Petition for Writ of Certiorari — AT&T Technologies, Inc. v. Blim

Supreme Court brief1984

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

g4-72 0 [TSS

JUL 16 1984

CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

AT&T TECHNOLOGIES, INC.,

Petitioner,

Vv.

RAYMOND C. BLIM, ET AL.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE TENTH CIRCUIT

WILLIAM D. CURLEE PAUL M. THOMPSON

LYTLE, SOULE, CURLEE CHRISTINE H. PERDUE

HARRINGTON, CHANDLER & HUNTON & WILLIAMS

VAN DYKE Post Office Box 1535

2210 First National Center 707 East Main Street

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73102 Richmond, Virginia

(405) 235-7471 (804) 788-8200

Counsel for Petitioner

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the court below erred in refusing to evaluate

proferred statistical evidence under the Hazelwood-Casta-

neda standards because the case was tried to a jury rather

than to the court alone.

2. Whether a jury in a case alleging individual disparate

treatment based on age discrimination may properly be in-

structed that statistical evidence alone can be determinative

of the ultimate issue of discriminatory intent.

3. Whether the judgment and opinion of the court of

appeals should be vacated because of the court’s failure to

consider and rectify an error in jury instructions on the

burden of proof under the Age Discrimination in Employ-

ment Act which reversed the role of the jury and judge and

affected the substantial rights of the parties.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

CUE MEEY sick ck cccescesccesscsecesse i

a EO TECTR TITEL TTT TEL TELE Ee 1

AEST EL ERE LE CERECRTETECECEEE LETTE 2

EE. ROCA SASS L GND ERG 0s Sod eouetivescnceccccces 2

DE PAR UMMC E GOP TEES CAGE owe cc ccc esscccccsccns 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ............... 7

1. The Decision Below Conflicts in Principle With the Decisions

of this Court and Other Courts of Appeals Setting Forth

Guidelines for the Consideration of Statistical Evidence in

Employment Discrimination Cases ................4.. 7

2. The Decision Below So Far Departed from the Usual and

Accepted Course of Judicial Proceedings as to Justify This

Court’s Exercise of its Power of Supervision ............ 13

3. The Decision Below Raises Critical and Recurring Ques-

tions Concerning the Role of Judge and Jury in Employment

EE cccgccccotectsstcusteesdsseena 16

ET, Ei oe cae 6 60h s 6Hee 600) 0-00 wieleeeccuceee 18

SEE GE” GEL WERAEE s osc cccbcccceucvecdsseces 19

APPENDICES

A. Opinion of the Court of Appeals ................ App. 1

B. Opinion of the District Court ................... App. 15

C. Order of the Court of Appeals Denying a Rehearing

and Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc ........... App. 27

iti

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Page

American Hoist & Derrick Co. v. Sowa & Sons, Inc., 725 F.2d

Se Cr ED 60.6.6 0-6. 66 006 cde dete when deseens 14

Baer Brothers Land & Cattle Co. v. Palmer, 158 F.2d 278

tf 2 rr re rer rrr rrrrs Te er 14

Board of Trustees of Keene State Teachers College v. Sweeney,

a OT, ee TT Ter TTT Tere eee 17

Castaneda Vv. Partida, 430 U.S. 482 (1977) ............45. 8

Construction Aggregate Transport, Inc. v. Florida Rock Indus-

tries, Inc., 710 F.2d 752 (1lth Cir. 1983) .............. 10

Cornecticut Mutual Life Insurance Co. v. Wyman, 718 F.2d

GB. CI Ge Be 4 bb nom och ncn ccnva cas ued coctnna 14, 15

Cooper v. University of Texas at Dallas, 648 F.2d 1039 (Sth

ee. | | errr Terr TS TTT Ter TT? TTT Try Tre. 10

EEOC v. Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond, 698 F.2d 633

(4th Cir. 1983), rev’d. on other grounds, Sub nom. Cooper

v. Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond, ____. U.S. —___.,

&. ££ " kao, | Ree aRanlin “pean 8,9, 10

Eastern Air Lines, Inc. v. McDonnell-Douglas Corp., 532 F.2d

Se Cee GU SD cca erect waednnseviccuseseésne’ 10

Fillippon v. Albion Vein Slate Co., 250 U.S. 76 (1919) ...... 14

Garcia v. Rush Presbyterian-St. Luke’s Medical Center, 660

a Bee. Le. | eyes epee eee bee 10

Gay v. Waiters Union, Local 30, 694 F.2d 531 (9th Cir. 1982) 9, 13

Geller v. Markam, 635 F.2d 1027 (2nd Cir. 1980), cert. denied,

GSE ULE. DES CHBSE) inns cawe ccc ccccccstecunecccues 10

Haddad v. Lockheed California Corp., 720 F.2d 1454 (9th Cir.

BOE icin nnd on conn aes 49.646-500 82 0n0e We nares cannes 11

Haddigan v. Harkins, 441 F.2d 844 (3rd Cir. 1970) ........ 14

Page

Hazelwood School District v. United States, 433 U.S. 299

SEE chews lsc bk cieen We enbaeeecettan cece 7

Herman Schwabe, Inc. v. United Shoe Manufacturing Corp.,

297 F.2d 906 (2nd Cir. 1962), cert. denied, 369 U.S. 865

0 erry Pree Teer ye eer err rs ree Te 9,10

Heward v. Western Electric Co., Inc., No. 83-2293, slip op.

(2s B&R eerie ore 13

Hunziker v. Scheidemantle, 543 F.2d 489, 498 (3rd Cir. 1976) 10

Jamison Co., Inc. v. Westvaco Corp., 526 F.2d 922 (Sth Cir.

SE ki dbhd Gn bckwa bb nbewaendern eee ioe eka 14

Kentroti v. Frontier Air Lines, 585 F.2d 967 (10th Cir. 1978) . 12

Krieg v. Paul Revere Life Insurance Co., 718 F.2d 998 (11th

ee EE 0000 6n66b00ceeneennndeesanukesd eee 12

Lamphere v. Brown University, 685 F.2d 743 (ist Cir. 1982) . 12

Lorillard v. Pons, 434 U.S. 575 (1978) ..............-225. 12

Massarsky v. General Motors Corp., 706 F.2d 111 (3rd Cir.

1983), cert. denied, 104 S.Ct. 348 (1983) .............. 13

Merit Motors, Inc. v. Chrysler Corp., 569 F.2d 666 (D.C. Cir.

POSED -éccesccisdgackéoseoddes ebetsueansieiesasixl 11

McCandless v. United States, 298 U.S. 342 (1936) .......... 14

McDonnell-Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792 (1973) .5, 12, 17

McPhee v. Reichel, 461 F.2d 947 (3rd Cir. 1972) .......... 15

New York City Transit Authority v. Beazer, 440 U.S. 568

ER See eee ren pee ne aaa eee 15, 16

Pace vV. Southern Ry., 701 F.2d 1383 (11th Cir.), cert. denied,

ee ic ee ED 5 ca nib we 6eed vad ends ceekeenenn 8

Payne Vv. Travenol Laboratories, 673 F.2d 798 (Sth Cir. 1982),

One. GHEE, GSP . Bees CUSED os 6 sca scinccccu¥ecas 13

Page

Peques Vv. Mississippi State Employment Service, 699 F.2d 760

(5th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 104 S.Ct. 482 (1983) ...... 13

Perreil v. FinanceAmerica Corp., 726 F.2d 654 (10th Cir.

rte ae rt ae ey ee 14

Person v. J. S. Alberici Construction Co., 640 F.2d 916 (8th

+ 2 | PP verrrer rrr TTerTT TTT er Sree e eT 12

Proctor & Gamble Manufacturing Co. v. Fisher, 449 U.S. 1115

CRDEED 600 cc cecd Ud cbensdecck be 665esebbeeeeawbabes 17

Rivera v. City of Wichita Falls, 665 F.2d 531 (Sth Cir. 1982). 9

Stendebach v. C.P.C. International, Inc., 691 F.2d 735 (Sth Cir.

1982), cert. denied, 103 S.Ct. 2122 (1983) ............. 8

Texas Department of Community Affairs v. Burdine, 450 U.S.

Bee CHROED vvcencecdececeeeseceeeseetenecenes jbwere 11,17

United States v. Sowards, 370 F.2d 87 (10th Cir. 1966) ..... 9

United States Postal Service Board of Governors v. Aikens,

— US. Ss § 3 §) eee 12, 17

Ward v. Westland Plastics, 541 F.2d 1266 (9th Cir. 1980) ... 12

Washington Hospital Center v. Butler, 384 F.2d 331 (D.C. Cir.

DED cv ccacckiaassneubeaheankeueuas bes~ceeeeeenet 10

Zahorik Vv. Cornell University, 729 F.2d 85 (2nd Cir. 1984) .. 12

Other Authorities

BB ULBG.. © TAROT) ov ccccosvasccsccnccssesccccsssesses 2

Age Discrimination in Employment Act, as amended, 29 U.S.C.

Ue Gy 0 on 0.0605:064 006 06e 005 bse aeeEeeeceeuehs 2

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, 42 U.S.C.

TPO 3 Siecaccncavecccndes b6de66s604660RNUSS 7

GB Wiles GOON ceca ccecccccccdcckadecccccsececsasé 18

ee, PTT TTT Tee 11

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

AT&T TECHNOLOGIES, INC..,

Petitioner,

Vv.

RAYMOND C. BLIM, MORRIS E. KINGHORN,

J. F. VUKASOVIC, RALPH V. OLDHAM,

STANLEY L. BOARTS, EUGENE FIRESTONE,

WALLACE S. REPETTO, and LARRY N. STEWART,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE TENTH CIRCUIT

The petitioner AT&T Technologies, Inc. respectfully

prays that a writ of certiorari i.sue te review the judgment

and opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Tenth Circuit entered in this proceeding on April 3, 1984.

OPINIONS BELOW

The majority and concurrirg and dissenting opinions of

the Court of Appeals (Pet. App. A) are reported at 731

F.2d 1473 (10th Cir. 1984); the Order of the Court of

Appeals denying en banc rehearing (Pet. App. C) is not

yet published. The opinion of the United States District

Court for the Western District of Oklahoma (Pet. App. B)

is reported at 496 F. Supp. 818 (W.D. Okla. 1980).

2

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered April

3, 1984. A timely petition for rehearing and suggestion for

rehearing en banc was denied by the Court of Appeals on

May 8, 1984. On June 20, 1984 the Tenth Circuit stayed

its mandate pending filing of a petition for certiorari on or

before July 16, 1984. This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked

under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTE

The statute involved is the Age Discrimination in

Employment Act, as amended, 29 U.S.C. § 621 ef seq.

(“ADEA”).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On September 8, 1978, eight employees of AT&T Tech-

nologies, Inc.’s (“AT&T-TI’s”) Oklahoma City works’

brought this action under the ADEA alleging that AT&T-TI

had failed to repromote them to section chief positions be-

cause of age. The eight plaintiffs were former section chiefs

who had been demoted to non-supervisory positions during

a reduction in force in 1974 and 1975.

Following a jury trial in March 1980 limited to the issue

of liability a jury verdict was entered in favor of each indi-

vidual plaintiff on the repromotion claims. A second trial

on damages was held before the district court sitting with-

out a jury, and on September 5, 1980, the court entered

judgment against AT&T-TI in the amount of $901,440.78."

Both parties offered statistical evidence at trial analyzing

When the complaint was filed, the Oklahoma City plant was

owned by Western Electric Co., Inc. Western Electric’s name was

changed to AT&T Technologies, Inc. in 1984.

? The award included front pay, back pay, a lump sum annuity

for social security losses, damages for lost purchasing power on

3

promotions of employees in the age group protected by the

ADEA. The plaintiffs’ expert, Heyward P. White, presented

two sets of exhibits. In the first, he argued that AT&T-TI’s

performance appraisals were biased by age. Although the

exhibits did not show on their face results of any statistical

testing, White testified he had applied a statistical analysis

called the “goodness of fit” test from which he concluded

that considering 1975 appraisals by age, ninety-seven per-

cent of the time a closer fit to uniform distribution would

be expected. (J.A. 647).*° Based on this conclusion, White

testified to the jury that he “was 97 percent certain that the

appraisal ratings were not distributed without regard to

age.” (J.A. 633, 648).

In the second group of exhibits, White purported to

show a relationship between age and repromotion. He lim-

ited his analysis to repromotions of former section chiefs,

thereby excluding 69 of the 101 promotion decisions made

during the relevant period for which former section chiefs,

including plaintiffs, were in competition. Applying a “good-

ness of fit” and probability test to the thirty-two decisions

which he considered, White testified that based on a prob-

ability statistic of ninety-nine percent, he was able to con-

clude with “(a)bout 99 percent certainty” that younger

employees had received preference in promotions. (J.A.

657).

AT&T-TI presented uncontradicted evidence that, apply-

ing both a .05 probability standard and a s:andard deviation

analysis to all the 101 promotion decisions during the rele-

vant period, none of the promotion figures showed selection

back wages, damages for payment of additional income taxes on

the award, liquidated damages in an amount equal to each of the

enumerated items of damages, and $175,000 in attorneys’ fees.

*“J.A.” references are to pages of the Joint Appendix filed in the

Court of Appeals. “E.” references are to the volume of the Joint

Appendix containing exhibits.

4

rates based on age within statistically significant ranges.

AT&T-TI also presented raw data showing that during the

1974-1979 period in which promotion decisions were chal-

lenged, the number of section chiefs aged thirty-nine and

under declined by half, from 124 to 62, while their percent-

age of the section chief group declined from 43.5% to

26.6%. (E. 177). During the same period, section chiefs

aged forty and over increased in absolute numbers from

161 to 171 and in percentage representation from 56.5%

of the total to 73.4%. (E. 177).

In closing argument, plaintiffs’ counsel argued to the

jury that while AT&T-TI’s statistician might not infer bias

from a probability of a chance occurrence greater than five

percent, the jury was entitled to do so. (J.A. 1072).* In

reference to the expressions of “certainty” of the plaintiffs’

expert, counsel told the jury, “You just couldn’t explain a

97 or so per cent certainty when you look at those figures

if it wasn’t willful age discrimination.” (J.A. 1133).

The trial court overruled AT&T-TI’s objections to the

plaintiffs’ statistical evidence, and in submitting the case to

the jury, refused AT&T-TI’s requested instructions setting

forth legal standards to be used by the trier of fact in weigh-

ing statistical evidence. Instead, the court gave only a gen-

eral instruction on the weight to be accorded expert testi-

mony. In a separate instruction, however, the court charged

the jury that statistical evidence could establish the ultimate

fact in issue.”

* Referring to a probability statistic of 84% plaintiffs’ counsel

argued that “only sixteen out of a hundred times would you get the

kind of age discrimination on promotions.” (J.A. 1072). Later he

stated, “It seems to me that 97 percent certainly is pretty persuasive.”

(J.A. 1091).

°In reference to indirect evidence of discrimination, the judge

advised the jury that “Other evidence, including statistical evidence,

can establish these elements, as well as the ultimate issue, if the

5

The plaintiffs’ claims were tried as individual disparate

treatment cases, and in formulating its instructions to the

jury, the trial court accordingly applied the standards on

burden of proof set forth in McDonnell-Douglas Corp. v.

Green, 411 U.S. 792 (1973). The trial judge intended to

charge the jury that he had determined that AT&T-TI had

satisfied its burden of articulating legitimate reasons for the

promotion decisions in question, the issue for the jury being

whether plaintiffs had carried their ultimate burden by

proving pretext. (J.A. 102). In reading the charge to the

jury, however, the judge misread the instruction, stating

instead that “It is for the jury in this case to determine

whether defendant has stated a legitimate reason... .” (em-

phasis added). (J.A. 1149).

Prior to retirement of the jury, the error was brought to

the trial judge’s attention and exception taken by AT&T-TI’s

counsel. The trial judge’s response was an apparent refer-

ence to the jury’s possession of a copy of the instructions in

the jury room: “Well, they are going to have these with

them and if they need them it will clear it up.” (J.A. 1157).

The jury was never read the correct instruction nor was it

advised that an error had been made.

AT&T-TI timely filed an alternative motion for judg-

ment notwithstan ing the verdict or for new trial, in which

it argued that a new trial was warranted on rumercus

grounds, including admission of improper and prejudicial

statistical evidence and expert testimony, plaintiffs’ coun-

sel’s closing argument, and errors in the jury instructions.

The motion was overruled without opinion.

AT&T-TI noted its appeal on September 12, 1980. Briefs

were timely filed, and oral argument was heard by a panel

jury believes that it shows that a plaintiff was not repromoted be-

cause of his age.” (emphasis added. )

6

of the Tenth Circuit on October 1, 1981. On June 13, 1983,

on its own motion and without explanation, the court va-

cated the oral argument and submission of the case. A sec-

ond oral argument was heard on August 3, 1983. The

court’s opinion affirming the: jury verdict on liability and

reversing in part the damages and fee awards issued on

April 3, 1984. Chief Judge Seth filed a separate concurring

and dissenting opinion criticizing the majority opinion’s

failure to decide that front pay is an impermissble remedy

under the ADEA.

AT&T-TI contended on appeal that the plaintiffs’ expert

testimony was not probative under the standards set forth

in controlling decisions of this Court and prejudicially mis-

stated the conclusions properly deducible from statistical

analysis. The majority opinion did not reach the merits of

these contentions, holding only that “Whether the evidence

supported the plaintiffs’ statistical conclusions and what

weight should be accorded to those statistics are issues for

the jury.” 731 F.2d at 1477. Similarly, the district court’s

failure to instruct the jury on standards for consideration

of statistical evidence and the misreading of the charge were

not discussed. The opinion treated all issues relating to jury

instructions in one sentence: “The standards were followed

by the trial court and the trial court correctly instructed the

jury.” 731 F.2d at 1477.

AT&T-TI filed a timely petition for rehearing and sug-

gestion for rehearing en banc, noting the omission of any

discussion in the opinion of issues which had been expressly

taised as grounds for appeal, including those relating to the

statistical evidence and the jury instructions. The Petition

was denied without discussion of these issues on May 8,

1984.

7

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. The Decision Below Conflicts in Principle With the Decisions

of this Court and other Courts of Appeals Setting Forth Guide-

lines for the Consideration of Statistical Evidence in Employment

Discrimination Cases.

Under the decision of the Court of Appeals, a jury is

free to consider statistical evidence which does not satisfy

minimal] standards of probative value established in em-

ployment discrimination cases and to base its ultimate find-

ing of discriminatory intent on such evidence alone. This

result is irreconcilable with the principles set forth in Hazel-

wood School District v. United States, 433 U.S. 299 (1977),

and with the body of law developed in the lower courts gov-

erning the evaluation of statistical evidence. The Court of

Appeals’ justification for its decision, that the jury is to de-

cide both the weight to be accorded to statistical evidence

and whether an expert’s conclusions have evidentiary sup-

port, would render Hazelwood a nullity whenever an em-

ployment discrimination case is tried to a jury rather than

to a judge.

A. In Hazelwood, a Title VII’ action alleging a pattern

and practice of racial discrimination, this Court held that

the statistical comparison employed by the district court,

which compared Hazelwood’s teacher work force to its

student population, “fundamentally misconceived the role

of statistics in employment discrimination cases.” 433 U.S.

at 307. The proper comparison was between the teaching

staff and the qualified teacher population in the relevant

labor market. Because the district court had not adequately

considered factors determinative of the relevant labor mar-

ket, the case was remanded for further findings. “And

* Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, 42 U.S.C.

§ 2000e, et seq.

8

only after such a determination is made can a foundation

be established for deciding whether or not Hazelwood en-

gaged in a pattern or practice of racial discrimination in its

employment practices in violation of the law.” /d. at 312-i3.

In reliance upon Castaneda v. Partidu, 430 U.S. 482,

496 (1977), the Court in Hazelwood also approved the

use of a standard deviation analysis as a precise method of

measuring the significance of statistical disparities. 433

U.S. at 309, n. 14. As a general rule, where large samples

are concerned, if the difference betwen the expected value

and the observed number is greater than two or three

standard deviations, the null hypothesis that race was not

considered would be suspect. 433 U.S. at 307.

Hazelwood’s emphasis on an appropriate comparison,

on a factually supportable determination of the relevant

labor pool, and or a proper methodology for evaluating

Statistical disparities has been echoed in subsequent de-

cisions by the courts of appeals. The courts have been care-

ful to require that an expert’s selection of the number of

decisions subjected to statistical analysis be based upon a

sufficient factual foundation and not be arbitrarily limited

“to obtain a desired result,” EEOC v. Federal Reserve

Bank of Richmond, 698 F.2d 633, 649-50 (4th Cir. 1983),

rev'd. on other grounds, sub nom. Cooper v. Federal Re-

serve Bank of Richmond, US. , 35 F.E.P. Cases

1 (1984); that the statistical evidence present proper com-

parisons and be based on appropriate pools and samples,

Pace v. Southern Ry., 701 F.2d 1383 (11th Cir.), cert. de-

nied, 104 S.Ct. 549 (1983); Stendebach v. C.P.C. Inter-

national, Inc., 691 F.2d 735 (Sth Cir. 1982), cert. denied,

103 S.Ct. 2122 (1983); and, absent disparities egregious

on their face (e.g., che “inexorable zero”), that a claim

either of a “marked disproportion” or a “gross disparity” be

supported by a demonstration of statistical significance un-

9

der the Hazelwood-Castaneda guidelines or some other rec-

ognized statistical methodology. EEOC v. Federal Reserve

Bank of Richmond, 698 F.2d at 648; Rivera v. City of

Wichita Falls, 665 F.2d 531, 535 (Sth Cir. 1982).

Each of these principles was ignored by the court below

out of an excessive deference to the jury’s role in weighing

the evidence. Moreover, because of the court’s erroneous

view of the role of judge and jury, it also permitted expert

testimony which grossly exceeded the boundaries dictated

by statistical analysis. Where evidence indicates statistically

significant results, the determination of legal significance

remains an issue for the fact-finder and not the expert wit-

ness. EEOC vy. Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond, 698

F.2d at 648. Most importantly, rebuttal of the null hypo-

thesis does not in and of itself demonstrate discriminatory

intent: “Simply put, statistics demonstrating that chance is

not the more likely explanation are not by themselves suffi-

cient to demonstrate that race is the more likely explanation

for an employer's conduct.” Gay v. Waiters Union, Local

30, 694 F.2d 531, 553 (9th Cir. 1982).

The court’s holding that it is for the jury to determine if

the evidence supported the plaintiffs’ statistical conclusions

is in addition error as a matter of law. It is the responsibility

of the trial judge in the first instance to insure that an ex-

pert’s conclusions have evidentiary support, and if they do

not, to exclude them or to submit them under a limiting in-

struction. United States v. Sowards, 370 F.2d 87, 92 (10th

Cir. 1966); Herman Schwabe, Inc. v. United Shoe Manu-

facturing Corp., 297 F.2d 906, 912 (2nd Cir. 1962), cert.

denied, 369 U.S. 865 (1962); Fed R. Evid. 703. The re-

quirement of a sufficient factual foundation for the admis-

sion of expert testimeny applies to statistical evidence in

employment discrimination cases as in any other area of the

law. EEOC v. Federal Reserve Bank, supra; Garcia v.

10

Rush Presbyterian-St. Luke’s Medical Center, 660 F.2d

1217 (7th Cir. 1981); Cooper v. University of Texas at

Dalias, 648 F.2d 1039 (Sth Cir. 1981).

The federal courts have long recognized the trial court’s

special responsibility “to scrutinize most carefully unusually

technical or complicated expert testimony” presented to a

jury. Eastern Air Lines, Inc. v. McDonnell Douglas Corp.,

532 F.2d 957, 999-1000 (Sth Cir. 1976).

The District Court must do more than merely weigh

the probative value of an expert’s testimony consid-

ered as a whole. Where practical, a trial judge should

exclude particular assumptions or other aspects of an

expert’s testimony which considered individually do

not meet the “minimum of probative value.” Herman

Schwabe, Inc. v. United Shoe Manufacturing Corp.,

supra, 297 F.2d at 912. This more detailed scrutiny

is necessary because some telling errors may become

virtually unreviewable once the jury has returned its

verdict.

Id. Accord, Construction Aggregate Transport, Inc. V.

Florida Rock Industries, Inc., 710 F.2d 752, 789 (11th

Cir. 1983); Hunziker v. Scheidemantle, 543 F.2d 489, 498

(3rd Cir. 1976); Washington Hospital Center v. Butler,

384 F.2d 331, 335 (D.C. Cir. 1967); Herman Schwabe,

Inc. v. United Shoe Manufacturing Corp., supra at 912.

See also, Geller v. Markam, 635 F.2d 1027, 1033-34 (2nd

Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 451 U.S. 945 (1981) (upholding

exclusion of statistical evidence from the jury in a trial

under the ADEA).

Failure to subject statistical evidence in this case to a

“more detailed scrutiny” led directly to the jury’s considera-

tion of evidence lacking in minimal probative value. The

plaintiffs’ expert was allowed to testify concerning an

11

analysis based on less than a third of the actual number of

decisions in issue, and to advise the jury that his probability

findings based on that limited analysis, rather than merely

rejecting the null hypothesis, amounted to mathematical

certainties that discrimination had occurred.

Such testimony was a distortion of the conclusions prop-

erly reachable through statistical analysis and grossly over-

reached the bounds of proper expert testimony. Rule 703,

Fed. R. Evid.’ Had this case been tried to the court alone,

the district judge would not have been free to disregard the

standards of Hazelwood and subsequent decisions by reli-

ance on such evidence. The court cannot abandon these

standards simply because the case is tried to a jury. Indeed,

greater safeguards are warranted because of the often con-

fusing and, as here, misleading nature of statistical evidence.

See Haddad v. Lockheed California Corp., 720 F.2d 1454

(9th Cir. 1983).

B. The error resulting from failure to apply the Hazel-

wood standards to the evaluation of the statistical evidence

was compounded by the jury instructions.

Because this case concerned individual claims that

AT&T-TI had failed to promote each plaintiff because of

his age, plaintiffs were required to prove intentional dis-

crimination in order to prevail. Texas Department of Com-

munity Affairs v. Burdine, 450 U.S. 248 (1981); In@’l.

Brotherhood of Teamsters v. United States, 431 U.S. 324

(1977).° Direct evidence of discriminatory intent is not

* Fed. R. Evid, 703 requires that the facts or data relied on by

an expert be “of a type reasonably relied on by experts in the par-

ticular field in forming opinions or inferences upon the subject.”

Where the grounds are not reasonably reliable, the court may ex-

clude the testimony under this rule. Merit Motors, Inc. v. Chrysler

Corp., 569 F.2d 666, 673 (D.C. Cir. 1977).

® The Tenth Circuit has expressly held that the standards of proof

in Title VII disparate treatment cases are applicable to claims under

12

necessary; as in any lawsuit, the plaintiff may prove his

case by direct or circumstantial evidence. United States

Postal Service Board of Governors v. Aikens, ___. US.

_, 103 S. Ct. 1478, 1481, n. 3 (1983).

The use of statistics as circumstantial evidence in dis-

parate treatment cases presents unique problems. Statistics

necessarily focus upon treatment of the group, whereas in

a disparate treatment case, the legal focus is upon treatment

of the individual. Thus statistical data will often have no

direct bearing on the ultimate issue of discriminatory intent

in a particular decision to discharge, hire or promote. Lim-

itations on the usefulness of statistics in these circumstances

were recognized by this Court in McDonnell-Deouglas Corp.

v. Green, 411 U.S. at 805, n. 19, where the Court observed

that general statistical determinations, “while helpful, may

not be in and of themselves controlling as to an individual-

ized hiring decision, particularly in the presence of an other-

wise justifiable reason for refusing to rehire.”

Subsequent to McDonnell-Douglas, the appellate courts

have held that proof of statistical imbalances, even if other-

wise probative, is not determinative of the issue of dis-

criminatory intent in an individual case. Regardless of sta-

tistics, “the issue remains in these cases whether a particular

isolated historical event was discriminatory.” Ward v. West-

land Plastics, 651 F.2d 1266 (9th Cir. 1980). Accord,

Zahorik v. Cornell University, 729 F.2d 85, 95 (2nd Cir.

1984); Lamphere v. Brown University, 685 F.2d 743, 749

(ist Cir. 1982); Person v. J. S. Alberici Construction Co.,

640 F.2d 916, 919 (8th Cir. 1981). The same principle

has applied in disparate treatment cases under the ADEA.

Krieg v. Paul Revere Life Insurance Co., 718 F.2d 998

the ADEA. Kentroti v. Frontier Air Lines, 585 F.2d 967 (10th Cir.

1978). See also, Lorillard v. Pons, 434 U.S. 575 (1978).

13

(11th Cir. 1983); Massarsky v. General Motors Corp., 706

F.2d 111, 118 (3rd Cir.), cert. denied, 104 S.Ct. 348

(1983); see also, Heward v. Western Electric Co., Inc.,

No. 83-2293, slip op. at 9-10 (10th Cir. July 3, 1984)

(ADEA case noting that it is “well established that the use

and significance of statistical evidence differs depending on

whether the case alleges disparate treatment or disparate

impact” and requiring “gross” disparities to establish a

prima facie case in a disparate treatment class or pattern

& practice suit) .°

The instructions to the jury in the instant case were di-

rectly contrary to these decisions. As a result, the jury was

permitted to give controlling weight to the statistical evi-

dence, despite AT&T-TI’s articulation of “an otherwise jus-

tifiable reason” for its promotion decisions with respect to

each plaintiff. When considered in light of the trial court’s

failure to apply the Hazelwood standards either to admis-

sion of the statistical evidence or to its assessment by the

jury, the instruction permitted an ultimate determination of

discriminatory intent to be based on statistical evidence

which did not satisfy minimum standards of probative value.

2. The Decision Below So Far Departed from the Usual and Ac-

cepted Course of Judicial Proceedings as to Justify This Court’s

Exercise of its Power of Supervision.

It has long been the rule of this Court that “in jury trials

erroneous rulings are presumptively injurious, especially

those embodied in instructions to the jury; and they furnish

® Individual disparate treatment cases have been distinguished

from pattern and practice actions, in which the appellate courts have

followed Hazelwood and Teamsters in concluding that purposeful

discrimination may be shown by a sufficiently gross statistical dis-

parity. Peques v. Mississippi State Employment Service, 699 F.2d

760 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 104 S.Ct. 482 (1983); Payne v.

Travenol Laboratories, 673 F.2d 798 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 459

U.S. 1038 (1982); Gay v. Waiters Union, Local 30, supra.

14

ground for reversal unless it affirmatively appears that they

were harmless.” Fillippon v. Albion Vein Slate Co., 250

U.S. 76, 82 (1919); see also, McCandless v. United States,

298 U.S. 342, 347-48 (1936) (“an erroneous ruling which

relates to the substantial rights of a party is ground for re-

versal unless it affirmatively appears from the whole record

that it was not prejudicial.” )

The trial court’s erroneous instruction, which resulted in

contradictory instructions to the jury on the burden of

proof, unquestionably relates “to the substantial rights of

a party.” The Tenth Circuit expressly so held in an opinion

under the ADEA issued just two months before the decision

in this case. Perrell vy. FinanceAmerica Corp., 726 F.2d 654

(10th Cir. 1984). In Perrell, a jury instruction on the bur-

den of proof under the ADEA was challenged. Finding that

the instruction “did not clearly articulate the essence of the

law” and that it could not “conclusively determine that the

effect of the erroneous instruction was harmless,” the court

reversed the judgment below. 726 F.2d at 656, 657. In so

doing, it articulated standards applicable to consideration

of errors in instructions on the burden of proof under the

ADEA:

The standard of proof formulation is key to the under-

standing of liability under the ADEA. Thus, the er-

roneous instruction given in this case relates to the

substantial rights of the defendant below. This error

requires reversal unless this court can determine that

the error was not prejudicial.

726 F.2d at 656-57."°

2° In cases arising Outside the ADEA, the courts of appeals have

consistently held that errors in instructions on the burden of proof

or material points of law are fundamental errors which require

reversal. American Hoist & Derrick Co. v. Sowa & Sons, Inc., 725

F.2d 1350, 1358 (Fed. Cir. 1984); Connecticut Mutual Life In-

15

A conclusion that the error below was not prejudicial

cannot rest on an assumption that the jury applied the

correct standard, either by disregarding a portion of the

oral charge, or, as the trial judge in this case apparently

anticipated, by reading the written instructions.

When the correctness or adequacy of a jury instruction

is at issue, an appeilate court may not review the

evidence in the iight most favorable to the verdict

winner. There can be no deference to a factual finding

tainted by legal error. If the jury was misled as to the

law on a material point, “we cannot presume that the

jury applied the appropriate standard in deciding (an

issue).

Connecticut Mutual Life Insurance Co. v. Wyman, 718

F.2d at 65. To cure an error in instructions, the correction

must be “in clear and unmistakeable terms.” Baer Brothers

Land & Cattle Co. v. Palmer, 158 F.2d 278, 281 (10th

Cir. 1946). Reliance on the jury’s possession of written in-

structions is insufficient. Jamison Co., Inc. v. Westvaco

Corp., 526 F.2d 922 (Sth Cir. 1976); Haddigan v. Harkins,

441 F.2d 844 (3rd Cir. 1970).

In this case the appellate court refused to consider and

rectify an error affecting the substantial rights of the

parties, properly preserved below and expressly raised on

appeal." This refusal was without explanation and is in-

consistent with the decisions of this Court, the Tenth Cir-

cuit’s own precedents, and the consistent practice of the

surance Co. v. Wyman, 718 F.2d 63, 65 (3rd Cir. 1983); McPhee

v. Reichel, 461 F.2d 947, 951 (3rd Cir. 1972).

™ The failure of the court of appeals to consider the merits of

the error in jury instructions presents no impediment to this

Court’s consideration of the issue, especially since the issue was

“fully aired” below and “involves the application of settled legal

principles to uncontroversial facts.” New York City Transit Au-

thority Vv. Beazer, 440 U.S. 568, 583, n. 24 (1979).

16

courts of appeals. Prompt and complete correction of

erroneous instructions is prerequisite to a fair trial, par-

ticularly when the erroneous instructions relate to the bur-

den of proof. The Tenth Circuit’s unexplained departure

from the normal procedure of considering and deciding

claims of error affecting the substantial rights of the parties,

combined with the crucial importance of accurate instruc-

tions on the burden of proof, merits the exercise of this

Court’s supervisory power to grant this petition and re-

verse the decision below. New York Transit Authority v.

Beazer, supra note, at 15.

3. The Decision Below Raises Critical and Recurring Questions

Concerning the Role of Judge and Jary in Employment Dis-

crimination Cases.

AT&T-TI was grossly prejudiced by the unregulated

admission of the plaintiffs’ statistical evidence in this case.

The issue is a broader one, however, that involves the

interplay between the law of employment discrimination as

it has developed in non-jury trials and the traditional role

of the jury in assessing circumstantial evidence. Unwar-

ranted deference to the jury’s role will result, as in this case,

in a jury’s consideration of non-probative statistical evi-

dence unenlightened by guidance or limiting instructions

from the court. Not only is a “detailed scrutiny” required

by the trial judge, it must be a scrutiny informed by the

judicial standards which have developed for consideration

of statistical evidence.

These standards should not differ depending upon

whether the case is tried by a judge or a jury. Uniformity

of decision-making is nowhere more important than in the

application of federal statutes for the enforcement of civil

rights. “The blind use of statistics cannot be permitted to

17

undermine the policies of Congress or erode our decisions

on substantive law.” Proctor & Gamble Manufacturing Co.

v. Fisher, 449 U.S. 1115, 1118 (1981) (Rehnquist, J.,

dissenting from denial of writ of certiorari). Just as a de-

fendant’s rights should not be noticeably different depend-

ing upon the judicial circuit in which his case is heard, so

should his rights not differ because a jury rather than a

judge is the fact-finder.

These same considerations apply to the burden of proof.

If the jury in the instant case followed the trial court’s oral

instructions by making an independent determination of

the sufficiency of the defendant’s stated reasons for its pro-

motion selections, it could well have rendered a verdict for

plaintiffs without consideration of the crucial “factual in-

quiry” of intentional discrimination. See United States

Postal Service Board of Governors v. Aikens, supra, This

is a particular danger because the jurors are unlikely to

have appreciated the legal distinction between “legitimate

reasons” sufficient to satisfy the defendant’s burden of

production and to create a jury issue, and “pretextual rea-

sons” sufficient for the plaintiffs to carry their ultimate

burden of proving liability. The effect of misreading the

instruction was to generate confusion on the very point the

instructions were intended to clarify.

This Court has been at pains to delineate in a series of

cases the precise nature of the order and burden of proof

applicable in employment discrimination cases tried under

Title VII. See, United States Postal Service Board of Gov-

ernors V. Aikens, supra; Texas Department of Community

Affairs v. Burdine, supra; Board of Trustees of Keene State

Teachers College v. Sweeney, 439 U.S. 24 (1978); Mce-

Donnell-Douglas Corp. v. Green, supra. When courts apply

these same standards to jury trials under the ADEA, equal

18

if not greater scrutiny is required io insure that issues are

submitted to juries pursuant to a correct formulation of the

law.

Given the proliferation of jury trials in cases under the

ADEA and 42 U.S.C. § 1981 which mimic Title VII in the

nature and standards of proof, the issues raised by the de-

cision below are significant and likely to recur. Guidance

by this Court is necessary to insure consistency in the appli-

cation of standards of proof in the federal courts.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, a writ of certiorari should be issued to

review the judgment and opinion of the Tenth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

PAUL M. THOMPSON

CHRISTINE H. PERDUE

HUNTON & WILLIAMS

Post Office Box 1535

707 East Main Street

Richmond, Virginia 23212

WILLIAM D. CURLEE

LYTLE, SOULE, CURLEE

HARRINGTON, CHANDLER & VAN DYKE

2210 First National Center

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73102

Counsel for Petitioner

July 16, 1984

19

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Christine H. Perdue, counsel for the Petitioner, and a

member of the Bar of the Supreme Court of the United

States, hereby certify that I have served all parties required

to be served by depositing three copies of the foregoing

Petition for Writ of Certiorari and Appendix thereto in the

United States Mail, first class postage prepaid, this 16th

day of July, 1984, addressed to: Philip F. Horning, Esquire

and James R. Moore, Esquire, Horning, Johnson & Grove,

1800 City National Bank Tower, Oklahoma City, Okla-

homa 73102; and Howard K. Phillips, Clerk, United States

Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit, Denver, Colorado

80294.

CHRISTINE H. PERDUE

Counsel for Petitioner

APPENDIX A

United States Court of Appeals

TENTH CIRCUIT

No. 80-1973

RAYMOND C. BLIM, MORRIS E. KINGHORN,

J. F. VUKASOVIC, RALPH V. OLDHAM,

STANLEY L. BOARTS, EUGENE FIRESTONE,

WALLACE S. REPETTO, and LARRY N. STEWART,

Plaintiffs-A ppellees,

v.

WESTERN ELECTRIC COMPANY, INC.,

Defendant-A ppellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Western District of Oklahoma

(D. C. Civil No. 78-0977-E)

Paul M. Thompson (Christine H. Perdue also of Hunton

& Williams, Richmond, Virginia, and William D. Curlee of

Lytle, Soule, Curlee, Harrington, Chandler & Van Dyke,

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, with him on the brief) for De-

fendant-Appellant.

James R. Moore and Philip F. Horning (Judson M. Fink

with them on the brief) of Horning, Johnson & Grove, Okla-

homa City, Oklahoma, for Plaintiffs-Appellees.

Before SETH, Chief Judge, BREITENSTEIN and LOGAN,

Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM. Filed April 3, 1984

App. 2

Eight individual plaintiffs brought this action against

Western Electric alleging violations of the Age Discrimina-

tion in Employment Act of 1967 (ADEA). Prior to 1974

all eight plaintiffs were section chiefs at Western’s Okla-

homa City office. Due to a reduction in work force during

1974 and 1975 they were demoted to nonsupervisory posi-

tions. Beginning in October 1976, Western began to in-

crease the number of section chiefs through promotions

and repromotions of previously demoted supervisors. No

plaintiff has been repromoted to section chief except Mr.

Kinghorn who was repromoted on March 21, 1979. The

plaintiffs claim that they were not repromoted because of

age discrimination practiced by the defendant.

The jury found for the plaintiffs at trial. By special inter-

rogatory the jury also found that the violations of ADEA

were willful in each instance. The defendant made timely

alternative motions for a new trial and judgment notwith-

standing the verdict. The court denied both motions.

In a separate trial for damages the court entered a judg-

ment for the plaintiffs in the amount of $901,440.78. This

sum included back pay, front pay, a lump sum annuity for

social security losses, damages for lost purchasing power

on back wages, damages for losses due to payment of addi-

ticnal income taxes, and liquidated damages in an amount

equal to each of the enumerated items of damages. Also,

the trial court awarded $175,000 in attorney’s fees.

The defendant appeals on numerous grounds, but we

comment only on the primary issues, which are (1) whether

the plaintiffs’ evidence was properly admitted; (2) whether

the evidence supported the verdict; and (3) whether the

award of damages and attorney’s fees was proper and

reasonable.

The defendant claims that the trial court abused its dis-

App. 3

cretion by admitting into evidence certain reports and testi-

mony. The admission of evidence is discretionary with the

trial court and will not be disturbed on appeal unless ciearly

erroneous. Keen v. Detroit Diesel Allison, 569 F.2d 547

(10th Cir. 1978). There is no indication in the record that

the trial court abused its discretion in admitting the Moore

Report, the Conover Report, the testimony of Gerald Hol-

lingsworth, or the statistical data presented by the plaintiffs’

expert.

The Moore Report is an internal Department of Labor

document that memorialized a conversation between 2 DOL

investigator, G. VanDiver Moore, and the Equal Oppor-

tunity Coordinator at Western Electric, Audrey Burns. The

document concerned the possibility of reconciliation be-

tween the defendant and the plaintiffs. The court properly

admitted the report pursuant to Federal Rules of Evidence

803(6) and 803(8). Audrey Burns testified about the con-

versation and carefully reviewed the document for the jury,

outlining phrases, words, and attitudes with which she did

not agree. There could be some serious doubt as to the

admissibility of the Moore Report had it not been so fully

tested and developed through the testimony of the witness

Burns, the Equai Opportunity coordinator for Western

Electric, who had provided much of the information. This

presented to the jury the source of the information and its

context. The trial court has the discretion of balancing the

prejudicial effect with the probative value. Texas Eastern

Transmission V. Marine Office, Etc., 579 F.2d 561 (10th

Cir. 1978). We find no abuse of discretion.

The Conover Report is a report prepared by the defend-

ant concerning the average age of engineers in the company.

The report considered age to be a factor in unit costs and

productivity. The defendant claims that the evidence was

App. 4

collateral and highly prejudicial. The report was admitted

as evidence of an overall company policy of age discrimina-

tion. The court gave a limiting instruction to-the jury advis-

ing them of the weight to be afforded to the report. The

report was properly admitted. See Texas Eastern Transmis-

sion V. Marine Office, Etc., 579 F.2d 561 (10th Cir. 1978),

and John McShain, Inc. v. Cessna Aircraft Co., 563 F.2d

632 (3d Cir. 1977).

Gerald Hollingsworth was the affirmative action officer

for the defendant during the time of the reduction in force

and the alleged discrimination. He testified that the defend-

ant’s sister company, Southwestern Bell Telephone Com-

pany (SW3), was interested in hiring only younger white

male section chiefs from Western. As a result of SWB’s

request, a number of younger employees were laterally

transferred into SWB, and were therefore not demoted or

terminated in the subsequent reduction in work force at

Western. The defendant claims the evidence is irrelevant

and highly prejudicial. The court denied the defendant’s

objection to the Hollingsworth testimony. The evidence was

offered to show motive for the transfer and the protection

of a particular group. We find no error.

The defendant also claims that plaintiffs’ statistical evi-

dence lacked a sufficient factual foundation. Both the plain-

tiffs and defendant presented statistical data to the jury for

consideration. We find no basis for the assertion that it was

error to admit the evidence. Both parties developed a rea-

sonable basis in the evidence for their respective statistical

studies. The data and the methods were tested on cross-

examination. The objections of the appellant appear to be

directed in large part to the weight to be given the studies.

Whether the evidence supported the plaintiffs’ statistical

conclusions and what weight should be accorded to those

App. 5

statistics are issues for the jury. Laugesen v. Anaconda

Co., 510 F.2d 307, 317 (6th Cir. 1975). Therefore, the

trial court properly admitted the data.

The defendant argues that the trial court erred in deny-

ing its motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict. In

reviewing the evidence under prevailing standards in this

circuit we find no error.

In this ADEA action the plaintiffs must make a prima

facie showing that the defendant’s failure to repromote

them was due to unlawful age discrimination. Then the

burden shifts to the defendant to rebut the presumption of

discrimination by producing evidence that the plaintiffs

were not repromoted for a legitimate, nondiscriminatory

reason. The plaintiffs then have the ultimate burden of per-

suasion by showing that a discriminatory reason more likely

motivated the employer or that the employer’s proffered

explanation is merely a pretext. Texas Department of Com-

munity Affairs vy. Burdine, 450 U.S. 248 (1981); Mistretta

v. Sandia Corp., 649 F.2d 1383 (10th Cir. 1981). The

standards were followed by the trial court and the trial court

correctly instructed the jury.

The plaintiffs presented testimony, statistical data, and

circumstantial evidence tending to prove the defendant’s

discriminatory conduct. The defendant provided statistical

data and testimony from the plaintiffs’ supervisors tending

to prove that the plaintiffs lacked sufficient job performance

records to be promoted. We must conclude that the jury,

considering all the evidence and with all reasonable infer-

ences, could properly find that the defendant failed to

repromote the plaintiffs because of unlawful age discrimina-

tion. Therefore, the trial court properly denied the defend-

ant’s motion for a judgment NOV and motion for a new

trial.

App. 6

The defendant claims the trial court erred by awarding

damages to the plaintiffs in the form of front pay, lost pur-

chasing power, compensation for increased tax liability, an

annuity for lost social security benefits, and liquidated

damages.

The trial court awarded each plaintiff front pay from

the date of judgment to the date of their respective pro-

jected dates of retirement. The amount equalled the differ-

ence between the salary being received at the time the judg-

ment was entered and what each plaintiff would have made

until the assumed retirement dates had they been repro-

moted. The plaintiffs originally requested the equitable

remedy of repromotion to their desired section chief posi-

tions. However, at trial they indicated that they would

prefer front pay damages over repromotion. Apparently all

the plaintiffs except Mr. Kinghorn remain employed at

Western Electric in nonsupervisory positions.

The district court has the equitable power to repromote

the plaintiffs under the ADEA, 29 U.S.C. § 626(b). The

trial court must exercise its discretion in awarding equitable

remedies in light of the objectives of the statute being en-

forced. Hecht Co. v. Bowles, 321 U.S. 321, 331 (1944).

The district court’s decision not to order offers of reinstate-

ment must be measured against the purposes of the ADEA.

Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405, 417 (1975).

The ADEA has a broad purpose of insuring that “older

individuals who desire to work will not be denied employ-

ment opportunities solely on the basis of age.” H.R. Rep.

No. 950, 95th Cong., 2d Sess., reprinted in [1978] U.S.

Code Cong. & Ad. News 504. Therefore, equitable remedies

fashioned by the trial court which further the intent, pur-

pose and language of the ADEA should be upheld.

In EEOC v. Sandia Corp., 639 F.2d 600 (10th Cir.

App. 7

1980), we found that the trial court did not abuse its dis-

cretion by ordering offers of reinstatement even though

some plaintiffs previously stated that they would not accept

reemployment with the defendant. We pointed out that re-

instatement has the dual purpose of protecting the dis-

charged employee and demonstrating the employer’s good

faith to the other employees. EEOC v. Sandia Corp., 639

F.2d 600, 638 (10th Cir. 1980). Although preferences ex-

pressed by the parties may heip the trial court fashion ap-

propriate remedies, the determination of equitable remedies

rests with the court. The court’s judgment should be guided

by sound legal principles. Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody,

422 U.S. 405, 416 (1975).

In Albemarle the Supreme Court pointed out that a dis-

trict court may deny an equitable remedy permitted by a

federal statute if it does not frustrate the central purpose

of that statute. Since the trial court’s decision must be ex-

amined in light of the statute’s intent and purposes, the trial

court should express its reasons for denying the equitable

relief. Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405, 421

(1975),

The only reason stated by the trial court for not repro

moting the plaintiffs was that they preferred damages. The

court said:

“The plaintiffs were ready, willing and able to serve as

Section Chiefs on the dates of the first promotions and

repromotions and have been so up to the present time,

although each at trial expressed a preference for ‘front

pay’ in lieu of reinstatement.”

The ADEA enforcement section, 29 U.S.C. § 626(b),

provides for both equitable and legal remedies.

Assuming, without deciding, that a court may award

front pay under the ADEA, compare Cancellier v. Fed-

App. 8

erated Department Stores, 672 F.2d 1312, 1319 (9th Cir.

1982), cert. denied, 103 S. Ct. 131, with Kolb v. Goldring,

Inc., 694 F.2d 869, 874 n.4 (1st Cir. 1982), we conclude

that the trial court erred in granting front pay in the instant

case. Reinstatement is the preferred remedy under the

ADEA. The focus of the congressional statement of pur-

pose is on the continuing employment of older workers.

See 29 U.S.C. § 621. Thus, reinstatement best serves Con-

gress’ purpose in enacting the ADEA. Furthermore, an

award of front pay is always somewhat speculative. We

therefore hold that courts should order reinstatement under

the ADEA whenever it is an appropriate remedy.

In the instant case, the only reason that the trial court

gave for awarding front pay rather than repromotion is that

plaintiffs preferred damages. Standing alone plaintiffs’ pref-

erence for damages clearly does not justify awarding front

pay rather than reinstatement. Repromotion is particularly

appropriate in the instant case. An atmosphere of hostility

does not appear to exist between plaintiffs and defendant.

All plaintiffs still work for defendant; all have been section

chiefs, the position to which they would be repromoted. The

Western Electric plant where plaintiffs work employs many

section chiefs, and vacancies in that position are frequent.

We hold that the trial court erred in granting front pay in-

stead of reinstatement.

The trial court also erred in granting an award for lost

purchasing power. Prejudgment interest and an award for

lost purchasing power serve the same purpose, and if one

is barred, the other should be barred as well. Saunders v.

Claytor, 629 F.2d 596, 598 (9th Cir. 1980), cert. denied,

450 U.S. 980 (1981); Blake v. Califano, 626 F.2d 891,

895 (D.C. Cir. 1980).

In Brooklyn Bank v. O’Neil, 324 U.S. 697, 715 (1945),

App. 9

the Supreme Court held that prejudgment interest was not

available under the Fair Labor Standards Acts because

liquidated damages, which at that time were mandatory

under the FLSA’, compensated plaintiffs for any delay. The

ADEA incorporates 29 U.S.C. § 216(b), the FLSA pro-

vision for liquidated damages. Liquidated damages are avail-

able under the ADEA, however, only when there is a willful

violation. 29 U.S.C. §626(b). The Ninth Circuit has held

that liquidated damages under the ADEA are therefore

punitive. Kelly v. American Standard, Inc., 640 F.2d 974,

979 (9th Cir. 1981). In a later ADEA case the Ninth Cir-

cuit granted both prejudgment interest and liquidated dam-

ages. Criswell v. Western Airlines, Inc., 709 F.2d 544 (9th

Cir. 1983). The court cited Kelly for the proposition that

“liquidated damages and prejudgment interest serve differ-

ent purposes in making ADEA plaintiffs whole.” Jd. at 556.

We think that the legislative history undercuts that court’s

reasoning. The House Conference Report on the 1978

amendments to the ADEA states, “The ADEA .. . does not

provide remedies of a punitive nature.” H. Conf. Rep. No.

95-950, 95th Cong. 2d Sess. 13, reprinted in 1978 US.

Code Cong. & Ad. News 528, 535. Thus, we agree with

the circuits that still regard Brooklyn Bank as pertinent and

hold that prejudgment interest is not available under the

ADEA if plaintiffs receive liquidated damages. Gibson v.

Mohawk Rubber Co., 695 F.2d 1093, 1102 (8th Cir. 1982)

(plaintiffs not entitled to both prejudgment interest and

liquidated damages absent exceptional circumstances);

Kolb v. Goldring, Inc., 694 F.2d 869, 875 (1st Cir. 1982).

See also Hodgson v. Miller Brewing Co., 457 F.2d 221,

229 (7th Cir. 1972) (both prejudgment interest and liqui-

~- 1A 1947 amendment to the FLSA makes liquidated damages

discretionary in FLSA cases if the employer shows that he acted in

good faith. See 29 U.S.C. § 260.

App. 10

dated damages not available under the FLSA); McClana-

han v. Matthews, 440 F.2d 320, 325-26 (6th Cir. 1971)

(FLSA). Thus, the award for lost purchasing power was

erroneous.

The district court also erred in awarding damages to

plaintiffs for increased tax liability caused by the receipt of

damages in a lump sum. The back pay’ will be paid in a

single year, reported in that year, and taxed at the rates

then in effect. See Driscoll vy. Exxon Corp., 74-1 U.S.T.C.

q 9440 (S.D.N.Y. 1974); Rev. Rul. 78-336, 1978-2 C.B.

255. However, the tax laws contain five-year averaging pro-

visions that will eliminate nearly all of any penalty that

would otherwise result from receipt of a lump sum payment.

See LR.C. §§ 1301-05. We are unsure whether liquidated

damages are taxable,’ but if so the five-year averaging pro-

visions would also apply to these sums. Because plaintiffs

will suffer no significant tax penalty, the court’s award for

increased tax liability was improper.

The trial court also awarded plaintiffs damages for

loss of Bell Systems Savings Plan and social security bene-

fits. Fringe benefits are proper damages under the ADEA.

H. Conf. Rep. No. 95-950, 95th Cong. 2d Sess. 13, re-

printed in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 528, 535.

On appeal defendant makes no argument that the award

for the Bell Systems Savings Plan losses was improper. We

cannot determine whether reinstatement will fully restore

plaintiffs’ social security entitlements. To the extent that

repromotion will nc fully restore: plaintiffs’ entitlements to

2 Back pay is taxable to the plaintiffs and subject to income tax

and social security withholding. Freeman y. Blake Co. 84 F. Supp.

700, 704 (D. Mass. 1949); Rev. Rul. 55-203, 1955-1 C.B. 114.

*’ Amounts paid for liquidated damages and attorney’s fees are

not remuneration for employment and thus not subject to tax with-

holding. Rev. Rul. 80-364, 1980-2 C.B. 294.

=e

App. 11

social security benefits, plaintiffs are entitled to compensa-

tion for their loss.

The ADEA relies on the Fair Labor Standards Act for

computation of liquidated damages. See 29 U.S.C. § 216(b).

That section provides:

“Any employer who violates the provisions of section

206 or section 207 of this title shall be liable to the

employee or employees affected in the amount of their

unpaid minimum wages, or their unpaid overtime com-

pensation, as the case may be, and in an additional

equal amount as liquidated damages.”

Section 626(b) directs courts to substitute “amounts

owing to a person” under the ADEA for “unpaid minimum

wages” and “unpaid overtime compensation” when applying

§ 216(b) to calculate liquidated damages under the ADEA.

The House Conference Report on the 1978 amendments to

the ADEA states that liquidated damages are “calculated

as an amount equal to the pecuniary loss” and cites “wages,

fringes and other job related benefits” as examples of pe-

cuniary loss. H. Conf. Rep. No. 95-950, 95th Cong., 2d

Sess. 13, reprinted in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News

528, 535. Thus, the liquidated damages award should be

equal to the award for back pay and loss of Bell Systems

Savings Plan benefits, and any award for social security

benefits that will not be restored by repromotion.

The defendant claims that the trial court erred in award-

ing attorney’s fees of $175,000. The trial court’s findings

of fact and conclusions of law do not set out its rationale

for the award. The Supreme Court and this Court have

established the criteria for determining reasonable attorney’s

fees. See Blum v. Stenson, 52 U.S.L.W. 4377 (U.S. Mar.

21, 1984); Hensley v. Eckerhart, ... U.S. ..., 103 S. Ct.

1933 (1983); Ramos v. Lamm, 713 F.2d 546 (10th Cir.

App. 12

1983). Since we have changed the award on appeal, the

trial court should reexamine the matter of fees on remand.

The judgment is affirmed in part, reversed in part, and

the case is remanded for further proceedings in accordance

herewith.

80-1973—BLIM v. WESTERN ELECTRIC COMPANY,

INC,

SETH, Chief Judge, concurring and dissenting:

I would decide the issue as to whether “front pay” is a

permissible remedy under the Act as this is the basic issue

presented on appeal. Front pay was awarded by the trial

court, and I would hold that this was not a remedy con-

templated by the ADEA. Kolb v. Goldring, Inc., 694 F.2d

869 (1st Cir.).

It must be recognized that the equitable jurisdiction of

a federal court should be flexibly and broadly construed to

afford complete relief in light of the statutory purposes.

Mitchell v. DeMario Jewelry, 361 U.S. 288. However, such

equitable powers cannot be used to expand or override the

limited legal remedies available under the ADEA. The Con-

gress very clearly distinguishes between the legal and equita-

ble remedies available under the ADEA. See Lorillard v.

Pons, 434 U.S. 575, 583. Allowing front pay runs against

the intent of Congress in limiting legal remedies to “un-

paid wages and unpaid overtime compensation.” The court

should not use its equitable powers to frustrate the intent

of the statute. See Vazquez v. Eastern Air Lines, Inc., 579

F.2d 107 (1st Cir.).

The legal remedies under the ADEA consist of “unpaid

App. 13

minimum wages and unpaid overtime compensation,” thus

“items of pecuniary or economic loss such as wages, fringe,

and other job-related benefits.” H.R. Rep. No. 950, 95th

Cong., 2d Sess., reprinted in [1978] U. S. Code Cong. &

Ad. News 504, 535.

Liquidated damages may be recovered when the violation

is willful. Liquidated damages are designed to compensate

the plaintiff for non-pecuniary losses or highly speculative

pecuniary losses. Liquidated damages are a significant fac-

tor in this analysis of damages.

The front pay damages are too uncertain to be considered

“lost wages” or “lost earned benefits.” The possibilities of

promotions, legitimate demotions, terminations, or death

inject too many unknowns. In these circumstances the award

of front pay is too speculative to be considered pecuniary

damages under the statute. The enforcement section of the

ADEA was specifically constructed to limit the type of avail-

able damages. As mentioned, although the statute grants

broad equitable powers those powers cannot be used to ex-

pand the legal remedies specifically detailed in the statute.

It should be noted that this court has allowed “front pay”

damages in some Title VII discrimination cases. See United

States v. Lee Way Motor Freight, Inc., 625 F.2d 918 (10th

Cir.), and Fitzgerald v. Sirloin Stockade, Inc., 624 F.2d

945 (10th Cir.). Title VII is not the designated statutory

model for damages under the ADEA. In light of the specific

language of the ADEA and the FLSA it is not appropriate

to analogize to Title VII for determination of damages. For

a discussion of the difference between the ADEA and the

FLSA see Lorillard v. Pons, 434 U.S. 575, 584.

I would not decide, as does the majority, that it was error

to award front pay because reinstatement is the “preferred

remedy.” I do not agree that reinstatement should be or-

App. 14

dered “whenever it is an appropriate remedy,” as the ma-

jority states, if this means that such a remedy has some

priority or is preferred, or there is some presumption. The

Act does not create any such priorities and the matter is

best left to the trial court with the usual standard of review.

The trial courts are in a better position to decide whether

reinstatement will accomplish the purposes of the Act. If

there is a choice between “appropriate” remedies the trial

court should make it. We do not know the status of the

parties in the case before us at this late date nor their rela-

tionship with other employees and superiors.

I would thus decide the front pay issue presented to us

on the law and the facts and not decide that something else

is preferred.

As to attorney fees, the analysis and the proof would

seem to be controlled by the Supreme Court’s decision in

Bluz v. Stenson, .... U.S. ...., 52 U.S.L.W. 4377, which

would secin to restrict a multiplication of factors to be con-

sidered.

APPENDIX B

App. 15

United States Bistrirt Cout

WESTERN DISTRICT OF OKLAHOMA

No. CIV-78-0977-E

RAYMOND C. BLIM, MORRIS E. KINGHORN,

J. F. VUKASOVIC, RALPH V. OLDHAM,

STANLEY L. BOARTS, EUGENE FIRESTONE,

WALLACE S. REPETTO, and LARRY N. STEWART,

Plaintiffs,

v.

WESTERN ELECTRIC CO., INC.,

a New York corporation,

Defendant.

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Philip F. Horning, James R. Moore and Linda King

of Horning, Johnson & Grove, 1800 City National Bank

Tower, Oklahoma City, OK 73102, for Plaintiffs.

William D. Curlee of Lytle, Soule & Emery, 2210

First National Center, Oklahoma City, OK 73102, for

Defendant.

Before LUTHER B. EUBANKS, United States District

Judge.

App. 16

BACKGROUND

The above entitled case was bifurcated and the liability

portion came on for trial on March 3, 1980, through March

11, 1980, and was tried to the court and jury, with Philip F.

Horning and James R. Moore appearing as attorneys for

plaintiffs, and William D. Curlee appearing as attorney for

defendant. The jury found the defendant liable to all plain-

tiffs for age discrimination in its verdict of March 11, 1980,

for failure to repromote plaintiffs to Section Chief. By spe-

cial interrogatory, the jury also found said discrimination

willful as to each plaintiff.

On August 13, 1980, through August 15, 1980, the dam-

ages portion of the case was tried to the court, with the

same counsel appearing for the same parties. On August 29,

1980, further evidence was heard with respect to the pension

benefits issue and also with respect to attorney fees, and

further arguments were heard on several legal issues. After

hearing and considering all the evidence of the parties, all

of the legal authorities submitted, and being fully advised

herein, the court now makes the following findings of fact

and conclusions of law with regard to the damages owed by

defendant to plaintiffs.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. At the time of the daimages portion of the trial, each

plaintiff's age, years with the company, time in grade as a

Section Chief prior to demotion, date of demotion from

Section Chief, and percent of control (relating to salary)

at demotion, was as follows:

A. RAYMOND C. BLIM, age fifty-five (55), fifteen (15)

years as a Section Chief, thirty-two (32) years with the

App. 17

company, demoted April 28, 1975, percent of control

102.25.

B. Morris E. KINGHORN, age fifty-four (54), seventeen

(17) years as a Section Chief, thirty (30) years with the

company, demoted April 15, 1975, percent of control

105.56.

C. J. F. VuKASovIc, age fifty-seven (57), fifteen (15)

years as a Section Chief, thirty-nine (39) years with the

company, demoted April 15, 1975, percent of control

107.64.

D. RALPH V. OLDHAM, age sixty-one (61), five (5)

years as a Section Chief, twenty-nine (29) years with the

company, demoted April 28, 1975, percent of control

102.15.

E. STANLEY L. Boarts, age fifty-nine (59), thirteen

(13) years as a Section Chief, twenty (20) years with the

company, demoted April 28, 1975, percent of control

103.33.

F. EUGENE FIRESTONE, age sixty-one (61), nine (9)

years as a Section Chief, thirty-four (34) years with the

company, demoted June 1, 1974, percent of control 104.71.

G. WALLACE E. REPETTO, age fifty-seven (57), five (5)

years as a Section Chief, thirty-four (34) years with the

company, demoted April 1, 1975, percent of control 99.5.

None of the plaintiffs were ever repromoted to Section Chief

except MORRIS E. KINGHORN, who was repromoted on

March 21, 1979, after the commencement of this action,

with his percent of control lowered to 90 percent.

2. Each plaintiff is presently eligible to retire without

penalty from the defendant company with the exception of

plaintiff BOARTS, who will be so eligible in October 1980.

The planned retirement date of each plaintiff is as follows:

App. 18

Plaintiff BLIM, August 26, 1981.

Plaintiff KINGHORN, February 16, 1988.

Plaintiff VUKASOVIC, April 15, 1981.

Plaintiff OLDHAM, March 10, 1981.

Plaintiff BOARTS, March 31, 1981.

Plaintiff FIRESTONE, March 1, 1981.

. Plaintiff REPETTO, June 12, 1981.

. After the demotions of plaintiffs and others, the de-

fendant company began promotions and repromotions to

the level of Section Chief on October 11, 1976, when it

promoted seven (7) employees to Section Chief who had

never held that position previously. Their ages were thirty-

four (34), thirty-four (34), thirty (30), thirty (30), thirty-

eight (38), twenty-nine (29) and thirty (30)—all younger

than KINGHORN, the youngest plaintiff. On that same

day, defendant repromoted five (5) employees who had

previously held the position of Section Chief, four (4) of

whom were younger than KINGHORN.

4. On December 20, 1976, defendant made its next

series of promotions and repromotions to Section Chief

when it promoted six (6) employees who had never held

that position previously. Their ages were thirty-four (34),

thirty-eight (38), forty-three (43), forty-one (41), twenty-

nine (29) and thirty-six (36)—all younger than KING-

HORN. On that same day. defendant repromoted two (2)

employees who had previously been a Section Chief, one (1)

of whom was younger than KINGHORN.

5. The plaintiffs were ready, willing and able to serve as

Section Chiefs on the dates of the first promotions and re-

promotions and have been so up to the present time, al-

though each at trial expressed a preference for “front pay”

in lieu of reinstatement.

OmMMOOW >

od

App. 19

6. The willful discrimination found by the jury com-

menced against plaintiffs on October 11, 1976, and said

date should be used as the “start date” for lost back wages

suffered by the plaintiffs. In calculating lost wages for the

plaintiffs, the percent of control element in the wage calcu-

lation should be that percent of control assigned to each

plaintiff at the time of his demotion. The parties have agreed

as to the point value per job and base constant elements of

the wage calculation for the plaintiffs.

7. Due to the willful age discrimination of the defendant

company, each of the plaintiffs has suffered lost back wages,

lost “front wages,” lost contributions and earnings on the

Bell Systems Savings Plan, lost social security benefits, lost

purchasing power on back wages, and loss in the form of

additional income taxes which will be paid upon the dam-

age award herein due to the bunching of said damages in

the form of income into one taxable period. Said damages

are set out specifically in No. 9 herein.

8. That in addition to the foregoing, the plaintiffs should

be restored to their rightful place with respect to pension

rights with the defendant company, and in this regard it has

been offered by the defendant that in the event this judg-

ment is finally upheld the company volunteers to and urges

this court to allow each plaintiff such pension, if and when

he becomes entitled to start receiving one, as he would have

been awarded had he been restored to the position of Sec-

tion Chief on October 11, 1976, at the percent of control

held by each plaintiff at the time of his original demotion,

and continued in such capacity to the date he became eligi-

ble to start receiving a pension. The court believes that this

remedy is superior to and more accurate than any monetary

award could possibly be and therefore will direct that no

lump sum award be made for loss of pension benefits but

App. 20

that the agreement of the company to make pension pay-

ments as aforesaid be formally ordered.

9. Each plaintiff has suffered damages in the categories

set cut as follows:

Raymond C. Blim

Income Tax

Amount Effect

Lost Wages, until 8/13/80 ...... $ 20,829.12 $ 5,207.28

Lost Wages, from 8/13/80 (without

allowance for inflation) ....... 6,133.03 1,533.26

Loss of participation in Bell System

SOUMNE FUME oc ccc cescocces 859.11 214.78

Loss of Social Security Benefits ... 2,653.46 1,220.59

Loss of purchasing power ........ $ 4,559.86 $ 1,139.97

9,315.88

Income taxes, in addition to those

payable, if amounts had been re-

ceived in the normal course of

a ee 9,315.88

44,350.46

Liquidated damages ............ 44,350.46

| Te ey $ 88,700.92

Stanley L. Boarts

Income Tax

Amount Effect

Lost Wages, until 8/13/80 ...... $ 33,876.66 $ 8,469.17

Lost Wages, from 8/13/80 (without

allowance for inflation) ....... 6,115.84 1,528.96

Loss of participation in Bell System

STs ib 6 Ee Sie cc ceces 1,319.00 329.75

Loss of Social Security Benefits ... 2,230.05 1,025.82

Loss of purchasing power ........ 7,224.44 1,806.11

13,159.81

App. 21

Amount

Income taxes, in addition to those

payable, if amounts had been re-

ceived in the normal course of

RE 6 Cavthahweins bxe ees 13,159.81

63,925.80

Liquidated damages ............ 63,925.80

DE bai xdececeaseal $127,851.60

Eugene Firestone

Amount

Lost Wages, until 8/13/80 ...... $ 28,699.65

Lost Wages, from 8/13/80 (without

allowance for inflation) ....... 4,287.35

Loss of participation in Bell System

PE 6 o's Ss Spee enews e 1,062.26

Loss of Social Security Benefits .. . 641.25

Loss of purchasing power ....... 6,242.97

Income taxes, in addition to those

payable, if amounts had been re-

ceived in the normal course of

SE so arebchee cesaunes 10,368.04

51,301.52

Liquidated damages ............ 51,301.52

SES i kee i040 aeweer $102,603.04

Joseph F. Vukasovic

Amount

Lost Wages, until 8/13/80 ...... $ 29,721.32

Lost Wages, from 8/13/80 (without

allowance for inflation) ....... 5,986.03

Income Tax

Effect

Income Tax

Effect

$ 7,174.91

1,071.84

265.57

294.98

1,560.74

10,368.04

Income Tax

Effect

$ 7,430.33

1,496.51

App. 22

Amount

Loss of participation in Bell Systems

Savings Plan ........0seeeee- 1,217.13

Loss of Social Security Benefits . .. 1,547.91

Loss of purchasing power ....... 6,309.02

Income taxes, in addition to those

payable, if amounts had been re-

ceived in the normal course of

EE. Soa vucuvens cevveees 11,520.42

56,301.83

Liquidated damages ............ 56,301.83

errr rrr rey $112,603.66

Morris E. Kinghorn

Amount

Lost Wages, until 8/13/80 ...... $ 20,830.20

Lost Wages, from 8/13/80 (without

allowance for inflation) ....... 20,091.41

Loss of participation in Bell Systems

Savings Plan ......-.seeeeees 1,540.11

Loss of purchasing power ........ 5,313.99

Income taxes, in addition to those

payable, if amounts had been re-

ceived in the normal course of

eer err rrr rT TT 11,943.43

$ 59,719.14

Liquidated damages .........-.- 59,719.14

coy | rer $119,438.28

Income Tax

Effect

304.28

712.04

1,577.26

11,520.42

Income Tax

Effect

$ 5,207.55

5,022.85

384.53

1,328.50

11,943.43

App. 23

Ralph F. Oldham

Amount

Lost Wages, until 8/13/80 ...... $ 18,568.81

Lost Wages, from 8/13/80 (without

allowance for inflation) ....... 3,298.32

Loss of participation in Bell System

GT nadcnadeseccesyes 716.30

Loss of purchasing power ........ 3,965.73

Income taxes, in addition to those

payable, if amounts had been re-

ceived in the normal course of

| RRR RCL a a Eee 6,637.29

33,186.45

Liquidated damages ............ 33,186.45

bib ex os awn vise 02 $ 66,372.90

Wallace S. Repetto

Amount

Lost Wages, until 8/13/80 ...... $ 27,715.44

Lost Wages, from 8/13/80 (without

allowance for inflation) ....... 8,603.06

Loss of participation in Bell System

SEED Go cA civ eeceess... 974.61

Loss of purchasing power ........ 6,255.04

Income taxes, in addition to those

payable, if amounts had been r-

ceived in the normal course of

SE Se bi Vad Cabos catees. 10,887.04

54,435.19

Liquidated damages ............ 54,435.19

TOTAL

$108,870.38

Income Tax

Effect

$ 4,642.20

824.58

179.08

991.43

6,637.29

Income Tax

Effect

$ 6,928.86

2,150.77

243.65

1,563.76

10,887.04

App. 24

10. The damage amounts reflected above for social

security losses are measured by the costs of annuities which

would provide the plaintiffs monthly benefits equal to the

difference between social security benefits they should have

received upon their retirement absent any discrimination

and social security benefits they will actually receive. These

“costs of annuities” discount to present day value the social

security losses taking into consideration mortality and in-

terest earnable and they contemplate the exhaustion of the

award at the end of plaintiffs’ expected life spans. They are

therefore a proper measure of damages.

11. Each plaintiff is entitled to liquidated damages in

an amount equal to the pecuniary damages set out in No. 9

herein:

A. Back Pay;

B. Front Pay, without any allowance for inflation;

C. Loss of Bell System Savings Plan Benefits;

D. Lost Social Security Benefits;

E. Lost purchasing power; and

F. Additional income taxes.

12. Plaintiffs are also entitled to recover from defendant

reasonable attorney fees and costs for the prosecution of

this action and this court finds that a fair and reasonable

attorney’s fee is One Hundred Seventy-Five Thousand Dol-

lars ($175,000.00).

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. This court has jurisdiction of the parties and the

subject matter of this action under the Age Discrimination

in Employment Act (ADEA) 29 U.S.C. § 621, et seq.

Venue is proper herein.

2. The court concludes that plaintiffs are entitled to re-

App. 25

cover lost back pay in the amounts shown above. Loeb v.

Textron, Inc., 600 F.2d 1003 (1st Cir. 1979); Marshall v.

Arlene Knitwear, Inc., 454 F.Supp. 715 (E.D.N.Y. 1978);

Buchholz v. Symons Mfg. Co., 445 F.Supp. 706 (E.D. Wis.

1978), and Rogers v. Exxon Research & Engineering Co.,

404 F.Supp. 324 (D. N.J. 1975), reversed on other grounds,

550 F.2d 834 (3d Cir. 1977).

3. The court concludes that the plaintiffs are entitled to

recover lost Bell Systems Savings Plan benefits as shown

above. Mistretta v. Sandia Corp., [18 EPD 4 8852] (D.C.

N.M. 1978).

4. The court concludes that the plaintiffs are entitled to

recover lost social security benefits in the amounts shown

above. Mistretta v. Sandia Corp., supra, and Buchholz v.

Symons Mfg. Co., supra.

5. The court concludes that the plaintiffs are entitled to

recover their loss in purchasing power on their back wages

due to the non-speculative and mathematically exact impact

of inflation in the amounts shown above. Steckler v. United

States, 549 F.2d 1372 (10th Cir. 1977), DeWeese v. United

States, 419 F.Supp. 170 (D. Colo. 1976), aff'd, 576 F.2d

802 (10th Cir. 1978), and Rowe v. Revlett, Nos.

76-1097-98 (10th Cir., Aug. 22, 1977).

6. The court concludes that the plaintiffs are entitled to

recover tax loss due to th? bunching of their award for

back compensation into one taxable period in the amounts

shown above. DeWeese v. United States, supra; and United

States v. Sommers, 351 F.2d 354 (10th Cir. 1965).

7. The court concludes that the plaintiffs are entitled to

recover in lieu of reinstatement, “front wages” in the

amounts shown above. Loeb v. Textron, inc., supra; Hill v.

Western Electric, 19 FEP Cases 490 (4th Cir. 1979); and

App. 26

Fitzgerald v. Sirloin Stockade, Inc., No. CIV-77-0467-E

(W.D. Okla.}.

8. The court concludes that the plaintiffs are not entitled

to recover prejudgment interest on their lost back wages.

Brooklyn Bank v. O’Neil, 324 U.S. 697 (1945).

9. The court concludes that the plaintiffs are entitled to

recover liquidated damages due to defendant’s willful dis-

crimination under the ADEA in an amount equal to the

damages they recover for lost back wages, front pay, loss of

Bell Systems Savings Plan contributions, loss of social

security benefits, loss of purchasing power, and loss of addi-

tional taxes due to the bunched income affect. Lorillard v.

Pons, 434 U.S. 575, 98 Sup.Ct. 886, 55 L.Ed.2d 40 (1978);

Loeb v. Textren, Inc., supra; Wehr v. Burroughs Corp.,

22 FEP Cases 994 (3d Cir. 1980); and Fellows v. Medford

Corp., 431 F.Supp. 199 (D. Ore. 1977).

10. The court concludes that the plaintiffs are entitled

to recover their reasonable attorney’s fees and costs in the

prosecution of this action. A reasonable fee is found to be

$175,000.00.

11. Prior to this date the court orally advised counsel

for all parties what its decision would be on the contested

issues raised in the damage feature of this trial, and counsel

agreed to compute the dollar amounts due and attempt to

prepare an agreed judgment reflecting said amounts. This

has now been done and an Order of Judgment approved by

both counsel has been presented to the court and is being

entered of even date herewith.

DATED this 5th day of September, 1980.

United States District Judge

APPENDIX C

App. 27

United States Court of Appeals

TENTH CIRCUIT

MARCH TERM—MAY 8, 1984

No. 80-1973

RAYMOND C. BLIM, MORRIS E. KINGHORN,

J. F. VUKASOVIC, RALPH V. OLDHAM,

STANLEY L. BOARTS, EUGENE FIRESTONE,

WALLACE S. REPETTO and LARRY N. STEWART,

Plaintiffs-A ppellees,

Vv.

WESTERN ELECTRIC, INC., a New York

Corporation,

Defendant-A ppellant.

Before Honorable Oliver Seth, Chief Judge, Honorable

Jean S. Breitenstein, Honorable Robert H. McWilliams,

Honorable James E. Barrett, Honorable William E. Doyle,

Honorable Monroe G. McKay, Honorable James K. Logan,

Honorable Stephanie K. Seymour, Circuit Judges

This matter comes on for consideration of:

A. Appellees’ petition for rehearing filed April 17, 1984;

B. Appellant’s petition for rehearing with suggestion for

rehearing en banc filed April 17, 1984.

Upon consideration whereof, it is ordered:

1. The appellees’ petition for rehearing is denied.

2. The appellant’s petition for rehearing is denied by the

App. 28

panel that rendered the decision sought to be reheard. The

petition for rehearing having been denied by the panel that

rendered the decision sought to be reheard, and no member

of the panel nor judge in regular active service on the Court

having requested that the Court be polled on rehearing

en banc, Rule 35, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure,

the suggestion for rehearing en banc is denied.

3. Appellant complains that the Court never acted on a

motion to supplement the record and correct the appendix.

The motion to supplement and correct is denied by the panel

that rendered the decision in this appeal.

4. Appellant’s petition for renearing informs the Court

that several of the plaintiffs have retired and, hence, cannot

be promoted. It is implicit in our decision that back pay

and other appropriate damages would be paid for the period

prior to repromotion; for those plaintiffs who have retired,

this would mean that they should be paid damages for the

period prior to the retirement. Those claims should be

presented to the District Court on remand.

This order shall be included in the mandate to be issued

to the trial court.

HOWARD K. PHILLIPS, Clerk

ua a

ati

e

8 Ta

Ley

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.