Petition — Evans v. Mississippi

Supreme Court brief1984

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

83-6413

— ‘Lod Geb. 3,195

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1983

eee Tt TT TTT TT ttt

CONNIE RAY EVANS,

Petitioner,

_—

THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI,

Resrondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE SUPREME COURT OF MISSISSIPPI

BSBVSSsSsStssFSSFSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSHSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSISSSSSSTSSSTsIs=

ISAAC BYRD

Owens & Byrd

P.O. Box 19

Jackson, Mississippi 39205

(601) 352-8443

SHIRLEY PAYNE

P.O. Box 1725

Jackson, Mississippi 39215

(615) 352-7059

STEVEN L. WINTER*

$9 Hudson Street

16th Floor

New York, New York 10013

(212) 219-1900

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONER

*counsel of Record

Table of Contents

Questions Presented ..... cece ccccceccecececeseeses

Table of Authorities ........... Cocccccoseccoves cece

Opinion Below .....ccccccceeces coecce eectececccoces

JUEFIBSGICCION Coccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccce

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions

TNVOLVEd ccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccesccece

Statement of the CaS€ .... cece ccccccccccccsesccers

A. Course of ProceedingS .......2eeeeeeccces

B. Facts Supporting Petitioner's Claims ....

(1) Petitioner's Chalienge to

Mississippi's Newly Extended

and Retroactiveiy Applied

Procedural Default Rule ............

(2) Petitioner's Challenge to the

Mississippi Capital Sentencing

Scheme as Arbitrary and Dis-

CEIMINECOEY cccccsccccccscccesevesses

Reasons for Granting the Writ ........ccceeecececess

z. The Court Should Grant the Writ to

Determine Important Questions

Regarding the Use of State Procedural

Rules to Insulate FPederal Claims From

Review on the Merits by Either the

State or the Federal Judiciary ..........

A. The Retroactive Application

of a Rigid Procedural Default

Rule is not an Adequate and

Independent State Grourd ...........

B. A Procedural Default Rule

Adopted for the Purpose of

Preventing Later Federal

Review ot Federal Claims

Cannot Serve as an Adequate

and Independent State Ground .......

II. The Court Should Grant the Writ to

Determine the Degree to Which Racial

Factors May Still Influence the

Operation of the Mississippi Capital

Sentencing Scheme ........... cocccccece eee

CONCLUSION 266 bet 0-00 0% Sree ee ee ae ee ee ree ee oe

atie

12

i5

15

15

19

21

23

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

l. May Mississippi's recent extension of its procedural

aefault rule to death cases serve as an independent and adequate

state ground barring review of fundamental federal constitu-

tional questions when:

a) The extension is applied retroactively and

irregularly, in the teeth of more than fifty years of state

law; and

b) The extension was adopted for the purpose of

evading federal habeas corpus review of asserted federal

claims?

ae Should the death sentence imposed on petitioner,

who is Black, be set aside because it is a product of a

capital sentencing scheme that discriminates on the basis of

race in visclation of the eighth and fourteenth amendments?

Cases:

Table of Authorities

Augustine v. State, 29 So.2d 454 (Miss. 1947) .....

Barr v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 146 (1964) .....

Bass v. Estelle, 705 F.2d 121

(Sth Cit. 1983) eeeeeeeeeeeneeeeeneneeneeweneeeenneeee

Bell v. State, 360 So.2d 1206

(Miss. 1978) “eee vueeeeneeeeeeeeeneeeneeeeneeeeeeneeeee

Bell v. Watkins, 381 So.2d 118

(Miss. 1280) eeeeeeeeeeeeeeneeneeeeneneeeneeneeeeeeeee

Bouie v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347 (1964) ....

Briscoe v.

Lahue,

U.S. ’

TO Sc OE CEONS) 066056600 0b006606eesanvsaes

Caidwell v.

Miss. (Nov.

Carter v. State,

21 So.2d 404

Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S.

Coburn v. State,

168 So.2d 123 (1964)

Culberson v.

499 (Miss.

Davis v.

Drake v. State,

89 So.2d 593

Edwards v. Thigpen,

(Miss. 1983)

Engle v. Isaac,

Evans

State,

26,

State,

1980)

Wechsler,

v. Mississippi,

No. 54,285

1983)

523

198 Miss.

(1945)

284 (1973)

250 Miss. 684,

eeeeeeveeeeeeereeeeeeeeeeeeee

379 So.2d

eeeeeeeveeeeeneeeewpreeeeeeeeeeeeeee

263 U.S. 22 (1923)

eeeeevneveeeeeee

228 Miss.

(1956)

589,

433 So.2d 906

eeeneeevreeeeeevneeeeeeeneeeeeeeeeeeeevree

456 U.S. 107 (1982)

eoeeeveveeeeeeeeee

Osis td

77 L.Ed.2d 314 (1983) eoeeeeveveeeeeeeeeeeveeeeeeeeee

Evans v. State, 441 So.2d 520

(Miss. 1983) eeeeneene3enseeneeneneeneeeeeneneeeeeeeneeeeneee

Evans v. State, 422 So.2d 737

(Miss. 1982) e*eneeoeveeeenseeeneneeeeeneeneeeneeneeneeeeeeete

Fisher v. State, 145 Miss. 116,

110 So. 361 (1926) e*eeeeene@ensenseeneeeeeneeeeeeneeeeeeteee

Fondren v. State, 199 So.2d 625

(Miss. 1967)

- iii -

22

11,19

5,18

15,18,20

5,9,16

4,8,10,11,passim

4

2-3

passim

Cases:

Francis v. Henderson, 425 U.S.

536 (1976) e*eeeseeeeeeeeeeeeeneneeneeneeeneeeeeeeneeeeee

Furman v. Georgia, 408 U.S. 238 (1972) wsesseseveese

Gipson v. State, 203 Miss. 434,

35 So.2d 327 (1948) e*eeeoeeeeeeeeeeeeneeeeeeeeeeeeee

Granviel v. Estelle, 655 P.2d 673

(Sth Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 455

U.8. 1003 (1982) eeeeoeeeeeeeeeeeneeeeeeeeeeeeneeeee

Hathorn v. Lovorn, 457 U.S. 255 (1982) .w.cccesecees

Henry v. Mississippi, 379 U.S. 443 (1965) .w..seeees

Hill v. State, 432 So.2d 427

(Miss. 1983) eeeeseeeeeneeeeneeeeneneeeneeeneeeeeneeeeeee

Irving v. State, 228 So.2d 266

(Miss. 1968) COS SCO OOSSESSOEHOSEEOSCEHE CEC HEEOOOHSEESES

Irving v. State, 361 So.2d 1360

(Miss. 1978) cert. denied, 441 U.S.

913 (1979) e*eeoeeoeeeeeeneeneteeeeneeneeneneneeeeeneneneneeeeneeeee

Jackson yv. State, 337 So.2d 1242

(Miss. 1976) e*eeeeneteeeeeeneenrteeneneneeeneeeeneeeeeeeeee#e

Jones v. Barnes, U.S. P

77 L.Ed.2d 987 (1983) e*eeeeeneeneeneeneeneeeeneeeeneeee

Jordan v. State, 365 So.2d 1198

(Miss. 1978) eeeeeeeneeeneeeeeneeneeneeeeneneneeeeeeeeee

In re: Jordan, 390 So.2d 584

(Miss. 1980) e*eeeeneeneeeeeeeeneeneeeneeeeeneneeeeeeee#e

Laney v. State, 421 So.zd 1216

(Miss. 1978) eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeneeneeeeeeeeeeneeeeeeee

McLaughlin v. Florida, 379 U.S. 184 (1964) ........

Musselwhite v. State, 212 Miss. 526

54 So.2d 911 (1951) e*eeeenereneeeeneeneeeeeeneeeneeeeee

NAACP v. Alabama ex rel Flowers,

377 U.S. 288 (1964) eeeneeeeeeeeeeeneeneeeeneeeeeeee

NAACP v. Alabama ex rel. Patterson,

357 = & 449 (1964) e*eeeeeeeeneeneeeeeneeeneeeneneeeee

Pruett v. Thigpen, No. 54,000

(Miss. Jan. ll, 1984) e**eeeeeeeneeneneeeneeeeeeneeeeee

Read v. State, 430 So.2d 832

(Miss. 1983) PY PRO ee Fe EN ee a ae

-iv-

Page

16

14,21

6,19

14

17

22

17,19

11

10

Cases: Page

Reddix v. State, 381 So.2d 999 (Miss.),

cert. denied, 499 U.S. 986 (1980) eeneeeeeeneeneeee 6

Russell v. State, 226 Miss. 885,

85 So.2d 585 (1956) eeeeee3eeseneeieeeeeneeeeneeeneeneeee 6

Shaffer v. State, 46 So.2d 545

(Miss. 1950) e*eeeeeeeneeneeneeeeneeeeneeeeneeeneneeeneeee 6

Smith v. State, 419 So.2d 563

(Miss. 1982) eoeeeseoeoeveeeveeeeeeeeeeeeeneeeneeeneeeeeeenee Pe

Smith v. State, 434 So.2d 212

(Miss. 1983) e*eeeeseeneeneeeeeneneeeneeneeeneeeneeeeeneeneeee passim

Spencer v. Zant, P.2d ’

No. 82-8408 (lith Cir.) (pending

rehearing On BANC) cccccccccccccecceccccccccccecs 22

Staub v. City of Baxley, 355 U.S. 313 (1958) ...... 17

Stephens v. Kemp, No. A-~455

(Dec. 13, 1983) eoeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeneeeeeeeenenene 22

Sullivan v. Little Hunting Park,

396 U.8.- 229 (1969) wccccccccccccesescese ecccecce 18

Thomas v. State, 358 So.2d 131l

(Miss. 1978) e*eeeneseeeenseeeeeneeeneteeneneeeeeeneeneneeeneeee 5

Voyles v. State, 362 So.2d 1236

(Miss. 1979) eeeeseieeeeeeeeeeeeneeeeneneeneeneeneeneeneeee Tp VO, tie te

Wainwright v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72 (1977) wcccccccces 19

Walker v. City of Birminghan,

388 Ves 307 (1967) eeeeeeveeeeeneeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee 16

Ward v. Love County, 253 U.S. 17 (1920) ........... 20

Washington v. State, 361

So.2d 6l (Miss. 1978) eer venwrewreeeeeneenenereeneeeeenree 7

Wheat v. State, 420 So.2d 229

(Miss. 1982) eeeeeeeeeeeeneeeeneeeeeeeneeeeeeeeeeee 4,5,8

Wheat v. Thigpen, 431 So.2d 486

(Miss. 1983) eeneenetneneeeeeneeeneteeeeeneeeneeeeeeneeeeee passim

Wiley v. State, No. 54,642

(Miss. Jan. 4, 1984) eee eeeeeeeeenereeeeeneeeeeneeeee 33,32, 49

Williams v. Georgia, 349 U.S. 375

(1955) eee eeeeeeeeeeeeeeneeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeese 20

Wright v. Georgia, 373 U.S. 284 (1963) .......c204. 16,17

Cases: Page

Yick Wo v. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356

(1886) eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee 21

Zant v. Stephens, U.S. ’

77 L.Ed.2d 235 (1983) eoeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee 21

Statutes and Rules

im Constitution _ Eighth Amendment eee3uene e#efteenenseee#e agar

U.S. Constitution - Fourteenth Amendment ......eee- 2,a%

28 G.8.C-« 5 2254(d) eee eeneeeeneeeneeeneteeneeeeeneeeeeneeee 3,8

§ 99-19-1011 and § 99-19-105

Miss. Cond Ann. (Supp. 1982) w.cceceeecssecececs 2,7

Rule 6(b), Rules of the Mississippi

Supreme Court eoeeeoeeeeeeeeeneeeeneeeeeneeneeeneneeeeeee 2,4-5,11

Other Authorities

"Courts Study Link Between Victims Race

and Imposition of Death Penalty”,

New York Times, p. A. 18, Col. l

(Jane S, 1984) wcccccccccccccccccccccccccscecccecs 13

NAACP Legal Defense and Educational

Pund, Inc., Death Row USA ..cccceccccscccceseces 14

Hill, The Forefeiture of Constitutional Rights .... 19

-vi-

—— ee ee Oe ree

No.

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1983

eee tt Tt ttt tt ttt ttt

CONNIE RAY EVANS,

Petitioner,

-y-

THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE SUPREME COURT OF MISSISSIPPI

SSCSSSSssSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSs SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSESISS

Petitioner, CONNIE RAY EVANS, prays that a writ of certiorari

issue to review the decision of the Supreme Court of Mississippi

on November 30, 1983, denying leave to file a petition for a

writ of error coram nobis challenging his death sentence.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Mississippi is

reported at 441 So.2d 520 (Miss. 1983). It is set out in the

Appendix at pp. A. 1 - A.15.

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1257(3). The judgment of the Supreme Court of Mississippi

was entered on November 30, 1983. A timely request for re-

hearing was filed on December 11, 1983, and was denied on

January 25, 1984.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves the eighth amendment to the Constitution,

which provides:

Excessive bail shall not be required,

nor excessive fines imposed, nor cruel

and unusual punishments inflicted;

and the fourteenth amendment to the Constitution, which pro-

vides in relevant part:

(Nlor shall any State deprive any person

of life, liberty, or property, without

due process of law; nor deny any person

within its jurisdiction the equal pro-

tection of the laws.

It also involves §§ 99-19-101 and 99-19-105, Miss. Code

Ann. (Supp. 1982), which are set out in the appendix at pages A.

20 - A. 22, and Rule 6(b) of the Rules of the Supreme Court of

Mississippi, which provides in relevant part:

No error not distinctly assigned shall

be argued by counsel except upon request

of the Court, but the Court may, at its

option, notice a plain error not assigned

or distinctly specified.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Course of Proceedings

Petitioner and another person were charged with

the robbery and murder of Arun Pahwa, an Indian national who

worked as an attendant in his brother's store. On October

12, 1981, petitioner pled guilty to capital murder in the

Circuit Court of the Pirst Judicial District of Hinds County,

Mississippi. He was sentenced to death on October 13, 1981.

On November 3, 1982, the Supreme Court of Mississippi

affirmed the conviction and sentence. Evans v. State, 422

So.2d 737 (Miss. 1982); A. 69. Rehearing was denied on December

15, 1982. This Court denied certiorari on May 16, 1983. Evans v.

Mississippi, _—««~U.S. ___, 77 L.Ed.2d 314 (1983), and there-

after denied rehearing.

A motion for leave to file a petition for a writ of error

coram nobis, together with the petition, was filed in the

Mississippi Supreme Court on July 1, 1983. The petition raised

numerous errors under state law and the federal Constitution

that, petitioner alleged, vitiated his sentence of death. On

November 30, 1983, the Mississippi Supreme Court rendered an

opinion denying all of petitioner's claims on procedura.

grounds. It held that those claims which had been raised on

direct appeal were res judicata and that those which had not

were barred by principles of proceaural default. Evans v. State,

A. 3 - A. 4. None of petitioner's federal or state law claims

were addressed on the merits.

Justice Robertson, joined by Justices Hawkins and Prather,

dissented. The dissent noted that the majority decision

"renders the writ of error coram nobis an empty form of action."

A. 5. It recounted the history of the writ in Mississippi, A.

5 - A. 7, pointing out that prior Mississippi cases had

entertained and granted relief in coram nobis cases presenting

issues not raisea on direct appeal. A. 6 - A. 7 (citing

Fondren v. State, 199 So.2d 625 (Miss. 1967)). The dissent

lays bare the underlying purpose of tne newly extended Miss-

issippi procedural default rule:

It is important to understand the reasons

why the State urges that the issues tendered

be disposed of on procedural grounds orly.

The State's articulated motivation is to

short-circuit anticipated federal court re-

view via nabeas corpus under 28 U.S.C. § 2254.

The State is saying we should hold Evans’

claims procedurally barred, not because such

would promote the interests of justice, but

rather that such would pull the rug out from

under Evans when he ultimately seeks federal

review of his case. The State not only

asks that we refuse to aadress Evans' claims

on their merits but unashamedly further seeks

our aid in avoiding litigation of Evans’ ...

federal constitutional claims in any federal

court.

A. 12 (footnote omitted; emphasis in original). 1/

Petitioner filed a timely motion for rehearing. He

asked the Mississippi court inter alia to reconsider whether it

should invoke new procedural bars in cases involving fundamental,

substantive federal constitutional rights. The motion for

rehearing was denied on January 25, 1984. A. 18.

B. Facts Supporting Petitioner's Claims

(1) Petitioner's Challenge to Mississippi's

Newly Extended and Retroactively Applied

Procedural Default Rule:

The facts supporting this claim are found in the

decisions and records of cases before the Mississippi Supreme

Court. In petitioner's case, that court invoked a rule that

the failure to raise an issue on direct appeal constitutes a

waiver, barring review of the issue on coram nobis. A. 3.

In doing so, it relied upon a trio of 1983 cases that first

articulated such a rule as one to be applied uniformly in all

death penalty cases. A. 3 (citing Edwards v. Thigpen, 433

So.zd 906 (Miss. 1983); Wheat v. Thigpen, 431 So.2d 486

(Miss. 1983); Smith v. State, 434 So.2d 212 (Miss. 1983)).

But until last year, this has never been the

law of Mississippi. While Mississippi did apply a proced.iral

default rule in routine criminal appeals -- see Rule 6(5) of

l/ In the omitted footnote, Justice Robertson noted the

anomalous result of the decisions ir Wainwright v. Sykes, 433

U.S. 72 (1977), and Engle v. Isaac, 456 0.s. 107 ELE a

State defendant either gets two Dites at the appie or none at

all. He noted the result in death cases: that “the defendant

will be dispatched to the gas chamber without anyone ever

having considered on the merits his federal constitutional

claim.” A. 12 n. 13.

the Rules of the Supreme Court of Mississippi; Thomas v.

State, 358 So.2d 1311 (Miss. 1978); Coburn v. State, 250 Miss.

684, 168 So.2d 123 (1964) -- it was not applied in death

penalty cases. For at least fifty-seven years, Mississippi

has employed a heightened degree of scrutiny in death penalty

cases, expressly rejecting the usual procedural default

rules. Thus, in Pisher v. State, 145 Miss. 116, 110 So. 361

(1926), the Mississippi Supreme Court reversed a conviction and

death sentence based on an illegally obtained confession

despite the absence of a contemporaneous objection. It did so

because “constitutional rights of a person on trial for his

life rise above mere rules of procedure.” Id., 145 Miss. at

116, 110 So. at 365.

Pisher was not an “occasional act of grace" by

a court that ordinarily applies state procedural default

rules. See Bass v. Estelle, 705 F.2d 121, 122 (5th Cir.

1983) (on rehearing). To the contrary, it was the progenitor

of a doctrine that was uniformly applied in death cases until

last year. Since Fisher, the Mississippi court has consistently

reviewed in death cases alleged errors that were not the

subject of a contemporaneous objection in the trial court.

See, e.g., Carter v. State, 198 Miss. 523, 528, 21 So.2d 404

(1945); Musselwhite v. State , 212 Miss. 526, 59, 54 So.2d

911, 914-15 (1951); Culberson v. State, 379 So.2d 499, 506

(Miss. 1980); Smith v. State, 419 So.2d 563, 568 (Miss. 1982);

2

Wheat v. State, 420 So.2¢ 229, 239 (Miss. 1982).

2/ In Wheat, appellant raised five assignments of error.

Id., 420 So.2d at 232. The court noted that assigment

number 3, concerning instructions not given, had not been

preserved below. But it also found no error on the merits.

Id. at 239. Then, after examining appellant's five assignments,

the court discussed whether the instructions that were given

were adequate. Id. at 240-41. The court stressed no less

than three times that it carefully “considered,” "reviewed,"

and “stud(ied] the entire record...." Id. at 240-41.

More importantly, the Mississippi Supreme

Court has applied this principle not only to review alleged

errors that were not properly preserved below, but also to

search the record for errors not raised on direct appeal and to

decide them on the merits. In Gipson v. State, 203 Miss. 434,

35 So.2d 327 (1948), for example, appellate counsel assigned no

errors and filed no brief. The court nevertheless adjudi-

cated the appeal: "Consistent with the policy which this

court has imposed upon itself in death cases, we have not

dismissed the appeal but have in the interest of justice

examined the record, lest by some chance and patent error,

the extreme penalty may be unjustly exacted." Id., 203

Miss. at 437, 35 So.2d at 328. Accord Augustine v. State,

29 So.2d 454 (Miss. 1947) ("We have searcned the record in

vain for some ground on which to reverse the conviction.");

Shaffer v. State, 46 So.2d 545 (Miss. 1950); Russell v.

State, 226 Miss. 885, 85 So.2d 585 (1956); Drake v. State;

228 Miss. 589, 89 So.2d 593 (1956). Even where counsel has

filed a brief and raised some issues, Mississippi has eschewed

the rule requiring that all issues be raised on direct appeal

and has not applied normal procedural default rules to cases

involving the death sentence. Racher, it has applied a stan-

dard of review in death cases that led it "in search of errors

not assigned ...," Reddix v. State, 381 So.2d 999, 1013 (Miss.),

cert. denied, 499 U.S. 986 (1980), “without necessary regard

to whether technical basis for preserving error was made by

counsel." Irving v. State, 361 So.2d 1360, 1363 (Miss.

1978), cert. denied, 441 U.S. 913 (1979). This standard has

been apriied not as a matter of judicial grace, but as

pert of “the requirements for appeal and review by this

Court of all capital murder convictions...." Voyles v.

State, 362 So.2d 1236, 1237 (Miss. 1979) (emphasis added);

see § 99-19-105, Miss. Code Ann. (Supp. 1982). Accord Laney

v. State, 421 So.2d 1216, 1217 (Miss. 1978); Wheat, 420 So.2d

at 240-41 (see n. 2, supra); Smith, 419 So.2d at 574; Washing-

ton v. State, 361 So.2d 61, 66 (Miss. 1978); Bell v. State,

360 So.2G 1206, 1215 (Miss. 1978); Irving v. State, 228 So.2d

266, 268 (Miss. 1968).

The clearest illustration of the principle

that procedural defaults in failing to assign errors on direct

appeal in death cases do not operate as a waiver is in the

opinions of the Mississippi Supreme Court in coram nobis

proceedings. In Bell v. State, 360 So.2d 1206 (Miss. 1978),

the death sentenced appellant raised only three issues on

appeal. “Although not argued as error on appeal,” the Miss-

issippi Supreme Court “raised [four other matters] and discussed

them of its own motion.” Id., 360 So.2d at 1215. In his

petition for a writ of error coram nobis, Bell challenged his

conviction and sentence on twenty-three grounds of error. Of

these twenty-three, two had been raised by Bell on direct

appeal, four had been raised by the court on direct appeal, and

seventeen were presented to the Mississippi court for the first

time. The Mississippi Supreme Court “carefully and meticulously

considered each allegation" on the merits. Bell v. Watkins,

381 So.2d 118, 199 (Miss. 1980). Similarly, the death sen-

tenced appellant in Jordan v. State, 365 So.2d 1198 (Miss.

1978), raised ten issues on direct appeal. The Mississippi

Supreme Court affirmed, noting that: "No reversible error

has been pointed out by counsel, or revealed by our pains-

taking scrutiny of the entire record.” Id., 365 So.2d at

1207. On coram nobis, Jordan raised three new claims. The

Mississippi Supreme Court rejected them on the merits without

regard to the fact that they had not been raised on direct appeal.

In re Jordan, 390 So.2d 584 (Miss. 1980).

The rule that failure to raise an issue on

direct appeal in a death case does not constitute a waiver

-- manifested by the "painstaking scrutiny" afforded on direct

appeal and its concommitant, the refusal to view waiver as

barring collateral attack on coram nobis, -- was consistently

applied both at the time of petitioner's sentencing trial in

1981 and at the time of his direct appeal in 1982. See, e.g.,

Smith, 419 So.2d at 568, -74; Wheat, 420 So.2d at 240-41.

Then, in Edwards v. Thigpen in 1983, the Mississippi Supreme

Court reversed course. Id., 433 So.2d at 907-09. Justice

Robertson's dissent belcw bares the motivation for this

abrupt change, A. 12; the record of the proceedings in

Edwards provides ample corroboration.

In his Response to Application for Leave to

File a Petition for Writ of Error Coram Nobis and/or Writ of

Habeas Corpus in Edwards, set out in the Appendix to this

petition, the Mississippi Attorney General exhorted the

Mississippi Supreme Court that: "The time has come in light

of certain events which have transpired within recent history

tor this Court to review its charted course in capital

cases and to reconsider certain concepts...." A. 24. The

Attorney General first reviewed federal habeas corpus law

regarding 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d), A. 25- A. 29, exhaustion of

state remedies, A. 29 - A. 33, and procedural default. A. 35

3/ Although Wheat v. Thigpen, 431 So.2d 486 (Miss. 1983),

was reported first, it was decided after Edwards; in fact,

it cited and relied on Edwards. Wheat, 431 So.2d at 487.

- A. 43. Then, in a section entitled "Are We Going To Stay

the Charted Course or Are We Going to Crash Upon the Rocky

Shores of the Federal Judiciary," A. 43, the Attorney General

pointed out that in five of the first six Mississippi death

cases to reach federal habeas corpus, the writ was granted

on the basis of issues that had been raised for the first time

on coram nobis. A. 46. He urged the court to recognize that

"the power to halt this trend and recoup control ... waits

but to be firmly seized." Id. Arguing that: "Should this

Court continue to enforce the 'no holds barred' concept

embodied in the Irving - Culberson - Laney line of cases ...

it will ultimately abdicate its position as the Supreme

Court of the State of Mississippi and vest that authority in

the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit...,"

A. 46 - A. 47, the Attorney General told the court that: “It

is time to fish or cut bait." A. 48. “(T]he suggested

course of action? Stripped of all rhetoric, the State simply

urges this Court to issue a strong statement to the federal

judiciary that it will enforce its own rules of procedure

and strictly adhere to them.” Id.

The Mississippi Supreme Court responded with

an opinion that rigidly invoked procedural bars on every

issue. The same approach was taken in Wheat v. Thigpen, 431

So.2d at 488-89, and Smith v. State, 434 So.2d at 215, when

these cases came up on coram nobis, despite the fact that

prior non-waiver rules had been applied in both cases when

on direct appeal. See Wheat, 420 So.2d at 240-41; Smith,

419 So.2d at 568, 574.

In the latter two cases, the Mississippi

Supreme Court also illustrated the Catch-22 nature of

its newly extended procedural bars. In both Smith and Wheat,

the Mississippi court went through its litany of procedural

bars: res judicata for those issues raised on direct appeal,

procedural default for those not raised. But, on the issue

of effective assistance of counsel, which was first raised on

coram nobis, the court performed an intellectual somersault.

It held that issue procedurally barred not because peti-

tioners had failed to raise it on direct appeal but because

-- having applied the requirement of total review noted in

Voyles -- it had purportedly decided that issue on appeal

despite the fact the the issue was neither assigned as error

nor briefed on appeal. Smith, 434 So.2d at 219;” meat,

431 So.2d at 488-89. The court took this tack in spite of its

own holding in Read v. State, 430 So.2d 832 (Miss. 1983),

that the defendant could at his election raise a claim of

ineffective assistance of counsel either on direct appeal or

On coram nobis. Id. at 836.

Thus, when petitioner Evans filed his request for

coram nobis relief below, the Attorney General could and

did cite Smith, Wheat, Edwards, and Hill v. State, 432 So.2d

427 (miss. 1963) (direct appeal in death case), for the

4/ In Smith, the court performea the same feat with regard

to a challenge to the instructions at the penalty phase.

IZd., 434 So.2d at 217.

The court also went out of its way to construct a

"stipulation" that the ineffectiveness claim could be deter-

mined on the basis of the original trial record as a predicate

to its “res judicata" ruling. 434 So.2d at 219. There was

no such stipulation, as is demonstrated by the court's own

opinion. The petition alleged that Smith's lawyer had failed

adequately to investigate or prepare the case, id., matters

that necessarily cannot be determined from the original trial

record. Moreover, although it does not appear from the

court's opinion, Smith had explicitly requested an evidentiary

hearing on the ineffectiveness claim, thus demonstrating that

he made no "stipulation" that the claim could be determined

on the face of the original trial record.

proposition that “[rjlecent application of this [procedural

default) rule bears out its sustained persuasion whether the

case involves non-capital adjudications or the penalty of

death." Response to Application for Leave to Pile a Petition

for Writ of Error Coram Nobis at 9 (August !1, 1983) (emphasis

added). In urging that the court hold all of Mr. Evans's

claims procedurally barred, the Attorney General did not

specify any state interest as supporting the bar, but aid

advise the court that it should be careful and explicit

in its invocation of procedural bars because the “small

phrases 'procedurally barred' or ‘on the merits’ utterly

control the form and extent of the review which will ul-

timately follow a state court ruling." Id. at 12.

Yet, the Mississippi Supreme Court's latest

decisions evidence inconsistency regarding tne application of

procedural default rules in death cases. In Pruett v.

Thigpen, No. 54,000 (January 11, 1984), the court applied the

Edwards - Wheat - Smith trilogy to hold all issues not

raised on direct appeal procedurally barred in coram nobis.

But when the appellant in Calawell v. State, No. 54,285

(November 26, 1983), raised an issue that had not been

assigned as error on appeal as required by Rule 6 of the

3/

Rules of the Mississippi Supreme Court, Justice Broom's

&/

prevailing opinion first noted tre procedural lapse,

S/ It had been the subject of a contemporaneous objection in

the trial court.

o/ In fact, there was no majority in Caldwell; the court

Split 4-4, one judge having recused nimself. As a result,

the equally divided court affirmed the imposition of the

Geath penalty. Justice Broom's opinion was for the four who

voted to affirm.

The issue in dispute in Caldwell is the same issue that

won a reversal of the death sentence in Wiley (but not the

issue in Wiley whose procedural posture is discussed below).

. + age Whe rehearing in Caldwell was denied on February 1,

984. A. 19.

Slip op. at 12, and then nevertheless clearly discussed and

decided the issue on the merits. Id. at 12-14.

Similarly, in Hill v. State, the court refused

to consider on direct appeal an issue that was not the subject

of a contemporaneous objection at trial. Based on the record,

it presumed that the failure to object was a tactical choice.

Id., 432 So.2d at 439-40. But in Wiley v. State, No. 54,642

(January 4, 1984), the court dealt with an issue in the same

posture in quite a different way. Although it noted that the

issue was not properly preserved below, relying on the coram

nobis opinion in Smith, it nevertheless discussed the merits

in both the paragraph preceding the waiver discussion and the

sentence immediately following it. Slip op. at 4.

(2) Petitioner's Challenge to the Mississippi

Capital Sentencing Scheme as Arbitrary and

Discriminatory:

Petitioner's coram nobis petition raised

the federal constitutional claims that his death sentence

should be invalidated because Mississippi's capital sentencing

scheme was being applied in an arbitrary and discriminatory

manner. The Attorney General's primary response was that both

claims were devoid of factual support. Response to Applica-

tion at 40-42. As a secondary ground for disposing of the

claims, the Attorney General argued that the arbitrariness

issue had been resolved on direct appeal and was res judicata,

id. at 41, and that the racial discrimination issue was

7/ On the question of racial discrimination, he asserted

that the Mississippi death row was, at that time, evenly

divided with 17 blacks and 17 whites. He also noted that two

of the blacks were sentenced to death for killing blacks;

that two whites were sentenced for killing a black; and that

a white woman was sentenced for killing a white male. Id. at

42.

- 12 -

barred because not raised on direct appeal. id. at 42 n. 8.

The Mississippi Supreme Court rejected both claims on the

ground that they were barred because not raised on direct

appeal. A. 4; but compare Evans v. State, 422 So.2d at 747;

A. 79 (on direct appeal, death sentence held “not excessive or

disproportionate ... and even-handed").

The effect of the Mississippi Supreme Court's

decision is, of course, to deny petitioner an evidentiary

hearing on this issue. This is of critical importance

because the issue requires further factual development.

Recently available data suggest that race plays a significant

part in capital sentencing in Mississippi. Published reports

indicate that there is a statistically significant disparity

in rates of capital sentencing ‘n Mississippi based on the

race of the vipean.” Of the 847 reported homicides in

Mississippi over a five year period, death sentences were

meted out in 8.2% of the white victim cases but only .08% of

the more numerous black victim ona.” Indeed, although

the black victim homicides outnumber the white victim cases

by a margin of 3 to l, the white victim death sentences

8/ "Courts Study Link Between Victim's Race and Imposition

of Death Penalty," New York Times p. Al8, col. 1 (January 5,

1984). The article reports a recent study by Samuel Gross

and Robert Mauro that studied 17,000 homicides in eight

states ‘including Mississippi) between January l, 1976, and

December 31, 1980. The data referred to in the petition

were obtained from this study.

9/ During this period, there were 639 black victim homicides

and only 208 white victim homicides.

Although the data do not include the homicide in this case,

which involved a victim from India, the basic issue is the same.

While Mississippi originally segregated its orientals, this prac-

tice changed by the early fifties: "Originally classed with

blacks, they are now viewed as essentially 'white.'" J.W. Loewen,

The Mississippi Chinese: Between Black and White 2 (Harv. Univ.

Press 1971); see id., at 93 (Chinese integrated into white schools);

R.S. Quan, Lotus Among the Magnolias: The Mississippi Chinese 124,

139 (Univ. Press of Miss. 1982)(housing and school integration).

- 13:<

outnumber those imposed in black victim cases by 3.4 to 1.

This disproportion increases when the race of the suspect is

also considered: 25% of the blacks who killed whites received

the death sentence as compared to only 4.2% of the many more

whites who killed other whites.” Controlling for homicides

during the commission of a felony, the report indicates that

32.5% of the felony, white victim homicide cases resulted in

death sentences while only 9.5% of the felony, black victim

11/

homicide cases did.

10/ There were 167 white on white killings, accounting for 7

death sentences, and only 40 black on white killings, which

resulted in 10.

11/ The Attorney General's factual assertions below (see

note 7 supra) do no more than create an issue that requires

evidentiary hearing for its resolution. Petitioner does

not know the source of the Attorney General's reported 17/17

black/white breakdown of death row at one point in time.

According to all available figures, blacks have always

cutnumbered whites on Mississippi's death row. At the time

of the decision in Furman v. Georgia, 408 U.S. 238 (1972),

Mississippi had 8 blacks and 1 white on the row. Under

Mississippi's first post-Furman statute, blacks continued to

be sentenced to death in disproportionate numbers. At the

time the Mississippi Supreme Court decided Jackson v. State,

337 So.2a 124Z (Miss. 1976), remanding all Mississippi death

cases for retrial and resentencing, there were 16 known

blacks and 3 known whites on the row. The race of four other

condemned inmates at that time is unknown. NAACP Legal

Defense & Educational Fund, Inc., Death Row USA 4 (July 2,

1976). Under post-Jackson procedures and the 1977 statute,

blacks again outnumbered whites on death row. On June 20,

1979, there were 9 blacks and 4 whites. Death Row USA at 7

(June 20, 1979). In the following years there were 7 blacks

and 4 whites, id. at 9 (June 30, 1980); 12 blacks and 5

whites, id. at 10 (June 20, 1981); 20 blacks and 10 whites,

id. at 10 (June 20, 1982); 20 blacks and 15 whites, id. at 1l

(June 20, 1983). Since last June, the black/white ratio has

remained essentially the same: 21/16 in August; 22/17

in October; and 21/16, with one Asian, in December. Id. at

ll (August 20, October 20, and December 20, 1983). Meanwhile,

68% of the death sentences affirmed by the Mississippi

Supreme Court since Jackson have been in cases of black

defendants (15 of 22 affirmances).

The disparity between the Attorney General's 17/17

figure and the 21/16 figure reported in Death Row USA for the

most closely corresponding date, i.e., August 1983, is

evidently the result of the fact that the Attorney General

did not count three of the blacks whose death -sentences had

been vacated as a result of pending federal habeas corpus

-14<-

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. | THE COURT SHOULD GRANT THE WRIT TO DETERMINE

IMPORTANT QUESTIONS REGARDING THE USE OF

STATE PROCEDURAL RULES TO INSULATE FEDERAL

CLAIMS FROM REVIEW ON THE MERITS BY EITHER

THE STATE OR THE PEDERAL JUDICIARY

The Court has “consistently held that the question

of when and how defaults in compliance with state procedural

rules can preclude ... consideration of a federal question

is itself a federal question." Henry v. Mississippi, 379

U.S. 443, 447 (1965). Since Henry, it has had occasion to

consider whether irregularly applied Mississippi procedural

rules may serve as an adequate and independent state ground

barring federal review. Hathorn v. Lovorn, 457 U.S. 255,

261-65 (1982); see also Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S.

284, 303-08 (1973) (White, J., concurring). This case presents

important federal questions regarding Mississippi's recent

attempt to insulate its death penalty judgments from federal

review by means of a newly adopted and retroactively

applied procedural default rule.

A. The Retroactive Application of a Rigid

Procedural Default Rule is not an Adequate

ara Inaepenuent State Ground:

Prior to the 1983 trilogy of Edwards, Wheat,

and Smith, Mississippi had an historic doctrine of heightened

scrutiny in death cases. This doctrine took three forms.

11/ continued

proceedings and one black whose death sentence had been

vacated by the Mississippi Supreme Court but whose case was

tnen pending on rehearing. In light of the purpose and

effect of the decision below to restrict federal habeas corpus

claims for Mississippi condemned inmates, it is particularly

Significant that of the first six Mississippi caees to go

into federal habeas, the writ was grantea in five; and, of

those five, four involved blacks who had been convicted of

killing whites.

- 15-

The Mississippi Supreme Court adjudicated allegations of

error that had not been the subject of a contemporaneous

objection in the trial court. See, e.g., Culberson, 379

So.2d at 506. When errors were not assigned on appeal, the

court nevertheless reviewed the record to ascertain if there

was reversible error. See, e.g., Voyles, 362 So.2d at 1237.

On coram nobis, it considered each claim without regard to

whether it had been raised on direct appeal. See, e.g., Bell

v. Watkins, 381 So.2d at 199.

In the 1983 trilogy, the court not only abandoned

the prior rule but also applied its new procedural default

canons retroactively to cases that had been decided on direct

appeal when the former rule was still in effect. The Miss-

issippi court has thus created

a situation where a state court has followed

a regular past practice of entertaining

claims in a procedural mode, and without

notice has abandoned that practice to the

detriment of a litigant who finds his claim

foreclosed by a novel procedural bar....

{A] procedural requirement has been sprung

upon an unwary litigant when prior practice

did not give him fair notice of its existence.

Walker v. City of Birmingham, 388 U.S. 307, 319 (1967) (citing

Barr v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 146 (1964), and Wright v.

Georgia, 373 U.S. 284, 291 (1963)). This Court has only

invoked procedural default when the procedural rule applied

at the time of the default. See, e.g., Francis v. Henderson,

425 U.S. 536, 537 and n. 1 (1976). Accord Granviel v. Estelle,

655 F.2d 673, 679 (Sth Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S.

1003 (1982) ("We cannot enforce against Granviel a contemporaneous

objection rule that did not even exist at the time of his

trial."). To do otherwise would be to violate basic notions

- 16 -

of due process. See Bouie v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S.

347, 354 (1964).

The unfairness of a retroactive application

of a forfeiture rule is patent. “Novelty in procedural

requirements cannot be permitted to thwart review in this

Court applied for by those who, in justified reliance on

prior aecisions, seek vindication in state courts of their

federal constitutional rights.” NAACP v. Alabama ex rel.

Patterson, 357 U.S. 449, 457-58 (1958); accord Wright v.

Georgia, 373 U.S. at 291; NAACP v. Alabama ex rel Flowers,

377 U.S. 288, 351 (1964); Staub v. City of Baxley, 355 U.S.

313, 318-20 (1958). A Mississippi lawyer handling the

appeal of a death case might quite reasonably have relied on

the explicit statements of the Mississippi Supreme Court in

Voyles ana Irving and decided to nighlight several issues in

his assignments of error and brief while omitting others.

Cf. Jones v. Barnes, U.S. , 77 LeEd.2d 987, 994

(1983). He could do so secure in the knowledge that, if he

misjudged the importance of an error raised below, the court

would still adjudicate the issue as part of its mandatory

search cf the reenia In the context of a claim of racial

discrimination in the administration of a capital sentencing

statute, counsel would have even more reason to rely on

established doctrine and not raise it on direct appeal.

Pirst, he could reasonably expect that the proportionality

review required by the Mississippi statute would suffice to

12/ Similarly, he could do so confident that, if the court

Gid not address the error sua sponte, there would still be no

waiver of the client's rights and the claim could be raised

on coram nobis. .

~ 17 «

neutralize any racial factors that may have entered into the

defendant's sentence. Moreover, he could reasonably decide

that a claim of racial discrimination would make little

sense when based on a barren record, that it would be more

appropriate in collateral proceedings where the fects could

be developed. Since Mississippi law left these options open

at the time of petitioner's direct appeal, he cannot now be

said to have committed a procedural default by relying

on them.

Even if petitioner is incorrect about the

apparent consistency of the pre-Edwards law, the rigid Edwards

procedural default standard would not bar federal review

because it is “based on a standard ... much stricter than

that which could have been extracted from the earlier ...

cases" Sullivan v. Little Hunting Park, 396 U.S. 229,

245 (1969) (Harlan, J., Burger, C.J., and White, J., dis-

senting). It cannot be disputed that there was a substan-

tial line of Mississippi precedent suggesting that the normal

procedural rules are suspended in capital cases. Even if

these cases were to be viewed as a category of exceptions to

a broader rule, see Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. at

13/

303-07, “a local procedural rule, although it may now

appear in retrospect to form part of a consistent pattern of

procedures to obtain appellate review, cannot avail the

13/ Justice White's opinion in Chambers identified an ex-

ception to the Mississippi contemporaneous objection rule in

non-capital cases based on the fundamental nature of the

right asserted. He traced this doctrine back through a line

of non-capital cases to Carter v. State, 21 So.2d at 404.

Chambers, 410 U.S. at 304-07. Carter, 3 capital case, derived

this doctrine from the 1926 Fisher rule that “constitutional

rights of a person on trial for his life rise .above mere

rules of procedure." Fisher, 110 So.2dG at 365.

- 18 -

State here, because petitioner cannot fairly be deemed to

have been apprised of its existence." NAACP v. Alabama ex

14/

rel. Patterson, 357 U.S. at 457.

Indeed, even if Mississippi had a clear pro-

cedural default rule applicable to death cases, it could not

serve as an adequate and independent state ground. The

Court's decisions "stress that a state procedural ground is

not ‘adequate’ unless the procedural rule is ‘strictly or

regularly followed.' ... State courts may not avoid deciding

federal issues by invoking procedural rules that they do not

apply evenhandedly to all similar claims." Hathorn, 457

U.S. at 262-63 (quoting Barr v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S.

at 149). The pre-Edwards cases such as Voyles and Irving;

the application of the procedural default rule in Wheat and

Smith when it had not been applied in those very cases on

direct appeal; the reverse application of the Voyles doctrine

of complete review to Wheat and Smith in coram nobis to bar,

as res judicata, ineffective assistance of counsel claims that

had not) been raised on direct appeal; and the Mississippi

Supreme Court's recent reversions in Caldwell and Wiley

establish the hopeless inconsistency and irregularity of any

purported Mississippi procedural default rule.

B. A Procedural Defaul* Rule Adopted for the

Purpose of Preventing Later Federal Review

of Federal Claims Cannot Serve as an Adequate

and Independent State Ground:

In this case, the Court should “inquire

14/ At the very least, the unclear nature of the state

procedural law should constitute cause under Wainwright v.

Sykes, 433 U.S. 72 (1977). See Hill, The Forfeiture of

Constitutional Rights in Criminal Cases, 78 Colum. L. Rev.

1050, 1076-78 (1978) (forfeiture should be overlooked where:

"The lawyer's mistake was attributable to the seriously

uncertain state of the procedural law....").

- 19 -

whether the enforcement of a procedural forfeiture serves

«+. a@ state interest. If it does not, the state procedural

rule ought not be permitted to bar vindication of important

federal rights." Henry, 379 U.S. at 447-48. See also Chambers

v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. at 290 n. 3 ("we have no occasion

to decide whether -- if such a [state procedural] ground

exists -- its imposition in this case would serve any ‘legitimate

state interest.'") (quoting Henry, supra). A procedural

default rule that is adopted for the purpose of frustrating

federal review of federal constitutional claims cannot serve

as an independent and adequate state ground for the most

obvious reason: It is not an independent state ground if it

is not based on any legitimate state policy or consideration.

Rather, it is a transparent effort to oust the federal courts

of their jurisdiction based on a hostility to the federal

claim. "A purported state ground is not independent and

adequate ... where the circumstances give rise to an inference

that the state court is guilty of an evasion -- an interpretation

of state law with the specific intent to deprive a litigant

of a feaeral riyht.” Wiliians v. Georgia, 349 U.S. 375,

3949 (1955) (clark, J., dissenting). See, e.g., Davis v.

Wechsler, 263 U.S. 22 (1923); Ward v. Love County, 253 U.S 17

(1920). The Court should grant the writ to determine whether

-- based on the extraordinary origin of the state ground as

made clear by the dissent below and the genesis of the rule

in Edwards -- the Mississippi rule falls in this exceptional

category.

- 20 -

II. ‘THE COURT SHOULD GRANT THE WRIT TO DETERMINE

THE DEGREE TO WHICH RACIAL FACTORS MAY STILL

INFLUENCE THE OPERATION OF THE MISSISSIPPI

CAPITAL SENTENCING SCHEME

The decision below would foreclose petitioner's

claim that the Mississippi capital sentencing scheme continues

to discriminate on the basis of racial factors. It would do

so although petitioner has never had an opportunity to

develop or present the facts t'iat would establish the con-

tinuing influence of racial factors in violation of the

eighth and fourteenth amendments.

It should be indisputable that:

If a statute that authorizes the discretionary

imposition of a particular penalty for a par-

ticular crime is used primarily against defendants

of a certain race, and if the pattern of use

can be fairly explained only by reference to

the race of the defendant, the Equal Protection

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment forbids con-

tinued enforcement of that statute in its existing

form. Cf. Yick Wo. v. Hopkins, 118 U.S. 356

(1886).

Furman v. Georgia, 408 U.S. 238, 389 n. 12 (1972) (Burger,

C.J., dissenting); accord id. at 250-56 (Douglas, J., con-

curring). No capital sentencing statute could stand under

the eighth amendment if it "attached the ‘aaggravating' labei

to factors that are constitutionally impermissible or totally

irrelevant to the sentencing process, such as the race ...

of the defendant...." Zant v. Stephens, U.S. ae

L.Ed.2d 235, 255 (1983).

Similarly, a capital sentencing scheme that explicitly

attached an aggravating label to the victim's race would, on

its face, violate both the eighth and fourteenth amendments.

In this context, where the power of the State

weighs most heavily upon the individual ...,

~ 21 «

we must be especially sensitive to the policies

of the Equal Protection Clause which, as re-

flected in congressional enactments dating from

1870, were intended to secure “the full and equal

benefit of all laws and proceedings for the

security of persons and property” and to subject

all persons “to like punishment, pains, penal-

ties, taxes, licenses, and exactions of every

other kind, and to no other.”

mcLaughlin v. Florida, 379 U.S. 184, 192 (1964)(quoting 42

U.S.C. § 1981). Here, the available data suggest that,

while Mississippi may have a legitimate state interest in

imposing Gceath to avenge murder, it is in fact exercising

that power to avenge the murder of whites and not blacks.

While blacks constitute 75% of the murder victims, only 23%

of the aeath sentences are meted out in black victim cases.

This denies blacks “the full and equal benefit of all laws

-.. for the security of persons...." Ia. See Briscoe v.

Lahue, __ U.S. __, 75 L.Ed.2d 96, 109 (1963). When, moreover,

the race of the defendant is also factored in, a more stark

and classic pattern of discrimination emerges. Amongst those

similarly situated (i.e., those who kill whites), blacks are

sentenced to death at a rate five times greater than whites,

even though white orfenders in this category outnumber blacks

by a ratio of 4 tol. This certainly subjects blacks like

petitioner to "(un]like punishment [and] pains", id., in

violation of the eighth and fourteenth amendments.

The Court has recently granted a stay of execution

in a case that presents similar questions concerning the

operation of the Georgia statute. Stephens v. Kemp, No. A-455

(Dec. 13, 1983) (stay granted pending determination of Spencer

v. Zant, Zant, F.2d , No. 82-8408 (llth Cir.) (pending

rehearing en banc)). The Court should grant certiorari and,

- 22 -

together with these cases, consider here the extent to which a

facially valid capital sentencing scheme may continue to be

influenced by impermissible racial factors.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons the petition for a writ of

certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

‘ fe ¥X

~amac--f ee

ies ——

“ISAAC BYRD

Owens & Byrd

P.O. Box 19

Jackson, Mississippi 39205

(601) 352-8443

SHIRLEY PAYNE

P.O. Box 1725

Jackson, Mississippi 39215

(615) 352-7059

STEVEN L. WINTER*

99 Hudson Street

16th Floor

New York, New York 10013

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONER

x

Counsel of Record

- 23 -

No.

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1983

CONNIE RAY EVANS,

Petitioner,

-v-

THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE MISSISSIPPI SUPREME COURT

SHIRLEY PAYNE

P.O. Box 1725

Jackson, Mississippi 39215

(615) 352-7059

STEVEN L. WINTER*

16th Floor

99 Hudson Street

New York, New York 10013

(212) 219-1900

Attorneys for Petitioner

*Counsel of Record

520 Miss. 441 SOUTHERN REPORTER, 2d SERIES

Connie Ray EVANS

%;

STATE of Mississippi.

No. 53754.

Supreme Court of Mississippi.

Nov. 30, 1983.

Petitioner, who was convicted in the

Circuit Court, Hinds County, William F.

Coleman, J., and sentenced to death, which

judgment and sentence were affirmed on

appeal, applied for leave to file petition for

writ of error coram nobis. The Supreme

Court, Roy Noble Lee, J., held that: (1)

those contentions which were not alleged as

error and presented on direct appeal could

not be raised for first time on application

for leave to file petition for writ of error

coram nobis and were procedurally barred,

and (2) those contentions which were

presented and argued on direct appeal and

decided adversely to petitioner could not be

relitigated on application for leave to file

petition for writ of error coram nobis.

Application denied.

Robertson, J., dissented and filed opin-

ion, in which Hawkins and Prather, JJ.,

joined.

L. Criminal Law @997.7

Question whether aggravating circum-

stance of commission of murder in especial-

ly heinous, atrocious, and cruel manner was

established by the evidence was fully and

finally litigated on direct appeal from con-

viction, and could not be relitigated in cor-

am nobis proceeding.

2 Criminal Law ¢=9972

Contention with respect to finding of

aggravating circumstance of commission of

offense for purpose of avoiding lawful ar-

rest, not having been alleged as error and

presented on direct appeal from conviction,

could not be raised for first time on applica-

tions for leave to file petition for writ of

error coram nobis, and was procedurally

barred.

3. Criminal Law 997.7

Contention with respect to finding of

aggravating circumstance that petitioner

was under sentence of imprisonment at

time of offense, having been presented and

argued on direct appeal from conviction,

couid not be reiitigated on petition for writ

of error coram nobis, and was procedurally

barred.

4. Criminal Law 997.7

Contentions relating to admussion of

color slide evidence, testimony of victim's

brother, and police and pathologist testimo-

ny, all regarding nonstatutory aggravating

circumstances, were presented to the Su-

preme Court on direct appeal from convic-

tion and decided adversely to petitioner,

and, therefore, could not be relitigated on

petition for writ of error coram nobis and

were procedurally barred.

EVANS v. STATE Miss. 52]

Cite as 441 So.2d 528 (Mina 1963)

5. Criminal Law 9972

Failure of petitioner to allege as error

the admission of evidence of bullet and

victim's belongings to the Supreme Court

on direct appeal from conviction precluded

petitioner from raising issue for first time

on petition for writ of error coram nobis

and was procedurally barred.

6 Criminal Law 997.7

Contention relating to failure of trial

court to give jury instruction limiting con-

sideration of aggravating circumstances,

having been alleged as error and briefed on

direct appea] and rejected by the Supreme

Court, could not be relitigated on petition

for writ of error coram nobis, and was

procedurally barred.

7. Criminal Law 997.7

Contentions that trial] court erred in

removing juror with scruples against capi-

tal punishment and that prosecuting attor-

ney’s argument constituted misconduct,

both having been presented on direct appeal!

from conviction and found to be without

merit, were res judicata, could not be reliti-

gated on petition for writ of error coram

nobis, and were procedurally barred.

& Criminal Law 9972

Numerous contentions relating to, inter

alia, sufficiency of indictment, refusal to

permit defense witness to testify in mitiga-

tion of sentence, absence of presentence

report, inadequacy of trial judge's report,

and propertionality review structure, not

having been raised or presented on direct

appea! from conviction could not be raised

for first time on petition for writ of error

coram nobis and were procedurally barred.

9. Criminal Law 9972

Contentions that death sentence was

disproportionate and arbitrary and that

death penalty in Mississippi is imposed in

discriminatory manner, not having been

presented on direct appeal from conviction,

were unpreserved and procedurally barred

in proceedings on petition for writ of error

coram nobis.

Solomon Osborne, Greenwood, for appel-

lant.

Bill Allain, Atty. Gen., Amy D. Whitten,

William S. Boyd, III, Sp. Asst. Attys. Gen.,

Jackson, for appellee.

En Banc.

ON APPLICATION FOR LEAVE TO

FILE PETITION FOR WRIT OF

ERROR CORAM NOBIS

ROY NOBLE LEE, Justice, for the

Court:

Connie Ray Evans was convicted in the

Circuit Court of the First Judicial District

of Hinds County, Mississippi, and sentenced

to suffer death, according to the law of the

State of Mississippi. That judgment and

sentence were affirmed by a unanimous

decision of the Mississippi Supreme Court

on November 3, 1982, and petition for

rehearing was ‘denied December 15, 1982

Evans v. State, 422 So.2d 737 (Miss.1982).

The facts recited in the opinion reflect that

during the evening hours of April &, 1981,

Evans and his accomplice met and made

plans to rob RJ. Food Store located on

Lynch Street in Jackson, Mississippi. Ev-

ans stated to his accomplice that they might

have to kill the storekeeper during the rob-

bery. The next day, Evans and the accom-

plice robbed the store and clerk of approxi-

mately $400.00, and, in the process, Evans

shot and killed the clerk.

A petition for a writ of certiorari to the

Supreme Court of Mississippi was filed in

the United States Supreme Court and that

court denied the petition on May 16. 198

Petition for rehearing was filed and also

was denied. Application for Leave to File

Petition for Writ of Error Coram Nobis was

filed on July 1, 1983, setting out eighteen

(18) grounds for relief, each of which we

address hereinafter.

I.

Unlawful Application of Statutory

Aggravating Factors

A. The State's Use in Petitioner’s Case

of the Statutory Provisions that the

Murder was “Especially Heinous,

Atrocious and Cruel.”

{1] This ground was presented to the

Court on direct appeal from Evans’ convic-

522 Miss.

tion and sentence and was resolved by the

Court in the following response:

In the case sub judice, the victim was

forced to kneel on the floor behind the

counter with a .38<caliber revolver point-

ing at his head, he was made to stand up

at gunpoint and open the cash register,

and again was forced to kneel on the

floor with the revolver still pointing at

his head. He was physically assaulted by

one of the robbers emptying his pockets,

all oceurring over a short period of time.

From those facts, the jury could consider

mental torture and aggravation which

the victim probably underwent, and to

determine whether or not the murder un-

der al] the facts and circumstances was

especially heinous, atrocious or cruel.

Even though it may be said that the facts

of the homicide do not pass constitutional

muster on the aggravating circumstances

of being especially heinous, atrocious or

cruel, three (3) other aggravating circum-

stances were proved by overwhelming ev-

idence. [Evans v. State, 422 So.2d 743}

Thus, the matter having been fully and

finally litigated on direct appeal, it is res

adjudicata, may not be relitigated in a cor-

am nobis proceeding, and is procedurally

barred.

We note that Evans argues on this point

in his petition that “Moreover, as expressly

acknowledged by this Court in its review of

petitioners’s case on direct appeal, there

was wholly insufficient evidence to support

the jury’s reliance upon this aggravating

circumstance in imposing a death sentence

on petitioner.” The argument is misplaced.

The response clearly sets out that the ag-

gravating circumstance of being especially

heinous, atrocious or crue! was properly

submitted for the consideration of the jury

and for its determination. The phrase

“Even though it may be said that the facts

of the homicide do not pass constitutional

muster on the aggravating circumstance of

being especially heinous, atrocious or cruel,

...” is a different way of saying “Assum-

ing arguendo, ...” or “Even though it may

be argued, ...” or “For the sake of argu-

ment, ...”

441 SOUTHERN REPORTER, 2d SERIES

B. The State's Use in Petitioner's Case

of the Statutory Provision that Peti-

tioner’s Offense was Committed for

the Purpose of “avoiding ... lawful

arrest” as an Agpravating Circum-

stance

[2] This contention was not alleged as

error and presented on direct appeal. The

issue may not now be raised for the first

time on this application for leave to file the

petition for writ of error coram nobis, and

it is procedurally barred. Smith v. State,

434 So.2d 212 (Miss.1983); Edwards v. Thig-

pen, 433 So2d 906 (Miss.1983); Wheat v.

Thigpen, 431 So.2d 486 (Miss. 1983).

C. The Use of the Statutory Provision

that Petitioner was “under sentence

of imprisonment’ at the Time of the

Offense as an Aggravating Circum-

stance

[3] This contention was presented and

argued to the Court on direct appeal (Ev-

ans, supra, at 741), it may not be relitigated

again on this petition and is procedurally

barred.

Il.

Interjection of Evidence Based on Non-

Statutory Aggravating Circumstances

A. Color Slide Evidence

B. Testimony of Victum’s Brother

C. Police and Pathologist Testimony

[4] The contentions A, B, and C were

presented to this Court on direct appeal and

were decided adversely to petitioner.

Therefore, they may not be relitigated on

this petition and are procedurally barred.

D. Evidence of Bullet and Victim's Be

longings

[5] Petitioner did not allege as error or

present same to this Court on direct appeal,

the issue may not now be raised for the

first time on the petition and is procedural-

ly barred. (Smith, supra; Edwards, supra;

and Wheat, supra ).

EVANS v. STATE

Miss’ 523

Cite as 441 So.2d 528 (Miss. 1963)

E. Failure to Give a Jury Instruction

Limiting Consideration of Aggravat-

ing Circumstances

(6] This contention was alleged as error

and briefed on direct appeal and was reject-

ed by the Court. It may not now be reliti-

gated on this petition and is procedurally

barred. (Evans, supra, at 745).

III.

Other Constitutional Errors in the

Sentencing Tria!

1. Removal of Juror with Scruples

Against Capital Punishment

2. The Prosecuting Attorney’s Pervasive

Pattern of Misconduct

(7] Evans contends that the lower court

erred (1) in removing a juror with scruples

against capital punishment, and (2) the

prosecuting attorney's argument constitut-

ed error. Both of these contentions were

presented to this Court on direct appeal and

were found to be without merit. (Evans,

supra, at 740, 746). They are res adjudica-

ta, may not be relitigated on this petition

and are procedurally barred.

3. The Absence of a Finding of Intent to

Take Life

4. The Absence of Notice of Aggravat-

ing Circumstances

5. Refi to Allow Petitioner's Witness

to Testify on His Behalf Violated Pe-

titioner’s Rights under the Eighth

and Fourteenth Amendments

6. The Absence of a Presentence Report

7. Imadequacy of the Tra! Judge's Re

port

8. Inadequacy of Appellate Review Pro-

cedures

{8} Evans relies upon Enmund v. Fiori-

da, 458 U.S. 782, 192 S.Ct 3368, 73

L.Ed.2d 1140 (1982), and contends (3) tnat

he did not kill, attempt to kill, or inu -d

* that a killing take place during the robbery,

and that the death penalty should not have

1. Enmund was rendered July 2, 1982. Evans

been imposed. In Engie v. Isaac, 456 US.

107, 102 S.Ct. 1558, 71 L.Ed.2d 783 (1982),

the court held:

Where the basis of a constitutional claim

is available, and other defense counsel

have perceived and litigated that ciaim,

the demands of comity and finality coun-

se] against labeling alleged unawareness

of the objection as cause for a procedural

default. (456 U.S. at 134, 102 S.Ct at

1575, 71 L.Ed.2d at 804).’

He contends that (4) the indictment al-

leged no aggravating circumstances and

that the omission violated his rights under

the Fourteenth and Sixth Amendments of

the United States Constitution, (5) the low-

er court's refusa! to permit his witness to

testify in mitigation of the sentence violat-

ed his Eighth and Fourteenth Amendment

rights, (6) the absence of a pre-sentence

report constituted error, (7) the inadequacy

of the trial judge's report was error, and (8)

Mississippi's proportionality review struc-

ture is inadequate and prejudicial w him.

None of these contentions listed here

were raised or presented on the direct ap

peal, and they are procedurally barred.

Smith, supra; Edwards, supra; Wheat, su-

pra.

9. Arbitrariness of the Death Penalty in

Mississippi

10. Discriminatory Aspects of the Death

Penalty in Mississippi

{9} Evans contends that (9) his sentence

is disproportionate and arbitrary and (10)

the death penalty in Mississippi is imposed

in a discriminatory manner. Those cunten-

tions were not presented on the direct ap-

peal, they are unpreserved and are proce-

durally barred. Smith, supra; Edwards,

supra; Wheat, supra.

We are of the opinion that the Applica-

tion for Leave to File Petition for Writ of

Error Coram Nobis in the Circuit Court of

the First Judicial District of Hinds County,

Mississippi, should be denied.

APPLICATION DENIED.

was sentenced to death October 15, 198!

524 Miss.

PATTERSON, CJ., WALKER and

BROOM, PJJ., and BOWLING, and DAN

M. LEE, JJ., concur.

ROBERTSON, HAWKINS and PRATH-

ER, JJ., dissent.

ROBERTSON, Justice, dissenting:

1.

For at least two decades the writ of error

coram nobis has been a post-conviction form

of action through which prisoners of the

state have filed constitutional challenges to

their convictions and sentences. We have

venerated this writ, for it fulfills our felt

obligation to assure that po person experi-

ences the sting of the state’s penal sanc-

tions inconsistent with the constitution.

Secondary but also important is our fed-

eralism context. Wher Mississippi's prison-

ers have been admonished that their com-

plaints may not be heard in federal court

until all viable state remedies have been

exhausted, we have insisted that this state

affords such a remedy. We have pro

claimed it plain, adequate and speedy. Asa

responsible partner in our federal system

we would be remiss if we did not afford

state prisoners such a remedy.

Today's decision renders the writ of error

coram nobis an empty form of action. It is

still on tye books. There is simply not

much of any importance it may be used for

After today we have no plain, adequate

and speedy post-conviction remedy for adju-

dication of constitutional issues. Today's

decision makes clear that, if such issues are

presented at trial and on direct appeal, they

are barred on error coram nobis as res

judicata. If such issues are not presented

at trial and on direct appeal, they are

deemed waived Al! constitutional claims

are thus precluded from post-conviction re-

view. Today's decision unmistakably holds

1. Let me emphasize st the ovtset that i unre

servedly join those who would “streamline and

441 SOUTHERN REPORTER, 24 SERIES

that the writ of error coram nobis is no

longer a viable form of post-conviction ac-

tion for the litigation of a prisoner's consti-

tutional claims no matter how meritorious

those claims may be. The writ has become

an ambassador without portfolio. .

Because our action today is so out of

keeping with my understanding of our judi-

cial responsibilities in cases such as this, |

respectfully dissent and set fc:th my rea-

sons at some length.

Il.

A.

We recall the standing the writ of error

coram nobis has had.'

Though it was available at common law,

the writ of error coram nobis has a statuto-

ry base in this state. Miss.Code § 99-35-

145 (1972). This statute became law over

thirty years ago. Miss.Laws, ch. 250 (1952)

It was passed out of the legislature's “cog-

nizance of the need to establish an adequate

post-conviction remedy". Smith v. State,

155 So.2d 494, 495 (Miss. 1963).

In Windom v. State, 192 So.2d 689 (Miss.

1966), for example, the Court described the

coram nobis remedy in this language:

This Court has provided a plain, ade-

quate and speedy post-conviction remedy

for adjudication of all issues that may be

raised under the Constitution of the Unit-

ed States or the Constitution of Mississip-

pi

192 So.2d at 691.

This language was quoted and cited with

approval in Love v. State, 221 So.2d 92, 94

(Miss.1969). In Love the Court went on to

insist that:

“... This state has an adequate post-

conviction remedy for an application for

relief by persons convicted of crime.

§ 2255. See also. Rule 8l(e), Miss.R-Civ.P..

which arguably abolishes all remedial writs.

substituting motions. I write here in the con-

text of recent history wherein the wnt of error

coram nobis has been the only viable posi-<con-

vicuion form of acuon available after affirm-

ance on direct appeal in this Court

EVANS +. STATE Miss. 525

(Cite as 44] $0.24 520 (Mies 1963)

Even the most hardened criminals are not

denied a ‘full-blown hearing’”

221 So.2d at 95. [Emphasis added].

The office of the writ of error coram

nobis as this state’s form of action designed

to accommodate post-conviction considera-

tion of constitutional issues was reiterated

in Nelson v. Tullos, 323 So.2d 539 (Miss.

1975).

In this jurisdiction relief for a defend-

ant who claims to have been convicted as

the result of a deprivation of his constitu-

tiona] rights is by writ of error coram

nobis. As this Court pointed out in Botts

v. State, 210 So.2d TT7 (Miss.1968):

The function of a writ of error coram

nobis is to bring to the court’s attention

some matter or fact which does not

appear on the face of the record which

was unknown to the court or the par-

ties at the time, and which, if known,

and properly presented, would have

prevented the rendition of the original

judgment. The violation of defend-

ant’s constitutional right to be repre-

sented by counsel! constitutes ground

for granting a writ of error coram no-

bis to correct a former judgment. 18

2 We are, of course, in no way bound by the

regard

the views gxpressed by the United States Dis-

trict Court for the Northern District of Missis-

sippi in King v. Cook, 287 F.Supp. 269 (N.D

Miss.1968). King was an exhaustion of reme-

dies case. A state prisoner was seeking federal

habeas corpus relief. As a prerequisite to his

federal action, he had to “exhaust” any state

remedies “available” and “effective”. 287

F.Supp. at 272. [Esphasis added) In this

context U.S. District Judge Claude F. Clayton

made these comments regarding Mississippi's

error coram nobis remedy

... [A) writ of error coram nobis in Missis-

sippi is of broad scope and range, partucular-

ly giving cognizance to violauon of consutu-

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth

Circuit, and observed that the Court of Ap

... tp holding that the state procedures

might not be bypassed. applauded the “far

reaching” act as an effective remedy for se

AmJur.2d Coram Nobis § 17 (1965).

(210 So.2d at 779).

Accord Clayton v. State, 254 So2d 874,

875 (Miss.1971); Allred v. State, 187

So.2d 28, 30 (Miss.1966).

323 So.2d at 543.

As recently as 1982 we shenneed that the

writ of error coram nobis is the form of

remedy available to one mounting a “collat-

eral attack based upon constitutional de-

fects ... [in his] conviction”? Phillips v.

State, 421 So.2d 476, 483 (Miss. 1982).

B.

Through the error coram nobis procedure,

this Court has repeatedly allowed presenta-

tion of constitutional issues which could

have been litigated at trial or on direct

appeal but for various reasons were not

Fondren v. State, 199 So.2d 625 (Miss.

1967) typically reflects the office of our

writ of error coram nobis. Thomas Ear!

Fondren had been tried and convicted of

burglary. This Court had affirmed on the

merits. Fondren v. State, 253 Miss. 241, 175

So.2d 628 (1965). Two years later Fondren

sought release via writ of error coram no-

curing state court review of federal chal-

lenges to state convictions. It is the conclu-

sion of this court that the statutory scheme

vided by Georgia. 287 F.Supp. at 272.

The Distnct Court concluded with this lan-

guage

Thus it is seen that Mississippi, in enacting

§ 1992.5, had a comprehensive procedure for

the rehearing of criminal! cases, wherein er

tors of a constituuona! nature have occurred.

as early as 1952. at which time Georgia stil’

severely restncted the scope of its post-con

po ae og OE

twenty Why the majority has found f. desira-

ble or appropriate to restrict that view has not

been explained

526 Miss.

bis. He assigned an alleged denial of his

constitutional right to trial before a jury

drawn from a fair cross-section of the com-

munity. He alleged that in fact black per-

sons had long been excluded systematically

from juries in his county and that this

exclusion rendered constitutionally infirm

his conviction and sentence. This Court

granted relief on the merits. Fondren v.

State, supra, 199 So.2d at 626-627. In Fon-

dren the systematic exclusion claim was not

held procedurally barred. Fondren had not

timely raised the issue at trial. He had not

assigned it as error on direct appeals. In

spite of these failures, when the case

reached this Court two years later via error

coram nobis, we reached the merits and

granted relief. There was no waiver of the

claim “since the proof shows that he [Fon-

dren} was not advised of his rights by prior

counsel”. 199 So.2d at 626.

What is important about Fondren is that

the constitutional infirmity in Fondren’s

conviction is in fact just as procedurally

barred as is Evans’. Evans procedural! de-

fault is qualitatively the same as Fondren’s,

no more, no less. Fondren's “barred” con-

stitutional claim was considered on its mer-

its. Why Fondren does not require similar

treatment of Connie Ray Evans’ constitu-

tiona! claims escapes me.

Cc

—

There is another context in which we

have routinely ignored so-called “procedural!

bars” and allowed prisoners to present their

constitutional claims via error coram nobis.

These cases have arisen when the prisoner

has pleaded guilty, had his plea accepted

and been sentenced. Later he seeks error

coram nobis relief on constitutional

grounds. The plea of guilty constitutes a

waiver of an accused's most basic constitu-

tional rights. Boykin v. Alabama, 395 U.S.

238, 243 89 S.Ct. 1709, 1712, 23 L.Ed.2d 274,

279 (190.., Phillips v. State, 421 So.2d 476,

479 (Miss.1982). We have nevertheless pro-

ceeded to adjudicate the merits of such

cases—almost routinely. See, e.g., Echoies

v. State, 254 Miss. 133. 180 So.2d 630 (1965)

(prisoner allowed to challenge sufficiency of

441 SOUTHERN REPORTER, 2d SERIES

indictment even though he voluntarily

pleaded guilty and waived his rights).

Arguably there is a qualitative difference

in the Echoles waiver and that involved

here. Echoles’ guilty plea was knowing and

voluntary on his part. Evans’ “waiver” un-

dergirding the majority's view is predicated

upon the inactions of counsel in which no

one could say Evans was a knowledgeable

participant. If Echoles was entitled to be

heard on the merits of his claim, Evans is

even more certainly similarly entitled.

Ill.

Connie Ray Evans, II] has now presented

to this Court his petition for a writ of error

coram nobis. He charges that his death

sentence is infected with no less than six-

teen infirmities, each said to be of constitu-

tional dimension. He has done this via an

application adequate under Rule 38, Miss.

Sup.Ct. Rules, an application which lays

bare much flesh to many of his substantive

claims

The majority holds each of Evans’ claims

procedurally barred, apparently accepting

the State’s candid and (to my mind) shock-

ing insistence that:

Any relative merit which might be

found in the [sixteen constitutional]

claims is afforded no consideration where

the machinery f«> preserving the claim

has gone unused.

State’s Brief, p 11. [Emphasis added]

The majority would have Evans die, not

because the proceedings at tmai and on

direct appeal were fundamentally fair or

constitutionally adequate, but because his

lawyer goofed. We have here no sugges-

tion that defense counsel chose deliberately

to bypass the trial and appellate process.

The State does not argue that defense coun-

sel eschewed presenting these sixteen con-

stitutional claims as a matter of conscious

trial tactics. Connie Ray Evans, the center

and subject of this kafkaesque nightmar.

no doubt has not the slightest comprehen-

sion of his lawyer's inaction at tmal or our

action here. Decisions that life be taken

should be made of more solid stuff.

EVANS v. STATE Miss. §27

Cite as 441 So.2d 528 (Misa 1963)

The majority opinion is, | submit with Consider the logic implicit in the majority

sincerest respect and deference, in grave opinion Alleged violations of constitution-

error on two fronte—first, in its unjust a! and other rights must be objected to at

impact on the man whese life is here om the trial aiid then raised as assigned errors if

line; and, second, in its complete eviscera- they are to be preserved for consideration

tion of the coram nobis post-conviction rem- on their merits on direct appeal. If error is

edy. tot properly preserved, then such error may

Make no mistake about the implications ot—says the majority—be asserted as a

of the procedural bar the majority would basis for post-conviction relief because of

impose upon Connie Ray Evans. It pre- procedural bar. If, however, the defendant

sumes that, in at least sixteen different preserves the error, the majority nonethe-

particulars, Evans’ rights secured by the less denies post-conviction proceedings be-

Constitution of the United States may have cause al] such preserved errors have been

been violated. No matter. The majority reviewed on direct appeal and are thus res

holds that Evans must die, his sixteen fed- judicata’ The majority opinion allows nei-

era! constitutional claims never having been ther preserved nor unpreserved error to be

considered on their merits by anyone raised for post-conviction review. [If this be

What state interest requires such a fateful the law, it is difficult to imagine why we

step wholly escapes me! ever thought it necessary to have a post-

Second, and to my mind even more dis- conviction remedy for the litigation of con-

turbing, are the institutional ramifications stitutional claims at all.‘

of the majority opinion. The writ of error J

coram nobis, as we have heretofore known IV.

it, has been substantially eviscerated’ Af- The dissent I register here is undergirded

ter today’s decision, there is no post-convic- by a powerful principle well stated hy this

tion relief available in this Court on ques. Court over thirty years ago in Brooks v.

tions of criminal constitutional! law’ ¢ State, 209 Miss. 150, 46 So.2d 94 (1950).

3. Presumably the writ may stil] be used to

present ineffective assistance of counsel!

claims. Read v. State, 430 So.2d 832, 836-842

(Miss. 1962). It may also continue to serve its

common law function as a form of action

through which a prisoner may call to the

court aftention some matter of fact not ap

pearing on the face of the record and unknown

at the time of trial. Petition of Broom. 25)

Miss. 25, 32-33, 168 So.2d 44, 48 (1964): Allred

vy. State, 187 So.2d 28, 30-31 (Miss. 1966). Nei-

son v. Tullos, 323 So2d 539, 543 (Miss.1968)

4. This case must be confined to its procedural

context: tna! on the merits ending im coavic-

tion and sentence, affirmance on direct appeal.

followed by an application here for post-convic-

tion relief via writ of error coram nobis. Of

course, all post-conviction applications by

death row inmates are likely to be made in this

procedural context. | trust no one will suggest

any implied modification or repeal of the habe-

as corpus provided in RULE 8.07 of

Uniform Criminal Rules of Circuit Court Prac-

made to a circuit court’ By way of contrast

we are here concerned with cases where this

Court last had junsdiction and where hereto

fore the writ of error coram nobis initially

sought here was the only viable remedy. See

Rule 38, Miss.Sup.Ct. Rules

5S. Let me be clear that | wholly agree that res

judicata does set in once an issue has been

finally adjudged on its ments and affirmed on

direct appeal in such cases the defendant has

had his day in court on any such issue. Of

course where a man's life ts om the line rt

would seem appropriate for the Court to recog-

509, 102 S.Ct. 1198, 71 LEd2¢ 379 (1962), the

Today's decision makes clear that you

lead a horse to water but you cannot make

528 Miss.

Constitutional rights in serious criminal

cases rise above mere rules of procedure.

209 Miss. at 155, 46 So.2d at 97.

This principle was restated with approval in

Gradsky v. State, 243 Miss. 379, 384, 137

So.24 820, 821 (1962). Its current vitality is

attested by the Court's recent decisions in

Read v. State, 430 So2d 832, 837 (Miss.

1983); and Richardson v. State, 436 So.2d

790, 791 (Miss.1983). See also, my dissent-

ing opinion in Hil] v. State, 432 So2d 427,

443-451 (Miss. 1983).

This principle has force for a more funda-

mental reason: it is intuitively and demon-

strably just The point is graphically illus-

trated by imagining the converse principle:

In serious criminal cases, fundamental con-

stitutional rights are subordinated to mere

rules of procedure. No court would con-

sciously embrace such an exhaltation of

form over justice, yet such is the inescap-

able implication of the majority opinion

There is a practical reason why strnct

adherence to the spirit of Brooks is so im-

portant here. Death penalty litigation has

become highly specialized. Few Mississippi

lawyers have even a surface familiarity

with the seemingly innumerable refine-

ments put on Gregg v. Georgia, 42% US.

153, 96 S.Ct. 2909, 49 L.Ed.2d 859 (1976) and

progeny.’

We*have reviewed the record in numer-

ous death penalty cases in recent years.

Generally, we find that a vigorous all-out

defense is made, although there are excep

tions. Generally speaking, the Mississippi

Bar has reason to te proud of the vigor and

competence with which its members have

defended capital cases. On points that

arise regularly in criminal cases of al! de-

scriptions—change of venue, insanity de-

fense, pretrial motions to suppress state-

7. For a survey of these “refinements” see my

article Fleshing Out the Premises and Proce

dures for Capital Murder Trails. 8 Voir Dire 6

(1982).

8. This situation is analogous to that in the

Fondren case discussed above. Fondren v

State, 199 So.2d 625 (Miss.1967). In Fondren.

defense counsel at tria! and on direct appeal no

doubt was unfamiliar with the then evolving

“systematic exclusion” issue

441 SOUTHERN REPORTER, 2d SERIES

ments and evidence, trial tactics generally,

jury instructions, and the like—our bar has

performed well. What happens frequently,

however, and what has happened in this

case, is that—as a conventional criminal

case—the case was well tried. In spite of

this, numerous important and highly techni-

cal death penalty issues were not raised.

Most of the sixteen issues presented on this

petition are issues which have resulted in

death sentences being vacated in other

cases. These are points of law with which

the average Mississippi criminal defense

lawyer has no familiarity.’

Nothing said here suggests any inference

that we here deal with ineffective assist-

ance of counsel. Nonetheless, there can be

no doubt that counsel's ignorance of the

constitutiona! issues at stake in a capital

case is responsible for many procedural de-

faults here. It follows to my mind that we

ought decide these cases on the merits of

the issues tendered, procedural niceties to

the contrary notwithstanding.

V.

The majority opinion relies on a trilogy of

recent decisions as supporting the proposi-

tion that we now have a blanket rule re-

quiring enforcement of procedural bars on

constitutional claims asserted in death pen-

alty cases via application for writ of error

coram nobis. Edwards v. Thigpen, 433

So.2d 906 (Miss.1983).° Wheat v. Thigpen.

431 So.2d 486 (Mis:.1983;. and Smith +

State, 434 So2d 212 (Miss.1983). In my

view, none of these cases is nearly so broad.

Despite the fact that the majority offers

Edwards as a case in which the blanket rule

requiring procedural] bar was invoked, only

six of seven assignments of error in Ed-

wards were treated as either res judicata ”

9. 1 specially concurred in Edwards expressing

briefly reservauons comparable to those | ex-

press here at more length Edwards v. Thig-

pen. supra. 433 So2d at 909.

10. Technically speaking. res judicata is a form

of procedural bar It 1s one which does not

senously concern me because in such situa-

tions the prsoner has had a full dress adjudica-

tion of his consututiona: claims on their ments

EVANS v. STATE Miss 529

Chie as 441 S024 526 (Misa 1963)

or procedurally barred. The fifth assign-

ment of error—whether Edwards possessed

an intent to kill—was treated unequivocally

on the merits. 433 So.2d at 908 The issue

could have been found res judicata as the

direct appeal opinion discussed the suffi-

ciency of evidence for finding that Edwards

was the killer. 413 So.2d at 1013. The

issue also could have been found procedur-

ally barred because the issue—both at trial

and on direct appeal—was “less than pre-

cisely framed” and thus not preserved. 433

So.2d at 908. Even though such methods

for disposing of the issue on procedural

grounds were available, the court, nonethe-

jess, reached the merits. Obviously, no

“blanket rule” is enunciated by this case.

In Wheat v. Thigpen, five of the points

raised on post-conviction proceeding: sad

been previously decided by this Court on

direct appeal. Cf. Wheat v. State, 420

So.2d 229, 232 (Miss.1982). Three other is-

no court will ever consider the ments of the

constututional claim.

ll. 434 So.2d at 215. The cases cited in Smith

and their sctual holdings are as follows. In

Court stated:

It should have been raised in the lower

sues—alleged improper closing argument at

the guilt phase, alleged improper jury in-

structions at the sentencing phase, and al

leged improper closing argument at the sen-

tencing phase—were neither preserved at

trial nor presented to this Court on direct

appeal. Wheat holds the three unpreserved

claims procedurally barred. Nothing in the

opinion, however, attempts to articulate a

rule going beyond the facts of the particu-

lar case. Nothing in Wheat purports to

announce a general rule requiring enforce-

ment of procedural bars precluding litiga-

tion of all constitutional claims in al] death

penalty post-conviction proceedings.

In Smith v. State, 434 So.2d 212 (Miss.

1983), the Court cites a number of cases for

the proposition that this Court holds that

post-conviction relief is not available on is

sues which could or should have been liti-

gated at trial or on appeal.’ Neither

imagnation can it be said that Rogers stands

for the proposiuion that constitutional issues

not presented at tnal or on appeal are forever

foreclosed froin consideration on coram nobis

In Rogers the Court did make thus staternent

It has been said that the mght to issue @

writ of error coram nots is founded on the

inherent power of the court over its judg-

ments and proceedings. See Hawie v State,

121 Miss. 197, 8&3 So 158

240 Miss. at 619, 128 So.2d at 551

In Kennard v. State, 246 Miss. 209, 148 So2d

660 (1963). the relief was denied on grounds

that

This is a re-argument of the case on the

merits of that issue It was fully discussed in

our onginal decision affirming the conviction

24€ Miss at 21, 148 So2d at 66)

In other words. the rejecuon or coram nobis

relief in Kennard was on res judicata grounds.

not om grounds that the issue had act been

preserved

In Gordon v. State, 160 So2d 73 (Miss. 1964),

the Court found a waiver of the constitutional

issue pertaining to the systematic exclusion of

tially in the nature of finding that the failure to

raise the issue in a timely manner was either a

been reversed on precisely this juror-exciusion

issue. 243 Miss. 750, 753, 140 So2d 88 89

(1962), cited in 160 So2d at 74. Gordon made

no showing “on the merits” of this claim. 160

So.2d at 76. Given “all of these circumstanc-

es." the Court found a waiver of the consttu-

tional issue. This sort of careful consideration

530 Miss.

Smith, nor Edwards nor Wheat, hold that

fundamental constitutiona! issues—that are

neither raised at trial nor assigned as error

on direct appeal—are foreclosed from pre-

sentation on post-conviction; such a holding

would necessitate overruling many prior

cases. See Hill v. State, 432 So2d 42%,

443-451 (Miss.1983) (Robertson, J., dissent-

ing).

VI.

The majority relies on Engle v. Isaac, 456

U.S. 107, 102 S.Ct 1558, 71 LEd2d 78

1983), in support of the proposition that

petitioner's constitutional claims not

presented at trial or preserved on direct

appeal should be deemed procedurally

barred. This citation is out of place. Isaac

literally concerns another world.

Isaac articulates principles to be applied

by federal courts, not state courts. In

Isaac, a federal court is being asked to

interfere with the final judgment of the

highest court of a state. By way of con-

trast, Evans asks this Court in effect to

reconsider its own prior fina] judgment,

something we have inherent authority to

do. Wetzel v. State, 225 Miss. 450, 483, 76

So.2d 194, 198 (1954); Rogers v. Jones, 240

Miss. 610, 128 So.2d 547. 551 (1961).

so

of the “cause” (deliberate by-pass) and the

“prejudice” (issue was frivolous) is an intelli-

gent and reasonable manner for evaluating

post-conviction claims by the state that issues

ought be held procedurally barred

In Irving v. State, 194 So.2d 239 (Miss 1976)

the application for a wnt of coram nobis al-

leged matters which had been considered on

dhrect appeal and were thus res judicata The

opinion of the Court makes no reference to

constitutional issues and, accordingly offers no

support for any broad application of procedural

bar

In Auman v. State, 285 So2d 146 (Miss

ty. 285 So2d at 147.

Bel! v. Watkins, 381 So.2d 118 (Miss.1980). is

than four umes”. 38] So.2d at 119. Despite

res judscata opuons, the Court chose instead to

441 SOUTHERN REPORTER, 24 SERIES

The dominant interest underlying the

Isaac principle is comity—the federal

court's comity obligation to respect the

competence of state courts and the finality

of state adjudications. Isaac is describing

the circumstances under which a federal

court should be reluctant to interfere with a

final judgment of this Court. This is

what—and all—that is said in the sentence

from Isaac quoted by the majority.

Isaac is wholly irrelevant when this Court

is being asked to reconsider its own judg-

ment. There are no comity considerations

present. We are on the other side of the

Isaac situation. Not one word in Isaac, not

one thought articulated in the opinion, has

the slightest application to the question of

whether a state court ought hear, on post-

conviction proceedings, constitutional claims

not timely presented on direct appeal. We

fashion our own rule on this question.

Despite the total inapplicability of the

decision in Isaac to this Court, an examina-

tion of the facts in Isaac—facts under

which state, procedural bars may be en-

forced—is instructive. Isaac is not a death

penalty case. The Supreme Court of the

United States has repeatedly held that

death is different.” In its “death is differ-

find issues “lacking in merit”. 381 So2d a

119 That we are not the only ones to so read

* the Bel! opimon is made evidence in Bei! v

Wtalans, 692 F.2d 999, 1003-04! (Sth Cir

1982;

Callahan v State. 426 So.2d 80! (Miss 1983)

states a combination res judicata /deliderate

by-pass rule 426 So.2d at 803 Furst, the

Court emphasizes that, “The writ of error cor-

am pobis will not be allowed to relitigate ques-

tions of law or fact already decided by this

Court [on direct appeal) 426 So2d at 803

Second. the Court emphasizes thal pouts

may not be raised on post-conviction proceed-

ings which were deliberately held back at the

time of direct appeal. 426 So.2d at 803. Suf-

there has been a deliberate by-pass.

dissenting opinion in Hill v. State, 432 So2d

427, 450. 45] (Miss. 1983)

12. Concurnng in Furman v. Georgia, 408 U.S

238, 92 S.Ct. 2726, 33 LEd.2d 346 (1972), Jus-

uce Stewart wrote

ll

EVANS v. STATE Miss 53]

Cie op 441 So.28 538 (Mies 1963)

ent” cases, the Court has articulated inter-

present in non-capital cases. Because the

penalty is qualitatively different in severity

and finality from any ot‘er punishment

known to our law, it makes no sense that

the procedural rules of Isaac should be ap-

plied the same as in non-capita/ cases

VIL.

It is important to understand the reasons

why the State urges that the issues ten-

dered be disposed of on procedural grounds

only. The State's articulated motivation is

to short-circuit anticipated federal court re-

view via habeas corpus under 28 U.S.C

§ 2254. The State is saying we should holc

Evans’ claims procedurally barred, not be-

cause such would promote the interests of

justice, but rather that such would pull the

rug out from under Evans when he ulti-

mately seeks federal review of his case."

The penalty of death differs from al) other

forms of criminal] punishment, not in degree

but in kind It is unique in its total urevoca-

bility It is unique in its rejection of renabib-

tation of the convict as a basic purpose of

criminal justice. And it is unique, finally, in

its absolute renunciation of al) that is embod-

os te Gel aaah ie eee. 408 U.S

306, $2 S.Ct at 3760, 33 LEd2d at 388

This theme, the unique nature of the death

, Georgia. supra.

408 UsS. at 287-289, 92 S.Ct. at 2751, 3752.

33 LEd 2d 376-378 (Brennan, J., concurnng).

Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153. 187-188. 96

S.Ct. 2909. 2931, 49 LEd2d 859 (1976)

Woodson v. North Carolina. 428 U.S 280

305, 96 S.Ct 2978, 2991. 49 LEd2¢c 944

(1976); Gardner v. Flonda. 430 US 349

357-358, 97 S.Ct 1197, 1204-05, 51 LEd2d

393, 402 (1977); Coker v. Georgia, 433 U.S

584, 598, 97 S.Ct 2861, 2869, 53 LEd2d 982

(i977), Lockett v. Ohio, 438 U.S. 586, 604

605, 98 S.Ct. 2954, 2964-65, 57 LEd 2d 973.

989-990 (1978), Beck v. Alabama, 447 U.S

625, 638, 100 S.Ct. 2382, 2390, 65 LEd2d

392, 393, 403 (1980); and California v. Ra-

mos, — US. ——, —, 103 S.Ct. M4.

3451, 77 LEd 2d 1171, 1179 (1983).

13. The courts of the United States, led by the

Supreme Court of the United States, have cre-

ated an anomalous, if not absurd, posture for

federal post-conviction litigation. If a state

court adjudicates the merits of a substantive

federal constitutional claim, then federal courts

The State not only asks that we refuse to

address Evans’ claims on their merits but

unash nedly further seeks our sid in avoid-

ing li..gation of Evans’ sixteen federa/ con-

stitutional claims in any federa/ court.

The Attorney General and this Court

have become interested in invoking proce-

dura! Lars in death penalty cases only in

recent years. Prior to the death penalty

moratorium which covered the last half of

the 1960s and most of the 1970s, procedural

bars in death penalty cases were unheard

of. For a collection of authorities to this

effect, see my dissenting opinion in Hill v.

State, 482 So2d 427, 443-45 (Miss. 1983).

A -review of recent history is instruc-

tive—and reveals our affection for proce-

dural bars to be particularly unseemly.

In seven cases, those of Richard Gerald

Jordan,“ Johnny Lewis Washington, Jim-

my Lee Voyles, Charlies Sylvester Bell,”

John Buford Irving,” Larry Jones and

have full power to “review” the federal claim

In such instances, the state pnsoner gets two

separate adjudicauons on the merits of his fed-

eral consutuuional claim—one in the state

courts, the other in the federal courts. On the

other hand, if the state court rejects the federal

constitutional claim by reason of some proce-

dural default of the prisoner, it is clear, at least

in non-capital cases, that the federal courts will

regard une state procedural bar as an indepen-

dent and adequate state ground and, according-

ly. refuse to hear the merits of the prisoner's

substanuve federal constitutional claim See,

e.g. Wainnght v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72, 97 S.Ct

2497, 53 LEd.2d 594 (1977), and Engle v. Isaac.

456 U.S. 107, 102 S.Ct 1558, 7] LEd2d 783

(1982) If such a rule be applied in death

penalty cases, then the defendant will be dis

patched to the gas chamber witnou! anyone

ever having considered on the merits his feder-

a) constituuonal claim.

14. Jordan v. State, 365 So2d 1198 (Miss.1978)

1S. Washington v. State, 361 So2d 61 (Miss

1978)

16 Voyies v. State, 362 So.2d 1236 (Miss.1978)

17. Bell v. State, 360 So2d 1206 (Miss.1978)

18. Irving v. State, 36! So.2d 1360 (Miss.1978)

19. Jones v. State, 381 So.2d 983 (Miss.1980)

12

Willie Reddix.” we have affirmed final

judgments of conviction and sentences of

death. We have thereafter denied coram

nobis and other post-conviction relief in

each of these cases. Subsequently, in each

of these cases, for one reason or another,

courts of the United States have vacated

the death sentences.” In each case, a fed-

eral court has held that imposition and

carrying out of the sentence of death would

be inconsistent with one or more provisions

of the Constitution of the United States.

In doing so, however, the federal judiciary

has in no way interfered with any of our

prerogatives on questions of state law. In-

deed, the federa) judiciary has bent over

backwards in grarting to us full berth on

questions of state law. See, for example,

the federal judiciary’s response to our argu-

ably dubious rewriting of an earlier death

penalty statute in Jackson v. State, 337

So.2d 1242 (Miss.1976): see Jordan v. Wat-

kins, 681 F.2d 1067, 1077-78 (5th Cir.1982);

Bel] v.- Watkins, 692 F.2d 999, 1010 (5th

Cir.1982); Irving y. Hargett, 518 F.Supp.

1127, 1133-34 (N.D.Miss.1981). It is in thus

context that we are presented with an un-

disguised demand that this Court assume an

adversary position.

We sit as the highest court of the State

of Mississippi, the court of last resort on al!

questions of state law. By virtue of the

Supremacy Clause, we are obligated faith-

fully to enforce, not to subvert, the Consti-

tution of the United States as the supreme

law of the land. Bolton v. City of ge

ville, 253 Miss. 656, 666, 178 So.2d 667, 672

(1965), Sanders v. State, 429 So.2d 245, 248,

251 (Miss.1983). The best way to insulate

20. Reddix v. State, 38] So.2d 999 (Miss. 1980)

21. See Washington v. Watians, 655 F2d 1346

(5th Cir.1981); Jordan v. Watkins, 68! F2d

1067 (Sth Cir.1982), clarified sub nom. Jordan

v. Thigpen, 688 F.2d 395 (Sth Cir.1962); Bell v.

Watkins, 692 F.2d 999 (Sth Cir.1982), Voyles v.

Watkins, 489 F.Supp. 901 (N.D.Miss. 1980}; Irv-

ing v. Hargett, 518 F.Supp. 1127 (N.D.Miss.

1981); Reddix v. Thigpen, 554 F.Supp. 1212

(S.D.Miss.1983); Jones v. Thigpen, 555 F.Supp

870 (S.D.Miss.1983). The one case left undis-

turbed by federal post-conviction review was

that of Jimmy Lee Gray. See Gray v. Lucas.

677 F.2d 1086 (Sth Cir. 1.82)

441 SOUTHERN REPORTER. 2d SERIES

our decisions from federal “tampering” is to

get the cases might here. If this means

reading the decisions of the Supreme Court

of the United States and of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Cir-

cuit as they are. rather than as we wish

they were, so be it.

This State has an important interest in

the enforcement of its capital murder stat-

ute, specifically including the death penalty

portion thereof. That interest is not served

by the Attorney General's continued insis-

tence that we blink at federa] constitutional

rights vested in those accused of capital

crimes. Death penalty litigation is in a new

era. It is still evolving. Because human

life is at stake, this evolution is necessarily

a tortuous process. As a major participant

in that process, we would serve best the

legitimate interests of this State and its

people by washing our own linen, rather

than pretending that it’s not dirty and then

reacting with a fit of pique when the feder-

al courts hold to the contrary.

We ought be no more offended that fed-

eral court: have the final say on questions

of federal constitutional law than are the

federal courts about the fact that we have

the fina! say on questions of state law. See

Erie Railroad Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64,

58 S.Ct. 817, 82 L.Ed. 1188 (1938) and proge-

ny. Indeed the federal judiciary’s defer-

ence to our interpretations of state law has

been most ungrudging. Set, e.g., Jordan +

Watkins, 681 F.2d 1067, 1077-1080 (5th Cir.

1982}; Walters v. Inexco Oi] Company, 670

F.2d 476 (5th Cir.1982). It would seem to

22. | am very much aware of the implications of

what | write here for this Court and the work-

load shouldered by its members and staff.

Death pared pn Bose pe created senous insti-

ee a state and federal,

They consume more time

542

phony rsclow Tokman v. State, 435 So.2d

, 673 (Miss.1963). Still when a man's life is

burden too back-breakang to bear.

13

EVANS v. STATE

follow that we ought give 2 comparable

respect to the competence of the federal

Judiciary in questions of federal law.

solemn responsibility is to decide each case

as though there were no other court To

the extent that we act out of interest in

what some other court may do in the fu-

ture, we demean ourselves. We are judges,

not advocates.

That seven out of the first eight of our

cases to be reviewed in the federal courts

resulted in the sentence of death being va-

cated ought to tell us that we have not been

doing something right. Emphatically, this

is not an occasion for our becoming advo-

cates and devising procedural mechanisms

for the blatantly obvious purpose of reduc-

ing the chances that death sentences af-

firmed here may be vacated by a federal

court. Our obligation on our oaths is to

decide carefully the merits of each constitu-

tional claim tendered by each person sen-

tenced to die. Our eye must be affixed to

justice, not slanted toward Wainwright v.

Sykes, 433 U.S. 72, 97 S.Ct. 2497, 53 L.Ed_2d

594 (1977), and Engie v. Isaac, 456 U.S. 107,

102 S.Ct. 1558, 71 L.Ed.2d 783 (1982).

VIII.

We have emphasized above that the state

does have an interest in the finality of

criminal proceedings. We here flesh out

what that means.

Once a criminal conviction has been final-

ly affirmed in this Court and the time for

further direct review has expired, the

state's finality interest vests. It is by no

means unreasonable or unfair that at this

point an additional burden be placed upon

the prisoner. Still we perceive no course of

logic which would yield the conclusion that

finality w the only interest then at stake.

If it be shown that the prisoner's conviction

or sentence be infected by substantial viola-

tions of rights secured by the Constitution

or laws of the United States or of this

state; and if it further be shown either that

had these violations not occurred. the prro-

ceedings at trial would have been substan-

tally more favorable to the prisoner or,

that there exists good cause why the points

were not raised on appeal; then the force

of the state's finality interest is overcome

A review of all of our cases makes clear

that this Court has taken a flexible, and

admittedly not altogether consistent, ap

proach to post-conviction proceedings On

the one hand, there is much to be said for a

continuation of this flexibility. On the oth-

er hand, we submit that the administration

of justice wil] be enhanced by announcing

general principles to be applied.

Whenever a prisoner, who has been final-

ly convicted in the courts of the State of

Mississippi and whose conviction has been

finally affirmed by this Court, seeks post-

conviction relief in this Court, and where

such prisoner claims that his conviction and

sentence have been infected by violations of

rights secured to him by the Constitution of

the United States or by the Constitution

and laws of the State of Mississippi, and

where the issues presented had not previ-

ously been tendered on direct appeal, the

prisoner should be required to show either

(a) that there exists good cause why the

point was not procedurally preserved at tri-

al, or raised on direct appeal, or both, as the

case may be,

or

(b) that the nights violations asserted did

in fact subject him to a substantial detri-

ment at triai, that is, had the rights viola-

tions not occurred, the trial process—as dis-

tinguished from its outcome—would likely

have been more favorable to him than it

was.

_ Beyond that, there is no sound reason

why this Court should erect a procedural

rule which would bar it from noticing, on

direct appeal or on post-conviction proceed-

ings, plain error. This Court's first duty is

to administer justice.

Wainwright v. Sykes and Engie v. Isaac

were never intended to encourage and insu-

14

534 Mis

late state court uvesponsibility. Rather,

they are a part of a fundamental shift in

emphasis wichin our system, whereby great-

er responsibility for the adjudication of sub-

stantive constitutional rights is being as-

sumed ty the highest courts of the several

states Without doubt the most certain

way to assure that the charter will be re-

voked is for the states to default in their

responsibilities.

ln my view, our decision on Evans’ peti-

tion should be as follows:

First, with respect to all claims asserted

which were adjudicated on their merits on

direct appeal, the petition shoukd be dis-

missed The previous adjudication is final.

Res judicata precludes relitigation in the

courts of this state.

Second, with respect to non-constitutional

claims which either (a) were not properly

preserved at trial or (b) were not presented

on direct appeal, those claims have been

effectively waived. In its supervisory ca-

pacity over its own judgments, this Court

has the capacity to notice errors of this sort

Our piain error rule applies here equally as

it does on direct appeal. Suffice it to say

that in the case at bar I detect no alleged

non-constitutional errors sufficiently plain

to be noticed here.

Third, with respect to those claims assert-

ed by Evans which are of constitutional

dimensions, federa) or state, and with re-

spect to which the claim either was not

timely preserved at tria] and/or presented

on direct appeal, we should hear Evans’

claims provided he can demonstrate either

cause or prejudice. Again, the Court re-

tains plain error powers even though nei-

ther cause nor prejudice be shown.

x.

Today we hold that Connie Ray Evans

must die We hold this though Evans has

presented to us sixteen reasons of constitu-

tional proportions why his sentence is un-

lawful The net effect of today’s decision is

that no court may ever consider the merits

of any of Evans’ points He must die not

because he has been «.victed and sen-

tensed consistent with the constitution, but

because his lawyer made mistakes.

Today's opinion, with deference to my

colleagues, turns back the clock. Today we

announce an abdication of our responsibil.

ities to administer justice to persons within

our jurisdiction. We turn our back on re.

sponsible federalism.

In Allred v. State, 18 So2d 2 (Miss

1966) we posed the question:

What remedy then is open to a defendant

in the state courts, who claims to have

been convicted because the State obtain-

ed his conviction by violating his constitu-

tional rights? 187 So.2d at 30.

Today's answer is loud and unequivoca!:

NONE!

HAWKINS and PRATHER, JJ., join in

this dissent.

15

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF MISSISSIPPI

NO. 53,754

CONNIE RAY EVANS

STATE OF MISSISSIPPI

ORDER RESETTING EXECUTION DATE

It appearing unto the Court that a stay of

execution in this cause was granted pending final

disposition of an Application for Leave to File Petition

aid Application was denied;

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED that Wednesday,

December 21, 1983, be and the same is hereby set as

the date of execution of the death penaltv as provided

by law.

ORDERED this the 30th day of November, 1983.

eS AIRES CCURT OF: SSE CEST ee

Se) $3,794

IN RE COXNLE RAY EVANS

ORDER STAYING EXECUTION

The Court having considered the Application for

Stay of Execution filed by the appellant/petitioner, the

date of execution now being set for December 21, 1983,

has filed a Petition for Rehearing pursuant to Miss. Sup.

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED that the execution of

a>pellanct/petitioner be stayed pending final dispesition

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Clerk of this Court

ify counsel fer eppellant/petitioner and the State of

“Mississippi, along with the proper state and local officials,

a

as

¢ T xcys

Pag!

©. AK. gf

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF MISSISSIPPI

DECISIONS HANDED DOWN JANUARY 25, 1984

(Continued - Page t7

WALKER, P.J. Cont'd):

55,015 mitfon Pharr, Dalton R. Frenks and Melvin

CC-2104

PATTERSOR, C.

Jeffords, Jr. v. State; Circuit. Leflore; Motion

to Dismiss Appeal Overruled.

James L. Hooten v. State; Petitioner's Motion

that Trial Counsel be Appointed to Handle

Petitioner's Appeal Overruled. Motion to be

Transferred to Parchman and Assigned to

Chaplain's Office Overruled. Circuit Court of

Jackson County Authorized to Inquire into

Indigency co betitioner and Appcint Appellate

Counsel if Necessary.

J.

54,068

54,596

Frank Whitten, Jr. v. State; Circuit, Benton,

Reversed and Remanded for a New Trial

Thomas M. Boutwell v. Randy Blacklidge, Alex

Ware and Jones & Ware, Inc.; Circuit,

Harrison; Affirmed

THE COURT SITTING EN BANC:

53,017

$3,754

53,801

$3,825

53,916

54,205

Edward Earl Johnson v. State; Motion to Fix Day

of Execution Sustained. Thursday, March 1,

1984, Set for Execution of the Death Penalty

in the Manner Provided by Law

Connie Pay Evans v. State; Circuit, Hinds;

Petition for Rehearing on Application for Leave

to File Petition for Writ of Error Coram Nobis

Denied. Robertson, Hawkins and Prather, JJ.,

Dissent.

Firet Nat'l Bank of baa Vicksburg, MS.,

and D. W. Ellis, Trustee v. Michael B aruthers

and Rebecca R. Caruthers; Chancery, Warren;

Petition for Rehearing Denied. Patterson, C.J.,

Broom, P.J., Roy Noble Lee, Prather and

Robertson, JJ., Concur. Bowling, Hawkins and

Dan Lee, JJ., Dissent

Reserve Life Ins. Co. v. Henry McGee; Circuit,

Rankin; Petition for Rehearing Denied. Broom,

P.J. and Walker, P.J., Dissent.

In the Matter of the Last Will and Testament of

Sarah Kennebrew, Dec'd: Laverne Webster, et al.

v. Lee Kennebrew and Campbell Kennebrew;

Chancery, Hinds; Petition for Rehearing Denied.

Bowling and Dan Lee, JJ., Not Participating.

Allen R. Yates, M.D., et al. v. City of Jackson,

Mississippi; Circuit, Hinds; Petition for

Rehearing Denied.

Marion Albert Pruett v. Morris Thigpen, Coom'r

Miss. Dept. of Corrections, et al.; Circuit,

Hinds; Petition for Rehearing Denied Subsequent

to Denial of Leave to File a Petition for Writ

of Error Coram Nobis on January 11, 1984.

Charley Newson v. Aaron E. Henry and Ruth

Armstr Ross, Executrix of Est. of L. A. Ross,

Jr., Dec'd; Cirevit, Coshoma; Petition for

Rehearing Denied.

A, le

~

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF MISSISSIPPI

ROBERTSON, J.

Misc.

#1656

55,031

BOWLING, J

x 54,355

Robert Lee Russell v. Warden, Miss. Dept. of Correc-

tions and the yo of pitiessenipes Peticion for

Writ of Habeas Corpus Denied.

Alvin Culberson v. State; Circuit, Harrison; Amended

Motion and Suggestion of Diminution Sustained.

Robert W. Vaughn v. State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins.

Co.; Circuit, Washington; Reversed and Remanded

ROY NOBLE LEE, J.

x 54,723

54,725

$3,754

54,565

59,447

WALKER, P.J

54,109

54,674

William Thomas S@ich v. State; Circuit, Pontotoc;

Conviction of Five Counts of Armed Robbery and

Sentences of Life Imprisonment, Sentences to Run

Concurrently, Affirmed on Direct A 1; Cross-

Appeal Sustained as to Assignment i

Joseph Carl Brinson v. Betty Lee Brinson; Chancery,

Rankin; Affirmed.

In Re: Connie Ray Evans v. State; Motion to Fix

Dav of Execution Sustained. Wednesday, February 15,

1984, Set for Execution of the Desth Penalty in the

Manner Provided by Law.

Martha H. McIlwain v. Cecil Mcliwain; Motion for

Award of Attorney's Fees and Costs Sustained in

the Amount of $375.00 for Services in this Court.

Barbara Kaye Bush v. C. Nolon Bush, Motion to Strike

Brief of Appellee Overruled. Appellee’s Motion for

Attorney's Fees Overruled.

Sarah Elizabeth Wilson v. Phillip E. Wilson; Motion

to Strike Opinicn and Final Decree Passed for

Consiceration of che Case on tie Merits

Judy Clara Carter Wooten, Karla Jeanne Wooten, By Her

Mother and Next Friend, Judy Clara Carter Wooten, and

Carl Edward Wooten, Jr., By His Mother and Nexc

Friend, Judy Clara Carter Wooten v. Yazoo Valley

Electric Power Ass'n; Circuit, Warren, Affirmed.

Willie James Stewart v. State; Circuit, Sunflower;

Denial of Complaine agsinst Eddie Lucas, et al.

Affirmed.

PATTERSOK, C.J.

53,945

Frank Gholar v. State, Circuit, Jefferson Davis;

Petition for Leave to File Out-of-Time Petition

for Rehearing and Motion to Recall Mandate and

Record on Appeal Denied.

THE COURT SITTING EN BANC:

54,285

Bobby Caldwell v. State; Circuit, DeSoto; Petition

for Rehearing Denied. Walker, P.J3., MOOR, F.d.,

Roy Noble Lee and Bowling, JJ., Concur. yg

C.J., Dan Lee, Prather and Robertson, JJ., Dissenc.

Hawkins, : Pr Not Participating.

a. 19

SEPARATE SENTENCING PROCEEDING LO DETERMINE

PUNISHMENT IN CAPELAL CASES

§ 99-19-101. Jury to determine punishment in capital cases

in separate sentencing proceeding; aggravating and miti-

gating circumstances to be considered.

(1) Upon convicuon or adjudiatuon of gaunt of 4 detendant of

capital murder or other capital offense, the court shall conduct a

separate sentencing proceeding to determine whether the deten-

dant should be semtemed to death of lite unprsonment. The

proceeding shall be conducted by the tral judge betore the tral

jury as soon as practicable. If, through mipossibility of mability,

the trial jury is unable to reconvene tor 4 hearing on the issue of

penalty, having determined the guilt of the accused, the trial judge

may summon a jury to determine the issue of the impositon of

the penalty. If the tal jury has been waived, or if the detendant

pleaded guilty, the sentencing proceeding shall be conducted

before a jury impaneled for that purpose. In the proceeding,

evidence may be presented as to any matter that the court deems

relevant to sentence, and shall include matters relating to any ol

the aggravating or mitigating circumstances. However, this subsec-

tion shall not be construed to authorize the introduction of any

evidence secured in violation of the Constituuons of the United

States or of the state of Mississippi. The state and the defendant

and/or his counsel shall be permitted to present arguments for or

against the sentence of death.

(2) After hearing all the evidence, the jury shall deliberate on

the following matters:

(a) Whether sufficient factors exist as enumerated in subsection

(7) of this section,

(b) Whether sufficient aggravating circumstances exist as enu-

merated in subsecuon (5) of this secuon;

(c) Whether suthcient mitigating circumstances exist as enumer-

ated in subsection (6) of this section, which outweigh the aggravat-

ing circumstances found to exist; and

(d) Based on these considerations, whether the defendant

should be sentenced to life imprisonment or death.

(3) For the jurv to impose a sentence of death, 1 must unani-

mously find in writing the following:

(a) That suthcient factors exist as enumerated in subsection (7)

ol this section;

(b) That suthcient aggravating circumstances exist as enumer-

ated in subsection (5) of this section; and

(c) That there are insuthcient miugating circumstances, as enu-

merated in subsection (6), to outweigh the aggravating circum-

stances.

In each cause in which the jury imposes the death sentence, the

determination of the jury shall be supported by specific written

findings of fact based upon the circumstances in subsections (5)

and (6) of this secuon and upon the records of the trial and the

sentencing proceedings. If the jury does not make the findings

requiring the death sentence, the court shall impose a sentence of

life impnsonment.

(4) The judgment of convicuon and sentence of death shall be

subject to automatic review by the supreme court of Mississippi

within sixty (60) days after certification by the sentencing court of

enure record, unless the ume is extended for an additianal period

by the supreme court for good cause shown. Such review by the

supreme court shall have priority over all other cases and shall be

heard in accordance with rules promulgated by the supreme court.

(5) Aggravating circumstances shall be limited to the following:

(a) The capital offense was committed by a person under

sentence of imprisonment.

(b) The detendant was previously convicted of another capital

ottense or of a felony involving the use or threat of violence to the

person.

(CC) 60 Getta aww) Ssenw es OTe oo Ee eee

many persons.

(d) The capital offense was committed while the defendant was

engaged, or was an accomplice, in the commission of, or an

attempt to commit, cr flight after commuung or altempung to

commu, any robbery, rape, arson, burglary, kidnapping, aircraft

piracy, sexual battery, unnatural intercourse with any child under

the age of twelve (12), or nonconsensual unnatural intercourse

with mankind, or felonious abuse and/or bauery of a child in

violauon of subsection (2) of secon 97-5-39, or the unlawiul use

or detonation of a bomb or explosive device

(e) Uhe capital offense was commuted for the purpose of

avoiding or preventing a lawful arrest or effecung an escape trom

custody

(t) The capital offense was committed tor pecuniary gain

(y) The capital offense was commited to disrupt or hinder the

lawful exercise of ans governmental function or the enforcement

ot laws

(h) The capital offense was especially heinous, atrocious or

cruel

(6) Mitigating circumstances shall be the following:

(a) The defendant has no sigmfcant history of prior cnminal

activity

(b) The offense was committed while the defendant was under

the influence of extreme mental or emouonal disturbance.

(c) The victum was a participant in the defendant's conduct or

consented to the act

id) The defendant was an accomplice in the capital offense

committed by another person and his participation was relatvels

minor

ie) The defendant acted under extreme duress or under the

substantial domination of another person.

(f) The capacity of the defendant to appreciate the criminality of

his conduct or to conform his conduct to the requirements of law

was substanualls impaired.

(g) The age of the defendant at the ume of the crime

(7) In order to return and impose a sentence of death the jury

must make a written finding of one or more of the following

(a) The defendant actualls killed:

(b) The defendant attempted to kill:

(c) The defendant intended that a killing take place:

(d) The defendant contemplated that lethal force would be

emploved.

SOURCES: Laws, 1977, ch. 458, § 2; 1983, ch. 429, § 2, eff from and after

passage (approved March 29, 1983).

§ 99-19-105. Review by supreme court o! imposition of

death penaity.

(1) Whenever the death penalt, 1s imposed. and upon the

judgment becoming final in the tal court. the sentence shall be

reviewed on the record by the Mississippi Supreme Court The

clerk of the tal court. within ten (10) days after recening the

transcript, shall transmu ihe entire record and transcript to the

Mississippi Supreme Court together with a notice prepared by the

clerk and a report prepared by tne tral yudge The notice shall set

forth the utle and docket number of the case. the name of the

defendant and the name and address of his attorney. a narrative

statement of the judgment. the offense. and the punishment

prescribed. The report shall be in the form of a standard quesuon-

naire prepared and supplied by the Mississipp: Supreme Court, a

cop, of which shall be served upon counsel for the state and

counsel for the defendant

(2) The Mississipp: Supreme Court shall consider the punish-

ment as well as any errors enumerated by way of appeal

(3) With regard to the sentence, the court shall determine:

(a) Whether the sentence of death was imposed under the

influence of passion, prejudice or any other arbitrary factor;

(b) Whether the evidence supports the jury's or judge's finding

of a statutory aggravating circumstance as enumerated in section

99-]9-101. and

(c) Whether the sentence of death 1s excessive or disproportion-

ate to the penalty imposed in similar cases, considering both the

crime and the defendant.

(4) Both the defendant and the state shall have the mght to

submit bnefs within the ume provided by the court. and to present

oral argument to the court.

(5) The court shall include in its decision a reference to those

similar cases which it took into consideration. In addition to its

authority regarding correcuion of errors, the court. with regard to

review of death sentences. shall be authorized to

(a) Affirm the sentence of death; or

(b) Set the sentence aside and remand the case for modification

of the sentence to imprisonment for life.

(6) The sentence review shall be in addition to direct appeal, if

taken, and the review and appeal shall be consolidated for consid-

eration. The court shall render its decision on legal errors enu-

merated, the factual substantiation of the verdict, and the validity

of the sentence.

SOURCES: Laws, 1977, ch. 458, §4, eff from and after passage (approved

April 13, 1977).

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI

SEPTEMBER 1982 TERM

LEO E. EDWARDS PETITIONER

VERSUS NO. 53,298

STATE OF MISSISSIPPI RESPONDENT

RESPONSE TO APPLICATION FOR LEAVE

TO FILE A PETITION FOR WRIT OF ERROR

CORAM NOBIS AND/OR WRIT OF HABEAS

CORPUS

BILL ALLAIN, ATTORNEY GENERAL

BY: AMY D. WHITTEN

SPECIAL ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL

AND . ;

BY: WILLIAM S. BOYD, III

SPECIAL ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL

—_——-n" THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI

LEO E. EDWARDS PETITIONER

VERSUS NO. 53,298

STATE OF MISSISSIPPI RESPONDENT

RESPONSE TO APPLICATION FOR LEAVE

TO FILE A PETITION FOR WRIT OF

ERROR CORAM NOBIS AND/OR ;

WRIT OF HABEAS CORPUS é

The time has come in light of certain events which have

transpired within recent history for this Court to review it

charted course in capital cases and to reconsicer certain con-

cepts which, according to recent Federal decision, slace the

State in an untenable position. The present petition is stereo-.

typical of other cases which currently suggest the analysis

voiced herein.

To set the State's position in proper perspective it is

first necessary to elaborate uron the interaction of the

State/Federal concept as viewed throuch the lens of 28 U.S.C.

§ 2254, habeas corpus of prisoners in State custody. These

comments are significant in that they specifically deal with

comity and how this Court by its actions and findings can bind

the federal courts to a particular course of conduct and action.

te BASIC PRINCIPLES UNDERLYING

THE STATE/FEDERAL CONCEPT

UNDER 28 U.S.C. § 2254

The well-spring of federal authority to intervene into

state criminal proceedings is found at 28 U.S-C. § 2254. This

authority to intervene is, however, not unfettered. Of course,

federal habeas courts may only decide questions arising under

the Constitution of the United States. Tollett v. Henderson,

411 U.S. 258, 36 L.Ed.2d 235, 93 S.Ct. 1602 (1973). Conversely,

the federal courts lack authority to decide questions founded

upon independent and adequate state substantive Ar procedural

grounds. Henry v. Mississippi, 379 uU.s. 443, 13 L.Ed.2d 408,

85 S.Ct. 564 (1965).

In this context, let us examine the cornerstone upon which

the State will erect its case. |

A. State Court Determinations

_ Of Pact are Binding Upon

the Federal Courts

28 U.S.C. § 2254(d) provides:

"(d) In any proceeding instituted in

@ federal court by an application for a

writ of habeas corpus by a person in

custody pursuant to the judgment of a

state court, a determination after a hear-

ing on the merits of a factual issue, made

by a state court of competent jurisdiction

in a proceeding to which the applicant for

the writ and the state or an officer or

agent thereof were parties, evidenced by

a written finding, written Opinion, or

other reliable and adequate written indicia,

shall be presumed to be correct, unless the

applicant shall establish or it shall other-

wise appear, or the respondent shall admit -

"(1) that the merits of the factual

Gispute were not resolved in the state

court hearing;

"(2) that the fact-finding precedure

employed by the state court was not ade-

quate to afford a full and fair hearing;

"(3) that the material facts were not

adequately developed at the state court

hearing;

"(4) that the state court lacked

jurisdiction of the subject matter or

over the person of the applicant in the

state court proceeding;

"(S) that the applicant was an in-

digent and the state court, in depriva-

tion of his constitutional right, failed

to appoint counsel to represent him in

the state court proceeding;

"(6) that the applicant did not re-

ceive a full, fair, ane adequate hearing

in the state court proceeding; or

"(7) that the applicant was otherwise

denied due process of law in the state

court proceeding;

"(8) or unless that part of the re-

cord of the state court proceeding in

which the determination of such factual

issue was made, pertinent to a determina-

tion of the sufficiency of the evidence

to support such factual determination, is

produced as provided for hereinafter, and

the federal court on a consideration of

such part of the record as a whole con-

cludes that such factual determination is

not fairly supported by the record:

"And in an evidentiary hearing in the pro-

ceeding in the federal court, when due

proof of such factual determination has

been made, unless the existence of one or

more of the circumstances respectively set

forth in paragraphs numbered (1) to (7),

inclusive, is shown by the applicant,

otherwise appears, or is admitted by the

respondent, or unless the court concludes

pursuant to the provisions of paragraph

numbered ($8) that the record in the state

court proceeding, considered as a whole,

does not fairly support such factual deter-

mination, the burden shall rest upon the

applicant to establish by convincing evi-

dence that the factual determination by

the state court was erroneous."

In Sumner v.. Mata, 449 0.S. 539, 66 B.84.246 722, 10L $.Cé.

764 (1981), the Supreme Court addressed the question of factual

findings entered by State appellate courts. The Court heid:

It is obvious from a literal reading of the

above that § 2254(d) is applicable to the

present situation although it has been con-

tended that this should not be the case

where a state appellate court, as opposed

to a trial court, makes the pertinent fac-

tual findings. We, however, refuse to

read this limitation into § 2254(d). Ad-

mittedly, the California Court of Appeal

made the factual determination at issue

here and it did so after a review of the

trial court record. Nevertheless, it

clearly held a “hearing” within the mean-

ing of § 2254(d). Both respondent and

the state were formally before the court.

Respondent was given an opportunity to be

heard and his claim received plenary con-

sideration even though he failed to raise

it before the trial court. After respon-

dent presented his case to the state

appellate court, that court concluded in

a written opinion that “the facts of the

present case" did not adequately support

respondent's claim. Since that court was

requested to determine the issue by re-

spondent, we do not think he may now be

heard to assert that its proceeding was

not a “hearing” within the meaning of §

2254(d).

Section 2254(d) applies to cases in which

a state court of competent jurisdiction

has made "a determination after a hearing

on the merits of a factual issue.” It

makes no distinction between the factual

determination of a state trial court and

those of a state appellate court. Nor

does it specify any procedural requirements

that must be satisfied for there to be a

“hearing on the merits of a factual issue,”

other than the habeas applicant and the .

state or its agent be parties to the pro- t

ceeding and that the state-court determina- 7

tion be evidenced by "a written finding,

written opinion, or other reliable and ade-

quate written indicia.” Section 2254(d) by

its terms thus applies to factual determina-

tions made by state courts, whether the

court be a trail court or an appellate court.

Cf£. Swenson v. Stidham, 409 U.S. 224, 230,

34 L.Ed.2d 431, 93 S.Ct. 359 (19720. This

interest in federalism recognized by Congress

in enacting § 2254(d) requires deference by

federal courts to factual determinations of

all state courts.

Id., at 545-547, 66 L.Ed.2d at 730-731.

Continuing, the Court in Sumner I addressed the question of

federal disagreement with state court findings:

When it enacted the 1966 amendment to 28 U.S.C.

§ 2254 (28 0.S.C.S. § 2254], Congress specified

that in the absence of the previously enumerated

factors one through eight, the burden rests on

the habeas petitioner, whose case by that time

has run the entire gamut of a state judicial

system, to establish “by convincing evidence

that the factual determination of the state

court was erroneous." 28 U.S.C. § 2284/4)

(28 U.S.C.S. § 2254(d)]. Thus Congress meant

to insure that a state finding not be overturned

merely on the basis of the usual “preponderance

of the evidence” standard in such a situation.

In order to ensure that this mandate of Congress

is enforced, we now hold that a habeas court

should include in its opinion granting the writ

the reasoning which led it to conclude that any

of the first seven factors were present, or the

reasoning which led it to conclude that the state

finding was “not fairly supported by the record.”

Such a statement tying the generalities of §

2254(d) to the particular facts of the case at

hand will not, we think, unduly burden federal

habeas courts even though it will prevent the

use of the “boilerplate” language to which we

have previously adverted. Moreover, such a

statement will have the obvious value of enabl-

ing courts of appeals and this Court to satisfy

themselves that the congressional mandate has

been complied with. No court reviewing the grant

of an application for habeas corpus should be

left to guess as to the. habeas court's reasons

for granting relief notwithstanding the provisions

of § 2254(d). C£. Greater Boston Television Corp.

v. PCC, 143 U.S. App. DC 383, 444 F.2d 841, 851

(1970).

Summer I, supra, at 551-552, 66 L.Ed.2d at 733-734.

One would think the foregoing a rather clear and concise

statement of law. On remand the Ninth Circuit apparently did

not perceive it as such and without reciting any reason, entered

findings that were once again at odds with those of the Cali-

fornia Supreme Court. Once again on certiorari the United

States Supreme Court reversed. -- ois

We have again reviewed this case and conclude

that the Court of Appeals apparently misunder-

stood the terms of our remand. Nor did it com-

ply with the requirements of § 2254. We agree

with the Court of Appeals that the ultimate

Guestion as to the constitutionality of the

pretrial identification procedures used in this

case is a mixed question of law and fact that is

not governed by § 2254. In deciding this ques-

tion, the federal court may give different

weight to the facts as found by the state court

and may reach a different conclusion in light

of the legal standard. But the questions of

fact that underlie this ultimate conclusion are

governed by the statutory presumption as our

earlier opinion made clear. Thus, whether the

witnesses in this case had an opportunity to

observe the crime or were too distracted; whether

the witnesses gave a detailed, accurate descrip-

tion; and whether the witnesses were under pres-

sure from prison officials or others are all

questions of fact as to which the statutory pre-

sumption applies. :

Of course, the federal courts are not necessarily

bound by the state court's findings. Section

2254(d) permits a federal court to conclude, for

example, that a state finding was “not fairly

supported by the record.” Sut the statute does

require the federal courts to face up to any dis-

agreement as to the facts and to defer to the

state court unless one of the factors listed in

section 2254(d) is found. Although the distinc-

tion between law and fact is not always easily

drawn, we deal here with a statute that requires

the federal courts to show a high measure of

deference to the fact findings made by the state

courts. To adopt the Court of Appeals’ view

would be to deprive this statutory command of :

its important significance.

Our remand directed the Court of Appeals to re-

examine its findings in light of the statutory

presumption. We pointed the way by identifying

certain of its findings that we considered to be

at odds with the findings of the California

Court of Appeal. We asked the Court of Appeals

to apply the statutory presumption or explain

why the presumption was not applicable in view

of the factors listed in the statute. The Court :

of Appeals did neither. Accordingly, we again t

must remand. Again we note that "we are not to :

be understood as agreeing or disagreeing with the

majority of the Court of Appeals on the merits of

the issue of impermissibly suggestive identitica-

tion procedures.” 449 U.S., at 552, 66 L.Ed.2d

722, L101 S.Ct. 764.

Sumner II, 71 L.Ed.2d at 486-487.

See also: Gray v. Lucas, 677 F.2d 1086 (5 Cir. 1982) (Fifth

Circuit decided two key issues involving intent and a confession

based upon the binding determination of fact made by this Court

under the mandate of Sumner I.)

Consequently, should this Court during the course of any

proceeding, either on direct appeal or in a collateral proceed-

ing, enter a factual finding or summary, then the federal courts

are forever bound by such unless one of the eight exceptions

noted in § 2254(d) is found.

B. State Prisoners are Required

to Fairly Present the Substance

of Their Claims to the Appropriate

State Courts Before Entering the

Federal Forum

Perhaps the second most significant concept in the field of

post-conviction relief to come out of the United States Supreme

Court in recent years is the doctrine of exhaustion of available

A. 29

State remedies for all claims raised in a federal habeas peti-

tion. The first, in the opinion of the undersigned, is the

means by which encless prisoner-litigation is quashed, namely

the doctrine of procedural forfeiture as embodied in Wainwright

v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72, 53 L.Ed.2d 594, 97 S.Ct. 2497 (1977

).

In 1978 the United States Court: of Appeals for the Fifth

Circuit initiated the concept of total exhaustion. In Galtieri

v. Wainwright, 582 FP.2d 348, 355 (5 Cir. 1978) (en banc),

the

Court was confronted with a situation where, as in most habeas

petitions, some of the claims had been raised on direct appeal

but one in particular had not. In requiring dismissal without

prejudice, the Court held:

The policy in this circuit is that a federal

a@istrict court must dismiss without prejudice

a “mixed” petition for a writ of habeas corpus

filed by a state prisoner. West v. Louisiana,

478 F.2d 1026, 1034 (Sth Cir. 1973), att'd re-

garding exhaustion en banc, 510 F.2d 363 (5th

Cir. 1975). A “mixed” petition is one that

asserts both exhausted claims and unexhausted

claims that do not fit an exception to the ex-

haustion doctrine; that is, some of the claims

have not been presented to the state court

system so that the custodial state has not yet

had an opportunity to correct all of the alleged

constitutional errors.

In Rose v. Lundy, U.S. » 71 L.Ed.2d 379, 102

s.Ct.

(1982), this rule was applied nationally. Expounding upon

the policy consideration underpinning the rule of total exhaus-

tion the Court held:

The exhaustion doctrine is principally de-

signed to protect the state courts' role

in the enforcement of federal law and pre-

vent disruption of state judicial proceed-

ings. See Braden v. 30th Judicial Circuit

Court of Kentucky, 410 U.S. 484, 490-491,

35 L.Ed.2d 443, 93 $.C&. 1123 (1973).

Under our federal system, the federal and

state “courts [are] equally bound to guard

and protect rights secured by the Constitu-

tion.” Ex parte Royall, supra, at 251, 29

L.Ed. 868, 6 S.Ct. 734. Because “it would

be unseemly in our dual system of government

for a federal district court to upset a

state court conviction without an opportu-

nity to the state courts to correct a con-

stitutional violation,” federal courts apply

ee |

the doctrine of comity, which “teaches that

one court should defer action on causes pro-

perly within its jurisdiction until the courts

of another sovereignty with concurrent powers,

and already cognizant of the litigation,

have had an opportunity to pass upon the

‘ matter.” Darr v. Burford, 339 U.S. 200, 94

L.Ed. 761, 70 S.Ct. 587 (1950). See Duckworth

v. Serrano, 454 U.S. , 70 L.Ed.2d 1, 102

S.Ct. 18 (1981) (per curiam) (noting that the

exhaustion requirement “serves to minimize

friction between our federal and state systems

of justice by allowing the state an initial

opportunity to pass upon and correct alleged

violations of prisoners’ federal rights").

A rigorously enforced total exhaustion rule

will encourage state prisoners to seek full

relief first trom the state courts, thus

giving those co.+‘:s the first opportunity

to review all claims of constitutional error.

As the number of prisoners who exhaust all

of their federal claims increases, state

courts may become increasingly familiar with

and hospitable toward federal constitutional

issues. See Braden v. 30th Judicial Circuit

Court of Kentucky, supra, at 490, 35 L.Ed.2d

443, 93 S.Ct. 1123. Equally as important,

federal claims that have been fully exhausted

in state courts will more often be accompanied

by a complete factual record to aid the federal

courts in their review. Cf. 28 U.S.C. § 2254

(ad) (28 U.S.C.S. § 2254(d)] (requiring a

federal court reviewing a habeas petition to

presume as correct factual findings mace by

a state court).

U.S. _, 71 L.Ed.26 3897-388.

In this same context, and of particular importance in the

consideration of the matter sub judice, is the situation, as is

so often found, where the prisoner raises questions of state

law on direct appeal and then in a post-conviction petition

recasts his arguments in constitutional terms to gain the keys

to the federal courthouse. This situation was addressed in

the landmark case of Picard v. Conner, 404 U.S. 270, 30 L.Ed.2d

438, 92 S.Ct. 509 (1971).

We emphasize that the federal claim must

be fairly presented to the state courts.

If the exhaustion doctrine is to prevent

“unnecessary conflict between courts

equally bound to guard and protect rights

secured by the Constitution,” Ex parte

Rovall, supra, at 251, 29 L.Ed. at 871,

it is not sufficient merely that the :

federal habeas applicant has been through

the state courts. The rule would serve

no purpose if it could be satisfied by

raising one claim in the state courts and

another in the federal courts. Only if

the state courts have had the first op-

portunity to hear the claim sought to be

vindicated in a federal habeas proceeding

does it make sense to speak of the exhaus-

tion of state remedies. Accordingly, we

have required a state prisoner to present

the state courts with the same claim he

urges upon the federal courts. See Darr

v. Burford, supra, at 203, 94 L.Ed. at 766;

David v. Burke, 179 U.S. 399, 401-403, 45

L.Ed. 249, 250, 251, 21 S.Ct. 210 (1900).

Respondent challenged the validity of his

indictment at every stage of the proceed-

ings in the Massachusetts courts. As the

Court of Appeals pointed out, 434 F.2d, at

674, this is not a case in which factual

allegations were made to the federal courts

that were not before the state courts, see,

e.g., United States ex rel. Boodie v. Herold,

349 F.2d 372 (CA2 1965); Schiers v. California,

333 F.2d 173 (CA9 1964), nor a case in which

an intervening chance in federal law cast the

legal issue in a fundamentally different light,

see, e.g., Blair v. California, 340 F.2d 741

(CAS 1965); Pennsylvania ex rel. Raymond v.

Rundle, 339 F.2d 598 (CA3 1964). We therefore

put aside consideration of those types of cases.

The question here is simply whether, on the

record and argument before it, the Massachusetts

Supreme Judicial Court had a fair opportunity

to consider the equal protection claim and to

correct that asserted constitutional defect in

respondent's convicticn. We think net.

Until he reached this Court, respondent never

contended that the method by which he was

brought to trial denied his equal protection

cf the laws. Rather, from the outset respondent

consistently argued that he had been improperly

indicted under Massachusetts law and to the ex-

tent he raised a federal constitutional claim

at all, that the indictment procedure employed °

in his case could not be approved without refer- .

ence to whether the Fifth Amendment's require-

ment of a grand jury indictment applied to the

states. He adverted to the Fourteenth Amendment

solely as it bore upon that submission. The

eGual protection issue entered this case only

because the Court of Appeals injected it.

Recently, the nation's highest court elaborated upon the

principles formulated in Picard. Its comments in Anderson v.

Harless, 0.8 . , 74 L.Ed.2d 3, 6-8 (1982), are of

significant import to the topic now under consideration.

The United States Court of Appeals for the

Sixth Circuit affirmed. Harless v. Anderson,

664 F.2d 610 (1982). The court held that

respondent's claim had been properly exhausted

in the state courts, because respondent had

presented to the Michigan Court of Appeals

the facts on which he based his federal claim

and had argued that the malice instruction

was “reversible error.” See People v. Harless,

78 Mich. App., at 748, 26D. Wt, at a3 the , ae 63. F

court also emphasized that respondent, in his

brief to the Michigan Court of Appeals, had

cited People v. Martin, 392 Mich. 553, 221 N.W.

2d 336 TIS7a) = a decision predicated solely on

state law in which no federal issues were de-

cided, but in which the defendant had argued

broadly that failure to properly instruct a

jury violates the Sixth and Fourteenth Amend-

ments. In the view of the United States Court

of Appeals, respondent's assertion before the

Michigan Court of Appeals that the trial court's

malice instruction was erroneous, coupled with

his citation of People v. Martin, supra, pro-

vided the Michigan courts with sufficient op-

portunity to consider the issue encompassed by

respondent's subsequent federal habeas petition.

We reverse. In Picard v. Connor, 404 U.S. 270

(1971), we made Clear that 28 U.sS.c. § 2254 re-

quires a federal habeas petitioner to provide

the state courts with a “fair opportunity” to

apply controlling legal principles to the facts

bearing upon his constitutional claim. Id.,

at 276-277. It is not enough that all the

facts necessary to support the federal claim

were before the state courts, id., at 277, or

that a somewhat similar state-Iaw claim was

mace. See, e.c., Gayle v. LeFevre, 613 F.2d

21 (CA2 1580); Paullet v. Howard, 634 F.24 117,

119-120 (CA3 1980); Wilks v. Israel, 627 F.24

32, 37-38 (CA7), cert. deniec, 445 u.s. 1086

(1980); Connor v. Auger, 595 F.2d 407, 413

(CA8), cert. denied, 444 u.s. 851 (1979). fn

addition, the habeas petitioner must have

"fairly presented" to the state courts the

“substance” of his federal habeas corpus claim.

Picard, supra, at 275, 277-278. See also Rose -

v. Lundy, U.S. ’ (1982). .

In this case respondent argued on appeal that

the trial court's instruction on the element

of malice was “erroneous.” He offered no

Support for this conclusion other than a

citation to, and three excerpts from, People

v. Martin, supra - a case which held at,

under Michigan law, malice should mot be im-

plied from the fact that a weapon is used.

See Petn for Cert 47a-49a, Sla-53a. Not sur-

prisingly, the Michigan Court of Appeals inter-

preted respondent's claim as being predicated

on the state-law rule of Martin, and analyzed

it accordingly.. 78 Mich. App., at 748-750, 261

N.W.2d, at 43. :

The United States Court of Appeals concluded

that “the due process ramifications” of re-

spondent's argument to the Michigan court

“were self-evident,” and that respondent's

“reliance on Martin was sufficient to present

the state courts with the substance of his due

process challenge to the malice instruction

for habeas exhaustion purposes.” 664 F.2d,

at 612. We disagree. The District Court based

its grant of habeas relief in this case on the

doctrine that certain sorts of “mandatory pre-

sumptions” may undermine the prosecution's

burden to prove guilt beyond a reasonable doubt

and thus deprive a criminal defendant of due

process. See Sandstrom, ra; In re Winship,

397 U.S. 358 (1570). The of isoaata

affirmed on the same rationale. However, it

is plain from the record that this constitution-

al argument was never presented to, or considered

by, the Michigan courts. Nor is this claim even

the same as the constitutional claim advanced in

Martin - the defendant there asserted a broad

federal due process right to jury instructions

that “properly explain" state law, 392 Mich., at

558, 221 N.W.2d, at 339, and did not rely on the

more particular analysis developed in cases such

as Sandstrom, supra.

Therefore, when one considers the position of the federal

judiciary on questions of this nature, the principles of res

judicata noted in Miss. Code Anno. § 99-35-145 (1972), Auman v.

State, 285 So.2d 146 (Miss. 1973), Wetzel v. State, 225 Miss.

450, 76 So.2a 194 (1955), and Rule 8.07, Miss. Unif. Crim. R.

Cis. Ct. Prac. (1979), come sharply into focus. Such epitomizes

the symbiotic relationship between the concepts of total exhaus-

tion and the Wainwright v. Sykes doctrine of procedural for-

feiture.

Recognizing this symbiotic relationship, the Supreme Court °

in the case of Engle v. Isaac, U.S. P n. 28, 102

S.Ct. 1558, 1570, n. 28, 71 L.Ed.2d 783 (1982), obviated the

necessity of a return to the state courts where the question

would be procedurally barred. The Court stated:

As we recognized in Sykes, 433 U.S. at

78-79, 97 S.Ct. at 2 , the problem of

waiver is separate from the question of

whether a state prisoner has exhausted

state remedies. Séction 2254(b) re=-

quires habeas applicants to exhaust those

A. 34

eee

Stated simply,

quire a state prisoner to return to the state courts when

remedies “available in the courts of the

state." This requirement, however, refers

only to remedies still available at the time

of the federal petition. See: #8 hrey v.

Cade, 405 U.S. 504, 516, 97S. ‘cee eae

TUS5, 31 L.Ed.2d 394 (1972); Fay v. Noia,

372 U.S. 391, 435, 83 S.ct. 872, 847, 5

L.Ed.2d 837 (1963). Respondents, of course,

long ago completed their direct appeals.

Qhio, moreover, provides only limited col-

lateral review of convictions; prisoners

May not raise claims that could have been

litigated before judgment or on direct

appeal. See: Ohio Rev. Code. Ann. §

2953.2l(a) (1975 ; Collins v. Perini, 594

F.2d 592 (CA6 1979); Keener v. Ridenour,

594 F.2d 581 (CA6 197 ince respondents

could have challenged the constitutionality

ef Ohio's traditional self-defense instruc-

tion at trial or on direct appeal, we acree

with the lower courts that state collateral

relief is unavailable to respondents and,

therefore, that they have exhausted their

state remedies with respect to this clain.

claim would be procedurally barred.

there is no need for a federal court to re-

his

The importance of a clear and unequivocal rule regarding

post-conviction presentation of new grounds for relief is ob-

vious. Let us consider the federal rules regarding such.

Cc. Bar to Federal Review

Without question, the law is now crystal clear that a

federal court is barred from considering claims on habeas re-

view which rest on an adequate foundation of state substantive

or procedural law. Henry v. Mississippi, 379 U.S. 443,

13

L.Ed.2d 408, 85 S.Ct. 564 (1965); Davis v. United States, 4ll

U.S. aaa

Henderson,

Wainwricht

36 L.Ed.2d 216, 93 S.Ct. 1577 (1973); Francis v.

425 U.S. 536, 48 L.Ed.2d 149, 96 S.Ct. 1708

(197

v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72, S3 L.Ed.2d 594, 97 S.Ct.

(1977); Engle v. Isaac, U.S.

, 71 L.Ed.2d 783,

S.Ct. 1558 (1982); United States v. Frady, U.S.

L.Ed.2d 816, 102 S.Ct. 1584 (1982).

Specifically,

102

6);

2497

if a state prisoner is required by state law

to raise a timely challenge to a particular point or proceeding

and fails to do so he is barred from raising the claim ina

federal habeas proceeding absent a showing of “cause” and “actual

prejudice". Francis v. Henderson, supra; Wainwright v. Sykes,

supra. This failure to timely raise a challenge has been vari-

ously referred to as waiver, Wainwright v. Sykes, supra, default,

Engle v. Isaac, supra, or forfeiture, Evans v. Maggio, 557 F.2d

430 (S Cir. 1977); Forman v. Smith, 633 F.2d 634 (2 Cir. 1980).

Waiver as noted in Sykes is qualitatively different from

the waiver discussed in Fay v. Noia, 372 U.S. 391, 83 S.Ct. 822,

9 L.Ed.2d 837 (1963). Confronting this distinction for the

first time in Forman v. Smith, 633 F.2d 634, 638 (5 Cir. 1980),

the Fifth Circuit held:

This Court has not previously determined

whether the stancards of Fay v. Noia,

supra, or Wainwright v. Sykes, supra,

govern the availability in a haseas corpus

challenge of a constitutional claim not

raised on direct appeal from a state

court conviction. The issue was noted in

Gale v. Harris, 580 F.2d 52, 53, n. 1 (2d

Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 965,

99 $.ct. 1515, 59 flEd-%d 781 (1979), but

its resolution was not necessary for de-

cision cf that case. This appeal poses

the issue directly because there was no

Geliberate by-pass and hence petitioner's

constitutional claim would be available

under Noia but, as will appear, we con-

clude that his claim is not available

under Sykes.

Both Noia and Sykes cast the issue in terms

of waiver, but 1t 1s apparent that the two

decisions assign different meanings to

that concept. Noia uses the traditional °

test for determining waiver of a constitu- .

tional right, whether there has been "an

intentional relinquishment or abandonment

of a known right or privilege”, Johnson v.

zerbst, 304 U.S. 458, 464, 58 S.Ct. °

, 32 L.Ed. 1461 (1938), for determin-

ing whether a deliberate by-pass of an

available state court remedy has occurred.

372 U.S. at 439, 83 S.Ct. at 849. - Sykes

shifts the inquiry away from an examination

of the petitioner's knowledge and intention

concerning assertion of his claim, and in-

stead focuses on whether he in fact had a

justifiable reason:for not asserting his

claim. In the absence of such a reason, the

claim is deemed to be forfeited, regardless

of whether the petitioner, or his counsel

acting for him, consciously intended to

waive a claim known to exist. Even if a

justifiable reason exists, Sykes also deems

the claim to be forfeited eatess the peti-

tioner can show that the failure to assert

it caused his “actual prejudice”. 433 U.S.

at 91, 97 §.Ct. at 2508. We think the in-

tegrity of the term “waiver” will be better

maintained in this context if it is used,

as in Noia, to mean intentional relinquish-

ment of a Known right, and if the term "“for-

feiture” is used to describe what occurred in

Sykes, where legal consequences were attached

to a petitioner's omission. See: Indiciglio

v. United States, 612 F.2d 624, 630, na. rt

r. , cert. denied, 445 U.S. 933,

100 S.Ct. 1326, 53 Lied. 2d 768 (1980);

Spritzer, Criminal Waiver, Procedural Default

and the Burger Court, 1so U.Pa.L.nev. 473

(l578); Westen, Away from Waiver: A Rationale

for the Forfeiture of Constitutional Rights

in Criminal Procedure, /5 Mich.L.Rev. Tita

wa.

A precise definition of “cause” has never been formulated,

Wainwricht v. Sykes, supra, and the courts have apparently been

satisfied to approach the problem on an ad hoc basis. Engle

v. Isaac, supra. One point is certain, however, the cause

standard cannot be satisfied by the contention that the objec-

tion would have been futile. Engle v. Isaac, supra; Wainwright

v. Henry, U.S. , 50 U.S.L.W. 3981 (1982), reversing

Henry v. Wainwright, 661 F.2d 56 (5 Cir. i981).

Similarly, prisoners will not be heard to complain of parti-

cular errors where a proper challenge was not laid where there

existed some foundation in law for an objection at the time.

Engle v. Isaac, supra: Arnold v. Wainwright, supra. As the Court

held in Engle, supra, 102 §.Ct. at 1573, “later discovery of a

constitutional defect unknown at the time of trial does not in-

variably render the original trial fundamentally unfair." The

unencouraging status of the law at the time of the trial is not

cause sufficient to excuse an otherwise lawful and final state

procedural waiver. Dumont v. Estelle, 513 F.2d 793 (5 Cir.

1975).

In this same vein, claims of ineffective assistance of counsel

do not constitute cause. In Lumpkin v. Ricketts, 551 F.2d 680

(§ Cir. 1977), the Fifth Circuit held:

This assertion must be rejected, however,

for, if accepted, it would effectively

eliminate any requirement of showing

cause at all. If a petitioner could not

demonstrate any legitimate. cause, he would

only have to raise the spectre of ineftfec-

tive assistance of counsel to get his

challenge heard.

Id., at 683.

See also: Washington v. Estelle, 648 P.2a 276 (5 Cir. 1981);

Cooper v. Fitzharris, 586 P.24 1325 (9 Cir. 1978) (en banc);

Indiviglio v. United States, 612 F.2d 624 (2 Cir. 1979); Tyler

v. Phelps, 643 F.2a 1095 (1981) (wherein on petition for rehear-

ing the panel declined to hold, as it originally had, that an

allegation of ineffective assistance of counsel, chouch not in

the nature of a Sixth Amendment violation, might satisfy "cause”.)

Likewise, the courts have not rendered a precise definition

of prejudice, Wainwright v. Sykes, supra; Engle v. Isaac, supra,

but have been adamant in the contention that there must be a

"strong showing of actual prejudice.” Dumont v- Estelle, 513

F.2d 793, 797 (5 Cir. 1975); Wainwright v. Sykes, supra; Encle

v. Isaac, supra; Henderson v. Kibbe, 431 U.S. 145, 52 L.Ed.2da

203, 97 $.Ct. 1730 (1977); Sparkman v. Estelle, 672 F.2d 559

(5 Cir. 1982).

In Henderson v. Kibbe, supra, the Court defined prejudice

in the giving of erroneous jury instruction as:

The question in such a collateral proceeding

is “whether the ailing instruction by itsel£

so infected the entire trial that the result-

ing conviction violates due process,“ Cupp

v. Naughten, 414 U.S. at 147, 38 L.Ed.2d 368,

94 $.Ct. 396, not merely whether "the instruc-

tion is undesirable, erroneous, or even *un-

iversally condemned,'" id., at 146, 38 L.Ed.2¢

368, 94 S.Ct. 396, 431 U.S. at 154, 52 L.Ed.2d

at 212, 97 S.Ct. 1730.

i l....._

In Sparkman v. Estelle, supra, at 562, the Court set the

standard for an erroneous evidentiary admission as:

Finally, even if admission of Botley'’s testi-

mony was error, petitioner would not be en=-

titled to federal habeas relief unless the

evidence so infected the trial as to deny

fundamental fairness. The testimony must

have been "'material in the sense of a

crucial, critical, highly significant factor'”

to justify habeas relief. (Citations omitted).

Irrespective of the label adopted, the meaning is the same.

If a prisoner is required to raise a timely challenge or perform

a certain act and fails to do so he is barred from raising such

in a federal habeas proceeding absent a showing of “cause” and

"actual prejudice”.

The concept of waiver does not mean a state court may not

comment on the state of a particular area of the law on its own.

As an added note for practical application purposes, in Ratcliff

vy. Estelle, 597 F.2d 474 (5 Cir. 1979), the Court addressed the

issue of alternative rulings on a particular point; i.e., a

ruling invoking the procedural bar then fer the benefit of the

bench and bar elaborating on the merits.

In the instant case, there is no doubt that

the procedural default rule was applied in

state court. The state trial court squarely

held that petitioner had failed to make a

timely objection to the grand jury array.

It then went on do discuss the merits, ap~

parently with a view to disposing of all

issues in the event it was in error on the

procedural point. Without written order

the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals denied

petitioner's application based on the find-

ings of the trial court.

It is fair to assume that the appellate

court applied the procedural default rule.

First, the language in the trial court

opinion regarding procedural default is ab-

solute and there is no subsequent language

which would qualify or compromise it. Second

it is well settled that a court will not

reach a constitutional question if it can

rest its decision on nonconstitutional

grounds. See Rescue Army v.- Municipal

Court, 331 U.S. 545, ST Stee iT t. 105; ST L.Ed.

[666 (1947). See generally Nowak, Rotun=

da & Young, Constitutional Law 83-85 (1978).

—_—<— <= ==

Third, there is no question that the trial

court correctly applied Texas law on the

procedural issue.

Id., at 478.

What woes become vitally important, however, is that the

state court clearly and specifically invoke the procedural bar

prior to its substantive comments.

D. State Procedural Rules

That Bar Review Herein

Like the Federal courts the Mississippi courts will not

recognize errors or objections unless a timely challenge is

raised. United States v. Sanders, 639 F.2d 268 (5 Cir. 1981);

United States v. Miller, 600 P.2a 498 (5 Cir. 1979); Parker v. ;

State, 367 So.2d 456 (Miss. 1976); Martin v. State, 354 So.2d

1114 (Miss. 1978); Strincer v. State, 279 So.2d 156 (Miss. 1973).

oe

Lixe its federal counterparts, Rules 30 and 52, — Fed. R. Crim.

P., the state practice is based upon specified rules of proce-

dure.

L/

Rule 30: Instructions

At the close of the evidence or at such earlier

time during the trial as the court reasonably

directs, any party may file written requests that

the court instruct the jury on the law as set forth

in the requests. At the same time copies of such

requests shall be furnished to adverse parties.

The court shall inform counsel of its proposed ac-

tion upon the requests prior to their arguments to

the jury, but the court shall instruct the jury after

the arguments are complete. No party may assign as e

error any portion of the charge or omission there-

from unless he objects thereto before the jury re-

tires to consider its verdict, stating distinctly

the matter to whi

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — Evans v. Mississippi · 467 U.S. 1264 | Frix