Petition — Jennings v. United States

Supreme Court brief1984

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

In The

Supreme Court of the United Stutes

October Term, 1983

UNITED STATEs OF AMERICA,

Appellee

VS.

MELVIN R. JENNINGS,

Appellant

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT FOR A WRIT OF

CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME COURT OF THE

‘UNITED STATES, FROM A JUDGMENT OF THE FIFTH

CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS OF THE UNITED

STATES

EDDIE H. TUCKER, JR.

800 North Farish Street

P. O. Box 39205

Jackson, Mississippi 39205-2169

(601) 948-1120

Attorney for Appellant

’

a ea oe Re

In The

Supreme Court of the United Stxtes

October Term, 1983

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Appellee

VS.

MELVIN R. JENNINGS,

Appellant

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT FOR A WRIT OF

CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME COURT OF THE

UNITED STATES, FROM A JUDGMENT Of THE FIFTH

CIRCUIT COURT Ot APPEALS OF THE UNITED

STATES

EDDIE H. TUCKER, JR.

800 North Farish Street

P. O. Box 39205

Jackson, Mississippi 39205-2109

(601) 948-1120

Attorney for Appellant

ll

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

(1) Whether the United States Supreme Court’s power of super-

vision should be invoked in this case to assure that the Fifth Cir-

cuit Court of Appeals allow the Appellant equal protection of

the law by ruling consistently with prior decisions of the Fifth

Circuit.

(2) Whether the fines imposed on the Appellant by the District

Court were excessive, when the alledged proof showed in the Peti-

tion for Rehearing only $19.12 allegedly obtained from the U.S.A.

by the Appellant.

(3) Whether the Appellant is entitled to a clear and non-

contradicting opinion from the Fifth Circuit as to summary charts

being voluminous and requiring and expert, and simultaneously

ruling that the preparer of the summary chart, though not an

expert was qualified to testify on the summary charts.

(4) Whether the Appellant was entitled to have the terms of

the U.S.D.A. contract between the State of Mississippi and the

Appellant adhered to by the contracting parties, prior to criminal

proceedings being instituted against Appellant.

(5) Whether the Appellant was subject to an indictment under

18 USCA 287, when no money was established as lost by the U.S.

Government or any agency thereof prior to indictment.

(6) Whether Appellant was denied Due Process when the trial

judge ruled that FRE 606(b) precluded the court from consider-

ing the published statements by two jurors that the verdict in the

Appellant case was not unanimous.

”

(7) Whether Appellant was denied Due Process when he was

suspended from the practice of law without a hearing simply

because the same judge conducting the trial also did the suspen-

ding, while never informing the Appellant that his defense of the

indictment was also his defense of his licence, or that Appellant

was burdened with a dual burden of defense at his trial.

(8) Whether the Appeilant was entitled to be informed by the __

U.S.D.A. investigator that Appellant was suspected of criminal

activity, even though the U.S.D.A. has a policy of not inform-

ing suspects that they are criminal suspects, while being audited.

(9) Whether the Appellant was denied a fair trial following the

U.S. Attorney's failure to obey the court orders of Discovery. — | .

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Parties to This Proceeding in the Court of Appeals ........ i

Questions Presented ........cccceccccscccccsccccccecess ii

ccc vececteescevenesseeus iv, v

I PU cn sve ccdsccesecaccccesccccemenee 2

ET I. og ccc ncagocccocscescs a is -

i 3... pcdk ease bees cendeseecnss 4

Prior Opinion, Official and Unofficial Reports ........... 5

oe Dee cnsdeepesesevedasd 6

Statutes Conferring Jurisdiction .............-...-+2+e005 6

ee i. ot ccptocceeessesnss et 7-10

ss Wo Cwncancscvevcecsctvenss 10-13

Reasons for Granting the Writ ..................005. 13-22

EE 22-23

Appendices:

EE iy MID bocce dcscicccccccccccccce Al-A24

Appendix B, The Honorable

William H. Barbour, Jr. Rulings................ B1-B6

Appendix C, Petition for Rehearing.............. C1-C35

Appendix D, Denial of Petition .................. D1-D2

Appendix E, Denial of Recall and Stay ............ E1-E2

Appendix F, Notice of Appeal ...............--++- F1-F3

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES:

Baines v. United States of America,

(Sth Cir., 1970) 426 F.2d 842.8 ...............4.. 10, 13

Nordamann v. National Hotel Company,

oo Be MR Eo ae 6 ee eres 13, 16

Meriwether v. United States,

486 F. 2d 498 (Sth Cir., 1973) Cert. denied,

417 U.S. 948, 94 S. Ct 3074, 41 L. Ed. 2d 668 (1974) ..13

Gordon v. United States,

438 F. 2d 858, 976 (Sth Cir., 1971), Cert. denied,

404 U.S. 828, 92 S. Ct. 63, 30 L. Ed. 2d 56 (1971)..... 15

Wheeler vs. Glass, CA, ILL, 1973, 473 F. 2d 983 ........ 14

McGee v. Schmidt, D.C., Wis., 1976, 411 F. Supp. 43....14

In Re Ming, 469 F. 2d 352 (7th Cir., 1972) .......... 19, 20

United States v. Friedland, 502 F. Supp. 611 (DGNJ, 1980)

affirmed 672 F. 2d 905 (1981) ........ settee teen ees 19

In Re Ruffalo, 390 U.S. $44, 88 S. Ct. 1222,

SOL... Gib. OG (EE CURR coke sve scicastine toveus<keun 19

United States v. Tweel, 550 F. 2d 297 (CA 5, 1977) ...... 21

Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1963) ...........000005 22

United States v. Lloyd, Fed. 2nd .........6..0.66 se eees 15 |

STATUTES: .

Federal Register (Vol. 45, No. 14, 1980) Rules and Regulations

228.15, 226.7 |

Lal

s

United States Code Annotated,

ES, (MEE kn ow dh oc ahaédenve’ 9, 10, 13, 17, 18

United States Code Annotated, Title 28 U.S.C.

i a ue eenwemavacen 6

United States Code Annotated, Title 42 U.S.C.

ne on ap theca’ 9, 10

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS:

4th, Sth, 6th, 8th, and 14th Amendments

to the United States Constitution ................... 7,8

MISCELLANEOUS:

Federal Rules of Evidence

ee ee aew iil 8, 12, 18

Se oa oleae ae ee wie ¢d oboeniet 8, 14, 16

Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States.......... 6

a Sich =" ee

ee ap ee ee Ee eee

In The

Supreme Court of the United Stutes

October Term, 1983

No.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Appellee

VS.

No. 8304426

MELVIN R. JENNINGS,

- Appellant

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT FOR A WRIT OF

CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME COURT OF THE

UNITED STATES, FROM A JUDGMENT OF THE FIFTH

CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS OF THE UNITED

STATES

nine

ENTRANCE OF APPEARANCE

Please take notice that Eddie H. Tucker, Attorney At Law,

enters his appearance on behalf of the Defendant-Appellant in

the above styled and numbered cause.

SUBSCRIBED on this the 74 day of 9X, 1984

‘ eed

@ bhi Fok

EDDIE H. TUCKER

Attorney for Appellant

P. O. Box 2169

Jackson, Mississippi 39205-2169

(601) 948-1120

CERTIFICATE PROOF OF SERVICE

I, EDDIE H. TUCKER hereby certify that I have this day mail-

ed, postage prepaid in the main Post Office at Jackson, Mississip-

pi three (3) of the above and foregoing Jurisdictional Statements

to the Honorable Rex E. Lee, Solicitor General, Department of

Justice, Washington, D.C. 20530 by first class mail within the

time allowed for filing, Cy aaa to my knowledge the mailing

took place on the day of may, 1984 within the

permitted time.

All the parties required to be served have been served and the

said party is the Honorable Rex E. Lee, Solicitor General, Depart-

ment of Justice, Washington, D. Sa

secnee Saeaa on this the ‘7a eS, y Ph 1984,

EDDIE H. Baethas A

Attorney for Appellant

STATE OF MISSISSIPPI

COUNTY OF HINDS

~

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me on this the

7 day of May, 1984.

Yair PUBLIC

MY COMMISSION EXPIRES:

T- /#- Gs”

In The

Supreme Court of the Hnited States

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Appellee

VS.

No. 83-4426

MELVIN R. JENNINGS,

Appellant

CERTIFICATE OF INTEREST

The undersigned counsel of record certifies that the following

listed persons have an interest in the outcome of this case. These

representations are made in order that the Judges of this Court

may evaluate possible disqualification or recusal.

1. Melvin R. Jennings Mp gy,

Attorney of record for Sidintaistaee b

EDDIE H. TUCKER .

In The

Supreme Court of the Uniied States

October Term, 1983

MELVIN R. JENNINGS,

Appellant

No. 83-4226

VS.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Appellee

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

OFFICIAL AND UNOFFICIAL REPORTS

The unreported sentencing, fines, and suspension of the Ap-

pellant’s license to practice in the Federal Courts and the freez-

ing of all assets of the Appellant and refusing to allow the inter-

viewing of jurors by the Honorable William H. Barbour, U.S.

District Judge, appears in Appendix B, infra.. The Opinion of

the fifth Circuit Court of Appeals is reported in Fed 2nd, and

appears in Appendix A, infra. The Petition For Rehearing ap-

pears in Appendix C, infra. The Order Denying Petition for

Rehearing appears in Appendix D, infra. the Order Refusing to

Recall the Case and granting the Motion to Stay the Mandate

following the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals losing the Motion

to Stay the Mandate appears in Appendix E, infra.

. a a ee

salle

STATEMENT OF THE GROUNDS ON WHICH

THE JURISDICTION OF THIS COURT IS INVOLVED

The Nature of the Proceding

The Appellant was indicted on 12 counts of submitting false

claims to the United States Government, via the United States

Department of Agriculture. The jury deliberated for approximate-

ly eight hours the first day, was sequestered, and deliberated for

approximately six hours on the second day. The jury sent out

three notes to the judge seeking information not in evidence, seek-

ing to know “whether they should rule on each count separately,”

and “that they could not agree on a verdict.” On the fourth hour

of the second day the court gave its personal version of the Allen

Charge, as opposed to the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals ap-

proved version of the Allen Charge. (Nordmann vs. National

Hotel Company, 5th Cir., 1970 425 F.2d 1104). The Jury then

returned a verdict of eight counts innocent, an four counts guil-

ty. (see Appendix D, infra.)

STATUTORY PROVISION BELIEVED TO CONFER

ON THIS COURT'S JURISDICTION OF THE APPEAL

Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. Section

1254(1) and Rule 19(b) of the Rules of the Supreme Court of the

United States governing this court’s power of supervision.

Dates

The judgment of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals was entered

on January 24, 1984. The date of the Order respecting rehearing

is February 29, 1984. The date of the Order Denying Recall and

Staying the Mandate is March 26, 1984. The date the Notice of

Appeal was filed is March 12, 1984 in the United States Court

of Appeal, Fifth Circuit.

ra,

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES,

RULES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

Amendment IV

The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses,

papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures,

shall not be violated, and no Warrants shall issue, but upon pro-

bable cause, supported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly

describing the place to be searched, and the persons or things

to be seized.

Amendment V

No person shall be held to answer for a capita! or otherwise

infamous crime, unless on a presentment or indictment of a Grand

Jury, except in cases arising in the land or naval forces, or in

the Militia, when in actual service in time of War or public danger;

nor shall any person be subject for the same offense to be twice

put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be compelled in any

Criminal Case to be a witness against himself, nor be deprived

of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor shall

private property be taken for public use, without just

compensation.

Amendment VI

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the right

to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury of the State

and District wherein the crime shall have been committed, which

district shall have been previously ascertained by law, and to be

informed of the nature and cause of the accusation; to be con-

fronted with the witnesses against him; to have compulsory pro-

cess for obtaining Witnesses in his favor, and to have the

Assistance of Counsel for his defense.

Amendment VIII

Excessive bail shall not be required, nor excessive fines imposed,

nor cruel and unusual punishments inflicted.

cons i eis el ee rye 4 *

Amendment XIV

SECTION |. All persons born or naturalized in the United

States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the

United States and of the State wherein they reside. No State shall

make or enforce any law which shall abridge the privileges or

immunities of citizens of the United States; nor shall any State

deprive any person of life, liberty, or property, without due pro-

cess of law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the

equal protection of the laws.

FEDERAL RULES OF EVIDENCE

Rule 606. Competency of Juror as Witness.

(b) Inquiry into validity of a verdict or indictment. — Upon

an inquiry into the validity of a verdict or indictment, a juror

may not testify as to any matter or statement occurring during

the course of the jury’s deliberations or to the effect of anything

upon his or any other juror’s mind or emotions as influencing

him to assent to or dissent from the verdict or indictment or con-

cerning his mental processes in connection therewith, except that

a juror may testify on the question whether extraneous prejudicial

information was improperly brought to the jury’s attention or

whether any outside influence was improperly brought to bear

upon any juror. Nor may his affidavit or evidence of any state-

ment by him concerning a matter about which he would be

precluded from testifying be received for these purposes.

FEDERAL RULES OF EVIDENCE

Rule 1006. Summaries.

The contents of voluminous writings, recordings, or

photographs which cannot conveniently be examined in court may

be presented in the form of a chart, summary, or calculation.

The originals, or duplicates, shall be made available for examina-

tion or copying, or both, by other parties at reasonable time and

place. The court may order that they be produced in court.

anti

UNITED STATES CODE ANNOTATED, TITLE 18

§ 287. False, fictitious or fradulent claims

Whoever makes or presents to any person or officer in the civil,

military, or naval service of the United States, or to any depart-

ment or agency thereof, anv claim upon or against the United

States, or any department or agency thereof, knowing such claim

to be false, fictitious, or fraudulent, shall be fined not more than

$10,000 or iiaprosioned not more than five years, or both.

June 35, 1948, c. 645, 62 Stat. 698.

UNITED STATES CODE ANNOTATED, TITLE 42

1776. Child care food program

Authorization of appropriations

(a) (1) There is hereby authorized to be appropriated such sums

as are necessary for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1976, the

period July 1, 1976, through September 30, 1976, the fiscal year

ending September 30, 1977, and the fiscal year ending September

30, 1978, to enable the Secretary to formulate and carry out a

program to assist States through grants-in-aid and other means

to initiate, maintain, or expand nonprofit food service programs

for children in institutions providing child care.

(2) For purposes of this section, the term “institution” means

any public or private nonprofit organization where children are

not maintained in permanent residence including, but not limited

to, day care centers, settlement houses, recreation centers, family

day care programs, Head Start centers, Homestart programs, and

institutions providing day care services for handicapped children.

No institution shall be eligible to participate in this program unless

it has either local, State, or Federal licensing or approval as a

child care institution, or can satisfy the Secretary that its stan-

dards are no less comprehensive than the Federal interagency day

care requirements as approved by the Department of health,

Education, and Welfare, the Office of Economic Opportunity,

and the Department of Labor on September 23, 1968. An institu-

tion may be approved for funding under this section only if, under

conditions established by the Secretary, such institution is mov-

ing toward compliance with the requirements for tax exempt Status

under section 501 (c)(3) of Title 26, or is currently operating a

par SS

federally funded program requiring nonprofit status. For pur-

poses of this section, the term “State” means any of the 50 States,

the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico,

the Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, and the Trust Ter-

ritory of the Pacific Islands. Any eligible institution shall receive

the child care food program upon its request.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case resulted from a 12 count indictment against the Ap- |

pellant for alledged violations of 18 USC, Section 287. The Ap-

pellant was found innocent of eight (8) counts and guilty of four

(4) counts. (Appendix B).

During the trial the government’s proof, which consisted of

conflicting testimony by government witnesses, was to support

testimony by the governments alleged expert witness in presen-

ting summary charts that purportedly represented voluminous

documents. The charts were filled with inconsistencies, inac-

curacies and was without clarity. (Appendix C). The evidence

presented by the government was not sufficient to stand alone

and should not have warranted a guilty verdict on counts 2, 4,.

8 and 12. (Appendix A and C).

The Government’s expert witness, initiated an investigation in

to the Appellant’s records under the “guise” that it was merely

an audit pursuant to 42 U.S.C. 1766 when it was in fact a criminal

investigation. (Appendix C). The investigator testified that he did

not inform Appellant that he was a suspect because the Appellant

was an attorney, and further that it was U.S.D.A.’s policy to not

inform suspects during audits. (Appendix C).

U.S.D.A. regulations resulting from 42 USC 1766 clearly states

criteria for repayment of overclaims. (Appendix C). This pro-

cedure was by-passed by the government. The Appellant was in-

dicted as opposed to being asked to repay money overclaimed,

if any.

The Appellant opposed the prosecutor’s assertion that the

documents were voluminous and did require the use of summary

charts. (Appendices A and C). *

a

-“ es

The opinion of the Fifth Circuit (Appendix A) states that the

Appellant was convicted on counts 2 and 4 because of the hand-

written support documents signed by the Appellant; count 8 was

supposedly substantiated by the Appellant’s expert witness which

showed a minute arithmetic error of 4 meals (Appendix B); count

12 was alledgedly supported by the testimony of an employee of

the Appellant who produced menus for this particular count

which did not coincide with the figures reported by the Appellant

or the same employee earlier or by the same employee’s testimony.

(Appendices B and C). The defendant has surmised that his guilt

on these four counts were noi proven beyond a reasonable doubt,

and that evidence such as this should not sustain guilty verdicts,

and certainly does not warrant 5 years without freedom and a

$7,500.00 fine for each count ($30,000.00 total).

This case was turned over to the jury after eight days of

deliberation. The jury deliberated for several hours and then re-

quested a rereading of the law as to “reasonable doubt and

witness.” The judge re-read the instructions. The jury returned

and deliberated for several more hours and returned once again

with a second note which dealt with the handling of the individual

counts in the indictment and returning verdicts on those. The Ap-

pellant was charged with 12 distinct indictments that were sum-

marized by charts prepared by a government witness. The jurors

questioned whether this was one indictment rather than twelve.

(Appendix C).

After the instructions were re-read a second time, the jury

returned to deliberate. The judge received a third note from the

jury stating that “Judge, we, the jury, cannot reach agreement

on any of the twelve counts.” (Appendix C).

The judge then gave the jury his version of the Allen Charge,

which had no connection with the facts or the law in this case,

but was introduced as a new instruction, and therefore additional

law for the jury to consider. (Appendix A and C).

Tire defendant was sentenced to five years, with six (6) months

being served. The execution of the remainder of the sentence of

imprisonment was suspended and the defendant placed on pro-

bation for a period of five (5) years to commence upon the defend-

= {2—

nat’s release from confinement, and pay a fine in the sum of

$7,500.00 for count 2. (Appendix B).

The Appellant filed a Motion to Interview Jurors, because of

articles printed by the newspaper, and because he needed to deter-

mine if he was a victim of irregularity and injustice. (Appendix

B-3).

This Motion to Intereview Jurors was denied because of Federal

Rules of Evidence 606 B. (Appendix B, pages 4-9).

In order that the Court might obtain its imposed fine of

$30,000.00, an order was issued to freeze all the Appellant’s assets.

The Appellant filed a Motion to Release all the Assets except

those amounting to the $30,000.00 imposed by the Court. This

motion was granted.

Appellant appealed the lower court’s decision to the Fifth Cir-

cuit Court of Appeals, who in turn returned a lengthy opinion,

filled with mis-statements of the facts, and inconsistencies, which

also affirmed the lower court. (Appendix A). A Petition for

Rehearing (Appendix C) was filed in the Fifth Circuit Court of

Appeals by the Appellant and it was also denied without com-

ment. (Appendix D). Appellant filed a Motion to Stay the Man-

date which was misfiled or lost by the Fifth Circuit Court of Ap-

peals. (Appendix E). The Appellant then filed a Motion to Recall

and Stay the Mandate. The Motion to Recall was denied and the

Motion to Stay the Mandate was granted pending the submis-

sion of the Petition for Writ of Certiorari. (Appendix E).

Counts 4, 8, and 12’s sentence was suspended and the Appellant

was placed on probation for a period of five years concurrent

with the probation imposed in count 2, and pays a fine in the

sum of $7,500.00 on each of these three counts, totaling

$30,000.00 (Appendix B).

These fines of $30,000.00 is excessive and cruel and unusual

punishment, especially when there was no establishment by the

government of any money being defrauded.

After invoking a sentence as harsh as the above mentioned

sentence for an undetermined amount of money presumed to be

defrauded, the Court proceeded to suspend the Appellant from

ati

practicing law (Appendix B) even though the State of Mississip-

pi did not consider violation of 18 U.S.C. 287, a crime of moral

turpitude. (Appendix C).

After the trial, the Jackson Advocate Newspaper interviewed

two of the jurors and reported that the jury verdict was not

unanimous. (Appendix B). The jurors reported that they used

a democratic system of voti> g because of their inability to reach

a verdict based on the evidence presented by the prosecution and

the court’s insistance that they reach a verdict. (Appendix C, Ex-

hibit E).

A Notice of Appeal (Appendix F) has been timely filed and

following the Notice of Appeal, Appellant filed a Motion for En

Banc Consideration by the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals of the

Order denying recalling the case. The court, without an Order,

returned the motion without filing the Motion and stated in a

cover letter that this Court did not consider administrative mat-

ters En Banc.

The Appellant's attorney has informed the court that the Mo-

tion was procedural and not administrative. The Fifth Circuit

has not replied to that communication.

STATEMENT OF THE REASONS WHY THE

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ARE SO SUBSTANTIAL

AS TO REQUIRE PLENARY CONSIDERATION

Question No. 1 is presented for the following reasons:

In the instant case, the opinion rendered by the Fifth Circuit

Court of Appeals, directly conflicts with the following cases and

authorities issued or used by the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals:

(1) Baines v. United States.of America, Sth Circuit 1970, 426

F 2d 842.8

(2) Nordamann v. National Hotel Company, Sth Circuit, 1970,

425 F 2d 1104

(3) United States v. Meriwether, 486 F. 2d 498 (Sth Circuit,

1973) cert. denied, 417 U.S. 948, 94S. Ct 3074, 41 L. Ed.

2d 668 (1974)

us

ma ee.

afte

(4) Gordan v. United States, 438 F. 2d 858, 976 (Sth Cir. 1971),

cert. denied, 404 U.S. 828, 92 S. ct. 63, 30 L. Ed. 2d 56

(1971).

(5) Federal Rules of Evidence, Rule 1006

The resulting fact is that the opinion created new case law which

conflicts with existing case law established by the Fifth Circuit,

i.e., the summary charts used by the prosecution and presented

by an alledged expert witness did not meet the threshold requir-

ment of Rule 1006, FRE. These charts, not in accord with this

rule (1006), (1) did not contain facts and figures supported by

evidence; (2) they did not reflect such facts and figures in a neutral

fashion as is required, but instead attempted to interpret such

facts and figures to fit the government’s theory of the case; (3)

drew conclusions of facts and law, which not only invaded the

province of the jury, but were in fact pre-emptive in nature; and

(4) the conclusions drawn were based on averages and pro-

babilities. Because of the above mentioned statements of fact,

the Appellant, like the Baines v. United States of America case,

(Sth Circuit, 1970, 426 F. 2d 842.8), requested that this case be

reversed and remanded. The use of the summary charts in the

instant case and Baines v. United States, supra, were highly pre-

judicial to the defendants. The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals

reversed and remanded the Baines case and the same court af-

firmed the lower court’s decision in the Jennings case.

It is for the above reasons that the Appellant has requested

this court to grant the Writ of Certiorari so that precedents be

retained uniformly, and that the Appellant might be afforded

equal protection of the law, as is his constitutional right via the

14th Amendment.

az.

Question No. 2 is presented for the following reasons:

In considering Amendment 8 of the U.S. Constitution, “an ex-

cessive sentence may be invalid under this amendment solely.

because of disproportionality” (Wheeler v. Glass, C.A. Ill. 1973,

473 F. 2d 983) (McGee v. Schmidt, D.C. Wis., 1976, 411 F. Supp.

43). This disproportionate punishment inflicted upon Appellant

is considered cruel and unusual by the Appellant and violative

ite

of his 8th Amendment Constitutional right because it is not

graduated or proportioned to the offense, expecially when there

have been similar cases in the same jurisdiction for the same of-

fense with much more lenient sentences or fines, i.e., U.S. vs.

Edgar C. Lloyd, Jr., Fd. 2nd, former top advisor to Governor

Cliff Finch and former director of the State Employment Security

Commission who embezzled $216,000.00 from the Government.

He received a 20-month sentence with a $3,000.00 fine; whereas,

Jennings received a 6-month sentence with a $30,000.00 fine for

alledgely submitting false claims, although no amount of money

was determined to be missing by the court or the indictment. For

this court to allow a precedent to be set as disproportionate as

in this case would lay a foundation for the taking of property

without a hearing; create involuntary servitude for the govern-

ment; sanction a legal technique for cruel and inhuman treat-

ment; and encourage similar disproportionate fines against our

citizenry. For these substantial reasons, the Writ of Certiorari

should be granted.

3.

Question No. 3 is presented for the following reasons:

It is evident that the opinion rendered is vague and unclear

as to certain aspects of the case.

It is unclear, as to the lower court’s need for summary charts,

presumably based on voluminous records, and also if the witness

used to make these summary charts should have been an expert,

and further, should these charts have been ascertained by the court

with certainty that they were based upon and fairly represented

competent evidence already before the jury, and that this witness

was an unbiased one. (Gordon v. U.S., 438 F. 2d 858, 876 (Sth

Circuit 1971), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 828, 92S. ct. 63, 30 L. Ed.

2d 56 (1971). These issues are crucial to the Appellant in that

his conviction was centered primarily on the summary charts.

In the instant case a precedent is being set that identifies by

number the pages required to make a subject matter voluminous

and therefore needing summary charts. The precedent states 200

plus pages. The fact is that only 59 pages existed in this case.

This case attempts to honor the requirement of an exvert, while

=_

simultaneously establishing as law that the chart preparer,

acknowledged by the court as not an expert, was qualified to

prepare and testify from, and change three (3) times during his

testimony, summary charts. This precedent has broad effects on

summary charts, expert witnesses, voluminous records, and is

repugnant to the Federal Rules of Evidence, rule 1006.

The issues raised in this case on this subject is substantial and

far-reaching enough to justify this court granting the Writ of Cer-

tiorari that this Court might constitutionally consider the final

stamp of approval or disapproval of the precedents being set by

this case.

4.

Question No. 4 is presented for the following reasons:

Under the terms of the contract between the Appellant and

the Department of Education, it clearly states in the Federal

Register/vol. 45, no. 14, 1980 Rules and Regulations 228.15, that

“the State Agency shall notify the institution of reasons for any

disallowance or demand for repayment, and allow the institu-

tion full opportunity to submit evidence on appeal as provided

for in § 226.7. Minimum State Agency collection procedures for

unearned payments shall include: (1) written demand to the in-

stitution for the return of improper payments; (2) if, after 30

callendar days, the institution fails to remit full payments or agree

to a satisfactory repayment schedule a second written demand

for the return of improper payments is made; (3) if, after 60 days,

the institution fails to remit full payment or agree to a schedule,

the State Agency will then and only then refer the claim to the

appropriate state or federal authorities for pursuit of legal

remedies.”

The State Agency failed to comply with the guidelines establish-

ed by congress governing overpayments or repayments to the U.S.

Department of Agriculture and agreed upon between the four

(4) contracting parties.

This court should establish as law prohibition of criminal pro-

secution of offenses such as this, prior to the full enforcement

of government contractural agreements. Government Agencies

should concur with every aspect of the agreements and exhaust

wh

‘

io

~ia

every measure of resolution above and beyond that of any con-

tract before criminal procedures are invoked. For this court to

allow this ruling to stand, is to sanction criminal prosecution

where no restitution is requested per contract; to flcod the Federal

Courts with criminal cases; to add to the jail population and to

encourage excessive fines. This court should not establish as law

a method of proceeding against individials contracting with the

government, which would be discretionary with local prosecutors,

and contrary to the congressional intent of the legislature

establishing the programs that lead to the government contrac-

ting with an individual. A most grave precedent is being establish-

ed in the instant case, which if allowed to stand, would have far

reaching effect upon many vast areas of existing law, which will

surely errode the constitutionally protected rights of individuals,

and cause congress to cry encroachment of powers by the courts.

For this reason, the Writ of Certiorari should be granted.

7

Question No. 5 is presented for the following reasons.

In the instant case, a civil contract was entered into between

the U.S. Government and the State of Mississippi and a private

non-profit corporation and the appellant. It was a U.S.D.A. con-

tract for the feeding of pre-school age children in a child care

center. The contract was all inclusive of disbursements, over-

payments, reclaiming overpayments, and by whom, which in this

case simply progressed backwards, and ultimately would be the

responsibility of the U.S. Government when all else failed as to

collections. The collection provisions of the U.S.D.A. regulation

and therefore the contract states the collection of money. In this

case, the Appellant was indicted under 18 USC 287, even though

no money, not even one dollar, was ever alleged to have been

taken by the Appellant from the U.S. Government. Surely it is

difficult to conceive of a Federal District in our United States

of America that could convince a Federal Grand Jury to return

an indictment considering these circumstances; but it did hap-

pen in this case, and the vehicle was 18 USC 287, i.e., the know-

ing and intentionally submitting a false claim to the Government.

The words “False Claim” implies that one intends to get something

from the Government that he is not entitled to. In this case, an

indictment was rendered because somebody believed that the Ap-

pellant intended to submit a false claim to the government. Not

that the Appellant did, but only intended to do so. The scenario

of this case creates 18 USC 287 as a weapon for prosecutors. This

court should carefully consider this entire case, and resulting

therefrom establish specific guidelines which ought to conclude

that a false claim must actually be sumbitted before an indict-

ment may be sought under 18 USC 287. Because these guidelines

suggested do not already exist, the Appellant has been branded

a criminal via indictment, with the prosecutor having the privilege

to “witch hunt” for supporting evidence after the indictment. The

evidence in this case is so close to being non-existing, that even

the Circuit Court so stated in its opinion. 18 USC 287 apparent-

ly is being used as a “catch-all” statute. That is to say, “if we

can not get him one way, we’ll get him under 18 USC 287”. This

Court should establish as clear law that 18 USC 287 is not to

be used in factual situations as enumerated in this case. For to

do otherwise, is to ordain unimaginable chaos. For this reason,

the Writ of Certiorari should be granted.

6.

Question No. 6 is presented for the following reasons:

The verdict of guilty on four counts and an acquittal of eight

counts was delivered by the jury. The verdicts were unorthodox.

Two of the jurors reported in published interviews that che ver-

dicts were not unanimous. They indicated a democratic system

of voting, due to the coercive effect of the Allen Charge impos-

ed by the Court. It is the Appellant’s position that allowing ver-

dicts to be beyond reach as indicated by FRE 606B, only pro-

mote injustice. Guidelines should be established by the United

States Supreme Court in regard to FRE 606B, especially in in-

stances as flagrant and insulting to the basic principle of a

unanimous verdict, as in this case. This court must not allow a

standard of less than unamious verdicts to be the new law. For

this reason the Writ of Certiorari should be granted.

—~19~—

7.

Question No. 7 is presented for the following reasons:

The Appellant was summarily suspended by the trial judge at

sentencing as a part of the sentence imposed against him, from

practicing law in all Federal Courts of the Southern District of

Mississippi. In the matter of William R. Ming, 469 F. 2d 352

(CA 7, 1972) and United States vs. Friedland, 502 F. Supp. 611

(DGNJ, 1980), affirmed 672 F. 2d 905 (1981) is considered by

the Appellant to be of exceptional importance. In the Ming case,

the defendant was indicted and charged with four counts of

willfully and knowingly failing to make timely income tax returns.

The defendant was also a practicing attorney and was found-guilty

on all four counts. Following his conviction he was also suspended

from practicing law. The Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals rul-

ed that “without reaching the merits of the suspension, we reverse

for two reasons: (1) the suspension for conviction of a misde-

meanor took place before the conviction had reached finality;

(2) the lack of hearing before the executive committee constituted

a denial of due process of the law,” and it is only fair and just

that the government not subject any person to such a drastic

divestment without affording him substantial due process of law.

This Seventh Circuit decision is supported by the case of In

re Ruffalo, 390 U.S. 544, 88S. Ct. 1222, 20 L.Ed. 2nd 117 (1968),

wherein the Supreme Court upheld that “disbarment, designed

to protect the public, is a punishment or penalty imposed on

lawyers. Appellant is accordingly entitled to procedural due

process.

The case, however, holds that an attorney may be suspended

while he is in an appeal and before his conviction reaches finali-

ty. However, it is most important to note that even in the

Friedland case, the attorney was granted a due process hearing

prior to being suspended. Friedland does not argue against pro-

cedural due process, but in fact reinforces the right to due pro-

cess, which is recognized by all Federal Appellant Courts.

In the instant case, not only was the Appellant suspended while

his case was on appeal, but the district court denied him a hear-

ing. Accordingly, Appellant submits that the most enlightened

-20—

position for the Supreme Court to take on this issue, which is

a case of first impression for the Fifth Circuit, is to adopt the

holding in Ming.

In the instant case the Fifth Circuit has established as law that

a trial judge may suspend an attorney following a guilty verdict

without a hearing as long as no hearing was requested by counsel

for the accused. The opinion in this case leaves open, the ques-

tion of whether or not the accused would have been entitled to

a hearing on his suspension if one had been requested. This opi-

nion further establishes as law that the accused defending an in-

dictment must also defend a suspension simultaneously although

the accused is never informed that his defense at the trial is also

to be his defense for suspension consideration.

This opinion places a dual burden on the accused attorney dur-

ing the trial on defending his license and the indictment. The Writ

of Certiorari should be granted that this court might make clear

its position on due process hearings when not requested by oversite

of counsel. This particular question is of grave public importance

and substantial and should be considered by this Court. For this

reason, leave to file a Writ of Certiorari should be granted.

The instant case is a case of first impressions of the Fifth Cir-

cuit Court of Appeals as to suspension of an attorney without

a due process hearing. The Fifth Circuit has ruled contrary to

other federal circuits. The U.S. Supreme Court should ratify or

correct the ruling of the Fifth Circuit in this case of first impres-

sion, and establish timely procedures and criteria for suspending

attorneys pending appeals and same for the disbarment of at-

torneys, and define with specificity the distinctions between

disbarment and suspension.

8.

Question No. 8 is presented for the following reasons:

The Appellant being the attorney for the non-profit corpora-

tion, was under obligation to make available its records for civil

audits. The original auditor, admitted that he obtained records

from the appellant under the guise of conducting a civil audit

and later turned those records over to a U.S.D.A. Investigator.

The investigator admitted that at no time did he inform the Ap-

i,

pellant that he was the subject of a criminal investigation or that

the records which he obtained would be used against him as

evidence in a subsequent grand jury proceeding and trial. In fact,

the cirminal investigator admitted that even after the grand jury

was convened and the case was presented to the grand jury, he

returned to the Appellant’s office and seized additional records

and turned them over to the United States Attorney. He further

testified that he did not inform the Appellant that he was a

criminal suspect or that he was conducting a criminal investiga-

tion “because he is an attorney, and if he had done something

wrong he would have known that it was a criminal investigation”.

The investigator testified further that “it is the policy of U.S.D.A.

to not inform suspects of criminal investigations because in so

informing them it tends to cause [ora with the govern-

ment by the suspect.”

The Appellant cites the case as United States ys. Tweel, 550

F. 2d 297 (CAS, 1977), which reveals thai the defendant was tried

on two counts of tax evasion and evidence used against him was

obtained by a special agent under false pretense. The agents in

both cases used deceit, trickery, and misrepresentations to gain

access, and, thus violated the defendant’s constitutional right

against unlawful search and seizures, which is in direct violation

with the Fourth Amendment of the Constitution.

This case at bar is very much alike, factually to the Tweel case.

The unlawful obtainment of records in the Tweel case was con-

demned by the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals and reversed. The

Appellant’s case was not condemned nor reversed, but denied

by the same court for the same set of circumstances.

If this case is allowed to remain as law, this Court’s position

as to the rights of accused or suspected persons, in a long line

of cases will be revised and possibly nullified. If this case is allow-

ed to stand it will establish classes of individuals that should not

be informed of their constitutional rights and supposedly a class

that should be informed. This case further will serve to ratify

the United States Department of Agriculture policy of not abiding

by the Constitution of the United States. These questions are

substantial enough as to judicial impact alone for this Court to

grant permission to file a Writ of Certiorari, that this court might

affirm or deny the precedent established in this case.

iin

9.

Question No. 9 is present-d for the following reasons:

In the instant case, a U.S. Magistrate ordered the Government

to obey its discovery order i» the extent of Brady vs. Maryland

373 U.S. 83 (1963). Appellant requested whether any of the

government’s intended witnesses had criminal records. The pro-

secutor reported to Appellant that there were none with criminal

records. During the Trial, it was revealed that one witness was

a convicted felon. A Motion for a Mistrial was denied. The Pro-

secutor explained to the court that he asked of each witness if

he or she had a criminal record, and each said no. The prosecutor

announced to the court that in so asking, and in receiving an

answer, and delivering that answer to the Appellant, that he com-

plied with the court’s discovery order. The court agreed. The Ap-

pellant maintained then and maintains now that he was denied

his constitutional rights of a fair trial by not having had the pro-

secutor comply more exhaustivelly with the Discovery Order. This

case establishes a new standard for complying with Discovery

Order as to Criminal cases. The new standard conflicts and

nullifies and contradicts established standards and precedent

cases. Unless this new standard is to be the standard of the future,

this court should grant this Writ of Certiorari and stamp it’s ap-

proval or disapprova!.

CONCLUSION

This Appellant is a black man. The Federal district involved

is the Southern District of the State of Mississippi. Both facts

may or may not be relevant in the instant case, but considering

the history of the State of Mississippi as to its Black Citizens,

both facts should at least be known by this court. In the instant

case, more new and different precedents in more areas of law

are being established than possibly by any other case in the 208

year history of this, our nation. A)! the precedents appear to the

Appellant, to be not in the best interest of the citizens of this

nation, or particularly the Federal Court System. All the

precedents change existing law to the determent of the Appellant.

This case if allowed to stand could be cited in nearly all areas

of law, and in so doing would change the legal history of that

=~ =

area of law. For this case to enjoy such a position, this court

must make the final statement as to whether this case is to dic-

tate our future. This court has jurisdiction, and the issues involved

are so substantial that this court should grant permission to file

the Writ of Certiorari.

aS

— APPENDIX A —

IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT OF APPEALS

for the

FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 83-4426

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Plaintiff-Appellee,

versus

MELVIN R. JENNINGS

Defendant-Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Mississippi

(January 24, 1984)

ok tw

Before GEE and GARWOOD, Circuit Judges, and EASsT*,

District Judge.

GARWOOD, Circuit Judge:

This is an appeal from a judgment of cciuviction under 18

U.S.C. § 287' for making false claims to an agency of the United

States government. The claims involved were those on behalf of

an organization known as South People, Inc. (SP1) presented to

the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), through

the Mississippi State Department of Education (SDOE), for reim-

bursement for meals served to children under the Child Care Food

Program, see 42 U.S.C. § 1776. Appellant Melvin R. Jennings

was charged in a twelve-count indictment with making, presen-

ting, and causing to be made and presented these allegedly false

claims for each of the twelve months beginning in October, 1979

and continuing through September 1980. At trial, the jury found

Jennings guilty on four of the twelve counts and acquitted him

on the other eight.?

On appeal, Jennings raises a number of evidentiary and pro-

cedureal issues. Because we find no prejudicial error in the con-

duct of the trial below, Jennings’ conviction is affirmed. Jenn-

ings also argues that the trial court erred in summarily suspen-

ding him from practicing law in the federal courts of the Southern

District of Mississippi. We decline to disturb the order of

suspension.

*District Judge of the District of Oregon, sitting by designation.

"Section 287 provides:

“Whoever makes or presents to any person or officer in the civil,

military, or naval service ot the United States. or to any department or

agency thereof, any claim upon or against the United States, or any

department or agency thereof, knowing such claim to be false, fictitious,

or fradulent, shail be fined not more than $10,000 or imprisoned not

more than five years, or both.”

*The jury found Jennings guilty of counts two, four, eight, and twelve. These

counts involved the months of November 1979, January 1980, May 1980, and

September 1980, respectively.

=

Jennings, a licensed attorney in the State of Mississippi, serv-

ed as general counsel for SPI, a nonprofit corporation in whose

formation Jennings played the principal part. In August, 1979,

SPI entered into an agreement with SDOE whereby SDOE agreed

to reimburse SP! for certain meal expenses incurred by the day

care centers under SPI sponsorship’. Under the sponsorship

arrangement, each of the centers sponsored provided SPI with

the information necessary to submit the monthly claim for reim-

bursement to SDOE. This information was brought to Jennings’

law office by the various centers. Jennings’ office personnel would

then total the figures from the individual centers into a blanket

claim for reimbursement which was submitted by SPI to SDOE.

SDOE would process the claim and forward a monthly check

payable to SPI which Jennings would deposit in his escrow ac-

count‘. SPI charged each of the day care centers ten percent of

the reimbursement funds for administrative costs. When the check

*During the period from October 1979 through September 1980, SPI spon-

sored a total of eight child care centers. In order to participate in the Child

Care Food Program, each of the centers had to be licensed by the Mississippi

State Board of Health (MSBH), and the MSBH determine how many children

could be enrolled by each center. The number established by the MSBH also

operated as a ceiling for the number of children for whom reimbursement could

be sought under the Child Care Food Program. The centers sponsored by SPI

and their respective maximum enrollment numbers assigned by MSBH were:

Anderson Day Care Center (17), Bryant’s Nursery (15), Clairmont Preschool

Lerning Center (27), Jones Day Care Center (15), Millers Day Care Center (24),

Tottsville Child Care Center (64), Keyboard Kiddie Care (15), and Northside

Drive Childhood Center (34).

‘Pursuant to the Child Care Food Program, the SDOE served as a conduit

for funds made available by the federal government to Child Care Food Pro-

gram sponsors. Thus, while the claims for reimbursement were submitted by

SPI to SDOE, they were actually claims made upon the United States and

therefore subject to the provisions of 18 U.S.C. § 287. This fact wac made known

to sponsors by a notice at the bottom of the claim for reimbursement form

which stated, “I understand that the information on this Claim for Reimburse-

ment and Claim for Reimbursement Worksheet is being given in connection

with the receipt of Federal funds and that deliberate misrepresentation may

subject me to prosecution under applicable State and Federal Criminal Statutes.”

This aspect uf the matter is not in dispute on appeal, nor was it at trial.

it hie

from SDOE arrived, Jennings or his staff would determine what

each of the centers was entitled to receive for that particular

month, deduct ten percent, and forward the remainder to the

centers.

The false claim alleged in each count of the indictment per-

tained to that part of the claim for reimbursement involving the

Tottsville Child Care Center which was owned and operated by

Jennings. The principal witnesses against Jennings at trial were

three women who served as his legal secretaries during the period

of time from October, 1979 through September, 1980. The first

of these was Evelyn Henry, who began working for Jennings in

September, 1975. She testified that at some point prior to Oc-

tober, 1979, Jennings told her that she had been elected presi-

dent of SPI, and she subsequently signed the October, 1979 SPI

claim for reimbursement from SDOE. Henry stopped working

for Jennings, however, in the latter part of the same month, but

at that time Jer.nings requested and received from her a power

of attorney authorizing him or his representative to sign her name

to SPI documents.

According to the government’s evidence, Jennings instructed

the secretaries who followed Henry to sign Henry’s name to the

monthly claims for reimbursement submitted to SDOE. He ex-

plained to them how to compile the information from the in-

dividual day care centers to complete the master claim. One of

these secrtaries, Jackie Hart, testified that while the figures for

the other centers needed to complete the master claim came from

those centers, the figures for Tottsville came directly from Jen-

nings. According to Hart, regarding the preparation of the work

sheets reflecting the meal count from Tottsville, either Jennings

would prepare the work sheets himself, taking the figures “from

the top of his head,” or he would show Hart how to complete

the work sheets. Jennings told her that the meal count had to

be within a ceriain range, that she should never be consistent in

completing the work sheets, and that she should not use the same

number of meals too often. Jennings also told Hart to represent

herself as Henry if asked who she was when submitting a claim

to SDOE.

The government's evidence showed that Jennings had instructed

a

Helen Knight, the director of the Tottsville center from 1978 to

1981, to inflate the number of meals purportedly served at the

center when she filled out the work sheets from which Tottsville’s

claim for reimbursement was completed. Jennings explained to

her that “he didn’t have any money coming in and the only way

we were going to be working is we had to inflate the numbers

so we'd have some money.” The director trestified that during

the school year from September, 1979 through May, 1980 the

average attendance was approximately thirty-five students; dur-

ing the summer the average dropped to twenty-five. The claims

for reimbursement for the Tottsville center for this period,

however, consistently represented that more students had been

in attendance. The government’s evidence further demonstrated

that the disparity between the number of children actually at-

tending Tottsville and the number represented by the claims for

reimbursement was not unknown to Jennings since he had stop-

ped by the center almost every day and had seen the number of

children in attendance.

The government also introduced the testimony of the SDOE

area supervisor for the Child Care Food Program who had on

two occasions visited the Tottsville center and observed the

number of children eating a particular meal. The supervisor’s

report concerning a visit made on November 16, 1979 indicated

that forty children had eaten breakfast at the center. The

November, 1979 work sheet for Tottsville showed that reimburse-

ment for sixty-four breakfasts had been sought for the same date.

The supervisor’s report on an April 4, 1980 visit indicated that

thirty-two children had been served an afternoon snack. The April

work sheet sought reimbursement for sixty-four children on that

date.

From October, 1980 through February, 1981, Pace and

Shelton, an independent firm, conducted an audit for SPI’s ac-

tivities regarding the Child Care Food Program. Jennings com-

plained to SDOE about the results obtained by Pace and Shelton,

and subsequently the matter was transferred to USDA for resolu-

tion. Auditor McDonald of USDA was assigned to conduct

another audit of SPI. After reviewing SPI’s records and discover-

ing possible program violations, McDonald referred the matter

to the investigations section of USDA’s Office of Inspector

—A 6—

General. In the course of McDonald’s audit, he had copied some

of the SPI documents and eventually turned these copies over

to the Investigations division, although none of the copies were

‘ntroduced at trial. Investigator Brewer, who testified for the

government at trial,® proceeded to visit Jennings’ office where

he identified himself as being a party of an investigation separate

from auditor McDonald and the Pace and Shelton audit. He did

not, however, disclose to Jennings that he was conducting a

criminal investigation. Jennings subsequently provided Brewer

with the records pertaining to the period from October, 1979

through September, 1980. As a result of Brewer’s investigation,

the instant indictment was ultimately returned.

Jennings’ first claim of error concerns the government’s use

of certain summary charts at trial. Twelve of these charts con-

sisted of summaries of the meals claimed to have been served

by the day care centers under SPI sponsorship for each of the

months beginning with October, 1979 through September, 1980.

Government exhibit 49A (against which, together with govern-

ment exhibit 51A, Jennings’ major complaints are directed)

presented a comparison of what the government asserted was the

actual number of meals served at the Tottsville center during

twenty-two days® with the meals claimed for reimbursement for

those same days. Government exhibit 51A consisted of a presen-

tation, based on an extrapolat'on of the average number of meals

served at Tottsville during the twenty-two days summarized in

exhibit 49A, of the amount of reimbursement Tottsville was ac-

tually entitled to for the twelve months in question.

Federal Rule of Evidence 1006 provides that “[t}he contents

of voluminous writings, recordings, or photographs which can-

not conveniently be examined in court may be presented in the

form of a chart, summary or calculation.” Recognizing the

possibility for misuse of summary charts, this Court has previous-

‘Brewer testified at the beginning of the government's case and again at the

end as a summary witness.

*Twenty and two-thirds days in September 1980 and one meal cach on

November 19, 1979 and on April 4, 1980.

oh Fa

ly cautioned that a trial judge must carefuly handle their prepara-

tion and use. Myers v. United States, 356 F. 2d 469, 470 (Sth

Cir.), cert. denied, 384 U.S. 952 (1966). We here reiterate that

caution. Jennings argues initially that the documents involved

in this case were not so voluminous as to allow the use of sum-

mary charts. Nevertheless, insofar as the documents underlying

these summary charts include almost two hundred pages of

material and substantial amounts of mathematical calculations,

we cannot find that the trial court abused its discretion in allow-

ing their use for convenience of the jury. These documents in-

cluded claims for reimbursement, work sheets used to compile

the figures used in the claims, and itemized menus. “The most

commonly recognized application of this principle is that by which

the state of pecuniary accounts or other business transactions is

allowed to be shown by a witness’ schedule or summary.” 4

Wigmore, Evidence § 1230 at 537 (Chadbourn rev. 1972) (foot-

note omitted) (emphasis in orignal).

Neither do we find that the charts were not supported by

evidence. The government’s summary witness explained in some

detail how he had derived figures contained in the summary charts

from the underlying documents. Although certain of the con-

clusions in the summary charts are undoubtedly the product of

assumptions made by the government, these assumptions are not

per se impermissible. This Court has recently noted that such

assumptions are allowed “so long as supporting evidence has been

presented previously to the jury . . . and where the court has

‘made it clear that the ultimate decision should be made by the

jury as to what weight should be given to the evidence.’” United

States v. Means, 695 F. 2d 811, 817 (Sth Cir. 1983) (citing United

States v. Diez, 515 F. 2d 893, 905 (Sth Cir. 1975), cert. denied,

423 U.S. 1052 (1976), and quoting United States v. Andrew, 606

F. 2d 549, 550 (Sth Cir. 1979). The central assumption attacked

by Jennings in this case is the government’s use of the average

number of actual meals served from government exhibit 49A (bas-

ed on an analysis of twenty-two days) to derive, by extrapola-

tion, the total reimbursement that Tottsville was entitled to for

the months of October, 1979 through September, 1980. Govern-

ment exhibit 51A, therefore, essentially assumes that the pattern

of average actual numbers served per meal demonstrated for the

twenty-two days analyzed in exhibit 49A was not exceeded on

—-A8—

a monthly basis throughout the balance of the year. This assump-

tion was supported by the testimony of day care center workers

that the average attendance during the months involved was con-

sistently less than that reflected by the claims for reimbursement,

and by the evidence that actual attendance was higher in the

September to May period than in June, July, and August. The

assumption was also fully exposed as such during cross-

examination of the government's summary witness. Furthermore,

the trial court repeatedly admonished the jury that the summary

charts were the government’s view of the evidence and that it was

the jury's responsibility to determine whether the matters con-

tained in the charts were, in fact, true and correct. We note also

that the witness preparing the chart “was subject to full cross-

examination by defendant[’s} attorneys” concerning the matters

reflected by exhibit SIA and the assumptions on which it was

based. Means at 817. The trial court has discretion in these mat-

ters, Means at 817, and although it is arguable that the nexus

between exhibit 51A's conclusions and the supporting evidence

is close to being as attenuated as should be allowed for such form

of presentation and that hence the trial court's ruling approach-

ed the limits of its discretion, we cannot say that those limits were

exceeded or the discretion abused.

Even if it were determined that the trial court abused its discre-

tion in allowing the use of the government's summary charts, we

cannot see that Jennings was prejudiced thereby. The full cross-

examination and the trial court's admonitions to the jury served

to minimize the risk of prejudice. Moreover, that the jury returned

a verdict of guilty on only four counts demonstrates that it did

not blanketly or indiscriminately accept the results of the govern-

ment's summary charts. Jennings’ main complaint of the charts

is their assumption that all the months were similar in number

of meals actually served. The jury rejected that assumption. It

found Jennings guilty on only four of the twelve counts, and the

convictions on those counts were amply supported by evidence

independent of the conclusions reached by the summary charts.’

"We consider some of the evidence supporting the jury's verdict of guilty

on the four counts in our discussion of Jennings’ objection to the use of the

modified Allen Charge in the trial below. Other evidence is reflected in part

1 of this opinion. The sufficiency of the evidence is not challenged as to any

of the counts of which Jennings was convicted.

144

Jennings also argues that the government’s summary witness

was not qualified to testify concerning the summary charts. He

contends that the preparation of summary charts such as those

used in this case and the presentation of those charts in court

must be done by an expert witness qualified to give opinions in

the area in which he is called upon to testify, or by a witness who

has specialized knowledge about the subject matter about which

he testifies. He cites United States v. Seelig, 622 F. 2d 207, 215

(6th Cir.), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 869 (1980), for this proposi-

tion. In Seelig, however, the court found that a summary chart

could not be used because the underlying records on which the

chart was based were not introduced as exhibits nor were they

made available to the opponents as required by Fed. R. Evid.

1006. The court then considered whether the charts could be in-

troduced under the exception for the basis of opinion testimony

by experts, pursuant to Fed. R. Evid. 703. The court concluded

that the summary witness was not an expert and therefore Rule

703 did not apply.

The posiion actually adopted by the Sixth Circuit and the one

that this Court foliows is that when a chart does not contain com-

plicated calculations requiring the need of an expert for accuracy,

no special expertise is required in presenting the chart. See United

States v. Scales, 594 F. 2d 558, 563 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 441

U.S. 946 (1979). The calculations in this case were of such a

nature, and the govenment’s witness, who, though not an accoun-

tant, had received training in accounting procedures and in claim

investigations of this kind, was qualified to testify concerning

the summary charts.®

Jennings complains of certain comments made by the pro-

secutor during his closing argument, alledging that these com-

"The trial court found that the government’s summary witness had specializ-

ed knowledge insofar as he was “an investigator in this field for the United

States Department of Agriculture who is familiar with the forms, their prepara-

tion, and the regulations regarding them.” The witness testified that he had

received training in accounting principles, tracing of funds and document ex-

amination through the Federal Law Enforcement Training Center located in

Glencoe, Georgia.

—A 10-—

ments were an attack upon counsel for the defense and therefore

prejudicial error.* The prosecutor’s remarks may reasonably be

construed as an attempt to explain why certain of the govern-

ment’s witnesses were uncooperative with Jennings’ attorneys prior

to trial. Counsel for the defense had repeatedly claimed in their -

cross-examination of these witnesses that they had denied Jenn-

ings his constitutional right by refusing to talk with his attorneys

prior to trial. The prosecutor also alluded to defense counsel’s

suggestions to various witnesses during cross-examination that

they had engaged in prostitution, embezzlement, and “intimate

relationships” with a government investigator and a third party.

In light of these attacks upon the credibility of the government

witnesses, the prosecutor was “not obliged to sit quietly while

character assaults [were] made on his witnesses; he [was] entitl-

ed to argue fairly their credibility.” United States v. Bright, 630

F. 2d 804, 824 (Sth Cir. 1980). Moreover, even if the prosecutor’s

remarks are construed as an attack upon defendant’s counsel,

we do not find that the error was sufficiently prejudicial to war-

rant reversal.

IV.

In preparation for the trial below, Jennings’ counsel moved

pursuant to Fed. R. Crim. P. 16 for discovery of the criminal

records, if any, of the government’s prospective witnesses. The

motion was granted. During the course of cross-examination of

one of the government’s witnesses at trial, Jackie Hart, that

witness testified that she had been convicted of attempting to cash

a check that she had taken from Jennings’ office. The govern-

*The relevant remarks of the prosecutor are as follows:

“Let me talk about one thing before we leave, before my time runs out.

You think about those ladies from there. Now they want to talk about

those ladies not talking to them prior to the time they came to the cour-

troom. Did you — you did, you observed the way they treated those ladies

here in this courtroom. I mean the gall that they had to ask them the

questions they did and treat them the way they did right here in front

of y’all, can you imagine — can you imagine what these gentlemen would

have done if those ladies had dared talk to them out on the street?”

—-A ll-

ment had not produced the criminal record of this witness,'® and

Jennings therefore moved that the witness’ testimony be stricken

and the jury instructed to disregard the testimony of the witness

for failure to comply with the court’s order. The trial court denied

the motion.

We note that “[rJelief for violations of discovery rules is in the

discretion of the trial court. To support a claim for reversal of

the exercise of that discretion, the accused must show prejudice

to substantial rights.” United States v. Valdes, 545 F. 2d 957-961

(Sth Cir. 1977); United States v. Saitta, 443 F. 2d 830 (Sth Cir.),

cert. denied, 404 U.S. 938 (1971). There was no showing of pre-

judice in the present case. Counsel for defense admitted that they

were aware of the witness’ arrest for attempting to cash the check;

Jennings was the complaining witness in that case. Moreover,

as the trial court observed, “it was obvious from defense counsel’s

questioning of the witness of it.”"' Even if Jennings had not

known of the conviction, it is apparent that he got all the mileage

The prosecutor stated to the trial court that he had questioned all the

witnesses as to whether they had ever been convicted and that all the witnesses

represented tc him that they had not. The night before Hart testified the pro-

secutor questioned her on the basis of testimony that had come out at trial

to the effect that she had been arrested for trying to cash checks from Jenn-

ings’ office. He stated that Hart told him that she had been arrested and that

“the matter had been disposed of thereafter.” He maintained that he had no

reason to believe that she had been convicted.

1“(Mr. WALLS (Counsel for Defendant)}: Q. Now you testified a few

minutes ago about being arrested. Isn’t it a fact that this occurred when you

left from Mr. Jennings’ office one day for lunch?

“[Mrs. Hart (Witness)]: A. Yes, true.

“[MR. WALLS]: Q. And isn’t it a fact that you had been working with the —

“BY MR. DAVIS [Prosecutor]: Your Honor, I object. He cannot go into

the details upon impeachment.

“BY MR. WALLS: Your Honor, I’m talking about why she left work. She’s

testifying about a man she worked for.

“BY MR. DAVIS: She’s testified about the arrest, your Honor. The Federal

Rules do not provide for going into the details.

“BY MR. WALLS: Your Honor, they opened this area up.

“BY THE COURT: Ill let him proceed with this line of questioning.

—A 12-

out of it that he could have if informed of it earlier. If he were

prejudiced by surprise he should have called it to the trial court’s

attention, and his remedy in that event would normally be to re-

quest a recess. United States v. Bockius, 564 F. 2d 1193, 1196-97

(Sth Cir. 1977). No recess was requested here, obviously because

none was needed. Under these circumstances, the trial court clear-

ly did not abuse its discrcion in refusing to strike the testimony

of the witness.

(Footnote'' Continued.)

“BY MR. WALLS, Continuing: Q. Mrs. Hart, isn’t it a fact that this occur-

red regarding some checks for Jones Day Care Center?

“A. You mean the arrest?

“Q. Yes.

“A. Yes.

“Q. That you had taken as a result of your employment in Mr. Jennings’

office?

“A. Yes.

“Q. That you went to the bank and attempted to cash those checks?

“A. One, yes.

“Q. Acting as if you were some person from Jones Day Care Center?

“A. Yes.

“Q. And that you never returned to Mr. Jennings’ office after that?

“A. Correct.

“BY MR. WALLS, Continuing: Q. Who accompanied you?

“A. To the bank?

“Q. Yes.

“A. A friend of mind.

“Q. Was it a man?

“A. Yes.

“Q. Was it your husband?

ae

V.

Prior to the trial below Jennings filed a “Motion to Quash In-

dictment Based Upon Outrageous Governmental Conduct and

Vindictive and Selective Prosecution of Defendant.” This mo-

tion alledged broadly that blacks had been selectively prosecuted

in the state of Mississippi and that government agents had,

“disguising themselves as auditors, illegally, outrageously, and

discriminatorily invaded his privacy and unlawfuly searched and

seized his property.” The trial court denied this motion without

a hearing but allowed Jennings to file sworn affidavits stating

proffered facts. During the course of the trial Jennings subse-

quently filed an affidavit in support of the motion along with

the deposition of an alleged witness, which exhibit was reviewed

by the trial court.

In order to prevail in a defense of selective prosecution, a defen-

dant must meet two requirements which we have characterized

as a “heavy burden.” United States v. Johnson, 577 F. 2d 1304,

1308 (Sth Cir. 1978) (quoting United States v. Berrios, 501 F.

2d 1207, 1211 (2d Cir. 1974). First, he must make a prima facie

showing that he has been singled out for prosecution although

others similarly situated who have committed the same acts have

not been prosecuted. United States v. Tibbetts, 646 F. 2d 193,

195 (Sth Cir. 1981). Second, having made the first showing, he

must then demonstrate that the government’s selective prosecu-

(Footnote Continued.)

“A. No.

“Q. What was his name?

“A. L. V. Lowe.

“Q. Where were you convicted of that?

“A. Here in Hinds County.

"Q. Here in Hinds County?

“A. Yes.”

—A 14-

tion of him has been constitutionally invidious. Id The showing

of invidiousness is made if a defendant demonstrates that the

government’s selective prosecution is actuated by constitutionally

impermissible motives on its part, such as racial or religious

discrimination. United States v. Lichenstein, 610 F. 2d 1272, 1281

(Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 447 U.S. 907 (1980).

A defendant is not automatically entitled, however, to an

evidentiary hearing to make the required showing. He must first

present facts “sufficient to create a reasonable doubt about the

constitutionality of a prosecution . . .” United States v. Hayes,

589 F. 2d 811, 819 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 847 (1979);

United States v. Ream, 491 F. 2d 1243, 1246 (Sth Cir. 1974). It

is clear in the present case that Jennings did not offer such facts

to the trial court. His motion to quash contained nothing more

than broad allegations concerning the selective prosecution of

Blacks. Moreover, after reviewing the affidavit submitted by Jen-

nings in support of the motion to quash and the statement of

W. C. Battle, also offered in support of the motion, we are unable

to conclude that Jennings has presented facts sufficient to create

a reasonable doubt about the selectivity of the prosecution in this

case. That persons cooperating with the government in this case,

and lower in the organizational structure than Jennings, were not

prosecuted while Jennings was, does not come even close to

12We have previously emphasized that selective prosecution, absent some in-

vidious element, may not be challenged.

“As a substantive matter, the constituional authority to ‘take care that

the laws [are] faithfully executed’ is textually committed to the authority

of the executive branch, U.S. Const. art. II, § 3; United States v. Hamm,

659 F. 2d 624, 628 (Sth Cir. 1981) (en banc), and the authority of the

executive branch to enforce the law in a selective fashion is legally un-

challengeabic absent proof by the defendant that the government has ex-

ercised its discretion upon an invidious basis such as race. United States

v. Batchelder, 442 U.S. 114, 123-25 & n. 9, 99 S.Ct. 2198, 2204 & n.

9, 6 L. Ed. 2d 755 (1979); Bordenkircher v. Hayes. 434 U.S. 357, 364,

98 S.Ct. 663, 668-69, 54 L.Ed. 2d 604 (1978); Oyler v. Boles, 368 U.S.

448, 456, 82 S. Ct. 501, 506, 7 L.Ed. 2d 446 (1962).” United States v.

Chagra, 669 F. 2d 241, 247 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 103 S. Ct. 102 (1982).

See also United States v. Johnson, 577 F. 2d 1304, 1307-09 (Sth Cir. 1978);

United States v. Ream, 491, F. 2d 1243, 1246 & n. 2 (Sth Cir. 1974).

—A 15—

meeting the “similarly situated” branch of the selective prosecu-

tion defense. Even assuming that Jennings had made the requisite

showing that his prosecution was slective, he has offered nothing

but bare general allegations that the selectivity was motivated by

racial considerations.

Nor do we find that the trial court should have conducted a

hearing on the basis of Jennings’ allegations that the government

had engaged in outrageous and vindictive conduct in prosecuting

him. We can discern no reason for characterizing the government’s

conduct as vindictive. As to Jennings’ charge that the govern-

ment’s conduct was outrageous, he appears to focus on the cir-

cumstances under which the government obtained certain

documents from him relating to SPI’s involvement in the Child

Care Food Program. Jennings alleged, both in his motion to

quash the indictment and in his motion to supress certain‘llegally

obtained evidence, that government agents had acquired

documents from him under the guise of an audit or civil investiga-

tion when Jennings was acutally the subject of a criminal investig-

tion. Insofar as the trial judge did hear evidence on the motion

to suppress concerning this allegation, Jennings was not prejudic-

ed when the trial court declined to conduct another hearing con-

cerning the government’s allegedly outrageous conduct that would

have simply repeated the same evidence heard on the the motion

to suppress. We therefore conclude that the trial court commit-

ted no error in refusing to grant Jennings a hearing on the mo-

tion to quash.

Vi.

Jennings further alleges as error the trial court’s refusal to give

the jury an instruction on the failure of the government to call

certain witnesses. Defendant’s objections center on one poten-

tial witness in particular, namely, the USDA auditor who was

assigned to audit SPI after Jennings had expressed disapproval

of an audit performed by an independent audit firm.

A missing witness instruction is not justified if it appears that

the testimony of the witness who is not called would likely have

been merely cumulative or corroborative. Georgia Southern and

Florida Railway Co. v. Perry, 326 F. 2d 921, 924 (Sth Cir. 1964).

See also United States v. Ramzy, 446 F. 2d 1184, 1187 (Sth Cir.),

—A 16—

cert. denied, 404 U.S. 992 (1971); United States v. Tant, 412 F.

2d 840 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 396 U.S. 876 (1969). The USDA

auditor testified at a pretrial hearing, and it is clear from a review

of the transcript of that hearing that his testimony was cumulative

of the testimony given at trial by the government’s summary

witness. There was no showing to the contrary.

From the circumstances of this case it is clear that the govern-

ment could have conceivably called either the USDA auditor or

the investigative agent Brewer to testify concerning his findings,

McDonald, however, upon discovering possible violations in the

course of his audit, referred the matter to the USDA’s investigative

division, whereupon agent Brewer proceeded to conduct his own

investigation into the records of SPI. Under the circumstances

the government’s decision to call Brewer and not McDonald was

a decision that spared the jury from needless cumulative

testimony. To require the government to call McDonald in order

to ward off a possible negative inference or to present testimony

to explain why he was not called would have simply invited a

waste of time.'® Jennings, was therefore, not entitled to the re-

quested instruction.

Vil.

Jennings argues that the trial court erred in giving the modified

Atlen Charge in this case. After the jury had deliberated for ap-

proximately one day, they returned a note to the trial judge in-

dicating that they could not reach agreement on any of the twelve

counts of the indictment. The trial judge then gave the jury the

modified Allen Charge. The jury retired for approximately two

This is among the reasons why one commentator has noted that “[djespite

the plenitude of cases supporting the inference, caution in allowing it is sug-

gested with increasing frequency.” McCormick, Evidence *272 at 657 (1972).

“This counsel of caution is reinforced by several factors. Possible con-

jecture or ambiguity of inference is often present. The possibility that

the inference may be drawn invites waste of time in calling unnecessary

witnesses or in presenting evidence to explain why they were not called.

Anticipating that the inference may be invoked entails substantial

possibilities of surprise. And finally, the availability of modern discovery

procedures serves to diminish both the justification and the need for the

inference.” Jd. (footnotes omitted).

-Al7—-

more hours of deliberations, after which they returned a verdict

of guilty on four of the twelve counts. The thrust of Jennings’

argument is that the Allen Charge is particularly inappropriate

in cases involving a multicount indictment, since the jury will

almost certainly arrive at a compromise verdict. He specifically

alleges that there was “no rhyme nor reason” for the jury’s ver-

dict in this case.

This Court has repeatedly upheld the use of the modified Allen

Charge. See, e.g., United States v. Vincent, 648 F. 2d 1046, 1049

(Sth Cir. 1981); United States v. Zicree, 605 F. 2d 1381, 1390

(Sth Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 445 U.S. 966 (1980). Moreover, the

charge has been upheld in cases involving multicount indictments.

See, e.q., United States v. Blevinal, 607 F. 2d 1124 (Sth Cir. 1979),

cert. denied, 445 U.S. 928 (1980). We, therefore, find no misuse

of the charge under the facts of this case.

Nor do we find that the jury’s verdict was without rhyme or

reason. The jury found Jennings guilty of counts two, four, eight,

and twelve. Count two (November 1979) involved one of the

months in which an SDOE official had made an on-site inspec-

tion of the Tottsville center that revealed a number of children

in attendance that was substantially lower than the amount claim-

ed in the claim for reimbursement for that center. Counts four

(January 1980) and twelve (September 1980) were supported by

work -heets filled out in Jennings’ own handwriting. The actual

meal count for September 1980 showed a much smaller number

of meals than those claimed for. Finally, count eight (May 1980)

was supported by the admission of Jennings’ expert witness that

Jennings had made a small overclaim for the month in question.

We do not pass upon whether this evidence, standing alone, would

support a conviction on each of the four counts, particularly count

eight. But the referenced evidence by no means stands alone and

we do find that it was sufficient to distinguish the jury’s verdict

of guilty on those counts from its acquittal on the other eight

counts.

VIII.

At trial below Jennings filed a motion to suppress the various

records that had been obtained by the auditor, McDonald, and

by the government investigator, Brewer. The motion was denied

—A 18—

by the trial court and Jennings now contests that ruling. He

alledges that these government agents seized the records under

the guise of a civil audit when in actuality Jennings was under

criminal investigation.

It is not necessary for this Court to determine whether, as Jen-

nings suggests, government agents failed to inform him that he

was under criminal investigation before obtaining records from

him. The only records obtained were SPI’s records relating to

SPI’s involvement in the Child Care Food Program, and the

records so obtained were not introduced in evidence at trial.

Paragraph 13 of the agreement entered into by SPI and SDOE

(Government exhibit 2) required that SPI, “[uJpon request, make

all accounts and records pertaining to the Program available, to

State Agency and United States Department of Agriculture

representatives, for audit or review at any reasonable time and

place.” The records in question were likewise those which the con-

tract required SPI to keep and maintain. By entering into this

agreement, SPI voluntarily waived any claims to privacy that it

might have had with respect to documents relating to this con-

tract. Zap v. United States, 328 U.S. 624, 628 (1946). In United

States v. Griffin, 555 F. 2d 1323 (Sth Cir. 1977), this Court con-

sidered a set of circumstances essentially identical to those

presented by this case. There, the owner of a drugstore, apparently

a sole proprietorship, had entered into an agreement with the

Texas State Department of Welfare whereby he would be reim-

bursed by the state for providing pharmaceutical services to

welfare recipients. He entered into a contract with the state agency

that required him to permit state officials to examine the prescrip-

tion records of welfare recipients. On the occasion in question,

state agents arrived at the drugstore and requested permission

to examine the records. The agents were asked to wait until the

owner of the drugstore returned to the store, but after waiting

a short while, they began to examine the records and also seized

the store’s copies of those prescriptions paid for by the state agen-

cy. The Court determined that the owner had “knowingly and

voluntarily agreed by contract to maintain records of the prescrip-

tions which he billed to the state and to make these records

available for inspection at any time.” /d. at 1325.

—A 19—

Defendant’s reliance upon United States v. Tweel, 550 F. 2d

297 (Sth Cir. 1977), is misplaced. In Tweel, this Court held that

the failure of an IRS agent to apprise a defendant of the criminal

nature of his investigation before obtaining permission from the

defendant to copy certain of the defendant’s own tax records con-

stituted an unreasonable search and seizure. Since the consent

was obtained by deception, there was a violation of the defen-

dant’s Fourth Amendment rights. In the present case, however,

consent to examine SPI’s records was not obtained by deception

— but rather by contractual agreement. We also observe that the

records in question were SPI’s, not Jennings’.

IX.

Jennings’ final claim of error concerns the trial court’s suspen-

sion of him from the practice of law in the federal courts of the

Southern District of Mississippi. '* He argues that he was denied

due process of law when the order of suspension was entered

“As noted, SPI was a Mississippi nonprofit corporation. Its referenced agree-

ment with SDOE recites that SPI warrants and represents that it is a nonprofit

agency which is either “exempt” (or in the process of becoming so) from federal

“income tax under Section 501(c\(3) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1954”

or is “curently operating a federally funded program requiring nonprofit tax

exempt status” and that it accepts “final financial and administrative respon-

sibility” for its part of the contract.

The trial judge entered the order of suspension on the basis of Rule | of

the Rules of the United States District Court for the Southern District of

Mississippi. The rule states in pertinent part:

“ADMISSION OF ATTORNEYS”

“A. General Admission. Any attorney properly shown to the satisfac-

tion of the Court then to be in good standing as a member of the Bar

of the State of Mississippi and admitted to practice before the Mississip-

pi Supreme Court shall be admitted to practice generally as a member

of the Bar of this Court upon taking the oath, subscribing the Roll of

Attorneys of this Court, and paying the fee to the Clerk therefore; and

such attorney shall enjoy all the rights and privileges as an attorney of

this Court during good behavior, until otherwise ordered by the Court.”

-A 20—

before his conviction became final on appeal, '* and, moreover,

that he was also denied due process by the failure of the trial

court to conduct a hearing prior to entering the order of

suspension.

Jennings relies on In re Ming, 469 F. 2d 1352 (7th Cir. 1972),

for the proposition that if a conviction itself is to be used to form

the basis for an attorney’s suspension, then, “that conviction must

have reached finality, at least to the extent of exhaustion of direct

appeals.” /d. at 1354. Ming involved conviction of the misde-

meanor offense of willful failure to file income tax returns. The

Third Circuit apparently has taken a different position, however.

In United States v. Friedland, 502 F. Supp. 611 (D. N.J. 1980),

aff'd without opinion, 672 F. 2d 905 (3d Cir. 1981), the district

court held that “a court constitutionally may suspend a member

of its bar summarily on the basis of a felony conviction even

though that conviction has not been finalized by completion of

the appellate process.” /d. at 616. The Fridland opinion was ap-

prove by “all the judges sitting in this district.” /d. at 620. The

conviction there considered was for felonies involving moral tur-

pitude. /d. at 619-20.

The question before us is a matter of first impression for this

Court. The offenses here are plainly felonies involving moral tur-

pitude. See Jordan v. DeGeorge, 341 U.S. 223, 227 (1951).

Having considered the reasoning of the opinion in Ming, supra,

we are not convinced that due process requires that conviction

of a felony involving moral turpitude be final before it can be

used as a basis for suspending an individual from the practice

of law before a federal court. The thrust of the argument in Ming

was that since the Seventh Circuit had construed 8 U.S.C. § 1251

(a)(11), concerning the statutory basis for deportation of aliens,

so that “conviction” was held to mean “final conviction,” see Will

“The government argues that Jennings’ objections are moot, since if we af-

firm his conviction there is no appeal pending and if we reverse his conviction

he will no longer be suspended. Nevertheless, Jennings has the option of filing

a petition for a writ of certiorari in the United States Supreme Court. We,

therefore, proceed on the assumption that our affirmance of his conviction

does not moot the present point. See In re Ming, 469 F. 2d 1352, 1354 (7th

Cir. 1972).

—-A 21—

v. Immigration and Naturalization Service, 447 F. 2d 529, 531,

533 (7th Cir. 1971), conviction should be construed similarly in

the context of disbarment proceedings directed against a lawyer.

The court observed that, “[i]n looking at the panoply of individual

rights, we do not find a basis for awarding a citizen lawyer a lesser

position than the alien.” 469 F.2d at 1354.

We note to begin with our disagreement with Ming's apparent

assumption that temporary suspension from the practice of law

pending an appeal is as severe a sanction as deportation.

More importantly, in our view Ming does not take adequate

note of the public interest in avoiding the appearance of im-

propriety in the legal profession. This interest distinguishes the

lawyer from the alien. As the Seventh Circuit itself has stated,

“the real question at issue in a disbarment proceeding is the public

interest and an attorney’s right to continue to practice a profes-

sion imbued with public trust.” In re Echeles, 430 F. 2d 347, 350

(7th Cir. 1970). Once viewed from the standpoint of the need

to uphold public confidence in the bar, the fact that a convic-

tion has not yet been sustained on appeal loses much of its

significance.

“It is not the fact that the attorney may have committed the

underlying wrong, but the fact that the attorney is a ‘con-

victed felon’ or stands convicted of an offense involving

moral turpitude that tends to impair public confidence in

the judicial system and the integrity of the bar as a whole.”

In re Stoner, 507 F. Supp. 490, 492 (N.D. Ga. 1981).

The American Bar Association Special Committee on the

Evaluation of Disciplinary Enforcement has, moreover, pointed

out that allowing a lawyer to practice pending appeal of a criminal

conviction not only affects the public’s appraisal of the legal pro-

fession, but also the interests of individual clients.

“No single facet of disciplinary enforcement is more to blame

for any lack of public confidence in the integrity of the bar than

the policy that permits a convicted attorney to continue to prac-

tice (penai.g appeal) while apparently enjoying immunity from

discipline .. .

-A 22—

“The consequences of permitting the convicted attorney to con-

tinue to practice are not limited to the adverse effect upon the

reputation of the profession. The clients of the convicted attorney

suffer also. One who is unaware of the conviction might retain

the attorney and unwittingly compromise his rights. Adversary

counsel aware of the conviction may be reluctant to negotiate

with the attorney, to enter on a setlement with him, to entrust

him with an escrow fund, or to be associated with him of counsel.

These are all circumstances totally unrelated to the merits of the

client’s cause, and they may impair it. Moreover, the conviction

may be affirmed and the attorney sent to prison while the new

client’s claim is pending. The client will then be forced to employ

new counsel, who will have to familiarize himself with the mat-

ter. This means more delay and considerable duplication of ex-

pense to the client.

“There is a further threat to the convicted attorney’s client. The

attorney, aware that the conviction ultimately will result in his

disbarment, and, assuming that he has little to lose, he may engage

in serious misconduct toward his remaining clients for his own

personal gain.

“A policy which thus jeopardizes the rights of innocent clients

cannot be justified.” Report of the Special Committee on Evalua-

tion of Disciplinary Enforcement, 95 A.B.A. Reports, 783, 920-21

(197).

See also the Model Federal rules of Disciplinary Enforcement,

approved September 21, 1978, by the Judicial Conference of the

United States and recomn:ended for adoption on an optional basis

by all federal trial and appellate courts, the relevant portions of

which are set out in the Friedland opinion. 502 F. Supp. 61/1 at

am. 2."

Additionally relevant is the action of the Supreme Court in In re Mitchell,

420 U.S. 1001 (1975), in suspending an attorney from practice there and issu-

ing an order that he show cause why he should not be disbarred. As Friedland

points out, 502 F. Supp. at 616 n. 9, the Supreme Court’s suspension was ap-

parently taken on the basis of New York disciplinary action against the attorney

at a time when appeal of that action was still pending before the New York

Court of Appeals.

—A 23-—

We agree with the statement of the New York Court of Ap-

peals that “[t]o permit a convicted felon to continue to appear

in Our courts and to continue to give advice and counsel would

not ‘advance the ends of justice,’ but instead would invite scorn

and disrespect for our rule of law.” Mitchell v. Association of

Bar of City of New York, 40 N.Y. 2d 153, 156, 386, N.Y.S. 2d

95, 97, 351 N.E. 2d 743, 745 (1976). See also State Bar of Texas

v. Heard, 603 S.W. 2d 829, 834 (Tex. 1980) (“An attorney who

is convicted of . . . [an offense involving moral turpitude] can-

not hold the confidence of the public or the profession as long

as the conviction stands.”). We also observe that attorneys are

officers of the courts before which they practice, and the necessary

mutual confidence between bench and bar is undermined when

the attorney stands convicted of a felony involving moral tur-

pitude. Accordingly, we hold that due process allows the use of

a conviction of a felony involving moral turpitude as a basis for

the suspension of Jennings from practice before the Southern

District of Mississippi before that conviction has been finalized

on appeal.'®

Jennings also complains that he was denied due process of law

when the order of suspension was entered by the trial court

without conducting a hearing. We find this argument without

merit, however, under the particular facts of this case. In the first

place, the judge who entered the order of suspension had also

presided over the trial at which Jennings was convicted. Under

these circumstances it is inconceivable that a hearing would have

resulted in other than an order of suspension. The situation in

this case is thus parallel to that presented in Friedland, where

the court determined that the only question that could have been

addressed by a post-conviction hearing preceding the order of

suspension was whether the crime of which the defendants had

been convicted involved moral turpitude. Because the court found

a hearing would have certainly concluded that the crime could

be so characterized, it concluded that “[nJo prejudice has inured

to the defendants because of any procedural default leading to

*Of course, should this Court, or the Supreme Court, reverse Jennings’ con-

viction, then his suspension will automatically terminate.

—A 24—

the suspensions.” 502 F. Supp. at 618. Here it is plain, as a mat-

ter of law, that offenses of which Jennings was convicted are ones

involving moral turpitude, and Jennings has not claimed other-

wise. We conclude that Jennings was not prejudiced by the failure

of the trial judge to hold a separate hearing when he himself had

presided at the trial.

In the second place, we cannot find that Jennings has been

prejudiced by the lack of a hearing. When the prosecutor original-

ly made recommendations concerning the sentence that Jennings

should receive, he also recommended that Jennings be suspend-

ed from the practice of law before the federal courts of the

Southern District of Mississippi. At that time, Jennings and his

attorneys were given an opportunity to respond before the trial

judge rendered his decision. Neither complained of the lack of

hearing or made any comments at all regarding the suggested

suspension. Furthermore, although Jennings; Motion for Stay

of Order Suspending Defendant from Practicing Law filed below

makes passing mention of the trial court’s failure to conduct a

hearing, it does not request a hearing, nor does it disclose what

matters Jennings would have brought before the attention of the

court had such a hearing been held. The primary argument of

the motion is directed toward contending that the trial court

should not have suspended Jennings before his conviction was

finalized by appeal. Under the particular circumstances we hold

that Jennings was not denied due process of law.

The judgment of conviction and the order suspending Jenn-

ings from the practice of law before the federal courts in the

Southern District of Mississippi is therefore affirmed.

AFFIRMED.

-

— APPENDIX B —

(Unites States of As. an United States District Court to

__ Mevos 8. suermncs __, __ SO@TMEEN DISTRICT oF tassissiPri :

ae -. » enna em,

tn the presence of ihe sitorney lor the gurernemen:

the Getonden! sppesied © person on ihn oie —| as wal 33 |

omen [| UU WITHOUT COUNML were We (mr! ede tetentomt of mat 0 menet ond bhed wheather Gubembemt bevwed te hs

mee! nepenmed by ee ord the tl reson: emer nga mone eter ome eal meet

GUILTY, ond the court bemg satintied thet LL smor0 Commmonnt, «2 yworcunrr

there 9 a factual Baws bor ihe phos

Ld MOT GUILTY. Detendant is drm barged

There beng MET meee) of

Bucur

Ovtondent hes been 4 os charged of the ottemet vot Welating Section 287, Title 16,

, United States Code: Presenting falee claims, as charged in Cownts 2, 4, 8

and 12 of the Iadictacat.

Thee comet ached wt other Gotemdom Nad emythang te oy athy metgmom umchd met be precemam 6) Ber mre me malin mt gree te Uh omer ony

eee een we eppe ered We Ree Cnet the (ane elimataged the Grtemtent quty 6. herged omnd (own tod ond erdered that The detemdemt =

Mere met te the Ramen, Comes ol a toe te 8 permed

Comet 2: Five 3) poose; om condition thet the defendant be confined in « jail type or

treatment inetitetion for « period of sia (6) soaths, the execution of the reneiader

+ ond pay « fine te the ows of $7,500.

Lr)

ae

eat

_——

=e

-

ed

—

Cownte 4, © and 12: IT 18 ADJUDGED thet the iaposition of sentence is hereby suspended

and the defendant is placed on probation for « period of five (5) years concurrent

wom with the probation tapeced is Cowst 2, and poy « fine isn the eum of $7,500 os cock.

ae ome of the three counts.

a ‘The fines imposed are for « tatal of $30,000 and defend ie ordered to etend committed

wetil the fine is peid or be is otherwies discharged by due course of Lav.

OA

—

OR Om

ee oe

MO km

vo

——

ET 16 FURTHER ADJUDCED that defendant report directly te the tustitution on bis ows te

begia the service of bis

© etme te Be pein Condes of prenn emgmnd dene am herertey codhened Winat ee gett al eh imme ot puede imam wat tome watt Flee

spear ete od te pede be mend the Cnt mae bang) tee (nn at ete tee 8 Ole pete ot pedicel

om me Gemg Fe probes pened & wake 6 eee prteme eed of tee em pert dk, ee en eee 4 eet ad

Ps

P tho caust estan commuament to the saxtedy of the Asacnsy Constdl and oon emanrads or

ee ee ed

ete ee

ae

Citteau asl con un

a

” vay pany tite —

Bim Nidan Ul Rasen, Jo —_— aa gS

om ee oT

anal baron

—~B2-

— APPENDIX B —

IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

for the

Southern District of Mississippi

Jackson Division

Criminal Action No. J82-00041(C)

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Plaintiff

VS.

MELVIN R. JENNINGS

Defendant

ORDER OF SUSPENSION

The Court having heard the trial of this matter, and the defen-

dant having now been sentenced, by Judgment and Proba-

tion/Commitment Order dated this same date, the provisions of

which are incorporated herein, and the Court being aware that

defendant is a duly licensed and practicing attorney in the State

of Mississippi, and that the testimony during trial established that

the defendant is guilty of dishonesty in presenting false claims

in violation of federal criminal statutes, and that the provisions

of Local Rule | of the Rules of the United Siates District Court

for the Southern District of Mississippi provides that an“. . . at-

torney shall enjoy all the rights and privileges as an attorney of

this Court during good behavior, unless otherwise ordered by

the Court.”

It is THEREFORE ORDERED that the defendant be suspend-

ed, effective immediately, of all rights and privileges as an at-

torney to practice law in all federal courts within the Southern

District of Mississippi, and this suspension be in full force and

effect pending appeal in this matter.

ain

ORDERED this 29th day of June, 1983.

William H. Barbour, Jr.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

for the

Southern District of Mississippi

Jackson Division

Criminal Action No. J82-00041(C)

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Plaintiff

VS.

MELVIN R. JENNINGS

Defendant

ORDER

This matter being considered on defciidant’s Motion to Inter-

view Jurors, in defendant’s presence, and huving considered the

arguments of counsel for the defendant and the government, and

having made its oral findings of fact in open court, which fin-

dings are adopted herein, the Court is of the opinion that the

motion is not well-taken, should be and hereby is denied.

ORDERED this 19th day of July, 1983.

William H. Barbour, Jr.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

_ 7

BY THE COURT:

Mr. Tucker, I do not need anything further.

As counsel for the government has pointed out, Rule 606(b)

of the Federal Rules of Evidence absolutely prohibits any inquiry

into the validity of a verdict, and that no juror may testify as

to any matter or statement occurring during the course of the

jury’s deliberations or to the effect of anything upon his or any

other juror’s mind or emotions as influencing him to assent or

to dissent from the verdict or concerning his mental process in

connection therewith.

There is an exception which deals with outside influence im-

properly brought upon the defendant — brought upon the juror.

Counsel, in his motion and in his oral argument, has stated

that the basis for the motion is that one or two jurors indicated

some confusion over an instruction, specifically the Allen Charge

which was given by this Court. This Court is of the opinion in

regard to that matter that any such inquiry would be an inquiry

into the jury’s deliberation and things influencing the jurors’ mind,

and accordingly could not be reached because the only persons

available for testimony on that matter would be the people within

the juryroom who would be the jurors themselves. Such testimony

is absolutely prohibited by Rule 606(b).

The second matter pertained to Juror Oliver Smith, and allega-

tions that he somehow received some threats to change his vote.

Those alegations, however, are not a threat brought by anyone

outside of the juryroom but specifically the allegation states that

such threats or persuasions as might have been used in regard

to Juror Oliver Smith were used by other members of the jury.

The Fifth Circuit has addressed the matter of not only the in-

fluence of the Allen Charge on jurors but also the question of

Rule 606(b) in the case of U.S. v. Benson, 648 Fed. 2d 1046. This

case was a June, 1981 case, and accordingly is a comparatively

recent case.

In that case the convicted felon brought to the attention of

the Court that one juror was seen weeping after the Allen Charge

was given, and that or another juror allegedly told them that she

and other jurors believed Benson to be — the defendant to be

a

innocent, but felt pressured into acquiescence by the — but felt

pressured to acquiesce in the verdict by the Allen Charge. The

Fifth Circuit held that the trial judge did question the juror in

question in camera about any external influences upon the jury’s

verdict, but properly refused to question her about the mental

processes involved in the jury deliberations. The court held that

the trial judge did not abuse his discretion in refusing to hold

an evidentiary hearing on the issue as the only question that would

have been asked would have concerned the juror’s internal men-

tal processes in reaching the verdict.

It is this Court’s opinion that the matters brought before the

Court on this motion and in defense counsel’s arguments can refer

only to matters that happened in the juryroom during the course

of deliberations, and would pertain only to the effect of these

conversations on the juror’s mind or his emotions in influencing

him to vote for a conviction on the four counts. This is prohibited

by Rule 606(b).

The Court further points out that each of the jurors was poll-

ed following the rendition of the verdict and each affirmatively

indicated that the verdict was his own verdict, including Juror

Oliver Smith as well as Jurors Pamela Denise Winston and

Rachael Ann Stokes.

Accordingly, the motion is overruled.

The Court, in ruling on each of these three motions, will reserve

the right to amend and edit its ruling and opinion upon prepara-

tion of the transcript.

Anything further, Gentlemen?

BY MR. TUCKER:

That’s all the government has.

BY MR. BUCK:

That’s all | have, Your Honor.

BY THE COURT:

All right, Court will stand adjourned.

win

CERTIFICATE

1, David A. Scott, Official Court Reporter, United States

District Court, Southern District of Mississippi, do hereby cer-

tify that the above and foregoing 32 pages contain a full, true

and correct transcript of the proceedings had in the aforenamed

case at the time and place indicated, which proceedings were

recorded by me to the best of my skill and ability.

I certify that the transcript fees and format comply with those

prescribed by the Court and Judicial Conference of the United

States.

This the 19th day of August, 1983.

David A. Scott

5 baa

i

ont S ain

— APPENDIX C —

IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT OF APPEALS

for the

FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 83-4426

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Plaintiff-Appellee,

versus

MELVIN R. JENNINGS

Defendant-Appellant.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT

COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT

OF MISSISSIPPI

PETITION FOR REHEARING

Melvin R. Jennings

Attorney At Law

P. O. Box 11291

Jackson, Mississippi 39213

Telephone: (601) 353-1626

Pro Se

4 me

ORAL ARGUMENTS

The Appellant, Pro Se, request oral arguments and in support

of said request, submit to this honorable panel that in addition

to the facts being thoroughly and clearly explained in this Peti-

tion for Rehearing, that the Court possibly would benefit from

the presentation of the Appellant, especially if the Court desired

to ask questions.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

pre fs ee ye) Sn a eee eee Ore C2

SEE Se PPR RUIIEEIIED oc dec tecipecsescescivgsas C4

STATEMENT OF DISPOSITION OF CASE........... C5

RPA CUOIOEUE GPP BRUM CARS ccc c ccc ceciccccscvcdenn C6

SEAT ENGINE OF THE TSSUES. . 2... cc ccccccccccuvene C6

ARGUMENT NO. 1

THIS COURT ERRONEOUSLY FOUND THAT: THE

TRIAL JUDGE CAREFULLY HANDLED THE PREPARA-

TION AND USE OF THE SUMMARY CHARTS; THE

PRESENTATION OF THE CHARTS DID NOT SWAY THE

JURORS (OP., 11); THE JURORS WERE RESPONSBILE

FOR “[DJETERMINING WHETHER THE MATTERS CON-

TAINED IN THE CHARTS WERE, IN FACT, TRUE AND

CORRECT” (OP., 11): THE SUMMARY CHARTS COM-

PLIED WITH RULE 1006 TO THE EXTENT OF AC-

CURACY, VOLUMINOUSNESS AND NON-PREJUDICIAL

Se et Bt A Ree Sree Tee eee C6

ARGUMENT NO. 2

THIS COURT ERRONEOUSLY FOUND THAT “[{T]HE

CONVICTION ON THOSE COUNTS (2, 4, 8, AND 12) WERE

AMPLY SUPPORTED BY EVIDENCE INDEPENDENT OF

THE CONCLUSION REACHED BY THE SUMMARY

NESE. WUE ve SOD so 0 56s Dikceeenes jue scens eabeaicen C10

—-C3—

ARGUMENT NO. 3

THIS COURT ERRONEOUSLY CITED AS FACT ELEVEN

(11) ENTRIES THAT WERE NOT FACTS IN THE RECORDS,

AND THEREFORE, DEPRIVED THE DEFENDANT OF A

FAIR APPEAL HEARING, AND SUBSTANTIALLY PRE-

JUDICED THE DEFENDANT WITH ITS RULING BY

REACHING A CONCLUSION LOGICALLY DIFFERENT

FROM WHAT CONCLUSION PROBABLY WOULD HAVE

BEEN REACHED IF THE ELEVEN (11) ENTRIES WERE

CEE GAPE PIU EU ick bo drag doelivacsventeaduane Cl4

ARGUMENT NO. 4

THIS COURT ERRONEOUSLY CONTRADICTED ITSELF

IN THE OPINION AND ERRONOUSLY RULED ON MAT-

TERS AFTER THE CONTRADICTION CONTRARY TO

BOTH POSITIONS OF THE ISSUES................. C18

ARGUMENT NO. 5

THIS COURT ERRONEOUSLY FOUND THAT THERE

WAS “[NJO PREJUDICIAL ERROR”; TRIAL COURT ABUSE

OF DISCRETION, AND MISUSE OF THE LAW ..... C19

ARGUMENT NO. 6

THE COURT ERRONEOUSLY FOUND THAT THERE

WAS “NO MISUSE OF THE CHARGE UNDER THE FACTS

OF THE CASE,” AND THAT THE MODIFIED ALLEN

CHARGE GIVEN BY THE TRIAL JUDGE WAS THE SAME

ONE APPROVED BY THE FIFTH CIRCUIT, AND THAT

THE “JURY’S VERDICT WAS WITHOUT RHYME OR

REAR.” COPTIC, P. BE) oo ccc cccccccvevevensetr X22

CT's vo Cate vccnaccceusderctvnege ts nubiles C24

APPENDICES:

Exhibits

A. Revised G-48 Summary Chart by Jennings as to

Mathematical errors and statements ............ C25

=.

B- Revised B-49A Summary Chart by Jennings as to

Mathematical error and statements............. C26

C Original G-SO Summary Chart................. C27

D_ Revised G-51A Summary Chart by Jennings as to

Mathematical errors and statements ...... C28-C29

E Statements of Jurors to the Media............. C30

pe, RI nr C34-C35

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:

Meyes v. United States, Sth Cir. 1966,

ee ee re C8

U.S. v. Scales, 6th Cir. 1979, 594 F. 2d, cert. denied

re i ee es kes epewsecnevevive oi’ c9

Baines v. United States, 5th Cir. 1970, 126

rs, 5s Fal ok -d wk bdieew a 6 hee e ee ews C18, C21

U. S. v. Taylor, 5th Cir. 1976, 430 F. 2d 49 ........... C22

Government of the Canal Zone v. Fears,

ee re Oe Ws CPO ac ive suse eeceveéuepas C22

U. S. v. Cheramie, 5th Cir. 1975, 520 F. 2d 325, cert. denied

449 U.S. 1126, 101 S. ct. 944, 67, L. Ed 2d 112, (one judge

este iad se isp Waaahsatites a ceonene C22, C24

Nordamann v. National Hotel Company,

ey ON Ee Bc DE BOO hoc ec ncccencaccseses C23

Authorities:

ET Se GD id nv von. be bckssecsevnvepresestes C5

Federal Rules of Evidence, Rule 1006 .................. C9

The Fifth Circuit Pattern Instruction ........ C22, C23, C24

Federal Register, Vol. 45, No. 15 ................ C34, C35

aif! Gus

IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT OF APPEALS

for the

FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 83-4426

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

versus

MELVIN R. JENNINGS

Defendant-Appellant.

On Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Mississippi

PETITION FOR REHEARING

STATEMENT OF DISPOSITION OF CASE

This Petition for Rehearing is filed by Melvin R. Jennings, Ap-

pellant herein, Pro Se, from the Per Curian Judgment of Gee

and Garwood, Circuit Judges, and East, District Judge, affirm-

ing the judgement of the District Court. Appellant requests a

rehearing pursuant to Rules 32 and 40 FRAP. Judges Gee, Gar-

wood and East in their opinion misapprehended and overlook-

ed certain important facts, issues of fact, and points of law which

are pivotal to a proper resolution of the issues on appeal.

—-C6—

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUES

The issues necessary for this Petition for Rehearing are detailed

in the heading of Arguments One (1) through Six (6). In general,

they are whether or not this panel perceived as facts the careful

handling and preparation of summary charts; the amply sup-

ported evidence being sufficient; certain wrong facts; contradic-

tion of facts; and no prejudicial error.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Defendant was charged in a Twelve (12) Count indictment

of submitting false claims to the United States Government; he

was tried and convicted by a jury, which after several hours of

deliberations was given a Modified Allen Charge and hence, con-

victed the Defendant of Four (4) of the Twelve (12) Counts. The

Defendant appealed the Trial Court’s ruling to the Fifth Circuit

Court of Appeal, who, upon reviewing the alledged facts of the

case, affirmed the judgment. The Defendant is now appealing,

Pro Se, to the Court through a Petition for Rehearing because

of many, many errors, some irreversible, made by both courts

and defendant's former counsel.

ARGUMENT NO. 1

THE COURT ERRONEOUSLY FOUND THAT: THE

TRIAL JUDGE CAREFULLY HANDLED THE PREPARA-

TION AND USE OF THE SUMMARY CHARTS; THE

PRESENTATION OF THE CHARTS DID NOT SWAY THE

JURORS (OP., 11); THE JURORS WERE RESPONSIBLE

FOR “[DJETERMINING WHETHER THE MATTERS CON-

TAINED IN THE CHARTS WERE, IN FACT, TRUE AND

CORRECT” (OP., 11); THE SUMMARY CHARTS COMPIL-

ED WITH RULE 100 TO THE EXTENT OF ACCURACY,

VOLUMINOUSNESS AND NON-PREJUDICIAL CONCLU-

SIONS (OP., 8).

It has been determined by Jennings from the opinion that this

Court's misconceptions of the facts are apparent and therefore

the Court should reverse itself.

ep

This argument shows the Court specifically what facts were

misleading, deceptive and/or erroneous and precisely what lead

to that error and deception.

Jennings was charged in a twelve count indictment with mak-

ing false claims to U.S.D.A. for October, 1979 through

September, 1980. The jury found Jennings guilty on four (4)

counts and acquitted him on eight (8), and because of the latter

the Court concluded erroneously as to how these guilty verdicts

were surmised, and therefore, concluded “the jury did not blanket-

ly or indiscriminately accept the results of the government’s sum-

mary chart,” (Op., 11) and “the convictions on those counts were

amply supported by evidence independent of the conclusions

reached by the summary charts,” (Op., 11).

It is evident after comparing Count 2 and Count 7, that there

was no real basis for finding the Defendant guilty on Count 2

and innocent on Count 7. These two counts are identical in every

aspect except for the amount overclaimed. The alledged overclaim

in Count 2 was $10.58 and in Count 7, $8.54 (G-35; G-36). This

indicates that through democratic voting and random selections

(Exh. E) guilty verdicts were produced, without the slightest

regard to summary charts or supporting evidence as ruled by the

Courts. This instance, is the only exception to the argument that

the summary chart (G-49A) and the independent evidence (G-35;

G-36) was not used to convict Jennings.

The Court stated that “[W]Je do not pass upon whether this

evidence standing alone would support a conviction on each of

the four counts, particularly Count 8. But the reference evidence

by no means stands alone and we do find that it was sufficient

to distinguish the jury’s verdict of guilty ou these counts from

it’s acquittal on the other eight counts” (Op., 24). These statements

support Jennings’ conclusion that this court is also uncertain as

to how guilty verdicts were determined by the jury.

It is conceivable to anyone reading exhibit G-49A that Jenn-

ings alledgedly overclaimed meals (G-49A - the West review) on

one (1) day out of one (1) particular month (concluding he was

guilty on that count) and one (1) day out of another month

(G-49A - the West Review #2) (concluding a not guilty verdict),

and one would immediately say that if he is guilty on the first

~

West Review (G-49A), then he must be guilty on the second

Review (G-49A). The jury could not have used the summary chart

to determine the guilty verdict on Count 2. (Most unlikely)

It is also apparent that the independent supporting evidence

(G-35; G-36) was not used to determine a guilty verdict by the

jurors, because if the jurors had used the West exhibits (G-35

and G-36) they would have immediately concluded that if he was

guilty on Count 2 (G-35) then he most assuredly was guilty on

Count 7 (G-36), because they were identical. Even if the Court

wants to say that the jury relied on the West Testimony at all

because she testified on both Count 2 and Count 7 showing the

same similarities and the jury apparently did not use her testimony

because Jennings was found guilty on only one (1) of those counts

(count 2).

Knowing these things to be true, one would ask why a guilty

verdict was handed down on Count 2. There was no known reason

other than random selection. (Exhibit F).

Jennings argues that the presentation and the expressed validity

and accuracy of the summary charts tended to sway or influence

the jurors. To be more candid, the summary charts were used

as a basis for the chain reaction of events that followed its

presentation.

It has been determined by way of carefully prepared analysis,

that the summary charts were conjectured, arithmetically wrong,

and very misleading, and therefore, not at all an accurate sum-

mary of the monthly reports submitted by Jennings. (Exh. A,

Exh. B, Exh. C, Exh. D)

It is Jennings’ contention that Exhibits G-49A and G-SIA

played an important role in the development of the guilty ver-

dicts for counts 4, 8, and 12.

When the trial judge saw that Brewer found it necessary to

correct its summary charts ou three (3) different occasions (Vol.

9, p. 678, p. 679 and p. 701), he should have not allowed the

use of the summary charts, because it was evident that the charts

did not comply with Rule 1006 FRE, nor case law, Myers v.

United States, 356 F 2d 469, 470 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 384 U.S.

952 (1966).

ay

In U.S. vs. Scales (6th Circuit 1979) 594 F. 2d 448, cert. denied

441 U..S. 946, 99 S CCt. 2168. The court ruled that “{t}he sum-

mary or chart must be accurate, authentic and properly introduced

without containing deceptive characterizations and conclusions.”

It is clear from exhibits A, B, C, and D, that even the 3rd (third)

correction made by Brewer was not accurate, that it was not

authentic as to summarizing evidence in the records, i.e., the

$8,045.07 (10% Administration Fee) is not in evidence in the

records, and that G-49A and G-51A drew deceptive characteriza-

tions and conclusions.

This court ruled that G-49A and G-SIA represented “[a]lmost

200 pages,” (Op., 8). The fact is that the claim for reimburse-

ment, (Op., 8) work sheets, (Op., 8) and Menus (Op., 9) for Tott-

sville Child Care Center, which is the subject of G-49A and

G-S51A, consisted of only 71 pages. These individual monthly

records for Tottsville are clearer to understand than G-49A and

G-51A, (Summary Charts). It is inconceivable that this court

would conclude that the charts represented voluminous matters

when this Court confirmed the triai judges’ admonitions to the

jury that it was “[t]he juries responsibility to determine whether

the matters in the chart were, in fact, true and correct”. (Op., 10)

If the Court expected the jury to fulfill this additional burden

of G-49A and G-S51A, then it logically follows that the trial court

asumed, and this court confirmed, that the jury could unders-

tand those 71 pages and calculations that alledgely composed

G-49A and G-SIA. By extention of reasoning, this Court has said

that the summary charts were not necessary.

G-49A and G-SIA logically was not necessary (see above

paragraph) and surely was inaccurate and did reach deceptive

conclusions, (Exhibits A, B, C, and D.) all being in violations

of FRE Rule 1006. The effect of these conclusions was prejudicial

to the Defendant. These conclusions directed the jurors from the

evidence to the summary charts. Thereby, inflicting a grave

substantial injustice upon the defendant.

To enhance this assertion morc, we refer you to the transcript

in Vol. 9, p. 116, tines 6-9, which shows that the jury was

thoroughly confused by the summary charts. The jurors asked,

by way of a note, “[J)judge, please explain, are we to vote on cach

—C 10—-

count as one individual count?” (The second note from the jury.

Vol. 9, p. 1116)

The summary charts led the jury to believe that the 12 count

indictment should have been voted on as one (1) count. The Court

reiterated the law and (after receiving a 3rd note from the jury).

The trial courts version of the Allen Charge was enacted (see

Argument 6). This Allen type charge assured the jury “that more

or clearer evidence could not be produced. (Vol. 9, p. 1137, lines

2 & 3). As per Argument | and 2, this statement from the Allen

Charge is inappropriate in this case.

‘The summary charts made such an impression on the jurors

and confused the jurors to the extent that all instructions of law

were ignored by the jury, or forgotten by the jury, i.e., “Please

state law again,” paragraph “witness and beyond reasonable

doubt.” (Vol. 9, p. 1116) It is easily understood why Exhibit E,

evolved. It was the product of the confusion created by the in-

accurate summaries of G-49A and G-SIA.

ARGUMENT NO. 2

THIS COURT ERRONEOUSLY FOUND THAT “(T]HE

CONVICTION ON THOSE COUNTS (2, 4, 8, AND 12) WERE

AMPLY SUPPORTED BY EVIDENCE INDEPENDENT OF

THE CONCLUSION REACHED BY THE SUMMARY

CHARTS.” (OP., 11).

“[A]mply supported by independent evidence, “was ruled by

this Court in discussing summary charts (G-49A and G-51A) on

page eleven (11) of the Opinion. On this page this Court said

in Footnote 7, that it would comment further on the independence

of the evidence when it discusses “[t]he Modified Allen Charge.

Therefore, “[s]tanding along” (Op., 24) surely refers to the sum-

mary chart discussion on page 11 of the Opinion.

This Court ruled. “[w]e do not pass upon whether this evidence,

standing along, would support a conviction on each of the four

counts, particularly Count 8. “(Op., 24)”. ‘{[BJut the referenced

evidence by no means stands alone and we do find that it was

sufficient to distinguish the jury’s verdict of guilty on those counts

from its acquittal on the other eight counts.

—-Cil—

Because of the two (2) rulings mentioned above the Defendant

has established that this Court contradicted itself on the suffi-

ciency of the evidence (Op., P. 11 and 24). The defendant points

the following facts in the record about the sufficiency of the

evidence for Count 2, 4, 8, and 12 to this Court, and requests

this Court to rehear or reverse its ruling as to the four (4) guilty

findings.

COUNT 2: November 16, 1979 - The Defendant was found

guilty because (1) an SDOE Representative visited the Center at

breakfast on this day and alledgely observed and counted 40 (for-

ty) children during her stay, and the Director reported serving

64 for the same period (G-49A reflects this). Mrs. West or the

Court did not consider the fact that children could have come

for breakfast after her visit, thus, making the meal count higher

for that meal. There was a difference, however, of 24 children

at a rate of .4410¢ each, totaling $10.58 in overclaim per the West

Report. The document used by Mrs. West was incomplete. Mrs.

West testified that she saw at the Day Care Center the records

(Vol. 7, lines 14-15); she also testified (Vol 7, P. 310, lines 22

& 24) that what she saw at the center (G-16) would coincide with

what she counted that day. Ms. Knight testified that Mrs. West

would get her information directly from her. (Vol. 7, P. 457, lines

11-17). Bearing in mind the conflicting testimonies, there is surely

reasonable doubt as to the independent evidence supporting the

guilty verdict for Count 2, resulting from the West testimony and

the conflicting Knight testimony. In Vol. 7, P. 313 and 314 in

refering to G-36 as testified by Mrs. West, said that “[a]t the pre-

sent time there had been no change in the children receiving free

and reduced meals.” “But today the only ones that were there

were the free ones.” She reported the number of free children

as being 47 which conflicts with her previous testimony of 40

children for that meal. Following cross-examination, Mrs. West

testified in Vol 7, P. 314, lines 22-23 “[{I] really don’t remember,

I don’t know. It’s been three (3) years since I did this.” It must

be remembered that Mrs. West retired three (3) years before testi-

fying and had serviced Five Hundred (500) day care centers each

month according to her own testimony. “Vol. 7, P. 300, lines

19-21)”.

Pa 2

—C 12—

Considering Mrs. West’s retired status (Vol. 7, P. 229, lines

15-16); her incomplete exhibits, her admissions that she “wrote

down what the center had prepared,” and her admissions that

she really didn’t remember, along with Ms. Knight’s testimony

that she deflated the meal count daily (Vol. 7, P. 462, lines 4-12)

and obviously reported actual at the end of the month creates

doubt. The other employee’s recollection of the number of

children also cast reasonable doubt as to the number of children

being served meals at the center; there was no consistency in any

of the testimonies given as shown below.

Mrs. West initially counted forty (40) children. She refuted that

by saying the forty-seven (47) children receiving free meals were

there that day, and then she said finally that she was not sure.

(vol. 7, P. 303, lines 1-5). Ms. Alvis Everette said that there were

fifty (50) children; (Vol. 8, P. 589, lines 6 & 7 and vol. 8, P. 606,

line 22, P. 607, lines 6-7). Martha Majors estimated twelve (12)

children (Vol. 7, P. 492, line 18, P. 493, line 1) at any one time.

Claudell Davis estimated forty-five (45) children (Vol. 7, P. 507,

line 3) at any time. Claudine Davis estimated forty (40 children

vol. 7, P. 541, lines 24, P. 542, line 2) at any one time; Helen

Knight recorded and testified that there was as many as fifty-

one (51) children (G-26) at any one time and she also testified

(Vol. 7, P. 457, lines 11-17) that Mrs. West would get her infor-

mation directly from her.

The Defendant requests that based on the facts previously men-

tioned on Count 2 that the Court reverse itself or grant a new

hearing. One must be found guilty beyond a reasonable doubt.

There obviously is reasonable doubt associated with Count 2 and

judicial error of refusing to recognize that all witnesses impeached

themselves.

Another note of importance was the amount of money spent

by the Defendant (G-16) on Count 2, which was $2,753.65 and

the amount received by the Defendant from the State Depart-

ment of Education, which was $2,206.12 (G-51A). The Defen-

dart, therefore, paid out more money than he received, i.e.,

$547.53.

COUNT 4: - January, 1980 and COUNT 12; - September, 1980

- The Defendant was found guilty on these counts because of

—C 13-—

the CCP-4A(G-18) was filled out in his own handwriting. (Op.

P. 24) One cannot be found guilty merely because he did not have

a secretary to fill out two (2) of twelve (12) documents. If there

were some inconsistencies in the two (2) documents as opposed

to the other ten (10), one might assume foul play, but there was

no inconsistencies. Can this be justice? The Defendant says NO;

this is gross abuse of our system of justice. The records clearly

reflect that beginning September, 1975 (vol. 6, P. 250, line 1)

Evelyn Henry worked as secretary for the Defendant through Oc-

tober 1979 (Vol. 6, P. 254) lines 3-5); beginning November 1,

through December, 1979 Ruth K Bell Cash (Vol. 7, P. 330, lines

5-9) worked as secretary; for the month of January, 1980 (Count

4) Jennings had no secretary, therefore he filled the CCP-4A form

out without any hidden ulterior motives; beginning February -

June, 1980 (Vol. 7, P. 341, line 24) Alice Lowall worked as

secretary, beginning June, 1980 - January, 1981 Jackie Hart work-

ed as Secretary.

If the Defendant was found guilty of filling a document out

in his own handwriting (Op. 24) rather than hiring a secretary;

then the Defendant asks that this Court reverse itself or grant

a new hearing.

The Defendant also states that the only reason he was con-

victed on the two (2) counts was because of his handwriting

which reflects back to the summary charts conclusion that the

Defendant inflated his meal count by 21.18 (Exh. G-49A) serv-

ings per meal, thereby inferring that anything reported by the

Defendant was inflationary. This is not to say, however, that the

jury actually referred to any particular figure, but instead, the

summary chart left such an overwhelming impression upon the

minds of the jurors, until there was no doubt as to his guilt on

the two (2) counts, simply because he submitted the reports in

his own handwriting.

This Court, in all fairness must reverse itself. Helen Knight

contradicted her oral testimony which was a projection of no more

than Thirty-Seven (37) children (Vol. 7, P. 429, line 26) at any

given time, and she followed that with a menu supposedly being

correct and actual and prepared by her which indicates that there

were as many as Fifty-One (51) children (Vol. 7, P. 404, line 25)

on some days during September, 1980 (Count 12). She also

—C 14—

testified that she had deflated the head count by Fifteen - Six-

teen (15-16) on the menu sheet for September, 1980 so that she

could keep the money received from these children (Vol. 7, P.

462, lines 4-12). The figures that she read in court as to the number

of children present during September, 1980, (Vol. 7, P. 404, line

25) should ultimately be increased by Fifteen (15) by her own

admissions.

The Defendant respectfully requests that this Court reverse

itself.

COUNT 8: May, 1980 - The Defendant was found guilty on

this Count (Op. p. 24) because the expert witness on the Defen-

dant’s behalf found an arithmetic error of four (4) meals ($1.76)

served during the month of May, 1980 (Count 8), which is shown

in Exh. D-2. The menus showed, 3,764 meals and the claim for

reimbursement showed 3,768 meals served (Exhibit G-22). “To

err is human,” and to find one guilty of such an insubstantial

amount and to fine him $7,500 and further sentence him to five

(5) years in jail for this count, and all counts (total $30,000.00)

is not justice, nor does it conform to contract collection regula-

tions for the food program (Exh. F, Sect. 226.9 and Sect. 226.15).

This Court should reverse this count. If this count stood alone,

not considering the summary charts, it would not even be a case

for prosecution.

The Defendant has detailed with meticulous care the counts

and its relation to the “[a]Jmply supported evidence” and therefore,

deduced that the evidence, as a whole, was absurd; filled and

inaccuracies, contradictions, extensive reasonable doubt, caus-

ed illogical conclusions by the jury (Exh. E), and was without

basis or substance and this Court should, therefore, reverse these

counts (2, 4, 8, and 12) or grant the request for a new hearing.

ARGUMENT NO. 3

THE COURT ERRONEOUSLY CITED AS FACT ELEVEN

(11) ENTRIES THAT WERE NOT FACTS IN THE RECORDS,

AND THEREFORE, DEPRIVED THE DEFENDANT OF A

‘Socrates

eat

-—C 1S—

FAIR APPEAL HEARING, AND SUBSTANTIALLY PRE-

JUDICED THE DEFENDANT WITH ITS RULING BY

REACHING A CONCLUSION LOGICALLY DIFFERENT

FROM WHAT CONCLUSION PROBABLY WOULD HAVE

BEEN REACHED IF THE ELEVEN (11) ENTRIES WERE

THE CORRECT FACTS.

Wrong Fact: The Court stated that three (3) women who served

as his legal secretaries Evelyn Henry, Jackie Hart, and Helen

Knight were the principal witnesses against Jennings. (Opinion

P. 4)

Right Fact: Evelyn Henry (Vol. 6, P. 250, line 1) and Jackie

Hart (Vol. 7, P. 349, Line 25) were secretaries and Helen Knight

was the Director of the Child Care Center, (vol. 7, P. 394, line

18) not a secretary. (Also Op. 5)

Wrong Fact: The Court stated “[T]ottsville Child Care Center

which was owned and operated by Jennings.”

Right Fact: The Center was owned by Jennings, but it was

operated by a Director (Helen Knight) and at least four (4) other

employees (Everett, Major, Davis, and Davis). (Vol. 7, P. 394,

lines 7-13).

Wrong Fact: The Court states that “the number represented

by the claims for reimbursement was not unknown to Jennings

since he stopped by the Center almost every day and had seen

the number of children in attendance”. (Op. P. 6)

Right Fact: The Court evidently has determined this statement

to be true since it was alledged by Ms. Knight (Vol. 7, P. 425,

line 10); and the Court therefore has presented that statement

as a fact rather than an allegation.

Wrong Fact: The Court stated that “[djuring the Twenty-Two

(22) days summaried in Exhibit 49-A.”

Right Fact: The Twenty-Two (22) days reflected on G-49A was

incorrect because the first West review for one (1) day should

have been “s day also, therefore, the number of days should have

been, according to G-49A, 20.67 days, with September reflec-

ting 20 days.

—C 16—

Wrong Fact: The Court stated that “insofar as the documents

underlying these summary charts include almost two hundred

(200) pages of material.” This Court has surmised that the sum-

mary charts (G-49A and G-51A) for Tottsville Child Care Center

represented voluminous records.

Right Fact: The supporting documents (G-15 - G-26) for G-49A

and G-51A represent only 71 pages.

Wrong Fact: The Court stated that “so long as supporting

evidence has been presented previously to the jury”, assumptions

are therefore allowed.

Right Fact: The summary chart G-51A mentions a 10% ad-

ministration fee of $8,045.07 as an overclaim. This particular line

item which reflects 44% of the overclaimed amount shown on

this exhibit, has no supporting evidence in records at all. Because

SPI was not on trial here and it has not been established that

Jennings could not receive a contractual fee from this organiza-

tion; it cannot be considered as an overclaim. He did not request

reimbursement from the SDOE.

Wrong Fact: This Court stated that “Jennings was the com-

plaining witness in this case.” (Opinion, P. 15)

Right Fact: This statement was incorrectly made by the trial

judge (Vol. 7, P. 432, lines 16-20) and reiterated by this court.

This statement can be clarified by the testimony given by Jenn-

ings. (Vol. 7, P. 886, lines 13-15)

Line 13 - Tucker: Did you ever threaten to bring criminal

Line 14-ec- - Tucker: -ec-actions against Ms. Hart for what

she did at your office?

Line 15 - Jennings: I considered it, but the bank beat me to it.

Wrong Fact: The Court stated that “[E]ven if Jennings had

not known of the conviction, it is apparent that he got all the

mileage out of it that he could. . .”

Right Fact: Footnote 11, of the Opinion proves that Jennings’

Counsel suspected a prosecution and conviction. If Jennings

Counsel had received proof of conviction under the discovery

order, the mileage would have been greater because they would

have been in a position to question her conviction, sentence, fine

=(1I—

and her propensity to do wrong. If discovery had been complied

with, the husband’s affidavit supporting the Motion for discovery

of psychiatric examination of government witness referring to

three (3) days in jail and four hundred dollars ($400.00) fine would

have been verified.

Wrong Fact: The Court stated that “From the circumstances

of this case it is clear that the government could have conceivably

called either the USDA auditor or the investigative agent, Brewer

to testify . . .” and “McDonald had originally audited SPI and

was, therefore, presumably in a position to testify for the govern-

ment concerning his findings.”

Right Fact: It is noted in the Opinion, page 6, that “From Oc-

tober, 1980 through February, 1981, Pace and Shelton, an in-

dependent firm, conducted an audit for SPI activities regarding

the Child Care Center,” “Archie McDonald was assigned to con-

duct another audit of SPI” for the same time period. Agent

Brewer audited records for October, 1979 through September,

1980. It is evident that Archie Mcdonald and Larry Brewer

audited two (2) different time periods, hence, drawing two (2)

different conclusions, therefore, it was essential that Pace and

Shelton, and Archie Mcdonald be allowed to testify. Their

testimony would in no way be cumulative or corroborative.

Wrong Fact: The Court stated that “the Modified Allen Charge

..»” (Opinion, P. 23)

Right Fact: Vol. 9, P. 1137, lines 8, 12 and P. 1138, lines 4-6

prove that the trial judge did not give the Fifth Circuit Modified

Allen Charge but his personal version of it. The trial judge chang-

ed “Majority” to “substantial majority”; changed “a judgment”

to “their own judgment” and added, “I realize that you have

deliberated for a long period of time, and I realize from your

last communication that you felt that you could not reach a

verdict.”

Wrong Fact: The Court stated that “the jury had deliberated

for approximately one day”. (Opinion. P. 23)

Right Fact: The jury retired on Tuesday, May 24 at 12:20 p.m.

and returned a note to the judge at 10:49 Wednesday, May 25.

It took approximately 1/2 days and two (2) notes prior to the

—C 18-—

note that stated that they could not reach a verdict. (Vol. 9, P.

1138, lines 10 and 11)

Wrong Fact: the court stated that “Nevertheless, insofar as the

documents underlying these summary charts include almost two

hundred (200) pages of material and substantial amounts of

mathematical calculations . . . (Opinion, P. 8)

Right Fact: The Defendant can only interpret that statement

as saying that the summary charts represented voluminous

records. This is not ture, the supporting documents for summary

charts G-49A and G-S5IA represented only 71 pages for a 12

month period for Tottsville.

Conclusion: This volume of identifiable errors of alledged facts,

that this Court perceived as facts of/from the record created a

“cumulative effect” (Baines v. United States, 426F. 2d 842.8 (Sth

Circuit) (1970) of errors and compounding errors in the Opinion

that is substantially prejudicial to Jennings, and demands a rever-

sal of this case, or a rehearing. One can only conclude that if

this Court had the right facts before it, that this courts’ ruling

would have been different.

If all the wrong Facts produced this Opinion, consideration

of the right Facts would have surely reached a different conclu-

sion. In Baines v. United States, a case rampant with “errors”

and “near errors” and dealing with charts, the court ruled that,

“We have concluded, after a careful study of the records,

that the cumulative effect of the district court’s errors and

near errors requires that a case as close as this case involv-

ing a cabaret tax be reversed and remanded for a new trial.”

We think the law created in Baines should apply to this case.

ARGUMENT NO. 4

THIS COURT ERRONEOUSLY CONTRADICTED ITSELF

IN THE OPINION AND ERRONOUSLY RULED ON MAT-

TERS AFTER THE CONTRADICTION CONTRARY TO

BOTH POSITION OF THE ISSUE.

ey

—C 19-

This Court says that the summary charts contained “[s]ubstan-

tial amounts of mathematical calculations,” on page 8 of the Opi-

nion, and refutes that by saying that “[w]hen a chart does not

contain complicated calculations requiring the need of an expert

for accuracy,” (Op. P. 12) and the court did determine that there

was no need for an expert, thereby, declaring that the charts will

not contain complicated calculations. It should, therefore, be

brought to the attention of this Court that it made an error in

judgement through contradiction. It is determined by Jennings

that an expert was definitely needed to do the summary charts

as defined by this Court because the summary charts represented

substantial amounts of mathematical calculations. Brewer was

determined by the Court not to be an expert witness, therefore

he should have been disqualified as a witness, and the summary

charts stricken from the records. This court should reverse itself

based on this fact and most surely when considering this fact and

arguments | and 2 herein.

CONCLUSION: It is the Defendant's summation of this argu-

ment that this Court should reconsider its ruling by reversing itself

or grant a new hearing. It is totally mind-boggling for this Court

to say in one sentence that the records are voluminous and com-

plicated and therefore requires an expert to testify and on the

other hand to say that Brewer is not an expert and that he may

testify to the documents because the charts are not complicated

and represented voluminous material. Surely a rehearing and most

definitely a reversal would clear up this contradiction.

ARGUMENT NO. 5

THIS COURT ERRONEOUSLY FOUND THAT THERE

WAS “[NJO PREJUDICIAL ERROR”; TRIAL COURT ABUSE

OF DISCRETION, ¢.ND MISUSE OF THE LAW.

The Defendant believes that if certain things had been done

or had not been done in order to preserve time for the court and

jurors, a different result would have arisen out of this trial. The

Defendants substantial rights has been denied because of ques-

tionable discretionary rulings by the judge.

=-C2—

The Defendant recognizes the fact that this Court can only ad-

dress itself to what was presented io them; but it is the Defen-

dant’s intention here to make certain things brought out in the

Opinion, clearer.

The Court found “[n]o prejudicial error in the conduct of the

trial below, Jennings conviction is affirmed.” (Opinion, P. 2).

Jennings was prejudiced by the misuse of summary charts as

allowed by the trial court. These summary charts were illogical

in its preparation, therefore, inaccurate in its calculations, lack-

ed supporting evidence or documents for some line items; and

the most crucial point of all is the impression of actuality, ac-

curacy or that if the Defendant's worksheets did not coincide with

the summary charts, they were indeed wrong.

This Court states that “[r]ecognizing the possibility for misuse

of summary charts, this Court has previously cautioned that a

trial judge must carefully handle their preparation and use.” “We

here reiterate that caution.” (Opinion, p. 8) The Defendant re-

quests that this Court take another look at this particular por-

tion of the record and determine as the Defendant has that the

handling and preparation of these Charts were not done cautious-

ly, (Vol. 8, P. 678, lines 19-25 and Vol. 8, P. 701, lines 6-7) and

therefore, had an adverse effect on the jury. The Defendant re-

quests that this Court reverse itself or grant a new hearing on

this case. (See Argument No. | and 2).

This Court stated that Jennings had requested the trial court

to strike Jackie Hart's testimony because of the prosecutor’s

failure to comply with the Court’s Order. “The trial court denied

the Motion.” (Opinion, P. 14) The Defendant says this was an

abuse of discretion by the trial judge. It is the law that a con-

victed felons’ record be presented to the Defendant's counsel

before trial upon request. The trial court abused its discretion

by allowing the prosecutor to proceed with the witness, Jackie

Hart, without complying with the Court’s Order of discovery.

(See Argument No. 3)

This Court stated that “as the trial court observed”, “it was

obvious from defense council’s questioning of the witness that

they had known about this conviction and the details of it”. ‘It

is apparent that he got all the mileage out of it that he could. . .”

—C21-

This court has drawn a conclusion here which certainly is substan-

tially prejudicial to the defendant; and was not supported by

evidence.

The trial court abused its discretion when it created its own

version of the Modified Allen Charge (Vo!. 9, P. 1195) (Opinion,

P. 23).

The trial court committed reversable error, and error highly

prejudicial to the substantial rights of the Defendant by telling

the jury that... “If a substantial majority, or even a lessor

number of you are for acquittal . . .” (Vol. 9, P. 1137, lines 8

and 9).

Conclusion: The Defendant has shown obvious judicial errors

made by the trial court, and respectfully requests a reversal of

this case by this court. This case represents a gross misuse of the

law. The law is not an instrument that can be molded at will by

trial judges without regard to firm precedents already set by

Courts; which are to be used as a guide for things to follow. The

trial judge said to the jury that “It is your duty to agree upon

a verdict if you can do so without surrendering your conscien-

tious convictions.” and “You may be liesurely in your delibera-

tions as the occasion may require. . .” and the judge follows with

an added time pressure statement, on the other hand, which says

in direct contrast to the previous statement that “I realize that

you have deliberated for a long period of time.” (Vol. 9, P. 1138,

lines 4 & 5).

If the trial court judge had not given an Allen type charge he

would have “declared a mistrial before lunch,” (Vol. 9, P. 1129,

line 16).

The Defendant’s trial was obviously hastened to the point of

injustice and justice demands a reversal of this case based upon

the cumulative effect of the “misses” and “near misses” (Baines

v. United States Sth Cir. 1970, 126 F. 2nd) regarding the judge’s

discretion and abuses thereof.

nf en

ARGUMENT NO. 6

THE COURT ERKONEOUSLY FOUND THAT THERE

WAS “NO MISUSE OF THE CHARGE UNDER THE FACTS

OF THE CASE,” AND THAT THE MODIFIED ALLEN

CHARGE GIVEN BY THE TRIAL JUDGE WAS THE SAME

ONE APPROVED BY THE FIFTH CIRCUIT, AND THAT

THE “JURY’S VERDICT WAS WITHOUT RHYME OR

REASON.” (OPINION, P. 24)

This Allen-type Charge which was supposedly approved by the

Fifth Circuit was misused by the trial court because of an ap-

parent need for expediency vy the court, which was determined

from the dialogue of the court to counsellors in chambers and

to the jury while giving instructions. (Vol. 9, P. 1111, fines 5-17).

In giving the Allen Charge, the trial judge prejudiced the Defen-

dant because of time pressure statements (U.S. v. Taylor, 430

F. 2d 49 (Sth Circuit, 1976) as “When a jury is in a case which

has lasted as long as this one. . .” (Vol. 9, P. 111, lines 8-9).

This Allen type charge given by the trial court was an instru-

ment of coercion because the judge intimated that it was their

(jury) “duty to decide” (Government of the Canal Zone vs. Fears,

428 F. 2d 641 (Fifth Circuit, 1976) by saying “that’s the effort

of the jury at this point, is what your duty is, to try to reach

a verdict,” (Vol. 9, P. L111, lines 12 and 13).

The trial court also erred when instructing the jury prior to

the Alien Charge that “to try to resolve the matter one way or

the other,” “when juries have spent this much time on the case;”

“It is late here in this day,” and “you’ve had a long hard day,”

(Vol. 9, P. 1111, tine 17), “go back and see whether a few minutes

will make a difference to you as a whole, and if so, then it will

be resolved tonight”. These statements made by the trial judge

represent threats of marathon deliberations and coercive

deadlines. (U.S. vs. Cheramie, 520 F. 2d 325, 331 (Sth Circuit,

1975)

This rv's that the judge should not inquire of the jurors as to

how they are numerically divided is a rule of federal procedure

(U.S. vs. Cheramie, cert. denied 449 U.S. 1126, 101 S. Ct. 944,

-C2-—

67, L. Ed. 2d 112, one judge dissenting), and this rule was broken

by the trial judge when he stated that “I do not want any indica-

tion as to any division or numerical division among you at this

point because that would be improper, but I would ask you

whether or not, under these circcumstances, any of you think

it might be profitable for you to go back in deliberation for

another few minutes . . . whether that might resolve the issue

tonight?” (Statement of time pressures) (Vol 9, P. 1112, lines

13-19.)

The trial judge further prejudiced the Defendant by referring

to his case as “this thing” (Vol. 9, P. 1114, line 20) without the

slightest regards to the impact of the remark on the jury. The

trial judge did not give any instructions to the jury as to the in-

tent of such a remark. Nordmann v. National Hotel Company

425 F. 2d 1104 (1970). It is a law that a trial judge may not give

the jury his views. The Defendant asks that this case be reversed

because he was prejudiced by the trial court.

In Vol. 9, p. 1135, lines 5-15, the trial judge modified the Allen

Charge by adding the word “substantial” so that it may “corres-

pond with the first sentence of the fourth paragraph.” The Defen-

dant objects to that change because it changed the text of the

approved version by the Fifth Circuit. The connotation of the

original version “if a majority or even a lesser number of you

are for acquittal” (The Fifth Circuit Pattern Instructions) means

that if seven (7) or a lesser number of the jury is for acquittal;

the modified version by the trial judge “if a substantial majority

. . .” means some number higher than seven (7) or a lesser number

of the jury is for acquittal . . .” It is not the discretion of the

trial judge to change the context of the law. The trial judge did

not say what number between seven (7) and eleven (11) to use

as a substantial majority, and it should have been under this

circumstance.

The trial judge interjected into the Allen Charge that he realized

that they (the jury) “deliberated for a long period of time,” which

is a clear contradiction of what the Allen Charge had implied

prior to that statement, (Vol. 9, P. 1138, lines 4-6) which was

“You may be as leisurely in your deliberations as the occasion

may require and should take all the time which you feel is

=-CH—

necessary.” This is another example of threats of marathon

deliberation and coercion.

It is the Defendant's conclusion that the Allen Charge was

misused by the trial court to the extent of prejudice by way of

time pressure statements, coersive tactics, and altering the law.

The Defendant also concludes that because the judge and the jury

have two (2) separate and distinct roles, that they must each be

held accountable for that role; especially when their actions

and/or reactions beget a final and firm conclusion regarding one’s

future life. In U.S. vs. Cheramie (Fifth Circuit) 520 F. 2d 333

(1975), a case remarkably similar, the following law was created:

“Our jury system depends on the continued maintenance

of the separate roles of judge and jury, out of which divi-

sion lawful and responsible verdicts emerge. It is the blurr-

ing of these dual duties which we must avoid. But in preser-

ving these respective spheres, we remember that a trial is

a truth-finding tool, basic to our ordered society, and not

a game of blind man's bluff. We guard against not only forc-

ed but also unintelligent jury verdicts. “As such, the judge

must be informative and helpful, without being oppressive

or dictat, rial”.

The Defendant, therefore, requests that this court reverse itself

or grant a n:w hearing.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons and authorities, this Court should

grant this Petition for Rehearing, and reverse its garlier judgment

affirming the judgment of the district court. This court is being

asked to do what jurors should do when considering the evidence

in a trial and that is to weigh that evidence and/or facts of the

case and if there is any reasonable doubt, the affirmation should

be reversed.

Therefore, due to page limitation, the issues of this case will

not be reiterated here because they have been amply addressed

in this brief by the facts and authorities.

—C25—

The Defendant respectfully requests this Court to carefully con-

sider this Petition for Rehearing and resulting therefrom, reverse

itself.

Respectfully submitted, this the 16th day of February, 1984.

MELVIN R. JENNINGS, PRO SE

REVISED G-48 SUMMARY CARTS BY JENNINGS

AS TO MATHEMATIC ERRORS AND STATEMENTS

G-48

September, 1980 Breakdown by Centers

AVERAGE

BRI Ww su MEALS

Jones 398 398 396

Bryant 326 326 326

Clairmont $62 562 $62

Keyboard 352 355 342

Miller 504 $04 504

Tottsville 1397 1400 1388 63.39 (Brewer)

a EN aE *63.41 (Jennings)

359 3545 3518

3339 3545 3518

Amount claimed Per Tottsville Worksheet (G-26) (Brewer) $ 2,795.78

*hmount Claimed Per Tottsville Worksheet (G-26) (Jennings 2,794.78

Warrant for Septesber, 1980 Claim (G-14A) (To Whom) (Brewer) 6,621.95

‘Warrant for September, 1980 Claim (G-14A) (SPI) (Jennings) 6,621.95

Total Average Meals Claimed on Tottsville Worksheets (Brewer 711.57

“Total Average Meals Claisod on Tottsville Workshects (Jennings) 730.00

Total Pood Amounts Claimed Reflected on Tottsville Worksheets

(Brewer) 28,278.54

*jotal Pood Asounts Claimed Reflected aon Tottsville Worksheets

= =

REVISED G-49A SUMMARY GIARTS BY JENNINGS

AS TO MATHEMATIC ERRORS AND STATEMENTS

G-49A

Tottsville Meals Claimed Cospared with Meals served

for October, 179 through September, 1980

BREWER JENNINGS

Total of Average Meals [rom G-48 713.57 730.00*

711.57 by 12 = $9.29 (Brewer) 7

730.00 by 12 = 60.83 (Jennings) Average number children claimed to haye

been served per mal

Verified

Meals Served Claimed Overclaiacd

West on Site

Review (G-35) 1 day e

(Brewer) 40 64 24

‘Breakfast .33 1/3 day

_ Wennings) (Jennings) 24 @.4410°10.58

West on Site

Review (G-%6) 1 day

(Brewer) 32 64 32

"Snack .33 1/3 day (Jennings) 32 @ .2669=8.54

Menus for September

G26) 20 days 2460 3802 1342

*(G-26) 22 days (Jennings) 4185 -0-

1398 by 22 = 63.5 (Brewer) Average Meals overclaimed per day

Average Mcals overclaimed per day

#1398 by 22.67 = 61.67 (Jennings)

63.55 by 3 Qeals) Rrewer © 21.18

61.67 by 3 {Mcals) Jennings = 20.56

$9.29 - 21.18 = 38.11 (Brewer)

60.83 - 20.56 = 40.27 (Jennings)

Average per meal overclaina

Average per meal overclaim

Average Actual Meals Served

Average Actual Meals Served

ORIGINAL G- S50 SUMMARY QIART

G-S0

TOTTSVILLE FOOD PURSES AS REFLECTED

OCTOBER, 1979 (G-15) $ 408.60

NOVEMBER, 1979 (G-16) 516.06

DECEMBER, 1979 (G-17) 270.96

JANUARY, 1980 (G-18) 316.32 -

FEBRUARY, 1980 (G-19) 413.03

MARG!, 1980 (G-20) 410.59

APRIL, 1980 (4-21) 332.84 |

MY, 1980 (G-22) 419.09 .

JUNE, 1980 (G-23) 79.95 :

JULY, 1980 (G-24) 168.78 Wy

NIGUST, 1980 (G-25) 303.57 it

SEPTEMBER, 1980 (G-25) 349.75

$3,989.54

TOTAL BRFAKTAST/LUNQIES CLAIMED FOR TOTTSVILLE (G-15 thru 26)

= M, 528 =

$3,989.54 by 30,528 = 13.1¢ AVERAGE OOST PER MBAL ae

EXHIBIT C

REVISED G-51A SUMMARY CHARTS BY JENNINGS AS TO MATHEMATHICAL ERRORS AND STATEMENT

G-S1A

CLAIMED REIMBURSEMENT COMPARED TO ACTUAL

MEALS SERVED (TOTTSVILLE)

PAID BREWER REIMBURSEMENT TENNINGS. REIMBURSEMENT (JENNINGS)

(BREWER) CALGULATION (BREWER) CALCULATION * ENTITLED

MONTH REIMBURSEMENT _FORWLA ENTITLE TO FORMULA

Oct. 1979 $ 2,352.87 (22x38.11x1.7320) © $1,452.14 22x40,.27x1.7255 = 1528.69

Nov. 1979 2,206.12 (20x38.11x2.7520) © 1,320.12 20x40.27x1, 7320 = 1394.95

Dec. 1979 1,892.4 (20x38. Llxl. 7520 * 1,520.12 20x40. 27x1. 7320 = 1394.95

Jan. 1980 2,155.57 (2238. 11x). 7981 * 1,807.55 22x40.27x1. 7981 = 1593.01

Feb. 1980 2,758. 32 (21x38. 11x1. 7981 * 1,439.03 21x40.27x1. 7981 = 1520.60

Mar. 1980 2,402. 96 (21x38. 11x]. 7981 = 1,439.03 21x40.27x1.7981 = 1520.60 J

Apr. 1980 2,484.15 (22x38. Llxl. 7981 * 1,507.5S 22x40.27x1.7981 = 1593.01 2)

May 1980 2,642.09 (22x38. 11x1. 9125 */ 1,603.47 22x40. 27x1.9125 = 1694,%

June 1980 2,206. 39 (22x38. 11x1.9125 = 1,603.47 21x40, 27x1.9125 * 1617.34 &

July 1980 2,235.66 (22x58. 11x2.00) = 1,676.84 22x40,27x2.00 = 1771.88 |

Aug. 1980 2,147.15 (22x40. 27x2.00 * 1,676.84 21x40, 27x2.00 = 1691.6

Sep. 1980 2, 794.98 (22x38. 1122.00 = 1,676.84 22x40. 27x2.00 = 1771.88

$ 28,278.54 $18,223.00 $19,092.61

TOTAL ‘OVERCLAIM (28,278.54 - 18,233.09) (Brower) 10,055.54

(28,278.S4 - 19,092.61) (Jennings) 9,185.93

10% Adninistration Fee Brewer 8,045.07

108 Adninsitration Fee This was not Paid by the State Department of Education (Jennings) -0-

Total for Jennings for Administrative Fee and Tottsville Overclaim (Brewer) 18,100.61

Total for Jennings for Administrative Fee and Tottsville Overcleis 9,185.93

EXHIBIT D

38.11 x Number of serving days per month x reimbursement rate for each meal.

(Brewer) Sum of three (3) meals served and cash in lieu of commodities = reimbursement entitle to. '

40.27 x inaher = 5 cores ¢ days er om yo aa rate for each meal + cash in lieu of commodities

to. (Jennings) é

(Brewer) (Example: October, 1979)

38.11 x 22 = 838.42

838.42 x .4410 = 369.74 (Breakfast)

838.42 x .87S9 © 734.37 (Lunch)

638.42 x .2576 = 215.98 (Snack)

838.42 x .157S = 152.05 (Cash in lieu of commodities)

69.74 1,320.09 by

734, 37 132.04

215.98 &

T, 320.08 T, 337. 1 !

(Jennings) (Example: October, 1979)

* The revisions made by Jennings on

Brewer charts are merely corrections 40.27 x 22 = 685.94

of inaccurate calculation; and obvious 885.94 x .4393 = 389.19

errors of fect. These corrections does $85.94 x .8719 = 772.45

not mean that the Defendant is in agree- 885.94 x .2568 = 227.51

ment with Brewer as to its conclusions. 685.94 x .1575 = 139.54

389.19 1,389.15

a 139.54

we. Te

EXHIBIT D

—C 30-

Two Jurors Claim Verdict

In Jennings Case

‘?

Not Unanimous

-4

Rev. J.L. Brown, Utica branch NAACP President is spearheading a drive to make

Black Jurors aware that they can disagree with the conclusions of other jurors

Mrs. Rachel Stokes told Brown jury decision in Jennings case was “wrong”.

Under circumstances remarkably

similar to those reported by Black

jurors in the trial of former Tchula

Mayor Eddie Carthan, two young

housewives who served on the jury in

the U.S. Government's case against

Jackson attorney Melvin Jennings May

16, reported this week that the jury in

Jennings’ case never reached a

unanimous verdict. They contend that

i

a§

it

t

ef

i

ui

Nit

THe

He

TH

(ue

on

a

7;

Hi

ii

[ea

gil

4

vein

itt

a ea Se eee e ee eee

aj] Hib 3gsat}

; i SHAE Hy Apiati i!

tala

a i ae

il SHE Hi i Hail il:

if 4} 2 E

it (sie ii ui tata ip

a : a ii i

Aa iliac

IE i

a

i

Hi

—-C32-—

qe

i al A iil ‘ii ayaa

He ili At el i ply iji

ae fii Lene Me ie Hf

Th HE ft Hl B it ri il Tt iit

A Ally if Hl Hy a Wi

i i ee iy iit aa tt i

-C33-

Selective Prosecution

ee In ep 2 Case

eR

ee |

ak Ti Hut AT ne

a

insti Wi SURE ETT anit +

Hi We te wai it ie i JH

es

pERGERE, 3EE

dant

tn

nit

|

fi

!

oi

|

i

i

We

st

S

i

Federal Register / Vol. 45. No. 15 /

Tuesday, January 22, 1980 / Rules and Regulations, Page 4983.

§ 226.15 Claims against institutions.

(4) State agencies shull disallow any

portion of # claim for reimbursement

and recover any payment to an

institution not properly peyzble under

this However, the State agency

shail notify the institution of the reasons

for any disallowance or demand for

repayment, and allow the institution iull

opportunity to submit evidence on

procedures for unearned payments shall

include: (1) written demand to the

institution for the return of improper

payments; (2) if. efter 30 calendar days,

the institution fails to remit full peyment

or agree to a satisfactory repayment

schedule,

legal

(b) In the event that the State agency

finds that an institution which preperes

its own meals is failing to meet the meal

requirements of § 226.21, the State

agency need not disallow payment or

coll

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.