Petition — Chocallo v. Bureau of Hearings & Appeals

Supreme Court brief1983

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Suprer ny

g3-51% . Pree

a

SEP 26 1993

Alexsnder L. Steves, Clerk

No. =

in the Supreme Court of the

United States

TERM, 1983

WANDA P. CHOCALLO, Administrative Law Judge,

Petitioner

Vv.

BUREAU OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS, SSA, HEW;:

ROBERT L. TRACHTENBERG, Director, BHA, HEW;

PHILIP BROWN, Chief Administrative Law Judge, BHA;

SOL R. GITMAN, Regional Chief Administrative Law

Judge, Region II, BHA; JAMES C. LIGHTFOOT, Adminis-

trative Law Judge in Charge, Philadelphia Office, BHA;

JAMES B. CARDWELL, Commissioner, Social Security Ad-

ministration; COMMUNITY LEGAL SERVICES, INC. and

JONATHAN M. STEIN; RICHARD WEISHAUPT; EDWIN

MONTES; LINDA BERNSTEIN; MARJORIE JANOSKI;

DEBORAH KOOPERMAN; EILEEN WOOD; MARILYN

DORIA WEILER, all of Community Legal Services, Inc.;

JOSEPH CALIFANO, Secretary, Department of Health,

Education and Welfare; JOHN C. COLEMAN; JOHN

ENNIS, Bureau of Hearings and Appeals, SSA; JACK

ROSEMAN, Bureau of Hearings and Appeals, SSA;

CLAIRE KURIGER, Bureau of Hearings and Appeals, SSA,

Respondents

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIR-

HON. WANDA P. CHOCALLO

Pro Se

308 Maple Avenue

Drexel Hill, Pa. 19026

(215) 259-1628

Murrelle Printing Co., Box 100, Sayre, Pa. 18840—(717) 888-2244

Emily J. Graves, 409 Chucry St, Clifton Heights, Pa 19018,

Delaware County Representative

Questions Presented

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Court’s failure to rule on

dismissal and summary judgment motions for a period

of more than 5 years is unconstitutional and con-

stitutes a denial of due process?

2. Whether the district court, on the papers

before it, was without jurisdiction and power to

decide issues on the merits, that include the ap-

plicability of the doctrines of official immunity, col-

lateral estoppel and privilege?

3. Whether a judicially enforceable remedy is

available under the Civil Rights Act, 42 USC 1985, to

federal administrative law judg s against interference,

harassment and injury by agency officials and public

service lawyers, acting in concert, during and on ac-

count of the lawtul discharge of judicial functions?

4. Whether the Court has a duty to prevent the

requirements of the Administrative Procedure Act from

in any manner or form of indirection being nullified

or circumvented?

5. Whether the complaint sufficiently alleges a

cause of action?

6. Whether the denial of a motion for judgment

on the pleadings on the basis of the record is un-

constitutional and contrary to law?

7. Whether the judgment of the court below is

contrary to law and unconstitutional?

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Onetioms Prememted......................0..

NE

EE, re

ES

ES

Constitutional Provisions, Statutes, Regulations

SS yess ccc tet eee ee

re

Reasons for Granting the Writ ...............

cc te tee ttc ose eee

APPENDIX:

cere veces esc e cece

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310........

Te yy pcs esses es cesces.

Exhibit “C”—Letter, P. T. Brown to W.

Chocallo with Letter, J. M. Stein to

ee

Exhibit H—64-66—Letter Dated June 7,

1977 to James C. Lightfoot ............

Exhibit H —68— Letter Dated April 6, 1977

to James C. Lightfoot .................

Exhibit H—73—Letter Dated September

28, 1976 from P. T. Brown to W.

EG vey conc scsccrces

Exhibit H—74-75— Letter Dated September

17, 1976 from Linda Bernstein to P. T.

GCE vo sec ctor ccsccrsces

Exhibit H—78-79— Letter Dated April 28,

1976 from W. Chocallo to David

| RP ret oe re rey re ee

Exhibit H —80— Letter Dated April 5, 1976

from R. L. Trachtenberg to W. Chocallo

Exhibit H-—81—Letter Dated March §8,

1976 from W. Chocallo to David

Pe Pe yet ate eae Es

Exhibit H—82-86— Letter Dated February

27, 1976 from W. Chocallo to R. L.

BE Te A te Pi

Exhibit H—87-88— Letter Dated February

17, 1976 from P. T. Brown to W.

PETE RET CR Peron oe anar”

Exhibit H—96-97—Letter Dated January

29, 1976 from Linda M. Bernstein to

fatal <S. SRIGOEE. 5 ok cs eateeas eae

Exhibit H—101—Letter Dated January 7,

1976 from W. Chocallo to James C.

Bn PP es tp eer Ore ne

Exhibit H—102—Letter Dated January 6,

1976 from James C. Lightfoot to W.

COMING. os. cai vacceve sete

Exhibit H—103-106— Letter Dated Decem-

ber 31, 1975 from Linda M. Bernstein to

Jonnes <); LAO oso. ce aka

Amended Complaint (First) ..................

Amended Complaint (Second)................

Affidavit of Robert L. Trachtenberg ..........

Enclosure— Letter Dated April 1, 1976

from Robert L. Trachtenberg to Office of

GConmal Coutell . . 5502 n i scdaas

,

iii

106a

109a

llla

1l3a

123a

126a

Enclosure— Letter Dated May 20, 1976

from Lois Schutt to Wanda P. Chocallo . 155a

Enclosure— Letter Dated June 28, 1976

from Robert L. Trachtenberg to Charles

DIE x oy 2 epleacersin bhp bietce's es bee ee 156a

Enclosure— Letter Dated July 29, 1976

from Robert L. Trachtenberg to Charles

gg Re rere a nen US Sopra yeas 160a

The Civil Rights Act, Title 42 United States

eS. . ee Oe rere rage l6la

Crimes, Title 18 United States Code:

EE rnc oc aa ee ahs « Suis wees 163a

eer, bos Sea ret eas be ae 163a

Ee OU Vag remade Ve kee 163a

Social Security Act, Title 42 United States Code:

ARE eS re ee 165a

RI ats usd blaibg a a aerate oleate 167a

Regulations of the Secretary of HEW, Section

ME ears etic Seti a ent see 168a

Administrative Procedure Act, Title 5, United

States Code:

RE oN eo a 9 6 a atace aoe Ra is 169a

Oa sk ng pee ataw @ Acase eae esl 173a

Ry SG een ee oie Bes 173a

ERR CRSR TS BAB DOS EArt arte aaa te 173a

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure:

BNI re icc cre ches vi gigins gattcd 2 a ae een 175a

I AS eee Be Nee ARES Ke oat 175a

PM eh) Reng Oi et ne oe ae oa 175a

DE is is as Uae ena hakwen ees 176a

REE OR rac a ce ener err 176a

Order on Petition for Rehearing.............. l77a

iv

TABLE OF CITATIONS

CASEs:

Assoc. of ALJs, Inc. v. Schweiker et al., CA 83-

en Gi Ries MOM ccc andswnnedane.

Bell v. Hood, 327 U.S. 678 ............ Ap ya

Butz v. Economou, 438 U.S. 478 (1978) .......

Conley v. Gibson; 355 U.S. 411 ..............

Fitzgerald v. Seamans, 553 F.2d 220 (1977,

DREGE cht oc dct sss oa owen

Gomez v. Toledo, 446 U.S. 635, 100 S.Ct.

Reels ee sees Ue OE oo 5 ve swine cctaeeen

Halperin v. Kissinger, 604 F.2d 1192 (1979,

Wes Re Flv b v'e docs cp ne ches cael

Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 73 L.Ed. 2d 396, 102

EN UME oe 17, 19, 20,

Hart & Co. v. Recordgraph Corp., 169 F.2d

Be Oe 8 See 18,

Marbury v. Madison, 1 Cranch 137 (1803).....

Patterson v. Colorodo, 205 U.S. 454 ..........

Poller v. Columbia Broadcasting System, 368

U.S. 464, 7 L.Ed. 2d 458, 82 S.Ct. 486

DEE koh ats Ck eaacr kn. Dore taki aN

Stern v. U.S. Gypsum, Inc., 547 F.2d 1329....

U.S. v. City of Philadelphia, 644 F.2d 187 (3rd

es MII Pasa ww ha 5d Oats cated Nie cence

U.S. v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683 (1974) ...........

U.S. v. L.A. Tucker Lines, 344 U.S. 33, 73

ED Sec cc ck Peach ue ce eeeee

CONSTITUTION:

United States Constitution:

NS ERO OE Ra Se oe 4, 22,

Cee eee. eehs 4,

ESS EE ee Pore oe 4,

PN oo ba -ois.0.4's cee SRE wae

RULEs:

Federal Rtles of Civil Procedure:

Digs ss 'cintn cs bc babs cea nacanuennn

STATUTES:

Civil Rights Act, 42 USC 1985 et seq.....4, 14, 15,

Freedom of Information/Privacy Act, 5 USC

REVOVE ORS et ee eee CE re

Social Security Act, 42 USC 401 et seq.........

rer ns as eas ge see Ks ae Rie eon

I ice VG wa 8 in bs 2 ee ae eS

EL 7. at hice vias vicina ak bocce tire aap ee 5,

EE COC} Sinise one cake nee 5,

—_—

aa aw»

Petition

No.

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED

STATES

Term, 1983

WANDA P. CHOCALLO,

Petitioner

Vv.

THE BUREAU OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS et

al.,

Respondents

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

THIRD CIRCUIT

Petitioner, Administrative Law Judge Wanda P.

Chocallo, petitions for a writ of certiorari to review

the per curiam judgment order of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit dated June 1,

1983 affirming the judgment of the District Court for

the Eastern District of Pennsylvania.

Opinions Below and Jurisdiction

OPINIONS BELOW

The court of appeals opinion is not reported

(App. la). The district court's opinion is reported, 548

F.Supp. 1365 (App. 3a).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered

June 1, 1983. A timely petition for rehearing was

denied on June 27, 1983. 28 USC 1343. The jurisdic-

tion of this Court is invoked under 28 USC 1254.

Constitutional Provisions, Statutes,

Regulations Involved

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES,

REGULATIONS INVOLVED

The constitutional provisions, statutes and regula-

tions involved, which are set forth in Appendix, 16la

et seq., infra, are: The Civil Rights Act, Title 42 USC

Sec. 1985(1)(2) and (3); Crimes, Title 18 U.S. Code,

Sees. 372, 241, 1505; Social Security Act, Title 42 USC

Secs. 405, 1631; Regulations, Secretary of Health,

Education and Welfare, 20 C.F.R. Sec. 404.922: Ad-

ministrative Procedure Act, Title 5 USC Sees. 552(d),

552(e)(1) to (3)(d), inclusive and Sec. 552(g)(1) to

(4)(B), inclusive; Administrative Procedure Act, Title 5

USC Secs. 554, 556 and 557; Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure, Rule 7(a)(b), Rule 8 (a)(b)(c), Rule

12(a)(b)(e), Rule 38(a) and Rule 56(c),.

Statement of the Case

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

By complaint filed July 1, 1977, petitioner, Wan-

da P. Chocallo, invoked the jurisdiction of the federal

court to assist in the execution of her duties as a Social

Security Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) and to pro-

tect her from interference, pressure and intimidation

by agency officials and public service lawyers, acting

in concert, and from illegal agency policies and prac-

tices adverse to impartial justice. A jury trial was

demanded. The complaint was amended twice in

August, 1977 to add new causes of action and join ad-

ditional parties.

Injunctive, declaratory and monetary relief are

requested based on an alleged conspiracy to violate

petitioner's constitutional and statutory rights; deprive

her of her office; interfere, hinder, obstruct and injure

her on account of the lawful discharge of her obliga-

tions, and for safeguarding claimants’ and the public’s

interests under the Social Security Act and the Fifth

Amendment; discredit and defame her; deter her and

retaliate against her for free speech, thought and peti-

tion.

The allegations made raise claims under the Civil

Rights Act, 42 USC 1985; the Administrative Pro-

cedure Act, 5 USC 101 et seq.; the Social Security Act,

42 USC 401 et seq.; the Freedom of Information/-

Privacy Act, 5 USC 552(a) et seq.; the First, Fourth,

Fifth and Ninth Amendments to the United States

vu

Statement of the Case

Constitution; libel laws of Pennsylvania, and inferred

statutory causes of action under 3 USC 7211; 18 USC

372; 18 USC 241; and 18 USC 1505.

The Court is asked to enjoin the conspiracy; il-

legal policies and practices: a threatened ultra vires

adverse employment action by the director: to declare

null and void an ultra vires Appeals Council order

issued during the course of proceedings that purported

tu divest her of jurisdiction, vacate an interlocutory

order, remand the case to the Chief Regional Ad-

ministrative Law Judge and direct him to reassign the

case; to declare invalid departmeatal regulations

authorizing Appeals Council, whose members are not

ALJs appointed under the APA by the Secretary but

are appointees and subordinates of the director, to

hear and decide social security cases and to review

ALJs’ final decisions; and to order a full inquiry fmto

the alleged illegal and criminal activities of the agency

and Community Legal Services, Inc. of Philadelphia.

Damages include injury, at the hands of the con-

spirators, to career; reputation; economic advantage;

dignity; privacy; mental anguish and physical and

emotional distress. Also damages for violations by

agency Officials arising under the Freedom of Informa-

tion/Privacy Act.

Respondents are the Bureau of Hearings and Ap-

peals (BHA), Social Security Administration (SSA), its

director, Trachtenberg, and his ministerial subor-

dinates Brown, Gitman, Lightfoot, Ennis, Roseman

and Kuriger, sued individually and officially for ac-

tions outside the scope of their legal authority; Card-

well, the Commissioner of SSA, sued officially as the

Statement of the Case

person designated by regulation to decide appeals

under the FOIA/Privacy Act by those denied access to

their records; the Secretary of HEW and claimant

Coleman, joined merely as interested parties; Com-

munity Legal Services, Inc. of Philadelphia (CLS) and

attorneys and paralegals employed by it, sued official-

ly and individually, viz., Stein; Bernstein; Weishaupt;

Montes; Janoski; Kooperman; Wood and Weiler.

No answers were filed. CLS respondents moved in

the district court for dismissal. BHA respondents mov-

ed for dismissal and in the alternative for summary

judgment on the basis of affidavits. In opposition,

petitioner responded with affidavits of her own. No

motion was filed by the Social Security Commissioner.

On May 14, 1981, the district court, without giv-

ing respondents an opportunity to reply, denied,

without comment, petitioner's motion for judgment on

the pleadings filed May 8, 1981.

On October 8, 1982, the district court granted

respondent’s dismissal and summary judgment mo-

tions. On the papers before it, the court proceeded to

decide the case on the merits. The district court's ac-

tions were affirmed by the Circuit Court panel,

without deciding the questions before it on appeal and

without comment.

The gravamen of petitioner's complaint is that

rights and duties, conferred upon her and other ALJs

by statutes, legal regulations and prior agency prac-

tice, are being continuously infringed by BHA’s actions

without authority in law. Such actions are directly or

indirectly coercive and impair the impartiality of the

~I

Statement of the Case

social security justice system and imperil the integrity

of its fund. They are calculated to divest ALJs of their

statutory plenary, discretionary powers by _ ad-

ministrative fiat, without legislation, and to subject

them to agency supervision and control.

The allegations are supported by numerous at-

tached Exhibits which reflect the broad conspiracy.

Petitioner is an employee of the Department of

HEW. In July, 1974, she was appointed a hearing ex-

aminer by the Secretary and assigned to the

Philadelphia BHA hearing office. In January, 1976, by

Act of Congress, she was appointed a temporary Ad-

ministrative Law Judge. She was promoted to GS-14

on April 11, 1976 by Civil Service Commission

reclassification. In January, 1978, by further Act of

Congress, she was appointed a career absolute ALJ

and promoted to GS-15. Pursuant to Act of Congress,

she was directly delegated all the Secretary's statutory

plenary discretionary powers to adjudicate social

security cases under Titles II, XVI and XVIII of the

Act. SSA ALJs issue final decisions to parties in their

own names. Their official position description, issued

by respondent BHA, provides that the “Social Security

and Administrative Procedure Acts prohibit supervision

and substantive review” of the ALJs’ judicial functions;

that they are “subject only to such administrative

supervision as may be.required in the gouree of general

4

office anag fa eee i: oe

cogsel fi Cardwell appointed Trachtenberg

Director, BHA, in January, 1975 to nullify, by ad-

ministrative fiat, the statutory autonomy of ALJs.

Trachtenberg also served as Chairman of Appeals

| her des

Statement of the Case

Council. a non-statutory body. He appointed its

members. Appeals Councils, by regulations, are

authorized to hear and decide cases and to review

ALJs’ final decisions on a certiorari basis under certain

prescribed conditions.

Trachtenberg also appointed his managerial

assistants. Respondents Brown, Gitman and Lightfoot

were among those appointed. Under the guise of

management reforms, his managerial assistants im-

plemented his unlawful policies, which are the subject

matter of the complaint. ALJs were subjected to ex-

traneous factors intended to influence proceedings, in-

evitably calculated to disturb the course of justice or

psychologically calculated to disturb the exercise of an

impartial and equitable judgment.

The events leading to the conspiracy had their

genesis in the John C. Coleman SSI case heard on

December 29. 1975, at which time petitioner

discovered Coleman and his attorney, respondent

Bernstein, suppressed material evidence that affected

entitlement to SSI payments. They were directed to

submit post-hearing documentation. They never did.

Following the hearing, Bernstein, Lightfoot, Git-

man. Brown and Trachtenberg undertook a trial by ex

parte letters (App. 10la, 103a, 126a, 128a, 130a,

13la) and extra-judicial proceedings. Bernstein wanted

petitioner out of the case. Fraud was uncovered by

petitioner. BHA abetted the fraud. Petitioner was sub-

jected to a pervasive pattern of harassment and threats

to drive her out of the case. In letters to Lightfoot and

Brown, which went squarely to the merits of the case

proceeding, Bernstein impugned petitioner's fairness,

motives and honesty. Lightfoot requested petitioner to

Statement of the Case

respond to her false and malicious accusations; fur-

ther, that she voluntarily withdraw from the case. She

would not. She was directed to be at Gitman’s office

on January 19, 1976 to discuss the case, At that time,

Gitman threatened she would be investigated and fired

for refusing to engage in private talk about the case.

On January 15 and 22, 1976, petitioner reported the

threats and unwarranted interference to Trachtenberg

for remedial action. Instead, he sent a bludgeoning

reply on February 17, 1976 (App. 113a, 123a). In it,

he accused petitioner of not performing her job as an

ALJ. He stated she grossly misinterpreted an ALJ's in-

dependence; misunderstood the hearing process;

rendered a disservice to Coleman and the public by

taking his testimony instead of hearing legal argument

as proposed by Bernstein; that her failure to cooperate

with Lightfoot and Gitman, whose actions he fully

supported, could be construed as insubordination; that

she was non-productive. Brown informed petitioner in

September, 1976, based on Bernstein's letter to him,

petitioner's decision, when issued, would be reviewed

by Appeals Council.

Petitioner was being constantly harassed to sur-

render the case files under various pretexts. On

February 27, 1976, Gitman, at Trachtenberg’s direc-

tion, demanded she relinquish them within three

hours. She would not.

Respondents conduct had a disruptive, threaten-

ing impact. It impeded and obstructed the prompt,

proper and full development of the record. BHA

counseled, condoned and supported Bernstein's refusal

to comply with 3 hearing notices for supplementary

10

Statement of the Case

hearings and with subpoenas issued on her and her

client directing them to appear and produce documen-

tation required by law. Bernstein testified as a witness

for Coleman at the December hearing.

So that the case could be properly adjudicated,

petitioner was compelled to develop the record herself

from collateral sources. The documentation obtained

revealed Coleman defrauded the government of $3000

which he was ordered to repay. Petitioner's decision

dated October 29, 1976 is attached to the complaint as

Exhibit “H”.

On February 29, 1976 (App. 106a, llla), the

Secretary was petitioned to investigate the entire mat-

ter, including other detailed and documented charges.

A copy was sent to Congress with a request for an in-

dependent inquiry.

Therafter, petitioner became Trachtenberg’s

prime target. A concerted campaign, participated in

by BHA, CLS and the Civil Service Commission

(CSC) was immediately undertaken to discredit and

destroy her and to contrive evidence to justify her

removal. Only the Secretary under the APA can hire

and fire ALJs. This power cannot be delegated. Secret,

extensive investigations of petitioner's background were

carried out and, as a result, misrepresented her

trustworthiness. Malicious, false rumors were spread;

false charges and reports contrived and circulated im-

pugning her professional competency and _ integrity.

Her staff and other BHA personnel were pressured to

spy on her and furnish contrived complaints. Her deci-

sions were subject to selective review rather than the

customary ad hoc one. Other forms of harassment

were directed against her. She was denied support

ll

Statement of the Case

staff. Cases were not assigned by rotation. She got the

oldest and worst cases. Trachtenberg refused to process

her appointment emporary ALJ and her promo-

tion due by law (Re ed her attendance and

payroll records. Trachtenberg advised her on April 5,

1976 (App. 109a, 145a, 150a) he considered it inap-

propriate to respond to her letter of February 29,

1976, though requested by the Secretary to do so,

because he decided to file an adverse employment ac-

tion against her based on his careful consideration of

the materials submitted. CSC counseled, advised and

helped draft the charges. They were never served on

petitioner. They were based on the events in the Cole-

man case and appear in the appendix.

Significantly, in a response sent by Cardwell,

dated April 2, 1976, to Congress's inquiry into the

matter, he advised it would be inappropriate to

answer the charges because of Trachtenberg’s proposed

adverse action. He added:

“The concept of supervision without in-

terference in the exercise of an ALJ's judgment

seems to be the issue. I would note that both Mr.

Trachtenberg and I support the need for ALJ's to

accept supervision in this sense. Beyond that, I do

not think I should comment further in light of the

plan for the Bureau of Hearings and Appeals to

take the matter to the Civil Service Commission.”

The covert investigation of petitioner proved

unavailing. A new strategy was devised. CLS filed

unauthorized motions to disqualify in two cases before

petitioner in February, 1977. These were in the form

of letters signed by CLS. The motions were designed

12

Statement of the Case

to make evidence by claiming petitioner was biased

against CLS lawyers and those claimants who did not

work and had psychiatric disorders. Both motions

were repudiated by respective claimants when ap-

prised of them. However, it was the first motion, with

accompanying attachments (Exhibit “F", Complaint)

that furnished proof of what petitioner suspected and

knew but was without supporting documentation. The

attached letters outlined a course of conduct

deliberately calculated to deprive petitioner of her

constitutional and civil rights.

Finally, claimant Pearl Taylor testified at a hear-

ing before petitioner that Stein of CLS admitted to her

that an ultra vireg yp als_oungi order, issued in her

case on Tine 9, 19AJwas part of Tn Aire con-

spiracy to remove petitioner. He threatened she would

go down in defeat if she didn’t join them in the battle

but appeared at a further hearing before petitioner set

for June 13, 1977. She also disclosed Gitman told her

petitioner denied 15 other claims like hers because of

prejudice against poor people and those with nervous

disorders. He promised her she would receive benefits

if she helped them get evidence to effect petitioner's

removal. Taylor denounced BHA for issuing the ultra

vires Appeals Council order without her knowledge

and consent. She charged BHA and CLS with

violating her rights and repudiated the order. She had

also charged CLS with misusing and abusing her for

their own evil ambitions. Because she appeared at the

June 13th hearing, CLS returned the files in another

case of hers they were handling. CLS was barred by

the Public Service Corporation Act, effective at the

13

Statement of the Case

time, from representing Taylor in her social security

claim because hers was a fee-generating case. She

received a lump sum payment of approximately

$10,000 for retroactive disability benefits (4pp.S3a- lle)

Following the hearing, petitioner met with the

United States Attorney and reported these obstructions

of justice for investigation. He declined to act.

BHA made several attempts during the course of

the Taylor proceedings to divest petitioner of the files.

During petitioner's absence, at Trachtenberg’s direc-

tion, her locked office was broken into and an

unlawful search and seizure made (Second Amended

Complaint, p. 143a).

After this action was filed on July 1, 1977,

Trachtenberg filed another retaliatory removal action

with Civil Service, which charged her with no offense

known to law. It merely stated petitioner disobeyed a

lawful order of Appeals Council by holding a hearing

in the Taylor case on June 13, 1977: by failing to

relinquish ea it and by holding an unfair hearing

in the Coleman Acases. Petitioner's complaint was

amended to add this further violation of her rights and

as proof of the conspiracy.( |e} Qrntuded , (YOu /HJa)

Stein, repudiated by Taylor on‘Feb. 15,

1977, unknown to her, then wrote unauthor-

ized ex parte letters to Gitman et al. pur-

porting to speak for her and demanding peti-

tioner's removal from office and the case.

The language u faba Jestgned to ridicule

and subject neshes contempt and aid the con-

spirators in their plot to discredit; fire;

interfere with and obstruct her in the con-

duct of the Taylor proceedings. (§15Comp.,

54a; &2a; Attachmenta-to Rspdts' Affidavits)

14

Reasons for Granting Writ

REASONS FOR GPANTING THE WRIT

Petitioner's request for writ of certiorari, it is

respectfully submitted, meets the requirements of Rule

17.1(a) and (c). The district court has so far departed

from the accepted and usual course of judicial pro-

ceedings, sanctioned by the federal court of appeals, so

as to call for an exercise of this Court’s power of

supervision. Important questions of federal law should

be settled by this Court and conflicts with applicable

decisions of this Court remedied.

This case presents questions of first impression in

the construction of an Administrative Law Judge's

(ALJ’s) rights under the Civil Rights Act, 42 USC

1985. This is the first lawsuit brought by an ALJ for

protection from interference, harassment and injury

during and on account of the lawful discharge of

judicial duties. It should be closely watched by every

concerned citizen and meticulously scrutinized by this

Court because it will point to a legal standard. A suit

brought in behalf of ALJs employed by the Health and

Human Services Department to restrain certain illegal

practices by OHA officials of HHS ard SSA is pending

before the United States Dist. Ct., Dist. of Col.

(Assoc. of ALJs, Inc. v. Schweiker et al., CA 83-0124).

There are serious questions affecting the public in-

terests which this Court has a legal interest to resolve.

The decision in this case poses a dangerous threat to

the entire federal justice system and to individual

15

Reasons for Granting Writ

liberty. It must necessarily constitute a precedent. It

will soon be accepted as a final decision on the ques-

tions by all branches of government, as well as

lawyers and litigants, irrespective of its patent con-

stitutional and legal defects. It will at once come

before the Executive Branch and be construed as pro-

viding license to lawless conduct and judicial sanction

for intimidating and controlling ALJs in the course of

administrative proceedings.

An important consideration for this Court is that

Congress condemned the practices alleged and this

Court, as supervisors of the federal system, should see

that the law is enforced not selectively but in all cases

coming before it.

Congress, by enacting the Civil Rights Act, 42

USC 1985, and its criminal counterparts, 18 USC 372

and 18 USC 1505, soundly determined that the federal

interests in carrying out of federal functions should be

protected. Every government official, entrusted by the

very terms of his office with powers and duties to be

exercised and discharged for the general welfare, has a

right to apply to the courts for any proper assistance

in the exercise of the one and the discharge of the

other. Stern v. U.S. Gypsum, Inc., 547 F.2d 1329;

Bell v. Hood, 327 U.S. 678.

Congress, by enacting the Administrative Pro-

cedure Act, forbids direction and supervision of ALJs

in the performance of their judicial functions. It

sought to remedy what were believed to be evils in the

way in which administrative agencies exercised their

authority prior to its enactment on June 11, 1946. It is

a sweeping piece of remedial legislation that cannot be

16

Reasons for Granting Writ

divorced from the evils Congress sought to prevent and

correct. U.S. v. L.A. Tucker Lines, 344 U.S. 33, 73 S.

Ct. 67. In addition, the Supreme Court in the last

decade has repeatedly recognized the importance of

the proper respect of the independent role of ALJs

within the executive branch of our federal system of

justice. It soundly determined that it is a fundamental

necessity to maintain ALJs free from the control and

coercive influences, either direct or indirect, of the ex-

ecutive, legislative or politics, and from pressures by

the parties or other officials within the agency. Butz v.

Economou, 438 U.S. 478 (1978).

This Court has consistently held that once a

department head has by regulation delegated his

discretionary powers pursuant to law, he denies

himself the authority to exercise the discretion

delegated even though the original authority was his

and he could reassert it by amending the regulation.

So long as the regulation remains in force, the

sovereign, composed of the three branches, is bound to

respect and to enforce it. United States v. Nixon, 418

U.S. 683 (1974).

These doctrines gave root to petitioner's claims.

Pursuant to the mandates of the Code of Judicial Con-

duct, cited in her complaint, Petitioner took positive

measures to protect the sovereign’s interest in the in-

tegrity and fairness of the social security justice

system, as well as her rights as a federal officer, judge

and person. In the opinion of the district and circuit

courts, a person who accepts a position as an ALJ

thereby forfeits his civil, constitutional and statutory

rights.

Reasons for Granting Writ

The entire proceedings in this case bear the taint

not only of an appearance of impropriety and un-

fairness but that of actual impropriety and unfairness.

An unconscionable delay of five and a half (5'2) years

in ruling on the motions before the court is ipso facto

unconstitutional. It constitutes a clear denial of due

process. The mandate of F.R.C.P., Rule 56, requires a

quick resolution of the issues presented on motion for

summary judgment. This Court has frequently em-

phasized that “insubstantial lawsuits can be quickly

terminated by federal courts.” Harlow v. Fitzgerald,

73 L.Ed. 2d 396, 102 S.Ct. (1982). The federal

rules, as mandated by Rule 1. must be construed to

“secure the just, speedy, and inexpensive determination

of every action.” The highly prejudicial and uncon-

scionable action of the district court, sanctioned by the

appeals court, calls for the supervision of this Court.

Justice delayed is justice denied is not an idle maxim.

It has been given validity by this Court. The appeals

court failed to rule on this vital issue.

Paradoxically, the district court acted with ex-

treme haste in ruling on petitioner's motion for judg-

ment on the pleadings. Within six days it entered an

order denying the motion, without giving respondents

an opportunity to reply and petitioner reasons for its

action. Under Rule 56, there is no express extension of

time for filing responsive pleadings until disposition of

the motion for summary judgment. Respondents made

no application for an extension of time beyond that

originally granted. And the Court did not enter an

order postponing the filing of answers until disposition

of the motions. It is clear petitioner is entitled to such

judgment.

18

Reasons for Granting Writ

Our system of government guarantees the right to

petition the courts for redress of grievances. It is

among the most precious liberties safeguarded by the

Bill of Rights. The right of trial by jury on issues of

fact is also among its sacred guarantees. This is a

substantial right loved and cherished by the American

people. The average judgment of twelve jurymen of

average sense, drawn as they are from all walks of life

and impartially selected, is more likely to reach a

practical and honest result in sifting, weighing, reject-

ing, reconciling proof, and deciding facts than is the

trained judge.

The summary judgment statute is drastic and may

not be used as a perversion of justice and abuse of it.

The court does not try the facts upon affidavits but

merely decides whether the case presents facts to be

tried by a jury. Hart & Co. v. Recordgraph Corp.,

169 F.2d 580 (1948, 3rd Cir.).

The district court, though inconsistent with ap-

plicable law and the unique facts of this case, conclud-

ed petitioner has no remedy for the wrongs committed

nor a right to trial by jury. To achieve this result, the

court exercised powers it does not possess. The district

court went beyond its province to resolve issues that

would arise on the merits.

The sole dispositive issue presented the district

court is whether the complaint sufficiently alleges a

cause of action under any state of facts. The defenses

of immunity, collateral estoppel and privilege were not

before it. Responsive pleadings were not filed. The

court lacked power and jurisdiction to consider and

decide these issues that arise on the merits.

19

Reasons for Granting Writ

It is well settled that on dismissal motion, the

court must assume that all well-pleaded allegations of

the complaint are true and must set out the facts

alleged in the light most favorable to plaintiff. The

complaint should not be dismissed unless it appears to

a certainty that plaintiff would not be entitled to relief

under any state of facts which could be proved in sup-

port of her claim; further, no matter how likely it

may seem that the pleader will be unable to prove her

case, she is entitled, upon averring a claim, to an op-

portunity to try to prove it. Conley vt. Gibson, 355

U.S. 411.

In determining whether summary judgment is

proper, a court ordinarily must look at the record in

the light most favorable to the party opposing the mo-

tion, drawing all inferences most favorable to that

party. Harlow v. Fitzgerald, supra, fn. 26; Poller v.

Columbia Broadcasting System, 368 U.S. 464, 7 L.Ed.

2d 458, 82 S.Ct. 486 (1962); Fitzgerald v. Seamans,

553 F.2d 220 (1977 D.C. Cir.). Under this rule plain-

tiffs affidavits must be taken as true—with ll

disputes resolved in her favor as the party opposing

summary judgment. Affidavits filed in support of mo-

tions to dismiss and summary judgment may be con-

sidered for purposes of ascertaining whether an issue

of fact is presented, but they cannot be used as a basis

for deciding the fact issue. An affidavit cannot be

treated, for purposes of motion, as proof contradictory

to well-pleaded facts in the complaint. Hart v.

Recordgraph, supra.

The principles stated were not adhered to by the

District Court in its disposition of respondents’ mo-

20

Reasons for Granting Writ

tions. Its opinion makes it evident that it failed to

properly confine the scope of its consideration and that

it proceeded to decide the fact issues. Until now, the

Circuit Court consistently adhered to these proposi-

tions. It recognized that an inferior court in the

federal hierarchy is compelled to apply the law an-

nounced by the Supreme Court as found on the date

of its decision. U.S. v. City of Philadelphia, 644 F.2d

187 (3rd Cir. 1989).

One issue that would arise on the merits is the

applicability of tne doctrine of official immunity,

either as an absolute immunity or qualified immunity.

On the papers before it, the district court was

precluded from deciding Trachtenberg acted in good

faith and is entitled to qualified immunity and that

Brown, Gitman et al. are entitled to absolute immuni-

ty because of their ALJ titles. Parenthetically the court

casually abandoned the functional approach to im-

munity that has run through all the decisions of the

Supreme Court.

It is well established that immunity must be

pleaded as an affirmative defense in actions under the

constitution and laws of the United States and the

burden of proof is on defendants. Gomez v. Toledo,

446 U.S. 635, 100 S.Ct. 1920, 64 L.Ed. 2d 572;

Harlow v. Fitzgerald, supra.

Another issue that would arise on the merits is the

applicability of the doctrine of collateral estoppel. Col-

lateral estoppel, too, is an affirmative defense that

must be factually pleaded and subject to the same

rules. The district court was without power to rule

2]

Reasons for Granting Writ

that the claims asserted under the Social Security and

Administrative Procedures Acts are barred by the doc-

trine of collateral estoppel. It ruled petitioner is barred

from challenging the validity of the ultra vires June 9,

1977 Appeals Council order issued by Trachtenberg in

the Taylor case; the validity of departmental regula-

tions authorizing Appeals Council to hear and decide

social security cases; and her independent status as a

judge by virtue of the Secretary's delegation and the

provisions of the Social Security and Administrative

Procedure Acts (as confirmed by the positign.des ip-

tion). He found these matters were decided in my oiog

recommended decision, which was properly before the

court. The decision, moreover, had no finality. Under

the FOIA/Privacy Act it is not a public record accessi-

ble to the public since it is not a final decision. It is

the court’s duty to rule on the validity of ad-

ministrative regulations.

The applicability of the doctrine of privilege is a

further issue that would arise on the merits. Privilege

is an affirmative defense that must be pleaded. The

district court ruled, based on their motion to dismiss,

CLS respondents’ actions are privileged. It found they

merely exercised their constitutional and statutory

rights of free speech “by filing complaints with peti-

tioner’s supervisors about the manner in which she

performed her duties.” It emphasized the importance

of protecting the independent status of attorneys. It

made no reference to the alleged need to preserve the

ALJ’s independence. It inaccurately stated the com-

plaint only charges them with “vigorous advocacy.” It

also ruled no statutory and constitutional rights were

Reasons for Granting Writ

violated under the Fifth Amendment. It made no rul-

ing on petitioner's First Amendment claims, including

retaliation for petitioning for redress of her grievances

and invasions of privacy and defamation. It dismissed

all claims against CLS. It also erroneously ruled that

no claims against CLS are asserted under the Civil

Rights Act, 42 USC 1985. This too involves an issue

that would arise on the merits.

The provisions of Section 1985(3) of the Civil

Rights Act provide that the act of one conspirator is

binding on all and any one or all is liable for

damages. The court chose to ignore this.

‘The district court entered summary judgment for

BHA respondents on the claims under the Freedom of

Information Act. It ruled there was “no evidence of

record’ the agency acted intentionally and willfully. It

also found there is no basis for injunctive relief. Yet,

the law requires a de novo hearing before the court.

It entered summary judgment on the Privacy Act

claims by deciding the letters, solicited covertly and

without compliance with the provisions of the Act, are

relevant and necessary to a determination whether

petitioner properly performed her functions as an ALJ.

It entered summary judgment for Ennis, Roseman

and Kuriger by deciding they were acting at the direc-

tion of Gitman and entered and searched petitioner's

locked office to obtain the Taylor files. It found they

did not violate the Fourth Amendment.

It made no ruling on petitioner’s other First

Amendment claims.

23

Reasons for Granting Writ

The Circuit Court in its decision did not dispose

of these issues which were squarely presented. It con-

clusorily stated in its judgment order that there are no

disputed facts and errors of law. The records before

the court precluded the rulings made by it. The court's

action cannot be sustained when examined in tradi-

tional manner and in light of traditional judicial

sources. It is patently wrong and illegal. Its decisions,

moreover, do not accurately and fully represent the

facts in this case.

The theory of our judicial system is that the con-

clusions to be reached in a case will be induced only

by evidence and argument in open court, and not by

any outside influence, whether by private talk or

public print. Patterson v. Colorodo, 205 U.S. 454.

Legal trials are not elections to be won through use of

meeting halls. Administrative law judges should be

protected from unnecessary interference and ~harass-

ment.

The potential danger of what occurred here is

that it permits a small group of unscrupulous public

service lawyers with a “rule or ruin” motto and of-

ficials with a “might makes right policy” to, by con-

spiratorial means, hold a judge hostage by threat of a

removal drive. It is petitioner today. Tomorrow it will

be others. The tide must be turned for the common

good before it is too late. When the people neglect

their interests, they afford their rulers an opportunity

of retreating from freedom back toward despotism.

Though the system remains literally the same, the of-

ficers take advantage of its defects and mostly, by

gradual abuses, entrench themselves and friends in of-

24

Reasons for Granting Writ

fice until the general interest as much as possible is

put out of view.

Courts exist to assure each individual he, as an in-

dividual, has enforceable rights that he may pursue to

achieve a peaceful redress of his legitimate grievances.

Damages have been regarded as the ordinary remedy

for an invasion of personal interests in liberty,

Halperin v. Kissinger, 604 F.2d 1192 (1979) (D.C.

Cir.). The principle that should guide the Court in its

decision was stated long ago by Chief Justice Marshall:

“The very essence of civil liberties consists in the right

of every individual to claim the protections of the law

whenever he receives an injury.” Marbury v. Madison,

1 Cranch 137 (1803). Courts have a traditional func-

tion of enforcing federally guaranteed rights. Our

courts held there is a public interest in vindicating

First Amendment rights of public employees.

The number of cases protecting judges (including

ALJs) against suits for wrongs committed by them

against party litigants during the course of judicial

proceedings is legion. This Court recently noted in

Harlow v. Fitzgerald, supra: “We—judges collectively

—have held that the common law provides us with

absolute immunity for ourselves with respect to

judicial acts however erroneous or ill advised.” This

right is not a creature of statute or Constitution. It is

a product of judicial insemination.

This Court is now called upon to chart a new

course, one that will protect the right of judges, albeit

Administrative Law Judges, to sue for wrongs against

them on account of their lawful judicial acts. This is a

25

Reasons for Granting Writ

legitimate right. It was spawned by Congress and the

Constitution,

A 48 page opinion, on the papers before it, where

the court refused to rule on motions for more than 5

years, and where it went beyond its legitimate func-

tions and powers to decide the case on the merits so as

to absolve the wrongdoers for actions Congress made

criminally punishable and to discredit and present the

victim in a false and unfavorable light, on its face,

warrants an exercise of this Court's supervisory

powers. In addition, for an appeals court to sanction

and compound such radical departures from substan-

tive and legal modes of procedure in a case seriously

impugning the executive judicial system, manifests an

urgent need for remedial action an orm, by this

Court to restore integrity at confidence in. the

American system of justice. "

It is the solemn obligation of the court to search

for and tell the truth. Truth is indispensable to justice.

The courts here did not present the true facts. Justice

was not rendered.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, the Petition for Writ

of Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfulty submitted

HoNoraBLe WaNbA P. CHOCALLO

Pro Se

308 Maple Ave.

Drexel Hill, PA 19026

la

Judgment Order

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 82-1754

WANDA P. CHOCALLO

Vv.

BUREAU OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS, SSA et al.

HON. WANDA P. CHOCALLO, APPELLANT

(D.C. Civil No, 77-2310)

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT

COURT FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENN-

SYLVANIA

Hon. JAMES T. GILES, DISTRICT J UDGE

Submitted Under Third Circuit Rule 12(6) June 1, 1985

Before: GIBBONS, HUNTER and Maris, Circuit Judges

2a

Judgment Order

JUDGMENT ORDER

Wanda P. Chocallo, a former Administrative Law

Judge with the Social Security Administration, appeals

from a final judgment dismissing some counts of her com-

plaint for failure to state a claim on which relief can be

granted, and granting summary judgment on the remaining

counts. The defendants include Community Legal Ser-

vices, Inc. and some attorneys employed by it, the Bureau

of Hearings and Appeals, some individual Administrative

Law Judges and some officials of the Social Security Ad-

ministration. The trial judge carefully considered sepa-

rately each ground for relief alleged against each defendant.

We agree that those claims which were dismissed pursu-

ant to Rule 12(b) (6) fail to state a claim on which relief

can be granted. As to those claims on which summary

judgment was entered we find no material disputed fact

issues, and no legal error.

It is ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that the iudg-

ment of the district court is affirmed. Costs are taxed in

favor of appellees.

BY THE COURT,

s/JOHN J. GIBBONS

Circuit Judge

Attest:

s/Sally Mrvos

Sally Mrvos, Clerk

Dated: Jun 1, 1983

3a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR

THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Civil Action No. 77-2310

WANDA P. CHOCALLO

v.

BUREAU OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS, SSA, et al.

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

GILES, J., October 8, 1982

INTRODUCTION

This is an action by a former Administrative Law

Judge (“ALJ”) Wanda P. Chocallo (‘‘Chocallo”), which

in the main, challenges on constitutional and statutory

grounds certain federal agency actions which she claims

prevented her from discharging her duties as an ALJ, in-

terfered with her judicial independence and integrity and

disqualified her from hearing certain social security cases

assigned to her.

Chocallo sues all named defendants, private and

governmental, as members of a conspiracy allegedly cog-

nizable under 42 U.S.C. §1985. She also asserts viola-

4a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

tions of the Fifth Amendment, the Privacy Act of 1974,

5 U.S.C. §552 (a) (g) (1), et. seg. and the Administrative

Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. §101 et seg. Jurisdiction is prop-

erly asserted under 28 U.S.C. §§1331 and 1343 (1976).

Each defendant has moved either to dismiss the com-

plaint for failure to state a claim under Fed. R. Civ. P.

12(b) (6), or alternatively, for summary judgment under

Fed. R. Civ. P. 56. For the reasons which follow the

motions shall be granted and judgment shall be entered in

favor of all defendants and against plaintiff.

I. BACKGROUND

When bringing this action in July of 1977, plaintiff

held the position of temporary ALJ assigned to the Bureau

of Hearings and Appeals of the Social Security Admin-

istration, Department of Health, Education and Welfare

(“‘DHEW”). In this capacity, she heard claimants’ ap-

peals from initial adverse determinations of social security

insurance benefit eligibility, and rendered decisions. Her

ALJ decisions were reviewable on the merits by the Ap-

peals Council of the Social Security Administration. If

affirmed at that level, the ALJ’s opinion became the final

decision of the Secretary of the Department.

Based on allegations of conduct unbecoming her of-

fice, arising largely from the incidents underlying the

complaint in this court, Chocallo was subsequently re-

moved from her temporary position as ALJ. The decision

to remove her was made by the Merits Protection Board

and affirmed by the United States District Court for the

5a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

District of Columbia in Chocallo vy. Prokop, No. 80-1053

(D.D.C. October 10, 1980). The incidents giving rise to

Chocallo’s complaint basically cover a one and one half

year period between December, 1975 through June, 1977,

and are best described as four separate series of events.

A. The Pearl Taylor Case

Commencement of this action coincided with plain-

tiff’s refusal to cooperate in the reassignment to another

AL] of the social security claim file of one Pearl Taylor,

a claimant who sought disability status by reason of a

mental condition. At all times material to this proceed-

ing Taylor was represented by defendant Community Le-

gal Services, Inc. (““CLS’’) through its employee Jonathan

Stein, Esquire, and Edwin Montes, a paralegal to Stein.

Prior to a February, 1977 hearing before plaintiff on the

Taylor claim Stein had filed a request with plaintiff, sup-

ported by affidavits, asking that she recuse herself as the

ALJ in the matter because of alleged bias against all social

security claimants who had mental problems and who

were represented by CLS. The recusal motion also alleged

general bias and prejudice against CLS representatives.

Plaintiff refused to recuse herself at the February 15, 1977

hearing. At that time, plaintiff also interrogated the

claimant over the objections of counsel, about various

aspects of her attorney/client relationship, as well as

claimant’s involvement in the recusal motion, out of the

presence of her attorney (Complaint, Exh. D. p. 9), (Com-

plaint “£ 13, 14 15). Chocallo terminated the hearing

6a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

without decision because of Stein’s vigorous objections to

plaintiff’s actions.

Following the hearing, Stein filed a written complaint

to the Appeals Council, demanding reassignment of the

case for bias demonstrated at the hearing and inviting its

review of the hearing transcript. (Complaint, £ 15, Brown

Affidavit, £ 8). Defendant, Philip T. Brown, Chief Ad-

ministrative Law Judge, received Stein’s letter complaint

dated February 15, 1977. He addressed an internal com-

munication to Chocallo on March 10, 1977 advising her

of his concern over the possibility that claimants were

becoming victims of an obviously poor relationship be-

tween CLS and plaintiff. (Brown Affidavit £8). Speak-

ing on behalf of the Appeals Council, Brown stated that

no action would be taken until it had reviewed the tran-

script and tape recording of the February 1977 hearing.

(Complaint, £17). On March 15, 1977, Chocallo wrote

to claimant Taylor, ex parte, informing her that on Feb-

ruary 17, 1977 an attempt had been made by “the Ad-

ministrative Officer of this Office’ to secure Taylor’s files.

(Complaint { 16, Exhibit B).

On May 10, 1977, before the Appeals Council could

act Chocallo entered a decision and order barring both

Stein and Montes from further participation in the pro-

ceedings on behalf of Taylor. (Complaint, £ 18, Exhibit

D). In the opinion, plaintiff expressed the belief that

Stein had breached his professional responsibility to the

claimant by failing to disclose the recusal motion to his

client.’ Chocallo’s opinion incorporated a newspaper ar-

1The Code of Professional Responsibility, adopted by the

American Bar Association, Ethical Considerations EC 7-9 and

EC 7-11 support the use of discretion by an attorney not to dis-

close to a client information such as a recusal motion.

7a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

ticle critical of CLS, and particularly Stein, on a subject

totally unrelated to either the claimant, the merits of claim

or the field of social security benefits. Jd. Prior to

rendering her decision, she had mailed a copy of the same

newspaper article, ex parte, to Taylor. (Brown Affidavit,

£9). Plaintiff’s barring order required claimant to obtain

substitute counsel within 30 days.

The order was issued without notice or a hearing,

in the face of a statutory provision and implementing

regulations which require prior notice and a hearing before

a duly designated or appointed representative can be dis-

missed from practicing before the Social Security Admin-

istration. 42 U.S.C. §1383 (d) (2); 20 C.F.R. §§416.1503,

416.1540-.1565. The barring order came to the attention

of the Chief Administrative Law Judge Brown, who deter-

mined that it was contrary to law. (Brown Affidavit, {

11). On his motion, the Appeals Council issued an order

dated June 9, 1977 removing the Taylor case to the Coun-

cil pursuant to 20 C.F.R. §416.1459. The case was then

remanded to the Regional Chief Administrative Law Judge

for reassignment to another ALJ.

A copy of the Appeals Council order was served on

plaintiff on June 10, 1977 by defendant Sol Gitman, As-

sistant Regional Chief Judge. Defendant James C. Light-

foot, Administrative Law Judge in charge of the Phila-

delphia Office of the Bureau of Hearings and Appeals,

and defendant John Ennis, another ALJ, were also present.

Gitman made an oral demand upon plaintiff to return the

file but she responded that she did not have it in her of-

fice and even if she did, she would not surrender it to

him (Gitman Affidavit, £ 15). Later, a written demand

was made on the same day, to which plaintiff made no

8a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

response. (Gitman Affidavit, £ 16). Her refusal was

then reported to Chief ALJ Brown.

Plaintiff ignored the statutory and regulatory authority

for the case reassignment action, contending that it was

violative of her rights as a presiding judge and as protector

of the interests of the claimant Taylor and the public.

(Complaint, ££ 26, 27, 28). Following receipt of the Ap-

peals Council Order, plaintiff contacted Taylor by tele-

phone. The claimant had already been informed of the

removal action and was under directive to obtain another

representative. During the telephone conversation, Taylor

told Chocallo that she did not want another ALJ. Plain-

tiff retained control of the file and scheduled a further

hearing on June 13, 1977. Pursuant to a June 9, 1977

order issued by Chocallo, claimant appeared without her

CLS representatives. They had advised her not to appear

since the case had been taken from Chocallo and was be-

ing reassigned. Taylor appeared with her sister and

minister. One of plaintiff's allegations is that CLS failed

or refused to represent claimant at this unauthorized hear-

ing. (Complaint ££ 19-24).

On June 21, 1977, defendants Jack H. Roseman and

John W. Ennis, both ALJ’s, and defendant Claire R.

Kuriger, entered Chocallo’s locked office in her absence

and made a visual inspection for purposes of locating and

obtaining the Taylor files. They were unsuccessful.

Chocallo retained the files and proceeded to “decide” the

claimant’s case in her favor, thus mooting a mandamus

suit filed in this court by the government to compel her

to return the files. (United States of America v. Wanda

P. Chocallo, No. 77-2437, dismissed as moot). In keep-

ing with the routine practice of relinquishing files in de-

9a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

cided cases, she turned the Taylor file over after making

the decision. See United States of America v. Wanda P.

Chocallo, E.D. Pa., Civil Action No. 77-2437.

These actions were the primary basis for initiation

by the agency of removal charges against plaintiff on

June 20, 1977 (Trachtenberg Affidavit © 7).

B. The Coleman Case

Plaintiff’s second group of allegations arise out of the

December, 1975 social security disability hearing of de-

fendant John C. Coleman, a 74 year old blind man whose

case was assigned to Chocallo. Chocallo failed to appear

at the Coleman hearing allegedly due to illness. His coun-

sel, defendant Linda Bernstein, Esquire, wrote to Chocallo

expressing her concern at Chocallo’s non-appearance, par-

ticularly in light of the resulting inconvenience to Cole-

man. At the next scheduled hearing, Chocallo accused

Coleman of dishonesty and Bernstein of unethical and

unprofessional conduct. On December 31, 1975, Bern-

stein complained in writing to the Chief ALJ of what she

regarded as vituperative conduct by Chocallo. As a result

of these complaints, Chocallo was counselled by Light-

foot, in his capacity as Regional Chief ALJ, to avoid such

confrontations with counsel, which might result in claims

of partiality. Lightfoot suggested that plaintiff consider

voluntarily recusing herself from the Coleman case. Plain-

tiff refused to withdraw. The Coleman case was not

reassigned, despite the complaints from Bernstein, on the

stated presumption that plaintiff could conduct a fair,

10a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

impartial hearing and render a just decision. (Complaint,

17 33 A-Q, X-2) .

In late January, May and July, of 1976, Chocallo

attempted to schedule supplementary hearings in the Cole-

man matter. Neither Bernstein nor Coleman appeared,

believing that the matter had been concluded on the merits

at the December, 1976 hearing.’

In September, 1976 nearly nine months after the

hearing on the merits, Coleman’s attorney Bernstein com-

plained in writing to Chief ALJ Brown about what she

considered an inordinate delay in the issuance of a deci-

sion. (Brown Affidavit, © 5). Brown gave plaintiff a

copy of the Bernstein letter and asked her when the deci-

sion would be rendered, advising her that if a date were

not given, the Appeals Council would have to review the

case and make a decision. Plaintiff promised a decision

by the first week in October, 1976. As of November 1,

1976, no decision had been made and Brown requested

the Appeals Council to remove and consider the case be-

cause of the delay. On November 2, 1976, the Appeals

Council informed Brown that a decision adverse to Cole-

man had been rendered on October 29, 1976. On June

2In early February,\976, for the purpose of defending a

federal class action brought against the Secretary of DHEW, a

request was made for the Coleman file by the Office of General

Counsel of DHEW through the Assistant Commissioner of the

Bureau of Supplemental Security Income. (Gitman Affidavit,

9 6, 8, Attachment No. 2). All case files involved in that law-

suit had been obtained except the Coleman file which was in the

possession of, or under the control of, plaintiff. Despite the

stated need of the General Counsel's Office for the file, she re-

fused to surrender it. Jd.

lla

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

15, 1977, the Appeals Council reversed and remanded be-

cause of demonstrated hostility against the claimant and

attorney through the hearing process and the decision it-

self. The case was then reassigned to another ALJ for

decision.

In September, 1977, ostensibly acting as a self-ap-

pointed private attorney general endeavoring to attack the

validity of the Appeals Council’s order of June 15, 1977,

Chocallo filed a first amended complaint in this court to

add as defendants the Secretary of DHEW and the claim-

ant Coleman.

C. Denial of Promotion and Lack of Productivity

On February 29, 1976, Chocallo communicated with

David Matthews of DHEW requesting a full investigation

into defendants’ conduct in the Coleman case. By letter

dated April 9, 1976, defendant Robert L. Trachtenberg,

Director of the Bureau of Hearings and Appeals, advised

Chocallo that he planned to recommend instituting an ad-

verse action against her, and that he felt it improper to

reply to her letter which had been referred to him by Mat-

thews. Because of the contemplated adverse action,

Trachtenberg decided to withhold Chocallo’s promotion

which would ordinarily have been effective by operation

of law on April 11, 1976. (Trachtenberg Affidavit { 4).

On May 25, 1976, Chocallo reported Trachtenberg’s ac-

tions to the Civil Service Commission which ultimately

directed Trachtenberg to initiate retroactive corrective ac-

tion. The action was taken and Chocallo received a re-

troactive promotion and backpay. Subsequently, on April

12a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

29, 1977, Chocallo was informed by Brown that her pro-

duction was unacceptably low, and was instructed to in-

crease her out-put within sixty days. Apparently, the

“productivity” issue had been raised previously in Jan-

uary, 1976 by Gitman due to a ‘multitude of complaints”

which were filed by persons who had appeared before

Chocallo and who complained of delayed decisions. (Git-

man Affidavit, £10, 11). Ultimately, on May 31, 1977,

Gitman addressed a letter to Chocallo requesting her to

inform him on a weekly basis of the number of case dis-

positions. (Complaint £ 37). Chocallo asserts that if

her productivity was low, it was because she was denied

an adequate support staff. (Complaint, © 34).

D. Denial of Access to Personnel File

Finally, plaintiff alleges that her rights under the

Privacy Act were violated by defendants Trachtenberg,

Gitman and Lightfoot who delayed and/or refused to

furnish her copies of all records and data concerning her

which were in the Bureau’s possession. Further, she

claims that her Privacy Act rights were violated since de-

fendants collected irrelevant and damaging information,

in particular, complaints filed by attorneys and claimants

concerning her performance which were disseminated

without her knowledge. Based on the above events, plain-

tiff sues the following group of defendants.

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

I]. THE COMMUNITY LEGAL SERVICES (“‘CLS’’)

DEFENDANTS

Chocallo claims that various attorneys affiliated with

CLS, who represented claimants appearing before her,

conspired with the federal defendants to violate her consti-

tutional and statutory rights. The CLS defendants include

Linda Bernstein, Esquire, Marjorie Janoski, Esquire, Bar-

tholomew Poindexter, Esquire, Richard Weishaupt, Es-

quire and Deborah Kooperman, Eileen Wood and Marilyn

Davis Weiler, CLS paralegals.’ It is unclear what con-

stitutional rights were allegedly violated by the CLS de-

fendants. Chocallo appears to claim that she had a con-

Stitutional right to be an “independent judge,’’ to continue

to hold office (Complaint © 40, 48), and not to be “‘un-

lawfully deprived of her liberty to use the powers of her

mind, judgment and experience. . .”’. (Complaint © 48).

In addition, Chocallo claims that the public’s rights and

the rights of claimants in Social Security appeals were

3 Each CLS defendant is charged with: (1) making ‘‘er

parte’’ complaints to Chocallo’s superiors concerning her conduct

as a hearing examiner, (Compaint © 24, 27, 30, 31); (2) con-

spiring to prevent her from discharging her duties as a judge

(Complaint, © 12) and (3) being ‘‘unruly’’ and ‘‘offensive’’ at

hearing before Chocallo (Complaint, © 14), Based on these fac-

tual representations, Chocallo claims ‘at her rights under the due

process clause of the Fifth Amendment and under 42 U.S.C. §1985

were violated by the CLS defendants. Chocallo also alleges causes

of action under the Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. §101,

et seq.; the Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. §301, et seq. and the

Privacy Act, 5 U.S.C. §552. Fairly read, however, the complaint

does not allege that the CLS defendants violated any of these

provisions.

l4a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

violated. (Complaint, £ 41, 43). Based on these allega-

tions, the CLS defendants have moved to dismiss the com-

plaint for failure to state a claim upon which relief can be

granted under Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b) (6). Even accepting

all of the well-pleaded facts in plaintiff's complaint as

true, I find that the CLS defendants’ motion must be

granted. Chocallo claims relief under all three sections of

42 U.S.C. §1985 (1976) .*

I address these claims in reverse order.

#42 U.S.C. §1985 provides:

(1) If two or more persons in any State or Territory

conspire to prevent, by force, intimidation, or threat, any

person from accepting or holding any office, trusts, or place

of confidence under the United States, or from discharging

any duties thereof; or to induce by like means any officer

of the United States to leave any State, district, or place,

where his duties as an afficer are required to be performed,

or to injure him in his person or property on account of his

lawful discharge of the duties of his office, or while engaged

in the lawful discharge thereof, or to injure his property so

as to molest, interrupt, hinder or impede him in the discharge

of his official duties;

(2) If two or more persons in any State or Territory

conspire to deter, by force, intimidation, or threat, any party

or witness in any court of the United States from attending

such court, or from testifying to any matter pending therein,

freely, fully, and truthfully, or to injure such party or wit-

ness in his person“or property on account of his having so

attended or testified,... ; or if two or more persons conspire

for the purpose of impeding, hindering, obstructing, or de-

feating, in any manner, the due course of justice in any State

or Territory, with intent to deny to any citizen the equal

protection of the laws, or to injure him or his property for

lawfully enforcing, or attempting to enforce, the right of any

person, or class of persons, to the equal protection of the laws;

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

A. 42U.S.C. §1985(3)

To state a cause of action under §1985 (3), the plain-

tiff must show (1) that a federally secured right has been

invaded by the defendants, (2) that the defendants con-

spired to deprive the plaintiff of her rights, and (3) that

the defendants’ actions were motivated by a “class-based,

invidiously discriminatory animus. . . .” Griffin v.

Breckenridge, 403 U.S. 88, 102 (1971). Waits v. Me-

Gowan, 516 F.2d 203, 208-09 (3d Cir. 1975); See also

Robinson v. McCorkle, 462 F.2d 111, 113 (3d Cir.), cert.

denied, 407 U.S. 1042 (1972); Local No. 1 (ACA) v.

I.B.T., C. W. & H., 419 F. Supp. 263, 275-77 (E.D. Pa.

1976). “ ‘Section [1985(3)] provides no substantive

right itself; it merely provides a remedy for violation of

rights it designates.’’’ Marino v. Bowers, 657 F.2d 13635,

1371 (3d Cir. 1981), (quoting Great Amerian Federal

(3) If two or more persons in any State or Territory

conspire... for the purpose of depriving, either directly or

indirectly, any person or class of persons of the equal protec-

tion of the laws, or of equal privileges and immunities under

the laws; or for the purpose of preventing or hindering the

constituted authorities of any State or Territory from giving

or securing to all persons within such State or Territory the

equal protection of the laws; ... in any case of conspiracy

set forth in this section, if one or more persons engaged there-

in do, or cause to be done, any act in furtherance of the ob-

ject of such conspiracy, whereby another is injured in his

person or property, or deprived of having and exercising any

right or privilege of a citizen of the United States, the party

so injured or deprived may have an action for the recovery

of damages occasioned by such injury or deprivation, against

any one or more of the conspirators.

16a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

Savings & Loan Ass’n v. Novotny, 442 U.S. 366, 372

(1979)).

With respect to the claim of constitutional violations,

plaintiff alleges only that her rights to due process and

equal protection under the Fifth Amendment were in-

fringed by the actions of the CLS defendants. However,

plaintiff alleges no facts that would establish that the CLS

defendants violated these rights. Although she alleges

that the CLS defendants were obstructive, rude and offen-

sive, that they sought to disqualify her from sitting in cer-

tain cases, and that they failed to properly represent cer-

tain clients in cases before her, none of these allegations

implicates plaintiff's constitutional rights. As a judge,

she has no constitutional right to be free from criticism,

disqualification, or even ridicule. Cf. In re Dellinger, 461

F.2d 389, 400 (7th Cir. 1972). (Attorneys given latitude

as vigorous advocates and mere disrespect or insult not

necessarily punishable as contempt.) Quite to the con-

trary, the actions complained of are themselves protected

by the First and Sixth Amendments. The CLS defendants

are entitled under the Constitution and federal law to

criticize plaintiff as a judge and federal official. See, e.g.,

Wood v. Georgia, 370 U.S. 375, 388-91 (1962); In re

Sawyer, 360 U.S. 622, 632-33 (1959); In re Oliver, 452

F.2d 111, 114-15 (7th Cir. 1977). See also Canon 7,

ABA Code of Professional Responsibility.

Moreover, in particular cases, where the assigned

judge may be biased, prejudiced, or predisposed as to the

outcome, the attorney may have an obligation to file a mo-

tion for disqualification. Indeed, the regulations which

control the hearing procedures inve'ving administrative

law judges specifically provide for di. ualification of

17a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

presiding officers. 20 C.F.R. §416.1430. Plaintiff has

no constitutional right to be exempted from this provision.

Finally, in the course of representing their clients,

CLS attorneys are entitled to make a wide range of tactical

and legal decisions, and only the client, and not a third

party such as any administrative law judge, has standing

to complain that these decisions and actions violate the

constitutional rights of the client. See, e.g., O'Malley v.

Brierley, 477 F.2d 785, 789 (3d Cir. 1973) (litigant may

assert only his own constitutional rights or immunities) .

The Supreme Court has repeatedly emphasized the

importance of protecting the independence of attorneys

and ensuring zealous advocacy on behalf of clients under

our adversary system of justice. See, e.g., In re Sawyer,

360 U.S. 622, 635-36 (1959). See also In re Dellinger,

461 F.2d at 400. These principles must be followed with

special care with respect to legal service organizations

where, because of funding and other considerations, there

is a high risk of interference and control by the govern-

ment or the courts. Fairly read, plaintiff’s requests for

relief, if granted, would seriously encroach upon the pro-

tected activities of the CLS defendants.

It is also clear that plaintiff's complaint fails to sat-

isfy the requirement that defendants’ actions be motivated

by a class-based, discriminatory animus. Such allegations

must allege discrimination against a well defined class,

and discrimination that “(1) affects a traditionally dis-

advantaged group (e.g., ‘suspect’ classification); (2) is

irrational; or (3) unnecessarily burdens plaintiff’s exercise

of a ‘fundamental’ right.’’ Santiago v. City of Philadel-

phia, 435 F. Supp. 136, 156 (E.D. Pa. 1977). Plaintiff

fails to satisfy any of these standards.

18a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

Plaintiff does not allege discrimination based on race,

sex, alienage, or any other suspect classification. Nor

does she claim discrimination against administrative law

judges as a class. Thus, she fails to state a claim under

§1985 (3).

B. 42U.S.C. $1985 (2)

The Third Circuit construes section 1985(2) as sub-

divided into two parts—one part preceding and the other

following the semi-colon. Brawer v. Horowitz, 535 F.2d

830, 840 (3d Cir. 1976). The second half of section

1985(2), proscribing obstructions of justice having as

their object the denial of equal protection of the laws,

Haefner v. County of Lancaster, 520 F. Supp. 131, 134

(E.D. Pa. 1981), has been construed to require the same

class-based, invidiously discriminatory animus as that

which has been required under §1985(3). Brawer, 535

F.2d at 840. Accordingly, for the reasons stated above,

plaintiff's claim under this section must also be dismissed.

The first clause of subsection (2) is aimed at con-

spiracies to intimidate or pressure witnesses, parties and

jurors in the performance of their duties in any court of

the United States. Brawer, 535 F.2d at 840. This section

does not provide judges or others involved in the judicial

process, who are not specified in the statute, with any

protection. Plaintiff as a judge, does not have standing

under this statute to raise the constitutional claims of liti-

gants who appear before her. O'Malley v. Brierley, 477

F.2d at 789 (one cannot sue for deprivation of another’s

civil rights.)

19a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

C. Section 1985(1)

Section 1985(1) has not been definitively construed

by the Third Circuit. However, in a carefully considered

Opinion, with which I am in agreement, the Seventh Cir-

cuit has construed it to consist of four component parts.

Stern v. United States Gypsum, Inc., 547 F.2d 1329, 1336

(7th Cir.) cert. denied, 434 U.S. 975 (1977). Parts one

and two proscribe conspiracies to prevent federal officers,

by the use of “force, intimidation, or threat” from holding

office or discharging their duties. Also proscribed are

conspiracies to induce federal officers to leave a place

where their duties must be performed. Stern, 547 F.2d

at 1336. Here, plaintiff alleges no facts whatsoever to

establish conduct by CLS defendants which rises to the

level of force, intimidation or threats. The CLS defend-

ants have, as outlined above, merely exercised their statu-

tory and constitutional responsibilities as attorneys and

paralegals. Thus, these portions of section 1985(1) are

not implicated by the alleged conduct. Parts three and

four, however, proscribe conduct which falls short of

force, intimidation or threats. Conspiracies to injure a

federal officer in his person or property on account of, or

during the lawful discharge of his duties are not permitted.

Also forbidden are conspiracies to injure his property in

order to impede him in the discharge of his duties. Plain-

tiff presumably claims that the alleged conduct falls with-

in these proscriptions. However, as in Stern, the grava-

men of plaintiff's complaint against the CLS defendants

is that they interfered with the discharge of plaintiff's

duties by overzealous advocacy and by filing complaints

with her supervisors about the manner in which she per-

20a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

formed her duties. I find, as did the court in Stern, that

section 1985(1) must be read narrowly so as not to impli-

cate these constitutionally protected activities. In Stern,

the court found that plaintiff, an IRS agent who had sued

a corporation and its officers for filing complaints with

plaintiff’s superiors concerning the performance of duties

during an audit, did not state a claim under §1985(1).

It found such activity to be protected by the First Amend-

ment since ‘‘public criticism of governmental policy and

those responsible for government operations is at the very

core of the constitutionally protected free speech area,”

Stern, 547 F.2d at 1342, and “presenting complaints to

responsible government officials about the conduct of their

subordinates with whom the complainer has had official

dealings is analagously central to the protections of the

right to petition.” Jd. at 1342-43. The court found it

irrelevant that the exercise of this right may cause profes-

sional injury to the official in question. Nor was it rele-

vant that the complainant may be aware of, and desire,

such injury to occur, at least when the complaints are

lodged through the proper and established channels. /d.

at 1343. Likewise, in this case, the CLS defendants have

merely exercised their statutory and constitutional respon-

sibilities as attorneys and paralegals, as outlined above.

They have not, as a result, deprived plaintiff of any

federaliy secured right under section 1985(1).

D. The Fifth Amendment

It appears that any authority for a direct cause of ac-

tion under the Fifth Amendment derives from Bivens v.

21a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

Six Unknown Agents, 403 U.S. 388 (1971). However,

two fundamental requirements must be satisfied before a

Bivens cause of action can be stated. First, the plaintiff

must be deprived of a constitutionally protected right un-

der the specific Amendment; second, the defendants’ ac-

tions must have been taken under color of law. Bivens,

403 U.S. at 392-397. As indicated, there is no showing

that the CLS defendants did anything illegal to plaintiff.

Consequently, they have deprived her of no constitutionally

protected right and her claim directly under the Fifth

Amendment must also fail.

II]. DEFENDANT JOHN C. COLEMAN, SOCIAL

SECURITY CLAIMANT

Plaintiff filed an amended complaint on August 15,

1977 (Docket Entry No. 5) wherein John C. Coleman is

named as adefendant. In that complaint, plaintiff protests

an Order of the Appeals Council removing Coleman’s

case from her and reassigning it to another administrative

law judge. Coleman moved to dismiss, asserting that the

complaint fails to state a claim against him. I agree. A

review of the amended complaint fails to disclose any al-

legation as to any actions taken by Coleman, acting in-

dependently of his attorney, that were directed against

plaintiff. To the extent that Coleman is involved, it is

only through his attorney against whom the action has

been dismissed for failure to state a claim. Thus, the

action against Coleman, the client, must be dismissed for

the same reasons.

22a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

IV. DEFENDANT, JOSEPH CALIFANO FORMER

SECRETARY OF DHEW

In the same August 15, 1977 amended complaint,

plaintiff sued the Secretary of DHEW complaining that the

Appeals Council’s removal and remand order in the Cole-

man case was contrary to the applicable provisions of the

Administrative Procedure Act, and in violation of rights

guaranteed under the Fifth Amendment. Although not

stated, it is apparent that Califano was sued in his official

capacity. Plaintiff requested this court to direct the Secre-

tary to overrule the Appeals Council and to adopt, as his

own, her decision denying Coleman benefits. Califano

moved to dismiss plaintiff's complaint for failure to state

a claim against him. I agree that dismissal is proper be-

cause plaintiff lacks standing to challenge the action taken

by the Appeals Council. To have standing, plaintiff must

demonstrate both that (1) ‘‘the challenged action has

caused [her] injury in fact, economic or otherwise,” and

(2) that the interest sought to be protected is “arguably

within the zone of interests to be protected by or regulated

by the statute or constitutional guarantee in question.”

Association of Data Processing Service Organization, Inc.

v. Camp, 397 U.S. 150, 152-53 (1970). Plaintiff com-

pletely fails to establish either element.

Plaintiff cannot show that she was deprived of any

legally protected interest by the Appeals Council Order of

June 9, 1977, according Coleman a new hearing before

another administrative law judge. As a presiding officer

assigned to determine the eligibility of a claimant for sup-

plemental social security benefits, the plaintiff had a statu-

23a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

tory obligation to decide, without prejudice, the merits of

the case before her. 5 U.S.C. §556(a). Any partiality

on the part of the presiding officer in a pending matter

requires disqualification. Social Security Administration

regulations, 20 C.F.R. §416.1430 provide in pertinent

part:

§416.1450 Disqualification of pending officer.

No presiding officer shall conduct a hearing in a

case in which he is prejudiced or partial with respect

to any party, or where he has any interest in the mat-

ter pending for decision before him. (Emphasis

added).

Plaintiff, therefore, could not properly have any interest

in the claim before her. Consequently, as a matter of law,

plaintiff has no interest in the outcome of Coleman’s claim.

Even if she did have standing, plaintiff has no basis

upon which to challenge the propriety of the Appeals

Councils’ action in the Coleman case. Her complaint is

that Califano, through the Appeals Council, lacked au-

thority to vacate her decision in the Coleman case and

remand it to another ALJ because (1) it is illegally con-

stituted as a review body, and (2) it was not authorized

by statute or regulation to remove the case from her or to

reassign it to another ALJ. The former argument was

raised in plaintiff's removal proceedings held before Judge

McCarthy. After conducting a full evidentiary hearing,

Judge McCarthy concluded that this argument was merit-

less.”

* Judge McCarthy found unpersuasive Chocallo’s argument

that sections 205(g) and (k) of the SSA, 42 U.S.C. 405(g) and

(h), prohibit review of a ‘‘presiding judges’’’ decision by any

24a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

Judge McCarthy’s findings were affirmed by the

Merit System Protections Board (MSPB), In re Wanda

Chocallo, MSPB Memorandum Opinion and Order dated

March 20, 1980 which was in turn affirmed by the United

States District Court. Chocallo vy. Prokop, C.A. No. 80-

1053 (D.D.C. October 19, 1980).

Collateral estoppel, thus, applies to bar plaintiff’s re-

litigation of this issue. “Once an issue is actually and

necessarily determined by a court of competent jurisdic-

tion, that determination is conclusive on subsequent suits

based on a different cause of action involving a party to

the prior litigation.” Montana v. United States, 440 U.S.

147, 153 (1979). In addition, the party to be precluded

from relitigating the issue must have had a full and fair

Opportunity to contest the issue. Jd. Collateral estoppel

also applies to administrative proceedings where an ad-

ministrative agency acts in a judicial capacity to resolve

disputed issues of fact which the parties have had a full

Opportunity to litigate. United States v. Utah Construction

& Mining Co., 384 U.S. 394, 422 (1966). Since a full

evidentiary hearing was held before Judge McCarthy on

person, agency or tribunal except the federal district court. To

the contrary, he found that these sections refer only to the deci-

sions of the ‘‘Secretary’’ and contain no mention of a ‘‘presiding

judges’’ decision. He found that plaintiff's assumption that she

is ‘‘the Secretary’’ since an ALJ has delegated authority to render

decisions, ignores the fact that the Appeals Council also has dele-

gated authority to review these decisions. See 20 C.F.R. §416.-

1459-61 (regulation assigning review functions to Council). He

found that section 205 of the APA, 42 U.S.C. §405, does not pre-

clude a delegation of authority to an ALJ to make findings and

a decision, subject to review by an appeals council before these

decisions become final and binding.

25a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

the issue of whether the Appeals Counci! is a legally con-

stituted review board, it is appropriate to apply collateral

estoppel to this issue.”

Plaintiff's second argument that Califano, through

the Appeals Council, was not authorized by statute or

regulation to remove the Coleman case, is without merit.

Under 20 C.F.R. 416.1461 a party to a hearing may re-

quest review by the Appeals Council of a decision issued

by an ALJ. After review, the Appeals Council may af-

firm, modify, reverse or remand the case to a presiding

officer. 20 C.F.R. §416.1467-68. These regulations

were strictly followed in Coleman’s case. On November

19, 1977 he requested review, which was granted. The

Council found that he had been denied a fair hearing and

it accordingly vacated and remanded the case to another

ALJ. Thus, the Council’s order in the Coleman case was

consistent with the applicable regulations.

For these reasons, plaintiff's complaint against former

Secretary Califano must be dismissed.

* Plaintiff argues that the defense of collateral estoppel was

waived since it was not raised until the federal defendants filed

renewed motions to dismiss raising the collatral estoppel issue. The

collateral estoppel issue was briefed pursuant to my order. I do

not find the waiver argument persuasive. Plaintiff's argument

that all defenses must be asserted initially or be deemed waived

misconstrues Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b) which provides that certain

enumerated defenses, not including collateral estoppel, must be

raised in the responsive pleading.

26a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

V. FEDERAL DEFENDANTS, JOHN W. ENNIS, JACK

ROSEMAN AND CLAIRE KURIGER

In a second amended complaint filed in September,

1977 plaintiff named as additional defendants AL]’s

John W. Ennis and Jack Roseman, the Bureau of Hearing

and Appeals, SSA and Claire Kuriger, secretary to original

defendant James C. Lightfoot, who was the ALJ in charge

of the Philadelphia office through which plaintiff received

her case assignments. These three defendants have been

sued in both their official and individual capacities. Cho

callo charges violations of her Fourth Amendment rights

by virtue of their search of her office during her absence

on June 21, 1977 to secure the Taylor files and tapes. All

three defendants move to dismiss. In view of the affida-

vits submitted by both sides, the court shall treat defend-

ants’ motion to dismiss as a motion for summary judg-

ment. Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 56(c) provides

that summary judgment may be granted when there are no

genuine issues of material fact and judgment as a matter

of law is appropriate. Applying these standards to the

undisputed facts as set forth below, I find that summary

judgment must be granted in favor of defendants Kuriger,

Ennis and Roseman.

Pursuant to the Appeals Council order of June 9,

1977, the Taylor matter was remanded to the Philadelphia

Regional Office with direction to reassign the case to an-

other ALJ. Acting on instructions from his superiors, the

Assistant Regional Chief ALJ for Region III (Philadel-

phia) Sol Gitman, served on plaintiff copies of the order

and made an oral demand for the Taylor file. (Gitman

Affidavit, © 15). Plaintiff does not deny that she told

27a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

Gitman, and defendants Lightfoot and Ennis who were

also present, that she did not have the file and that even

if she did, she would not surrender it. (J/d.; Plaintiff's

Reply to Gitman’s Affidavit, £ 15). Plaintiff admits that

later on the same morning Gitman served her with a

written memorandum directing her to surrender the Taylor

file pursuant to the order of the Appeals Council and that

she did not comply.

On June 21, 1977, eleven days later, the Taylor file

still had not been turned over by plaintiff nor had its

whereabouts been made known. In the absence of Light-

foot, who was then on vacation Ennis was Acting Admin-

istrative Law Judge in charge of the Philadelphia office.

On that day he had been instructed orally by Gitman to

obtain the Taylor file from the locked office of plaintiff.

(Ennis Affidavit, £ 5). Plaintiff had been out of the

Philadelphia office since June 14, 1977, and her where-

abouts were not known to Gitman. She remained absent

through June 23, 1977. Acting on Gitman’s directive,

Ennis proceeded to plaintiff’s office to obtain the file. He

was accompanied by defendant Roseman, ALJ Morris

Chernock, and defendant Kuriger. Also present outside

the office was Nancy Parkinson, plaintiff’s hearing as-

sistant. (Ennis Affidavit, { 6).

According to Ennis he obtained the key to the of-

fice from Kuriger, the Regional Chief ALJ’s secretary,

who kept office keys, then unlocked and opened the door

in the presence of the above named witnesses. Ennis gave

Kuriger instructions to enter the office and to make a

visual inspection of plaintiff's desk and table for the Tay-

lor file, but not to open any drawers or file cabinets.

While the witnesses remained outside the open door and

28a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

observed, Kuriger entered and made a visual inspection.

According to Ennis, she followed these directions to the

letter, spending two or three minutes looking but not lo

cating the file, and then exiting the office without touch-

ing, disturbing, or removing any item from the office.

Ennis then closed and locked the door in the presence of

the same wi‘ resses.

Plai:..it: alleges in her reply that her secretary Parkin-

son told ‘er that her office was broken into while plain-

tiff was out of the office and that a new lockset had been

installed. Plaintiff's Reply Affidavit, £6. The statement

attributed to Parkinson is hearsay, inadmissible under any

exception to that rule and must, therefore, be disregarded.

Notably, there is no affidavit from Parkinson. Plaintiff’s

assertion that her office was in a privately owned building

is not material since her office space was government

owned or leased. Neither do I find it material that she

may have installed her own lock on the government door.

There is a strong argument that once installed, it became

the property of the government as lessee. In any event,

these allegations obscure the central inquiry which is

whether plaintiff had a “reasonable expectation of pri-

vacy,’”’ which was violated by defendants’ conduct. While

there are clearly circumstances under which an individual

may have a reasonable expectation of privacy in her office

and its contents, Gillard v. Schmidt, 579 F.2d 825, 829

fn.1 (3d Cir. 1978) such circumstances are not present

here. Under the exceptional facts of this case, plaintiff

could have no reasonable expectation of freedom from a

perusal of government office space to ascertain the where-

abouts of a file which she admittedly possessed but persis-

tently refused to relinquish. (See Plaintiff's Reply Affida-

29a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

vit © 6). United States v. Nasser, 476 F.2d 1111, 1123

(7th Cir. 1973) (work related warrantless search upheld) .”

Without question, the sole purpose of the search here was

work related and reasonably foreseeable by plaintiff who

had refused the active efforts of her supervisors to locate

and recover the Taylor file, which was government prop-

erty.” By the June 9, 1977 order of the Appeal’s Council,

the Taylor case had been remanded with instructions to

reassign it. Chocallo admittedly refused to turn over the

file and at the time of the search had improperly retained

the file for eleven days. Under these circumstances, I do

not find that defendants’ actions in entering and searching

her office to obtain the Taylor file amounted to a viola-

tion of plaintiff's Fourth Amendment rights. Accordingly,

*The Third Circuit's decision in Gillard v. Schmidt, 579 F.

2d 825 (3d Cir. 1978) is not contrary to the rule set forth in

Nasser that a public employer may search an employee's office

when the search is ‘‘work-related.’’ In Gillard, a Fourth Amend-

ment violation was held to be alleged where a school board mem-

ber made a search of guidance counselor's desk containing sensi-

tive student records, since the counselor had a reasonable expecta-

tion of privacy. Jd. at 828. However, the court specifically de-

clined to consider the force of precedents such as Nasser, since

there was no evidence that the employer in Gillard was seeking

to recover government property. Jd. at 829 n.1. Here, by con-

trast, defendants sought merely to obtain a file which was being

improperly retained by Chocallo for official use.

* Plaint’’?’s refusal to relinquish the file led to a mandamus

action agains. her. United States v. Wanda P. Chocallo, E.D. Pa.

Civil Action No. 77-2437. It is obvious why plaintiff refused to

give up the file on June 10 and thereafter. She had scheduled

and was intent on holding an unauthorized hearing in the Taylor

case.

30a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

the actions against defendants Ennis, Roseman and

Kuriger must be dismissed for failure to state a claim.

VI. DEFENDANT BUREAU OF HEARING AND APPEALS

To the extent that plaintiff sues the Bureau of Hear-

ing and Appeals claiming damage liability, the doctrine

of sovereign immunity applies to bar her claim. Such a

suit constitutes an action against the United States as to

which it has not waived its immunity. See City of Whit-

tier v. United States Department of Justice, 598 F.2d 561,

562 (9th Cir. 1979); Midwest Growers Co-op Corp. v.

Kirkemo, 533 F.2d 455, 465 (9th Cir. 1976) (quoting

Blackmar v. Guerre, 342 U.S. 512, 515 (1952).)

VII. FEDERAL DEFENDANTS, TRACHTENBERG,

GITMAN, LIGHTFOOT, BROWN

Chocallo sues Robert L. Trachtenberg, Director of

the Bureau of Hearings and Appeals, Philip T. Brown,

Chief ALJ, Sol R. Gitman, Regional Chief ALJ, James C.

Lightfoot, ALJ in charge of the Philadelphia office and

James B. Cardwell, Commissioner of the Social Security

Administration, alleging violations of 42 U.S.C. §1985, the

Fifth Amendment Administrative Procedure Act (5 U.S.C.

§101 et seg.) ; the Social Security Act of 1936, as amend-

ed, 42 U.S.C. §405(g) and (h), and the Privacy Act of

1974, 5 U.S.C. §552A(g) (1). As against these defend-

ants, Chocallo claims a conspiracy inter se and with the

31a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

CLS defendants to destroy her integrity, efficacy and in-

dependence as an ALJ. Because matters outside the plead-

ings have been submitted by both parties, the motions to

dismiss will be treated as motions for summary judgment.

The various claims as to these defendants are set forth

separately.

A. 42U.S.C. §1985 and Fifth Amendment

Basically, plaintiff asserts that defendants Gitman,

Brown, Trachtenberg and Lightfoot violated her rights un-

der 42 U.S.C. §1985 and the Fifth Amendment by con-

tributing to and participating in the events leading to the

removal and remand of the Taylor and Coleman cases.

Defendant Brown allegedly: (1) received and acted upon

Stein’s letter requesting removal in the Taylor case; (2)

received and acted upon Bernstein’s letter complaining of

Chocallo’s conduct of the Coleman case; (3) wrote to

Chocallo on March 10, 1977 asking her to resolve her dif-

ferences with Stein and petitioned the Appeals Council to

vacate the Taylor order and remand the case for reassign-

ment; (4) wrote to Chocallo informing her of his inten-

tion to have her decision in Coleman reviewed and ulti-

mately petitioned the Appeals Council to remand the

Coleman decision; and (5) wrote to Chocallo asking her

to increase her production.

As to defendant Gitman, the complaint alleges that

he (1) received Stein’s letter in the Taylor case; (2) par-

ticipated in obtaining the Taylor files from Chocallo; (3)

solicited complaints about plaintiff from CLS attorneys;

(4) met with Chocallo to discuss her productivity and her

32a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

conduct of the Coleman case; and (5) asked Chocallo to

inform him of her case dispositions on a weekly basis.

Defendant Lightfoot allegedly: (1) participated in

obtaining the Taylor f*'es; (2) solicited complaints from

CLS attorneys; (3) received and acted upon Bernstein’s

letters regarding plaintiff’s conduct of the Coleman case;

and (4) did not assign her cases from January, 1976 to

October, 1976 and from February, 1977 on, due to her low

productivity.

Defendant Trachtenberg allegedly: (1) received Git-

man’s letter requesting her removal in the Taylor case;

(2) ordered Gitman and Lightfoot to obtain the Taylor

file; (3) received her complaints in the Coleman case;

(4) attacked her low productivity; (5) instituted the ad-

verse action seeking her removal; and (6) improperly

denied her a promotion.

Assuming arguendo that the conduct alleged against

each defendant violates a cognizable interest under either

42 U.S.C. §1985 or the Fifth Amendment, each of these

defendants is entitled to immunity.

1. Absolute Immunity

All of the claims asserted against defendants Gitman,

Brown and Lightfoot pursuant to §1985 and the Fifth

Amendment arise from actions undertaken in their capac-

ity as Administrative Law Judges. These defendants prop-

erly assert that they are immune from suit for monetary

damages under the Fifth Amendment. Butz v. Economou,

438 U.S. 478 (1978). In Butz, the Supreme Court held

33a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

that persons performing adjudicatory functions within a

federal agency are entitled to absolute immunity from

damage liability for their judicial acts. Jd. at 514. This

immunity applies as well to suits brought under the Civil

Rights Act, here section 1985. See Ross v. Meagan, 638

F.2d 646, 649 n.2 (3d Cir. 1980). In the parallel con-

text of absolute immunity for judges, the Supreme Court

has stated that the essential inquiry in determining whether

such immunity attaches is whether, at the time the judge

took the challenged judicial action, he had jurisdiction

over the subject matter before him. Stump v. Sparkman,

435 U.S. 349, 356-57 (1978). “A judge will not be de-

prived of immunity because the action he took was in

error, was done maliciously or was in excess of his au-

thority, rather, he will be subject to liability only when he

acted in the ‘clear absence of all jurisdiction.’” Id. at

356-57 (quoting Bradley v. Fisher, 80 U.S. (13 Wall.)

335,351 (1872)).

It is clear that none of the judicial acts complained

of were done “in the clear absence of all jurisdiction.”

Plaintiff's averments relate solely to actions regarding case

assignments, the removal and remand of cases, and the

supervision of plaintiff. All of these actions are encom-

passed within the description of defendants’ responsibili-

ties and duties, as set forth in their affidavits. A second

pertinent inquiry is whether defendants’ acts were “‘judi-

cial acts,” so that they fall within the zone of protected

activity. Whether an act is a judicial act depends upon

(1) whether it is a function normally performed by a

judge and (2) whether the parties dealt with the judge in

their judicial capacity. Sparkman, 435 U.S. at 361-62.

The actions alleged here are all functions normally per-

34a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

formed by the Chief Administrative Law Judge, the Re-

gional Administrative Law Judge and the Administrative

Law Judge in charge of the Philadelphia office, as evi-

denced by their respective position descriptions. Further,

it is clear that plaintiff dealt with these defendants at all

times in their judicial capacities. Under the controlling

cases, they are immune from liability for damages under

§1985 and the Fifth Amendment.’

2. Qualified Immunity

As to defendant Trachtenberg, the Director of the

Bureau of Hearings and Appeals, a defense of qualified

immunity applies to bar plaintiff's claims for damages

arising out of the performance of his duties. At all rele-

vant times, Trachtenberg was acting within the scope of his

authorized duties as Director. In that capacity, he was a

public official who was charged with the performance of

duties involving the exercise of discretion. As such, he

is entitled to a qualified immunity from liability in a suit

for damages arising from unconstitutional action. See

Harlow vy. Fitzgerald, 30 U.S.L.W. 4815 (U.S. June 24,

1982); Butz v. Economou, 438 U.S. 478 (1978). The

Supreme Court has recently held that to be entitled to this

®While the absolute immunity doctrine may not extend to

suits for injunctive relief, without deciding this issue, I find that

plaintiff’s claims for injunctive relief have been rendered moot

by her removal from office, which the United States District Court

for the District of Columbia affirmed in Chocallo v. Prokop, Civil

Action No. 80-1053 (D.D.C. October 10, 1980). See DeFunis v.

Odegaard, 416 U.S. 312 (1974).

35a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

immunity, a government official must establish that he

acted in good faith. Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 50 U.S.L.W. at

4819. That is, his conduct must not violate clearly estab-

lished statutory or constitutional rights of which a reason-

able person would have known. Jd. at 4819. In Harlow

v. Fitzgerald, the court specifically found that “reliance

on the objective reasonableness of an official’s conduct,

as measured by reference to clearly established law, should

avoid excessive disruption of government and permit the

resolution of many insubstantial claims on summary judg-

ment.” Id. at 4820. Thus, if the affidavit of Trachten-

berg establishes that he acted in good faith, in accordance

with the above definition, he is entitled to assert the de-

fense of qualified immunity.

One of plaintiff’s principal allegations against Trach-

tenberg is that he recommended removal action be under-

taken against her. Plaintiff contends this action was initi-

ated by Trachtenberg in bad faith. While it is true that

Trachtenberg did recommend adverse action, in view of

the final judicial decision affirming the removal action, it

cannot be said that the recommendation was without some

legitimate foundation or justification. Nor can it be said

that Trachtenberg acted in violation of plaintiff’s clearly

established statutory or constitutional rights.

Plaintiff’s other major contention is that Trachtenberg

deliberately and intentionally deprived her of a promotion

for a period of approximately five months. Plaintiff had

been appointed as an Attorney Examiner or Hearing Ex-

aminer SSI GS-905, and not an administrative law judge

under 5 U.S.C. §3105. An Act of Congress, P.L. 94-202

approved January 2, 1976, authorized the Secretary of

DHEW to treat hearing examiners as temporary adminis-

36a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

trative law mas until December 31, 1978. Under this

Act, the examiners could hear social security claims under

Titles II, XVI and XVIII of the Social Security Act as

though they were qualified and appointed under 5 U.S.C.

§3105. On March 3, 1976, the Secretary of DHEW dele-

gated to Trachtenberg, as Director of Hearings and Ap-

peals, the task of implementing P.L. 94-202. Immediately,

plaintiff and other persons holding appointments as hear-

ing examiners became Temporary Administrative Law

Judges. On April 6, 1976, Trachtenberg advised plaintiff

of his intention to recommend that adverse action be taken

against her. Although plaintiff had been designated for a

promotion effective April 11, 1976, the papers were not

processed because of the adverse charges pending against

her. On May 26, 1976, defendant advised plaintiff that

an increase to a higher grade was not appropriate because

an adverse action against her had been recommended.

Plaintiff was informed that a promotion would not only

be inconsistent with the adverse charges stemming from

her refusal to turn over the Coleman file in February,

1976, but would also jeopardize the integrity of the ad-

verse action. Plaintiff complained to the Civil Service

Commission on May 25, 1976, which ruled on July 8,

1976, that the denial or suspension of the promotion to a

higher grade was contrary to pertinent regulation 5 C.F.R.

930.204. Plaintiff then promptly received the grade in-

crease and a retroactive lump sum payment.

The Civil Service Commission ruled that since the

classifications of all ALJ’s were being upgraded, incum-

bents were entitled to the grade increase without regard

to merit. In effect, the Commission ruled that the in-

crease was not intended to reflect a “promotion” in the

37a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

commonly understood sense but rather an “across the

board” increase for all such positions. Plaintiff lost no

pay as the result of her successful grievance filed with the

Civil Service Commission.

Plaintiff's allegation against Trachtenberg with re-

spect to the promotion issue is that he acted maliciously,

willfully and intentionally (Complaint, £ 44); not that he

acted in violation of a limitation placed upon his conduct

by the Constitution or by statute. There is no doubt that

Trachtenberg had authority to recommend adverse action

for actions of a subordinate which were deliberate im-

pediments to the execution of his delegated authority.

Although he erred in not processing plaintiff’s promotion

or grade increase because of the pendency of adverse ac-

tion, believing a promotion to be inconsistent with the

proposed discipline, it cannot be said that by so doing he

acted in violation of plaintiff’s clearly established statutory

Or constitutional rights. A review of the uncontested

portions of the record shows that the object of Trachten-

berg’s action was to recommend effective disciplinary ac-

tion. It was not to construe the application of wage in-

creases for all Temporary Administrative Law Judges.

He communicated to plaintiff through the Personnel De-

partment that the basis for her non-promotion was disci-

pline related. The final administrative decision on the

question as to whether plaintiff was entitled to a promo-

tional increase did not rest with Trachtenberg but rather

with the Civil Service Commission. Very simply, I find

that Trachtenberg’s actions with regard to plaintiff’s pro-

motion were taken in ‘“‘good faith.’’ He reasonably be-

lieved that where an adverse action was to be instituted,

it was improper to grant plaintiff a promotion. The Com-

38a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

mission later determined that he erred. However, under

the circumstances, it cannot be said that plaintiff’s statu-

tory right to a promotion was so clear that Trachtenberg’s

withholding of it rose to the level of ‘‘bad faith.”

Finally, plaintiff contends that Trachtenberg’s recom-

mendation for the adverse action initiated in June, 1977

was violative of her constitutional rights in that she was

harassed and retaliated against for exercising quasi-judi-

cial independence. This argument fails. Plaintiff’s con-

tention is premised upon the wholly erroneous assumption

that she could resist lawful directives of the Appeals

Council in the Taylor and Coleman cases. Plaintiff defied

this directive at her own risk, including the risk of adverse

action for deliberate insubordination. That being the case,

plaintiff cannot be heard to argue that Trachtenberg vio-

lated her constitutional rights by the institution of removal

proceedings.

B. Social Security Act

As to the federal defendants, plaintiff also asserts that

they acted in violation of sections 205(g) and (h) of the

Social Security Act, 42 U.S.C. §405(g) and (h) (1976).

She asserts, in essence: (1) her social security decisions

are not reviewable by any entity other than the federal

district court (Amended complaint, £ 56); (2) The Ap-

peals Council was without authority under the statute and

regulations to review her decision in the Taylor case and

(3) the Appeals Council was without authority to remand

the Coleman case. Plaintiff is barred by principles of col-

lateral estoppel from relitigating the first issue here, since

39a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

it was fully and fairly litigated before Judge McCarthy

in plaintiff's removal proceedings. See text accompany-

ing notes 5-6, supra. Collateral estoppel also bars relitiga-

tion of the second issue. Judge McCarthy fully addressed

the issue of whether the Appeals Council had statutory

authority to review and remand her Taylor order and con-

cluded that it had such authority. Plaintiff's final con-

tention, that the Council lacked authority to review and

remand the Coleman case, is without merit, as discussed

supra. See 20 C.F.R. §416.1467-68. Accordingly, sum-

mary judgment is granted in favor of the federal defend-

ants on these claims.

VIII. Privacy Act CLAIMS

Plaintiff complains that the Bureau and individual

officials including James B. Cardwell, Commissioner of the

Social Security Administration, violated the Privacy Act of

1974, 5 U.S.C. §$552a(e), by secretly collecting informa-

tion about her that was not relevant and necessary to

carry out lawful operations and functions and by dis-

seminating this information without her knowledge or con-

sent and to her detriment. (Complaint, £ 45-48). The

gravamen of the complaint is that the Social Security and

Bureau defendants solicited, received and retained in the

Bureau’s records, the complaints of ‘‘attorneys and other

individuals” about plaintiff and that these complaints may

be exposed to potential employers.

Plaintiff has not specifically alleged what “com-

plaints” she is referring to, even though these records were

made available for her inspection. (Declaration of Peter

40a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

James Kurapka, £ 5, Exhibit F). These vague and unsup-

ported allegations do not give defendants fair notice of the

wrongs with which they are charged. Plaintiff has not

indicated what documents, if any, were improperly col-

lected and disseminated. Nor has she indicated the man-

ner in which defendants collected such data. This alone,

provides a basis for dismissal of these complaints. See,

e.g., Harper v. United States, 423 F. Supp. 192, 196

(D.S.C. 1976). However, even assuming that plaintiff

charges defendants with receiving and retaining com-

plaints made by CLS attorneys on behalf of their clients,

I do not find from the undisputed facts that there was

any violation of Privacy Act, 5 U.S.C. §502(e). The

statute proscribes the collection of irrelevant information

which is not necessary to accomplish a purpose of

the agency. Clearly, letters written by attorneys appearing

before Chocallo, which criticized her conduct are “rele-

vant and necessary” within the meaning of the statute.

They certainly are relevant to a determination of whether

plaintiff was adequately and properly performing her duties

as an ALJ. Thus, I find no violation of this section of

the Privacy Act.

Plaintiff also complains that her rights under the

Privacy Act were violated when defendants failed to re-

spond to her request for all records pertaining to her main-

tained by the Bureau. I find no violation of the Act be-

cause her request was answered specifically, By letter

dated May 25, 1977, plaintiff was advised by the Bureau

that there existed and were available for her inspection,

an official personnel file and a correspondence file. She

was informed that these contained correspondence be-

tween her and various Bureau officials, production rec-

4la

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

ords, pay, leave and attendance records and an employee

record extension file. (Declaration of Peter Kurapka, £

5, Exhibit F thereto). Not satisfied with that response,

plaintiff filed an appeal to the Secretary through Card-

well. The appeal was denied because not only had plain-

tiff been given the records, but she did not then complain

that access to the records was denied. Thereafter on

November 16, 1977, plaintiff made a request for informa-

tion pertaining to the work activities of other ALJ’s. On

January 3, 1978, the Bureau made a specific reply identi-

fying documents in response to the request and notifying

her of their availability for copying and inspection.

(Declaration of Kurapka © 10—Exhibit K thereto).

Plaintiff seeks damages against the individual defend-

ants for “willful and intentional withholding of the re-

quested data in plaintiff's files... .’’ Complaint, © 15, p.

26. Any liability for a violation of the Privacy Act rests

solely upon the agency and not the individuals. Bruce v.

United States, 621 F.2d 914, 916, n.2 (8th Cir, 1980).

Therefore, plaintiff's actions against them must be dis-

missed. Defendants argue that in cases such as this, the

only remedy available to plaintiff would be injunctive re-

lief. 5 U.S.C, §552(g) (1) (3) (A). Clearly, there is no

basis for injunctive relief here since plaintiff does not con-

tend that the agency has withheld the requested informa-

tion. She claims merely that defendants engaged in dila-

tory tactics. Even if plaintiff is entitled to a claim for

statutory damages, 5 U.S.C. §552(g) (1) (4), she does not

meet the statutory requirement that she prove ‘‘intentional

and willful” conduct by the agency. There is simply no

evidence of record that the agency acted in such a manner.

The correspondence between the parties demonstrates that

42a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

the agency attempted to comply promptly with plaintiff's

request. Within two (2) weeks of plaintiff's request, the

agency informed her of its need for more specific identi-

fying information in order to comply with her request.

Her subsequent letter to Trachtenberg on May 5, 1977

was referred to the agency for action and within three

weeks she was informed of the records regarding her

which were maintained by the Bureau. These facts, very

simply, do not demonstrate the “intentional and willful’

conduct which is required by the Act before liability for

statutory damages attaches. Thus, summary judgment is

granted in favor of the Bureau on plaintiff's Privacy Act

claims against it.

D. Productivity Requirement, Case Assignments and

Peer Review Program

Plaintiff asserts that defendant imposed upon her cer-

tain requirements in violation of the Administrative Pro-

cedure Act. While the APA may confer a qualified right

of decisional independence upon ALJ’s, Nash v. Califano,

613 F.2d 10, 15 (2d Cir. 1980), I do not find this right

to have been violated by the practices of which plaintiff

complains. The gravamen of her complaint is that defend-

ants, in particular Brown, Gitman, Trachtenberg and

Lightfoot complained at various intervals about plaintiff's

productivity. For example, on February 17, 1976, the

Chief Administrative Law Judge, Phillip Brown, ‘‘earnest-

ly” requested plaintiff to take steps to increase her pro-

ductivity. (Complaint, Exh. H-88). Then, on April 6,

1976, he asked her, as he had asked other ALJ’s, to report

the disposition of cases and the number of hearings held

43a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

on a weekly basis. (Brown Affidavit, £ 14). Plaintiff,

in her reply to Brown’s affidavit, does not state that there

was a production requirement, but rather a reporting re-

quirement. No penalty was attached to her failing to

reach a quota. Therefore, there was no quota system im-

posed on plaintiff. Merely requesting ALJ’s to account

administratively to the Chief ALJ for the fullfillment of

their assignments cannot constitute a constitutional viola-

tion nor a violation of the APA, to the extent that it rec-

ognizes a qualified right of decisional independence of

AL]’s.

Plaintiff also asserts that she was not assigned cases

On a rotational basis during certain periods. Presumably,

plaintiff alleges that this violates the APA, 5 U.S.C.

§3105 which provides that ‘‘Hearing examiners shall be

assigned to cases in rotation sv far as practicable... .”

The statute expressly limits any ‘‘right’’ to be assigned cases

on a rotational basis by providing the qualifying language

“so far as practicable.” Here the affidavit of James C.

Lightfoot sets forth circumstances which indicate that in

plaintiffs case, assignment on that basis was not practi-

cable. He explained that Chocallo was appointed as

a temporary judge and thus was not authorized to hear

and dispose of the full range of cases. In addition, as a

result of the tremendous backlog of cases, individual

judge’s dockets are examined to attain equitable case-

loads, so that a judge will not be overloaded. Care is

also taken to assure that judges are not given an inordinate

number of out-of-city assignments. Lightfoot asserts that

Chocallo was assigned cases according to these guidelines,

and Chocallo has not come forward with evidence to sug-

gest otherwise.

44a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

Finally, she asserts that the imposition of a ‘Peer Re-

view Program” upon all ALJ's, including her, violated her

right to decisional independence under the SSA, APA, and

violated unspecified constitutional rights. She seeks an

injunction against the continued implementation of this

program by defendants. Her claim of constitutional viola-

tion is without merit. Any right to decisional indepen-

dence on the part of an ALJ is a matter of statutory right.

As to the claim of statutory violations, she attacks the

Peer Review Program only in an abstract manner. Such

a system is not necessarily violative of the APA and SSA.

However, plaintiff does not allege that this Review Sys-

tem actually infringed upon her decisional independence.

Thus, she has failed to even state a claim. In any event,

her individual claim for injunctive relief vis-a-vis the Peer

Review Program has been rendered moot by her removal

from office, which the United States District Court for the

District of Columbia found was supported by substantial

evidence in Chocallo v. Prokop, Civil Action No. 80-1053

(D.D.C. October 10, 1980). See DeFunis v. Odegaard,

416 U.S. 312 (1974).

For the foregoing reasons, plaintiff’s claims against

all federal defendants are dismissed.

An appropriate order follows,

45a

Memorandum and Order, No. 77-2310

ORDER

AND NOW this 8th day of October, 1982, it is here-

by ORDERED that the defendants’ Motions to Dismiss,

or in the Alternative, Motions for Summary Judgment are

GRANTED. Judgment is hereby entered in favor of all

defendants and against plaintiff.

By the Court:

(s) James T. Giles

J.

46a

Complaint

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR

THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Civil Action No. 77-2310

WANDA P. CHOCALLO

v.

BUREAU OF HEARINGS AND APPEALS, SSA and

ROBERT L. TRACHTENBERG, Director, Bureau of

Hearings and Appeals, SSA, HEW et al.

Jury Trial Demanded

Filed: July 1, 1977

COMPLAINT

1. Plaintiff is an adult female citizen of the United

States and resides at 308 Maple Avenue, Drexel Hill,

Pennsylvania 19026. She is an attorney and is employed

as an Administrative Law Judge by the Bureau of Hear-

ings and Appeals of the Social Security Administration,

an independent agency within the Department of Health,

Education and Welfare. She has been employed by the

Bureau since July 22, 1974.

47a

Complaint

2. This action arises under the Civil Rights Act of

June 25, 1948, c. 646, 62 Stat. 932, as amended, Title 28

USC section 1343; Title 42 USC section 1985; the Fifth

Amendment of the Constitution of the United States; the

Administrative Procedure Act, P.L. 89-554, Sept. 6, 1966,

5 USCA 101 et seq.; the Social Security Act of 1936, as

amended, and the Privacy Act of 1974, P.L. 93-579, 88

Stat. 1897, 5 USC 552 (a) (g) (1).

3. Defendants are the Bureau of Hearings and Ap-

peals of the Social Security Administration and the fol-

lowing employees thereof: Robert L. Trachtenberg, Direc-

tor, with offices at the Bolton Tower +2 Building, 301

N. Randolph St., Arlington, Virginia; Philip Brown, Chief

Administrative Law Judge, Tower +2 Building, 801 N.

Randolph St., Arlington, Virginia (both of whom are

citizens of the State of Virginia); Sol R. Gitman, Regional

Chief Administrative Law Judge, Region III, with offices

at the Gateway Building, 3636 Market Street and 1528

Walnut St., Philadelphia, Pa., and James C. Lightfoot, Ad-

ministrative Law Judge in Charge, Philadelphia Office,

with offices at 1528 Walnut Street, 10th Floor, Phila-

delphia, Pa.

4. Allof the defendants named in Paragraph 3 here-

of are ministerial officers within the Bureau whose powers

and responsibilities are circumscribed by law and are

limited to administrative and management functions. They

are required to fastidiously observe the limitations on their

powers and, pursuant to Section 551 of 5 USC, the Ad-

ministrative Procedures Act, are required to follow Con-

gressional mandates whether explicit or ascertainable as

inherent in underlying policy and are precluded from giv-

48a

Complaint

ing effect to their own notions as to what is wise, just or

politic with respect to the quasi-judicial functions of the

administrative law judges passing upon Bureau cases. Said

defendants are being sued in their official capacity as

ministerial officers and in their individual and private

capacity as well, jointly and severally.

5. Defendant, James B. Cardwell, is sued in his of-

ficial capacity as Commissioner of Social Security, an

agency within the Department of Health, Education and

Welfare. In this capacity he has been designated by the

Secretary of Health, Education and Welfare, in regula-

tions published on October 8, 1973, 40 Fed. Reg. 47412,

to implement the provisions of The Privacy Act of 1974

as the individual to decide appeals by persons who have

been denied access to their records by officials of the So-

cial Security Administration.

6. Defendants, Community Legal Services, Inc., is

an organization funded by governmental entities for the

purpose of providing free legal services to the needy, with

its principal office at Sylvania House, Juniper and Locust

Streets, Philadelphia, Pa. Defendants, Jonathan M. Stein,

Esquire; Linda Bernstein, Esquire; Marjorie A. Janoski,

Esquire; Richard Weishaupt, Esquire; Marilyn Doria

Weiler, Esquire; Edwin Montes, paralegal; Bartholomew

Poindexter, Esquire; Deborah Kooperman, paralegal, and

Eileen Wood, paralegal, are, and/or at the times in ques-

tion set forth hereinafter, have been employees of Com-

munity Legal Services, Inc., have been acting as its agent,

servant or employee and are sued in their official and in-

dividual apacities, jointly and severally.

: 49a

Complaint

7. In order to preserve their impartiality and to

make them independent of pressures from agencies whose

cases they pass upon, administrative law judges, pursuant

to the Administrative Procedures Act, P.L. 89-554, Sept.

6, 1966, 5 USC 101 et seq., are granted independent status.

They are entitled to compensation prescribed by the Civil

Service Commission, independently of agency recommen-

dations or ratings and are not included in the annual ser-

vice rating program applicable to most other Civil Service

employees for the purpose of measuring and recording

efficiency as provided by section 5362 of 5 USC. They

can be removed only for good cause established and de-

termined by the Civil Service Commission on the record

after opportunity for hearing under section 7521 of 5 USC.

Section 3105 of 5 USC requires that administrative law

judges shall be assigned to cases in rotation.

8. Under the direct delegation from the Secretary

of Health, Education and Welfare, and in the manner pre-

scribed by the Administrative Procedure Act (as codified

in 5 USC), the administrative law judge within the De-

partment of Health, Education and Welfare, Social Se-

curity Administration, holds hearings and makes and is-

sues decisions on appeals from determinations made in

course of administration of Title XVI and section 216 (i)

and 223 of Title II of the Social Security Act. Adminis-

trative Law Judges decisions are final decisions of the

Secretary unless subsequently reviewed as provided in the

regulations. They either affirm, modify, or reverse the

previous determination and are issued and forwarded di-

rectly to the parties in the administrative law judge’s own

name, Defendant Bureau’s “Peer Review Program” as

50a

Complaint

set forth in Exhibit I’, made a part hereof, violates the

Social Security Act and Administrative Procedure Act and

the constitutional and civil rights of administrative law

judges, claimants and the public.

9. Plaintiff’s position description, a copy of which

is attached hereto as Exhibit “A” and incorporated herein

by reference expressly provides, inter alia, under “III.

SUPERVISION AND GUIDANCE RECEIVED”. “The

Social Security and Administrative Procedure Acts pro-

hibit substantive review and supervision of the adminis-

trative law judge in the performance of his quasi-judicial

functions. His decisions may not be reviewed before pub-

lication, and after publication only by the Appeals Coun-

cil in certain prescribed circumstances. He is subject only

to such administrative supervision as may be required in

the course of general office management. His decisions

take into account all applicable Federal, State and foreign

laws, statutes, regulations, rulings and decisions of the

Federal Courts. Decisions can be reviewed at the request

of a claimant, or by the Council on its own motion. In

any event, the Council takes jurisdiction only on a cer-

tiorari basis. Final decisions of the administrative law

judge may be appealed to the Federal courts, and the So-

cial Security Act (Sec. 205(g)) requires that the courts

uphold the administrative law judge’s findings of fact when

supported by substantial evidence.

10. The Major Duties and Responsibilities of plain-

tiff, as set forth in the position description, consist of the

following: “Under the provisions of Title II and XVI of

the Social Security Act and applicable Federal, State and

foreign laws, and in conformity with the Administrative

5la

Complaint

Procedure Act, and with full and complete individual in-

dependence of action and decision, and without review,

the administrative law judge has full responsibility and

authority to (1) dismiss or grant requests for hearings and

rule on requests for extensions; (2) identify problems and

issues to be resolved; (3) analyze all previously developed

evidence and appraise previous adjudicative processes by

the administrative agency; (4) determine whether there

are other parties with adverse interest to be joined in the

case; (5) issue subpoenas and rule on petitions to revoke

subpoenas; (6) correlate and resolve conflicting evidence;

(7) hear testimony and rule on all motions, petitions, or

exceptions involving questions of law, procedure, and the

admissibility of evidence; (8) hold prehearing confer-

ences with the appellant and or his counsel; (9) make all

evidence of record available to the parties and inform them

of any evidence or expert testimony required in connection

with a material point or issue; (10) obtain expert voca-

tional and medical testimony where required for a sound

record; (11) administer oaths and affirmations; (12)

govern the conduct of the parties at the hearing, and in

general regulate the entire course of the proceedings; (13)

control the examination and cross-examination of wit-

nesses; (14) introduce into the record documentary and

other evidence deemed necessary for a complete and sound

record; (15) hear oral argument, and receive and consider

briefs that are submitted; (16) appraise the credibility of

witnesses, and resclve conflicts in lay and expert evidence;

(17) consider and dispose of proposed findings of fact and

conclusions of law submitted by the claimant’s representa-

tives; (18) make findings of fact on each issue, giving the

reasons therefor and render conclusions of law as sole

52a

Complaint

trier of fact and law; (19) fully consider all the evidence

of record and issue decisions within the requirements of

the Administrative Procedure Act, which decisions are

completely independent and final, signed only by him, and

published to parties in interest without prior review; and

(20) entertain petitions for attorney’s fees and issue or-

ders designating the amount of fee permitted; (21) pre-

side ** hearings and issue decisions in matters remanded

by :.~ ‘ederal courts. The administrative law judge may

also take other action not inconsistent with the Adminis-

trative Procedure Act.”

11. The Code of Judicial Conduct, which governs

anyone who is an officer of a judicial system performing

judicial functions, whether or not a lawyer, expressly pro-

vides in Canon 1: “An independent and honorable judi-

ciary is indispensable to justice in our society. A judge

should participate in establishing, maintaining, and enforc-

ing, and should himself observe, high standards of con-

duct so that the integrity and independence of the judiciary

may be preserved. The provisions of this Code should be

construed and applied to further that objective.”

12. The above named Bureau officials, defendants,

“conspired with each other and with employees defendants

of Community Legal Services to (1) prevent plaintiff, by

intimidation or threat, from discharging some of the duties

of her office; injure her in her property on account of her

lawful discharge of the duties of her office; and while en-

gaged in the lawful discharge thereof, to injure her prop-

erty so as to interrupt, hinder, or impede her in the dis-

charge of her official duties; (2) to deter, by intimidation

a party to a proceeding before plaintiff from testifying to

53a

Complaint

a matter pending therein, freely, fully and truthfully and

injured such party in her property on account of her hav-

ing so attended and testified; and to impede, hinder, ob-

struct, or defeat the due course of justice within the State

of Pennsylvania, with intent to deny its citizens the equal

protection of the laws, and to injure plaintiff in her prop-

erty for lawfully enforcing or attempting to enforce the

rights of claimants to the equal protection of the laws;

and (3) deprive, either directly or indirectly, plaintiff and

claimants of the equal protection of the laws, or of the

equal privileges and immunities under the laws, as herein-

after specifically set forth.

13. On February 15, 1977, Pearl Taylor, social se-

curity disability claimant, testified at a hearing before

plaintiff, at which defendants Jonathan Stein, Esquire,

and Edwin Montes were present, that she had absolutely

no knowledge that said defendants filed a motion in her

behalf requesting plaintiff disqualify herself from the

case; that said request or motion had never been discussed

with her by anyone at Community Legal Services; that she

never requested or authorized anyone to file it in her be-

half; that she did not know the judge; that the judge did

not do anything to her and it would be unfair both to her-

self and the j@lge to make any statements against the lat-

ter. She stated defendants’ actions were “‘politics”’,

‘stoned politics”; that they “misused” her; that she “lived

in this world long enough to know that people make people

do their dirty work and misuse other people for their

stepping stones”; that she did not know why her case was

transferred in about September 1976 from Community

Legal Services Law Center West, located at 5219 Chestnut

54a

Complaint

Street (where she had been going for years) to the down-

town office at the Sylvania House, Juniper and Locust

Streets; that ‘that’s just where they told me to go”; that

defendant, Community Legal Services, “make a rag mop

out of you, they throw you from one place to another,

from one place to the other and confuse your mind, so no

wonder the hospitals are full of people, they’re disgusted

with this, and people ought to be shamed of themselves

who just misuse people and walk over top of them for

their own ambition.”

14. Because of Mr. Stein’s obstructive tactics and

unruly and offensive remarks and manner, as aided and

abetted by Mr. Montes, against which he was repeatedly

warned and admonished by plaintiff against repetition,

without compliance, the plaintiff, with the consent of

claimant, was compelled to terminate the hearing and defer

taking testimony on the merits of the claim until a later

date.

15. On February 15, 1977, defendants -Jonathan’

Stein and Edwin Montes, contrary to the Administrative

Procedure Act, 5 USC section 557, and the Code of Pro-

fessional Responsibility, and in furtherance of the con-

spiracy alleged, addressed an ex parte communication to

defendant, Sol Gitman. with copies to defendants Philip

Brown and Robert Trachtenberg (as Appeals Council Mem-

ber) and Laurence Weiner, Appeals Council Member,

wherein, inter alia, they made a variety of serious allega-

tions against plaintiff (including intimidating claimant),

presented their version of the facts of the hearing, re-

quested defendant Brown to remove plaintiff from Mrs.

Taylor’s case as well as from all Social Security cases and

55a

Complaint

requested that he obtain and review a transcription of the

hearing. The letter further states: “I am providing fur-

ther copies of this letter to relevant Appeals Council mem-

bers so they too may be apprised of Mrs. Chocallo’s be-

havior which they should not be forced to remedy on an

ad hoc case by case review, as we are concerned about the

claimant whose cases may not go up to them, and those

claimants like Mrs. Taylor, who should not be forced to

undergo months of delay in appeals to the Council to right

fundamental wrongs in the hearing process that are due

to the incompetence and bias of a particular ALJ. May

we have your response as to the transcription and review

of this record for conformity to basic standards of decency

and fairness by an A.L.J. We shall be happy to provide

you with further copies of affidavits and letters we have

submitted to substantiate Mrs. Chocallo’s past bias. (They

May not include the recent incident last week when Mrs.

Chocallo*ordered out of a hearing a CLS staff attorney,

Henry Sommer, Esq., who was attempting to supervise a

paralegal advocate a [sic] a hearing.) ”’

No copy of said letter was sent by defendants to the

plaintiff. A copy thereof is attached hereto and made a

part hereof as Exhibit “C”’, being a part of letter dated

March 10, 1977 from defendant Brown to plaintiff here-

inafter referred to.

16. On February 17, 1977, while plaintiff was ab-

sent from the office and without her knowledge and con-

sent, the Administrative Officer of the Philadelphia BHA

office, acting at the direction of defendants Bureau ad-

ministrators, attempted to secure Mrs. Taylor’s files from

plaintiff's secretary without success inasmuch as precau-

56a

Complaint

tionary measures had been taken by plaintiff to protect

said files. On March 15, 1977, plaintiff addressed a com-

munication to claimant calling her attention to this fact,

a copy of which is attached hereto and made a part hereof

as Exhibit “B’’, together with memorandum of February

18, 1977 to the Administrative Officer.

17. On March 17, 1977, plaintiff received a letter

dated March 10, 1977 from defendant Philip Brown, to-

gether with a copy of the letter dated February 15, 1977

which he received from Mr. Jonathan M. Stein. The letter

states, inter alia, that he had not formed a judgment on

the truth or falsity of the allegations and that he will not

do so until he has all the facts, including plaintiff’s state-

ment of the events. Mr. Brown further stated: “It is my

sincere hope that you will be able to resolve your differ-

ences with Communily Legal Services to the extent that

the public will receive the prompt and courteous service

they have a right to expect.” A copy of said letter and

attachment, is attached hereto as Exhibit ‘“‘C” and made a

part hereof.

18. On May 10, 1977, plaintiff entered an inter-

locutory order excluding Messrs. Stein and Montes from

further participation in Pearl Taylor’s case in order to

assure the orderly conduct of the proceedings and the

proper and efficient administration of justice and to safe-

guard claimant’s and the public’s interest to the full ex-

tent of their rights and the rights and dignity of the tri-

bunal. Claimant was given thirty days to secure other

representation. Plaintiff's Memorandum attached to the

aforesaid interlocutory order discussed in detail the rea-

sons therefor and stated, inter alia, that ‘““The tactics em-

57a

Complaint

ployed [by Mr. Stein] were deliberately orchestrated to

create a charged and unmanageable atmosphere in order

to seriously disrupt the adjudicative processes and degrade

the dignity and authority of the presiding judge. His

motives, obviously, were not intended to subserve the best

interests of the claimant but, conversely, were concerned

with covert purposes, i.e., to contrive evidence in behalf

of a colleague and certain Bureau officials in a case on

appeal. Further: “In reaching their decisions, neither the

courts nor administrative bodies should ignore the realities

of life and disregard common knowledge even though such

knowledge may not have achieved a place within the pur-

view of judicial notice. . . It is a matter of common or pub-

lic knowledge that other blacks have been ‘misused’ by Mr.

Stein, as reported by the news media on March 24, 1977...

As reported, two of Mr. Stein’s black clients confessed be-

fore the federal courts, their testimony under oath was

‘fixed ...a lie’; that Stein had ‘instruction sessions’ where-

in he pressured them to repudiate the scattered housing

they liked and lived in and to tell the judge presiding over

the trial that their civil rights had been ‘violated’ and that

the violation could only be remedied by building the long-

disputed housing project. One of them stated the ‘Stein

pressure wore (her) down’, that she was ‘tired of being

used’ in furtherance of a Stein scheme she didn’t believe

in.” A copy of said interlocutory order and memorandum

are attached hereto as Exhibit ‘“‘D” and made a part here-

of.

19. Although Mrs. Taylor was advised on May 24,

1977 by Bartholomew E. Poindexter, Esquire of Com-

munity Legal Services, assigned to her, that he was going

58a

Complaint

,.to notify plaintiff of his representation and request a hear-

ing be scheduled, he failed to do so until June 3, 1977, by

letter dated May 27, 1977. A hearing was scheduled for

June 13, 1977 at 9:30 A.M.

20. On June 10, 1977, defendants Gitman and

Lightfoot, accompanied by Judge John Ennis, entered

plaintiff's office at 11:10 A.M. and demanded she im-

mediately surrender Mrs. Taylor’s files. They then left an

envelope which contained a copy of a letter dated June 9,

1977 from Jan J. Sagett, Deputy Chairman, Appeals Coun-

cil, addressed to Mrs. Taylor, and copy of an Order dated

June 9, 1977, which are attached hereto as Exhibit “E”’

and made a part hereof. Said Order, on petition of de-

fendant Brown, vacated the interlocutory order of May 10,

1977 referred to in Paragraph 18 and “‘remanded”’ the case

to defendant Gitman for reassignment to another judge in

10 days, contrary to the express statutory powers and limi-

tations imposed on Appeal Counci. governing review.

21. On June 10, 1977, Mrs. Taylor advised*by phone

that she had not received a copy of the aforesaid letter of »

June 9, 1977 and order; that Mr. Poindexter phoned and

told her plaintiff’s “superior”, Judge Brown, defendant

herein, was taking the case away from plaintiff; that she

did not want another judge and it was her intention to

appear and present her case on Monday, June 13, 1977.

22. Mrs. Taylor appeared with her minister before

plaintiff on June 13, 1977 and stated she wished to pro-

ceed without representation and without Mr. Poindexter,

who she testified “refused to be here when I told him the

date and time.” She also testified she never received a

copy of the Order or memorandum dated June 9, 1977 by

59a

Complaint

Judge Brown to Deputy Chairman, Appeals Council; that

Mr. Poindexter informed her of it and explained that her

case “‘got confused’’; that she should wait until June 13,

1977 “to hear from him about a set date and a change of

judge in this matter because they had to separate my case

from yours”; that “I told him I strictly was against it. I

had started something and once | start something [ see it

through. Not their way but my way. And I chose him to

defend me or to stand for me as speaker because of his

position with legal aid but I didn’t ask him to think for

me or deny me my right to think for me. And they in-

sisted on telling me what I should do.” She stated they

“openly admitted” there is this conspiracy against plain-

tiff; ‘it was a battle’ and she “had to choose sides.”’

23. With respect to the order of June 9, 1977, claim-

ant testified: ‘This was purposely done because obvious

there’s a conspiracy against you. I had a three way con-

versation between Poindexter, Mr. Stein and myself, and

he openly stated that this was a battle to me and openly

came out between the lines and said you either join us or

be defeated if you do not choose to fight the battle with

us and that’s just what he said. And I had no other chOice

than to drop all matters with him and told him to his

teeth this is not my fight. I gut my own battles to fight

and if any side be chose, I chose mine a long time ago and

he couldn’t change it. And they insisted on doing the

thing their way. And I let them know I couldn’t care less

about their insistence by ignoring them. See that’s the

way they run people today. That’s the way they rule

people today, insisting on what you had to do. See, I

know what it’s all about.” They indicated this was a

60a

Complaint

means to depose plaintiff from office; that, as testified by

her, ‘‘They just said this was the means to the end, This

is the purpose of all of this.”

24. According to information furnished by Mrs.

Taylor, a meeting took place at the Bureau’s offices, 1528

Walnut Street, immediately prior to the hearing of Febru-

ary 13, 1977 between defendants, Messrs. Stein, Montes

and an individual presented to her as plaintiff's “superior”,

identified by her as defendant Gitman, who stated 15 other

cases had been heard and turned down by plaintiff on the

same grounds; that plaintiff discriminated against welfare

seekers with psychiatric conditions—that they could at

least get work as ticket sellers in movie houses; that he

assured her she would receive disability benefits irrespec-

tive of whether plaintiff denied her claim. The purpose

of these statements, as conveyed to her, was to get evi-

dence against plaintiff in order to have her removed from

office.

25. On June 18, 1977, plaintiff, who was absent

from the office on sick leave since June 14, 1977, received

through the mail a letter from Mr. Jan Sagett dated June,

14, 1977, threatening her with appropriate action if she

failed to deliver to the Acting ALJIC all records, files, etc.

in Mgs. Taylor’s case by June 16, 1977. Mr. Sagett failed

to send Mrs. Taylor a copy thereof nor was she advised by

him, or by the other defendants of her rights in the matter.

26. Pursuant to law, it is plaintiff's duty to safe-

guard the rights and interests of Mrs. Taylor and also to

safeguard the rights and interests of the public who are

not represented by counsel in these proceedings and she

6la

Complaint

is precluded from giving force and effect and obeying un-

lawful orders.

27. Defendant, Philip Brown, who is under the au-

thority and supervision of defendant Robert Trachtenberg,

Bureau Director who also serves as Chairman of Appeals

Council, is not a party to Mrs. Taylor’s case and was with-

out legal standing to petition the Deputy Chairman of Ap-

peals Council, who acted in concert, to vacate plaintiff’s

interlocutory order excluding Mr. Stein from further par-

ticipation in her case, alleging that her rights would be

violated by implementation of said order. Defendant was

serving the interests of Mr. Stein and deprived claimant of

the equal protection of the law and acted arbitrarily, sum-

marily and contrary to her rights and interests. Such ac-

tion not only constituted an unlawful abuse of his minis-

terial powers and duties but was in furtherance of the con-

spiracy to prevent, hinder and interfere with plaintiff in

the performance of her duties and deny claimant the equal

privileges of the law.

28. Appeals Council, viz. Messrs. Sagett and Fried-

enberg, whose jurisdiction is prescribed by law, lacked

legal authority to vacate the interlocutory order of May

10, 1977 and to remand the case to defendant Gitman for

reassignment. Pursuant to Regs. No. 16, sections 416.1457,

416.1464 and 416.1465, it may, on its own motion or on

request for review by claimant, review a hearing decision

filed by a presiding judge after close of a hearing, and

* may remand to the presiding officer for rehearing, receipt

of evidence, and detision any case on which review is

granted, pursuant to section 416.1467 of Regs. No. 16.

Because on June 9, 1977, the date of the order, Mrs. Tay-

62a

Complaint

lor’s case had not been closed and no hearing decision had

been filed by plaintiff, Mrs. Taylor’s case was not before

Appeals Council for review, and, therefore, it had nothing

before it to remand.

29. On February 10, 1977, at a hearing before the

plaintiff in a claim filed by applicant in behalf of her minor

son (referred to herein as the Smith case), the applicant

testified that she had never been informed that defendants

Marjorie A. Janoski and Deborah Kooperman filed a re-

quest that plaintiff disqualify herself from the case on the

ground that she was “‘biased’”’ against Community Legal

Services employees, etc., together with “Affidavits and

Exhibits”; that defendant Weishaupt, who represented her

at the hearing, never discussed it; that she had no knowl-

edge thereof; did not authorize it and was opposed to it;

that she wished to proceed before plaintiff since she felt

plaintiff would give her son a fair hearing and would

render an impartial decision in the matter.

30. Defendant Richard Weishaupt testified under

oath at the aforementioned February 10, 1977 hearing that

defendant Judge Gitman cofftacted him orally about six

months prior thereto and “‘asked if I would please file a

formal complaint” against plaintiff ‘because of certain ir-

regularities that occurred at another hearing” that took

place in the summer of 1976 before plaintiff; said “ir-

regularities” were identified by him as plaintiff's alleged

failure to grant a continuance and to issue a subpoena;

that he thought “they did protest the judge’s failure to give

a continuance and her failure to issue a subpoena in the

case but I’m not sure.”” The records of the case referred

to by Weishaupt show Community Legal Services was

63a

Complaint

granted two continuances in the case and never requested

the issuance of a subpoena. He further testified that he

did not furnish Gitman with the complaint requested and

could not remember whether defendant Lightfoot made a

similar request and whether he complied.

31. Defendants Gitman and Lightfoot and Linda

Bernstein covertly solicited complaints against plaintiff

from Lawrence Mendelson, a former Communty Legal

Services attorney who appeared before her on February 20,

1975, as evidenced by letters dated March 18, 1976 ad-

dressed to Lightfoot and September 20, 1976 addressed to

Gitman, copies of which were attached to defendants

Janoski and Kooperman’s letter to plaintiff dated January

28, 1977 requesting that she disqualify herself from pre-

siding over the case heard on February 10, 1977 referred

to in Paragraphs 29 and 30. Copies of Mr. Mendelson’s

letters are attached hereto as Exhibit “‘F’’ and made a part

hereof.

32. Defendant, Linda, Bernstein, Esq., in conspiracy

with Lightfoot, Gitman et al. ~xequested that Marilyn Doria

Weiler, defendant, attorney with Community Legal Ser-

vices filed a complaint against plaintiff as evidenced by

copy of her letter dated March 3, 1976, addressed to de-

fendant Lightfoot, marked ‘““CONFIDENTIAL AND PER-

SONAL”, which also was attached to Miss Janoski’s letter

of January 28, 1977. A copy of said letter is attached

hereto as Exhibit ““G” and made a part hereof.

33. Defendants Lightfoot, Gitman, Brown and

Trachtenberg and Linda Bernstein conspired by intimida-

tion and threat to prevent, impede, hinder and obstruct

64a

Complaint

plaintiff from performing her duties in the Mr. Doe Case

(fictitious name) and did in fact grossly interfere in her

judicial functions in this case, heard by plaintiff on De-

cember 29, 1975, in the following manner:

(a) Ms. Bernstein, Mr. Doe’s attorney, testified in

his behalf. Mr. Doe’s testimony revealed he withheld

from the Pa. Dept. of Welfare and the Social Security

Administration, from whom he and his wife had been re-

ceiving welfare payments and supplemental security in-

come payments, respectively, the fact that he was em-

ployed and had been working continually for 32 years.

Claimant and counsel were requested to submit certain

relevant documentation post hearing, which they did not

do. -

(b) On December 31, 1975, Ms. Bernstein ad-

dressed an ex parte communication to defendant Lightfoot

wherein she discussed the merits of the case, made allega-

tions against plaintiff and requested him to remove plain-

tiff from the case. «

(c) On January 6, 1976, Lightfoot wrote to plain-

tiff asking her to respond to Ms. Bernstein’s allegations

both to him and to her indicating that plaintiff should

“recuse” herself from the case.

: (d) ‘ On Januarv 7, 1976, plaintiff wrote Lightfoot

advising him, inter alia, he infringed upon her indepen-

dence as the presiding judge and attempted to influence her

actions in violation of the law and his professional obliga-

tions; that while the case was within her jurisdiction she

would not condone or permit it to be litigated or argued

by counsel or claimant, nor would it be discussed or de-

65a

Complaint

cided other than in the proper forum, in the proper man-

ner and in accordance with applicable statutes, procedures,

regulations and appropriate precedents.

(e) On January 8, 1976, Lightfoot notified Bern-

stein by detter that plaintiff declined to voluntarily “recuse”

herself and to respond to the allegations made concerning

her behavior; that he assumed this was based on plaintiff’s

feeling she was able to conduct a fair and impartial hear-

ing and reach a fair and impartial decision; that “since

apparently the case has been concluded on the merits and

is awaiting decision this office contemplates no further ac-

tion in that area.”” He also advised her what remedies

she could pursue.

(f) On January 14, 1976, plaintiff was directed by

telephone to present herself at Gitman’s office, 3636 Mar-

ket St., on January 19, 1976 at 9:00 A.M. to discuss Mr.

Doe’s case as well as her “‘productivity.’’ She advised that

although she would appear, professional ethics precluded

such discussion and she would not deviate from the posi-

tio set forth in her letter of January 7, 1976 to -Light-

foot; moreover, any conversation with Gitman Nae have

to be recorded so there could be no misundersfanding as

to what transpired. The subject conference was aborted

at the outset when Gitman refused to have the conversa-

tion taped and threatened plaintiff that he was going to

have her investigated and fired.

(g) On January 15 and 22, 1976, the aforegoing

threats, intimidation and attempts to interfere with plain-

tiff’s independent and impartial handling of Mr. Doe’s case

were reported to defendant Trachtenberg. (Ex. H89-95)

66a

Complaint

(h) By letter dated February 17, 1976, Trachten-

berg responded through Brown threatening plaintiff with

“insubordination”; condoning Gitman’s and Lightfoot’s

actions and also attacking her “productivity.” (Ex. H87,

82-86)

(i) On January 23, 1976, Mr. Doe and Bernstein

were notified to appear at a hearing scheduled by plaintiff

for January 30, 1976 for the taking of additional testimony.

They failed to appear or to explain or apologize to plain-

tiff for their defiance of her order.

(j) On January 29, 1976, Bernstein communicated

with Lightfoot advising him, inter alia, that she “‘too

thought that the case had been concluded on the merits”’;

that neither she nor claimant would appear before plain-

tiff. A copy of said letter mysteriously appeared sans en-

velope in plaintiff’s mail box late the afternoon of Janu-

ary 30,1976. (Ex. H-96, 97)

(k) On February 27, 1976, Gitman and Lightfoot,

who stated they were carrying out the oral directions of

Trachtenberg, verbally directed plaintiff to surrender the

entire file in Mr. Doe’s case within 3 hours.

(1) On March 9, 1977, plaintiff was requested by

phone to forward Mr. Doe’s entire files to a staff member

of Appeals Council, who was asked to submit a written

request setting forth his reasons so that it could be prop-

erly considered by plaintiff. This was never done.

(m) A subpoena duces tecum was issued upon Mr.

Doe by plaintiff directing him to appear at a hearing

scheduled for May 19, 1976 and bring with him certain

records, as specified therein.

67a

Complaint

(n) A subpoena was issued upon Bernstein direct-

ing her to appear for further examination at a hearing

scheduled for May 18, 1976.

(0) Mr. Doe and Bernstein failed to comply with

the subpoenas at, it is believed and averred, the instruc-

tion and with the urging and approval of defendants, Git-

man, Lightfoot, Brown and Trachtenberg.

(p) Additional information obtained by plaintiff

from the District Offices in June and July 1976 indicated

that because Mr. Doe had not disclosed and reported his

earnings as required, he and his wife collected approxi-

mately $3000.00 in benefits to which they were not en-

titled under the law inasmuch as they did not qualify for

supplemental security income. A supplementary hearing

was scheduled by plaintiff for July 22, 1976, with notice

to Mr. and Mrs. Doe and Ms. Bernstein, on the new issue,

to wit, whether there was an overpayment and, if so, for

what months and whether recovery of the overpayment

may be waived under the provisions of the Social Security

Act. Mrs. Doe was joined as a party to the proceedings.

The parties and Ms. Bernstein failed to appear.

(q) On February 29, 1976, plaintiff communicated

with Secretary David Mathews of the Department of

Health, Education and Welfare requesting that a full in-

vestigation be made cf defendants conduct in this case

and other illegitimate practices reported.

(r) By letter dated April 9, 1976, Trachtenberg ad-

vised plaintiff thet the Secretary referred the aforesaid

letter to him for reply; that he decided to recommend that

an adverse action be taken against plaintiff and, therefore,

it would be improper for him to reply. (Exhibit H 80)

68a

Complaint

(s) On April 28, 1976, plaintiff communicated

with Secretary Mathews calling his attention to the fact

that Trachtenberg’s proposed action was contrary to De-

partmental regulations which forbid any retaliatory mea-

sures (either direct or tacit) reprisals, threats, interfer-

ence, intimidation or withholding of compensation or pro-

motion, where a complaint, request for investigation, griev-

ance, etc. was filed or intended to be filed. A declaration

of his policy was requested. (Ex. H-78, 79)

(t) On March 8, 1976, plaintiff communicated

with Secretary Mathews advising him that she had been

discreetly informed that defendants Gitman, Lightfoot et

al. were covertly soliciting, collecting and pressuring vari-

ous personnel to furnish complaints or adverse statements

against plaintiff. (Ex. H-81)

(u) On May 5, 1976, plaintiff wrote Trachtenberg

requesting an explanation as to why she had not received

a promotion effective April 11, 1976 due her by operation

of law. He failed to reply. On May 26, 1976, as a re-

sult of several calls made by plaintiff, the Personnel Of-

ficer notified her that as per Trachtenberg’s directions “‘it

would be inappropriate to institute a personnel action

since the Bureau Director was recommending an adverse

action.”

(v) On May 25, 1976 the plaintiff reported

Trachtenberg’s actions to the Civil Service Commission.

As a result, he was directed to initiate retroactive correc-

tive action effective April 11, 1976, with copy to CSC.

On August 7, 1976, plaintiff received a Notification of

Personnel Action, dated July 30, 1976 which falsely stated

“Retroactive Promotion due to administrative error.” She

69a

Complaint

subsequently received a lump sum check for back pay.

(Ex. H-76, 77)

(w) On October 29, 1976, plaintiff issued her de-

cision in Mr. Doe’s case, a copy of which is attached here-

to as Exhibit ““H”’.

(x) On September 17, 1976, Ms. Bernstein ad-

dressed a letter to defendant ‘Phil Brown” wherein, inter

alia, she requested him to intervene in the case and pre-

sented her version of the facts and merits of the case. She

failed to send a copy thereof to plaintiff but sent copies, as

indicated thereon, to Gitman. (Ex. H-74, 75)

(y) On October 5, 1976, plaintiff received a letter

from Brown to which he attached a copy of Bernstein's

letter. He stated that it was his intention to have plain-

tiff’s decision (when issued) reviewed by Appeals Coun-

cil on the basis of Ms. Bernstein’s dehors the record, ex

pate allegations. (Ex. H-73)

(z) On November 2, 1976, Lawrence Weiner,

member of Appeals Council phoned plaintiff and told her

defendant, Brown, had asked him to take Mr. Doe’s case

away from her and to write the decision; that this was an

unusual request and had never happened before and,

therefore, he wanted to discuss the status of the case be-

fore taking any action. He was advised that the decision

had been issued by plaintiff on October 29, 1976. An

appeal was taken by claimant from said decision, which

discussed in detail the ebove events.

34. Contrary to the provisions of the Administra-

tive Procedures Act requiring that cases be assigned to ad-

70a

Complaint

ministrative law judges by rotation (5 USC 3105), in or-

der to further threaten and intimidate plaintiff and prevent

her from performing her functions and work, defendant

Lightfoot failed and refused to assign cases to plaintiff

from January 1976 until October 1976 and from February

1977 onward. On April 6, 1977, plaintiff wrote defend-

ant Lightfoot requesting an explanation as to why cases

were not being assigned as required by iaw. He responded

on April 15, 1977 attacking, inter alia, plaintiff's ‘“‘pro-

duction” record. On June 7, 1977, plaintiff replied there-

to wherein she pointed out that certain judges’ decisions,

for which they were receiving credit, were being written

by their

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — Chocallo v. Bureau of Hearings & Appeals · 464 U.S. 983 | Frix