Petition — Mason v. Burger King Corp.

Supreme Court brief1984

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

83-ijtg7 |"

No.

In the Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1983

GERALD A. MASON, et al.,

Petitioners,

vs.

BURGER KING CORPORATION,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

J. Ropert Oxran, Ese.

(Counsel of Record )

BrITTON, COHEN, CASSEL, KAUFMAN

& ScHANTz, P.A.

100 S. Biscayne Boulevard, +800

Miami, Florida 33131

Phone: (305) 371-3100

Attorneys for Petitioners

E. L. Menpennatt, Inc., 926 Cherry Street, Kansas City, Mo. 64106, (816) 421-3030

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

I. Is the Decision of the Eleventh Circuit Court in

Conflict With the Decisions of Several Circuits and This

Court in Gasoline Products, Inc. v. Champlin Refining,

283 U.S. 494 (1931) Insofar As the Trial Judge Ordered

a Partial New Trial on the Amount of Damages, When

That Issue Was Clearly Not Distinct and Separable From

the Issue of Liability?

II. Is the Decision of the Eleventh Circuit in Conflict

With This Court’s Decision in Atlantic and Gulf Stevedores,

Inc. v. Ellerman Lines, 369 U.S. 355 (1962), or a Substantial

Deparature From the Law Set Forth Therein Insofar As

the Trial Judge Failed to Seek a Resolution of the Jury’s

Answers Which Would Make Them Consistent?

LIST OF PARTIES

Allison Park Corp. +1

B-K Foods, Inc.

Burger King Corporation

Gerald A. Mason

Wesley Hardy 4

Donald Szabo

Richard D. Peterson

Dauphin Foods Corp. +1

Smithfield Corp. +2

Washington Corp. +1

Elkhart =1 Inc.

Southbend +1 Inc.

State College, P.A. +1 Inc.

Lafayette Corporation +1

Lafayette Corporation +2

Hardy Enterprises, Inc.

Ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented for Review ...............cccccceccceceesseeeeseeee I

Be OE TI i ssisedpnkec acccnccctcisdnsobneiiniacemiidisigadaias nie II

Te OE I ocsrscccssccsiniesibccccenles eee IV

I I oisicvinccnsiesinisntsicciccinadsiaeciaeeaeaiemiaceiaie 1

OG HOMIE on ccesnisscassnssmenipieinncoucstakicumemmanmadeann 1

Argument—

I. The decision of the Eleventh Circuit is in

conflict with decisions of several circuits and

this Court in Gasoline Products, Inc. v.

Champlin Refining, 283 U.S. 494 (1931) in-

sofar as the trial judge ordered a partial new

trial on the amount of damages, when that

issue was clearly not distinct and separable

from the issue of liability 00.0000... 7

II. The decision of the Eleventh Circuit is in con-

flict with this Court’s decision in Atlantic and

Gulf Stevedores, Inc. v. Ellerman Lines, 369

U.S. 355 (1962), or a substantial departure

from the law set forth therein insofar as the

trial judge failed to seek a resolution of the

jury’s answers which would make them con-

RI ceccivnsntinittinnanitsenisgeeeinbiiiamecmpedh ei

MIST Ae MEN SS Sate PATA Heo 15

Cees GE NWN ogcckicoccccscrcsenedeobince Eee oem 15

Appendix—

Decision of Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals

Ge Fae 0 TT nccieevincecicintinsacteenntavadtanceias Al

Order of U. S. District Court, Southern District of

Florida dated October 31, 1980 .0..........c.cccccccesesees A47

IV

Order of U. S. District Court, Southern District of

Florida, dated February 20, 1981 ......... jtochusmivaansodas A50

Order of U. S. District Court, Southern District of

Florida, dated May 20, 1981 00... ceeeeeeeeees A52

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law of U. S.

District Court, Southern District of Florida,

(Ss SS eee A55

Findings of Facts and Conclusions of Law of U. S.

District Court, Southern District of Florida,

Gated November 25, 1061 .................ccs.ccscsscssssessseees A65

Final Judgment of U. S. District Court, Southern

District of Florida, dated December 16, 1981 .... A77

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law of U. S.

District Court, Southern District of Florida,

= — fA ena A102

Final Judgment in Favor of Burger King Corp.

and Against Defendants on Attorney’s Fees and

Expenses, dated June 3, 1982 0.0.0........ccccccceeees All12

Order of U. S. District Court, Southern District of

Florida, dated June 29, 1982 .00..0........ccccccccens. A120

Order of U. S. District Court, Southern District of

Florida, dated December 30, 1980 2.0... 000000000... Al2l

BE eee en ee A123

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Ajax Hardware v. Industrial Plants Corp., 569 F.2d 181

RE Ee DNR thereat aio tao BSE Ail MOEA 10

Atlantic and Gulf Stevedores, Inc. v. Ellerman Lines,

Ue We I I erent ne rin ne 1, 13

Fury v. Shakespeare, 554 F.2d 1376 (5th Cir.1977) ..... 9

Vv

Gasoline Products, Inc. v. Champlin Refining, 283 U.S.

SURE NMI caticoosephacintsidiass ionipshisecetadiiaasispseonencmudaaemnti aie deaatnetta 1,8

Hadra v. Herman Blum Consulting Engineers, 632 F.2d

SP CUS ID icaciciccasatesitasetndinsecantescountasmeeieaaa: ae

Lucas v. American Manufacturing Co., 630 F.2d 291

GUEE: APNE CIUNINDT . cisncscanectsicsincssiciniseninacomnssschgicapenhaamsaaeaaal: 9

Miller v. Royal Netherlands Steamship Co., 508 F.2d

Be CE NED Giricctrateinincdetsnntignecdcen 13

Williams v. Slade, 431 F.2d 605, 608 (5th Cir.1970) ....8,9, 11

Other Authorities

Sy Ge: GD ac Oe eek ee l

i: SRR, PNM "ciccslinn'niscacolcshaniien oubcdogemiionaeaieomaeaane Eee 5

a eee ee Rane SNe oe 6

«tt

No.

In the Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1983

GERALD A. MASON, et al.,

Petitioners,

VS.

BURGER KING CORPORATION,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

BASIS FOR JURISDICTION

The judgment sought to be reviewed is dated August

1, 1983, and no time was recorded. Rehearing was denied

on October 14, 1983. This petition is brought before this

Court pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Petitioners, GERALD A. MASON, WES HARDY,

RICHARD PETERSON and DONALD SZABO, et al. held

varying interests in Burger King franchises and develop-

ment agreements. Suit was initiated by BURGER KING

containing more than thirty counts whereby BURGER

KING sought, inter alia, termination of certain development

agreements in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania and Kansas City,

Missouri; cancellation of 26 franchise agreements, and the

recovery of certain sums allegedly owed on promissory

notes, royalties and the like. Counter¢laims and affirma-

tive defenses were set forth by the Petitioners.

2

The case was tried before a jury. The nature of the

jury’s findings, however, created certain problems. The

The first problem related to findings regarding amounts

owed. The claim of BURGER KING which was submitted

to the jury in Special Issue +1 was based upon five promis-

sory notes, with a principal balance in excess of $900,000

and accounts receivable in excess of $600,000. These

amounts were not in dispute. Rather, the Petitioners,

MASON, et al., had presented certain defenses which, if

successful, would have defeated liability.

The jury, however, ruled in favor of BURGER KING

as to liability in regard to those items, but ignored the

amounts in evidence. Instead of awarding a sum in excess

of $900,000 on the promissory notes and $600,000 on the

accounts receivable, the jury awarded $1.00 and $100,000.

Second, the jury’s answers to certain special inter-

rogatories appeared to be potentially inconsistent. In par-

ticular, the jury responded to Special Issue +5 as follows:

“With respect to BURGER KING CORPORA-

TATION’s claims regarding termination of the

franchise agreements, we the jury find that:

“A. BURGER KING CORPORATION properly

terminated all of the franchise agreements.................

“or

“B. BURGER KING CORPORATION wrongfully

terminated all of the franchise agreements.................

“or

“(C.) BURGER KING CORPORATION properly

terminated the franchise agreements covering the

restaurants listed in Column 1 and wrongfully

terminated the franchise agreements covering the

restaurants listed in Column 2.

1 2

Franchise Agreements Franchise Agreements

_ Terminated Properly Terminated Improperly

TAREE R ERE eRe Renee ee ee EER eee ee eee ene ee ee eewenne

eer reer i Peter tr reer eer

Pe ee Ow eee n ene eee re een eee ee ene eeteeeeeeeeeeeeeieeeee

*The jury’s actual writing, with the crossing out of various

numbers, is contained in the Appendix at p. Al23. However, the

response typed above is an accurate representation of what the

jury did. The double lines indicate a number which was crossed

out.

4

Subsequent to the jury verdict, BURGER KING filed

a Motion for Clarification of the verdict with regard to

Special Issues +1 and +2. It sought the entry of an Order

awarding the full principal and interest of the Promissory

Notes and an additional award of $1.00, and the full amount

of the accounts receivable, plus interest, together with an

additional award of $100,000.00. In the alternative,

BURGER KING moved for the entry of Judgment Not-

withstanding the Verdict seeking the full amount of the

Promissory Notes and accounts receivable, together with

interest thereon.

The Petitioners sought to uphold the jury’s verdict, if

at all possible, in accordance with the requirements of the

Seventh Amendment. Petitioners proposed to the Court a

possible explanation of the jury’s verdict, in light of the

entire case, which would have permitted the jury’s verdict

to stand in its entirety.

The District Court, by an Order dated October 31,

1980. denied BURGER KING’s Motion for Clarification as

to Special Issues No. 1 and 2 and further denied the Motion

for Judgment Notwithstanding the Verdict as to Special

Issues No. 1 and 2. The District Court, on its own motion,

determined, however, that the jury’s verdicts on those

Special Issues decided the issue of liability against the

Petitioners but the award of $1.00 on Promissory Notes in

the principal amount of $900,000 (totalling in excess of

$1,000,000, including interest), and $100,000 on accounts

receivable with a book value of over $500,000 (actually

totalling in excess of $600,000, including interest) was

contrary to the weight of the evidence. The District Court

then ordered that a new trial limited to the issue of dam-

ages only on these two claims would be held. BURGER

KING’s Motion for Judgment Notwithstanding the Ver-

dict as to Special Issue No. 5 was denied. However, the

5

District Judge found that he could not ascertain the jury’s

response to Special Issue No. 5 regarding the franchises.

Without addressing the meaning of the word “NONE” in

the “Properly Terminated” column of Special Issue No. 5,

the Court directed that a new trial be held with regard

to all of Petitioners’ franchises not specifically listed in

the “Improperly Terminated” column.

Following the court’s Order of October 31, 1980, the

Petitioners moved for a new trial on all issues on the

grounds that, given the District Court's rulings regarding

Special Issues No. 1 and 2, the jury’s verdict regarding

those claims indicated a substantial possibility of juror

misconduct or confusion, specifically an improper compro-

mise verdict. The court denied the Petitioners’ Motion

for a New Trial and directed that the new trial would be

limited to the issues set forth in the District Court’s Octo-

ber 31, 1980 Order. Following the entry of this Order,

the Petitioners moved the District Court to amend its

Order to certify the order for Interlocutory Appeal, pur-

suant to 28 U.S.C. §1292(b). The District Court, by its

Order dated February ?4, 1981, denied this motion.

On March 6, 1981, BURGER KING moved for Partial

Summary Judgment on the damages issues of its claims on

the promissory notes and accounts receivable, which were

the subject of Special Issues No. 1 and 2, which motion

was supported by an affidavit updating the testimony

introduced at the first trial concerning the balances due

on these obligations as reflected by BURGER KING’s books

and records. The Petitioners opposed the motion on the

same grounds as had been advanced in opposition to

BURGER KING’s Motion for Judgment Notwithstanding

the Verdict on these same claims, incorporating all of the

arguments advanced in opposition to that motion and the

testimony from the first trial in support of those argu-

ments (regarding the existence and amount of offsets

and credits). The District Court granted BURGER

KING’s motion on these claims, converting the jury’s $1.00

award to $1,052,147.70 and the jury’s $100,000 award to

$711,544.77.

The second jury trial commenced on August 26, 1981.

The second jury's verdict found that BURGER KING had

properly terminated six of the seven franchise agreements

which the jury had considered. Three of these franchises

were terminated on grounds identical to those which the

first jury held did not justify termination of several other

franchises.

A bench trial was held on September 2, 1981 wherein

it was held by the court that BURGER KING was not en-

titled to rescission of certain franchise agreements. On

September 21-22, 1981, another trial was heard before the

court wherein the court awarded the Petitioners’ net profits

to BURGER KING.

Following the entry of a final judgment, attorney's

fees and costs, Petitioners filed their Notice of Appeal to the

Eleventh Circuit on January 10, 1982, and BURGER KING

cross appealed. After submission of briefs and hearing

arguments, the Eleventh Circuit vacated the award of net

profits, but affirmed the trial judge in all other respects.

The result in this case was that by virtue of the whit-

tling away of the jury’s province by the trial judge and the

Eleventh Circuit,* a judgment highly favorable to the Peti-

tioners was changed into a nightmare, a total judgment

in excess of $3,000,000, and the loss of many franchises in

which the Petitioners had invested for many years.

*Jurisdiction was pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291.

ARGUMENT

A

THE DECISION OF THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT IS

IN CONFLICT WITH THE DECISIONS OF SEVERAL

CIRCUITS AND THIS COURT IN GASOLINE PROD-

UCTS, INC. v. CHAMPLIN REFINING, 283 U.S. 494

(1931) INSOFAR AS THE TRIAL JUDGE ORDERED

A PARTIAL NEW TRIAL ON THE AMOUNT OF

DAMAGES, WHEN THAT ISSUE WAS CLEARLY

NOT DISTINCT AND SEPARABLE FROM THE IS.-

SUE OF LIABILITY.

The issue created by the factual circumstances cited

above wherein the jury found in favor of BURGER KING

but awarded minimal damages, was whether the trial judge

erred in granting a partial new trial limited solely to the

issue of the amount of damages. The position advanced by

MASON was that granting a partial new trial was error in

view of the jury’s award of negligible sums in the face of

findings in favor of BURGER KING on liability. MASON

had submitted that the jurors’ conduct was indicative of a

compromise verdict, an agreement to rule in favor of

BURGER KING but to award nominal damages, especially

in view of the undisputed amounts asserted in relation to

the claimed liability.

The panel which heard this case in the Eleventh Cir-

cuit denied MASON’s position. It did so despite an initial

restatement of the applicable law as follows:

“It is axiomatic, however, that a partial new trial

may not be granted if it would infringe upon a

litigant’s seventh amendment right to a jury trial. In

Gasoline Products v. Champlin Refining Co., 283 U.S.

494, 513, 75 L.Ed. 1188 (1931), the Supreme Court

enunciated the standard which governs partial new

trial practice:

{[w]here the practice permits a partial new trial,

it may not properly be resorted to unless it clearly

appears that the issue to be retried is so distinct

and separable from the others that a trial of it

alone may be had without injustice.

“Id. at 500, 51 S.Ct. at 515, 75 L.Ed. at 1191. Apply-

ing Champlin Refining the former Fifth Circuit Court

of Appeals held that a jury verdict influenced by an

improper compromise cannot stand and a complete

new trial is required because liability and damages

are inseparable. See, e.g., Lucas v. American Manu-

facturing Co., 630 F.2d 291, 294 (Sth Cir.1980); Hat-

field v. Seaboard Air Line R.R. Co., 396 F.2d 721, 724

(5th Cir.1968). Hence, if there is a compromised

finding on liability, a separate trial on damages alone

will not suffice—both liability and damages must be

litigated in a new trial.” Id.

The nature of the decision of the appellate court is

such that it meets some of the suggested bases for certiorari

jurisdiction. Specifically, it is in direct conflict with deci-

sions of this Court, the Fifth Circuit and the Second Circuit.

The basic rule regarding granting a partial new trial

was set forth in Gasoline Products, Inc. v. Champlin Refin-

ing, quoted above. The meaning of that rule has been

established by several decisions of the Fifth Circuit.

In Williams v. Slade, 431 F.2d 605, 608. (5th Cir.1970),

the court stated:

“In other words, a court may properly award a par-

tial new trial only when the issue affected by the error

9

could have in no way influenced the verdict on those

included in the new trial. If the decision on the

other issues could in any way have been infected by

the error, then a new trial must be had on all issues.”

(Emphasis supplied )

The court in Williams v. Slade also quoted with ap-

proval the following passage:

‘‘We have power in an appropriate case to remand

only for redetermination of the amount of damages,

excluding from the scope of a new trial the question

of liability, see Washington Gas Light Company v.

Connolly, 94 U.S. App.D.C. 156, 214 F.2d 254, and

cases there cited. But our power in this regard is to

be exercised with caution and not when the error

which necessitates a new trial is in respect of a mat-

ter which might well have affected the jury’s deter-

mination of other issues. Cf. Thompson v. Camp, 6

Cir., 167 F.2d 733. Here it appears from the record

as a whole that the interests of justice will be best

served by a new trial on all issues. * * *” 244 F.2d

at 376. (Emphasis supplied).

Likewise, in Lucas v. American Manufacturing Co.,

630 F.2d 291 (5th Cir.1980) the court stated:

“Where, as here, the issues of liability and damages

were tried together and there are indications that the

jury may have rendered a compromise verdict, the

Court should grant a new trial on all issues rather

than one limited solely to the issues rather than one

_limited to solely the issue of damages.” (At 294; Em-

phasis added).

Furthermore, in Fury v. Shakespeare, 554 F.2d 1376

(5th Cir.1977), the court stated:

10

“We also have decided that a new trial is required

on the issue of compensatory damages. Because this

issue is so intimately intertwined with issues of li-

ability . . . justice requires that a new trial be held on

all issues.”

The Second Circuit has also stated the governing rule

in a similar manner, requiring a new trial on all matters

if there was a reasonable possibility of a compromise ver-

dict. Ajax Hardware v. Industrial Plants Corp., 569 F.2d

181 (2d Cir.1977).

The prevailing rule, as initially stated by this Court

and applied by various Circuit Courts is that a new trial

on the issues of both liability and the amount of damages

should be granted if the apparent error “could have” or

“might well have” influenced other findings or where

“there are indications” of a compromise verdict. The

thrust of the prevailing rule is significant. It is that where

a compromise is possible (‘could have,” “might well have

influenced,” or “indication”’) a new trial should encompass

all issues which could have possibly been affected by the

error which is indicative of compromise.

The Eleventh Circuit has completely reversed the

existing rule. The possibility or indication of compro-

mise is no longer the basis for a new trial on the related

issues of both liability and damages. The new test moves

in the opposite direction. The court looked for, not an in-

dication of possible error affecting the entire decision,

but for a possible explanation of the jury’s conduct, stat-

ing in part:

“It is possible that the jury thought BKC would re-

ceive payment on the promissory notes and accounts

based solely on their finding that BKC was entitled

to recover for these items and, therefore, any ad-

11

ditional findings of ‘damages’ would simply amount

to a duplication.”

The thrust of the new rule is that where a possible

explanation can be provided, only a partial new trial should

be granted.* This is the direct opposite of the prevailing

rule which said that if there was any indication of com-

promise, a complete new trial should be granted. Mere

speculation as to possible explanations was not sufficient

to deny a total new trial in the face of indications of con-

duct affecting the entire decision.

The possibility of compromise no longer governs, and

“indications” of compromise are no longer significant; and

the fact that the error (a clearly inappropriate damage

award) “might have” or “could have affected other issues”

is now subservient to speculation based upon “the totality

of the circumstances.” The court attributed this test to

Williams v. Slade, supra. Such language does appear in

Williams at page 609. However, it is clear that when one

reads the pertinent portion of the decision, it is simply

an explanatory passage, perhaps not as clear as one would

desire, which does not alter the test set forth on lines

30-35, at page 608, quoted above. In other words, the

court can examine the totality of circumstances to deter-

mine whether the error could have influenced the verdict.

A general examination of the totality of circumstances in

order to search for any possible explanation is not the ap-

propriate test. Restated, a court may properly examine

the totality of the circumstances, but toward what end?

*The appellate panel cited only Hadra v. Herman Blum Con-

sulting Engineers, 632 F.2d 1242 (5th Cir.1980) in support of its

holding. In Hadra the Court stated that the issue excluded from

the new trial was logically independent of the alleged source of

compromise and the appellant conceded that there was no likeli-

hood of jury misconduct.

12

The prevailing rule directed the examination toward dis-

covering any indication that the error affected other issues

such as liability, thereby mandating a complete new trial.

The new rule directs an examination toward discovering

any possible explanation which will then serve as a basis

for denial of a complete new trial.

This shift in emphasis is not a mere question of degree.

Rather, it directly reverses the old rule, creates conflict

with the decisions quoted above, and creates considerable

confusion for any trial judge faced with this question.

II.

THE DECISION OF THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT IS

IN CONFLICT WITH THIS COURT’S DECISION IN

ATLANTIC AND GULF STEVEDORES, INC. v. ELLER-

MAN LINES, 369 U.S. 355 (1962) OR A SUBSTANTIAL

DEPARTURE FROM THE LAW SET FORTH THERE.

IN INSOFAR AS THE TRIAL JUDGE FAILED TO

SEEK A RESOLUTION OF THE JURY’S ANSWERS

WHICH WOULD MAKE THEM CONSISTENT.

Another issue decided adversely to MASON by the

appellate panel was whether the trial judge could have

reconciled the jury’s findings that “NONE” of the MASON

franchises were properly terminated with an apparent find-

ing that some were improperly terminated.

The pertinent special issue was constructed as follows:

SPECIAL ISSUE NO. 5

With respect to BURGER KING CORPORATION’s

claims regarding termination of the franchise agree-

ments, we the jury find that:

A. BURGER KING CORPORATION properly termi-

nated all of the franchise agreements.

13

or

B. BURGER KING CORPORATION wrongfully

terminated all of the franchise agreements,

or

C. BURGER KING CORPORATION properly ter-

minated the franchise agreements covering the restau-

rants listed in Column 1 and wrongfully terminated

the franchise agreements covering the restaurants

listed in Column 2.

The jury did not check categories A or B. Rather, it

turned to category C which had a column for franchises

properly terminated and a column for franchises wrong-

fully terminated. There was a great deal of listing in each

column and subsequent crossing out. (The jury’s work

product is contained in the Appendix). Ultimately, after

much crossing out, under the column designating proper

termination, the jury wrote in the word “None”. However,

the jury had apparently not completed the process of

crossing out specific numbers under the contrary column.

The Eleventh Circu.t disregarded the basic rule of

law which governs this type of situation; namely, this

Court’s pronouncement in Atlantic and Gulf Stevedores,

Inc. v. Ellerman Lines, 369 U.S. 355 (1962):

“Where there is a view of the case that makes the

jury’s answers to special interrogatories consistent,

they must be resolved that way. For a search for one

possible view of the case which will make the jury’s

findings inconsistent results in a collision with the

Seventh Amendment.” (At 364; Emphasis supplied).

This principle has been explicitly incorporated in Miller v.

Royal Netherlands Steamship Co., 508 F.2d 1103 (5th Cir.

1975).

14

There is a view of the case which explains the apparent

inconsistency, and discounts the reasoning of the Eleventh

Circuit. It is readily apparent that the jurors initially re-

jected alternatives A and B (all yes or all no). Turning

to C, they began to enter various franchise numbers under

two columns designating proper termination or wrongful

termination. Subsequently, they did much crossing out.

Then they entered the word “None” under the column for

proper termination. At that point, they decided that their

position was clear and their work was finished and left

the answers in their existing form.

The Eleventh Circuit overlooked an extremely prob-

able scenario and failed to apply the governing rule, namely

that when reconciliation of special interrogatories is pos-

sible, the court should do so in order to preserve the right

provided by the Seventh Amendment. Therefore, the

ruling below constitutes a substantial departure from the

law which conflicts with a previous decision of this Court.

15

CONCLUSION

Wherefore, based upon the foregoing, this Court should

issue a writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

BRITTON, COHEN, CASSEL,

KAUFMAN & SHANT2Z, P. A.

100 S. Biscayne Blvd., +800

Miami, Florida 33131

Phone: (305) 371-3100

Attorneys for Petitioners

By J. Ropert OLIAN

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and correct copy of

the foregoing Petition for Writ of Certiorari was furnished

by mail to ANDREW C. HALL, ESQ,., Hall and O’Brien,

P.A., Brickell Concours, +200, 1401 Brickell Avenue, Miami,

Florida 33131; and LEE N. ABRAMS, ESQ., Mayer, Brown

& Platt, Co-Counsel for Respondent, 231 S. LaSalle St.,

Chicago, Illinois 60604, this 29th day of December, 1983.

J. Ropert OLIAN

Al

APPENDIX

DECISION OF ELEVENTH CIRCUIT COURT

OF APPEALS

(Dated August 1, 1983)

BURGER KING CORPORATION,

Plaintiff-Appellee, Cross-Appellant,

Vv.

Gerald A. MASON, et al.,

Defendants-Appellants, Cross-Appellees.

BURGER KING CORPORATION, a Florida Corporation,

Plaintiff-Appellee, Counter-Defendant, Cross-Appellant,

Vv.

Gerald A. MASON, et al.,

Defendants-Appellants, Counter-Plaintiffs,

Cross-Appellees.

Nos. 82-5066, 82,5803.

United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit.

Aug. 1, 1983.

Franchisor sued franchisee upon various claims, and

the franchisee sought on appeal to reverse portions of the

final judgment of the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Florida at Miami, Edward B. Davis,

J. The franchisor filed cross appeals to certain adverse

rulings. Franchisee also filed separate appeal from at-

torney’s fee award and franchisor cross appealed on such

issue. The Court of Appeals, Albert J. Henderson, Circuit

Judge, held that: (1) compromise verdict was not in-

dicated and district court did not abuse discretion in or-

A2

dering new trial only on issue of damages; (2) where

jury’s choice of one alternative was inconsistent with its

finding that no franchise had been properly terminated

and jury’s answer did not resolve disposition of over half

of the franchises, trial court properly declined to supply

facts submitted for jury’s determination but left un-

answered; (3) instruction to jury that franchise could not

be revoked absent a “material” breach of the particular

agreement comported with substantial Florida case law:

(4) where franchisor consented to use of trademark pro-

vided that franchisor retained its right to seek damages

upon later determination of its right to cancel any or all

of remaining franchises, trial court could find that fran-

chisee “ratified” such proposal and therefore was estopped

from claiming that franchisor had agreed to trademark

use; (5) continued trademark use by one whose trade-

mark license had been cancelled satisfied likelihood of

confusion test and constituted trademark infringement;

but (6) record failed to support finding that profits earned

by franchisee equaled franchisor’s damages from breach

by franchisee, and thus award of profits as compensatory

damages for breach of contract was error.

Attorney's fees award made pursuant to Florida statute

vacated, and damages assessed for breach of franchise

agreements vacated; case remanded with directions; judg-

ment otherwise affirmed.

1. Jury (Key) 31(7%2)

Partial new trial may not be granted if it would in-

fringe upon litigant’s Seventh Amendment right to jury

trial, and it must clearly appear that issue to be retried

is so distinct and separable from others that trial of it alone

may be had without injustice. U.S.C.A. Const.Amend. 7:

Fed.Rules Civ.Proc.Rule 59(a), 28 U.S.C.A.

A3

2. Federal Civil Procedure (Key) 2315

If there is compromised finding on liability, separate

trial on damages alone will not suffice, and both liability

and damages must be relitigated in new trial. Fed.Rules

Civ.Proc.Rule 59(a), 28 U.S.C.A.

3. Federal Civil Procedure (Key) 2194

Nominal or inadequate finding of damages by itself

does not automatically mandate conclusion that award was

product of compromise verdict and, rather, inquiry must

concentrate on any indicia of compromise apparent from

the record and other factors which may have caused jury

to return verdict for inadequate damages. Fed.Rules Civ.

Proc.Rule 59 (a), 28 U.S.C.A.

4. Federal Civil Procedure (Key) 2315

Only if “totality of the circumstances” indicates that is-

sue sought to be excluded by partial new trial is not sep-

arable from error in damage award will plenary new trial

be authorized. Fed.Rules Civ.Proc.Rule 59(a), 28 U.S.C.A.

5. Federal Civil Procedure (Key) 2315

Where jury repeatedly found that defendant failed to

establish its affirmative defenses, which was only basis on

which defendant could escape liability, and where sole in-

dication of jury compromise was low amount of damages

and jury required only two to three hours to reach verdict

after long, protracted trial, and where award could only

be explained by reference to use of term “damages” on

special interrogatories, compromise verdict was not indi-

cated and district court did not abuse discretion in order-

ing new trial only on issue of damages. Fed.Rules Civ.Proc.

Rule 59a), 28 U.S.C.A.

A4

6. Federal Courts (Key) 825

Even though more stringent appellate review is called

for when trial court orders new trial, abuse of discretion

standard controls appellate consideration of the decision.

Fed.Rules Civ.Proc.Rule 59(a), 28 U.S.C.A.

7. Federal Civil Procedure (Key) 2197

Trial judge must make all reasonable efforts to recon-

cile inconsistent jury verdict, and if there is view of case

which makes jury’s answers consistent, court must adopt

that vi:w and enter judgment accordingly.

8. Federal Civil Procedure (Key) 2192

Test employed in determining whether conflict in ver-

dict can be reconciled is whether answers may fairly be

said to represent logical and probable decision on relevant

issues as submitted, but if jury’s answers are so am-

biguous or conflicting that they cannot be reconciled fairly,

trial court may not enter judgment thereon.

9. Federal Civil Procedure (Key) 2237

Special verdict which does not resolve essential facts

or which does so in inexplicable fashion will not support

judgment, and trial judges are not empowered to fill in

facts omitted from answer to special interrogatory.

10. Federal Civil Procedure (Key) 2240

When insurmountable inconsistency or ambiguity in

jury verdict is perceived, trial court may resubmit issue to

jury before it is dismissed, or order new trial on some or

all of the issues. Fed.Rules Civ.Proc.Rule 59(a), 28

U.S.C.A.

A5

11. Federal Civil Procedure (Key) 2216

Because of risk of inconsistency and ambiguity which

accompanies use of special interrogatories, attorneys should

pay careful attention insuring that acceptable verdict has

been rendered before jury is discharged from case.

12. Federal Civil Procedure (Key) 2240

In suit arising out of franchise operation, wherein

jury’s choice of one alternative was inconsistent with its

finding that no franchise had been properly terminated

and jury’s answer did not resolve disposition of over half

of the franchises, trial court properly declined to supply

facts submitted for jury’s determination but left un-

answered. Fed.Rules Civ.Proc.Rule 59(a), 28 U.S.C.A.

13. Contracts (Key) 261(1), 321(2)

Mere breach of agreement which causes no loss will

not sustain suit for damages, much less rescission.

14. Contracts (Key) 261(2)

Although as general rule parties to contract may

strictly enforce its terms and courts will not rewrite agree-

ment to undo consequences of bad bargain, unilateral ter-

mination of contracts is not blindly sanctioned when de-

fault causes no harm to party seeking to avoid performance.

15. Contracts (Key) 353(7)

Instruction to jury that franchise could not be revoked

absent a “material’’ breach of the particular agreement

comported with substantial Florida case law.

A6

16. Federal Courts (Key) 781

Given possible ambiguity in state judicial precedent,

Court of Appeals deferred to district judge’s interpretation

of law of state in which he presided.

17. Trade Regulation (Key) 540

Ordinarily, trademark infringement cases are pred-

icated on complaint that defendant employed trademark so

similar to that of plaintiff that public will mistake defen-

dant’s products for those of the plaintiff. Lanham Trade-

Mark Act, § 32(1) (a), 15 U.S.C.A. § 1114(1) (a).

18. Trade Regulation (Key) 334

Falsely suggesting affiliation with trademark owner in

manner likely to cause confusion as to source or sponsorship

constitutes infringement. Lanham Trade-Mark Act, § 32

(1) (a), 15 U.S.C.A. § 1114(1) (a).

19. Trade Regulation (Key) 338

Unauthorized use of trademark which has effect of

misleading public to believe that user is sponsored or ap-

proved by registrant can constitute infringement. Lanham

Trade-Mark Act, § 32(1) (a), 15 U.S.C.A. § 1114(1) (a).

20. Trade Regulation (Key) 112

Where trademark registrant consented to use of trade-

mark provided that registrant retained its right to seek

damages upon later determination of its right to cancel any

or all of remaining franchises, trial court could find that

franchisee “ratified” such proposal and therefore was es-

topped from claiming that registrant had agreed to trade-

mark use. Lanham Trade-Mark Act, § 32(1)(a), 15

U.S.C.A. § 1114(1) (a).

A7

21. Trade Regulation (Key) 338

Continued trademark use by one whose trademark li-

cense had been cancelled satisfied likelihood of confusion

test and constituted trademark infringement. Lanham

Trade-Mark Act, $$ 1 et seq., 32(1) (a), 35, 15 U.S.C.A. §§

1051 et seq., 1114(1) (a), 1117.

22. Trade Regulation (Key) 598

Trial court could find that franchisor did not prove

with sufficient certainty that continued operation after

termination of franchise caused purported injury.

23. Damages (Key) 6

Wrongdoer cannot escape liability simply because

harm he caused is difficult to value, but plaintiff must

make positive showing that defendant was in fact respon-

sible for the alleged damages.

24. Damages (Key) 28

Award of infringer’s profits can be appropriate mea-

sure of damages for federal or state trademark infringe-

ment but disgorgement of profits earned is not remedy for

breach of contract and, under Florida law, contract plain-

tiff may recover damages in amount which will place him

in position that he would have obtained but for the breach

or the damages that are the natural and proximate result

of the default, subject to the rules of foreseeability and

certainty.

25. Damages (Key) 189

Record failed to support finding that profits earned by

franchisee equaled franchisor’s damage from breach by

franchisee, and thus award of profits as compensatory dam-

ages for breach of contract was error.

A8

26. Damages (Key) 40(1)

Accounting of profits may be appropriate to prevent

unjust enrichment of trademark infringer, but does not

compart with compensatory nature of breach of contract

damages.

27. Trade Regulation (Key) 672, 683

Damages provision of Lanham Act vests considerable

discretion in district court, and, guided by principles of

equity, court may award defendant's profits, and additional

extraordinary relief such as treble damages and attorney's

fees are available under statute if district court believes

that such assessment would be just. Lanham Trade-Mark

Act, § 35, 15 U.S.C.A. § 1117.

28. Trade Regulation (Key) 725

Remedial accommodation provided by damages pro-

vision of Lanham Act envisions exercise of trial judge's dis-

cretion, and it would be inappropriate for reviewing court

to attempt determination of damages in first instance. Lan-

ham Trade-Mark Act, § 35, 15 U.S.C.A. § 1117.

29. Trade Regulation (Key) 682

Award of attorney’s fees for violation of Lanham Act

is proper only in “exceptional cases” and the elements of

bad faith or fraud must be present to support the same.

Lanham Trade-Mark Act, § 35, 15 U.S.C.A. § 1117.

30. Trade Regulation (Key) 683

There is no automatic right to enhance damages for

Lanham Act violation. Lanham Trade-Mart Act, § 35,

15 U.S.C.A. § 1117,

A9

31. Trade Regulation (Key) 673

Although accounting of profits can be effective means

to prevent unjust enrichment of trademark infringer, all

monetary awards under damages provision of Lanham

Act are subject to principles of equity. Lanham Trade-

Mark Act, § 35, 15 U.S.C.A. § 1117.

32. Federal Civil Procedure (Key) 2737.5

Where it was provided in development agreements

that in the event developers disputed franchisor’s termi-

nation of agreement and legal action was commenced

developers would indemnify and reimburse franchisor for

costs and attorney’s fees in successfully “defending such

action,” term “action” near end of provision meant legal

action as opposed to “action” of terminating agreements in

general, but where in response to franchisor’s general com-

plaint developers contended that development agreements

had been illegally cancelled and filed counterclaim for

specific performance and damages for wrongful termina-

tion, franchisor was placed in position of defending lawsuit

for wrongful termination of development agreements, and

situation was squarely within terms of attorney's fee pro-

vision.

33. Costs (Key) 10

Under Florida law, contract which provides for pay-

ment of attorney’s fees is binding and must be enforced by

trial court.

34. Federal Civil Procedure (Key) 2737.5

In view of overlapping of issues, some of which were

compensable and some of which were not compensable

under contract provision for payment of attorney’s fees,

Al0

and in view of district court judge’s opportunity to esti-

mate amount of lawyer time devoted to various issues be-

fore him, fee awarded to franchisor pursuant to develop-

ment agreements satisfied reasonableness standard.

35. Costs (Key) 173(1)

Under Florida statute providing for reasonable attor-

ney’s fee award to prevailing party, there must be finding

by the court that there was complete absence of justiciable

issue raised by losing party, and same was true even

where it was obvious to reviewing court that, by award-

ing fees pursuant to the statute, the trial judge found

that claims met statutory standard. West’s F.S.A. § 57.105.

36. Costs (Key) 173(1)

Attorney’s fees can be granted under Florida statute

when claims have been dismissed or defeated as long as

no justiciable issues of law or fact were raised by the

claims, and although dismissal by itself will not support

award, voluntary dismissal is not bar to award of attor-

ney’s fees under the statute. West's F.S.A. § 57.105.

37. Costs (Key) 173(1)

Notwithstanding Florida statute providing for award

of reasonable attorney's fee to prevailing party in any

civil action in which court finds that there was complete

absence of justiciable issue raised by losing party, there

is no Florida authority to justify, much less mandate,

award for services of house counsel as part of attorney’s

fees. West's F.S.A. § 57.105.

38. Costs (Key) 10

Under Florida law, contract provision which specifies

that attorney’s fees must be paid in event of litigation

All

is enforceable as agreement for indemnification, and where

franchisor did not have to pay out additional money for

services of its house counsel, it could not claim “reimburse-

ment” for prorata share of fixed corporate expense.

West's F.S.A. § 57.105.

Appeals from the United States District Court for

the Southern District of Florida.

Before VANCE and HENDERSON, Circuit Judges,

and TUTTLE, Senior Circuit Judge.

ALBERT J. HENDERSON, Circuit Judge:

Following approximately five years of litigation in the

United States District Court for the Southern District of

Florida encompassing two jury trials, one bench trial and

countless motions and hearings, the appellants, a group of

investors including Gerald Mason, Wesley Hardy, Donald

Szabo and Richard Peterson (hereinafter collectively re-

ferred to as ‘“Mason”) by this appeal, seek to reverse por-

tions of the final judgment. The Burger King Corporation

(“BKC”), the original plaintiff in the action, filed a cross-

appeal to certain adverse rulings of the district court.

Mason also filed a separate appeal from the attorney’s fee

award and BKC again cross-appealed on this issue. After

an exhaustive review of the evidence and each assignment

of error, we affirm in part and remand in part for further

proceedings.

I. Introduction

BKC, one of the largest franchisors of fast-food res-

taurants in the United States, maintained a business rela-

tionship with Mason for many years. As a result of this

relationship, Mason acquired the right to establish Burger

King restaurants in two major metropolitan areas and to

Al2

develop other restaurants throughout the United States

during the 1970's. Mason's territorial rights derived from

two development agreements between the parties by which

Mason obtained the exclusive authority to establish Burger

King franchises in Pittsburg and Kansas City. Over the

years Mason purchased at least twenty-seven Burger King

franchises under separate agreements. In connection with

the development of some of the franchises, BKC provided

financing to Mason for which Mason executed promissory

notes. Mason incurred additional obligations for payments

due under certain lease agreements with BKC, for supplies

furnished on account and for royalties due under the fran-

chise agreements. (The leases, accounts for supplies and

royalties will be referred to as the “accounts”. )

The long standing Mason-BKC business association

began to deteriorate in 1977 when BKC notified Mason of

the cancellation of the two exclusive development agree-

ments. In 1978, BKC filed this suit seeking a declaration

that it had properly terminated the development contracts.

Mason responded with a counterclaim for reinstatement

and damages for the revocation. Afterwards, in 1979, BKC

informed Mason that it was unilaterally terminating all

twenty-seven of its Burger King franchises for failure to

comply with the terms of the franchise agreements. Even-

tually, through amendments to the complaint and counter-

claim, the suit filed in 1978 expanded to controversies

concerning both the development and franchise agreements

as well as demands arising from Mason’s liability on the

promissory notes and the accounts.

In 1980 the case came on for trial and the issues were

submitted to the jury on special interrogatories. The jury

found that the development contracts were validly can-

celled but that BKC wrongfully terminated twelve of the

franchise agreements. Because of the equivocal nature

Al3

of the jury’s verdict as to the remaining fifteen franchise

terminations, the district court ordered a new trial on those

agreements. The court also granted a new trial to BKC

for a computation of damages resulting from Mason’s lia-

bility on the promissory notes and accounts, Since there

Was no genuine issue of fact as to the amount due on the

promissory notes and accounts, the district court thereafter

entered a summary judgment in favor of BKC for those

damages. Before the second jury trial, BKC conceded its

error in terminating one of the fifteen franchises left for

trial. Also, during the second trial, the district court sus-

tained, as a matter of law, the revocation of seven of the

franchises. Thus, by concession or court order, eight of

these fifteen terminations were eliminated from the jury’s

consideration. After the second trial in 1981, the jury

found that BKC validly terminated six of the remaining

franchises. Consequently, Mason prevailed in its efforts

to nullify the terminations of fourteen of its franchises

and BKC successfully defended the cancellation of thirteen

franchise agreements.

Subsequent to the second jury trial, the district court

held a bench trial on BKC’s claims for common law trade-

mark infringement, unfair competition and breach of the

franchise agreements based upon Mason’s post-termination

use of the Burger King trademarks. The court awarded

to BKC the profits earned from the franchises previously

found to have been lawfully terminated for the breach

of the franchise agreements.

Finally, the district court conducted a hearing on

BKC’s application for attorney’s fees. The court awarded

fees in accordance with the provisions of the development

agreements, the notes, the leases and a Florida statute.

Al4

II. The 1980 Jury Verdict

In attacking the trial judge’s resolution of the 1980

jury verdict, Mason challenges the grant of a new trial

limited to the issue of BKC’s damages on the promissory

notes and the accounts, Second, Mason. asserts that the

district court also erred in ordering a new trial for a deter-

mination of the validity of BKC’s cancellation of the fran-

chises not listed on the jury’s verdict form.

A. Did the jury compromise?

In its answer to Special Issue = 1, the jury found in

favor of BKC on the promissory notes (valued at approx-

imately $1,000,000.00), rejecting Mason's affirmative de-

fenses thereto.! However, it awarded BKC only $1.00 as

damages. Responding to Issue = 2, the jury sustained

BKC’s right to recover on the accounts (valued at approx-

imately $500,000.00) and found against the affirmative de-

fenses. BKC was awarded $100,000.00 as “damages’’ for

this item

Neither party brought these inconsistent results to

the district court’s attention until after the jury had been

discharged and it was too late to resubmit the damages

question to the jury. BKC eventually filed a motion for

a clarification of the jury verdict on the promissory notes

and the accounts. By this motion, BKC sought a judgment

for the face amount of the debts, as shown by the evidence,

plus the “damages” awarded by the jury. Alternatively,

BKC moved for a judgment notwithstanding the verdict

1. As affirmative defenses to liability on the notes and the

accounts, Mason claimed that (1) BKC was guilty of economic

coercion; (2) BKC fraudulently induced Mason to incur the

liabilities; and (3) Mason was entitled to a set-off for the full

amount of the obligations because BKC wrongfully terminated

the development agreements. These contentions were also the

subject of Mason's counterclaim,

Al5

for the full amount of the obligations. The district court

denied both motions and, instead, ordered a new trial lim-

ited to a computation of BKC’s damages on the promissory

notes and the accounts. Subsequent to this order, BKC

filed a motion for summary judgment supported by affi-

davits establishing its entitlement to the full amount of

the debts. Since Mason submitted no evidence in opposi-

tion to the affidavits, the district court granted judgment

to BKC for these liquidated amounts.

Mason contends that the jury’s inadequate award of

damages signifies an improper compromise verdict because

three was no dispute as to the correct amount due on the

notes and accounts. Mason therefore claims that the liabil-

ity and damages issues were inseparable and the trial judge

erred in restricting a new trial to the question of damages.

Rule 59(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

provides that a new trial may be granted “on all or part

of the issues.’’ The decision whether to grant a new trial is

discretionary with the district court and will not be re-

versed absent an abuse of that discretion. See, e.g., Franks

v. Associated Air Center, Inc., 663 F.2d 583, 586 (5th Cir.

1981); Lucas v. American Manufacturing Co., 630 F.2d 291

(5th Cir.1980);* Young v. International Paper Co., 322 F.2d

820, 822 (4th Cir.1963).

[1,2] Itis axiomatic, however, that a partial new trial

may not be granted if it would infringe upon a litigant’s

seventh amendment right to a jury trial. In Gasoline Prod-

ucts v. Champlin Refining Co., 283 U.S. 494, 51 S.Ct. 513, 75

L.Ed. 1188 (1930), the Supreme Court enunciated the stan-

dard which governs partial new trial practice:

2. In Bonner v. City of Prichard, 661 F.2d 1206 (11th Cir.

1981) (en banc), the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals adopted

as precedent the decisions of the former Fifth Circuit issued before

October 1, 1981.

Al6

{w]here the practice permits a partial new trial, it

may not properly be resorted to unless it clearly ap-

pears that the issue to be retried is so distinct and

separable from the others that a trial of it alone may

be had without injustice.

Id. at 500, 51 S.Ct. at 515, 75 L.Ed. at 1191. Applying

Champlin Refining, the former Fifth Circuit Court of Ap-

peals held that a jury verdict influenced by an improper

compromise cannot stand and a complete new trial is re-

quired because liability and damages are inseparable. See,

e.g., Lucas v. American Manufacturing Co., 630 F.2d 291,

294 (5th Cir.1980); Hatfield v. Seaboard Air Line R.R. Co.,

396 F.2d 721, 724 (5th Cir.1968). Hence, if there is a com-

promised finding on liability, a separable trial on damages

alone will not suffice—both liability and damages must be

relitigated in a new trial. Id.

[3, 4) With this admonition in mind, we focus our

attention on whether the district court abused its discre-

tion in rejecting the compromise claim. ‘“A compromise

verdict is one where it is obvious that the jury compromised

the issue of liability by awarding inadequate damages.”

Freight Terminals Inc. v. Ryder System, Inc., 461 F.2d 1046,

1053 (5th Cir.1972). However, a review of the cases from

the former Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals establishes that

a nominal or inadequate finding of damages by itself does

not automatically mandate the conclusion that the award

was the product of a compromise verdict. See, e.g., Hadra

v. Herman Blum Consulting Engineers, 632 F.2d 1242, 1247

(5th Cir.1980), cert. denied, 451 U.S. 912, 101 S.Ct. 1983,

68 L.Ed.2d 301 (1981); Davis v. Becker & Associates, Inc.,

608 F.2d 621 (5th Cir.1979); Bassett Furniture Industries

of North Carolina, Inc. v. NVF Co., 576 F.2d 1084, 1094 (5th

Cir.), reh. denied with opinion, 583 F.2d 778 (5th Cir.1978);

Parker v. Wideman, 380 F.2d 433, 437 (5th Cir.1967). In-

Al7

deed, if inadequate damages was the sole test for a com-

promise, Rule 59(a) would have little or no purpose.

Rather, our inquiry must concentrate on any indicia of

compromise apparent from the record, Hatfield, 396 F.2d

721, 723-24, and other factors which may have caused the

jury to return a verdict for inadequate damages. See

Hadra, 632 F.2d 1242, 1244n. 1. Only if the “totality of the

circumstances” indicates that the issue sought to be ex-

cluded by a partial new trial is not separable from the error

in the damage award, will a plenary new trial be au-

thorized. See Williams v. Slade, 431 F.2d 605, 609 (5th

Cir.1970).

Two former Fifth Circuit cases offer instructive ex-

amples of situations where the record contained adequate

indications of compromise to warrant a complete new

trial, In Hatfield, the court held that a jury verdict

finding liability and awarding $1.00 in damages was the

result of a compromise. The court found that under

all the circumstances, including the jury’s confusion con-

cerning contributory negligence and the fact that it took

two days to return a verdict, there was strong support

for the conclusion that the inadequate award of damages

was the culmination of a compromise among the jurors.

The former Fifth Circuit again determined that the jury

probably compromised in Lucas v. American Manufac-

turing Co., 630 F.2d 291 (5th Cir.1980). In Lucas, the

trial judge admonished the jury to return a verdict quickly

because a hurricane was approaching the city. The jury

did so, but after finding the defendant liable, awarded

the plaintiff patently inadequate damages. On appeal,

the Fifth Circuit remanded for a new trial on liability

and damages. The court reasoned that in their haste to

decide the case before the arrival of the hurricane, the

jurors probably compromised, agreeing to find liability

only if the damages were kept to a minimum.

Al8

By contrast, the court has rejected the compromise

theory when the record discloses another basis for the

improper award. For example, in Hadra v. Herman Blum

Consulting Engineers, 632 F.2d 1242 (5th Cir.1980), cert.

denied, 451 U.S. 912, 101 S.Ct. 1983, 68 L.Ed.2d 301 (1981),

the jury found that the defendant had breached the

plaintiff's employment contract but awarded no damages.

The district court ordered a new trial confined to the

plaintiffs’ claim of damages for the breach. The Fifth

Circuit affirmed the grant of a partial new trial. The

court rejected the defendant’s contention that the jury

verdict was the product of a compromise, thereby affirm-

ing the district court’s explanation that the failure to

afford monetary relief could have resulted from an im-

proper determination that the plaintiff failed to mitigate

his damages by accepting alternative employment. See

632 F.2d at 1244, n. 1. In Hadra, the court emphasized

that the defendant pointed to ‘no circumstances, such

as those listed in Hatfield, that indicate the possibility

of a compromise verdict ...”. Id. at 1246. Consequently,

since there was sufficient evidence to support the jury’s

finding of liability, the court held that it was proper to

order a new trial limited to damages.

[5] The record before us confirms our belief that

the liability and damages issues were also separable in

this instance. First, and foremost, the jury repeatedly

found that Mason failed to establish its affirmative de-

fenses, the only basis upon which Mason could escape

liability. It did so in finding against Mason on the prom-

issory notes and accounts; it rejected the affirmative de-

fenses again when they were asserted as grounds for

setting aside the terminations of the development agree-

ments; and once more when they constituted the founda-

tion for the counterclaim against BKC. We can come

Al9

to no other conclusion than that the jury did not believe

Mason’s allegations of economic coercion, fraudulent in-

ducement or wrongful termination of the development

agreements. Having clearly convinced the jury that these

claims lacked merit, BKC should not have to defend

against them again. Second, the record contains abso-

lutely no indicia of a compromise other than the low

amount of damages. After a long, protracted trial, the

jury required only two to three hours to reach its ver-

dict. It obviously was not deadlocked. The jury did

not request additional instructions or attempt to qualify

its verdict in any manner. Finally, as BKC points out,

the award could be explained by reference to the use

of the term “damages” on the special interrogatories. It

is possible that the jury thought that BKC would receive

payment on the promissory notes and accounts based

solely on their finding that BKC was entitled to recover

for these items and, therefore, any additional finding

of “damages” would simply amount to a duplication.®

The “totality of the circumstances” simply do not point

to a compromise verdict. Viewed in this factual and

procedural setting, the district court did not abuse its

discretion in ordering the partial new trial.

B. Franchise Termination Verdict Form

Special Issue = 5 sought a determination of the validity

of BKC’s terminations of Mason's franchise agreements.

The jury could find: (a) BKC properly terminated all

of the agreements; (b) BKC wrongfully terminated all of

the agreements; or (c) BKC properly terminated the

3. BKC offered alternative verdict forms which asked the

jury to designate the amount of Mason’s “liability” on the various

obligations. The term “liability” would have more accurately re-

flected the nature of the recovery. Thus, although the proffer

was rejected, BKC did attempt to avoid the potentially confusing

reference to “damages”.

A20

franchises listed in column one and wrongfully terminated

the franchises listed in column two. The jury circled

alternative (c), but after designating some franchise num-

bers under the properly terminated column, crossed them

out and wrote “none”. The jury specified only twelve

of the twenty-seven franchise agreements at issue in the

wrongfully terminated column.*

Again, neither party requested that the issue be re-

submitted to the jury for clarification. As a result, the

jury was discharged without the opportunity to correct

these inconsistencies, leaving the district court with the

difficult task of interpreting the verdict. In a post trial

motion, BKC sought a judgment notwithstanding the ver-

dict, claiming that the evidence established that all of

the franchises had been properly cancelled. Alternatively,

BKC asked for a new trial on all of the franchise termi-

nations. As expected, Mason took the opposite position,

asserting that the verdict correctly found that all of the

franchises were wrongfully terminated. The district court

rejected all of those contentions, instead ordering a new

trial for the restaurants which were not listed in either

column. In its order, the court stated that “[i]t [was]

very uncertain ... whether [the jury] made any deter-

mination as to the other restaurants [not listed] .. . [and]

it would not serve the best interests of justice for the

court to attempt to read the jury’s mind in an effort to

resolve this ambiguity.” R. 3136.

Mason faults the trial court for its failure to construe

these responses as a finding that all of the franchises

had been wrongfully terminated. Emphasizing the dis-

trict court’s duty to attempt to reconcile inconsistent

special verdicts, Mason claims that the district court was

4. The jury’s answer to Special Issue # 5 is reproduced as

an appendix to this opinion.

A2l

required to so conclude because the jury’s answer that

“none” were properly cancelled obviously indicates that

the jury decided that all twenty-seven terminations were

without legal cause. Mason makes this argument in spite

of the fact that the jury did not select that alternative

on the verdict form and only identified twelve franchises

in that category.

(6) As stated before, the district court has authority

under Rule 59(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

to order a partial new trial. Even though more stringent

appellate review is called for when the trial court orders

a new trial, the abuse of discretion standard still controls

our consideration of the decision. See, e.g., Williams v.

City of Valdosta, 689 F.2d 964, 974 (11th Cir.1982); Rabun

v. Kimberly-Clark Corp., 678 F.2d 1053 (11th Cir.1982).

{7-11} <A trial judge must make all reasonable efforts

to reconcile an inconsistent jury verdict and “if there is

a view of the case which makes the jury’s answers con-

sistent, the court must adopt that view and enter judg-

ment accordingly.” Griffin v. Matherne, 471 F.2d 911,

915 (Sth Cir.1973). See, e.g., Atlantic & Gulf Stevedores,

Inc. v. Ellerman Lines, 369 U.S. 355, 364, 82 S.Ct. 780,

786, 7 L.Ed.2d 798, 806-807 (1962); Aquachem Company,

Inc. v. Olin Corp., 699 F.2d 516, 521 (11th Cir.1983); Miller

v. Royal Netherlands Steamship Co., 508 F.2d 1103, 1106

(Sth Cir.1975). The test employed in determining whether

a conflict in the verdict can be reconciled is “whether

the answers may fairly be said to represent a logical and

probable decision on the relevant issues as submitted .. .”.

Griffin, 471 F.2d at 915. However, if the jury’s answers

are so ambiguous or conflicting that they cannot be re-

conciled fairly, the trial court may not enter judgment

thereon. Royal Netherlands Steamship Co. v. Strachan

Shipping Co., 362 F.2d 691, 694 (5th Cir.1966), cert.

A22

denied, 385 U.S. 1004, 87 S.Ct. 708, 17 L.Ed.2d 543 (1967).

A special verdict which does not resolve the essential

facts, or does so in an inexplicable fashion, will not sup-

port a judgment. Prentice v. Zane’s Administrator, 49

U.S. (8 HOW.) 470, 484, 12 L.Ed. 1160, 1166 (1850);

Hartnett v. Brown & Bigelow, 394 F.2d 438, 441, n. 2

(10th Cir.1968). Moreover, trial judg © are not empow-

ered to fill in facts omitted from the answer to a special

interrogatory. Guidry v. Kem Manufacturing Co., 598

F.2d 402 (5th Cir.), reh. denied with opinion, 604 F.2d

320, 321 (5th Cir.1979). When an insurmountable in-

consistency or ambiguity is perceived, the trial court

may resubmit the issue to the jury before it is dismissed

or order a new trial on some or all of the issues. Nord-

mann v. National Hotel Co., 425 F.2d 1103, 1106 (5th

Cir.1970).°

[12] Without doubt, the response to special issue

z+ 5 was both inconsistent and ambiguous. If the jury

intended to find that all of the franchises had been wrong-

fully terminated, it could have selected alternative (b)

—it did not. Thus, the choice of alternative (c) was

inconsistent with its answer that none of the franchises

had been properly terminated. More significantly, the

answer does not resolve the disposition of over half of

5. Because of the risk of inconsistency and ambiguity which

accompanies the use of special interrogatories, attorneys should

pay careful attention to insuring that an acceptable verdict has

been rendered before the jury is discharged from the case. Guidry,

598 F.2d at 405-06. Often the need for a new trial can be

avoided by requesting resubmission to the jury. This procedure

undoubtedly would have remedied the problem created by the

answer to special issue + 5, since the jury could have completed

its answer upon resubmission. A very cursory reading of the ver-

dict form would have uncovered the inadequacies of the verdict.

Had the attorneys examined the verdict with the same degree of

vigor with which they pursued their cause at the trial and their

assignments of error on appeal, valuable judicial resources could

have been conserved.

A23

the franchises. As the district court observed, it is not

clear what the jury found, if anything, with respect to

the omitted franchises. The trial court properly declined

to supply facts submitted for the jury’s determination

but left unanswered. Guidry, 598 F.2d 402. Inconsistent

or ambiguous verdicts must be reconciled only if that

can be accomplished from a fair reading of the verdict.

Griffin, 471 F.2d at 915. Faced with this incompatible

answer, we have no criticism of the district court's exer-

cise of its discretion in this instance.

III. Material Breach Instruction

In its cross-appeal, BKC challenges the finding that

some of the franchises were wrongfully terminated. The

source of this complaint is the district court’s instruction

to the jury that a franchise could not be revoked absent

a “material” breach of the particular agreement. This,

BKC says, is an erroneous statement of Florida law. In

essence, BKC urges that it was entitled to strictly enforce

the termination provisions of the agreements without

regard to the materiality of the alleged defaults,

[13, 14] Although the Florida courts have recog-

nized that the terms of franchise agreements are enforce-

able, North Dade Imported Motors, Inc. v. Brundage

Motors, Inc., 221 So.2d 170, 177 (Fla.Dist.Ct.App.), “it

is elementary that the mere breach of an agreement which

causes no loss . . . will not sustain a suit... for damages,

much less rescission.” Block v. City of West Palm Beach,

112 F.2d 949, 952 (5th Cir.1940) (quoted in, Westcap

Government Securities, Inc. v. Homestead Air Force Base

Federal Credit Union, 697 F.2d 911, 913 (11th Cir.1983) ).

Pursuant to this rule, the Florida courts, and this court

construing Florida law, have held that a party may not

escape performance under a contract on the ground that

A24

a tender was not made by the date specified in the con-

tract. Rather, a party who tenders late may enforce the

contract with due allowance for any damage caused by

the tardiness. See, e.g., Westcap Government Securities,

Inc., 697 F.2d at 914; Blaustein v. Weiss, 409 So.2d 103

(Fla.Dist.Ct.App.1982); Jackson v. Holmes, 307 So.2d 470

(Fla.Dist.Ct.App.), cert. denied, 318 So.2d 404 (Fla.1975);

Larsen v. Miami Gardens Dev. Corp., 299 So.2d 50 (Fla.

Dist.Ct.App.1974); National Exhibition Co. v. Ball, 139

So.2d 489 (Fla.Dist.Ct.App.1962). Indeed, a Florida court

has refused to countenance unilateral cancellation in that

context even when the contract stipulated that time was

of the essence. Jackson, 307 So.2d at 471-472. Thus,

although as a general rule parties to a contract may

strictly enforce its terms and the courts will not rewrite

an agreement to undo the consequences of a bad bargain,

see, e.g., Sapienza v. Bass, 144 So.2d 520 (Fla.Dist.Ct.App.

1962), the Florida courts do not blindly sanction unilateral

termination of contracts when a default causes no harm

to the party seeking to avoid performance.

[15, 16] Consistent with this principle, the Florida

courts have indicated that the materiality of a breach is

relevant when a party seeks to terminate or rescind a

contractual relationship. See, e.g., Callins v. Abbatecola,

412 So.2d 58Fla.Dist.Ct.App.1982) (when a party sought

to terminate a real estate contract on the ground that

the purchaser’s check was returned for insufficient funds,

the court stated that “the question involved here is .

whether [the tender of a bad check] . . . constituted such

a material breach .. . as to justify ... termination. . .”.

Id. at 59); Gittlin Companies, Inc. v. David & Dash, Inc.,

390 So.2d 86 (Fla.Dist.Ct.App.1980) (rescission of distrib-

utorship contract was not justified when the defendant

made direct sales in violation of the exclusive distribution

A25

provision of the distributorship agreement because the

breach was not material or substantial). In Gittlin Com-

panies, 390 So.2d at 86, the Florida court cited McAlpine

v. Aamco Automatic Transmissions, Inc., 461 F.Supp. 1232

(E.D.Mich.1978), in support of its holding that an im-

material breach of a distributorship agreement did not

excuse performance. The McAlpine opinion states the

rule followed by the district court in this case:

A material breach would allow the franchisees

to terminate their Franchise Agreements and discon-

tinue future performance. An immaterial breach

would allow the franchisees to sue for any damage

caused, but they would still be bound to continue

performance under the contract.

461 F.Supp. at 1249.

We conclude that the district court’s instruction com-

ported with substantial Florida case law and reject BKC’s

argument to the contrary.®

6. The decision in Austin’s Rack, Inc. v. Austin, 396 So.2d

1161 (Fla.Dist.Ct.App.), cert. denied, 402 So.2d 607 (Fla.1981),

does not compel a different result. That case held that an em-

ployer may terminate an employee if the employee commits an

act specified as grounds for termination in the employment agree-

ment. While the Austin case generally supports the proposition

that parties to a contract may strictly enforce its termination

provisions, even the Austin court indicated that the termination

clause was reasonable. To the extent that Austin represents a

contrary line of authority, we, nevertheless, find that the ma-

teriality instruction was not error. Given this possible ambiguity

in the Florida authorities, we defer to the district judge's inter-

pretation of the law of the state in which he presides. See

Alabama Electric Cooperative, Inc. v. First National Bank of

Akron, Ohio, 684 F.2d 789, 792 (11th Cir.1982); Kaufman & Broad

Home Systems, Inc. v. International Brotherhood of Firemen &

Oilers, 607 F.2d 1104, 1108 (5th Cir.1979).

A26

IV. Post-Termination Trademark Use

A. Background

Each of the franchise agreements stipulates that upon

termination of the franchise, the franchisee must discon-

tinue use of the Burger King trademarks. Following

the May 1979 unilateral cancellation of all 27 of Mason's

franchises, Mason sought an injunction to prohibit BKC

from interfering with the operation of its restaurants

as Burger King franchises. At the August 1979 eviden-

tiary hearing on this motion, BKC advised the court that

it would maintain the status quo, e.g. it would not force

Mason to cease operating under the Burger King name,

pending a final resolution of the franchise dispute. How-

ever, BKC conditioned this offer on its right to later pur-

sue relief for the post-termination operation. Although

Mason made no explicit response to this proposal, no

further mention was made of this issue and Mason lim-

ited its proof and arguments to other remedies. There-

after, BKC provided supplies to and accepted royalties

from the Mason franchises during the litigation.

BKC amended its complaint to add a cause of action

under the Lanham Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1114(1) (a), for Mason's

post-termination use of the Burger King trademarks. At

the close of the 1980 jury trial, the district court granted

Mason's motion for a directed verdict on the Lanham Act

claim. After doing so, the district court permitted BKC

to again amend its complaint to include claims for com-

mon law trademark infringement, unfair competition and

breach of contract based upon Mason’s use of the trade-

marks at any restaurants whose franchise revocations

might be adjudicated valid in the second trial. Finally,

following the second jury’s finding that certain franchises

had been legally terminated, the district court proceeded

with a bench trial on BKC’s common law trademark, un-

A27

fair competition and breach of contract causes of action.

The district court held that Mason breached the franchise

provisions prohibiting use of the Burger King trademark

after invalidation of the agreement. Concluding that

Mason had been “unjustly enriched” by this breach, the

district court awarded BKC the profits earned by Mason

as a consequence of the post-termination operation of these

franchises as “compensatory damages” for the violation,

In this order, the court found that BKC did not consent to

the post-termination use of the trademark.

B. Lanham Act Claim

By way of cross-appeal, BKC asserts that the district

court erred in directing a verdict favorable to Mason dur-

ing the first jury trial on its Lanham Act claim for post-

termination trademark infringement.’ BKC maintains

that it established the essential elements of federal trade-

mark infringement when it proved that Mason displayed

the Burger King marks after its right to do so had been

revoked. We agree.

[17-19] In order to prevail on a trademark infringe-

ment claim, the registrant must show that (1) its mark

was used in commerce by the defendant without the

registrant’s consent and (2) the unauthorized use was

likely to cause confusion, or to cause mistake or to deceive.

15 U.S.C. § 1114(1)(a). Ordinarily, trademark infringe-

ment cases are predicated on the complaint that the de-

fendant employed a trademark so similar to that of the

plaintiff that the public will mistake the defendant's prod-

7. Because the first jury did not specify any franchises under

the “properly terminated” column, BKC’s claim for post-termina-

tion trademark infringement at the properly terminated restau-

rants could not have provided any relief after the first trial.

However, once some franchises were found to have been validly

terminated, the issue of the correctness of the directed verdict

on the Lanham Act cause of action was revived.

A28

ucts for those of the plaintiff. See, e.g., Exxon Corp. v.

Texas Motor Exchange of Houston, Inc., 628 F.2d 500 (5th

Cir.1980). Also, it is well established that “falsely sug-

gesting affiliation with the trademark owner in a manner

likely to cause confusion as to source or sponsorship con-

stitutes infringement.” Professional Golfers Ass’n of Amer-

ica v. Bankers Life & Casualty Co., 514 F.2d 665, 670 (5th

Cir.1975) (emphasis supplied). See also, Control Com-

ponents, Inc. v. Valtek, Inc., 609 F.2d 763, 770 (5th Cir.),

cert. denied, 449 U.S. 1022, 101 S.Ct. 589, 66 L.Ed.2d 484

(1980). Thus, a trademark infringement case need not

just involve imitation of the registrant's mark. The un-

authorized use of a trademark which has the effect of mis-

leading the public to believe that the user is sponsored or

approved by the registrant can constitute infringement.

Professional Golfers Ass’n, 514 F.2d at 670. The Lanham

Act cause of action was based on the theory that by

using the Burger King trademarks after the trademark

license had been cancelled, Mason falsely suggested that

its restaurants were sponsored by and affiliated with BKC.

Because this type of infringement is cognizable under the

Lanham Act, we must examine BKC’s proof in light of the

requirements of the statute.

[20] Mason denies the use of BKC’s trademark with-

out consent because after the terminations, BKC provided

supplies bearing the Burger King trademarks and accepted

royalties from the Mason group. This point was stressed

on several occasions in the district court. Mason advanced

this argument for the frist time during the hearing on

Mason’s motion for a directed verdict on the Lanham Act

claim. The trial judge granted the motion without stating

his reasons. Mason had insisted that a directed verdict

was mandated because (1) BKC consented to the use of

the trademark and (2) BKC did not show likelihood of

confusion. Subsequently, BKC amended its complaint to

A29

allege common law trademark infringement, unfair com-

petition and breach of contract arising from Mason's post-

termination use of the trademarks. BKC and Mason stip-

ulated that any relief for these claims would be determined

by the district court in a bench trial following the second

jury trial if any of the franchises were found to have been

properly terminated. At the subsequent bench trial, Ma-

son asserted that BKC could not recover for common law

trademark infringement because BKC consented to Mason’s

continued use. The consent issue was finally resolved ad-

versely to Mason by the district judge in his findings of

fact rendered after the bench trial. The court found that

rather than acquiescing in the infringement, BKC agreed

at the August, 1979 hearing that it would allow Mason to

continue operating restaurants under the Burger King

banner, provided that it retained its right to seek damages

upon a later determination of its right to cancel any or all

of remaining franchises. The court found that Mason had

“ratified” this proposal, and therefore, was estopped from

claiming that BKC had agreed to the trademark use.

The trial court reasonably could infer that Mason ac-

quiesced in BKC’s offer to permit Mason to continue to

operate its restaurants upon the condition that BKC re-

tained its right to recover for post-termination trademark

infringement. Mason did not object to this approach and

acted in a manner consistent with acceptance until the

close of the 1980 jury trial. From our review of the rec-

ord, we cannot say that a finding of estoppel under these

circumstances was clearly erroneous.

(21! Because Mason used the Burger King trade-

marks after the revocation of that right without BKC’s

consent, a trademark infringement claim was established

so long as the trademarks were employed in a manner that

was likely to cause confusion, to cause mistake or to de-

A30

ceive. 15 U.S.C. § 1114(1)(a). Common sense compels

the conclusion that a strong risk of consumer confusion

arises when a terminated franchisee continues to use the

former franchisor’s trademarks. A patron of a restaurant

adorned with the Burger King trademarks undoubtedly

would believe that BKC endorses the operation of the

restaurant. Consumers automatically would associate the

trademark user with the registrant and assume that they

are affiliated. Any shortcomings of the franchise therefore

would be attributed to BKC. Because of this risk, many

courts have held that continued trademark use by one

whose trademark license has-been canceled satisfies the

likelihood of confusion test and constitutes trademark in-

fringement. See, e.g., United States Jaycees v. Philadel-

phia Jaycees, 639 F.2d 134 (3d Cir.1981); Professional

Golfers Ass’n v. Bankers Life & Casualty Co., 514 F.2d 665

(5th Cir.1975); Prompt Electric Supply Co., Inc. v. Allen-

Bradley Co., 492 F.Supp. 344, 349 (E.D.N.Y.1980) ; National

Board of YWCA v. YWCA of Charleston, S.C., 335 F.Supp.

615, 628-629 (D.S.C.1971). BKC proved that Mason em-

ployed the Burger King trademarks after its franchise

agreements were properly cancelled. This use was with-

out BKC’s consent and was likely to cause confusion.

Accordingly, we hold that the district court erred in direct-

ing a verdict against BKC on its Lanham Act complaint

and remand for a determination of the appropriate relief

in conformity with 15 U.S.C. § 1117.°

C. Damages for Breach of the Franchise Agreements

[22,23] As pointed out earlier, the district court con-

cluded that Mason breached the provisions of the franchise

agreements which prohibited the post-termination use of

the Burger King trademarks. Although BKC also argued

8 See Section IV D (“Lanham Act Damages”) imfra.

A3l

that Mason was guilty of common law trademark infringe-

ment and unfair cormpetition through the continued use

of the trademark, the district court made no findings on

those claims. Then, after ruling that BKC had not shown

certain consequential damages from the post-termination

use of the trademarks, the court awarded BKC the profits

that Mason earned at the properly terminated franchises

as “compensatory damages” for the breach. BKC com-

plains that the trial court should have allowed consequen-

tial damages; Mason, on the other hand, alleges that the

trial court erred in ordering it to disgorge the profits.

BKC’s assertions need not detain us long. It sought

damages based on its contention that Mason's continued

operation damaged its reputation and thwarted its plans

to expand in the areas in which Mason franchises were

located. After considering BKC’s evidence in support of

those damages, the district court determined that (1) BKC

had not established that Mason had tarnished its image,

and (2) BKC did not prove that Mason's failure to close

its stores prevented BKC from carrying out its market-

ing or development plafs. Contrary to BKC’s suggestion,

the district court did not deny damages because the

amounts were uncertain—the court found that BKC did

not prove that Mason's actions caused the claimed harm.

This factual finding was not clearly erroneous. A

reading of the record confirms that BKC did not prove

with sufficient certainty that Mason's continued operation

caused the purported injury. While it is clear that a

wrongdoer cannot escape liability simply because the harm

he caused is difficult to value, see, e.g., ABC-Paramount

Records, Inc. v. Topps Record Distributing Co., 374 F.2d

455 (Sth Cir.1967), it is equally well established that a

plaintiff must make a positive showing that the defendant

was in fact responsible for the alleged damages See. e.g.

A32

Asgrow-Kilgore Co. v. Mulford Hickerson Corp., 301 So.2d

441, 445 (Fla.1974). BKC simply failed to meet its burden

of proof.

The award of profits is more troublesome. Mason and

BKC focus their arguments on the propriety of ordering

an accounting of profits for trademark infringement. As

the parties recognize, a trademark infringer can be required

to turn over the profits he earns during the period of the

infringement subject to the discretion of the district judge

and in light of the equities of the case. 15 U.S.C. § 1117.

See, e.g., Maltina Corp. v. Cawy Bottling Co., Inc., 613 F.2d

582 (5th Cir.1980); Mead Johnson & Co. v. Baby’s Formula

Service, Inc., 402 F.2d 19 (5th Cir.1968). However, the

district court did not find that Mason infringed upon a

trademark. Rather, faced with BKC’s claims for trade-

mark infringement, unfair competition and breach of the

franchise agreements, the trial judge found only that

Mason violated the franchise agreements. For that in-

fraction, the court awarded Mason's profits as “compensa-

tory damages.””

9. While at first blush it might appear that the district court,

in essence, found that Mason committed common law trademark

infringement, a closer reading of the findings of fact and con-

clusions of law and the briefs filed in the district court, reveals

that the court made no finding on the trademark or unfair com-

petition claims. The three causes of action (trademark. unfair

competition and breach of the franchise agreements) were pursued

and defended against separately in the trial briefs. Mason's de-

fense against the common law trademark intrusion was the same

as that advanced at the hearing on the Lanham Act violation at

the first trial. The district court’s order unequivocally states

that Mason “breached the contractual obligations imposed on

them by the provisions in each of those franchise agreements

which govern the post-termination conduct of the franchisees.”

and that “[b]y their continued wrongful operation of each of the

thirteen restaurants _. . the Defendants have breached the fran-

chise agreement relating to each restaurant.” The opinion con-

tains no reference to trademark “infringement” or the elements

of a common law trademark infringement right of action. The

district court's award of damages was based on the breach of

the franchise agreements

A33

(24) Although an award of the infringer’s profits can

be an appropriate measure for damages for federal or state

trademark infringement, e.g., Maltina Corp., 613 F.2d at

564-585; 15 U.S.C. § 1117; Fla.Stat.Ann. §§ 495.131, 495.141

(West 1972), disgorgement of profits earned is not the

remedy for breach of contract. Under Florida law, a con-

tract plaintiff may recover damages in an amount which

will place him in the position that he would have obtained

but for the breach or the damages that are the natural

and proximate result of the default, subject to the rules

of foreseeability and certainty. 17 FlaJur.2d Damages

$ 26 (1980); Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation v.

Rievman, 370 So.2d (Fla.Dist.Ct.App.1979); Popwell v.

Abel, 226 So.2d 418 (Fla.Dist.Ct.App.1969): Olin’s Inc. v.

Avis Rental Car System of Florida, Inc., 172 So.2d 250 (Fla.

Dist.Ct.App.), cert. denied, 177 So.2d 482 (Fla.1965). In

some cases, if the offending conduct causes the non-breach-

ing party to lose profits, the defendant can be required

to compensate the plaintiff for the lost profits. Sampley

Enterprises, Inc. v. Laurilla, 404 So.2d 841 (Fla.Dist.Ct.

App.1981). Consequently, if BKC had demonstrated that

Mason's refusal to cease operation after the terminations,

as required by the franchise agreements, caused the injury

to its reputation or the delay in development as it claimed,

those damages could have been recovered as the natural

and proximate result of the breach. But the district court

found that Mason's breach did not cause that harm.

[25, 26] There is no support in the record that the

profits earned by Mason equalled BKC’s damages from

the breach. That would be correct only if BKC proved

that it would have taken over the operation of the fran-

chises after termination and BKC reasonably could have

earned the profits that were generated by Mason from

such operation. Because BKC failed to show that it was

A34

entitled to Mason's profits as compensation for the breach,

the award of such profits as compensatory damages for

breach of contract was error and must be vacated.”

D. Remand for Determination of Lanham Act Damages

We have concluded that Mason’s post-termination use

of the Burger King trademarks at those restaurants whose

franchise agreements were lawfully cancelled constituted

trademark infringement under § 1114(1) (a) of the Lanham

Act. We also hold that it was error to award profits, a

trademark infringement remedy, for breach of the franchise

agreements. While it may be tempting to simply treat the

profits fixed as damages for the breach of contract as

the proper measure of recovery for the Lanham Act trade-

mark infringement and, consequently, avoid the necessity

of a remand, such a course of action would be an improper

exercise of our appellate role.

[27-31] The damages provision of the Lanham Act

stipulates:

When a violation of any right of the registrant of

a mark registered in the Patent and Trademark Office

shall have been established in any civil action arising

under this chapter, the plaintiff shall be entitled.

subject to the provisions of sections 1111 and 1114 of

this title, and subject to the principles of equity, to

recover (1) defendant's profits, (2) any damages sus-

tained by the plaintiff, and (3) the costs of the action

The court shall assess such profits and damages or

cause the same to be assessed under its direction. In

10. The district court stated that the profits award prevented

Mason's “unjust enrichment” from the breach. An accounting of

profits may be appropriate to prevent the unjust enrichment of

a trademark infringer, see, e.g., Maltina Corp. v. Cawy Bottling

Co., 613 F.2d 582 (5th Cir.1980), but does not comport with the

compensatory nature of breach of contract damages.

A35

assessing profits the plaintiff shall be required to

prove defendant's sales only; defendant must prove

all elements of cost or deduction claimed. In assessing

damages the court may enter judgment, according to

the circumstances of the case, for any sum above the

amount found as actual damages, not exceeding three

times such amount. If the court shall find that the

amount of the recovery based on profits is either in-

adequate or excessive the court may in its discretion

enter judgment for such sum as the court shall find

to be just, according to the circumstances of the case.

Such sum in either of the above circumstances shall

constitute compensation and not a penalty. The court

in exceptional cases may award reasonable attorney

fees to the prevailing party. ,

15 U.S.C. § 1117 (emphasis supplied).

This section vests considerable discretion in the dis-

trict court. Guided by the principles of equity, the court

may award the defendant's profits. Additional extra-

ordinary relief such as treble damages and attorney’s fees

are available under the statute if the district court believes

that such an assessment would be just. The statute also

provides for the adjustment of any profits award if it is

inadequate or excessive. This remedial accommodation

clearly envisions the exercise of the trial judge’s discre-

tion. Consequently, it would be inappropriate for this

court to attempt a determination of damages in the first

instance. See Boston Professional Hockey Ass’n v. Dallas

Cap & Emblem Mfg., Inc., 597 F.2d 71, 78 (5th Cir.1979).

This is the traditional and statutory function of the district

court.”’

11. We are cognizant of Mason’s position that a recovery

of profits would be improper for this trademark violation and

(Continued on following page)

A36

V. Attorney's Fees

After an extensive hearing, the district court found

that BKC was entitled to recover $884,924.80 in attorney's

fees and $94,570.83 in related expenses. The court denied

BKC’s claim for attorney's fees for the services performed

by its “in-house” lawyers. Mason challenges the award

on several grounds. BKC contends that it is entitled to

fees for the services of its house counsel.

A. Contract Provision

[32] Approximately $600,000.00 of the fee award was

allocated to work done in connection with the termination

of the development agreements. The attorney’s fees pro-

vision of the development agreements states that:

In the event Developers [Mason] dispute Burger King

Corporation’s termination of this Agreement and legal

action is commenced, Developers shall indemnify and

Footnote continued—

that any such assessment would be an abuse of discretion. We

set aside the profits as damages only because they are unau-

thorized for the breach of the franchise agreements and do not

now express any opinion on this issue. However, in the interests

of avoiding another appeal, we note certain principles that should

guide the district court in the exercise of its discretion on re-

mand. First, an award of attorney’s fees is proper only in

“exceptional cases’’—the elements of bad faith or fraud must be

present to support the grant of attorney’s fees. See Safeway

Stores, Inc. v. Safeway Discount Drugs, Inc., 675 F.2d 1160,

1169 (11th Cir.1982); Durbin Brass Works, Inc. v. Schuler, 532

F.Supp. 41, 44 (E.D.Mo.1982); Salton Inc. v. Cornwall Corp., 477

F.Supp. 975, 992 (D.N.J.1979). Second, there is no automatic

right to enhanced damages. Trial judges have wide latitude in

determining a just amount of recovery for trademark infringe-

ment. See Holiday Inns, Inc. v. Alberding, 683 F.2d 931, 935

(Sth Cir.1982). Finally, although an accounting of profits can

be an effective means to prevent the unjust enrichment of the

infringer. Maltina Corp. v. Cawy Bottling Co., 613 F.2d 582 (5th

Cir.1980), all monetary awards under § 1117 are “subject to the

principles of equity.” In short, contrary to the assertions of

both parties, no hard and fast rules dictate the form or quantum

of relief.

A37

reimburse Burger King Corporation for costs and at-

torney’s fees in successfully defending such action.

Exh. 289, R. 4500-4554 (emphasis supplied). Mason urges

that because BKC initiated the action against it, seeking

a declaratory judgment on the propriety of the termina-

tions, attorney’s fees are not authorized under this pro-

vision of the contract. According to Mason, fees are avail-

able only for the defense of legal action relating to ter-

mination of the development agreements.

We agree that BKC could not claim attorney’s fees

pursuant to this clause of the contract unless it was put

to the task of defending legal action concerning the termi-

nations. It seems clear to us that the term “action” ap-

pearing near the end of the provision refers to the “legal

action” mentioned at the beginning, as opposed to the “ac-

tion” of terminating the agreements in general. How-

ever, this observation does not negate the right to at-

torney’s fees since BKC did in fact defend legal action to

uphold the terminations. In response to BKC’s original

complaint, Mason contended that the development agree-

ments were illegally cancelled and filed a counterclaim

for specific performance and damages for wrongful termi-

nation. By this counterclaim, BKC was placed in the

position of defending a lawsuit for wrongful termination

of the development agreements—a situation squarely with-

in the terms of the attorney’s fee provision.

[33] Under Florida law, a contract which provides

for the payment of attorney’s fees is binding and must be

enforced by the trial court. See, e.g., Brickell Bay Club

Condominium Ass’n, Inc. v. Forte, 397 So.2d 959, 960 (Fla.

Dist.Ct.App.), petition for review denied, 408 So.2d 1092

(Fla.1981);° Silver Blue Lake Apartments, No. 3, Inc. v.

Manson. 334 So.2d 48 (Fla.App.1976). Consequently, the

A38

district court did not err in awarding attorney's fees as

provided in the contract.

B. Computation of Fees

[34] The district court determined that 68°% of the

total time which BKC’s attorneys devoted to the Mason-

BKC litigation was spent on issues compensable under

the terms of certain contracts or pursuant to Florida Stat-

ute § 57.105. In reaching this conclusion, the court stated:

[23] Burger King’s attorneys failed to maintain their

time records in a fashion which would facilitate, an

easy delineation by the Court between fees attribut-

able to compensable and non-compensable matters.

This necessarily leads to a certain imprecision in the

Court’s allocation

25. Burger King’s counsel worked on both issues for

which attorney’s fees can properly be awarded and

on other non-compensable issues. The fees and dis-

bursement which Burger King has paid [to its out-

side lawyers] must be allocated among the various

issues in the case. While no mathematically precise

allocation can be made because of the overlapping of

issues and the absence of specific detailed records, the

court is still in a position to make a competent and

reasonable allocation. Such allocation is as follows:

1. The termination of development agree-

ments—45%

2. Promissory notes and leases—20%

3. The successful defense of claims to which Fla.

Stat. § 57.105 is applicable—3%.

A39

26. The percentage allocation in the above finding is

based upon the evidence presented at trial and the

court’s own familiarity with the case....

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, April 5, 1982.

Mason challenges this method of assessing the fees,

claiming that attorney’s fee awards are an abrogation of

the common law and, as such, strong proof of entitlement

is mandatory. Mason urges this court to disallow the award

or reduce it substantially because of BKC’s failure to main-

tain precise issue-by-issue time records. Mason cites a

number of bankruptcy cases for the proposition that fees

must be denied when the attorney’s time records are in-

adequate. See, e.g., In re First Colonial Corp. of America,

544 F.2d 1291 (5th Cir.1977), cert. denied, 431 U.S. 904, 97

S.Ct. 1696, 52 L.Ed.2d 388 (1977); In re Meade Land & De-

velopment Co., Inc., 527 F.2d 280 (3d Cir.1975); In re Orbit

Liquor Store, 439 F.2d 1351 (5th Cir.1971).

This argument is unpersuasive. As the district court

noted, the issues in this case overlapped to a significant ex-

tent. For example, BKC’s proof of its grounds for ter-

mination of the development agreements (a compensable

issue) also served as proof of the propriety of some of the

franchise terminations (a non-compensable issue). The

district judge was forced into the role of a referee in the

conduct of this litigation over an extended period of time.

Needless to say, he was intimately familiar with the issues

in the case. He was in an excellent position to estimate the

amount of lawyer time devoted to the various issues before

him.

Moreover, the Flordia appellate courts have approved

of attorney’s fees awards based upon estimates by the trial

judge of the time reasonably necessary to the ultimate

task. See, e.g., Florida Department of Natural Resources

A40

v. Gables-By-the-Sea, Inc., 374 So.2d 582, 585 (Fla.Dist.Ct.

App.1979), cert. denied, 383 So.2d 1203 (1980). Cf. R.H.

Coody & Assoc., Inc. v. Shelton, 352 So.2d 852 (Fla.1977)

(court found rate excessive but did not object to estimate

of time when attorney did not keep time records). Indeed,

in Gables-By-the-Sea, the appellate court sanctioned an at-

torney’s fee determination in a case in which the trial judge

stated:

The [c]ourt recognizes that in this case hours were not

specifically kept and the hours that were stated as es-

timates are estimates .. . Considering the testimony

... the [c]Jourt is awarding the sum of $850,000 in at-

torneys’ fees.

374 So.2d at 585. Mason was responsible for BKC’s

attorney’s fees because the parties agreed to such indem-

nification by contract. Florida law permits attorney’s fees

to be determined in the manner employed by the district

court. Under the circumstances, the fee satisfies the rea-

sonableness standard.

C. Florida Statute § 57.105

The district court ruled that 3% of BKC’s attorney’s

fees were attributable to the defense of claims governed by

Florida Statute § 57.105. That statute provides:

The Court shall award a reasonable attorney’s fee to

the prevailing party in any civil action in which the

Court finds that there was a complete absence of a

justiciable issue of either law or fact raised by the

losing party.

In granting attorney’s fees under § 57.105 because of Ma-

son’s prosecution of Counts III, VII and X of the second

amended counterclaim, the court stated only that Counts

A4l

III and VII had been voluntarily dismissed and Count X

was dismissed by a directed verdict. Mason maintains that

under Florida law, a voluntary dismissal or a directed ver-

dict does not justify the application of § 57.105. BKC con-

cedes the correctness of this interpretation of Florida law,

but insists that Counts III, VII and X were frivolous, and

hence, the district court properly invoked the sanctions of

§ 57.105.

[35, 36] Even though the purpose of § 57.105 is to

prevent the “reckless waste of judicial resources‘as well as

the time and money of prevailing litigants”, Whitten v.

Progressive Casualty Insurance Co., 410 So.2d 501, 505

(Fla.1982), the § 57.105 award must be remanded to the

district court because of a technical defect in its order.

In Whitten, the Florida Supreme Court stated:

The statute [§ 57.105] provides that a party is entitled

to an award of attorney's fees only when the court

determines that there was a complete absence of a

justiciable issue raised by the losing party. Without

such a finding, an order assessing attorney’s fees is

technically deficient and must be reversed.

410 So.2d at 506. In holding that the failure to make such

a finding invalidates an award under § 57.105, the Florida

court cited a number of Florida appellate decisions. Sig-

nificant to our review, however, is the Whitten court’s

“but see” citation to Autorico, Inc. v. Government Em-

ployees Insurance Co., 398 So.2d 485, 488 (Fla.Dist.Ct.App.

1981). Autorico held that the absence from the order of

the magic words “complete absence of a justiciable issue of

law or fact’’ required by the statute does not invalidate the

award. The Autorico appellate court reasoned that since

$ 57.105 governs only when there is a complete absence of

a justiciable issue the requisite finding “is implicit in an

A42

order which grants a motion for said fees based entirely

upon [§ 57.105]. 398 So.2d at 488.

Were we writing on a clean slate, the Autorico analysis

might have more appeal. It is obvious to us that by award-

ing fees pursuant to § 57.105, the trial judge found that the

claims met that statutory standard. Nevertheless, we are

bound to follow the Florida Supreme Court’s later pro-

nouncement in Whitten which compels the trial court to

spell out its finding of the statute’s requirements. At least

one Florida appellate court since the Whitten decision has

construed Whitten as requiring a remand of an award made

“pursuant to § 57.105” because the trial court did not in-

clude the statute’s language in its order. Apgar & Mark-

ham Construction of Florida, Inc. v. Macasphalt, 424 So.2d

41 (Fla.Dist.Ct.App.1982). We have been unable to locate

any more recent authority to the contrary. In light of the

Florida cases available to us, we have no alternative but

to remand the § 57.105 award to the district court for a

determination of whether Counts III, VII and X presented

any justiciable issues of either law or fact. Id. at 42%%

12. Although our remand of this award makes appellate re-

view premature, we nevertheless emphasize that attorney's fees

can be granted under § 57.105 when claims have been dismissed

or defeated as long as no justiciable issues of law or fact were

raised by the claims. Fierer v. 18th Avenue Development Corp.,

417 So.2d 1005 (Fla.App.1982). Although the dismissal by itself

will not support an award, Executive Centers of America, Inc. v.

Durability Seating & Interiors, Inc., 402 So.2d 24 (Fla.Dist.Ct.

App.1981), “voluntary dismissal is not a bar to an award of at-

torney’s fees.” Fierer, 417 So.2d 1005.

The Florida Supreme Court has approved the following stan-

dard for the application of the attorney’s fees statute:

The requirement . . . is a finding of a total or absolute lack

of a justiciable issue, and to us, this is tantamount to a finding

that the action is frivolous... .

[A] trial court must find that the action is so clearly

devoid of merit both on the facts and the law as to be com-

pletely untenable.

(Continued on following page)

A43

D. In-House Counsel Fees

{37] Finally, BKC assigns as error to the district

court’s refusal to include the services of its house counsel

as a part of the attorney’s fees. In rejecting BKC’s re-

quest, the district court stated:

Attorney’s fees for the services of in house counsel

are not recoverable. There is no precedent in Flor-

ida law for an award of attorney’s fees for the ser-

vices of in-house counsel. Cases from other juris-

dictions awarding fees for the services of in-house

counsel who actively tried the case are not factually

similar to this case when in-house counsel acted pri-

marily as a liaison between the client and outside

counsel who had complete responsibility for the con-

duct of the case.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, April 5, 1982.

We agree with the district court. First, there is no

Florida authority to justify, much less mandate, such an

award. Travelers Indemnity Co. v. Thomas, 315 So.2d

111 (Fla.Dist.Ct.App.1975), cert. denied, 336 So.2d 108 (Fla.

1976), upon which BKC places significant reliance, does

not support BKC’s position. In Travelers Indemnity, the

court indicated in dicta that a party could recover the

Footnote continued—

tien v. Estate of Dutton, 384 So.2d 171, 175 (Fla.App.), petition

for review denied, 392 So.2d 1373 (Fla.1980) (emphasis in

original) (cited with approval in Whitten v. Progressive Casualty

Ins. Co., 410 So.2d 501, 505 (Fla.1982)). The Florida appellate

courts have insisted upon strict compliance with the Allen

standard. See, eg., Lake Osborn Utilities Co., Inc. v. Sims,

411 So.2d 994 (Fla.Dist.Ct.App.1982); Braden River Civic Ass’n,

Inc. v. Manatee County, 403 So.2d 1007 (Fla.Dist.Ct.App.1981).

Nonetheless, one Florida appellate court affirmed an award under

§ 57.105 when, for example, the plaintiff alleged interference

with business relations and the evidence did not support any

of the elements of the tort. Kisling v. Wooldridge, 397 So.2d

747 (Fla.Dist.Ct.App.1981).

A44

reasonable value of services performed by in-house coun-

sel ‘‘in instances where the defense was furnished by house

counsel.” Id. at 114 (emphasis supplied). As the district

court found, however, BKC’s lawyers acted only in a liai-

son capacity. Outside counsel was responsible for han-

dling the case. Our reading of Travelers Indemnity con-

firms that the court did not intend to suggest, much less

require, that in-house counsel fees should be assessed in

this situation.

[38] Second, a recovery of the “reasonable value” of

BKC’s in-house lawyers’ time is not necessary to indemnify

BKC for the expenditures incurred as a result of the

litigation.'"* A contract provision which specifies that at-

torney’s fees must be paid in the event of litigation is en-

forceable in Florida “‘as an agreement for indemnification.”

Trustees of Cameron-Brown Investment Group v. Tavor-

mina, 385 So.2d 728, 731 (Fla.Dist.Ct.App.1980). BKC did

not have to pay out additional money for the services of

its house counsel, so it cannot claim “reimbursement” for

this pro-rata share of its fixed corporate expense. The

district court did not err in declining to charge Mason

an amount representing either the cost or the value of

BKC’s corporate employees.

VI. Conclusion

We have examined the remaining issues raised by the

parties: (1) the district court’s refusal to direct a verdict

for Mason on the franchise terminations based upon the

pledge of stock to the Pittsburg National Bank and the

sale of stock to John Mosher prior to BKC’s approval of

13. The development agreement attorney’s fees provision,

which was the basis for the vast majority of the fees awarded.

specifically provided that Mason would “indemnify’ and reimburse”

BKC for attorney’s fees.

A45

the transfer of the franchise agreement to the corpora-

tion; (2) the district court’s direction of a verdict against

BKC on the franchise termination predicated upon a trans-

fer of an interest in the profits of a restaurant; and (3) the

district court’s alleged abuse of discretion in limiting the

cross-examination of Helen O. Donaldson and excluding

a letter from Mason’s accountant to BKC offered during

the cross-examination. After careful consideration, we find

these assignments of error lack any merit and warrant

no further discussion.

We VACATE the attorney's fees award made pursuant

to Fla.Stat. § 57.105 and the damages assessed for breach

of the franchise.agreements. We REMAND to the district

court for (1) a finding of whether the statutory require-

ments of Fla.Stat. § 57.105 were satisfied in its award of

attorney’s fees and (2) a determination of the relief un-

der the Lanham Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1117. In all other re-

spects, the judgment of the district court is AFFIRMED.

A46

APPENDIX

SPFCIAL iSSUE NO. $

With respect to BURGER KING CORPORATION's claims regarding termine

taon of the franchise egreements. we the jury find thst

A. BURGER KING CORPORATION properly terminated al) of tre

frarnctuse sgements.

«

B. BURGER KING CORPORATION wrongfully terminated ali of the

frarctise egeerents, EEE

«

(.) BURGER KING CORPORATION properly tcrmunsted the tra

Chuse egesments covering Une resteurants listed in Colum ) ae stong-

fully terminated the franchise agreements covering the restaurants listed

an Column 2.

1 2

Franchise Agreer 7s

Terminates tmnt serty

Franchise Agreements

Terminsteo Proceriy

Pe en eee

“ee r= 463

7 —s ,

- 4337

—— Ss we}

ee

#13G¢0

*\G624

4— 1709

#1363

18227

wmacl24

=

waa)

#2249

ari?

A47

ORDER OF U. S. DISTRICT COURT, SOUTHERN

DISTRICT OF FLORIDA DATED

OCTOBER 31, 1980

(Filed October 31, 1980)

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

Case No. 78-2932-CIV-EBD

BURGER KING CORPORATION,

Plaintiff,

-V-

GERALD A. MASON, et al..,

Defendants.

ORDER

THIS MATTER has come before the Court on the fol-

lowing post trial motions:

>

1. Plaintiff's motion for clarification of the jury ver-

dict as to Special Issues No. 1 & 2.

2. Plaintiff's motion for a judgment notwithstanding

the verdict as to Special Issues No. 1 & 2.

3. Plaintiff's motion for a judgment notwithstanding

the verdict as to Special Issue No. 5.

4. Plaintiff's motion for a new trial as to Special

Issue No. 5.

5. Plaintiff's motion for a judgment notwithstanding

the verdict as to Special Issue 6.

A48

The Court has reviewed these motions and the memo-

randa submitted in their support, as well as the papers

filed in opposition. In addition, the Court has had the

benefit of oral argument on these matters. Based upon

an evaluation of the arguments presented, in light of the

entire record in this cause, it is

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED as follows:

1. The motion for clarification of the jury verdict as

to Special Issues No. 1 & 2 is Denied.

2. The motion for a judgment notwithstanding the

verdict as to Special Issues No. 1 & 2 is Denied.

Although the motions pertaining to Special Issues

Number 1 & 2 which seek clarification of the jury’s

verdict and/or entry of a judgment notwithstanding the

verdict are denied, an alternative form of relief is ap-

propriate. The awards of money damages in favor of

Burger King on both the promissory notes and the ac-

counts receivables establish liability against the defen-

dants. The verdict award of $1.00 on promissory notes

with a face value of close to $900,000.00 and the verdict

award of $100,000.00 on accounts receivable with a book

value of over $500,000.00 are contrary to the weight of

the evidence presented at trial. Therefore, a new trial

shall be held on the issue of damages alone with respect to

the promissory notes covered in Special Issue No. 1 and the

accounts receivable covered in Special Issue No. 2.

3. The motion for a judgment notwithstanding the

verdict as to Special Issue No. 5 is Denied. There was

sufficient competent evidence presented to the jury from

which they could have concluded that some of the franchises

were improperly terminated.

4. The motion for a new trial as to Special Issue

No. 5 is granted in part and denied in part. The jury

A49

determined that the franchise agreements covering res-

taurants +436, +837, +1127, +1201, #1360, +1689,

+1791, +1863, +1887, +2024, +2247 and +2249 were

improperly terminated. There was sufficient evidence pre-

sented to the jury from which they could arrive at such

a finding. Therefore, the motion for a new trial as is

relates to these restaurants is Denied.

It is very uncertain from the jury’s answer to Special

Issue No. 5 whether they made any determination as to

the other restaurants. Because of the substantial rights

and property interests at stake, it would not serve the

bests interests of justice for the Court to attempt to read

the jury’s mind in an effort to resolve this ambiguity.

Therefore, the motion for a new trial as it relates to

the propriety of the termination of the franchise agree-

ments covering restaurants +164, +285, +302, +473,

$545, +583, +597, +606, +1055, +1091, #1253, +1802

and +2080 is Granted.

5. The motion for a judgment notwithstanding the

verdict as to Special Issue No. 6 is denied. There was

sufficient competence presented to the jury from which

they could have determined that the defendants did not

engage in a conspiracy to defraud Burger King.

DONE AND ORDERED this 31st day of October, 1980.

/s/ Edward B. Davis

United States District Court

Judge

Copies Furnished To:

Andrew C. Hall, Esq.

Lee N. Abrams, Esq.

Edward Kaufman, Esq.

A50

ORDER OF U. S. DISTRICT COURT, SOUTHERN

DISTRICT OF FLORIDA, DATED

FEBRUARY 20, 1981

(Filed February 24, 1981)

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

Case No. 78-2932-CIV-EBD

BURGER KING CORPORATION,

Plaintiff,

-v-

GERALD A. MASON, et al.

Defendant.

ORDER

THIS MATTER has come before the Court on the fol-

lowing motions:

1. The Motion of the Plaintiff for Bifurcation:

2. The Motion of the Plaintiff for Leave to Amend

the Second Amended Complaint; and

3. The motion of the Defendants for Certification

Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1292(b).

The Court has considered these motions, as well as

the papers filed in opposition. Based upon this evaluation,

in light of the entire record in this cause, it is

A51

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED as follows:

1. The Motion for Bifurcation is Denied. All re-

maining issues will be tried in one proceeding.

2. The Motion to Amend the Complaint is granted

in part and denied in part. Plaintiff's motion to amend

paragraph 289 is granted. Plaintiff's motion to amend the

Complaint in order to add Count XXXX is denied as to

proposed paragraphs: 417, 419, 420, 424, 425, 427, 428,

429, 431 and 432. These paragraphs deal with matters

which have already been the subject of a jury determina-

tion. The motion, however, is granted as to all other

paragraphs of the proposed amendment.

3. The Motion for Certification pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

£1292(b) is Denied. The issue which the Defendants seek

to appeal is simply not a controlling question of law.

DONE and ORDERED this 20th day of February, 1981.

/s/ Edward B. Davis

U.S. District Court Judge

ec: Counsel of Record

A52

ORDER OF U. S. DISTRICT COURT, SOUTHERN

DISTRICT OF FLORIDA, DATED

MAY 20, 1981

(Filed May 21, 1981)

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

Case No. 78-2932-CIV-EBD

BURGER KING CORPORATION,

Plaintiff,

-V-

GERALD A. MASON, et al.,

Defendants.

ORDER

THIS MATTER has come before the Court on the

following motions:

1. The motion of the plaintiff for partial summary

judgment;

2. The motion of the defendants to dismiss Counts

XXXVI through XXXIX;

3. The motion of the defendants to dismiss Count

XXXX.

The Court has reviewed the motions, as well as the

papers filed in opposition. Upon consideration of the argu-

ments presented, in light of the entire record in this case,

it is

A53

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED as follows:

1, The motion of the plaintiff for partial summary

judgment is Granted. The liability of the Defendant has

already been determined. The amount due is the only

unresolved issue with regard to the plaintiff's claims on

the notes and receivables. The affidavit of Thomas F.

Crummey, Vice President < Treasurer of Burger King

Corporation, is competent and unrefuted. Therefore, par-

tial summary judgment is hereby entered in favor of the

plaintiff, Burger King, in the amount of One Million Seven

Hundred Sixty-Three Thousand Six Hundred Ninety-Two

Dollars and Forty cents ( $1,763,692.40).

Because this figure as reflected in the affidavit is the

amount outstanding as of February 15, 1981, the plaintiff

is granted leave to file supplementary affidavits which

reflect any additional obligations on the notes and re-

ceivables since that date.

2. The motion to dismiss Counts XXXVI through

XXXIX is Granted in part and denied in part. The motion

to dismiss as to Counts XXXVI, XXXII and XXXVIII is

Denied. As to Count XXXIX, the motion is granted with

respect to the prayer for damages. L.J.S. Company v.

Marks, 480 F.Supp. 241 (S.D.Fla. 1979). The motion is

denied as to the other portions of Count XXXIX dealing

with declaratory and injunctive relief.

In Count XXXIX the defendants have raised a con-

stitutional challenge to the application of the Florida De-

ceptive and Unfair Trade Practices Act to the facts of

this case. No legal authority is cited in support of the

argument. The defendants are granted leave to file a

supplementary memorandum of law which more fully

considers this issue.

A54

3. The motion to dismiss Count XXXX is Denied.

This count sets forth a cause of action in a fashion suf-

ficient to afford the defendants with ‘fair notice of the

nature of the claim.

DONE AND ORDERED this 20th day of May, 198!

s/ Edward B. Davis

United States District Court

Judge

Copies Furnished To:

Lee N. Abrams, Esq.

Edward Kaufman, Esq.

Mark Peddecord, Esq.

Andrew Hall, Esq.

A55

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

SEPTEMBER 18, 1981

(Filed September 18, 1981)

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

Case No. 78-2932-CIV-EBD

BURGER KING CORPORATION, a

Florida corporation,

Plaintiff,

-VS-

GERALD A. MASON, et al.,

Defendants.

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

This matter has come before the Court for trial on

the claim of the plaintiff, BURGER KING CORPORA-

TION, for equitable rescission of the franchise agreements

covering Restaurant +1253 in Johnstown, Pennsylvania,

Restaurant +1802 in Altoona, Pennsylvania, and Restau-

rant +2080 in Carlisle, Pennsylvania. Burger King’s claim

for rescission is set forth in Count XXXX of Second

Amended Complaint. Sitting in its capacity as a court

of equity, the Court heard and considered the evidence

presented by both the plaintiff and the defendants. Based

upon an evaluation of the evidence, in light of the applic-

able precedent, the Court does make and enter the fol-

lowing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of law

. AS6

’ FINDINGS OF FACT

1. In late 1972, Defendants Mason, Szabo and Hardy

submitted to Burger King Corporation a standard Burger

King Multiple Franchise Application for a license to op-

erate a Burger King restaurant in Johnstown, Pennsyl-

vania. This restaurant was subsequently designated as

Restaurant +1253.

2. The capitalization plan submitted as part of the ap-

plication represented that the defendants intended to cap-

italize the Johnstown restaurant with $37,000.00 of equity

capital and $37,000.00 of non-real estate debt.

3. The capitalization plan was part of the standard

application required by the application form and indicated

the manner in which the defendants’ proposal to capitalize

the subject restaurant as of its opening date.

4. Burger King’s Financial Analysis Department gave

financial approval of defendants’ franchise application on

December 7, 1972.

5. On January 4, 1973, Burger King approved defen-

dants’ application to operate the restaurant in Johnstown,

Pennsylvania.

6. As of the opening date of the Johnstown restaurant,

the actual debt-to-equity was not the same as that pro-

posed in the capitalization plan. The actual level of debt

incurred by the franchise at the opening was in excess of

the amount proposed in the capitalization plan.

7. On or about January 4, 1974, Burger King’s Fi-

nancial Analysis Department prepared a consolidated debt-

to-equity spread sheet in connection with Defendants’ ap-

plication for a separate franchise unit in Butler, Pennsyl-

vania. This spread sheet reflected the debt-to-equity situa-

tion of each of Defendants’ franchises in operation at that

A57

time, including Store +1253. The financial information

with regard to such stores reflected in this debt-to-equity

spread sheet were obtained from balance sheets for the

respective restaurants on file with Burger King for the pe-

riod ending September 30, 1973. The debt-to-equity ratio

of Store +1253, as reflected by its September 30, 1973

quarterly balance sheet and by the January 4, 1974 debt-

to-equity spread sheet was infinity to one, consisting of

$60,000.00 in long-term debt to outside creditors, no loans

from franchises and a negative $7,000 retained earnings.

8. Burger King never made any objections to the de-

fendants with regards to the manner in which Restaurant

+1253 had initially been capitalized prior to the filing of

this lawsuit.

9. In early 1976, the defendants Mason, Szabo and

Hardy submitted an application for a license to operate a

Burger King restaurant in Altoona, Pennsylvania. The

restaurant was subsequently designated as Burger King

licensed Restaurant +1802.

10. As part of the application, a capitalization plan

was submitted which represented that the defendants in-

tended to capitalize the restaurant with $143,000.00 of

equity capital and non-real estate debt.

11. $133,000.00 of the equity capital described in the

capitalization plan represented shareholder loans. No

subordination agreements were submitted by the defen-

dants with respect to these loans nor were any subordina-

tion agreements ever submitted in conjunction with share-

holder loans applicable to other Burger King franchises

owned by the defendants.

12. It was Burger King’s standard policy to require

subordination agreements in order for loans from fran-

chisee shareholders to be treated as equity rather than

debt.

A58

13. Notwithstanding the lack of shareholder subord-

ination agreements and in contravention of the company’s

stated policy, Burger King’s Financial Analysis Depart-

ment gave financial approval to the defendants’ Franchise

Application on May 19, 1976.

14. On June 3, 1976, Burger King’s National Develop-

ment Committee gave final approval to the defendants’

application for a license to operate the restaurant in Al-

foona, Pennsylvania.

15. As of the opening date of this restaurant, the

actual debt-to-equity ratio was not the same as was pro-

posed in the capitalization plan and the amount of equity

invested in the restaurant was less than that proposed in

the capitalization plan.

16. During the first week of May, 1977, Defendants

forwarded to Burger King’s Financial Analysis Department

a quarterly balance sheet for Store +1802 for the period

ending March 31, 1977. This quarterly balance sheet re-

flected long-term liabilities in the total amount of

$142,194.00, no loans from stockholders or owners, no cap-

ital stock or owner investment, no capital surplus and re-

tained earnings of approximately negative $12,000.00.

Under Burger King’s method of calculating debt-to-equity

ratios, this balance sheet reflected an infinite debt-to-equity

ratio as of the date of that financial statement, approx-

imately five months after the opening of the restaurant.

17. Prior to the filing of this lawsuit, Burger King

never objected to the defendants concerning the manner

in which Restaurant =1802 had initially been capitalized.

18. In late 1976 or early 1977, Defendants Mason,

Szabo and Peterson submitted a standard Burger King

Multiple Franchise Application for a franchise restaurant

to be located in Carlisle, Pennsylvania. This restaurant

A59

was subsequently designated as Burger King licensed

Restaurant +2080.

19. As part of the standard application for Restaurant

+2080, the defendants submitted a capitalization plan. In

this capitalization plan, the defendants proposed to open

the restaurant with a total investment of $149,500.00 con-

sisting of $125,000.00 in shareholder loans and $24,500.00 in

owners’ equity. No subordination agreement was ever

submitted with this application.

20. Notwithstanding the lack of any subordination

agreements covering the shareholder loans for the Carlisle

restaurant, Burger King’s Financial Analysis Department

gave financial approval to the defendants’ franchise ap-

plication on August 10, 1976.

21. On July 3, 1977, Burger King’s National Develop-

ment Committee gave final approval to the defendants’

application for a license to operate the restaurant in

Carlisle, Pennsylvania.

22. As of the opening date of this restaurant. the

actual debt-to-equity ratio was not the same as was

proposed in the capitalization plan, in that the actual

debt level incurred by the franchise at that time was in

excess of the amount proposed and the amount of equity

invested was less than the amount proposed.

23. Approximately eight months after the Carlisle

restaurant opened, the defendants submitted a quarterly

balance sheet to Burger King’s Financial Analysis De-

partment reflecting long term indebtedness of approxi-

mately $335,043.00, no loans from stockholders or owners.

approximately $3,000.00 of owner invested equity, no

capital surplus and retained earnings of approximately

$8,156.00.

A60

24. Prior to the filing of this lawsuit, Burger King

never objected to the defendants concerning the manner

in which Restaurant +1253 had been initially capitalized.

25. Standard Burger King operating procedure makes

it mandatory for its franchisees to submit quarterly balance

sheets to its Financial Analysis Department. The date

contained on these sheets provides the Financial Analysis

Department with sufficient information to compile the

debt-to-equity ratio of a franchise as of the date of the

statement within a reasonable degree of certainty.

26. Even though Burger King could compute the

debt-to-equity ratio, they did not review the quarterly bal-

ance sheets, which they required, for any of the restaurants

involved in this lawsuit during their first year of opera-

tion in order to detect capitalization deficiencies and cash

flow problems.

27. It is Burger King’s standard policy to initially

require a one-to-one debt-to-equity ratio.

28. It is Burger King’s standard policy to compute a

consolidated debt-to-equity ratio for all of a franchisee’s

existing restaurants when that franchisee applies for an

additional franchise unit. The Financial information

utilized by Burger King’s Financial Analysis Department

in computing this consolidated debt-to-equity ratio is de-

rived from the most recent quarterly balance sheets con-

tained in Burger King’s files.

28. On or about April 28, 1975, Burger King’s Fi-

nancial Analysis Department prepared a_ consolidated

debt-to-equity ratio spread sheet in connection with the

defendants’ application for two additional units in the

Pittsburgh area. This calculation was made approximately

one year after the opening of defendants’ restaurants

#1382 and +1358. At the time of this computation. the

A61

capitalization position of Restaurants Nos. 1382 and 1358

reflected an infinite debt-to-equity ratio. The head of

Burger King’s Financial Analysis Department gave fi-

nancial approval to the defendants’ application for the

additional units in the Pittsburgh area despite the infinite

debt-to-equity ratios on two of the defendants’ franchises

which had been opened for only one year.

29. There is no evidence of any secret plan on the

part of the defendants which demonstrates an intention

to capitalize the restaurants in a different manner than

that proposed in the capitalization plans.

30. The defendants did not deliberately conceal from

Burger King the facts upon which the claims for rescission

are based. The defendants disclosed such facts th:ough

the submission of quarterly balance sheets which reflected

actual rather than projected conditions.

31. Within one year from the opening date of each

of the three restaurants at issue, Burger King Corpora-

tion had actual knowledge or had been provided with

sufficient information from which it could and should

have obtained actual knowledge of the actual initial cap-

italization of the three subject restaurants, and despite

such knowledge, Burger King never objected to Defen-

dants as to the manner in which the subject restaurants

were capitalized, continued to grant to Defendants addi-

tional franchises, and continued to accept from Defendants

the payment of franchise fees, royalties on sales, and

advertising contributions based on sales.

32. There has been no proof that Burger King has

sustained any pecuniary loss or other actual damage as a

result of entering into the franchise agreements for Res-

taurant Nos. 1253, 1802 and 2080.

A62

33. Burger King Corporation unreasonably delayed

in asserting its claim against Defendants for rescission

with regard to the subject franchises despite its knowledge

of the actual initial capitalization of the subject restaurants.

Defendants have been prejudiced by such delay in that

they have continued to invest their own time and money

in the operation of these restaurants under the reasonable

assumption that Burger King Corporation did not object

to the manner in which the subject franchises were

capitalized.

34. Notwithstanding the language in Burger King’s

Franchise Application, the capitalization plans submitted

by the defendants in connection with Restaurants Nos.

1253, 1802 and 2080 were not materially relied upon by

Burger King in approving these applications.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. In order to prevail upon an equitable claim for

rescission under Florida law, the plaintiff must establish

(1) that the defendants made a material misrepresentation;

(2) that the representation was material to the Plaintiff's

decision to enter into the subject contract; (3) that the

Plaintiff reasonably relied upon such misrepresentations;

and (4) that in reliance upon the misrepresentations, the

Plaintiff is caused to act to its own detriment or injury.

Robson Link & Co. v. Leedy Wheeler & Co., 18 So.2d 523

(Fla.1944).

2. Burger King failed to seek rescissions of the fran-

chise agreements for Restaurant Nos. 1253, 1802 and 2080,

despite having actual or imputed knowledge of the capitali-

zation. This lack of diligence in timely asserting the re-

scission claim coupled with Burger King’s failure to follow

its own standard procedure amounts to a waiver of any

A63

right which it may have had to rescind the subject fran-

chise agreements.

3. Burger King’s continued acceptance of the benefits

accruing to it under the franchise agreements for Res-

taurant Nos. 1253, 1802 and 2080 despite its actual or im-

puted knowledge of the true initial capitalization of these

franchises amounts to ratification by Burger King of any

misrepresentation by the defendants upon which Burger

King may have relied in entering into the franchise agree-

ments.

4. Burger's King’s lack of diligence in timely seeking

rescission of the franchise agreements for Restaurant Nos.

1253, 1800, and 2080 despite its actual or imputed knowl-

edge of the true initial capitalization of these restaurants

caused the defendants to continue to invest their time and

money in these operations to their detriment and injury to

the extent that rescission is barred by the doctrine of

laches.

5. Burger King has failed to establish by a prepon-

derance of the evidence that it has suffered any injury or

detriment sufficient to justify rescission of the defendants’

franchises as a result of any reliance which it placed upon

the capitalization plans for Restaurant Nos. 1253, 1802 and

2080.

Based upon the foregoing Findings of Fact and Con-

clusions of law, it is

ORDERED and ADJUDGED that judgment is hereby

entered in favor of the Defendants, Mason, Hardy, Peter-

son and Szabo and against the Plaintiff, Burger King Cor-

poration, on its claim for equitable rescission of the fran-

chise agreements covering Restaurant Nos. 1253, 1802 and

2080.

A64

DONE and ORDERED this 18th day of September,

1981.

s/ Edward B. Davis

United States District Court Judge

Copies Furnished to:

Andrew C. Hall, Esq. A

Lee Abrams, Esq.

Edward Kaufman, Esq.

A65

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

NOVEMBER 25, 1981

(Filed November 25, 1981)

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

Case No. 78-2932-CIV-EBD

BURGER KING CORPORATION, a

Florida corporation,

Plaintiff,

-VSs-

GERALD A. MASON, et al.,

Defendants.

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

THIS MATTER has come before the Court on the

claim of the Plaintiff, BURGER KING CORPORATION,

for compensatory damages based upon the termination of

franchisee agreements covering restaurants bearing the

following numbers: +164 in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania;

=285 in Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania; +1055 in Hershey,

Pennsylvania; +597 in Johnstown, Pennsylvania; +606

in State College, Pennsylvania; +1253 in Johnstown, Penn-

sylvania; +302 in Roseland, Indiana; +583 in Elkhart,

Indiana; +1358 in South Bend, Indiana; +473 in W. La-

fayette, Indiana; +545 in Lafayette, Indiana; +1091 in

Lafayette, Indiana and +1382 in Independence, Missouri.

On September 21 and 22, 1981, a bench trial was conducted

on these issues. Based upon the evidence presented, in

light of the entire record in this case, the Court does make -

A66

and enter the following Findings of Fact and Conclusions

of Law.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Burger King Corporation is the owner of various

trademarks and service marks, including “Burger King”

and “Home of the Whopper’, and said marks are in full

force and effect under the Lanham Act and the common

law. Burger King Corporation is in the business of li-

censing franchisees to use those trademarks and service

marks, and other unique systems, names and marks, in

connection with the operation by its franchisees of

hamburger-oriented, limited menu fast food restaurants

throughout the United States and abroad.

2. At various times between 1969 and 1974, Burger

King Corporation and certain of the Defendants entered

into thirteen separate franchise agreements, each of which

licensed the named franchisees to operate a Burger King

restaurant at a specified location. The location of the

restaurant, the named franchisees and the date the fran-

chise agreement was entered into are as follows:

Restaurant

Number Location

164 Harrisburg, Pa.

285 Mechanicsburg, Pa.

1055 Hershey, Pa.

597 Johnstown, Pa.

606 State College, Pa.

1253 Johnstown, Pa.

302 Roseland, Ind.

583 Elkhart, Ind.

1358 South Bend, Ind.

473 W. Lafayette, Ind.

545 Lafayette, Ind.

1091 Lafayette, Ind.

1382 Independence, Mo.

Date of

Named Franchise

Franchisees Agreement

D. W. Szabo 4/1/74

G. A. Mason

R. A. Peterson

D. W. Szabo 4/1/74

G. A. Mason

R. A. Peterson

D. W. Szabo 4/1/74

G. A. Mason

R. A. Peterson

D. W. Szabo 9/2269

W. S. Hardy

W. S. Hardy 3/21/70

E. Lamb, Jr.

S. W. Szabo 5/11/73

W. S. Hardy

G. A. Mason

W. S. Hardy 4/17/72

G. A. Mason

W. S. Hardy 4/17/72

G. A. Mason

W. S. Hardy 11/30/73

G. A. Mason

W. S. Hardy 1/27/69

W. S. Hardy 5/23 ‘69

W. S. Hardy 119/72

W. S. Hardy 4 29 74

D. W. Szabo

M. T. Peddecord

A68

3. Following the execution of each of those thirteen

franchise agreements, the franchisees named therein as-

signed the franchise agreement to an assignee corporation,

as follows:

Name of Date of BKC

Restaurant Operating Written Consent

Number Corporation to Assignment

164 Dauphin Foods Corp. +1 10/18/76

285 Dauphin Foods Corp +1 10/18 76

1055 Dauphin Foods Corp. +1 10/18/76

597 Johnstown Corp. +1 419 76

606 State College, Pa., No. 1, Inc. 419 76

1253 Johnstown Corp. =2 10 18,76

302 South Bend No. 1, Inc. 12/14 73

583 Elkhart No. 1, Inc. 12/18/73

1358 South Bend No. 1, Inc. 41674

473 Lafayette Corporation No. 1 6/1/76

548 Lafayette Corporation No. 2 61,76

1091 Hardy Enterprises, Inc. 5/2/72

1382 Burger King of Greater Kansas None

City, Inc. (whose name sub-

sequently was changed to Regal

Foods, Inc.)

4. In August 1968, Defendant Mason acquired a 25°;

stock interest in Lafayette Corporation No. 1.

5. In June 1969, Defendant Mason acquired a 25%

stock interest in Lafayette Corporation No. 2.

6. In December 1971, Defendant Mason acquired a

33 1/3% stock interest in Hardy Enterprises. Inc.

A69

7. In October 1969, Defendant Mason acquired a 25%

stock interest in Johnstown Corp. #1.

8. In April 1970, Defendant Mason acquired a 25%

stock interest in State College, Pa., No. 1, Inc.

9. In March 1973, Defendant Szabo acquired a 25%

stock interest in State College, Pa., No. 1, Inc.

10. Defendants, Mason, Hardy, Szabo and Peterson

are, and at all relevant times have been, the stockholders

of B-K Foods, Inc.

11. On or about June 30, 1978, Lafayette Corporation

No. 1 and Lafayette Corporation No. 2 were merged into

Hardy Enterprises, Inc.

12. On or about October 31, 1976, Elkhart No. 1, Inc.

was merged into South Bend No. 1, Inc.

13. On or about September 30, 1977, B-K Foods, Inc.

acquired all of the outstanding stock of South Bend No. 1,

Inc.

14. On May 18, 1979, Burger King sent to Defendants

a letter notifying them that Burger King had unilaterally

determined to terminate all of Defendants twenty-seven

(27) franchise agreements for their various restaurants.

Only the thirteen franchise agreements listed in Finding 2

are the subject of this proceeding. The termination letter

stated the following:

“By reason of the material breaches and acts of default

described above, Burger King Corporation does here-

by terminate each of the franchise agreements listed

on Exhibit “A” attached hereto (including the thir-

teen franchise agreements described in Paragraph 1,

above). Please be advised that should any of you (or

any corporation to which you have assigned any of the

franchise agreements listed on said Exhibit “A”),

A70

identify yourself (or itself) as a Burger King Cor-

poration franchisee, after receipt of this Notice of Ter-

rmination, Burger King Corporation will take such ac-

tion as it deems necessary in order to protect itself

against trademark infringements and otherwise. Fur-

ther, you are directed to comply with the provisions

of each applicable franchise agreement which govern

the conduct of a franchisee following termination of

the franchise agreement by Burger King Corporation.”

15. Following the receipt of the May 18, 1979 ter-

mination letter, Defendants continued to operate each of

the various franchises which had purportedly been ter-

minated by the May 18 letter, and the Defendants con-

tinued to assert that Burger King’s attempted unilateral

termination of the franchise agreements was not effective,

that they had not committed the various acts of default

alleged by the plaintiff in its termination letter, and that

such acts, if in fact they had been committed, did not

in any fashion justify termination of the various franchise

agreements.

16. On May 18, 1979, the Defendants operated three

Burger King licensed restaurants in the South Bend/

Elkhart market, two of which restaurants were leased from

Burger King (commonly known as BKL’s). Following

May 18, 1979, Burger King has developed no new restau-

rants, either company-owned or franchised, in South Bend

or Elkhart.

17. As of May 18, 1979, Defendants operated three

restaurants in Lafayette, Indiana, two of which restaurants

were BKL’s and a third of which was owned by the De-

fendants. Following May 18, 1979, Burger King has de-

veloped no new restaurant, either company-owned or fran-

chised, in Lafayette, Indiana.

A7l

18. As of May, 1979, the Defendants operated three

restaurants which have been determined to be properly

terminated in the Harrisburg ADI. Those stores, Numbers

164, 285, and 1055, were operated in and around the city

of Harrisburg, itself. All three of those stores were owned

by the Defendants. On or about December 24, 1979,

Burger King opened a new franchise restaurant in Camp

Hill, Pennsylvania, approximately 1.1 miles from store

Number 285 operated by the Defendants in Harrisburg,

Pennsylvania.

19. In an order dated September 4, 1981, this Court

determined that Burger King Corporation had properly

terminated the franchise agreements covering Restaurant

+302, +473, +545, +583, +1091, +1358 and +1382 on

May 18, 1979. On September 2, 1981, the jury found that

Burger King Corporation had properly terminated the

franchise agreements covering Restaurant +164, +285,

#1055, +597, +606 and +1253 on May 18, 1979.

20. Each of the standard of Burger King Franchise

Agreements signed by Defendants contained a provision

requiring the franchisee, upon termination of the fran-

chise, to cease operation of the restaurant as a Burger

King restaurant, and to take certain steps in order to make

the actual structure appear physically dissimilar to a

Burger King restaurant.

21. Despite the May 13, 1979 termination of each of

the thirteen franchise agreements, the Defendants con-

tinued to operate each of the thirteen restaurants as a

Burger King restaurant, and to utilize Burger King Cor-

poration’s trademarks and service marks as part of the

operation. The Defendants benefitted financially as a re-

sult of this continued use.

A72

22. At the August 1, 1979 evidentiary hearing on De-

fendants’ Amended Motion for Temporary Restraining

Order and Preliminary Injunction, courisel for Burger

King Corporation expressly advised Defendants and the

Court that Burger King Corporation would agree to main-

tain the status quo by not interfering with Defendants’

operation of their 27 restaurants as Burger King licensed

restaurants pending an adjudication as to whether it had

properly terminated some or all of the franchise agree-

ments covering those restaurants. This proposal was pred-

icated on the condition that the agreement would be with-

out prejudice to Burger King Corporation’s right to ob-

tain relief against Defendants for their post-termination

operation of each of those restaurants as a Burger King li-

censed restaurant in the event of a subsequent adjudication

that Burger King Corporation had terminated some or all

of those franchise agreements properly. Defendants there-

after did not present any evidence or arguments with

respect to that portion of their July 12, 1979 amended mo-

tion which sought a preliminary injunction restraining

Burger King Corporation from effectuating its termina-

tion of Defendants’ franchise agreements.

23. By their conduct, the Defendants ratified to

Burger King’s proposal that it would agree to maintain the

status quo pending an adjudication as to whether it had

properly terminated some or all of the Defendants’ fran-

chise agreements, and that Defendants are estopped from

challenging Burger King Corporation's simultaneous reser-

vation of its rights which was an express condition of that

proposal

24. By reason of their continued operation of Res-

taurant +597 in Johnstown as a Burger King licensed

restaurant after May 18, 1979. Defendants Mason, Szabo,

Hardy and Johnstown Corp. =1 have been unjustly en-

o

A73

riched in the amount of $122,500.00 in adjusted net profits.

Those Defendants should be required to disgorge that

amount by which they have been unjustly enriched.

25. By reason of their continued operation of Restau-

rant +606 as a Burger King licensed restaurant after May

18, 1979, Defendants, Mason, Szabo, Hardy and State Col-

lege, Pa., No. 1, Inc, have been unjustly enriched in the

amount of $6,600.00 in adjusted net profits. Those Defen-

dants should be required to disgorge that amount by which

they have been unjustly enriched.

26. By reason of their continued operation of Res-

taurant +1253 as a Burger King licensed restaurant after

May 18, 1979, Defendants, Mason, Szabo, Hardy and Johns-

town Corp. +2 have been unjustly enriched in the amount

of $70,900.00 in adjusted net profits. Those Defendants

should be required to disgorge that amount by which they

have been unjustly enriched.

27. By reason of their continued operation of Res-

taurant +545 as a Burger King licensed restaurant after

May 18, 1979, Defendants, Mason, Hardy and Hardy En-

terprises, Inc. have been unjustly enriched in the amount

of $16,300.00 in adjusted net profits. Those Defendants

should be required to disgorge that amount by which they

have been unjustly enriched.

28. The Plaintiff has failed to sustain its burden of

showing what Burger King would have done in May of

1979 with regard to development and ‘or marketing in the

South Bend/Elkhart, Lafayette, Mechanicsburg and Her-

shey markets. The evidence is insufficient to demonstrate

that Burger King had determined, in May of 1979, that

additional stores could and shouid be built in these markets

and that it would proceed forthwith with the development

of such new stores.

AZ

29. The Plaintiff has failed to introduce sufficient

credible evidence to demonstrate what it would have done

in developing the South Bend Elkhart and Lafayette mar-

kets, or that its evaluation of the potential of these

markets has reached a stage sufficient to warrant additional

development by Burger King.

30. The Plaintiff has failed to sustain its burden of

showing that the Defendants prevented it from carrying

out its May 1979 development or marketing plans by virtue

of their failure to close their stores or by virtue of this law-

suit.

31. The evidence is insufficient to establish that Bur-

ger King’s image in the South Bend Elkhart, Lafayette,

Mechanicsburg and Hershey markets was damaged by the

Defendants.

32. Defendants have not made a showing sufficient

to demonstrate that they are entitled to a preliminary in-

junction restraining Burger King Corporation from exer-

cising its contractual rights to effectuate the termination

of each of the thirteen franchise agreements described in

Finding 2 above, and therefore Burger King Corporation

is not precluded from exercising those contractual rights.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. By continuing to operate each of the thirteen res-

taurants described in Finding 2 above as a Burger King

licensed restaurant, and by continuing to utilize Burger

King Corporation’s trademarks and service marks in con-

nection therewith, after Burger King Corporation’s May

18, 1979 termination of each of the franchise agreements

covering those restaurants, Defendants have breached the

contractual obligations imposed on them by the provisions

A75

in each of those franchise agreements which govern the

post-termination conduct of the franchisees.

2. By their continued wrongful operation of each of

the thirteen restaurants described in Finding 2 above, the

Defendants have breached the franchise agreement relat-

ing to each restaurant. ;

3. In order to prevent Defendants from being un-

justly enriched by their misconduct, Burger King Corpora-

tion is entitled to recover from Defendants the profits

which Defendants have derived from their operation of

each of Restaurants +545, +597, +606, and +1253 as a

Burger King licensed restaurant since May 18, 1979.

4. In light of the evidence presented and applicable

legal principles, the Court concludes that Burger King Cor-

poration is entitled to recover from Defendants the amounts

specified in the Findings of Fact, as compensatory damages.

5. Defendants have the burden of proof as to each

of their affirmative defenses to Burger King Corporation's

claims for relief.

6. Defendants have not sustained their burden of

proving any affirmative defense to Burger King Corpora-

tion’s claims for relief.

7. Burger King Corporation is entitled to the entry

of a permanent injunction restraining Defendants from us-

ing Burger King Corporation’s trademarks and service

marks in connection with the operation of any restaurant

which is not licensed to use those marks.

Based upon the above Findings of Fact and Conclusions

of Law, it is

ORDERED and ADJUDGED that Final Judgment

is hereby awarded in favor of the Plaintiff, Burger King

A76

Corporation, and against the Defendants, G.A. Mason, D.W.

Szabo, R. A. Peterson and W. S. Hardy in the amount of

$216,300.00. It is further

ORDERED and ADJUDGED that the Defendants shall

be permanently enjoined from using Burger King Corpora-

tion’s trademarks and service marks in connection with the

operation of the thirteen franchisees which are the sub-

ject of this Order.

DONE and ORDERED this 25th day of November,

1981.

‘s/ Edward B. Davis

United States District Court Judge

Copies Furnished To:

Andrew C. Hall, Esq.

Lee N. Abrams, Esq.

Edward Kaufman, Esq.

A77

FINAL JUDGMENT

(Filed December 16, 1981)

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

MIAMI DIVISION

Case No. 78-2932-Civ-EBD

BURGER KING CORPORATION, a

Florida corporation,

Plaintiff,

Vs.

GERALD A. MASON, et al.,

Defendants.

FINAL JUDGMENT

THIS CAUSE came before the Court for trial in June

1980, in August 1981 and in September 1981. Based upon

the jury’s verdict of August 4, 1980, the jury’s verdict of

September 2, 1981, the Court’s rulings on the various mo-

tions of the parties for directed verdicts, the Court’s May

20, 1981 Order granting BURGER KING CORPORATION ’s

March 16, 1981 Motion for Partial Summary Judgment,

the Court’s September 18, 1981 Findings of Fact and Con-

clusions of Law with respect to BURGER KING COR-

PORATION’s claims for equitable rescission, and the

Court’s November 25, 1981 Order with respect to BURGER

KING CORPORATION ’s claims for relief based on the al-

legations of Counts XXXVI-XXXIX of the Amended Sec-

ond Amended Complaint, and the Court having considered

the record herein, the Court does hereby enter this Final

Judgment as follows:

A78

IT IS ORDERED, DECREED AND ADJUDGED that:

I. Final Judgment With Respect to Counts I-IV of the

Amended Second Amended Complaint

1. By reason of the August 4, 1980 jury verdict and

this Court’s May 20, 1981 Order granting BURGER KING

CORPORATION’s March 16, 1981 Motion for Partial Sum-

mary Judgment, BURGER KING CORPORATION shall

recover of Defendants MASON, HARDY and SZABO the

sum of TWO HUNDRED THIRTY-SIX THOUSAND FOUR

HUNDRED TWENTY-EIGHT DOLLARS AND TWENTY-

EIGHT CENTS ($236,428.28) on Promissory Note No.

102721, together with interest thereon at the rate of twelve

percent (12%) per annum from November 1, 1981 until

paid, as provided by law.

2. By reason of the August 4, 1980 jury verdict and

this Court’s May 20, 1981 Order granting BURGER KING

CORPORATION’s March 16, 1981 Motion for Partial Sum-

mary Judgment, BURGER KING CORPORATION shall re-

cover of Defendants MASON and SZABO the sum of ONE

HUNDRED SEVENTY-NINE THOUSAND EIGHT HUN-

DRED NINETY-SIX DOLLARS AND SIXTY-NINE

CENTS ($179,896.69) on Promissory Note No. 107727, to-

gether with interest thereon at the rate of twelve per-

cent (12%) per annum from November 1, 1981 until paid,

as provided by law.

3. By reason of the August 4, 1980 jury verdict and

this Court’s May 20, 1981 Order granting BURGER KING

CORPORATION’s March 16, 1981 Motion for Partial Sum-

mary Judgment, BURGER KING CORPORATION shall

recover of Defendants MASON and SZABO the sum of

THREE HUNDRED SIXTY-SIX THOUSAND THREE

HUNDRED EIGHTY-ONE DOLLARS AND SEVENTY-

SIX CENTS ($366,381.76) on Promissory Note No. 107733,

A79

together with interest thereon at the rate of twelve per-

cent (12%) per annum from November 1, 1981 until

paid, as provided by law.

4. By reason of the August 4, 1980 jury verdict and

this Court’s May 20, 1981 Order granting BURGER KING

CORPORATION ’s March 16, 1981 Motion for Partial Sum-

mary Judgment, BURGER KING CORPORATION shall re-

cover of Defendants MASON, HARDY and SZABO the

sum of ONE HUNDRED SEVENTEEN THOUSAND SIX

HUNDRED THIRTY-FIVE DOLLARS and SEVENTY-

SIX CENTS ($117,635.76) on Promissory Note No. 107734,

together with interest thereon at the rate of twelve per-

cent (12%) per annum from November 1, 1981 until paid,

as provided by law.

5. By reason of the August 4, 1980 jury verdict and

this Court’s May 20, 1981 Order granting BURGER KING

CORPORATION’s March 16, 1981 Motion for Partial Sum-

mary Judgment, BURGER KING CORPORATION shall

recover of Defendants Mason, HARDY and SZABO the

sum of THREE HUNDRED THIRTY-ONE THOUSAND

FIVE HUNDRED EIGHTY-TWO DOLLARS AND FIFTY-

NINE CENTS ($531,582.59) on Promissory Note No.

107739, together with interest thereon at the rate of twelve

percent (12%) per annum from November 1, 1981 until

paid, as provided by law.

6. As to the provisions of Paragraphs 1 through 5 of

this Final Judgment, execution shall issue as provided by

law.

II. Final Judgment with Respect to Counts V-XXXI of

the Amended Second Amended Complaint

7. By reason of the August 4, 1980 jury verdict and

this Court’s May 20, 1981 Order granting BURGER KING

CORPORATION ’s March 16, 1981 Motion for Partial Sum-

A80

mary Judgment, BURGER KING CORPORATION shall

recover of Defendants MASON, SZABO, PETERSON and

DAUPHIN FOODS CORP. +1 the sum of ONE THOU-

SAND NINE HUNDRED TWENTY-EIGHT DOLLARS

AND EIGHTY-THREE CENTS ($1,928.83) arising from

the operation of Burger King Restaurant +164, together

with interest thereon at the rate of twelve percent (12%)

per annum from and after the date hereof, as provided by

law.

8. By reason of the August 4, 1980 jury verdict and

this Court’s May 20, 1981 Order granting BURGER KING

CORPORATION’s March 16, 1981 Motion for Partial Sum-

mary Judgment, BURGER KING CORPORATION shall

recover of Defendants MASON, SZABO, PETERSON and

DAUPHIN FOOD CORP. +1 the sum of TWO THOU-

SAND NINETY-SEVEN DOLLARS AND THIRTY-SIX

CENTS ($2,097.36) arising from the operation of Burger

King Restaurant +285, together with interest thereon at

the rate of twelve percent (12%) per annum from and

after the date hereof, as provided by law.

9. By reason of the August 4, 1980 jury verdict and

this Court’s May 20, 1981 Order granting BURGER KING

CORPORATION's March 16, 1981 Motion for Partial Sum-

mary Judgment, BURGER KING CORPORATION shall

recover of Defendants MASON, HARDY, SZABO, ALLI-

SON PARK CORP. +1 and B-K FOODS, INC. the sum

of TEN THOUSAND SIX HUNDRED THIRTY-TWO DOL-

LARS AND FIFTY-EIGHT CENTS ($10,632.58) arising

from the operation of Burger King Restaurant +463, to-

gether with interest thereon at the rate of twelve percent

(12%) per annum from and after the date hereof, as pro-

vided by law.

10. By reason of the August 4, 1980 jury verdict and

this Court’s May 20, 1981 Order granting BURGER KING

A8l

CORPORATION’s March 16, 1981 Motion for Partial Sum-

mary Judgment, BURGER KING CORPORATION shall

recover of Defendants MASON, HARDY, SZABO, PETER-

SON, SMITHFIELD CORP. and B-K FOODS, INC. the

sum of ELEVEN THOUSAND SIX HUNDRED FIFTY-

FIVE DOLLARS AND FORTY-TWO CENTS ($11,655.42)

arising from the operation of Burger King Restaurant

+837, together with interest thereon at the rate of twelve

percent (12°: ) per annum from and after the date hereof,

as provided by law.

11. By reason of the August 4, 1980 jury verdict and

this Court’s May 20, 1981 Order granting BURGER KING

- CORPORATION ’s March 16, 1981 Motion for Partial Sum-

mary Judgment, BURGER KING CORPORATION shall

recover of Defendants MASON, SZABO, PETERSON and

DAUPHIN FOODS CORP. +1 the sum of TWO THOU-

SAND TWO HUNDRED SEVENTY-ONE DOLLARS AND

THIRTY-SIX CENTS ($2,271.36) arising from the opera-

tion of Burger King Restaurant +1055, together with in-

terest thereon at the rate of twelve percent (12°) per

annum from and after the date hereof, as provided by law.

12. By reason of the August 4, 1980 jury verdict and

this Court’s May 20, 1981 Order granting BURGER KING

CORPORATION’s March 16, 1981 Motion for Partial Sum-

mary Judgment, BURGER KING CORPORATION shall

recover of Defendants MASON, HARDY, SZABO, WASH-

INGTON CORP. +1 and B-K FOODS, INC. the sum of

FOUR THOUSAND NINE HUNDRED SEVEN DOLLARS

AND SIXTY-FOUR CENTS ($4,907.64) arising from the

operation of Burger King Restaurant +1127, together with

interest thereon at the rate of twelve percent (12%) per

annum from and after the date hereof, as provided by law.

13. By reason of the August 4, 1980 jury verdict and

this Court’s May 20, 1981 Order granting BURGER KING

A82

CORPORATION’s March 16, 1981 Motion for Partial Sum-

mary Judgment, BURGER KING CORPORATION shall

recover of Defendants MASON, HARDY, SZABO, SMITH-

FIELD CORP. and B-K FOODS, INC. the sum of FOUR

THOUSAND ONE HUNDRED FORTY-EIGHT DOLLARS

AND TWENTY-THREE CENTS ($4,148.23) arising from

the operation of Burger King Restaurant +1201, together

with interest thereon at the rate of twelve percent (12%)

per annum from and after the date hereof, as provided

by law.

14. By reason of the August 4, 1980 jury verdict and

this Court’s May 20, 1981 Order granting BURGER KING

CORPORATION’s March 16, 198 Motion for Partial Sum-

mary Judgment, BURGER KING CORPORATION shall

recover of Defendants MASON, HARDY, SZABO and

JOHNSTOWN CORP. #2 the sum of FOUR THOUSAND

FIFTY-ONE DOLLARS AND ELEVEN CENTS ($4,051.11)

arising from the operation of Burger King Restaurant

+1253, together with interest thereon at the rate of twelve

percent (12%) per annum from and after the date here-

of, as provided by law.

15. By reason of the August 4, 1980 jury verdict and

this Court’s May 20, 1981 Order granting BURGER KING

CORPORATION’s March 16, 1981 Motion for Partial Sum-

mary Judgment, BURGER KING CORPORATION shall

recover of Defendants MASON, HARDY, SZABO, WASH-

INGTON CORP. +1 and B-K FOODS, INC. the sum of

THREE THOUSAND FOUR HUNDRED TWENTY-ONE

DOLLARS AND FIFTY-THREE CENTS ($3,421.53) aris-

ing from the operation of Burger King Restaurant +1360,

together with interest thereon at the rate of twelve percent

(12% ) per annum from and after the date hereof, as pro-

vided by law.

A83

16. By reason of the August 4, 1980 jury verdict and

this Court’s May 20, 1981 Order granting BURGER KING

CORPORATION ’s March 16, 1981 Motion for Partial Sum-

mary Judgment, BURGER KING CORPORATION shall

recover of Defendants MASON, HARDY, SZABO, PETER-

SON, SMITHFIELD CORP. and B-K FOODS, INC. the

sum of SEVEN THOUSAND SEVENTY-FOUR DOLLARS

AND SIXTY-NINE CENTS ($7.074.69) arising from the

operation of Burger King Restaurant +1689, together with

interest thereon at the rate of twelve percent (12%) per

annum from and after the date hereof, as provided by law.

17. By reason of the August 4, 1980 jury verdict and

this Court’s May 20, 1981 Order granting BURGER KING

CORPORATION ’s March 16, 1981 Motion for Partial Sum-

mary Judgment, BURGER KING CORPORATION shall

recover of Defendants MASON, HARDY, SZABO, PETER-

SON, SMITHFIELD CORP. and B-K FOODS, INC. the

sum of THREE THOUSAND THREE HUNDRED THIRTY-

TWO DOLLARS AND FIFTEEN CENTS ($3,332.15) aris-

ing from the operation of Burger King urant +1791,

together with interest thereon at the rate oMtwelve percent

(12%) per annum from and after the date hereof, as pro-

vided by law.

18. By reason of the August 4, 1980 jury verdict and

this Court’s May 20, 1981 Order granting BURGER KING

CORPORATION ’s March 16, 1981 Motion for Partial Sum-

mary Judgment, BURGER KING CORPORATION shall

recover of Defendants MASON, HARDY and SZABO the

sum of FOUR THOUSAND FOUR HUNDRED FORTY-

SIX DOLLARS ($4,446.00) arising from the operation of

Burger King Restaurant +1802, together with interest

thereon at the rate of twelve percent (12%) per annum

from and after the date hereof, as provided by law.

A84

19. By reason of the August 4, 1980 jury verdict and

this Court’s May 20, 1981 Order granting BURGER KING

CORPORATION ’s March 16, 1981 Motion for Partial Sum-

mary Judgment, BURGER KING CORPORATION shall

recover of Defendants MASON, HARDY, SZABO, PETER-

SON, SMITHFIELD CORP. and B-K FOODS, INC. the sum

of TWENTY THOUSAND EIGHT HUNDRED TWENTY-

SEVEN DOLLARS AND FORTY-SIX CENTS ($20,827.46)

arising from the operation of Burger King Restaurant

+ 1863, together with interest thereon at the rate of twelve

percent (12°) per annum from and after the date hereof,

as provided by law.

20. By reason of the August 4, 1980 jury verdict and

this Court’s May 20, 1981 Order granting BURGER KING

CO

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.