Petition — Van Wey v. O'Neal

Supreme Court brief1984

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Office - Supreme Court, U.S

83-1123 FILED

No. JAN 6 1984

a CEXEESER L. STEVAS.

CLERK

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1983

CHRISTINE VAN WEY, . - - - Petitioner

versus

RAYMOND F. O’NEAL,

DONNA O’NEAL and

BABY BOY VAN WEY, .- . - - Respondents

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF KENTUCKY

ELLEN GAIL FRIEDMAN*

ROBERT FREDERICK SMITH

Legal Aid Society, Inc.

425 W. Muhammad Ali Boulevard

Louisville, Kentucky 40202

Telephone (502) 584-1254

Counsel for Petitioner

*Counsel of Record

January 6, 1984

WESTERFIELO-BONTE CO... 619 W. KENTUCKY~-P.O. BOX 3251, LOVISVILLE, KY.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. Where a parent first files but then revokes a volun-

tary petition to terminate her parental rights, does the

Fourteenth Amendment Due Process Clause permit the

State to terminate those rights without complying with the

statutory procedures for involuntary termination?

II. Does the federal constitutional right to family

privacy and integrity preclude the termination of parental

rights based upon the best interests of the child without a

showing of parental unfitness?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

SEIS Sc occ sveccvcccssccesccccccccce i

LCR ER a eesione esses ccccscseses ii-iii

eee ca isenccccccccecscns iv

ee TLE ESs bees ceciesscccvccess 1

Nee LU Ce psc cecaceccopecccces 1- 2

Constitutional Provisions Involved ................. 2

Statutory Provisions Involved ..................... 2

eGR ee sh ccccccesccesvccncse 2- 6

Te JUDE Sane cacessccccvecsese 2- 4

B. Federal Questions Raised Below .............. 4- 6

EE So vccccecedecccccccccess 7-11

I. The Kentucky Supreme Court Has Set a Dan-

gerous Precedent by Publishing an Opinion

Which Flagrantly Disregards Basic Procedural

Due Process Guaranteed by the U. S. Consti-

IRE SEE Gui wb nieGesceee css cocsccce 7-9

II. The Use of a “Best Interests” Standard to Ter-

minate Parental Rights Without Any Finding

of Parental Unfitness Seriously Erodes the

Fundamental Liberty Interest in Family Integ-

rity Historically Recognized by This Court ... 9-11

es ease e ab dacessdsscccsccces 11

Appendix A—(Opinion of the Supreme Court of

Kentucky, July 6, 1983) ...........c.ceeceees la-1l3a

Appendix B—(Dissenting Opinion by Justice Vance

of the Supreme Court of Kentucky) ........... 14a-17a

Appendix C—(Order of the Supreme Court of Ken-

tucky Denying Petition for Rehearing) ........ 18a

Appendix D—( Original Petition for Voluntary Ter-

mination of Parental Rights) ................. 19a—22a

iil

PAGE

Appendix E—(Original Petition for Immediate En-

titlement, Possession and Custody) ............ 23a-25a

Appendix F—( Affidavit filed with Petition) ...... 26a-27a

Appendix G—( Affidavit Filed With Petition) ....28a-29a

Appendix H—( Affidavit Filed With Petition) .... 30a

Appendix I—( Unsigned Affidavit Filed With Peti-

DE Scvc0s. cP eReis sons keene sieob onecuey 31la-32a

Appendix J—(Sworn Testimony Adopting Affi-

re Mi IRS BO occ cccacensresusedpeens 33a-34a

Appendix K—( Affidavit Filed With Petition) ....35a-36a

Appendix L—(Plaintiff’s Exhibit 2, Report From

the Department of Social Services, Muscatine

OS er rrr rrr ree

Appendix M—(Plaintiff’s Exhibit 3, Report From

Housing Code Officer, Muscatine, Iowa) ....... 40a

Appendix N—(Opinion and Order of Jefferson Cir-

Ss Cs SUS Es SOME) oc ceccuwtesuaceweces 4la-—5la

Appendix O—(Supplemental Findings of Fact and

Conclusions of Law of the Jefferson Circuit

Ce ee , BOULD ic cedce désseeabonaewuvans 52a-55a

Appendix P—(Order Terminating Parental Rights,

Jefferson Circuit Court, August 10,1981) ...... 56a-57a

Appendix Q—(Order o1 Jefferson Cireuit Court

Overruling Motion for Additional Findings and

ES SONNE oon cnc vo ccebns tnoveceds 58a-59a

Appendix R—(Opinion of the Court of Appeals of

Kentucky, as Modified August 13, 1982) ....... 60a-69a

Appendix 8—(Order of Court of Appeals of Ken-

tucky Denying Petition for Rehearing) ....... 70a

T—(Kentucky Revised Statutes 199.601

ee page ena RR te ete Tla-76a

Appendix U—(Transcript of Record, pp. 3-4) ..... 77a

ETE LEP PEELE OF Te Le TEE 78a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: PacR

Galloway v. Pruitt, Ky., 469 S. W. 2d 556 (1971)... 3

IMD. Sikdcas conceontuechutebincnt cee 4,8

Sees es tn 5, 7-8

Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U. S. 645, 92 S. Ct. 1208

SEE S45 osws oes bes cena kon ceueiuiacl ee 5, 6, 7

Santosky v. Kramer, 455 U. S. 745, 102°S. Ct. 1388

SUC DAU CEs bs wecubawkedouset: ds sche. 4, 6, 7, 10

In Re J. P., 648 P. 2d 1364 (Utah 1982) .......... 6

Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U. S. 390, 43 S. Ct. 625

TET re ee ee MIP 4 6

Skinner v. Oklahoma, 316 U. S. 535, 62 S. Ct. 1110

[EEE civceneyecseae ld oantck lettin 6

May v. Anderson, 345 U.S. 528, 73 S. Ct. 840 (1953) 6

Lassiter v. Department of Social Services of Dur-

ham, North Carolina, 452 U. S. 18, 101 S. Ct.

tec cess MO Oe NE ON aS 6,7

Matthews v. Eldridge, 424 U. S. 319, 96 S. Ct. 893,

oe ELECTR TE EE es 7, 8,10

Quilloin v. Walcott, 434 U. S. 246, 98 S. Ct. 549

UE C4ks sp hss Seead esau en ee ee 10

Smith v. Organization of Foster Families, 431 U. 8.

816, 97'S, Ct. 2094, 53 L. Ed. 2d 14 (1977)...... 10

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1983

No.

CHRISTINE VAN WEY - - - - Petitioner

v.

RayMonp F. O’NEAL

Donna O'NEAL

Baspy Boy VAN Wey - - - - Respondents

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF KENTUCKY

The Petitioner, Christine Van Wey, respectfully

prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judg-

ment and opinion of the Supreme Court of Kentucky

entered in this proceeding on July 6, 1983.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Kentucky,

entered July 6, 1983 and reported at 656 S. W. 2d 731

(1983), appears in Appendix A.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals of Ken-

tucky was entered, as modified, on AuguSt 13, 1982.

The Court of Appeals also denied a timely petition for

rehearing on August 13, 1982. The Supreme Court of

Kentucky granted Discretionary Review on October 28,

2

1982 and entered judgment on July 6, 1983. A timely

petition for rehearing was denied on October 12, 1983,

and this petition for certiorari was filed within 90 days

of that date. This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked

under 28 U.S.C. §1257(3).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Constitution of the United States, Amendment

XIV, Section 1:

All persons born or naturalized in the United

States and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are

citizens of the United States and of the State

wherein they reside. No State shall make or en-

force any laws which shall abridge the privileges

or immunities of citizens of the United States; nor

shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty

or property, without due process of law; nor deny

to any person within its jurisdiction the equal pro-

tection of the laws.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Kentucky Revised Statutes 199.601 (App. T)

Kentucky Revised Statutes 199.603 (App. T)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Material Facts ®

Christine Van Wey (petitioner), a resident of Iowa,

contacted Louisville attorney Katie Brophy to ask her

assistance with the adoption of Ms. Van Wey’s unborn

child. Ms. Brophy contacted the O’Neals, who agreed

to adopt the baby following his birth. Petitioner

3

traveled to Louisville, Kentucky, and she and her two

children were placed in the home of Ms. Brophy’s

secretary for the two months prior to birth on Jan-

uary 22, 1981. While in the hospital Ms. Van Wey

became very attached to her baby and from the moment

the child was removed from the hospital has sought

his return.

She contacted an attorney at the Legal Aid Society

who in turn notified Ms. Brophy that petitioner no

longer wished to have her parental rights terminated.

There is a dispute as to what occurred next. Ms. Van

Wey stated that Ms. Brophy pressured her to go to

court the next morning by threatening the removal of

Ms. Van Wey’s two older children. Ms. Brophy testi-

fied that Ms. Van Wey changed her mind and requested

that the termination proceed. In any event, Ms. Van

Wey did sign a petition for the voluntary termination

of her parental rights (App. D). She was questioned

by the circuit court judge, but no order terminating

her rights was entered.

Immediately upon her return to Iowa petitioner

wrote a letter to the circuit court judge alleging that

she had consented to the termination of her rights

under duress and indicated her desire not to have her

parental rights extinguished. Within three months

Ms. Van Wey filed a Petition for Immediate Entitle-

ment’ seeking the return of her child. Still no order

1A Petition for Immediate Entitlement is a derivative of the

traditional writ of habeas corpus used in Kentucky where custody

of children is involved. See Galloway v. Pruitt, Ky., 469 8S. W. 2d

556 (1971).

4

of termination had been entered and her parental

rights remained intact.

A hearing was held wherein Ms. Van Wey at-

tempted to prove her legal right to her child. The

court at the outset limited the trial to the issue of im-

mediate entitlement only (App. U). At the conclusion

of the hearing Ms. Van Wey’s petition was denied

(App. N). The O’Neals subsequently moved the trial

court to sign an order ‘‘voluntarily’’ terminating Ms.

Van Wey’s parental rights, and without any further

proceedings such an order was entered on July 8, 1981

and again on August 10, 1981 (App. O and App. P).

B. Federal Questions Raised Below

Petitioner first raised the procedural due process

issue in the trial] court in response to the O’Neals’ mo-

tion to terminate her parental rights referred to above.

If this court proceeds at all, it must treat the mat-

ter as an involuntary termination and provide

Ms. Van Wey with all the rights and protections

to which she is entitled by state and federal law.

Specifically, KRS 199.603 requires pleading and

proof by a preponderance’ of evidence that aban-

donment or substantial or continuous or repeated

neglect or abuse occurred. In addition there are

numerous mitigating factors that the court must

consider before reaching its decision. Due proc-

ess mandates a full hearing on the merits before

parental rights can be involuntarily terminated.

(Record at 166-168)

2Santosky, infra, raised the standard of proof to ‘‘clear and

convincing.’’ (Footnote added)

5

The trial court responded by terminating petitioner’s

parental rights on the basis of KRS 199.601, the volun-

tary termination statute (App. O and App. T). That

court did not address itself to the issue of due process

of law.

Petitioner appealed the decision of the trial court

and in her brief as one ground for reversal argued that

her Fourteenth Amendment rights had been violated.

The right to family integrity, including the protec-

tion of the parent-child relationship, is a liberty

interest protected by the Fourteenth Amendment.

The United States Supreme Court has ‘‘fre-

quently emphasized the importance of the family.

The rights to conceive and to raise one’s children

have been deemed ‘essential’ . . . ‘basic civil

rights of man,’ . . . and ‘(r)ights far more

precious . . . than property rights.’ ’’ Stanley

v. Illinois, 405 U. S. 645 (1972).

(Brief for Appellant in the Kentucky Court of Ap-

peals at 28)

The Court of Appeals of Kentucky reversed the

lower court and held: ‘‘Even assuming the consent

was voluntary and freely given at the time the petition

was signed, it was properly withdrawn prior to any

final action which would otherwise have terminated

Ms. Van Wey’s rights to her child. There is no basis,

in fact or law, for an involuntary termination.”’

(App. R) The Court of Appeals, while not specifically

addressing the constitutional guarantees, did state that

‘‘so long as the parents are fit for the care, custody,

and control of a child, their rights are not involuntarily

6

terminated simply because a child’s economic, social or

emotional environment can be improved by placing it

in another home. Such considerations have never been

approved as an adeqaute basis for the termination of

parental rights, at least in this country.’’ (App. R)

The Supreme Court of Kentucky granted Discre-

tionary Review upon the motions of respondents herein.

In her brief to that court, petitioner reiterated her

constitutional claims. Citing In Re J.P., 648 P. 2d

1364 (Utah 1982), petitioner argued, ‘‘In addition to

offending the due process clause, . . . ‘the right of

a parent not to be deprived of parental rights without

a showing of unfitness, abandonment, or substantial

neglect is so fundamental to our society and so basic

to our constitutional order . . . that it ranks among

those rights referred to in . . . the Ninth Amend-

ment.’’’ Petitioner further directed the court to

Santosky v. Kramer, 455 U. S. 745, 102 S. Ct. 1388

(1982); Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U. S. 390, 43 S. Ct.

625 (1923); Skinner v. Oklahoma, 316 U. 8S. 535, 62

S. Ct. 1110 (1942) ; May v. Anderson, 345 U. 8. 528, 73

S. Ct. 840 (1953); Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U. 8. 645, 92

S. Ct. 1208 (1972); and Lassiter v. Department of

Social Services of Durham, North Carolina, 452 U. 8.

18, 101 S. Ct. 2153 (1981). (Brief for Respondent,

Christine Van Wey, in the Supreme Court of Ken-

tucky at 36 and 38-39.)

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Kentucky,

reversing the Court of Appeals and upholding the de-

cision of the trial court, is devoid of any reference to

the federal constitutional arguments raised by Ms. Van

‘

Wey (App. A). Ms. Van Wey’s petition for rehearing

was subsequently denied and this petition for a writ of

certiorari followed.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Kentucky Supreme Court Has Set a Dangerous

Precedent by Publishing an Opinion Which Flagrantly

Disregards Basic Procedural Due Process Guaranteed

by the U. S. Constitution.

It is now axiomatic that the interest of natural

parents in the care and custody of their children is a

liberty interest protected by the Due Process Clause of

the Fourteenth Amendment. Santoshy v. Kramer, 455

U. S. 745, 102 S. Ct. 1388 (1982), Stunley v. Illinois,

405 U.S. 645, 92 S. Ct. 1208 (1972). Three factors are

balanced to determine how much process is due: the

private interests at stake, the government’s interest,

and the risk that the procedures used will lead to er-

roneous decisions. Matthews v. Eldridge, 424 U. S.

319, 336, 96 S. Ct. 893, 903 (1976).

In Lassiter v. Department of Social Services of

Durham, North Carolina, 452 U. S. 18, 28, 101 S. Ct.

2153, 2160 (1981), this Court diseussed the Eldridge

test in the context of a termination case. Althouch an

extra factor was involved in that case, the presumption

against the right to appointed counsel, the other three

factors alone balanced in favor of the parent. Although

due process is a flexible concept, the importance of

yarental rights in relation to the relative de minimus

interest of the state mandates a high degree of due

process in cases involving the termination of parental

rights. Lassiter, supra, and Santosky, supra.

8

In this case Mrs. Van Wey signed a petition to vol-

untarily terminate her rights pursuant to KRS 199.-

601,* but withdrew her consent before her rights were

terminated. The trial court indulged itself in the

fiction that Ms. Van Wey acquiesced at the time her

rights were terminated, but it was abundantly clear

that she strenuously objected. To the extent that KRS

199.501 is applied to allow termination in the absence

of present consent, it violates due process.

Once the illusion of voluntariness is dismissed, it is

even clearer that petitioner’s rights were violated. It

is inconceivable that any interest of the state would

suffice to completely deny petitioner the basic due

process requirement of ‘‘the opportunity to be heard

‘at a meaningful time and in a meaningful manner.’ ”’

(Citations omitted) Eldridge, supra, at 334.

The trial court expressly limited the scope of the

_ hearing to the issue of immediate entitlement (App. U).

The hearing was to determine neither permanent cus-

tody nor to terminate parental rights, yet, without any

notice or further proceedings, permanent custody was

awarded to the O’Neals and Ms. Van Wey’s rights were

summarily terminated.

The court made no attempt to follow the procedural

requirements of the involuntary termination statute,

KRS 199.603 (App. T). There was no proof of aban-

donment or substantial or continuous or repeated neg-

lect or abuse. To the contrary, petitioner’s evidence

showed her to be a fit parent. (App. L and M) Sig-

nificantly, there were never any findings that Ms. Van

* Petitioner has consistently claimed it was signed under duress.

9

Wey was an unfit mother. The court instead chose to

close its eyes and ears to reality and ‘‘voluntarily”’

terminate the parental rights of a woman obviously

objecting.

The Kentucky Supreme Court never addressed the

due process issue. This casual yet complete severing

of all family ties is totally repugnant to the concept of

fundamental fairness embodied in the Due Process

Clause. This flagrant disrespect for the federal consti-

tution diminishes the rights of all.

II. The Use of a “Best Interests” Standard to Terminate

Parental Rights Without Any Finding of Parental Un-

fitness Seriously Erodes the Fundamental Liberty In-

terest in Family Integrity Historically Recognized by

This Court.

In deciding whether or not petitioner’s parental

rights should be terminated, the Supreme Court of

Kentucky not only denied her prior notice and an op-

portunity to be heard, but it erroneously based its

decision upon its determination of the best interests of

the child. There was no credible proof, and certainly

never any judicial finding, that Ms. Van Wey was unfit

as a parent. In fact, the report from the Department

of Social Services states: ‘‘She certainly appears to be

settled and able to provide for her baby at this time.”’

(App. L)

In support of the best interest standard, the Ken-

tucky Supreme Court relies primarily upon child

custody cases. ‘*The legal principle involved does not

turn on whether the issue is adoption or custody.’’

(App. A) That Court’s interpretation is in direct

10

conflict with the balancing test consistently applied by

this Court to resolve Due Process questions. Eld-

ridge, supra and Santosky, supra, at 1394. ‘If any-

thing, persons faced with forced dissolution of their

parental rights have a more critical need for procedural

protections than do those resisting state intcrvention

into ongoing family affairs.’’ Id.

The application of a best interest standard to the

termination of parental rights also infringes upon the

substantive constitutional right to family integrity. In

Quilloin v. Walcott, 434 U. 8. 246, 98 S. Ct. 549 (1978),

this Court upheld a ‘*best interests of the child”’ test,

but only under the specific circumstances of that case.

In that case, the natural mother’s husband was adopt-

ing her eleven year old child, and the three of them had

shared a home for some eight years. The natural

father had never petitioned for legitimation nor pro-

vided regular support. This Court, however, added

that:

(W)e have little doubt that the Due Process

Clause would be offended ‘‘(i)f a State were to

attempt to force the breakup of a natural family,

over the objections of the parents and their chil-

dren, without some showing of unfitness and for

the sole reason that to do so was thought to be in

the children’s best interest.’’ Smith v. Organiza-

tion of Foster Families, 431 U. 8S. 816, 862-863, 97

S. Ct. 2094, 2119, 53 L. Ed. 2d 14 (1977) (Stewart,

J., concurring in judgment). Quilloin, supra, at

255.

Obviously, this Court understands the frightening im-

plications of routinely applying a best interest test

11

without regard to parental fitness. There will always

be a ‘‘better’’ home available, but the Constitution pre-

cludes the shuffling of children based upon that factor

alone. Applying the same best interest standard to

custody and termination cases alike seriously erodes

substantive due process with potentially dangerous

consequences to family life.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, a writ of certiorari should issue

to review the judgment and opinion of the Supreme

Court of Kentucky.

Respectfully submitted,

ELLEN GAIL FRIEDMAN

Rospert FREDERICK SMITH

Legal Aid Society, Ine.

425 West Muhammad Ali Blvd.

Louisville, Kentucky 40202

Telephone: (502) 584-1254

Counsel for Petitioner

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

RENDITION DATE: JULY 6, 1983

TO BE PUBLISHED

SUPREME COURT OF KENTUCKY

82-SC-706-DG

82-SC-707-DG

Basy Boy Van Wey - - : : - - Movant

v.

CuristixnE Van Wey,

Raymonp F. O’Neat and

Donna O’NeaLn - - - - = = Respondents

AND

Raymonp F, O’Neat and Donna O’NEaL,

His Wife - - - - - - - Movants

v.

CuristineE VAN Wey - - - - = Respondent

On Review From Court of Appeals

No, 81-CA-2181-MR

Jefferson Circuit Court—No., 81-AD-0037-T

OPINION OF THE COURT BY JUSTICE LEIBSON

REVERSING

In November 1980, Christine Van Wey, a resident of

Muscatine, Iowa, contacted attorney Katie Brophy of Louis-

ville, Kentucky and solicited her aid in arranging for the

birth and placement for adoption of her unborn child.

Ms. Van Wey, the mother of two daughters, ages 5 and 7,

2a

was separated from her husband, deserted by the man she

was living with, and apparently destitute.

Ms. Brophy arranged for Ms. Van Wey to come to

Louisville to deliver the unborn child. She also arranged

for a prospective adoptive couple, Raymond F. and Donna

O’Neal. The O’Neals assumed financial responsibility for

all fees and expenses attendant to birth and adoption of the

child by the O’Neals.

Ms. Van Wey came to Louisville with her two daughters,

lived in the home of Ms. Brophy’s secretary for approxi-

mately two months preceding the birth of the child, and

with the assistance and direction of Ms. Brophy went

through all the medical and legal steps preparatory for the

birth and adoption of the child. This included a trip to the

Kentucky Department of Human Resources where she met

with an adoption worker and reviewed her application to

place the unborn child for adoption. The worker subse-

quently approved that application. The O’Neals were ap-

proved for placement of the child in their home. Immedi-

ately before the child’s birth, Ms. Van Wey signed a consent

form permitting Ms. Brophy to obtain immediate posses-

sion of the newborn child to deliver to the O’Neals.

Baby Boy Van Wey was born January 22, 1981, at the

Norton-Children’s Hospital, Louisville, Kentucky. On Jan-

uary 25, 1981, Ms. Brophy picked up the infant at the hos-

pital and delivered him to the O’Neals. But by now Ms.

Van Wey had formed an emotional attachment for the

child. She told hospital personnel that she had changed

her mind about her plans to place the child for adoption

and she contacted a social worker for assistance. She later

testified to a heated telephone conversation with Ms. Brophy

and Ms. Brophy’s secretary and to threats and attempts at

intimidation, which are denied. Through the social worker

she contacted an attorney with the Legal Aid Society in

Louisville, who offered assistance and attempted to allay

3a

her fears. The Legal Aid Society attorney then notified

Ms. Brophy that Ms. Van Wey intended to seek return of

the infant. But instead of doing so, later that evening she

contacted Ms. Brophy and indicated to her that she had

again changed her mind, that she wanted to appear the

following day in court for the purpose of terminating her

parental rights, and then take her other two children and

go home to Towa. The O’Neals were so notified. ,

The following morning, January 27, 1981, Ms. Van Wey

went to Ms. Brophy’s office, and then, with her to the court-

house. She executed a “Petition for Voluntary Termina-

tion of (her) Parental Rights,” under oath before the

Deputy Clerk. She went with Ms. Brophy to the chambers

of the Honorable Jack E. Mudd, Jefferson Circuit Court, to

whom the ease was allotted. Judge Mudd conducted a

hearing during which he explained to her the legal conse-

quences of her actions and satisfied himself as to the volun-

tary and informed nature of her acts. At that point, Ms.

Van Wey had taken all steps that would be necessary on

her part in order for a judgment terminating her parental

rights to be entered. However, there were other steps

involved that would not involve Ms. Van Wey. Those were

appointment of a Guardian Ad Litem to accept service for

the child and represent the infant if necessary and a Warn-

ing Order procedure against Ms. Van Wey’s estranged

husband who was named in the petition so that his parental

rights could also be terminated. A copy of the letter to the

O’Neals from the Department for Human Resources ap-

proving them for home placement of the child and subse-

quent independent adoption procedures was filed with the

petition.

Ms. Van Wey took money from Ms. Brophy for her

expenses and returned to Iowa with her two children. But

she did not forget about her newborn baby. Two weeks

later she wrote to Judge Mudd, stating that she had gone

da

through with the hearing because she was threatened and

intimidated by Ms. Brophy, that she did not want her

parental rights terminated and that she wanted “to have

my parental rights reinstated.”

The father of the child was represented as “unknown”

when the petition was sworn to before a Deputy Clerk and

at the time of the hearing before Judge Mudd. But Ms.

Van Wey had now reestablished her former living arrange-

ments with another man, and he filed an affidavit that he

was the father of the child and stated “I do not want to

give up my parental rights.”

Ms. Van Wey then recontacted the Legal Aid Society

attorney. On April 30, 1981, through this new attorney,

Ms. Van Wey filed a “Petition for Immediate Entitlement,

Possession and Custody,” stating that the Petition for Vol-

untary Termination was signed under “duress,” that she

“revokes” her consent to the termination of her parental

rights, and seeks possession and custody of Baby Boy Van

Wey.

Thus, the issue is joined. On the one hand, the O’Neals

ask the court for a judgment terminating Ms. Van Wey’s

parental rights, so they can proceed with the adoption. On

the other hand, Ms. Van Wey seeks to revoke her consent

to termination of her parental rights and regain possession

and custody of her child. But this is not just a two-sided

law suit. The third party, with an interest in the outcome

at least as great as the first two, is Baby Boy Van Wey.

He is represented in this litigation by a Guardian Ad Litem,

appointed by the court to protect his interests and his in-

terests alone. The report of the Guardian Ad Litem was

“that the welfare and best interests of the child will con-

tinue to be protected in the home of the prospective adop-

tive parents.”

Judge Mudd conducted a full-seale hearing on June 17,

1981. The issues at that hearing included:

5a

1) Was Ms. Van Wey’s consent obtained in the first

instance by duress or coercion?

2) Did Ms. Van Wey have a right to revoke her consent

or withdraw her petition at any time before judgment re-

gardless of whether or not her acts were initially volun-

’ tary?

3) Should the question of termination be decided on the

basis of the law that relates to voluntary termination, KRS

199.601, or the law that relates to involuntary termination,

KRS 199.6031

The voluntary termination statute provides that “the

best interest of the child shall be considered paramount,”

The involuntary termination statute also provides for ter-

mination “in the best interest of the child,” but decides the

question on the narrow grounds of parental “abandonment,

neglect or abuse.” In other words the parent must be

found unfit before involuntary termination takes place.

The trial court made extensive Findings of Fact and

Conclusions of Law in an order dated June 22, 1981 and

supplemented July 8, 1981. It concluded that whatever the

evidence as to Ms. Van Wey’s emotional distress and her

fears before the time of the hearing in the court’s presence

on January 27, 1981, the “legal steps to complete the volun-

tary termination of her parental rights . . . taken by her

before this court (on that date) were not the result of

threats or duress at that time.” There was ample evidence

to support the conclusion of the court that Ms. Van Wey,

who had first wanted the placement and adoption and then

changed her mind, had again changed her mind at the time

she was in court January 27, 1981.

Having found that the consent should not be set aside

for duress, the court then concluded:

“The final and most important factor in reaching a

decision in this case is the best interest of the baby

6a

himself. This should be of paramount concern and no

decision can be or should be made in conflict with this

best interest.”

Using the “best interest of the child” standard, the

court recited several significant findings as to why the

child’s best interest would be served by remaining with the

O’Neals. Ms. Van Wey’s Petition for Immediate Posses-

sion and Entitlement to Custody, which included her effort

to revoke her consent, was denied and her parental rights

were terminated. The court also terminated the parental

rights of her husband, who denied being the child’s father

and made no defense. The person now represented as the

child’s father did not intervene and was not a party to the

litigation.!. Neither the husband nor the putative father is

a party to this appeal.

On appeal to the Court of Appeals the judgment was re-

versed and remanded. The opinion of the Court of Appeals

is somewhat contradictory. First, in dealing with the find-

ing of the trial court that Ms. Van Wey was not acting

from undue influence or duress at the time of the voluntary

termination proceedings on January 27, 1981, the court

stated “we need not, and therefore do not, specifically deter-

mine that the trial judge’s finding is clearly erroneous.”

On the other hand, the Court held that “the consent in this

case cannot be considered to be voluntary.” If the Court of

Appeals means that the consent given at the time of the

hearing before Judge Mudd cannot be considered to be vol-

untary, there is ample evidence in the record to support

Judge Mudd’s conclusion to the contrary.

However, the key issue on this appeal stems from the

decision by the Court of Appeals “that Ms. Van Wey made

1]f and when the putative father undertakes legal steps, he will

be faced with the United States Supreme Court decision in Quil-

loin v. Walcott, 434 U. S. 246, 98 S. Ct. 549, 54 L. Ed. 2d (1978),

reh. den, 435 U. S. 918, 98 S. Ct. 1477, 55 L. Ed. 2d 511.

7a

a timely revocation of any consent which she originally

gave, even if such was voluntary.” It is undisputed that

Ms. Van Wey has notified the court that she revokes her

consent. But the question is whether she has an absolute

right to Mus terminate the proceedings, so that thereafter

she can only have her parental rights terminated on stan-

dards related to involuntary termination, “abandonment,

neglect or abuse,” or whether the court, having found that

cose yopapeeegind given, should now consider the best

interest of the child in deciding whether to allow Ms, Van

Wey to revoke her consent or withdraw her petition. The

Court of Appeals concluded:

“As a matter of law, sufficient reason was given to re-

voke the petition to'terminate. In order to thereafter

issue a judgment in opposition to the wishes and con-

sent of the natural mother, the conditions required for

the involuntary termination must be clearly proven.

There was no finding that Ms. Van Wey was an unfit

‘+ mother.”

We disagree. We agree with the trial court that, hav-

ing found that the petition was initially voluntary, when

the mother later attempted to revoke her consent, the court

had a responsibility to consider the overall welfare of the

child in deciding whether or not to permit such revocation.

“Sufficient reason” means more than emotional distress at

the time the petition for voluntary termination is filed. In

the cases cited denying adoption when a mother revokes

consent for “sufficient cause,” there were elements of coer-

cion or deception or the mother was not legally able to give

consent. Skaggs v. Gannon, 293 Ky. 795, 170 S. W. 2d 12

(1943); Warner v. Ward, Ky., 401 S. W. 2d 62 (1966).

Mother love alone would be sufficient reason to seek to re-

voke one’s consent if “sufficient reason” had no limitations.

8a

But Ms. Van Wey embarked upon a course of conduct

over a period of two months directed at giving up pos-

session and custody of her child and placing the child in a

proper home for adoption. She has now changed her mind

at least once, and, according to the view of the trial judge

who heard the evidence, twice more—once back to giving

up the child and then back once more to keeping the child.

Something has changed. This child has been placed in the

O’Neal’s home for care, custody and adoption. Ms. Van

Wey bears at least a share of the responsibility for this

action. Once these steps have been taken, the fact situation

has changed, The steps taken have legal consequences.

The legal situation has also changed. We have sympathy

and concern for both Ms. Van Wey and the O’Neals. But

the Solomon type decision which must now be made does

not turn on the feelings or wishes of either. The child’s

legal situation has changed. The legal decision is now

squarely where the trial! court put it: “The best interest of

the child shall be considered paramount.”

The handwritten letter from Ms. Van Wey to Judge

Mudd dated February 9, 1981 shows that the infant was

delivered voluntarily to the O’Neals. Ms. Van Wey writes

that after the infant was discharged to the care of Ms.

Brophy and had left the hospital “I knew I wanted him

with me.” KRS 405.020 establishes the initial right of the

parent to custody of her child, but not the continuing right

once custody has been relinquished. A long line of Ken-

tucky cases beginning with Lee v. Thomas, 297 Ky. 858, 181

S. W. 2d 457 (1944), where the mother signed her consent

for adoption in the hospital and then attempted to revoke

her consent and resist the adoption procedure, hold that the

interest and welfare of the infant must then be considered.

The right of the parent to reclaim the child is not extin-

guished, but the parent’s superior statutory right to cus-

tody has been waived so that thereafter the court will look

9a

primarly to the child’s welfare in awarding custody. Gali-

lean Children’s Home vy. Ball, 308 Ky. 319, 214 8. W. 2d 403

(1948); Shaw v. Graham, Ky., 310 S. W. 2d 522 (1958) ;

Higgason v. Henry, Ky., 339 S. W. 2d 929 (1960).

The legal principle involved does not turn on whether

the issue is adoption or custody. In Rose v. Ledford, 306

Ky. 662, 208 S. W. 2d 957 (1948), a father was seeking to

regain custody from the child’s maternal grandparent. The

court held that “a parent may not take (children) away

from those to whom he surrendered them without first

showing that it would be for the best interest of the child

to do so.” There is no reason, legal or factual, to distin-

guish this case from its predecessors simply because in this

case the mother seeks to withdraw her consent to the ter-

mination of her parental rights. The principal issue in the

case, as shown by the fact that the mother asserts her rights

through a petition for possession and entitlement to the

child, is the same issue as in Rose v. Ledford, Lee v.

Thomas, and Shaw v. Graham, supra. The fact that the

mother had understandable “reasons” to give up her child

and “cause” to wish to regain her child does not obviate

the burden on her to show that to return custody to her

would be for the child’s best interest. The mother must

bear this burden even in the absence of proof that she is

unfit in the context of the standard established by the in-

voluntary termination statute (abandonment, neglect or

abuse).

The child’s Guardian Ad Litem filed a report following

the initial hearing summarizing the facts that showed why

this child would be much better off with the O’Neals, as

opposed to being returned to Ms. Van Wey. Significantly,

the Guardian Ad Litem, representing Baby Boy Van Wey,

has appealed the judgment of the Court of Appeals order-

ing that the child be returned to its natural mother. The

record is replete with reasons why the child’s welfare is

10a

best served by remaining with the O’Neals. He has pros-

pects there for a stable home environment, capable parent-

ing, and economic and social advantages in sharp contrast

to his prospects with Ms, Van Wey. We cannot overlook

the fact that through no fault of anyone, neither the O’Neals

nor Ms. Van Wey, the child is now two and a half years old

and has been with the O’Neals since birth. The delay re-

sults from the time necessary to try a case of this com-

plexity, prepare the record for appeal, and go through two

appellate courts. The natural bonding that has taken place

in six months between the child and the O’Neals and the

child’s home environment was a factor considered by the

trial court when he decided the case. No doubt this bond-

ing is much greater now, some two years later.

On the other hand, the strong ties of blood and the

natural love of a mother were also factors for the court to

consider. They were considered. But they are not the only

considerations.

The trial court concluded with obvious regret that in

“eases such as this, someone is always hurt,” but “a deci-

sion must be made.” That the decision made by the trial

court is in the best interest of the child is amply supported

by the evidence.

The situation seems to create a legal paradox because

the judgment terminating the mother’s parental rights is

entered against her consent. But this conforms to the gen-

eral rule in civil cases, A plaintiff’s right to dismissal is

no longer absolute once the issue has been joined. At that

point:

“The matter of dismissal lies within the judicial dis-

cretion of the court. The essential question is whether

the dismissal would be prejudicial to the defendant.”

Clay, Ky. Prac., 3rd Ed., Civil Rule 41.01,

lla

Baby Boy Van Wey is a named defendant in the ter-

mination petition. The O’Neals were “joined as party re-

spondents in the above-styled case on motion of the peti-

tioner, Ms. Van Wey, by order dated May 26, 1981.” These

defendants all had an interest in the litigation that barred

Ms. Van Wey from the right to dismiss except after appro-

priate consideration of prejudice to their rights. Actually,

Ms. Van Wey was in a dilemma of her own, in that she

wished to revoke her consent, but wished to use the same

action as a vehicle to pursue her claim to possession and

entitlement of the child.

Perhaps recognizing that the baby has now adapted to

a new environment and new relationships is a factor miti-

gating against her claim, Ms. Van Wey argues that to con-

sider such a factor in this case is unreasonable because the

O’Neals were told almost immediately after they received

the baby that Ms. Van Wey had changed her mind. Un-

fortunately, they were also told later that same night that

Ms. Van Wey had once more changed her mind and would

go forward with the voluntary termination the next morn-

ing. It was three months later when Ms. Van Wey filed

her petition for immediate entitlement that the O’Neals first

learned that custody and adoption would be contested. We

see nothing in the conduct of the O’Neals that makes it

inequitable to consider the baby’s new environment as a

factor in the decision as to the best interest of the child.

In any event, the determination of this question, or indeed

of this case, does not turn on the equities between these two

parties, but on the paramount interest of Baby Boy Van

Wey, who is not estopped by the actions of either.

In a similar vein, the conduct or misconduct, as the case

may be, of attorney Brophy is not a factor critical to the

decision in this case, The trial court referred to Ms.

Brophy’s conduct as “one final blackmark in this case,

which we cannot overlook.” She continued to be attorney

12a

of record for Ms. Van Wey after there was an obvious con-

flict with her client of which she had been notified by an

attorney from the Legal Aid Society. She revealed none

of this to the trial judge. It may be that present statutes

permitting private placement and adoption should be given

serious reconsideration by the legislature. The potential

for postpartum conflict between the natural mother and the

prospective adoptive parents who agree to pay the prospec-

tive mother’s expenses, medical and legal, creates a situa-

tion too fraught with the possibility of abuse. The Court

of Appeals’ opinion strongly suggests an interest in inhibit-

ing the private placement of children through a scheme of

this nature by stating the converse of the proposition, that

the court’s decision is not intended to “inhibit the successful

placement of children in adoptive homes . . . through

a legitimate child-care agency or when the child is placed

in a home subsequent to a final termination of parental

rights.” But the need for restrictions in private placement

procedures addresses itself to the legislature. The trial

court correctly looked past both the attorney’s conflict of

interest problems and the need for “a close look” at our

adoption laws. The trial court pointed up the problem here

where the law permits a nonresident, “who is in indigent

circumstances and in a desperate state of need, to come to

this state for the sole purpose of giving birth to a child to

be adopted.” The trial court correctly concluded, with ob-

vious reluctance:

“At present, our state laws tolerate it and our Depart-

ment for Human Resources grants permission for the

acceptance (placement) of such children for adoption.”

The placement of the child followed the procedures speci-

fied by the legislature. The petition for voluntary termina-

tion of Ms. Van Wey’s parental rights did likewise. We

hold with the trial court that the initial voluntary consent

l3a

placed this case squarely in the category of cases holding

that a parent who has transferred possession and custody

of his or her child to another has surrendered the primary

right of custody and thereafter the court shall determine

custody on the basis of the best interest of the child. In

the circumstances of this case the determination of custody

and the termination of parental rights go hand in hand.

They are joined together in the same legal problem and sub-

ject to the same resolution. Baby Boy Van Wey is not a

piece of property. He is an important human being. When

Ms. Van Wey filed her Petition for Voluntary Termination

she invoked the jurisdiction of the Court of Justice to look

out for the welfare of this human being.

The decision of the Court of Appeals is reversed. The

final judgment of the trial court is affirmed.

Aker, Leibson, Stephenson, and Wintersheimer, J.J. con-

cur. Vance, J., files a dissent in which Stephens, C.J. and

Gant, J. join.

Attorneys for Movants:

IRENE P. LONG

Bedford, Kentucky 40006

STEPHEN P. SMITH, JR.

1526 Ky. Home Life Bldg.

Louisville, Kentucky 40202

Attorneys for Respondent:

ELLEN G. FRIEDMAN

ROBERT F. SMITH

Legal Aid Society, Inc.

425 W. Muhammad Ali Blvd.

Louisville, Kentucky 40202

Guardian Ad Litem for Baby Boy Van Wey:

CHARLES W. DOBBINS, JR.

600 W. Main Street

Louisville, Kentucky 40202

l4a

APPENDIX B

SUPREME COURT OF KENTUCKY

82-SC-706-DG

82-SC-707-DG

3aBy Boy Van Wey . - - - - - Movant

v.

CuHrisTIneE Van Wey,

Raymonp F. O’Neau and

Donna O’Neau - - - - = = Respondents

On Review from Court of Appeals

No. 81-CA-2181-MR

Jefferson Circuit Court—No, 81-A D-0037-T

AND

Raymonp F. O’Neat and Donna O'NEAL,

His Wife - - - - - - - Movants

v.

CuristineE Van Wey - - - - = Respondent

On Review from Court of Appeals

No, 81-CA-2181-MR

Jefferson Circuit Court—No, 81-AD-0037-T

DISSENTING OPINION BY JUSTICE VANCE

This action commenced with the filing of a petition by

a mother to terminate her parental rights to a child pur-

suant to K.R.S. 199.601. <A short time after the filing of

the petition for voluntary termination, the mother notified

l5a

the trial judge by letter that the petition was filed under

duress and that she did not wish to voluntarily terminate

her parental rights. Subsequently, an amendment was filed

in which the mother sought to have the immediate posses-

sion of her child restored to her. It was originally con-

templated that the child, when born, would be placed for

adoption. Proceedings to terminate parental rights, pro-

ceedings for immediate possession of children, and pro-

ceedings for adoption are entirely separate proceedings;

however, the majority opinion discusses the issues as if the

same criteria for decision were interchangeably applicable

to each of them.

Thus the issue of whether a parent can dismiss ar revoke

a petition for voluntary termination of parental rights is

decided here in the context of what the court considers to

be the best interest of the child rather than the basis of

whether the parent desires to voluntarily terminate paren-

tal rights.

I dissent from that portion of the opinion which ap-

proves termination of the mother’s parental rights. There

are two ways in which the parental rights of a parent to

a child may be terminated. One is an involuntary termina-

tion, against the will of the parent, on the grounds of

abandonment or continuous neglect and abuse. Such a pe-

tition may be instituted by the Cabinet for Human Re-

sources, a licensed child caring agency, certain officers, or

a parent. No such petition for involuntary termination

of the parental rights of this Mother was ever filed.

The other method is voluntary termination whereby

a parent files a petition in circuit court asking that the

parent be permitted to voluntarily terminate parental

rights and stating the reason therefor. A person cannot

terminate his parental rights, even voluntarily, until a

judicial hearing has established that such a voluntary ter-

l6a

mination would be in the best interest of the child and an

order of termination has been entered.

The point is that such a termination is voluntary on the

part of the parent. To say that a proceeding is voluntary

and that the parent voluntarily relinquishes and terminates

parental rights, when as here, the mother made it plain

that she did not want to terminate her parental rights is

contradictory on its face.

There was much testimony of threats and overreaching

pressure brought to bear upon this mother which allegedly

caused her to file the petition against her will. Regardless

of whether the filing of the petition was voluntary or in-

voluntary, any subsequent termination of her parental

rights was not voluntary if she opposed it. A voluntary

termination is one which the parent willingly pursues, is

desirous of obtaining, and requests the court to approve.

The majority cites C.R. 41.01 to support a holding that

the mother in this case could not as a matter of right revoke

her petition to terminate her parental rights. C. R. 41.01

provides:

Subject to the provisions of Rule 23.02, of Rule 66, and

of any statute, an action, or any claim therein, may be

dismissed by the plaintiff without order of court, by

filing a notice of dismissal at any time before service

by the adverse party of an answer or of a motion for

summary judgment, whichever first occurs,

(Emphasis mine.)

This rule permits an unrestricted right to dismiss an

action or any claim therein at any time before service of

an answer by the adverse party or a motion for summary

judgment.

Even if the filing of a petition to terminate parental

rights be considered to be an adversary proceeding — no

answer had been filed by any party when the revocation

l7a

of the petition was attempted and no motion for summary

judgment had been made. So it would seen that this

mother had an absolute right to revoke, withdraw or dis-

miss her petition for voluntary termination of her parental

rights. Having made it plain that she did not wish to pro-

ceed to voluntarily terminate her parental rights, it was

error for the trial court to terminate those rights on the

basis of the “so-called” voluntary petition.

Stephens, C. J., and Gant, J., join in this dissent.

18a

APPENDIX C

SUPREME COURT OF KENTUCKY

82-8C-706-DG

82-8C-707-DG

Basy Boy Van Wey - - - - - - Movant

Vv.

CurisTINE Van Wey,

Raymonp F. O’Neat and

Donna O'NEAL - - - = = = Respondents

On Appeal from Jefferson Circuit Court

#51-A D-0037-T

Honorable Jack E. Mudd, Judge

AND

Raymonp F. O’Neat and Donna O'NEAL,

His Wife - - - - + + -+- £Movants

v.

CurisTInE Van Wey - - - - = Respondent

ORDER DENYING PETITION FOR REHEARING

Respondent Christine Van Wey’s petition for rehearing

is denied.

Stephens, C. J., and Aker, Gant, Leibson, Stephenson,

and Winhersheimer, J.J., concur.

ENtTereD October 12, 1983.

(s) Robert F. Stephens

Chief Justice

19a

APPENDIX D

JEFFERSON CIRCUIT COURT

SIXTH DIVISION

No. 81-AD-0037-T

CHRISTINE Van WEY . “ . . é Petitioner

v.

StanLey Van Wey

WarninG OrperR anp Miuitary ATTORNEY

To Be Appointed

Basy Boy Van Wey, an infant under

14 years of age

GuarpiaN Ap LITEM TO BE APPOINTED

(Serve: Guardian ad Litem) - . Defendants

PETITION FOR VOLUNTARY TERMINATION

OF PARENTAL RIGHTS

PETITION FOR INVOLUNTARY TERMINATION

OF PARENTAL RIGHTS

AND

AFFIDAVIT FOR APPOINTMENT OF WARNING

ORDER AND MILITARY ATTORNEY

1. The Petitioner, Curistise Van Wey, states that she

is the natural mother of a child, Basy Boy Van Wey, born

January 22, 1981.

2. The Petitioner, CuristineE Van Wey, states that she

is willing to relinquish all of her parental rights in and to

the child, Basy Boy Van Wey, to the couple approved by

the Department for Human Resources.

3. The Petitioner, Curistrxe Van Wey, is authorized

under KRS 199.601 to institute this action.

20a

4. The Petitioner, Curistine Van Wey, states that the

infant Defendant, Basy Boy Van Wey, was born January

22, 1981, in Louisville, Jefferson County, Kentucky.

5. The Petitioner, Curistine Van Wey, states that she

was married at the time of the birth of the infant Defendant

to Stanley Van Wey. Petitioner states that Stanley Van

Wey is not the natural father of the infant Defendant and

that the natural father of the infant Defendant is unknown.

However, due to the marital relationship Stanley Van Wey

is made a party to this action so that any parental rights

he may have to the infant Defendant may be terminated.

6. The Petitioner, CuristineE Van Wey, states that the

Defendant Stanley Van Wey has never acknowledged the

infant Defendant and therefore has abandoned and deserted

same.

7. The Petitioner, Curistrine Van Wey, states that it

will be in the best interest of the infant Defendant, Basy

Boy Van Wey, to have the parental rights of the Defend-

ant, Stanley Van Wey, terminated, and to have the care,

custody and control of the infant Defendant, Basy Boy

Van Wey, placed in the home approved by the Department

for Human Resources.

8. The Petitioner, Curistine Van Wey, states that the

couple approved by the Department for Human Resouces,

Commonwealth of Kentucky, has adequate facilities avail-

able and is willing to accept the care, custody and control

of the infant Defendant, Basy Boy Van Wey.

9. The Petitioner, Curistrixne Van Wey, states that the

infant Defendant, Basy Boy Van Wey, has no guardian,

curator or committee appointed for him in this state or

elsewhere.

10. The Petitioner, Curistine Van Wey, states that

the Defendant Stanley Van Wey, is a nonresident of Ken-

tucky and is known to be absent therefrom and his last

known address is 128 Sheridan, Muscatine, Iowa 52761.

2la

Wuererore: The Petitioner, Curistine Van Wey,

prays:

1. ‘That a guardian ad litem be appointed to accept

service of summons for the infant Defendant, Basy Boy

Van Wey, and to represent him when he is properly before

the Court.

2. That a Warning Order and Military Attorney be

appointed to attempt to locate the Defendant, Stanley Van

Wey, for the purpose of informing him of the nature and

pendency of this action;

3. For a judgment terminating the parental rights of

CurisTINE Van Wey to the infant Defendant, Basy Boy

Van Wey.

4. For a judgment terminating all of the parental

rights of the Defendant, Stanley Van Wey, to the infant

Defendant, Basy Boy Van Wey, and that the care, custody

and control of the said infant be granted to and vested in

the couple approved by the Department for Human Re-

sources, Commonwealth of Kentucky.

5. For any and all other relief to which the Petitioner,

and the infant Defendant, Basy Boy Van Wey, may appear

entitled.

(s) Christine Van Wey

Christine Van Wey

I, Curistine Van Wey, hereby certify that I have read

the foregoing petition and that all allegations contained

therein are true to the best of my knowledge and belief.

(s) Christine Van Wey

Christine Van Wey

22a

(s) Katie M. Brophy

Katie M. Brophy

Attorney at Law

Suite 200

123 South Seventh Street

Louisville, Kentucky 40202

Phone: (502) 583-1711

I, the undersigned Clerk of Jefferson Circuit Court do

certify that the foregoing Petition for Voluntary Termina-

tion of Parental Rights, Petition for Involuntary Termina-

tion of Parental Rights and Affidavit for Appointment of

Warning Order and Military Attorney was this day ac-

knowledged before me in said State and County and was

delivered, sworn, acknowledged and signed by the Peti-

tioner, Curistine Van Wey, to be her free and voluntary

act and deed for the purposes therein contained.

Paulie Miller, Clerk

Jefferson Circuit Court

By: Marfa Jones

Deputy Clerk

Jan. 27, 1981

Date

23a

APPENDIX E

JEFFERSON CIRCUIT COURT

SIXTH DIVISION

No. 81-AD-0037-T

CHRISTINE Van Wey - - - - - Petitioner

503 Park Avenue

Muscatine, lowa 52761

v.

StranLey Van Wey,

3aBy Boy Van Wey - - - es Defendants

PETITION FOR IMMEDIATE ENTITLEMENT

POSSESSION AND CUSTODY—Filed April 30, 1981

Comes the Petitioner, Christine Van Wey, by counsel,

and for her petition for immediate entitlement, possession

and custody states as follows:

1. Petitioner is the natural mother of infant child Baby

Boy Van Wey, born on January 22, 1981.

2. Petitioner was legally married to Respondent,

Stanley Van Wey, at the date of birth of said child.

3. John W. Adler is the natural father of said infant

child.

4. The Court record of the above-styled case contains

no order terminating the rights of any of the persons

named in paragraphs one, two and three above.

5. On January 27, 1981, Petitioner signed a petition to

voluntarily terminate her parental rights to said infant

child.

24a

6. That petition was signed under extreme duress at a

time when Petitioner was emotially upset, physically weak-

ened, and financially destitute, miles from her home; Pe-

titioner was also in fear for the well-being of her other

two children. (See Petitioner’s Affidavit attached herein

as Exhibit 1.)

7. Due to severe financial hardship and emotional

strain, before the baby was born, Petitioner hired Katie

Marie Brophie, :ttorney at law, to represent her in ter-

minating her parental rights.

8. Immediately after Ms. Brophie removed the baby

from the hospital, Petitioner realized she did not want to

give up her child.

9. Petitioner attempted to get the baby back by con-

tacting the Department for Human Resources, the Louis-

ville Bar Association, and the Legal Aid Society, Inc., for

help.

10. Petitioner told Ms. Brophie that she no longer

wished to terminate her rights, and that she had a new

attorney to represent her, but nevertheless, Ms. Brophie

coerced Petitioner to sign the voluntary termination pa-

pers. (See Exhibit 1, paragraph 3.)

11. Petitioner would not have signed the petition for

voluntary termination but for undue pressure placed upon

her at a time when she was emotionally upset, physically

weakened, and financially destitute, miles from her home.

12. Petitioner is presently physically, emotionally and

financially able to care for her baby, and she is the fit and

proper person to have possession and custody of said child.

13. Although Petitioner did not freely give consent to

terminate her parental rights, she hereby revokes said

“consent”, such as it was.

Wuenrerorg, Petitioner prays this Court grant her im-

mediate entitlement, possession and custody of infant child,

Baby Boy Van Wey.

25a

Tendered By :

(s) Ellen G. Friedman

Ellen G. Friedman

Attorney for Petitioner

(s) Robert Frederick Smith

Robert Frederick Smith

Attorney for Petitioner

Legal Aid Society, Inc.

425 West Muhammad Ali Blvd.

Louisville, Kentucky 40202

Telephone: (502) 584-1954

CERTIFICATE

I hereby certify that a copy of the foregoing Petition

was on the 29th day of April, 1981, mailed to Mr. Charles

Dobbins, Attorney at Law, 2310 First National Tower,

Louisville, Kentucky 40202, and Mr. and Mrs. Raymond

O’Neal (a/k/a Donna & Frank O'Neal), Route #2, Bed-

ford, Kentucky 40006.

(s) Ellen G. Friedman

Ellen G. Friedman

Attorney at Law

26a

APPENDIX F

JEFFERSON CIRCUIT COURT

SIXTH DIVISION

No. 81-AD-0037 T

CyrisTINE VAN Wey “ . - ° . Petitioner

v.

StanLey Van Wey,

Bapy Boy Van Wey - - - - Defendants

AFFIDAVIT—Filed April 30, 1981

I, Christine Van Wey, after being duly sworn, hereby

state as follows:

1. Under great duress and pressure from Katie Bro-

phie on her own, and through her secretary, Sandy Hafer,

I signed papers which terminated my parental rights to my

new-born son.

2. My two other children, my car, and my personal

belongings were at the home of Sandy Hafer, with whom I

had lived for a time while awaiting the birth of my baby.

While I was still in the hospital recovering from my cae-

sarean section, I changed my mind and decided to keep my

baby. Sandy Hafer called me at the hospital and told me

that if I did not sign the termination papers, she would

leave my children someplace and not tell me where, and

that she would hold my car and personal belongings so that

I could not get them.

3. Katie Brophie told me that I had to sign the termi-

nation papers at 10:00 a.m., Febraary 2, January 27, CVW

Zia

1981. I told her that I had an appointment with my attor-

ney at the Legal Aid Society, Ellen G. Friedman, that after-

noon, and I wished to consult with her first. She told me

that Legal Aid could not help me, and that if Legal Aid

tried, she would sue my attorney there. Katie Brophie

knew that I was penniless and had no place to stay, and she

agreed to give me One Hundred and Fifty Dollars ($150.00)

for transportation back to Iowa, if I signed the papers.

She said that if I did not sign the papers that she would

leave me stranded here in Louisville.

(s) Christine Van Wey, Affiant

Subscribed and sworn to before me this 20th day of

February, 1981, by Christine Van Wey, Affiant.

My Commission Expires: September 30, 1982.

(s) Terrence L. Mealy

Notary Public, State-at-Large, Iowa

28a

APPENDIX G

JEFFERSON CIRCUIT COURT

SIXTH DIVISION

No. 81-AD-0037-T

CurisTINE Van Wey a r - . ° Petitioner

v.

StanLtey Van Wey,

Basy Boy Van Wey - - : - = Defendants

AFFIDAVIT—Filed April 30, 1981

Comes the Affiant, Martha Nall, and after being duly

sworn, states as follows:

I am a registered nurse employed as the Obstetrical

Nursing Supervisor at Norton-Children’s Hospital.

On Thursday, January 22, 1981, I was called to the

nursing office because of a problem on the post-partum

unit. When I arrived, Katie Brophie was angrily insisting

that Christine Van Wey be moved off the maternity floor.

I checked with Ms. Van Wey and found that she did not

wish to move off the maternity floor, and, since the attend-

ing physician’s orders allowed her this choice, she was not

moved.

I again saw Christine Van Wey on Monday, January 26,

1981, immediately before she left the hospital. I was called

to the floor by the nurse on duty who reported to me that

Ms. Van Wey had changed her mind about giving up her

baby. I attempted to get Ms. Van Wey some help as she

told me she had no money and that her car was being held

2Ya

at the home of Katie Brophie’s secretary. I eventually

reached Mary Krider who agreed to assist Ms. Van Wey.

During the time I was with Ms. Van Wey she appeared

frightened, upset and quite agitated.

s) Martha Nall

Affiant

SUBSCRIBED AND Sworn to before me by Martha Nall,

Affiant herein, on this the 9th day of April, 1981,

My Commission expires: July 27, 1984.

(s) Marie A. Farmer

Notary Public, Jefferson County,

’

Kentucky

[Sear]

30a

APPENDIX H

JEFFERSON CIRCUIT COURT

SIXTH DIVISION

No. 81-AD-0037-T

CHRISTINE VAN WeEy 2 . - - - Petitioner

Vv.

StanLey Van Wey,

Basy Boy Van Wey - - - - - Defendants

AFFIDAVIT—Filed April 30, 1981

Comes the Affiant, Muff Dubose, and after being duly

sworn, states as follows:

I am employed by Norton Children’s hospital as a pa-

tient representative. I was called to the maternity floor on

Monday morning, January 26, 1981, to assist Christine Van

Wey. Ms. Van Wey had changed her mind and wanted her

baby back. I spent most of the morning with her trying to

help. Throughout the morning Ms. Van Wey was crying

and wringing her hands. She appeared terrified and

seemed ver’ distraught.

(s) Muff Du Bose

Affiant, Muff Dubose

Subscribed and sworn to before me by Muff Dubose, on

this 25th day of March, 1981. My commission expires:

October 24, 1983.

(s) Jane H. Benson

Notary Public, State at Large-Ky.

3la

APPENDIX I

JEFFERSON CIRCUIT COURT

SIXTH DIVISION

No. 81-AD-0037-T

CHRISTINE Van WEY . o . ° ° Petitioner

v.

STANLEY Van Wey,

Basy Boy Van Wey - - - - - Defendants

AFFIDAVIT—Filed April 30, 1981

Comes the Affiant Jena Avery and after being duly

sworn states as follows:

I am a registered nurse employed as the day-shift

charge nurse of The Newborn Nursery at Norton Children’s

Hospital.

While I was at work, Sunday, January 25, 1981, I re-

ceived a call from Katie Brophie. She inquired if the Van

Wey baby was ready for discharge. I explained to her the

hospital policy that the baby is not to be discharged until

the mother leaves the hospital. She objected to this and

demanded to speak to the doctor. I gave her his telephone

number.

The doctor subsequently came to the floor and ordered

that the baby be discharged after the mother, Christine

Van Wey, was done seeing her baby.

I took the baby to Christine Van Wey. While Ms. Van

Wey was in her room with her baby, Katie Brophie came

to the Obstetrics floor and after discovering Ms. Van Wey

with her baby, Ms. Brophie became extremely angry. Her

32a

face was red and her voice was raised. Her tone of voice

was very intimidating. She yelled, “What is that baby

doing in there? That mother has no right whatsoever to

have that baby!” She tried to get me to remove the baby

from Ms. Van Wey, but I refused.

Katie Brophie claimed she was in a hurry to get the

baby out of the room because there were people waiting

who had to catch an airplane. She said that we, (the hos-

pital staff), were “a bunch of nuts.” Ms. Brophie disap-

peared for a few minutes and when she returned she said

that Christine Van Wey was done with the baby and I

should go get him.

Katie Brophie was loud, pushy, rude, intimidating, and

appeared desperate to get Ms. Van Wey’s baby away from

her.

(s) Jena Avery

Affiant

>

Subscribed and sworn to before me by Jena Avery, this

—___— day of __-__, 1981. _ My commission expires:

Notary Public, State at Large-Ky.

33a

APPENDIX J

[6]

Q.1. Would you state your name, please?

A. Jena Avery,

Q.2. And, what is your occupation?

A. I’m a registered nurse.

Q.3. Where are you employed, Ms, Avery?

A. Norton-Children’s Hospital.

Q.4. How long have you worked there?

A. Seven years.

Q.5. Have you had an oceasion to have contact with

either Christine Van Wey or her baby?

A. Yes, I have.

Q.6. Would you describe the form of that contact?

A. She and her baby were a patient at our hospital.

Q.7. And, how did you happen to get involved with

her.

A. When her baby was delivered it was admitted to

our nursery. I had contact with Ms. Van Wey the day

before her baby was delivered. I had her sign the release

form that released her baby to Katie Brophy upon dis-

missal from the hospital.

Q.8. And, was that signed before the birth of the

baby?

A. Yes, it was.

Q.9. Are you familiar with the circumstances sur-

rounding the discharge of the baby from the hospital?

A. Yes, I am.

Q.10. Would you describe those circumstances?

* * 7 * + * *

[14]

A. Yes. If the mother requests, we do take the

baby to her.

Q. 54.

lar case?

Q. 56.

request?

A.

34a

Did you have such a request in this particu-

Yes, we did.

Who'd you have the request from?

Christine Van Wey,

And, do you know when it was that you got this

She told me when I had her sign the release

paper the day before the baby was delivered, she did plan

to see her baby.

Q. 57.

Ms. Avery, I believe that you have previously

signed an affidavit that’s been filed in this case?

A.

Q. 58.

A.

Yes.

Did you prepare this affidavit?

I believe Ms. Ellen Friedman did.

She prepared it?

I talked with her and gave her my deposition,

and she’s the one who mailed it to me, I believe.

Q. 60.

A.

Q. 61.

A.

Q. 62.

this?

A.

Q. 63.

She mailed it to you?

I believe so,

This is a copy. Is that your signature?

Yes, it is.

And, when did Ms. Friedman talk to you about

I don’t know the date.

Do you know when you signed it?

35a

APPENDIX K

JEFFERSON CIRCUIT COURT

SIXTH DIVISION

No, 81-AD-0037-T

CurRIsTINE Van Wey . ° - ° - Petitioner

v.

Stantey Van Wey,

Basy Boy Van Wey - - - =) = Defendants

AFFIDAVIT—Filed April 30, 1981

I, Mary Krider, after being duly sworn, hereby state as

follows:

1. I am presently employed by the Louisville Area

Family Planning Council and was formerly employed as an

adoption worker with the Department of Child Welfare

(now the Department for Human Resources).

2. In an individual capacity, outside the scope of my

employment, I became acquainted with Christine Van Wey’s

situation.

3. On January 26, 1981, I was contacted at my home

by Martha Nall, Obstetrical Nursing Supervisor at Norton-

Children’s Hospital. Ms. Nall asked me if I could assist

Ms. Van Wey, particularly in recovering her children

and car.

4. I drove Christine Van Wey to the home of Sandy

Hafer, where Ms. Van Wey’s car was parked. She tried to

start the car, but the engine would not “turn over”.

36a

5. I then drove her to get her two children at the school

they were attending.

6. I then drove her to a police station to try to enlist

help in securing her personal belongings, at the home of

Sandy Hafer, and her car, which Ms. Van Wey believes had

been tampered with.

7. I drove her back to my office and assisted her in

securing legal assistance to get her baby back,

8. We later returned to Sandy Hafer’s home, after Ms.

Van Wey’s Legal Aid attorney, Ellen G. Friedman, re-

ported her conversation with Ms. Hafer, indicating that

Chris Van Wey could now pick up her belongings and car.

When we arrived, the car was filled with her belongings,

and started immediately.

9. During the entire time we were together, Christine

Van Wey appeared to be under a great strain, both phys-

ically and emotionally, and had difficulty walking and held

her stomach as if in pain. She was visibly upset and cry-

ing. She seemed depressed and discouraged, asking me if

Katie Brophy and her secretary could really carry out their

threats.

10. Christine Van Wey indicated to me that she wanted

her baby and it is my belief that she voluntarily terminated

her parental rights only as a result of intolerable duress.

(s) Mary Krider, Affiant

Strate or Kentucky }

CounTY oF JEFFERSON

Subscribed and sworn to before me by Mary Krider

this 19 day of Feb., 1981.

My Commission expires 4-9-83.

(s) Catherine M. Ford

Notary Public, State at Large, KY

37a

APPENDIX L

Exhibit 2

[LETTERHEAD OF STATE OF IOWA, DEPART-

MENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES]

June 10, 1981

Honorable Judge Jack E. Mudd

Cireuit Court} Sixth Division.

Hall of Justice

Jefferson County

Louisville, Kentucky 40202

Re: VAN WEY, Christine

Your Honor:

This is in response to your order for a Home Evalua-

tion, and a followup to our letter by Frances McRoberts of

June 5, 1981.

We felt a brief description of the Van Wey home situa-

tion might assist you preliminarily, at your hearing sched-

uled for June 17, 1981.

I met with Christine Van Wey in my office on June 5,

1981 and at her home on June 8, 1981.

HOME

Christine Van Wey rents a large ground level apartment

at 503 Park Avenue in Muscatine, Iowa. There is a large

kitchen, bathroom, living room and two large bedrooms,

There is a large foyer area off the bedrooms that could

serve as a third bedroom and is perfectly adequate for a

young child.

Mrs. Van Wey rents this apartment for $80.00 per month

(Low Rent Housing program). She is currently renovat-

ing it, stripping floors and woodwork, wallpapering, ete.

This project is completed except for the girls bedroom and

kitchen. She also has a full unfinished basement which the

38a

girls use for riding toys in the cold weather. The home is

quite adeqate to accommodate another child,

CHILDREN

Mrs. Van Wey has two daughters:

Jennifer Van Wey, b.d. 8/23/73

Chelese Van Wey, b.d 9/9/75

Both girls appear to be normal, healthy, active children.

They were clean and well dressed, They interact with their

mother appropriately—seek affection, attention and ask

permission to do things. They respond to her requests or

orders. Both seem happy and secure with their mother.

Mother reports that Jenny’s grades suffered during the con-

fusion this past year but have improved this last semester.

Otherwise she loves school.

REFERENCES

Mrs. Van Wey gave two references. Both gave positive

feedback, One, Kathy Gray, has provided child care for

these two children intermittently over the past seven years

while Mrs. Van Wey has been employed. Kathy Gray stated

that even when Christine went.to work at 6:00 or 7:00 AM,

she had the children dressed and fed before they arrived in

the morning.

FATHER

Baby Boy Van Wey’s father is reported by Christine to be

one John Adler, a 41 year old person with whom she has had

a relationship for the past four years. Mr, Adler lives with

Mrs. Van Wey. He was unavailable to interview, because

he works very long days.

MOTHER

Christine Van Wey admits she was very confused and dis-

traught during the last trimester of her pregnancy. She

was considering releasing for adoption until shortly after

delivery.

39a

She certainly appears to be settled and able to provide for

her baby at this time. She also realizes the difficulties in-

volved for the baby, the adoptive parents, as well as her-

self and her daughters.

SUMMARY

1. Mrs. Van Wey is able to undertake the care of her child.

2. The issue appears to be an entirely legal and ethical one

at this point.

3. fhe Iowa Departmen: for Social Services, Muscatine

County Office, will, by Court Order, provide supervision

of this child in the mother’s home, should the Court de-

cide to return him. If so, I suggest custody be main-

tained by your Court for a period of time (6 months?),

with our Department reporting to you.

4. That if the child is returned to the mother and then

must be placed for adoption, that he be returned to the

family with whom he was originally placed.

If you have any questions about my report, please feel

free to contact me.

Respectfully submitted,

(s) Kay Jackman

Social Worker III

KJ :de

40a

APPENDIX M

Exhibit 3

[LETTERHEAD OF CITY OF MUSCATINE]

June 9, 1981

Honorable Jack Mudd

Judge uf Jefferson Circuit Court

Sixth Division

Hall of Justice

Louisville, Kentucky 40202

Honorable Jack Mudd:

My office was contacted to reinspect this rental unit

occupied by Christine Van Wey and her daughters at 503

Park Avenue. I have found Ms. Van Wey to be an excellent

housekeeper. The unit she occupies has been a rental unit

for quite some time and had become pretty run-down by

the time she moved in. Since she moved in, the unit has

not only been thoroughly cleaned, but she has also pro-

ceeded to restore most of the floors and woodwork to their

original wood finish. In the process of cleaning, she has

also wallpapered or painted three of the five rooms they

occupy and is now working on the fourth. This has all

been done within the last seven months.

I am, therefore, happy to send this recommendation for

her. We wish all our rental units were cared for in the

same manner.

Sincerely,

(s) Madalyn A. Figg

Housing Code Officer

xc: Christine Van Wey

4la

APPENDIX N

JEFFERSON CIRCUIT COURT

SIXTH DIVISION

No. 81-AD-0037-T

CHRISTINE Van WEY ‘ R ‘ - . Petitioner

v.

Stantey Van Wey, et al. . . - Respondents

OPINION AND ORDER—Entered June 22, 1981

The petitioner, Christine Van Wey, a resident of Musca-

tine, Iowa, mother of two children, 5 and 7 years of age,

is seeking the return to her of a child born to her at

Norton’s Hospital in Louisville, Kentucky, on January 22,

1981, by a petition for possession and immediate entitle-

ment.

Based on prior arrangement between them, under which

Christine Van Wey came to Louisville, Kentucky for the

purpose of giving birth to her child and placing him for

edoption through her attorney, Katie Brophy, on Sunday,

January 25, 1981, Katie Brophy took the child from the

Norton Hospital and placed him with a couple in Trimble

County, Kentucky, who planned to adopt him.

On January 27, 1981, Christine Van Wey, with her at-

torney, Katie Brophy, appeared before this Court with a

petition to voluntarily terminate her parental rights, that

had been signed by her, earlier that morning, at the direc-

tion of her attorney, before a deputy circuit clerk.

Even though the appearance was made, no order was

entered then or has since been entered, terminating the

42a

parental rights of Christine Van Wey. Consequently, there

was no change in the custody status of Christine Van Wey

as the mother of the child involved in this matter. Also,

none of the events brought out by the evidence in the trial

of this case before this Court were made known to the

Court during the above appearance and proceedings by

either the attorney, Katie Brophy, or by the petitioner her-

self. The events of the day before were not disclosed.

When the father of her child, with whom she had been

living, abandoned her without funds in the fifth month of

her pregnancy, Christine Van Wey, in a state of despera-

tion and in the belief that she could not provide for this

third child, sought outside help. Being unable to find

acceptable help in Iowa, she turned to Katie Brophy, an

attorney, to help her place her child for adoption. She

learned of Katie Brophy through a television program she

saw about that time, concerning Miss Brophy’s activities in

the field of surrogate parenting.

An arrangement was made by which the prospective

adopting couple would assume payment of her medical fees

and costs, and, in addition, would pay legal fees of Katie

Brophy.

Receiving $100.00 from these participants to cover her

expenses, Christine Van Wey and her two children drove

to Louisville, Kentucky in her car. On arriving and being

unable to find a place to stay, she made arrangements with

Sandy Hafer, secretary to Katie Brophy, to take up resi-

dence in her home, also occupied by Mrs. Hafer’s husband

and two children, in return for household services she

was to render.

Several weeks later, Mrs. Van Wey entered the Norton’s

Hospital and on January 22, 1981, she gave birth to a baby

boy a cesarean section. Prior to the birth of the child, she

had signed a release of the child to the hospital.

43a

Following the birth, nurses at the hospital permitted

the mother to have the child with her. It is, perhaps, this

repeated contact that brought about the process of “ma-

ternity infant bonding” and through this emotional develop-

ment emerged her change of mind about giving up the child

for adoption.

This contact between the mother and child was strongly

objected to by Katie Brophy, who was directing the placing

process and acting as attorney for the mother. In spite

of the objection, the change of mind did occur and it was

made known later that day to both the attorney and her

secretary. This brought about a heated conversation be-

tween the mother and Miss Brophy’s secretary, in which

some threats were made concerning Christine Van Wey’s

children, automobile and personal belongings.

Christine Van Wey became concerned that her two chil-

dren would be taken from her and, in this state of mind,

she immediate!y sought to have herself discharged from the

hospital, over objection of the attending physician because

of her condition as the result of the cesarean.

Two of the nurses and the chaplain at the hospital

talked to her about the matter, offered her some limited

help, and all testified in her behalf and totally supported her

version of the case with respect to her state of mind and

concern, as well as her change of mind about the adoption.

The child was removed from the hospital on Sunday,

January 25, 1981. The next day, January 26, 1981, Chris-

tine Van Wey left the hospital and proceeded to get her

children. Through the chaplain at the hospital, a social

worker with the Louisville Family Planning Council stayed

with her that entire day, giving her what help she needed

and drove her to Sandy Hafer’s house to pick up her car.

The car could not be started, and both of them left without

any attempt to contact anyone there at the house. Both

of them went to the school and picked up the children.

d4a

Contact was made with an attorney at the Legal Aid

Society and, through the attorney, they went again to the

house of Sandy Hafer and this time all her personal be-

longings were in the back of her car and the car started.

At this time, she had her car, personal belongings, and the

» two children, but had no place to go. They were then taken

to a shelter house on Brook Street in Louisville, Kentucky,

where they stayed overnight. It was here that the social

worker left them.

Up to this point there is no question about Christine

Van Wey’s changing her mind about the adoption, which

she had a right to do. Her fears about her children up to

this point were well supported by the testimony of the

nurses, chaplain, and the social worker who stayed with

her throughout the entire day on Monday, January 26, 1981,

into the evening, when she left her at a place to stay.

However, from here on the facts become vague and

conflicting.

Christine Van Wey had the support of several people

who were offering her help and assisting her in various

ways. That Monday afternoon she had made an appoint-

ment to see her attorney the next day, on Tuesday, January

27th, concerning her baby. It was also on that afternoon

that her attorney at Legal Aid notified Katie Brophy that

they wanted the baby back and were planning to take legal

steps to accomplish this. A social worker left Christine

Van Wey with her childen and belongings and a place to

stay overnight. She knew the people who wanted to help

her and how to reach them. None of them heard any more

from her from that time on. Although she had an ap-

pointment to see her attorney the next day about getting

her baby, she never called the attorney or kept the appoint-

ment. Instead, she showed up the next day, on the 27th,

at the Hall of Justice, the Circuit Court Clerk’s office, with

her children, and signed a petition and then appeared,

45a

along with Katie Brophy as her attorney, before this Court

for the purpose of terminating her parental rights.

None of the events which occurred on the day before

and the day prior, Sunday, were brought to the attention

of this Court by either Miss Brophy or by Christine Van

Wey. Both appeared, without an appointment, with a

petition voluntarily terminating the parental rights of

Christine Van Wey, which had been signed by her before

a circuit clerk that morning. This Court had them wait

about twenty minutes in his courtroom, while he checked

with the Department for Human Resources and the Jeffer-

son County Department for Human Services concerning

any existing regulations as to non-resident mothers coming

to this state for the sole purpose of giving birth to children

for adoption. Finding no existing restriction against such

proceeding within this state, the Court called the parties

into chambers and a hearing was held. For a while, Chris-

tine Van Wey was alone in the courtroom and had occasion

to see my secretary. At no time did she voice any sug-

gestion to any member of my staff that she wanted to

confer with me in private. No objections or concern were

raised by anyone. Christine Van Wey answered a few

questions, satisfying the court that she understood the na-

ture of the proceedings and that she voluntarily wanted to

terminate her parental rights for the purpose of having

her child adopted. This Court was never advised by either

Christine Van Wey or Katie Brophy that the mother was

having any second thoughts about adoption. There was

nothing to suggest to this Court that Christine Van Wey

was operating under any fear and if she was she had ample

opportunity during the absence of Katie Brophy, while she

waited in the courtroom, to have made some statement

either to me or to a member of my staff.

Christine Van Wey, in her testimony, stated she did not

want to attempt adoption in Iowa because of having to

46a

advertise for the child’s father and did not know his where-

abouts. Yet, while living here in Louisville she made phone

calls to Iowa and located the father through some connec-

tion she had at a poolroom. Although the father abandoned

Christine Van Wey in her fifth month of pregnancy, yet,

while she lived in Louisville, the father moved back into

the apartment of Christine Van Wey in Muscatine, Iowa.

Following the hearing on January 27, 1981, the father,

John Adler, filed an affidavit under date of February, 1981,

stating his willingness and ability to accept and provide

for the child.

In order to accomplish an adoption in Kentucky, a

notarized written consent of the birth parent must be ob-

tained or the parental rights of the birth parent must be

terminated by an order of court. Absent either, the adop-

tion may be concluded upon proof of facts as would sup-

port an order of termination in an involuntary termination

action against either or both birth parents.

If Christine Van Wey was acting under duress or threat

when she appeared before this Court on January 27, 1981,

then such petition of termination should not be entered.

The couple who have the child received him under writ-

ten permission of the Kentucky Department for Human

Resources as approved parents for adoption. There is

no issue over their suitability and there is no showing that

they are holding the child illegally or wrongfully.

Christine Van Wey has taken all necessary steps to

conclude the voluntary termination of her parental rights.

It is true that no such order has been entered. No such

order was tendered at the time of the hearing, for the rea-

son that her husband had to be named a defendant by

reason of the birth of the child during their marriage and

that he could not be brought before the court under con-

structive service until after the expiration of fifty days.

It was then that it was contemplated that an order of

47a

termination would be tendered and entered terminating

the rights of both parties.

Now, since John Adler has now been disclosed as the

actual or birth father of the child, it will be necessary that

he be joined as a defendant under KRS 199.480(b). Under

this provision of the statute and the decision of the U. S.

Supreme Court in J/linois v. Stanley, either his consent will

have to be obtained or his right as a putative father will

have to be terminated either voluntarily or by involuntary

proceedings.

The petition prepared by Miss Brophy, as attorney, and

signed by Christine Van Wey, alleges that the name of the

actual father was unknown. The testimony of this case

reveals that Christine Van Wey had full knowledge of who

he was.

Christine Van Wey places great weight on her claim

that she acted in fear of something happening to her

children. Perhaps, following her conversation on Sunday,

January 25, 1981, with Katie Brophy and Sandy Hafer as

to the changing of her mind about the adoption and their

heated reaction thereto, did give rise to her fear and this

appears to be borne out by the testimony of the nurses

and the social worker.

Yet, on the day when legal steps were to be taken to

get her baby back, she dropped all contact with her at-

torneys, who are again representing her in this case which

began some four months later. Also, she apparently made

no effort to call those at the hospital or the social worker

who offered her help on that Sunday and Monday. Failing

to hear from her, the social worker made repeated efforts

to contact her and to find out what happened. This is

unexplained.

In addition, Christine Van Wey said nothing about her

concerns and fears while in Court, even while she was alone

outside the presence of Miss Brophy while waiting in the

48a

courtroom. This action on her part raises a serious ques-

tion in the mind of this Court as to the validity of her fear

at that time. Her statement that she failed to speak up

in court for fear of threats to her children is not consistent

with the ability she demonstrated to speak up on the two

days before and more so inconsistent when she had available

to her several persons willing to assist and help her.

One thing is certain, she was not acting under any

threat or fear when she took steps or made arrangements

to have her child adopted.

Setter practice would have had the child placed after

an order of termination was obtained. Also, better practice

would call upon the attorney, at the time of the termination

proceedings, to reveal to the court the turmoil of the day

and a half before, so that any doubts or questions could

have been clearly aired and dealt with in an appropriate

manner.

In such proceedings as this when the attorney holds

herself out as a locater and an arranger for adoption of

children, it is difficult to define her role as an attorney and

who she is representing and to who she owes a duty in

representing one or the other as an attorney. At one point

it appears that her interest as an attorney is placed between

the conflicting interests of the mother on one hand and the

prospective adopting couple on the other. This is very

tragic and some steps of professional measures will have

to be taken in order to assure that a situation like this will

not reoccur.

It is in this area of private adoptions that conflicts such

as in this case occur and when it does occur, it creates a

tragic result, affecting and leaving lasting scars on the lives

of many people.

Christine Van Wey arrived here totally dependent upon

others for the needs of herself and her two children and ina

state of desperation. This should not happen here or else-

49a

where. A close look should be given our adoption laws that

permit a non-resident, who is in indigent circumstances and

in a desperate state of need, to come to this state for the

sole purpose of giving birth to a child to be adopted. Under

such conditions, she is made subject to those who arrange

to bring her here. At present, our state laws tolerate it

and our Department for Human Resources grants permis-

sion for the acceptance of such children for adoption. No

thought or investigation is made as to the mother or her

welfare.

The final and most important factor in reaching a de-

cision in this case is the best interest of the baby himself.

This should be of paramount concern and no decisi#@n can

be or should be made in conflict with this best interest.

The child has been with the family under placement for

adoption for about six months and the family has been

investigated and approved as a suitable home.

Christine Van Wey’s decision in seeking adoption for

her child was on the basis that she could not provide for

him and at the same time provide for her two daughters

living with her. The father of the child abandoned them in

the fifth month of her pregnancy. Yet, while she was living

here in Louisville, awaiting the birth of her child, the father

moved back into her apartment in Muscatine, Iowa.

Christine Van Wey does some work as a babysitter and

assists John Adler two days a week as a clam digger, for

which they receive $30.00 a ton. There is no indication

what their weekly or monthly income is.

There has been a long bonding relationship between the

child and his present family, of about six months. There is

no showing that either party does not love the child. The

interrelation and interaction between the child and the

family has not been questioned. To remove this child

would no doubt disturb an already established relationship

within that family. This would have a detrimental effect

50a

upon the child, as well as upon the family. This court will

stand corrected if such is shown to the contrary.

In all cases such as this, someone is always hurt. For

this court to reach a decision, it has been a matter of deep

and prolonged concern. It is not expected that all parties

and those concerned will equally accept the result brought

about by the decision of the court or the decision itself.

This is understandable. Yet, in spite of what may be looked

upon by some as a harsh result, a decision must be made.

This matter is before the Court on the sole question of

possession and immediate entitlement to custody of the

child of Christine Van Wey. Any adoption action as may

be taken must occur in the Circuit Court of Trimble County,

Kentucky, the place of jurisdiction for such action.

Accordingly, the following order is entered.

ORDER

This matter having come before this Court on a petition

for immediate possession and entitlement to custody, and a

trial being held at which testimony was presented in the

presence of all parties and their counsel, and, in accordance

with the foregoing opinion and findings of this Court based

on the evidence presented and the Court being sufficiently

advised, Ir Is OrnpERED anv ApJuDGED as follows:

1. This Court finds that the O’Neal family is not hold-

ing the child involved herein in their possession illegally or

improperly.

2. Christine Van Wey, the mother of the child in-

volved, has taken all necessary legal steps to complete the

voluntary termination of her parental rights and such

steps taken by her before this Court were not the result of

threats of duress at that time.

3. The petition of Christine Van Wey for immediate

possession and entitlement to custody of her child be and

is hereby denied.

5la

4. The pending termination action shall remain on the

Court’s docket, subject to further orders of Court.

5. The rights of the natural father of the child involved

herein must be resolved within the provisions of KRS

199.480(b).

(s) Jack E. Mudd

Date: June 22, 1981.

Ce:

Ellen Friedman and

Robert Frederick Smith

Legal Aid Society, Ine.

Attorneys for Christine Van Wey

Irene P. Long and

Stephen P. Smith, Jr.

Attorneys for Respondents, O’Neal

Charles W. Dobbins, Jr.

Guardian Ad Litem

ee: 6/23/81

Ms. Frances McRoberts

Service Supervisor

Iowa Department of Social Services

Muscatine, Iowa 52761

52a

APPENDIX 0

JEFFERSON CIRCUIT COURT

SIXTH DIVISION

No. 81-AD-0037-T

CHRISTINE Van WEY . . - - . Petitioner

v.

StanLey Van Wey, Et AL. - - . Defendants

SUPPLEMENTAL FINDINGS OF FACT AND

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW—Entered July 8, 1981

This action is before the Court on motion of,

1) Petitioner, Christine Van Wey, to modify the Court’s

findings and made further findings herein; and

2) Respondents, Frank and Donna O’Neal, to terminate

the parental rights of Christine Van Wey and her husband,

Stanley Van Wey, in and to the child involved herein; and

3) Respondents, O’Neal, to file a cross-petition joining

John Adler herein as cross-defendant for the purpose of

involuntarily terminating his parental rights, for the rea-

son that he has filed an affidavit asserting paternity to the

child involved herein.

On the basis of the affidavit he has filed, John Adler is

alleged to be the putative father of Baby Boy Van Wey

who is now in the custody of the O’Neals for the purpose of

adoption.

KRS 199.480 requires that the putative father be named

as party defendant to any adoption action and his consent

is required under KRS 199.500, but shall not be required if

his parental rights have been terminated.

53a

Christine Van Wey did not join John Adler as a de-

fendant to terminate his rights in her petition to volun-

tarily terminate her parental rights. Instead, she joined

her husband by reason of the birth of the child during her

marriage, on the legal presumption that he is the father of

the child. In fact, she alleged the father of the child to be

unknown.

The question presented is whether proposed adopting

parents may join the putative father in a petition to invol-

untarily terminate his parental rights.

The right to file an adoption action and to file a termi-

nation action is fixed by the state legislature, and short of

that such action could not be filed.

The legislature enacted KRS 199.603(7), which defines

who may file or institute such involuntary termination ac-

tion. This right is limited to:

“. . , the department, any child-placing agency

licensed by the department, any probation officer, any

state or local law enforcement officer, any county or

commonwealth’s attorney or parent.”

The O’Neals do not come within any of those groups set

forth in the statute. Consequently, their motion to file the

cross-petition joining John Adler as a party herein is

hereby denied.

This Court in its opinion, on page i2, stated,

“The final and most important factor in reaching

a decision in this case is the best interest of the baby

himself. This should be of paramount concern and no

decision can be or should be made in conflict with his

best interest.”

Clearly, the best interest of this child directs that his

custody remain with the O’Neals, where he has been living

since shortly after his birth.

54a

This Court denied the petition of Christine Van Wey

for immediate possession and entitlement to custody. This

opinion still stands and petitioner’s motion to modify same

is overruled. Accordingly, the permanent custody of the

child should be and is hereby vested with Mr. and Mrs.

O’Neal. Moore v. Dawson, Ky., 531 8S. W. 2d 259; Paynter

v. Smith, Ky., 481 8. W. 2d 270.

This Court in its opinion containing its findings of fact

and conclusions of law adjudged in part, as follows:

“Christine Van Wey, the mother of the child involved

has taken all necessary legal steps to complete the

voluntary termination of her parental rights and such

steps taken by her before this Court were not the re-

sult of threats or duress at that time.”

Christine Van Wey, in a proceeding before this Court

and under circumstances which established before this

Court her full understanding of the proceedings in which

she declared her willingness to terminate her parental

rights, thereby completed all steps necessary to conclude

the termination. The entry of the order was withheld until

her husband, a defendant, was before the Court by con-

structive service. This has now been accomplished; he has

filed no response although he has knowledge of the pro-

ceedings. There is clear evidence before this Court to

warrant termination of his parental rights.

KRS 199.611 provides that if the Court determines that

all parties are before the Court and that the termination

of parental rights are in the best interest of the child, and

that each is fully aware of the purpose and consequences

of the proceedings, it (the Court) shall make an order ter-

minating all parental rights and obligations in the parent

in whom they have existed. . . . () added.

Therefore, pursuant to the provisions of KRS 199.611

this Court enters an appropriate order terminating the

5da

parental rights of Christine Van Wey and her husband,

Stanley Van Wey, and within the provisions of that statute

grants unto the Kentucky Department for Human Re-

sources the power to consent to the adoption of such child

in such proceedings as may be filed. Com., Dept. of Child

Welfare v. Helton, Ky., 411 S. W. 2d 932 (p. 934).

Other motions of the petitioner to further modify the

Court’s original findings of fact and conclusions of law and

to make further findings are hereby overruled.

This is a final and appealable order and there is no just

reason for delay in its entry.

(s) Jack E. Mudd

Judge

Date: 7/8/81.

Cos

Ellen G. Friedman

Legal Aid Society, Inc.

Attorney for Petitioner

Stephen P. Smith, Jr.

Irene P. Long

Counsel for Respondents, O’Neal

Charles W. Dobbins

Guardian Ad Litem

John R. Wilson

Warning Order Attorney

56a

APPENDIX P

JEFFERSON CIRCUIT COURT

SIXTH DIVISION

No. 81-AD-0037-T

CHRISTINE VAN WEY . . . Petitioner

v.

STanLeEY Van Wey, et al. : . - . Defendants

ORDER TERMINATING PARENTAL RIGHTS—

Entered August 10, 1981

At a Court held on the 10 day of August, 1981.

This cause having been heard and submitted before this

court on January 27, 1981 and the Petitioner, Christine

Van Wey, having personally appeared, and the Court hav-

ing examined the Mother of Baby Boy Van Wey, who ad-

mitted the facts stated in her Petition to be true, and it

being proved to the satisfaction of this Court that the

herein termination will be for the benefit of the child, and

the Court being sufficiently advised, it is hereby Ordered

and adjudged; all of the parental rights of Christine Van

Wey, mother of Baby Boy Van Wey, born on the Janu-

ary 22, 1981, in Louisville, Jefferson County, Kentucky, be

and they are hereby terminated.

It further appearing to the Court that Stanley Van Wey,

Respondent herein, husband of Christine Van Wey has

abandoned said infant child; and continuously neglected,

and failed to provide Baby Boy Van Wey with adequate

food, clothing, shelter, or other care and control necessary

for his physical, mental, or emotional health and develop-

0/8

ment, and it having been proved to the satisfaction of this

Court that the termination of his parental rights will be

for the benefit of Baby Boy Van Wey, and the Court being

sufficiently advised it is hereby Ordered and Adjudged;

All of the parental rights of Stanley Van Wey, husband

of Petitioner, Christine Van Wey, in and to Baby Boy Van

Way, born of January 22, 1981, in Louisville, Jefferson

County, Kentucky, be and they are hereby terminated.

(s) Jack E. Mudd

Judge

Dated: Aug. 10, 1981

58a

APPENDIX Q

JEFFERSON CIRCUIT COURT

SIXTH DIVISION

No. 81-AD-0037-T

CHRISTINE Van WeEyY . : . . . Petitioner

).

STanLtey Van Wey, et al. . . . . Defendants

NOTICE—MOTION—ORDER FOR ADDITIONAL

FINDINGS AND AMENDMENT TO JUDGMENT

—Filed June 25, 1981

To: Stephen P. Smith, Jr.

Attorney for Defendants

1526 Kentucky Home Life Bldg.

Louisville, Kentucky 40202

Charles Dobbins, Jr.

Attorney at Law

First National Tower

Louisville, Kentucky 40202

Ms. Irene P. Long

Attorney for Defendants

Bedford, Kentucky 40006

Take notice that the undersigned, on June 29, 1981, at 11:00

AM, in the court room of the above Court, will make the

motion and tender the order set out below.

CERTIFICATE

It is hereby certified that a copy hereof was, on June 24,

1981, mailed to the persons and addresses listed above.

59a

MOTION

Petitioner, by counsel. pursuant to CR 52.02, moves this

al findings on the issue of whether

Petitioner revoked her alleged consent to termination of

her parental rights. and further, Petitioner respectfully

moves this court to amend its yu

Judgment accordingly,

Court to make addition

Ellen G. Friedman

Attorney for Petitioner

Lega] Aid Society, Ine.

+29 West Muhammad Ali Blvd.

Louisville, Kentucky 40202

(902) 584-1254

(s) Robert F, Smth

Attorney for Petitioner

Legal Aid Society, Inc.

42) West Muhammad Ali Blvd.

Louisville, Kentucky 40202

(502) 58 4.1954

ORDER

Motion having been made it is hereby ordered that, pur-

suant to CR 52.02, this court hereby amends its judgment

of June 22, 1981, by granting petitioner’s motion for im-

mediate entitlement, possession, and custody of infant child

Baby Boy Van Wey, in accordance with its additional find-

ings on the issue of Petitioner’s revocation of consent.

Judge

Date

6Va

APPENDIX R

OPINION RENDERED: MAY 28, 1982, 2:00 P.M.

TO BE PUBLISHED

AS MODIFIED: AUGUST 13, 1982; 10:00 A.M.

COURT OF APPEALS OF KENTUCKY

81-CA-2181-MR

CHRISTINE Van Wey . : - - . Appellant

v.

Raymonp F. O’ Neat,

Donwa O’NEaL and

Basy Boy Van Wey : . : . : Appellees

A ppe al from Jefferson Circuit Court

Honorable Jack E. Mudd, Judge

Action No. 81-AD-0037-T

REVERSING AND REMANDING

Berore: Hocce, Howerton, and Wuire, Judges.

Howerton, Jupce. Christine Van Wey appeals from a

Jefferson Circuit Court order denying her petition for

immediate entitlement to possession and custody of her

infant son and from a supplemental order terminating her

parental rights and granting permanent custody of the

child to the O’Neals. She presents five allegations of error.

1. The trial court’s conclusion that the appellant was

not acting under duress when consenting to the

termination of her parental rights was clearly

erroneous,

2. The trial court erred in refusing to find that the

appellant made a timely revocation of her consent

to terminate her parental rights.

6la

3. The trial court erred in applying the best interest

of the child standard.

4. The trial court abused its discretion in awarding

permanent custody to the appellees,

5. The trial court abused its discretion in terminating

the appellant’s parental rights.

After considering the complete record, we must conclude

that the events and results which led to this appeal demand

reversal.

The essential procedural facts are as follows: On

January 27, 1981, Mrs. Van Wey signed a petition for

voluntarily termination of her parental rights in the baby

boy. On February 9 she wrote a letter to the trial judge

informing him of some of the events which led to the ex-

ecution of the petition and advised him that she did not

wish to give up her child. No action was taken on the

petition, and on April 30, Mrs. Van Wey filed a petition

for immediate entitlement to possession and custody of

the child. She asserted that the petition was signed under

duress and that she was presently able to care for the child.

The O’Neals were joined as respondents and a hearing was

held on June 17 which resulted in the denial of the petition.

The trial court found, among other things, that although

Mrs. Van Wey may have been acting under duress through

January 26, 1981, she was not under duress at the time she

executed the petition for voluntary termination. The court

was critical of the actions of the attorney accompanying

Mrs. Van Wey in that there was no revelation of the tur-

moil which had preceded the appearance in court, but it

concluded that there was nothing to suggest that Mrs. Van

Wey was operating under any fear while in court.

The court indicated that the most important considera-

tion in reaching a decision was the best interest of the child.

At the time of the court’s order, the child had been with

62a

the O’Neals for several months, and they were providing

a suitable home. It was determined that to disturb the

child in this established relationship would have a detri-

mental effect upon him, as well as upon the family. The

case was left on the docket for further orders.

On June 29, 1981, Mrs. Van Wey moved the court for

additional findings on the issue of whether she revoked her

consent to the termination of her parental rights and for

an amended judgment. Her motions were overruled, and

the court entered its supplemental order awarding per-

manent custody of the child to the O’Neals and terminating

Mrs. Van Wey’s parental rights. She has now appealed

her case to this Court.

The O’Neals moved to dismiss this appeal on the ground

that there is no appeal from a voluntary termination of

parental rights, citing KRS 199.611(2). The motion was

passed to this panel for consideration with the merits of

the case. We will assume, without deciding that the stat-

ute is valid, but we conclude that what appeared to begin

as a petition for voluntary termination was concluded in

an involuntary manner. This Court therefore has juris-

diction to consider Mrs, Van Wey’s appeal.

This tragic situation began in Muscatine, Iowa. Mrs.

Van Wey resided there with her two daughters. She was

married to Stanley Van Wey, but the parties had been

living separately for several years. Mrs. Van Wey was

pregnant with her third child, and the natural father is

admitted to be John Adler.

Mrs. Van Wey was in a desperate situation in that she

was alone, unemployed, and unable to obtain adequate

assistance. She contacted a Louisville attorney (herein-

after referred to as the attorney) whom she had seen on

television discussing surrogate motherhood. Within two

hours, arrangements had been made for Mrs. Van Wey

to travel to Louisville and for the O’Neals to pay her ex-

63a

penses until the birth of the child. It was agreed that the

O’Neals would thereafter be permitted to adopt the infant.

The appellant was forwarded $100.00 for travel ex-

penses and she came to Kentucky on December 3, 1980.

She and her daughters resided in the basement of the home

of the attorney’s secretary (herein called the secretary).

The baby was delivered at Norton’s Children Hospital

by cesarean section on January 22, 1981. Mrs, Van Wey

was permitted to see and feed her baby, and she even named

it. On Sunday, January 25, the attorney obtained the child

from the hospital and placed it with the O’Neals. As

soon as Mrs. Van Wey learned of the baby’s removal, she

began taking action to effect the return of her child. On

Monday, January 26, a staff physician called the secretary

and informed her that Mrs. Van Wey wanted her baby

returned. Mrs. Van Wey testified that the secretary tele-

phoned the hospital and threatened to have Mrs. Van Wey’s

two daughters taken from her, if she refused to consent to

the termination. The secretary denied doing this, but later

testified that she was so upset she wasn’t certain what she

said. The testimony of hospital personnel supports Mrs.

Van Wey’s statement that she feared for the welfare and

eafety of her children. She left the hospital, against the

advice of her attending physician, and she picked up her

children at school, so that they would not return to the

secretary’s home.

The appellant attempted to recover her possessions and

automobile, but her car would not start. A social worker

assisted her in finding temporary shelter with a local

charity, and she alsé assisted her in calling an attorney

with the Legal Aid Society. An appointment was scheduled

for Tuesday, January 27. The Legal Aid attorney im-

mediately contacted the secretary and the attorney han-

dling the baby transaction to arrange for return of Mrs.

Van Wey’s possessions and to advise them that she in-

64a

tended to represent Mrs. Van Wey. Thereafter, Mrs, Van

Wey recovered her possessions, which had been placed in

her automobile. The vehicle was then operable.

Mrs. Van Wey contacted the attorney on Monday night

regarding her baby and some of her possessions which

were not in her car. We have no way of knowing exactly

what took place between the two at that time, although

Mrs. Van Wey testified of threats of “conjunctions,” prob-

lems for the Legal Aid attorney, and actions which the

attorney’s policeman boyfriend might take. Mrs. Van Wey

nevertheless accompanied the attorney to the circuit court

on the following morning where she signed the petition

for voluntary termination of her parental rights. She was

given an additional $150.00, which enabled her to travel

back to lowa.

There are four elements of undue influence: (1) a per-

son who is subject to influence; (2) an opportunity to exert

undue influence; (3) a disposition to exert influence, and

(4) a result indicating influence. See Annot., A.L.R. 3d

918 « 2 (1973). All four elements appear to exist in this

‘ase. Mrs. Van Wey was in dire circumstances when she

arrived in Louisville. She was dependent upon the at-

torney and the secretary for all her needs. Even after

removing her children from the secretary’s home, she was

alone in the city with two children, ages five and seven,

without sufficient funds to feed them or return to Iowa.

She was without her baby. She obviously felt threatened

by people in a position of apparent power.

A consent for voluntary termination of parental rights

or a consent to adoption, like any other consent, must be

given free from undue influence or duress to be effective.

Pierce v. Pierce, Ky., 522 S. W. 2d 435 (1975). Although

we need not, and therefore do not, specifically determine

that the trial judge’s finding is clearly erroneous, Mrs.

Van Wey’s “voluntary” consent was highly suspect at best.

65a

She may not have shown any evidence of intimidation at

the time she signed the termination papers, but in light of

all the evidence, it is unlikely that her actions were com-

pletely free and independent until she was free of the

attorney involved in the baby placement.

The point which is dispositive in this case is that Mrs.

Van Wey made a timely revocation of any consent which

she gave, even if such was originally voluntary. No final

order had been entered on the petition at the time she

originally notified the court of her situation nor at the time

she filed her petition for immediate entitlement. Until a

court actually terminates parental rights, through an ap-

propriate order, those rights remain in effect. Kentucky

law is clear that where suflicient reason is shown, there

may be a revocation of consent to adopt before a final

judgment is entered. Skaggs v. Gannon, 293 Ky. 795, 170

S. W. 2d 12 (1943). In this sense, there is no significant

difference between a voluntary termination of parental

rights and a consent to adoption.

In Hill v. Poole, Ky., 493 S. W. 2d 482 (1973), a change

in circumstances constituted sufficient reason to withdraw

a consent to adoption. The father had remarried, estab-

lished a home, had a job, was making sufficient money to

support himself and his family, and desired for his son to

be with him. The revocation occurred one year after the

father voluntarily left his son with his neighbors.

Sufficient reason to revoke a consent to adoption is

present when the consent is given under circumstances of

temporary distress. Warner v. Ward, Ky., 401 S. W. 2d 62

(1966). Temporary distress is an understatement of the

situation in this case. The trial court found in this action,

and we are in complete agreement, that Mrs. Van Wey was

in a desperate state of need and subject to those who ar-

ranged for her travel to Kentucky for the birth and even-

tual adoption of her child. A change of mind by a natural

66a

mother is not an evii, but it is to be accorded great sym-

pathy and in the proper case encouraged and favored.

Scarpetta v. Spence-Chapin Adoption Service, 28 N.Y. 2d

185, 269 N. E. 2d 787 (N. Y. Ct. App. 1971). Generally, a

natural parent has the primary and superior right to the

custody of offspring above all others. Lee v. Thomas, 297

Ky. 858, 181 S. W. 2d 457 (1944).

Since there was a timely revocation of consent, the trial

court abused its discretion in terminating Mrs. Van Wey’s

parental rights. As a matter of law, sufficient reason was

given to revoke the petition to terminate. In order to

thereafter issue a judgment in opposition to the wishes and

consent of the natural mother, the conditions required for

an involuntary termination must be clearly proven. There

was no finding that Mrs. Van Wey was an unfit mother.

In fact, a report from the Iowa authorities was very favor-

able in regard to her current circumstances and ability to

care for the infant and in regard to her relationship with

her daughters.

It is true that in a voluntary termination, the best in-

terest of the child is to be considered paramount. KRS

199.601(7). But, so long as the parents are fit for the care,

custody and control of a child, their rights are not involun-

tarily terminated simply because a child’s economic, social

or emotional environment can be improved by placing it in

another home. Such considerations have never been ap-

proved as an adequate basis for the termination of parental

srights, at least in this country. Small v. Andrews, 530 P.

2d 540 (Ore. App. 1975). The trial court also considered

the emotional bond that had developed between the baby

and the O’Neal’s during the time the child had been in their

home. This may be a strong argument and consideration,

but “those hoping to become adoptive parents cannot create

their best argument for keeping a child’s custody by thwart-

ing a natural parent’s known wishes.” Small v. Andrews,

67a

530 P. 2d 540 (Ore. App. 1975), at 545. The O’Neal’s may

not be allowed to benefit from their delays in returning the

child.

All of the parties involved in this situation were made

aware of Mrs. Van Wey’s change of mind within 24 hours

of the infant’s removal from the hospital. The attorney

notified the O’Neal’s on January 26, but the O’Neal’s refused

to return the baby. A follow-up call at 11:30 p.m. that

same night advised the O’Neal’s to “sit tight,” as she be-

lieved she could obtain Mrs. Van Wey’s signature for a

termination on the following morning.

While we sympathize with the O’Neals and have no

doubt as to their parental qualifications, the record also

shows that they were advised of the dangers in independent

adoption by an employee of the Department for Human

Resources. Furthermore, their payments to the attorney

do not entitle them to a child when the rights of the natural

parent have been ignored.

Should the decision of the trial court be allowed to

stand, the problems facing the O’Neals are not necessarily

settled. This case is further tainted with such problems

as the termination of the father’s parental rights. Both

Stanley Van Wey and John Adler requested the court by

letter not to terminate their rights. The trial court sum-

marily terminated the rights of Stanley Van Wey, but no

action has been taken involving the admitted biological

father. See, KRS 199.480, Goldfuss v. Goldfuss, Ky., 565

S. W. 2d 441 (1978), and Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U. S. 645,

31 L. Ed. 2d 551, 92 S. Ct. 1208 (1972).

One final black mark in this case, which we cannot over-

look, is the matter of legal representation provided to Mrs.

Van Wey at the time she signed the petition for voluntary

termination. According to the record, the O’Neals believed

the attorney was representing their interest, but she testi-

fied that she was representing Mrs. Van Wey and that the

68a

O’Neals were merely paying her fees. It appears to us

that she was primarily representing her own interests on

the morning of January 27. There was an obvious conflict

with her “client,” as she was well aware of Mrs. Van Wey’s

desire to keep her baby. She had even been notified by

Legal Aid that Mrs. Van Wey had made an appointment to

seek their representation. None of these facts were re-

vealed to the trial judge. Although it is conceivable that

the attorney thought Mrs. Van Wey had freely, independ-

ently, and voluntarily changed her mind again, the facts

make such a view highly suspect, at best.

It has been held that a natural mother, not represented

by counsel at the time consent to adoption is given, will not

be denied the legal effect of a withdrawal when reasonable

steps are taken to regain custody of her child. Neither the

so-called vested rights nor the superior economic position

of the adoptive parents will preclude a withdrawal of con-

sent in such circumstances. Skaggs, supra, and Small,

supra.

Our decision in this case should in no way inhibit the

successful placement of children in adoptive homes when

such is done through a legitimate child-care agency or when

the child is placed in a home subsequent to a final termina-

tion of parental rights. This case is an example of what

can happen if attorneys use the courts to conduct a baby

placement business and then put their business interests or

a third party’s interests above those of their “client.”

The problems in this case not only involve the facts and

the law, but also its peculiar odium. It is the opinion of

this Court that the infant child must be returned immedi-

ately to its natural mother. The alleged voluntary consent

was not of a continuous nature. Even assuming the consent

was voluntary and freely given at the time the petition was

signed, it was properly withdrawn prior to any final action

which would otherwise have terminated Mrs. Van Wey’s

69a

rights to her child. There is no basis shown, in fact or law,

for an involuntary termination. The orders of the Jeffer-

son Cireuit Court are reversed, and this case is remanded

for entry of a new order consistent with this opinion.

ALL Concur.

Attorneys for Appellant:

ELLEN G. FRIEDMAN

ROBERT FREDERICK SMITH

Legal Aid Society, Inc.

425 W. Muhammad Ali Blvd.

Louisville, KY 40202

Attorneys for Appellees:

IRENE P. LONG

Route 2

Bedford, KY 40006

STEPHEN P. SMITH, JR.

1526 Ky. Home Life Bldg.

Louisville, KY 40202

Guardian Ad Litem for the Infant:

CHARLES DOBBINS, JR.

600 W. Main

Louisville, KY 40202

70a

APPENDIX 8

COURT OF APPEALS OF KENTUCKY

No. 81-CA-2181-MR

CurisTInE Van WEY . . - - . Appellant

v.

Raymonp F. O’NEat,

Donna O’NEaL, and

Basy Boy Van Wey - - - - - Appellees

Appeal from Jefferson Circuit Court

Honorable Jack E. Mudd, Judge

Action No. 81-AD-0037-T

ORDER DENYING PETITION FOR REHEARING

Berore: Hoccr, Howerton and Wuirte, Judges.

This case being submitted upon the Petition for Rehear-

ing by appellees O’Neals and the Guardian ad litem and

the Court after considering same and being sufficiently ad-

vised Orpers that said Petitions for Rehearing be and they

are hereby Dentep.

It is further ordered that the opinion rendered herein

on May 28, 1982, be modified on its face, and the attached

pages 1 through 13 be substituted for the corresponding

pages as originally rendered.

EntTerep: August 13, 1982

(s) John D. White

Judge, Court of Appeals

7la

APPENDIX T

TERMINATION OF PARENTAL RIGHTS

199.600 Repealed

HISTORY: 1978 H 98, § 18, eff. 6-17-78

1976 H 99, H 731, § 99; 1974 H 368, § 38, S 259, § 10;

1972 S 173; 1968 S 90; 1966 e 219; 1962 ¢ 211, § 5;

1950 ¢ 125, § 23

Note: For provisions similar to 199.600, see now

199.603.

199.601 Voluntary termination of parental rights; peti-

tion; hearing 2

Note: See also following repeal of this section eff.

7-1-82,

(1) A petition for the voluntary termination of paren-

tal rights may be filed by a parent.

(2) No petition may be filed under this chapter prior

to five (5) days after the birth of the child.

(3) The cireuit court shall have jurisdiction of pro-

ceedings under this chapter to terminate parental rights.

A petition for voluntary termination of parental rights may

be filed in any circuit court of the Commonwealth.

(4) The petition for the voluntary termination of pa-

rental rights under this section shall be verified and contain

the following:

(a) Name and place of residence of each petitioner;

(b) Name, sex and date of birth of the child;

(c) Relationship of each petitioner to the child;

(d) Reasons for desiring the termination of parental

rights;

(e) Name and address of the person or of the depart-

ment or authorized agency to which parental rights are

sought to be transferred.

72a

A statement that the person, department or authorized

agency to whom custody is to be given has facilities avail-

able and is willing to receive the custody of the child shall

be filed with the petition.

(5) When a petition for the voluntary termination of

parental rights is filed, the court shall set a date for a

hearing thereon. The court shall require notice to be

served upon the department for human resources in any

case where a statement from the department of willingness

to accept custody of the child has not been filed with the

petition, or custody of the child is to be placed with an

individual and not the department or a licensed agency.

(6) All hearings shall be held before this court, pri-

vately for the purpose of determining the facts.

(7) The best interest of the child shall be considered

paramount.

(8) At the time of the hearing, the court, after full and

complete inquiry, shall determine whether each petitioner

is fully aware of the purpose of the proceedings and the

consequences of KRS 199.601 to 199.617.

HISTORY: 1978 H 98, § 8, eff. 6-17-78

Note: See also following repeal of this section eff.

7-1-82.

CROSS REFERENCES

See Baldwin’s Kentucky Practice, Vol. 4, Adoption 1.17,

3.01 et seq.

Annotations from former section

199.620 VOLUNTARY TERMINATION OF PAREN-

TAL RIGHTS

561 SW (2d) 106 (App 1977), Hill v. Garner. A volun-

tary termination of parental rights constitutes a final re-

linquishment of all legal rights and such parent has no

standing to oppose an adoption of child. ’

73a

OAG 65-505. Since KRS 2.015 was intended to only

amend those statutes falling within generic class:“cation,

e.g., “infant”, “majority”, and since CR 17.03(1), relating

to actions brought by unmarried infants, uses the term

“infant” and makes no reference to specific number of

years, an unwed mother over eighteen can bring an action

for termination of parental rights on her own, individually,

and CR 17.03(1) does not apply to a person of that age.

1955 OAG 35,632. An unwed infant mother can only

file an action or application to terminate her parental rights

to her child through her guardian or committee, and in the

absence of a guardian or committee, or their unwillingness

to file such action, it must be filed by a next friend through

permission of the court.

199.601 Repealed

HISTORY: 1980 ¢ 280, § 152, eff. 7-1-82

1978 H 98, § 8

Note: See also preceding section in effect until 7-1-82.

199.603 Involuntary termination of parental rights of

parent of dependent, neglected or abused child

Note: See also following repeal of this section eff.

7-1-82.

(1) In a proceeding involving a dependent, neglected

or abused child, as defined in KRS 199.011, the circuit

court may terminate all parental rights of the parent of

such child, and declare the child to be a ward of the state,

and vest the care and control of the child in the department,

or in any licensed child-caring or child-placing agency or

institution, if facilities are available to receive the child, and

if it is pleaded and proved by preponderance of the evidence

in a private hearing that the termination is in the best in-

terest of the child based on the existence of one (1) or both

of the following conditions:

(a) The child has been adandoned; or

74a

(b) The child has been substantially or continuously or

repeatedly neglected or abused.

(2) In the case of conditions described in subsection

(1)(a) or (b), no finding by the court is necessary that

the abandonment, neglect or abuse was intentional if in

fact the abandoninent, neglect or abuse occurred.

(3) Factors to be considered by the court in determin-

ing the best interests of the child in circumstances of

abandonment, neglect, or abuse shall include:

(a) Emotional illness, mental illness, or mental defi-

ciency of the parent rendering the parent consistently un-

able to care for the immediate and ongoing physical or

psychological needs of the child for extended periods of

time based on psychological or psychiatric evidence;

(b) Acts of abuse or neglect toward any child in the

family ;

(c) Repeated or continuous failure by the parents to

provide the child with adequate food, clothing, shelter, or

other care and control necessary for his physical, mental,

or emotional health and development except that poverty

alone shall not be grounds for involuntary termination of

parental rights;

(d) If the child has been placed with the department

or a child placing or child caring agency, the services pro-

vided or offered to the parent to facilitate a reunion, includ-

ing the parents’ testimony concerning such services;

(e) The effort the parent has made to adjust his cir-

cumstances, conduct, or conditions to make it in the child’s

best interest to return him to his home in the forseeable

future;

(f) The extent to which the parent has maintained

regular visitation or other contact with the child as part

of a plan to reunite the child with the parent;

75a

(g) The payment of a reasonable portion of substitute

physical care and maintenance if financiallly able to do so;

(h) Whether additional services would be likely to

bring about lasting parental adjustment enabling a return

of the child to the parent within an ascertainable period of

time.

(4) If the circumstances described in subsections (1),

(2), or (3) of this section exist with respect to only one

(1) of the two (2) parents, the parental rights of that

parent may be terminated, in which case the child shall

not be declaré@ to be a ward of the state, unless with the

voluntary consent of the other parent, or if one (1) of the

two (2) parents has willfully, substantially, and contin-

uously refused for a period of at least one (1) year to

give or pay any support, the parental rights of that parent

may be terminated immediately by order of the court, in

which case the child shall not be declared a ward of the

state, unless with the voluntary consent of the other parent.

(5) In the event the infant is made party defendant to

the action, the boarding home or foster parent shall not

be served with summons notwithstanding provisions of

CR 4.04(2).

(6) The court may be convened at any time wherever

the judge thereof may be found within the district irre-

spective of the regular term for the purpose or terminating

parental rights under this section, and shall complete the

same as soon as possible.

(7) Proceedings under KRS 199.601 to 199.617 may be

instituted upon petition by the department, any child-plac-

ing agency licensed by the department, any probation offi-

cer, any state or local law enforcement officer, any county

or Commonwealth’s attorney or parent.

(8) In the event a parent who is a defendant in an

action for involuntary termination of parental rights is

for financial reasons unable to obtain legal representation,

the court shall appoint an attorney for such person if de-

76a

fendant requests counsel. The court shall inform the de-

fendant of his right to counsel if possible. The court shall

appoint counsel for any defendant under this statute if in

the opinion of the court justice will be served. Unless the

attorney appointed receives a salary or fee from another

source, he shall be paid a reasonable fee for his services

which shall be taxed as costs not to exceed three hundred

dollars ($300).

(9) In any action for involuntary termination of pa-

rental rights, te child to whom the action directly relates

shall be made a party defendant to the action and a guar-

dian ad litem shall be appointed to represent his interest.

HISTORY: 1978 H 98, § 10, eff. 6-17-78

77a

APPENDIX U

[3]

Mr. Smith: Well, in the past times when we have ap-

peared here it has been the contention of counsel for the

petitioner that this was a hearing for the sole purpose of

immediate entitlement. It is our position, and has been

from the beginning, that this is a hearing to determine not

only that, but, also, the court has the authority to make a

decision concerning permanent custody.

The Court: No, I’m not fixing custody. We’re here

on a motion for possession of immediate entitlement, as

[4]

far as I know.

Ms. Friedman: That’s correct, Your Honor.

Mr. Smith: There is a case that holds that the court

is also within its province to determine at the same time

the question of —

The Court: Well, a certain amount of that overlaps.

You can’t help but get into both issues; if it is developed

that the best interest and welfare of the child would be

endangered by granting immediate entitlement, the court

would not grant that.

Mr. Smith: Well then, if I understand the court cor-

rectly, the only question before the court today is the

question of immediate entitlement?

The Court: Principally, that’s the main issue here, the

question of immediate entitlement.

PROOF OF SERVICE

I, Ellen G. Friedman, the counsel of record for peti-

tioner, having been admitted to practice before the Su-

preme Court of the United States, do hereby certify that

three (3) copies of the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

in the above-styled case were mailed, first class postage

prepaid, to Irene P. Long, Counsel for Respondent, Route

2, Bedford, Kentucky 40006; Stephen P. Smith, Jr., Counsel

for Respondent, 1526 Kentucky Home Life Building, Louis-

ville, Kentucky 40202; and Charles Dobbins, Jr., Counsel

for Baby Boy Van Wey, 600 West Main Street, Louisville,

Kentucky 40202, on the a a day of January, 1984. I

further certify that to my knowledge all parties required

to be served have been served.

Eien G. FrrepMan

Counsel for Petitioner

Legal Aid Society, Inc.

425 West Muhammad Ali Blvd.

Louisville, Kentucky 40202

Telephone: (502) 584-1254

(THIS PAGE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK)

(THIS PAGE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK)

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.