Opposition — Waterhouse v. Florida (No. 83-5567)

Supreme Court brief1983

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

- 5567 .

oe “Tress

AUG 29 1983

ALEXANDER STEVAS,

CLERK

TABLE OF CONTENTS

OPINION BELOW 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE AND FACTS 1-5

ARGUMENT

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION FOR WRIT OF

CERTIORARI

ISSUE I

THE PRE-TRIAL STATEMENTS OF THE POLICE DID NOT 6-8

VIOLATE PETITIONER'S CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT TO

COUNSEL

ISSUE II

THE PRE-TRIAL STATEMENT MADE AFTER COUNSEL WAS 8

APPOINTED BUT IN COUNSFL'S ABSENCE DID NOT VIOLATE

PETITIONER'S CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT TO COUNSEL

ISSUE IIT

PETITIONER WAS NOT DETAINED OR SEIZED WITHIN THE 9-10

MEANING OF THE FOURTH AMENDMENT THUS THE JANUARY

7th STATEMENT WAS NOT OBTAINED IN VIOLATION OF

PETITIONER'S CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS

ISSUF_IV

THE SEIZURE OF PETITIONER'S VEHICLE WAS BASED ON 10-11

PROBABLE CAUSE THUS THE PHYSICAL EVIDENCE OBTAINED

FROM THE VEHICLE WAS PROPERLY ADMITTED

CONCLUSION 17

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 1]

TABLE OF CITATIONS

PAGE

Blasingame v. Estelle, 604 F.2d 893 (5th Cir. 1979) 7

Chambers v. Maroney, 399 U.s. 42, 90 S.Ct. 1975, 26 10, 11

L.Ed.2d 419 (1970)

Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S. 477, 101 S.Ct. 1880, 68 6G, 7, 8

L.Ed.2d 378 (1981)

Escobedo v. Illinois, 378 U.S. 478, 84 S.Ct. 1758, 12 8

L.Ed.2d 977 (1964)

Gorel v. United States, 531 F.Supp. 368 (U.S.D.C., 7

S.D. Tex. 1981)

~

Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458, 58 S.Ct. 1019, 8

82 L.Ed. 1416 (1938)

Jurek v. Estelle, 623 F.2d 929 (56h Cir. 1980)

~

McCree v. Housewright, 689 F.2d 797 (8th Cir. 1982) 7

Michigan v. Moseley, 423 U.S. 96, 96 S.Ct. 321, 6

46 L.Ed.2d 313 (1975)

Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436, 86 S.Ct. 1602, G

16 L.Ed.2d 694 (1966)

Nash v. Estelle, 597 F.2d 513 (5th Cir. 1979) ee

Oregon v. Bradshaw, 33 Cr.L. 3211 (1983) , a; ae

Schn=ckloth v. Bustamonte, 412 U.S. 218, 93 S.Ct. 9

2044, 36 L.Ed.2d 854 (1973)

Silva v. Estelle, 672 F.2d 457 (5th Cir. 1982) 7

State v. Grant, 392 So.2d 1362 (Fla. 4th DCA 1981) g

Thompson v. Wainwright, 601 F.2d 768 (5th Cir. 1979) Pee ee

United States v. Johnson, 563 F.2d 936 (8th Cir. i977) 9

United States v. Kiein, 626 F.2d 22 (7th Cir. 1980) 11

United States v. Massey, 437 F.Supp. 843 (U.S.D.C., 8

M.D. Fla. 1979)

United States v. Van Leewen, 397 U.S, 249, 90 S.Ct. 11

1029, 25 L.Ed.2d 282 (1970)

United States v. Williams, 694 F.2d 1192 (8th Cir. a)

1979)

Waterhouse v. State, 429 So.2d 301 (Filia. 1983) A...

White v. Finkbeiner, 687 F.2d 885 (7th Cir. 1982) 7

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Florida Supreme Court sought to be

reviewed is reported as Waterhouse v. State, 429 So.2d 301

(Fila. 1983).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE AND FACTS

The Petitioner, Robert Brian Waterhouse, was indicted for

the first degree murder of Deborah Kammerer. He was found guilty

by a jury, and a separate sentencing hearing was held. The

jury recommended death, and the trial court entered and Order

sentencing Petitioner to death. Appeal was taken to the Florida

Supreme Court raising the following issues:

POINT ONE

THE STATEMENTS OF THE DEFENDANT AND THE

TANGIBLE EVIDENCE TAKEN FROM HIS CAR

SHOULD HAVE BEEN EXCLUDED FROM EVIDENCE

ON THE GROUND THAT THEY WERE OBTAINED AS

A RESULT OF AN ILLEGAL ARREST OR DETENTION.

POINT TWO

THE TANGIBLE OBJECTS TAKEN FROM THE DEFEN-

DANT'S CAR SHOULD HAVE BEEN EXCLUDED FROM

EVIDENCE ON THE GROUND THAT THE POLICE

OFFICERS LACKED PROBABLE CAUSE TO SEIZE

THE VEHICLE PRIOR TO THE TIME THEY OBTAINED

A WARRANT TO SEARCH ITS OONTENTS.

POINT THREE

THE DEFENDANT'S STATEMENTS SHOULD HAVE BEEN

THE DEFENDANT'S FINAL STATP{FNT SHOULD HAVE

BEEN EXCLUDED ON THE GROUND THAT THE OFFICERS

FAILED TO ADVISE THE DEFENDANT'S COURT APPOINTED

ATTORNEY THAT THEY WERE CONDUCTING AN INTERVIEW.

POINT FIVE

THE DEFENDANT'S STATEMENTS SHOULD HAVE BEEN

POINT SEVEN

THE EVIDENCE OF AN ALLEGED HOMOSEXUAL RAPE

ATTEMPT WAS IMPROPERLY ADMITTED BECAUSE IT

DID NOT MEET THE RELEVANCY TEST REQUIRED BY

THE FLORIDA EVIDENCE CODE AND THE WILLIAMS

RULE.

POINT EIGHT

THE EVIDENCE DOES NOT SUPPORT A FINDING THAT

THE CAPITAL FELONY WAS COMMITTED BY THE DEFEN-

DANT FOR THE PURPOSE OF AVOIDING OR PREVENTING

A LAWFUL ARREST.

POINT NINE

THE EVIDENCE DOES NOT SUPPORT A FINDING THAT

THE CAPITAL FELONY WAS PARTICULARLY HENIOUS,

ATROCIOUS AND CRUEL.

POINT TEN

THE TRIAL JUDGE FRRED IN BASING TWO AGGRA-

VATING CIRCUMSTANCES ON ONE PRIOR ACT OF

THE DEFENDANT.

POINT ELEVEN

THE INVOLUNTARY SEXUAL BATTERY WAS AN ESSEN-

TIAL ELEMENT OF THE HOMICIDE AND AS SUCH, IT

COULD NOT OONSTITUTIONALLY BE USED AS AN AGGRA-

VATING CIRCUMSTANCE.

Attached hereto as Appendix I are copies of the appellate briefs

filed in this cause. The Supreme Court of Florida affirmed both

the judgment and sentence. Waterhouse v. State, supra. This

etition for Writ of Certiorari followed.

On the morning of January 3, 1980, St. Petersburg police

received a call from a citizen indicating the nude dead body of

a white female had been discovered face down in the mud flats on

the shore of Tampa Bay. Examination of the body revealed numer-

ous bruises around the throat, severe lacerations over the scalp

area, the right eye was swollen and black, and there were numer-

ous other body bruises. A blood-soaked tampon was stuffed in the

victim's mouth. There were also lacerations to the rectum.

The wounds were such that they were probably made with a

hard instrument such as a tire changing tool. Drag marks in a

grassy area and marks on the victim's shoulder indicated the body

had been dragged. Close scrutiny of the scene revealed the girl

had been dragged to the shore at high tide. The cause of death

was determined to be drowning.

There were 30 lacerations and 36 bruises over the body which

had been inflicted prior to her death. The rectum displayed

s

evidence of mutilation by multiple tearing wounds. Scientific

evidence indicated the victim had been anally assaulted with a

penis and a foreign object. Based on the amount of hemorrhaging

in the rectal area, the mutilation occurred prior to death. A

front tooth was missing and there was evidence indicating thi

had recently happened. The medica] evidence also revealed the

victim had been chocked to such an extent as to cause hemorrhages

in the eyes, lining of the voice box and muscles of the neck.

The victim had been on her menstrual period at the time of the

murder.

On January Sth the police received an anonymous phone call

giving a license number in reference to the sy murder. The

number given was GMU 603. The caller did not identify himself,

but his voice was that of an older man, with a New England or

New York accent. It was determined that the car was a Plymouth

registered to Petitioner. A check of Petitioner revealed he

had served eight years for the murder of a white female in New

York, and he was on a life parole. The previous victim had been

choked and battered and left nude. The police began a surveil-

iance of Petitioner.

On January 7th the police received information that Deborah

Kammerer was possibly the murder victim. Two of Ms. Kammerer's

acquaintances, Yohan Wenz and Carol Byers testified they last

Saw the victim on January 2nd when the three went to the ABC

Lounge. Shortly before midnight Wenz and Byers left, but Debbie

remained. Kyoe Ginn, a barmaid at the ABC, stated Debbie left

around 1:00 a.m. with a white male. Ginn was shown a group of

pictures; she identified Petitioner as the person Debbie left with.

On the evening of January 7th, police officers asked Petitioner

to voluntarily go with them to police headquarters for an interview.

At this time he said that he did not know any girl named Debbie

and that he went to the ABC Lounge on January 2nd but did not leave

With a WUUIai. AL6éit_Lvs CHAS AULT LV ATW FURL AVENTWL AO BA AN CU

leave but his car was impounded for searching pursuant to

warrant. The automobile was searched of January 8, and Peti-

tioner was arrested on January 9.

Detectives Murry and Hitchcox arrested Petitioner. In the

car on the way to the police station, after advising Petitioner

of his rights, Hitchcox asked him, "We were right the other

night, weren't we, when we talked to you about being involved

in this case?" Petitioner responded simply, "Might." Shown

a picture of Deborah Kammerer, Petitioner this time admitted that

he did in fact know her.

On the afternoon of January 9, the detectives again inter-

viewed Petitioner. Detective Murry testified concerning this

interview. She said that Petitioner became emotionally upset

and said repeatedly that his life was over, that he was going to

the electric chair. He said that he wanted to talk to his inter-

viewers as people and not as police officers. He then said that

he had some personal problems with alcohol, sex and violence.

The two detectives interrogated Petitioner again on

January 10. Again Petitioner said he wanted to talk to them as

people rather than as police officers. Detective Murray testi-

fied that Petitioner again indicated that he experienced a

problem involving sexual, activity. He said that when he drinks

a fot, it is like entiet bine Snaps and he then finds himself

doing things that N@ knows are terrible and bad, and that he

caunot control his hehavior on such occasions. Petitionér also

told the officerswthat when he wanted to engage in sexual

activity with a woman but learned that she was having her men-

strual period, he would become frustrated and angry that this

is what had happened the previous Wednesday night. He also

said that he had a lot to drink on Wednesday night.

Inspection of the interior of Petitioner's car reveaied

the presence of visible blood stains, and a luminol test re-

vealed that a large quantity of blood had been in the car but

had been wiped up. Analysis of the blood in the car and com-

parison with known blood samples of Petitioner and the victim

revealed that the blood in Petitioner's car could have come

from the victim but was not Petitioner's blood.

, forensic blood. analyst testified that it is possible

through analysis of blood stains on certain surfaces to make

estimates concerning the direction and velocity of motion of

the blood making the stains. This witness concluded from her

analysis that the blood in Petitioner's car was deposited in

the course of a violent attack.

A forensic hair analyst testified that hairs found in

Petitioner's car were consistent in their characteristics with

known hair samples from the a ms y

A forensic fiber analyst testified that fibers found in

the debris adhering to the victim's coat were similar to fibers

from the fabric of the seat cover in Petitioner's car. Also

fibers were found in the car that had the same characteristics ”

as fibers from the victim's coat and pants. ‘ ‘

Petitioner was employed as a plaster and drywall worker,

His forman testified at trial that on the morning of January 3,

Petitioner arrived at work asking for the day off. He dppeared

to have a hangover and said he was feeling rough. The witness '

said that at this time Petitioner has scratches on his me

The witness also said that Petitioner had told him that he

liked anal intercourse and liked being with woman who «lowed x

‘ themselves to be big ahd, sapped.

ARGUMENT

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ISSUE I

THE PRE-TRIAL STATEMENTS TO THE

POLICE DID NOT VIOLATE PETITIONER'S

CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT TO COUNSEL

The Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be denied because

the state courts, applying relevant federal law, found Petitioner's

right to counsel had not been violated.

This Court in Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436, 86 S.Ct.

1602, 16 L.Ed.2d 694 (1966) held a criminal defendant must be

advised by police he has the right to consult with an attorney

before submitting to custodial questioning. If the defendant

invokes his right to counsel, interrogation must cease until

the defendant has an opportunity to consult with counsel. “ore

recent cases from this Court have interpreted Miranda as indi-

cating once the right to counsel has been invoked, a defendant @an

still waive the right. However, it must be shown that the de-

fendant initiated further contact with the police. Edwards v.

Arizona, 451 U.S. 477, 101 S.Ct. 1880, 68 L.Ed.2d 378 (1981) and

Oregon v. Bradshaw, 33 Cr.L. 3211 (1983). Petitioner argues\he.

did not initiate further contact with police, and his statement

on January 9th after booking should be suppressed pursuant to

Edwards. a | .

, Respondent respectfully submits the case sub judice is

both factually and legally distinguishable from Edwards v. Arizona,

Supra. Furthermore, this case presents no new issue which cannot

be resolved by applying existing federal law to the facts and ‘

circumstances of this case.

Prior to this Court's decision in Edwards the Fifth Circuit

Court of Appeals and this Court had recognized invocation of “=

the right to counsel was not a blanket prohibition against ;

interrogation. See Michigan v. Moseley, 423 U.S. 96, 96 S.Ct.

321, 46 L.Ed.2d 313 (1975); Nash v. Estelle, 597 F.2d 513 (5th

Cir. 1979) and Thompson v. Wainwright, G01 F.2d 768 (Sth Cir. 1979).

ca

The Nash Court addressed itself to the situation, which we have

here. of a defendant who makes an equivocal request for counsel.

Sub judice, Petitioner was arrested and read his “Miranda

rights. He acknowledged his understanding of those rights

and responded to police questioning. After answering a few

questions he stated, “I think I want to talk to an attorney.”

Questioning ceased, and the officers proceded to the police

station where Petitioner was booked. Once booking was completed

Officers Murry and Hitchcox told Petitioner they would come up

to answer any questions he might have or talk with him, if he

wanted them to. Petitioner indicated he would be interested.

This is the kind of situation contemplated in Nash v. Estelle,

supra., and Thompson v. Wainwright, supra. The defendant made

an equivocal request for counsel, and the police further inquired

to clarify the equivocation. Blasingame v. Estelle, 604 F.2d

893 (Sth Cir. 1979) and Jurek v. Estelle, 623 F.2d 929 (Sth Gir

1980) .

This Court cited with apparent approval the Nash and

Thompson holdings in footnote 9 of the Edwards opinion. The

right of the police to clarify a defendant's wishes has retained ‘

4 .

viability in post-Edwards cases. See McCree v. Housewright,

689 F.2d 797 (8th Cir. 1982); White v. Finkbeiner, 687 *.2i

2 sD

885 (7th Cir. 1982); Silva v. Estelle, 672 ©.2d 457 (5th Cir.

1982) and Gorel v. United States, 531vP.Supp. 368 (U.S.D.C., S.D.

Sd? ¥ : ¥

Tex.» 1981). P

“ " aR F

In Edwards there is no equivocation Soacerning the Tequest

for counsel. On the morning after he made it clear he only

wanted to deal.with the police through counsel, two detectives

came to see him. Edwards said he did not want to talk, and

they said he had to. Thereafter, an incriminating statement

was made. Edwards request for counse! was clear; the police in 7

essence made him talk. There was no point to be clarified: thus, a

the police in Edwards should have honored his request for counsel.

The Nash and Thompson principles were clearly not applicable to

Edwards. ’

by law enforcement officers to forego his cleariy invoked right

to counsel. Petitioner equivocally requested counsel, then

voluntarily decided to deal with the police without counsel.

The State Supreme Court found the police did not act improperly

in further questioning Petitioner; this was also the implicit

finding of the trial court. This finding is supported by the

record and should be affirmed. Oregon v. Bradshaw, 33 Cr.L.

at 3213 and 3214. Certiorari should be denied.

ISSUE II

THE PRE-TRIAL STATEMENT MADE AFTER

COUNSEL WAS APPOINTED BUT IN COUNSEL'S

ABSENCE DID NOT VIOLATE PETITIONER'S

CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT TO COUNSEL

Certiorari should likewise be denied on this issue since

no new constitutional issue is involved here, and the state

court opinion comports with existing federal law on the issue.

Even Petitioner recognizes there is no per se rule requiring

agents of the State to notify defense counséf before they talk

with a defendant. A defendant can, after both requesting

counsel and consulting with counsel, waive the presence of ™

counsel and submit to police questioning. Escobedo v. Illinois,

378 U.S. 478, 84 S.Ct. 1758, 12 L.Ed.2d 977 (1964)

The question of a Sixth Amendment waiver is to be determined.

from ‘the facts and circumstances surrounding the interrogatién.

United States v. Massey, 437 FiSupp.-843 (U.S.D.C., M.D.\ Fla. 1977

RAY :

’ . ~ 8 .

and Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S 458,*58 S.Ct. 1019. 82 L.Ed.

t *

1461 (1938) Fe a ;

%

On the previous sveihnds Petitioner had talked: with

Officers Murry and Hitchcox. He exercised his right to terminate

the interview, but invited the officers to return the next day..

In the interim, Petitioner was taken to a first appearance, and

counsel was appointed. He consulted with counsel for a couple

of hours. The officers returned and Petitioner evidenced a “

willingness to talk. He indicated he understood his rights,

indeed Petitioner was a convicted felon who had been through

the process before, including the right to have counse! present.

The state court's findings do not violate any of Petitioner's

caneepinesanet rights. *ie an

Ps

>

ae ata a

ISSUE III

PETITIONER WAS NOT DETAINED OR

SEIZED WITHIN THE MEANING OF THE

FOURTH AMENDMENT THUS THE JANUARY 7th

STATEMENT WAS NOT OBTAINED IN VIOLATION

OF PETITIONER'S CONSTITUTiONAL RIGHTS

The Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be dismissed since

Petitioner was never seized or detained within the meaning of the

Fourth Amendment. Petitioner argues he was detained without

probable cause and his statement and physical evidence should

have been suppressed. However, the trial court specifically

found Petitioner voluntarily accompanied the officers to the

police station. See United States v. Wiltiams, 604 F.2d 1102

(8th Cir. 1979). This ruling is supported by the record and is

not clearly erroneous; therefore, it should be accepted. United

States v. Johnson, 563 F.2d 936 (8th Cir. 1977)

This Court said in Schneckloth v. Bustamonte, 412 U.S. 218,

93 S.Ct. 2044, 36 L.Ed.2d 854 (1973) the surrounding circum-

stances must be concerned in determining if a Fourth Amendment

seizure or detention has occured. Accord State v. Grant, 392

So. 2d 1362, 1364 (Fla. 4th DCA 1981). Factorg to_be considered

ie include the threatening presence of several officers, display

of weapons, some physical touching of the citizen and use of "

language.or tone compelling compliance with the request.

Sub judice, the evidence revealed two officers - Leake and

Stelljes - actually approached Petitioner at his vehicle, al-

though an officer in a marked car effectuated the SGP. However,»

Petitioner voluntarily exited the car; he was not g¥dered’ but vy

by

ficers. No guns were drawn, nor was Petitioner hand-

cuffed. Petktioner was asked, not ordered, to come to the /

,

Le

police Station,\and the officers nade’ no oe eR And there

is no evidence of y physical touching by the officers. The

4 ' “officer specifically told Petitioner he did not have to come to

the station. And once there, it was made clear to Petitioner he 4

could leave at any time. And in fact Petitioner was allowed to

leave when he indicated he wanted to.

Although there was some contradictory testimony concerning

the retention of Petitioner's driver's license and the number

of officers, the trial court was faced with credibility deter-

minations. The judge actually heard the evidence and assessed

the weight and believability of witnesses. The judgment of the

trial court should not be disturbed since it is supported by

competent evidence. Oregon v. Bradshaw, supra.

ISSUE IV

THE SEIZURE OF PETITIONER'S VEHICLE

WAS BASED ON PROBABLE CAUSE THUS

THE PHYSICAL EVIDENCE OBTAINED FROM

THE VEHICLE WAS PROPERLY ADMITTED

a

At the time Petitioner's vehicle was seized law enforcement

officers has probable cause to believe a search of the vehicle

would yield evidence of a crime. The police had received an

anonymous caller saying the car involved had license number

j.GMU 603. A check of the number indicated Petitioner owned that

vehicle. Petitioner's background had been checked revealing a

prior murder of a femmle who had been oinilaia and battered and

left nude. The police believed from crime scene evidence that

the -wActins had been beaten eisewhere, and the body brought to

the ‘beach. A barmaid at the ABC Lounge stated Petitioner Mert °

the bar with the viet ie the night before the body was found.

Additionally, Officer Long observed sand on the car floor and

,, dark stains on the seat. : .

Based on these factors Lomg had probable cause to seize ‘the

vehicle. Chambers .. Semenen. 399 U.S.42, 90 S.Ct. 1975, 26 “

Ed.2d 419 (1970) In Chambers the Supreme Court held given prob-

able cause the officers could either seize the car until there

has been judicial determination of probable cause (search ae

or carry out an immediate search without a warrant. Accord

=

ia oe Se” =

-

United States v. Fultz, 622 F.2d 204 (6th Cir. 1980) and United

States v. Brown, 635 F.2d 1207 (6th Cir. 1980).

“

Since Chambers v. Maroney decision our Courts have recognized

a less stringent standard than probable cause for seizure - de-

tention - of personal property. The Seventh Circuit in United

States v. Klein, 626 F.2d 22 (7th cir. 1980) held the detention

of personal property analogous to a Terry detention of an indi-

vidual; therefore, the applicable standard for such detention

is reasonable suspicion. The Court based its ruling on the

Supreme Court case of United States v. Van Leeuwen, 397 U.S. 249,

90 S.Ct. 1029, 25 L.Ed.2d 282 (1970).

In this instance there was not only reasonable suspicion

but also probable cause to seize Petitioner's personal property,

the vehicle. Since Petitioner's constitutional rights were not

violated, the evidence obtained as a result of the search was

properly admitted.

CONCLUSION

The Petition for Writ wi Certiorari should be’ denied since

his constitutional rights were not violated.

Respectfully submitted,

. JIM SMITH

ATTORNEY GENERAL

Assistant Attorney General

1313 Tampa Stree, Suite 804

Park Trammel Building

Tampa, Florida 33602

ri (813) 272-2670

Counsel for Respondent ‘

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

i HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and correct copy of the 4

foregoing has been furnished by U.S. “ail to James C. McKay,

Esq., 1201 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W., Post Office Box 7566,

Washington, D.C. 20044 on this 25th day of August, 1983.

SS ee —— ge - SS

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

ROBERT BRIAN WATERHOUSE,

Appel lant,

Case No. 59,765

STATE OF FLORIDA ,

Appellee.

APPEAL FROM THE CIRCUIT COURT

OF THE SIXTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

FOR PINELLAS COUNTY, FLORIDA

BRIEF OF APPELLIiLE

JIM SMITH

ATTORNEY GENERAL

PEGGY A. QUINCE

Assistant Attorney Genera!

1313 Tampa Street, Surte 804

Park Trammell Building

Tampa, Florida 33602

(813) 272-2670

Counsel for Appellee

PAQ/ wmf

Appendix I

=~ ; TABLE O' CONTENTS

PAGE

ARGUMENT

ISSUE I 1-4

THE TRIAL COURT DID NOT ERR IN DENYING APPELLANT'S

NOTION TO SUPPRESS EVIDENCE FOUND IN THE CAR AND

STATEMENTS MADE BY APPELLANT SINCE HE WAS NOT

ILLEGALLY DETAINED ON JANUARY 7, 1980

ISSUE II 5-8

THE TRIAL COURT PROPERLY DENIED APPELLANT'S MOTION

TO SUPPRESS EVIDENCE FOUND IN THE VEHICLE AS THE

POLICE HAD PROBABLE CAUSE TO DETAIN THE VEHICLE

ISSUE III 9-16

THE TRIAL COURT DID NOT ERR IN DENYING THE MOTION

- TO SUPPRESS TIIE STATEMENTS MADE BY APPELLANT AFTER

HE WAS ARRESTED AND BOOKED

ISSUE IV 17-1

THE TRIAL COURT DID NOT ERR IN DENYING APPELLANT'S

MOTION TO SUPPRESS STATEMENTS MADE ON JANUARY 10th

ISSUE V 20-22 "

THE TRIAL COURT DID NOT ERR IN DENYING APPELLANT'S

MOTION TO SUPPRESS STATEMENTS AS THE STATEMENTS_WERE

MADE -VOLUNTARILY ‘

" 2

ISSUE VI . 23

| THE TRIAL. COURT'S ADMISSION OF EVIDENCE OF MARIJUANA

| IN APPELLANT'S CAR IS NOT REVERSIBLE ERROR

ISSUE Vil - ' " @ 425

THE TRIAL COURT DID NOT ERR IN; ADMITTING EVIDENCE

OF AN ATTEMPTED HOMOSEXUAL ASSAULT BY APPELLANT

WHILE HE WAS IN JAIL AWAITING TRIAL ,

TABLE OF CONTENTS

continued

PAGE

4

bo

ce)

|

1S)

~~)

ISSUE VII

|

NO REVERSIBLE ERROR HAS BEEN SHOWN BY THE TRIAL COURTS

FINDING THAT THE MURDER WAS COMMITTED TO AVOID OR PRE-

VENT A LAWFUL ARREST

THE EVIDENCE SUPPORTED A FINDING THAT THE MURDER WAS

HENIOUS, ATROCIOUS OR CRUEL

THE TRIAL .COURT DID NOT ERR IN FINDING TWO AGGRAVATING

FACTORS BASED ON APPELLANT'S PRIOR MURDER CONVICTION

recur vt 29

s0HO0OUE Al VS

THE FACT. THAT THE MURDER WAS COMMITTED DURING THE

PERPETRATION OF A SEXUAL BATTERY WAS PROPERLY FOUND

TO BE AN AGGRAVATING CIRCUMSTANCE

CONCLUSION 32

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 33

ae TABLE OF CITATIONS

Adams v. State, 341 So.2d 765 (Fla. 1976) 31

Antone v. 382 So.2d 1205 (Fla. 1980) 27

Ashley v. State, 386 So.2d 587 (Fla. 3d DCA 1979) 13

Blasingame v. Estelle, 604 F.2d 893 (Sth Cir. 1979)

Brewer v. State, 386 So.2d 232 (Fla. 1980) 20

Brewer v. Williams, 430 U.S.387 U.S. 97 5 232

51 L.Ed.2d 424 (1977)

Chapman v. Californi: 386 U.S is, 87 S.Ct 324 2 lS

- -

l\7 L.Ed.2d 705 (1967)

Chambers v. Maroney, 399 U.S. 42, 90 S.Ct. 1975, >, 4

26 L.Fd.2d 419 (1970)

Darty v. State, 161 So.2d.864 (Fla. 19/9) 24

Dobbert v..State, 375 So.Z2d 1069 (Fla. i979 2! 0

Dunaway v. New York, 2U.5 200 9 S.( 22486

—

Sdwards v. Arizona, 29 Cr.L. 3037 (Decided May 18, 198] o... Be

' . ae —_ Q . QAL ‘*) ¢ } n0O a 7 eae 7

Eileaqge v. otate, 340 So.2d 998 (Fla. Iyviié j Zé

j _<o ~ , “~ ‘ oe ‘), fear G > T ] sf .

Ensor v. State, sO. ZC (Ofa,o. Fail 4 ast : 6

57,817 Opinion filed June 4, 198]

Escobedo v. Illinois, 387 U.S. 84 S.Ct. 1758, 12 L.Ed.2d 17

Ford v: State, 374 So.2d 496 (Fla. 1979) 32

Halliwell v. State, 323 So.2d 557:-(Fla. 1975) J0

Hampton v. State, 386 So.2d 587 (Fla. 3d DCA 1980) i3

iarrington v. California, 3905 U.S. 250, 89 S.Ct. 1426 13

23 L.Kd.2d 284 (1969)

con

inued

I (1968)

gs

8}

”

United

United

United

United

United

United

United

United

United

United

United

United

United

States

States

States

States

States

States

States

States

States

States

States

States

States

Wainwright v.

» .

Wash ington v.

~~

Brown,

Vv. Fultz,

v. Goldstein,

v. Grullon,

Penn.

v. Johnson,

continued

635

622

626

963

F.2d

TABLE OF CITATIONS

F.2d 1207

F.2d 204

F.2d

496 F.Supp.

1979)

93

(6th

(6th Cir.

356 (5th

991

36 (8th Ci

Gar.

1980)

1980)

CAar«

1981)

(U.8.D.¢C.; B.P.

r. 1977)

Klein, 626 F.2d 22 (7th Cir. 1980)

v. Massey, 437 F.Supp. 843 (U.S.D.C., M.D.

Fla. 1977)

v. Mendenhall, 446 U.S. 554, 100 S.Ct. 1870

64 L.Ed.2d 854 (1973)

v. Springer, 460 F.wd 1344 (th Cir. 1972

. Van Leeuwen, 397 U.S. 249, 90 S.Ct 1029,

25 L.Ed. 2d 282 (1970)

v. Viegas, 639 F.2d°42 (lst Cir. 1981)

. Wertz, 492 F.Supp. 1027 (U.S.D.C.,

b.S.C.. 1979) :

v. Williams, 604 F.2d 1102 (8th Cir. 1979)

Sykes, 433 U.S4.72, 97 S.Ct. 2497, 53 L.

‘

Ed: 2g 594 (19779

7

i +e. a

*

7

.

s "50.2 abe Cee. To%

State, "362+ So. 2d 5S@ (rixt. t979f

(Oo. 4 ' “9 2» . > =

Page

ba |

i

—

20

-. —

‘ , basset s

wae! ?

4UWUIUL i

vane eee ee ‘ , ioves ne ——— ia wie 7

yi eee wae UNL Div wUl | IN ] vy divs

. eT ARI@II”® 88 TKmAr ~~ ie : ‘ rniEeNne

tiv sJ a ; i WUs nN Vis he |

. ‘ff arrrtac* «4 |

4 i Vie ‘Lt

ei le atv ahs < ++}

1 i (OT ITLLEGALL}

ag

ry 1980.

Appel i t concedes and the evidence su} ports tne conciu-

ca | rn + er 19 - 2 ‘ . if

SLON Uiat a f an was not rrestea on January f, 1 YoU

nr < S22... ave “ r > « + —— i. * 1+...

9fficer Murry, testifying at the suppression nearing, ind

. - SS eee ‘ . - L " 4% 4 Aa,

cated sne Hada Lhe! sp! cers no wer é KE ep ilne i} pe Liane u 1ei

wae 7 } - er ’ + n + ’ 4 4

< , Yr > a Y - - > , a. ae

on SurveiiianNcCe Sti } nim ana asa iil LU ¢ € t¢ L Tit pO4 1ce Sta

’

x

. ; — ‘DASA =, } ‘

tion for questioning. (R404 she s Clee | Stated ik

r c . : - - oc c 7 ( cA +

lirective was given to arrest a pellant ist t ) bOUN

gee. -c ¢ \ ire = - + , " < 7

Officers Leake and Stelijes testiil1ed appt llant was told he

4 d a ‘ p&aOC 59° ) 4 , oe 4

WaS not under arrest. (R529, 335, OI And appellant

¢ Aw londcecti ¢ n520

aCKNOWLEQURCaA sailit. (NOV)

4 } ~ : ‘ } . , ee 1

sti juest 1on pi esentea nere is ynet nel aj} el inant VOLUl=

g Ves 3 ee ae i 7 14nA6 hove ant~w tata . —

tarily appeared at the poiice station or was nis appearance y,

Ldtrté

Vhs

4 cit Lh

. . . ied a a Ae . . ry Ts 4

the result of coercion Dunaway v. New York, 442 U.S. 200, VALE

—_—_—_—___—_—— “oA

p7llG OC

99 S.Ct. 2248 GO L.Ed.2d 824 (1979), and United States v. ye,

& i ina fp rs

, es oar a4 ' ' - _ + ae a ae i ‘

ty F Mendenhall, 1416 I 7s 554 100 5 -c Li 1870 64 L.. Ba: 2d NOT (1980) t Lee

Yl" k= —— wat sav

f * : . 7 cr ; 7 4 hh uA Sc -+ — } .? + $5- Cr é rs .<c 1,

4“ b Appellant testified after he was stopped by the O41 ficers, he

' }

was asked to produce his drivers' license, and upon request

a the officer would not return the license. (R539-540) He

on

However,

Stated the

officers

did

in fact hi

Station (R539), and he never indicated he would

appel]

gOing to the st

no less than four marked and unmarked police ci:

Appellant state

license back.

The testim

cert

dictory in

told the reason

more, appellant

althcu

_ —_ ae

133, 962) Offi

cense; however

anything furthe

otficer had

ine

license back.

Of being "kind

followed a poli

£ 7. , ‘ ; h

LOLLOWeA in tne

This case ji

Dunaway the

ey |

ant

also

ation,

d he went to

(R541,

OnYy

alnh

f

Ol

they

wac

Wil oo

eh

said he was no

and he was escor

the police

Officers Leake a

aspects. Both test

wanted him to go

told he did not ha

the

Stel]

officer stressed

jes did ask to

appellant agreed to go

r being

no

recollection

(R563)

of

ce

s factually

petitioner

boxed

cruiser

respective

said about the

of app

And contrary to

in”, Officer L

unmarked

distinguish

was taken [|

to the static

m to come to ie Od

not go (R5

t told the purpose f£

ted to-the station b

irs RS39-

Station to et nis

nd Stelljes is contr

ified appellar

to the ation I

ve to come to the

Lis il QO! tan¢ e

see appellant l-

Lo lf 5 ati i

licens: R562- 563 )

ellant asking for th

appellant's asserti

eake stated appellan

mn, and he and Stell

vehicles. (RS29-530

able 1 Dunaw

rom a neighbor' }

to a police car and transported to the police

rm tod

He was neve

restrained

had

he

ne was { ree LO i

attempted to go.

CAVe

and

u : }

WOuUiGd

The Fourth District in State v. Grant, 392 So. 2d 1362

(Fla. 4th DCA 1981), citing from Scheckloth v. Bustamonte,

2041, 36 L.Ed.2d 854 (1973), indicated

oo

}

No

c

YU

Le)

ened

oo

©

Ww

Y

oO

all the surrounding circumstances must be viewed to determine

li a person has been detained or seized Within the meaning

{f the Fourth Amendment. Some factors to consider would be

s. -

‘ — . c f c . — “ ; . 7

-he threatening presence of several officer, display of

¢

veapons, some physical touching of the citizen and use oj

Janguage or tone oi voice compelling compliance with the

7 r > ' at , y+ 2 1 ? 5

Jiuazicer S reques Grant, at 1364-1365.

eub judice, the evidence revealed two officers - Leake

wet = 7 Ke 4 Ee Oe Pee ee OE Bane ee Noe See

ana oteilijes - Act Aadily approacned appeiiante at nis VeEQni.Ccie,

-~ aitnougn an R2iCer in 8&8 Markea car | fectuated the 3 tTOp

uO0Wwever, appeilant voluntari Ly exited the car; he was not

eee . & wr - egaiere AY » _ ° Dae os cas —

yraered out Dj tne oOitficers. nO £EUNS were drawn, nor was

appellant handcuffed. (R544) Appellant was asked, not ordered,

to come to the police station, and the officers made no threats.

POAS 4 } } ; +n ¢ Po ou6laNnY lwracins 10ch croOnWY

(049) And there 1S no evidence of any physical touching by

the officers. fhe officer specifically told appellant he did

not have to come to the station. And once there, it was made

clear to appellant he could leave at any time. And in fact

appellant was allowed to leave when he indicated he wanted to.

£

R554, 556-557)

Since appellant and the officers save contradi ctory testi-

mony concerning the retention of the driver's license, the

| purpose for the request and the number of officers involved,

4

. } . +nHth ~ + - . ‘ ‘ -_ .

AS the WLOUN zil eae ‘ A Li Uri A OLALE vs

i - } 5 Q+ 7S a 9 ' 4 .

Ie } ) y la

Le GU Lb WG c ai a A ‘ ’ i A Aah ait

lan se S Sites 4 ‘ ‘ ‘ a _—

UCUulLad O41 Lfleé aii y Abilis a > Usd aly s A dA Gd Ad

Li } 1 ‘ ’ Tt r/ > 7 ‘ =)

sat, -@ ee cA}/}? Lictliit VUA ALLL > > a A A i 4 > a .

* , .

ni hor +} ’ > ¢ ray, ++ r role 2 c . y -

ANG Ios Vial Acai aa & AU ch Je i Ai il, L vULZUzTI 4. J

nece ( oF : f . tnacw 4 a4

i oo. 2 iil AJ iULiig \ i a | rf A i A

rv t r ror . ; ri ~ , ; . ‘ ,,y ry ,

Wy sit a =. A bua ii 2 A s , 4 i Py i A

> ; = y*} ; , ) 4

Ut l CLuULbDedad On peal. Jn1 pt il > ££. GU

aQr nr - wo

THE TRIAL COURT PROPERLY |

APPELLANT'S MOTION TO SUPPRESS

A ? . ‘ ? , n+ + = ‘ . ‘

ippellee respectfully ibmits nat the informa

acta 4 1 ade? ‘ ef ‘ {- } "

aValiavdble O ne poiice oliicers and the Open vier

t f ‘ thie ; 7} } y the >?) oY +

LciQYViil di i ct ii aiiGa 5A AG iti zil VONICILE «ft f Lil

r 4 ] ’

IbDable cause je 12: ippellant's car. Prior to a

y ry } 4 4 ‘ , ‘ } P ‘ - ‘ 4

i iA 4 ii 4 Gs r -sAUll, UL iit LO id mwWwid ia Ls

Ue vu ive i i

J Jere a? é O gf Knev t lé HOT veers

i f ti i il Line om L(ie | i LIN)

Le i | iound at the beach on the eat

(2) li lad neard the tape herein na n

. . ° . .

aller idicated the license in-

veaq in the nomicide was GM 60

{ oO) Long as aware tnat a NecCK Ot Lh

‘ a Cie re l “4 ag Qs 1on re en Led } Berl |=

int was the owner olf id vehicle

} \ iice check of appellant indicated

ppellant was on life parole for the

he ride olf a female in New York

J) VWelLective LOng also knew the prior

irder wasS Similar ina number of

respects to the homicide under

investigation, 1.@. Sexual over-

mes, both victims choked and

battered and left nude

(6) anvestipvation at tne crime SCO ¢ La

dicated the victim had been murdered

elsewhere and the body dragged to the

water.

(7) <A barmaid at the ABC Lounge had

positively identified appellant

as the person the victim left

the bar with on the night of

January 2, 1980.

On the evening of January 7, 1980 Detective Long was in a place

where he had a right to be and observed a vehicle, on a public

Street, which he knew was the subject of police investigation.

The viewing by Officer Long from outside of the vehicle

into the inside was an "open view" observation as defined by

the Supreme Court in Ensor v. State, So. 2d (6/5/81 F.L.W.

374, Case No. 57,817, Opinion filed June 4, 1981) The Court

in Ensor indicated if a officer sees contraband or evidence

in ‘open view", he had probable cause to believe a crime has

is being committed.

Sub judice, based on the factors listed above, coupled

with the officer seeing sand (victim was found on a beach)

and seeing what appeared to be dark blood stains (evidence

at beach led police to believe the victim was killed elsewhere

and transported to the beach), fficer Long has probable cause

to seize the vehicle. The Seizure of the vehicle comports

with the dictates of Chambers v. Maroney, 399 U.S. 42, 90 S.

Ct. 1975, 26 L.Ed.2d 419 (1970). In Chambers, the Supreme

Court held given probable cause the olificers could either seize

the car until there has been judicial determination of probable

cause (search warrant) or carry out in immediate search without

a warrant. Accord United States v. Fultz, 622 F.2d 204 (6th

| a Cir. 1980) and United States v. Brown, 635 F.2d 1207 (Gth Cir. 1980).

Since the Chambers v. Maroney decision our Courts have

recognized a less stringent standard than probable cause for

seizure - detention - of personal property. The Seventh

Circuit in United States v. Klein, 626 F.2d 22 (7th Cir. 1980)

held the detention of personal property analogous to a Terry?

detention of an individual; therefore, the applicable standard

for such detention is reasonable suspicion. The Court based

its ruling on the Supreme Court case of United States

Van Leeuwen, 397 U.S. 249, 90 S.Ct. 1029, 25 L.Ed.2d 282 (i970)

In Van Leeuwen, sSupra., a postal clerk became Suspicicus

after receiving two first-class packages, weighing twelve

pounds, registered and insured for $10,000.00. The packages

were addressed to post-office boxes in Van Nuys, California

and Nashville, Tennessee and the return address on each was

vacant houSing area. Additionally, the person mailing the

packages had been driving a car with a Canadian license. Based

On these facts the Court upheld the detention of the packages

pending further investigation and issuance of a search warrant.

See also United States v. Goldstein, 626 F.2d 356 (5th Cir.

1981) and United States v. Viegas, 639 F.2d 42 (lst Cir. 1981 )

holding reasonable suspicion sufficient to detain personal pro-

perty. See also Judge Hurley's concurring opinion in State v.

Corey, 389 So.2d 1228 (Fla. 4th DCA 1980) which cited Var Leeuwen

and Klein, supra.

2. Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1, 88 S.Ct. 1868, 20 L.Ed.2d 889 (1968)

oo

The trial court properly denied appellants Motion to

Suppress the evidence found in the vehicle since the police

had probable cause to detain the vehicle.

ISSUE III

THE TRIAL COURT DID NOT ERR IN DENYING

THE MOTION TOseSUPPRESS THE STATEMENTS

MADE BY APPELLANT AFTER HE WAS ARRESTED

AND BOOKED

Although not cited by appellant, this case presents

a direct, distinguishable contrast to the Supreme Court's

most recent exposition on the scope of Miranda. ? Edwards

v. Arizona, 29 Cr.L. 3037 (Decided May 18, 1981). The

petitioner in Edwards was arrested and informed of his Miranda

rights on January 19, 1976. He indicated he understood said

rights and was willing to answer questions. Edwards was told

he had been implicated by another suspect, but he denied any

involvement and sought to make a deal. After being told by

the police that they had no authority to negotiate, petitioner

invoked his right to counsel, and the police ceased their

Guestioning.

On the morning of January 20th two other detectives

asked to see petitioner. Edwards said he did not want to

talk with anyone but was told he had to. He was again in-

formed of his rights and made a statement implicating himself.

The trial court denied Edwards motion to suppress holding the

statement was voluntary. On these facts the Supreme Court

reversed holding a waiver of counsel must not only be volun-

tary but must also be a knowing and int.elligent relinquishment

3/ Miranda v. Arizone, 384 U.S. 436, 86 S.Ct. 1602, 16 L.

Ed.2d 694 (1966)

of a known right. Additionally, the court held in situa-

tions where a defendant expresses his right to deal with the

police only through counsel, he is not subject to further

questioning until counsel has been made available or the

accused initiates further contact with the police.

This case is factual distinguishable from Edwards, supra.

The petitioner in Edwards was told on the second day and sub-

sequent to his request for counsel that he "had to talk" to

the police officers. Sub judice, when given the opportunity

appellant indicated his desire to talk. (R472-473). And in

Edwards the defendant specifically said he wanted an attorney

before he made a deal and said he did not want to see anyone

when told thé detectives were there to see him. Here appellant

expressed an equivocal - I think - desire for an attorney.

Prior to the decision in Edwards, supra, and appellee

submits that decision does not affect these holdings, it was 4

clear that an invocation of the right to counsel was not a

blanket prohibition against further interrogation. Michigan

v. Moseley, 423 U.S. 96, 96 S.Ct. 321, 46 L.Ed.2d 313 (1975)

and Nash v. Estelle, 597 F.2d 513 (5th Cir. 1979). The Fifth

Circuit in Nash addressed those situations wherein a defendant

makes an equivocal request for counsel. In such a situation

officials may make further inquiry to clarify the suspects

wishes. Blasinyame v. Estelle, 604 ¥.2d B93 (Sth Cir. 1979);

United States v. Grulion, 496 F.Supp. 991 (U.S.D.C., E.P. Penn.

1979); Jurek v. Estelle, 623 F.2d 929 (Sth Cir. 1980)

- 10-

> SS ae? — rr... -_ Es - 2 . Jim nS eae oe a ae > ee ae

Sub judice, when appellant was arrested he was informed

of his Miranda rights, and he stated he understood his rights.

(R470) Detective Hitchcox handed Officer Murry a picture

of decedent which was shown to appellant. (R470, 496) Appel-

lant said the picture was Debbie and acknowledged he knew her.

(R470-471, 496) At this point appellant said, "I think I want

to talk to an attorney...." (R471) No further questions were

asked, and appellant was taken to the police station for book-

ing. (R471) |

At booking Officers Murry and Hitchcox told appellant they

would come up to the fourth floor after he was processed to

give appellant the opportunity to talk to them and answer any

questions he may have had. The officers indicated they would

come if appellant wanted them to and he said he would be inter-

ested. (R472-473) Thus, we are faced with the situation con-

templated by the court in Nash v. Estelle, supra. - A defemdant

expressing an equivocal desire for counsel, then exercising

his prerogative to answer questions.” As the court said in

Nash, "Some persons are moved by the desire to unburden them-

selves to confessing their crimes to police, while others want

to make their own assessment of what to say to their custodians."

597 F.2d. 513 at 517.

In Brewer v. Williams, 430 U.S. 337, 97 S.Ct. 1232, 51 L.

Ed.2d 424 (1977) the Supreme Court indicated the question of

4/ It appears from the record, however, that the statements

made by appellant after booking was not in response to questions

proffered by the officers. During the attempt to re-read appel-

lant's rights he responded with statements to the effect that his

life was over and nothing he could do would “bring her back".

(R473, 1847)

tae “xz

f waiver Of counsel was to be determined from the fact of

each case. The standard to be applied in determining waiver

is whether appellant intentionally abandoned or relinguished

a known right or privilege. Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.

458, 58 S.ct. 1019, 82 L.Ed. 1461 (1938) There can be no

doubt that appellant knew and understood his right to counsel

and intentionally relinquished same.

On January 7th, two days before appellant was actuaily

arrested appellant voluntarily went to the police station at

the request of the police. Once there he was read and he

executed a waiver of rights form which specifically included

the right to counsel. (R457-459) And on the day of his arres

appellant was again informed of his rights and said he uncer-

a stood them. (R469-470, 1845) Appellant emphatically stated

he didn't want his rights read again. (R473) Appellant uncer

stood anything he said could be brought up in court, but

he insisted he wanted to talk to the officers. (

when appellant had said all he wanted to say, he told the

officers, "I'm kind of tired and I think I want to talk to my

attorney." (R477) It is obvious appellant understood his

right to counsel and would invoke same whenever he wanted to

terminate a conversation.

Even assuming, arguendo, the introduction of appellant's

Statements of January 9th was error, appellee submits the

error was harmless. Milton v. Wainwright, 407 U.S. 371, 92

S.Ct. 2174, 33 L.Ed.2d 1 (1972). In Chapman v. California,

=. =

386 U.S. 18, 87 S.Ct. 824, 17 L.Ed.2d 705 (1967) the Supreme

Court held the harmless error doctrine can be applied in

Situations involving the denial of a federal constitutional

right. Both state and federal courts have applied the harm-

less error doctrine to the introduction of statements where

the evidence adduced in the statement is cumulative of other

and the other evidence of guilt is overwhelming. Harrington

v. Caiifornia, 395 U.S. 250, 89 S.Ct. 1726, 23 L.Ed.2d 284

(1969); Ashley v. State, 370 So.2d 1191 (Fla. 3d DCA 1979);

and Hampton v. State, 386 So.2d 587 (Fla. 3d DCA 1980).

Sub judice, appellant's statements on January 9th are

cumulative ofyother valid statements made on January 10th

which were properly admitted.” The following evidence of

appellant's guilt was introduced at trial:

(1) A barmaid at the ABC Lounge testified appellant

left the bar with the murder victim the night

before her body was discovered. (P1120)

(2) The police had received an anonymous call giving a

license number for the vehicle involved in the

bay murder.

(3) <A registration check of the license numbers revealed

appellant owned the vehicle.

(4) On January 3, 1980 appellant went to work aud

aske: for the day orf; his employer noticed red

marks or scratches on his face. (R1140)

5/ The propriety of appellant's January 10th statements is

discussed in detail in Issue IV of this brief.

>i”

iy (5)

(6)

(7)

(3)

a ——

(9)

(11)

(12)

Appellant's employer also testified they

had conversations concerning sex, more par-

ticularly anal sex, and appellant related he

liked to slap or beat the women at these times.

(R1157-1158)

Defendant washed his car on the day following the

murder. (R1251, 1259)

Blood stains were found in appellant's car of

the same type as the victim. (R1475-1476)

Although appellant also has Blood Type A, certain

enzymes in the blood matched that of the victim.

(R1475, 1478-1479)

Judith Bunker, an expert in blood stain patterns,

testified the configuration of the blood stains

in appellant's car indicated the victim was struck

with a hard object while sitting in the passenger

seat. (R1579, 1616, 1620)

A luminal test was used to determine that blood

stains had at some point been on appellant's

jacket and parts of the car but had been cleaned

off. (R1544)

Three of the hair samples taken from the car of

the accused, when microscopically examined, demon-

strated the same hair characteristics as the victim.

(R1683)

Lynn Henson from the Department of Law Enforcement

testified he compared fiber taken from the seat of

-

_— a

eee

_ =. =. 2.) . = — 4

|

.

|

|

.

WV '@)) ro re, re |

4 wy ed ©) al cc J J w) Sy ea

Y 4 4 W) Q Q 4 GC © 4 Q Ss

oF cS v s 0) W) O A U ire] 2) = C O

oF 2) E : vy) e) ao + v Q 4 4 e) M4 s

oS Oo o - © AQ » Y fa ca a | = a

& UO v3 @) UO W) ie) S of ik m~

om > re) y WY) 0) a mn ei — © OF ta UO Bs

a) red) e e) a] a] 8) 4 uy = Oo cS 08) a

> ran 0 KS Eo By O O 4 o Cc) Ee Cy

e9 ) ire) = J i) iJ oF x (ee) 73) A = q) J

ons 4 ks M4 W) oF Gq ) re = - R we 08]

— =) 0 7 4J + F f i) & c J _ - aa

“ Ww) w) = re} wy 3 ~ © - 4 W) iy —~ 2 E4

m 4 re = = a = t +) = : a) Q c

rw O mo 4 peal Wn 3 v M4 M4 i ~

0) sa 6) 4 + | 4 i 2) ¥ . 4 Y) — r

3 © 4 ea D = A) 4 Mu Q, o & - a ~~

S U U ue > O S C se) Q) © = ¢ o Q

et s0| a) @) (2 | iJ ° oO Y) re - > yo |

2. C 4 ) 9) 5 ) i et oS 2 O

a) ‘3 e G4 ; q c. OQ M4 S - J 00] Bay eo W) S

C Sf W 4 “ ite) 2) O is S 8) ee) -

.; 3) J S Oo Ww e) W) 4 re} MY “4 Q ~ 4 6)

w = ) 6) C) = re) Q) ie Q Q foe) G —

O oO ~ Q) at a) Ss Oo WY) W Cc 4) Q Ga on) 8) me

ha G ha 4 re) fe, r io rd oO 8) 0 7) iJ G4 @ @) ee) on | oO |

) Ga N = $J 4 = 3 iJ = OV © (.Q rc ra G uy

o ™ » i) . @) 'e) ” ) rw) ' @ ) a4

4 S Wy rd iJ © = “— se ) W”) 2 > 1 4 J oF uv) "

G4 - Y i wo eS 4 oO 4 oO, rr} W) @ ri 7) | ) i ct Oy ©

oO Q —) fe ra cA ™ oO te] = ri S mw t w) o rh] ced)

oO Wa 4 N | ky 4 7) = ea) an mn) 4 hy

7) ua ™ ro 3 m% J iJ - 9 = W) ‘ e)

wo ra 8) 3 - @) 7 Se . a) is a ri] oO rie} a) i}

1) 9 08) a4 6) @” 1) O oO ™ = 4) os tr 7) J os S

cs cs Bm. . 4 ie s a | Q 1 ao oO ~~ J . Ww) Cv

O 4) a) { . oO © 4 [™ a O os oO an 8) Sy cd G

U hy - ire} = hy rad) — | > O 108) Qu. ne 08) oon O

0 43) . iJ ) i) e) '@) (i, x. Vv M4 iJ — a O |

's) J a - = = S : Lu oF wo = - Ma ie se }

- we 00 | ie} ria { rie) | 3 } hy ) é) i. ) Q

= w a O 4 ‘ wr 1 A oan re) ; S v oF 3 ‘ a Vv

4 - mr s) 4 ) on oH rd v . rr 4 > W) oF - C hy

4 .?) = } ) ~~ a) v W a S ) e x ¢

U S cal Q) f ~ GS 8 f " ; Q C x m » l al My

a aa) rt : 4 ) O QO. 3 U : : : ) My 4 - U 4)

> — @ 7) < re | = b4 r= © . 6) _ ) o ones a) > +J : G =I

<0) &

™ » o 1s)

— Ww \O if a4 A

i ed om | Comm | -

7 . ap) v

4

W) Qn

4 Q

Bo Vv

4 Q

ww

na

Ou

f=)

’

4

+o

-o

Nase

jf ie} eviden

thes¢e Statement

-16-

W

DID NOT ERR IN

MOTION TO SUPPRESS

ON JANUARY 10th

THE TRIAL COURT

DENYING APPELLANT'S

STATEMENTS MADE

Appellant contents, citing Massiah v. United States,

U.S. 201, 84 S.Ct. 1199, 12 L.Ed.2d 246 (1964)

9°

v

and Escobedo

7

7

V.

Illinois, 378 U.S. 478, 84 S.Ct. 1758, 12 L.Ed.2d 977

(1964

)»

his statements made on January 10th should have been excluded

irom evidence because nis attorney had not been notified of

the interview. This argument is without merit. Massiah in-

volved a post-indictment situation wherein a co-defendant, who

unknown to the defendant was cooperating with the police, sur-

reptitious interrogated the defendant. The defendant had no

knowledge he was under interrogation by a government agent.

The Court in Escobedo recognized (citing Johnson v. Zerbst,

Supra.) a defendant may under proper circumstances effectively

vVaive his right to counsel, but held on the facts before them

no waiver occurred. ©

Federal and State Courts have recognized, in cases after

1e¢ Massiah decision, there is no per se violation of the Sixth

_

6. Escobedo had been arrested and unequivocally requested

and he had been informed of his right to remain silent.

police told the defendant they had convincing evidence

him and urged him to make a statement.

21 7-

counsel,

The

against

.

,

Amendment when a defendant makeS incriminating Statements 1n

~ ‘ - t - ,<o } Tima ¢ ry ay ‘ c “7 Vine ‘* AD 7 my —

the absence of counsel. United States v. Massey, 437 F.Supp.

— is. ‘ ee = « ‘ x = ; ae et : Pa yea

843 (U.S.D.C., M.D., Fla. 1977) The Court held the question

of waiver or Sixth Amendment violation depends on the facts

an , r > c c . ls ° he ce . 4 T Ll +

ana circumnstanc > Ssurroundi in, Vist in err a Lon. LIKeEW1Se,

the Seventh Circuit in United Cen +, wW CrHrinrer AG e Od 7

ne woeven n ome & 11T aii Viisi LDS WLaALOES v « YO) Am Ree a 20U Yr. 6G i

7+h +7 107° hol; he to - - » ¢ ~ } sa + . oon oo < :

(/th is LI4S) held there 1S no pe2 se FULISC that law eniorce>-

ment officials must give prior notl¢ to defense counsel Dei

oa + ‘ ; ~o fy» “ > anni j r rf ++ -.+-e

IOTaLINiINg a > fatement irom an accusea ine OuUre Said

springer would iirst nave 3

a , c , -4 > l-¢ ‘ r u¢

<i 1irm an a 4 2alGo a i) Ct aac sSian

4 be eae 2" 11 eC " i ie

United states, ne atre oul O4

‘ . mn sa beep tase anal al aaa. are

2 & - 1199: 12 4, £a.20 246 (1904),

and subsequent cases e made it

lear that law enforces ent fi-

ale eannnot nrocur =tateme t

cl is \ Chabbl’d’ & ? 4 ae

f of any kind trom a deltendant

nas an attorns Witn at least

prior notice. to, if n the \-

‘ c .. 4- 4 -_ A174

sen Or, the a orne ,itnougn

such a rule mignt see to tollow

£ 4. mm - - ria - ed * ] P.

rom a reaaing Oi Qt ad if

‘herein the Court spoke in ve!

broad terms 1n dicta e are < n=

strained by precedent both of

; I< ¢ ] T j +} S re © Cr rt

Ll io i¢ JUTL and Lne te) i 4 fis Y si v

‘ - a : +, vhs ? ‘

o reject tnis line whicn aamit—

+ j *

y + “~ ‘ 7 7 >

in administration, as d il]

-y ¢ ThRat vat | t ; ry?

ruies. nat c CO! Fitutionas

; t

U.S. 458, 58 S.Ct. 1019, 82 L.Ed.

1461 (1938); Escobedo v. Illinois,

378 U.S ive ae Bat: cates, Ad b.

Ed.2d 977 (1964). Thus, in United

States v. Fellabaum, 408 F.2d 220

(7th Cir. 1969), cert. denied, 396

U.S. 858, 90 S.Ct. 25, 24 L.Ed. 2d

109, and United States v. Crisp,

35 F.2d 354 (7th Cir... 1970), cert.

A228.

=.

deni

ed,

402 U.S. 947, 91 S.Ct. 1640,

29 L.Ed.2d 116 (1971), this court

has affirmed convictions resulting

from confessions obtained without the

presence of counsel.

(text at 1350)

And in Monroe vy. State, 369 So.2d 962 (Fla. 3d DCA 1979) the

Third District said:

ment

It

Ss m

does not follow that all state-

ade in the absence of counsel are

inadmissible; but each case must turn on

the

fac

ts and circumstances surrounding

the particular interrogation. United

Stat

(5th

es

Ci

v. Brown, 551 F.2d 639, 643-4

r. 1977). <A valid interrogation

of a defendant can take place out of

presence of his attonrey where the

defendant knowlingly and intelligently

the

waiv

sent

es

at

his right to have counsel pre-

some particular critical stage

of the proceedings, and further the

presence of his counsel! is not essen-

tial

oft

4.

LO

hat

the validity or effect iveness

waiver, Johnson v. State, 268

So.2d 544, 546 (Fla. 3d DCA 1972), cert.

discharged, 294 So.2da 69 (1974). The

voluntariness of in-custody statements

of persons accused of a crime and of the

waliv

er

of the right to counsel at an

interrogation need only be established

by a preponderance of the evidence.

Johnson v. State, 294 So.2d 69 (Fla.

1974

Thus the fact that

the police knew of

uppellant dues not

);

(t

cou

the

per

supra.

ext at 964)

nsel had been appointed for appellant and

appointment before their meeting with

se require suppression of the statement.

‘

=" ™

ISSUE V

THE TRIAL COURT DID NOT EER IN

DENYING APPELLANT'S MOTION TO

SUPPRESS STATEMENTS AS THE

STATEMENTS WERE MADE VOLUNTARILY

Appellee would point out that appellant never raised the

issue of voluntariness of his statements; therefore, the issue

has not been preserved for appellate review. Wainwright v.

Sykes, 433 U.S 72, 97 S.Ct. 2497, 53 L.Ed.2d 594 (L977) In

wainwright the Court held that a trial court need not hold a

hearing on voluntariness of statements and/or confessions unless

the defendant objects on that bases. Accord United States v

"vertz, 492 F.Supp 1Ug7 (U.3.3D.¢,,, S.C 1979) nd our

~

Supreme Cou1 in Brewer \v sta Le, 386 So.2d 232 (Fla 1980)

aiSO indicated the Court need only determine if a statement

was free and voluntary if a question on voluntariness arises.

Additionally, appellant did not object when the trial court

ruled the statements voluntary

Appellant made three (3) pre-trial motions to suppress.

The first motion pertained to statements made by appellant on

anuary 7, 1980, and the basis for said motion was that the

he result of an illexal detention. (R307-30S )

Statements were

The second motion pertained to physical evidence seized from

appellant's vehicle and the results of tests done to the physical

evidence. (R310-312) The third motion concerned the state-

— ments made by appellant on January 8th and 10th. The legal

-

arguments in support of this motion were: (l) appellant's

arrest was a result of illegally seized evidence and the

Statements were "fruits of the poisonous tree", (2) the

Statements were obtained after appellant had requested couns

and (3) the January 10th statement was obtained without the

permission or knowledge of appellant's counsel. (R313-314)

After testimony was received at the hearing, defense

counsel] argued in support of his motions asserting the same

. co

grounds espoused in his motions. (R564-575) And the prosecutor

likewise made no argument on the voluntariness of the stateme

However, at the close of the arguments, the trial judge made

ruling that the statements were freely and voluntarily made.

(R580) No objection was made to that ruling.

Prior to admission of the statements at trial, the followi

colloguy occurred between the parties:

MR. HELINGER: Your Honor, for time's

sake I would inquire of the Court --

During the motion to suppress before

Judge Patterson we went through the

specifics; the Court found the state-

ment freely and voluntarily made at

that time.

Do you want me to go --

MR. SCHERBER: I think we have to go

through all the statements as far as

legal relevance. That's the only pur-

pose for this proffer to my understanding.

THE COURT: No question of voluntariness?

MR. SCHERER: i think that has been per-

mitted.

. & as one

MR. WHITE: I believe, well, that during --

In fact, we know during the course of

our motion to suppress that previous judge

found as a matter of law that there was

y)luntariness and Miranda rights, et cetra,

had been properly put to the defendant

before his questioning. Hence we are not

trying to create an error with the Court,

but it would be our opinion that that is

res adjudicata or whatever you call it.

MR. SCHERER: And that aspect need not be

looked into, but, very simply, I object

to him going back to statements which are

.

not relevant.

THE COURT: All right. (R1813-1814)

Again no objection was made to the evidence for lack of volun-

tariness; appellant's argument was confined to its relevancy.

Since appellant never objected to the admission of t

a Statements based on involuntariness, he cannot now be heard

. ha? £ eeerser Win i aa 4 ieee r Sasha 2 ha delete vlc pa } Bi ae

On that 2509UC. LLnNWLrignt Vv. Sj ACS, Sup! a. AP pe ] iant nad

two opportunities to impose any objection - when the trial

judge made his sua sponte ruling and again when the issue came

up during Detect ive Murry '"s proffered testimony.

oe 2 om ‘

wie fee ta hetea Ley | the fez Z Cr herg. he, CRIM4 ae f GFR

, 4 yA / : ;

hz amet st a LO well wg Caflecne. Zz VIL fe LE 4 hte bial la Fa =

a

ha é, eZ. Cher ad ALC. Flom (@¥22)

Ze] Hecabeve bbe. tate

HEA aa a Ke hte Ly bf Me. LOK a4 ct) GPre€ Z 7

‘ae i , ; 2 A rd J

Btact? wea tithe tgppitled Hue,

~22-

ISSUE VI

THE TRIAL COURT'S ADMISSION OF EVIDENCE

OF MARIJUANA IN APPELLANT'S CAR IS NOT

REVERSIBLE ERROR

Appellee respectfully submits this Court's ruling in

Malloy v. State, 382 So.2d 1190 (Fla. 1979) is dispositive

of this issue. In Malloy co-defendants who had entered nego-

4s

wa

tiated pleas, testified to an incident involving a rifle at a

lounge which occurred some hours prior to. the murders. This

Court held the incident at the lounge was only one incident

in a chain of events culminating with the delivery of the pro-

perty to appellant's bedroom. The Court also said:

f In addition, the ec

the lounge inciden

lish all the elem

ircumstances of

lo not estab-

of a crime

and, Ragede ts eg a the question

of the admissibility of prior

(ena acts is not present.

So b+:

o

Sub judice, during appellant's Statements to the police,

he indicated he had a problem with alcohol and also used mari-

juana. (Ri848) Officer Ehlers testified concerning the items

taken from appellant's car, which included several baggies of

marijuana. (R1364) This was the only evidence introduced at

trial concerning drugs, and as this Court Said in Malloy, supra.,

this evidence does not establish all the elements of a crime;

therefore, the question of other criminal acts does not arise.

-

’ 2 ?

Sue OT Te a an &@ Minghy Anak

= 23e

ISSU: VII

THE TRIAL COURT DID NOT ERR IN

ADMITTING EVIDENCE OF AN ATTEMPT-

FD HOMOSEXUAL ASSAULT BY APPELLANT

WHILE HE WAS IN JAIL AWAITING

TRIAL.

Joan Wood, a medical examiner for Pinellas County, testified

to the presence of semen in the rectum of the victim. (R1037) Add-

itionally, she testified there was evidence of mutilation of the

~

rectum, suggesting penetration by a foreign object. (R1038-1039

The nature and extent of the rectal injuries were consistent with

the type of injuries iikely to be received from insertion of a

coke bottle into the rectum. (R1039) A coke bottle was found in

appellants' car.

The testimony of Kenneth Young, appellants’ cellimate, was

offered to introduce an admission made by appellant during his

incarceration. See Darty v. State, 161 So. 2d 864 (Fla. DCA 1964).

Appellant made the statement, "I wonder how he'd like a Coke

bottle up his ass like I gave her.” (R 1794)

At a motion in limine hearing concerning the admission into

evidence of the statement, the court ruled:

THE COURT: Yeah, but I think it comes

in under statement against interest. I

think he has the right to show the facts

that prompted that statement. If it

contains the evidence of another crime,

so be it. (R 871)

Thus the trial court held the statement was relevant as an admis-

sion against interest.

This Court said in Smith v. State, 365 So. 2d 704 (Fla. 1978)

that Williams Rule evidence was admissible if relevant for any

-24-

purpose except to show bad character or criminal propensity.

The medical evidence demonstrated the victim had been rectally

assault with a foreign object consistent with a Coke bottle.

Appellant during the course of an attempted assault in essence

admits he used a Coke bottle on the murder victim. It is un-

reasonable to assume the jury could appreciate the significance

of such a remark without Knowing the context in which it was

made. Was the jury to surmise that appellant out of the blue

made reference to his sexual assault on Debbie Kammerer?

The trial court properly ruled the testimony of Young was

admissible te establish the context in which appellants’ admis-

Sion was made. cf. Ruffin v. State, So. 2d (Fla. 1981,

Case Nos. 55,684 and 56,741, Opinion filed March 26, 1981).

a

si

ciia

factors

a

5

ona

~~

>

»)

la

‘“

CS

'

'

.

‘

noaorn

from

men diGl

Ss back

Court

Vaterhouse

+

*

cons

n

this

——

v

rirmativ

c

4

a

ices

r

4

se circumsta

S

.

Submits th

e

ppelle

~

aA

~~ the murder was committed to avoid arrest.

Even assuming, arguendo, the evidence was insufficient to

Support this aggravating factor, there were no mitigating cir-

cumstances found. And there are several well-founded aggravating

neces. This Court has on numerous occasions held when

there are no mitigating circumstances and good aggravating circum-

Stances, imposition of the death penalty 1S appropriate. Elledge

e = - ew - - 5 A enue rm’ 7 ~ - Ar = . — 2 ct - 2 ~~ .

. State, 346 So. 2d 998 (Fla. 1977); Washington v. State, sSupra.;

etter ase hat

ane As — ur + Ho IRF Se - 205 (PF ] <

anqd Antone Vv. otate, 362 sO. 24a 1205 (Pla. 1980).

is

ISGUE IX

THE EVIDENCE SUPPORTED A FINDING

THAT THE MURDER WAS HEINOUS,

ATROCIOUS OR CRUEL.

The medical exmainer's description of the nature and

extent of abuse to the victim's body was as follows: / There

were 30 lacerations and 36 bruises over the body which had

been inflicted prior to her death. The rectum displayed evi-

dence of mutilation by multiple tearing wounds. Scientific

evidence indicated the victim hansaaies anally assaulted with

a penis and a foreign object. Based on the amount of hemorrhag-

ing in the rectal area, the mutilation of the rectum occurred

prior to the victim's death. The victim's right eye was

bruised and blackened and there were multiple injuries to

the face. <A bloody tampon had been stuffed in Debbie's mouth

in such a manner as to prevent her from crying Out or screaming.

A front tooth was missing and there was evidence indicating

this had recently happened. The medica] evidence also indi-

cated the victim had been choked to such an extent as to

cause hemorrhages in the eyes, lining of the voice box and

muscles of the neck.

The prosecutor described the heinous, atrocious or cruel

circumstances thusly:

7/A complete desé¢ription of the injuries te Debbie Kammerer's

body is contained in record pages 1036-1060.

-28-

. T4 '-

a a

i ‘ 2 ra cri}

. c _

VEHHOY!IS DOU!

t 3 —— +, 4

iio LV i

’ ; ror

y 4 | ic

and ‘ ink .

ind Mink a

=r) e°

i y 4

hr joa,% »

; 4 I ¢ :

I ; > P on,

tha o 4 o

‘ y + 4

y veit —.,

she vas dea

— . 7. ar

> a ‘ > 10 rn Q?r ] icrn ; +

su Yas | i if li eans qges igned O

» 4 ot ; +} 4 r -y rc , | } T }

L 4 ifi Uerpresc ri Ppaln. Vid Vevdodbie

er ae o£ “ ‘ . so QO} . '4 }

' ~ c r r r > | ) ? | i al

i J ij i | Nig ilé ' a | Gead

fe nw aha + S cem oper i tntem 4 wnt .

| i I TNs a > @&ZAaeeegd szntct € wWweavevGel.

= — far? eal Aon — : +} . -

r j I 1e defense wounds lemselves

‘ ra + + c a oe | . ad i

S i ring tre r

A eu ica ne Wand puss Ges rife Ciilf sO LY e

T ‘ 1 '

+ ‘ neo ++¢ > thine + } O° . 1 ¢hamge } r}

4 ) iif na L dt billie nere na Lnen She A

, ; a j °T > moar } Wa + hye "2a { 4 - -

‘ i . 4 iif icali ni 4 LO llel\ € i i | A

+ =u + } - —_ 7; 4 + ar > °T* }. , +t xe ‘?

v A ‘ UCcu Joli di A i Lilie, Lilé perl iCal Sv 4

‘ , nd the tes ! nv of the medica exan er

i ik i . 4 iy } ‘ i i | i “we in ,

> > ; + is a+ ¢ +har } . 3 = P } -

i : " A iil ri at’ -llal Ue, na any 2\asSonadil ¢

_ ‘ ++ > y j ff , y " ‘ y 5 ry) *

i Ro 4 Ss Aiittidda Cclzces { i ao © | ’ t i

‘ c —— ° ‘ +hnarce + T Tt) "+

i as Ga | ‘ { ers }/4 11e€s io i } 4

¢ ‘ rn 7

Wing or — + os a, } ‘ . ry + ;

’ b/ 4 4icCo AUS LULES y 4 ilu i ict

ow _ rs

> ‘ 4 i ~i

+ + y+ «>

é I _——

hear ‘- } i ¢ ‘

Six fr re ?

\ i iu

> +? ; + +,

i ait Aah

r eT es

i f Liis LGé

c ‘4 i?

> Tok SB S88e

‘ = , ~

Wild : —

, -} “i

i i .

] | Sne S

‘ , ] 1,4

Ls ‘ ‘ as

re S ible i

i Wi A

mypiies,.

v1

T ‘jr 2 ‘ ) w ‘

NR. 22602-2285" ).

4 > ? ’ c A ry 7 nf . . le y t y ? ¥ f

ine acvlvions ) 1p}? 6 an sertainly meet the definition olf

neinous - extremeiy wi Or SNOCKINE evil - atrocious

i outrageously wicked and vile - and cruel - designed t

inflict a high degree of pain - as outlined by this Court in

State v. Dixon, 283 So.2d 1 (Fla. 1973). See also Dobbert

State, supra.

rT’ ; } . ; TI - lww ] r Ct > so he? de S ¢ ; &° LT -

The evidence in Halliwell v. State, 423 50.2d oo Fla.

1975) was that the victim was murdered then the body was

mutilated. That situation is not applicable here. The medicas

examiner stated the wounds to Ms Kemmerer's body were inflicted

prior to her death by drowning, and the defense wounds indi

the victim waS conscious ana aware f what waS Nnappening.

- 30-

ISSUE X

TRIAL COURT

TWO

HE

NDING

BASED ON

CONVICTION

DID

AGGRAVATING

APPELLANT'S PRIOR

NOT ERR IN

FACTORS

MURDER

Sub judice, the trial judge found as two aggravating

factors that the murder was committed while Appellant was

under a sentence of imprisonment, i.e. lifetime parole for

second degree murder in New York and Appellant had previously

veen convicted of a felony involving force. This is the iden-

tical situation presented in Adams v. State, 341 So.2d 765

Fla 1976), and this Court gave no indication that this was

improper.

Appellee submits Appellant has misapplied the concept f

improper doubling. The decision in Provence v. State, 337 S

2d 783 (Fla. 1976) more correctly indicates there is doubiing

hen two aggravating circumstances necessarily flow from the

same aspect of a defendant's conduct. Thus with a murder

ommitted during a robbery there would always be two aggravat-

ing circumstances

In this instance, the two aggravating factors would not

necessarily be present simply because a person had been

previous forceful

W

felony.

A

defendant

felony and completed

have been convicted of a forceful

sentence prior to the felony presently

being

adjudicat

could

his

re |

ea.

ISSUE XI

THE FACT THAT THE MURDER WAS COMMITTED

DURING THE PERPETRATION OF A SEXUAL

BATTERY WAS PROPERLY FOUND TO BE AN

AGGRAVATING CIRCUMSTANCE.

Appellant has again misapplied the law as pronounced by this

Court ina number of cases. The holding in State v. Pinder, 375

So. 2d 836 (Fla. 1979) was that in a felony murder situation a

defendant could not receive a separate judgment and sentence for

the murder and the underlying felony. Appellant herein seeks to

~

e)

=)

ban 2

1

=|

Cc

a

Q

@

hy

n

QO

@

~

fy

ty

~

1@)

ct

C

extent that ruling to say that in any fe

underlying felony cannot be used as an aggravating

This is simple not the law in this state.

This Court has on numerous occasions held the felony-murder

Fotd v. State, 374 So. 2d

context a proper aggravating factor.

496 (Fla. 1979); Smith v. State, supra.

NO error nas Deen demonstrated.

CONCLUSION

Based on the foregoing arguments and authorities the

Judgment and sentence of the trial court should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

JIM SMITH

ATTONREY GENERAL

ae ois

+s | oat . és oe = er

PEGGY A. QUINCE

Assistant Attorney General

1313 Tampa Street, Suite 804

Park Trammell Building

Tampa, Florida 33602

(813) 272-2670

r

Counsel for Appellee

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and correct copy of the

loregoing has been furnished by U.S. Mail to Philip J. Padovano,

Esquire, Post Office Box 873, Tallahassee, Florida 32302 on

this 19th day of June, 1981.

Of Counsel for Appellee

.

mah

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

ROBERT BRIAN WATERHOUSE, MAY

i

Appellant, et ee

vs. CASE NO. 59,765

STATE OF FLORIDA,

ae IIe

Apoeilee.

APPELLANT'S BRIEF

PHILIP J. PADOVANO

Post Office Box 8&7

Tallahassee, Florida 322

(904) 224-3636

ATTORNEY FOR APPELLANT

INDEX

ae

PRE TTREL DEP UUMEEUE 6's 65 BO CR b6 as pw Sdedecdeerednssceserecraseee 1

SP me ee | PPT Ter Perey re TEPER rTTee 1

STATEMENT OF THE FACTS

A

Ce PES COP IT See ere neenhvceeene reat Koeewenceewens 3

B

PO: RCORhs ows 600 5.s $4 65-00 bo hp dente wdc e nan caboceehenceasbdsudema 9

C

Pat Pe Y PONS on 6n. 6kbbnd Cree EKKO SOSH O DEEN PEC OES KOOROS 15

ARGUMENT

A

THE MOTION TO SUPPRESS

POINT ONE

THE STATEMENTS OF THE DEFENDANT

AND THE TANGIBLE EVIDENCE TAKEN

FROM HIS CAR SHOULD HAVE BEEN

EXCLUDED FROM EVIDENCE ON THE

GROUND THAT THEY WERE OBTAINED

AS A RESULT OF AN ILLEGAL ARREST

OR SPE Bees be cicelecadcadecdadevvscensecersesoas te 16

POINT TWO

THE TANGIBLE OBJECTS TAKEN FROM THE

DEFENDANT'S CAR SHOULD HAVE BEEN EXx-

CLUDED FROM EVIDENCE ON THE GROUND

THAT THE POLICE OFFICERS LACKED PRO

BABLE CAUSE TO SEIZE THE VEHICLE

PRIOR TO THE TIME THEY OBTAINED A

WARRANT TO SEARCH ITS CONTENTS..........--20000-

ho

— ]

POINT THREE

THE DEFENDANT'S STATEMENTS SHOULD HAVE

BEEN EXCLUDED ON THE GROUND THAT THE

OFFICERS FAILED TO TERMINATE THEIR QUES-

TIONING AFTER THE DEFENDANT EXPRESSED

Mie INTENT IOnm TO REMAIN SILENT. .cccccopscscccpoden ov

POINT FOUR

THE DEFENDANT'S FINAL STATEMENT

SHOULD HAVE BEEN EXCLUDED ON THE

GROUND THAT THE OFFICERS FAILED

TO ADVISE THE DEFENDANT'S COURT

APPOINTED ATTORNEY THAT THEY WERE

CPIeUP ares S SeeGs PAIS SIO V UW cece rceescnscdeccsecoscccese

POINT FIVE

THE DEFENDANT'S STATEMENTS SHOULD HAVE

BEEN EXCLUDED ON THE GROUND THAT THEY

WERE NOT SHOWN TO HAVE BEEN MADE VOLUN-

ee OE I OEE CARS Ny “POET O EEE Pee

3

THE TRIAL

POINT SIX

THE EVIDENCE OF THE DEFENDANT'S ALLEGED

POSSESSION OF MARIJUANA WAS IMPROPERLY

ADMITTED BECAUSE IT DID NOT MEET THE

RELEVANCY TEST REQUIRED BY THE FLORIDA

EVIDENCE CODE AND THE WILLIAMS RULE................

POINT SEVEN

THE EVIDENCE OF AN ALLEGED HOMOSEXUAL

RAPE ATTEMPT WAS IMPROPERLY ADMITTED

BECAUSE IT DID NOT MEET THE RELEVANCY

TEST REQUIRED BY THE FLORIDA EVIDENCE

CODE AND THE WILLIAMS RULE............-.00seeee evens

*

THE PENALTY PHASE

POINT EIGHT

THE EVIDENCE DOES NOT SUPPORT A FINDING THAT

THE CAPITAL FELONY WAS COMMITTED BY THE DEF-

ENDANT FOR THE PURPOSE OF AVOIDING OR PRE-

VENTING A LAWFUL ARREST 2... ccsccccccvcecctascccvecces

*

POINT NINE

THE EVIDENCE DOES NOT SUPPORT A FINDING

THAT THE CAPITAL FELONY WAS PARTICULARLY

HEINOUS, ATROCIOUS AND CRUEL

POINT TEN

THE TRIAL JUDGE ERRED IN BASING TWO

AGGRAVATING

PRIOR ACT OF THE DEFENDANT

POINT ELEVEN

CIRCUMSTANCES ON ONE

THE INVOLUNTARY SEXUAL BATTERY WAS AN

ESSENTIAL ELEMENT OF THE HOMICIDE AND AS

SUCH, !T COULD NOT CONSTITUTIONALLY BE

USED AS AN AGGRAVATING CIRCUMSTANCE

CPU AOTTE Sab be ekns conebebovcndabetenseesdee bude ces bcteav ene Sones

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

eeevevereeveev eevee eeeeeeeeeeereeeeeereeeeeeer eevee

“eee eevrerereereer eee eneeenne

reseed & & 606 & CH 2648 O84 ES

“eee eee eeeee

|

Ww

38

Qc

Nm

»

ce

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

ok Bee We eB SS Pee ee rrerey rere rr rrr rer 34

Blackburn v. Alabama, 361 U.S. 199, 4 L.Ed.2d 242, 80 S.Ct.

eS a ee So ee Aa db pih caus be wece wees. uae 28

Boulden v. Holman, 394 U.S. 478, 22 L.Ed.2d 433, 89 S.Ct.

ahve sn ace GAS Oke TO EE NONE OS ease ons See ee owe 28

Bras VV. Siete, 302 Sa. 20 S85 Fin. 2 BGA TS78) occ ccc ccccccscecncwes 35

Breedlove v. State, 364 So.2d 495 (Fla. 4th DCA 1978)............... 235, 30

Cady v. Dombrowski, 413 U.S. 433, 37 L.Ed.2d 706,

eS > 1 Ee a ee ee ere Tine eT reer a

Cardwell v. Lewis, 417 U.S. 583, 41 L.Ed.2d 325, 94 S.Ct.

ee hb hbo Ob NOS OREN EMSRS COCO DMO RRR O on em ned owes 21,23

Chambers v. Maroney, 399 U.S. 42, 26 L.Ed.2d 419,

90 S.Ct. 1975 bo FS errr Seer Ter eT TT ETE TO Tere eC 21,22

Clewis v. Texas, 386 U.S. 707, 18 L.Ed.2d 423, 87 S.Ct.

eh ee SE ee eee Le ee ee err Cee TO ER Tee 20

Ciftien vy. United States. 3371 F.2d GSS (Sth Cir. 1965) .2. cceccccccswess 27

Commonwealth v. Brooks, 364 A.2d 652 (Pa. 1976).......... eee ee ewes 19

Cooper v. California, 386 U.S. 58, 17 L.Ed. 2d 730,

BB+ Be, 2... RR AeA Oe Rene er eer Perey ee 23

Davis v. Mississippi, 394 U.S. 721, 22 L.Ed. 2d 676, 89

= Sp Bil Ser err rr Srr tr Se ere ae ee eT 17

af Se el ee OU RG sk ee erwerrerrr Te rer err ee te 38, 40

Dunaway v. New York, 442 U.S. 200, 60 L.Ed.2d 824,

Ot ches ee. CE OE eR ciccke ewes nkGoenhenn See bheckeebed kine de eeas 17,18

Escobedo v. Illinois, 378 U.S. 478, 12 L.Ed.2d 977,

Se Ce, CP ERE 6 Koide os be ceaheekes dios 6) 4030 6c hapacenecus 26,27, 28

ee fl a ee Oe A | eer eer eer re rs ee 40

Helwen wv. State, 323 SO. 30 SSF (FM. PETERS cv cdcccdens ce cessseccceeses 37, 38

-iv-

im ve: Barta, Fes Fer ee eee hs hob bbe Ws cde weseceess 19

Interest of G.A.R., 387 So.2d 404 (Fla. 4th DCA 1980).............. 19

Jackson. wv. Stain, FSO Bice See Cee Se eb Se eee occ vecccessicves 40

Maloy v. Hogan, 378 U.S. 1, 12 L.Ed.2d 653, 84

Gk. FRCS CEG ib tees bade REE CESRL AG 656 0 b0b 60.0 ese esbece 29, 30

Massiah v. United States, 377 U.S. 201, 12 L.Ed.2d 246,

SS: S.CE, TESS COME can sceenavewe sees bes edwwss covecsecseses 26,27

Meeks v. State, 339 So.2d 186 (Fla 1976)......c.c cece cece eee eeeceees 40

Menendez v. State, 368 So.2d 1278 (Fla. 1979).......ceeeeeeveeeeees 37

Michigan v. Mosley, 423 U.S. 96, 46 L.Ed.2d 313,

eR SP OPT OTT PETE EEE 24, 25,26

Mikenes vw. Stee. SEF Bie ee eee ees wee oo he ba vc cdecccceces 40

Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436, 16 L.Ed.2d 694, 86

| Pe Or eee Pere Tee eee Tere 24

Proffitt v. Florida, 428 U.S. 242, 49 L.Ed.2d 913,

SRM Ba Pere Ey COTE TUTTLE CTE 40

Provence v. State, 337 So.2d 783 (Fla Disks Gwe Wess et 6630 kOe 39,40

Riley v. State, 263 So.2d 200 (Fla. 1972). ....ccceeceeecnscsceseeees 22

Riley v. State, 366 So.2d 19 (Fla. 1979)... cc ceecceecvescncvcvenes 37,40

Robinson v. State, 351 So.2d 1100 (Fla. 3d DCA 1977)..........0.4.-. 27

Sanders v. State, 378 So. 20 S80 (ist DCA 1988)... oc cvcccccccccccss 27

state v. Craig, 237 SGiSe Fhe Gree Sere ee tehcceciccvccveccscoseues 27

State v. Frost, 379 Se. 2b SOS Chis Bete FSTS ccc cece sc ce cccccvces 18

State v. Hetland, 366 So.2d 831 (Fla. 2d DCA 1979)............0.0-. 19

State v. Pinder, 375 So.2d 836 (Fla. 1979) ....ccccccccccccccccccvens 40

Sears V. Slate, Fie Be ee ra bs as 6 0 kes oh ec ccewccenss 27

Swan v. State, 322 SO.20 SES This FETE nas occesieves clescacvccvcces 38

Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1, 20 L.Ed.2d 889, 88

wees A REMC. Sag a ee 17

Texas -v. White, 423 U.S. 67, 46 L.Ed.2d 209,

FM: ee Ral Pee eP Pe eT TTC Pe TTT EET LETTTL Terre 23

Townsend v. Sain, 372 U.S. 293, 9 L.Ed.2d 770,

Be Meeks Pe RD 6 WN bb.00.4e bee bc bb Ue cb cb cesescevheceseesane 28

United States v. Brignoni-Ponce, 422 U.S. 873, 45 L.Ed.2d 607,

Sr Wcaaea BOS CEPT 6 ode os beach 00 6600 ths crceeeees coeeedesewa 17

United States v. Clayton, 407 F.Supp. 204 (E.D. Wis. 1976)...... 24

United States v. Jakakas, 423 F.Sunop. 564 (E.D.N.Y. 1976)...... 24,25

wee UV. State; 190 SOc 20 SSS CFM. T9SG) ove wees eens ce ctccaees 31,33, 34

Williams v. State, 188 So.2d 320 (Fla. 2d DCA 1966)...........0008. 27

eee ee Oe 7) ne 27

Wong Sun v. United States, 371 U.S. 471, 9 L.Ed.2d 441,

= eo A et TTT CTTorT TIT Ter Tiere rer Le 16,20

STATUTES AND OTHER AUTHORITIES

Fen PUR P GR) Fie. Slee. (IDM ccc ccccacccvcsccaseeecatecctvccntevesus's Oe

Sec SRAET) Fi. Steaks. CISTS) cc ccc cccccveseccccesenseeedesecencsctocsess 34

Pee DRN art) Fim. SiSt.. CVOTE) . cccccsocavecsecsvvccccssesseccnecs 31, 34,35

SO GOST TE) Pid. StSt. CVSTE) occ cvccccvcssvccdsccesccssccvcscessesscsece 33

520. U81C5) (a) Pid. Stat. CUSTT) cn nccvcvcccccesccessccccesssccsecvscess 33

921.1791(5) (BD) Fla. Stat. (1979). ccccccecccccccccsccccossvecssccccess 39

St. FUTESN CS) Fin. Sees. CEST bcc cvcnccvecvccdvccdccstsccccwncencess 39

929. PAVE SHES) Pid, SIRE: CUBITT Pvc ce vicdvccdecsccdessecovencsecegseens. 36

S21. TSTC SPC) Fin. StOt. CUSTZ) oo cjiccodecsocvesaysedeccocsessstaccceses 37

14 Filia. Jur. 2d CRIMINAL LAW $181 (1980) .......ccccccccccccnccces 29

-Vi-

' PREI IMINARY 5 FATEMI! on

The Record on Apneal consists of twelve bound volumes and wall be

cited throughout this Brief by the letter "R" and the appropriate pace

4

number,

The Appellant, Robert Brian Waterhouse, will be referred to as the

Defendant and the Appellee, State of Florida will be referred to as the

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is an Appeal from a Final Judgment of the Circuit Court for

Pinellas County, Florida, adjudicating the Defendant quilty of the crime of

First Degree Murder and sentencing him to die in the electric chair. (R-394).

On January 31, 1980, the Pinellas County Grand Jury met and returned

an Indictment charaina the Defendant with the premeditated killing of one

Deborah Kammerer. (R-16,17). The charge alleaed that on January 3, 1980,

the Defendant beat and choked the victim inflicting wounds upon her, and

that he then dragged her into the water where he left her to drown. (R-16,

17). A plea of Not Guilty was entered (R-16,35), and the case was set for

trial.

Counsel! for the Defendant made a variety of challenges to the constitu-

tionality and constitutional applicability of the Florida capital punishment laws,

(R-24,34) but each of the arguments was rejected by the Trial Court Judge.

(R-80).

Prior to trial, the Attorneys for the Defense moved to suppress certain

items of tangible evidence recovered from the Defendant's automobile on or after

January 7, 1980, as well as a series of statements macile by the Defendant to

officers of the St. Petersbura Police Department on January 7th and 10th. (R

307-314).

The trial judqe conducted a separate evidentiary hearing on the Motion

to Suppress on Auqust 22, 1989 (R-435,581) at the close of which he denied

the Motion in part and granted it in part, ordering the exclusion of only the

final statement made by the Defendant on January 10, 1980. (R-388,579, 580)

The State moved for a rehearing on the portion of the Order requiring the ex

clusion of the last statement (R-339,341) and on Auqust 25, 1980, the Lower

Court reversed its earlier ruling and entered an Order denying that part of

the Motion as well. (R-411,412,432).

The Defense sign filed a Motion in Limine seeking to exclude certain

"Williams Rule" testimony regarding an allegedly similar act committed by the

Defendant while he was incarcerated in the Pinellas County Jail. (R-305).

The Court reserved ruling on this Motion until such time as the State offered

the disputed testimony at trial. (R-872).

Trial commenced in St. Petersburg on Auoust 25, 1980, and the tanaible

evidence and statements challenaed by the Defense were presented to the Jury

over the renewed objection of counsel. (R-991). The trial judge also allowed

the State to present the similar fact evidence previously challenged by the

Motion in Limine. (R-1753).

The presentation of the testimony and evidence relating to the first

phase of the trial was concluded on August 31, 1980, and on September 2,

following the arquments of counsel and instructions by the Court, the Jury

returned a verdict of quiltvy as charged. (R-389). The sentencing phase

of the trial began the next day, and after consideration of the testimony and

argument relating to that proceeding, a majority of the jury recommended the

imposition of the death penalty. (R-390).

A Defense request for a presentence investigation was denied (R-2300)

and the Defendant was sentenced shortly after the advisory penalty proceedinas.

The trial court judge accepted the recommendation of the Jury and sentenced

o2e

the Defendant to death (R-2305). Thereafter, on September 15, 1980,

the Court entered written findings of fact in support of the sentence. (R-

408,409).

This appeal was timely filed on September 30, 1980, to review the Juda-

ment and Sentence of the Circuit Court for Pinellas County, Florida. (R-417).

STATEMENT OF THE FACTS

A

THE MOTIONS TO SUPPRESS

On the morning of January 3, 1980, Seraeant Gail Murry responded to

@ call concerning the discovery of a body near the shoreline in the Lassina

Park area of the city of St. Petersburg. (R-444). When she arrived at the

scene, she found the naked body of a white female lyina face down in the

mud about twenty feet from the high tide mark. (R-445).

Sergeant Murry noticed that the victim had severe lacerations in the

head and Scalp area, and as she turned the body over, she discovered that

the victim had numerous bruises around the throat area, a swollen black right

eye, and what appeared to be a blood soaked tampon in her mouth. (R-445),

An examination of the entire Park area led Murry and other officers called to

the scene, to the conclusion that the assault had occured elsewhere anc that

the body was transported to the scene and draaaed into the water. (R-446).

On January 5, 1980, the St. Petersburg Police Department received

@n anonymous phone call from a person with a New England type accent who

said "In reference to the bay murder, | have a license number for you GMU-

603", and then hung up. (R-447), Serqeant Murry was able to determine

from the information Provided that the vehicle referred to was a brown 1973

Plymouth registered in the name of the Defendant Robert Brian Waterhouse.

-

——

(R-448),

A records check disclosed that the Defendant Waterhouse was on lifetime

Parole for the homicide of a white female victim in New York. (R-449) Ser

geant Murry learned upon further investigation that the victim in that case had

been choked and left nude. (R-449),

The officers were able to determine that the Defendant's local address

was 1675 Pinellas Point South, and immediately commenced a Surveillance of the

residence and of the Defendant. (R-450). On January 7, 1980, while the po-

lice surveillance was apparently still in progress,*a missing persons renort

demonstrated that the victim was one Deborah Kammerer who had lived on

Grove Street in the city of St. Petersburg. (R-450).

Miss Kammerer was last seen by her friends, Yohan Wenz and Carol

Byers, at the ABC Lounge on Fourth Street on the evenina of January 2,

1980 (R-451). The three had gone to the lounae that night toagether, but

Wenz and Byers left Shortly before midnight. (R-451). Miss Kammerer indi-

cated to them that she wanted to stay a little longer. (R-451).

The officers then proceeded to the ABC Lounge where they spoke with

an oriental bartender named Kyoe Ginn. (R-452). They showed the bartender

a photograph of Deborah Kammerer, and she said that she knew her as a pa-

tron of the lounge. (R-452). Ms. Ginn told the officers that Miss Kammerer

was in the bar on the evening of January 2, 1980, and that she left with a

man shortly after midnight. (R-452).

The bartender was then shown @ group of photographs including the

Photograph of the Defendant Waterhouse, and she picked out the photograph

of the Defendant and said that he was the man she saw leaving the lounge on

January 2, 1980 with Miss Kammerer. (R-452). She recognized Waterhouse

aS a customer of the lounge as well. (R-452).

Sergeant Murry then decided to interview the Defendant's Aunt and Uncle,

-§-

‘ |Mr. and Mrs. Foster, and a family friend, Mr. Ken Norwood, each of whom

lived in the same house with the Defendant. (R-453). She asked the three

of them to come to the police station for questioning, and when they arrived,

he noticed that they each had a New England accent similar to the accent of

the voice on the tape of the anonymous phone call. (R-453).

The Fosters were described by Sergeant Murry as uncooperative. (R-

454). They told her that they did not know what the Defendant Waterhouse

was doing on the evening of January 2, 1980, and that he would cenerally

just come and go as he pleased. (R-454). Mr. Norwood, however, told the

officers that the Defendant was an oversexed person with a Jekyll and Hyde

personality and that he felt that he was capable of committing a crime such as

the one which was committed. (R-454).

At this point, the officers decided that they would ask Mr. Waterhouse

to come to the police station for questioning. (R-455). On the evening of

January 7, 1980, Detective William Leake and Detective Richard Stelljes, both

of the St. Petersburg Police Department, observed the Defendant driving his

1973 Plymouth in the vicinity of Twentieth Avenue and Sixteenth Street North.

(R-528). They siqnaled for him to pull over to the side of the road so that

they could speak with him. (R-528).

Detective Leake testified that Detective Stelljes asked the Defendant

Waterhouse for his driver's license, which he produced and that he then told

him they were investigating a homicide and that they would like for him to come

down to the police station. (R-529). As it was related by the officer, the

Defendant was told that it was important that he come down to the station, but

that he did not have to. (R-529,530). According to Detective Leake, the De

fendant Waterhouse followed them down to the police station voluntarily. (R-

530). He reportedly followed Detective Stelljes, driving in his own car alone,

while Detective Leake rode back in another police car which had arrived at the

scene in the meantime. (R-530).

Mr. Waterhouse, who took the witness stand on his own behalf at the

hearing on the Motion to Suppress, testified that the only reason he followed

the officers to the station was that they did not give him his driver's license

back. (R-540). He said that he asked the officer to give him his license

back at the scene of the stop and that the officer said "Well, you will have to

go to the police station to get it back." (R-540).

The Defendant testifed that there were at least four police cars that

accompanied him to the police station and that he was boxed in among the cars.

(R-540). After he arrived at the station, and spoke with the officers there,

they would not give him the license or his car. (R-541,542). He said that

he would not have gone to the police station if it were not for the fact that

the officers had his license. (R-542).

The Defendant's testimony regarding the license is supported in part

by the testimony of both Detective Leake and Detective Stelljes. Detective

Stelijes, called in rebuttal by the State, testified that Vr. Waterhouse never asked

him for his license back. (R-453). However, Stelljes was not asked (nor did

he volunteer) to give testimony that he actually gave the license back. More-

over, Detective Leake testified that he did not observe Detective Stelljes givina

the license back at the scene of the stop. (R-533).

Seroeant Murry told the Court that when the Defendant arrived at the

station she advised him of his rights and he executed a written waiver. (R-

456-459). At that time, he denied commission of the offense and said that he

did not know Deborah Kammerer. (R-1815). The officer said that she told

Waterhouse that he was free to leave at any time. (R-460, 461). Im response

to that he indicated to her that he wanted to leave and was permitted to do so.

(R-461). The officers conceded, however, that they did not allow him to take

his vehicle with him. (R-462).

While the Defendant was talking to Sergeant Murry, Detective John W.

Long was conducting a visual inspection of the 1973 Plymouth from the out-

side. (R-511). He looked into the vehicle with a flashliqht and observed some

sand on the floor in front of the driver's seat and what appeared to be sever-

al dark stains on the floor directly behind the driver's seat. (R-512). Based

upon this information, he applied for and obtained a search warrant to search

the vehicle. (R-513,514). The automobile was detained by the police, against

the Defendant's will, (R-489) continuously from the time he appeared at the

station until the search warrant was actually signed at five a.m. on the morning

of January 8, 1980. (R-513,514).

The search of the automobile disclosed that it contained blood stains of

type A blood, the same type as the blood of Deborah Kammerer. (R-466,467).

Based upon that information, police officers obtained an arrest warrant for the

Defendant on the afternoon of January 8, 1980 and arrested him tne next day.

(R-466, 467).

Sergeant Murry and Detective Hitchcox, who made the arrest, advised the

Defendant of his rights in the police cruiser on the way to the station and when

they asked him if he wished to speak to them he gave no answer. (R-470).

They drove for a few minutes, after which Detective Hitchcox held up a pic-

ture of Deborah Kammerer and asked the Defendant if he knew her. (R-470).

According to Sergeant Murry, he said "Yes that's Debbie", to which she re-

sponded, "Oh well, then you do know her." (R-470,471). Detective Hitchcox

said, referring to the earlier interview, "We were riaht, weren't we, about

what happened Wednesday night?", to which the Defendant simply said, "Might."

(R-471). Following these brief conversations, Mr. Waterhouse was reported to

have said, "| think | want to talk to an attorney before | say anything else."

(R-471).

During the booking, the officers indicated that they wanted to speak with

oe

the Defendant in more detail a little later, and he seemed to them to be coop-

erative and interested. (R-472). The following morning, on January 10, 1980,

at two a.m., Sergeant Murry and Detective Hitchcox went to the fourth floor

of the jail to speak with him. (R-473). They said that he appeared to be

saddened and that when they attempted to read him his richts again, he said

that he didn't want his rights, that it was over, and that he was qoing to the

chair. (R-473).

Sergeant Murry said that the Defendant was getting "very upset" and

saying in response to the rights form, "| don't want to hear them - my life is

over." During the several hours the officers were there, the Defendant would

at times start crying and he told the officers that he wanted to talk to them

as people and not as police officers. (R-473). He finally said, "You know I'm

tired, and | think that | would like to talk with my lawyer, will you all come

back later tomorrow", and the interview was ended. (R-477).

The following morning, the Defendant went to an advisory hearing, after

which he was interviewed for several hours by a representative from the Public

Defender's office. (R-478). The police officers knew the Public Defender's

office had been appointed on the case, and that a representative of the office

had conferred at length with the Defendant around noon of January 10, 1980,

but went to see him later that afternoon', without contacting anyone in the Pub-

lic Defender's office. (R-499,500).

During that interview, the Defendant told the officers that he did not

want to confess, (R-479) and that he did not want to talk about the offense

(R-500,501), and once aqain told them that he just wanted to talk to them as

Sergeant Murry, during direct examination, said that this interview occurred

on January 11, 1980, see e.q. R 479,489), but it is apparent from the cross

examination durina the Motion to Suppress (R-501,502) and the trial testimony

(R-1819) that the interview actually occurred on the 10th.

people. (R-479). He was described as being "very upset", (R 4

"naranoid", (R-481), but he nevertheless spoke with the officers.

The Defendant told the offficer that he really liked sex, and that he

had a problem with violence, explaining that when he drank too much, he

found himself doing things he had no control over. (R 507,1821). He in

dicated to the officers that he had a very large sex drive, and that he liked

sex any way he could get it, anal, oral, or vaginal. (R-1821). He said

that sometimes he would qet excited and if he found out the air! was “cursed

he would get frustrated. (R-1822,1823). When the officers asked when this

problem had shown itself, he said that it had occurred Wednesday nivht,

Ww

Qa

a

(apparently referring to the date of the offense), (R-1823) and later

"Why do you think | have quit drinking since Wednesday night?" (R-1824).

When the officers inquired further, he reportedly said “Well, nobody wants

to cp to jail and you do what you have to do to protect Bobby Waterhouse. '

(R-1825,1826).

Thereafter, the Defendant's trial counsel directly advised the officers

that they were not permitted to conduct any further interviews with his client.

(R-481,502).

THE TRIAL

In the early morning hours of January 3, 1980, Glen Shine, a clerk at

the Veteran's Administration, was walking his dog along the waterfront in the

Lassing Park area of St. Petersbura. (R-903-906). As the doc began to

bark, Shine noticed that there was an apparently lifeless body floatina face

down in the water. (R-906).

Mr. Shine summoned the assistance of an older gentleman hitting aolfballs

in a nearby nark, and the two aqreed that they should immediately call the

police. (R-906-907). Mr. Shine took his dog back to the apartment while

the older man made the phone call, and then returned to the scene to wait

for the police to arrive. (R-907).

Officer LeRoy M. Pierce, of the St. Petersburq Police Department, re

sponded to the call at approximately 9:00 a.m., and proceeded to the Lassina

Park area. (R-913). When he determined that the body had no life-signs,

he moved everyone back from the scene and roped off the entire area. (R-915).

Sergeant Gail Murry and Identification Technician, Elmer Krysco, arrived

at the scene shortly thereafter. (R-929,967). Technician Krysco, who took

photographs and processed the crime scene for evidence, (R-931-937) discovered

various items of clothina scattered over a wide area near the scene. (R 929,

949). Sergeant Murry confirmed that the testimony of the other two officers

that there appeared to be drag marks in the sand near the high tide mark.

(R-953).

Dr. Joan Wood, the Deputy Chief Medical Examiner for Pinellas County,

testified that the victim died as a result of drowning some eight to twelve hours

before the first exmination of the body at 11:45 a.m. on the morning of January

3, 1980. {(R-1035). The victim had approximately thirty-six bruises and

lacerations each of which occured prior to the time of death. (R-1036). No

abnormalities were found in the examination of the vaqina, but Dr. Wood found

evidence stronaly suqqestive of the presence of semen in the rectum. (R-1037).

The injuries found in the rectum suggested the insertion of some object other

than a“male penis. (R-1039). In response to a hypothetical question posed

by the prosecutor, Dr. Wood testified that the rectal injury could have been

caused by the insertion of a foreiqn object the size and consistency of a coke

bottle. (R-1039,1040).

Blood tests conducted during the autopsy revealed that the victim had

-10-

: type A blood. (R-1040). The vaqinal swab demonstrated the presence of

only blood type A, but the biomedical examination of the rectal area revealed

substances indicating the presence of both blood tynes A and B. (R-1040).

Dr. Wood explained that the presence of blood type B in the rectum could

have been caused by the semen of a male subject commonly classified as a

"“secreter", or that the substances could have appeared for some other reason.

(R-1042). Finally, Dr. Wood testitified that the injury to the rectum occurred

prior to death, (R-1056) and that the victim could not have been conscious

when she was dragged into the water. (R-1060).

Police officers first learned that the body examined by Dr. Wood was

that of the victim Deborah Kammerer on January 7, 1980, after providing pho

tographs to the news media, and reviewing missina persons reports. (R-975,

976). The Known fingerprints of the victim were then comnared to the latent

finaerprints found in the apartment of Deborah Kammerer on Grove Street, in

St. Petersburg, and were found to match. (R-1375).

Miss Kammerer was last seen by her friends Yohan Wenz and Carol Byers

at the ABC Lounge on Fourth Street on the evening of January 2, 1980.

(R-1078-1084) The three had gone to the lounge that niqht together, at

Deborah's invitation, but Wenz and Byers left shortly before midniaht. (R-

1083,1094). MissKammerer told them that she wanted to stay a little lonaer,

and that she would get a ride home with someone else. (R-1084).

Ms. Kyoe Ginn, the bartender at the ABC Lounge, testified that she

knew both the victim and the Defendant as reqular customers of the lounge.

(R-1114,1116). She said that on the evening of January 2, she noticed that

they were both in the bar alone after Wenz and Byers left, and that Miss

Kammerer moved her chair over to where the Defendant was sitting. (R

1119). After about thirty minutes, she observed them leavina the lounge to-

gether. (R-1120). Ms. Ginn further testified that she saw the Defendant in

-~ll1-

the lounge several days later drinkina a straiaht orange juice and that she

considered that unusual because she had never seen him order a non alcoholic

drink. (R-1121).

Mr. Robert Lewis Van Vuren, the Defendant's supervisor at the R.J.

Logqet Plastering and Drywall Company, testified that the Defendant came to

work on the morning of January 3, 1980, and asked if he could have the cay

off, explaining that he was "feeling rough". (R-1138-1140). At that time,

Van Vuren noticed that the Defendant had red marks or scratches on each side

of his face. (R-1140)

Mr. Van Vuren testified that he saw the Defendant aaqain on January 7,

1980 and at that time, he appeared to have a little makeup on his face. (R-

1143). He also noticed that the Defendant had new seatcovers in his car.

(R-1143). Finally, Van Vanuren was allowed to testify that he had at certain

times had conversations with the Defendant about sex and that the Defendant

told him that he liked anal sex, and that he liked to beat or slap women when

he did that. (R-1157,1158).

The Defendant's Aunt, Lois Foster, testified that the Defendant lived

with her, but that she did not know his whereabouts between 11:00 p.m. on

the evening of January 2, 1980 and 9:30 a.m. on the morning of January 3,

1980. (R-1248). She said that the Defendant stayed home from work on January

3, because he was not feeling well, but she did not notice any bruises on his

face. (R-1249,1254). About 2:30 on the afternoon of January 3rd, she ob

served the Defendant washing his car, but she did not consider that unusual.

(R-151,1251). Mr. Kenneth Norwood, a family friend who lived with the Fosters,

tesified that the Defendant had washed his car on that afternoon. (R-1259).

The State called both the boyfriend of the victim, Gary S. Colvin, and

the girlfriend of the Defendant, Sherry Rivers. (R-1265,1281). Colvin testi

fied that he was familiar with the sexual preferences of Deborah Kammerer and

-12-

that she had a distinct dislike for anal intercourse. (R-1271). Rivers,

who had been dating the Defendant for about three months nrior to the

incident, was allowed to testify that the Defendant had in the wast stated a

preference for anal intercourse, and that she had anal intercourse with him

On more than one occasion. (R-1319).

Wilbur Ehlers, a crime scene technician for the St. Petersburg Police

Denartment was called to the stand to identify various items of evidence taken

from the Defendant's car. (R-1322). This testimony related principally to the

taking of blood, hair and fiber samples, but Ehlers was nermitted to testify

that he also found ten baggies of marijuana in the qlove compartment. (R

1365).

Various expert witnesses were called to give testimony relating to the

analyses of the blood stains. David Baer, a crime laboratory analyst in sero

logy testified that the type A blood found in the Defendant's car was similar to

that of the blood of the victim. (R-1460-1502). Baer maintained that although

the Defendant also had type A blood, the enzymes in the samples were similar

to those of the type A blood of the victim. (R-1475). Theodore Yeshion, of

the forensic serology section of the Tampa Regional Crime Lab, testified that

throuah the use of a "luminol" test he was able to determine that blood once

existed on the Defendant's jacket, and in various parts of his car, but was

cleaned off or wiped off. (R-1544). Finally, Judith Bunker, the assistant

to the Medical Examiner in Orlando, was qualified as an expert in blood stain

patterns and gave her opinion from the confiquration of the stains that the vic

tim was struck with a hard object while seated in the right front passenger

seat of the vehicle. (R-1579,1616,1620).

The State also called several microanalysts. Patricia Lasko of the Florida

Department of Law Enforcement testified that a hair sample found in the Defen

dant's car was similar to that of the known head hair of the victim. (R-1685).

-13-

Lynn Henson, of the same Department, testified that fiber materials obtained

in the vacuum sweepings of theDefendant's car were similar to the fiber

materials found in the victim's coat and the victim's pants. (R-1720,1721).

Kenneth Young, an inmate who shared a cel! with the Defendant while he

was awaiting trial, was allowed to testify as to an incident relating to the

Defendant and another inmate. Accordina to Youna, a very small, slender

individual named Robert Clark came into the cell and the others were teasina

him and telling him how cute he was. (R-1788,1789). The Defendant put a

shank (jailhouse knife carved out of a spoon) up to Clark's neck and said

"how about some of the poop-chute", and thereafter cleared everyone else

out of the area. (R-1791,1792). Young said that he could hear Clark pro

testing, and that when the Defendant walked around to where the other in

mates were, his fly was unzipped and his shirt was untucked. (R-1794). At

this time, according to Young, the Defendant was alleged to have said "I won

der how he would like a coke bottle up his ass like | gave her." (R-1794).

Inmate Young also testified to a prior conversation he had with the Defen-

dant concerning the testimony of Mr. Van Vuren. As Younq related the conver

sation the Defendant said, "They say that my boss is qoing to say that | came

to work all scratched up - | didn't even ao into work that lying son of a

bitch - | got to scratched up." (R-1787).

Sergeant Murry was then recalled to the stand to relate the Defendant's

pretrial statements to the Jury. She recounted the substance of each of the

statements as previously described in the portion of this brief relating to the

Motion to Suppress. (R-1836,1865). Detective Hitchcox cave similar testimony

relating to the statements. (R-1865,1888).

The Defense called, among other witnesses, Leon Vasquez, the bouncer

who was working at the ABC Lounge on the evening of January 2, 1989. (KR

1928). He said that he had a conversation with Miss Kammerer on the night of

s) >

the offense, reaarding a man who was botherina her in the bar. (R-1931).

He also observed the Defendant Waterhouse in the bar that night having a

conversation with one Steve Spitzig about the purchase of some marijuana.

(R-1940). Mr. Vasquez testified that Waterhouse and Spitziq left the bar at

about ten minutes to twelve, and that Sptiziq came back alone at approximately

quarter to one. (R-1943). The victim was still in the bar when Spitziq re

turned. (R-1943). Finally, Vasquez told the jury that he explained these

facts to Detective Hitchcox who said that he did not want to investigate the

matter further because he did not want to help the defense. (R= 1949).

In rebuttal, Robert W. Lona of the St. Petersbure Police Department

said that Mr. Vasquez told the police that the Defendant was sneakincd to the

victim on the night in question. (R-2000). Other police witnesses testified

that there would be no way for an identification checker standing in the hall

way of the ABC Lounge to see the activity inside the bar, (R-2011), and

that the officers had, after investigation, eliminated the unruly bar patron as

a suspect. (R-2003).

THE PENALTY PHASE

The State introduced a certified copy of the Defendant's previous con

viction for murder in New York (R-2254), and called Officer Lawrence L. Hawes,

formerly of the Lona Island Police Denartment, to explain the circumstances of

that case. Mr. Hawes testified that the victim in that case, a seventy seven

year old white female named Ella Mae Carter, was found dead lying naked in

the bed of her residence. (R-2256,2258). The crime scene investigation re

vealed blood leading from the hallway to the bedroom as well as on the bed it

self, and it was apparent to the officer that the victim had tearing wounds near

“03

the vaqginal area and a bitemark on her breast. (R- 2258).

The Defense recalled the Defendant's Aunt, ‘irs. Lois Foster, who had

taken care of the Defendant from the time he was six years old. (R-2269).

She testified that the Defendant had been reachina out for help for the last

fifteen years but the authorities in New York and Fiorida would not listen.

(R-2227). It was “irs. Foster's opinion that if the Defendant did commit the

crime, it was because there was something mentally wrong with him. (R-2270).

ARGUMENT

A

THE “OTION TO SUPPRESS”

POINT ONE

THE STATEMENTS OF THE DEFENDANT

AND THE TANGIBLE EVIDENCE TAKEN

FROM HIS CAR SHOULD HAVE BEEN

EXCLUDED FROM EVIDENCE ON THE

GROUND THAT THEY WERE OBTAINED

AS A RESULT OF AN ILLEGAL ARREST

OR DETENTION.

The first argument relating to the various search and seizure issues pre

sented by this case is that the Defendant's January 7, 1980 trip to the St.

Petersbura Police Department was an involuntary detention made without »robable

cause. It is respectfully submitted that the tangible evidence obtained from

the vehicle and the two statements made on January 10 were the product of

that unlawful detention and that they should therefore, have been excluded

83 S.Ct. 407, 9 L.Ecl.2d 441 (1963).

It is conceded that the Defendant was not actually arrested on January

-16-

7, 1980, but that has no effect unon the arqument which follows. The Fourth

Amendment applies to all seizures of the person, including seizures that in

volve only a brief detention short of traditional arrest. Davis v. Mississippi,

394 U.S. 721, 22 L.Ed.2d 676, 89 S.Ct. 1394 (1969), Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S.

1, 20 L.Ed.2d 889, 88 S.Ct. 1868 (1968), and United States v. Brianoni Ponce,

422 U.S. 873, 45 L.Ed.2d 607, 95 S.Ct. 2574 (1975). The critical inquiry

relates only to the question of whether the Defendant's apnearance at the Po-

lice Station was voluntary, or whether the Police Officers otherwise had pro

bable cause for the detention.

The Officers characterized the Defendant's annearance at the Police Sta-

tion as "voluntary" but that characterization is not supnorted by the objective

facts presented at the hearing on the Motions to Suppress. The United States

Supreme Court recently held in Dunaway v. New York, 442 U.S. 200, 60 L.Ed. 2d

824, 99 S.Ct. 2248 (1979), that a detention for custodial interrocqation regardless

of its label intrudes so severely on interests protected by the Fourth Amendment

as necessarily triqner the traditional safequards against illenal arrests.

id at 442 U.S. 216.

In the Dunaway case, an informant told the police that a certain person may

have been involved in killing the proprietor of a pizza store. Armed with this

information, the officers brought the suspect into the station for questioning.

Based upon this detention, without formal arrest or probable cause, a statement

was given. The Defendant was given a full set of Miranda warnings, but the

Court held that the warninas could not validate the statements produced as a

result of the illeqal detention. In reversing the conviction obtained by the use

of the statement, the Court distinguished all of the exceptions to the probable

cause requirement and ruled that a trio to the police station for questioning

is an intrusion which requires probable cause.

The only arquable distinction between this case and Dunaway is that in

-17-

this case, the nolice officers said that the Defendant was free to qo. That

is an illusory distinction howver, given the fact that the evidence demonstrates

that they lured him to the police station by retaining his driver's license,

and the fact that they seized his car as soon as he arrived.

The issue of whether a particular detention is voluntary or involuntary

is not to be made unon the characterization of the police, but rathe*# upon

the manner in which it reasonably appears to the person arrested. State v.

Frost, 374 So.2d 593 (Fla. 3d DCA 1979). In the Frost case, two police

officers working at the Miami International Airport detained the Defendant un

der circumstances which indicated to them that he was a nossible drug courier.

An alleged consensual search of his briefcase and suitcases revealing marijuana

was held to be invalid because the officers had kept the Defendant's airplane

ticket and driver's license during the period of the alleged voluntary ques

tioning. '!n referring to the retention of the nlane ticket and driver's license,

the Court said "It is totally unrealistic, and therefore totally unacceptable..

to suggest that [the Defendant's] consent was an entirely voluntary and coop-

erative one when influenced by a real and effective restraint placed upon him

by the officers." id at 597.

In this case, as in Frost, the police officers effectively restrained the

Defendant by deprivina him of his means of transportation and by refusing

to aqive him back his personal identification. The fact that they told him he

was free to qo at any time is but a meaningless cesture, obviously designed to

lend credence to the thoory that the station house questioning was "voluntary".

Of course, the vehicle itself, from which the objectionable evidence was ob

tained, was seized as a direct result of the Defendan'ts "voluntary" appearance.

An involuntary detention might have been proper upon probable cause,

see Dunaway Vv. New York, supra, but it is clear from the facts of this case,

-18-

that the police officers did not have probable cause at the time of the January

7, 1980 questioning session.

When the police officers received an anonymous call simply statince “In

reference to the bay murder, | have a license number for you GMU 603",

(R-447) and learned that the vehicle referred to was renistered in the name cf

the Defendant, a man with a prior record who had been seen on January 2,

1980 with the victim, they decided to call him in for questioning. The inno

cent circumstances do not lend sufficient support to the anonymous tip to make

it rise to the level of probable cause.

While it is clear that an anonymous tipsmay be sufficient to justify the

commencement of an investigation, Interest of G.A.R., 387 So.2d 404 (Fla. 4th

DCA 1980), In re: Bertrand, 303 A.2d 486 (Pa. 1973) they are aenerally not

sufficient to constitute nmrobable cause for an arrest. State v. Hetland, 366 So. 2d

831 (Fla. 2d DCA 1979).

In Commonwealth v. Brooks, 364 A.2d 652 (Pa. 1976), an anonymous caller

simply told the police that "Brooks from Baltimore was one of the persons re-

sponsible for this shootina." The Court held that the tip was insufficient to con

stitute probable cause because there was no showina that the caller had perso-

nal knowledae of the contents of the call. Likewise, in this case, there is no

indication whatever that the anonymous caller had any firsthand information re-

garding the contents of the call. Nor, was the inforamtion contained in the call

specific enough to bear the indicia of reliability, State v. Hetland, supra.

These decisions demonstrate from a purely leaal standpoint the fact that

police officers did not have probable cause to arrest the Defendant on January

7, 1980. That conclusion however, is supported by the actions of the officers

themselves, as they certainly would not have allowed him to go home on that

day, with or without his car, if they thought they had probable cause to arrest

him.

-19-

The examination of the Detendant's vehicle from the outside, and t ve

‘

subsequent search of the vehicle, were obviously the direct mroduct of the

illenal detention. The record clearly demonstrates that the observations from

the exterior of the vehicle made bya police officer while the Defendant was

ing questioned by Sergeant Murry, were the cause of the subsequent

detention and search of the interior of the vehicle.

The Defendant respectfully submits further, the two statements made

on January 10, 1980 were the direct product of the illegal detention. In this

case, as in Clewis v. Texas, 386 U.S. 707, 18 L.Ed.2d 423, 87 S.Ct. 1338

(1967), there was no "break in the stream of events" between the unlawful de

tention and the makinq of the statements. The Defendant in this case did

not voluntarily return several days after the involuntary detention to make a

statement, as the Defendant Wona Sun did in Wona Sun v. United States supra.

Rather, it appears that information obtained during the detention was used to

support a findina of probable cause for the actual! arrest.

For eacn of these reasons, the Defendant respectfully submits that all of

the evidence obtained from him or from his vehicle subsequent to the Police

questioning on January 7, 1980 should have been suppressed by the trial judae.

POINT TWO

THE TANGIBLE OBJECTS TAKEN FROM THE

DEFENDANT'S CAR SHOULD HAVE BEEN EX

CLUDED FROM EVIDENCE ON THE GROUND

THAT THE POLICE OFFICERS LACKED PRO

BABLE CAUSE TO SEIZE THE VEHICLE

PRIOR TO THE TIME THEY OBTAINED A

WARRANT TO SEARCH ITS CONTENTS.

While the Defendant was talking to Seraeant Murry on January 7, 1980,

Detective John W. Long was examining the 1973 Plymouth automobile by looking

into the vehicle with a flashlight. (R-511). Based upon the observation of

-20-

some sand on the floor in front of the driver's seat and what apnmesred

be several dark stains on the floor directly behind the driver's seat (f

the officers decided to impound the vehicle and apply for a warrant t

its contents. (R 513,514). The Defendant respectfully submits that t

seizure of the vehicle prior to the time the search warrant was obtained

improner.

The invasion of Defendant's privacy occasioned by the warranties:

seizure of the vehicle was no less than that which would have occurred if

the police had searched the entire vehicle without qetting a warrant at all.

That principle of law was clearly established in the landmark decision of the

United States Supreme Oourtin Chambers v. Maroney, 399 U.S. 42, 26 L.Ed. 2d

419, 90 S.Ct. 1975 (1970) wherein the Court stated:

"...for constitutional purposes, we see no difference

between on the one hand seizing and holdina a car

before nresenting the probable cause issue to a

maqistrate and on the other hand carrying out an

immediate search without a warrant." 399 U.S. at 52.

The Court went on to say that either course would be reasonable assumina

the existence of probable cause to conduct the search.

The Chambers decision clearly establishes that the nolice officers in this

case did not improve their position by obtaining a warrant to search the vehi-

cle. The involuntary detention of the vehicle, admittedly against the Defendant's

will (R-489) was in legal effect "a warrantless seizure" which must be tested by

Fourth Amendment standards from the moment it occurred.

The examination of the exterior of the vehicle was not a violation of

the Defendant's reasonabl2 expectation of privacy, Cardwell v. Lewis, 417 U.S.

583, 41 L.6G@.2d 325, 94 S.Ct. 2464 (1974), and therefore did not in and of

itself constitute a violation of the Defendant's constitutional riahts. However,

the examination did not reveal any evidence which could constitute probable

cause to seize the vehicle without a warrant.

a94-

c

The decision of this Court in Riley v. State, 263 So.2d 200 (Fla. 1972)

provides a gocd illustration of the quantum of dence which would be

necessary to support a finding of probable cause in a case such as this.

In that case, two younn boys accidentally came upon a man who was apnarently

shooting at something in the back seat of a blue Clysler winch proved to be

renistered in the name of the Defendant. Several days later, vnolice officers

in Michiqan arrested the Defendant on an unrelated charne and discovered, upon

a brief examination of the exterior of the blue Chrysler, that it had a bullet

hole in the side, a rifle in plain view on the floor, blood-like dark red stains

on the back seat, and flesh particles on the rear seat and rear window.

These facts were held to constitute probable cause to imnound the automobile.

Officer Lona's observation of a little sand on the floorboard in front of

the driver's seat could certinaly not be considered unusual! in a coastai city

such as St. Petersburg. The apparent immateriality of this observation was

later verified by the State's geologist who could not testify that the narticles

of sand were similar to those found near the bayfront crime scene. (R-1665).

Officer Long conceded that he observed an open coke bottle on the floor of the

vehicle at the time he looked into it with a flashlight and that he could not

determine the nature of the stain he observed from outside the vehicle. (R-

521,523). The anparent insianificance of these observations was later demon-

strated by the fact that one of the stains the officer obser.ec was actually a

Coca-cola stain. (R-521).

Perhaps the most telling fact in support of the argument that the police

did not have probable cause to seize the vehicle on January 7, is that they

declined to arrest the Defendant at that time and nlace. Obviously, they them

selves did not believe they had probable cause to seize the automobile, for if

they did, they would have also used it to arrest the Defendant. It is firmly

established in the law that probable cause to conduct a search is the same as

~72-

that which would be rjuired to make an arrest. See Draner v. United States,

358 U.S. 307, 3 L.Ed.2d 327, 79 S.Ct. 329 (1959).

The cases upholding the impoundment of warrantless seizure of a vehicle

upon probable cause universally involve factual situations wherein there was also

probable cause to arrest the defendant. See e.qa. Cooner v. California, 386 L

58, 17 L.Ed.2d 730, 87 S.Ct. 788 (1967), Cady v. Dombrowski, 413 U.S.

37 L.Ed.2d 706, 93 S.Ct. 2523 (1973), Chambers v. Maroney, supra, Cardwell

v. Lewis, supra, and Texas v. White, 423 U.S. 67, 46 L.Ed.2d 209, 96 S.Ct

304 (1975). In this case, the police officers allowed the Defendant to go home,

apparently on the assumption that the facts went inarfficient to constitute prc

bable cause to search it.

For each of the foregoing reasons, the Defendant respectfully submits

that the warrantless seizure of the vehicle preceding the warrant authorizina

search of its contents was invalid. The tangible objects obtained from

car should not, therefore, have been admitted into evidence.

POINT THREE

THE DEFENDANT'S STATEMENTS SHOULD HAVE

BEEN EXCLUDED ON THE GROUND THAT THE

OFFICERS FAILED TO TERMINATE THEIR QUES

TIONING AFTER THE DEFENDANT EXPRESSED

HIS INTENTION TO REMAIN SILENT.

In the case before the Court, the police officers resumed questioning

on several occasions after the Defendant indicated that he intended to remain

Silent. It is respectfully submitted that the statements produced by the re

newed police interroqation, under these circumstances, should have been ex

cluded from the eviclence presented at trial.

The continuation of police questioning of an individual who has exnressed

-23-

his intention to remain silent is clearly orohibited by Miranda v. Arizona,

384 U.S. 436, 16 L.Ed.2d 694, 86 S.Ct. 1602 (1966). In that case, the

,

Court instructed that:

"Once warnings have been given, the subsequent pro

cedure is clear. If the individual todicates in any

manner at any time prior to or during questioning,

that he wishes to remain silent, the interroqation must

cease. At this point, he has shown that he intends

to exercise his Fifth Amendment privileae; any state

ment taken after the person invokes his privilege

cannot be other than the product of compulsion, sub-

tle or otherwise. Without the right to cut off ques-

tionina, the setting of in-custody interronation oper-

ates on the individual to overcome free choice in pro

ducing the statement after the privilece has been once

invoked..." 384 U.S. at 473,474. (Emphasis supplied)

Some Courts and commentators have incorrectly assumed thai the foreaoing

admonition contained in the Miranda decision was diminished by the subsequent

Ww

decision of the Court in Michiaan v. Mosley, 423 ie. Se. 36:4..66. a 333.

96 S.Ct. 321 (1975). That decision however, permits a resumption of police

interrogation only under the limited circumstances wherein a fresh set of

Miranda warnings are aiven, and the questioning does not relate to the matter

which was the subject of the Defendant's earlier refusal to sneak. The Mosiey

decision would not authorize the resumed questioning in this case, for the po-

lice officers persisted in asking the Defendant questions about the same homi

cide, in the face of several clear indications that he did not wish to speak

to them.

The limitations upon the decision of the Court in Michigan v. Mosley

were illustrated in United States v. Clayton, 407 F.Supp. 204 (E.D. Wis. 1976)

and United States v. Jakakas, 423 F.Supp. 564 (E.D.N.Y. 1976). The Court

in Clayton pointed out that the holding in Michigan v. Mosley is limited to the

facts of that case and noted:

"It has been correctly pointed out that no indication

is aiven [in Miranda] of what circumstances, if any,

permit a resumption of questioning. Michioan v. Mosley,

423 U.S. at 98, 96 S.Ct. at 324, 46 L.Ed.2d at 319.

-i-

However, the loqgical entailment of the Miranda

Court's lanquage mandates that "the interroga-

tion must cease" at least with respect to the —

same crime and the same interrogating officer

for a substantial period of time." (Emphasis.

supplied)

Likewise, the Court in United States v. Jakakas, supra, noted:

“Furthermore, Michigan v. Mosley, supra, also

seems to hold that a substantial period of time

must be lapsed between an invocation of riahts

and a resumption of questioning and also possibly

that the second interroaation be restricted to a

crime that had not been a subject of the earlier

interrogation." 423 F.Supp. at 569 (Emphasis

supplied)

When the police officers in this case were transporting the Defendant

to the jail on January 9, 1980, they had a brief discussion with him in the

car, and he said "I think | want to talk to an attorney before | say anything

else" (R-471). Nevertheless, the officers questioned the Defendant while he

was being booked, and again in detail at 2:00 a.m. on the morning of

January 10, 1980. (R-473). He did not have an opportunity to speak with

an attorney at any time during the day of January 9 or in the early morning

hours of January 10 prior to an interview.

Durina the first interview, which was conducted on January 10, 1980,

the Defendant aaain advised the officers that he wished to speak to an attorney.

On that occasion, he was reported to have said, "I'm kind of tired and | think

| want to talk to my attorney, will you all come back tomorrow" (R-477).

Admittedly, this statement could have been interpreted by the police officers

as permission to come back the next day, but the point is that the interview

wherein the statement was made should not have been conducted in the first

place.

The Defendant's unequivocal statement to the police officers in the after-

noon of January 9 that he wished to see an attorney before he made any further

-2?5-

statement should have caused the complete termination of all questioning.

At the very least, it cannot be said upon this record, that the Defendant's

"right to cut off questioning" was "scrupulously honored", Michiaan v.

Mosley, 423 U.S. at 104.

For these reasons, the Defendant contends that the statements he

made to the police officers on January 10, 1980 should have been excluded

from the evidence presented at his trial.

FOINT FOUR

THE DEFENDANT'S FINAL STATEMENT

SHOULD HAVE BEEN EXCLUDED ON THE

GROUND THAT THE OFFICERS FAILED

TO ADVISE THE DEFENDANT'S COURT

APPOINTED ATTORNEY THAT THEY WERE

CONDUCTING AN INTERVIEW.

The final and most incriminating statement taken from the Defendant

on January 10, 1980 was obtained only after the police deliberately avoided

making any contact with his court-appointed attorney. The trial judae ori

ginally ruled that this statement was inadmissible on the ground that the

officers failed to notify the attorney known to have been appointed to repre-

sent the Defendant prior to the time they began the final questionina session.

(R-388,579,580), but later reversed that ruling. (R-411,412,432). The Defen-

dant respectfully submits that the trial judqe's oriainal rulinca) was correct

and that the statement should have been excluded from evidence.

In Massiah v. United States, 377 U.S. 201, 84 S.Ct. 1199, 12 L.Ed.2d

246 (1964), the Court held that police officers may not take a statement

from a post-indictment criminal defendant Known to be renresented by counsel,

without informing his attorney. The Court in Escobedo v. Illinois, 378 U.S.

478, 12 L.Ed.2d 977, 84 S.Ct. 1758 (1964) extended the riqht to counse!

to pre-indictment questioning where the questions go beyond a aeneral inquiry

- =

of the Defendant and beqin to focus on him as a suspect. These princinles

combined, form the rule that the officers must notify an attorney representing

a pre-indictment suspect who is the focus of an investiqation, that they are

about to question his client. *

For example, in Clifton v. United States, 341 F.2d 649 (Sth Cir. 1965),

the Court held that a pre-indictment statement made by the defendant to anents

who failed to inform his court-appointed lawyer that they were conducting

questioning was inadmissible. The Court noted that the agents knew, or

should have Known, that the defendant was renresented by counsel, and that

there was no excuse for their failure to call him. Likewise, the Florida Courts

have held that once the police officers know of the renresentation of a criminal

defendant by a particular attorney, they must notify that attorney before they

may beain questioning. See Williams v. State, 188 So.2d 320 (Fla. 2d DCA

1966), and compare State v. Craig, 237 So.2d 737 (Fla. 1970).

This is not such a case as Sanders v. State, 378 So.2d 880 (ist DCA

1980) relied upon by the Court below, where the officers were merely neali-

gent in ascertaining the status of the Defendant's leqal renresentation.

Nor, is this such a case as Witt v. State, 342 So.2d 497 (Fla. 1977) where the

defendant expressly indicated to the police that he intended to confess to the ,

At least one intermediate Appellate Court in this state has incorrectly assumed

that the Massiah decision is cateqorically inapplicable to pre-indictment questionina,

See Robinson v. State, 351 So.2d 1100 (Fla. 3d DCA 1977). That Court failed to

consider the impact the Escobedo decision had upon the prior ruling of the

Court in Massiah. Nor does the decision recognize that a deprivation of the Sixth

Amendment right to counsel can, under certain factual situations, exist at any

staae of the proceedinas.

. The Defendant also contends that the First District Court of Appeals in Sanders

improvidently relied upon the decision of this Court in Stone v. State, 378 So.2d

765 (Fla. 1980). In the Stone case, this Court merely held that a request for

an attorney for an unrelated civil matter does not require the cessation of

questioning under Miranda.

yo

Grime in spite of the fact that he was represented by counse!.

In this case, the nolice officer went to conduct an interview of the

Defendant on the afternoon of January 10, 1980, with full knowledae that the

Public Defender's Office had been appointed earlier that morning at an advisory

hearing (R-478) and that a representative of the Public Defender's Office had

conferred at length with the Defendant around noon on January 10, 1980 just

prior to their interview. The officers conceded that they made no effort

whatsoever to contact anyone in the Public Defender's Office to advise them that

they were conducting an interview with their client. (R-499,500). Certainly

under these facts, it cannot be disnuted that the interromation "focused on

the Defendant" as a suspect in the offense. Escobedo v. illinvis, supra.

The trial judae was correct in orderina the suppression of the

Defendant's final statement to the police, and the reversal! of that decision on

the State's Motion for Rehearina was error.

POINT FIVE

THE DEFENDANT'S STATEMENTS SHOULD HAVE

BEEN EXCLUDED ON THE GROUND THAT THEY

WERE NOT SHOWN TO HAVE BEEN MADE VOLUN-

TARILY.

The question of whether a statement made by the accused was voluntary

can only be answered by reviewing all of the circumstances surrounding the

makina of the statement. Blackburn v. Alabama, 361 U.S. 199, 4 L.Ed.2d 242,

80 S.Ct. 274 (1960), Boulden v. Holman, 394 U.S. 478, 22 L.Ed.2d 433, 89S.

Ct. 1138 (1969).

One circumstance which renders a statement involuntary is psycholoaical

coercion. Townsend v. Sain, 372 U.S. 293, 9 L.Ed.2d 770, 83 S.Ct. 745 (1963),

Blackburn v. Alabama, supra. When the interromators exert improper influence

- 28-

—

such as a faise show of sympathy, or an implied promise however slight,

psychological coercion has been found. Malloy v. Hogan, $78 U.S. 1, 12

L.Ed.2d 653, 84 S.Ct. 1489 (1964). The Florida Courts have also recomnized

that emotional considerations as well as physica! considerations have a bearing

on voluntariness. For example in Breedlove v. State, 364 So.2d 495 (Fla. 4th

DCA 1978) the Court ordered the supnression of the defendant's statement

becauseshe was crying and obviously upset at the time it was made, and be

cause that created a doubt as to the question of voluntariness.

Another factor to be considered in determinina the voluntariness of a

statement is the nature of the detention, 14 Fla. Jur. 2d CRIMINAL LAW §141

(1980). The lenath and condition of incarceration, and the decree to which

the defendant is isolated from others all have a bearina on the issue.

The circumstances surrounding the statements made by Robert Waterhouse

were detailed at the Motion to Suppress hearing. (R-468-477). It appears

that Waterhouse was booked on the afternoon of January %, 1980. Sometime

around two or three o'clock in the morning, the officers visited Waterhouse and

again attempted to ellicit statements from him. (R-473). They questioned him

for several hours until finally Waterhouse asked them to leave because he was

tired. (R-477).

Throughout that early morning interrogation Waterhouse demonstrated

symptoms of emotional stress. Officer Murry testified that Waterhouse would

often break down and cry. She said that they would terminate the interro

qation while he cried, and resume it again when he stopped. (R-476). Officer

Murry also testified that Waterhouse pleaded with them several times that he

"just wanted to talk to them as neople" and not as volice officers. (R 476).

Later in the afternoon of January 10, 1980, after Waterhouse had spoken

with his attorney, the same two officers again interrogated him. While Officer

Murry was explaining his riahts she told him that she really didn't know "'f

-29-

=

what you and going to say can be used in court. (R 479). Officer Murry

testified that during this interview, like the one in the early morning hours

/ , "

of that day, Waterhouse was upset and confused. (R-481}. Also like the

. . . . . ’

previous session, this interrogation lasted for several! hours. ’

It is clear from the testimony of Officer Murry that Waterhouse was in

a hiahly confused emotional state when he spoke with her. It is also clear

that the officers intentionally exploited the prisoner's mental instability and ;

took deliberate steps to compound it. First, they waited until the middle of the

’

night to talk to him, Knowing that he would be feeling particularly lonely

and depressed at that time. Then, they pretended to be friendly and sym

pathetic and indicated that they only wanted to talk. For hours they interr

Ooqated him, stopping to let him cry, but starting back up whenever he quit

crying. One who was not there can only imaaine the mental anauish which (

Robert Waterhouse went through that niqht; being in prison, awake all night

with no one to talk to but the police. Surely his emotional confusion was at

least as bad as the defendant's in Breedlove, supra. where the Court said

"Appellant's emotional confusion raises serious doubts as to whether her state

ments were knowinqly and intelligently made", Breedlove 364 So. 2d at 497,

Officer “Murry also testified that Waterhouse was upset and confused at

the session which took place in the afternoon of that same day. (R-481).

At that session, Officer Murry implied that statements made to her would not

be used against him. This implied promise is the type of psycholoaical trick

which is barred by the Supreme Court's decision in Malloy, supra.

By looking at all the circumstances surroundina the statements made by

the Defendant to the police officers, the voluntariness of those statements

becomes dubious. The Defendant was left alone until two or three o'clock in

the morning when he was approached by two apparently sympathetic and

friendly officers. Throughout the niqht he was crying and showing other siqns

-XD-

of mental instability. The next day when his mental state had surely

worsened from lack of sleep he was aqain approached by the officers. On this

occasion, in addition to evincing false sympathy, they implied that the Defendant

was free to talk to them without fear that his statements would be used against

him in Court.

It is submitted that due to the psychological coercion, the implied pro

mise, and the circumstances of the two a.m. interrogation, the statements

made by Waterhouse to Officers Murry and Hitchcox were involuntary. There

fore the Motion to Suppress was improperly denied.

G

THE TRIAL

04

POINT SIX

THE EVIDENCE OF THE DEFENDANT'S ALLEGED

POSSESSION OF MARIJUANA WAS IMPROPERLY

ADMITTED BECAUSE IT DID NOT MEET THE

RELEVANCY TEST REQUIRED BY THE FLORIDA

EVIDENCE CODE AND THE WILLIAMS RULE.

Chapter 90.404(2)(a) of the Florida Evidence Code states that similar

fact evidence of other crimes is admissible to prove a material fact in issue,

such as proof of motive opportunity intent, plan, Knowledae, identity or ab

sence of mistake, but is inadmissible if relevant to prove bad character or pro

pensity. This chapter is essentially a codification of the so called "Williams ,

Rule".

The "Williams Rule" permits the introduction of evidence of “any facts

relevant to a material fact in issue except where the sole relevancy is charac 4

ter or propensity of the accused..." (Emphasis supplied). Williams v. State,

110 So. 2d 654 (Fla. 1959). In Williams, the Court attempted to lay to rest

the question of when evidence of a collateral offense is admissible. Briefly,

+31-

s '

'

the case holds that evidence of a similar act or offense mav be used by the

prosecution when it is relevant to demonstrate motive, intent, absence of mis

take, common scheme, or identity. Id at 663. The matter of relevancy

should be carefully and cautiously considered. by the trial judge. Id at 663.

In the instant case, the trial judge permitted the prosecution to pre

sent evidence to the jury that marijuana had been found in Waterlhouse's

Fal

—

.

«

~

~

automobile almost a week after the crime had been committed. (R 136

araument was made that the evidence was relevant to prove a materia! fact

in issue. The testimony reqarding marijuana was offered and admitted solely

for the purpose of corroboration. (R-1366).

A brief review of the record will demonstrate that the trial judae failed

to cautiously scrutinize the relevancy of the evidence. Obviously, the fact

that marijuana was found in the Defendant's car is not similar fact eviclence.

Equally obvious is the fact that this evidence has absolutely no bearina on

the issue of whether or not the Defendant was connected with a murder that

had taken place several days before. There was no alleqation that the murderer

was a marijuana user. Such an allegation would have been necessary to rencer

the marijuana discovery relevant to show identity. Similarly, there is nothina

in the case which would indicate that marijuana use would demonstrate motive,

intent, absence of mistake or common scheme.

These are the types of issues the Court contemplated when it held that

evidence of similar crimes may be used when relevant to a materia! fact in

issue. Id at 663. The fact that the evidenc@&in this case was admitted solely

for the nurpose of corroboration is proof that it was not used to demonstrate

a material fact in issue. Therefore, the evidence does not fall within the

"Williams Rule" exception to the evidence code. Id at 660, 663.

= 2.

Allowing the jury to hear evidence that marijuana was found in the

Defendant's car was hiqhly prejudicial and inflamatory. The effect of the

testimony was to attack the character of the Defendant even thouqh his

character had not been place in issue; as demonstrated in the oreceding para

graph, the evidence had no bearing on any material fact in issue. It is

clear that the trial judge did not "carefully and cautiously" consider the

relevancy of the evidence as required by Williams. Id at 663. On the con

trary, he perfunctorily ruled that because the testimony had some corrobora

tive value it was admissible.

For these reasons, the trial judge should have aranted Defendant's

Motion for a Mistrial.

POINT SEVEN

THE EVIDENCE OF AN ALLEGED HOMOSEXUAL

RAPE ATTEMPT WAS IMPROPERLY ADMITTED

BECAUSE IT DID NOT MEET THE RELEVANCY

TEST REQUIRED BY THE FLORIDA EVIDENCE

CODE AND THE WILLIAMS RULE.

Over Aimely objection by the defense, the trial judge admitted evidence

of another wrongful act allegedly committed by the defendant. In overruling

counsel's objection, the judge determined that the profferred testimony could

be admitted without approaching it from a Williams Rule standpoint because the

testimony provided backqround for the Defendant's statement against interest.

(R-1753). ’

4 ; ,

The State offered testimony of one witness, a cell mate of the Defendant, that

the Defendant had attempted anal rape on a third cell mate. The witness’ testi

mony was uncorroberated and no charges were ever brought aaainst the Defendant

for the alleged offense.

According to the witness, after the alleged offense took place, Waterhouse said,

"| wonder how he'd like a coke bottle up his ass like | aave her." It is conceded

that this statement is an admission admissible under §90.803(18) Fla. Stat. (1976)

as an exception to the hearsay rule. It is the testimony reqarding the events that

led up to the statement that was improperly heard.

- 33-

Providing background for a statement against interest (or an admission)

is not one of the exceptions to §90.404(1) Fla. Stat. (1976), nor is it the

type of issue contemplated by the Williams Rule. The fact that certain evi

dence might aid the party offering the admission to lay a foundation does

not make such evidence relevant to prove a material fact. Therefore, the

trial judge erred in admitting evidence of another wronq for the purpose

of providing background for the Defendant's admission.

As stated in Point Four of the Brief, §90.404(2)(a) Fla. Stat. (1976)

is basically a codification of the Williams Rule. The Rule and the Code re

quire evidence of other crimes to be relevant to prove a material! fact in

issue, Williams v. State, 100 So.2d 654 (Fla. 1959). Relevancy is the de

cisive factor. Id at 663. Since the evidence of the alleged crime in the in

stant case was totally irrelevant to prove the offense charoed, its admission

was erroneous.

The evidence which was elicited at trial tended to show that the Defen

dant committed or attempted to commit a homosexual rane while he was in

prison. The prosecution arqued that this act was relevant to prove that the

Defendant had tix motive or intent to commit the heterosexual attack with

which he was charged.

In support of his contention, the prosecutor cited Alford v. State, 307 So.

2d 433 (Fla. 1975). In that case, the Court held that a frustrated attempt to

have a homosexual liason just prior to the heterosexual rape was relevant to

show that the d2fendant had a motive (i.e. an unfulfilled sexual urge) to

commit the subsequent attack. Id at 438.

When viewed in this light, Alford has no bearing on the case at bar. In

Alford, the other crime occurred just prior to the crime charqed and in effect

created the motive or state of mind which caused the defendant to commit the

-34-

subsequent crime. Therefore, it was logical for the Court to find that the

previous crime was relevant to show motive even thoudh the nrevious crime

involved homosexuality and the crime charaed did not.

™ the instant case, however, the alleqed other crime took place seven

months after the crime with which the Defendant was charaed. The Defen

dant was in prison at the time of the collateral offense but had been free

at the time of the charged offense. The sole similarity of the two offenses

was the presence of some kind of anal penetration. In Braen v. State, 302

So.2d 485 (Fla. 2d DCA 1974), the Court held that where the sole similarity

in two instances was the copulation per anus the requisite similarity was not

present. In that case, as in this one, the State sought to introduce ev!

dence of a homosexual rape in a prosecution involving a heterosexual rape.

The evidence miqht show that the Defendant enjoyed anal! sex with

young men when he was in prison. However, that is not relevant to shoy

that he had a motive to commit the crime with which he was charged. Gary

Colvin, the victim's boyfriend, testified that he had attempted anal sex with

the victim. That testimony miqht show that he enjoyed anal sex with women,

but it certainly does not show that he had a motive to assault and murder

someone. At least the testimony of Colvin showed that he liked to have anal

sex with women. The evidence of the attempted jail house rape is not even

relevant to show that about the Defendant Waterhouse.

The Williams Rule is not an open invitation to prosecutors to introduce

any collateral offense which contains an element also found in the offense

charged. The other offense must be factually similar, §90.404(2)(a) Fla. Stat.

(1976), and must be relevant to prove a material issue in the case being tried.

The implication that the Defendant desired anal sex with another man does

not tend to prove that he had motive, opportunity, intent, or the state of

+35-

mind to commit the offense with which he was charged. Therefore, the evi

dence of the other offense was irrelevant and was impronerly admitted.

Cc

THE PENALTY PHASE

POINT EIGHT

THE EVIDENCE DOES NOT SUPPORT A FINDING

THAT THE CAPITAL FELONY WAS COMMITTED BY

THE DEFENDANT FOR THE PURPOSE OF AVOIDING

OR PREVENTING A LAWFUL ARREST.

The trial judge found that the "murder in the present case was committed

for the purpose of avoiding or preventing a lawful arrest in that the victim

in the instant case was killed in order to eliminate her as a witness to the

involuntary sexual battery, (R-408 §0). The finding is not supported by

the evidence, and is therefore erroneous.

The record does contain testimony to the effect that the Defendant

attempted to conceal some evidence relating to the murder after it was

committed”, but that would not support the trial judge's conclusion for it

self to be done for the purpose of avoiding arrest. There is no evidence

in this record, direct or circumstantial, which would indicate that the mur-

der was committed by the Defendant to avoid arrest. The conclusion that

For example, the luminol tests were introduced for the purnose of demon

strating that the Defendnat cleaned blood off of some items of evidence,

(R-1524-1544) and several witnesses said that the Defendant cleaned out

the inside of his car. (R-1215,1239).

- 36-

this aggravating circumstance exists cannot be reached in view of the

test set forth in the decisions of this Court.

In Riley Vv. State, 366 So.2d 19 (Fla. 1979), the Court held that the

aggravating factor, referring to the elimination of witnesses to avoid

arrest, is not limited to the killina of police officers, but noted

asl We caution, however, that the mere fact of a

death is not enough to invoke this factor when the

victim is not a law enforcement officer. Proof of

the requisite intent to avoid arrest and detection

must be very strong in these cases..." (Emphasis

supplied).

Likewise, in Menendez v. State, 368 So.2d 1278 (Fla. 1973), the Court held

that the motive of avoiding arrest cannot be assumed from the facts but must

be proven by the State.

The written Order in support of the death penalty conciucles that the

murder was committed to eliminate a witness, but there are no findinas of

fact in the Order to support the conclusion. Furthermore, the record itself

fails to contain any such evidence. Clearly the State did not meet its burden

of proving that the murder in this case was committed to eliminate a witness.

POINT NINE

THE EVIDENCE DOES NOT SUPPORT A FINDING

THAT THE CAPITAL FELONY WAS PARTICULARLY

HEINOUS, ATROCIOUS AND CRUEL

Subsection (h) of §921.141(5) Fla. Stat. (1977) relating to murders

which are particularly heinous, atrocious, and cruel cannot be applied to

this case for the State failed to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the

victim was conscious at the time the injuries described as “cruel” were in

flicted.

In Halliwell v. State, 323 So.2d 557 (Fla. 1975), the Court held that

the act of dismembering the victim with a saw and a fishing knife was not

x. &

particularly heinous, atrocious and cruel because the defendant had

apparently already killed the victim at that point. If this section of the

law is to apply to the acts which are “unnecessarily torturous to the victim",

see Dixon v. State, 283 So.2d 1 (1973), then it would seem that the

principle of Halliwell would apply to one who is unconscious as well as to

one who is already dead.

Althought the Medical Examiner testified that the injuries to the victim

occurred prior to death, (R-1036,1056) she said that the victim could not

have been conscious at the time her body was dragged into the water. (R

1060). It is obvious that the victim must have been both conscious and aware

of what was going on during at least some of the beating, but that fact

alone would not constitute evidence sufficient to support an = application

of this aggravating circumstance, see e.g. Swan v. State, 322 So.2d 485

(Fla. 1975).

For these reasons, the Defendant respectfully submits that the trial

judge improperly applied this aggravating circumstance.

POINT TEN

THE TRIAL JUDGE ERRED IN BASING TWO

AGGRAVATING CIRCUMSTANCES ON ONE

PP’. R ACT OF THE DEFENDANT.

Two of the aggravating circumstances listed by the trial judge refer to

the same prior conviction. The judge found that the Defendant was serving

a term of imprisonment at the time of the present homicide and that he was

previously convicted of a felony involvina the use of threat of violence to

the victim. These two circumstances are based on the same previous felony

committed by the Defendant. Considering the same asnects of the Defendant's

past to constitute two separate aggravating circumstances amounts to a doublina

_ =

up of aggravating factors. This Court has held that such doubling up

of circumstances is improper. Provence v. State, 337 So.2d 783 (Fla. 1976).

It will not always be the case that a finding that §921.141(5)(a) Fla.

Stat. (1977) and §921.141(5)(b) Fla. Stat. (1979) will amount to a cumulation

of circumstances. For example, a person miaht be currently under a sentence

of imprisonment for embezzelment and have previously been convicted of

assault and battery. However, as applied to the Defendant Robert Waterhouse,

one act constitutes two circumstances. Therefore, aggravating circumstances

(A) and (6) of the trial judge's Order are cumulative in violation of Provence

and both should not have been considered.

POINT ELEVEN

THE INVOLUNTARY SEXUAL BATTERY WAS AN

ESSENTIAL ELEMENT OF THE HOMICIDE AND AS

SUCH, IT COULD NOT CONSTITUTIONALLY Bé

USED AS AN AGGRAVATING CIRCUMSTANCE.

The trial judae found as an aggravating circumstance that the murder

was committed while the Defendant was engaged in the commission of an in

voluntary sexual battery. (R-408 {C) The Defendant contends that this

was error as the involuntary sexual batterycannot be both an element of

the offense under the felony murder rule, and at the same time be an agqra

vating circumstance sufficient to justify the imposition of the death penalty

for the murder.

To hold that a felony offense can double as an element of proof of the

murder under §782.04(1)(a) Fla. Stat. (1979) and as an aggravating factor

of the murder under §921.141(5)(d) Fla. Stat. (1979) would violate several

fundamental principles relating to the constitutional applicability of the death

penalty. First, it is clear that the type of "aagravation" necessary to justify

the imposition of the death penalty is something more than that which is*

-39-

necessary to prove the crime itself. The very reason the Florida capital

sentencing statute was upheld is that it requires proof of some aagravation

which sets the case apart from the norm of capital felonies, see Proffitt v.

Florida, 428 U.S. 242, 49 L.Ed.2d 913, 96 S.Ct. 2960 (1976), and State v.

Dixon, 283 So.2d 1 (Fla. 1973). Secondly, the use of the enumerated fe

lony in the penalty phase would provide a built in agqravatina factor in

every felony murder case and consequently a presumption” that death is the

appropriate penalty.

This Court held in State v. Pinder, 375 So.2d 836 (Fla. 1979), that a

criminal defendant may not be convicted of both felony murder and the felony

which served as the basis of the felony murder conviction. It follows then,

that a given felony cannot constitute "aggravation" sufficient to justify

the imposition of death if it also serves as the basis of the first deqree fe

lony murder conviction for which the death penalty is sought.

In Provence v. State, 337 So.2d 783 (Fla. 1976), the Court held that

a murder committed while the defendant was engaged in the commission of a

robbery could not also be aqgravated on the basis that it was committed for

pecuniary gain. Such a result would allow the same aspect of the defendant's

crime to constitute two separate aggravating circumstances since the robbery

is by its nature, committed for pecuniary gain. Since that decision, the Court

has been careful to prevent the cumulation of aqagravatirn: circumstances based

upon the same fact, see Meeks v. State, 339 So.2d 186 (Fla. 1976), Gibson

v. State, 351 So.2d 948 (Fla. 1977), Jackson v. State, 359 So.2d 1190 (Fla.

1978), Riley v. State, 366 So.2d 19 (Fla. 1979), and Mikenas v. State, 367

. The existence of at least one aqaqravating circumstance creates a presump-

tion that the death penalty is the appropriate penalty. State v. Dixon, 283

So.2d 1 (Fla. 1973)

- 40 -

So.2d 606 (Fla. 1979). If aaqqravating factors cannot duplicate each other,

it seems highly unlikely that they should be permitted to duplicate essential

elements of the crime itself.

There can be no doubt about the fact that the involuntary sexual

battery in this case was used both as an element of the murder conviction

and as an angravatina circumstance sunporting the death sentence imposed

for that conviction. The trial judge in instructing the jury said:

"...Murder in the first degree is [an] .. unlawful

killing of a human being when ... committed by a

person engaged in the perpetration of ... involuntary

sexual battery... (R-2198, 2199)

"...T The killing of a human being when committed by

a person in the perpetration of or in the attempt to

perpetrate...involuntary sexual batter...is murder in

the first deqree even though there is no premeditated

design or intent to kill... (R-2200)

Following that instruction, the trial judge instructed the jury in detail as

to the elements of involuntary sexual battery, as that offense may have applied

under the felony murder rule. (R-2201,2202).

After the Defendant was convicted of first deqree murder, the trial

judge set forth the reasons for imposing the death penalty as follows:

"... he murder in the present case was committed by

Robert Brian Waterhouse while Robert Brian Waterhouse

was engaged in the commission of a Rape, also known

as an Involuntary Sexual Battery, a life felony, upon

the victim... (R-408 1C)

Of course, if the jury found the defendant quiity on the basis of the

premeditated murder, then the trial judge would be free to use the invol-

untary sexual batter as an aggravating factor. One would have to indulge in

pure speculation to reach that conclusion however, as there is no indication

in the record as to which of the two theories advanced by the state, the

jury accepted.

oft

The Defendant submits that the burden should be on the state to

demonstrate that the aqaqravatina circumstances are independent from the

elements of the crime. If the prosecution proved beyond a reasonable

doubt that the murder was committed while enaanged in a rane, the jury

may very well have used that factor to convict the Defendant under the

Court's felony murder rule instruction. If that was the case, it was im

Nroper to use that factor as an aqqravating circumstance as well.

In summary of this point, the sentence is illeqal and in violation of

the constitution because the aqaravating factor upon which it depends was

improperly applied.

CONCLUSION

fhe judqment of the trial court below should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

PHILIP J. PADOV

Post Office Box 873

Tallahassee, Florida 32302

(904) 224-3636

ATTORNEY FOR APPELLANT, ROBERT

BRIAN WATERHOUSE

~42-

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

| HEREBY CERTIFY that a copy of the foregoing has been furnished

to the Hon. Jim Smith, Attorney General, The Canitol, Tallahassee, Florida

32301 by U. S. Mail this © — day of May, 1981.

-

¢

PHILIP J. PADOVANO

- 43-

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

ROBERT BRIAN WATERHOUSE,

Appellant,

vs. CASE NO. 59,765

STATE OF FLORIDA,

Appellee.

APPELLANT'S REPLY BRIEF

rn? EA!

ro, —_— £% i

| - 3

BM ag;

ba

Pia PHILIP J. PADOVANO

ATT} Post Office Box 873

iA erga ok Tallahassee, Florida 32302

fry (904) 224-3636

() ATTORNEY FOR APPELLANT

ARGUMENT

TOPICAL INDEX

THE MOTIONS TO SUPPRESS

POINT ONE

THE STATEMENTS OF THE DEFENDANT

AND THE TANGIBLE EVIDENCE TAKEN

FROM HIS CAR SHOULD HAVE BEEN

EXCLUDED FROM EVIDENCE ON THE

GROUND THAT THEY WERE OBTAINED

AS A RESULT OF AN ILLEGAL ARREST

FE SPAR Cs ec epskberdsn Piend dso bws pod see ebedtevecece 1

POINT TWO

THE TANGIBLE OBJECTS TAKEN FROM THE

DEFENDANT'S CAR SHOULD HAVE BEEN EX-

CLUDED FROM EVIDENCE ON THE GROUND

THAT THE POLICE OFFICERS LACKED PRO-

BABLE CAUSE TO SEIZE THE VEHICLE PRIOR

TO THE TIME THEY OBTAINED A WARRANT

Fe ee Se EE EE ik dh bib cios 40 cubdlbined coke ceeds 3

POINT THREE

THE DEFENDANT'S STATEMENTS SHOULD HAVE

BEEN EXCLUDED ON THE GROUND THAT THE

OFFICERS FAILED TO TERMINATE THEIR QUES-

TIONING AFTER THE DEFENDANT EXPRESSED

HIS INTENTION TO REMAIN SILENT .. .cccccceccccccscecss 4

POINT FOUR

THE DEFENDANT'S FINAL STATEMENT SHOULD

HAVE BEEN EXCLUDED ON THE GROUND THAT

THE OFFICERS FAILED TO ADVISE THE

DEFENDANT'S COURT APPOINTED ATTORNEY

THAT THEY WERE CONDUCTING AN INTERVIEW........... 8

POINT FIVE

THE DEFENDANT'S STATEMENTS SHOULD HAVE

BEEN EXCLUDED ON THE GROUND THAT THEY

WERE NOT SHOWN TO HAVE BEEN MADE VOLUN-

FARILY . cccccccccvccccsccicccccccesocdco cocccccccccccoccecs 9

THE TRIAL

POINT SIX

THE EVIDENCE OF THE DEFENDANT'S ALLEGED

POSSESSION OF MARIJUANA WAS IMPROPERLY

ADMITTED BECAUSE IT DID NOT MEET THE

RELEVANCY TEST REQUIRED BY THE FLORIDA

EVIDENCE CODE AND THE WILLIAMS RULE.............4.- 13

POINT SEVEN

THE EVIDENCE OF AN ALLEGED HOMOSEXUAL

RAPE ATTEMPT WAS IMPROPERLY ADMITTED

BECAUSE IT DID NOT MEET THE RELEVANCY

TEST REQUIRED BY THE FLORIDA EVIDENCE

CODE AND THE WILGTAMS RULE. coc cccccsevicccesscceveds 14

THE PENALTY PHASE

POINT EIGHT

THE EVIDENCE DOES NOT SUPPORT A FINDING

THAT THE CAPITAL FELONY WAS COMMITTED

BY THE DEFENDANT FOR THE PURPOSE OF

AVOIDING OR PREVENTING A LAWFUL ARREST...........- 16

POINT NINE

THE EVIDENCE DOES NOT SUPPORT A FINDING

THAT THE CAPITAL FELONY WAS PARTICULARLY

HEINOUS, ATROCIOUS AND CRUEL......... cece eee ceeeees 17

POINT TEN

THE TRIAL JUDGE ERRED IN BASING TWO

AGGRAVATING CIRCUMSTANCES ON ONE

PRIOR ACT OF THE DEFENDANT .........ccccccccccccccces 17

POINT ELEVEN )

THE INVOLUNTARY SEXUAL BATTERY WAS AN

ESSENTIAL ELEMENT OF THE HOMICIDE AND AS

SUCH, IT COULD NOT CONSTITUTIONALLY BE

USED AS AN AGGRAVATING CIRCUMSTANCE..... ececccece 17

:

CONGLUBION. 0.0.0.0. c cece TORRE eH eH EHR Hwee EEE ERE HEE EEE

\ ‘

\

CERTIFICATE SPs. dc podentbiscdonebithotiabalddubecnmeds

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18, 17 L.Ed 2d 705,

GP DuleS, Cw CUM ss conctesecces fo-btdbS550-6-566566066066566665 7

Congregation Temple v. Aronson, 128 So.2d 585 (Fla. 1961)........ 1

Dunaway v. New York, 422 U.S. 200, 99 S.Ct. 2248,

ee ee Be Se Schnee ease bccseteseeeerecccccciccccss 2

Edwards v. Arizona, _—U.S. _s, 49 U.S.L.W. 4896

ee a eck sce cncredescces 4,5,6

Hamelimann v. State, 113 So.2d 394 (Fla. 1st DCA 1969)............ 11

oo! ae Pe eS err Pee 13

Massiah v. United States, 377 U.S. 201, 8

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Opposition — Waterhouse v. Florida (No. 83-5567) | Frix