Respondents Brief — Garlock Inc. v. W. L. Gore & Associates, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1984

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

i ee

No. 84-2 2)

IN THE

Supreme Court of the A eing we

October Term, 198 ee sn

—— VA ~

et

sme BB

GARLOCK INC.,

Petitioner,

v.

W. L. GORE & ASSOCIATES, INC.,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

Davin H. Prerrer, Counsel of Record

J. Ropert Damrey

JANET Dore

Morean, Finnecan, Prvz, Fotry & Lez

Counsel For Respondent

345 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10154

(212) 758-4800

Of Counsel:

Joun 8S, CAMPBELL

W.L. Gort & Assoorates, Ivo.

555 Paper Mill Road

Newark, Delaware 19714

August 30, 1984

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

Statement of the Issues Actually Presented by

Garlock’s Petition for Certiorari

1. Should this Court grant certiorari to review the

voluminous record below to determine whether the Court

of Appeals was factually correct in stating that: (a) it did

not set aside as clearly erroneous any probative fact found

by the district court; (b) it did not engage in any inappro-

priate reweighing of evidence; and (c) the record contained

no legally relevant evidence that could have sustained Gar-

lock’s burden of proving patent invalidity?

2. Should this Court grant certiorari to review errors

of substantive patent law committed by the district court,

notwithstanding Garlock’s written concession that they do

not warrant review by this Court?

It

The Parties

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 28.1, Respondent,

W. L. Gore & Associates, Inc., identifies its parent com-

pany, subsidiaries (except wholly owned subsidiaries) and

affiliates as follows: Junkosha Ltd., Japan Gore-Tex Inc.,

and Garg Associates Ltd.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUES ACTUALLY PRE-

SENTED BY GARLOCK’S PETITION FOR

es skniayarrcssunensinnsascvaresaccensess.

a RR

7)

SUMMARY OF REASONS FOR DENYING THE

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT ....................

I. GARLOCK HAS NOT RAISED ANY TRUE

EI PPM cscs cn ssvecasssnssicssscoseesserns-aeseeses

A. Garlock’s Treatment Of Stretch Rate At-

tempts To Perpetuate The District Court’s

ss cavuasesceass

B. In Challenging The Legal Conclusion That

The 390 Patent Claims Were Not Obvious,

Garlock Has Confused Questions Of Law

With Questions Of Fact .....................................

C. Garlock’s Misquotations From Both Opinions

Below Do Not Establish An Erroneous Ap-

plication Of Rule 52(a) .................... eee

D. The District Court’s Holding That The 390

Patent Was Invalid For Anticipation Was

Reversed On Legal, Not Factual Grounds ......

1. The District Court Erroneously Found

Anticipation Based On A Combination Of

rales ais crccarecsirsstpses ovssasnsenovons

PAGE

11

13

16

IV

2. The District Court’s Holding Of Inherency

Was Legally Improper .

E. Garlock’s Reference To The ‘‘ Budd Defense’?

Misstates The Reeord Ai.d Confuses Find-

ings Of Fact With Conclusions Of Law |

1. Garlock’s Argument Is Based On The

False Premise That Budd’s Work Met. The

Patent Claims... eel Sy

2. The Court Of Appeals Properly Decided

The Publie Use Issue .

II. GARLOCK HAS NOT SHOWN THAT THIS

CASE IS PART OF A PATTERN WHERE

THE COURT OF APPEALS HAS ALLEG-

EDLY FAILED TO APPLY RULE 52(a) .

CONCLUSION an LE rs Sea ead t

PAGE

17

19

19

21

26

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE

Cases:

Ackermans v. General Motors Corp., 202 F.2d 642 (4th

Cir.), cert. denied, 345 U.S. 996 (1953) 18

Aro Mfg. Co. v. Convertible Top Replacement Co.,

365 U.S. 336 (1961) ee 14

Baginsky v. United States, 697 F.2d 1070 (Fed. Cir.),

cert, denied, 104 8. Ct. 423 (1983) . 24

Baumgartner v. United States, 322 U.S. 665 (1944) 19

Cantrell v. Wallick, 117 U.S. 689 (1886) | 18

Catalin Corp. of America v. Catalazuli Mfg. Co., 79

F.2d 5938 (2d Cir. 1935) 17

Cathbake Investment Co. v. Fisk Electric Co., Ine.

700 F.2d 654 (11th Cir. 1983) rae Me he rhea 13

Chicago Rawhide Mfg. Co. v. Crane Packing Co. 523

F.2d 452 (7th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 US.

RNIN EAA se DER PENNE SS Sarl Fin ry ot Sa 11, 16

Continental Oil Co. v. Cole, 634 F. 2d 188 (5th Cir.),

cert. denied, 454 U.S. 830 (1891) ................ 21

Corex Corp. v. United States, 524 F.2d 1017 (9th Cir.

1975), cert. denied, 425 U.S. 912 (1976) .............. 13

D.L. Auld Co. v. Chroma Graphics Corp., 714 F.2d

Sah ted Cie, MON... 21

Diamond Rubber Co. v. Consolidated Rubber Tire Co.,

re I I 2 uae 15, 19

Dual Mfg. & Engineering, Inc. v. Burris Industries,

Inc., 619 F.2d 660 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 449

Re a NS fini reset ee ee 11, 16

Ellipse Corp. v. Ford Motor Co., 452 F.2d 163 (7th

Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 406 U.S. 948 (1972) .... 10

Firestone v. Aluminum Co. of America, 285 F.2d 928

es Se ee er ean ene unket ea Stents eat 20

Fromberg, Inc. v. Thornhill, 315 F.2d 407 (5th Cir.

1963)

Vi

PAGE

Gillman v. Stern, 114 F.2d 28 (2d Cir. 1940), cert.

denied, 311 U.S. 718 (1941) 21, 22

Graham vy. John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1 (1966) 12

In re Hughes, 345 F.2d 184 (C.C.P.A. 1965) 18

Hughes Aireraft Co. v. United States, 717 F.2d 1351

(Fed. Cir. 1983) | 25

Imhaeuser v. Buerk, 101 U.S. 647 (1880) 20

Inwood Laboratories, Ine. v. Ives Laboratories, Ine.,

456 U.S. 844 (1982 27

Jones v. Hardy, 727 F.2d 1524 (Fed. Cir. 1983) 25

In re Marshall, 578 F.2d 301 (C.C.P.A. 1978) 20

In re Moore, 489 F.2d 1282 (C.C.P.A. 1971) 9

In re Mott, 589 F.2d 1291 (C.C.P.A. 1976) iis )

Paeco, Inc. v. Applied Moldings, Inec., 562 F.2d 870

(3d Cir. 1977) ... ee

Pullman-Standard v. Swint, 456 US S. 973 (1982). 3, passim

RCA Corp. v. Applied Digital Data Systems, Inc., 730

F.2d 1440 (Fed. Cir. 1984) ..... ‘ 25

Rohm and Haas Co. v. Crystal Chemical Co., 729 F.2d

1556 (Fed. Cir. 1983) MeaDinN deieete x Peiteeeceaaks 24

Santa Fe-Pomeroy, Inc. v. P&Z Co., 569 F.2d 1084

(9th Cir. 1978) . EL A DRC NT OE Ne 17

Sarkisian v. Winn- Proof Corp., 688 F.2d 647 (9th Cir.

1982), cert. denied, 103 S. Ct. 1499 (1983) ..........11, 16

Simmons Fastner Corp. v. Illinois Tool Works, Ine,

No. 83-1084 (Fed. Cir. July 31, 1984) 200000... 12

Stamicarbon N.V. v. Chemical Construction Corp., 544

ee ee Ge CO, PD ood oo cane 17

Stratoflex, Inc. v. Aeroquip Corp., 713 F.2d 1530 (Fed.

Cir. 1983) ......... Re RO ets i TAT lees 12

a: eee ee

Vit

PAGE

TP Laboratories, Ine. v. Professional Positioners,

Ine., 724 F.2d 965 (Fed. Cir, 1984) ; 24

Tee-Pak, Ine. v. St. Regis Paper Co., 491 F.2d 1193

NE MPs WIE scsi sicaseeecislis ccanean>rdicetons cy ce

Topliff v. Topliff, 145 U.S. 1 56 (1892) | 20

In re Turlay, 304 F.2d 893 (C.C.P.A. 1962) ........ 18

Union Carbide Corp. v. American Can Co., 724 F.2d

1567 (Fed. Cir. 1984) ............. iapheoeretey SS

United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39 (1966) caaeetty

United States v. Mississippi Valley Generating Co.,

MI SN nc ro chckzoerssravncdeensaesbasesseciavscsasen 13

Western State Machine Co. v. S.S. Hepworth Co., 147

F.2d 345 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 325 U.S. 873

CD RIT oF a EC Dal RR en DP Lp pes Ie aD Oe 10

White v. Jeffre ey ; Mining Machinery Co., 723 F.2d 1553

(Fed. Cir. 19838) | Reet rn ae

White Consolidated Industries, Inc. v. , Vega Servo-

Control, Inc., 713 F.2d 788 (Fed. Cir. 1983) ........ i)

Statutes:

SL ener

I osc, cco ne- -oaveaneronbenys on trscmncsoconsieiee 3, passim

we Uden SEES ............0..: Sie taialeatateaei dae 3, passim

Ss kee dd ae sana oh ae

Rules and Regulations:

I, I I ons cscasesossusancepdenendasaboonsiucs re

Ne I I TI oo ccssdv an ssescecesnntnapanvenhiphononnsend 3, passim

Other Authorities:

a I cs. cndecsaishaacladscaledhessaieceains 18

Federal Judicial Workload Statistics (March 31,

1984)

No. 84-2

IN THE

Suprene Court of the United States

October Term, 1984

GarLock Inc.,

Petitioner,

v.

W. L. Gort & Assoctatess, Ine.,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

A fp em

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

Statement of the Case

The two patents in suit relate to the processing of poly-

tetrafluoroethylene (‘‘PTFE’’), a known material which

DuPont seils under its trademark Terton. U.S. Patent

No. 3,953,566 (the ‘‘566 patent’’) is based on Dr. Robert

W. Gore’s discovery that by stretching highly crystalline

PTFE rapidly, at elevated temperatures, it can be stretched

to many times its original length to form porous, high

strength products, even though that same heated material

breaks after being stretched a short distance, when it is

stretched slowly. U.S. Patent No. 4,187,390 (the ‘390

2

patent’’) is directed to new PTFE products whieh are

highly porous but, nevertheless, have the strength required

to make them commercially useful. These products also

possess the conflicting properties of being both breathable

and waterproof. No other material ever had this combina

tion of properties.

Respondent, W. L. Gore & Associates, Ine. (‘*Gore*’),

makes and sells the patented breathable-waterproof fabric

under its trademark Gore-Tex for use in outerwear

such as shoes, boots, gloves, jackets and raincoats. The

patented Gore-Tex product has also been used exten

sively as a replacement artery in human legs. Prior to Dr.

Gore’s invention, the only alternative for many patients

suffering from advanced atherosclerosis was leg amputa

tion or slow death from gangrene. Since 1976 more than

300,000 persons have received Gore-Tex replacement ar

teries. The product of the invention has been ealled ‘*the

nost important synthetic material presently existing in

vascular surgery.’’ The product of Dr. Gore's invention

has also been used as a pateh for the human heart and to

make the space suits for the shuttle astronauts. Annual

sales of the patented products execed sixty million dollars.

The two major sources of PTFE raw material, DuPont

and ICI, both paid tribute to Dr. Gore’s invention. ICI

referred to the patented Gore-Tex product as ‘‘magical’’

and ‘‘bewitching’’ while DuPont called it a ‘‘remarkable

new material’* that ‘‘differs from other processed forms

’. , . **

of ‘ Tefion’.

Petitioner, Garlock Inc., began making its infringing

product, Piastotoy, after receiving a request from a cus-

a

tomer for a material which could be substituted for Gong

Tex film, and after studying the 566 patent in suit. Gar

sé

lock advertises its PLAsroLon as ‘fa new form’’ of PTFE

and as ‘fa versatile new material which provides new orders

of performance for consumer, industrial, medical and eclee

trical applications.’’ Garlock’s customer advertises its in

fringing outerwear fabric made with PLAsToLoN as ‘fa new

dimension in rainproof/breathable fabries’’?’ and as a

‘‘super fabric.’’

In its Memorandum of Opinion, following a non-jury

trial, the district court dismissed Garlock’s fraud charges

but held all claims of both patents invalid for anticipation

under 35 U.S.C. 6102, for obviousness under 35 U.S.C. ©1038,

and for indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 6112.

The Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit affirmed

in part and reversed in part. Expressly applying the

clearly erroneous standard of Fed. R. Civ. P. 52(a), the

Court of Appeals affirmed those portions of the district

court’s judgment holding claims 1 and 17 of the 566 patent

invalid and dismissing Garlock’s charges of fraud (A-10,

A-15, A-29).* The Court of Appeals reversed as to other

claims of the patents in suit because ‘‘ dispositive legal error

occurred in the interpretation and application of the patent

statute’’ (A-7).

The Court of Appeals expressly recognized the applica-

bility of both Rule 52(a) and Pullman-Standard vy. Swint,

* See, eg., A-9: “Gore does not... point to any basis on which

the district court’s findings must be held to have been clearly errone-

ous... We are not at liberty, of course, to substitute our own for the

district court’s findings underlying its conclusion that claim 1 ts

invalid.”

4

456 U.S. 273 (1982) in the seetion of its opinion headed

‘Standard of Review'’ (A-7). It determined, however, that

the district court had committed numerous legal errors,

often compounding error upon error in reaching its conelu-

sions. Beeause of these errors, the distriet court made

many fact findings that were either legally irrelevant to the

ultimate issues being decided, or were based upon legally

irrelevant evidence. Consequently, although reversing, the

Court of Appeals ruled that it was unnecessary to set aside

as clearly erroneous any probative fact found by the district

court.*

The Court of Appeals did not set aside any findings of

fact which were based on legally relevant evidence and did

not engage in any reweighing of the evidence. The Court

of Appeals did, however, reverse erroneous legal conelu-

sions of the district court and highlighted the complete ab

sence from the record of legally relevant evidence capable

of overcoming the statutory presumption of patent validity.

° Ae? as amended by A-42. In the appendix to its petition

Garlock did not print the full text of this portion of the final opinion

of the Court of Appeals. We do so below:

Where, as here, dispositive legal error occurred in interpretation

and application of the patent statute, 35 U.S.C., the parties’

arguments relating to the salutory injunction of Fed. Rule Civ.

P. 32(a) cannot be controlling on ill issues. Findings that

“rest on an erroneous view of the law may be set aside on that

basis”, Pullman-Standard v. Swint, 456 U.S. 273 (1982). Thus

it is ummecessary here to set aside any probative fact found by

the district court on the basis of its being clearly erroneous or

¢ in what would be an inappropriate reweighing of the

aed

=)

dy

eee ee a ee ee

Pw et ae

Summary of Reasons for Denying the Writ

In its petition, Garlock contends that the Court of Ap-

peals for the Federal Cireuit is a renegade court which re-

verses indiscriminately without regard to Fed. R. Civ. P.

52(a). In truth, Garlock seeks to overturn numerous set-

tled legal principles in the guise of a Rule 52(a) attack.

In this case the Court of Appeals applied Rule 52(a). It

set aside none of the district court’s findings as clearly

erroneous. It did not reweigh any conflicting evidence.

Thus, it affirmed the district court’s holding that claim 1 of

the 566 patent was invalid because anticipated and that

claim 17 was invalid because obvious (A-10, A-15). It re-

fused to set aside the district court’s factual findings, which

were not shown to be clearly erroneous, stating: ‘‘We are

not at liberty, of course, to substitute our own for the dis-

trict court’s finding underlying its conclusion that claim 1

is invalid’’ (A-9). Similarly, in affirming the district court’s

holding that no fraud had been committed, the Court of

Appeals determined that the correct legal standard had been

applied and invoked Rule 52(a) stating: ‘‘No basis exists

for our overturning that finding’’ (A-29).

When the Court of Appeals did reverse, it did so because

the district court had used the wrong legal standards and,

when the proper legal standards were app ed, only one

conclusion was possible, i.e. that Garlock had not sustained

its burden of proof. In reversing, the Court of Appeals

expressly relied on, cited to and quoted from Pullman-Stan-

dard v. Swint, 456 U.S. 273 (1982). That case holds that

where a district court’s findings rest on an erroneous view

6

of the law, they may be set aside on that basis. It further

holds that where the reeord permits only one resolution of

the issue, remand to the district court for new findings is

unnecessary,

Garlock says it seeks review because the Court of Ap

peals failed to apply Rule 52(a). In reality, Garlock is

asking this Court to sanction and reinstate the district

court’s numerous legal errors, errors which the Court of

Appeals properly corrected. And yet, Garlock’s petition

expressly acknowledges that the legal issues decided by the

Court of Appeals do not ‘present questions warranting

cortiorari®’ (p.4, n.1). A brief review of the five issues

raised by Garlock demonstrates that they do not involve any

violation of Rule 52(a).

(1) It is settled that the correct legal test under 35

C.S.C. $112 is whether a patent would have been understood

by a person skilled in the relevant art at the time the patent

was applied for. The district court held the patents in suit

invalid because it concluded that they would not have been

understood by the public at the time of trial. The Court of

Appeals reversed because there was no record evidence

which would support a holding of indefiniteness when the

proper legal test was applied.

(2) It is settled that whether a patented invention is or

is not obvious under 35 U.S.C. $103 is an issue of law freely

reviewable as such on appeal. In reviewing such an issue

of law an appellate court is not ‘‘second guessing’’ the dis-

rict court when it decides to give more weight than the

wnt

district court did to certain undisputed but legally relevant

OY SAPO dee.

Wa Ae ae mh ote Rah Wo se

.

7

(3) It is settled that in assessing the obviousness of a

patent claim, all requirements of the claim must be con-

sidered, i.e. the invention must be viewed ‘fas a whole.’’ 35

U.S.C. §103. The district court erroneously focused on only

one requirement, calling it the ‘‘thrust’’ of the invention,

while ignoring other requirements of the claims. The Court

of Appeals properly held this to be an error of law requiring

reversal,

(4) It is settled that to establish ‘‘anticipation’’ by

arlier literature, all features of the claimed invention must

be disclosed in a single patent or publication. It is equally

settled that if any claimed feature is not explicitly described

in an earlier patent or publication, its allegedly inherent

presence must be proved to a legal certainty. The district

court found ‘‘anticipation,”’

not in a single patent, but in

the combination of fwo patents. This was a clear error of

law. The district court compounded its error by miscon-

struing the quantum of proof legally required to prove

inherency.

(5) It is settled that to constitute an ‘‘anticipation,’’ a

prior public use must meet all requirements of the patent

claims. The district court improperly focused on only one

of many claim requirements, calling it the ‘‘@hrust’’ of the

invention, and found all claims of the 566 patent ‘‘antici-

pated’’ by work performed at the Budd Company. Since

there was a complete lack of proof that other claim require-

ments were met by the Budd work, the Court of Appeals

properly reversed. The reversal was entirely consistent

with Garlock’s admission in writing before the Court of

Appeals that the ‘‘Budd defense’’ did not apply to the only

claims at issue here.

8

To summarize, the Court of Appeals did not reweigh

conflicting evidence or ‘second guess”’ fact findings made

by the district court. The Court of Appeals reversed be-

eause the district court made numerous legally erroneous

rulings. Since Garlock admits that the legal tssues decided

by the Court of Appeals do not warrant review by this

Court, this petition presents no basis for a writ of certiorari

and should be denied.

Reasons for Denying the Writ

I. GARLOCK HAS NOT RAISED ANY TRUE

RULE 52(a) ISSUES

In its petition Garlock sharply attacks the Court of

Appeals and its Chief Judge, the author of the opinion

below, accusing them of a pattern of wholesale judicial mis-

conduct in allegedly violating Fed. R. Civ. P. 52(a). When

stripped of acid remarks, seattershot generalizations and

complaints about other cases, Garlock’s petition identifies

only five specific points of contention. But, as we now show,

no violation of Rule 52(a) is involved in any of the five

points raised by Garlock.

A. Garlock’s Treatment Of Stretch Rate Attempts

To Perpetuate The District Court’s Errors Of Law

At pages 9-10 of its petition, Garlock criticizes the Court

of Appeals’ treatment of the term ‘‘stretch rate.’’ The

district court found that term indefinite, thereby invalidat-

ing the claims of the 566 patent under 35 U.S.C. $112. Gar-

lock incorrectly accuses the Court of Appeals of reweighing

the evidence and of making findings of fact contrary to

those of the district court.

9

In reaching its legal conélusion that the patent claims

were invalid for indefiniteness, the distriet court relied en

an erroneous legal interpretation of 35 U.S.C. §112. As a

result, its fact findings were based on evidence that was

legally irrelevant. The Court of Appeals so held.

The [district court’s] findings rest on a misinterpreta-

tion of §112, its funetion and purpose. The district

court considered whether certain terms would have been

enabling to the public and looked to formula develop-

ments and publications oceurring well after Dr. Gore’s

filing date in reaching its conclusions under 4112.

Patents, however, are written to enable those skilled in

the art to practice the invention, not the public, ...

and §112 speaks as of the application filing date, not as

of the time of trial. (A-25)

At page 10 of its petition Garlock refers to various

‘*‘mathematical formulae’’ relied on by the district court as

a basis for invalidation. But each of those formulae was

promulgated after May 21, 1970, when Dr. Gore filed his

patent application. The Court of Appeals held that, under

the established law, the patentee’s ‘‘disclosure must be

examined for §112 compliance in light of knowledge extant

on his application filing date’’ and, therefore, ‘‘subsequently

developed and therefore irrelevant formulae cannot be

used’’ (A-26).*

* See, e.g., White Consolidated Industries, Inc. v. Vega Servo-

Control, Inc., 713 F.2d 788, 791 (Fed. Cir. 1983) ; In re Mott, 539

F.2d 1291, 1296 (C.C.P.A. 1976); In re Moore, 439 F.2d 1232,

1235 (C.C.P.A. 1971). Although the critical date was May 21,

1970, the district court relied on DX 1098, a handwritten document

authored by Gore statistician Mehta in 1972 (A-85); a Gore 1981

Japanese patent (A-86; DX 1096) and a 1972 Schlemmer patent

(A-86; DX 1103). Gore had seasonably objected at trial to use

of this evidence and had briefed the issue extensively on appeal.

10

After disposing of this legally irrelevant evidence, and

after a ‘‘careful time-consuming study of all exhibits and

each page of the reeord’’ (A-6), the Court of Appeals con-

cluded that the reeord contained *‘no evidence’’ which would

support a holding that the patents violated 35 U.S.C. $112:

There was no evidenee and no finding that those skilled

in the art would have found the specification non-enabl-

ing or the claim language indefinite on May 21, 1970,

when the application whieh resulted in issuance of Dr.

Gore’s patent was filed. (A-26)*

Because the record contained no legally relevant evi-

dence that could support a finding of indefiniteness, a re-

mand to the district court for new findings was neither

necessary nor proper. Pullman-Standard vy. Swint, 456 U.S.

273, 292 (1982) (A remand is unnecessary where ‘‘the

record permits only one resolution of the factual issue’’).**

* Garlock’s references to Dr. Armstrong’s testimony are unavail-

ing. His testimony was legally irrelevant and therefore was properly

disregarded. He testified that the patent language was indefinite

to him in 1982, based at least in part on his consideration of the

patent in 1982 in light of post-1970 documents. The fact that Arm-

strong was still in school in 1970 confirmed his lack of knowledge of

how the patents in suit would have been interpreted by those skilled

in this art in 1970. The references in Garlock’s petition to polymer

rheologists are likewise irrelevant. There was never a finding or

evidence that the patents in suit are addressed to polymer rheologists.

** The Court of Appeals did discuss the testimony adduced by

Gore, which conformed to the correct legal standard, and contrasted

that with the lack of any contrary legally relevant evidence from

Garlock. But because the patents are presumed valid under 35 U.S.C.

§282, the burden of proving invalidity due to indefiniteness rested

on Garlock. Ellipse Corp. v. Ford Motor Co., 452 F.2d 163, 170

(7th Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 406 U.S. 948 (1972); Western State

Machine Co. v. S.S. Hepworth Co., 147 F.2d 345, 350 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 325 U.S. 873 (1945). Garlock’s failure to adduce any

legally relevant evidence of indefiniteness by itself required reversal.

ee ed

11

B. In Challenging The Legal Conclusion That

The 390 Patent Claims Were Not Obvious,

Garlock Has Confused Questions Of Law

With Questions Of Fact

At page 13 of its petition, Garlock criticizes the Court

of Appeals for reversing the district court’s holding that

the 3590 patent claims were obvious under 35 U.S.C.

§105. Garlock accuses the Court of giving too much weight

to evidence of ‘‘commercial suecess,’’ and for stating that

‘it as reasonable to conclude that the claimed products

would not have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in

the art at the time the claimed inventions were made’’

(A-24; emphasis Garlock’s).

Garlock’s petition displays a fundamental misunder-

standing of basic patent law. Obviousness under 35 U.S.C.

§103 is not a question of fact subject to the clearly erroneous

rule. It is a question of law freely reviewable as such on

appeal.

[T]he issue of obviousness raises a question of law and,

therefore, we are free to disagree with the district court

even if we cannot brand his conclusion as clearly erro-

neous. Chicago Rawhide Mfg. Co. v. Crane Packing

Co., 523 F.2d 452, 460 (7th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423

U.S. 1091 (1976).

* * *

{T]his court reviews the issue of obviousness as one of

law on which it must exercise independent judgment.

Union Carbide Corp. v. American Can Co., 724 F.2d

1567, 1573 (Fed. Cir. 1984).*

In deciding whether an invention is or is not obvious

under 35 U.S.C. §103, a district court is required to make

* Accord, Sarkisian v. Winn-Proof Corp., 688 F.2d 647, 650-51

(9th Cir. 1982) (en banc), cert. denied, 103 S. Ct. 1499 (1983) ;

Dual Mfg. & Engineering, Inc. v. Burris Industries, Inc., 619 F.2d

660, 663 (7th Cir.) (en banc), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 870 (1980).

12

certain underlying findings of fact as to the scope and con-

tent of the prior art, the level of ordinary skill in the art,

the differences between the prior art and the claimed inven-

tion and such ‘‘secondary considerations’’ as commercial

success, satisfaction of a long-felt need, ete. Graham v.

John Deere Co., 383 U.S. 1, 17 (1966).* Those findings are

reviewable under the clearly erroneous standard. There-

after, a legal conclusion must be reached on the issue of

obviousness. Stratoflex, Inc. v. Aeroquip Corp., 713 F.2d

1530, 1535 (Fed. Cir. 1983).

In reaching its legal conclusion that the 390 patent was

invalid for obviousness, the district court failed to take into

account the ‘‘strong showing of objective evidence of non-

obviousness here present’’ (A-23). This, the Court of

Appeals held, was legal error:

That approach was error. All evidence bearing on

the issue of obviousness, as with any other issue raised

in the conduct of the judicial process, must be consid-

ered and evaluated before the required legal conclusion

is reached (emphasis in original). (Jd.)

Had there been a factual dispute as to the ‘‘objective

evidence of non-obviousness,’’ ie. whether the invention

satisfied a long-felt need, was commercially successful, pro-

ceeded contrary to the conventional wisdom and was greeted

with initial skepticism by experts in the art, a remand to the

district court to resolve disputed factual issues might have

* See Simmons Fastner Corp. v. Illinois Tool Works, Inc., No. 83-

1084, slip op. at 5 (Fed. Cir. July 31, 1984) :

The section 103 test of nonobviousness set forth in Graham

is a four part inquiry comprising, not only the three familiar

elements (scope and content of the prior art, differences between

the prior art and the claims at issue, and level of ordinary skill in

the pertinent art), but also evidence of secondary considerations

when such evidence is, of course, present.

sia:

cee ree eee WSS te neers) ree See emg

ae ee eee

13

been considered. Here there was no dispute. The Court of

Appeals expressly noted, based on its study of the entire

record, that each of these points was ‘‘undisputed’’ (A-3).

Under these circumstances, once it reversed the district

court’s legal conclusion of obviousness, the Court of Ap-

peals was entirely free to substitute its own legal conclu-

sion giving the undisputed facts such weight as it deemed

necessary. United States v. Mississippi Valley Generating

Co., 346 U.S. 520, 526 (1961); Cathbake Investment Co.

v. Fisk Electric Co., Inc., 700 F.2d 654, 656 (11th Cir.

1983) ; Corex Corp. v. United States, 524 F.2d 1017, 1019-20

(9th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 425 U.S. 912 (1976). And in

doing so, the Court of Appeals was not ‘‘second guessing”’

the district court.

C. Garlock’s Misquotations From Both Opinions

Below Do Not Establish An _ Erroneous

Application Of Rule 52(a)

At page 14 of its petition, Garlock has juxtaposed trun-

cated phrases, taken out of context from the opinions below,

and has interspersed its own editorial comments. In doing

so, Garlock has effectively misrepresented the relevant por-

tions of both opinions. Garlock has also mischaracterized

the reason for the Court of Appeals’ reversal of the district

court’s legal conclusion that claims 3 and 19 of the 566

patent were obvious under 35 U.S.C. §103.

Contrary to what Garlock says, the Court of Appeals

did not hold that stretching rapidly was, or was not, the

accepted wisdom of the prior art. Nor did the district court

hold, as Garlock says, that stretching rapidly, i.e. above 10

percent per second, was the accepted wisdom of the prior

art. Moreover, Garlock is incorrect when it asserts that

this alleged factual dispute was the reason for the reversal.

14

The district court concluded that stretching at a rate

above 10 percent per second was within the ability of one of

ordinary skill in the art (A-78, A-79). The Court of Ap-

peals did not comment on that conclusion. Rather, in dis-

cussing Dr. Gore’s invention, the Court of Appeals recog-

nized that Dr. Gore had combined three normally antitheti-

cal conditions to create a process that, in its totality, pro-

ceeded contrary to the conventional wisdom:

On the entire record and in view of all the references,

each in its entirety, it is clear that a person of ordinary

skill confronted with a PTFE tape breakage problem

would have either slowed the rate of stretching or in-

creased the temperature to decrease the crystallinity.

Dr. Gore did neither. He proceeded contrary to the

accepted wisdom of the prior art by dramatically in-

creasing the rate and length of stretch and retaining

crystallinity (emphasis in original). (A-17)

The issue addressed by the Ceurt of Appeals was not

whether one could stretch rapidly, which is what the district

court referred to as the ‘‘thrust’’ of the invention (A-53).*

Instead, the Court of Appeals considered the claimed inven-

tion ‘‘as a whole.’’ 35 U.S.C. §103. It determined the legal

import of the undisputed evidence that the prior art taught:

(1) that there was a limit on the amount of stretch; (2) that

crystallinity had to be reduced or eliminated before stretch-

ing rapidly; and (3) that to stretch further, one had to de-

crease, rather than increase, the rate of stretch. That Dr.

Gore’s process invention in its totality proceeded contrary

to this conventional wisdom was correctly held by the Court

of Appeals to be ‘‘strong evidence of non-obviousness,”’

citing United States v. Adams, 383 U.S. 39 (1966) (A-17).

* This was directly contrary to Aro Mfg. Co. v. Convertible Top

Replacement Co., 365 U.S. 336, 345 (1961), holding that there is

“no legally recognizable or protected ‘essential’ element, ‘gist’ or

‘heart’ of the invention.”

ee

15

This, though, was only one basis for partially reversing

the district court’s judgment holding the claims of the 566

patent invalid for obviousness. The Court of Appeals

pointed to a series of legal errors in the district court’s

opinion, any one of which would have justified a reversal.

These errors of law included: (1) the failure to take into

account the undisputed evidence that PTFE was considered

unique, unpredictable, ‘‘swi generis’’ and not responsive to

conventional plastics processing techniques (A-13 to A-15) ;

(2) the failure to consider the prior art references in their

entireties, ‘‘i.e. in disregarding disclosures in the references

that diverge from and teach away from the invention at

hand’’ (A-13); (38) ‘‘considering claims in less than their

entireties’’ (A-13); (4) ignoring the legal requirement that

before the teachings of references may be combined, ‘‘there

must have been something present in those teachings to

suggest’”’ the combination (A-15, A-18); (5) ‘‘error in vis-

ualizing the burden of proof on obviousness’’ (.A-19); (6)

error in falling ‘‘victim to the insidious effect of a hindsight

syndrome wherein that which only the inventor taught is

used against its teacher’’ (A-18) ;* and (7) ‘‘error in spe-

cifically declining to consider the objective evidence of non-

obviousness’’ (A-19).

Given these numerous legal errors, which are here un-

challenged by Garlock, reversal of the district court’s hold-

* Cf. Diamond Rubber Co. v. Consolidated Rubber Tire Ce., 220

U.S. 428, 435 (1911):

Knowledge after the event is always easy, and problems once

solved present no difficulties, indeed, may be represented as

never having had any, and expert witnesses may be brought

forward to show that the new thing which seemed to have eluded

the search of the world was always ready at hand and easy to

be en by a merely skillful attention. But the law has other

tests of the invention than subtle conjectures of what might have

been seen and yet was not.

16

ing of obviousness was not only justified, it was required.

Since obviousness is a legal conclusion, no remand was

necessary. The Court of Appeals was free to substitute its

own legal conclusion of non-obviousness, as it did.*

D. The District Court’s Holding That The 390

Patent Was Invalid For Anticipation Was

Reversed On Legal, Not Factual Grounds

1. The District Court Erroneously Found Anticipation

Based On A Combination of References

At page 11 of its petition, Garlock assumes that the

district court held the claims of the 390 patent anticipated

by cach of the earlier Smith and Sumitomo patents. A

plain reading of the district court’s opinion does not sup-

port Garlock’s view.

The claims of the 390 patent contain several require-

ments describing the products of that invention. The claims

require both that the products have a microstructure of

‘‘nodes interconnected by fibrils’’ and that the products

have high strength. In holding the 390 patent claims

invalid for anticipation, the district court combined the

teachings of the Smith and Sumitomo patents to form a

composite anticipation. As stated by the district court:

|[Tljhe court finds the invention claimed in the 390

patent anticipated ... because (1) the ‘‘nodes inter-

* Sec, eg. Umion Carbide Corp. v. American Can Co., 724

F.2d 1567, 1573 (Fed. Cir. 1984); Sarkisian v. WWinn-Proof Corp.,

O88 F.2d 647, 650-51 (9th Cir. 1982) (en banc), cert. denied, 103

S. Ct. 1499 (1983): Dual Mig. & Engineering, Inc. v. Burris In-

dustries, Inc., 619 F.2d 660, 663 (7th Cir.) (en banc). cert. denicd,

449 U.S. 870 (1980); Chicago Rawhide Mfg. Co. v. Crane Packing

Co., 523 F.2d 452, 460 (7th Cir. 1975 ), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1091

17

99

connected by fibrils’’ microstructure is an inherent

characteristic ... as taught by the Smith patent; and

(2) the high strength PTFE products... are inherent

in the examples taught by the Sumitomo patent... .

Therefore, the Court holds the 39U patent invalid.

(A-69)

The Court of Appeals reversed, holding that as a matter

of law anticipation does not exist unless all of the claim

requirements are found in a single prior art reference:

Anticipation requires the disclosure in a single prior

art reference of each element of the claim under con-

sideration. (A-20)

In reversing, the Court of Appeals applied established

legal principles.*

2. The District Court’s Holding Of Inherency

Was Legally Improper

The Court of Appeals also noted the legal errors com-

mitted by the district court in finding the strength and

structure claimed in the 390 patent ‘‘inherent’’ in the

Sumitomo and Smith patents respectively.** It is settled

that to establish ‘‘inherency’’ more is rceyuired than proof

that something is possible or even probable. Inherency

requires proof that ‘‘it must invariably happen.’’t

* See, e.g., Santa Fe-Pomeroy, Inc. v. P&Z Co., 569 F.2d 1084,

1094 (9th Cir. 1978); Paeco, Inc. v. Applied Moldings, Inc., 562

F.2d 870, 875 (3d Cir. 1977); Tee-Pak, Inc. v. St. Regis Paper

Co., 491 F.2d 1193, 1198 (6th Cir. 1974).

** ‘Among the legal errors extant in the record. ..are... an

inherency theory under §102 and 103 [that] was inappropriately

applied...” (A-/).

+ Stamicarbon N.V. v. Chemical Construction Corp., 544 F.2d

645, 652 (3d Cir. 1976). See also Catalin Corp. of America v.

Catalazuli Mfg. Co., 79 F.2d 593, 596 (2d Cir. 1935) (“an anticipa-

tion must speak affirmatively and with certainty; must disclose the

invention without debate”) (L. Hand, J.).

18

With respect to the ‘‘inherent’’ strength of Sumitomo’s

products, the Court of Appeals noted that there was a

conflict in the expert opinion testimony and that no one

had actually duplicated the Sumitomo process. The evi-

dence was, therefore, insufficient as a matter of law to

support a holding that the strength claimed in the 390

patent was ‘‘inherent’’ in the Sumitomo patent. Contested

opinion testimony is simply inadequate to establish the

‘‘invariability’’ and ‘‘certainty’’ legally required to prove

inherency.*

With respect to the ‘‘inherent’’ structure of Smith’s

products, the Court of Appeals held, after studying the

entire record (A-6), that ‘‘there is no present record basis

for finding that the Smith process in itself necessarily and

inherently results in the products, each considered in its

entirety, in the claims of the 390 patent’’ (A-22).

Garlock argues in its petition that inherency was proved

by testimony that Garlock’s infringing product was pro-

duced by following the general guidelines of the Smith

patent (p.11, n.6). The Court of Appeals rejected that

argument as a matter of law. Even assuming Smith to be

a dominating patent as Garlock contends, ‘‘the rule of law

is clear that an accused infringer’s employment of a dom-

inating patent does not render that employment an antici-

pation of an invention described and claimed in an improve-

ment patent’’ (A-21, A-22).**

* See, eg., In re Hughes, 345 F.2d 184, 188 (C.C.P.A. 1965) ;

In re Turlay, 304 F.2d 893, 899 (C.C.P.A. 1962).

** Sec, e.g., Cantrell vy. Wallick, 117 U.S. 689, 694 (1886) ; From-

berg, Inc. v. Thornhill, 315 F.2d 407, 415 (5th Cir. 1963); Acker-

mans Vv. General Motors Corp., 202 F.2d 642, 646 (4th Cir.), cert.

denied, 345 U.S. 996 (1953); 69 CJS. Patents $295 (“a third

person who is infringing both the patent for the original invention

and the patent for an improvement cannot set up the existence of

the first patent as an excuse for infringing the second patent”).

SE ee

19

Contrary to Garlock’s allegations, the Court of Appeals

neither substituted its own findings of fact for those of

the district court nor resolved any conflicts in expert

testimony. The Court of Appeals held that the district

court applied an improper legal standard, but also held

that it was ‘‘unnecessary ... to resolve apparent conflicts

in the divergent [expert] testimony’’ because, as a matter

of law, a finding of inherent anticipation ‘‘cannot be predi-

cated on mere conjecture respecting the characteristics of

products that might result from the practice of processes

disclosed in references’’ (A-21).* Beeause the record

contained no evidence of actual duplications of the earlier

patents and because those earlier patents were themselves

‘‘unaeceptably vague’’ (A-21), the Court of Appeals cor-

rectly held as a matter of law that the district court’s

conclusion of inherency was in error.

E. Garlock’s Reference To The “Budd Defense”

Misstates The Record And Confuses Findings

Of Fact With Conclusions Of Law

1. Garlock’s Argument Is Based On The

False Premise That Budd’s Work Met

The Patent Claims

At page 15 of its petition, Garlock argues that the

process claimed in the 566 patent was ‘‘anticipated,’’ i.e.

previously carried out, by the Budd Company. Garlock

states that ‘‘it was undisputed that a third party, Budd

Company, had used the process that is the subject of the

* See Diamond Rubber Co. vy. Consolidated Rubber Tire Co.,

220 U.S. 428, 435 (1911), rejecting “subtle conjectures” as a basis

for invalidating a patent. The Court of Appeals properly considered

whether the evidence met the exacting standard of proof on the issue

of inherency. Baumgartner v. United States, 322 U.S. 665, 671

(1944).

20

That statement

is untrue. Garlock itself admitted in its brief to the Court

566 patent before the filing of the patent.

of Appeals that claims 3 and 19 of the 566 patent, the only

claims of that patent here at issue, were nof met by the

Budd work.* The Court of Appeals agreed, holding that

there was ‘‘a failure of proof that the claimed inventions

as a whole were practiced by Budd’’ (A-12).**

It is settled that an earlier device or process must meet

all claim requirements before it can invalidate the claim

as an ‘‘anticipation.’*+ As a matter of law, therefore, the

Budd work could not anticipate the claims here at issue.

* Garlock told the Court of Appeals that “a fair reading of the

| district] court’s opinion reveals that only claim 1 of the 560 patent

was held invalid as being anticipated by the early Budd . . . activities”

(Garlock appellate bret at p.30). Claim 1 of the 566 patent is not

here at issue since the Court of Appeals affirmed the district court's

holding that claim 1 was invalid on other grounds.

** The Court of Appeals was here referring to the absence of

evidence in the record that all the requirements of the claimed inven-

hon had been met by the earlier Budd work. For example, claim 19

of the 506 patent requires the use of “highly crystalline” PTFE, and

further requires the final length of the product to be greater than

five times its $ original length. The district court itself found that the

machine used by Budd to stretch tape only stretched it by 20 percent,

ie. to only 1.2 times its original length. which is far less than the

required five times (A-62). And Garlock’s own witness testified

that he didn’t know what the cry stallinity was of Budd's PTFE.

Comparable failures of proof occurred in the case of claim 3, the only

other claim of the 566 patent here at issue.

+ See, eg.. Topliff v. Toplif, 145 U.S. 156, 161 (1892): Im-

hacuser Vv. Buerk, 101 U.S. 647, 660 (1880): Firestone v. Aluminum

Co. of America, 285 F.2d 928, 929-30 (6th Cir. 1960): In re Mar-

shall, 578 F.2d 301, 304 (C.C.P._A. 1978).

21

2. The Court Of Appeals Properly

Decided The Public Use Issue

Because there was both a failure of proof on the ‘‘ Budd

defense’’ and a concession by Garlock that this defense

did not apply to claims 3 and 19 of the 566 patent, the

Court of Appeals need not have proceeded any further in

reversing the district court’s holding of anticipation.

Nevertheless, because the Federal Circuit is now charged

with bringing uniformity and certainty to the patent law,

it correeted another of the district court’s legal errors con-

cerning the ‘‘ Budd defense.’

+]

It is the correction of that

legal error which Garlock complains about at page 15 of

its petition.

A third party’s prior use of an invention, even where

all claim requirements are met, does not necessarily con-

stitute an ‘‘anticipation’’ that invalidates a patent claim.

To invalidate, the prior use must have been accessible to

the public.* Here, the district court found as fact that

Budd acquired its machine pursuant to a written secrecy

agreement that obligated Budd to maintain the machine

as a trade secret (A-64). No effort was made to keep

Budd’s employees away from the machine. It was not

shronded behind a curtain and, at some (unspecified) time,

several DuPont employees were shown the machine so

they could help increase its speed (A-65). None of these

findings was set aside by the Court of Appeals. It was

also undisputed that Budd’s employees were required to

and did sign confidentiality agreements (A-11).

*D.L. Auld Co. v. Chroma Graphics Corp., 714 F.2d 1144, 1147

(Fed. Cir. 1983) : Continental Oil Co. v. Cole, 634 F.2d 188, 195-96

(5th Cir.). cert. denied, 454 U.S. 830 (1981) ; Gillman v. Stern, 114

F.2d 28, 31 (2d Cir. 1940), cert. denied, 311 U.S. 718 (1941).

22

The 566 patent claims describe a process, not a machine.

The undisputed testimony was that by merely looking at

Budd's machine in operation it was not possible to ascer-

tain what process was being carried out. For example,

from a visual inspection it was not possible to ascertain

whether or not the machine was stretching or, if it was

stretching, at what rate. Nor was it possible to determine

the crystallinity of the PTFE resin being used, or the

temperatures being employed (A-11, A-12).

The Court of Appeals held that as a matter of law,

Budd’s use of the machine was not a public use of the

patented process. There was ‘tno evidence,"* the Court

said, that knowledge of the process was ‘‘accessible to the

publie’’ (A-12). Access by employees under a secrecy

obligation does not convert an otherwise secret use into

a public use.* Therefore, in concluding that the Budd

“ork was prior art, ‘‘[t]he district court ... erred as a

matter of law in applying the statute’’ (A-13).

Contrary to Garlock’s assertion, the Court of Appeals

did not substitute its own findings of fact for those of

the district court. The Court of Appeals accepted the

finding of access to the machine by Budd’s employees, the

only legally relevant finding, but held that as a matter of

law it did not create a ‘‘public use”’ within the meaning

of 35 U.S.C. £102.

* This is settled law. Sec, eg.. Gillman v. Stern, 114 F.2d 28,

30-31 (2d Cir. 1940), cert. denied, 311 U.S. 718 (1941). The

display of Budd's machine to several DuPont emplovees was legally

irrelevant on the issue of “public” versus “secret” use because there

was no evidence in the record as to when that display occurred, i.e.

before or after the critical date (A-1"

23

Il. GARLOCK HAS NOT SHOWN THAT THIS

CASE IS PART OF A PATTERN WHERE

THE COURT OF APPEALS HAS ALLEGEDLY

FAILED TO APPLY RULE 52(a)

As demonstrated in detail supra, the Court of Appeals

in fact applied Rule 52(a) in this case, precisely in ac-

cordance with Pullman-Standard v. Swint, 456 U.S. 273

(1982). While Garlock attempts to paint a picture of a

court run amok, the facts shew that the Court of Appeals

for the Federal Cireuit operates well within the norm.

This is manifest from the Federal Judicial Workload

Statisiics for the period ending March 31, 1984, which

reveals that the Federal Circuit reversed only 9.9% of the

time (15.5% in appeals from district courts) (page 1),

whereas the average reversal rate in civil cases for all

circuit courts of appeals was 18.2% (Jd. at page A-2).

At page 15 of its petition Garlock attempts to bolster

its contention that the Court of Appeals for the Federal

Circuit routinely disregards Rule 52(a) by pointing to

dissents in other cases decided by that Court. Garlock’s

simplistic rationale appears to be that:

(1) In other decisions the dissent allegedly criticized

the majority for failing to follow Rule 52(a).

(2) Judge Davis dissented in part in this case.

(3) THEREFORE, in the instant case the majority did not

follow Rule 52(a).

The fallacy, of course, is that in his partial dissent in

this case Judge Davis made - reference whatsoever to

24

Rule 52(a). See A-36 to A-41. Rather, Judge Davis dis-

sented in part because he disagreed with the majority’s

legal conclusion concerning the non-obviousness of claims

3 and 19 of the 566 patent.

The majority sustains the validity of claims 3 and 19

of the ’566 patent (the claims also involved in appel-

lant’s suit for infringement) which are dependent on

invalid claim 1. Because of the invalidity of claim 1

the only possible novelty in claim 3 would be the

requirement that the rate of stretch would be about

100% per second, and the possible novelty of claim 19

would be that the final length would be greater than

about five times the original length. My position is

that both of these added elements, if novel, would have

been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art.

(A-40)

Finally, Garlock seeks to shore up its argument by

pointing to five Court of Appeals decisions in which peti-

tions for certiorari have been or are being filed, and which

allegedly raise ‘‘questions substantially the same as those

presented here’’ (p.6, n.3). As we now show, those cases

bear no relationship to this one.

In two of the five cases, TP Laboratories, Inc. v. Profes-

sional Positioners, Inc., 724 F.2d 965 (Fed. Cir. 1984) and

White v. Jeffrey Miming Machinery Co., 723 F.2d 1553

(Fed. Cir. 1983), questions of jury practice are involved, not

the application of Rule 52(a). In one of the five cases,

Bagmsky v. United States, 697 F.2d 1070 (Fed. Cir. 1983),

certiorari has already been denied. 1048. Ct. 423 (1983).

In Rohm and Haas Co. v. Crystal Chemical Co., 722 F.2d

1556 (Fed. Cir. 1983), the Court of Appeals invalidated a

25

patent for fraud on the Patent and Trademark Office

(‘‘PTO’’) and, in a later decision denying attorneys’ fees,

stated that its opinion ‘‘breaks new ground on the subject

of fraud in the PTO and sets new standards in this area of

the law.’’ In its petition for certiorari, Rohm and Haas

argued that this novel rule of law should not have been

applied retroactively. In the instant case, the Court of

Appeals did not break any new legal ground. Rather, it

reversed in part because the district court repeatedly failed

to apply well established principles of patent law.

In the fifth case, RCA Corp. v. Applied Digital Data

Systems, Inc., 730 F.2d 1440 (Fed. Cir. 1984), the dissent

disagreed with the majority’s holding that as a matter of

law, anticipation of a means-plus-function claim element

cannot be based upon an element in a reference that per-

forms a different but allegedly equivalent function. In

light of the disagreement, the dissent would have applied

Rule 52(a)’s clearly erroneous test to affirm the district

court. As brought out supra, the partial dissent in the

instant case never even mentions Rule 52(a). See A-36 to

A-41. Rather, Judge Davis dissented because he disagreed

with the majority’s legal conclusion of non-obviousness

(A-40).*

* In Jones v. Hardy, 727 F.2d 1524 (Fed. Cir. 1983), there was

no dispute over the applicability of Rule 52(a). Instead, the dis-

sent questioned whether the majority was correct in holding that

certain facts were uncontradicted in the record. No such question

appears in the dissent in the instant case. In the other dissent cited

by Garlock (p. 20, n.15), the dissenting opinion made no reference to

Rule 52(a). See Hughes Aircraft Co. v. United States, 717 F.2d

1351 (Fed. Cir. 1983).

Conclusion

In this case the Court of Appeals applied Rule 52(a),

and did so in accordance with Pullman-Standard v. Swint,

456 U.S. 273 (1982). It set aside none of the district court’s

findings as clearly erroneous. It affirmed the district court’s

holding that claims 1 and 17 of the 566 patent were invalid.

It affirmed the district court’s holding that Gore had not

committed fraud on the Patent Office.

The Court of Appeals reversed the district court’s hold-

ing that certain patent claims were invalid because the dis-

trict court had committed numerous legal errors. Under

Puliman-Standard v. Swint, 456 U.S. 273, 287 (1982), where

‘‘a District Court’s findings rest on an erroneous view of

the law, they may be set aside on that basis.’’ Remand to

the district court was unnecessary here because, when the

proper legal standards were applied, the record permitted

only one conclusion, i.e. that Garlock had failed to sustain its

burden of proving the patents invalid. This, too, was

strictly in accord with Pullman-Standard v. Swint, Id. at

292.

Garlock’s petition raises no issue which warrants grant-

ing certiorari. Nor has Garlock shown that this case is part

of a pattern where the Court of Appeals has allegedly failed

to apply Rule 52(a). What Garlock really seeks is to have

this Court sanction and reinstate the numerous errors of

law cammitted by the district court and corrected by the

Court of Appeals. That is not a basis for granting certior-

ari in this or in any other case.

27

Directly in point is Mr. Justice White’s concurring

opinion in Inwood Laboratories, Inc. v. Ives Laboratories,

Inc., 456 U.S. 844 (1982) :

Furthermore, if the issue presented in the petition for

certiorari had been whether the clearly erroneous

standard, although properly invoked, was erroneously

applied, it is doubtful in my mind that this fact-bound

issue would have warranted certiorari.

It is respectfully urged that Garlock’s petition be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

Davin H. Prerrer, Counsel of Record

J. Ropert DatLey

JANET Dore

Moreoan, Finnecan, Prive, Fotry & Lee

Counsel For Respondent

345 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10154

(212) 758-4800

Of Counsel:

JoHN 8S, CAMPBELL

W.L. Gore & AssociatEs, Inc.

. 95 Paper Mill Road

Newark, Delaware 19714

August 30, 1984

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.