Reply Brief — City of Irvine v. County of Orange

Supreme Court brief1987

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S,

i" FILED

fact 4

No. 86-1305 «MAR RE 96F

SOSKRH ESPANOL,

CLERK =

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

THE CITY OF IRVINE,

Petitioner,

vs.

COUNTY OF ORANGE, et al.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

PETITIONER’S REPLY BRIEF

AND SECOND SUPPLEMENTAL APPENDIX

McDERMOTT, WILL & EMERY

JOHN E. McDERMOTT’

ERICH R. LUSCHEI

Suite 600

2049 Century Park East

Los Angeles, CA 90067

(213) 2774110

Attorneys for Petitioner

*(Counsel of Record)

Lawyers Brief Service / Legal Publishers / (213) 383-4457 / (714) 720-1510

pe

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Fe I Re I He birsickceis de ctdarsitenccnsastuscessnasiviencs ii

I. RESPONDENTS’ RELIANCE ON NAACP

Wf get) i se” ig BS @ 4 0 SE l

SECOND SUPPLEMENTAL APPENDIX

FIRST AMENDED COMPLAINT,

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT,

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA,

PRR cenet PRUNE Bly BUD snssivassisnsnscacsndsassnestionseses A-1

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases

Legal Aid Society of Alameda County v. Dunlop

GIS FAG SB CO Cee Pee iitsteeetiereeacsasi 3

NAACP v. New York

SiS WB. BRS: CE ae siicrciassnatdesrnencneten: i 2

United Airlines, Inc. v. McDonald

4352 US. SF COR ee coi attatsirenttacnenaia eects 3

Federal Statutes

28 UB. & GBF acc ccinciscceatenoaecnneanemaeeanaumeaind ante 3

Rules

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure Rule 24 .......0..........00.. io

supreme Conant Tae DAG sicseissiencctsnssadscsboniacincsnnssmermcnnacs 3

peng Chaart Te SIRF ssiicactiscasn secon dernansnescsevdsaaisesors 3

——_ ™

No. 86-1305

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term 1986

THE CITY OF IRVINE,

Petitioner,

VS.

COUNTY OF ORANGE, et al.,

Respondents.

PETITIONER’S REPLY BRIEF

AND SECOND SUPPLEMENTAL APPENDIX

I. RESPONDENTS’ RELIANCE ON NAACP

V. NEW YORK IS MISPLACED

On the timeliness of Irvine’s motion to intervene,

respondents contend that the lower court rulings in this

case fall squarely within the parameters of NAACP v. New

York, 413 U.S. 345 (1973). Nothing could be furtner from

the truth. This case presents distinct facts from NAACP

which have not been addressed definitively by this or any

other court and warrant review by this Court to clarify the

construction and application of Fed. R. Civ. P., Rule 24.

When this litigation began, it was only about the

expansion of John Wayne Airport. El Toro MCAS was not

in any way the subject of the lawsuit, nor was the County’s

resilution opposing commercial use of El Toro MCAS.

Irvine, relying on that resolution, felt comfortable that its

sister city Newport Beach would adequately protect its

interests in the John Wayne Airport litigation.

Under respondents’ reading of NAACP, Irvine should

have known that this litigation might be settled and should

have taken affirmative steps to protect its interests. But

settled in what manner? Irvine may have had reason to

expect that litigation affecting the expansion of John

Wayne Airport, which is all that the County’s suit was

about, could be settled. Yet it never imagined, nor had any

reason to suppose, that the litigation might be settled on the

condition that the County of Orange repeal a resolution

Opposing commercial development of El Toro MCAS, an

entirely separate airport which never was the subject of the

County’s suit. Expecting Irvine to anticipate such an

outcome is not only unreasonable but would turn NAACP

on its ear and produce a harsh and unfair result never

intended by this Court in NAACP.

Denial of Irvine’s motion to intervene for lack of

timeliness also punishes the wrong party. It rewards the

County for its failure, either in its complaint or prior to the

Settlement Agreement, to notify the one party most

affected by the repeal of its resolution opposing commercial

use of El Toro — The City of Irvine, in whose sphere of

interest El Toro is located. It punishes Irvine for its reliance

on the County’s complaint and the County’s resolution

opposing commercial use of El Toro MCAS.

NAACP is simply not applicable because the terms of the

consent decree there did not exceed the issues raised by the

complaint. The only equitable solution to the application of

the timeliness standard to motions to intervene is that the

complaint should govern the scope of the issues Irvine

should have known might be settled. As to any other issues,

timeliness should be judged according to “when the

intervenor became aware that its interest would no longer

be protected by the parties.” Legal Aid Society of Alameda

County v. Dunlop, 618 F.2d 48, 50 (9th Cir. 1980) (citing

United Airlines, Inc. v. McDonald, 432 U.S. 385, 394

(1977)).

In this case, the complaint makes no mention of El Toro

MCAS; it concerns itself solely with the proposed expansion

of John Wayne Airport. See Petitioner’s Reply Brief,

Second Supplemental Appendix. The record is clear that,

notwithstanding publicity about the possibility of

settlement, Irvine did not learn of the repeal of the

County’s resolution opposing commercial use of El Toro

until the settlement was announced, at which point it acted

expeditiously to intervene. The Court should accept this

case for hearing because of the lack of clarity about the

scope of NAACP, the need to harmonize its decisions in

NAACP and McDonald and to resolve an important dispute

over the correct construction and interpretation of Fed. R.

Civ. P., Rule 24.!

| For these same reasons, respondents’ request for sanctions pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. § 1927 and Supreme Court Rules 49.2 and 50.7 is wholly

inappropriate. Those provisions only apply to frivolous appeals.

Respondents’ characterization of Irvine’s inferences regarding the

County’s intentions toward El Toro MCAS is intemperate (Respondent's

Brief at 7 n.3), has nothing to do with the issue of timeliness which is the

subject of this petition and thus is not a basis for an award of sanctions.

Irvine made no “misrepresentations,” only its own inferences and

opinions which counsel made clear to the Court were inferences in a

letter following the petition. Respondents’ Brief, Supplemental Appendix

at 26a. Irvine continues to believe those inferences are fair to make in

view of the County’s failure even to notify or consult with Irvine before

rescindng its resolution opposing commercial use of El Toro.

NAACP is distinguishable in another respect. Had

intervention been permitted in NAACP, a city election

would have been affected. 413 U.S. at 368-69. No such

palpable prejudice is present here. Irvine merely wishes to

be placed in the same position it would have been in had the

County been straightforward from the outset about its

intention regarding El Toro, or advised Irvine before the

Settlement Agreement that it was considering the repeal of

its resolution Opposing commercial use of El Toro.

Dated: March 12, 1987

Respectfully Submitted,

McDERMOTT, WILL & EMERY

JOHN E. McDERMOTT

(Counsel of Record)

ERICH R. LUSCHEI

APPENDIX A

a et ee

Gatzke, Lodge & Mispagel

Michael Scott Gatzke*

Mark J. Dillon

2890 Pio Pi.» Drive, Ste. E

P.O. Box 1636

Carlsbad, CA 92088

(619)-729-2304

*A Professional Corporation

Adrian Kuyper, County Counsel

Daniel J. Didier, Deputy County Counsel

Office of the County Counsel

10 Civic Center Plaza

P. O. Box 1379

Santa Ana, California 92702

(714) 834-3300

Attorneys for Plaintiff, the County of Orange

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

No. CV 85-1542 TJH (MCx)

FIRST AMENDED COMPLAINT

FILED

March 15, 1985

CLERK, U.S. DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

BY DEPUTY

a o.oo

COUNTY OF ORANGE,

Plaintiff,

v.

AIR CALIFORNIA, AMERICAN AIRLINES,

AMERICA WEST AIRLINES, CONTINENTAL AIR

LINES, INC., FRONTIER AIRLINES, INC., JET

AMERICA, PACIFIC SOUTHWEST AIRLINES,

REPUBLIC AIRLINES, INC., WESTERN AIR

LINES, INC., ALASKA AIRLINES, INC., MUSE

AIR CORPORATION, TRANS WORLD AIRLINES,

INC., UNITED AIRLINES, INC., FEDERAL

AVIATION ADMINISTRATION, McDONNELL

DOUGLAS CORPORATION, CITY OF NEWPORT

BEACH, STOP POLLUTING OUR NEWPORT

CORPORATION, AIRPORT WORKING GROUP

OF ORANGE COUNTY, INC., DOES 1 THROUGH

1,000, INCLUSIVE,

Defendants

Amending its Complaint as a matter of right, Plaintiff,

the County of Orange, a political subdivision of the State of

California, for its First Amended Complaint (“Complaint”),

alleges:

NATURE OF THE CASE,

JURISDICTION AND VENUE

1. This is an action for declaratory relief in respect of

controversies arising under the United States Constitution

(the Supremacy Clause, Art. VI, cl. 2; and the Commerce

Clause, Art. I, §8, cl. 3); the Federal Aviation Act of 1958,

as amended, 49 U.S.C. §1301 et seq. (including amend-

ments made by the Airline Deregulation Act of 1978); the

Airport and Airway Development Act of 1970, former 49

on

U.S.C. §1701 et seq.; the Aviation Safety and Noise

Abatement Act of 1979, 49 U.S.C. §2101 et seq.; the

Airport and Airway Improvement Act of 1982, 49 U.S.C.

§2201 et seqg.; the National Environmental Policy Act of

1969 (“NEPA”), as amended, 28 U.S.C. §4321 et seq.; and

regulations and orders of the Federal Aviation administra-

tion in implementation and enforcement of those acts.

Plaintiff is the proprietor of John Wayne Airport, Orange

County (“JWA”), a commercial air carrier airport located

in Orange county. As alleged below, plaintiff has recently

taken a series of discretionary legislative actions in respect

of use and regulation of john Wayne Airport. These actions

have created substantial interrelated controversies between

and among the parties. A prompt judicial resolution of all

of these controversies is necessary to allow the plaintiff to

discharge promptly and efficiently its public responsibilities

as the proprietor of JWA. These inevitably interrelated

controversies are complex, and this action is brought to

afford all interested and affected parties an opportunity to

litigate their respective and related claims in a single forum.

2. Jurisdiction of this Court is proper by virtue of 28

U.S.C. §1331, because this is a civil action arising under the

Constitution and the laws of the United States; and under

28 U.S.C. §1337 because this action arises under Acts of

Congress regulating commerce.

3. Plaintiff additionally invokes the pendent (and

ancillary) jurisdiction of this Court in respect of related

state law claims under the California Environmental

Quality Act (Public Resources Code §21000 ef seq.

(“CEQA”), and the implementing regulations, the State

CEQA Guidelines (14 Cal.Admin.Code §15000 ef seq.

(“the Guidelines”}). These State law claims are inevitably

related to, and affected by the federal issues rasied in this

complaint. The exercise of pendent jurisdiction by this

Court is necessary to afford complete relief among the

parties and to avoid a multiplicity of actions which would

otherwise threaten plaintiff with potentially inconsistent

adjudications of related issues, and the possible imposition

of inconsistent obligations on plaintiff.

4. Venue is proper in this District by virtue of 28 U.S.C.

§ 1391(b), in that the cause of action arose in this District.

5S. The relief sought in this action is a declaratory

judgment under 28 U.S.C. §§2201 and 2202, declaring the

rights, obligations and legal relations of the parties which

are in controversy; and such preliminary and permanent

injunctive relief and orders as may be necessary to permit a

meaningful and complete adjudication of the issues, and the

enforcement of the decisions of this Court.

THE PARTIES

The Plaintiff.

6. Plaintiff, the County of Orange (‘the County”), is a

political subdivision of the State of California. Under the

authority of California law, the County is the proprietor

and landlord of John Wayne Airport, Orange County

(“IJWA”’).

The Airline Defendants.

The ‘‘Authorized Air Carriers”

7. The County is informed and believes, and on that

ground alleges that defendant Air California (“AirCal”) is a

a

corporation, and a federally certificated air carrier

authorized to do business in the State of California.

8. The County is informed and believes, and on that

ground alleges that defendant American Airlines, Inc.

(“‘American’’) is a corporation, and a federally certificated

air carrier authorized to do business in the State of

California.

9. The County is informed and believes, and on that

ground alleges that defendant America West Airlines,

(‘America West”) is a corporation, and a federally

certificated air carrier authorized to do business in the State

of California.

10. The County is informed and believes, and on that

ground alleges that defendant Continental Air Lines, Inc.

(“Continental”) is a corporation, and a federally certificated

air carrier authorized to do business in the State of

California.

11. The County is informed and believes, and on that

ground alleges that defendant Frontier Airlines, Inc.

(‘‘Frontier’’) is a corporation, and a federally certificated air

carrier authorized to do business in the State of California.

12. The County is informed and believes, and on that

ground alleges that defendant Jet America (“Jet America’’)

is a corporation, and a federally certificated air carrier

authorized to do business in the State of California.

13. The County is informed and believes, and on that

ground alleges that defendant Pacific Southwest Airlines

(‘‘PSA”’) is a corporation, and a federally certificated air

carrier authorized to do business in the State of California.

14. The County is informed and believes, and on that

ground alleges that defendant Republic Airlines, Inc.

(“Republic”) is a corporation, and a federally certificated

air carrier authorized to do business in the State of

California.

15. The County is informed and believes, and on that

ground alleges that defendant Western Air Lines, Inc.

(‘‘Western”’) is a corporation, and a federally certificated air

carrier authorized to do business in the State of California.

16. AirCal, American, Frontier, PSA, Republic and

Western are currently regulated commercial operators

authorized by the County to do business at JWA. By action

on February 26, 1985, the County Board of Supervisors

authorized its staff to negotiate operating agreements,

leases, or any other necessary documents with America

West, Continental and Jet America for regulated commer-

cial service at JWA. None of these defendants have

consented to be named in this action. In the remainder of

this complaint, these nine defendants are _ occasion-

ally referred to collectively as ‘the Authorized Air

Carriers.” America West, Continental and Jet America are

occasionally referred to collectively as “the New Entrant

Air Carriers.”

The “Waiting List Air Carriers”

17. The County is informed and believes, and on that

ground alleges that defendant Alaska Airlines, Inc.

(“‘Alaska”’) is a corporation, and a federally certificated air

carrier authorized to do business in the State of California.

18. The County is informed and believes, and on that

ground alleges that defendant Muse Air Corporation

(“‘Muse”) is a corporation, and a federally certificated air

carrier authorized to do business in the State of California.

19. The County is informed and believes, and on that

ground alleges that defendant Trans World Airlines, Inc.

(“TWA”) is a corporation, and a federally certificated air

carrier authorized to do business in the State of California.

anne fio § mute

20. The County is informed and believes, and on that

ground alleges that defendant United Airlines, Inc.

(“United”) is a corporation, and a federally certificated air

carrier authorized to do business in the State of California.

21. Alaska, Muse, TWA and United are potential

regulated commercial operators which have requested

permission to commence operations at JWA. Pursuant to

County policy and regulation, these carriers have been

placed on a waiting list from which new air carriers may be

selected to commence operations at JWA under certain

circumstances and conditions. They are not currently

authorized to engage in scheduled operations at JWA. In

the remainder of this complaint, these four defendants are

occasionally referred to collectively as “the Waiting List

Air Carriers.”

Other Defendants.

22. The Federal Aviation Administration (““FAA”’) is an

agency of the United States Department of Transportation

(“DOT”). Pursuant to direct statutory authority and

regulatory delegation by DOT, FAA has extensive

regulatory authority over various civil aviation matters in

the United States by virtue of the Federal Aviation Act of

1958, as amended, 49 U.S.C. §1301 et seq. (“the 1958 Act”),

and Title 14 of the Code of Federal Regulations. FAA has

not consented to be named as a party to this action.

23. The County is informed and believes, and on that

ground alleges that defendant McDonnell Douglas Corpo-

ration (“MDC”) is a corporation which, among other

things, engages in the manufacture and sale of commercial

aircraft, including the McDonnell Douglas MD-80 and

related versions of the MD-80 aircraft.

24. The City of Newport Beach (‘“‘Newport Beach” or

“the City’’) is a municipal corporation under the laws of the

State of California, and is located within the County of

Orange, California in an area generally to the south of

IWA.

25. Stop Polluting Our Newport Corporation (“SPON”)

is a California corporation. The Plainti‘f is informed and

believes, and on that ground alleges that SPON purports to

represent persons residing in Newport Beach in expressing

their views concerning various local environmental matters,

including environmental issues relating to JWA.

26. The County is informed and believes, and on that

ground alleges that Airport Working Group of Orange

County, Inc. (“AWG”) is a California corporation; that

AWG is a coalition of various organizations generally

opposed to any increase in operations at JWA or other

expansion of the airport; and that these groups and

organizations represent various residents in Newport Beach

and other areas to the south of JWA through AWG in their

opposition to JWA operations.

27. Doe Defendants 1 through 1000, inclusive, are

persons interested in the subject matter of this action, in

whole or in part, and who take positions in respect of one or

more of the controversies alleged in this complaint contrary

and adverse to the positions of the plaintiff. Plaintiff is

presently unaware of the actual identities of such persons,

and therefore names them in this action by their respective

fictitious names.

Background

John Wayne Airport

28. John Wayne Airport, Orange County is an airport

serving commercial air carriers offering regularly sched-

uled passenger service to and from other airports in the

United States. JWA is an element of the National Air

Transportation System, and has been certificated by FAA

under the provisions of 14 C.F.R. Part 139. JWA is also

certificated as a commercial airport by the State of

California.

29. JWA is the only commercial air carrier airport in

Orange County. Because of substantial existing facility

limitations and constraints, and because of regulations

adopted by the County for environmental and other

purposes, JWA presently serves only a portion of the

existing demand for air transportation services in Orange

County. That portion of the demand not served in Orange

County must be served by other commercial air carrier

airports in Southern California.

30. The County has received grants of federal funds for

the development and improvement of airport facilities at

JWA under the Airport and Airway Development Act of

1970 (“the 1970 Act”). In accepting such funds, the County

entered into written contracts with the FAA (acting on

behalf of the United States), as provided and required by

the 1970 Act.

31. Since at least 1972, the County has regulated the

scope and nature of certain uses of JWA by the public aiid

by commercial air carriers. This regulation has been

undertaken in the sound exercise of the County’s legislative

discretion to control noise and other environmental effects

—A-10—

of aircraft operations at JWA, and for other purposes. In

engaging in such regulation, the County has been exercising

its federally authorized proprietor rights to regulate JWA

for the purpose of controlling its potential litigation

exposure to persons who might claim that the operation of

JWA has taken or damaged their property, or caused them

bodily injury. The County is currently a defendant in such

damage actions now pending in the Orange County

Superior Court and has been a defendant in other similar

actions in the past.

In adopting such regulations, the County has also been

acting within its authority as the proprietor of JWA to

regulate airport use in a manner which strikes an

appropriate balance between local needs for air transporta-

tion services and the potential environmental consequences

of air transportation activities at JWA.

32. Among other regulations, since 1972, the County has

limited the permissible number of average daily departures

(“ADDs”) by regularly scheduled commercial operators

operating relatively noisier types of aircraft. Although the

form of this regulation has been expressed in various terms

since 1972, the substance of the regulation remained

essentially the same between 1972 and 1982. Since 1972 the

maximum permitted level of ADDs at JWA has been 41

ADD.

33. On March 17, 1982, the County adopted its

commercial airline access plan for JWA (“the March, 1982

Plan.”) The March, 1982 plan regulated ADDs essentially

as follows:

(a) “Class B” ADDs were defined by noise and weight

limitations. The types of commercial jet aircraft which had

historically used JWA, such as the B737-200 and DC-9-

10/ 30, were Class B aircraft;

eieceeceeaemenaeeacnaanaeniaaanitiiiiaiiaianiaiiaiaee enamel

—A-li—

(b) “Class A” ADDs were aircraft defined by noise and

weight limitations. The permissible levels of noise for ““Class

A” aircraft were lower than for “Class B” aircraft. The

MD-80 is one aircraft which qualified as “Class A”

aircraft; and

(c) ADDs were to be reallocated during the two year

period of the plan (June 1, 1982 to May 31, 1984) on a

quarterly basis to afford additional operational opportun-

ities for various air carriers, with preference in reallocation

given to Class A ADDs.

34. On July 18, 1983, the Airport Manager of JWA

presented to the Board of Supervisors the report and results

of a study authorized by the Board regarding the capacity

and limitations on the use of existing facilities at JWA by

commercial air carriers. (John Wayne Airport Facilities

Capacity Study [“the Facilities Capacity Study”]). This

study was prepared by an independent consultant, and

concluded that the existing facilities at JWA were not

reasonably capable of accommodating more than five

commercial air carriers. Six commercial carriers were then

serving JWA.

35. Because of the matters disclosed and confirmed by

the Facilities Capacity Study, the Board of Supervisors, by

their Resolution No. 83-1556 (October 19, 1983), limited the

permitted number of commercial carriers at JWA to six.

This action was confirmed and extended on May 30, 1984

by Board Resolution No. 84-846. In Resolution No. 83-

1556, and as confirmed by subsequent action of the Board

of Supervisors, the Airport Manager of JWA was directed

to maintain a “waiting list” of persons desiring to

commence regularly scheduled commercial air carrier

service at JWA, with the anticipation that if new entry

opportunities became available at JWA for such operators,

—A-12—

they would be selected from (and in the order of) the

waiting list during the period of the Interim Plan alleged in

the following paragraph.

36. On May 30, 1984, the County, by Board Resolution

No. 84-846, also adopted an interim access plan and

regulation (“the Interim Plan”) which, by subsequent

actions, has been extended to March 31, 1985. The Interim

Plan precludes operations at JWA by regularly scheduled

commercial air carriers using aircraft noisier than the

County’s definition of Class A aircraft.

37. Historically, the County has regulated operations

(ADDs) by regularly scheduled commercial operators using

aircraft which generated more than 89.5 dB SENEL at any

of the monitoring stations of the County’s noise monitoring

system located to the south of the airport, the direction of

operation for the vast majority of aircraft departures at

JWA. In Resolution No. 84-579, and by subsequent actions

extending the limitation to March 31, 1985, the County

temporarily lowered this regulatory threshold to 86.0 dB

SENEL because of its desire to ensure continuing

regulatory control over commercial air carrier operations

while the County completed EIR 508 and the CEQA

process on the proposed project alleged and described

below.

The Airport Project

38. On February 26, 1985, the County took final action

to approve and adopt a project for JWA which, among

other things: (1) increased the permitted number of ADDs;

(2) created two classes of regulated commercial aircraft

(“Class A” and “Class AA”) with certain regulatory

preferences given to the quieter Class AA aircraft; (3)

—A-13—

authorized the entry of three additional regulated

commercial air carriers into service at JWA, selected in

order from the Airport Manager’s waiting list; and (4)

provided for facilities improvements at JWA (including a

new passenger terminal) and various land use actions in

connection with the project approval of an increase in the

authorized number of ADDs at JWA. These actions are

sometimes referred to in this complaint for convenience as

“the Airport project.” For purposes of this action (and for

purposes of CEQA), the project approved by the Board of

Supervisors is described more precisely and in greater detail

in Board Resolution Nos. 85-255 to 85-260 (all adopted on

February 26, 1985) and the documents referred to in those

resolutions.

39. The adoption of the Airport project was the

culmination of a 15 month effort by the County to address

both the future of the use of JWA through the year 2005,

and the critical and controversial issues relating to the

regulation of the airport. These issues affect both federal

and local interests. Because of the requirements of CEQA,

this planning effort and evaluation occurred in the context

of the CEQA environmental process. The evaluation of

possible airport regulations and restrictions was an element

of EIR 508, prepared for the Airport project, and was

undertaken in the context of possible mitigation measures

which the County might adopt in connection with the EIR

508 project.

40. The Airport project began in December, 1982. At

that time, the County’s Environmental Management

Agency (“EMA”) and the Airport Manager’s Office

prepared a report for the Orange County Board of

Supervisors which described a coordinated approach for the

—

preparation of documentation to critically evaluate future

operations and development at JWA.

41. On December 15, 1982, the Board of Supervisors

considered and approved the coordinated approach

developed by the EMA and the JWA staff. By Board

Minute Order, the Board directed staff to begin a study

concerning the land use and environmental impacts

associated with possible increases in authorized levels of

regulated operations, associated development of JWA, and

possible actions which might be taken in surrounding

residential areas to enhance their compatibility with airport

activities. County staff was instructed to report back to the

Board within 90 days with recommendations for the Board’s

selection of a proposed project for planning and for CEQA

evaluation.

42. At its meeting on April 13, 1983, the Board passed

Resolution No. 83-547 formally adopting a proposed project

for JWA. This project was defined as a two-phased increase

in Class A ADDs and a master plan for related airport

facilities improvements, together with a land use compatibil-

ity plan (““LUCP”’). The phasing of the ADD increases was

defined as an immediate increase from 41 ADD to 55 Class

ADD (“Phase I”), with a further increase to 73 Class A

ADD upon completion of the associated airport facilities

improvements (“‘Phase II’’). The Board also directed that

staff prepare (with the assistance of consultants later

approved by the Board) a project EIR. This EIR became

County EIR 508.

43. The County also coordinated with FAA in order to

allow EIR 508 to also be circulated and considered by FAA

as an Environmental Impact Statement (“EIS”) prepared

under the National Environmental Policy Act (“NEPA”).

FAA is currently considering EIR/EIS 508 in connection

—A-15—

with various regulatory responsibilities which it has in

respect of JWA and the Airport Project.

44. During the preparation of EIR/EIS 508, the County

consulted with FAA to discuss issues relating to airport

regulation and airline access at JWA. FAA and the County

(together with various other parties) had been engaged in

litigation in this Court on such issues in the past (e.g. PSA et

al., etc. v. County of Orange, et al., C.D. Cal Civ. No. 81-

3248-TJH (Gx) and American Airlines, Inc. v. County of

Orange, et al., C.D. Cal. Civ. No. 83-294-TJH (JRx)). Both

FAA and the County desired to avoid future litigation

between them and to reach an understanding accommo-

dating both legitimate federal and local interests. To that

end, the County advised FAA of the environmental and

planning processes it was undertaking, and sought input

from FAA regarding its views on how the County might

regulate JWA (if the airport project were adopted) in a

manner consistent with any statutory or contractual

obligations the County might have to FAA or to the United

States. FAA, recognizing the serious existing facilities

constraints at JWA, and the legitimate concerns of the

community and of existing airport users, provided its

opinions, which were reflected in EIR/EIS 508. The views

of FAA were evaluated in EIR 508 and incorporated into

possible regulatory actions by the County which were

considered by the County as a possible mitigation measure

which might be adopted in connection with the Airport

project.

45. On July 13, 1984, “Draft Environmental Impact

Report 508 and Draft Environmental Impact Statement

508 for the John Wayne Airport Master Plan and the Santa

Ana Heights Land Use Compatibility Program” (“DEIR

508’”) was completed and submitted to the County and to

—

FAA. On that same date, the County’s EMA prepared and

filed a Notice of Completion of DEIR 508 and circulated

DEIR 508 for public review and comment.

46. The public review and comment period for DEIR

508 began on July 13, 1984, and was scheduled to end on

August 27, 1984. On August 14, 1984, the City of Newport

Beach requested in writing that the public review and

comment period for DEIR 508 be extended from August

27, 1984 until September 11, 1984. On August 22, 1984, the

Board of Supervisors authorized the extension of time in

which to provide comments to DEIR 508 requested by the

City.

47. In considering a project increase to 55 Class A ADDs

(Phase I), and in light of the need to adopt a new

commercial airline access plan, DEIR 508 discussed at

length various alternative access plans which might be

adopted as mitigation measures for the proposed project.

The subject of airline access and airport regulation at JWA,

as considered in DEIR 508, received extensive written

comments by the City, SPON, AWG, MCD and various of

the Airline Defendants. The City, SPON and AWG, in

particular, contended in their comments that the County

could not legitimately define the proposed project as an

increase in authorized ADDs because, among other reasons,

the County might lack authority to regulate airport

operations at JWA. These defendants therefore contended

that the DEIR was inadequate and incomplete under

CEQA and that the County was unable to legally approve

an increase in regulated operations at JWA.

At the same time, these defendants contended that DEIR

508 failed to adequately evaluate additional airport

regulations which might be adopted by the County in

mitigation of the proposed project.

a ae

48. Following public review and comment, the County

reveiwed the written comments to DEIR 508 and prepared

written responses to those comments. The County also

made significant revisions and additions to DEIR 508 in

response to the public comments, including the

identification of additional access plan alternatives which

might be adopted as mitigation measures for the project.

Revised Draft EIR/EIS 508 (“RDEIR 508”), which

consisted of DEIR 508, as amended (Volumes 1 and 2) and

the public comments and staff responses (Volume 3), was

then recirculated for public review and comment from

November 13, 1984 to December 27, 1984.

49. Following public review and comment on RDEIR

508, the County evaluated the comments received from

interested persons on the revised draft EIR and prepared

written responses to those comments (Final EIR 508,

Volume 4). ;

50. Between November 20, 1984 and January 23, 1985,

the Orange County Planning Commission and the Orange

County Airport Commission held approximately nine

public hearings, and accepted written and oral comments

from the public on the RDEIR and the proposed project.

After receiving this additional input, and having considered

RDEIR 508 and the comments and responses to the

RDEIR, both commissions made their recommendations to

the Board of Supervisors that the EIR be certified as

adequate and complete, and made their respective

recommendations regarding the proposed project.

51. On January 30, 1985, the Orange County Board of

Supervisors considered the proposed project and EIR S08.

At that time, the Board tentatively approved and certified

the EIR, subject to preparation of final findings and their

adoption by the Board, and selected a project authorizing a

—A-18—

phased increase in regulated ADDs, mitigated by various

regulatory and other measures. The Board also tentatively

approved construction of various specified airport improve-

ments in connection with the authorized increase in

regulated flights. The Board then continued the matter to

February 13, 1985 to further consider the land use elements

of the project, and to allow preparation of proposed

findings for their consideration and approval.

52. On February 13, 1985, the Board held a public

meeting at which they decided to seek further input on the

land use (LUCP) elements of the project from the Planning

Commission, and continued their deliberation on the project

to February 26, 1985.

53. On February 26, 1985, the Board took final action by

various resolutions to approve and implement the Airport

project. Specifically:

(a) Resolution No. 85-255 certified EIR 508 as adequate

and complete under applicable provisions of CEQA;

(b) Resolution No. 85-256 approved a master plan for

facilities improvements at JWA and authorized various

other implementing actions by County staff;

(c) Resolution No. 85-257 approved a land use plan

(“LUCP”) for areas generally south of JWA designed to

enhance their compatibility with JWA;

(d) Resolution No. 85-258 approved a land use element

action in connection with the LUCP;

(e) Resolution No. 85-259 adopted a Commercial Airline

Access Plan and Regulation for JWA for the period April 1,

1985 to March 31, 1990 (“‘the 1985 Access Plan”’); and

(f) Resolution No. 85-260 made related findings

overriding determinations of the Airport Land Use

Commission as provided for by California law.

—A-19—

54. The 1985 Access Plan was adopted by the County to

serve a number of important purposes. The Plan

implemented the project decision approved by the Board of

Supervisors in the certification of EIR 508, including an

increase from 41 ADD to 55 ADD on April 1, 1985 and the

authorization of three additional carriers to commence

service at JWA on that date. It also represented the next

step in the County’s longstanding policy of attempting to

provide a reasonable level of air transportation service to

the Orange County community, while achieving even

further gains, in addition to those already realized by past

County policies, in reducing aircraft noise in areas

surrounding JWA. The plan also was effectively a

compromise with the FAA in recognition of federal

interests and concerns regarding airport access, while

simultaneously reflecting recognition of realistic and

practical limitations on the use of JWA during Phase I of

the Airport project, and the legitimate interests and

concerns of the local community.

55. Pursuant to Public Resources Code §21152(a), a

Notice of Determination was filed by the County with the

County Clerk on March 5, 1985. The filing and posting of

the Notice of Determination had the effect of starting a 30-

day statute of limitations on court challenges to the

approval of the project under CEQA (Public Resources

Code §21167(c); Guidelines § 15094(d)).

56. The County is informed and believes, and on that

ground alleges that in adopting the 1985 Access Plan, it met

the concerns and objectives of FAA in respect of airport

access, and struck a reasonable balance between the

multitude of competing interests.

57. During the CEQA process, and in public comments

made shortly thereafter, various parties to this action

—A-20—

indicated or stated their intent to initiate various legal

actions against the County in various courts in respect of

actions which the County took in approving the Airport

project. The County is informed and believes, and on that

ground alleges, that:

(a) SPON and the AWG intend to initiate an action

actions in the Orange County Superior Court challenging

the Airport project decisions of the County on CEQA

grounds, and in such action or actions, they do not intend to

bring before the Court all of the parties and related issues

raised by this Complaint;

_ (b) Newport Beach is considering initiating an action or

actions in the Orange County Superior Court challenging

the Airport project decisions of the County on CEQA

grounds and that if such actions are initiated, the City

would not intend to bring before the Court all of the parties

and related issues raised by this Complaint;

(c) McDonnell Douglas intends to initiate action in this

federal court challenging certain of the County’s Airport

project decisions on federal statutory and constitutional

grounds, and that if such actions are initiated, MCD would

not intend to bring before the Court all of the parties and

related issues raised by this Complaint;

(d) The Waiting List Air Carriers intend to initiate an

action or actions in this federal court challenging certain of

the County’s Airport project decisions on federal statutory

and constitutional grounds, and that if such actions are

initiated, the Waiting List Air Carriers would not intend to

bring before the Court all of the parties and related issues

raised by this Complaint; and

(e) That each of the parties to this action is interested in,

and would to some degree be affected by the decision of a

court on each and every issue and controversy alleged in

—A-21—

this Complaint, or any other issues which any of the parties

might raise regarding the County’s Airport project

decisions by way of response to this Complaint.

FIRST CAUSE OF ACTION

(Declaratory Relief)

58. Plaintiff incorporates by this reference the allega-

tions of paragraphs 1 through 57 of this complaint.

59. An actual controversy has arisen between and among

the parties to this action regarding their respective rights,

and obligations, and a declaration of such rights, duties and

obligations by this Court is necessary to resolve this

controversy. Specifically, the County is informed and

believes that MCD, American, and Republic contend that

provisions of the 1985 Access Plan which give certain

regulatory preferences at JWA to commercial aircraft

quieter than the McDonnell Douglas MD-80 are illegal and

unconstitutional in that:

(a) Such provisions are unjustly discriminatory in

violation of obligations of the County under its grant

agreements with FAA and related provisions of the Airport

and Airway Development Act of 1970;

(b) Such provisions are preempted and in violation of the

Supremacy Clause because they have been preempted by

regulatory action of FAA under the Federal Aviation Act

of 1958 in regulations adopted by FAA under 14 C.F.R.

Parts 36 and 91; and

(c) Such provisions violate Section 105 (a)(1) of the

Airline Deregulation Act of 1978 (amending the 1958 Act),

49 U.S.C. §1305 (a)(1).

60. The County contends that its actions in adopting the

1985 Access Plan are legal and constitutional. The County

von

further contends that the defendants named in paragraph

59 have no standing or right of action under federal law to

challenge the County’s actions. The County further

coniends that its actions as alleged are reasonable and

legitimate exercises of authority by an airport proprietor

and that, under all of the circumstances, they constitute a

reasonable accommodation between legitimate federal and

local interests. The County further contends that its actions

significantly reduce its potential exposure to noise related

damage suits which might otherwise arise out of the

operation of JWA and the implementation of the Airport

project.

61. The County is informed and believes, and on that

ground alleges that FAA would contend that the position of

the County alleged in paragraph 60, is correct.

62. The County is further informed and believes that

Newport Beach, SPON, AWG, PSA, Air Cal, Western and

America West also contend that the provisions of the 1985

Access Plan at issue in this cause of action are legitimate

and lawful exercises of proprietor authority.

63. A declaration of the rights and obligations of the

parties is necessary in order to allow a meaningful

implementation of the 1985 Access plan and realization of

the environmentally mitigating effects of the regulations at

issue in this cause of action.

SECOND CAUSE OF ACTION

(Declaratory Relief)

64. Plaintiff incorporates by this reference the allega-

tions of paragraphs 1 through 57 of this complaint.

65. An actual controversy has arisen between and

among the parties to this action regarding their respective

—A-23—

rights, duties and obligations, and a declaration of such

rights, duties and obligations by this Court is necessary to

resolve this controversy. Specificaliy, the County is

informed and believes that the Waiting List Air Carrier

defendants contend that the decision of the County in

connection with its certification of EIR 508 and adoption of

the Airport Project, and its adoption of the 1985 Access

Plan provisions allowing entry into service at JWA project

by three additional air carriers during Phase I of the

Airport project selected by the order in which their names

appeared on the Airport Manager’s waiting list was

unlawful and unconstitutional in that:

(a) Such provisions are unjustly discriminatory in

violation of obligations of the County under its grant

agreements with FAA and related provisions of the Airport

and Airway Development Act of 1970;

(b) Such provisions are preempted and in violation of the

Supremacy Clause because they have been preempted by

provisions of Section 308(a) of the Federal Aviation Act of

1958 (49 U.S.C §1349(a)); and

(c) Such provisions violate Section 105(a)(1) of the

Airline Deregulation Act of 1978 (amending the 1958 Act,

49 U.S.C. §1305(a)(1)

66. The County contends that its actions in adopting the

1985 Access Plan are legal and constitutional. The County

further contends that the defendants named in paragraph

65 have no standing or right of action under federal law to

challenge the County’s actions. The County further

contends that its actions as alleged are reasonable and

legitimate exercises of authority by an airport proprietor

and that, under all of the circumstances, they constitute a

reasonable accommodation between legitimate federal and

local interests. The County further contends that its actions

— ipon

significantly reduce its potential exposure to noise related

damage suits which might otherwise arise out of the

operation of JWA and the implementation of the Airport

project.

67. The County is informed and believes that FAA,

America West, Continental and Jet America contend that

the County’s actions as alleged in this cause of action are

lawful and constitutional and constitute a reasonable

exercise of authority by an airport proprietor.

68. A declaration of the rights and obligations of the

parties is necessary in order to allow a meaningful

implementation of the 1985 Access Plan and realization of

the environmentally mitigating effects of the regulations at

issue in this cause of action.

THIRD CAUSE OF ACTION

(Declaratory Relief)

69. The plaintiff incorporates by this reference the

allegations of paragraphs 1 through 57 of this complaint.

70. An actual controversy has arisen between and

among the parties to this action regarding their respective

rights, duties and obligations, and a declaration of such

rights, duties and obligations by this Court is necessary to

resolve this controversy. Specifically, the County is

informed and believes that the Waiting List Air Carrier

defendants contend that the allocation provisions of the

1985 Access Plan, and the term of the Plan are unlawful

and unconstitutional in that:

(a) Such provisions are unjustly discriminatory in

violation of obligations of the County under its grant

agreements with FAA and related provisions of the Airport

and Airway Development Act of 1970;

—A-25—

(b) Such provisions are preempted and in violation of the

Supremacy Clause because they have been preempted by

provisions of Section 308(a) of the Federal Aviation Act of

1958 (49 U.S.C. §134%a)); and

(c) Such provisions violate Section 105 (a)(1) of the

Airline Deregulation Act of 1978 (amending the 1958 Act),

49 U.S.C. §1305 (a)(1).

71. The County contends thai its actions in adopting the

1985 Access Plan are legal and constitutional. The County

further contends that the defendants named in paragraph

70 have no standing or right of action under federal law to

challenge the County’s actions. The County further

contends that its actions as alleged are reasonable and

legitimate exercises of authority by an airport proprietor

and that, under all of the circumstances, they constitute a

reasonable accommodation between legitimate federal and

local interests. The County further contends that its actions

significantly reduce its potential exposure to noise related

damage suits which might otherwise arise out of the

operation of JWA and the implementation of the Airport

project.

72. The County is informed and believes, and on that

ground alleges that FAA and the Authorized Air Carrier

defendants agree with the contentions of the County alleged

in paragraph 71.

73. A declaration of the rights and obligations of the

parties is necessary in order to allow a meaningful

implementation of the 1985 Access Plan and realization of

the environmentally mitigating effects of the regulations at

issue in this cause of action.

—A-26—

FOURTH CAUSE OF ACTION

(Declaratory Relief - Compliance with CEQA)

(Federal Law Claims)

74. The plaintiff incorporates by this reference the

allegations of paragraphs | through 73 of this complaint.

75. An actual controversy involving federal laws and

regulations has arisen between and among the parties to this

action regarding their respective rights, duties and

obligations, and a declaration of such rights, duties and

obligations by this Court is necessary to resolve this

controversy. Specifically, the County is informed and

believes that Newport Beach, SPON and AWG (“the

CEQA defendants”) contend that in certifying EIR 508 as

adequate and complete under CEQA in connection with the

approval and implementation of the Airport project, the

County violated CEQA in that:

(a) The County failed to prepare EIR 508 in a manner

required by FAA Order 5050.2B, and in a manner required

by FAA advisory circulars and regulations prepared with

respect to public input and participation in the preparation

and development of the Airport project;

(b) The County in part defined “the project” for EIR

508 in terms of an increase in the authorized number of

regulated ADDs at JWA. The CEQA defendants contend

that such definition of the EIR project is impermissible

under CEQA because the County is now preempted by

federal law, or may be preempted by federal law during the

projected life of the project from regulating the permissible

number of ADDs, rendering the EIR’s project description

inaccurate and thereby tainting the entirety of the

environmental analysis in EIR 508;

—_

(c) That the County has a duty under CEQA to adopt all

feasible mitigation measures for the Airport project which

would reduce the environmental effects of the project,

including any and all possible regulations and restrictions

on the use of JWA by aircraft operators regardless of the

effects on airport operations and service, and that CEQA,

to that extent, acts affirmatively to limit the discretion of an

airport proprietor in the regulation of airport use,

specifically the use of JWA: and

(d) That the County failed to comply with Public

Resources Code §21168.9 which, the CEQA defendants

contend, would require the County to seek the approval of

the state courts of its project, and of its airport restrictions

adopted or continued in mitigation of the project, before

implementation of the project, including the project

increase in authorized ADDs.

76. The County is further informed and believes, and on

that ground alleges that, in the absence of this action, the

CEQA defendants intend to initiate an action or actions

against the County in state court under the provisions of

CEQA, and that they intend to seek preliminary and

permanent relief which would enjoin the implementation of

the Airport project, and which would control or otherwise

regulate by state court order the permissible level and

nature of airport operations at JWA. Any such relief would

inevitably prejudice federal privileges and rights of the

County and the other defendants in respect of the

implementation of the Airport project.

77. The County contends that it has complied with all

applicable provisions of CEQA in the preparation and

certification of EIR 508 and approval of the Airport

project; that it has complied with any applicable federal

orders or regulations in the development and adoption of

—A-28—

the project; that it now has under federal law, and that there

is no reasonable basis to anticipate a change in federal law,

the authority to regulate and restrict the permissible

number of authorized ADDs at JWA; that no state law,

including CEQA, may operate to limit the regulatory

discretion of an airport proprietor, and that any and all

such provisions in CEQA are preempted and unconstitu-

tional under the Supremacy Clause of the United States

Constitution; and that no state court may issue its orders

inequity under authority of CEQA or any other state law

which would operate in such a manner as to restrict the

discretion of an airport proprietor in the regulation of

airport use.

78. The County is informed and believes that all

defendants to this action, other than the CEQA defendants,

contend that the position of the County, as alleged in

paragraph 77, is correct.

79. A declaration of the respective rights and obligations

of the parties is necessary in order to avoid prejudice to

their respective positions and their federally authorized and

delegated rights and privileges, the unnecessary and

unconstitutional imposition of inappropriate constraints on

the air travelling public, and prejudice to those citizens of

Orange County which will benefit from implementation of

the Airport project.

FIFTH CAUSE OF ACTION

(Declaratory Relief - CEQA)

(Federal and Pendant State Law Claims)

80. The plaintiff incorporates by this reference the

allegations of paragraphs 1 through 79 of this complaint.

—A-29—

81. An actual controversy involving both federal law and

laws of the State of California has arisen between and

among the parties to this action regarding their respective

rights, duties and obligations, and a declaration of such

rights, duties and obligations by this Court is necessary to

resolve this controversy. Specifically, the County is

informed and believes that Newport Beach, SPON and

AWG contend that in certifying EIR 508 as adequate and

complete under CEQA in connection with the approval and

implementation of the Airport project, the County violated

CEQA in that:

(a) The County in part defined “the project” for EIR

508 in terms of an increase in the authorized number of

regulated ADDs at JWA. The CEQA defendants contend

that such definition of the EIR project is impermissible

under CEQA because the County is now preempted by

federal law, or may be preempted by federal law during the

projected life of the project from regulating the permissible

number of ADDs, rendering the EIR’s project description

inaccurate and thereby tainting the entirety of the

environmental analysis in EIR 508;

(b) The County in part defined the project of EIR 508 in

terms of an increase in the number of authorized ADDs.

The CEQA defendants contend that such definition of the

EIR project is impermissible under CEQA because there is

a possibility that the County may, at some future date,

authorize further increases in ADD levels at JWA, and that

the project must therefore be described in terms of the full,

unlimited and unregulated “capacity” of any facility

improvements at JWA undertaken pursuant to and in

connection with the Airport project;

(c) The failure of the County to properly define the

project for purposes of EIR 508 renders the EIR

= we

description and analysis of the environmental consequences

of the project misleading, inaccurate and incomplete; and

(d) That even if the project description is adequate and

accurate, the EIR fails to adequately disclose the

environmental consequences of the project in respect of its

significant adverse environmental impacts including, but

not limited to, traffic, air quality, growth inducing impacts

and noise.

82. The County is further informed and believes, and on

that ground alleges that, in the absence of this action, the

CEQA defendants intend to initiate an action or actions

against the County in state court under the provisions of

CEQA, and that they intend to seek preliminary and

permanent relief which would enjoin the implementation of

the Airport project and control or otherwise regulate by

state court order the permissible level and nature of airport

operations at JWA. Any such relief would inevitably

prejudice federal privileges and rights of the County and

the other defendants in respect of the implementation of the

Airport project.

83. The County contends that it has complied with all

applicable provisions of CEQA in the preparation and

certification of EIR S08 and approval of the Airport

project; that it has not abused its discretion in adopting the

project and certifying EIR 508 as adequate and complete;

that it has proceeded in the manner required by law; and

that its decisions in respect of the Airport project and EIR

508 are supported by substantial evidence.

84. The County has alleged that to the extent CEQA

would purport to affect or limit in any way the discretion of

the County as an airport proprietor in the regulation of

airport use at JWA, it is preempted and unconstitutional

under the Supremacy Clause of the United States

—

Constitution. The County does not contend that CEQA is

preempted to the extent that it merely requires that a

decision making body prepare and consider a report

describing the environmental consequences of proposed

discretionary actions or projects (‘the informational

purposes of CEQA”). The County contends that Final EIR

508 complies with the informational purposes and

requirements of CEQA.

85. The County is informed and believes that all

defendants to this action, other than the CEQA defendants,

contend that the position of the County, as alleged in this

cause of action, is correct.

86. A declaration of the respective rights and obligations

of the parties is necessary in order to avoid prejudice to

their respective positions and their federaily authorized and

delegated rights and privileges and the privileges authorized

by the adoption of the Airport project by the County, the

unnecessary imposition of inappropriate constraints on the

air traveling public, and prejudice to those citizens of

Orange County which will benefit from implementation of

the Airport project.

SIXTH CAUSE OF ACTION

(Injunctive Relief)

87. The plaintiff incorporates by this reference the

allegations of paragraphs 1 through 86 of this complaint.

88. If Newport Beach, SPON or AWG initiate separate

CEQA state court actions in respect of EIR 508, they may

effectively deprive this Court of the ability to enjoin such

actions or stay the state court proceedings. The simulta-

neous prosecution of this action and separate state court

CEQA actions would inevitably involve similar issues which

—A-32—

could be considered and adjudicated only imperfectly and

incompletely because the issues are inevitably interrelated.

In certifying EIR 508 and approving the Airport project,

the County was required not only to consider relevant

environmental considerations as disclosed by EIR 508, but

also relevant legal, social, political and economic considera-

tions inevitably involved in implementation of the Airport

project. The lawfulness of the County’s actions cannot

meaningfully be adjudicated in any action of lesser scope

that the scope of controversial issues which were before the

County when it made its decisions.

89. If not enjoined, the County is informed and believes

that Newport Beach, SPON and AWG will seek to prevent

a complete adjudication of all of these related issues, and

the issuance by this Court of such temporary and

permanent injunctive relief as may be necessary against

such defendants is essential to preserve the integrity of this

action, the jurisdiction of the Court over the entire

controversy, and the rights of all of the parties to a

complete adjudication of their disputes. Such action would

require a significant duplication of litigation effort and the

expenditure of public funds by the County and other

parties. No defendant would be harmed by any such orders.

WHEREFORE, PLAINTIFF PRAYS:

1. For a declaration of its rights and the lawfulness of its

actions as alleged in the First, Second, Third and Fourth

and Fifth Causes of Action;

2. For such injunctive relief as may be necessary as

alleged in the Sixth Cause of Action;

3. For its costs of suit; and

—A-33—

4. For such other and further relief as may be deemed

necessary or appropriate by the Court.

March 15, 1985

Michael Scott Gatzke

Mark J. Dillon

Gatzke, Lodge & Mispagel

Attorneys For The

County of Orange

By: Michael Scott Gatzke

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.