Petition — Ruzicka v. General Motors Corp.

Supreme Court brief1983

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1983

WILLIAM RUZICKA,

Petitioner,

v

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION,

INTERNATIONAL UNION, UNITED AUTOMOBILE,

AEROSPACE AND AGRICULTURAL

IMPLEMENT WORKERS OF AMERICA, UAW,

and its Local 166,

Respondents.

e

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

——_ e——_

Robert J. Dinges (P 12799)

GLOTTA, ADELMAN, DINGES & RILEY, P.C.

ATTORNEYS AT LAW

1529 Broadway, 4th Floor

Detroit, MI 48226-2174

(313) 964-1190

COUNSEL FOR PETITIONER

Interstate Brief & Record Co., Suite 731, David Whitney Building, Detroit, MI 48226

(313) 962-8745

«

>

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I.

WHERE THE UNION OWES A DUTY TO PROCESS A

MERITORIOUS GRIEVANCE OF AN EMPLOYEE IN A

NON-PERFUNCTORY FASHION, AND WHERE THE UNION

HAS NEGLECTED TO TAKE A BASIC AND REQUIRED STEP

IN THE EXCLUSIVE ARBITRATION AND GRIEVANCE PRO-

CEDURES, AND WHERE THE UNION HAS MADE NO

DECISION ON THE MERITS OF THE EMPLOYEE'S

GRIEVANCE, AND WHERE THE GRIEVANCE INVOLVES

IMPORTANT INDIVIDUAL RIGHTS SECURED BY THE

CONTRACT, HAS THE UNION VIOLATED ITS DUTY OF

FAIR REPRESENTATION BECAUSE OF ITS NEGLIGENCE?

Il,

WHERE THE UNION AND EMPLOYER ESTABLISHED A

PAST PRACTICE OF CUSTOMARY NON-ENFORCEMENT

OF CONTRACT DEADLINES UNDER THE EXCLUSIVE AR-

BITRATION AND GRIEVANCE PROCEDURES IN THE CON-

TRACT, AND WHERE THE UNION NEGLECTS TO TAKE A

BASIC AND REQUIRED STEP IN THE PROCEDURES IN

ACCORDANCE WITH THE CONTRACT DEADLINES IN

ACTUAL RELIANCE UPON THE ESTABLISHED PAST

PRACTICE WITH THE EMPLOYER, AND WHERE THE UN-

ION’S RELIANCE IS NOT MOTIVATED BY BAD FAITH,

MAY THE EMPLOYEE UNDER THE VACA STANDARDS

CHALLENGE THE UNION DECISION ON THE GROUNDS

THAT IT WAS AN IRRATIONAL AND UNREASONED DECI-

SION AND TOO INSUBSTANTIAL TO SUPPORT THE

UNION ACTION WHEN THE UNION DECISION IS NOT A

DECISION ON THE MERITS OF THE GRIEVANCE?

ll

II.

DOES THE EMPLOYEE HAVE STANDING TO SEEK REVIEW

OF THE DISTRICT COURT'S DECISION VACATING THE

FAVORABLE ARBITRATION AWARD WHERE AN

EMPLOYEE FILES SUIT, PURSUANT TO § 301, 29 USC § 185,

AGAINST HIS EMPLOYER FOR WRONGFUL DISCHARGE

AND JOINS IN THAT SUIT A CLAIM AGAINST HIS UNION

FOR VIOLATION OF ITS DUTY OF FAIR REPRESENTATION,

AND WHERE THE UNION IN THAT SUIT OBTAINS AN

ORDER COMPELLING THE EMPLOYER TO ARBITRATE

THE EMPLOYEE'S DISCHARGE GRIEVANCE, AND WHERE

AN ARBITRATOR SELECTED BY THE EMPLOYER AND

UNION HOLDS THAT THE EMPLC YEE’S DISCHARGE IS IN

VIOLATION OF THE CONTRACT, AND WHERE THE

UNION SEEKS TO ENFORCE THE FAVORABLE ARBITRA-

TION AWARD, AND WHERE THE DISTRICT COURT VA-

CATES THE FAVORABLE ARBITRATION AWARD, AND

WHERE THE INTERESTS OF THE EMPLOYEE ARE NOT

ADVERSE TO THE INTERESTS OF THE UNION IN EN-

FORCING THE FAVORABLE ARBITRATION AWARD, AND

WHERE THE GRIEVANCE INVOLVES UNIQUELY PER-

SONAL RIGHTS, AND WHERE THE EMPLOYEE WILL

OTHERWISE SUFFER SUBSTANTIAL HARM?

IV.

WHERE THE EMPLOYER AND UNION ESTABLISHED A

PAST PRACTICE OF CUSTOMARY NON-ENFORCEMENT

OF CONTRACTUAL DEADLINES IN THE EXCLUSIVE GRIE-

VANCE AND ARBITRATION PROCEDURES IN THE CON-

TRACT, AND WHERE THE UNION NEGLECTS TO TAKE A

BASIC AND REQUIRED STEP IN THE PROCEDURES IN AC-

CORDANCE WITH THE CONTRACT DEADLINES, AND

WHERE THE UNION’S NEGLECT IS ATTRIBUTED TO ITS

RELIANCE ON THE PAST PRACTICE OF CUSTOMARY

NON-ENFORCEMENT OF CONTRACT DEADLINES, AND

ill

WHERE THE EMPLOYER REFUSES TO ABIDE BY THE

ESTABLISHED PAST PRACTICE WITH THE UNION AND

INSISTS ON THE STRICT REQUIREMENTS OF THE CON-

TRACT DEADLINES, AND WHERE THE EMPLOYER Dt

FENDS THE EMPLOYEE’S SUIT FOR WRONGFUL DIS-

CHARGE IN VIOLATION OF THE CONTRACT ON THE

GROUNDS THAT THE EMPLOYEE HAS FAILED TO

EXHAUST THE CONTRACTUAL PROCEDURES, HAS THE

EMPLOYER WAIVED OR REPUDIATED THE CONTRAC-

TUAL PROCEDURES AND IS THE EMPLOYER THEREFORE

ESTOPPED FROM RAISING THIS DEFENSE IN THE

EMPLOYEE SUIT?

V.

WHERE, IN A DUTY OF FAIR REPRESENTATION SUIT, THE

UNION OBTAINS A COURT ORDER COMPELLING THE

EMPLOYER TO ARBITRATE THE EMPLOYEE'S GRIEVANCE,

AND WHERE AT THAT STAGE OF THE LITIGATION THE

ARBITRABLE ISSUE OF THE TIMELINESS OF THE GRIEV-

ANCE IS SUBSTANTIALLY RESOLVED, AND WHERE THE

ARBITRATION AWARD IS FAVORABLE TO THE

EMPLOYEE, UNDER THOSE CIRCUMSTANCES, IS THERE A

WAIVER BY VIRTUE OF FEDERAL LABOR POLICY OF THE

ARBITRABLE ISSUE OF THE TIMELINESS OF THE

EMPLOYEE’S GRIEVANCE SO AS TO ESTOP THE

EMPLOYER FROM RELYING UPON THIS DEFENSE TO A

FAVORABLE ARBITRATION AWARD?

Vv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

COTe TF MOROIIIINS on oc Gc ok oe OG SS eee eee:

See Oe NO ais awa ea dere nwa ees Baan

PGS NNW one na kee cls tua d cdc oe eenens

SINE eae ree an at coe, core Cy rs co

Statute Involved. SAS AA AT re Ene

DURE OF Ce ec oe cc cate pha: ekviasen

Reasons for Granting the Writ ...................

ENE ci ee ee es oe te GP ee ng oe

Appendix

Memorandum Opinion of the District Court

Denying Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss

UE SG tae oe ig os Ch Mr fan aie hes oes

Memorandum Opinion and Order of the District

Court Denying Defendants’ Motions for

Summary Judgment (April 25, 1973)..........

Memorandum Opinion of the District Court

Dismissing the Complaint (November 21, 1973)

Opinion of the Court of Appeals Reversing the

Judgment of the District Court and Remanding

the Case (September 23, 1975) ...............

Order of the Court of Appeals Denying

Defendants’ Petition for Rehearing (December

F; RIVED 2h cwae ue ier che dense ecic cena hes nes

Opinion of the District Court Finding in Favor of

Plaintiff and Against Defendants (October 10,

rd pS geet: Sp ARR STR cre Wee Un ap

a GQ Nw AW

31

37

41

48

67

vi

Page

Opinion of the Court of Appeals Vacating the

Decision of the District Court and Remanding

Gee Lose: Gone 2; TR). oo 5a voce eee 106

Opinion and Order of the District Court

Dismissing the Case (August 13, 1981) ....... 118

Opinion of the Court of Appeals Affirming the

Judgment of the District Court (May 23, 1983) 128

Judgment of the Court of Appeals (May 23, 1983) 131

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Acuff v United Paper Workers, 404 F 2d 169 (5th

Gel, THE Secs vis cee sanghreseuceeeee 21

Andrus v Convoy Co, 480 F 2d 604 (9th Cir, 1973)

cert. den. 414 US 989 (1974) ................. 21

Baldini v Local 1095, UAW, 581 F 2d 145 (7th Cir,

WOOD ss boca nabae otal 000 denis Oo ere 17

Barton Brands v NLRB, 529 F 2d 793 (7th Cir, 1976) 10

Bazarte v United Transportation Union, 429 F 2d 868

Cee Cle POF oi a acvines take ee eee ee 13

Beriault v Local 40, 501 F 2d 258 (9th Cir, 1974).. 10

Bowen v United States Postal Service, _ US _; 74L

Ed 2d 402; 103 S Ct 588 (1983).......... 7, 15, 29

Capobianco v Brinks, 543 F Supp 971 (E.D., NY,

SOND sb naoe tl cerekan cians duneahe coe 22

Central Motor Express, Inc v Local 89, 407 F Supp

BAG7 UN 2D. Th, TP oes bean iectden eee 22

Coe v Rubber Workers, 571 F 2d 1349 (5th Cir, 1978) 14

vii

Cronin v Sears, 588 F 2d 616 (8th Cir, 1978) ..... 13

DeArroyo v Sindicato DeTrabajadores Packing

House, 425 F 2d 281 (1st Cir, 1970); Cert. den.

etn srg hs CASE RSE a eee 10, 14

DeLorto v UPS, 401 F Supp 408 (D.C., Ma, 1975) 22

DelCostello v_ International Brotherhood of

Teamsters, __ US __, 76 L Ed 2d 476; 103 S Ct _

PREG sien bens sa ere cuter ss dure earkenek 7, 29

Denver Stereotypers Union v NLRB, 623 F 2d 134

SE ONE wis toe aac hr ne toe eee 14

Dill v Greyhound, 435 F 2d 231 (6th Cir, 1970); cert.

Ss ee Se Oe AP ER sb Poko sadannewiah acc 13

Dober v Roadway Express, _ F 2d _; 113 LRRM

Sere re Ga, OO, TOD sd boos eves dbo aden 10

Drake Bakeries v Bakery Workers, 370 US 254; 8 L

Ed 2d 474; 82 S Ct 1346 (1962) ............... 25

Ekas v Carling National Breweries, Inc, 602 F 2d 664

(4th Cir, 1979), cert. den. 444 US 1017 (1980) 13

Elgin, ] & E. R. Co v Burley, 325 US 711; 89 L Ed

1886; 65 S Ct 1282 (1945), aff’d on reh. 327 US

ME Svaueoteeurey cure cenVeeie weer a ash aaa: 23

F. W. Woolworth v IBT, Local 781, 629 F 2d 1204

PO ORG Cac se ice s'pe> cack eke caaee 19, 20

Ford Motor Co v Huffman, 345 US 330; 97 L Ed

Pe See Nr CRUD 6 v5 0's icv oe Vb Re wine a 9

Foust v IBEW, 572 F 2d 710 (10th Cir, 1978), rev’d

on other grounds 442 US 42 (1979) ........... 14

Griffin v United Auto Workers, 469 F 2d 181 (4th

ee INS ova dae pe os ele keke oud cat 10, 17

viii

Page

Hadaway v Mountainside Transport, 104 LRRM

PTE ean We SUN ee ance tcetxcenensunes 22

Hines v Anchor Motor Freight, Inc, 506 F 2d 1153

(6th Cir, 1974), rev'd in part 424 US 554, 47 L

Hd 2d 231; 96'S Ct 1068 (1976)... 25... 14, 15, 22

Hoffman v Lonza, 658 F 2d 519 (7th Cir, 1981) 10, 14

Hughes v International Brotherhood of Teamsters,

Local 683, 554 F 2d 365 (9th Cir, 1977)........ 14

Humphrey v Moore, 375 US 335; 11 L Ed 2d 370; 84

PE POP AMON Siocon avescss cas Pane R hasan Ab

Lee v Olin Mathieson Chem Corp, 271 F Supp 635

ia PR SPCR ce ratdradenebates + ciewcrentans 21

Milstead v International Brotherhood of Teamsters,

Local 957, 580 F 2d 232 (6th Cir, 1978)........ 14

Minnis v United Auto Workers, 531 F 2d 850 (8th

OR ED ORRIN A I Ale et At A A 10, 14

Price v International Brotherhood of Teamsters, 457 F

ae ee Ge GS a ho kk odes cae be gow aeens 23

Quimby v TWA, 401 F Supp 137 (D.C. Pa, 1975)

aff'd 538 F 2d 320 (3rd Cir, 1976) ............ 22

Retana v Elevator Operators Union Local 14, 453 F

ee RE es RD io can ba cu seaneieeedsas 10

Riley v Letter Carriers, Local 380, 493 F 2d 342 (D,

NJ, 1980) dismissed on other grounds 668 F 2d

Pe EO SA, BONED 59's dee in ven svdet enn eencuss 25

Robesky v Quantas Empire Airways, 573 F 2d 1082

Ge ey SUED cciacdcckcatsansaueeonwess 14, 17

Ryan v Printing Pressmans Union, 590 F 2d 451 (2nd

et NOR cba ke sake ene ivenunus hen bee eenen es 13

ix

Page

Santos v Carpenters District Council, 547 F 2d 197

RS Sis: SOP TD a eee oe tone ae 2

Segarra v Sea Land Service, Inc, 581 F 2d 291 (1st

Ca SPE wish ucomeacis vod keen cee ean 14

Smith v Evening News Ass'n, 371 US 195; 9 L Ed 2d

a SESS CO. a ae ae 22

Smith v Hussman Refrigerator Co, 619 F 2d 1229

Cee Saat, De tt Sicdy cece cee ee 15

Smith v Pittsburgh Gauge & Supply Co, 464 F 2d 870

Ge Gy . si a ee eee 10

Steele v Louisville & Nashville R. Co, 323 US 192; 89

, Bes: 175; 66 GS Ce Fh GOD 6 obi ov ces y

Stephens v Postmaster General, 623 F 2d 594 (9th

Sly. CO ses aaleee ba hie ee ee eee 14

Tedford v Peabody Coal Co, 533 F 2d 952 (5th Cir,

ser pret Setar Beene se cal Stee iS, IZ

United Parcel Service, Inc v Mitchell, 451 US 56; 67

L Ed 2d 732; 101 S Ct 1559 (1981) ............ 21

Uncted Steelworkers of America v Enterprise Wheel

& Car Corp, 363 US 593; 4 L Ed 2d 1424; 80S Ct

BIO COO Wi iweawuecceakeuwant ee 21

Vaca v Sipes, 386 US 171; 17 L Ed 2d 842; 87S Ct

Pee CEE v6as Seka ee 9, 10, 15, 27, 28

Welshhons v Sivyer Steel Corp, 674 F 2d 748 (8th

CR, WO bo dade ahis Gove kecdias ee 13

Williams v Teamsters, 625 F 2d 138 (6th Cir, 1980) 14

Wyatt v Interstate & Ocean Transport Co, 623 F 2d

ee CO GRO) BOND 0 kv cen chs basicesect tee 14

Statutes:

Se USS BT iio sc cecuccect aie 2

Labor-Management Relations Act, § 301, 29

Bey Mek vavcck sans ev cuanaeeeeees 4,6,7

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

_e-—

October Term, 1983

°

WILLIAM RUZICKA,

Petitioner,

v

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION,

INTERNATIONAL UNION, UNITED AUTOMOBILE,

AEROSPACE AND AGRICULTURAL

IMPLEMENT WORKERS OF AMERICA, UAW,

and its Local 166,

Respondents.

°

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

— e«——.

OPINIONS BELOW

Ruzicka v General Motors Corp, 336 F Supp 824 (E.D.

Mich, 1972); 85 LRRM 2419 (E.D. Mich, 1973); 86 LRRM

2030 (E.D. Mich, 1973); rev’d, 523 F 2d 306 (6th Cir,

1975); reh. den., 528 F 2d 912 (6th Cir, 1975); 96 LRRM

2822 (E.D. Mich, 1977); vacated, 649 F 2d 1207 (6th Cir,

1981); 519 F Supp 893 (E.D. Mich, 1981); aff'd, _ F 2d _,

113 LRRM 2562 (6th Cir, 1983).

2

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Sixth

Circuit was entered on May 23, 1983. The jurisdiction of

this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTE INVOLVED

Section 301 of the Labor Management Relations Act of

1947, 28 U.S.C. § 185:

“(a) Suits for violation of contracts between an

employer and a labor organization representing

employees in an industry affecting commerce as

defined in this Act, or between any such labor

Organizations, may be brought in any district

court of the United States having jurisdiction of

the parties, without respect to the amount in

controversy or without regard to the citizenship

of the parties.

(b) Any labor organization which represents

employees in an industry affecting commerce as

defined in this Act and any employer whose

activities affect commerce as defined in this Act

shall be bound by the acts of its agents. Any such

labor organization may sue or be sued as an

entity and in behalf of the employees whom it

represents in the Courts of the United States. Any

money judgment against a labor organization in a

District Court of the United States shall be

enforceable only against the organization as an

entity and against its assets, and shall not be

enforceable against any individual member or his

assets.

(c) For the purposes of actions and proceedings

by or against labor organizations in the District

3

Courts of the United States, District Courts shall

be deemed to have jurisdiction of a labor

organization (1) in the district in which such

organization maintains its principal office, or (2)

in any district in which its duly authorized

officers or agents are engaged in representing or

acting for employee members.

(d) The service of summons, subpoena, or other

legal process of any Court of the United States

upon an officer or agent of a labor organization,

in his capacity as such, shall constitute service

upon the labor organization.

(e) For the purposes of this section, in

determining whether any person is acting as an

‘agent’ of another person so as to make such other

person responsible for his acts, the question of

whether the specific acts performed were actually

authorized or subsequently ratified shall not be

controlling.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner (hereinafter plaintiff), a long time union

activist, was discharged from his employment at General

Motors on March 31, 1971, for being intoxicated on the

job and using threatening and abusive language towards

his supervisors.

A grievance was filed protesting plaintiff's discharge

by the duly authorized bargaining representative, Local

166, United Automobile Aerospace and Agricultural

Implement Workers of America (UAW). The grievance

was denied by local management and then appealed by

the Union to the third step of the grievance procedure. In

order to complete procedurally the third step of the

grievance procedures, statements of unadjusted

grievance were required, under paragraph 37 of the

+

contract, to be exchanged between the Union and the

Local Management.

After two written extensions to exchange the

statements were obtained by the Union, the contract

exchange deadline became May 5, 1970. However, on

May 5, 1970, the Union representative, Charles Panter,

neglected to file the Union statement.

The Union’s neglect was not discovered until May 25,

1970, when Mr. Panter’s successor as Shop Chairman,

William Moon, attempted to exchange with local

management the Union statement. Management refused

to accept the Union statement and refused to extend the

contract deadline contending that the contract deadline

had expired and, in accordance with paragraph 34 of the

contract, management's paragraph 77 answer denying

the grievance was the final decision on the grievance.

A policy grievance was filed by the Union contending

that management failed to abide by past practice when it

enforced the contract deadline. The policy grievance was

subsequently withdrawn by the Union because it lacked

mc it.

On June 3, 1971, plaintiff filed a suit in the United

States District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan.

Jurisdiction was invoked under § 301, Labor

Management Relations Act of 1947, 29 U.S.C. § 185(a).

On November 29, 1973, District Judge John Feikens

dismissed the claim against the Union, holding that the ©

plaintiff failed to establish that hostility tainted the

Union’s handling of the grievance. Judge Feikens also

dismissed the Union's cross-claim for arbitration against

General Motors.

On September 23, 1975, the Sixth Circuit Court of

Appeals reversed. The Sixth Circuit held that, when a

union makes no decision as to the merits of a grievance

and allows the grievance to expire by negligently failing

5

to take a basic and required step in a grievance

procedure, it violates its duty of fair representation.

The Sixth Circuit also reversed the dismissal of the

cross-claim for arbitration and ordered arbitration on the

merits of the grievance. Arbitration of the grievance took

place by the GM-UAW arbitrator. He held that discharge

was too harsh a penalty for plaintiff's misconduct and

ordered reinstatement.

After submission of additional proofs on the urifair

representation claim, Judge Feikens confirmed the

arbitration award and allocated damages against General

Motors and the Union.

On June 2, 1981, the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals

reversed. The Sixth Circuit held that the District Judge

erred when he failed to consider whether or not the

Union representative relied on a past practice of freely

granting extensions when he neglected to timely

exchange the Union statement.

On remand, the District Judge found that the Union

representative relied, in part, on the customary

non-enforcement of contract deadlines at the plant.

However, the Judge contradicted himself in footnote 4 of

that Opinion, finding that since the plant practice only

“extended’’ the deadline a few days and since the Union

did not attempt to exchange the statements until three

weeks after the deadline, the grievance was still

untimely. The District Judge also vacated the arbitration

award holding that the validity of arbitration was

conditioned by a finding of unfair representation.

United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

affirmed. The Court held that reliance was determined

by the union representative’s motive or intent.

The Sixth Circuit held that only the Union could

appeal the decision vacating the arbitration award.

6

Plaintiff had no standing to raise this issue in this

appeal.'

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

In a suit by an employee under § 301 against the

employer for wrongful discharge and against the union

for violation of its duty of fair representation, the

question of the evidence necessary to establish a breach

of the union’s duty to process a meritorious grievance in

a non-perfunctory fashion is an important and recurrent

federal statutory question and has provoked a diversity

of judicial opinion. The lower courts are hopelessly

confused about the circumstances under which a union

may violate its duty to process a meritorious grievance in

a non-perfunctory fashion. The plaintiff contends that

under Vaca, a union violates the perfunctory processing

standard when the union, without having decided the

merits of the grievance, allows the grievance to expire by

its procedural negligence. This Court has not yet decided

whether or not negligence principles should be applied

under certain circumstances to union conduct which

substantially prejudices an employee’s grievance. A

resolution of this question is of great importance to

employees covered by collective bargaining agreements

and their unions and employers.

In addition, this Court has not yet determined the

circumstances under which a union violates its duty to

avoid arbitrary conduct under the Vaca standards. There

is a diversity of judicial opinion on whether or not a

union violates its duty to avoid arbitrary conduct only

' The facts and law in this case are contained in the various

decisions of the District Court and of the Sixth Circuit. Ruzicka v

General Motors Corp., 336 F Supp 824 (E.D. Mich, 1972), 85 L.R.R.M.

2419 (E.D. Mich, 1973), 86 L.R.R.M. 2030 (E.D. Mich, 1973), rev'd, 523

F 2d 306 (6th Cir, 1975), reh. denied, 528 F 2d 912 (6th Cir, 1975,

[Ruzicka 1], 96 L.R.R.M. 2822 (E.D. Mich, 1977), vacated, 649 F 2d 1207

(6th Cir, 1981) [Ruzicka II], 519 F Supp 893 (E.D. Mich, 1981), aff'd _

F 2d —, 113 L.R.R.M. 2562 (6th Cir, 1983) [Ruzicka III].

7

when there is an intentional action designed to

substantially prejudice the employee’s grievance. There

is also a diversity of judicial opinion on the cir-

cumstances under which a union may violate its duty of

fair representation when it engages in honest and

unintentional action which substantially prejudices an

employee's grievance. Plaintiff contends that a union

violates its duty to avoid arbitrary conduct when it

makes an irrational and unreasoned decision which

substantially prejudices the employee's grievance,

especially when the union decision is not on the merits

of the grievance.

This Court has never determined whether or not an

order compelling arbitration is an available remedy to

a union that has been joined as a defendant in an

employee suit under § 301 for violation of its duty of fair

representation. Ii! addition, this Court has not yet

determined the impact that an order compelling

arbitration has on the arbitrable issue of the timeliness of

the employee’s grievance. The plaintiff contends that in

an employee suit under § 301, an order compelling

arbitration is an available remedy to the union when the

arbitrable issues have been substantially resolved. Thus,

the arbitrable issue of the timeliness of the employee's

grievance is waived under the federal labor policy and an

employer is estopped from asserting this defense to a

favorable agbitration award. This is an especially

important shies of federal labor policy in light of this

Court’s most recent decisions in DelCostello v

International Brotherhood of Teamsters, _ US —, 76 L Ed

2d 476 (1983); and Bowen v United States Postal Service, —

US —, 74 L Ed 2d 402 (1983).

There is currently a division of opinion in the Courts

of Appeals about whether or not an employee has

standing to seek judicial enforcement of a favorable

8

arbitration award. This Court has not yet determined the

circumstances, if at all, under which an employee has

standing in a judicial proceeding when the validity of an

arbitration award is at issue. This is an important

question of federal labor policy and is of great

importance to employees, unions, and employers. In

this suit, the Union neglected to take a required and

necessary step within the deadlines established by the

exclusive arbitration and grievance procedures and thus

the plaintiff's discharge grievance expired. However, the

Union had established with the employer a past practice

of customary non-enforcement of contract deadlines

under the procedures. The Union relied upon the

established past practice with the employer when it

neglected to exchange its statement within the

contractual deadlines. When the Union discovered its

neglect, it attempted to extend the deadlines in

accordance with established past practice. However, the

employer refused to abide by established past practice

and enforced the contractual deadlines.

It has now been determined by the Sixth Circuit that

the Union’s actual reliance on the established past

practice of non-enforcement of contractual deadlines is

sufficient to relieve the Union from its violation of the

duty of fair representation. Under the circumstances, it

has been clearly established that the employer has

repudiated or waived the contractual deadline

procedures. Thus, if plaintiff has standing, the favorable

arbitration award is perfectly valid.

There are many substantial issues raised in this

Petition. The plaintiff has engaged in prolonged

litigation in order to obtain the individual rights secured

to him under the collective bargaining agreement. He

has even obtained a favorable arbitration award on the

merits of his discharge grievance. But yet, the Courts

below have denied him any relief because they have

9

repeatedly misinterpreted the Vaca standards. Moreover,

the Courts below have now hypocritically applied the

contract exhaustion doctrine against plaintiff because the

strict contract deadlines were violated, but yet excused

the Union for its violation of the strict contract deadlines

under the exact same set of facts.?

This is a case that is deserving of this Honorable

Court’s attention.

I.

A UNION VIOLATES ITS DUTY OF FAIR REPRESENTA-

TION WHEN IT HAS THE EXCLUSIVE CONTRACTUAL

AND LEGAL AUTHORITY TO PROCESS AN EMPLOYEE’S

GRIEVANCE TO THE HIGHER STEPS OF THE GRIEV-

ANCE PROCEDURE AND WHEN IT IS GUILTY OF PRO-

CEDURAL NEGLIGENCE IN FAILING TO TAKE A BASIC

AND REQUIRED STEP IN THE GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE

AND WHEN THE UNION HAS MADE NO DECISION AS

TO THE MERITS OF THE EMPLOYEE’S GRIEVANCE AND

WHEN THE GRIEVANCE IS MERITORIOUS AND IN-

VOLVES IMPORTANT INDIVIDUAL RIGHTS.

Prior to Vaca v Sipes, 386 US 171 (1967), this Court

established the standards for union conduct toward

employees in cases involving claims of discrimination in

contract negotiations or contract modifications. Steele v

Louisville & Nashville R.R., 323 US 192 (1944), (racial

discrimination in contract negotiations is imper-

missible); Ford Motor Co. v Huffman, 345 US 330 (1953);

Humphrey v Moore, 375 US 335 (1964). (Honest and

2 In footnote 4, the District Judge stated:

“The unions never presented any evidence that the plant

practice ‘extended’ the exchange deadline more than a few

days. In this case, William Moon did not try to exchange

plaintiff's statement with GM officials until three weeks after

it was due. Thus, even if plant practice softened the strict

timeliness requirement to a certain degree, plaintiff's

grievance was still untimely.” 519 F Supp at 897, fn. 4.

10

good faith union negotiations or contract modi-

fications without any intent to discriminate against an

affected group is permissible.)

In Vaca, supra, this Court for the first time dealt with

the standards for union conduct in contract ad-

ministration in handling employee grievances. Vaca

dealt with an honest and good faith decision by the

Union, albeit allegedly wrong, on the merits of an

employee's grievance. In that situation, the Court stated

that the standards for violation of the duty of fair

representation are whether or not ‘a Union’s conduct

towards a member of the collective bargaining unit is

arbitrary, discriminatory, or in bad faith.’’ 386 US at

190.3

The Court also adopted the standard that a union

violates its duty of fair representation if it processes a

meritorious grievance in a perfunctory fashion. 386 US at

191.

The Oxford English Dictionary (Oxford University

Press, Oxford, Eng., 1978) defines perfunctory as follows:

“Done in a careless or superficial manner. Slight.

Careless, negligent, lit. characteristic of one

whose aim is to get through or get rid of the

matter.”

> The overwhelming majority of the Circuit Courts of Appeals

have held that Vaca represents a calculated expansion of the standards

in judging a union’s conduct toward an employee. lst Circuit,

DeArrovo v Sindicato DeTrabajadores Packing House, AFL-CIO, 425 F 2d

281 (1st Cir, 1970), cert. den. 400 US 877 (1970); 3rd Circuit, Smith v

Pittsburgh Gage & Supply Co, 464 F 2d 870 (3rd Cir, 1972); 4th Circuit,

Griffin vy UAW, 469 F 2d 181 (4th Cir, 1972); 6th Circuit, Ruzicka; 8th

Circuit, Minnis v UAW, 531 F 2d 850 (8th Cir, 1975); 9th Circuit,

Berrault v Local 40, 501 F 2d 258 (9th Cir, 1974); and Retana v Elevator

Overators Union Local 14, 453 F 2d 1018, 1023, n. 8 (9th Cir, 1972).

The 7th Circuit has recently stubbornly insisted that intentional

misconduct is a necessary element of an unfair representation case.

Hoffman v Lonza, 658 F 2d 519 (7th Cir, 1981); Dober v Roadway

Express, — F 2d —, 113 L.R.R.M. 2594 (7th Cir, May, 1983). But, cf.

Barton Brands v NLRB, 529 F 2d 793 (7th Cir, 1976).

11

Plaintiff contends that this Court meant exactly what

the Dictionary says. Specifically, in a perfunctory

processing case, such as the case at bar, a union may be

found guilty of unfair representation when it negligently

processes an employee's grievance.

A claim of perfunctory processing involves contract

administration in the handling of employee grievances

when the union’s substantive decision on the merits of

the grievance is not at issue. It involves situations in

which the processing of the grievance and the

procedures employed by the union to process the

grievance are being challenged.

There is almost hopeless confusion in the Courts in

developing a standard for perfunctory processing

situations. The Ruzicka Trilogy is a good example of that

confusion.

In Ruzicka I, the Court found the Union guilty of

procedural negligence in handling plaintiff's discharge

grievance. The Union conduct was ‘’a clear example of

arbitrary or perfunctory handling of a grievance. . .’’ 523

F 2d at 310. However, Judge McCree, in the concurring

opinion, disagreed. He stated that the Union conduct

was not arbitrary or perfunctory because the Union

conduct in the case was unintentional. Nevertheless,

according to Judge McCree, the Union should be

responsible for ‘‘its sheer neglect to file a paper that the

employee is prevented by law [from filing for himself

. . . because of] the magnitude of the injury ... ” 523 F

2d at 316.

On rehearing, the Court stated that the conduct of the

Union was arbitrary. There was no mention of

perfunctory conduct. 528 F 2d 912 (6th Cir, 1975).

In Ruzicka II, the Court explained that the ‘key to

Ruzicka I’’ was that ‘‘unexplained union inaction”

violated the arbitrary conduct standard. 649 F 2d at 1211.

12

Consequently, under Ruzicka Il, a “justification or

excuse” could be offered by the union to explain its

inaction.

In Ruzicka IJ, the Court then analyzed the situation as

one of gross negligence because there was no

explanation for the union conduct, but ordinary

negligence if there were an explanation for the conduc

The District Judge followed this analysis and found that

the Union representative did not believe the contract

deadlines were important, at least in part, because of the

existence of a past practice of customary non-

enforcement of contract deadlines. Under this analysis,

the Union’s conduct was not gross negligence. Because

there was some explanation for it, the Union conduct

was only ordinary negligence.

The Sixth Circuit analysis in Ruzicka III is faulty. The

distinction between “unexplained union inaction” and

“explained union inaction’ is meaningless when it does

not represent a decision on the merits of the grievance.

What difference does it make if the union representative

offers that he forgot as the explanation for his failure to

act, or if the union representative offers no explanation

for his failure to act? The magnitude of the harm to the

employee is the same in any event.

The distinction between gross negligence and ordinary

negligence is an unacceptable standard, at least when the

negligence is unrelated to the union’s decision on the

merits of the grievance. For example, is the union guilty

of gross negligence if a union representative neglected to

file a timely submission because he was drunk in a bar?

Or is the union guilty of only ordinary negligence if the

union representative forgot to make a timely submission

because he was on vacation with his family?

Moreover, the reasoning in Ruzicka III is contrary to a

logical extension of its facts. There was an established

past practice of customary non-enforcement of the

13

contract deadlines. Thus, the Union had more time to

exchange its statement because of the past practice.*

When the Union neglected to exchange its statement

within the contractual deadline because of reliance on

the past practice, why did the Union not attempt to

exchange its statement within the period permitted by

the past practice? In sum, the existence of a past practice

makes the union conduct, ignoring both the contractual

deadline and the deadline established by past practice,

even more egregious.

The Ruzicka perfunctory processing line of cases is

different from those cases involving challenges to the

union’s good faith and reasoned interpretation of the

collective bargaining agreement; Cronin v Sears, 588 F 2d

616 (8th Cir, 1978); Tedford v Peabody Coal Co, 533 F 2d

952 (5th Cir, 1976) or cases involving challenges to the

union’s good faith efforts in contract negotiations;

Humphrey v Moore, 375 US 335 (1964); Ryan v Printing

Pressmans Union, 590 F 2d 451 (2d Cir, 1979); Ekas v

Carling National Breweries, Inc, 602 F 2d 664 (4th Cir,

1979), cert. den. 444 US 1017 (1980); or involving

challenges to the union’s good faith and reasoned

determination of the merits of the employee’s grievance.

Vaca v Sipes, 386 US 171 (1967); Dill v Greyhound, 435 F

2d 231 (6th Cir, 1970), cert. den. 402 US 952 (1971);

Welshons v Sivyer Steel Corp, 674 F 2d 748 (8th Cir, 1982);

Bazarte v United Transportation Union, 429 F 2d 868 (3rd

Cir, 1970).

* In footnote 4, the District Judge ignored this logical conclusion.

Because the contract deadlines were waived by established past

practice, the timeliness of the grievance necessarily was determined

by that past practice. As noted by the District Judge, the arbitrator

should have determined whether or not the grievance was timely

under these circumstances. The Judge stated: “As I now interpret

Count I of the Unions’ cross-claim, G.M. should have been compelled

to arbitrate the issue of the effect of plant practice on the

enforceability of the exchange deadline.” 519 F Supp at 897, fn. 4.

14

The Ruzicka perfunctory processing line of cases deals

with a particular type of union conduct. In those cases,

the union has failed to file the proper papers in a timely

manner; Ruzicka v General Motors, supra; Foust v IBEW,

572 F 2d 710 (10th Cir, 1978), rev'd on other grounds 442

US 42 (1979); DeArroyo v Sindicato DeTrabajadores Packing

House, 425 F 2d 281 (1st Cir, 1970), cert. den. 400 US 877

(1970); Hoffman v Lonza, 658 F 2d 519 (7th Cir, 1981); Coe

v Rubber Workers, 571 F 2d 1349 (5th Cir, 1978), or the

union has failed to advise the employee about the

procedures; Robesky v Quantas Empire Airways, 573 F 2d

1082 (9th Cir, 1978); Minnis v United Auto Workers, 531 F

2d 850 (8th Cir, 1975); but see Stephens v Postmaster

General, 623 F 2d 594 (9th Cir, 1980), or the union has

failed to conduct a minimal investigation of the

grievance; Hines v Anchor Motor Freight, 506 F 2d 1153

(6th Cir, 1974) rev'd in part 424 US 554 (1976); Segarra v

Sea Land Service Inc, 581 F 2d 291 (1st Cir, 1978); Wyatt v

Interstate & Ocean Transport Co, 623 F 2d 888 (4th Cir,

1980); Hughes v International Brotherhood of Teamsters,

Local 683, 554 F 2d 365 (9th Cir, 1977), or the union has

simply been ignorant of its minimal responsibilities as a

Statutory bargaining agent; Milstead v International

Brotherhood of Teamsters, Local 957, 580 F 2d 232 (6th Cir,

1978); Williams v Teamsters, 625 F 2d 138 (6th Cir, 1980);

Denver Stereotypers Union v NLRB, 623 F 2d 134 (10th Cir,

1980).

Plaintiff submits that when union procedures are at

issue, and not the union decision on the merits of the

grievance, the concept of procedural negligence is an

appropriate standard to determine whether or not the

union adequately processed a meritorious grievance. The

adequacy of the union procedures and the exercise of

due care under the circumstances are the key issues.

Moreover, the reasonableness of the union action or

inaction must be considered in light of the harm to the

employee.

15

This Court has examined the adequacy of procedural

safeguards afforded an employee. In Humphrey v Moore,

375 US 335 (1963), this Court considered whether or not

an employee was granted a ‘fair hearing’’ in

determining whether the Union fulfilled its duty of fair

representation. Likewise, in Hines v Anchor Motor

Freight, 424 US 554 (1976) this Court vacated an

arbitration award because of Union conduct at the

hearing.*®

Procedural safeguards at the early steps of a grievance

procedure should not be any less exacting than the

procedural safeguards required at an arbitration hearing.

Second guessing of the union is not involved in a

typical perfunctory processing situation. In Ruzicka, the

Union never made a decision on the merits of the

grievance. For example, where the union has failed to

investigate the grievance, the issue is not the substantive

union decision on the merits of the grievance, with or

without a proper investigation. The issue is the standard

of care in investigating the grievance and the union’s

exercise of due care in light of the standard.

Negligence is a perfectly acceptable standard under

federal labor policy for determining the adequacy of a

union’s procedural handling of a meritorious grievance

involving important individual rights. After all, damages

in a duty of fair representation suit are based on fault

principles. Vaca v Sipes, supra at 197; Bowen v United

States Postal Service, supra.

Plaintiff submits that this Court, in Vaca, adopted a

negligence standard when it accepted the proposition

that a union owes a duty to process meritorious

grievances in a non-perfunctory fashion. The lower

courts have repeatedly either misinterpreted, twisted, or

ignored this standard. This erroneous interpretation is

especially glaring in the case at bar.

$ See also Smith v Hussman Refrigerator Co, 619 F 2d 1229 (8th Cir,

1980) (failure to provide notice of the hearing).

16

II.

THE SIXTH CIRCUIT APPLIED AN INCORRECT LEGAL

STANDARD TO THE CLAIM THAT THE UNION ARBIT-

RARILY NEGLECTED TO TAKE A BASIC AND REQUIRED

STEP UNDER THE EXCLUSIVE GRIEVANCE AND ARBIT-

RATION PROCEDURES. THE MOTIVE OR INTENT

OF THE STATUTORY BARGAINING AGENT IN RELYING

ON A PAST PRACTICE OF CUSTOMARY NON-

ENFORCEMENT OF CONTRACT DEADLINES IS NOT

CONTROLLING. THE EMPLOYEE IS ENTITLED TO CHAL-

LENGE THE UNION DECISION IF IT IS WITHOUT A RA-

TIONAL BASIS AND IS AN UNREASONED DECISION

AND IS OTHERWISE TOO INSUBSTANTIAL TO SUPPORT

THE UNION ACTION.

The bargaining representative, Charles Panter,

neglected to file the Union statement. On this record, his

action was unintentional.

Moreover, the evidence established a past practice of

customary non-enforcement of contract deadlines. He

was aware of the past practice. He decided to rely upon

that past practice when he was handling plaintiff's

grievance.°®

In Ruzicka Ill, the Court rejected the position that in

order to satisfy the arbitrary conduct standard, the

Union's decision must be based on rational and relevant

factors. The Court indicated that the only issue was the

“motive or intent for the Union’s conduct... ” — F 2d

—, 113 L.R.R.M. 2562, 2563 (6th Cir, 1983).

“(T]he inquiry here is not whether the union

should have relied, or whether it was rational to

* There is literally only a scintilla of evidence to support these

facts. The union representative testified that he in fact, exchanged the

union statement. In 1973, the District Judge, based on a credibility

determination, rejected this testimony. However, he did testify that

he was not that concerned about contract deadlines. In that sense, we

will reluctantly accept as fact that he made a ‘decision’ to rely on the

past practice when he neglected to exchange the union statement

within the contract deadlines.

17

rely, but whether the actual, substantially

motivating reason for the union’s decision not to

timely present Ruzicka’s discharge grievance to

GM was its reliance on an established practice.”’

(Emphasis Added) Ruzicka v General Motors, — F

2d —, 113 L.R.R.M. at 2563.

Ruzicka III is in conflict with decisions from other

Courts of Appeals.

In the 9th Circuit, a union decision to withdraw the

employee's grievance and withhold that information

from her is determined by whether or not the decision is

without a rational basis or is an unreasoned decision.

Robesky v Quantas Empire Airways, 573 F 2d 1082 (9th

Cir, 1978). In the 10th Circuit, Foust v IBEW, 572 F 2d 710

(1978), rev. on other grounds, 442 US 42 (1979), arbitrary

conduct is defined as ‘‘an act not done according to

reason and judgment.” Id. at 714. The Fifth Circuit has

held that a union does not breach its duty if its decision

is a rational result of the consideration of ‘relevant,

permissible union factors which excludes the possibility

of it being based on motivation such as personal

animosity or political favoritism . . . ’’ Tedford v Peabody

Coal Co, 533 F 2d 952, 957 (5th Cir, 1976). The 7th Circuit

has held, in Baldini v Local 1095, UAW, 581 F 2d 145 (7th

Cir, 1978), that in order to avoid arbitrary conduct, a

union must ‘‘make an honest, informed and reasoned

decision not to proceed... ’’ Id. at 151. Finally, the 4th

Circuit, in Griffin v International Union, UAW, 469 F 2d

181 (4th Cir, 1982), stated that a union may ‘“‘handle the

grievance in a particular manner for a multitude of

reasons, but it may not do so without reason... ”’ Id. at

183.

In the case at bar, plaintiff challenged the Union

decision to rely upon the past practice when it handled

his grievance. The Union decision was not rational

because the Union statement was prepared and was

18

ready to be exchanged with the employer within the

contract deadline. This was not a soundly reasoned

decision because it was too risky in light of

management's dislike of the plaintiff. This was especially

true given the explicit language in the contract. The

plaintiff was never informed of either the past practice or

the Union's decision to rely upon the past practice and

ignore the contract deadline. The Union decision simply

does not exclude the possibility of it being based on

hostility.”

Lastly, the Union decision to ignore the contract

deadline and rely on the past practice was simply too

insubstantial a reason to justify the Union inaction.

There is, indeed, a considerable amount of confusion

in the lower courts concerning the application of the

arbitrary conduct standard. There is a division of

authority in the courts as to whether or not the arbitrary

conduct standard requires evidence of intentional

misconduct. There is a further division around whether

unintentional misconduct which substantially prejudices

an employee's grievance must nevertheless be rational

and based on a sound, reasoned union decision. This

Court should settle this critical issue of federal labor

policy.

The plaintiff maintains to this very day that the bargaining

representative, Charles Panter, failed to process the grievance for

deliberate and political reasons.

In any case, as noted above, the Union's decision to “rely was

totally unreasonable since it submitted the statement more than two

weeks after the extended period (established by the plant practice)

had run out. See, fn. 2, supra.

19

III.

THE PLAINTIFF HAS STANDING TO COMPEL EN-

FORCEMENT OF A FAVORABLE ARBITRATION AWARD

OBTAINED ON HIS BEHALF BY THE UNION. THE INTER-

ESTS OF THE PLAINTIFF ARE NOT ADVERSE TO THE

INTERESTS OF THE UNION IN ENFORCING THE ARBI-

TRATION AWARD. MOREOVER, UNLESS PLAINTIFF IS

PERMITTED STANDING TO ENFORCE THE ARBITRA-

TION AWARD, HE WILL SUFFER SUBSTANTIAL HARM.

The District Judge vacated the arbitration award. He

held that ‘‘[w]ithout the breach, there is no grievance to

arbitrate.’ 519 F Supp at 897.

The Union had sought enforcement of the award.

However, the Union did not appeal his decision.®

Consequently, the Sixth Circuit refused plaintiff

standing to enforce the arbitration award.

“An additional issue concerning the continuing

viability of an arbitration award, originally

litigated below as a union counterclaim against

GM, has not been appealed by the union and is

therefore not before this Court on review.”’ — F

2d —, 113 L.R.R.M. 2564.

This holding is in conflict with the Seventh Circuit

Opinion in F. W. Woolworth v IBT, Local 781, 629 F 2d

1204 (7th Cir, 1980). In Woolworth, the Court held that an

employee could enforce the collective bargaining

* The Union's position on whether or not the plaintiff could seek

judicial enforcement on the favorable arbitration award was outlined

on p. 7 of its Brief on Appeal in Ruzicka Ill.

We take no position on the merits of the issue in this Court

However, we hope that, if the Court addresses it, the result

will be consistent with the reigning decision in this area, F

WW. Woolworth Co v IBT Local 781, 629 F 2d 1204 (7th Cir,

1980), which held that grievants may only intervene in

arbitration proceedings, and their enforcement, if their

position is not contrary to that of the responsible union.”

20

agreement with his employer even though only the

union under the collective bargaining agreement could

invoke arbitration.

The Court in Woolworth adopted the following

standards to determine whether or not an employee may

enforce, in a judicial proceeding, a favorable arbitration

award obtained by his union.’

“The factors favoring intervention by the

employees in the instant case are: (1) the

employees are defending, not attacking, the

arbitration award, which stands as the

culmination of the contractual grievance

procedure, (2) the Union has taken a position in

the district court in defense of the award, (3) the

Union has not objected to the employees’

intervention or appeal and (4) in the absence of

intervention these employees lose what may be

their final day in court resulting in a sharply

focused perception of unfairness.’’ 629 F 2d at

1211.

% The Sixth Circuit in Ruzicka Ill completely failed in its

responsibilities to articulate a rationale for its position or articulate

any standards. This is especially irksome to plaintiff because the same

Court in Ruzicka I ordered arbitration on the union's cross-claim, but

not at the request of the plaintiff. Ruzicka, 523 F 2d at 315. Such an

order is unprecedented in an unfair representation case. It may be a

denial of due process since an employee under Vaca is entitled to a

judicial de*ermination of his claims. In any event, there are only two

possible bases for this holding in Ruzicka III. First, the District

Judge’s analysis that ‘without the breach there is no grievance to

arbitrate “’ 519 F Supp at 897. Second, there is no claim by the

plaintiff that the union was guilty of unfair representation by failing

to seek enforcement of the favorable arbitration award. However,

arbitration in the case at bar occurred during the course of a judicial

proceeding and was court ordered. In sum, the arbitration was not

the product of collective bargaining, but rather the product of a

lawsuit. Consequently, under either rationale, the plaintiff has

standing.

21

The Second Circuit holds that an employee has

standing to enforce a favorable arbitration award if there

is tangible injury, such as the loss of a job. Santos v

Carpenters District Council, 547 F 2d 197 (2nd Cir, 1977).

The Fifth Circuit holds that an employee lacks

standing to vacate an unfavorable arbitration award.

Acuff v United Paper Workers, 404 F 2d 169 (5th Cir, 1968).

Likewise, in the Ninth Circuit an employee lacks

standing to vacate an unfavorable arbitration award.

Andrus v Convoy Co, 480 F 2d 604 (9th Cir, 1973), cert.

den. 414 US 989 1°

Some courts have rejected a narrow view of an

employee's right to judicially enforce an arbitration

award. In Lee v Olin Mathieson Chem Corp, 271 F Supp

635 (D.C. Va, 1967) the Court permitted an employee suit

to enforce a favorable arbitration award even though

there was a disagreement between the union and

employer about the interpretation of the award and the

matter could not be settled in negotiations. The Court

focused on the harm to the employees.

‘© In a case involving uniquely personal rights, it is irrational and

illogical for a court to deny standing to an employee to vacate an

unfavorable arbitration award, but yet allow his union standing to

vacate the unfavorable arbitration award. The same standards for

standing should govern both employee and union. After all, such

suits to vacate an unfavorable arbitration award are governed by this

Court’s “hands off’’ policy announced in United Steelworkers of

America v Enterprise Wheel and Car Corp, 363 US 593 (1960). In

addition, such suits are governed by a short statute of limitations.

United Parcel Service v Mitchell, 451 US 56 (1981). At the very

minimum, by allowing an employee standing in a suit to vacate an

unfavorable arbitration award, this would substantially reduce the

number of unfair representation claims when there is little, if any,

evidence of unfair representation in the union’s conduct at the

arbitration hearing. The burden would not be great on the courts

After all, unlike a duty of fair representation claim, a court would

simply review the arbitration award and the collective bargaining

agreement under the appropriate standards. Allowing standing for

such an employee suit (to vacate an unfavorable arbitration award

involving uniquely personal nghts) would have less of an unsettling

effect on labor relations than allowing duty cf fair representation

suits. We recogruze that there may be other legal buses to deny such a

suit, but the lack of standing should not be one.

22

“[T]o deny the plaintiffs standing to enforce the

award under these circumstances where the

defendant union, by inaction has failed to act on

the award (sic) would render the award in such

cases useless.”’ 271 F Supp at 638.

Likewise, in Central Motor Express, Inc v Local 89, 407 F

Supp 1217 (W.D. Ky, 1975), the Court permitted the

employees to intervene in a suit brought by the union

against the employer to compel enforcement of an

arbitration award even though the interests of the union

were adverse to those of the employees.

On the other hand, some courts have narrowly focused

on the union’s role as the exclusive statutory

representative and have refused to allow the employees

standing in judicial proceedings when the validity of an

arbitration award is at issue. See, e.g., DeLorto v UPS,

401 F Supp 408 (D.C. Ma, 1975); Capobianco v Brinks, 543

F Supp 971 (E.D., NY, 1982); Hadaway v Mountainside

Transport, 104 L.R.R.M. 2279 (D.C., Md, 1980); Quimby v

TWA, 401 F Supp 137 (D.C. Pa, 1975).

In 1962, this Court held that employees have standing

under § 301(a) to seek judicial protection of individual

rights guaranteed under a collective bargaining

agreememt. Smith v Evening News Ass'n, 371 US 195

(1962). Indeed, § 301 contemplates suits by individual

employees ‘‘to vindicate ‘uniquely personal’ rights of

employees ... ” Hines v Anchor Motor Freight, Inc, 424

US 554, 562 (1976).

In the case at bar, the plaintiff's grievance, and

resulting arbitration award, involve uniquely personal

rights. It involves his job and his right to earn a living. It

involves his right to be free from unjust disciplinary

penalties.

23

A favorable arbitration award involving uniquely

personal interests is a vested right. The union has no

right to bargain it away. See, e.g., Price v International

Brotherhood of Teamsters, 457 F 2d 605 (3rd Cir, 1972);

Elgin, ] & E RY v Bosley, 325 US 711 (1945) aff. on reh. 327

US 661 (1946).

Obviously, without standing to enforce the favorable

arbitration award, the harm to plaintiff is substantial.

Indeed, without standing, everything is lost.

This Court has not yet determined the circumstances

under which an employee may seek judicial enforcement

of a favorable arbitration award obtained on his behalf

by the union. There is a wide range of opinion on this

issue. The issue is important to employers, unions and

employees. The issue should be settled.

IV.

THE ARBITRATION AWARD IS VALID BECAUSE GENER

L MOTORS REPUDIATED OR WAIVED THE CONTRACT

DEADLINE WHEN IT ESTABLISHED A PAST PRACTICE

WITH THE UNION OF NON-ENFORCEMENT OF CON-

TRACT DEADLINES. CONSEQUENTLY, GENERAL

MOTORS IS ESTOPPED FROM RELYING ON THE UN-

ION’S FAILURE TO TAKE A REQUIRED AND NECESSARY

STEP WITHIN THE CONTRACT DEADLINES UNDER THE

CONTRACTUAL GRIEVANCE AND ARBITRATION PRO-

CEDURES.

The District Judge found that General Motors and the

Union had established a past practice of customary

non-enforcement of contract deadlines. 86 L.R.R.M. at

2031. In Ruzicka III, the Court indicated that the

‘existence of a clear and definite practice of not insisting

on contractual deadlines when an extension was

requested has been the law of this case for over ten

years.’ _ F 2d at __, 113 L.R.R.M. at 2563.

24

The District Judge vacated the arbitration award

because he found there was no breach of the duty of fair

representation. 519 F Supp at 897. Such a result is based

upon a traditional approach to Vaca that an employer

may defend the contractual claim by asserting that the

employee has failed to exhaust the available remedies

under the exclusive grievance and arbitration pro-

cedures, at least until the employee proves unfair

representation.

Such an approach to the validity of the arbitration

award is absolutely contrary to the basis relied upon by

the District Judge and the Sixth Circuit to excuse the

Union's violation of its duty of fair representation.

Specifically, the Union’s violation was excused because

of customary non-enforcement of contract deadlines, but

yet those same contract deadlines were held against the

employee.'' If the union were excused from the contract

deadlines, the employee should also be excused from the

contract deadlines. !2

In the notorious footnote 4, the District Judge found that

plaintiff's grievance was not arbitrable because the Union’s attempt to

exchange the statement three weeks after the contract deadline was

untimely. He said the past practice did not “extend” the deadline this

far. This analysis is contradictory. The contract deadlines were not

enforced. They were waived by established past practice.

Consequently, the contract deadlines ceased to exist as a factor in

determining whether or not the grievance was timely. The timeliness

of the grievance may only be determined by reference to the past

Practice in the plant.

‘* The contract deadlines operated as follows: Under Paragraph

77 of the GM-UAW National Agreement, a grievance had to be filed

within three working days of the discharge. Local management was

then required to render a decision on the grievance within five

working days Then, under Paragraph 77, the Shop Committee was

required to appeal that decision within five working days. Finally,

under Step 3 of the grievance procedure, Paragraph 37, the exchange

of statements between management and the Union was required

within five working days from the date of the Notice of Unadjusted

Grievance. All of the deadlines could be extended by mutual

agreement in writing. However, under Paragraph 34, a grievance not

(Continued on following page)

25

A violation of the duty of fair representation is not the

only instance in which an employee may be excused

from exhausting contractual procedures. It is well

established that certain conduct of an employer may

constitute a repudiation of contractual procedures. Drake

Bakeries v Bakery Workers, 370 US 254, 260-263 (1962).

This Court in Vaca noted that an employee could be

excused from contractual exhaustion under other

circumstances.

“An obvious situation in which the employee

should not be limited to the exclusive remedial

procedures established by the contract occurs

when the conduct of the employer amounts to a

repudiation of those contractual procedures .. .

In such a situation (and there may, of course, be

others), an employer is estopped by his own

conduct to rely on the unexhausted grievance and

arbitration procedures as a defense to the

employee’s cause of action.”’ 386 US at 185.

In at least one case, a Court has held that an accepted

past practice in modification of the contract excuses an

employee from exhausting the grievance remedies

available to him under the contract. Riley v Letter

Carriers, Local 380, 493 F Supp 342 (D. NJ, 1980),

dismissed on other grounds, 668 F 2d 224 (3rd Cir, 1981).

In Riley, the union did not file a grievance on behalf of

the employee because of the existence of a past practice

with the employer of holding the grievance procedures

in abeyance.

(Continued from preceding page)

appealed from a decision at one step of the grievance procedure to the

next step was considered settled on the basis of the last decision

And, under Paragraph 53, such settlement was considered final and

binding on the Union, employer, and employee. When the Union

neglected to exchange the statement, the grievance was considered

“‘settled’’ and, by the operation of the contractual deadlines,

settlement was considered ‘‘final.”’

26

The circumstances under which an employee will be

excused from the exclusive grievance and arbitration

procedures in the absence of unfair representation is an

important question under the federal labor law. This

Court has never decided this issue.

Plaintiff has conclusively established that he was

subject to an unjust discharge in violation of the

contract. But yet, the Courts in Ruzicka have blindly

ignored the fact that the contract deadlines were waived

by past practice. Nevertheless, these Courts have

willingly excused the Union because those contract

deadlines were waived by the same past practice.

This is a terrible form of judicial hypocrisy and defeats

the very basic principle that individual rights in a

collective bargaining agreement can be judicially

protected.

V.

THE ARBITRATION AWARD IS VALID BECAUSE IT WAS

OBTAINED BY THE UNION IN ITS CLAIM TO COMPEL

ARBITRATION. UNDER FEDERAL LABOR POLICY,

THE UNTIMELINESS OF A GRIEVANCE IS WAIVED

WHENEVER, IN A DUTY OF FAIR REPRESENTATION

SUIT, AN ORDER IS OBTAINED COMPELLING ARBITRA-

TION OF THE EMPLOYEE’S GRIEVANCE AND CON-

SEQUENTLY, THE EMPLOYER IS ESTOPPED FROM AS-

SERTING UNTIMELINESS OF THE GRIEVANCE.

The Union sought in this suit to compel arbitration on

the plaintiff's grievance. In Ruzicka I, the Sixth Circuit

granted summary judgment on the Union’s cross-claim

for arbitration. 523 F 2d at 315.

This Court in Vaca stated that an order compelling

arbitration was an available remedy in a duty of fair

representation suit.

27

“Tt is true that the employee’s action is based on

the employer's alleged breach of contract plus the

union’s alleged failure to afford him his con-

tractual remedy of arbitration. For this reason, an

order compelling arbitration should be viewed as

one of the available remedies when a breach of

the union’s duty is proved.” Vaca, 386 US at 196.

This Court noted that “the arbitrable issues may be

substantially resolved in the course of trying the fair

representation controversy.’’ 386 US at 196. In that

situation, a Court could decide the contractual claim or

enter an order compelling arbitration.

However, this Court has never determined the

circumstances under which a union, in a duty of fair

representation suit, may obtain an order compelling

arbitration of the employee's grievance. Moreover, this

Court has never determined whether or not such an

order compelling arbitration operates to estop the

employer from asserting that the grievance is untimely

under the collective bargaining agreement.

Plaintiff submits that this Court in Vaca contemplated

and decided those issues in a situation in which the

employee obtains an order compelling arbitration. In

particular, when an employee obtains an order

compelling arbitration, there is a waiver of any

untimeliness of the employee’s grievance and the

employer is estopped from asserting that the grievance is

untimely under the grievance and arbitration procedures

of a collective bargaining agreement.

A simple example will illustrate this. An employee

files a duty of fair representation suit against the union

and employer after the union withdraws his grievance

without having submitted the grievance to arbitration.

Under the exclusive grievance and arbitration

procedures, the union's withdrawal of the grievance

constitutes a final and binding settlement of the

grievance on the employer, union and employee. The

28

grievance and arbitration procedures contain four steps,

the final step being binding arbitration, and timely filing

of papers is required in order to appeal to higher stages.

The employee establishes unfair representation and

seeks an order to compel arbitration. At that point, the

grievance under the procedures is untimely.

May the employer refuse to arbitrate because the

grievance is untimely? Or, if the grievance is arbitrated,

may the employer refuse to abide by an arbitration

award favorable to the employee because the grievance

was untimely and thus not arbitrable?

The answer under Vaca is that the employer may not

assert such a defense. Under such circumstances, the

failure to exhaust contract remedies in a timely manner is

not a defense to arbitration, nor an arbitration award.

Were it otherwise, an order to arbitrate, in all

probability, would never be an available remedy to an

employee.

A waiver of the arbitrable issue of the timeliness

operates because, under federal labor policy, Congress

never “intended to shield employers from the natural

consequences of their breaches of bargaining agreements

by wrongful union conduct in the enforcement of such

agreements.’’ Vaca, 386 US at 186.

Plaintiff submits that the arbitrable issue of the

timeliness of the grievance is also waived when the

union, in a duty of fair representation suit, obtains an

order compelling arbitration. A union, after a duty of fair

'* This Court in Vaca surely did not intend to restrict the

employee to a judicial determination on the contract claim rather than

arbitration. As noted in Ruzicka |, the employee may prefer

arbitration. An employee who, for example, shows up drunk on the

job may believe that an arbitrator, familiar with shop law, might be

better than a judge or a jury The point is, an employee can select a

remedy and, if he selects arbitration, there is an automatic waiver of

the issue of the timeliness of the grievance, at least in those instances

in which the grievance was settled short of arbitration and, when the

order is obtained, the grievance is obviously untimely under the

procedures

29

representation suit is filed, should be encouraged to seek

arbitration of the employee's grievance.

A duty of fair representation suit must be filed within

six months. DelCostello v International Brotherhood of

Teamsters, _. US —; 76 L Ed 2d 476 (1983). The union is

liable for back pay occurring after the normally

scheduled arbitration hearing date. Bowen v United States

Postal Service, __ US —; 74 L Ed 2d 402 (1983).

In the case at bar, arbitration was ordered when the

arbitrable issues were “substantially resolved.”’ An early

determination on the merits of plaintiff's discharge

grievance was to the benefit of all the parties.

In light of the recent decisions by this Court, unions

should have a great interest on seeking arbitration as

quickly as possible. Protracted litigation simply exposes

unions to greater liability. Consequently, this Court

should indicate that arbitration is an available remedy to

the union in a duty of fair representation suit whenever

the arbitrable issues are substantially resolved in the

course of litigating the fair representation claim against

the union.

In that instance, the employee should receive the

benefit of a favorable arbitration award even if it is later

determined in the litigation that the union did not

violate its duty. The employer should therefore be

estopped from raising the untimeliness of the grievance

as a defense to the favorable arbitration award."

'# In Ruzicka |, the Court ordered arbitration on both the

substantive and procedural aspects of plaintiff's grievance. 523 F 2d at

315. However, the Sixth Circuit's rationale in submitting the

procedural aspects of the grievance was eliminated by this Court's

opinion in Hines. Moreover, in Ruzicka |, the plaintiff had not yet

“proved” unfair representation. The Court reversed a Rule 41(b)

dismissal by the District Judge The plaintiff had only established a

prima facie case. Ruzicka |], 649 F 2d at 1209 Nevertheless, the Sixth

Circuit order compelling arbitration is valid on the theory that the

arbitrable issue of the timeliness of the grievance was substantially

resolved. Thus, the arbitration order and award remain valid

30

CONCLUSION

We respectfully submit that the rulings of the Sixth

Circuit below are internally inconsistent and contrary to

federal labor law and policy. The final disposition of the

case by the Court of Appeals represents a callous

indifference to the substantial and important individual

rights of the plaintiff. In depriving him of these rights,

which he has sought to enforce for twelve years, the

Court has shirked its responsibility to develop a sound,

reasoned labor law in accordance with the principles

enunciated by this Court.

In a broader sense, this case typifies the confusion and

uncertainty existing in all the Circuits with respect to

§ 301 fair representation cases. The diversity of judicial

Opinion in this area is the product, at least in part, of the

vagueness of the standards enunciated by this Court in

Vaca. Specifically, the standards of “arbitrary conduct’’

and ‘‘perfunctory processing’ have yielded wildly

inconsistent results in the lower courts. The present case

offers this Court a perfect opportunity to clear up this

confusion and provide some consistency and

predictability to this important area of federal labor law.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT J. DINGES (P 12799)

GLOTTA, ADELMAN, DINGES & RILEY, P.C.

1529 Broadway, Fourth Floor

Detroit, MI 48226-2174

(313) 964-1190

COUNSEL FOR PETITIONER

Dated: August 19, 1983

31

PETITIONER’S APPENDIX

MEMORANDUM OPINION

DENYING MOTION TO DISMISS

(United States District Court

Eastern District of Michigan

Southern Division)

(January 20, 1972)

(William Ruzicka, Plaintiff, vs. General Motors

Corporation, a Delaware corporation, International

Union, United Auto Workers (UAW), Local Union 166,

UAW, jointly and severally, Defendants — Civil Action

No. 36598)

Plaintiff in this action is William Ruzicka, a former

employee of General Motors Corporation. Defendants are

General Motors Corporation and the UAW. On March

31, 1970, he was fired by General Motors for being drunk

on the job and for using abusive language to a

management employee. Ruzicka filed a written

grievance, protesting his discharge, which proceeded

through steps one and two of the grievance procedure

but was not appealed to the third and fourth steps.

Plaintiff claims that he notified his Shop Committeeman

to continue processing his grievance but that he (a man

Panter, by name) failed to do so because of personal

hostility towards Ruzicka.

Plaintiff alleges that the decision of management was

contrary to consistent rulings of impartial umpires in

that the correct disciplinary action should have been a

temporary suspension. Therefore, plaintiff sued General

Motors Corporation for breach of contract, claiming an

improper discharge. He may maintain this, only if the

defendant UAW breached its duty of fair representation.

32

Plaintiff's suit against his union, the UAW, is based

on that claimed breach of the union’s duty of fair

representation. Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171 (1967).

Plaintiff alleges that he had “lost favor” with his union

and that the local union’s Shop Committeeman was

hostile towards him and therefore failed to process

plaintiff's grievance to the third and fourth stages.

General Motors Corporation has filed a motion to

dismiss based on the fact that plaintiff failed to complete

the grievance procedures pursuant to the collective

bargaining agreement. S’nce plaintiff's claim against

General Motors is based on breach of contract, contract

law indicates that plaintiff must comply with the contract

terms.

_. [I]f the wrongfully discharged employee

himself resorts to the courts before the grievance

procedures have been fully exhausted, the

employer may well defend on the ground that the

exclusive remedies provided by such a contract

have not been exhausted. Since the employee's

claim is based upon breach of the collective

bargaining agreement, he is bound by terms of

that agreement which govern the manner in

which contractual rights may be enforced. For

this reason, it is settled that the employee must at

least attempt to exhaust exclusive grievance and

arbitration procedures established by the

bargaining agreement.” Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S.

171, 184 (1967).

An exception to this rule arises if the union has sole

power to invoke the higher stages of the grievance

procedure, and the plaintiff (as is alleged here) is

prevented from exhausting grievance procedures by the

union’s wrongful refusal to process the grievance. Vaca

v. Sipes, supra at 185. The court further stated:

33

‘For these reasons, we think the wrongfully

discharged employee may bring an action against

his employer in the face of a defense based upon

the failure to exhaust contractual remedies,

provided the employee can prove that the union

as bargaining agent breached its duty of fair

representation in the handling of the employee's

grievance.” Supra at 186.

Thus the validity of defendant General Motors’ defense

of failure to complete the grievance procedures depends

upon whether the UAW breached its duty of fair

representation.

The rationale for permitting the plaintiff to proceed

where the union has breached its duty of fair

representation is that otherwise the employee is

remediless — abandoned by his union and fired by his

company. It does no injury to the company to allow him

to proceed, since plaintiff alleges that they have

discharged him wrongfully and that his failure to

perform his own contract obligations is not attributable

to him. Richardson v. Communications Workers of America,

267 F.Supp. 403 (D.Neb. 1967).

Thus plaintiff must be able to show first that the

defendant union breached its duty of fair representation.

In this district some cases indicate that plaintiff must

show that he has exhausted or attempted to exhaust his

internal remedies against the union before he can

proceed against it in court. In Harrington v. Chrysler

Corporation, 303 F.Supp. 495 (E.D. Mich. 1969, Kaess, J.),

plaintiff failed to completely exhaust his contract

grievance procedure and his intra-union appeal

procedure set forth in Article 32 of the UAW

Constitution. Judge Kaess stated:

34

“ ... plaintiff... sought redress only by means

of the grievance machinery set forth in the local

collective bargaining agreement between Local

Union No. 402 and Chrysler Corporation. He did

not avail himself of the intra-union appeal

procedures to challenge Local 412’s alleged

arbitrary action in refusing to represent the

plaintiff with respect to the grievance. The [UAW

Const.] require[s] the aggrieved member to

submit his appeal in writing within a specified

time period . . . and all remedies and appeals...

[must] be exhausted prior to [resort to court).

“Thus, based upon plaintiff's ... failure to

affirmatively show some action pursuant to the

intra-union appellate procedures, this court is

without authority to entertain the plaintiff's

action.’’ Supra at 497. (Emphasis added.)

See also Imbrunne v. Chrysler Corporation, — F.Supp. —

65 CCHLC § 11,745 (E.D. Mich., April 26, 1971, Civil

Action No. 36112). (Plaintiff's action barred because he

failed to exhaust his grievance procedure and the union's

action was not so arbitrary so as to constitute unfair

representation. )

Anderson v. Ford Motor Company, 319 F.Supp. 134 (E.D.

Mich. 1970), relies upon Bsharah v. Eltra Corporation, 394

F.2d 502, 503 (6th Cir. 1968), and the Circuit Court there

stated that where plaintiff ‘failed to allege or show any

attempt to initiate her intra-union remedies prescribed

by the [UAW Constitution and bylaws]... "’ it would

affirm the district court’s dismissal of her claim. Chief

Judge Freeman in Anderson, in reliance upon this

language, held that plaintiff employees must completely

exhaust their intra-union remedy before resort to federal

court. The above-mentioned district court cases are

35

uniform in their extension of the obligation to exhaust

intra-union remedies beyond that enunciated in the

decisions of the Sixth Circuit.

In the instant case, plaintiff Ruzicka has spent

approximately one year prior to suit in an attempt to

pursue his intra-union remedy. He is still attempting to

proceed within the union. While a _ privately

administered system for the redress of employee

grievances is an integral part of our national labor

relations policy of settling disputes without the necessity

of judicial resolution, it should not operate to deprive an

employee of his access to the federal courts under Section

301 (unless he has failed to substantially exhaust his

remedies under that system). I hold there has been

sufficient exhaustion in this case.

The UAW also argues in support of its motion that

plaintiff has not pleaded sufficient facts to establish that

the UAW acted in bad faith or with hostile or arbitrary

discrimination.

In Balowski v. International Union, 372 F.2d 829 (6th

Cir. 1967), the court stated:

“The allegations of a complaint alleging the

breach of a Union’s duty of fair representation

must contain more than ‘conclusory statements

alleging discrimination.’ In particular plaintiffs

must make a showing that the action or inaction

of the statutory representative complained of was

motivated by bad faith, for the gravamen of the

rule is ‘hostile discrimination.’ ” At 835.

In the instant case, plaintiff has made a sufficient

allegation of bad faith to comply with the Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure.

Ruzicka, before the commencement of this lawsuit,

brought charges against the union before the National

36

Labor Relations Board. On October 9, 1970, the Regional

Director refused to issue a complaint. In December this

refusal was affirmed by the General Counsel of the

National Labor Relations Board. There is no appeal,

either administrative or judicial, from such a decision.

United Electrical Contractors Ass'n. v. Ordman, 366 F.2d

776 (2nd Cir. 1966). The UAW argues that this refusal

should be res judicata or collaterally estop the plaintiff

from proceeding in this court

While the issue before this court is identical to that

before the National Labor Relations Board, it is clear that

res judicata does not attach to the refusal to issue a

complaint. The nature of such a decision is tentative. The

Board itself is not bound by such a decision. Maxwell Co

v. NLRB, 414 F.2d 477 (6th Cir. 1969). See also NLRB v.

Zimnox Coal Co., 336 F.2d 516 (6th Cir. 1964). The refusal

to issue a complaint is not res judicata, NLRB v. Baltimore

Transit Co., 140 F.2d 51 (4th Cir. 1944), cert. denied 321

U.S. 795 (1944), because it is not final. Furthermore, the

traditional elements of res judicata are not present. There

is no opportunity by the charging parties to actually

litigate the matter. Therefore, neither res judicata nor

collateral estoppel applies.

As to the final contention by the UAW concerning

Panter’s authority to act for the International Union, this

involves questions of fact so is best reserved for trial.

The motion to dismiss brought by defendant General

Motors is also dened for the above reasons. An

appropriate order may be presented.

s John Feikens

United States District Judge

Dated: January 19, 1972

Detroit, Michigan

37

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER DENYING

MOTIONS FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

(United States District Court

Eastern District of Michigan

Southern Division)

(April 25, 1973)

(William Ruzicka, Plaintiff, vs. General Motors

Corporation, a Delaware corporation; International

Union, United Auto Workers, (UAW); Local Union 166,

Jointly and Severally, Defendants — Civil Action No.

36598)

Defendant Unions (International Union, UAW, and

Local Union 166, UAW) and defendant General Motors

Corporation (General Motors) bring motions for

summary judgment against plaintiff, William Ruzicka.

Motions for summary judgment have also been brought

by each defendant against the other defendant. A

hearing was held on the motions brought by defendants

against the plaintiff. Argument on the motions between

defendants has been adjourned until the close of

plaintiff's case at trial.

This court must now determine whether Ruzicka has

had ‘‘his day in court’’ in the union forums. If so,

summary judgment should be granted.

It is noteworthy that all but one of the intra-union

hearings and decisions occurred prior to this court's

Opinion of January 20, 1972; the local union had

declined to hold a trial to decide the question of Panter’s

misconduct, the International Executive Board (IEB)

affirmed, but the Public Review Board (PRB) reversed

and ordered a trial. In that trial Panter was found ‘‘not

guilty’ and the IEB affirmed. On June 8, 1972, the PRB

dismissed the appeal from the IEB, stating that ‘under

the [UAW] Constitution no appeal from the verdict of

38

not guilty can be had.”’ The Board, however, did indicate

its agreements on the merits with the IEB decision.

At the trial, at which Panter was adjudicated ‘‘not

guilty’ of ‘consciously and purposely intending to allow

[Ruzicka’s] grievance to expire,’’ proof ‘‘beyond a

reasonable doubt’’ as a standard was employed.

Although Article 31 of the UAW Constitution prescribes

no particular standard of proof for a local union trial, the

IEB, in affirming the trial decision in this case, stated:

.. there is no evidence of any kind to indicate

bevond a reasonable doubt that [Panter’s] failure to

secure management's statements was motivated

by personal and political differences ... .”’

(Emphasis added. )

Thus, assuming arguendo that Panter’s “guilt” is a

dispositive issue in the instant case, plaintiff's burden of

proof in the union forum was much greater than it would

be in this court. Judicial deference to internal union

proceedings is commendable but inapplicable to the facts

at bar. In Charron v. American Federation of State, County

and Mumetpal Employees Union, 470 F.2d 156 (6th Cir.

1972), the plaintiff had been discharged by his union; in

Vestal v. Hoffa, 451 F.2d 706 (6th Cir. 1971), the dispute

was over interpretation of the union constitution. Both

the Vestal and Charron cases arose under the Labor

Management Reporting and Disclosure Act of 1959 (29

U.S.C. §§ 401 et seq.). This Act expressly defines what is

an adequate union disciplinary proceeding. 29 U.S.C.

§ 411(a)(5). The instant case arises under the Labor

Management Relations Act of 1947 (29 U.S.C. §§ 141 et

seg.) Where, as here, plaintiff's burden of proof was

heavier in the union forum than in the federal courts,

this court does not believe that deference to the internal

union adjudication is required. On the facts and the law,

the Charron and Vestal cases are distinguishable, and this

court declines to follow them here.

39

The unions’ remaining grounds for summary

judgment are without merit. First, defendant unions

now express a willingness to press Ruzicka’s claim and

say only General Motors’ refusal bars this alleged

remedy. Thus, the unions contend they cannot be

considered wrongdoers and must be dismissed out of the

case. This union attitude was manifest well before this

court’s January 1972 Opinion. More important, it cannot

be said that, as a matter of law, the present union

position purges the unions of their alleged misconduct

which began shortly after Ruzicka’s discharge in March

1970. The unions’ argument is best made to the trier of

fact, for the jury must “apportion liability between the

employer and the union according to the damage caused

by the fault of each.” Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171, 197

(1967).

The unions’ argument that Panter acted beyond the

scope ofshis authority thus obviating any union

misconduct must also be rejected. As this court said in

its January 20, 1972, Opinion: ‘’Panter’s authority to act

for the International Union, ... involves questions of

fact ... best reserved for trial.’ The unions say that

since this court’s decision, Ruzicka stated in deposition

that Panter ‘‘acted contrary to [his] duties and authority

as unit chairman” and that this statement is binding

against Ruzicka. This court does not agree that such a

statement resolves the factual question of Panter’s

authority and as to this ground, therefore, the unions’

motion for summary judgment is also denied.

Similarly, this court has already decided in its January

20, 1972, Opinion that there has been sufficient

exhaustion and that the National Labor Relations Board’s

refusal to issue a complaint is no bar to this suit.

Finally, this court rejects the unions’ contention that

no genuine issue of material fact remains for decision. It

40

may be that the lengthy history of this matter has

eliminated many factual issues. The events surrounding

the discharge and the subsequent attempts to reverse

that decision have been thoroughly explored in

numerous depositions. Yet one fundamental fact remains

uncertain — whether Panter unfairly represented

Ruzicka because of personal hostility. Inferences could

be drawn from facts which might lead a jury to conclude

that Panter acted in bad faith when he failed to process

Ruzicka’s grievance. Circumstantial evidence might play

a role in the jury’s decision. In sum, notwithstanding the

affidavits and depositions presented to this court, it

cannot be said that, as a matter of law, the issue of bad

faith is resolved in defendants’ favor. See Neust v.

Westinghouse Alr Brake Co., 313 F.Supp. 1228 (S.D.IIl.

1970); Rivera v. NMU Pension & Welfare & Vacation Plan,

288 F.Supp. 874 (E.D.La. 1968).

General Motors’ motion for summary judgment must

also be denied. General Motors says plaintiff's allegation

that his punishment was unduly harsh is a claim for

which no relief may be granted, since the sanction of

discharge is clearly allowed under the national collective

bargaining agreement. But the question is whether

imposition of the discharge sanction in Ruzicka’s case

constituted a breach of contract by General Motors and

this must be decided on the particular facts of this case.

Accordingly, for the reasons set forth in this Opinion,

It Is Ordered that defendants’ motions for summary

judgment against plaintiff be, and the same are, hereby

Denied.

This case must be tried to a jury, and it will commence

on Tuesday, August 7, 1973, at 9:00 A.M.

s John Feikens

United States District Judge

Dated: Detroit, Michigan, April 25, 1973.

41

MEMORANDUM OPINION

(United States District Court

Eastern District of Michigan

Southern Division)

(November 21, 1973)

(William Ruzicka, Plaintiff, vs. General Motors

Corporation, a Delaware corporation; International

Union, United Automobile Workers (UAW); Local Union

166, UAW, Jointly and Severally, Defendants — Civil

Action No. 36598)

William Ruzicka filed this suit under Section 301 of the

Labor Management Relations Act of 1947, 29 U.S.C.

§ 185. Against the General Motors Corporation, the

plaintiff alleged wrongful discharge in violation of his

union agreement. Against the United Auto Workers, the

plaintiff alleged breach of its duty of fair representation

for failure to exchange the statements of unadjusted

grievance at the third step of the grievance procedure.

In a prior opinion,’ the court denied the defendants’

motions to dismiss. The court held that the plaintiff had

exhausted his contractual remedies, and the decision of

the National Labor Relations Board not to issue a

complaint was not res judicata with respect to the issues

raised in the complaint in this case.

In an unreported opinion dated April 25, 1973, the

court denied the defendants’ motions for summary

judgment. The court held that deference to intra-union

proceedings was inappropriate because in that

proceeding the plaintiff had to show the “guilt’’ beyond

a reasonable doubt of the union official (Charles Panter)

in mishandling his grievance, a standard higher than

that applicable in court. The court held that the plaintiff

1 Ruzicka v. General Motors Corp., 336 F.Supp. 842 (E.D. Mich.

1972).

42

must have his day to prove his allegation that Panter and

the union had breached the duty of fair representation in

the processing of his grievance.

Plaintiff has now presented his proof. Before the court

for decision are the defendants’ motions to dismiss

under Rule 41(b), Fed.R.Civ.P.

Rule 41(b) authorizes a court in a case such as this to

dismiss an action on the ground that upon the facts and

the law, the plaintiff has shown no right to relief. As

construed in Bach v. Friden Calculating Mach. Co., 148

F.2d 407 (6th Cir. 1945), this rule authorizes a court to

weigh the evidence and draw inferences therefrom. See

also, 5 Moore’s Federal Practice, © 41.13[4).

On March 31, 1970, Ruzicka was discharged by

General Motors for being intoxicated on the job and for

using threatening and abusive language to his superiors.

Ruzicka filed a timely grievance protesting his discharge

and the company responded with a timely paragraph 77

answer.* Later the union filed a timely ‘‘notice of

unadjusted grievance” to initiate the third step of the

grievance procedure. Paragraph 37 of the national

agreement then provides for a simultaneous exchange of

“statements of unadjusted grievance’. After two

mutually agreed upon extensions of the time allowed for

this in the national contract, an exchange date of May 5,

1970 was fixed.

However, no simultaneous exchange was ever made in

Ruzicka’s case. The exchange was to be made on behalf

of Ruzicka and the union by Charles Panter, chairman of

the shop committee, and on behalf of the company by

Ross Hagerman, supervisor of labor relations at

Ruzicka’s plant.

2 This has reference to paragraph 77 of the national agreement

then in force between the company and the union.

43

The witnesses disagreed in their testimony as to

whether Panter ever gave management the union

statement of unadjusted grievance. Both Hagerman and

Jerry Bennett, a labor analyst and subordinate to

Hagerman, testified that Panter never did make the

exchange. Hagerman also testified that it was the

practice to make a simultaneous exchange of the

Statements in his office, as required by the contract. If

one side was not prepared with its statement on an

exchange date, extensions of time it appeared were freely

granted. In fact such extensions were freely granted even

after an exchange date had passed. This testimony was

corroborated by William Moon, who succeeded Charles

Panter as chairman of the shop committee on May 17,

1970.

Panter, on the other hand, testified that he did give

the union’s statement of Ruzicka’s unadjusted grievance

to management during the first week in May, although

he did not remember the date.> He stated that the

common practice was for management to leave its

statement in his mailbox at the plant two to four days

after receipt of the union statement, to allow a period for

negotiating the grievance. Panter said he never saw

management's statement.

After Moon replaced Panter, and following general

review with Panter of the active grievance files, Moon

attempted to exchange the Ruzicka statement on May 26,

1970. This was rejected by management as untimely.

Thereafter Ruzicka learned that his grievance was dead.

> He said he had a specific recollection of this because an associate

of his read it aloud in the meeting at which he gave the statement to

management.

44

The court concludes that the weight of the evidence is

that Panter did not make the exchange. While he so

testified, there was substantial credible evidence to the

contrary. Hagerman and Bennett, the company

representatives involved in Ruzicka’s case, testified that

Panter never made the exchange. No union statement

was ever found in company files,* or in the files of the

international union. Of significance is the fact that

Moon, when he became shop committee chairman, had

the statement of unadjusted grievance (multiple copies)

and then tried to make the exchange.

The fact that Panter did not make the exchange,

standing alone, does not show breach of the union’s

duty of fair representation. The landmark decision

defining this duty is Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171 (1967).

Therein it is stated at 177:

“It is now well established that, as the exclusive

bargaining representative of the employees in [a

particular] bargaining unit, the Union had a

statutory duty fairly to represent all of those

employees, both in its collective bargaining ...

and in its enforcement of the resulting collective

bargaining agreement... . Under this doctrine,

the exclusive agent’s statutory authority to

represent all members of a designated unit

includes a statutory obligation to serve the

interests of all members without hostility or

discrimination toward any, to exercise its

discretion with complete good faith and honesty,

and to avoid arbitrary conduct.” Vaca v. Sipes, 386

U.S. 171, 177 (1967).

* Also, only Panter testified that the practice was not to make

simultaneous exchanges. Hagerman, Bennett and Moon stated the

exchanges were simultaneous. This practice, coupled with the fact

that no management statement was ever given to the union, indicates

that no union statement was ever given to management.

45

The employee's right to fair representation does not

include an absolute right to have a grievance taken to

arbitration, even if it is ultimately shown to be

meritorious. If the union’s conduct is not improperly

motivated and is within the bounds of rationality, the

fact that it may ‘‘unfairly’’ work a hardship on one

employee is not enough to require condemnation. The

duty of fair representation is breached only when the

union’s conduct is ‘arbitrary, discriminatory, or in bad

faith’. Vaca v. Sipes, supra, 386 U.S. at 190. There must

be ‘substantial evidence of fraud, deceitful action or

dishonest conduct’, Humphrey v. Moore, 375 U.S. 335,

348 (1964), or of ‘‘discrimination that is intentional,

severe, and unrelated to legitimate union objectives’’.

Amalgamated Ass'n of St., Elec. Ry. & Motor Coach

Employees v. Lockridge, 403 U.S. 274, 301 (1971). To

insure that the salutary purposes of the pre-emption

doctrine are not subverted by excluding unfair

representation suits from its purview, the distinction

“between honest, mistaken conduct, on the one hand,

and deliberate and severely hostile and irrational

treatment, on the other, needs strictly to be maintained”’.

Lockridge, supra, 403 U.S. at 301.

The court finds that the plaintiff has not shown a right

to relief under the standards announced in Vaca,

Humphrey and Lockridge. Plaintiff testified to some

hostility between himself and Panter. They had openly

disagreed in matters relating to the conduct of union

affairs, and they had run against each other in several

union elections.‘

* In addition, one Charles Brown testified that Panter told him in

a bar one night after Ruzicka’s discharge that as long as he (Panter)

was shop chairman, Ruzicka would not get back to work. The court is

inclined to give this testimony very little weight, primarily because of

the circumstances under which the incriminating remark was made.

46

Nonetheless, this evidence is insufficient and plaintiff

may not prevail. Plaintiff introduced no direct evidence

indicating that whatever hostility existed between them

tainted Panter’s processing of the grievance, and the

court, as the finder of facts, cannot infer the necessary

causation from the mere fact that there was some

hostility.®

Plaintiff asks the court to attach substantial weight to

the fact that Panter thought the grievance had some

merit. But, as noted above, Vaca teaches that an

employee does not have a right to have even meritorious

grievances pressed by the union. The employee's right is

the night to representation by his union free of bad faith,

arbitrariness or discrimination.

Thus the court makes the following findings of fact:

1. Panter did not make the exchange or unadjusted

grievance by May 5, 1970, the due date.

2. There existed, during the time when Ruzicka’s

grievance was in process, some hostility between Panter

and Ruzicka.

3. But there was no showing in the case that that

hostility tainted Panter’s processing of the grievance.

4. Panter neglected to file a timely statement of

unadjusted grievance.

The court makes the following conclusions of law:

1. Under the cases, in order to prove a breach of the

* The court noted with interest plaintiff's failure to call Panter as a

witness to find out what effect, if any, the hostility had on his

processing of the grievance. Panter was called at the direction of the

court.

47

duty of fair representation, the plaintiff must show that

the union’s conduct was arbitrary, discriminatory or in

bad faith.

2. Mere hostility between the plaintiff and the union

official is insufficient to show a breach; the plaintiff must

show that the hostility tainted the official's conduct.

3. Accordingly, the court concludes that the

defendant union did not unfairly represent Ruzicka in

the proceedings.

A final word: William Ruzicka has now had his day

in court. It would have been better if he had been given

this opportunity at a much earlier time. No prior hearing

addressed this basic question: was he fairly dealt with

by his union? This court finds no breach by his union of

the duty of fair representation. If there was any

unfairness, it was that Ruzicka had to go to so many

other tribunals before he could get this basic question

answered. In the developing law of labor relations this

point must not be overlooked.

Plaintiff has failed to show a basis upon which relief

may be granted. Accordingly, his complaint must fail

and this action must be dismissed.

An appropriate order may be submitted.

s John Feikens

United States District Judge

Dated: Detroit, Michigan

November 21, 1973

48

OPINION

(United States Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit)

(Decided and Filed September 23, 1975)

(William = Ruzicka, Plaintiff-Appellant, and

Cross-Appellee, v. General Motors Corporation, a

Delaware Corporation, International Union, UAW, and

Local Union 166, UAW, Defendants-Appellees, and

Cross-Appellants. Appeal from the United States District

Court for the Eastern District of Michigan, Southern

Division — Nos. 74-1939, 74-1940, 74-1941)

Before: Weick, Celebrezze, and McCree, Circuit

Judges.

Celebrezze, Circuit Judge, delivered the opinion of the

Court, in which Weick, Circuit Judge, joined. McCree,

Circuit Judge, (pp. 17-18) filed a separate concurring

opinion.

CELEBREZZE, Circuit Judge

We consider an appeal and two cross-appeals from a

District Court’s judgment that Appellee Unions did not

breach their duty of fair representation towards

Appellant, a former employee of Appellee General

Motors Corporation (GM). Appellant asks that this

conclusion be reversed and that his action against the

Unions and GM be reinstated. GM argues that

alternative grounds exist for dismissing it from the case.

The Unions also assert al- (2) ternative grounds for

dismissal and argue that their cross-claim to send

Appellant's grievance to arbitration should have been

granted. The arguments raise several significant issues

concerning an individual employee's right to fair

treatment from his Union, as well as the relationship of

arbitration procedures and judicial recourse for

aggrieved persons.

49

On March 31, 1970, Appellant William Ruzicka was

discharged for being intoxicated on the job and using

threatening and abusive language towards his superiors

at GM’s Willow Run Plan (sic) in Ypsilanti, Michigan.

Appellant had worked there for nearly eleven years and

had been actively involved in Union activities for much

of that time.

Appellant initiated the grievance process under the

National Agreement between GM and the United Auto

Workers by filing a timely grievance protesting his

discharge. He did not dispute the essential facts of

intoxication and abusive language, but argued that

discharge was an unduly harsh penalty which was

inconsistent with past decisions of umpires interpreting

the National Agreement. The Company completed the

second step of the grievance process by filing an answer

under Paragraph 77 of the National Agreement. The

Union began the third step by filing a ‘‘notice of

unadjusted grievance.’ To invoke arbitration, the Union

was required by Paragraph 37 to file a ‘‘statement of

unadjusted grievance” simultaneously with GM. The

District Court found that Local 166 never filed such a

statement, although it had sought and received two time

extensions to do so. After the due date for the statement

had passed, GM disclaimed further obligation under the

National Agreement.

Appellant immediately pursued his intra-Union

remedies under Article 31 of the UAW Constitution.

Appellant argued that Charles Panter, a Local 166 official,

had willfully failed to perform his duty in failing to file

the required statement. A trial before a Local 166

Committee resulted in a finding that Panter had been

negligent but not guilty of willful inaction. Appeals to

higher levels failed.

30

(3) Appellant also filed charges with the National

Labor Relations Board, which investigated but dismissed

them. ;

Appellant instituted further intra-Union ach griest

Local 166 for wrongful processing of his grievance, but

this action was unsuccessful at the Local level. An appeal

to higher levels was stayed pending resolution of a

policy grievance that Panter’s successor at Local 166 had

filed. The policy grievance, which requested GM's

consideration of Appellant's grievance despite the

procedural problem, was withdrawn by Local 166 on

April 24, 1971.

Rather than appeal the adverse decision on Local 166's

processing of the grievance to the UAW’s International

Executive Board, Appellant filed a complaint in federal

court on June 3, 1971. He alleged that Panter’s personal

“hostility” towards him had caused Panter not to file the

statement of unadjusted grievance. He asserted that both

the Local and International Unions had thus given him

unfair representation, and he alleged that GM's

discharge was wrongful and that GM had conspired to

discharge him because of his Union activities.

The Unions filed a cross-claim against GM, seeking

that the dispute be ordered to arbitration. After denying

various pre-trial motions, the District Court conducted a

hearing limited to the question of unfair representation.

It concluded that there was no unfair representation

because Panter had merely ‘‘neglected’’ to file the

required statement. The Court reasoned, ‘Mere hostility

between the plaintiff and the union official is insufficient

to show a breach [of the duty of fair representation under

29 U.S.C. § 157 (1970)]; the plaintiff must show that the

hostility tainted the official's conduct.” Since ‘there was

no showing in the case that hostility tainted Panter's

processing of the grievance,’ Appellant's complaint was

dismissed, along with the Unions’ cross-claim.

51

We will first consider the question of unfair

representation, for if the District Court’s conclusion was

correct, the action against both the Unions and GM must

fail. See Vaca v. Sipes, (4) 386 U.S. 171 (1967). If the

District Court erred, there remain for consideration the

Unions’ and GM’s arguments that alternative grounds

exist for dismissal. Finally, we must address the Unions’

contention that their cross-claim to have Appellant's

grievance ordered to arbitration was wrongfully

dismissed.

Proof of unfair representation by a Union depends on

a showing that “a union’s conduct toward a member of

the collective bargaining unit is arbitrary,

discriminatory, or in bad faith.”” Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S.

171, 190 (1967). A review of Appellant's complaint and

the facts developed at trial convince us that Appellant

did not prove that officials of Appellee International

Union had acted arbitrarily, discriminatorily, or in bad

faith. In Hines v. Local 377, 506 F.2d 1153, 1157 (6th Cir.

1974), cert. granted and limited to other ground, 43

U.S.L.W. 3571 (Apr. 21, 1975), we stated:

There was no claim that the local union was

acting for or at the direction of the International,

and appellant Hines, when asked on deposition

what steps the International failed to take in

investigating the company’s charges replied: “'I

don’t know of any steps that they should or

should not have taken.’’ Since there was no

genuine issue as to a material fact about the

conduct of the International Union, the grant of

summary judgment was proper.

The Hines reasoning applies here, and we affirm the

District Court's finding of no unfair representation by

the International Union. We turn now to consideration of

the liability, if any, of Local 166.

52

As discussed above, the District Court concluded that

Local 166 had not unfairly represented Appellant because

Agent Panter had merely ‘‘neglected”’ to file the required

Statement of Unadjusted Grievance and had not acted in

bad faith. Appellee Local urges that this conclusion be

upheld, asserting (5) that bad faith is an essential

element of any claim of unfair representation.

We do not find the duty of fair representation so

limited. In Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171, 190 (1967), the

Supreme Court held that union actions which are

“arbitrary, discriminatory, or in bad faith’’ (emphasis

added) could establish a breach of the duty of fair

representation. As we held in St. Clair v. Local 515, 422

F.2d 128, 130 (6th Cir. 1969),

The phrase ‘‘fair representation’ is something

of a term of art, and the standards by which we

are bound have not been set down explicitly in a

code. However, the Supreme Court has spoken

clearly enough to guide us here. See Vaca v.

Sipes, 386 U.S. 171, 87 S.Ct. 903, 17 L.Ed.2d 842

(1967). The Court there held that the duty of fair

representation does not require a union to

exhaust every theoretically available procedure

simply on the demand of a union member. 386

U.S. at 192. ... However, the ignoring or the

perfunctory processing of a grievance may violate

the duty of fair representation. Vaca v. Sipes, 386

U.S. at 194,

We agree with the Fourth Circuit’s analysis of the

three-pronged standard established in Vaca for

determining whether a union has unfairly represented

on (sic) of its members:

A union must conform its behavior to each of

these three separate standards. First, it must treat

53

all factions and segments of its membership

without hostility or discrimination. Next, the

broad discretion of the union in asserting the

rights of its individual members must be

exercised in complete good faith and honesty.

Finally, the union must avoid arbitrary conduct.

Each of these requirements represents a distinct

and separate obligation, the breach of which may

constitute the basis for civil action,

Griffin v. International Union of United Automobile

Workers, 469 F.2d 181, 183 (4th Cir. 1974). See also De

Arroyo v. (6) Sindicato De Trabajadores Packinghouse,

AFL-CIO, 452 F.2d 281 (1st Cir.) cert. dented, 400 U.S. 877

(1970).?

We believe that the District Court misread Vaca when

it held that “bad faith” must be read into the separate

and independent standards of ‘‘arbitrary’’ or

‘discriminatory’ treatment. Union action which is

arbitrary or discriminatory need not be motivated by bad

faith to amount to unfair representation.

In the instant case Local 166 officials discussed

Appellant’s grievance among themselves and with GM

personnel, but inexplicably neglected to take Appellant's

grievance to the third stage of processing by not filing a

Statement of Unadjusted Grievance with the appropriate

GM official. Having sought and been granted two

extensions of time to file the Statement and at no time

' De Arroyo is parallel to the instant case. There, seven employees

were discharged allegedly because of automation but in violation of

seniority provisions. Their union failed to press their grievance out of

an honestly mistaken belief that certain NLRB relief extended to

them. The First Circuit found that good-faith mistaken belief was an

unacceptable excuse for not pursuing the grievances and amounted to

arbitrary and perfunctory processing, which Vaca explicitly stated

was one ground for a finding of unfair representation.

54

having decided that Appellant’s claim was without

merit, the Local allowed the final deadline to pass

without filing the Statement or requesting a further

extension. At this point the Local did not inform either

Appellant or GM that it had decided either to continue or

to stop processing Appellant’s grievance. Such negligent

handling of the grievance, unrelated as it was to the

merits of Appellant’s case, amounts to unfair

representation. It is a clear example of arbitrary and

perfunctory handling of a grievance.

The Unions argue that Dill v. Greyhound Corp., 435

F.2d 231, 238 (6th Cir. 1970), cert. denied, 402 U.S. 952

(1971), stands for the proposition that bad faith is an

essential element of any claim of unfair representation.

Dill held that bad faith was required to support a claim

of unfair representation where the union in question had

made a decision that the (7) individual’s grievance was

without merit. In Dill we held that the interpretation by

the company and union of the collective bargaining

agreement was reasonable, so that refusing to invoke

arbitration of Dill’s grievance was a legitimate and

proper way for the union to reject his view of the union’s

contract with the company. We do not deviate from our

holding in Dill to conclude that when a union makes no

decision as to the merit of an individual’s grievance but

merely allowsit to expire by negligently failing to take a

basic and required step towards resolving it, the union

has acted arbitrarily and is liable for a breach of its duty

of fair representation. As the Vaca Court stated,

[A] union may not arbitrarily ignore a meritorious

grievance or process it in perfunctory fashion.

In administering the grievance and arbitration

machinery as a statutory agent of the employees,

a union must, in good faith and in a nonarbitrary

55

manner, make decisions as to the merits of

particular grievances.

The Union made no decision as to the merits of

Appellant’s grievance, but merely allowed it to expire

out of negligent and perfunctory handling. Thus, we

must reverse the District Court’s conclusion that Local

166 did not unfairly represent Appellant.

Local 166 argues through its cross-appeal that it should

have been dismissed from the case for four alternative

reasons.

First, it contends that Appellant should be collaterally

estopped from pursuing his action because an

intra-Union forum had decided his case adversely to

him.

A Trial Committee of Local 166, to which Appellant

took his case against Panter under Article 31 of the UAW

Constitution, decided that Panter was not guilty of

“consciously and purposely intending to allow a

grievance to expire.’’ The (8) International Union’s

Appeals Committee agreed with this conclusion, stating,

[T]here is no evidence of any kind to indicate

beyond a reasonable doubt that [Panter’s] failure

to secure management's Statements was moti-

vated by personal and political differences over

the years between him and [Appellant].

The UAW’s Public Review Board, which sustained the

International Executive Board’s affirmance of its Appeals

Committee, noted that the only issue before Local 166’s

Trial Committee

was whether Mr. Panter intentionally let the

grievance fail and in so doing was motivated by

2 386 US. at 191, 194.

56

political considerations; the issue of his negli-

gence or lack thereof was irrelevant.

The District Court held in a pre-trial order that the

Trial Committee’s decision did not collaterally estop

Appellant from arguing in federal court that Panter had

acted out of personal hostility in not filing a Statement of

Unadjusted Grievance, in view of the ‘‘beyond a

reasonable doubt’”’ standard which prevailed before the

forum. We agree with the District Court.

Furthermore, in view of our holding it is clear that the

issue of Panter’s negligence was not resolved adversely

to Appellant by the Trial Committee, but that its

decision supports the District Court’s conclusion that

Panter ‘‘neglected”’ to file the required Statement. Local

166’s argument in this respect must, therefore, fail.’

Second, Local 166 argues that Appellant failed to

exhaust his intra-Union remedies and under Bsharah v.

Eltra Corp., 394 F.2d 502 (6th Cir. 1968), should be barred

from taking his (9) case to court. Specifically, the Local

contends that Appellant should have appealed the

adverse decision of the Local’s rejection of his

intra-Union claim that it had wrongfully processed his

grievance.

For a period of 27 months, from March 1970 through

June 1972, Appellant sought intra-Union relief against

Local 166. We agree with the District Court that this was

sufficient exhaustion of intra-Union remedies to permit

it to hear his case. In Bsharah we affirmed the grant of

summary judgment against an employee who had “failed

’ We need not address the problem of when collateral estoppel

applies to intra-Union decisions when the adversely affected member

alleges in court that the Union acted in breach of its duty of fair

representation

-——_

o/

to allege or show any attempt to initiate her intra-Union

remedies prescribed by the constitution and by-laws of

the International Union.”’ 394 F.2d at 503. The reason for

this requirement is that intra-Union remedies are part

and parcel of the industrial in-house procedure for

settling labor disputes. The primary benefit of requiring

initial submission of employee complaints against a

union that refuses to help process a grievance against a

company is that internal machinery can settle difficulties

short of court action. Thus, federal policy requires

“staying the hand of ‘judicial interference with the

internal affairs of a labor organization until it has had at

least some opportunity to resolve disputes concerning its

own internal affairs.’ ’’ Ime! v. Zohn Mfg. Co., 481 F.2d

181, 183 (10th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 415 U.S. 915 (1974),

quoting Brady v. Trans-World Airlines, 401 F.2d 87, 104

(3rd Cir. 1968), cert. denied, U.S. 1048 (1969).

Appellant’s diligent processing of his complaint

through 27 months of intra-Union proceedings is far

more than “at least some opportunity’’ for Local 166 to

resolve its dispute with him. The requirement of

exhaustion of intra-Union remedies is bottomed on the

hope that such procedures will quickly resolve disputes

without the delay inherent in the judicial process and

with the aid of persons experienced at resolving

member-union conflicts short of a full-blown judicial

proceeding. When that hope has failed, however, the

member is not barred from proceeding to federal court

with a claim of unfair representation. To conclude

otherwise would allow a union to prevent any (10) claim

against it from reaching the stage of litigation by forcing

aggneved members through endless stages of review.

Third, Local 166 maintains that Panter’s inaction in

failing to file the required Statement was beyond his

authority under Union rules, so that it is not liable for

his negligence.

58

Panter was Chairman of the Shop Committe of Local

166, and it was his responsibility to file Statements of

Unadjusted Grievance with GM officials. His action or

inaction in that job was clearly attributable to his

principal, Local 166. Barefoot v. Teamsters Union, 424 F.2d

1001, 1004-05 (10th Cir), cert. denied, 400 U.S. 950 (1970).

Finally, Local 166 argues that because no damages

could be established even if an unfair representation

claim were proven, dismissal is proper. It argues that

“GM, if any party, would be solely liable to plaintiff.’

Appellant’s complaint asserts that GM and the Unions

are jointly and severally liable for his injury. This is not

true. When a union breaches it duty of fair

representation, the employer remains liable for any

damages “attributable solely to the employer's breach of

contract,’’ 1.e., the wrongful discharge. Vaca, 386 U.S. at

197.

When a breach of the duty of fair representation is

shown, however, the Union is liable for that portion of

Appellant's injury representing “increases if any in those

damages [chargeable to the employer] caused by the

union's refusal to process the grievance.” Vaca, 386 U.S.

at 197-98. Thus, upon a finding of unfair representation,

‘the court must fashion an appropriate remedy.” 386

U.S. at 187, compensating Appellant from the Union's

pocket for those expenses he incurred because of the

Union's failure to process his grievance properly.

Since none of the grounds urged in Local 166’s

cross-appeal requires dismissal of Appellant's complaint

against it, we reverse the District Court's judgment in its

favor and remand for a finding of appropriate relief.

Our holding that the Local breached its duty of fair

representation requires reversal of the District Court's

dismissal of (11) Appellant's claim against GM. When the

59

Union has failed in its duty to fairly represent an

employee, the employer may not invoke the Union's

failure to follow procedures set forth in the collective

bargaining agreement as a defense to the action of the

employee. Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. at 185.

G.M. has filed a cross-appeal which asserts that

dismissal of Appellant’s claim against it should

nonetheless be affirmed on two alternative grounds.

First, it argues that the complaint raises no factual issues

and that it is entitled to summary judgment on the

merits. Second, GM contends that dimissal should have

been granted because of Appellant’s failure to exhaust

his intra-Union remedies. The District Court rejected

both arguments in pre-trial orders.

The second ground is quickly rejected. As we stated

above, Appellant sufficiently exhausted his intra-Union

remedies to give the District Court jurisdiction See also

Scott v. Anchor Motor Freight, Inc., 496 F.2d at 279.

The first ground is that Appellant raised no genuine

factual issue concerning his claim that discharge was so

excessive a penalty for his offense as to amount to a

breach of the collective bargaining agreement between

GM and UAW. There appears to be no dispute that

Appellant was intoxicated on the day in question and

that he was abusive towards his foreman. Appellant’s

claim is that discharge was unwarranted in view of past

treatment of similar offenses, which allegedly consisted

of temporary suspension rather than discharge. His

claim as stated in the original complaint was that

discharge was “unduly harsh, arbitrary, discriminatory

and contrary to past interpretations’ of the UAW-GM

National Agreement. Appellant filed a motion to amend

his complaint to clarify the basis of this allegation, but

the record filed on appeal contains no copy of the

proposed amended complaint and the District Court took

no action on Appellant's motion to amend.

60

Before trial GM filed a motion for summary judgment,

asserting that under Rule 56, F. R. Civ. P., it was entitled

to judg- (12) ment as a matter of law. Its supporting brief

argued that because discharge was permitted under the

National Agreement as a penalty for the offense

Appellant allegedly committed, Appellant could not

establish that discharge amounted to a breach of

contract. The District Court denied this motion, stating:

[T]he question is whether imposition of the

discharge sanction in Ruzicka’s case constituted a

breach of contract by General Motors and this

must be decided on the particular facts of this

case. *

We have reviewed GM’s supporting documents which

accompanied its motion for summary judgment. The two

affidavits and other materials support its claim that

discharge is a permissible penalty which was employed

once before (and upheld by an arbitrator) in a case

somewhat similar to Appellant's. These materials do not,

however, foreclose as a factual question whether

discharge was a harsh, arbitrary, and discriminatory

penalty in view of all the circumstances of Appellant's

situation. Accordingly, we cannot find that Appellant’s

allegation concerning the discharge is beyond factual

dispute, and we cannot overturn the District Court's

refusal to grant summary judgment on the merits.

On remand, the District Court will be free to consider

Appellant's motion to amend his complaint, and GM will

be able to renew it motion for summary judgment. If a

renewed motion is accomplished by materials which

indicate that discharge is an ordinary penalty for

someone in Appellant’s position, considering the facts

* Order, Civil No. 36598 (E.D.Mich., filed Apr. 25, 1973).

61

surrounding the discharge, Appellant’s seniority, his

past work record, and other matters relevant to the issue,

Appellant will be required to demonstrate that there

remains a factual issue by alleging specific facts to

counteract GM’s showing. Rule 56(e), F. R. Civ. P.; R.E.

Cruise Inc. v. Bruggeman, 508 F.2d 415 (6th Cir. 1975). At

this point, (13) however, we may not foreclose

Appellant's opportunity to prove his case against GM.

Having reversed the District Court’s dismissal of

Appellant's daim against Local 166 and GM and having

found no alternative basis entitling the Local 166 or GM

to dismissal, we are left with a final question. This is

raised by the Unions’ cross-appeal, which seeks to

overturn the District Court’s denial of summary

judgment concerning their cross-claim against GM and

the eventual dismissal thereof.

The cross-claim sought to force GM to process the

grievance further or to sent it directly to arbitration,

despite the Unions’ failure to follow procedures

mandated by the National Agreement. On May 15, 1973,

the District Court ordered the grievance submitted to an

Umpire. Included in this Order was the requirement that

the Umpire consider the issues of arbitrability and unfair

representation, as well as the propriety of Appellant's

discharge. Thus, the District Court originally granted the

Unions’ motion for summary judgment on their

cross-claim, though on terms different from those

requested by the Unions.

On August 31, 1973, the District Court impliedly

revoked the May 15 Order by ordering that Appellant's

charges of unfair representation be submitted to the

Court for trial. Only if the Court found unfair

representation would the grievance be submitted to a

GM-UAW Umpire. “

62

Based on the finding of no unfair representation, the

District Court ordered dismissal of the entire action,

including the Unions’ cross-claim.

The Unions’ cross-appeal purports to be an attack on

the District Court’s denial of all its pre-trial motions. The

relief requested is that this Court

reverse the District Judge’s dismissal of the

Unions’ cross-claim against defendant General

Motors and ... order further processing of

plaintiff's contract grievance pursuant to the

GM-UAW Agreement or, in the alternative (14)

only, modify the Judge’s final order to provide

that dismissal of said cross-claim was without

prejudice.

In view of our reversal of the unfair representation

conclusion, we need not decide whether the Unions’

cross-claim was well taken had there been no unfair

representation. Nor need we decide whether, in that

event, further processing for the grievance should be

ordered instead of merely providing that dimissal of the

cross-claim was without prejudice.

Were we to decide that the District Cout should have

granted the Unions’ motion for summary judgment on

their cross-claim, we would affect Appellant’s ability to

bring his case to a conclusion. The difficulty raised by

the Unions’ cross-appeal is that if further processing of

the grievance within the GM-UAW structure is ordered,

Appellant has been deprived of the opportunity to attain

judicial resolution of his claim.

Thus, we are compelled to comment on the proper

course of action for the District Court to take on remand.

Its choice is basically between ordering the grievance

submitted to arbitration or deciding itself the merits of

Appellant’s claim against GM.

63

This choice embodies two sets of interests. On the one

hand, there is the strong interest in settling industrial

disputes through arbitration. As discussed in the

Steelworkers Trilogy, 363 U.S. 574 (1960), arbitration ‘‘is

the substitute for industrial strife. ... [A]rbitration of

labor disputes under collective bargaining agreements is

part and parcel of the collective bargaining process

itself.” Steelworkers v. Warrior & Gulf Co., 363 U.S. 574,

578 (1960). An individual employee may prefer

submitting his grievance to an arbitrator rather than a

judge because the arbitrator is not bound to apply only

those considerations expressed in the collective

bargaining agreement. The parties to such an agreement

expect that [the arbitrator's] judgment of a

particular grievance will reflect not only what the

contract says but, (15) insofar as the collective

bargaining agreement permits, such factors as the

effect upon productivity of a particular result, its

consequence to the morale of the shop, his

judgment whether tensions will be heightened or

diminished. For the parties’ objective in using the

arbitration process is primarily to further their

common goal of uninterrupted production under

the agreement, to make the agreement serve their

specialized needs. The ablest judge cannot be

expected to bring the same experience and

competence to bear upon the determination of a

grievance, because he cannot be similarly

informed.‘

Thus, the Supreme Court held in Steelworkers that

{aJn order to arbitrate the particular grievance

should not be denied unless it may be said with

positive assurance that the arbitration clause is

$ Steelworkers v. Warrior & Gulf Co., 363 U.S. at 582.

h4

not susceptible of an interpretation that covers

the asserted dispute. Doubts should be resolved

in favor of coverage.°

Furthermore, because of its more informal nature, the

arbitration proceeding is “an efficient, inexpensive, and

expeditious means for dispute resolution.” Alexander v.

Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36, 58 (1974).

On the other hand, there is the interest in affording an

aggrieved employee a final resolution of his claim.

Appellant was discharged on March 31, 1970. Five years

is far too long for an employee to await a final decision

on his demand for reinstatement with back pay. Further

relay (sic) would seeem unconscionable. Having met the

heavy burden of showing that his Union unfairly

represented him, Appellant is entitled to a judicial

decision on his claim against the employer. Vaca, 486

(sic) U.S. at 186.

We believe that these interests can both be served if

the District Court orders arbitration but retains

jurisdiction of the (16) case until the claims against the

Local and GM are settled. If the National Agreement is

interpreted to mean that GM is relieved of its contractual

duties because of the Union's failure to follow grievance

procedures, the District Court should proceed to award

appropriate relief? against local 166 on the unfair

representation claim. To ensure a prompt conclusion to

these proceedings, furthermore, the District Court

should consider specifying a particular time within

which arbitration should be completed. See, e.g.,

Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Machinists Workers, 442 F.2d

244, 246 (8th Cir. 1970).

6 Id. at 582-83

” The questions of the proper allocation of damages between Local

166 and GM and of the measure of the Local's liability in the event

that the grievance is found to be without merit are not before us.

65

Accordingly, we reverse the District Court’s dismissal

of the Unions’ cross-claim and grant the relief specified.

The Judgment of the District Court is reversed, and the

cause is remanded for proceedings consistent with this

Opinion. The costs of the main appeal will be divided

between GM, on the one hand, and Local 166, on the

other, in equal amounts. The costs of the cross-appeal of

the Unions will be borne by GM, along with the costs of

GM's cross-appeal.

McCree, Circuit Judge (Concurring)

(17) I concur in the holding of the majority opinion

that the local union breached the duty of fair

representation that it owed appellant. However, | write

separately because | do not believe that the local union’s

handling of the grievance was “‘arbitrary’’ or

“perfunctory” as the majority opinion determines. The

district court determined that the union, through Panter,

neglected to file a timely statement of unadjusted

grievance, and the majority opinion does not overturn

this finding. Instead, it characterizes the negligent

handling of the grievance as arbitrary and perfunctory.

Arbitrary and perfunctory are adjectives characterizing

intentional conduct that is capricious or superficial. Here

there was an unintentional failure to act that prevented

appellant’s grievance from being submitted to

arbitration.

Nevertheless, I would hold that when a statutorily

established exclusive bargaining representative fails to

file a statement that is a prerequisite for submission of

an employee's claim to arbitration, not because the

union has made a good faith judgment for a lawful

reason that it should not file the document, but merely

because of its negligent omission, then it has breached

its duty of fair representation.

66

I do not suggest, however, that a union should be held

liable for all negligence in processing an employee's

grievance. Such a rule would put the courts in the

position of second-guessing union representatives’

decisions. In accordance with the ‘general congressional

policy favoring expert, centralized administration, and

remedial action” of employee grievances, Motor Coach

Emplovees ¥. Lockridge, 403 U.S. 274, 301 (1970), I believe

courts should not try to determine whether, in fulfilling

its duty of fair representation, a union has adopted the

tactic best suited to the needs of an aggrieved employee.

Nevertheless, I believe that a total failure to act,

whether negligent or intentional, except for a proper

reason, is behavior so egregious that, as in the case of

bad faith, hostile discrimination, arbitrariness, or

perfunctoriness, the union should be held (18)

responsible. We have stated that an action will lie

against a union for’. . . such gross mistake or inaction

as to imply bad faith.” Balowski v. International Union,

372 F.2d 829, 834 (1967). It requires only a slight

extension of this principle to require the local to answer

to a member if it precludes any consideration of the

employee's grievance by its sheer neglect to timely file a

paper that the employee is prevented by law from filing

for himself.

I believe that the incidence of an injury of this

magnitude should be shifted from the innocent

employee to the union whose flagrant negligence was

responsible for it.

67

ORDER DENYING PETITION FOR REHEARING

(United States Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit)

(Filed December 9, 1975)

Before: Weick, Celebrezze and McCree, Circuit Judges.

The International Union of the UAW, Local 166 of the

UAW, and General Motors Corporation (GM), Defend-

ants below and Appellees and Cross-Appellants in this

Court, pursuant to Rule 35 of the Federal Rules of Ap-

pellate Procedure, petition for rehearing and suggestion

of Rehearing en Banc.

Upon consideration of the petition for rehearing with

the suggestion that it be heard en banc, it appearing that

a majority of the active Judges of this Court did not vote

in favor of an en banc hearing, the petition for rehearing

has been referred to the panel which heard the original

appeal.

The International Union, UAW and Local Union 166

UAW, and General Motors make a number of arguments

in support of their petitions for rehearing. Having

considered all issues raised we believe two require

comment.

General Motors argues that the Court’s opinion can be

read to imply that an employee can invoke § 301 of the

Labor-Management Relations Act to protect rights other

than those afforded him by the collective bargaining

agreement covering his unit. General Motors points to

no specific language in the opinion as conveying this

impression and we can find none. Ruzicka was only

attempting to enforce the commitments contained in the

Collective Bargaining Agreement.

The Unions contend that the Court's opinion contains

language which conflicts with language in Balowski v.

68

UAW, 372 F.2d 829 (6th Cir. 1967), and Dill v. Greyhound

Corp., 435 F.2d 231 (6th Cir. 1970), and consequently

with cases which rely on Balowski and Dill. In Balowski

the Union took a variety of steps on the employee's

behalf and all of these steps were taken in a timely

manner. It was not until an independent physician

found the employee unable to perform the duties of the

job to which he was seeking reinstatement that the

Union withdrew the employee's grievance. In Dill,

although the union local failed to take action on Dill’s

grievance it did resolve the grievance of two other

similarly situated employees which raised the identical

question contained in Dill’s grievance.

We distinguished Dill by stating:

“We do not deviate from our holding in Dill to

conclude that when a union makes no decision as

to the merit of an individual’s grievance but

merely allows it to expire by negligently failing to

take a basic and required step towards resolving

it, the union has acted arbitrarily and is liable for

a breach of its duty of fair representation.”’ Slip

opinion page 7.

Thus, we distinguish the Balowski - Dill line of cases in

which the unions considered the issues raised in the

employees’ grievances and decided the grievances did

not merit pursuing.

Our opinion in this action speaks to a narrow range of

cases in which unexplained union inaction, amounting

to arbitrary treatment, has barred an employee from ac-

cess to an established union-management apparatus for

resolving grievances.

Judge McCree concurs for the reasons set forth in his

separate concurring opinion.

It is Ordered that the Petition for Rehearing be denied.

Entered By Order Of The Court

's) John P. Hehman, Clerk

69

Concurring Opinion (Dissenting)

Re: William Ruzicka v. General Motors, Nos. 74-1939-41.

Edwards, Circuit Judge, dissenting. Since I feel that

both motions for rehearing en banc filed in these cases

raise questions of exceptional importance, and that full

court consideration is necessary to maintain uniformity

of our opinions, I dissent.

Judges Lively and Engel concur in this dissent.

OPINION

(United States District Court

Eastern District of Michigan

Southern Division)

(Oct. 10, 1977)

(William Ruzicka, Plaintiff, v. General Motors

Corporation, International Union, United Automobile,

Aerospace and Agricultural Implement Workers of

America, UAW and its Local Union 166, Defendants —

No. 36598)

William Ruzicka’s suit against General Motors

Corporation for wrongful discharge and against Local 166

of the International Union, United Automobile Workers

for breach of duty of fair representation is before this

Court a second time following remand from the United

States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit. The action

was originally dismissed on November 21, 1973, after

presentation of plaintiff's proofs at trial and a motion to

dismiss under Rule 41(b) of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure made by all defendants. On appeal, the case

was reversed and remanded for further proceedings,

including the taking of additional evidence and the

arbitration of Ruzicka’s wrongful discharge claim against

70

General Motors. Those proceedings have now been

completed, and following post-trial briefs and final

arguments from all parties, the case has been submitted

to the Court for further findings of fact and conclusions

of law. In its present posture, the case presents

important issues regarding a union’s duties of fair

representation and its potential liability for breach of

those duties under 29 U.S.C. § 185. Before addressing

these issues, a fuller statement of the background of the

case and the proceedings had to date is required.

I.

William Ruzicka was employed by General Motors for

almost eleven years, from April, 1959 until March 31,

1970, as a millright in the Company’s Willow Run

Assembly Plant. During that time, he was a member of

UAW Local 166! and took an active role in Local Union

affairs. On March 31, 1970, Ruzicka was observed by his

supervisor sitting on a stool at the start of his shift,

apparently drunk. He was immediately escorted to the

Company’s labor relations office for a disciplinary

interview. He requested representation by a shop

committeeman, and during the ensuing ten minute wait

made a number of threats and abusive remarks to his

supervisor.? Following the interview, Ruzicka was

discharged for being intoxicated on the job and for using

threatening and abusive language, in violation of Shop

Rules 32, 29, and 20.

' Due to a reorganization, the Local Union is now Local 1776.

2 The statements allegedly included: ‘I’m going to beat you up,”

and ‘I’m going to wait for you in a bar or at the Wayne Bowling and

I'm going to have guys there to beat you up and I’m going to get the

last one in.’’ Ruzicka also allegedly called his supervisor a ‘‘m___

f____ s.0.b.,”" a “pig” and a “snake.”

71

That same day, Ruzicka filed a grievance protesting

the Company’s action and seeking reinstatement.’ The

grievance was processed by Local 166 on his behalf

through the second step of the grievance procedure,

established under %s 28 through 55 of the GMUAW

collective bargaining agreement, without resolution.

Thereafter, on April 14, 1970, the Union filed a “notice of

unadjusted grievance,”’ under © 37, to initiate the third

step of the grievance procedure.‘ At that point, both the

Company and the Union were required under £ 37 to

simultaneously exchange ‘‘statements of unadjusted

grievance.” The exchange was to be made by Charles

Panter, chairman of the shop committee, on behalf of

Ruzicka and the Union, and by Ross Hagerman, plant

supervisor of labor relations on behalf of the Company.

After two mutually agreed upon extensions, an exchange

date of May 5, 1970 was finally set.

3 Ruzicka’s grievance read as follows:

Grievance No. 035364

“Union protests unjust penalty for allegedly violating Shop

Rules #32, 29, 20. All set of circumstances were not taken

into consideration. Union demands this employee be

brought back to work with full back pay for all time lost & all

benefits & record cleared.”

Signed: W.R. (Grievant)

B.P. (Committeeman)

4 Paragraph 37 of the GMUAW collective bargaining agreement

provides in pertinent part:

Step Three, Appeal to Corporation and International Union

(37) If the grievance is not adjusted at this step and the

Shop Committee believes it has grounds for appeal from the

Plant Management decision, the Chairman of the Shop

Committee will give the Plant Management a written ‘Notice

of Unadjusted Grievance,’’ on forms supplied by the

Corporation, and the Chairman or designated member of

(Continued on following page)

72

The exchange never took place. General Motors

subsequently took the position that Panter had not

tendered the Union's statement of unadjusted grievance

by the May 5th deadline, and relying upon the finality

provisions of the grievance procedure, 77 of the

contract, refused to process the grievance further.

William Moon, who succeeded Panter as shop committee

chairman on May 17, 1970, belatedly offered to exchange

the statements on May 26, 1970; this offer was rejected

by the Company. On June 4, 1970, Moon filed a ‘‘policy

grievance’ over the Company’s refusal to further process

Ruzicka’s grievance,** but this was subsequently

withdrawn on April 26, 1971, in the context of new

contract negotiations.

(Continued from preceding page)

the Shop Committee will then prepare a complete ‘‘Statement

of Unadjusted Grievance”’ setting forth all facts and

circumstances surrounding the grievance signed by the

Chairman of the Shop Committee. The Plant Manager or his

designated representative will also prepare a complete

“Statement of Unadjusted Grievance” and the Management's

reason in support of the position taken, signed by the Plant

Manager or his authorized representative. Three copies of

the Union's statement will be exchanged with the

Management for three copies of the Management's statement

as soon as possible and in any event within five (5) working

days of the date of filing the Notice of Unadjusted grievance.

The exchange of statements shall take place fifteen (15)

working days after receipt of the Plant Management's

decision, unless this time is extended by mutual agreement

in writing.

“ The policy grievance reads as follows:

#018127

Chairman of the shop comm. charges Management with

viol. of past practice & par. 37 of the National Agreement &

taking advantage of transition of office from 1 chairman to

another. Union demands appealed grievances of William

Ruzicka and A. Steele be put back in procedure at step three

of the National Agreement.

Date Presented: 6-4-70

Reported by: Policy

CM B. Moon

73

After twenty-seven months of exhausting his

intra-union remedies,’ Ruzicka filed this action on June

3, 1971. Against General Motors, Ruzicka alleged that his

discharge was unduly harsh and discriminatory and

therefore in violation of the GMUAW collective

bargaining agreement. 29 U.S.C. § 185. Against the

International UAW and its Local 166, Ruzicka alleged a

breach of duty of fair representation in failing to

properly process his grievance for reinstatement. 29

U.S.C. § 185. Following denial of defendant's pre-trial

motions for dismissal and for summary judgment, the

case was brought on for trial to the Court. By mutual

agreement, the trial was limited initially to plaintiff's

claim against the Local Union and its parent

International for breach of duty of fair representation.

Plaintiff's proofs in support of this claim focused

principally on the issue of whether Panter had failed to

timely file the statement of unadjusted grievance.

Hagerman and his subordinate, Jerry Bennet, both

testified that exchanges of these statements were usually

made in Hagerman’s office and that Panter never

appeared in Hagerman’s office to exchange statements

on Ruzicka’s grievance. Bennet also testified that no

Union statement on Ruzicka’s grievance was

subsequently found in the Company’s personnel records.

Panter, called as a witness by the Court, contradicted his

* Ruzicka first filed charges against Panter under Article 31 of the

UAW Constitution, charging that Panter had wilfully neglected his

grievance out of personal hostility. A trial committee found Panter

not guilty of this charge. Ruzicka also proceeded against his Local on

a similar charge, but this was also denied. Subsequent appeals to the

International Union's Appeals Committee, the International Executive

Board, and the Public Review Board were also denied. Ruzicka also

filed charges against both the Union and the Company with the

National Labor Relations Board, but the Regional Director refused to

issue a complaint, and this decision was upheld by the Board's

General Counsel.

74

testimony, contending that he had filed the Union's

statement during the first week of May, 1970, though he

was unsure of the specific date. There was testimony by

all witnesses that during Panter’s tenure as shop

committee chairman, exchange deadlines were laxly

enforced and extensions were freely granted by both the

Union and the Company, often when the deadline had

aleady passed.

Ruzicka testified that on April 15, 1970, he had

delivered to Panter, in the presence of several other

union officials, a handwritten statement of unadjusted

grievance he had prepared himself and was told by

Panter at that time that his grievance would be appealed.

Ruzicka further testified that at the time his grievance

was being processed, he had fallen into disfavor with

officials of Local 166, especially Panter, who was

personally hostile toward him because of past conflicts in

intra-union politics.

Following submission of this evidence, defendants

moved to dismiss the complaint under Federal Rule of

Civil Procedure 41(b), on the ground that Ruzicka had

failed as a matter of law to establish a breach of duty of

fair representation. This motion was granted in a

memorandum opinion dated November 21, 1973, in

which the Court made findings of fact and conclusions of

law, as provided by Rule 41(b). The Court found, on

substantial credible evidence, that Panter had failed to

file the Union’s statement of unadjusted grievance by the

twice extended May 5, 1970 deadline and that at the time

Ruzicka’s grievance was in process, some hostility did

exist between Ruzicka and Panter. However, no showing

was made and the Court was therefore unable to find

that Panter’s hostility had motivated his intentional

mishandling of the grievance or had otherwise tainted

his representation of Ruzicka. In short, the Court was

unable to find bad faith.

75

In the absence of bad faith, the Court held that

defendant Unions could not be liable for breach of duty

of fair representation:

The duty of fair representation is breached only

when the union’s conduct is ‘‘arbitrary,

discriminatory, or in bad faith.”” Vaca v. Sipes,

supra, 386 U.S. at 190. There must be “substantial

evidence of fraud, deceitful action or dishonest

‘uct,’” Humphrey v. Moore, 375 U.S. 335, 348

(104), or of ‘discrimination that is intentional,

severe, and unrelated to legitimate union

objectives.”” Amalgamated Ass'n of St., Elec. Ry. &

Motor Coach Employees v. Lockridge, 403 U.S. 274,

301 (1971). To insure that the salutary purposes of

the pre-emption doctrine are not subverted by

excluding unfair representation suits from its

purview, the distinction ‘‘between honest,

mistaken conduct, on the one hand, and

deliberate and severely hostile and irrational

treatment on the other, needs strictly to be

maintained.’’ Lockridge, supra, 403 U.S. at 301.

Memorandum Opinion, November 21, 1973, pp.

4-5. ‘

Having dismissed plaintiff's claim for unfair

representation against the Local and International

Unions, plaintiff's claim for wrongful discHarge against

General Motors was dismissed as well. Vaca v. Sipes, 386

U.S. 171 (1967); Balowski v. International Union, 372 F.2d

829, 832-833 (6th Cir. 1967).

All parties appealed. Plaintiff appealed the dismissal of

his action under Rule 41(b), contending that a prima facie

case of Union bad faith in the processing of his grievance

had been made out by his trial proofs. General Motors

appealed the Court's denial of its pre-trial motion to

76

dismiss on grounds of failure to exhaust intra-union

remedies. The Unions appealed the Court’s denial of

their pre-trial motion to dismiss on grounds of failure to

exhaust intra-union remedies and collateral estoppel as

to adverse decisions in those union remedies which

Ruzicka had exhausted. The Unions also appealed the

Court’s denial of their cross-claim against General

Motors to compel arbitration.

On September 23, 1975, the Court of Appeals issued its

decision. Ruzicka v. General Motors Corp., et al., 523 F.2d

306 (6th Cir. 1975). The Court affirmed the dismissal of

plaintiff's action against the International UAW, finding

that plaintiff had not proved the involvement of any

officials of the International in the processing of his

grievance. Hines v. Local 377, 506 F.2d 1153, 1157 (6th

Cir. 1974). rev'd on other grounds, 424 U.S. 554 (1975).

The denial of defendant's pre-trial motions to dismiss

was also affirmed, the Court concluding that plaintiff

had pleaded a valid cause of action against General

Motors, had sufficiently exhausted his intra-union

appeals, and was not collaterally estopped by prior

adverse decisions in those appeals.

As to the Rule 41(b) dismissal of plaintiff's claim

against Local 166, however, the Court of Appeals

reversed. Accepting the facts as found by this Court in

its memorandum opinion of November 21, 1973, the

Court nevertheless held that Panter’s “negligent and

perfunctory handling” of plaintiff's grievance constituted

a breach of duty of fair representation, even in the

absence of bad faith:

We believe that the District Court misread Vaca

when it held that ‘bad faith’ must be read into

the separate and independent standards of

“arbitrary” or “discriminatory” treatment. Union

77

action which is arbitrary or discriminatory need

not be motivated by bad faith to amount to unfair

representation.

In the instant case Local 166 officials discussed

Appellant's grievance among themselves and

with GM personnel, but inexplicably neglected to

take Appellant’s grievance to the third stage of

processing by not filing a Statement of

Unadjusted Grievance with the appropriate GM

official. Having sought and been granted two

extensions of time to file the Statement and at no

time having decided that Appellant’s claim was

without merit, the Local allowed the final

deadline to pass without filing the Statement or

requesting a further extension. At this point the

Local did not inform either Appellant or GM that

it had decided either to continue or to stop

processing Appellant’s grievance. Such negligent

handling of the grievance, unrelated as it was to

merits of Appellant’s case, amounts to unfair

representation. It is a clear example of arbitrary

and perfunctory handling of a grievance. Ruzicka

v. General Motors Corp., et al. supra at 310.

The Court of Appeals also reversed the dismissal of

plaintiff's complaint against General Motors, holding

that substantial factual issues remained as to his claim of

wrongful discharge and that General Motors would not

be entitled to rely on the finality provisions of the

grievance procedure as a defense to this claim if the

Union had breached its duty of fair representation.

Having determined that Ruzicka’s claims against both

General Motors and Local 166 would have to be

remanded for further proceedings, the Court of Appeals

went on to consider the Union’s cross-claim for

arbitration. After a discussion of the advantages and

78

disadvantages of this procedure, the Court directed that

plaintiff's grievance for wrongful discharge against

General Motors be referred to arbitration, with this

Court retaining jurisdiction of the case until all claims

against defendants were resolved.**

Following remand, on August 20, 1976, Ruzicka’s

grievance was referred to a GM/UAW Umpire for

arbitration on its merits.° At the October 14, 1976

hearing before the Umpire, General Motors offered no

testimony, resting its case for plaintiff's discharge on the

records of the Company and the facts as brought out in

the earlier grievance proceedings. The Union offered no

evidence in rebuttal, arguing that the Company had

failed to sustain its burden of justifying plaintiff's

discharge. After receiving certain documentary exhibits

into the record, the Umpire took the matter under

advisement, and on November 11, 1976, issued his

decision finding General Motors liable for wrongful

discharge and breach of GMUAW collective bargaining

agreement.

* A petition for rehearing with suggestion of rehearing en banc

was denied by the Court of Appeals on December 9, 1975. Judges

Edwards, Lively, and Engel dissented. Ruzicka v. General Motors

Corp., et al., 528 F.2d 912 (6th Cir. 1975).

* The order of arbitration provided:

It Is Ordered that plaintiff William Ruzicka’s grievance is

referred to arbitration to be determined in accordance with

the collective bargaining agreement to which defendants are

parties;

The issue to be resolved by arbitration is whether plaintiff

William Ruzicka’s discharge is justified and if so, to provide

appropriate relief;

It Is Further Ordered that this arbitration proceeding shall

be commenced and concluded within three (3) months of the

date of this order;

The court retains jurisdiction of thi’ cause for the purpose

of determining appropriate relief. in any event, against Local

166 because of its breach of the duty to represent William

Ruzicka

79

In a thorough and well-written opinion, the Umpire

determined that Ruzicka’s intoxication on March 31,

1970, justified only a 30-day suspension without pay, in

view of his past disciplinary and work records, and in

light of prior decisions of other umpires imposing at

most a 30-day suspension in similar cases. The Umpire

futher found that General Motors had acted improperly

in requiring Ruzicka to submit to an immediate

disciplinary interview in his still-intoxicated condition,

and should have sent him home and postponed the

interview until the following day. Under these

circumstances, the Umpire ruled that Ruzicka could not

be held accountable for his abusive and insubordinate

conduct toward his superiors.

The Umpire did not pass upon General Motors’

procedural defense to Ruzicka’s grievance based upon

the Union’s failure to timely file its statement of

unadjusted grievance. Rather, the Umpire, pursuant to

the terms of this Court’s order of arbitration, dealt only

with the merits of the grievance,’ and accordingly, found

General Motors in breach of the GM/UAW contract and

liable for reinstatement with full back pay.

7 Ina cover letter to the order sent to attorneys for all parties, the

Court stated:

By my order referring this grievance to arbitration, there

will be one issue before the arbitrator. If the arbitrator

decides that the penalty employed was too severe, the

remedies under the contract against General Motors

Corporation will be made available to Mr. Ruzicka. If the

arbitrator decides that the penalty was justified, Mr. Ruzicka

will have no remedies against General Motors Corporation.

In either case, since this Court will retain jurisdiction, Mr.

Ruzicka may return here for appropriate relief against Local

166 because of its breach of representation of plaintiff. That

decision will await the outcome of arbitration.

80

Following arbitration, plaintiff moved for summary

judgment against General Motors upon confirmation of

the Umpire’s decision and for summary judgment

against Local 166 based on the Court of Appeals

decision. General Motors opposed summary judgment

and argued that this Court had misread the Court of

Appeals directions on remand in submitting only the

merits of Ruzicka’s wrongful discharge claim to

arbitration. Both the Company and the Union argued

that the Court of Appeals decision did not preclude the

submission of further evidence regarding the issue of the

Union's breach of duty of fair representation.

At hearings held on February 10 and 28, 1977, the

Court ruled that summary judgment against General

Motors based upon the Umpire’s award could not be »

entered unless the liability of the Union for breach of

duty of fair representation was first found. Vaca v. Sipes,

supra; Hines v. Anchor Motor Freight, 424 U.S. 554,

569-570 (1975). The Court indicated, however, that in all

other respects the Umpire’s decision appeared just and

reasonable and would be confirmed by the Court if the

liability of the Union were established.*®

* The Court reaffirmed its decision referring only the merits of

Ruzicka’s grievance to arbitration. General Motors’ procedural

defense to plaintiff's claim of wrongful discharge would be no

defense at all if plaintiff's claim of breach of duty of fate,

representation against the Union is sustained. As recognized by the

Umpire in his decision of November 11, 1976, plaintiff's claim against,

the Union is beyond the scope of his decisional authority, which is

limited under €s 46 and 53 of the GMW/UAW contract solely to deciding

claims for breach of the contract. Accordingly, General Motors’

procedural defense, because it is necessarily dependent upon the

outcome of plaintiff's claim against the Union, can only be

determined by the Court.

81

The Court ruled that summary judgment on the

Union's liability could not be entered merely on the

basis of plaintiff's initial proofs at trial and the

intervening decision of the Court of Appeals. While the

Court of Appeals decision does contain statements which

appear to hold unequivocally that Local 166 is liable for

breach of duty of fair representation, these statements

must be read in light of the incomplete record which was

before the Court following dismissal of plaintiff's action

under Rule 41(b). Defendants had not presented any

evidence in defense of plaintiff's claims at that point and

had not foregone their right to do so by moving for a

Rule 41(b) dismissal. Riegel Fiber Corp. v. Anderson Gin

Co., 512 F.2d 784 (5th Cir. 1975); White v. Rimrock

Tidelands, Inc. 414 F.2d 1336 (5th Cir. 1969). Thus, the

decision of the Court of Appeals must be construed to

establish only a prima facie duty of fair representation.

According to Moore’s Federal Practice, a reversal of an

order of dismissal under Rule 41(b) would preclude the

presentation of further evidence by defendants in only a

limited number of cases:

Where the facts are not disputed or where

defendant has presented all his evidence upon

being called as a witness for the plaintiff the

appellate court upon reversal of a dismissal may

properly direct the district court to enter

judgment for the plaintiff. 5 Moore’s Federal

Practice © 41.13[2] (footnote omitted).

No.such directive was issued by the Sixth Circuit Court

of Appeals in this case.

Having denied plaintiff's motions for summary

judgment, the Court proceeded to hear further testimony

from the Local Union in defense of plaintiff's unfair

representation clam, Following this, all parties presented

testimony and documentary evidence on the issue of

damages. Extensive post-hearing briefs have been filed.

82

Il.

The first issue to be determined is the liability of Local

166 on plaintiff's claim for breach of duty of fair

representation. As noted above, the Union presented

further testimony in defense of this claim following

remand. This recent testimony primarily focused, as did

plaintiff's evidence at the original trial, on the issue of

whether Panter had timely filed the Union’s statement of

unadjusted grievance. The Union presented testimony

from four Local officials, Dennis King, Ralph Stevens,

Ray Westphal, and Bernard Pritchett, who all testified,

with only minor variation, to a meeting they had

witnessed between Panter and Jerry Bennet in the

Company’s labor relation office on April 30, 1970, at

which Panter had presented to Bennet the Ruzicka

statement of unadjusted grievance. According to this

testimony, Bennet accepted the statement and placed it

in the Company’s files. Westphal and Pritchett further

testified to a meeting with Hagerman in Hagerman’s

office, several days later, when Hagerman showed them

the Ruzicka statement in his files.

This testimony directly conflicts with previous

statements made by other witnesses in the case,

particularly Hagerman an Bennet, who both denied

ever receiving the Union’s statement. Where such a

conflict in testimony is presented, the Court, as the

finder of fact, must judge the credibility of the witnesses

and consider other relevant circumstances to determine

which version of the facts to credit. Federal Rule of Civil

Procedure 52(a); Sweeney v. American Steamship Co., 491

F.2d 1085, 1089-1090 (6th Cir. 1974). In this case, despite

the recent testimony of these Union officials in defense

of their Local, the Court remains persuaded that Panter’s

filing of the Ruzicka statement of unadjusted grievance

never took place.

83

Two of these Union officials who testified to an April

30, 1970 filing of the Unions statement testified

otherwise on prior occasions. King testified before a

Union trial committee on July 6, 1971 that Panter had

actually presented the statement to Bennet on May 5,

1970. Prichett testified before the trial committee in 1971

that he did not remember any filing of the Union

statement with Bennet. Moreover, Dolores Weems, the

secretary for Local 166, testified both before the trial

committee and at recent proceedings before the Court

that it was not until May 5, 1970 that she had typed the

final draft of the Union’s statement, and original and

eight copies, and presented them to Panter for filing. The

discrepancy in dates here is important. Bennett, called as

a witness in rebuttal, testified that he was on vacation on

May 5, 1970. He further testified that on May 26, 1970,

when Moon approached him and belatedly attempted to

make the exchange, he still had all of the Union copies of

the Ruzicka statement in his possession. The testimony

of these Local officials is also belied by their actions and

attitudes toward Ruzicka’s grievance following this

alleged April 30th meeting. In particular, no one

appearea to challenge General Motors’ assertion at the

time that the Union statement in Ruzicka’s case had not

been filed. No one accused the Company of being the

guilty party in neglecting to file its statement with

Panter. Moon has testified that upon taking over from

Panter as shop committee chairman on May 17, 1970, he

reviewed the status of all union grievances and

determined that no exchange of statements had been

made in Ruzicka’s case. It was on this basis that Moon

subsequently attempted an exchange of statements on

May 26, 1970. The policy grievance later filed on

Ruzicka’s behalf alleged only that the Company had

taken unfair advantages of a turnover in Local Union

administration and past practices regarding exhange

deadlines in Ruzicka’s case. The policy grievance was

sub

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.