Petition for Writ of Certiorari — United Dairymen of Arizona v. LaSalvia

Supreme Court brief1987

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

= igh 4h

86 1702 [Siero Court, USS,

FILED

| APR

No. : 20 1987

$< Ses JR,

CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1986

UNITED DAIRYMEN OF ARIZONA,

. Petitioner,

vs.

JEROME LaSALVIA and PEGGY LaSALVIA,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

SYDNEY BERDE

Counsel of Record

SYDNEY BERDE &

ASSOCIATES, P.A.

2206 American National

Bank Building

St. Paul, Minnesota 55101

(612) 291-8106

Counsel for Petitioner

ee nee enn nm

224-7631 - Review Publishing Ce., 287 E. 6th St., St. Paul, Minn. 55101 — 224-7631

iat

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The trial court, on the basis of Respondents’ deposition

testimony and documentary evidence, granted Petitioner’s

motion for summary judgment dismissing Respondent’s uni-

lateral and concerted refusal to deal claims, filed in 1980, con-

cluding that there was no genuine issue of material fact as

to the finality of Petitioner’s refusal and that the cause of

action which accrued in 1975 was barred by the § 4B Clayton

Act four year statute of limitations. The questions presented

are the following:

1. Where a trial court grants defendant’s motion for sum-

mary judgment dismissing an antitrust action on statute of

limitations grounds on the basis of material facts relating to

the merits of the action affirmatively asserted by the plaintiff

in a fully developed discovery record, may an appellate court

review de novo and reverse the trial court’s finding of “no

genuine issue of material fact” as to the finality of defendant’s

refusal to deal on the basis of defendant’s denial of those

facts?

2. Whether an unlawful unilateral or concerted unequiv-

ocal refusal to deal gives rise to a cause of action when it

occurs and is not restarted by repeated requests which the

defendant refuses.

8. Whether a plaintiff who has suffered ascertainable anti-

trust damages more than four years prior to commencing an

action from a unilateral or concerted unequivocal refusal to

deal may avoid the bar of § 4B of the Clayton Act because

damages stemming from the prelimitation refusal may have

continued during the limitation period.

4. Whether Hanover Shoe Co. v. United Shoe Machinery

Corp., 392 U.S. 481 (1968) established an exception to the

settled rule that an antitrust claim accrues and the statute

of limitations begins to run each time that the defendant com-

mits an overt act that injures the plaintiff.

LIST OF PARTIES

Pursuant to Rule 21.1(b), Rules of the Supreme Court,

counsel for Petitioner certifies that the following is a complete

list of all parties to the proceedings below:

1. All parties listed in the caption of this petition.

2. Robert M. Girard, Petitioner’s manager.

38. Leonard Cheatham, Petitioner’s former president.

United Dairymen of Arizona has no parent or subsidiaries.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Sa al Cl a alae ee ne el i

ee he ae Phe Se ey ii

eer en re eS Soe Ce) iii

Ee eases iv

I St ot Ye A 1

a ea ea al ae mie male als ele i ear 2

et es ae) LY 2

ee Se 3

Reasons for Granting the Writ ...-—s—s_i.............. 10

Conelusion | “ip pap aie Rey Ao SR peat whee

Appendix A.

Opinion of Court of Appeals ..................... A-1

Appendix B. ;

Order of District Court Denying Motion for

EES See ee A-14

Appendix C.

Order of District Court Granting Motion for

RS a a A Sra ~. A-19

Appendix D.

Judgment of Courtof Appeals........................ A-28

Appendix E.

Order Denying Petition for Rehearing and

Suggestions for Rehearing En Banc................ A-29

Appendix F.

Excerpts of Record in Court of Appeals .—s_—s—sadiwi.. A-30

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Akron Presform Mold Company v. McNeil

Corporation, 496 F.2d 230 (6th Cir.),

cert. denied, 419 U.S. 997 (1974) ............... 12

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,

USS. , 106 S.Ct. 2505 (1986) .......... 10

Ansul Co. v. Uniroyal, Inc., 306 F.Supp. 541

(S.D.N.Y. 1969), aff’d in part and rev'd in part

on other grounds, 448 F.2d 872 (2d Cir. 1971),

cert. denied, 404 U.S. 1018 (1972) .............. 14

Argus, Inc. v. Eastman Kodak Co., 801 F.2d 38

(2d Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 55 U.S.L.W. 3569

(U.S. Feb. 24, 1987) (No. 86-949) ........... a ee

Baker v. Chagrin Valley Medical Corp.,

[1985-1] Trade Cas. 166,622 ................... 13

Barnosky Oils, Inc. v. Union Oil Co. of Calif.,

Ue ee ee ee Gs PE cc ie es es 18

Catrett v. Johns-Manville Sales Corp.,

By & Be eho Y. | ieee 11,12

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett,

US. ——., 106 8.Ct. 2646 (1966) ........... 10, 11

Chapa v. Volkswagen of America, Inc.,

[1974-1] Trade Cas. 74,911 (D.D.C. 1974) ...... 14

Charlotte Telecasters, Inc. v. Jefferson-Pilot

Corp., 546 F.2d 570 (4th Cir. 1976) ............. 14

Crummer Co. v. Du Pont,

208 F.3a S88 (ite Cir. 1960) -...:........... 17, 18, 20

Electro Glass v. Dynatex Corp.,

497 F.Supp. 97 (N.D. Cal. 1980) ............... 18

Exchange National Bank of Chicago v. Touche Ross

& Co., 544 F.2d 1126 (2d Cir. 1976) ............. 12

iv

aap sroen

Fontana Aviation v. Baldinelli, 418 F.Supp. 464

(W.D. Mich. 1976), aff’d per curiam,

575 F.2d 1194 (6th Cir.), cert. denied,

Ge are ee er eee ss 19 -

Garelick v. Goerlich’s, Inc.,

323 F.2d 854 (6th Cir. 1983) ................ 13, 15, 21

Hanover Shoe Co. v. United Shoe Machinery Corp.,

See Uae eee Cees Se ASS ii, 9, 20, 21

Hanover Shoe, Inc. v. United Shoe Machinery Corp.,

way we tee cee Ore, NOE ni ek 20, 21

Heiniger v. City of Phoenix,

G25 F.2a S42 (9th Cir. 1080) ................... 11

Imperial Point Colonnades Condominium, Inc. v.

Mangurian, 549 F.2d 1029 (5th Cir.),

cert. denied, 434 U.S. 859 (1977) ............... 14, 15

Lew v. Kona Hospital,

164 F.2d 1420 (9th Cir. 1985) ................. 11n.5

Loehr v. Ventura County Community College District,

743 F.2d 1310 (9th Cir. 1984) .................. 11n.5

Manok v. Southeast District Bowling Association,

306 F.Supp. 1215 (C.D. Cal. 1969) ............. 14

Martino v. Santa Clara Valley Water District,

703 F.2d 1141 (9th Cir.), cert. denied,

oe Sea ee Ce = ee A ST 11n.5

Midwestern Waffles, Inc. v. Waffle House, Inc.,

734 F.2d 705 (11th Cir. 1982) ........... fie A 14n.8

National Souvenir Center v. Historic Figures, Inc.,

Jae Fae woe CC. CO Tie eee PEE 18

Norman Tobacco & Candy Co. v. Gillette Safety

Razor Co., 197 F.Supp. 333 (N.D. Ala. 1960),

aff’d, 295 F.2d 362 (5th Cir. 1961) __. PRE OAS. 14

Vv

Orgell v. Geary’s Stores, Inc.,

640 F.2d 936 (9th Cir.), cert. denied,

a a Si a bic bk ks 6, 8, 13

0.S.C. Corporation v. Apple Computer, Inc.,

792 F.2d 1464 (9th Cir. 1986) ................ 11n.5

Pioneer Co. v. Talon, Inc.,

462 F.2d.1108 (8th Cir. 1972) ................. 14

Poster Exchange, Inc. v. National Screen Service

Corp., 517 F.2d 117 (5th Cir.), reh’g denied,

520 F.2d 943 (5th Cir. 1975), cert. denied,

G8 TR. TS Ge 8 dcxieeeds. Hanes. 14, 15, 18, 21

Saunders v. National Basketball Ass’n.,

848 F.Supp. 649 (N.D. Ill. 1972) ............... 14

Southeastern Hose, Inc.-v. Imperial-Eastman Corp.,

[1973-1] Trade Cas. (74,479 (N.D. Ga. 1973) ..... 14

State of Utah v. Marsh,

740 F.2d 799 (10th Cir. 1984) .................. 12

Steiner v. 20th Century-Fox Film Corp.,

SOE PAS Tae Coe a ee is SS. 7,8

Suckow Borax Mines Consolidated, Inc. v. Borax

Consolidated, Limited, 185 F.2d 196 (9th Cir.),

cert. denied, 340 U.S. 943 (1950) ............. 11, 17,18

Trepel v. Pontiac Osteopathic Hospital,

599 F.Supp. 1484 (E.D. Mich. 1984) ........... 18,14

Zenith Radio Corp. v. Hazeltine Research, Inc.,

r Boe @ RS. errs ee 16, 17, 18, 19, 22

Statutes and Legislative Materials:

Clayton Act:

ee te ee 2 eer er errr ee 2

_ Section 4B, 15 U.S.C. § 15b _ $i, ii, 2, 5, 6, 9, 18, 16, 20, 22

vi

Sherman Act: Page

ee eee 3

oo A ee eee ae 3

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) ...... EN Py on re OT Rg Pos 2

H.R. Rep. No. 422, 84th Cong. Ist eer (1955) 15

S. Rep. No. 619, 84th Cong. Ist Sess. (1955) 15

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure:

Rule 43(e) ets Se TR ast Bae ote ....12&n.6

ee esti y | 2, 3, 10, 12

Miscellaneous:

II P. Areeda & D. Turner, Antitrust Law,

1325b (1978) _.. 3 eee 14, 16, 20, 21

5 Moore’s Federal Practice, 943. 13 (1985) 12

L. Sullivan, Handbook of the Law of Antitrust,

SE ea ones Te

M. Wheeler and R. pa The Statute af

Limitations for Antitrust Damage Actions:

Four Years or Forty?, 41 U. Chi. L. Rev.

72 (19738) ee eee

10A C. Wright, A. Miller nad M. om Federal

Practice and Procedure, § 2723 (1983) 12

vii

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Cnited States

October Term, 1986

UNITED DAIRYMEN OF ARIZONA,

Petitioner,

vs.

JEROME LaSALVIA and PEGGY LaSALVIA,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner, United Dairymen of Arizona, prays that a Writ

of Certiorari issue to review the judgment of the Ninth Circuit

Court of Appeals filed on November 21, 1986.

OPINIONS BELOW

‘The opinion of the court of appeals is reported at 804 F.2d

1118 (9th Cir. 1986) and appears herein as Appendix A. The

November 19, 1983 order of the district court denying defen-

dant’s original motion for summary judgment (App. B.) is

unreported. The December 21, 1984 order of the district court

granting defendant’s renewed motion for summary judgment

dismissing the complaint (App. C. at A-19) is unreported.

2

} JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals (App. D. at A-28)

was filed on November 21, 1986. A timely petition for rehear-

ing with suggestions for rehearing en banc was denied on

January 20, 1987. App. E. at A-29. The jurisdiction of this

Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

Section 4 of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. § 15:

[A]ny person who shall be injured in his business or

property by reason of anything forbidden in the anti-

trust laws may sue therefor . . . and shall recover three-

fold the damages by him sustained... .

Section 4B of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. § 15b:

Any action to enforce any cause of action under sections

15, 15a or 15c of this title shall be forever barred unless

commenced within four years after the cause of action

accrued. ...

Rule 56, Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Summary Judg-

ment:

(b) A party against whom a claim is asserted . . . may,

at any time, move with or without supporting affi-

davits for a summary judgment in his favor as to

all or any part thereof.

(c) .... The judgment sought shall be renvered forth-

with if the pleadings, depositions, answers to inter-

rogatories, and admissions on file . . . show that

3

there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and

that the moving party is entitled to a judgment as a

matter of law. ...

(d) .... When a motion for summary judgment is

made and is supported as provided in this rule, an

adverse party may not rest upon the mere allega-

tions .. . of his pleading, but his response . . . must

set forth specific facts showing that there is a gen-

uine issue for trial. If he does not so respond, sum-

mary judgment, if appropriate, shall be entered

against him.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Introduction

Plaintiff-Respondents, Jerome and Peggy LaSalvia (La-

Salvias), filed this antitrust suit against Petitioner, United

Dairymen of Arizona (UDA) on March 31, 1980 for viola-

tions of §§ 1 and 2 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. §$§ 1, 2

(1982). They claimed that commencing in 1974 and continu-

ing up until filing of their complaint they were damaged by

UDA’s unilateral refusal to buy their milk and a similar con-

certed refusal by Phoenix milk dealers caused by UDA’s full

supply contracts. After four years of discovery, the trial

court granted UDA’s motion for summary judgment, dis-

missing the action on statute of limitations grounds based on

its determination that there was no genuine issue of material

fact as to the finality of the refusals in May 1975.

The Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit reversed, hold-

ing that there was a material fact question relating to the

finality of UDA’s 1975 refusal; that the action is not barred

4

despite the finality of the refusal if Respondents suffered

harm during the damage period stemming from the 1975 re-

fusal and that Respondents’ allegation of “continuing harm”

continues the running of the statute, notwithstanding the

absence of further overt acts by UDA during the limitation

period.

B. Statement of Facts

Petitioner, United Dairymen of Arizona (UDA) is a coop-

erative association of dairy farmers. Jerome and Peggy La-

Salvia (LaSalvias) operate an independent “non-member”

dairy farm in Arizona. From 1955 until April of 1974 La-

Salvias disposed of their entire daily milk production to

Shamrock Foods, a Phoenix milk dealer, at the federally reg-

ulated “blend price” established by the United States Depart-

ment of Agriculture. App. A. at A-3 n.2. Commencing in

April 1974 and continuing thereafter, Shamrock reduced the

amount of milk it was willing to accept from LaSalvias.

LaSalvias’ offer of their excess milk production to other

Phoenix dealers and UDA was refused. App. C. at A-20-21.

As a result, LaSalvias were forced to dispose of their excess

production to other buyers outside of Arizona at a lower price.

App. A. at A-11. App. B. at A-15.

On March 31, 1980, approximately six years after UDA’s

and the Phoenix milk dealers’ initial refusal to buy their ex-

cess milk production, the LaSalvias commenced an antitrust

action against UDA alleging that (1) commencing in the

early 1960’s UDA entered into full supply agreements with

the Phoenix milk dealers except Shamrock which precluded

LaSalvias from selling milk to those dealers—a concerted

refusal to deal—and (2) unreasonably refused to purchase

LaSalvias’ excess milk—a unilateral refusal to deal in further-

5

ance of an unlawful monopolization of the market for the sale

of raw milk to the Phoenix dealers. App. A. at A-2-3, 7; App.

C. at A-20. They claimed as damages the difference between

the Order 131 monthly established “blend price” they would

have received by selling milk to a Phoenix dealer and the

price they did receive by selling their milk out of Arizona

plus “stunted growth” damages resulting from their fore-

closure from the Phoenix market. App. A. at A-10; App. F.

at A-56-59, 61-62, 66-68.

On August 22, 1983, following three years of discovery,

UDA moved for summary judgment on the grounds that the

refusals to deal of which the LaSalvias complained occurred

no later than May 1975 and were, therefore, time barred under

15 U.S.C. § 15b. On November 10, 1983 the trial court (Hon.

Carl A. Muecke, Chief Fudge) denied UDA’s motion on the

grounds that there was a question of fact as to whether UDA’s

refusal to deal in 1975 was irrevocable and final. App. B. at

A-18.

Following additional discovery, on June 24, 1984 UDA filed

a renewed motion for summary judgment on the same statute

of limitation grounds. On December 21, 1984 Judge Muecke

granted UDA’s renewed motion, noting in his Order that

“there is no material issue of fact” (App. C. at A-20) that

LaSalvias were aware in 1975 of UDA’s final and “very

emphatic” refusal and the refusal of the alleged conspiring

milk processors to deal with plaintiffs (A-20-21), that

“(p)laintiff[s] never contacted UDA between 1975 and the

time the action was filed’’ in March 1980 and that subsequent

“refusals by other processors were reaffirmations of the

original refusal(s) to deal.” App. C. at A-22-23. On the basis

of the evidence disclosed by a massive four year discovery

record, and the parties’ respective statements of undisputed

facts (A-20) the trial court found that:

6

Plaintiffs themselves knew of and believed they had a

cause of action in 1975... [and] believed that UDA’s

and the other handlers’ refusals to deal with them were

final; this finding is supported by Plaintiffs’ complaints

to the Justice Department . . . during 1975 and Plaintiffs’

own descriptions of their contacts with UDA.

App. C. at A-24.! The trial court noted further that LaSalvias’

attorney’s contemporaneous notes of a telephone conversa-

tion with UDA’s attorney in April 1975 reflected the clear

understanding that: “bottom line—won’t take milk from non-

member producer.” App. C. at A-21. Following another re-

quest by LaSalvia and refusal by UDA’s manager on May 23,

1975,2 LaSalvias “never again directly contacted UDA about

purchasing his milk until after this action was filed in 1980.”

App. C. at A-21.

Judge Muecke held that the LaSalvias’ claims were barred

by the Clayton Act’s four year statute of limitations based

upon the Ninth Circuit’s holding in Orgell v. Geary’s Stores,

Inc., 640 F.2d 936 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 816 (1981)

that the statute begins to run upon an initial unequivocal re-

fusal to deal and “that all refusals to deal subsequent to the

1 The trial court’s “finality” finding was based on record evidence

that following UDA’s refusal in 1974 to buy LaSalvias’ milk they

complained to the United States Department of Agriculture that

UDA was attempting to monopolize the raw milk market (A-20);

on UDA’s subsequent refusal in February 1975 conveyed by its

attorney to LaSalvias’ attorney (ibid.); LaSalvias’ February 1975

press release complaining that neither UDA nor any dealer would

buy his milk; Jerome LaSalvia’s deposition testimony that he

was told by UDA’s manager in February 1975 never to call again

(A-20-21), confirmed by Peggy LaSalvia as “very emphatic” (ibid.);

LaSalvias’ 1975 complaints to the Justice Department concerning

UDA’s unlawful monopoly (ibid.). See App. F. at A-30-55.

2 LaSalvia’s notes of the telephone call entered in his diary indicate:

“9:30—Girard—no-no-no—”. App. C. at A-21.

7

initial refusal [are] mere reaffirmations of the original de-

cision not to deal” (App. C. at A-22) which will not restart

the statute. He found, additionally, that “there were no uni-

lateral refusals to deal by UDA during the limitations period,

because Plaintiff never contacted UDA between 1975 and the

time the action was filed”* (App. C. at A-22) and that “Plain-

tiffs . . . allege no overt affirmative acts on the part of UDA

during the limitations period.” Jd. at A-24.

Responding to the argument based on Steiner v. 20th Cen-

tury-Fox Film Corp., 232 F.2d 190, 194 (9th Cir. 1956), that

the continuing concerted denial by UDA and the milk dealers

of Respondents’ access to the market continued the accrual of

their cause of action, the trial noted ‘“‘that.same case also

states :

‘. . » in order to start the running of the statute of lim-

itations there must be damage occasioned by an overt

act. In a continuing conspiracy causing continuing dam-

age without further overt acts, the statute of limitatione

runs, as we have noted, from the time the blow which

caused the damage was struck. Any further internal in-

jury affects the problem of how much should be claimed

in damages, not the problem of when the statute of

limitations commences to run. Otherwise, in a continuing

conspiracy, the cause of action would never fully develop,

nor would there be any limitation upon the right of action,

3 Judge Muecke did not accept as worthy of consideration alleged

“informal discussions between counsel for the parties at an un-

related legal meeting during 1977-78 as a contact between Plain-

tiffs and Defendants” (App. C. at A-22 n.1) but observed that in

any case “these refusals are reaffirmations of the initial re-

fusal(s)”. Ibid.

8

and the beneficent purpose of the statute to delimit the

right to sue would be defeated.’

Steiner, supra, 232 F.2d at 195” (emphasis by the court).

Here... there was no overt refusal to purchase Plain-

tiffs milk by UDA after 1975, because Plaintiffs never

again directly approached UDA until after this action

was filed in 1980. ...

.... While plaintiffs claim that other processors re-

fused to deal with them because of their contract with

UDA, they allege no overt affirmative acts on the part

of UDA during the limitations period.

App. C. at A-23-24.

The Court of Appeals reversed. Although it acknowledged

that “LaSalvias’ testimony suggests that the 1975 refusal was

in fact unequivocal” (App. A. at A-9), the Court found “[t]he

evidence on the finality of UDA’s refusal to deal . . . is am-

biguous” (A-8) based upon the denial of UDA’s manager that

he told “Jerome LaSalvia in 1975 that LaSalvia was not to

call again to request that UDA handle his excess milk pro-

duction.” App. A. at A-9. The Court concluded, therefore,

that the trial court had improperly “resolved a material fac-

tual question [as to the finality of UDA’s refusal] that would

ordinarily go to the jury.” Jbid. After noting that “the brief

opinion in Orgell [on which the trial court relied] does not

disclose the basis for its conclusion that the initial refusal

was both final and the source of plaintiffs’ injury” (App. A.

at A-9), the Court concluded (ibid.) :

We therefore place on defendants the burden of showing

that their initial refusal to deal was in fact final, and

that the finality of the refusal was conveyed to the

9

plaintiff. A self-serving allegation of finality made in

the course of litigation is insufficient to meet this

burden. *

The Court further held, however, that “[a] finding of

finality on remand will not... resolve the § 15b question.

oe If damage accrued during the four years preceding the

filing of the complaint, then the action is not barred despite

the finality of the refusal.” App. A. at A-10. The Ninth Cir-

cuit reversed the unilateral refusal “because plaintiffs allege

damage incurred within the statutory period.” Ibid. (Empha-

sis added.) j

Finally, the Court held that irrespective of the absence of

any overt acts on UDA’s part during the limitations period,

Respondents’ action is not barred to thé extent that they suf-

fered “continuing harm” during the limitations period from

UDA’s alleged use of long term supply contract to maintain

market dominance. The Court of Appeals relied for that con-

clusion on this Court’s holding in Hanover Shoe Co. v. United

Shoe Machinery Corp., 392 U.S. 481, 502 n.15 (1968) which,

according to the Ninth Circuit, “established a limited excep-

tion to the usual rule that an antitrust claim accrues when the

plaintiff incurs injury”. App. A. at A-11. Though the absence

of an overt act during the limitation period is uncontroverted,

the trial court’s error, according to the Court of Appeals,

was in:

refus[ing] to apply the continuing harm doctrine, look-

ing instead to the time the LaSalvias learned of the full

4If the reference to a “self serving allegation” is to the denial by

UDA’s manager of what he told LaSalvia, the “self serving allega-

tion” relates to a denial of liability, not an “allegation of finality”

of the refusal. If the “self serving allegations” are those of the

LaSalvias, they are admissions as to the finality of the refusal

and “self serving” only as to the merits of their claim.

10

supply contracts. Because the relevant inquiry is not

when they learned of the contracts but whether the harm

alleged continued into the four-year period preceding the

filing of the complaint, the summary judgment on the

concerted refusal to deal claim is reversed.

Id. at A-12. %

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. THE COURT OF APPEALS “GENUINE ISSUE OF

MATERIAL FACT” STANDARD IS INCONSISTENT

WITH THE STANDARD FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

UNDER RULE 56(c) AS ARTICULATED BY THIS

COURT.

In Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., —— U.S. ——, 106

S.Ct. 2505, 2510 (1986) this Court noted that “the mere exis-

tence of some alleged factual dispute between the parties will

not defeat an otherwise properly supported motion for sum-

mary judgment; the requirement is that there be no genuine

issue of material fact.”” (Emphasis by the Court). In Celotez

Corp. v. Catrett, —— USS. , 106 S.Ct. 2548, 2550 (1986)

the Court held that the plain language of Rule 56(c), Fed.R.

Civ.P., mandates the entry of summary judgment, after ade-

quate time for discovery, against a party who fails to come

forward with evidence essential to that party’s case and that

there is nothing in Rule 56 that requires the moving party

to negate the opponent’s claim.

The basis of Respondents’ antitrust action is the claim that

UDA’s refusal to deal in 1975 was unlawful because it was

in furtherance of a monopoly—a claim which UDA denied.

The finality of that refusal is an issue separable from the

merits and is relevant only to the statute of limitations issue.

ER eae a PT TD

11

The Court of Appeals Opinion elides the distinction between

Petitioner’s denial addressed to the “immaterial” issue of

UDA’s unlawful conduct and the “material” fact issue of

UDA’s unequivocal refusal to deal as established by Respon-

dent’s allegations and admissions.

It defies logic and common sense to hold, as the Court of

Appeals did here, that a plaintiff who alleges as part of his

claim on the merits that the defendant has firmly, finally and

unlawfully refused to deal, may raise a “genuine” issue of

“material” fact as to that finality on the basis of the defen-

dant’s denial of the allegation. See Suckow Borax Mines Con-

solidated, Inc. v. Borax Consolidated, Limited, 185 F.2d 196,

205-206 (9th Cir.) cert. denied, 340 U.S. 943 (1950).

The Court of Appeals decision is the product of the Ninth

Circuit’s uniform rule that a grant of summary judgment is

reviewed de novo,°* irrespective of the issue or the extent of

the discovery record, and that findings by a trial judge in a

summary judgment proceeding are not entitled to deference

upon review. Heiniger v. City of Phoenix, 625 F.2d 842, 843

(9th Cir. 1980). The Ninth Circuit’s uniform and consistent

refusal to defer to a trial judge’s summary judgment findings

“ ‘undermines the traditional authority of trial judges to grant

summary judgment in meritless cases.’ ” Celotex Corp., supra,

106 S.Ct. at 2552, quoting Catrett v. Johns-Manville Sales

Corp., 756 F.2d 181, 187 (D.C. Cir. 1985) (Bork, J., dissent-

ing). Where a trial judge has granted a moving party’s Rule

56(c) motion on the basis of a fully developed discovery record

5 See, e.g. O.S.C. Corporation v. Apple Computer, Inc., 792 F.2d 1464,

1466 (9th Cir. 1986); Loehr v. Ventura County Community College

District, 743 F.2d 1310, 1313 (9th Cir. 1984); Martino v. Santa Clara

Valley Water District, 703 F.2d 1141, 1145 (9th Cir.) cert. denied,

464 U.S. 847 (1983); Lew v. Kona Hospital, 754 F.2d 1420, 1423 (9th

Cir. 1985). '

12

and the opposing party’s version of the facts, there can be “‘no

genuine issue of material fact’ because what the moving party

asserts is immaterial. Where the plaintiff’s pleadings or testi-

mony admits a material fact determinative of a legal issue

that defeats his claim, that admission simply removes from

the case any question concerning the existence of a genuine

material fact issue. Cf. Catrett, supra, 756 F.2d at 190 (Bork,

J., dissenting).

Review should be granted in this case to remind the federal

judiciary that Rule 56(c) coupled with Rule 43(e),° where

appropriate, provides an efficient, effective and fair means

of processing and disposing of affirmative defense and other

separable issues without the attendant costs in time and en-

ergy to litigants and the judicial system necessarily associated

with a jury trial. See Argus, Inc. v. Eastman Kodak Co., 801

F.2d 38, 42 n.2 (2d Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 55 U.S.L.W. 3569

(U.S. Feb. 24, 1987) (No. 86-949) ; State of Utah v. Marsh, 740

F.2d 799, 801 n.2 (10th Cir. 1984) ; 5 Moore’s Federal Practice,

143.13 (1985) ; 10A C. Wright, A. Miller and M. Kane, Federal

Practice and Procedure, § 2723, p. 61 (1983); ef. Exchange

National Bank of Chicago v. Touche Ross & Co., 544 F.2d 1126,

1130-31 (2d Cir. 1976); Akron Presform Mold Company v.

McNeil Corporation, 496 F.2d 230, 235 (6th Cir.), cert. denied,

419 U.S. 997 (1974).

6 Rule 43(e), Fed.R.Civ.P. provides: “When a motion is based on

facts not appearing of record, the court may hear the matter on

affidavits presented by the respective parties, but the court may

direct the matter be heard wholly or partly on oral testimony or

deposition.”

a ae

13

2. AN ILLEGAL UNILATERAL OR CONCERTED RE-

FUSAL TO DEAL CREATES A CAUSE OF ACTION

WHEN IT OCCURS ANP IS NOT RESTARTED BY

REPEATED REQUESTS WHICH THE DEFENDANT

REFUSES.

The Court of Appeals characterized as “ambiguous” the

trial court’s holding based on Orgell, supra, “that any refusal

to deal subsequent to an initial refusal is a mere reaffirma-

tion, and thus the Clayton Act’s statute of limitations runs

from the initial refusal.” App. A. at A-7. The Opinion appears

to hold that unless the initial refusal to deal is “ ‘irrevocable,

immutable, permanent and final,’” (App. A. at A-7) the

initial refusal which inflicts damage’ does not prevent the

later accrual of a cause of action either from the reaffirmation

of the refusal or its mere continuance.

That holding is in conflict with the general rule that a cause

of action arises upon an initial unlawful refusal to deal which

causes damage and that a subsequent refusal, or its mere con-

tinuance, does not give rise to new causes of action because

they are not “overt acts” which cause new injury. Garelick v.

Goerlich’s, Inc., 323 F.2d 854, 856 (6th Cir. 1963) (“the [sub-

sequent] incidents were simply acts that reflected that de-

fendant-appellee continued in refusing to sell its products to

plaintiffs-appellants); accord, Baker v. Chagrin Valley Med-

ical Corp., [1985-1] Trade Cas. {}66,622, p. 66,099; Trepel v.

Pontiac Osteopathic Hospital, 599 F. Supp. 1484, 1490 (E.D.

7 There is no question in this case concerning the existence of as-

certainable damages suffered by Respondents in 1974 and 1975

from the alleged unlawful refusals to deal measured by “the price

differential between the Order 131 price available if they could

have sold their total production within the CAMMA, and the

lower price they received by selling milk in other markets.” App.

A. at A-10. Those damages were computed by Respondents each

month as they occurred. See App. F. at A-66-68.

14

Mich.) (1984) ; Chapa v. Volkswagen of America, Inc., [1974-

1] Trade Cas. 974,911, p. 96,091 (D.D.C. 1974) ; Southeastern

Hose, Inc. v. Imperial-Eastman Corp., [1973-1] Trade Cas.

974,479 (N.D. Ga. 1973); Saunders v. National Basketball

Ass’n., 348 F. Supp. 649, 652-53 (N.D. Ill. 1972) ; Ansul Co. v.

Uniroyal, Inc., 306 F.Supp. 541, 569 (S.D. N.Y. 1969) aff'd in

part and rev'd in part on other grounds, 448 F.2d 872 (2d Cir.

1971), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 1018 (1972) ; Manok v. Southeast

District Bowling Association, 306 F. Supp. 1215, 1221 (C.D.

Cal. 1969); Norman Tobacco & Candy Co. v. Gillette Safety

Razor Co., 197 F. Supp. 333, 338 (N.D. Ala. 1960), aff’d, 295

F.2d 362, 363 (5th Cir. 1961). See II P. Areeda & D. Turner,

Antitrust Law, (325b at 121 (1978) (“An illegal refusal to deal

... ereates a cause of action when it occurs. But the courts

do not generally allow the plaintiff perpetually to restart the

limitations period merely by repeated requests which the

defendant refuses’’).

There is conflicting authority, however. The Fourth, Fifth

and Eighth Circuits have held that a reiterated request fol-

lowing an unlawful refusal to deal may give rise to a new

cause of action permitting the plaintiff to sue within four

years of the latest refusal. Charlotte Telecasters, Inc. v. Jef-

ferson-Pilot Corp., 546 F.2d 570, 572 (4th Cir. 1976); Poster

Exchange, Inc. v. Natural Screen Service Corp., 517 F.2d 117,

124-128 (5th Cir.), reh’g denied, 520 F.2d 943 (5th Cir. 1975),

cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1054 (1976) ; Imperial Point Colonnades

Condominium, Inc. v. Mangurian, 549 F.2d 1029, 1035 (5th

Cir.) cert. denied, 434 U.S. 859 (1977); Pioneer Co. v. Talon,

Inc., 462 F.2d 1106, 1108 (8th Cir. 1972).° For the subsequent

8 The Eleventh Circuit holds that a reiterated request following an

initial refusal is an overt act that will restart the statute of

limitations unless “plaintiffs’ subsequent requests were futile and

plaintiffs had reason to know they were futile . . .” Midwestern

Waffles, Inc. v. Waffle House, Inc., 734 F.2d 705, 715 (11th Cir.

1982).

15

refusal to constitute an “overt act” to restart the statute,

however, the Fourth and Fifth Circuits both require that the

initial refusal must not have been irrevocable and there must

have been a request and refusal during the four year period

and not “a mere absence of dealing.” Poster, supra, 517 F.2d

at 128; see also, Mangurian, supra, 549 F.2d at 1035.

In requiring a defendant to show that its initial refusal

was “irrevocable, immutable, permanent and final” (App. A.

at A-7) in order to invoke the statute of limitations bar to a

subsequent request and refusal, the decision below appears

to align the Ninth Circuit with the Fifth Circuit on the issue

of when the statute commences to run in a refusal to deal case,

except that for the Ninth Circuit, a mere continued “absence

of dealing” is enough to create a continuing cause of action.

unless the initial refusal is “irrevocable.”

A requirement that a refusal to deal be “irrevocable [and]

immutable” to commence the running of the statute “would

effectively destroy the statute of limitations as a statute of

peace.” Garelick v. Goerlich, supra, 323 F.2d at 856. No talis-

manic words or acts of “irrevocability” should be needed to

convey finality in a refusal to deal context. Businessmen who

refuse to deal are not in the habit of telling suppliers or buy-

ers: “I will not deal with you now or ever in the future.” No

such statement of “irrevocability” was required in any of the

cases cited under the Garelick rule, supra.

The division among the circuits, as disclosed by the above

cases, undermines the objectives sought by Congress in its

1955 adoption of a uniform statute of limitations for cases

arising under the antitrust laws by perpetuating the “confu-

sion” at which the law was aimed. See S. Rep. No. 619, 84th

Cong. Ist Sess. at 5 (1955); H.R. Rep. No. 422, 84th Cong. 1st

Sess. at 7 (1955); M. Wheeler and R. Jones, The Statute of

Limitations for Antitrust Damage Actions: Four Years or

16

Forty? 41 U. Chi. L. Rev. 72, 82-83. The decision below adds

further confusion to the existing conflict among the circuits as

to when a cause of action arises under § 4B of the Clayton

Act by eliminating the “request and the refusal” requirements

of the Fourth and Fifth Circuit rules.

Review of the Court of Appeals decision in this case should

be granted to resolve the conflict among the circuits by re-

versing the decision and approving the Sixth Circuit rule that

“Ta]n illegal refusal to deal . . . creates a cause of action when

it occurs ... [and is not] restart[ed] . . . merely by repeated

requests which the defendant refuses.” Areeda & Turner,

supra.

3. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ HOLDING THAT A

CAUSE OF ACTION ACCRUES FROM CONTINUING

DAMAGE WITHIN THE STATUTORY PERIOD

CAUSED BY PRELIMITATION CONDUCT WITHOUT

FURTHER OVERT ACTS WITHIN THE LIMITATION

PERIOD IS IN CONFLICT WITH THE DECISIONS OF

THIS COURT AND ALL OTHER CIRCUITS.

There is no suggestion in the decision below that the trial

court was wrong when it found that “there were no unilateral

refusals to deal by UDA during the limitation period” (App.

C. at A-22) and “no clear cut allegations or evidence of overt

acts by... UDA during the limitations period.” Jd, at A-24.

The decision holds, nonetheless, that ‘despite the finality of

the refusal” (App. A. at A-10) and the absence of an overt

act during the limitation period, reversal was required be-

cause “plaintiffs allege damage incurred within the statutory

period” (ibid.), citing Zenith Radio Corp. v. Hazeltine Re-

search, Inc., 401 U.S. 321, 338 (1971).

17

In Zenith, this Court explained that:

Generally, a cause of action accrues and the statute be-

gins to run when a defendant commits an act that injures

a plaintiff’s business. See, e.g., Suckow Borax Mines Con-

solidated, Inc. v. Borax Consolidated, Ltd., 185 F.2d 196,

208 (CA-9 1950). ... This much is plain from the treble-

damage statute itself. 15 U.S.C. § 15. In the context of a

continuing conspiracy to violate the antitrust laws, such

as the conspiracy in the instant case, this has usually

been understood to mean that each time a plaintiff is

injured by an act of the defendants a cause of action ac-

crues to him to recover the damages caused by that act

and that, as to those damages, the statute of limitations

runs from the commission of the act. See, e.g., Crummer

Co. v. Du Pont, 223 F.2d 238, 247-248 (CA-5 1955)... .

However, each separate cause of action that so accrues

entitles a plaintiff to recover not only those damages

which he has suffered at the date of accrual, but also

those which he will suffer in the future from the particu-

lar invasion, including what he has suffered during and

will predictably suffer after trial... . Thus, if a plain-

tiff feels the adverse impact of an antitrust conspiracy

on a particular date, a cause of action immediately ac-

crues to him to recover all damages incurred by that date

and all provable damages that will flow in the future

from the acts of the conspirators on that date. To recover

those damages, he must sue within the requisite number

of years from the accrual of the action.

401 U.S. at 338-39 (emphasis supplied) (citations omitted).

In Suckow, the Ninth Circuit held that in a “continuing con-

spiracy” the statute runs from the last “overt act” causing

damage; not from continuing damage stemming from the act.

18

185 F.2d at 208 (“the only actions ... not... barred .

would be those arising from damages, a, by illegal cies

acts’ which occurred within the three year period immediately

preceding [commencement of the action]”) (emphasis by the

Court).®

It is obvious not only from the plain language of Zenith,

but from the cases cited by the Court that the words “by an

act” of defendants means exactly that—i.e. by “successive un-

lawful acts and consequent damage . . . caused by such acts.”

Crummer Co. v. Du Pont, 223 F.2d at 247. Zenith stands for

the proposition that:

[C]ontinuing antitrust conduct resulting in a continued

invasion of a plaintiff’s rights may give rise to contin-

ually accruing rights of action. It remains clear nonethe-

less that a newly accruing claim for damages must be

based on some injurious act actually occurring during the

limitations period, not merely the abatable, but unabated

inertial consequences Of some pre-limitations action.

Poster Exchange, Inc. v. National Screen Serv. Corp., supra,

517 F.2d at 128. See also National Souvenir Center v. Historic

Figures, Inc., 728 F.2d 503, 509 (D.C. Cir. 1984) (“For their

action to survive, plaintiff-appellants had to show an ‘overt

act’ pursuant to the . . . tying arrangement by appellees

within the limitation period. . . .”); Barnosky Oils, Inc. v.

Union Oil Co. of Calif., 665 F.2d 74, 81 (6th Cir. 1981) (con-

tinuing damage resulting from a “mere absence of dealing”

during the limitations period does not give rise to a cause of

action) ; Electro Glass v. Dynatex Corp., 497 F. Supp. 97, 105

(N.D. Cal. 1980) (in a continuing violation causing continuing

harm, the statute runs from the last overt act causing damage,

® The statutory three year limitations period was extended by the

Federal Moratorium Act. 185 F.2d at 208.

19

not from continuing damage from prelimitation conduct) ;

Fontana Aviation v. Baldinelli, 418 F. Supp. 464, 468 (W.D.

Mich. 1976), aff'd per curiam, 575 F.2d 1194 (6th Cir.), cert.

denied, 439 U.S. 911 (1978) (“the period of limitation is not

extended merely because damages from the injury may be

continuing’’).

The Ninth Circuit’s holding that Respondents’ action was

not barred despite the absence of an overt act by UDA after

1975 because “plaintiffs allege damage incurred within the

statutory period” (App. A. at A-10) is plainly wrong. There

is no Zenith problem here concerning “speculative damages”

preventing the accrual of a cause of action (App. A. at A-7,

n.6), nor is there any question concerning Respondents’ ascer-

tainable damages in 1974 and 1975 when they were incurred

as a result of Petitioner’s and the milk dealers’ refusal to buy

Respondents’ milk. App. C. at A-25. The “source and timing”

(App. A. at A-10) of Respondents’ damages were fixed in 1975

when their milk was refused and they shipped it out at a lower

price. At that point, a cause of action “immediately accrue[d]

. . . to recover all damages incurred by that date and all

provable damages that [would] flow in the future from the

acts of the conspirators on that date. To recover those dam-

ages, [Respondents] must [have] sue[d] within the requisite

number of years from the accrual of the action.” Zenith,

supra, at 339.

Zenith holds that in a continuing violation “[i]f a plaintiff

which has begun to suffer [ascertainable] damage allows four

years to go by without suit it will be barred as to any damages

past or future—which it might have proved had it brought

suit during the four year period.” L. Sullivan, Handbook of

the Law of Antitrust (1977) at 776. Acceptance of the Ninth

Circuit’s theory that the mere incurrence of continuing dam-

age from prelimitation conduct without further overt acts

keeps the statute running “would effectively destroy the stat-

20

ute of limitations as a statute of peace.” Crummer Company

v. Du Pont, supra, 223 F.2d at 248. Review should be granted

to reverse the decision below in order to remove the conflict

and confusion in the law which it has created as to when a

cause of action under § 4B of the Clayton Act arises and the

four year statute of limitations begins to run.

4. THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S HANOVER SHOE “EXCEP-

TION” TO WHEN A CAUSE OF ACTION ACCRUES

MISAPPLIES THE HOLDING AND REASONING OF

THAT CASE.

The decision below states that Hanover Shoe Co. v. United

Shoe Machinery Corp., 392 U.S. 481 (1968):

established a limited exception to the usual rule that

an antitrust claim accrues when the plaintiff incurs

the injury. The Hanover Shoe exception applies when

the anticompetitive conduct complained of constitutes a

continuing violation and results in continuing harm. In

that case, overcharges paid by the plaintiff because of

the defendant’s lease-only policy . . . resulted from a

‘continuing violation of the Sherman Act’ which inflicted

‘continuing and accumulating harm’ on the plaintiff.

App. A. at A-11. There is nothing “exceptional” about the

holding in Hanover. Hanover’s suit in 1955 based on the “im-

pact of . . . United’s lease only policy” which began in 1912

(392 U.S. at 502 n.15) was not time-barred because each col-

lection of rents under United’s unlawful “lease only” policy

was an “overt act” causing new damages, “not a mere con-

tinuation of a refusal to sell.” See Hanover Shoe, Inc. v. United

Shoe Machinery Corp., 377 F.2d 776, 794 (3d Cir. 1967). As ex-

plained in II Areeda and Turner, supra, at 120 (citations

omitted) :

21

In the case of a continuing violation, each overt act that

is part of the violation and that injures the plaintiff

starts the statutory period running again. For example,

so long as an illegal price fixing conspiracy is alive, each

sale at the fixed price would have that effect. Similarly,

an illegal lease-only policy was held in... Hanover...

to create a cause of action every time the defendant

leased and .. . refused to sell.

The Third Circuit’s decision in Hanover, affirmed by the

Supreme Court, makes the point explicitly. Distinguishing

cases such as Garelick v. Goerlich’s, Inc., supra, the court ex-

plained:

[I]n the cited cases the continuing conduct was that of

a mere re-assertion of the refusal to deal. Here, however,

United went beyond a mere continuation of the refusal

to sell; it collected rentals on leases and entered into new

leases when old machinery was no longer in working

condition and required replacement.

377 F.2d at 794. Hanover’s suit was not barred because United

Shoe’s continued “lease only” policy which began in 1912 in-

flicted injury and damages on Hanover “in 1955 by concrete

and specific business transactions.” Jd. at 795.

Here, in contrast, there is only absence of dealing by Peti-

tioner and “mere continuation of the refusal to sell” by the

milk dealers during the limitation period. But “mere absence

of dealing” is not an overt act that will give rise to a cause of

action. Poster Exchange, supra, 517 F.2d at 128 (“Poster

. is obliged to demonstrate some act of the defendants

during the limitation period foreclosing or interfering with

its access to supplies”). The absence from this record of “the

occurrence of any specific act or word [by Petitioner] denying

22

[Respondents] ... access to [the market] during the statutory

period” (id. at 129) supported the trial court’s entry of judg-

ment against Respondents dismissing the action on statute of

limitation grounds.

The decision below is squarely at odds with this Court’s

holding in Zenith and Hanover that under § 4B of the Clayton

Act, an antitrust action is barred unless it is commenced

within four years of the illegal overt act which is alleged to

have caused plaintiff’s damage. The writ should be granted

to remove the conflict created by the decision below on an

issue of irmportance to the enforcement of the antitrust laws.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, United Dairymen of Arizona

submits that the writ of certiorari should be granted.

Dated: April 20, 1987.

Respectfully submitted,

SYDNEY BERDE

Counsel of Record

SYDNEY BERDE &

ASSOCIATES, P.A.

2206 American National Bank

Bldg.

St. Paul, Minnesota 55101

(612) 291-8106

BLE PROTOS

APPENDIX

A-l

APPENDIX

APPENDIX A

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

No. 85-1592

D.C. No. Cv 80-252 PHX CAM

JEROME LaSALVIA and PEGGY LaSALVIA,

husband and wife,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

UNITED DAIRYMEN OF ARIZONA, an Arizona

marketing association; ROBERT M. GIRARD; and

LEONARD F. CHEATHAM,

Defendants-A ppellees.

OPINION

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of Arizona

Carl A. Muecke, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and submitted February 10, 1986

Decided November 21,1986

San Francisco, California

Before: GOODWIN, HUG and REINHARDT, Circuit Judges.

GOODWIN, Circuit Judge:

Jerome and Peggy LaSalvia, operators of an independent

dairy farm in Laveen, Arizona, appeal the dismissal of their

antitrust claims against defendants United Dairymen of Ari-

zona (“UDA”), a dairy farmers’ cooperative, Robert Girard,

its general manager, and Leonard Cheatham, its president

A-2

until 1983. Both the LaSalvias and UDA produce milk within

the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Central Arizona Milk

Marketing Area (“CAMMA”). The district court excluded

evidence of several of the LaSalvias’ allegations on the

grounds that the LaSalvias lacked standing to challenge the

conduct alleged.! The court then granted summary judgment

for the defendants on the grounds that the LaSalvias’ re-

maining claims were time-barred under 15 U.S.C. § 15b

(1982). The court also denied a motion for leave to file an

amended complaint. We reverse and remand for further pro-

ceedings.

The LaSalvias sued UDA for violation of sections 1 and 2

of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. $§ 1, 2 (1982), section 2 of the

Clayton Act as amended by the Robinson-Patman Act, 15

U.S.C. § 13 (1982), and section 3 of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C.

§ 14 (1982). Their complaint alleged that UDA, beginning

shortly after its formation in 1959, had monopolized and at-

tempted to monopolize the marketing of Grade A raw milk

in the CAMMA, and that UDA had conspired to restrain trade

with area raw milk processors (“handlers”). Plaintiffs cite

six practices to support their claims:

1. UDA’s entering into full supply contracts with handlers

and discriminating against handlers unwilling to enter into

such contracts (the concerted refusal to deal claim) ;

2. UDA refused to purchase plaintiffs’ excess fluid milk

for processing into storable form until after this action was

1 Although the district court characterized the issue as one of

“standing.” in order to avoid confusion between “antitrust stand.

ing” and “constitutional standing,” we treat the issue as one of

whether plaintiffs were proper parties to challenge defendants’

allegedly anticompetitive conduct. Exhibitors’ Service, Inc. v.

American Multi-Cinema, Inc., 788 F.2d 574, 576 n.1 (9th Cir. 1986).

See Associated General Contractors, Inc. v. California State Coun-

cil of Carpenters, 459 U.S. 519, 535 n.31 (1983).

A-3

filed (the unilateral refusal to deal claim), and then paid them

a price below the Order 131 blend price;?

3. UDA gave rebates to handlers;

4. UDA adopted and enforced a “base plan” system for

calculating its members’ monthly milk payments that included

overly restrictive covenants not to compete ;*

5. UDA entered into reserve and pooling agreements with

out-of-state cooperatives, and;

6. UDA acquired control of raw milk transportation in the

CAMMA.

The district court granted UDA’s motion to exclude from

trial evidence of its base plan, its rebates to handlers, and its

acquisition of milk transportation facilities on the grounds

that the LaSalvias were not proper parties to challenge this

conduct. The court also excluded evidence of UDA’s marketing

agreements with other cooperatives, its purchase of other

producer-handler operations, and its refusal to process the

2 Milk is marketed in the CAMMA pursuant to Federal Milk Mar-

keting Order 131, which establishes through a statutory and reg-

ulatory scheme three classes of milk and the minimum price to be

paid to producers for each class. See 7 U.S.C. § 601 et seq. (1982);

7 C.F.R. Part 1131 (1984). Both plaintiffs and UDA are termed

“producers” under the USDA’s regulations. 7 C.F.R. § 1131.12

(1984). Their milk is sold to handlers for processing. 7 C.F.R.

§§ 1131.7, 1131.9 (1984). Producers receive a “blend price” for milk

marketed pursuant to Order 131. The blend price is a weighted

average of the prices for the three classes of milk.

8UDA’s base plan was a means of countering the incentive for over-

production provided by the combined effect of a guaranteed min-

imum price and the smal! impact an individual farmer’s produc-

tion has on the cooperative’s total output. Rather than ailocating

the blend price according to the amount shipped per month by

each member, UDA pays the Order 131 blend price only for the

amount of base allocated to the member. Amounts produced in

excess of the member's base are paid for at a lower rate. Thus,

the member's “personal blend price” falls as his or her production

over base increases. This arrangement is lawful under 7 U.S.C.

§ 608c(5)(F) (1982).

A-4

milk of other producer-handlers on the grounds that these

allegations were not included in the complaint.‘

I. The Exclusion of Evidence Under Rule 16

Section four of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. § 15(a) (1982), |

affords a private action for damages to “any person who shall

be injured in his person or property by reason of anything

forbidden in antitrust laws.” Brunswick Corp. v. Pueblo Bowl-

O-Mat, Inc., 429 U.S. 477 (1977), and its progeny limit section

four’s scope to those plaintiffs who have sustained the type

of injury that the antitrust laws were meant to remedy. In

Brunswick, the Court concluded that a competitor seeking to

enjoin a potentially procompetitive merger was not a proper

party to sue under the antitrust laws. Brunswick thus requires

that the conduct alleged be harmful to the competitive process,

and not merely to a given competitor. In Blue Shield of Vir-

ginia v. McCready, 457 U.S. 465 (1982), the Court relied on a

remoteness analysis to grant a consumer standing to challenge

a conspiracy to exclude psychologists from the health care

market. McCready looked to two factors in assessing whether

the plaintiff was a proper party to challenge the defendants’

conduct. First, it cited Illinois Brick Co. v. Illinois, 431 US.

720 (1977), which required that the plaintiff be directly in-

jured by the anticompetitive conduct. 457 U.S. at 473-78.

Second, it looked to the Brunswic’t competitive harm require-

ment. Jd. at 478-79.

In Associated General Contractors, Inc. v. California State

Council of Carpenters, 459 U.S. 519 (1983), the Court set out

the factors to be considered in determining whether a plain-

tiff is the proper party to challenge given conduct. Although

a plaintiff must allege harm to himself from the defendant’s

4 Plaintiffs do not raise on appeal the allegations regarding the

purchase of other producer-handlers and the refusal to process

the milk of others.

i

A-5

anticompetitive conduct, this does not, standing alone, bring

the plaintiff within section four’s reach. Jd. at 537.

We recently summarized the Associated General Contrac-

tors’ factors as follows:

“(T]he nature of plaintiff’s injury, the directness or

indirectness of the asserted injury, the potential for

duplicative recovery or complex apportionment of dam-

ages, the speculative nature of damages asserted, and the

existence of more direct victims of the alleged violation

are factors a court must consider when making the ‘prop-

er party’ determination.”

Exhibitors’ Service, Inc. v. American Multi-Cinema, Inc., 788

F.2d 574, 578 (9th Cir. 1986).

The LaSalvias undoubtedly are proper parties to challenge

UDA’s allegedly anticompetitive conduct. As one of UDA’s

remaining competitors in the CAMMA, they meet the direct-

ness requirement, and they have an incentive vigorously to

seek redress for the harms caused by any exploitation by UDA

of its market position. Plaintiffs allege that the base plan,

the rebates to handlers, and the acquisition of the transport

facilities were employed in an unlawful quest for market

dominance. The harm alleged is thus precisely the sort that the

antitrust laws were intended to remedy.

We reject defendants’ argument that because the LaSalvias

have not alleged harm from the allegedly monopolistic prac-

tices they lack constitutional and antitrust standing. The

LaSalvias have alleged unlawful monopolization and attempted

monopolization, and are entitled to set forth the practices they

believe UDA used in an effort either to obtain monopoly

power or to exploit it. Rather than giving rise to liability

independently, the allegedly unlawful practices serve an evi-

dentiary function. See Ostrofe v. H. S. Crocker Co., 740 F.2d

739, 743 (9th Cir. 1984), cert. dismissed 105 S. Ct. 1155 (1985)

A-6

(evidence of a price-fixing conspiracy admissible as probative

of the existence of a second related conspiracy). Lastly de-

fendants’ theory that their questioned practices are lawful go

to the merits of plaintiffs’ claim, which are not before this

court.°

The district court, in excluding the evidence of the base plan,

the rebates, and the integration of milk transportation facil-

ities, confused the prudential limitations on private antitrust

actions with the requirements of damage-in-fact and causa-

tion. The court based the exclusion upon the LaSalvias’ pur-

ported failure to show injury independent of that resulting

from the alleged refusals to deal. This concern goes not to the

limitation on private antitrust suits, but to a perceived failure

of the LaSalvias’ proof to show damage from the questioned

practices. The district court’s exclusion of the evidence of the

UDA base plan, its rebates to handlers, and its acquisition of

milk transportation facilities requires reversal of the judg-

ment.

We also note that the court’s exclusion of the evidence of

UDA’s marketing agreements with other cooperatives was

error. Under the federal rules a plaintiff need nct allege every

act he or she intends to prove in support of the claim for re-

lief. A complaint need only contain “a short and plain state-

ment of the claim showing that the pleader is entitled to re-

lief.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 8(a). See also 2A J.W. Moore & J.D.

Lucas, Moore’s Federal Practice ‘ 8.03 (2d ed. 1983).

Il. The Grant of Summary Judgment on the Refusal to Deal

Claims

The district court concluded that the Clayton Act’s four-

year statute of limitations, 15 U.S.C. § 15b (1982), barred

5 We thus need not address at this stage whether the UDA’s actions

may be legal pursuant to the Capper-Volstead Act, 7 U.S.C. §§ 291-

292 (1982).

A-7

both the unilateral and concerted refusal to deal claims. Plain-

tiffs filed the complaint on March 31, 1980. The court found

that UDA did not unilaterally refuse to deal with plaintiffs

within the four preceding years. It also found that the con-

certed refusal to deal claim stemmed from contracts entered

into between UDA and other Arizona handlers as early as

1960, and that plaintiffs were aware of these contracts before

the end of 1975.

We review grants of summary judgment de novo, and like

the district court apply Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 56.

British Airways Board v. Bocing Co., 585 F.2d 946, 951 (9th

Cir. 1978), cert. denie’, 440 U.S. 981 (1979). We reverse as

to both claims. °

A. The Unilateral Refusal to Deal Claim.

The district court relied upon David Orgell, Inc. v. Geary’s

Stores, Inc., 640 F.2d 936 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 816

(1981), in granting summary judgment for defendants on the

LaSalvias’ unilateral refusal to deal claim. The court's treat-

mei.t of Orgell is ambiguous. Defendants understand the dis-

trict court’s view to be that any refusal to deal subsequent to

an initial refusal is a mere reaffirmation, and thus the Clay-

ton Act’s statute of limitations runs from the initial refusal.

Orgell, however, merely applies AMF, Inc. v. General ?* tors

Corp. (In re Multidistrict Vehicle Air Pollution), 591 F.2d 68

(9th Cir. 1979) (Air Pollution), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 900

(1980). See Hennegan v. Pacifico Creative Service, Inc., 787

F.2d 1299, 1301 (9th Cir. 1986). In Air Pollution, we held that

because the defendants’ initial refusal to deal was “irrevocable,

immutable, permanent and final,” any harm necessarily re-

“ Because we reverse on other grounds, we do not reach the

LaSalvias’ argument that the speculative damages doctrine, see

Zenith Radio Corp. v. Hazelline Research Inc., 401 U.S. 321 (1971),

applies to their refusal to deal claims.

aa aaa |

A-8

sulted from the initial refusal and not from subsequent re-

affirmations. 591 F.2d at 72. Because the plaintiff in that

case was not injured by the defendants’ subsequent conduct,

the statute of limitations ran from the initial refusal. Rather

than stating a per se rule governing repeated refusals to deal,

Air Pollution and Orgell merely apply the usual rule that anti-

trust claims accrue when the plaintiff incurs the injury.

Zenith Radio Corp. v. Hazeltine Research Corp., 401 US. 321,

338 (1971). See Western Shoe Gallery, Inc. v. Duty Free Shop-

pers, Ltd., 593 F. Supp. 348, 352 n.4 (N.D. Cal. 1984).

At issue therefore is the finality of UDA’s refusal to handle

the LaSalvias’ excess production, and the source of the harm

allegedly inflicted by defendants upon them.

Plaintiffs argue that a material question of fact exists as

to whether UDA’s refusal to accept its milk for handling in

1975 was final, and that summary disposition of the unilateral

refusal claim was thus error. They cite the deposition testi-

mony of defendant Girard, UDA’s general manager, regarding

his 1975 refusal to accept plaintiffs’ milk. They also rely upon

their allegation, supported-by affidavit and denied by UDA’s

counsel, that in 1977 and 1978 their attorney again requested

access to UDA’s manufacturing facility. Lastly, they argue

that UDA’s acceptance in 1981 of their milk for processing

cuts against any finding that the 1975 refusal was final. In

response, defendants argue that if plaintiffs’ characterization

of Girard’s statement is true, then no illegal refusal to deal

occurred and they should prevail on the merits. They also cite

deposition testimony by plaintiffs suggesting that UDA’s in-

itial refusal was unequivocal.

The evidence on the finality of UDA’s refusal to deal with

the LaSalvias is ambiguous. On the one hand, Girard’s testi-

mony can be read to give plaintiffs some hope that UDA would

A-9

relent, and thus accept their milk for processing. He expressly

denied telling Jerome LaSalvie in 1975 that LaSalvia was not

to call again to request that UDA handle his excess production.

Gerard stated that during this conversation he informed

LaSalvia that if UDA later had the capacity to handle plain-

tiffs’ milk, it would so inform him. On the other hand, the

LaSalvias’ testimony suggests that the 1975 refusal was in

fact unequivocal.

The district court, in concluding that UDA’s 1975 refusal

was final and subsequent denials were mere reaffirmations,

thus resolved a material factual question that would ordinarily

go to the jury. Because summary disposition is allowed only

if “there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and...

the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law,”

Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c), the court should not have granted sum-

mary judgment on the unilateral refusal to deal claim.

The initial refusal to deal in Aix Pollution was necessarily

final because the product, if it was to be used at all, had to be

integrated into the design of new automobiles. 591 F.2d at 72.

Therefore, finality was easily assessed because it turned upon

a peculiarity of the product market at issue and not upon the

subjective intent of the defendants. By contrast, the brief

opinion in Orgell does not disclose the basis for its conclusion

that the initial refusal was both final and the source of the

plaintiff's injury. Orgell may encourage ambiguous responses

to requests to deal coupled with later allegations that those

denials were final. We therefore place on defendants the

burden of showing that their initial refusal to deal was in fact

final, and that the finality of the refusal was conveyed to the

plaintiff. A self-serving allegation of finality made in the

course of litigation is insufficient to meet this burden.

A-10

A finding of fin: lity upon remand will not, of course, con-

clusively resolve the § 15b question. Under Air Pollution and

Orgell, the district court must also determine whether the

damage to plaintiff, if any, resulted solely from the initial

refusal. If it did not, and damage accrued during the four

years preceding the filing of the complaint, then the action

is not barred despite the finality of the refusal. Plaintiffs’

damage analysis claimed losses both from the failure of their

business to grow as projected, and the price differential be-

tween the Order 131 price available if they could have sold

their total production within the CAMMA, and the lower

price they received by selling milk in other markets. Under

this damage theory, plaintiffs claim harm from UDA’s ex-

ploitation of its market position. The losses claimed in plain-

tiffs’ damage analysis stem not from the initial refusal, but

from the unlawful monopolization of the market at issue.

Because the district court resolved a material question of

fact, and because the record suggests that plaintiffs allege

damage incurred within the statutory period, the summary

judgment on plaintiffs’ unilateral refusal to deal claim must

be reversed. Because the district court addressed only the

finality question, we cannot determine whether the parties

had an opportunity to address the source and timing of the

damage question. They should be afforded that opportunity

upon remand.

B. The Concerted Refusal to Deal Claim

Because Air Pollution involved a concerted refusal to deal,

its analysis arguably should also govern the LaSalvias’ con-

certed refusal claim. We decline to apply it, however, because

of the fundamental differences in the conduct underlying the

concerted refusal claims in Air Pollution and in this case. The

plaintiff in Air Pollution alleged a group boycott. Such con-

A-11

duct is analytically indistinguishable from a unilateral refusal

for statute of limitations purposes. In most instances the

harm incident to such refusals stems from the refusal itself.

Continuing harm is not at issue, and thus the finality of the

refusal will usually determine the triggering of the statute of

limitations. In this case plaintiffs allege use of long-term con-

tracts to achieve or to maintain market dominance. The harm

alleged stems from the exploitation of market dominance to

deprive plaintiffs of an opportunity to market their milk with-

in the CAMMA. Thus, finality is not at issue. Rather than

looking to Air Pollution, we therefore look to the Supreme

Court’s continuing harm analysis.

In Hanover Shoe Co. v. United Shoe Machinery Corp., 392

U.S. 481 (1968), the Court established a limited exception to

the usual rule that an antitrust claim accrues when the plain-

tiff incurs the injury. The Hanover Shoe exception applies

when the anticompetitive conduct complained of constitutes a

continuing violation and results in continuing harm. In that

case, overcharges paid by the nlaintiff because of the defen-

dant’s lease-only policy for its shoe manufacturing machinery

resulted from a “continuing violation of the Sherman Act”

which inflicted “continuing and accumulating harm” on the

plaintiff. Jd. at 502 n.15. The plaintiff alleged that the de-

fendant, by exploiting its monopoly power, inflicted a con-

tinuing loss on the plaintiff through the use of damaging

contracts. The LaSalvias allege that UDA has used its market

position to impose contracts on handlers within the CAMMA

that prohibited them from dealing with plaintiffs. That the

contract in Hanover Shoe was between the parties to the suit

and those here were between UDA and third parties does not

lessen the force of the continuing harm analysis. In Twin City

Sportservice, Inc. v. Charles O. Finley & Co., 512 F.2d 1264,

A-12

1270 (9th Cir. 1975), we relied upon Hanover Shoe in con-

cluding that the purchaser of a sports franchise could chal-

lenge a long-term exclusive supply contract between a former

owner of the franchise and a concessionaire even though the

contract was formed more than four years before suit was

filed.

The district court in this case refused to apply the continu-

ing harm doctrine, looking instead to the time the LaSalvias

learned of the full supply contracts. Because the relevant

inquiry is not when they learned of the contracts but whether

the harm alleged continued into the four-year period preced-

ing the filing of the complaint, the summary judgment on the

concerted refusal to deal claim is reversed. We note, how-

ever, that while plaintiffs may recover for damages they prove

were caused by anticompetitive conduct begun before the four-

year statutory period under the continuing harm doctrine,

their recovery is limited to damage incurred within the four

years preceding the filing of the complaint. See Hanover Shoe,

392 U.S. at 502 (plaintiff entitled to damages “for the entire

period permitted by the applicable statute of limitations”)

(footnote omitted) ; cf. Hanson v. Shell Oil Co., 541 F.2d 1352,

1361 (9th Cir. 1976) (limiting damages to the statutory period

under the speculative damages doctrine), cert. denied, 429 U.S.

1074 (1977).

III. The Denial of Plaintiffs’ Motion for Leave to File an

Amended Complaiit

Plaintiffs sought to amend their complaint in October 1984,

to allege post-complaint injury. The district court denied the

motion on the grounds that they had known of the conduct

alleged since 1981, that the new allegation was a disguised

challenge to UDA’s base plan, and that amendment would

require the reopening of discovery. We review the denial for

- oo

A-13

abuse of discretion. Howey v. United States, 481 F.2d 1187,

1190 (9th Cir. 1973). We conclude that the district court

abused its discretion in denying the motion for leave to amend.

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 15(d) allows the addition

of post-complaint allegations. Motions to amend pursuant to

Rule 15(d) should be granted “[u]nless undue prejudice to

the opposing party will result.” Howey, 481 F.2d at 1190. We

see no prejudice to defendants in allowing the amendment.

Because most of the information on the added claim would be

available in UDA’s own files, little additional discovery would

be needed. Defendants rely upon Waters v. Weyerhaeuser

Mortgage Co., 582 F.2d 503, 506-07 (9th Cir. 1978), in arguing

that because plaintiffs could have sought amendment at an

earlier date and because discovery would have to be reopened

if the motion were granted, the district court did not abuse

its discretion in denying the motion. Waters, however, in-

volved “obvious prejudice” to the defendants because plain-

tiffs sought to litigate an issue that they had previously con-

ceded. Jd. at 507. It thus is not controlling under these facts.

“The purpose of [Rule 15(d)] is to promote as complete an

adjudication of the dispute between the parties as is possible.”

C.A. Wright & A.R. Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure

§ 1504, at 536 (1971). Because UDA would not be unduly

prejudiced by the minimal further discovery that may be re-

quised, the district court on remand should allow the motion.

REVERSED and REMANDED.

A-14

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

: FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

No. CIV 80-245 PHX CAM

No. CIV 80-252 PHX CAM

STATE OF ARIZONA,

Plaintiff,

vs.

UNITED DAIRYMEN OF ARIZONA, et al.,

Defendants.

and

JEROME LaSALVIA and PEGGY LaSALVIA,

husband and wife,

Plaintiffs,

vs.

UNITED DAIRYMEN OF ARIZONA, et al.,

Defendants.

ORDER

The main parties in this antitrust action are Plaintiff, who

owns and operates a dairy farm in Arizona and Defendant,

A-15

which is a non-profit Arizona organization operating as an

agricultural marketing cooperative of dairy farmers. Plain-

tiff has alleged that Defendant restrained and monopolized

the marketing of raw milk in the “Central Arizona Marketing

Area” in violation of federal and state antitrust laws. Plain-

tiff has further claimed that he has been damaged to the

extent of the difference between the Federal Milk Order

minimum “blend price’”’ he would have received by delivering

excess milk production to Arizona handlers regulated by the

Central Arizona Milk Order, and the price they actually re-

ceived by selling excess milk out of state.

Defendant has now filed a Motion for Summary Judgment,

alleging that Plaintiff’s claims are barred by the applicable

four-year statute of limitations, (15 U.S.C. § 15(b)) since

the alleged injury and cause of action accrued, if at all, in

the period from April 1974 to May 1975—more than four

years prior to the commenceme it of this action in March 1980.

Plaintiff, in response, has argued that there are disputed

fact issues concerning the irrevocability of Defendant’s re-

fusal to deal with Plaintiff, that the cause of action herein

is not based upon a single refusal to deal, but upon an ongoing

conspiracy, that the statute of limitations should be tolled by

Defendant’s alleged fraudulent concealment of certain facts,

and that in any event, there is no statute of limitations bar

to the injunctive relief which Plaintiff seeks.

The parties argued this motion before the Court on October

31, 1983.

Defendant has noted that in spite of the holding in Poller

v. Columbia Broadcasting System, Inc., 82 S.Ct. 486, 491, 368

U.S. 464, 473 (1962), which warned that summary procedures

should be used sparingly in complex antitrust litigation,

courts have not hesitated to grant summary judgment to de-

fendants in appropriate circumstances—even where a con-

spiracy is alleged to have occurred. Zenith Radio Corp. v.

A-16

Hazeltine Research, Inc., 91 S.Ct. 795, 806, 401 U.S. 321, 338

(1971). Defendant further notes that since it refused to buy

milk from Plaintiff in 1974 and 1975, Plaintiff’s cause of

action should be barred, since he brought suit in 1980, over

four years later.

The applicable statute, 15 U.S.C. § 15(b), states in perti-

nent part: “Any action to enforce any cause of action under

Section 15 or 15a of this title shall be forever barred unless

commenced within four years after the cause of action ac-

crued. No cause of action barred under existing law on the

effective date of this section . . . shall be revived by said

sections.”

Nevertheless, Plaintiff has maintained that even one of

Defendant’s employees has been equivocal as regards whether

he absolutely refused to deal with Plaintiff, since his deposi-

tion testimony indicated that the situation would be checked

out, and that Defendant would let Plaintiff know whether it

could take his milk.

In a similar action, but one brought by cattlemen, ranchers

and feeders against retail food chains, a national trade as-

sociation, and a beef industry price reporting publication,

involving alleged violations of Chapter 15 of the United States

Code, it was found that a genuine issue of fact existed as to

when plaintiffs had actual or constructive knowledge of their

cause of action, precluding summary judgment on their claim

that fraudulent concealment by the defendants of an alleged

conspiracy would toll the four-year statute of limitations. Jn re

Beef Industry Antitrust Litigation, 600 F.2d 1148 (5th Cir.

1979), reh. den., 616 F.2d 569, cert. den., 101 S.Ct. 280, 281,

449 U.S. 905, 66 L.Ed.2d 137 (1980).

Regarding the claim of fraudulent concealment, it was held,

in In re Independent Gasoline Antitrust Litigation, 79 F.R.D.

552 (D.C. Md. 1978), that to establish a claim of fraudulent

concealment in order to avoid the defense of limitations in a

A-17

private antitrust action, the plaintiff must prove fraudulent

concealment by the defendant raising the statute, together

with the plaintiff’s failure to discover facts which are the

basis of his cause of action, despite the exercise of due dili-

gence on his part.

Plaintiff herein has claimed that the refusal to deal was

not conveyed to him as an absolute, and that the statute should

therefore be tolled. Because of the issue of fact regarding the

refusal to deal, this Court is in agreement with Plaintiff.

In David Orgell, Inc. v. Geary’s Stores, Inc., 640 F.2d 936

(9th Cir. 1981), cert. den., 454 U.S. 816 (1981), a defendant’s

initial refusal to sell its line of china and dinnerware to a

plaintiff retailer was held to trigger the four-year limitations

period, and subsequent refusals to sell were not found by the

court to be separate violations, but rather mere reaffirmations

of the original decision not to deal with plaintiff. Orgell,

supra, was again cited in In re Multidistrict Vehicle Air Pollu-

tion, 591 F.2d 68, 72 (9th Cir. 1979), cert. den., 444 U.S. 900

(1980), where the court mentioned that the subsequent re-

quests to deal in Orgell were “forlorn inquiries by one, all of

whose reasonable hopes had previously been dashed.” How-

ever, Multidistrict Vehicle Air Pollution also found that noth-

ing in the record of that case indicated that the decisions not

to act “. .. were irrevocable, immutable, permanent and final.

For this reason, all injury to AMF necessarily resulted from

the 1964 rejection of the Smog Burner.”

In the case at bar, as has already been noted, there is a

question of fact as to whether the initia! refusal to deal was

“irrevocable, immutable, permanent and final.” Therefore,

this Court cannot agree with Defendant that summary judg-

ment should be granted.

Summary judgment should be precluded when there is a

fact issue about whether a defendant has refused to deal and

A-18

whether or not that refusal was motivated by an anti-com-

petitive intent. California Steel & Tube v. Kaiser Steel Corp.,

650 F.2d 1001 (9th Cir. 1981); Tillamook Cheese & Dairy

Assn. v. Tillamook County Creamery Assn., 358 F.2d 115 (9th

Cir. 1966).

Another fact at issue is whether damages in this case are

subject to an accurate estimate, or are merely speculative.

Defendant claims that Plaintiffs could easily resort to a for-

mula for figuring damages, which Plaintiffs have denied on

the basis of climate and selling factors.

An additional point brought out by Plaintiff is that the

four-year statute of limitations is not applicable to an equit-

able proceeding for injunction relief from violations of the

antitrust laws, citing International Tel. & Tel. Corp. v. Gen-

eral Tel. & Elec. Corp., 296 F.Supp. 920 (D. Haw. 1969).

However, Defendant also notes that the above case involved

a request for only injunctive relief, and that in Farbenfabrik-

en Bayer, A.G. v. Sterling Drug, Inc., 197 F.Supp. 613, 626

affd., 307 F.2d 207, cert. den., 83 S.Ct. 872, 372 U.S. 929, 9

L.Ed.2d 733 (1961), the court held that where there is both

a legal and an equitable remedy for the same wrong, if the

legal remedy is barred by the lapse of time, the equitable

remedy is also barred, and this rule is applicable to actions

in equity to enforce an implied or constructive trust.

In any event, the existence of an issue of fact as to whether

the refusal by Defendant to deal with Plaintiff was absolute

and irrevocable should preclude the granting of summary

~ judgment in Defendant’s favor.

Therefore,

IT IS ORDERED that Defendant’s Motion for Summary

Judgment, filed August 22, 1983, is denied.

Dated this 8th day of November, 1983.

C. A. MUECKE, Chief Judge

A-19

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

No. CIV 80-245 PHX CAM

No. CIV 80-252 PHX CAM

STATE OF ARIZONA,

Plaintiff,

vs.

UNITED DAIRYMEN OF ARIZONA, et al.,

Defendants.

and

JEROME LaSALVIA and PEGGY LaSALVIA,

husband and wife,

Plaintiffs,

vs.

UNITED DAIRYMEN OF ARIZONA, et al.,

Defendants.

ORDER

Having received and considered Defendants’ Renewed Mo-

tion for Summary Judgment, memorandum with appendix,

and statement of facts in support thereof, filed June 25, 1984;

Plaintiffs’ Response, memorandum, exhibits and statement of

facts in support thereof, filed July 25, 1984; Defendants’

Reply, filed October 16, 1984; Plaintiffs’ Motion for Leave

to File Supplemental Cor-plaint, filed September 6, 1984; De-

fendants’ Response, filed October 19, 1984; Plaintiffs’ Reply,

filed October 29, 1984; and Plaintiffs’ Motion for Reconsidera-

tion, filed December 4, 1984; and having heard oral argument

on Defendants’ Renewed Motion for Summary Judgment and

ee

A-20

Plaintiffs’ Motion for Leave to File Supplemental Complaint

on Tuesday, October 18, 1984, this Court finds as follows:

Defendants’ Renewed Motion for Summary Judgment

Defendants’ Renewed Motion for Summary Judgment is

based upon the four-year statute of limitations in the Clayton

Act, 15 U.S.C. § 15b. Defendants basically argue that Plain-

tiffs’ own conduct and statements prove that Plaintiffs were

aware of their antitrust claims in 1974 or 1975; but this action

was not filed until March 31, 1980 and is thus barred by the

applicable statute of limitations.

With respect to the statute of limitations argument, this

Court finds that there is no material issue of fact. The parties’

statements of fact submitted pursuant to Local Rule 11(i)

indicate that following Shamrock Foods’ refusal to continue

to purchase Plaintiffs’ raw milk in excess of the amount

specified in their contract, Plaintiffs sought to sell their ex-

cess milk to Defendant United Dairymen of Arizona (UDA)

in April 1974; UDA refused. In both June and August of

1974, Plaintiffs filed briefs with the U.S. Department of

Agriculture alleging that UDA was attempting to monopolize

the raw milk market in the Central Arizona Marketing Area

and complaining about the fact that UDA refused to buy

Plaintiffs’ milk.

In February 1975, Plaintiffs’ attorney telephoned UDA’s

attorney and inquired whether UDA would buy Plaintiffs’

milk; the request was refused. Also in February 1975, Plain-

tiff Jerome LaSalvia dumped milk on the ground and issued a

press release in which he complained about the fact that neither

UDA nor any other milk handler would purchase his milk.

Plaintiff himself called UDA Executive Director Robert

Girard in February 1975 and requested that UDA purchase

his milk. Plaintiff later testified in deposition that on that

occasion Mr. Girard told Plaintiff never to call again, i.e.,

A-21

that if UDA wanted to buy Plaintiff’s milk then UDA would

call Plaintiff, but that Plaintiff should not call again. Plaintiff

Peggy LaSalvia overheard this conversation, and testified in

deposition that Mr. Girard was “very emphatic.”

In March 1975, Mr. LaSalvia provided information to Mr.

Currin Shields, President of the Arizona Consumers Council,

so that Mr. Shields could write a letter to the Antitrust Divi-

sion of the U.S. Department of Justice complaining about

UDA’s monopoly over the milk market in Arizona. In April

1975, Plaintiffs’ attorney again contacted Defendants’ attor-

ney to discuss whether UDA would purchase Plaintiffs’ milk;

the notes of Plaintiffs’ attorney reflect that UDA’s attorney

said UDA would not purchase milk from non-members of

UDA. In fact, the notes themselves state: “bottom line—

won’t take milk from non-member producer.” Also in April

1975, Plaintiff asked a dairy in E] Paso if it would buy Plain-

tiffs’ milk; that request was refused.

On May 23, 1975, Plaintiff Jerome LaSalvia again called

Mr. Girard, and against Plaintiff’s request to sell milk to

UDA was refused. Plaintiff entered a note in his diary:

“9 :30-—Girard—no-no-no.” After this conversation, Plaintiff

never again directly contacted UDA about purchasing his

milk until after this action was filed in 1980.

In June 1975, Plaintiff asked handlers Safeway, Carnation

and Foremost to purchase his milk, but all requests were

refused.

The parameters of this case have been severely narrowed

by this Court’s Orders filed September 14, 1984 (denying

Plaintiffs’ Motion for Partial Summary Judgment) and Sep-

tember 18, 1984 (granting Defendants’ Motion to Limit Issues

To Be Tried). Those orders were carefully considered, and

based upon a complete review of the facts and case law per-

taining to Plaintiffs’ standing to challenge many of UDA’s

A-22

alleged practices. In those Orders, this Court specifically held

that Plaintiffs lack standing to challenge UDA’s base plan and

several other practices allegedly engaged in by UDA, and

found that the damages sought by Plaintiffs arise from their

conspiratorial and unilateral refusal-to-deal claims. Those al-

legations are all that properly remain in the case, and based

upon the undisputed facts recited above, it is clear that Plain-

tiffs and their counsel had notice of both the conspiratorial

and unilateral refusals to deal during 1975.

Defendants rely heavily on Orgell v. Geary’s Stores, Inc.,

640 F.2d 936 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 816, 102 S.Ct.

92 (1981). Orgell, like the case at bar, involved only conspira-

torial and unilateral refusals to deal. The Ninth Circuit af-

firmed the district court’s finding that all refusals to deal

subsequent to the initial refusal were mere reaffirmations of

the original decision not to deal. While there were refusals

made during the four-year’ period prior to the filing of the

action, the initial refusal had been made over twelve years

prior to the filing, and the Ninth Circuit agreed that the

claims were time-barred.

Here, there were no unilateral refusals to deal by UDA dur-

ing the limitations period, because Plaintiff never contacted

UDA between 1975 and the time the action was filed.’ As for

conspiratorial refusals to deal, these claims stem from full-

supply contracts entered into between UDA and other Arizona

processors as early as 1960, and from UDA’s alleged attempts

1 Even if this Court were to consider informal discussions between

counsel for the parties at an unrelated legal meeting during 1977-

78 as a contact between Plaintiffs and Defendants, UDA repeated-

ly refused to accept Plaintiffs’ milk, and these refusals are re.

affirmations of the initial refusal(s). In Orgell, there were re.

fusals during the limitations period, but this did not preclude a

finding that the initial refusal was final, the subsequent refusals

were reaffirmations of the initial refusal, and a holding that the

statute of limitations had run.

———SSaaaaaaaeaae =

A-23

to enforce those contracts by pressuring other processors not

to purchase Plaintiffs’ milk. Again, Plaintiffs were made well

aware of the contracts and of the other processors’ refusals

to purchase Plaintiffs’ milk in or before 1975; and the con-

tinuation of the contracts and of the refusals by other proces-

sors were reaffirmations of the original refusal(s) to deal.

Plaintiffs argue that in a civil conspiracy case the statute

of limitations does not run from the first overt act in further-

ance of the conspiracy, but “from the commission of the last

overt act alleged to have caused damage.” Steiner v. 20th

Century-Fox Film Corp., 232 F.2d 190, 194 (9th Cir. 1956).

However, that same case also states:

. in order to start the running of the statute of limita-

tions there must be damage occasioned by an overt act.

In a continuing conspiracy causing continuing damage

without further overt acts, the statute of limitations runs,

as we have noted, from ihe time the blow which caused

the damage was struck. Any further internal injury af-

fects the problem of how much should be claimed in dam-

ages, not the problem of when the statute of limitations

commences to run. Otherwise, in a continuing conspiracy,

the cause of action would never fully develop, nor would

there be any limitation upon the right of action, and the

beneficent purpose of the statute to delimit the right to

sue would be defeated.

Steiner, supra, 232 F.2d at 195 (emphasis added).

Here, as was pointed out above, there was no overt refusal

to purchase Plaintiffs’ milk by UDA after 1975, because

Plaintiffs never again directly approached UDA until after

this action had been filed in 1980. There were refusals by

other processors to purchase Plaintiffs’ milk during the limita-

tions period, but these refusals were made because of full-

supply contracts in existence since about 1960. Plaintiffs have

A-24

not alleged that they did not know about the contracts or that

the contracts were not enforced until the limitations period.

Western Shoe Gallery v. Duty Free Shoppers, No. C-82-0625

EFL (N.D. Cal., Sept. 7, 1984), brought to this Court’s at-

tention in a Supplemental Response filed by Plaintiffs, is not

especially helpful because there, the trial court found evidence

of many recent overt acts in furtherance of the conspiracy,

including continued rebate payments, physical steering of

tourists away from plaintiff’s shop, and enforcement of the

boycott by a trade association. The court barred plaintiff from

suing for acts prior to the four-year limitations period, but

allowed plaintiff to sue for acts occurring within the limita-

tions period which caused injury.

Here, there are no clearcut allegations or evidence of overt

acts by Defendant UDA during the limitations period. While

Plaintiffs claim that other processors refused to deal with

them because of their contract with UDA, they allege no

overt affirmative acts on the part of UDA during the limita-

tions period.

In the case at bar, it is clear to this Court that Plaintiffs’

cause of action accrued no later than 1975, and it is also clear

that Plaintiffs themselves knew of and believed they had a

cause of action in 1975. The evidence shows that Plaintiffs

believed that UDA’s and the other handlers’ refusals to deal

with them were final; this finding is supported by Plaintiffs’

complaints to both the Justice Department and the Depart-

ment of Agriculture of UDA’s acts during 1975, and Plain-

tiffs’ own descriptions of their contacts with UDA. Plaintiffs’

claims are barred by the four-year statute of limitations,

Orgell, supra; see also In Re Multidistrict Vehicle Air Pollu-

tion, 591 F.2d 68, 71-72 (9th Cir. 1979).

Plaintiffs’ argument that reconsideration of the statute of

limitations issue is barred by the doctrine of law of the case

iia ada

A-25

is without merit. “Unlike the more precise requirements of

res judicata, law of the case is an amorphous concept. As most

commonly defined, the doctrine posits that when a court de-

cides upon a rule of law, that decision should continue to

govern the same issues in subsequent stages in the same case.”

Arizona v. California, 460 U.S. 605, 618, 103 S.Ct. 1382, 1391

(1983). Rather than deciding a rule of law in denying De-

fendents’ previous motion for summary judgment, this Court

found that a material issue of fact precluded summary judg-

ment.

Similarly, Plaintiffs’ argument that fraudulent concealment

tolled the statute of limitations must be rejected. Plaintiffs

have not pled fraudulent concealment in their First Amended

Complaint at all, much less with the particularity required by

Rutledge v. Boston Woven Hose & Rubber Co., 576 F.2d 248,

250 (9th Cir. 1978). Further, the evidence indicates that

Plaintiffs were aware of the refusals to deal by both UDA

and other handlers in 1975.

Plaintiffs’ last attempt to toll the statute of limitations is

the argument that damages occurring as a result of these

refusals to deal were speculative or unprovable during the

limitations »eriod. Defendants, however, have described how

Plaintiffs could have computed both types of damages claimed

during the limitations period in the same manner as Plaintiffs’

expert has now computed them. Plaintiffs have not clearly

responded to this argument, and it does appear that Plain-

tiffs’ damages were ascertainable during the limitations

period—certainly at a time just before the four-year limita-

tions period expired and in any event at the time of trial.

Thus, based upon the absence of a material fact issue and

of any affirmative overt acts by Defendant UDA during the

limitations period other than a continued and reaffirmed re-

fusal to deal with Plaintiffs, which do not constitute overt

A-26

acts, and for all the other reasons argued by Defendants in

their pleadings, Defendants’ Renewed Motion for Summary

Judgment should be granted.

Plaintiffs’ Motion to File Supplemental Complaint

Because the rest of this action is being dismissed, this mo-

tion should be denied as moot. There are, however, other rea-

sons supporting denial of the motion. First, the Supplemental

Complaint which Plaintiffs propose to file contains a new

claim not included in Plaintiffs’ First Amended Complaint,

i.e., the allegation that “UDA has made its milk manufactur-

ing facilities available to plaintiffs only at rates that result in

payment by UDA of prices less than the Order 131 minimum

price.” {| 24, Plaintiffs’ Proposed Supplemental Complaint. In

light of the facts that (1) this allegation is one which Plain-

tiffs have known about since 1981 and could have raised long

before now; (2) it appears to be a disguised challenge to

UDA’s base plan, which was eliminated as a raisable issue in

this action in this Court’s Orders filed September 14 and 18,

1984; and (3) its addition would require re-opening of dis-

covery, Plaintiffs’ Motion should also be denied on its merits.

Plaintiffs’ Motion for Reconsideration

Plaintiffs have filed a motion to reconsider this Court’s

Order of September 18, 1984, granting Defendants’ Motion to

Limit Issues To Be Tried. The motion is partially based on a

recent case, Ostrofe v. H.S. Crocker Co., 740 F.2d 739 (9th

Cir. 1984), in which the Ninth Circuit discussed and applied

the Clayton Act standing factors articulated by the U‘S.

Supreme Court in Associated General Contractors v. Cali-

fornia State Council of Carpenters, 459 U.S. 419, 103 S.Ct. 897

(1983). Neither Ostrofe nor Plaintiffs, however, address one

of the most critical concerns expressed by this Court in its

Order of September 18, 1984: “we deal here with an agricul-

tural cooperative which is permitted to acquire and maintain

A-27

a legal monopoly. . . . Plaintiffs have challenged several of

UDA’s practices as being predatory and in furtherance of a

monopolistic scheme. Because it is legal for this Defendant

to further its monopoly, it would appear especially critical for

Plaintiffs to show an injury caused by such practices.” Order,

September 18, 1984.

This Court fully considered all the arguments made in

Plaintiffs’ Motion for Reconsideration when it issued its Or-

der of September 18, 1984, and sees no basis for overturning

its prior order.

Based upon the foregoing,

IT IS ORDERED that Defendants’ Renewed Motion for

Summary Judgment, filed June 25, 1984, is granted in its

entirety.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Plaintiffs’ Motion for

Leave to File Supplemental Complaint, filed September 6,

1984, is denied.

IT IS FINALLY ORDERED that Plaintiffs’ Motion for

Reconsideration, filed December 4, 1984, is denied.

DATED this 21st day of December, 1984.

C.A. MUECKE

U.S. District Judge

A-28

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

No. 85-1592 DC CV 80-0252 CAM

JEROME LaSALVIA and PEGGY LaSALVIA,

husband and wife,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

vs. 3

UNITED DAIRYMEN OF ARIZONA, an Arizona

marketing association; ROBERT M. GIRARD and

LEONARD F. CHEATHAM,

Defendants-Appellees.

APPEAL from the United States District Court for the

District of Arizona (Phoenix).

THIS CAUSE came on to be heard on the Transcript of the

Record from the United States District Court for the District

of Arizona (Phoenix) and was duly submitted.

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is now here ordered

and adjudged by this Court, that the judgment of the said

District Court in this Cause be, and hereby is reversed and

remanded. Costs taxed. Filed November 21, 1986

A-29

APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

No. 85-1592

D.C. No. Cv 80-252 PHX CAM

JEROME LaSALVIA and PEGGY LaSALVIA,

husband and wife,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

Vv.

UNITED DAIRYMEN OF ARIZONA, an Arizona

marketing association; ROBERT M. GIRARD; and

LEONARD F. CHEATHAM,

Defendants-Appellees.

ORDER

January 20, 1987

Before: GOODWIN, HUG and REINHARDT, Circuit Judges.

The panel has voted to deny appellees’ petition for rehear-

ing and to reject the suggestion for rehearing en banc.

The full court has been advised of the suggestion for rehear-

ing en banc and no active judge has requested a vote on

whether to rehear the matter en banc. (Fed. R. App. P. 35.)

The petition for rehearing is denied and the suggestion for

rehearing en banc is rejected.

A-30

APPENDIX F

Arizona Milk Producers

Federal Milk Marketing Order 1131

Central Arizona Marketing Area

Phoenix, Arizona

c/o Mr. Calvin G. LaSalvia

Rt. 1, Box 954

Laveen, Arizona 85339

June 10, 1974

Hearing Clerk

Room 112-A

Administration Building

United States Department of Agriculture

Washington, D. C. 20250

Re: 7 CFR Part 1131

MILK IN THE CENTRAL ARIZONA MARKETING

AREA

RESPONSE TO NOTICE OF PROPOSED SUSPEN-

SION OF CERTAIN PROVISIONS OF THE ORDER

We, the undersigned dairy farmers located in the Central

Arizona Marketing Area, 1131, protest the suspension of the

provision for June and July 1974, that not more than eight

days’ production of any producer may be diverted to a non-

pool plant from a pool plan: ‘uring the month, pending a

public hearing.

We respectfully oppose this suspension, pending such a pub-

lic hearing where upon the facts and pertinent information

concerning this subject may be fully examined and proper

determination rendered. Following is a point rebuttal of the

purported basis for such a suspension and attached hereto is

relative copies of recent inquiries as to the existing inequitable

conditions which may exist within this market. This attached

material is used only as a reference and is not intended as

A-31

evidence nor is it to be construed as being complete. At such

times as may be deemed necessary, other related and relative

information would be made available for public hearing.

The purported basis for the suspension are:

1. A temporary increase in production. Temporary

means for a short period only, not intended for permanent

use or being. During the past eighteen (18) months a

deliberate and explicit plan to increase production far

above the normal year to year average of approximately

seven (7%) per cent has been undertaken by the peti-

tioning party, a cooperative. It has been their intent to

willfully saturate the Central Arizona Market far above

rational economic judgment. According to the USDA

Milk Production Report of February 11, 1974, a full fif-

teen (15%) per cent increase in milk production was

recorded in this market at the end of 1973. The coopera-

tive producers have reached as high as nineteen and one-

half (1912%) per cent April 1974 increase over the pre-

ceding April. There appears to have been little concern

for regulating production within the range of recent

market expectations. It is provided within the framework

of said cooperative to issue base permits to increase pro-

duction at will and it is also fully within the power of

said cooperative to rescind said excess production. The

cooperative does not have the inherent right to arbitrarily

force surplus milk products into the pool when in es-

sence all producers would subsidize the pool blend price

and be paid in accordance with the Class utilization.

2. The purported decline in Class I sales is not fac-

tual nor does it represent a clear accounting as prepared

by the Federal! Market Administrator during the past

twelve months. Tota! Class I sales for the past twelve

months of record, May 1, 1973 through April 30, 1974

A-32

inclusive, were 505.6 million pounds for an average

monthly figure of 42.135 million pounds milk. Total Class

I sales for the twelve month period of May 1, 1972

through April 30, 1973 inclusive, was 499.5 million

pounds, for an monthly average of 41.625 million pounds

milk. An actual increase of one-half (14) million pounds

of Class I sales per monthly average was recorded during

the last twelve months of record over the preceding

twelve months. As of the latest Market Information Bul-

letin, May 1974, for the Central Arizona Milk Area an

increase in Class I sales of 1.3% daily was recorded.

Quoting from the Bulletin: “DAILY CLASS I SALES

INCREASE: Sales of Class I milk within the marketing

area equaled 41,531,757 pounds during April 1974. Daily

sales averaged 1,384,392 pounds, 1.8% above those re-

corded in March 1974, and 1.3% above last April’s aver-

age of 1,367,138.”

3. It is highly speculative for the cooperative to as-

sume that their plant will have to receive and manufac-

ture more milk in June & July of this year than had

reasonably been anticipated. Historically, the production

in Arizona during the summer months has dropped 10 to

15% due to severe heat stress associated with 100° plus

temperatures. And currently feed prices of grain and hay

are not conducive to excessive feeding associated with

high production. It can be pointed out that the coopera-

tive has at its sole disposal a new cheese manufacturing

plant newly built and operating sufficient to take care of

any and all surplus milk which may be associated with

this market. Furthermore, it is not compatible to argue

for a suspension of a provision to export milk of its pro-

ducers, when it is on record that as late as May 25, 1974,

A-33

milk was imported into this market by said cooperative

from a large Texas based cooperative.

4. Itis not correct to argue that substantial quantities

of milk regularly associated with the pool during the past

fall and winter would necessarily be excluded from the

pool. First, the substantial quantities of last fall and

winter were premediated increases based on decisions

initiated by said cooperative. This milk, although included

in the pool, is not anywhere near a normal or responsible

increase as associated with the market for the past ten

years. And furthermore, the milk in question only tended

to decrease the blend price by depressing Class I percent-

age of utilization. Henceforth, putting an undue burden

upon all dairymen in respect to the amount of money

received. Class I utilization fell to less than 62% in 1974

compared to 77% for 1973. Continued diversion of such

amounts of milk will not be inducive to a higher utilization

in this market. And such diversion would not be helpful

in eliminating over quota production of 5,703,065 pounds

for the month of April 1974 by cooperative members. The

official cooperative Market Report for April 1974, pro-

jects market needs June through December 1974 as 97%

of quota. This is completely inconsistent with their re-

quest to suspend the provisions in question. Why does

producer milk need to be diverted more than eight days

as established in the order if this projection is valid?

In Summation: We request that the suspension of the pro-

visions in question be denied pending a full hearing of all

producers in the Central Arizona Market Area. It would not

seem proper to grant said suspension based upon the conten-

tion of the cooperative without a public hearing to that effect.

Each contention as discussed lacks real merit in light of USDA

facts as we!l as the market information of the cooperative

A-34

itself. First; the increase in production was not intended as

temporary, but rather an effort to monopolize the production

in the market and further aggravate the problem by allowing

imports of raw milk from a large Texas based cooperative.

Second; over a yearly period as of April 30, 1974, Class I

sales have increased an average of 14 million pounds a month.

It has been uncontrolled surplus production which has caused

a depression in the blend price. Third; it is not reasonable to

import milk and ask to send out milk because of a surplus.

Nor is it equitable for the dairyman to suffer depressed prices

as a result of this type of mismanagement. Fourth; the nearly

20% increased production as of April 1974 is not a regular

increase nor a regular amount associated with the Central

Arizona Milk Area pool. Such vast increases only tend to work

an unfair disadvantage to the smaller dairyman, dependent

upon high Class I usage. It is of the utmost importance to all

Arizona dairymen to resolve the cause of the problem through

a public hearing rather than trying to alleviate the problem

through hasty, temporary suspensatory measures. This pro-

posed suspension of certain provisions of the Order 131 under-

lies a much deeper marketing problem.

A full and detailed report concerning market problems in

the Central Arizona Milk Area is being prepared. It would

be most helpful to relay such information as may be contained

therein at a formal public hearing. Since the Market Admin-

istrator of Order 131 has recently determined that said coop-

erative has received milk directly from independent dairy

farmers without proper authorizations for the handling of

such milk. It is not judicious to suspend the said provisions

should it tend to provide relief to the parties who have im-

properly handled milk in this market. Until such time as a

public hearing can determine the facts concerning the proper

A-35

administration and use of the order, it is respectively asked

that request for suspension of certain provisions be denied.

Exhibit A: UDA (United Dairymen of Arizona, a

cooperative) Market Report, April 1974

Exhibit B: Market Information Bulletin, May 1974

Exhibit C: Milk Production Report—USDA

Exhibit D: Letter dated January 25, 1974, directed to

Sun Valley Dairy, producer, from Market Administrator

Exhibit E: Letter dated February 23, 1974, directed to

Market Administrator from Sun Valley Dairy, producer

Exhibit F: Letter dated April 25, 1974, directed to Sun

Valley Dairy, producer, from Office of Minority Leader,

United States House of Representatives

Exhibit F. 1.: Letter dated April 8, 1974, directed to

Honorable John J. Rhodes, Congressman from John

C. Blum, Associate Administrator, USDA-AMS;

attachment to Exhibit F.

Exhibit G: Authorization to Compensate Handler directed

to independent milk producers from United Dairymen of

Arizona, a cooperative; authorization was requested afler

the fact.

ec: Herbert L. Forest

Director of the Dairy Division, AMS ©

Wilson M. Haverfield

Market Administrator, Order 1131

Honorable John J. Rhodes

Minority Leader, United States House of Representatives

Honora .le Sam Steiger

United States House of Representatives

Re: 7 CFR Part 1131

MILK IN THE CENTRAL ARIZONA MARKETING

AREA

RESPONSE TO NOTICE UL PROPOSED SUSPEN-

SION OF CERTAIN PROVISIONS OF THE ORDER

We, the undersigned dairy farmers located in the Central

Arizona Marketing Area, 1131, protest the suspension of the

provision for June and July 1974, that not more than eight

days’ production of any producer may be diverted to a nonpool

piant from a pool plant during the month, pending a public

hearing.

JEROME LaSALVIA

KENNETH H. CROW

MANUEL J. SILVA (Glenview Dairy)

GEORGE M. DODDS

DON RAWLINGS (Alpine Dairy)

CALVIN LaSALVIA

Arizona Milk Producers

Federal Milk Marketing Order 1131

Central Arizona Marketing Area

Phoenix, Arizona

c/o Mr. Calvin G. La Salvia

Rt. 1, Box 954

Laveen, Arizona 85339

August 10, 1974

Mr. Richard L. Feitner

Assistant Secretary or Marketing & Consumer Services

Administration Building

United States Department of Agriculture

Washington, D.C. 20250

Re: 7 CFR Part 1131 ; =

A-37

MILK IN THE CENTRAL ARIZONA MARKETING

AREA

RESPONSE TO NOTICE OF PROPOSED CONTINUA-

TION CONCERNING SUSPENSION OF CERTAIN

PROVISIONS OF THE ORDER

We, the undersigned dairy farmers located in the Central

Arizona Marketing Area, 1131, do hereby protest and object

to the continuation of the suspension of certain provisions that

provide that not more than eight days’ production of any

producer may be diverte” to a nonpool plant from a pool plant

during the month. The suspension expired July 31, 1974. We

object further the current marketing policies of the petition-

ing party through the use of this suspension and the continued

condescending attitude of the Agricultural Marketing Service

for granting further a continuing suspension of provisions of

the Order without due process and proper notice of intent.

In the original request of the petitioning party, a coopera-

tive, a number of pertinent yet questionable problems were

deemed as sufficient for asking the Agricultural Marketing

Service, hereinafter AMS, to suspend certain provisions of

the order.' Accordingly, AMS notified all concerned parties

as to the “statement of consideration” and allowed sufficient

time for interested parties to respond. At that time a group of

producers regularly associated with this market protested the

proposed suspension.”

It is to be noted that AMS duly recognized the arguments,

views, and data of the producers in the following decision as

“cogent” and as having “received very serious consideration.”

The decision went on further to say, “A hearing to consider

1 Notice of Proposed Suspension of Certain Provisions of the Order.

2 Response to Notice of Proposed Suspension of Certain Provisions

of the Order.

A-38

all aspects of current and emerging marketing conditions may

very well be appropriate’’.*

We, the undersigned pr>ducers, continue to protest the con-

tinued suspension as granted because of the four initial ob-

jections as stated previously, pending such a public hearing.

Furthermore, we do hereby protest the continuation of the

suspension of the following points. *

1. The original suspension as granted by AMS was

based on a specific period of time, June and July, 1974,

and classified as temporary.

2. At the time of the suspension it was noted that

Class I sales had not declined in the previous twelve

months of record, but had actually increased 14 million

pounds per month on an average basis.

3. The amount of milk could have been reasonably

anticipated by the petitioning party as they have complete

control of their production and the basis upon which they

allow it to fluctuate.

4. The excessive amounts of milk being produced cur-

rently and in the immediate past can by no means be con-

sidered as a regular or usual amount already associated

in the market.® ;

5. It is a gross error to assume that this market is

now or shall continue to orderly dispose of milk.®

6. It is not in the public interest to continue and abet

the current policies as are developing in this market

under the auspices of AMS.

7. The continuation of this suspension will continue

to work undue hardship on a number of producers in that

3 Order Suspending Certain Provisions.

4 Milk in the Central Arizona Marketing Area Order Suspending

Certain Provisions. i

5 Current Milk Market Report. |

6 Letter to Producers by Shamrock Foods; dated April 4, 1974.

ae er ee

A-39

it will tend to depress the blend price of milk and further

aggravate the normal production of this market.?

8. It is not necessary to assure “relatively heavy sup-

plies of reserve milk” being marketed in this area as it

only will tend to serve as an undue hardship on producers

and ultimately the consumer.

9. Since the suspension was originally approved for

the months of June and July yet continuation sought in

August (which historically is a low month in this market)

are we to assume a further continuation is to be given

through November, 1974, as paragraph 1131.13 would

indicate?* And if so does this not effectively delete the

paragraph’s intended usage on a yearly basis without the

petitioning party having given evidence through public

hearing?

10. Further, a continuing investigation by the Market

Administrator, Order 115i concerning possible improper

handling and/or classification of milk in this market by

the original petitioning party as well as others, may bear

heavily on the continued order in this market.

Should it be the intent of AMS to provide relief to the peti-

tioning party by allowing all milk produced in this market to

become pooled irregardless of real need or apparent detriment

to blend pricing, then it is only just and in the public interest

to allow all milk produced in this market to be pooled whether

or not it is received at a pool plant. Furthermore, it would

appear completely and unequivocally discriminatory to allow

only certain producers in this market to pool all milk produced

despite need or utilization. If the member of a cooperative has

the inherent right to have all his milk pooled whether or not

essential need is established then the Order must afford the

7 Market Production and Comparison Last Twelve Months.

8 Paragraph 1131.13 of the Order.

A-40

same rights to all producers. It has never been the intent of

the Agricultural Marketing Agreement Act of 1937 to dis-

criminate against certain producers and any such interpreta-

tion either by intent or prejudice is in violation of that said

Act. Although the Capper-Volsted Act of 1922 grants Agri-

cultural Marketing Cooperatives immunity from monopoly, it

appears that gross misuse of these immunities may exist. It

is a fact that the petitioning party, a cooperative, maintains

the only surplus plant within the order for pool classification.

It is a recorded fact that said cooperative refused to receive

milk at their plant from individual independent producers

during periods of surplus production. It is a fact that said co-

operative received directly unspecified quantities of milk di-

rectly from these same independent producers previously and

allowed it to enter the pool.® It is a fact that these independent

producers sought relief from: (a) the handler/s, (b) the co-

operative, (c) the Department of Agriculture, and (d) vari-

ous other interested parties.'” And it is a fact that any and

all equitable remedy has been denied to the independent pro-

ducer by the above parties in an effort to pool their so-called

excess contract milk.'!

We therefore resubmit for consideration not only the arbi-

trary administration of the Order by AMS as being discrim-

inatory and not in accordance with the Act, but vehemently

protest the continued abuse of certain producers within this

market which tends to accentuate market problems rather

than resolve them. And finally, it is hereby requested that if

9 (Two) Authorization to Compensate Handler; dated May 6, 1974,

to Independent Producers from United Dairymen and Shamrock

Foods.

10 Letters: to Arizona Milk Inc.; United Dairymen of Arizona.

Editorial: By Herbert Saal, Editor American Dairy Review.

11 Memorandum Dated August 6, 1974, from Mr. Paul P. Dew of

Shamrock Foods.

A-41

the petitioning party must seek further to suspend provisions

of the Order, that they do so only after public hearing to that

effect. As has been previously noted both the petitioning party

and the AMS recognized the need for such a hearing. We sub-

mit that adequate time has elapsed for that procedure to have

been initiated by either/or both parties. It would be gross

negligence to continue on without the appropriate detail of

this issue.

Jerome LaSalvia

268-0140

Jerome LaSalvia, probably the last independent dairy farm-

er in Arizona will be forced to dump about 100,000 lbs. of

milk Thursday night. Shamrock the creamery processor he

has shipped to for over ten years, has informed him it will

not continue taking milk over their stated contract as they

have done in the past. (Cows fluctuate their milk production

with the season, producing much more in the spring with

green hay and nice weather, and drop drastically in the heat

of Phoenix summers.)

The principle surplus milk plant in Phoenix is owned by

UDA, a cooperative; because Mr. LaSalvia is not a member

of their cooperative they will not purchase his milk.

Phoenix and most of central Arizona is under a Federal

Milk Marketing order; the government figures out the floor

of the prices of milk in a complicated computation based on

Minnesota-Wisconsin prices; they then audit the amount of

milk produced in the Arizona market and audit its usage—

fluid milk, butter, or cheese, etc.—puts it into what it defines

as a “pool” and instructs the processors to pay the independent

dairy farmer or the cooperative a “blend” price. Therefore,

the processors pay the same price per hwt. to either the in-

dependent or cooperative dairy farmer UNLESS the coopera-

A-42

tive gets a premium above this floor set by the Federal gov-

ernment as they did in August and September 1974.

Local producer-distributors (processors that have their own

dairy farms and traditionally process only their own milk)

cannot purchase LaSalvia’s milk; in order to do so they would

have to submit to the Federal Milk Marketing Order and pay

a considerable sum to the pool on all the milk their own cows

produce.

The other processors in Phoenix, Safeway, Carnation,

Bordens, and Foremost have also refused to purchase the

Grade A milk. (These same processors also refused to purchase

Grade A milk in August and September 1974 when 6 inde-

pendent dairy farmers offered it to them in full-truck loads

at 62 cents hwt. less than the cooperative demanded and re-

ceived at that time.)

Peggy LaSalvia—Dep. Exh. No. 15—10/1/82.

Files

CU 7254

CU 7255

Cornell—8313

Cohen—8417

February 27, 1975

L.A. Field

Office: Gary M. Cohen

File: 60-139-0

Chrono

Bold

Milk: Telephone Conversation with Jerome LaSalvia,

Phoenix, Arizona (602) 268-0140 or

LaSalvia called to complain about the activities of the 4

major milk processors in the Phoenix area—Carnation, Bord-

en, Shamrock, and Foremost—and the dominant cooperative—

A-43

United Dairymen of Arizona. He accused them of a variety

of things including price fixing and excluding the milk of

independent farmers. :

LaSalvia said he had complained to our Los Angeles Field

Office on a number of occasions and that one of our L.A.

lawyers had interviewed him. Yet, no action was taken. He

continued to complain to that Office but it continued to ignore

him. LaSalvia also had some contact with the San Francisco

Field Office. He said that he called Washington, not expecting

any action, but merely to “build a record.”

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

IN THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

No. CIV 80-245-PHX-CAM

No. CIV 80-252-PHX-CAM

STATE OF ARIZONA,

Plaintiff,

vs.

UNITED DAIRYMEN OF ARIZONA, an Arizona

Cooperative Marketing Association,

ROBERT M. GIRARD and LEONARD F. CHEATHAM,

Defendants.

JEROME LaSALVIA, et ux.,

Plaintiffs,

vs.

UNITED DAIRYMEN OF ARIZONA, an Arizona

Cooperative Marketing Association,

ROBERT M. GIRARD and LEONARD F. CHEATHAM,

Defendants.

A-44

Phoenix, Arizona

July 6, 1982

9:30 o’clock a.m.

DEPOSITION OF JEROME LaSALVIA

VOLUME I

(Pages 1 through 223)

* * * were.

Q. You don’t believe there were what?

A. Any notes regarding him, that I had talked to—

Q. And why is that?

A. Well, somewhere we had a eonversation, and he made

it quite clear to me—

Q. About what?

A. About the fact that I should never call him again.

Q. When was that?

A. Way back when I was having problems with my milk.

Q. What do you mean by way back when you were having

problems with your milk?

A. Iwas calling everybody, including United Dairymen.

Q. Is that the year that you dumped the milk, you mean?

A. That’s the year that I had the milk running over the

top of the tanks and we dumped it.

Q. Yes. And he told you don’t call him again?

A. He said if he wanted to talk to me, he’d call me.

Q. And so you never called him again?

A. I—I think Mr. West made it clear to the lawyer also,

so I did »et—lI did as they asked.

And can you read the first line?

“UDA 5-27-75.”

And then what does it say?

You have a little more legible copy.

Does it say “Asked Girard to take 4 loads of milk’?

o>o>re

A-45

A. Yes.

Q. “Offered to buy back powder”?

A. Yes.

Q. Then what?

A.

“He refused.” I can’t make out the next one. Looks

like “Refused to handle milk.” ;

Q. Is that the time when he told you not to call him again?

A. Not positive. It doesn’t make that note here anywhere.

Q. Do you have the original of this document?

A. Yes.

Q. I wonder if you’d bring it with you tomorrow so that

we could get a more legible copy.

Do you have a specific recollection of this conversation that’s

referred to, on what appears to be May 27, ’75?

A. Based on what it says there, I tried to at least put it in

powder, I could have fed the calves.

* * *

(Caption)

Phoenix, Arizona

July 9, 1982

9:30 o’clock a.m.

CONTINUED DEPOSITION OF JEROME LaSALVIA

VOLUME IV

(Pages 529 through 668)

* * * which says, only, “Claude P. Cobb—John S. Pierce—

Attorney General—Special Agent—Processed—Milk Monop-

oly,” and ask you if you can recall that conversation?

A. No.

Q. Do you recall what the conversation related to with a

special agent or Attorney General?

A. I cannot recall the conversation.

A-46

MR. BERDE: Let’s take about two minutes, there’s some-

thing I’ve got to find that I overlooked.

(Whereupon a recess was taken.)

MR. BERDE: I found it.

Q. BY MR. BERDE: Turning back to May 23, 1975, and

directing your attention to the transcript portion where there’s

first an entry in handwriting up above, “9 :30—Girard—No-

No-No.”

Do you see that?

A. Yes.

Q. Was that your telephone call to Mr. Girard?

A. I believe so.

Q. That was the occasion where he said, “I'll call you if

we've got room,” or what you referred to earlier?

A. I’m not sure if this is the specific conversation, it is

possible.

Q. Is that all you remember Mr. Girard saying?

MR. GIBSON: Is what all you remember Mr. Girard * * *

(Caption)

DEPOSITION OF ROBERT GIRARD

VOLUME I

Phoenix, Arizona

July 29, 1982

10:15 o’clock a.m.

* * * knowledge even though it may be reflected elsewhere in

the records. You know that quite well.

Q. So, your best estimate is tat it would cost millions of

dollars for the ent/re manufacturing plant?

A. Oh, I think it’s probably 8 to 10 million dollars.

Q. You were here during parts of Mr. LaSalvia’s deposi-

tion. Do you recall him talking about a telephone conversation

that he had with you in May of 1975?

A. Yes.

A-47

Q. Do you have any independent recollection of that tele-

phone conversation?

A. Well, I had several conversations with—with Mr.

LaSalvia, and I don’t recall that one—

Q. When you say you had several conversations—

A. —separately.

Q. I’m sorry.

When you say you had several conversations with Mr.

LaSalvia, over what period of time do these conversations

span?

A. °74 and 75. I think—I think that, May, ’75, may have

been the last time. It was—in the middle of ’'75 was the last

time I have talked to him.

Q. Do you have any approximation as to how many times

you talked to Mr. LaSalvia during that period?

A. Four or five times.

Q. Were these conversations about various matters or al-

ways about his trying to find a place for—to get rid of his

milk?

A. Various matters.

Q. What matters do you recall being discussed during

those four or five conversations?

A. Well, he came in originally in January of '74 wanting

some information regarding joining our organization. I be-

lieve in "74 he called one time and said he had a load or two

of milk. And in '75 once or twice he called and said he had a

load, or, I think, in May there he had four loads of milk.

Q. In January of '74 when he came in and inquired about

joining UDA, would you tell me what you recall about that

conversation.

A. Well, that’s the conversation that was taped, so I—

generally, they just wanted some information. They wanted

to know if we would be willing—-there were three of them,

A-48

independent producers. They wanted to know if we would

discuss the possibility of them joining our organization.

Q. That was the tape we listened to during the last deposi-

tion?

A. Right.

Q. Except for what we’ve already gone over for quite * * *

(Caption)

DEPOSITION OF PEGGY LaSALVIA

(VOLUME I)

(Pages 1 through 159)

Pursuant to the annexed stipulation and notice of taking

deposition duly filed in the above cause, the deposition of

Peggy LaSalvia was taken by the Defendants as upon cross-

examination under the statute, before * * *

. * -

Q. What was the reason that you decided not to join UDA?

A. I didn’t think they were operating in good faith. I, in

fact, felt like they had forced what had happened in the

market.

Q. Forced it how?

A. I felt like that they had actually backed up the milk

into their plant on purpose.

Q. When did that occur?

A. When the independents were called in and asked to cut

back, when I dumped milk, et cetera, ’73, ’74.

Q. And your belief is that UDA purposely told Shamrock

they didn’t have any more room, but it was false?

No, I didn’t say that.

What then?

I think they physically filled it up.

Filled it up how?

2>o>

A-49

A. I think they put milk in the tanks so the tank was full,

filled up.

Q. Where did it get the milk?

A. From their own producers, from Shamrock probably,

from AMPI.

Q. If they got it from Shamrock, it was your * * *

(Caption)

Phoenix, Arizona

October 1, 1982

9:45 o’clock a.m.

CONTINUED DEPOSITION OF PEGGY LaSALVIA

(VOLUME II)

(Pages 160 through 378)

* * *

Q. Do you recall receiving a letter?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. Now, on April 16, 1975, do I understand you to say

that you already had milk sold to California that you antici-

pated you would not be able to deliver to Shamrock?

A. The date on this letter is April 16th. I do not know when

I received the letter. I would assume that it would be after

that date in the mail, like the 17th or 18th.

Q. Well, let’s assume you received it on the 19th. On April

19, 1975, did you already have milk sold to California that you

anticipated you could not deliver to Shamrock?

A. My recollection is that we had already made arrange-

ments with a buyer for the milk in California when we re-

ceived the letter.

Q. Were those arrangements a better outlet for you than

donating your milk to charity?

A. If I was going to receive money for it, it appears it

would be better.

A-50

Q. Go ahead and clarify anything you want to clarify.

A. At a point in February where it appeared that the

creameries that we went to would not take our milk, prior to

the dumping of the milk, Jerome did, in fact, call Mr. Girard,

and that was the conversation we spoke earlier of that Mr.

Girard told him not to call him back. We also got a tanker

in from Flagstaff Dairy that day. We fully expected to be able

to sell the milk in it, but if we could—or if we could get it to

charity, we had a tanker there to transport it.

Q. To where?

A. To wherever and whomever would accept it. The tanker

sat at our dairy all day long.

Q. You are saying that—

MR. BOUMA: You want to hear the rest of it?

Q. BY MR. BERDE: You got more?

A. The news media that cane did try and get the milk

into charity. In fact, they assured us that they thought they

could. -

MR. BOUMA: You said something with respect to the fol-

lowing month with respect to the letter from Norman. What

was that?

THE WITNESS: The following month after Mr. Girard

said that he—for us not to call him back and we proceeded to

try all the other creameries again, Jerome asked our attorney

at that time, Mr. Brophy, to contact UDA because Mr. Girard

told us not to talk to him. Mr. Brophy tried to contact UDA

to purchase the milk.

Q. BY MR. BERDE: When was that?

A. March, '75.

Q. Um-hmm.

A. Mr. West talked to Mr. Brophy, I believe. I think he—

essentially he said that he wished we would stop starting fires

that he had to put out and go away and leave him alone.

A-51

Q. Who said that?

A. I think he—essentially that’s what Mr. West replied to

Mr. Brophy.

Q. Is that what Mr. Brophy related to you?

A. Yes.

Q. I see.

A. We proceeded then to arrange with the Health Depart-

ment to get interstate shipping. We arranged for transporta-

tion at Shamrock to transport the milk over to California

because their trucks were going there anyway because they

were picking up California milk and bringing it back to

Phoenix, and after we had made our arrangements, we re-

ceived a ietter from Mr. McClelland, Exhibit 17.

Q. Soin February, it’s vour testimony that Jerome calfed

Bob Girard and it was in February thai Bob Girard said,

“Don’t call me, I'll call you’?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. And so, therefore, you didn’t call Bob Girard after that?

MR. BOUMA: For what period of time?

MR. BERDE: I don’t know.

MR. BOUMA: Well, that—we know there were communica-

tions since then, I guess.

Q. BY MR. BERDE: Well, until recently in 1981?

A. I don’t believe—Mr. Girard was very emphatic.

Q. That’s not my question.

MR. BOUMA: Peggy, he wants to know whether you had

the conversation before or after Mr. Girard made the state-

ment that he’d call you, don’t call him, essentially. Did you

have any conversation, or Jerome, between you folks and

Girard at any time after that conversation in 1981? That was

the question.

THE WITNESS: I do not believe that Jerome had any con-

versations.

A-52

MR. BOUMA: Peggy, that’s an error. You had the discus-

sion, at least, about the powdered milk.

MR. BERDE: Wait a minute. I don’t know if it’s an error.

Let’s see if the witness knows.

MR. BOUMA: That’s fine. You can play whatever game

you want.

MR. BERDE: It’s no game. I want to get her recollection

of what the facts are.

MR. BOUMA: That’s fine. You haven’t asked her about the

subject.

THE WITNESS: There was another subject that Jerome

had where he tried to sell the milk and buy it back from UDA

in powder form.

BY MR. BERDE: When did that occur?

I don’t know.

Were you in on that discussion?

Did I participate in the discussion?

Yes.

I don’t believe so.

The discussion about what you just related involving

an offer to sell milk and take back powder, was that in the

time period that we’re now discussing, that is February-

March, 1975?

A. I think so. I’m not sure.

Q. Okay. Now, while your recollection was being refreshed

during the break in your consultation with counsel, were you

also refreshed as to Mr. Brophy telling you not to call UDA

again?

A. I believe he was relaying Mr. West’s request not to

call them again. ;

Q. Did you talk to Mr. Brophy at that time when he re-

layed what you described as Mr. West’s conversation?

A. I may have.

OPorore

A-53

Q. Did you record that conversation in any kind of a

memorandum?

A. I’ve seen it in some notes, but I don’t recall.

Q. Have those notes been produced, to your knowledge?

A. I don’t recall seeing them.

Q. If such notes exist, would you have produced—have

they been produced, to your knowledge?

A. If they were in the form of a memorandum, other than

if they were in Jerome’s diaries that we don’t have.

Q. Did you make a memorandum of that conversation with

Mr. Brophy—

.A. I don’t recall specifically.

Q. —involving his conversation with Mr. West?

A. I don’t recall specifically.

oe .8 *

A. Apparently the whole market didn’t think so.

Q. Well, at least Shamrock didn’t think so because they

were bringing the milk in and didn’t want to take your milk?

A. Neither did Safeway or UDA or Foremost or—

Q. Well, you don’t know about UDA because you didn’t

call them in March of ’75, did you?

MR. BOUMA: That’s a little bit argumentative in view of

her testimony that they had been told not to call, and secondly

that Jerome had—Frank Brophy lad called and Dave West

told him forget it.

Q. BY MR. BERDE: In any case, my question is that if

you had milk that you knew Shamrock wouldn’t take and no

one else apparently wanted to buy in Phoenix, why didn’t you

try to get it moved somewhere else?

A. Mr. Berde, I want to sell my milk in Phoenix where it

belongs. I was trying to do so. I had, for two months very

definitely as this shows, tried to do that.

A-54

Q. I understand. You’ve testified to that.

A. After it became apparent that I would not be allowed

in this market with the milk my dairy produced, I eventually

went to California with it.

¥ OK 7

ARIZONA CONSUMERS COUNCIL

823 W. Adams Street Phoenix, Arizona 85007

March 27, 1975

Thomas E. Kauper, Assistant Attorney General

Antitrust Division

U. S. Department of Justice

Washington, D. C. 20503

Dear Mr. Kauper:

The Arizona Consumers Council respectfully requests that

your office immediately investigate monopoly practices in the

Arizona milk industry since the August, 1974 federal grand

jury indictments of four milk companies, Borden, Carnation,

Foremost, and Shamrock, which account for 90% of milk sales

in this State, for price-fixing in violation of federal antitrust

laws. The companies pleaded no contest to charges.

Jerome LaSalvia, independent dairy farmer of Laveen, is

unable to sell milk he produces in this market. Until recently

LaSalvia sold milk from his 1000 cow operation to Shamrock

Dairy. Shamrock notified him that they would purchase no

more milk from him this month. Last month LaSalvia dumped

20,000 pounds of milk because no creamery would buy his

milk.

Milk prices in this market were recently increased. United

Dairymen of Arizona coop commands premium prices for milk.

Milk produced by UDA coop members is sold without diffi-

culty. LaSalvia refuses to join the coop.

A-55

LaSalyia now has 100,000 pounds of milk which he has

offered to sell to every creamery in this market, including the

UDA surplus creamery. No creamery will buy his milk. He

has offered to give the milk away to charity rather than dump

it. He has been prohibited from doing that.

Jerome LaSalvia is being forced out of the dairy farming

business because he refuses to submit to monopoly domination

of the milk market in Arizona. This domination is possible

because federal antitrust laws are not now being enforced

against known violators.

We ask that your office take immediate steps to enforce the

antitrust laws against price-fixers in the Arizona milk in-

dustry and to protect independent dairy farmers who do not

want to be a part of a price-fixing conspiracy.

Sincerely,

CURRIN V. SHIELDS

President

cc: Jerome LaSalvia

A-56

John J. Bouma

Kenneth D. Nyman

SNELL & WILMER

3100 Valley Center

Phoenix, Arizona 85073

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

No. CIV. 80-252 PHX-CLH

JEROME LaSALVIA, et ux.,

Plaintiffs,

vs.

UNITED DAIRYMEN OF ARIZONA, et al.,

Defendants.

PLAINTIFFS’ RESPONSE TO DEFENDANTS’

MOTION TO COMPEL PRODUCTION AND REQUEST

FOR A PROTECTIVE ORDER

A. RESPONSE TO MOTION TO COMPEL

Until approximately 1974, plaintiffs were able to sell all of

their milk in the Arizona market for the so-called “blend”

price provided by the Central Arizona Milk Marketing Order.

The gravamen of this lawsuit is that defendants, by their

monopolistic practices and their concerted activities in re-

straint of trade, have forced plaintiffs to divert their milk

from the Central Arizona Milk Market and to either dump

that milk, or sell it in other markets for a price lower than

the Central Arizona “blend” price.

Defendants’ themselves summarized their First Request for

Production of Documents as a request for:

A-57

“all documents which refer or relate to Piaintiffs’ busi-

ness and property. .. .” (Defendants’ First Request for

Production of Documents, page 3, lines 28-29).

Defendants followed the above quoted language with a litany

of every conceivable record which a business could possess.

Plaintiffs’ response was to provide defendants with the

records of every one of plaintiffs’ milk sales during the rele-

vant time period, thereby providing defendants with a clear

and concise record of (1) what plaintiffs were able to get for

the milk that they were able to sell in the Central Arizona

Milk Marketing Order, (2) what they were able to get for

their milk when they were forced to sell it elsewhere, and (3)

the amounts of milk sold in the Central Arizona Market and

elsewhere. In short, plaintiffs gave defendants everything

they would need to compute plaintiffs’ damages.

Defendants want more.

_ Defendants want, for the entire “period of time during

which plaintiffs have engaged in the business of the produc-

tion of milk in Arizona’, (Defendants’ First Request for Pro-

duction of Documents, p.3, 1.31, p.4, 11.1-3.) all of plaintiffs’

(1) financial accounting documents, (2) documents evidenc-

ing income and expenses, (3) banking records, (4) documents

evidencing production and disposition of milk (these were

provided), (5) tax records, (6) financial statements, (7) docu-

ments evidencing ownership of property and indebtedness,

and (8) other documents that reflect the type of information

contained in the foregoing documents.

1. Time Period. Defendants have failed even remotely to

suggest why they are entitled to all of plaintiffs’ financial

records for the entire period that plaintiffs have been in the

dairy business. Plaintiffs are only seeking damages for not

A-58

being able to sell all of their milk in Arizona from the early

70’s on. Plaintiffs do not claim that they were damaged by

defendants’ activities until the early 70’s and plaintiffs have

given defendants the records of all of their milk sales from

1968 to 1981.

2. Financial Accounting Documents, Documents Evidenc-

ing Income and Expenses, Banking Records, Tax Records,

Financial Statements and Other Records. Again, plaintiffs

are claiming that, because of defendants’ actions, instead of

receiving the Central Arizona Milk Marketing Order blend

price for all of their milk, plaintiffs had to sell their milk

elsewhere and therefore receive something less than that

blend price. The records produced to defendants reflect the

blend price received in Central Arizona, the lower than blend

prices received elsewhere, and the quantities of plaintiffs’

milk that received each price. Extraneous expenses, banking

records and financial statements are totally irrelevant.

Defendants’ strategy is, of course, transparent. Plaintiffs

own one of the only remaining dairies in the Central Arizona

Milk Marketing Order which is not a member of UDA. If the

LaSalvias give up these critical financial documents, defen-

dants will quickly ascertain how long the LaSalvias will be

able to sustain the financial burden of this lawsuit. Of even

greater concern will be defendants’ ability to further their

monopolistic scheme by applying financial pressure on the

LaSalvias’ creditors, suppliers and customers. In short, de-

fendants will be in a position to drive the last nail in the coffin

of one of the last independent dairymen in Arizona. All of

this in spite of the fact that the measure of damages for what

really amounts to a theft should be the value of the goods

stolen—not the value of the victim.

i ee he

A-59

3. Documents Evidencing Ownership of Property and In-

debtedness. '

This total irrelevancy and immateriality of this request is

clear on its face. What possible difference will plaintiffs debt

picture have to the issues involved in this lawsuit. When a

farmer’s cow is stolen from his pasture, is it relevant that the

pasture was mortgaged? More to the point, when milk is stolen

from the cow, is it relevant that the pasture is mortgaged?

B. REQUEST FOR A PROTECTIVE ORDER

Until defendants restricted their market, plaintiffs had one

of the most successful dairies in Arizona. Plaintiffs’ ability

to survive is a testament to their tenacity and business acumen.

Defendants would like nothing more than to have full rein to

explore plaintiffs’ records and to appropriate plaintiffs’ meth-

ods of doing business for their own use.

For the foregoing reasons, plaintiffs request that a protec-

tive order be entered limiting disclosure of any documents

produced to ‘endants’ attorneys and experts retained for

this case.

C. CONCLUSION

Defendants’ Motion to Compel seems superficially attrac-

tive. After all, this is an antitrust case and antitrust cases are

supposed to involve lots of documents. Upon closer examina-

tion, however, it is apparent this is not a typical antitrust

case. Defendants and plaintiffs sell a fungible product at a

governmentally controlled price. Defendants, through their

anticompetitive activities, have restricted plaintiffs’ ability

to sell that product for that price. The measure of damages is

simply the difference between the market price and the actual

price for the amount of plaintiffs’ milk that defendants ex-

cluded from the market. In view of the number and type of

documents requested and their total irrelevance to this case,

denial of defendants’ Motion is appropriate.

A-60

If the Court should decide to order the production of some

of the documents, it is imperative that a protective order be

entered limiting disclosure of plaintiffs’ documents to attor-

neys and their experts.

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED the 17th day of August,

1981.

SNELL & WILMER

By JOHN J. BOUMA

KENNETH D. NYMAN

3100 Valley Center

Phoenix, Arizona 85073

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

COPY of the foregoing mailed this 24th day of August,

1981, to:

David Wm. West

Harold J. Bliss, Jr.

WEST & BLISS, P.A.

4154 North 12th Street

Phoenix, Arizona 85014

Attorneys for Defendants

Jerri P. Forsythe

A-61

Law Offices

SNELL & WILMER

3100 Valley Bank Center

Phoenix, Arizona 85073

(602) 257-7211

TELEX 165088

May 8, 1981

BY HAND

Mr. Harold J. Bliss, Jr.

West & Bliss, P.A.

4154 North 12th Street

Phoenix, AZ 85014

Re: Jerome LaSalvia, et ux. v. UDA, et al.

Dear Hal:

At the end of our meeting in your offices on May 5th, I told

you that I would get back to you on any additional documents

which we would be willing to turn over in further response to

your First Request for Production. This letter represents our

response.

As you understand by now, the gravamen of our case is

that Jerome and Peggy LaSalvia were denied the opportunity

to sell all of their milk in this market by certain activities of

UDA which we regard as being in violation of the State and

Federal antitrust laws. They had to either sell that milk else-

where—for a lower price—or dump it. In support of that

theory, we supplied you with documents evidencing prices and

quantities of milk sold elsewhere. You can compute the dam-

ages by taking the difference between the Shamrock (blend)

price and the non-Shamrock price and multiplying the re-

mainder by the volume of milk either sold outside the market

or dumped.

As your April 9, 1981 letter correctly notes, we have also

accused UDA of increasing the LaSalvia’s costs of doing busi-

A-62

ness and increasing capital requirements. Because of the

expense involved in conducting a detailed damage study, we

are only claiming the cost of the new milk tank which Jerome

recently purchased from UDA in order to hold milk for out-

of-market or distress sales. And, of course, UDA has its own

records on how much Jerome paid it for that tank.

Your Request also asked for quality control test documenta-

tion. Although Jerome does keep a few records, they are not -

well organized, and it would be much easier for you to get

those records directly from the State Dairy Commission.

Jerome does not believe that he has any health records that

are not duplicated in the State Dairy Commission files, and

he hereby gives the UDA permission to copy any quality

control test results kept by the State Dairy Commission, on

the condition that he be allowed to copy the quality control

test results for all of the members of UDA.

You have requested documents concerning sales of cattle,

on the apparent, and correct, assumption that Jerome has

been forced to sell many producing cattle for beef because of

the absence of a market for his milk. However, he has elected

not to pursue this theory of damages, and will therefore not

claim the loss associated with the forced sale of those cattle

as beef in lieu of selling their milk.

I trust that the foregoing is satisfactory. If it is not, please

give me a call. :

Very truly yours,

SNELL & WILMER

KENNETH D. NYMAN

KDN ij)

A-63

LaSALVIA DAIRY

LOST INCOME ANALYSIS

Prepared by:

Frank K. Stuart & Associates

455 South 300 East, Suite 200

Salt Lake City, Utah 84111

Pl. Tr. 326

LIST OF SCHEDULES

Page

Section 1

1.1 LaSalvia Milk Shipments To Out-of-State

Consumers, 1974-1981 1-7

1.2 Calculation of LaSalvia’s Out-of-State

Sales, 1974-1981 8-20

1.8 Comparison of Amount Received by LaSalvia

1.4

1.5

1.6

1.7

1.8

1.9

for Out-of-State Milk Shipment With Amount

Available in State Under Federal Order 131,

1974-1981 21-24

Annual Summary of Comparisons For Out-of-

State Shipments LaSalvia Dairy, 1974-1981 25

Estimated Hauling Charges Incurred By

LaSalvia Dairy If Out-of-State Milk Was

Sold Within Order 131 Market Area 26

Estimated Market Administrative Charges

Incurred by LaSalvia if Out-of-State Milk

was Sold Within Order 131 Market Area 27

Loss On Out-of-State Shipments of Milk

LaSalvia Dairy, 1974-1981 28

Comparison of Production Shipped to

Handlers Under Order 131 and LaSalvia’s

Out-of-State Milk Shipments, 1974-1981 29-36

Uniform Producer Prices Under Federal

Order 131, 1974-June 1982 837

A-64

1.10 Butterfat Differentials Under Federal

Order 131, 1974-June 1982 38

Section 2

2.1 LaSalvia’s Sales To United Dairymen of

Arizona, 1981-1982 39

2.2 Calculation of LaSalvia’s Sales to

United Dairymen of Arizona, 1981-1982 40-41

2.3. Comparison of Amount Received by LaSalvia

For Sales to United Dairymen of Arizona

With Amount Available Under Federal Order

131, 1981-1982 42

2.4 Estimated Hauling Charges And Market

Administrative Charges Incurred by

LaSalvia for Milk Sold to United Dairymen \

of Arizona 43

2.5 Loss on Milk Sales to United Dairymen of

Arizona LaSalvia Dairy, 1981 and 1982 44

Section 3

3.1 Expansion of Cow Herd Assuming No

Supplemental Cow Purchases, 1965-1981 46

3.2 Comparison-of LaSalvia’s Actual Herd

Increase and Projected Herd with no

Supplemental Cow Purchases, 1965-1981 47

3.3 Comparison of LaSalvia’s Actual Herd Size

with Projected Herd Size, 1973-1981 50

3.4 Additional Cull Cow Sales LaSalvia Dairy,

1968-1981 51

3.5 Additional Bull Calve Sales LaSalvia

Dairy, 1974-1981 52

3.6 Lost Income Resulting From Lost Sales of

Cull Cows and Bull Calves LaSalvia Dairy,

1975-1981 53

A-65

3.7 Loss of Revenue Associated with Additional

Milk Sales and Additional Cull Cow and Bull

Calve Sales LaSalvia Dairy, 1974-1981

Section 4

4.1 Loss Of Additional Cattle LaSalvia Should

Have Had In 1981

Section 5

5.1 New Investment 1,200 Milking Cows (1,436

Milking Cows) With Replacements

5.2 Lost Value Of Plant And Equipment

LaSalvia Dairy

54

55

56

57

5.3 Depreciation Schedule 1,200 Milking Cows

With Replacements ;

5.4 Cost Of Plant And Equipment For Additional

Milking Cows 1974-1981

5.5 LaSalvia Dairy Actual And Projected Net

Income And Depreciation 1970-1981

5.6 Comparison Of LaSalvia Cashflow With Cost

Of Additional Plant And Equipment

Section 6

6.1 Sunshine Swiss Out-of-State Milk Diversions,

January-March 1980

Section 7

7.1 Cost Of Extra Tank And Extra Crates

Purchased

Summary Of Losses

58

59

60

61

62

64

A-66

it

oF ie

<i:

= -

me &

mS

D &

DM

Ore = OF SSZ "P62 SOTS OF OLO'T$ FO TZE'E 899F 080‘TS 0€/90/SL

oes —< Or'eco'z § 96°8Z9'E — ~—- 96'8Z9' — O8L'6h 62/90/¢L

Ogee — Ugp'oss‘s — — ¢8'08¢'E sti OZT‘6Pr L2/90/SL

cre =“ OS 6hF ‘9Z0'9 0668 O09 T9S LT'88¢°9 Cc6SF 006‘68 0€/F0/SL

cee — OL'PSZ ‘997°E rE0S O00ZFF 6E°80L'E 86SF OF6‘0S 0€/F0/SL

cre a i “TOTES = Oe F8z $ G6SShrES = €8E"Lr PI-€1/b0/FL

(OT) (6) (8) (2) (9) (g) (F) (g) (Z) (1)

(qUadJ8q ) (sae{[oq)

sasieyo asueyo IATeESPT ad1Alag 4sog anjeA dJequinn peddiyg peddiyus ajeg

quequ0g «=6eUuoTIIppy SJeipueH Ag peAlTesoy d/W uo1}e} 1219, sod10AUuy, spunog

yejlayng Auy ssa] unowy -1odsue.L [e1OL

SL6I-PL6I

SHAWNSNOO ALVLS-4O-LNO OL

mM

LNUWNdIHS MIIW VIATVS?I

A-67

SCHEDULE 1.3

Page 1 of 4

COMPARI

FO

WITH AMOUNT A

Total

Pounds

1974

January

February

March

April

May

June

July

August

September

October

November

December

Total 1974

1975

January

>

=

(Je)

&

i

al PEI dtl

rz

i)

on

g

9

5

<

| |

August —_

September os

October —

November —_—

December —

Total 1975 290,820

1974 and 1975

N OF AMOUNT RECEIVED BY LaSALVIA

OUT-OF-STATE MILK SHIPMENTS

AILABLE IN STATE UNDER FEDERAL ORDER 131

Amount Calculated

Received By Amount For Handler’s

LaSalvia LaSalvia Difference Charge

(Dollars) (3)

3)-(2)

(2) (3) (4) (5)

$ 3,161.29 $ 4,504.70 $1,343.41 a

$ 3,161.29 $ 4,504.70 $1,343.41 an

$ 9,292.96 $11,775.72 $2,482.76 $ 704.20

9,503.97 12,384.22 2,880.25 2,309.50

$18,796.93 $24,159.94 $5,363.01 $3,013.70

A-68

SCHEDULE 1.7

LOSS ON OUT-OF-STATE SHIPMENTS OF MILK

LaSALVIA DAIRY

1974-1981

Loss On

Out-Of-State

Milk Shipments

Difference Between Amount That LaSalvia __

Received And Calculated Revenue On

Out-Of-State Sales $324,379.33

Amount LaSalvia Paid To Shamrock And

Other Handlers 98,029.78

Less: Estimated Hauling And Administrative

Charges Incurred By LaSalvia If

Out-Of-State Milk Was Sold Within

Order 131 Market Area (30,300.00)

TOTAL ESTIMATED LOSS $392,109.11

— (Dollars) —

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.