Opposition — SULLIVAN v. WAINWRIGHT (No. 83-5267)

Supreme Court brief1983

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

NO. 83-

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, NINETEEN HUNDRED AND EIGHTY-THREE

ROBERT AUSTIN

Petitioner,

-V-

RECEIVED

SULLIVAN,

' SEP 26 1983

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

SUPREME COURT, U.S.

LOUIE L. WAINWRIGHT,

Respond

ent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

To the United States

Court of Appeals

For the Eleventh Circuit

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

JIM SMITH

Attorney General

WALLACE E. ALLBRITTON

Assistant Attorney General

COUNSEL FOR RESPONDENT

II.

IIl.

IV.

WHETHER PETITIONER RECEIVED INEFFECTIVE

ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL AT THE PENALTY PHASE

OF HIS CAPITAL TRIAL.

WHETHER THE UOWER COURT ERRED IN CONCLUDING

THAT IT WAS 8ARRED FROM CONSIDERING THE

MERITS OF PETITIONER'S CLAIMS REGARDING JURY

INSTRUCTIONS ON THE BASES OF (1) PROCEDURAL

DEFAULT AND (2) FPAILURE TO SATISFY THE

"CAUSE AND PREJUDICE" REQUIREMENT OF

Wainwright v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72 (1977).

WHETHER THE “ESPECIALLY HEINOUS, ATROCIOUS,

AND CRUEL" AGGRAVATING FACTOR WAS PROPERLY

APPLIED TO PETITIONER'S CASE.

WHETHER THE LOWER COURT ERRED IN DETERMINING

THAT THE REFERENCE TO A POLYGRAPH TEST BY A

STATE WITNESS WHICH WAS DEEMED HARMLESS ERROR

UNDER STATE LAW DOES NOT PRESENT AN ISSUE OF

CONSTITUTIONAL OR FEDERAL LAW COGNIZABLE IN A

PEDERAL HABEAS CORPUS PROCEEDING.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF CITATIONS

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

PRELIMINARY STATEMENT

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

REASONS WHY THE WRIT SHOULD NOT BE GRANTED

ISSUE I

WHETHER PETITIONER RECEIVED INEFFECTIVE

ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL AT THE PENALTY PHASE

OF HIS CAPITAL TRIAL.

ISSUE

II

WHETHER THE LOWER COURT ERRED IN CONCLUDING

THAT IT WAS BARRED FROM CONSIDERING THE

MERITS OF PETITIONER'S CLAIMS REGARDING JURY

INSTRUCTIONS ON THE BASES OF (1) PROCEDURAL

DEFAULT AND (2) FAILURE TO SATISFY THE “CAUSE

AND PREJUDICE" REQUIREMENT OF Wainwright v.

Sykes, 433 U.S. 72 (1977).

ISSUE

II!

WHETHER THE “ESPECIALLY HEINOUS, ATROCIOUS,

AND CRUEL" AGGRAVATING FACTOR WAS PROPERLY

APPLIED TO PETITIONER'S CASE.

ISSUE

IV

WHETHER THE LOWER COURT ERRED IN DETERMINING

THAT THE REFERENCE TO A POLYGRAPH TEST BY A

STATE WITNESS WHICH WAS DEEMED HARMLESS ERROR

UNDER STATE LAW DOES NOT PRESENT AN ISSUE OF

CONSTITUTIONAL OR FEDERAL LAW COGNIZABLE IN

A PEDERAL HABEAS CORPUS PROCEEDING.

CONCLUSION

- ii -

15

18

22

24

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases

Avery v. Alabama, 308 U.S. 444 (1940)

Barc? , U.S. | 103

.ct. 1983)

Brooks v. Tennessee, 406 U.S. 605 (1972)

Chambers v. Maroney, 399 U.S. 42 (1970)

Cooper _v. State, 336 So.2d 1133 (Fla. 1976)

b Vv. Vv » 220 So.2d 430

(Fla. DCA 1 )

Cuyler v. Sullivan, 446 U.S. 335 (1980)

Douglas v. State, 328 So.2d 18 (Fla. 1976)

Engle = EDEL U.S. » 102 &.Ct.

82)

Estelle v. Williams, 425 U.S. 501 (1976)

Ex Parte Bollman, 8 U.S. (4 Cranch) 75 (1807)

Paretta v. California, 422 U.S. 806 (1975)

Ferguson v. Georgia, 365 U.S. 570 (1961)

Gagnon v. State, 212 So.2d 337 (Fla.3d DCA 1968)

Geders v. United States, 425 U.S. 80 (1970)

Gideon v. Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335 (1963)

Hamilton v. Alabama, 368 U.S. 52 (1961)

Harrington v. California, 395 U.S. 250 (1969)

Henderson v. Kibbe, 431 U.S. 145 (1977)

Herring v. New York, 422 U.S. 853 (1975)

Holloway v. Arkansas, 435 U.S. 475 (1978)

Jackson v. State, 366 So.2d 752 (Fla. 1978)

Knight v. State, 338 So.2d 201 (Fla. 1976)

Knight v. State, 394 So.2d 997 (Pla. 1981)

Lynch v. New York, 293 U.S. 52 (1934)

Menendez v. State, 368 So.2d 1278 (Fla. 1979)

Vv ’ U.S. , 33

r.L.Rptr. 3317

- iii -

19,

13, 14,

18, 21,

19,

19,

15,

24

Miller v. California, 413 U.S. 15 (1973)

Milton v. Wainwright, 407 U.S. 371 (1972)

Moore v. Balkcom, 709 F.24 1353 (11th Cir. 1983)

Palmes v. State, 425 So.2d 4 (Pla. 1983)

Picard v. Conner, 404 U.S. 270 (1971)

Powell v. Alabama, 297 U.S. 45 (1932)

Proffitt v. Florida, 428 U.S. 242 (1976)

Purdy v. State, 343 So.2d 4 (Pla. 1977)

Riley v. State, 166 So.2d 19 (Pla. 1979)

hneb , 405 U.S. 427 (1972)

Scripto, Inc. v. Carson, 362 U.S. 207 (1960)

Sireci v. State, 399 So.2d 964 (Fla. 1981)

nk kv w ht, 578 F.2d 582

th Cir. , Sert.denied, 440

U.S. 976

Sullivan v da, 428 U.S. 911 (1976),

den , 429 U.S. 873 (1976)

Sullivan v. State, 303 So.24 632 (Fla. 1974)

Sullivan v. State, 372 So.2d 938 (Pla. 1979)

u van v. Wainw ht, 695 F.2d 1306

(llth Cir. 1 )

United States v. Agurs, 427 U.S. 97 (1976)

n Ss s Vv. oster, 624 F.2d 196

(D.C.Cir. )

nit s Vv dy, U.S. » 102

. Se )

n Vv a ’ U.S. ,

S.Ct. (1983)

n Ss v. V n -~Ber ° U.S.

’ Ct.

wr Vv » 414 U.S. 21 (1973)

Wainwright v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72 (1977)

White v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 59 (1963)

16,

2,

10,

17,

17,

15,

13,

14,

21

23

21

21

16, 24

13

16

17

19

23

21

17, 18

18, 19

3, 24

19, 22

3, 8

17, 21

16

16

15, 16

14, 16

16

21

15, 18,

21, 24

13

i

Other

Rule 3.850, Fla.R.Crim.P.

§ 921.141, F.S.

Bator, w

HARV.L.REV. 741 (1963)

h n

16

14

OPINIONS BELOW

Petitioner's allegations designating the opinions below are

correct and acceptable to respondents.

JURISDICTION

Petitioner's jurisdictional allegations are acceptable to

respondents.

CONSTI IONAL STA R SIONS INVOLVED

Respondents accept the constitutional and statutory

provisions involved as set forth on p. 2 of the Petition.

PRELIMINARY STATEMENT

References to the Appendix attached to the Petition will be

made by the symbol "PA" followed by appropriate page number.

References to the appendix attached to this brief in opposition

will be made by the symbol “RA” followed by appropriate page

number. The recore references in respondents' appendix are to

the transcript of evidentiary hearing held in the federal

district court which is being submitted under separate cover to

this Court as Respondents’ Exhibit 1.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Course of Proczedings

Petitioner was convicted of first-degree murder on November

8, 1973 and sentenced to death November 12, 1973. Following his

conviction and sentence in the Circuit Court of Dade County,

Florida, petitioner appealed to the Supreme Court of Florida.

The four issues raised on this appeal were:

Point I

Whether or not the trial court erred in

denying defendant's Motion for Mistrial upon

the State's witness referring to a polygraph

test;

Point II

Whether the trial court erred in admitting

into evidence an enlarged photograph of the

victim in view of the fact that all issues

pertaining to relevancy of the photograph

had been stipulated between counsel;

Point III

Whether the arrest of Robert Sullivan was

legal and the subsequent seizure of tangible

evidence and a confession lawful;

Point IV

Whether the provisions of Chapter 72-724,

Laws of Florida, 1972, amending Florida

Statutes, Sections 775.082, 782.04 and

921.141:

1. Is cruel and unusual punishment in

violation of the Eighth and Fourteenth

Amendments to the Constitution of the

United States?

2. Is an arbitrary infliction of

punishment as to deprive the defendant

of life, liberty or property without

due process of law?

3. Is a denial of the right to a jury

trial insured by the Sixth Amendment of

the United States Constitution?

4. Is unconstitutional by embracing

more than one subject therein?

Petitioner's conviction and sentence was affirmed on November 27,

1974. Sullivan v. State, 303 So.2d 632 (Fla. 1974).

Petitioner then filed a petition for writ of certiorari in

this Court which presented two questions:

l. Whether the imposition and carrying out

of the sentence of death for the crime

of first degree murder under the law of

Plorida violates the Eighth or Fourteenth

Amendment to the Constitution of the

United States?

2. Whether a prosecutor's knowing, calcu-

lated and intentional introduction at a

criminal trial in the jury's presence of

manifestly inadmissible and prejudicial

testimony suggesting that a state's

witness has taken and passed a polygraph

test is “harmless error” under the due

process clause of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment in a capital case where petitioner

was subsequently convicted and sentenced

to death?

The petition was denied by this Court on July 6, 1976, Sullivan

vy. Plorida, 428 U.S. 911 (1976), reh.denied, 429 U.S. 873 (1976).

More than two years passed before petitioner on March 15,

1979, filed a motion to vacate, set aside or correct sentence

pursuant to Rule 3.850, Plorida Rules of Criminal Procedure. The

motion to vacate was denied by the trial court on May 15, 1979,

and affirmed on appeal to the Florida Supreme Court. Sullivan v.

State, 372 So.2d 938 (Fla. 1979).

The Governor of Florida on June 19, 1979, signed a warrant

directing that petitioner's execution take place on June 27, 1979.

The district court entered an order staying petitioner's

execution and referred the matter to a magistrate for evidentiary

hearing. Following a two-day plenary hearing the magistrate

filed a lengthy review and recommendation recommending that the

district judge deny the petition for writ of habeas corpus on the

merits. (PA-2a-120a) By order dated June 4, 1981, the district

court approved and adopted the magistrate's review and recommen-

dation and lifted the stay of execution previously entered on

June 25, 1979, effective thirty days from the date of the order.

(PA-122a-130a)

On appeal, the Eleventh Circuit rejected petitioner's claim

of ineffective assistance, specifically finding that he received

reasonably effective assistance of counsel during the penalty

phase and on direct appeal, rejecting all substantive constitu-

tional claims. However, the Eleventh Circuit by order filed June

16, 1983, granted petitioner's motion for stay of execution

"pending an application for writ of certiorari" without giving

respondent an opportunity to move in opposition thereto. The

petition for writ of certiorari was filed in this Court on August

15, 1983, thus automatically lifting the stay of execution

previously entered by the court below.

B. Statement of the Pacts

On April 10, 1973, at approximately 9:00 a.m., the body of

Donald Schmidt was found by two hunters in a remote marshy area

in the western part of Dade County, Florida. The Dade County

Public Safety Department responded to the scene and Sergeant

Arthur Pelton of that department testified that the body was face

down with the hands bound behind the back with white surgical

tape, one shoe was missing, and there was a lurge wound to the

back of the victim's head (Tr. 1240-1242, 1245).2

Frank Barden, the manager of the Howard Johnson's

restaurant in Homestead, Plorida, where Donald Schmidt was the

assistant manager, testified that he last saw Schmidt at

approximately 9:00 p.m. on April 8, 1973, at the restaurant.

Barden said that at approximately 11:15 p.m., he called the

restaurant and talked to Schmidt advising Schmidt to meet him at

a Holiday Inn when Schmidt was finished with his bookkeeping for

the night (Tr. 1215, 1216).

1 References are to the record of state trial proceedings.

At midnight, Barden went back to the restaurant and saw

Schmidt's car there; however, there were no lights on in the

building which was of some concern to him since safety lights

were always left on. Barden entered the restaurant, opened the

bottom half of a floor safe Schmidt had access to and found that

it was empty. He testified that approximately $2700 was missing

(Tr. 1217-1219).

During the course of the investigation after the discovery

of Schmidt's body, the name of Robert Sullivan came to the atten-

tion of Sergeant Felton as a person who had previously worked at

the Howard Johnson's restaurant. Sergeant Felton also received

information that a person matching Robert Sullivan's description

was using a Master Charge credit card of the victim at various

Miami stores.

Sergeant Felton obtained information that Sullivan often

hung out at Keith's Cruise Lounge in Hallendale, Broward County,

Florida. On April 17, 1973, Sergeant Felton, together with three

other Dade County Public Safety Department detectives in two

cars, went to that location. Prior to going to Keith's Cruise

Lounge, Sergeant Felton obtained knowledge about outstanding

felony warrants from New Hampshire where Sullivan had been prior

to coming to Miami (Tr. 1256).

The detectives arrived at the lounge at approximately 12:00

a.m., and shortly thereafter observed a Cadillac previously

described as having belonged to Robert Sullivan and a person whom

they believed to be Robert Sullivan exit from the car, together

with two other individuals. The three individuals remained in

the lounge for approximately three hours after which time

Sullivan and the others exited, stood talking in the parking iot

for fifteen or twenty minutes, got back in the car and headed

toward Miami (Tr. 1331-1335).

The lounge was approximately five or six blocks from the

Dade County line, and the car was stopped by Sergeant Felton four

or five blocks south of the Dade-Browerd County line. Sergeant

Felton testified that he stopped the car to arrest Robert

Sullivan on the outstanding felony warrants from New Hampshire

and so advised Sullivan upon stopping the car (Tr. 1256, 1257).

There were various items in the automobile seized which the

state introduced at the trial of Robert Sullivan, including a

shotgun, a handgun, white adhesive tape, and other items which

the state argued could have been used in the robbery and subse-

quent murder of Donald Schmidt (Tr. 1262, 1263).

Also introduced into evidence was a watch Sullivan was

wearing at the time of his arrest which had belonged to the

victim and two credit cards belonging to the victim found in

Sullivan's wallet after his arrest (Tr. 1264, 1265).

After Sullivan's arrest, Sergeant Felton advised him of his

rights and subsequently took him to the Public Safety Department

building, the result of which was a “confession” from Sullivan

(Tr. 1253, 1254, 1279). At the time of Sullivan's arrest, there

were two other individuals in the car, one being George Jackson

and the other Reid McLaughlin. George Jackson was eventually

released by the police (Tr. 1339, 1340). After being confronted

with Sullivan's "confession", McLaughlin “confessed,” implicating

Sullivan and was also charged with first-degree murder and robbery.

In petitioner's statement which was introduced at trial

(Tr. 1279, 1289), petitioner admitted that Reid McLaughlin and he

went to the Homestead Howard Johnson's on the night of April 8,

1973, with the intention of robbing it, that McLaughlin and he

counted the customers and employees as they left until they were

certain the assistant manager, Donald Schmidt, was inside

alone. Petitioner and McLaughlin entered through the back door

and held the assistant manager at gunpoint while the money was

taken from the safe. McLaughlin taped Schmidt's hands behind him

as petitioner drove to a deserted and swampy area of Dade County.

Petitioner and McLaughlin planned to “dispose” of Schmidt by

murdering him (Tr. 1288). Upon arriving at a desolate place the

victim was removed from the car. When he stumbled, petitioner

struck him twice on the head with a tire iron, and taking the

shotgun that McLaughlin was carrying, shot him four times in the

head. Petitioner and McLaughlin then took Schmidt's watch and

credit cards and used the cards several times in Dade County

McLaughlin was the state's chief witness against petitioner.

Prior to petitioner's trial, he had agreed to plead nolo contendere

to a second degree murder charge in return for a life sentence

and his testifying against petitioner. McLaughlin testified that

petitioner and he had discussed committing "(t)he perfect crime*

(Tr. 1360), and had determined to rob the Howard Johnson restau-

rant where petitioner had once served as assistant manager

(Tr. 1362). McLaughlin entered the restaurant, ordered food, and

counted the customers and employees. He and petitioner waited

until all of these persons had left except the assistant manager

and then entered and held Donald Schmidt at gunpoint. McLaughlin

took his jewelry and wallet, and petitioner took the cash from

the safe. The two then abducted Schmidt in petitioner's car.

McLaughlin taped Schmict's hands behind him, and since *(hje was

looking kind of worried, . .. I said, ‘don't worry about it, and

we will leave you in the woods and tie you up.'* (Tr. 1376)

McLaughlin then described how he and petitioner stopped the car

in a swampy area and led Schmidt away, how petitioner hit Schmidt

on the head twice with a tire iron, and how he gave petitioner

the shotgun (Tr. 1377, 1378). McLaughlin testified that he then

started to walk away and heard petitioner fire the shotgun four

——_——— ee oo

The remaining issue alleges ineffective

assistance of counsel. After an evidentiary

hearing, the trial court, in denying

Sullivan's motion said:

I have seen some frivolous motions

come down the pike, but this has got

to take the cake. On the ground of

inadequacy of counsel, the motion to

vacate is denied.

The transcript of the 3.850 hearing supports

this conclusion of the trial court.

Id. at 939. The court then went on to hold that petitioner's

Claim of ineffective assistance of counsel was without merit.

The magistrate made a thorough review of petitioner's

allegations of ineffective assistance of counsel, setting forth

in her review and recommendation each of the allegations of

ineffective assistance as to Mr. Dean and then proceeded to

refute every allegation so raised. The concluding remarks of the

magistrate on this issue merit repeating:

In support of this determination, this

Court does not rely upon the petitioner's

representation by Mr. Dean subsequent to the

petitioner's trial and appeal but must point

out, without objection or demurrer by the

petitioner, Mr. Dean represented the

petitioner, in whole or in part, for approx-

imately five years in legal proceedings

before the United States Supreme Court, in a

Class action suit, before the Parole Board

in 1976, and in 1977 clemency proceedings.

Although the five year time span is less in

the case at bar than the 17 year span in

that of Fitzgerald v. Estelle, S2E fa, the

petitioner's failure to complain for an

extended period of time to authorities with

power to act on his complaints must reduce

to some degree the credence to be given to

the petitioner's position. An exceedingly

detailed examination of the entire record

and of the testimony given at hearing by

Judge Cowart and Judge Gable convinces this

Court that Mr. Dean's representation of the

petitioner met and even exceeded the

standard of reasonably effective assistance

of counsel.

Id. at PA 55a, 56a.

The district judge agreed with the conclusions reached by

the magistrate. The following quoted from the Final Order of

Dismissal is worthy of review:

This court can add nothing to the thor-

ough, complete and exhaustive discussion of

the facts and the law contained in Judge

Kyle's review and recommendation.

It will be adopted in its entirety and

hereinafter made the Order of this Court

except as hereinabove modified with respect

to respondents' second objection to said

Review.

This court's independent de novo review of

the record of these proceedings convinces it

that petitioner's main claim that he was

denied effective assistance of counsel is

totally without merit.

(P.A. 129a)

The Eleventh Circuit reviewed petitioner's claim of

ineffective assistance, concluding that "Sullivan received

reasonably effective assistance of counsel during the penalty

phase and on direct appeal.” Sullivan v. Wainwright, 695 F.2d

1306, 1309 (llth Cir. 1983).

Petitioner's claim of ineffective assistance of counsel at

—— —-

Gas

the sentencing stage is bottomed on an alleged failure to

_adequately develop certain evidence regarding a nonstatutory

mitigating factor. Apparently petitioner is claiming that his

counsel, Mr. Dean, failed to introduce in evidence the letters of

Drs. Keichenberg and Corwin. See Petition, at pp. 6-8.

Petitioner's counsel had occasion to contemplate use of the

defense of insanity. However, after reviewing the reports of

Drs. Reichenberg and Corwin, any theory of an insanity-type

defense was discarded (RA 2). The reason behind Mr. Dean's

failure to put these reports before the jury during the

sentencing phase of the trial becomes readily apparent upon

— -_ — —

examination of Mr. Dean's testimony given at the evidentiary

hearing. As noted previously, a copy of the complete transcript

of evidentiary hearing is being submitted to this Court under

separate cover as Exhibit 1, Note the fcllowing:

Q Did you contemplate the possibility of an

insanity defense?

- 18 -

A

Q

A

Yes. There had -- I believe Mr. Windsor

had already requested the court or

previous to my appointment had requested

the court for the appointment of a

psychiatrist. There, in fact, were - I

believe one psychiatrist and one

psychologist, Doctor Corwin and Doctor

Reichenberg that were appointed to

represent Mr. Sullivan and I had the

benefit of their reports, which, in my

opinion, put an end to a thought of an

insanity-type defense, especially in view

of the fact that Mr. Sullivan took the

position he did not participate in the

crime.

What about that, was there something in

the report that would negate that?

There was a statement attributed to Mr.

Sullivan in Doctor Corwin's report --

(Exhibit 1, Vol.II, p. 309, lines 6-22) In any event, when

~~

——.

petitioner testified in his own behalf at trial, his counsel

~~

elicited most, if not all, of the pertinent data, sans psychi-

atric terminology, set forth in the doctors' reports that

petitioner now Claims should have been introduced in evidence.

Note the following quoted from the transcript of state trial

proceedings:

Q

All right. Now, while you were working

at Howard Johnson's in the Miami area,

did you have any family problems at the

time?

Yes, I did.

What were the nature of those problems?

Well, there were numerous problems. I

would say that the first one was about

four or five months after I began working

for the Howard Johnson's Company and it

is my parents are divorced. And my

father had remarried. This had been

—— that had happened. He had been

remarried for eight to 10 years and I was

closer to his -- not to my mother, but to

his second wife and she was dieing [sic]

of cancer. And his nurse called me up

and asked me if I could come up to New

Hampshire.

All right. Are you originally adopted?

Yes, I am

= 22 «

Are you a homosexual?

Yes, I am.

Now, you indicated that Reid McLaughlin

had some discussion with you in October

of last year about coming to Miami. Did

you accompany him to Miami at that time?

A No, I did not.

Q Did there come a time when you

accompanied Reid McLaughlin to Miami?

Yes, I did.

When was that?

In March of this year, late March.

How did that trip happen to come about?

> oO FF O °F

Well, I had returned to New Hampshire

because my father had suffered a paralyz-

ing heart attack in June and he was

unable to care for himself and he was

alone and I returned to be with him at

that time approximately two or three

months after it happened. And, once he

regained his composure and-was able to

take care of himself I made calls to

friends I knew, to a friend I knew here

in Miami and I placed two or more calls

to this person and arranged for employ-

ment at the University of Miami at the

Rathskeller.

(State court trial transcript, pp. 1453, 1455, 1456)

Again, petitioner’ s position is sought to be maintained on

pontenncnaesaniatinhatemnssd

the theory of what his counsel did not do; however, respondents

look to what counsel did do anc do and his overall performance in

representing petiti ender effective

assistance. Respondents' appendix sets forth a thorough review

“Of Mr. Dean's testimony as to what he did do in representing

petitioner (RA 1-15); the expert testimony of Judge Gable and

Judge Cowart (state trial judges); and all other testimony

adduced at the hearing. Further, on the reports of the doctors,

Raymond Martin Windsor testified that he too had explored ‘the

possibility of several defenses and requested a psychiatric

report. He received the reports from Drs. Corwin and Reichenberg

and stated that Dr. Corwin's report corroborated petitioner's

0 ———E——

o $9 «

~~

admitted responsibility in the matter. (RA 25) No wonder

“petitioner's counsel did not seek to introduce the reports in ae

evidence at the sentencing hearing! Had he done so, it would i

have been egregious error particularly in view of petitioner's

Claim of absolute innocence.

Respondents submit that the focus in the instant case

should be on the nature and source of the right to counsel

afforded by the Sixth Amendment. we think the proper analysis

should be based upon what counsel did and whether petitioner has

been denied "a fundamental right essential to a fair trial,” in

the context of the entire proceeding. See, Gideon v. Wainwright, |

372 U.S. 335, 339-344 (1963). As an essential premise to its

analysis, the Gideon Court noted that in any due process inquiry

the concern is whether in the totality of the circumstances the

proceeding was fundamentally unfair. 372 U.S., at 339. In an

unbroken line of decisions this Court has focused upon the

fundamental denial of due process in the complete absence of

counsel or in critical circumstances tantamount to the total

denial of counsel.2 Indeed, just recently this Court has held

that the central consideration in an ineffective counsel claim is

whether a defendant has been denied fundemental due process and a

fundamentally fair trial. See, United States v. Frady,

U.S. , 102 S.Ct. 1584 (1982); Engle v. Isaac, U.S. ’

102 S.Ct. 1558 (1982). It is submitted that the focus upon the

fundamental nature of the right to counsel rather than laboring

-S. 444 (1940) (ability to confer);

Ferguson v. rgia, 365 U.S. 570 (1961) (no direct examination of

efendant); Hamilton v. Alabama, 368 3.S. 52 (1961) (no counsel at

guilty plea); White v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 59 (1963) (same); Geders

v. United States, 425 U.S. 80 (1970) (consultation with defend-

ant); Brooks v. Tennessee, 406 U.S. 605 (1972) (defendant required

to testify as first defense witness); Herri v. New York, 422

U.S. 853 (1975) (denial of closing argumen!:); Feretta v. California,

422 U.S. 806 (1975) (no consent to counsel); Hol loway v. Arkansas,

435 U.S. 475 (1978) (conflict of interest); Cuyler v. Sullivan,

446 U.S. 335 (1980) (same).

= 313 -«

i)

Rg

over a checklist of what should have been done is consistent with

the proper application of the great writ and essential to

finality. "A criminal trial concentrates society's resources at

one ‘time and place in order to decide within the limits of human

fallibility, the question of guilt or innocence’." Engle v.

Isaac, 102 S.Ct., at 1571. “Every trial presents a myriad of

possible claims." Id. at 1574. It is inevitable that counsel

will through strategy, ignorance, mistake, or many other reasons,

choose to omit certain claims while pursuing others. Id. at

1572, n. 4; 1574-1575. The Constitution, therefore, could not

reasonably require that counsel recognize and raise every

conceivable claim. 11; Wainwright v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72, at 91

(1977); Estelle v. Williams, 425 U.S. 501, at 512-513 (1976). In

United States v. Hasting, U.S. __, 103 S.Ct. 1974, at 1980

(1983), the Court observed that, “taking into account the reality

of the human fallibility of the participants, there can be no

such thing as an error-free, perfect trial and that the

Constitution does not guarantee such a trial." Due regard for

finality supposes that a criminal trial must not be followed by a

trial of a defendant's lawyer. See, Wainwright v. Sykes, at 114,

n. 13 (Brennan, J., dissenting); See also Bator, Finality in

Criminal Law and Federal Habeas Corpus for State Prisoners, 76

HARV.L. REV. 741 (1963). Such a practice, “degrades the

prominence of the trial itself." Isaac, 102 S.Ct., at 1571. It

is submitted that the underlying purpose of the great writ is, “a

bulwark against convictions that violate ‘fundamental fairness.'”

Isaac, 102 S.Ct., at 1570. Reasonably, any reexamination of

counsel's performance must be guided by the polar star of

fundamental fairness.°

3this analysis is also compatible with the original purpose of

the writ at common law to correct only fundamental error. See,

Ex Parte Bollman, 8 U.S. (4 Cranch) 75, at 95 (1807) (Marshall,

-)} J. Story, Commentaries on the Constitution of the United

States, 157 (1883); McFeely, The Historical Development Of Habeas

Corpus, 30 S.W.L.J. 585 (1976).

- 14 <

As stated by the Eleventh Circuit:

Each case turns on its own facts and the

effectiveness of counsel must aiso be judged

on the facts and conduct of those involved in

each case. Goodwin v. Balkcom, at 804. We

have carefully reviewed counsel's performance

during the penalty phase, in light of the

totality of the circumstances as they were

known to counsel at that time, and find that

counsel's performance did not fall below the

"reasonably effective assistance" standard.

Sullivan v. Wainwright, 695 F.2d 1306, at 1309 (llth Cir. 1983).

Respondents submit that the record demonstrates that petitioner

received a fair trial, consequently he received constitutionally

adequate representation. Tne Constitution requires no more.

ISSUE ITI

WHETHER THE LOWER COURT ERRED IN CONCLUDING THAT

IT WAS BARRED FROM CONSIDERING THE MERITS OF

PETITIONER'S CLAIMS REGARDING JURY INSTRUCTIONS ON

THE BASES OF (1) PROCEDURAL DEFAULT AND (2) FAILURE

TO SATISFY THE “CAUSE AND PREJUDICE" REQUIREMENT

OF Wainwright v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72 (1977).

Even though the Eleventh Circuit admitted that all of

petitioner's claims relating to jury instructions were barred by

Wainwright v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72 (1977), and Engle v. Isaac,

U.S. __, 71 L.Ed.2d 783, 102 S.Ct. 1558 (1982), and that

petitioner "“ha[d] not advanced the Sykes issue nor has he

advanced any cause for the procedural default nor proffered any

prejudice resulting therefrom,” the court nevertheless considered

whether the requirements of Sykes and Isaac had been met. 695

F.2d, at 1310. Relying on the “novelty of [the] constitutional

meas cba. tn

Claim," the court assumed that the cause prong of Sykes had been

met and then proceeded to determine the existence ye) non of

ET

prejudice. Relying on United States v. Frady, 456 U.S. 152, 167-

TS TP ee oe ae

68 (1982), quoting, Henderson v. Kibbe, 431 U.S. 145, 154 (1977),

the court concluded that “the lack of showing of actual prejudice

under Sykes bars our consideration of the merits of Sullivan's

Claims regarding the jury instructions." 695 F.2d, at 131ll.

o 15 =

‘

However, petitioner now argues that a reasonable juror

could have understood the instructions in a constitutionally

impermissible way. And, if a reasonable juror “could have

understood" the instructions ‘n such an impermissible way, then

petitioner wants this Court to assume that the jurors did

misunderstand the instructions. Not only is this precise issue

barred from consideration by Picard wv. Conner, 404 U.S. 270

(1971), the most compelling demonstration of error in the

assumption petitioner asks this Court to make is a comparison

with the seminal decision in United States v. Agurs, 427 U.S. 97

(1976). The Agurs Court in assessing the effect of new evidence

consisting of discovery material upon a claim for new trial,

Clearly delimited claims of constitutional error thusly:

The mere possibility that an item of

undisclosed information might have helped

the defense, or might have affected the

outcome of the trial, does not establish

"materiality" in the constitutional sense.

427 U.S., at 109-110. Consistent with Agurs, see Chambers v.

Maroney, 399 U.S. 42, at 53-54 (1970), and United States v.

Valenzuela-Bernal, __ U.S. ___,» 102 S.Ct. 3440 (1982).

Respondents submit that the “heavy burden" standard in Agurs and

the “outcome” analysis of the foregoing authorities are totally

consistent with the policy and underlying philosophy in

collateral proceedings noted in Frady and are the central

motivation for the rule in United States v. Decoster, (Decoster

III), 624 F.2d 196 (D.C.Cir. 1979), and Knight v. State, 394

So.2d 997 (Pla. 1981). See also, United States v. Hasting,

——_ U-S. ___ 103 S.Ct. 1974 (1983), and the Fifth Circuit's

discussion of the Florida death penalty statute in Spinkellink v.

Wainwright, 578 F.2d 582 (Sth Cir. 1978), cert.denied, 440 U.S.

SAO sree Oe

976, citing the la : n Proffitt v.

Florida, 428 U.S. 242 (1976), rejecting the contention that the

aed:

Florida statute (§ 921.141) contained limiting language with

TL

respect to mitigating circumstances that the judge and jury could

——

- 16 -

properly consider. Spinkellink, 578 F.2d, at 620, 621. Equally

Sa

informative is the magistrate's treatment of this issue in her

review and recommendation. Please see P.A. 99a-lO4a.

Petitioner's contention that the trial judge relied on a

nonstatutory aggravating circumstance was rejected by the court

below. Sullivan, 695 F.2d, at 1312. Indeed, the coup de gras to

petitioner's “lack of remorse” argument is the decision of this

Court in Barclay v. Florida, __—-U.S. ___, 103 S.Ct. 3418

(1983). Still, what petitioner fails to point out, perhaps

intentionally so, is that at the time of his trial in November,

1973, and even at the time the Florida Supreme Court affirmed his,

conviction and sentence in November 1974, the use of icine

aggravating factors had not been condemned by the Florida Suprene

Court. It was not until Purdy v. State, 343 So.2d 4 (Pla. 1977)|

was decided that the use of aggravating factors was restricted i

those enumerated in the statute. Purdy was decided March 25,

1977, more than two years subsequent to the decision of the

Florida Supreme Court in Sullivan v. State, 303 So.2d 632 (Pla.

|

1974), om November 27, 1974. 2

The decision in Sireci v. State, 399 So.2d 964 (Pla. 1981),

is informative. There, the court remarked as follows:

The defendant further argues that the

state presented evidence to the jury of a

nonstatutory aggravating factor: the

defendant's lack of remorse. The trial

judge did not find "lack of remorse" as an

aggravating factor. ile lack of remorse

cannot constitute an

1974),

cert.denied, 428 U.S. 911, 96 S.Ct. 3226, 49

L.Ed.2d 1220 ( ), the fac hat the

defendant alleged ad "I dente ft no

: erent," con d part o e edi on

whic n nto ‘ nding of “he: nous,

atrocious, and " Similarly, in

Hargrave v. State, 366 So.2d 1 (Fla. 1978),

the statements of the defendant that he had

killed before and it would not bother him to

© iJ -

eS a a en ee eee Fae oF

kill again were considered as applicable to a

consideration of whether or not the aggravat-

ing factor “heinous, atrocious, and cruel"

was present beyond a reasonable doubt. In

both of these cases the death sentence was

upheld. In the case sub judice the trial

court clearly did not consider “lack of

remorse” as a separate aggravating factor.

Id. at 971, 972. It is respondents’ position that the trial 7 \

judge never considered “lack of remorse" as an aggravating

factor. It was nothing more than an observation of Sullivan's

demeanor in the courtroom equally observable by the jury. This

conclusion is supported by the fact that Justice Overton in his

specially concurring opinion said nothing about lack of remorse

being one of the aggravating factors considered by the trial

judge. 303 So.2d 637, 638. But assuming arguendo that the trial

judge did consider petitioner's lack of remorse, he was entitled

to do so under the rationale of Sireci, supra, because it was a

factor which went into the equation of whether or not the crime

was especially heinous, atrocious, or cruel. x

As stated earlier, the issue is precluded by Sykes and

Isaac but it is interesting to note that it is also meritless.

ISSUE III

WHETHER THE “ESPECIALLY HEINOUS, ATROCIOUS,

AND CRUEL" AGGRAVATING FACTOR WAS PROPERLY

APPLIED TO PETITIONER'S CASE.

Petitioner's argument on this point is totally devoid of

merit and was deemed unworthy of comment by the lower court. In

Spinkeilink v. Wainwright, supra, the Fifth Circuit reasoned:

If the federal courts retried again and

again the aggravating and mitigating circum-

stances in each of these cases, we may at

times reach results different from those

reached in the Florida state courts, but our

conclusions would be no more, nor no less,

accurate. Such is the human condition. Cf.

Stone v. fowe 428 U.S. 465, 493 n. 35, 96

§.Ct. 3037, 3051-3052 n. 35, 49 L.Ed.2d 1067

(1976) (condemning the respondents' “basic

mistrust of the state courts as fair and

competent forums for the adjudication of

federal constitutional rights.").

- 19 <-

The Supreme Court in Proffitt, or in

Furman c ,» Jurek on, or Roberts

eee, alee eB 7

cou not ve intended these results. We

understand these decisons to hold that

capital punishment is not unconstitutional

per se, and that a state, if it chooses, can

punish murderers and seek to protect its

citizenry by imposing the death penalty--so

& long as it does so through a statute with

appropriate standards to guide discretion.

If a state has such a properly drawn

statute--and there can be no doubt that

Florida has--which the state follows in

determining which convicted defendants

receive the death penalty and which receive

life imprisonment, then the arbitrariness

and capriciousness condemned in Furman have

been conclusively removed.

Id. at 605.

Petitioner simply contends that the crime for which he was

convicted was not heinous, atrocious and cruel and attempts to

support this thesis by later case law. Respondents point out

that this identical situation has been held to be especially

heinous, atrocious, or cruel in three cases subsequent to

Sullivan v. State, 303 So.2d 632 (Fla. 1974). See Knight v.

State, 338 So.2d 201 (Fla. 1976); Douglas v. State, 328 So.2d 18

(Pla. 1976); and Jackson v. State, 366 So.2d 752 (Fla. 1978).

It is true that not all “execution-type slayings” are

heinous, atrocious, or cruel within the meaning of Florida's

death penalty statute. For example, see Riley v. State, 366

So.2d 19 (Pla. 1979); Cooper v. State, 336 So.2d 1133 (Fla.

1976), and Menendez v. State, 368 So.2d 1278 (Fla. 1979). But

there are those cases where the execution-type slaying of a

victim does come within the meaning of this aggravating circum-

stance. Petitioner's case is one of them. The cases relied upon

by petitioner are factually distinguishable, in that there was no

kidnapping and taking to a secluded area while the victims

suffered, knowing, or at least anticipating, that they were to be

executed. Indeed, this Court is invited to review the facts of

the crime in Spinkellink, 578 F.2d, at 586. Note the following:

~ 19 -

|

\

The trial jury recommended that Spenkelink

receive the death penalty. The trial court

agreed. Pursuant to Fla.Stat.Ann. § 921.141(3),

it found that the felony “was committed for

pecuniary gain, either for another person's

money or to re-coup his own,” that the crime

"was especially heinous, atrocious and

cruel," that Spenkelink “was previously

convicted of a felony involving the use, or

threat of violence to another, to-wit: armed

robbery,” and that Spenkelink committed the

crime while “under sentence of imprison-

ment." The only mitigating circumstance

found by the trial court was “that possibly

the defendant was under the influence of

extreme mental or emotional disturbance," a

consideration which, “based on the record as

a whole,” the court did not regard “as a

substantial factor." See Fla.Stat.Ann.

§§ 921.141(5), (6). The Supreme Court of

Florida affirmed both the conviction and

sentence. Spinkellink v. State, 313 So.2d

666 (Pla.19787- cert.denied, 428 U.S. 91l,

96 S.Ct. 3227, 49 L.Ed.2d 1221 (1976). With

respect to the sentence of death, the

Florida Supreme Court stated:

As more fully set out above the

record shows this crime to be premedi-

tated, especially cruel, atrocious, and

heinous and in connection with robbery

of the victim to secure return of money

Claimed by Appellant. The aggravating

circumstances justify imposition of the

death sentence. Both Appellant and his

victim were career criminals and

Appellant showed no mitigating factors

to require a more lenient sentence.

313 So.2d at 671. The United States Supreme

Court denied certiorari. Spenkelink v.

Florida, 428 U.S. 911, 96 S.Ct. 3227, 49

L.Ed.2d 1221 (1976).

Finally, in responding to the argument

that Section 921.141's eighth aggravating

circumstance was unconstitutionally vague

and overbroad, the Court in Proffitt even

mentioned the case of petitioner Spenkelink:

The Supreme Court of Florida has

affirmed death sentences in several

cases, including the instant case,

where this eighth statutory aggravating

factor was found, without specifically

stating that the homicide was “pitiless”

or “torturous to the victim." See,

@-. g-, Hallaman v. State, 305 So.2d 180

(1974) (victim's throat slit with broken

bottle); Spinkellink v. State, 313

So.2d 666 (1975) ("Career criminal" shot

- 26 <

sleeping traveling companion) ; sacdner

v. state, 313 So.2d 675 (1975) (bruta

ating and murder); Alvord v. State,

322 So.2d 533 (1975) (three women killed

by strangulation, one raped); Douglas

v. State, 328 So.2d 18 (1976) (depraved

murder); Henry v. State, 328 So.2d 430

(1976) (torture murder); Dobbert v.

State, 328 So.2d 433 (1976) (torture and

killing of two children). But the

circumstances of all of these cases

could accurately be characterized as

"pitiless" and “unnecessarily tortur-

ous," and it thus does not appear that

Florida Court has abandoned the defini-

tion that it announced in Dixon and

applied in Alford, Tedder, anc Halliwell.

428 U.S. at 255 n. 12, 96 S.Ct. at 2968

n. 12 (opinion of Stewart, Powell, and

Stevens, JJ.) (emphasis added).

Id. at 588, 589, 602. See also the discussion in Moore v.

Balkcom, 709 F.2d 1353, 1358-1360 (llth Cir. 1983). It is

submitted that the construction placed upon the aggravating

circumstance “especially heinous, atrocious, or cruel" by the

Plorida Supreme Court in Sullivan, Knight, Douglas, and Jackson

constitute an authoritative construction of a state statute which

should be binding on this Court. Wainwright v. Stone, 414 U.S.

21 (1973); Miller v. California, 413 U.S. 15 (1973); Scripto,

Inc. v. Carson, 362 U.S. 207, 210 (1960).

The foregoing can be of academic interest only because the

alleged “unconstitutional application of the ‘especially heinous,

i

atrocious and cruel factor'" (Petition, pr—3i}-wes-never_raised

atits

in the trial court and not challenged on petitioner's direct

ee

appeal. The procedural default is clear and Sykes and Isaac

———————

preclude Consideration here. Interestingly, petitioner tacitly

papitata

admits (Petition, p. 27) that this issue was only raised in state

post-conviction proceedings and in federal habeas. See Palmes v.

State, 425 So.2d 4, 6 (Pla. 1983).

e 2 «

ISSUE IV

WHETHER THE LOWER COURT ERRED IN DETERMINING

THAT THE REFERENCE TO A POLYGRAPH TEST BY A

STATE WITNESS WHICH WAS DEEMED HARMLESS ERROR

UNDER STATE LAW DOES NOT PRESENT AN ISSUE OF

CONSTITUTIONAL OR FEDERAL LAW COGNIZABLE IN A

FEDERAL HABEAS CORPUS PROCEEDING.

After reviewing what three lower courts held on this issue,

petitioner says that "[e]ach court erred." (Petition, p. 34)

More interesting is petitioner's allegation that the lower court

"could not even find the federal issue." (Prtition, p. 34)

There is a reason for this; there was none to be found!

The Florida Supreme Court in view of the overwhelming

evidence of guilt held that as a matter of state law the

polygraph reference was harmless, citing to Coral Gables v.

Levison, 220 So.2d 430 (Fla.3d DCA 1969), and Gagnon v. State,

212 So.2d 337 (Fla.3d DCA 1968). Sullivan, 303 So.2d 635,

n. 2. The court reasoned as follows: ile,

We cannot know how the jury construed his

answer, or what weight was given to it;

therefore, to assert that it was construed |

as meaning he had already passed it would be

pure speculation on our part. Reversible

error cannot be predicated on conjecture.

Singer v. State, 109 So.2d 7 (Pla. 1959).

* t *

Without passing on the issue of whether

the question on cross-examination concerning

the relationship between the outcome of

McLaughlin's testimony and his eventual

sentence opened the door to a reference to

the polygraph test condition of his plea

bargain (the State contending that this was

proper rehabilitation of the witness, in the

nature of a showing that the State had good

reason to attach credibility to his testi-

mony), we observe that the evidence of

appellant's guilt, anelud’ng both the

testimony of McLa n (a ti ip

is

peculiar circumstances presented here, the

trial court did not commit reversible error

in denying appellant's motion for mistrial.

= 33 «=

Id. at 636. (Emphasis ours.) Justice Overton (concurring

specially) cited Harrington v. California, 395 U.S. 250 (1969),

Milton v. Wain right, 407 U.S. 371 (1972), and Schneble v.

Plorida, 405 U.S. 427 (1972), for the proposition that where

independent evidence of guilt is overwhelming, a constitutional

error can be rendered harmless. Respondents point out that two

of the three state decisions cited by the Flor.da Supreme Court

as authority for its holding predates the decisions of this Court

in Harrington, Milton, and Schneble. In fact no citation to

federal authority is to be found in the opinions handed down in

the state court decisions relied upon by the Florida Supreme

Court for its holding of harmless error.

Just recently in Michigan v. Long, U.S. , 33 Cr.L.

Rptr. 3317, this Court had occasion to discuss its jurisdiction

where the decision for which review is sougit rests on an

adequate and independent state ground. The Court remarked in

pertinent part as follows:

If a state court chooses merely to rely on

federal precedents as it would on the prece-

dents of all other jurisdictions, then it

need only make clear by a plain statement in

its judgment or opinion that the federal

cases are being used only for the purpose of

guidance, and do not themselves compel the

result that the court has reached. In this

way, both justice and judicial administra-

tion will be greatly improved. If the state

court decision indicates clearly and expressly

that it is alternatively based on bona fide

separate, adequate, and independent grounds,

we, of course, will not undertake to review

the decision.

The focus of Justice Stevens' dissent was on the Court's decision

to presume that adequate state grounds are intended to be dependent

on federal law unless the record plainly shows otherwise. The

dissent points out that if the intermediate approaches are

rejected, the Court is then left with a choice between two presump-

tions: one in favor of taking jurisdiction, and one against it.

Precedent shows that the latter presumption has always prevailed.

In support of this thesis, Justice Stevens quotes from Lynch v. New

York, 293 U.S. 52 (1934):

- 23 -

"where the judgment of tne state court

rests on two grounds, one involving a

federal question and the other not, or if it

does not appear upon which of two grounds

the judgment was based, and the ground

independent of a federal question is

sufficient in itself to sustain it, this

Court will not take jurisdiction. Allen v.

Mau ma 198 U.S. 149, 154, 155; Johnson

v. Ris ’ {137 U.S. 300, 306, 307); Wood

" ’ 9; Cuya a River Power

oO. v. Northern Realty Co., 344 U.S. 300,

, . U.S., at 4-55.

dg. at 3327.

In an attempt to get a foot inside the door, petitioner in

his argument under this point presents an issue that was never

precisely presented to any of the lower courts. In all of the

courts below the issue was simply whether the polygraph reference

constituted harmless error. Now, for the first time, it is

contended that the state prosecutor's “deliberate manipulation of

the evidence” violates due process standards. (Petition, p. 36.)

This is in direct violation of Picard v. Conner, supra, and

barred from consideration by this Court by Sykes and Isaac.

In concluding under this point, it deserves mention that

this Court has already rejected petitioner's argument on the

polygraph issue. See the Petition filed in this Court in

Sullivan v. Plorida, 428 U.S. 911 (1976).

CONCLUSION

The petition for writ of certiorari should be denied.

JIM SMITH

Attorney General

. BRI

Asgistant Attorney General

COUNSEL FOR RESPONDENTS

The Capitol, 1502

Tallahassee, FL 32301-8048

(904) 488-0290

° 24 <

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that on this 23rd day of September, 1983,

a copy of this Brief for Respondent in Opposition was mailed,

postage prepaid, to Mr. Roy E. Black, 1300 Miami Center, 100

Chopin Plaza, Miami, Florida 33131. I further certify that all

parties required to be served have bee

Vv

Assistant Attorney General

ef Counsel

- 25 -

* PR

a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

ROBERT A. SULLIVAN,

Peticioner,

-v- CASE NO. 79-2721-Civ-JAG

LOUIE L. WAINWRIGHT,

Secretary, Department

of Corrections; and

DAVID H. BRIERTON,

Superintendent of

* Plorida State Prison at

~ Starke, Florida,

Respondents. — pocrere® —

RESPONDENTS' MEMORANDUM BRIEF

JIM SMITH

Attorney General

WALLACE E. ALLBRITTON

Assistant Attorney General

COUNSEL FOR RESPONDENTS

The Capitol

Tallahassee, Florida 32301

(904) 488-0290

flagabale' toypr dic

<

Iti THE UWITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

ROBERT A. SULLIVAN,

Petitioner,

-v- CASE WO. 79-2721-Civ-JAG

LOUIE L. WAINWRIGHT,

Secretary, Department

of Corrections; and

DAVID H. BRIERTON,

Superintendent of

Florida State Prison at

Starke, Florida,

Respondents.

RESPONDENTS' MEMORANDUM BRIEF

PRELDOSINARY STATEMENT

The record is in four volumes. However, Volumes II,

III, and IV are bound in two volumes each, making a total

of seven separately bound volumes. The record volumes are

consecutively paginated and references thereto will be made

by the symbol "R" followed by appropriate page number.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE AND FACTS

This cause was initiated by the filing of a petition

for writ of habeas corpus in this court on June 21, 1979.

Following the filing of subsequent pleadings andthe issu-

ance of an order dated February 12, 1980, this cause came

on for hearing on March 6, 1980 before the Honorable Patricia

Jean Kyle, United States Magistrate.

Dennis Allen Dean, Sr., was called as a witness for

petitioner (R 248). “Mr. Dean testified that he was appointed

to represent petitioner on October 4, 1973. tr! gan on

direct examination basically outlined the things he did do

in his representation of petitioner (R 248-282). On cross-

examination, Mr. Dean testified as to his legal education

and experience (R 298-302). The first time that Dean

saw petitioner was at a suppression hearing and he (Dean)

formed the opinion then that petitioner would be a diffi-

cult witness to present to a jury (R 303). After being

appointed to represent petitioner, the first thing Dean

did was to have a lengthy meeting with petitioner and

secure the files and depositions from Ray Windsor and Carling

Stedman (R 304, 305). i was Deans opinion that the state

had am extremely strong case against petitioner (R 306).

Part of Dean's trial strategy was to develop error and make

the most of it on a subsequent appeal (R 307). Dean testi-

fied that it was difficult to get petitioner to think in

a cohesive manner as he wanted certain things brought up

that Dean felt had no relevance to the defense theary of

the case (R304). Dean had occasion to contemplate the

use of possible affirmative defenses such as insanity. How-

ver, after reviewing the reports of Drs. Corwin and Reichen-

berg, the theory of an insanity-type defense was discarded

(R 309). Counsel for petitioner agreed that there was no

basis for an insanity defense (R 311)- ‘The defense of

intoxication was considered but was discarded because it

was believed that same was insufficient for the purpose of

attacking the voluntariness of petitioner's confession

(R 312, 313). The defense of self-defense was considered

but this would a been” inconsistent with petitioner's

te

claim that he had nothing to do with the crime and was not

-_—_—— OC -

ever at the scene (R 313, 314). An effort was made to

develop an alibi defense through the use of a court-appointed

investigator. But this met with no success because the

alibi defense could not be pinpointed with specificity and

there was no corroboration by independent witnesses (R 314).

Other matters were considered such as coercion but not dis-

cussed with petitioner (R 315).

After formulating the decision to proceed with

the basic defense of trying to create some form of

reversible error, Dean had the benefit of twenty four

depositions that had already been taken in the case

and he rescheduled many of the depositions (R 316).

In other words, Dean stated that it was his belief

that certain witnesses were crucial to the state's

case and he wanted to redepose them to get more state-

nents om record for a possible later contradiction

(R 317). Dean also had the benefit of the transcript

of the motion to suppress which was a three or four

hour hearing (R 317). ALL of the depositions were

introduced in evidence as a composite exhibit, Defen-

dant'’s (reezpondents') Exhibit 13 (R318). At alloaf .

the depositions taken by Dean, with the exception of

one, petitioner was present (R 319). Dean wanted peti-

tioner present to hear what those witnesses were to

testify and also to have him available to feed hin

any questions that petitioner thought should be asked.

Dean thennarrated other factors that he did in prepara-

tion for trial (R 320, 321). Petitioner was given an

opportunity to review his prior testimony at the motion

to suppress and other depositions were made available

to him so that he could prepare himself for trial (R 322).

Because of:extensive pretrial publicity, Dean filed a

motion for change of venue but Judge Cowart deferred

ruling or it for the purpose of seeing if a jury could

be chosen (R 323). Dean made an opening statement and

prepared for closing argument. Of course, this prepara-

tion for closing argument was modified as the trial pro-

gressed (R 324). Dean explained the jury selection process

to petitioner (R 325) and during the process of selecting

the jury petitioner never indicated any dissatisfaction

with the manner in which Dean was conducting same (R 326).

ae

At no time during the trial did petitioner ever indicate

that he was dissatisfied with the way Dean was conducting

himself in the presentation of petitioner's defense (R 327).

‘Petitioner expressed no dissatisfaction with Dean's repre-

sentation during the sentencing phase of the trial (R 328).

Dean filed a motion for new trial and then subsequently

handled the appeal to the Florida Supreme Court. At no

time during the pendency of the appeal did petitioner express

any dissatisfaction with Dean's representation of him at

the trial level (R 329). The next thing that Dean did for

petitioner was co secure am order from the United States

Supceme Court staying execution of sentence (R 329). Dean

filed a petition for writ of certiorari in the United States

Supreme Court which was subsequently denied in July of 1976.

Incidentally, petitioner was in court when Judge Cowart appoin-

ted Dean as a special public defender for purposes of appeal.

Ac this time, petitioner made no objection whatsoever to

Dean’s continuing representation of him for purposes of

appeal (R 331). Dean stated that over a period of time he

had received numerous letters from petitioner indicating

his satisfaction with his (Dean's) representation.

In January of 1977, Dean appeared on behalf of peti-

tioner at the Parole Commission hearing. This was at peci-

tioner’s request (R 337). At the time Dean appeared before

the peveie' Comnidcten in petitioner's behalf he had already

received information from various sources that petitioner

had, in fact, committed the crime (R 338). In the latter

part of March 1977, Dean appeared before the cabinet to

plead for mercy at the Clemency Board hearing (R 339).

This also was done at petitioner's request (R 340). After

having done everything that he could in enssionnn" 6 behalf,

Dean began communicating the idea to petitioner that it

would be a good idea if he got a new attorney (R 340). It

was during this period of time that Dean discussed with

petitioner the possibility of post-conviction relief

motions. As a possibility of getting back into court

and getting the appellate process started all over again,

Dean indicated the possibility of making the claim of

ineffective assistance of counsel at the motion to sup-

press hearing. During all of this time, petitioner never

indicated any dissatisfaction with Dean's representation

(R 341). Weither did petitioner directly or through any

third party indicate any dissatisfaction with Dean's

representation either at the trial or appellate level

(R 341). The first time Dean received any indication

that petitioner was dissatisfied with his representation

was when the 3.850 motion was filed in Circuit Court

before Judge Gable.

Mr. Dean stated that he had had occasion.to. review.

the allegations alleged by petitioner against him in the

3.850 motion and in the habeas before this court. Dean

then explained as best he recalled why the trial date was

changed from November 26, 1973 to the first week of Noven-

ber 1973. Dean stated that he moved for a continuance

which was denied. In explaining why this was done, Dean

frankly stated that he never wanted to try the case if he

could avoid it. Im fact, any delay that could have been

secured could have been only beneficial for the defense

(R 349). Dean stated that the motion could possibly be

characterized as frivolous and that .t was filed with the

hope of delaying the trial. Petitioner was aware that

Dean was going to make the motion for continuance and the

reasons therefor (R 350). Dean stated that he was prepared

for trial; that he iad done everything that he‘could do

(R 350, 351). Dean further stated his reasons for believing

that it was useless to try to make Frank Barden a suspect

(R 352, limes 7-17). Certain matters were stipulated for

the purpose of avoiding the use of 8 x 10 color photo-

gvaphs of the victim. Consequently, Dean stated that

if there was no contest as to the cause of death then

it would be best to avoid the state having to use grue-

some, prejudicial photographs (R 355). Desa stipulated

as to the manner, cause, date, and time of death in

order to avoid prejudicial testimony coming out before

the jury (R 354). ALL of this was discussed with peti-

ttoner who was present at the pretrial conference. Again,

the stipulations entered into by Dean were made with the

approval of petitioner (R 356). Further, Dean explained

the strategy of avoiding Dr. Beamer's testimony and peti-

tioner indicated no disagreement with Dean's tactics

(KR 357).

Dean also wanted to avoid the victim's wife from

testifying as he believed this would have been prejudicial

and petitioner agreed (R 357, 358).

As to why no plaster casts were taken of any foot-

prints, Dean testified that there were no identifiable

prints that could have been attributed to anybody (R 360).

Deen further testified that he requested no laboratory

analysis of the tire irom because same had been wiped off

or wiped clean. After all, Dean stated that the tire iron

was found in petitioner's car and he assumed that petitioner's

fingerprints would have been on it. Petitioner never denied

the ownership or existence of the tire iron.

Dean next explained concerning the alleged failure

to investigate the potential of any latent prints on the

adhesive tape with which the victim was bound (R 362) -

According to Ron Shuk, those prints appeared to be palm

prints and were on the sticky side of the tape and could

not, in Shuk's opinion, be identified to petitioner or

anyone else. Shuk, according to Dean, testified that

it was his opinion based on the position of the tape

that the prints found thereon were the victim's prints

(R 363). Dean had no information in his possession

that he could have given to anybody for the purpose of

having Shuk make a print comparison (R 364).

Wext Dean explained that he knew of a Gilbert

Jackson. This person was im the car at the time peti-

tioner was arrested om April 17, I973.. Petitioner

mever indicated that He felt that Mr. Jackson would

have anything to say that would be relevant to the

case. In fact, Jackson had only been in Miami a few

days and was not there when the murder allegedly took

place (R 365, 366). Dean stated that he did not file

@ motion for rehearing on the suppression issue because

he was satisfied from an appellate standpoint with the

trial fudge's denial of the motion (R 366). Dean reviewed

the testimonr of the suppressiom hearing and was satisfied

that Mr. Windsor and Mr. Bronis had made a proper record

for appellate purposes and there was no need to supplement

that record in any fashion whatsoever (R 367). Dean explained

the efforts made to locate a Thomas Murphy. This was an

individual that petitioner had met at Keith's Bar whom

pecitioner said was a lawyer from Boston. On the night

of the arrest, petitioner claimed that he had asked the

police to go back to the bar and contact Mr. Murphy so he

could have the benefit of counsel. Petitioner said the

police refused so to do. The police denied knowledge of

this type of conversation. Dean checked through Martindale-

Hubbell and was unable to locate a Thomas Murphy as. an attor-

nev in Coston or anywhere in Massachusetts. Petitioner had

absolutely no istinbaniosta ration this man was supposed to be

an attorney from Boston. Dean was unable to locate Mr.

Murphy and until this date no one has been successful in

finding this gentleman (R 368).

Dean next explained that he could see no rele-

vance to any testimony of a state highway patrolman

who allegedly passed by the vehicle in which the victim

was held prior to the mirder. Dean pointed out that

there was testimony in petitioner's confession that

while he and Reid McLaughlin were driving the victim

around on the Tamftami Trail, at ome point they stopped

the car. The victim was taken into the woods or an

area off the road and while they were there petitioner

saw a Florida Highway Patrol car drive by. Dean pointed

out that for him to try to corroborate what petiticner

had said in his confession didn’t make a whole lot of

sense (R 369, 370). a0

Dear again explained why he was unable to impeach

Frank Bardem because he had not been adjudicated guilty.

In spite of this, Dean stated he still attempted to per-

fect the record for purposes of appeal. In fact, Dean

kept plodding in this area wtil Judge Cowart got upset

with him and told him he had better quit (R 370, 371).

Dean stated that he did not present any legal

argument in support of judgment of acquittal made at the

conclusion of the state's case because it wasn't necessary

to do so in order to preserve the record. Dean stated

that at that point in time trying to convince the judge

that a prima facie case had not been established would

have been ludicrous. Dean pointed out that the state on

appeal was unable to say that any of the issues presented

had not been appropriately preserved for ay pellate review

(R 372). :

In answer to the accusation that he did not submit

any written jury instructions, Dean pointed out that propcsed

jury instructions were prepared and submitted to him. He

reviewed them and was satisfied with them (R 372). There

’ were proposed instructions that Dean objected to which

were not given but Dean stated that he was satisfied

with the overall instructions (RK i73).

In answer to the accusation that Dean inappropriately

emphasized that petitioner was a homosexual, Dean stated

that he did bring this to the jury's attention as early

as voir dire. This was done not only with petitioner's

: approval but pursuant to his fnstruction (KR 374). In

. fact, Dean stated that two jurors were excused for cause

because this area was explored. Again, Dean stated it

was petitioner's idea initially to bring out the fact

that he was a homosexual. One reason for this was that

petittoner might gain some sympathy from the jury because

of that fact (R 375). Defendant's Exhibit 1 for Identifi-

cation was a List of handwritten questions prepared by

petitfoner and the very first question thereon related

to petitioner’s being a homosexual (R 376). This list of

questions was introduced in evidence as Respondent's

Exhibit 1 (R 377).

Mr. Dean next described the events leading up to

a polygraph examination being administered to petitioner

by Warren Holmes (R 377-380). Dean stated that petitioner

mever at any time after the administration of the polygraph

examination claimed that Mr. Holmes was lying ond that he

had not made any of the admissions alleged in the polygraph

report (R 380, lines 9-13). Dean recited Holmes’ reputation

as a polygraph examiner (K 381) and further stated that

petitioner never indicated that there was anything wrong

with what transpired during the pretest interview (R 382).

Dean again repeated that from the time he was appointed

until the date of the trial, he had adequate time to prepare

the case for trial (R 383, 384).

On redirect examination, counsel for petitioner

quoted out of context a portion of a letter dated Febru-

ary 5, 1974 from Dean to petitioner and asked if Dean

didm't think that such statement would have a chilling

effect on petitioner expressing dissatisfaction with

him over any part of the case. Dean answered in the

negative (R 389, 390). Further, Dean dented that whether

or not there was blood on the tire iron would be of ary

significance in refuting the testimony of Reid McLaughlin

(R 392). Dear pointed out that he didm’t know that the

tire iron found in the car was attributed to being the

tire irom that petittoner supposedly used (R 392). Dean

pointed out that several things:: were admitted in evidence

by Judge Cowart for whatever relevancy the jury wanted to.

give it but that he did not recall McLaughlin saying that

it was the same tire iron. Dean explained that he was

satisfied fin utilizing the evidence, the adhesive tape

used to bind the victim, once Mr. Shuk had said he conm-

pared the palm print thereon to that of petitioner and

it wasn't petitioner’s prints nor McLaughlin's prints.

Dean explained that he used this in closing argument

that since the print om the adhesive tape was not identi-

fiable to either McLaughlin or petitioner, this was con-

sfetent with the defense theory that there was a third

person involved in the case (R 395). On recross examina-

tion, Dean explained the remarks in his letter that peti-

tioner's counsel had inquired about on redirect examination.

Please see Dean's testimony at R 398, line 16--R 399, line 6.

On direct examination, it was brought out that

in the sentencine siti of the trial Judge Cowart had

made the observation that he had observed not vig oetmaiitte

of remorse displayed by petitioner. Dean was asked if he

made any objection to Judge Cowart making a finding that

that was an aggravating circumstance. Dean answered

in the negative. Deam then explained that he did not

interpret the language of Judge Cowart as finding that

the “Lack of remorse” was an aggravating circumstance

but rather merely an observation (R 260, 261).

Further, on direct examination, Dean was asked

questions relating to his cross-examination of Frank

Barden, a former manager of the Howard Johnson's Restau-

rant from which the victim was abducted (R 262, 263).

Dean stated that he could not impeach Barden on the

basis of a prior conviction of crime because Barden

had pled guilty to the crime and adjudication was with-

held and he was placed on probation. Consequently, Dean

explained, he could not ask Barden if he had ever been

convicted of a crime because he, in fact, had not. Dear

stated that thfs notwithstanding he did try to go into

the embezzlement and the fact that Barden had fled to

Las Vegas and had beer picked up there. At this point,

Judge Cowart precluded him. from going any further into

it (R 263). Dean testified that he was satisfied based

on his own interpretation of the Law that he could not

ask Barden the question of whether he had ever been con-

victed of a crime. There was no trial strategy involved

in this; it was a matter of Dean's interpretatior® of the

law (RK 264, 265). Dean stated that he had no recollection

of filing a motion attacking the composition of the grand

jury (R 265). Dean stated that he was satisfied that he

had ample time to prepare for the penalty phase of the

trial. Subpoenas for six or seven witnesses had been

issued and he ended up presenting the testimony, of. five

witnesses (R 268). Dean testified that on the morning

of the sentencing phase of the trial, he received Hr.

Holmes' polygraph report which disturbed him (R 268, 269).

Dean emphasized that although the report may have affected

4,

him personally it did not affect his argument to the

jury (R 269, 270).

Dean stated that he was familiar with the case of

Witherspoon v. Illinois and was familiar with it in 1973.

Counsel for petitioner asked Dean why he did not object

to prospective juror Hammiel being excused by the court.

Dean explained that his fatlure to object could have been

for one of two reasons: one, he was satisfied from the

answers given that the juror met the Witherspoon criteria,

and the other was that he didn’t want the prospective juror

to serve (R 272, 273). Dean was then asked if there was any

trial strategy involved in not objecting to prospective juror

Hammiels being excused (R 273). Dean explained: "At this

time, looking solely at the cold record, I can't tell ‘you te

why I didn’t object to the Court excusing this juror. I

cam tell you that I didm'’t want her for whatever reasons. If

T wanted her, I would have objected and pursued the matter."

(R 274, Lines 1-5)

When asked if petitioner ever sent him any names

cf alibi witmesses, Dean answered that he didn't know

if you could characterize them as alibi witnesses. This

would be particularly true of the witness Thomas Murphy.

Dean stated that Mike the bartender had been contacted

by the investigator and confirmed the fact that petitioner

was in the lounge almost every night but could not pin

it down to any specific time periods such as would be

required under the alibi statute (R 274, 275). Dean

explained that petitioner was adamant about wanting to

take a polygraph test (R 276). A motion was presented

to Judge Cowart for this purpose which was granted: ;

Petitioner was transported to the office of Warren Holmes

for the purpose of the polygraph. Dean further stated

-12-

there was never any discussion with Holmes about the

, polygraph and that he had no contact at ali with Holmes

as far as he could recall (R 277).

When asked if he ever entertained the opinion

that Mr. Windsor had given petitioner ineffective assis-

tance of counsel at the motion to suppress hearing, Dean

explained as follows:

A No, sir. Now, let me explain, because [I

e know what the follow-up question is.

Near the end of the time when I had made

the decision to withdraw from further repre-

sentation of Mr. Sullivan for various reasons,

he had written me and asked if there was any

- what possible arguments or avenues were

open to him at that point in time. This was

in, L believe, 1977 or possibly 1978. This

was after I had handled the appeal to the

Florida Supreme Court, after I had handled

a motion for post-conviction relief before ~

Judge Cowart; after [I appeared before the

Probation and Parole Commission at Raiford;

after I appeared before the Governor and

Cabinet in Tallahassee and after I had filed

a lawsuit im Tallahassee against the Governor

and the Cabinet. AlI of those things had been

explored without success.

L told Bob that I would review the transcript

and see if there was any $s tions I could

give to him or to whoever mew counsel may be.

In reviewing the transcript, I went over

the whole transcript again and as [ did, IL

noticed that at the motion to suppress it

appeared that Ray Windsor, who was representing

him at the time, took the burden or accepted

the burden at the motion. There was some

Florida case law at the time that indicated the

State has the burder om a motion to suppress

hearing.

. As giving Mr. Sullivan the possibilicy of

some to argue that. had not been previously

argued, “eee that the possibility; migt.c

lie with an ffective assistance of covnsel

motion alleging that Mr. Windsor improperly

accepted the burden at the motion to suppress

hearing.

(R 279, 280) ~

* °

sell ‘-- °

.

At the beginning of Dean's cross-examination by

Mr. Adorno it was brought out that petitioner had instruc-

ted Dean to retain certain letters and the polygraph examina-

tion and not to turn those items over to new counsel that he

(petitioner) might obtain (R 282). The reason for this, so

Zz

Dean testified, was that petitioner did not want to

compromise his position with any new counsel that might

be appointed to represent him. Dean was then asked if

petitioner had ever explained to him what he meant by

compromising himself with his new attorney. At this

time, there was an objection based on the attorney-client

privilege (R 283) which was overruled by Judge Kyle (R 286,

287). Dean then answered that petitioner had indicated

_ that he wanted to avoid the possibility of a conflict

situation as had existed between himself and Mr. Windsor

which resulted in Mr. Windsor's withdrawal from the case

(R 288). When asked if petitioner ever explained what

this conflict was, Dean stated as follows:

A He indicated in the correspondence that

at one point he apologized for not heving °

been completely open with me and - I cant

ape Seek os song Pag oe oe

B games or ed - was bis

word, but he was sure that I understood why

he had done it and it was to avoid the situa-

tion that he had with Mr. Windsor.

Q That is, that he toid Mr. Windsor he had

committed the crime?

A And, then, wanted to testify denying it.

Q Mr. Windsor indicated to him that he would

mot put him on the stand and suborn perjury?

A That's my understanding, yes.

(R 289)

Dean identified Defendant's Exhibit 5 for Identifi-

cation (R 291) and stated that it was a letter received by

him from petittoner dated March 14, 1974. It was a piece

of correspondence im which petitioner referred to his prior

conflict or compromising situation with Mr. Windsor. Dean

was then asked if he interpreted a certain portion of this

letter as an admission by petitioner to Mr. Windsor that he

committed thn crime (R 292). Dean answered in the affirma-

tive (R 293). Dean was then asked how he interpreted that

portion of the letter, Defendant's Exhibit 5 for Identifi-

cation, which was underlined. Dean answered that it was

2

his interpretation of that portion of the letter that

petitioner had committed the crime but had intention-

ally not told him of this fact (R 295). Dean was then

asked if there was anything in the report submitted by

Warren Holmes that led him to develop the interpreta-

tion he had just voiced with respect to Defendant's

Exhibit 5 for Identification. Dean answered that the

statements made in the polygraph report tied into what

petitioner stated in his letter of March 14, 1974 (R 297).

Dearr then identified Defendant's Exhibit 10 and 8 for

Identification as letters received by him from petitioner

and stated that both of those letters had reference to

petitioner asking him to retain certain letters and the

polygraph examination and not turn them over to any new

counsel (R 298).

Judge Ellen Morphionios Gable was called as a wit-

ness by the respondents (R 56). Judge Gable stated her

judicial background and then in answer to questions pro-

pounded by counsel for respondents testified as to her

reasons for not having petitioner present at the state

court hearing om petitioner's 3.850 motion. She testi-

fied thac in view of the extensive affidavit filed by

petitioner and the security risk involved that she ruled

petitioner would not have to be present at the hearing.

She costified that she read the affidavit in its entirety

and took it into consideration in making the ruling

(R 58, 59). Judge Gable further testified that she had

ruled on the effective assistance of counsel issue and

held that petitioner had been supplied "completely ade-

quate assistance of counsel." (R60) Judge Gable testi-

fied that she was familiar with Mr. Dean's sepucation as

an attorney and that she would have appointed him as a

special public defender on any given case because "he's

an excellent lawyer." (R60) Further, she stated that

his reputation was excellent (R 61). Om redirect

examination, the following occurred:

Since you took the affidavit at its

value, not subject to cross examina-

tion by the State, would you have also

taken into consideration any letters

written by the Defendant that Mr. Black,

if he saw fit to introduce for you to

take into consideration?

A Sure. I thoughe I made it clear that

I would consider anything and all that

Mr. Sullivan wanted to present to me in

writing, but I wasn’t going to have him

brought back.

(R 70)

Judge Edward D. Cowart (R 71) was called as a

witness by the respondents and after stating his educa-

tional, professional, and judicial background testified

that it was his opinion that Ray Windsor was a very well

qualified, very competent young Lawyer, very studious young

lawyer (KR 76). Judge Cowart stated that there was nothing

im his recollection that would lead him to believe that

petitioner received ineffective assistance of counsel

from Mr. Windsor during the motion to suppress. To the

contrary, he stated that the matter was a "well legally

argued motion." (R78) Judge Cowart further testified

that prior to his appointment of Mr. Dean as petitioner's

counsel he had formed an opinion of his competency as a

criminal defense nneseninT tee in his opinion Dean was

a very pronising and very thorough young attorney (R 81).

Judge Cowart testified that Dean's reputation as a criminal

defense attorney was excellent. As to Dean's handling of

the pretrial hearings and trial itself, Judge Cowart testri-

fied that in his opinion Dean did an excellent job with the

material he had to work with (R 82). Judge Cowart character-

ized the strength of the state's case against petitioner as

being exceptionally strong (R 83). When Judge Cowart was _

asked if petitioner ever at any time voiced to him any dis-

satisfaction with the representation of Mr. Dean, he answered

as follows:

Zz

A No, on the contrary, [I thought thar

the concept of the Defendant at that

time, or the presentation of the Defen-

dant and his general attitude and demeanor

toward Mr. Dean was very cordial and cer-

tainly there was no representation or

allegartton of incompetency that I ever

joined issue on.

(R 84)

Robert A. Sullivan, petitioner, testified in his

own behalf and his direct examination begins at R 17-43;

100-125. Om cross-examination (R 126), petitioner testi-

fted chat he didn’t want to be executed (R 131) and would

try his hardest not to be executed. However, he stated

he would not lie under oath (R 132). When asked if he

had ever lied to his attorneys, he responded as follows:

"A Positions have been changed due to circumstances that

might have been different positions at one point of time

which, in answer to your question, yes." (R133) When

asked if he had lied to his attorneys on more than one

occasion, petitioner replied: "A In regard ~- The only

area that [ recall was a strategy on my part being as a

last resort with Mr. Dear regarding clemency well afzer

my trial.'' (R134) Petitioner as far as he could recall

stated chat he had never lied to Mr. Windsor (R 134).

Petitioner testified that he first became dissatisfied

with Mr. Dean's representation during the course of the

trial and he felt that Dean had sold him out (R 143). The

first thing that petitioner didn’t like about Mr. Dean was

the fact that he moved up the trial date (R145). During

the course of the trial petitioner became disappointed

with Mr. Dean's represertation (R 147). In fact, he was

totally disappointed with Mr. Dean's representation of him

at the crial. Petitioner was then asked to produce any

letters or motions that he filed with Judge Cowart regarding

Dean's representation during the year 1974. In answer, peti-

tioner stated that he ‘tiled no motions attacking the competency

of Mr. Dean either before Judge Cowart or before any other

é

judicial body (R 149). Petitioner stated that in the

year 1974 he did not write any letters to the Bar complain-

ing of Mr. Dean's representation and neither did he write

to anybody requesting a substitution of counsel. In 1975,

petitioner stated that he complained to David Kendall of

NAACP Legal Defense Fund concerning Dean's representation.

However, petitioner did not ask Mr. Kendall to appear before

the Supreme Court of the State of Florida and ask fora

substitution of counsel (R 150, I51). Petitioner stated

that he decided to stick with the attorney who he felt

had sold him down the river and allow him (Mr. Dean) to

argue his appeal in front of the Florida Supreme Court

(R LSL). Petitioner testified that Kendall had advised

him to put aside the issue of ineffective assistance of

counsel until the habeas corpus stage of the case had been

reached (R L51, 152). Petitioner admitted that in October

of 1973 he kmew how to raise the issue of ineffective assis-

tance cf counsel before Judge Cowart and that he did not

forget this while he was sitting om death row (R 153, line

19--R 154, line 2). Petitioner admitted that Kendall advised

him that what Mr. Dean was doing was effective (R155). In

the year 1975, no other letters or motions were filed with

any court asking for another attorney (R155). Petitioner

testified that following the denial of certiorari in the

United States Supreme Court the thought crossed his mind

that it was time to change attorneys. However, he stated

that in the year 1976 he did not file any motions for sub-

stitution of counsel or write any letters to a court asking

for another attorney (R159). Petitioner stated that he

never at any time asKed Kendall to take over his case because

Dean was incompetent and had sold him down the tiver (R 161,

162). Petitioner stated that because in his opinion Dean

did a lousy job defending him that in that context he did

not like Mr. Dean. However, he then admitted that he kept

this "lousy man" who did a "lousy job” at the trial level

<

all the way through 1976, all the way to the United

States Supreme Court (R 163). Although there were other

lawyers working on the civil litigation, petitioner stated

that he never advised any of them that he thought Mr. Dean

was incompetent and that he didn't want Mr. Dean on the

case. During the pendency of the Litigation, Sullivan v.

Askew, petitioner stated he never told Tobias Simon or

anyone else working om that particular aspect of the case

that Mr. Dean had giver him ineffective assistance at the

trial level and that he wanted to raise the issue as a

ground for reversal (R 168, Lines 6-18).. Petitioner

further testified that when Dean volunteered to represent

him before the Clemency Board that he agreed to this repre-

sentation. Petitioner admitted that even thceugh he felt

Dean had sold him down the river that because of Mr. Ken-

dall"s belief that Dean would be best suited to represent

him, he agreed to the representation. Petitioner was unhappy

with Dear's representation of him at the trial level in every

phase thereof, and yet he agreed to allow Mr. Dean to stand

up before the Parole Commission and again be his mouthpiece

(R 172, 173). Petitioner admitted chat at the hearing before

the Parole Commission he never at any time complained of

Dean's alleged ineffective representation (R173, 174).

Petitioner did state that basically he was satisfied with

Dean's representation of him before the Parole Commission

(R175). Petitioner admitted that he did not file any

documents between the date of the hearing in front of the

Parole Commission, January 17, 1977, and the date he appeared

in front of the Executive Clemency Board on March 28, 1977,

asking that ‘he be given another attorney or stating to any

judicial body that he was dissatisfied with Mr. ‘Dean's repre-

sentation (R 176). The first time petitioner filed an official

pleading before a judicial body raising tle ineffective assis-

tance of counsel issue was in the post-conviction 3.850 motion

filed before Judge Gable (R177). Petitioner then admitted

<

Se ———————EEEEOOEeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEeEe—eEEEEE———EE

that he waited approximately four years since 1975 to

actually file a pleading raising the ineffective assis-

~=— tance of counsel issue (R 178).

Petitioner admitted that on the night he was

arrested he had the victim's watch and credit cards in

his possession. He had a shotgun in his trunk and he

had a tire iron in his trunk. He «admitted giving an

oral and written statement to Sgt. Felton admitting the

i kflling of Mr. Schmidt. Petitioner admitted taking Sgt.

Felton and Detective Lawrence to his hotel room where he

showed them the proceeds from the robbery, items taken

fruz Howard Johnson's (R 181, 182). Petitioner admitted

that it added up to a pretty strong case (R 182). Peti-

tioner indicated that he understood the. meaning of an’

alibi defense (R 184) and that such defense necessarily

meant that he didn't commit the crime. He stated that he

told Mr. Windsor that he did not commit the crime (R 185).

Petitioner admitted that he gave the statement to Officers

Felton and Lawrence (R 186). He again repeated that he

told Mr. Windsor that he was innocent and that somebody

else committed the murder (R 187). Petitioner denied that

he ever told anybody the reason Mr. Windsor got out of

the case was because he had admitted to Windsor that he

had committed the crime and that Windsor did not-want to

. put him on the stand to suborn perjury. Petitioner stated

that one reason he wanted to take a polygraph was to prove

the truth of his alibi defense (R190). There was no

coercion on petitioner tc take a polygraph test and the

state attorney's office had nothing to do with his going

to see Warren Holmes (R 191). Petitioner admitted thac

he was administered a polygraph examination by Warren Holmes

(R 193) Petitioner admitted that after having the polygraph

administered he had a conversation with Warren Holmes (R 200).

Petitioner denied that he admitted to Mr. Holmes that he com-

mitted the murder; denied that he admitted to Mr. Holmes that

4

he had told his previous attorney, Mr. Windsor, that he

wanted to take the stand and lie (R 200). Petitioner

denied having made any admissions of guilt whatsoever

to Mr. Holmes (R 201, 202). Petitioner again stated that

he never lied to Mr. Windsor and only lied to Mr. Dean

prior to the parole hearing (R 205, 206). Petitioner,

when asked if he changed his story about what happened

on the night of the murder would that come within his

definition of Lying, stated that ic would (R 206, 207).

Petitioner again stated that he never changed his story

to Mr. Windsor about what happened on the night Schmidt

was killed (R 207). His attention was then drawn to Plain-

tiff's Exhibit 4 which he identified as a letter he had

sent to Ray Windsor on September 24, 1973 wherein the

following was stated:

Q (By Mr. Adorno) "Chris had for his share

the credit cards, some of the traveler's

checks, not all, most of the change and the

rest of the small bills. The money taken out

of my coat pocket was mine, not from the rob-

bery. Believe me, L would not have the stomach

to kill a person in cold blood and leave the

body im a place to be found and on top of that

use those -"" and, then, you used a money sign

or the typewriter, [I guess to indicate a word

you didn’c want to put in print, "credit cards.

Can't you see that? I know it will be hard to

believe anything [I said because of the number

of times I have changed my story, but this is

ic, the truth.”

Did you write that to Mr. Windsor?

A If it's in there, I did.

(R 208)

Petitioner was then confronted with p. 2 of Defendant's

Exhibit 5 for Identification (R 213, lines 8-19) and then

asked what games he played with Mr. Windsor. Petitioner

answered that he had fteference to something he had explained

before regarding Reid McLaughlin (R 213). As to'matters he

had fibbed about (R 216), petitioner stated this had to do

with aiscrepancies between McLaughlin's participation. When

asked why he fibbed about Reid McLaughlin, petitioner answered

he was probably just confused (R 217). Petitioner testified

<

that he had admitted to Mr. Dean after the trial that

he had committed the murder (R 218).

Peter Tighe was called as a witness on behalf of

petitioner (R 403). Mr. Tighe during the month of April 1973

was a manager at Keith's Cruise Lounge in Hallandale, Florida,

and he knew the petitioner, Robert Austin Sullivan (R 403).

He stated that he also knew a person by the name of Thomas

Murphy (R 404). Mr. Tighe was familiar with the date of

April 8, 1973 because it was Billy Harlow’s 18th birthday

(R 408). Mr. Tighe recalled seeing Mr. Sullivan on April 8,

1973. He stated that petitioner was in the bar around 11:30

p.m. om the date in question (R 409). Tighe admitted that

he couldn’t tell exactly where petitioner was throughout the

night but again stated he was there at 11:30 before the show

went on and then afterwards at approximately 2:00 o'clock

he (petitioner) sat down and talked to Michael Carmack,

another bartender (R 410, 4I1). Om cross-examination, Tighe

stated he was almost positive that petitioner was in the bar

when he walked in at 7:00 p.m. (E 417, 418). Later, his

testimony changed as to the time petitioner came in the bar

(R 421). Tighe admitted that all he could really say was

that petitioner came into the bar and then left before

Carmack came on duty at 10:00 o'clock and that this could

have happened at anytime between 7:00 and 10:00 prm. (R 423).

Tighe in answer to the question, why didn't he come forward

when he knew petitioner had been sentenced to prison, "I

can't tell you why.” (R 430, 431) He said he had his own

problems ard was waiting to contact him (R 431, 432). Tighe

admitted that he couldn't see who left the bar between 12:30

and 2:00 a.m. on the morning of April 9, 1973 (RB, 449).. On

June 20, 1979, Tighe executed an affidavit and stated that

the contents thereof was .ccurate and represented his total

recollection of what happened at that time (R 467, 468).

In Paragraph 5 of the affidavit Tighe alleged that he

was presently umable to recall with certainty the hours

that Bob Sullivan was present in the lounge on that night

(R 468, lines 5-12). The affidavit mentioned nothing about

April 8th being Billy Harlow's birthday (R 469). Tighe

testified that in 1973 he knew it was impossible for peti-

tioner to have committed the murder but that he was simply

too busy with his job and everything else to do anything

abour it (R 492). Tighe'’s testimony as to the presence

in the bar im the late evening of April 8th and early morn-

ing hours of April 9, 1973 was equivocal. Note the follow-

ing:

Q Your'’re telling us that from your own

independent recollection, you specifically

remember Bob Sullivan at the lounge the

might, late evening of April 8th, and the

early morming hours of April 9th, 1973?

Yes.

That's of your own independent '‘mowledge?

Yes.

No doubt about it in your mind?

No, no.

a2 > 2 PP A PP

You don't really need anything to corroborate

your memory on that; you're pretty sure about

- that?

A Yes. [I'd say 99 percent.

Q That he was there?

A Yeah.

CR 498, 499)

Following the above series of questions and answers, Tighe

changed his testimony to being 100 percent sure as to petitioner

being present in the bar on the dates in question. Note

the following:

oa there is a chance he was not there at

all?

A No. What L'm seyine, you know, 99 percent

means - that's like 100 percent.

Q No, 99 means 99. 100 means 100.

A I'll go with a hundred percent.

Q IZ don't want you to go with anything. Do

you have an indevendent recollection?

Yes.

Without anything else helping you?

Without anyone else helping me, yes.

You don't know anything else’

> © PP © P

Ne.

(R 499)

William Paul Harlow was called as a witness on

behalf of petitioner (R 533). Mr. Harlow stated that he

remembered being at Keith's Cruise Lounge on April 8, 1973

because he was celebrating his [8th birthday (R 534). Mr.

Harlow testified that he and his party arrived at the bar

at approximately 11:30 - 12:00 p.m. om April 8th and chat

he saw petitioner come in the bar before the show started

(R 535). Om cross-examination, Harlow stated that petitioner

was not in the bar when he came in (R 542). Harlow stated

that he talked to petitioner approximately five minutes at

most (R 544) and after this he went back to his friends

(R 545). Harlow then stated that thereafter he couldn't

say exactly where petitioner went (R 545). Harlow stated

that next time he specifically remembered seeing petitioner

was sometime during the show when petitioner was standing

by the bar talking to Michael (R 546). The next time Harlow

remembered seeing petitioner was sometime after the show ended

(R 548). Mr. Harlow also testified that he did know a Thomas

Murphy (R 554) but at no time during the evening in question

did he see Murphy with petitioner (R 555). Harlow testified

that the first time he found out about Mr. Sullivan was when

a person named Barry Weaver got in touch with him (R 557).

Hie receivod some documents and newspaper articles from Mr.

Weaver and was requested to get in touch with pecitioner's

lawyer, Mr. Roy Black (R 557, 558). The documents that

Harlow received included petitioner's alibi, i.e., he was

at the lounge on the evening in questica (R 560).

373. - ee

a

-

>

.

-

-

Mr. Harlow stated that he had been requested to write

down his recollection of the events on the night of

April 8, 1973 and he did so (R 561). This was typed up

and marked as Defense Exhibit 44 for Identification (R 562).

Raymond Martin Windsor was called as a witness by

tae respondents (R 582). Mr. Windsor stated that he was

an attorney admitted to practice in the State of Florida

and before the U.S. District Court of the Southern District

of Florida. He then outlined his professional background

stating that 50 to 60-percent of his practice was in the

field of criminal law. He had served as an assistant pub-

lic defender (R 583). Mr. Windsor first met petitioner in

April of 1973 after having been appointed by Judge Cowart

to represent him (R 585). In the course of events, Windsor

learned about the state's case against petitioner and that

the crime with which he was charged was a very heinous one

and that there had been an admission by petitioner as to

his complicity (R 586, 587). When asked if he had received

any other information regarding petitioner's guilt, Windsor

answered in the affirmative, explaining that petitioner had

admitted to him his participation in the crime (R 587).

Windsor could not recall the exact dialogue when petitioner

expressed his participation but emphasized that petitioner

did acknowledge his guilt although he could not recall the

exact weeds (R 588). Windsor explored the possibility of

several defenses and requested a psychiatric report. He

did receive a report, State's Exhibits 25 and 28 from Dr.

Corwin and Psychologist Norman Reichenberg (R 589). Wind-

sor stated that Dr. Corwin's report corroborated petitioner's

admitted responsibility in the matter (R 590)... The defense

of alibi was explored and this was a defense that petitioner

wanted Windsor to utilize by manufacturing for him an alibi

defense. Petitioner wanted Windsor to go out and locate

alibi witnesses, put them on the stand, and have them perjure

themselves (R 590, line 23--R 59, Line 5). Windsor

took many depositions in preparation for trial and was

aware of the allegation that he had not been present at

the taking of certain depositions (R591). He stated

that those depositions were taken by the codefendant's

attormey, Steven Bronis (R 591, 592). Windsor had an

agreement with Bronis regarding the taking of those deposi-

tions and this involved an aspect of Windsor's trial strategy.

Note the following:

A Yes. It was my intent to have Mr. Bronis

take the depositions of those witnesses, have

them typed up, thereby giving me the opportun-

ity to read those depositions; then, have a

second bite at the apple, so to speak. I didn't

think [I would have any problem retaking deposi-

tions of witnesses whose statements I would want

to thoroughly to into, or more thoroughly to

into or more greatly clarify.

I wanted to have an opportunity to have them

down on the record as many times as I possibly

could, in order to obtain as many inconsistencies

as possibly could be obtained.

(R 592)

There came a time when Windsor wanted to withdraw as counsel

of record for petitioner (R 593). He identified Defendant's

Exhibit 23 as a transcript of the hearing on the morion to

be relieved of responsibility for handling petitioner's case.

When asked what he did not tell the court as to his reason

for wanting to withdraw, Windsor responded as follows:

A Essentially, Mr. Sullivan wanted me to

sue-an alibi defehse for him. Apparently

would have wanted to call certain sienneses

who he would be contending would be able to

place him at a scene different from the place

bf the alleged homicide at the time and it was

absurd, because prior to that time Sullivan

had commmicated to me his participation in

this matter and now he wanted me to establish

or manufacture an alibi defense for him.

I‘didn't gé to the Court and say Judge,

Mr. Sullivan wants me to suborn perjury.

and Mr. Sullivan wants to get on the stand ‘~

and perjure himself. I didn't feel it was

incumbent upon me to be an accuser. I was

still his lawyer. I felt it was still neces-

sary for me, until I was - while I was still

in this case to protect him as best I can and

not prejudice his right before this, the same

or any other judge.

So, L deliberately told the Court,

being rather vague, merely advising the

Court that he wanted me to utilize a par-

ticular defense, but [I felt it wasn't in

his best interest and as a result of that,

we had a coumunication breakdown.

(R 593, 594)

Windsor next identified the handwriting on Defendant's

Exhibit 26 as being that of petitioner and his initials,

RMW, appearing in the upper left hand corner (R 594, 595).

Windsor recalled that the name of Thomas Murphy came up

and that an effort was made to locate him (R 595). How-

ever, this was unsuccessful and Windsor stated that the

man had not been located to this day (R 596). Windsor

was aware that he had been charged with taking the burden

on the motion to suppress and stated in retrospect this

was a technical error (R 596). He explained that although ©

it was not incumbent on him to accept that burden (R 596)

he did not think it had any practical effect on the outcome

of the mottor (R 597). Windsor explained that Judge Cowart,

considering the gravity of the offense, gave himself and

Mr. Bronis all the latitude in the world to ask any ques-

tions that were believed to be relevant (R597). At the

time of the hearing on the motion to suppress, Windsor had

read the depositions of the lead investigators (R 597) and

was aware of what their testimony would be (R 595). Note

the following: -_

oe

Q Im your opinion, did your assuming the

burden of going foward on the motion to

et have any bearing on the ultimate

result

A None whatsoever.

Q In your opinion, was there any prejudice

to your case by going forward?

A Wone.

Q Have you ever in the ten years that you

have been practicing law been accused of giv-

ing ineffective assistance of counsel before?

A No. This is the first time.

(R 598)

Warren Holmes, polygraph examiner, was called as

a witness by the respondents (R515). Mr. Holmes first

stated his experience in the area of polygraph examina-

tion and said that he averaged about 1,200 cases per

year. He had been employed as a polygraph examiner for

approximately 26 years (R515). He stated that on Octo-

ber 31, 1973 petitioner was submitted to him for polygraph

examination by his attorney, Dennis Dean. He took some

background information to Learm petitioner's version of

what it was he was supposed to be tested on (KR 517). The

essence of what the polygraph examination was to be on was

whether petitioner had been involved in the murder of Donald

Schmidt. Petitioner told Holmes that he didn’t commit the

crime and stated he had an alibi tor the particular time.

Some test questions were phrased and a polygraph examination

was then administered to petitioner. At the conclusion of

the polygraph examination, Holmes had a conversation with

petitioner which was memorialized in the report submitted

to petitfoner’s attorney (R518, 519). Holmes identified

Defendant's Exhibit 12 for Identification as being a true

and accurate copy of the report submitted to Mr. Dean (R 519).

After the examination was concluded, Holmes had a conversa-

tion with petirioner and advised him that on the basis of

the polygraph charts that petitioner wasn't telling the

truth. He’ went over the graphs with petitioner queseten

by question and showed him the physiological reaction that

was indicative of deception. Petitioner then told Holmes

that he had tried to plead guilty but that the state wouldn'rc

accept his plea. Petitioner further remarked to this witness

as follows:

He told me that he had told the Assistant ‘“

Public Defender that he was guilty and that

he wanted to take the stand and to lie about

it, but that the Assistant Public Defender

didn't want him to do that, so, he made

arrangements to get another attorney, which

was Mr. Dean.

He said he didn't want to confess to Mr.

Dean, because it would put him in a compromis-

ing, position.

Then, he admitted to me that he did,

in fact, kill Donald Schmidt; that he

: had taken him out of the Howard Johnson's

Restaurant to a place where he was found;

that he hit him with a tire iron and that

he shot him with this gun he called Betsy.

Then, I asked him why he did it and he

said that for two reasons, that he had a

fascination about the act of murder and

that he wanted to see if he could Live up

to the test of killing somebody.

Then, he said the other factor was that

a revenge against Howard Johnson's for hav-

ing him prosecuted in a theft there. :

. ; That, im essence, is what he told me.

(R 520, 521)

Mr. Holmes stated that this was the first time in 26 years

that he had ever testified on a confidential report (R 522).

On redirect examination, Holmes stated as to the one encom-

passing question, were you in Keith's Cruise Lounge at the

bye time Donald Schmidt was shot, (R 530, 531) he went over

petitioner's response to this particular question and explained

that fm his opinion there was a deceptive reaction. It was at

this time that petitioner began to tell a different story (R 531).

When asked if he had an independent recollection of

this particular polygraph examination, although it was seven

years ago, Holmes responded:

A Yeah, because it was two things that he

told me in that confession that IL had not

heard before or not as a routine. One, when

he cold me that this Assistant State—

peg ng didn't want to take the stand

_ an e-- =

Q You mean Public Defender?

A Public Defender, which I thought was a

noble — on the part of the Public Defen-

der and the other was the fact that most of

the murder confessions that I have taken are

done on impulse or out of fear or hatred. It's

unusual for someone to tell me that he had a

fascination for the act of murder and also .

whether or net he could measure up to the tést

of killing a human being.

I've taken hundreds and hundreds of murder

confessions and nobody has ever told me that

they committed a murder to see whether they

ie measure up to the test of killing a human

eing.

I didn't need any notes to remember that

statement on his part.

(R 532, 533)

Robert Sullivan, petitioner, was called as a wit-

ness by the respondents (R 614). When questioned as to

Defendant's Exhibit 26 for Identification, petitioner

through his counsel invoked the Fifth Amendment, and it

was stipulated that as to any questions regarding this

particular exhibit that petitioner through his attorney

would invoke the Fifth Amendment (R 615, 616). Counsel

for respondents desired to explore several areas, particu-

larly two, with respect to this particular exhibit. The

areas that respondents desired to question petitioner on

as to this exhibit were as follows:

Number one would have been the veracity of

what [ believe has already been identified

as Mr. Sullivan's handwriting, given to Mr.

Windsor, of Defendants’ it 26 for Iden-

tification, with respect to the truth of the

actual commisston of the mirder of Donald

Schmidt, which the Plaintiff admits in this

particular exhibit and also with respect to

the setting up of am alibi defense by the

returning to Keith's Cruise after the

murder was committed between 2:30 and 3:00

o"clock A.M., im their attempts to make it

Look like they had been there earlier.

Those are the two main areas, although

there were other areas I would have examined

as to relevant issues that have been raised,

‘both in the Plainriff's case and also during

our brief portions of our case.

(R 616, 617) sf

Petitioner expressed his opinion that Mr. Black was the

—-=

first lawyer that had effectively represented him (R 619).

He stated that he was aware of the issues involved in the

Rule 3.850 filed in state court and in the instant habeas

petition filed in federal court and had had an opportunity

to fully discuss those issues with Mr. Black (R 620).

Petitioner couldn't think of anything else that had not

been covered or raised in those petitions relative to the

issue of his receiving a fair trial and fair representation

(R 621). When asked if it was his opinion that Warren Holmes

<=

lied under oath, petitioner's counsel objected and

invoked the Fifth Amendment (R 622). Respondents

objected to petitioner’s being allowed to take the

Fifth Amendment on this issue (R 624). After some

discussion, this court permitted petitioner to follow

his counsel's advice and decline to answer on the basis

of Fifth Amendment rights. Petitioner stated that he

remembered Ray Windsor saying that he (petitioner) had

cold him that he admitted hfs partictpation in the killing

of Donald Schmidt (R629). Petitioner admitted that he

had heard Mr. Windsor's testimony to the effect that

petitioner had told him (Windsor) that he wanted to take

the stand and proceed with a fabricated alibi defense

(R 629, 630). Petitioner when asked if he denied admitc-

ting the crime to Mr. Windsor invoked his Fifth Amendment

privilege. Counsel responded that on original cross

petittoner had specifically denied ever making such a

statement to Ray Windsor (R 630). The court permicted

petitioner to again invoke his Fifth Amendment privilege

(R 631, 632). Petitioner was subsequently permitted to

invoke the Fifth Amendment privilege as a bar to answer-

ing pertinent questions propounded by counsel for respon-

dents (BR 632, 633). Petitioner stated thar as best he

could recall after taking the polygraph examination there

was only one occurrence in which Mr. Dean mentioned it.

This was. just that he had received it, not what was in

the report (R 644, 645). The omly other thing petitioner

recalled was that he wrote Dean and told him to retain

the polygraph report in his files. Petitioner then stated

that through Decembet 1974 he was unaware of what Mr. Holmes

was saying had transpired at the polygraph examination (R 645).

Respondents at this time moved into evidence Defendant's

Exhibit 3 which was a letter that petitioner had invoked

the Fifth Amendment when asked to identify his handwriting.

The exhibit was admitted in evidence (R 645, 646). When

<

questioned about admissions made in this letter, respon-

dents' Exhibit 3 (R 646), petitioner again invoked his

Fifth Amendment rights (R 647). The paragraph read from

respondents’ Exhibit 3 to which petitioner invoked his

Fifth Amendment privilege was as follows:

Q (By Mr. Adorno) Reading from the last

paragraph on Page 1, "Fourth and possibly

the most important, is there way IL could

have another court-ordered psychiatric examina-

tion? There is one prime reason of this request

at this late date. Obviously, my position is

more extreme than before trial and this has,

ge been a prime motivating force. [

_ brief you on this because Been have already

seer on mage pong aph report at I do admit

the crime, ch is obvious from close examina-

tion anyway."

(R 646, 647)

As to all remaining questions relating to this exhibit,

petitioner invoked his Fifth Amendment privilege (R 648).

When asked if he committed the mrder, petitioner answered

in the negative (R651). Petitioner then admitted having

been examined by Dr. Corwim prior to trial. But when asked

if he admitted to Dr. Corwin his participation in committing

the murder, objection was made by his counsel (R 651). The

objection was sustained (R655). Petitioner again indicated

he would invoke the Fifth Amendment privilege with respect

to identifying a group of letters. Counsel for respondents

indicated that questions would be propounded to petitioner

concerning Defendant's Exhibits 2, 7, 27, 4, 5, 10, and 8.

Counsel for petitioner indicated that the privilege was

asserted (KR 656). As to the relevancy of the letters that

had been offered in evidence, counsel for respondents remarked

as follows:

MR. ADORNO: Judge, the problem here, he's

PoGidn't do eg age Rp ne Bin Fes lage “s

alibi defense and he denies Holmes and his

comments to Windsor.

How is the Court going to weigh whether

Windsor is telling the truth or whether Holmes

is telling the truth or whether Mr. Sullivan

is telling the truch, unless either through

cross examination or direct examination some-

thing is brought to light that shows that he

a that is, he being the Plain-

tiff.

These letters are not being introduced to

show whether he did or did not commit the

crime, but only to show that Mr. Windsor and

Mr. Holmes’ testimony is corroborated, that

he did make those statements.

[I didn't tell him to put it in issue. I

didn’t tell him to stand up here and say I

deny committing the crime.

He is absolutely t, he is entitled to

a habeas and he is entitled to a 3.850 and

ineffective assistance of counsel, but when

he puts at issue that he did not commit the

crime and that certain individuals didn't

do their job and one of them, for example,

was the alibi defense, I think the whole issue

as to whether he did or did not commit the |

crime is now in issue and any admissions he

makes comes in for that purpose to impeach him

and it corroborates the State's witnesses.

(R 664, 665)

The remainder of petitioner's testimony was a continual

imvocation of the Fifth Amendment privilege as to questions

propoundea by respondents” counsel (R 672-678; 682-687;

689-706)... When asked by the court if he was satisfied

with what had been done at the hearing on his behalf by

his attorney, petitioner answered, "I am, Your Honor."

(R 708) Petitioner was excused and counsel for respon-

dents them offered in evidence Defendant's Exhibits 43

and 44 which were the affidavits of Mr. Tighe and Mr.

Harlow (R 709). Counsel for petitioner had no objection

and same were admitted in evidence as Respondents’ Exhibits

43 and 44 (R710). Defendant's Exhibit 28, the psychologi-

cal evaluation of petitioner by Norman Reichenberg, was

introduced in evidence (R 710). Dr. Corwin's report,.

defense Exhibit 25 for Identification was introduced in

evidence over objection of petitioner's counsel (R 711).

Other documents were admitted in evidence and the court

then set a date for filing the transcript of this hearing

and establishing a briefing schedule (R 717).

z

The foregoing resume of testimony taken at the

hearing before this court on March 6, 7, and 10, 1980

is foc the purpose of aiding this court in its review

of the testimony presented and deciding upon the ultimate

facts upon which it will rely. Hopefully it will be of

some aid to this court in finally disposing of this cause

on the merits.

According to this court's order dated February 12,

1980, the issues om which testimony was to be presented

are stated as follows:

a.

WHETHER PETITIONER WAS DENIED DUE PROCESS

BECAUSE OF THE STATE COURT TRIAL JUDGE'S

DECISION NOT TO PERMIT HIM TO BE PRESENT

AT THE EVIDENTIARY HEARING ON HIS MOTION

a a FILED PURSUANT TO Fla.R.Cr.P.

-850.

Tr.

WHETHER THE REPRESENTATION OF COURT-APPOINTED

ATTORNEY RAYMOND WINDSOR CONSTITUTED INEFFEC-

TIVE ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL.

Irr.

WHETHER THE REPRESENTATION AFFORDED PETITIONER

BY COURT-APPOINTED ATTORNEY DENNIS DEAN CONSTI-

TUTED INEFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL.

ARGUMENT —

anata

I.

WHETHER PETITIONER WAS DENIED DUE PROCESS

BECAUSE OF THE STATE COURT TRIAL JUDGE'S

DECISION NOT TO PERMIT HIM TO BE PRESENT

AT THE EVIDENTIARY HEARING ON HIS MOTION

a FILED PURSUANT TO Fla.R.Cr.?P.

In the initial petition for writ of habeas “Corpus

filed June 25, 1979 in Paragraph 12 thereof, petitioner

set forth in detail the grounds upon which his claim of

illegality of conviction and death sentence were premised.

Respondents filed an Answer to the petition and discussed

. seriatim all issues raised under Paragraph 12 of the

petition. Respondents at this time reaver each and

every those arguments made in the answer just as chough

the same were set forth herein in haec verba.

Petitioner subsequently filed an Amended Petition

for Writ of Habeas Corpus and respondents filed a Supple-

mental Response (Answer) to Petition and Amended Petition

for Writ of Habeas Corpus. In this supplemental response

, the issue of the necessity for petitioner’s presence at

. the state court evidentiary hearing was discussed. Please

see pp. 1-3 of the supplemental response which by reference

is incorporated herein just as though the same were set

forth herein in haec verba.

There can be little question in anybody's mind.

but that petitioner received a full and fair hearing before

this court. That being so, it appears that the question of

whether the state court trial judge erred in refusing to

have petitioner returned for the state court hearing on

the 3.850 motion is moot. Therefore, wmless further instruc-

ted by this court so to do, respondents will rely upon the

arguments above-referenced in support of their position

that the state court trial judge did not err.

IT.

WHETHER THE REPRESENTATION OF COURT-APPOINTED

ATTORNEY RAYMOND WINDSOR CONSTITUTED INEFFEC-

TIVE ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL.

Trt.

WHETHER THE REPRESENTATION AFFORDED PETITIONER

BY COURT-APPOINTED ATTORNEY DENNIS DEAN CONSTI-

TUTED INEFFECTIVE ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL.

The testimony of Ray Windsor previously .discussed

in this brief shows conclusively that he had an agreement

for Steve Bronis, counsel for petitioner's codefendanr,

to take several of the depositions. The strategy involved

in this was that after said depositions taken by Bronis

had been transcribed Windsor could review them and decide

az

if he needed to retake any of the depositions that

Bronis had taken. This, in effect, would give "two

bites of the apple” in an effort to create as much

inconsistency as possible. Windsor read all of the

depositions and nothing was made to appear at the hear-

ing before this court or anywhere else that prejudice

resulted to petitioner because Windsor was not present

at the taking of every deposition.

It is claimed also that Windsor rendered ineffec-

tive assistance of counsel because at the hearing on the

motion to suppress he along with Steve Bronis assumed the

burden of going forward with the evidence rather than hav-

ing the state do so. Windsor testified that he was in no

way hampered in the presentation of his testimony in peti-—

tioner's behalf because of having assumed this burden.

Judge Cowart granted broad discretion to the attorneys

as far as asking necessary questions. Windsor gave it as

his considered opinion that the fact of his going forward

with the evidence at the suppression hearing in no way

influenced the final ruling by Judge Cowart. Respondents

note with interest that while Judge Cowart was on the wit-

mess stand, petitioner at no time inquired of him as to

whether Windsor's assuming the burden of going forward

with the evidence at the suppression hearing influenced

his decision to deny the motion to suppress.

In contemplacing the services rendered by Dennis

Dean in behalf of petitioner, one wonders what degree of

expertise is necessary on the part of a defense counsel

in order to withstand a charge of ineffective assistance.

When this charge is viewed in the light of what Dennis

Dean actually did in representing petitioner, ict becomes

the absurdity of all absurdities. Frankly, the charge :s

so ridiculous that cto make an effort towards refuting same

lends it an undeserved dignity.

2

Ic is believed that the main thrust of peti-

tioner's assertions made in support of his claim of

ineffective assistance of counsel has to do with the

alleged failure of Dean to secure the attendance of

so-called alibi witmesses. Other matters were raised

in petitioner's effort to support his claim of ineffec-

tive assistance but all of them were thoroughly explained

by Dean in his testimony at the hearing.

To begin with, it must be emphasized that a court-

appointed attorney fis-not vulnerable to a charge of ineffec-

tive assistance because of not obtaining testimony of an

alibi witness where such testimony could not be considered

an alibi. Mays v. Estelle, 610 F.2d 296 (5th Cir. 1980).

Something else that should not be forgotten is that there is

@ presumption that counsel rendered effective assistance

and tc overcome that presumption on collateral attack the

petitioner mist shoulder a heavy burden. Catches v. United

States, 582 F.2d 453 (8th Cir. 1978); Bruce v. Estelle, 536

F.2d LOSL (Sth Cir. 1976), cert. denied 492 U.S. 1053. When

this presumption is viewed against the background of the

testimony of Judge Cowart and Judge Gable as to Mr. Dean's

reputation for excellence in the field of criminal law, then

the presumption must, indeed, become a heavy burden. A

reminder--there was no expert testimony whatsoever produced

by petitioner to the effect thac Dean's representation of

petitiorier either at the trial or appellate level constituted

as a matter of law ineffective assistance of counsel. Thus,

the testimony of Judge Cowart and Judge Gable stands wncontra-

dicted, unchallenged, and unimpeached.

We think a discussion of applicable case'law, state

and federal, is in order.

-37-

In Beckham v. State, 339.So.2d 221 (Fla.App. 3

1976), the court remarked as follows:

To successfully collaterally attack a

5 t on the grounds of ineffective

assistance of counsel, the facts alleged

must demonstrate that the trial was a

mockery or a farce. Simpson v. State,

164 So-2d 224 (Fla. xd DER LTE, Gussade

v. State, 321 So.2d 442 (Fla. 3d :

Further, pee of a trial with

regards to matters falling within the

j t or strategy of counsel does

not constitute fective assistance of

counsel. Solloa v. State, 227 So.2d 217

(Fla. 34 DOA L969). ~=—OS*

Id. at 222. See also United States v. Childs, 571 F.2d 315

(Sth Cir. 1978).

We think the remarks of the Second District in

State v. Eby, 342 So.2d 1087 (Fla.App. 2 1977), are par-

ticularly appropriate:

Secondly, a decision not to raise cer-

tain possible defenses or call certain

defense witnesses is ordinarily a matter

of personal judgment and strategy within

the army gn of defense counsel. As

such, it not a proper predicate for a

collateral attack on the competence of

counsel unless it is so irresponsibly

exercised as to constitute “inadequate”

representation. Here, the undisputed

testimony of trial counsel re eda

deliberative, well-founded decision to

pursue the ccurse taken which, on its

face, is not unreasonable nor irresponsi-

ble. No evidence was before the al

court to support a contrary finding; and

neither second-guessing nor substituting

the court's own hindsight j 7 ___-

that of trial counsel will fice to

reject as "inadequate" the role of trial

counsel.

Id. at 1089, 1090. Similarly, the remarks of the Third

District in Wingert v. State, 353 So.2d 643 (Fla.App. 3

1977), are particularly appropriate. Note the following:

Rather, it is*apparent from the record

that the decision not to move to suppress —

the recorded statement was made at the ‘* «; ~

time because trial counsel felt that the

exculpatory portions of the statement

were strong eno to serve the purpose

of getting defendant's explanation of

the killing before the jury without put-

ting the defendant on the stand. Such

a decision is not the kind that would

establish ag one! of counsel. See

. So.2d 1087 (Fla. 2d DCA

State v.

T9775 and Diem v. U.S., 377 F.2d 853

(Sth Cir. 1967). .

Id. at 645.

The Fifth Circuit has held that the governing

standard for appointed counsel is reasonably effective

assistance. Herring v. Estelle, 491 F.2d 125 (5th Cir.

1974); Mac Kenna v. Ellis, 280 F.2d 592 (Sth Cir. 1960).

However, as later stated by that court, Akridge v. Hooper,

545 F.2d 457 (Sth Cir. 1977), reasonable competency is

based om the situation, the circumstances, and the law

as‘ understood at the time. Certainly, the effectiveness

of counsel does not require an imaginative assertion of

every possible theory of defense or mitigation which might

in the unpredictable future turn out to be accepted by

some court, some day, in some case. Davis v. Wainwright,

547 F.2d 261 (Sth Cir. 1977). Simply stated, due process

of law in this context simply means that an accused must

have such assistance as will assure him of due process of

law. Pineda v. Bailey, 340 F.2d 162 (Sth Cir. 1965).

A defendant has the right to reasonably effec-

tive assistance of counsel but he does not by any stretch

of the imagination have the right to errorless counsel.

United States v. White, 524 F.2d 1249 (5th Cir. 1975).

Cf. Tollett v. Henderson, 411 U.S. 258, 36 L.Ed.2d 235,

244, 93 S.Ct. 1602 (1973). Im other words, the correct

legal standard for such “range of competence” is that of

"(NJot errorless counsel and not counsel judged ineffec-

tive by hindsight, but counsel reasonably likely to render

and rendering reasonably effective assistance."" MacKenna

v. Ellis, 280 F.2d 592, 599 (Sth Cir. 1960). If this

standard is followed, then the force of reason compels

the conclusion obviously reached by the trial judge. chat

petitioner did, indeed, receive effective assistance of

counsel. See also Fitzgerald v. Estelle, 505 F.2d 1334

(Sth Cir. 1975). It is submitted that in an area where

intuitive judgments and spontaneous decisions are often

<

required, retrospective judgment of the artistry of the

advocate is most difficult because the elements influencing

judgment usually cannot be captured on the record. Thus,

the representation afforded by any lawyer to his client

is mot readily capable of later audit like a bookkeeper's.

For example, see Arnold v. Wainwright, 516 F.2d 964 (5th

Cir. 1975). It is submitted that the adequacy of repre-

sentation which petitioner received can only be decided

om an evaluation of the services rendered in his behalf.

However, a2 retrospective examination of a lawyer's repre-

sentation for the purpose of determining whether same was

free from error would surely exact a higher measure of

competency than the prevailing standard. See McMann v.

Richardson, 397 U.S. 759, 25 L.Ed.2d 763, 90 S.Cr. 1441

(1970).

In Fitzgerald v. Estelle, 505 F.2d 334 (SthCir. 1974),

the court opined that the test in assessing the effectiveness

of counsel is whethsrc said counsel was likely to and did

render reasonably effective assistance to a defendant.

In Wainwright v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72 (1977), the United

States Supreme Court proclaimed that it was clear that

trial counsel need not consult with his client on matters

at trial:

In Henry v. Mississippi, 379 U.S., at _

451, the note decisions of

counsel relating to trial strategy, even

when made without the consultation of the

defendant, would bar direct federal review

of claims thereby foregone, except where

"the circumstances are exceptional."’ Foot-

note 14, p. 91. :

Chief Justice Berger, concurring, held:

Once counsel is appointed, the day-to-day

conduct of the defense rests with the attorney.

He, not the client, has the immediate--and‘-

ultimate--responsibility of deciding if and

when to object, which witnesses, if any, to

call, and what defenses to develop. Not only

do these decisions rest with the attorney,

but such decisions must, as a practical matter,

be made without consulting the client. The

trial process simply does not permit the —

of frequent and protracted int tions ch

would be necessary if it were re d chat

clients give knowing and intelligent approval

to each of the myriad tactical decisions as

Id. at $3.

In Herring v. Estelle, 491 F.2d 125 (Sth Cir. 1974),

the Fifth Circuit enunciated the constitutionally required

minimm standard for assistance of counsel, stating:

The governing standard is reasonable

effective assistance. One method of

determining whether counsel has rendered

reasonable effective assistance is to ask

whether the proceedings were a farce or

mockery. The farce-mockery test is but

one criterion for determining if an accused

has received the constitutionally required

minimm representation.

Id. at 128. Further, in Herring v. Estelle, supra, at 218,

the court went on to say that it was defense counsel's job

to provide the accused with an understanding of the law in

relation to the facts. The advice defense counsel gives

need not be perfect, but it must be reasonably competent.

Effective assistance of counsel has been interpreted not

to mean errorless counsel and mot counsel judged ineffective

by hindsight, bur coumsel reasonably likely to render

and rendering reasonably effective assistance. United

States v. Gray, 565 F.2d S81 (Sth Cir. 1978), cert. denied,

435 U.S. 955; United States v. White, 524 F.2d 1249 (Sth

Cir. 1975); MacKenna v. Ellis, 280 F.2d 592 (Sth Cir.

1960), cert. denied, 366 U.S. 877, 82 S.Ct. 121, 7 L.Ed.2d

78 (1960). In White, supra, the petitioner complained that

his attorney should have_objected to the seating-of some

of the jurors, and further stated that counsel failed to

object to the introduction of suppressed evidence. White

also contended that his counsel ineffectively presented his

insanity defense. The court in this case affirmed petitioner's

conviction, stating that “the best lawyers have to take the

facts as they are and can only do cheir best ta present those

facts in any available favorable light.” Umited States v.

White, supra, at 1253. Counsel put on petitioner's alibi

defense. Comez v. Beto, 462 F.2d 596 (Sth Cir. 1972);

Pennington v. Beto, 437 F.2d 1281 (Sth Cir. 1971). A review

of the state court criail transcript, the transcript of evi-

= | Gem Ae a a eee Ak, AABA Bayi es. | OUD. eee... 6 Gee toa inl,

of the habeas hearing held in this court in March 1980

demonstrates that petitioner's claim of ineffective assis-

Camce is without merit. Again, we emphasize that petitioner's

burden to establish his claim of ineffective assistance is

heavy. Neicher hindsight nor success is the measure for

determining adequacy of legal representation. United States

ex rel. Reis v. Wainwright, 525 F.2d 1269 (5th Cir. 1976);

Ellis v. State of Oklahoma, 430 F.2d 1352 (10th Cir. 1970),

cert. denied, 401 U.S. LOIO (1971). To reiterate, petitioner

charges Windsor with ineffective assistance of counsel, not

because necessary depositions of prospective witnesses were

mot taken, but because Windsor wasn't present when all of

the depositions were taken. We point out that there is

mo constitutional right to pretrial discovery depositions

in a criminal case. United States v. Adock, 558 F.2d 397

(8th Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 921; United States

v. Nichols, 534 F.2d 202 (9th Cir. 1976). In any event,

this, as previously explained, was a matter of trial strategy

om Mr. Windsor's part. To say that this constitutes ineffec-

| tive assistance of counsel is speculative at best and specu-

lative claims are not enough to support such a charge. Pack-

nett v. United States, 435 F.2d 693 (Sth Cir. 1970); Haggard

v. State of Alabama, 550 F.2d 1019 (Sth Cir. 1977).

In the recent case of United States v. Gray, 565 F.2d

861 (Sth Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 435 U.S. 955, the court

remarked as follows:

We begin with the settled principle that

the right to counsel of one's choice is

not absolute as in the Sixth Amendment

right cto the assistance of counsel. United

Scates v. Sexton, 5 Cir. 1973, 473 F.2d 512;

United States v. Harrelson, 5 Cir. 1973,

477 F.2d 383, cert. denied, 414 U.S. 847..

94 S.Ct. 133, 38 L.Ed.2d 95. Second, “

time spent in preparation is only one of

many factors to be considered in determin-

ing such claims. Herring v. Estelle, 5

Cir. 1974, 491 F.2d 125, 127; ty v.

Beto, 5 Cir. 1968, 396 F.2d 128, 130;

Loftis v. Estelle, 5 Cir., 1975, 515 F.2d

872, 875; Summers v. United States, 5 Cir.,

1976, 538 F.2d 1208, 1210 n. 3; Jones v.

<

Henderson, Sth Cir., 1977, 549 F.2d 995, 997.

The Po ge apres test to be applied is whether

counsel was reasonably likely to render and

did render reasonably effective counsel.

E.G., Herring v. Estelle, Ta; Hudson v.

3 age Alabama, 5 Cir., 1974, 493 F.2d

A review of the Fifth Circuit Law indicates

that this Court’s methodology involves an

oe into the actual ormance of

counsel in conducting the defense and a

determination whether reasonably effective

assistance was rendered based on the totality

of the circumstances and the entire record.

This Circuit does not pr many aw bs specu-

lative and inconcrete claims of ' t might

‘ have been if.” If an liant can point

to specific examples o ctiveness,

we have not hesitated to grant a new trial

or hearing. See, as examples of this

egg h United States v. Edwards, 5

Cir., 1974, 488 F.2d 1154, 1163; Doughty

v. Beto, supra; United States v. Fruge, 5

Cir., 1974, 495 F.2d 557; Hora v. State

of Louisiana, 5 Cir. 1974, 495 F.2d 1248;

Lee v. Hopper, 5 Cir., 1974, 499 F.2d 456,

462-65, cert. denied, 419 U.S. 1053, 95

S.Ct. 633, 42 L.Ed.2d 650; Fitzgerald v.

Estelle, 5 Cir. 1975, 505 F.2d 1975, 505

F.2d 1334, 1338-42 (en banc), cert. denied,

422 U.S. LOLL, 95 S.Ct. 2636, 45 L.Ed.2d

67S; Loftis v. Estelle, 5S Cir., 1975, 515

F.2d 872, 875-76; Howard v. Henderson, 5

Cir., 1975, 519 F.2d L176, 1178, cert.

denied, 423 U.S. 1036, 96 S.Ct. 573, 46

L.Ed.2d 412; Jerkins v. United States, 5 Cir.,

1976, 530 F.2d 1203, 1204 n. L; Mason v.

Balcom, 5 Cir., 1976, 531 F.2d 717, 723-25;

United States v. Fessel, 5 Cir., 1976,

53L F.2d 1275, 1278-79; Trahan v. Estelle,

5 Cir., 1977, 544 F.2d 1305, 1316-20

(Goldberg, J., specially concurring) ;

dv. State of Alabama, 5 Cir. 1977,

550 F.2d 1019, 1022-23.

Id. at 887. [It should be noted that the Fifth Circuit's

totality of circumstances test, as explicated in United

States v. Gray, supra, does not mean that a single error

can render counsel's assistance ineffective. We think the

case of Webster v. Estelle, 505 F.2d 926 (Sth Cir. 1975),

well expressed the Fifth Circuit's opinion on the issue

of ineffective assistance of counsel. Note the following:

The fundamental rules by which petitioner's‘:

claim must be judged are well settled. The

burden of proof is on the petitioner in a

habeas corpus proceeding. A judgment of

conviction must be presumed to have been

reached in accordance with due process

unless otherwise shown. "If the result

of the adjudicat process is not to be

set at naught, it is not asking too much

_

thac che burden of showing essential

unfairness be sustained hy him who claims

such injustice and seeks to have the result

set aside. and that it be sustained not as

@ matter of speculation but as a demonstrated

real -" Adams v. United States, 317 U.S.

269, 281, 67 SCE Z36 (I9SZ). Tcitres omitted]

Id. at 928.

Petitioner alleges that his court-appointed counsel,

Dennis Dean, failed to request a continuance of the trial

date and thus deprived himself of adequate time in which

to prepare. Mr. Dean denied this emphatically in his

testimony. However, the Fifth Circuit's position on this

issue is clear: shormess of preparation time alone is not

enough to establish a claim of ineffective assistance of

counsel. The petitioner mist show more than counsel's

brief preparation period. Herring v. Estelle, 491 F.2d

125, 128 (Sth Cir. 1974). Im other words, the petitioner

must show that as a result of such brief preparation that

his counsel committed other specific errors which rendered

him ineffective. In the instant case, petitioner has woe-

fully failed to carry this burden.

The Fifth Circuit has excused a wide variety of

failures and omissions om the basis that such actions or

inaction amounted to well-considered trial tactics. See

Williams v. Beto, 354 F.2d 698 (Sth Cir. 1965); Winters

vw. Cook, 489 F.2d 174 (Sth Cir. 1973); United States ex

rel. Reis v. Wainwright, supra; United States v. Garza,

563 F.2d 1164 (Sth Cir. 1977). Two opinions which have

addressed the attorney-client relationship in depth are

Williams v. Beto, supra, and the special concurrence in

Wright v. Estelle, 572 F.2d 1071 (Sth Cir. 1978). Both

conclude that the trial tactics and strategy aré particu-

larly within the province of the attorney and that a peti-

tioner would have to show more than must mistakes or faulty

judgment. In Wright v. Estelle, supra, the Fifth Circuirc

commented as follows:

2

If he decides to accept an attorney, the

defendant has necessarily delegated

important decisionmaking authority to his

attorney. The s of the delegation

does not turn on ortance of the

decision--the attorne quently makes

judgments affecting the very life of the

defendant. The question here is twofold:

who is in a better position to judge trial

strategy and who is in a better position

to ensure the best interests of the

defendant. This court's Ristory is filled

with the recognition of the value of an

attorney. No one could seriously contend

that a defendant is in a better position

to dictate trial strategy than attorney.

Id. at LO7L.

Again, respondents emphasize that counsel's efforts

need not be perfect, just reasonably competent. Herring

v. Estelle, 491 F.2d 125 (Sth Cir. 1974). Also, counsel's

performance "is not judged by a retrospective consideration .

as to whether the advice of counsel was or was not the best

that could have been given." Ballard v. Blackburn, 583 F.2d

159, 163 (Sth Cir. 1978). See also Williams v. Beto, 354 F.2d

698 (Sth Cir. 1965), where the court stated, "it is basically

umreasonable to judge an attorney by what another would have

done, or says he would have done, in the better light of

hindsight." Id. at 706.

In summary, petitioner sub judice has failed to show

that either of his court-appointed counsel, Ray Windsor or

Dennis Dean, was ineffective. He has failed to show that

he was prejudiced in any way by either counsel's conduct.

Davis v. State of Alabama, 596 F.2d 1214 (Sth Cir. 1979).

Respondents reaver each and every the matters and

things in their Motion to Strike Complaint of Ineffective

Assistance of Counsel and Memorandum of Law in support

thereof just as though the same were set forth herein in

<

CONCLUSION

The petition for writ of habeas corpus should be

denied.

JIM SMITH

Attorney General

By:

COUNSEL. FOR RESPONDENTS

The Capitol

Tallahassee, Florida 32301

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that [I have furnished a copy of the

foregoing Memorandum Brief to Roy E. Black, P.A., 150 S.E.

2nd Avenue, Ste. 1402, Miami, Florida 37131, by mail, this

5th day of May 1980.

As tant Attorney General

of Counsel

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.