Opposition Brief — California v. Harris
Supreme Court brief1984
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
oO
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1984
No. 84-265
STATE OF CALIFORNIA,
Petitioner,
ve
LEE EDWARD HARRIS,
Respondent.
On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the Supreme Court of the
State of California
RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION and
MOTION TO PROCEED IN FORMA PAUPERIS
FRANK O, BELL, JR.
State Public Defender
DONALD L.A. KERSON
Deputy State Public Defender
107 South Broadway, Suite 9111
Los Angeles, California 90012
Telephone: (213) 620-5447
Attorneys for Respondent
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION 1
l. Petitioner Waived Presentation
of Rebuttal Evidence 3
2. The Opinion Below Deals With
Matters of State Procedure 5
3. The Federal Rights Asserted By
Petitioner Were Not Timely
Raised Below 10
4. Conclusion 12
APPENDIX 13-20
MOTION TO PROCEED IN FORMA PAUPERIS 21
AFFIDAVIT OF DONALD L.A. KERSON 22
AFFIDAVIT OF LEE EDWARD HARRIS 24
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 25
' TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases
Atherton v. Sup. San Mateo Co.
(1874) 48 Cal. 157
Cardinale v. Louisiana
(1969) 394 U.S. 437; 22 L.Ed.2d 398
Castaneda v. Partida
(1977) 430 U.S. 482; 51 L.Ed.2d 498
Chandler v. Florida
(1981) 449 U.S. 560; 66 L.Ed.2d 740
County of Imperial v. McDougal
(1977) 19 Cal.3d 505; 138 Cal.Rptr. 472
Davis v. Zant
(llth Cir. 1983} 721 F.2d 1478
Duren v. Missouri
(1979) 439 U.S. 357; 58 L.Ed.2d 579
Eddings v. Oklahoma
(1982) 455 U.S. 104; 71 L.Ed.2d 1
Exxon Corp. v. Eagerton
(1983) U.S. ; 76 L.Ed.2d 497
Hanson v. Denckla
(1958) 357 U.S. 235; 2 L.Ed.2d 1263
Herndon v. Georgia
(1935) 295 U.S. 441; 79 L.Ed. 1530
Leland v. Oregon
(1952) 343 U.S. 790; 96 L.Ed. 1302
Miche’ v. Louisiana
(1956) 350 U.S. 91; 100 L.Ed. 83
Morrison v. California
(1934) 291 U.S. 862; 78 L.Ed. 664
Murel v. Baltimore City of Criminal Court
(1972) 407 U.S. 355; 32 L.Ed.2d 791
Patterson v. New York
(1977) 432 U.S. 197; 53 L.Ed.2d 261
People v. Harris
(1984) 36 Cal.3d 36
People v. Jones
(1984) 151 Cal.App.3d 1029; 199 Cal.Rptr. 1865
ii
Page
1l
12
12
11
11
10
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Cont'd)
Cases
People v. Sirhan
(1972) 7 Cal.3d 710; 102 Cal.Rptr. 385
Speiser v. Randall
(1958) 357 U.S. 513; 2 L.Ed.2d 1460
Spencer v. Texas
(1967) 385 U.S. 554; 17 L.Ed.2d 606
State v. Gretzlar
(Ariz. 1980) 126 Ariz. 60; 612 P.2d 1023
Tarrance v. Florida
(1903) 188 U.S. 519; 47 L.Ed. 572
Taylor v. Louisiana
(1975) 419 U.S. 522; 42 L.Ed.2d 690
Texas Dept. of Community Affairs v. Burdine
(1981) 450 U.S. 2486; 67 L.Ed.2d 207
Webb v. Webb
(1981) 451 U.S. 493; 68 L.Ed.2d 392
Williams v. Georgia
(1955) 349 U.S. 375; 99 L.Ed. 1161
Statutes
Cal. Code Civ. Proc., §§ 203
204.7
286 U.S.C. § 1257
Constitutions
U.S. Const., Amend, VI
U.S. Const., Amend, XIV
Rules of Court
U.S. Sup. Ct. Rule 21.1(h), 28 U.S.C.A.
Texts and Others
Stern & Gressman (5th ed. 1978) Supreme Court
Practice, p. 221
9 Wigmore, Evidence (Chad. Rev. 1981),
pp. 292-297
Page
3,4,5,10
10
1,2,6
1l
11
10
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1984
No. 84-265
STATE OF CALIFORNIA,
Petitioner,
Vv.
LEE EDWARD HARRIS,
Respondent.
RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
There are at least four reasons why certiorari
should be denied in this case. First, and probably most
critical, is the fragmented and incomplete record which does
not lend itself to an intelligent discussion of the Sixth
Amendment issues, The record is replete with "procedural
snarls" and “evidentiary gaps" because the State abdicated
its responsibility to come forward with controverting
evidence. Petitioner waived its opportunity to present
evidence, not because of any reliance on the trial court's
ruling (as suggested in the Petition for Certiorari), but
because of a prosecutor's myopic and misinformed reading of
existent law.
//
//
Second, this case is fundamentally about state
evidence law. The California Supreme Court reacted to a
a one-sided and incomplete record with a decision on the
law of evidentiary burdens. The court's opinion is impor-
tant not to Sixth Amendment scholars, but to California
lawyers concerned with when the burden of going forward with
the evidence shifts from one party to the other.
Third, this Court's jurisdiction under 28 USC §
1257 is questionable since the federal rights asserted in
the petition were never “raised, preserved, or passed upon
in the state courts below." The request for an evidentiary
remand was not made until the petition for rehearing.
Even then it was argued as a question of statutory law.
Petitioner never informed the state court that federal
rights were at stake.
Fourth, respondent is scheduled to appear for trial
on September 20. His jury will then be chosen from multiple
lists according to a new statute which specifically remedies
1/
the challenge made below.~
In short, this case does not present the Sixth
Amendment issues "in a manner that warrants the exercise of
the certiorari jurisdiction of this Court." (Murel v.
Baltimore City Criminal Court (1972) 407 .S. 355, 357,
32 L.E.2d 791.)
//
1. California Code of Civil Procedure section 204.7 has
been amended to provide for the selection of jurors from
registered voter and motor vehicle lists when the latter can
be added without significant cost. The statute is repro-
duced in the appendix to this brief at page 20.
1. Petitioner Waived Presentation
of Rebuttal Evidence
Petitioner paints a picture of the State lulled
into not presenting rebuttal evidence by reliance on
the trial court's ruling that respondent had not made a
prima facie case, and then being “blind-sided” by a revolu-
tionary California Supreme Court which radically departed
from "all existing authority." (Pet. Cert. pp. 22, 24.)
This portrait bears little resemblance to the record.
Petitioner never intended to meet respondent's case
with evidence. From the very beginning the prosecutor saw
this as a settled legal matter, rather than an open eviden-
tiary question. Through a misreading of California law he
believed that the selection of jurors solely from voter
registration lists was constitutionally valid no matter what |
evidence might be presented. “The People's position is
quite simple,” he told the court, the selection of jurors
from voter registration lists “satisfies the law."
The prosecutor was willing "to stipulate to any
evidence [respondent] wishes to present regarding
demography, population, ethnic variances ... [because]
once the evidence that the juror rolls are drawn at random
from registered voters is before the Court, that that wil)
- « « Satisfy the law as the People believe it exists under
certain cases that I will cite to the Court... ."
The California Supreme Court opinion in the Sirhan
case, according to the prosecutor, was “controlling in this
//
//
case," and established that the selection of jurors solely
from registered voter lists was constitutional per ae.*
Relying on this mistaken reading of Sirhan the
prosecutor was content to quibble with respondent's evidence
-- the census data was too old, the surveys were not long
enough, disparities were not calculated correctly and total
population figures had to be reduced to sets of jury
silethics.”
Petitioner offered no evidence that respondent's
data was inaccurate. Petitioner presented no evidence that
the statistical refinements it wanted would make any consti-
tutional difference. Petitioner offered no testimony
suggesting that the disparities respondent proved were
caused by something other than the jury selection system
itself. And petitioner presented no evidence of any com-
pelling state interest that would justify these disparities.
//
//
//
2. People v. Sirhan (1972) 7 Cal.3d 710, 102 Cal.Rptr.
385. The prosecutor's opening and closing arguments are
appended hereto at pp. 13-18.
3. For some unarticulated reason, both sides tried the
case on the assumption that the jury had to be represen-
tative of the entire country rather than of a 20 mile
radius around the courthouse which may be the California
law. (See People v. Harris (1984) 36 Cal.3d 36, 48 and Code
of.Civ. Proc., 203, reproduced below at page 20.)
2. The Opinion Below Deals With
Matters of State Procedure
On appeal to the California Supreme Court, peti-
tioner continued to argue that the use of voter registration
lists was constitutionally sacrosanct, again citing Sirhan.
The court responded that it had never said such a method of
selecting jurors was unassailable and pointed to language in
Sirhan that clearly foreshadowed the holding now under
review:
"In Sirhan, however, this court held that ‘[t]he
use of voter registration lists as the sole
source of jurors is not constitutionally invalid
[citations], at least in the absence of a showing
that the use of those lists resulted "in the
systematic exclusion of a ‘cognizable group or
Class of qualified citizens'" [citations], or
that there was “discrimination in the compiling
of such voter registration lists.” [Citations.]'
(Id., at pp. 749-750.) However, it is exactly
the requirement of Sirhan regarding exclusion of
a cognizable group that defendant has attempted
to Show (36 Cal.3d at p. 57, emphasis added.)
It never has been the law that voter registration
lists are unassailable. Even the authorities cited by peti-
tioner recognize this.” Attacks on voter registration lists
have been going on for years, but have uniformly failed
because either the defendants presented no proof (e.g.,
Sirhan) or because the state had come forward with con-
vincing rebuttal evidence.
4. Davis v. Zant (llth Cir. 1963) 721 F.2d 1478, 1484:
Although “courts have sanctioned the use of voter registra-
tion lists as the sole means of jury selection... the use
of such lists does not establish as a conclusive fact that a
true cross-section of the community is being drawn."
State v. Gretzlar (Ariz. 1980) 126 Ariz. 60, 612 P.24
1023, 1040: "The use of voter registration lists as a sole |
source of jurors is not constitutionally infirm absent a
showing of systematic exclusion in the compiling of such
lists."
It is respondent's uncontroverted proof that makes
this case unique. What the California Supreme Court did was
5/
to apply principles settled by Duren and Taylor to a case
where “the state has not attempted to rebut the defendant's
proof but has shortsightedly rested its entire argument on
the mistaken claim that defendant failed to present a prima
facie case." (Harris, 36 Cal.3d at p..59, emphasis added.)
The opinion below expresses no novel Sixth
Amendment doctrine. It is concerned with California rules
ef evidence. The court saw the “fundamental” question in the
case as being which party had the burden of refining the
Statistical studies to show that a “more narrowly defined
population would or would not result in a disparity of
constitutional significance." (Harris, 36 Cal.3d at p. 45.)
This was answered by a classic Wigmorian analysis of eviden-
6/
tiary burdens. After looking to the difficulty and expense
of obtaining the data petitioner claimed is important, and
after balancing the parties' opportunity for knowledge, the
Court shifted the burden of refinement to petitioner. The
ultimate burden of persuasion (on whether the Sixth
Amendment has been violated) remained untouched; the court
held only that respondent had presented enough evidence to
shift the burden of going forward to petitioner.
In fact the treatment of the burden of production
issue by the California Supreme Court was not all that
//
5. Duren v. Missouri (1979) 439 U.S. 357, 58 L.E.2d
579; Taylor v. Louisiana (1975) 419 U.S. 522, 42 L.Ed.2d 690.
6. .9 Wigmore, Evidence (Chad. Rev. 1981), pp. 292-297.
different from that of this Court in Texas Dept. of Community
Affairs v. Burdine (1981) 450 U.S. 248, 253-255, 67 L.£d.24d
207.) But whether different or not, whether wise or noc, the
decision below is concerned with matters of state evidence law
and is beyond this Court's certiorari jurisdiction.
Without question it is within the power of California
to regulate its own legal procedures “including the
burden of producing evidence and the burden of persuasion,”
(Speiser v. Randall (1958) 357 U.S. 513, 523, 2 L.Ed.2d
1460.) This Court has recognized that allocation of the
evidentiary burden of production is “an important prodecural
Gevice" retained by the States, so they can fairly and expedi-
tiously regulate the course of trials. (Patterson v. New
York (1977) 432 U.S. 197, 230, fn. 9, 53 L.£d.2d 261.)
Pederal rights are litigated through the medium of
state procedural laws. Within certain broad limits states are
free to experiment with their own procedural and evidentiary
Gevices. (Williams v. Georgia (1955) 349 U.S. 375, 382, 99
L.2d. 1161; Chandler v. Florida (1981) 449 U.S. 560, 562, 66
L.£4.24 740.) State rules on how and when to challenge a
jury venire have been upheld by this Court as valid exer-
cises of state power. And if states can assign the burden
of persuasion to one party or the other, surely no federal
issue is raised by a fair and rational allocation of an
//
//
//
7. Tarrance v. Florida (1903) 166 U.S. 519,
47 L.e4. 572; Aichel v. Loulsiana (1956) 350 U.S. 91,
100 L.ed. 83.
~~ ~
6/
intermediate burden of production. This Court has even
dismissed, for want of a substantial federal question, a
petition raising the constututionality of a statute allo-
cating the burden of production.
The opinion below stands for the proposition, often
stated here, that a prima facie case cannot be met by
“mere suggestions or assertions," and that the burden of
production calls for admissible evidence, not "argument of
counsel.” (Duren, 439 U.S. at p. 369; Burdine, 450 U.S.
at p. 254, fn. 9.) The court's holding is rejeat «sy limited
to the key fact in this case -- the absence of any rebuttal
10/
evidence. The opinion leaves open, for prosecution proof,
the many ways in which the single source use of voter lists
can be upheld. Por example, disparities might be reduced to
constitutional limits by showing that the jury was represen-
tative of the 20 mile area around the courthouse rather
than of the county at large. Or perhaps a longer survey at
the courthouse door would reveal a better ethnic mix. Or
perhaps the state could come forward with evidence showing
8. Leland v. Oregon (1952) 343 U.S. 790, 96 L.Bd 1302;
see also, Patterson ¥. Tew York (1977) 432 U.8. 197,
53 L.£4.26 e
9. Morrison v. California (1933) 266 U.S. 591, 77
L.£6. 970, Alscussed In Patterson v. New York, supra, 432
U.S. 197, 230, fn. 9, 53 D.2d.7d 261 and Morrison v.
California (1934) 291 U.S. 62, 76 L.ed. 664,
10. “In this case, defendant has made a showing adequate
to demonstrate, in the absence of rebuttal evidence by the
etate « « «..*
"In the present case, however, the state has not
attempted to rebut the defendant's proof but has short-
sightedly rested its entire argument on the mistaken claim
that defendant failed to present a prima facie case." (36
Cal.34 at p. 59, emphasis added.)
there is no significant disparity when minority group eli-
gibles are counted instead of total populations.
The opinion also leaves room for the state to demon-
strate that the disparities are not inherently caused by choosing
jurors solely from voter registration lists. The prosecutor
might show that the underrepresentation does not occur until
after the initial drawing is made, perhaps, for example,
because Blacks and Hispanics do not mail back the original
questionnaire with the same frequency as other ethnic
groups. Or that the disparities are caused by statutory
qualifications (such as language proficiency) or exemptions
(such as hardship) which might fall differently on different
ethnic grouse.”
And finally, the prosecution might show that any
disparity is justified by compelling state interests.
That is not an insurmountable burden. In a recent
California case the prosecutor came forward with evidence of
"explanation and justification" and established that the
county was “doing all that reasonably could be expected to
achieve the constitutional goal.” (People v. Jones (1964)
151 Cal.App.34 1029, 199 Cal.Rptr. 165, 1867.)
The decision below was a legitimate response to a
local problem -- at what point during the proof of a
controverted fact does the burden of producing evidence
shift to the opposing party? This is a matter of
state evidence law which need not, and in our federal
System, cannot, be of concern here. “It would be a wholly
ll. The California statutes on juror qualifications and
exemptions are appended hereto at page 19.
TSS A a er ee ae oe
unjustifiable encroachment by this Court upon the constitu-
tional power of States to promulgate their own rules of
evidence to try their own state-created crimes in their own
state courts, so long as their rules are not prohibited by
any provision of the United States Constitution, which these
rules are not." (Spencer v. Texas (1967) 385 U.S. 554,
568-569, 17 L.Ed.2d 606.)
3. The Federal Rights Asserted By
Petitioner Were Not Timely
Raised Below
This Court has “consistently refused” to decide
federal issues raised for the first time in a
petition for certiorari. (Webb v. Webb (1981) 451 U.S 493,
499, 68 L.Ed.2d 392; 28 U.S.C. § 1257.) It is equally
established that “the attempt to raise a federal question
after judgment, upon a petition for rehearing, comes too late,
+ « « «” (Herndon v. Geogia (1935) 295 U.S. 441, 443;
12
79 L.Ed. 1530. )=/
Petitioner did not request an evidentiary remand
until the petition for rehearing. This could have been
advanced in earlier briefs as an alternative form of relief,
3°. bat was not. The presumption now is that the request was
7 ;
: denied under a long established California rule that a party
ee * will not be heard “to suggest upon petition for rehearing,
+ ner
* that, after all, there are questions of fact which [it]
,
“tm 12. This is not a case where a state court ruling was
y he so unanticipated that the federal question could only have
any % “iad been raised on rehearing. As discussed above, the result in
5 this case was clearly foreshadowed by Sirhan. Petitioner
‘a Be -" Zwas bound to have known this and cannot claim surprise. Stern &
~~ *“Gressman (Sth ed. 1978) Supreme Court Practice, p. 221.
, P
E 10
BEST AVAILABLE COPY
me eee
desires to have determined, and upon which [it] might have
relied, had [it] chosen to do so." (Atherton v. Sup. San
Mateo Co, (18674) 48 Cal. 157, 160; County of Imperial v,
McDougal (1977) 19 Cal.3d 505, 513, 138 Cal.Rptr. 472.)
Even if the petition for rehearing was a timely
assertion of the State's constitutional rights, it was not
done with the specificity required to invoke this Court's
jurisdiction. The petition for rehearing asks for a remand
13/
It does not even contain a
14/
under a state statute only.
hint that any federal rights are being asserted. While
this Court's jurisdiction may “not depend on citation to
book and verse" (Eddings v. Oklahoma (1982) 455 U.S. 104,
113, fn. 9, 71 L.2d.2d 1) it at least requires that the
state court be “apprised of the nature or substance of the
federal claim... ." ("ebb v. Webb (1981) 451 U.S. 493,
501.) The California court was never told that its decision
to reverse without an evidentiary remand implicated federal
rights. On this record the assumption must be that
petitioner's Duren/Fourteenth Amendment claim was not passed
on *'due to want of proper presentation in the state
courts.'" (Exxon Corp. v. Eagerton (1983) U.S. __.
76 L.Ed.2d 497, 504, fn. 3; Hanson v. Denckla (1958) 357 U.S.
235, 243, 2 L.£d.2d 12863.)
The Petition for a Writ of Certiorari should be
13. The Petition for Rehearing remand argument is
reproduced in the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari at
pages 139-149.
14. Since the federal rights were not raised below, there
has been a concomitant failure to comply with Rule 21.1(h)'s
requirement that the petition contain “such pertinent quota-
tion of specific portions of the record... as will show
that the federal question was timely and properly raised."
1l
denied because the federal rights asserted were never
"raised, preserved, or passed upon in the state courts
below.” (Cardinale v. Louisiana (1969) 394 U.S 437, 4386,
22 L.£d.2d 398.)
4. Conclusion
"The State offered no evidence at all either
attacking respondent's allegations of [constitutional
disparity] or demonstrating that his statistics were unre-
liable in any way... In light of the State's abdication of
its responsibility to introduce controverting evidence...
respondent was entitled to prevail.” (Casteneda v. Partida
(1977) 430 U.S. 4862, 468, 492, 51 L.£d.2d 498.)
Respondent respectfully prays that the Petition for
Writ of Certiorari be denied.
Dated this 14th day of September 1964, at
Los Angeles, California.
Respectfully submitted,
FRANK O. BELL, JR.
State Public Defender
or Dated Vt (C$
Deputy State Public Defender
Attorneys for Respondent
12
DEPARTMENT SOUTH C
LONG BEACH, CALIFORNIA, THURSDAY, APRIL 17, 1980; 10:10 A.M.
APPEARANCES:
The defendant with his counsel, DENNIS W. CARROLL,
Deputy Public Defender of Los Angeles County;
KURT S. SEIFERT, Deputy District Attorney of
Los Angeles County, representing the People of the
State of California.
"MR. SEIFERT: The People's position is
quite simple. We feel that the selection of
registered voters drawn at random by the
registrar from the registrar of voters rolls by
the jury commissioner satisfies the law as it
exists today and we are in a position to stipu-
late to any evidence counsel wishes to present
regarding demography, population, ethnic varian-
ces over the area of this judicial district or
anything of that, in that regard that he con-
siders forms a basis for the challenge.
"We will basically submit that once the evi-
dence that the juror rolls are drawn at random
from registered voters is before the Court, that
that will satisfy the requirements of Code of
Civil Procedure Sections 204, et seq. and will
satisfy the law as the People believe it exists
under certain cases that I will cite to the Court
at the appropriate time.
“We are willing to stipulate with counsel to
any evidence of demography, that is, population,
ethnic balances or numbers of various groups
within the judicial district if that is within
his evidence, he wishes to present. Our position
is that the method that is used now that will be
subject of stipulation is a fair one and does not
fly in the face of the defendant's right to a
fair trial and of a fair cross section of the
community represented upon the jury that he will
be afforded in this particular case.
"So I am willing to basically stipulate with
counsel] the contents of all the evidentiary mat-
ters in the former motion that was presented. It
is a considerable number of pages of testimony, I
believe several hundred, at least, and supple-
mented, I understand, by Mr. Butler's testimony
this afternoon as to the specifics of the
demography and populativun complexion, if you
will, of the Long Beach Judicial District.
13
HON. D. STERRY FAGAN, JUDGE
"All of those things I am willing to stipu-
late to and I believe that based on the cases of
Rubio vs. Superior Court, Adams vs. Superior
Court and People vs. Sirhan that the defendant in
the brief written notice he has given has laid
out at least the prima facie grounds upon which
he can challenge the jury, but I don't feel fac-
tually he will be able to carry forward his
challenge. I will be willing to stipulate to
most anything." (RT 306-307).
14
LONG BEACH, CALIFORNIA; TUESDAY, APRIL 22, 1980; 1:35 P.M.
DEPARTMENT SOUTH C HON. D. STERRY FAGAN, JUDGE
(Appearances as heretofore noted.)
"MR. SEIFERT: All right. I must take issue
with the basic foundation upon which the defense,
if you will, house of cards is built in that the
defendant would argue apparently that he and his
witnesses and evidence have made out a prima
facie case of discrimination, I suggest the evi-
dence is not conducive to that conclusion and
does not lead to that conclusion because the
nature of the evidence itself, as I attempted to
focus, at least in part on the cross-examination
of Dr. Butler, shows this Court, I think, clearly
that his figures and facts are as specuictive as
his conclusion that all Spanish-surnamed pe: sons
in California are citizens. Such a preposterous
statement and assumption by a demographer, whose
sworn obligation as a witness is to present
reliable information to this Court, flies in the
face of reason and shows that Dr. Butler is
closing his eyes to certain realities that
everyone in this community is confronting. And
that is the great deal of influx of illegal aliens
of Spanish descent into our community, which
is a large problem, not one that can be ignored
by the mere assumption that all Spanish-surnamed
persons are citizens for purposes of his statistics.
"His evidence that he presents is also spe-
culative in that it does not get to the heart of
the matter. The Supreme Court of the United
States has never indicated to this day that a jury
venire must mirror the ethnic balance, if you
will, in the community but merely has indicated
that it must reflect a fair cross section.
That's totally different than a mirror. And the
California Supreme Court and the appellate courts
in California have consistently held that a
review of the demographic makeup of the people of
the community cannot be taken from the people as a
whole but must reflect the eligible jurors in the
community and how they stack up against the jury
venire, And particularly in the case of Adams
vs. Superior Court, 27 Cal.App.3d 719, the Court
discusses the difference between a challenge of
discrimination versus statistics from the entire
community versus a more reliable challenge based
on the statistics reflecting the makeup of the
eligible jury or juror population. And the Court
concludes clearly that a much greater disparity
between the population as a whole and the jury
venire will be permitted because it is assumed
that there are many more people than are eligible
for jury service. And all of the questions on
15
cross-examination that I attempted to get answers
to from Dr, Butler focused on the very fundamen-
tal issue, does his survey or any survey he is
aware of focus on the eligible juror population
as the measure against which we compare the
jury venire? And the answer was a resounding no
in that Dr. Butler concluded that there was no
available source material to determine eligible
juror population, but he did concede that the
only possible source of statistical information
that would lead to likely eligible jurors was the
list of registered voters, which both statu-
torily is called for as the basis for the jury
venire in the Code of Civil Procedure, Section
214, and also that defines the qualifications for
jurors and, further, that has been approved as
the single source of jurors and is constitutional
under the following cases: People vs. Sirhan,
7 Cal.3d 710; People vs. Waw, W-a-w, 74
Cal.App.3d 633; People vs. Cabral, C-a-b-r-a-1l,
51 Cal.App.3d, page 707; People vs. Breckenridge,
52 Cal.App.3d 913; and People vs. Newton, N-e-w-
t-o-n, at & Cal.App.2d 359. All of those cases
have concluded that the statutory permission to
use the jury list as the single source of jurors
is constitutionally valid.
"I think the prime point by the defense is
it is premature in many aspects and speculative
in many. It is speculative in the updating of a
ten-year-old census, which is not reliable in the
first place as a factual basis upon which to
conclude the present population makeup, and
further it is speculative in that it doesn’t
divide its inquiry into looking at the eligible
juror population versus the many, many ineligible
aliens, the many, many people who do not speak
English, the many, many people who are infirm or
unqualified as jurors for other reasons, for
many, many people who have been convicted of
felonies and would not be eligible for jury ser-
vice, and all of the other persons who, for other
reasons, would not be eligible for jury service.
So in looking at the population as a whole, we
get an unfair and a distorted picture as to who
could be a juror, if they wanted to, and I
suggest that the evidence of the defense is
largely speculative because of that particular
area of their inquiry, looking at the population
as a whole.
"I don't think, and I think the Court will
be forced to agree, in reviewing the evidence
submitted by virtue of these various documents
that the defense has made out a prima facie case
of the type of invidious discrimination that is
required in the Supreme Court cases cited before
the system of selection of jurors, either grand
jurors or petit jurors, is thrown out as
//
unconstitutional and discriminating. I will
quote from Taylor vs. Louisiana, at 419 U.S. 522.
The law edition cite is 42 Law Edition 2d 690.
And the law says there at page 702 of the law
edition report, and I quote, ‘The fair cross sec-
tion principle must have much leeway in applica-
tion, The states remain free to prescribe
relevant qualifications for their jurors and to
provide reasonable exemptions, so long as it may
be fairly said that the jury lists or panels are
representative of the community.'
"we have the evidence of the defendant's own
expert, who, in his opinion, stated in answer to
three separate questions on cross-examination
that he assumes that the juror rolls, par-
ticularly those in Long Beach, are comprised of a
fair cross section of the registered voters in
the community. He cannot point to any discrimi-
nation by virtue of any invidious criteria such
as race, creed, color, sex, age, income or any
other criteria that indicates to him that jurors
are excluded because of any of those reasons.
He's told us, and the evidence submitted by sti-
pulation also substantiates, that jurors are cho-
sen completely at random, without regard to any
illegal critera and are only excused upon a
showing of good cause that they must bring for-
ward, not automatically excused, as was the case
in Duren vs, Missouri, cited in the various
papers presented to Your Honor.
"We have a situation here where the People
of the State of California and all public agen-
cies are making a conscientious effort to draw
more and more people into those rolls of
registered voters. It is quite clear that there
is an ongoing public relations campaign to get
everyone who is eligible to vote to get out and do
so, to make themselves a part of the system, if
you will, to get them involved in the processes
of government and particularly jury service and
voting. :
"It would appear then that the basic
challenge, if there is one, that counsel, through
his witnesses, is pointing to is that our law
discriminates against unregistered voters, if
anything, because those are the people or all of
those people who are unregistered voters are not
brought into the jury venire selection pool. And
in order to establish that that is of constitu-
tional dimension, it is required under the cases
of Castaneda vs. Partida, and all of the other
cases cited to the Court in the submitted docu-
ments that the discrimination must be against,
quote, a cognizable group, unquote.
17
|
}
"Adams vs. Superior Court, which is
controlling in this particular case, states, and
I will quote - I am sorry. It is People vs.
Sirhan, at 7 Cal.3d 710. The California Supreme
Court has stated that those who do not choose to
register to vote cannot be considered a cogni-
zable group within the meaning of those cases
cited. And that is at page 750 of the Court's
opinion, which begins at page 710. So if the
statistics, if the testimony of Dr. Butler has
any meaning at all, what he is telling us is we
are not including within the jury venire people
who are not registered voters. The California
Supreme Court tells us that is not a cognizable
group within the constitutional definition of
that phrase by the U.S. Supreme Court. Further,
the statistics are meaningless, since they don't
cover the eligible juror population, as compared
to all people physically located in the, quote,
community, end of quote. I think counsel's evi-
dence and all that submitted falls short of a
viable challenge to our system. And the fact of
the system changing, according to Dr. Butler, to
include DMV registrants in the pool does not
render this system today violative of the consti-
tutional protection of this defendant to a fair
trial by a jury that's a representative cross
section of the community. And the evidence would
be apparently, according to Dr. Butler, that the
jury does represent an eligible cross section of
the community in that the eligible jurors are
chosen from the registered voters who are all
required to be citizens and otherwise apparently
eligible for jury service under the definitions.
I submit it." (RT 433-438.)
* * * * * »
18
Code of Civil Procedure section 198:
“A person is competent to act as juror if he
or she is:
"1. A citizen of the United States of the
age of 18 years who meets the residency require-
ments of electors of this state;
"2. In possession of his or her natural
faculties and or ordinary intelligence, provided
that no person shall be deemed incompetent solely
because of the loss of sight or hearing in any
degree or other disability which substantially
impairs or interferes with the person's mobility;
and
"3. Possessed of sufficient knowledge of the
English language.
Code of Civil Procedure section 199:
"A person is not competent to act as a trial
juror if any of the following apply:
"(a) The person does not possess the quali-
fications prescribed by Section 198.
"(b) The person has been convicted of
malfeasance in office or any felony or other high
crime.
*(c) The person is serving as a grand juror
in any court of this state."
Code of Civil Procedure section 200:
"The court shall excuse a person from jury
service upon finding that the jury service would
entail undue hardship on the person or the public
served by the person."
* * * * * *
19
Code of Civil Procedure section 203:
“Zach court shall adopt rules supplementary
to such rules as may be adopted by the Judicial
Council, governing the selection of persons to be
listed as available for service as trial jurors.
The persons so listed shall be fairly represen-
tative of the population in the area served by
the court, and shall be selected upon a random
basis. Such rules shall govern the duties of the
court and its attaches in the production and use
of the juror lists. In counties with more than
one court location, the rules shall reasonably
minimize the distance traveled by jurors. In
addition, in the County of Los Angeles no jurcr
shall be required to serve at a distance grea’
than 20 miles from his or her residence."
Code of Civil Procedure section 204.7 (in part):
"(a) Source lists of jurors shall identify
persons who reside in the county, and who are 18
years of age or older, shall include those who
are registered voters, and to the extent that
systems for producing jury lists can be prac-
tically modified, without significant cost, shall
also include those who have been licensed or
issued an identification card pursuant to Article
3 (commencing with Section 12800) and Article 5
(commencing with section 13000) of Chapter 1 of
Division 6 of the Vehicle Code. Qualified jury
lists and master jury lists derived from the
source lists shall be prepared so as to reason-
ably minimize duplication of names.”
as * * * ® *
20
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1964
No. 84-265
STATE OF CALIFORNIA,
Petitioner,
Vv.
LEE EDWARD HARRIS,
Respondent.
On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the Supreme Court of the
State of California
MOTION TO PROCEED IN FORMA PAUPERIS
Respondent, LEE EDWARD HARRIS, by his undersigned
counsel, asks leave to file the attached Brief in Opposition
without prepayment of costs and to proceed in forma pauperis
pursuant to rule 46. Counsel has not yet received an affi-
davit from respondent, who is presently incarcerated and
awaiting trial in Long Beach, California. Mr. Harris’ affi-
Gavit in support of this motion will be forwarded to this
Court immediately upon receipt.
perry |
D L.A. KERSON
Deputy State Public Defender
Attorney for Respondent
21
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1964
No. 84-265
STATE OF CALIFORNIA,
Petitioner,
~against- $ APPIDAVIT
LEE EDWARD HARRIS,
Respondent.
STATE OF CALIFORNIA )
COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES) s.6.:
DONALD L.A. KERSON, being duly sworn, states:
1. I am a Deputy State Public Defender and counsel
to LEE EDWARD HARRIS in California v. Harris, now pending in
this Court on petition for writ of certiorari. I make this
affidavit in support of Mr. Harris’ motion for leave to
proceed in forma pauperis.
2. Mr. Harris is presently in the custody of the
State of California and is not immediately available to sign
an in forma pauperis affidavit. Such an affidavit has been
sent to Mr. Harris by me and will be forwarded to this Court
immediately upon receipt. A copy of the affidavit to be
signed by Mr. Harris is attached hereto.
3. Counsel was appointed to represent Mr. Harris
at trial, on appeal, and on these post-appeal proceedings.
//
//
22
Se |
4. 1 am informed and believe that because of his
poverty, Mr. Harris is unable to pay the costs of this cause
UY —
DONALD L.A. KERSON
Deputy State Public Defender
or to give security for same.
Sworn to before me this
/3“ day of September 1984.
OMe ff # ~
NOTARY PUBLIC
My commission expires:
ana
GRPECIAL SEAL
ADRIAN K. PANTON
ROTARY PUBUC CAL Onna
PREP a, OFF om
108 AnGtiit COverTy
ity Comemanson Lagees Oct 30 198/
23
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 19864
No. 84-265
STATE OF CALIFORNIA, $
Petitioner,
-~against- $
LEE EDWARD HARRIS,
Respondent. $
I, LEE EDWARD HARRIS, being duly sworn, depose and say,
in support of my motion for leave to proceed without being required
to prepay costs or fees and to proceed in forma pauperis:
1. I am the respondent in the above-entitled case.
2. Because of my poverty I am unable to pay the costs of
said cause; I own no real or personal property; I am presently in-
carcerated, and have been for the past five years; I receive no
income from earnings, and have no cash or checking or savings account.
3. I am unable to give security for said cause.
4. Counsel was appointed to represent me at trial, on
my direct appeal, and on these post-appeal proceedings.
LEE EDWARD HARRIS
STATE OF CALIFORNIA )
COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES) s.s.:
The foregoing affidavit of LEE EDWARD HARRIS was
subscribed and sworn to before me this day of
NOTARY PUBLIC
My commission expires:
24
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
No.
STATE OF CALIFORNIA, $
Petitioner, :
-against- $
LEE EDWARD HARRIS,
Respondent.
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
I hereby certify that I am a member of the Bar of
the United States Supreme Court and that I have on this date
served a copy of the Brief in Opposition and Motion to
Proceed in Porma Pauperis, by depositing said in the United
States Mail, postage prepaid and properly addressed to
John K. Van De Kamp, Attorney General, John R. Gorey, Esq.,
Deputy Attorney General, Room 800, 3580 Wilshire Boulevard,
Los Angeles, California 90010, and Clerk, California Supreme
Court, 4250 State Building, 455 Golden Gate Avenue,
San Prancisco, California 94102.
All parties required to be served have been served.
Dated this 14th day of September 1984, at Los Angeles,
ea 2
DONALD L.A. KERSON
Deputy State Public Defender
107 South Broadway, Suite 9111
Los Angeles, California 90012
California.
25
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.