Petitioners Brief — Spaziano v. Florida

Supreme Court brief1984

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Table of Authorities Continued

Douglas v. State, 373 So.2d 895 (Fla. 1979)

Douglas v. State, 328 So.2d 18 (Fla. 1976)

Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145 (1968)

Eddings v. Oklahoma, 455 U.S. 104 (1982)

Engle v. State, 438 So.2d 803 (Fla. 1983)

Enmund vy. Florida, ___ U.S. ___, 102 S.Ct. 336

(1982)

Felicia v. United States, 495 F.2d 353 (8th Cir. .1974) .

Ford v. Strickland, 696 F.2d 804 (11th Cir. 1983) ....

Furman v. Georgia, 408 U.S. 238 (1972)

Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S. 349 (1977)

20, 21, 22, 27, 29, 33, 34, ;

Hall v. State, 403 So.2d 1319 (Fla. 1981)

Hawkins v. State, 436 So.2d 44 (Fla. 1983)

Hawkins v. Wainwright, 408 U.S. 941 (1972)

Herzog v. State, 439 So.2d 1372 (Fla. 1983)

Holloway v. Florida, 449 U.S. 905 (1980)

Holloway v. State, 379 So.2d 953 (Fla. 1980)

Horning v. District of Columbia, 254 U.S. 135 (1920) .

Hoy v. State, 353 So.2d 826 (Fla. 1978)

Humphrey v. Cady, 405 U.S. 504 (1972)

In re Baker, 267 So.2d 331 (Fla. 1972)

Inre Florida Rules of Criminal Procedure, 403 So.2d 979

(Fla. 1981)

vi

Table of Authorities Continued

Jenkins v. United States, 380 U.S. 445 (1965)

Johnson v. Florida, 408 U.S. 939 (1972)

Johnson v. State, 393 So.2d 1069 (Fla. 1981) ...

Jones v. State, 332 So.2d 615 (Fla. 1976)

Jurek v. Texas, 428 U.S. 262 (1976)

Keeble v. United States, 412 U.S. 205 (1973) .

Knight v. State, 338 So.2d 201 (Fla. 1976)

Lane v. State, 337 So.2d 976 (Fla. 1976)

Lindsey v. State, ___ So.2d __, (Ala. Ct. Crim. App. 1

a No. 483) appeal pending Alabama Supreme

ourt

Lockett v. Ghio, 488 U.S. 586

RE ee re 24, 29, 32, 34, 38, 42, 46,

Lusk v. State, ___. So.2d , 9 Fla. L. Week 39 (Fla.

1984)

McCaskill v. State, 344 So.2d 1276 (Fla. 1977)

McCrae v. State, 395 So.2d 1145 (Fla. 1981)

McGautha v. California, 402 U.S. 183 (1971) ... 238, 28,

Mead v. State, 101 So.2d 373 (Fla. 1958)

Messer v. State, 330 So.2d 137 (Fla. 1976)

Miller v. State, 332 So.2d 65 (Fla. 1976)

Miller v. State, 415 So.2d 1262 (Fla. 1982)

Mitchell v. State, 101 So.2d 373 (Fla. 1958)

Mitchell v. State, 157 Fla. 121, 25 So.2d 73 (1946) ....

on. v. State, ___ So.2d ____ (Ala. Ct. Crim. App. 3d

iv. No. 604), appeal pending Alabama Supreme

Court No. 82-743

Newman v. Wainwright, 464 F.2d 615 (5th Cir. 1972) .

Nims v. State, 70 Fla. 530, 70 So. 565 (1915)

Vil

Table of Authorities Continued

Norris v. State, 429 So.2d 688 (Fla. 1983)

Odom v. State, 403 So.2d 936 (Fla. 1981)

Paramore v. Florida, 408 U.S. 935 (1972)

People v. Fitzpatrick, 308 N.Y.S. 2d 18 (1970)

Pitts v. Wainwright, 408 U.S. 941 (1972)

Porter v. State, 429 So.2d 293 (Fla. 1983)

Presnell v. Georgia, 439 U.S. 14 (1978)

Proffitt v. Florida, 428 U.S. 242

Quince v. State, 414 So.2d 185 (Fla. 1982)

Richardson v. State, 437 So.2d 1091 (Fla.

Richmond Newspapers, Inc. v. Virginia, 448 U.S. 555

(1980)

Reed v. State, 267 So.2d 70 (Fla. 1972)

Routly v. State, 440 So.2d 1257 (Fla. 1983)

Sawyer v. State, 313 So.2d 680 (Fla. 1975)

Schiro v. State, 451 N.E.2d 1047 (Ind. 1983)

Smith v. Balkcom, 660 F.2d 573 (5th Cir. 1981), modified,

671 F.2d 858 (5th Cir. 1982)

Smith v. State, 403 So.2d 933 (Fla. 1981)

Snipes v. State, 154 Fla. 262, 17 So.2d 93 (1944)

Spaziano v. Florida, 454 U.S. 1037 (1981)

Spaziano v. State, 483 So.2d 508 (Fla. 1983)

—— v. Wainwright, 578 F.2d 582 (5th Cir.

1978)

State v. Dixon, 283 So.2d 1 (Fla. 1973)

State v. Hickman, 189 So.2d 254 (Fla. 2d DCA 1966) .

State v. King, 282 So.2d 162 (Fla. 1973) 9, 17, 18

State 2 rel Mauncy v. Wadsworth, 293 So.2d 345 (Fla.

1974)

Vili

Stevens v. State, 419 So.2d 1058 (Fla. 1982)

Tedder v. State, 322 So.2d 908 (Fla. 1975)

Thomas v. Florida, 408 U.S. 935 (1972)

Jay Thompson v. State, Indiana Supreme Court No. &882-

S 303 (Harrison County No. 81-S 62, sentenced on

March 18, 1982)

Trop v. Dulles, 356 U.S. 86 (1958)

Tucker v. State, 417 So.2d 1006 (Fla. 3d DCA 1982) ..

Tucker v. Zant, ___. F.2d ___, No. 83-8137 (11th Cir.

January 20, 1984)

United States v. Bailey, 468 F.2d 652 (5th Cir. 1972), aff'd

en banc, 480 F.2d 518 (Sth Cir. 1973)

~ United States v. Fioravanti, 412 F.2d 407 (3d Cir. 1969)

United States v. Jackson, 390 U.S. 570 (1968)

United States v. John, 437 U.S. 634 (1978)

Washington v. State, 482 So.2d 44 (Fla. 1983)

Washington v. Watkins, 655 F.2d 1346 (5th Cir. 1981),

reh. den. with opinion, 662 F.2d 1116 (5th Cir.), cert

denied, 456 U.S. 949 (1982)

CP

—

Weaver v. State, 220 So.2d 53 (Fla. 2d DCA 1969) ....

White v. State, 403 So.2d 331 (Fla. 1981) ........... 50,

Williams v. Florida, 399 U.S. 78 (1970) ....... 21, 34,

Williams v. New York, 337 U.S. 241 (1949)

Williams v. Wainwright, 408 U.S. 941 (1972) 40

Witherspoon v. Illinois, 391 U.S. 510 (1968) ....... 24, 32

Woodson v. North Carolina, 428 U.S. 280 (1976) .. passim

Zant v. Stephens, ____ U.S. —__.,, 108 S.Ct. 2733 (1983) 45

Zeigler v. State, 402 So.2d 365 (Fla. 1981)

STATUTES:

Fla. Stat. § 982.465 (1973)

Fla. Stat. § 921.141 (1973)

Fla. Stat. § 782.07 (1973)

Fla. Stat. § 782.04 (1973)

—

th

ix

Table of Authorities Continued

Fla. Stat. § 775.15 (Supp. 1974)

New Mexico Acts of 1939, Ch. 49

RULEs:

Fed. R. Civ. P. 50

Fla. R. Crim

Fla. R. Crim.

OTHER:

Books and Reports

American Bar Association, Minimum Standards in

Sentencing

American Law Institute, Model Penal Code (Prop. Off.

Draft 1962) 37,

Berns, For Capital Punishment (1979)

Bowers, Executions In America (1974)

Cohen, Reason and Law (1950) .....................

Goodhart, English Law and the Moral Law (1953) ....

Kalven & Zeisel, The American Jury (1966)

Packer, The Limits of the Criminal Sanction (1968) ...

Partridge & Eldridge, The Second Circuit Sentencing

rae § A Report to the J udges of the Second Circuit

(Wash., D.C., Federal Judicial Center 1974)

President’s Commission on Law Enforcement and

Administration of Justice: The Challenge of Crime

- i i ree Society Task Force Report, The Courts

( |

X

Table of Authorities Continued

Page

Royal Commission on Capital Punishment, 1949-1953

(1953) 30, 37, 46

Rubin, The Law of Criminal Correction (1973)

Stephen, A General View of the Criminal Law of England

(2d ed. 1890)

Periodicals

Ehrhardt and Levinson, Florida’s Legislative Response

to Furman: An Exercise in Futility? 64J. Crim. L. &

Criminology 10 (1973) 38, 39

Foley, Florida After the Furxean Decision: Discretion in

the Imposition of the Death Penalty (unpublished

paper at the University of North Florida)

Gardner, The Renaissance of Retribution — An Exami-

nation of Doing Justice, 1976 Wisc. L. Rev. 781 .. 30

Gillers, Deciding Whe Dies, 129 U. Pa. L. Rev. 1

(1983) ' +. passim

Greenwalt, “Unconirol!lable” Actions and the Eighth

Amendment: Implications of Powell v. Texas, 69 Col-

um. L. Rev. (1969)

Hart, The Aims of the Criminal Law, 23 L. & Contemp.

Soc. Prob. 401 (1958)

Hoffman and Meierhober, a of Guidelines of

Sentencing, 3 L. & Psych. Rev. 53 (1977)

LaFont, Assessment of Punishment — A Judge or Jury

Function, 38 Tex. L. Rev. 834 (1960)

Liebman and Shepard, Guiding Capital Sentencing Dis-

cretion Beyond the “Boiler Plate”: Mental Disorder

as a Mitigating Factor, 66 Geo. L. J. 757 (1978) ..

Manneheim, The Capital Punishment Cases: A Criticism

of Judicial Method, 12 Loy. L. Rev. 85 (1978) ....

Marcus, Allen Instruction in Criminal Cases: Is the Dee

ev.

mite Charge About to be Defused? 43 Mo. L.

013 (1978)

xi

Table of Authorities Continued

Page

Post-Furman Death Sentences in Florida (unpublished

compilation prepared by Capital Punishment Proj-

ect, Department of Sociolo

Director, University of Flori

New York District Attorney’s Association, Memorandum

and Draft Bill (October 17, 1960)

hear 6d Trial of Crimes, 23 Wash. and Lee L. Rev. 1

(1

Radelet and Vandiver, The Florida Supreme Court and

Death Penalty Appeals, 74J. Crim. L. and Criminol-

ogy 401 (1983) 31, :

Shipiro, First Degree Murder Statutes and Capital

Sentencing Procedures: An Analysis and Compari-

son of Statutory Systems for the Imposition of the

Death Penalty in Georgia, Florida, Texas, and

Louisiana, 24 Loy. L. Rev. 709 (1978)

37

Togman, The Two-Trial System in Capital Cases, 39

Rais ae Oe oF re a 25, 37

Wollan, The Death Penalty After Furman, 1974 Crim. J.

Sys. Rev. 213

Comment, Jury Discretion and the Unitary Trial Proce-

dure in Capital Cases, 26 Ark. L. Rev. 33 (1972) .

Note, Florida’s Legislative and Judicial Responses To

Furman v. Georgia: An Analysis and Criticism, 2

Fla. St. L. Rev. 108 (1974)

BRIEF FOR PETITIONER

OPINIONS BELOW

The initial opinion of the Florida Supreme Court on direct

appeal affirming petitioner’s conviction, but remanding his

death sentence in light of Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S. 349

(1977), is reported in Spaziano v. State, 393 So.2d 1119 (Fla.

1981), cert. denied, 454 U.S 1037 (1981) and is set out in the

Joint Appendix at pages 18-23. The opinion of the Supreme

Court of Florida affirming the reimposition of the death sent-

ence is reported at 433 So.2d 508 (Fla. 1983) and is set out at

pages 45-51 of the Joint Appendix.

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court rests upon 28 U.S.C. § 1257(3),

the petitioner having asserted below and asserting herein a

deprivation of rights secured by the Constitution of the United

States. The judgment of the Supreme Court of Florida was

entered on May 26, 1983. A timely motion for rehearing was

denied by that court on July 13, 1983. The Honorable Lewis F.

Powell, Jr., Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the

United States, issued an order extending the time within

which to file a petition for writ of certiorari to and including

October 11, 1983. Certiorari was granted on .‘anuary 9, 1984.

—_. U.S. —__, 104 S.Ct. 697 (1984).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

INVOLVED

This case involves the Fifth, Sixth, Eighth and Fourteenth

Amendments to the Constitution of the United States which

are set out in Appendix A hereto. This case also involves the

following provisions of the statutes and rules of the State of

Florida, which are set forth at Appendix A: Fla. Stat.

$§ 782.04, 921.141, 932.465, and Fla. R. Crim. Proc. 3.490.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On August 21, 1973, the decomposing corpse of a young

woman was discovered in a garbage dump in Seminole County,

Florida (T 213)'. The deceased was identified, by dental rec-

ords, as Laura Harberts, last seen alive on August 5, 1973.

Joseph Spaziano was indicted by a Seminole County grand

jury for the first degree murder of Ms. Harberts on September

12, 1975 (JA 2-3). The state’s chief witness was an acquaintance

of Mr. Spaziano named Anthony Dilisio, who was sixteen years

old at the time of the events in question. He testified that he

accompanied wetitioner to a dump, for the ostensible reason,

according to Dilisio, that petitioner could show him some of the

women that he had raped and tortured (T 626-627). Dilisio

testified that he saw two female bodies situated in the dump (T

631). He did not report what he had seen to the police (T 689).

The state’s case rested exclusively upon the testimony of

Dilisio, whose credibility was sharply contested at trial. Peti-

tioner argued that Dilisio was unworthy of belief for several

reasons. First, Dilisio had a motive to lie (R 49-50). Second,

according to his father, Dilisio had a tendency to exaggerate

the truth, although not to the point of being an “extreme”

pathological liar (R 182). Third, Dilisio was an admitted drug

user before, during and after the alleged incident at the dump.

(T 655-657). Fourth, he never testified about the alleged in-

cident at the dump until after he went to a police hypnotist (R

80). Further, Dilisio gave several inconsistent statements

‘In the brief, the symbol “JA” will be used to designate references

to the Joint Appendix. As to the portions of the record not included in

the Joint Appendix, the following symbols will be used:

The transcript of the original sentencing trial;

The record on appeal in the direct appeal;

The record on appeal in the resentencing proceed-

ings.

3

regarding the location of the bodies he allegedly saw and the

route taken to arrive there.

Aside from Dilisio the evidence consisted of testimony of two

of the deceased’s friends and two individuals who had known

Mr. Spaziano. The state attempted to prove through the testi-

mony of Beverly Fink and Jack Mallen, the deceased’s room-

mate and the roommate’s boyfriend, that Mr. Spaziano knew

the deceased prior to her death. Both witnesses testified that

an individual they identified as Mr. Spaziano came to the door

of the apartment sometime in July and asked to see the de-

ceased (T 401-402, 467-468). However, they identified that

individual, who said he was a traveling cook, to be Mr. Spa-

ziano from an arguably suggestive photographic lineup, see

State’s Exhibit 7. Ms. Fink also testified that the deceased was

dating several individuals, one of whom was name “Joe”, but

none of whom was Mr. Spaziano (T 408-409, 410, 411, 487). In

addition, William Coppick and Mike Ellis testified that approx-

imately two years prior to the alleged incident, Mr. Spaziano

lived in a trailer in the same general area where the deceased’s

body was found. Mr. Coppick also testified that Mr. Spaziano

told him about finding some bones, but never said where or

exactiv when the alleged conversation took place (T 563, 572).

Mr. Ellis further stated that Mr. Spaziano took him to the

general area where the body had been found and he concluded

that Mr. Spaziano went to get some marijuana “stashed” there

(T 599-600, 602-603). Again, Mr. Ellis was unsure of the date

when this took place. The medical examiner testified that he

conducted an autopsy the morning after the body was dis-

covered (T 292) and found no evidence of trauma (T 294) and

could not give an opinion as to the cause of death (T 298).

After the submission of evidence, outside the presence of the

jury, the trial judge presented petitioner with the choice of

waiving the statute of limitations which had run as to all lesser

included noncapital offenses or having the jury instructed only

as to first-degree murder. Petitioner chose the latter with the

result that the jury was not permitted to consider verdicts of

guilt of lesser included, noncapital offenses (T 751-755). The

jury, after deliberating more than five hours and after being

given a “jury deadlocked” charge, returned a verdict of guilty

of first-degree murder (T 808-820). The same jury recommend-

ed that petitioner be sentenced to life imprisonment (TS 28),

but the advisory verdict was overridden by the trial judge who

sentenced petitioner to death (JA 13). Thereafter, petitioner

appealed his conviction and sentence to the Florida Supreme

Court, which affirmed the conviction but reversed the death

sentence for a violation of Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S. 349

(1977), and remanded for a hearing before the trial judge.

Spaziano v. State, 393 So.2d 1119 (Fla. 1981). In that direct

appeal petitioner specifically raised the issue regarding the

constitutionality of his death sentence under Beck v. Alabama,

447 U.S. 625 (1980) where the jury had been precluded from

considering petitioner’s guilt of an offense less than capital

homicide. The Supreme Court of Florida squarely reached the

federal question in its opinion on direct appeal and ruled that

there had been no constitutional violation (JA 22). The federal

question was further pursued by petitioner in his motion for

rehearing. The court denied rehearing, though the two dis-

senting justices wanted to consider the question further (JA

24). Petitioner also challenged the constitutional propriety of

the imposition of the death sentence over the jury’s life verdict,

but because of the court’s disposition—the Gardner remand of

the sentence—these questions were not reached.

A Gardner resentencing hearing was held on May 8, 1981 in

the trial court before the judge only, in accord with the Florida

Supreme Court’s limited remand. Despite the earlier jury

verdict of life, petitioner was again sentenced to death (JA 29).

Petitioner appealed his death sentence to the Florida Su-

preme Court, which affirmed. Spaziano v. State, 433 So.2d 508

(1983). In his appeal, petitioner again challenged the propriety

of overriding the jury’s life verdict. He contended that the

override in his case violated the Eighth and Fourteenth

Amendments and that it is constitutionally impermissible in all

cases to override the jury’s verdict for life. The Florida Su-

preme Court ruled directly upon the federal question, relying

upon its previous decision in Douglas v. State, 373 So.2d 895

(Fla. 1979) where it upheld the constitutionality of the override

under the Fifth, Sixth, Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments,

and again found no constitutional violation in the procedure

(JA 48-49). Further, the court affirmed petitioner’s death sent-

ence: “We find the facts suggesting that the death sentence be

imposed over the jury’s recommendation of life, . . . meets the

clear and convincing test to allow the override of the jury’s

recommendation in accordance with previous decisions of this

Court.” (J A 48). The question was again presented to the court

by motion for rehearing requesting the court to reconsider its

previous decisions holding that the jury override did not

violate the Fifth, Sixth, Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments.

The court denied rehearing (JA 52).

Petitioner timely filed in this Court his petition for a writ of

certiorari which was granted on January 9, 1984 (JA 53).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

1. This case is before the Court in precisely the same legal

and factual posture as was Beck v. Alabama, 447 U.S. 625

(1980). Mr. Spaziano’s jury, just as Mr. Beck’s jury, was pre-

cluded by operation of law from considering any offenses less

than capital homicide, though there was a reasonable basis in

the evidence to support such lesser included offenses. Beck

found such a situation to “introduce a level of uncertainty and

unreliability into the factfinding process that cannot be toler-

ated in a capital case.” Jd. at 643. The dangers identified in

Beck came to pass in this case. The jury, faced with an impossi-

ble two-option dilemma, had great difficulty reaching a ver-

dict, dging so only after an Allen charge. This situation posed

as great a threat to reliability as did the situation in Beck. More

than in Beck the record shows that the evil it predicted actually

occurred in this case. The jury issued an almost immediate life

sentencing verdict under circumstances indicating that it was

using that verdict as a safeguard against the result of its

two-option dilemma. Accordingly, Beck controls this case and

6

mandates that Mr. Spaziano’s death sentence be vacated. The

fact that the source of the unreliability was a statute of limita-

tions rather than an “express statutory provision” as charac-

terized by the court below, does not make Mr. Spaziano’s case

more reliable or more constitutionally tolerable.

2. Whether analyzed under the Eighth Amendment, the

Sixth Amendment or the Due Process Clause, Florida’s jury

override violates the Constitution. First, the objective indicia

such as historical usage and legislative enactments compel two

conclusions: (1) that juries, not judges, are best equipped to

make reliable death decisions and (2) that a jury’s decision for

life is inviolate.

Second, the Court’s independent judicial judgment should

confirm the nearly universal legislative rejection of the jury

override in capital cases. Death is different, in part, because it

is a uniquely retributive punishment. Since the death penalty

is society’s expression of outrage at offensive conduct, the jury

not the judge, is more likely to reliably place the offense and

the offender on society’s yardstick of moral outrage. Further,

petitioner will demonstrate that the countervailing considera-

tions are insufficient to justify the override procedure. Flor-

ida’s override is based on no judgment, legislature or judicial,

that such a procedure serves an important state interest; the

override is rather a misguided attempt to comply with Fur-

man. In addition, jury nullification, i.e., the jury’s exercise of

its power to bring in a verdict of acquittal in the teeth of both

law and facts, is not a factor. By expressing its judgment to

spare the life of a particular accused, the jury is not nullifying

the law; it is performing precisely the function for which it was

empaneled. Finally, while judges may bring a variety of pro-

fessional skills to noncapital sentencing, those skills cannot

substitute for a jury sitting as the “peers” of the accused. To

the extent that the death decision is a decision whether to be

retributive, it is the jury, not the judge, that has the “ex-

pertise.” To the extent that the death decision involves find-

ings of fact, Bullington v. Missouri, 451 U.S. 430 (1981) man-

dates that the jury’s findings cannot be overridden.

‘

3. The Florida standards governing the override of ajury’s

life verdict were, in this case, applied in a manner that deni-

grated the jury’s consideration of mitigating factors and that

was so vague and broad as to violate the constitutional require-

ment of reliability in death determinations. Petitioner’s death

sentence was the result of pincer-like constraints on the jury’s

ability to exercise its decision-making power in a rational and

reasonable manner. On the one hand, the jury was deprived of

the ability accurately to gauge the weight of the evidence

against petitioner because of the failure to give the lesser

included offenses. On the other hand, the jury’s apparent at-

tempt to proportion its verdict to petitioner’s culpability at the

sentencing phase was overriden by the judge.

Florida law holds that a jury’s verdict for life cannot be

overturned unless no reasonable basis exists for the verdict.

But that standard was not applied here, because there was a

reasonable basis for the jury’s life verdict: the weakness of the

evidence regarding petitioner’s culpability. Reasonable people

could and did disagree over the fate of Joseph Spaziano.

ARGUMENT

I

A DEATH SENTENCE IMPOSED AFTER A JURY VERDICT

OF GUILT OF A CAPITAL OFFENSE, WHEN THE JURY

WAS NOT PERMITTED TO CONSIDER A VERDICT OF

GUILT OF LESSER INCLUDED OFFENSES THOUGH THE

EVIDENCE WOULD HAVE SUPPORTED SUCH A

VERDICT, VIOLATES THE EIGHTH AMENDMENT AND

THE DUE PROCESS CLAUSE.

This case is before the Court in precisely the same factual

and legal posture as was Beck v. Alabama, 447 U.S. 625 (1980).

Mr. Spaziano’s jury, just as Mr. Beck’s jury, was precluded by

operation of law from considering any offenses less than capital

homicide, though there was a reasonable basis in the evidence

to support such lesser-included offenses. The lack of this “third

option” was found in Beck to “introduce a level of uncertainty

and unreliability into the factfinding process that cannot be

8

tolerated in a capital case.” Jd. at 643. Those dangers identified

in Beck plainly came to pass in this case. We will demonstrate

that Beck controls to require Mr. Spaziano’s death sentence be

vacated, and that the state’s statute of limitations does not

excuse or make more constitutionally tolerable the uncertainty

and unreliability interjected into Mr. Spaziano’s trial.

A. Beck Requires Reversal Of Mr. Spaziano’s Death Sent-

ence

The offense in this case was alleged to have occurred be-

tween August 4 and August 22, 1973 (R 27). Two years and

some three weeks later, an indictment was sought and re-

turned, on September 12, 1975, charging Mr. Spaziano with

first degree murder (JA 2-3). The three weeks beyond two

years is important because the statute of limitations for nonca-

pital offenses in Florida was two years and there was no

limitation on capital offenses. § 932.465, Fla. Stat. (1973).

Three weeks may seem to be a short period of time, but it made

a great difference in Mr. Spaziano’s trial. The timing of the

indictment posed the question of jurisdiction on the lesser-

included offenses of first degree murder. At the close of the

evidence, Mr. Spaziano was given the choice of either waiving

the applicable statute of limitations with respect to the lesser

included noncapital offenses (attempted first degree murder,

second degree murder, third degree murder and

manslaughter)’ or having the jury instructed only as to first

degree murder (T 751-755). Mr. Spaziano declined the offer to

* Florida law is settled that the trial court must instruct the jury on

all lesser included offenses. E.g. Brown v. State, 206 So.2d 377, 381

(Fla. 1968). In fact at the time of Mr. Spaziano’s trial this require-

ment applied even if there was no evidence to support the lesser

offenses. Jd. That rule was changed effective October 1, 1981 to

require instructions on lesser offenses only when supported by the

evidence. In re Florida Rules of Criminal Procedure, 403 So.2d 979

(Fla. 1981).

9

waive the statute of limitations.’ As a result, the jury was

given only two options—guilty of first degree murder or

acquittal.‘ The jury had a great deal of difficulty with these two

options. Deliberations lasted more than six hours (T 808-820),

were interrupted by judicial inquiry,’ and were reported as

deadlocked. The jury was then given the “Allen charge” and

only minutes later returned the verdict of guilt (T 820).

In Beck, the Court held that “the death penalty may not be

imposed” where the jury is not permitted to consider a verdict

of guilt of a lesser included non-cspital offense where the

evidence would support such a verdict. 447 U.S. at 627. The

Court’s holding applies equally to Mr. Spaziano’s case. Draw-

In fact, there was a question at the time of Mr. Spaziano’s trial

whether a waiver of the statute of limitations would even be effec-

tive. E.g. Tucker v. State, 417 So.2d 1006, 1011 (Fla. 3d DCA 1982)

(“{T]he issue of whether a defendant may waive the statute of limita-

tions for purposes of conviction appears never to have been directly

addressed in Florida, . . .”). The question arises because Florida

considers the limitations to be a “jurisdictional” bar, and hence need

not be pleaded in the trial court by the defendant and can be raised at

any time. E.g. Mead v. State, 101 So.2d 373 (Fla. 1958): State v.

King, 282 So.2d 162 (Fla. 1973); Tucker v. State, 417 So.2d at 1012:

id. at 1014 (Pearson, J., concurring specially).

‘ As the jury was instructed: “There are only two verdict alterna-

tives in this case. The alternatives are, not guilty, or, in the alterna-

tive, guilty of murder in the first degree as set out in the indictment.”

(T 805-806).

* As the hour grew late, the court inquired of the foreman: “if given

more time is there a reasonable probability that the jury could agree

cn a verdict, it being the jury’s function to do so.” (T 815) About two

hours later, the court called the jury out to inquire again whether it

would be able to reach a verdict (T 817). The foreman replied: “At this

point, Your Honor, I don’t believe so.” (T 817). The judge thea gave

the “jury deadlock” or “Allen” charge to the jury over defense

objection.

* Allen v. United States, 164 U.S. 492 (1896).

10

ing upon its reasoning in Keeble v. United States, 412 U.S. 205

(1973), the Court reaffirmed the principle that “providing the

jury with the ‘third option’ of convicting on a lesser included

offense ensures that the jury will accord the full benefit of the

reasonable-doubt standard.” 447 U.S. at 635. This is so for

while a jury should, “as a theoretical matter,” return a verdict

of acquittal where the prosecution has not established every

element of the offense charged, the lack of lesser-included

offense instructions creates the “substantial risk that the

jury’s practice will diverge from theory.” 447 U.S. at 635

(quoting Keeble, 412 U.S. at 212). Theory diverges from prac-

tice because

where one of the elements of the offense charged remains

in doubt, but the defendant is plainly aly of some

offense, the jury is likely to resolve its doubts in favor of

conviction.

Id. Thus, Keeble heid that an instruction on the lesser included

offense was a critical procedural right that could not be denied

to a federal criminal defendant. And Beck extended the Keeble

reasoning to a state capital case and found that the lack of the

“third option” so threatened the accuracy of the factfinding

process that it could not be tolerated under the Constitution.

The “procedural safeguard” of the instruction on lesser in-

cluded offenses is especially important in a capital case for

“death is a different kind of punishment”, Gardner v. Florida,

430 U.S. 349, 357 (1977), and entails a “corresponding differ-

ence in the need for reliability.” Woodson v. North Carolina,

428 U.S. 280, 305 (1976) (plurality opinion). Echoing the

reasoning of Keeble, Beck found the lesser included option to be

a constitutional imperative in a capital case:

[w]hen the evidence unquestionably establishes that the

defendant is guilty of a serious, violent offense—but

leaves some doubt with res to an element that would

justify a conviction of a capital offense—the failure to give

the jury the “third option” of convicting on a lesser in-

1]

cluded offense would seem inevitably to enhance the risk

of an unwarranted conviction.

Such a risk cannot be tolerated in a case in which the

defendant’s life is at stake.

Beck, 447 U.S. at 637.

“In the final analysis” precluding a jury’s consideration of

the third option “interjects irrelevant considerations into the

factfinding process, diverting the jury’s attention from the

central issue of whether the State has satisfied its burden of

proving beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant is guilty

of a capital crime.” These irrelevant considerations “introduce

a level of uncertainty and unreliability into the factfinding

process that cannot be tolerated in a capital case.” Jd. at

642-643.

The risk of an unwarranted conviction of a capital offense

came to pass in the present case in a manner that falls squarely

within the four corners of Beck. Mr. Spaziano’s jury, like Mr.

Beck’s, was faced with the predicament of having but two

options in its guilt determination. That this predicament

actually interjected itself into the jury’s deliberation is shown

by the difficulty the jury had in reaching a verdict, a verdict

returned only after the “dynamite charge.” Mr. Spaziano’s

jury was faced with what it was told was a very brutal offense,

but with only flimsy evidence to support guilt of the capital

offense. There was no direct evidence of the offense, no evi-

dence as to the cause of death, the manner and means of death,

or a motive for the death. In short, there was virtually no

evidence as ta the degree of homicide.

The state » case rested exclusively’ upon the testimony of

16-year-old Tony Dilisio, who had no personal knowledge of the

’ As the prosecutor told the trial court during a motion to preclude

Dilisio’s testimony: “If we can’t get in the testimony of Tony Dilisio,

we'd absolutely have no case here whatsoever... . So either we're

going to have it through Tony, or we're not going to have it at all.” (T

614)

12

offense itself and related only what Mr. Spaziano purportedly

told him and showed him at the scene weeks later, though he

said he had never believed Mr. Spaziano (T 627-628). More-

over, Dilisio’s credibility was placed in substantial doubt by a

number of factors, including his motives to testify falsely, his

tendency to “exaggerate” the truth, his admitted extensive

drug use during relevant times, and the fact that he did not

report what he had supposedly seen and only “recalled” the

subject of his testimony after undergoing police hypnosis. Ac-

cordingly, there was no direct evidence of a premeditated

homicide*—if, how, when, why it might have occurred—

leaving just the indirect supposition evidence that was itself

subject to considerable question.

Since there was no evidence as to the manner, means or

motive of the death, there could certainly be a question of

whether the state had met its burden of proving the intent

required for the capital offense. For example, even taking the

state’s evidence at face value, the jury could have believed that

the state had shown that Mr. Spaziano was somehow involved

in or knew about the homicide and was thus culpable in that

offense, but not believed that the state had met its burden of

proving the essential element of premeditation.’ This element

could be in further doubt if the jury rejected even part of

Dilisio’s story. With evidence on the essential element of

* Though in Florida a charge of first degree murder includes both

premeditated and felony murder, Knight v. State, 338 So.2d 201 (Fla.

1976), Mr. Spaziano’s jury was instructed only on the theory of

premeditation (T 794-96).

*Evidence of premeditation cannot be left to “guesswork and

speculation.” Weaver v. State, 220 So.2d 53, 59 (Fla. 2d DCA 1969).

“(IJn order to constitute murder in the first degree it must be estab-

lished beyond every reasonable doubt, not only that the accused

committed an act which resulted in the death of another human

being, but it must be proven that before the commission of the act

which results in death that the accused had formed in his mind a

distinct and definite purpose to take the life of another human being

13

premeditation so lacking, a verdict of second degree murder

(“evincing a depraved mind regardless of human life,” § 782.04

(2), Fla. Stat. (1973)] would certainly have been reasonable.

See, e.g., Hall v. State, 403 So.2d 1319 (Fla. 1981) (evidence

showing that the defendant was involved in the killing, but not

showing how the killing was actually accomplished, was in-

sufficient to establish premeditation, but did support second

degree murder. )"° The evidence certainly could have supported

a conviction for a lesser included offense. But the jury was not

given that option.

More than in Beck, therefore, this case presents solid indica-

tions that the evil predicted by Beck actually occurred here.

Mr. Spaziano’s jury had obvious difficulty reaching a verdict.

Its deliberations were interrupted several times by judicial

inquiry—one time the judge reminded the jury that it was its

“function to return a verdict” (T 815)."' As the deliberations

drew on, the judge called the jury out to ask whether it would

be able to reach a verdict (the jury had not at that point

reported a deadlock). The foreman said: “At this point, I don’t

and deliberated or meditated upon such purpose for a sufficient

length of time to be conscious of a well defined purpose and intention

to kill another human being, and if then in the execution of such

purpose and design he kills another, his act is murder in the first

degree.” Snipes v. State, 154 Fla. 262, 17 So.2d 93, 97 (1944).

It is also reasonable that a verdict of manslaughter could he

returned under the residual aspect of that offense which is defined as:

“The iilling of a human being by the act, procurement or culpable

negligence of another, in cases where such killing shall not be justifi-

able or excusable homicide nor murder, . . .” (emphasis supplied)

Fla.Stat. § 782.07 (1973); cf., Snipes v. State, supra (where the court

found insufficient evidence of premeditation and reduced the verdict

to manslaughter, though it eventually decided to order a new trial

because of “prejudice.”).

" See Jenkins v. United States, 380 U.S. 445 (1965) (Finding coer-

cive a judge’s statement to the jury that “You have got to reach a

decision in this case.”)

14

believe so.” (T 817). The judge responded by giving (over

objection) the “Allen” or “dynamite” charge. Having been

“dynamited,” the jury returned a verdict within minutes (T

820).

The reliability of the guilt determination was plainly

threatened further by the Allen charge. The jury was given

only two options and was having great difficulty with its im-

possible dilemma. Poised in this impossible situation, how-

ever, the jury was then further pressured by the “Allen”

charge.” “While it is, of course, impossible to gauge what part

[the Allen charge] played in the jury’s action of returning a

verdict” within minutes after the charge, “this swift resolution

of the issues in the face of positive indications of hopeless

deadlock, at the very least give rise to serious questions in this

regard.” United States v. United States Gypsum Co., 438 U.S.

422, 462 (1978). There can be little doubt in this case of the

“substantial risk that the jury’s practice . . . diverge[{d] from

theory.” Keeble, 412 U.S. at 212.

That risk is made even more evident by the jury’s sentencing

verdict. In contrast to the difficulty the jury had in reaching its

guilty verdict, it reached an almost immediate sentencing ver-

dict of life imprisonment. This verdict suggests strongly that

the jury was attempting to use the life verdict as its only

available safeguard against the overall weakness of the evi-

dence. If it had believed the state’s evidence, the jury would

2 The “Allen charge”, though approved by the Court, has itself

been subject to considerable criticism as threatening the reliability

and independence of the jury’s verdict. See, e.g., United States v.

Bailey, 468 F.2d 652 (5th Cir. 1972), aff'd en banc, 480 F.2d 518 (5th

Cir. 1973); United States v. Fioravanti, 412 F.2d 407 (3d Cir. 1969).

Because of the threats to reliability posed by the “Allen charge” the

modern trend is away from its use. See generally Annot., 97 A.L.R.

3d 96 (1980); Annot., 44 A.L.R. Fed. 468 (1979); Marcus, Allen

Instruction in Criminal Cases: Is the Dynamite Charge About to be

Permanently Defused? 43 Mo.L.Rev. 613 (1978); ABA Standards

Relating to Trial by Jury, § 5.4 (1968).

1d

have believed that Mr. Spaziano had committed a brutal

crime." The life verdict thus suggests strongly that the jury

was concerned over the result of its two-option dilemma, and

sought a “third option” through its sentencing verdict.

Accordingly, the record plainly shows that the threats to the

reliability of the guilt determination were real. As determined

by Beck, “the death penalty may not be imposed under these

circumstances.”

B. The Intolerable Uncertainty And Unreliability Is Not Ex-

cused By The Statute Of Limitations

As discussed in the preceeding section, the record reveals a

constitutionally impermissible risk of an unwarranted convic-

tion through the withholding from the jury of the third option

of convicting Mr. Spaziano of a lesser included offense. The

Supreme Court of Florida, however, sought to excuse that

unconstitut onality and distinguish Beck, reasoning that

rather than an “express statutory prohibition” as in Beck, the

preclusion of the third option in this case arose from a separate

statute of limitations. This difference, the Florida court be-

lieved, rendered constitutional his otherwise unconstitutional

death sentence. (JA 22)

The Florida Supreme Court’s attempted distinction of Beck

must fail because the results are identical: here as in Beck there

are serious risks of unreliability. Under the Florida court’s

reasoning, Mr. Spaziano could have had a constitutionally fair

trial—without the intolerable risk of unreliability—if only the

'’ As the Florida Supreme Court observed in reviewing a pre-

Furman capital case where the jury had recommended mercy: “The

deceased was killed by some assassin in cold blood, and if this defend-

ant was in fact guilty of it there were no circumstances that called for

or justified an extension of mercy, unless it was incorporated into the

verdict as a safeguard against the prickings of the jurors’ con-

sciences. . . .” Nims v. State, 70 Fla. 530, 70 So. 565, 566 (1915);

accord Davis v. State, 90 So.2d 629, 632 (Fla. 1956).

16

state had filed the indictment one month earlier. Since, how-

ever, the state filed the indictment three weeks after the

statute of limitations had run as to the lesser offenses, the

resulting two-option unreliability became tolerable. Such

reasoning is unsatisfactory. The harm found in Beck is the

harm of a distorted factfinding process at a time when the

defendant’s life is at stake. The factfinding does not become

less distorted simply because the source of the denial of the

third option is different.

The State of Florida certainly has an interest in administer-

ing its own statute of limitations. It is, however, purely a state

policy decision which the State is free to change as it wishes. In

fact the statute of limitations has now been amended in a

manner that if applicable to Mr. Spaziano’s case would not bar

the lesser offenses." Nevertheless, at the time of Mr. Spa-

ziano’s trial the State had chosen a two-year limitations period

for all noncapital offenses. It had thus chosen, as state policy,

that prosecution of all second degree murders, third degree

murders, or manslaughters was barred if not undertaken with-

in two years. Thus, if Mr. Spaziano were to receive a new trial

with a jury properly instructed upon the lesser included

offenses and the jury returned a verdict for a lesser offense, a

legal determination by the judge that the statute of limitations

barred adjudication would result not from Beck, but from che

State’s own policy choice. Mr. Spaziano would simply receive

the benefit given by the statute of limitations to all others

“Section 932.465, Florida Statutes (1973) was substantially

amended and renumbered as Fila. Stat. § 775.15 (Supp. 1974), effec-

tive October 1, 1975. As amended there is no limitation on capital and

life felonies, a four-year limitation on first degree felonies, and three

years for all other felonies. Thus, if it had been applicable to Mr.

Spaziano’s trial, the statute would not have barred the lesser in-

cluded offenses. It was, however, inapplicable because under Florida

law it is the statute of limitations in effect at the time of offense that

governs. E.g. State ex rel Mauncy v. Wadsworth, 293 So.2d 345 (Fla.

1974).

17

guilty ofa like offense. As the Florida Supreme Court held, ina

somewhat different context, with regard to the statute of

limitations:

A jury has said this man is not guilty of murder in the first

degree and, therefore, he is entitled to every benefit to

which any one else can be entitled who is also only guilty of

murder in the second degree. ... [The State cannot]

deprive him of the benefit of the statute of limitations

while others guilty of the like offense may have tk 2 benefit

of the statute of limitations. . .

Mitcheli v. State, 157 Fla. 121, 25 So.2d 73, 75 (1946). This

reasoning also answers the question, should it be posed, as to

why the defendant should not be forced to waive the statute of

limitations in order to receive a fair trial in accord with Beck.

As can be seen from Mitchell, that statute of limitations is

considered a “substantive right” in Florida. See also Lane v.

State, 337 So.2d 976 (Fla. 1976); State v. King, 282 So.2d 162

(Fla. 1973). And, a defendant cannot be required to waive a

substantive right in order to receive a constitutionally fair

trial. Thus, because a court may not have jurisdiction to adjudi-

cate a defendant guilty of the lesser included offense is not of

constitutional import. In fact, the Court’s decision in Keeble

did not depend upon whether the trial court had jurisdiction to

adjudicate and sentence on the lesser offense. The question of

jurisdiction on that lesser offense was not decided in Keeble

and thus was not a part of its holding. See United States v.

John, 437 U.S. 634, 636 n. 3 (1978); Felicia v. United States,

495 F.2d 353 (8th Cir. 1974).

The question as to whether a trial court may adjudicate a

defendant convicted of a lesser included offense, is a separate

legal decision that just be made by the trial court applying a

'’ The Florida legislature had passed an amendment to the statute

of limitations that excepted lesser included offenses from the limita-

tions bar when a capital offense was charged. The Florida Supreme

Court struck that statute as violative of equal protection on the

reasoning quoted in the text.

1»

separate analysis of state law. A number of legal questions can

arise in applying a statute of limitations which are quite apart

from the determination of the offense.'* These decisions must

be made by the judge and a judge cannot avoid those decisions

simply by preventing a verdict from being rendered on a lesser

included offense. As expressed in dissent by Justice Boyd in

Holloway v. State, 379 So.2d 953 (Fla. 1980):

The accused has a right to have the jury instructed on all

less serious included offenses regardless of the expiration

of the limitations period on the lesser offenses. The pur-

pose of these instructions is to guide the jury in reaching

the proper verdict and the running of the statute of limita-

tions should have no effect.

The function of the jury, in reaching the proper verdict, is

to make factual et not legal determinations. If the jury

finds that the conduct of the accused fits under a certain

category of crime, it so informs the court in its verdict. The

judge then decides the legal question of whether upon the

verdict rendered an adjudication of guilt is proper. If the

verdict finds the accused guilty of an offense barred by the

statute of limitations, the court should acquit the defend-

ant.

Id. at 954 (Boyd, J., dissenting from the dismissal of cer-

tiorari). These observations were echoed by Justice Blackmun

in dissent from denial of certiorari in Holloway: “Whether the

trial court properly may enter a judgment of guilt should the

jury convict for a lesser included offense seems to me a sepa-

rate legal matter with which the factfinder need have no con-

cern.” Holloway v. Florida, 449 U.S. 905, 908 (1980) (Black-

mun, J., dissenting). See also Spaziano v. Florida, 454 U.S.

—__., ——, 102 §.Ct. 581 (1981) (Marshall, J., dissenting).

“For example, it must be determined whether the statute of

limitations was tolled by some state action, State v. Hickman, 189

So.2d 254 (Fla. 2d DCA 1966), when the statute began to run in the

case, State v. King, supra, the sufficiency of the allegations in the

indictment, Mitchell v. State, 101 So.2d 373 (Fla. 1968), and the

sufficiency of the evidence te show commission within the limitations

period, Bail v. State, 204 So.2d 523 (Fla. 3d DCA 1967).

19

Moreover, establishing a different rule for a statute of

limitations bar than for an express statutory bar, would create

a painfully obvious opportunity for prosecutorial abuse. The

mandate of Beck could be avoided by simply waiting to file an

indictment until after the limitations period had run, thereby

“mak{ing] it easier to convict” the defendant, Keeble, 412 U.S.

at 212. It would permit a prosecutor to determine whether a

defendant would receive a constitutionally reliable trial, simp-

ly by the timing of the filing of an indictment. Surely such a

result cannot be logically defended.

Rather, a defendant charged with first degree murder

should be entitled to a constitutionally reliable factfinding re-

gardless of whether the statute of limitations has run as to the

lesser included offense. A jury instructed on lesser included

offenses that returns a verdict for such an offense would be

doing precisely what a jury is supposed to do, determining if

and what offense has been proven by State. A judge who

determines later that adjudication is barred by the statute of

limitations would be doing precisely what he should do, resolv-

ing legal questions. And if adjudication is barred, the defend-

ant would receive precisely what was intended by the state in

its statute of limitations. In short, the system would function

precisely as it should. Such a procedure accommodates the

interest of the defendant and society in assuring that the

factfinding is accurate, and enforces the state policy with re-

gard to its statute of limitations.

Accordingly, the record in this case stands as stark witness

to the evil-come-true of Beck. The lower court decision must be

reversed.

20

II

A TRIAL JUDGE’S OVERRIDE OF A JURY'S FACTUALLY

BASED DECISION AGAINST THE DEATH PENALTY

MUST, IN ALL CASES, VIOLATE THE FIFTH, SIXTH,

EIGHTH AND FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS

A. The Jury Override Should Be Measured By Th« Evolving

Standards Cor erning The Imposition Of The Death

Penalty

This case presents a narrow issue. The constitutionality of

Florida’s overall death penalty system is not in dispute here;

relatively few death sentences in Florida or elsewhere are

imposed as a result of an override of a jury life verdict.”

Petitioner will demonstrate that, if a jury takes part in capital

sentencing at all, its life verdict must be binding. To do so, we

will discuss the reasons for involving a jury in the capital

sentencing decision. Regardless of whether jury sentencing is

required for capital sentencing, the question of jury in-

violability is closely interwoven with the question of jury sen-

tencing; many of the reasons for requiring a jury sentence in

capital cases also counsel that a jury’s verdict for life must be

final.

Petitioner acknowledges that the Court has suggested that

the power ofa Florida judge to override ajury’s life recommen-

dation is constitutional. Proffitt v. Florida, 428 U.S. 242, 252

(1976); Dobbert v. Florida, 432 U.S. 282, 294-96 (1980); Barc-

lay v. Florida, __— U.S. ——, 103 S.Ct. 3418 (1983); id. at

3426-27 (Stevens and Powell, J.J., coneurring). But the issue

was not presented or briefed in any of those cases and the

‘7 Sew notes 24, 25, and 26, and accompanying text, infra.

‘8 In none of these cases was the constitutionality of the override

procedure at issue. In Proffitt, both judge and jury recommended

death, 428 U.S. at 246; the sole issue was whether the imposition of

death ini any case under the Florida statute violated the Constitution.

Id. at 245; see Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 202 n. 51 (1976) (noting

the “limited grant of certiorari” in the five 1976 cases). In Dobdbdert,

21

Court’s observations on the issue “though weighty and re-

spectable, are nevertheless, dicta.” Duncan v. Louisiana, 391

U.S. 145, 155 (1968). As made clear in Duncan, Williams v.

Florida, 399 U.S. 78, 91, 93 (1970), and Ballew v. Georgia, 435

U.S. 223, 231 (1978) when the scope of the right to a jury is

concerned dicta will not do."

The Court’s death penalty jurisprudence has developed in a

dynamic manner because of the “obligation to re-examine

capital sentencing procedures against evolving standards of

procedural fairness in a civilized society.” Gardner v. Florida,

430 U.S. 349, 358 (1977). In evaluating the constitutionality of

a procedure for imposing the death penalty, the Court applies a

two-part test derived from the proposition that the “{eighth]

amendment must draw its meaning from the evolving stand-

ards of decency that mark the progress of a maturing society.”

Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 173 (1976), (quoting Trop v.

Dulles, 356 U.S. 86, 101 (1958)). First, the Court looks to

contemporary values and public attitudes as manifested by

objective indicia such as historical usage and legislative enact-

the grant of certiorari was also limited and did not include this issue,

432 U.S. at 284; the Court held only that, given the presumed

protections of Tedder, “defendants are not significantly dis-

advantaged vis-a-vis . . . the old statute” for purposes of the ex post

facto clause. 432 U.S. at 296. In reaching the issue of the judge’s

consideration of nonstatutory factors in Barclay, the Court pre-

sumed but did not discuss the constitutionality of the override proce-

dure. _. U.§ at —__, 108 S.Ct. at 3420.

'8 It is settled that the Court does not resolve issues not raised on

certiorari. Mazer v. Stein, 347 U.S. 201, 208 n.6 (1954). This rule

applies with special force in the context of the jury issue. “Perhaps

because the right to jury trial was not directly at stake, the Court’s

remarks. . . took no note of past cr current developments regarding

jury trials, did not consider its purposes and functions, [and] at-

tempted no inquiry into how well it was performing its job...”

Duncan, 391 U.S. at 155; accord Ballew, 435 U.S. at 231; Williams,

399 U.S. at 91, 93.

22

ments. Second, it makes an independent judicial assessment of

the constitutionality of the practice in question. A challenged

procedure must pass both parts of the Eighth Amendment test

to be constitutional. The Court has used this two-step analysis

to evaluate the constitutionality of the death penalty itself,

Gregg v. Georgia, supra; of capital punishment for rape, Coker

v. Georgia, 433 U.S. 584 (1977); of the death penalty for those

who only aid and abet murder, Enmund v. Florida, ___ U.S.

——, 102 S.Ct. 3368 (1982); of mandatory death penalties,

Woodson v. North Carolina, 428 U.S. 280 (1976); and of capital

laws excluding lesser included offense charges. Beck v. Ala-

bama, supra.

This approach under the eighth amendment is remarkably

similar to the analysis applied in Duncan v. Louisiana, in,

evaluating whether the sixth amendment right to jury trial

should be made binding on the states. The Court in Duncan

first examined the history and prevailing practice of trial by

jury in criminal cases. 391 U.S. at 151-154. See also Baldwin v.

New York, 399 U.S. 66, 70-72 (1970). After reviewing such

objective indicia, the Court then considered the “purposes and

functions” of trial by jury and evaluated “how well [the jury]

was performing its job.” 391 U.S. at 155.

In determining whether the jury override procedure is con-

stitutionally permissible, then, the Court must consider how

that procedure has functioned in the actual context of the

modern capital sentencing system. For

it might be said that the patton in question is not

necessarily eo to fairness in every criminal sys-

tem inat might be imagined but is fundamental in the

con?ex . of the criminal processes maintained by the Amer-

iean cae

whether the Beetes cat uapese approached in this way the question

can impose [capital] p cones with-

see a jury trial ao a/s rent from the

dite 391 seaa at pen n. M4.

23

The required analyses under the Eighth Amendment, the

Sixth Amendment, and the Due Process Clause coalesce in this

case. As we show below, they indicate that a judge may not

override a jury’s life sentence.

B. The Objective Indicia Are That Contemporary Values

Hold A Jury’s Life Sentence Inviolate

The indicia of the nation’s judgment concerning who should

decide who dies include “history and traditional usage, legisla-

tive enactments, and jury determinations.” Woodson v. North

Carolina, 428 U.S. at 289. Together, they dramatically compel

two conclusions: (1) that juries, not judges, are best equipped

to make reliable death decisions and (2) that a jury’s decision

for life is inviolate.

Since the mid-nineteenth century, American legislatures

have decided with near unanimity that no person should be

sentenced to die without the consent of his peers. Prior to

Furman v. Georgia, “except for ur States that entirely abo-

lished capital punishment in ( ddle of the last century,

every American jurisdiction has at some time authorized jury

sentencing in capital vases.” McGautha v. California, 402 U.S.

183, 200 n. 11 (1971). The Woodson plurality traced this histo-

ry:

The inadequacy of distinguishing between murderers

solely on the basis of legislative criteria narrowing the

definition of the capital offense led the States to grant

juries sentencing discretion in capital cases. Tennessee in

1838, followed by Alabama in 1841, and Louisiana in 1846,

were the first states to abandon mandatory death sent-

ences in favor of discretionary death penalty statutes.”

» It is noteworthy that Tennessee instituted a binding life recom-

mendation by the jury in 1838, made it nonbinding in 1858, and finally

returned in 1919 to the original policy of finality which it maintains

today (see Appendix C). See also Gohlston v. State, 43 Tenn. 126 (16

Thompson), 223 =. W. 839 (1920) (noting return to binding jury mercy

power).

24

This flexibility remedied the harshness of mandatory stat-

utes by permitting the jury to respond to mitigating fac-

tors by withholding the death penalty. . . . By 1973, all of

these remaining jurisdictions had replaced their automa-

tic death penalty statutes with discretionary jury sentenc-

ing.

428 U.S. at 291-92. See also Lockett v. Ohio, 438 U.S. 586,

598-99 (1978); Bowers, Executions In America 7-9 (1974).

Thus, the majority of legislatures have made juries rather

than judges the sentencer in capital cases. A much larger

majority has determined that, when there is a jury, its decision

for life is final. Indeed, the practice of overriding a jury’s

verdict in favor of life is contrary to the overwhelming national

practice at least since 1948. At no time since 1948 have more

than three American jurisdictions authorized the rejection of a

jury’s determination for mercy in a capital case.

Out of 42 jurisdictions (including the United States) with

discretionary capital punishment for murder in 1948,” only

New York, Delaware and Utah sanctioned the practice of jury

override. By the time of Furman in 1972, only Delaware and

Utah out of 41 capital murder jurisdictions permitted jury

overrides (including the United States and the District of

Columbia); New York made a mercy decision by either the

judge or the jury binding in 1963.2

Prior to Furman death sentences after jury mercy recom-

mendations were only rarely imposed or executed. There were

*! See Andres v. United States, 383 U.S. 740, 767 (1948) (Frankfur-

ter, J., concurring). Inadvertently, Justice Frankfurter listed New

York as binding and New Mexico as nonbinding, but see New Mexico

Acts of 1989, Ch. 49 (jury recommendation of life imprisonment in

capital case binding).

= See Witherspoon v. Illinois, 391 U.S. 510, 525-527 and nn. 2-8

(1968) (Douglas, J., concurring). Both Utah and Delaware now make

life imprisonment automatic unless the jury unanimously agrees on

death. See Appendix C.

™ See People v. Fitzpatrick, 308 N.Y.S.2d 18, 22 (1970).

25

no executions in Delaware after 1949. All seven Utah execu-

tions between 1948 and 1972 involved cases where the jury

recommended death; in two other cases death sentences were

affirmed by the Utah Supreme Court after jury life recommen-

dations, but the defendants received executive clemency (see

Appendix D for Utah cases). Commentators have also ob-

served that under the pre-1963 New York law, trial judges

almost “invariably” followed jury recommendations of mercy.

See Togman, The Two-Trial System in Capital Cases, 39

N.Y.U.L. Rev. 50, 75 n. 171 (1964) (citing New York District

Attorney’s Association, Memorandum and Draft Bili (Octo-

ber 17, 1960)). Thus, at least since 1948, death sentences after

jury decisions for life have been rare in legislative practice and

rarer yet in application.

Of the 38 jurisdictions that have chosen to retain the death

penalty since Furman, 30 require a penalty jury’s consent for

death. In five of the other states, the judge alone decides

penalty. None of the jurisdictions that permitted the override

of a jury life determination in 1948 have retained such a prac-

tice. New York ended it in 1963, and Utah and Delaware now

provide for a life sentence unless all 12 jurors agree on death.

In only three states does the jury make a non-binding recom-

mendation: only Florida, Indiana and Alabama permit death

sentences after jury decisions for life (see Appendix C). As of

February 1984, only two death sentences after jury life

determinations have been imposed under the Indiana statute,

one of which has been affirmed.™ Four have been imposed

under the Alabama statute, but none have yet been affirmed.”

* The Indiana Supreme Court affirmed the jury override in Schiro

v. State, 451 N.E.2d 1047 (Ind. 1983). The second case is currently

awaiting briefing in that court, Jay Thompson v. State, Indiana

Supreme Court No. 882-S303 (Harrison County No. 81-S62, sent-

enced on March 18, 1982).

* The case of Murry v. State was affirmed on March 29, 1983 by the

Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals (3 Div. No. 604), but is pending

decision in the Alabama Supreme Court (No. 82-743). That court

requested further briefing after oral argument in Murry on the

26

With but one exception, therefore, all of the affirmances of

death sentences imposed over a jury’s life verdict since Fur-

man have been in Florida.”

The Florida practice is itself an historical anomaly. The jury

recommendation of mercy in a capital case was final from 1872

to 1972; as explained below, the present override procedure is

the result of confusion over Furman’s requirements and not of

dissatisfaction with jury discretion for mercy.”

Over the past 30 years, there has been a consistent national

judgment of near uniform scope that a jury determination of

life in a capital case must be absolutely final. Twenty-one

states now make life imprisonment automatic if even one juror

fails to agree for death (see Appendix C); some of these states

(e.g. Georgia, Louisiana, Virginia) specifically authorize the

jury to impose life regardless of the weight of the aggravating

circumstances. By requiring only a simple majority, and by

instructing the jury to return a verdict for death whenever it

finds that statutory aggravating circumstances outweigh

mitigating circumstances, the Florida practice depreciates the

jury’s role far more than the national practice has generally

found necessary or acceptable.

The degree to which states have chosen jury sentencing and

jury inviolability is dramatic. The timing also is significant.

“only after Furman v. Georgia did eight states opt for judge

sentencing. Notably, it was also after Furman that ten states

question of whether the override of a jury’s life verdict violates the

state constitution. The case of Lindsey v. State, was affirmed by the

Court of Criminal Appeals on November 1, 1983 (1 Div. No. 483) and

is awaiting briefing in the supreme court. The remaining two cases

are pending in the Court of Criminal Appeals: Neeley v. State, 7 Div.

No. 145; Jones v. State, 1 Div. No. 377.

* There have been 83 overrides in Florida. The Florida Supreme

Court has affirmed 20 of these death sentences, but of the 20 only 13

remain on Death Row. See Appendix B.

™ See § D(1), infra.

27

adopted mandatory death laws. The Woodson plurality did not

consider this development an indication of contemporary

standards, attributing it instead to an erroneous assumption

by those states that mandatory death laws were the only way

to comply with Furman’s ‘multi-opinioned decision.’ The

enactment of judge sentencing after Furman should be viewed

the same way, especially since all eight states choosing it had

for decades used juries in sentencing capital defendants.” Gil-

lers, Deciding Who Dies, 129 U. Pa.L. Rev. 1, 43-44 (1980).

The same is true for the jury override.

Evolving contemporary standards have resulted in the re-

moval of the “onus of inflicting capital punishment” from the

trial judge and entrusted the life or death decision to the

common sense judgment of the jury. United States v. Jackson,

390 U.S. 570, 576 n. 12 (1968). This involvement of the jury in

capital sentencing reflects the “reluctance to entrust plenary

power over the life . . . of the citizen to one judge or a group of

judges ...,” Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. at 156, and

evinces a recognition that capital sentencing “places the real

direction of society in the hands of the governed. . . and not in

. . . the government.” Powell, Jury Trial ef Crimes, 23 Wash.

& Lee L. Rev. 1, 5 (1966). Like the lesser included offense

charge, “while [this Court has] never held that a defendant is

entitled to [the practice] as a matter of due process, the virtual-

ly universal acceptance of the [practice] in both state and

federal courts establishes the value to the defendant of this

procedural safeguard.” Beck v. Alabama, 447 U.S. at 638.

C. Independent Judicial Judgment Confirms The Unaccepta-

bility Of The Jury Override

As noted in Coker v. Georgia, “the attitude of state legisla-

tures and sentencing juries do not wholly determine this con-

troversy, for the Constitution contemplates that in the end our

own judgment will be brought to bear on the question of the

acceptability of the death penalty under the Eighth Amend-

ment.” 433 U.S. at 598; accord Enmund v. Florida, __ U.S.

at __, 102 S.Ct. at 3376; Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. at 183.

28

Court’s independent judgment should confirm the nearly uni-

versal legislative rejection of the jury override in death cases

for several reasons.

The legislative shift from judge to jury sentencing, dis-

cussed above, occurred in response to two factors. The first

was jury nullification. When death was mandatory for speci-

fied offenses, “jurors on occasion took the law into their own

hands in cases which were willful, deliberate and premeditated

in any view of that phrase, but which nevertheless were clearly

inappropriate for the death penalty. In such cases they simply

refused to convict of the capital offense.” McGautha v. Califor-

nia, 402 U.S. at 200. See also Woodson v. North Carolina, 428

U.S. at 280-92. But there was another, more fundamental

reason for the shift: state legislatures recognized that the

nature of the death decision is different in quality from a

sentence of a term of years and that this difference requires

jury sentencing.”

** There are several indications in the patterns of legislative

determination that the life or death decision is fundamentally a jury

decision. First, if the penalty jury is unable to agree on sentence, all

but one of the thirty states that use juries require a life sentence. If

there were not a strong interest in having the jury make death

sentence decisions, one would expect more lawmakers to have given

the power to the court following jury disagreement. Second, of the

twenty-nine states that require a jury to agree before death may be

imposed, twenty-five explicitly require unanimity. Statutes in the

remaining four are not explicit, but none permit a nonunanimous jury

to impose death. Third, this pattern occurs despite Witherspoon’s

holding that scrupled jurors may not be challenged for cause from the

penalty panel and despite the consequent reduction in a state’s ability

to control the composition of the sentencing jury. After Witherspoon,

there was no movement to reduce the unanimity requirement, as a

dissenter had suggested, or to shift the penalty decision to judges.

Fourth, juries have been retained even though it is no longer‘possible

for a state to limit by operation of law the evidence the sentencer

hears in mitigation of penalty. See Gillers, supra, at 16-19. See also

appendix C.

29

Not only is death irrevocable, but the motives for its imposi-

tion differ from punishments of even life imprisonment. Reha-

bilitation, an important goal in noncapital sentencing, see Wil-

liams v. New York, 337 U.S. 241,248 (1949), is irrelevant here.

Incapacitation has never been embraced by this Court as an

objective of the death penalty, perhaps because imprisonment

serves society’s interest in removing potentially dangerous

persons from our midst. See Gillers, supra, at 47. Deterrence is

a matter of great importance to legislatures debating the death

penalty, but not to particular sentencers deliberating whether

the penalty should be imposed in a given case.” Jd. at 49-53.

Retribution stands as the primary motive impelling the sen-

tencer’s judgment that a particular defendant should die.

In Gregg v. Georgia, the Court reasoned that “capital

punishment is an expression of society’s outrage at particularly

offensive conduct” and that “the decision that capital punish-

ment may be the appropriate sanction in extreme cases is an

expression of the community’s belief that certain crimes are

themselves so grievous an affront to humanity that the only

adequate response may be the penalty of death.” 428 U.S. at

184; see also Furman, 408 U.S. at 308 (Stewart, J., con-

curring); id. at 394-95 (Burger, C.J., dissenting); id. at 452-54

(Powell, J., dissenting). The plurality quoted Lord Justice

Demming’s statement that:

Punishment is the way in which society expresses its

denunciation of wrong doing, and, in order to maintain

respect for law, it is essential that the punishment in-

flicted for grave crimes should adequately reflect the re-

vulsion felt by the great mp ed of citizens for them. It is

a mistake to consider the objects of punishment as being

deterrent or" reformative or preventive and nothing else.

. . . The truth is that some crimes are so outrageous that

society insists on adequate punishment, because the

* To decide to execute a particular defendant on the basis of gener-

al deterrence would violate the Lockett principle that death sent-

ences must be individualized. See Gillers, supra, at 47-53.

30

wrong-doer deserves it, irrespective of whether it is a

deterrent or not.

Gregg, 428 U.S. at 184 n. 30.”

The Court’s recent opinions reflect the centrality of the

retributive justification for capital punishment.

(T]his retributive justification requires that capital

punishment be imposed only on those who are deserving of

society’s ultimate sanction. See Zant v. Stephens, 51

U.S.L.W. 4891, 4895 (1983) (in order to avoid con-

stitutional invalidation, aggravating factors must “rea-

sonably justify the imposition of a more severe sentence

on the defendant compared to others found guilty of mur-

der”). Hence, the retributive nature of the capital sent-

ence is reflected in the Supreme Court’s frequently re-

ated concern . . . that the sentencer’s focus be on the

individual offender and his crime. Lockett v. Ohio, 438

U.S. 586, 602-05 (1978); Woodson v. North Carolina, 428

U.S. 280, 304 (1976). . . . The retributive justification for

capital punishment requires that the sentencing decision

turn in large part on considerations of the justice of impos-

ing death on a given offender for 3 given

crime. See Zant v. Stephens, 51 U.S.L.W. at 4895.

Tucker v. Zant, No. 83-8137, Slip op. at 4-5 (11th Cir. Jan. 20,

1984).

But if the decision whether to impose death in a particular

case is essentially a retributive judgment, who is in the best

® See also Stephen, A General View of the Criminal Law of Eng-

land 99 (2d ed. 1890); van den Haag, Punishing Criminals 12-13

(1975); Berns, For Capital Punishment, 154-55 (1979); Packer, The

Limits of the Criminal Sanction 43-44 (1968); Royal Commission on

Capital Punishment, 1949-53, € 52 (1953); Cohen, Reason and Law 50

(1950); Gardner, The Renaissance of Retribution—An Examination

of Doing Justice, 1976 Wisc. L. Rev. 781,798; Greenwalt, “Uncon-

trollable” Actions and the Eighth Amendment: Implications of

Powell v. Texas, 69 Colum.L.Rev. 927, 929 (1969); Goodhart, Eng-

lish Law and the Moral Law 98 (1953); Hart, The Aims of the

Criminal Law, 23 L. & Contemp. Soc. Prob., 401 (1958). Cf. Rich-

mond Newspapers Inc. v. Virginia, 448 U.S. 555, 572 (1980).

31

position to make that judgment, a judge or a jury? And what

should we do when judge and jury disagree?" Resolution of

both inquiries hinges on the relative reliability of the underly-

ing determination that we ask the judge or jury to make.

Because the death decision is a retributive one and because

retribution is an expression of the will of the community, a

greater degree of reliability is achieved if the representatives

of the community are heard from and followed. The kind of

*! The question is not a matter of merely theoretical importance.

The two institutions disagree over death with some frequency. As of

February 14, 1984, Florida trial judges have overridden jury ver-

dicts of life in 83 cases, although only twenty have been affirmed and

five of those were subsequently vacated on other grounds and two

inmates died by suicide. Post-Furman Death Sentences in Florida

(unpublished compilation prepared by Capital Punishment Project,

University of Florida, Department of Sociology, Michael Radelet,

Director) (copy available from counsel for petitioner) (See Appendix

B). Florida’s experience with its override makes clear that “we are

not talking about alternative routes to the same destination.” Gillers,

supra, at 68.

The choice between judge and jury may matter in other ways as

well. Two studies have concluded that Florida juries were less in-

fluenced by a capital defendant’s race and socio-economic status than

were judges:

There was no evidence that characteristics of the defendant

influenced the decisions made by the juries. However, many of

these characteristics (sex, comleatinant status, relationship to

victim, and type of attorney) were related to the final decisions

of the judges. In other words despite the juries’ unbiased recom-

mendations the judges imposed the death penalty in a manner

that was biased against males and the unemployed.

Foley, Florida After the Furman Decision: Discrimination in the

Imposition of the Death Penalty (unpublished paper at the Universi-

ty of North Florida) (copy available from counsel for petitioner)

(quoted in Gillers, supra, at 68 n. 318). See also Radelet & Vandiver,

The Florida Supreme Court & Death Penalty Appeals, 74J. Crin

L. & Criminology 401 (1963).

32

reliability discussed by the Court in cases such as Lockett

refers to the accuracy of the decision to be retributive.

The retributive nature of the death decision suggests that

the jury is best equipped to make that determination and,

when the two institutions disagree, that the errors are being

made by the judges choosing death, not the juries choosing life.

The life override is a classic example of the proposition that

“when juries differ with the result at which the judge would

have arrived, it is usually because they are serving some of the

very purposes for which they were created and for which they

are now employed.” Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. at 157

(citing Kalven and Zeisel, The American Jury (1966)). The role

of the jury in capital sentencing is to “maintain a link between

contemporary community values and the penal system” that

reflects the “evolving standards of decency that mark the

progress of a maturing society.” Witherspoon v. Illinois, 391

U.S. 510, 519 n. 15 (1968). The jury’s job is to “introduce into

the process a lay judgment, reflecting values generally held in

the community concerning the kinds of potential harms that

justify the state” in seeking a @efendant’s death. Humphrey v.

Cady, 405 U.S. 504, 509 (1972).™ That is a job that a jury can

best perform. Ss

® The role of the jury as conscience of the community is perhaps

most clear in a capital punishment scheme such as Florida’s. The

Florida Supreme Court has acknowledged repeatedly that the jury’s

decision on life or death “represent([s] the judgment of the community

as to whether the death sentence is appropriate” in a given case.

McCampbell v. State, 421 So.2d 1072, 1075 (Fla. 1982); accord

Richardson v. State, 437 So.2d 1091, 1095 (Fla. 1983) (jury is “con-

science of community”); Quince v. State, 414 So.2d 185, 187 (Fla.

1982) (quoting Jones v. State, 332 So.2d 615, 622 (Fla. 1976) (Sund-

berg, J., concurring)) (“jury represents the,conscience and mores of

the community in which the crime was committed”); Odom v. State,

403 So.2d 936, 942 (Fla. 1981) (advisory sentence “represents the

judgment of the community as to whether the death penalty is

appropriate”); McCaskill v. State, 344 So.2d 1276, 1280 (Fla. 1977)

(juries are the “conscience of our communities”).

33

It is important to note that the issue here is not “jury

nullification”, i.e., the jury’s exercise of its “power to bring ina

verdict (of acquittal] in the teeth of both law and facts.” Horn-

ing v. District of Columbia, 254 U.S. 135, 138 (1920) (opinion of

Holmes, J.). By expressing its judgment to spare the life of a

particular defendant, the jury is not “nullifying” the law it has

sworn to uphold; it is performing precisely the function for

which it was empaneled. Its very role within our capital

sentencing scheme is to bespeak community sentiment by ex-

ercising its own judgment. The jury’s response is, by defini-

tion, society's response.

It follows that juries

are more likely to accurately express community values

than are individual state trial judges. This is true because

twelve people are more likely than one person to reflect

public sentiment, because jurors are selected in a manner

enhancing that likelihood and because trial judges collec-

tively do not represent—by race, sex, or economic or

social class—the communities from which they come. The

response of a representative jury of acceptable size is

consequently taken to be the community response. The

jury does not try to determine what the community would

say, but in giving its conclusion, speaks for the communi-

ty. The judge, on the other hand, must either assess the

community's “belief” or “conscience” and impose it or

must impose his own and assume it is the community’s.

Whichever the judge does, the representative jury would

seem to have a substantially better chance of identifying

the community view simply by speaking its mind.

Gillers, supra, at 63-64.

The role of the jury as a reliable “index of contemporary

values,” Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. at 182, is summed up in the

Chief Justice's dissenting opinion in Furman. “Legislatures

prescribe the category of crimes for which the death penalty

should be available, and, acting as the ‘conscience of the com-

34

munity’ juries are entrusted to determine in individual cases

that the ultimate punishment is warranted.” 408 U.S. at 388.*

The Court’s reasoning in applying the Sixth Amendment’s

jury trial right to the states also supports the conclusion that

the jury should make the capital sentencing decision. In con-

cluding the right to jury trial is a fundamental principle of our

system of liberty and justice, the Court reasoned that “a right

to jury trial is granted to criminal defendants in order to

prevent oppression by the Government. ... Providing an

accused with the right to be tried by his peers gave him an

inestimable safeguard against the corrupt or overzealous pros-

ecutor and against the compliant, biased or eccentric judge.”

Duncan, 391 U.S. at 155-57; accord Ballew v. Georgia, 435

U.S. at 229; Williams v. Florida, 399 U.S. at 100. Thus, “ifthe

defendant preferred the commonsense judgment of a jury to

the more tutored but perhaps less sympathetic reaction of the

single judge, he was to have it. Beyond this, the jury trial

*% The retributive decision is crucial at two stages in the legal

process of deciding who dies: an inquiry into retribution plays a role

at the legislative definitional stage, when the issue is what classes of

people may be put to death, and also at the capital sentencing stage,

when the issue is who, of the class delineated by the legislature, will

be put to death. The legislature, in debating whether to have a death

penalty at all, will evaluate the possible retributive value of the

penalty. But the legislature cannot, consistent with Lockett, Wood-

son, and Gregg, make a one-time determination that the death penal-

ty does serve the interest in retribution and thereby bar the sen-

tencer from considering the matter. The capital sentencer, which,

like the legislature, must also be a medium of public attitudes toward

the death penalty, must apply those attitudes in every given case.

The sentencer in a capital case performs the crucial function of

assessing whether that case presents circumstances that, although

not enumerated in the statutes’ list of mitigating factors, neverthe-

less makes death an inappropriate penalty. Lockett’s requirements,

by demanding that a sentencer consider all mitigating circumstances

proffered, thus ensures that an individual death sentence is con-

sistent with evolving standards of decency in our culture.

35

processes in the Federal and State Constitutions reflect a

fundamental decision about the exercise of official power—the

reluctance to entrust plenary powers over the life and liberty

of the citizen to one judge or to a group of judges.” Duncan, 391

U.S. at 157.

The reasoning in Duncan makes clear that the central func-

tion of the jury as a bulwark between the accused and the state

is particularly important in death cases. The “inquiry niust

focus upon the function served by the jury in contemporary

society.” Apodaca v. Oregon, 406 U.S. 404, 411 (1972). “(TJhe

essential feature of a jury obviously lies in the interposition

between the accused and his accuser of the common-sense

judgment of a group of laymen.” Apodaca v. Oregon, 406 U.S.

at 411 (quoting Williams v. Florida, 399 U.S. at 100).

One commentator has persuasively argued that the reason-

ing of Duncan

applies with greater force to the search for reliability in

death sentencing. In death sentencing, unlike traditional

factfinding, there are no advantages to giving the.respon-

sibility to the trial judge. In factfinding, the Court has

acknowledged that a trial Judge may be more “tutored”

than a panel of lay persons, that is, more able to assess

credibility, put lawyers’ ments in perspective and

apply the law to the facts. espite these possible advan-

tages, a defendant is entitled to a jury sentence for the

reasons given in Duncan and Williams. The sole function

of the capital sentencing tribunal is to place the offender

and the offense on the scale of the community desire for

retribution. Adjusting this delicate balance gains nothing

from the trial judge’s expertise in finding facts and apply-

ing law, but would profit from the “common-serise Judg-

ment” and “community participation” of a representative

jury of adequate size.

‘

Duncan also provided “negative” reasons for imposing a

right to jury trial on the states. It told us that judges can

be “compliant, biased or eccentric.” These risks do not

disappear at death sentence roceedings. Furthermore,

Duncan’s reference to the “fear of unchecked power,”

a

36

which has made us “reluctant” to give “a group of judges”

complete control over factfinding where “life and liberty”

are at stake, holds axouedively at capital sentencing,

where life, death and the community wil! must be recon-

ciled. In short, the dangers that Duncan saw in judicial

control of guilt determination speak clearly to Lockett’s

wish for reliability in death sentencing.

Gillers, supra, at 66-67.

The Court has often considered the weight of scholarly au-

thority in evaluating procedures concerning jury and death

penalty practices. See, e.g., Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. at

189-95. The consensus among scholars is that a jury’s verdict

for life should be binding. Although the Proffitt plurality cited

sources to show that trial judges can play a useful role in capital

sentencing, 428 U.S. at 252 n.10, a survey of the literature

reveals considerable agreement that jury participation is high-

ly desirable, if not mandated, in capital sentencing.* Beth

sources cited by the Court in Proffitt note with approval the

prevailing practice of requiring a jury’s consent for death sent-

ences but leaving noncapital sentencing to experienced judges

alone.* Several additional sources, including the Model Penal

4 See Liebman and Shepard, Guiding Capital Sentencing Discre-

tion Beyond the “Boiler Plate:” Mental Disorder as a Mitigating

Factor, 66 Geo.L.J. 757, 819 n.273 (1978) (jury is appropriate, if not

constitutionally mandated, capital sentencing forum); Manneheim,

The Capital Punishment Cases: A Criticism of Judicial Method, 12

Loy.L.Rev. 85, 107-108, 131 (1978) (suggests requirement of jury

consent for death in penalty phase under the Constitution); Gillers,

Deciding Who Dies, 129 U. Penn. L. Rev. 1, 39-74 (1980) (jury consent

for death constitutionally required).

% See American Bar Association Project on Standards for Criminal

Sentencing, Sentencing Alternatives and Procedures, § 1.1,

Commentary 47-48 (Approved Draft 1968) (giving reasons for requir-

ing jury consent for death penalty); President’s Commission on Law

Enforcement and Administration of Justice: The Challenge of Crime

in a Free Society Task Force Report, The Courts 26 (capital jury

discretion generally accepted, but noncapital jury sentencing unde-

sirable).

37

Code, endorse a system where the trial judge is the final

sentencer but where an advisory jury’s recommendation for

life is binding.* One commentator, who compared several post-

Furmar systems, generally endorsed Florida’s statute and

case law but disapproved of the tension created between judge

and jury when a jury’s decision for life can be disregarded.”

Even severe critics of noncapital jury sentencing have advo-

cated the jury’s power to reject the death penalt®.*

D. The Countervailing Considerations Are Insufficient To

Justify The Override Procedure

Petitioner’s position may be challenged on three grounds.

First, Florida may have a compelling need for employing this

unique procedural device. Second, there is the potentia! prob-

lem of jury nullification. Third, as the Court suggested in

Proffitt v. Florida, judges’ professional training and experi-

ence may make them better capital sentencers. As shown

below, none of these countervailing considerations justify the

override procedure.

> American Law Institute, Model Penal Code 210.6 and

Commentary at 133 (Prop.Off.Draft 1962); Togman, supra, 39

N.Y.U.L. Rev. at 53; Wollan, The Death Penaity After Furman,

1974 Crim. Justice Systems Rev. 213, 230; Symposium on Capital

Punishment, 7 N.Y.L. Forum 249, 313 (1961) (opinion of Prof. Louis

B. Schwartz); Comment, Jury Discretion and the Unitary Trial

Procedure in Capital Cases, 26 Ark.L.Rev. 33, 52-53 (1972).

7 Shipiro, First Degree Murder Statutes and Capital Sentencing

Procedures: An Analysis and Comparison of Statutory Systems for

the Imposition of the Death Penalty in Georgia, Florida, Texas and

Louisiana, 24 Loy.L.Rev. 709, 736, 743-747 (1978).

% See, e.g., Note, Jury Sentencing in Virginia, 53 Va.L.Rev. 968,

969 (1967); Rubin, The Law of Criminal Correction 375 (1973).

LaFont, Assessment of Punishment—A Judge or Jury Function, 38

Texas L.Rev. 834, 838 (1960): Report of ithe Royal Commission on

Capital Punishment, 1949-1953, © 571.

1. Florida did not have a compelling reason for the over-

ride procedure

Florida’s override in favor of death is based on no judgment,

legislative or judicial, that such a procedure serves an impor-

tant state interest. Rather, the override’s only justification

was the state’s misapprehension that this device is required by

Furman. Furman “{pjredictably engendered confusion as to

what was required in order to impose the death penalty in

accord with the Eighth Amendment.” Lockett v. Ohio, 438

U.S. at 600. Like the procedures at issue in Woodson and Beck,

Florida’s override was passed in “direct response to Furman,”

438 U.S. at 600 n.7, and was a misguided attempt to “retain the

death penalty in a form consistent with the Constitution.”

Woodson, 428 U.S. at 298.

In 1872, Florida entrusted its juries with the decision on

death. There it remained until Furman in 1972. At the time of

Furman, Florida was in the process of amending its 1872 law.

Furman intervened and generated much confusion within the

Florida political system.** The two houses of the Florida

legislature divided sharply on the proper response to Furman.

The Florida Senate believed that Furman required jury con-

sideration of statutorily enumerated aggravating and mitigat-

ing circumstances. The jury would then, by majority vote,

render an advisory opinion of whether death should be im-

posed; a verdict for life would be binding but a verdict for death

advisory. See Ehrhardt and Levinson, F'lorida’s Legislative

Response to Furman: An Exercise in Futility? 64J. Crim. L.

* The Florida legislature responded to Furman by enacting its

new statute in a matter of days at a Special Session in December

1972. The act was approved by the Governor on December 8 and took

effect immediately. Florida thus became the first state to enact a

post-Furman death penalty statute. See Note, Florida’s Legislative

and Judicial Responses to Furman v. Georgia: An-Analysis and

Criticism, 2 Fla.St.L.Rev. 108, 126 (1974); see also Radelet and

Vandiver, The Florida Supreme Court and Death Penalty Appeals,

74 J. Crim. L. and Criminology 401, 402 (1988).

39

and Criminology 10, 15 (1973). The Governor, Attorney Gener-

al and State House of Representatives, however, read Fur-

man differently. According to the House bill, the jury would be

excluded from the penalty phase altogether. See Ehrhardt &

Levinson, supra, at 15.

The resulting statute, formulated by a conference commit-

tee, was a compromise between the House bill and the Senate’s

proposal:

Because neither the House nor the Senate would retreat

from its stance on the procedure and composition of the

sentencing proceeding contained in the bill passed by

each, aconference committee was necessary to resolve the

differences. The statute finally approved is a hybrid: in

return for the House’s approval of a judge and jury

sentencing procedure, the Senate abandoned its in-

sistence that the jury have a determinative role in

sentencing in capital cases. While the statute retains the

Senate’s philosophy that the jury should participate in the

sentencing process, the jury now has the authority only to

give an advisory sentence which can then be rejected by

the trial judge if his findings regarding mitigating and

aggravating circumstances Justifv such action.

Ehrhardt & Levinson, supra at 16.

The Florida Supreme Court’s approval of the override has

been based on the same misconception of Furman’s require-

ments. In the decision below the Supreme Court of Florida said

that “allowing the jury’s recommendation to be binding would

violate Furman.” Spaziano v. State, 433 So.2d 508, 512 (Fla.

1983); JA 49; accord Johnson v. State, 393 So.2d 1069, 1074

(Fla. 1981); Douglas v. State, 373 So.2d 895, 897 (Fla. 1979).

But “[njothing in any of our cases suggests that the decision to

afforc an individual defendant mercy violates the Constitu-

tion.” Gregg, 428 U.S. at 199. Furman invalidated the prior

capital sentencing schemes because they gave the sentencer

unbridled discretion to impose death,” not because it gave the

jury discretion to extend mercy.

* See Anderson v. Florida, 408 U.S. 938 (1972); Pitts v. Wain-

wright, 408 U.S. 491 (1972); Boykin v. Florida, 408 U.S. 940 (i972):

40

The legislative history and judicial construction of the over-

ride show that the state’s decision to employ this curious pro-

cedural device was made solely” in an attempt to “retain the

death penalty in a form consistent with the Constitution,”

Woodson, 428 U.S. at 298, rather than a legislative judgment

that judges will render more reliable capital sentences. The

Florida legislature, confronted with Furman’s statement that

unbridled jury discretion violated the Cons. tution and

McGautha’s statement that the formulation of standards to

guide juries was impossible, reasonably believed that its over-

ride was constitutionally required.

2. Jury nullification is not a factor

Jury nullification occurs when a jury acts to acquit a defend-

ant whom an omniscient observer would say was guilty beyond

Brown v. Florida, 408 U.S. 938 (1972); Hawkins v. Wainwright, 408

U.S. 941 (1972); Johnson v. Florida, 408 U.S. 939 (1972); Paramore

v. Florida, 408 U.S. 935 (1972); Thomas v. Florida, 408 U.S. 935

(1972); Williams v. Wainwright, 408 U.S. 941 (1972); Anderson v.

State, 267 So.2d 8 (Fla.1972); Chaney v. State, 267 So.2d 65

(Fla.1972); Reed v. State, 267 So.2d 70 (Fla.1972); In re Baker, 267

So.2d 331 (Fla. 1972); Newman v. Wainwright, 464 F.2d 615 (5th Cir.

1972); Adderly v. Wainwright, 272 F.Supp. 530 (M.D. Fla. 1972).

" Tronically, in State v. Dixon, 283 So.2d 1 (Fla. 1973), the seminal

case in which the Florida Supreme Court held its death penalty

constitutional, the court justified the override in this way:

The third step added to the process of prosecution for capital

crimes is that the trial judge actually determines the sentence to

be 5 ge by, but not bound by, the findings of the

jury. To a layman, no capital crime might appear to be bee than

einous, but a trial judge with experience in the facts of criminal-

ity possesses the requisite knowledge to balance the facts of the

case against the standard criminal activity which can only be

developed by involvement with the trials of numerous defend-

ants. Thus the inflamed emotions of jurors can no longer sent-

ence a man to die; the sentence is viewed in the light of judicial

experience.

Id. at 8.

41

a reasonable doubt; the jury nullifies the law, and a factually

“guilty” defendant is acquitted. But the decision on death is

quite different:

Jury nullification, of course, goes to the question of

whether a defendant will, on the one hand, be found guilty

and be punished according to the strict dictates of the law,

or, on the other, be forever free from any legal con-

sequences of his criminal act. By marked contrast, whena

jury declines to impose the death penalty upon one already

convicted of a capital crime, the jury’s exercise of commu-

nity conscience and norms ordinarily will not result in the

defendant being set free. In Mississippi, for example, the

i y's sentencing alternatives for a capital offense are

imited solely to capital punishment and life imprison-

ment.

Washington v. Watkins, 655 F.2d 1346, 1374 n.54 (5th Cir.

1981). In short, jury nullification results in the release of a

“guilty” person. In Florida a binding life verdict would mean

that the defendant will be incapacitated for a minimum of 25

years without parole.

More fundamentally, as discussed above, the jury, by

reflecting the mores and values of the community in deciding

who should die, is following the law. In a capital sentencing

scheme such as Florida’s, the jury’s primary role is to place the

defendant and his crime on the yardstick of community out-

rage.

3. The insufficiency of judicial expertise in capital

sentencing

One may accept the general proposition that jury sentencing

is required to ascertain the “conscience of the community” and

till argue that judicial sentencing is needed to foster con-

istency among cases. In Proffitt v. Florida, the Court ob-

served that “judicial sentencing should lead to greater con-

sistency. . . since a trial judge is more experienced in sentenc-

ing than a jury, and therefore is better able to impose sent-

ences similar to those imposed in analogous cases.” 428 U.S. at

252. But while judges may bring a variety of professional skills

42

to sentencing, those skills cannot substitute for ajury sitting as

the “peers” of the accused.

Noncapital sentencing involves factors and considerations

better understood by judges. For example, lay jurors would

probably not be aware of the availability of rehabilitative re-

sources in the jurisdiction, conditions in the prisons, the likeli-

hood of recidivism for the given offense, or the competence of

local parole officials. “Most of these sentencing considerations

do not arise in the death penalty decision, and so the judge’s

greater knowledge and ex erience are not called upon.” Gil-

lers, supra at 57. But more importantly, “there is no way fora

judge to equal what ajury can best bring to the capital sentenc-

ing process—the community’s view.” Jd. at 57-58. This is the

key to the retribution inquiry, and here it is the jury, morethan

the judge, that has the “expertise.”

The concern with “individualization” expressed in Lockett

and Eddings also renders questionable the theoretical rele-

vance of “analogous” cases at the sentencing stage. Lockett

emphasizes the differences between people, their “unique-

ness,” 438 U.S. at 605, when it comes to capital sentencing.

Judges, moreover, may not have expertise that would in fact

materially promote consistency in capital sentencing. What-

ever expertise judges may have in noncapital sentencing is

derived from their substantial experience in performing that

function. But capital cases in any one jurisdiction are reiatively

rare; the actual number of capital cases that any one judge may

sit on will be yet smaller. Thus, the ordinary predicates that

provide expertise and thus greater consistency in

sentencing—frequency and experience—are lacking in capital

sentencing.

Moreover, judicial sentencing itself has been criticized for its

high degree of inconsistency; the recent trend is to replace the

discretion of sentencing judges with specific guidelines and

more limited options for terms of imprisonment. See generally

ABA Minimum Standards in Sentencing § 3. l\et seq.; Hoffman

& Meierhober, Application of Guidelines of Sentencing, 3 L.

43

and Psyh. Rev. 53 (1977); Partridge & Eldridge, The Second

Circuit Sentencing Study: A Report to the Judges of the Second

Circuit (Wash. D.C., Federal Judicial Center 1974); Fla. R.

Crim. P. 3.701, 3.988. To the extent similar defendants will be

sentenced by different trial judges, the judges will predictably

apply different standards in capital cases just as they do now in

noncapital cases.

Finally, it might be argued that a capital sentencing

determination is more than simply a decision regarding

retribution. The sentencer also makes findings of facts, and

judges may have greater expertise in factfinding that justifies

the corrective device of jury override. But such an argument

would squarely conflict with Bullington v. Missouri, 451 U.S.

430 (1981).

Robert Bullington was initially sentenced by a jury to life

imprisonment; following reversal of his sentence by the state

appellate court, the prosecutor attempted to again seek the

death penalty. The Court held that because the first proceed-

ing resembled a trial on guilt or innocence and because the

state had involved a jury in that proceeding, the jury’s

determination for life was an “acquittal” for double jeopardy

purposes. Although prior cases had declined to extend double

jeopardy protections to sentencing, the similarity of the pro-

cedural structure of capital sentencing to those found at a trial

on guilt or innocence mandated a different conclusion. 451 U.S.

at 439.

Every major feature of the Missouri penalty trial relied on in

Bullington is also present under the Florida procedure: the

clear-cut choice between only two sentencing alternatives; the

requirement that the jury base its choice upon the evidence,

guided by detailed legal standards; the requirement that the

state prove the proffered aggravating circumstances beyond a

reasonable doubt; the presentation of evidence by both sides;

opening and closing arguments by counsel; jury deliberations;

and a formal verdict. Compare Bullington, 451 U.S. at 438 &n.

10, with § 921.141(1) & (2), Florida Statutes; Florida Rule of

+4

Criminal Procedure 3.780; State v. Dixon, 283 So.2d 1, 9 (Fla.

1973).

The chief distinction between Bullington and the Florida

procedure is that a Missouri jury’s life decision is made binding

by statute while a Florida’s jury verdict for life imprisonment

is denominated “advisory.” But the language and reasoning of

Bullington suggest that this distinction cannot control. Under

Florida law, the state is required to present its factual case on

sentencing in a jury proceeding that has all the indicia of a trial.

But if it fails, it gets a second bite at the apple before the judge;

indeed, it is free to adduce additional information in the form of

a pre-sentence report, as occurred in this case. But cf. Presnell

v. Georgia, 439 U.S. 14 (1978). “By enacting a capital sentenc-

ing procedure that resembles a trial on the issue of guilt or

innocence, however, [Florida] explicitly requires the jury to

determine whether the prosecution has ‘proved’ its case.’ ”

Bullington, 451 U.S. at 444 (emphasis in original); see

§ 921.141(2) & (3), Florida Statutes.

The mitigating and aggravating circumstances listed in the

Florida statute are questions of fact. See Ford v. Strickland,

696 F.2d 804, 876 (11th Cir. 1983) (Anderson, J., dissenting).

Whether a crime was committed for pecuniary gain: whether a

defendant was under sentence of imprisonment; whether a

defendant was previously convicted of a felony; whether a

defendant knowingly created a risk of death to many persons;

whether a defendant has a significant history of prior criminal

activity; whether the capital feluny was committed while the

defendant was under the influence of extreme mental or emo-

tional distress; or whether the defendant’s capacity to appreci-

ate the criminality of or to control his conduct was impaired.

These are all facts, and indeed are facts similar to factfindings

traditionally made by juries at trials on guilt. The life or death

decision depends on the existence or nonexistence of these

facts. Bullington requires that a jury’s findings of these facts

must be deemed final.

In summary, the jury override procedure is constitutionally

unacceptable. To the extent that the death decision is a deci-

45

sion whether to be retributive, the jury’s verdict for life should

be final. To the extent that the death decision involves findings

of fact, Bullington mandates that the jury’s findings cannot be

overridden.

Ill

THE FLORIDA STANDARDS FOR THE OVERRIDE OF A

JURY’S LIFE VERDICT ARE APPLIED IN A MANNER

THAT DISCOUNTS THE JURY’S CONSIDERATION OF

MITIGATING FACTORS AND THAT IS SO BROAD AND

VAGUE AS TO VIOLATE THE CONSTITUTIONAL

REQUIREMENT OF RELIABILITY IN THE

DETERMINATION THAT DEATH IS THE APPROPRIATE

PUNISHMENT IN A PARTICULAR CASE.

Petitioner’s death sentence was the result of pincer-like

constraints on the jury’s ability to exercise its decision-making

power in a reasonable and rational manner. On one hand, the

jury was deprived of the ability accurately to gauge the weight

of the evidence against petitioner because of the failure to

charge the lesser included offenses. On the other hand, the

jury’s apparent attempt to proportion its verdict to petitioner’s

culpability at the sentencing phase was overridden by the

judge.

Separately and together, these errors violated the Constitu-

tion. Together, they deprived this sentencing decision of any

semblance of the reliability required by the Constitution. See

Zant v. Stephens, ___ U.S. at ___, 108 S.Ct. at 2747. As set

out in Point I, the failure to charge the lesser included offenses

created the same risk of unreliability in the guilt determination

that the Court found unacceptable in Beck v. Alabama, supra.

As shown below, the application of the Florida override stand-

ards intensified this risk at the penalty phase, in viclation of

established constitutional requirements.

As articulated in Tedder v. State, 322 So.2d 908 (Fla. 1975),

the Florida override standard focuses only on the reasons for

imposing death: that “the facts suggesting a sentence of death

should be so clear and convincing that Virtually no reasonable

46

person could differ... .” /d. at 910 (emphasis added). But the

Constitution requires that the jury be entitled to weigh mat-

ters reasonably relevant to mitigation. A jury override stand-

ard that does not take that weighing into account is con-

stitutionally infirm under Lockett, 438 U.S. at 601 (quoting

Woodson v. North Carolina, 428 U.S. 280, 304 (1976

Consider the application of the Tedder standard in this case:

The Florida Supreme Court found that “the facts suggesting

that the death sentence be i imposed over the jury’s rec: ommen-

dation of life . . . meets the clear and convincing t test...” of

Tedder. 433 So. 2d at 511; JA 48. But the jury’s determination

cannot be overridden solely on the basis of “the facts suggest-

ing that the death sentence be imposed,” id.. when “(a} jury

must be allowed to consider on the basis of all relevant evidence

not only why a death sentence should be imposed, but also why

it should not be imposed.” Jurek v. Texas, 428 U.S. 262, 27

(1976).

The weakness of the evidence against petitioner, particular-

ly with regard to the critical questions of culpability—i.e., the

degree of his involvement and the level! of his intent

relevant factor that the jury can consider as a reason “why [ the

death penalty) should not be imposed.” Jd.“ See California v.

Ramos, —— U.S. ——, 108 S.Ct. 3446, 3456 (1983) (“the jury

. ls free to consider a myriad of factors to determine whether

death is the appropriate punishment”). This is particularly

true in this case, where the jury was not allowed to resolve at

the guilt phase any reasonable doubts that it may have had

about the degree of petitioner’s culpability.

“See American Law Institute, Mode] Penal Code § 201.6.1"f

(Proposed Official Draft 1962) (quoted in McGautha vy. California,

402 U.S. at 223); Royal Commission on Capital Punishment 1949-53

€ 39, p.12 (1953); Blankenship v. State, {08 S.E.2d 369, 371 (Ga.

1983); Smith v. Balkcom, 660 F.2d 573, 580-81 (Sth Cir. 1981),

modified, 671 F.2d 858 (Sth Cir. 1982). Cf. Green v. Georgia, 442 U.S

95, 98 (1979).

47

It is not a sufficient answer to say that whatever mitigating

concerns the jury may have had were outweighed by the

strength of the aggravating factors. First, the Florida Su-

preme Court made no finding concerning the relative weight of

the aggravating and mitigating factors in this case. Rather, it

affirmed the override because the aggravating factors alone

were “clear and convincing.” Spaziano, 433 So.2d at 511; JA

48. Thus, half of what the jury was to weigh was reevaluated by

the Florida Supreme Court, the other half was ignored. But

even if the Florida Supreme Court had reweighed the

aggravating and mitigating factors, that would not have beena

sufficient basis to override the jury’s verdict. The Florida

statute requires “separate determinations,” first, that at least

one statutory aggravating circumstance exists beyond a

reasonable doubt, second, “that the existing statutory

aggravating circumstances are not outweighed by statutory

mitigating circumstances” and third, “that death is the appro-

priate penalty... .” Barclay, ___ U.S. at , 103 S.Ct. at

3430 (Stevens & Powell, JJ., concurring). It is “entirely possi-

ble” that the sentencer might “yet feel that a comparison of the

totality of the aggravating factors with the totality of the

mitigating factors leaves it in doubt as to the proper penalty.”

Smith v. North Carolina, _— U.S. —~, 103 S.Ct. 474,

474-75 (1982) (Stevens, J., opinion respecting the denial of

certiorari). The record indicates that this jury had few doubts

about the proper penalty; it returned a life sentence after only

brief deliberation. By ignoring the jury’s reasonable mitigat-

ing concerns, the override failed to “assure[ ] reliability in the

determination that ‘death is the appropriate punishment in

[the] specific case.’ ” Jd. (quoting Lockett, 438 U.S. at 601).

Perhaps at first blush, the Tedder standard may seem simi-

lar to that for a directed verdict or a judgment notwithstanding

the verdict. See Fed. R.Civ.P. 50; but compare Fed.R. Crim.P.

29c) (providing for motion for judgment of acquittal only). But

it is not. The standard for a judgment notwithstanding the

verdict is whether a jury could reasonably have decided as it

did, given the evidence before it and the logical inferences

4s

arising from that evidence. The life or death decision is differ-

ent because it is not exclusively a factual question. This jury

answered “no” to the constitutionally relevant question:

whether the defendant deserves to die, a determination

properly informed by the values and mores of the community

as best expressed by the jury’s verdict. Yet, Florida permitted

the verdict to be overridden without consideration of the

reasonableness of that determination, simply on the basis of

the aggravating facts alone.

If an override of a jury’s life verdict is ever constitutional, it

may only be pursuant to a standard which recognizes—as

Florida has done in its recent cases—“that a jury’s advisory

opinion is entitled to great weight, reflecting as it does the

conscience of the community, and should not be overruled

unless no reasonable basis exists for the opinion.” Richardson

v. State, 437 So.2d 1091, 1095 (Fla. 1983). This standard gives

full weight both to the jury’s consideration of mitigating fac-

tors and to its assessment of the appropriateness of the death

penalty in light of contemporary community values.

The Richardson standard, moreover, highlights another

constitutional infirmity of Tedder as applied in this case: “[I]fa

State wishes to authorize capital punishment it has a con-

stitutional responsibility to tailor and apply its law in a manner

that avoids the arbitrary and capricious infliction of the death

penalty... .” Godfrey v. Georgia, 446 U.S. 420, 428 (1980). A

finding that “virtually no reasonabie person could differ” with

the imposition of the death penalty in a given case, Tedder, 332

So.2d at 910, is inherently subjective and unreliable.

“(Reasonable persons can differ over the fate of every crimi-

nal defendant in every death penalty case.” Spinkellink v.

Wainwright, 578 F.2d 582, 605 (5th Cir. 1978). In every jury

override case a judge and a jury of twelve men and women have

in fact disagreed on the appropriateness of the death penalty.

And in more than half of the cases in which the Florida Su-

preme Court has affirmed a trial judge’s override of a jury life

49

verdict, at least one Justice has dissented.* And in almost

every one of those cases there was at least one plausible

mitigating circumstance.*

* The Florida Supreme Court has approved overrides in twenty

cases. Thirteen of these cases contained dissents. See Heiney v.

State, ___ So. 2d ,9Fla. L. Week. 54, 57-8 (Fla. 1984) (Boyd and

McDonald, J.J., dissenting); Lusk v. State, ___ So.2d ___., 9 Fla. L.

Week. 39, 41 (Fla. 1984) (Overton and McDonald, J.J., dissenting);

Stevens v. State, 419 So.2d 1058, 1065 (Fla.1982) (McDonald and

Overton, J.J., dissenting); Miller v. State, 415 So.2d 1262, 1264 (Fla.

1982) (McDonald and Overten, J.J., dissenting); Buford v. State, 403

So.2d 943, 954 (Fla.1981) (England, J., dissenting); Zeigler v. State,

402 So.2d 365, 377 (Fla.1981) (Sundberg and England, J.J., dis-

senting); Johnson v. State, 393 So.2d 1069, 1075-76 (Fla.1981)

(McDonald and Overton, J.J., dissenting); Hoy v. State, 353 So.2d

826, 833 (Fla.1978) (England, J., dissenting); Barclay v. State, 343

So.2d 1266, 1272 (Fla. 1977) (Hatchett, J., dissenting); Dobbert v.

State, 328 So.2d 433, 444 (Fla. 1976) (England, J., dissenting); Doug-

las v. State, 328 So.2d 18, 22 (Fla. 1976) (England, J., dissenting);

Sawyer v. State, 313 So.2d 680, 682 (Fla. 1975) (Ervin, J., dis-

senting); Gardner v. State, 313 So.2d 675, 677 (Fla. 1975) (Ervin, J.,

dissenting).

#4 See Lusk v. State, So.2d __, 9 Fla. L. Week. 39, 41 (Fla.

1984) (Overton, J., dissenting) (“The jury could have reasonably

believed the appellant’s testimony that he had been threatened by

the victim and feared for his life”); Heiney v. State, So.24 ......., 9

Fla. L. Week. 54 (Fla. 1984), Brief of Appellant at 59-61 (doubt about

guilt); Routly v. State, 440 So.2d 1257. (Fla. 1983) (domestic di‘ficul-

ties; girlfriend left defendant and spent the night with victim: possi-

ble mitigating circumstances of age of defendant, lack of significant

criminal activity and extreme emotional disturbance); Porter v.

State, 429 So.2d 293, 296 (Fla.1983) (possible mitigating circum-

stances of age, lack of significant history of prior criminal activity and

employment history); Bolender v. State, 422 So.2d 833, 837

(Fla.1982) (disparity between sentences received by defendant and

codefendant; weakness of evidence of guilt, which was based on

testimony of codefendant); Stevens v. State, 419 So.2d 1058, 1065

(Fla. 1982) (McDonald, J., dissenting) (“the jury could have con-

50

In reversing the death sentence in Godfrey, the Court looked

to other Georgia cases on the same point and concluded that a

properly limiting standard had been applied in those cases but

cluded that Stevens participated in the robbery and rape but that

[the codefendant] was the sole perpetrator of the homicide”); Miller

v. State, 415 So.2d 1262, 1264 (Fla. 1982) (McDonald, J., dissenting)

(the homicide was “the combination of a drug and alcchol infested

party;” “a psychologist testified that Miller has a weak ego, that he is

a ‘follower,’ that he is whatever his environment may be around him

...”); Buford v. State, 403 So.2d 943, 953 (Fla.1981) (doubt about

guilt); Zeigler v. State, 402 So.2d 365, 376 (Fla. 1981) (“The evidence

establishes .. . the defendant has no significant history of prior

criminal activity”); White v. State, 403 So.2d 331, 339, 340 (Fla. 1981)

(defendant was an accomplice in the capital felony committed by

another and his participation was relatively minor); Johnson v. State,

393 So.2d 1069, 1075 (Fla. 1981) (Sundberg, J., dissenting) (“There is

nothing about the actual homicide itself to set it apart from the norm

of murders—a single gunshot to the chest with death ensuing instant-

ly and. . . the fussilade of pistol shots was initiated by the victim”);

id. at 1076 (McDonald, J., dissenting) (“The victim initiated the

shooting. . . . The testimony of the psychologist could lead one to

believe that the defendant’s apparent malevolent act against the

victim was in fact an unexplained reaction to being fired at”); McC rae

v. State, 395 So.2d 1145, 1154-55 (Fla.1981) (doctor testified that

defendant was under the influence of extreme mental or emotional

disturbance at the time the crimes were committed); Dobbert v.

State, 375 So.2d 1069, 1070-71 (Fla.1979) (defendant subjected to

childhood child abuse and period of mental stress preceeding the

homicide); Dobbert v. State, 328 So.2d 433, 444 n.* (Fla. 1976) (Eng

land, J., dissenting) (“by imposing and discussing the basis for co..-

secutive sentences the tria: judge anticipated the possibility that

reasonable people might differ with him”), Hoy v. State, 353 So.2d

826, 833 (Fla. 1978) (sentencing judge found the defendant's age and

lack of prior criminal activity to be mitigating factors) (Governor

subsequently commuted sentence to life); Barclay v. State, 343 So.2d

1266, 1271 (Fla. 1977) (age; minor involvement); Douglas v. State,

328 So.2d 18 (Fla. 1976) (bizarre love triangle; wife and defendant had

previous relationship and lived together for ten days after murder of

51

not in the case before it. 446 U.S. at 429-33. An analysis of the

Florida Supreme Court’s override decisions leads to a similar

conclusion. In a host of override cases, the Florida Supreme

Court has applied the more objective “reasonable basis” test.

For example, in McCampbell v. State, 421 So.2d 1072 (Fla.

1982), the Florida court conducted “an objective review of the

record” and found “that the action of the jury was reasonable.”

Id. at 175-76. It held that the jury could have found any of four

nonstatutory mitigating circumstances and, in addition, could

have considered the disposition of the codefendant’s case as

reflecting on appropriateness of the death penalty for

McCampbell. Jd. Accord Herzog v. State, 439 So.2d 1372 (Fla.

1983) (although judge found no statutory mitigating circum-

stances, there were nonstatutory mitigating factors including

disposition of codefendant’s case).

Similarly, in Cannady v. State, 427 So.2d 723 (Fla. 1983),

the court found that “the jury may have given more credence

to” certain testimony supporting statutory mitigating circum-

stances and that, therefore, “there is a reasonable basis for the

jury s recommendation of life sentence.” Jd. at 731. This stand-

ard was applied to disapprove overrides in numerous other

cases. See, e.g., Richardson, 437 So.2d at 1095; Hawking v.

State, 436 So.2d 44 (Fla. 1983); Washington v. State, 432 So.2d

44 (Fla. 1983); Norris v. State, 429 So.2d 688 (Fla. 1983).

Thus, although the Florida court has an objective standard

that is capable of application in a meaningfulmanner to avoid

arbitrariness in the override of jury life verdicts, it was not

applied in petitioner’s case. Had it been, the override could not

have been affirmed. For as previously discussed, there was a

reasonable basis for the jury’s life verdict: the weakness of the

husband); Sawyer v. State, 313 So.2d 680, 680-81 (Fla. 1975) (uninten-

tional killing in the course of a robbery to support a $200 a day heroin

habit) (sentence subsequently commuted to life); Gardner v. State,

313 So.2d 675 (Fla. 1975) (husband murders wife after drinking spree

in context of alcoholism and marital tension).

52

evidence regarding petitioner’s culpability. The Florida Su-

preme Court has expressly validated such concerns in

McCampbell and Herzog, where it held that the jury life ver-

dict could reasonably have been based on consideration of the

disposition of the codefendant’s case. But compare Davis v.

State, 90 So.2d at 632 (“the ultimate verdict at least suggests to

us that the jury itself was in doubt [about guilt] and therefore

reluctant to impose the supreme penalty. ... This was, of

course, within the orbit of their authority as jurors”); Nims v.

State, 70 So. at 566 (same), with Buford v. State, 403 So.2d 943,

953 (Fla. 1981) (“A defendant cannot be a ‘little bit guilty’ ”).

The record strongly supports the conclusion that this was

both the basis of the jury’s verdict and the source of its dis-

agreement wi.h the judge. Unable to consider the “third op-

tion,” the jury agonized over its verdict at the guilt phase. But

the deliberations on sentence were short. The defense attor-

ney specifically argued the weakness of the evidence as a

reason for a life verdict, placing this consideration before the

jury (TS 16-17). But the judge attempted to remove this factor

from the jury’s consideration, cutting off counsel’s argument as

allegedly improper (TS 18). This strongly suggests that the

judge’s subsequent disagreement with the jury and imposition

of the death sentence was based at least in part on his failure to

consider this factor.

Finally, the override in this case cannot be justified on the

basis of “the prior conviction of a violent felony which the jury

did not have an opportunity to consider. . .,” Spaziano, 433

So.2d at 511; JA 48, for several reasons. First, it was the trial

judge who held the prior conviction inadmissible at the penalty

phase, thus keeping it from the jury. Second, to approve the

override on this basis contravenes the very values that in-

validated the sentence in Bullington. See discussion supra,

Point II, at 43-44. Allowing a judge to consider in aggravation

materials not before the jury would encourage prosecutors to

“sandbag” defendants by holding back certain evidence in case

the jury returned an advisory verdict of life with the hope of

using it to persuade the judge to overrule the jury. Such tactics

by defense lawyers have, in recent years, increasingly drawn

the Court’s ire. The Constitution “cannot condone a proceeding

which, even subtly, detracts from comprehensive considera-

tion of the aggravating and mitigating factors [by the jury]

after all parties have agreed on the appropriate evidence to be

considered.” Richardson, 437 So.2d at 1095. In Richardson,

the trial judge had overridden the jury’s life recommendation

because the jury “did not have the benefit of all of the evi-

dence.” /d. at 1095. The Florida Supreme Court reversed the

trial judge’s override, because it could not “countenance the

derrogation of the jury’s role implicit in these comments.” /d.;

cf. Messer v. State, 330 So.2d 137 (Fla. 1976) (rejecting trial

judge’s reasoning that he could consider mitigating evidence

not available to jury before actually imposing sentence); Miller

v. State, 332 So.2d 65 (Fla. 1976) (same). But see, Engle v.

State, 438 So.2d 803 (Fla. 1983); Porter v. State, 429 So.2d 293,

296 (Fla. 1983); Smith v. State, 403 So.2d 933, 935 (Fla. 1981);

White v. State, 403 So.2d 331, 339-40 (Fla. 1981); Brown v.

State, 367 So.2d 616, 625 (Fla. 1979).

The override of the jury’s verdict in this case was based ona

standard that cannot be squared with the Constitution. It

impermissibly denigrated the jury’s function. It unconstitu-

tionally discounted relevant mitigating considerations that

could reasonably have formed the basis of the jury’s

determination that death was not an appropriate punishment

4

in this case. And it is so vague and subjective, particularly

when compared to the standard applied in other Florida cases,

that the override in this case is wholly arbitrary.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment below should be

reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

RICHARD L. JORANDBY

Public Defender

224 Datura Street/13th Floor

West Palm Beach, Florida 33401

(305) 837-2150

Cralic S. BARNARD

Chief Assistant Public Defender

RICHARD H. Burr, III

Of Counsel

RICHARD B. GREENE

MICHAEL A. MELLO

Assistant Public Defenders

By CralGc S. BARNARD

Craig S. Barnard

Counsel for Petitioner

la

APPENDIX A

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

INVOLVED

Constitution Of The United States

AMENDMENT Y.

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or otherwise

infamous crime, unless on a presentment or indictment of a

grand jury, except in cases arising in the land or naval forces,

or in the militia, when in actual service in time of war or public

danger; nor shall any person be subject for the same offense to

be twice put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be compelled in

any criminal case to be a witness against himself; nor be de-

prived of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law;

nor shall private property be taken for public use, without just

compensation.

AMENDMENT VI.

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the right

to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury of the State

and district wherein the crime shall have been committed,

which district shall have been previously ascertained by law,

and to be informed of the nature and cause of the accusation; to

be confronted with the witnesses against him; to have

compulsory process for obtaining witnesses in his favor, and to

have the assistance of counsel for his defense.

AMENDMENT VIII.

Excessive bail shall not be required, nor excessive fines

imposed, nor cruel and unusual punishments inflicted.

AMENDMENT XIV.

SECTION 1. All persons born or naturalized in the United

States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of

the United States and of the State wherein they reside. No

State shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge the

privileges or immunities of citizens of the United States; nor

2a

shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty, or property,

without due process of law; nor deny to any person within its

jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

Florida Statutes (1973)

782.04 Murder.—

(1)(a) The unlawful killing of a human being, when perpe-

trated from a premeditated design to effect the death of the

person killed or any human being, or when committed by a

person engaged in the perpetration of, or in the attempt to

perpetrate, any arson, rape, robbery, burglary, kidnapping,

aircraft piracy, or the unlawful throwing, placing, or discharg-

ing of a destructive device or bomb, or which resulted from the

unlawful distribution of heroin by a person over the age of

seventeen years when such drug is proven to be the proximate

cause of the death of the user, shall be murder in the first

degree and shall constitute .a capital felony, punishable as

provided in § 775.082.

(b) Inall cases under this section, the procedure set forthin

§ 921.141 shall be followed in order to determine sentence of

death or life imprisonment.

(2) When perpetrated by any act imminently dangerous to

another and evincing a depraved mind regardless of human

life, although without any premeditated design to effect the

death of any particular individual, or when committed in the

perpetration of, or in the attempt to perpetrate, any arson,

rape, robbery, burglary, kidnapping, aircraft piracy, or the

unlawful throwing, placing, or discharging of a destructive

device or bomb, except as provided in subsection (1), it shall be

murder in the second degree and shall constitute a felony of the

first degree, punishable by imprisonment in the state prison

for life or for such term of years as may be determined by the

court.

(3) When perpetrated without any design to effect death,

by a person engaged in the perpetration of, or in the attempt to

perpetrate, any felony other than arson, rape, robbery,

burglary, kidnapping, aircraft piracy, or the unlawful throw-

ing, placing, or discharging of a destructive device or bomb, it

shall be murder in the third degree and shall constitute a felony

of the second degree, punishable as provided in § 775.082,

§ 775.083, or § 775.084.

782.07 Manslaughter.—The killing of a human being by

the act, procurement or culpable negligence of another, in

cases where such killing shall not be justifiable or excusabie

homicide nor murder, according to the provisions of this chap-

ter, shall be deemed manslaughter and shall constitute a felony

of the second degree, punishable as provided in § 775.082,

§ 775.083, or § 775.084.

921.141 Sentence of death or life imprisonment for

capital felonies; further proceedings to determine

sentence.—

(1) SEPARATE PROCEEDINGS ON ISSUE OF

PENALTY.—Upon conviction or adjudication of guilt of de-

fendant of a capital felony, the court shall conduct a separate

sentencing proceeding to determine whether the defendant

should be sentenced to death or life imprisonment as autho-

rized by § 775.082. The proceeding shall be conducted by the

trial judge before the trial jury as soon as practicable. If the

trial jury has been waived or if the defendant pleaded guilty,

the sentencing proceeding shall be conducted before a jury

*mpaneled for that purpose unless waived by the defendant. In

the proceeding, evidence may be presented as to any matter

that the court deems relevant to sentence, and shall include

matters relating to any of the aggravating or mitigating cir-

cumstances enumerated in subsections (6) and (7) of this sec-

tion. Any such evidence which the court deems to have proba-

tive value may be received, regardless of its admissibility

under the exclusionary rules of evidence, provided the defend-

ant is accorded a fair opportunity to rebut any hearsay state-

ments. However, this subsection shall not be construed to

authorize the introduction of any evidence secured in violation

of the constitutions of the United States or of the State of

da

Florida. The state and the defendant or his counsel! shall be

permitted to present argument for or against sentence of

death.

(2) ADVISORY SENTENCE BY THE JURY.—After

hearing all the evidence, the jury shall deliberate and render

an advisory sentence to the court, based upon the following

matters:

(a) Whether sufficient aggravating circumstances exist as

enumerated in subsection (6);

(b) Whether sufficient mitigating circumstances exist as

enumerated in subsection (7), which outweigh the aggravating

circumstances found to exist; and

(c) Based on these considerations, whether the defendant

should be sentenced to life *[imprisonment] or death.

(3) FINDINGS IN SUPPORT OF SENTENCE OF

DEATH.—Notwithstanding the recommendation of a major-

ity of the jury, the court after weighing the aggravating and

mitigating circumstances shall enter a sentence of life

imprisonment or death, but if the court imposes a sentence of

death, it shall set forth in writing its findings upon which the

sentence of death is based as to the facts:

(a) That sufficient aggravating circumstances exist as

enumerated in subsection (6), and

(b) That there are insufficient mitigating circumstances, as

enumerated in subsection (7), to outweigh the aggravating

circumstances. In each case in which the court imposes the

death sentence, the determination of the court shall be sup-

ported by specific written findings of fact based upon the

circumstances in subsections (6) and (7) and upon the records of

the trial and the sentencing proceedings. If the court does not

make the findings requiring the death sentence, the court shall

impose sentence of life imprisonment in accordance with

c er

8 i 75.082.

va

(4) REVIEWOF JUDGMENT AND SENTENCE.—The

judgment of conviction and sentence oz death shall be subject

to automatic review by the Supreme Court of Florida within 60

days after certification by the sentencing court of the entire

record unless the time is extended for an additional period not

to exceed 30 days by the supreme court for good cause shown.

Such review by the supreme court shall have priority over all

other cases and shall be heard in accordance with rules prom-

ulgated by the supreme court.

(5) AGGRAVATING CIRCUMSTANCES.—

Aggravating circumstances shal! be limited to the following:

(a) The capital felony was committed by a person under

sentence of imprisonment.

(b) The defendant was previously convicted of another

capital felony or of a felony involving the use or threat of

violence to the person.

(c) The defendant knowingly created a great risk of death

to many persons.

(d) The capital felony was committed while the defendant

was engaged, or was an accomplice, in the commission of, or an

attempt to commit, or flight after committing or attempting to

commit, any robbery, rape, arson, burglary, kidnapping, or

aircraft piracy or the unlawful throwing, placing, or discharg-

ing of a destructive device or bomb.

(e) The capital felony was committed for the purpose of

avoiding or preventing a lawful arrest or effecting an escape

from custody.

(f) The capital felony was committed for pecuniary gain.

(g) The capital felony was committed to disrupt or hinder

the lawful exercise of any governmental function or the

enforcement of laws.

(h) The capital felony was especially heinous, atrocious, or

cruel.

(6) MITIGATING CIRCUMSTANCES.—Mitigating

cumstances shall be the following

(a) The defendant has no significant history of prior crim

nal activity

(b) The ca mmitted ' fen

was under the influence of extreme mental or emotional dis

turbance.

-*

-

~

a

.

(c) The victim was a participant in the defendant's condu

or consented to the act

(d) The defendant was an accompli n the capital felon,

committed by another person and his participation was rela-

tively minor

(e) The defendant acted under extreme duress or under

he substantia] domination of another person

Ne) ie FF! < ia ‘ }

(f) The capacity of the defendant to appreciate the crimi-

nality of his conduct or to conform his conduct to the require-

ments of law was substantially impair

(g) The age of the defendant at the time of the crime

932.465 Limitation of prosecutions.—

(1) A prosecution for an offense punishable by death may

be commenced at any time

(2) Prosecution for offenses not punishable by death must

be commenced within two years after commission, but if an

indictment, information, or affidavit has been filed within two

years after commission of the offense and the indictment,

information, or affidavit is dismissed or set aside because of a

defect in its content or form after the two year period has

elapsed, the period for commencing prosecution shall be ex-

tended three months from the time the indictment, informa-

tion, or affidavit is dismissed or set aside

(3) Offenses by state, county, or municipal officials com-

mitted during their terms of office and connected with the

Florida Rules Of Criminal Procedure

RULE 3.490. DETERMINATION OF DEGREE OF OFFENSE

~~ » meharco .

lormation charges an

“| ka sfas \ h ] .

jut specilving tne adegree, t

7 a he ta 1D vet - ¢ > tton >

tl any aegree oI wne OHense

reematiam ahawanas

uormat rye

‘ ‘ Sarath! .

sVVil iii & a Darvicuial

/* rior

iaineu

APPENDIX B

FLORIDA JURY OVERRIDE CASES

JURY FLORIDA SUPREME COURT

NAME VOTE Citation Result

1. Joseph Taylor unk 294 So.2d 648 (Fla. 1974) life

2. Jimmy Jones 12-0 332 So.2d 615 (1976) life

3. Anthony Sawyer unk 313 So.2d 680 (1975) upheld

4. Howard Douglas 12-0 328 So.2d 18 (1976) upheld@

5. James McCaskili ll-1 344 So.2d 1276 (1977) life

6. Otis Williams 7-5 344 So.2d 1276: (1977) life

7. Larry Thompson 12-0 328 So.2d 1 (1976) life

8. Daniel Gardner 12-0 313 So.2d 675 (1975) upneld3

9. Lloyd Swan unk. 322 So.2d 485 (1975) life

10. Jackson Burch unk. 343 So.2d 831 (1977) life

ll. Darius Slater ll-1 316 So.2d 39 (1975) life

12. Ernest Dobbert 10-2 328 So.2d 433 (1976) upheld

13. James McCray ll-1 395 So.2d 1145 (1981) upheld

14. Mack Tedder unk. 322 So.2d 908 (1975) life

15. Walter Carnes unk. Suicide before decision

16. Michael Provence unk. 337 So.2d 783 (1976) life

17. Elwood Barclay 7-5 343 So.2d 1266 (1977) upheld

1 Received life sentence from trial court pursuant to motion to mitigate

sentence. See Fla. R. Crim. P. 3.800.

2 Federal habeas corpus relief granted. Douglas v. Wainwright, 714 F.2d 1532

(llth Cir. 1983)(cert. pending).

3 Received life sentence following this Court's vacation of death sentence and

Florida Supreme Court's subsequent remand for resentencing. See Gartner v.

Florida, 430 U.S. (1977).

18. Franz Buckremn

19. Glen Chambers

20. Henry Brown

21. Darrell Hoy

22. Jesse Hall

23. Rodney Malloy

24. Ernest Walker

25. Joseph Spaziano

26. William Zeigler

27. Sonia Jacobs

28. Eddie Odum

29. Clifford Williams

30. Robert Lewis

31. Jack Nearv

32. Alonzo Bryant

33. John Barfield

34. Robert Buford

35. Roy McKennon

346. Beauford White

37. James Phippen

38. David Goodwin

39. Durham Stokes

unk.

unk.

unk.

355 So.2d 111 (1978)

339 So.2d 204 (1976)

367 So.2d 616 (1979)

353 So.2d 826 (1978)

381 So.2d 683 (1980)

382 So.2d 1190 (1979)

Suicide before decision

433 So.2d 508 (1983)

402 So.2d 365 (1981)

396 So.2d 713 (1981)

403 So.2d 936 (1981)

386 So.2d 538 (1980)

398 So.2d 432 (1981)

384 So.2d 881 (1980)

412 So.2d 347 (1982)

402 So.2d 377 (1981)

403 So.2d 943 (1981)

403 So.2d 389 (1981)

403 So.2d 331 (1981)

389 So.2d 991 (1980)

405 So.2d 170 (1981)

403 So.2d 377 (1981)

new trial,

resulting

in life

life

resent. to

life

life

new trial,

resulting

in life

life

upheld

life

4 Death sentence subsequently commuted to life by Executive Clemency on June 12,

1980.

> Death sentence vacated by state post-conviction judge; state's appeal to the

Florida Supreme Court pending.

40. William Welty

41. Raleigh Porter

42. Guy Smith

43. Marvin Johnson

44. Robert Heiney

45. Thomas McCampbell

46. Greg Engle

47. Rufus Stevens

48. Solomon Webb

49. Bobby Lusk

50. William Gilven

51. Earnest Miller

52. Bernard Bolander

53. Gregory Mills

54. Michael Cannady

55. Donald Walsh

56. Ervin McCray

57. Ricky Washington

58. Connie Livingston

59. Dan Routly

60. Derwin Norris

61. Anibal Jaramillo

62. Ed Thomas

63. Fred Herzog

64. Aubrey Livingston

unk.

402 So.2d 1159 (1981)

429 So.2d 293 (1983)

403 So.2d 933 (1981)

393 So.2d 1069 (1981)

So.2d ,

9 Fla. L. Week. 54 (1984)

421 So.2d 1072 (1982)

So.2d ’

8 Fla. Law. Week 357 (1983)

419 So.2d 1058 (1982)

433 So.2d 496 (1983)

___ $o.2d_,

9 Fla. L. Week 39 (1984)

418 So.2d 996 (1982)

415 So.2d 1262 (1982)

422 So.2d 833 (1982)

Pending, No. 59,140

427 So.2d 723 (1983)

418 So.2d 1900 (1982)

416 So.2d 804 (1982)

432 So.2d 44 (1983)

So. 2d P

8 Fla.L. Week. 420 (1983)

440 So.2d 1257 (1983)

429 So.2d 688 (1983)

417 So.2d 257 (1982)

Pending, No. 61,170

439 So.2d 1372 (1983)

Pending, No. 61,967

life

upheld

life

upheld

upheld

life

resent.

upheld

life

upheld

life

upheld

upheld

new trial

upheld

life

released®

life

6 Florida Supreme Court held evidence of guilt insufficient to convict.

65. Robert Richardson 10-2 437 So.2d 1091 (1983) life

66. David Hawkins 6-6 436 So.2d 44 (1983) life

67. Freddie Jones unk. Pending, No. 62,098

68. Adelbert Rivers 12-0 Pending, No. 62,127

69. Charles Burr unk. Pending, No. 62,365

70. David Gorham 8-4 Pending, No. 62,882

71. Larry Brown unk. Pending, No. 62,922

72. Alphonso Cave 6-6 Pending, No. 63,172

73. Isaac Thompson unk. Pending, No. 63,398

74. Juan Ramos 11-1 Pending, No. 63,444

75. Bobby Francis unk. Pending, No. 64,148

76, Robert Parker unk. Pending, No. 63,700

77. Anthony Brown unk. Pending, No. 64,247

78. William Eutzy unk. Pending, No. 64,212

79. Harry Huddleston 12-0 Pending, No. 64,307

80. Donald Brookings unk. Pending, No. 64,221

81. Ira Amazon 7-5 Pending, No. 64,117

SEXUAL BATTERY ONLY:

82. William Shue unk. 366 So.2d 387 (1978) life

83. Lucious Andrews 12-0 _._ SOo.2d_,,

8 Fla. L. Week. 495 (1983) =new trial;

no death

General Source: Post-Furman Death Sentences in Florida (Unpublished

compilation prepared by the Capital Punishment Project, Department of

Sociology, University of Florida, Michael Radelet, Director) (copy available

from counsel for petitioner).

APPENDIX C

JUDGE/JURY ROLES IN CAPITAL PENALTY DETERMINATIONS

A Survey of National Legislative Prac ice

1972-1984

l. Jury Life Verdict Binding

ARKANSAS Crim. Code (1977)

§41-1301 & §41-1302 L

CALIFORNIA Penal Code (1979)

§190.3-190.4 U

COLORADO Rev. Stats. (1979 Cum.

Supp.) §16-11-103 L

CONNECTICUT Gen. Stats. Ann. (1980) U

§53a - 46a (2?)

DELAWARE Code Ann (1982)

§11-4209 L

GEORGIA Code Ann

§§17-10-30 to

17-10-32

(Recodified 1983)

See Miller v.

State, 229 S.E.2d 376

(Ga. 1976) L

ILLINOIS Ann. Stats (1982)

§38-9-1 L

KENTUCKY* Rev. Stats. (1978

Cum. Supp.)

$532.025 (

va

,OUISIANA Code of Crim. Proc.

(Pck. Pt. 1979)

Art. 905.8 L

MARYLAND Ann. Code

Art. 27, §413

(Amended 1983) L

MASSACHUSETTS 1982 Chapter 279, §68 L

MISSISSIPPI Code (1983 Cum. Supp.)

§99-19-101 L

MISSOURI Crim. Code (1979 Spec.

Pamph. ) L

565.006

NEVADA Rev. Stats. (1977)

§§175.554, 556 U

NEW JERSEY Statutes (1982)

§2C: ll-l, et seq. L

NEW HAMPSHIRE Rev. Stats. Ann.

(1977 Supp.) §630.5 L

NEW MEXICO Stats. Ann. (1979 Supp.)

§31-20A-3 L

NORTH CAROLINA Gen. Stats. (1978)

§15A-2000 L

OHIO Rev.Code (1981 Legislation,

File 60)

§2929.024(D) (2) L

OKLAHOMA Stats. Ann.

(1978-1979 Pck. Pt.)

§21-701.11 L

PENNSYLVANIA Act No. 1978-141:

§18-1311 L

SOUTH CAROLINA Code. Ann.

(1978 Cum. Sup.)

§16-3-20 L

SOUTH DAKOTA State Laws (1979) L

Chapter 160: S23A-27A-4 (?)

TENNESSEE Code Ann.

(1983 Cum. Sup.)

§39-2-203 L

TEXAS Code Crim. Proc. Art.

§37.071 T

UTAH Crim. Code (1978)

§76-3-207 L

VIRGINIA Code (1979 Cum. Sup.)

§19.2-264.4

WASHINGTON Rev. Code Ann.

(1981 Pcok.Pt.}

§10.95.030 U

WYOMING Stats. (1983) L

§62-2-102 (?

UNITED STATES 49 USC §1473

(1976)

Antihijacking Act 8)

2. Jury Life Verdict Not Binding

ALABAMA Code (1981)

§13A-5-46 A

FLORIDA Stats. Ann. (1977)

§921.141 M

INDIANA Stats. Ann. (1983)

§35-50-2-9 U

3. Penalty Determination by Judge(s) Alone

ARIZONA Rev.Stats.Ann

(1982)

§13-703

IDAHO Code (1978)

§19-2515

MONTANA Rev.Code (1977)

§46-18-301

NEBRASKA Rev. Stats. (1975)

§29-2520

OREGON** Rev. Stats. (1979)

§163.116 (Repealed by 1981

Legislative Act, c. 873, §9)

LEGENDS AND NOTATIONS

LL ecses .. Life sentence unless jury

unanimously agrees on death

OD wesoens Unanimous verdict required for

either life or death

M awceaes Simple majority suffices for verdict

of either life or death

A ...++.. Alabama system: 10 jurors required for

death, 7 jurors required for life

T acsétas Unique Texas procedure: penalty

. jury answers svecial questions on

deliberate nature of murder, probability

defendant would engage in future acts of

dangerous violence, and (if raised) lack

of provocation by victim. 12 jurors

required to answer "yes" to each

question for imposition of a death

sentence; 10 jurors suffice to answer

any question "no" and prevent

death sentence.

* The Kentucky statute is not absolutely clear in its language

concerning the finality of a jury decision against death, but in

Gall v. Commonwealth, 607 S.W.2d 97, 104 (Ky. 1980) the Supreme

Court of Kentucky construed the statute to require a jury finding

of at least one aggravating circumstance in the penalty phase

before the judge may consider imposing the death penalty. Since

the statute calls for written findings of aggravating circum-

Stances by the jury only "if its verdict be a recommendation of

death,” see Kentucky Rev. Stats. §532.025(3) (1978 Cum.Supp.), it

appears that a jury life decision is in effect binding under the

Kentucky scheme.

** The Oregon death penalty statute was declared unconstitutional

by the Supreme Court of Oregon in State v. Quinn, 623 P.2d 630

(Cre. 1981) on ground that "deliberateness" of capital murder a

fact to be determined by the trial judge alone in the penalty

phase denied an accused the right to trial by jury.

(?}) The Kentucky statute as interpreted by the Supreme Court of

Kentucky requires a unanimous jury verdict for death, but the

consequences Of a jury's failure to agree on the penalty issue

are not defined. The Connecticut, Wyoming and South Dakota

statutes do not specifically state a unanimity requirement on

penalty, but it is fairly assumed. See also Gillers, supra, at

A? Be 735

OVERALL CATEGORIES

JURY LIFE VERDICT BINDING ------------------------ 30

JURY LIFE VERDICT NOT BINDING -------------------- 3

PENALTY DETERMINED BY JUDGE(S) ALONE ------------- 5

TOTAL JURISDICTIONS ------------------------------ 38

PRACTICES WHERE JURIES PARTICIPATE

IN DETERMINING PENALTY

JURY RESULT FOR LIFE IMPRISONMENT BINDING -------- 390

JURY RESULT FOR LIFE IMPRISONMENT NOT BINDING ---- 3

SUBTOTAL OF JURISDICTIONS WITH

JURY PARTICIPATION ------------------------------- 33

wake kkk kee RR KKK RR KKK KKK KKK KK KKK KKK KKK KKK

RULES ON JURY PENALTY VOTE

LIFE IMPRISONMENT UNLESS JURY

UNANIMOUS FOR DEATH (L) -------------------------- 23

UNANIMITY REQUIRED FOR EITHER

LIFE OR DEATH (U) ---------------------------~----- 7*

10 JURORS REQUIRED FOR DEATH

7 FOR LIFE (A) ----------------------------------- 1*

SIMPLE MAJORITY SUFFICES FOR LIFE OR

DEATH (M) ---------------------------------------- 1*

TEXAS PROCEDURE: SPECIAL PENALTY

QUESTIONS (T) ------------------------------------ 1

SUBTOTAL OF JURISIDICTIONS WITH

JURY PARTICIPATION ------------------------------- 33

*(U) includes Indiana (life decision not binding); (A)

includes only Alabama (life not bindina); (M) includes

only Florida (life not binding). However, the

majority rule in Florida is not connected with the

nonbinding nature of a life decision under the 1972

Statute, since during the period 1872-1972 the same

majority rule prevailed but the jury's life decision

was final under state law.

wake keke RK KKK KKK KKK KRK KKK KKK KKK KKRKKKRKRK KKK

METHOD OF STUDY: This survey includes the latest

discretionary death penalty statute passed in each

jurisdiction since Furman v. Georgia, 408 U.S. 238

(1972).

THIS SURVEY BASED ON LEGISLATIVE INFORMATION AVAILABLE

TO February 14, 1984.

-5c-

APPENDIX D

UTAH EXECUTIONS: DEATH SENTENCES AND

JURY RECOMMENDATIONS

Prior to the decision of Furman v. Georgia, 408 U.S. 238

(1972), Utah had a capital statute which made the penalty

mandatory unless the jury recommended mercy. In cases where the

jury did recommend mercy, the court was extended discretion to

impose a penalty of death or of life imprisonment.

There follows a list of every defendant whose death sentence

was @#xecuted in Utah between 1948 and 1967, when a moratorium on

executions began which was to last nationwide for 10 years while

federal constitutional questions were being resolved.

Also, there are listed reports of two Utah cases (in 1941

and 1951) where a death sentence was sustained by the Utah

Supreme Court after a jury recommendation of mercy, but was not

Carried out.

This survey shows that since at least 1948, there were no

executions in Utah after jury recommendations of mercy.

DEFENDANTS EXECUTED IN UTAH

~ 1948-1967

Name-Date of Dist.Ct. # and

Verdict Appellate Report

1. Mares, Elisio J. Summit Cnty. 3rd

Executed - Dist.Ct. #420

9/10/51 State v. Mares,

Verdict- 192 P.2d 861

March 7, 1947 (Ut. 1948)

2. Gardner, Ray Weber Cnty. 2nd

Dempsey- Dist. Ct. #4803

Executed - State v. Gardner,

9/29/51 230 P.2d 756, 759

Verdict - (Ut. 1951)

Dec. 13, 1949

-ld-

3 Neal, Don Jesse ——<<= 2 -------

Executed - (see note)

7/1/55 State v. Neal, P

Verdict - 262 P.2d 756, 759

22 ------- (Utah 1953)

(see note) Utah S. Ct. noted

lack of jury merc:

recommendation. Id.

at 759.

4. Braasch, Vern A. Iron Cnty. 5th

Executed Dist. Ct. #171

5/11/56 State v.RBraasch,

Verdict - 229 P. 2d 289

Dec. 9, 1949 (Ut. 1951)

5. Sullivan, Melvin Same as Braasch

L. (co-defendant)

Executed - Sub- nomine

5/11/56 Braasch

Verdict -

Dec. 9, 1949

6. Kirkham, Barton £=—=<<<<= -_—————

K. (see note)

Executed - State v. Kirkham,

6/7/58 319 P.2d 859, 862

Verdict - (Ut. 1958).

werner ee -------- Absence of jury

(see note) mercy recommendation

noted in opinion. Id.

at 862.

7. Rodgers, James San Juan Cnty. 7th

W. Dist. Ct. Crim.

Executed - #243

3/39/60 State v. Rodaers.

Verdict - 329 P. 2d 1075

Dec. 14, 1957 (Ut. 1958)

NOTE: In two cases, Neal and Kirkham, the opinion of the Utah

Supreme Court itself mentions the choice of€ the jury for a

verdict of first degree murder without a recommendation of mercy;

thus only the appellate citation is given for these cases.

Information on the other five cases was obtained from the

relevant Judicial District Courts of Utah, where the defendants

were tried. In each of these cases, there was a verdict of first

degree murder without recommendation for mercy. This is

especially striking because customarily Utah juries were provided

with separate verdict forms for each possible decision, including

guilty of first degree murder with a recommendation for life

imprisonment.

DEFENDANTS WITH DEATH SENTENCES AFFIRMED IN UTAH AFTER LIFE

RECOMMENDATIONS WHO WERE NEVERTHELESS NOT EXECUTED

(THIS LIST IS NOT NECESSARILY EXHAUSTIVE, ALTHOUGH THERE

IS NO SPECIFIC INDICATION THAT OTHER CASES EXIST)

Name Appellate Opinion Aff'g

Sentence & Date Commuted

1. Markham, John State v. Markham, 112 P.2d

496, 496-497 (Ut. 1941).

June, 1941

Be Matteri, Fred State v. Matteri, 225 P.2d

NOTE:

325, 329-330 (Ut. 1950).

June ll, 1951

Commutation dates based on records of Utah State

Prison, which also confirm that the list of

executions taken above from Bowers, Executions in

America 385 (1974) is in fact accurate and

complete. The records merely say "commuted,"

giving no details. However, the Utah State

Archives are now researching the existence of any

public clemency documents in these cases.

ote

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.