Petition — Wichita Board of Trade v. United States

Supreme Court brief1984

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ALEXANDER L STEVA

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term. !983

S

|

THE WICHITA BOARD OF TRADE, ET AL.,

Petitioners,

v.

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA AND

THE INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION, ET. AL.,

Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE TENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

CHARLES J. McCARTHY

Counsel of Record

DANIEL J. SWEENEY

1750 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 393-5710

McCARTHY, SWEENEY & HARKAWAY, P.C.

Of Counsel

September, 1983

SS I |S a

DiCesare and Associates Printing @ Washington, D.C. @ (202) 331-8101

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Where this Court directed a district court to resolve the

disposition of a fund, consisting of payments by shippers of

unlawful grain inspection charges collected by railroads

during the period covered by a stay order issued by this

Court, and the district court remanded the issue of

reasonableness of those charges to the Interstate Commerce

Commission, did that court lose the power to comply with

this Court’s directive by failing to state in its remand that it

reserved jurisdiction over the ultimate disposition of the

fund?

2. Where, pursuant to a stay order issued by this Court, a

fund, consisting of payments by shippers for unlawful grain

insvection charges, was accumulated under the jurisdiction

of a district court, did the district court act properiy in

ordering the fund returned to those who bore the unlawful

charges?

3. (a) When this Court has referred to a district court for

decision an issue that was not briefed or argued before this

Court, it is the district court’s duty to decide that issue by

appiying established legal and equitable principles or to try,

by parsing the opinion of the Court, to decide how this

Court would have decided the issue if it had decided it?

(b) Where the district court has decided the issue applying

established legal and equitable principles, may a court of

appeals ignore the merits of the district court’s decision and

reverse, based on its interpretation of this court’s opinion?

4. Where: (1) the charges collected by the railroads while

an appeal was pending in this court are in a fund under the

supervision of a district court; (2) the Interstate Commerce

Commission subsequently found that the charges collected

by the railroads were unlawful; and (3) the statute confers on

shippers an unqualified right to recover the damages

sustained by unlawful action of the railroads, must the

district court nevertheless relegate the shippers who paid the

unlawful charges to complaint proceedings before the

Commission?

5. After a three-judge court has completed its review of a

Commission decision, is the disposition of a fund

accumulated as an incident to such review a matter that can

be determined by a single judge?

Cre P|

iil

LIST OF PARTIES

This Petition is being filed on behalf of the following: The

Wichita Board of Trade, the Board of Trade of Kansas City,

Mo., Board of Trade of the City of Chicago, Omaha Grain

Exchange, Enid Board of Trade, the Hutchison Board of

i rade, Sioux City Grain Exhange, Merchants’ Exchange of

St. Louis, the Denver Grain Exchange Association, Los

Angeles Grain Exchange, Fort Worth Grain Exchange,

Peoria Board of Trade,Utah-ldaho Grain Exchange, State

Corporation Commission of the State of Kansas, Missouri

Department of Agriculture, Kansas Grain & Feed Dealers

Association, National Grain Trade Council, National Grain

and Feed Association, Missouri Farmers Association, Inc.,

Cash Grain Association of the Chicago Board of Trade,

Pacific Northwest Grain Dealers Association, Inc., National

Association of Wheat Growers, Kansas City Grain

Commission Men’s Association, California Grainand Feed

Association, Far-Mar-Co., Inc. FS Services, Inc.,

Producers Grain Corporation, Bunge Corporation, C-G-F-

Grain Company, Inc. Garvey Elevators, Inc. Garvey Grain,

Inc., Lincoln Grain, Inc., Midwestern Grain Company -

Division of Garnac Grain Co, Inc., Masters Grain

Company, Hollander & Feuerhaken, Mohr-Holstein

Commission Co., and Stotler & Company. !

The following list identifies parties to the proceeding in

the Court of appeals for the Tenth Circuit:

The Wichita Board of Trade

The Board of Trade of Kansas City, MO

Board of Trade of the City of Chicago

Omaha Grain Exchange

Enid Board of Trade

'Lauhoff Grain Company is a subsidiary of the Bunge Corporation,

which is a subsidiary of Los Andes N V. C-G-F Grain Company, Inc. isa

subsidiary of Mid-West Industries. Lincoln Grain, Inc. is subsidiary of

Lincoln Industries, Inc.

The Hutchison Board of Trade

Sioux City Grain Exchange

Merchants’ Exchange of St. Louis

The Denver Grain Exchange Association

Los Angeles Grain Exchange

Fort Worth Grain Exchange

Peoria Board of Trade

Utah-Idaho Grain Exchange

State Corporation Commission of the State of Kansas

Missouri Department of Agriculture

Kansas Grain & Feed Dealers Association

National Grain Trade Council

Nationa! Grain and Feed Association

Missouri Farmers Association, Inc.

Cash Grain Association of the Chicago Board of Trade

Pacific Northwest Grain Dealers Association, Inc.

National Association of Wheat Growers

Kansas City Grain Commission Men's Association

California Grain and Feed Association

Far-Mar-Co., Inc.

FS Services, Inc.

Producers Grain Corporation

Bunge Corporation

CGF Grain Company, Inc.

Garvey Elevators, Inc.

Garvey Grain, Inc.

Lincoln Grain, Inc.

Midwestern Grain Company - Division of Garnac Grain

Co., Inc.

Masters Grain Company

Hollander & Feuerhaken

Mohr-Holstein Commission Co.

Stotler & Company

United States of America

Interstate Commerce Commission

The Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railway Company

The Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Company

The Baltimore and Ohio Chicago Terminal Railroad

Company

Burlington Northern Inc.

The Chesapeake and Ohio Railway Company

Chicago and Eastern Illinois Railroad Company

Chicago and North Western Railway Company

Chicago, Rock Island, and Pacific Railroad Company

Colorado and Southern Railway Company

The Denver and Rio Grande Western Railroad Company

Elgin, Joliet and Eastern Railway Company

Erie Lackawanna Railway Company

Fort Dodge, Des Moines & Southern Railway Company

Fort Worth and Denver Railway Company

Grand Trunk Western Railroad Company

Gulf, Mobile and Ohio Railroad Company

Illinois Central Railroad Company

Illinois Central Gulf Railroad Company

Illinois Terminal Railroad Company

Kansas City Southern Railway Company

Louisville and Nashville Railroad Company

Missouri-Kansas- Texas Railroad Company

Missouri Pacific Railroad Company

Monon Railroad Company

_Norfolk and Western Railway Company

Penn Central Transportation Company

St. Louis-San Francisco Railway Company

St. Louis Southwestern Railway Company

Soo Line Railroad Company

Southern Pacific Transportation Company

Texas and Pacific Railway Company

Toledo, Peoria & Western Railroad Company

Union Pacific Railroad Company

Western Pacific Railroad Company

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ME coo cdbheetcessacescevedscévsnentacawaunee i

DCE vcabeendcdcconceoedveceeestacedeveasceubuseees iii

cv. ccadecescccebeddscesédvcotseccbeseee eed vi

ED ck. dp peewnancadcéeccanecdebs thepeseuaniren x

ENED Ca cdpebcbeccecccvccccovevessetsevcenbaceeeees |

torch veces kbeedrCbdend oeccscndeencuceveusestdeewe 2

DOMSRREY POGUIIIONS TRVOIVEE 0.0.00 cccccccccsrecsaccdsccceceness 2

tite ee iwetee howe Whee e¥ehéopanseedeqkenehgen 3

POR HO COMIN WUE gc cc vcccccccncccces coecccecscocesucse 8

|. THE HOLDING BY THE COURT OF APPEALS THAT

THE DISTRICT COURT HAD LOST JURISDICTION

OVER THIS CASE FRUSTRATES THE MANDATE

OP THIS COURT nn ccscsscvcccccssccccccsccccccccsses 9

tl. THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS

CONFLICTS WITH THE DECISION OF THIS COURT

IN MORGAN U0 wccccrcccccvccccccccccccsceccccceces 1

ill, THE CONSTRUCTION BY THE COURT OF

APPEALS OF THIS COURTS MANDATE CON-

FLICTS WITH ESTABLISHED PRINCIPLES

GOVERNING THE CONSTRUCTION OF

MEANDATES occccccccccccccccccccccceccccescsecesics 13

IV. THE HOLDING BY THE COURT OF APPEALS

THAT REPARATIONS ARE WITHIN THE PRIMARY

JURISDICTION OF THE COMMISSION CONFLICTS

WITH A.J. PHILLIPS CO. v. GRAND TRUNK

WESTERN RAILROAD .wuccccccccscccccccccccccccecs 15

V. THE HOLDING BY THECOURT OF APPEALS THAT

A SINGLE JUDGE HAD NO JURISDICTION TO

ISSUE AN ORDER DISPOSING OF THE FUND

CONFLICTS WITH THE DECISION OF THIS

COURT IN PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION vy.

BRASHEAR FREIGHT LINES 0.0.00 ccc ceeeeeennnes 17

CONCLUSION ...ccccccccccccccccccvvccvccsccseccecccceces 18

viii

Appendix (i) Wichita Board of Trade vy. United States,

706 F. 2d 1067 (10th Cir. 1983)

Appendix (ii) (a) Wichita Board of Trade v. United States,

No. 4730 (D. Kan. May 6, 1982)

(Order directing railroads to file a

written accounting and tender the

amounts collected into the court,

reserving decision on the amount of

interest which might be due on such

funds.)

(ii) (b) Wichita Board of Trade v. United States,

352 F. Supp. 365 (D. Kan. 1972)

(ii) (c) Atchison, Topekaand Santa Fe Railway

v. Wichita Board of Trade, 412 U.S.

800 (1973)

(ii) (d) Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railway

v. Wichita Board of Trade, 409 U.S.

801 (1972)

(ii) (¢) Inspection in Transit, Grain and Grain

Products, 339 1.C.C. 364 (1971)

(ii) (f) Inspection in Transit, Grain and Grain

Products, 349 1.C.C. 89 (1975)

(ii) (g) /nspection in Transit, Grain and Grain

Products, 359 1.C.C. 624 (1979)

(ii) (h) Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railway

v. Wichita Board of Trade, 433 U.S.

902 (1977)

(ii) (i) Wichita Board of Trade v. United States,

No. 4730 (D. Kan. July 31, 1973)

(Order of the court remanding to the

Commission.)

ix

(ii) (j) Wichita Board of Trade v. United States,

No. 4730 (D. Kan. Feb. 23, 1977)

(Opinion of the court granting Peiti-

ioners’ motion for refund.)

(ii) (k) Wichita Board of Trade v. United States,

No. 4730 (D. Kan. Aug. 22, 1977)

(Order remanding to the Commission.)

Appendix (iii) Wichita Board of Trade v. United States,

No. 82-1808 (10th Cir. June 16, 1983)

(Petition for rehearing denied.)

Appendix (iv) (a) No. 8548 /nspection in Transit, Grain

and Grain Products, (served Nov. 20,

1975) (Order denying protestant’s mo-

tion for refund.)

(iv) (b) Secretary of Agriculture v. 1.C.C., 551 F.

2d 1329 (D.C. Cir. 1977)

Appendix (iv)(c) INTERSTATE COMMERCE ACT

Former Section | (5)

Former Section 8

49 U.S.C. §11705(b) (2)

Former Section 9

49 U.S.C. §11705(c) (1)

Former Section 13(1)

Former Section 15(7)

Former Section 16(1)

7

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Atchison, Topeka & Sante Fe Railway v.

Wichita Board of Trade,409 U.S. 801 (1972) ....... 2

Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway v.

Wichita Board of Trade, 412 U.S. 800 (1973) ..2, 4, 13

Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railway v.

Wichita Board of Trade, 433 U.S. 902 (1977)....2, 10

Bates v. United States, 323 U.S. 15 (1944) .......... 15

Burlington Northern, Inc. v. United States,

U.S. , 103 S.Ct. 514 (1982);

reh’g denied, 103 S.Ct. 1238 (1983) ........... 16, 17

Byrd v. Blue Ridge Rural Electric Cooperative,

Re EES oo’ bina beled SWaw twee eee bene a 15

In re Sanford Fork & Tool Co. 160

ET UMEE ob kv cedddewes sc ccbdawns vupweene 13

Inspection in Transit, Grain and Grain

Products, 339 1.C.C. 364 (1971) wc. ccc cece eeeees y

Inspection in Transit, Grain and Grain

Products, 349 1.C.C. 89 (1975) .....cesccccccees 2,4

Inspection in Transit, Grain and Grain Products,

eT Rn TUTE 6 6 6 oe sib adecveens 2, 6, 7, 10, 11

Insulating Materials, Between Points in Official

Territory, 364 1.C.C. 599 (1981)... ccc cece e eens 15

Manufacturers’ Finance Co. v. Mc Key, 294 U.S.

PN 6 0G4d ia Wed 00 si0.bs dock cehbapekeinkena 15

Morgan v. United States, 298 U.S. 468 (1936) ..... 5, 14

Morgan v. United States, 304 U.S. | (1938) ....... 5, 12

Morgan v. United States, 24 F. Supp. 214

Core WOO: IFIED acne cwcies'scs) ideemeeener ensue 12

Perkins v. Standard Oil of Calif., 399 U.S.

TE AEOUED oi0 sa cbvesecewseneeee » san abate ala enh 13

xi

A.J. Phillips Co. v. Grand Trunk Western

Reiroad, 236.U.S. 662 (1G1D) oo. os vicvvcvs rer 15, 16

Public Service Commission v. Brashear Freight

Lines, 312 U.S. 621; reh'g denied, 313

Ti SOE cdiedcpeed-ued Ccdhesbikewds ube 17, 18

Quern v. Jordan, 440 U.S. 332 (1979) oc. ccc cceceues 13

Rosado v. Wyman, 397 U.S. 397 (1970) .......eeeees 10

Secretary of Agriculture v. 1.C.C., 551

Pee Paee tees GO, LOTT in cscvice beees ane 2, 5,6

Southwestern Sugar and Molasses Co. v. River

Terminals Corp., 360 U.S. 411 (1959) .... eee eee 10

Special Equipment Co. v. Coe, 324 U.S.

IN tnd G binkie bake eblens heme Aba neh adanece 15

United States v. 1.C.C., 337 U.S. 426 (1949) .......45. 16

United States v. Malphurs, 316 U.S. 1 (1942) ....... 15

United States v. Morgan, 307 U.S. 183

POA Tas oab tne kee ued vambceas nee ee a 08,44 Om

United States v. Morgan, 313 U.S. 409 (1941) ........ 5

U.S. Department of Energy v. Baltimore and

Ohio Railroad, 364 1.C.C. 951 (1981)... eee cece ees 16

Wichita Board of Trade v. United States,

eee eee. 6a eee BOR. ISTE cc cdessccasseas 1,4

Wichita Board of Trade v. United States,

706 F. 2d 1067 (10th Cir. 1983)..........045. Passim

Unreported Cases:

Inspection in Transit, Grain and Grain Products,

ICC Docket No. 8548 (served Nov. 12, 1975)....... 2

Wichita Board of Trade v. United States, No.

4730 (D. Kan. May 6, 1982) .......ccceeeeeeees 7,8

Wichita Board of Trade v. Uniied States, 4730

RS NS Sg Fe eer 6,9

xii

STATUTORY PROVISIONS

PE EEE) ccc cen rccdocdecvevsecesectuecen 2

PEE, hb adcntcedrccecscvecpceevedaencsae

A EP ss cevas ductcereties ctnesdpeeCtinw wn 3

OP eters See OO BD CIDTSD ccc ccccccenceectecenstwes 2

TEED Gswein 6 ds odes s cause ceaccebehnens 3

INET Us soc 4 viene'cs 64 ¢eoeed uuawedaea 3, 15

a Cutt chives cacuveacadveskveoneunee a

MECN 6 C0 ces Goecesssesbeeeeeueebaeuun 3

DY vie's o 6 we bo oecsevees veces eenaden 3, 5

EE + vacsetsdeeetonthus ob karaneeuel 3

49 U.S.C. §10101 ef seg,

Pub. L. No. 96-473, 92 Stat. 1337 (1978) ........ 2

a, en Tee Cs oc ccccccccccsveswesuns 3, 15

PE UAETER BEER a5. 0<nk0cdcsminocacie 3, 15

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1983

THE WICHITA BOARD OF TRADE, ET AL.,

Petitioners,

Vv

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

THE INTERSTATE COMMERCE COMMISSION, ET AL.,

Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE TENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners, the Wichita Board of Trade, et al.,

respectfully pray that a writ of certiorari issue to review the

Judgment and Opinion of the United States Court of

appeals for the Tenth Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the court of appeals is reported at 706 F.

2d. 1067 (10th Cir. 1983) and is included as Appendix (i).

The decision of the United States District Court for the

District of Kansas, which the court of appeals reversed, is

unreported and is included as Appendix (ti) (a). The earlier

decision of the district court is reported at 352 F. Supp. 365

(D. Kan. 1972) and is included as Appendix (ii) (b). The

earlier decision of this Court is reported as Atchison,

Topeka & Santa Fe Railway v. Wichita Board of Trade,

412 U.S. 800 (1973) and is included as Appendix (ii) (c). The

stay order of this Court, pursuant to which the district court

awarded the refunds here in issue, is reported as Atchison,

Topeka & Santa Fe Rairoad v. Wichita Board of Trade, 409

U.S. 801 (1972) and is included as Appendix (ii) (d). The

decisions of the Interstate Commerce Commission are

reported as /nspection in Transit, Grain and Grain

Products, 339 1.C.C. 364 (1971); Inspection in Transit,

Grain and Grain Products, 349 1.C.C. 89 (1975); and

Inspection in Transit, Grain and Grain Products, 3591.C.C.

624 (1979), and are included as Appendices (ii) (e), (f) and

(g), respectively. The order of this Court of June 26, 1977 is

reported as Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railway v.

Wichita Board of Trade, 433 U.S. 902 (1977) and is included

as Appendix (ii) (h).?

JURISDICTION

The Opinion and Judgment of the court of appeals was

entered on April 28, 1983. A timely Petition for Rehearing

was denied by order entered June 16, 1983, which appears as

Appendix (iii) hereto. This Court has jurisdiction to review

the decision of the court below under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case was decided under the provisions of the

Interstate Commerce Act, 49 U.S.C. §1 ef seq., in effect

prior to its recodification as 49 U.S.C. §10101 et seq( Pub. L.

No. 95-473, 92 Stat. 1337). The relevant portions of the

following statutory provisions are set out as Appendix (iv)

(c):

2Also included (in Appendix (iv)) are the Nov. 12, 1975 decisions of the

Commission in /nspection in Transit, Grain and Grain Products, \.C.C.

Docket No. 8548, which denied a motion of the Secretary of Agriculture

for refunds under Section 15(7) of the Interstate Commerce Act (App.

(iv) (a)), and the decision of the Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia Circuit reviewing that decision which is reported as Secretary

of Agriculture v. 1.C.C., 551 F.2d 1329 (D.C. Cir. 1977) (App. (iv) (b)).

Former Section | (5)

Former Section 8

49 U.S.C. §11705 (b) (2)

Former Section 9

49 U.S.C. §11705 (c) (1)

Former Section 13 (1)

Former Section 15 (7)

Former Section 16 (1)

STATEMENT

Petitioners initially sought review before the three-judge

district court of the April 16, 1971 decision of the Interstate

Commerce Commission (Commission) in /nspection in

Transit, Grain and Grain Products, 339 1.C.C. 364 (1971)

(App. (ii) (e)), which found just and reasonable a separate

charge proposed by the railroads for in-transit grain

inspection, without any offsetting reduction in the line-haul

r2.e.3 The district court acquired jurisdiction under thethen

effective provisions of 28 U.S.C. §§1336 and 2325.

A long line of Commission precedents had established the -

principle that a railroad seeking to impose a separate charge

for a service already included in the line-haul rate must

establish that the linc -haul rate is reasonable for the reduced

service. The three-judge district court found that the

railroads had not carried the burden of establishing the

reasonableness of the existing line-haul rate for the reduced

service the railroads proposed to offer, and that the

Commission's decision upholding the charges had not given

an adequate explanation for departing from the principle

established in earlier Commission precedents. The court

remanded the matter to the Commission for further

proceedings and ordered the collection of the proposed

‘The railroads do not perform the grain inspection. They simply make

the cars available for sampling by governmeut-licensed grain inspectors.

a

charges suspended. Wichita Board of Trade v. United

States, 352 F. Supp. 365 (D. Kan. 1972) (App. (ii)(b) at A-29)

This Court granted a stay pending the railroads’ appeal to

this Couri (App. (ii) (d)). The stay required the railroads to

keep accurate account of all amounts collected during the

existence of the stay and to refund such amounts to the

persons on whose behalf they were paid if the decision of the

district court were affirmed. The stay order further

provided:

In the event this Court’s action should be other

than an affirmance of the results reached by the

district court, this Court may make such further

order concerning the disposition of the aforesaid

amounts as the Court may deem appropriate.

(App. (ii) (d) at A-62.)

This Court affirmed the district court’s decision on the

merits, but reversed the district court insofar as it had

enjoined collection of the charges and directed that court “to

enter an order, consistent with this opinion, regarding the

disposition of” “he amounts collected by the railroads while

the case was before this Court. Afch--on, Topeka & Santa

Fe Railway v. Wichita Board of Trade ( App. (ii) (c)at A-31, n.1.)

The district court then remanded the matter to the

Commission for further proceedings to reconsider the

administrative finding that the charges were reasonable

(App. (ii) (c)).

On January 21, 1975, the Commission found that

repudiation of the long-established rule that “the line-haul

rates, as increased through a diminution of service

thereunder, [must] be justified by appropriate evidence

establishing that the aggregate charge for the through

service is reasonable” would not be in the public interest;

and it concluded that the railroads had not carried their

burden of proof on the issue of reasonableness. /nspection

in Transit, Grain and Grain Products (App. (ii) (f)at A-121).

Accordingly, the Commission found that the charges “are

not shown to be just and reasonable and otherwise lawful.”

Id. at A-123.

Because of this Court's holding in United States v.

Morgan, 307 U.S. 183, 198 (1939) (Morgan /1/1),4 that the

disposition of amounts collected while a stay order is in

effect is determined by whether the charges are ultimately

found by the agency to have been lawful or unlawful,

Petitioners awaited the decision of the Commission before

filing a motion in the district court for refund of the amounts

collected during the period covered by this Court’s stay, July

7, 1972, through June 18, 1973.

~The Secretary of Agriculture elected to pursue a different

remedy. He filed a motion with the Commission under

‘ Section 15(7) of the Act seeking refunds for the entire three

year-period that the charges were in effect. That motion was

dismissed suinmarily and the Secretary appealed to the

Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit.

That court remanded the proceeding to the Commission

for an explanatin of why it had denied relief. It directed

the Commission specifically to advise whether, if shippers

filed individual complaints seeking reparations, each

shipper would be required to demonstrate that the charges

were unreasonable rather than relying on the Commission's

earlier “not shown to be just and reasonable” finding.

Secretary of Agriculture v. 1.C.C. (App. (iv) (b) at A-177).

4Morgan was before this Court four times. Morgan / 8 reported as

Morgan v. United States, 298 U.S. 468 (1936); Morgan // is reported as

Morgan vy. United States, 304 U.S. | (1938); Morgan 1V 8 reported as

United States v. Morgan, 313 U.S. 409 (1941.) Only Morgan // and

Morgan //1 are discussed herein.

Meanwhile, the district court granted Petitioners’

motion for refunds for the stay period by its decision and

order of February 23, 1977 (App. (ii) (j)). That order also

placed the refund procedures under the judicial supervision

of the district judge. The railroads appealed that order to

this Court. In response to representations by the

Department of Justice and the Commission of a

relationship between this case and the Secretary of

Agriculture case, the Court remanded this case to the

district court with directions to remand it to the

Commission for further consideration in connection with its

reconsideration of the Secretary of Agriculture case (App.

(ii) (h)). In compliance with such direction, the district

court remanded the matter to the Commission by its order

of August 22, 1977 (App. (ii) (k)).°

The Secretary’s motion for refunds, on its face, appeared

to cover the entire period during which the rates were in

effect. But the Commission recognized that it had no

jurisdiction over the rates collected while this Court’s stay

was in effect. It stated:

The Supreme Court's stay covered the period from

July 7, 1972 to June 18, 1973. The period covered

‘In the district court, Commission counsel had opposed the original

refund motion of the Petitioners on the sole ground that the

Commission had not passed on the reasonableness of the rates but had

found only that the rates were not shown to be just and reasonable.

Because of the directive from the Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia Circuit, the Commission was required on this remand to face

squarely the question of whether shippers could rely on the

Commission's “not shown to be just and reasonable” holding as a final

resolution of the reasonableness issue. It held that they could. The

Comssion rejected the railroad’s argument that the in-transit ins pection

charges were just and reasonable, stating that “[t]hat issue may not be

relitigated” Inspection in Transit, Grain and Grain Products (App. (ii)

(g) at A-136). The Commission thus held squarely that the charges were

unlawful.

by the Secretary's petition includes the time from

the date the railroads initially placed the rates into

effect, May 4, 1971, to the date of the stay’s

issuance, plus the period from the end of the stay

to March 28, 1975, when the charges were

ultimately canceled by the railroads.

(App. (ii) (g) at A-139, n. 22.)

Having described the Secretary of Agriculture’s petition as

one “which covers the period when the stay order was not in

effect” (App. (ii) (g) at A-140), the Commission denied the

petition. As to the period covered by the stay order, it

ordered “that the District Court for the District of Kansas

be advised not to refund those monies under its

jurisdiction.” (App. (ii) (g) at A-152.) (Emphasis added.)

After the Commission's advisory decision was issued,

Petitioners renewed their motion in the district court for an

order requiring the railroads to refund amounts collected

during the pendency of the stay order “to the persons in

whose behalf such amounts were paid.” On May 6, 1982,

Judge Theis granted the motion.°®

Judge Theis also directed the railroads to file a written

accounting and tender the amounts collected into court,

reserving decision on the amount of interest which might be

due on such funds. Wichita Board of Trade v. United States,

No. 4730 (D. Kan. May 6, 1982). (App. (ii) (a)at A-20.) The

court further ordered that Petitioners file a statement

*Judge Theis explained at length his reasons for decliningto adopt the

advice of the Commission, which he deemed “quite unpersuasive, as well

as grossly inequitable” (App. (ii) (a) at A-17). He noted that “(t)he

shippers of the grain during the period of the stay hadin fact been forced

to pay for the inspections twice, once in the inspection fee, and again in

the line haul rate” (id. at A-14). and rejected the Commission's recom-

mendation that the shippers be relegated to filing individual complaints

for recovery, pointing out that the claims were individually too smal! to

support litigation and that the statute of limitations had run. (A-15).

detailing on whose behalf the payments were made,

expressing the intention to have the moneys identified “for

ultimate refund or reimbursement to the actual payers of

such in-transit charges at the farmer and/or country

elevator levels” (App. (ii) (a) at A-21).

The railroads and the government appealed this order to

the court of appeals. The court of appeals ignored the

merits of the district court decision, reversing on the

following grounds:

1. The district court did not have subject matter

jurisdiction because its October 3, 1973 remand to the

Commission did not expressly state that jurisdiction was

reserved.

2. Whether the unlawful charges should be retained by

the railroads or returned to the shipper was a matter within

the exclusive primary jurisdiction of the Commission.

3. Although this Court’s decision of June 18, 1973, had

expressly instructed the district court to enter an order

disposing of the funds accumulated pursuant to the stay

order, that decision should be construed as a holding that

the question of reparations was to be determined by the

Commission and not by the court.

4. A single judge lacked jurisdiction to issue a refund

order.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The decision of the court of appeals includes a number

of serious errors which compel this Court’s review: the

decision of the court of appeals not only has made it

impossible for the district court to comply with this Court’s

directive that it order disposition of the funds collected

while this Court’s stay order was in effect; but is also in

direct conflict with holdings of this Court on no less than

three fundamental issues of major importance.

THE HOLDING BY THE COURT OF APPEALS

THAT THE DISTRICT COURT HAD LOST

JURISDICTION OVER THE CASE FRUSTRATES

THE MANDATE OF THIS COURT

In compliance with this Court’s decision affirming the

setting aside by the district court of the Commission’s

initial decision, the district court, by order of July 31, 1973,

remanded the proceeding to the Commission for

determination of the lawfulness of the charges (App. (ii) (i).)

That order did not expressly state that jurisdiction was

reserved. But such a statement was unnecessary because the

district court was subject to an order from this Court

requiring it to dispose of the funds accumulated while the

stay was in effect. It could not surrender jurisdiction until it

had done so.

Under the directive and mandate from this Court, the

district court’s jurisdiction continued until it ordered

disposition of the funds subject to its jurisdiction. Under the

principle of Morgan //]/, discussed infra at | 1-13, the district

court could not order disposition of the fund until after the

Commission, in the exercise of its primary jurisdiction, had

determined whether the charges were lawful.’ The district

’That the district court did not intend to surrender jurisdiction is

made clear in its opinion of February 23, 1977, in which it stated:

In accordance with Supreme Court mandate, by order filed

August 13, 1973, this Court remanded the matter to the ICC for

further proceedings consistent with the opinion of the Supreme

Court. No order was then entered by the Court regarding the

distribution of the amounts received by the railroads by reason of

their collection of the in-transit grain inspection charges during

the existence of the stay, for the obvious reason further

administrative action by way of reconsideration of the justness

and reasonableness of the proposed rates was directed by both this

Court and the Supreme Court. (App. (ii) (j) at A-158.)

10

court was not asked to review the Commission’s decision

after remand. To the contrary, Petitioners relied on the

Commission’s uncontested determination that the charges

were unlawful and that was the basis for the district court's

ruling on the refund motion.*

This Court's subsequent order of June 27, 1977 (App. (ii)

(h)) directing the District Court to obtain the Commission's

views as to refunds did not strip the district court of the

jurisdiction entrusted to it by this Court’s directive of June,

1973 to decide who was entitled to the fund under its

jurisdiction. If this Court had believed that the district

court lost jurisdiction over the fund collected during the

stay by failing to state that it was reserving jurisdiction in its

1973 remand order, this Court presumably would have

reversed the district court with instructions to dismiss for

want of jurisdiction, thereby saving six years of litigation of

a “moot” case. Furthermore, had this Court intended to

terminate the district court only to obtain the views of

disposing of the funds, it could have said so. The Court’s

order required the district court only to obtain the views of

the Commission before taking dispositive action. This is not

an unusual procedure. See Southwestern Sugar & Molasses

Co. v. River Terminals Corp., 360 U.S. 411 (1959); Rosado

v. Wyman, 397 U.S. 397 (1970).

The Commission recognized the district court’s con-

tinuing jurisdiction, as it neither granted nor denied

refunds for the period of the stay order. In its decision of

February 9, 1979 (App. (ii) (g)). the Commission expressly

recognized that it did not have jurisdiction to order the

disposition of the fund because the charges collected during

*Had this Commission's subsequent decision been reviewed either in

the Kansas court or in another court. the Kansas count would still have

been obligated to order disposition of the funds under its control as soon

as there was a final Commission decision, not subject to further judicial

review, determining whether the charges were lawful or unlawful.

11

the stay period were under the jurisdiction of the district

court. The Commission stated with the utmost clarity that

it was only advising the court as to how it believed the

court’s equitable jurisdiction should be exercised (App. (ii)

(g) at A-152).

Petitioners did not seek review of that order, because it

did not purport to direct a disposition of the funds

accumulated during the stay period. That remained for the

district court to decide, giving appropriate consideration

to the Commission’s advisory opinion. Accordingly,

Petitioners asked the district court to exercise its equitable

jurisdiction after considering the views of the Commission;

and the district court properly did so.

In short, the district court was simply complying with

the directive from this Court to enter an order disposing of

the fund under its jurisdiction. In holding that the district

court lacked jurisdiction to decide an issue that this Court

had ordered it to decide, the court of appeals prevented the

district court from obeying the mandate of this Court. In

so doing, the court of appeals acted beyond its authority.

THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF

APPEALS CONFLICTS WITH THE

DECISION OF THIS COURT IN MORGAN Ill

Morgan I// arose under the Packers and Stockyards Act.

The Secretary of Agriculture had declared the schedule of

maximum rates for the service at the Kansas City stockyards

to the unlawful and had prescribed a lower schedule of rates.

Stockyard companies supplying the services filed suit in the

district court, which temporarily restrained the Secretary's

order on condition that the companies desposit with the

clerk of the court the difference between the existing rates

and the rates prescribed by the Secretary. It ultimately

sustained the Secretary's order.

12

In Morgan I//, this Court held the Secretary's order

invalid and remanded the case to the district court. 304

U.S. at 22. On remand, the district court held that, since

this Court had found that the Secretary's order was

unlawful (and therefore the district court had erred in

requiring that the funds be paid into court), the funds must

go to the stockyard companies. Morgan v. United States. 24

F. Supp. 214 (W.D. Mo. 1938). In Morgan //]/, this Court

reversed, pointing out that it is a “guiding principle” that:

[1]n reviewing the action of the Secretary and in

similarly reviewing the action of the Interstate

Commerce Commission in conformity with the

provisions of the Urgent Deficiencies Act, the

District Court sits as a court of equity, see Ford

Motor Co. v. National Labor Relations Board,

305 U.S. 364, 373; Inland Steel Co. v. United

States, 306 U.S. 153; and in exerting its

extraordinary powers to stay execution of a rate

order, and in directing payment into court of so

much of the rate as has been found administratively

to be excessive, if assumes the duty of making

disposition of the fund in conformity to equitable

principles.

307 U.S. at 191. (Emphasis supplied.)

Applying equitable principles, this Court held that the

disposition of a fund accumulated as an incident to review of

an order of an administrative agency is not governed by

whether the decision of the court that led to the

accumulation of the funds was right or wrong but by

whether the rates were lawful or unlawful; and that,

therefore, the court must await the determination by the

agency of that issue and then order disposition of the fund

accordingly.

In the instant case, the Commission held on the first

remand that the charges were not shown to be just and

reasonable (App. (ii) (f) at A-123), and, on the second remand.

13

that the unreasonableness of the charges had been settled

and could not be relitigated (App. (ii)(g) at A-136). It follows

that the fund should go to those who paid the unlawful

charges. The holding of the court of appeals that the rail-

roads are entitled to retain the fund is thus squarely in

conflict with this Court’s decision in Morgan /11.9

THE CONSTRUCTION BY THE COURT OF APPEALS

OF THIS COURT'S MANDATE CONFLICTS

WITH ESTABLISHED PRINCIPLES GOVERNING

THE CONSTRUCTION OF MANDATES.

It is settled law that, on remand, a district court “may

consider and decide any matters left open by the mandate of

this Court.” /n re Sanford Fork & Tool Co., 160 U.S. 247,

256 (1895). Accord, Perkins v. Standard Oil of Calif., 399

U.S. 222, 223 (1970); Quern v. Jordan, 440 U.S. 332, 347 n.

18 (1979). The opinion of this Court in Atchison, Topeka &

Santa Fe Railway v. Wichita Board of Trade (App. (ii) (c))

settled only two issues: that the district court was correct in

setting aside the Commission’s order of September 21, 1971,

*The court of appeals sought to distinguish Morgan /// on two

grounds: that Morgan /// arose under a different statutory scheme, and

that the funds had not been paid into the registry of the court. That

Morgan II] arose under a different statute (athough the Packers and

Stockyards Act is modeled after the Interstate Commerce Act) is

irrelevant. Morgan I// lays down a broad principle governing the

relationship between courts and administrative agencies. And the fact

that in Morgan the funds had been physically paid into court, whereas

here the funds were ordered to be accumulated by the railroads and held

for ultimate disposition, is not determinative of who should be awarded

these funds. It is enough that the funds are under the control of the

court. The same principle applied in Morgan /// was applied in Inland

Steel Co. v. United States. 306 U.S. 153 (1939), where, as here, the

railroads were not required to pay the moneys into court but rather to

keep account.

14

and that the district court was in error in enjoining

collection of the inspection charges. The disposition of the

funds under control of the district court was left open by

the remand and the district court was expressly directed to

decide that issue. (App. (ii) (c) at A-31, n.1.) The court of

appeals gave scant attention to whether the district court’s

decision was correct. Instead, it construed the phrase

“consistent with this opinion” in this Court’s opinion as a

direction not to dispose of the fund under legal and

equitable principles but to guess how this Court would have

decided the issue if it had decided it. '?

From its reading out of ~ontext of a single paragraph of

this court’s opinion, the court of appeals found an “intent”

that “reparations are for decision by the ICC, not the

Kansas Court” (App. (i) at A-8), and that this Court, without

saying so, had “left reparations to the ICC in the exercise of

it primary jurisdiction ...” /d, at A-9. In the face of this

Court’s instruction to the district court to make an approp-

riate disposition of the fund, the court of appeals concluded:

“Also, we find no intent of the Supreme Coun that the

Kansas court retain jurisdiction over any matters which

might arise under the Court’s 1972 stay order”. (App. (i) at

A-11) Thus, the direction of this Court to the district court to

decide the disposition of the fund collected under this

Court’s stay was nullified by the court of appeals.

It is the established practice of this Court not to decide

isue without the benefit of their initial consideration by the

In Morgan I//, the remand was “for further proceedings in

conformity with this opinion.” 298 U.S. at 482. On remand, the district

court, instead of determining what disposition was required by

equitable principles, tried to guess how this Court would have decided

the issue based on its reading of Morgan //. This Court reversed the

district court because it had made the same error made by the court of

appeals here.

15

lower court, especially where, as here, the issues have not

been briefed or argued to it.'' The purpose of a remand is

frustrated if the lower court decides the issue by trying to

parse the decision out of which the remand grew, instead of

giving the issue the full consideration required.

IV.

THE HOLDING BY THE COURT APPEALS THAT

REPARATIONS ARE WITHIN THE PRIMARY

JURISDICTION

OF THE COMMISSION CONFLICTS WITH

A.J. PHILLIPS CO. V. GRAND TRUNK WESTERN

RAILROAD

Section 8 of the Interstate Commerce Act!? creates an

absolute right to recover damages sustained by reason of the

imposition of an unlawful charge by a railroad;'? and

''See, e.g.. Manufacturers’ Finance Co. v. McKev, 294 U.S. 442, 453-

454 (1935); United States v. Malphurs, 316 U.S. 1, 3 (1942); Bates v.

United States, 323 U.S. 15, 17 (1944); Special Equipment Co. v. Coe,

324 U.S. 370, 380 (1945); Byrd v. Blue Ridge Rural Electric

Cooperative, 356 U.S. 525, 540 (1958).

'2References are to the Interstate Commerce Act as in effect at the

time this controvery arose. Sections 8 and 9 of the Ac* ure now 49 U.S.C.

§11705(b) (2) and §11705(c) (1), respectively.

If Petitioners had sought reparations in a proceeding before the

Commission, the award of reparations would have been mandatory

because the Commission has found that the charges were unreasonable

and has held that finding could not be relitigated in a reparations

proceeding. In /nsulating Materials, Between Points in Official

Territory, 364 1.C.C. 599, 601 (1981), the Commission held:

In the case of a rate increase found unlawful on reasonableness

grounds, the measure of refunds (i.e., damage) is clear. Given

market dominance, the shipper has no choice but to pay a rate

later found too high and no further evidence of harm is necessary.

See Mayo Shell Corp. v. Chicago, R. 1. & P. R. Co., 293 1.C.C.

16

Section 9 permits the shipper to enforce that right either ina

proceeding before the Commission or by action ina District

Court. Since the Commission would have had no discretion

to deny reparations, it follows that the award of reparations

following a Commission finding of unlawfulness is not a

matter within the primary jurisdiction of the Commission.

In A. J. Phillips Co. v. Grand Trunk Western Railroad,

236 U.S. 662 (1915), this Court held that, once the

Commission had found that a rate was unlawful, that

finding inured to the benefit of every person who had been

obligated to pay the unjust rate; and that a shipper who had

not been a party to the Commission proceeding could

maintain an action at law for damages. '4

The court of appeals relies on Burlington Northern, Inc.

v. United States, U.S. 103S.Ct. 514, 521

(1982); reh’g denied 103 S.Ct. 1238 (1983), as authority to

the contrary. This Court there said that:

243, 246-47 (1954). Therefore, for obvious reasons, what

discretion we have to limit refunds is not exercised in this

circumstance and refunds are, in effect, automatic.

To the same effect in U.S. Department of Energy v. Baltimore and

Ohio Railroad, 364 1.C.C. 951, 975 (1981): “Under 49 U.S.C. 11705(b)

(2). a railroad is ‘liable for damages sustained’ when it violates the

statute. It is the Commission's duty to award the full amount of damages

sustained in consequence of any violation. ..” (Footnote ommitted).

'4*Moreover, if a reparations action is instituted in a federal district

court, it is appropriate for the court to reserve jurisdiction pending a

Commission decision on the issue of lawfulness. See United States v.

LC.C., 337 U.S. 426, 446-466 (1949) (Frankfurter, J.. Jackson, J., and

Burton, J., dissenting). and cases there cited. If a shipper can recover

unlawful charges paid by it in action at law, it follows, a fortiori, that

a court of equity which has the moneys under its jurisdiction can grant

the same relief.

17

where there is a dispute about the appropriate

rate, the equities favor allowing the carrier's rate

to control pending decision by the Commission,

since under the Act, the shipper may receive

reparation for overpayment while the carrier can

never be made whole after underpayment.

(Emphasis supplied.)

Burlington Northern does not address the question of

primary jurisdiction to award damages after a rate has been

found to be unlawful. The quoted language holds only that

the carrier may continue to collect the rate while its

lawfulness is being determined by the Commission, which is

consistent with this Court's holding in its first decision in

this case. It does not address the question whether a court

may award damages once the Commission has passed on the

lawfulness of the rate.'®

V.

THE HOLDING BY THE COURT OF APPEALS

THAT A SINGLE JUDGE HAD NO JURISDICTION

TO ISSUE AN ORDER DISPOSING OF THE

FUND CONFLICTS WITH THE DECISION

OF THIS COURT IN PUBLIC SERVICE

COMMISSION V. BRASHEAR FREIGHT LINES

Although it did not reverse on this basis, because it

recognized that the “defect” could be cured on remand by a

three-judge district court, the court of appeals also held

that a single judge lacked jurisdiction to order disposition of

the fund pursuant to this Court’s directive. The three-judge

district court, having disposed of the issues for which the

three-judge court was constituted, properly directed the

single judge to order disposition of the fund. In Public

'SCuriously, the court of appeals in the instant case cited the policy

preamble to the Staggers Rail Act of /980 as support for its conclusion

that this Court's opinion in /¥73 must be read as holding that only the

ICC may award refunds. (App. (i) at A-I1.)

18

Service Commission v. Brashear Freight Lines, 312 U.S. 621

(1941); reh'g denied, 313 U.S. 598 (1941), this Court noted

that “the motion for damages raised questions not within

the statutory purpose for which the two additional judges

had been called” (312 U.S. at 625) and held that assessment

of damages was properly for a single district judge. See also

United States v. 1.C.C., 337 U.S. 426, 440-43 (1949), holding

that one judge rather than three should entertain challenges

to Commission reparation orders because of “the

importance of limiting the three-judge court procedure

within its expressly stated confines.” 337 U.S. at 443.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, certiorari should be granted and

the case should be reversed summarily or set for briefing and

oral argument.

Respectully submitted,

CHARLES J. McCARTHY

Counsel of Record

DANIEL J. SWEENEY

1750 Pennsylvania Ave., NW

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 393-5710

McCARTHY, SWEENEY & HARKAWAY, P.C.

Of Counsel

September 14, 1983

iad ah eat

a) 7 owe

APPENDICES

APPENDIX (i)

A-1

The WICHITA BOARD OF TRADE, et

al., Plaintiffs-Appellees,

v.

The UNITED STATES of America and

the Interstate Commerce Commission,

Defendants-Intervenors,

and

Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railway

Company, et al., Intervening

Defendants-Appellants.

No. 82-1808.

United States Court of Appeals,

Tenth Circuit.

April 28, 1983.

A-2

Charles J. McCarthy, Washington, D.C. (Daniel J.

Sweeney of McCarthy, Sweeney & Harkaway, P.C.,

Washington, D.C., Glaves, Weil & Evans, Wichita, Kan.,

with him on brief), for plaintiffs-appellees.

Henri Rush, Associate Gen. Counsel, Washington, D.C.

(John Broadley, Gen. Counsel, and Craig M. Keats, Atty.,

1.C.C., Washington, D.C., with him on briefs), for 1.C.C.

Christopher A. Mills, Chicago, III. (Charles W. Harris of

Curtman, Harris, Stallings Grace & Snow, Wichita, Kan.,

with him on briefs), for intervening defendants-appellants.

Before SETH, LOGAN and BREITENSTEIN, Circuit

Judges.

BREITENSTEIN, Circuit Judge.

This controversy over railroad freight rates on grain has

followed a tortuous and unusual path through a maze of

administrative and judicial proceedings. Any simple

statement of the facts, issues, and procedures is impossible.

The appeal by the railroads attacks a judgment of the United

States District Court for the District of Kansas which held

that the rates imposed were unlawful and ordered the

railroads to file an accounting of the moneys collected

during a stay period and pay the amounts wrongfully

collected into the registry of the court. The United States

and the Interstate Commerce Commission have been

permitted to intervene in the appeal. We reverse on

jurisdictional grounds.

In 1970 the railroads proposed a charge, separate and

above the applicable line-haul rate, for the inspection of

grain in-transit. The proposal covered the western territory.

At the time a similar charge was in effect for the eastern

territory. In-transit inspection refers to the stopping of cars

loaded with grain, placing them on railroad track facilities,

A-3

determination of the grade of the grain, and subsequent

movement of the car to its destination. The process is

described in more detail in Atchison T. & S.F.R. Co. v.

Wichita Board of Trade, 412 U.S. 800, 803, 93 S. Ct. 2367,

2372. 37 L. Ed. 2d 350, and particularly n. 2. This decision

will be hereafter referred to as AT & SF v. Wichita. See also

Inspection in Transit of Grain and Grain Products, 339

1.C.C. 364, 365.

A chronology of the administrative and judicial actions

will be helpful.

(1)-- April 16, 1971. Interstate Commerce Commission

(ICC) Div. 2 order holding the in-transit charges were just,

reasonable, and lawful. 339 LC.C. 364.

(2)- September 21, 1971. In banc ICC order affirming

Div. 2 order in all pertinent respects. 340 1.C.C. 69.

(3)—-May 26, 1972. Order and judgement of a three-judge

district court for the District of Kansas setting aside the rate,

remanding the matter to ICC, and suspending the charges

until otherwise ordered by the court. 352 F. Supp. 365.

(4). July 7, 1972. Order of Supreme Court staying

judgment of the Kansas court until final determination of

the railroads’ appeal and requiring the railroads to keep

account of charges received. 409 U.S. 801, 93S. Ct. 24, 34L.

Ed.2d. 14.

(5)—June 18, 1973. Supreme Court decision on merits

affirming lower court’s remand to ICC and reversing that

court’s injunction suspending the proposed charges. 412

U.S. 800, 826, 93 S.Ct. 2367, 2484, 37 L.Ed.2d 350.

(6)--August 3, 1973. Order of Kansas court remanding

cause to ICC but saying nothing about retention of

jurisdiction. R. 271.

A-4

(7)- January 21, 1975. 1CC order on remand holding that

the charges were not shown to be just and reasonable. 349

1.C.C. 89, 97. ICC ordered prospective cancellation of the

charges. With respect to refund of collected charges it said,

Id. at 93, “should relief in addition to that which is provided

in this report and order be desired by protestants, action

under section 13(1) of the act must be commenced.” Section

13(1) has been recodified as 49 U.S.C. § 11701.

(8)—-September 5, 1975. The Secretary of Agriculture, in

his statutory capacity as representative of farm interests,

moved ICC for a general refund order under 49 U.S.C.

§15(7). Section 15(7) has been recodified as 49 U.S.C.

§10708(b).

(9)—-November 12, 1975. 1CC summarily denied motion

of Secretary. Docket No. 8548.

(10)--February II, 1977. On Secretary’s appeal of ICC

order denying general refunds, the District of Columbia

court of appeals reversed the ICC denial of the Secretary's

refund motion and remanded the cause to the ICC.

Secretary of Agriculture v. 1.C.C., D.C. Cir., S51 F. 2d 1329,

1331.

(11)—-February 23, 1977. Kansas district court ordered

railroads to account and pay for charges collected. R. 66-67.

(12)—-June 26, 1977. Supreme Court vacated Kansas

court account and pay order and remanded with directions

to remand cause to ICC for further consideration in

connection with its reconsideration under the order of the

District of Columbia Circuit. 433 U.S. 902, 97 S.Ct. 2964,

53 L.Ed.2d 1087.

(13)—-August 22, 1977. Kansas court order remanding

cause to ICC with no provision for retention of jurisdiction.

R. 70.

A-5

(14)--February 9, 1979. ICC order on remands. 359

1.C.C. 624. Charges held under Supreme Court “keep

account” order should not be returned under a blanket

refund order. Id. at 636-637. Kansas court advised to deny

petition for refund of monies under its jurisdiction. Id. at

636. Shippers told to seek refunds in individual complaint

proceedings under 49 U.S.C. § 11701. Id. at 637-638.

(15)--August 16, 1979. District of Columbia Circuit's

dismissal of action brought by Secretary of Agriculture.

Docket No. 76-1026.

(16)--May 6, 1982. Order of Kansas court reentering its

account and pay order, R.227-234. and denying

reconsideration on June 22, 1982. R. 262.

(17)—June 29, 1982. Railroads’ appeal from account and

pay order docketed in the Tenth Circuit.

The plaintiffs-appellees are the Wichita Board of Trade

and 37 other shipper organizations and shippers. The

intervening defendants-appellants are the Atchison,

Topeka and Santa Fe Railway Company and 33 other

railroads. The United States and ICC are intervenors. The

record does not show the amount of money at stake. The

district court order covers the stay period beginning July 7,

1972, 409 U.S. 801, 93 S.Ct. 24, 34 L.Ed.2d 14, and ending

June 18, 1973, 412 U.S. 800, 826, 93 S.Ct. 2367, 23384, 37

L.Ed.2d 350. The record does not show what accounting, if

any, was made and does not show that the railroads have

paid any money into the court registry. ICC comments on

total collections of the in-transit charges are found at 349

1.C.C. 95. In its 1979 decision, ICC said that “[t]he equitable

aspects of refunding past rates are ... inextricably entwined

with the Board’s normal regulatory responsibility, as such

A-6

refunds may substantially affect the future rates,

performance and health of the industry.” 359 L.C.C. at 634,

n. 52.

The appellees moved to dismiss this appeal on the ground

that jurisdiction did not lie in the court of appeals under

either 28 U.S.C. § 1291 or § 1292(a). Another panel of this

court denied the motion to dismiss by order entered

January 14, 1983.

A preliminary question relates to the power of one judge

of the three-judge panel to act alone in the entry of the May

6, 1982, account and pay order of the district court. When

the case was filed in 1971, the Judicial Code, 28 U.S.C. §

2325, provided that actions to overturn ICC decisions

should be brought in a federal district court and heard by a

panel of three judges. Review of its judgment was by direct

appeal to the United States Supreme Court. In 1975

Congress repealed § 2325 and provided for review of ICC

orders by the courts of appeals. 88 Stat. 1917-1918. See 28

U.S.C. § 2341 et seq. The repealing act privided, 88 Stat.

1918, that is shall not affect pending actions which “shall

proceed to final disposition under the law existing on the

day they were commenced.”

The three-judge panel on February 23, 1977, sustained the

motion for refund and ordered R. 67, that all further

proceedings be transferred to the resident judge for such

further action as he finds necessary. Proceedings before

three-judge district courts are governed by 28 U.S.C. § 2284.

It provides that a single judge may conduct all proceedings

except trial but he may not “enter judgment on the merits.”

Any action by a single judge “may be reviewed by the full

court at any time before final judgment.” The resident judge

entered the remand order of August 22, 1977, the May 6,

A-7

1982 account and pay order, and the June 22, 1982, order

denying reconsideration. All of these were final judgments

onthe merits and were not approved by the panel. One judge

had no power to enter them alone. No review by the panel

was requested. We decline to reverse because of this

assertion of power by one judge because on remand it would

be possible that the panel will uphold the orders. We

conclude that it is necessary to consider the jurisdiction of

the panel over the cause.

Consideration of the jurisdiction of the Kansas court

presents intertwined problems of procedure and substance.

The district court suspended the proposed in-transit charges

and said that they “shall be ineffective until and unless

otherwise ordered by this Court.” 352 F. Supp. at 369. On

the application of the railroads, the Supreme Court stayed

the district court order on condition that the railroads keep

accurate accounts of charges collected and in the event the

Court affirms the suspension of the rates the railroads shall

pay the amounts collected to those entitled to them. 409

U.S. 801, 93 S.Ct. 24, 34 L.Ed. 2d 14.

When the case came before the Supreme Court on the

merits it noted the stay order and said: “We hereby direct the

District Court to enter an order, consistent with this

opinion, regarding the disposition of those amounts.”

[ Emphasis supplied.] 412 U.S. at 802, n. 1,93 S.Ct. at 2372,

n. |. In disposing of the case, the Court said, 412 U.S. at 826,

93 S.Ct. at 2384:

“Here the Commission ordered the railroads to

maintain records of the amounts collected as a result of

the new charge. It may be that this adequately protects

the shippers from irreparable damage, in the light of

the availability of actions for reparations. The

A-8

Commission may determine on remand that some

further steps must be taken to protect the shippers. But

in any event, it is clear that the District Court should

not have entered the injunction it did. The action of the

District Court is affirmed as to the remand to the

Commission and ts reversed as to the injunction

suspending the proposed charges.”"[Emphasis supplied. }

The Court did nor affirm the suspension of the charges.

We believe that the quoted language expresses the intent

that reparations are for decision by the ICC, not the Kansas

court. The district court must have so interpreted the

Supreme Court order because it remanded the cause toICC

without retention of jurisdiction. R. 271.

After ICC acted, 349 1.C.C. 89, no proceeding was

brought for review of that action in the Kansas court.

instead Wichita Board of Trade moved, in its original

action, for refunds. The Kansas court granted the motion in

its 1977 account and pay order. R. 56-67. The railroads

appealed that order. The Supreme Court summarily

reversed with directions to remand the case to ICC for

further consideration in connection with the D.C. Circuit

case. 433 U.S. 902, 97 S.Ct. 2964, 53 L.Ed. 2d 1087. The

Kansas court again remanded the case to ICC without

retention of jurisdiction. R. 70. By its remand without

retention of jurisdiction, the Kansas court terminated its

power and jurisdiction over all matters connected with

review of ICC action. See Greater Boston Television

Corporation v. F.C.C., D.C. Cir., 463 F.2d 268, 287, cert.

denied, 406 U.S. 943, 92 S.Ct. 2042, 32 L.Ed. 2d 339, and

Chemical Leaman Tank Lines, Inc. v. U.S., D.Del., 446 F.

Supp. 721. Appellees say that these decisions are not

pertinent because they reflect only the policy of the courts

A-9

involved. We believe that the better practice is fora court to

expressly retain jurisdiction if such is its intent.

The effect of the Supreme Court's actions was to have the

question of reparations considered and determined by the

ICC, subject to appropriate judicial review. The 1982

decision of the Court in Burlington Northern, Inc. v United

States, U.S. . 103 S.Ct. 514, 74 L.Ed.2d 311,

reviewed its decisions on the respective authority of the ICC

and the courts with regard to railroad freight rates. After

citing AT & SF v. Wichita, 412 U.S. 800, 93 S.Ct. 2367,37

L.Ed.2d 350, and other cases, the Court said, Id., 103 S.Ct.

at 521, that those cases stand for three propositions: (1)

primary jurisdiction to determine reasonable rates lies with

ICC; (2) judicial authority to reject ICC rate orders “extends

to the orders alone, and not to the rates themselves,” and

(3):

“where there is a dispute about the appropriate rate. the

equities favor allowing the carrier's rate to control

pending decision by the Commission, since under the

Act, the shipper may receive reparation for overpay-

ment while the carrier can never be made whole after

underpayment.”

The directions given by the Supreme Court in 412 U.S. at

802, n. |, and 826, 93S.Ct. at 2372, n. |, and 2384, and in 433

U.S. 902, 97 S.Ct. 2964, 53 L.Ed. 2d 1087, mean to us that

the Court left reparations to the ICC in the exercise of its

primary jurisdiction granted by §§ 13(1) and 15(7) of the

Interstate Commerce Act, amended, and codified, and now

appearing at 49 U.S.C. §§ 10707 and 11701.

Appellees support the jurisdiction of the Kansas court to

enter the account and pay order by reliance on United

States v. Morgan, 307 U.S. 183, 59S.Ct. 795, 83 L.Ed. 1211.

A-10

Morgan arose under a different statutory scheme, the

Packers and Stockyards Act, and the funds at stake had

been impounded. Id. at 187, 59 S.Ct. at 798. Nothing in the

record shows that any funds have been paid into the court

registry. The applicability of Morgan is inconsistent with

the Supreme Court's second remand in this case. 433 U.S.

902, 97 S.Ct. 2964, 53 L.Ed.2d 1087.

Reliance on Indiana & Michigan Electric Company v.

Federal Power Commission, D.C. Cir., 502 F.2d 336, cert.

denied, 420 U.S. 946, 95 S.Ct. 1326, 43 L.Ed.2d 424, is also

misplaced. That case arose under the Federal Power Act.

The court exercised its equitable powers because of the

unique procedural! aspects of the case. See 502 F.2d at 347-

348.

To support the jurisdiction of the Kansas court to enter

the account and pay order, the Appellees cite 28 U.S.C.

§§ 1336 and 1398. Section 1336 confers district court

jurisdiction over ICC orders for the payment of money. In

the case at bar ICC made no such order. Section 1398 refers

to district court jurisdiction of an ICC order made pursuant

to a referral. No referral was made here. The cause was

remanded to ICC.

A further argument of Appellees is that the Kansas court

had jurisdiction to implement and enforce its own order.

Reference has to be to the 1977 account and pay order of the

Kansas court. The Supreme Court vacated that order, 433

U.S. 902, 97 S.Ct. 2964, 53 L.Ed.2d 1087. Nothing was left

of it to be either implemented or enforced.

We find nothing in the long history of this controversy to

indicate that the Kansas court had any jurisdiction of the

cause after its remand to the ICC pursuant to the order of

A-11

the Supreme Court, 412 U.S. at 826, 93 S.Ct. at 2384. Also,

we find no intent of the Supreme Court that the Kansas

court retain jurisdiction over any matters which might arise

under the Court's 1972stay order, 409 U.S. 801, 93S.Ct. 24,

34 L.Ed.2d 14. As we read Burlington Northern,

reparations are under the primary jurisdiction of ICC with

judicial review when appropriate. 103 S.Ct. at 521. This

harmonizes with the congressional intent in the Staggers

Rail Act of 1980, 94 Stat. 1895 et seq. The purpose of the

Act “is to provide for the restoration, maintenance, and

improvement of the physical facilities and financial stability

of the rail system of the United States.” Id. at 1897. ICC is

the administrative agency responsible for achievement of

the Act's intent.

The Kansas court did not have subject matter jurisdiction

to make and enter its orders of May 6 and June 22, 1982.

Accordingly, those orders are set aside and held for naught.

APPENDIX (ii) (a)

A-12

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF KANSAS

THE WICHITA BOARD OF TRADE

et. al..

Plaintiffs,

Civil Action

No. W-4730

VS.

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

and INTERSTATE COMMERCE

COMMISSION, et al..

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

Defendants. )

)

A-13

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND

ORDER OF THE COURT

Once again this Court must resurrect this case from a

judicial resting place in limbo and address the question of

disposition of the monies received by the railroads during

the period of the stay order and “keep account” order of the

United States Supreme Court, Atchison, Topeka & Santa

Fe Rv. Co. v. Wichita Board of Trade, 409 U.S. 801, 93

S.Ct. 24, 34 L.Ed.2d 14 (1972). In 1971, the Interstate

Commerce Commission approved the imposition of a

charge for in-transit grain inspections. Prior to that

approval the cost of such inspections had been considered a

part of the line haul rate. Sitting as a three-judge court, this

court set aside the Commission's order, declared the

changes ineffective, and enjoined enforcement of the

questioned I.C.C. order, as reported in Wichita Board of

Trade v. United States, 352 F. Supp. 365 (D. Kan. 1972).

The Supreme Court, in an interim order, stayed the

injunction and allowed collection of the fees on condition

the railroads “keep accurate accounts in detail of all

amounts hereafter received during the existence of the stay

by reason of in-transit grain inspection charges, specifying

by whom and in whose behalf such amounts are paid.” 409

U.S. at 801. The purpose of these accounts was to provide

repayment, with interest, “to persons in whose behalf such

amounts were paid, without necessity for such persons to

make applications for refunds” if this Court’s order was

affirmed. The Court's injunction was not upheld, and the

railroads were allowed to continue collecting the contested

rate. This Court’s view of the merits, however, was

affirmed, i.e., that the initial ICC order was illegal, and the

matter was ordered remanded to the ICC to again

A-14

determine whether the contested fee was reasonable. This

Court was instructed by the Supreme Court “to enter an

order, consistent with this opinion, regarding the

disposition of” the accounts computed as a result of the

interim order. Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Ry. Co. v.

Wichita Board of Trade, 412 U.S. 800, 802 n.1, 93 S.Ct.

2367, 37 L.Ed.2d 350 (1973). On remand to the ICC, the

reasonableness of the fee was not proved and the fee was

eliminated. The shippers of the grain during the period of

the stay had in fact been forced to pay for the inspections

twice, once in the inspection fee, and again in the line haul

rate.

In 1977, this Court, again sitting as a three-judge court,

issued an order, as it was mandated to do, disposing of the

funds. The funds were ordered returned to those who had

paid double for the services of the railroad. For the

apparent purpose of achieving consistency in judicial

disposition, that order was summarily vacated by the

Supreme Court, Alchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Ry. Co. v.

Wichita Board of Trade, 433 U.S. 903, 97 S.Ct. 2964, 53

L.Ed.2d 1086 (1977), tobe reconsidered by the ICC in light

of Secretary of Agriculture v. Interstate Commerce

Commission, 551 F. 2d 1329 (D.C. Cir. 1977). That case

involved disposition of fund collected by the railroads after

the 1972 decision by the Supreme Court, but before the rate

was set aside on remand to the ICC.* The D.C. Circuit

remanded an ICC refusal to order a general refund of those

fees. On remand this case and the Secretary's were

consolidated before the ICC, which again declined to order

a general refund of the fees collected after the 1972 decision,

and recommended this Court do likewise with the funds

collected during the stay. /nspection In Transit, Grain and

*See Appendix attached.

A-15

Grain Products, 359 1.C.C. 624 (1979). Instead, the 1.C.C.

has decided each claimant must file a separate claim, and

prove it is entitled to a refund. The futility or “Catch 22” of

such a procedure is: the Commission has determined the

statute of limitations will have run for all payments made

during the period of the stay. 359 I.C.C. at 637. Therefore,

anyone who paid fees during the stay, and then relied upon

the mandate to this Court to dispose of the funds on

equitable principles, and so did not file a claim with the

1.C.C., would be left without any remedy. It is further

apparent most of the claims would have been so small as to

preciude the individual legal expense of recovery.

The I.C.C.’s position is to the effect the railroads should

not have to refund the double charges because it came as

such a surprise to the carriers to learn they might have to.

The LC.C. again engages in a long discourse on the

difference between unreasonable rates and not reasonable

rates, but finally admits the rate was invalid. It then goes to

great lengths to explain how the railroads were never on

notice that there was any possibility they would have to

make refunds. “The district court's reversal of our order was

not notice to the carriers that we might withdraw that

approval.... This situation ts quite distinct from

circumstances in which the Commission has given the

carriers notice that the rates they are about to collect exceed

or may be found to exceed a reasonable maximum level.”

359 1.C.C at 630-32. However, the Commission refutes its

own distinctions. “Of course, a ‘keep account’ provision in

an order instituting investigation is also notice that refunds

may follow. Once a ‘keep account’ order is entered, the

carrier is collecting monies earmarked for return should it

fail to convince the Commission that the increased rates are

A-16

just and reasonable.” 359 1.C.C. at 633. The stay order of

the Supreme Court, 409 U.S. 801, was and is very

unambiguous notice to the railroads that they were to “keep

accurate accounts in detail of all amounts” collected

“during the existence of the stay” so there could be a “refund

(with interest) of such amounts to persons in whose behalf

such amounts were paid, without the necessity for such

persons to make applications for refunds.” 409 U.S. at 801.

The Court has no need to form or express any opinion on

the reasonableness of the Commission's conclusions

concerning the post stay charges, but it is clear much of its

rationale does not apply to the funds collected during the

stay. The fact the railroads cannot be surprised by having to

pay, renders inapplicable a number of the Commission's

arguments concerning rate making, hardships to the

railroads, and speculated damage to rail transportation

systems.

If the railroads in fact complied with the order of the

Supreme Court, it also disposes of the argument of the

railroads that only middlemen will end up getting the

refund. The stay clearly states the carriers were to include

data on the identity of the party on whose behalf the fees

were paid. Additionally, as a double check, the plaintiff

grain trade must have access likewise to such information.

Two of those railroads whose finances were seen as in

need of protection by the Commission have taken the

bankruptcy route, and any opportunity for those who paid

them twice for their service has now been lost by the passage

of so much time resolving this dispute. There is no longer

any need for the Commission to be concerned for the fate of

those roads.

A-17

The Commission's opinion as a whole ts quite

unpersuasive, as well as grossly inequitable, as any

statement of fairness. Underlying the whole opinion and

interlaced within its various parts, is the premise that

because no accurate account is possible of the individual

farmers paying the illegal fee, no blanket refund should be

made to the plaintiff. It can be strongly urged that the tenor

of the opinion and the balance of the scales of justice in the

Commission's view would otherwise have been with the

individual shippers if identifiable. This Court quite agrees

that unless reasonable accuracy can be developed as to

individual farmer refunds, then plaintiff Boards of Trade

are no more entitled to the fund or any part thereof as a

windfall profit than are the railroads. Presently,

information before this Court, and it is believed more

specific information to be sought by this Court, will

establish that a substantial part of the available funds will

reach the hands of the individual farmer-shippers.

In Morgan v. United States, 307 U.S. 183, 59 S.Ct. 795,

83 L.Ed. 1211 (1939), scheduled rates were in dispute. The

Secretary of Agriculture had fixed maximum rates to be

charged by marketing agencies at the Kansas City

Stockyards. The agencies sued to have the order set aside,

and to have their higher rate in effect. The dispute portion

of the charges was being paid in to the court. The district

court found the Secretary's rates were reasonable, but the

United States Supreme Court reversed, on procedural

grounds. While the matter was still pending on the merits

before the Secretary on remand, the district court ordered

disposition of the disputed funds to the marketing agencies.

It was the position of the district court that since the

Secretary could not retroactively effect rates, and since its

A-18

previous order was invalid, the marketing agencies were

entitled to the funds whether the charges were too high or

not. The issue on appeal was whether, if the Secretary

determined his schedule was reasonable, “the district court

will have, and should exercise, the power to order the

distribution of the impounded fund in conformity to his

determination by directing that so much, if any, of the

amounts paid into court as exceeds the rates ultimately

determined ... to be just and reasonable be returned to those

who have paid them.” 307 U.S. at 188.

The Court held it was error to pay over the funds to the

marketing agencies. °

“The district court, in staying the Secretary's order

and at the same time arresting the excess payments to

appellees under the scheduled rates, assumed the duty

of making the proper disposition of the funds.... Its

action presupposed that the ownership of the excess

payments was in doubtand could be finally determined

only by an adjudication of the merits of the

reasonableness of the filed rates. In taking the

payments into custody it acted as a court of equity,

charged both with the responsibility of protecting the

fund and of disposing of it according to law, and free in

the discharge of that duty to use broad discretion in

the exercise of its powers in such a manner as to avoid

an unjust or unlawful result.” /d. at 193-94.

The situation in the present case is similar to that in

Morgan. The funds are in the hands of the railroads, not the

court, but this does not change the fact of the court's power

to effect their disposal. See, /n/and Steel Co. v. United

States, 306 U.S. 153, 59S.Ct. 415, 83 L.Ed. 557 (1939). The

A-19

railroads have collected rates which were not reasonable,

and the issue is whether the amounts paid in excess of

reasonable rates should be left with those who did not earn

them, or whether the court should exercise its powers, to

avoid an unjust result. In Morgan, the court stated:

“Having prohibited and declared unlawful any

unjust or unreasonable rate, a court of equity should be

astute to avoid the use of its process to effectuate the

collection of unlawful rates.” 307 U.S. at 194

The Commission claims its procedures are adequate for

giving refunds, by filing individual claims. Such an

approach was rejected by the Supreme Court in Baltimore

& Ohio RR. Co. v. United States, 279 U.S. 781, 49 S.Ct.

492, 73 L.Ed. 954 (1929). An I.C.C. order was set aside, and

plaintiff railroads sought restitution of amounts paid to

other railroads while the order was in effect, and after their

suit had been erroneously dismissed in the earlier action. The

Court held it was error for the district court to deny the

application for restitution. The burden of the charges had

been shifted, and when the invalid order was set aside those

collecting the charges were obliged to make restitution. “If

each claim is treated as a separate cause of action

enforceable only at law, the number of suits andthe burden

of maintaining them would be so enormous that the

relegation of the east side roads to that remedy would be a

virtual denial of justice.” 279 U.S. at 786. Justice will be

denied in this case as well if the farmers and shippers are

forced to litigate claim by claim before iie Commission.

This is especially so since the Commission has deaded to cut

off the claims with their selection of a cut-off date, discussed

supra.

A-20

Principles of equity govern this Court's disposition of the

funds. The charges were initially approved by the I.C.C.

When required to take a hard look at the charges the

Commission found them to be legally unsupportable. Now

it would have the railroads keep the money anyhow.

American Petrofina Co. of Texas v. Williams Brothers Pipe

Line Co., 56 F.R.D 488 (D.Kan. 1972) is not on point with

the present situation. The challenged rates in that case had

never been considered by the Commission, and the question

of validity of a rate is peculiarly within the Commission's

competence. Here, the rate has already been considered and

finally rejected by the Commission, as this Court and the

Supreme Court had previously done. Since our

Constitution was adopted, the federal courts have acted as

courts of equity, and are fully, perhaps even peculiarly,

qualified to do so.

The Supreme Court, as pointed out, several times has

said unequivocally that a “keep account” order must be

kept so there could be a “refund... without the necessity for

such persons to make applications for refunds.” We

therefore rely on the specific words of the Supreme Court,

the impregnable equitable basis for return of the fund to its

owners, and reject the advice of the 1.C.C. in this matter.

Thus, again, we exercise our own considered judgment of

the equities, as expressed herein and in our previous order

of February 23, 1977.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED that each defendant

railroad, within sixty (60) days of this date, shall file with

the Clerk of this Court, at Wichita, Kansas, a written

accounting of the in-transit charges collected during the

stay period, and tender therewith into the registry of the

Court the amount of money collected by each said railroad

A-21

from such charges. The Court reserves decision at this time

on the amount of interest which may be due on such funds.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that each plaintiff shall

within ninety (90) days of this date, file a written statement

of the amounts paid by it as in-transit charges during such

stay period, detailing whether such payment was one

directly orginating with it or on whose behalf the payment

was made, it being the intention of the Court to have

identified for ultimate refund or reimbursement to the

actual payers of such in-transit charges at the farmer and/ or

country elevator levels.

At Wichita, Kansas, this 6th day of May, 1982.

/s/ Frank G. Theis

United States District Judge

APPENDIX

The Supreme Court's stay covered the period from

July 7, 1972 to June 18, 1973. The period covered by

Agriculture's petition includes the time from the date

the railroads initially placed the rates in effect, May 4,

1971, to the date of the stay’s issuance, plus the period

from the end of the stay to March 28, 1975 when the

charges were ultimately canceled by the railroads.

APPENDIX (ii)(b)

A-22

The WICHITA BOARD OF TRADE

et al., Plaintiffs,

Vv.

The UNITED STATES of America and

Interstate Commerce Commission,

Defendants.

Civ. A. No. W-4730.

United States District Court,

D. Kansas.

May 26, 1972.

BARRETT, Circuit Judge, and THEIS and

O'CONNOR, District Judges.

OPINION OF THE COURT

PER CURIAM.

This is an action to cujoin, annul, set aside, and

suspend orders of the Interstate Commerce

Commission entered by the Commission, Division 2,

on April 16, 1971, and by the Commission en banc on

September 21, 1971, in proceedings entitled

Investigation and Suspension Docket No. 8548,

Inspection in Transit, Grain Products, reported at 339

1.C.C. 364 and 340 1.C.C. 69 respectively. A three-

judge court was convened to hear the case. The suit is

brought pursuant to the provisions of Sections 1336,

1398, 2284 and 2321-2325 of Title 28 U.S.C.

A-23

By the reports and orders here assailed, the Commission

has found just and reasonable the establishment of tariff

provisions applicable throughout the West at the rate of

$13.36 per car for the first in-transit inspection services

historically provided by the rail carriers under the line-haul

rates. The commission did not require a reduction in the

line-haul rates in relation to the reduced service.

Ihe in-transit inspection service with which we are here

concerned has reference to the practice of stopping railroad

cars loaded with grain and grain products and placing them

on railroad track facilities for the purpose of permitting

inspection of the contents of the car, awaiting disposition

orders from shippers after inspection, and the subsequent

movement of the railroad car. The sample or samples tested

determine the official grade of the contents of the car for the

purpose of establishing its value at market.

This transit service has been historically provided by the

rail carriers in the West as part of the line-haul rates. Until

1968, federal law required official federal inspection and

sampling. That function was performed by federal officials.

That requirement was eliminated by Congress in 1968. 82

Stat. 761. 7 U.S.C. § 71 et sey. The primary purpose of

Congress was to effect an increased utilization of rail cars.

In its brief the Commission noted that car shortages ona

nation-wide basis was a grave problem and that “the

Commission's action here represents a determination to

employ all rational and lawful means to attempt to alleviate

the difficulty.”

After extensive hearings the Commission found that: (1)

the proposed charges do not apply in any instance where

applicable line-haul rates plus the charge would exceed the

maximum reasonable rates set forth in Grain and Grain

ie ee

A-24

Products, 205 L.C.C. 301 (1934), 215 1.C.C. 83 (1936), (2)

inspection of grain is no longer a mandatory requirement of

federal law, (3) there is a need for inspection at some point

in the grain marketing process, but inspection in-transit is

not essential, and (4) grain inspection in-transit is an

“accessorial™ service for which a charge separate from the

basic line-haul charges may be properly assessed. The

Commission then found that the proposed charges were just

and reasonable in that the railroads established by

substantial evidence that the costs associated with in-transit

inspection correspond to the level of the proposed charges

and that delays resulting from in-transit inspection amount

to more than three days per car. There is substantial

evidence in support thereof.

The Commission recognized that the Western railroads

were not presently assessing a charge in their line-haul rates

for the first stop for inspection. The protestants here

contend that under these circumstances the railroads could

not segregate the inspection service and assign to it a

separate charge without presenting substantial evidence

that the new aggregate rate, composed of the line-haul plus

inspection-transit rates, represent a just and reasonable rate

for all of the services.

In its discussion and conclusions, the Commission found

that: “A requirement that the reasonableness of the

proposed charges cannot be determined without ‘reference

to the line-haul rates, the services furnished thereunder, and

the cost thereof effectively precludes respondents from ever

establishing a separate charge for the accessorial first stop

for inspection regardless of the need for such a charge. This

inability was not present in the cited proceeding (Transit

Charges, Southern Territory, 332 LC.C. 664 [1968])—

A-25

However, there is a more significant distinguishing feature

that persuades us that the prior decision is not controlling

here. That difference is that the line-haul rate applicable to

any movement of grain within the West when coupled with

the proposed charge is less than the maximum reasonable

level determined by this Commission.” In its brief the

Commission refers to the “extreme difficulty” involved in

putting together thousands of such rates for the purpose of

determining the reasonableness of a charge for a separate

accessorial service. The Commission ultimately justified its

rationale predicated upon the maximum level of rates

which it established some 35 years ago in its Docket No.

17000 proceedings, Grain and Grain Products, supra.

While purporting to “distinguish” the instant decision

from its prior decisions, the Commission discovered that

which had been known for years: the maximum reasonable

rates established in its Docket No. 17000 cases. This

discovery suddenly became a “significant distinguishing

feature” in its decision here.

There may be facts and circumstances justifying a

Commission reversal to its well established rule that

whenever a proposal is made for the establishment of an

additional charge for a service that has been provided at the

line-haul rates, the reasonableness of the proposed charge

may not be divorced from the line-haul rates, the services

thereunder, and the cost thereof. Transit Charges, Southern

Territory, 332 1.C.C. 664 (1968); Grand Forks Chamber of

Commerce, et al. v. Great Northern Railway Company, et

al., 321 1.C.C. 356 (1963); Investigation and Suspension

Docket No. 5146, Terminal Charges at Pacific Coast Ports,

255 1.C.C. 673 (1943); Unloading Lumber to New York

Harbor, 256 1.C.C. 463 (1943); Reconsignment Case No. 3,

A-26

53 1.0.C. 455 (1919). The difficulty generated by the

Commission's ruling here is that instead of repudiating its

long established rule that it will not allow a separate charge

for an accessorial service previously performed as part of

the line-haul rates without substantial evidence that such an

additional charge is justified measured against the overall

services rendered and the overall reasonableness of the

increased line-haul rate resulting therefrom — which may be

legally justified it has attempted to “distinguish” this case

from its prior rulings. In our judgment the Commission has

failed in this respect. In effect, the Commission “excuses”

the respondent railroads in the case before us from meeting

the substantial proof requirement in satisfaction of its long

established rule predicated upon the rail carriers “inability”

to meet that obligation here. In other words, the rule is

viable and applicable where the Commission determines

that the railroads are “able” to carry the burden of proof but

it is not applicable in those instances where the Commission

determines that the rail carriers are unable to do so. Sucha

departure is impermissible. Secretary of Agriculture v.

United States, 347 U.S. 645, 74 S.Ct. 826, 98 L.Ed. 1015

(1954), is dispositive of this issue. There, as here, the

Commission approved special charges, in addition to the

existing line-haul rates, for unloading accessorial services.

The protestants appealed contending that the service (a) is

an essential part of the line-haul charge in that it relates to

delivery, (b) that the line-haul rate encompassed the service

and (c) that the service covered by the line-haul rate cannot

be separately compensated unless the carriers show that the

line-haul rate is inadequate to cover it. The Supreme Court

held that each of these claims must be met by the

Commission. The Court held that the Commisssion had not

A-27

done so and that it had failed to explain its departure from

prior norms and its legal basis for doing so. See also

William N. Feinstein & Company v. United States, 209

F.Supp. 613 (S.D.N.Y.1962); National Small Shipments

Traffic Conference, Inc. v. United States, 321 F.Supp. 500

(S.D.N.Y.1970). The same reasoning applies here. The

Commission in the case at bar did not “explain its

departure” from its prior norm by its contention that this

case can be “distinguished” on the apparent proposition

that here the railroads were unable to marshal and present

substantial evidence to meet the requirements of the norm.

The Commission has unwittingly, we believe, adopted an

evidentiary rule which is discriminatory per se: In those

cases where the Commission determines that the carrier is

able to meet the burden of proof that the separate charge ts

justificable in relation to its overall line-haul rates, it must

do so; on the other hand, in those cases where the rail carrier

is, in the judgment of the Commission, unable to carry the

burden of proof, the separate charge will be approved if it

does not exceed the “maximum reasonable rates”

established in Grain and Grain products, supra.

We recognize that activities and conditions in dynamic

fields may dictate that because of later developments prior

administrative construction and interpretation of a statute

should no longer be binding if it does not achieve general

legislative objectives. National Broadcasting Company v.

United States, 319 U.S. 190, 63 S.Ct. 997, 87 L.Ed. 1344

(1943). But a specific and long-standing administrative

interpretation of a statute should not be overruled except

for weighty reasons. Commissioner v. Estate of

Sternberger, 348 U.S. 187, 75 S.Ct. 229, 99 L.Ed. 246

(1955). An administrative interpretive rule of long standing

A-28

has the same force and effect as a statute and rules of

evidence apply to both in the same manner.

The Commission here noted that “even though the

combined line-haul rate and the proposed charge does not

exceed the prescribed maximum level, it is still incumbent

on the Commission to determine if the separate charge is

reasonable when related to the specific service for which it is

to be assessed.” 339 L.C.C. at 388. This, then, was a

departure from its prior interpretive decisions.

We hold that the Commission has not adequately

explained, for purposes of our review, its departure from

prior norms. It has not sufficiently spelled out the legal basis

of its decision. The Commission has not repudiated or

overruled its prior decisions requiring that a carrier or

carriers proposing separate and additional charges for

accessorial services previously included within the line-haul

rates may only do so if there is substantial evidence that the

existing line-haul rates do not adequately cover the entire

services, We are not convinced that the instant proceeding

can be “distinguished” as the Commission has indicated. It

does appear, however, that it has been distinguished by the

commission predicated upon the Commission's own

determination of the burden of proof which it will require

and impose in variable quantities, at its discretion, on a

case-to-case basis.

We do not believe that the findings of the Commission

are adequate in relation to our obligations and tasks on

review. We recognize, just as the Supreme Court recognized

in Secretary of Agriculture v. United States, supra, that “the

Commission was not precluded from following a procedure

fairly adapted to the unique circumstances of this case.” 347

U.S. at 652, 74. S.Ct. at 831.

A-29

The matter is remanded to the Commission for further

proceedings consistent with this opinion. The proposed

charges are suspended and shall be ineffective until and

unless otherwise ordered by this Court.

APPENDIX (ii)(c)

A-30

ATCHISON, TOPEKA & SANTA FE RAILWAYS CO.

et al. v. WICHITA BOARD OF TRADE et al.

APPEAL FROM THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR

THE DISTRICT OF KANSAS

No. 72-214. Argued February 28, 1973 Decided June 18,

1973*

Mr. Justice Marshall announced the judgment of the

Court, and an opinion in which The Chief Justice, Mr.

Justice Stewart, and Mr. Justice Blackmun join.

We noted probable jurisdiction in these cases to resolve

two important questions relating to the proper role of

courts in reviewing approval by the Interstate Commerce

Commission of proposed rate increases by railroads. 409

U.S. 1005 (1972). First, under what circumstances may a

reviewing court find that the Commission has failed

adequately to explain its apparent departure from settled

Commission precedent? Because the problem of

determining what policies an agency is following, as a

prelude to determining whether the agency is acting in

accordance with Congress’ will, is a recurring one, this issue

raises general problems of judicial review of agency action.

The second question in these cases is a more limited one: in

order to enjoin a proposed rate increase after a final order

by the Interstate Commerce Commission, what sort of error

must a District Court find in the proceedings of the

Commission? We hold that in these cases the Commission

did not explain its apparent departure from precedent ina

manner sufficient to permit judicial review of its policies,

but that, nevertheless, that kind of error does not justify the

District Court in entering an injunction against imposition

of the rates pending review of the Commission's action on

remand. We therefore vacate the judgment of the District

*Together with No. 72-433, Interstate Commerce

Commission v. Wichita Board of Trade et al., also on

appeal from the same court.

A-31

Court and remand for the entry of a proper order.'

|

In these cases, the railroads proposed to establish a

separate charge for inspection of grain while in transit. In

order to inspect the grain, the railroad cars loaded with it

are stopped and placed on track facilities. A sample of the

grain is taken, and the official grade is determined. Once the

grade is known and the commercial value of the grain

established, the shipper orders the car to proceed to the

appropriate market. In-transit inspections have substantial

advantages to shippers over inspection at the destination. If

the grain were to be found to be of a different grade than

expected only after arrival at the destination, sending it to

another market might be quite expensive. The advantages

of in-transit inspections to purchasers, instead of inspection

at the source that might satisfy shippers, are less marked but

are nonetheless significant. The grain might deteriorate

while in transit, thus leaving the purchaser with grain of a

lower quality than he expected. And the possibility of bias

of the inspector is greater if the inspection is made at the

source,

The Commission found that “the orderly marketing of

grain under present practices requires that a substantial

'We have previously stayed the judgment of the District Court on

condition that appellant railroads keep accouts of the amounts received

from the in-transit charges. 409 U.S. 801 (1972). We hereby direct the

District Court to enter an order, consistent with this opinion, regarding

the disposition of those amounts,

*Such a charge is already made for the first in-transit inspection inthe

eastern territory. The proposed rates would increase that charge from

$7.42 to $14.33. There would be a slight increase in the currently

effective charge for the second and sunsequent inspections. A large

majority of the number of in-transit inspections occur in the western

territory, where most of this country’s grain is produced and where no

separate charge is now made for the first in-transit inspection. Only a

few cars are stopped for more than one inspection. Thus, for

convenience of exposition, we treat this litigation as involving a

proposal for a seperate new charge; that is the real effect of the railroads’

proposal in most instances.

A-32

portion of the commodity moving in commercial channels

must be subjected to some form of sampling and inspection

to determine grade or quality.” 339 1.C.C, 364, 385 (1971).3

However, it also found that this sampling need not take

place while the grain is in transit. The practice of in-transit

inspections developed when federal law required

inspections for the purpose of grading. 39 Stat. 483. But the

diversion of grain from railroads to motor trucks made it

difficult to enforce the inspection requirements. When

trucks are used, in-transit inspections are not generally

made. Thus, in order to simplify the movement of grain,

Congress abolished the requirement of inspections. Pub. L.

90-487, 82 Stat. 761. In addition, the convenience of

sampling at the source of the grain has increased with the

widening reliance on low-cost mechanical samplers

installed at grain elevators. The Commission therefore

concluded that in-transil inspections were not necessary for

the orderly marketing of grain.

It also concluded that in-transit inspections resulted ina

substantial decrease in the number of freight cars available

for general use.4 Relying on a variety of studies conducted

by the railroads, the Commission found that each

inspection kept a freight car out of use for roughly three

days, and that the cumulative impact of the delays due to in-

transit inspection was to reduce the available freight car

fleet by several thousand cars.

Finally, the Commission considered whether the

proposed separate charge for each in-transit inspection

fairly reflected the cost to the railroad of such an inspection.

Again, it relied on quite detailed studies that established the

cost of detaining a car, the cost of switching it on and off the

‘The report of Division 2 of the Commission is found at 3391. C. C,

364 (1971). The entire Commission *adopt{[ed] and affirm[ed] the

findings and conclusions reached” in that report. 340 1. C. C. 69, 70

(1971).

4For a description of the car-utilization problem, see United States v.

Allegheny-Ludlum Steel Corp., 406 U.S. 742, 745-746 (1972).

A-33

main line, and the clerical costs of conducting inspections,

The Commission concluded that the proposed charges were

“not excessive in amount. ..on the basis of the convincing

evidence of record showing the costs sustained by the

railroads in performing the in-transit inspection service.”

340 1.C.C., at 71-72.

Shippers who had objected to the proposed new charges

before the Commission sought review of the Commission's

order, and a statutory three-judge District Court was

convened. The District Court found that these conclusions

were supported by substantial evidence, and they are not

challenged here. But the District Court held that the

Commission had not adequately justified its failure to

follow “its long established rule that it will not allow a

separate charge for an accessorial service previously

performed as part of the line-haul rates without substantial

evidence that such an additional charge is justified

measured against the overall services rendered and the

overall reasonableness of the increased line-haul rate

resulting therefrom.” 352 F. Supp. 368. The Commission,

although it analyzed the cost of each in-transit inspection,

had made no attempt to consider the reasonableness of

continuing the existing line-haul rate, which included some

charge for in-transit inspections. Instead, the Commission

had attempted to distinguish this case from prior cases in

which the rule was invoked, but the District Coun, relying

on Secretary of Agriculture v. United States, 347 U.S. 645

(1954), was “not convinced that the instant proceeding can

be ‘distinguished’ as the Commission has indicated.” 352 F.

Supp., at 369.

Although the Commission must be given some leeway to

re-examine and reinterpret its prior holdings, it is not

sufficiently clear from its opinion that it has done so in this

case. A reviewing court must be able to discern in the

Commission's actions the policy it is now pursuing, so that

it may complete the task of judicial review—-in this regard,

to determine whether the Commission's policies are

A-34

consistent with its mandate from Congress. Since we cannot

tell from the Commission's opinions what those policies

are, we therefore agree with the District Court that the

Commission's order finding the rates just and reasonable

cannot be sustained.

i

Judicial review of decisions by the Interstate Commerce

Commission in rate cases necessarily has a limited scope.

Such decisions “are not to be disturbed by the courts except

upon a showing that they are unsupported by evidence,

were made without a hearing, exceed constitutional limits,

or for some other reason amount to an abuse of power.”

Manufacturers R. Co. v. United States, 246 U.S. 457, 481

(1918).5 As this Court has observed, “The process of rate

making is essentially empiric. The stuff of the process is

fluid and changing the resultant of factors that must be

valued as well as weighed. Congress has theref ore delegated

the enforcement of transportation policy to a permanent

expert body and has charged it with the duty of being

responsive to the dynamic character of transportation

problems,” Board of Trade of Kansas City v. United States,

314 U.S. 534, 546 (1942),

The delegation to the Commission is not, of course,

unbounded, and it is the duty of a reviewing court to

determine whether the course followed by the Commission

is consistent with its mandate from Congress. See /CC

v. Inland Waterways Corp., 319 U.S. 671, 691(1943);

Burlington Truck Lines, Inc. v. United States, 371 U.S. 156,

167-169 (1962). Cf. NLRB v. Wyvman-Gordon Co., 394 U.S.

759, 767 (1969) (opinion of Fortas, J.). But a simple

examination of the order being reviewed is frequently

insufficient to reveal the policies that the Commssion is

pursuing. Thus, this Court has relied on the “simple but

fundamental rule of administrative law.” SEC v. Chenery

Corp., 332 U.S. 194, 196 (1947), that the agency must set

‘See also 5 U.S. C. § 706 (2).

A-35

forth clearly the grounds on which it acted. For “fw Je must

know what a decision means before the duty becomes our to

say whether it is right or wrong.” United States v. Chicago,

M., St. P. & P. R. Co., 294 U.S. 499, 511 (1935). See also

Phelps Dodge Corp v. NLRB, 313. U.S. 177, 197, (1941). And

we must rely on the rationale adopted by the administrative

process. Id.. at 88. Cf. NLRB vy. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co.,

380 U.S. 438, 443-444 (1965). Only in that way may we

“guard against danger of sliding unconsciously from the

narrow confines of law into the more spacious domain of

policy.” Phelps Dodge Corp. v. NLRB, supra, at 194.

An agency “may articulate the basis of its order by

reference to other decisions.” NLRB v. Metropolitan Life

Ins. Co., supra, at 443 n. 6. For “[La]djudicated cases may

and do, of course, serve as vehicles for the formulation of

agency policies, which are applied and announced therein.

See H. Friendly, The Federal Administrative Agencies 36-

52 (1962). They generally provide a guide to action that the

agency may be expected to take in future cases. Subject to

the qualified role of stare decisis in the administrative

process, they may serve as precedents.” NLRB v. Wiyman-

Gordan Co., supra, at 765-766 (opinion of Fortas, J.). This

is essentially a corollary of the general rule requiring that

the agency explain the policies underlying its action. A settled

course of behavior embodies the agency's informed

judgment that, by pursuing that course, it will carry out the

policies committed to it by Congress.

There is, then at least a presumption that those policies

will be carried out best if the settled rule is adhered to. From

this presumption flows the agency's duty to explain its

departure from prior norms. Secretary of Agriculture vy.

United States, supra, at 653. The agency may flatly

repudiate those norms, deciding, for example, that changed

circumstances mean that they are no longer required in

order to effectuate congressional policy. Or it may narrow

A-36

the zone in which some rule will be applied, because it

appears that a more discriminating invocation of the rule

will best serve congressional policy. Or it may find that,

although the rule in general serves useful purposes,

peculiarities of the case before it suggest that the rule not be

applied in that case. Whatever the ground for the departure

from prior norms, however, it must be clearly set forth so

that the reviewing court may understand the basis of the

agency's action and so may judge the consistency of that

action with the agency's mandate.

A further complication arises when, as here, the agency’

distinguishes earlier cases in which it invoked the rule. An

initial step, and often the only one clearly taken, is to specify

factual differences between the cases. Those factual

differences serve to distinguish the cases only when some

legislative policy makes the differences relevant to

determining the proper scope of the prior rule. It is all too

easy for a court to judge the adequacy of an asserted

distinction in light of the policies the court, rather than the

agency, seeks to implement; that is, after all, what an

appellate court does with respect to courts of the first

instance. Yet when an agency's distinction of its prior cases

is found inadequate, the reviewing court may inadvertently

adopt the stance it ordinarily takes with respect to other

courts, and thereby may invade “the domain which

Congress has set aside exclusively for the administrative

agency.” SEC v. Chenery Corp., supra, at 196, that is, the

choice of particular actions to carry out the broad policies

stated by Congress. Instead, it is enough to satisfy the

requirements of judicial oversight of administrative action

if the agency asserts distinctions that, when fairly and

sympathetically read in the context of the entire opinion of

the agency, reveal the policies it is pursuing. So long as the

policies can be discerned, the court may exercise its proper

function of determining whether the agency's policies are

consistent with congressional directives:

‘

. b

A-37

These principles gain content when applicd to the present

cases. The District Court held that the Commission had not

repudiated or adequately distinguished its prior cases

establishing the rule that “it will now allow a separate charge

for an accessorial service previously performed as part of

the line-haul rates without substantial evidence that such an

additional charge is justified measured against the overall

services rendered and the overall reasonableness of the

increased line-haul rate resulting therefrom.” 352 F. Supp..

at 368. While this is a fair summary of the Commission’s

establish practice,.® it conceals the apparent purpose of

the rule, to protect two distinct classes: shippers who will

continue to utilize the accessorial service in this case,

those who will still have their grain inspected while in

transit.-and shippers who will not. To decide whether the

Commission has adequately explained its failure to follow

that rule, we must consider each class in turn, for the

‘In Transit Charges, Southern Territory, 3321. C. C. 664, 683 (1968),

the Commission stated the ruic in these terms: “[T he proposed charge

may not be divorced from the line-haul rate, for both, insofar as transit

is concerned, are inextricably interdependent. [Citations omitted.]

While it would seem preferable to have the various clements entering

into, and constituting, the whole analyzed, if indeed they could be

separated, the entire transportation service rendered, including transit,

must be examined in relation to the total rates and charges assessed.”

The District Court reviewing that case rephrased the rule: “The question

here is what should the carrier be paid for a service which it has been

rendering, and has been charging for, and has been paid for (one

knowceth not what) which it proposes to separate and charge separately

for. Both the courts and the Commission have consistently held that

what is a just and reasonable rate for the service to be separated and

charged for separately cannot be determined by cxamining only the

typical questions of cost, etc., with respect to the separate service. On the

contrary, the typical questions must be directed to the overall or

combined picture so that one may conclude (a) that the rate for the

separated service, looked at by itself in the light of the applicable

questions, is just and reasonable; and (b) that the remaining rate for the

services, sans the separated service, is not rendered unjust or

unreasonable.” Cincinnati, N. O. & T. P. R. Co. v. United States, Cwil

A-38

Commission may have made clear why it need not protect

one class by invoking the rule but it may nonetheless have

failed to say why it need not protect the other class.

Iw Unloading Lumber to New York Harbor, 256 1.C.C.

463 (1943). the Commission dealt with a proposal to charge

separately for unloading. a service that was inextricably

bound up with the line-haul service. Cf. Secretary of

Agriculture v. United States, supra, at 648-649. The

Commission said, “It follows th. * respondents may not now

segregate a component of that [line-haul] service, making a

separate charge therefor, without an adequate showing that

the aggregate charge for the through service is reasonable.”

256 I.C.C., at 468. The explicit purpose of the rule in this

situation is to guarantee that shippers receiving the same

service that they had previously received do not pay an

unreasonable amount. See also Duluth Dockage

Absorption, 44 1.C.C. 300 (1917); Terminal Charges at

Pacific Coast Ports, 255 1.C.C. 673, 682 (1943). The rule, in

this regard, is that the railraods must demonstrate both that

the proposed charge is reasonable in light of the costs of the

separate service, and that the total charge for line haul plus

the separate service is reasonable.

The Commission justified its departure from its prior case

by giving two reasons that relate to this aspect of the rule.

First, it noted that “[t]he line-haul rates applicable on the

grain to, from, and through [the]inspection points number

in the thousands and, because of the complexities of the

Action No. 6992 (SD Ohio. Jan. 12, 1970). aff'd. 400 U.S. 932 (1970).

The District Court continued, somewhat more obscurely: “Whether the

examination is in terms of ‘what portion of the line-haul rate represented

the rate for the service to be separated, or whether the search in

terminology is for the answer to this question: Does the new aggregate

rate, composed of line-haul plus transit rates represent a just and

reasonable rate for all of the services (the aggregate of theserved and the

non-served) the principle is the same.” And in Secretary of

Agriculture vy. United States, 347 U.S. 645, 654, (1954). this Court

referred to it as “the prevailing rule...that a service necessarily

encompassed by the line-haul rate cannot be spearately restated without

examining the sufficiency of the line-haul rate to cover it.”

A-39

grain rate structure, vary toa large degree.” Thus. applying

the general rule “effectively precludes respondents from ever

establishing a separate charge for the accessorial first stop

for inspection regardless of the need for such a charge.”

Second, the Commission said that “the line-haul rate

applicable to any movement of grain. .. when coupled with

the proposed charge is less than the maximum reasonable

level determined by this Commission. In no instance will the

combined rate and charge exceed the maximum level

prescribed in Grain and Grain Products [205 1.C.C. 301

(1934) and 215 1.C.C. 83 (1936)].” 339 1.C.C., at 386-387.

The maximum rates prescribed in Grain and Grain

Products have been subjected to a large number of general

rate increases.’ See, e. g.. Ex parte Nos. 265 and 26/7,

Increased Freight Rates, 1970 and 1971, 339 1.C.C. 125

(1971). In those proceedings, the Commission’s focus is on

the general revenue needs of the railroads. Across-the-board

percentage increases are permitted without detailed

examination of individual rates. As a result, there may be

specific routes on which the maximum is in fact

unreasonable, because, for example, the costs of operating

those routes have not increased as rapidly as the costs

elsewhere. Thus, the Commission has held that its approval

of a general increase “does not have the effect of approving

any particular increased rate as not being in excess of a

maximum reasonable rate.” Cval from Illinois to Altonand

East St. Louis, 274 1.C.C. 637, 670 (1949). See also

Tennessee Produce & Chemical Corp. v. Alabama G.S.R.

Co., 277 LC.C. 207 (1950); Brimstone R. Co. v. United

States, 276 U.S. 104 (1928). However, in other contexts, the

Commission has treated the prescribed rates as modified by

general increases as “the best evidence of the reasonableness

’Currently effective rates are, on almost every route, lower than the

rates permitted by the general maximum. Sce 340 1.C.C., at 71. Often

this results from competition from other modes of transport which

forces rates below what the railroads would like to charge. —

A40

of corresponding rates on a...date” after the general

increase. Agsco Chemicals, Ince. v. Alabama G.S. R. Co., 314

1.C.C. 725, 733 (1961). Cf. Public Service Comm'n of North

Dakota v. Great Northern R. Co., 340 1.C.C. 739, 750

(1972).

The Commission thus has not determined that a rate

which does not exceed the current general maximum is

reasonable. A shipper can challenge any such rate as

unreasonable and, if he succeeds, may recover reparations.

In addition, the Commission may prescribe a rate to be

charged in the future. 49 U.S.C. §§ 8 9, 13(1), 1S(1I); ICC v.

Inland Waterways Corp., 319 U.S. 671, 687 (1943). In such

proceedings, the shipper must show that the rate charged

was unreasonable. Cf. Louisville & N.R. Co. v. United

States, 238 U.S. 1 (1915); Shaw Warehouse Co. v. Southern

R. Co., 288 F. 2d 759 (CAS 1961).* In contrast, when a

proposed rate increase is challenged by a shipper before it

goes into effect, “the burden of proof shall be upon the

carrier to show that the proposed changed rate. . . is just and

reasonable.” 49 U.S.C. § 15(7).’

The Commission in this litigation referred to the burden

*MR. JUSTICE WHITE argues that, if a rate at the level of the

general maximum is reasonable, and if the separate charge is

reasonable, then surely a line-haul rate that is equal to the general

maximum less the separate charge is reasonable. The flaw in his

argument is that the Commission has never determined that rates at the

level of the current general maximum are reasonable. That is, in the

example suggested by MR. JUSTICE WHITE, the Commission has not

determined what he says that it has “previously found that 120 wa

reasonable charge for both services.” Without this premise, his

argument fails.

“lf the Commission finds that the proposed rates are unreasonable,

rather than that the railraods failed to carry their burden of proof, that

finding might be conclusive in a subsequent proceeding. Cf. Mitchell

Coal & Coke Co. v. Pennsylvania R. Co., 230 U.S. 247, 258(19 13), ICC

v. Atlantic Coast Line R. Co., 383 U.S. 576, 590-594 (1966). This does

not, however, affect the burden placed on carriers in the suspension

proceedings.

A-41

that applying the rule would place onthe railroads, It rather

clearly intended by this to suggest that the importance of

implementing the new charges and so of increasing the

supply of available freight cars justified some modification

of its usual allocation of the burden of going forward.

Instead of requiring the railroads to produce substantial

evidence that the total charges were reasonable, it would

leave that determination to later proceedings in which a

shipper secking reparations might point to particular

individual charges as unreasonable.

If this were all that was at stake, the Commission would

have adequately identified the concerns behind its course

in light of the pressing need to increase the freight car

supply, it was not too much to require that shippers carry

the burden of going forward. Such an assessment would

surely permit a reviewing court (o determine whether the

Commission's action was consistent with congressional

transportation policy. Unfortunately, though, the change

involved in making the shippers claim that particular rates

are unreasonable is not all that is at stake. For in

proceedings for reparations, there is also a change in the

burden of proof: the shipper must produce substantial

evidence that the rate is unreasonable. This would appear to

affect the likelihood that the shipper will prevail. There is a

zone in which rates are reasonable, United States vy.

Chicago, M., St. P. & P. R. Co., 294.U.S. 499, 506 (1935),

and it would seem to be harder to establish that the

proposed rates fell outside that zone than that they fell

within it. Or so Congress believed, for it specified the

allocation of the burden of proof in suspension proceedings

as part of the cost to the carriers; in return for confining the

power to suspend rates to the Commission, and so of

eliminating the threat of long-drawn-out injunctive

proceedings in the courts, Congress made the carriers carry

a burden of proof that would otherwise not have been

> ae

A42

theirs. Cf. Part I, infra."

The Commission did not suggest that its approval of the

proposed rates on the grounds it gave would alter the usual

practice in actions for reparations. Nor did it say why the

need for an increased supply of freight cars justified a

significant change in the burden of proof, In this sense, the

Commission's action was, as the District Court noted,

“discriminatory per se.”

It is even harder to understand from the Commission's

opinion why it departed from the rule in prior cases

protecting shippers who decide not to have in-transit

inspections, If the separate charges are to be effective in

alleviating the car-shortage problem, there must be a

substantial number of shippers who do not seck in-transit

"The argument urged in support of the Commission's order is, in

essence, that the separate charge approved by it was just like a general

rate increase because of the breadth of its application. However, the

Commission did not use the language characteristic of general increase

proceedings. See, ¢.g., Lx parte 259, Increased Freight Rates, 1968, 432

1 C. C, 714, 715, 792 (1969). And. if this were just like a general rate

increase, serious questions would arise about the jurisdiction of the

District Court to review the Commission's order. See Atlantic City

Llectric Co. v. United States, W6F, Supp. 3B(SDNY 1969), Alabama

Power Co. v, United States, 6b, Supp. 337 (DC 1969), both affd by

an equally divided court, 400 U.S. 73(1970). Yet. although the parties

have cited those cases to us, see Brief for the Interstate Commerce

Commission 35; Brief for the Secretary of Agriculture 18; Brief for

Wichita Board of Trade 32, they have not contended at any length that

the District Court lacked jurisdiction over this litigation, This suggests

that the parties, including the Commission, do not interpret the

Commission's opinion as resting on the similarity between these cases

and general rate increase cases,

A-43

inspections, Yet according to the Commission, the railroads

need not show that the present line-haul rates are

reasonable charges for the services provided to shippers

who do not seek in-transit inspections, | would appear, thus,

that the Commission has approved a policy that dis-

criminates against what it hopes will be a very large

number of shippers; it seems to have tried to justify its policy

by citing reasons that affect only a much smaller class.

Some of the shippers who previously sought in-transit

inspections will no longer do so, Others had the opportunity

for such inspections, Yow the railroads propose to eliminate

some of the service previously provided, yet charge the same

rates. The Commission in its prior cases has required rail-

roads proposing a similar reduction in service either to show

that the rates then in effect did not compensate them for the

service, and thus that the service was being provided at no

charge, or to reduce the existing rates. See, e. g., Transit

Charges, Southern Territory, 332 1.C.C. 664, 683 (1968);

Loading of Less-Than-Carload Freight on Lighters in

Norfolk, WVa.. Harbor, 91 LC.C. 394 (1924); ICC ¥,

Chicago, B. & Q. R. Co., 186 U.S. 320 (1902).

A-44

Nothing the Commission said suggests any reason why

the railroads should not be required to follow the same rule

in this case, At no time have rates ever been established, or

found just and reasonable, when the railroads did not

include the service of in-transit inspection, Perhaps the

imperative need to increase the number of freight cars

available to all shippers justifies some alteration of the

general rule, Yet the Commission, when dealing with

shippers who will continue to have in-transit inspections,

invoked the fact that the new charges would not raise rates

above those permitted by the general maximum. As to that

class, the Commission apparently believed that it could not

simply refuse to follow pre-existing practices on the ground

of exigency alone. The Commission offered no reason to

distinguish the larger class from the smaller one, in that

respect. But it might be that rates for services including an

in-transit inspection, at the level of the general maximum,

would be reasonable while rates for services without such

inspections would be unreasonable at that level, or even

below it. Thus, the fact that the new charges will not exceed

the general maximum seems to have no bearing on the

question of the reasonableness of the rates that will

continue to be in force for now-reduced services.!!

Perhaps the current line-haul rates really do not include a

substantial amount attributable to the cost of providing in-

transit inspections, But cf, Tr. 231-232, 258-266. Or perhaps

the Commission has some reason to reinterpret the prior

cases Suggesting that its rule reflects a concern for rates that

are “increased” simply because of a reduction in services.

As in Secretary of Agriculture v. United States, 347 U.S,

at 652, the Commission may have reasons for “following a

procedure fairly adapted to the unique circumstances of this

''The Commission may have intended to leave this question for later

proceedings, But this course runs into the difficulties noted supra, at

S13-S14,

A-45

case.”'? But, as in that case, it must make these reasons

known to a reviewing court with sufficient clarity to permit

it to do its job, Even giving the Commission's opinion the

most sympathetic reading that we find possible, we cannot

discover in it an expressed reason for permitting the

railroads to reduce their services without showing that the

rates they propose to maintain are reasonable rates for the

service they intend to provide,

Hl

After holding that the matter must be remanded to the

Interstate Commerce Commission for further proceedings,

the District Court ordered, “The proposed charges are

suspended and shall be ineffective until and unless

otherwise ordered by this Court.” No reasons for such an

order were given; the District Court did not, for example,

specify the nature of the harm o the shippers that would,

presumably, injure them irreparably, Nor did it explain the

basis for its apparent belief that Arrow Transportation Co.

v. Southern R. Co., 372 U.S. 658 (1963). was

distinguishable.

lt was error to enter such an injunction, The District

Court clearly had power to suspend the operation of the

Commission's order pending the final determination of the

shippers’ suit. That power is given in terms by 28 U.S.C.

§2324: “The pendency of an action to enjoin, set aside,

annual, or suspend any order of the Interstate Commerce

Commission shall not of itself stay or suspend the operation

On remand, the Commission might explain more fully the course it

followed, or it might adopt a different course, for example, by rey uiring

the carriers to demonstrate the reasonableness of the line-haul rates for

services provided without an in-transit inspection on @ representative

sample of routes. Most of the prior casts in which the Commission

invoked the rule involved quite limited problems, often confined to a

single route, But ef. Transit Charges, Souther territory, 4921.C. C. 664

(196%). If the Commission then explained why that procedure was

responsive to the needs of the particular case, the prerequisites of

judicial review would be satisfied.

A-46

of the order, but the court may restrain or suspend, in whole

or in part, the operation of the order pending the final

hearing and determination of the action.” But an injunction

forbidding the railroads to implementa proposed change in

rates is not, strictly speaking, an injunction suspending the

Commission's order. In this case, for example, the

Commission's order stated that “the proposed new or

increased charges for in-transit inspection of grain at

various points in the United States are just and

reasonable...” 340 L.C.C., at 74. The only consequence of

‘suspending that order is that the railroads may not rely, in

some subsequent proceeding, on a Commission finding that

the proposed rates were just and reasonable. In an action

for reparations, for example, the railroads could not gain

any benefit from the purported Commission approval of

the increases.'' See Arizona Grocery v. Atchison. T. & S.

F. R. Co., 284 U.S. 370 (1932). See also 49 U.S.C, §§1(5), 10

(1). The Commission's order also provided that the

proceeding be discontinued, and suspension of the order

requires the Commission to reopen its inquiry.

Carriers may put into effect any rate that the Commission

has not declared unreasonable. 49 U.S.C. §§ 6 (3), 15 (1)

Suspension of the Commission's order thus does not in itself

preclude the carriers from implementing a new rate. The

power conferred on the District Court by § 2324 does not in

itself include a power to enjoin the railroads from

implementing a proposed new charge. Rather, that power

must be considered as at best ancillary to the general

equitable powers of the reviewing court, and protective of

its jurisdiction. See Arrow Transportation Co. v. Southern

R. Co., supra, at 671 n. 22; Order of Conductors v. Pitney,

''The Commission may, of course, approve the rates on a theory

similar to that discussed in Part Hof the opinion, justifying its ref usalto

require a showing of reasonableness by the fact that questions would be

open it, subsequent proceedings. A suspension of the Commission order

would then have almost no practical meaning,

A-47

326 U.S. 561, 567 (1946). Cf. Pittsburgh & W. Va. R. Co. v.

United States, 281 U.S. 479, 488 (1930); 28 U.S.C. § 1651 (a).

As this Court noted in Seripps- Howard Radio, Inc. v. FCC,

316 U.S. 4 (1942), such a power must be inferred from

Congress’ decision to permit judicial review of the agency

action, “If the administrative agency has committed errors

of law for the correction of which the legislature has

provided appropriate resort to the courts, such judicial

review would be an idle ceremony if the situation were

irreparably changed before the correction could be made.”

Id, at 10.

Yet it would be surprising if that power could be exercised

to the extent that it might substantially interfere with the

function of the administrative agency. “The existence of

power in a reviewing court to stay the enforcement of an

administrative order does not mean, of course, that its

exercise should be without regard to the division of function

which the legislature has made between the administrative

body and the court of review.” /bid. Proper regard for that

division of function requires that we hold erroneous the

District Court's decision to enjoin not only the

Commission's order finding the proposed rates just and

reasonable but also the implementation of those rates.

In Arrow Transportation Co. v. Southern R. Co., supra,

this Court considered a similar problem. The Interstate

Commerce Commission has the power to suspend proposed

rate changes for seven months, while it proceeds to consider

the reasonableness of the proposal. “If the proceeding has

not been concluded and an order made within the period of

suspension, the proposed change of rate. ..shall go into

effect at the end of such period.” 49 U.S.C. § 15 (7). In

Arrow, parties affected by proposed reductions sought an

injunctions against the implementation of the proposed

reductions when, at the end of the suspension period, the

railroads announced that they intended to put the new rates

into effect. The Commission had not determined that those

A-48

rates were reasonable. The Court concluded that Congress,

by giving the Commission the power to suspend rates, had

intended to preclude the courts from doing the same.

Here, of course, the Commission's proceeding has been

concluded, or at least so the Commission thought when it

entered its order. The terms of § 15(7) do not specifically

govern this situation. Nor is there any other provision in the

relevant statutes depriving federal courts of their general

equitable power to preserve the status quo to avoid

irreparable harm pending review. Yet many of the

considerations, relied on in Arrow and influencing this

Court's definition of the proper relation between the courts

and the Interstate Commerce Commission, must be drawn

on to delineate guidelines for the exercise of the ancillary

power, in a proceeding to review a Commission order, to

enjoin a rate increase pending final determination of the

suit,

The most important of these considerations is the group

of policies that are encompassed by the term “primary

jurisdiction.” National transportation policy reflects many

often-competing interests. Congress has established an

administrative agency that has developed a close

understanding of the various interests and that may draw

upon its experience to illuminate, for the courts, the play of

those interests in a particular case. Cf. Great Northern R.

Co. v. Merchants Elevator Co., 259 U.S. 285 (1922); United

States v. Western Pacific R. Co., 352 U.S. 59 (1956).

Ordinarily, then a court should refrain from expressing a

preliminary view on what national transportation policy

permits, before the ICC expressees its view. But when a

court issues an injunction pending final determination, one

important element of its judgment is its estimate of the

probability of ultimate success of the merits by the party

challenging the agency action. Virginia Petroleum Jobbers

Assn. v. FPC, 104 U.S. App. D.C. 106, 110, 259 F. 2d 921,

925 (1958). Depending on the type of error the reviewing

A-49

court finds in the administrative proceedings, the issuance

of an injunction pending further administrative action may

indicate what the court believes is permitted by national

transportation policy, prior to an expression by the

Commission of its view. This is precisely what the doctrine

of primary jurisdiction is designed to avoid. Cf.Order of

Conductors v. Pitney, supra; Locomotive Engineers v. M.-

K.-T. R. Co., 363 U.S. 528, 533 (1960). The fact that issuing

an injunction may undercut the policies served by the

doctrine of primary jurisdiction is therefore an important

element to be considered when a federal court contemplates

such action.'4

As we have indicated in Part II of this opinion, we require

the agency to justify its departure from its prior decisions so

that we may understand what policies it is pursuing. If a

reviewing court cannot discern those policies, it may

remand the case to the agency for clarification and further

justification of the departure from precedent. But an

injunction pending the completion of those proceedings

would be warranted only if the reviewing court entertained

substantial doubt about the consistency of the

Commission's action with its mancate from Congress. Cf.

Virginian R. Co. v. United States, 272 U.S. 658, 673

(1926).'S When a case is remanded on the ground that the

47 ocomotive Engineers v. M.-K.-T. R. Co., 363 U. S. 528 (1960),

shows that not all judicial injunctions infringe on an agency's primary

jurisdiction. There the Court noted that the District Court's

“examination of the nature of the dispute is so unlike that which the

[agency] will make of the merits of the same dispute, and is for sucha

dissimilar purpose, that it could not interfere with the later

consideration of the grievance by the [agency] will make ofthe merits of

the same dispute, and is for such a dissimilar purpose, that it could not

interfere with the later consideration of the grievance by the [agency}.”

/d., at 534. Here, in contrast, the District Court must consider whether

the Commission is likely to find reasons for its action that are consistent

with congressional policy. Not only is such a question exceedingly

complex, it is also just what the Commission itself must decide before

approving the proposed new charges.

'SIn some cases, the reviewing court might explicity refrain from

considering the likelihood of success on the merits in deciding whether

A-SO

agency's policies are unclear, an injunction ordinarily

interferes with the primary jurisdiction of the Commission. '°

Cf. Arrow Transportation Co. v. Southern R. Co., U.S.

at 669-670.

In addition, the reviewing court must consider whether

or not to issue an injunction. The, if the possibility of irreparable

damage to the party seeking review or to other interests is great enough,

an injunction may perhaps be justified. See. e.g.. Semmes Motors.

Inc. v. Ford Motor Co., 429 F. 2d 1197, 1205-1206(CA2 1970); Checker

Motors Corp. v. Chrysler Corp. 405 F 2d 319, 323 (CA2 1969). Here.

however, the District Court did not clearly refuse to access the

likelihood of ultimate success and, as indicated infra. the possibility of

irreparable harm to the shippers ts quite small.

'eThis analysis turns on the fact that the type of error in these cases

involves precisely a failure by the Commission to do the job committed

to it, the proper performance of which is a predicate of the doctrine of

primary jurisdiction. Where the error might be considered purely

procedural, for example where the Commission failed to consider

relevant evidence on grounds the reviewing court finds inadequate, the

issuance of an injunction might not interfere with the agency's primary

jurisdiction quite so severly. Yet even there. before issuing an injunction

the reviewing court must consider whether the Commission would have

come to a different conclusion had it considered the evidence. And that

may sometimes impinge on the sphere committed to the Commission for

initial decision.

This Court has distinguished between blatantly lawless action and

mere procedural error in cases raising similar questions of the power of

courts to intervence in administrative action. See Oestereich v. Selective

Service Bd., 393 U.S. 233 (1968); Fein v. Selective Service Svstem, 405

U. S. 365 (1972).

Different considerations would come into play, too. when the

reviewing court finds some failure by the carriers in the suspension

proceeding, rather that a failure by the Commission to do its task. A

reviewing court might find. for example. that the Commission's

conclusion that the carriers had carried the burden of proofto justify the

increase was not supported by substantial evidence. Although phrased

as a finding of administrative error, that in fact relates to the

presentation of evidence by the carriers.

Finally, this litigation involves only claims under the Interstate

Commerce Act. Subsequent legislation might affect the relation

between court and agency and so the propriety of injunctive relief.

Whether it does so must be determined by cxamining that legislation.

A-SI

irreparable harm will result if the injunction is not issued

and the party seeking it prevails on the merits. Order of

Conductors v. Pitney, supra. That too may interfere with

the agency's primary jurisdiction. We deal here with a

dispute between shippers and carriers. In giving the

Interstate Commerce Commission power to suspend

proposed rate increases, Congress allocated the benefit and

harm of a suspension. For a period of up to seven months,

the carriers may not collect the increases if the Commission

suspends them. The income that they might have gained is

lost to them forever. Congress did provide protection to

shippers for the period after the rates go into effect. The

Commission may require the carriers to keep detailed

accounts of the income received asa result of the increase. If

the increase is ultimately found unjustified, the

Commission may order a refund. 49 U.S.C. § 15(7). Evenif

the Commission does not do so in a suspension proceeding,

the shippers may recover reparations under some

circumstances. 49 U.S.C. §§8, 9. Thus, it is often quite

unlikely that shippers will be irreparably damaged by the

implementation of a rate increase.'’

There are, however, public interests at stake in this

litigation, as well as the private interests of the shippers and

carriers. The Commission found that inspection of grain is

required for the orderly marketing of grain. 339 1.C.C., at

385. Inspections will thus continue to be made. But now if

the Commission ultimately approves the new charges, there

will be a separate charge for them, either by the railroads

under the new charges, or by someone else engaged in

marketing grain. This extra cost must be absorbed by

someone, perhaps by farmers, perhaps by the ultimate

'" The interests of other carriers who might object to a proposed rate

change are somewhat different. They are not damaged, as the shippers

are, by out-of-pocket expenditures, and refunds or reparations do not

remedy the loss of business that they might suffer. This factor would

thus have less weight in suits by such carriers, att houghthe problem of

interfering with primary jurisdiction must still be considered.

A-52

consumers of grain. See Tr. 1299. The impact of rates on

various groups in this country is surely relevant to deciding

that the rates are consistent with national transportation

policy.

But the public interest is not a simple fact, easily

dete-mined by courts. Here, for example, the interests of

fa; » s and consumers of grain must be balanced against

the interests of producers and consumers of all sorts of

other goods shipped by rail. For the premise of the

Commission's action in this case was that separate charges

for in-transit inspections would alleviate the freight-car

shortage. The shortage itself increases the cost of

transporting a wide range of products by rail. Thus, the

decision that must be made is whether the car shortage hasa

more significant impact on the national economy that does

increased cost for grain products. Congress has committed

that decision to the Interstate Commerce Commission in

the first instance, and the extent of harm to farmers and

consumers of grain cannot be estimated without interfering

with the primary jurisdiction of the Commission.'*

'*Although they are far less substantial than the problems of primary

jurisdiction and irrepable injury. procedural problems might also arise

when a district court consideres a request for an injunction like that

issued here. Review of Commission orders is by a three-judge district

court. The United States is the difendant. 28 U. S. C. §§2321, 2322.

Railroads which appeared before the Commission have a right to

intervene, 28 U.S. C. §2323, but they need not do so. If arailraod chose

not to intervene, the district court could not enjoin it from implementing

the new charge. The plaintiffs could, of course. compel an unwilling

railroad to appear. Fed. Rule Civ. Proc. 19(a). But. even though services

of process is nationwide, 2% U.S. C. §2321. some plaintiffs might findit

difficult to serve every railraod that did not appear willingly. The

presence before the reviewing court of all interested parties. or only

some of them, is therefore relevant to the exercise of the court's

discretion to enjoin a proposed rate increase. Like the other factors

discussed in the opimon. this does not establish that the district court

lacks power to enjoin the implementation of proposed rate increases

after a final Commission order. but it is a factor to be considered in

determining whether to exercise eyuitabie discretion to issue such an

injunction.

A-53

As this discussion shows, it is very likely thata decision to

enjoin rates pending reconsideration by the Commission in

order to clarify its policies will imply some view by the

District Court about decisions committed to the

Commission by the doctrine of primary jurisdiction. The

District Court’s power to enjoin rates, in order to protect its

jurisdiction to review Commission orders, must therefore

be exercised with great care and after full and detailed

consideration of the problems set out above. It will not do

to enter such an injunction in the off-hand manner of the

District Court. Cf. Virginian R. Co. v. United States, 272

U.S. 658 (1962). Here the District Court could not consider

the likelihood of success on the merits or where the public

interest lies without infringing on decisions committed by

Congress to the primary jurisdiction of the Interstate

Commerce Commission and the possibility of harm to the

shippers was small. It was therefore improper to enter an

injunction against the implementation of the proposed new

charges.

Here the Commission ordered the railroads to maintain

records of the amounts collected as a result of the new

charge. It may be that this adequately protects the shippers

from irreparable damage, in light of the availability of

actions for reparations. The Commission may determine on

remand that some further steps must be taken to protect the

shippers. But in any event, it is clear that the District Court

should not have entered the injunction it did. The action of

the District Court is affirmed as to the remand to the

Commission and is reversed as to the injunction suspending

the proposed charges.

So ordered.

Mr. Justice Powell took no part in the consideration or

decision of these cases.

Mr. Justice Douglas, concurring in the affirmance of the

remand to the Commission and dissenting from the reversal

of the decree authorizing the injunction.

A-54

Though I concur in the affirmance of the remand to the

Interstate Commerce Commission, | dissent from the

reversal of the decree authorizing the injunction, since in my

view the District Court was quite correct in issuing its

injunction. Arrow Transportation Co. v. Southern R. Co.,

372 U.S. 658, is not relevant here, for the reason that 49

U.S.C. § 15(7) only purports to control the suspension of

rates up until the time the Commission has rendered a

decision. After that decision has been made, the reviewing

court has, | believe, the power to enjoin the affected rates.

The new charges which the Commission would impose

would have an immediate impact upon the grain-marketing

system. It would affect the volume of business of the grain

merchants, it would affect the employment of grain

inspectors, and it would result in lower prices being paid

to the farmers. None of these incidences can be remedied

under the existing statutory scheme, because none of these

interests is enabled to bring suit for a later rate refund.

Hence, in my view, the grain trade and the farmers need this

interim protection lest in inspection the marketing system

suffer severe attrition during the period of remand. The

deciding principle is that the District Court sits as a court of

equity, United States v. Morgan 307 U.S. 183, 191, and asa

court of equity has, | believe. ample power to protect the

grain market nationally which would otherwise be without

remedy under the existing statutory regime.

Jurisdiction is granted the District Court “to enforce,

enjoin, set aside, annul or suspend” any order of the

Interstate Commerce Commission. 28 U.S.C. § 1336 (a).

For years, the type or order here involved* was not

reviewable. See Procter & Gamble Co. v. United States, 225

U.S. 282. But that “negative” order concept was abandoned

in Rochester Tel. Corp. v. United States, 307 U.S. 125, 145.

The provisions of 28 U.S.C. § 1336 (a), are an explicit grant

*The order of Division 2 of the Commission provided that the

proceeding “be, and it is hereby, discontinued.” 339 1. C. C. 364, 401.

The order of the Commission en banc affirming is in 340 1. C. C. 69, 74,

A-55

of power to provide injunctive relief. Under that Act the

“governing principle” is “that it is the duty of a court of

equily granting injunctive relief to do so upon conditions

that will protectall including the public —- whose interests

the injunction may affect.” Inland Steel Co. v. United

States, 306 U.S. 153, 157. That power exists whether the

Commission's authority over rates is challenged under 49

U.S.C. § 15 (1) as being unjust or unreasonable or under 49

U.S.C. § 15(7) relating, as here, to “a new individual or joint

rate, fare, or charge.” In all cases the District Court by

reason of 28 U.S.C. § 1336 (a) sits as a court of equity.

Mr Justice White, with whom Mr. Justice Brennan and

Mr. Justice Rehnquist join, concurring in the reversal of the

injunction and dissenting from the affirmance of the

remand to the Commission.

i dissent because the District Court erred both in holding

that the Commission had inadequately explained the basis

for its judgment and in suspending the new in-transit

inspection tariff beyond the time the statute permits new

rates to be suspended without a finding that they are unjust

and unreasonable.

As to the latter, 49 U.S.C. § 15 (7) forbids the suspension

of new freight rates for more than seven months without the

requisite finding of unreasonableness by the Commission.

Only the Commission may suspend in the first instance; and

if the agency refuses to do so, the court is powerless itself to

suspend. The Commission may postpone effectiveness of new

rates for seven months, but if it does, the statute commands

that, absent the appropriate order of the Commission

within that period, “the proposed change of rate. . .shall go

into effect. ...”To permit the District Court nevertheless to

extend this period seems to me to be flatly contary to the

will of Congress. | therefore cannot agree that, although the

District Court has no statutory power to do so, it

nevertheless retains sufficient power to enjoin the rates as

“ancillary to the general equitable powers of the reviewing

A-56

court, and protective of its jurisdiction.” Anve, at 819. As I

see it, the District Court contravened the precepts of Arrow

Transportation Co. v. Southern’ R. Co., 372 U.S. 658

(1963).

As for the remand to the Commission, there is somewhat

more to be said. The Commission found, and it is not

questioned by the District Court or by the majority here,

that in-transit inspection of grain is not an essential part of

transportation service but only ancillary to it; that the

premarketing inspection of grain, in transit or otherwise, is

no longer required by federal law; that in-transit inspection

of grain has been the regular practice in Western territory,

to some extent the practice in Southern territory, but not in

Eastern territory; that the line-haul rates for grain in

Western and Southern territories established by the

railroads or prescribed by the Commission have provided

one free in-transit inspection stop, but a separate charge for’

that service is the practice in Eastern territory; ' and that,

because of recent developments in-transit inspection is no

longer an essential service for the orderly marketing of grain

in Western and Southern territories. Furthermore, the

unquestioned finding of the Commission was that the

principal motivation for imposing a separate charge for in-

transit grain inspection was not to increase railroad

revenues through collection of the charge itself but to

'The Commission noted:

“It is again emphasized that the major impact of the proposal under

consideration will be on the movement of grain in the western district.

Most inspections occur in this territory. There is presently effective a

spearate charge for this service in the East. A sunstantial increase in

those charges will result, however, it the proposed charges are permitted

to become effective. The number of in-transit inspections in the South is

limited and take place chiefly at the ports on export grain tonnage.

There is little, if any, opposition to establishment of the charges in

southern territory. Practically all of the controversy is concerned with

establishment of the separate charge for the first inspection of grain

within the western district.” 339 1. C. C. 364, 385,

2

ie

a ee

A-57

promote efficient utilization of freight cars by discouraging

the practice of in-transit inspection which had proved

extremely wasteful in terms of car utilization, The

Commission finding, also undisturbed, was that the

separately stated inspection fee would discourage the

practice of in-transit inspection, would contribute toa more

efficient utilization of freight cars, and hence help relieve

the unquestioned grain-car shortage.

With, these important preliminary findings and

conclusions behind it, the Commission examined in detail

the reasonableness of the separate charge being imposed for

in-transit inspection of grain. Its conclusion was that the

charge was reasonable, a judgment not overturned either

here or in the District Court. Finally, the Commission

noted that by the terms of the new tariff itself, separate in-

transit inspection charges could not be collected where the

combination of the new, separate charge and the existing

line-haul rate exceeded the maximum reasonable level of

grain rates established in Docket 17,000, pt. 7, Grain and

Grain Products, 205 1.C.C. 301 (1934); 215 L.C.C. 83 (1936),

as raised by subsequent general revenue increases. Docket

17,000, pt. 7. Rate Structure Investigation, was a major

national effort, a comprehensive investigation of rates on

agricultural products, and resulted, among other things, in

the Commission's prescribing maximum reasonable freight

rate levels for movements of grain. Since that time, there

have been general rate increases for revenue purposes, in the

course of which the rates on grain and their structure as

required by the 1934 and 1936 determinations have been

given special attention. See, for example, /nceased Freight

Rates, 1967, 332 1.C.C. 280, 300 (1968).

Under the new tariffs now filed, as | have said, if the

applicable line-haul rate on the particular grain movement

involved is at the maximum reasonable level theretofore

prescribed by the Commission in previous proceedings, no

separate in-transit inspection charge is imposed or

A-58

allowable, nor may the combination of the new charge and

the existing line-haul rate collected by the railroad exceed

the maximum allowable rate as previously determined. This

is the key to understanding that, in approving the separate

inspection charge, the Commission did not ignore its

longstanding rule that railroads may not impose separate

charges for an ancillary service previously furnished under a

line-haul rate unless both the reasonableness of the separate

charge and the line-haul rate are scrutinized. Transit

Charges, Southern Territory, 332 UC.C. 664, 683-684

(1968), is. for example a relatively recent restatement of the

rule. The Commission thought this rule not controlling

here because, in the first place, the magnitude of the task of

justifying each one of a countless number of line-haul grain

rates would, as a practical matter, prohibit the imposition

of a separate in-transit inspection charge and so frustrate

the important nonrevenue goal of discouraging in-transit

inspection and so improving car utilization.

But, more fundamentally, the Commission in any event

deemed the rule satisfied; for here the reasonableness of the

line-haul rate was sufficiently examined and ensured by

proof that the new charge was itself reasonable and by

prohibiting its collection if thé total cost of the grain

movement--its line-haul charge plus the separate

inspection charge exceeded the maximum reasonable rate

theretofore prescribed by the Commission, that is, the

maximum reasonable rate the Commission had theretofore

prescribed for both the transportation service and the

privilege of in-transit inspection.

"The Commission's order was sustained, on other grounds, in

Cincinnati, N. O. & T. PR. Co.. United States, Cwil Action No, 6692

(SD Ohio, Jan. 12 1970), aff'd, 400 U.S, 932 (1970). The District Court

sustained the Commission on the basis that the proposed increase in

charges might well result in a substanital diversion of the considered

traffic, with a diminution, rather than an increase, in revenues. In the

present case, the Commission noted: “Similar conclusions are not

warranted here”

A-59

This approach seems straighforward and adequate.

Keeping in mind that Docket 17,000. Part 7, as was

customary in Western territory, prescribed rates for grain

movements permitting one in-transit inspection without

extra charge, let us assume, for example, that the maximum

rate prescribed by the Commission for a particular grain

movement with in-transit inspection privileges was 120.

Assume further what is the recurring situation in the case

before us— that the railroad is charging less than it may, say

100, for the grain movement with that privilege. The

railroad then publishes a tariff under which the line-haul

rate of 100 no longer entitles the shipper to in-transit

inspection, and a separate charge of 20 is imposed on those

who want that service. The line-haul charge plus the

separate in-transit inspection charge does not exceed what

the Commission has heretofore ruled the railroad may

collect for both the transportation and the inspection

service. This calculus seems to me an adequate basis for

concluding that the line-haul rate of 100 is itself within the

zone of reasonableness. If a railroad may charge 120 for a

grain movement with in-transit inspection provided, and

the inspection stop is proved reasonably worth 20, why

should there also be occasion for considering the

reasonableness of 100 as a line-haul rate and so proving

again what the Commission previously found —that 120isa

reasonable charge for both services?

The District Court thought the Commission ignored

Secretary of Agriculture v. United States, 347 U.S. 645

(1954), but I read that case far differently. There the Court,

although being of the opinion that the Commission had not

adequately explained why it was approving a separate

charge without examining the legality of the line-haul rate,

was careful to point out that the Commission was not

precluded “from following a procedure fairly adapted to the

unique circumstances of this case”; nor did the Court

question “the Commission's power, under appropriate

A-60

findings, to approve such unloading charges without

pursuing one of these courses. In dealing with technical and

complex matters like these, the Commission must

necessarily have wide discretion in formulating appropriate

solutions.” /d., at 652. That case does not stand for the rule

that a separate charge for an ancillary service may in no

circumstances be permitted without new proof in thar

proceeding of the reasonableness of the line-haul rate.

The prior decisions of the Commission relied upon by the

District Court establish clearly enough that the

Commission must be satisfied with the reasonableness of

the line-haul rate as an exaction for the remaining services

before approving a separate charge for a service previously

covered by the line-haul rate. Transit Charges, Southern

Territory, supra; Terminal Charges at Pacific Coast Ports,

255 1.C.C. 637 (1943); Reconsignment Case No. 3, 531.C.C.

455 (1919); Loading of Less-Than-Carload Freight on

Lighters in Norfolk, Va., Harbor, 91 1.C.C. 394 (1924). In

these cases, the carriers simply failed to carry their burden

of proof.

The District Court also cited for this proposition Grand

Forks Chamber of Commerce v. Great Northern R. Co., 321

1.C.C. 356 (1963), but the Commission in that case, see i¢.,

at 360-362, did precisely what it has done in this one: it

approved a separate in-transit inspection charge in the case

of so-called Group 3 rates where the line-haul rate and the

new charge together were less than so-called Group | rates

prescribed in Grain and Grain Products, 205 1.C.C. 301

(1934); 215 LC.C. &3 (1936). See also Public Service

Comm'n of North Dakota v. Great Northern R. Co., 340

1L.C.C. 739 (1972); Alabama State Docks Dept. v. Alabama,

T. & N. R. Co., 321 LC.C. 347 (1963), Agsco Chemicals,

Inc. v. Alabama G. 8. R. Co., 314 1.C.C. 725 (1961).

Neither do | understand why the majority is comforted by

the opinion in Cincinnati N. O. & T. P. R. Co. v. United

States, Civil Action No, 6992 (SD Ohio, Jan. 12, 1970), in

A-61

which the District Court affirmed, but on very limited

grounds (grounds that would save the cases before us now),

the Commission's disallowance of a separate transit charge

for cotton movements but disapproved the stringent

standard by which the Commission required the railroads

to prove the reasonableness of the resulting line-haul rate.

The District Court restated the prevailing rubric:

“The question here is what should the carrier be paid

for a service which it has been rendering, and has been

charging for, and has been paid for (one knoweth not

what) which it proposes to separate and charge

separately for. Both the courts and the Commission

have consistently held that what is a just and

reasonable rate for the service to be separated and

charged for separately cannot be determined by

examining only the typical questions of cost, etc., with

respect to the separate service. On the contrary, the

typical questions must be directed to the overall or

combined picture so that one may conclude (a) that the

rate for the separated service, looked at by itself in the

light of the applicable questions, is just and reasonable;

and (b) that the remaining rate for the services, sans the

separated service, is not rendered unjust or

unreasonable.”

The District Court continued:

“Whether the examination is in terms of ‘what portion

of the line-haul rate represented the rate for the service

to be separated,’ or whether the search in terminology

is for the answer to this question: Does the new

aggregate rate, composed of line-haul plus transit rates

represent a just and reasonable rate for all of the

services (the aggregate of the severed and the

nonsevered)—the principle is the same.” (Emphasis

added.)

A few paragraphs later, the court repeated the same

alternate approach. This Court affirmed the District Court

A-62

summarily. 400 U.S. 932(1970)

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.