Petition for Writ of Certiorari — St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance v. Culver

Supreme Court brief1984

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Ome we Fe

“NO : npr 30 184 TY

agi

In the — 7

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1983

St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company,

Charles D. Slater d/b/a Slater Boat Company,

Euro-Pirates International, Inc., and

Steamship Mutual Underwriting Association, Ltd.

Petitioners

v.

Ruth Culver, et al

Respondents

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

WARREN M. FARIS

MAT W. GRAY, III

FARLIS, ELLIS, CUTRONE

& GILMORE

1207 Whitney Building

New Orleans, Louisiana 70130

Telephone: 504-581-6373

Counsel for Petitioners

A B Letter Service, Inc., 327 Chartres St., New Orleans, La. (504) 581-5555

16 pp

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Whether the opinion in Culver IJ is contrary to

this Court’s decision in James & Laughlin Steel Corp. v.

Pfeifer, _. U.S. _, 103 S.Ct. 2541, 76 L.Ed.2d 768 (1983).

In order to account for the impact of inflation, the Fifth

Circuit Court of Appeals has mandated as a matter of law

in all civil and maritime cases that the ‘“‘below market dis-

count rate’ method is the sole method to compute loss of

future earnings and the sole method for adjusting the

award to present value.

2. Whether the opinion in Culver IJ conflicts with

holdings of this Court that in civil cases the plantiff has the

burden of proving his damages by a preponderance of the

evidence by its creation of an irrebuttable presumption

that every plaintiff will obtain uninterrupted annual wage

increases identical to the rate of inflation through the end

of his work-life expectancy regardless of his personal earn-

ings history and by its preventing any contrary evidence to

be presented by defendants that may likely decrease or

demonstrate fluctuation in future earnings.

3. Whether the opinion in Culver IJ conflicts with the

Seventh Amendment preserving the right to trial by jury

of fact issues in the district courts, except civil cases in ad-

miralty and maritime jurisdiction, since it implicitly man-

dates that every plaintiff will be awarded a constant, an-

nual earnings increase for inflation through the end of

work-life expectancy, regardless of any contradictory facts

reasonably adduced from the plaintiff's earnings and

employment history.

ii

STATEMENT OF THE PARTIES

Pursuant to Rule 21.1(b) and Rule 28.1, counsel for

petitioners certifies that the following named persons are

parties to this proceeding:

(1) Mrs. Ruth Culver, individually and as ad-

ministratrix of the estate of Curtis Culver and as natural

parent of/and Benny Culver, Tonia Culver, Rodney Wayne

Culver, and Bridgette Ann Culver;

(2) Charles D. Slater d/b/a Slater Boat Company;

(3) Euro-Pirates International, Inc.;

(4) Ocean Drilling & Exploration Company;

(5) ODECO, Inc.;

(6) Gulf Overseas Marine Corporation;

(7) Gulf Overseas Service Corporation;

(8) Steamship Mutual Underwriting Association,

Ltd.; and

(9) St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company.

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Questions Presented for Review..................... i

ND a ii

EE iii

ee i ae V

ee ee ee 2

ee ee ee De eae, 2

re ee, OP ae eld Cs SOs 3

re 4

seen Gon Govemteme the Writ..................... 8

ye ia ww arp dcein a oom 9

(1) THE OPINION IN CULVER II IS IN

CONFLICT WITH THIS COURT'S DECISION

IN JONES & LAUGHLIN STEEL CORP. V.

PFEIFER, __ U.S. _, 103 S.CT. 2541, 76

ae a ue Wy Vol vA A nals ¢ 4 8 9

(2) THE OPINION IN CULVER II CONFLICTS

WITH THE HOLDINGS OF THIS COURT

THAT IN CIVIL CASES THE PLAINTIFF

HAS THE BURDEN OF PROVING HIS

DAMAGES BY A PREPONDERANCE OF THE

EVIDENCE BECAUSE IT CREATES AN

IRREBUTTABLE PRESUMPTION THAT

EVERY PLAINTIFF WILL BE AWARDED

ANNUAL WAGE INCREASES AT THE

IDENTICAL RATE THAT INFLATION IS

REMOVED FROM THE FULL MARKET

INTEREST RATE TO OBTAIN THE BELOW

MARKET RATE, REGARDLESS OF HIS

BGUARRrearwises PESCOEUIY..... 2.2... eee eee eee 12

(3) THE DECISION OF THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

IN CULVER II CONFLICTS WITH THE

RIGHT TO TRIAL BY JURY OF FACTUAL

ISSUES GUARANTEED IN THE UNITED ©

STATES CONSTITUTION............. SMES ie 13

ee uc kawucuewves 14

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS (Continued)

Page

Coscia We Ga Fs ES OE: 16

APPENDIX A—Opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court

of Appeals, en banc, of December 22, 1983,

CO ese cate ark ns ORAS. Bd A-1

APPENDIX B—Order denying rehearing of Culver

II en banc, Opinion of February 24, 1984...... A-25

APPENDIX C—Opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court

of Appeals, en banc, of September 22, 1982,

3 Sg alien Poms et a8 ttl ny aoe PTC an A ee A-28

APPENDIX D—Panel opinion of Fifth Circuit

Court of Appeals of May 4, 1981............. A-60

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Johnson v. Penrod Drilling Co.,

510 F.2d 234 (5th Cir.), cert. denied,

ee ak a eases 5

Jones & Laughlin Steel Corp. v. Pfeifer,

__ U.S. __, 103 S.Ct. 2541, 76 L.Ed.2d

I er ore ar Ae See 6, 7, 8,9

Statutes:

United States Constitution, Seventh Amendment .... 13

ST RE eS ea BP Pinoy aia cad ee 13

ey ae Vey wd BG poe 13

ae Re es Rey ee gehts 10

Se ES os ae i RRR heen 10

1

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1983

St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Company,

Charles D. Slater d/b/a Slater Boat Company,

Euro-Pirates International, Inc., and

Steamship Mutual Underwriting Association, Ltd.

Petitioners

v.

Ruth Culver, et al

Respondents

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE HONORABLE, THE CHIEF JUSTICE AND

THE ASSOCIATE JUSTICES OF THE SUPREME

COURT OF THE UNITED STATES:

Petitioners, St. Paul Fire & Marine Insurance Com-

pany, Charles D. Slater d/b/a Slater Boat Company, Euro-

Pirates International, Inc., and Steamship Mutual Under-

writing Association, Ltd., pray that a writ of certiorari

issue to review the decision of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit entered in this cause.

2

DECISION TO BE REVIEWED

Petitioners seek review of the en banc decision of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

rendered in Ruth Culver, et al v. Slater Boat Co., et al, No.

79-3985, reported at 722 F.2d 114 (5th Cir. 1983), petition

for rehearing denied February 24, 1984.

The original panel opinion, Culver v. Slater Boat Co.,

is reported at 644 F.2d 460 (5th Cir. 1981), affirming the

district court. A petition for rehearing en banc was

granted. An en banc opinion was rendered, Culver v. Slater

Boat Company (Culver I), which is reported at 688 F.2d 280

(5th Cir. 1982), reversing and remanding the case to the

district court on the issue of damages but otherwise adop-

ting the panel opinion. A petition for rehearing of the en

banc opinion was granted. Culver v. Slater Boat Company,

No. 79-3985 was consolidated with Byrd v. Reederei, No.

78-3064. The en banc opinion in the consolidated cases was

rendered on December 22, 1983, Culver v. Slater Boat Com-

pany (Culver II), 722 F.2d 114 (5th Cir. 1983), from which

petitioners seek review by this Court.

The decisions are set forth in the Appendices. !

GROUNDS FOR JURISDICTION

The second opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court of

! In the Culver II opinion, the court reaffirmed parts I-IV of the

prior en banc decision, 688 F.2d 280, 283-295. It withdrew Parts VII-XII

of the decision in Culver I, 688 F.2d 295-311. In view of the length and

complexity of the footnotes in the withdrawn pages and the cost atter-

dant their being typeset, after consultation with the Clerk of Court, we

have omitted such withdrawn portions and the concurring and dissenting

opinions from the appendix, 688 F.2d 295-324. However, ten complete

photocopies have been lodged with the Clerk of Court for this Court’s con-

venience, if desired for review.

3

Appeals on rehearing en banc, Culver II, was rendered on

December 22, 1983. A timely petition for rehearing of the

en banc opinion was filed and the petition for rehearing was

denied on February 24, 1984.

This petition for a writ of certiorari was filed within

ninety days of the date said rehearing was denied.

Jurisdiction of this Court is predicated upon Title 28

USC §1254 (1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS

The questions presented by this Petition involve the

following constitutional and statutory provisions of the

United States.

United States Constitution, Seventh Amendment,

states:

In suits at common law, where the value in con-

troversy shall exceed $20, the right to trial by

jury shall be preserved, and no fact tried by jury

shall be otherwise re-examined in any Court of the

United States, than according to the Rules of the

Common Law.

Rule 38 (a), F.R.C.P., states:

Right Preserved. The right of trial by jury as

declared by the Seventh Amendment to the Con-

stitution or as given by a statute of the United

States shall be preserved to the parties inviolate.

Rule 39(a), F.R.C.P., states:

4

By Jury. When trial by jury has been demand-

ed as provided in Rule 38, the action shall be

designated upon the docket as a jury action. The

trial of all issues so demanded shall be by jury,

unless (1) parties or their attorneys of record, by

written stipulation filed with the court or by an

oral stipu) ation made in open court and entered in

the record, consent to trial by the court sitting

without a jury or (2) the court upon motion or of

its own initiative finds that a right of trial by jury

of some or all of those issues does not exist under

the Constitution or statutes of the United States.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Decedent, Mr. Culver, was a seaman employed as the

foreman of an anchor handling crew, and he was killed

while working on a vessel at sea during said employment.

Mrs. Culver filed suit individually and in behalf of

her children in the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Louisiana under the Jones Act and the

general maritime law against the defendants, Slater, Euro-

Pirates, Gulf Overseas, ODECO, and certain insurers.

Damages alleged included loss of financial support. The

civil action was tired to a jury.

During trial, Mr. Culver’s federal income tax returns

for five years preceding his death were placed in evidence:

1970-$12,861.56; 1971-$14,031.90; 1972-$16,393.65; 1973-

$11,428.95; and 1974-$14,156.61 (R. Vol. 6, pp. 388-89). No

evidence was introduced of hourly wage increases from

1970 to 1974. Mr. Culver was not a member of a union and

there was no employment contract or agreement covering

his earnings. Mr. Culver was thirty-one years of age, and he

had a worklife expectancy of thirty-one years.

Shee

5

The district court did not allow testimony, charges or

interrogatories to be submitted on the effects of inflation

on the damage award. No offer of proof was made by plain-

tiffs as to the excluded evidence. The plaintiffs chose not to

present evidence of a discount rate, nor was the economist

listed in the pre-trial order called by plaintiffs. Defendants

called an expert witness in the field of bond investments,

who testified that an investor in U.S. government bonds,

the safest marketplace, could earn nine and one-eighth per-

cent in denominations of $1,000 with a maturity date of

2009 (Mr. Culver’s worklike expectancy).

A jury verdict was returned against the defendants.

The verdict included specific interrogatories on the

elements of damages, including the amount of less of sup-

port sustained by Mrs. Culver and her children. The jury

held that loss of support was $13,363.20 per year over his

worklife expectancy of thirty-one years. The discount rate

applied by the court to reduce future amounts to present

value was nine and one-eighth percent.

An appeal was taken by the plaintiffs of the loss of

support award with respect to the exclusion of alleged

evidence of the impact of inflation upon decedent’s wages.

The panel of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals affirmed

the district court on two bases. Culver v. Slater Boat Co.,

644 F.2d 460, 463 (5th Cir. 1981). First, the panel held that

the en banc decision in.Johnson v. Penrod Drilling Co., 510

F.2d 234 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 839 (1975), was

dispositive of the inflationary evidence issue—‘‘the in-

fluence on future damages of possible inflation or deflation

is too speculative a matter for judicial determination’’. Se-

cond, the panel opinion noted that no evidence was in-

troduced to warrant argument of proposed earnings in-

creases since the tax returns showed his earnings were level

6

over five years, not increasing, and Mr. Culver had reached

the top of his line of employment. The panel found no error

in the treatment of earnings increases, considering the

absence of any evidentiary support.

Plaintiffs obtained an en banc rehearing to recon-

sider Johnson v. Penrod Drilling Co.. In its opinion, Culver

I, 688 F.2d 280 (5th Cir. 1982), the Fifth Circuit overruled

Johnson v. Penrod Drilling Co. After a complex, economic

analysis, the Court declined to select one approach to the

evidentiary problems attendant introduction of economic

testimony relative to the impact of inflation. It held that

appropriate economic evidence could be presented by either

party to ascertain damages for loss of future wages on a

case by case basis. However, in its summary and conclu-

sions, 688 F.2d at 308-10, in the opinion of defendants and

this Court,” it made serious error in its approved approach.

A petition for rehearing of the en banc opinion was

filed by defendants. While under consideration, on June 15,

1983, this Court decided Jones & Laughlin Steel Corp. v.

Pfeifer, __ U.S. __, 103 S.Ct. 2541, 76 L.Ed. 768 (1983). On

December 23, 1983, the Fifth Circuit en banc withdrew por-

tions of its opinion in Culver I and rendered a new opinion,

Culver II, 722 F.2d 114 (5th Cir. 1983). With nine judges

dissenting, a majority of the Court (thirteen judges) held

that the sole method to adjust damage awards to account

for inflation is a ‘“‘below market discount rate method.”

Their application of this method is that in all cases the

2 In Jones & Laughlin Steel Corp. v. Pfeifer, _. U.S. _, 103 S.Ct.

2541 (1983), at 2554, Note 27, this Court noted that the Fifth Circuit

recommended replacing the estimated stream of actual installments

(yearly earnings) with ar: ‘average annual income.”’ This Court conclud-

ed that this approach increases the size of the award providing plaintiffs

with an unjustified windfall.

7

only evidence to be received to calculate future earnings is

(1) wage increases, if any, the plaintiff would have received

each year as a result of all factors other than inflation and

(2) an estimate of the below market discount rate, defined

as the estimated market interest rate, adjusted for the ef-

fect of any income tax and then offset by the estimated rate

of general future price inflation. Jd. at 122.

Circuit Judges John R. Brown, Fay, Politz, R. Lanier

Anderson, III, Randall, Tate, Sam D. Johnson and Jerre S.

Williams dissented on the basis that this Court had ex-

pressly disapproved of mandating one single method for all

cases. Circuit Judge Tjoflat, in dissent, adhered to his opi-

nion in Culver I that plaintiffs were not entitled to a new

trial. The dissenters noted: (1) the opinion in Culver IJ is in

direct conflict with the decision of this Court in Pfeifer; (2)

in Jones & Laughlin Steel Corp. v. Pfeifer, __ U.S. __, 103

S.Ct. 2541, 76 L.Ed. 768 (1983), the Supreme Court ‘‘chose

to allow to the trial judge on remand discretion to apply in

a deliberate choice any one or more of the ‘legally accep-

table’ methods the Court discussed’’; (3) the High Court

chose not to pick one of several methods; and (4) the Fifth

Circuit “‘takes from the district court—and puts squarely

in the hands of the Court of Appeals—the responsibility of

choosing, from among competing economic theories, the

methodology or methodologies which could be used to most

equitably and adequately determine future lost earnings

under the circumstances of that case’’. Jd. at 123-125.

The defendants petitioned for a rehearing of Culver

II on the following bases: (1) The Culver IJ opinion is con-

trary to the Supreme Court’s decision in Jones & Laughlin

Steel Corp. v. Pfeifer; (2) The Culver IJ opinion is in error

as it mandates that all plaintiffs will receive annual income

increases at the identical rate that inflation is found to be

8

a component in the full market discount rate. It eliminates

the plaintiffs’ burden of proof. The opinion is insidious in

that it is not apparent that it is being mandated in the

calculations that annual income will be increased in a

straight uninterrupted line at the rate of inflation when the

below market discount rate method, as enunciated, is utiliz-

ed; and (3) The opinion should be modified. The sentence on

page 16123 of the opinion reads as follows: ‘‘Evidence

about the likelihood that the earnings of an injured worker

would increase due to personal merit, increased experience

and other individual and societal factors continue, of

course, to be admissible.’’ This language should be changed

in order to do justice to the parties to allow the trier of fact

to consider all relevant evidence unrelated to inflation that

is likely to change or influence future earnings.

The rehearing was denied.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The decision of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals is

contrary to the holding of this Court in Jones & Laughlin

Steel Corp. vi Pfeifer, __ U.S. __, 103 S.Ct. 2541, 76 L.Ed.

768 (1983). Loss of earnings can arise in many different con-

texts and this Court emphasized that no one method

should be selected as the exclusive method in all federal

courts, Jd. at 2543-44, unless the legislative branch of the

government wishes to evaluate and fashion the proper rule

Id. at 2557. In Pfeifer, this Court reversed the federal

district court’s selection of a total offset method which held

‘‘as a matter of law that future inflation shall be presumed

equal to future interest rates’ Id. at 2543.

The Culver II opinion conflicts with the tenet of this

Court that in civil cases plaintiffs have the burden to prove

9

their damages by a preponderance of the evidence. In

Culver IT, the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals presumes and

mandates that every plaintiff will receive in each and every

year annual earnings increases at least equal to the rate of

inflation. This is implicit as otherwise there is no justifica-

tion to subtract inflation from the market discount rate,

which market rate is certain and is automatically available

to the plaintiffs. Culver IJ eliminates plaintiff’s burden of

proof.

The methodology mandated in Culver II deprives

defendants of a right to trial by jury of fact issues. If a

plaintiff cannot prove the likelihood of his earnings increas-

ing reasonably parallel to inflation rates, the judge or jury

should have the right to so find. If a defendant can prove

the likelihood that earnings may decrease or periodically

fluctuate, the judge or jury should have the right and duty

to consider all such influences upon earnings. Variability in

each workers earnings should be allowed in evidence.

Pfeifer, at 2548-50.

ARGUMENT

1. THE OPINION IN CULVER II IS IN CONFLICT

WITH THIS COURT’S DECISION IN JONES &

LAUGHLIN STEEL CORP. V. PFEIFER, _ U.S. _, 103

S.Ct. 2541, 76 L.ED.2D 768 (1983).

The issue before the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals in

Culver v. Slater Boat Company was the same issue upon

which this Court deliberated in Jones & Laughlin Steel

Corp. v. Pfeifer, __ U.S. __, 103 S.Ct. 2541, 76 L.Ed.2d 768

(1983): the calculation of an appropriate award for lost ear-

nings, including calculation of the impact of inflation.

While in Pfeifer this Court restricted its opinion to

10

negligent actions under §5(b) of the Longshoremen’s and

Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act, 33 U.S.C. 905(b), Id.

at 2555, the cause of action under §905(b) is a maritime tort

and damages are founded in the general maritime law.

Since the Culver case involved a suit under the Jones Act,

46 U.S.C. §688 and the general maritime law, the Pfeifer

decision is applicable.

In Pfeifer, this Court reviewed possible approaches

to calculate loss of earnings. The magnitude of inflation

and its predictability with reference to an individual is in

large measure unpredictable. Jd. at 2555. Specific forecasts

of future inflation are too unreliable for use in many cases.

Id. at 2544. This Court recognized that loss of earnings can

arise in many different contexts and in some sectors of the

economy it is far easier to assemble evidence of an in-

dividual’s most likely career path. Jd. at 2555. This Court

emphasized the right and duty of the district judge or jury

to estimate the shape of the plaintiff's future income

stream. Jd. at 2551. This Court expressly chose not to pick

one of several methods reviewed for calculating lost future

wages in all civil cases. It held that such an approach is not

warranted, noting that the legislative branch of the federal

government is far better equipped to fashion the proper

general rule, if any. Jd. at 2555. This Court was not

prepared to impose on unwilling litigants one specific

method making assumptions as to the impact of national

patterns of wage growth on an individual or an industry.

Id. at 2557.

The entire method to calculate future loss of earnings

established in Culver II is succinctly stated:

We hold that factfinders in this Circuit must ad-

just damage awards to account for inflation

11

according to the below-market discount rate

method. The parties may, if they wish, stipulate

the below-market discount rate, as they may

stipulate any other disputed issue. If they are

unable to do so, they may intorduce expert opi-

nion concerning the appropriate rate. Other

evidence about the effect of price inflation is inad-

missible. Evidence about the likelihood that the

earnings of an injured worker would increase due

to personal merit, increased experience and other

individual and societal factors, continue, of

course, to be admissible. 722 F.2d at 122.

The opinion in Culver II conflicts with all of the

aforesaid holdings of this Court. It expressly adopts one

single method of calculating future lost earnings in all

cases. 722 F.2d at 122. It is inflexible. It eliminates any

possibility of a deliberate choice by a judge or jury of a

reasoned approach to calculate an individual’s future earn-

ings stream consistent with the facts in the case. It holds

as a matter of law that in all cases every plaintiff’s annual

wages will grow as fast as the inflation rate whatever

evidence might have been submitted to the contrary. It

mandates and insures an inflation proof future for all plain-

tiffs and in every case where a plaintiff's wages would

heretofore have been held not to have kept up with infla-

tion, it will cause overcompensation.

This inflexible standard directly conflicts with this

Court’s decision in Pfeifer. It is economically unsound in

many instances, as illustrated by the earnings history of

Mr. Culver.

12

2. THE OPINION IN CULVER II CONFLICTS WITH

THE HOLDINGS OF THIS COURT THAT IN CIVIL

CASES THE PLAINTIFF HAS THE BURDEN OF PRO-

VING HIS DAMAGES BY A PREPONDERANCE OF

THE EVIDENCE BECAUSE IT CREATES AN IR-

REBUTTABLE PRESUMPTION THAT EVERY

PLAINTIFF WILL BE AWARDED ANNUAL WAGE

INCREASES AT THE IDENTICAL RATE THAT IN-

FLATION IS REMOVED FROM THE FULL MARKET

INTEREST RATE TO OBTAIN THE BELOW

MARKET RATE, REGARDLESS OF HIS EARNINGS

HISTORY.

There is uniform authority that a plaintiff has the

burden of proving his damages by a preponderance of the

evidence. A plaintiff must prove the likely amount of his

lost future earnings. The opinion in Culver IJ conflicts with

this established principle of this Court. By ordering use of

the single method described as the “‘below market discount

method”’, the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals removes en-

tirely the plaintiff’s burden of proving that his future earn-

ings stream would annually increase at the rate of price

inflation.

For example, if a plaintiff’s earnings as a matter of

factual findings were never increasing or were variable,

even though inflation existed, the plaintiff may not prove

it is likely that his earnings would increase consistent with

inflation. On the other hand, there is no doubt that when

the money received is invested in the market place, he will

receive an inflation premium on his investment. Therefore,

if plaintiff’s earnings, as a matter of fact, are not likely to

increase parallel with the rate of inflation, the below-

market interest rate cannot properly be used. This was cor-

rectly recognized by the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals in

13

its opinion in Culver J, 688 F.2d at 296-298. It can lead to

enormous Overcompensation in precisely a case like Culver.

The opinion mandates that the effects of inflation are

uniform on all individuals and that incomes rise at the rate

of inflation. Under the law of this Court, the effect of infla-

tion on an individual’s wages must be proven by a pre-

ponderance of the evidence. Mr. Culver must meet that

burden of proof based on competent evidence. A legal

presumption should not be allowed to replace this fun-

damental principle of this Court.

3. THE DECISION OF THE FIFTH CIRCUIT IN

CULVER II VIOLATES THE RIGHT TO TRIAL BY

JURY OF FACTUAL ISSUES GUARANTEED IN THE

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION.

The Seventh Amendment to the United States Con-

stitution states that the right of trial by jury shall be

preserved and no fact trial by jury shall be otherwise reex-

amined in any Court of the United States. Rule 38(a) of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure states that the right of

trial by jury is declared by the Seventh Amendment to the

Constitution or as given by a Statute of the United States

shall be preserved to the parties inviolate. Rule 39(a)

guarantees trial of all issues of fact to the jury.

In the Culver proceedings, plaintiffs filed a civil ac-

tion under the Jones Act and the general maritime law and

received a jury trial. If the decision in Culver JI is upheld,

each plaintiff will be irrebuttably presumed to have increas-

ed his annual income at the inflation rate for his entire

worklife expectancy regardless of whether there is any proof

that his past annual earnings increased at all consistently

with past rates of inflation or that his future earnings are

14

likely to do so, and regardless of the characteristics of the

individual and the industry in which he is employed. It is

unclear in Culver IJ how the plaintiff’s historical earnings

records can be submitted to the district judge or jury for

its deliberation or how the jury can consider the likelihood

of future changes (up or down) in an individual’s earnings

based on the facts peculiar to the individual and the case

at bar. Issues of fact necessary for the jury to evaluate the

particular individual’s likely future earnings are foreclosed

by Culver II.

The court in Culver II abrogates the constitutic nally

protected right in a civil trial for damages to have a jury

determine as a fact issue the likely impact of inflation upon

a plaintiff's future earnings.

CONCLUSION

In Culver II, the Fifth Circuit holds that the impact

of inflation on an individual’s future earnings is certain and

invariable by mandating its below market discount rate

method. The decision is contrary to the dictates of this

Court in Pfeifer. It conflicts with the burden of proof

established by this Court in civil actions and is contrary to

the right of trial by jury of fact issues.

Petitioners pray that a writ of certiorari be issued

from this Court to review the judgment and opinion of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.

15

Respectfully submitted,

WARREN M. FARIS

MAT M. GRAY, III

FARIS, ELLIS, CUTRONE &

GILMORE

1207 Whitney Building

New Orleans, Louisiana 70112

Telephone: 504-581-6373

By:

MAT M. GRAY, III

Counsel for Petitioners

16

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that three copies of the above and

foregoing have been sent to each opposing counsel of

record, by depositing same in U.S. Mail, postage prepaid,

this AB day of April, 1984.

I further certify that all parties required to be served

have been served.

MAT M. GRAY, III

A-1

APPENDIX ‘“A”’

Ruth CULVER, et ai.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants Cross-Appellees,

v.

SLATER BOAT CO., et al.,

Defendants-Appellees Cross-Appellants,

EUROPIRATES INTERNATIONAL, INC., et al.,

Defendants-Appellees and Cross-Appellees-Appellants,

v.

ODECO DRILLING, et al.,

Defendants-Appellees Cross-Appellants.

Willie Mae BYRD, As Administratrix of

the Estate of Lawrence Byrd, deceased,

Plaintiff-Appellant Cross-Appellee,

v.

Henrich Schmidt REEDEREI,

Defendant-Appellee Cross-Appellant.

Nos. 79-3985, 78-3064.

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit.*

* Former Fifth Circuit case, Section 9(1) of Public Law 96-452 Oc-

tober 14, 1980.

A-2

Dec. 22, 1983.

Wife and children of foreman of anchor-pulling crew

brought maritime personal injury case arising out of death.

The Court of Appeals affirmed a judgment of the United

States District Court for the Eastern District of Louisiana,

Charles Schwartz, Jr., J., as modified, 644 F.2d 460, but, on

rehearing en banc, the Court of Appeals reversed and

remanded, 688 F.2d 280. Appeals from judgment of the

United States District Court for the Middle District of

Florida, Wm. Terrell Hodges, Chief Judge, were con-

solidated. On petition for rehearing, the Court of Appeals

Alvin B. Rubin and Frank M. Johnson, Jr., Circuit Judges,

held that: (1) the case-by-case method is no longer to be us-

ed to adjust damage awards for inflation, and (2) fact

finders must adjust damage awards to account for inflation

according to below-market discount rate method.

Judgments reversed and cases remanded.

Brown, Circuit Judge, dissented and filed opinion in

which Fay, Politz, R. Lanier Anderson, III, Randall, Tate,

Sam D. Johnson and Jerre S. Williams, Circuit Judges,

joined.

R. Lanier Anderson, III, Circuit Judge, dissented

and filed opinion.

Tjoflat, Circuit Judge, dissented and filed opinion.

Appeals from the United States District Court for

the Eastern District of Louisiana.

Appeals from the United States District Court for

A-3

the Middle District of Florida.

ON PETITIONS FOR REHEARING

Before GODBOLD, Chief Judge, BROWN,

CHARLES CLARK, RONEY, GEE, TJOFLAT, HILL,

FAY, RUBIN, VANCE, KRAVITCH, FRANK M.

JOHNSON, JR., HENDERSON, REAVLEY, POLITZ,

HATCHETT, ANDERSON, RANDALL, TATE, SAM D.

JOHNSON, THOMAS A. CLARK and WILLIAMS, Cir-

cuit Judges.**

AJLLVIN B. RUBIN and FRANK M. JOHNSON, Jr.,

Circuit Judges:

In Johnson v. Penrod Drilling Co., 510 F.2d 234 (5th

Cir.) (en banc), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 839, 96 S.Ct. 68-69, 46

L.Ed.2d 58 (1975), this court held that juries ‘‘should not

be instructed to take into account future inflationary or

deflationary trends in computing lost earnings...’’ Jd. at

241. Reviewing that decision in our first en banc considera-

tion of these two cases, we overruled Penrod and held ad-

missible evidence of inflation’s probable effect on damage

awards. Culver v. Slater Boat Co., 688 F.2d 280 (5th

Cir.1982) (en banc) (Culver I). Concluding that the jury

should resolve the issue on a case-by-case basis, we

disclaimed any intention to establish a ‘‘single method”’

** Judge Garza participated in the first en banc hearing but took

senior status on July 7, 1982. He, therefore, did not participe's in the

first en banc decision. Subsequently, he became qualified to sit by virtue

of the 1982 amendment to 28 U.S.C. § 46(a). He has, however, elected not

to participate.

Judges Garwood, Jolly, Higginbotham, and Davis joined the Court after

submission and oral argument and elect not to participate.

A-4

for considering future economic conditions. Jd. at 299 n. 23.

Instead, we discussed several permissible methods the

district courts and parties could use. Jd. at 305-06.

While we were considering an application for rehear-

ing in Culver I, the Supreme Court decided Jones &

Laughlin Steel Corp. v. Pfeifer, _ U.S. _, 103 S.Ct. 2541,

76 L.Ed.2d 768 (1983). The Court’s opinion in Pfeifer cites

Culver I and confirms our holding that the fact-finder

should consider inflation in determining an appropriate

damage award. The Court’s opinion also emphasizes,

however, a fundamental point that we do not fully consider

in Culver I: that courts must not allow the adjustment for

inflation to convert “‘[t]he average accident trial...into a

graduate seminar on economic forecasting.’ 7

Reconsideration of Culver I in light of Pfeifer has

convinced us that our failure to identify a single method as

the one trial courts should use in adjusting damage awards

for inflation, particularly in jury trials, would extend an in-

vitation to litigants to engage in just such a seminar. We,

therefore, withdraw the opinion in Culver I insofar as it

goes beyond overruling Johnson, and hold that, in the

absence of a stipulation by the parties concerning the

method to be used, fact-finders shall determine and apply

an appropriate below-market discount rate as the sole

method to adjust loss-of-future-earnings awards to present

value to account for the effect of inflation. While expert

testimony and jury instructions must be based on this

method, juries may be instructed either to return a general

verdict or to answer special interrogatories concerning the

computation of damages.

1 Jones & Laughlin Steel Corp. v. Pfeifer, __ U.S. —, 103 S.Ct.

2541, 2556, 76 L.Ed.2d 768 (1983) (quoting Doca v. Marina Mercante

Nicaraguense, S.A., 634 F.2d 30, 39 (2d Cir. 1980)).

The calculation of damages suffered either by a per-

son whose personal injuries will result in extended future

disability or by the representatives of a deceased person in-

volves four steps: estimating the loss of work life resulting

from the injury or death, calculating the lost income

stream, computing the total damage, and discounting that

amount to its present value.

In Pfeifer the Court recognized, as we did in Culver

I, that calculation of the lost income stream begins with the

gross earnings of the injured party at the time of injury.2

To this amount other income incidental to work, such as

fringe benefits, should be added. From it, the fact-finder

should subtract amounts the wage earner would have been

required to pay, such as income tax and work expenses.°

Even in a non-inflationary economy, earnings of a

worker ‘‘tend to inflate’ from the operation of a number of

factors, ‘“‘some linked to the specific individual and sorne

linked to broader societal forces.”* The operation of both

kinds of influences should be considered to reach the first

“ The same principles apply if the suit, like these two, involves a

loss of earnings by a decedent. For simplicity we embrace in the term

“loss of earnings by the plaintiff’’ the losses suffered by the next-of-kin

or others entitled to recover in a wrongful death proceeding. In such

cases, of course, the objective is to determine the loss of benef‘ts the sur-

vivor would have suffered. Therefore, computation of the earnings lost

by the deceased provides only a starting point for determining the loss

of benefits suffered by the survivors.

3 When the suit is for wrongful death, the maximum loss of

benefits to the survivors cannot be determined without also subtracting

the living expenses that the worker would have incurred had he coun-

tinued to live and work.

4 Pfeifer, _ U.S. _, 103 S.Ct. at 2549, 76 L.Ed.2d at 782.

A-6

stage in calculating an appropriate award, an estimate of

what the lost stream of income would have been “as a

series of after-tax payments, one in each year of the

worker’s expected remaining career.”

A lump-sum award may be invested in a wide variety

of securities, yielding varying rates dependent in part on

their relative safety. Both Pfeifer and Culver I require that

rate to be based on the return available from “‘the best and

safest investments,’ and to be computed after consider-

ing the effect of income tax on the interest received. !

The rate of interest available even on the safest in-

vestments varies depending on time at which the invest-

ment matures. Therefore, in computing the rate to be used,

it is essential to determine how the award will be invested.

In Pfeifer, the Court recognized that the plaintiff might in-

vest the award ‘exclusively in safe short-term notes,

reinvesting them at the new market rate whenever they

mature,”’ or in ‘‘a mixture of safe short-term, medium-term,

and long-term bonds, with one scheduled to mature each

year of his expected worklife.’”’ It then stated, ‘‘We perceive

no intrinsic reason to prefer one assumption over the

other.‘‘8

Inflation, which has been a permanent fixture in our

> Td. at _, 103 S.Ct. at 2550, 76 L.Ed.2d at 782 (emphasis added).

6 Pfeifer, _ U.S. at _, 103 S.Ct. at 2550, 76 L.Ed.2d at 783

(quoting Chesapeake & Ohio R. Co. v. Kelly, 241 U.S. 485, 491, 36 S.Ct.

630, 632, 60 L.Ed. 1117, 1123 (1916)); Culver J, 688 F.2d at 302.

7 Pfeifer, U.S. at _, 103 U.S. at 2550, 76 L.Ed.2d at 783; Culver

I, 688 F.2d 302 n. 32.

8 Pfeifer, U.S. at _n. 23, 103 S.Ct. at 2551-52 n. 23, 76 L.Ed.2d

at 785 n. 23.

A-7

economy for many decades, affects both the income stream

and the market interest rate. In this opinion, we consider

only the method of taking general economic inflation into

account. In accomplishing this, as we said in Culver I,

“(t]he goal is not...to protect the lump-sum award from the

effect of inflation.” It is, instead, ‘‘to assure the plaintiff

the equivalent of the total of all of his future wages,’’ in-

cluding those earnings likely to be affected by inflation.?

As the Court noted in Pfeifer, three methods are

available for adjusting damage awards to account for the

effect of inflation. In the case-by-case method, the fact-

finder is asked to predict all of the wage increases a plain-

tiff would have received during each year that he could

have been expected to work, but for his injury, including

those attributable to price inflation. This prediction allows

the fact-finder to compute the income stream the plaintiff

has lost because of his disability. The fact-finder then dis-

counts that income stream to present value, using the

estimated after-tax market interest rate, and the resulting

figure is awarded to the plaintiff.1°

In the below-market-discount method, the fact-finder

does not attempt to predict the wage increases the par-

ticular plaintiff would have received as a result of price in-

flation. Instead, the trier of fact estimates the wage in-

creases the plaintiff would have received each year as a

result of all factors other than inflation. The resulting in-

come stream is discounted by a below-market discount

rate. This discount rate represents the estimated market

interest rate, adjusted for the effect of any income tax,

2 Culver I, 688 F.2d at 287.

10 See Pfeifer, _ U.S. at _, 103 S.Ct. at 2556, 76 L.Ed.2d at 790;

Culver I, 688 F.2d at 298.

A-8

and then offset by the estimated rate of general future

price inflation. 11

The third method is the “total-offset’’ method. In

this calculation, future wage increases, including the ef-

fects of future price inflation, are legally presumed to offset

exactly the interest a plaintiff would earn by investing the

lump-sum damage award. Therefore, the fact-finder using

this method awards the plaintiff the amount it estimates he

would have earned, and neither discounts the award nor ad-

justs it for inflation. !2

II.

The Culver I opinion would have permitted the par-

ties to pursue any of these methods in order to demonstrate

to the fact-finder what adjustment, if any, should be made

to compensate for increases in the plaintiff’s future wages

due to the economic factors summed up by the term infla-

tion. Indeed, we endorsed the first method, involving

specific forecasts of inflation’s effect on a particular plain-

tiff’s wages, as “‘simpler and more accurate’ than the

below-market discount approaches. !3

The procedures necessary to determine the impact of

future price inflation on a particular plaintiff on a year-by-

1) See Pfeifer, U.S. at _, 103 S.Ct. at 2556, 76 L.Ed.2d at 790;

Culver I, 688 F.2d at 295-96.

12 See Pfeifer, _ U.S. at _, 103 S.Ct. at 2554, 76 L.Ed.2d at 787:

Culver I, 688 F.2d at 299 & n. 26; see also Beaulieu v. Elliott, 434 P.2d

665 (Alaska 1967). This was the approach adopted by the Third Circuit

in Pfeifer. See Pfeifer v. Jones & Laughlin Steel Corp., 678 F.2d 453 (3d

Cir.1982), rev'd, __ U.S. _, 103 S.Ct. 2541, 76 L.Ed.2d 768 (1983).

13 See Culver I, 688 F.2d at 298.

A-9

year basis are complex and time consuming. Elaborate ex-

pert testimony is required. The battle of economic experts

is apt to shift the trial’s emphasis from the determination

of liability and the estimation of basic damages into the for-

mulation of predictions concerning the national, indeed,

global, economic future, including the liklihood of future in-

creases or decreases in oil prices and the stability of foreign

governments. Unuer Culver I, defendants were free not on-

ly to controvert the plaintiffs’ damage calculations; they

could alsc dispute the validity of the method by which the

plaintiffs’ experts calculated damages. If such a dispute

evolved, the fact-finder would be required to decide which

of at least two competing methods, each avouched by an

expert, it would use to determine discount before applying

the method it chose to determine the rate of discount, yet

another determination to be based on contradictory expert

testimony.

Different formulae, each thought to be theoretically

accurate, might be applied in literally hundreds of in-

dividual cases because of the conclusions reached by dif-

ferent fact-finders. The results in otherwise similar cases

would vary widely depending on the particular expert

witnesses called, on the fact-finders’ agreement or disagree-

ment with the methods they advocated, and of the different

fact-finders’ evaluations of their testimony. The voyage in

search of mathematical certainty would discover instead a

continent of conflict and conjecture.

Anticipating these problems to some degree in

Culver I, we expressed hope that the parties would, by

agreement, eliminate the need to litigate many of these con-

fusing issues:

In the great majority of cases, we believe, the

A-10

parties can and will be able to stipulate to the

methodology, discount rate, the admissibility of

economic data, tables, etc. and other technical

aspects, as well as to any particular issues of fact

underlying the calculations.

Culver I, 688 F.2d at 311. We continue to express that hope.

Nothing in this opinion prevents the parties from stipulating

to any of these matters or to anything else that may affect

the determination of damages. We cannot ignore the

possibility, however, that in many, perhaps most, cases such

stipulations will not be possible. This opinion determines only

the method to be followed when the parties cannot agree.

In such cases, litigating in every instance the

amount and the effect of future price inflation is not likely

to produce the result that would have been obtained had

the plaintiff not been injured.14 No one can accurately

predict the course of future inflation. A survey of the

general literature for the past several years illustrates a

sorry tale of repeated confusion, contradition and uncer-

tainty in economic forecasts.!5 Current complaints about

economic 7

14 Cf Norfolk & W. Ry. v. Liepelt, 444 U.S. 490, 100 S.Ct. 755,

62 L.Ed.2d 689 (1980). In Liepelt the Court held that juries should be

permitted to consider the effect of income taxes on an award for lost

future earnings, notwithstanding the complexity of that issue and the

possible need for protracted expert testimony and debate. Jd. at 494,

100 S.Ct. at 758, 62 L.Ed.2d at 694. Ir that case the difficulty of placing

the issue before the jury was justified by the fact that the jury could

reach a correct determination if the evidence was presented to them

clearly. But there is no correct determination of inflationary trends. The

court or the jury must reach what is at best an educated guess.

15 See, e.g., Grant, Current / Yield, Barron’s 56, 70 (February 14,

1983); Where Big Economic Models Go Wrong, Bus. Week 70

(March 30, 1961); An Amazing Contradiction in Economic Prophecies,

Bus. Week 39 (May 28, 1979); Inflation Defies the Guidelines, Bus.

Week 32 (February 12, 1979); Mixed Grades for the Economists, Bus.

A-11

forecasting generally concern relatively short-term

forecasts. Over a longer term, events as diverse—and

unpredictable—as spending to finance a Southeast Asian

war, an oil embargo, disagreement between members of the

oil cartel, or a drought causing widespread agricultural

failures could profoundly increase inflation.1© A major

depression or the discovery of significant and inexpensive

fuel resources might reduce its present impact.

Whether or not the science of economics continues to

be dismal,” it is assuredly in this regard conjectural. The

case-by-case method sacrifices efficiency and simplicity for

(Footnote 15 continued)

Week 30 (December 25, 1978); Theory Deserts the Forecasters, Bus.

Week 50 (June 19, 1974); Forbes, Economics Shouldn’t Be a Branch of

Mathematics, Forbes 21 (January 18, 1982); Jf We Don't Know Where

We Are, How Can We Tell Where We Are Going, Forbes 119 (April 2,

1979); Stockman’s Ladder, Newsweek 66 (February 9, 1981); Black-Box

Forecasting, Time 92 (February 23, 1981). Even the Council of Economic

Advisors has conceded that ‘‘its ability to forecast inflation is at best

imperfect.’’ The Economic Report of the President 1976, at 20; see also

Council of Economic Advisors, Economic Report of the President 1982,

at 215 (admitting federal government cannot fully anticipate the course

of the economy); Solow, The Intelligent Citizen's Guide to Inflation,

Public Interest 49 (Winter 1975) (suggesting we may be less able to

predict price levels 5-10 years into the future than in the past when

stable prices were the norm).

On September 14, 1981, the date we heard oral argument en banc

in Culver IJ, the prime lending rate was 20.5 percent and the annual rate

of inflation was 14.8 percent. On August 1, 1983, the prime lending rate

was 10.5 percent. For the first six months of 1983, the annual rate of in-

flation has been only 2.9 percent.

16 See W. Branson & J. Litvack, Macroeconomics 408-14 (1976);

Economic Report of the President 1978, at 139-42. Cf. Econc nic Report

of the President 1974 (‘increasingly complex and interdependent world”’

increases difficulties in forecasting inflation); Inflation Defies the

Guidelines, supra note 4 (discussing variety of factors affecting

inflation).

17 7. Carlyle, Latter-day Pamphlets no. 1 (1850).

A-12

pursuit of a ‘“‘delusive exactness.’’/8 As the Court noted in

Pfeifer: ‘‘It is perfectly obvious that the most detailed in-

quiry can at best produce an approximate result.””19

The inherent inaccuracy of specific forecasts of

future inflation, coupled with the length and complexity of

the proceedings necessary to engage in such forecasts, con-

vinced the Supreme Court that the case-by-case method of

adjusting damage awards for inflation ‘‘should be

discouraged.’’29 “{S]ince specific forecasts of future price

inflation remain too unreliable to be useful in many cases,

it will normally be a costly and ultimately unproductive

waste of [plaintiffs’] resources to make such forecasts the

centerpiece’ of accident litigation.*1 Recognizing the

Court’s disapproval of the case-by-case method, we hold

that it should not be used in this circuit to adjust damage

awards for inflation.

Ill

The paramount concern of a court awarding damages

for lost future earnings is to provide the victim with a sum

of money that will, in fact, replace the money that he would

have earned. Arriving at a reasonable estimate of anyone’s

financial future involves estimates of a whole spectrum of

factors. We commonly exclude many relevant factors from

consideration on the basis that they are so speculative that

18See Pfeifer, _ U.S. at _, 103 S.Ct. at 2558, 76 L.Ed.2d at 792

(quoting Feldman v. Allegheny Airlines, Inc., 524 F.2d 384, 392 (2d Cir.

1975) (Friendly, J., concurring dubitante)).

19 preifer, _ U.S. at _, 103 S.Ct. at 2558, 75 L.Ed.2d at 792.

207d. at _, 103 S.Ct. at 2556, 76 L.Ed.2d at 790.

21 ia

A-13

they cannot accurately be determined. For example, we

consider only work-life expectancy and do not take into ac-

count the possibility that a worker will change to work that

is more pleasurable but pays less. When considering the

loss suffered as a result of the death of a wage-earner, we

do not consider the likelihood that a widowed spouse may

remarry.22 Nor do we take into account the stability of an

already accomplished remarriage, or the age, appearance or

personality of the surviving spouse.

While factors such as these do in fact affect the loss

of future income, we place a higher value on a reasonable

and workable system for establishing damages than we do

on detailed precision in arriving at an award. ‘“[W]e must

remember that the ultimate total damage figure awarded is

the sum of a series of predictions, none of which involves

mathematical certainty, and that it is the reasonableness of

the ultimate figure that is really in issue in such a case as

this.” Barnes v. United States, 685 F.2d 66, 70 (3d

Cir.1982) (quoting United States v. Furumizo, 381 F.2d

965, 970 (9th Cir.1967)).24

“‘{I]f forecasts of future price inflation are not used,

it is necessary [for the fact-finder] to choose an appropriate

22 See, e.g., Bailey v. Southern Pac. Transp. Co., 613 F.2d 1385,

1388 (5th Cir.1980) (applying Texas law); City of Brady v. Finklea, 400

F.2d 352, 358 (5th Cir.1965) (same). See generally Annot., 88 A.L.R.3d

926 (1978); Annot. 87 A.L.R.2d 252 (1963).

23 See, e.g. Kalavity v. United States, 584 F.2d 809, 822 (6th

Cir.1978) (dictum; applying Ohio law).

24 See also Pfeifer, _ U.S. at _, n. 34, 108 S.Ct. at 2558 n. 34, 76

L.Ed.2d at 792 n. 34 (‘Throughout this opinion we have noted the many

rough approximations that are essential under any manageable ap-

proach to an award for lost earnings.’’).

A-14

below-market discount rate.’’2° Adoption of this method

guards against the wide disparity in results, the extended

duration in trial time, and the increased cost to the parties

that may be anticipated if a specific forecast of future price

inflation is made anew in each case involving loss of future

earnings. It achieves a no more uncertain approximation of

inflation’s effect on the damage award. Because it does not

attempt a specific forecast of how inflation will affect the

particular plaintiff before the court, however, it is less com-

plex and time consuming.

Even establishing an appropriate below-market dis-

count rate, however, is difficult. Economists do not yet ful-

ly understand the relationship between inflation and in-

terest. Recent studies discredit the received wisdom, voic-

ed a decade ago, that there is a constant real rate of interest

that can be determined merely by filtering inflationary ex-

pectations from nominal interest rates.26 However, while

the studies find that the real rate varies, estimates

uniformly fix its amount over any fairly lengthy period as

falling into a range that runs from three percent to a

negative rate of -1.5%.27

“9 Pfeifer, _ U.S. at _, 103 S.Ct. at 2556, 76 L.Ed.2d at 790.

26 For examples of the most recent scholarship, see Wilcox, Why

Real Interest Rates Were So Low in the 1970's, 73 Am.Econ.R. 44 (1983);

Fama & Gibbons, Inflation, Real Returns and Capital Investment, 9 J.

Monetary Econ. 297 (1982); Mishkin, The Real Interest Rate: An Em-

pirical Investigation, National Bureau of Economic Research Reprint

No. 243 (1981).

27 See Pfeifer, U.S. at _ nn. 30 & 31, 103 S.Ct. at 2556-57 nn.

30 & 31, 76 L.Ed.2d at 790-91 nn. 30 & 31; O'Shea v. Riverway Towing

Co., 677 F.2d 1194, 1199 (7th Cir.1982); Doca, 634 F.2d at 39 & n. 10 (col-

lecting economic studies); Feldman v. Allegheny Airlines Inc., 382

F.Supp. 1271, 1293 (D.Conn.1974), aff'd, 524 F.2d 384 (2d Cir.1975). In

an article recently published in the American Economic Review, an

economist estimated the real rate between 1960 and 1973 at 1.3%.

A-15

We hold that fact-finders in this Circuit must adjust

damage awards to account for inflation according to the

below-market discount rate method. The parties may, if they

wish, stipulate the below-market discount rate, as they may

stipulate any other disputed issue. If they are unable to do

so, they may introduce expert opinion concerning the ap-

propriate rate. Other evidence about the effect of price infla-

tion is inadmissible. Evidence about the likelihood that the

earnings of an injured worker would increase due to personal

merit, increased experience and other individual and societal

factors continue, of course, to be admissible.28 We recognize

that the Supreme Court declined in Pfeifer to select a single

(Footnote 27 continued)

Wilcox, Why Real Interest Rates Were So Low in the 1970's, 73 Am.Econ.R.

44, 45 (1983) (Table 1).

Interestingly, Wilcox also estimated that between 1974 and 1978,

the real rate was -0.8%. 73 Am.Econ.R. 44, 45. Professor Mishkin recently

summarized the movement of the real rate over the last twenty-five years:

[T]he real rate tended to be positive in the first twenty years

of the sample period [1953-1973], with a declining trend from

1953-1956, and upward trend reaching a maximum in the boom

years of the mid-1960’s, and a declining trend thereafter...The

real interest rate appears to turn negative towards the end of

1972 and the downward trend accelerates through the end of

1974, whereupon the real rate stays negative but has no easi-

ly discernible trend.

Mishkin, supra note 11, at 168-70. However, his estimates suggest that

the real rate has varied within the relatively narrow range between ap-

proximately two percent and approximately negative three percent. Jd.

at 171 (figure 2). Within the last year, we have witnessed what appears

to be a dramatic change in the real rate. estimates of inflation hover about

an annual rate of 5%. Long-term U.S. securities yield 11% or more in in-

terest. Scholarly economic writings that consider the effect of these

developments in economic theory have not yet appeared. However, this

development, which had not been forecast, indicates further the uncer-

tainties in economic forecasting.

28 See Pfeifer, _ U.S. at _, 103 S.Ct. at 2556, 76 L.Ed.2d at 790;

Culver I, 688 F.2d at 305 n. 39.

A-16

method of accounting for inflation. We are confronted,

however, with the need to adapt that opinion to jury trials.

We also think it desirable to afford litigants and the courts

the opportunity to determine the actual operation of this

less complex method in order that its efficacy fo. national

use can be determined.

As we have noted, the discount rate may be affected

by the fact-finder’s assumption about the type of invest-

ment the plaintiff will choose, for long-term investments

usually yield higher nominal interest rate returns than

short-term investments of the same quality. The Supreme

Court having said in Pfeifer that it perceives ‘‘no intrinsic

reason to prefer one assumption over the other,’’ we man-

date neither.29 However, the fact-finder should not con-

sider the plaintiff’s possible need for emergency funds as a

factor in favor of short-term investments; the injured wage-

earner should have no greater right to a resource againrt

future emergencies than he vould have had if he had con-

tinued to work.

In judge-tried cases, a trial court adopting a pre-tax

discount rate between one and three percent will not be

reversed if it explains the reasons for its choice.29 This

guideline, however, goes only to the reasonableness of the

correlation between the pre-tax market rate of interest and

the inflation rate. As discussed above, this pre-tax discount

rate must then be adjusted for tax effects. If supported by

appropriate expert opinion, the trial judge might make no

discount or even adopt a negative rate not to exceed -1.5%

before adjusting for tax effects. In jury trials, the jury

29 Pfeifer, _ U.S. at _ n.23, 103 S.Ct. at 2552 n. 23, 76 L.Ed.2d

at 785 n. 23.

30 Pfeifer, U.S. at, 103 S.Ct. at 2556, 76 L.Ed.2d at 790.

A-17

should be instructed in the usual fashion concerning the

weight to be given expert opinion evidence. The jury may

then be permitted to return a singie-figure award for

damages or it may be required to answer interrogatories

stating, among other items, the amount of loss of future

earnings for each year for which it makes an award, and the

discount rate it chooses to apply. The court will then be

able to compute the total award or to require the parties to

complete the arithmetic.

IV.

Just as we cannot ignore the reality of inflation, we

cannot ignore the fact that long term economic conditions

may change or that economic forecasting may become

more certain. We recognize too that, although both the

Fifth and Eleventh Circuits will be bound by this decision,

Congress has declared that we are no longer a single

court.?! It fulfills rather than ignores the will of Congress

to acknowledge that, in the future, either circuit en banc

will be free to reconsider this decision. Should counsel for

any party in any future case think this decision no longer

reflects long-term economic facts or contemporary

economic theory, a proffer of evidence may be made in the

trial court to preserve the issue for an appellate panel and,

thereafter, for en banc consideration.

Although we adopt a single method for adjusting

future damage awards, our ruling, made on application fer

rehearing, shall not apply to any case in which, before the

date this opinion was published, either a jury returned a

3! See Banco Nacional De La Vivienda v. Cooper, 680 F.2d 727,

730 n. 3 (11th Cir.1982); Stein v. Reynolds Securities, Inc., 667 F.2d 33,

34 (11th Cir.1982). See also The Fifth Circuit Court Reorganization Act

of 1980, P.L. 96-452, 94 Stat. 1995.

A-18

verdict after being instructed on the basis of the principles

set forth in Culver J, or a judge made findings of fact fixing

damages pursuant to those principles.

For these reasons, Parts I through VI of our prior en

banc decision, 688 F.2d 280, 283-95, are reaffirmed. The

rule announced in Johnson v. Penrod Drilling Co., 510 F.2d

234 (5th Cir.) (en banc), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 839, 96 S.Ct.

68-69, 46 L.Ed.2d 58 (1975), is overruled. We withdraw,

however, Parts VII through XII of our decision in Culver

I. 688 F.2d at 295-311. The views expressed in this opinion

shall govern the adjustment of federal damage awards for

future lost earnings in this Circuit.

Courts are not prophets and juries are not seers. In

making awards to compensate injured plaintiffs or the

dependents of deceased workers for loss of future earnings,

however, these fact-finders must attempt, in some degree,

to gauge future events. Absolute certainty is by the very

nature of the effort impossible. It is also impossible to take

into account every bit of potentially relevant evidence con-

cerning the tomorrows of a lifetime. The approach we adopt

attempts to assure plaintiffs a fair measure of damages, to

give defendants a reasonable adjustment for reducing

future losses to present value, and to avoid making trials

even more complex and their results even more uncertain.

It is the product of a balancing of competing values.

Ultimately, however, that is the root of all justice.

The judgments in Culver, No. 79-3985, and Byrd, No.

78-3064, are REVERSED, and the cases are REMANDFD

to the district court for further proceedings on the issue of

damages. The panel opinions are adopted in all other

respects.

A-19

JOHN R. BROWN, Circuit Judge, with whom FAY,

POLITZ, R. LANIER ANDERSON, ITI, RANDALL, TATE,

SAM D. JOHNSON and JERRE S. WILLIAMS, Circuit

Judges, join, dissenting:

With the ink scarcely dry on Pfeifer (Jones & Laughlin

Steel Corp. v. Pfeifer, _ U.S. _, __, 103 S.Ct. 2541, 2554, 76

L.Ed.2d 768, 788 (1983)), in which, with remarkable

unanimous clarity, the High Court chose not to pick one of

the several methods in its collective economic hat it con-

sidered legally sound for calculating lost future wages in civil

damage actions and instead chose to leave that crucial deci-

sion to the trial judge in that and future cases, a majority

of this Court elevates one approach beyond any choice to be

the only way, for mandatory application in eighteen! federal

judicial districts across a half-dozen Southern states, for a

broad group of litigants to arrive at fair sums of money to

compensate injured parties. Guided by the decision of Pfeifer,

its approval of Culver I, and the direction that the choice of

methodology should be left to the district court, not this

Court, I respectfully dissent.”

I.

In overruling Penrod (Johnson v. Peniod Drilling Co.,

! This is likely the last opinion of the “old” Fifth Circuit, binding

on all district courts in the present Fifth and Eleventh Circuits. See Bon-

ner vu. City of Prichard, 661 F.2d 1206, 1209 (11th Cir.1981) (en banc) (panel

decisions of former Fifth Circuit rendered prior to September 30, 1983

are binding precedent); Stein v. Reynolds Securities, Inc., 667 F.2d 33, 34

(11th Cir.1982) (all en banc decisions of former Fifth Circuit are binding

precedent).

2 Though I of course agree with the result of the majority opinion,

that the judgment below be reversed to overrule Penrod, the drastic

modification of Culver I and disregard of Pfeifer nevertheless compels me

to dissent.

A-20

510 F.2d 234 (5th Cir.) (en banc), cert. denied 423 U.S. 839,

96 S.Ct. 68-69, 46 L.Ed.2d 58 (1975)) which forbade proof,

argument, or jury instruction concerning inflationary factors

in damage awards in actions under maritime or federal law,

“it [was] not our purpose to establish a single methodology”

for all federal courts in the Old Fifth to thenceforth account

for such factors in determining future lost earnings. Culver

v. Slater Boat Co., 688 F.2d 280, 305 (5th Cir.1982) (en banc)

(Culver I). Rather, we adopted a “flexible approach to the pro-

blem which [w]jould result in fairness regardless of the

economic circumstances that exist at the time of trial’’ and

left open the opportunity for each party to offer relevant

evidence supporting or refuting any of the several discussed

theories of calculating lost earnings. Jd. at 286. ‘In the

dynamic and ever-changing world of finance and economics,”

we felt that “any standard which is inflexible...will likely be

unable to cope with the problem of preventing windfalls either

to plaintiff or defendant.” Jd. at 300. Our goal was “to create

standards that are fair to both sides of the controversy, with

the trier of fact being allowed to receive and ac‘ upon credi-

ble evidence of the economic facts bearing, pro and con, on

the competing theories.” Jd.

Pfeifer, on the heels of Culver J, clearly follows this flex-

ible approach. The Supreme Court unequivocally refused to

establish anything but “the general boundaries within which

a particular award will be considered legally acceptable,’?

° The Supreme Court was squarely faced with the same choice before

this Court today.

The litigants and the amici in this case urge us to select one

of the many rules that have been proposed and establish it for

all time as the exclusive method in all federal trials for

calculating an award for lost earnings in an inflationary

economy.

A-21

U.S. at _, 103 S.Ct. at 2555, 76 L.Ed.2d at 789, simply

because no one method of calculating lost earnings was

above some legitimate criticism and thus appropriate for

all cases.

The Court questioned certain aspects of each of the

three principal proposed methods, making it clear that

under some circumstances one or more of the three could be

inappropriate. (i) It thought that methods employing

specific forecasts of future inflation on a case-by-case basis

‘remain too unreliable to be useful in many cases,’’ __ U.S.

at _, 103 S.Ct. at 2556, 76 L.Ed.2d at 790 (emphasis add-

ed), and discouraged their general use. (ii) As to the real in-

terest (or below-market) discount rate approaches, the

Court found the ‘‘economic evidence distinctly inconclusive

regarding an essential premise of those approaches,”’ id.—

the “‘key premise...that the real interest rate remains stable

over time.’’ Such a rate is ‘‘obviously not perfectly stable,”’

and, the Court observed, “‘whether it is even relatively

stable is hotly disputed among economists,”’ Jd. at __ n. 30,

103 S.Ct. at 2556 n. 30, 76 L.Ed.2d at 790 n. 30; accord

Culver I, 688 F.2d at 302 (‘‘As evidence becomes available

that the next 20 or 30 years will not be like the past 20 or

30 years, then the Feldman approach is less helpful.’’).

Even the majority recognizes this.4 (iii) Lastly, it ‘‘was not

(Footnote 3 continued)

__ U.S. at _., 103 S.Ct. at 2555, 76 L.Ed.2d at 789. Like that Court I am

“not persuaded, however, that such an approach is warranted.” Jd.

4 Even establishing an appropriate below-market discount

rate, however, is difficult. Economists do not yet fully

understand the relationship between inflation and interest.

Recent studies discredit the received wisdom, voiced a

decade ago, that there is a constant real rate of interest that

can be determined merely by filtering inflationary expecta-

tions from nominal interest rates.

See supra at 16123.

A-22

prepared to impose [the ‘‘total offset’’ approach] on unwill-

ing litigants,’’ as had the Third Circuit below, for such ap-

proaches rely on at least one assumption the Court could

not unquestioningly accept—that ‘‘the national patterns of

wage growth are likely to reflect the patterns within any

given industry.” _ U.S. at __, 103 S.Ct. at 2557, 76

L.Ed.2d at 791-92; cf. Culver I, 688 F.2d at 299 (“‘penalizes

defendants because...interest rates on relatively safe in-

vestments will typically ride several percentage points

above the rate of inflation’’). To the Court, “‘[t]he legislative

branch of the federal government [was] far better equipped

than [it] to perform a comprehensive economic analysis and

to fashion the proper general rule.’’__ U.S. at __, 103 S.Ct.

at 2557, 76 L.Ed.2d at 792. Importantly, though, the Court

characterized each of the three methods as “legally

acceptable.”’

Consequently, the Court chose to allow to the trial

judge on remand discretion to apply in a deliberate choice

any one or more of the “legally acceptable’’ methods the

Court discussed—those involving specific forecasts of

future inflation, those using a below-market or real interest

discount rate, or those based on the notion of total offset.

This is precisely what Culver I ordained: no one method

was either prescribed or forbidden. And Pfeifer approved

Culver I.°

> Of course, Pfeifer did point out, __ U.S. at __ n. 27, 103 S.Ct. at

2554 n. 27, 76 L.Ed.2d at 787 n. 27, an error in steps (2) and (3) in this

Court’s illustrative summary of computation of lost earnings in Culver

I. See 688 F.2d at 309 (concerning “average annual income’’).

Unavoidably cast in general terms, that summary would have led to

significant error. Since averaging the normally increasing estimated an-

nual income stream would raise estimates for the early years and lower

them for the later years, and since early years are discounted less that

later years, averaging would unjustifiably increase the award to plain-

tiffs. In the year since Culver I was handed down, I have valiantly made

every effort to correct this error.

A-23

II.

Despite the clear holding in Pfeifer and its approval

of Culver I’s approach, the majority today declares that,

though ‘‘the Supreme Court declined in Pfeifer to select a

single method of accounting for inflation,’’ unless the par-

ties can stipulate to the contrary, all ‘‘fact-finders in this

Circuit must adjust damage awards to account for inflation

according to the below-market discount rate method.”’ See

supra at 16123. The C: urt takes from the district court—

and puts squarely in the hands of the Court of Appeals—

the responsibilitiy of choosing, from among competing

economic theories, the methodology or methodologies

which could be used to most equitably and adequately

determine future lost earnings under the circumstances of

that case. Apparently this is done to spare jurors from the

rigors of listening to presentations on such competing

methods (which the Court seems ‘‘convinced”’ will in-

variably turn into ‘graduate seminar[s] on economic

forecasting,” see supra at [m/s at 4]), and from the difficul-

ty of making such reasoned choices. In doing so, the Court

makes choices of economic fact ‘‘hotly disputed [even]

among economists.”

Pfeifer, like Culver I, however plainly evidences a

confidence that trial courts® are fully capable and actually

better able to make such difficult decisions on the facts of

individual cases, at least until Congress declares otherwise.

© T read nothing in Pfeifer which would prevent a trial judge from

choosing the appropriate economic theory for calculating lost future ear-

nings in a jury trial, based on the proof put forward by the parties. To

me, however, Pfeifer leaves no room for this Court to make a similar

decision for all cases for all time without any consideration of the cir-

cumstances of a particular case.

A-24

I thus must dissent.

R. LANIER ANDERSON, III, Circuit Judge,

dissenting:

Although I personally approve of the approach

outlined by Judges Rubin and Frank M. Johnson, and

would recommend it to district courts in this circuit, I

agree with Judge Brown that the Supreme Court in Jones

& Laughlin Steel Corp. v. Pfeifer, _ U.S. _, 103 S.Ct. 2541,

76 L.Ed.2d 768 (1983), has disapproved of that approach.

Accordingly, I join Judge Brown’s dissent.

TJOFLAT, Circuit Judge, dissenting:

In Culver, No. 79-3985, I continue to adhere to my

view that appellants are not entitled to a new trial. Culver

v. Slater Boat Co., 688 F.2d 280, 315 (5th Cir.1982) (en

banc) (Culver I) (Tjoflat, J., dissenting).

In Byrd, No. 78-3064, I join in Judge Brown’s dissen-

ting opinion.

q Beyond disagreeing with the majority’s annointment of one

method over the other “‘legally acceptable’ rules for calculating lost ear-

nings, I simply point out that whether the majority has made the correct

choice is problematic. See, e.g. Zocco & Ledford, Penrod Overruled: Im-

plications and Shortcomings in Culver regarding the Determination of

Economic Damages, 29 Loy.L.Rev. 37, 47-53 (1983) (authors recommend

adoption of the ‘‘expected inflation method”’ as ‘‘the Feldman method

{using a below-market discount rate and adopted by the majority

here]...is merely Penroc! in disguise’’); also see the criticisms of that

theory in Pfeifer, _ U.S. at __, 103 S.Ct. at 2556, n. 30, 76 L.Ed.2d at

790-91, n. 30; and Culver J, 688 F.2d at 300-02. That ‘he below-market

discount rate method may be inappropriate under some (or most) cir-

cumstances is only further evidence supporting the flexible approach of

Culver I.

A-25

APPENDIX “B”

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT*

NO. 78-3064

WILLIE MAY BYRD, As Administratriz

of the Estate of Lawrence Byrd, deceased,

Plaintiff-Appellant-Cross-Appellee,

versus

HEINRICH SCHMIDT REEDEREI,

Defendant-Appellee-Cross-Appellant.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the

Middle District of Florida

NO. 79-3985

RUTH CULVEh, ET AL..,

Plaintiffs-Appellants-Cross-Appellees,

versus

SLATER BOAT CO., ET AL.,

Defendants-Appellees-Cross-Appellants *

* Former Fifth Circuit case, Section 9(1) of Public Law 96-452, Oc-

tober 4, 1980

A-26

EUROPIRATES INTERNATIONAL, iNC., ET AL.,

Defendants-Appellees and Cross-Appellees-Appellants,

versus

ODECO DRILLING, ET AL..,

Defendants-Appellees-Cross-Appellants.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Louisiana

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING

(Filed Feb. 24, 1984)

Before GOLDBOLD, Chief Judge, BROWN, CHARLES

CLARK, RONEY, GEE, TJOFLAT, HILL, FAY, RUBIN,

VANCE, KRAVITCH, FRANK M. JOHNSON, JR.,

HENDERSON, REAVLEY, POLITZ, HATCHETT,

ANDERSON, RANDALL, TATE, SAM D. JOHNSON,

THOMAS A. CLARK and WILLIAMS, Circuit Judges.**

PER CURIAM:

IT IS ORDERED that the petitions for rehearing

** Judge Garza participated in the first en banc hearing but

senior status on July 7, 1982. He, therefore, did not participate in the

first en banc decision. Subsequently, he became qualified to sit by virtue

of the 1982 amendment to 28 U.S.C. § 46(a). He has, however, elected not

to participate.

Judges Garwood, Jolly, Higginbotham, and Davis joined the Court after

' submission and oral argument and elect not to participate.

A-27

filed in the above entitled and numbered causes be and the

same are hereby DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/S/ Signed

UNITED STATES CIRCUIT JUDGE

A-28

APPENDIX “C”’

Ruth CULVER, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants Cross-Appellees,

v.

SLATER BOAT CO., et al.,

Defendants-Appellees Cross-Appellants,

EUROPIRATES INTERNATIONAL, INC., et al.,

Defendanits-Appellees and Cross-Appellees-Appellants,

v.

ODECO DRILLING, et al.,

Defendants-Appellees Cross-Appellants.

No. 79-3985

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit*

Sept. 22, 1982.

Wife and children of foreman of anchor-pulling crew

brought maritime personal injury case arising out of

foreman’s death. The United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Louisiana, Charles Schwartz, Jr., J.,

entered judgment from which appeals and cross appeals

were taken. The Court of Appeals affirmed as modified, 644

F.2d 460. On rehearing en banc, the Court of Appeals

* Former Fifth Circuit case, Section 9(1) of Public Law 96-452—

October 14, 1980.

A-29

Brown, Circuit Judge, overruling a previous case, held

that: (1) prohibition of any consideration of inflationary fac-

tors in ascertaining damages award for loss of future wages

is unfair to plaintiffs and would be overruled, an (2) in

ascertainment of damages for loss of future wages, plain-

tiffs should be permitted to establish by factual economic

and labor data, and expert testimony, that their income

would probably continue to increase in response to infla-

tion in future years if they continue to work, and likewise,

using economic and labor data and expert testimony,

defendant should be permitted to rebut such evidence.

Reversed and remanded.

James C. Hill, Circuit Judge, filed opinion concurring

in part and dissenting in part, in which R. Lanier Ander-

son, III, Circuit Judge, joined.

Charles Clark, Circuit Judge, dissented and filed opi-

nion in which Roney and Gee, Circuit Judges, joined.

Gee, Tjoflat and Frank M. Johnson, Jr., Circuit

Judges, dissented and filed opinions.

Appeals from the United States District Court for

the Eastern District of Louisiana.

ON REHEARING EN BANC

Before GODBOLD, Chief Judge, BROWN,

CHARLES CLARK, RONEY, GEE, TJOFLAT, HILL,

FAY, RUBIN, VANCE, KRAVITCH, FRANK M.

JOHNSON, Jr., HENDERSON, REAVLEY, POLITZ,

HATCHETT, ANDERSON, RANDALL, TATE, SAM D.

A-30

JOHNSON, THOMAS A. CLARK and WILLIAMS, Cir-

cuit Judges.**

JOHN R. BROWN, Circuit Judge:

This case comes before us on rehearing en banc to

consider whether the holding of this Court in Johnson v.

Penrod Drilling Co., 510 F.2d 234 (5th Cir. 1975) (en banc),

that neither proof, nor argument, nor jury instructions con-

cerning inflationary factors may be considered or used in

maritime, Jones Act, and FELA personal injury and

wrongful death actions, should be overruled.! After careful

consideration of this singular issue, we overrule Penrod and

remand this case to the District Court.

Bound by Penrod

The facts leading up to this appeal have already been

outlined by this Court in the panel’s opinion, 644 F.2d 460,

462-63 (5th Cir. 1981). Briefly, Curtis Culver was killed

while working on a vessel owned by Slater Boat Company.

The vessel upon which the accident took place was engaged

in moving the drilling barge OCEAN QUEEN from its

** Judge Garza participated in the panel opinion and in the en

banc hearing but took senior status on July 7, 1982 and is no longer

qualified to participate in the en banc decision.

Judges Garwood, Jolly and Higginbotham joined the Court after

submission and oral argument but do not choose to participate.

1 Another case involving the same issue, Byrd v. Heinrich

Schmidt Reederei, 638 F.2d 1300, on reh'g en banc, __ F.2d _ (5th Cir.

1982) (en banc) {No. 78-3064, slip op. at 15699, 15700, 1982], was con-

solidated wit’> the present case on rehearing en banc. The Byrd opinion

appears on tae pages immediately following this opinion.

A-31

location on the Outer Continental Shelf to a new location.

The fatal injury occurred before the barge was actually

moved. Culver’s widow and children brought suit under the

Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. § 688, the Death on the High Seas Act

(DOHSA), 46 U.S.C. § 761 et seq., and the general maritime

tort and negligence theory. The jury found negligence on

the part of Gulf Overseas Marine Corporation (Culver’s

employer), Euro-Pirates International (the charterer of the

vessel), and Ocean Drilling & Exploration Company (the

owner of a barge involved in the fatality), and no con-

tributory negligence on the part of Culver.

On the issue of damages, the District Court allowed

testimony concerning discount rates and the earning power

of money invested in low risk bonds. The jury was in-

structed to “discount the total amount”’ of any award by

a percentage that represented an appropriate rate of in-

terest. In answer to the special interrogatory submitted

asking what discount percentage rate was applicable, the

jury filled in ‘‘25%’’. The trial judge, on the basis that the

jury obviously misunderstood the interrogatory, substi-

tuted 9.125%, the only other rate put into evidence by the

defendant. In accordance with Penrod, the District Court

did not allow testimony, charges, or interrogatories to be

submitted on the effects of inflation on probable loss of

future income.

In short, Culver was not permitted to show any like-

ly increase in future earnings due to inflation. But the

award was to be discounted by an interest factor reflecting

anticipated inflation.

Culver initially appealed the judgment, raising five

issues: (i) should Penrod be overruled?; (ii) if Penrod is not

overruled, should evidence of probable non-inflationary

A-32

future wage increases (e.g. merit raises) be prohibited?; (iii)

can a District Court disregard a jury finding regarding the

discount rate and apply one based on opinion testimony?;

(iv) was the testimony of Culver’s adverse witness suffi-

ciently clear that the court could apply that witness’ opi-

nion of the discount rate?; and (v) can a District Court enter

a final judgment for damages applicable to all beneficiaries

in a maritime death action that is incapable of apportion-

ment among the various beneficiaries?” Cross-appeals were

brought by all of the defendants raising several additional

issues.?

Oral argument was heard by a panel of this Court,

and the District Court judgment was affirmed as slightly

4 Briefly, Culver objected to the special interrogatory, which ask-

ed the jury to find the amount that “‘will fairly and adequately compen-

sate Mrs. Culvaer and her children for their damages,” on the grounds

that it was impossible for the jurv to separate the losses suffered by the

children from those suffered by Mrs. Culver. Because a wrongful death

action in Louisiana is a new cause of action by the survivors, and not

a part of the decedent's estate, La. Civ. Code Art. 2315, Culver argued

that damages must be apportioned outside the probate courts. This

argument raised the issue of whether Louisiana law applied at all, in

light of Culver’s Jones Act and DOSHA claims. DOHSA, for example,

specifically provides for apportionment by the Court. 46 U.S.C. § 762.

The defendants argued that a new trial on this issue could be avoided

by permitting the District Court or a state court to apportion the award.

The panel found that the record contained no evidence on which a jury

could have based an apportionment, and that this maritime action was

an improper vehicle to apportion the award. 644 F.2d at 465. We need

not decide this issue because of our remand for a new trial on damages,

at which time the District Judge may properly frame the issue for

Culver’s various claims. See note 6, infra.

3 The following issues were raised on cross-appeal: (i) was it proper

for the District Court to submit a liability question under the DOHSA,

46 U.S.C. § 761, to a jury?; (ii) was there substantial evidence to support

the jury verdict against the defendants?; (iii) did the District Court fail

to find a right of indemnification among the defendants?; and (iv) was

there sufficient evidence to establish William Culver as a child of the

decedent?

A-33

modified. Specifically, the panel considered itself bound by

Penrod’s holding that ‘‘the influence on future damages of

possible inflation or deflation is too speculative a matter

for juridical determination.” 644 F.2d at 643, quoting

penrod, 510 F.2d at 241. And in accordance with Byrd v.

Reederei, 638 F.2d 1300 (5th Cir. 1981) (rehearing en banc

granted), the panel rejected Culver’s argument that the

Supreme Court overruled Penrod in Norfolk & Western

Railway v. Liepelt, 444 U.S. 490, 100 S.Ct. 755, 62 L.Ed.2d

689 (1980).4 Likewise, the panel found no error in the trial

judge’s refusal to allow Culver to argue likely future wage

increases on the basis of merit, because no evidence was of-

fered to show that such an argument was warranted and,

in addition, such evidence was ‘‘merely an indirect way of

putting inflation factors into evidence before the jury

[which is] not allowed under Penrod.”’ 644 F.2d at 464.°

4 In Liepelt, the Supreme Court stated;

[Fjuture interest rates, and future inflation are...matters of

estimate and prediciton. Any one of these issues might pro-

vide the basis for protracted expert testimony and debate.

But the practical wisdom of the trial bar and the trial bench

has developed effective methods of presenting the essential

elements of an expert calculation in the form that is

understandable by juries that are increasingly familiar with

the complexities of modern life.

444 U.S. at 494, 100 S.Ct. at 758, 62 L.Ed.2d at 694. This Court in Byrd,

638 F.2d at 1308, held that ‘‘Liepelt’s favorable dicta is only that.”

5 In addition, the panel found no error in the District Court’s

substitution of 9.125% for 25% as the discount rate to be applied to the

jury's award, because Culver did not offer discount rate evidence and

the court's adoption of the rate suggested by the defendants’ expert was

a proper exercise of discretion. 644 F.2d at 464-65. As to apportionment

of damages, the panel found this maritime action an improper vehicle to

apportion the award, especially since the record contained no evidence

on which the jury could have based its apportionment. 644 F.2d at 465.

The panel also found sufficient and adequate evidence to support the

verdict on liability. The defendants’ arguments as to indemnity on the

A-34

Culver filed a petition for panel rehearing,® and a

separate petition for rehearing en banc, as required by our

rules, raising two closely related issues: (i) should Penrod

be overruled and (ii) does Penrod prohibit a trier of fact in

this Circuit to receive evidence of non-inflationary factors,

such as probabie merit raises and productivity increases, in

arriving at future losses? This Court, voting for rehearing

en banc, determined that the time was ripe for reconsidera-

tion of the rule in Penrod pertaining to the “inflation fac-

tor’ in damages awards. Although Culver’s brief to this

court on rehearing en banc addressed primarily issue (i),

whether proof and argument concerning inflationary

factors

(Footnote 5 continued)

basis of the active/passive negligence theory, was likewise found to be

without merit. 644 F.2d at 465-66. Finally, the claim by one defendant

for a reduction in the damage award based upon the trial judge’s finding

of comparative negligence on the part of Culver was found by the panel

to be unsupportable and that portion of the judgment was modified.

This claim for reduction was based on the finding, in the indemnity

phase of the case, that Culver’s employer was actively negligent because

of the failure of its employee (Culver) to stay in a position of safety. Yet

the jury found Culver free from negligence, and the panel held that the

jury determination should prevail. 644 F.2d at 465.

Except as to those issues concerning the damages award which

will be decided on remand, we adopt all of the panel’s findings and

conclusions.

6 The petition for panel rehearing asserted three errors: (i) it was

improper for the trial judge to adopt the opinion testimony of defen-

dants’ witness as a basis for discounting the jury award, (ii) it was

statutorily necessary that the awards be apportioned by the trier of fact,

and (iii) sufficient evidence was presented such that the jury could have

apportioned damages.

These issues, all relating to the damages award, need not be reach-

ed because of our decision to reverse and remand the case for a new trial

on the question of damages. Specifically, we leave to the District Court

initially the proper handling of the apportionment issue, bearing in mind

the respective beneficiaries, adult and minor, and the respective bases

for liability; Jones Act, DOHSA, Maritime law and Louisiana Law.

A-35

should be permitted in this Circuit, issue (ii) is also involved

since automatic exclusion of evidence of probable merit

raises has resulted from a misreading of Penrod. The defen-

dants argue that Penrod should be upheld, and, in addition,

contend that Culver waived the right to relief on the infla-

tion issue by failing to make an offer of proof regarding the

likelihood of inflation.

A.

Briefly, we will address the defendants’ claim that

Culver waived the right to raise the issue of inflation by his

failure to make a formal proffer at trial. The defendants

called as a witness an investment baker who specialized in

bonds. On cross-examination, Culver’s attorney attempted

to ask whether people earned more money over the years of

their employment due only to productivity. An objection to

the question was sustained. After several more questions,

all counsel approached the bench where the judge made it

clear that the type of evidence excluded in Penrod would

not be permitted in court. The jury was then temporarily

excused, and Culver’s attorney told the judge that he

wanted to ask the expert whether the principal of a bond

would be worth less in the future. The trial judge replied

that deflation was as likely as inflation, and any testimony

as to such factors would be pure speculation. The judge

concluded that “I will not permit you to introduce any

evidence kL» fore the jury relative to inflation in view of the

present law that I am bound by which is the Penrod case.”’

Before closing argument, and before the jury returned, the

judge explained that:

Plaintiff’s counsel will not be permitted to argue

that the jury should take into consideration infia-

tion, nor will it be permitted to make an indirect

A-36

argument which would achieve the same purpose

of permitting him to argue inflation by attemp-

ting to indicate that it could be expected that

plaintiff would receive job promotions or merit

increases.

Again, the judge mentioned the prohibitions of Penrod.

Given this flat prohibition against introducing testimony

(or making argument) as to future inflationary trends on

the basis of Penrod, it makes no sense to argue that Culver

may not raise this issue on appeal simply because he did

not proffer an expert on inflation. Reading the trial

transcript, it is obvious that a record was being created to

challenge or at least find an exception to Penrod. We find

that the matter was suffficiently presented to the judge at

trial and that all parties understood the dilemma—Culver

wanted the jury to consider inflation, and Penrod stood in

the way.

B.

The most problematic issue on this appeal remains:

Should Penrod be overruled so as to allow parties to pre-

sent proof and argument concerning inflationary factors to

the trier of fact? Our analysis will begin with a brief review

of the Penrod decision. In order to illustrate graphically the

implications of Penrod and why it has to be overruled, we

will discuss many of the cases in this Circuit where

Penrod’s prohibitions were effective. Next, we will sum-

marize the criticisms of Penrod which come from other cir-

cuits as well as commentators. As our analysis proceeds, it

will become clear that the problem is one of fairness to

plaintiffs as well as defendants in the trial process. Per-

sonal injury awards, once they have been calculated on the

basis of projected income and life expectancy, are paid

A-37

immediately to the plaintiff. It is well-known that if a plain-

tiff (or his beneficiaries) receives a lump-sum award, total-

ing the income that the plaintiff would have received

throughout the rest of his work life, that money can be in-

vested so as to yield a far greater amount than the initial

award. This would be unfairly liberal to the plaintiff. Conse-

quently, the law tradicionally permits introduction of

testimony, usually by an expert in financial matters, that

the lump-sum should be discounted by a factor equal to the

interest rate which could likely be earned on a relatively

safe investment by an unsophisticated investor. The total

projected earnings are thus reduced to the present cash

value. However, it will be demonstrated that in an infla-

tionary economy, discounting an award in this manner

results in unfairness to a plaintiff or his beneficiaries.

When a discount rate is applied to an award in an economy

where wage-earners typically receive cost of living in-

creases each year due to inflation, the plaintiff will not be

adequately compensated for his loss of future income—

inflation will erode the value of the award, and no adjust-

ment for cost of living can be made even though wages con-

tinue to increase throughout the economy. On the other

hand, if courts respond to this dilemma by refusing to app-

ly a discount rate, as some have, the result would be un-

fairness to defendants. Quite simply, plaintiffs are to be

compensated, by a culpable tortfeasor, but should not be

over- or under-compensated. Likewise, defendants found

liable should pay no more or less than the amount a plain-

tiff lost because of the injury. Keeping in mind the goal of

fairness to both sides of a controversy, this opinion will

consider alternatives and possible guidelines for use in this

Circuit. We will establish a flexible approach to the pro-

blem which should result in fairness regardless of the

economic circumstances that exist at the time of trial. In

the process, we overrule Penrod.

A-38

Il.

Prolegomena

It is crucial to keep in mind that this is really an

economic, and not a legal problem. The likelihood of future

wage increases, whether given on the basis of productivity,

merit advancement, or inflation, or a combination of them,

does not have anything to do with the law. The legal ques-

tion whether such matters should be considered by the courts

is a foundational policy question, the answer to which will

be influenced by recourse to the financial and economic com-

munity. At trial, the issue may well be a legal credibility of

witnesses or competency of evidence, but a pronouncement

that inflation is speculative or that workers will or will not

receive productivity and merit raises is essentially an

economic statement, not a declaration of law.

If we consider, as an example, a person totally and

permanently injured by a defendant’s negligence, the in-

jured worker is entitled to the equivalent of his lost future

earnings. The law decides that much, and the question re-

mains how much money should be given to him now. Once

a lump-sum determination is made, it is clearly unfair to

give him the whole amount, because even an unsophisti-

cated investor could earn a great deal of interest. However,

in predicting how much money this worker will likely

receive throughout the remainder of his work-life, we must

consider the likely increase in wages he would have receiv-

ed. These will include possible advancements from one

position to another, any raises due to company productivi-

ty, or other merit increases. In addition, in an inflationary

economy, we must consider projected cost of living in-

creases which are given by an employer to offset in part the

effects of inflation. Each of these factors must be carefully

A-39

distinguished, since they arise from wholly different

causes. Although these factors may not all be present in a

particular case, each must be considered in computing the

total amount of likely earnings before a discount rate is ap-

plied to reduce that amount to its present cash value

because of investment potential. The goal, albeit ideal, is

that if the injured worker has a 20-year work-life expectan-

cy, and he invests his lump-sum award in relatively risk-

free investments, he will receive in the nineteenth and in

the twentieth year roughly the same amount as if he had

worked each of those years. The goal is not, it must be

made clear at the outset, to protect the lump-sum award

from the effect of inflation. Rather, before determining how

much now needs to be paid, the goal is to assure the plain-

tiff the equivalent of the total of all of his future wages, in-

cluding those likely to be given/received in the form of cost

of living increases in response to inflation.

III.

The Prohibitions of Penrod

In Johnson v. Penro.! Drilling Co., 510 F.2d 234 (5th

Cir. 1975) (en banc), we recognized ‘‘the likelihood that in-

flation could become a predictable condition for the

future,’’ but we were not able to ‘‘so surely discern the

shadow of inflation as a coming event as to warrant requir-

ing its inclusion in a present rule for calculating future

damages.”’ 510 F.2d at 236. Quoting the full initial panel

opinion in Penrod, we expressly disapproved ‘‘the district

court’s attempt to take into account, in computing the

plaintiffs’ future lost earnings, inflationary trends in this

nation’s economy for the next several decades.” 510 F.2d

at 241. The “influence on future damages of possible infla-

tion or deflation is too speculative a matter for judicial

A-40

determination.’’ Jd. Therefore, triers of fact ‘“‘should not be

instructed to take into account future inflationary or defla-

tionary trends in computing future lost earnings, nor

should the jury be advised to consider such alternative

descriptions of inflationary and deflationary trends as the

purchasing power of the dollar or the consumer price in-

dex.’’ Id.

The defendants and others have suggested that

Penrod could be ‘‘modified’’, ‘‘explained’’, or watered down

by this Court, but not overruled, so that adjustments could

be made in individual cases where the influence of inflation

was not speculative. However, if fairness requires that we

allow some evidence of inflation properly to compensate

plaintiffs and avoid windfalls to defendants, any hope of

“‘distinguishing”’ or ‘‘explaining away’”’ Penrod crumbles in

the face of Penrcd’s own words—inflation and deflation are

too speculative for judicial determination, triers of fact

should not take into account future infiationary or defla-

tionary trends, juries should not consider changes in the

purchasing power of dollars or the consumer price index,

and judges should not undertake to instruct juries on such

ideas. The prohibition on such evidence could not be

clearer.

To argue, as the defendants do, that Penrod

forecloses only consideration of future economic trends,

while it allows evidence of past inflation, is to miss the

point. The significant basis for predicting future inflation

or deflation is past inflation or deflation. And the effect of

past inflation alone, under a rule forbidding consideration

of likely future inflation, leaves economically eclipsed a

significant portion of the amount of money the wage-earner

may receive in the future.

A-41

Even if it were possible to isolate Penrod and analyze

its terms in an academic vacuum, to reach the conclusion

that evidence of inflation is permissible in the Fifth Circuit

so long as the jury is not permitted to ‘“‘speculate’’ as to the

“‘influence’”’ on future damages of ‘‘possible’’ inflation or

deflation, the result of this exercise would be unworkable

as a practical matter. For in practice, Penrod has placed a

prison-like wall between any evidence of likely inflationary

or deflationary trends (and argument or instruction there-

on) and the courtrooms of the Fifth Circuit. Our decisions

since 1975 on this issue have merely served to place barbed

wire on top of the wall. Moreover, it is likely that in other

cases, as in this one, evidence of probable increases in

wages due to merit or productivity has been kept out of the

jury room unwittingly because of Penrod’s prohibitions.

Economic data is readily available concerning past average

annual wage increases of workers in the United States, and

such data is often broken down into particular professions

and geographic areas. But it is difficult to determine the

percentage of those increases given for merit-productivity

and distinguish the percentage repre-

senting cost of living increases in response to inflation.

Many plaintiffs have thus been unable to scale Penrod’s

wall and introduce evidence of non-inflationary wage in-

creases, even though such increases are theoretically unaf-

fected by inflation, and thus evidence of such increases

should not have been prohibited.

IV.

Penrod in Practice

In our determination of whether Penrod ought to be

overruled, it is important not only to consider what Penrod

says, but also what this Court through the years since

A-42

1975 has said it says. We will look first to the recent cases

arising in this Circuit applying Penrod. In Davis v. Hill

Engineering, Inc., 549 F.2d 314 (5th Cir. 1977), this Court

reduced the District Court’s award of $628,991 to $425,321

for the total loss of the plaintiff's future earning capacity,

because the District Court increased the basic damage

award, prior to discounting to present value, to offset wage

and price inflation. The plaintiff's expert was unimpeached,

and the defendants had no opposing expert. The trial judge

was thus free to rely on the expert’s testimony, and was ap-

parently convinced of the need to allow over $200,000 to

offset expected wage increases due to inflation. 549 F.2d at

331. Nevertheless, we held that until Penrod is overruled,

an inflation element cannot be included in

damage computations, either in the form of [i]

calculating loss of future earnings without dis-

counting to present value or of [ii] increasing the

basic damage award, prior to discounting, with a

figure representing the projected inflation rate.

The former [i] is the Beaulieu [v. Elliott, 434, P.2d

665, 671 (Alaska 1967)] method, the lattr [ii] the

District Court’s method in this case.

549 F.2d at 332 (brackets added). Judge Wisdom

acknowledged that other circuits consider inflation as a fac-

tor in computing future earnings damages, an approach

that ‘“‘more accurately [reflects] loss of future earnins than

does a discounted figure because it prevents inflation from

eroding the damage award.”’ 549 F.2d at 332. Alas, he con-

ceded, his hand were tied by Penrod. Id.

In In the Matter of S/S HELENA, 529 F.2d 744, 753

(5th Cir. 1976), this Court remanded for recalculation the

District Court’s damages award because an inflationary

rate was assumed and applied. In determining the damages

A-43

for loss of support payable to the wives of deceased crew

members of a vessel, the trial judge stated:

I have to some degree offset discount to present

value by the effects of inflation and a likely rise in

decedent’s earnings resulting from increases in

the general wage level. I have assumed a discount

rate of 5%, and a three per cent inflationary level

thus making the net discount rate 2%.

529 F.2d at 753, quoting 329 F.Supp. 652 at 660. Other

calculations of the damages for loss of support also ‘‘seem-

ed to be bascd on the inflation and present value factors,

the expert testimony and present value factors, the expert

testimony of an economist as to expected future earnings,

and the present cost of annuities that would pay monthly

amounts increasing at the estimated rate of inflation.’’ 529

F.2d at 753. Quoting Penrod, we remanded to District

Court for a more detailed calculation of the damages. On re-

mand, the District Court filed supplemental responses

heeding our instructions, and Penrod was again faithfully

followed. Matter of S/S HELENA, sub nom. Sincere

Navigation Corp. v. United States, 547 F.2d 255, 256 (5th

Cir. 1977). The element of inflation was eliminated and the

damages recomputed. Id.

In Higginbotham v. Mobil Oil Corporation, 545 F.2d

422, 433-35 (5th Cir. 1977), rev’d and remanded on other

grounds, 436 U.S. 618, 98 S.Ct. 2010, 56 L.Ed.2d 581

(1978), this Court reviewed the District Court’s use of a 5%

annual straight line estimated salary increase to calculate

the probable future earnings of the deceased. Although the

trial judge stated that he did not take into consideration

“the decreasing purchasing power of the dollar,’’ we held

that under Penrod ‘‘the plaintiff must bear the difficult

A-44

burden of proving what portion of the increases would have

been given other than as an automatic hedge against infla-

tion.”’ 545 F.2d 434-35. The defendant, wielding the mighty

sword of Penrod, made the factually unsupported argu-

ment that ‘‘it is common experience that annual ‘raises’ are

for the most part cost of living wages,’’ therefore a 5%

straight line annual increase amounted to a _ hidden

inflation-based award. 545 F.2d at 434. While common ex-

perience likewise tells us that some portion of pay raises

reflect performance and experience, the plaintiff's expert

failed to distinguish between cost of living or inflationary

increases and rewards for experience or productivity. 545

F.2d at 435. Thus we rejected the District Court’s award

based on the 5% future earnings factor, and remanded to

give the plaintiff an opportunity to walk the straight and

narrow of Penrod. Judge, now Chief Judge, Godbold, in his

partial dissent, observed that in ‘“‘innumerable other con-

texts we accept the events of the past as the basis for an

inference as to what the future will hold.”’ 545 F.2d at 437

(Godbold, J.). “Yet we would not permit consideration of

evidence that a particular plaintiff had received a $200 per

year increase in pay every year for 20 years, unless he could

divide it up into ‘productivity’ pay and ‘economic change

pay.’ ’’ Id. (Godbold, J.).

In this single area of projecting future earnings

we deny ourselves the best evidence available on

the asserted ground that it is not sufficiently

reliable, and, in the name of reliability we man-

date the artificial conclusion that one will earn

the rest of his life what he is earning on the day

he is killed or injured. The only thing certain

about this is that it is certain to be wrong.

Id. (Godbold, J.).

A-45

In Menard v. Penrod Drilling Company, 538 F.2d

1084, 1089 (5th Cir. 1976), the plaintiff's economic expert

estimated that, apart from the possibility that the plaintiff

might advance through the ranks of his employer, a worker

‘would have to get at least 2% per year, on the average, in-

crease to maintain the same buying that he has to-day.’ A

discount rate of 442% was selected by the expert. Id.

Because no objection was made, the jury was actually per-

mitted to consider future inflation as a factor in calculating

damages. One member of this Court’s panel observed that

although this was not plain error, it would have been rever-

sible error under Penrod had an objection been made. Id.

(Gee, Jr., concurring).

Continuing our historical journey into the past, this

Court in Lacaze v. Olendorff, 526 F.2d 1213, 1222 (5th Cir.

1976), reh’g en banc granted, 526 F.2d at 1223, found error

in the trial court’s overuling an objection to expert

testimony on future lost earnings because the expert in-

cluded a 3% inflation rate in his calculations. On the basis

of Penrod the case was reversed and remanded on the issue

of damages. 526 F.2d at 1223.

In Weakley v. Fischbach & Moore, Inc., 515 F.2d

1260 (5th Cir. 1975), a diversity suit arising out of an elec-

trical explosion in Texas, we affirmed the judgment of the

District Court even though the jury considered both future

productivity and future inflation in assessing a $300,000

award for lost earning capacity. For this Court, Judge

Wisdom observed that although this ‘“‘Court has writ large

its disapproval of calculating future damages by reference

to predictions of future inflation,’’ Texas law applied and

juries in Texas are permitted to weigh evidence of future in-

flation in setting awards for future damages. 515 F.2d at

1266-67, citing Penrod. In a similar federal cause of action

A-46

we may be certain that this Court would have reversed a

judgment based on such a “‘speculative’’ jury finding.

Again, specifically on the basis of Penrod, we con-

cluded in Petition of M/V ELAINE JONES, 513 F.2d 911,

912 (5th Cir. 1975) cert. denied, 423 U.S. 840, 96 S.Ct. 71,

46 L.Ed.2d 60 (1975), that the District Court erred by in-

cluding a 2% per year cost of living increase in the com-

putation of loss of future earnings. We announced that

“the trier of fact should not be instructed to take into ac-

count future inflationary or defaltionary trends in com-

puting future lost earnings.”’

In Standefer v. United States, 511 F.2d 101 (5th Cir.

1975), the District Court, sitting without a jury, awarded

damages to a plaintiff for loss of future earnings and in-

cluded an inflationary factor of 5.5%; in addition, the

award of future medical expenses included an inflationary

factor of 4.5%. Because Penrod foreclosed any considera-

tion of inflation in computing such damages, the District

Court’s decision was reversed and remanded for a recom-

putation of damages.

Robertson v. Douglas Steamship Company, 510 F.2d

829 (5th Cir. 1975), stands as yet another example of how

we applied the Penrod strait-jacket. In accordance with the

trial court’s instructions, the jury divided the plaintiff's

award into (i) the amount of basic damages and (ii) the

amount of damages sustained ‘’as a result of loss of future

wage increases or inflation or decrease in the purchasing

power of money.”’ 510 F.2d at 836-37. Of course, the second

part of the award was reversed, even though it is possible

that a portion of that element was awarded due to likely

merit or productivity increases not based upon inflation or

cost of living adjustments. Thus we see that although

A-47

Penrod was not intended to eliminate evidence of future

wage increases on the basis of merit or productivity, the

practical effect of Penrod is often to throw the baby of

future merit increases out with the inflationary washtub

waters.

Finally, on the very day that Penrod was published,

this Court, in Law v. Sea Drilling Corporation, 510 F.2d

242, 251-52 (5th Cir. 1975) on reh’ing, 523 F.2d 793 (5th Cir.

1975), held that the District Court’s allowance for addi-

tional inflationary cost of living increases was improper.

Again, the increases in the decedent’s income over the

years before his death, upon which the trial judge based his

reasonable expectation that the decedent’s income would

have continued to rise, probably reflected increases due to

both merit and productivity and not just cost of living in-

creases. Nevertheless, because an element of inflation was

considered, Penrod was dispositive.

In all of the above discussed cases, this Court, by

both its actions and its words, flatly prohibited any con-

sideration of inflation, whether in evidence presented, in

jury instructions or in final argument, without regard to

the cogency or persuasiveness of the evidence offered to

prove that inflation, to some extent, will likely occur.

Swept unthinkingly before Penrod also were merit-

productivity increases. Thus stands the law in this Circuit,

until today.

In our attempt to assess the impact of Penrod in this

Circuit, not only is it necessary to consider our own ap-

pellate opinions, as we have done above, but it is also

helpful to review some of the District Court opinions where

the tentacles of Penrod were perceived and predictably ef-

fective. In Complaint of Metcalf, 530 F.Supp. 446 (S.D.

A-48

Tex. 1981), the District Court stated emphatically that in

its award for loss of earnings in the future, any ‘‘future in-

flationary or deflationary effect on earnings is not to be

considered.’’ 530 F.Supp.a t 458, citing Penrod. Likewise,

in Kratzer v. Capital Marine Supply Inc., 490 F.Supp. 222

(M.D. La. 1980), aff'd 645 F.2d 477 (1981), the plaintiff pro-

duced an economist who testified as to lost wages

predicated upon an inflation factor and an increased pro-

ductivity factor. The District Court simply cited Penrod

and stated that there ‘“‘was no evidentiary justification for

these factors, and the Court declines to accept them, and as

noted, utilized a discount figure of 6 percent with no other

factors in computing lost wages.’’ Again, we see how

Penrod often operates to prohibit not only evidence of infla-

tion, but also evidence of likely merit or productivity wage

increases. In McLean v. United States, 446 F.Supp. 9 (E.D.

La. 1977), the plaintiff carefully met his burden of proof by

establishing a ‘‘productivity”’ factor of 5.7% on the basis of

past merit and change in job title increases over his

previous years of employment. Because that factor was in

no way compensation for inflation, evidence thereof was ad-

missible under Penrod. 446 F.Supp. at 13, 14. In Thompson

v. Offshore Co., 440 F.Supp. 752 (S.D. Tex. 1977), the

District Court announced that in calculating a decedent’s

future earnings, any future inflationary effect on wages iss

not to be considered. 440 F.Supp. at 762. Finally, in

Hamilton v. Canal Barge Co., 395 F.Supp. 978 (E.D. La.

1975), allowance for inflation or increased cost of living was

denied in light of Penrod, and for the additional reason that

the diminution in the purchasing power of an award, caus-

ed by inflation, is not an item of damage caused by death

or by prepayment of future wages. 395 F.Supp. at 987.

However, the District Court did allow a 4% annual increase

factor on the basis of skill and productivity. Id.

A-49

Nesmith v. Texaco, Inc., 491 F.Supp. 561 (W.D. La.

1980), stands out as an anomaly to the law of Penrod. In

startling contrast to the usual acceptance of Penrod’s rejec-

tion of evidence of inflation, the District Court interpreted

Norfolk & Western Railway v. Liepelt, 444 U.S. 490, 100

S.Ct. 755, 62 L.Ed.2d 689 (1980), to say that ‘‘in arriving

at an award for future loss of earnings the very factors

disapproved in [Penrod] should now be considered.’”” 491

F.Supp. at 564. While the court was ‘‘mindful of the fact

that this interpretation of Liepelt may be erroneous, and

[Penrod] may still bar the door to speculative damages as

to factors other than income taxes in a case of future loss

from personal injuries,’’ the plaintiff was permitted to pre-

sent expert testimony that the growth rate for wages based

upon inflationary factors in the piaintiff’s job and

geographic area will be approximately 6% over the next 30

years. 491 F.Supp. 564, 565 n. 4. This attempt to break the

bonds of Penrod resulted in an appeal, disposition of which

is being held pending the outcome of the present opinion

and Byrd, see note 1.

‘In Liepelt, the Supreme Court said:

[There] are many variables that may affect the amount of a

wage earner’s future income tax liability. The alw may

change, his farnily may increase or decrease in size, his

spouse’s earning may effect his tax bracket, and extra in-

come or unforeseen deductions may become available. But

future employment itself, future help, future personal expen-

ditures, future interest rates, and future inflation are also

matters of estimate and prediction. Any one of these issues

might provide the basis for protracted expert testimony and

debate. But the practical wisdom of the trial bar and the trial

bench has developed effective methods of presenting the

essential elements of an expert calculation in a form that is

onderstandable by juries that are increasingly familiar with

the complexities of modern life.

444 U.S. at 494, 100 S.Ct. at 757, 62 L.Ed.2d at 694.

A-50

The cases discussed in this section demonstrate the

absolute prohibition on any consideration of inflationary or

cost of living trends in the courts of this Circuit. District

Court judges have found themselves under a duty, imposed

by Penrod, to prevent experts in their testimony, and at-

torneys in their arguments, from even mentioning

economic trends that would effect «ture wage increases.

Likewise, in their instructions to the jury, District judges

have been careful not to mention inflation as a factor in

computing damages, or, where inflation was mentioned,

the purpose was to explain to the jury that they should not

consider inflation in their computations. In those cases

where the jury was permitted to consider the effect of

future inflation or damage awards, either because they

heard testimony by an expert or because the trial judge in-

structed them to consider inflation, we have reversed the

judgment and, in most cases, remanded for a new trial. In

non-jury cases, the District Court judges have not been

permitted to consider inflation in their assessment of

damages. Even where plaintiffs have clearly limited their

evidence (as to inflation) to likely cost of living increases,

thereby carefully avoiding any inference that the total

award should be somehow “‘protected’’ from inflation ir-

respective of wage increases, the evidence has been re-

jected. In short, Penrod in practice has been a firm, inflexi-

ble standard that we have been unable to explain or inter-

pret away. The standard is simple: no evidence of inflation

may be presented to the trier of fact, regardless of how ex-

pert the testimony, how understandable the presentation,

or how fair to the parties. Argument of counsel is also for-

bidden, as is jury instruction by the Court. This standard

has at times been so overwhelming that it has prohibited

evidence that should have been allowed, such as evidence

of likely wage increases based upon merit or productivity,

either on a misreading of Penrod or a perceived (and

A-51

sometimes actual) impossibility of separating out infla-

tionary elements from admissible merit-productivity in-

creases. Quite possibly, an employer may take into account

rising inflation in his decision to grant promotions, and it

would be impossible for anyone, expert or otherwise, to

distinguish that part due to merit only and determine the

percentage amount of the raise due wholly to non-

inflationary factors.

V.

Penrod and Other Circuits

Worthy of our consideration is how our sister circuits

perceive Penrod. In 1975, the Eighth Circuit, citing Pemrod,

was able to say that the

federal circuits that have faced the issue in cases

involving federally created claims, governed by

federal rather than state law, have for the most

part rejected testimony, jury instructions or trial

court consideration of future inflationary trends

in damage assessment.

Johnson v. Serra, 521 F.2d 1289, 1295-96 (8th Cir. 1975),

aff'd on remand, 586 F.2d 1291 (8th Cir. 1978). More recent-

ly, however, in the trend toward increasing consideration of

inflation, Taenzler v. Burlington Northern, 608 F.2d 796,

800 n. 9 (8th Cir. 1979), cited Penrod but declined to follow

its approach. Expert testimony on future wage increases,

when limited to future trends in earnings of a particular

group of employees, thus avoiding the excessively general

national inflation rate, was found to be acceptable in trial

courts.® 608 F.2d at 801.

© The Court tempered its acceptance of limited expert testimony

A-52

Feldman v. Allegheny Airlines, Inc., 524 F.2d 384 (2d

Cir. 1975), a case arising under Connecticut law, cited with

approval Judge Friendly’s earlier assessment of inflation:

There are few who do not regard some degree of

continuing inflation as here to stay and would be

willing to translate their own earning power into

a fixed annuity, and it is scarcely to be expected

that the average personal injury plaintiff will

have the acumen to find investments that are pro-

of against both inflation and depression—a task

formidable for the most expert investor.

524 F.2d at 388, citing McWeeney v. New York, New

Haven and Hartford Railroad, 282 F.2d 34, 38 (2d Cir.

1960) (Friendly, J.). The computation by trial Judge

Blumenfeld of the discount rate of earnings on a prudent

unsophisticated investment by an inflation factor was

approved.” This computation, subtracting the assumed in-

flation rate from the rate of interest on a safe investment

(the traditional discount rate), yields an ‘‘inflation-adjusted

discount rate.’’ Judge Fiendly, a member of the panel in

Feidman, was not completely satisfied with this result—

Penrod’s emphasis on ‘‘the plethora of uncertainties”’ that

(Footnote 8 continued)

on inflation with the caution that expert testimony predicting future in-

flation at a specified rate (i) may mislead the trier of fact by its pretend-

ed exactness, (ii) may distort the effect of inflation by not including

“concomitant increases for countervailing effects of inflation such as

higher rates of return on investment,’’ and (iii) may open up collateral

matters that waste time and confuse the issues such that its probative

value would be cutweighed. 608 F.2d at 801. As will become «ear in our

discussion, we share these concerns.

9 524 F.2d at 387. The plaintiff's expert at trial calculated the dis-

count rate by establishing 4.14% as the average annual earning power

of a safe investment, and then subtracted 2.87% as the average yearly

inflation rate over an 18-year period, which yielded a 1.27% difference

which was rounded up to 1.5%. Id.

A-53

accompany testimony regarding inflationary trends was

contrasted with the trial court’s apparent construction of

‘“‘an iron-clad guaranty against the unknown and unknow-

able future effects of inflation.” 524 F.2d at 392 (Friendly,

J. concurring). Such protection against inflation is not en-

joyed by the millions of Americans on fixed pension or in-

vestment income, or even by the average worker whose

wages do not keep up with inflation. This highlights a

weakness in the Feldman approach: it assumes that wage

increases will mirror inflation. Jd. Judge Friendly thus

predicted that Feldman ‘‘will not constitute a precedent on

the inflation problem in a case arising under federal law.”’

524 F.2d at 393, (Friendly, J. concurring).

More recently, in a suit brought by an injured cargo

checker against a stevedore and a shipowner (neither was

his employer), pursuant to the LHWCA, 33 U.S.C. §§ 901

et seq., the Second Circuit carefully considered the question

whether and to what extent an award for lost future wages

should be adjusted because of inflation. Doca v. Marina

Mercante Nicaraguense, S.A., 634 F.2d 30 (2d Cir. 1980),

cert. denied, 451 U.S. 971, 101 S.Ct. 2049, 68 L.Ed.2d 351

(1981). Penrod as well as similar cases in the Third!® and

First! circuits were identified as unsound minority views.

634 F.2d at 36. Broad agreement was perceived among

economists that inflation ‘‘is a dominant factor on the cur-

rent economic scene and, despite episodic recessions, is

likely to be so for the foreseeable future.”’ 634 F.2d at 37.

10 yagill v. Westinghouse Electric Corp., 464 F.2d 294, 299-301

(3d Cir. 1972). But see Pfeifer v. Jones & Laughlin Steel Corp., 678 F.2d

453 (3d Cir. 1982) (‘‘total offset method’ adopted; no discount rate to

present value is applied, because future inflation will offset the plain-

tiff’s ability to draw interest on the award), discussed in section XI

infra.

11 Wiliams v. United States, 435 F.2d 804 (1st Cir. 1970).

A-54

The District Court in Doca, 474 F.Supp. 751, 758

(S.D.N.Y. 1979), found that the plaintiff was entitled to

recover $352,560, ‘‘representing his future loss of earnings

considering both probability of continued inflation and a

discount to present value.’’ The extent to which inflation

was considered was unspecified, and no computation was

provided by the District Court. 634 F.2d at 34. On appeal,

the plaintiff urged that the trial judge used a discount fac-

tor of 1%, an inference drawn by comparing the difference

between the award given and the plaintiff’s own projection

of future lost wages. €34 F.2d at 34 & n. 4. The defendants

objected to the court’s computation on the grounds of lack

of evidence to support an estimate of future inflation and

argued that any adjustment for inflation is impermissible.

634 F.2d at 34-35.

The Second Circuit in Doca described two basic ap-

proaches as to how inflation could be considered. First, the

question of inflation rate may be submitted to the fact

finder in one of three ways: (i) by allowing expert opinion,

(ii) by requiring the fact finder to apply its own knowledge,

or (iii) by permitting the fact finder to apply its own

knowledge together with expert testimony. Each of the

three contemplate that a separate determination as to infla-

tion is to be made in each case. Second, a rule of law may

be adopted that focuses on the somewhat constant relation-

ship between inflation and interest rates, as in the Alaska

Supreme Court’s view!2 that the inflation rate should be

assumed to equal the interest rate, thereby eliminating the

discount to present value. 634 F.2d at 38-39. The Doca

Cert was not prepared to specify any particular

mecvhodology:

T2 Beaulieu v. Elliot, 434 P.2d 665 (Alaska 1967).

A-55

If litigants prefer to offer evidence as to future rates

of both inflation and interest, they are entitled to do so....

We emphasize that we are not requiring the use

of an inflation-adjusted discount rate.... Litigants

are free to account for inflation in other ways, or,

if they use the adjusted discount rate approach,

to offer evidence of a rate [other] than 2%.

634 F.2d at 39-40. The District Court’s award was remand-

ed for reconsideration for two reasons: (i) if a 1% adjusted

discount rate was used, it was too low since 2% is the “‘true

cost of money appropriate for use in a computation to

determine the present value of lost future wages,”’13 and

(ii) the District Court took into account a post trial wage in-

crease based upon cost of living, therefore duplicative con-

sideration was given to the impact of inflation.!4 634 F.2d

at 40.

13 This figure, 2%, “‘lies within the narrow range bracketed by

many economists as representing the true yield of money.” 634 F.2d at

39. There “‘is substantial opinion that during periods of stable rates of

inflation, the real yield of money, whether constant or slightly flu:-

tuating, is approximately 2%....’’ 634 F.2d at 39 n.10. This theory of the

real rate of interest wiil be discussed in detail later in this opinion. It

may be noteworthy that the Second Circuit was dealing with findings of

a District Judge, not a jury verdict.

14 The court is here making a critical point with regard to ad-

justing a discount rate for inflation. There are basically two methods of

calculation: In the first, if the sum total of a plaintiff's future earnings

is computed by multiplying his annual income for the year he was in-

jured times the number of years of his work expectancy, then it is fair

to both plaintiff and defendant to apply a discount rate that has been

adjusted for inflation. For example, if a relatively safe investment yields

6%, and the inflation rate is predicted to be 4% over the period of that

investment, then the adjusted discount rate would be 2%, and this

would be separately applied to each year’s projected actual earnings not

increased by inflation. Under the second method, if the sum total of the

plaintiff's future earnings is computed by adding up the annual earnings

of the plaintiff based upon likely cost of living increases (i.e., $10,000 in

A-56

Feldman, supra, approved the use of an “‘inflation-adjusted

discount rate”’ of 1.5%. 524 F.2d at 387. The purpose of the

method used in Feldman, and approved as one possible

technique in Doca, was to determine the “real yield” of

money—that portion of interest gained on virtually risk-

free investments which represents only the real growth of

the investment and not the losses due to future inflation. !5

The theory is that the “‘real yield’’ of money is roughly 2%

in any year, because in periods of high inflation, interest

rates will be a bit higher, and in low inflationary periods,

the interest rates will still be a little above the rate of

inflation.

Doca_ recognized the disagreement among

economists over the validity of the assumption that the

real rate of interest is constant and consequently indepen-

dent of inflation, but noted that various economic studies

of similar time frames have estimated that the real rate of

interest was between 1.5% and 3%. 634 F.2d at 39 n. 10.

VI.

Penrod and Some Commentators

In 1977, one commentator—with an error in timing—

(Footnote 14 continued)

1981, $11,000 in 1982, $12,000 in 1983, etc.), then the full discount rate,

e.g. 6% in the above example, should be separately applied to each year’s

figure of the plaintiff's projected future earnings.

15 634 F.2d at 35. Under this approach, the adjustment to account

for future inflation is accomplished by decreasing the traditional present

value discount. This rate is determined by subtracting the average an-

nual change in the consumer price index over each of several years from

the effective annual interest on government bonds held during each of

the same years, and then computing the average of the rates resulting

from these subtractions. Feldman, supra, 382 F.Supp. 1271 at 1306-12.

A-57

predicted that ‘‘the Fifth Circuit soon could decide...that

Penrod is ‘substantively indefensible.’ "16 This was

precipitated by Judge Wisdom’s concurring opinion in

Freeport Sulpkur Co. v. SSS HERMOSA, 526 F.2d 300, 311

(5th Cir. 1976) (Wisdomm, J., concurring). Judge Wisdom

there expressed his dissatisfaction with Penrod and iden-

tified the inconsistency in this Circuit’s insistence upon

discounting while ignoring inflationary effects. Jd. The

policy concerns of Penrod, (i) achieving complete compensa-

tion, (ii) preventing speculation, and (iii) simplifying trial

procedures, would be served better by adopting an ap-

proach that considered the effect of inflation on damage

awards. Id.

Penrod has also been labeled a source of serious

judicial error. Kane, Inflation, tight money, and Penrod:

the cost of judicial error, Texas Trial Lawyers Forum,

April-June, 1980, at 3-5. In Penrod, we stated that “if

future inflation does cause higher wages, experience predic-

tably demonstrates that higher interest rates on in-

vestments which have always accompanied inflation will

also occur and this factor will mitigate the failure to include

an inflationary surcharge in wage rate calculations.’’ 510

F.2d at 236.

The obvious flaw in this line of reasoning lies in

the fact that while interest rates do rise in

response to accelerating inflation, a higher in-

terest rate only reduces the present value of a

future loss, thus further penalizing the plaintiff.

The problem for the plaintiff is compounded when

the series of future income payments cannot be

proportionally increased for the same inflation

that drove up the interest rate.

16 Comment, Future Inflation, Prospective Damages, and the Cir-

cuit Courts, 63 Va. L. Rev. 79, 115-16 (1977).

A-58

Kane, supra, at 3-4.

Spiraling inflation during the years since Penrod has

indirectly led to much of the criticism of our 1975 opinion. 17

Although consumer prices have fallen in the early months

of 1982, which might signal the beginning of the end to

“spiraling” inflation, 18 this does not demonstrate that Penrod

is not so bad after all. The problem with Penrod is not primari-

ly its spectacular unfairness in periods of extremely high in-

flation. To the contrary, the danger of Penrod lies ‘n its un-

willingness to consider the effect of inflation on future wages

at all. Penrod stands for the inflexible proposition that triers

of fact should not consider inflation or deflation at all,

whether high or low or nonexistent, in predicting wage loss.

At the same time, defendants are freely allowed to show the

highest inflation-induced interest rates available on relatively

safe investments. Unfortunately, any evidence of the fact that

I" The Statistical Abstract of the Unitead States, 1980 (101st Ed.,

U.S. Dept. of Comm.), indicates the following annual Consumer Price In-

dex increases:

1975 9.1%

1976 5.8%

1977 6.5%

1978 7.7%

1979 11.3%

1980 14.4%

Id., Table No. 807, at 486. In addition, the annual percentage increase in

Consumer Pvices for 5 year periods reveals the following changes:

1970-1975 6.6%

1971-1976 6.9%

1972-1977 7.3%

1973-1978 8.0%

1974-1979 7.9%

Id., Table No. 706, at 425.

18 “Why Prices Are Falling,” Newsweek, Feb. 22, 1982, at 59.

A-59

wages will likely increase to combat the eroding effects of

inflation remains eclipsed by the Court-declared spectre of

speculation.

What we seek, in response to criticism from both

within and without the Circuit, is fairness with regard to

the pr~sentation of economic data by either side in the legal

controversies that our federal courts face. The principles

that we adopt to facilitate this goal must be flexible enough

to remain workable in any economic climate. To this end,

the remainder of this opinion will explore the alternatives

and adopt those that meet the standards of economic flex-

ibility and fairness to plaintiffs and defendants alike.

A-60

APPENDIX “D”

Ruth CULVER, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants Cross-Appellees,

Vv.

SLATER BOAT CO., et al.,

Defendants-Appellees Cross-Appellants,

EURO-PIRATES INTERNATIONAL, INC., et al.,

Defendants-Appellees and Cross-Appellees-Appellants,

Vv.

ODECO DRILLING, et al.,

Defendants-Appeliees Cross-Appellants.

No. 79-3985

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit

Unit A

May 4, 1981.

Wife and children of foreman of anchor-pulling crew

brought maritime personal injury case arising out of

foreman’s death. The United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Louisiana, Charles Schwartz, Jr., J.,

held that foreman was free from negligence and that em-

ployer, bareboat charterer, and owner of drilling barge were

actively negligent and not entitled to indemnity, and ap-

peals and cross appeals were taken. The Court of Appeals,

A-61

Ainsworth, Circuit Judge, held that: (1) district judge pro-

perly refused to aliow testimony, charges, or inter-

rogatories concerning effects of inflation on any award of

damages; (2) district judge properly refused to aliow plain-

tiffs to argue to jury that foreman’s wages would have in-

creased over time and that jury should take this into ac-

count in its award of future support; (3) district judge pro-

perly substituted 9.125 percent for 25 percent as discount

rate to be applied to jury’s award; (4) district judge did not

err in failing to submit interrogatories to jury which would

have separated each plaintiff's award from those of the

other four; (5) evidence was sufficient to support jury’s

determination that defendants were negligent; and (6) each

defendant was actively negligent and thus not entitled to

indemnity.

Affirmed as modified.

Sam D. Johnson, Circuit Judge, filed a concurring

opinion.

Appeals from the United States District Court for

the Eastern District of Louisiana.

Before AINSWORTH and SAM D. JOHNSON, Cir-

cuit Judges, and HUNTER*, District Judge.

AINSWORTH, Circuit Judge:

This maritime personal injury case raises several

issues, including the use of an inflation factor to compute

* District Judge of the Western District of Louisiana, sitting by

designation.

A-62

future loss of earnings, the construction of jury instruc-

tions and interrogatories, and the rights to indemnity bet-

ween actively and passively negligent tortfeasors. The

district court’s disposition of the indemnity issue requires

a slight modification; in all other respects we affirm the

district court.

I. FACTS.

Curtis Culver, the husband and father of plaintiffs-

appellants, was the foreman of an anchor-pulling crew

employed by Gulf Overseas Marine Corporation (Gulf).

Shell Oil Company (Shell) contracted with Gulf to provide

an anchor-pulling crew to assist in moving the drilling

barge OCEAN QUEEN to a new location off the Louisiana

coast in the Gulf of Mexico. In their anchor-pulling opera-

tions, the Gulf crew used the vessel M/V BLACK BART

which was owned by Charles D. Slater d/b/a Slater Boat

Company and leased under a bareboat charter to Euro-

Pirates International, Inc. (collectively EPI). The OCEAN

QUEEN was owned and maintained by Ocean Drilling &

Exploration Company (ODECO). Essentially, the Gulf

crew’s job was to use the machinery on the BLACK BART

to lift the anchors of the OCEAN QUEEN out of the sea-

bed, to float the drilling barge to its new location, and to

anchor it again there. To get control of the anchor line, the

Gulf crew, under the direction of foreman Culver, first

‘“‘lassoed”’ a buoy attached to the anchor line and brought

the buoy aboard the BLACK BART. Then, a set of unusual

circumstances combined to produce the unfortunate acci-

dent which gives rise to this lawsuit. The anchor line was

too short, and the BLACK BART drifted away from the

OCEAN QUEEN: thus, the cable “‘lasso’’ was holding not

only the weight of the line but also the weight of the an-

chor. The taut cable ‘“‘lasso’’ raked across a jagged surface

A-63

of the buoy and severed. As the buoy raced back over the

deck of the BLACK BART and into the water, it struck

Culvaer who had left his position of safety at the stern of

the vessel to inspect the line. Culver died from his resulting

injuries.

Culver’s widow and children sued Shell, Gulf, EPI,

and ODECO under the Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. § 688, the

Death on the High Seas Act, 46 U.S.C. § 761 et seq.,

maritime tort, and negligence. Shell was dismissed as a par-

ty defendant. The remaining defendants filed appropriate

cross-claims. A jury found all the remaining three defen-

dants negligent, the BLACK BART unseaworthy and

Culver free from contributory negligence. As between the

defendants, on their cross-claims for indemnity, the district

court found each actively negligent and not entitled to in-

demnity from either of the other two. The judge held that

Gulf was negligent because its employee, Curtis Culver,

failed to remain in his position of safety away from the an-

chor line. However, the district judge did not disturb the

jury’s finding of no negligence! on the part of Culver in the

main action.

In determining the damages sustained by the

Culvers for the death of Curtis, the district judge allowed

testimony concerning discount rates and the earning power

of money invested in low risk bonds. The judge instructed

! The jury interrogatory concerning Curtis Culver’s negligence

reads as follows:

5. Was Mr. Curtis Culver negligent in a manner which con-

tributed to causing his own injury and death?

Yes __ No X

R. vol. 3 at 629.

A-64

the jury to “discount the total amount”’ of any award for

loss of future services or support by a percentage that

represents an appropriate rate of interest.2 The inter-

rogatory submitted to the jury® was returned with a dis-

count rate of 25% filled in. The judge decided that obvious-

ly the jury had misunderstood, and he substituted the only

other rate put into evidence, 9.125%.4 The total award

after discounting was $238,861.05. The district judge did

not allow testimony, charges, or interrogatories to be sub-

mitted on the effects of inflation on any damage award,

* The district judge instructed the jury:

Therefore if you find that any of the Culvers will sustain a

loss of support and/or services in the future, the amount is

to be reduced, that is you should discount the total amount

that you think will be lost by a percentage that you feel

represents an appropriate rate of interest at the present time

in the New Orleans area.

R. vol. 8 at 858.

3 The interrogatory reads as follows:

f. If you have made any award to plaintiffs for loss of sup-

port and/or services in the future (parts b, c, and d of this

question), what discount percentage rate do you find to be

applicable in order to reduce the award for future loss of sup-

port and/or services to their present value. (Your answer to

this question should be in the form of a percentage.)

twenty-five percent

R. vol. 3 at 631.

4 Defendant ODECO’s expert witness in the field of bond in-

vestments, Mr. Donald Hattier, an investment banker with E. F. Hut-

ton, testified that an investor could purchase U.S. government bonds

with a coupon rate of 9.125% in denominations of $1,000 with a maturi-

ty date in the year 2009 (Culver’s normal work-life expectancy). R. vol.

7 at 735. At the time of trial the bonds were selling at a slight discount

which the distrit judge chose to ignore. Mr. Hattier testified further that

government bonds were the safest in the marketplace.

A-65

citing Johnson v. Penrod Drilling Co., 510 F.2d 234 (5th

Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 839, 96 S.Ct. 68, 46 L.Ed.2d 58

(1975), as his reason therefor.

II. INFLATION FACTORS

The Culver’s principal contention is that this cir-

cuit’s en banc decision in Johnson v. Penrod Drilling Co.,

supra, relating to the use of an inflation factor to compute

future loss of earnings, has been overruled either by chang-

ed circumstances or by the Supreme Court’s decision in

Norfolk and Western Railway Co. v. Liepelt, 444 U.S. 490,

100 S.Ct. 755, 62 L.Ed.2d 689 (1980). In Penrod, we held

that “‘the influence on future damages of possible inflation

or deflation is too speculative a matter for judicial deter-

mination.”’ 510 F.2d at 241. Therefore, ‘‘triers of the facts

should not be instructed to take into account future infla-

tionary or deflationary trends in computing lost earnings.”

Id. The Culvers argue that the extremely high rates of in-

flation this country has experienced in recent years make

the Penrod rule an unjust anachronism and that in any

case, Liepelt has overruled Penrod.

In Liepelt, the Supreme Court responded to an argu-

ment that future prediction of tax consequences is ‘‘too

speculative and complex for a jury’s deliberations”’:

Admittedly there are many variables that may

affect the amount of a wage earner’s future in-

come tax liability. The law may change, his fami-

ly may increase or decrease in size, his spouse’s

earnings may affect his tax bracket, and extra in-

come or unforeseen deductions may become avail-

able. But future employment itself, future health,

future personal expenditures, future interest

rates, and future inflation are also matters of

A-66

estimate and prediction. Any one of these issues

might provide the basis for protracted expert

testimony and debate. But the practical wisdom

of the trial bar and the trial bench has developed

effective methods of- presenting the essential

elements of an expert calculation in a form that is

understandable by juries that are increasingly

familiar with the complexities of modern life. We

therefore reject the notion that the introduction

of evidence describing a decedent’s estimated

after-tax earnings is too speculative or complex

for a jury.

444 U.S. at 494, 100 S.Ct. at 758.

Our recent decision from Unit B of the Fifth Circuit

in Byrd v. Reederei, 638 F.2d 1300 (5th Cir. 1981),

specifically addresses the continued vitality of Penrod and

is dispositive of the issue here before us. In Byrd, we noted

first that ‘‘[aJn en banc decision of our court may be over-

ruled only by subsequent en banc consideration or by the

United States Supreme Court.” Jd. at 1308. Byrd then con-

sidered the argument for admitting inflation factors in

light of Liepelt. ‘‘Liepelt’s favorable dicta is only that.

Thus, until the Supreme Court speaks more directly or we,

as an en banc court, decide otherwise, Penrod still ap-

plies....’’ 638 F.2d at 1308. We are in agreement with

Byrd’s disposition of the Liepelt issue.

III. INCOME INCREASES

The Culvers next object to the district judge’s not

allowing them to argue to the jury that Curtis Culver’s

wages would increase over time and that the jury should

take this into account in its award for future support. As

we read the record, the district judge refused to permit the

A-67

Culvers to argue such increases for two reasons. First, the

Culvers offered no evidence to show that such an argument

was warranted.” Curtis Culver’s tax returns for the

preceding five years showed that his income was level, not

increasing, and Culver had reached the top of his particular

line of work. Plaintiffs’ counsel’s attempt to prove in-

creases were not sufficiently relevant to Culver’s particular

circumstances.® Second, the trial judge stated that possi-

ble job promotions and merit wage increases were merely

an indirect way of putting inflation factors into evidence

before the jury and were thus not allowed under Penrod.

We find no error in the trial judge’s rulings concerning

wage increases. !

IV. DISCOUNT RATE

The Culvers also object to the district judge’s

> The district judge did allow the Culvers’ witness to testify to in-

creases in the hourly wage for anchor-pulling crew foremen from $4.75

in 1975 to $6.50 in 1978 and $6.96 on the date of trial in 1979. R. vol.

6 at 276. The judge explained a formula to the Culvers’ attorney by

which Curtis Culver’s hypothetical 1978 and 1979 salaries could be

estimated, id. at 279, but counsel chose not to use that formula. By us-

ing the formula, Culver’s earnings would have been approximately

$19,000 per year in 1979. R. vol. 8 at 766. Instead counsel stated that

he wished to argue, without any apparent evidentiary support, Culver’s

earnings would be $35,000 per year. Jd.

6 Counsel attempted to establish Culver’s hypothetical 1978 earn-

ings, a year for which counsel had adduced an exact hourly wage, by

reference to the earnings of other foremen working for other companies.

Counsel did not use Culver’s personal work history to establish earnings.

7 The district judge did permit the jury to consider provable in-

creases in the wage of Gulf anchor-pulling foremen up to the time of trial

in determining future earnings. However, the jury was apparently unim-

pressed with any of the arguments relating to wage increases. It chose

instead to fix damages at the approximate average earnings that Culver

had reported on his income tax statements for the five years prior to his

death.

A-68

substitution of 9.125% for 25% as the discount rate to be

applied to the jury’s award. The Culvers argue either that

a rate of 25% per year is manifestly unjust and does not

conform to the evidence, thereby entitling them to a new

trial, or, alternatively, that the jury’s application of a 25%

total discount cannot be disregarded and replaced by a

yearly rate put into evidence by a defense witness. We

recognize that the jury instruction and the interrogatory

concerning the discount rate were subject to either a

“total” or a ‘“‘per year”’ interpretation.® However, it is clear

to us that the pe: ues and the court intended, and the law

requires,” a per year rate. A 25% lump sum reduction in the

award is not a rate. The trial judge was faced with a situa-

tion where applying a 25% per year discount would have

been unjustly harsh and applying a 25% reduction would

have been contrary to the law. The Culvers chose not to put

evidence of a discount rate into the record. Although they

had an economist on their witness list, they did not call him

to testify. Adopting the rate suggested by the defendants’

expert was a proper exercise of the district judge’s

discretion.

V. APPORTIONMENT OF DAMAGES

The Culvers’ final contention is that the case should

be remanded for the trial court’s failure to submit inter-

rogatories to the jury which would have separated each

plaintiff's award from those of the other four. The argu-

ment is without merit. The conflicting interests of the in-

dividual plaintiffs in a separated award, and the fact that

8 See notes 2 and 3 supra.

9 Chesapeake & O. Ry. v. Kelly, 241 U.S. 485, 490-91, 36 S.Ct. 630,

632, 60 L.Ed. 1117 (1916).

A-69

the suit was brought by Curtis’ wife for herself and as

representative of the children, make this federal maritime

suit the improper vehicle to apportion the award. Any

separation is better left to the state court which appointed

Mrs. Culver representative of her children. Moreover, the

record contains no evidence on which the jury could have

based its apportionment.

VI. DEFENSES AND CROSS-CLAIMS

In its answers to interrogatories, the jury held all

defendants negligent and also determined that Curtis

Culver was free from contributory negligence. Stating that

his disposition of the cross-claims was ‘‘in conformity with

the verdict of the jury,”’ the district judge found all de-

fendants were actively negligent and apportioned the

damages equally between them.

All defendants first contend that the jury’s deter-

mination that they were negligent is without evidentiary

support. We disagree. Evidence in the record, as outlined in

Section I, supra, is sufficient and adequate to support the

jury’s verdict. See Fairley v. American Hoist & Derrick

Co., 640 F.2d 679 at 680-81 (5th Cir. 198i); Nunez v.

Superior Oil Co., 572 F.2d 1119, 1124 n.6 (5th Cir. 1978);

Manchack v. S. S. Overseas Progress, 524 F.2d 918, 919

(5th Cir. 1975). Next, each defendant cross-claims against

its codefendants and asserts that the district judge’s fin-

dings of active negligence as to it are erroneous, that it was

only passively negligent, and is therefore entitled to indem-

nity from its codefendants. EPI’s and ODECO’s claims in

this regard are without merit. The failure of EPI’s crew on

the BLACK BART to keep a proper lookout and its allow-

ing the vessel to drift were substantial causes of Culver’s

ultimate injury; therefore, EPI’s negligence was active. See

A-70

Chesapeake & Ohio Railway v. Illinois Central Gulf

Railroad, 564 F.2d 222, 224 (7th Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 435

U.S. 919, 98 S.Ct. 1515, 55 L.Ed.2d 535 (1978). Likewise,

ODECO’s use of an anchor line that was too short and the

failure to maintain its buoy amounted to active negligence.

Gulf’s claim that it was only passively negligent re-

quires more extended discussion. In the indemnity phase of

the case, the district judge found Gulf actively negligent

based on the failure of its employee, Curtis Culver, to stay

in a position of safety at the stern of the vessel; yet, the

jury found Culver free from negligence. These findings are

obviously inconsistend. The judge followed the jury’s fin-

dings in all other respects. Under the circumstances, the

jury determination will prevail.

Although the jury exonerated Culver of negligence,

it nevertheless found that Gulf was negligent. Gulf con-

tends that the jury’s determination can be based only on

Gulf’s failure to provide a safe place to work under the

Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. § 68810 and that such a failure is

merely passive or technical negligence. Accordingly, Gulf

10 Section 688 of the Jones Act provides:

Any seaman who shall suffer personal injury in the course

of his employment may, at his election, maintain an action

for damages at law, with the right of trial by jury, and in

such action all statutes of the United States modifying or ex-

tending the common-law right or remedy in cases of personal

injury to railway employees shall apply; and in case of the

death of any seaman as a result of any such personal injury

the personal representative of such seaman may maintain an

action for damages at law with the right of trial by jury, and

in such action all statutes of the United States conferring or

regulating the right of action for death in the case of railway

employees shall be applicable. Jurisdiction in such actions

shall be under the court of the district in which the defendant

employer resides or in which his principal office is located.

A-71

argues that the district court, consistent with the jury’s

answers to interrogatories, should have held that Gulf is en-

titled to indemnity from the active tortfeasors ODECO and

EPI. Tri-State Oil Tool Industries, Inc. v. Delta Marine Drill-

ing Co., 410 F.2d 178, 181 (5th Cir. 1969). We need not decide

here whethex mere failure to provide a safe place to work is

active or passive negligence. But see Wedlock v. Gulf

Mississippi Marine Corp., 554 F.2d 240, 243 (5th Cir. 1977)

and Avondale Shipyards, Inc. v. The Vessel THOMAS E.

CUFFE, 434 F.Supp. 920, 928 (E.D.La.1977) (Rubin, J.) (both

cases suggesting that liability without fault for unseawor-

thiness is the only instance where indemnity should be allow-

ed). Where a tortfeasor’s own acts and omissions help create

the unsafe workplace, its negligence undoubtedly is active.

Wedlock v. Gulf Mississippi Marine Corp., supra at 243;

Transcontinental Pipeline Corp. v. Mobile Drilling Barge, 424

F.2d 684, 693 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 400 U.S. 832, 91 S.Ct.

65, 27 L.Ed.2d 64 (1970); General Electric Co. v. Cuban-

American Nickel Co., 396 F.2d 89, 99 n.16 (5th Cir. 1968);

Avondale Shipyards, Inc. v. The Vessel THOMAS E. CUFFE,

supra at 928. The jury heard evidence during the trial that

Gulf’s anchor-pulling crew failed to notice the jagged buoy,

that the crew failed to ask that additional anchor line be add-

ed before lassoing the buoy, that its anchor box used in lif-

ting the anchor may have been defective, and that the cable

lasso may have been the wrong gauge or strength for perfor-

ming the operation. From the general nature of the jury’s

response to the interrogatory concerning Gulf’s negligence, | l

it is impossible for us to say that its finding of negligence

1! The jury interrogatory and answer read as follows:

1. Was defendant Gulf Overseas Marine Corporation or Gulf

Overseas Service Corporation negligent in a manner that was

a proximate cause of the injury and death of Mr. Culver?

Yes X No _

A-72

was not based on one or more of these theories. Any one of

these would constitute active negligence. Therefore, Gulf’s

claim for indemnity must likewise be denied.

Finally, ODECO’s claim for a reduction in the

damage award based on the judge’s finding of comparative

negligence on the part of Curtis Culver is unsupportable

since we are modifying that portion of the district court

judgment.

The judgment is

AFFIRMED AS MODIFIED.

SAM D. JOHNSON, Circuit Judge, concurring:

This writer concurs in the majority opinion, but

wishes to supplement it in one particular: Th time is right

for en banc reconsideration of the rule in Johnson v. Penrod

Drilling Co., 510 F.2d 234 (5th Cir. 1975) (en banc), pertain-

ing to the ‘‘inflation factor’ in damage awards.

The en banc precedent of Penrod does indeed man-

date the result that this panel reaches. Immediate en banc

rehearing of the instant case is therefore urged as the ap-

propriate route toward the proper disposition of this

critically important issue.

A-73

Ruth CULVER, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants Cross-Appellees,

v.

SLATER BOAT CO., et al.,

Defendants-Appellees Cross-Appeliants,

EUROPIRATES INTERNATIONAL, INC., et al.,

Detendants-Appellees and Cross-Appellees-Appellants,

v.

ODECO DRILLING, et al.,

Defendants-Appellees Cross-Appellants.

No. 79-3985

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit

June 24, 1981

Appeals from the United States District Court for

the Eastern District of Louisiana; Charle:; Schwartz,

District Judge.

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING AND

PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

(Opinion May 4, 1981, 5 Cir., 1981, 644 F.2d 460).

Before GODBOLD, Chief Judge, BROWN,

AINSWORTH, CHARLES CLARK, RONEY, GEE,

A-74

TJOFLAT, HILL, FAY, RUBIN, VANCE, KRAVITCH,

FRANK M. JOHNSON, Jr., GARZA, HENDERSON,

REAVLEY, POLITZ, HATCHETT, ANDERSON, RAN-

DALL, TATE, SAM D. JOHNSON, THOMAS A.

CLARK, and WILLIAMS, Circuit Judges.

BY THE COURT:

A member of the Court in active service having re-

quested a poll on the application for rehearing en banc and

a majority of the judges in active service having voted in

favor of granting a rehearing en banc,

IT IS ORDERED that the cause shall be reheard by

the Court en banc with oral argument on a date hereafter

to be fixed. The Clerk will specify a briefing schedule for

the filing of supplemental briefs.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.