Opposition Brief — Aprile v. Kentucky

Supreme Court brief1987

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Ae) Gourt, Se

“—t iL. ” D

pec 22 198

No. 86-852

u, JR

PH f-

JOSEPA eek

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1986

J. VINCENT APRILE, II and

JULIE NAMKIN . ° . . Petitioners

versus

COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY =. Respondent

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR

WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME

COURT OF KENTUCKY

JOHN ROBERT LEATHERS

P. O. Box 22242

Lexington, Kentucky 40522

Telephone (606) 257-1485

Counsel of Record for Respondent

Commonwealth of Kentucky

SUSAN STOKLEY CLARY

Kentucky Supreme Court

Capitol Building

Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

Telephone (502) 564-4156

Co-Counsel for Respondent

December 19, 1986

WESTERFIELD-BONTE CO.. 619 W. KENTUCKY~P.O. BOX 3251, LOUISVILLE, KY.

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Bee er I 66s 6 wh bees ce ccs rscaans i

Appendix Table of Contents ................ pause iv

Constitutional Provisions Involved ................. 1- 2

Counterstatement of the Case ...................... 2- 3

PT TE TO, ogc n kk hack kcceceveescecens 3- 5

Reasons for Denial of the Writ .................... 5-30

I. The Petition for the Writ Should be Denied as

Having Been Sought on Frivolous Grounds. .... 5-12

If. The Holding of Petitioners in Criminal Contempt

of the Supreme Court of Kentucky Was Not

Violative of Due Process and Was an Appro-

priate Exercise of the Criminal Contempt Powers

Oe Se ee 5 a a a a ee cee 13-24

A. The Due Process Standards Advanced by Pe-

titioners Are Inapplicable to a Contempt Pro-

ceeding Before an Appellate Court Such as

the Supreme Court of Kentucky. ........... 15-20

B. Petitioners’ Due Process Rights Were Not

Violated by the Failure of the Supreme Court

of Kentucky to Make Findings of Fact and

ee Be MP Peeve eT Teer eer er 20-22

C. Petitioners’ Due Process Rights Were Not

Violated by the Failure of the Supreme Court

of Kentucky to Set Forth the Standard of

Proof in the Contempt Proceeding Against

AGE Era Cee eer ere ere 22-24

III. The Decision of the Supreme Court of Kentucky

to Hold Petitioners in Contempt Was Not Viola-

tive of Any Rights to Effective Assistance of

RR eee ices Ceca rua ee ae as 24-30

Ra a ES ADEE RR lara hah Se art? ee Pr mT? 30

I A I i te a as 31

il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

os

Cases: PAGE

Anders v. California, 386 U.S. 738 (1967) ........ 7

Association of Data Processing Serv. Organizations,

Inc. v. Camp, 397 U.S. 150 (1970) ............. 25

Bloom v. Illinois, 391 U.S. 194 (1968) ............ 17, 23

Cardinale v. Louisiana, 394 U.S. 437 (1969) ...... 25

Cleaver v. Bordenkircher, 634 F. 2d 1010 (6th Cir.,

1 LP 4,7

Commonwealth v. Schumacher, 566 S.W. 2d 762

(Ky, App., 1978) ...:.0cc02sueeeen eee 6

Crowell v. Randell, 10 Pet. 368 (1836) ............ 5, 25

Douglas v. California, 372 U.S. 353 (1963) ........ 7

Evitts v. Lucey, 469 U. S. 387 (1985) ............. 4,5,7

Ex Parte Auditor of Public Accounts, 609 S. W. 2d

682 (Ky., 1980) ..... a 12

Ex Parte Terry, 128 U.S. 298 (1888) ............. :

Ex Parte Robinson, 86 U.S. 506 (1874) ........... 13

Fienup v. Rentto, 74 S. D. 329, 52 N. W. 2d 486

(1992)... oo en ao 21

Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S. 83 (1968) ............... 26

Hildebrand v. Hildebrand, 32 Wash. 2d 311, 201 P.

20 213 (1949) ... cdo deen 21

In re Buttles, 419 U. S. 1101 (1975) .............. 19

In re Davis, 289 U. S. 704 (iSaa) 55.5 eee 19

In re McConnell, 370 U. S. 230 (1962) ............. 14

In re Gilbert, 276 U. S. 294 (1928) ................ 19

In re Isserman, 345 U. S. 286 (1953), rev’d. 348

U. S. 1 (1954) ..... 5a 18

In re Osborne, 420 U. S. 918 (1975) .............. 19

In re Ruffalo, 390 U. S. 544 (1968) ............... 18

In re Woolley, 74 Ky. % (1874): 2... «42 13

Levisa Stone Corp. v. Hayes, 429 8. W. 2d 413 (Ky.,

|e.) EP 23

Miller v. Veitner, 418 S. W. 2d 32 (Ky., 1972) ..... 23

lil

PAGE

Murdock v. Memphis, 20 Wall. 590 (1875) ......... 2

Nixon v. United States, 418 U.S. 683 (1974) ...... 29

United States v. Barnett, 376 U.S. 681 (1964) ..... 16

U.S. ex rel. Chapman v. F.P.C., 345 U.S. 153, 156

re iy rs ee ik hak eee we kak 4 26

Village of Arlington Heights v. Metropolitan Hous-

ing Development Corp., 429 U.S. 252 (1977) ... = 26

Other:

U.S. Const., Amend. V ........ Teer er error ere . 14

aS ae 7 |

a eS a .14, 15

Ger a aa . 14

TS aos 6 vd painsae 4 ae ds 2 ean edd ews 17

ESIC eT e eee eee er eee eee 5, 22, 20

United States Supreme Court Rules, Rule8....... - 18

Kentucky Constitution, Section 109 .............. 1

Kentucky Constitution, Section 115 ............. 2, 6, 17

Kentucky Constitution, Section 116 .............. 2,6

Kentucky Rules of Civil Procedure, C.R. 52.01 .... 20

Kentucky Rules of Civil Procedure, C.R. 76.12 (4) (6) 3

Kentucky Rules of Criminal Procedure, R.Cr.

ES ee eee eee er ee 20

Stern, Gressman & Shapiro, Supreme Court Prac-

fice (6th Eid., 1986), Section 19.8 .............. 18

- iv

APPENDIX

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Transcript of Hearing before Supreme Court of Ken-

tucky held Jane 94, T0606 25.0 n ccc ccc ces cciees's la

Motion for Extension of Time filed by Petitioners in

ease of Sanborn v. Commonwealth (84-SC-566-I),

ee erry rere ree rrr Cer r eT Tee 27a

Order of Supreme Court of Kentucky for Extension

of Time in case of Sanborn v. Commonwealth (84-

SC-566-I), entered August 30, 1986 .............. 32a

Motion for Extension of Time filed by Petitioners in

ease of Sanborn v. Commonwealth (84-SC-566-I),

ee | eee rere ee ears PEE rey rere 33a

Opinion and Order of Supreme Court of Kentucky in

ease of Sanborn v. Commonwealth (84-SC-566-I),

SRO I i ok cs Oe SE 39a

Motion for Reconsideration of Order of August 7, 1986,

filed by Petition in case of Sanborn v. Common-

wealth (84-SC-566-I), filed August 18, 1986 ...... 44a

Order of Supreme Court of Kentucky Denying Motion

for Reconsideration in ease of Sanborn v. Common-

wealth (84-SC-566-1), entered September 25, 1986. 53a

Motion to Vacate the Finding of Contempt of Court,

filed by Petitioners in case of Sanborn v Common-

wealth (84-SC-566-I), filed October 6, 1986 ....... aoa

Order of Supreme Court of Kentucky Denying Motion

to Vacate Contempt Finding in case of Sanborn v.

Commonwealth (84-SC-566-I), entered October 31,

BE ee clecte neue GEOR ETT WLR EES 60a

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UMTED STATES

October Term, 1986

No. 86-852

J. VINCENT APRILE, IT and

JULIE NAMKIN - - - - - Petitioners

v.

COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY - - Respondent

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR

WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME

COURT OF KENTUCKY

The Respondent, Commonwealth of Kentucky, re-

quests that the Court deny the petition for a writ of

certiorari to review-the Opinion and Order of the

Supreme Court of Kentucky entered in this proceeding

on September 25, 1986, which order had denied recon-

sideration of an earlier order of the Supreme Court of

Kentucky entered on August 7, 1986.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

In addition to those constitutional provisions set

forth by Petitioner, the following provisions of the

Constitution of the Commonwealth of Kentucky are

also involved.

Section 109 of the Kentucky Constitution provides,

in relevant part, as follows:

The judicial power of the Commonwealth shall be

vested exclusively in one Court of Justice which

shall be divided into a Supreme Court, a Court of

Appeals, a trial court of general jurisdiction known

as the circuit court and a trial court of limited

jurisdiction known as the district court.

2

Section 115 of the Kentucky Constitution provides,

in relevant part, as follows:

Procedural rules shall provide for expeditious and

inexpensive appeals.

Section 116 of the Kentucky Constitution provides,

in relevant part, as follows:

The Supreme Court shall have the power to pre-

seribe rules governing its appellate jurisdiction,

... and rules of practice and procedure for the

Court of Justice.

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE

While the factual account of the events leading up

to this present controversy is for the most part correct

as supplied by Petitioners, there are some very crucial

inaccuracies which must be corrected. Additionally,

the Petition which has been filed herein contains, both

in its Statement of the Case and in its Argument, cer-

tain factual assertions which are not supported by any

evidence in the record below. For the purpose of clari-

fying the events at the June 24, 1986, show cause

hearing before the Supreme Court of Kentucky, a

transcript of that hearing is provided in the appendix

to this brief. (Hereinafter cited at ‘“‘T.R.—’’) This

sow cause hearing was necessitated by the Petitioners

having failed to file a brief at the conclusion of a ten

month extension after the expiration of the original

time for the filing of the brief. (The original motion

of Petitioners for an extension is set forth in Appendix,

pp. 27a-3la; the order of the Supreme Court of Ken-

tucky to make a timely filing or show cause is set forth

in Appendix, p. 32a) Despite having been under a show

3

ciuse order should they fail to timely file their brief

during the ten months prior to June 2, 1986, Petitioners

instead chose to wait until the very last day of that

period to file a motion for a further extension rather

than filing the brief which had been so long ordered to

be filed. (The second motion of Petitioners for an ex-

tension of time is set forth in Appendix pp. 33a-38a; a

colloquy between Petitioner Aprile and the Justice

Liebson of the Supreme Court about Petitioners having

waited until the very last day to move for an extension

appears at T.R. 17-18).

At the show cause hearing before the Supreme

Court of Kentucky, it was disclosed that Petitioner

Aprile had not, even at that point thirteen months after

the certification of the record, read the record. (T.R. 6)

Indeed, written work on the brief had not even begun

as of that date. (T.R. 40) As Petitioner Aprile

phrased the matter, work had not begun on the ‘‘actual

final product of the brief.”’ (T.R.8) Following their

being held in contempt, Petitioners completed work on

the brief in five months and the appeal ‘‘brief”’ (if a

document 358 pages in length can be called a ‘“‘brief”’)

was finally filed on November 2, 1986, after the Supreme

Court of Kentucky had granted a motion for leave to

file a brief in excess of the fifty page limit set by C.R.

76.12 (4) (6).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. The petition for the writ should be denied as

having been sought on frivolous grounds. Petitioners

have not sought the writ of certiorari to vindicate any

4

constitutional rights but rather to subvert the ability

of the Kentucky court system to control the flow of

appeals being prosecuted by publicly funded counsel.

Petitioners apparently seek to obtain relief in this

proceeding so that it ean be combined with the holdings

of this Court in Evitts v. Lucey, 469 U. S. 387 (1985)

and the Sixth Cireuit in Cleaver v. Bordenkircher, 634

F. 2d 1010 (6th Cir., 1980). The net resuit of those two

prior cases, if coupled with an outcome herein favorable

to Petitioners, would be to leave the Supreme Court of

Kentucky either unable to force the expeditious treat-

ment of appeals on its docket or to embroil it in a con-

troversy with the executive and legislative branches of

state government. A further effect would be to leave

criminal defendants such as the one represented by

Petitioners below without access to an expeditious

appeal, a matter about which Petitioners concede such

persons to be concerned . (T.R. 28)

Il. The holding of Petitioners in criminal con-

tempt of the Supreme Court of Kentucky was not vio-

lative of due process and was an appropriate exercise

of the criminal contempt powers of the Court. Peti-

tioners have undermined the Supreme Court of Ken-

tucky’s ability and duty, as manifested in the Constitu-

tion of the Commonweal*h of Kentucky to control the

appellate processes of the state. For such actions,

Petitioners were rightly held in contempt of court by

the Supreme Court of Kentucky. In the finding of

Petitioners in contempt, the Supreme Court of Ken-

tucky followed constitutionalfy sound procedures for

such proceedings before an appellate level court. Such

4)

sufficient procedures consisted of notice, opportunity

to be heard and a result with findings and conclusions

based upon evidence introduced into the record of such

proceeding.

III. The decision of the Supreme Court Of Ken-

tucky to hold Petitioners in contempt was not violative

of any rights to effective assistance of counsel. The

right to counsel argument of Petitioners should not be

considered by the Court for the reason that such argu-

ment was not raised in the proceeding below and is not

supported by any evidence in the record of this pro-

eeeding. 28 U.S.C. 1257(3); Crowell v. Randell, 10

Pet. 368 (1836). Such argument should further be

rejected for the reason that Petitioners lack standing

to make such argument. Even should the argument be

considered properly raised, the argument is spurious

because this Court has expressly indicated that applica-

tion of sauctions against attorneys is an available

option to state courts in situations where sanctions

could not be applied to the clients of said attorneys

without violation of the constitutional right to effective

assistance of counsel. Evitts v. Lucey, 469 U.S. 387

(1985).

REASONS FOR DENIAL OF THE WRIT

I. The Petition for the Writ Should be Denied as Having

Been Sought on Frivolous Grounds.

The currently pending petition should be denied on

the grounds demonstrated, infra, that the due process—

contempt arguments of Petitioners are frivolous be-

cause they are inapplicable to the facts at hand. Of

even more importance to the maintenance of judicial

6

integrity is that this proceeding is pressed by Peti-

tioners not to vindicate their due process rights but

rather to usurp the power of the Supreme Court of

Kentucky to control the process of regulating the flow

of cases through the state’s appellate structure. In

Kentucky, the power to make rules applicable to such

proceedings is vested by Section 116 of the Kentucky

Constitution in the Supreme Court of Kentucky. In-

deed, in regard to appellate proceedings, the Supreme

Court of Kentucky is required to provide rules which

will ‘provide for expeditious and inexpensive appeals.”’

Ky. Const. See. 115. As Justice Leibson observed at

the show cause hearing, the Supreme Court of Ken-

tucky has ‘‘a duty to maintain the authority of the

Court”’ over such matters. (T.R.18) This is a power

which has been held to be exclusively within the judicial

power in Kentucky, excluding even interference by the

Kentucky legislature. Commonwealth v. Schumacher,

566 S. W. 2d 762 (Ky. App., 1978) Indeed, it would

be fair to say that this case is not about due process but

in reality involves a power struggle over control of the

process of appellate advocacy in public counsel criminal

eases. It further is the case that always present in

such death penalty cases is the fact that defense counsel

often bear philosophical opposition to the penalty and

that delay serves, if nothing else, to prevent the carry-

ing out of the sentence.

The issue which lurks behind this case is that of

effective assistance of counsel requirements for cerim-

inal appeals being handled by the Office of Publie

Advocacy. In regard to the situation in Kentucky, the

7

leading federal cases on point are Cleaver vy. Borden-

kircher, 634 F. 2d 1010 (6th Cir., 1980) and Evitts v.

Lucey, 469 U. S. 387 (1985). In Cleaver, the Sixth

Circuit upheld the issuance of a writ of habeas corpus

to a prisoner whose appeal had been dismissed when

his publicly supplied counsel was denied an extension

of time in which to file an appeal brief. The holding

was based upon the Sixth Circuit’s conclusion that the

Sixth Amendment right to counsel was denied when

such extension was denied to an attorney whose case-

load made it physically impossible for him to file in a

timely fashion. In Fitts, this Court upheid the issu-

ance of a writ of habeas corpus to a prisoner whose

appeal had been dismissed for failure of his publicly

supplied counsel to file a statement of appeal as re-

quired by the procedures of Kentucky. In both cases,

reliance was placed upon the right to counsel interpre-

tations of Anders v. California, 386 U. 8. 738 (1967)

and Douglas v. California, 372 U. 8. 353 (1963). In

light of those two prior cases, the Supreme Court of

Kentucky finds itself in a position where it cannot

deny such ‘‘motions’’ for an extension of time. As

Justice Leibson noted about such actions by Petition-

ers, Petitioners were “telling [the Supreme Court of

Kentucky] not that you need an extension of time and

we should give it to you, but we have to give it to you.”

(T.R. 18, emphasis added)

Petitioners represented a convicted murderer and

rapist. In March, 1984, Parramore Lee Sanborn was

convicted of capital murder, first degree sodomy, first

degree rape and first degree kidnapping; for those

8

offenses, he was given the death penalty. Fourteen

months later, on May 30, 1985, the record in the case

was certified for appeal. Following that certification,

Petitioners were given until August 2, 1985, in which

to file their appeal; they then received a ten month

extension coupled with a show cause order if they did

not file the brief by June 2, 1986. The due date for the

appeal brief was thus thirteen months after the record

had been certified on appeal. Instead of filing their

brief on June 2, Petitioners on that very due date filed

instead a motion for another ten month extension.

Given the holdings of the Sixth Cireuit in Cleaver and

of this Court in Evitts, the Supreme Court of Ken-

tucky had no choice but to allow Petitioners to continue

to delay the filing of the appeal brief. The entry of any

sort of sanction against Sanborn himself would have

been grounds for a grant of habeas corpus. Thus, if

the entry of a sanction against Sanborn was the only

option open to the Supreme Court of Kentucky, there

simply would have been no procedural limit to when

Petitioners would be required to file beeause such sane-

tion would not in fact have been available due to the

effective assistance of counsel requirements of Cleaver

and Evitts. The usage of any sanction against Sanborn

would have been pointless since reversal of the Su-

preme Court of Kentucky for such actions would have

been inevitable. The ‘‘motion” of Petitioners for an

extension was not a motion at all—the Supreme Court

of Kentucky had no choice but to grant it, as Justice

Leibson quite aptly observed. (TUR. 18)

9

Now with this petition, Petitioners have in effect

‘dropped the other shoe.”’ The cloak of constitutional

‘‘questions’’ presented does not hide the substance of

this ploy. With Cleaver and Evitts as their base, Peti-

tioners ask this Court to hold that counsel cannot con-

stitutionally be penalized for failure to file briefs in a

» de

timely fashion. With no sanction available against

their client, the net result is to elevate the Office of

Publie Advocacy beyond the reach of time constraints.

According to this argument, their client could not con-

stitutionally be penalized for failure to file, Petitioners

could not constitutionally be penalized for failure to

file and, as if by magic, any time constraints upon Peti-

tioners disappeared. Of even greater significance is

that not only would time constraints disappear, the

ability of the Supreme Court of Kentucky to regulate

the state’s inferior courts, its appellate process, the

actions of its practitioners and the Supreme Court of

Kentueky’s own processes would similarly disappear.

At stake in this case is no less than the question of

whether the time periods for filing appeals for criminal

indigents in the Kentucky courts will be controlled by

the Supreme Court of Kentucky or by Petitioners and

those similarly situated.

Indeed, there is no reason to think that the question

is limited to time periods for filing appeals; similar

tacties would seem equally effective in such other mat-

ters as length of the appellate brief, length of time

assiened for oral argument and most of the other rules

of procedure applicable to the processing of appeals.

Usage of the tactic in related areas is amply demon-

10

strated by the fact that, when Petitioners did finally

choose to file a brief for their client, it was 348 pages in

length. Such result is not unusual, Justice Leibson

having observed that the Supreme Court of Kentucky

regularly receives from the office of Petitioner ‘four

or five hundred pages of briefing, most of whieh isn’t

even remotely arguable, much of which isn’t, instead of

focusing on the major points.”?’ (T.R. 26) Further

compounding such abusive tactics is the fact that it

appears that in some cases, briefs from the office of

Petitioners have been ‘‘eut and pasted’? on word pro-

cessors from prior briefs, with the office at times

forgetting even to change the name of the criminal

defendant from one case to the other (T.R. 15) or

having briefed a criminal offense for which the de-

fendant was not even convicted. (T.R. 15, comment

of Justice Wintersheimer) Furthermore, there is no

reason to suppose that the guerrilla tacties being per-

fected by Petitioners will be limited to the Kentucky

court system or even to all the other state court systems

in the United States. If Petitioners see fit to ignore

this Court’s five page limitation upon a reply in this

case, it is easy to envision the grounds upon which such

‘right’? will be asserted. Even this Court may find

itself, as did Justice Leibson, ‘tat the merey of the

lawyer, because otherwise we can have a collateral

attack.’’ (T.R. 26)

Assuming that what Petitioners really seek in this

proceeding is an ability to set their own time schedule

for the filing of criminal appeal briefs for indigents,

was there any other alternative open to the Kentucky

11

Supreme Court than to hold them in contempt after a

proper hearing? In their Petition, Petitioners state

that ‘‘The real source of the problem is the burden of

overload upon the public advocates.’” (Petition, p. 13)

An additional contributing factor is the policy of Pe-

titioners’ office to assign two attorneys to death penalty

cases and to have both attorneys read the entire record.

(T.R. 32) In their motion to the Kentucky Supreme

Court for reconsideration of the contempt citation,

Petitioners stated that ‘tthe Commonwealth has not

budgeted adequate funds to the Department of Public

Advoeacy’’. (Motion for Reconsideration, p. 4) The

matter of the funding of the Office of Public Advocacy

is a matter over which the Supreme Court of Kentucky

has absolutely no control; the funding decision is a

political matter about which Petitioner Aprile is very

knowledgeable given his frequent appearances before

the Kentucky General Assembly as a lobbyist for his

office. What is sought herein is either the help of the

Supreme Court of Kentucky in securing that which

Petitioners’ employer could not secure through the

legislative process or to visit the consequences of their

lobbying failure upon their clients and the court

system. -

Petitioners in this case have deliberately placed

themselves into a position in which the Supreme Court

of Kentucky was foreed to make a choice among three

alternatives: (1) to give up on taking any action

against Petitioners, which action when combined with

Cleaver and Evitts would leave the control of the Su-

12

preme Court’s processes virtually in the hands of Pe-

titioners and their colleagues; (2) to embroil itself into

the processes of the executive and legislative branches

of Kentucky state government by ordering that addi-

tional funding be provided to the Office of Publie Ad-

vocacy; or (3) to hold Petitioners in contempt for

having created the dilemma with which they attempted

to confront the Court. It must be obvious that abdi-

cation of control of the judicial process was an un-

acceptable alternative, not just for the Supreme Court

of Kentucky, but for other state courts and for this

Court as well. Neither was the second alternative ap-

propriate in a state as firmly committed to the doctrine

of separation of powers as is Kentucky, and it would

seem equally unacceptable should the tactic be ‘‘ex-

ported’”’ to the federal svstem. See, €.9., Rar Parte

Auditor of Publie Accounts, 609 S. W. 2d 682 (BY.

1980). Thus, only the third alternative remained in

view of the usage of two attorneys om the case and

absent a showing of any reasonable cause why brief-

ing of the case had not even begun at the time of the

show cause hearing. It must be coneluded that Peti-

tioners deliberately put themselves into the position to

force that choice, that the choice came out the only

way that any reasonable appellate court would have

chosen and that Petitioners should not mow be allowed

to eseape the fruits of their attempt or to foist those

unacceptable alternatives upon the Supreme Court of

Kentucky through the help of this Court.

13

II. The Holding of Petitioners in Criminal Contempt of the

Supreme Court of Kentucky Was Not Violative of Due

Process and Was an Appropriate Exercise of the Crim-

inal Contempt Powers of the Court.

The ability of the Supreme Court of Kentucky,

both under state and federal law, to punish for con-

tempt is well settled.

The power to punish for comtempts is inher-

ent in all courts; its existence is essential to the

preservation of order in judicial proceedings, and

to the enforcement of the judgments, orders and

writs of the courts, and consequently, to the due

administration of justice. Hae Parte Robinson, 86

U.S. 506, 509 (1874).

‘‘And such is the recognized doctrine in reference to

the powers of the courts of the several States’. Fa

Parte Terry, 128 U.S. 298, 303 (1888). Similarly it

is well settled in both state and federal practice that

such power is activated by the issuance of a ‘‘rule”’

or a ‘‘show cause order’’. Ee Parte Robinson, supra,

utilized a show cause order in federal practice and the

practice in Kentucky dates back at least to In Re

Woolley, 74 Ky. 95 (1874), in which such procedure

was utilized by the state’s then-highest court, the

Court of Appeals. There are literally hundreds of

reported cases in the federal and state system in the

United States which have used the practice commonly

and continuously since the founding of this country.

In review of this case, however, it is necessary to

keep in mind one very crucial difference between the

availability of contempt power in the federal system

and the state system. Despite the fact that many fed-

14

eral cases speak of the authority to punish for contempt

as being inherent in the federal courts, there has long

been federal legislation applicable to that contempt

power. See, 18 U.S.C. 401. This federal statutory

dimension, which is criminal in nature, probably ex-

plains at least in part the long search by this Court

for a meaningful distinction between civil and criminal

contempt. In the state of Kentucky, there is no legis-

lation which applies any such limits or restrictions

upon the contempt power of the judiciary. As a result

of this, many of the cases cited by Petitioners in sup-

port of the Petition simply have no applicability to

the facts at hand. Often a federal case will apply a

restrictive view of contempt, not because of any federal’

constitutional requirement but because of a federal

statutory requirement. See, e.g., In Re McConnell, 370

U.S. 230 (1962). The effect of the dichotomy between

federal statutory provisions and federal constitutional

provisions will be that only those United States Su-

preme Court decisions reviewing state contempt pro-

ceedings and those federal decisions based on federal

constitutional requirements are applicable herein. In

regard to that latter category, even those cases may be

of limited authority given the possibility that the due

process clause of the Fifth Amendment (which is the

constitutional source in federal contempts) may not be

exactly mirrored by the requirements of due process

under the Fourteenth Amendment (which is the con-

stitutional source in state contempts).

15

In attacking the finding of the Kentucky Supreme

Court that they were in contempt for failure to file a

timely brief, Petitioners raise a multitude of argu-

ments, some of which purport to be based on the re-

quirement of Due Process and others of which lack

any apparent federal constitutional basis. Whether

taken individually or in the aggregate, the contentions

of Petitioners are invalid and the Petition should be

denied.

A. The Due Process Standards Advanced by Petitioners are

Inapplicable to a Contempt Proceeding Before an Appellate

Court Such as the Supreme Court of Kentucky.

The Petitioners have advanced a number of bases

on which it is alleged that their having been held in

contempt by the Supreme Court of Kentucky was in

violation of certain due process standards applicable

to state proceedings under the Fourteenth Amendment.

Included among the alleged violations of due process

were such disparate matters as the size of the vote by

which they were held in contempt, an alleged failure

to specify the elements of their offense, an alleged fail-

ure to specify the standards applicable to their conduct,

an alleged failure to make findings of fact and conclu-

sions of Jaw and an alleged failure to apply the appro-

priate standard of proof inthe case. While it certainly

is true that due process is required in any state court

proceeding, including the one below, Petitioners have

made a fundamental error in concluding that the stand-

ards which they have advanced are the ones which

governed the proceeding below. This error on their

16

part comes from a failure to distinguish between a

contempt proceeding before a trial court (with or with-

out a jury) and a contempt proceeding before the

highest appellate court of the jurisdiction—here the

Supreme Court of Kentucky. The hodge-podge of

arguments advanced by Petitioners relating to the

technical aspects of the contempt finding are difficult

to respond to because of such confusion. In this petty

variety of contempt, it is difficult to envision how Pe-

titioners envision the contempt powers of the Supreme

Court of Kentucky should be exercised. It would seem

absurd for the highest court of the state to in effect

charge itself as a trial judge would charge a jury and

then to withdraw for consideration as would a jury of

laymen. Common sense would indicate that contempt

in this appellate setting is fundamentally different than

in the setting of trial courts which is common to the

eases utilized by Petitioners.

This Court has previousiy considered the distinction

between trial court contempt powers and appellate

court contempt powers in United States v. Barnett, 376

U.S. 681 (1964), in which famous case Ross Barnett,

then governor of Mississippi, was held in contempt by

the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Cir-

cuit for disobedience to that court’s order that James

Meredith, a black person, be admitted as a student at

the University of Mississippi. In that case, the Court

held that a jury trial was not required in a proceeding

to determine contempt regarding a Court of Appeals

order, rejecting the argument of Governor Barnett

17

that a jury trial was required by 18 U.S.C. 402, the

Sixth Amendment or the due process clause of the

Fifth Amendment. While the apparent conclusion of

Barnett that there was no right te jury trial in econ-

tempts regardless of the punishment has been modified

by Bloom v. Illinois, 391 U. 8. 194 (1968), so that a

serious contempt would activate jury trial protection,

there has been and should be no retreat by this Court

from the conclusion that an appellate setting is fun-

damentally different from a contempt proceeding in

a trial court.

In the case at hand, the Supreme Court of Ken-

tucky’s usage of the contempt power can most fairly

be analogized to the usage of a disciplinary power over

a practitioner responsible to that court for his actions

taken on h~ half of his client. The Supreme Court of

Kentucky is charged by Section 115 of the Kentucky

Constitution with the duty of providing rules for ‘‘ex-

peditious and inexpensive appeals,’’ a duty as surely

present in a case where publicly provided counsel

handles the appeal as where private counsel is in

charge. In the case at hand an expeditious appeal

could hardly have been said to be taking place where

the three month briefing time (between certification

of record in May, 1985, and the original due date in

August, 1985) had already been extended for ten

months and Petitioners sought still an additional ten

month extension. It should additionally be noted that,

all the while that Petitioners delayed the preparation

of their brief, their client languished in prison. While

18

their position may be that he thereby escaped issuance

of a death warrant, it is equally possible that their

appeal might have been successful and that some result

culminating in his release might have been obtained.

It is not the function of Petitioners to dictate the out-

come of a case by their own course of conduct—their

duty to the Supreme Court of Kentucky and to their

client was to file a competent, professional brief in a

timely manner. They violated that duty, gave no good

reason for their failure and were quite properly dis-

ciplined by the Supreme Court of Kentucky for dis-

obedience.

In the closely related, but obviously more serious,

area of attorney discipline, the Court has long required

scrupulous obedience by its own practitioners to the

orders of the Court. Despite this Court’s conclusion

that a disbarment proceeding is ‘‘quasi-criminal’’ (/n

re Ruffalo, 390 U.S. 544 [1968]), the Court’s own rule

provides for a summary procedure in which the burden

is placed upon the attorney to show cause why he

should not be disbarred. Rule 8; In re Isserman, 345

U. S. 286 (1953), rev’d. 348 U. S. 1 (1954). Although

the current version of Rule 8 does not expressly so pro-

vide, it appears that such decisions are made simply

upon a majority vote of the justices of this Court par-

ticipating. In re Isserman, 348 U.S. 1 (1954) ; Stern,

Gressman & Shapiro, Supreme Court Practice (6th

Ed., 1986), Section 19.8. The reported decisions of the

Court seem to indicate that such disbarment decisions

are made by the Court simply upon the written filings ;

19

if oral arguments do in fact take place in such pro-

ceedings, they appear to be rare. See, e.g., In re Os-

borne, 420 U. S. 918 (1975); In re Buttles, 419 U. S.

1101 (1975). The sanction imposed by the Supreme

Court of Kentucky upon Petitioners (suspended fines

of $500 and $250) falls well below the penalty of dis-

barment and was issued by procedures (including oral

argument) which go far beyond those required by this

Court for the policing of its own practitioners.

In the application of sanctions to its own practi-

tioners,: this Court utilizes show cause orders in the

same fashion utilized by the Supreme Court of Ken-

tucky. Rule 8. Such procedure has been used by this

Court to issue a reprimand to an attorney for failure

to pay a bill of the Court’s clerk for costs. In re Davis,

289 U. S. 704 (1933). In such cases, the Court has

noted the necessity of giving its ‘‘action a punitive

quality to make the high obligation of the members of

the bar to respect decisions of the Court’’. In re

Gilbert, 276 U. S. 294 (1928). In Gilbert, the Court

suspended from practice for a period of six months a

member of the bar who had failed to obey the Court’s

order that he return a portion of the fee which he had

claimed for service as a special master for the Court.

Obedience to its orders is every bit as important to the

Supreme Court of Kentucky as is obedience to the

orders of this Court. The contempt finding against

Petitioners was made by the Supreme Court of Ken-

tucky under circumstances which would have similarly

moved this Court, had the actions taken place here

20

rather than in Kentucky, and such findings were made

in a manner procedurally identical to those which this

Court has used regarding its own practitioners. Such

procedures are not violative of any standards of due

process and should be upheld by the Court.

B. Petitioners’ Due Process Rights Were Not Violated by the

Failure of the Supreme Court of Kentucky to Make Find-

ings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

Petitioners contend that their due process rights

were violated by the failure of the Supreme Court of

Kentucky in its August 7 order to make findings of

fact and conclusions of law. As their basis for alleg-

ing such failure to be violative of due process, Peti-

tioners point to provisions of the procedural rules

applicable in Kentucky in civil cases (C.R. 52.01) and

criminal eases (R.Cr. 9.26[2]). From this, Petitioners

reason that ‘‘the failure of the Supreme Court of Ken-

tucky to follow its own rules is fundamentally unfair

and constitutes a violation of due process’. (Petition,

p. 11)

It cannot fairly be stated that the Supreme Court

of Kentucky has failed to follow its own rules. Ini-

tially it should be noted that there exists no Kentucky

authority for the proposition that the provisions of

the Civil Rules or the Criminal Rules are even ap-

plicable to a contempt proceeding before the Supreme

Court of Kentucky. Assuming such to be the case,

the August 7 order of the Court is in compliance with

both rules because the opinion rendered there fairly

states the findings of fact and conclusions of law, thus

21

obviating the need for a separate document embodying

the findings and conclusions. C.R. 52.01; R.Cr. 9.26(2).

Even if one would assume, however, that the August

7 order did not in fact comply with the requirements

of the Kentucky procedural rules, Petitioners cite

absolutely no authority for the proposition that such

failure constitutes a violation of due process. The two

cases of sister states cited by Petitioners contain no

authority for such a proposition. In Fienup v. Rentto,

74 8. D. 329, 52 N. W. 2d 486 (1952) a South Dakota

trial court’s contempt finding was reversed for failure

to make findings and conclusions as required by estab-

lished state caselaw; there is not even a hint in the

opinion that such findings were required by anyone’s

standard of due process—state or federal. Similarly

in Hildebrand v. Hildebrand, 32 Wash. 2d 311, 201

P. 2d 213 (1949) a trial court was reversed for fail-

ure to make findings required by state law; no portion

of the opinion even addresses any question of due

process. It is further significant to note that both de-

cisions involve contempt findings by trial courts; it

would seem obvious that considerations applicable to

trial courts are not directly applicable to proceedings

before the highest court of the state.

Even if it were correct that the Supreme Court of

Kentucky had failed to make findings and conclusions

required by state law, such failure could constitute

grounds for review in this Court only of such failure

rose to a level of impairment of some right protected

by the United States Constitution. This Court is not

22

simply an appellate court with the power to review all

of the actions of the Supreme Court of Kentucky. Only

those matters which are governed by federal law can

here be reviewed. Murdock v. Memphis, 20 Wall. 590

(1875) ; 28 U.S.C. 1257(3). No such matter is pre-

sented by these facts. The August 7 order of the

Supreme Court of Kentucky contains sufficient findings

and conclusions; if it does not, such failure is solely

a matter of state law which is outside the review of

this Court.

C. Petitioners’ Due Process Rights Were Not Violated by the

Failure of the Supreme Court of Kentucky to Set Forth the

Standard of Proof in the Contempt Proceeding Against

Peiitioners.

Petitioners contend that a violation of due process

has occurred in their contempt citation by virtue of the

fact that the Supreme Court of Kentucky did not

identify what standard of proof was necessary for the

finding of contempt. From that alleged failure and

the nature of the 4-3 vote of the Supreme Court, Pe-

titioners conclude that a finding of criminal contempt

has been entered against them without proof of ‘guilt”’

beyond a reasonable doubt, as would be required in

criminal cases.

Whatever may be the theoretical difference between

criminal contempt and civil contempt, such distinction

is insignificant as a practical matter in Kentucky. In

modern dealings with the special problems posed by

contempt, Kentucky’s highest court has observed that

such proceedings are in a class by themselves, involving

unique aspects and that attempts to apply ordinary

23

rules of practice and procedure simply cause confusion.

Levisa Stone Corp. v. Hayes, 429 S. W. 2d 413 (Ky.,

1968). In the absence of a criminal statute analogous

to 18 U.S.C. 401, there is no reason for the state to

mirror the great importance placed in the federal sys-

tem on the distinction between civil and criminal

contempt.

Since 1972, Kentucky’s judiciary has abandoned the

attempt to maintain a practical distinction between

civil and criminal contempts, noting that ‘‘the long and

tortuous effort of the courts to classify contempts as

civil or criminal has been a fruitless search for the im-

possible’. Miller v. Veitner, 418 8S. W. 2d 32, 34 (Ky.,

1972). Rather than distinguishing between civil and

criminal contempts, the Kentucky courts have noted

that ‘‘[t]he important distinction to be drawn, it seems

to us, is between those contempts for which a person

cannot be jailed or fined without a jury trial and

those for which he can’’. Id. at 35. Since it is clear

that the punishments imposed on Petitioners here

(fines of $500 and $250, each suspended) did not rise

to the level necessary to require a jury trial under the

holding of Bloom vy. I/linois, 391 U. S. 194 (1968), it

follows that the distinction between the types of con-

tempt is of no importance under state law, and this

Court should not reimpose upon the state its long-

abandoned search for a distinction between the two

types of contempt.

Both this argument and the argument of Petition-

ers concerning the size of the vote by which they were

24

held in contempt raise a very difficult practical prob-

lem — how to structure such proceedings before an

appellate court. If the punishment involved does not

activate the right to trial by jury, how is the appellate

court to proceed? It seems absurd to require the

highest court of Kentucky to in effect ‘‘charge”’ itself

as to a standard of proof as a trial judge would charge

a jury. In fact, the proceeding is unique enough that

it is not actually possible to draw any analogy from

criminal trials proceeding at a trial level.

III. The Decision of the Supreme Court of Kentucky to

Hold Petitioners in Contempt Was Not Violative of

Any Rights to Effective Assistance of Counsel.

Petitioners contend that the usage of the contempt

power of the Supreme Court of Kentucky against them

for their failure to file a timely brief in this matter

constituted a violation of the effective assistance of

counsel rights articulated by this Court in Evitts v.

Lucey, supra. This is an argument which is spurious

for a number of important reasons, all of which lead

to the conclusion that the Petition should be denied.

Of threshold importance is that there is lacking in

the record in this proceeding a fundamental require-

ment relating to the effective assistance of counsel

argument of Petitioners—to put matters most simply,

the argument was not raised in the record below. In

neither their oral argument before the Supreme Court

of Kentucky nor their written argument in support of

their Motion for Reconsideration did Petitioners raise

the effective assistance of counsel argument which they

now assert from Evitts. The raising of such matter

25

in the record before the court below is a prereyuisite

to review authority in this Court upon such proposi-

tion. 28 U.S.C. 1257(3) Without such basis in the

record below, it cannot be said that such right has been

‘‘drawn in question’’ by the decision of the Supreme

Court of Kentucky. This requirement is a funda-

mental one from which the Court has not deviated since

Justice Story was a member of this Court. Crowell v.

Randell, 10 Pet. 368 (1836). Such requirement exists

both by act of Congress and by policy of this Court

due to the fundamental principal of federalism that

it is crucial that state courts be given the first oppor-

tunity to pass upon such federal arguments before

they are called upon to face review before this Court.

Cardinale v. Louisiana, 394 U. 8. 437 (1969). In the

absence of a proper raising of the issue in the record

below, this argument in the Petition should be treated

as a nullity in the consideration of whether to grant

the Writ.

In addition to the fact that the effective assistance

of counsel argument was not raised below, the usage of

such argument before this Court is also defective due

to a lack of standing on the part of Petitioners to raise

the argument. Although it has been observed that

‘*(g)eneralizations about standing to sue are largely

worthless as such’”’ [Association of Data Processin::

Serv. Organizations, Inc. v. Camp, 397 U. 8. 150, 151

(1970) ], the basic notion of ‘‘standing”’’ is that no per-

son is permitted to litigate the legal rights of another

person. This most fundamental definition of standing

————

26

is helpful in this case because the facts at hand are

relatively simple. While standing is ‘‘determined by

the specific circumstances of individual situations’’

[U. S. ex rel. Chapman v. F.P.C., 345 U.S. 1538, 156

(1953) ], a historical survey of the difficult standing

eases shows that their difficulty arose from the fact that

the cases by and large involved questions of wide publie

interest. See, e.g., Village of Arlington Heights vy.

Metropolitan Housing Development Corp., 429 U.S, 252

(1977) ; Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S. 83 (1968). The great

standing cases involved attempts by peripherally in-

terested persons to litigate matters of public interest

in which their lack of close factual connection ran them

afoul of the case and controversy requirements of

Article III of the United States Constitution. Absent

a matter of public interest, people rarely take the time

and expense to litigate a matter in which they have

no personal stake. Of course, such practical restric-

tion is inapplicable to persons whose salaries and ex-

penses are already borne at public expense.

In the facts at hand, Petitioners lack standing to

raise the issue of ineffective assistance of counsel. It

is certain that the rights of Petitioners have not been

violated in any way. If anyone would suffer from in-

effective assistance of counsel, it would have been their

client, Mr. Sanborn, and he is not a party to this pro-

ceeding. Neither are there any facts in the record

below from which it could be coneluded that the actions

of the Supreme Court of Kentucky impaired in the

slightest manner the Petitioners’ representation of Mr.

27

Sanborn. Neither in their Petition nor in any of the

proceedings below did Petitioners point to the slight-

est manner in which such right was factually impaired.

The closest thing to facts upon which to base such an

argument is found in Petitioners’ assertion that ‘‘a

chilling effect upon the quality of legal representation

may oceur’’. (Petition, p.13) Given that Petitioners

did (finally, and at a time virtually of their own choos-

ing) file a 358 page brief on behalf of Mr. Sanborn, it

appears unlikely that Mr. Sanborn’s case was handled

with any less effectiveness after the contempt citation

than it had been prior to that time. There is no factual

basis on which to judge the validity of such claim and

it must be rejected by the Court.

Even if it were assumed that the contempt sanction

invoked against Petitioners did have some bearing

upon their ability to represent this or other clients,

such action by the Supreme Court of Kentucky still

would not be in violation of the effective assistance

of counsel rights of Mr. Sanborn. Anticipating that

the net effect of Hvitts might be to impair the ability

of states to enforce procedural rules in criminal cases,

Justice Brennan outlined (among the ‘‘numerous

courses remain(ing) open’’) that ‘ta State may cer-

tainly enforce a vital procedural rule by imposing

sanctions against the attorney, rather than against the

client.’’ LEvitts, supra, p. 399. In this proceeding

Petitioners seek this Court to reverse the Supreme

Court of Kentucky for taking exactly that course of

conduct which the Court indicated was appropriate

28

in Evitts. Without at least the power to impose sanc-

tions against practitioners, the Supreme Court of Ken-

tucky will be left absolutely helpless and at the merey

of what ever conduct Petitioners and other similarly

situated may, in their own absolute discretion, believe

is appropriate conduct for the defense of their clients.

Petitioners assert that actions such as that below have

a “‘chilling effect’? upon practitioners; in reality, it

is just the excesses of Petitioners and others which

have had a negative effect upon appellate practice in

Kentucky which goes far bey nd any ‘‘chilling effect’’.

The tactics of Petitioners have wrought chaos on the

Kentucky appellate system and they seek license from

this Court to continue and expand those tacties. It

was to resist exactly such trend that Petitioners were

held in contempt by the Supreme Court of Kentucky

and the action was entirely appropriate.

The contempt citation issued below to Petitioners

was intended to send a clear message to Petitioners

and to other practitioners who had engaged in the past

in similar tactics. The message sent by the Supreme |

Court of Kentucky was that there is an end to the

patience of the Court and that all appeals must be

processed in a speedy, expeditious fashion, in accord-

ance with the rules and orders of the Court. It was

a message deliberately sent and it was absolutely neces-

sary as an action by the Supreme Court of Kentucky

in view of the ‘‘no-choice’’ motions with which it was

faced in the aftermath of Cleaver and Evitts.

i anieiiiicieaiianilll

29

The imposition of the federal controls in Cleaver

and ELvitts makes it wasteful of the time and efforts

of all involved for the Kentucky court system to deny

such motions and dismiss the appeals of criminal de-

fendants. The only control which this Court has left

to the judiciary of Kentucky is to apply sanctions

against attorneys who willfully refuse to follow the

briefing schedules which the Kentucky Supreme Court

is required by state law to impose and supervise.

Those lawyers who practice before the Supreme

Court of the United States have little doubt as to how

swift will be the punishment and how awesome will

be the consequences for willful disobedience of the

orders of this Court. The paucity of case law attests

to the effectiveness of that certainty in controlling the

processes of this Court. Even the President of the

United States has shown obedience to the lawful orders

of this Court rather than risking disobedience. Nixon

v. United States, 418 U. 8S. 683 (1974). This Court

would not tolerate for a moment the tactics which

Petitioners have practiced before the Supreme Court

of Kentucky. If this Court should deny to the Su-

preme Court of Kentucky the power to punish Pe-

titioners for the contempt which they seem deliberately

to have brought upon themselves, then this Court will

be sending a message to the practicing members of the

Kentucky Bar and every other state bar in the United

States. That message will be that in the publicly

funded defense of criminal defendants there are no

rules. That message would be as applicable to federal

30

proceedings as to State proceedings, to trial proceed-

ings as to appellate proceedings, and to private defense

as to publicly funded defense; there would be no

limit to the power which Petitioners and others like

them would assert. There should be no mistake about

it. This attack upon the contempt power of the Su-

preme Court of Kentucky is a major attack upon the

integrity of the judicial process by Petitioners and

others similarly situated who seek to bend the rules

of the system to fit their own philosophical positions.

Surely this Court cannot leave the Supreme Court of

Kentucky in such position of helplessness against

this attack; therefore, the Petition for Writ of Cer-

tiorari should be denied by the Court.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, it is respectfully sub-

mitted that the Court should deny the Petition for Writ

of Certiorari and let stand the decision of the Supreme

Court of Kentucky holding Petitioners in contempt of

that court.

Respectfully submitted,

JoHN Ropert LEATHERS

P. O. Box 22242

Lexington, Kentucky 40522

Telephone (606) 257-1485

Counsel of Record for Respondent

Commonwealth of Kentucky

Susan STokiey CLary

Kentucky Supreme Court

Capitol Building

Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

Telephone (502) 564-4156

Co-Counsel for Respondent

31

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, John Robert Leathers, counsel of record for Respond-

ent, hereby certify that forty (40) copies of the foregoing

Brief in Opposition to Petition for Writ of Certiorari were

mailed to the Office of the Clerk of the United States

Supreme Court, Washington, D.C. 20543; that five copies

were mailed to Hon. Robert C. Ewald and Hon. Michelle

Turner, Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs, Citizens Plaza, Louis-

ville, Kentucky 40202; and that five copies were mailed to

Hon. David L. Armstrong, Office of the Attorney General,

State Capitol, Frankfort, Kentucky 40601; on this the 19th

day of December, 1986, by my personally depositing same

in a United States mailbox, first class postage prepaid. I

further certify that all parties required to be served have

been served.

Joun Rosert LEATHERS

P.O. Box 22242

Lexington, Kentucky 40522

Telephone (606) 257-1485

Counsel of Record for Respondent

Commonwealth of Kentucky

APPENDIX

V4 : a «

* , way oe : a = 9

= i ‘

“ak 7 - a :

é *Z G & "|

“1 é . ‘ rl a

4

«

7

la

SUPREME COURT OF KENTUCKY

June 24, 1986

Re: Parramore Lee Sanborn v. Commonwealth of Kentucky

Honorable J. Vincent Aprile, II

and Honorable Julie Namkin

Show Cause Hearing

LDA Nec ANC e La Se TORINO 5 le GTS PaO nls LSE ELEN

Appearances :

Chief Justice Robert F. Stephens

Justice Roy N. Vance

Justice William M. Gant

Justice John D. White

Justice Charles M. Leibson

Justice Donald C. Wintersheimer

Justice James B. Stephenson

Robert E. McBeath

Court Administrator

J he nent a CRE Oe

Hon. Julie Namkin

Attorney at Law

P. O. Box 4043

Louisville, Kentucky 40204

Hon. J. Vincent Aprile, IT

Attorney at Law

Assistant Public Advocacy

State Office Building Annex

Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

Pursuant to notice duly given, the above styled matter

came on to be heard on Tuesday, June 24, 1986 at 11:00

A.M. at the Supreme Court, Courtroom, Second Floor, The

Capitol, Frankfort, Kentucky.

Chief Justice Stephens: This morning we will have a

hearing on a Show Cause Order which was entered on

August 30, 1985 in which the Counsel in the case of Parra-

more Lee Sanborn versus Commonwealth, Mr. Vincent

Aprile and Ms. Julie Namkin were ordered to appear for

contempt. The Order should be made part of the record in

this case. The procedure we will use this morning, unless

there are any valid objections, is that we will swear the two

witnesses, who are parties, and then you may proceed to

show us, if you can, indeed why you should not be punished

for contempt. So, are both of you going to testify, Mr.

Aprile, Ms. Namkin?

Mr. Aprile: I plan to.

Chief Justice Stephens: All right, raise your right

hands, please.

Mr. J. Vincent Aprile and Ms. Julie Namkin

Administered Oath

Chief Justice Stephens: All right, who’s going to go

first? All right, Mr. Aprile.

Mr. Aprile: May it please the Court. Basically, I will

not add very much to embellish what has been put forth in

4

our particular pleadings in this case. As I’m sure the

Court is aware, when we requested in this case the original

10 month extension, that was within 30 days—that was

during the—after the initial 30 days in which we received

the record. Obviously, we looked at the record. We had

not been able to go to any great detail, and based on what

was then our present case load, we estimated 10 months.

The record involved in this case, according to my calcula-

tions and my attempts to verify it, is the longest record that

has ever been before this Court in a recent death penalty

case. I may be wrong about that, but as best I can verify

3a

it, that is the situation. There are 13 volumes of record in

this case, 1981 pages, and 56 volumes of the evidence, 8261

pages, and then there are additional pages in suppression

hearings, depositions, guilty plea colloquy, things of that

sort. The size of the record is very long. Originally, I was

assigned this case when the record was beginning to be

prepared, with Richard Arvadon. At that time, I believed

that Richard Arvadon would still be in the office and be one

of the two attorneys on the case. At the time that the

record was to be prepared, it became obvious that I would

also be counsel in a case that I had tried, Brian Keith

Moore, and that

5

I would, as I had been established, continue to represent

Mr. Moore, along with Mr. Radigan in that death penalty

appeal. And, when the time came for this record to be

certified, it was very obvious that I was going to have to do

two death penalty appeal briefs at that time. Additionally,

Ms. Namkin was the attorney who was put on to replace

Richard Arvadon with me, and she, at that time, that would

have—this would have been her first death penalty appeal.

We did not have anybody else available in the office, and

this was going to be her first appeal. During the 10 month

period, other cases have come forward, including, in my

particular case, a case that was restored that another attor-

ney had tried and done the appeal. It was restored by

federal habeas order saying that this Court would reinstate

it. This Court agreed to reinstate it. I was put under a

show cause order in that particular case to finish that brief.

Basically, what it comes down to is—I—at the time that we

reached 10 months, I had not completed—I have a consider-

able portion of the record yet to read, and we are unable—

Justice Stephenson: Are you telling me that you had a

10 month extension and you haven’t read the record yet?

4a

6

Mr. Aprile: Ms. Namkin has read the entire record. I

have not read the entire record. That’s correct. At the

same time, I have to point out, I had another case that has

17—21 volumes that was briefed and done in this same time

period, as well as I said, the other case. In all fairness, at

least to me, in all fairness, my job is not simply in the office

to be an appellate attorney, but when I was asked to take

this case, I did it with full knowledge of what that would

mean, and I’m not trying to shirk that responsibility. But,

all of my job does not revolve around doing appeals. I am

not a member of the appellate branch. I’m the general

counsel for the office. I represent the office in other mat-

ters, and I have administrative duties as well, and I have

to do and perform those things. We have a limited size

staff to do these different things.

Justice Stephenson: Did you say Ms. Namkin had read

the record? |

Mr. Aprile: She has now. She did not read the record—

Justice Stephenson: You don’t contend that both of

you have to read it, do you?

Mr. Aprile:

7

Yes, I feel I have to finish reading the record, but not to

slow her up, Your Honor, while she can be working on some

of the issues. No, I’m not saying that. But, I fully intend

to read the record. That’s not my point that I would say

that only Ms. Namkin would read it. But she has finished

it, and I don’t want to put any words in her mouth, because

she will testify, as I understand it, before you, but in any

event, even had we been able to finish both of us reading the

record within the 10 months, there is no way that I could

see, looking back on this case, that we could have finished

it within this time. I guess it is before the Court because

it’s part of this case, but the Attorney General’s Office filed

oa

an opposition to our extension motion and in it you will

notice they have done a computer printout of the amount of

time cases have taken in the briefing process. I take them

at their word. I lock over this, and I see, that for example,

there are cases on here—the longest case before now, record

size, was the Hollan and James case. It took 20 months.

Our case is longer, record wise, than the Hollan and James

case, and I think, from my reading of the decision in the

Hollan and James case, contains equally comparable com-

plex issues that need to be

8

dealt with. In our particular case, our request for 10

months would put us at a total, with the initial one month

briefing time, of 21 months. This is not out of line with the

longer cases that this Court has granted extensions in. I

would not want you to think that I am in here asking that

we are entitled to 21 months because of simply the fact that

you have given that amount of time in cases of comparable

length. But I do think it supports our position in this

particular situation that this is a very long and difficult

case to manipulate, to be able to deal with all the different

parts of it as we try to hone it down and make the argu-

ments on behalf of this particular client. I don’t think our

request is out of line.

Justice Stephenson: You haven’t completed the brief

as yet or you haven’t even finished reading the record?

Mr. Aprile: That’s right. We.have identified a number

of issues that we are working on—

Justice Stephenson: You haven’t even started on the

brief?

Mr. Aprile: Yes. No. Well, the actual final product

of the brief, Your Honor, no. That’s why we asked for 10

9

months. We had requested in this case another 10 month

extension. As I—Julie and I both pointed out—Ms. Namkin

6a

and I both pointed out in the original extension motion of

10 months, it was an estimate, and we said this may be

revised upward or downward. At that point, we had only

had the physical record for 30 days when we tried to make

this estimate.

Justice Vance: Were you making an estimate of when

you were going to get started writing it, or when you were

going to have it completed?

Mr. Aprile: Your Honor, we were trying to make a

reasonable estimate at that time with regard to that case,

the size of the record, and what our present case load was.

As ’m—

Justice Vance: Estimate of what? What was your

estimate?

Mr. Aprile: Of trying to be able to finish the brief.

Yes, we were not—I don’t mean to mislead you in that

regard. When we asked for 10 months, our estimate was,

based at that point, what we knew, 10 months to complete

the brief.

Justice Gant:

10

The truth of the matter is and what you’re really say-

ing is that in the original 30 days you haven’t got time to

evaluate the record except for weighing it on the scales,

because you’ve taken 10 months and haven’t read it yet.

Mr. Aprile: Your Honor, I don’t want—I agree with

what you’ve just said.

Justice Gant: I’m not fussing at you. I’m just saying

that with 17 volumes, there’s no way in 30 days you can

be any more accurate than a guess.

Mr. Aprile: The only thing I want to say, Your Honor,

is I don’t want—it’s not fair to Ms, Namkin. You know,

she has finished the record. In all honesty, she didn’t

finish it long before the 10 months were up, but she has

7a

finished the record. So, I am the one who has not finished

the record, but—

Justice Stephenson: Where is this idea that both of

you have to read the record? If you have three lawyers,

do you mean three would have to read it?

Mr. Aprile: That’s normally our procedure, Your

Honor.

Justice Vance:

11

Why can’t ove do it?

Mr. Aprile: Well, basically, the feeling that we have—

we have a number of reasons for that. First of all, it is

normal procedure now across the country, in most states,

the death penalty appeals are done by two people and they

both read the record for the purpose that somebody does

not miss a significant issue, since we are talking about a

person’s life. Obviously, there is no requirement that I can

point to under the rules or under the constitution, but it’s

a safety check procedure. Ms. Namkin now has finished

one death penalty case that she did during this 10 month

period, the Askew case, but at least, initially, this was her

first death penalty case, and that was part of our consider-

ation. But, in every case, we try to have both attorneys

read it for the simple reason that if I don’t read the record

and she misses something, there isn’t a check on it.

Justice Stephenson: You don’t — you have —do you

have some —

Mr. Aprile: Knowledge of what the case is about, yes,

Your Honor.

Justice Stephenson:

12

—knowledge of the objections and matters that have been

presented?

8a

Mr. Aprile: Yes, Your Honor. And, I have researched

certain issues. I have researched certain issues in this ease,

but I stand—

Justice Stephenson: Why—if you have the objections,

that portion of ihe record usually is of manageable size

regardless. Why don’t you—

Mr. Aprile: We have identified 75—based on her read-

ing and other things in the case, we have identified 75 is-

sues that we are culling through, researching, cross check-

ing, to see the prejudice and that sort of thing, whether or

not they are to be raised. Obviously, we may not raise

anywhere near that number of those issues, but we have to

check each and every one of those out. That’s the way

we’ve done it in the past and we do that to protect the

defendant. I know that the Court knows in these long,

long cases that certainly we must provide some help to you

by—in the briefing process—by giving you a way to man-

age that record, and that takes a considerable period of

time. I know that this does not concern the objection that

the

13

Attorney General has raised, but I would just point out that

it is quite a different thing to do an appellee’s brief where

you look at 25 or 30 issues, even in the biggest case, you

look at those 25 or 30 issues and look at where the appellant

says those issues were preserved, where prejudice was in

the transcript, and you don’t have to read the record. It’s

a different story for us. We have to read the record. I

understand your point, Your Hynor, and it may very well

-——you’re saying why do two have to read it? But, we

definitely have to read the record. You would consider

us remiss if we did not read the record before—

Justice Stephenson: I could see where both of you

would have to read that portion where it’s preserved, but

9a

where it’s not preserved, I don’t see why two, or three or

more would have to read it.

Mr. Aprile: Well, of course, when I say preserved, I’m

not just talking about the motion and grounds for a new

trial and that. We’re talking about preserved at different

places in the record as well—

Justice Stephenson: I’m talking about that too.

Mr. Aprile:

14

—that were not identified in the motion and grounds for

a new trial, plus it’s our understanding, at least at this

point, that to a certain extent there is more latitude in a

death penalty case that it may be necessary for us to raise

in certain instances unpreserved areas.

Justice Stephenson: Well, one person can handle that,

can’t they? Why not? You’ve always got 1142 on in-

effective assistance of counsel, .

Mr. Aprile: Probably ineffective assistance of appellate

counsel, I’m afraid, but—

Justice Stephenson: Well, I don’t know why—

Mr. Aprile: But—

Justice Stephenson: Let me ask one more question.

Mr. Aprile: Certainly, Your Honor.

Justice Stephenson: We get these enormous briefs in

these death penalty cases. How much—what percentage

of these briefs would you say is comprised of material that’s

in a word processor where you just change the names and

15

punch the button?

Mr. Aprile: Well, in all honesty, in the cases that I’ve

been involved in, Your Honor, nothing.

Justice Stephenson: Well, the reason I ask that ques-

tion is, in death penalty cases, I see the same arguments,

the same authorities, and just the names are changed.

10a

Mr. Aprile: There are certainly some instances, and

I can’t speak for the other briefs—the briefs that I don’t

work on, I have nothing to do with in the sense that I am

no longer head of the appellate section—

Justice Vance: I’ve had one where the name wasn’t

even changed. It was a case, but it used a name in some

other case—

Mr. Aprile: Of another appellant?

Justice Vance: Yes.

Mr. Aprile: Well, then on behalf of the office, I defi-

nitely apologize to this court.

Justice Wintersheimer: We had another instance in

which the offense was

16

totally different.

Mr. Aprile: The offense was different?

Justice Wintersheimer: Yes.

Mr. Aprile: And, it was talked about in the brief as if

that was the offense? Well, all I can tell you—I can’t speak

for the other attorneys in the office, and I don’t mean to

deprecate them at all, it seems to me it is my responsi-

bility on the case that I am assigned to, to make sure that

I raise the issues that are relevant and pertinent in that

case. If they are things that this Court has definitely

said you will not consider, for example, certain of the

sentencing issues that you believe are not—that are not

error under the federal constitution or otherwise, it may

be necessary for me to raise that for preservation, for—

to insure that I exhaust state remedies. In that case, I’m

not saying that I wouldn’t look at another person’s brief,

but as far as access on my word processor (what’s in my

word processor that I take access to, the cases that I have

done and as a practical matter of our system, we expunge

the briefs once they are finished. So, I don’t steal from

one place to

lla

17

another, but it isn’t to state that I’m going to reinvent the

wheel. If I have done what I think is a decent exhibition

of argument from you, I will borrow from that in the in-

terest of time.

Justice Leibson: Counsel, aside from these points that

have been raised by others, I have another point I’d like

to ask you to address that disturbs me, as a matter of

good faith. You were granted—asked for and granted a

10 month extension with a proviso in it which was ob-

viously put there so you would take it seriously, that if

you didn’t do it in 10 months you were going to have to

come here and show cause why you hadn’t done it. And,

you filed this motion for an extension of time on the last

day, the 2nd of June, the very day the 10 months ran,

which certainly, as you can see, creates some issues about

how much you’ve been looking at the file or paying atten-

tion to it before, when you come in on the very day that

the time would run. And, of course, I’m sure you realize

in any other case where you wouldn’t have a problem of

inadequate representation of counsel, you would have been

refused. That would have been the end of it. There’s no

way that we would have entertained a request for an ex-

tension of time filed on the same

18

day that the time would run. So, we have a problem. We

have a duty to maintain the authority of the Court, and

in the other hand, we have the duty to respect the rights

of the defendant to be adequately represented, and we're

concerned—at least I’m concerned and I can’t speak for

my colleagues—I’m concerned that we’re losing control of

running the courtroom to the lawyers. How can you jus-

tify, if you will, please sir, waiting until the 2nd of June

and then coming in and telling us not that you need an

.

12a

extension of time and we should give it to you, but that

we have to give it to you. That’s what it amounts to really

in these kinds of cases. Either we have to or declare that

—or if we refuse to, then we obviously open the case up

to the charge of inadequate representation of counsel. So,

how can you justify this—which we've had before, which

is why we put in this show cause procedure, this practice

that you indulge in here of waiting until the 10—the last

day of the tenth month to file this motion?

Mr, Aprile: Your Honor, I think that in all fairness to

Ms. Namkin, I should take total responsibility for that.

She raised some concern about when we shdéuld file the

extension request earlier than that,

19

certainly not three or four months in advance, because we

didn’t know. We could see that there was definitely going

to be problems, but I felt that the Court had already set

up that there was going to be a show cause hearing, and

we were going to have to appear, and I felt that the closer

we got to the date, hopefully we would be better able to

estimate and say what our progress had been. That cer-

tainly wasn’t her fault. As the senior member of the two

attorneys here, that was my decision, and if that is offensive

to this Court, then it should be on my shoulders, not on

her’s, even though she signed the pleading; because I felt

that this Court would hold the show cause hearing and

expect us to come forward at that time. I did not think

that you would not hold the hearing, so I felt we would

go as close to it as we could and give you the best estimate.

As it turned out, I don’t know that it has helped all ‘hat

much in the terms of amount of time, or that anything

crystallized there, but that was my decision, and I felt that

I would have to be here before you regardless of when we

asked for it. Now, I may have been totally wrong, and to-

tally misread the Court. In that case, I apologize, but it

13a

was my understanding that we would have the hearing

when

20

I saw your order regardless of what reasons we gave,

Justice Wintersheimer: Well, Mr. Aprile, the 10 months

wasn't easy to come by, you had no acquaintance with that,

but I read the order to mean that we hoped that you would

certainly have your brief at that time, and we wouldn't

have to have this hearing.

Mr. Aprile: Oh, yes, Your Honor. Oh, please, don’t

misunderstand me. I know that. Had we had the brief in

within that time, then there wouldn't have been a hearing.

Justice Wintersheimer: Right. You've come in ocecas-

sionally, the Public Advocate generally, and most of the

time we give you perhaps six months, 90 days, something

like that. Frequently, in my view, that’s unrealistic. Give

you as much time as it appears you need and then expect

the brief to be there. There's no point in having hearings

and shuffling papers back and forth. We ought to set a

realistic deadline. The problem I have is similar to what

Justice Leibson has expressed, that early on, certainly

experienced counsel, and you are that, should have been

able to tell us, look, it’s going to be longer

21

than 10 months, and we made independent inquiry whether

that was a reasonable time, and 10 months seemed to me

to be reasonable, don’t have you come back here at the end

of six or anything like that, but have the brief here at

the end of 10. But, I think what he said reflects my view,

that somewhere along in there, you should have said, no.

we have weighed this on a scale, or we’ve looked at the

number of pages, and that’s not realistic, and here’s why.

And, that’s what bothers me about this situation.

Mr. Aprile: And, I understand what the Court:is say-

ing, and I ean see the defect in the way that I approached

l4a

it. And I guess part—in all candor—I guess part of this

perhaps come about, and maybe this isn’t true for all the

attorneys in the office because I can’t speak for them, but

part of it comes about from perhaps somewhat of a fear—

maybe it’s not a justified fear, maybe it’s a paranoia—but,

you know, this is not the only case, even for me, this is

not the only case that I am doing. I have—when you re-

quest an extension, you run the risk in most instances that

the counsel for the Attorney General in every case will

come back and say this is unreasonable, why isn’t it in,

why isn’t it done.

22

You have to either respond to those or deal with those,

and nobody considers that you may be under two or three

show cause orders, or under a final in another court, be-

cause I understand, you’re processing each of the cases

individually and that’s the way it should be.

Justice Stephenson: You know that—if yow’re under

other show cause orders you know that when you're going

to make an estimate of your time.

Mr. Aprile: But, Your Honor, when I made the esti-

mate—for myself, not speaking for Ms. Namkin—but when

I made, part of my estimate, as I said, in the motion was

based on my case load, and after the motion was filed, the

Johnson case was reinstated by this Court, as it should

have been—I’m not complaining about that—I’m just say-

ing how things you don’t have any idea take place. The

Johnson case came in. The Brian Keith Moore record

was certified shortly after this, and I made the request in

that case with Mr. Radigan. Then, another case was re-

instated that had to be done, and in these situations, you’ve

got to try to work to a certain extent on various ones of

them, and you can’t find time—at least I haven’t been able

to—to do all of

them.

Justice Stephenson: Well now, you say that this death

penalty case is so important that it requires two people to

read the record, now if it’s that important, it looks to me

as though it’s important enough to devote all of your time

to it, and not the administrative duties. If you’re going

to undertake this, and if it is that important, then well,

you’ve got 10 months here, with a 10,000 page record, that’s

a thousand pages a month. I just don’t see how even a

ten thousand page record, transcript, is not—you can go

through that in pretty short order. Any experienced law-

yer can start looking at the pages and tell whether there’s

anything on there of any significance or not.

Mr. Aprile: I would say this, Your Honor, in response

to what you said. I have assigned job responsibilities in

the office. They include more tian doing appellate work.

I am not trying to say that that justifies any special treat-

ment of me, but I think it counts the same as the other

appellate work that the appellate attorneys are doing, when

we have a severe shortage of attorneys in many respects.

I was required to consider whether or not to take

24

this case, initially, and then again when Richard Arvadon

left. The decision was made in conjunction with my super-

visor and the need for an attorney to do this case. Sim-

ilarly, when I had to take the death penalty case in Hop-

kinsville that’s going on right now at the trial level, the

decision was not part of my normal duties, but because we

had a shortage and we couldn’t find anybody to fill in, and

the Christian County Circuit Judge is asking, we need to

have somebody replace this person who has left your office.

And, they came to me and asked me, and there’s nobody

else to do it, so what do you do?

16a

Justice Stephenson: Members of your office now handle

these cases at the trial level, is that correct?

Mr. Aprile: Sometimes. This case was not done that—

this was done by other people in the local office in Oldham

County, and a private attorney—but, yes, Your Honor,

there are a number of cases where we try them as well, yes,

sir.

Justice Stephenson: We see those, and it seems to take

the same amount of time.

Justice Vance:

25

It seems to me, from your argument here now, that if your

office just lets itself get completely short of attorneys, then

we would never be able to have an appeal in a ease. If the

justification is the shortage of help, then you’re going to

have to come down from three attorneys on a case to one on

a case, because it just doesn’t make any sense at all to say

that we just are forever stymied, and that appeals must

languish forever because you don’t have enough people to

have three or four people read the record in every case.

Mr. Aprile: Well, in all fairness—I understand the

argument, Your Honor, and the point that you’re making—

but, in all fairness, it seems to me that the truth of the

matter is that the briefs do get filed. They may take

longer in some cases than in others. Most of the time it is

a direct component of the length of the record, but it also

can be a direct component of how many cases that particu-

lar attorney has to deal with, and that is part of our short-

age situation. But, as a practical matter—I can’t speak for

the Court obviously—, but it would seem to me that you

know that even though—and I appreciate the mistakes and

the problems that you have pointed out in our death penalty

briefs—but I

17a

26

think it would only be fair to say that the final product

that you get in, in these cases, you have some appreciation

for the amount of work that has gone into them,—

Justice Leibson: What we appreciate, in all honesty—

this is a digression, but since you are counsel to your office

—what we appreciate is we get four or five hundred pages

of briefing, most of which isn’t even remotely arguable,

much of which isn’t, instead of focusing in on the major

points. Whereas, I would think that if you feel compelled

to raise points that some judgment should be used as to

what are major points and what are minor points. An error

can be preserved for federal courts by just raising and

passing on past the minor points that have been raised in

numerous other cases, and, quite frankly, as far as I’m

concerned, a five hundred page brief does your client a

disservice. I see no way that I can possibly focus on the

major points when I have to make the judgment about

which are really the major points that need to be reviewed,

instead of you. It seems to me that we have a collateral

problem here of unlimited briefing for the same cause.

Apparently, we are at the mercy of the lawyer, because

otherwise we can have a collateral

27

attack, we’re building in a collateral attack about inade-

quate representation. But, the truth of the matter is, your

client is suffering. Your client is being inadequately repre-

sented by these extremely lengthy briefs treating 75 issues

as equally important. And, I raise this—it’s not relevant to

the inquiry we’re having here, but it seems because of your

position—because of the general subject of discussion, that

it is something I wanted to get off my chest, and I do so

with apologies to you and to my brethren whose time I

have taken.

18a

Mr. Aprile: I appreciate your comments, Your Honor,

and I certainly understand what you’re saying. It’s very

difficult, obviously, for me in this context, to respond either

to some of the things that you have said. There always will

be, I suspect, differences between the Bench and the Bar

over how we protect our clients. And, certainly I am not

trying to say that I have a monopoly on being right on this

or anything like that. All I know is, I try to do the best

that I can under the circumstances for each individual

client, and I would say this, that I am well aware that the

delays in a death penalty case are equally hard on the

client. It’s very

28

difficult when you have to tell your—when I have to talk to

the client and say, I’ve had to ask for more time in this

particular situation, and try to explain why I’m doing it.

Justice Leibson: Maybe that’s what we ought to re-

quire, that the appellant—that every time you ask for a

delay that your client has to personally sign on the request

so that they do know where the delays are coming from.

Mr. Aprile: They do know—Your Honor, I do—I un-

derstand what you’re saying, but I want to make it very

clear that we send them copies, talk to them before we file

motions for extensions, and discuss it with them and ex-

plain it. Whether or not you want that requirement on a

motion is one thing, but it’s not like they think that this is

something that the Court ordered. They know that we

have requested it. We explain that.

Justice Leibson: Well, I’m glad to hear that.

Mr. Aprile: And, they are not always happy. I don’t

mean to mislead you, and that is a real problem. In all

honesty, as I stand before you in this case, I also

29

want to say this to you. When I was trying to talk a

moment ago, perhaps the fear, or you may want to say that

19a

it’s paranoia because you know yourselves better than I do,

right? And, maybe it’s an unjustified fear. But, I’m not

sure—and I asked around and everything when I tried to

put together what I would ask in Parramore Sanborn,

knowing the size of it and that, and I made a good faith

estimate at 10 months in one way, but in a sense, I wasn’t

very sure that you would consider anything longer than

that at the time. I felt it was bounded by what I thought

we could do under the circumstances, and also that prob-

ably, you know, I’ve been doing this for 13 years—rightly

or wrongly, I’ve been before this Court for 13 years now,

and there was a time when the practice was totally differ-

ent. You were not allowed—simply not allowed to ask for

more than 30 days at a time. And, I’m not saying that I

understand that to be the practice now, but I didn’t know

at what level of increments this Court would say, no, we

just take it 10 months, nine months, seven months, at a

time. I wasn’t sure. So, I was balancing and dealing with

Ms. Namkin and talking about it. I was also talking about

what increments the Court would want to review this case

in, and to review

30

our progression. And, I wasn’t sure that you would come

back to us and say, when you granted the original order,

grant it for seven months and come see us in seven months.

Justice Stephenson: Ten months is more than adequate

for any case ever conceived by the imagination of man, if

you get to it and get it finished.

Mr. Aprile: Your Honor, if that was the only case—

Justice Stephenson: I know that. But, that’s the prob-

lem—that’s why—

Mr. Aprile: But, it’s a reality, isn’t it?

Justice Stephenson: Beg your pardon?

Mr. Aprile: I mean, it’s a reality, isn’t it? I under-

stand your rules say, or at least the warnings that are on

20a

the documents say to us, the only thing that matters in

these extension motions are the circumstances of the case.

Now, I’ve come in here with one of the longest records that’s

ever been put before you, but as a reality, I know this, that

it’s also what do we have to do. If I could hang up on all

the other clients that call me, if I

31

could not respond—

Justice Stephenson: Here’s the problem now. Ms.

Namkin has finished it. You haven’t. You say you both

have to do it. Now, I think we’re getting into a situation

where we just can’t—I don’t think we can tolerate that.

Where do we end up? You say the briefs are eventually in,

and I agree. But, when? We get into a period of time

that’s unconscionable.

Mr. Aprile: Some of the briefs, Your Honor, are in

very quickly for a death penalty case. And, some of them

are in at this amount of time or longer. I had hoped that

in this particular case, that, you know, it could be an

individual determination, looking at the circumstances of

this case. But I also know, as a practical matter, I—

Justice Stephenson: Well, aren’t you all going to have

to change your procedure here, just let one lawyer read the

briefs—read the transcript, I mean? If these—

Justice Vance: If you can’t meet deadlines.

Justice Stephenson: If these delays are stretching out

longer and longer and longer, somewhere there has to be

an end

32

to it.

Mr. Aprile: Well, perhaps I’m the only one to blame

in this. I mean in this particular situation. I don’t know

what happens in other cases. I don’t know if the parallel

is that both people have read the record at the same time or

2la

not, and so I’m not coming in here trying to talk about

anybody else’s case or any other situation. That may not

be a problem in any of the other extension requests. But,

Ms. Namkin has read the record in this case, totally, and I

haven’t. So, that is a problem in this case.

Justice Wintersheimer: Let me interrupt you for a

minute. Is this an office policy, that both of you read the

record?

Mr. Aprile: It’s an office policy that two people be on

death penalty cases, and we take that to mean that they are

equal counsel. They are equal counsel. They are respon-

sible—

Justice Vanee: And, both of them have to read the

record before one of them starts writing anything.

Mr. Aprile: No, sir. No, sir. No, sir, that’s not true.

In fact, I have started putting some things together

33

in this ease on issues that I know about in there, when I

haven’t even finished the whole record, and in a way, that

can be a help sometimes, because as I put law aside on that

particular issue as I am reading, I can be building on a

particular argument. There’s no doubt about that. And,

I have not said to Ms. Namkin, you can’t go forward until

I have read the record. That’s not what we’re saying at all.

Justice Stephenson: Do you both write a brief?

Mr. Aprile: Do we both write the brief? Yes, Your

Honor.

Justice Stephenson: Well, do you collaborate on it, or

do each one of you write a separate brief?

Mr. Aprile: Different—in my experience, it’s been done

different on certain issues. We may take issues that she’s

dealt with before, and she might write it by herself. We’ve

discussed this. We’ve never done one jointly. We might

write—Mr. McNally and I have, in the past, written issues

22a

together, and then merged them, and put them together,

and one of us has responsibility that way. It varies from

situation, and case to case. But, no, we’re not

34

saying that we have to write each issue together, or that I

would write every issue and she would look over my

shoulder, or vice versa.

Justice Stephenson: How would it expedite these mat-

ters if just one lawyer read the record, and one lawyer

wrote the brief?

Mr. Aprile: Well, in all honesty, Your Honor, I think

that would cause a real problem in our office. And, the

reason it would cause a problem in our office is,—I don’t

know if you appreciate this from our point of view or not—

we jon’t relish the responsibility. I am here before you 13

years as being a public defender. I didn’t like it when the

death penalty came down, because it increases, I think,

severely on my shoulders, personal responsibility. I am not

responsible for the sentence that the man received, but I

may be responsible for the type of appeal that he has. I

don’t think that we could keep very many lawyers very

long if they were told, one attorney—this Court said—one

attorney reads the—

Justice Stephenson: We’re not going to say—I don’t

think this Court is going to say that. I’m just saying that

it’s pretty difficult for me to accept the excuse that

35

two of you have to do it with these long, interminable

delays.

Mr. Aprile: Well, again, I am taking the responsibility

for this particular delay.

Justice Stephenson: I know lots of lawyers, that if you

try a criminal case, one lawy r tries it, death penalty or

otherwise. I don’t see—

tail

Tee Te ee ee eee

23a

Mr. Aprile: I didn’t mean—TI certainly didn’t mean to

offend the Court a minute ago when I said about if this

Court ordered it. I think the same reaction would occur if

as a policy in our office it was said, one attorney reads the

record in a death penalty case.

Justice Vance: Let me ask you this. There was an

order here that the brief would be finished on a certain date,

and if it wasn’t there would be a show cause why there

should not be some sanctions imposed. Not only was the

brief not finished, but you haven’t even read the record to

get started on the brief—

Mr. Aprile: Haven’t read all of the record, that’s right.

Justice Vance: Now, do you consider that a fairly

cavalier

36

treatment of this Court’s order that when you’re ordered to

finish something in 10 months and at the end of 10 months

you haven’t even read the record?

Mr. Aprile: I feel this way, Your Honor—

Justice Vance: Did you just think that there would be

nothing done about it?

Mr. Aprile: No, no, Your Honor. I didn’t feel—I

didn’t feel, for example, when you put me under the show

cause order, knowing that I was under the other one, when

you put me under the show cause order in Johnson, that I

was being cavalier in having to elect between which of

those two I did. I finished one show cause order. Ms.

Namkin was under two. One in Askew, and one in this.

She finished another. It seems very difficult, you know,

for me to look here and say, that what the Court is saying

is we put you under a show cause order, devote all your

time to that case, and turn around and you say, you’re under

a show cause order here, and you have—end another court

is saying you have to be in my court or you’ll be held in

contempt of court. Down there in Hopkinsville, you’ve got

24a

to provide this representation. I mean, really and truth-

fully,

37

it’s like a rubberband being stretched in all different places,

If it appears cavalier to you, Your Honor, I would apolo-

gize for that, but I would have to say, it’s balancing a lot

of requirements of courts. And, I know that you are the

Supreme Court, and what you say is the most significant.

But, even in that situation, you have put both of us, dur-

ing this same 10 month period, under show cause orders

and asked us to comply, and we have tried. And, it seemed

easier to comply, in my case, with Johnson, than it did

with this particular case, And, I’m sure the Askew record

is much shorter than this particular record. And, I’m

under oath here, and I’m saying to you that you're right

factually. I have come in here, unlike Ms. Namkin, and

I have not read all of this record, and I am considerably

behind in that regard. But, I have done other things in the

case that I hope will expedite finishing it. The other thing

I say to you is, in asking for 10 months, just as we asked

for 10 the first time not knowing exactly what would hap-

pen, not being able to predict, that hopefully, we'll finish

it before 10 months. I can’t say that that actually would

happen. That that actually can happen, in view of the

other particular things we have to do with regard to

38

the other cases. We—well—perhaps I have spoken too

long, Your Honor,

Chief Justice Stephens: Are there any more questions?

All right, Mr. Aprile.

Mr. Aprile: Thank you, Your Honors.

Ms, Namkin: May it please the Court. Aside from

the pleading that I have filed in this case explaining every-

thing that I’ve done since I was assigned to this case, I’m

25a

really not sure what else I can add. I'll be glad to answer

any questions from this Court. I believe that I have con-

scientiously and diligently been working in this case, along

with every other case that I have in the office. Just one

point I would like to say. The fact of only having one

person read the record, from my personal opinion, if that

means anything, I just don’t think that that is manageable

at all. I mean, I just can’t see—perhaps on a shorter case

where there’s not that many issues, where things are not

as complex, where it’s not a death penalty case, maybe you

could have one person read the record and pick out every

issue and tell the other attorney on the case, well, I’ve lifted

x-number of issues, you do

39

a, b, and c, and I'll do d, e, and f.

Justice Stephenson: Why not one lawyer do the whole

thing? I can’t—I mean, I can’t—do you think you’re com-

petent to read a record, recognize the issues, and write a

brief about them?

Ms. Namkin: Yes, I do, Your Honor.

Justice Stephenson: Then why can’t you do it by your-

self?

Ms. Namkin: Well, I could do it by myself, but I cer-

tainly couldn’t do it in 10 months with all the other case

load that I have.

Justice Stephenson: Well, I know, but the point I’m

making is, if you could do it by yourself, then you wouldn’t

have two lawyers occupied with it, and it would maybe

decrease your case load a little bit.

Ms. Namkin: Well, whether I could do it by myself,

and whether it would be a wise decision for me to do it

by myself are two different questions, and I’m not sure that

I think it’s a wise decision for one person to take on this

type of responsibility by himself or herself,

26a

40

Justice Leibson: Can | ask « question I’m not clear on?

Has any portion of the brief yet been committed te writing

in a form that could—even as a first draft—in a form that

could be read?

Ms. Namkin: No, it hasn’t, Your Honor.

Chief Justice Stephens: Anything else? Any other

questions from the Court? We have another -we’re run-

ning a little late. Why don’t we take a five or six minute

break.

RECESS

_

State or Kentucky S

County or FranKiin } —

I, Juanita M. Toole, a Notary Public in and for the state

and county aforesaid, do hereby certify that the foregoing

testimony was transcribed under my direction; that the

witnesses were duly sworn before giving their testimony;

that the foregoing pages of typewritten matter constitute

a true and correct copy of all testimony transcribed under

my supervision.

I certify that the appearances are as listed on the first

page of this transcript.

Witness my hand and notarial seal this 12th day of

December, 1986.

(s) Juanita M. Toole

Notary Public

State of Kentucky at Large

My commission expires: February 17, 1990

27a

SUPREME COURT OF KENTUCKY

File No. 84-SC-566-I

ParraMore LEE SANBORN - - - . Appellant

v.

COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY - - - Appellee

MOTION FOR EXTENSION OF TIME TO PERFECT

APPEAL AND FILE BRIEF FOR APPELLANT—

Filed June 2, 1986

Comes now appellant, Parramore Lee Sanborn, by coun-

sel, pursuant to CR 6.02 and CR 76.40(1), and respectfully

requests an extension of ten (10) months, from August 2,

1985 to and including Monday, June 2, 1986, in which to

perfect this appeal and file the brief for appellant in the

above-captioned case. The reasons for the requested ac-

tion are delineated below.

1. Appellant was convicted of one count of murder

(KRS 507.020), one count of kidnapping (KRS 509.040),

one count of first degree rape (KRS 510.040), and one count

of first degree sodomy (KRS 510.070). For the murder

offense, appellant was sentenced to death.

2. The initial judgments in appellant’s case were en-

tered in the Henry Cireuit Court on March 11, 1984. The

initial final judgments entered on March 11, 1984 sentenced

appellant to three (3) separate life sentences for the of-

fenses of kidnapping, first degree rape, and first degree

sodomy (Transcript of Record, Volume 12, hereinafter des-

ignated T.R. (12), pp. 1822-1823, 1825-1826, 1828-1829). A

timely notice of appeal was filed on March 16, 1984 (T.R.

(12), pp. 1880-1881).

28a

3. <A second judgment in appellant’s case was entered

in the Henry Cireuit Court on March 16, 1984. The second

judgment sentenced appellant to death for the offense of

murder (T.R. (12), pp. 1868-1872). A timely notice of ap-

peal from that judgment was filed on March 20, 1984 (T.R.

(12), pp. 1884-1885).

4. A final order in appellant’s case was entered in the

Henry Cireuit Court on June 20, 1984 overruling appel-

lant’s motion for a new trial and motion for a judgment

notwithstanding the verdict (‘T.R. (12), pp. 1938-1939). A

timely notice of appeal from that order was filed on June

27, 1984 (T.R. (12), pp. 1940-1941).

5. Copies of the judgments, order and notices of ap-

peal are attached.

6. Pursuant to KRS 532.075(1), appellant’s sentence

of death is subject to mandatory review by the Court.

7. On May 30, 1985, the record on appeal was com-

pleted and certified.

8. Pursuant to an order of this Court, entered July 3,

1985, the brief for appellant is due to be filed on or before

August 2, 1985.

9. The transcript of record consists of thirteen (13)

volumes and 1,981 pages. The transcript af evidence con-

sists of fifty-six (56) volumes with exhibits attached to

twonty (20) volumes and 8,261 pages. In addition, there

is a transcript of evidence of the grand jury proceedings

consisting of ninety-seven (97) pages; one deposition for

defendant consisting of fifty-nine (59) pages; one transcript

of suppression hearing, in part, consisting of 126 pages;

one transcript of a guilty plea colloquy consisting of seven-

teen pages; and one transcript of hearing consisting of

sixty-two (62) pages, for a total of 361 pages.

10. The undersigned counsel have examined the record

during the initial thirty-day briefing period and, based on

their present caseloads and past experience with appeals

29a

of comparable nature and size, estimate that an additional

ten (10) months will be needed to read the appellate record,

to research the issues, to draft the brief for appellant, and

to have it typed and reproduced. Of course, it is possible

that, after additional work on this appeal, this estimate

may be revised either upward or downward. Because this

is a capital case in which the death sentence was imposed,

the undersigned counsel believe this initial extension re-

quest of ten (10) months is both reasonable and necessary

under the circumstances. |

11. During the last thirty days, undersigned counsel

Julie Namkin has filed two briefs and one reply brief in

the Kentucky Court of Appeals, and has filed one petition

for modification or extension and has tendered one motion

for discretionary review in this Court. In addition, counsel

has had one oral argument in the Kentucky Court of

Appeals.

12. Undersigned counsel J. Vincent Aprile, II, during

the last thirty days, has filed a petition for rehearing and

other pleadings in the Kentucky Court of Appeals as well

as pleadings in both this Court and the United States Court

of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit. As General Counsel for

the Department of Public Advocacy, unde. signed counsel

Aprile is required to spend a considerable amount of his

work time on unanticipated requests for legal and ethical

opinions generated by both local trial level public advocates

as well as members of the central staff of the Department

of Public Advocacy. Additionally, undersigned counsel

Aprile in his role as General Counsel to the Department

of Public Advocacy has sole responsibility for represent-

ing the Department in litigation.

13. As employees of the Department of Public Advo-

cacy, the undersigned counsel’s control over case assign-

ments and other assignments is minimal.

30a

14. As Assistant Public Advocates in the Department

of Public Advocacy, the undersigned counsel are compelled

to commit a considerable quantity of time to numerous

other clients, whose cases are also being procedurally and

substantively processed within deadlines, and who are

equally entitled to effective and timely representation.

15. This motion for an extension of ten (10) months

is made in good faith and not for reasons of delay. The

requested extension is sought only to insure that appellant

will be afforded effective assistance of counsel on appeal.

16. It should be noted that appellant is presently in-

earcerated at Eddyville and is not free on bond pending

appeal.

Wuererore this Court should grant this motion and

order, pursuant to CR 6.02 and CR 76.40(1), that the ap-

pellant be granted an extension of ten (10) months to and

including Monday, June 2, 1986, in which to perfect the

appeal and file the brief for appellant in the above-cap-

tioned case.

Respectfully submitted,

(s) J. Vineent Aprile I

J. Vincent Aprile, II

Assistant Public Advocate

Department of Public Advocacy

151 Elkhorn Court

Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

(s) J. Vineent Aprile II

for Julie Namkin

Assistant Public Advocate

Department of Public Advocacy

151 Elkhorn Court

Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

Counsel for Appellant

———

3la

NOTICE

Please take notice that the foregoing motion will be filed

in the Office of the Clerk of the Supreme Court of Kentucky

on the 2nd day of August, 1985.

(s) J. Vincent Aprile, I

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a copy of the foregoing Motion has

been hand delivered to Hon. David L. Armstrong, Attorney

General, Commonwealth of Kentucky, Capitol Building,

Frankfort, Kentucky 40601, this 2nd day of August, 1985.

(s) J. Vincent Aprile, II

32a

SUPREME COURT OF KENTUCKY

84-SC-566-I

ParraMorE LEE SANBORN ak ent. - Appellant

v.

ComMONWDPALTH oF KENTUCKY - - - Appellee

On Appeal From Henry Circuit Court

Honorable Dennis A. Fritz, Judge

83-C R-057

ORDER

Appellant’s motion for an extension of time, to and

including June 2, 1986, in which to file his brief and to

perfect the appeal in the above-styled action is granted.

If appellant’s brief is not filed and his appeal is not per-

fected on or before June 2, 1986, appellant’s counsel, Hon-

orable J. Vincent Aprile, II, and Honorable Julie Namkin,

shall appear before this court on June 24, 1986, at 11:00

a.m., in order to show cause why they should not be held in

contempt of this court or sanctioned for failure to timely

complete the brief.

Stephens, C.J., and Gant, Stephenson, Vance and Win-

tersheimer, JJ., sitting. All concur.

E\nTerED August 30, 1985.

(s) Robert F. Stephens

Chief Justice

were Nee eel

33a

SUPREME COURT OF KENTUCKY

File No. 84-SC-566-I

ParrRaMoORE LEE SANBORN - - - = Appellant

v.

CoMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY - - - Appellee

MOTION FOR EXTENSION OF TIME TO PERFECT

APPEAL AND FILE BRIEF FOR APPELLANT—

Filed August 2, 1985

Comes now appellant, Parramore Lee Sanborn, by

counsel, pursuant to CR 6.02 and CR 76.40(1), and respect-

fully requests an extension of ten (10) months, from Mon-

day, June 2, 1986, to and including Thursday, April 2, 1987,

in which to perfect this appeal and file the brief for appel-

lant in the above-captioned case. The reasons for the

requested action are delineated below.

1. Appellant was convicted of one count of murder

(KRS 507.020), one count of kidnapping (KRS 509.040),

one count of first degree rape (K RS 510.040), and one count

of first degree sodomy (KRS 510.070). For the murder

offense, appellant was sentenced to death.

2. Pursuant to an order of this Court, entered July 3,

1985, the brief for appellant was due to be filed on or before

August 2, 1985.

3. On August 2, 1985, the undersigned counsel moved

this Court for an initial extension of ten months from

August 2, 1985 to and including June 2, 1986, in which to

perfect this appeal and file the brief for appellant in the

above-captioned case. Based on their examination of the

record during the initial thirty-day briefing period, the

34a

undersigned counsel “estimate[d] an additional ten months

[would] be needed to read the appellate record, to research

the issues, to draft the brief for appellant, and to have it

typed and reproduced” (Extension Motion, p. 3; emphasis

added). The undersigned counsel qualified that estimate

in their extension motion. “Of course, it is possible that,

after additional work on this appeal, this estimate may be

revised either upward or downward” (Extension Motion,

p. 3).

4. On August 30, 1985, this Court entered an order

granting appellant’s motion for an extension of time, to

and including June 2, 1986, in which to file his brief and to

perfect the appeal (Order, 8-30-85). The order added that

“lijf appellant’s brief is not filed and his appeal is not

perfected on or before June 2, 1986, appellant’s counsel,

Honorable J. Vincent Aprile II, and Honorable Julie

Namkin, shall appear before this court on June 24, 1986,

at 11:00 a.m., in order to show cause why they should not

be held in contempt of court or sanctioned for failure to

timely complete the brief” (Order, 8-30-85).

9. The transcript of record consists of thirteen (13)

volumes and 1,981 pages. The transcript of evidence con-

sists of fifty-six (56) volumes with exhibits attached to

twenty (20) volumes and 8,261 pages. In addition, there is

a transcript of evidence of the grand jury proceedings

consisting of ninety-seven (97) pages; one deposition for

defendant consisting of fifty-nine (59) pages; one transcript

of suppression hearing, in part, consisting of 126 pages ;

one transcript of a guilty plea colloquy consisting of seven-

teen (17) pages; and one transcript of hearing consisting

of sixty-two (62) pages, for a total of 361 pages. The total

page count for the appellate record in the case at bar is

10,603 pages.

6. The request by the undersigned counsel for an ex-

tension of another ten (10) months is primarily based upon

35a

the unusual length of the appellate record and the number

of issues presented. The record has been read and counsel

have identified in excess of seventy-five (75) preserved

errors. Additionally, appellate counsel in death penalty

cases have an obligation to raise in an appellant’s brief

unpreserved arguably meritorious issues.

7. According to the information available to the un-

dersigned counsel, the appellate record in the case at bar is

the lengthiest record on appeal in a death penalty case ever

handled by the Department of Public Advocacy and prob-

ably the lengthiest death penalty case ever reviewed by this

Court.

8. Due to the unusual length of the appellate record at

bar, the large number of preserved errors to be evaluated,

and the imposition of the sentence of death, the undersigned

counsel believe this additional extension request of ten (10)

months is both reasonable and necessary. The United

States Supreme Court has acknowledged that “delays ...

in the course of appellate proceedings” may be justified by

“the need to assure careful review of an unusually complex

case.” Harrison v. United States, 392 U.S. 219, 88 S. Ct.

2008, 2009 n. 4, 20 L. Ed. 1047 (1968).

9. Even if the undersigned counsel had been able to

devote all of their time during the last ten months to the

completion of appellant’s brief, it would have been ex-

tremely difficult, if possible at all, to complete the brief

within the granted extension period. But as the under-

Signo’ counsel informed this Court in their initial extension

motion, as Assistant Public Advocates they both are re-

quired to represent other clients in the criminal justice

system.

10. For example, in addition to undersigned counsel

Namkin’s regular appellate caseload, she was assigned

another death penalty appeal (Robert Lee Askew) subse-

quent to filing the original extension motion in the above-

36a

captioned case. Counsel Namkin will be filing the appellate

brief in Askew v. Commonwealth, No. 85-SC-251-I on June

15, 1986. On May 14, 1986, this Court placed undersigned

counsel Namkin and her appellate co-counsel under a show

cause order in the event Askew’s brief for appellant was

not filed by June 15, 1986.

11. On September 3, 1985, approximately one month

after the undersigned counsel filed appellant’s initial ex-

tension motion, the record on appeal in Charles Edward

Johnson v. Commonwealth, No. SC-292-MR, was received

by the Clerk of this Court. Undersigned counsel Aprile on

January 30, 1986 was placed under a show cause order if

he failed to file the brief for the appellant in that case by

March 2, 1986. Undersigned counsel complied with that

order and filed the brief in Johnson on March 3, 1986.

12. Additionally, in early April of this year under-

signed counsel Aprile was required to substitute as trial

counsel in a death penalty case which is pending trial in

Christian Cireuit Court. Substitution of counsel was neces:

sitated by the resignation of the defendant’s initial counsel

from his position with the Department of Public Advocacy

to join the staff of a Kentucky state prosecutor’s office.

Undersigned counsel Aprile’s involvement in that case has

absorbed a large portion of his time in the last two months.

Of course, that assignment was not known to undersigned

counsel Aprile in August, 1985.

13. As employees of the Department of Public Advo-

cacy, the undersigned counsel’s control over case assign-

ments and other assignments is minimal.

14. As Assistant Public Advocates in the Department

of Public Advocacy, the undersigned counsel are compelled

to commit a considered quantity of time to numerous other

clients, whose cases are also being procedurally and sub-

stantively processed within deadlines, and who are equally

entitled to effective and timely representation,

37a

15. This motion for an extension of ten (10) months is

made in good faith and not for reasons of delay. The re-

quested extension is sought only to insure that appellant

will be afforded effective assistance of counsel on appeal.

16. It should be noted that appellant is presently in-

earcerated at Eddyville and is not free on bond pending

appeal.

WuereroreE this Court should grant this motion and

order, pursuant to CR 6.02 and CR 76.40(1), that the ap-

pellant be granted an extension of ten (10) months to and

including Thursday, April 2, 1987, in which to perfect the

appeal and file the brief for appellant in the above-cap-

tioned case.

Respectfully submitted,

(s) J. Vincent Aprile, IT

J. Vineent Aprile, IT

Assistant Public Advocate

Department of Public Advocacy

151 Elkhorn Court

Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

(s) Julie Namkin

Julie Namkin

Department of Public Advocacy

151 Elkhorn Court

Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

38a

NOTICE

Please take notice that the foregoing motion will be

filed in the Office of the Clerk of the Supreme Court of

Kentucky on the 2nd day of June, 1986.

(s) J. Vincent Aprile, II

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a copy of the foregoing Motion has

been hand delivered to Hon. David L. Armstrong, Attorney

General, Commonwealth of Kentucky, Capitol Building,

Frankfort, Kentucky 40601, this 2nd day of June, 1986.

(s) J. Vineent Aprile, II

39a

TO BE PUBLISHED

SUPREME COURT OF KENTUCKY

84-SC-566-I

ParraMorE Lee SanBorNn - - - - Appellant

v.

CoMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY - - - Appellee

Appeal from Henry Circuit Court

No. 83-CR-057

Honorable Dennis A. Fritz, Judge

OPINION AND ORDER

On August 30, 1985, this Court entered an order in the

above-styled action granting appellant’s motion for an ex-

tension of time to June 2, 1986, in which to file his brief

and perfect the appeal.

In the same Order we further provided:

“If appellant’s brief is not filed and his appeal is

not perfected on or before June 2, 1986, appellant’s

counsel, Honorable J. Vincent Aprile, II, and Honor-

able Julie Namkin, shall appear before this Court on

June 24, 1986, at 11:00 a.m., in order to show cause

why they should not be held in contempt of this Court

or sanctioned, for failure to timely complete the brief.”

Appellant’s counsel, J. Vincent Aprile, II and Julie

Namkin, failed to comply with this Order and a hearing

was held on June 24, 1986, at which time Mr. Aprile and

Ms. Namkin appeared and offered explanation.

40a

We find the following facts to he true:

The transcript of evidence was filed on June 27, 1985.

Thereafter, on the day the brief was due appellant failed

to file his brief but instead filed a motion for a ten (10)

month extension. The reasons for the requested lengthy

extension included a recitation of the length of the record

on appeal and counsels’ present caseloads, along with coun-

sel’s estimate, after reviewing the record and based on their

present caseloads and past experience with appeals of

comparable nature and size, that an additional ten (10)

months would be needed to prepare appellant’s brief. In

paragraph ten of the motion for extension counsel stated

that “(b)ecause this is a capital ease in which the death

sentence was imposed, the undersigned counsel believe this

initial extension of ten (10) months is both reasonable and

necessary under the circumstances.” On August 30, 1985,

this Court considered and granted appellant's requested

motion for extension of time and entered the aforemen-

tioned order.

Ten months later, on the date the brief was due, ap-

pellant failed to file his brief but instead filed a motion

requesting another ten (10) month extension of time.

Counsel failed to comply with this Court’s order of August

30, 1985, to timely file appellant’s brief and instead filed

a second motion for extension of time which parroted in

large part the language of the previous motion for exten-

sion of time and listed “the unusual length of the record,

the large number of preserved errors to be evaluated and

the imposition of the sentence of death” as reasons justi-

fying counsel’s request for an additional extension of time.

Counsel Namkin filed an ex parte motion to be relieved

from appearing at the June 24, 1986 show cause hearing

in which she detailed her current caseload. The Court

denied the motion on June 23, 1986.

4la

At the oral hearing conducted June 24, 1986, Mr. Aprile

advised this Court that he had not completed reading the

record in this ease, nor begun writing the brief and that

the initial request for an extension of time was merely an

estimate of the time needed to complete the brief. Ms.

Namkin advised the Court that, unlike Counsel Aprile, she

had read the record but that she too had not begun writing

appellant’s brief. After ten-months’ extension of time and

in spite of a pending show cause order, neither attorney

had begun writing appellant’s brief, and one had completed

reading the record.

Among this Court’s responsibilities is the duty to pro-

tect the authority of the judiciary and to respect the rights

of defendants charged with committing crimes. This Court

may not dismiss an appeal for counsel’s failure to timely

file a statement of appeal and brief. However, this Court

cannot tolerate interminable delays occasioned by counsel

deciding when it is timely and appropriate for a brief to

be filed, rather than following the dictates of this Court.

Mr. Aprile and Ms. Namkin gave no adequate repsonse

to the Order of this Court to show cause. After eleven

months neither counsel has committed any portion of the

appellant’s brief to writing and Mr. Aprile has failed to

read the record in its entirety. Although counsel were

fully aware that they would be unable to comply with this

Court’s order of August 30, 1985 and timely file appellant’s

brief, they waited until the last day of the tenth-month ex-

tension period to request another extension. Mr. Aprile

advised the Court that Ms. Namkin had proposed filing

the motion for extension at an earlier date, but that as

senior counsel he elected to file the motion on the date the

brief was due to be filed. Counsel were granted a realistic

deadline for filing appellant’s brief and could not justify

the practice prevalent in criminal cases of routinely seek-

ing an additional extension of time on the last day of the

42a

extension period rather than filing the brief. When counsel

is granted a lengthy extension of time in which to file a

brief and it becomes impossible for counsel to file that

brief, counsel shall inform this Court and request an addi-

tional extension at the earliest practicable date, justif; ng

their inability to file the brief and the necessity for an

additional extension of time to complete the brief.

We find no acceptable excuse for counsels’ failure to

cven begin writing appellant’s brief before the date the

brief was ordered to be filed. We further find that Mr.

Aprile and Ms. Namkin are in contempt of the Order of

this Court entered August 30, 1985, requiring them to file

appellant’s brief on or before June 2, 1986, or appear to

show cause why they should not be held in contempt of this

Court or sanctioned for failure to timely complete the

brief. We find counsels’ explanations as to easeload to

be inadequate to explain their lack of effort to commit any

portion of appellants’ brief to writing. We find no merit

in counsels’ argument that both attorneys must read the

record on appeal in its entirety before beginning work on

appellant’s brief. We find no explanation for failing to

notify us immediately if there were considerations that

would legitimately have prevented their compliance with

our Order of August 30, 1985, when notified thereof.

Being duly advised, it is the order of this Court that

said J. Vincent Aprile, LI, as senior counsel of record, is

found in contempt of court and fined $500 for his contempt.

It is further the order of this Court that said Julie Namkin,

as junior counsel of record, is found in contempt of court

and fined $250 for her contempt.

In consideration of this being the first conviction, pay-

ment of both fines is suspended subject to further conduct.

Costs of this proceeding are assessed against Mr, Aprile

and Ms. Namkin.

All sitting.

43a

Stephens, C.J., and Leibson, Stephenson, Vance, and

Wintersheimer, J.J., concurring.

Gant, J., dissents in a separate dissenting opinion and

is joiu.ed by White, J.

Enterep August 7, 1986.

(s) Robert F. Stephens

Chief Justice

Attorneys for Appellant:

J. VINCENT APRILE, II

Assistant Public Advocate

151 Elkhorn Court

Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

JULIE NAMKIN

Assistant Public Advocate

151 Elkhorn Court

Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

Attorneys for Appellee:

DAVID L. ARMSTRONG

Attorney General

State Capitol

Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

DAVID A. SMITH

Assistant Attorney General

State Capitol

Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

44u

SUPREME COURT OF KENTUCKY

84-SC-566-I

ParraMorE LEE SANBORN - - - - Appellant

v.

COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY - - - Appellee

Appeal from Henry Circuit Court

83-C R-057

Honorable Dennis A. Fritz, Judge

MOTION FOR RECONSIDERATION—Filed Aug. 18, 1986

This Motion for Reconsideration of this Court’s Opinion

and Order entered August 7, 1986, is filed by J. Vincent

Aprile, II, and Julie Namkin, pursuant to CR 76.38. In

its Opinion and Order the Court found the Movants in

contempt of court for failure to show cause why their brief

in this action was not timely filed pursuant to the Court’s

earlier Order.

As we understand the Opinion and Order, the Court

found these Public Advocate attorneys guilty of criminal

contempt, which is defined as an act in disrespect of the

court or its process which obstructs the administration of

justice. Casteel v. Sparks, Ky., 226 S. W. 2d 533 (1950).

The standard to be applied in determining whether an at-

torney is in contempt is to determine whether he or she is

in reckless or willful disregard of the court’s order. United

States v. Delahanty, 488 F. 2d 396 (6th Cir. 1973). The

facts of this case do not suggest that these Publie Advo-

cates were in reckless or willful disregard of the court’s

45a

earlier order. The Court may properly be unset with the

delays which took place in this case, but contempt of court

is not the appropriate way to deal with these problems.

The impact upon the professional standing of a lawyer

created by a citation for contempt of court is not limited

to the monetary amount of the fine imposed. The court

should take great care before imposing that method of

discipline. Miller v. Stephenson, Ky., 374 S. W. 2d 372

(1971).

This Motion is filed for the purpose of seeking the

Court’s reconsideration of its finding of contempt as a

solution for a problem which is neither the fault of these

two individuals nor is likely to be solved so long as the

staffing of the Department remains at its present levels.

We also urge that, in seeking to express its message re-

garding delays and the methods of seeking additional time

for filing of briefs, the Court has unfairly singled out these

two individuals.

The Court relies on several factors in finding the Mov-

ants guilty of criminal contempt and presumably the in-

tentionally contemptuous acts which are necessarily in-

volved in that offense. First, the Court acknowledges that

the Movants asked for an “initial” extension of time of

ten (10) months, making it ciear from their motion that

more time might be requested. The Court suggests in

its Opinion that ten months is an unreasonable length of

time to prepare a brief in a death penalty appeal. Yet the

information filed with the court by the Attorney General

indicates that the average time for filing a death penalty

brief is 12.4 months. So even a 10 month period of time

is below average. In seven of 22 cases, the appellant’s brief

has taken 15 months or more. Movants are hardly deviat-

ing from the norm in seeking more than 10 months to

prepare and file this brief. Certainly this conduct cannot

be deemed contemptuous. It is unfair to single out these

46a

two individuals for contempt on this point when these sort

of delays have become almost routine.

Next the court chastises the Movants for waiting until

the last day before filing their second request for exten-

sion, yet the court recognizes that the practice of waiting

until the last day to file for an extension is a “practice

prevalent in criminal cases.” How can conduct be con-

temptuous when the established practice, which has at least

been tolerated by the Court, is followed? For the Court

to hold the Movants in contempt for following an estab-

lished practice without prior warning that such practice

will not be tolerated is a denial of basic fairness. Con-

sidering that this is a criminal contempt, such a convic-

tion constitutes a denial of Due Process of law and of Equal

Protection under the Kentucky and United States Consti-

tutions.

The Court cites as the third reason for its finding of

contempt the inadequacy of the explanation given by coun-

sel regarding case load. The facts are simply that the

Commonwealth has not budgeted adequate funds to the

Department of Public Advocacy. With the reinstitution of

the death penalty the burden has significantly increased.

As the Affidavit of Movant Namkin points out, even though

she is willing to work many hours of overtime, the Com-

monwealth is not willing to pay her for overtime beyond

certain set amounts. Justice Gant is surely correct in

characterizing these young Public Advocates as “dedi-

cated.” But they are surely frustrated too, for this Court

criticizes them and finds their conduct criminal for failing

to perform on time all that is assigned to them, when at the

same time their employer refuses to pay them adequately

for their overtime work when they try to keep up.

Movant Namkin has explained that she is assigned two

case appeals each month to handle. Obviously, she cannot

prepare a death penalty brief in the 80 hours of work avail-

47a

able in a two week period. Reading the transcript in this

case took many more hours than 80. The Court’s criticism

of Movants is upsetting, especially considering that the

Court does not mention the unusual length of the transcript

in this case, some 10,000 pages. Movant Aprile is not even

assigned to the appellate section of the Department of

Public Advocacy. Preparing appeal briefs is in addition

to his regular duties, but he accepts this work because of

the overload to the staff generally. For this same reason,

Movant Aprile accepts assignments of circuit court death

penalty trials when the staff members who ordinarily handle

those matters are overloaded. Taking on these extra as-

signments does not constitute contemptuous behavior on the

part of a Public Advocate. How can the delays which

result be contemptuous? The hard work and unpaid over-

time necessary to fulfill these commitments constitute an

enormous service to the Court of Justice. It is simply

unfair to the Movants to find them guilty of criminal con-

tempt under these circumstances.

The Opinion and Order is critical because the writing of

the brief for which an extension of time was sought has not

yet begun, but the writing is the last step in the preparation

of the brief. First, the 10,000 page record must be carefully

read, the issues identified and researched, and only then

does the writing begin. The fact that the actual writing of

the brief has not yet begun does not demonstrate criminally

contemptuous conduct.

The Court is critical that the Movants failed to notify

the Court immediately when the need for additional time

became apparent, but no previous Order of this Court has

ever suggested such a practice is necessary. Established

practice suggests otherwise. Following established prac-

tice cannot be categorized as contemptuous conduct. To

impose a criminal sanction for violation of a rule which did

48a

not exist at the time the act was performed is a violation

of Due Process and is an ex post facto law.

If this court perceives a problem in the length of time

in filing death penalty briefs which needs to be addressed,

contempt findings in this case will not solve that problem.

The time of delay involved here is not at all unusual, as the

statistics demonstrate. The conduct of the Movants in

taking the usual amount of time certainly does not indicate

contemptuous conduct. Other, less severe sanctions are

certainly available if the Court finds the delay to be the

result of a lack of diligence. Only if lack of diligence be-

comes so extreme as to constitute disrespect does it rise to

contempt. However, there is no suggestion that the Movants

lack diligence generally in the performance of their many

duties, only that they have put other important matters

ahead of this brief.

Because of their overload the Movants are forced to

make daily decisions with regard to priorities. If Movant

Namkin has three ordinary briefs and one extraordinary

death penalty brief due, she is faced with a decision re-

garding the allocation of time. If she determines to file the

three ordinary briefs on time and seek an extension in the

extraordinary case, she is not acting in a contemptuous

fashion. This Court has made no finding of lack of due

diligence on the part of the Movants in performing their

duties generally. It is certainly true that if the Movants

were to work on their briefs to this Court and abandon their

other duties, the brief involved would have been long ago

filed. Unfortunately, something else would be late and the

problem unchanged. Indeed, the Court may be critical of

the priorities established by Movants. However, this selec-

tion of priorities does not demonstrate a lack of due dili-

gence or contemptuous conduct.

If Movant Aprile has to divide his time between this

appeal and other equally serious trials, he also makes time

49a

priority allocations which are not the result of disrespect

or in reckless disregard of this Court’s Order. There are

only so many hours in a day. This Court of Justice en-

compasses the entire judicial system of the Commonwealth.

The Department of Public Advocacy has duties at the Cir-

cuit Court level as well as at the Supreme Court. Where

there are not enough attorneys available, justice at some

level will be inevitably delayed. This delay does not con-

stitute contemptuous conduct on the part of these two

individuals.

The Court found “counsel’s explanations as to case load

inadequate to explain their lack of effort” on this case. This

may be valid criticism of the priorities adopted by the

Movants regarding the use of their time, but this does not

constitute finding of facts constituting disrespect of this

court. The Court may well feel that the briefs to this

Court deserve the top priority to the neglect of duties in

other courts of this Commonwealth. However, those other

courts have contempt powers too and these dedicated Public

Advocates are placed in a no win situation. By way of

example, the court is surely aware of similar deadlines

placed on these Movants in the Moore, Johnson and Askew

eases. Movants cannot meet all these deadlines at once.

The problem might better be addressed with the establish-

ment of a priority schedule or system.

Movants believe the Court’s use of its contempt power

in this situation will make the problem worse. No matter

how dedicated a young Public Advocate may be, he or she

is not going to remain long in a job and risk contempt of

court for time delays under circumstances where compli-

ance with all demands is simply impossible. The threat of

contempt for lack of diligence to a lawyer who is already

working unpaid overtime will surely discourage diligent

young lawyers from taking opportunities in the Office of

50a

the Public Advocate. Justice will certainly not be served

by such a result.

The Order entered by this Court violates the guarantees

of Due Process of law to the Movants under the Fourteenth

Amendment to the United States Constitution by failing to

observe minimal presumptions of law as well as standards

and burdens of proof in the adjudication of contempt of

court. The Movants were certainly entitled to know prior

to their acts what sort of conduct amounted to criminal

contempt. Movants believed that a demonstration of work

load over which they had no control would be sufficient, as

it has been in the past, to justify failure to file such briefs

and to be allowed an extension of time. The Court has

changed the rules in mid-stream and imposed contempt

penalties upon these Movants in situations which have here-

tofore been tolerated. Accordingly, the failure to give

defendants adequate notice of the type of action which

would be found contemptuous is a Due Process denial.

The standard of proof adopted by the court in order to

find the actions of the Movants in contempt is not made

clear in the Opinion and Order. We presume from previous

cases that such conduct must involve acts disrespectful of

the Court, but the Opinion and Order nowhere defines the

elements of the offense or makes factual findings in this

regard. Furthermore, the standard of proof itself, whether

it is beyond a reasonabie doubt or clear and convincing or

some other standard is not made clear. The Rules of Civil

Procedure, 52.01, and Criminal Procedure, 9.26(2) require

specific findings of facts and conclusions of law. Failure to

follow the court’s own rules constitutes a Due Process

denial.

It is a violation of the Movants’ right of Due Process for

the Court to fail in its Order to specifically identify those

acts of the Movants which constituted criminally contemp-

tuous conduct and to indicate the manner in which those

5la

acts were found to be an act intentionally disrespectful of

the Court or its process.

It is quite easy in this case to write an Opinion very

embarrassing to the Movants, pointing out that after a ten

month delay the entire record had not yet been read by one

of the appellate attorneys. It is also easy to suggest con-

tempt by simply saying that the Movants’ explanations of

work overload and the burdens of other cases are not ade-

quate. Such an Opinion will certainly serve to embarrass

and humiliate the Movants unnecessarily, but it will not

alleviate the problems of work overload in the Office of

Public Advocacy. Nor will it prevent these same problems

from occurring again.

CONCLUSION

We move this Court to reconsider and modify its Opin-

ion and Order. We urge that the Opinion and Order be

redirected to the real source of the problem, the burden of

overload upon these Public Advocates. If sanctions are

necessary, the Court should adopt methods other than con-

tempt of court in order to draw to the attention of practi-

tioners generally the problems of extended delays in filing

appellate briefs and in waiting until the last minute to

make motions for additional time. Movants believe due

process requires that they be given prior notice that last

minute motions for extension of time will be considered

contemptuous and that requests for extension of time

similar to those which have been granted in other cases, for

the very same reasons, will also be considered contemp-

tuous. The failure to make the contemptuous nature of

such practice clear prior to imposing contempt violations

is improper. Movants believe that even with notice that

such conduct will be considered contemptuous, the under-

lying problem will not be solved. Tn all events, however,

the contempt citations against these particular Movants

52a

should be withdrawn and the Opinion and Order appro-

priately modified.

(s) Robert C. Ewald

Wyatt, Tarrant'& Combs

Citizens Plaza

Louisville, Kentucky 40202

(502) 589-5235

Counsel for Movants

CERTIFICATE

I certify that a copy of the foregoing pleading was

mailed, first class mail, postage prepaid, this 18th day of

‘August, 1986, to David L. Armstrong, Attorney General,

State Capitol, Frankfort, Kentucky 40601 and to David A.

Smith, Assistant Attorney General, State Capitol, Frank-

fort, Kentucky 40601.

(s) Robert C. Ewald

53a

SUPREME COURT OF KENTUCKY

84-SC-566-MR

PaRRAMORE LEE SANBORN - - - - Appellant

v.

CoMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY - - - Appellee

Appeal From Henry Circuit Court

No. 83-C R-057

(Hon. Dennis A. Fritz, Judge)

ORDER DENYING MOTION FOR RECONSIDERATION

ORDER MODIFYING OPINION

Appellant’s motion for reconsideration is denied and the

opinion and order rendered by this court on August 7, 1986,

is modified on its face.

ENTERED September 25, 1986.

(s) Robert F. Stephens

Chief Justice

All sitting.

Stephens, C.J., and Leibson, Stephenson and Winter-

sheimer, JJ., concurring. Vance, J., would impose sanc-

tions, but without a finding of contempt. Gant, J., dissents

in a separate dissenting opinion and is joined by White, J.

Enterep August 7, 1986.

(s) Robert F. Stephens

Chief Justice

Attorneys for Appellant:

J. VINCENT APRILE, II

Assistant Public Advoeate

151 Elkhorn Court

Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

JULIE NAMKIN

Assistant Publie Advocate

151 Elkhorn Court

Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

Attorneys for Appellee:

DAVID L. ARMSTRONG

Attorney General

State Capitol

Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

DAVID A. SMITH

Assistant Attorney General

State Capitol

Frankfort, Kentucky 40601

54a

5da

SUPREME COURT OF KENTUCKY

84-SC-566-I

PaRRAMORE LEE SANBORN ~ - - - . Appellant

v.

CoMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY - - - Appellee

Appeal From Henry Circuit Court

No. 83-CR-057

(Hon. Dennis A. Fritz, Judge)

MOTION TO VACATE THE FINDING OF CONTEMPT

OF COURT—Filed October 6, 1986

This Motion to Vacate the finding of contempt of court

contained in this Court’s Opinion and Order entered August

7, 1986, and modified by this Court’s Order of September 25,

1986 is filed by J. Vincent Aprile, II, and Julie Namkin, by

the undersigned counsel. In its Opinion and Order, as

modified, this Court, by a 4-3 vote, found the Movants in

contempt of court for failure to show cause why their brief

in this action was not timely filed pursuant to the Court’s

earlier Order.

In the original Opinion and Order of August 7, 1986,

five Justices of this Court—Chief Justice Stephens and

Justices Leibson, Stephenson, Vance and Wintersheimer

concurred in the finding that both J. Vincent Aprile IT and

Julie Namkin were in contempt of court. Justice Gant and

White dissented and found no contempt of court. In the

Opinion and Order of August 7, 1986, by a vote of 5-2, this

Court found Mr. Aprile and Ms. Namkin in contempt of

court.

56a

On September 25, 1986 this Court entered an Order

Denying Motion for Reconsideration and Modifying Opin-

ion in which Justice Vance, in a change of position, voted to

“impose sanctions, but without a finding of contempt.” As

a result of this modification of the Opinion and Order of

August 7, 1986, this Court found Mr. Aprile and Ms.

Namkin in contempt of court by a vote of 4-3, even though

five Justices would impose sanctions.

As noted in the Motion for Reconsideration filed prev-

iously in this case, the standard of proof applied by the

court in this case, whether it is beyond a reasonable doubt

or clear and convincing evidence or some other standard, is

not made clear. The applicable standard of proof in a

criminal contempt case is beyond a reasonable doubt.

“Without deciding what may be the rule in civil contempt,

it is certain that in proceedings for criminal contempt the

defendant is presumed to be innocent, he must be proved

guilty beyond a reasonable doubt, and cannot be compelled

to testify against himself.” Gompers v. Bucks Stove &

Range Co., 221 U. S. 418 (1911). See also Michaelson v.

U.S., 266 U.S. 42 (1924) ; Blackard v. State, 217 Ark. 661,

232 S. W. 2d 977 (1950); Brannon v. Commonwealth, 162

Ky. 350, 172 S. W. 703 (1915).

Further, Movants contend that the standard of proof

beyond a reasonable doubt is not satisfied in this case

because only four of the seven justices found that he was

guilty of contempt. Ultimately, Justices Stephens, Leib-

son, Stephenson and Wintersheimer found that Movants

were guilty of contempt. Justice Vance believed that sanc-

tions were warranted, but without a finding of contempt.

Justices Gant and White dissented and found no contempt.

While it is true that unanimous verdicts are not con-

stitutionally required in state criminal trials, a 4-3 verdict

does not satisfy the requirement of a finding of guilt beyond

a reasonable doubt. In Apodoca v. Oregon, 406 U. S. 404

57a

(1972), and Johnson v. Louisiana, 406 U.S. 356 (1972), the

Supreme Court held that jury verdicts of 11-1 and 10-2

were not automatically invalidated. In his Johnson con-

currence, however, Justice Blackmun expressed the view

that verdicts of less than a substantial majority would

possibly not withstand attack. Justice Blackmun stated:

“T do not hesitate to say, either, that a system employing

a 7-5 standard, rather than, a 9-3 or a 75% minimum,

would afford me great diffeult.” Johnson, 406 U. S. at

366. The 4-3 decision in this case simply cannot be said

to demonstrate a finding beyond a reasonable doubt that

Movants were guilty of criminal contempt.

“The function of a standard of proof, as that concept

is embodied in the Due Process Clause and in the realm

of factfinding, is to ‘instruct the factfinder concerning the

degree of confidence our society thinks he should have in

the correctness o/ factual conclusions for a particular type

of adjudication.’” Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. 418, 423

(1979), quoting In re Winship, 397 U. S. 358, 370 (1970),

(Harlan, J., concurring). “The standard serves to allocate

the risk of error between the litigants and to indicate the

relative importance attached to the ultimate ‘ decision.”

Addington, supra at 423. “In cases involving individual

rights, whether criminal or civil, ‘[t]he standard of proof

[at a minimum] reflects the value society places on indi-

vidual liberty.” Addington, supra at 425 (citation omit-

ted). “[T]he function of legal process is to minimize the

risk of erroneous decisions.” Id.

The validity of these general principles of federal con-

stitutional law are reflected in the day-to-day practice in

the courts of Kentucky.

In Kentucky ‘“‘the agreement at least three-fourths (34)

of the jurors is required for a verdict of all civil trials by

jur, in circuit court,” while “[t]he agreement of at least

five sixths (5/6) of the juriors is required for a verdict in

58a

all civil trials by jury in district court.” KRS 29A.280(3).

See Sec. 248, Ky. Const. Agreement of 75 percent and 83

percent of the fact-finders in civil cases in the circuit

courts and district courts of the Commonwealth, respee-

tively, is a far ery from 57 percent agreement of the fact-

finders in the instant ease which resulted in the finding of

contempt of court.

In Kentucky as the number of fact-finders decreases

from twelve in cireuit court to six in district court, the

percentage of agreement among fact-finders for a verdict

increases from 75 percent to 83 percent. See Burch v.

Louisiana, 441 U. S. 130, 134 (1979), where conviction by

a nonunanimous six-member jury in a state trial for a

nonpetty offense deprives an accused of his constitutional

right to trial by jury.

“(The critical inquiry on review of the sufficiency of

the evidence to support a criminal conviction must be . . .

to determine whether the record evidence could reasonably

support a finding of guilt beyond a reasonable doubt.”

Jackson v. Virginia, 443 U. S. 307 (1979). The bare ma-

jority vote of 4-3 by an appellate court serving as initial

fact-finder on the question of whether movants’ conduct

constituted contempt of court demonstrates a constitu-

tional deficiency in the sufficiency of the evidence mar-

shalled against the movants.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, we move this Court to vacate

its finding of contempt of court in its Opinion and Order,

as modified.

It is fundamentally unfair and violative of due process

to be subject to an order which does not specify the ele-

ments of the offense and the standard of proof applied or

make specific findings of fact and conclusions of law.

59a

Further, there is simply not enough weight in a 4-3 de-

cision to support a finding of guilt beyond a reasonable

doubt. In all events, however, the contempt citations

against these two partciular Movants should be vacated

and withdrawn.

(s) Robert C. Ewald by J.V.A. II

Robert C. Ewald

Wyatt, Tarrant & Combs

Citizens Plaza

Louisville, Kentucky 40202

(502) 589-5235

Counsel for Movants

CERTIFICATE

I certify that a copy of the foregoing pleading was

mailed, first class mail, postage prepaid, this 6th day of

October, 1986, to David L. Armstrong, Attorney General,

State Capitol, Frankfort, Kentucky 40601 and to David A.

Smith, Assistant Attorney General, State Capitol, Frank-

fort, Kentucky 40601.

(c) Robert C. Ewald by JVA II

Robert C. Ewald

60a

SUPREME COURT OF KENTUCKY

84-SC-566-I

PaRRAMORE LEE SANBORN - - - - Appellant

v.

COMMONWEALTH OF ICENTUCKY . - . Appellee

On Appeal from Henry Circuit Court

Honorable Dennis A. Fritz, Judge

83-C R-057

ORDER

The motion of Honorable J. Vincent Aprile, IT, and

Honorable Julie Namkin to vacate the finding of contempt

of court contained in this Court’s Opinion and Order en-

tered August 7, 1986 and modified by this Court’s Order

entered September 25, 1986, is denied.

Stephens, C.J., and Gant, Stephenson, Vance, White and

Wintersheimer, JJ., sitting. All concur.|

Leibson, J. not sitting.

EnterED October 31, 1986.

(s) Robert F. Stephens

Chief Justice

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.