Petition — HOOD v. UNITED STATES (Nos. 83-860, 83-858)

Supreme Court brief1983

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

83-860

Office - Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED

No. NOV 25 1983

IN THE LE DE = Ss EVAS,

Supreme Court of the Wnited-States ——

OcTOBER TERM, 1983

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Respondent,

Vs.

CLype Epwarpb Hoop, Jr.,

and James M. ALLEN,

Petitioners.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

WILLIAM R. WILLIS, Jr.

ALFRED H. KNIGHT

Wituis & KNIGHT

215 Second Avenue, North

Nashville, Tennessee 37201

(615) 259-9600

Counsel for Petitioner

Clyde Edward Hood

Tyree B. Harris, Ill wt

Tyree B. Harris, 1V

Dopson, HARRIS, ROBINSON

and ADEN

315 Union Street, Suite 900

Nashville City Bank Building

Nashville, Tennessee 37201

(615) 244-6840

Counsel for Petitioner

James M. Allen

November 23, 1983

aS ————————————

St. Louis Law Printing Co., Inc., 411 No. Tenth Street 63101 314-231-4477

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I.

In a criminal trial involving massive adverse pre-trial publici-

ty, does the trial court commit reversible error in its voir dire ex-

amination of prospective jurors:

1) If it refuses defense counsels’ repeated written and oral re-

quests that prospective jurors be asked whether, and to what ex-

tent, they have been exposed to pre-trial publicity about the

defendants and the case; what, if any, knowledge they have

about the defendants and case; and whether they hold opinions

concerning the guilt or innocence of the defendants; and

2) If it confines all voir dire questioning concerning prospec-

tive jurors’ exposure to adverse publicity, and knowledge and

opinions concerning the defendants and the case, to the follow-

ing statement, repeated en masse to prospective jurors:

[Will you be able to put from your mind whatever

you may have seen and heard, and any opinion

which you may have tentatively reached, and then

to decide this case solely on the facts as you deter-

mine them to be, on the sole basis of the evidence

which will be adduced in this trial, after application

of the appropriate law? (Accepting silence as as-

sent).

Whether this method of questioning deprives defendants of a

reasonable opportunity to secure a fair and impartial jury, in

that it permits prospective jurors to subjectively decide whether

they hold disqualifying biases, without providing the court or

counsel with any objective information with which to in-

dependently determine whether jurors actually hold such dis-

qualifying biases.

Ill.

Whether this method of questioning unreasonably impairs

the defendants’ exercise of their right of peremptory challenge,

by depriving them of information essential to the intelligent ex-

ercise of that right.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

SEI. cwiavuneuce cba sebaeh ae ct we etn i

ET PP rr Oe Oe ere l

en gr eg i ren Lanercee I

Constitutional Provisions Involved .................. 2

eT ee GE hl etewew seine s ve eassekere's 2

1. Proceedings In The District Court For The

Middle District Of Tennessee.............0.000- 2

2. The Court of Appeals Panel Decision ....... 6

3. The Court of Appeals en banc Decision...... 7

Reasons For Granting The Petition.................. 10

1. Conflict With Supreme Court Holdings—

Disqualification For Cause .........cccccsccees 10

2. Conflict With The Holdings Of Other Circuits

—Disqualification For Cause .................. 12

3. Conflict With The Holdings Of Other Circuits

—Impairment Of The Right Of Peremptory

GC bits coh ba edcs eae ob eh lesa weerecets 1S

4. Impact Of The Decision Upon The Ad-

Rs HD Kc bes cbsarcrscusacevees. 15

A. It will unnecessarily impair the right to a

fair jury in highly publicized cases, by permit-

ting trial judges to discard, without justifica-

tion, the only effective means of insuring a

fair jury—intensive voir dire examination ... . 16

B. The holding is illogical and confusing,

because it authorizes the greatest restrictions

upon voir dire in those cases in which pre-trial

publicity has been the most prejudicial ...... 17

C. The decision unfairly imposes the

burden of proving prejudice upon the defen-

dant, while denying him the means of sustain-

RTS PR PES CT eee Ty 18

ED 5 cca Cavasaveseauodiacanearacs nes edvucun 19

Appendix:

Opinion of U.S. Court of Appeals .................. A-l

Cent SI OU PONE oo can cc ccteccccesccs A-65

Portion of Memorandum In Support Of Motion Of

Leonard Ray Blanton For Right Of His Counsel

To Participate In Voir Dire Examination......... A-66

Portion of the proposed voir dire questions submitted

Sr a ne SII 6 o.bce6c dee wccscccseer A-68

Motion of defendant Hood requesting voir dire ex-

amination of prospective jurors individually ...... A-71

Portion of the proposed voir dire questions submitted

er ee I ION sg oc ce tiacc ccvesadecncanes A-72

Counsels’ requests for direct questioning of jurors con-

cerning exposure to publicity ................... A-75

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Brinlee v. Crisp, 608 F.2d 839 (10th Cir. 1976)......... 12

Calley v. Callaway, 519 F.2d 184 (Sth Cir. 1975) ....... 16

‘ +

Irvin v. Dowd, 366 U.S. 717, 6 L. Ed. 2d 1250 (1969)... 10,11

Marshall v. United States, 360 U.S. 310, 3 L. Ed. 2d

INL chon cites vous ad waiabaceeeneea uae’ 10,11

Nebraska Press Association v. Stuart, 427 U.S. 539,

a I os hci oe eka eS cova ee ead 16

Patriarca v. United States, 402 F.2d 314 (Ist Cir. 1968) . 12,14

People v. Manson, 61 Cal. App. 3d 102 (1976) ........ 16

Shepard v. Maxwell, 384 U.S. 333, 16 L. Ed. 2d 600

RAAT A al a Pe MRE RD Sno REN A ee ae 16

Silverthorne v. United States, 400 F.2d 627 (9th Cir.

EE er De lee age ees AS PLD, Sank 2 12,14

Swain v. Alabama, 80 U.S. 202, 13 L. Ed. 2d 759 (1965) 15

United States v. Blount, 479 F.2d 650 (6th Cir. 1973) ... 15

United States v. Caldwell, 543 F.2d 1333 (D.C. Cir.

EIEN EL nT Om wae He 12

United States v. Davis, 583 F.2d 190 (Sth Cir. 1978) .... 12

United States v. Dellinger, 472 F.2d 340 (7th Cir. 1972) 12,14,15

United States v. Denno, 313 F.2d 364 (2nd Cir. en banc

Se rs. de Ca be ka Adware beeen eee 12

United States v. Ehrlichman, 546 F.2d 910 (D.C. Cir.

Pda cavccenkatavedvsdvekewasnssneenen 16

United States v. Haldeman, 559 F.2d 31 (D.C. Cir.

SU Gt Lacs hones ca seus kai ameeeuewh ase 16

United States v. Hawkins, 658 F.2d 279 (Sth Cir. 1981) 12,13,14

United States v. Johnson, 584 F.2d 148 (6th Cir. 1978). . 15

United States v. Provenzano, 620 F.2d 985 (3rd Cir.

DN oN au de tia cds vewene pene bee netreun 12

vi

Statutes:

re 2

Constitutional Provisions:

Constitution of the United States, Sixth Amendment... 2,19

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcToOBER TERM, 1983

,

UnitED STATES OF AMERICA

Respondent,

VS.

Ciype Epwarpb Hoop, Jr.,

and JamMes M. ALLEN,

Petitioners.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

The Petitioners, Clyde Edward Hood, Jr. and James M.

Allen respectfully pray that a Writ of Certiorari issue to review

the en banc judgment and opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, entered in this case on September

28, 1983.

OPINIONS BELOW

The panel opinion of the Court of Appeals, reversing the

defendants’ convictions, is reported at 700 F.2d, 298 (6th Cir.

1983). The en banc opinion of the Court of Appeals, affirming

the petitioners’ convictions upon rehearing, is not yet generally

reported, and is reprinted in the appendix.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

was entered on September 28, 1983, and this Petition for Cer-

)

|

tiorari was filed within 60 days of that date. This Court’s

jurisdiction is invoked pursuant to 28 USC Sec. 1254 (1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

The Sixth Amendment to the United States Constitution pro-

vides in pertinent part:

Rights of the accused—In all criminal prosecutions, the ac-

cused shall enjoy the right to a speedy and public trial, by an im-

partial jury of the State and District wherein the crime shall

have been committed. . .

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. Proceedings In The District Court For The Middle District

Of Tennessee.

The Defendants in this case were Leonard Ray Blanton,

Governor of Tennessee from January, 1975 to January, 1979;

James M. Allen, a special consultant to Blanton for the first six

months of his administration; and Clyde Edward Hood, a

special assistant to Blanton from January, 1975 to November,

1977. The defendants were charged, in an indictment returned

on October 29, 1980, with eight counts of mail fraud (18 USC

1341), one count of Hobbs Act violation (18 USC 1951) and one

count of conspiracy (18 USC 371). On March 12, 1981, a

superseding indictment was issued, adding an additional mail

fraud count. The indictments charged the defendants with

unlawful conduct in connection with the issuance of retail li-

quor licenses by the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission.

The pre-trial publicity concerning the defendants and the case

was massive and adverse to a degree probably unprecedented in

Tennessee judicial history. The publicity included: 1) Con-

tinuous negative publicity from 1975 to the date of the indict-

ment concerning a succession of alleged illegal, improper and

unpopular actions by Blanton and members of his administra-

a ee

tion, which culminated in the official censor of Blanton by the

Tennessee State Legislature, and his premature ouster from of-

fice by the swearing in of his successor several days early; 2) The

pre-trial publication of the details of the prosecution’s case in

Nashville’s newspapers, including verbatim publication of the

indictment (which was so detailed that it, in effect, pled the

Government’s evidence), and publication of the substance of

the testimony of the Government's principal witness, which was

taken in a supposedly closed pre-trial deposition; and 3)

Newspaper coverage of a series of criminal proceedings against

Blanton's brother and uncle, and former members of the Blan-

ton administration, which occurred contemporaneously with,

or within weeks of the commencement of, the trial of the pre-

sent defendants.

The trial record contains 240 articles and editorials reflecting

this adverse publicity. All of the judges who reviewed the record

recognized that the publicity was massive, and potentially pre-

judicial. '

Prior to the trial, each of the defendants submitted written

questions to be asked prospective jurors during voir dire. In-

cluded were detailed questions concerning prospective jurors’

exposure to publicity about the defendants and the case, concern-

ing their knowledge about the facts of the case, and concerning

the existence, nature and substance of any opinions they held

' The District Judge stated: ‘‘! am shatteringly aware, through the

exhibits and otherwise, of the publicity that has already occurred,"’

and conceded that it created a ‘‘serious problem."' The majority en

banc opinion stated that ‘‘there was an extraordinary amount of pre-

trial publicity concerning this case and other cases involving officials

of the Blanton administration and some of Blanton's relatives."’ Judge

Engel’ s dissenting opinion characterized the pre-trial publicity as

y accusatory’’ and ‘ Sovenipenp- " Appendix, pp.

A-7, A-39, A-40.

ds dies

about the defendants or the case.’ Each of the defendants re-

quested that, to the extent necessary, prospective jurors be ques-

tioned individually, and out of the presence of other prospective

jurors.’

The trial court‘ refused to ask or permit the asking of the re-

quested questions, or of any comparable questions. He neither

asked nor permitted questions concerning veniremen’s exposure

to pretrial publicity, or their knowledge concerning the defen-

dants or the case. He neither asked nor permitted questions con-

cerning the existence or nature of opinions which veniremen

held about the defendants or the case. Instead, he merely asked ©

the veniremen to subjectively decide whether they held biases so

strong as to, in their opinion, disqualify them from fairly trying

the case. The form of this questioning, which was addressed en

masse to groups of veniremen throughout the voir dire process,

was as follows:

? Appendix, pp. A-60, 68-70, 72-74.

In her opinion concurring with the en banc majority, Judge Ken-

nedy indicates that the defendants waived their right to individual

questioning of jurors. As Judge Engel's dissenting opinion indicates,

this is simply a misreading of the record. In fact, counsel for all three

defendants made timely and specific requests that prospective jurors

be questioned individually. See, App., pp. A-37, 67, 71.

* The trial judge was John W. Peck, Senior Judge of the Sixth Cir-

cuit Court of Appeals, who was designated to sit after the local district

court judges recused themselves.

| am sure all of you have at some time read something

about this case in the newspapers, have heard something

concerning it on the radio at sometime, or have seen or

heard reference to it on television at some time.

ce

Similarly, it is entirely likely some of you may have formed

some tentative opinion concerning the probable guilt or in-

nocence of some of the persons involved, including these

defendants. However, the test to be applied in determining

your qualifications to sit as jurors is not whether you have

heard something about the case from the news media or

whether you have formed any kind of a tentative opinion

based on such reports, rather—and I put this in the form

of a question—the test is, will you be able to put from your

minds whatever you may have seen and heard, and any

opinion which you may have tentatively reached, and then

to decide this case solely on the facts as you determine

them to be, on the sole basis of the evidence which will be

adduced in this trial after application of the appropriate

law?’’ App., p. A-65.

Thirteen prospective jurors responded by stating that they

held opinions which they considered to be disqualifying. The

others made no response. The court accepted their silence as

meaning that they had subjectively decided that they had no in-

formation, and held no opinions, which would disqualify them

from sitting as jurors. Despite repeated, urgent requests by all

defense counsel’, which were joined in by the United States at-

torney*, no direct questioning was permitted concerning

veniremen’s exposure to publicity, or the existence or nature of

any adverse opinions they held.’

‘ App., pp. A-75-76.

* Assistant United States Attorney Aleta Arthur stated: ‘*{We]

would join in Mr. Willis’ [counsel for the defendant Hood] motion as

far as additional voir dire on publicity . . . The government would

urge Your Honor to do some more voir dire on publicity.’’ Appendix,

pp. A-75-76.

FI aan sense instructed veniremen not to reveal opinions

and reprimanded those who inadvertently did so. App., pp. A-37, 65.

—_

The entire voir dire process took one and one half days. Im-

mediately after the jury was impaneled, the defendant Hood

moved for a mistrial on the basis of the inadequacy of the voir

dire. The motion asserted that the questioning was insufficient

to determine whether the impaneled jurors had information or

held opinions that disqualified them to sit as jurors, and that it

impaired the defendants’ right of peremptory challenge, in that

it deprived them of information necessary for the intelligent ex-

ercise of that right. The trial court denied the motion.

On June 9, 1981, the jury returned verdicts finding Blanton

guilty on all counts of the indictment, Allen guilty on all counts

other than those which had previously been dismissed by the

Court (six mail fraud counts and one conspiracy count), and

Hood guilty on six mail fraud counts and the conspiracy count,

and not guilty on three counts of mail fraud and the Hobbs Act

Count. Blanton was subsequently sentenced to three years im-

prisonment and fined $11,000; Allen was sentenced to *wo years

imprisonment and fined $14,000; Hood was sentenced to eigh-

teen months imprisonment and fined $14,000.

2. The Court of Appeals Panel Decision.

The defendants appealed their convictions, asserting that the

conduct of the voir dire was an abuse of the trial court's discre-

tion, and that it had deprived them of their right to a pro-

cedurally fair trial. On February 11, 1983, a three-judge panel

of the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals held that the trial judge

had committed error in his conduct of the voir dire, and revers-

ed the defendants’ convictions, remanding the case for retrial.

700 F. 2d 298 (6th Cir. 1983). The panel held that the trial court

did not make a sufficient inquiry of prospective jurors to deter-

mine whether they should be excused for cause because of pre-

judicial information or opinions, and did not permit defense

counsel to obtain sufficient information to intelligently exercise

their right of peremptory challenge. The pane! concluded that

the method of questioning, which permitted prospective jurors

to subjectively assess their own qualifications to serve without

mis, Sas

Stating the factual basis for that assessment, was in conflict with

the holdings of every Circuit Court which had reviewed factual-

ly similar questioning:

It appears that the Second, Fifth, Ninth and Eleventh Cir-

cuits would reverse in a case like the one at bar. Dicta from

the First and District of Columbia Circuits indicate they

would reverse. The Third, Seventh and Tenth Circuits have

expressed suspicion of jurors’ assurances of impartiality,

but the facts in the cases from those circuits differ too

much from the instant case to determine how those courts

would ultimately rule. No court has approved of question-

ing as limited as the questioning in this case, where there

was substantial pre-trial publicity. 700 F. 2d at 307.

3. The Court of Appeals en banc Decision.

The United States Attorney subsequently filed a petition fora

rehearing, with a suggestion for rehearing en banc. The petition

was granted, and a rehearing en banc was held on June 19, 1983.

In an opinion filed on September 28, 1983, a majority of the

Court held that the voir dire questioning was sufficient, and af-

firmed the convictions of all three defendants. The opinion by

Chief Judge George Edwards was joined in by six members of

the Court. The other four members dissented, in opinions filed

by Judges Albert Engel and Damon Keith. Judge Floyd Gibson,

the author of the panel opinion, participated in the panel deci-

sion by designation as a senior judge of the Eighth Circuit Court

of Appeals, and therefore did not participate in the en banc

decision.

The majority opinion states that the trial court *‘probably’’

did not employ the best available method of voir dire question-

ing, and that the author of the opinion, Judge Edwards, hadin- -

itially believed that the questioning was legally inadequate. It

cites several reasons for Judge Edwards’ change of opinion, but

the primary reason appears to have been the same tactor which

the defendants contended made the voir dire questioning inade-

ay ee

quate: The extraordinarily massive and adverse nature of the

pre-trial publicity. The opinion states that the nature and extent

of the publicity justified /imiting the voir dire questioning, on

the ground that more extensive questioning of veniremen having

adverse information or opinions might have contaminated other

veniremen. It states that the trial judge ‘‘obviously’’ did not feel

that this problem could be solved by individual questioning of

prospective jurors, apparently because such individual question-

ing might have been covered in the press, and read by other pro-

spective jurors. App., pp. A-12, A-13.

The majority opinion concludes that limited voir dire ques-

tioning such as occurred in this case is justifiable only ‘‘under

similarly extreme circumstances, which include 1) charges

generating great public concern, 2) statewide media saturation

both before and during trial, and 3) then, only if the voir dire is

conducted by a trial judge as experienced in, and as sensitive to,

the competing legitimate interests of the individual defendants

and the State, as proved to be true in this case.’’ App., p. A-13.

In short, the principle adopted by the Court appears to be: the

greater the publicity, the more limited and uninformative the

voir dire questioning may be.

Judge Engel’s dissenting opinion summarizes the position of

the dissenting judges as follows:

The en banc opinion today establishes a new rule of law

governing jury selection in federal trials involving

widespread pre-trial publicity.

That new rule is that where inflammatory pre-trial publici-

ty is pervasive, inquiry into an individual juror’s

knowledge and predisposition is superfluous. The only

necessary inquiry, according to the majority, is whether

the juror believes in his own mind that he can lay aside

such knowledge and preconceived notions, and decide the

case only upon the evidence presented. The en banc opi-

as

nion further imposes upon the defense the burden of prov-

ing prejudice, although the trial court effectively precluded

any meaningful inquiry needed to establish it. These pro-

positions overrule established precedent. App., p. A-35.

The dissenting opinion challenges the basic premise of the

majority opinion, to the effect that detailed questioning was

properly avoided because it might have produced answers so

negative that other veniremen might have been ‘‘contaminated”’

by hearing them, or reading about them in the press. The dissent

responds by asking:

If the dreaded answer would contaminate the entire venire,

why would it not also contaminate the juror who entertain-

ed such notions .. .? App., p. A-43.

The dissent asserts that the possible existence of such negative

Opinions does not justify ‘‘evading the issue’’ by permitting

jurors who may hold them to pass through the voir dire pro-

cedure unquestioned, but, on the contrary, requires that such

opinions be exposed and eliminated from the jury panel by in-

tensive voir dire questioning. App., pp. A-S0-51.

The dissenting opinion also concludes that the trial court’s

refusal to permit more extensive questioning concerning

veniremen’s knowledge and opinions ‘‘completely frustrated

the right to exercise peremptory challenges, by preventing the

defense from acquiring the information it needed to effectively

utilize its peremptories.’’ App. p. A-45.

The separate dissenting opinion of Judge Damon Keith

adopts the reasoning of the Engel dissent, and concludes as

follows:

I am, frankly, at a loss to explain why the en banc court

has approved this voir dire. There are no cases on point

which approve questioning so limited as what was permit-

ted in this case. The majority opinion establishes an unwise

and dangerous precedent which tampers with basic rights.

App. p. A-64.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

1. Conflict with Supreme Court Holdings—Disqualification

for Cause.

The Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals has held in this case that,

in a trial involving massive pre-trial publicity, voir dire inquiry

into the existence of disqualifying biases may be limited to ask-

ing prospective jurors to subjectively determine whether they

hold such biases; and that defense counsels’ requests that in-

quiry be made into the factual basis of possible bias—such as

exposure to publicity, knowledge of the case, and the existence

of opinions which the juror does not consider disqualify-

ing—may properly be refused. The result of this unprecedented

holding is that the prospective jurors become the arbiters of

their own qualifications to serve.

This holding is in direct conflict with repeated holdings of this

Court, that a juror’s assessment of his own qualifications to

serve cannot be determinative. The test of a juror’s ability to

serve is—as the trial judge stated—whether he can lay aside any

prejudice or predisposition, and try the case on the evidence.

This Court has repeatedly held, however, that this test is to be

applied by the court, not the juror, and that the juror’s

assurances in that regard are not conclusive:

It is sufficient if the juror can lay aside his impression or

opinion and render a verdict based on the evidence

presented in court...

At the same time, the juror’s assurance that he is equal to

this task cannot be dispositive of the accused’s rights, and

it remains open to the defendant to demonstrate ‘‘the ac-

tual existence of such an opinion in the mind of the juror

as will raise the presumption of partiality.’’ Murphy v.

Florida, 421 U.S. 794, 800, 44 L. Ed. 2d 589, 595 (1975).

(See, also Irvin v. Dowd, 366 U.S. 717, 6 L. Ed. 2d 1250

(1969); Marshall v. United States, 360 U.S. 310, 3 L. Ed.

2d 1250 (1969); and Reynolds v. United States, 98 U.S.

145, 155, 25 L. Ed. 244, 246 (1878).)

This Court has held, on at least two occasions, that juries

were in fact disqualified by bias, despite their assurances to the

contrary, and have reversed convictions because the trial courts

improperly accepted the jurors’ assurances that they could try

the case fairly. /rvin v. Dowd, supra.; Marshall v. United

States, supra. In the /rvin case, veniremen were not only asked

whether they could set aside their knowledge and opinions, and

try the case fairly, but were asked direct questions concerning

their knowledge and opinions—the kinds of questions which

were not permitted in the present case. It was this latter ques-

tioning which the Supreme Court reviewed on appeal, and

which led the Court to reject the jurors’ contentions that they

could try the case fairly:

No doubt each juror was sincere when he said that he

would be fair and impartial to petitioner, but the

psychological impact requiring such a declaration before

one’s fellows is often its father. Where so many, so many

times, admitted prejudice, such statements of impartiality

can be given little weight. As one of the jurors put it,

**Your can’t forget what you hear and see.’’ 366 U.S. 717,

728 6 L. Ed. 2d, 751, 759.

The questioning approved in the instant case, which pro-

hibited veniremen from disclosing their knowledge of the case,

and their opinions to the extent they considered them not to be

disqualifying, deprived the trial and appellate courts of the in-

formation necessary to make an /rvin type analysis of the

veniremens’ assurances thai they could give the defendants a

fair trial. Had the trial court in /rvin employed the type of voir

dire used in the instant case, the Supreme Court would not have

had the information necessary to determine that the jury was in

fact disqualified, despite their assurances to the contrary. By the

same token, because we have in the present case only the jurors’

ee

assurances (by silence) that they could be impartial, it is possible

that the Blanton jury was in fact as prejudiced as was the /rvin

jury. The rule of law adopted by the Sixth Circuit in this case is

in irreconcilable conflict with the doctrine of /rvin, and the

other Supreme Court cases cited above.

2. Conflict with the Holdings of other Circuits—Disqualifica-

tion for Cause.

The Sixth Circuit’s holding in the present case is in conflict

with the holding of every other Circuit Court case in point.

Every other Circuit that has considerd the issue has stated that a

venireman’s assurance that he will give the defendant a fair trial

is not dispositive of his qualification to serve. Patriarca v.

United States, 402 F.2d 314, 318 (1st Cir. 1968); United States v.

Denno, 313 F.2d 364, 372 (2nd Cir. en banc 1963); United States

v. Provenzano, 620 F.2d 985, 995 (3rd Cir. 1980); United States

v. Davis, 583 F.2d 190, 197 (Sth Cir. 1978); United States v.

Dellinger, 472 F.2d 340, 375 (7th Cir. 1972); Silverthorne v.

United States, 400 F.2d 627, 639 (9h Cir. 1968); Brinlee v.

Crisp, 608 F.2d 839, 845, 846 (10th Cir. 1976); and United

States v. Caldwell, 543 F.2d 1333, 1345 (D.C. Cir. 1974). No

circuit has approved voir dire questioning in a publicized case

which was limited to asking jurors to determine their own

qualifications to serve. Every other Circuit which has decided a

case similar on its facts would hold the voir dire questioning in

the present case inadequate, and reversible error. Eg., United

States v. Davis, 583 F.2d 190 (Sth Cir. 1978); United States v.

Dellinger, 472 F.2d 340 (7th Cir. 1972); and Silverthorne v.

United States, 400 F.2d 627 (9th Cir. 1968). See also, Patriarca

v. United States, 402 F.2d 314 (1st Cir. 1968); and United States

ex. rel. Bloeth vy. Denno, 313 F.2d 364 (2nd Cir. en banc, 1963).

United States v. Hawkins, 658 F. 2d 279 (Sth Cir. 1981) is in

direct conflict with the holding in the present case. In Hawkins,

the trial court began the voir dire by asking the veniremen en

masse if they had heard, read or talked to anybody about the

—: a

case, whether they had formed opinions about the case, and, if

so, whether such opinions would affect them as jurors. The

veniremen collectively made no response. Counsel was then per-

mitted to question them, and learned that 48 out of 56 of them

had in some way heard about the case. Counsel moved that

these 48 be questioned individually so that a more intensive in-

quiry could be made concerning their exposure to publicity, and

its effect upon their ability to try the case. The court denied the

motion, stating that the only issue was whether the publicity had

adversely affected the prospective jurors, and that this issue had

been resolved by their failure to respond to the court’s questions

as to whether it had.

On appeal, the Fifth Circuit held that the voir dire inquiry

was so inadequate as to constitute reversible error, because it

was not calculated to give ‘‘reasonable assurance that prejudice

would be discovered if present.’” Having determined that some

jurors had been exposed to pre-trial publicity, the Court held

that the trial judge ‘‘should have determined for itself whether

any juror’s impartiality had been destroyed.’ (emphasis

added). The Court held that the veniremens’ acknowledgment

by silence that they could fairly try the case was no substitute for

an independent judicial determination >of their capacity to do

so:

The juror is poorly placed to make a determination as to

his own impartiality. Instead, the trial court should make

this determination. 658 F.2d at 285.

In comparing Hawkins to the present case, several points may

be noted: 1) Considerably more voir dire inquiry was permitted

at the trial level in Hawkins than in the present case. Jurors who

had heard about the case and had formed some opinion were at

least identified, and the inquiry was halted only when counsel

wished to question the veniremen individually about the

substance of their knowledge and opinions. No such

preliminary identification was permitted in the present case; 2)

ae yee

The pre-trial publicity in Hawkins was much less intensive and

massive than in the present case. 3) Hawkins illustrates the inef-

fectiveness of en masse questioning and assent by silence, such

as occurred in the present case. Questioned en masse, none of

the Hawkins veniremen responded. Questioned individually, 48

out of 56 stated that they had heard about the case.

The Ninth Circuit held questioning comparable to the

Hawkins questioning inadequate, and an abuse of discretion, in

Silverthorne v. United States, 400 F.2d 627 (9th Cir. 1968), and

‘the Seventh Circuit held questioning comparable to the ques-

tioning in the instant case inadequate, and an abuse of discre-

tion, in United States v. Dellinger, 472 F.2d 340 (7th Cir. 1972).

In Patriarca v. United States, 402 F.2d 314 (lst Cir. 1968), the

First Circuit affirmed the defendant’s conviction, because

defense counsel had expressly waived further voir dire, but the

Court established a mandatory voir dire procedure for future

cases that is in direct conflict with the holding in the instant

case:

In cases where there is, in the opinion of the court, a

significant possibility that jurors have been exposed to

potentially prejudical material, and on request of counsel,

we think that the court should proceed to examine each

prospective juror apart from other jurors and prospective

jurors, with a view to illiciting the kind and degree of his

exposure to the case or parties, the effect of such exposure

on his present state of mind, and the extent to which such

state of mind is immutable or subject to change from

evidence. 402 F.2d at 318.

On the issue of disqualification for cause, therefore, the Sixth

Circuit decision conflicts with the rule of law adopted by eight

other Circuits, and is in direct conflict with holdings of at least

the Fifth, Seventh and Ninth Circuits.

a:

3. Conflict With The Holdings Of Other Circuits—Impair-

ment Of The Right Of Peremptory Challenge.

This Court has held that the right of peremptory challenge is

‘tone of the most important rights secured to an individual”’

and that ‘“‘the denial or impairment of this right is reversible er-

ror, without a showing of prejudice.’’ Swain v. Alabama, 80

U.S. 202, 219, 13 L. Ed. 2d 759, 772 (1965). Several Circuit

Court decisions—including some from the Sixth Circuit—have

held that the right of peremptory challenge is impaired when

counsel is deprived of information essential to its intelligent ex-

ercise. Eg. United States v. Blount, 479 F.2d 650 (6th Cir. 1973);

United States vy. Johnson, 584 F.2d 148 (6th Cir. 1978); United

States v. Dellinger, 472 F.2d 340 (7th Cir. 1972). The Seventh

Circuit has held that it is an impairment of the right of peremp-

tory challenge, and reversible error, to deny defendants infor-

mation concerning veniremens’ exposure to pre-trial publicity

and knowledge of the case, even though the information would

not justify disqualifying them for cause. United States v. Dell-

inger, 472 F.2d 340 (7th Cir. 1972). Indeed, prior to the decision

in the instant case, the law in the Sixth Circuit was that defense

counsel were entitled to inquire into the ‘‘source and intensity”’

of prospective jurors’ exposure to pre-trial publicity, as an

essential part of the right of peremptory challenge. United

States v. Johnson, $84 F.2d 148 (6th Cir. 1978). The present

case apparently stands alone in holding that the denial of all

such information to a defendant in a highly publicized case is

not an impairment of the right of peremptory challenge.

4. Impact Of The Decision Upon The Administration Of

Justice.

Because it involves a procedure which occurs in every jury

case, the practical impact of this decision will be very great. This

is particularly true because the facts of the case are so extreme.

The potential for jury prejudice could hardly have been greater,

and the voir dire questioning which was approved could hardly

——

have been more limited. The decision would appear to justly

almost any limitation of voir dire questioning concerning

jurors’ knowledge and attitudes other than asking them to sub-

jectively assess their own qualifications to serve. Nor is the im-

pact of the decision limited to cases involving adverse pre-trial

publicity. The principle adopted appears to be equally ap-

plicable to voir dire questioning concerning racial prejudices,

prejudices arising from past relationships, and prejudices aris-

ing from general social and political attitudes.

The decision will have a severely negative impact upon the

existing law, in the following respects;

A. It will unnecessarily impair the right to a fair jury in highly

publicized cases, by permitting trial judges to discard, without

justification, the only effective means of insuring a fair

jury—intensive voir dice examination.

This Court has repeatedly held that use of criminal trial pro-

cedures such as voir dire, change of venue and jury sequestra-

tion are the appropriate means of reconciling the otherwise ir-

reconcilable demands of free press and fair trial. Eg. Shepard v.

Maxwell, 384 U.S. 333, 16 L. Ed. 2d 600 (1966); Nebraska Press

Association v. Stuart, 427 U.S. 539, 49 L. Ed. 2d 683 (especially

the concurring opinion of Justice Brennan). Recent history

demonstrates that these holdings are sound—that defendants

who have been subjected to intensive adverse publicity can ob-

tain apparently fair juries, if trial courts take the time and effort

to conduct adequate voir dire questioning. See, United States v.

Haldeman, 559 F.2d 31 (D.C. Cir. 1976); Calley v. Callaway,

519 F.2d 184 (Sth Cir. 1975); United States v. Ehrlichman, 546

F.2d 910 (D.C. Cir. 1976); People v. Manson, 61 Cal. App. 3d

102 (1976).

The instant decision rejects this constitutional philosophy. It

holds that intensive voir dire may be abandoned as counter-

productive if the publicity surrounding a case is great enough. It

holds that the trial judge in this case need not have done all that

wn. OT ox

he could have done to eliminate prejudice ‘rom the jury,

because he was entitled to conclude that the cure created a

greater risk than the disease. The necessary conclusion is that in-

fection of the trial process may be considered inevitable, and

therefore necessarily tolerable, in cases of great publicity. This

conclusion represents a significant defeat for the right to a fair

jury within the Sixth Circuit, which is as unjustified by ex-

perience as it is unfortunate in result.

B. The holding is illogical and confusing, because it

authorizes the greatest restrictions upon voir dire in those cases

in which pre-trial publicity has been the most prejudicial.

The instant decision holds that inquiry into prospective

jurors’ states of mind may be eliminated precisely in those cases

in which pre-trial publicity has been the greatest (and therefore

the probability of prejudice is the highest). This formulation is

illogical on its face, and will necessarily create great confusion

at the trial level. Even assuming the soundness of the Court’s as-

tounding premise—that it is better to seat a juror who holds pre-

judicial thoughts than to risk infecting other jurors by permit-

ting him to voice those thoughts—the holding will be extremely

difficult to apply in a logical fashion.

At what point, for example, is publicity great enough to re-

quire detailed voir dire, but not great enough to justify

eliminating it? More fundamentally, if detailed inquiry may be

eliminated in a case in which the probability of prejudice is as

high as in the Blanton case, may it not—by a similar balancing

of competing interests—be eliminated in all cases? What was

previously a logical principle (the greater the probability of pre-

judice, the greater the need for effective voir dire) has been con-

verted into an illogical and confusing one, which no one can in-

terpret with confidence, and which many will construe as licens-

ing trial judges to conduct voir dire however they choose.

—

C. The decision unfairly imposes the burden of proving pre-

judice upon the defendant, while denying him the means of sus-

taining that burden.

The facts of this case clearly illustrate the unfairness of this

aspect of the Court's decision. The voir dire produced no infor-

mation that would assist defense counsel in challenging prospec-

tive jurors for cause. Jurors either excused themselves on the

basis that they could not fairly try the case, or, pursuant to the

court's instruction, they made no statements concerning their

knowledge or opinions. After the trial was over, there was a

post-trial hearing in which one juror was questioned concerning

alleged anti-Blanton sentiments he had expressed. He was ques-

tioned in the manner in which counsel had asked that all

veniremen be questioned during voir dire. His responses in-

dicated some bias against the defendants, considerable

evasiveness, and were such as to possibly justify challenge for

cause, and certainly the exercise of a peremptory challenge.

The en banc opinion states that this testimony was the only

evidence relevant to jury bias, that it was ‘‘quite inconclusive’,

and that the Court had ‘‘searched this record for any other such

evidence pertaining to periods before, during or post-trial and

[had] found none.’’ App. p. A-33. The Court neglects to state

that the above testimony represented the only instance in which

questioning into jurors’ states of mind was permitted. The

Court need not have searched the record for further evidence of

bias; it need only have referred to the trial court's admonition to

veniremen not to reveal their knowledge or opinions, but simply

to decide-for themselves whether they were qualified to fairly try

the case.

The Court has made it clear that defendants in the Sixth Cir-

cuit will henceforth have the burden of proving juror prejudice,

and will be required to do so by eliciting admissions from pro-

spective jurors, even though they are barred from eliciting such

admissions by the rule permitting jurors to silently determine

ee

their own qualifications. To say the least, such a procedure af-

fords unprecedentedly inadequate protection for the Sixth

Amendment right to a fair and impartial jury.

CONCLUSION

For the above reasons, a Writ of Certiorari should issue to

review the judgment and opinion of the Sixth Circuit Court of

Appeals.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIS & KNIGHT

BY William R. Willis, Jr.

BY Alfred H. Knight

215 Second Avenue, North

Nashville, Tennessee 37201

(615) 259-9600

Attorneys for Petitioner

Clyde Edward Hood

DODSON, HARRIS, ROBINSON

& ADEN

BY Tyree B. Harris, Ill

BY Tyree B. Harris, IV

Suite 900, 315 Union Street

Nashville City Bank Building

Nashville, Tennessee 37201

(615) 244-6840

Attorneys for Petitioner

James M. Allen

APPENDIX

No. 81-5643

No. 81-5644

No. 81-5645

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

UnNrTEeD STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Appellee, |

APPEAL from the

| United States District

LEONARD Ray BLAnTon, (81-5644) Court for the Middle

CriypeE Epwarp Hoon, Jr., (81-5645) District of Tennessee.

James M. ALLEN, (81-5643)

Defendants-Appellants.

Vv.

Decided and Filed September 28, 1983

EN BANC

Before: Epwarps, Chief Circuit Judge, Livery, Encen,

KerrH, KENNEDY, MARTIN, JoNEs, ConTiE, KRUPANSKY and

WELLForD, Circuit Judges. °

Epwarps, Chief Circuit Judge, delivered the opinion of the

court in which LiveLy, Contre, KrupaNnsky and WELLForD,

Circuit Judges joined. Kennepy, Circuit Judge, concurred in

the majority opinion and filed a special concurring opinion

(p. 34). Encex, Circuit Judge, filed a dissenting opinion in

which Martin and Jones, Circuit Judges concurred (pp.

* Honorable Gilbert S. Merritt disqualified himself from the en banc

hearing of this case.

ey. ee

2 United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

35-60). Kerru, Circuit Judge, concurred with Judge Engel’s

dissent and filed a separate dissenting opinion (pp. 61-64).

Epwakrps, Chief Circuit Judge. In this case this circuit is re-

quired to review en banc the claims of the former Governor of

Tennessee and two associates that they have been deprived of

a fair jury trial. Their principal claim is that inadequate pro-

tective measures were employed by the trial judge in the

jury selection process to guard them against the prejudicial

effect of massive adverse pretrial media publicity.

We believe that we can and should accept much of the able

work accomplished by the panel’ which first heard this case.

We shall therefore deal afresh and in detail only with the

principal claim stated above upon which the original panel

agreed with appellants and ordered a new trial.

This claim we now subdivide into three questions and pro-

vide our answers:

1) Did the District Judge employ the best procedure possible

in his voir dire examination of the prospective jurors in

this case?

Probably not.

2) Did the trial judge abuse the broad discretion vested in

him by the rulings of the Supreme Court of the United

States in his impaneling of this jury?

No.

3) Did the voir dire examination of jurors suffice to produce

an impartial jury and fundamentally fair trial?

Yes.

We accept the original panel's statement of facts:

The three defendants are Blanton, who served as gov-

' The original panel consisted of Circuit Judges Albert J. el

and Damon J. Keith of this Court, and Chief ‘Tae Emeritus Fla

Gibson (now Senior Judge of the Eighth Circuit) who wrote

panel opinion.

Ns alae

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 3

ernor of Tennessee from January, 1975 to January, 1979,

James M. Allen, who was a special consultant to the

governor for the first six months of the Blanton adminis-

tration and had served as Blanton’s campaign manager,

and Clyde Edward Hood, who was a special assistant to

the governor from January, 1975 to November, 1977.

Defendants were charged on October 29, 1980, in a

twelve-count indictment with eight counts of mail fraud,

(18 U.S.C. §§ 2, 1341 (1976)), one count of violating

the Hobbs Act (18 U.S.C. §§ 2, 1951 (1976)), and one

count of conspiracy (18 U.S.C. § 371 (1976) ). Blanton

alone was charged with two counts of tax evasion and

filing a false tax return. (26 U.S.C. §§ 7201, 7206(1)

(1976) ). On March 12, 1981, a superseding indictment

was issued adding one mail fraud count. The tax counts

against Blanton were severed. The essence of the charges

was that defendants used their positions to see that

friends of Blanton would receive retail liquor licenses

from the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission

(ABC) and that one person paid Blanton for receipt of

his license.

The most important evidence against defendants was

the videotaped deposition of Jack Ham. Ham was an

immunized witness who was the recipient of a liquor

license during Blanton’s tenure and who allegedly agreed

to give Blanton a cut of the profits in violation of state

law. Ham had contributed $1,000 to the Blanton cam-

paign.

Blanton’s role in the scheme allege lly was that he di-

rected that liquor licenses be awarded to political friends

or persons like Ham who offered a cut of the profits. He

allegedly accomplished this by appointing two of the

three commissioners of the ABC, including the chairman,

S. J. King, and the commission was therefore able to

appoint Blanton allies as director and assistant director of

the ABC. Blanton allegedly agreed to an illegal twenty

percent cut of the profits of Ham’s liquor store, with the

payment coming in the form of Ham’s purchase of

4

— =

United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

allegedly worthless oil stock from Blanton for $23,000."

(This method of payment resulted in tax savings to

Ham.) Blanton also allegedly approved a transfer of

Ham’s liquor license to a more lucrative location.

Allen was alleged to have been in charge of determin-

ing the awarding of liquor licenses even though he had

no position at the ABC. He allegedly helped set up an

illegal ownership of a liquor store involving the ABC

chairman and he attempted to acquire a concealed in-

terest in a liquor store under the guise of a lucrative con-

sulting contract (only one payment was made under the

contract). He allegedly was responsible for hiring a new

ABC assistant director to help control the ABC even

though Allen was not even a state employee at the time,

and he instructed the assistant director to recommend

the transfer of Ham's license to a better location and

recommended against the transfer of other persons’ li-

censes to that area.

Hood allegedly planned to acquire an interest in two

liquor stores in contravention of various state laws and

he received a share of the profits of some of the newly

licensed liquor stores. He allegedly told the director of

the ABC who Blanton’s friends were so that the director

would recommend to the ABC that those persons receive

licenses. He allegedly helped accomplish the transfer of

Ham's license by talking to ABC chairman King and

by suggesting a particular person as the assistant director

who would persuade the other Blanton appointee on the

commission. Finally, he allegedly suggested that Ham

pay Blanton's share of the profits by buying the worthless

oil stock (although he later advised against the pur-

chase ).

The scheme violated Tennessee's laws against an ABC

‘A total of $38,000 was allegedly paid for the oil stock. In

addition to the $23,000 for Blanton’s cut of the liquor store

profits, Ham and his nephew, Bert Ham, paid another $15,000 as

a finder’s fee for Blanton's help in getting a loan on a housing

project they were building.

ee

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 5

commissioner having an interest in a liquor store,? public

officials having an interest in a liquor store,? undisclosed

interest in liquor stores,* and bribing of public officials.’

The federal charge was that the acts (1) constituted a

conspiracy to defraud the United States by use of the

mails in furtherance of defendants’ scheme to violate

Tennessee law (18 U.S.C. § 371), (2) when coupled

with mailings, constituted mail fraud by defrauding the

citizens of Tennessee of the honest services of their gov-

ernment officials (18 U.S.C §§ 2. 1341), and (3) violated

2 Tenn. Code Ann. § 57-1-108(a) (1980) provides: “[NJo per-

son shall be ee in any capacity by the commission, if

such person shall have any interest...in any... retail dealer

licensed as such in the state of Tennessee.”

3Tenn. Code Ann. § 57-3-210(b)(1) (1980) provides:

No wholesaler’s or retailer’s license shall be issued to a

person who is a holder of a public office... . It shall be

unlawful for any such person to have any interest in

such wholesale or retail business, directly or indirectly,

either proprietary or by means of any loan, mortgage, or

lien, or to participate in the profits of any such business[.]

4Tenn. Code Ann. § 57-3-210(f) (1980) provides: “It shall

be unlawful for any person to have ownership in, or participate,

either directly or indirectly, in the profits of any wholesale or

retail business licensed under this chapter, unless his interest

in said business and the nature, extent and character thereof

shall appear on the application... .”

5 Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-081 (1975) provides:

Any person who corruptly offers, promises, or gives to

any executive... officer... any gifts, gratuity, or thing

of value, with intent to influence his act, vote, opinion,

decision, or judgment, on any matter, cause, or proceed-

ing which may then pending, or which may be by law

brought before him in his official capacity, shall, on con-

viction, be imprisoned in the penitentiary ....

Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-802 (1975) provides:

Any executive . . . officer who corruptly , or

agrees to accept, any gift or gratuity, or ng of value

.. . under an agreement or with an understanding that

his vote, opinion, or judgment is to be given in any

particular manner, or upon any particular side of any

question or proceeding which is, or may by law be

brought, before him in his official capacity, or that, in

such capacity, he is to make any particular appointment,

shall, on conviction, be punished by imprisonment in the

6

ay tee

United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

the Hobbs Act (interference with commerce by threats

or violence) (18 U.S.C. §§ 2, 1951).

The testimony of the chief prosecution witness, Jack

Ham, was videotaped pursuant to Fed. R. Crim. P. 15(a)

because of Ham’s poor health. The videotape was edited

and played for the jury at the trial. The government ob-

tained Ham’s testimony offering him immunity from fed-

eral prosecution and civil tax liability, and the state

agreed not to prosecute Ham. The ABC agreed that it

would not revoke Ham’s lucrative liquor license on the

basis of truthful statements he made in judicial proceed-

ings. \

The trial was preceded by massive publicity about the

case in Nashville, Tennessee, and throughout the state,

as one would expect in the trial of a former governor.

The record contains over 240 articles from Nashville

newspapers adverse to defendants. There are approxi-

mately 160 articles which appeared in the six months

preceding the trial about the instant prosecution, the pro-

secution of Blanton’s brother, and the prosecution of

former Blanton aides.¢ There are more than seventy-five

6 Most of the very negative publicity came shortly after the

indictment: “Blanton Faces 12 Counts.” Oct. 30, 1980; “Enlist

Blanton’s Aid in Obtaining Licenses for Future Profits,” Oct.

30, 1980; “Allen’s Influence Had Wide Impact,” Oct. 30, 1980;

“Hood’s Success, Woes Laid To Misdirected Talent,” Oct. 30,

1980; “Blanton-Era Investigations Span 5 years,” Oct. 30, 1980;

“Blanton Faces Two Federal Court Trials,” Nov. 21, 1980. Not

all of the articles were negative: “Blanton’s Defense Said

Good,” Nov. 6, 1980; “Friends Eye Legal Fund for Blanton,”

Nov. 1, 1980. Two months before trial there were articles on

the criminal activities of Blanton aides: “Former ABC Head

Enters Guilty Plea,” Feb. 23, 1981; “Ex-Blanton Aide Enters

Guilty Plea,” Feb. 25, 1981; “ABC Probing Blanton Associate’s

License After Kickback Admission,” Feb. 26, 1981. The month

before the trial —— the superseding indictment was issued,

prompting more publicity: “Blanton, 2 Aides Indicted Again,”

Mar. 12, 1981. As late as four days before trial articles linked

Blanton to improper pardons of state inmates: “Tapes Link

Blanton to 30 Commutations,” Apr. 16, 1981; “Taylor on Tape

Links Ray Blanton To Clemency Deals,” Apr. 15, 1981. Blan-

ton’s brother Gene was also in the news shortly before trial

because of alleged improprieties: “Gene Blanton To Be Accused

of Not Telling $72,000 Income.” Mar. 24, 1981; “Gene Blanton

Pay, pen

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 7

other articles which appeared while Blanton was gov-

ernor concerning his administration.’ There are another

twenty-two articles on the deposition of Jack Ham, the

last of which appeared four months before the beginning

of the trial. A large part of the original indictment was

published verbatim in the Nashville newspapers. There

was also an offer of proof concerning the testimony of

news directors of three Nashville television stations about

the pretrial publicity. There can be no doubt that there

was an extraordinary amount of pretrial publicity con-

cerning this case and other cases involving officials of

the Blanton administration and some of Blanton’s rela-

tives.

Jury selection began on April 20, 1981. Testimony in

the case began on April 22, 1981, and was concluded on

May 29, 1981. Closing arguments and jury instructions

were completed on June 2, 1981. The court dismissed

three mail fraud counts and the Hobbs Act count as to

Allen. The jury deliberated until June 9, 1981, and found

Blanton guilty on all eleven counts. It found Allen guilty

on all the counts the court had not dismissed (six mail

fraud counts and one conspiracy count). It found Hood

guilty on six mail fraud counts and the conspiracy count,

but it found him not guilty on the other three mail fraud

counts and the Hobbs Act count. Blanton was sentenced

to three years and fined $11,000. Allen was sentenced to

two years and fined $14,000. Hood was sentenced to

eighteen months and fined $14,000.

Bought Autos With Business Funds, Says Frensley,” Apr. 16,

1981. Most of the other articles dealt with procedural aspects

of pretrial proceedings.

7 Most of these articles dealt with patronage in the Blanton

administration and the pardon of prisoners, including the pardon

- commuting of sentences of 52 prisoners, 23 of them mur-

erers.

& Some of the articles were entitled: “Ham Details Meetings

With Blanton.” Dec. 6, 1980; “Ham States Hood was ‘Silent

side ee " Dec. 16, 1980; “Ham Admits Riches, Refutes

Testimony On Pay to Blanton,” Dec. 18, 1980.

ay

8 United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

QUESTION Il.

Did the trial judge employ the best procedure possible

in his voir dire examination of the prospective jurors in

this case?

Probably not.

The only way this question can fairly be answered is to

read the entire content of the juror voir dire, which fills 289

pages of this trial record. We believe that every judge on the

en banc court has performed this task — although obviously

differences of interpretation remain. We cannot reprint the

entire voir dire, but we can reprint the panel's statement of

facts concerning it:

The trial court conducted the voir dire en masse. It

seated a group of veniremen it: the jury box and directed

questions at that group, but instructed the rest of the

veniremen in the courtroom to listen to and pay atten-

tion to the questions as the questions would apply equally

to all those selected. During the course of the voir dire

the trial court pointed out that the case had been the

subject of considerable media attention. It commented

that it was sure that all the veniremen had heard about

the case, and that some of them may have formed a ten-

tative opinion concerning the probable guilt or innocence

of the defendants: The court then said to the veniremen:

[T]he test is, will you be able to put from your

minds whatever you may have seen and heard, and

any opinion which you may have tentatively reached,

and then to decide this case solely on the facts as

you determine them to be, on the sole basis of the

evidence which will be adduced in this trial after ap-

plication of the appropriate law?

One juror was excused because she indicated she could

not be impartial. As new veniremen entered the jury box

to replace the ones who were excused for whatever rea-

son, the trial court would ask them essentially the same

ae yo

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. g

question on pretrial publicity. It usually said it wanted

to “particularly emphasize” the point. Out of ninety-two

veniremen examined, a total of thirteen were excused

because they indicated they had an opinion or prejudice

they could not put aside. Of these thirteen, four linked

their prejudice to pretrial publicity. Seven of these thir-

teen were excused when they said they had an opinion,

without the court inquiring into the nature or strength

of the opinion or whether it could be put aside. Twenty-

nine other veniremen were excused for cause for other

reasons and the parties excused twenty-eight others with

their peremptory challenges.

If we total the disqualifications which resulted from mea-

sures taken by the trial judge to secure an impartial jury, we

find that 70 out of a total of 92 veniremen were excused.

Accepting as we do appellant’s contentions that they ‘had

been the subject of massive publicity — much of it negative —

we believe the initial trial judge in this case had a more

serious problem than my colleagues in dissent tend to recog-

nize, that he recognized the problem to a greater extent than

they credit to him, and that he took some very significant

measures to deal with it, to which they fail to give sufficient

weight.

Governor Blanton ran for and was elected to the highest

office in Tennessee state government. This fact guaranteed

that for the term of office to which he was elected, he would

be constantly in the limelight and every act and word would

be subject to comment. The other two defendants accepted

positions in state government in close proximity to its head.

Under the First Amendment, neither the defendants nor any

court in the United States could (or should) have prevented

the public media comment which ensued. One of the trial

judge’s major problems was how to choose a jury without

having all potential jurors repeatedly exposed or reexposed to

adverse media opinion before the trial ever started. As we

— A-10 —

10 United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

read this record, he decided deliberately to avoid such re-

exposure and reemphasis.

He did repeatedly ask the following question, addressed

specifically to the nine jurors then seated in the jury box and

phrased to fit specific circumstances of the lengthy voir dire

examination:

[T]he test is, will you be able to put from your minds

whatever you may have seen and heard, and any opinion

which you may have tentatively reached, and then to

decide this case solely on the facts as you determine

them to be, on the sole basis of the evidence which will

be adduced in this trial after application of the appropri-

ate law?

In varying language he repeated this question 18 additional

times. The voir dire record, we believe, indicates that he was

sensitive to every suggestion of prejudice which came either

from jurors’ answers or defense counsel suggestion, and in most

instances responded with free use of his power to excuse a

juror for cause. He exercised that power 42 times.

The trial judge acted on the assumption that all potential

jurors in this case had been subjected to some portion of the

massive media coverage concerning the defendants in this

case. He apparently assumed that media coverage inevitably

would have had some prejudicial impact and that the best he

could do would be to persuade the individual members of the

venire to disclose any biases derived therefrom along with

any associations which might have a prejudicial effect. The

critical question in this case is whether this approach, when

considered together with the added precautionary measures

taken by the judge, was within his judicial discretion and was

so exercised as to produce an impartial jury.

The author of this opinion was initially persuaded by Judge

Gibson’s opinion for the panel that reversible error had been

committed by denial of either judicial or defense examination

— A-ll —

Nos. $1-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. ll

of individual jurors concerning specific instances of possibly

prejudicial media influence. The factors which changed that

opinion and which account for affirmance by a majority of the

en banc court were: 1) careful reading of this record, 2)

appreciation of the difficulty of preventing prejudicial error

resulting from repetition during jury selection of media com-

ment about defendants or from possible prejudicial statements

from members of the venire as they were questioned about

such comment, 3) appreciation of the sensitivity of the trial

judge to any hint of bias and his free use of his power to

excuse members of the venire from jury service in the interest

of securing an unbiased jury, 4) the availability of the ques-

tionnaires to the defense as an important tool available to the

defense for investigation of the venire, 5) the substantial in-

crease in number of peremptory challenges which the trial

judge approved and finally, 6) the fact that the trial judge

found specifically (and with substantial record support) that

the result achieved in this jury selection process was a fair

and impartial jury.

A major aspect of appellants’ claim of prejudice in the voir

dire examination concerned pretrial publicity which pertained

to other prosecutions of aids or relatives of Governor Blanton.

In particular, some of these charges were to the effect that

the Governor's aids were selling pardons to convicted criminals

in the last days of the Blanton administration. At one point,

the U.S. Attorney joined in a request for additional voir dire

presumably related to this specific problem. While the trial

judge denied the motions at that time, shortly thereafter, he

addressed the prospective jurors as follows:

THE COURT: Ladies and gentlemen, I have talked a

lot about pretrial publicity that has occurred in connec-

tion with this case, the fact that you probably have read,

heard things about the case. I have not discussed with

you the possibility that you may have been familiar

with some of the publicity that surrounded Mr. Blanton

at the end of his term of office as governor. It seems

12 United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

probable if you were in this State and area at this time

that you read and saw and heard something about the

circumstances.

Do any of you have recollection of any facts or cir-

cumstances which would cause you either to be inclined

to hold that against Mr. Blanton, or on the other hand,

to feel that he had been unfairly dealt with and should

have been vindicated? We are going back a fair period

of time.

But I ask you carefully to search your memories and

your consciences on that point. And I ask you as a

follow-up to that, does any of you remember anything

concerning the circumstance under which Mr. Blanton

left the governor's office which would in any way affect

your judgment in this case or render you incapable of

being completely fair and impartial concerning him and

his part in this case?

While in this statement the trial judge avoided repeating

the dramatic headlines which appeared above some of the

news stories concerning the pardon sale charges, it seems

obvious to us that the members of the venire both understood

and responded to his concern. We believe this response is doc-

umented in the voir dire examinations recorded in Appendix

pp. 1537-1728. All of these pages merit careful attention of

any reviewing authority.

Why, then, have we indicated that his handling of the voir

dire may not have been wholly adequate? The answer is that

we do not wish to imply disapproval in this Circuit of all

requests for individual questioning of jurors out of the pres-

ence of the entire venire, whether accomplished in chambers

or at the bench. In many trials a limited number of defense

questions, preferably submitted through the court with waiv-

er by the questioner of any prejudicial effect of the answer,

could be appropriate. We recognize that such a procedure in

itself would invite immediate problems and attendant risks

— A-13 —

’

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 13

as a result of the presence of the media. But we would not

rule out the possibility that adequate warnings could be given

to jurors not to expose themselves to the news media during

the course of the trial and deliberations. This might be ac-

companied by warnings to the press of possible hazards of

mistrial due to some printing or broadcasting of voir dire pro-

ceedings at a time preceding the announcement of the jury

verdict. In many — indeed, most — cases, such measures could

be effective. The trial judge obviously did not think they

would be here.

As the dissenting opinion points out, the strategy employed

by the trial judge in this case is unique. We do not recom-

mend it for emulation unless under similarly extreme circum-

stances. These would include at least 1) charges generating

great public concern, 2) statewide media saturation both

before and during trial, and 3) then only if the voir dire is

conducted by a trial judge as experienced in and as sensitive

to the competing legitimate interests of the individual de-

fendants and the state as proved to be true in this case.

Every criminal trial is, of course, at least to some degree

unique. We do not seek to undertake the impossible task of

specifying exactly how this trial judge (or any future one)

should have employed his judicial discretion.

QUESTION 2

Did the trial judge abuse the broad discretion vested in

him by the rulings of the Supreme Court of the United

States in his impaneling of this jury?

We answer this question with a definite “No.”

The United States Supreme Court has not established any

per se rule which it requires trial judges to follow in the voir

dire of a jury venire. See Rosales-Lopez v. United States, 451

U.S. 182 (1981); Murphy v. Florida, 421 U.S. 794 (1975);

Beck y. Washington, 369 U.S. 541 (1962); Irvin v. Dowd, 366

— <)

14 United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

U.S. 717 (1960). These opinions emphasize the necessity of

the exercise of trial judge discretion concerning the problems

actually confronting him. In only one of these cases, Irvin v.

Dowd, supra, did the United States Supreme Court reverse a

conviction due to an unfair trial resulting from massive media

pretrial publicity.

As noted above the trial judge in this case was faced with a

problem. There was certain to be extraordinary publicity cov-

erage of the jury selection process, with the potential of prej-

udicial error creeping into the trial itself either in the court-

room or in media coverage. The repeated reading to the en-

tire venire of the most dramatic newspaper headlines (those

accusing the Blanton administration of selling pardons for

example) could have had an arguably serious prejudicial

effect. Even if he had (as suggested above) waited until

the very end of the selection process and then put the ques-

tions concerning prior media contact to each juror individual-

ly, he could not be certain that some juror or jurors would not

read or hear about on television the very questioning from

which they had been screened and about which they had

been admonished. Abuse of judicial discretion simply does

not fit this trial judge’s handling of this difficult trial. See

dialogue below:

Selected examples of the trial judge's handling of the

voir dire

I have been designated to come down and participate

in this trial because all of the federal judges in Tennessee

have recused themselves from participating. They asked

to be excused from participating in this trial because each

2 Actually all of the U.S. District Judges in the Middle District

of Tennessee had disqualified themselves. After completion of the

emeeten, < De dary, ae Sees Wiel Indes tn tie sss was forced to

the s illness and subsequent death

a US. Circuit Ju from the West-

ern District of Tennessee who completed the trial.

— A-15 —

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 15

of them felt that there might be some reason that either

he could not be completely fair and impartial, or that

the public, and perhaps the parties themselves, the at-

torneys or other people, might feel that they could not

be completely fair.

The only reason I mention that to you now is to in-

dicate that if judges very freely and frankly remove

themselves from the participation in a trial, if in the

course of this inquiry any reason occurs to you why

perhaps you could not be fair, you should have no re-

luctance whatever in indicating that fact to the Court.

The questions to be asked may indicate to the Court

or to counsel some reason that any one of you might

have difficulty in being fair in this case. And perhaps

even more importantly, this inquiry may indicate to you

yourself some reason why you might have difficulty being

fair and impartial. It may be perhaps very likely some-

thing you have never thought about yourself. But there

may be a suggestion contained in a question that will

cause you to say, “Perhaps I would have difficulty being

fair.” And in fairness and honesty to the parties, indicate

that fact to the Court. And of course, you will be ex-

cused from any further duties in the matter.

Ladies and gentlemen of the venire, while the ques-

tions at this particular stage of the procedure are di-

rected primarily to the 12 persons seated in the jury box,

I also ask that each of you listen carefully to all of the

questions that are asked so that if at some later stage of

the proceeding you are asked to occupy a seat in the

jury box, it will not be necessary to repeat all of the

questions which will be asked.

In that regard and for that purpose, I ask whether all

of you can hear me. The ladies and gentlemen there in

the back of the courtroom, are you having any difficulty

hearing at all? I take it that the public address system

is making it possible for you to follow the proceedings.

— A-16 —

16 United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

Ladies and gentlemen, if you have an affirmative

answer to a question, if there is some suggestion made

in a question that you know a person or you have a

feeling about a given matter, raise your hand and in-

dicate that circumstance to the Court. We will then

probably follow up on that question.

And I urge you to be extremely careful in answering

any question that may be put to you. Answer only the

precise question asked. Do not volunteer anything be-

yond the scope of the question itself. And again, I ask

that you listen carefully to the question and then limit

your answer precisely to answering the question, without

volunteering any additional information or any additional

opinion, anything of that nature.

For instance, if you are asked if you know a given

witness and you say, “Yes.” And you are asked if the

fact that you know that person would make you more

apt to believe him or disbelieve him, answer that ques-

tion simply yes or no. Do not say, “I would never believe

him because I know him to be a liar.”

Put it in that form. You may consider that a little

strong, but prospective jurors have made statements like

that. And the remedies that are required after a state-

ment like that is made in the courtroom are strenuous

ones. So please don’t volunteer any additional informa-

tion, and particularly, express any opinions that you

have not been asked to express.

Obviously, ladies and gentlemen, it would be difficult

for you to be fair and impartial if you knew any of the

parties well. And I therefore introduce them to you in

the order that they are named in the indictment.

At this point the trial judge identified the defendants and

those associated with the prosecution and the defense as

counsel.

In the same general context, ladies and gentlemen, I

— A-17 —

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 17

recognize that partially because of the fact that these

defendants held such offices, this entire matter has

been the subject of attention of the news media. I am

sure that all of you have at some time read something

about this case in the newspapers, have heard something

concerning it on the radio at some time, or have even

seen or hearc: reference to it on television at some time.

Similarly, it is entirely likely that some of you may have

formed some tentative opinion concerning the probable

guilt or innocence of some of the persons involved, in-

cluding these defendants. However, the test to be ap-

plied in determining vour qualifications to sit as jurors

is not whether you have heard something about the case

from the news media or whether you have formed any

kind of a tentative opinion based on such reports. Rather

— and I put this in the form of a question — the test is,

will you be able to put from your minds whatever you

may have seen and heard, and any opinion which

you may have tentatively reached, and then to decide

this case solely on the facts as you determine them to be,

on the sole basis of the evidence which will be adduced

in this trial after application of the appropriate law?

I take it from your silence that none of you feel that

he or she has been prejudiced by what you may have

heard or seen.

Yes, ma’am?

JUROR NO. 1 (SHEILA GIBSON): _ I have been

sitting here listening to you. And I am not sure that I

would be impartial. I do have somewhat of an idea,

from the things [ have read and heard.

THE COURT: Thank you very much. You may be

excused.

— A-18 —

18 United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

QUESTION 3

Did the voir dire examination of jurors suffice to produce

an impartial jury and a fundamentally fair trial?

The answer to this question is “Yes.”

The trial judge elected to deal with the problem by 1) ex-

tensive questioning concerning prior media impact and juror

associations, coupled with many dismissals based on even

hints of possible prejudice, 2) very substantial increases in the

number of peremptory challenges available to each defen-

dant (30 in all), and 3) reliance on defendants’ use of detailed

questionnaires concerning al] potential jurors coupled with

sensitive responses by the court to any of defendants’ chal-

lenges arising from such use.

What follows are selected illustrations or results of each of

these techniques as the trial judge employed them:

1) Media impact and juror associations.

What follows are excerpts from the 289 page voir dire ex-

amination of jurors:

[THE COURT:]} Is there anything in that fact, the

fact that you are a state employee, that would make this

a difficult case for you to participate in?

[POTENTIAL JUROR:] MS. YATES: No, not that

I know of, because nothing has been discussed since I

have been in the Mental Health Department over at

Central State. It has never been mentioned between the

two of us in the office.

THE COURT: Do you hold a civil service position?

MS. YATES: No.

THE COURT: I am not familiar enough with Ten-

nessee structure to perhaps intelligently approach this.

But are you a provisional employee, or what is your

status?

MS. YATES: I am the clerk ordering in the Mainten-

ance Department. I order all the supplies.

— A-19 —

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 19

THE COURT: But you have no assured tenure in

that position?

MS. YATES: (Shakes head. )

THE COURT: And you are, to put it most bluntly,

you would be subject to discharge without cause; it

that correct?

MS. YATES: No, I am pretty well situated.

THE COURT: But in any event, you do not hold

your position on the basis of any kind of civil service

or any protection?

MS. YATES: No, sir, I am not.

THE COURT: So it is at least conceivable that if

there are any political ramifications that might be at-

tributed to your vote in this case, you might suffer some

consequences, at least theoretically?

MS. YATES: I don’t know about that.

THE COURT: Well, I doubt very seriously if any of

these things would happen, Ms. Yates. But discretion is

the better part of valor. And you will be excused.

What is your name, sir?

JUROR NO. 10 (LARRY G. WILLIAMS): Williams.

THE COURT: Have you heard all the questions that

have been asked here this morning and afternoon?

MR. WILLIAMS: Yes, sir.

THE COURT: Has anything that’s been asked or said

indicate to you any reason why you should not sit as a

juror here?

MR. WILLIAMS: Yes, sir. You mentioned the media.

And the newspaper. That.

THE COURT: You mean you have read them, and

you have formed a conclusion?

MR. WILLIAMS: Yes, sir.

THE COURT: Very well, we appreciate your frank-

ness. You may be excused. (Tr. 145-46)

[THE COURT:] I'll ask all of you, has anything that

has been said, or any question that’s been asked, sug-

gested to any one of you any reason why there might be

20

— A-20 —

United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

a problem concerning your participation as a fair and

impartial juror? Yes, sir?

ALTERNATE NO. 4 (WOODROW LESTER) Due

to the nature of the trial— I'm a trustee at Temple Baptist

Church in Murfreesboro. And my wife is a bookkeeper

there. And I’m — due to the nature of the trial, I may

not be able to make a just judgment concerning my —

concerning the nature of the trial. And it may cause

undue ridicule or embarrassment as far as the church

work goes.

THE COURT: I really don’t particularly understand

why.

MR. LESTER: Well, if— They may give me a, you

know — may give me a hard time about it if some — if

Mr. Blanton and the others were acquitted.

THE COURT: Is this essentially a religious organiza-

tion by which you are employed?

MR. LESTER: Yes, sir. Temple Baptist Church.

THE COURT: Are you suggesting that there is a

religious organization that is not willing to have its em-

ployees participate fully in civic affairs?

MR. LESTER: I'm sure they wouldn't mind me par-

ticipating in it in as far as the trial and jury goes. But

I don’t know about this particular case.

THE COURT: You mean solely on the basis of the

duration of it?

MR: LESTER: No, sir. On the subject matter. Con-

cerning the alcoholic beverages. It’s in our church cove-

nant that we don’t—

THE COURT: I misunderstood what you were say-

ing, Mr. Lester. You may be excused. Thank you for your

frankness. (Tr. 251-52)

THE COURT: Mr. Bell, would your answer to any

question that has been asked here today be any different

than the answers of the other five persons seated tenta-

tively as alternate jurors here this morning?

MR. BELL: Yes, it would.

— A-21 —

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 21

THE COURT: There would be a difference?

MR. BELL: Yes, sir.

THE COURT: What is the difference, sir?

MR. BELL: I have already formed my opinion?

THE COURT: You do have an opinion concerning

the ultimate issues in the case?

MR. BELL: Yes, sir.

THE COURT: Thank you, Mr. Bell. You may be

excused.

Good morning, Mr. Pigg. I'll amend that. Good aft-

ernoon.

Have you been able to hear everything that’s happened

here today?

ALTERNATE NO. 2 (JOE H. PIGG) Yes, I have,

Your Honor.

THE COURT: Has anything that’s been said or ques-

tions that have been asked indicated to you any reason

why you could not serve as a fair juror in this case?

MR. PIGG: Your Honor, I would like to be excused

for the reason I've already formed an opinion.

THE COURT: You may be excused.

I'm having a little trouble, reading your name.

ALTERNATE NO. 2 (MARGARET L. KEMNETZ)

Kemnetz.

THE COURT: Kemnetz, thank you. Is the third

letter an “M”?

MS. KEMNETZ: Yes.

THE COURT: All right. Ms. Kemnetz, while you

were seated in the back of the jury room (sic.), were you

able to hear all the statements and questions of the

Court?

MS. KEMNETZ: Yes, sir.

THE COURT: Did anything that’s been said or asked

suggest to you any reason why you could not be a fair

juror in this case?

MS. KEMNETZ: Yes, sir. I’m acquainted with Bernie

Weinstein. And I already have formed an opinion.

THE COURT: Will the reporter repeat that answer

to the Court?

22

— A-22 —

United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

MS. KEMNETZ: I'm acquainted—

THE COURT: No, I don’t want you to—

THE REPORTER: “I’m acquainted with Bernie

Weinstein. And I already have formed an opinion.”

THE COURT: All right. Thank you very much. You

may be excused. (Tr. 279-81)

THE COURT: In addressing myself to the newly

seated alternates, again we ask whether you have been

able to hear everything that’s been said here this morn-

ing. Have you heard all the statements of the Court and

all the questions that have been asked?

On the basis of what you have heard, do you now feel

— do you know of any reason why you perhaps could not

be a fair and impartial juror in this case?

Mr. Hibbett?

ALTERNATE NO. 1 (EUGENE HIBBETT) Yes,

sir. I don’t think I would be a good candidate for either

side. I know many—

THE COURT: Don’t express any opinions. Do you

know persons who are involved in the case?

MR HIBBETT: Yes.

THE COURT: You indicated for either side.

MR. HIBBETT: That's right.

THE COURT: But in any event, your own personal

feeling, Mr. Hibbett, is that you — it would be difficult

for you to be fair and impartial if you were asked to

serve, on the basis of your knowledge of some of the

people involved?

MR. HIBBETT: Yes.

THE COURT: Thank you very much, sir. You may

be excused.

THE COURT: Ms. Meehan?

ALTERNATE NO. 1 (NANCY L. MEEHAN) Yes,

sir.

THE COURT: Have you heard everything that’s

been said?

MS. MEEHAN: Yes, I have.

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 23

THE COURT: Is there anything that suggested to

you any reason you could not be a fair and impartial juror

in this case?

MS. MEEHAN: Two reasons. One, I'm waiting ap-

proval on my application to the police department. Two,

I've already formed an opinion.

THE COURT: What was the second one?

MS. MEEHAN: I've already formed an opinion on

the outcome.

THE COURT: Very well. Thank you, Ms. Meehan.

You may be excused.

THE COURT: Good morning, Mr. Hicks. Have you

heard everything that’s happened here this morning?

ALTERNATE NO. 1 (WILLIAM M. HICKS) Yes,

sir.

THE COURT: Has any of it suggested any reason

why you couldn’t serve fairly and impartially in this

case?

MR. HICKS: I'm a long-time friend of one of the

witnesses, Mayor Richard Fulton. He and I were raised

up practically together.

THE COURT: You grew up with Mr. Fulton?

MR. HICKS: Yes, sir.

THE COURT: Do you have a continuing contact

with him?

MR. HICKS: Yes. We went all the way through

school together. Known him since childhood.

THE COURT: Do you think the fact that you know

him and continue to be a close friend of his, would that

make it difficult for you to participate in this case?

MR. HICKS: I'm afraid, Your Honor, it would.

THE COURT: Very well. You may be excused.

Mr. Alexander, have you heard everything that’s hap-

pened today?

ALTERNATE NO. 1 (JAMES H. ALEXANDER)

Yes, sir.

THE COURT: Have any of the statements of the

Court or questions indicated to you any reason why

if you were seated as an alternate, and then were re-

24

— A-4—

United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

quired to serve as a member of the Jury itself, that you

could not be fair?

MR. ALEXANDER: Well, yes, sir, Your Honor.

THE COURT: I don’t understand. You mean, yes,

there is a reason? Or you—

MR. ALEXANDER: Yes, sir.

THE COURT: What is that reason?

MR. ALEXANDER: Well—

THE COURT: Don’t state an opinion, sir. Do you

know somebody, or—

MR. ALEXANDER: I'm acquainted with Bob Fren-

sley.

THE COURT: And because of that acquaintanceship

or friendship, whatever it is, —

MR. ALEXANDER: Friendship.

THE COURT: — you feel it would be embarrassing

or difficult for you to participate in this case? It that

what you're saying to the Court?

MR. ALEXANDER: Well, not necessarily embarras-

sing. But I have respect for him. And I take his word on

anything he says.

THE COURT: So that you would be inclined to give

greater weight to his testimony than perhaps to some

other person who testifies whom you do not know?

MR. ALEXANDER: Yes, sir.

THE COURT: Thank you, Mr. Alexander. You may

be ‘excused.

Good morning, Mr. Miller. Have you been able to hear

all the questions and statements?

ALTERNATE NO. 1 (WALTER KENNETH MIL-

LER) Yes.

THE COURT: Has anything suggested to you any

reason that you would have trouble being fair if selected

as a juror?

MR. MILLER: Due to the extent of the coverage

of the press, I have already formed an opinion. I feel

like I would be an affected witness.

THE COURT: Very well, you may be excused.

(Tr. 263-67 )

— A-25 —

Nos. $1-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 25

Judge Engel’s dissent criticizes the voir dire as consisting

of “a single question eliciting only a juror assurance (through

silence ) of impartiality.” [dissent at p.3] As can be seen from

excerpts of the transcript, however, the voir dire was much

more extensive than indicated by the dissent. We believe that

the trial judge did succeed in securing the cooperation of the

jurors in disclosing possible bias. We also believe that he

reacted quickly and effectively to protect defendants from any

such bias.

2) Peremptory Challenges

Under the applicable rule, Federal Rules of Criminal Pro-

cedure 24(b), the government was entitled to six peremptory

challenges and the three defendants were entitled to ten. The

defendants sought an additional twenty challenges, ten for

each defendant, and the government objected. The trial judge

granted defendants’ request. Only one of the defendants used

all peremptory challenges.

While we recognize that appellants contend in this case

that their use of peremptory challenges was hampered by their

inability to explore each juror’s contact with media expres-

sions prior to trial, we also are profoundly aware that the most

searching cross-examination personally conducted by a lawyer

for a defendant might not suffice to bring into the trial record

a secretly held bias on the part of a juror against a particular

defendant. It is, of course, in part for that reason that twelve

jurors are chosen and the verdict of guilt must be unanimous.

The trial judge’s grant of so many additional peremptory chal-

lenges, coupled with the information supplied as to each

prospective juror in the official questionnaire, contributes sub-

stantially to our conclusion that in sum total the jury voir

dire as conducted was within the discretion of the trial judge.

3) The Questionnaires

As indicated above, each juror in the entire venire was asked

to and did furnish answers to the official questionnaire, which

is produced on the following page.

— A-27 —

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 27

THE LAW OF THIS CASE

The fundamental standard of review of a trial judge's con-

duct of a voir dire examination is set forth in the most dra-

matic case where the Supreme Court has dealt with the

central question of this case.

In Irvin v. Dowd, 366 U.S. 717, 722-24 (1960), the Supreme

Court, with Justice Tom Clark writing for the Court, said as

follows:

In essence, the right to jury trial guarantees to the

criminally accused a fair trial by a panel of impartial,

“indifferent” jurors. The failure to accord an accused a

fair hearing violates even the minimal standards of due

process. In re Oliver, 333 U.S. 257; Tumey v. Ohio, 273

U. §. 510. “A fair trial in a fair tribunal is a basic re-

quirement of due process.” In re Murchison, 349 U. S.

133, 136. In the ultimate analysis, only the jury can

strip a man of his liberty or his life. In the language of

Lord Coke, a juror must be as “indifferent as he stands

unsworne.” Co. Litt. 155b. His verdict must be based

upon the evidence developed at the trial. Cf. Thompson

v. City of Louisville, 362 U. S. 199. This is true, regard-

less of the heinousness of the crime charged, the appar-

ent guilt of the offender or the station in life which he

occupies. Jt was so written into our law as early as 1807

by Chief Justice Marshall in 1 Burr's Trial 416 (1807).

“The theory of the law is that a juror who has formed

an opinion cannot be impartial.” Reynolds v. United

States, 98 U.S. 145, 155.

It is not required, however, that the jurors be totally

ignorant of the facts and issues involved. In these days

3“(L)ight impressions which may fairly be supposed to yield

to the testimony that may be offered; which may leave the

mind open to a fair consideration of that testimony, constitute

no sufficient objection to a juror; but that those strong

deep impressions. which will close the mind against the testi-

mony that may be offered in opposition to them: which will

combat that testimony and resist its force, do constitute a

sufficient objection to him.”

28

— A-28 —

United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

of swift, widespread and diverse methods of communica-

tion, an important case can be expected to arouse the

interest of the public in the vicinity, and scarcely any of

those best qualified to serve as jurors will not have

formed some impression or opinion as to the merits of

the case. This is particularly true in criminal cases. To

hold that the mere existence of any preconceived notion

as to the guilt or innocence of an accused, without more,

is sufficient to rebut the presumption of a prospective

juror’s impartiality would be to establish an impossible

standard. It is sufficient if the juror can lay aside his

impression or opinion and render a verdict based on the

evidence presented in court. Spies v. Illinois, 123 U. S.

131; Holt v. United States, 218 U. S. 245; Reynolds v.

United States, supra.

The adoption of such a rule, however, “cannot foreclose

inquiry as to whether, in a given case, the application of

that rule works a deprivation of the prisoner's life or

liberty without due process of law.” Lisenba v. California,

314 U. S. 219, 236. As stated in Reynolds, the test is

“whether the nature and strength of the opinion formed

are such as in law necessarily . . . raise the presumption

of partiality. The question thus presented is one of

mixed law and fact... .” At p. 156. “The affirmative of

the issue is upon the challenger. Unless he shows the

actual existence of such an opinion in the mind of the

juror as will raise the presumption of partiality, the juror

need not necessarily be set aside .... If a positive and

decided opinion had been formed, he would have been

incompetent even though it had not been expressed.” At

p. 157. As was stated in Brown v. Allen, 344 U. S. 443,

507, the “so-called mixed questions or the application of

constitutional principles to the facts as found leave the

duty of adjudication with the federal judge” It was,

therefore, the dutv of the Court of Appeals to independ-

ently evaluate the votr dire testimony of the impaneled

jurors.

The rule was established in Reynolds that “[t]he finding

JUROR QUALIFICATION QUESTIONNAIRE

oe ee

- van eatao Oves 0 wo om amy fmm oF 4 Statt Om HGRA Comm foe Owo Me te th oe owe

- 0 re Lm MreteeteT CHAD mat GHEE Gam vias Oe ~~ oe ee me we

oo0a ane vouaus cirizen Oves Ono ewnre Oves tO Seman ros Bhewncteonnteor mu, titty,

© UNOERSTANO Lanovuace’ (ft) Aww oO owe @

Orne mone | Oey . ig act Oves Oro Pe ee a Onc mets + omen) oe #

oate | ah aucnun weena — a ae te Ce oe Ow ree = om 6 & ew Ons

noes yous oveayon ore am - Oveq — a a

trowr ve

oe PLEASE INOICATE FOUR RACE OW THE LIST OfL OW e ™o Tee | SJueen OF FULL FE 48 COMPLETES 8

i) on

lated

, ¢ o~

Fe rr A el ae | wae) te = | Sacks St On eels

' vo

yy ty yg nes Lj omentar he | fo = Ores eae eet comes

+) Pek oke Vt CANSTOD vou une reg | L—JOLACE (or Mage! eat a |

aa, COM ve?

oun socecfeom otnciee oo tas? oecmames Liywwrre CHECE YOU AME EAPLOYED OW 4 FULL Teed GASrS AS Owe OF THESE

re EE TAT SES | KUO THs teeny) ||pusuc Orme, OF THE aT srares rane YES |waneen oF any Govenmewra, O ves seesamen ms Ac tot em Oves

Starts ween 10 "ROWE AMOMS wed Ame OM LOCAL GOVERMAEENT WHO IS FLECTEO 10PUB Cy POUL OF REGAAR FE DEFT om] a

ree a SeLsC TIO PRON 4 Haak CROSS U4 UC OFFCE OF OMECT\ Y APPOmTE "Oo ad somces 0” txt UN TEO ~o

hecteo TO OFmce

You MAY be excused by the cow! Irom serwece ot 8 Re vow

@ ant vou wow emrioveor Oves Ono (J Over 70 yours of age LJ A person who hes served as 8 grand of petit juror wnthen the lest 2 veers

i@ve nreme of court end Getes you served on reverse mde)

fom YOUR EMF L OVER S Name

a LJ A person hewing ective care and custody of « chvid oF chvidren under 10 veers of age whose health end or

@ Ove vevat occuration, raacs OF ous ness tatety would be jeoperdired by my stsence for jury service oF @ prion who 4 eMentel to the core of aged or...

ps inte persons (Explen fully on reverse ude)

—— J A person whose services are so essential to the Operation of 8 buseness COmenercial OF gr cUture enterprise thet

ro} GuUSINESS ADDRESS OF EEPLOVER'S ADDRESS it must close of cease to function if | em required to perform jury duty (Expten on reverse sade |

Sree

a) Actively practicing o | ettorney | pryweren. | dentist, \regstered nurse | member of the

a engaged full time in one Gergy o offs

of these occupetions relmqpout order

Breve tt. «at?

°

0 at

® er Oves ww”

ma s

RETURN THIS FORM IN Tae teccoseo ENVELOPE TO

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

OFFICE of the CLERK

U. S. District Court

(?) HAVE YOU LIVED FOR THE PAST FULL TEAR I

o-Ps Cow

(en0Or mark the Cotegory whch soother to you HOWEVER (Ff YOU WISH TO ave OO WOT MARE vOUR CaTEGoRY

Starts

ror |! row ‘equen 'o be recused 'o rer

°

f YOUR NAME OF PERMANENT AOOMESS IS WOT COMMECT

PLEASE CHECK AND SHOW COPPEC TIONS OW MEVERSE

co)

nate — “oun Cu Re. 832, U.S. Crarthouse

Zi 7) Sth & Walnut Streets

ie & ore ao org com 430m 914505 ames von vo | Cincinnati, Ohie 4620 | Commer s ON mm Ket oe

te? "ee 260 tow Ss ashe Otte © eres

| Garters ae pera, of pares, © 4 remers we wwe to he Dee of ay bnomtetge ow! bene

oare

YOU MUST ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS THAT APPLY TO YOU PLEASE taane SURE YOU HAVE DONE SO

Soe sre Get ow

Ne me we eee re

9%

‘]? 32 ‘uojuD}g A $ajyvjIg panup

SP-er9S-18 “SON

— 9-v —

— A-29 —

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 29

of the trial court upon that issue [the force of a prospec-

tive juror’s opinion] ought not be set aside by a reviewing

court, unless the error is manifest.” 98 U. S., at 156.

We find no “manifest” error in the trial judge’s ruling on the

impartiality of this jury. Indeed the contrast between Irvin

v. Dowd, supra and our instant case is very great. In the Irvin

case, Justice Clark pointed out:

Here the “pattern of deep and bitter prejudice” shown to

be present throughout the community, cf. Stroble v. Cali-

fornia, 343 U.S. 181, was clearly reflected in the sum total

of the voir dire examination of a majority of the jurors

finally placed in the jury box. Eight out of the 12 thought

petitioner was guilty. With such an opinion permeating

their minds, it would be difficult to say that each could

exclude this preconception of guilt from his deliberations.

In our present case no juror who helped determine the case

expressed a pretrial conviction of appellants’ guilt.

Infinitely closer to our present case are the facts and law

in a case written for the U.S. Supreme Court by Justice Clark

— the same Justice who wrote the Irvin v. Dowd opinion.

In Beck v. Washington, 369 U.S. 541, 555-58 (1962), Justice

Clark said:

As in his grand jury attack, petitioner makes no claim

that any particular petit juror was biased. Instead, he

states the publicity which prevented the selection of a

fair grand jury also precluded a fair petit jury. He argues

that such a strong case of adverse publicity has been

proved that any jury selected in Seattle at the time he was

tried must be held to be presumptively biased and that

the trial court’s adverse rulings on his motions for a

change of venue and for continuances were therefore in

error. Of course there could be no constitutional infirmity

in these rulings if petitioner actually rece‘ved a trial by an

impartial jury. Hence, our inquiry is addressed to that

subject.

30

—_

United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

Petitioner's trial began early in December. This was

nine and one-half months after he was first called before

the Senate Committee and almost five months after his

indictment. Although there was some adverse publicity

during the latter period which stemmed from the second

tax indictment and later Senate hearings as well as from

the trial of petitioner's son, it was neither intensive nor

extensive. The news value of the original “disclosures”

was diminished, and the items were often relegated to

the inner pages. Even the occasional front-page items

were straight news stories rather than invidious articles

which would tend to arouse ill will and vindictiveness.

If there was a campaign against him as petitioner infers,

it was sidetracked by the appearance of other “labor

bosses” on the scene who shared the spotlight.

The process of selecting a jury began with the exclusion

from the panel of all persons summoned as prospective

jurors in the November 12 trial of Dave Beck, Jr. In addi-

tion, all persons were excused who were in the courtroom

at any time during the trial of that case. Next, the mem-

bers were examined by the court and counsel at length.

Of the 52 so examined, only eight admitted bias or a

preformed opinion as to petitioner's guilt and six others

suggested they might be biased or might have formed

an opinion — all of whom were excused. Every juror

challenged for cause by petitioner's counsel was excused;

in addition petitioner was given six peremptory chal-

lenges, all of which were exercised. Although most of the

persons thus selected for the trial jury had been exposed

to some of the publicity related above, each indicated

that he was not biased, that he had formed no opinion as

to petitioner's guilt which would require evidence to re-

move, and that he would enter the trial with an open

mind disregarding anything he had read on the case.

A study of the voir dire indicates clearly that each

juror’s qualifications as to impartiality far exceeded the

minimum standards this Court established in its earlier

— A-31 —

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 31

cases as well as in Irvin v. Dowd, 366 U. S. 717 (1961),

on which petitioner depends. There we stated:

“To hold that the mere existence of any precon-

ceived notion as to the guilt or innocence of an

accused, without more, is sufficient to rebut the pre-

sumption of a prospective juror’s impartiality would

be to establish an impossible standard. It is suffi-

cient if the juror can lay aside his impression or

opinion and render a verdict based on the evidence

presented in court.” Id., at 723.

We cannot say the pretrial publicity was so intensive

and extensive or the examination of the entire panel re-

vealed such prejudice that a court could not believe the

answers of the jurors and would be compelled to find bias

or preformed opinion as a matter of law. Compare Irvin

v. Dowd, supra, at 723-728, where sensational publicity

adverse to the accused permeated the small town in

which he was tried, the voir dire examination indicated

that 90% of 370 prospective jurors and two-thirds of those

seated on the jury had an opinion as to guilt, and the

accused unsuccessfully challenged for cause several per-

sons accepted on the jury. The fact that petitioner did

not challenge for cause any of the jurors so selected is

strong evidence that he was convinced the jurors were

not biased and had not formed any opinions as to his

guilt. In addition, we note that while the Washington

Supreme Court was divided on the question of the right

of an accused to an impartial grand jury, the denial of

the petitioner’s motions based on the bias and prejudice

of the petit jury did not raise a single dissenting voice.

“While this Court stands ready to correct violations of

constitutional rights, it also holds, that ‘it is not asking

too much that the burden of showing essential unfairness

be sustained by him who claims such injustice and seeks

to have the result set aside, and that it be sustained not

as a matter of speculation but as a demonstrable reality.’”

= en

32 United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

United States ex rel. Darcy v. Handy, 351 U. S. 454, 462

(1956). This burden has not been met.

This circuit has adopted the above Irvin v. Dowd standard

in the following language:

“The constitutiona! standard of fairness requires that a

defendant have ‘a panel of impartial, “indifferent jurors.” ’

Irvin v. Dowd, 366 U.S. at 722 [81 S.Ct. at 1642].”

Murphy, supra, [421 U.S.] at 799, 95 S.Ct. at 2035. It is

not necessary that the jurors be totally ignorant of the

facts and issues involved. Irvin, supra, at 722, 81 S.Ct. at

1642.

To hold that the mere existence of any preconceived

notion as to the guilt or innocence of an accused,

without more, is sufficient to rebut the presumption

of a prospective juror’s impartiality would be to es-

tablish an impossible standard. It is sufficient if the

juror can lay aside his impression or opinion and

render a verdict based on the evidence presented in

court. (citations omitted ).

Id. at 723, 81 S.Ct. at 1642.

(Citations omitted. )

During the voir dire, Juror Yell was asked if there was

any reason she might be unable to return an unbiased

and unprejudiced verdict. She answered “No.” At the

hearing after the trial, she indicated that the conversa-

tion she overheard had no bearing on her decision. Al-

though a juror’s assurance of impartiality is not dispositive

of petitioner’s rights, a trial judge’s finding of impartiality

should be set aside only upon a showing that prejudice

is manifest. Irvin, supra, 366 U.S. at 723, 81 S.Ct. at 1642.

Haney v. Rose, 642 F.2d 1055, 1059-60 (6th Cir. 1981).

Under this legal precedent it is significant that, following

the voir dire examination, Judge Peck denied further motions

regarding the conduct of the voir dire saying:

_—<

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 33

[Flor whatever it is worth, I have the view that the Jury

that has been selected is as fair and impartial a Jury as

could be obtained. (Tr. at 291)

We now hold, both for the reasons set forth above and for

one additional reason set forth below, that the trial judge did

not abuse his discretion in the handling of jury selection in

this trial.

Defendants have adduced no proof that this was a biased jury.

At the en banc hearing of this case, the author of this

opinion asked lead counsel for Governor Blanton whether

there was evidence of jury bias. The response was made

wholly in relation to one juror and cited evidence which we

deem quite inconclusive. We have searched this record for

any other such evidence pertaining to periods before, during,

or posttrial and have found none.

For the reasons set forth above, we believe that the jury

selection process, although not perfect, was nonetheless both

fair and effective in that it resulted in an impartial jury.

We find no merit as to other issues, and in this regard adopt

the panel opinion’s dispositions for the reasons stated therein.

The judgment of the District Court is «firmed.

= A346 —

34 United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

Kennepy, Circuit Judge. I write separately only to high-

light what I consider to be the significant fact that defense

counsel never complained to the District Court about the

group-nature of the inquiry of the first group of prospective

jurors into whether they could lay aside any impressions or

opinions that they may have formed and render a verdict

based solely on the evidence presented in court. Defense

counsel did unsuccessfully assert a right to participate in the

voir dire examination. There is no evidence, however, that

defense counsel ever requested an individual voir dire by

the judge on the question of the jurors’ ability to lay aside

any impressions or opinions that they may have formed.

Moreover, there is every indication on the record that the

trial judge would have complied with such a request had

it been made. Whenever a prospective juror indicated that

she or he had formed some opinion concerning the guilt or

innocence of the defendants, the trial judge made further

inquiry into that juror’s ability to lay aside the opinion. Also,

whenever a new juror was called to replace someone who

had been excused, the trial judge inquired into her or his

ability to render a verdict based solely on the evidence

presented in court. At no point did defense counsel request

that the original veniremen be individually questioned on

that issue. Accordingly, defendants should not now be heard

to complain that group voir dire examination was insufficient

to produce an impartial jury and a fundamentally fair trial.

— A-35 —

Nos. $1-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 35

EncEL, Circuit Judge, dissenting.

The en banc opinion today establishes a new rule of law

governing jury selection in federal trials involving widespread

pretrial publicity.

That new rule is thai where inflammatory pretrial publicity

is pervasive, inquiry into an individual juror’s knowledge and

predisposition is superfluous. The only necessary inquiry, ac-

cording to the majority, is whether the juror believes in his

own mind that he can lay aside such knowledge and pre-

conceived notions and decide the case only upon the evidence

presented. The en banc opinion further imposes upon the de-

fense the burden of proving prejudice although the trial court

effectively precluded any meaningful inquiry needed to es-

tablish it. These propositions overrule established precedent. I

therefore respectfully dissent.

I remain completely satisfied with the careful analysis and

scholarship of Judge Gibson in the original panel decision,

United States v. Blanton, 700 F.2d 298 (6th Cir. 1983).' That

opinion fully discusses the law and policies concerning the

adequacy of voir dire in cases of widespread pretrial pub-

licity. These additional comments supplement Judge Gibson's

fine opinion, addressing additional concerns and, occasionally,

misconceptions which I believe have developed during the

course of the en banc proceedings.

L

The en banc opinion is unprecedented in the scope of the

limitations it permits upon jury voir dire in trials involving

widespread, inflammatory publicity. Not one question was

ae ee ee ee SO See Beown wo wht ied. 700 F.2d

at 298 The jury selection process under cormtiay, however,

place FF Sy a te cat. Judge Brown took over

— selection, when the original judge, through circumstances

y beyond his control, was unable to continue. Both were

Circuit Judges, and each was successively designated ‘by the Chief

Judge of yeah thy ERNST ne

tion of all the district judges in District of T

— A-36 —

36 United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

permitted to be put to the prospective jurors, either indi-

vidually or as a group, concerning the sources of publicity

they had been exposed to or the content of such sources

they might have remembered.

Judge Gibson’s opinion makes clear that although habeas

corpus review of jury selection is judged solely on a consti-

tutional standard, see United States ex rel. Durcy v. Handy,

351 U.S. 454, 462 (1956) (defendant must show bias not

as a matter of speculation, but as a demonstrable reality),

review of federal prosecutions also rests on the reviewing

court's supervisory power. See Marshall vy. United States, 360

U.S. 310 (1959) (per curiam); Murphy v. Florida, 421 U.S.

794 (1975). Thus, in federal cases involving “pervasive” pre-

trial publicity, prejudice is presumed. Murphy, 421 U.S. at

798-99; see also, Irvin v. Dowd, 366 U.S. 717, 723 (1961);

Goins v. McKeen, 605 F.2d 947, 951 nn. 7 & 8 (6th Cir. 1979).

Once prejudice is so established, it is the trial judge’s duty to

assess each potential juror’s impartiality — i.e., his ability to

lay aside his impression or opinion and render a verdict based

on the evidence. Reynolds vy. United States, 98 U.S. 145, 155

(1878). Finally, it is “the duty of the Court of Appeals to

independently evaluate the voir dire testimony of the im-

paneled jurors.” Irvin, 366 U.S. at 723 (emphasis added).

The heart of the issue in this appeal is how much informa-

tion the voir dire must elicit concerning the source and con-

tent of a venireman’s knowledge of the case in order that

the trial court and, on review, the court of appeals may assess

jury impartiality effectively. Judge Gibson’s opinion relies on

the established principle that “[t}he juror’s assurances that he

is equal to this task [of laying aside preconceptions] cannot

be dispositive of the accused's rights ....” Murphy v. Florida,

421 U.S. 794, 800 (1975). That same principle has guided our

circuit in United States v. Ciacalone, 588 F.2d 1158, 1163

(6th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 441 U.S. 944 (1979), and Goins

v. McKeen, 605 F.2d 947, 952-53 (6th Cir. 1979).

ae AeS?

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 37

To my knowledge, no court of appeals has ever before af-

firmed a conviction in a case of widespread and inflammatory

pretrial publicity when the entire voir dire concerning pub-

licity consisted of a single question eliciting only a juror as-

surance (through silence) of impartiality:

[T]he test is, will you be able to put from your minds

whatever you may have seen and heard, and any opinion

which you may have tentatively reached, and then to

decide this case solely on the facts as you determine

them to be, on the sole basis of the evidence which will

be adduced in this trial after application of the appropri-

ate law?

App. 1487.

As both the en banc opinion and Judge Gibson's panel opin-

ion make clear, the above question was preceded by frequent

admonitions specifically cautioning the jurors to refrain from

disclosing any further information bearing on possible bias,

either as to source or as to content:

And I urge you to be extremely careful in answering

any question that may be put to you. Answer only the

precise question asked. Do not volunteer anything be-

yond the scope of the question itself. And again, I ask

that you listen carefully to the question and then limit

your answer precisely to answering the question, without

volunteering any additional information or any additional

opinion, anything of that nature.

(emphasis added). App. 1468-69. Similar precautions were

repeated throughout the entire voir dire. See, e.g., 1479-80,

1506-07. In addition the trial judge on several occasions

chided (albeit gently) jurors whose answers or comments

threatened to disclose any specific knowledge ox opinion. See,

e.g., App. 1550, 1578, 1579.

It is singularly curious that the reason the trial judge ap-

parently felt that more specific questioning was unnecessary

— ee

38 United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

was that he assumed that the entire venire had been exposed

to the pretrial publicity which even the en banc majority

admits was “massive.” En banc Op. at 6, ante, quoting 700

F.2d at 302. From this undeniable fact, the trial judge and

the en banc majority were led to the totally erroneous con-

clusion that it was therefore unnecessary to inquire into the

particular knowledge of any individual juror or the source

from which that knowledge was derived. This conclusion

directly conflicts with our circuit’s holding in Cvins v. McKeen,

605 F.2d at 952-53.

In Goins v. McKeen, our court indicated that juror exposure

to infammatory publicity — such as that so plainly spread

upon this record — “render[s] the circumstances inherently

prejudicial and . . . a violation of petitioner’s constitutional

right to trial by an impartial jury may be presumed.” Id. at

954. In contrast, the trial court here assumed that assurances

gained from silence were sufficient to overcome that pre-

sumption. The en banc opinion thrusts the burden upon the

defense to prove prejudice even though it has been presump-

tively established under the law. Compare En banc Op. at 31,

ante, with e.g., Murphy, 421 at 798-99.

I.

The en banc decision is completely inconsistent with Judge

Celebrezze’s opinion in United States v. Johnson, 584 F.2d

148 (6th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 918 (1979). In

Johnson, we set out the proper voir dire procedure concern-

ing pretrial publicity. Although trial judges have broad discre-

tion in conducting voir dire, we recognized that “this discre-

tion is limited by the ‘essential demands of fairness.’” Johnson,

584 F.2d at 155, citing, Aldridge v. United States, 283 U.S.

308, 310 (1931). Fairness requires that the veniremen not

only be questioned about their ability to disregard pretrial

publicity but also that they be questioned concerning “the

sources and intensity of (their) exposure” to the pretrial pub-

licity. Johnson, 584 F.2d at 155.

— A-39 —

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 39

In Johnson, our court also addressed the circumstances in

which the use of “content” questions is appropriate. “Content”

questions request the prospective juror to “recite- everything

he remembers about the topic of inquiry.” Id. at 156 n.17. In

the context of pretrial publicity, a “content” question would

be asked to determine what a prospective juror remembered

about a specific article. Although “the better practice is for

the court to ask content questions of any juror who has been

exposed to pretrial publicity which the court knows to be of

clear prejudicial potential,” id. at 156 n.19, we need not con-

sider the issue of content questioning since defendants were

never given an opportunity to discover the sources of what

the prospective jurors had read or seen. The trial judge thus

violated the fundamental rule that veniremen must be ques-

tioned concerning “the sources and intensity of [their] ex-

posure” to pretrial publicity. Jd. at 155. “Content” questions

need be asked only where “the nature of juror exposure to

. . . prejudicial material is not apparent from responses to

. more general [e.g., source] questions,” id. at 156, but

questions concerning the sources of exposure are never dis-

pensable.

As the en banc opinion acknowledges, the pretrial publicity

was massive. It would in fact be difficult to find a criminal

case in which the extent of publicity was so carefully chron-

icled and the objections to an abbreviated voir dire so clearly

and fully preserved. The Appendix includes 610 pages of de-

tailed newspaper accounts of the events leading to the trial of

these defendants. The en banc opinion is simply not faithful to

the record in suggesting that some articles containing favorable

material somehow neutralized the adverse publicity. It was

devastating. The publicity concerning Governor Blanton and

the other defendants in this appeal was not confined to the

matters involved in the trial. The articles covered not only

the entire range of the defendants’ alleged activity but also

implicated the defendants in the alleged criminal activities of

other well-known citizens of Tennessee, including other mem-

—e ee

40 United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

bers of Blanton’s family. An objective examination of the

compiled record of newspaper publicity reveals that it was

overwhelmingly accusatory. For example, an article in the

Nashville Tennessean appearing April 7, 1981 (two weeks be-

fore the jury selection commenced) was entitled: “JAKE

BLANTON ADMITS TAKING BID-RIG PAYOFF.” App. 264.

The opening paragraphs of the article state:

James C. (Jake) Blanton admitted in federal court

yesterday he told a meeting of bid riggers here in 1978

he wanted a $41,000 payoff to buy his girlfriend a house.

Blanton, 59, of Tupelo, Miss., also implicated his

nephew, Gene Blanton, former Gov. Ray Blanton’s

brother, in several schemes to rig state highway paving

contracts, as Gene looked on impassively.

App. 264. The record reveals in-depth media exploration of

charges that Governor Blanton and others were involved in

selling pardons during the closing days of his administration.

On April 15, 1981, less than one week before the jury selec-

tion began, the Tennessean in an article headlined “TAYLOR

ON TAPE LINKS RAY BLANTON TO CLEMENCY

DEALS” described the testimony of Arthur Wayne Baldwin?

concerning Governor Blanton's involvement in a “clemency-

peddling scheme” to sell clemency and commutations to

hardened state criminals at amounts said to sell clemency

and commutations to hardened state criminals at amounts

said to range from $3,000 to $100,000. App. 427. A follow-up

article the next day linked Blanton to 30 commutations, App.

425, while elsewhere in the same edition of the Tennessean

another article highlighted the ongoing trial of Gene Blanton

in Memphis for tax fraud. App. 426. A review of earlier

articles included in the record reveals the derogatory nature

2 Baldwin's conviction in Memphis of four counts of a federal in-

dictment charging him with arson and unlawful use of explosives

was upheld by a 1 of this court in United States v. win,

81-5580 (6th Cir Sabouny 16, 1983).

— A-4i —

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 41

of the clemency-sale stories, particularly those pertaining to

the proposed pardon of an allegedly psychotic double mur-

derer. See, e.g., App. 290-92, 293-94, 299, 302-03. The alle-

gations of “influence-peddling,” mail fraud, the extortion in-

volving Governor Blanton and co-defendants Hood and Allen,

which formed the basis of the instant litigation, are ex-

haustively chronicled in articles from the Nashville Tennes-

sean and Nashville Banner as well as other publications.

As an examination of the massive record reveals, a reader

of the Tennessean or the Banner was faced with a highly com-

plex and inflammatory story of allegedly illicit, unethical and

criminal activities which either directly involved the defen-

dants or linked them by name and association to others whu

were responsible. All of this was bound to lead to a substan-

tial probability that prospective jurors, particularly those who

read the two Nashville daily newspapers, would be exposed

to news of many crimes and activities beyond those directly

involved in the trial. A very real possibility existed that jurors

would confuse the activities of Governor Ray Blanton with

others in Blanton’s family who were also being charged or

implicated in a wide variety of illicit conduct.

It was thé absence of such a record in United States v.

Johnson, supra, which led Judge Celebrezze to uphold the

relatively limited voir dire there:

In this case, the requests by defense counsel at trial

for further questioning of veniremen related to pretrial

publicity generally and not to whether jurors recalled

any specific matters. The record of the voir dire contains

neither newspaper articles nor any description of other

publicity relating to the case. In the absence of a clear

foundation for inquiring into juror recollection of par-

ticular prejudicial matter, the trial judge was justified in

refusing to ask content questions. See Robinson, supra,

154 U.S.App.D.C. at 270, 475 F.2d at 381. Cf. Ham v.

South Carolina, 409 U.S. 524, 528 n.4, 93 S.Ct. 848, 35

L.Ed.2d 46 (1974): United States v. Giacalone, 574

F.2d 328, 334-35 (6th Cir. 1978).

— A-42 —

42 United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

Id. 584 F.2d at 156. Even in Johnson, however, inquiry was

permitted to determine whether jurors had actually read cer-

tain particularly inflammatory articles. The reviewing court

therefore observed that “knowledge of juror exposure to them

would provide defense counsel with sufficient information to

intelligently exercise peremptory challenges, without addi-

tional questioning as to what jurors remembered about the

reports.” Id. at 156.

I.

The jury voir dire in this case was altogether inadequate to

uncover possible bias in the jurors. The precautions taken by

the trial judge were simply not responsive to the dangers

posed by the selection technique employed. As noted in sec-

tion I, supra, the technique of voir dire examination actually

encouraged nondisclosure of juror bias and was inherently

intimidating, although clearly not intended to be.

It does not take extensive acquaintance with jury trials to

reach the conclusion that most jurors perceive themselves as

fair-minded, objective individuals. Indeed, most are. It is also

a fair observation that many, if not most jurors prefer to re-

main as inconspicuous as possible during voir dire. This is

only natural. Jurors find themselves in a strange environment.

Even the best efforts of trial judges and attorneys cannot quite

dispel the courtroom atmosphere of forbidding formality

which naturally inhibits volunteered speech. The voir dire

here presents a classic case of such reticence on the part of

jurors during questioning concerning their personal acquaint-

ance with parties and anticipated witnesses. On a number of

occasions there was no response when questions concerning

familiarity with witnesses were put to the venire en masse and

yet when an attorney had knowledge that a particular juror

was familiar with a given witness that juror readily admitted

such knowledge. Although some jurors did not respond sooner

because the juror did not connect the name given with the

= A-43 =

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 43

person he or she knew, or didn’t hear the question when it

was originally asked, the failure to respond more often re-

flected the completely natural reticence of a juror to say any-

thing at all unless directly questioned. Volunteering answers

to questions put only generally to the venire én masse comes

hard for most jurors.

The majority opinion stresses that the trial judge was par-

ticularly generous in allowing additional peremptory chal-

lenges. This was indeed a salutary precaution given the nature

of the case. However, | respectfully submit that the problem

was not so much the number of peremptory challenges al-

lowed (and they were not all used) as it was the absence of

any meaningful information which might have enabled the

defense counsel to exercise those challenges intelligently.

Likewise the extensive questioning of jurors concerning

their acquaintance with parties, or witnesses, or law enforce-

ment personnel, or persons in state government fell far short

of curing the need for the most important information of all:

what did a juror know about the case coming before him?

What accurate or inaccurate preconceived notions did he have

concerning it? The en banc opinion appears to conclude that

if one but asks enough other questions, the inherent risk in

not asking the most relevant questions is somehow dissipated.

One need only ask why it seemed important to the trial judge

that no juror disclose any specific knowledge or preconceived

opinion to understand the prejudice of this method. Why

should a juror not voluteer information? Obviously the court

feared that in so disclosing, the rest of the venire might some-

how be contaminated. I respectfully suggest that if that fear

was justified, the answer was not to suppress the information

altogether. If the dreaded answer would contaminate the

entire venire, why would it not also contaminate the juror

who entertained such notions irrespective of whether he or she

subjectively believed it would?

— A-44 —

44 United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

IV.

The trial judge's refusal to allow the defense to discover

what the veniremen had read or heard concerning Blanton

not only adversely prejudiced the ability of the court and

counsel to weigh challenges for cause, it also had a profoundly

debilitating effect upon the intelligent use of peremptory chal-

lenges. Even counsel for the government joined the defense in

requesting a more explicit voir dire on publicity. See section

V, infra, quoting App. 1531-32.

The en banc decision seeks to excuse the trial judge's error

by noting that defendants had access to information supplied

by each venireman on an official questionnaire, that defen-

dants were given thirty peremptory challenges, and that guilty

verdits must be unanimous.

A glance at the “official questionnaire” reveals that it could

provide no information regarding exposure to pretrial pub-

licity other than whether the juror could read, write, and

understand English.?

As is earlier observed, unlimited peremptory challenges

could have been granted, but with no factual basis on which

to exercise them intelligently, this additiona] protection would

be futile.

The en banc opinion also indicates that the requirement of

a unanimous jury verdict is an antidote for inadequate voir

dire. However, no single requirement for a fair trial can re-

lieve the court of the responsibility to observe all of the pro-

cedures which the cumulative wisdom of the years has found

so necessary to a fair trial. The effective use of peremptory

challenges has always been considered an essential, indepen-

dent requirement in Anglo-Saxon jurisprudence.

Peremptory challenges were solidly established in early

English law. Blackstone hailed the peremptory challenge as

“a provision full of that tenderness and humanity to prisoners,

3 See En banc Op. at 26, ante.

©

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 45

for which our English laws are justly famous.” 4 Blackstone's

Commentaries 352 (1822). In Swain v. Alabama, 380 U.S.

202, 219 (1965),* the Supreme Court noted that “the per-

sistence of peremptories and their extensive use demonstrate

the long and widely held belief that peremptory challenge

is a necessary part of trial by jury.” Although the Constitu-

tion does not require Congress to grant peremptory chal-

lenges, the Supreme Court has recognized that the challenge

is “‘one of the most important of the rights secured to the

accused.’” Swain, 380 U.S. at 219, citing, Pointer v. United

States, 151 U.S. 396, 408 (1894). “[T]he denial or impairment

of the right is reversible error without a showing of preju-

dice.” Swain, 380 U.S. at 219 (citations omitted); see also

United States v. Johnson, 584 F.2d at 155.

In Johnson, Judge Celebrezze observed that “[w]here veni-

remen have been exposed to prejudicial publicity, the nature

and degree of that exposure is certainly a matter of legitimate

concern to a defense attorney . . . deciding on peremptory

challenges.” 584 F.2d at 155. Here, the trial judge completely

frustrated the right to exercise peremptory challenges by pre-

venting the defense from acquiring the information it needed

to effectively utilize its peremptories. Under Swain and John-

son, the trial court committed reversible error.

There remains another serious prejudice not addressed by

the en banc opinion. Both Governor Blanton and defendant

Allen timely moved the court for a change of venue. The trial

judge sensibly deferred ruling upon this motion until he was

able to determine whether an impartial jury could be selected

4In Swain v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 202, 218 (1965), the Supreme

Court noted that peremptory challenges and challenges for cause have

“fallen into disuse” in England. One explanation for this is the

“greater control” which English courts exercise over pretrial pub-

licity. Swain, 380 U.S. at 218 n.24. I fully agree with majority's

concern for the right of the press to report ongoing criminal investi-

gation and trials, especially those involving aff. of public im-

portance. However, concepts of fair trial and free press are not

necessarily ey Se. If a more sensitive voir dire is neces-

sary to accommodate both interests, in my opinion, the effort is fully

justified by the values implicated.

—

46 United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

in Nashville. Once the jury was picked, the trial judge denied

the motion to change venue, ostensibly because experience

had shown that impartial jurors could be found in Nashville.

The only difficulty in this procedure was that the method of

voir dire effectively precluded both counsel and the trial

judge from determining whether the jurors were in fact un-

biased. The method also effectively deprived our court of any

record by which that decision could be reviewed.

V.

The en banc opinion and Judge Kennedy’s concurrence

seem to infer that the defendants’ difficulties in obtaining ade-

quate voir dire were of their own making. I respectfully dis-

agree.

The defendants made known their objections to the pro-

posed manner of voir dire early and often. Extensive written

requests for voir dire relating to pretrial publicity were sub-

mitted by Blanton, Hood, and Allen. Relevant excerpts from

those requests are appended hereto as Attachments A, B & C.

The observation in the concurrence that the defendants did

not ask for individualized voir dire before impanelling the

first group of jurors, is in my opinion, inaccurate.

Voir dire commenced on April 20, 1981. On April 14, 1981,

Blanton filed a “motion for Right of Counsel to Participate in

Voir Dire Examination.” That motion requested “that counsel

be permitted to participate in the voir dire examination out-

side the presence of other jurors.” App. 235 (emphasis

added). On April 20, 1981, Hood also “move[d] the court to

voir dire each prospective juror individually.” App. 615. Allen

moved for individualized voir dire of those jurors who stated

an opinion.’

The en banc opinion and the concurrence do not consider

that a broader question than individualized voir dire is at issue

=

ot Canes or Sg ee ee Oe

—

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 47

here. Counsel strenuously objected to the fact that no ques-

tions about media exposure were asked of the venire, before

the first group of jurors was chosen. Counsel stated:

MR. WILLIS: Secondly, let me raise this question

with the Court. And I think, for the record, I should

move the Court orally at this time to ask the Defendant

Hood's questions number 39 through 58 previously sub-

mitted to the Court, all of which deal with pretrial pub-

licity, on the theory that the information that has been

developed from the Jury at this point is inadequate to

permit us to intelligently exercise a peremptory challenge.

MR. MCLELLAN, JR.: We would ask, Your Honor,

that you ask the Jury — which you have done in general

terms — but specifically, if their judgment has been af-

fected by reading articles with the name Blanton in it,

members of his family.

App. 1531. Even counsel for the Government requested a

more comprehensive voir dire on the subject of publicity:

MS. ARTHUR: I was just going to say that we would

join in Mr. Willis’ motion as far as additional voir dire on

publicity. Your Honor may or may not know about the

publicity that took place at the very end of Mr. Blan-

ton’s term in office. And I think Mr. Willis pointed that

out. We are not just talking about pretrial publicity

involving the case. The Government would urge Your

Honor to do some more voir dire on publicity.

App. 1531-32. Counsel continued to object to the procedure

after the first group of jurors was chosen, stating:

MR. WILLIS: Your Honor, I don’t want to wear my

welcome out with Your Honor. But I feel compelled once

again to raise the question of a more specific in-depth

inquiry into what these jurors have seen and read and

heard. And in that context, I cite Your Honor the deci-

sion of the Sixth Circuit in the United States versus

— A448 —

45 United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

Dellinger, 472 Fed. 2d 340, which Your Honor is prob-

ably already well familiar with. We believe that we

need to have more of an inquiry than what reveals the

basis for a challenge of cause. We believe that we need

to have a sufficient in-depth inquiry so that we may

intelligently exercise our peremptory challenges.

App. 1574. See also App. 1565. Defendants by no means

waived their rights to challenge the adequacy of the voir dire.

VI.

In stating that the Supreme Court has not established a

per se rule regarding jury voir dire, the en banc opinion implies

tha’ the original panel has done so. I respectfully suggest that

a careful reader of Judge Gibson’s opinion will search in vain

for any expression of a per se rule. In fact, Judge Gibson em-

phasized the trial judge’s broad discretion. See 700 F.2d at

303, 309.

The panel opinion contains no invariable mandate to com-

pel either private or individualized interrogation of jurors or”

to adopt the “ABA standards,” however salutary they may

be.* Neither does the panel opinion compel the trial judge to

yield the voir dire, or any part of it, to the trial attorneys.

6 The Standard provides:

The following standards govern the selection of a jury in

those criminal cases in which questions of possible prejudice

are raised.

shall be a x court Be me or tape recording whenever

about the case and how ‘any expowure has afected that person's

attitude toward the trial, not to convince the prospective juror

that an inability to cast aside any preco ns would be a

dereliction of duty.

ABA Standards for a Fair Trial and Free Press, section 3.5 (final

draft 1974).

—-

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 49

There are probably as many ways of handling voir dire

as there are judges and trial attorneys. The original panel

did not attempt to legislate any one rule and I, for

one, would not attempt to, given the chance. Local

practices vary with local history and mores. Beyond that, in-

dividual circumstances vary with the particular judge and

attorneys involved. It is true, on one hand, that trial counsel

may be best able to probe and uncover hidden motives which

may affect the objectivity of a juror. On the other hand, there

always remains the very real risk that the conduct of voir dire

by counsel, especially in a highly publicized trial, may lead

more to harassment than to enlightenment. Most observers

would, I believe, admit that in such a trial the judge must

exercise particularly close control to avoid potential abuse.

The panel opinion never sought to spell out exactly how the

trial judge must exercise that control, however:

[W]e agree with the implication in Johnson that the voir

dire should provide some surface information so the

parties can use their peremptory challenges in an intelli-

gent or purposeful manner.

In the instant case, where there was substantial, even

massive pretrial publicity, the voir dire should have been

extensive enough to allow defendants to learn which

veniremen were most exposed to publicity, from what

sources that exposure came, and who held opinions. That

information would have helped defendants detect

suspected biases and use their peremptory challenges ac-

cordingly, helping to insure an impartial jury. The de-

fendants had no information which would cause them to

suspect biases which either were not strong enough for

disqualification for cause or were not evident enough

for the court to believe disqualification was in order. The

lack of such information was an impairment of the per-

emptory challenge right, and would of itself require re-

We are not unmindful of the trial court's finding that

— A-50 —

50 United States v. Blanton, et all. Nos. 81-5643-45

the “jury selected is as fair and impartial a jury as could

be obtained” and that a trial judge must be accorded

considerable latitude and allowed a range of flexibility in

impaneling a petit jury. Also we note that an appellate

court will not interfere with the jury selection process

absent an abuse of discretion. Blount, 479 F.2d at 651;

United States v. Owens, 415 F.2d 1308, 1315 (6th Cir.

1969), cert. denied, 397 U.S. 997, 90 S.Ct. 1138, 25 L.Ed.

2d 406 (1970); Silverthorne, 400 F.2d at 638. Although

the trial court's finding might be correct, there is no way

on this record to probe that finding since the record is si-

lent on the extent of the veniremen’s exposure to the pre-

trial publicity and the depth and extent of their personal

reactions to the massive publicity. We conclude as a mat-

ter of fairness that the court should have probed into the

effect of the publicity upon the prospective jurors, both

for challenges for cause and for the exercise of peremp-

tory challenges.

700 F.2d at 309-.0. In sum, Judge Gibson’s opinion left avail-

able to the trial court on remand the widest possible range of

choices consistent with its responsibility to insure the defen-

dants a fair and impartial jury.

The en banc opinion rightly observes that it is a “major

problem” to choose a jury without exposing or reexposing

potential jurors to prejudicial information. The opinion indi-

cates, however, that the solution to the problem is “deliber-

ately to avoid” such exposure. En banc opinion at 9-10, ante. As

a practical mater, the opinion implies that the only solution

is to avoid the issue altogether, perhaps in hope that the prob-

lem will go away. Alternatively, it assumes that a trial judge

is powerless to protect the defendant from prejudicial publicity

where the judge “comes on the scene after the media ex-

posure.” Id. (emphasis in original).

There are alternatives to the excessive and unnecessary limi-

tations imposed upon the voir dire below. Trial judges in their

discretion have used several voir dire methods to protect the

— A-51 —

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 51

rights of highly publicized defendants such as Governor

Blanton. The most obvious method is individualized voir dire

outside the presence of other jurors, as advised by section 3.5

the ABA Standards. See note 6, supra. This method was used

in the trial of Watergate defendants H. R. Haldeman, John

Erlichman and John Mitchell. United States v. Haldeman, 559

F.2d 31 (D.C. Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 431 U.S. 933 (1977).

Following general questioning of the veniremen in groups,

the trial judge there questioned each juror individually.

Before the publicity was mentioned the venireman was

asked if he believed that any defendant was probably

guilty. He was then asked if he had heard of the case

and, if so, whether anything he had heard or read about

the case stood out in his mind. The next questions asked

whether the venireman had seen the defendants or their

lawyers in the newspapers or on television and whether

he remembered anything in particular about them. Sub-

sequently the court determined which newspapers and

magazines the venireman read and with what degree

of regularity; which television news programs he

watched; whether he had followed the legislative in-

quiries related to Watergate or read any of the books or

other lengthy pieces concerning Watergate, including the

presidential tape transcripts; whether he had followed

Watergate closely or casually; and whether (and how re-

cently) he had discussed the case.

After determining the veniremen’s degree of interest in

and exposure to the case, the court inquired whether he

had formed or expressed an opinion of the guilt or inno-

cence of any defendant.

559 F.2d at 65-66.

The trial judge used a similar method in the trial of Lieu-

tenant Wiliiam Calley on murder charges following the “My

Lai massacre.” The Fifth Circuit described the questioning:

The second reason to credit the court members’ state-

— A-52 —

52 United States vy. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

ments is that they were the product of searching and sen-

sitivity conducted voir dire. The military judge con-

ducted the voir dire in accordance with the recom-

mendations of the American Bar Association Project on

Standards for Criminal Justice, Standards Relating to

Fair Trial and Free Press 3.4(a) (Approved Draft, 1968).

The examination of each court member was held out of

the presence of other prospective jurors. Judge Kennedy,

the military judge, himself inquired into the prospective

court members’ exposure to publicity and ability to render

a fair and impartial verdict. But more importantly, both

defense counsel and the prosecution were allowed almost

unlimited freedom to inquire into the court members’ at-

titudes, perceptions, backgrounds and the nature and ex-

tent of their exposure to pretrial publicity.

Calley v. Callaway, 519 F.2d 184, 208-09 (5th Cir. 1975),

cert. denied, 425 U.S. 911 (1976). See also United States v.

Ehrlichman, 546 F.2d 910 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 429 U.S.

1120 (1977) (burglary of psychiatrist’s files regarding Daniel

Ellsberg, who released the “Pentagon Papers”); People v.

Manson, 61 Cal. App.3d 102, 132 Cal. Rptr. 265 (1976),

cert. denuied, 430 U.S. 986 (1977) (“Manson family” Tate and

LaBianca murder trial); People v. Collins, 43 Mich.App. 259,

204 N.W.2d 290 (1973), lv. to appeal denied, 391 Mich. 798,

cert. denied, 419 U.S. 866 (1974) (John Norman Collins con-

victed of one of several “Ann Arbor” murders ).

Most observers would agree that use of ABA Standards

would more likely produce error-free trials. I sense in my

colleagues, however, a countervailing fear that at best the

panel opinion would both hog-tie the trial judge and unduly

protract the jury selection process and subject the jurors to

embarrassment and harassment.

It is for just such reasons that Rule 24 grants the district

courts such wide latitude in these matters. It leaves to

their sound discretion the duty to forge a reasonable ac-

— A-53 —

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States vy. Blanton, et al. 53

commodation between the interests in obtaining an un-

biased jury, and in doing so as expeditiously as possible.

United States v. Dansker, 537 F.2d 40, 56 (3d Cir. 1976), cert.

denied, 429 U.S. 1038 (1977).

In striking a balance between these competing concerns,

trial judges have used several methods of voir dire. There

is no mandate to interrogate each potential juror privately.

For example, when Gordon Liddy was tried for his role in the

Watergate incident, the D.C. Circuit accepted a voir dire

procedure whereby the judge asked general questions of the

entire jury and individually questioned only those who had

an opinion about the case, or who recalled details of the case.

Only the eight jurors who acknowledged they were exposed

to publicity were individually questioned. United States v.

Liddy, 509 F.2d 428, 436-37 (D.C. Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 420

U.S. 911 (1975).” Accord, United States v. Bryant, 471 F.2d 1040

(D.C. Cir. 1972), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 1112 (1973); United

States v. Mazzei, 390 F.Supp. 1098 (W.D. Penn.), mod. on

other grounds, 521 F.2d 639 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S.

1014 (1975).

United States v. Addonizio, 451 F.2d 49 (3d Cir. 1972),

cert. denied sub nom. Biancone v. United States, 405 U.S. 936

(1972), illustrates that a judge in his discretion may conceive

of several means of questioning the jury that protect the rights

of the defendant while serving the interests of efficiency. In

Addonizio, several city officials were prosecuted for their roles

in a “kickback” scheme on city projects. The trial judge did not

conduct individualized voir dire.

The voir dire examination of prospective jurors was

conducted exclusively by the trial judge. Counsel were

not permitted to participate, although they submitted

7A) the court found that such voir dire is consistent with

the ABA , it is not. The ABA standard requires individual-

ized voir dire of all potential jurors. See note 6, supra.

54

— A-5S4 —

United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

proposed questions, many of which were asked by the

court. The preponderance of the voir dire was devoted

to determining the extent of each prospective juror’s ex-

posure to pretrial publicity and the effect of that expo-

sure upon his ability to judge the defendants impartiali-

ty. Invariably, any prospective juror who indicated he

knew something about the case was questioned further as

to the nature and extent of his exposure, while at the

same time being admonished not to go into the substance

of what he had read. Typically the inquiry centered

around the particular newspapers in which the prospec-

tive juror had seen case-related stories and whether he

had read entire articles or only portions thereof (or, in

some instances, merely headlines). Prospective jurors

were then questioned at some length as to whether they

had formed any opinion as to the guilt or innocence of the

defendants and whether they could judge the defendants

impartially despite some exposure to pretrial publicity.

Prospective jurors who had formed an opinion as to guilt

or innocence of any of the defendants were excused sua

sponte by the court. Prospective jurors who had discussed

the case were similarly excused, regardless of the nature

or extent of the discussion or their own expression of im-

partiality. The court dismissed on its own motion each

prospective juror who indicated extensive exposure to

pretrial publicity, without regard to protestations of im-

partiality.

_ 451 F.2d at 65-67 (emphasis in original).

Another alternative was available here. Blanton submitted a

written questionnaire to be completed by the potential jurors.

This process could serve as an effective way to screen jurors

and to determine which should be questioned further without

asking any questions before the entire venire.

In conclusion, there are many alternatives. Judge Gibson's

opinion does not embrace a per se rule.

— A-55 —

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 55

CONCLUSION

The en banc opinion makes the following observations

concerning these defendants:

Governor Blanton ran for and was elected to the high-

est office in Tennessee state government. This fact guar-

anteed that for the term of office to which he was

elected, he would be constantly in the limelight and

every act and word would be subject to comment. The

other two defendants accepted positions in state govern-

ment in close proximity to its head. Under the First

Amendment, neither the defendants nor any court in the

United States could (or should) have prevented the

public media comment which ensued.

En banc op. at 9.°

The issue here is not whether a famous or notorious person

is entitled to a greater measure of deference due to his ex-

alted station in life; he is not. However, a greater degree of

care may nonetheless be necessary to assure the same fair-

ness that is ordinarily enjoyed by any private citizen.

I respectfully suggest that my colleagues in the majority may

not fully appreciate the impact which their opinion is bound to

have upon the jury selection process. In a very real sense, the

majority has reverted to a system of which Blackstone reports

the English had become “heartily tired” by the time of Queen

Anne. 3 Blackstone's Commentaries 360 (1822).° Jurists from

8 See note 4, supra, for comment on First Amendment values.

% Blackstone reports that under “ancient law, the jury was to

come de vicineto, from the neighbourhood of the vill or place where

the cause of action was laid in the declaration.” 3 Blackstone’s Com-

mentaries 359 (1822). The rationale for this selection was

that jurors from the parties’ neighborhood would “know beforehand

the c rs of the parties and witnesses, and therefore better

knew what credit to give to the facts alleged in evidence.” Id. Even

in Blackstone's time, however, it was apparent that jurors with prior

knowledge of the parties often could not set aside their prejudices:

But this convenience [i.e., prior know] ] was overbalanced

by another very natural almost una inconvenience;

— A-56 —

56 United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

Chief Justice John Marshall, to District Judge John J. Sirica,

who have struggled with the problem of pretrial publicity

would be surprised to learn that the law no longer requires

courts to pursue the often tedious task of determining which

prospective jurors may entertain “light impressions which may

be fairly supposed to yield to the testimony that may be

offered,” and which jurors entertain “those strong and deep

impressions which will close the mind against the testimony

which may be offered in opposition to them, which will combat

the testimony, and resist its force .. . .” United States v. Burr,

25 Fed. Cas. 49, 50 (No. 14,692g) (C.C. Va. 1807). Now,

even in the most notorious cases, the parties and the court

alike will be left to assess juror bias solely upon the basis of

silence in the face of general questions, generally put, entirely

without regard to the source or nature of the pretrial publicity

or to the extent of individual exposure or reaction to it. Such

a procedure no doubt will speed up trials, as it did here. The

price, however, in terms of traditional American notions of

fairness, is too high.

that jurors, coming out of the immediate neighbourhood, would

be apt to intermix their prejudices and alities in the trial

of right. And this our law was so sensible of, that it for a long

time has been gradually relinquishing the practice.

dd. at 359-60. In the reign of Geo II, the de vicineto system was

completely abolished, in favor of de corpore comitatus s

BF Se Saves wee selene mae Gis bade of te county at xs

pag Th ef a Bh EE

lig af wy hy AEF ude suc

persons, to present system under which the defense is barred

meget determining whether prospective jurors have prior knowledge

or

= AST

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 57

ATTACHMENT A

Defendant Blanton’s requested voir dire questionaire con-

tained the following inquiries relating to pretrial publicity:

40a.Do you read The Nashville Tennessean ( ) Yes

( ) No

40b. Do you subscribe? ( ) Yes ( ) No( ) Sunday

subscription only

40c. How often do you read it? ( ) Once a week (_ )

2-3 times a week ( ) 4 or more times a week (_ )

Every day ( ) Only when something special is re-

ported ( ) Sunday only

4la.Do you read The Nashville Banner? ( ) Yes

( ) No

41b. Do you subscribe? ( ) Yes ( ) No ( )Sunday

subscription only

4lc. How often do you read it? ( ) Once a week ( )

2-3 times a week (_ ) 4 or more times a week (_)

Every day ( ) Only when scare special is

reported (_ ) Sunday only

42. What other Local/State Newspapers do you read?

oere eee eee eee eee rrr reer er err errr eer errr errr

eee eee ere eee ee

oeeeeere +e eee eee eee ee ee eee

“ee eee eee weeeeeeeeneeeereeeee eee eeeeeeee eee eneeeee

58

47.

67.

68.

70.

rj *

72.

73.

74.

— A-58 —

United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

Please list what Magazines and Periodicals you read:

ee ee

“eee ee eee ere eee eee

Have you heard the name Blanton? (_ ) Yes( ) No

Have you heard the name Blanton in connection

with State Government?

( )Yes( ) No

Have you read anything in the newspapers or heard

anything on the radio or television about Ray

Blanton?

( )Yes( ) No

Was what you heard: Good ( ) Bad( )

Do you feel that Ray Blanton is Corrupt?

( )Yes( ) No

Since Ray Blanton has been accused of a crime, do

you believe that he is guilty?

( )Yes( ) No

Has the publicity which Ray Blanton has received

and the resulting public notoriety affected your

opinion of Governor Ray Blanton?

( )Yes( ) No

Can you separate Governor Ray Blanton from his

co-defendants Mr. Hood and Mr. Allen or from other

people about whom you may have read who were

employed by Governor Blanton during his admini-

stration?

( )Yes( ) No

App. 241-42, 243. None of the above questions was asked.

~- AS —

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. © 59

ATTACHMENT B

Defendant Hood submitted the following proposed questions

for voir dire concerning pretrial publicity:

40.

51.

52.

az

S$ & EERE

Have you talked with anyone who claimed to know

any of the facts supposedly involved in this case?

Do you regularly read The Tennessean?

Do you regularly read The Nashville Banner?

Do you regularly read The Columbia Herald?

Do you regularly read The Clarksville Leaf Chroni-

cle?

Do you regularly watch the daily news on Nashville

television stations?

Which station do you watch with the greatest fre-

quency?

Do you regularly listen to radio newscasts?

Have you read any newspaper articles that referred

to Clyde Edward Hood, Jr.?

In what newspaper did you read these articles?

Did these articles purport to give facts that you now

believe to be related to the matter currently going

to trial?

Do you remember any of the details of these articles?

Have you seen any television newscasts that re-

ferred to Clyde Edward Hood, Jr.?

Did these newscasts purport to give details that you

now believe to be related to the matter currently

going to trial?

Do you now remember what those details were?

Have you heard any radio newscasts that referred to

Clyde Edward Hood, Jr.?

‘ie NN ens

60 United States v. Blanton, et al. Nos. 81-5643-45

56. Did these newscasts purport to give details that you

now believe to be related to the matter currently

going to trial?

App. 641-42. None of the above questions was asked.

ATTACHMENT C

Defendant Allen submitted the following proposed ques-

tions for voir dire concerning pretrial publicity:

14. Have you received any knowledge or information

about the case by way of the newspapers, radio, tele-

vision, talking with acquaintances, or otherwise?

15. Have you received any knowledge or information

about any other criminal case involving State officials,

employees, or members of the family of any defendant, by

way of newspapers, radio, television, talking with ac-

quaintances, or otherwise?

Neither of the above questions was asked.

— A-61 —

Nos. 81-5643-45 United States v. Blanton, et al. 61

Kertn, Circuit Judge, dissenting. I am delighted to join in

Judge Engel’s excellent, thorough and comprehensive opinion.

I am, however, compelled to write separately, because as a

member of the original panel in this case, I am totally con-

vinced that we were correct in reaching the conclusion that the

defendants were denied a fair and impartial trial, as guaran-

teed them by the Sixth Amendment of the United States

Constitution. This denial, in my judgment, was based on the

inadequate voir dire examination.

This case is a direct appeal from a federal criminal trial.

We have a duty as an appellate court to exercise supervisory

authority over the conduct of such trials. If this case involved

habeas corpus review of a state court conviction, we could

only overturn the conviction if the error rose to the level of

constitutional dimensions. However, in this case, our scope

of review is not so limited. It is broad, it should be broad.

We have an obligation and indeed a duty to ensure that federal

criminal trials are fairly conducted. Judge Gibson’s' superb

opinion for the panel was faithful to this duty.

Words fail to do justice to the amount of publicity this case

has received — pre-and post-judgment. At issue in this case is

the alleged conduct of a former governor, the governor's

campaign manager and a former special assistant to the gov-

ernor. A federal indictment of a former governor is by itself

an extraordinarily newsworthy item. This is particularly true

because the alleged federal criminal violations occurred during

the governorship. Moreover, defendant Leonard Ray Blanton

was no ordinary governor. His successor, Governor Lamar

Alexander, was sworn in several days ahead of schedule, al-

legedly to prevent Governor Blanton from pardoning or com-

muting the sentences of numerous state prisoners. The al-

leged corruption of the Blanton administration has been and

‘J Gibson formerly a U.S. District Judge and also Chief

Judge Mf the Eighth Circuit .

— A-62 —

62 United States v. Blanton, et all. Nos. 81-5643-45

will be the subject of bouks, articles and historical research,

and perhaps a movie.

We have no control over the verdict of public opinion or

the verdict of history. This case, however, concerns some-

thing that is more important and fundamental — a man’s

liberty and his right to a fair trial. Under our system of

justice, everyone, including an allegedly corrupt ex-governor,

is entitled to a fair trial before a fair and impartial jury of

his peers — no more and no less. The record in this case

as to voir dire, contains none of the assurances which would

guarantee that the jury was fair and impartial. The trial judge

did not ask the prospective jury panel what they had heard

about the case, the defendants or the source of such infor-

mation. The judge did not ask the venireman whether they

had formed an opinion about the case nor did he probe

the nature and extent of that opinion. The trial judge simply

asked the prospective jurors whether they could put aside

any opinion or prejudice they may have, an

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — HOOD v. UNITED STATES (Nos. 83-860, 83-858) | Frix