Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Williams Pipe Line Co. v. Farmers Union Central Exchange, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1984

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

a rr

Office - Supreme Court, U.S.

84 -184 FILED

oes AUG & 1004

No. 84-

AS.

CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

WILLIAMS PIPE LINE COMPANY,

. Petitioner

FARMERS UNION CENTRAL EXCHANGE, INC., et al.,

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION, and

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondents

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

ROBERT G. BLEAKNEY, JR.*

One Post Office Square

Boston, MA 02109

(617) 338-2903

DAVID M. SCHWARTZ

ROBERT L. CALHOUN

1025 Connecticut Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

SULLIVAN & WORCESTER (202) 775-2190

WILLIAM J. COLLINGSWORTH

JOHN S. ESTILL, JR.

HALL, ESTILL, HARDWICK, Bank of Oklahoma Tower

GABLE, COLLINGSWORTH One Williams Center

& NELSON Tulsa, OK 74172

Of Counsel (918) 588-2655

Attorneys for Williams Pipe

Line Company

August 2, 1984 * Cou sel of Record

EE EE | TE

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON. D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Whether the Court of Appeals has improperly re-

stricted the authority of the Federal Energy Regulatory

Commission to adopt its own methodology for evaluating

the reasonableness of oil pipeline common carrier rates?

2. Whether Williams Pipe Line Company has been de-

nied procedural due process by the Circuit Court’s af-

firmance of FERC’s finding, in a general industry-wide

rulemaking proceeding, that the purchase price paid by

Williams in 1966 would not be considered for ratemaking

purposes where Williams had received no notice of any

such issue?

(i)

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW

The parties to the proceedings before the Court of Ap-

peals, whose judgment is sought to be reviewed, were as

follows:

Farmers Union Central Exchange, Inc.

Farmland Industries and its subsidiary, CRA, Inc.

Kerr-McGee Refining Corporation

Land O’Lakes, formerly Midland Cooperatives, Inc.

National Cooperative Refining Association

Williams Pipe Line Company

Association of Oil Pipe Lines

Phillips Pipe Line Company

ARCO Pipe Line Company

Mid-America Pipeline Company

Marathon Pipe Line Company

Buckeye Pipe Line Company

Hydrocarbon Transportation, Inc.

Texas Eastern Transmission Corporation

Belle Fourche Pipe Line Company

Getty Pipeline, Inc.

Sun Pipe Line Company

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

United States of America

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ................

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW ............

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED .............................-

EE MEINE cecincincecsinmnindéinssndssinnnntiphneienniiennnnsenseetiinittian

SII iskttaccnsnivowncticdeonunciannihensoveen eonieeisnaetsedaaeateed

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES

TID ssi chic nelegdaenlensikccetennahaseincietesieesanntmiainoatalitatat

ye we 1 ty Di iy i OF | ea

A. Proceedings Prior to the FERC Proceedings......

B. Proceedings Before the FERC ..............................

C. Proceedings Before the Court of Appeals -...........

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .....................

I. THE FERC IS EMBARKING UPON A NEW

ERA IN THE REGULATION OF THE OIL

PIPELINE COMMON CARRIER INDUSTRY ;

FOR THAT REASON ALONE THE WRIT

i eB BE). o 5 | ee

II. THE COURT OF APPEALS HAS IMPROP-

ERLY RESTRICTED THE SCOPE OF FERC’S

AUTHORITY TO ARRIVE AT ITS OWN

METHODOLOGY FOR EVALUATING THE

REASONABLENESS OF OIL PIPELINE

COMMON CARRIER RATES ................-.......-...

A. Preliminary Comments ............-....----.--.2-2020-022-

B. The Court of Appeals Decision ................--------

C. The Court of Appeals’ Incorrect Interpreta-

tion of the Interstate Commerce Act’s Rate

REET P aE eS OO nee

Page

aA a f&# NY WY W

10

10

12

13

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

III. WILLIAMS HAS BEEN DENIED PROCE-

DURAL DUE PROCESS BY THE CIRCUIT

COURT'S AFFIRMANCE OF THE FERC

FINDING, WITHOUT NOTICE, THAT THE

PURCHASE PRICE WILLIAMS PAID IN

1966 FOR THE GREAT LAKES PIPE LINE

COMPANY PROPERTIES WOULD NOT BE

CONSIDERED FOR RATEMAKING PUR-

TONES EET iti 25 |

NY acnicnssesbienccindainilevinisnichatssinnaietitaiianietiintaaimdea 29

[THE APPENDIX IS SEPARATELY BOUND]

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

American Commercial Lines, Inc. v. Louisville &

NB. Co., 998 U.S. Gl CIGGB) ncnncncccce 23

American Paper Institute v. American Electric

Power Service Corp., U.S. , 103 S.Ct.

ROME CROTD assent ce eee 16

Baltimore Gas and Electric Co. v. NRDC, ——

U.S. , 106 S.Ct. 2346 (1668) .........0. 24

Bob Jones University v. United States, US.

» BOB BK. BURT Ce kc cc 23

Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense

Council, Inc., U.S. , 52 LW 4845 (June

i SOY ines ceiickcnciciccie enone eee 24, 25

Colorado Interstate Co. v. FPC, 324 U.S. 581

SPR RDMEP are Nae a Mee natgayt Hse rk. PL 23

Farmers Union Central Exchange v. FERC, 584

F.2d 408 (D.C. Cir. 1978); cert. den. sub nom.

Williams Pipe Line Company v. FERC, 439 U.S.

De CD ccstnvcntsctestcidctaicnboeneacee eee passim

Farmers Union Central Exchange v. Federal En-

ergy Regulatory Commission, 734 F.2d 1486

ERED sarivcicivccprvcenicasisigiaaideelinaan ieee passim

FPC v. Hope Natural Gas Co., 320 U.S. 591

ENED sxscsitsisenreapssacccksicalibebdimedht ecko leessaeneabte tia asaaiiaenaaes 8, 19, 24

FPC v. Natural Gas Pipeline Co., 315 U.S. 586

CRED caisccctcnnsideeiencan ipl Rate telat biel ccece ee cate 19

Haig v. Agee, 453 U.S. 280 (1981) ................00........ 23

ICC v. New York, N.H. & H.R.R. Co., 287 U.S. 187

«SARGENT CRN ses ene ene NRT OBA UE PNR eo SO: BI 18

Minnelusa Oil Corp. v. Continental Pipe Line Co.,

Ee es ID ~.icascscs a ticeiscescnisieepetenanere esas 11

Mobil Alaska Pipeline Co. v. United States, 434

hs RE. y 3 Reece te NL veto od ee nt ee Cru 13

Mobil Oil Corp. v. FPC, 417 U.S. 283 (1974) .......... 14, 18

Motor Vehicle Manuf. Assn. v. State Farm Mutual,

U.S. , 108 S.Ct. 2856 (1983) -............... 23

National Association of Greeting Card Pubs. v.

USPE, USS. , 103 S.Ct. 2717 (1983)... 23

Permian Basin Area Rate Cases, 390 U.S. 747

RARE -ceskscinajissisitetcnininlelcaacalchicchctieeelicipsdeibaacealdga Scena 9,10

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Petroleum Products, Williams Bros. Pipe Line

Company, 351 1.C.C. 102 (1975) ......................... 2

Petroleum Products, Williams Bros. Pipe Line

Company, 355 1.C.C. 479 (1976) .......0000.....eeee eee 2

Petroleum Rail Shippers Ass’n v. Alton & S. R.R.,

Oe Reese Ee PTE dstanisieeencacttlieinestoncnnmincnce 3,11

Public Serv. Comm’n v. Mid-Louisiana Gas Co.,

U.S. , 108 S.Ct. 3024 (1988) .....0 16, 22

Reduced Pipeline Rates and Gathering Charges,

243 I.C.C. 115( 1940), 272 I.C.C. 375 (1945) ...... 11

Smyth v. Ames, 169 U.S. 466 (1898) —...000200022. ooo... 17

Southwestern Bell Tel. Co. v. Missouri Pub. Serv.

Comm’n, 262 U.S. 276 (1928) .............-.---.-..----.--. 19

Trans Alaska Pipeline Rate Cases, 436 U.S. 591

EEE Sissi scscniierecccaddabaneeimcaamataaceciata Gabaansanl 3, 10, 13

Udall v. Tallinan, 380 U.S. 1 (1965) ............2.02.222.... 23

United States v. Champlin Refining Co., 341 U.S.

Be TIP kcstiatcecemcdsincctbadiccntanes | nipcnntiananeeaies 22

Vermont Yankee Nuclear Power Corp. v. NRDC,

Ge Sak ee Ce ction 24

Williams Pipe Line Company, 21 FERC (CCH)

© 61,260 (November 30, 1982) ..............00000..000000... passim

Statutes and Constitutional Provisions

Constitution of the United States, Fifth Amend-

I nisiaitaceicinnsetinass okintdceaceasoarisicingaibin caine itt lead ete: 2, 26

re Oe tic Oe OS eeiscrsiccanccnccitsvicatnnlnnbaraebadabeimcamees 2, 26

De Wi ee ocd is secsenecntsrcinntaetouaaiiiagocgd 14

BU a I seein nnisnsonevvsieoceninsitenenn ttsisaiamniigecstiaa ee sala sath 16

Be te FI bewiceinesncsinsicincensisiensiesaiianincinsinmedaciigubmadibamuasines 2

Be Ne IE eitiiteinaetisoncccninnesssnsnnteamvansiivilsisbceicccenitibounabanioca 5

Be es Be I eiinisnerses sticsnesninsinnninsdenwnitivessenpsslacldntcslehbadibseinons 5

Be I I bic dccsacielcunsonnpanaseniosnssicininlehcpsscinsndeisiibeniacbaabeananiois 2

I Tres Oe a anes iannncscecitienticcctkascsinnssssaeetecersacs 3

49 U.S.C. $1, et seq. ........................... siete Retirees 2

kL Le eee ne een ewe. 21

TD © ccericitaenscesiscntgeasichscctetiigibicnidieselammean tala 26

I pidscisinscsioncictnssnrevionietaticlaseiipediaemaiaiadeaniaiad ale 21

Ge Te I sitieceiniserntesiniintnis ieiuaasieaa aan ae passim

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Hepburn Act of 1906, 34 Stat. 584 00. 17, 18, 22

Staggers Rail Act of 1980, Public Law 96-448, 96th

Cong., Oct. 14, 1980, 94 Stat. 1895 -...........0........... 21

Valuation Act of 1913, 62 Cong. Sess. III, c. 92, 37

BMI. < WHITE cicnssn vsicointscnsdisasincbodeaisniseaschantiastaaeiaiatasaaanannaane passim

Miscellaneous

, _ eeNON Re Se pk Pe 18

Ee FI I cokvstksinenttesbcietiodcsntaepetniendcoenanietens 18

First Independent Offices Appropriation Act, 1954,

Oe Cy SE . cicetercscncctcicvoncccenimavesinnercs 19

General Appropriations Act, 1951, 64 Stat. 595,

5 SRR ei deere tar roe Line ae een iy "50 NRE a 19

Hearings on Independent Offices Appropriations,

1951, of the House Appropriations Committee,

8ist Cong., 2d Sess., pt. 3, at 763 (1950) _........... 19

Hearings on Independent Offices Appropriations,

1951, Before the Subcommittee on Transporta-

tion of the Senate Appropriations Committee,

81st Cong., 2d Sess., at 794, 805-6 (1950) _........ 19

ICC Annual Reports, 1961-1968, inclusive .............. 19

Independent Offices Appropriation, 1950, 63 Stat.

I I toe a ee 19

Independent Offices Appropriation, 1953, 66 Stat.

393, 403-4 (1952) _... Bo ahllaceiuecaeaniaaee se tesaepiimen maine ce 19

Independent Offices Appropriation Act, 1955, 68

I I, ME IED apth cerca chcerssb sacekcsoiene eteaecoccucn 19

Senate Report No. 1373 to Accompany S.757 Elimi-

nation of Unnecessary Valuation and Reporting

Requirements, 90th Cong. 2d Sess., July 9, 1968,

i is We is een een idemaicn 21

87th Congress, 2d Session, H.R. 12249 and §.3420.. 20

88th Congress, Ist Session, H.R. 5247 and §.1149.... 20

90th Congress, Ist Session, H.R. 6535 and S.757...... 20

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Wuited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1984

No. 84-

WILLIAMS PIPE LINE COMPANY,

os Petitioner

FARMERS UNION CENTRAL EXCHANGE, INC., et al.,

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION, and

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondents

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Petitioner, Williams Pipe Line Company (Williams),

prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judg-

ment of the United States Court of Appeals for the Dis-

trict of Columbia Circuit entered March 9, 1984 in pro-

ceedings styled Farmers Union Ce..tral Exchange v.

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission and the United

States of America, No. 82-2412 (Farmers Union II).

Williams is an oil pipeline common carrier and partici-

pated in the proceedings before the Court of Appeals both

as a petitioner and as an intervenor-respondent.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the Court of Appeals sought to be re-

viewed has been reported as Farmers Union Central Ex-

change v. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, 734

F.2d 1486 (1984). The decision of the Federal Energy

2

Regulatory Commission (FERC) that was reviewed by

the Court of Appeals is Williams Pipe Line Company, 21

FERC (CCH) { 61,260 (November 30, 1982). Copies of

both decisions are included in a separately bound Appen-

dix.

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of the Court is invoked under 28

U.S.C. §§ 1254 and 2350. The decision of the Court of

Appeals was entered March 9, 1984. Petitions for re-

hearing filed by Texas Eastern Transmission Corpora-

tion, the AOPL and Williams with respect to certain is-

sues were denied by the Court of Appeals on May 4,

1984,

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND

STATUTES INVOLVED

This case involves the due process clause of the Fifth

Amendment to the United States Constitution. It also

involves sections of the Interstate Commerce Act (49

U.S.C. §§ 1, et seq.) and the Administrative Procedure

Act (5 U.S.C. §§ 551, et seg.). The text of the pertinent

parts of each is set forth in the separately bound Ap-

pendix filed simultaneously with this petition.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Proceedings Prior to the FERC Proceedings

These proceedings began over 12 years ago before the

Interstate Commerce Commission (ICC) when that

agency had regulatory jurisdiction over oil pipeline rates.

After lengthy hearings before that Commission, Wil-

liams’ rates were twice found to have been just and rea-

sonable under that agency’s standard. Petroleum Prod-

ucts, Williams Bros. Pipe Line Company, 351 I.C.C. 102

(1975); Petroleum Products, Williams Bros. Pipe Line

Company, 355 1.C.C. 479 (1976) .*

1 The standard applied by the ICC to Williams had been used by

that Commission in prescribing rates for Williams’ predecessor,

3

The ICC decisions were appealed to the United States

Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit by

the group of shipper complainants (Mid-Continent Ship-

pers). Before that appeal was argued, the Department

of Energy Organization Act was passed (42 U.S.C.

§§ 701, et seg.), transferring from the ICC to the FERC

the federal regulatory authority over oil pipeline rates.

As a result, FERC was substituted for the ICC as the

respondent agency before the Court of Appeals. The FERC

took no position as to the merits of the ICC’s decisions,

but instead urged that the court remand the case to it so

that FERC might form its own industry-wide principles

for evaluating the reasonableness of oil pipeline rates.

The Court of Appeals granted that request in its decision

in Farmers Union Central Exchange v. FERC, 584 F.2d

408 (D.C. Cir. 1978) (Farmers Union I). Williams’ pe-

tition for certiorari was denied by this Court in Williams

Pipe Line Company v. FERC, 439 U.S. 995 (1978).

In response to the remand order of the Court of Ap-

peals in Farmers Union I, FERC commenced its own

further proceedings. Those proceedings were separated

into two phases, the first of which (Phase I) was the

subject of the FERC decision which led to the further

Court of Appeals decision (Farmers Union II) that is

the subject of this petition. The stated object of Phase I

of the FERC proceedings was the development of generic

ratemaking criteria for all oil pipelines subject to FERC’s

regulatory jurisdiction. Phase I was to be followed by

Phase II proceedings, dealing with the application of the

Phase I criteria to the specific rates of Williams chal-

lenged by the Mid-Continent Shippers.

Great Lakes Pipe Line Company, over thirty years before in Petro-

leum Rail Shippers Ass’n. v. Alton & S. R.R., 243 I.C.C. 589 (1941).

See also, Trans Alaska Pipeline Rate Cases, 436 U.S. 591, 636, n.13

(1978), where this Court recognized the ICC’s use of a valuation

rate base for oil pipelines.

4

B. Proceedings Before the FERC

The Phase I proceedings before the FERC developed a

record of thousands of pages of prepared testimony and

exhibits presented by over 50 witnesses. An official tran-

script of over 8,000 pages resulted from 59 hearing days

before the FERC Administrative Law Judge. In addi-

tion, there were two oral arguments before the members

of the Commission.

On November 30, 1982, FERC’s decision was issued. In

a lengthy opinion, FERC analyzed the pros and cons of

the contentions of the parties as to the ratemaking cri-

teria it should adopt, and set out its own evaluation of

the industry, its statutory responsibilities, and the rea-

sons why particular ratemaking regulatory approaches

were or were not, in its view, appropriate. It concluded

that for oil pipelines a light rather than a heavy regula-

tory hand was appropriate (App. B-65, B-66; 21 FERC

at 61,585, 61,586) ,* thereby implicitly endorsing the regu-

latory approach that had been used by the ICC for this

industry for over 40 years. Like the ICC, the FERC de-

cided to continue the use, for rate base purposes, of

pipeline valuations prepared by the Commission (and

previously by the ICC) under Section 19a of the Inter-

state Commerce Act (49 U.S.C. §19a) (App. B-233 to

B-235; 21 FERC at 61,632).

While Williams-specific issues were to be dealt with in

a later Phase II, FERC inexplicably made one finding in

its Phase I decision on a Phase II issue of immense im-

portance to Williams. That issue was the ratemaking

treatment to be given to the price Williams had paid in

1966 for the assets of the former Great Lakes Pipe Line

Company. FERC held that Williams’ purchase price was

* The appendix references are to sections of the separately bound

Appendix.

5

to be given no consideration whatsoever for ratemaking

purposes even though that issue was not then before it

(App. B-243; 21 FERC at 61,636).

C. Proceedings Before the Court of Appeals

FERC’s Phase I decision was the subject of several

petitions for review brought in the Court of Appeals

pursuant to the provisions of 28 U.S.C. §§ 2321(a), (b)

and 28 U.S.C. §§ 2341(2), (3). The ratemaking approach

adopted ty FERC was challenged by the Mid-Continent

Shippers and by the Department of Justice, each of

whom argued that utility-type, original cost ratemaking

was the only approach that could properly be adopted by

FERC for the oil pipeline industry. On behalf of the

industry, the AOPL appealed from FERC’s treatment

of two limited issues, but did not challenge FERC’s con-

clusion as to its overall ratemaking approach. Williams

also did not challenge FERC’s overall approach but, as

a petitioner before the Court of Appeals, raised two addi-

tional issues. First, Williams argued that FERC had

erred in its treatment of Williams’ purchase price in its

Phase I decision. Second, Williams claimed that FERC

had improperly failed to provide that its new ratemaking

standard would not be applied retroactively to rates es-

tablished under a different standard.

The Court of Appeals’ decision essentially adopted the

contentions of the Department of Justice and the Mid-

Continent Shippers, while it substantially rejected the

positions advanced by FERC, AOPL, Williams and other

members of the oil pipeline industry. While giving oc-

easional lip service to the proposition of agency discre-

tion and the limited scope of its review of FERC’s con-

clusions (App. A-30, A-31), the court did everything but

specifically mandate to the FERC, in haec verba, that

FERC should utilize utility-type original cost ratemaking

for this non-utility industry (App. A-33). Flatly stating

that cost-based ratemaking was to be used absent a

6

showing of sufficient reasons for departure therefrom,

the Court of Appeals concluded that FERC’s Phase I de-

cision had not made the requisite showing (App. A-34).

Of particular relevance to the questions sought to be

reviewed, the Court of Appeals concluded that FERC’s

overall approach contravened its statutory directive to

determine whether rates are “just and reasonable” (App.

A-30). This failure was held to have resulted (1)

from FERC’s establishment of maximum rate ceilings

above the “zone of reasonableness” required by the stat-

ute; (2) from FERC’s failure to specify in detail how

“non-cost” factors might justify such high maximum

rate levels; (3) from FERC’s erroneous belief that the

climate of opinion in 1906 “shaped a congressional pur-

pose to impose only very lighthanded rate regulation on

the oil pipelines”; and (4) from FERC’s improper re-

liance on its findings that oil pipeline rate regulation

was unimportant to consumers at large and that regula-

tion for this industry was best left to market forces

(id.).

The Court of Appeals opinion gave but limited atten-

tion to the two issues raised by Williams. Concerning

Williams’ claim that FERC should have made a specific

finding that its new ratemaking standard would not be

applied retroactively, the decision contained no extended

discussion, but indicated agreement with Williams on the

issue. Thus, the Court of Appeals noted that this phase

of the case constituted rulemaking, and pointed out that

the definition of “rule” under the Administrative Proce-

dure Act included “the approval or prescription for the

future of rates” (emphasis added) (App. A-25). Even

more significantly, in discussing potential problems that

could arise from a change to a new regulatory approach,

the court specifically affirmed the principle stated by the

Farmers Union I court that the solution to reliance by

the pipeline industry on the ICC’s return on valuation

approach was “not to perpetuate that reliance but to end

it prospectively, without allowing reparations based on

7

its occurrence in the past” (emphasis added) Farmers

Union I, 584 F.2d at 419; Farmers Union II, App. A-

66.

As to Williams’ challenge to FERC’s treatment of its

1966 purchase price, the court’s opinion devoted but a

single paragraph and three footnotes. On the critical

point of whether Williams had been given proper notice

that its purchase price was at issue in Phase I, the court

specifically found that Williams had in fact received

such notice (App. A-87, n.78). As shall subsequently be

shown, that conclusion relied solely on two documents

that compel precisely an opposite conclusion. Other argu-

ments of Williams as to FERC’s treatment of its pur-

chase price were rejected with virtually no discussion,

with several characterized as frivolous.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE FERC IS EMBARKING UPON A NEW ERA

IN THE REGULATION OF THE OIL PIPELINE

COMMON CARRIER INDUSTRY; FOR THAT REA-

SON ALONE THE WRIT SHOULD BE GRANTED.

The FERC decision reflects the effort of that agency to

develop its own approach to the regulation of oil pipeline

rates. The opportunity to do so within the framework of

this case was granted FERC by the Court of Appeals in

Farmers Union I. That court remanded the case, previ-

ously twice-decided by the ICC, to give FERC, in re

sponse to FERC’s specific request, the opportunity to be-

gin its new “regulatory duties in this area with a clean

slate” (584 F.2d at 421). Thus, the November 30, 1982

decision of FERC and the March 9, 1984 decision of the

Court of Appeals involve matters of major significance

to an industry that is the major transporter of this

nation’s supply of crude petroleum and refined petroleum

products. Indisputably this industry is of extreme im-

portance to the economic well-being of the nation.

Moreover, it is not only the importance of this indus-

try to the nation that calls for granting certiorari in this

8

case. This Court should take this case because it involves

important questions of statutory interpretation and of

the role of the judiciary in administrative appeals, and,

for Williams, an important issue of procedural due proc-

ess. This is a case where the Court of Appeals for the

District of Columbia Circuit has once more reached well

beyond its proper judicial review role and, instead, has

acted as a super-agency.

As will be shown, the Court of Appeals has indulged

in a selective, contorted view of the Interstate Commerce

Act and its legislative history that results in an improper

conclusion as to the scope of administrative discretion to

approve rates under the Act. By so doing, the court has

ignored clear evidence of Congressional intent that the

“just and reasonable” standard for common carrier rates

under the Interstate Commerce Act was not intended by

Congress either in the past or the present to permit rates

measured only by the restrictive original cost standards

commonly imposed today by regulators, including FERC,

on franchised public utilities.

The court has also ignored that FERC’s use of a valua-

tion rate base, not only accords with prevailing legal con-

cepts at the time oil pipelines were first made subject to

the Interstate Commerce Act, but that such use is in ac-

cord with clear evidence of a continuing Congressional

intent. That intent was specifically enacted into law in

1913 in the Valuation Act (49 U.S.C. $19a) and has

been subsequenlty reaffirmed on numerous occasions.’

Finally, the Court of Appeals has turned the teaching

of this Court in the Hope* case on its head. Where the

Court, in Hope, freed regulators from strict requirements

% Significantly and without explanation, the Court of Appeals does

not even discuss the legislative history, referred to hereinafter, of

§ 19a of the Interstate Commerce Act prior and subsequent to its

enactment.

*FPC v. Hope Natural Gas Co., 320 U.S. 591 (1944).

9

as to ratemaking methodology, the Court of Appeals

would hold FERC to the use of a single methodology—

original cost. The Court of Appeals has plainly confused

what is permissible with what is mandatory.

Over the course of this case, two different federal

agencies have reached similar conclusions as to how to

regulate oil pipeline rates. The decisions of both agencies

have been rebuffed by the Circuit Court. In the first in-

stance, Farmers Union I, the overruling of the agency

(ICC) was at least in part because the new agency

(FERC) wanted its chance. The Court of Appeals in

Farmers Union I claimed to be giving it that chance—

the freedom to write on a clean slate (584 F.2d at 421).

Yet, when the second agency, after great effort, pub-

lished its conclusions, the result was the same—another

rebuff. What was merely hinted at as only an option

in the Farmers Union I decision, but is now virtually

mandated in the decision in Farmers Union II, is that

this Court of Appeals wants to have its ideas of rate

regulation imposed on this industry and will not ap-

prove an agency decision that uses a different approach.

At issue is whether the policy as to how this industry’s

rates are to be regulated is to be decided by FERC or by

the Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Cir-

cuit.

In the Permian Basin Area Rate Cases, 390 U.S. 747

(1968), this Court granted a petition for a writ of cer-

tiorari to review a Court of Appeals decision involving

a new area rate-making approach of the Federal Power

Commission, FERC’s predecessor. The Court stated its

reason for granting the petition in that case, as follows

(id. at 755):

Because these proceedings began a new era in the

regulation of natural gas producers, we granted

certiorari and consolidated the cases for briefing and

extended oral argument.

10

When this Court denied Williams’ petition for certio-

rari after the Farmers Union I decision, FERC had not

begun its consideration of its own ratemaking approach.

Now, after lengthy proceedings it has done so, but the

Court of Appeals has, nevertheless, expressed its strong

criticism of that approach. As in the Permian case, an

industry of crucial importance to the economy of the na-

tion is involved. As in Permian, “a new era in the regula-

tion” of oil pipeline rates is beginning, and the shape of

that era and the freedom with which FERC will be per-

mitted to deal with that new era are at stake. The rea-

sons that supported the granting of certiorari in Permian

are present here: the requested writ should issue.

II. THE COURT OF APPEALS HAS IMPROPERLY RE-

STRICTED THE SCOPE OF FERC’S AUTHORITY

TO ARRIVE AT ITS OWN METHODOLOGY FOR

EVALUATING THE REASONABLENESS OF OIL

PIPELINE COMMON CARRIER RATES.

A. Preliminary Comments.

Although oil pipeline common carrier rates have been

subject to federal regulation under the Interstate Com-

merce Act since 1906, this Court has never had occasion

to consider the regulatory approach used by the ICC or

the FERC in evaluating the reasonableness of that in-

dustry’s rates.® In fact, apart from the various phases of

the present protracted case, there has been little formal

litigation concerning oil pipeline rates in any forum, ad-

ministrative or judicial.

This relative lack of litigation over a span of almost

eighty years must be attributed at least in part to the

ICC’s conclusion that a light regulatory hand was appro-

5 The Trans Alaska Pipe Line Rate Cases, supra, decided by this

Court in 1978, did not involve review of the ICC’s oil pipeline rate-

making criteria, although the Court’s opinion included recognition

of that Commission’s customary use of a return-on-valuation meth-

odology (436 U.S. at 636, n.13).

11

priate for this industry and to its use of a guideline

return-on-valuation, thereby giving weight to both orig-

inal cost factors and to the value of the assets dedicated

to carrier service. Reduced Pipeline Rates and Gather-

ing Charges, 248 I.C.C. 115 (1940), 272 IC.C. 375

(1945); Petroleum Rail Shippers Assn. v. Alton & S.

R.R., 243 1.C.C. 589 (1941) ; Minnelusa Oil Corp. v. Con-

tinental Pipe Line Co., 258 I.C.C. 41 (1944). While “if

it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” may not be a legal maxim,

this lack of litigation and the lack of Congressional ac-

tion to interfere with or modify the ICC’s regulatory

approach when requests therefor were made would, at the

minimum, indicate that the past regulatory approach has

served the nation well and that it has been consistent

with Congressional desires.

As previously noted, the FERC asked the Court of

Appeals for the opportunity to develop its own rate

making approach. That request was granted and the

Court of Appeals gave FERC permission to “write on

a clean slate.” Farmers Union I, 584 F.2d at 421. It is

significant that FERC was the successor to the former

Federal Power Commission (FPC), that was given the

additional responsibility of oil pipeline regulation under

the Interstate Commerce Act, a statute with which it had

no prior experience. Thus, FERC began its existence as

an agency whose rate regulatory background and experi-

ence was almost entirely in the field of strictly regulated,

franchised, public utilities such as electric generating

companies and natural gas transmission companies.

Therefore, its rate experience at that time was limited to

the use and application of original cost-based ratemaking,

at least during the period since this Court’s decision in

the Hope case, supra.

FERC admittedly had a “strong predisposition” to ex-

tend the same, utility-type regulatory approach to this

additional industry placed under its jurisdiction (App.

B-191; 21 FERC at 61,619). However, in this case,

FERC concluded that a different and far less restrictive

12

approach for the oil pipeline industry was desirable. That

approach would continue use of the valuation rate base

used by the ICC and would permit returns on that rate

base measured by returns earned by the more successful

sectors of the economy (App. B-275; 21 FERC at

61,645). Thus, this case, which is unusual in many re-

spects, involves the novel situation where two different

federal agencies of divergent backgrounds have each con-

sidered how to regulate the rates of the oil pipeline indus-

try and have arrived at similar regulatory approaches.

The opinion of the Court of Appeals in Farmers Union

II, which Williams now asks this Court to review, would

virtvally compel FERC to adopt a method for which the

Court of Appeals has an obvious “strong predisposition,”

a method which—after thousands of pages of record,

many days of hearings, lengthy briefs, and two oral ar-

guments—the Commission rejected.

B. The Court of Appeals Decision.

The Court of Appeals would impose on this industry

its view that all rate regulation, no matter what the na-

ture of the industry, should be utility-type, original cost-

based. As we shall demonstrate hereinafter, the Court of

Appeals’ opinion is based upon an erroneous interpreta-

tion of the Interstate Commerce Act and of the scope of

agency discretion under that Act. Moreover, by its opin-

ion, the Court of Appeals has again intruded into the

area of agency discretion far beyond the proper scope of

its judicial review function despite repeated admonitions

from this Court. In so doing, the court has improperly

sought to impose its views on economic and regulatory

policy on the agency assigned that task by the Congress.

Rewriting the Interstate Commerce Act is the function

of the Congress, not that of the Court of Appeals. Mak-

ing policy determinations under that Act with respect to

the regulation of oil pipeline rates has been delegated by

the Congress to the FERC, not the Court of Appeals.

However, by its opinion in this case, the Court of Ap-

peals has usurped the responsibilities of both the Con-

gress and the FERC.

13

C. The Court of Appeals’ Incorrect Interpretation of

the Interstate Commerce Act’s Rate Standards.

The Court of Appeals’ conclusion that the FERC deci-

sion “contravenes” the statutory directive to determine

whether rates are “just and reasonable” was a principal

reason for its overruling of that decision and for its

remanding of the case for further consideration (App.

A-50). Critical, in turn, to that ultimate conclusion

was the Court’s finding that “the legislative history of

the Hepburn Act betrays FERC’s belief that ‘the climate

of opinion’ in 1906 shaped a Congressional purpose to

impose only very light-handed rate regulation on the oil

pipelines” (App. A-80). This issue—the Congressional

intent as to the degree of oil pipeline rate regulation to

be applied by FERC (and previously by the ICC)—is one

of fundamental importance in this proceeding. Its resolu-

tion will determine the future course of rate regulation

of this important industry.

It is important to note that, in seeking support for its

narrow interpretation of the “just and reasonable” stan-

dard of the Interstate Commerce Act (“ICA”), the Court

of Appeals relied on decisions of this Court, none of

which involved that language in that Act (App. A-32 to

A-35). All but one of the cases cited by the court in-

volved other types of regulated industries regulated under

other regulatory statutes (id.).* It is from those cases

that the Court of Appeals panel derives what it calls

“established ratemaking principles” (App. A-33) which

it would apply to oil pipelines as if they were public

utilities.

6 The only decision of this Court involving the Interstate Com-

merce Act among those cited by the Appeals Court in that section

of its opinion was the Trans Alaska Pipeline Rate Cases, supra.

That case, however, did not involve interpretation of the “just and

reasonable” standard of the ICA. It is to be noted, nevertheless,

that in another phase of that case, this Court upheld the ICC’s

policy determination to apply to oil pipelines an Interstate Com-

merce Act standard as to allowable interest on refunds by railroads.

Mobil Alaska Pipeline Co. v. United States, 434 U.S. 949 (1977).

14

Chief among the “principles” so found by the panel is

one described in a quotation from Mobil Oil Corp. v.

FPC, 417 U.S. 288 (1974), at 308, that “each deviation

from cost-based pricing [must be] found not to be un-

reasonable and to be consistent with the Commission’s

[statutory] responsibility” (emphasis added). Based on

this quotation, taken from a case arising under the Nat-

ural Gas Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 717, et seq., the Court of

Appeals stated (App. A-33) :

Thus, when FERC chooses to refer to non-cost fac-

tors in ratesettting, it must specify the nature of

the relevant non-cost factor and offer a reasoned

explanation of how the factor justifies the resulting

rates.

The thrust of the latter statement, notwithstanding pur-

ported recognition elsewhere in the opinion that the “just

and reasonable” standard is not precise (App. A-31),

is that the Court of Appeals would hold FERC, as a mat-

ter of law, to utility-type, cost-based ratemaking for oil

pipelines absent an explanation, satisfactory to the court,

justifying consideration of other factors.

The reliance of the Court of Appeals on the decision

of this Court in Mobil Oil, supra, to support its ultimate

conclusion is misplaced even for public utilities, much

less the oil pipeline industry. The quotation from Mobil

Oil relied upon by the Court of Appeals contains words

inserted in brackets that twist the meaning of this

Court’s actual words. The court changed the phrase “was

found” to the phrase “must be found.” The complete

statement of this Court and its context reads as follows

(417 U.S. at 308-9) (emphasis added) :

Applying these criteria, Permian reversed the Court

of Appeals and sustained the Commission’s order,

although noting that the Commission had not ad-

hered rigidly to a cost-based determination of rates,

much less to one that based each producer’s rates on

15

his own costs.* Each deviation from cost-based pric-

ing was found not to be unreasonable and to be con-

sistent with the Commission’s responsibility to con-

sider not merely [417 US 309] the interests of the

producers in “maintain[ing] financial integrity, at-

tract[ing] necessary capital, and fairly compen-

sat[ing] investors for the risks they have assumed,”

but also “the relevant public interests, both existing

and foreseeable.” 890 US, at 792, 20 L Ed 2d 812.

“The Commission’s responsibilities necessarily oblige

it,” the Court said, “to give continuing attention to

values that may be reflected only imperfectly by pro-

ducers’ costs; a regulatory method that excluded as

immaterial all but current or projected costs could

not properly serve the consumer interests placed un-

der the Commission’s protection.” Jd., at 815, 20

L Ed 2d 312;

* Indeed, in addition to its general approval of such an ap-

proach, see 390 US, at 814-815, 20 L Ed 2d 312, the Court in

Permian Basin listed each of the noncost factors used by the

Commission and approved them. See id., at 815 n.98, 20

L Ed 2d 812.

The Court of Appeals thus converted a statement of fact

by this Court in a Natural Gas Act case into a purported

directive and on that constructed directive built its theory

as to what is required by the Interstate Commerce Act’s

“just and reasonable” standard. In fact, the Court of

Appeals is plainly of the view that this proposition is

applicable to any rate-regulated entity.

Yet, no cases under the Interstate Commerce Act sup-

port the Court of Appeals’ conclusion that these “prin-

ciples,” even if they exist under the Natural Gas Act,

are applicable to common carrier oil pipelines. Moreover,

the court’s reliance upon interpretations of “just and

reasonable” in cases arising under other statutes as a

basis for determining the meaning of that phrase under

the Interstate Commerce Act runs counter to the ruling

of this Court in a recent case arising under section 210

of the Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act of 1978

16

(“PURPA”), 16 U.S.C. § 824a, American Paper Insti-

tute v. American Electric Power Service Corp., ——

U.S. ——, 103 S.Ct. 1921 (1983). In that case, this

Court rejected a similar attempt to transfer the mean-

ing of a phrase from one statute to another, stating

(103 S.Ct. at 1928):

Simply on the basis of the statutory language, we

would be reluctant to infer that Congress intended

the terms “just and reasonable,” which are fre-

quently associated with cost-of-service utility rate-

making, . . . to adopt a cost-of-service approach in

the very different context of cogeneration and small

power production by nontraditional facilities.‘

Ironically, in Farmers Union I, supra, a different

panel of the same Court of Appeals expressed a reluc-

tance very similar to that expressed by this Court in the

American Paper Institute case. After noting the limited

degree of regulation of oil pipelines under the Interstate

Commerce Act, the Farmers Union I panel said (584

F.2d at 413):

For this reason, we may infer a congressional intent

to allow a freer play of competitive forces among

oil pipeline companies than in other common carrier

industries and, as such, we should be especially loath

uncritically to import public utilities notions into

this area without taking note of the degree of regu-

tion and of the nature of the regulated business.

The panel in Farmers Union II attempted to reconcile

its own opinion with this statement in Farmers Union I

(App. A-47, n.51). In its attempt, however, it claimed

no disagreement with the statement but, to the contrary,

said that it expressed a principle, “followed here” (id.).

The principle said to have been “followed here” was

7 Moreover, even as to a cost-of-service approach, this Court has

recently recognized that a particularized adherence to such a regu-

latory regime has proved impractical in the past. Public Serv.

Comm'n v. Mid-Louisiana Gas Co., —— U.S. ——, 103 S.Ct. 3024

(1983).

17

that neither original-cost based utility type regulation

nor valuation regulation “suggested by the Valuation

Act” must necessarily be used (id.). Putting aside the fact

that the Valuation Act (§19a of the Interstate Com-

merce Act, 49 U.S.C. § 19a) does far more than “sug-

gest” the use of a valuation rate base, the Court of Ap-

peals’ decision in this case can hardly be described as

following the principle referred to. The Farmers Union

II panel’s plain view is that cost-based pricing must be

used and its outright rejection of the use of a valuation

rate base contradicts rather than follows the statement

in Farmers Union J. It is the Farmers Union II court

that has uncritically imported “public utilities notions

into this area without taking note of the degree of regu-

lation and of the nature of the regulated business.”

The Court of Appeals also sought to justify its restric-

tive conclusion on portions of the legislative history of

the Hepburn Act of 1906. The court’s reliance on that

legislative history is unwarranted. At the time of the

Hepburn Act, the general ratemaking approach to “other

common carriers’ under the Interstate Commerce Act

was the fair return on the fair value of the property ap-

proach set forth by this Court in Smyth v. Ames, 169

U.S. 466 (1898). Thus, a Congressional intent in 1906

to subject oil pipelines to the same general ratemaking

standards of “other common carriers” supports rather

than refutes the methods used by both the FERC and the

ICC.

Moreover, the fact that value was an intended rate-

making consideration at that time was subsequently con-

firmed by the legislative history and passage of the Val-

uation Act of 1913, section 19a of the Interstate Com-

merce Act (49 U.S.C. § 19a, 62 Cong. Sess. III, ¢. 92, 37

Stat. 701). The Valuation Act compels Commission de-

termination of the valuation of oil pipeline assets and

provides that such a valuation figure shall be prima facie

evidence of the value of the carrier’s property in all pro-

ceedings under the Act (id. at §19a(i)). The Court of

18

Appeals’ opinion, while highly critical of valuations of

oil pipeline properties (App. A-18), fails even to mention

the fact that they are required (not merely suggested)

by statute. Nor is there room for any doubt that the

statute means what it says and that ratemaking is in-

cluded among the proceedings covered by its terms.

Senator LaFollette of Wisconsin, who presented the

legislation to the Senate, made this absolutely clear by

answering “certainly” when asked whether the Valuation

Act’s ultimate purpose was “the equitable adjustment of

rates.” 49 Cong. Rec. 3800. Indeed, this Court has rec-

ognized that the public purpose goal of Congress in en-

acting § 19a looked for “an accuracy that will make an

advance upon previous uncertainty.” ICC v. New York,

N.H. & H.R.R. Co., 287 U.S. 187, 205 (1932). Similarly,

in explaining the effect of a final valuation, the late Sen-

ator said it would be final “to the extent it is prima facie

evidence whenever a rate case arises,” 49 Cong. Rec.

3799.

In spite of the above, once having found a Congres-

sional intent in 1906 to apply the same ratemaking prin-

ciples to oil pipelines as then applied to other common

carriers, the Court of Appeals then made a wholly un-

warranted leap in logic by transferring to 1906 com-

mon carrier regulation the “established ratemaking prin-

ciples” it claims to have found in Mobil Oil, and other

non-common carrier cases (App. A-33). Nothing in

the cases cited in the court’s opinion, nor in the legisla-

tive history relied upon by the court, warrants any such

conclusion. There is a great deal, however, to support a

conclusion quite different from that of the Court of Ap-

peals. As previously noted, the Hepburn Act was passed

not at a time of original cost ratemaking but of fair

value ratemaking, and passage of the Valuation Act codi-

fied the Congressional intent that the current value of

assets at least be considered in common carrier rate

cases.

19

The court’s failure to recognize § 19a of the Interstate

Commerce Act and its legislative history cannot be ex-

plained away because the Valuation Act was enacted

prior to Justice Brandeis’ dissent in Southwestern Bell

Tel. Co. v. Missouri Pub. Serv. Comm’n, 262 U.S. 276

(1923), and this Court’s decision in the Hope case, supra,

because there is substantial evidence of a continuing Con-

gressional intent that oil pipeline valuations be made and

used in ratemaking. Evidence of such Congressional in-

tent is found in the history of Congressional actions on

appropriations for the operation of the ICC. Over the

years, when Congress enacted appropriations legislation

for that commission, it regularly included funds for oil

pipeline valuation activities. Significantly, in the 1950’s,

when the then Bureau of the Budget sought to eliminate

such funds,* the Congress regularly earmarked specific

monies for such activities. Then, as now, earmarking

was an unusual legislative step. Later, from 1961 to

1968, the ICC itself repeatedly sought to have Congress

amend 49 U.S.C. § 19a, expressly proposing such amend-

ments in light of this Court’s holdings in FPC v. Natural

Gas Pipeline Co., 315 U.S. 586 (1942), and in the Hope

case, supra.” The principal change sought by the ICC

8 See, in particular, Hearings on Independent Offices Appropria-

tions, 1951, of the House Appropriations Committee, 81st Cong., 2d

Sess., pt. 3, at 763 (1950) ; Hearings on Independent Offices Appro-

priations, 1951, Before the Subcommittee on Transportation of the

Senate Appropriations Committee, 81st Cong., 2d Sess., at 794, 805-

6 (1950).

® Independent Offices Appropriation, 1950, 63 Stat. 631, 654

(1949) ; General Appropriations Act, 1951, 64 Stat. 595, 710 (1950) ;

Independent Offices Appropriation Act, 1953, 66 Stat. 393, 403-4

(1952); First Independent Offices Appropriation Act, 1954, 67 Stat.

298, 308 (1953); Independent Offices Appropriation Act, 1955, 68

Stat. 272, 284 (1954).

ICC 75th Annual Report 1961 at pp. 188-189; ICC 76th Annual

Report 1962 at pp. 199-200; ICC 77th Annual Report 1963 at pp.

18-19; ICC 78th Annual Report 1964 at pp. 66-67; ICC 79th Annual

Report 1965 at p. 118; ICC 80th Annual Report 1966 at p. 125; ICC

20

was one that would make optional the requirement that

the Commission keep itself informed of changes in the

quantity of the property of carriers, following the com-

oletion of the original valuation. Such ICC proposals

were introduced in three different Congresses, but were

never adopted.”

The Congressional action on the ICC’s legislative pro-

posal in the 90th Congress is particularly instructive.

The Senate Commerce Committee—the ICC’s substantive

law committee—reported out the ICC’s proposed legisla-

tion on July 9, 1968 with a proposed amendment, as de-

scribed and supported in its Report, as follows:

The Committee amendment to S. 757 would specifi-

cally retain the mandatory requirements of Section

19(f) with respect to oil pipeline companies, and

specifically require the Commission to make annual

valuations of all oil pipeline carriers as to which

initial valuations have been made. The committee

agrees with the Commission as to the importance of

oil pipeline carrier valuations and the need for their

continuance. The Commission in two important deci-

sions, 243 ICC 115 (1940) and 243 ICC 589 (1941),

affirmed in principle by 258 ICC 41 (1944), held

that the tariff rates of a crude oil pipeline which

produced earnings which do not exceed 8 percent of

the Commission’s valuation of that line are just and

reasonable, and that the tariff rate of a pipeline

transporting refined products which produce earn-

ings that do not exceed 10 percent of the Commis-

sion’s valuation of that line are just and reasonable.

* * * *

In addition, the oil pipeline valuation reports of the

Commission make it possible for shippers to readily

81st Annual Report 1967 at p. 119; ICC 82d Annual Report 1968 at

p. 129.

11 87th Congress, 2d Session, H.R. 12249 and S. 3420; 88th Con-

gress, Ist Session, H.R. 5247 and S. 1149; and 90th Congress, 1st

Session, H.R. 6535 and S. 757.

rei scr puteneneees

21

determine the pipeline carriers’ rate of return, and

the committee is advised that only a relatively small

number of pipeline rate cases have come to hearing

before the Commission.

* * * *

The committee amendment to S. 757 makes clear the

committee’s intention that the Interstate Commerce

Commission shall continue to compile the necessary

information and make annual valuations of pipe-

lines.

Senate Report No. 1873 to Accompany S. 757 Elimi-

nation of Unnecessary Valuation and Reporting Re-

quirements, 90th Cong., 2d Sess., July 9, 1968, at pp.

5-6. (Emphasis added. )

Among other things, this report makes clear the Senate

Committee’s full awareness and endorsement of the ICC’s

oil pipeline regulatury approach, including the Commis-

sion’s use of Section 19a valuations. Consistent with the

Committee’s Report, Congress did not enact the ICC’s

proposed legislation; oil pipeline valuations have con-

tinued to be required on a current basis and the funding

thereof has stayed intact to this day. Thus, the required

use of oil pipeline valuations to determine the present

value of their properties has been left legislatively un-

changed, even in the face of repeated recommendations

for change by the ICC itself.

Further evidence of this continuing Congressional ap-

proval of the method of oil pipeline regulation is found

in the fact that while Congress has changed the stand-

ards in the Interstate Commerce Act for railroad rate-

making over the years, it was careful, both before and

- after the creation of FERC, to limit such action so as

not to include cil pipelines within the scope of such

amendments. See, e.g., 49 USC §$15 and 15a and as

amended, codified, and repealed, and the Staggers Rail

Act of 1980, Public Law 96-448, 96th Cong., Oct. 14,

1980, 94 Stat. 1895.

Thus, there is substantial legislative history, none of

which was even considered by the Court of Appeals,

22

showing it to be the continuing intent of Congress that

a light rather than a heavy regulatory hand be applied

to this industry,’ and that the approach used be one that

gives substantial weight to value considerations.

In its analysis of legislative history, the Court of Ap-

peals also criticized FERC for relying on the “climate

of opinion” prevalent at the time of the Hepburn Act’s

passage to support FERC’s interpretation of the just and

reasonable standard (App. A-35). Yet, as to this spe-

cific Act, this Court has said that the circumstances ex-

isting at the time were not to be ignored and has stated

what it considered to be the Act’s purpose. In United

States v. Champlin Refinery Co., 341 U.S. 290 (1951), a

case not even cited by the Court of Appeals, this Court

described the Hepburn Act’s purpose as follows (341 U.S.

at 297):

The statute cannot be divorced from the circum-

stances existing at the time it was passed, and from

the evil which Congress sought to correct and pre-

vent. The circumstances and the evil are well-

known. Pipelines were few in number and heavily

concentrated under the control of one company,

Standard Oil. That company, through the owner-

ship of subsidiaries and affiliates, had “made itself

mastex of the only practicable oil transportation be-

tween the oil fields east of California and the At-

lantic Ocean and carried much the greater part of

the oil between those points . . . availing itself of

its monopoly of the means of transportation [it] re-

fused through its subordinates to carry any oil un-

less the same was sold to it or to them... on

terms more or less dictated by itself.” [Citation

omitted] Small independent producers—who lack

12 As this Court has recently held as to the Natural Gas Policy

Act of 1978, given a comprehensive scheme of less regulation, Con-

gress would have clearly itemized any elements of regulation which

it had intended to be excluded from such a lighter pattern. See,

Public Serv. Comm’n v. Mid-Louisiana Gas Co., —— U.S. at ,

103 S.Ct. at 3034.

23

the resources to construct their own lines, or whose

output was so small that a pipeline built to carry

that output alone would be economically unfeasible—

were in a desperate competitive position. There is

little doubt, from the legislative history, that the

Act was passed to eliminate the competitive advan-

tage which existing or future integrated companies

might possess from exclusive ownership of a pipe-

line (emphasis added).

This decision is particularly significant because it sub-

stantiates the FERC’s reasoning as to the purpose of the

Hepburn Act, which was dismissed out of hand by the

Court of Appeals (App. A-35).

The utter failure of the Court of Appeals to consider

the manifest Congressional intent and purpose violates

holdings of this Court in several additional respects.

First, such failure violates this Court’s directive that

“. . . if the statute provides a formula, the agency is

bound to follow it.” National Association of Greeting

Card Pubs. v. USPE, —— U.S. ——, 103 S.Ct. 2717,

2728 (1983), citing American Commercial Lines, Inc. v.

Louisville & N.R.Co., 392 U.S. 571, 590-93 (1968) and

Colorado Interstate Co. v. FPC, 324 U.S. 581, 589 (1945).

Section 19a certainly provides a formula. Second, it ignores

the rulings of this Court that a consistent administrative

interpretation, shown clearly to have been brought to the

attention of Congress and not changed by it, is almost

conclusive evidence that the agency’s interpretation has

Congressional approval."* Bob Jones University v. United

States, US. , 103 S.Ct. 2017, 2033 (1988);

Haig v. Agee, 453 U.S. 280, 291-800 (1981); Udall v.

Tallman, 380 U.S. 1, 17-18 (1965). Third, as previously

noted, it places a burden on, and a directive to FERC

13 Had FERC itself chosen to depart from the traditional use of a

valuation rate base, any such change would have had to carry with

it a cogent degree of proof, one that is not even suggested to have

been met on the record. See Motor Vehicle Manuf. Assn. v. State

Farm Mutual, —— U.S. ‘ , 103 S.Ct. 2856, 2869 (1983).

24

so plainly biased in favor of original cost ratemaking

that the “end result” principle of the Hope case, supra,

would be totally vitiated. Fourth, the Court of Appeals’

action is contrary to this Court’s explicit directives con-

cerning the broad discretion to be accorded administra-

tive decisions, and emphasizing the limited scope of judi-

cial review. See Baltimore Gas and Electric Co. v.

NRDC, —— USS. , 103 S.Ct. 2246 (1983), reaff’g

Vermont Yankee Nuclear Power Corp. v. NRDC, 435

U.S. 519 (1978) which held that courts generally lack

the authority to impose “hybrid” procedures greater than

those contemplated by the governing statutes.

To the same effect, this Court had occasion in a recent

decision to remind the same Court of Appeals of the dif-

ferent roles of the judiciary and administrative agencies

in matters of regulation. In Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v.

Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc., —— U.S. ——,

52 LW 4845, 4853 (June 25, 1984), this Court said:

When a challenge to an agency construction of a

statutory provision, fairly conceptualized, really cen-

ters on the wisdom of the agency’s policy, rather

than whether it is a reasonable choice within a gap

left open by Congress, the challenge must fail.

in such a case, federal judges—who have no con-

scituency—have a duty to respect legitimate policy

choices made by those who do. The responsibilities

for assessing the wisdom of such policy choices and

resolving the struggle between competing views of

the public interest are not judicial ones: “Our Con-

stitution vests such responsibilities in the political

branches.” TVA v. Hill, 487 U.S. 153, 195 (1978).

The Court of Appeals decision in the present case imposes

on FERC, and thereby imposes on the oil pipeline industry,

the court’s policy choice of the type of regulatory ap-

proach to be used. Notwithstanding legislative history,

notwithstanding section 19a, and notwithstanding the

fact that for many years ratemaking based on value

rather than cost concepts was not just a possible ap-

25

proach but the only allowed approach, the Court of Ap-

peals would bar FERC even from giving any weight to

value in its ratemaking approach. To reach that result,

the Court of Appeals has written a Procrustean opinion

that leaves FERC virtually no room within which to ex-

ercise its own judgment on such policy matters, one ob-

viously designed to force FERC to apply the original cost

mold to this industry. This is exactly the type of intru-

sion by the judiciary into policy matters reserved for the

political branches that was condemned by this Court in

Chevron.

Ill. WILLIAMS HAS BEEN DENIED PROCEDURAL

DUE PROCESS BY THE CIRCUIT COURT’S AF-

FIRMANCE OF THE FERC FINDINGS, WITHOUT

NOTICE, THAT THE PURCHASE PRICE WIL-

LIAMS PAID IN 1966 FOR THE GREAT LAKES

PIPELINE COMPANY PROPERTIES WOULD NOT

BE CONSIDERED FOR RATEMAKING PURPOSES.

The other issue on which Williams seeks review re-

lates to the extent to which the price Williams paid in

an arms-length transaction for the acquisition of the

physical properties of Great Lakes Pipe Line System in

1966 will be recognized for ratemaking purposes. At the

time of the purchase, the ICC had no criteria governing

such transfers, nor did either the Interstate Commerce

Act or ICC regulation require regulatory approval. No

expression by the ICC or FERC as to a regulatory policy

on this question was issued until the FERC opinion of

November 30, 1982 that is the subject of the present pro-

ceedings. In its decision, FERC stated that it would not

recognize pipeline purchases, at prices either above or

below depreciated original cost, for ratemaking purposes

unless the purchaser could meet certain specified criteria

(App. B-243; 21 FERC at 61,636). FERC also invited

cautious future purchasers to seek declaratory orders

before proceeding with a transaction (id., n. 406).

Williams injury is that FERC also found, in this

generic phase of the case, that Williams’ purchase

26

price in 1966 would not be considered in any respect for

ratemaking purposes (App. B-243; 21 FERC at 61,636).

FERC’s error was that this issue—the extent to which

Williams’ specific purchase price would be considered

with respect to its rates—was to be dealt with in Phase

II of the case and not in Phase I, and that Williams

never was on notice that the Commission intended to do

anything to the contrary. The Court of Appeals in two

sentences considered and rejected Williams’ due process

argument. Again, the Court of Appeals has patently

erred. The entire treatment of this issue by the Court

of Appeals is as follows (App. A-87, n.78) :

First, Williams argues that FERC gave no notice

that the issue was to be discussed in Phase I of the

Williams proceeding. The record, however, shows

that such notice was given and Williams briefed the

issue during Phase I, See, ¢.g., J.A. at 241 (ALJ’s

Invitation to Submit Comments on Ratemaking

Principles for Oil Pipeline Rate Cases); id. at

4103-08 (Williams Opening Brief in Phase I.)

The record shows no such thing, as even a casual look at

the two items relied on by the Court readily demon-

strates. Copies of both have been included in the sepa-

rately bound Appendix, as Appendices F and G. The

first of the two documents cited by the Court of Appeals

outlines the Phase I issues. Rather than supporting the

Court of Appeals’ finding of notice, this document sup-

ports Williams’ claim that the purchase price issue in

Phase I was the industry-wide issue as to FERC’s policy

generally and not the specific issue of how the Williams

purchase of 16 years earlier should be treated in evalu-

ating Williams’ rates. In his Invitation to Submit Com-

ments, FERC’s Administrative Law Judge stated at the

14 No one has ever suggeste:! that Williams was not entitled under

the Fifth Amendment to the Constitution, the Interstate Commerce

Act (49 U.S.C. § 15(1)), and the Administrative Procedure Act (5

U.S.C. § 554) to a full hearing where issues involving Williams’ own

rates were specifically being decided.

italia

27

very outset that Phase I would address “ratemaking

principles,” and that Phase II would deal with the “appli-

cation of those ratemaking principles to the five specific

[Williams rate] cases consolidated for decision in this

proceeding” (App. F-2). In addition, the only specific

mention in the document of oil pipeline purchase prices is

found at page 2, item D.2.b., where the general treatment

of purchase prices for rate base purposes was listed as an

issue only on the premise that the Commission adopted an

“original-cost-minus-depreciation” method (App. F-3)

—which it did not do. This could by no means be

deemed notice of a Williams-specific issue, a fortiori

where Williams’ purchase was made when valuation was

the rate base method used.

Nor does the only other reference relied on by the

court (Williams’ opening brief to FERC) support the

court’s conclusion. Consistent with the issues set forth

by the Administrative Law Judge, Williams’ brief shows

only argument addressed to the industry-wide issue of

the treatment of purchase prices generally, if an original

cost approach were to be used, and makes no argument

as to the ultimate treatment to be accorded the Williams

purchase from Great Lakes in evaluating Williams’ rates.

in fact, the brief specifically noted that issues specific to

Williams were to be the subject of separate, future treat-

ment in subsequent Phase II litigation (App. G-5, G-9 to

G-10).

Before the Court of Appeals, counsel for FERC essen-

tially admitted that Williams had yet to be heard on this

issue. At page 89 of its brief to the Court of Appeals,

FERC stzted:

Moreover, now that the Commission has established

the general rule, Williams will have the opportunity

in Phase II to establish whether it is entitled to

an exception.

The only party before the Court of Appeals to argue

that Williams had been on notice that its purchase price

28

would be dealt with in Phase I was the Mid-Continent

Shippers, but they were unable to point to any specific

notice to that effect. More importantly, the Mid-Continent

Shippers’ argument to that court was the exact opposite

of their position on the same issue before FERC’s Ad-

ministrative Law Judge. When FERC’s Staff offered an

exhibit indicating that Williams’ purchase price war-

ranted special consideration, Mr. Twomey, counsel for the

Mid-Continent Shippers, objected strenuously to the ad-

mission of such an exhibit on the very ground now

claimed by Williams, i.e. that Williams’ specific rate base

was not at issue in Phase I. Mr. Twomey stated “that

particulars of the rate base for a particular pipeline were

not to be the subject of Phase I of this proceeding” (App.

H-1). The Presiding Administrative Law Judge agreed.

Accordingly, the exhibit objected to was admitted only

for limited purposes and not for the purpose of determin-

ing Williams’ rate base (App. H-3).

Elsewhere in its opinion, the court found Williams to be

entitled to be heard in Phase II on whether it falls within

the single exception contained in FERC’s newly adopted

general rule on pipeline transfers (App. A-22, n.34).

However, that limited right fell far short of giving Wil-

liams, or any other carrier, the right to be heard on

whether the newly adopted general rule should be applied

to past purchases. It also deprived Williams of the right

to show that on other grounds the 1982 rule should not

be applied to its 1966 purchase.

It is absolutely clear that Phase I was not to deal with

the ratemaking treatment of the Williams purchase—as

Williams, the Presiding Administrative Law Judge, and

counsel for the Mid-Continent Shippers all agreed in the

hearings before FERC. The action of FERC in injecting

a decision on that single Williams-specific issue into its

industry-wide rulemaking decision in Phase I was with-

out basis and contrary to the specific notice of issues its

own Administrative Law Judge published and inter-

29

preted. FERC’s action having been wrong, the Court of

Appeals’ hasty approval of that action was equally

wrong. It is imperative that this Court act to restore to

Williams the bona fide and untrammeled hearing to

which it is entitled under the Constitution and applicable

statutes.

CONCLUSION

For each of the foregoing reasons, and, more particu-

larly, because of the clear denial of due process of law,

the patent conflicts in the decision of the court below

with numerous Supreme Court precedents and with mani-

fest Congressional purpose and intent, this Court should

grant this Petition for Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT G. BLEAKNEY, JR.*

One Post Office Square

Boston, MA 02109

(617) 338-2903

DAviID M. SCHWARTZ

ROBERT L. CALHOUN

1025 Connecticut Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

SULLIVAN & WORCESTER (202) 775-8190

WILLIAM J. COLLINGSWORTH

JOHN S. ESTILL, JR.

HALL, ESTILL, HARDWICK, Bank of Oklahoma Tower

GABLE, COLLINGSWORTH One Williams Center

& NELSON Tulsa, OK 74172

Of Counsel (918) 588-2655

Attorneys for Williams Pipe

Line Company

August 2, 1984 * Counsel of Record

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Williams Pipe Line Co. v. Farmers Union Central Exchange, Inc. · 469 U.S. 1034 | Frix