdiction, however,

it has determined that state regulation is not a separate

“state function” that the State should be left free to

perform in its “separate way.” Abstaining in such a

case permits the State to do precisely what Congress has

decreed it must not do. Congress is free under the

Supremacy Clause to preempt state law, and at least when

Congress has expressly done so, federal courts should not

undermine that determination by deferring to preempted

state proceedings.” For these reasons, Courts of Appeals

in the Second, Third, Fifth, Eighth, Ninth, and Fleventh

Circuits have held that abstention under Younger is gen-

erally not appropriate in a preemption case.

In Stone & Webster Engineering Corp. v. Ilsley, 690

F.2d 323 (2d Cir. 1982), affd mem. sub nom. Arcudi V.

Stone & Webster Engineering Corp., 463 U.S. 1220

(1983), the Second Circuit considered an ERISA pre-

emption claim, and declined to abstain in favor of a

pending state proceeding. As the court concluded: ‘“Ab-

stention * * * under the doctrine of Younger v. Harris

* * * is not appropriately invoked in a preemption case.”

690 F.2d at 326 n.2. See also id. at 326 n.3; Marshall

2° See, e.g., Jones Vv. Rath Packing Co., 430 US. 519 (1977) ;

Capital Cities Cable, Inc. v. Crisp, 467 U.S. 691 (1984).

21 See 1A Moore’s Federal Practice { 0.203[2] at 2141 (“Where

the very existence of the challenged state regulatory scheme vio-

lates a federal statute that preempts the field, neither Pullman,

Burford, nor Younger abstention may be appropriate’).

_ 22

v. Chase Manhattan Bank, 558 F.2d 680, 683-684 (2d

Cir. 1977) .?

This same approach to abstention in preemption cases

was followed by the Third Circuit in Hotel & Restaurant

Employees International Union v. Danziger, 709 F.2d 815

(3d Cir. 1988), vacated on other grounds, 468 U.S. 491

(1984). In that case a union sought a declaratory judg-

ment that the labor provisions of the New Jersey Casino

Control Act were preempted by federal labor law and

ERISA. The court rejected the argument that it should

abstain in favor of a pending state proceeding, conclud-

ing that “when the issue tendered to a federal district

court is the very power, as a matter of federal law, to

entertain a threatened proceeding, the principles of comity

and federalism which apparently animate the Younger v.

Harris rule are totally inapplicable.” 709 F.2d at 833.%

22In Marcal Paper Mills, Inc. v. Ewing, 790 F.2d 195 (1st Cir.

1986), the First Circuit expressed “ho opinion as to * * * whether

or not there should be a preemption exception to the Younger ab-

stention doctrine,” but it did recognize that the Second Circuit has

held “that Younger abstention is generally inappropriate * cases

involving issues of federal preemption.” Jd. at 198 (citing Stone &

Webster Engineering Corp. v. Ilsley, supra). See also Town of

Springfield, Vermont v. McCarren, 549 F. Supp. 1134, 1153 (D. Vt.

1982) (court declines to abstain under Younger because “the cus-

tomary deference to state enforcement efforts is suspended when

* * * the plaintiffs’ challenge is that those efforts are preempted’’),

aff'd mem., 722 F.2d 728 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 942

(1983).

23In Kentucky West Virginia Gas Co. v. Pennsylvania Public

Utility Comm’n, 791 F.2d 1111, 1116-17 (3d Cir. 1986), another

panel of the Third Circuit noted in passing that it would be an

“overstatement” to suggest that Younger was never appropriate

in a preemption case, but cited the fact that the federal claim was

one of preemption as a factor counselling against the application of

Younger. The court held that the District Court erred in abstain-

ing. In United Services Automobile Ass’n v. Muir, 792 F.2d 356,

364 n.4 (3d Cir. 1986), the court referred to the holding in Kentucky

West Virginia Gas Co. that “preemption questions are often not

23

In South Central Bell Telephone Co. v. Louisiana Public

Service Comm’n, 744 F.2d 1107 (5th Cir. 1984), vacated

and remanded on other grounds, 106 S. Ct. 2884 (1986),

the court declined to apply Younger abstention to a claim

that federal law preempted state regulation of telephone

service. As the court noted, “the claim presented here is

predicated upon a naked exercise of the federal preemp-

tion power.” Under such circumstances, it is “well-

established” that the concern of “ ‘avoiding needless fed-

eral court intervention into important matters within

the state’s jurisdiction * * * obviously is lacking.’ ” Id. at

1123 (quoting Aluminwm Company of America v. Util-

ities Commission of North Carolina, 713 F.2d 1024, 1030

(4th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1052 (1984) .™

The Eighth Circuit similarly held that Younger ab-

stention was not appropriately involved in a preemption

ease in Middle South Energy, Inc. v. Arkansas Public

Service Comm’n, 772 F.2d 404, 417 (8th Cir. 1985), cert.

denied, 106 S. Ct. 884 (1986). The federal plaintiff al-

leged that the Federal Power Act preempted efforts by

a state utility commission to regulate contracts for the

suitable for abstention under the doctrines announced in Burford

and Younger.”

24 New Orleans Public Service, Inc. v. City of New Orleans, 798

F.2d 858 (5th Cir. 1986), is not to the contrary. The court in that

case upheld abstention under Burford v. Sun Oil Co., 319 U.S. 315

(1943), noting only in dicta that Younger abstention also “seems

appropriate” and “could be” the basis for the District Court’s de-

cision to abstain. 798 F.2d at 863-864. The court expressly rec-

ognized that “abstention in the face of a federal preemption claim

is, at a minimum, problematical.” Jd. at 860. It upheld abstention

only because of the “particular structure” of the federal statute

at issue in that case. 7d. Far from expressly preempting state law

—as does the statute at issue in this case—the statute in New Or-

leans Public Service expressly “preserved to the states” jurisdic-

tion over the subject of the federal plaintiff’s claim. Id. at 864, 860.

Indeed, the court specifically cautioned that its holding should not

necessarily apply “in cases presenting other types of federal! pre-

emption claims.” Jd. at 861.

24

interstate purchase of power, much as PEPCO alleges

in this case that a federal statute preempts efforts by

Maryland to regulate PCBs. The court declined to ab-

stain in favor of pending proceedings before the Com-

mission, reasoning that the comity underlying Younger

is not strained when a federal court cuts off state

proceedings that entrench upon the federal do-

main. The legitimate state interest contemplated by

Younger does not exist when the state action has

been preempted or foreclosed by the Constitution.

[772 F.2d at 417 (citations omitted) .]

In Champion International Corp. v. Brown, 731 F.2d

1406 (9th Cir. 1984), the plaintiff filed suit in Federal

District Court, alleging that Montana’s age discrimina-

tion law was preempted by ERISA. The District Court

abstained under Younger in favor of pending state ad-

ministrative and court proceedings, and the Ninth Cir-

cuit reversed. The Court of Appeals recognized that

Younger abstention is only appropriate if the pending

state proceeding implicates important state interests, and

held that a state can have no interest in enforcing state

laws expressly preempted by Congress. Jd. at 1408-09.

Baggett v. Department of Professional Regulation, 717

F.2d 521 (11th Cir. 1983), involved an action by a ma-

rine pilot seeking to enjoin a state inquiry into his pilot-

ing of a tugboat. The pilot claimed that his actions were

subject to the exclusive regulation of the U.S. Coast

Guard. The State argued that the District Court should

abstain in favor of the state proceeding, and that court

agreed. On appeal, the Eleventh Circuit held that the

District Court erred in abstaining: “When preemption

is readily apparent, * * * and, because of preemption,

the state tribunal is acting beyond the lawful limits of

its authority, abstention can serve no principles of ‘com-

ity’ or of ‘our federalism.’” Id. at 524.

25 Like the court in Kentucky West Virginia Gas Co., supra, the

Eleventh Circuit remarked in dicta that it would be an “overstate-

25

The court below simply ignored the foregoing, dis-

missing the argument that abstention does not apply in

a preemption case in a brief footnote. See App. l6a

n.7. In contrast to the six Circuits surveyed above, the

court below held that “the same logic requiring absten-

tion when there is a constitutional challenge * * * ap-

plies to litigation where there is a claim of federal pre-

emption.” Jd. The court stated that it would be “anomal-

ous” to hold that abstention is appropriate for constitu-

tional but not preemption issues.

No such anomaly exists. In a typical case in which

_abstention is appropriate, the federal claim is not that

the State is entirely disabled from acting in the area.

In Ohio Civil Rights Comm’n, for example, the claim

was not that the State could not enforce civil rights

laws, but that they could not be applied in a manner that

interfered with the federal plaintiffs’ rights under the

Free Exercise Clause. In a preemption case such as the

present one and those discussed above, the claim is quali-

tatively different. It is that any action the State takes

in the area would contravene federal law. Here, PEPCO’s

claim is that Congress has expressly preempted state

regulation of PCBs. Abstaining from deciding this claim

in favor of possible state proceedings would deprive

PEPCO of the very right it seeks to have vindicated—

the right to be free of state regulation of PCBs.

ment” to assert that Younger abstention was never appropriate

in a preemption case. 717 F.2d at 524. The judicious reluctance of

the court to announce an absolute rule, applicable in every conceiv-

able case, certainly does nothing to diminish the conflict with the

ruling of the court below that preemption claims should be treated

no differently than other federal claims for abstention purposes.

The Baggett and Kentucky West Virginia Gas Co. courts were pre-

sumably concerned about cases in which the preemption claim was

clearly spurious and perhaps raised only to avoid abstention, a sit-

uation hardly presented by this case, in which federal preemption is

express and preemption is the sum and substance of the plaintiff’s

claim.

26

IV. The Uniform Resolution Of The Questions Presented

Is Of Overriding Importance To The Smooth Function-

ing Of The Federal System

The issues over which the Fourth Circuit has split from

the other Circuits are ones on which there is a clear

need for national uniformity. The same principles ani-

mating the Younger doctrine require that Younger be

applied in a consistent fashion to identical proceedings in

different States.

Younger was based on “a proper respect for state

functions, a recognition of the fact that the entire coun-

try is made up of a Union of separate state govern-

ments.” 401 U.S. at 44. Such respect is hardly fostered

when the federal courts effectively differentiate among

the States for purposes of abstention. If the ruling be-

low stands, federal courts will defer to the grand jury

proceedings of Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South

Carolina, and West Virginia,. but not to those of Penn-

sylvania, New Jersey, and Delaware. In the Second,

Third, Fifth, Eighth, Ninth, and Eleventh Circuits, fed-

eral courts generally do not abstain in favor of state

proceedings when the federal plaintiff claims Congress

has expressly preempted state law. In the Fourth Cir-

cuit, they will. A “proper respect” for the States by the

federal judiciary requires, at the very least, that the

federal judiciary not treat identical state proceedings

differently depending on the State in which they take

place. =

For the reasons developed above, “sensitivity to the

legitimate interests of both State and National Govern-

ments,” id., does not require abstention by federal courts

in favor of pending state grand jury investigations. If |

federal courts do abstain in favor of the grand jury

proceedings of New Jersey, however, this sensitivity re-

quires that they similarly defer to grand jury proceed-

ings of Maryland, or that if they do not defer to Mary-

land proceedings, they similarly not defer to New Jersey

27

proceedings. By the same token, a federal court in New

York presented with a claim based on federal preemption

will not abstain in favor of New York State proceedings,

while a federal court in Maryland presented with the

identical claim under the same federal statute will ab-

stain in favor of identical Maryland proceedings.

There are situations in which the uniform application

of federal law, while always desirable, is not critical. In

some cases Congress can resolve any conflict in inter-

pretation, or a conflict may be tolerated for several

years as issues are refined and sharpened. The absten-

tion doctrine, however, was created by this Court; only

this Court can ensure its uniform application. And dis-

parity in treatment of the sovereign States by the lower

federal courts is not an issue on which conflict may be

tolerated. Review by this Court is necessary to ensure

uniformity in this delicate area of state-federal rela-

tions.

The issue over which the Third and Fourth Circuits

have split will arise repeatedly. Grand juries are con-

stantly sitting in States throughout this country.* In

some cases they act, and in others they do not. To hold

that the mere pendency of such secret proceedings—or

of other investigative procedures—suffices to preclude a

legitimate claim of federai preemption from being raised

and decided would effect a dramatic shift in present law.

At the very least it would mean that grand jurors and

prosecutors could act unchecked on the basis of state laws

expressly preempted by Congress. Such a power in the

hands of prosecutors should not be sanctioned without

this Court’s approval. Indeed, the decision below could

well prompt changes in state investigative practices,

26 Grand jury indictments are required for specified crimes in

half the States, and the use of a grand jury is optional at the dis-

cretion of the prosecutor in the other States. National Institute

of Justice, Grand Jury Reform: A Review of Key Isswes 12 (1983).

28

with prosecutors going through the formality of enlist-

ing the aid of a grand jury at the earliest stages of an

investigation to insulate the investigation from any scru-

tiny by federal courts.

Similarly, the large number of Circuits that have re-

cently addressed the question of the appropriateness of

abstention in federal preemption cases demonstrates

that the issue arises with great frequency.. This Court

should grant the writ to resolve the existing conflict

among the Circuits and provide definitive guidance to

the lower federal courts on these significant and recurring

issues of federal jurisprudence.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this Court should grant the

writ and reverse the decision of the court below.

Respectfully submitted,

E. BARRETT PRETTYMAN, JR.*

SHERWIN J. MARKMAN

~JOHN C. KEENEY, JR.

Davip J. HAYES

JOHN G. ROBERTs, JR.

HOGAN & HARTSON

(a partnership including

professional corporations)

815 Connecticut Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 331-4685

ARNOLD W. WEINER

Of Counsel: MICHAEL SCHATZOW

KATHLEEN B. DEWEESE ETHAN L. BAUMAN

Associate General Counsel MELNICOVE, KAUFMAN, WEINER,

POTOMAC ELECTRIC Smouse & Garsts, P.A.

PowER COMPANY 36 South Charles St.

1900 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W. Baltimore, MD 21201

Washington, D.C. 20068 (301) 332-8525

(202) 872-2520 Counsel for Petitioner

* Counsel of Record

APPENDICES

fi Meear

nay iets

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 86-1572

THE POTOMAC ELECTRIC POWER COMPANY,

Appellant,

versus

STEPHEN H. SACHS, in his capacity as Attorney General

of Maryland* ADELE WILZACK, in her capacity as

Secretary of the Maryland Department of Health and

Mental Hygiene,

Appellees,

STATE OF NEW YORK

Amicus Curiae,

STATE OF ALABAMA,

Amicus Curiae,

NIAGARA MOHAWK POWER CORPORATION,

Amicus Curiae,

EDISON ELECTRIC INSTITUTE,

Amicus Curiae,

NATIONAL RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION,

Amicus Curiae,

AMERICAN PUBLIC POWER ASSOCIATION,

Amicus Curiae,

AMERICAN ELECTRIC POWER SERVICE CORPORATION,

Amicus Curiae,

APPALACHIAN POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

2a

CoLuMBUS & SOUTHERN OHIO ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

INDIANA & MICHIGAN ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

OHIO POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

ATLANTIC CITY ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

BALTIMORE GAS & ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

CENTRAL HUDSON GAS & ELECTRIC CORPORATION,

Amicus Curiae,

CENTRAL ILLINOIS LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

CENTRAL ILLINOIS PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

CENTRAL & SOUTH WEST SERVICES,

Amicus Curiae,

COMMONWEALTH EDISON COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

CONSOLIDATED EDISON COMPANY OF NEW YORK, INC.,

Amicus Curiae,

DAYTON POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

DELMARVA POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

DUKE POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

DUQUESNE LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

FLORIDA POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

OO

3a

HousTON LIGHTING & POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

ILLINOIS POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

INDIANAPOLIS POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

IowA Power & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

CINCINATTI GAS & ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

IowA PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

JERSEY CENTRAL POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

MADISON GAS & ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

MINNESOTA POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

MONOGAHELA POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

MONTAUP ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

NEW ENGLAND PoWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

NEW YorRK STATE ELECTRIC & GAS CORPORATION,

Amicus Curiae,

OHIO VALLEY ELECTRIC CORPORATION,

Amicus Curiae,

OKLAHOMA GAS & ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

PaciFic GAS & ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

4a

PaciFic PowEr & LIGHT CoMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

PENNSYLVANIA POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

PHILADELPHIA ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

PUBLIC SERVICE ELECTRIC & GAS COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY OF INDIANA, INC.,

Amicus Curiae,

SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA EDISON COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

SOUTHERN COMPANY SERVICES, INC.,

Amicus Curiae,

ALABAMA POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

GEORGIA POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

GULF PowWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

MISSISSIPPI POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

TAMPA ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

TEXAS UTILITIES GENERATING COMPANY, |

Amicus Curiae,

CLEVELAND ELECTRIC ILLUMINATING COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

DETROIT EDISON COMPANY,

~ Amicus Curiae,

POTOMAC EDISON COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

5a

TOLEDO EDISON COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

UNION ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

VIRGINIA ELECTRIC POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

WEST PENN POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

WISCONSIN ELECTRIC POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

WISCONSIN POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

WISCONSIN PUBLIC SERVICE CORPORATION,

Amicus Curiae,

CHESAPEAKE BAY FOUNDATION,

Amicus Curiae,

NATURAL RESOURCES DEFENSE COUNCIL, INC.,

Amicus Curiae,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Amicus Curiae.

No. 86-1573

THE POTOMAC ELECTRIC POWER COMPANY,

Appellee,

versus

STEPHEN H. SACHS, in his capacity as Attorney General

of Maryland; ADELE WILZACK, in her capacity as

Secretary of the Maryland Department of Health and

Mental Hygiene,

Appellants,

6a

STATE OF NEW YORK,

Amicus Curiae,

STATE OF ALABAMA,

Amicus Curiae,

NIAGARA MOHAWK POWER CORPORATION,

Amicus Curiae,

EDISON ELECTRIC INSTITUTE,

Amicus Curiae,

NATIONAL RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION,

Amicus Curiae,

AMERICAN PUBLIC POWER ASSOCIATION,

Amicus Curiae,

AMERICAN ELECTRIC POWER -SERVICE CORPORATION,

Amicus Curiae,

APPALACHIAN POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

CoLUMBUS & SOUTHERN OHIO ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

INDIANA & MICHIGAN ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

OHIO POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

ATLANTIC CITY ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

BALTIMORE GAS & ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

CENTRAL HUDSON GAS & ELECTRIC CORPORATION,

Amicus Curiae,

CENTRAL ILLINOIS LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

CENTRAL ILLINOIS PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

Ta

CENTRAL & SOUTH WEST SERVICES,

Amicus Curiae,

CINCINNATI GAS & ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

COMMONWEALTH EDISON COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

CONSOLIDATED EDISON COMPANY OF NEW YORK,

Amicus Curiae,

DAYTON POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

DELMARVA POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

DUKE POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

DUQUESNE LIGHT COMPANY

Amicus Curiae,

FLORIDA POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

HOUSTON LIGHTING & POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

ILLINOIS POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

INDIANAPOLIS POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

IowA POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

IOWA PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

JERSEY CENTRAL POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

MADISON GAS & ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

INC.,

8a

MINNESOTA POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

MONOGAHELA POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

MONTAUP ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

NEW ENGLAND POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

NEW YoRK STATE ELECTRIC & GAS CORPORATION,

Amicus Curiae,

OHIO VALLEY ELECTRIC CORPORATION,

Amicus Curiae,

OKLAHOMA GAS & ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

PAcIFIC GAS & ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

PACIFIC POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

PENNSYLVANIA POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

PHILADELPHIA ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

PUBLIC SERVICE ELECTRIC & GAS COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY OF INDIANA, INC.,

Amicus Curiae,

SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA EDISON COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

SOUTHERN COMPANY SERVICES, INC.,

Amicus Curiae,

ALABAMA POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

9a

GEORGIA POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

GULF POWER COMPANY,

Amicus C WAGE,

MISSISSIPPI POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

TAMPA ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

TEXAS UTILITIES GENERATING COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

CLEVELAND ELECTRIC ILLUMINATING COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

DETROIT EDISON COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

POTOMAC EDISON COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

TOLEDO EDISON COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

UNION ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

VIRGINIA ELECTRIC POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

WEST PENN POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

WISCONSIN ELECTRIC POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

WISCONSIN POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

WISCONSIN PUBLIC SERVICE CORPORATION,

Amicus Curiae,

CHESAPEAKE BAY FOUNDATION,

Amicus Curiae,

10a

NATURAL RESOURCES DEFENSE COUNCIL, INC.,

Amicus Curiae,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Amicus Curiae.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of Maryland, at Baltimore.

Walter E. Black, Jr., United States District Judge.

(CA-86-220-B).

Argued: July 14, 1986 Decided: October 17, 1986

Before PHILLIPS, SPROUSE and CHAPMAN, Circuit Judges.

Arnold M. Weiner (Michael Schatzow; Ethan L. Bau-

man; Melnicove, Kaufman, Weiner & Smouse on brief) ;

E. Barrett Prettyman, Jr. (Sherwin J. Markman; John

C. Keeney, Jr.; David J. Hayes; Hogan & Hartson;

Kathleen B. DeWeese, Associate General Counsel, Po-

tomac Electric Power Company, on brief) for Appel-

lant/cross Appellee; Ralph S. Tyler, Assistant Attorney

General (Stephen H. Sachs, Atorney General; Richard

M. Hall, Michael C. Powell, Kathie A. Stein, Charles R.

Taylor, Jr., Assistant Attorneys General on brief) for

Appellees/cross Appellants; Karen L. Florini, United

States Department of Justice, (F. Henry Habicht, II,

Assistant Attorney General; Jacques B. Gelin; Margaret

A. Hill; United States Department of Justice; Francis

S. Blake, General Counsel; Bruce M. Diamond, Regional

Counsel; Terrell Hunt, Associate Enforcement Counsel;

Alan H. Carpien; Environmental Protection Agency on

brief) for Amicus Curiae United States of America;

(Robert Abrams, Attorney General of the State of New

York; Lawrence A. Rappoport, Associate Attorney; Nancy

Stearns, Assistant Attorney General; John K. Van de

oa

lla

Kamp, Attorney General of State of California; Theodora

Berger, Assistant Attorney General; Timothy R. Patter-

son, Deputy Attorney General; Charles A. Graddick, At-

torney General of the State of Alabama; Craig Kneisel,

Assistant Attorney General; Joseph I. Lieberman, Attor-

ney General of the State of Connecticut; Kenneth Ted-

ford, Assistant Attorney General on brief) for Amici

Curiae State of New York, et al; (Ann Powers, Vice

President and General Counsel; Catherine A. Cotter on

brief) for Amicus Curiae Chesapeake Bay Foundation,

Inc.; (Jacqueline M. Warren; Donald S. Strait, Lawanda

Still, Legal Assistant on brief) for Amicus Curiae Na-

tural Resources Defense Council, Inc.; (William L. Ko-

vacs; Henry W. Killeen, III; Donald S. Stefanski;

Jaeckle, Fleischmann & Mugel; Joseph F. Cleary, Assist-

ant Secretary and General Attorney, Niagara Mohawk

Power Corporation on brief) for Amicus Curiae Niagara

Mohawk Power Corporation; (J. Thomas Wolfe; Lynne

H. Church on brief) for Amicus Curiae Baltimore Gas

and Electric Company; (Toni K. Allen; Mary F. Edgar;

Piper & Marbury on brief) for Amici Curiae Edison

Electric Institute, et al.

SPROUSE, Circuit Judge:

The Potomac Electric Power Company (PEPCO) ap-

peals from the district court’s summary judgment in

favor of Steven Sachs, Attorney General of the State

of Maryland (Maryland), in PEPCO’s declaratory judg-

ment action. PEPCO sought a judgment holding that the

federal Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA)' preempts

Maryland’s hazardous waste laws and regulations,? which,

among other things, govern the use and disposal of poly-

chlorinated biphenyls (PCBs). PEPCO also sought re-

115 U.S.C. § 2601 et seq.

2Md. Health-Envtl. Code Ann. §§ 7-101 et seq., 9-301 et seq.

(1982); Md. Admin. Code tit. 10, §51 (Disposal of Controlled

Hazardous Substances).

12a

lief preventing Maryland from enforcing those laws and

regulations against PEPCO. The district court denied

PEPCO’s motion for summary judgment and instead

held that TSCA did not preempt the challenged state

statutes. On appeal, PEPCO primarily contends that the

district court erred because a plain reading of TSCA

clearly indicates Congress’ intent that the Act preempt

any state regulation of PCB disposal.*

On cross-appeal, Maryland, of course, agrees with the

district court’s decision on the merits, but argues that

the court erred by refusing to abstain in deference to

previously instituted grand jury proceedings. Maryland

had initiated the grand jury proceeding to investigate

whether PEPCO had violated Maryland’s criminal laws

and regulations governing hazardous waste disposal.

These proceedings were in progress at the time this de-

claratory judgment action was filed. We agree with

Maryland and hold that the district court should have

abstained.

PEPCO is the electric utility corporation serving the

District of Columbia and some of its suburbs in Mary-

land and Virginia. Historically, it has used electrical

transformers filled with mineral oil. In many of the

transformers, the oil was permanently contaminated with

PCBs during the manufacturing process. PCBs are

highly toxic materials. PEPCO disposed of the obsolete

transformers involved here by sale through competitive

bids to scrap metal dealers—in this instance to United

Rigging and Hauling, Inc. (United Rigging), of Belts-

ville, Maryland. Pursuant to their contract, United Rig-

ging transported the obsolete transformers from PEPCO’s

District of Columbia testing facility. to United Rigging’s

-_~

3It is of no consequence in light of our decision on abstention,

but there is no merit to Maryland’s argument that the district

court lacked jurisdiction. See Lawrence County v. Lead-Deadwood

School District, US. , 105 S. Ct. 695, 698 n.6 (1985);

Shaw v. Delia Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85, 96 n.14 (1983).

a ee ee

13a

salvage yard in Maryland where the scrapping activities

were carried out.

In 1985, Maryland’s Waste Management Administra-

tion determined that United Rigging’s salvage yard and

a nearby creek were contaminated with PCBs. Follow-

ing that determination, PEPCO and United Rigging en-

tered into an Administrative Consent Order with the

State of Maryland and the Environmental Protection

Agency to conduct a cleanup of the site under the Com-

prehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and

Liability Act of 1980.4 In April of 1985, the Attorney

General of Maryland commenced a grand jury criminal

investigation of PEPCO’s and United Rigging’s roles in

scrapping the transformers and dispésing of the hazardous

material. It appears the grand jury was on the verge

of indicting PEPCO.*

Against this background of state activity, PEPCO

brought this declaratory judgment action in the United

States District Court for the District of Maryland, seek-

ing a declaration that provisions of TSCA preempt Mary-

land’s laws and regulations on hazardous waste disposal.®

PEPCO filed a motion for summary judgment and the

district court, ruling against PEPCO, held that TSCA

does not preempt Maryland’s hazardous waste disposal

laws and regulations. PEPCO appeals from this decision

and Maryland cross-appeals from the district court’s re-

4 42 U.S.C. § 9601 et seq.

5In its opinion, the district court concluded that “an indictment

of PEPCO for_alleged responsibility for or participation in the

United Rigging contamination is imminent.” United Rigging has

since entered into a plea agreement with the Attorney General of

Maryland for violations of the Health-Environment Article of the

Maryland Code.

®PEPCO argues that to avoid preemption of its PCB disposal

laws, a state must apply for and receive an exemption under 15

U.S.C. § 2617(b) ; and Maryland did neither.

l4a

fusal to abstain. Because we hold that abstention is ap-

propriate in this case, we do not address the merits of

PEPCO’s preemption claim.

The district court ruled in response to Maryland’s

motion to dismiss that abstention under Younger v.

Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971), was inappropriate. It ana-

lyzed the Younger doctrine and concluded that it did not

apply to state grand jury proceedings because there

was no adequate opportunity for PEPCO to raise its

federal claim of preemption before the grand jury. The

district court viewed the grand jury investigation as a

proceeding that was separate from the possible result-

ing criminal prosecution. It noted that since there was

no certainty of indictment, it was possible that PEPCO

would never be able to present the preemption claim in

state court. Further, the court reasoned that, even if

indicted, there was no indication of how long PEPCO

would have to wait for a state forum in which to present

its claim of federal preemption. We cannot agree with

the conclusion the district court reached from this rea-

soning.

Younger v. Harris set forth the established “national

policy forbidding federal courts to stay or enjoin pend-

- ing state court proceedings except under special circum-

stances.” 401 U.S. at 41 (footnote omitted). Specifically,

“a federal court should not enjoin a state criminal pros-

ecution begun prior to the institution of the federal suit

except in very unusual situations, where necessary to

prevent immediate irreparable injury.” Samuels v.

Mackell, 401 U.S. 66, 69 (1971). A companion case to

Younger, Samuels v. Mackell held that declaratory relief

should also be denied where an injunction would be im-

proper under Younger. Id. at 73. The Court, however,

recognized exceptions to abstention for prosecutions

brought in bad faith or for harassment purposes or in

other extraordinary circumstances. Younger v. Harris,

401 U.S. at 53.

15a

The Supreme Court has never addressed the issue of

whether Younger applies to state grand jury proceed-

ings. It has ruled, however, that the doctrine applies

to quasi-criminal proceedings such as nuisance actions,

Huffman v. Pursue, Ltd., 420 U.S. 592 (1975); to state

civil enforcement activ'ties such as the recovery of

fraudulently obtained welfare paymentsyTrainor v. Her-

nandez, 431 U.S. 484 (1977); child custody actions,

Moore v. Sims, 442 U.S. 415 (1979); and contempt pro-

ceedings, Juidice v. Vail, 480 U.S. 327 (1977); and to

state administrative proceedings in which important

state interests are involved and an adequate opportunity

exists to present federal or constitutional challenges to

the state action, Ohio Civil Rights Commission v. Dayton

Christian Schools, 54 U.S.L.W. 4860 (U.S. June 24,

1986) ; Middlesex County Ethics Committee v. Garden

State Bar Association, 457 U.S. 423 (1982); Gibson v.

Berryhill, 411 U.S. 564 (1973).

The fundamental principles underlying Younger and

its progeny of decisions are equity, comity and federal-

ism. A “basic doctrine of equity jurisprudence [is] that

courts of equity should not act, and particularly should

not act to restrain a criminal prosecution, when the mov-

ing party has an adequate remedy at law and will not

suffer irreparable injury if denied equitable relief.”

Younger, 401 U.S. at 43-44. The notion of comity is

one of federal courts having the “proper respect for

state functions,” which reinforces the policy of noninter-

ference in state criminal proceedings by courts of equity.

Id. at 44. Federalism represents

a system in which there is sensitivity to the legiti-

mate interests of both State and National Govern-

ments, and in which the National Government, anx-

ious though it may be to vindicate and protect fed-

eral rights and federal interests, always endeavors

to do so in ways that will not unduly interfere with

the legitimate activities of the States.

l6a

These principles encompass the belief that state courts

are as capable as federal courts of deciding federal or

constitutional issues; therefore, all state and federal

claims should be addressed in the pending state proceed-

ing. See Moore v. Sims, 442 U.S. at 320; Huffman v.

Pursue, Ltd., 420 U.S. at 611. See also Lynch v. Snepp,

472 F.2d 769, 774 (4th Cir. 1973}—(C“It-should never

be forgotten that the Constitution literally calls state

judges by name. . . and puts upon them the obligation

to apply the supreme Law of the Land.”).” These clas-

sic precepts, we think, apply to a state quasi-judicial ac-

tion taken within its grand jury system with as much

or more force as they apply to the state administrative,

civil, and quasi-criminal involved in in Dayton Christian

Schools, Moore v. Sims, Trainor v. Hernandez, and Huff-

man v. Pursue, Ltd.* A common thread to these de-

TWhile the Supreme Court has never analyzed the treatment

of a preemption claim in applying the Younger doctrine, it appears

to us that the same logic requiring abstention when there is a

constitutional challenge to a state criminal statute applies to liti-

gation where there is a claim of federal preemption due to a con-

gressional enactment. See Samuels v. Mackell, 401 U.S. 66 (1971)

(alternative claims of federal preemption and unconstitutionality

of state criminal anarchy law not distinguished). A state’s interest

in enforcing its criminal statutes remains undiminished until a

statute is declared unconstitutional. Likewise, its enforcement in-

terest remains undiminished until the statute is declared preempted

or invalid for any. other reason. It would strike us as anomalous

to hold that a state court may decide federal constitutional issues

but is unqualified or inhibited from deciding preemption issues.

8In Maryland, grand juries operate under the auspices of the

judicial branch. “Grand juries operate under the control of he

court which convenes them,” Duckett v. Touhey, 36 Md. App. 238,

242, 373 A.2d 328, 325 (1977), with the “single view that the

accused may be brought to trial in the court whereof the grand

jury is a part... .” Im re Report of Grand Jury, 152 Md. 616,

622, 187 A. 370, 372 (1927) (setting out detailed history of grand

juries as well as their function and purpose). Importantly, the

Supreme Court of the United States has stated that federal grand

17a

cisions is the requirement that the federal plaintiff have

an opportunity to present the federal claim in the state

proceedings.°®

The pivotal question then is whether PEPCO has an

adequate opportunity to present its preemption claim

within the state grand jury proceedings. The Supreme

Court has recently held in the context of state adminis-

trative proceedings that an adequate opportunity exists

when the federal plaintiff can present its claim on ju-

dicial review of the state administrative action or order.

In Middlesex County Ethics Committee v. Garden State

Bar A: :3ociation, the Court held that abstention was

proper where an attorney subject to disciplinary action

by the state ethics committee could present his constitu-

tional challenge to the action on review by the New

Jersey Supreme Court. 457 U.S. 423 (1982). In a case

jury proceedings are judicial in nature. In Cobbledick v. United

States, 309 U.S. 323 (1940), the Court stated:

The Constitution itself makes the grand jury a part of the

judicial process. It must initiate prosecution for the most

important federal crimes. It does so under general instructions

from the court to which it is attached and to which, from time

to time, it reports its findings. The proceeding before a grand

jury constitutes “a judicial inquiry” of the most ancient

lineage.

Id. at 327, quoting Hale v. Henkel, 201 US. 43, 66 (1906). See

Levine v. United States, 362 U.S. 610, 617 (1960) (“The grand

jury is an arm of the court and its in camera proceedings consti-

tute ‘a judicial inquiry.’ ”’).

®In contrast, the Supreme Court held Younger inapplicable in

two instances because the federal plaintiff could not present its

claim in the state proceedings. In Gibson v. Berryhill, 411 U.S.

564 (1973), the Court held that the inherent bias of the state

optometry board effectively denied an opportunity to present the

federal claim. In Gerstein v. Pugh, 420 U.S. 103 (1975), the

Supreme Court held that Younger did not bar a federal suit on the

legality of pretrial detention without a hearing to determine prob-

able cause because the claim could not be raised in defense at the

criminal trial. 7d. at 108 n.9.

18a

decided subsequent to.the district ¢court’s ruling in this

case, the Court stated, in response to a claim that the

Ohio Civil Rightg,Commission could not consider con-

stitutional claims, that “in any event, it is sufficient un-

der Middlesex, that constitutional claims may be raised

in state court judicial review of the administrative pro-

ceeding.” Ohio Civil Rights Commission v. Dayton Chris-

tian Schools, Inc., 54 U.S.L.W. at 4863. These cases dem-

enstrate that not only is the immediate proceeding rele-

vant in determining whether there is an opportunity to

present a federal claim, but subsequent state judicial

proceedings in which the claim can be raised are also

relevant. Grand jury investigation and indictment in-

itiate a criminal prosecution in Maryland’s system of

criminal enforcement. If indicted, PEPCO can present

its claim of federal preemption by TSCA-as a defense

to the criminal prosecution, and therefore has an ade-

quate opportunity to present the claim in the ongoing

proceedings.”

This court- has previously decided in another context

that the Younger doctrine applies to state-initiated grand

jury proceedings. See Craig v. Barney, 678 F.2d 1200

(4th Cir.), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 860 (1982). In Craig,

we dealt with the validity of a subpoena while here

PEPCO attacks the validity of the entire grand jury

process as it relates to its alleged environmental viola-

tions. We think nevertheless that the reasoning of Craig

governs our decision in this case and that Younger re-

quires abstention. The grand jury, although separate, is

1° Contrary to PEPCO’s contention, the fact that PEPCO can-

not present its claim immediately does not establish that it has no

adequate opportunity to present the preemption claim. In Moore v.

Sims, the Court addressed a similar argument concerning delay

in holding a requested hearing and ruled that the argument was

indistinguishable from “conventional claims of bad faith,” and the

Court could not “agree that the conduct_of the state authorities in

this case evinces bad faith.” 442 U.S. at 432. Here, there is not

even an allegation of bad faith.

19a

an integral part of state criminal enforcement proceed-

ings and here, as in Craig, PEPCO will have an ade-

quate opportunity to present its federal claim within that

ongoing state system. The district court, therefore,

should have abstained.

In view of our abstention ruling, we do not address

the merits of PEPCO’s preemption claim. On remand,

PEPCO’s action must be dismissed and its claims pur-

sued in Maryland courts. Gibson v. Berryhill, 411 U.S.

at 577. The judgment of the district court is, therefore,

reversed and remanded for proceedings consistent with

this opinion.

REVERSED AND REMANDED

20a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MARYLAND

Case Number B86-220

POTOMAC ELECTRIC POWER COMPANY,

Plaintiff,

vs.

STEPHEN H. SACHS, et al.,

Defendants.

March 27, 1986

TRANSCRIPT OF RECORDED PROCEEDINGS

BEFORE THE HONORABLE WALTER E. BLACK, JR.

Appearances:

For the Plaintiff:

ARNOLD W. WEINER, ESQUIRE

36 South Charles Street

Baltimore, MD 21201

(301) 332-8500

For the Defendant:

RALPH §S. TYLER, ESQUIRE

Munsey Building

Seven N. Calvert Street

Baltimore, MD 21202

(301) 576-6342

2la

[2] THECOURT: Good afternoon.

THE CLERK: The matter now pending before the

Court is Civil Docket Number B86-220 for Potomac

Electric Power Company vs. Stephen H. Sachs, et al.

Counsels for the plaintiff are Arnold M. Weiner, E. Bar-

ret Prettyman, Jr. and David J. Hayes. Counsels for the

defendants are Michael C. Powell and Ralph 8. Tyler.

This matter now comes before the Court for a hearing

on motion of plaintiff for summary judgment.

THE COURT: I think at the outset, Counsel, let me

take care of my unfinished business, which is to render

an informal oral opinion on the matters raised in the

hearings two weeks ago, reserving the right, if it is

transcribed for any reason, to edit that opinion, without

in any way changing the results or the essential meaning.

This is declaratory judgment action brought by Po-

tomac Electric Power Company, referred to as PEPCO,

against the Attorney General of Maryland. PEPCO, who

is currently being investigated by the State Court Grand

Jury for possible violation of State environmental laws,

seeks to have the Federal Court declare that the Toxic

Substance Control Act, referred to as TOSCA, 15 U.S.C.,

Sections 2601 and following, preempts State law.

Of particular focus in this case is the regulation of

polychlorinated biphenyls, PCB’s, a highly toxic substance

[3] found in electrical transformers used by the plaintiff.

Pending before the Court is the defendant's motion to

dismiss the case, Paper Number 9. pygBuant to Rule 12

(D) (1) of the Federal Rules af Fe Procedure. The

defendants present three arguments why this Court lacks

subject matter jurisdiction over the case.

First, the plaintiff’s claims do not present a Federal

question. Second, no actual case or controversy exists

between the parties; and third, that the principles of

federalism and comity compel Federal Court abstention

under Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37, 1971.

The parties have submitted memoranda in support of

their respective positions and the Court had the benefit

22a

of oral argument on Thursday, March 13, 1986. After

careful consideration of the arguments presented, the

Court has concluded that the motion must be denied for

reasons the Court will discuss. This Court does, in fact,

have subject matter jurisdiction over this action and

_ abstention is inappropriate.

First, it should be pointed out that the party asserting

jurisdiction has the burden of proof, see Thompson v.

Gaskill, 315 U.S. 442 at 446; 1942; Gibbs v. Buck, 307

U.S. 66 at 72, 19389; McNutt v. General Motors Accept-

ance Corporation, 298 U.S. 178 at 188 and 9, 1936; Hair

v. Family Publications Service, Inc., 342 F.Supp., 678 at

[4] 682, District of Maryland, 1972.

Now, the claim is based upon the Court’s Federal

question of jurisdiction. The plaintiff must prove the

claim is, in fact, based upon Federal Law and that the

claim is not frivolous, Wright and Miller Federal Prac-

tice and Procedure, Civil Section Number 1350 at 556

and Note 93, citing Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186, 1962.

The Court is persuaded that the plaintiff has met its

burden with respect to all three of the issues raised by

the defendants. First as to the Federal question, under

28 United States Code, Section 1331, this Court has

original jurisdiction over any civil action arising under

the Constitution and Laws of the United States. The

courts traditionally have required that the Federal ques-

tion appear on the face of a well-pleaded complaint; and

not as an anticipated defense to the claim. Louisville

and Nashville Railroad Company v. Mottley, 211 U.S. 149,

1980. See generally Wright and Miller, Civil Section 3566.

PEPCO has, in fact, invoked Federal Law, TOSCA, on

the face of the complaint; and at first blush, that fact

alone would appear to satisfy the jurisdictional require-

ment. The defendants argue, however, that PEPCO’s

claim is, in fact, only a defense to a possible criminal

action the Attorney General may bring against it. That

such an anticipated defense is insufficient to satisfy the

[5] requirements of Federal question jurisdiction.

23a

While it is true that success on the part of the plain-

tiff in this declaratory judgment action could have the

effect of borrowing a State criminal prosecution, it does

not follow that Federal question jurisdiction is lacking

in this Court. Indeed, it appears that the plaintiff has

followed precisely the procedures mandated by the Su-

preme Court for bringing declaratory judgment actions

in Federal Court.

The hazy distinction between a Federal claim and an

anticipated Federal defense was recently addressed by

the Supreme Court in a series of cases decided in 1983

and 1985. In one, Franchise Tax Board v. Construction

Laborers’ Vacation Trust for Southern California, 463

U.S. 1, 1983, the Supreme Court held that the Federal

Court lacked jurisdiction to hear a case where the State

was the plaintiff in a State Court action, and claimed

that the State Law in question was not preempted by

Federal Law.

The defendants removed the case to Federal Court on

the basis that the preemption issue created Federal ques-

tion jurisdiction. The Supreme Court reversed, holding

that the Federal Court should look only at the State com-

plaint in determining whether Federal question jurisdic-

tion exists. The same day, the Supreme Court decided

Shaw v. Delta Airlines, 463 U.S. 85, 1988, and held that

where the plaintiffs in Federal Court sought injunctive

and declaratory [6] relief from State regulation, on

grounds of Federal preemption, a Federal question was

presented.

The distinction between the two cases is that in Fran-

chise Tax Board, it was the State that was attempting to

show that its laws were not preempted; in Shaw, the

Federal plaintiffs sought to prove that Federal Law pre-

empted the State Law being applied against them. In-

deed, Justice Blackmun, writing for the Court in Shaw

distinguished the cases on precisely these grounds by

citing Shaw, 463 U.S. at 986, Note 14, and the Court also

24a

refers to Wright and Miller, Section 3566 at Pages 99 to

101.

Clearly, PEPCO more closely resembles the plaintiffs in

Shaw than in Franchise Tax Board, a case upon which

the defendants heavily relied. Moreover, subsequent cases

from the Supreme Court further support the conclusion

that there is Federal question jurisdiction here. For

example, in Arcudi v. Stone and Webster Engineering

Corporation, 463 U.S. 1220, 1983, the Court summarily

affirmed the judgment of the Second Circuit in Stone and

Webster Engineering Corporation v. Ilsley, 690 F.2d,

$23, Second Circuit 1982, which had found that a Federal

preemption challenge to a State Statute was within the

Court’s Federal question jurisdiction.

The Supreme Court reaffirmed this principle in Law-

rence County vs. Lead Deadwood School District, 105

[7] S.Ct., 695, 1985, where the Court rejected the Eighth

Circuit’s conclusion that a Federal preemption challenge

to a State Statute did not state a Federal question. I’m

referring to Page 698, Note 6.

Moreover, in a case similar on its facts to this case,

the Fifth Circuit had little difficulty in finding Federal

question jurisdiction in a case where the plaintiff claimed

that TOSCA preempted State Law, Rollins Environmental

Service v. Parish «f St. James, 775 F.2d, 627 at 631,

Fifth Circuit, 1985.

The Court recognizes that there ~ some authority in

the Fourth Circuit that arguably supports the defend-

ant’s position, specifically in City National Bank v. Ed-

misten, 681 F.2d, 942, Fourth Circuit, 1982. The Court

vacated the declaratory judgment of the District Court

that certain banking procedures did not violate state

usury laws. The Court held that the claim did not arise

under Federal Law, because the complaint involved only

State Law. The case is clearly distinguishable on the

basis of the fact that the complaint did not involve Fed-

eral Law, whereas PEPCO’s complaint does.

25a

Moreover, the Edmisten decision came before the Su-

preme Court decision in Shaw, Stone and Webster, and

Lawrence County, and the Court is persuaded that any

ambiguity created by Edmisten is resolved by those later

[8] authorities.

Accordingly, the Court finds that by bringing a claim

that specifically invokes the preemption provision in Fed-

eral Statute, the plaintiff has met its burden of proving

Federal question jurisdiction. Indeed, where the very

question at issue is whether or not Congress intended

certain provisions of a Federal Statute to preempt State

Law, it seems both logical and legally correct that the

Federal District Court is the appropriate forum in which

to bring the case.

Second, as to the case or controversy. The defendants

assert that PEPCO has not alleged a case or controversy

within the meaning of Article III of the United States

Constitution. Specifically, the defendants argue that the

State’s investigation of PEPCO does not constitute an

actual controversy and that the threat of enforcement is

not sufficiently real to satisfy the requirements of Article

III. This assertion need not detain us long, particularly

in light of the defendant’s concession at oral argument,

that the threat of enforcement is now more acute than

at the time the Motion to Dismiss was filed.

This fact is reflected in the defendant’s reply brief,

‘where in addressing the abstention issue, the defendants

spelled out in detail how imminent a criminal prosecution

of PEPCO had become. Indeed, it is somewhat [9] in-

consistent to argue that the present investigation of

PEPCO is a pending State criminal proceeding for ab-

stention purposes, but is not a case or controversy under

Article III.

In Babbitt v. United Farm Workers National Union,

442 U.S. 289, 1979, the Supreme Court stated that a

case or controversy under Article III must embody a

dispute definite and concrete, not hypothetical or ab-

stract, being a quote from Page 298. The issue of how

26a

concrete a dispute must be in order to meet this test is

not entirely clear, but the Court is persuaded that the

dispute between PEPCO and the Maryland Regulatory

Agency is sufficiently immediate to meet the test. The

State has been rating PEPCO for several years and has

conducted a thorough investigation into the company’s

handling of transformers. There is nothing hypothetical

or abstract about the possibility of indictment in this

case.

Several lower court decisions support this conclusion.

For example, in Hughes v. Christophony, 486 F.Supp. 541,

District of Maryland, 1980, the owners of a restaurant

challenged an ordinance prohibiting topless dancing where

food or alcohol was served. The Court determined that

- where law enforcement authorities had made arrests on

enforcement visits, the threat of prosecution was suffi-

ciently real to provide the plaintiffs with standing to

bring the claim.

In addition, the Eighth Circuit addressed itself to [10]

the case or controversy’s requirement in the environ-

mental context in Caldwell v. Girley Refining Company,

755 F.2d 645, Eighth Circuit, 1985. In that case, Federal

agencies have asserted the plaintiffs liability for certain

hazardous waste spills, but had not initiated any prose-

cution. Caldwell sought declaratory relief and the Court

found that the threat of prosecution was sufficiently real

to satisfy the case or controversy requirement. A quote,

“a plaintiff need not always wait the actual commence-

ment in enforcement proceedings to challenge the au-

thority under which those proceedings would be brought”,

at Page 650.

The same reasoning applies here. The Court finds that

the disagreement between PEPCO and the State of Mary-

land has advanced close enough to the indictment stage

to satisfy the case or controversy requirement of Article

III.

Third, the Younger abstention. Finally, the defend-

ants assert that the Grand Jury Investigation of PEPCO

27a

constitutes ongoing State proceedings to which this Court

should defer under the doctrine of Younger v. Harris,

401 U.S. 87, 1971. While> the Younger decision itself

applied to a State criminal prosecution already in prog-

ress, the doctrine has been expanded to apply to civil and

administrative proceedings in certain contexts. See, for

example, Moore v. Sims, 442 U.S. 415, 1979; Hoffman v.

Pursue, Limited, 420 U.S. 592, 1975; Turner v. . Hernan

dez, 431 [11] US. 434, 1977.

In its most recent consideration of the scope of the

Younger doctrine, the Supreme Court listed three con-

sideratiéns Federal Court should evaluate in determin-

ing whether abstention is appropriat. in light of the

State proceedings.

First, there must be an ongoing State judicial proceed-

ing. Second, the proceedings must implicate important

State interest; and third, there must be an adequate

opportunity in the State proceedings to raise the Fed-

eral claims. Middlesex County Ethics Committee v. Gar-

den State Bar Association, 457 U.S. 423 at 432, 1982.

Of these three factors, it is clear that the third is the

most important for our purposes in this case. As the

Court indicated at oral argument, there is a surprising

dirth of case law on the issue of whether or not the

Younger doctrine applies to State Grand Jury proceed-

ings. The parties have brought to the Court’s attention,

however, severai cases where the issue was addressed,

though apparently not conclusively resolved.

In one, Craig v. Barney, 678 F.2d 1200, Fourth Cir-

cuit, cert. denied, 459 U.S. 860, 1982, the managers of

adult bookstores sought to enjoin Virginia Grand Jury

proceedings where no indictment had been filed, and

where the Grand Jury lacked the power to indict, the

Court found that [12] Younger abstention was appropri-

ate because of the matter of State Law, that Federal

plaintiffs would have an adequate opportunity to raise

their Federal claims in the State proceeding through

appropriate legal procedures, such as a contempt hearing.

28a

The Court went on to say, however, that “Federal

Court should not dismiss unless the State proceeding has

reached a stage that assures the Federal plaintiff an

opportunity to present its Constitutional defenses at

some point during the ongoing proceeding.” That’s a

quote from Page 1201.

In a case from another jurisdiction, Sovereign News

Company v. Falke, 448 F. Supp. 306, Northern District

of Ohio, 1977, the Court used similar language in de-

termining whether the Younger doctrine should apply to

State Grand Jury actions. In that case, the Federal

plaintiffs sought-to enjoin State Prosecutors from intro-

ducing into evidence before the Grand Jury certain ma-

terials allegedly seized in violation of the plaintiff’s

Fourth Amendment rights. The Court found that the

Younger abstention did apply, because in the context of

that case, the plaintiffs had an adequate opportunity to

raise their typical Federal claim.

The Court reasoned that the defendant would either

not be indicted by the Grand Jury, or could immediately

raise the Federal defense in a criminal prosecution. Re-

ferring to [13] page 359.

This Court cannot agree with that analysis in deter-

mining whether or not the Federal plaintiff has an ade-

quate opportunity to raise the Federal claim, this Court

must look not to what the proceedings might become,

but to what they are now. It is clear that PEPCO has

no present opportunity to raise its Federal concerns in

the Grand Jury proceedings. As noted in Middlesex and

also in Gibson v. Berryhill, 411 U.S. 546, 1978, if there

is no opportunity to raise the Federal issue in the State

proceedings, then the Younger abstention is inappropri-

ate.

Moreover, the Supreme Court has stated clearly that

where a State criminal case has not yet begun, that is,

an indictment has not yet been filed, considerations of

Federalism are not controlling. Steffel v. Thompson, 415

29a

U.S. 452, 1974, citing Perez v. Ledesma, 401 U.S. 82,

1971, are the concurring opinion of Justice Brennan.

This line of authority seems to run counter to the

lower court holdings in Craig and Sovereign News. The

Court is persuaded, however, that Steffel and Perez con-

trol this case, and that because the State Grand Jury

proceeding has not yet reached the stage where PEPCO

can raise its Federal claim, the Younger principle should

not apply.

The issue turns in part on whether one considers

State Grand Jury proceedings as a separate process or

as part [14] of a criminal case. The defendant correctly

points out that if PEPCO ever is indicted, it would then

be able to raise its Federal defense in State Court. How-

ever, that relief is inadequate to protect PEPCO’s as-

serted Federal rights at the present time, as noted in

Berryhill at Page 577.

The availability of a subsequent forum to raise the

Federal claim is an inadequate basis upon which to in-

voke Federal Court abstention. The Court is thus per-

suaded that State Grand Jury proceedings must be

viewed as separate from the actual criminal prosecu-

tion. There is no certainty that the Grand Jury will

actually return an indictment, nor is there any indica-

tion of how long PEPCO would have to wait™befere it

had its forum to raise the Federal defense.

Under such circumstances, it would be harsh, indeed,

to foreclose the opportunity to bring the preemption chal-

lenge to Federal Court prior to indictment. PEPCO has

no opportunity at all to raise its Federal claim in the

State Grand Jury proceedings, principles of abstention

under Younger, therefore, do not apply.

In conclusion, the Court finds that the defendants’ Mo-

tion to Dismiss must be denied. A Federal question is

presented on the face of the complaint, an actual con-

troversy exists between the parties sufficient to satisfy

the case or controversy requirement, and Federal Court

abstention under Younger v. Harris would be inappropri-

30a

ate on the facts of this [15] case. As a result, this Court

has jurisdiction to proceed in this case.

While the issues presented by the defendant, merited

serious consideration, the Court is entirely persuaded

that the Federal District Court is the appropriate forum

in which this claim should be heard. At issue is a Fed-

eral Statute containing an express preemption provision.

It seems far more efficient and fair to decide in this

forum the issue of what Congress intended, than to re-

quire the litigants to defend a criminal prosecution at

great length and then hope for Supreme Court review

on a fortiori. The plaintiff has a Federal claim and hav-

ing filed this declaratory action before any indictment

was filed in State Court, it has the right to have the

matter decided before this tribunal.

The motion is denied, and I have entered a formal

order consistent with this opinion. Bob, have Counsel

been furnished with a copy of the order?

te

8la

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF MARYLAND

Civil Action No. B-86-220

THE POTOMAC ELECTRIC POWER COMPANY

v.

STEPHEN H. SACHS, in his capacity as Attorney General

of Maryland, and ADELE WILZACK, in her capacity as

Secretary of the Maryland Department of Health and

Mental Hygiene

Filed: April 16, 1986.

Arnold M. Weiner, Michael Schatzow, Ethan L. Bauman,

and Melnicove, Kaufman, Weiner & Smouse, P.A., of

Baltimore, Maryland; E. Barrett Prettyman, Jr., Sher-

win J. Markman, John C. Keeney, Jr., David J. Hayes,

and Messrs. Hogan & Hartson, of Washington, D.C.; and

Kathleen B. DeWeese, Assistant General Counsel, of

Washington, D.C.: for plaintiff, The Potomac Electric

Power Company.

Stephen H. Sachs, Attorney General of Maryland, Michael

C. Powell, Richard M. Hall, Kathie A. Stein, Charles R.

Taylor, and Ralph 8. Tyler, Assistant Attorneys General

of Maryland: for defendants, Stephen H. Sachs, in his

capacity as Attorney General of Maryland, and Adele

Wilzack, in her capacity as Secretary of the Maryland

Department of Health and Mental Hygiene.

Black, District Judge.

This action for declaratory judgment presents the

Court with a narrow legal question of statutory interpre-

32a

tation. Does the federal Toxic Substances Control Act,

15 U.S.C. § 2601 et seg. (TOSCA), preempt Maryland’s

regulatory provisions governing the disposal of poly-

chlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) ?

The plaintiff, Potomac Flectric Power Company

(PEPCO) seeks to avoid a possible state criminal en-

forcement action by means of a declaratory judgment

that all state regulations relating to PCBs are preempted

by TOSCA. The defendants, Stephen H. Sachs, Attorney

General of Maryland, and Adele Wilzack, Secretary of

the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene,

argue that Maryland’s regulations governing disposal of

PCBs are not subject to preemption in light of the specific

exceptions in the preemption provision of TOSCA.

The matter is before the Court on the plaintiff’s Motion

for Summary Judgment.

I. BACKGROUND

Polychlorinated biphenyls are chemical substances which

have been manufactured and used commercially for

several decades. Due to their chemical stability, fire re-

sistance, and electrical resistance properties, they have

frequently been used in electrical transformers and ca-

pacitors. In the past, PEPCO used electrical transform-

ers containing this substance.

PCBs, however, are extremely toxic.

“Epidemiological data and experiments on laboratory

animals indicate that exposure to PCBs pose carci-

nogenic and other risks to humans. Experimental

animals developed tumors after eating diets that in-

cluded concentrations of PCBs as low as 100 parts

per million (ppm). Experiments on monkeys indi-

cate that diets with PCB concentrations of less than

ten ppm reduce fertility and cause still births and

birth defects. Other data show that PCBs may ad-

83a

versely affect enzyme production, thereby interfer-

ing with the treatment of diseases in humans.”

Environmental Defense Fund v. Environmental Pro-

tection Agency, 636 F.2d 1267, 1270 (D.C. Cir.

1980). =

Moreover, PCBs accumulate in fish and other aquatic

organisms and are virtually indestructible in the environ-

ment. Affidavit, of Ronald Nelson, attached to Defend-

ants’ Memorandum in support of Motion to Dismiss, at 2.

Both Congress and the state of Maryland have re-

sponded to the grave dangers presented by PCBs. At the

federal level, Congress passed TOSCA, which allows the

administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency

(EPA) to regulate virtually all aspects of PCB manu-

facture, use and disposal. See 15 U.S.C. § 2605(e) (pro-

viding a separate erg 0 PCBs). Indeed, the legis-

lative history of TOSCA iftdicates that PCBs were a

special source of concern to Congress at the time of the

passage of the statute. See comments of Representative

Dingell, explaining Congress’ attention to the immediate

dangers posed by PCBs, Defendants’ Opposition to plain-

tiff’s Motion for Summary Judgment at 21. At the state

level, Maryland regulates PCBs as a hazardous waste

under the state’s waste management program. By track-

ing PCBs from “cradle to grave,” the state can detect

and respond to PCB problems, incidents and spills in the

state. Nelson Affidavit, supra, at 3. =

The present controversy arises out of PCB contamina-

tion discovered at a Beltsville, Maryland site used by the

United Rigging and Hauling Company (United Rigging)

as a salvage yard for electrical transformers. State au-

thorities discovered PCB concentrations in the soil as

high as 128,000 parts per million and found that con-

taminated runoff was entering a nearby creek. Pursuant

to their authority under the Comprehensive Environ-

mental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act of

34a

1980 (CERCLA or Superfund), 42 U.S.C. § 9601 et seq.,

state and federal authorities determined that the situa-

tion at the United Rigging site posed an imminent and

substantial endangerment to public health, welfare, or

the environment. PEPCO, whose transformers were

found at the site, along with United Rigging, entered into

an administrative consent order with state authorities

and the EPA to conduct the Superfund cleanup. The

cleanup activities resulted in the removal of 10,562 tons

of PCB-contaminated soil and 787 electrical transformers.

Nelson Affidavit, supra, at 5.

In May, 1985, a Prince George’s County grand jury

began a criminal investigation of the contamination at

the United Rigging site. PEPCO has been one of the

subjects of that investigation, which has not yet led to

any indictments. There is little question from the record,

however, that an indictment of PEPCO for alleged re-

sponsibility for or participation in the United Rigging

contamination is imminent. See Defendant’s Reply Mem-

orandum in support of Motion to Dismiss at 11-13 n.10

(providing details of the intention of the Attorney Gen-

eral’s Office to prosecute) .

PEPCO brought this suit in federal court in an ap-

parent attempt to foreclose the possibility of a state

criminal prosecution. Its argument, in sum, is that

TOSCA expressly preempts any state efforts to regulate

PCBs, including disposal, and that the state therefore

lacks the authority to regulate the substances or to indict

a party for mishandling them.

The Court has previously denied the defendants’ Mo-

tion to Dismiss, or for Summary Judgment, Based Upon

Lack of Jurisdiction, or for Stay. The Court found that

»PEPCO’s complaint established federal question jurisdic-

tion under Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, 463 U.S. 85, 96 n.14

(1983), that the facts presented a live case or contro-

versy, and that federal court abstention under Younger

35a

v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971), was inappropriate.* Ac-

cordingly, the parties proceeded to the merits of the

plaintiff’s Motion for Summary Judgment, which was

fully briefed and presented at oral argument on March

27, 1986.

After full consideration of the arguments presented,

the Court is persuaded that the plaintiff’s motion must

be denied and declaratory judgment entered in favor of

the defendants. As discussed below, the matter is ripe for

adjudication on summary judgment, and the Court has

determined that the Maryland regulations governing dis-

posal of PCBs are not preempted by TOSCA.

II. SUMMARY JUDGMENT

Under Rule 56 of the Federal Rules of Civil Proce-

dure, a motion for summary judgment can only be

granted if there is no genuine issue as to any material

fact and the moving party is entitled to judgment as a

matter of law. Poller v. Columbia Broadcasting System,

Inc., 368 U.S. 464, 467 (1962). The burden is on the

moving party to demonstrate clearly that there is no

genuine issue of fact and any doubt as to the existence

of such an issue is resolved against him. Phoenix Sav-

ings & Loan, Inc. v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co., 381

F.2d 245, 249 (4th Cir. 1967). This burden can be a

heavy one; the-standard for passing on motions for sum-

mary judgment is strict. Clarke v. Montgomery Ward

& Co., 298 F.2d 346, 348 (4th Cir. 1962). If interpre-

tations of the facts of a case differ, summary judgment

is improper. Morrison v. Nissan Motor Co., Ltd., 601

1 At oral argument on the motion for summary judgment, the

defendants moved to file an immediate appeal of this Court’s ruling

on these issues, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b). In light of the

dispositive ruling of this opinion, that motion will be denied as

moot, and the parties will be free to argue the jurisdictional issues,

as well as the merits, on appeal.

36a

F.2d 139, 141 (4th Cir. 1979). See also Ross v. Com-

munications Satellite Corp., 759 F.2d 355, 364 (4th Cir.

1985), where the court determined that summary judg-

ment is proper only when “it is perfectly clear that there

are no [factual] issues in the case.”

The Court has determined that the narrow legal issues

presented by this case are ripe for determination on

summary judgment. The primary task before the Court

is to determine the intent of Congress when it enacted

the preemption provision of TOCSA. None of the facts

related to Congress’ activities are in dispute. While the

parties clearly interpret the legislative history quite dif-

ferently, the record is complete, and proceeding to trial

would do nothing to further illuminate what Congress

intended. There are obviously substantial issues of fact

relating to the actions which created the contamination

at the United Rigging site, but those issues are not be-

fore the Court. Rather, the focus of this Court’s atten-

tion is solely on the preemption provision of TOSCA,

15 U.S.C. § 2617, and the exceptions contained in it. On

those issues, there is no dispute of fact.2 Moreover, as

one court has stated, “[q]uestions of statutory construc-

tion and legislative history traditionally present legal

questions properly resolved by summary judgment.”

Union Pacific Land Resources Corp. v. Moench Invest-

ment Co., 696 F.2d 88, 93 n.5 (10th Cir. 1982), cert.

denied, 460 U.S. 1085 (1983).

2A possible exception—where a dispute of fact might exist—is

in the arguments related to the identity or lack of identity between

the Maryland regulations and the federal regulations under the

first of the three listed exceptions in § 2617, § 2617(a) (2) (B) (i).

If the Court were to rule on that issue, more facts would be needed,

in order to examine the regulations item by item. The Court, how-

ever, does not reach that issue, having concluded that the State

must prevail on a separate dispositive issue. The factual issues

of the identity of the regulations, therefore, are not in any sense

material to the Court’s ruling.

37a

III. PREEMPTION UNDER TOSCA

“Tt is well-established that within constitutional limits

Congress may preempt state authority by so stating in

express terms.” Pacific Gas & Electric v. State Energy

Resources Conservation & Development Commission, 461

U.S. 190, 203 (1983), citing Jones v. Rath Packing Co.,

430 U.S. 519, 525 (1977). In the absence of an express

preemption provision, Congress’ intent to preempt state

law may be found from a pervasive scheme of federal

regulation that leaves the states no room to supplement

the federal requirements or from a regulatory scheme

in which the federal interest is dominant. Even where

Congress does not entirely displace state regulation, state

law is preempted to the extent that it conflicts with fed-

eral law or stands as an obstacle to the accomplishment

of the purposes and objectives of Congress. Pacific Gas

& Electric, 461 U.S. at 203-04. It should be noted, how-

ever, that in certain areas traditionally left to the his-

toric police powers of the State, preemption will be

found only if the clear and manifest purpose of Congress

is to preempt. Jones v. Rath Packing, 430 U.S. at 525;

Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218, 230

(1947).

In TOSCA, Congress was explicit in addressing the

preemption issue by including § 2617. It determined that

federal regulations under TOSCA should preempt certain

areas of state regulation, but not in situations specifi-

cally excepted in the statute. In effect, by including the

exceptions to preemption, Congress left the states a lim-

ited role to play in the regulation of toxic substances.

The only issue presented here is whether Maryland’s

PCB disposal regulations come within any of those ex-

ceptions.

The preemption section of TOSCA provides in perti-

nent part as follows:

i la aia

38a

§ 2617. Preemption

(a) Effect on State Law. (1) Except as provided

in paragraph (2), nothing in this chapter shall affect

the authority of any State or political subdivision

of a State to establish or continue in effect regula-

tion of any chemical substance, mixture, or article

containing a chemical substance or mixture.

(2) Except as provided in subsection (b) of this

section——

* * *

(B) if the Administrator prescribes a rule or order

under section 2604 or 2605 of this title (other than

a rule imposing a requirement described in subsec-

tion (a) (6) of section 2605 of this title) which is

applicable to a chemical substance or mixture, and

which is designed to protect against a risk of injury

to health or the environment associated with such

substance or mixture, no State or political subdi-

vision of a State may, after the effective date of

such requirement, establish or continue in effect, any

requirement which is applicable to such substance

or mixture, or an article containing such substance

or mixture, and which is designed to protect against

such risk unless such requirement (i) is identical

to the requirement prescribed by the Administra-

tor, (ii) is adopted under the authority of the Clean

Air Act or any other Federal law, or (iii) prohibits

the use e* such substance or mixture in such State

or politicai subdivision (other than its use in the

manufacture or processing of other substances or

mixtures).

The statutory scheme starts with the premise that no

state regulation is preempted until the Administrator

promulgates a rule governing that substance. Then, once

the Administrator promulgates such a rule, state law

is preempted unless it comes within the exceptions listed

39a

in the statute, of which there are four. The first is con-

tained in the parenthetical clause stating “(other than

a rule imposing a requirement described in subsection

(a) (6) of section 2605 of this title)”; the remaining

three are listed at the end of § 2617(a) (2) (B).

As explained below, the Court finds that the Maryland

rules governing disposal of PCBs fall within the paren-

thetical exception and are therefore not preempted by the

federal disposal regulations. It is therefore unneces-

sary to reach the issues presented by the remaining three

exceptions.

IV. THE PARENTHETICAL EXCEPTION OF

§ 2617 (a) (2) (B)

A. The Statutory Language.

The defendants and amici* argue that the plain lan-

guage of the statute shows that the parenthetical excep-

tion contained in § 2617(a) (2) (B) is applicable to PCB

disposal regulations, which are therefore not preempted.

PEPCO argues that because of the fact that PCBs are

treated in a separate provision of the statute (§ 2505

(e)), all state PCB regulations—including those relating

to disposal—are preempted. Because of the obvious im-

portance of this issue and the conflict in the relevant

judicial opinions, the question must be addressed in some

detail.

3 The Court has accepted amicus briefs from the United States

(on behalf of the EPA), the attorneys general of eight states

(New York, California, Alabama, Ohio, Maine, Minnesota, Rhode

Island, and Vermont), and the Chesapeake Bay Foundation. Al-

though their arguments are not identical, all three groups argue

strongly that Maryland’s PCB disposal regulations are not pre-

empted by § 2617 of TOSCA. The Court finds the EPA position

to be of particular significance, in light of the fact that the EPA

is the federal regulatory body whose preemptive authority is at

issue in the case.

arene

40a

Section 2617(a) (2) (B) provides that if the EPA Ad-

ministrator prescribes a rule or order under § 2604 or

§ 2605 applicable to a criminal substance or mixture,

designed to protect against a risk of injury to health or

environment, then state regulations governing that sub-

stance are preempted. There is no question that PCBs

are in fact a chemical substance or mixture that pre

sents an “unreasonable risk of injury to health or the

environment” under § 2605(a) and that the Administra-

tor has in fact prescribed rules governing PCBs. See 43

Fed. Reg. 7150 (1978), codified at 40 C.F.R. Part 761.

The parenthetical exception, however, removes a cer-

tain class of state regulations from the preemptive ef-

fect of § 2617(a) (2)(B). Specifically, the Administra-

tor’s rules imposing a requirement described in § 2605

(a) (6) (governing manner or method of disposal of toxic

substances) do not preempt state regulations. The result

is that states remain free to impose certain regulatory

burdens on the disposal of toxic substances. See, e.9.,

Warren County v. State of North Carolina, 528 F. Supp.

276, 289 (E.D. N.C. 1981) (Congress intended to give

states and localities some leeway to impose more stringent

disposal requirements than those provided for by federal

regulation ).

PEPCO argues that because federal PCB regulations

were promulgated under § 2605(e) and not under § 2605

(a) of TOSCA, regulations cannot be considered as a

rule imposing a requirement described in § 2605(a) (6).

In e.fect, PEPCO is asserting that PCR disposal regula-

tions are to be treated differently than disposal regula-

tions of all other toxic substances regulated by the Ad-

ministrator.

Plaintiff’s assertion is irreconcilable with the plain

language of the statute and would require a finding that

the words “described in” have the same meaning as

“promulgated under.” The Court is unwilling to reach

such a conclusion. In construing statutory language,

4la

courts must interpret the words according to their plain

meaning. Bouie v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347, 362-

63 (1964). The two phrases have entirely different

meanings, and it is logical to conclude that the regula-

tion of a substance can be promulgated under a separate

provision of the statute but can nonetheless prescribe dis-

posal requirements described in § 2605(a) (6). The words

“described in” allow for a broader scope than the sub-

stances regulated under § 2605(a); they govern any

requirement describing a disposal regulation.

By definition, then, any PCB disposal regulations prom-

ulgated under § 2605(e) are regulations imposing re-

quirements described in § 2605(a) (6). See SED, Inc. v.

City of Dayton, 519 F. Supp. 979, 987 (S.D. Ohio 1981)

(the § 2605(e) rules do “impose a requirement described

in subsection (a) (6) of § 2605,” i.e., disposal restrictions

and prohibitions. The parenthetical in no sense requires

that nonpreemptive federal regulations actually be en-

acted under § 2605(a)(6)). (emphasis in original) See

also Chappell v. SCA Services, Inc., 540 F. Supp. 1087,

1098 (C.D. Ill. 1982) (deferring to EPA position that

“state requirements regarding disposal of PCBs are

completely exempt from federal preemption . . .”).

There is a clear explanation for Congress’ having

treated PCBs differently from all other toxic substances

to be regulated by the Administrator. At the time of the

passage of TOSCA, PCBs were already known to be ex-

tremely toxic, and Congress wanted to express a sense of

urgency and a need for immediate regulation. As Sena-

tor Nelson stated, “{i]t is preferable not to enact legis-

lation on a substance-by-substance basis, but rather gen-

erally, as the Toxic Substances bill proposes to do. How-

ever, the PCB problem shows no sign of abating and it

has become so severe that it is necessary to address the

problem head on... .” See United States brief at 11

n.15.

———_™”----

7 42a

In effect, what Congress did by singling out PCBs as a

toxic substance to be regulated, was to make the § 2605

(a) determination for the Administrator that PCBs

present an unreasonable risk of injury to health or the

environment. Dow Chemical Co. v. Costle, 484 F. Supp.

101, 102 n.1 (D. Del. 1980). That was the practical ef-

fect of Congress’ inclusion of the separate provision for

PCBs. Contrary to the assertions of PEPCO, there is

nothing in the legislative history of TOSCA to indicate

that Congress intended that PCB disposal should be treat-

ed differently with respect to preemption than any other

substance.*

The only fair reading of the statutory language of

§ 2617 compels one to the conclusion that federal PCB

disposal regulations do not preempt state PCB disposal

requirements. As the defendant acknowledged at oral ar-

gument, there is, of course, an “outer limit” to such a con-

clusion, ¢.g., a state could not impose disposal require-

ments that frustrated the federal plan or violated the

Commerce Clause. Accord Chappell, 540 F. Supp. at 1098

(state PCB disposal regulations not preempted if not less

restrictive than the federal regulations). This case, how-

ever, does not present the Court with any such outer

limits; rather, Maryland’s disposal regulations’ supple-

*PEPCO indicated at oral argument that there is language in

some of the legislative history that indicates Congress was consider-

ing full preemption of state PCB regulations. That language is not

at all conclusive, however, and must be read within the context of

the entire Congressional debate. That context shows that Congress

recognized the inherent interest of the States and political sub-

divisions respecting disposal of hazardous chemicals within their

jurisdiction. United States brief at 16, quoting from the House

Report on TOSCA.

* There is some @ispute as to whether the term “disposal” in-

cludes just spillage and removal! or also storage for disposal. The

Court finds that the term “disposal” includes storage for disposal as

well as both spillage and removal. Nothwithstanding its previous

___—

43a

ment existing federal disposal requirements and do not

appear in any way to frustrate the overall federal plan.

That result was fully within the contemplation of Con-

gress.

B. Applicable Case Law.

A number of judicial opinions have addressed the issue

of whether state PCB disposal requirements are pre-

empted by TOSCA, and there is unfortunately a consid-

erable degree of inconsistency in their conclusions. The

Court is persuaded, however, taat the opinions which ac-

tually examined the statutory language and legislative

history support the defendants’ position that the state

disposal requirements are not preempted.

For example, in SED, 519 F. Supp. 979, the plaintiffs

sought declaratory relief in challenging city ordinances

that regulated, restricted, or prohibited storage of PCBs.

The Court correctly reasoned that PCB disposal require-

ments impose a requirement “described in” § 2605(a) (6).

Id. at 987. It went on to conclude, however (erroneously,

in this Court’s opinion), that the structure of the statu-

tory language nonetheless showed that Congress did not

intend state PCB disposal regulations to survive under

the parenthetical exception. As the United States points

out in its brief at 20-21, the court in SED was correct

in its first conclusion that the disposal regulations under

§ 2605(e) were “described in” § 2605(a) (6), but incor-

position to the contrary, the EPA considers that state regulations

governing storage for disposal as well as actual disposal are free

from preemption. See letter of EPA General Counsel A. James

Barnes to defendant Sachs, Exhibit F, attached to Memorandum of

Points and Authorities in Support of Plaintiff's Motion for Sum-

mary Judgment.

That view is entitled to “considerable deference” from the Court.

Chemical Manufacturers Association v. Natural Resources De-

fense Council, —— U.S. ——, 105 S.Ct. 1102, 1108 (1985).

44a

rect in its second conclusion that the parenthetical ex- -

ception alone would not save the city’s ordinance.*

In Chappell, 540 F. Supp. 1087, the plaintiffs brought

a class action suit to recover damages for nuisance from

the operator of a hazardous waste landfill. The court re-

viewed the statutory language of TOSCA and found that

it was “reasonable to conclude that state laws relating to

disposal of chemical substances are not preempted by the

TSCA.” Id. at 1098. (emphasis in original). The Chap-

pell court read the language of § 2617(a)(2)(B) in

conjunction with § 2605(a)(6)(B)* and agreed with the

EPA’s position that state PCB disposal regulations are

not preempted. That reasoning is consistent with the

Congressional intent behind TOSCA. As Representative

Broyhill pointed out, “there is nothing in this act that

affects the right of States to act in their authority over

disposal of hazardous properties or hazardous chemi-

cals... .” Chesapeake Bay Foundation brief at 14.

In Twitty v. North Carolina, 527 F. Supp. 778 (E.D.

N.C. 1981), aff'd without opinion, 696 F.2d 992 (4th

Cir. 1982), a case upon which PEPCO relies, the owners

of land adjacent to property designated as a hazardous

waste landfill sought to enjoin the use of the land for

that purpose. Among the five causes of action listed was

* Ultimately, the court in SED concluded that the City’s ordinance

was valid under the “other federal law” exception of § 2617. This

Court expresses no views on that issue, concluding that the paren-

thetical exception alone permits Maryland to regulate PCB disposal.

tT Section 2605(a)(6)(B) provides in pertinent part that a dis-

posal requirement issued by EPA “may not require any person to

take any action which would be in violation of any law or require-

ment of, or in effect for, a state or political subdivision ....” The

court in Chappell seemed to be recognizing that if this provision

were to have any meaning at all, state disposal laws must remain in

effect. As the Chesapeake Bay Foundation states, § 2605(a) (6) (B)

“is premised on an assumption that state regulations on hazardous

waste disposal will remain valid ....” Chesapeake Bay Foundation

brief at 11. That reasoning seems entirely correct.

45a

one that the disposal of toxic waste, including PCBs,

would violate a local county ordinance. In summary fash-

ion, the district court rejected the argument, saying only

that TOSCA preempts “any local ordinances.” Id. at 781.

The district court opinion in Twitty must, however, be

read in conjunction with Warren County v. State of

North Carolina, 528 F. Supp. 276 (E.D. N.C. 1981), the

companion case to Twitty, involving the same hazardous

waste landfill. In Warren County, the court struck down

a county ordinance that flatly prohibited the disposal of

PCBs in the county as violative of the federal regulatory

scheme envisioned by TOSCA. The court noted, however,

that Congress intended to give states and localities some

leeway to impose more stringent disposal requirements

than those provided for by federal regulation. Jd. at 289.

Only an outright ban would be prohibited. That state-

ment clearly limits the broad, summary language in

Twitty which PEPCO invokes.

PEPCO places much reliance on a Fifth Circuit case,

Rollins Environmental Services (FS), Inc. v. Parish of

St. James, 775 F.2d 627 (5th Cir. 1985). The plaintiff,

a toxic waste disposal firm, brought suit against a local

parish, challenging the legality of an ordinance whereby

the parish had prohibited toxic waste disposal, including

disposal of PCBs. The court found that the parish’s or-

dinance was preempted by TOSCA but devoted most of

its analysis to the question of whether the prohibition

against “commercial solvent cleaning businegses’” was in

fact a sham for a prohibition against the disposal of

PCBs. Ultimately the court did conclude that the ordi-

nance was indeed a sham and that an outright prohibi-

tion on PCB disposal would frustrate the scheme of

TOSCA for the handling of PCBs.

It was only in a footnote that the court addressed the

issue of the applicability of the parenthetical exception.

Reasoning that the EPA’s PCB rules were promulgated

under § 2605(e), not § 2605(a), the court concluded—

46a

without any analysis of the statutory language or legis-

lative history—that the parenthetical exception did not

apply. Jd. at 634 n.7. The Court does not regard this

analysis as controlling.

The other cases relied upon by PEPCO contain similar

analytical flaws. For example, in Chemical Waste Man-

agement, Inc. v. Broadwater, Civil Action No. 84-G-

1208-W (N.D. Ala. 1984) (Exhibit C, attached to Mem-

orandum of Points and Authorities in Support of Motion

for Summary Judgment), appeal dismissed as moot, 758

F.2d 1588 (11th Cir. 1985), the plaintiff, a waste man-

agement company, sought preliminary injunctive relief

from an order of a state environmental agency, on

grounds of federal preemption under TOSCA. The order

would have had the effect of closing a substantial por-

tion of the operations of the hazardous waste treatment,

storage, and disposal facility operated by the plaintiff.

The court granted the preliminary injunction, finding

that Congress’ inclusion of a separate provision for

PCBs rendered the parenthetical exception inapplicable.

The court, hewever, did not evaluate the significance of

the phrase “described in” and simply assumed that Con-

gress meant to preempt PCB disposal, in addition to the

other aspects of PCB handling.

Similarly, in City of Middletown v. Hartford Electric

Light Co., Civil Action No. 33133 (Conn. 1981) (Exhibit

D, attached to plaintiff’s memorandum in support of mo-

tion for summary judgment), the court did not examine

the issue in depth. In Middletown, the defendant utility

company operated a high efficiency boiler and proposed to

burn 30,000 gallons of PCB contaminated oil at the fa-

cility. The city sought injunctive relief in state court

for alleged violations of the local zoning ordinances. The

court determined that the parenthetical exception did not

apply, because PCB regulations under TOSCA were

promulgated under § 2605(e) and not § 2605(a) (6).

Recognizing that “regulation of PCB disposal might ap-

47a

pear to be authorized under Sec. 2605(a) (6),” the Mid-

dletown court reasoned that such a conclusion would ren-

der § 2605(e) (1) (A) (which requires the Administrator

to promulgate PCB disposal rules) a nullity. Jd. at 25.

That reasoning simply ignores the Congressional in-

tent to allow states some freedom to regulate the disposal

of PCBs as well as other toxic chemicals. See Warren,

528 F. Supp. at 289. As in Rollins and Chemical Waste

Management, the court in Middletown failed to ade-

quately analyze the actual language of the statute—spe-

cifically, the words “described in,”—and took no note of

the legislative history of the statute.

A contrary conclusion would produce the anomalous "

result of prohibiting any state disposal regulation of the

one substance that Congress found so toxic and danger-

ous that it required special attention in the statute. Con-

gress recognized that the states should retain some con-

trol, under their respective police powers, to regulate

disposal of toxic hazards posing a threat to the health

and safety of their citizens. That is the very purpose of

the parenthetical exception in § 2617(a) (2) (B). It turns

Congressional intent on its head to argue that Congress

would identify a substance as particularly toxic and at

the same time emasculate all state efforts to regulate its

disposal within state borders. Congress did intend to

preempt certain activities related to PCBs, such as manu-

facture and transportation. With respect to disposal,

however, Congress intended a result that would allow for

both the states and the federal agencies to regulate the

disposal of toxic substances in a cooperative effort.

V. CONCLUSION

Maryland’s PCB disposal regulations are not preempted

by § 2617 of TOSCA. Since Congress has determined

that PCBs represent an unreasonable risk of injury to

health or the environment, federal PCB disposal regula-

tions are therefore “described in” § 2605(a) (6). Accord-

ae arene

48a

ingly, the parenthetical exception contained in § 2617

(a) (2) (B) applies, removing the preemptive effect of

federal regulation over state disposal requirements. The

states remain free to regulate the disposal of PCBs in a

manner that ultimately does not frustrate the purpose

of the federal goal of reducing the dangers from toxic

substances.

Having determined that the resolution of the paren-

thetical exception issue conclusively answers the question

presented in this case, the Court does not reach the three

other exceptions in § 2617 which might provide addi-

tional bases upon which the State could argue that its

disposal regulations are not preempted.

There are no outstanding issues of material fact with

respect to this dispositive issue in this litigation. Not-

withstanding the fact that the defendants have urged the

Court to proceed to trial and have not filed any cross-

motion for summary judgment, the Court finds that the

defendants are entitled to judgment as a matter of law.

Further proceedings on the merits would be pointless.

The Court therefore denies the plaintiff’s motion for

sumamry judgment and will enter an appropriate de-

claartory judgment order, consistent with this opinion.

Dated: April 16, 1986

<<

/s/ Walter E. Black, Jr.

WALTER E. BLACK, JR.

United States District Judge

49a

APPENDIX D

JUDGMENT

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 86-1573

THE POTOMAC ELECTRIC POWER COMPANY,

Appellee,

versus

STEPHEN H. SACHS in his capacity as Attorney General

of Maryland; ADELE WILZACK, in her capacity as

Secretary of the Maryland Department of Health and

Mental Hygiene,

- Appellants,

STATE OF NEW YORK,

Amicus Curiae,

STATE OF ALABAMA,

Amicus Curiae,

NIAGARA MOHAWK POWER CORPORATION,

Amicus Curiae,

EDISON ELECTRIC INSTITUTE,

Amicus Curiae,

NATIONAL RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ASSOCIATION,

Amicus Curiae,

AMERICAN PUBLIC POWER ASSOCIATION,

Amicus Curiae,

AMERICAN ELECTRIC POWER SERVICE CORPORATION,

Amicus Curiae,

APPALACHIAN POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

50a

CoLUMBUS & SOUTHERN OHIO ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

INDIANA & MICHIGAN ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

OHIO POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

ATLANTIC CITY ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

‘ BALTIMORE GAS & ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

CENTRAL HUDSON GAS & ELECTRIC CORPORATION,

Amicus Curiae,

CENTRAL ILLINOIS LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

CENTRAL ILLINOIS PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

CENTRAL & SOUTH WEST SERVICES,

Amicus Curiae,

CINCINNATI GAS & ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

COMMONWEALTH EDISON COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

CONSOLIDATED EDISON COMPANY OF NEW YORK, INC.,

Amicus Curiae,

DAYTON POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae;

DELMARVA POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

DUKE POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

DUQUESNE LIGHT COMPANY

Amicus Curiae,

5la

FLORIDA POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

HOUSTON LIGHTING & POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

ILLINOIS POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae.

INDIANAPOLIS POWER & LIGHT COMPANY.

Amicus Curiae.

IowA POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Cudiae

IOWA PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY.

Amicus Curiae

JERSEY CENTRAL POWER & LIGHT COMPANY.

Amicus Curie.

MADISON GAS & ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae.

MINNESOTA POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

MONOGAHELA POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

MONTAUP ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

NEW ENGLAND POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

NEW YORK STATE ELECTRIC & GAS CORPORATION,

Amicus Curiae,

OHIO VALLEY ELECTRIC CORPORATION,

Amicus Curiae,

OKLAHOMA GAS & ELECTRIC COMPANY,

’ Amicus Curiae,

PACIFIC GAS & ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

52a

PACIFIC POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

PENNSYLVANIA POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

PHILADELPHIA ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

PUBLIC SERVICE ELECTRIC & GAS COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY OF INDIANA, INC.,

Amicus Curiae,

SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA EDISON COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

SOUTHERN COMPANY SERVICES, INC.,

Amicus Curiae,

ALABAMA POWER COMPANY,

‘ Amicus Curiae,

GEORGIA POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

GULF POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

MISSISSIPPI POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

TAMPA ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

TEXAS UTILITIES GENERATING COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

CLEVELAND ELECTRIC ILLUMINATING COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae.

DETROIT EDISON COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

POTOMAC EDISON COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

58a

TOLEDO EDISON COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

UNION ELECTRIC COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

VIRGINIA ELECTRIC POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

WEST PENN POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

WISCONSIN ELECTRIC POWER COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

WISCONSIN POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Amicus Curiae,

WISCONSIN PUBLIC SERVICE CORPORATION,

Amicus Curiae,

CHESAPEAKE BAY FOUNDATION,

Amicus Curiae,

NATURAL RESOURCES DEFENSE COUNCIL, INC.,

Amicus Curiae,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, -

Amicus Curiae.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of Maryland

[Filed Oct. 17, 1986]

This cause came on to be heard on the record from the

United States District Court for the District of Mary-

land, and was argued by counsel.

54a

On consideration whereof, It is now here ordered and

adjudged by this Court that the judgment of the said

District Court appealed from, in this cause, be, and the

same is hereby, reversed and remanded for proceedings

consistent with this opinion.

/s/ John M. Greacen

Clerk

55a

APPENDIX E

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF MARYLAND

Civil Action No. B-86-220

THE POTOMAC ELECTRIC POWER COMPANY

Vv.

STEPHEN H. SACHS, in his capacity as Attorney General

of Maryland, and ADELE WILZACK, in her capacity as

Secretary of Ataryland Department of Health and

Mental Hygiene

ORDER

Presently pending in this litigation is Defendants’

Motion to Dismiss, or for Summary Judgment Based

Upon Lack of Jurisdiction, or for Stay (Paper 9), as to

which plaintiff has filed an opposition. Supplemental

memoranda have been filed on behalf of both plaintiff

and defendants; and the Court considers the issues to

have been comprehensively briefed. In addition, the

Court has had the benefit of oral argument on behalf of

all parties at a hearing herein on March 13, 1986.

Pursuant to an oral opinion to be rendered at a hear-

ing in this case on March 27, 1986, IT IS, this 25th day

of March, 1986, ORDERED as follows:

1. That the Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss, or for

Summary Judgment Based Upon Lack of Jurisdiction,

or for Stay (Paper 9), BE, and the same hereby IS,

———————————

es |

56a

DENIED, in all respects, and as to all of the relief

sought.

2. That copies of this Order are being transmitted

to counsel of record by the Court.

/s/ Walter E. Black, Jr.

WALTER E. BLACK, JR.

United States District Judge

57a

APPENDIX F

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF MARYLAND

Civil Action No. B-86-220

THE POTOMAC ELECTRIC POWER COMPANY

V.

STEPHEN H. SACHS, in his capacity as Attorney General

of Maryland, and ADELE WILZACK, in her capacity as

Secretary of the Maryland Department of Health and

Mental Hygiene

DECLARATORY JUDGMENT ORDER

On January 22, 1986, plaintiff, The Potomac Electric

Power Company, filed its Verified Complaint for De-

claratory Judgment herein, and contemporaneously filed

Plaintiff’s Motion for Summary Judgment, which was

accepted by the Court for filing on February 11, 1986.

Subsequently, on February 25, 1986, an opposition to

plaintiff's motion was filed on behalf of defendants,

Stephen H. Sachs, in his capacity as Attorney General

of Maryland, and Adele Wilzack, in her capacity as Sec-

retary of the Maryland Department of Health and Men-

tal Hygiene. The Court considers the issues to have been

fully briefed. The Court also had the benefit of oral

argument presented by counsel for the parties at a hear-

ing herein on March 27, 1986.

In accordance with the foregoing opinion of the Court,

IT IS, this 16th day of April, 1986, ORDERED, AD-

JUDGED and DECREED as follows:

58a

1. That Plaintiff's Motion for Summary Judgment

BE, and the same hereby IS, DENIED.

2. That the laws and regulations of the State of

Maryland which establish requirements governing the

manner and method of disposal of polychlorinated bi-

phenyls (PCBs) are not preempted by the provisions of

the Toxic Substances Control Act, 15 U.S.C. § 2601 et

seq. (TOSCA).

3. That the defendants’ costs in this litigation shall

be borne by plaintiff.

4. That the Clerk shall transmit copies of the fore-

going opinion and this Declaratory Judgment Order to

counsel of record for the parties to this litigation.

/s/ Walter E. Black, Jr.

WALTER E. BLACK, JR.

United States District Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.