Petition — County of St. Louis v. Federal Land Bank of St. Paul

Supreme Court brief1984

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No._83:- 1348 |

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anite

OCTOBER TERM, 1983 —

IN THE MATTER OF THE PROCEEDINGS TO ENFORCE

PAYMENT OF THE TAX ON MINERAL INTERESTS

ASSESSED PURSUANT TO MINN. STAT. § 273.13, SUB-

DIVISION 2a, AND REMAINING DELINQUENT ON THE

FIRST MONDAY IN JANUARY, 1977, 1978 AND 1979,

— COUNTY OF ST. LOUIS, STATE OF MINNE-

COUNTY OF ST. LOUIS, STATE OF MINNESOTA,

and

MINNESOTA CHIPPEWA TRIBE,

Petitioners,

v.

THE FEDERAL LAND BANK OF *

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE

MINNESOTA SUPREME COURT

HUBERT H. HUMPHREY III

Attorney General

State of Minnesota

PHILIP J. OLFELT

Assistant Attorney General

375 Centennial Building

St. Paul, MN 55155

Tel. No. (612) 296-8294

Counsel of Record

ALAN L. MITCHELL

St. Louis County Attorney

MICHAEL R. DEAN

Assistant St. Louis County

Attorney

501 St. Louis County

Courthouse

Duluth, MN 55802

Tel. No. (218) 726-2323

Attorneys for County of

St. Louis, State of Minnesota

TUPPER, SMITH &

MATTSON

KENT P. TUPPER, Esq.

P.O. Box 160

Walker, MN 56484

Tel. No. (218) 547-1711

Attorneys for Minnesota

Tribe

eo ie ——— Go SET Gm oh. ot Pal, Mien SORSL — m7

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Does 12 U.S.C. § 2055, which exempts Federal Land Banks

from all federal, state and local taxes other than those on

real estate, prohibit a fair, non-discriminatory tax on Land

Bank real estate assessed by state or local governments if that

tax is not strictly and mathematically related to value?

The Minnesota Supreme Court, Justice Yetka dissenting,

ruled in the affirmative and reversed the Minnesota Tax

Court.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

County of St. Louis, State of Minnesota and Minnesota

Chippewa Tribe (Petitioners).

Federal Land Bank of St. Paul (Respondent).

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Question Presented for Review ....................

Parties to the Proceeding ......... nir

Table of Contents o

Table of Authorities R

r a re ee RE a aS

Opinions Below .

Jurisdictional Statement

Statement of the Case

. e

B. Statutory, Administrative, and Judicial History

of Minnesota’s Tax on Severed Mineral Interests

Argument for Granting the Writ

A. Legislative History Supports Minnesota’s Fair,

Non-Discriminatory Taxation of the Federal

Land Bank’s Severed Mineral Interests

B. Minnesota’s Tax of $.25 Per Acre on Severed

Mineral Interests is Sufficiently Related to the

Value of Those Interests to Satisfy 12 U.S.C.

%% ĩ [

C. The Majority Opinion in St. Louis County Fails

to Consider the “Golden Rule” of Statutory Inter-

pretation That Unreasonable Interpretations Are

to be Rejected in Favor of Reasonable Alterna-

„ atbadeecwddeka wat

10

18

* ~

Appendix

Page

St. Louis County, State of Minnesota, and Minnesota

Chippewa Tribe v. The Federal Land Bank of

St. Paul; Minn. Sup. Ct., October 7, 1983,

ee RE I in hes ba BRR c esi enh Sere |

St. Louis Cty. et al. v. Federal Land Bank of

St. Paul, Nov. 16, 1983; Minn. Supreme Court

Order denying petition for rehearing .......... A-12

St. Louis Cty. et al. v. Federal Land Bank of

St. Paul, Minnesota Tax Court, Findings,

Conclusions & Order for Judgment,

D 3-0 cael aba wea bebin ctw. Peco. ae

St. Louis County et al. v. Federal Land Bank of

St. Paul, Minnesota Tax Court Order,

,,,, ⅛ͤ L?Vꝛ s. A-22

St. Louis Cty. et al. v. Federal Land Bank of

St. Paul, Minnesota Tax Court Order for

Summary Judgment, July 23, 190 A-27

Federal Land Bank Answer in St. Louis o

Tax Delinquency Proceedings, and Letter of

rr nd b oa pe odbc atone ve ate A-36

Contos, et al. v. Herbst, et al. (Minn. 1979),

,,, . Wika Sic A-40

Minnesota Statutes 1982, Section . A -72

Minnesota Statutes 1982, Section 272.09 4-75

Minnesota Statutes 1982, Section 272.04,

r n 4-77

Minnesota Statutes 1982, Section 273.18,

. A A-77

Minnesota Statutes 1982, Section 298. 2% A878

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:

United States Supreme Court:

Bells Gap R. Co. v. Pennsylvania,

r 8, Cain aa Sp es aealank ess be ass 16

Federal Election Comm., et al. v. Nat’l Right to

Work Comm., et al., —— U.S. ——, 74 L.Ed.2d

864, 103 S.Ct. —— (Dec. 18, 1982) ............. 17, 29

Federal Land Bank of St. Paul v. Bismarck

Lumber Co., 314 U.S. 96 (1941) ................ 9

Federal Land Bank of Wichita v. Bd. of County

Comm’rs., 368 U.S. 146 (19617777 9

First Agricultural Nat'l Bank of

Berkshire County v. State Tax Comm.,

eS ER Se ne ae 27

Lehnhausen v. Lake Shore Auto Parts Co.,

410 U.S. 356 (1973) C 16

Ohio Oil Co. v. Conway,

22 r 16

Reconstruction Finance Corp. v. Beaver Co., Pa.,

0% „„ „„ „„ re 2, 4, 17, 25, 28

Federal Distriet Courts:

Coleman, et al. v. Block, et al.,

D. C. N. D., S. W. Div. No. Al-83-47, May 5, 1988 26

State Supreme Courts:

Contos v. Herbst, 278 N. W. 2d 782 (Minn.),

appeal dismissed sub nom. Prest v. Herbst,

444 U.S. 804, 62 L.Ed.2d 17, 100 S.Ct. 24 (1979) . passim

Federal Land Bank of St. Paul v. North Dakota,

274 N. W. ad 580 (N. D. 1979) ................... 9

St. Louis County, State of Minnesota, and

Minnesota Chippewa Tribe v. The Federal

Land Bank of St. Paul, 338 N. W. 2d 741

, ͤũ rSwũwn cscs sch wee 1,4

St. Louis County, et al. v. Federal Land Bank

of St. Paul (Minn. Sup. Ct. Order denying

petition for rehearing, Nov. 16,1983) .......... 1

Other Courts:

St. Louis County, et al. v. Federal Land Bank

of St. Paul (Minn. Tax Court Findings,

Conclusions & Order for Judgment,

NG 5 ee ae . . .I, 7, 8, 18.

St. Louis County, et al. v. Federal Land Bank

of St. Paul (Minn. Tax Court Order,

Oct. 31, 1980) r 2,7

St. Louis County, et al. v. Federal Land Bank

of St. Paul (Minn. Tax Court Order for

Summary Judgment, July 23, 1980)

Statutes and Rules:

Federal Statutes:

e te Cie eee on Conte

12US.C.§1488............. .

aer...

12 U.S. C. 5 2055

e vbe's sso Walbugh eons ee

15 U.S.C. § 610 3

. 1 «ons ee basdru ug Ue Svewiay sue

,,,, vires denis’ b o.ce P40 w 0c Oa" 2

Farm Credit Act of 1971 (Pub. L. No. 92-181,

A 11

Federal Farm Loan Act of 1916, Act of July 17,

1916, ch. 245, 39 Stat. 30 8, 11

Federal Rules:

nch cee ene 30

Minnesota Statutes:

1973 Minn. Laws, ch. 650, art. 20 (codified as

Minn. Stat. §§ 272.039, 272.04, subd. 1, and

,,, ̃ WW 5

r . ee es 5

r one Soro. we dea cesbp on 3, 5, 25

Minn. Stat. § 272.04, subd.1 J. 3, 5

Minn. Stat. § 273.13, subd. 2 3, 5, 6, 20

, ẽũ ÜͤůRn t 3, 27

Congressional Materials:

53 Cong. Rec. 6798 (1916) ............ 1 3

53 Cong. Rec. 6966 (191) 13

, :: 13

58 Cong. Rec. 7806 (1916) ....................... 12

53 Cong. Rec. 10104 (1916) ...................... 13

117 Cong. Rec. 27992 (1971) ..................... 14

Report of the Senate Subcommittee on Agricultural

Credit and Rural Electrification on S. 1488,

the Farm Credit Act of 1971, in Relation to

Hearings Held on May 17, 18, and 20,1971 ....... 14

Treatises:

Sutherland, Statutory Construction (4th ed.) 23, 24

vi

-

<

°

SS a e a „„ ˙ OE Cs Coe ee ee *

STATUTES INVOLVED

Federal Statutes

12 U.S.C. § 2055. Taxation

Every Federal land bank and every Federal land bank asso-

ciation and the capital, reserves, and surplus thereof, and the

income derived therefrom shall be exempt from Federal, State,

municipal, and local taxation, except taxes on real estate held

by a Federal land bank or a Federal land bank association to

the same extent, according to its value, as other similar

property held by other persons is taxed. The mortgages held

by the Federal land banks and the notes, bonds, debentures,

and other obligations issued by the banks or associations shall

be deemed and held to be instrumentalities of the Government

of the United States and, as such, they and the income there-

from shall be exempt from all Federal, State, municipal, and

local taxation, other than Federal income tax liability of the

holder thereof under the Public Debt Act of 1941 (section

742(a) of Title 31).

Pub.L. 92-181, Title I, § 1.21, Dec. 10, 1971, 85 Stat. 590.

Minnesota Statutes involved in this petition and repro-

duced in the Appendix are:

Minn. Stat. § 1163.64 ....... 3 A-72

v A-15

Minn. Stat. § $72.04, eubd.1 .............0.:... A-7T

Minn. Stat. § 273.18, subd. 2 A-TT

Be NS A.. ⁰˙ ͤ—:˙Vu ˙ cee A-78

vii

* * 2 * . Pie ge:

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1983

IN THE MATTER OF THE PROCEEDINGS TO ENFORCE

PAYMENT OF THE TAX ON MINERAL INTERESTS

ASSESSED PURSUANT TO MINN. STAT. § 273.13, SUB-

DIVISION 2a, AND REMAINING DELINQUENT ON THE

FIRST MONDAY IN JANUARY, 1977, 1978 AND 1979,

FOR THE COUNTY OF ST. LOUIS, STATE OF MINNE-

SOTA.

COUNTY OF ST. LOUIS, STATE OF MINNESOTA,

and

MINNESOTA CHIPPEWA TRIBE,

Petitioners,

v.

THE FEDERAL LAND BANK OF

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE

MINNESOTA SUPREME COURT

OPINIONS BELOW

The official reports and unreported opinions delivered in

the courts below are:

St. Louis County, State of Minnesota, and Minnesota Chip-

pewa Tribe v. Federal Land Bank of St. Paul, 8388 N.W.2d

741 (Minn., Oct. 7, 1983). Appendix A-1

Petition for reargument denied, Nov. 16, 1988. Appendix

A-12

St. Louis County, State of Minnesota, and Minnesota Chip-

pewa Tribe v. Federal Land Bank of St. Paul. Minnesota

Tax Court; Findings, Conclusions, and Order for Judg-

ment, March 19, 1982. Appendix A-13

St. Louis County, State of Minnesota and Minnesota Chip-

pewa Tribe v. Federal Land Bank of St. Paul. Minnesota

Tax Court Order, Oct. 31, 1980. Appendix A-22

St. Louis County, State of Minnesota, and Minnesota Chip-

pewa Tribe v. Federal Land Bank of St. Paul. Minnesota

Tax Court Order for Summary Judgment, July 23, 1980.

Appendix A-27

As noted above, all of the above opinions are reproduced

in the Appendix.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

This petition for writ of certiorari is for review of the

judgment of the Minnesota Supreme Court entered Oct. 7,

1983; petition for reargument denied November 16, 1983.

Jurisdiction of the Supreme Court is conferred by Title 28,

Sections 1257(3) and 2101(c) of the United States Code.

A substantial federal question exists when the issue before

the Court is whether a state law authorizing the taxation of

certain property as real property is included within the scope

of a federal statute authorizing state and local taxation of

real property owned by a federal instrumentality. Recon-

struction Finance Corporation v. Beaver County, Pa., 328

U.S. 204, 66 S.Ct. 992, 90 L.Ed. 1172 (1946). The wording

of 12 U.S.C. § 2055, the federal statute at issue in the present

case, is virtually identical to the wording of 15 U.S.C. § 610,

the federal statute at issue in the Reconstruction Finance

Corporation case, which provided that “any real property”

of the Reconstruction Finance Corporation or its subsidiaries

“shall be subject to State, Territorial, County, municipal, or

local taxation to the same extent according to its value as

other real property is taxed”. (Emphasis added)

8

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Summary.

Minnesota law authorizes local governments to impose a

tax of $.25 per acre on real property interests known as

“severed mineral interests“. In 1979 the Minnesota Supreme

Court upheld the constitutionality of this tax in a challenge

brought by United States Steel Corporation and others in a

case entitled Contos, et al. v. Herbst, et al., 278 N.W.2d 732

(Minn., Jan. 1979), rehearing denied, March 18, 1979; here-

after referred to as “Contos” (Appendix A-40). An appeal of

that decision to the United States Supreme Court was dis-

missed in the fall of 1979, sub nom. Prest v. Herbst, 444 US.

804. Notwithstanding the Contos decision, the Federal Land

Bank of St. Paul subsequently challenged the $.25 per acre tax

as that tax was assessed against severed mineral interests

owned by the Bank. This petition arises out of that challenge.

A mineral interest in real estate which is “severed” is de-

fined as an interest in minerals which is owned separately

and apart from the fee title to the surface of such réal

property. For Minnesota real estate tax purposes, severed

mineral interests which are not subject to taxation under

any of the other elements of Minnesota’s mineral classifica-

tion and tax system are subject to an annual tax of $.25 per

acre.? As so classified, this $.25 per acre tax is a tax of last

resort. .

In the fall of 1983, the Minnesota Supreme Court,

Justice Yetka dissenting, struck down the $.25 per acre sev-

ered mineral tax in all instances where it had been assessed

“1 Minn, Stat. §§ 272.039, 272.04, subd. 1, and 273.13, subd. 2a (1982)

(Appendix A-75-A-77).

2 Minn. Stat. § 273.13, subd. 2a (1982) (Appendix A-77).

4

in Minnesota against real estate owned by the Federal Land

Bank of St. Paul. St. Louis County, State of Minnesota, and

Minnesota Chippewa Tribe v. Federal Land Bank of St. Paul,

838 N.W.2d 741 (Minn., Oct. 7, 1983), hereafter referred

to as “St. Louis County” (Appendix A-1). On November 16,

1983, the Minnesota Supreme Court denied a petition for

rehearing requested by St. Louis County, the State, and the

Chippewa Tribe (Appendix A-12). As will be discussed in

greater detail below, although the Minnesota Supreme Court

agreed with the Tax Court that the $.25 per acre tax was

fair and that it was applied without discrimination to both

federal land bank property and to non-bank property, the

supreme court reversed the Tax Court solely because the

supreme court interpreted the federal statute in question,

12 U.S.C. § 2055, as mandating that local taxes assessed

against federal land bank real estate must be strictly related

to value, “ad valorem”, in order to be valid. The supreme

court ruled the $.25 per acre tax to be “outside the letter

of the waiver” of tax exemption under § 2055 (St. Louis Co.,

Appendix A-6). The exemption found by the Minnesota

Supreme Court is a statutory exemption, not a constitutional

exemption. The narrow interpretation placed by the court

upon the waiver of tax exemption for federal land bank real

estate found in 12 U.S.C. § 2055 severely limits the authority

of local governments to tax real estate, the primary tax base

for local government. This is a substantial question of federal

law which should be settled by the United States Supreme

Court. Reconstruction Finance Corporation v. Beaver County,

Pa., 328 U.S. 204, 66 S.Ct. 992, 90 L.Ed. 1172 (1946). This

petition is requested for the purpose of reversing the decision

of the Minnesota Supreme Court in the St. Louis County case.

—

Pan.”

1

* . 5 * A 2 svt ~ a

ä a,” 8 . : oe ib. 2 a4 a. N 3 — a ee ee

133 . i / CR ee See

B. Statutory, Administrative, and Judicial History of

Minnesota’s Tax On Severed Mineral Interests.

The $.25 per acre tax on severed mineral interests was

authorized by the Minnesota Legislature in 1973.“ The tax

is levied by local taxing districts.‘ It was first levied in 1975

and first became payable in 1976. Revenues from the tax are

apportioned to local taxing districts located wituin the area

taxed in the same proportion as a taxing district’s surface

interest mill rate bears to the total surface mill rate for the

area,® except for 20 percent of the total revenue which is

deposited in a special account in the state treasury called the

“Indian business loan account”.* This account was created

by the 1973 act for the purposes of making business loans

to American Indians. The Minnesota Chippewa Tribe is a

party to this litigation because of its ongoing interest in

the integrity of this business loan account. The Federal Land

Bank of St. Paul refused to pay the $.25 per acre tax on its

severed mineral interests owned in St. Louis County when

the tax became payable in 1976 and has refused to pay each

year since. The Land Bank owns approximately 484,000 acres

of severed mineral interests in 85 of Minnesota’s 87 counties,’

and similarly has refused to pay the tax in all other counties

where assessed.

In October of 1974, after enactment of the tax but shortly

before it was first assessed in 1975, the dax was challenged

in St. Louis County district court on constitutional and other

Minn. Laws 1973, ch. 650, art. 20. The tax provisions of that act

have been coded primarily as Minn. Stat. §§ 272.039, 272.04, subd.

1, and 273.13, subd. 2a, all of which are reprinted in the Appendix.

4 Minn. Stat. §§ 272.04 and 273.13, subd. 2a (Appendix A-77).

5 Minn. Stat. § 273.13, subd. 2a (Appendix A-77).

Minn. Stat. § 1163.64 (Appendix A-72).

7 St. Louis County, Appendix As. The Bank owns no severed min-

eral interests in Nobles or Waseca Counties.

grounds by United States Steel Corporation, Burlington

Northern, Inc., Boise Cascade Corporation, First and North-

western National Banks of Minneapolis, and by other corpo-

rate and individual plaintiffs in the Contos case, supra. After

exhaustive hearing, argument, and briefing in both the dis-

trict and supreme courts, the $.25 per acre tax on severed

mineral interests was upheld in all respects by the Minnesota

Supreme Court. In Contos the Minnesota Supreme Court

affirmed a district court judgment which ruled, among other

things, (1) that the $.25 per acre tax was valid in all respects;

(2) that all severed mineral interests had value as real prop-

erty interests, no matter where located; and (3) that the tax

validly implemented the public purpose stated in Minn. Stat.

§ 272.039 of plugging a tax loophole that had created “a class

of property having some value [that] was not paying its

proportionate share of taxes,” Contos, Appendix A-53.

The Federal Land Bank of St. Paul chose to stand apart

from the Contos litigation. Instead, it refused to pay the $.25

per acre tax and allowed its 484,000 acres of severed mineral

interests throughout the state to become tax-delinquent. How-

ever, to forestall tax-forfeiture of these mineral interests, it

filed an Answer in tax delinquency proceedings with the

district court of each county in which forfeiture proceedings

had been commenced, requesting that such proceedings be

postponed until Contos was finally decided. Its Answer to

St. Louis County tax delinquency proceedings was contained

in a letter dated April 29, 1977, addressed to the Clerk of

St. Louis County District Court, (Appendix A-36). Essentially

the same letter and Answer was sent to all other district

courts. The Answer admits the tax delinquency but asserts

two defenses: (1) unconstitutionality of the tax, and (2)

statutory exemption under 12 U.S.C. § 2055, because the real

7

estate tax in question is not strictly “ad valorem.” Delay was

requested because of the pending decision in Contos. When the

United States Supreme Court dismissed the Contos appeal in

late 1979, tax delinquency proceedings against the Bank were

reinstated in various counties throughout the state, and the

Bank chose to use the St. Louis County delinquency proceed-

ing as a test case. The matter was transferred by the district

court for St. Louis County to the Minnesota Tax Court for

trial. There the Bank was permitted to relitigate all of the

constitutional questions decided in Contos as well as assert its

defense based on its claim of statutory exemption. The Minne-

sota Chippewa Tribe joined St. Louis County and the state

in opposing the Bank’s effort to escape the tax, which by

then was being paid by all other owners of severed mineral

interests. The Minnesota Tax Court, after exhaustive pro-

ceedings, issued three significant orders: July 23, 1980 (Ap-

pendix A-27) ; October 31, 1980 (Appendix A-22) ; and March

19, 1982 (Appendix A-13). In these successive orders and asso-

ciated memoranda the Tax Court rejected all of the Bank’s

arguments and defenses, including its claim of statutory

exemption under 12 U.S.C. § 2055. In sum, the Tax Court

ruled as follows: (1) that the tax was constitutional in all

respects, as was determined by the Contos courts (see, espe-

cially, July 23, 1980 and Cctober 31, 1980 Orders); (2) that

severed mineral interests owned by the Land Bank of St. Paul

had value as a real property right, no matter where located

in Minnesota, the same as was held in Contos (see, especially,

March 19, 1982 Order) ; and (3) that the Bank acquired these

mineral interests by first foreclosing on defaulted farm mort-

gage loans it had made to rural residents and then by retain-

ing the mineral interests when it resold the foreclosed farms,

thus “severing” the mineral interests from the surface. The

.

Tax Court found that this policy of severing and retaining

mineral interests was adopted by Bank directors with the

hope of ultimately recovering all or a part of these losses

(on defaulted loans) through eventual mineral development”

and that in recent years these mineral interests were never

sold back to surface owners, except in extremely rare cir-

cumstances (see, especially, March 19, 1982 Findings, Order

and Judgment); and (4) that 12 U.S.C. § 2055 “read in its

entirety indicates a congressional intent to have Federal land

banks pay all local real estate taxes on the same basis and

to the same extent that other owners are taxed” and further

that § 2055 does not compel or contemplate a result which

“would give Federal land banks a special immunity from

non-discriminatory real estate taxes,” (July 23, 1980, Order

and Memo, page 7).

Upon the Bank’s appeal of the adverse rulings of the Tax

Court to the Minnesota Supreme Court, that court agreed

with substantially all of the Tax Court determinations de-

scribed above. For example, the supreme court found that

the Bank “has neither pleaded nor proved that the tax on

severed mineral interests . . . discriminates against the Bank.“

Nor has the Bank convinced us that the ta is unfair. Indeed

we agree that the nondiscriminatory taz in question ought

to be deemed to come within the basic spirit of the congres-

sional waiver of immunity from taæ contained in 12 U.S.C.

49

The Federal Land Bank of St. Paul, as a federally chartered farm

mortgage lending institution organized under the Federal Farm

Loan Act of 1916 (Act of July 17, 1916, Ch. 245, 39 Stat. 360) and

operating in Minnesota, Michigan, North Dakota, and Wisconsin,

is owned by 55 member banks called “association banks”, which

in turn are owned by stockholders who are borrowers from the

association banks. Net profits flow through the Federal Land

Banks of St. Paul and its member banks to the stockholders in

the form of dividends or lower interest rates on loans.

9

§ 2055.” St. Louis County, Appendix A-7; (emphasis added).

The supreme court then went on to state (there being no

known precedents under g 2055)“ that the clause “according

to its value” in § 2055 limits state and local taxes on Land

Bank property to “ad valorem” taxes; that is, those taxes

directly and precisely related to the value of the property,

an element the court found absent in the case of this extremely

modest $.25 per acre tax.

Your Petitioners urge this Court to reject this unprece-

dented, and narrow interpretation of § 2055 for reasons first

expressed by the Minnesota Tax Court and then succinctly

summarized in the supreme court by Justice Yetka, in his

dissent, quoted in its entirety below:

YETKA, Justice (dissenting).

I dissent. I believe the minimum tax per acre is an ad

valorem tax. I see no necessity that an ad valorem tax

be a perfect tax—one based exactly according to market

value. It would be difficult for the state to measure the

value of minerals on each parcel without drilling and

testing. Therefore, it sets a minimum tax per acre on

* There is no disagreement that Minnesota’s $.25 per acre tax on

severed mineral interests is a tax on real estate. None of the

reported decisions relating to Federal land banks involve taxes

on real estate. The following taxes, none of which were real

estate taxes, were struck down by the courts as being within

the scope of prohibited taxes described in 12 U.S.C. § 2055 or

similar statutes: (1) State royalty tar on gas and oil produced

from mineral estates owned by a Federal land bank, Federal

Land Bank of St. Paul v. North Dakota, 274 N.W.2d 580 (N. D.

1979); (2) State sales tar on building materials bought to repair

and improve mortgage foreclosed buildings owned by a Federal

land bank, Federal Land Bank of St. Paul v. Bismarck Lumber

Co., 314 U.S. 95 (1941); (3) State personal property taz on oil and

gas leases, and royalties derived therefrom, relating to property

owned by a Federal land bank, Federal Land Bank of Wichita v.

Bd. of County Commrs., 368 U.S. 146 (1961).

10

those reserving such minerals. Presumably, in reserving

minerals, the owner is recognizing some value. When the

tax is not discriminatory and is for such a modest amount,

I believe it is reasonable to read section 2055 as per-

mitting the state to collect the tax.

St. Louis County v. Federal Land Bank, Appendix A-11.

ARGUMENT FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

A. LEGISLATIVE HISTORY SUPPORTS MINNESOTA’S

FAIR, NON-DISCRIMINATORY TAXATION OF

FEDERAL LAND BANK SEVERED MINERAL

INTERESTS.

Federal land banks are exempt from federal, state, munici-

pal, and local taxation except taxes on real estate, pursuant

to 12 U.S.C. § 2055, which reads as follows:

Every Federal land bank and every Federal land bank

association and the capital, reserves, and surplus thereof,

and the income derived therefrom shall be exempt from

Federal, State, municipal, and local taxation, except taxes

on real estate held by a Federal land bank or a Federal

land bank association to the same extent, according to

its value, as other similar property held by other persons

is tazed. The mortgages held by the Federal land banks

and the notes, bonds, debentures, and other obligations

issued by the banks or associations shall be deemed and

held to be instrumentalities of the Government of the

United States and, as such, they and the income there-

from shall be exempt from all Federal, State, municipal,

and local taxation, other than Federal income tax lia-

bility of the holder thereof under the Public Debt Act

of 1941 (section 742(a) of Title 31).

11

(Emphasis added) Although this language was enacted by

the Farm Credit Act of 1971 (Public Law 92-181, Title I,

§ 1.21, 85 Stat. 590), it is a re-enactment of language con-

tained in section 26 of the Federal Farm Credit Act of 1916

(Act of July 17, 1916, ch. 245, 39 Stat. 360, § 26).

Congressional debate surrounding both the 1916 and 1971

enactments demonstrate, without qualification, that Federal

land bank real estate is subject to fair, non-discriminatory

real estate taxation. Neither the Minnesota Supreme Court

majority in the St. Louis County case nor the Federal Land

Bank of S. Paul have produced any legislative history to

support their conclusion that the only valid real estate tax

which may be assessed against Federal land bank real estate

under § 2055 is one which is strictly “ad valorem.” On the

contrary, congressional debate in both 1916 and 1971 focused

on the question of whether the benefits conferred upon Fed-

eral land banks through tax exemption are outweighed by

the harm done to other segments of the economy, all the while

assuming state and local taxation of Federal land bank real

estate.

The legislative history of the Federal Farm Loan Act of

1916 is illustrative. The Senate bill, S. 2986, section 29,

granted tax exemption to Federal land banks, except for real

estate taxes. Sen. Dillingham, Vermont, warned against the

dangers of tax exemption as follows:

If the amount of mortgages, we will say, in the next 10

years is to double and one class of them is to be exempted

from taxation, which must run from 1 to 2 percent, it

will be seen at a glance that anybody in competition with

this system will suffer extremely.

I do not know how it is in other sections of the country,

but in New England I think our taxes average from

12

1-1/2 to 2 percent, and if they stand at either the figures

I have given, this aggregation— that is the aggregation

provided by this bill—it seems to me, will be able to

drive all others out of business, and we will find a double

cause of trouble in it from the fact that we will be taking

money from the people in the form of taxes, the benefit

of which they have a right to enjoy. It will take a large

amount of property out of taxation, and when that is

taken out other classes in the community will have to

pay the deficit that has thus been created. In addition

to that, it is a direct attack upon established institutions

in which there has been invested a vast accumulation of

money.

53 Cong. Rec. 6798 (1916).

Senator Cummins, Iowa, stated that if Congress exempted

property from state taxation and if it did so for all govern-

ment functions, it would never create such corporations since

to do so

would withdraw from taxation throughout the country

so large a proportion of its real wealth that the sugges-

tion becomes intolerable, it would not be considered for

a single moment.

53 Cong. Rec. 7306 (1916).

Senator Hollis, New Hampshire, made the following com-

ments in regard to non-exemption of real estate:

We buy from the citizens of a State, from the owners, a

certain tract of land, and we put up a post-office building

on it. That is exempt from taxation. That is discrimina-

tion against every other piece of real estate that does

pay taxes, but we do it and we could do it here. If it

seems wise to Congress in establishing a useful instru-

mentality—one that will exist and be powerful enough

13

to be of some service to the Government — Congress may

exempt its real estate if it wants to, but I think that

would be very poor policy.

53 Cong. Rec. 6966 (1916) (emphasis added). Senator Hollis

later commented that mortgage foreclosed property would be

subject to real estate taxes under the Senate bill. 53 Cong.

Rec. 7021 (1916).

In the House, the bill under consideration also granted tax

exemption, except for real estate taxes. A conference com-

mittee appointed to consider differences between the Senate

and House bills made the following report in regard to tax

exemptions:

The Senate accepts the House provision permitting the

local taxation of real property of joint stock banks, and

it is further agreed that the real property of Federal

land banks and national farm loan associations may be

subject to local tazation.

53 Cong. Rec. 10104 (1916) (emphasis added). Nowhere does

this contemporaneous legislative history surrounding the

enactment of the Federal Farm Loan Act of 1916 hint that

only “ad valorem” local real estate taxes would satisfy this

provision.

In 1971, the debate surrounding the enactment of the Farm

Credit Act of 1971 followed a similar pattern. Senator Tal-

madge, on behalf of the Committee on Agriculture and

Forestry, led the debate on S. 1483 on the floor of the Senate.

He made the following comment concerning tax exemption

for the Federal land banks:

[T]he question of the taxation of the Federal land banks

was raised during the hearings. The committee weighed

carefully the evidence related to taxation and reserve

14

requirements, both of which remained unchanged in the

act. After examining these concerns, the committee con-

cluded that the problem raises committee jurisdictional

questions, but that it would be appropriate for the Fi-

nance Committee to undertake a separate review of the

tax and reserve obligations of the land banks to determine

equitable treatment as compared to other lending institu-

tions.

117 Cong. Rec. 27992 (1971) (emphasis added).

The questions referred to by Sen. Talmadge were those

raised by the private financial community. The Report of

the Senate Subcommittee on Agricultural Credit and Rural

Electrification on S. 1483, the Farm Credit Act of 1971, in

relation to hearings held on May 17, 18, and 20, 1971, contains

at page 451 a letter from E. A. Jaenke, the Governor of the

Farm Credit Administration, to Subcommittee Chairman Sen.

McGovern, dated May 28, 1971, which contains the following

response to the concerns of the private financial community:

Criticism: The Independent Bankers Association of

America, the American Bankers Association, the Mort-

gage Bankers Association of America, the American

Life Commission, and the Life Insurance Association of

America all raised questions regarding the taxation of

the Federal land banks and their reserve requirements

as compared with those of other lending institutions.

Comment: The taxation of the Federal land banks

and their related reserve requirements should not be an

issue in this legislation. The Farm Credit System has

assured Senator Russell B. Long and Congressman Wilbur

Mills, chairmen of their respective tax-writing commit-

tees, and assures this committee, of its willingness to

testify when these committees consider tax legislatica.

15

However, it is appropriate that an explanation of the

tax exemption and reserve requirements is rendered since

the question was raised.

From the beginning, both the Federal land banks and

Federal land bank associations have been exempt from

Federal, state and local taxes, except for state and local

taxes imposed on real property. * * *”

Report, p. 459 (emphasis added).

As with the 1916 legislation, this contemporaneous legisla-

tive history surrounding the enactment of the Farm Credit

Act of 1971 nowhere suggests that only “ad valorem” local

real estate taxes would satisfy § 2055, which was expressly

stated to be a continuation of the 1916 enactment. Farm

Credit Governor Jaenke’s statement that Federal land banks

do, in fact, pay state and local taxes on real estate, as con-

tained in his letter to Senator McGovern (the letter in which

he justified other tax exemptions for Federal land banks)

contains no qualifiers, no reservations, and no shadings of

meaning. It amounts to a straightforward promise to pay

state and local real estate taxes in consideration of retaining

the Federal land banks’ existing tax exemptions.

Governor Jaenke and members of the Congress took the

only practical and responsible position available to them in

regard to state and local taxes on Federal land bank property.

They all knew in 1971 that the thousands of state and local

real estate taxing authorities levied a wide variety of real

estate taxes; some were strictly and mathematically related

to value, i. e., “ad valorem”; others were not; and still others

were somewhere in between.

Furthermore, Congress as well as state and local taxing

authorities knew in 1971 that the United States Supreme

Court had made it clear for many years, in no uncertain terms,

that the Court did not favor federal policy which requires or

16

mandates states to impose strict “ad valorem” real property

taxes. Exactly the opposite is true; wide latitude is granted

to state and local taxing authorities when they impose fair,

non-discriminatory taxes.

The States in the exercise of their taxing power, as with

respect to the exertion of other powers, are subject to

the requirements of the due process and the equal pro-

tection clauses of the Fourteenth Amendment, but that

Amendment imposes no iron rule of equality, prohibiting

the flexibility and variety that are appropriate to schemes

of taxation. The State may tax real and personal property

in a different manner. It may grant exemptions. The

State is not limited to ad valorem taxation. It may impose

different specific taxes upon different trades and pro-

fessions and may vary the rates of excise upon various

products. In levying such taxes, the State is not required

to resort to close distinctions or to maintain a precise,

scientific uniformity with reference to composition, use

or value. To hold otherwise would be to subject the

essential taxing power of the State to an intolerable

supervision, hostile to the basic principles of our Govern-

ment and wholly beyond the protection which the general

clause of the Fourteenth Amendment was intended to

Ohio Oil Co. v. Conway, 281 U.S. 146, 159 (1930) (emphasis

added). Similar language appears in decisions as old as Bells

Gap R. Co. v. Pennsylvania, 134 U.S. 232 (1890), and as new

as Lehnhausen v. Lake Shore Auto Parts Co., 410 U.S. 356

(1978). The Court in Ohio Oi Co. v. Conway, supra, went on

to rule that

the State was not required to grade its tax with a nicety

which would assign to every oil produced a grade abso-

lutely corresponding to its actual value. That would mean

17

that the State could tax only on a strictly ad valorem

basis, a contention wholly inadmissible.

281 U.S. at 161 (emphasis added).

The effect of the rule adopted by the majority in the

St. Louis County case is, in the words of the United States

Supreme Court in Ohio Oil Co., to subject the essential taxing

power of the State [of Minnesota] to an intolerable supervi-

sion, hostile to the basic principles of our Government and

wholly beyond the protection which the general clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment was intended to ensure.“ Consistent

with the above principle, the Contos court specifically found

that real estate taxes in Minnesota have not been required to

be strictly ad valorem” since 1906. (Appendix A-55)

The rule adopted by the majority is also contrary to the

rule of Reconstruction Finance Corporation, supra as reaf-

firmed on December 13, 1982, in Federal Election Commis-

sion, et al. v. National Right to Work Committee, et al.,.

U.S. ——, 51 U.S.L.W. 4087, 4039, 74 L.Ed.2d 364, 373, 103

S. Ct. —— by a unanimous court speaking through Justice

Rehnquist:

“. . [Where Congress had authorized state taxation of

‘real property’ of subsidiaries of the Reconstruction

Finance Corporation, the Court said:

‘We think the congressional purpose can best be ac-

complished by application of settled state rules as to

what constitutes ‘real property’ so long as it is plain,

as it is here, that the state rules do not effect a dis-

crimination against the Government, or patently run

counter to the terms of the Act.’ Reconstruction Fi-

nance Corporation v. Beaver County, Pa., 328 U.S. 204,

210, 90 L.Ed. 1172, 66 S.Ct. 992 (1946).”

18

From all of the above, it is clear that Congress never in-

tended 12 U.S.C. § 2055 to prohibit Minnesota’s fair, non-

discriminatory $.25 per acre tax on severed mineral interests.

B. MINNESOTA’S TAX OF $.25 PER ACRE ON SEV-

ERED MINERAL INTERESTS IS SUFFICIENTLY

RELATED TO THE VALUE OF THOSE INTERESTS

TO SATISFY 12 U.S.C. § 2055.

12 U.S.C. § 2055 permits local taxes on Federal land bank

real estate to the same extent, according to its value, as other

similar property held by other persons is taxed”.

As previously mentioned, the Minnesota Tax Court ruled

that the $.25 per acre severed mineral tax was validly applied

to Bank owned severed mineral interests under 12 U.S.C.

§ 2055. In so ruling, the Tax Court relied upon the Contos

decision, which upheld the constitutionality of the $.25 per

acre tax on severed mineral interests in all respects. In its

decision in Contos, the Minnesota Supreme Court firmly

established that severed mineral interests not otherwise taxed

are valuable property rights. In Contos, U.S. Steel and other

plaintiffs owned over 1 million acres of severed mineral in-

terests scattered throughout the state. The Contos court af-

firmed district court findings related to value of severed

mineral interests as follows:

“. . . [T]he district court found that every mineral in-

terest in Minnesota has some value as a property interest

regardless of its location, although the value of mineral

interests may vary from one part of the state to another.”

Contos, (Appendix A-51.) (emphasis added);

(2) “[t]aken together with the district court’s finding

that every mineral interest has some value as a property

19

interest regardless of its location, the uniform tax im-

posed on severed mineral interests represents a reason-

able exercise of the legislature’s authority to tax a class

of real property that has escaped taxation.”

Contos, (Appendix A-56.) (emphasis added) ;

(3) tjhe record clearly establishes that severed min-

eral interests were not paying any taxes, that some sev-

ered mineral interests were created to avoid ad valorem

taxation, and that severed mineral interests have some

value. The legislature’s response, which assures that all

severed mineral interests will pay at least some taz, is

not unreasonable as an exercise of its power to tax.”

Contos, (Appendix A-57, note 5.) (emphasis added).

The Minnesota Tax Court, in its March 19, 1982 Order

granting summary judgment against the Bank and affirming

the $.25 per acre on 484,000 acres of Bank-owned severed

mineral interests scattered throughout the State, made the

following findings:

“18. The present policy of the Bank is never to sell it

severed mineral interests [acquired through foreclosure

of farm mortgages] except in situations where refusal

would work undue hardship or release would be to the

Bank’s advantage, and then only for valuable considera-

tion.

14. Since 1978 the Bank has received a low of $100

for 682 acres in Clay County ($.15 per acre), to a high

of $100 for two acres in Kandiyohi County ($50 per

acre) for selling or releasing mineral rights.

15. Since March 1975 the Bank has had a policy of

never selling severed mineral interests for less than $1.25

per acre.

17. Every mineral interest has some value as a prop-

erty right regardless of its location, although the value

of an interest in one part of the state may vary from

that in another.” Tax Court Order, March 19, 1982,

Appendix A-16.

The Tax Court then concluded that its finding that every

mineral interest owned by the Bank has some value, brings

the case within Contos, and that the mineral interests are

therefore “fully subject to tax under Minn. Stat. § 273.13,

subd. 2(a)”. Tax Court Order, March 19, 1982, Appendix A-17.

It is important to notice that the $.25 per acre tax is assessed

under the terms of § 273.13, subd. 2a, only if no other mineral

tax has been imposed on the mineral interest. The portion

of the Contos opinion upon which the Tax Court was relying

described the interrelationship between severed mineral in-

terests valued and taxed under § 273.13, subd. 2(a), and

mineral interests valued and taxed under other laws, as

follows:

“A class of property [severed mineral interests] having

some value was not paying its proportionate share of

taxes. The remedy chosen by the legislature was to tax

mineral interest on a uniform basis, which is but one

part of the general system of mineral taxation. The tax

is imposed only on those mineral interests not “valued

and taxed under other laws relating to the taxation of

minerals, gas, coal, oil or other similar interest.” Minn.

Stat. 273.13, subd. 2a.” Contos, Appendix A-53.

In short, the Contos court recognized, first of all, that severed

mineral interests not otherwise taxed possess value as an

interest in real property and then, secondly, approved of

classifying these interests in a separate, minimum tax, classi-

fication.

21

In the instant case, (St. Louis County), the Minnesota

Supreme Court majority nowhere expressly disagrees with

the Tax Court or the Contos court in regard to any of the

above. In fact it specifically agrees that no discrimination

has been pleaded or proved against the Bank, that no unfair-

ness has been found, and “that the nondiscriminatory tax in

question ought to be deemed to come within the basic spirit

of the Congressional waiver of immunity from tax contained

in 12 U.S.C. § 2055”. St. Louis County, 338 N.W.2d 743,

Appendix A-6. The majority disagrees with the Tax Court

solely because it believes that § 2055 requires that local real

estate taxes must be strict “ad valorem” taxes and that the

$.25 per acre is tax is not such a tax. The difficulty with

the majority’s position is that § 2055, as written, does not

impose such a strict standard; rather, it is the technical

interpretation placed upon the statute by the majority that

imposes the standard. The Contos opinion relied upon by the

Tax Court openly recognized that severed mineral interests

included within the minimum value class established by

§ 273.13, subd. 2(a), were not valued on a purely “ad valorem”

basis, but that the values of these interests were, neverthe-

less, sufficiently related to value to justify the tax, considering

the practical taxing difficulties involved:

“. . . [T]he district court found that most severed min-

eral interests cannot be assessed for ad valorem property

tax purposes for two reasons:

“*(1) The value of the mineral in the ground can

only be determined by prohibitively expensive ezxplora-

tion such as drilling and drill core analysis; and

“*(2) Data currently available to assessors on sales

and exchanges of the property rights in mineral estates

(i.e., severed mineral interests) is very limited. There-

fore, in most cases such available data is insufficient to

permit the derivation of market values for individual

severed mineral interests from the sales prices or values

of comparable interests.” Contos, (Appendix A-50.) (em-

phasis added).

By so affirming this floor for mineral taxation in Minne-

sota, the Contos opinion relied upon by the Tax Court did no

basic violence to the concept of “ad valorem” taxation.

In contrast, the majority in the present case, in rigidly

insisting upon “ad valorem” taxation for severed mineral

interests not otherwise taxed, gives no reason other than

the “plain language” canon of interpretation for rejecting

the tax. The majority makes no attempt to justify the ab-

surdity of requiring local governments to spend hundreds

of dollars on mineral interest valuation experts, or thousands

of dollars on drilling and drill core analysis, on a tract of

Bank owned severed minerals to prove what already has

been proven; namely that the tract is worth at least $1.25

per acre pursuant to Bank policy of never selling for less

than that amount, and occasionally selling for up to $50

per acre. Minn. Tax Court, Order, March 19, 1982, Findings

14 and 15 (Appendix A-16). In fact, the basic valuation

principle the Bank applies to its severed mineral interests

is that they are too valuable to sell because of the Bank’s hope

of “eventual mineral development” of their interests. Minn.

Taz Court, Order, March 19, 1982, Findings 12 and 15,

(Appendix A-16). No more valuation information than this

is necessary to satisfy § 2055.

In the circumstances described above, the Federal Land

Bank of St. Paul has no basis for complaint. In the words

of the majority, the Bank’s stockholders are being treated

“fairly” and “non-discriminatorily” in all respects; just the

same as U.S. Steel stockholders or Allison Contos in Contos.

—_

The Bank, therefore, is not entitled to the majority’s judicially

created tax exemption based on technicality. To do so de-

prives local governments and Minnesota Indians of sorely

needed revenue and grants the Bank unfair competitive ad-

vantage over other lending institutions, results never intended

by Congress in enacting § 2055.

C. THE MAJORITY OPINION IN ST. LOUIS COUNTY

FAILS TO CONSIDER THE “GOLDEN RULE” OF

STATUTORY INTERPRETATION THAT UNREA-

SONABLE INTERPRETATIONS ARE TO BE RE-

JECTED IN FAVOR OF REASONABLE ALTERNA-

TIVES.

Sutherland, Statutory Construction, 4th Ed., Volume 2A,

states that “reasonableness” is the foundation for statutory

interpretation :

§ 45.12. Reasonable interpretation.

It has been called a golden rule of statutory interpreta-

tion that unreasonableness of the result produced by one

among alternative possible interpretations of a statute

is reason for rejecting that interpretation in favor of

another which would produce a reasonable result. (Cita-

tions omitted) It is said to be a “well established prin-

ciple of statutory interpretation that the law favors

rational and sensible construction” (Citations omitted).

Sutherland, in regard to the “literal” or “plain language”

rule chosen by the St. Louis County majority in the present

case, makes the following observation:

. . » Declarations in favor of literal or plain“ meanings

often are accompanied by disclaimers that statutes have

been construed in arriving at meanings which are so

characterized. (Citations omitted) As further explained,

24

in the language of a court, if. . . the intention of the

legislature is perfectly clear from the language used,

rules of construction are not to be applied.” (Citations

omitted) Statements of that nature imply that literal or

plain meanings are meanings which are arrived at by

considering nothing outside or beyond the “letter” or the

statute itself. What seems to be suggested is that, when

he uses the approach of literalism, a judge puts on

blinders, so to speak, in order to obscure from view

everything but just the tert of the statute whose effect

on the matter at issue is in question.. Sutherland, Vol.

2A, § 46.02 Literal Meaning, p. 52.

Sutherland goes on to describe the limits of “literalism” in

the following terms:

. . . The literal interpretation of the words of an act

should not prevail if it creates a result contrary to the

apparent intention of the legislature and if the words

are sufficiently flexible to admit of a construction which

will effectuate the legislative intention. The intention

prevails over the letter, and the letter must if possible

be read so as to conform to the spirit of the act. “While

the intention of the legislature must be ascertained from

the words used to express it, the manifest reason and

obvious purpose of the law should not be sacrificed to

a literal interpretation of such words.” (Citations

omitted) Sutherland, Vol. 2A, § 46.07 Limits of Literal-

ism, p. 65.

In its analysis of the language of § 2055, the St. Louis

County majority, after admitting that the $.25 per acre tax

“ought to be deemed to come within the basic spirit of the

Congressional waiver of immunity” from state and local real

estate taxation contained in § 2055, obscures from its view

everything but the “plain language” of the statute. The

majority then reaches a conclusion that produces the follow-

ing unreasonable results: ;

(1) The majority rejects a local real estate tax that it

finds to be fair and non-discriminatory. In so doing it rejects

the obvious interpretation, made by both the Tax Court and

the dissent in St. Louis County, that all that § 2055 requires

is that the tax be fair and nondiscriminatory. The majority

decision is contrary to this Court’s interpretation of similar

language in Reconstruction Finance Corp. v. Beaver Co.

(supra). Furthermore, the majority reasoning fails to recog-

nize the fact that the $.25 per acre tax is related to value

because the tax is applied only to those severed minerals that

are included in the minimum value class, which is the tax

class of last resort when no other mineral tax has been as-

sessed. The majority opinion does not even consider the

alternative possibilities that the words “according to its value”

may be intended to prohibit local real estate taxes based solely

on income derived from the property, or that the words may

be disregarded as mere surplusage;

(2) The opinion of the majority is unreasonable because

the effect of the opinion, in order to validly tax severed

minerals under § 2055, is to require the Minnesota legislature

to enact a new severed mineral tax law which requires precise

mathematical “ad valorem” valuation of these property in-

terests, a task the legislature has already found to be impos-

sible, for all practical purposes, (Minn. Stat. § 272.089, Ap-

pendix A-75). Such a result is not favored by this Court under

Reconstruction Finance Corp. (supra):

“To permit the states to tax, and yet to require them to

alter their long standing practice of assessments and

collections, would create the kind of confusion and resul-

tant hampering of local tax machinery which we are cer-

tain Congress did not intend”. 328 U.S. 210 (emphasis

added).

*

26

(3) Because of the practical impossibilities of precisely

valuing severed mineral interests for “ad valorem” tax pur-

poses, the majority opinion effectively deprives local govern-

ments of real property tax base consisting of 484,000 acres

of severed mineral] interests, thus eliminating another source

of badly needed revenue for local governments and Minnesota

Indians. In addition, this expanded exemption from local

real estate taxation provides the Federal land banks with an

additional competitive advantage over other lending institu-

tions. Both of these consequences were viewed with disfavor

in legislative debate surrounding enactment of the law;

(4) By depriving local governments of 484,000 acres of

severed mineral interest tax base, the majority opinion un-

fairly shifts a tax burden imposed non-discriminatorily on

Federal land bank property to other real estate taxpayers.

The ironic result of such a shift is to add to the tax burden

of other rural taxpayers such as farmers who are struggling

to fend off federal loan foreclosures. Here it should be noted

that on May 5, 1983, a federal district court in Bismark, N. D.,

in an unreported opinion, issued a temporary injunction which

prevented the Farmers Home Administration from foreclos-

ing on any more farm mortgages. Coleman et al. v. Block, et al.,

D.C.N.D., S. W. Div. No. Al-83-47;

(5) The majority’s conclusion that the words “according

to its value” permits only strict “ad valorem” taxes is an

unreasonably narrow interpretation that serves as adverse

precedent for statutes containing similar language, such as

12 USC § 1433 (federal home loan banks), 12 USC § 1723

a(c)(1) (government national mortgage associations); and

12 U.S.C. § 3019 (a) (National Consumer Cooperative Bank).

(6) The majority opinion casts doubt on other local real

estate taxes that are not strictly “ad valorem” that are as-

sessed against real estate owned by the Bank. In Minnesota,

27

these include § 298.26, the tax on property interests containing

deposits of taconite ore, which provides a $10 per acre

mazimum tax, if less than 1,000 tons of iron ore concentrates

are not produced from a 40 acre tract in a year. Appendix A-78.

From all of the above it is clear that the majority decision

is unreasonable and therefore violates the “golden rule” of

statutory interpretation.

CONCLUSION

In First Agricultural National Bank of Berkshire County,

Mass. v. State Tax Comm., 392 U.S. 389 (1968) the U.S.

Supreme Court disallowed a state sales and use tax imposed

on purchases of personal property by a national bank. The

statute in question, 12 U.S.C. § 548, was at that time worded

almost identically to 12 U.S.C. § 2055. Notwithstanding the

fact that the tax was a sales tax and the property was not

real estate, Mr. Justice Marshall expressed his dissatisfaction

with the situation as follows:

“(T]he implied immunity of one government and its

agencies from taxation by the other should, as a principle

of Constitutional construction, be narrowly restricted.

For the expansion of the immunity of the one govern-

ment correspondingly curtails the sovereign power of

the other to tax, and when that immunity is invoked

by the private citizen it tends to operate for his benefit

at the expense of the taxing government and without

corresponding benefit to the government in whose name

the immunity is claimed.” 392 U.S. 362, 88 S.Ct. 2185.

Justice Marshal pointed out the similarities between federally

chartered national banks and state banks and then concluded

that the waiver of tax exemption under § 548:

“was ‘merely designed to insure that the inherent taz-

ing powers which were recognizéd in” that case—‘e.g.,

the power to tax the real property of the banks as well

as the privately owned shares—be exercised in a non-

discriminatory fashion’ (case cited)”. (emphasis added)

892 U.S. 362, 88 S.Ct. 2185.

The present case is almost identical to Reconstruction Fi-

nance Corp. v. Beaver County, Pa. (supra), where this Court

unanimously affirmed the Beaver County real property tax on

defense plant machinery, under 15 U.S.C. § 610, a statute

worded virtually the same as 12 U.S.C. § 2055, but which

expressly prohibited local taxes on personal property :

„. . . Congress in permitting local taxation of the real

property, made it impossible to apply the law with uni-

form tax consequences in each state and locality. For the

several states, and even the localities within them, have

diverse methods of assessment, collection, and refunding.

Tax rates vary widely. To all of these variable tax con-

sequences Congress has expressly subjected the “real

property” of the Defense Plant Corporation. In view of

this express provision the normal assumption that Con-

gress intends its law to have the same consequences

throughout the nation cannot be made. Furthermore,

Congress, had it desired complete nationwide uniformity

as to tax consequences, could have stipulated for fixed

payments in lieu of taxes, as it has done in other statutes.

(footnote omitted) Nor can we see how application of a

local rule governing what is “real property” for tax pur-

poses would impair the Congressional program for the

production of war materials any more than the program

would be impaired by the action of Congress in leaving

the fixing of rates of taxation to local communities.

We think the Congressional purpose can best be ac-

complished by application of settled state rules as to what

constitutes “real property” so long as it is plain, as it is

here, that the state rules do not effect a discrimination

29

*

against the government, or patently run counter to the

terms of the Act. Concepts of real property are deeply

rooted in state traditions, customs, habits, and laws. Local

tax administration is geared to those concepts. To permit

the states to tax, and yet to require them to alter their

longstanding practice of assessments and collections,

would create the kind of confusion and resultant hamper-

ing of local tax machinery which we are certain Congress

did not intend, The fact that Congress subjected Defense

Plant Corporation’s properties to local taxes to the same

extent according to its value as other real property is

taxed” indicated an intent to integrate Congressional

permission to tax with established local tax assessment

and collection machinery.

. Affirmed.”

$28 U.S. 209. (emphasis added.) The basic principle of the

R.F.C. case has recently been reaffirmed in Federal Election

Commission, et al. v. National Right to Work Committee, et al.,

— U.S. —, 51 U.S.L.W. 4037, 74 L.Ed.2d 364, 103 S.Ct. —.

In the present case, there is no dispute that the $.25 per

acre severed mineral tax is a tax on real estate. As with Contos

plaintiffs, the Bank has severed and reserved its mineral inter-

ests for the purpose of realizing profits on future mineral de-

velopment. As in Contos, profits from Bank operations inure

to the benefit of private stockholders. The majority of the

Minnesota Supreme Court below, in St. Louis County, de-

termined that the tax was fair, nondiscriminatory, and

recognized that it was in keeping with the spirit of the tax

waiver of § 2055, but rejected the tax. If the majority’s deci-

sion is allowed to stand, local governments and Minnesota

Indians will be deprived of sorely needed revenue, and the

Bank will be granted an unfair competitive advantage over

other lending institutions, results never intended by Congress

in enacting § 2055. Under all of these circumstances, the

30

majority opinion below deserves to summarily reversed under

U.S. Sup. Ct. Rule 23, 28 U.S. C. A.

Your petitioners respectfully request that this petition for

a writ of certiorari be granted.

February 9, 1984.

HUBERT H. HUMPHREY III

Attorney General

State of Minnesota

PHILIP J. OLFELT

Assistant Attorney General

875 Centennial Building

St. Paul, MN 55155

Tel. No. (612) 296-3294

Counsel of Record

ALAN L. MITCHELL

St. Louis County Attorney

MICHAEL R. DEAN

Assistant St. Louis County

Attorney

501 St. Louis County

Courthouse

Duluth, MN 55802

Tel. No. (218) 726-2323

Attorneys for County of

St. Louis, State of Minnesota

TUPPER, SMITH &

MATTSON

KENT P. TUPPER, Esq.

P.O. Box 160

Walker, MN 56484

Tel. No. (218) 547-1711

Attorneys for Minnesota

Chippewa Tribe

INDEX TO APPENDIX

: Page

St. Louis County, State of Minnesota, and Minnesota

Chippewa Tribe v. The Federal Land Bank of St. Paul;

Minn. Sup. Ct., Oct. 7, 1983, 338 N.W.2d 741 ....... A-1

St. Louis Cty. et al. v. Federal Land Bank of St. Paul,

Nov. 16, 1983; Minn. Supreme Court Order denying

% esas de cet ðͤ aves 0% A-12

St. Louis Cty. et al. v. Federal Land Bank of St. Paul

Minnesota Tax Court, Finding, Conclusions & Order

for Judgment, March 19, 19122 A-13

St. Louis County et al. v. Federal Land Bank of

St. Paul, Minnesota Tax Court Order,

,,,, ² y A-22

St. Louis Cty. et al. v. Federal Land Bank of St. Paul

Minnesota Tax Court Order for Summary Judgment,

r . . A-27

Federal Land Bank Answer in St. Louis County

Tax Delinquency Proceedings, and Letter of

r, kee peer eee» bce ie 3. moma A-36

Contos, et al. v. Herbst, et al. (Minn. 1979)

,,,, eae A-40

Minnesota Statutes 1982, Section 116J.64 .......... A-72

Minnesota Statutes 1982, Section 272.0 999 A-15

Minnesota Statutes 1982, Section 272.04,

, Ace ete Pact 6s ʃ—»— A-T7

Minnesota Statutes 1982, Section 273.13,

SRE ̃ —. aig clap ae eT A-77

Minnesota Statutes 1982, Section 298.26 ..__—s... . A-78

A-l

APPENDIX

In the Matter of the Proceedings to Enforce Payment of the

Tax on Mineral Interests Assessed Pursuant to Minn. Stat.

§ 278.18, Subdivision 2a, and Remaining Delinquent on the

First Monday in January, 1977, 1978, and 1979, for the

County of St. Louis, State of Minnesota.

COUNTY OF ST. LOUIS,

Respondent,

and

MINNESOTA CHIPPEWA TRIBE,

Respondent,

C8-82-630, C4-82-846

v.

THE FEDERAL LAND BANK OF ST. PAUL,

Relator (C3-82-630),

Appellant (C4-82-846).

Nos. C3-82-630, C4-82-846.

Supreme Court of Minnesota.

Oct. 7, 1983.

In tax enforcement proceedings, Federal Land Bank claimed

exemption from state severed mineral interest tax. The Tax

Court upheld the tax as applied to the Federal Land Bank.

On review by certiorari, the Supreme Court, Coyne, J., held

that federal statute governing waiver of immunity from tax

on real estate held by Federal Land Bank precluded imposi-

tion of the severed mineral interest tax on the Federal Land

Bank, in that the tax was not an ad valorem tax.

A-2

Reversed.

Yetka, J., dissented with opinion.

* * 7 * —

Syllabus by the Court

A flat per- acre or per- interest tax on severed mineral in-

terests, even though it is a nondiscriminatory tax on real

estate, is not nondiscriminatory “according to its value” and

therefore does not come within Congress’ express waiver of

the immunity of a Federal Land Bank from state taxes, 12

U.S. C. § 2055.

Dorsey & Whitney, William J. Hempel, John W. Windhorst,

Jr., and Bruce Schnider, Minneapolis, for appellant, relator.

Hubert H. Humphrey, III, Atty. Gen., C. Paul Faraci,

Deputy Atty. Gen., Philip J. Olfelt, Asst. Atty. Gen., St. Paul,

for respondent State of Minn.

Alan L. Mitchell, County Atty., and Michael R. Dean, Asst.

County Atty., Duluth, for County of St. Louis.

Tupper, Smith & Mattson, Kent P. Tupper, Walker, for

respondent Minnesota Chippewa Tribe.

Heard, considered and decided by the court en banc.

COYNE, Justice.

This case involves a challenge by the Federal Land Bank of

St. Paul (the Bank“) to taxes assessed under Minn. Stat.

§ 273.13, subd. 2a (1982) by several counties on severed min-

eral interests held by the Bank. The Bank claims that it is ex-

empt from the tax for two reasons: (1) the tax is not a tax on

real estate “according to its value,” and the Bank is therefore

exempt under a federal statute (12 U.S.C. § 2055); and (2)

the tax is unconstitutional notwithstanding this court’s dec

sion in Contos v. Herbst, 278 N.W.2d 782 (Minn.), appeal

dismissed sub nom. Prest v. Herbst, 444 U.S. 804, 100 S.Ct.

A-3

24, 62 L.Ed.2d 17 (1979). The Minnesota Tax Court upheld

the tax as applied to the Bank, and the Bank appealed. We

reverse on the basis of the federal statute and therefore do

not reach the constitutional issue.

The Bank refused to pay the taxes assessed for the years

1975, 1976, and 1977 on its severed mineral interests in land

in St. Louis County' and filed answers in the district court

under Minn. Stat. § 279.15 (1982). The proceedings were

transferred to the tax court under Minn. Stat. § 271.01, subds.

5 and 6 (1982). The state and the county (hereinafter “the

state”) appeared on behalf of enforcement of the tax. The

Minnesota Chippewa Tribe subsequently intervened in the

tax court proceedings as an interested party .?

Both the Bank and the state moved for summary judgment.

On July 23, 1980, the tax court ordered summary judgment

for the state, finding that the Bank was not exempt under

11 U.S.C. § 2055 and that any constitutional challenge was

disposed of by Contos. On the Bank’s petition for rehearing,

however, the court ordered an evidentiary hearing limited to

the factual issue whether some severed mineral interests are

valueless, making a tax on all such interests unconstitutional.*

Following the hearing, the tax court found as fact that every

mineral interest has some value, although the value of mineral

interests may vary from place to place within the state, and,

1 The Bank paid taxes on one interest, but only as required by the

county for the recording of a deed affecting surface rights.

2 Under Minn. Stat. § 273.13, subd. 2a, 20% of the tax on severed

mineral interests is put into a fund to be used for business loans

to Indians. Minn. Stat. § 116J.64, subd. 6 (1982).

The tax court found that the determination in Contos that all

mineral interests have value was merely a determination that

the district court’s finding in that case was not clearly erroneous.

Therefore, according to the tax court, the Bank in the present

case had a right to try to prove otherwise.

A4

relying on Contos, concluded that the tax was constitutional.

Proceedings for review of the tax court decision by certiorari

and the Bank’s appeal from the judgment entered thereon

have been consolidated.

I.

a. Taz on Severed Mineral Interests. The severed mineral

interest is a type of estate in real property—the owner of the

estate owns an interest in the minerals produced from the

property but does not own the surface of the property. Minn.

Stat. § 273.13, subd. 2a (1982). Severed mineral interests

exist in much of Minnesota and are especially common in

northeastern Minnesota. Contos v. Herbst, 278 N.W.2d at

735. In Washburn v. Gregory Co., 125 Minn. 491, 147 N.W.

706 (1914), this court held that severed mineral interests are

separate interests in land, taxable separately from the surface

interest and do not forfeit to the state for nonpayment of

taxes on the surface interest. The legislature subsequently

found that the severed mineral interests themselves are rarely

taxed because of assessment difficulties. Minn. Stat. § 272.039

(1982). Therefore, separate ownership of surface and mineral

estates was practiced widely as a means of holding mineral

rights indefinitely while remaining effectively immune from

taxation and tax forfeiture.

The legislature cited the above factors as reasons for en-

acting the Mineral Registration Act in 1973, Minn. Laws

1973, c. 650, art. XX. Minn. Stat. § 272.039 (1982). The Act

was designed to enforce the registration of severed mineral

interests under § 93.52 (enacted in 1969) and to tax those

interests. First, the Act added to § 93.55, providing that such

interests would forfeit to the state if not registered within

a specified period. Second, the Act imposed the tax involved

in this case upon severed mineral interests not taxed under

A-5

other provisions. Minn. Stat. § 273.13, subd. 2a (1982).* Third,

the Act explicitly provided that severed mineral interests are

subject to forfeiture for nonpayment of the above tax. Minn.

Stat. § 272.04, subd. 1 (1982).

In Contos v. Herbst, 278 N.W. 732 (Minn. 1979), plaintiff-

owners of severed mineral interests (the plaintiffs included

U.S. Steel and Burlington Northern Railroad) challenged the

tax and registration forfeiture provisions of the Act. This

court held that the tax was constitutional because (1) it was

reasonable to classify severed interests separately from un-

severed interests for taxation, and (2) property taxes need

not be related to value. 278 N.W.2d at 736-41.“

b. Federal Land Bank and Its Mineral Policies. The Bank

is a federally chartered instrumentality of the United States.

One of twelve Federal Land Banks, it was established in 1917

pursuant to the Federal Farm Loan Act (Acts of July 17,

1916, chapter 245, 39 Stat. 360) and is presently governed by

12 U.S.C. §§ 2011-2055. The Bank provides long-term agri-

cultura] loans to farmers in Michigan, Minnesota, North

Dakota, and Wisconsin. Each borrower becomes a member

of a Federal Land Bank Association; the Associations own

4 Mineral interests which have been valued are taxed on the basis

of value. Unmined iron ore is taxed on the basis of value pursuant

to Minn. Stat. § 273.13, subd. 2, or § 273.15 (1982). Unmined

taconites and iron sulphides are assessed and taxed according to

value subject to a maximum tax of $10.00 per acre. Minn. Stat.

§ 298.26 (1982). All other severed mineral interests, to the extent

they can be valued, are susceptible to ad valorem taxation pur-

suant to Minn. Stat. § 272.04 (1982).

5 However, this court struck down as unconstitutional the for-

feiture provisions because adequate notice and hearing were not

provided. Minn. Stat. § 93.55 was subsequently amended to pro-

vide notice and a hearing before forfeiture. Minn. Laws 1979,

c. 303, art. 10, f 1.

A-6

the stock of the Bank. The Associations are similar to coop-

eratives; the net earnings of the Bank eventually inure to its

individual borrowers in the form either of dividends or of

lower interest rates on their variable interest loans.

The Bank obtains severed mineral interests by reserving

these interests when it sells any property upon which it has

foreclosed. The Bank initiated this practice in the 1930’s,

when it foreclosed on many farms and could not recover the

unsatisfied debt on resale. Most of the Bank’s interests are

50% interests in perpetuity. The remaining 50% interests

belong to the surface owners and are therefore unsevered

interests. As of the end of 1980, the Bank owned about 3,200

mineral interests situated in 85 of Minnesota’s 87 counties

and covering about 484,000 gross mineral acres. These Minne-

sota interests have provided almost no mineral income for

the Bank. It is the Bank’s policy never to release or sell its

severed mineral interests except to avoid hardship to the

surface owner or expense to the Bank.

II.

The Bank has neither pleaded nor proved that the tax on

severed mineral interests, Minn. Stat. § 273.13, subd. 2a

(1982), discriminates against the Bank. Nor has the Bank

convinced us that the tax is unfair.* Indeed, we agree with

the tax court that the nondiscriminatory tax in question ought

to be deemed to come within the basic spirit of the Congres-

sional waiver of immunity from tax contained in 12 U.S.C.

§ 2055. Unfortunately, however, it is outside the letter of the

waiver and we are, therefore, required to recognize the Bank’s

®See Contos v. Herbst, 278 N.W.2d 732 (Minn. 1979) (this unique

method of taxing severed mineral interests does not violate the

uniformity clause of the Minnesota Constitution. Minn. Const.

art. 10, § 1).

A-7

statutory immunity from the tax imposed by Minn. Stat.

§ 273.13, subd. 2a (1982).

Section 2055 provides, in relevant part:

Every Federal land bank and every Federal land bank

association and the capital, reserves, and surplus thereof,

and the income derived therefrom shall be exempt from

Federal, State, municipal, and local taxation, except tares

on real estate held by a Federal land bank or a Federal

land bank association to the same extent, according to

its value, as other similar property held by other persons

is taxed. * * *

(Emphasis added). The exemption from state taxation and

attendant waiver of immunity were part of the Federal Farm

Loan Act of 1916, Act of July 17, 1916, ch. 245, 39 Stat. 360.7

Although the clause—“to the same extent, according to its

value, as other real estate is taxed”—appeared for more than

100 years in the waiver of immunity contained in the Na-

tional Banking Act.* and although the same clause appears

in statutes exempting other federal instrumentalities from

state taxation,“ we are aware of no cases in which application

of the waiver of immunity to a flat or area-based general

712 U.S.C. § 2055 was adopted in 1971, Pub. L. 92-181, Title I, § 1.21,

85 Stat. 590, but the operative language involved here has re-

mained substantially unchanged since 1916. 12 U.S.C.A. §§ 931,

933 (West 1969); Federal Farm Loan Act of 1916, ch. 245, 39

Stat. 360, § 26.

The genesis of section 2055 is probably a section of the National

Banking Act of 1864, Act of June 3, 1864, ch. 106, § 41, 13 Stat. 111,

Rev. Stat., § 5219, which stated that national banks were exempt

from state taxation, except taxes imposed on real estate “to the

same extent, according to its value, as other real estate is taxed.”

This provision was carried forward in 12 U.S.C. § 548, 12 U.S.C.A.

§ 548 (West 1969), until the tax exemption for national banks

was repealed in 1969.

FE. ., 12 USC. §§ 1433 (Federal Home Loan Banks) and 1825

(Federal Deposit Insurance Corp.), both enacted in the 1930's, and

12 U.S.C. § 3019(a) (National Consumer Cooperative Bank, estab-

lished in 1978).

A-8

distribution tax on real estate has been at issue. The plain

language of section 2055, however, does not admit of con-

struction. It provides, in perfectly straightforward terms,

that the Bank is exempt from state taxes except nondis-

criminatory value-based taxes on real estate.

[1] The state commends to us the statement in Swords

v. Nutt, 11 F.2d 936 (9th Cir. 1926) on which the tax court

relied: “[T]he sole purpose of section 5219 [that section of

the National Banking Act upon which section 2055 was pat-

terned] is to protect the real property of national banks

against unequal assessments or assessments that shall dis-

criminate against the same.“ The Swords case, which held that

the real estate of a national bank was not exempt from a non-

discriminatory special assessment because it was a payment

for improvements directly benefitting the land and not a tax,

is inapposite.'® There is no doubt that the obligation imposed

by $ 272.13, subd. 2a, is a tax. Furthermore, to limit the tax

immunity provided by § 2055 to discriminatory real estate

taxes, whether or not value-based, would require us to ignore

the phrase “according to its value” or treat it as meaningless.

But every word and phrase of the statute should be given

meaning if possible. E.g., Gale v. Commissioner of Taxation,

228 Minn. 345, 37 N.W.2d 711 (1949).

10 There is also considerable doubt about the vitality of the holding

in Swords. E.g., U.S. v. City of Adair, 539 F.2d 1185 (8th Cir. 1976)

(Community Credit Corporation declared immune from special

assessment because Congress had not expressly waived immunity

from special assessment, which was in essence a tax).

11 The absence of the phrase “according to its value” in the tax

exemption statutes of three other federal instrumentalities is a

further indication that ignoring its presence in § 2055 is inap-

propriate. 12 U.S.C. §§ 1768 (credit unions), 2098 (production

credit associations) 2134 (banks for cooperatives), all include a

waiver of immun..y from taxation of tangible personal, as well

as real, property “to the same extent as similar property is

taxed.”

A-9

[2-4] The requirement that the tax be related to value

limits the tax which a state may levy on the Bank’s real

estate to an ad valorem (literally “according to value”) tax,

for which real estate is assessed and the tax rate is applied

on the same basis to the assessed value of all real estate

similarly situated in the taxing district. Cf. Miners National

Bank of Butte v. Silver Bow County, 116 Mont. 31, 148 P.2d

538 (1944) ; Land Title Bank & Trust Co. v. Ward, 20 F.Supp.

810 (E.D. Pa. 1937) (interpreting without discussion, but

in a different context, the waiver of immunity formerly ap-

plicable to national banks). It is clear to us that the tax im-

posed by § 273.13, subd. 2a, on severed mineral interests is

not an ad valorem tax. It is a flat tax of $.25 per acre or

$2.00 per interest. The state contends that it is simply a

“minimum” tax within the ad valorem system. But the tax

never varies according to the location or quality of the mineral

interest; by its own terms it is inapplicable to mineral inter-

ests whose value has been determined. The very reason for

the flat tax is that very few such interests will ever be as-

sessed. Minn. Stat. § 272.039 (1982). An ad valorem tax, on

the other hand, even if it contained some provision for a

minimum tax, would vary to some extent from interest to in-

terest because, as the tax court found, “the value of an in-

terest in one part of the state may vary from that in another.”

Since the severed mineral interest tax pursuant to § 273.13,

subd. 2a, is unrelated to value, section 2055 precludes its

imposition on the Bank’s interests.'?

12 See Stete v. Lakeside Land Co., 71 Minn. 283, 73 N.W. 970 (1898)

(one-cent-per-ton tax on iron ore held unconstitutional under

former uniformity clause of Minnesota Constitution). In Contos,

in which we upheld the tax on severed mineral interests, we

distinguished Lakeside Land Co., noting that since 1906 the

uniformity clause has not required taxes to be related to value.

Contos implied, however, that if a relation to value were required,

the tax would have been impermissible.

N

1

1 7

A-10

(5) Our conclusion is reinforced by the standard appli-

cable in the interpretation of statutes protective of federal in-

strumentalities. A federal instrumentality is immune from all

state taxes, whether or not discriminatory,'* unless the state

can show that Congress clearly and expressly has waived the

immunity. E.g., First Agricultural National Bank of Berk-

shire County v. State Tax Commission, 392 U.S. 339, 88 S.Ct.

2173, 20 L.Ed.2d 1138 (1968) (immunity from a state sales

and use tax on personal property was not waived clearly in

the national bank statute, so the bank was immune) ; Federal

Reserve Bank of St. Louis v. Metrocentre Improvement Dis-

13 It is not clear how this presumed immunity came about. McCul-

loch v. Maryland, 17 U.S. (4 Wheat.) 316, 4 L.Ed. 579 (1819) held

that a federal instrumentality is constitutionally immune from

discriminatory taxes because “the power to tax is the power to

destroy,” and a state should not have such power over an arm

of the federal government. Id. 17 U.S. (4 Wheat.) at 427-428.

Only after Congress had passed statutes immunizing instrumental-

ities from state taxes did the United States Supreme Court extend

the constitutional immunity to nondiscriminatory state taxes in

order to justify a statutory presumption of immunity. Austin v.

The Alderman, 74 U.S. (7 Wall.) 694, 19 L.Ed. 224 (1868). The

constitutional immunity and the attendant presumption against

the state do not appear to be necessary where the tax is non-

discriminatory, i.e., that the state legislature has imposed the

tax on its own constituents as well as the federal instrumentality.

See, First Agricultural National Bank of Berkshire County v.

State Taz Commission, 392 U.S. 339, 348, 88 S.Ct. 2173, 2178, 20

L.Ed.2d 1138 (1968) (Marshall, J. dissenting); J. Ely, Democracy

and Distrust 85-86 (1980). We also note that the presumption

against nondiscriminatory state taxation should be less strong

when the tax is on land, over which the states exercise a peculiar

sovereignty. See McCulloch, 17 U.S. (4 Wheat.) at 436, in which

Justice Marshall stated, “This opinion does not deprive the states

of any resources which they originally possessed. It does not

extend to a tax paid by the real property of the bank, in common

with the other real property within the state, * .“ (Emphasis

added).

A-11

trict + 1, 657 F.2d 183, 186 (8th Cir. 1981) (a special assess-

ment was not a real estate “tax”; therefore, Congress has

not waived immunity); Reconstruction Finance Corporation

v. Texas, 229 F.2d 9 (5th Cir. 1956) (immunity was not

waived as to penalties and interest on real estate taxes) ; U.S.

v. County of San Diego, 249 F.Supp. 321 (S.D. Cal. 1966)

(Federal Housing Authority was immune from tax on per-

sonal property used in the operation of real property). Al-

though the state contends that the Bank is a privately owned

corporate entity which holds its severed mineral interests for

the benefit of its shareholders and, hence, must demonstrate

its entitlement to tax exemption, it was held in Federal Land

Bank of St. Paul v. Bismarck Lumber Co., 314 U.S. 95, 102,

62 S.Ct. 1, 5, 86 L.Ed. 65 (1941), that the acquisition of real

estate through foreclosure is part of the genera] lending

function of the Bank and is covered by the immunity pro-

vided by 12 U.S.C. § 2055. Inasmuch as there has been a

showing of a clear and express waiver, the Bank’s severed

mineral interests are immune from the tax imposed by Minn.

Stat. § 273.13, subd. 2a (1982).

Since we conclude that 12 U.S.C. § 2055 precludes applica-

tion of the severed mineral interest tax to the Bank, we do

not reach the issue of the constitutionality of the tax.

Reversed.

YETKA, Justice (dissenting).

I dissent. I believe the minimum tax per acre is an ad

valorem tax. I see no necessity that an ad valorem tax be a

perfect tax—one based exactly according to market value.

It would be difficult for the state to measure the value of

minerals on each parcel without drilling and testing. There-

fore, it sets a minimum tax per acre on those reserving such

minerals. Presumably, in reserving minerals, the owner is

recognizing some value. When the tax is not discriminatory

A-12

and is for such a modest amount, I believe it is reasonable

to read section 2055 as permitting the state to collect the tax.

STATE OF MINNESOTA

Office of The Clerk Of the Appellate Courts

State Capitol, St. Paul

Date: November 16, 1983

In the Matter of the Proceedings to Enforce Payment of the

Tax on Mineral Interests Assessed Pursuant to Minn. Stat.

§ 273.18, Subdivision 2a, and Remaining Delinquent on the

First Monday in January, 1977, 1978, and 1979, for the

County of St. Louis, State of Minnesota.

COUNTY OF ST. LOUIS,

Respondent,

and

MINNESOTA CHIPPEWA TRIBE,

Respondent,

C3-82-630, C4-82-846

vs.

THE FEDERAL LAND BANK OF ST. PAUL,

Relator (C3-82-630),

Appellant (C4-82-846).

Please take notice that on this date the following order

was entered in the above entitled cause:

ORDERED, that the petition for reargument herein be and

the same hereby is denied and stay vacated.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that no attorney’s fees are

allowed pursuant to Rule 140, Rules of Civil Appellate Pro-

cedure.

Respectfully,

WAYNE TSCHIMPERLE

Clerk of the Appellate Courts

A-13

STATE OF MINNESOTA TAX COURT

St. Louis County Regular Division

Court File Nos. 141137, 14262714, 144338

In the Matter of the Proceedings to Enforce Payment of the

Tax on Mineral Interests Assessed Pursuant to Minn. Stat.

§ 273.13, Subdivision 2a, and Remaining Delinquent on the

first Monday in January, 1977, 1978, and 1979, for the

County of St. Louis, State of Minnesota.

COUNTY OF Sr. LOUIS,

Petitioner,

and

MINNESOTA CHIPPEWA TRIBE,

Intervenor,

-v8-

THE FEDERAL LAND BANK OF SAINT PAUL,

Defendant.

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

AND ORDER FOR JUDGMENT

The above entitled matters came on for hearing before the

Minnesota Tax Court, Judge Earl B. Gustafson presiding, on

September 1, 1981. Testimony was concluded September 10th

and the case was submitted on post-trial briefs on January

19, 1982.

Philip J. Olfelt, Assistant Attorney General, C. Paul Faraci,

Deputy Attorney General, and Michael Dean, Assistant St.

Louis County Attorney, appeared for Petitioner, County of

St. Louis; John W. Windhorst, Jr. and William J. Hempel of

Dorsey, Windhorst, Hannaford, Whitney & Halladay, ap-

peared for Defendant, Federal Land Bank of St. Paul. Kent

A-14

P. Tupper of Tupper, Smith and Mattson, appeared for

Intervenor, Minnesota Chippewa Tribe.

The Court, having heard the testimony and considered the

evidence, briefs and arguments of counsel and upon all of the

files, records and proceedings herein, now makes the fol-

lowing:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The overriding issue in this case is whether Defendant,

The Federal Land Bank of Saint Paul, is subject to the tax

on severed mineral interests imposed under Minn. Stat.

273.13, Subd. 2(a), with respect to taxes payable in 1976

and subsequent years.

2. The Bank is a federally chartered, privately owned,

financial institution authorized to make long-term real estate

mortgage loans to farmers, ranchers, growers and rural

residents located in the Seventh Farm Credit District (com-

prising the states of Michigan, Minnesota, North Dakota and

Wisconsin).

8. The Bank has claimed exemption from taxation under

12 U.S.C. § 2055 and has also claimed Minn. Stat. 273.13,

Subd. 2(a) is unconstitutional on a number of grounds. This

Court in its Orders dated July 23, 1980 and October 31, 1980

ruled against the Bank on all of these issues with one ex-

ception.

4. In our Order of October 31, 1980, we reserved any

ruling on the Bank’s contention that, if it owned mineral

rights that had no value, the tax on severed minerals would

be invalid as unconstitutional. In ordering any evidentiary

hearing this Court neither accepted nor rejected the Bank’s

argument.

5. The pertinent portion of the Court’s memorandum ac-

companying our Order of October 31, 1980 reads as follows:

5

A-15

The Bank has submitted affidavits by two experts in

mineral valuation that conclude that some of the Bank’s

mineral interests have no value. Assuming this to be

true, the Bank argues the tax is unconstitutional. How

this would necessarily make the severed mineral tax

unconstitutional as a violation of due process or the

uniformity and equal protection clauses is not articulated

in the memoranda filed by the Bank. It merely maintains

that there is a “clear indication in Contos that the

Supreme Court would invalidate the special tax on sev-

ered mineral interests (under the equal protection, uni-

formity, and due process clauses) if it were established

as a matter of fact that some severed mineral interests

have no value.”

This specific argument was not developed in the orig-

inal cross-motions for summary judgment and is founded

on the assumption that this Court will make a factual

finding contrary to the Court in Contos, namely, that

some mineral interests have no value. We feel the Bank

is entitled to develop this argument fully and Petitioner

be given an opportunity to respond fully and will there-

fore hold an evidentiary hearing limited to this issue

where there now appears to be a disputed question of

fact.

6. The tax being contested subjects severed minerals, not

otherwise taxed, to a tax of 25 cents per acre per year or a

minimum tax of $2.00 per interest per year. Minn. Stat.

272.04, Subd. 1; 273.13, Subd. 2(a).

7. Under Minn. Stat. 272.04 mineral interests assessed

and taxed separately from the surface rights “may be sold

for taxes in the same manner and with the same effect

as other interests in real estate are sold for taxes.”

A-16

8. There is no statutory provision that the owner of a

severed mineral interest is personally liable for the payment

of the tax.

9. The Bank owns mineral interests in approximately

484,000 acres in 85 out of Minnesota's 87 counties as a result

of mineral reservations it made in deeds of conveyance.

10. The Bank has historically acquired property when

borrowers defaulted on their mortgage loans.

11. After acquiring real property thorough (sic) fore-

closures, or deeds given in lieu of foreclosure, the Bank would

sell the properties reserving 100 percent or 50 percent of the

mineral interests, some for a period of years and some in

perpetuity.

12. These mineral interests were retained by the Bank,

according to its Director of Mineral Operations, “with the

hope of ultimately recovering all or a part of these losses (on

defaulted loans) through eventual mineral development.”

18. The present policy of the Bank is never to sell its

severed mineral interests except in situations where refusal

would work undue hardship or release would be to the Bank’s

advantage, and then only for valuable consideration.

14. Since 1978 the Bank has received a low of $100 for

682 acres in Clay County ($.15 per acre), to a high of $100

for two acres in Kandiyohi County ($50 per acre) for selling

or releasing mineral rights.

15. Since March 1975 the Bank has had a policy of never

selling severed mineral interests for less than $1.25 per acre.

16. The Director of Minerals for the Bank, with respect to

the entire four-state area, received 19 written requests for

releases (conveyances) of mineral rights during 1980 and 29

written requests during the first eight months of 1981. He

also received some oral requests. Only one request was granted.

A-17

17. Every mineral interest has some value as a property

right regardless of its location, although the value of an in-

terest in one part of the state may vary from that in another.

18. The attached Memorandum is made a part hereof.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The finding of this Court that every mineral interest

has some value brings this case within the holding of Contos

v. Herbst, 278 N.W. 2d 732 (Minn. 1979).

2. The mineral interests involved in this proceeding are

fully subject to tax under Minn. Stat. 273.13, Subd. 2(a).

8. The Defendant, Federal Land Bank of St. Paul, shall

pay taxes due and payable together with interest and penalties

or the property will forfeit to the State of Minnesota for non-

payment according to law.

4. Petitioner, County of St. Louis, is awarded its costs

and disbursements incurred herein.

LET JUDGMENT BE ENTERED ACCORDINGLY. A 15

DAY STAY IS HEREBY ORDERED.

By the Court

EARL B. GUSTAFSON, JUDGE

Minnesota Tax Court

Dated: This 19th day of March, 1982.

MEMORANDUM

This decision deals with two limited issues. First, are any

of the Federal Land Bank’s mineral interests without value?

Second, if some mineral interests have no value does it follow

that the tax on severed minerals imposed by Minn. Stat.

273.13, Subd. 2(a) is unconstitutional?

After considering all the evidence adduced at the hearing

held in September 1981 and allowing the Bank full opportunity

to present all arguments, I have reached the conclusion that

A-18

all mineral interests have some value and, further, that the

Bank would have suffered no injury if some of its mineral

rights were conclusively without value because payment of the

tax is optional.

The evidence presented by the Federal Land Bank tended to

prove that mineral interests severed from the surface owner-

ship vary greatly in value depending upon the type of minerals

that geologists reasonably anticipate are beneath the surface

and the cost of extracting these minerals. If the cost of extrac-

tion exceeds the present or anticipated market price that can

be obtained, the mineral rights, according to the Bank, have

only minimal or speculative value. In some situations the min-

erals are beneath such a deep overburden that no mining could

be anticipated within the foreseeable future. In other areas of

the state, no minerals of any present commercial value have

been found.

None of the evidence offered by the Bank has convinced this

Court that mineral rights have no value. We do not read into

the finding of the District Court in Contos (affirmed by the

Supreme Court) that every mineral interest must have some

measurable present market value and that speculative and

minimal values are excluded from taxation. All mineral inter-

ests have some speculative and uncertain values until ore is

actually extracted and sold. Even then, future changes in

technology and markets may turn an “exhausted and worth-

less” mine into valuable property, once again.

Aside from the expert geologic evidence presented at trial,

there remains the undisputed fact that the Bank itself treats

these mineral rights as having value,—speculative and uncer-

tain, perhaps—but, nevertheless having value. It severed and

retained these mineral rights with the expressed hope of

earning money, “through eventual mineral development.”

Beis N

A-19

As the Montan (sic) Supreme Court concluded in Northern

Pacific Ry. Co. v. Mjelde, 48 Mont. 287, 304, 137 P. 386, 391

(Mont. 1913).

It will not do to say that, because neither of these

reservations produces revenue, it is not of any value.

From the very act of making the reservation, the pre-

sumption arises that each interest has some appreciable

value, or the reservation would not have been made. Tax-

ation is the rule, exemption is the exception. (Em-

phasis added.)

Similarly, in Union Pacific R. Co. v. Hanna, 73 Colo. 162,

171, 214 P. 550, 554 (Colo. 1923), the Colorado Supreme Court

ruled:

The mere fact that the plaintiff reserved these [severed

mineral] rights, when conveying the lands to purchasers

and continues to hold them, with the right, at anytime,

to begin to exercise them, is some evidence that the reser-

vations are valuable.

Because of the “potential income and asset value of the

Bank’s mineral interests,” the express policy of the Bank since

1976 precludes the release (sale) of any of its mineral rights

except when refusal would work an undue hardship or when

it would be to the Bank’s advantage.

A detailed review of the evidence leads to but one conclu-

sion. All mineral rights have some value. This value, in the

opinion of one owner, may not justify the continued payment

of an annual tax of 25 cents per acre. That is a choice that

each owner must make. Forcing this choice does not make the

tax unconstitutional.

In Texaco, Inc. v. Short, 454 U.S. ——, 70 L. Ed. 2d 738,

102 S. Ct. 781, decided January 12, 1982, the United States

Supreme Court upheld an Indiana version of a severed min-

A-20

erals statute that goes farther than Minnesota’s statute. The

Indiana statute provides for automatic lapse and reversion to

the surface owner of the severed mineral interests if there is

no mining or exploratory use for 20 years. Writing for the

majority, Justice Stevens said that, just as a state may create

and protect a property interest, it may also condition per-

manent retention of that property on the performance of

reasonable conditions. (Four Justices dissented.)

The question of the Bank’s standing to raise this constitu-

tional challenge should not be ignored. This could be con-

sidered the threshold issue and will be discussed to finally

lay to rest this and any further litigation. The Bank, as dis-

cussed above, maintains that if it can prove some of its

mineral interests have no value, then, it has been denied due

process by being forced to pay taxes on worthless property.

This is incorrect. The tax is not enforceable as a personal

judgment and need not be paid. If the bank wishes to retain

these mineral rights, of course, it must pay the annual 25

cents acreage tax. However, if the mineral rights have no

value, the bank may decline to pay the acreage tax and these

mineral rights (which hypothetically have no value) will re-

vert to the State of Minnesota as tax delinquent real property.

It is difficult to see how the bank can, on the one hand,

argue that certain of its mineral rights have no value and

yet argue that it has suffered an injury which requires con-

stitutional protection. If the mineral rights have no value,

there is no injury to the bank in merely refusing to pay the

tax. The mineral rights that will then be forfeited are value-

less and the Bank has obviously suffered no loss.

There is a well-established line of authority that no litigant

can question the constitutionality of a statute unless he can

first show that the statute has caused him or is about to cause

A-21

him, some injury. The leading United States Supreme Court

decision enunciating this rule is Massachusetts v. Mellon, 262

U.S. 447, 43 S. Ct. 597 (1923) and this has been followed in

Minnesota. State ex rel. Clinton Falls Nursery Co. v. County

of Steele, 181 Minn. 427, 232 N. W. 737 (1930); State ex rel.

Smith v. Haveland, 223 Minn. 89, 25 N. W. 2d 474 (1946);

Lee v. Delmont, 228 Minn. 101, 36 N. W. 2d 530 (1949) ; State

v. Meyer, 228 Minn. 286, 37 N.W. 2d 3 (1949); Beatty v.

Winona Housing and Redevelopment Authority, 277 Minn.

76, 151 N.W. 2d 584 (1967).

In St. Paul Chamber of Commerce v. Marzitelli, 258 N.W.

2d 585 (Minn. 1977) the Court said:

When a constitutionality of a statute is challenged, the

litigant bringing the challenge must, in order to invoke

the jurisdiction of the court, be able to show that the

statute is, or is about to be, applied to his disadvantage.

258 N.W. 2d 585, 588.

For the several reasons stated the Bank should pay the

contested tax or the property should be forfeited.

E. B. G.

STATE OF MINNESOTA TAX COURT

St. Louis County Regular Division

File Nos. 141187, 14262714, 144338

In the Matter of the Proceedings to Enforce Payment of the

Tax on Mineral Interests Assessed Pursuant to Minn. Stat.

273.13, Subdivision 2a, and Remaining Delinquent on the

first Monday in January, 1977, 1978 and 1979, for the

County of St. Louis, State of Minnesota.

A-22

COUNTY OF ST. LOUIS,

Petitioner,

-vs-

THE FEDERAL LAND BANK OF ST. PAUL,

Defendant,

and

MINNESOTA CHIPPEWA TRIBE,

Intervenor.

ORDER

The above entitled matters came on for hearing before

the Minnesota Tax Court, Judge Earl B. Gustafson presiding,

on the 11th day of September, 1980 at the Tax Court, St. Paul,

Minnesota, on Defendant’s Petition for Re-Hearing and

Amended Order for Summary Judgment.

Philip J. Olfelt, Assistant Attorney General, and Michael

Dean, Assistant St. Louis County Attorney, appeared for

Petitioner, County of St. Louis; John W. Windhorst, Jr. and

Bruce J. Shnider appeared for Defendant, Federal Land Bank

of St. Paul.

The Court, having heard and considered the briefs and

oral arguments of counsel and upon all of the files, records

and proceedings herein DOES HEREBY ORDER that an

evidentiary hearing be held on the fact issue of whether

some of Defendant’s mineral interests are without any value.

All other requests that the severed minerals tax be held un-

constitutional are denied.

The attached Memorandum is made a part of this order.

Dated: October 31, 1980.

MINNESOTA TAX COURT

EARL B. GUSTAFSON

Judge

A-23

MEMORANDUM

The Defendant, The Federal Land Bank of St. Paul, has

moved the Court to amend its Order For Summary Judgment

herein dated July 23, 1980 and grant summary judgment to

the Bank or, in the alternative, set the matter for trial on

the issue of whether or not some of the Bank’s severed

mineral interest have no value.

In granting summary judgment for the Petitioner, County

of St. Louis, we considered all of the arguments raised by

Defendant in its 49 page Memorandum. We discussed the

principal arguments at some length and concluded, “We find

no other reason to consider this tax unconstitutional or un-

enforceable against the Bank.”

In support of this present Petition for Rehearing the Bank

requests that we reconsider three constitutional arguments

not discussed in detail in our Memorandum of July 23, 1980.

The first constitutional issue raised by this Petition for

Rehearing is the Bank’s contention that the severed minerals

tax violates the equal protection and the uniformity clauses

because there is no rational] basis for taxing severed mineral

interests by a different method from that used to tax un-

severed mineral interests. As the Bank correctly points out,

severed mineral interests, as a result of the registration

portion of this 1973 law, can now be more readily identified

and can therefore, to that extent, be more readily valued and

assessed. The Bank further points out that unsevered minerals

are necessarily included in the entire bundle of property

rights comprising the fee simple interest which is valued and

taxed under the ad valorem real estate tax system. When

minerals in the future are severed from the fee the assessor

is now in a position to value the mineral interest separately

and deduct this figure from the estimated market value of

ee ‘

A-24

the entire fee interest. The Bank argues therefore, that from

and after the time registration of severed minerals became

mandatory no justification exists for placing severed mineral

interests in a separate class and subjecting them to an acre-

age tax.

We can agree with only a portion of this argument and

disagree entirely with the conclusion. The registration of

severed minerals interests now undoubtedly assists in their

identification but the expensive, speculative and burdensome

administrative problems of valuation remain. These practical

difficulties were considered by the Minnesota Supreme Court

in Contos when it upheld the constitutionality of the tax as

a reasonable classification.

In sum the evidence supports the legislature’s finding

that a class of valuable property interests were escaping

taxation because of the practicable difficulties in iden-

tifying, valuing, and assessing those interests within

more traditional tax schemes. In light of this evidence

we cannot say that the practical considerations which

prompted the legislature to classify separately severed

mineral interests and to impose a tax of $.25 per acre

per year or $2.00 per year, whichever is greater, were

unreasonable.

That practical considerations can serve as the basis

for the classification and taxation of property was estab-

lished long ago in Mutual Benfit (sic) Ins. Co. v. County

of Martin, 104 Minn. 179, 116 N.W. 572 (1908).

Contos v. Herbst, 278 N.W. 2d 732, 738.

There is, of course, a presumption favoring the constitu-

tionality of this statute. The Bank in this case has “the burden

to show beyond a reasonable doubt that the act conflicts

with the uniformity clause of the state constitution.” Contos

v. Herbst, 278 N.W. 2d 782, 736; Elwell v. County of Henne-

A-25

pin, 221 N. W. 2d 538; McCannel v. County of Hennepin, ——

N. W. 2d ——- (1980) ; Guilliams v. Commissioner of Revenue,

—— N. W. 2d —— (1980). In the field of taxation, the legis-

lature’s power is inherently broader and its exercise more

flexible than in other areas. Reed v. Bjornson, 258 N. W. 102

(1934); McCannel v. County of Hennepin, N.W. 2d

—— (1980); Guilliams v. Commissioner of Revenue, ——

N.W. 2d —— (1980).

We do not find this statute to be either clearly arbitrary

nor without a reasonable basis. We, therefore, have no choice

but to consider it constitutional.

The second constitutional argument is one claiming unequal

protection of the laws based on unequal or selective enforce-

ment of the severed mineral tax. In 29 counties out of the

85 where the Bank owns mineral interests, it apparently has

never been required to pay this tax. We consider this con-

stitutional argument, coming from the Bank, as being raised

by a party without standing. There is no claim of discrimina-

tion that in anyway injures the Bank. It temporarily, at least,

is benefitting from unequal enforcement. If and when this

issue is raised by some other party claiming and showing

actual discrimination, we will give it due consideration after

all parties involved have an opportunity to present their

evidence. The most likely answer to this present situation

is that some counties are uncertain about how to proceed

in taxing the Bank’s mineral interests while this litigation

is pending and once there is a final court determination,

uniform enforcement will follow.

The third constitutional argument involves the question of

whether some of the Bank’s mineral interests have no value.

This factual issue was considered in the Contos case but, of

course, the Bank was not a party to that proceeding so it is

TS

ie 4

A-26

not res judicata. In Contos the trial court found that every

mineral interest in Minnesota has some value as a property

interest regardless of its location although the value of

mineral interests may vary substantially from one part of

the state to another. This finding by the trial court was sus-

tained by the Supreme Court. The Bank has submitted affi-

davits by two experts in mineral valuation that conclude that

some of the Bank’s mineral interests have no value. Assum-

ing this to be true, the Bank argues the tax is unconstitutional.

How this would necessarily make the severed mineral tax

unconstitutional as a violation of due process or the uni-

formity and equal protection clauses is not articulated in the

memoranda filed by the Bank. It merely maintains that there

is a “clear indication in Contos that the Supreme Court would

invalidate the special tax on severed mineral interests (under

the equal protection, uniformity, and due process clauses) if

it were established as a matter of fact that some severed

mineral interests have no value.”

This specific argument was not developed in the original

cross-motions for summary judgment and is founded on the

assumption that this Court will make a factual finding con-

trary to the Court in Contos, namely, that some mineral in-

terests have no value. We feel the Bank is entitled to develop

this argument fully and Petitioner be given an opportunity

to respond fully and will therefore hold an evidentiary hearing

limited to this issue where there now appears to be a disputed

question of fact.

Finally, the Petition for Rehearing requests the Court to

reconsider and change its decision on the fundamental issue

of statutory construction of 12 U.S.C. Sec. 2055. After con-

sidering the additional written and oral arguments of all

counsel, we find no reason or basis for changing our original

decision on this issue.

E. B. G.

A-27

STATE OF MINNESOTA

TAX COURT

In the Matter of the Proceedings to Enforce Payment of the

Tax on Mineral Interests Assessed Pursuant to Minn. Stat.

273.18, Subdivision 2a, and Remaining Delinquent on the first

Monday in January, 1977, 1978 and 1979, for the County of

St. Louis, State of Minnesota.

File Nos. 141137, 14262714, 144338

COUNTY OF ST. LOUIS,

Petitioner,

vs.

THE FEDERAL LAND BANK OF ST. PAUL,

Defendant,

and

MINNESOTA CHIPPEWA TRIBE,

Intervenor.

ORDER FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

The above entitled matters came on for hearing before the

Minnesota Tax Court, Judge Earl B. Gustafson presiding, on

the 16th day of May, 1980 at the St. Louis County Courthouse,

Duluth, Minnesota, on cross-motions for summary judgment.

Philip J. Olfelt, Assistant Attorney General, C. Paul Faraci,

Deputy Attorney General, and Michael Dean, Assistant St.

Louis County Attorney, appeared for petitioner, County of

St. Louis; John W. Windhorst, Jr. and Bruce J. Shnider ap-

peared for defendant, Federal Land Bank of St. Paul; Mr.

Kent Tupper appeared for intervenor, Minnesota Chippewa

Tribe.

A-28

The Court, having heard and considered the briefs and oral

arguments of counsel and upon all of the files, records and

proceedings herein DOES HEREBY ORDER summary judg-

ment for petitioner, St. Louis County and against Federal

Land Bank of St. Paul.

The attached Memorandum is made a part of this order.

Minnesota Tax Court

EARL B. GUSTAFSON, Judge

Dated: July 23, 1980.

MEMORANDUM

The material facts are not in dispute. The Federal Land

Bank of St. Paul is exempt from all taxes with but one excep-

tion. It is obligated to pay taxes on real estate “to the same

extent, according to its value, as other similar property held

by other persons is taxed.” 12 U.S.C. § 2055. The tax being

contested is Minnesota’s “severed mineral tax” enacted in

1973, (Chapt. 650, Laws 1973) and now coded as Minn. Stat.

Sections 272.089 ; 272.04, Subd. 1; and 273.14, Subd. 2a. This

is considered a tax on real property and was held constitu-

tional by the Minnesota Supreme Court in Contos, et al v.

Robert L. Herbst, et al, Andrew Korda, St. Louis County

Auditor, and the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe, —— Minn. ——,

278 N. W. 2d 732, Jan. 26, 1979, rehearing denied March 13,

1979, Appeal dismissed Oct. 30, 1979, 100 S. Ct. 24.

The Federal Land Bank claims it does not have to pay the

“severed minerals” tax because it is not an ad valorem tax.

We are ordering summary judgment for petitioner County

of St. Louis and against the Federal Land Bank because—

there being no genuine issue as to any material fact—peti-

tioner is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.

*

a

Ps. tien

A-29

The Federal Land Bank owns “severed” mineral rights in

85 of the 87 counties in Minnesota as a result of mineral

reservations it made in deeds of conveyance. The Bank makes

loans to farmers and rural residents and over the years has

acquired property through foreclosures (or deeds in lieu of

foreclosure) when borrowers defaulted on their mortgage

loans. After acquiring real estate in this fashion, the Bank

would turn around and sell the property to recover its loan.

As a matter of custom it would reserve (sever) 100% or 50%

of the mineral interest—some for 25 years and some in per-

petuity. The Bank now owns mineral interests in approxi-

mately 500,000 acres throughout Minnesota on which it pays

approximately $60,000 in taxes annually.

Prior to 1973 mineral interests that were owned separately

from the fee ownership escaped taxation unless the property

was actually being mined or was specifically valued through

core drilling or other analysis. When it enacted a minimum

annual tax of 25¢ per acre on minerals owned separately from

the surface interests, the legislature made specific Findings

and Conclusions that read in part as follows:

M.S. 272.089 LEGISLATIVE FINDINGS AND CON-

CLUSIONS RELATED TO THE TAXATION OF MIN-

ERALS OWNED SEPARATELY FROM THE SUR-

FACE. The legislature finds, for the reasons stated

below, that a class of real property has been created

which, although not exempt from taxation, is not assessed

for tax purposes and does not, therefore, contribute any-

thing toward the cost of supporting the governments

which protect and preserve the continued existence of the

property. These reasons are as follows: (1) In the case

of Washburn v. Gregory, 1914, 125 Minn. 491, 147 N.W.

706, the Minnesota Supreme Court determined that where

A-30

mineral interests are owned separately from the surface

interests in real estate, the mineral interest is a separate

interest in land, separately taxable, and does not forfeit

if the overlying surface interest forfeits for nonpayment

of taxes due on the surface interest; (2) Since this 1914

decision, mineral interests owned separately from the

surface have been valued and assessed for tax purposes,

as a practical matter, only if the value of the minerals

has been determined through drilling and drill core anal-

ysis; and (3) The absence of any taxation of mineral

interests owned separately from the surface, except where

drilling analysis is available, has encouragtd the separa-

tion of ownership of surface and mineral estates and re-

sulted in the creation of hundreds of thousands of acres

of untaxed mineral estate lands which thus are immune

from tax forfeiture... .

On the basis of the above findings, and for the purpose

of requiring mineral interests owned separately from sur-

face interests to contribute to the cost of government at

a time when other interests in real property are heavily

burdened with real property taxes, the legislature con-

cludes that the taxation of severed mineral interests as

provided in section 272.18, subdivision 2a is necessary and

in the public interest, and provides fair taxation of a class

of real property which has escaped taxation for many

years.

It is, therefore, clear that the 25¢ per acre tax ($2 min-

imum) on mineral interests owned separately and apart from

the fee title is a tax on real estate and was a legislative re-

sponse to the historical phenomena that allowed these real

property interests to effectively escape taxation. All claims

that the tax was an unconstitutional denial of equal protection

A-31

or uniformity were fully considered and denied by the Dis-

trict Court and, on appeal, by the Minnesota Supreme Court.

Contos v. Herbst, 278 N.W. 2d 732.

Although mineral rights all have some value these values

vary substantially. Contos v. Herbst, 278 N.W. 2d at 738.

Most severed mineral interests cannot be assessed for ad

valorem property tax purposes because (1) the value can

only be determined by prohibitively expensive exploration;

and (2) data available on sales and exchanges of mineral

interests is very limited. Contos v. Herbst, 278 N.W. 2d at

738. As the Minnesota Supreme Court found:

In sum the evidence supports the legislature’s find-

ings that a class of valuable property interests were

escaping taxation because of the practicable difficulties

in indentifying, (sic) valuing, and assessing those inter-

ests within more traditional tax schemes. In light of this

evidence we cannot say that the practical considerations

which prompted the legislature to classify separately

severed mineral interests and to impose a tax of $.25

per acre per year or $2.00 per year, whichever is greater,

were unreasonable. Contos v. Herbst, 278 N.W. 2d at 738.

In the instant case the Bank makes no claim that it is re-

ceiving unequal treatment when compared to other owners of

“severed” mineral interests. The claim it makes is one of tax

exemption. Simply put, the Bank maintains that it is required

to pay only ad valorem real estate taxes or taxes based upon

the value of its property and that this is a real estate tax

based on acreage, not on value. The language in the federal

law that grants the Bank tax exemption from everything but

real estate taxes is the basis for this argument and reads as

follows:

12 U.S.C. § 2055. TAXATION. Every Federal land

bank and every Federal land bank association and the

A-32

capital, reserves, and surplus thereof, and the income

derived therefrom shall be exempt from Federal, State,

municipal, and local taxation, except taxes on real estate

held by a Federal land bank or a Federal land bank

association to the same extent, according to its value, as

other similar property held by other persons is taxed.

(Emphasis added)

This statutory language has remained essentially the same

since 1916, through several reenactments. No reported cases

have interpreted this provision. It, therefore, becomes a ques-

tion of statutory interpretation which, in turn, is an attempt

to determine the congressional intent when this statute was

originally passed.

The Bank points to the words “according to its value”, and

argues that Congress must have meant that Federal land

banks are obligated to pay ad valorem real estate taxes only.

This construction focuses on the parenthetical phrase, “ac-

cording to its value” to the exclusion of the operative language,

“to the same extent as other similar property held by other

persons is taxed”’.

It must be remembered that the burden is clearly upon the

taxpayer to prove exemption from taxation because all prop-

erty is presumed taxable unless specifically exempt by law,

Minn. Stat. 272.01, Subd. 1. Exemptions from taxation are

strictly construed and to be granted only when some public

purpose is being served and not merely for the benefit of any

particular persons or organizations at the expense of tax-

payers generally. Christian Business Men’s Committee of

Minneapolis, Inc. v. State, 228 Minn. 549, 554, 38 N.W. 2d

808, 808 (1949) ; Camping and Education Foundation v. State,

282 Minn. 245, 164 N.W. 2d 369 (1969); State v. Board of

Foreign Missions of Augustana Synod, 221 Minn. 536, 22

N.W. 2d 642 (1946).

A-33

This is a claim for tax exemption. The Bank seeks to be

treated differently from other taxpayers in the same class.

The United States Supreme Court long ago said language

granting tax immunity must be unequivocal. “It is the settled

doctrine of this Court that an immunity from taxation by the

state will not be recognized unless granted in terms too plain

to be mistaken.” Chicago, Burlington & Kansas City Railroad

v. Missouri ez rel, Guffey, 7 S. Ct. 693, 696, 120 U.S. 569,

575 (1887). Although this is an immunity claimed under

federal rather than state law, the requirement that any tax

exemption should be expressed in clear and unmistakable

language obtains.

Congress could not have had this 1973 Minnesota law in

mind when it first enacted this requirement in 1916. It is

more logical to assume it wanted the banks to pay all non-

discriminatory real estate taxes on the same basis as other

taxpayers even though it might not be calculated strictly on

its market value, particularly where that value could not be

determined without prohibitive cost.

The federal circuit court in the case of Sword v. Nutt, 11

F. 2d 936 (9th Cir. 1926) dealt with a contested assessment

for public improvements which the taxpayer argued was a

tax that should be voided because it was not based on value.

The court discussed nearly identical language contained in

the federal law regulating National Banks which provided:

Nothing herein shall be construed to exempt the real

property of associations from either state, county, or

municipal taxes, to the same extent, according to its

value, as other real property is taxed. Revised Statutes,

§ 5219.

A-34

The thrust of this decision is one we agree with—that a

national bank owning real estate should be treated equally

with other property owners.

. . . But it is clear that the sole purpose of section 5219

is to protect the real property of national banks against

unequal assessments or assessments that shall discrimi-

nate against the same, Sword v. Nutt, 11 F. 2d at 988.

Nothing is found in the national legislation on the

subject to justify the conclusion that Congress, in grant-

ing to national banks authority to own real estate,

intended to absolve such property from the burdens im-

posed by state authority upon like lands within its

domain. Sword v. Nutt, 11 F. 2d at 937.

The Sword v. Nutt, Supra case was ultimately decided on

the ground that the assessment was not a tax. Nevertheless,

the court’s view of congressional intent is consistent with our

decision in this case.

We think the language of Sec. 2055 read in its entirety

indicates a congressional intent to have Federal land banks

pay all local real estate taxes on the same basis and to the

same extent that other owners are taxed. They should not be

singled out to pay on a value higher than similarly situated

taxpayers nor should they be exempt from taxes paid by

similarly situated taxpayers based on acreage where value

is not susceptible of accurate determination. A contrary deci-

sion would give Federal land banks a special immunity from

nondiscriminatory real estate taxes and, in our opinion, would

be a result not compelled nor contemplated by Sec. 20565.

A second defense raised by the Bank is that the tax on

severed mineral interests is invalid under the equal protection

clause of the federal constitution and the uniformity clause

of the Minnesota constitution because the taxation of all

A-35

severed mineral interests at a uniform rate, despite sub-

stantial disparities in value, is arbitrary and capricious.

Identical arguments were made in the Contos case and the

trial court (Hon. Harold W. Schultz) made the following

Conclusions of Law:

3. The classification and treatment for tax purposes,

of severed mineral interests separately and apart from

unsevered mineral interests as well as all other interests

in real property violate neither the equal protection pro-

visions of the State and Federal Constitutions (Minn.

Const. Art. 1, § 2; U.S. Const. Amend. XIV, § 1) nor

the State constitutional provision against special legisla-

tion (Minn. Const. Art. 12, § 1).

4+ The taxation of severed mineral interests in the

manner and at the rates provided by Minnesota Statutes,

Section 273.18, Subdivision 2a (1974) violates neither

the uniformity clause of the State Constitution (Minn.

Const. Art. 10, § 1), nor the equal protection or due

process clause of the Federal Constitution (U.S. Const.

Amend. XIV, § 1).” (Exhibit A, Conclusions 3 and 4)

The Minnesota Supreme Court affirmed the judgment of

the district court “in all respects”. Contos v. Herbst, 278

N.W. at 736. We consider that decision binding on this court.

We find no other reason to consider this tax unconstitu-

tional or unenforcsable against the Bank and therefore are

granting St. Louis County’s Motion for summary judgment

which, of course, has the effect of denying the Bank’s motion

for summary judgment.

EARL B. GUSTAFSON

Judge

A-36

DORSEY, MARQUART, WINDHORST,

WEST & HALLADAY

2300 First National Bank Building

Minneapolis, Minnesota 55402

(612) 340-2600

Cable: Dorow

Telex : 29-0605

Telecopier : (612) 340-2868

1468 W-First National Bank Building

St. Paul, Minnesota 55101

(612) 227-8017

115 Third Street Southwest

Rochester, Minnesota 55901

(507) 288-3156

April 29, 1977

Clerk of District Court

St. Louis County Courthouse

Duluth, Minnesota

Re: The Federal Land Bank of Saint Paul—

Answer in 1977 Tax Delinquency Proceedings

Dear Sir:

We enclose for filing pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Sec-

tion 279.15, an Answer of The Federal Land Bank of Saint

Paul in tax delinquency proceedings and our check in the

amount of $10.00 in payment of the filing fee for the Answer.

The tax involved in this case is the tax on severed mineral

interests imposed by Minnesota Statutes, Section 273.13, Sub-

division 2a. One of the defenses raised in the Answer is that

this tax is unconstitutional on several grounds. The same issue

is now pending before the Minnesota Supreme Court in Contos

v. Herbst, Supreme Court File No. 47346. We request that

A-37

the present Answer not be placed upon the trial calendar until

a final decision has been rendered in the Contos case in order

to avoid unnecessary duplication of effort and expense. If

there should be any difficulty in granting this request, I

would appreciate your contacting me.

Very truly yours,

JOHN W. WINDHORST, JR.

IWWdr:dn

Enclosures

STATE OF MINNESOTA DISTRICT COURT

County of St. Louis Sixth Judicial District

* —

In the matter of the Proceedings to Enforce Payment of the

Tax on Mineral Interests Assessed Pursuant to Minnesota

Statutes, Section 273.13, Subdivision 2a, and Remaining De-

linquent on the first Monday in January, 1977, for the County

of St. Louis, State of Minnesota.

141137

(Petition)

ANSWER OF THE FEDERAL LAND BANK

OF SAINT PAUL

1. Defendant has an estate, right, title, or interest in cer-

tain “mineral interests,” within the meaning of Minnesota

Statutes, Section 273.13, Subdivision 2a, which are situated in

the County of St. Louis, State of Minnesota, and are described

in Exhibit A attached hereto.

2. The duly constituted local and county officials have

levied and assessed a tax upon said mineral interests in 1975,

for payment in 1976, pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Section

273.13, Subdivision 2a.

A-38

8. Defendant did not pay the tax described in Paragraph

2, and permitted it to become delinquent. The mineral interests,

and the taxes in respect thereto, were thereupon included in

the delinquency list filed with the clerk of district court pur-

suant to Minnesota Statutes, Section 279.05, and published by

the county auditor in Chisholm Free Press on April 14, 1977

and April 21, 1977, pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, Section

279.09.

4. The mineral interests described in Paragraph 1 are

exempt from the tax imposed pursuant to Minnesota Statutes,

Section 273.13, Subdivision 2a, and because (a) said tax vio-

lates the uniformity clause of Article X, Section 1 of the Min-

nesota Constitution, the equal protection clause of the Four-

teenth Amendment to the United States Constitution, the

prohibition upon class or special legislation contained in

Article I, Section 2 and Article XII, Section 1 of the Minne-

sota Constitution and the Fourteenth Amendment to the

United States Constitution, and the due process clauses con-

tained in Article I, Section 7 of the Minnesota Constitution

and the Fourteenth Amendment to the Federal Constitution;

and (b) Title 12, Section 2055 of the United States Code ex-

empts federal land banks from said tax because it is not a

tax “on real estate .. of a federal land bank] to the same

extent, according to its value, as other similar property held

by other persons is taxed.”

5. Accordingly, the levy and assessment upon the mineral

interests described in Paragraph 1 of the tax on mineral

interests imposed by Minnesota Statutes, Section 273.13, Sub-

division 2a, was erroneous.

WHEREFORE, defendant prays that the Court determine

that the levy and assessment of the tax in question was er-

roneous, and that it order judgment discharging the parcels

A-39

from such taxes and from all penalty and interest liabilities

in respect thereto, allowing defendant its costs and disburse-

ments, and granting such other relief as may be just and

proper.

Dated: April 1, 1977.

THE FEDERAL LAND BANK OF SAINT PAUL

By DONALD F. HATHAWAY

Its Assistant Secretary

STATE OF MINNESOTA

COUNTY OF RAMSEY—<«s

Donald F. Hathaway, being first duly sworn, says that he

is the Assistant Secretary of The Federal Land Bank of

Saint Paul, the defendant named in the foregoing Answer;

that he has read the Answer and knows the contents thereof;

and that the Answer is true to his own knowledge.

DONALD F. HATHAWAY

Subscribed and sworn to before me this Ist day of April, 1977.

Janette L. Oss, Notary Public—Minnesota, Dakota County.

My Commission Expires June 14, 1983.

DORSEY, WINDHORST,

HANNAFORD, WHITNEY &

HALLADAY

JOHN W. WINDHORST, JR.

2300 First National Bank Bidg.

Minneapolis, MN 55402

Telephone: (612) 340-2645

Attorneys for Defendant

A

ALLISON CONTOS, et al.,

Appellants,

v.

ROBERT L. HERBST, Individually, and as Commissioner

of the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources, et al.,

Respondents,

ANDREW KORDA, Individually, and as Auditor for

St. Louis County,

Respondent,

MINNESOTA CHIPPEWA TRIBE,

Respondent.

No. 473846.

Supreme Court of Minnesota.

Jan. 26, 1979.

Rehearing Denied March 13, 1979.

Owners of severed mineral interests brought action seeking

declaration that registration, forfeiture and tax provisions of

the Mineral Registration Act are unconstitutional and an

injunction prohibiting their enforcement. The District Court,

Ramsey County, Harold W. Schultz, J., concluded that the

registration, taxation, and forfeiture provisions were con-

stitutional but that the procedures attending the forfeiture

provisions were unconstitutional, and appeals were taken.

The Supreme Court, Kelly, J., held that: (1) Mineral Registra-

tion Act, which classifies separate mineral interests for pur-

poses of taxation, does not violate uniformity clause of Minne-

sota Constitution; (2) uniformity clause did not require that

real property taxes be related to value; (3) forfeiture provi-

sions of Act did not violate due process clause of State and

Federal Constitutions; (4) procedures attending forfeiture —

A-41

provisions of Act violate due process clause of State and

Federal Constitutions, and (5) language governing registra-

tion requirements of Act is not unconstitutionally vague.

Affirmed.

> 7 . * *

Syllabus by the Court

1. L. 1973, e. 650, art. XX [mineral registration act]

which classifies severed mineral interests for purposes of tax-

ation does not violate the uniformity clause of the Minnesota

Constitution.

2. The uniformity clause does not require that real prop-

erty taxes be related to value.

8. The forfeiture provisions of the mineral registration

act do not violate the due process clauses of the state and

Federal constitutions.

4. The procedures attending the forfeiture provisions of

the mineral registration act violate the due process clause of

the state and Federal constitutions because the notice provi-

sions are inadequate and because an owner of severed mineral

interest who fails to comply with the registration require-

ment is denied an opportunity for a hearing before the for-

feiture occurs.

5. The language governing the registration requirements

of the mineral registration act is not unconstitutionally vague.

Hanft, Fride, O’Brien & Harries and Tyrone P. Bujold and

Paul J. Lokken, Duluth, for appellants.

Warren Spannaus, Atty. Gen., C. Paul Faraci, Deputy

Atty. Gen., Philip Olfelt, Asst. Atty. Gen., Stephen G. Thorne,

Sp. Asst. Atty. Gen., Keith Brownell, County Atty., Leo

McDonnell, Asst. County Atty., Duluth, Kent Tupper, Walker,

for respondents.

A-42

Heard, considered, and decided by the court en banc.

KELLY, Justice.

In 1969 the legislature enacted Minn. St. 93.52, which

required every owner of a fee simple interest in minerals

which interest is owned separately from the fee title to the

surface of the property [hereinafter referred to as severed

mineral interests] to file for record a verified statement

describing that interest with the register of deeds or the

register of titles in the county where the interest is located.

Minn. St. 93.52, subd. 2. The purpose of this requirement, as

stated by the legislature, was:

“* * * [T]lo identify and clarify the obscure and

divided condition of severed mineral interests in this

state. Because the ownership condition of many severed

mineral interests is becoming more obscure and further

fractionalized with the passage of time, the development

of mineral interests in this state is often impaired. There-

fore, it is in the public interest and serves a public pur-

pose to identify and clarify these interests.” Minn. St.

9352, subd. 1.

Notice of the registration requirement was provided by pub-

lication of the legislation in legal newspapers within each

county of the state and in two publications related to mining

activities having nationwide circulation. Minn. St. 1971,

§ 93.58.

In 1978 the legislature enacted additional legislation con-

cerning severed mineral interests which is the basis for this

action. L. 1973, c. 650, art. XX hereafter referred to as

mineral registration act. First, the legislature provided that

anyone who failed to file the verified statement within the

statutory period would forfeit that interest to the state. The

only remedy for persons claiming an ownership interest at

A-43

the time of forfeiture was the recovery of the fair market

value of the mineral interest at the time of the forfeiture or

at the time of trial, whichever is lesser. Minn. St. 93.55. The

legislature found the additional legislation necessary “to pro-

vide adequate identification of [severed mineral interests]

and to prevent the continued escape from taxation of obscure

and fractionalized severed mineral interests.” Minn. St.

272.0389.

Secondly, the legislature subjected severed mineral interests

not otherwise taxed to a tax of $.25 per acre per year or $2.00

per interest per year, whichever is greater. Minn. St. 272.04,

subd. 1; 273.13, subd. 2a. In describing the basis for imple-

menting the tax the legislature enacted the following:

“The legislature finds, for the reasons stated below,

that a class of real property has been created which, al-

though not exempt from taxation, is not assessed for

tax purposes and does not therefore, contribute anything

toward the cost of supporting the governments which

protect and preserve the continued existence of the

property. These reasons are as follows: (1) In the case of

Washburn v. Gregory, 1914, 125 Minn. 491, 147 N. W.

706, the Minnesota Supreme Court determined that where

mineral interests are owned separately from the surface

interests in real estate, the mineral interest is a separate

interest in land separately taxable, and does not forfeit

if the overlying surface interest forfeits for nonpayment

of taxes due on the surface interest; (2) Since this 1914

decision, mineral interests owned separately from the

surface have been valued and assessed for tax purposes,

as a practical matter, only if the value of the minerals

has been determined through drilling and drill core analy-

sis, and (3) The absence of taxation of mineral interests

A-44

owned separately from the surface, except where drilling

analysis is available, has encouraged the separation of

ownership of surface and mineral estates and resulted

in the creation of hundreds of thousands of acres of

untaxed mineral estate lands which thus are immune

from tax forfeiture. The legislature also finds that the

province of Ontario in Canada, which has land ownership

patterns and mineral characteristics similar to that of

Minnesota, has imposed a tax of $.50 an acre on minerals

owned separately from the surface since 1968, and $.10

an acre before that. The legislature further finds that

the identification of separately owned mineral interests

by taxing authorities requires title searches which are

extremely burdensome and, where no public tract index

is available, prohibitively expensive. This result is caused

in part by the decision in Wichelman v. Messner, 1957,

250 Minn. 88, 83 N.W.2d 800, where the so called ‘40

year law’ was held inapplicable to mineral interests

owned separately from surface interests. On the basis

of the above findings, and for the purpose of requiring

mineral interests owned separately from surface interests

to contribute to the cost of government at a time when

other interests in real property are heavily burdened with

real property taxes, the legislature concludes that the

taxation of severed mineral interests as provided in sec-

tion 278.13, subdivision 2a is necessary and in the public

interest, and provides fair taxation of a class of real

property which has escaped taxation for many years

„„., Minn. St. 272.089.

Plaintiffs, owiieé?é of severed mineral interests situated

primarily in northern Minnesota, brought this action seeking

a declaration that the registration, forfeiture and tax provi-

A-45

sions of the mineral registration act are unconstitutional and

an injunction prohibiting their enforcement. The district court,

siting (sic) without a jury, entered findings of fact which

agreed with the legislative findings quoted previously. In

addition the district court incorporated in its findings a

description of the history and magnitude of the severed in-

terest phenomenon contained in an amicus brief prepared by

attorney W. K. Montagne for the case of Kangas-Jacobsen

Dairy, Inc. v. Lloyd-Smith, 241 Minn. 317, 62 N.W.2d 915

(1954) :

“They [severed mineral interests] are of wide extent:

the entire length of the Mesabi Range from Gunflint

Lake * * * down to Grand Rapids, to a width of probably

twenty miles from the iron formation, is blanketed with

mineral reservations, on each side of the east end of the

Mesabi Range through Lake and Cook counties down to

Lake Superior, a distance of fifty to sixty miles, nearly

every forty has a mineral reservation. Large areas in

Carlton and Crow Wing Counties are similarly covered.

While we are not familiar with details of mineral reserva-

tions in other Northern Minnesota counties, we under-

stand they are not uncommon. Every city and village on

the Mesabi Range from Aurora through Eveleth, Vir-

ginia, Chisholm, Hibbing, down to Coleraine, is located

on lands subject to mineral reservations. Every home,

store, factory and farm in that area is subject thereto.”

The district court’s findings of fact concerning the taxa-

tion of severed mineral interests also incorporated a descrip-

tion contained in the amicus brief of attorney Montague:

“In a substantial number of cases the reservations

[severed mineral interests] were created as a result

A-46

of the tax laws, and do not represent arm’s length negotia-

tions between parties. They represent deliberate attempts

to arrange a transaction under which the grantor could

retain for generations his speculative interest in the

minerals without carrying charges, and, if merchantable

ore should ever be discovered, could re-acquire the surface

without cost.”

The district court specifically found that 140,000 to 145,000

acres of the 721,640 acres of severed mineral interests owned

by plaintiff United States Steel were created through a series

of transactions between United States Steel and its subsid-

iaries whose purpose was to avoid ad valorem property taxes

on property valuable primarily for its mineral potential. The

district court further found that plaintiffs paid ad valorem

property taxes on approximately 3,212 of their 1,262,664 acres

of severed mineral interests.' Reference to additional findings

of fact follows where appropriate.

Based on its findings of fact the district court concluded

that the registration, taxation, and forfeiture provisions were

constitutional but that the procedures attending the forfeiture

provisions were unconstitutional. By virtue of the latter con-

clusion the district court further concluded that defendants

be enjoined from claiming or asserting an ownership in plain-

tiffs’ mineral interests by reason of the forfeiture procedures.

Judgment was entered accordingly. Plaintiffs appeal from

that part of the judgment upholding the registration, taxation

and forfeiture provisions; defendants appeal from that part

of the judgment invalidating the procedures attending for-

feiture and granting injunctive relief. We affirm the judg-

ment of the district court in all respects.

Ot the 3,212 acres the majority were taxed at $1.00 per acre

pursuant to the tax on unmined taconite. Minn. St. 298.26.

AAT

The issues presented are the following: (1) Whether the

classification of severed mineral interests for purposes of

taxation violates the uniformity clause of the Minnesota

Constitution; (2) whether the uniformity clause of the Minne-

sota Constitution requires that taxation of property be related

in some way to its value; (3) whether the forfeiture provi-

sions violate the due process clauses of the state and Federal

constitutions; (4) whether the procedures attending the for-

feiture provisions comport with the due process clauses of

the state and Federal constitutions; and (5) whether the

language governing the registration requirements is uncon-

stitutionally vague.

[1-3] 1. The uniformity clause of the Minnesota Con-

stitution reads in part:

“Taxes shall be uniform upon the same class of subjects

and shall be levied and collected for public purposes

„. Minn. Const. art. 10, § 1.

In applying that provision we have stated that the legislature

has a wide discretion in classifying property for purposes

of taxation. Where the classification has a reasonable basis

in fact, the judgment of the legislature will not be disturbed.

See Johnson v. Donovan, 290 Minn. 421, 188 N.W.2d 864

(1971) ; State v. Minnesota Farmers’ Mut. Ins. Co., 145 Minn.

231, 176 N.W. 756 (1920). Every presumption being invoked

in favor of the constitutionality of an act of the legislature,

plaintiffs have the burden of proof to show beyond a reason-

2The uniformity clause of our state constitution is no more re-

strictive upon the legislature’s power to tax or classify than is

the Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.

Elwell v. County of Hennepin, 301 Minn. 63, 221 N.W.2d 538 (1974).

The United States Supreme Court has stated that where taxation

is concerned and no specific Federal right, other than equal

protection, is involved, the states have considerable discretion.

Lehnhausen v. Lake Shore Auto Parts Co., 410 US. 356, 93 S.Ct.

1001, 35 L.Ed.2d 351 (1973).

A-48

able doubt that the act conflicts with the uniformity clause

of the state constitution. See Elwell v. County of Hennepin,

301 Minn. 63, 221 N.W.2d 538 (1974).

Plaintiffs contend that they have met their burden in that

the record shows that there is no difference between severed

and unsevered mineral interests which can constitutionally

justify the tax imposed on the former“ without similar treat-

ment of the latter. Specifically plaintiffs argue that, to the

extent severed mineral interests have gone untaxed, so too

have unsevered mineral interests escaped taxation. In addition

plaintiffs argue that the practical problems attending the tax-

ation of severed mineral interests; i.e., the difficulty in valu-

ating and assessing severed mineral interests, apply with equal

force to unsevered mineral interests. We disagree with plain-

tiffs’ view of the record.

The pertinent provisions of Minn. St. 273.13, subd. 2a, which sub-

jects severed mineral interests to taxation, read in part: “Class

1b. ‘Mineral interest’, for the purpose of this subdivision, means

an interest in any minerals, including but not limited to gas, coal,

oil, or other similar interest in real estate, which is owned sep-

arately and apart from the fee title to the surface of such real

property. Mineral interests which are filed for record in the offices

of either the county recorder or registrar of titles pursuant to

sections 93.52 to 93.58, constitute class 1b, and shall be taxed as

provided in this subdivision unless specifically excluded by this

subdivision. A tax of $.25 per acre or portion of an acre of mineral

interest is hereby imposed and is due and payable annually. If an

interest filed pursuant to sections 93.52 to 93.58 is a fractional

undivided interest in an area, the tax due on the interest per acre

or portion of an acre is equal to the product obtained by multi-

plying the fractional interest times $.25, computed to the nearest

cent. However, the minimum annual tax on any mineral interest

is $2. No such tax on mineral interests is due and payable on the

following: (a) Mineral interests valued and taxed under other

laws relating to the taxation of minerals, gas, coal, oil, or other

similar interests; (b) Mineral interests which are exempt from

taxation pursuant to constitutional or related statutory provisions

A-49

Upon the evidence the district court entered the following

finding of fact:

“Where taxable real property includes the rights to

both surface and mineral interests (estates), the assessed

valuation, and hence the property tax levied, reflects the

value, if any, assigned by market forces to the totality

of these rights. Plaintiffs have failed to demonstrate that

such ‘unsevered’ mineral rights have, like severed mineral

interests, escaped ad valorem property taxation.”

This finding is supported by the testimony of Peter N. Hand-

berg, the St. Louis County Assessor. He testified that in deter-

mining the “market value” of a parcel of land for tax purposes

he looks to “sales of comparable properties wherever they are

available,” and that for rural lands (which account for the

bulk of severed mineral interests) “sales are the only basis”

for determining market value. These comparisons are made

on the assumption that the entire “bundle of rights” that

comprise the fee simple interest in the parcel, including min-

eral rights, are merged in one owner.

{4, 5] The value determined by this method might very

well be affected by the value of the mineral rights. Mr. Hand-

berg so testified in response to a question put to him by one

of plaintiffs’ attorneys:

“Q. Now, as a practical matter, in St. Louis County,

with the exception of the Mesabi or Biwabik Iron forma-

tion * *, would you agree that the practice is and has

been as long as you have known it, not to include the

value of the minerals in arriving at an assessment where

there is no objective evidence or reliable data to indicate

whether or not there are minerals located therein?

THE WITNESS [Mr. Handberg]: I don't think that’s

a correct statement. I think that the value we put on the

A-50

property based on sales of similar property do include a

mineral value. For example, if the property is sold in an

area where the mining companies are interested or many

properties are sold, it drives up the sales prices of the

property, and so we use the sale prices as a basis of our

valuation.”

The fact that assessors may not value mineral interests as a

separate item is not significant. As Mr. Handberg’s testimony

clearly shows the value of a piece of property is a composite

of a number of factors, one of which includes the value of the

mineral interests if unsevered. Cf. Independent School Dist.

No. 99 v. Commr. of Tazation, 297 Minn. 378, 211 N.W.2d 886

(1978). In determining market value of property for ad va-

lorem tax purposes, assessing authorities should consider and

give due weight to every element and factor affecting market

value. Therefore the district court’s finding that unsevered

mineral interests are valued and taxed under the normal ad

valorem property tax system is adequately supported by the

evidence. Since none of the parties disputes the district court’s

findings that severed mineral interests have escaped taxation,

we cannot say that the separate classification of severed min-

eral interests is without a reasonable basis in fact. Johnson

v. Donovan, supra. ,

Concerning the separate taxation of severed mineral inter-

ests the district court made two critical findings. First, the

district court found that most severed mineral interests can-

not be assessed for ad valorem property tax purposes for two

reasons:

“(1) The value of the mineral in the ground can only

be determined by prohibitively expensive exploration such

as drilling and drill core analysis; and

A-451

(2) Data currently available to assessors on sales and

exchanges of the property rights in mineral estates (i. e.,

severed mineral interests) is very limited. Therefore, in

most cases such available data is insufficient to permit the

derivation of market values for individual severed mineral

interests from the sales prices or values of comparable

interests.”

Second, the district court found that every mineral interest in

Minnesota has some value as a property interest regardless

of its location, although the value of mineral interests may

vary from one part of the state to another. The first finding

is not contested.

Plaintiffs vigorously contest the second finding. They rely

on the expert testimony of Donald Lindgren, a geologist, who

testified that the value of plaintiff's mineral interests vary

widely in value, some having no economic value at the present

time. The record also contains, however, testimony of other

expert witnesses who detailed the abundance and distribution

of minerals within the state, the history of mineral develop-

ment, and the potential for future development. Even Mr.

Lindgren testified to the potential for future development.

On this record we cannot say that the district court’s finding

is clearly erroneous.

In sum the evidence supports the legislature’s findings that

a class of valuable property interests were escaping taxation

because of the practicable difficulties in identifying, valuing,

and assessing those interests within more traditional tax

schemes. In light of this evidence we cannot say that the

practical considerations which prompted the legislature to

classify separately severed mineral interests and to impose

a tax of $.25 per acre per year or $2.00 per year, whichever is

greater, were unreasonable.

A-52

That practical considerations can serve as the basis for the

classification and taxation of property was established long

ago in Mutual Benefit Ins. Co. v. County of Martin, 104 Minn.

179, 116 N.W. 572 (1908).* There this court upheld the taxa-

tion of mortgages separately from other personalty with the

following language:

“There were good and sufficient reasons why a special

method should be devised for the taxation of this kind of

property. It is a notorious fact that the owners of secur-

ities in the form of bonds and notes have not been in the

habit of paying their proportionate share of the taxes.

This has been due in a measure to the ease with which

the existence of such property can be concealed from the

tax officials. But when the owner of a note takes a mort-

gage on real estate as security and places it upon the

public records, he exposes his ownership * and enables

the assessor to reach him. * * The owner is thus tempted

to seek some devious method for escaping taxation, in

order that he may be on an equality with the owner of

an unsecured note or bond, which rests undiscovered in

a safety deposit vault. * * * Experience has shown that

it is very difficult, if not impossible, to fairly and suc-

cessfully tar this kind of property under the system

ordinarily applied to personal property. This practical

difficulty alone furnishes a basis for a classification, and

justifies the legislature in devising a special method for

the tazation of the subjects of that class. * * By requir-

ing a registration tax, every mortgage security pays a

The United States Supreme Court has also recognized practical

considerations as sufficient bases for state tax classifications. See

Lehnhausen vo. Lake Shore Auto Parts Co., 410 US. 35%, 3 S.CL

1001, 356 LEA 351 (1973); Medden tb. Kentucky, 398 US. 5&3.

6 S.Ct. 06, L.Ed 580 (1940).

A-53

moderate tax, and this, in the judgment of the legislature,

is preferable to the certain uncertainties of the old sys-

tem.” (Emphasis added.) 104 Minn. 182, 116 N.W. 574.

Cf. Johnson v. Donovan, supra.

We think the reasoning in the Mutual Benefit case applies

with equal force here. Here the taxation of severed mineral

interests in the same manner as other realty proved to be

impracticable and also, because of this impracticability, had

encouraged the separate ownership of surface and mineral

estates. A class of property having some value was not paying

its proportionate share of taxes. The remedy chosen by the

legislature was to tax mineral interests on a uniform basis,

which is but one part of the general system of mineral taxa-

tion. The tax is imposed only on those mineral interests not

“valued and taxed under other laws relating to the taxation

of minerals, gas; coal, oil or other similar interests.” Minn.

St. 273.13, subd. 2a. For example: the state tells us that where

the value of the minerals themselves is determined, a tax is

levied on the basis of such value. Unmined iron ore, except

certain low recovery ore, is designated as Class la real prop-

erty, presently assessed at 50 percent of its market value, and

taxed at the prevailing mill rate. Minn.St. 273.13, subd. 2. Low

recovery iron ores also fall within class la but are valued at

from 30 percent to 48½ percent of market value. Minn.St.

273.15. Unmined taconites and iron sulphides are to be as-

sessed and taxed on the basis of value with the one important

difference that the tax may not exceed $10.00 per acre. Minn.

St. 298.26. Finally, all other severed mineral interests, to the

extent they can be valued, are susceptible to ad valorem tax-

ation pursuant to Minn.St. 272.04 in the same manner as other

interests in land. In effect the legislature has directed that

severed mineral interests be taxed in relation to value or

A-54

production where possible but that under no circumstances

can such an interest be taxed at less than $2.00 per interest.

We cannot say that the legislature has exceeded its discretion.

The cases upon which plaintiffs rely do not compel a con-

trary conclusion. In State ez rel. Owen v. Donald, 161 Wis.

188, 153 N. W. 238 (1915), the plurality opinion declared

unconstitutional a statute which imposed a tax on severed

mineral interests. The concurring opinion of Justice Timlin,

however, indicates that the reason the statute was invalid was

because its tax forfeiture provisions treated owners of severed

mineral interests differently from owners of other property

interests. Likewise, in Northwestern Improv. Co. v. Morton

County, 78 N.D. 29, 47 N.W.2d 543 (1951), the statute taxing

severed mineral interests was unconstitutional because it im-

posed a tax on severed mineral interests created by reserva-

tions in deeds but did not tax severed mineral interests created

by a direct conveyance of the mineral interest. The court cited

an earlier decision upon which plaintiffs heavily rely, North-

western Improv. Co. v. State, 57 N.D. 1, 220 N. W. 436 (1928),

only for the proposition that a classification cannot be based

solely on the manner mineral rights are severed from the

surface interest. The North Dakota Supreme Court did not

give the decision the broad interpretation the plaintiffs urge

this court to adopt.

(6) 2. Plaintiffs also argue that the Minnesota Con-

stitution requires that real property taxes be related to value.

Plaintiffs have cited no authority, however, and we have dis-

covered none, that directly supports their argument. To the

contrary the language of the constitution and its interpreta-

tion by this court suggest that the controlling constitutional

provision was specifically amended to eliminate the absolute

requirement that taxes be related to value.

A-55

The Minnesota Constitution currently provides only that

“(t]axes shall be uniform upon the same class of subjects

* * *.” Minn. Const. art 10, § 1. Prior to 1906, however, the

Minnesota Constitution required “taxes to be as nearly equal

as may be, and all property on which taxes are to be levied

shall have a cash valuation, and be equalized and uniform

throughout the state.” Minn. Const. art. 9, § 1 (1857),

amended 1869, 1881, 1894, 1906. Interpreting the prior con-

stitutional language, this court declared unconstitytional a

probate fee arbitrarily based upon a cash valuation, State v.

Gorman, 40 Minn. 232, 41 N.W. 948 (1889); and a tax of

one per cent per ton on iron ore mined within the state. State

v. Lakeside Land Co., 71 Minn. 283, 78 N.W. 970 (1898). In

response to a number of unfavorable tax decisions the people

of the state amended the constitution in 1906 to its present

broad provision. Anderson, The Need for Constitutional Revi-

sion in Minnesota, 11 Minn. L, Rev. 189, 204. The purpose of

the 1906 amendment was to free the legislature from most of

the previous constitutional restraints.

“The fair adjustment of tax burdens * * * demanded

more comprehensive powers in the legislature; and the

people, relying upon the responsibility of that body to its

constituents, relaxed the restraints theretofore existing.”

Reed v. Bjornson, 191 Minn. 254, 259, 253 N.W. 102, 104

(1984).

The “wide-open tax amendment,” as it was popularly called,

eliminated the “absolute requirement of taxation of all prop-

erty on the basis of a cash valuation.” W. Anderson, A History

of the Constitution of Minnesota 190 (1921).

The cases upon which plaintiffs rely do not directly support

their position. In Independent School Dist. No. 99 v. Commr.

of Taxation, 297 Minn. 378, 211 N.W.2d 886 (19738), this court

A-56

reversed a decision of the Tax Court because the record did

not indicate whether the assessing authorities considered

every element affecting market value as required by the

statutory scheme. The decision did not, however, contain any

language indicating market value was a constitutional require-

ment. Similarly, plaintiffs’ reference to Minn. St. 273.11 as

legislative recognition that property must be taxed according

to value can be equally rationalized as a legislative recognition

of equality. See Jn re Petition of Dulton Realty, Inc. v. State,

270 Minn. 1, 15, 182 N.W.2d 394, 405 (1964).

(7, 8] Nor are cases involving the validity of assessments

for real estate taxes persuasive. See In re Petition of Dulton

Realty, Inc. v. State, supra; In re Petition of Hamm v. State,

255 Minn. 64, 95 N.W.2d 649 (1959), Both cases simply re-

quire that taxes on any one piece of roperty be uniform in

relation to the taxes levied on other property of the same

class. It is true that this court said, in reference to the uni-

formity clause, that it does not “permit the adoption of an

arbitrary yardstick of valuation for all properties which

ignores their differences in actual market value.” 255 Minn.

70, 95 N.W.2d 654. Here however, none of the parties contest

the fact that severed mineral interests cannot readily be

valued. Taken together with the district court’s finding that

every mineral interest has some value as a property interest

regardless of its location, the uniform tax imposed on severed

mineral interests represents a reasonable exercise of the

legislature's authority to tax a class of real property that has

escaped taxation. The uniformity clause does not require

absolute equality :

„ © The distribution of the tax burden in such

manner as seems equitable is recognized as a proper

exercise of the power of taxation. The selection of sub-

A-57

jects of taxation * * * is inherent in that power. The

process of selection involves classification with resulting

diversity in the subjects selected for taxation * * * as

well as in the amount of the tax.” C. Thomas Stores Sales

System, Inc. v. Spaeth, 209 Minn. 504, 297 N.W. 9, 16

(1941).

As noted earlier the separate classification of severed mineral

interests is reasonable. Therefore the fact that the amount

of tax may vary in some instances depending on the number

of owners does not make the tax constitutionally infirm.“

Plaintiffs also have referred to cases from other jurisdic-

tions which support their position. See, e.g., State of Teras

v. Federal Land Bank of Hous

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.