Petition — Yorke v. National Labor Relations Board, 104 S. Ct. 1276 (1984) (No. 83-810)

Supreme Court brief1984

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 83- erase

SORES —Sapeme Court, U.S.

FILED

IN THE NOV 14 1983

Supreme Court of the UnitedjStates

CLERK

OcTOBER TERM, 1983

IN RE:

NATHAN YORKE, TRUSTEE IN BANKRUPTCY,

THE SEEBURG CORPORATION

v.

Petitioner,

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Respondent.

WAREHOUSE, MAIL ORDER, OFFICE, PROFESSIONAL

AND TECHNICAL EMPLOYEES UNION

LOCAL 743,

INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF TEAMSTERS,

CHAUFFEURS, WAREHOUSEMEN AND HELPERS OF

AMERICA,

Intervening-Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

NARCISSE A. BROWN,

MALCOLM M. GAYNOR

STEVEN M. BAZER,

SCHWARTZ, COOPER, KOLB

& GAYNOR CHARTERED,

33 North LaSalle Street

Suite 2222

Chicago, Illinois 60602

(312) 726-0845

Attorneys for Petitioner.

Pandick Press Midwest, Inc., Chicago * 454-7600

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the National Labor Relations Board may

override the claims and priority requirements of the Bankruptcy

Code in favor of ex-employees at the expense of the estate’s

creditors?

2. May any remedy be predicated on an unfair labor

practice neither charged, litigated or found by the Board?

3. May the Board order a “back pay” remedy where

admittedly the employees who are the beneficiaries of the

Board’s largesse have been rightfully terminated?

PAS ra

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

EE EE” SUES B PRGIOES BRIO caccccecccvensesscsdcconcososscedecescapedes iii

I dn rk, cinecdeneadecisnsessnetibincspiocnonndinens l

dL sal ci codes capes spetstiionsucevencbesbebeyesbassy 2

IEE CED BEEIEES REDVORVOG ..crnccccosesenreccescscevcoserovesecocesieste 2

SPP REEEEEE DOE BER CABE. ..scccccccoccecesnssvecosevesoscescossees 2

A. Bankruptcy Proceedings ...........sssscssssssscsssseeeees 2

Ne MINED cy ccargnsgstesacccevécceccoscisensccevocsececens 3

C. Court of Appeals Proceedings .............ccccceeeeseeees 4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT................... 4

Il.

THE COURT AND THE BOARD HAVE DECIDED

THAT, IF THE TRUSTEE CANNOT SERVE

TWO MASTERS, THE ONE SERVED WILL BE

i soon cacteenhabtaindeguscisoes ocibshidnoobese 7

Il.

THE FUNDAMENTAL RIGHT TO NOTICE WAS

VIOLATED BY THE COURT'S INDEPENDENT

FINDING OF AN UNFAIR LABOR PRACTICE

NEITHER ALLEGED IN THE BOARD COM-

PLAINT NOR FOUND BY THE BOARD.................. 10

THE TRANSMARINE REMEDY, IN THE CIR-

CUMSTANCES OF THIS CASE, IS EITHER PE-

NAL OR AN ATTEMPT TO FIX A CONTRACT

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

In re Ad Service Engravings Co., 338 F. 2d 41 (6th

ANE TTA EE css bactchs pv thinadancscubanebebaeadeaipienieseneiaan

In re Brada Miller Freight System, 702 F. 2d 890,

PU Ey Gl, GUMED F coveshosienccolgapneimaeecadbcbeieaans

NLRB v. American National Insurance Co., 343

U.S. 395, 96 L. Ed. 1027, 72 S.Ct. 824 (1952)...

NLRB v. Blake Construction Co., Inc., 663 F. 2d

ein Mes POET ) cnciccespepsssedapeisablatupiametascecs

NLRB v. Downtown Bakery Corp., 330 F. 2d 921,

EN Es BINED racsstctseneSvereninsighansesdbainassenseonnts

NLRB v. Sure-Tan, Inc., 672 F. 2d 592, rehearing

denied 677 F. 2d 584 ( 7th Cir. 1982) wee

Railway Labor Executives Assn. v. Gibbons, 455

U.S. 457, 71 L. Ed. 2d 335, 102 S.Ct. 1169

rehearing denied 72 L. Ed. 2d 459, 102 S.Ct.

Transmarine Navigation Corp., 170 NLRB 389

STII I sasded dries cidathovcesessokoipasccniiemidinaielphisianienaian

FR tae Bi Re ceicvencesnssecosectasescoessiegbnintenadonethiitennsiiians

Mle Be F CEL FA) 0 :scsesssocecvoctesnnibvemuiabanapeblanaite’

Be Pea SIE EE renicnscrecneequerecenenaidtiiencnsimnpabvescnsiassintionts

BS een Bh Pei venpereisccoecencsivccestbuimocosindiianmnineaiainbtind

Re POT vectenesornscevesonsvoseccehasinpildl ianpetibeanelnsel

Eerie 5 RSES CL ) psnccerercovasctiniorapsinciciionnrenisetate

Be al ROE A sesnvesncesecscecsccccaliesipechsncntbbiiiapeedione

Fe ie BIN ioraseseescccesessetonivibveedsnenanepettlasbortgetle

PAGE(S)

13

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

OcTOBER TERM, 1983

IN RE:

NATHAN YORKE, TRUSTEE IN BANKRUPTCY,

» THE SEEBURG CORPORATION

Petitioner,

v.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Respondent.

WAREHOUSE, MAIL ORDER, OFFICE, PROFESSIONAL

AND TECHNICAL EMPLOYEES UNION LOCAL 743,

INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF TEAMSTERS,

CHAUFFEURS, WAREHOUSEMEN AND HELPERS OF

AMERICA,

Intervening- Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Seventh Circuit is reported at 709 F. 2d 1138. A copy of the

opinion is made a part of the Appendix. (A 70-94). The

decision and order of the National Labor Relations Board is

reported at 259 NLRB N. 105 ( Dec. 28, 1981).

2

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on June

1, 1983. The decision of the Court of Appeals, denying

petitioner’s timely petition for rehearing with suggestions for

rehearing en banc, was entered on August 26, 1983 and is

unreported. A copy of the decision is made a part of the

Appendix (A 95).

STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED

Section 1104(a)(1) of the Bankruptcy Code, 11 U.S.C.

1104(a)(1); Section 501 of the Bankruptcy Code, 11 U.S.C.

501, Section 502 of the Bankruptcy Code, I! U.S.C. 502;

Section 507 of the Bankruptcy Code, 11 U.S.C. 507, Section

8(a)(5) of the National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C.

158(a)(5); Section 9(a) of the National Labor Relations Act,

29 U.S.C. 159( a); Section 554 of the Administrative Procedures

Act, 5 U.S.C. 554, Section 557(c)(A) of the Administrative

Procedures Act, 5 U.S.C. 557(c)(A) are all set forth in the

Appendix hereto.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. BANKRUPTCY PROCEEDINGS

This is a case of first impression involving two vitally

important, though conflicting, national policies: the revitaliza-

tion of financially troubled business enterprises and the regu-

lation of labor-management relations through collective

bargaining.

The case centers on the problems of a Trustee in bank-

ruptcy appointed in the aftermath of operations by a debtor in

possession under Chapter |! under the then new Bankruptcy

Code (“Code). The Trustee was appointed pursuant to Section

1104(a)(1) of the Code as the result of the fraud and

mismanagment of the debtor in possession. (A 97). At the

my)

y

» ry’ Pvt

, -O*® aye

time of his appointment the work force had declined to seven

and funds were unavailable to pay them. The Trustee sought

and obtained permission from the Bankruptcy Court to close

the operation and did so immediately. Afterwards, he received

a communication from the Union requesting information and a

meeting. The Trustee promptly responded by letter to the

Union’s letter, furnished information that the operation had

been closed, and expressed willingness to furnish further infor-

mation.

The Union, without responding to the Trustee’s letter, filed

unfair labor practice charges almost immediately and the Board

issued a complaint charging that the Trustee on February 11,

1980, terminated operations without prior notice to the Union

and without having afforded the Union an opportunity to

negotiate.

The National Labor Relations Board filed a claim in the

bankruptcy proceedings on behalf of the employees whose

employment was terminated at the plant’s closing in the

amount of $142,000.00. Later, the Board reduced this claim to

$55,000.00. This amount was sequestered to meet any potential

liability arising from the claim and, thereafter, a plan of

liquidation was approved by the Bankruptcy Court. The

Bankruptcy Court ordered the unfair labor practice proceedings

stayed and announced that it would decide the charges in-

volved in those proceedings. (A 56-63).

The Board successfully appealed this order to the District

Court, asserting the exclusive jurisdiction of the Board to hear

and determine unfair labor practice charges. The District Court

ruled in its favor. (A 65-68). The hearing on the unfair labor

practice charge proceeded before an Administrative Law

Judge.

B. BOARD PROCEEDINGS

At the hearing, the literal truth, although not the illegality,

of the charge of the amended complaint was conceded, i.e., that

the Trustee had closed the plant without prior notice to the

4

Union and without giving an opportunity to bargain on the

effects of the closure. Evidence of what transpired in the

aftermath of the closure was to go only to the remedy.

The Administrative Law Judge found that the failure to

give prior notice and an opportunity to bargain as alleged in the

Board’s complaint constituted a violation of Section 8(a)(5) of

the National Labor Relations Act but refused any back pay

remedy. (A 17-40). The Board upheld the finding of illegality

and granted a Transmarine remedy, requiring payment of

- funds from the estate. (A 41-50).

The Transmarine remedy is that announced by the Board

in Transmarine Navigation Corp., 170 NLRB 389 (1968).

Essentially, the remedy as applied here requires the Trustee to

pay a minimum two weeks “back pay” to the employees

terminated on the plant’s closing and bargain with the Union.

The “back pay” will continue to accumulate beyond the

minimum two week period until agreement or impasse is

reached on a “collective bargaining agreement.”

C. COURT OF APPEALS PROCEEDINGS

The Court of Appeals reversed the only finding of an

unfair labor practice made by the Board. The Court concluded

that the emergency circumstances faced by the Trustee and the

authorization of the bankruptcy court justified the Trustee in

terminating the operation without notice to the Union and

without affording the opportunity to bargain. Fulfilling the law

of Murphy’s prophecy, the Court went on to find an unfair

labor practice which was not charged, i.e., that, in the aftermath

of the closing, the Trustee failed to bargain. On this non-

existent charge and finding, the Court permitted the remedy of

the Board to stand. (A 84).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

“This case raises vitally important questions concerning the

relative jurisdictional roles of the bankruptcy court and the

NLRB in the context of Chapter XI bankruptcy proceed-

H- gt

Lee,

5

ing, questions of critical importance not only to the respec-

tive tribunals bur to future litigants as well as the entire

bench and bar. The majority’s rote and mechanistic

application of principles that may be appropriate in the

normal employer-employee relationship ignores the fact

that this case arises in the context of a Federal Bankruptcy

Chapter XI proceeding. Furthermore, the majonity fails to

respect the severe limitations imposed on the authority of

Chapter XI Bankruptcy Trustees, thus encroaching on the

Bankruptcy Court’s exclusive jurisdiction over Chapter XI

bankruptcy proceedings. In failing to adequately consider

the limited powers of a Trustee in bankruptcy, the major-

ity’s decision undermines Congress’s goal in enacting

Chapter XI of the Federal Bankruptcy Act, that of pre-

serving the viability of financially troubled business entities

whenever possible. See, Jn re Huntington, Ltd., 654 F. 2d

578 (9th Cir. 1981). The majority’s decision makes vir-

tually impossible the Trustee’s ‘thankless task of determi-

ning who should share the losses incurred by an unsuccess-

ful business and how the values of the estate should be

apportioned among creditors....’S. Rep. No. 95-989 (95th

Cong. 2nd Sess. 10 reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. &

Ad. News, 5787, 5796) and, furthermore violates Con-

gress’s purpose, expressed in the National Labor Relations

Act, of achieving industrial harmony and prosperity by

‘recognizing! the rights of all interested parties in labor

relations...being! scrupulously fair to each—the employer,

the employees, and the public.’ H.R. Rep. No. 245, 80th

Cong. Ist Sess. (1947) reprinted in 1 NLRB, Legislative

History of the Labor Management Relations Act, 1947 at

295.” (A 85-86).

From Judge Coffey’s dissent in the Court of Appeals.

This case is another case in which the National Labor

Relations Board displayed its indifference to or disregard of the

policies and requirements of Federal bankruptcy policies and

statutory requirements.' It is a case of first impression in

determining whether a Trustee in bankruptcy may be required

' In re Bildisco, 682 F. 2d 72, at 874 (3d Cir. 1982) cert. granted,

74 L. Ed. 992.

6

to bargain to agreement and pay ex-employees for work not

done as a priority claim unprovided for in the claim structure of

the Bankruptcy Code, Title 11 U.S.C. 501, 502, 507; it is a case

of first impression in the Board’s determination that the Trustee

is required to pay a minimum “back pay” to ex-employees

whose status as ex-employees is permanent. The case is similar

to NLRB v. Sure-Tan, Inc., 672 F. 2d 592, rehearing denied,

677 F. 2d 584 (7th Cir. 1982), on which this Court granted

certiorari, March 7, 1983, Docket No. 82.945, where the Board’s

disregard of the “tension between labor and immigration

policies.” 677 F. 2d 585, called forth an anguished dissent as

well as this Court’s grant of certiorari.

The majority in the Court of Appeals saw the case as one

where the bone of contention is whether or not a Trustee is

bound by the labor laws. The dissenter correctly saw the case

as one where the Trustee is bound by both the labor and

bankruptcy laws with the bankruptcy laws paramount as to the

expenditure of estate funds. The Court’s holding is counter to

the effect, if not the legal principle of Railway Labor Executives

Assn. v. Gibbons, 455 U.S. 457, 71 L. Ed. 2d 335, 102 S.Ct. 1169,

reh. den. 72 L. Ed. 2d 459, 102 S.Ct. 1997 (1981), where an

attempt to legislate compensation for ex-employees at the

expense of the bankrupt estate was held by the District Court to

violate the Fifth Amendment’s prohibition against taking of

property without compensation.

The case also presents a due process problem because of

the Court of Appeals disregard of the absence of pleading or

findings by the Board on the unfair labor practice which the

Court, not the Board, found the Trustee guilty of and for which

the Court approved a remedy. The Court absolved the Trustee

of guilt in the practices complained of in the Board’s complaint

and yet found, on its own hook, that the Trustee was guilty of a

failure to bargain in the aftermath of the Court approved

closure.

Ax

-

Finally, this Court has never passed on the Board’s so-

called Transmarine remedy.? An after-the-fact payment is not

“back pay” which the Board may require as a remedy for unfair

labor practices, but is hy design, a penalty for past failures.

Even as a penalty for failure to give adequate notice, the

remedy is suspect. Where the failure of the Trustee to give

notice is excused, as it was here, then no imbalance to redress

could exist and the penalty is simply a club to insure submission

to a Union’s demands, interdicted by this Court long ago in

Republic Steel Company v. NLRB, 3ll U.S. 7 (1940).

THE COURT AND THE BOARD HAVE DECIDED THAT,

IF THE TRUSTEE CANNOT SERVE TWO MASTERS,

THE ONE SERVED WILL BE THE LABOR BOARD

Deference to the policies of the Labor Management Rela-

tions Act and to the expertise of the National Labor Relations

Board should not also include a blindness to the policies of the

bankruptcy laws and to the rule of the courts and its officers

under those laws. What this case involves is the Board’s

determination that the Trustee must yield his duties under the

Bankruptcy Laws and bargain and grant to ex-employees the

$55,000 in funds which remain in the estate.

As emphasized in Judge Coffey’s dissent:

“To facilitate the goals of Chapter XI, Congress has vested

the bankruptcy court with exclusive jurisdiction over the

entire Chapter XI bankruptcy proceedings, and has dele-

2 After the Board decision in Transmarine Navigation Corp., \70

NLRB 389 (1968), as noted in the Court of Appeals decision in that

case, 380 F. 2d 933, an attempt was made to conceal from the union

information as to the closing there involved; a status quo ante remedy

appropriate to such duplicity is grossly inappropriate where the Board

found the Trustee did not know of the Union and, as found by the

Court, did nothing illegal in closing down the operation pursuant to

Court order.

8

gated extremely limited author'ty to the Trustee to admin-

ister the debtor’s estate. The Chapter XI Trustee, an

officer of the bankruptcy Court, derives his authority

exclusively from the Bankruptcy Act, and his power to act

independently of the bankruptcy court is extremely circum-

scribed.” (A 86)

To state that a liquidation trustee is also subject to the

labor law is also certainly true so far as it goes. But a

liquidating trustee’s function is to preserve the estate for the

benefit of creditors. He is not to play the role of Lady Bountiful

at the expense of creditors or for the benefit of anyone but those

creditors. His role is not to continue operations except as an aid

to liquidating the estate. Judge Coffey’s dissent accurately

portrays the Trustee as the central figure and the Bankruptcy

Code as the script in any scenario concerning the bankruptcy

estate after the closing of the plant. (A 93).

Judge Coffey suggests that an accomodation of the respec-

tive jurisdictions would be accomplished by obtaining a go

ahead from the bankruptcy court for the trustee to negotiate

with the unions. Such a go ahead would necessarily involve the

disclosure of the potential areas of bargaining and a determina-

tion as to the presence or absence of limitations on the scope of

the bargaining. (A 92).

Judge Coffey further stated:

“If the Bankruptcy Court refused to allow the Trustee

to bargain, or if the Trustee subsequently failed to bargain

in good faith, then, and only then, should the Union be

permitted to bring an unfair labor practice charge before

the NLRB. Undue encroachment by the NLRB in the

Bankruptcy Court’s exclusive jurisdictional sphere would

be avoided, or at least minimized, by affording the Bank-

ruptcy Court an opportunity to act within their proper

realm before instituting an unfair labor practice proceeding

with the NLRB. The course of action adopted by the

Union and the NLRB in this case, on the other hand, fails

to respect the authority of the Bankruptcy Court and the

9

severe limitations on a bankruptcy Trustee’s powers. In

sanctioning the Union’s actions, the majority’s decision will

inevitably lead to jurisdictional conflicts between two

separate federal tribunals, the Bankruptcy Court and the

NLRB.” (Emphasis by Judge Coffey) (A 92)

In the present case, it would appear that a proper limita-

tion limitation would insure that no assets of the estate would

be sacrificed at the expense of the creditors of the estate without

a real consideration. This case is about the $55,000 held in the

bankruptcy court. There is no right or duty of the Trustee to

deliver this into the Board’s hands. The conflict between the

Board’s demands and the trustee’s duty should be resolved in

the first instance in the Bankruptcy Court. Judge Coffey quoted

from In re Brada Miller Freight System, 702 F. 2d 890, 897

(11th Cir. 1983) as follows:

. “We do not contemplate that Congress intended the

ultimate fate of a corporation under Chapter XI to rest so

largely in the hands of the company’s protected employees.

There simply exist too many other critical interests, those

of other employees, creditors, and shareholders, the protec-

tion of which provides the stimulus for the bankruptcy

laws, for this Court to conclude that the collective bargai-

ning agreement was meant to hold a stranglehold position

we” (A 93)

Judge Coffey went on here:

“I dissent as I believe the majority’s decision foists an

unreasonable burden on business enterprises involved in

Chapter 11 bankruptcy proceedings. It is the height of

absurdity for the NLRB to exert a fatal chokehold on

Congress’s specific intent to allow mortally wounded busi-

nesses a chance to make a financial comeback at a time

when our basic industries are struggling to survive. Courts

not only have the obligation to interpret and apply the law,

but must also continue to be aware of economic reality

while showing fiscal responsibility in their decisions and

must not decide cases in an economic vacuum.” (A 93-94)

oa

a

&

or rr % ares oe ere

10

Il.

THE FUNDAMENTAL RIGHT TO NOTICE WAS VIO-

LATED BY THE COURT’S INDEPENDENT FINDING

OF AN UNFAIR LABOR PRACTICE NEITHER AL-

LEGED IN THE BOARD COMPLAINT NOR FOUND BY

THE BOARD

Due process in the context of the unfair labor practice case

is that required by statute and rule. The argument in the Court

of Appeals centered only on the unfair labor practice alleged

and found. On the petition for rehearing, the Trustee pointed

out, that he had been found by the Court to have committed an

unfair labor practice neither charged, found nor litigated. The

amended complaint pertinently states:

XI

“(a) On or about February 8, 1980, Respondents

terminated operations at its facility in Chicago, Illinois and

discharged its employees.

(b) Respondents engaged in the acts and conduct

described above in paragraph XI(a) without prior notice

to the Union and without having offered the Union an

opportunity to negotiate or bargain concerning the effect of

such conduct.”

XII

(a) By the acts and conduct described above in

Paragraph XI, and by each of said acts, Respondents both

individually and collectively as Respondents have failed

and refused, and are failing and refusing, to bargain

collectively with the representative of its employers, and

Respondents thereby have been engaging in unfair labor

practices affecting commerce within the meaning of Sec-

tions 8(a)(5) and (1) and 2(6) and (7) of the Act.” (A

6).

11

At the Board hearing, counsel for the Trustee conceded

that the Trustee had failed to give prior notice and an

opportunity to bargain prior to closing the plant pursuant to the

order of the Court. Counsel was advised by the Administrative

Law Judge that subsequent events “though perhaps it would

not negate the existence of an unfair labor practice previously,

might affect whether a remedy is appropriate.” On his petition

for rehearing in the Court of Appeals, the trustee emphasized

that the Court had found an unfair labor practice that the

Board had not found. The Board in its response to the Court

seriously misled the Court as to the Administrative Law Judge’s

findings.

The Board assured the Court that the Administrative Law

Judge “specifically found that ‘Yorke failed to bargain with the

Union about the shutdown’s effects on employees even after it

found out about the shutdown,**.” This quote is part of her

“analysis and conclusions,”’* but Board counsel failed to inform

the Court that the Administrative Law Judge in her conclusions

of law did not find this to be violative of the Act. Tracking the

allegations of the amended complaint, supra she concluded:

“10. On February 11, 1980, The Seeburg Corpo-

ration, Seeburg Service Parts, and Yorke terminated oper-

ations at the Chicago, Illinois, facility, and discharged the

emplo) °s at that facility, without prior notice to the Union

and wii ut having afforded the Union an opportunity to

negotiate and bargain concerning the effects of such con-

duct on unit employees.

11. By engaging in the conduct described in conclusion

of law 10, The Seeburg Corporation, Seeburg Service

Parts, and Yorke engaged in unfair labor practices within

3The Administrative Procedure Act, Title 5 U.S.C.A. § 554

requires that a party to a complaint be “timely informed” of the

matters of fact and law asserted; decisions of the administrative

agency, pursuant to § 557(c)(A), must include findings and con-

clusions of all material issues.

“She also “found” that bargaining did go on in August of 1980

(A 31) although it did not lead to anything.

12

the meaning of Section 8(a)(5) and (1) of the Act, which

unfair labor practices affect commerce within the meaning

of Section 2(6) and (7) of the Act.” (Emphasis supplied )

(A 35).

These were her findings and conclusions. She did not go

beyond the Amended Complaint. The Board in its Decision

simply echoed her in this respect:

“The Administrative Law Judge found, and we agree,

that Respondent violated Section 8(a)(5) and (1) of the

Act by terminating its operations at its Chicago, Illinois,

facility without prior notice to the Union and without

affording it an opportunity to bargain with Respondent

concerning the effects of such conduct on unit employees.”

(A 42).

The Court of Appeals refused to follow this finding as an unfair

labor practice. The Court, notwithstanding the record, has

found another and distinct failure to bargain in the “aftermath”

of the closing.

The Court had neither the duty nor the right to search the

record and determine whether or not the Trustee might have

been charged with other transgressions and might have been

found guilty if other charges had been made. As it stands, the

Trustee (and more importantly the creditors of the estate) is

being held responsible for matters with which he was not

charged and as to which the Board found no violation of the

Act.

The evidence in the record as to the circumstances under

which the Trustee acted was offered, not to dispute the unfair

labor practices charge which, as charged, was admitted but as

an ameliorative to any remedy. It is an anomaly that the

evidence, which includes evidence that the Trustee did bargain

is now used as a basis for a further finding that the Trustee did

not bargain and used as a justification for a penal remedy.

“(A) remedial order based on an erroneous finding of

unfair labor practices cannot stand” NLRB v. Downtown Bakery

Corp. 330 F. 2d 921, 928 ( 8th Cir. 1964).

13

The resultant effect of all this is set at naught the “due

process” requirement of the Administrative Procedures Act, 5

U.S.C.A. 554, 557(c)(A) and the Board’s own rules.

The Court’s action here creates a direct Conflict on the

holding in NLRB v. Blake Construction Co., Inc., 663 F. 2d 272

(D.C. Cir. 1981) that the procedural requirements of the

Administrative Procedures Act and, the Board’s own rules sét

the procedural “due process” standards as a matter of

“fundamentai fairness.”

Ill.

THE TRANSMARINE REMEDY, IN THE CIRCUM-

STANCES OF THIS CASE, IS EITHER PENAL OR AN

ATTEMPT TO FIX A CONTRACT TERM

In the original Transmarine decision, the Board professed

to be guided by the principle that the wrongdoer rather than

the victim should bear the consequences of unlawful conduct

and the remedy should be adopted to the situation that calls for

redress. Here, of course, there were no “victims” for the right

to terminate their employment without prior notice and

opportunity to bargain and in accordance with the Bankruptcy

Court’s order has been vindicated. The situation being “reme-

died” is a post closing situation where the Trustee has only

limited powers and not the power to pay “back pay” or even

“severance pay.” See Jn re Ad Service Engravings Co., 338 F.

2d 41 (6th Cir. 1967). Terms and conditions of employment,

the normal bargaining grist, closing, were a thing of the past.

Section 8(a)(5) of the Act requires an “employer” which

the Trustee was not, after the closing, to bargain collectively

with the representatives of his employees, subject to the provi-

sion of Section 9(a) of the Act. Section 9(a) describes the

representation as “for the purposes of collective bargaining in

respect to rates of pay, wages, hours, of employment or other

conditions of employment.” Unless “condition of employment”

14

is a phrase of infinite elasticity, it must snap at attempting to

encompass ex-employees of a closed, bankrupt company.

Against the contrast of the deceit in failing to notify the Union

in Transmarine, the Board here found the Trustee lacked

knowledge of the existence of the Union, yet in Procrustian

fashion adjusted the remedy to the present circumstances well

beyond the rationale for its creation. The absence of any

knavery here condemns the application of the remedy here as

“penal” under this Court’s holding in Republic Steel Company

v. NLRB, 31l U.S. 7 (1940).

The order superimposes on bargaining a “back pay”

requirement that has nothing at all to do with “back pay.” The

label is attached simply because 10 of the Act provides that the

Board may require “back pay” in its remedial orders; but

calling the payment “back pay” here is nonsense. Here the

Board orders payment measured by what could have been

earned with no relationship to reality. The order, particularly

in those aspects which pyramid the payment to the exhaustion

of the $55,000 with no incentives to hold short of that figure,

has the effect of dictating the terms of any putative agreement.

This the Board may not do. See NLRB v. American National

Insurance Co., 343 U.S. 395, 96 L. Ed. 1027, 72 S.Ct. 824

(1952).

wee

15

CONCLUSION

The words of Judge Wood, dissenting from the 7th

Circuit’s unwillingness to reconsider its decision in Sure-Tan,

supra., are apt to this case also.

“The NLRB seems to use only its private knothole to

view these issues and sees nothing except its own labor

goals. I think this Court instead of peering through the

NLRB’s knothole should look over the fence for a better

understanding of the whole problem.” 677 F. 2d 585.

The Seventh Circuit has been led into sharing the Board’s

distorted vision by less than clear sight of the necessities of due

process and the limitations on the Board’s remedial powers.

As Judge Coffey observed:

“As a case of first impression, this court’s decision will

have a direct impact on the resolution of future cases

pertaining to the scope of a Chapter XI bankruptcy

Trustee’s duty to bargain with the bankrupt corporation’s

unionized employees. Therefore, I believe it is essential for

this court to achieve an equitable balance between the

goals of revitalizing financially troubled corporations and

encouraging harmonious labor relations, a balance which

will not frustrate the financial recovery of corporations

involved in Chapter XI bankruptcy proceedings. I believe

the majority opinion in this case fails to achieve this

equitable balance, and rather takes a myopic and short-

sighted view of the critical interests involved in Chapter XI

bankruptcy proceedings.” (A 93)

For all the foregoing reasons, certiorari should be granted

with respect to each of the questions for which it is sought.

Respectfully submitted,

NARCISSE A. BROWN,

MaLcoLM M. GAaYNor

STEVEN M. BAZER,

SCHWARTZ, COOPER, KOLB

& GAYNOR CHARTERED,

33 North LaSalle Street

Suite 2222

Chicago, Illinois 60602

(312) 726-0845

Attorneys for Petitioner.

APPENDIX

INDEX TO APPENDIX

AMENDED COMPLAINT OF NATIONAL LA-

BOR RELATIONS BOARD ...........cccccssseseesseeeenees

PETITIONERS ANSWER. ........c.cccccsccccserccessscserseees

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE DECISION

NEE Ay. 8 PUD yeoscninerchinssceinpisinsoninevescobbtoerccns

DECISION AND ORDER OF NATIONAL LA-

BOR RELATIONS BOARD OF DECEMBER

REIN sacinhesesiss tpncnbnabiatbincecticcsnbeibvesbieesitetnvesmnovtuncih

ORDER OF BANKRUPTCY COURT OF FEB-

EE Sas UD ivtirctssintiiisepeyscomsisetanbnetiaimonianatosense

ORDER AND DECISION OF BANKRUPTCY

SIE SIN GUE. Ey BPO ciccctscnccncescsesesenosezceves

DECISION OF JUDGE DECKER OF NOVEM-

Se ED bithvcscensshonseentiboumecnbentetsetanecdvonsdsvoncoes

ORDER OF 7th CIRCUIT COURT OF AP-

PARFAIT SUSEUES By BIOS cccncsaserecceccndpesdecovvececeeses

OPINION OF 7th CIRCUIT COURT OF AP-

PRALS OF JUNE 1, 1963 .....cccrcrccoseccescssssercosoreece

ORDER OF 7ih CIRCUIT COURT OF AP-

PEALS DENYING PETITION FOR RE-

FUPRRERE TGR BEES AD We rccscsccoresccqsccssiesingtsducstocsecece

STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED.................

Al-All

Al2-Al6

A17-A40

A41-A50

A51

A52-A63

A64-A68

A69

A70-A94

A95-A96

A97-A108

la

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Before The National Labor Relations Board

Region 13

NATHAN YORKE, Trustee in Bank-

ruptcy, Successor in Bankruptcy or

Alter Ego to the SEEBURG COR-

PORATION AND SEEBURG

SERVICE PARTS CO., A Single

Employer

and Case 13-CA-19631

LOCAL UNION 743, WARE-

HOUSE, MAIL ORDER, TECH-

NICAL AND PROFESSIONAL

EMPLOYEES UNION, INTER-

NATIONAL BROTHERHOOD

OF TEAMSTERS, CHAUF-

FEURS, WAREHOUSEMEN

AND HELPERS OF AMERICA

AMENDED COMPLAINT AND NOTICE OF HEARING

It having been charged by Local Union 743, Warehouse,

Mail Order, Technical and Professional Employees Union,

International Brotherhood of Teamsters, Chauffeurs,

Warehousemen and Helpers of America (herein called the

Union) that Nathan Yorke, Trustee in Bankruptcy, (herein

called Respondent Yorke); The Seeburg Corporation (herein

called Respondent Seeburg) and Seeburg Service Parts Co.

(herein called Respondent Seeburg Service) (herein jointly

called Respondents), have engaged in, and are engaging in,

certain unfair labor practices affecting commerce as set forth

and defined in the National Labor Relations Act, as amended,

29 U.S.C., Sec. 151, et seg. (herein called the Act), and

2a

Complaint and Notice of Hearing having hereto issued on June

17, 1980 the General Counsel of the National Labor Relations

Board, on behalf of the National Labor Relations Board

(herein called the Board), by the undersigned Regional Direc-

tor for Region 13, pursuant to Section 10(b) of the Act and

Section 102.15 of the Board’s Rules and Regulations, Series 8,

as amended, hereby issues this Amended Complaint and Notice

of Hearing and alleges as follows:

(a) The Charge herein was filed by the Union on February

28, 1980, and was served on, Respondent Seeburg, Respondent

Yorke, by registered mail, on March 4, 1980.

(b) The first amended charge herein was filed by the

Union on June 6, 1980, and was served on, Respondent

Seeburg, Respondent Yorke, and Respondent Seeburg Service,

by registered mail, on June 12, 1980.

(c) The second amended charge herein was filed by the

Union on June 12, 1980, and was served on Respondents, by

registered mail, on June 16, 1980.

I}

(a) At all times material herein, until February 8, 1980,

Respondent Seeburg, a Delaware Corporation, with an office

and place of business in Chicago, Illinois, has been engaged in

the manufacture of jukeboxes and other machinery.

(b) During the past calendar year, a representative period,

Respondent Seeburg, in the course and conduct of its business

operation described above in paragraph II(c), sold and

shipped goods and materials valued in excess of $50,000

directly to points located outside the State of Illinois.

BA.

3a

(c) At all times material herein, Respondent Seeburg

Service, a Delaware Corporation, with an office and place of

business located in Chicago, Illinois, has been engaged in the

manufacture and/or distribution of parts.

(d) During the past calendar year, a representative period,

Respondent Seeburg Service, in the course and conduct of its

business operations described above in paragraph II(i), sold

and shipped goods and services valued in excess of $50,000

directly to points located outside the State of Illinois.

(e) During the past calendar year, a representative period,

Respondents, in the course and conduct of its business oper-

ations described above in paragraph II, collectively sold and

shipped goods and provided services valued in excess of

$50,000 directly to points located outside the State of Illinois.

(a) At all times material herein, Respondent Seeburg, and

Respondent Seeburg Service have been affiliated business

enterprises with common officers, ownership, directors, man-

agement, and supervisions; have formulated and administered

a common labor policy affecting employees of said operations;

have shared common premises and facilities; have provided

services for and made sales to each other; have interchanged

personnel with each other; and have held themselves out to the

public as a single integrated business enterprise.

(b) by virtue of its operations described above in para-

graph III(a), Respondents constitute a single integrated busi-

ness enterprise and single and/or joint employer within the

meaning of the Act.

4a

IV

(a) Since on or about February 4, 1980, and continuing to

date, Respondent Yorke has been duly designated trustee in

bankruptcy with full authority to continue operations and

exercise all powers necessary to the Administration of the

business of Respondent Seeburg and Respondent Seeburg

Service.

(b) by virtue of the events described above in paragraph

IV(a), Respondent Yorke is and has been at all times material

herein a successor in bankruptcy of Respondent Seeburg and

Respondent Seeburg Service.

(c) By virtue of the acts and conduct described above in

paragraph IV(a), Respondent Yorke and Respondent Seeburg

and Respondent Seeburg Service are, and have been at all

times material herein, alter egos within the meaning of the Act.

Vv

(a) Respondent Seeburg, Respondent Yorke, and Re-

spondent Seeburg Service each is now, and each has been at all

times material herein, an employer engaged in commerce

within the meaning of Section (2), (6) and (7) of the Act.

(b) Respondents collectively are now, and have been at all

times material herein, an employer engaged in commerce

within the meaning of Section (2), (6) and (7) of the Act.

VI

The Union is now and has been at all times material

herein, a labor organization within the meaning of Section 2( 5)

of the Act.

et

Sa

Vil

At all times material herein, the following named persons

occupied the positions set forth opposite their respective names,

and are now, and have been at all times material herein,

supervisors of Respondents within the meaning of Section

2(11) of the Act and agents of Respondents within the

meaning of Section 2( 13) of the Act:

Joseph Dillon — Chairman of the Board of

Respondent Seeburg

James Nardini — Vice President for Industrial

Relations of Respondent

Seeburg

Vill

The following employees of Respondents and/or Re-

spondent Yorke, alter ego or successor in bankruptcy to Re-

spondent Seebuig and Respondent Seeburg Service constitute a

union appropriate for the purposes of collective bargaining

within the meaning of Section 9(b) of the Act:

All plant clerical, and all production and maintenance

employees at the Chicago, Illinois Plant, excluding executive,

supervisory employees, timekeepers, foremen with power to

hire and fire or to effectively recommend such action, office

clerical employees, guards and professional employees as de-

fined in the Act.

IX

Since in or about 1967, and at all times material herein, the

Union has been the designated exclusive collective bargaining

representative of the employees in the unit described above in

paragraph VIII, and since said date the Union has been

recognized as such representative. Such recognition has been

6a

embodied in successive collective bargaining agreements, the

most recent of which is effective by its terms for the period

October 1, 1977 to September 29, 1980.

X

At all times since in or about 1967, the Union, by virtue of

Section 9(a) of the Act, has been, and is, the exclusive

representative of the employees in the unit described above in

paragraph VIII, for the purpose of collective bargaining with

respect to rates of pay, wages, hours of employment and other

terms and conditions of employment.

XI

(a) On or about February 8, 1980, Respondents termi-

nated operations at its facility in Chicago, Illinois and dis-

charged its employees.

(b) Respondents engaged in the acts and conduct de-

scribed above in paragraph XI(a) without prior notice to the

Union and without having afforded the Union an opportunity

to negotiate and bargain concerning the effect of said conduct.

XII

(a) By the acts and conduct described above in paragraph

XI, and by each of said acts, Respondents both individually

and collectively as Respondents have failed and refused, and

are failing and refusing, to bargain collectively with the repre-

sentative of its employees, and Respondents thereby have been

engaging in unfair labor practices affecting commerce within

the meaning of Sections 8(a)(5) and (1) and 2(6) and (7) of

the Act.

7a

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that on the 17th day of Febru-

ary, 1981, at 11 a.m. in Room 881, 219 South Dearborn,

Everett McKinley Dirksen Building, Chicago, Illinois 60604, a

hearing will be conducted before a duly designated Adminis-

trative Law Judge of the National Labor Relations Board on

the allegations set forth in the above Complaint, at which time

and place you will have the right to appear in person, or

otherwise, and give testimony.

YOU ARE FURTHER NOTIFIED that, pursuant to

Sections 102.20 and 102.21 of the Board’s Rules and Regu-

lations, Series 8, as amended, the Respondent shall file with the

undersigned Regional Director, acting in this matter as an

agent of the National Labor Relations Board, an orginal and

four copies of an Answer to said Complaint within 10 days from

the service thereof, and that unless it does so, all of the

allegations in the Complaint shall be deemed to be admitted to

be true and may be so found by the Board. Immediately upon

the filing of its Answer, Respondent shall serve a copy thereof

on each of the other parties.

Form NLRB-4668, Statement of Standard Procedures in

Formal Hearings Held Before the National Labor Relations

Board in Unfair Labor Practice Cases, is attached.

DATED at Chicago, Illinois, this 28th day of November,

1980.

/s/ MARTIN H. SCHNEID

Martin H. Schneid,

Acting Regional Director

National Labor Relations Board

Region 13

Everett McKinley Dirksen Building

219 S. Dearborn Street, Room 881

Chicago, Illinois 60604

8a

(C Cases)

SUMMARY OF STANDARD PROCEDURES IN FORMAL

HEARINGS HELD BEFORE THE NATIONAL LABOR

RELATIONS BOARD IN UNFAIR LABOR PRACTICE

PROCEEDINGS PURSUANT TO SECTION 10 OF THE

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS ACT, AS AMENDED

The hearing will be conducted by an Administrative Law

Judge of the National Labor Relations Board who will preside

at the hearing as an independent, impartial trier of the facts and

the law whose decision in due time will be served on the parties.

The offices of the Administrative Law Judges are located in

Washington, D. C., and San Francisco, California.

At the date, hour, and place for which the hearing is set,

the Administrative Law Judge, upon the joint request of the

parties, will conduct a “prehearing” conference, prior to or

shortly after the opening of the hearing, to assure that the issues

are sharp and clearcut; or the Administrative Law Judge may

independently conduct such a conference. The Administrative

Law Judge will preside at such conference, but may, if the

occasion arises, permit the parties to engage in private dis-

cussions. The conference will not necessarily be recorded, but it

may well be that the labors of the conference will be evinced in

the ultimate record, for example, in the form of statements of

position, stipulations, and concessions. Except under unusual

circumstances, the Administrative Law Judge conducting the

prehearing conference will be the one who will conduct the

hearing; and it is expected that the formal hearing will com-

mence or be resumed immediately upon completion of the

prehearing conference. No prejudice will result to any party

unwilling to participate in or make stipulations or concessions

during any prehearing conference.

yr. |

9a

(This is not to be construed as preventing the parties from

meeting earlier for similar purposes. To the contrary, the parties

are encouraged to meet prior to the time set for hearing in an

effort to narrow the issues.)

Parties may be represented by an attorney or other repre-

sentative and present evidence relevant to the issues.

An official reporter will make the only official transcript of

the proceedings, and all citations in briefs and arguments must

refer to the official record. The Board will not certify any

transcript other than the official transcript for use in any court

litigation. Proposed corrections of the transcript should be

submitted, either by way of stipulation or motion, to the

Administrative Law Judge for approval.

All matter that is spoken in the hearing room while the

hearing is in session will be recorded by the official reporter

unless the Administrative Law Judge specifically directs off-the-

record discussion. In the event that any party wishes to make

off-the-record statements, a request to go off the record should

be directed to the Administrative Law Judge and not to the

official reporter.

Statements of reasons in support of motions and objections

should be specific and concise. The Administrative Law Judge

will allow an automatic exception to all adverse rulings and,

upon appropriate order, an objection and exception will be

permitted to stand to an entire line of questioning.

All exhibits offered in evidence shall be in duplicate.

Copies of exhibits should be supplied to the Administrative

Law Judge and other parties at the time the exhibits are offered

in evidence. If a copy of any exhibit is not available at the time

the original is received, it will be the responsibility of the party

offering such exhibit to submit the copy to the Administrative

Law Judge before the close of hearing. In the event such copy

is not submitted, and the filing thereof has not for good reason

10a

shown been waived by the Administrative Law Judge, any

ruling receiving the exhibit may be rescinded and the exhibit

rejected.

Any party shall be entitled, upon request, to a reasonable

period at the close of the hearing for oral argument, which shall

be included in the stenographic report of the hearing. In the

absence of a request, the Administrative Law Judge may ask for

oral argument if, at the close of the hearing, it is believed that

such argument would be beneficial to the understanding of the

contentions of the parties and the factual issues involved.

Any party shall be entitled, upon request made before the

close of the hearing, to file a bnef or proposed findings and

conclusions, or both, with the Administrative Law Judge who

will fix the time for such filing.

Attention of the parties is called to the following require-

ments laid down in Section 102.42 of the Board’s Rules and

Regulations, Series 8, as amended, with respect to the proce-

dure to be followed before the proceeding is transferred to the

Board:

No request for an extension of time within which to submit

briefs or proposed findings to the Administrative Law Judge

will be considered unless received by the Chief Administrative

Law Judge in Washington, D.C., (or, in cases under the San

Francisco, California, branch office of Administrative Law

Judges, the Deputy Chief Administrative Law Judge in charge of

such office) at least 3 days prior to the expiration of time fixed

for the submissiun of such documents. Notice of request for

such extension of time must be served simultaneously on all

other parties, and proof of such. service furnished to the Chief

Administrative Law Judge or Deputy Chief Administrative

Law Judge, as the case may be. All briefs or proposed findings

filed with the Administrative Law Judge must be submitted in

triplicate, and may be in typewritten, printed, or mimeographed

form, with service on the other parties.

lla

In due course the Administrative Law Judge will prepare

and file with the Board a decision in this proceeding, and will

cause a copy thereof to be served on each of the parties. Upon

filing of this decision, the Board will enter an order transferring

this case to itself, and will serve copies of that order, setting

forth the date of such transfer, on all parties. At that point, the

Administrative Law Judge’s official connection with the case

will cease.

The procedure to be followed before the Board from that

point forward, with respect to the filing of exceptions to the

Administrative Law Judge’s decision, the submission of

supporting briefs, requests for oral argument before the Board,

and related matters, is set forth in the Board’s Rules and

Regulations, particularly in Section 102.46 and following sec-

tions. A summary of the more pertinent of these provisions will

be served on the parties together with the order transferring the

case to the Board.

Adjustments or settlements consistent with the policies of

the Act reduce government expenditures and promote amity in

labor relations. If adjustment appears possible, the Adminis-

trative Law Judge may suggest discussions between the parties

or, upon request, will afford reasonable opportunity during the

hearing for such discussions.

12a

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Before the National Labor Relations Board

Region 13

NATHAN YORKE, Trustee in Bank-

ruptcy of THE SEEBURG COR-

PORATION, et al

and Case 13-CA-19631

LOCAL UNION 743, WARE-

HOUSE, MAIL ORDER, TECH-

NICAL AND PROFESSIONAL

EMPLOYEES UNION, INTER-

NATIONAL BROTHERHOOD

OF TEAMSTERS, CHAUF-

FEURS, WAREHOUSEMEN

AND HELPERS OF AMERICA

ANSWER TO AMENDED-COMPLAINT

Now comes The Seeburg Corporation (“Seeburg”) and

Nathan Yorke, Trustee in Bankruptcy of Seeburg (“*Yorke’’),

by their attorneys, and answer the Amended Complaint of the

National Labor Relations Board as follows:

(a)-(c). Said Respondents admit that the charge de-

scribed in Paragraph I(a), the first amended charge described

in Paragraph I(b), and the second amended charge described

in Paragraph I(c) were all filed by the Union and served upon

Respondent, Yorke, on or about the dates alleged in Paragraph

I. Said Respondents deny that the charge described in Para-

graph I(b) were served upon the Respondent, Seeburg. Said

l3a

Respondents admit that the second amended charge described

in Paragraph I(c) was served upon the Respondent, Seeburg.

Said Respondents affirmatively allege that no charge has been

| a cad Union at any time charging the Respondent,

eeburg.

IL

Said Respondents deny the allegations of Paragraphs

II(a), (b), (c), (d) and (e).

Ill

Said Respondents deny .each and every allegation of

Paragraphs III(a) and (b).

IV

Said Respondents admit that on February 4, 1980, Re-

spondent, Yorke, was appointed Trustee in Bankruptcy of The

Seeburg Corporation and deny each and every remaining

allegation in Paragraphs [V(a) through (c).

Vv

Said Respondents deny each and every allegation of

Paragraphs V(a) and (b).

VI

Said Respondents admit the allegations of Paragraph VI.

l4a

Vil

Said Respondents deny each and every allegation of

Paragraph VII.

Vill

Said Respondents deny each and every allegation of

Paragraph VIII.

IX

Said Respondents deny each and every allegation of

Paragraph IX.

X

Said Respondents deny each and every allegation of

Paragraph X.

XI

Said Respondents admit that on February 11, 1980, Yorke,

as Trustee in Bankruptcy for Seeburg in proceedings for

reorganization under Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code, Case

No. 79 B 39597, and pursuant to an order of the United States

Bankruptcy Court entered as of that date, terminated all

personnel who were then employed by Seeburg with the

exception of certain key individuals who were retained for

services he deemed necessary in furtherance of the aforemen-

tioned reorganization proceeding. Said Respondents deny each

and every allegation contained in Paragraph XI(b).

XIl

Said Respondents deny each and every allegation of

Paragraph XII.

3

15a

WHEREFORE, The Seeburg Corporation and Nathan

Yorke, Trustee in Bankruptcy, pray for the entry of an order

dismissing the amended complaint of the National Labor

Relations Board.

THE SEEBURG

CORPORATION

By

One of its Attorneys

NATHAN YORKE

By:

One of his Attorneys

JOSEPH L. MATZ and NEIL P.

GANTZ TELLER, LEVITT &

@ SILVERTRUST, P.C.

One North LaSalle Street, Suite 1825

Chicago, Illinois 60602

312-782-3970

MALCOLM M. GAYNOR and

CHAD H. GETTLEMAN

SCHWARTZ, COOPER, KOLB &

GAYNOR CHARTERED

33 North LaSalle Street, Suite 2222

Chicago, Illinois 60602

312-726-0845

i

l6a

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Chad H. Gettleman, hereby certify that on December 16,

1980, I filed and caused to be personally served the original and

four (4) copies of the foregoing Answer to Amended Com-

plaint upon Donald J. Crawford, Regional Director, National

Labor Relations Board, Everett McKinley Dirksen Building,

219 South Dearborn Street, Room 881, Chicago, Illinois 60604,

and further caused copies of the foregoing Answer to be

deposited in the United States Mail Chute at 33 North LaSalle

Street, Chicago, Illinois 60602, properly addressed, postage

prepaid, addressed to the following:

Local 743, Warehouse

Employees Local

300 South Ashland Boulevard

Chicago, Illinois 60607

Edwin H. Benn, Esq.

Asher, Goodstein, Pavalon, Gittler

& Segall, Ltd.

228 North LaSalle Street

Chicago, Illinois 60601

CHAD H. GETTLEMAN

Chad H. Gettleman

17a

JD-196-81

Chicago, IL

UNITED STATES OF AMERIC?

Before The National Labor Rei-i:ons Board

Division of Judges

NATHAN YORKE, TRUSTEE IN

BANKRUPTCY, SUCCESSOR IN

BANKRUPTCY, OR ALTER EGO

TO THE, SEEBURG CORPO-

RATION AND SEEBURG SER-

VICE PARTS CO., A SINGLE EM-

PLOYER

and

LOCAL UNION 743, WARE-

HOUSE, MAIL ORDER, TECHNI-

CAL AND PROFESSIONAL EM-

PLOYEES UNION, INTER-

NATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF

TEAMSTERS, CHAUFFEURS,

WAREHOUSEMEN AND HELP-

ERS OF AMERICA

William G. Kocol, Esq., of Chicago,

IL, for the General Counsel.

Edwin H. Benn, Esq., of Chicago, IL,

for the Union.

Narcisse A. Brown, Esq., of Chicago,

IL, for Nathan Yorke, Trustee in

Bankruptcy, The Seeburg Corpo-

ration.

Neil Gantz, Esq., of Chicago, IL, for

The Seeburg Corporation.

DECISION

Case No. 13-CA-19631

Statement of the Case

NANCY M. SHERMAN, pee TT

proceeding was heard before me on February 17, 1981,

18a

pursuant to a charge filed on February 28, 1980, and amended

on June 6 and 12, 1980, and a complaint issued on June 17,

1980, and amended on November 28, 1980. The complaint

alleges that Respondent The Seeburg Corporation (“Seebyrg’’)

and Respondent Seeburg Service Parts Co. (“Seeburg Ser-

vice”) constitute a single integrated business enterprise and

single and/or joint employer within the meaning of the Nation-

al Labor Relations Act, as amended (“the Act”). The com-

plaint further alleges that since about February 4, 1980,

Respondent Nathan Yorke, who is admittedly trustee in bank-

ruptcy for Seeburg, has had authority to continue operations

and exercise all powers necessary to the administration of

Seeburg and Seeburg Service.

The complaint goes on to allege that Respondents violated

Section 8(a)(5) and (1) of the Act about February 8, 1980, by

terminating operations, and discharging employees, without

prior notice to Local Union 743, Warehouse, Mail Order,

Technical and Professional Employees Union, International

Brotherhood of Teamsters, Chauffeurs, Warehousemen and

Helpers of America (“the Union”) and without having af-

forded the Union an opportunity to negotiate and bargain

concerning the effect of said condiict. An answer to the

complaint was filed by counsel for Seeburg and counsel for

Yorke, but not by Seeburg Service as such.

At the hearing, appearances were filed on behalf of Yorke

and Seeburg, but not on behalf of Seeburg Service as such. On

the basis of the entire record, including the demeanor of the

witnesses, and after due consideration of the briefs filed by

counsel for Yorke, counsel for the Union, and counsel for the

General Counsel (“the General Counsel”), I hereby make the

following:

19a

Findings of Fact

I. Jurisdiction; the Relationship between

Seeburg and Seeburg Service;

the Appropriate Unit

At all material times until February 8, 1980, Seeburg, a

Delaware corporation, has been engaged in the manufacture of

juke boxes and other machinery in Chicago, Illinois. During

the calendar year preceding November 28, 1980, a representa-

tive period, Seeburg sold and shipped goods and materials

valued in excess of $50,000 directly to points outside Illinois. At

all times material herein, Seeburg Service, a Delaware corpo-

ration, has been engaged in the manufacture and/or dis-

tribution of parts in Chicago, Illinois. During the calendar year

preceding November 28, 1980, a representative period, Seeburg

Service sold and shipped goods and services valued in excess of

$50,000 directly to points outside Illinois. During the calendar

year preceding November 28, 1980, a representative period,

Seeburg, Seeburg Service, and Yorke as trustee, in the course of

the business operations described above, collectively sold and

shipped goods and provided services valued in excess of

$50,000 directly to points located outside Illinois. I find that

Seeburg and Seeburg Service were at all material times each

engaged in commerce within the meaning of the Act; and that

Respondents collectively were at all material times engaged in

commerce within the meaning of the Act. Further, I find that

the Board’s jurisdictional standards are satisfied by the oper-

ations of Seeburg, of Seeburg Service, and of Respondents

collectively.

Seeburg and Seeburg Service are both owned by the same

entity; both operated at the same Chicago, Illinois facility; both

were run by the same management, both purchased goods and

services from the same customers; and both shipped their

products to the same customers. Seeburg Service kept an

inventory and filled orders on request for spare parts relating to

the finished product that Seeburg sold. All the employees on

20a

the Seeburg Service payroll had formerly been on the Seeburg

payroll. I find that Seeburg and Seeburg Service constitute a

single integrated business enterprise and single and/or joint

employer within the meaning of the Act. Sakrete of Northern

California, 137 NLRB 1220 (1962), 140 NLRB 765 (1963),

enfd. 332 F.2d 902 (C.A. 9, 1964), cert. den. 379 U.S. 961

(1965).

In November 1977, Seeburg and the Union entered into a

collective-bargaining agreement effective between October

1977 and September 1980, with respect to a unit of “all plant

clerical, and all production and maintenance employees of the

Company [The Seeburg Products Division of the Seeburg

Corporation of Delaware] at its Chicago, Illinois Plant” ex-

cluding “executive, supervisory employees, timekeepers, fore-

men with power to hire and fire or to effectively recommend

such action, office clerical employees, guards and professional

employees, as defined in the [ National Labor Relations Act],

as amended.” In October 1978, certain employees on Seeburg’s

payroll were transferred to Seeburg Service’s payroll. All of the

employees on Seeburg Service’s payroll about January 1980

had at one time worked for Seeburg. The terms of the 1977-

1980 collective-bargaining agreement were applied to the em-

ployees on the Seeburg Service payroll. Joseph P. Dillon,

Seeburg’s treasurer and the chairman of its board, testified that

the contract was so applied on a “voluntary basis.” However,

Dillon further testified that at least some Seeburg Service

employees were subject to the arrangement, set forth in the

contract, that on an employee’s written request, the employer

would deduct union dues from his wages and pay them to the

Union. Also, the contract contains a union-shop clause; and all

of Seeburg’s Service’s plant clerical, production, and mainte-

nance employees were union members. Sections 8(a)(3) and

302(c)(4) of the Act forbid an employer to pay to a union any

membership dues deducted from his employees’ wages, and to

require union membership as a condition of employment,

i £

zy

“ue es +

_~ me es

2la

without a collective-bargaining agreement calling for such

action. I conclude that the Seeburg-Union agreement covered

Seeburg Service’s employees. Accordingly, I find that at all

material times herein, the appropriate unit consisted of both

Seeburg’s and Seeburg Service’s employees with the job

classifications described in the collective-bargaining agreement.

On February 4, 1980, Yorke was appointed by the United

States Bankruptcy court to act as Seeburg’s trustee in bank-

ruptcy. As shown infra, a few days later he closed down the

operations of both Seeburg and Seeburg Service. At the

hearing before me, Seeburg’s attorney, Neil P. Gantz, stated

without disagreement from any party that in preparing the

schedules in the Bankruptcy Court, he had considered Seeburg

Service’s assets to be Seeburg assets, “and as it turned out, we

agreed later on that [Seeburg Service’s assets] were, in fact,

part of the assets of the Seeburg Corporation.”' Gantz further

stated, in effect, that parts received from Seeburg Service by

various distributors after the filing of Seeburg’s petition for

reorganization were received by them pursuant to petitions filed

with and ruled on by the Bankruptcy Court. I find that Yorke

was the trustee in bankruptcy for both Seeburg and Seeburg

Parts. I find that at all material times after February 4, 1980,

Yorke has been an employer within the meaning of the Act,

and (for reasons stated infra Part II E) an alter ego of Seeburg

and Seeburg Parts.

1 Gantz stated that he had believed until late 1979 or January

1980 that Seeburg Service was a subsidiary of Seeburg rather than, as

it in fact was, a subsidiary of the same corporation which owned

Seeburg. When the real corporate relationship was ascertained,

separate bank accounts and payrolls were established. The Seeburg

Service accounts were controlled by Seeburg treasurer Dillon. The

record fails to show what other role, if any, he played in managing

Seeburg Service.

22a

II. The Alleged Unfair Labor Practices

A. Background

Before mid-July 1979, Seeburg and Seeburg Service had

an active payroll of about 385 or 395 employees. The

traditional vacation period was in late July or early August.

However, because in 1979 Seeburg had financial or cash-flow

problems, the vacation period that year began in Mid-July; and

(although the vacation period proper ended in mid-August),

nobody was called back to work until mid-September. Also, at

that time only about 250 unit employees were recalled.

On October 19, 1979, Seeburg filed a petition for reorgan-

ization under Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Act. At about this

time, further layoffs were effected, and the complement was

reduced to about 150 unit employees. About early January

1980, the complement was again reduced to no more than 60

employees, mostly on Seeburg’s payroll. By February 4, 1980,

only about 7 unit employees were still actively working. Be-

tween October 19, 1970, and February 8, 1980, when except for

the last 4 days Seeburg was a debtor in possession, Seeburg lost

about $350,000.

The foregoing recalls and (inferentially) layoffs were

effected in accordance with the seniority provisions of the

collective-bargaining agreement. The Union never requested

bargaining about the matter of the layoffs effected before

February 4, 1980.

B. The Appointment of Trustee Yorke;

The Shutdown of Operations

On February 4, 1980, the Bankruptcy Court appointed

Yorke to act as trustee in bankruptcy for Seeburg. Yorke

testified that his duties as trustee were to investigate Seeburg’s

financial condition and determine whether Seeburg had oper-

ated at a profit while it was a debtor in possession, to evaluate

Seeburg’s assets, and to attempt to file a plan of reorganization

23a

on which creditors could vote. He further testified that he

assumed that when he was appointed on February 4, he had

full authority to operate Seeburg.

On February 4, 1980, at about 2 p.m., Yorke paid his first

visit to the plant being used by Seeburg and Seeburg Parts. He

was accompanied by attorney Malcolm Gaynor, who represent-

ed the creditors’ committee, and a man named Greenhouse,

who represented Seeburg. During this visit, Yorke saw only the

first-floor production area, where the lights were turned off and

nobody was present, and the office, where he saw only Dillon

and a bookkeeper. However, as of that date, about 7 unit

employees were still on the payroll.

At the first creditors’ meeting on February 8, 1980, Dillon

told them and Yorke under oath that Seeburg had lost about

$350,000 since it filed its October 19 petition, it had about

$5,000 in the bank, and it owed Seeburg’s employees (unit and

nonunit) more than $5,000 in wages.? Dillon further stated that

Seeburg was on a secured lending basis with the Chase

Manhattan Bank, all of Seeburg’s receivables and inventory

were pledged to Chase in return for periodic loans to Seeburg,

and Chase had joined with other creditors in the petition to

appoint a trustee. As of that date, Seeburg’s liabilities exceeded

$8 million and the book value of its assets approximated $6

million; when liquidated, its assets amounted to about $1.5

million.

Yorke testified that as trustee, he had the power to

continue the business in operation without the approval! of the

Bankruptcy Court. He further testified that he sought an order

to shut it down. On an undisclosed date between the close of

the creditors’ meeting on Friday, February 8, and the issuance

of an order of the Bankruptcy Court on Monday, February 11,

2 They had been paid through February 2, 1980, but not for work

performed thereafter. Dillon had control of a separate fund sufficient

to meet the payroll of Seeburg Service (see supra fn. 1).

af ae

24a

Yorke filed a motion, which is not in the record before me, with

that Court. On February 11, 1980, the Bankruptcy Court issued

an “Order Authorizing Trustee to Curtail Operations of the

Debtor,” which stated, in part:

THIS CAUSE coming on to be heard on the application of

Nathan Yorke, trustee in bankruptcy, for authority to curtail

the debtor’s operations; due written notice having been given to

all parties entitled thereto and the court being fully advised in

the premises, it appearing that continued operations of the

debtor in a manner similar to that which has been followed

since the initiation of these proceedings, would be unprofitable

and counter-productive to the instant reorganization proceed-

ing;

IT IS ORDERED that Nathan Yorke, trustee in bank-

ruptcy, be and he hereby is, authorized to curtail the debtor’s

operations by:

(a) Terminating all personnel save certain key indi-

viduals who will be retained for services the trustee deems

necessary in furtherance of the instant reorganization; ...

C. The Shutdown without Notice

to the Union

Yorke received this Order the day it was issued, February

11. That same day, he shut down the plant facility being used

by both Seeburg and Seeburg Service, and released all the

personnel, including about 7 unit employees. Yorke did not,

before taking this action, give any notice to the Union that such

action was contemplated.? He credibly testified that when he

took this action, he did not know that a union represented

Seeburg’s employees; “the only one I spoke to was Mr. Dillon,

and he didn’t advise me of it.”

3One of the laid-off employees was the union steward. No

contention is made that whatever notice he received of his own layoff

constituted legally adequate notice to the Union that the operation

had been shut down.

25a

D. Events after the February 11, 1980 Shutdown

1. The February 1980 correspondence

between the Union and Yorke

On February 15, 1980, union attorney Edwin H. Benn sent

virtually identical letters to Yorke and to Seeburg which read in

part as follows:

The undersigned represents Local 743, 1.B.T. The

Union has a collective bargaining agreement covering the

employees of Seeburg Corporation....

...It has also come to our attention that the remaining

employees of Seeburg Corp. have been locked out as of

February 11, 1980.

This is also to demand that an immediate meeting be set

up so that we can discuss the decision and effects that your

action has on our bargaining unit employees.

The letters went on to inquire the identity of the share-

holders of Seeburg, X Cor International, Inc., and Choice Vend,

Inc., and asked a number of other questions whose answers

would tend to show whether these three corporations were

interrelated in a manner which might impose duties on X Cor

and/or Choice Vend with respect to employees on Seeburg’s

payroll.4 Further, the letters asked for the names and addresses

4The June 1980 initial complaint herein alleged, inter alia, that

“Respondent X Cor, Respondent Seeburg, Respondent Choice

/Vend/, Respondent Yorke, ... Respondent Seeburg Service” and

other corporations were a single employer, a joint employer, or alter

egos, and that Yorke was a successor in bankruptcy to Seeburg and/or

the other corporations. The June !980 complaint also included

allegations that ail the respondents named therein had violated

Section 8(a)(5) and (1) when Choice Vend transferred unit work to

Windsor Locks, Connecticut, from the Chicago plant involved herein,

and discharged Chicago employees, without prior notice to the Union

and without affording the Union an opportunity to negotiate regard-

ing the decision to transfer and its effects. Prior to the hearing before

me, the case was apparently settled with respect to X Cor, Choice

Vend, and the other corporations named in the June 1980 complaint

but not in the November 1980 complaint before me.

26a

of any prospective purchasers of Seeburg. The letters con-

cluded:

Please be advised that we expect our collective bargaining

agreement to be abided by and we expect a response to this

letter by close of business February 22, 1980. Failure to answer

this letter by the time indicated will necessitate the institution of

the proper proceeding.

Seeburg as such never answered this letter. Yorke’s reply

is dated February 25, 1980, and reads in its entirety:

I am in receipt of your letter dated February 15, 1980.

Please be advised that the undersigned was appointed Trustee

on February 4, 1980. Be further advised that the Trustee

discontinued the operation of the business and has no employ-

ees.

In reply to your questions, Excor [sic] is a publicly owned

company. Consolidated Entertainment owns all the stock of the

Seeburg Corporation. I do not know who owns Choice Vend. I

do not know if Choice Vend or Excor have any collective

bargaining agreements with labor organizations.

If there is any further information you desire, I will be

happy to furnish same.

Benn filed the initial charges herein on February 28, 1980,

and made no further attempt to get in touch with Yorke.

Meanwhile, on February 19, Yorke received about $6,000,

apparently constituting all of Seeburg’s cash on hand, which

monies, pursuant to an order of the Bankruptcy Court, he used

on February 25 to pay the Seeburg employees’ wages for

periods through Saturday, February 9, 2 days before the

terminations.

27a

2. Arrangements made between the Union and

Yorke to recall a few employees

Thereafter, the Bankruptcy’ Court authorized Yorke to

offer some parts for sale. During an early April 1980 confer-

ence initiated by Yorke and Dillon, they discussed with union

representative Harry Peters a plan to recall two or three unit

employees to assist in the sale of the parts. Later, Peters

telephoned Yorke that Peters would commit York and Dillon

to recall certain individuals, and they were in fact recalled.

Yorke and/or Dillon asked Peters for a letter authorizing this

recall, and he sent that letter.

3. Yorke’s efforts to reject the

bargaining agreement

On an undisclosed date after February 15, Yorke filed with

the Bankruptcy Court an application to reject the collective-

bargaining agreement. This application was opposed by both

the Union and the Board, and was subsequently withdrawn.

However, the contract was eventually rejected under the specif-

ic terms of the plan of arrangement eventually approved by the

Bankruptcy Court on July 28, 1980.

4. The July 22, 1980, settlement meeting

After the issuance of the original complaint herein, Gay-

nor, the attorney for the creditors’ committee, telephoned union

attorney Benn and requested a meeting. Benn told Gaynor that

“we could discuss the charges, the complaint, and hopefully

settlement.” During this meeting, which was held on July 22,

1980, Gaynor made an unsuccessful effort to induce the Union

to withdraw its unfair labor practice charges. At the hearing

and in posthearing briefs, the General Counsel and union

counsel requested me to disregard the evidence about what was

5 The record fails to show whether these parts were owned by

Seeburg or by Seeburg Parts. See supra Part I.

~

28a

said during this July 22 meeting, on the ground that it

constituted “compromise negotiations” within the meaning of

Rule 408 of the Federal Rules of Evidence. I conclude that

their position in this respect is well taken.®

5. Bankruptcy Court proceedings

On July 28, 1980, the Bankruptcy Court ruled that the

backpay claimed by the Board as due in the instant proceedings

was an administrative expense entitled to priority order under

Section 507(a)(1) of the Bankruptcy Code. Seeburg Corp. v.

N.L.R.B., 105 LRRM 3050, 5 B.R. 364.7 As of that date, the

Board had modified its proof of claim so as to total $55,000.

Also on July 28, the Bankruptcy Court approved a reorganiza-

tion plan under which Seeburg and its purchaser in liquidation,

Stern Electronics, Inc., agreed to set aside $49,000 of the

estate’s assets should a finding of backpay liability ultimately be

made. Stern Electronics agreed to commit to cover the

remaining $6,000 of the potential liability. Seeburg, supra, 105

LRRM at 3356.

6 Rule 408 is applicable to compromise offers made by a party to

the litigation to a nonparty. 2 Weinstein’s Evidence para. 408/01/,

p. 408-13 (1980). Accordingly, I need not and do not consider

whether Yorke’s status as a party hereto rendered the creditors’

committee a party also. Yorke Exhibit 1, a July 23, 1980, letter from

Benn to Gaynor purporting to summarize the July 22 meeting, was

offered by the General Counsel, and received in evidence, solely for

the purpose of showing that the July 22 meeting was a settlement

discussion.

7 The Court also granted the request of Seeburg, Yorke, and the

creditors’ committee for an order enjoining the Board from processing

the instant unfair labor practice case, which the Court said would be

disposed of by the Court itself. On November 13, 1980, the United

States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois vacated the

Bankruptcy Judge’s order, and directed him to refrain from hearing

the unfair labor practice charges. 105 LRRM 3355.

29a

The July 25, 1980, hearing on confirmation before the

Bankruptcy Court was attended by, inter alia, attorney William

G. Kocol on behalf of the NLRB, Benn on the Union’s behalf,

Gaynor on behalf of the creditors’ committee, attorney Joseph

Matz on Seeburg’s behalf, and Yorke. Matz stated on the

record that following the Bankruptcy Court’s order confirming

the plan of arrangement, there would be a closing as provided

for in the contract, and Seeburg’s assets would be transferred in

due course to Stern. Matz went on to say that as of that

moment there would be no more need for Yorke to maintain

any operation whatsoever, that he would be terminating the

remaining employees, and that he had told Matz that three of

these employees were union employees. Gaynor said that if the

Union wanted Yorke to bargain with respect to the effect of

what he was doing pursuant to the plan and in the order of

confirmation, “he is here and we would be glad to do such

bargaining in open court. ... I think we should do this first.”

The Bankruptcy Judge said that he would not attend bargain-

ing, but his courtroom could be used for that purpose. Benn

said that the Union would be more than happy to sit down with

Yorke immediately, but might be unable to do so that day

because the Union’s bargaining representative, business agent

Peters, was not there. Gaynor said that he wanted a steno-

graphic record of the bargaining. Benn said that“... the Labor

Board has held repeatedly that is unlawful [cf. infra fn. 10]. It

takes away from the give and take of what happens at the

bargaining table ... I am happy [Gaynor] recognizes his right

as of this point to let the bargainers do whatever they want to

do.” Gaynor said that there should be a stenographic record;

“There is no give and take because there is nothing that Mr.

Yorke has to give.” The Bankruptcy Judge said, ““Mr. Gaynor,

we have the record here. You have made it very clear. This

stenographic reporter is available. You have made your offer to

negotiate, counsel has responded.”

6. The late August discussions

By letter to Yorke dated July 31, 1980, union attorney

Benn demanded that negotiations commence immediately

30a

“concerning the effects of the final phase out of the Seeburg

operation which was accomplished July 28, 1980.” In con-

sequence of this letter, a late August 1980 meeting was held

between Seeburg attorney Gantz, creditors’ committee at-

torneys Gaynor and Gettleman, union attorney Benn, union

representative Peters, and Yorke. Benn asked how many

employees had been on the Seeburg payroll as of February

1980. Gantz said seven. Benn asked for their names, wage

rates, and classifications, and Gantz said he would get that

information for Benn. There is no claim that Gantz failed to do

so. Benn said that 300 or 400 people had been on layoff status

when Seeburg filed its October 1979 petition, and asked

whether Yorke could obtain jobs for them with Stern Elec-

tronics, the purchaser in liquidation. Yorke replied that he had

no control over Stern. He said that letters of reference would be

furnished to these employees, but no such letters were ever

furnished. Benn asked if payments to the pension plan were

current. He was told that they were, and accepted this

representation. Benn asked whether payments had been made

to the hospitalization insurance carrier. Gantz said that a claim

for the premiums had been filed by the carrier, there was going

to be no objection, the Bankruptcy Court was going to allow it,

and employees would thereby obtain coverage for that period

of time.

Benn said that he would like to discuss severance pay.

Gaynor and Yorke told him to show some authority where

Yorke could give severance pay. Benn said that the Bankruptcy

Court had set aside $55,000 and had determined that it would

“come off the top” as a cost of administration; that the Labor

Board settlement, if agreed to, would amount to $7,000 or

$8,000; and that the remainder could be distributed among the

400 employees (aside from the 7 retained on the payroll) as

severance pay. Gaynor and Yorke said that they did not know

under what section of the Bankruptcy Act Yorke would be able

to make such a distribution, that these 300 or 400 employees

whose jobs had been terminated in October 1979 had filed no

3la

claims in the bankruptcy proceedings, and that the time had

expired for them to file such claims. Benn said that he was not

talking about the bankruptcy code, that he was talking about

obligations under the National Labor Relations Act and the

duty to bargain about effects. Yorke said that he did not

operate under the labor laws, he operated under the Bank-

ruptcy Act.

Gaynor said that as to the Labor Board case, the Govern-

ment had a “bullshit case,” and that Benn and NLRB attorney

Kccol had conspired to file a fraudulent claim. Benn suggested

that Gaynor tell this to the Bankruptcy Court judge. Benn said

that he had heard from Kocol that there were discussions

concerning settlement of the Labor Board case. Gaynor said

that he would not settle the Labor Board case. Benn said that

someone should tell that to Kocol, because Benn felt that Kocol

was “being led down the path.” Gaynor replied, “.. . they only

listened to the Labor Board’s offer, they were not going to settle

it.” Gaynor then asked Benn whether “we had bargained.”

Benn replied, “I suppose that remains to be seen at a later

date.” Nobody suggested a future meeting.®

8 My findings as to what was said during this late August meeting

are based mostly on the testimony of union attorney Benn, who was

called as a witness by Respondent Yorke. I perceive no basis in

Benn’s credible testimony for his statement, at the end of his direct

testimony, that “the entire meeting was settlement.” A finding that at

least part of this meeting constituted a settlement discussion would be

warranted were I to credit Yorke’s testimony that Gaynor said “he

wouldn't suggest settling with the National Labor Relations Board

unless the Union was a party to it... because that would leave the ©

Union as an open end to the agreement.” However, such testimony is

inconsistent with Benn’s credible testimony regarding Gaynor’s ex-

pressed position, Yorke’s counsel makes no contention that Benn’s

testimony varied from his contemporaneous notes (which he supplied

to Yorke’s counsel), and Yorke’s testimony as a whole shows that he

had a poor memory. Accordingly, I do not accept the testimony of

Yorke summarized in this footnote. Hence, I perceive no credible

factual predicate for Benn’s contention, not renewed in his brief, that

evidence as to the late August meeting is inadmissible under Rule 408

of the FRE as “statements made in compromise negotiations.”

32a

E. Analysis and Conclusions

When an employer decides to terminate or close its entire

operation it must, once that decision is made, afford the

employees’ collective-bargaining representative the opportunity

to bargain over the impact and effect of that decision on unit

employees. Burgmeyer Bros., Inc., 254 NLRB No. 126 (1981);

Summit Tooling Co., 195 NLRB 479 (1972), enfd. 474 F.2d

1352, 83 LRRM 2044, 2047 (C.A. 7, 1973). This duty is not

relieved by the employer’s bankruptcy, and any consequent belief

by it that it would be financially unable to meet any of the union’s

bargaining demands. Burgmeyer, supra. A trustee in bank-

ruptcy is the alter ego of the bankrupt employer, and, like that

employer, is under a duty to comply with the National Labor

Relations Act, including the requirement to engage in collective

bargaining. Jersey Juniors, Inc., 230 NLRB 329, 331-332

(1977); Burgmeyer, supra.

Immediately after the General Counsel and the Union had

rested, counsel for Respondent Yorke admitted the truth of the

complaint allegation that about February 8, 1980, Respondents

terminated operations, and discharged the employees, without

prior notice to the Union and without having afforded the

Union an opportunity to negotiate regarding the effect of such

conduct. Moreover, the record as a whole establishes that on

February 11, 1980, Respondents in fact did this. The foregoing

establishes, at least prima facie, that Respondents thereby

violated Section 8(a)(5) and (1) of the Act.

Respondent Yorke defends his own failure to give the

Union such notice on the ground that when he shut down the

plant, he did not know that the employees had a collective-

bargaining representative. Because Seeburg and Seeburg Parts

obviously did know, I doubt the legal sufficiency of Yorke’s

defense in this respect. See N.L.R.B. v. E.D.S. Service Co., 466

F.2d 157 (C.A. 9, 1972); Jersey Juniors, supra, 230 NLRB at

331-332; N.L.R.B. v. Albuquerque Phoenix Express, 368 F.2d

451, 452-453 (C.A. 10, 1966).

33a

In any event, Yorke failed to bargain with the Union about

the shutdown’s effect on employees even after it found out about

the shutdown and made a written “demand that an immediate

meeting be set up so that we can discuss the. . . effects that your

action has on our bargaining unit employees.” Yorke’s written

response did not refer to the request for a meeting, but merely

said that he had discontinued the operation of the business and

had no employees, gave some of the information requested by

the Union regarding corporations allegedly related to Seeburg,

and said that he would be happy to furnish further informa-

tion. Furthermore, during the July 25, 1980, Bankruptcy

Court session, Yorke remained silent when the attorney for the

creditors’ committee stated that there could be no give and take

in bargaining because Yorke had nothing to give, and when

Gaynor adhered to his insistence on a stenographic transcript of

any bargaining sessions, notwithstanding Benn’s statement that

the Union would exercise its right to commence negotiations

without a stenographer.'° Indeed, at the hearing before me,

Yorke attributed to himself some of the remarks which the

Bankruptcy Court transcript shows were in fact made by

Gaynor. Finally, when in August 1980 the Union asked Yorke

to discuss severance pay, Yorke said that he had no authority

under the Bankruptcy Act to make such payments and that he

operated under that Act and not the labor laws. Indeed, Yorke

® Yorke’s counsel stated at the outset of the hearing that the

Union’s letter included a request that Yorke “bargain about the

effects of” the closing. I agree, and do not accept counsel’s contention,

on page 4 of his post-hearing brief, that this letter was “ambiguous.”

See Hankamer Ready Mix Concrete Co., 234 NLRB 608, 615 (1978);

Richmond, Division of Pak-Well, 206 NLRB 260, 261 (1973).

Moreover, I find that Yorke’s failure to answer that portion of the

letter constituted a refusal to bargain. First National Maintenance

Corp. 242 NLRB No. 72, fn. | (1979), enfd. 627 F.2d 596 (C.A. 2,

1980), cert. granted, Jan. 12, 1981; Summersville Industrial Equip-

ment Co., Division of Marathon Coal Bit Co., 197 NLRB 731, 735

(1972).

10 Bartlett-Collins Co., 237 NLRB 770 (1978), enfd. 106 LRRM

2272 (C.A. 10, 1981).

34a

did not even keep the promise which he gave during that

meeting, after he was asked about obtaining jobs for the

employees with Stern, to furnish the employees with letters of

reference.

Conclusions of Law

1. At all material times until February 8, 1980, The

Seeburg Corporation was engaged in commerce within the

meaning of Section 2(6) and (7) of the Act.

2. At all material times herein, Seeburg Service Parts

Corporation was engaged in commerce within the meaning of

Section 2(6) and (7) of the Act.

3. At all material times herein, The Seeburg Corporation,

Seeburg Service Parts Corporation, and Nathan Yorke, Trustee

in Bankruptcy, collectively, were engaged in commerce within

the meaning of Section 2(6) and (7) of the Act.

4. At all material times herein, The Seeburg Corporation

and Seeburg Service Parts Corporation have constituted a

single integrated business enterprise and single and/or joint

employer within the meaning of the Act.

5. At all material times on and after February 4, ‘1980,

Yorke has been the trustee in bankruptcy for The Seeburg

Corporation and Seeburg Service Parts Corporation, and an

employer within the meaning of Section 2(1) and (2) of the

Act.

6. At all material times on and after February 4, 1980,

Yorke has occupied alter ego status with respect to The Seeburg

Corporation and Seeburg Parts Corporation.

7. The following employees of The Seeburg Corporation,

Seeburg Service Parts Corporation, and/or Yorke, constitute a

unit appropriate for the purposes of collective bargaining within

the meaning of Section 9(b) of the Act: All plant clerical, and

all production and maintenance employees at the Chicago,

Illinois plant, excluding executive, supervisory employees, time-

keepers, foremen with power to hire and fire or to effectively

recommend such action, office clerical employees, guards and

professional employees as defined in the Act.

35a

8. The Union is a labor organization within the meaning

of Section 2(5) of the Act.

9. By virtue of Section 9(a) of the Act, the Union has been

at all material times and still is the exclusive representative of

the unit described in conclusion of law 7.

10. On February 11, 1980, The Seeburg Corporation,

Seeburg Service Parts, and Yorke terminated operations at the

Chicago, Illinois, facility, and discharged the employees at that

facility, without prior notice to the Union and without having

afforded the Union an opportunity to negotiate and bargain

concerning the effects of such conduct on unit employees.

11. By engaging in the conduct described in conclusion of

law 10, The Seeburg Corporation, Seeburg Service Parts, and

Yorke engaged in unfair labor practices within the meaning of

Section 8(a)(5) and (1) of the Act, which unfair labor

practices affect commerce within the meaning of Section 2(6)

and (7) of the Act.

The Remedy

Having found that Respondents have violated the Act in

certain respects, I shall recommend that Respondents be re-

quired to cease and desist therefrom. Affirmatively, Respond-

ents will be required to bargain with the Union, on request, with

respect to\the effects on employees of the decision to terminate

operations, and to mail appropriate notices.

I agree with Respondent that under National Terminal

Baking Corp., a Subsidiary of Kosher Kitchens, 190 NLRB 465

(1971), mo backpay order should issue here. Although it is

unclear just when Yorke reached his decision to ask the

Bankruptcy Court for permission to shut down the plant, 97

percent of the unit employees had been laid off before he

became trustee, Seeburg had lost $350,000 during the 4 months

before he became trustee, and Yorke had been trustee for only

a week before receiving and acting on permission to shut down

36a

the plant. Under these circumstances, as in National Terminal,

Respondents’ failure to bargain about effects did not occur at a

time when the Union was in a position of economic strength.

The backpay orders in the cases cited by the General Counsel

and the Union constituted efforts to assure meaningful bargain-

ing by restoring such strength in situations where, if the

employer had timely complied with his duty to bargain about

effects, the union could have imposed some economic pressure

to compel the employer to accede to the union’s demands."'

The Union requests an order affording it “bargaining

expenses, attorneys’ fees and other costs” on the ground that

because “the Respondent [sic] has admittedly stated that it

purposely refused to acknowledge its obligations under the Act,

it is apparent that the defenses raised are patently frivolous.” In

further support of this contention, the Union alleges that the

unfair labor practices in this case are “flagrant” and that it was

“required to participate” in “many forays. . . in Respondent’s

[sic] actions in the bankruptcy court seeking injunctive relief

against the Board proceedings.” To the extent that the Union is

requesting its costs in the proceedings before the Bankruptcy

Court and the District Court, the Union’s request should be

directed to those Courts and not to me. Further, Board precedent

points to the denial of “costs” in connection with the instant

litigation before the agency itself, because a major issue in this

case is whether a backpay order should issue and, if so, to whom;

and as to this issue, I have found Yorke’s position not only

nonfrivolous, but warranted. See Heck’s, Inc., 215 NLRB 765

(1974); Wellman Industries, Inc., 248 NLRB 325 (1980).

Indeed, I note that although the General Counsel and the Union

'! Burgmeyer, supra; First National Maintenance, supra, 242

NLRB No. 72; Thompson Transport Co., 184 NLRB 38 (1970);

Transmarine Navigation Corp., 170 NLRB 389 (1968). See also

Drapery Manufacturing Co., Inc., 170 NLRB 1706 ( 1968), enfd. 425

F.2d 1026 (C.A. 8, 1970), where there was a possibility that the

employees who lost their jobs could have been absorbed into one of

the employer’s other overations.

37a

both seek a backpay order, they disagree between themselves as to

whether the beneficiaries should include the employees on layoff

before the shutdown.

Upon the entire record, and pursuant to Section 10(c) of

the Act, I hereby issue the following recommended Order: '2

ORDER

Respondents Nathan Yorke, Trustee in Bankruptcy; The

Seeburg Corporation; Seeburg Service Parts Corporation; their

officers, agents, successors, and assigns, shall:

1. Cease and desist from failing to bargain with Local

Union 743, Warehouse, Mail Order, Technical and Professional

Employees Union, International Brotherhood of Teamsters,

Chauffeurs, Warehousemen and Helpers of America, about the

effect, on employees in the following unit, of the decision to

terminate operations on February 11, 1980:

‘All plant clerical, and all production and maintenance

employees on the payroll of The Seeburg Corporation and

Seeburg Service Parts Corporation at the Chicago, Illinois,

plant, excluding executive, supervisory employees, timekeepers,

foremen with power to hire and fire or to effectively recommend

such action, Office clerical employees, guards and professional

employees as defined in the Act.

2. Take the following affirmative action which will

effectuate the policies of the Act:

12In the event no exceptions are filed as provided by Section

102.46 of the Rules and Regulations of the National Labor Relations

Board, the findings, conclusions, and recommended Order herein

shall, as provided in Section 102.48 of the Rules and Regulations, be

38a

(a) Upon request, bargain collectively with the above-

named labor organization with respect to the effect on

employees in the above-described unit of the decision to

terminate operations on February 11, 1980, and reduce to

writing any agreement reached as a result of such bargain-

ing.

(5) Mail a copy of the attached notice marked

“Appendix”? to each employee in the appropriate unit

(whether actively working or on layoff status) as of

February 11, 1980. Copies of said notice, on forms

provided by the Regional Director for Region 13, after

being duly signed by Respondents’ authorized representa-

tives, shall be mailed immediately upon receipt thereof.

(c) Notify the Regional Director for Region 13, in

writing, within 20 days from the date of this Order, what

steps Respondents have taken to comply herewith.

Dated Washington, D.C. April 23, 1981

/s/ Nancy M. SHERMAN

Nancy M. Sherman

Administrative Law Judge

3 In the event that this Order is enforced by a Judgment of a

United States Court of Appeals, the words in the notice reading

“POSTED BY ORDER OF THE NATIONAL LABOR RELA-

TIONS BOARD” shall read “POSTED PURSUANT TO A JUDG-

MENT OF THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

ENFORCING AN ORDER OF THE NATIONAL LABOR RELA-

TIONS BOARD.”

39a

APPENDIX

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES

POSTED BY ORDER OF THE NATIONAL LABOR

RELATIONS BOARD

AN AGENCY OF THE UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT

After a hearing in which all parties had a chance to present

their evidence, it has been found that we violated the Act in

certain ways. We have been ordered to mail you this notice.

We intend to carry out the order of the Board and abide by the

following:

WE WILL NOT fail to bargain with LOCAL UNION 743,

WAREHOUSE, MAIL ORDER, TECHNICAL AND

PROFESSIONAL EMPLOYEES UNION, INTER-

NATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF _ TEAMSTERS,

CHAUFFEURS, WAREHOUSEMEN AND HELPERS

OF AMERICA, about the effect on employees in the

following unit of the decision to terminate operations on

February 11, 1980:

All plant clerical, and all production and maintenance

employees on the payroll of The Seeburg Corporation and

Seeburg Service Parts Corporation at the Chicago, Illinois,

plant, excluding executive, supervisory employees, time-

keepers, foremen with power to hire and fire or to effectively

recommend such action, office clerical employees, guards and

professional employees as defined in the Act.

40a

WE WILL, on request, bargain collectively with respect to the

effect on employees in the above-described unit of the decision to

terminate operations, and reduce to writing any agreement

reached as a result of such bargaining.

NATHAN YORKE, TRUSTEE IN BANKRUPTCY

(Employer)

a

( Representative ) ( Title )

THE SEFBURG CORPORATION

(Employer)

a

( Representative ) ( Title )

SEEBURG SERVICE ParTS Co.

(Employer)

| aoe

( Representative ) (Title)

THIS IS AN OFFICIAL NOTICE AND MUST NOT BE DEFACED

BY ANYONE

This notice must remain posted for 60 consecutive days from the date of posting

and must not be altered, defaced, or covered by any other material. Any questions

concerning this notice or compliance with its provisions may be directed to the Board’s

Office, Everett McKinley Dirksen Building, 219 S. Dearborn Street, Chicago, IL 60604,

Telephone (312) 353-7597.

4la

259 NLRB No. 105

Chicago, IL

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Before the National Labor Relations Board

NATHAN YORKE, TRUSTEE IN

BANKRUPTCY, SUCCESSOR IN

BANKRUPTCY, OR ALTER EGO

TO THE SEEBURG CORPO-

RATION AND SEEBURG SER-

VICE PARTS CO.,' A SINGLE EM-

PLOYER

and

LOCAL UNION 743, WARE-

HOUSE, MAIL ORDER, TECHNI-

CAL AND PROFESSIONAL EM-

PLOYEES UNION, INTER-

NATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF

TEAMSTERS, CHAUFFEURS,

WAREHOUSEMEN AND HELP-

ERS OF AMERICA

Case 13—CA—19631 »

DECISION AND ORDER

On April 23, 1981, Administrative Law Judge Nancy M.

Sherman issued the attached Decision in this proceeding.

Thereafter, the General Counsel and the Union filed exceptions

and supporting briefs and Respondent filed cross-exceptions

and an answering brief.

Pursuant to the provisions of Section 3(b) of the National

Labor Relations Act,.as amended, the National Labor Rela-

' Herein respectively called Seeburg and Seeburg Service.

42a

tions Board has delegated its authority in this proceeding to a

three-member panel.

The Board has considered the record and the attached

Decision in light of the exceptions and briefs and has decided to

affirm the rulings, findings, and conclusions of the Adminis-

trative Law Judge and to adopt her recommended Order, as

modified herein.

The Administrative Law Judge found, and we agree, that

Respondent violated Section 8(a)(5) and (1) of the Act by

terminating its operations at its Chicago, Illinois, facility with-

out prior notice to the Union and without affording it an

opportunity to bargain with Respondent concerning the effects

of such conduct on unit employees. However, we disagree with

her further finding that no Transmarine backpay order? is

warranted in the circumstances of this case.

The record shows that the unit employees were covered by

a 3-year collective-bargaining agreement effective to September

1980. Prior to the vacation period which traditionally ends in

mid-August, Respondent Seeburg had in mid-July 1979 an

active payroll of about 385 or 395 employees. However, as

Seeburg had financial or cash-flow problems, no one was called

back to work until mid-September 1979 when only 250 unit

employees were recalled.

On October 19, 1979, Seeburg filed a petition for reorgani-

zation under Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Act. At this time,

there were further layoffs, and by January 1980, the com-

plement was reduced to about 60 employees. By February 4,

1980, only seven employees wee still actively working.? It

appears the layoffs and recalls took place in accordance with

2 Transmarine Navigation Corporation and its Subsidiary, Inter-

national Terminals, Inc., 170 NLRB 389 (1968).

3 Their names appear in the record as follows: G. Pawlick, Mr.

Szafader, Johnnie Miller, Mr. Kopezynski, T. Swienton, Mr. Lakos,

and T. A. Valenza.

43a

the seniority provisions of the parties’ collective-bargaining

agreement and that the Union did not request bargaining or

object to any of the layoffs when they occurrd.

On February 4, 1980, the Bankruptcy (Court appointed

Nathan Yorke to act as Seeburg’s trustee in bankruptcy and

Yorke was given authority to continue to operate the business.

At a creditors’ meeting on February 8, 1980, Yorke learned

from Joseph P. Dillon, Seeburg’s treasurer and chairman of its

board, that Seeburg had lost about $350,000 since it had filed

its October 19, 1979, petition, and that its liabilities exceeded $8

million and the book value of its assets approximated $6 million

which, when liquidated, amounted to about $1.5 million. On

February 11, 1980, Yorke requested, and the Bankruptcy Court

issued, an order authorizing him, inter alia, to curtail Seeburg’s

operations by “terminating all personnel save certain key

individuals who will be retained for services and the trustee

deems necessary in furtherance of the instant reorganiza-

gas.

Upon receipt of the order on February 11, Yorke shut

down the plant facility used by both Seeburg and Seeburg

Service and released all personnel including the seven unit

employees who were still working on that date.* Four days

later, the Union found out about the shutdown and demanded

that an immediate meeting be set up to discuss, inter alia, the

effects of Yorke’s action. In his reply of February 25, Yorke

failed to accede to this demand. Thereafter, the Bankruptcy

Court authorized Yorke to offer some parts for sale and, in

April 1980, Yorke and Dillon made arrangements with the

Union to recall two or three individuals to assist in this

endeavor. According to Yorke, he “operated the business”

until July 1980, when, pursuant to a court-approved reorganiza-

4 Pursuant to an order of the Bankruptcy Court, Yorke paid these

employees their wages through February 9, 1980. Yorke did not

notify the Union of the shutdown. If fact, Yorke at that time did not

know that a union represented Seeburg’s employees.

44a

tion plan, Seeburg and its purchaser in liquidation, Stern

Electronics, agreed to set aside $49,000 of the estate’s assets

should a finding of backpay liability ultimately be made by the

Board.5 In addition, Stern Electronics agreed to cover an

additional $6,000 of potential backpay liability. Upon com-

pletion of the sale at the end of July 1980, Yorke terminated the

employees who had been recalled in April 1980.

As stated above, the Administrative Law Judge properly

found that Respondent violated Section 8(a)(5) and (1) of the

Act by failing to bargain with the Union regarding the effects

on unit employees of its decision to terminate operations on

February 11, 198C. However, as already indicated, she found

that a Transmarine backpay remedy as sought by the General

Counsel was not warranted. In this connection, she pointed to

the fact that 97 percent of the unit employees had been laid off

before Yorke became trustee, that Seeburg had suffered a

$350,000 loss during the 4 months before Yorke became

trustee, and that Yorke served as trustee for only | week before

shutting down the plant. In these circumstances, she also relied

on the Board’s Decision in National TerminaF to support her

holding that, contrary to the 7ransmarine line of cases upon

which the General Counsel relied, Respondent’s failure to

bargain about the effects of the closing did not occur at a time

when the Union was in a position of economic strength. We

find that National Terminal, supra, is inapposite as the employ-

er therein was forced to close “in an almost emergency

situation” because of “a calamitous event,” namely, the theft of

its delivery trucks which made it impossible to continue its

operations.” In significant contrast, Respondent still had valu-

able assets at the time of the shutdown and, in fact, found it

5 By that time the charge in the instant proceeding had been filed

with the Board by the Union.

® National Terminal Baking Corp., a Subsidiary of Kosher Kitch-

ens, Inc., {90 NLRB 465 (1971).

7 See National Terminal Baking Corp., supra at 466-467.

45a

necessary to recall some employees to operate the business until

its sale to another company. Thus, we find, contrary to the

Administrative Law Judge, that in the instant case, unlike the

situation in National Terminal, supra, a measure of balanced

bargaining power existed prior to and at the time of the

shutdown. As we held in Burgmeyer Bros., Inc., 254 NLRB No.

126 (1981), and the cases cited therein, an employer is not

relieved of its obligation to provide backpay in accordance with

the Transmarine formula merely because it has become a

debtor-in-possession under the Bankruptcy Act and believes

that, as a result therecf, it wwuld be financially unable to meet

any of the Union’s bargaining demands.

Accordingly, we shall, in addition to ordering Respondent

to bargain with the Union concerning the effects of the shut-

down, accompany said Order with a limited backpay require-

ment for the seven employees who were actively working as of

the time of the shutdown. The Union contends that the

backpay remedy should also extend to the laid-off employees.

We find no merit in this contention as the layoffs were lawfully

made pursuant to the collective-bargaining agreement of the

parties and the Union interposed no objection to them at the

time they occurred. However, in view of the employee status of

the individuals who were laid off prior to February 4, 1980, we

specifically find that the bargaining order extends to them as well

as to the employees who worked until the time of the shutdown.

THE REMEDY

Having found that Respondent has engaged ix and is

engaging in unfair labor practices within the meaning of

Section 8(a)(5) and (1) of the Act, we shall order that

Respondent cease and desist therefrom and take certain

affirmative action designed to effectuate the policies of the Act.

46a

We shall also order that Respondent bargain with the

Union over the effects on its employees of the discontinuance of

its operations. It is clear, however, that a bargaining order

alone cannot fully remedy the unfair labor practices committed

by Respondent because, as a result of Respondent’s failure to

bargain with the Union about the effects of discontinuing

operations, Respondent’s employees were denied an opportu-

nity to bargain through their exclusive representative at a time

when such bargaining would have been meaningful. Mean-

ingful bargaining cannot now be assured until some measure of

economic strength is restored to the Union. Accordingly, in

order to effectuate the purposes of the Act, we shall accompany

our order to bargain with a limited backpay requirement

designed both to make whole the seven employees, who were

on the payroll on February 11, 1980, for losses suffered as a

result of the violation and to recreate in some practicable

manner a situation in which the parties’ bargaining position is

not entirely devoid of economic consequences for Respondent.

We shall do so in this case by requiring Respondent to pay

backpay to its employees in a manner similar to that required in

Transmarine Navigation Corporation, supra. As in Trans-

marine, we shall require that the backpay for those employees

be not less that the amounts they would have earned during a

2-week period of employment,® at the rate of their normal

wages when last in Respondent’s employ.

Accordingly, we shall order Respondent to bargain upon

request with the Union about the effects on its employees of the

discontinuance of its operations; and to pay these employees

amounts at the rate of their normal wages when last in

Respondent's employ from 5 days after the date of this

® Despite his dissent in Transmarine, Member Jenkins notes that

the remedy there has been accepted by the courts and the Board and,

since some type of remedy for the misconduct is needed, he is

therefore willing to join in the Decision herein. Underwood Hair

Adaption Prucess, Inc., 242 NLRB 1017, fn. 6 (1979); Uncle John's

Pancake House, 232 NLRB 438, fn. 7 ( 1977).

47a

Decision until the occurrence of the earliest of the following

conditions: (1) the date Respondent bargains to agreement

with the Union on those subjects pertaining to the effects of

Respondent’s discontinuance of its operations; (2) a bona fide

impasse in bargaining; (3) the failure of the Union to request

bargaining within 5 days of this Decision, or to commence

negotiations within 5 days of Respondent’s notice of its desire

to bargain with the Union; or (4) the subsequent failure of the

Union to bargain in good faith; but in no event shall the sum

paid to any of these employees exceed the amount each would

have earned as wages from the time Respondent discontinued

its operations to the time each secured equivalent employment

elsewhere, or the date on which Respondent shall have offered

to bargain, whichever occurs first; provided, however, in no

event shall this sum be less than such employees would have

earned for a 2-week period at the rate of their normal wages

when last in Respondent’s employ. Backpay shall be based

upon earnings which the discharged employees would normally

have received during the applicable period, less any net interim

earnings, and shall be computed on a quarterly basis in the

manner set forth in F. W. Woolworth Company, 90 NIPP 289

(1950), with interest thereon computed in the manner provided

in Florida Steel Corporation, 231 NLRB 651 (1977).9

ORDER

Pursuant to Section 10(c) of the National Labor Relations

Act, as amended, the National Labor Relations Board adopts

as its Order the recommended Order of the Administrative Law

Judge, as modified below, and hereby orders that the Respond-

ent, Nathan Yorke, Trustee in Bankruptcy, Successor in Bank-

ruptcy, or Alter Ego to the Seeburg Corporation and Seeburg

See, generally, Jsis Plumbing & Heating Co., 138 NLRB 716

(1962).

Member Jenkins would compute interest on backpay in accor-

dance with his partial dissent in Olympic Medical Corporation, 250

NLRB 146, 148 (1980).

48a

Service Parts Co., a Single Employer, Chicago, Illinois, its

Officers, agents, successors, and assigns, shall take the action set

forth in the said recommend Order, as so modified:

1. Add the following as paragraph 1(b):

“(b) In any like or related manner interfering with,

restraining, or coercing employees in the exercise of their rights

guaranteed under Section 7 of the Act.”

2. Add the following as new paragraphs 2(b) and (c)

respectively and reletter the subsequent paragraphs accord-

ingly:

“(b) Provide backpay to G. Pawlick, Johnnie Miller, T.

Swienton, T. A. Valenza, Mr. Szafader, Mr. Kopezynski, and

Mr. Lakos in the manner set forth in the section of the Board’s

Decision entitled ‘The Remedy.’

“(c) Preserve and, upon request, make available to the

Board or its agents, for examination and copying, all payroll

records, social security payment records, timecards, personnel

records and reports, and all other records necessary to analyze

the amount of backpay due under the terms of this Order.”

3. Substitute the attached notice for that of the Adminis-

trative Law Judge.

Dated, Washington, D.C. December 28, 1981

John H. Fanning,

Member

Howard Jenkins, Jr.,

Member

Don A. Zimmerman,

Member

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS

(SEAL) BOARD

49a

APPENDIX

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES

POSTED BY ORDER OF THE NATIONAL LABOR

RELATIONS BOARD

AN AGENCY OF THE UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT

After a hearing at which all sides had an opportunity to present

evidence and state their positions, the National Labor Relations

Board found that we have violated the National Labor Rela-

tions Act, as amended, and has ordered us to post this notice.

WE WILL NOT fail to bargain with Local Union 743,

Warehouse, Mail Order, Technical and Professional Team-

sters, Chauffeurs, Warehousemen and Helpers of America,

about the effect on employees in the following unit of the

decision to terminate operations on February 11, 1980:

All plant clerical, and all production and mainte-

nance employees on the payroll of The Seeburg Corpo-

ration and Seeburg Service Parts Corporation at the

Chicago, Illinois, plant, excluding executive, super-

visory employees, timekeepers, foremen with power to

hire and fire or to effectively recommend’ such action,

Office clerical employees, guards and profession’ em-

ployees as defined in the Act.

WE WILL NOT in any like or related manner inter-

fere with, restrain, or coerce employees in the exercise of

the rights guaranteed them under Section 7 of the Act.

WE WILL, upon request, bargain collectively with

respect to the effect on employees in the above-described

unit of the decision to terminate operations, and reduce to

writing any agreement reached as a result of such bar-

gaining.

> + a ere t

50a

WE WILL pay the following unit employees who were

discharged on February 11, 1980, when we terminated our

operations, their normal wages, for the period set forth in

the remedy section of the Board’s Decision and Order, plus

interest:

G. Pawlick Mr. Szafader

Johnnie Miller Mr. Kopezynski

T. Swienton Mr. lakos

T. A. Valenza

NATHAN YORKE, TRUSTEE IN BANKRUPTCY

(Employer)

Dated By

( Representative ) (Title)

THE SEEBURG CORPORATION

(Employer)

Dated By

( Representative ) ( Title)

SEEBURG SERVICE Parts Co.

(Employer)

Dated By

( Representative ) (Title)

This is an official notice and must not be defaced by

anyone.

This notice must remain posted for 60 consecutive days

from the date of posting and must not be altered, defaced, or

covered by any other material. Any questions concerning this

notice or compliance with i*s provisions may be directed to the

Board’s Office, Everett McKinley Dirksen Building, 219 S.

Dearborn Street, Chicago, Illinois 60604, Telephone 312-353- /

7597.

Sla

YORKE EX. 2

IN THE UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT

For the Northern District of Illinois

Eastern Division

IN RE:

THE SEEBURG CORPORATION,

a Delaware corporation, Case No. 79 B 39597

Debtor

ORDER AUTHORIZING TRUSTEE TO CURTAIL

OPERATIONS OF THE DEBTOR

At Chicago, in said District, on the 11th day of February, 1980.

THIS CAUSE coming on to be heard on the application of

Nathan Yorke, trustee in bankruptcy, for authority to curtail

the debtor’s operations; due written notice having been given to

all parties entitled thereto and the court being fully advised in

the premises, it appearing that continued operations of the

debtor in a manner similar to that which has been followed

since the initiation of these proceedings, would be unprofitable

and counter-productive to the instant reorganization proceed-

ing,

IT IS ORDERED that Nathan Yorke, trustee in bank-

ruptcy, be and he hereby is, authorized to curtail the debtor’s

operations by: .

(a) Terminating all personnel save certain key indi-

viduals who will be retained for services the trustee deems

necessary in furtherance of the instant reorganization; and

(b) Attempting to reduce utility and rental expenses to

the lowest possible amount by agreement with debtor’s

landlord, Xcor International, Inc.; and

(c) Employing such other and further steps as the

trustee feels are necessary to maintain and preserve the

debtor’s estate.

ENTER:

UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY JUDGE

52a

IN THE UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT

For the Northern District of Illinois

Eastern Division

IN THE MATTER OF ‘

THE SEEBURG CORPORATION,

a Delaware corporation,

DEBTOR

THE SEEBURG CORPORATION,

NATHAN YORKE, Trustee of In a pode

THE SEEBURG CORPO-| Gai

Chapter 11

RATION, and the OFFICIAL

CREDITORS’ COMMITTEE OF ( No. 80 B 39597

THE SEEBURG CORPO- | Adversary Proceeding

RATION, No. 80 A 1088

PLAINTIFFS

vs.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS

BOARD,

DEFENDANT J

ORDER

At Chicago, in said District, on the 28th day of July, 1980.

THIS CAUSE coming on to be heard upon the complaint

of The Seeburg Corporation, debtor, Nathan Yorke, trustee in

Bankruptcy, and the Official Creditors’ Committee for a prelim-

inary and permanent injunction against the National Labor

Relations Board (NLRB) and the answer of the NLRB to said

complaint, the court having considered the memoranda of law

filed by the parties hereto and the statements of counsel; all

parties entitled thereto having received due written notice of

said hearing and the court being fully advised in the premises

finds:

53a

1. On October 19, 1979, the debtor filed its petition for

relief under Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code (“Reorganiza-

tion Proceeding’’).

2. On February 4, 1980, Nathan Yorke was duly appoint-

ed trustee in the Reorganization Proceeding by the U. S.

Trustee pursuant to this Court’s order.

3. On February 11, 1980, this Court entered an order

authorizing the Trustee to curtail the debtor’s operations by,

among other things, terminating all personnel save certain key

individuals who would be retained for services the Trustee

deemed necessary in furtherance of the Reorganization Pro-

ceeding; in accordance therewith, the Trustee did, in fact, so

curtail the debtor’s operations.

4. On June 17, 1980, the NLRB filed a Complaint and

Notice of Hearing against the debtor and the Trustee, among

others, alleging that they had engaged in unfair labor practices

in that certain union members who were employed by the

debtor had been terminated without prior notice to the union

and without having afforded the union an opportunity to

negotiate and bargain concerning the effects of said termina-

tion.

5. The NLRB has set Friday, August 1, 1980, as the date

by which the debtor and the Trustee must file answers to its

Complaint. Failure to file such an answer will be deemed by

the NLRB as an admission of the truth of all of the allegations

in said Complaint.

6. The NLRB, by order dated June 23, 1980, has

scheduled a hearing on this matter for January 19, 1981.

7. On June 10, 1980, the debtor, its Trustee and Com-

mittee filed a Plan of Reorganization (“Plan”) and accom-

panying Disclosure Statement in the Reorganization Proceed-

ing. The approved Disclosure Statement and the Plan have

been mailed to all creditors impaired by the Plan. The Plan

54a

contemplates the sale of substantially all of the debtor’s assets

to Stern Electronics, Inc. The debtor's corporate identity will

remain in edistence until the terms and conditions of the Plan

have been fully performed, but, upon confirmation of the Plan,

the debtor will essentially cease to exist. The Disclosure

Statement clearly reflects the precarious nature of the Plan’s

economic feasibility. Should the debtor’s estate during the

remainder of the Reorganization Proceeding incur or be forced

to reserve amounts for administrative expenses and attorneys’

fees beyond those currently estimated, the Plan will fail.

8. On July 10, 1980, the debtor, Trustee and Committee

filed their Complaint against the NLRB seeking an order

enjoining the NLRB from proceeding against the debtor and

the Trustee for certain alleged unfair labor practices.

9. It would cause irreparable injury to the debtor and the

creditors of its estate if debtor and trustee were required to

appear in the NLRB administrative proceeding and respond to

allegations made therein of unfair labor practices.

10. The NLRB administrative proceeding constitutes a

direct attack upon the assets of this estate.

11. The NLRB has filed its claim herein in the amount of

$142,413.60 which has been reduced in open court to $55,000.

This court has original jurisdiction to hear and determine said

claim.

NOW, THEREFORE, the Court concludes that:

(a) The Court has jurisdiction over the subject matter and

over the parties herein.

(b) The actions of the NLRB in instituting an adminis-

trative proceeding against the debtor and the Trustee after the

filing of the Reorganization Proceeding are subject to the

control of and within the jurisdiction of this Court.

55a

(c) It would cause irreparable injury to the debtor and the

creditors of this estate if the debtor and Trustee were required

to expend those funds necessary to appear in the NLRB

administrative proceeding and respond to the allegations made

therein of unfair labor practices.

IT IS, THEREFORE, HEREBY ORDERED as follows:

(1) The National Labor Relations Board, its agents and

employees, be and they are hereby permanently restrained and

enjoined from continuing to prosecute The Seeburg Corpo-

ration and Nathan Yorke, Trustee of The Seeburg Corporation,

for damages for certain alleged unfair labor practices.

(2) Hearing upon the National Labor Relations Board’s

administrative claim filed herein in the amount of $55,000 be

and the same is hereby set for the 23rd day of September, 1980,

at the. hour of 11:00 A.M. without further notice.

ENTER:

BANKRUPTCY JUDGE

Pig” rH aad i sak

S6a

IN THE UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT

For the Northern District of Illinois

Eastern Division

EOD JUL 28 1980

IN RE:

THE SEEBURG CORPORATION,

Debtor.

THE SEEBURG CORPORATION, |In Proceedings for a

NATHAN YORKE, Trustee of THE page omer +

SEEBURG CORPORATION, and by oh acinudeny

the OFFICIAL CREDITORS’ COM- . Code

PORATION,

Plaintiffs,

Adversary

woe No. 80 A 1088

NATIONAL LABOR .ELATIONS

BOARD,

Defendant. )

" MEMORANDUM OPINION

This matter coming on to be heard upon the Complaint of

THE SEEBURG CORPORATION, NATHAN YORKE,

Trustee of THE SEEBURG CORPORATION, and the OFFI-

CIAL CREDITORS’ COMMITTEE of THE SEEBURG COR-

PORATION for the entry of an order enjoining the Defendant

from prosecuting its action for damages against THE SEE-

BURG CORPORATION and NATHAN YORKE, Trustee of

THE SEEBURG CORPORATION, before the National Labor

Relations Board, Region 13, Case 13-CA-19631, and upon

Defendant’s Answer thereto, and the parties appearing by their

respective attorneys, and

The Court having examined the pleadings filed in this

matter, and having heard the arguments of counsel, and having

57a

received and examined Memoranda of the parties in support of

their respective positions, and the Court being fully advised in

the premises;

The Court Finds:

1. On October 19, 1979, THE SEEBURG CORPO-

RATION, a Delaware corporation, filed its voluntary petition

for relief under chapter || of the Bankruptcy Code. NATHAN

YORKE was duly appointed Trustee of THE SEEBURG

CORPORATION by the United States Trustee for the North-

ern District of Illinois on February 4, 1980.

2. On February 11, 1980, this Court entered an Order

which provided in relevant part as follows:

a

.

IT IS ORDERED that Nathan Yorke, trustee in

bankruptcy, be and he hereby is, authorized to curtail the

debtor’s operations by:

(a) Terminating all personnel, save certain key indi-

viduals who will be retained for services the trustee deems

necessary in furtherance of the reorganization.

“ ”

- oe Ss

Pursuant to the aforesaid order, NATHAN YORKE terminated

all the Debtor’s personnel save certain key individuals whose

services were deemed necessary in furtherance of the instant

reorganization. Subsequent thereto, the Trustee, pursuant to

court order, rehired in connection with the sale of parts

inventory some of the employees previously terminated.

3. On or about June 10, 1980, Plaintiffs filed a Plan of

Reorganization and Disclosure Statement in the instant

reorganization proceedings. The Plan of Reorganization in-

cludes and incorporates by reference a settlement agreement

which contemplates the sale to Stern Electronics, Inc. of

substantially all of the assets of THE SEEBURG CORPO-

58a

RATION. The Agreement further provides that if the Con-

firmation Order has not been entered and become final before

August 15, 1980, the Agreement will terminate and be of no

force and effect.

4. On June 17, 1980, NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS

BOARD, Region 13 filed a Complaint before the National

Labor Relations Board, Region 13, Case 13-CA-19631, alleging

that THE SEEBURG CORPORATION and NATHAN

YORKE, Trustee of THE SEEBURG CORPORATION,

among others, engaged in unfair labor practices affecting

commerce by terminating employees of the Debtor without

prior notice to their union and without having afforded the

union an opportunity to negotiate and bargain concerning the

effects of said conduct.

5. On July 2, 1980, this Court entered an Order approving

the aforesaid Disclosure Statement and setting the hearing on

confirmation of the Plan of Reorganization for July 25, 1980.

6. On July 22, 1980, three days before the scheduled

hearing on confirmation, the NATIONAL LABOR RELA-

TIONS BOARD filed on behalf of certain former employees of

the Debtor a proof of claim in the amount of $142,413.60,

alleging that the claim was entitled to priority. The alleged

basis for the claim is the violation by Debtor of the National

Labor Relations Act, as amended, as set forth in the Complaint

in Case 13-CA-19631 before the National Labor Relations

Board, Region 13.

The Court Concludes and Further Finds:

1. § 507 of the Bankruptcy Code provides in pertinent part

as follows:

“(a) The following expenses and claims have

priority in the following order:

(1) First, administrative expenses allowed

under section 503(b) of this title....

”

.

59a

§ 503(b) of the Bankruptcy Code provides in relevant part

as follows:

“(b) After notice and a hearing, there shall be

allowed, administrative expenses, other than claims

allowed under section 502(f) of this title, including—

(1)(A) the actual, necessary costs and ex-

penses of preserving the estate, including wages,

salaries, or commissions for services rendered after

the commencement of the case. . .

”

The alleged unfair labor practices occurred during the

administration of the instant chapter 11 proceeding. The claim,

insofar as it represents a claim for back pay, seeks a reparation

order designed to vindicate public policy by making the

employees whole for losses suffered on account of an unfair

labor practice. See Nathanson v. National Labor Relations

Board, 344 U.S. 25, 97 L.Ed. 23, 73 S.Ct. 80 (1952). The

claim, essentially one for damages for injury to the employees,

is one of the “actual, necessary costs and expenses of preserving

the estate” within the meaning and purview of § 503(b) (1)

(A). See Reading Company v. Brown, 391 U.S. 471, 20 L.Ed.

751, 88 S.Ct. 1759 (1968). It is an administrative expense

entitled to priority under § 507(a)(1) of the Bankruptcy Code.

2. § 1129 of the Bankruptcy Code provides in relevant part

as follows:

“(a) The court shall confirm a plan only if all of the

following requirements are met:

(9) Except to the extent that the holder of a

particular claim has agreed to a different treatment of

such claim, the plan provides that—

(A) with respect to a claim of a kind speci-

fied in section 507(a)(1) or 507 (a) (2) of this

title, on the effective date of the plan, the holder

of such claim will receive on account of such

claim cash equal to the allowed amount of such

claim;

60a

Under this provision, the Cour: shall not confirm a plan unless

administrative expenses ar: paid. It is therefore essential in

connection with the hearing on confirmation that the claim of

the NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD be liqui-

dated.

3. This Court has jurisdiction to determine the underlying

liability and to liquidate the claim of the NATIONAL LABOR

RELATIONS BOARD. § 241(a) of Title II of the Bankruptcy

Reform Act of 1978 provides as follows:

“(a) Title 28 of the United States Code is amended by

inserting immediately after chapter 89 the following:

§ 1471. Jurisdiction.

(b) Notwithstanding any Act of Congress that confers

exclusive jurisdiction on a court or courts other than the

district courts, the district courts shall have original but not

exclusive jurisdiction of all civil proceedings arising under

title 11 or arising in or related to cases under title 11.

(c) The bankruptcy court for the district in which a

case under title 11 is commenced shall exercise all of the

jurisdiction conferred by this section on the district courts

§ 402(a) of Title IV of the Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978

provides that the aforesaid amendment shall take effect on

April 1, 1984. However, § 404(a) of Title IV provides that the

courts of bankruptcy existing on September 30, 1979 shall

continue through March 31, 1984 to be the courts of bankruptcy

for purposes of the Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978, and

§ 405(b) of said Title further provides as follows:

“(b) During the transition period, the amendments

made by sections 241, 243, 250, and 252 of this Act shall

apply to the courts of bankruptcy continued by section

6la

404(a) of this Act the same as such amendments apply to

the United States bankruptcy courts established under

section 201 of this Act.”

This court therefore has original but not exclusive jurisdiction of

all civil proceedings arising under title 11 or arising in or related

to cases under title 11. The determination of the underlying

liability and the liquidation of the claim of the NATIONAL

LABOR RELATIONS BOARD fall within this grant of

jurisdiction.

4. This Court also has jurisdiction to issue the prayed for

injunction pursuant to the powers granted under § 105(a) of

the Bankruptcy Code:

“(a) The bankruptcy court may issue any order,

process, or judgment that is necessary or appropriate to

carry out the provisions of this title.”

The issuance of an injunction against the NATIONAL

LABOR RELATIONS BOARD in this case is both necessary

and appropriate to carry out the provisions of title 11 of the

United States Code. The Supreme Court, in Nathanson v.

National Labor Relations Board, supra, indicated that the

bankruptcy court should normally stay its hand pending the

decision of the Board:

“The bankruptcy court normally supervises the liqui-

dation of claims. See Gardner v. New Jersey, 329 U.S. 565,

573. But the rule is not inexorable. A sound discretion

may indicate that a particular controversy should be

remitted to another tribunal for litigation. See Thompson

v. Magnolia Co., 309 U.S. 478, 483. And where the matter

in controversy has been entrusted by Congress to an

administrative agency, the bankruptcy court normally

should stay its hand pending an administrative decision.”

Nathanson v. National Labor Relations Board, supra at 30. The

instant case, however, does not present the normal situation

involving the reorganization of a debtor, since the subject claim

62a

is one for an administrative expense, the determination of

which is an exclusive function of this Court and which is directly

related to the Court’s responsibility in its consideration of the

entry of an order confirming a plan of reorganization.

The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, in Re Bel Air Chateau

Hospital, Inc., 611 F.2d 1248 (9th Cir. 1979), distinguished

between the automatic stay provision of Bankruptcy Rule 11-44

and a stay issued as an exercise of discretion. The court could

not determine in that case whether the stay imposed was an

automatic or a discretionary stay and held, in light of the

Supreme Court’s suggestion in Nathanson that the bankruptcy

court should be reluctant to interfere with Board proceedings,

that it would be inappropriate to hold that such proceedings are

automatically stayed. However, the Ninth Circuit Court of

Appeals indicated that if reorganization proceedings threaten

the assets of the estate, the decision is issue a stay can be made

on a discretionary basis. The court therein found that the stay

granted by the bankruptcy court, even if issued as an exercise of

discretion, should not have been imposed. It appeared that the

bankruptcy court issued the stay because a receiver was oper-

ating the business and constituted “...‘a new and distinct

juridical entity’ agazinst whom the prior unfair labor practices

could not be remedied.” Jn re Bel Air Chateau Hospital, Inc.,

supra at 1251. The court pointed out that whether or not the

receiver was a successor to the earlier employer and an entity

against whom the unfair labor practices could be remedied was

a matter of federal labor law. The court stated:

“It is by no means clear in the event that the Board should

determine that Bel Air committed unfair labor practices

that it cannot enforce a remedial order against the Receiv-

er, see, e.g., NLRB v. Coal Creek Coal Co., 204 F.2d 579

(10th Cir. 1953), especially in light of established policy

against allowing employers to change their legal form as a

means of evading their responsibility under the Act.”

Id.

63a

The most recent pronouncement in this area is In re

Shippers Interstate Service, Inc., 618 F.2d 9 (7th Cir. 1980),

which involved the automatic stay of Bankruptcy Rule 11<44.

The court quoted the above language from Bel Air and

emphasized the distinction between liquidation and reorganiza-

tion, warning that Chapter XI should not be used as an easy

sanctuary from federal regulatory proceedings. The court held:

“...[W]here, as here, it appears that the assets of the

estate are not threatened and the company is being

reorganized rather than liquidated, Bankruptcy Rule 11-44

shall not apply and regulatory proceedings of the National

Labor Relations Board are not subject to the automatic

stay provisions of that bankruptcy rule. This does not

preclude imposition of a stay where a proper showing was

made that the regulatory proceedings threatened the estate

assets or that the bankruptcy or other proceedings would

result in the liquidation of the Company.”

Id. at-13.

In the instant case, the alleged unfair labor practices

occurred during the administration of the Chapter 11 proceed-

ing. THE SEEBURG CORPORATION did not file its Chapter

11 petition in order to avoid obligations under the National

Labor Relations Act. The Plan of Reorganization provides for

the sale of substantially all of the Debtor’s assets to Stern

Electronics, Inc. Since the Chapter 11 proceedings will result in

the liquidation of the corporation if the Plan of Reorganization

is confirmed, the imposition of a stay is appropriate and not

precluded under Jn re Shippers Interstate Services, Inc., supra.

Concurrent herewith, an injunctive order will be entered in

favor of Plaintiffs against Defendant, NATIONAL LABOR

RELATIONS BOARD.

Dated at Chicago, Illinois, this 28th day of July, A.D.,

1980.

ENTER

Pk ® 4

i

* .

Siac ¥*

mrt bates

Pees.

64a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

Northern District of Illinois

Easte:n Division

Name of Presiding Judge, Honorable Bernard M. Decker

Cause No.: 79 B 39597—80 C4624 Date: Nov. 13, 1980

Title of Cause: In the matter of the Seeburg Corporation,

Debtor. The Seeburg Corporation, et al. v. National Labor

Relations Board

Brief Statement of Motion:

The rules of this court require counsel to furnish the names

of all parties entitled to notice of the entry of an order and

the names and addresses of their attorneys. Please do this

immediately below (separate lists may be appended).

Names and Addresses of moving counsel:

Representing:

Names and Addresses of other counsel entitled to notice and

names of parties they represent:

Reserve space below for notations by minute clerk

Memorandum Opinion and Order entered. For the rea-

sons set forth in said opinion and order, the court concludes that

the NLRB’s appeal is well taken. The bankruptcy judge’s order

staying the Board’s unfair labor practice proceeding is hereby

vacated. The bankruptcy judge is hereby ordered to refrain

from hearing the unfair labor practice charges. (DRAFT)

Docketed Nov. 14, 1980

Decker, J.

Hand this memorandum to the Clerk.

Counsel will not rise to address the Court until motion has been

called.

65a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

For the Northern District of Illinois

Eastern Division

IN THE MATTER OF 4

THE SEEBURG CORPORATION, NO. 79 B 39597

Debtor

THE SEEBURG CORPORATION,

et al., >

' 4624

Plaintiffs, NO. 80 C 462

-VS-

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS

BOARD,

Defendant.

Y

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

On February 8, 1980, the trustee in bankruptcy for Seeburg

Corporation, acting on the authorization of the bankruptcy

judge, discharged certain of Seeburg’s employees and termi-

nated certain of its operations. In so doing, the trustee allegedly

failed to notify and negotiate with the collective bargaining

representative of the terminated employees. The NLRB has

charged that this conduct violated sections 8(a)(1) and

8(a)(5) of the National Labor Relations Act. 29 U.S.C.

§§158(a)(1), 158(a)(5). A hearing on these charges was set

before the National Labor Relations Board for September 15,

1980. On July 9, 1980, the bankrupt company, the trustee, and

the creditors committee all requested that the bankruptcy judge

held on July 25, the Board reduced its proof of claim against

the company from $142,000 to $55,000. With the bankruptcy

judge’s approval, the company and its purchaser in liquidation

7

;

« 5

66a

agreed to set aside $49,000 of the estate’s assets should a

finding of backpay liability ultimately be made. The purchaser

agreed to commit to cover the remaining $6,000 of potential

liability. Accordingly, the motion for a stay of the NLRB

proceedings was granted at that time.

On July 28, 1980, the bankruptcy judge entered a memo-

randum opinion affirming his oral order and stating that he,

rather than the Board, would adjudicate the unfair labor

practice charge. A hearing date was set for September 23. On

August 4, 1980, the Board filed an emergency petition seeking

to stay the bankruptcy court’s hearing. At the same time, the

Board filed its appeal from the bankruptcy judge’s order. Both

motions were docketed on August 29, and, on September 10,

this court stayed both the unfair labor practice proceeding

before the bankruptcy court, and the unfair labor practice

proceeding before the National Labor Relations Board. Brief-

ing on the appeal having been recently completed, the merits of

this case are now ripe for disposition.

The Seventh Circuit has recently and expressly held that

proceedings of the National Labor Relations Board are not

automatically stayed by a bankruptcy filing. Jn the Matter of

Shippers Interstate Service, Inc., 618 F.2d 9 (7th Cir. 1980).

The court so held primarily on the basis of the strong public

policies favoring exclusive disposition of substantive labor law

questions by the NLRB.

In asserting his jurisdiction in this matter, the bankruptcy

judge distinguished Shippers on the basis of that case’s closing

paragraph:

“On balance, we agree with Bel Air that ‘[i]f regulatory

proceedings threaten the assets of the estate, the decision to

issue a stay can then be made on a discretionary basis. .. .

But where, as here, it appears that the assets of the estate

are not threatened and the company is being reorganized

rather than liquidated... regulatory proceedings of the

National Labor Relations Board are not subject to the

—— os

67a

automatic stay provisions of... [the Bankruptcy Act]...

This does not preclude imposition of a stay where a proper

showing was made that the regulatory proceedings threat-

ened the estate assets or that the bankruptcy or other

proceedings would result in the liquidation of the com-

pany.” Shippers, supra, 618 F.2d at 13.

The bankruptcy judge below reasoned that any backpay award

to issue from the NLRB action would have priority over other

claims on the bankrupt’s assets because it would arise from the

court’s administration of the bankrupt’s estates. This, the court

concluded, would constitute a “threat” to the estate within the

meaning of the Shippers decision. The judge also concluded

that, since virtually all of the assets of the bankrupt are going to

be sold to a third party, this bankruptcy is more in the nature of

a liquidation than a reorganization.

Regardless of the priority that the unfair labor practice

claims may have, the transcript of the July 25 hearing plainly

reveals that the company, its purchaser, and the bankruptcy

judge have already approved a reorganization plan which

includes a provision setting aside the full potential backpay

claim. Accordingly, the court finds it difficult to understand the

sense in which a Board finding of backpay liability will

materially threaten the estate’s assets.

Problems also arise with the bankruptcy judge’s conclusion

that this is really a liquidation proceeding. Shippers dis-

tinguishes between reorganizations and liquidations on the

grounds that a reorganized corporation may be subject to

liability under the NLRA as a successor of the entity which

originally went bankrupt. The court emphasized that, under

such circumstances, the underlying unfair labor practice charge

and the question of successorship both implicate significant

labor law issues that should be left to the Board’s superior

expertise. The liquidation case was distinguished on the

grounds that no possible successor entity exists in that situation,

thus mooting all of the potential labor law problems. Shippers,

68a

618 F.2d at 12. In this case, virtually all of the bankrupt’s

assets are being sold to a single entity which is making the

purchase with full knowledge of the pendency of the unfair

labor practice charges and which agreed to terms of sale that

also accommodate the possibility of a backpay assessment.

Under these circumstances, the Board might well conclude that

the purchaser could be held liable under the NLRA as the

bankrupt’s successor. See, e.g., Golden State Bottling v. NLRB,

414 U.S. 168 (1973). The likelihood that the successorship

doctrine might apply here seems to implicate the policies which

the Seventh Circuit has deemed dispositive in the reorganiza-

tion context. Accordingly, the rule developed in the reorganiza-

tion cases would seem applicable to the July 28 stay.

For all of the above reasons, the court concludes that the

NLRB’s appeal is well taken. The bankruptcy judge’s order

staying the Board’s unfair labor practice proceeding is hereby

vacated. The bankruptcy judge is hereby ordered to refrain

from hearing the unfair labor practice charges.

ENTER:

/s/ BERNARD M. DECKER

Bernard M. Decker

United States District Judge

DATED: November 13, 1980.

69a

Opinion by Judge Timbers

Judge Coffey dissenting

NLRB JUDGMENT—ORAL

ARGUMENT

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

") June |, 1983

Before

Hon. RICHARD D. CUDAHY, Circuit Judge

Hon. JOHN L. COFFEY, Circuit

Hon. WILLIAM H. TIMBERS, C

No. 82-1334

Nathan Yorke, Trustee in Bankruptcy |

The Seeburg Corporation,

Petitioner,

VS.

National Labor Relations Board,

Respondent.

Warehouse, Mail Order, Office, Pro-

fessional and Technical Employees

Union Local 743, International

Brotherhood of Teamsters, Chauf-

feurs, Warehousemen and Helpers

of America,

Intervening-Respondents.

Judge

ircuit Judge*

an Order of the Na- .

tional Labor Rela-

tions Board.

an 0 for Review of

This cause came on ‘o be heard~on the record from the

National Labor Relations Board, and was argued by counsel.

On consideration whereof, IT IS ORDERED AND AD-

JUDGED by this Court that the decision of the National Labor

Relations Board is MODIFIED AND

, AS MODIFIED, EN-

FORCED, with costs, in accordance with the opinion of this

Court filed this date.

* The Honorable William H. Timbers of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Second Circuit, is sitting by designation.

70a

Ju the |

United States Court of Appeals

Bor the Seventh Cirrnit

No. 82-1334 j

NATHAN YORKE, TRUSTEE IN BANKRUPTCY,

THE SEEBURG CORPORATION,

Petitioner,

v.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Respondent,

WAREHOUSE, MAIL ORDER, OFFICE, PROFESSIONAL AND

TECHNICAL EMPLOYEES UNION, LOCAL 743, INTER-

NATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF TEAMSTERS, CHAUFFEURS,

WAREHOUSEMEN AND HELPERS OF AMERICA,

Intervenor.

Petition for Review of Order of the

National Labor Relations Board

Cross-App!i*ation for Enforcement of Order

ARGUED DECEMBER 1, 1982—DEcIDED JUNE 1, 1983

Before CUDAHY, COFFEY, and TIMBERS", Circuit

Judges.

* Of the Second Circuit, by designation.

Tla

2 No. 82-1334

TIMBERS, Circuit Judge. Nathan Yorke, Trustee in

Bankruptcy of the Seeburg Corporation (Company),!

titions for review of an order of the National Labor

lations Board, 259 N.L.R.B. 819 (1981), finding that

the Trustee violated §§ 8(a)5) and 8(a)(1) of the National

Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 158(aX5), 158(a)(1)

(1976), by failing to bargain over the effects of his deci-

sion to close the Company’s plant in Chicago. The Board

has filed a cross-application to enforce its order.

Without giving Local 743, International Brotherhood of

Teamsters (Union), prior notice or affording it a subse-

quent opportunity to bargain, the Trustee terminated

operations and discharged the seven remaining em-

ployees who were Union members. The Board deter-

mined that a bargaining order by itself would not

remedy the unfair labor practice since the plant closure

had decimated the Union's bargaining strength. Accor-

dingly, to restore the Union’s position, the Board ordered

a limited backpay remedy, requiring the Trustee to pay

wages to the seven employees for a period beginning five

days after the date of the Board’s decision until (1) the

parties reached an agreement, or (2) the parties reached

an impasse, or (3) the Union failed to request bargaining

within five days after the decision, or (4) the Union failed

to bargain in good faith. While the backpay requirement

was conditioned on the number of days lapsing before the

parties reached impasse or an agreement, the Board im-

posed a minimum two week backpay period to discourage

artificially quick impasse.

Although we are not in complete accord with the

Board’s reasoning, we conclude that substantial evidence

supports the Board’s findings of violations of §§ 8(aX5)

and &a)(1). We enforce the Board’s remedial order with

the condition specified herein.

! The Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) found that Seeburg

Service Parts Co. and Seeburg Corp. constituted a single in-

tegrated business enterprise. The Trustee filed no exception to

that finding.

ght - a |

72a

No. 82-1334 3

I.

The Company, a Delaware Corporation, was engaged

in the manufacture of juke boxes and other machinery at

its facility in Chicago. In November 1977, it entered into

a three-year collective bargaining agreement with the

Union with respect to a unit of “all plant clerical, and all

production and maintenance employees of the Company”.

As of July 1979, Seeburg employed approximately 3

employees. Shortly thereafter, the Company experienc

severe financial reversals. It began laying off employees.

The Union did not challenge the propriety of the layoffs.

On November 1, 1979, the Company filed a petition for

reorganization under Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy .

Code, 11 U.S.C. §§ 1101-1174 (Supp. III 1979). At the

time, the Company still employed 150 members of the

bargaining unit. The Company as debtor-in-possession

continued its operations on a diminishing basis. It con-

tinually reduced its complement of employees, reaching a

low of seven in early 1980. Because of allegations of fraud

and mismanagement, the bankruptcy court appointed

Nathan Yorke as Trustee in Sg y for the debtor

company on February 4, 1980. As Trustee, Yorke as-

sumed full control of the Company. His duties primarily

were to evaluate Seeburg’s assets and formulate a plan of

reorganization which would be acceptable to all creditors.

11 U.S.C. § 1106(a) (Supp. III 1979).

Yorke first visited the plant on the day of his mae iF

ment, February 4. He found no unit a mig working

in the production area. Seven unit employees, however,

remained on the Company —— The ALJ credited

Yorke’s testimony that he did not know that the em-

ployees belonged to a union.

At the first creditors’ meeting on February 8, Yorke

learned that the Company owed its employees more than

the $5000 it had in the bank and that its $6,000,000 in un-

liquidated assets (worth approximately $1,500,000 if liq-

uidated) were eclipsed by overall liabilities ‘exceeding

$8,000,000. Following the meeting, Yorke decided that

73a

4 No. 82-1334

it was in the Company’s best interest to terminate

operations completely. He immediately applied to the

bankruptcy court for authorization. The court granted

the application on February 11. Yorke closed the plant

the next day. Yorke obtained $6000 in funds from

Seeburg’s cash on hand to pay the employees for the

period through February 9. He admittedly did not notify

the Union of his decision to terminate operations.

By a letter dated February 15, the Union, through its

attorney Edwin H. Benn, requested bargaining over the

effects of the plant closure. In pertinent part, the letter

read as follows:?

“Gentlemen:

The undersigned represents Local 743 I.B.T. The

Union has a collective bargaining agreement cover-

ing the employees of Seeburg Corporation. As you

are well aware, this agreement governs the wages,

hours and working conditions of those employees.

It is apparent to the undersigned that the rights of

these employees are being seriously undermined. It

has come to our attention that numerous employees

whom we represent are being transferred to do work

for different companies within your corporate struc-

ture and that work, covered by our contract, is being

performed elsewhere. It has also come to our atten-

tion that the remaining employees of Seeburg Corp.

have been locked out as of February 11, 1980....

This is also to demand that an immediate meeting

be set up so that we can discuss the decision and

effects that your action has on our bargaining unit

employees. ...

. . . [WJhat were the reasons that the Seeburg

employees were denied the ability to come to work

2 In view of their direct bearing on the issues before us, we set

forth at length the pertinent portions of the Union’s letter of

February 15 and the Trustee's reply of February 25.

74a

No. 82-1334 5

on February 11, 1980. Will they be transferred to

other payrolls of either Choice Vend, XCor or any

other companies under those companies’ control?

What has happened to the Seeburg supervisory per-

sonnel? Have they been transferred to either Choice

Vend, XCor or any companies under those com-

panies’ control?

Third, are you aware of any prospective pur- }

chasers of the Seeburg Corporation? If so, please

identify their names and addresses. If a sale or other

disposition of the Seeburg Corporation is con-

templated, please inform us what will happen to the

existing facility, such as the property, fixtures,

machinery, trucks, furniture, etc.? In particular, we

would desire to know if there will be a sale or

transfer to other companies within the XCor Cor-

poration. If there will be an acquisition by another

XCor Corporation company, we would like to know

the intentions of XCor concerning future employ-

ment of the managerial, supervisory, or other non-

union employees who have been working for Seeburg.

This would also include any transfer of employees to

Choice Vend. Further, we would desire to know

what will happen to existing accounts receivable and

payable, existing lease agreements or contracts,

other existing liabilities as well as good will. We

would further desire to know the disposition of any

existing commitments to customers or creditors. We

are particularly interested in knowing what will be

the disposition of work done by Seeburg employees

covered by our collective bargaining agreement.

Will that work be transferred to any other entity

within the XCor Corporation or Choice Vend?

Please be advised that we expect our collective

bargaining agreement to be abided by and we ex-

pect a response to this letter by close of business

February 22, 1980. Failure to answer this letter by

the time indicated will necessitate the institution of

the proper proceeding.”

75a

6 No. 82-1334

Yorke responded to this letter on February 25, stating:

“I am in receipt of your letter dated February 15,

1980. Please be advised that the undersigned was ap-

pointed Trustee on February 4, 1980. Be further ad-

vised that the Trustee discontinued the operation of

the business and has no employees.

In reply to your questions, Excor is a publicly

owned company. Consolidated Entertainment owns

all the stock of the Seeburg Corporation. I do not

know who owns Choice Vend. I do not know if Choice

Vend or Excor have any collective bargaining

agreements with labor organizations.

If there is any further information you desire, I

will be happy to furnish same.”

The Union interpreted Yorke’s letter as a refusal! to

bargain and consequently filed an unfair labor practice

complaint on February 28, alleging that the Trustee had

committed various unfair labor practices, including fail-

ing to bargain in good faith. No discussions between the

Trustee and the Union ensued.

In April, Yorke informed the Union that the Company

planned to recall several employees to assist in selling

parts as authorized by the bankruptcy court. Ultimately,

three bargaining unit employees worked at the plant

for the next three to four months. The General Counsel

filed a complaint in June, alleging that the Trustee’s

failure to give notice that he was terminating operations

and his subsequent failure to bargain over the effects of

that decision constituted violations of §§ 8(aX5) and

8(a)(1) of the Act.

3’ The complaint alleged that the Company had violated the

Act by transferring employees w:thout prior notification to the

Union and by refusing to furnish information that the Union

) 2 woe The Regional Director chose not to press these

arges.

76a

No. 82-1334 . 7

Within the month following the filing of the General

Counsel’s complaint, the Trustee located a potential

purchaser for the remaining assets of the Company.

Creditors agreed to the Trustee’s plan of liquidation in

July. The bankruptcy court approved the plan on July 28.

At that time, the court also ruled that the Board’s

backpay claim on behalf of the employees, pending the

unfair labor practice proceeding, was an administrative

expense entitled to priority under the Bankruptcy Code.

After negotiations among the Board, the Trustee, and the

prospective purchaser of the Seeburg assets, the pur-

chaser agreed to set aside $49,000 of assets and $6000

of its own money to cover the backpay claim in the event

the Company ultimately should be found liable.

Upon concluding the unfair labor practice hearing in

February 1981, the ALJ determined that the Trustee had

committed the violations as charg a consequence,

the ALJ recommended issuing a bargaining order. The

Board adopted the ALJ’s findings but found that a

bargaining order by itself was insufficient to remedy the

violations. Consequently, the Board imposed a sliding

backpay requirement upon the Trustee in accordance

with its decision in Transmarine Navigation Corp., 170

N.L.R.B. 389 (1968). This was to strengthen the Union’s

bargaining position to a point approximating the one the

Union enjoyed at the time the Trustee closed the plant.

The Trustee petitions to review and set aside the

Board’s order. The Board has filed a cross-application to.

enforce its order. The Union as intervenor filed a

brief urging that the Board’s order be enforced.

¢.

Il.

We start with the proposition that a Trustee in

Bankruptcy, like any other employer, must abide by the

labor laws, as long as they prescribe conduct consistent

with the duties imposed by the Bankruptey ptcy Code. Local

Joint Executive otel Circle, Inc., 613 F 2d 210,

215 (9th Cir. 1980) (duty to bargain continues); *

Local No. 455 v. Kevin Steel Products, Inc., 519 F 2d 698,

*.

77a

8 No. 82-1334

704 (2nd Cir. 1975) (“obligation to comply with the Labor

Act [continues]”); NLRB v. Bachelder, 120 F.2d 574, 576

(7th Cir.) (duty to bargain and honor employees’ rights to

self-organization), cert. denied, 314 U.S. 647 (1941). Cf

In re Bildisco, 682 F.2d 72, 82-83 (3rd Cir. 1982) (while

debtor-in-possession may reject collective bargaining

agreement as executory contract, “it may be required to

recognize and bargain with the union”), cert. granted, 51

U.S.L.W. 3525 (U.S. Jan. 18, 1983) (No. 82-818).

The law in question—the duty to bargain over the

effects of a decision to terminate operations—strikes us

as critical to protect employees from the ravages of

economic dislocation. NLRB v. Royal Plating & Pub-

lishing Co., 350 F.2d 191, 196 (8rd Cir. 1965); NLRB

v. Adams Dairy, Inc., 350 F.2d 108, 115 (8th Cir. 1965),

cert. denied, 382 U.S. 1011 (1966); Burgmeyer Bros., Inc.,

254 N.L.R.B. 1027, 1028 (1981). So-called “effects”

bargaining provides the Union with an opportunity to

bargain in the employees’ interest for such benefits as

severance pay, payments into the pension fund, preferen-

tial hiring if the employer continues operating at other

plants, and reference letters with respect to other jobs.

First National Maintenance Corp. v. NLRB, 452 US.

666, 681-82 (1981). We therefore termine whether

imposing ere to bargain Over

the effects isi i ons is conso-

or with the Trustee’s functions under the Bankruptcy

e.

We believe that recognizing a duty to bargain would

not unduly impede the Trustee’s discharge of his respon-

sibilities. To protect creditors, the Trustee must ad-

minister the debtor corporation, 11 U.S.C. § 704(1) (Supp.

III 1979), and thereby take responsibility for “the actual,

necessary costs and expenses of preserving the estate, in-

cluding wages, salaries, or commissions for services

rendered after the commencement of the case.” 11 U.S.C.

§ 503(b)1A) (Supp. III 1979). Since the obligation to

bargain arises only with the Trustee’s decision to ter-

minate operations in the overall interests of the creditors,

the costs concomitant with that decision properly can be

oe ae

78a

No. 82-1334 9

attributed to the Trustee’s efforts to “preserve the estate”

on the creditors’ behalf. As the bankruptcy court here

determined, therefore, costs stemming from “effects”

bargaining can be considered administrative expenses

and thus fall within the ambit of the Trustee’s authority.

Cf. Reading Co. v. Brown, 391 U.S. 471, 482-84 (1968)

(those injured during administration of estate by Trustee

entitled to priority claim as administrative expense); Jn

re W.T. Grant Co., 620 F.2d 319 (2nd Cir.) (severance

payments to employees entitled to priority as ad-

ministrative expense), cert. denied, 446 U.S. 983 (1980).

But cf. In re Mammoth Mart, Inc., 536 F.2d 950, 955 (1st

Cir. 1976) (claim for severance pay based upon services

rendered before bankruptcy not an administrative ex-

pense). While the Trustee’s discretion might be con-

strained by his need for authorization from the bankrupt-

cy court, that limitation can be taken into account in any

bargaining. With these considerations in mind, we must

determine whether the Trustee’s failure to — in

this case violated §§ 8(aX5) an a 0

The Board predicated its § 8(a)b) conclusion on two

findings: f

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.