Petition — Al Bryant, Inc. v. National Labor Relations Board

Supreme Court brief1984

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

& 3 - A A 6 Office-Supreme Court, U.S. |

FILED

No.

SEP 14 1983

ALEXANDER L STEVAS,

IN THE en

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1983

AL BRYANT, INC., HARRISBURG DRYWALL AND

CONSTRUCTION CORPORATION, and

AL BRYANT ASSOCIATES, INC.,

vs.

Petitioners,

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD.

On WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT AT No. 82-3169.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

HARRY R. HARMON

HARMON AND ASSOCIATES

Attorneys for Petitioners

36 East King Street

Lancaster, Pennsylvania 17602

(717) 291-2236

Batavia Times Publishing Co.

Philadelphia. Pa. (215) 232-8181

=>

i.

Questions Presented

1. Whether an unfair labor practice charge alleging a

double breasted construction contractor’s refusal to

bargain by operating a non-union company is barred by

the six month statute of limitations established by 29

U.S.C. Section 160(b) where the charging union knew the

contractor had been awarded a contract in _ its

jurisdictional area in January, 1979, the employer began

work on the project in June, 1979, and the union filed its

charge in October, 1979?

2. Whether an unfair labor practice charge alleging a

double breasted construction contractor’s refusal to

bargain by operating a non-union company is barred by

the six month statute of limitations established by 29

U.S.C. Section 160(b) where the charging union knew of

the contractor’s allegedly wrongful conduct more than

six months prior to the filing of the charge, sent the

contractor a letter requesting bargaining on March 19,

1979, and filed its charge on August 10, 19797

3. Whether the duty to bargain of a non-union

company that is a component of a double breasted

construction operation is determined by the union’s

agreement with the union company component of the

double breasted operation so that the National Labor

Relations Board must defer to the contract arbitrator's

decision respecting the extent of that duty?

ii.

TABLE OF CONTENTS.

ere ye ye i

LIPS Ri ar ery EE PEEL TOT ii

Ss 5) !5i go we v.04. huksadesstnea pe iii

hak « 6a p\é-4:h se <6 oo 65a Ae ae

eG ee oS oe 5 bo baa me WaT © eee

Statutory Provisions Involved..............00005:

a Sha a cic dice e's baw awa ews eee es

EE Le eo a os a wie ee ae seers

The Relationships of the Parties................

POONER os ccc cnc wvscswdebedves

Ts so 6 bbs sve.ew ens vv ee ee deeerd

Jurisdiction of Federal Court in First Instance .....

oOo @B@Basooanrkh f& WO DS =

Reasons for Granting the Writ of Certiorari........

1. Timeliness of the Charges

Certiorari Should Be Granted To Resolve An

Important Question Of Federal Law That Has

Not Been Decided By This Court .............. 9

2. Refusal To Defer To The Arbitrator’s

Decision

Certiorari Should Be Granted To Resolve An

Important Question Of Federal Law That Has

Not Been Decided By This Court .............. 20

iii.

Page

Appendix A:

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983............ Al

Opinion of the National Labor Relations Board of

PON SE ROOD ohcc ce vivciee whet awekadas A27

Opinion of the Administrative Law Judge of July

eR ex Kes vias 6c be ONS saa eas eas wae A38

Order of the Third Circuit Court of Appeals..... All4

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES.

Cases:

Cone Mills Corp. v. NLRB, 413 F.2d 445 (4th Cir.

Ree te ee ee ee 20

Dayton Motel, Inc., 192 N.L.R.B. No. 112 (1971)

remanded 474 F.2d 328 (6th Cir. 1973), enforced

ee Ee fs A reer rere ed 14

Dee Cee Floor Covering, Inc. 232 N.L.R.B.

ROOD hh Wes so 0a) seiko oe Reel a ee 13,14

Hageman Underground Construction, 253 N.L.R.B.

SE CE axa st's Gabo Hoke aelks on <a:00hure eae 13,14

J. Ray McDermott and Co. v. NLRB, 571 F.2d 850

(5th Cir. 1978) cert. denied, 439 U.S. 893 (1978)... 19

Local 1104, Communications Workers v. NLRB,

520 F.2d 411 (2d Cir. 1975) .......... ..+.10,11,15,18

Local Lodge No. 1424, International Association

of Machinists v. NLRB, 363 U.S. 411 (1960) . 16,17,18,19

NLRB v. Basic Wire Products, Inc., 516 F.2d

SE SE obs bawe cd cugesaseoebsoutels 19,20

NLRB v. C and C Plywood Corp., 385 U.S. 421

chins i ste cee dus 64,0 ¥eeeenseeel 21,22,23,24

NLRB v. Erie Marine, Inc., 465 F.2d 104 (3d

i oa idee ek ecene toe eeenns 16,17,18

NLRB v. Field and Sons, Inc. 462 F.2d 748

EE 9 ke 6 Kins idee eee bin veseee ented 19

NLRB v. Hyde, 339 F.2d 568 (9th Cir. 1965)....... 15

iv.

Page

NLRB v. Iron Workers, Local 103 (Higdon

Contracting Co.), 434 U.S. 335 (1978) ........... 13

NLRB v. McCready and Sons, Inc., 482 F.2d 872

RMR o's UR or ho a edie a ay wipe we 19

NLRB v. Plumbers and Pipe Fitters Local Union

214, 298 F.2d 427 (7th Cir. 1962)............... 10

NLRB v. Serv-All Co., 491 F.2d 1273 (10th Cir.

ks Fae Berek Keck e dine kaseel «ails p es 6 Pee 19

NLRB v. Strong, 386 F.2d 929 (9th Cir. 1967) rev’d

on other grounds 393 U.S. 357 (1969)........... 19

Raytheon Co. 140 N.L.R.B. No. 84 (1963),

enforcement denied on other grounds, 326 F.2d

ee as Lace dv ondadvesaadmee’ vee 23

South Praire Construction Co. v. Local No. 627,

International Union of Operating Engineers, 425

Se IG daa sb oo abe OU s BRO eek oar 5

Spielberg Manufacturing Company, 112 N.L.R.B.

ES Vives Gas 4 os be es CeO R Ce Baa 20,23,24

Textile Workers Union v. Lincoln Mills of Alabama,

CUED 6 Sc orc aCe ad ce chokes smwamee 21

Statutes:

Labor Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. Section

La sha daa cdi shen ok ¢ika dant ene Wea 3,21,23

National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. Section 151

et seq.:

Section 8(a)(1), 29 U.S.C. Section 158(a)(1) . . . 2,4,8,10

Section 8(a)(5), 29 U.S.C. Section 158(a)(5) . 2,4,6,8,10,

11,13,15,18

Section 8(f), 29 U.S.C. Section 158(f)...... 2,11,12,13

Section 10(b), 29 U.S.C. Section 160(b). . . i,3,7,8,9,13,

15,17,18,19

Textbook:

Gorman, Basic Text on Labor Law, Unionization

and Collective Bargaining (1976)............... 12

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1983

AL BRYANT, INC., HARRISBURG DRYWALL AND

CONSTRUCTION CORPORATION, and

AL BRYANT ASSOCIATES, INC.,

Petitioners,

vs.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD.

On WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT AT No. 82-3169.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Opinions Below

The June 30, 1983 opinion of the Court of Appeals,

whose judgment is herein sought to be reviewed is

reported at 711 F.2d 543 (3d Cir. 1983) and is reprinted

in the Appendix to this Petition page Al. The prior

opinion of the National Labor Relations Board is

reported at 260 N.L.R.B. No. 10 (1982) and is reprinted

2

in the Appendix to this Petition at page A27. The

opinion of the Administrative Law Judge is reprinted in

the Appendix to this Petition at page A38.

Jurisdiction

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on

June 30, 1983. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. Section 1254(1).

Statutory Provisions Involved

Section 8(a) of the National Labor Relations Act, 29

U.S.C. Section 158(a) provides in pertinent part:

It shall be an unfair labor practice for an employer—

(1) to interfere with, restrain, or coerce employees in

the exercise of the rights guaranteed in section 7;

(5) to refuse to bargain collectively with the

representatives if his employees, subject to the

provisions of section 9(a).

Section 8(f) of the National Labor Relations Act, 29

U.S.C. Section 158(f) provides impertinent part:

It shall not be an unfair labor practice under

subsections (a) and (b) of this section for an

employer engaged primarily in the building and

construction industry to make an agreement

covering employees engaged (or who, upon their

employment, will be engaged) in the building and

construction industry with a labor organization of

which building and construction employees are

members (not established, maintained, or assisted

by any action defined in section 8(a) of this Act as

an unfair labor practice) because

3

(1) the majority status of such labor organization

has not been established under the provisions of

section 9 of this Act prior to the making of such

agreement or, ...

(3) such agreement requires the employer to

notify such labor organization of opportunities for

employment with such employer, or gives such labor

organization an opportunity to refer qualified

applicants for such employment...

Section 10(b) of the National Labor Relations Act, 29

U.S.C. Section 160(b) provides in pertinent part:

Whenever it is charged that any person has engaged

in or is engaging in any such unfair labor practice,

the Board, or any agent or agency designated by the

Board for such purposes, shall have power to issue

and cause to be served upon such person a

complaint stating the charges in that respect, and

containing a notice of hearing before the Board or a

member thereof, or before a designated agent or

agency, at a place therein fixed, not less than five

days after the serving of said complaint: Provided,

that no complaint shall issue based upon any unfair

labor practice occurring more than six months prior

to the filing of the charge with the Board and the

service of a copy thereof upon the person against

whom such charge is made...

Section 30l(a) of the Labor Management Relations

Act, 29 U.S.C. Section 185(a) provides in pertinent part:

Suits for violation of contracts between an employer

and a labor organization representing employees in

an industry affecting commerce as defined in this

Act, or between any such labor organizations, may

be brought in any district court of the United States

having jurisdiction of the parties, without respect to

the amount in controversy or without regard to the

citizenship of the parties.

4

Statement of Case

This unfair labor practice case involves charges that

Petitioners, Al Sryant, Inc., Harrisburg Drywall and

Construction Corp., and Al Bryant Associates, Inc.,

violated Sections 8(a)(5) and (1) of the National Labor

Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. Sections 158(a)(5) and (1), by

refusing to bargain collectively with their employee's

representatives.

The Parties

Petitioner Al Bryant, Inc. (ABI) is an interior design

and finishing contractor engaged in hanging drywall,

installing ceilings, and laying floors. ABI was formed in

1967 by Albert Bryant. During the relevant period,

ninety percent of the stock of ABI was owned by Albert

Bryant who also served as president of ABI. Albert

Bryant's wife owned the remaining ten percent of ABI

and served as its treasurer. ABI maintained an office in

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania in a building owned by the

Bryants.

Petitioner Harrisburg Drywall and Construction Corp.

(Harrisburg Drywall) is a contractor engaged in the same

type of work as ABI. Harrisburg Drywall was

incorporated in 1971. At the time of its incorporation

Harrisburg Drywall was operated by Geno Premici.

Albert Bryant owned fifty-one percent of Harrisburg

Drywall’s stock. He acquired the remaining forty-nine

percent of Harrisburg Drywall’s stock in 1972. In 1975,

Albert Bryant selected Charles May as Harrisburg

Drywall’s president. Albert Bryant continued as

Harrisburg Drywall’s vice-president and secretary. Jean

Hoffman, ABI’s secretary acted as Harrisburg Drywall’s

treasurer.

5

Petitioner Al Bryant Associates, Inc. (Associates) is a

contractor performing the same type of work as ABI.

Associates was formed in 1979 by Albert Bryant, Larry

McClain, and Jean Hoffman. Larry McClain owned

thirty-five percent of Associates’ stock and served as its

president. Albert Bryant served as Associates’ treasurer

and vice-president in charge of sales and owned thirty

percent of its stock. Jean Hoffman owned thirty-five

percent of Associates stock and served as its secretary

and vice-president in charge of administration.

The charging parties are the United Brotherhood of

Carpenters and Joiner of America, Carpenters’ District

Council of Western Pennsylvania (Western) and

Keystone District Council (Keystone). These two unions

were parties to a collective bargaining agreement

negotiated with the Central Pennsylvania Subcontractors

Association (CPSA), a multi-employer bargaining unit of

which ABI was a member. Western and Keystone

operate in different geographic areas.

The Relationship of the Parties

ABI operated as a union contractor. As a member of

the CPSA, ABI was bound by the terms of that

association’s agreement with the charging unions.

Harrisburg Drywall operated as an open shop contractor.

Together, ABI and Harrisburg Drywall constituted a

double breasted construction operation. Double breasting

allows a contractor to bid on both union and non-union

projects. Both the National Labor Relations Board

(Board) and this Court have permitted construction

contractors to operate on a donble breasted basis. See

South Praire Construction Co. v. Local No. 627,

International Union of Operating Engineers, 425 U.S.

800 (1976) (per curiam).

6

Associates was formed after the unfair labor practice

charges in question were filed. Associates, like

Harrisburg Drywall, operated as a non-union contractor.

Associates occupied the same building as Harrisburg

Drywall and performed work in areas under the

jurisdiction of Western and Keystone.

The Operative Events

This case had its genesis in January, 1979. In that

month, Western learned that Harrisburg Drywall had

been awarded a subcontract on a project in Venango

County, Pennsylvania, a_ site within Western’s

jurisdictional area. Western's representative contract

Albert Bryant and requested that Union members be

employed on the project. Albert Bryant refused this

request stating that the job was being performed by

Harrisburg Drywall. Work on the project commenced in

June, 1979. On October 3, 1979, Western charged that

ABI, doing business as Harrisburg Drywall, failed and

refused to bargain with it in violation of Section 8(a)(5) of

the Act. 29 U.S.C. Section 158(a)(5).

Petitioners’ difficulties with Keystone began in March,

1979. Sometime prior to this date, Keystone learned that

some of its members had been employed by Harrisburg

Drywall and that Harrisburg Drywall had performed

work covered by the CPSA—Keystone Agreement

without adhering to the terms of that agreement.

On March 19, 1979, Keystone sent a letter to ABI

asserting that Harrisburg Drywall was a ‘‘subsidiary” or

‘joint venture’ with ABI and therefore was obligated to

observe the terms of the CPSA agreement. This letter

resulted in an arbitration proceeding. Keystone

presented both its claim that Harrisburg Drywall was

obligated to observe the terms of the CPSA agreement

7

as a matter of contract law and as a matter of federal

labor law to the arbitrator. The arbitrator denied this

grievance on October 29, 1979.

On August 10, 1979, during the pendency of the

arbitration proceeding, Keystone filed its initial unfair

labor practice charge with the Board. This charge was

based upon the same conduct as the grievance

proceeding; that ABI and Harrisburg Drywall violated

the Keystone collective bargaining agreement by hiring

non-union employees, operating a non-union subsidiary,

and failing to recognize the union as the bargaining

representative of Harrisburg Drywall’s employees.

Keystone filed an amended unfair labor practice charge

with the Board on October 6, 1980. This charge alleged

that ABI, Harrisburg Drywall, and Associates had

refused to bargain with Keystone since August, 1980.

The Board issued complaints based upon _ these

charges. A hearing concerning these charges was held on

December 10, 1980.

The Rulings Below

The Board's opinion, 260 N.L.R.B. No. 10 (1982) (Pet.

App. A27), substantially affirmed the decision of the

Administrative Law Judge (Pet. App. A38). The Board

found that ABI, Harrisburg Drywall, and Associates

constituted a single employer, that Harrisburg Drywall

was the alter ego of ABI and that Associates was the

alter ego of Harrisburg Drywall. The Board also ruled

that Western and Keystone had filed their unfair labor

practice charges within the six months limitations period

prescribed by Section 10(b) of the Act. 29 U.S.C. Section

160(b).

8

The Board, therefore, ruled that Petitioners violated

Sections 8(a)1) and (5) of the Act. 29 U.S.C. Sections

158(a)(1) and (5). In rendering its decision, the Board

refused to defer to the arbitrator's prior decision.

Petitioners were ordered to recognize the charging

Unions as the bargaining representatives of their

employees and to compensate their employees for losses

they suffered because of Petitioners’ violation.

The Board petitioned the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit for enforcement of its

order. The Court of Appeals, while disagreeing with a

portion of the Board’s opinion, granted the Board's

application for enforcement. 711 F.2d 543. (1983) (Pet.

App. Al). In rendering its decision the Court of Appeals

acknowledged that ‘‘...there does not appear to be any

clear precedent on when the Section 10(b) period begins

to run with respect to Section 8(a)(5) charges growing out

of double breasted operations.” (Pet. App. A9).

Jurisdiction of Federal Court

in First Instance

The Federal Court of first instance in this case was the

United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit.

The jurisdiction of this Court was invoked pursuant to

29 U.S.C. Section 160(e).

9

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

OF CERTIORARI

1. Timeliness of the Charges

Certiorari Should Be Granted To Resolve An Important

Question Of Federal Law That Has Not Been Decided By This

Court.

Should 10(b) of the National Labor Relations Act,

(Act), 29 U.S.C. Section 160(b), provides “‘[t]hat no

complaint shall issue based upon any unfair labor

practice occurring more than six months prior to the

filing of the charge with the Board...’’ Petitioners

argued before the Board and in the Court of Appeals

below that, with respect to Western, the six month

limitations period began to run in January, 1979 when

Western learned that Harrisburg Drywail had been

awarded the Venango County, Pennsylvania subcontract.

This date was more than six months prior to Western's

October 3, 1979 filing of its charge with the Board.

Petitioners respectfully submit that this delay renders

Western’s charge untimely under Section 10(b) of the

Act.

The Administrative Law Judge, whose findings were

substantially adopted by the Board, concluded that the

Section 10(b) limitations period did not begin to run until

Harrisburg Drywall actually commenced work at the

Venango County project in June, 1979 (Pet. App. A56).

The Court of Appeals agreed with this conclusion stating

that, ‘Since Western had no basis for filing a charge

until work on the Venango County job began, its charge

was timely.”’ (Pet. App. A8). The clear negative

implication of this statement is that, if petitioner’s

January, 1979 conduct constituted an unfair labor

practice, Western’s charge was untimely.

10

The Court of Appeals cited two cases in support of its

conclusion. NLRB v. Plumbers and Pipe Fitters Local

Union 214, 298 F.2d 427 (7th Cir. 1962); Local 1104,

Communications Workers v. NLRB, 520 F.2d 411 (2d

Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1051 (1976). Neither

case offers a compelling analogy. Both cases involved

union discrimination in violation of Sections 8(b)(1)(A)

and &(b)(2) of the Act. 29 U.S.C. Sections 158(b)(1)(A) and

(2). The case sub judice concerns employer refusals to

bargain in violation of Sections 8(a)(1) and (5) of the Act.

29 U.S.C. Section 158(a)(1) and (5). Neither case cited by

the Court of Appeals involved a double breasted

construction employer. Respondents in the instant case

constitute a double breasted construction operation.

The Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals in NLRB v.

Plumbers and Pipe Fitters Local Union 214, 298 ¥.2d 427

(7th Cir. 1962) noted that Section 8(b)(2) of the Act

creates two separate unfair labor practice charges; one

for actually causing an employee's discriminatory

discharge, the other for attempting to cause the

employee's discriminatory discharge. On May 15, 1959,

Local Union 214 sent a letter demanding the employee's

discharge because of his failure to join the union. The

employee was actually discharged on May 25, 1959. The

employee filed his unfair labor practice charge alleging

his discriminatory discharge on November 23, 1959. The

Seventh Circuit ruled that this charge was timely since

the employee's discharge was not ‘‘caused”’ until he was

actually dismissed. The issue of the timeliness of the

arguably barred charge, attempting to cause

discrimination, was not even presented to the Court.

Therefore, Petitioners respectfully submit, the Court of

Appeals was incorrect in relying upon NLRB vy,

Plumbers and Pipe Fitters Local Union 214.

11

The Court of Appeals reliance upon Local 1104,

Communications Workers v. NLRB, 520 F.2d 411 (2d

Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1051 (1976) is

particularly puzzling. That case, in pertinent part,

presented the Second Circuit Court of Appeals with

unfair labor practice charges arising with unfair labor

practice charges arising from a union’s denial of

membership to individuals who had refused to honor

picket lines during a strike. The Second Circuit held, as

the Third Circuit Court of Appeals stated that ‘‘... when

an unfair labor practice stemmed from denial of union

membership to strikebreakers, the six-month period was

counted from the date membership was denied, because

this was the first date the employees could have filed

their charges."” Communications Workers v. NLRB, 520

F.2d 411 (2d Cir. 1975) (Pet. App. A8). That the

limitations period is counted from the date the violation

occurs was not at issue in the enforcement proceeding

below. The issue presented in the enforcement proceeding

concerned when Harrisburg Drywall’s refusal to bargain

violation occurred. Local 1134, Communications Workers,

simply does not address this issue.

The Court of Appeals reliance on these cases is

explained by its statement in relation to the timeliness of

the Keystone charges that “there does not appear to be

any clear precedent on when the Section 10(b) period

begins to run with respect to Section 8(a)(5) charges

growing out of double breasted operations.” (Pet. App.

AQ).

The Court of Appeals’ decision overlooked several more

closely analogous cases. These cases considered unfair

labor practices involving contracts under Section 8(f) of

the Act. 29 U.S.C. Section 158(f). Section 8(f) provides

that:

12

fijt shall not be an unfair labor practice under

subsections (a) and (b) of this section [29 U.S.C.

Section 158] for an employer engaged primarily in

the building and construction industry to make an

agreement covering employees engaged (or who,

upon their employment, will be engaged) in the

building and construction industry with a labor

organization of which building and construction

employees are members ... because (1) the majority

status of such labor organization has not been

established under the provisions of section 9 of this

Act prior to the making of such agreement, or . . . (3)

such agreement requires the employer to notify such

labor organization of opportunities for employment

with such employer, or gives such labor organization

an opportunity to refer qualified applicants for such

employment...

Contracts executed pursuant to Section 8(f) are termed

“pre-hire agreements.” Section 8(f) was adopted in 1959.

This Section was necessary because of the short duration

of many building and construction industry jobs.

Gorman, Basic Text on Labor Law, Unionization, and

Collective Bargaining (1976). Section 8(f) allows a union

and an employer to negotiate and execute a collective

bargaining agreement and apply the terms of that

agreement to persons subsequently employed at a new

project.

The similarity between the case sub judice and a typical

Section 8(f) contract situation is overwhelming. In a

typical Section 8(f) situation the union and employer

agrees that newly hired employees will be covered by the

terms of the union agreement with the employer.

Subsequently, the employer is awarded a contract to

perform work on a new proiect. The employer then hires

employees for that project. These employees are covered

by the terms of the union agreement.

13

In the case sub judice, Western entered into a contract

with ABI. This contract also bound Harrisburg Drywall

if the Board and the Court of Appeals’ single employer

and alter ego determinations were correct. Harrisburg

Drywall was then awarded the Venango County project.

Western sought to apply the terms of its contract to

Harrisburg Drywall's employees at the newly awardod

Venango County project.

The cases interpreting Section 8(f) clearly demonstrate

the analysis that should have been applied in

determining when the Section 10(b) limitations period

began to run with respect to Western. The basic premise

of these cases is that an employer has a duty to bargain

with the representative of a majority of its employees. 29

U.S.C. Section 158(a)(5), see NLRB v. Iron Workers,

Local 103 (Higdon Contracting Co.), 434 U.S. 335 (1978).

Section 8(f) neither enlarges nor diminishes this duty.

Higdon Contracting Co., 434 U.S. 335 at 346. Where a

union alleges that the employees at a new job site are

covered by the terms of the union’s contract with the

employer, the relevant inquiry is whether the union

represents a majority of employees employed at that

project. Hageman Underground Construction, 253

N.L.R.B. No. 7 (1980), Dee Cee Floor Covering, Inc., 232

N.L.R.B. No. 72 (1977), see also Higdon Contracting Co.,

434 U.S. 335 (1978).

The Hageman and Dee Cee Floor Covering cases are

particularly instructive. Both cases involved construction

industry employers. The employer in Hageman was a

double breasted construction firm. To complete the

analogy, the two companies in Hageman were found to

constitute a single employer and one another’s alter egos.

In both cases, the Board was asked to determine

whether the employees at a new project were covered by

14

the terms of an existing collective bargaining agreement.

The Board's decisions in these cases placed great

emphasis upon the character of the employer's

workforce. Where the employer employs its workers on a

project to project basis it is not obligated to adhere to

the terms of a pre-hire agreement until the union

demonstrates that a majority of the employees at each

new job site support the union. Dee Cee Floor Covering,

Inc., 232 N.L.R.B. No. 72 (1977). On the other hand,

where there is a majority status in a permanent and

stable workforce, and a contract in effect between

the parties covering that workforce, the union not

only becomes the employees’ statutory bargaining

representative for all present and future sites but, as

in a typical industrial setting, also enjoys an

irrebuttable presumption of majority status for the

duration of the agreement.

Hageman Underground Construction, 253 N.L.R.B. No.

7 (1980). This presumption of continued majority status

accords with well established precedent. Dayton Motel,

Inc., 192 N.L.R.B. No. 112 (1971), remanded, 474 F.2d

328 (6th Cir. 1973), enforced, 525 F.2d 476 (6th Cir.

1976).

The Board's decision in the case sub judice included no

explicit finding concerning the stability of Petitioner's

workforce. The Court of Appeals’ discussion of ABI and

Harrisburg Drywall as a single employer indicates that a

stable workforce existed (Pet. App. Al9). If ABI and

Harrisburg Drywall employed a_ stable workforce,

Harrisburg Drywall, the Union was entitled to a

presumption of continued majority status in the

bargaining unit. Hageman Underground Construction,

253 N.L.R.B. No. 7 (1980). Harrisburg Drywall refused to

bargain with Western concerning employment of union

members at the Venango County project. This refusal

15

occurred in January, 1979 (Pet. App. A6). This refusal to

honor the terms of the Western-CPSA contract was an

actionable unfair labor practice. NLRB v. Hyde, 339 F.2d

568, 571-573 (9th Cir. 1965). As the Court of Appeals

recognized, the Section 10(b) limitations period is

counted from the first date the charge could have been

filed. Communications Workers v. NLRB, 520 F.2d 411

(2d Cir. 1975) (Pet. App. A7, A8). Western had a basis for

filing its unfair labor practice charge in January, 1979.

Western failed to file its charge until October 3, 1979.

This delay renders Western's unfair labor practice charge

untimely under Section 10(b) of the Act.

The timeliness of the Keystone unfair labor practice

charge entails a different analysis. Keystone’s knowledge

of Harrisburg Drywall's operation in its jurisdictional

area more than six months prior to its August 10, 1979

charge is undisputed (Pet. App. A8). The Administrative

Law Judge, whose findings were substantially adopted

by the Board, ruled that, despite this knowledge,

Keystone’s charge was timely (Pet. App. A61). The

Administrative Law Judge based his decision upon a

continuing violation theory. Specifically, the

Administrative Law Judge ruled that Harrisburg

Drywall's refusal to apply the terms of the Keystone

collective bargaining agreement to its employees within

the limitations period constituted an independent

violation of Section 8(a)(5) of the Act. This latter refusal

rendered Keystone’s August 10, 1979 charge timely.

The Court of Appeals, as previously stated, recognized

that there is no clear authority concerning when the

Section 10(b) limitations period begins to run with

respect to Section 8(a)(5) violations arising out of double

breasted operations (Pet. App. AQ). In rendering its

decision, the Court of Appeals disregarded the parties’

16

citations to analogous authority and expressly disavowed

any reliance upon the Board’s continuing violation

theory. Instead, the Court of Appeals based its decision

upon its interpretation of this Court’s decision in Local

Lodge No. 1424, International Association of Machinists

v. NLRB, 363 U.S. 411 (1960), and its own decision in

NLRB v. Erie Marine, Inc., 465 F.2d 104 (3d Cir. 1972).

Petitioners respectfully submit that the Court of Appeals

improperly interpreted this Court’s decision in Local

Lodge particularly in eight of the cases cited by

petitioner in the Court of Appeals below.

Local Lodge presented the Court with an unfair labor

practice case involving a union security agreement

executed prior to the union’s achieving majority support

from the members of the bargaining unit. Such

agreement constitute unfair labor practices. This

agreement was executed more than six months prior to

the filing of unfair labor practice charges with the Board.

The Board argued that the continued enforcement of the

clause within the limitations period, rather than the

original execution of the agreement, was the basis of the

charge and that therefore, the charge was timely. The

Court rejected this argument and ruled that the charge

was time barred.

The Court stated two reasons for its decision. One was

that the enforcement of the union security clause was

illegal only when viewed in light of its illegal execution.

Enforcement of the union security clause, standing alone,

was legal. To allow such use of remote conduct to

establish the illegality of timely conduct would serve to,

in effect, revive a legally defunct unfair labor practice.

Local Lodge No. 1424, 363 U.S. 411, 417 (1960).

17

The second reason for the Court’s decision was that

the Section 10(b) limitations period would never begin if

the Board's argument was adopted. Local Lodge No.

1424, 363 U.S. 411, 416 (1960). The conduct outside the

limitations period, i.e. the execution of the union

security agreement, was illegal. The Section 10(b)

limitations period was intended to run from the date of

the illegal conduct. If the period was allowed to run from

the date of the continued enforcement of the clause, as

the Board had argued, it would never run because the

clause was always being enforced. Acceptance of the

Board’s argument would have negated a portion of the

National Labor Relations Act by preventing the

limitations period from running. The Court was able to

give effect to all parts of the Act by adopting a

construction that allowed the limitations period to begin.

That acts should be interpreted to give effect to all their

parts is a fundamental principle of statutory

construction. The principle is reflected in the Court’s

Local Lodge decision.

NLRB v. Erie Marine, Inc., 465 F.2d 104 (3d Cir.

1972), presented the Third Circuit unfair labor practice

charges arising from the establishment of a joint

employer-employee committee. The Court of Appeals

ruled that the Board’s 1972 complaint was timely despite

the fact that the committee was formed three years prior

to the charge. The Court of Appeals’ opinion purported

to follow this Court’s Local Lodge decision by ruling that

conduct within the limitations period, i.e. maintenance of

the employer-employee committee, constituted an unfair

labor practice without reference to conduct outside the

period. The three year hiatus between the establishment

of the committee and the actual filing the committee and

the actual filing of the unfair labor practice charge

demonstrates that Section 10(b) was effectively removed

from the Act.

18

That the Court of Appeals’ decision had thie effect,

despite its attempt to adhere to the teachings of Local

Lodge, illustrates the fact that each unfair labor practice

has unique aspects. A construction of Section 10(b) which

permits the limitations period to run with respect to one

charge can have the opposite effect when applied to

another charge.

The effect of a lengthy delay between the unfair labor

practice and the charge is not particularly severe where

the remedy consists, as it did in Erie Marine, Inc., of a

cease and desist order. A lengthy delay, or any delay,

can be disasterous when the remedy involves a back pay

order similar to the order entered in the case sub judice.

The effects of such a delay are exacerbated in the

construction industry where companies are forced by

competitive bidding to perform work at dangerously low

prices. Huge back pay awards destroy the delicate

calculations upon which most bids are based. These

unique aspects make Supreme Court resolution of the

Section 10(b) issue in relation to Section 8(a)(5) charges

growing out of double breasted operations imperative.

Petitioners respectfully submit that the Court of

Appeals’ decision below has the effect of removing

Section 10(b) from the Act. Keystone knew of

Respondents non-union operation within its jurisdiction

more than six months prior to the filing of its charge.

This operation constituted an unfair labor practice. The

Section 10(b) period should be computed from the date

the unfair labor practice occurs. Communications

Workers v. NLRB, 520 F.2d 411 (2d Cir. 1975). The

Court of Appeals held instead that the Section 10(b)

period ran from Respondents subsequent refusal to

bargain. This decision prevents the Section 10(b)

limitations period from beginning and is therefore,

19

contrary to this Court's decision in Local Lodge No.

1424, Internationa: Association of Machinists v. NLRB,

363 U.S. 411 (1960). The Court of Appeals’ decision is

even more suspect in light of the fact that the Section

10(b) period would clearly have expired had Keystone not

made a subsequent request for bargaining. The Court of

Appeals’ decision therefore, allows a union to negate the

effect of Section 10(b) by simply making a subsequent

bargaining request. Petitioners respectfully submit that

this decision is incorrect.

Petitioners submit that cases from several Circuit

Courts of Appeal support their interpretation of Local

Lodge. See NLRB v. Serv-All Co., 491 F.2d 1273 (10th

Cir. 1974); NLRB v. McCready and Sons, Inc., 482 F.2d

872 (6th Cir. 1973); NLRB v. Field and Sons, Inc., 462

F.2d 748 (1st Cir. 1972). In Serv-All, 491 F.2d 1273 (10th

Cir. 1974), the tenth circuit allowed the Section 10(b)

limitations period to run by holding that a refusal to sign

a collective bargaining agreement within the six month

period was not an independent violation of the Act where

the initial refusal to sign occurred outside the limitations

period. The Sixth Circuit in McCready and Sons, 482

F.2d 872 (6th Cir. 1973) examined an identical charge

and reached the same conclusion as the Tenth Circuit.

The First Circuit in NLRB v. Field and Sons, Inc., 462

F.2d 748 (lst Cir. 1972) expressly based its conclusion

that subsequent refusals to sign a collective bargaining

agreement did not revive a time barred refusal on the

need for the Section 10(b) limitations period to run.

Admittedly, certain cases cited in the Court of Appeals’

opinion lead to a different conclusion. See NLRB v.

Strong, 386 F.2d 929 (9th Cir. 1967) rev'd. on other

grounds, 393 U.S. 357 (1969) [footnote omitted] J. Ray

McDermott and Co. v. NLRB, 571 F.2d 850 (5th Cir.

1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 893 (1978), NLRB v. Basic

20

Wire Products, Inc. 516 F.2d 261 (6th Cir. 1975); Cone

Mills Corp. v. NLRB, 413 F.2d 445 (4th Cir. 1969). This

conflict between the Circuit Courts of Appeal supplies an

additional reason for this Court to yrant certiorari in this

case and thereby settle an important, unresolved

question of federal law.

2. Refusal To Defer To The Arbitrator's Decision

Certiorari Should Be Granted To Resolve An Important

Question Of Federal Law That Has Not Been Decided By This

Court.

Harrisburg Drywall and Associates’ liability, assuming

that the unfair labor practice charges were timely, is

contingent upon the Board's findings that Associates

was the alter ego of Harrisburg Drywall and that

Harrisburg Drywall and ABI constituted a_ single

employer. The Board in making this determination

refused to defer to the arbitrator's 1979 decision that

Harrisburg Drywall was not a ‘‘subsidiary’’ or ‘‘joint

venture’ with ABI (Pet. App. A96). The Court of

Appeals upheld this refusal. Petitioner respectfully

submits that these decisions were incorrect. Petitioner

further submits that, because of the unique nature of a

double breasted construction operation, the extent to

which the Board is required to defer to a contract

arbitrator's decision concerning a refusal to bargain is an

important question of federal law which should be

decided by this Court.

Both the Board and the Court of Appeals based their

deferral decisions upon Spielberg Manufacturing

Company, 112 N.L.R.B. No. 139 (1955), and its progeny

(Pet. App. ). Petitioners respectfully submit that

these cases are not dispositive in this instance.

Petitioners further submit that, if Spielberg is

21

controlling, the Board and the Court of Appeals

incorrectly applied its teachings.

This Court has recognized that Congress did not confer

unfair labor practice jurisdiction upon the Board to

resolve breach of contract claims. NLRB v. C and C

Plywood Corp., 385 U.S. 421 (1967). Resolution of breach

of contract claims is instead the province of the federal

district courts. Textile Workers Unions v. Lincoln Mills

of Alabama, 353 U.S. 448 (1957). Congress expressed this

policy in Section 301 of the Labor Management Relations

Act which provides:

(a) [sjuits for violation of contracts between an

employer and a labor organization representing

employees in an industry affecting commerce as

defined in this Act, or between any such labor

organizations, may be brought in any district court

of the United States having jurisdiction of the

parties, without respect to the amount in

controversy or without regard to the citizenship of

the parties. 29 U.S.C. Section 185.

Keystone claimed that Harrisburg Drywall was

obligated, by virtue of its relationship to ABI, to honor

the terms of the Keystone—CPSA collective bargaining

agreement. The full extent of this obligation was defined

by the contract. The contract was intended to bind

subsidiaries of its parties. A grievance procedure was

established to resolve ambiguities in the language of the

contract. By adopting this contract, the parties agreed

that subsidiaries would be bound and, by negative

implication, that non-subsidiaries would not be bound.

Keystone's claim therefore, is purely and simply a breach

of contract claim. Keystone’s assertion of an unfair

labor practice charge is simply an attempt to alter the

terms of the agreement by expanding the definition of

‘‘subsidiary.”’

22

The arbitrator, by whose decision Keystone agreed to

be bound, ruled that Harrisburg Drywall was not a

subsidiary. The importance of this arbitration proceeding

cannot be overemphasized. In NLRB v. C and C Plywood

Corp., 385 U.S. 421 (1967), this Court allowed the Board

to interpret the terms of a collective bargaining

agreement to determine whether the employer's

unilateral wage changes constituted a failure to bargain.

The contract involved in that case contained a provision

which arguably allowed the employer to alter the wage

rate paid its employees. Resolution of the dispute,

therefore, required interpretation of the contract. This

Court permitted the Board to interpret the contract only

after noting that the contract did not contain an

arbitration clause. C and C Plywood Corp., 385 U.S. 421

(1967).

The facts of the case sub judice are far different.

Keystone claimed that Harrisburg Drywall was obligated

to honor the terms of the Keystone—CPSA collective

bargaining agreement. Harrisburg Drywall's bargaining

obligations were fully defined by this agreement. The

contract arbitrator conclusively determined that

Harrisburg Drywall was not a ‘subsidiary’ of ABI and

therefore was not bound by the contract. The

determination should be regarded as a complete defense

to Keystone’s subsequent unfair labor practice charge.

Harrisburg Drywall was permitted by the terms of the

Keystone—CPSA agreement to function on a non-union

basis. The Board, in the guise of an unfair labor practice

proceeding, actually reinterpreted and decided a breach

of contract dispute. There was no need for the Board to

engage in this reinterpretation. The arbitrator had

supplied the necessary interpretation. The Board,

therefore, lacked jurisdiction to make its determination

23

and deferral was mandate by Section 301 of the Labor

Management Relations Act. See NLRB v. C and C

Plywood Corp., 385 U.S. 421 (1967).

No Court has ruled that the extent of a non-union

company’s duty to bargain, where that company is a

component of a double breasted operation, is defined by

the union company’s contract with the union so that an

arbitrator's decision interpreting the reach of the

contract necessarily determines the extent of the non-

union company’s duty to bargain. This Court should

grant a writ of certiorari to resolve this important

question of federal law.

Should this Court agree with the Court of Appeals that

the Board’s jurisdiction allowed it to determine this

dispute, the Board's deferral decision should be judged

by the standards established by the Spielberg

Manufacturing Company, 112 N.L.R.B. No. 139 (1955)

line of cases. These cases teach that the Board will defer

if the arbitral proceeding was fair and regular, all parties

agree to be bound, and the decision was not repugnant to

the purposes of the Act. Spielberg Manufacturing

Company, 112 N.L.R.B. No. 139 (1955). Additionally, the

arbitrator must have considercd and decided the

statutory issue. See Raytheon Co., 140 N.L.R.B. No. 84

(1963) enforcement denied on other grounds, 326 F.2d

471 (ist Cir. 1964). The Court of Appeals based its

decision on the arbitrator’s failure to decide the

statutory issue (Pet. App. Al4). Petitioner respectfully

submits that the Court of Appeals misapplied the

Spielberg criteria.

Keystone submitted both the contract and unfair labor

practice issues to the arbitrator (Pet. App. Al4). The

arbitrator determination that Harrisburg Drywall was

not a subsidiary of ABI’s operation, necessarily resolved

24

the statutory issue. As stated above, Keystone agreed

that only signatories and their subsidiaries as defined in

the contract would be bound by the Keystone—CPSA

agreement. If Harrisburg Drywali was not a subsidiary,

Keystone, according to the terms of its contract,

relinquished any claim that Harrisburg Drywall was

obligated to honor the terms of this agreement. This

should provide Harrisburg Drywall with as complete a

defense as was provided by the union contract in C and C

Plywood Corp., 385 U.S. 421 (1967). Harrisburg

Drywall’s duty to bargain with Keystone would therefore,

coterminous with its duty under the contract. If this is

an accurate appraisal of Harrisburg Drywall’s duty to

bargain, the arbitrator necessarily decided the statutory

issue in ruling that Harrisburg Drywall was not a

subsidiary. The Court of Appeals therefore, misapplied

the Spielberg deferral standards in ruling that the

arbitrator did not decide the statutory issue. This Court

should grant a writ of certiorari to review the Court of

Appeals’ application of the Spielberg standards.

Conclusion

Based upon the arguments presented and the

authorities cited, Petitioners respectfully pray that a writ

of certiorari be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

HARRY R. HARMON

Attorney for Petitioners

September 13, 1983

Al

APPENDIX A

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 82-3169

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,

Petitioner,

Vv.

AL BRYANT, INC., HARRISBURG DRYWALL AND

CONSTRUCTION CORPORATION, and

AL BRYANT ASSOCIATES, INC.,

Respondents.

APPLICATION FOR ENFORCEMENT OF AN ORDER OF

THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

Board Nos. 6-CA-12800, 6-CA-13716, 6-CA-13914

Argued January 13, 1983

Before: WEIS, SLOVITER and BECKER, Circuit Judges

(Opinion filed June 30, 1983)

A2

Appendix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983.

Catherine Garcia (Argued)

Elliott Moore,

Deputy Associate General Counsel

William A. Lubbers,

General Counsel

John E. Higgins, Jr.,

Deputy General Counsel

Robert E. Allen,

Associate General Counsel

National Labor Relations Board

1717 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20570

Attorneys for Petitioner

Thomas A. Beckley (Argued)

Jeffrey W. Davis

Beckley & Madden

240 North Third Street

P.O. Box 877

Harrisburg, PA 17108

Attorneys for Respondents

A3

Appendix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983.

OPINION OF THE COURT

SLOVITER, Circuit Judge.

I.

INTRODUCTION

The National Labor Relations Board (Board) petitions

for enforcement of its order directing respondents Al

Bryant, Inc. (ABI), Harrisburg Drywall and

Construction Corp. (Harrisburg Drywall), and Al Bryant

Associates, Inc. (Associates) to cease and desist from

refusing to bargain collectively with the two charging

unions, to recognize the two unions, to apply the relevant

bargaining agreement terms to employees of Harrisburg

Drywall and Associates, to make those employees whole

for loss of earnings or compensation, to reimburse

employee trust funds, and to post a specified notice.

ABI was formed by Albert Bryant in 1967 and

operated as an interior design and finishing contractor,

engaged in hanging drywall, installing ceilings and

laying floors. During the relevant period, Bryant owned

90% of ABI and served as president; his wife owned the

remaining 10% and served as treasurer. Jean Hoffman,

the office manager, was the secretary. The office was

located in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania in a building owned

by the Bryants.

ABI was a member of the Central Pennsylvania

Subcontractors Association (CPSA), which conducted

labor negotiations for its employer members and which

negotiated agreements with both charging unions, the

United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of America,

Carpenters’ District Council of Western Pennsylvania

(Western) and Keystone District Council (Keystone). The

A4

Appendix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983.

two unions operate in different geographic areas. The

ALJ found that ABI was bound by these agreements;

this fact is apparently not disputed on appeal.

In 1971, a drywall finishing business known as

Harrisburg Drywall and Construction Corp. operated by

Geno Premici was incorporated and Bryant acquired 51%

ownership and became vice-president and secretary. Jean

Hoffman, ABI's secretary, became Harrisburg Drywall’'s

treasurer. The following year, Bryant became sole owner.

In 1975, Bryant selected Charles May, ABI’s field

supervisor, to be Harrisburg Drywall’s president.

Harrisburg Drywall did not adhere to any labor

agreements in performing its work. Bryant used the two

companies to maintain a ‘‘double breasted’’ operation,

one whereby different legal entities in the construction

industry with common proprietary and managerial

aspects operate separately, one on a union and the other

on a nonunion basis.

The third corporation, Al Bryant Assc ciates, Inc., was

formed in 1979 by Bryant, Larry McClain, ABI’s

coordinator, and Jean Hoffman, its office manager, after

unfair labor practice charges had been filed against ABI

and Harrisburg Drywall in connection with the non-union

operation of Harrisburg Drywall. McClain became its

president, Bryant its treasurer and vice-president in

charge of sales, and Hoffman its secretary and vice-

president in charge of administration. McClain and

Hoffman each contributed $20,000 in cash to Associates

and received 35% stock ownership. Bryant contributed

all Harrisburg Drywall’s stock, valued at $40,000, for

30% ownership. Associates began operating January 1,

1980, as a subcontractor in the same business as ABI

and Harrisburg Drywall.

A5

Appendix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983.

This case centers on the interrelationship between

these three entities, and the legal obligations which arise

as a result. The unions charged that since respondents

constituted a single employer. they violated sections

8(a)(5) and (1) of the National Labor Relations Act by

refusing to recognize the charging unions and by

refusing to apply to certain Harrisburg Drywail and

Associates employees the collective bargaining

agreement terms applicable to ABI. The Board's order

was predicated on its findings, in substantial affirmance

of the rulings, findings and conclusions of the ALJ, that

all three respondents were a single employer, that

Harrisburg Drywall was the alter ego of ABI, that

Associates was the alter ego and ‘‘disguised

continuance” of ABI and Harrisburg Drywall, and that

the carpenter employees of all three companies

constituted an appropriate unit for collective bargaining

purposes.

The enforcement petition raises the following issues: (1)

Were the initial charges filed by Keystone and the

charges filed by Western time-barred by section 10(b) of

the NLRA? (2) Should the Board have deferred to an

arbitration decision made on Keystone’s charges

regarding the nonunion operation of Harrisburg Drywall?

(3) Does substantial evidence support the Board's

findings of single employer, unit determination, and alter

ego? (4) Were respondents deprived of a fair hearing due

to the ALJ's conduct?

A6

Appendix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983.

Il.

TIMELINESS OF THE CHARGES

Keystone filed its initial charge with the Board on

August 10, 1979 in which it complained about

Harrisburg Drywall’s failure to honor the Keystone

collective bargaining agreement. It charged ABI and

Harrisburg Drywall with committing unfair labor

practices by ‘hiring non-Union employees in

contravention of its obligation under the collective

bargaining agreement” and by “having a non-Union

subsidiary and refusing to recognize the Union as a

representative of the employees employed by Harrisburg

Drywall."’ Keystone filed a second unfair labor practice

charge on October 6, 1980, after Associates was formed.

As amended, the charge alleged the three companies had

“‘[slince on or about August 1980, ... refused to bargain

collectively and in good faith with Keystone.’’ Western

filed its charge on October 3, 1979, claiming ABI ‘“‘d/b/a

Harrisburg Drywall’’ had ‘“‘[slince on or about June 1,

1979, and at all times thereafter, ... failed and refused

to bargain collectively and in good faith with [Western].”’

Respondents argue that Western’s charge and

Keystone’s initial charge were untimely under *oction

10(b) of the NLRA, 29 U.S.C. §160(b), which provides

“{tJhat no complaint shall issue based upon any unfair

labor practice occurring more than six months prior to

the filing of the charge with the Board.’’ Western knew

by about January 1979, more than six months before it

filed charges, that Harrisburg Drywall had been awarded

a subcontract on a job in Venango County,

Pennsy!vania, a_ site within Western’s geographic

A7

Appendix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983.

jurisdiction. A representative of that union telephoned

Bryant requesting employment of union personnel and

Bryant refused, stating he was doing the job under

Harrisburg Drywall. Respondents contend that Bryant

thus “repudiated"’ the contractual duties with respect to

employees of Harrisburg Drywall, and that the section

10(b) period began to run when the repudiation was made

known to the union.

The ALJ concluded that the section 10(b) six-month

period did not begin until such time as Harrisburg

Drywall commenced operations under employment terms

distinct from those in the union contract.' The ALJ

found that the record did not permit finding that

Harrisburg Drywall actually commenced work at the

Venango County job by April 3, 1979, the section 10(b)

cut-off date for Western. That work apparently

commenced about June 1979.

The ALJ's conclusion that the charge was timely filed

is consistent with well-established legal principles. A

statement of intent or threat to commit an unfair

practice does not start the statutory six months running.

The running of the limitations period can begin only

when the unfair labor practice occurs. Thus in NLRB v.

Plumbers & Pipe Fitters Local Union 214, 298 F.2d 427,

428 (7th Cir. 1962), the court held that the actual date of

the discharge of the nonunion employee, not the date the

union demanded that he be discharged, started the

‘The ALJ also construed a statement by Bryant to a union

representative in May 1979 as conveying the possibility that there

would be further consideration given to the union's demand. In light

of our acceptance of the ALJ's principal grounds for finding the

Western charge timely, we need not reach this additional reason.

A8&

Appendix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983.

statutory period. Similarly, when an unfair labor practice

stemmed from denial of union membership to strike-

breakers, the six-month period was counted from the

date membership was denied, because that was the first

date the employees could have filed their charge. Local

1104, Communications Workers v. NLRB, 520 F.2d 411,

415-16 (2d Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1051 (1976).

Since Western had no basis for filing a charge until work

on the Venango County job began, its charge was timely.

Unlike the situation with Western, the ALJ found that

‘Keystone was mindful that its members had been

employed by Harrisburg Drywall, that Harrisburg

Drywall had performed work covered by the CPSA

contract, that Harrisburg Drywall had not adhered to

the terms of that contract, and that Al Bryant owned

Harrisburg Drywall.’’ The Board concedes_ that

Keystone officials were aware of Harrisburg Drywall’s

operation as a nonunion shop within its geographic area

more than six-months before its August 10, 1979 charge

was filed. The ALJ found, however, that respondents’

obiigation under the collective bargaining agreement was

a continuing one. The fact that the initial repudiation of

the agreement occurred more than six months before

charges were filed did not absolve respondents from the

unfair labor practices which inured from their continuing

failure, on demand, to abide by the collective bargaining

agreement. The ALJ found such a demand in a letter

dated March 19, 1979 from Keystone informing Bryant

that Harrisburg Drywall was covered by the applicable

agreement and that it was obligated to adhere to its

terms. Therefore, the ALJ found Bryant's failure to

satisfy this demand constituted an independent violation

of section 8(a)(5), thus rendering Keystone’s August 10,

1979 charge timely.

Ag

Appendix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983.

As the respondents recognize, there does not appear to

be any clear precedent on when the section 10(b) period

begins to run with respect to section 8(a)(5) charges

growing out of double breasted operations. Respondents

contend that the most nearly analogous cases are those

where the courts held that the refusal of an employer to

execute an individual contract with the union following

negotiations of a multiemployer pact marked the

beginning of the six-month period. See NLRB v. Serv-All

Co., 491 F.2d 1273 (10th Cir. 1974); NLRB v. McCready

& Sons, Inc., 482 ¥.2d 872 (6th Cir. 1973); NLRB v. Field

@& Sons, Inc., 462 F.2d 748 (lst Cir. 1972). But see

NLRB v. Strong, 386 F.2d 929, 931 (9th Cir. 1967), rev'd

on other grounds, 393 U.S. 357 (1969).* These cases have

held a second or subsequent request by the union that

the employer sign the agreement cannot support an

unfair labor practice charge if the initial request and

refusal to sign occurred outside the six-month statutory

period. Similarly in NLRB v. Pennwoven, 194 F.2d 521

(3d Cir. 1952), we held that a discriminatory failure to

recall employees because of their union activities

initiated the six-month period. We stated that the fact

that the employees wrote within the period demanding

reinstatement did not trigger a new violation.

The Board, on the other hand, relies on cases holding

each refusal to bargain by an employer under a general

duty to bargain constitutes a separate violation. In J.

*The Board's position which was accepted by the Ninth Circuit in

Strong, is that a subsequent refusal to sign a labor contract within

the section 10(b) period constitutes a continued refusal to bargain

violation even if the initial refusal is outside the period. See

Torrington Construction Co., 235 N.L.R.B. 1540, 1540 n.2, 1545

(1978).

Al0

Appendix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983.

Ray McDermott & Co. v. NLRB, 571 F.2d 850, 858 (5th

Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 893 (1978), for example, the

court held that the passage of more than six months

from one refusal to bargain does not bar action by the

Board on a timely complaint based on subsequent

refusal. The court reasoned that there was no danger of

‘stale’ claims since a refusal to bargain violation is

based on contemporaneous motives. The same principle

was accepted in NLRB v. Basic Wire Products, Inc., 516

F.2d 261, 267-68 (6th Cir. 1975) and Cone Mills Corp. v.

NLRB, 413 F.2d 445, 448-49 (4th Cir. 1969) (applied to

employer's refusal to provide union with information

concerning pension plan). In NLRB v. Louisiana

Bunkers, Inc., 409 F.2d 1295, 1299-1300 (5th Cir. 1969), a

case involving a single employer, the court found the

charge was timely even though the initial refusal to

bargain occurred outside the six-month period, because

the employer refused subsequent union requests to

bargain.

A decision on how to apply section 10(b) to the facts

before us must be made in light of the statute's

underlying policy. The Supreme Court has described the

policy of the statutory time limit ‘to bar litigation over

past events ‘after records have been destroyed, witnesses

have gone elsewhere, and recollections of the events in

question have become dim and confused’ and ‘“‘of

course to stabilize existing bargaining relationships.”

Local Lodge No. 1424, International Association of

Machinists v. NLRB, 362 U.S. 411, 419 (1960) (Bryan

Manufacturing Co.) (quoting H.R. Rep. No. 245, 80th

Cong., lst Sess. 40 (1947)). In Bryan the Court

interpreted this section as precluding the filing of an

unfair labor charge which was grounded on events

All

Appendix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983.

predating the limitations period. That is not the situation

before us. Here, there will be no need to rely on facts

which predate the limitations period. Although there

may be some evidentiary value to earlier events, this is

not a situation ‘“‘where conduct occurring within the

limitations period can be charged to be an unfair labor

practice only through reliance on an earlier unfair labor

practice.’’ Bryan, 362 U.S. at 416-17. The relevant facts

will be the interrelationships of the companies at the

time of a specific demand to bargain, and these operative

facts in no way depend upon any earlier demand to

bargain.

We find support for the Board's position in the manner

in which we applied section 10(b) in our earlier opinion in

NLRB v. Erie Marine, Inc., 465 F.2d 104 (3d Cir. 1972).

In that case, a section 8(a)(2) charge was based on a joint

employee-employer committee formed in 1969. Although

the complaint was not filed until July 22, 1972, we

enforced the Board's order over respondent's reliance on

section 10(b) because we concluded “that the principal

support for the Board's findings comes from the

existence of the Committee and its domination by

management within the limitations period.” Id. at 108

(emphasis added).

Therefore, we believe the section 10(b) limitations

period should be applied as it was in the Erie Marine

case rather than in those cases cited by the respondents

where the employer refused to sign a negotiated

contract.’ In the refusal to sign cases, the operative fact

*In adopting this approach, we need not rely on any continuing

violation theory. See J. Ray McDermott & Co. v. NLRB, 571 F.2d at

858.

Al2

Appendix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983.

was a concrete act fixed in time in relationship to the

facts surrounding the contract negotiations. As the court

noted in McCready, ‘‘With the passage of time, those

facts become harder to prove as memories fade and

witnesses become unavailable." 482 F.2d at 875. No such

concern is presenied by the facts here, since the

interrelationship between the entities can be established

by reference to their status within the six-month period

at the time of the relevant demand.‘ Here, Keystone

asserted its position about Harrisburg Drywall’s

collective bargaining obligations in the March 19, 1979

letter. Therefore, its charge filed on August 10, 1979 was

timely.

Ill.

DEFERRAL TO ARBITRATION DECISION

The March 19, 1979 letter to ABI by Keystone’s

counsel asserting Harrisburg Drywall was a ‘“‘subsidiary”’

of or “joint venture’ with ABI and that Harrisburg

Drywall was obligated to apply the collective bargaining

agreement negotiated. between CPSA and Keystone

resulted in an arbitration proceeding. Keystone

presented to the arbitrator both its claim that

Harrisburg Drywall, as a subsidiary of ABI, was bound

to the CPSA agreement as a matter of contract and its

claim that as a matter of federal labor law, the contract

was binding on Harrisburg Drywall. The arbitrator found

that Harrisburg Drywall was not a “‘subsidiary’’ of ABI

within the meaning of the collective bargaining

* As the Board recognized, the remedy is to be limited to six months

before filing of the charge and, as it ordered in the case of Keystone,

can in no event precede the date of the demand within that period.

Al3

Appendix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983.

agreement and therefore ABI was not in violation of its

contractual obligations to Keystone through Harrisburg

Drywall’s operation on an open shop basis. Respondents

contend that the Board should have deferred to the

arbitration decision denying Keystone’s grievance.

Although not required to do so, see, e.g., Herman

Brothers, Inc. v. NLRB, 658 F.2d 201, 205-06 (3d Cir.

1981); NLRB v. Horn & Hardart Co., 439 F.2d 674, 678-

79 (2d Cir. 1971), the Board has voluntarily decided not

to exercise its plenary jurisdiction over all unfair labor

practice charges and to defer to outstanding arbitration

awards provided certain conditions were met: the arbitral

proceeding was fair and regular, all parties agreed to be

bound, and the decision was not repugnant to the

purposes and policies of the NLRA. Spielberg

Manufacturing Co., 112 N.L.R.B. 1080, 1082 (1955). A

subsequently enunciated fourth condition, that the

arbitrator must have considered and decided the

statutory unfair labor practice issue, is the one at issue

here. See Raytheon Co., 140 N.L.R.B. 883, 884 (1963),

enforcement denied on other grounds, 326 F.2d 471 (lst

Cir. 1964).

In this case, the arbitrator specifically stated that the

basic question before him was whether Harrisburg

Drywall was a subsidiary under the contract. He further

stated his role was “‘limited to interpreting [the contract

terms], and it [did] not extend to enforcing the provisions

of the Labor Management Relations Act.”

The Board decided that deferral was unwarranted. It

explained:

Al4

Appendix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983.

The arbitrator... found that the NLRB and court

cases cited to him by the Union were not

enlightening as to the definition of a ‘‘subsidiary”

and thus he relied on dictionary definitions. Based

on the tenor of the arbitrator's entire decision, it is

clear he did not consider the statutory issue. It is

also clear that the arbitrator did not have the same

evidence before him as in the instant case. For

example, he had neither the employment rosters of

Harrisburg Drywall nor any information that

Bryant signed bids for Harrisburg Drywall.

We have recently reiterated that we review the Board's

decision not to defer to an arbitration award on an abuse

of discretion standard. See United Parcel Service, Inc. v.

NLRB, No. 82-3318, slip op. at 18 (3d Cir. April 18,

1983); Herman Brothers, Inc. v. NLRB, 658 F.2d at 207:

NLRB v. General Warehouse Corp., 643 F.2d 965, 970

(3d Cir. 1981). Respondents argue that the reasons

advanced by the Board are insubstantial, and therefore it

abused its discretion. Respondents rely on cases in which

the Board deferred to an arbitrator's decision although

the arbitrator did not explicitly resolve the statutory

issue. See Atlantic Steel Co., 245 N.L.R.B. 814 (1979);

Kansas City Star Co., 236 N.L.R.B. 866 (1978). In those

cases, the Board found the arbitrator considered all the

evidence relevant to the statutory issue, and hence

implicitly resolved it. In neither of those cases did the

arbitrator explicitly decline to resolve the statutory

issue, as he did here. Nor, in those cases, did respondents

fail to provide significant relevant evidence at the time of

arbitration in contrast to the situation here where, as the

Board claims, “the companies refused to produce any

Al5

Appendix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983.

subpoenaed documentary evidence’ concerning

Harrisburg Drywall during the arbitration proceeding.”’

Brief for NLRB at 38 (citation omitted).

The requirement that the statutory issues have been

presented to and decided by the arbitrator is of

particular significance to insure that the Board does not

abdicate its responsibility to protect statutory rights.

See NLRB v. General Warehouse Corp., 643 F.2d at 969.

The Board recently reaffirmed it would not defer ‘‘unless

the unfair labor practice issue before the Board was both

presented to and considered by the arbitrator.”

Suburban Motor Freight, Inc., 247 N.L.R.B. 146, 146-47

(1980). Given the arbitrator's explicit statement that he

was not resolving the statutory issue, and the fact that

he did not have all the relevant evidence before him, we

cannot hold that the Board abused its discretion in

refusing to defer to the arbitral award. See Monsanto

Chemical Co., 130 N.L.R.B. 1097, 1099 (1961) (refused to

defer where arbitrator explicitly declined to pass on

statutory issue although submitted to him).

IV.

THE FINDINGS OF SINGLE EMPLOYER,

UNIT DETERMINATION, AND ALTER EGO

We turn then to the respondents’ challenge on the

principal issue decided by the Board, which agreed with

the ALJ's finding that ABI and Harrisburg Drywall

were a single employer, that Harrisburg Drywall was

ABI’s alter ego, and that Associates was the alter ego

and disguised continuance of its predecessors ABI and

Harrisburg Drywall. Because of unique problems in the

construction industry, the Board will accept a double

Al6

Appendix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983.

breasted operation under certain circumstances.

However, an employer will be guilty of a failure to

bargain violation for a double breasted operation if the

Board finds that both entities are a single employer

within the meaning of the NLRA and the combined

employees form an appropriate bargaining unit. See

South Prairie Construction Co. v. Local No. 627,

International Union of Operating Engineers, 425 U.S.

800 (1976) (per curiam). The bargaining unit issue need

not arise when there has been an alter ego finding, at

least in the situation where a successor company is the

‘disguised continuance” of its predecessor. In NLRB v.

Scott Printing Corp., 612 F.2d 783 (3d Cir. 1979), we

upheld the Board's finding that a section 8(a)(5) violation

could occur where a new employer was found to be the

disguised continuance of the old employer without

inquiring into the appropriateness of the bargaining unit.

See also Carpenters Local Union No. 1846 v. Pratt-

Farnsworth, Inc., 690 F.2d 489, 508-09 (5th Cir. 1982)

(Board will generally not consider the unit except to the

extent it is repugnant to NLRA policy); Comment,

Double-Breasted Operations in the Construction

Industry: A Search for Concrete Guidelines, 6 U. Dayton

L. Rev. 45, 47 (198]) (hereafter Dayton Comment).

A. ABland Harrisburg Drywall as a Single Employer

Four criteria have been used by the Board in

determining whether separate entities constitute a single

employer: interrelation of operations, common

management, centralized control of labor relations, and

common ownership. Radio & Television Broadcast

Technicians Local Union 1264 v. Broadcast Service of

Al7

Appendix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983.

Mobile, Inc., 380 U.S. 255, 256 (1965) (per curiam); see

also NLRB ov. Browning-Ferris Industries of

Pennsylvania, Inc., 691 F.2d 1117, 1121-22 & 1121 n.1

(3d Cir. 1982); Sakrete of Northern California, Inc. v.

NLRB, 332 F.2d 902, 905 n.4 (9th Cir. 1964), cert.

denied, 379 U.S. 961 (1965); Parklane Hosiery Co., 203

N.L.R.B. 597, 612 (1973). The Board finds no one factor

controlling, although it has stressed the first three

factors, particularly centralized control of labor relations,

which tend to show “operational integration.’’ Jd.; see

also NLRB v. Jordan Bus Co., 380 F.2d 219, 222 (10th

Cir. 1967); Parklane Hosiery Co., 203 N.L.R.B. at 612.

Ultimately, single employer status depends on all the

circumstances of the case and is characterized by

absence of an ‘‘arm’s length relationship found among

unintegrated companies.’ Local No. 627 International

Union of Operating Engineers v. NLRB, 518 F.2d 1040,

1045-46 (D.C. Cir. 1975), aff'd on this issue per curiam

sub nom. South Prairie Construction Co. v. Local No.

627, International Union of Operating Engineers, 425

U.S. 800 (1976); see NLRB v. Don Burgess Construction

Corp., 596 F.2d 378, 384 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 444 U.S.

940 (1979).

The single employer question is primarily factual, and

the Board’s conclusion must be upheld if supported by

substantial evidence. NLRB v. Lantz, 607 F.2d 290, 295

(9th Cir. 1979); see Suburban Transit Corp. v. NLRB, 499

F.2d 78, 80 n.1 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 1089

(1974).

In a detailed discussion of the facts, the ALJ

reviewed the ample evidence of the integration of the

two entities. Harrisburg Drywall shared ABI’s office

Als

Appendix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983.

building, equipment and personnel. ‘‘[T]he only assets of

a corporeal nature retained by Harrisburg Drywall were

a single, 1974 vintage van, and some office equipment

inherited from Premici’s firm.... Harrisburg Drywall

had no warehouse, engineering, sales or clerical force, but

individuals employed by ABI served the former's needs

in these areas. All utility costs, including gasoline,

electricity, telephones, incurred by Harrisburg Drywall

and ABI were paid by ABI.’’ There were no written

agreements evidencing the “housing” arrangement or

ABI’'s provision of equipment, administrative support

and expenditures for overhead costs. Payment for rent

and other overhead expenses, including headquarters’

staff salaries, was made annually according to the gross

volume of Harrisburg Drywall’s business relative to

ABI’'s, which the ALJ found was hardly indicative of

“arm's length’ dealing. The ALJ characterized

Harrisburg Drywall’’ as a operational shell with no

independent administrative capacity and little in the way

of capital assets.’ He further stated, ‘this was

complemented by integration of ABI resources upon the

operations of Harrisburg Drywall at every level, from

management to craftsmen who performed on the job

site.'" Bryant pertormed many managerial functions for

Harrisburg Drywall. Jean Hoffman signed checks and

purchased supplies for Harrisburg Drywall. Larry

McClain, ABI’s coordinator, also served as Harrisburg

Drywall’s coordinator. Harrisburg Drywall’s president,

Charles May, was usually absent from the office,

spending most of his time in the field supervising

employees and performing carpentry tasks.

Alg

Appendix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appecls for the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983.

There is substantial evidence to support the ALJ's

critical finding, affirmed by the Board, that the two

companies shared centralized labor relations control. He

found, for example, that

the integration of the two entities is further

evidenced by the frequent and seemingly at random

interchange of craftsmen as between Harrisburg

Drywall and ABI. In several instances, carpenters

would work for both firms during the same work

week. This occurred in excess of 50 times in 1979, on

30 occasions in 1978, and in excess of 80 in 1977. On

at least two occasions, the same employee worked

for both firms in a single day. Carpenter Gulliver

testified that the only way he could tell which firm

he was working for was the designation on the

payroll check. The lack of separate indentity of the

respective work forces of Harrisburg Drywall and

ABI is indicated by the fact that in 1977, 10 of the

14 employees on the payroll of Harrisburg Drywall

had also worked for ABI, in 1978, 8 Harrisburg

Drywall employees had worked for ABI, while in

1979, 6 Harrisburg Drywall employees had also

appeared on the payroll of ABI.

(footnotes omitted).

Respondents do not appear to seriously question the

factual underpinnings which led the ALJ and the Board

to conclude that ABI and Harrisburg Drywall were a

single employer. Instead they argue that there is no

evidence in the record to indicate that any work which

was traditionally ‘union’ work was transferred to the

non-union side of the double breasted operation, and

A20

Appendix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983.

they suggest that we should impose such a requirement

before 8(a)(5) and (1) liability is imposed in double

breasted cases. The Board authority upon which

respondents rely, United Constructors & Goodwin

Construction Co., 233 N.L.R.B. 904 (1977), does not

support the proposition. In the United Constructors case

there were several factors which led the Board not to

find a single employer in the double breasted context,

including lack of participation of the first firm’s owners

in the day-to-day operation of second firm, lack of

simultaneous supervision by the sane personnel and use

of written leases utilizing standard rates. As _ the

foregoing discussion indicates, the ABI-Harrisburg

Drywall situation presents far different facts.

We see no reason to adopt respondents’ suggestion

that ‘‘subterfuge’’ is necessary before finding that two

employers are bound to each other's contracts. A

contractor engaged in a double breasted operation has

the best of both worlds, since it can bid through its

union company when jobs require union contractors but

can underbid a unionized company through its second

operation on jobs that do not require union contractors.

See Dayton Comment at 45-46. There is evidence in this

case that that is precisely how Bryant used the ABI and

Harrisburg Drywall companies. During the course of a

meeting with union representatives Bryant stated he

owned both a ‘“‘union”’ and ‘‘open shop” company and that

he would use the open shop company as ‘‘an alternative’

if the unions ‘‘were going to force him to do so.’’ Where the

same employees can be and are, as in this case, switched

back and forth between a union and non-union payroll,

the benefits which the employees reap from the union's

A21

Appendix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983.

collective bargaining can be diluted or dissipated.

Furthermore, such an arrangement can generate

confusion and disputes since the employee may be paid

different wages, as occurred here, depending on which

entity kept him on the payroll a particular day. The

Board should be free to apply its expertise in the field of

labor relations to hold that when the factual

prerequisites of finding a single employer and

appropriate unit are present, sections 8(a)(5) and (1) apply

even without proof that union work was transferred to

the nonunion side. No such requirement was suggested

when the Supreme Court was presented with the single

employer issue, see South Prairie Construction Co. v.

Local No. 627, supra, and we decline to impose one.

B. The Board's Unit Determination

The Board recognizes sections 8(a)(5) and (1) of the Act

apply to entities functioning as a single employer only if

there is a finding that their aggregate employees

constitute an appropriate bargaining unit. See South

Prairie Construction Co. v. Local No. 627, 425 U.S. at

803-05; see also NLRB v. Lantz, 607 F.2d at 297. In this

case the ALJ found that a unit consisting of the

“carpenters employed by ABI and Harrisburg Drywall”

was appropriate after considering ‘‘the functional

integration of the operations, the similarity of the work

performed and common skills of the employees, the

extent of centralized management and supervision, the

high incidence of temporary interchange, as well as

centralized control of labor relations including the hiring

and assignment of employees between jobs and firms.”’

In affirming the ALJ’s conclusion the Board also

referred to the identical nature of the services provided.

A22

Appendix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983.

The Board's determination of the scope of a bargaining

unit will not be overturned by the court absent a finding

“that the Board has acted in a manner that is

‘unreasonable and arbitrary.’’’ NLRB v. Saint Francis

College, 562 F.2d 246, 249 (3d Cir. 1977).

Respondents argue that this unit determination was

inappropriate because the Board allegedly failed to follow

its decision in A-1 Fire Protection, Inc., 250 N.L.R.B. 217

(1980), remanded sub nom. Road Sprinkler Fitters Local

Union No. 669 v. NLRB, 676 F.2d 826 (D.C. Cir. 1982).

In the A-] case, however, the Board had viewed the

union's action in voluntarily acquiescing to the exclusion

of one group of a single employer's employees from a

collective bargaining agreement as a _ voluntary

agreement on unit scope. Respondents here argue that

because an agreement was negotiated with Keystone

subsequent to Bryant's absorption of Harrisburg

Drywall, the A-/ case is applicable. The Board, however,

distinguishes the A-/ situation on the ground that

Bryant, rather than frankly advising the union of his

operation of Harrisburg Drywall at the time of the

contract negotiations, instead concealed his operation

and asserted that he had “nothing to do” with

Harrisburg Drywall’s operation and that he did not “run

it.”’ In light of this fact, the Board was not bound to find

that the union ‘voluntarily acquiesced” in a _ unit

determination which excluded the employees of the

nonunion company.

Given our narrow scope of review over a_ unit

determination and the substantial evidence on the record

to support the Board’s finding of an appropriate unit, we

find no basis to overturn its conclusion that ABI and

A23

Appendix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit of June 30, 19893.

Harrisburg Drywall violated sections 8(a)(5) aud (1) by

failing to recognize the charging unions and failing to

apply the negotiated agreements to the combined

employees.’

C. Associates as an Alter Ego

Respondents argue that the Board's finding that

Associates was the alter ego of ABI and Harrisburg

Drywall is not supported by substantial evidence. ‘‘[T'Jhe

focus of the alter ego doctrine, unlike that of the single

employer doctrine, is on the existence of a disguised

continuance or an attempt to avoid the obligations of a

collective bargaining agreement through a sham

transaction or a technical change in operations.”’

Carpenters Local !/nion No. 1846 v. Pratt-Farnsworth,

Inc. 690 F.2d at 508; see also Comment, Dual

Companies—When Does a Union Have the Right to

Expanded Representation?, 12 U.S.F. L. Rev. 89, 93

(1977).

Like the single employer finding, the finding that one

company is the alter ego of another is a question of fact.

See Southport Petroleum Co. v. NLRB, 315 U.S. 100, 106

(1942). The factors to which the Board looks are the

substantial identity of management, business purpose,

operation, equipment, customers, supervision and

ownership between the old and new corporations. See

Carpenters Local Union No. 1846, 690 F.2d at 507. There

is substantial evidence to support the finding that

* Since we find there was substantial evidence to support the Board's

conclusions that ABI and Harrisburg Drywall were a single employer

and that the bargaining unit was appropriate, we need not reach its

finding that Harrisburg Drywall was ABI's alter ego.

A24

Appendix A— Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983.

Associates is the alter ego in disguised continuance of

ABI and Harrisburg Drywall. Associates was created to

perform the same kind of work as ABI and Harrisburg

Drywall. It occupied the same building, and shared some

areas of its office and warehouse. It assumed the utility

bills previously paid by ABI, rented ABI’s office

furniture, equipment and scaffolding, and employed

substantially unchanged ABI staff. Five of the six

nonmanagerial headquarters employees who had worked

for ABI were transferred to Associate's payroll in the

first week of its operation and the sixth was transferred

shortly thereafter. Associates took its initial field staff

from the other companies. ABI’s three managers were

transferred to Associates’ payroll and continued to

perform similar managerial functions in that capacity.

Furthermore, it is significant, if not crucial, that

Associates was created after the filing of unfair labor

practice charges against ABI and Harrisburg Drywall,

and substantial evidence supports the ALJ's finding that

it was a ‘disguised continuance...through which

contractual obligations to Keystone and Western and

putative statutory remedies were to be avoided.’’ As the

ALJ found, Associates

was formed with knowledge of the labor difficulties

and unfair labor practice charges confronting ABI

and Harrisburg Drywall, and continued with an

identical business purpose and _ objective.

Administrative, managerial, sales, engineering,

warehousing and clerical employees were simply

removed from the payroll of one firm one day and

appeared on the payroll of the other the next. For

the first 5 months of its existence, [Associates] drew

A25

Appendix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983.

exclusively from the Harrisburg Drywall blue collar

work force. Like Harrisburg Drywall, it utilized the

equipment of ABI and shared administrative and

clerical support with that firm.

Respondents dispute the characterization of Associates

as the alter ego of the other two companies principally

by objecting to the ALJ's finding that Bryant

“continued to function as the principal source of

[Associates’’] policy and executive authority."’ This

finding was based in part on the ALJ's credibility

determination. In addition, there was evidence that

Bryant spent up to five days a week in the joint

ABI/Associates offices, that ABI's activities were

practically at a standstill, that Bryant was frequently

“consulted’"’ about Associates’ business, that Bryant's

salary under a ‘‘consulting agreement’’ with Associates

was twice that of its president, and that he exercised

some supervision over sales personnel. This evidence

supports the finding that Bryant retained sufficient

control over the affairs of Associates to meet the alter

ego criteria applied by this court in NLRB v. Scott

Printing Corp., supra. As we indicated earlier, it is

unnecessary to embark on a unit determination analysis

once there is adequate evidence to support the finding

that Associates was the alter ego of the other two

companies.

Since we find that there was substantial evidence to

support the Board's findings that ABI and Harrisburg

Drywall were a single employer, that their carpenter

employees constituted an appropriate bargaining unit,

and that Associates was the alter ego of the other two

companies, it follows that the Board’s finding that

respondents violated sections 8(a)(5) and (1) of the Act

was proper.

A26

Appendix A—Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit of June 30, 1983.

f

THE ALJ'S CONDUCT

The respondents’ claim that the ALJ's conduct

deprived them of a fair hearing. They complain that he

evidenced hostility to Bryant and his attorney, that he

seemingly had prejudged issues before all the evidence

was in, and that he took on the qualities of an advocate

in his examination of witnesses.

The Board considered this claim and concluded that,

“Iwhile we believe some of the statements made by the

Administrative Law Judge at the hearing may have been

ill-chosen; upon our full review of the record and the

Decision of the Administrative Law Judge, we perceive

no evidence that he prejudged the case, made prejudicial

rulings, or demonstrated bias, hostility, and prejudice

toward Respondents’ counsel.’’ The Board found no

evidence of partiality in the ALJ's examination of

respondents’ witnesses or in his analysis and discussion

of the evidence. The conduct of the ALJ did not in all

instances project the image of a patient, impartial

adjudicator. Nevertheless, the record does not establish

that the respondents failed to receive a fair hearing.

VI.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, we will grant the Board's

application for enforcement of its order.

A True Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

A27

Opinion of the National Labor Relations Board

of February 11, 1982.

FJZ

260 NLRB No. 10 D—8480

Harrisburg, PA

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Before The National Labor Relations Board

AL BRYANT, INC., HARRISBURG DRYWALL AND

CONSTRUCTION CORPORATION, AND AL

BRYANT ASSOCIATES, INC.

(Case 6—CA—12800)

i and

UNITED BROTHERHOOD OF CARPENTERS AND

JOINERS OF AMERICA, CARPENTERS’

DISTRICT COUNCIL OF WESTERN

PENNSYLVANIA, AFL-CIO

and

KEYSTONE DISTRICT COUNCIL OF THE UNITED

BROTHERHOOD OF CARPENTERS AND JOINERS

OF AMERICA, AFL—CIO

(Cases 6—CA—13716 and

6—CA—13914)

A28

Appendix A—Opinion of the National Labor

Relations Board of February 11, 1982.

DECISION AND ORDER

ENTERED FEBRUARY 11, 1982

On July 27, 1981, Administrative Law Judge Joel A.

Harmatz issued the attached Decision in this proceeding.

Thereafter, Respondents filed exceptions and a

supporting brief and Keystone District Council of the

United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of

America, AFL—CIO, filed exceptions and a brief in

opposition to exceptions filed by Respondents.

Pursuant to the provisions of Section 3(b) of the

National Labor Relations Act, as amended, the National

Labor Relations Board has delegated its authority in this

proceeding to a three-member panel.

The Board has considered the record and the attached

Decision in light of the exceptions and briefs and has

decided to affirm the rulings, findings,' and conclusions?

of the Administrative Law Judge and to adopt his

recommended Order,’ as modified herein.

' Respondents except to the Administrative Law Judge's Decision as

being tainted with bias, hostility, and prejudice. We find these

allegations to be without merit. While we believe some of the

statements made by the Administrative Law Judge at the hearing

may have been ill-chosen, upon our full review of the record and the

Decision of the Administrative Law Judge, we perceive no evidence

that he prejudged the case, made prejudicial rulings, or demonstrated

bias, hostility, and prejudice towards Respondents’ counsel. We

further find no evidence of partiality in the Administrative Law

Judge's examination of Respondents’ witnesses or his analysis and

discussion of the evidence. Given this ruling, we deny Kesnondents’

request for the Board to listen to the tapes of this proceeding.

At fn. 2 of his Decision, the Administrative Law Judge admonished

Respondents’ counsel for moving the Administrative Law Judge to

recuse himself in their post-hearing brief rather than before the

“appropriate reviewing authority." The Administrative Law Judge

(Footnote continued on following page)

A29

Appendix A—Opinion of the National Labor

Relations Board of February 11, 1982.

(Footnote continued from preceding page)

erred. Sec. 102.37 of the Board's Rules and Regulations requires the

party requesting an administrative law judge to disqualify himself to

do so before the administrative law judge files his decision. Further,

Sec. 102.41 of the Board's Rules and Regulations provides that an

objection to the conduct of the hearing may be included in the record.

Respondents have excepted to certain credibility findings made by

the Administrative Law Judge. It is the Board's established policy

not to overrule an administrative law judge's resolutions with respect

to credibility unless the clear preponderance of all of the relevant

evidence convinces us that the resolutions are incorrect. Standard

Dry Wall Products, Inc., 91 NLRB 544 (1950), enfd. 188 F.2d 362 (3d

Cir. 1951). We have carefully examined the record and find no basis

for reversing his findings.

* We agree with the Administrative Law Judge's finding that ABI

and Harrisburg Drywall are single employers under the Act. We

further agree that the employees of ABI and Harrisburg Drywall

constitute an appropriate unit. However, we do so solely because

these employees share a sufficient community of interest based on the

following findings: The firms provide subcontracting services of an

identical nature in a segment of the construction industry; the

employees perform similar work and possess common skills; the

management, supervision, and contro! of labor relations of the

employees is centralized; and there is a high incidence of temporary

interchange of employees between the two firms.

We agree with the Administrative Law Judge that deferral to the

arbitrator's award which was introduced into evidence is

inappropriate in the instant case. In so doing, we find that the

arbitrator expressly declined to resolve the statutory issue before us.

Thus, in his decision the arbitrator expressly stated that the “basic

question before the Arbitrator is whether Harrisburg Drywall is a

‘subsidiary’ or ‘subsidiary building construction company’ of Al

Bryant Inc....'' within the intendment of the contract. He

specifically stated that his role was limited to interpreting the terms

of the agreement and did ‘‘not extend to enforcing the provisions of

the Labor Management Relations Act.’ The arbitrator then found

that the NLRB and court cases cited to him by the Union were not

enlightening as to the definition of a ‘‘subsidiary’’ and thus he relied

on dictionary definitions. Based on the tenor of the arbitrator's entire

decision, it is clear he did not consider the statutory issue. It is also

(Footnote continued on following page)

A30

Appendix A—Opinion of the National Labor

Relations Board of February 11, 1982.

( Footnote continued from preceding page)

clear that the arbitrator did not have the same evidence before him as

in the instant case. For example, he had neither the employment

rosters of Harrisburg Drywall nor any information that Bryant

signed bids for Harrisburg Drywall.

Having found for the above reasons that deferral is unwarranted, we

find it unnecessary to pass or rely on the Administrative Law

Judge's discussion and conclusion that the arbitrator's decision was

repugnant to the policies of the Act.

*In “The Remedy” section of his Decision, the Administrative Law

Judge recommended that Respondents be ordered to apply their

collective-bargaining agreement with United Brotherhood of

Carpenters and Joiners of America, Carpenters’ District Council of

Western Pennsylvania, AFL—CIO (Western) “retroactively without

time limit ....'’ However, our normal remedy for violations of this

nature is limited to the 10(b) period. We see no reason to extend the

remedy beyond that period in this case. Accordingly, we shall order

Respondents to apply their collective-bargaining agreement with

Western retroactive to April 3, 1979, the beginning of the 10(b)

period.

The Administrative Law Judge also recommended that Respondents

be ordered to reimburse the trust funds provided for in the collective-

bargaining agreements and to remit contributions it failed to make on

behalf of unit employees of Harrisburg Drywall and Al Bryant

Associates ‘‘with interest.” Because the provisions of employee

benefit fund agreements are variable and complex, the Board does not

provide at the adjudicatory stage of a proceeding for the addition of

' interest at a fixed rate on unlawfully withheld fund payments. We

leave to the compliance stage the question whether Respondents

must pay any additional amounts into the benefit funds in order to

satisfy our ‘‘make-whole” remedy. These additional amounts may be

determined, depending upon the circumstances of each case, by

reference to provisions in the documents governing the funds at issue

and, where there are no governing provisions, to evidence of any loss

directly attributable to the unlawful withholding action, which might

include the loss of return on investment of the portion of funds

withheld, additional administrative costs, etc., but not collateral

losses. Merryweather Optical Company, 240 NLRB 1213 (1979).

A3l

Appendix A—Opinion of the National Labor

Relations Board of February 11, 1982.

ORDER

Pursuant to Section 10(c) of the National Labor

Relations Act, as amended, the National Labor Relations

Board adopts as its Order the recommended Order of the

Administrative Law Judge, as modified below, and

hereby orders that the Respondents, Al Bryant, Inc.,

Harrisburg Drywall and Construction Corporation, and

Al Bryant Associates, Inc., Harrisburg, Pennsylvania,

their officers, agents, successors, and assigns, shall take

the action set forth in the said recommended Order, as so

modified:

1. Substitute the following for paragraphs 2(a), (c),

and (d):

“(a) Recognize United Brotherhood of Carpenters and

Joiners of America, Carpenters’ District Council of

Western Pennsylvania, AFL—CIO, as the exclusive

representative of the employees of Harrisburg Drywail

and Construction Corporation in the aforesaid unit with

respect to rates of pay, wages, hours of employment, and

other terms and conditions of employment and apply the

terms of the appropriate collective-bargaining agreement

negotiated by CPSA and said labor organization

retroactive to April 3, 1979.”

“(c) Jointly and severally make the employees within

said unit of Harrisburg Drywall and Construction

Corporation and Al Bryant Associates, Inc., who are

represented by Keystone District Council of the United

Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America,

AFL—CIO, whole for any loss of earnings or other

compensation they may have been denied since March

19, 1979, by the refusal to apply the terms of the

A32

Appendix A—Opinion of the National Labor

Relations Board of February 11, 1982.

collective-bargaining agreement to them, and reimburse

the appropriate trust funds provided therein for those

contributions which it has failed to make on behalf of

said employees, in the manner set forth in the section of

this Decision entitled ‘The Remedy,’ as modified.

‘“(d) Jointly and severally make the employees within

said unit of Harrisburg Drywall and Construction

Corporation, who are represented by United Brotherhood

of Carpenters and Joiners of America, Carpenters’

District Council of Western Pennsylvania, AFL—CIO,

whole for any loss of earnings or other compensation

they may have been denied since April 3, 1979, by the

refusal to apply the terms of the collective-bargaining

agreement to them, and reimburse the appropriate trust .

funds provided therein for those contributions which it

has failed to make on behalf of said ernployees in the

manner set forth in the section of this Decision entitled

‘The Remedy,’ as modified.”

2. Substitute the attached notice for that of the

Administrative Law Judge.

Dated, Washington, D.C. February 11, 1982

John H. Fanning, Member

Howard Jenkins, Jr., Member

Don A. Zimmerman, Member

(SEAL) NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

A33

Appendix A—Opinion of the National Labor

Relations Board of February 11, 1982.

APPENDIX

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEES

Posted by Order of the

National Labor Relations Board

An Agency of the United States Government

After a hearing at which all sides had an opportunity to

present evidence and state their positions, the National

Labor Relations Board found that we have violated the

National Labor Relations Act, as amended, and has

ordered us to post this notice.

The Act gives employees the following rights:

To engage in self-organization

To form, join, or assist any union

To bargain collectively through representatives of

their own choice

To engage in activities together for the purpose of

collective bargaining or other mutual aid or

protection

To refrain from the exercise of any or all such

activities.

WE WILL NOT refuse to bargain with United

Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America,

Carpenters’ District Council of Western Pennsylvania,

AFL—CIO, as the exclusive representative of our

employees in the appropriate unit described below by

refusing to recognize and to appiy the terms of the

applicable collective-bargaining agreement with said

labor organization to employees of Harrisburg Drywall

and Construction Corporation. The appropriate unit is:

A34

Appendix A—Opinion of the National Labor

Relations Board of February 11, 1982.

All journeyman carpenters, layout men, and

apprentices employed within the geographic

jurisdiction of United Brotherhood of Carpenters

and Joiners of America, Carpenters’ District Council

of Western Pennsylvania, AFL—CIO, by employer

members designating CPSA as their collective-

bargaining representative (including Al Bryant, Inc.,

Harrisburg Drywall and Construction Corporation,

and Al Bryant Associates, Inc.), but excluding all

other craftsmen, guards and supervisors as defined

in the Act.

WE WILL NOT refuse to bargain collectively with

Keystone District Council of the United Brotherhood

of Carpenters and Joiners of America, AFL—CIO, as

the exclusive representative of our employees in the

appropriate unit described below by refusing to

recognize and to apply the collective-bargaining

agreement with said labor organization to employees

of Harrisburg Drywall and Construction Corporation

and Al Bryant Associates, Inc. The appropriate

collective-bargaining unit is:

All journeyman carpenters, layout men, and

apprentices employed within the geographic

jurisdiction of Keystone District Council of United

Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America,

AFL—CIO, by employer-members designating the

Central Pennsylvania Subcontractors Association as

their bargaining representative (including Al

Bryant, Inc., Harrisburg Drywall and Construction

Corporation, Al Bryant Associates, Inc.), but

excluding all other craftsmen, guards and

supervisors as defined in the Act.

A35

Appendix A—Opinion of the National Labor

Relations Board of February 11, 1982.

WE WILL NOT in any like or related manner

interfere with, restrain, or coerce our employees in the

exercise of the rights guaranteed them by Section 7 of

the Act.

WE WILL recognize United Brotherhood of

Carpenters and Joiners of America, Carpenters’

District Council of Western Pennsylvania, 4 FL—CIO,

as the exclusive representative of the employees of

Harrisburg Drywall and Construction Corporation in

the appropriate collective-bargaining unit described

above with respect to rates of pay, wages, hours of

employment, and other terms and conditions of

employment, and WE WILL apply the collective-

bargaining agreement with said labor organization to

those employees of Harrisburg Drywall and

Construction Company, retroactively to April 3, 1979.

WE WILL recognize Keystone District Council of

United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of

America, AFL—CIO, as the exclusive representative of

the employees of Harrisburg Drywall and Construction

Corporation and Al Bryant Associates, Inc., in the

appropriate unit described above, with respect to rates

of pay, wages, hours of employment, and other terms

and conditions of employment, and WE WILL apply

the collective-bargaining agreement with said labor

organization to such employees of Harrisburg Drywall

and Construction Corporation and Al Bryant

Associates, Inc., retroactively to March 19, 1979.

WE WILL jointly and severally make our employees

within said unit of Harrisburg Drywall and

Construction Corporation and Al Bryant Associates,

A36

Appendix A—Opinion of the National Labor

Relations Board of February 11, 1982.

Inc., who are represented by Keystone District Council

of the United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners

of America, AFL—CIO, whole for any loss of earnings

or other compensation they may have been denied

since March 19, 1979, by the refusal to apply the

terms of the collective-bargaining agreement to them,

and reimburse the appropriate trust funds provided

therein for those contributions which we have failed to

make on behalf of said employees.

WE WILL jointly and severally make our employees

within said unit of Harrisburg Drywall and

Construction Corporation, who are represented by

United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of

America, Carpenters’ District Council of Western

Pennsylvania, AFL—CIO, whole for any loss of

earnings or other compensation they may have been

denied since April 3, 1979, by the refusal to apply the

terms of the collective-bargaining agreement to them,

and reimburse the appropriate trust funds provided

therein for those contributions which we have failed to

make on behalf of said employees.

AL BRYANT, INC., HARRISBURG DRY-

WALL AND CONSTRUCTION COR-

PORATION AND AL BRYANT,

ASSOCIATES, INC.

(Employer)

a

(Representative) (Title)

A37

Appendix A—Opinion of the National Labor

Relations Board of February 11, 1982.

This is an official notice and must not be defaced by

anyone.

This notice must remain posted for 60 consecutive

days from the date of posting and must not be altered,

defaced, or covered by any other material. Any questions

concerning this notice or compliance with its provisions

may be directed to the Board's Office, )orter Building,

10th Floor, 601 Grant Street, Pittsburgh, PA 15219,

Telephone 412-644-2969.

A38

Opinion of the Administrative Law Judge

of July 27, 1981

JD-359-81

Harrisburg, PA

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Before the National Labor Relations Board

Division of Judges

AL BRYANT, INC., HARRISBURG DRYWALL

AND CONSTRUCTION CORPORATION, and

AL BRYANT ASSOCIATES, INC.,

and

UNITED BROTHERHOOD OF CARPENTERS AND

JOINERS OF AMERICA, CARPENTERS’

DISTRICT COUNCIL OF WESTERN

PENNSYLVANIA, AFL-CIO,

KEYSTONE DISTRICT COUNCIL OF THE UNITED

BROTHERHOOD OF CARPENTERS AND JOINERS

OF AMERICA, AFL-CIO.

Case Nos. 6-CA-12800

6-CA-13716

6-CA-13914

A39

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

Matthew M. Franckiewicz, Esq., of

Pittsburgh, PA, for the

General Counsel.

Thomas A. Beckley, Esq. and

Joseph Rose, Esq. (Beckley &

Madden), of Harrisburg, PA,

for the Respondent.

Ronald L. Gilardi, Esq. (Gilardi &

Cooper), of Pittsburgh, PA, on

behalf of United Brotherhood of

Carpenters and Joiners of America,

Carpenters’ District Council of

Western Pennsylvania, AFL-CIO.

Ira H. Weinstock, Esq., of Harrisburg,

PA, on behalf 5f Keystone District

Council of the United Brotherhood

of Carpenters and Joiners of America,

AFL-CIO.

(Entered July 27, 1981)

A40

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

DECISION

Statement of the Case

JOEL A. HARMATZ, Administrative Law Judge:

This proceeding was heard by the undersigned in

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, on December 10, 11, 12, 1980,

and January 28 and 29, 1981, upon an initial unfair labor

practice charge filed on August 10, 1979 in Case No. 6-

CA-19417, and further charges, resulting in separate

complaints, alleging that Respondents violated 8(a)(1)

and ‘5) of the Act by refusing to recognize the Charging

Parties and to apply the terms of the latter's subsisting

collective bargaining agreements to employees of

Harrisburg Drywall and Al Bryant Associates.' In its

answers, Respondents denied that any unfair labor

practices were committed, and set forth certain

affirmative defenses. Following close of the hearing,

' The original complaint in Case No. 6-CA-12800 issued on May 30,

1980, was amended on September 26, 1980, and was again amended

on November 24, 1980. The original complaint in Case No. 6-CA-

13716, was issued under Case No. 4-CA-10437, on April 30, 1980, and

after transfer to Region 6 of the National Labor Relations Board, was

amended on September 26, 1980, and joined with Case No. 6-CA-

13914 in a second amended complaint, which issued on November 21,

1980. The above proceedings were consolidated by an initial Order

dated August 20, 1980 and a further Order consolidating cases issued

on November 21, 1980.

A4l

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

briefs were filed on behalf of the Respondents,’ the

General Counsel, and the Charging Parties.

Upon the entire record in this proceeding,’ including

direct personal observation of the witnesses while

testifying and their demeanor, and after consideration of

the post-hearing briefs, it is hereby found as follows:

* Respondents, on December 10, 1980, at the close of the first day of

the hearing, charged the undersigned with assuming the role of an

advocate and conducting himself in a manner manifesting a lack of

impartiality. At . at time, and again in response to a ‘Motion to

Recuse” which was made at the outset of the continued hearing on

December 11, 1980, the undersigned responded on the record to the

accusations and charges made by co-counsel for the Respondents. The

aforesaid motion was denied. Respondents’ post-hearing brief to the

undersigned includes some 15 pages iterating its position that the

undersigned denied Respondents a fair and impartial hearing.

Curiousity is aroused that such a tact would be adopted, and such

matters addressed to the undersigned directly at a time when he is

considering the merits, rather than the more appropriate and relevant

course of deferring such matters to the appropriate reviewing

authority.

* Separate motions to correct the official stenographic transcript filed,

respectively, on behalf of the General Counsel and Respondents are

granted but only as set forth below:

Page Line Delete Substitute

59 8 point form

70 15 Blue League's Prevailing Wage

87 5,8 Sebostas Sebacious

98 20 carpenter clerical

161 25 did didn't

197 5 plaintiff Respondent

208 4 partial impartial

216 12 sworn suborning

224 4 conception inception

256 14 interim written

327 19 cauctuous

408 21,24 Gym Gem

440 9 person personally

498 22 represented as

A42

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

Findings of Fact

I. Jurisdiction

Al Bryant, Inc., Harrisburg Drywall and Construction

Corporation, and Al Bryant Associates, Inc., are

Pennsylvania corporations, engaged in the construction

of ceilings, floors and drywall, with their principal office

and place of business located at 2311 Hummingbird

Lane, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. It is alleged by the

General Counsel that the foregoing, at all times material,

have been affiliated business enterprises with common

officers, ownership, directors, management, and

supervision; have formulated and administered a

common labor policy affecting employees of said

operations; have shared common premises and facilities,

have provided services for each other; and have

interchanged personnel with each other;‘ and that, as

such, they “... constitute a single integrated business

enterprise and a single employer within the meaning of

the Act.”

At the hearing it was stipulated that in the course and

conduct of said operations, services valued in excess of

$50,000 were performed by Harrisburg Drywall in 1979,

a representative period, for the Commonwealth of

Pennsylvania. It further was stipulated that the

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania annually purchases

goods and services exceeding $50,000 from sources

beyond said Commonwealth.

The jurisdictional issue, as it affects Respondents,

being predicated solely upon facts pertaining to

* See General Counsel Exhibit 1 (tt).

%

A43

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

Harrisburg Drywall, depends vitally on the alleged single

employer status of all three firms. That issue is also

critical to the refusal to bargain allegations pertaining to

Harrisburg Drywall and Al Bryant Associates. The

latter, having been treated in subsequent sections of this

Decision, and it having been concluded that consistent

with the allegations in the relevant complaints, that

these three firms constitute a single integrated enterprise

and a single employer for purposes of the Act, I find

that Respondents are engaged in commerce within the

meaning of Section 2(6) and (7) of the Act.

II. The Labor Organizations Involved

The complaints allege, the parties at the hearing

stipulated, and I find that United Brotherhood of

Carpenters and Joiners of America, Carpenters’ District

Council of Western Pennsylvania, AFL-CIO, herein

called Western, and Keystone District Council of the

United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of

America, AFL-CIO, herein called Keystone, are labor

organizations within the meaning of Section 2(5) of the

Act.

III. The Alleged Unfair Labor Practices

A. Preliminary Statement

This consolidated proceeding once again raises

questions concerning the propriety under the Act of so-

called ‘double breasted” operations in the construction

industry, whereby distinct legal entities with common

proprietary and managerial attributes function

separately, with one utilized exclusively on a union basis

A44

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

and the other, or others, nonunion. The central figure in

this inquiry is Albert Bryant, who apparently, for a

number of years, has been a factor in the drywall, ceiling

and flooring industry in Pennsylvania. The General

Counsel claims that Al Bryant, Incorporated, herein

referred to as ABI, a firm owned wholly by Bryant and

his wife, was party to collective bargaining agreements

covering ‘‘carpenters’’ negotiated between the Central

Pennsylvania Subcontractors Association, herein called

CPSA, and Keystone and Western, respectively. ABI

was at all times material a contractor engaged in

construction of ceilings, floors and drywall and

functioned as a ‘‘union contractor’ paying union scale

and fringes and honoring the terms of applicable

collective bargaining agreements with Keystone and

Western. On behalf of the General Counsel, it is further

asserted, that Bryant utilized separate corporations:

namely, Harrisburg Drywall Construction Corporation,

herein call Harrisburg Drywall, and commencing on

January 1, 1980, Al Bryant Associates, Inc., herein

called ABA, to bid on and perform identical construction

work, on a non-union or open shop basis. It is claimed

that ABA and Harrisburg Drywall, together with ABI,

constitute a single integrated enterprise with ABI, that

all three were therefore, through ABI’s membership in

CPSA and the latter's authority to negotiate on behalf of

ABI, bound to CPSA’s contracts with Keystone and

Western.

Respondents, by way of defense raise a myriad of

procedural and substantive issues. It is asserted that

inasmuch as Keystone and Western both acquired

knowledge that Harrisburg Drywail and ABA were

A45

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

functioning on a non-union basis more than six months

prior to the filing of any unfair labor practice charge, the

complaints issued on their behalf were time-barred by

virtue of Section 10(b) of the Act. Furthermore, in

connection with the claims registered on behalf of

Keystone, Respondents point to the fact that the issue of

whether Harrisburg Drywall was bound to any

agreement with that labor organization was submitted to

arbitration in 1979, with a hearing held before Arbitrator

James M. Harkless, on July 6 and 7, 1979, wherein the

Union's grievance in quest of such determination was

denied. On behalf of Respondents, it is asserted that said

award is entitled to binding force pursuant to the

Spielberg doctrine.’

With respect to the merits, Respondents deny that

ABI was ever bound as a signatory or party to any

agreement reached between CPSA and Keystone and

Western. It is further asserted, again in the alternative,

that ABI, Harrisburg Drywall, and ABA, were

independent firms, having independent existence, and

lacking in any interrelationship which would confer

single employer or alter ego status so as to permit

enforcement of the National Labor Relations Act in a

manner which would deem them responsible for any

agreements reached by ABI.

B. Background

ABI was formed in 1967 by Albert Bryant. Since its

inception, Albert Bryant has owned 90 percent of its

stock, and his wife Marjorie, the remaining 10 percent.

* Spielberg Manufacturing Company, 112 NLRB 1080.

A46

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

At times material, that firm maintained its principal

offices at 2311 Hummingbird Lane, Harrisburg,

Pennsylvania, and functioned as a union contractor

engaged in the hanging of drywall, the insulation of

ceilings, and the laying of floors.

Insofar as the instant record discloses, the relationship

between ABI and the Carpenters’ Union dated back to

1972, when an agreement was signed, at the request of

Al Bryant, with the International Brotherhood of

Carpenters. That document provided as follows:

Agreement

AGREEMENT between AL BRYANT INC herein

referred to as the Company, and the United

Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America.

The Company agrees to recognize the

jurisdictional claims of the United Brotherhood of

Carpenters and Joiners of America, to work the

hours, pay the wages and fringe benefits and

observe the lawful working conditions (including

lawful union shop agreements) established or agreed

upon by the United Brotherhood of Carpenters and

Joiners of America and the recognized agency of the

locality in which any work of the Company is being

done, with respect to journeymen carpenters

employed by the Company.

No change is to be made in the hours, wages and

other conditions established or agreed upon in any

locality. .

A47

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

The Company will not subcontract any work

within the jurisdiction of the United Brotherhood of

Carpenters and Joiners of America which is to be

performed at the job site except to a contractor who

holds an agreement with the United Brotherhood of

Carpenters and Joiners of America or one of its

subordinate bodies, or who agrees in writing, prior

to or at the time of the execution of his subcontract,

to be bound by the terms of this Agreement.

In consideration of the foregoing the United

Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America

agrees to furnish competent journeymen selected for

reference to jobs upon a non-discriminatory basis,

such furnishing to be made upon request of the

Company and with the Company retaining the right

to reject or accept the applicants for employment.

The United Brotherhood of Carpenters and

Joiners of America agrees that the District Council

or Local Unions having jurisdiction in the respective

areas of the performance of work will maintain

appropriate non-discriminatory facilities for the

registration and referral of persons possessing the

skills required for the performance of work by the

Company. The Company agrees to use said facilities

in filling job vacancies on all projects.

In the event that no such facilities are maintained

or that the facility maintained is unable to fill

requisitions for employees within a 48-hour period,

the Company may employ applicants directly at the

job site on a non-discriminatory basis. In such event

the Company will notify the union of the names and

classifications and the dates of such hirings.

A48

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

There shall be no strike or lockout pending any

dispute being investigated and all peaceable means

taken to bring about a settlement.

The Company will post in places where notices to

employees and applicants for employment are

customarily posted all of the provisions relating to

the above hiring arrangements.

COMPANY:

Al BRYANT, INC.

By [s]

Albert I. Bryant

President

U) TED BROTHERHOOD OF CARPENTERS

AND JOINERS OF AMERICA

By [s]

General President

A49

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

Prior thereto, a sole proprietorship, Harrisburg

Drywall & Construction, was operated in the same field

by an individual, Geno Premici. The latter, through his

firm, had been engaged in drywall insulation and

finishing on a non-union basis. At some point, Premici

sought Bryant's assistance with his financial problems.

In consequence, in 1971, Harrisburg Drywall was

incorporated, with Bryant retaining control, as majority

stockholder, and Premici becoming president and

remaining the principal functionary of the business.

Premici’s association with the new corporation lasted

only about a year and in 1972, his stock was redeemed

by Harrisburg Drywall and Al Bryant retained

ownership of all outstanding shares. Commencing in

1972, ABI, which had leased space at 2311

Hummingbird Lane, from Al Bryant and his wife,

subleased space to Harrisburg Drywall.* Later, Al

Bryant, apparently designated Charles May to be

president of Harrisburg Drywall in November 1975.

Bryant becazne vice-president of that firm and its

secretary. Harrisburg Drywall at no time signed any

agreement or authorized any entity to negotiate with the

Carpenters Union or its affiliates on behalf of its

employees. Harrisburg Drywall engaged in the same

construction activity as ABI but operated on a

nonunion, open shop basis.

In addition to the international agreement,

considerable evidence was adduced reflecting upon ABI’s

obligations pursuant to agreements negotiated by CPSA

with Western and Keystone, respectively. Apparently, in

1974, another employer association, Keystone Building

Contractors Association, herein called KBCA, jointly

* As there was no written lease between ABI and Harrisburg Drywall

this apprently was pursuant to verbal understanding.

A50

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

with CPSA, negotiated a collective bargaining agreement

with Keystone for a term running from May 1, 1974

through April 30, 1977.’ Prior to expiration, that

agreement was supplemented on April 18, 1977, by

agreement between Keystone and CPSA and extended

for a term May 1, 1977 through April 30, 1982. ABI was

a member of CPSA, and Al Bryant was at the time of

the hearing, and for many years before, a director of that

Association. Indeed, when the 1977 supplement was

negotiated, Al Bryant was both the president of CPSA

and the sole spokesman and negotiator for CPSA and it

was Bryant who executed that document on behalf of

CPSA. Notwithstanding Al Bryant’s involvement in the

1977 negotiations it is contended that ABI was at no

time bound by the results of multi-employer negotiations

for ‘‘carpenters.’”’

’ See General Counsel Exhibit 4.

* See General Counsel Exhibit 5.

* The enabling rules of CPSA were not introduced. However, parole

testimony was offered to the effect that employer-members of CPSA

are not bound to collective bargaining agreements negotiated by said

Association absent prior, written authorization to that effect.

Apparently because of differences between the strict carpentry craft

and the work of ‘‘floor layers’, a separate agreement is negotiated by

CPSA for ‘floor layers.’ The dispute in this case centers upon

members of the carpentry craft rather than floor layers. ABI

concedes that CPSA was authorized to bargain on its behalf with

respect to the floor layers, and that it was bound to CPSA's contract

covering them. ABI denies that it had effected such an authorization

with respect to the ‘‘carpenters’’.

A5l

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

Like Keystone, Western had also negotiated a series of

contracts with CPSA. In the 1975 negotiations, Nancy

Linn Shaffer was the chief spokesman for CPSA. She

furnished Western with a list of employers for whom

CPSA was authorized to negotiate. That list included

ABI.'® Three years later, and 1 year after Bryant

negotiated the 1977 supplement with Keystone, Western

in 1978, commenced contract renewal negotiations with

CPSA. Orin Remsnyder was the chief spokesman for the

latter. At the outset of said negotiations, Western

requested and Remsnyder provided a list of contracting

employers. Once mcre, the list included ABI."

While the 1977 Keystone supplement and the 1978

agreement with Western were in effect, ABI adhered to

the terms thereof when operating within the geographic

jurisdiction of each of these respective labor

organizations. Harrisburg Drywall operated non-union

and failed to honor said agreements.

Beginning in 1977, Keystone began to receive

complaints from carpenters employed by Harrisburg

Drywall concerning their retention at less than union

scale. However, no legal recourse was sought until March

19, 1979 when Keystone filed a grievance against ABI

under the basic agreement, seeking to bind Harrisburg

Drywall to the terms of the subsisting agreement.

Arbitrator Harkless, issued his award on October 29,

1979, denying Keystone’s grievance.

'® See General Counsel Exhibit 25.

'! See General Counsel Exhibit 496.

A52

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

While the proceeding before the arbitrator was

pending, unfair labor practice charges were filed on

August 10, 1979, by Keystone in Case No. 4-CA-10417,"

charging ABI with 8(a)(1), 8(a)(3) and 8(a)(5) violations for

utilizing a non-union subsidiary and refusing to recognize

the Union as representative of the employees employed

by Harrisburg Drywall. On October 3, 1979, in Case No.

6-CA-12800, similar charges were filed by Western in

connection with Harrisburg Drywall’s performance of a

job in Venango County, Pennsylvania.

During the pendency of these charges, but prior to the

issuance of complaints thereon, a third corporation,

ABA, was formed. This time Al Bryant relinquished

ownership control. Thus, ABA was capitalized on the

basis of Bryant’s contribution of all of the outstanding

stock of Harrisburg Drywall, and the contribution of

$20,000 cash by Jean Hoffman, and Larry McClain.'* Al

Bryant’s interest in ABA was that of a 30 percent

shareholder. He held the offices of vice-president in

charge of sales and treasurer. Hoffman and McClain each

retain 35 percent of the remaining outstanding shares.

ABA beginning in 1980, like ABI and Harrisburg

Drywall operated as a contractor engaged in the

construction of ceilings, floors and drywall. As was true

of Harrisburg Drywall, ABA function exclusively on a

open shop non-union basis and did not adhere to the

CPSA bargaining agreements.

'* By action of the General Counsel on August 15, 1980, Case No.

4-CA-10417 was transferred to Region 6 of the National Labor

Relations Board and redesignated Case No. 6-CA-13716.

“ Hoffman and McClain at the time were key employees of ABI. In

addition, Hoffman was an officer and director of both ABI and

Harrisburg Drywall.

A53

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

Thereafter, on October 6, 1980, an unfair labor practice

charge implicating ABA was filed by Keystone in Case

No. 6-CA-13914. The charges, as amended, alleged, inter

alia, that ABI, ABA, and Harrisburg Drywall refused to

bargain with Keystone as representative selected and

designated by an employee majority.

C. Concluding Findings

1. The 10(b) Issue.

The threshold question is whether the 10(b) defense

was raised by Respondents in timely fashion.

Respondents failed to affirmatively raise the 10(b)

defense in its various answers. It nevertheless sought

. dismissal on that ground prior to the conclusion of the

General Counsel's case. Based thereon, at that time, the

General Counsel and Charging Parties were apprised by

the undersigned that they would be afforded latitude in

meeting that defense during the hearing. Accordingly,

any possible prejudice in consequence of belated

injection of the 10(b) issue was removed, and the

undersigned ruled that the defense was viable and a

proper subject for litigation.'*

'‘* Having ruled in Respondents’ favor in this regard, Respondents

later moved to amend its answers to this effect. The undersigned

ruled that such action was unnecessary, as a matter of substance, in

view of the ruling set forth in the above text and also improper in the

circumstances. Respondents also contended that under the Federal

Rules of Civil Procedure, pleadings may be amended to conform with re-

spect to issues tried ‘‘by express or implied consent of the parties .. ."’.

In this respect, Respondents rely on the fact that as evidence

supporting the 10(b) defense was elicited without objection by either

the General Counsel or Charging Parties, this constitutues ‘implied

consent."’ Although the issue need not be reached, I find no merit in

this view. I am not convinced that the facts in question were

introduced under conditions conveying knowledge, appreciation,

understanding, or suspicion, that they might be seized upon later to

support the 10(b) defense.

A54

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

The General Counsel and Charging Parties seek

reconsideration of this ruling. However, contrary to their

view, those asserting the 10(b) defense assume no

obligation that it be pleaded affirmatively. It is sufficient

that the matter be raised in timely fashion. See e.g.,

Vitronic Division of Penn Corporation, 239 NLRB 45. In

this instance, the matter was raised at a time and under

conditions which permitted litigation of the matter

without prejudice to the parties, and without undo

prolongation of the proceeding. The ruling made in this

regard at the hearing is reaffirmed.

Section 10(b) of the Act precludes the maintenance of a

complaint upon conduct occuring ‘‘more than six months

prior to the filing of the charge.’’ Harrisburg Drywall

plainly was engaged in operations well in advance of the

10(b) period. However, the onus was upon Respondents

to demonstrate that the Charging Parties were aware

that ABI was engaging in actionable conduct through

Harrisburg Drywall more than 6 months before the filing

of the charges herein. In this connection, undenied

evidence establishes that Harrisburg Drywall was

operating non-union and that Keystone was aware

Western suspected this fact more than 6 months before

filing the charges that formed the predicate for this

proceeding. Thus, with respect to Keystone the initial

charge herein was filed on August 10, 1979. Robert Getz,

the secretary-treasurer of Keystone, testified in the

arbitration proceeding on July 6, 1979, that in 1977, a

union member, Ortega, complained about wages he was

receiving from Harrisburg Drywall and that Bryant was

A55

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

operating an open shop.'* Getz acknowledged that this

was confirmed through his investigation in January 1979

of health and welfare records reflecting contributions of

union members that he knew to be working full-time

under Bryant’s aegis but were not receiving full-time

credits. He further testified that on questioning the

members as to the amount of hours they were working,

he learned that they had been working part-time for

Harrisburg Drywall.'*

With respect to Western, the initial unfair labor

practice charge was filed on October 3, 1979. Insofar as

this record discloses, Western acquired knowledge of

Harrisburg Drywall in connection with a subcontract

awarded by the State of Pennsylvania to that firm on the

Polk Center located in Venango County, Pennsylvania, a

site within the geographic jurisdiction of the latter.

Respondents point to the testimony of George Garfield,

a business representative of Western in this connection.

Garfield testified that he noticed from a “Dodge

Report’’’’ that Harrisburg Drywall had the job at Polk.

He telephoned the number appearing and the person

answering the phone identified himself as Al Bryant.

‘In addition to the foregoing, Richard W. Martz, a business agent

for Keystone testified before the arbitrator on July 6, 1979 that he

first learned that Bryant was operating two shops when Ortega

his complaint in 1977.

'* George Gulliver, the son-in-law of Getz, testified that he was hired

by ABI in August 1978 and further confirmed that on November 19,

1978, after receiving his first paycheck from Harrisburg Drywall, he

informed Getz that he had worked for Harrisburg Drywall, and that

from this discussion, it was evident that Getz already knew that

Harrisburg Drywall was non-union.

‘The “Dodge Report” is a publication, identifying contractors and

subcontractors on contracts let in the construction industry.

A56

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

Bryant was asked if he wouldmeed union personnel on

the job, and replied that he would not, because he was

doing the job under Harrisburg Drywall. Garfield

indicated that the job should be performed under

Western's contract with CPSA. According to Garfield,

Bryant did not “seem to agree.” According to Garfield,

it was not until June 1979, and subsequent to this

conversation that work on the Polk Center job actually

commenced. On cross-examination, Garfield placed the

telephone conversation with Bryant as preceding visits

to the job site which occurred approximately in January

1979.

Garfield's testimony must be considered together with

that of Robert Argentine, Western’s executive manager.

Argentine testified that Garfield reported that the Polk

job was being performed by Al Bryant doing business as

Harrisburg Drywall. Because Argentine was informed by

Garfield that “he hadn’t been able to do much with

him ...” toward the end of May, on or about May 23,

1979, he spoke with Bryant on the telephone. Argentine

advised that he expected him to honor the contract at

Polk Center and was informed that Bryant had let the

job to Harrisburg Drywall. Argentine expressed that this

was in violation of the contract, and threatened to “push

it to any extreme ... to see that our contract was

enforced.’’ When Argentine observed that the prevailing

rate had to be paid on the job anyway, and appealed that

it be performed consistent with the contract, Bryant

allegedly responded ‘‘I’ll get back to you.” Bryant never

again contacted Argentine, who prior to the filing of the

charges made several unsuccessful attempts to reach

Bryant.

A57

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

With respect to Western, the evidence does not

substantiate that the latter was apprised of actionable

unfair labor practice until within the 10(b) period. The

10(b) cut-off date with respect to this Charging Party

was April 3, 1979. The record does not permit a firm

finding that Harrisburg Drywall commenced work at the

Polk job as of that date. Obviously, no arguable unfair

labor practice would inure until such time as Harrisburg

Drywall commenced operations under employment terms

distinct from those in the CPSA contract with Western.

The declaration by Bryant of his intention to perform

that job on a non-union basis was not an actionable

unfair labor practice and hence did not activate the

6-month limitation.'"* Furthermore, the indication by

Bryant in the May telephone conversation with

Argentine that he would get back to him, at a very

minimum, conveyed to Western the possibility that there

would be further consideration of its demand with

respect to the Polk job. In sum, it is concluded that

Respondent has failed to meet its burden of proving that

Charging Party Western was put on notice of any unfair

labor practices committed by ABI through Harrisburg

Drywall on or before April 3, 1979.

Unlike the situation with Western, however, it is clear

that Harrisburg Drywall had performed on a non-union

basis within the geographic jurisdiction of Keystone and

that Keystone representatives were aware thereof, more

than 6 months prior to the filing of its unfair labor

practice charge. In the face of the foregoing, the General

Counsel contends that Section 10(b), nonetheless, does

* See e.g., City Roofing Co., 222 NLRB 786, ftn. 1 and California

School of Professional Psychology, 227 NLRB 1657, ftn. 1.

A58

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

not constitute a substantial defense, inasmuch as the

violation was a continuing one, and (2) the facts within

Keystone’s knowledge did not constitute clear an

unequivocal notice, inasmuch as Keystone was not aware

of all the elements establishing that Harrisburg Drywall

and ABI constituted a single employer, and indeed had

been mislead with respect to such matters by Al Bryant

himself.

With respect to (2) above, it is noted that Bryant

himself testified that after Ortega had complained to

Keystone he received a visit from Keystone

representatives Martz and Getz. What transpired on that

occasion was related by Bryant as follows:

All right, they came to my office and said that

they had a complaint from a Mr. Ortega that he was

paid less than scale by Harrisburg Drywall.

I explained to them that I had nothing to do with

Harrisburg Drywall, they said well, you own it, and

I said yes, I do own it but I don’t run it, I have

nothing to do with it.

ey ended up the discussion with me saying

Py, Bercverllny Caper fests about if he

was working for an open shop company, then he has

no valid claim that he was paid less than union

scale, because Harrisburg Drywall is not affiliated

and went back and as they told me they were going

to tell him that he was not entitled to any additional

funds and that there was no complaint against Al

Bryant, Incorporated but would I please do what I

could as the owner of Harrisburg Drywall to see

that it did not use union—members of the union on

their work.

A59

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

This representation by Bryant, if true, would tend

strongly to exonerate Harrisburg Drywall from any

bargaining obligation under the Act or any unfair labor

practices in continuing to operate non-union. “The Board

has pointed out that common ownership, by itself is not

sufficient ... [to establish single employer status].'’ See

United Constructors and Goodwin Construction Co., 233

NLRB ,904. Furthermore, as shall be seen, Bryant had

far more to do with the operations of Harrisburg Drywall

than his own testimony indicates that he conveyed to

union officials in connection with the Ortega matter.

Furthermore, the evidence does not disclose that more

accurate information regarding Bryant’s involvement

came into the hands of Keystone prior to the 10(b) cutoff

date. Relevant to the question presented is the Board’s

statement in Don Burgess Construction Corporation, 227

NLRB 765, 766, to the effect that: “it has long been

recognized that when a party has been injured by fraud

and remains in ignorance of it without any fault or want

of diligence or care on his part, the bar of the statute

does not begin to run until the fraud is discovered. .. .’’

On balance, however, I am not convinced that such an

extension is warranted here. Prior to the 10(b) cutoff

date, Keystone was mindful that its members had been

employed by Harrisburg Drywall, that Harrisburg

Drywall had performed work covered by the

CPSA contract, that Harrisburg Drywall had

not adhered to the terms of that contract,

and that Al Bryant owned Harrisburg Drywall. Those

facts were in no way influenced by any representation

made by Bryant and objectively viewed would strongly

have suggested possible illegality in Harrisburg

A60

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

Drywall’s operations.’ Anomally would result if Section

10(b) were interpreted as tolling the limitation on the

basis of an exculpatory statement by the perpetrator of

unfair labor practices. For example, in virtually all

discriminatory discharge cases, the employer represents

to the discriminatee that the discipline imposed was for a

legitimate reason. The fact that this is later shown to be

pretextual and false could not possibly serve to

neutralize Section 10(b) without eliminating completely

the 6-month limitation in most discharge cases. The

representation attributed to Bryant is no more egregious,

and I find that it did not rise to the level of fraud which

would warrant rejection of the 10(b) defense.

Nonetheless, the inquiry does not end here, for the

General Counsel contends in the alternative that the

abnegation of obligations by an employer or labor

organization under a collective bargaining agreement

constitutes a continuing violation for purposes of Section

10(b). Under this approach, though statutory relief will

not extend beyond the 10(b) cut-off date, the fact that

initial repudiation of the agreement occurred prior

thereto, does not absolve a Respondent from the unfair

labor practices which inure from its continuing failure

* No precedent is called to my attention requiring the offended party

to be aware of all factual elements substantiating an unfair labor

practice before the 10(b) period begins to run. All that is required is

that the “act’’ giving rise to unlawful conduct be known. To require

more would reduce 10(b) to the meaningless. does an

conduct are unknown to the moving party.

A61

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

within the 10(b) period, on demand, to execute or

formerly abide by such agreement. See e.g., Torrington

Construction Company, Inc., 235 NLRB 1540, ftn. 2. In

the instant case, by letter dated March 19, 1979,

Keystone, through its attorney, informed Bryant that

Harrisburg Drywall was covered by the applicable

agreement, and that it was obligated to adhere to the

terms thereof.” By virtue thereof, and Bryant’s failure to

satisfy the demand, I find that the alleged violation, to

the extent predicated upon events on and after March

19, 1979, were within the 10(b) period and are actionable

in this proceeding.

2. ABI’s Obligation Under CPSA Agreements

” The crucial predicate for the allegations in the instant

complaints is that ABI was contractually bound to

CPSA agreements with Western and Keystone.

Respondents deny this to have been the case and if that

view is valid no violations would inure even if ABI,

Harrisburg Drywall and ABA, constituted a single,

integrated employer within the meaning of the Act.

As indicated Keystone and Western both enjoy a

bargaining history on a multi-employer basis with

employers who negotiate through CPSA as their agent

for such purposes. With respect to Keystone, CPSA

executes separate agreements for ‘“‘carpenters’’ and other

members of the carpenters union who are engaged in the

apparently less skilled ‘floor layer’’ classification. As to

Keystone, Al Bryant conceded that he authorized CPSA

to bargain on behalf of ABI with respect to soft floor

* See General Counsel Exhibit 9.

A62

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

layers, but not the ‘‘carpenters’’ on whose behalf this

proceeding is being maintained. Bryant went on to

testify that although ABI is a “union contractor”,

functioning within the geographic jurisdiction of

Keystone and Western, ABI had never become bound to

either labor organization's contract with CPSA covering

‘carpenters’.

Undisputed, believable evidence establishes that CPSA

is an organization which includes as members

subcontractors in the construction industry as well as

others who are not engaged directly in construction work

but who have interests in that industry. The

responsibilities of CPSA include, but are not limited to

negotiating collective bargaining agreements with

various crafts represented by building trade unions.

Although undocumented, I find that CPSA’'s

negotiations with various labor organizations were

binding only upon those of its employer-members who

had afforded prior, written authorization of their

intention to be bound. Although ABI, at least since

1972, had been a member of CPSA, Bryant claims that

he at no time executed such an authorization with

respect to the carpentry craft as represented by either

Keystone or Western. For the reasons set forth below, I

discredit Bryant's testimony in this regard.

Bryant admitted that ABI was a proper party to and

bound by CPSA’s negotiations with respect to soft

layers. Though he acknowledged that ABI utilized

soft floor layers, and “‘carpenters’’, and indeed used the

same individuals to perform both types of work, paying

the rates under the appropriate CPSA contract as the

work of these individuals shifted between the

A63

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

jurisdictional coverage of the agreements, no explanation

was offered as to why ABI would have authorized CPSA

as to one but not the other.

More critical, however, is Bryant’s admitted role in the

affairs of CPSA as they related to Keystone. At that

time of the hearing, Bryant was a director of CPSA and

had occupied that position ‘‘a couple of years’’. He was

president of CPSA when CPSA on April 18, 1977,

executed a memorandum agreement with Keystone,

renewing the terms of an existing contract to April 30,

1982. Al Bryant was not only spokesman for CPSA at

the time, but alone negotiated the agreement binding

upon certain CPSA employer-members. Thus, Bryant, in

his testimony in this proceeding portrays himself as

having used his position within CPSA to negotiate an

agreement binding upon organized competitors, but not

his own firm. Prior to the execution of that document,

Bryant, by letter dated April 15, 1977, wrote Robert

Getz, secretary-treasurer of Keystone, pertaining to

those negotiations, requesting a minor change, which

was justified in Bryant’s own words, as follows:

Bob, as I explained, we as subcontractors can not

sign an agreement stipulating that we will perform

“all the work”’ in view of the fact that we have no

control over the distribution of all the work. We can,

however, agree to perform and/or subcontract that

work which we obtained, which is all the work we

actually control.

A64

Appendix 4 —Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

If this meets with your approval, please call me and

we will arrange to sit down and execute the new

agreement.”

Following execution of the agreement Orin Remsnyder,

the executive director of CPSA, by letter date May 12,

1977, informed Keystone of the employer-members

bound both to the “carpenter” and ‘floor layer”

agreements.” Al Bryant, Inc. was listed in both

categories. Bryant acknowledged having received a copy

of this letter.

The Remsnyder letter is of course highly material to

Respondents’ denial of any contractual commitment with

respect to the ‘“carpenter’’ agreement. Suspicion was

hardly allayed by Bryant’s reaction when he was asked

to identify this document at the hearing. At that time

the following colloquy took place:

Q. (By Mr. Franckiewicz) I’m showing you what's

been marked General Counsel’s Exhibit 7, would you

tell us what that is please?

This is a letter which Orin Remsnyder of C.P.S.A..,

sent to Mr. Getz, with a copy to you, is that

correct?

MR. BECKLEY: Objection to the form of the

question, it presupposes a true statement.

THE WITNESS: I have no record.

* See General Counsel Exhibit 6. In all, the first person plural was

used 7 times by Bryant in this passage.

* See General Counsel Exhibit 7.

A65

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

Q. (By Mr. Franckiewicz) This is a copy you

received of a letter signed by Mr. Remsnyder is that

correct?

MR. BECKLEY: Objection to the form of the

question.

JUDGE HARMATZ: Why dont you'ask him to

identify it.

Q. (By Mr. Franckiewicz) What is this?

A. It appears to be a letter from Mr. Remsnyder to

Mr. Getz, listing those people that are in signed

agreement for the Carpenters and the Soft Floor

Layers.

Q. Okay, and you will notice the carbon copy to Al

Bryant at the bottom?

A. I notice it, but I have no record of having

received it.

Q. All right, at the arbitration proceeding, did you

testify about this letter?

A. I didn’t, no.

Q. Let me see if I can refresh your memory. As a

matter of—

JUDGE HARMATZ: Let him show you the

transcript

THE WITNESS: Yeah, okay.

Q. (By Mr. Franckiewicz) Now, on General

Counsel's exhibit 7, you will notice that I have

scratched out Union exhibit 3, this was Union

exhibit 3 at the arbitration?

A66

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

A. Right.

Q. And you were asked—

MR. BECKLEY: Would you tell vs please, what

your are referring to?

MR. FRANCKIEWICZ: Page 58.

Q. (By Mr. Franckiewicz) You were asked if you

got a copy of that letter marked Union exhibit 3,

that shows a cc at the bottom?

A. Yes.

Q. And you testified yes?

A. Right.

MR. BECKLEY: He's doing it again, sir, let the

witness read on with the testimony.

MR. FRANCKIEWICZ: I'm willing to go on

with the rest of the page, I will read it from the

record.

MR. BECKLEY: Yes, please do that this time.

MR. FRANCKIEWICZ: All right, and _ the

witness was then asked, ‘‘You did receive a copy of

that?”’

“A. I assume so.”

Continuing, ‘“‘Do you notice Al Bryant’s name

listed?” ““Yes, I do.”’

“Q. On both Soft Floor and for Carpenters?”’

“8. Yes.”

A67

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

“Q. Did you ever object to that?”’

a, oa

“Q. When?”

“A. To Mr. Remsnyder, when I received the

letter.”

Any further that you want me to go? I think I've

covered it all.

MR. BECKLEY: I think we could have it

xeroxed, and the rest of it put in.

MR. FRANCKIEWICZ: Well, it’s already in, I

offer General Counsel's exhibit 7.

JUDGE HARMATZ: You couldn't have been

mistaken that you had objected to the name of your

firm appearing on that letter?

THE WITNESS: No, that I couldn’t have been

mistaken.

JUDGE HARMATZ: Okay, and it was the fact

that your firm was listed in that letter, that made

you object?

THE WITNESS: That’s correct, sir.

JUDGE HARMATZ: So you must have received

a copy of that letter?

THE WITNESS: Well, that’s why, as_ the

conversation started, I started to say something

that I remembered a discussion about it, but then I

didn’t know whether I was going to be talking about

the wrong thing, very frankly.

A68

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

JUDGE HARMATZ: Now, with the refreshing

of your recollection,—

THE WITNESS: Yes, sir.

JUDGE HARMATZ: You are positive that you

received a copy?

THE WITNESS: I'm positive I received it.

JUDGE HARMATZ: What is marked as General

Counsel's 7?

THE WITNESS: Yes, sir.

JUDGE HARMATZ:. Okay, so be it.

As indicated in the above extract from the transcript,

Bryant claimed that when he received a copy of

Remsnyder’s letter, he immediately protested, not to

Keystone, but to Remsnyder. Bryant further testified

that Remsnyder was instructed to notify the Union that

CPSA lacked authority to bargain for ABI and that

Remsnyder assured Bryant that he would do so.

In assessing the credulity of this explanation it is of

interest that Bryant himself had been involved in the

process of responding to Keystone’s requests for the

very information that was contained in the Remsnyder

letter. Thus, by letter dated April 18, 1977, Bryant wrote

Keystone as follows:

Attached is a signed copy of the new Agreement

between CPSA and the Keystone District Council of

Carpenters. As you know, CPSA is signing on behalf

of those employers who have given us bargaining

A69

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

rights. Since I do not have a copy of the bargaining

rights in my office, I will send you a list of the

contractors and a photocopy of the bargaining

rights as soon as Orin Remsnyder returns from the

convention in California (next week).

cc: CPSA Office

Bryant obviously chose not to inform Keystone of the

status of ABI at that time.

Remsnyder, in an attempt to corroborate Bryant,

testified that at the time he prepared his subsequent

May 12, letter, he was very new on the job, and did not

understand the nature of Keystone’s “‘repeated’’ requests

for a listing, of CPSA members bound to the new

agreement. He claims not to have really known how to

respond to Keystone. Remsnyder claimed to have

obtained this information, not from Bryant, the president

of CPSA, who himself had testified that he alone

negotiated the contract,” but from Marlin Slough, a

director and member of CPSA.*

* As indicated, a copy of Bryant’s April 18 letter to Keystone

concerning such a listing was sent to ‘“CPSA office’. See General

Counsel Exh. 8.

* Remsnyder testified that the 1977 negotiations were conducted on

behalf of CPSA by Chief Negotiator Marlin Slough. His testimony in

this regard conflicts with Bryant’s own acknowledgement that he

alone negotiated the 1977 agreement with Keystone. Slough did not

testify. I did not believe Remsnyder, and regard it as somewhat

extraordinary that he would consult in preparing the list with anyone

other than Bryant himself, who as president of CPSA alone had

negotiated the agreement and who had written the Union that

submission of this very list would be deferred until Remsnyder’s

return.

A70

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

Remsnyder further testified, that having forwarded a

copy of the May 16 letter to Bryant, he received a

telephone call from the latter. Bryant assertedly

informed “that he had not given CPSA his bargaining

authorization at that time...’’*, whereupon, Remsnyder

claimed to have searched CPSA’s files and found no

bargaining authorization from Bryant. Beyond that,

Remsnyder initially testified that he ‘thought’ that

Bryant asked him to inform the Union of this fact, and

that he ‘“‘thought’’ that he did contract Getz as

directed.”

A further fact casting doubt upon the veracity of

Remsnyder in this respect emerges from Respondents

claim that CPSA had not been authorized by ABI to

bargain with respect to ‘‘carpenters’’ with any labor

organization, including Western. Unexplained, is the fact

that Remsnyder, who would have me believe that he

made a critical error in 1977 by including ABI in the list

of employers bound to the Keystone negotiations,

apparently repeated that mistake in 1978, when a similar

list was delivered by Remsnyder to Western in

connection with CPSA’s negotiation with that labor

organization. Again ABI was listed as among the

contractors having authorized CPSA to bind them with

respect to a contract convering carpenters.”’ Unlike what

** Remsnyder testified that, though he had been employed by CPSA

since July 1976, he had not known previously information that

bargaining authorizations were required before any employer-member

could be bound to the results of CPSA’s negotiations with various

labor organizations.

** Getz denied ever having received such information from any source.

I credit Getz over Remsnyder in this regard. Remsnyder did not

impress as having independent recollection of such matters, and in

any event he was regarded as an unreliable witness.

*" See General Counsel Exhibit 26.

A7l1

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

transpired a year earlier, Remsnyder affords no

explanation as to why ABI was included on the 1978

listing, or whether or not he cleared this matter with Al

Bryant before doing so.

With respect to Western, the denial by Bryant that

ABI had duly authorized CPSA to bind itself is totally

lacking in corroboration. According to _ the

uncontradicted testimony of Robert Argentine,

Western’s executive manager, CPSA first negotiated on

behalf of its employer-members with Western in 1972.

Subsequent negotiations in 1975 and 1978 produced

renewal agreements with the most recent expiring in

1981. Nancy Linn Shaffer was the chief spokesman for

CPSA in 1975, At the request of Western in 1975,

Shaffer provided a list of the contractors represented by

CPSA at the time. ABI was listed among the

‘‘...employers who have granted bargaining

authorizations to CPSA for the 20 county District

Council Carpenters of Western Pennsylvania

Agreement.’ During the 1978 negotiations Orin

Remsnyder was the chief spokesman on behalf of CPSA.

In the course of negotiations a list of the contracting

firms represented by CPSA was requested by Western

and provided by CPSA. ABI was included on the list.”

No claim was registered herein that ABI was included on

the 1975 and 1978 listings erroneously.” Nor is there

** See General Counsel Exhibit 25.

** See General Counsel Exhibit 26.

*In the circumstances, I find the entries on General Counsel's

Exhibits 25 and 26 to be binding upon the Respondents.

Uncontradicted evidence establishes that CPSA delivered the listings

in question to Argentine in the course of CPSA’s negotiations with

Western in 1975 and 1978. With respect to the 1978 negotiations,

(Footnote continued on following page)

A72

Appendix A—Opinion of the Administrative Law

Judge of July 27, 1981.

evidence that ABI had ever notified CPSA or Western

that it had not designated CPSA to bargain in its behalf

with that labor organization.”'

While I reject as unbelievable the testimony of Bryant

and Remsnyder to the effect that CPSA held no written

authorization to bind ABI to negotiated bargaining

agreements with Keystone and Western pertaining to

conditions of work of “carpenters’’, the assertion that

ABI was bound to such agreements is maintainable on

other grounds as well. Thus, under settled Board

authority, an employer may be deemed bound by results

of multi-employer negotiations, even though express

authorization of bargaining authority be withheld, and

the employer had not signed the contract, if the

employer's conduct manifested an intention to be

bound.” The instant cause presents a strong context for

(Footnote continued from preceding page)

Remsnyder's own testimony confirms that, as of that time, he would

have been aware of the significance of listing an employer that had

failed to authorize CPSA to bargain on its behalf. Furthermore,

Remsnyder was available to testify to any circumstances beclouding

the authenticity of General Counsel's Exhibit 26. A circumstantial

chain exists which is corroborative, through inference, of the accuracy

thereof. Furthermore, as CPSA negotiates agreements binding upon

employers executing proper written authorizations as a regular part

of its operations, one might rightfully assume that General Counsel's

Exhibit 26 found its origin in business records regularly maintained

by CP

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.