Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Long Beach Equities, Inc. v. County of Ventura

Supreme Court brief1992

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

FILED

Sl-10%7¢6 BEC 22 I991

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

LONG BEACH EQUITIES, INC.,

Petitioner,

VS.

COUNTY OF VENTURA, CALIFORNIA, and

CITY OF SIMI VALLEY, CALIFORNIA,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE CALIFORNIA COURT OF APPEAL

SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT, DIVISION SIX

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

MICHAEL M. BERGER PAUL R. HAMILTON

of BERGER & NORTON Counsel of Record

A Law Corporation KAREN J. LEE

1620 26th Street of HAMILTON & SAMUELS

Suite 200 South 4000 MacArthur Boulevard

Santa Monica, CA 90404 Suite 5700

(310) 449-1000 Newport Beach, CA 92660

(714) 752-8600

Attorneys for Petitioner

LONG BEACH EQUITIES, INC.

Lawyers Brief Service * Appellate Brief Printers * (213) 383-4457 * (714) 720-1510

—

“ts

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

This case presents questions which are related to, but

in a broader context than, those already accepted for

review in Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, cert.

granted, no. 91-453, PFZ Properties, Inc. v. Rodriguez,

cert. granted, no. 91-122, and Yee v. City of Escondido,

cert. granted, no. 90-1947.

1. Where land use regulations, adopted for an other-

wise proper municipal purpose, leave the owner of 250

acres of vacant land purchased for residential develop-

ment with no economically viable use and no way to

realize distinct, investment-backed, profit expectations,

has a taking occurred which requires compensation

under the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the U.S.

Constitution?

2. Where local government agencies have made it clear

that development of vacant land will not be permitted

during at least the next decade, making it impossible for

the current owner of the property to have any chance

even to recoup its investment because the costs of carry-

ing the vacant land for that long would be prohibitive, is

the dispute “ripe” for litigation?

3. When the reasons proffered by a municipality for

preventing the use of land are devoid of factual support,

has the landowner been denied substantive due process

of law?

ae

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The parties are listed in the caption. In trial court

pr ceedings, Marr Ranch Associates, owner of neighbor-

ing property, was also a plaintiff.

RULE 29.1 STATEMENT

Long Beach Equities, Inc. is a wholly owned subsidiary

of Long Beach Servfte Corporation, a holding company

of Long Beach Bank, a state savings bank.

- ill -

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES Viil

OPINIONS BELOW l

JURISDICTION ]

CONSTITUTIONAL AND

STATUTORY PROVISIONS 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT 4

-ivV-

INTRODUCTION

I. THERE

A.

There is Confusion in the Lower

Courts About the Meaning of

“Economically Viable Use” of

Property

There is Conflict Among Lower

Courts About Whether Trial of

the Facts is Required to Find That

a Regulation “Substantially Ad-

vances a Legitimate State Inter-

est” or Whether that Finding can

be Made as a Matter of Law

There is Confusion in the Lower

Courts About What This Court

Meant by “Reasonable, Invest-

ment-Backed, Profit Expecta-

tions”

IS NO COHERENT RULE

APPLIED IN THF LOWER COURTS

GOVERNING WHAT IT TAKES TO

ESTABLISH A REGULATORY TAKING

Page

11

14

Il.

Ifl.

IV.

THE COURT BELOW CONTINUED

CALIFORNIA’S REFUSAL TO FOLLOW

THIS COURT’S DECISION IN FIRST

ENGLISH WHEN IT HELD THAT THE

GOVERNMENT’S GOOD INTENTIONS

PRECLUDED ANY FINDING OF A

TAKING

A. The Decision Below Conflicts

With Other Decisions of this

Court

B. The Decision Below is Typical of

California Decisions Since 1987

Which Pay No More Than Lip

Service to This Court’s Seminal

Decision in First English

ARBITRARY AND CAPRICIOUS LAND

USE REGULATIONS — UNRELATED

TO THE PURPOSES SUPPOSEDLY

SERVED BY THEM — VIOLATE PROP-

ERTY OWNERS’ SUBSTANTIVE DUE

PROCESS RIGHTS

THERE IS HOPELESS CONFUSION

THROUGHOUT THE COUNTRY ON

WHAT IT TAKES TO “RIPEN” A

REGULATORY TAKING CASE FOR

LITIGATION ON THE MERITS

Page

18

19

20

21

23

° ¥i -

Page

A. There Are No Rational Rules 25

B. There is No Consistency 25

C. The “Rules” Used Below Are So

Rigid That They Make No Sense

and Ensure the Property Owner

Will Lose 26

CONCLUSION 30

APPENDIX A

UNPUBLISHED OPINION, CALIFOR-

NIA COURT OF APPEAL, SECOND

APPELLATE DISTRICT, DIVISION SIX,

FILED MARCH 15, 1991 Al

APPENDIX B

PETITION FOR REHEARING IS

GRANTED, APRIL 12, 1991 Bl

APPENDIX C

OPINION ON REHEARING, CALIFOR-

NIA COURT OF APPEAL, SECOND

APPELLATE DISTRICT, DIVISION SIX,

FILED JUNE 27, 1991 Cl

- Vii -

Page

APPENDIX D

ORDER MODIFYING OPINION AND

DENYING REHEARING, CALIFORNIA

COURT OF APPEAL, SECOND APPEL-

LATE DISTRICT, DIVISION SIX, FILED

JULY 25, 1991 D1

APPENDIX E

PETITION FOR REVIEW _ DENIED,

CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT,

FILED SEPTEMBER 26, 1991 El

APPENDIX F

JUDGMENT, SUPERIOR COURT OF

VENTURA COUNTY, FILED JUNE 30,

1989 Fl

- Vili -

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases

Abbott Laboratories v. Gardner (1967)

387 U.S. 136 24

Agins v. City of Tiburon (1980)

447 U.S. 255 8, 10

Andrus v. Allard (1979)

444 U.S. 51 14

Bateson v. Geisse

(9th Cir. 1988) 857 F.2d 1300 22

Columbia Broadcasting System v.

United States (1942)

316 U.S. 407 24

Connolly v. Pension Benefit

Guaranty Corp. (1986)

475 U.S. 211 14

Dames & Moore v. Regan (1981)

453 U.S. 654 19

First English Evangelical Lutheran

Church v. County of

Los Angeles (1987) 4,5,9, 18

482 U.S. 304 19-21, 23-25, 28, 30

Florida Rock Indus., Inc. v. United States

(Fed. Cir. 1986) 791 F.2d 893 17

Glover v. St. Louis-San Francisco

Ry. Co. (1969) 393 U.S. 324 28

- {1% «

Hadacheck v. Sebastian (1915)

239 U.S. 394

Herrington v. County of Sonoma

(9th Cir. 1987) 834 F.2d 1488

Hodel v. Irving (1987)

481 U.S. 704

Hodel v. Virginia Surface Mining &

Reclamation Assn., Inc. (1981)

452 U.S. 264

Hoehne v. County of San Benito

(9th Cir. 1989) 870 F.2d 529

Hornstein v. Barry (D. C. App. 1987)

530 A.2d 1177

Houghton v. Shafer (1968)

392 U.S. 639

Kaiser Aetna v. United States (1979)

444 U.S. 164

Keystone Bituminous Coal Assn. v.

DeBenedictis (1987)

480 U.S. 470

King v. Smith (1968)

392 U.S. 309

Kinzli v. City of Santa Cruz

(9th Cir. 1987) 818 F.2d 1449

Page

9,15

22, 26

4,14

10, 14

25

17

28

10, 14, 19, 26

4, 8, 10, 14

28

29

Page

Kirby Forest Indus., Inc. v.

United States (1984)

467 U.S. 1 10, 14, 15

Lake Nacimiento Ranch Co. v. San

Luis Obispo County

(9th Cir 1987) 841 F.2d 872 10

Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV

Corp. (1982) 458 U.S. 419 14, 19

MacDonald, Sommer & Frates v.

County of Yolo (1986)

477 U.S. 340 10, 14, 25, 26

MacLeod v. County of Santa Clara

(9th Cir. 1984) 749 F.2d 541 16

Maryland Casualty Co. v. Pacific Coal &

Oil Co. (1941) 312 U.S. 270 24

McDougal v. County of Imperial

(9th Cir. 1991) 942 F.2d 668 iZ, 13, 14, 21

Nemmers v. City of Dubuque

(8th Cir. 1985) 764 F.2d 502 17

Nollan v. California Coastal 4,5, 9, 10

Commn. (1987) 483 U.S. 825 14, 20, 24, 30

Northern Westchester Professional Park

Associates v. Town of Bedford (1983)

60 N.Y.2d 492, 458 N.E. 2d 809 17

Orion Corp. v. State (1987)

109 Wash. 2d 621 3.47

-xi-

Page

Park Avenue Tower Associates v.

City of New York

(2d Cir. 1984) 746 F.2d 135 16

Penn Central Transp. Co. v. City of

New York (1978) 438 U.S. 104 8-10, 14

Preseault v. ICC (1990)

494 US. 1 19, 25

Prune Yard Shopping Center v. Robins (1980)

447 U.S. 74 14

P.anch 57 v. City of Yuma (1986)

152 Ariz. 218, 731 P 2d 113 17

Regional Rail Reorganization Act Cases (1974)

419 U.S. 102 19

Rossco Holdings, Inc. v. State (1989)

212 Cal.App.3d 642 25

Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co. (1984)

“a< 467 U.S. 986 14, 15, 19

San Diego Gas & Elec. Co. v. City of

San Diego (1981) 450 U.S. 621 10, 24, 25

’

Schad v. Borough of Mount Ephraim (1981)

452 U.S. 61. 10

Sinaloa Lake Owners Assn. v.

City of Simi Valley

(9th Cir. 1989) 864 F.2d 1475 22

- Xli -

Page

U.S. v. Security Industrial Bank (1982)

459 US 70 19

United States v. Locke (1985)

471 U.S. 84 14

United States v. Riverside Bayview

Homes (1985) 474 U.S. 121 8, 10, 14

Village of Euclid v. Ambler Realty

Co. (1926) 272 U.S. 365 9,15

Wheeler v. City of Pleasant Grove

(11th Cir. 1987) 833 F.2d 267 17

William C. Haas Co. v. City of San Francisco

(9th Cir. 1979) 605 F.2d 1117 9, 15, 16

Williamson County Reg. Plan. Commn. v.

Hamilton Bank (1985) 5, 8, 10

473 U.S. 172 14, 25, 26, 28

Statutes

28 U.S.C. §1257 2

Constitution

United States Constitution

Fifth Amendment 2, 5, 19-21, 29

Fourteenth Amendment | Pe

- Xili -

Publications

Lawrence, Regulatory Takings: Beyond the

Balancing Test [1988] 20 The Urban

Lawyer 389

Mandelker & Blaesser, Applying the Ripeness

Doctrine in Federal Land Use Litigation,

11 Zoning & Planning Law Report

[July-Aug 1988]

Mandelker, Investment-Backed Expectations:

Is There a Taking? (1987) 31 J. Urb. &

Contemp. L. 3

1988 Zoning and Planning Law Handbook

342 [Gordon, ed., 1988]

Peterson, Land Use Regulatory “Takings”

Revisited: The New Supreme Court

Approaches (1988) 39 Hast. L. J. 335

Stoebuck, Police Power, Takings, and

Due Process, 37 Wash. & Lee L.

Rev. 1057 (1980)

1 N. Williams, American Land Planning

Law

Page

10, 29

ei, 29

8, 10

16

6, 10, 16

a

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The Petitioner respectfully prays that a Writ of Certiorari

issue to review a judgment and order of the California Court

of Appeal, Second Appellate District, Division Six.

OPINIONS BELOW

The California Court of Appeal issued its first (unpub-

lished) opinion on March 15, 1991. (App. A) After granting

a rehearing (App. B), the Court of Appeal issued a different

opinion on June 27, 1991. (App. C) That opinion was then

modified on July 25, 1991. (App. D) The final opinion was

published at 231 Cal. App. 3d 1016. The California Supreme

Court denied review by an unpublished order on September

26, 1991. (App. E) The trial court orders reviewed on ap-

peal are unpublished and appear in Appendix F.

JURISDICTION

This case involves a regulatory taking of 250 acres of

-undeveloped land suitable for single family residential devel-

opment which the Respondent County and City have pre-

vented from being used for any viable purpose.

The Petitioner (LBE) sought relief under the Fifth and

Fourteenth Amendments to the U.S. Constitution from the

California Superior Court because the governmental action

had taken their property without compensation, deprived

them of property without due process of law, and denied

them equal protection of the laws. The federal questions

were thus raised at the earliest opportunity and were briefed

and argued in all California courts.

The Superior Court dismissed the case against the County,

but permitted the case against the City to proceed. (App. F)

The Court of Appeal, however, ordered both cases dismissed.

ee

(App. C) The timely Petition for Review was denied by the

California Supreme Court on September 26, 1991. (App. E)

This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1257.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

Fifth Amendment, United States Constitution:

. nor shall private property be taken for public

use, without just compensation.”

Fourteenth Amendment, United States Constitution:

“Section 1.... nor shall any State deprive any

person of life, liberty, or property without due

process of law; ...”

Pertinent provisions of County and City ordinances are

noted in Appendix C.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In 1984, LBE purchased a 250 acre parcel of the 2,800

acre Marr Ranch in an unincorporated part of Ventura

County, California, near the City of Simi Valley. That pur-

chase was made only after both the County and the City

assured LBE that both entities believed that the property was

uniquely suited for immediate residential development. Both

General Plans provided for 1730 homes on the entire Marr

Ranch, with 1100 of them on LBE’s property. (CT [Clerk’s

Transcript on appeal] 139, 146, 761, 771-72, 775)

Based on those representations, LBE purchased the prop-

erty and began working with the City (as required by the

County, which anticipated the property would be annexed by

the City) to achieve development. At the City’s request,

LBE prepared a Specific Plan for the entire Marr Ranch (10

times LBE’s acreage) and paid for an EIR for development of

oes

the entire Ranch. The City became the applicant for the

Specific Plan. While the Specific Plan was being processed,

and at the City’s encouragement and request, LBE paid to

have infrustructure being installed in neighboring develop-

ments built to a sufficient capacity to serve 1100 Marr Ranch

homes. When the City modified its grading ordinance, LBE

modified the Specific Plan and proposed a General Plan

amendment to reduce the units on the Marr Ranch property

from 1730 to 1059. (CT 144-47, 765, 767-68 771-72)

Then, abruptly, the City imposed a moratorium on proc-

essing all new projects and stopped processing the Specific

Plan for this property. Thereafter, the City revised its Gen-

eral Plan, reducing the desired number of homes to 325.

LBE again changed course in response to the City’s desires

and prepared a plan for 249 homes. But the City won’t

process that application until LBE prepares a new Specific

Plan for the entire 2800 acre area, not just its own 250 acre

tract. (CT 147-48, 776-77)

City employees told the County Board of Suprervisors

that it would take 8 to 10 years for LBE to complete the

Specific Plan/EIR process now demanded, and then obtain

project approval, and then seek some of the few building

permit allocations now permitted under the City’s “slow

growth” ordinance. (CT 149, 777-78)

Meanwhile the County — in whose jurisdiction the prop-

erty was and remains — has refused to permit development.

While LBE was attempting to deal with the City (as the

County insisted), the County rescinded the applicable part of

its General Plan, imposed an “urban reserve overlay”

(meaning that the property was available only for urban

development), and downzoned the property so drastically

that only 1 home can be built on it. When LBE sought to

process a rational, 249 home project through the County, the

County refused even to provide LBE with an application

form, although it had processed similar applications from

ye

other landowners who were legally indistinguishable. (CT

153-54, 784)!

Frustrated by the administrative run-around described

above, and having been told by the County that it would have

to seek justice somewhere other than from the County (CT

155, 786), LBE filed suit to vindicate its Constitutional

rights. (CT 1)

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

INTRODUCTION

Many people believed that, with the decisions this Court

issued in 1987,2 much of the lower court confusion sur-

rounding issues of regulatory taking would disappear. For,

in its 1987 decisions, this Court supplied substantially more

guidance to lower courts than they had possessed before.

Important questions were left unanswered, however, and

commentators from all points of the spectrum have observed

the significance of the issues remaining undecided. State

courts remain frustrated, as this comment by the Supreme

Court of Washington attests:

| Additional facts are discussed as appropriate in this Petition.

Please note that the City and the County — individually and jointly

—— have prevented LBE from using its land. The separate actions of

these 2 entities are important. One of the problems with the Court of

Appeal’s opinion is that it tends to treat both entities as part of a

single development process. They are not. Each is responsible for

its own actions. Each bears individual responsibility here.

2 Including First English Evangelical Lutheran Church v. County

of Los Angeles (1987) 482 U.S. 304; Nollan v. California Coastal

Commn. (1987) 483 U.S. 825; Keystone Bituminous Coal Assn. v.

DeBenedictis (1987) 480 U.S. 470; and Hodel v. Irving (1987) 481

U.S. 704.

mm

“Despite these attempts [i.e., First English, Nollan,

and Keystone], the definitive answers, so necessary

for state courts to make reasoned determinations

concerning minimum federal due process require-

ments, remain unavailable. Our task is compli-

cated further by the ambiguities contained in recent

Supreme Court decisions and by the fact that de-

spite a 3-month separation, recent cases do not cite

each other. As Justice Stevens observed, ‘[e]ven

the wisest lawyers would have to acknowledge

great uncertainty about the scope of [federal

regulatory] takings jurisprudence.’ (Orion Corp.

v. State [1987] 109 Wash. 2d 621, 653; emphasis

added.)

The lower courts have been unable to arrive at any

coherence. Much of the confusion which existed before 1987

continues now, nearly half a decade later.

Thus, in spite of this Court’s earlier efforts to clarify the

law, it remains possible to find regulatory taking decisions to

support virtually any point of view one wishes to espouse.

Guidance from this Court is made all the more necessary

because the core issue in these cases is the meaning of the

Sth Amendment. The interpretation and application of that

Amendment’s protection should not be made to depend on

the State in which a property owner happens to own land.

However, because this Court has held that litigation cannot

be considered by the federal judiciary until after the state

courts have decided whether compensation for a taking will

be made under state law (Williamson County Reg. Plan.

Commn. v. Hamilton Bank [1985] 473 U.S. 172), state courts

3 Illustrative is the litigation which has continued to rage in

California, notwithstanding that this Court pointedly told the

California judiciary that it was not affording to property owners the

protections guaranteed by the Sth Amendment’s Just Compensation

Clause (First English, 482 U.S. at 311; Nollan, 483 U.S. at 839).

~ *

will continue to be the usual locus of decisionmaking in

these cases. It is thus imperative that those 50 local jurisdic-

tions have clear guidelines to follow in applying protection

which derives from the U.S. Constitution and which will

ultimately be measured by adherance to that organic charter.

This case presents the opportunity to end major elements

of uncertainty still facing lower courts. Issues which appear

in most of the cases now being litigated are before the Court

in this Petition:

@ the extent to which a property owner's “dis-

tinct, investment-backed profit expectations”

are protected by the Just Compensation Clause

against regulatory interference;

@ the nature of the allegations which a property

owner needs to plead to establish a prima

facie case of either regulatory taking or sub-

Stantive due process denial; and

@ the scope, meaning, and elements of the re-

quirement that a regulatory taking be “ripe”

before it is eligible for judicial review.

Lower state and Federal courts are in acute disharmony on

how to decide these issues, thus increasing the confusion

among property owners and regulators about their respective

duties and responsibilities. Litigation abounds, without

resolution on the merits and with contradictory results.

Professor Williams put it pungently, but accurately, in his

nationally recognized text:

“If there are no rules specific enough to control

future decisions, then every case is decided accord-

ing to the gastronomic school of jurisprudence;

that is, this is an area where government acts ac-

cording to gut feeling in the individual case, in-

stead of by rule of law.” (1 N. Williams, American

Land Planning Law (rev. ed. 1988] 136; emphasis

added.)

u@ x

The situation in the lower courts is as chaotic as one

would expect from a “gastronomic school of jurisprudence”

operating on “gut feeling in the individual case instead of by

rule of law.” Lack of “ripeness,” for example, is now raised

as a defense in virtually every regulatory taking case. As

happened here, prodigous time, effort, and money are ex-

pended in a chimerical effort to determine whether the case

is “ripe” enough for the court to examine the merits, even

though all parties know the reality that their positions have

hardened to the point of presenting a concrete controversy.

Because the outlines of “ripeness” have no more than Will-

o’-the-wisp substance, treatment of the issue is not consistent

from State to State or Circuit to Circuit.

This case presents the opportunity for this Court to ex-

plain in a comprehensive way how the concepts of “ripe-

ness,” investment-backed expectations, substantive due

process, and the guarantee of the Just Compensation Clause

are supposed to function in the land development context.

Such guidance would be a blessing to all concerned who, at

present, are compelled to litigate cases to the last available

court in order to find an answer. It becomes essential when

the question would be answered differently on the same facts

in a different jurisdiction. At a minimum, this Court's ex-

plication would lessen the burden on the judiciary by letting

the participants in the land use process know precisely what

needs to be done before the attention of the judiciary is

available, and what sorts of controversies are entitled to be

litigated at all.

I. THERE IS NO COHERENT RULE APPLIED

IN THE LOWER COURTS GOVERNING

WHAT IT TAKES TO ESTABLISH A REGU-

LATORY TAKING

In its recent regulatory taking cases, this Court has

indicated that a taking occurs if a regulation deprives a

_ e

property owner of “economically viable use” of his land,*

and that a property owner’s “reasonable, investment-backed,

profit expectations” are protected against confiscation by

state and local government land use regulations.> The prob-

lem is that this Court has neither defined these terms nor

given guidance to lower courts in determining their meaning.

As the 1980's began, a noted commentator lamented:

“In 1978, the Supreme Court, after 91 years of

producing nearly all the leading police power

taking decisions, essentially gave up. Viewing the

facts of Penn Central ... as presenting a question

of police power takings, the Supreme Court an-

nounced that there was no ‘set formula’ to resolve

the question. Rather, said the Court, different fact

patterns require different approaches for solution.”

(Stoebuck, Police Power, Takings, and Due

Process, 37 Wash. & Lee L. Rev. 1057, 1068

[1980}).

Things haven't changed much, as a more recent survey

concluded:

“{T}his area of the law has not been clarified and

the courts continue to generate contradictory opin-

ions utilizing various aspects of the extant ‘for-

mulas,” none of which have garnered anything

approaching a consensus in the view of bench, bar,

and academe.” (/988 Zoning and Planning Law

Handbook 342 [Gordon, ed., 1988]; emphasis

added.)

4 E.g., Agins v. City of Tiburon (1980) 447 U.S. 255, 260; United

States v. Riverside Bayview Homes, Inc. (1985) 474 U.S. 121, 126;

Keystone Bituminous Coal Assn. v. DeBenedictis (1987) 480 U.S.

470, 485.

; E.g., Williamson County Reg. Plan. Commn. v. Hamilton Bank

(1985) 473 U.S. 172; Penn Central Transp. Co. v. City of New York

(1978) 438 U.S. 104.

Se

Thus, lower courts have generally sought to determine

these issues by doing what judges and lawyers are most

comfortable doing: examining the diminutions in value in

earlier cases which were held not to constitute a taking.®

That creates another problem: the older cases were de-

cided before this Court announced either the concept of

“economically viable use” or the concept of “reasonable,

investment-backed, profit expectations,” not to mention the

rules announced or emphasized in First English Evangelical

Lutheran Church v. County of Los Angeles (1987) 482 U.S.

304 and Nollan v. California Coastal Commn. (1987) 483

U.S. 825. Moreover, the decisions of this Court which

appear in this earlier group were either decided at a sig-

nificantly earlier and less complicated time in land econom-

ics and land use control sophistication, or were decided in

the context of pleadings or proof which did not present the

issue of whether the questioned regulation was confiscatory.

Clarification in the context of today’s realities is not only

warranted, it is sorely needed by ail participants in the

process.

A. There is Confusion in the Lower

Courts About the Meaning of “Econo-

mically Viable Use” of Property

Twelve times in the last decade or so, this Court has noted

that, if a regulation deprives a property owner of the

. E.g., Village of Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co. (1926) 272 U.S. 365;

Hadacheck v. Sebastian (1915) 239 U.S. 394; William C. Haas Co.

v. City of San Francisco (9th Cir. 1979) 605 F.2d 1117.

7 Neither concept appears in land use cases in any court before this

Court’s decision in Penn Central Transp. Co. v. City of New York

(1978) 438 U.S. 104, in which they were first enunciated.

= 2

“economically viable use” of his property, a taking has

occurred.

However, in none of those cases did the Court explain

how to determine economic viability. The phrase was simply

stated and then lower courts were left to shift for themselves.

Lower courts have developed no consistent, or even predict-

able, definition.

Commentators are in accord that chaos is the rule. The

following is typical:

“This virtually standardless inquiry has pro-

vided little predictability for property owners, nor

has it served as a reliable guide for government

action.” (Lawrence, Regulatory Takings: Beyond

the Balancing Test [1988] 20 The Urban Lawyer

389, 400; emphasis added.)?

As the 9th Circuit put it, “... the precise meaning of

‘economically viable use’ of land is elusive and has not been

Clarified by the Supreme Court.” (Lake Nacimiento Ranch

Co. v. San Luis Obispo County [9th Cir 1987] 841 F.2d 872,

. Kirby Forest Indus., Inc. v. United States (1984) 467 U.S. 1, 14;

Agins v. City of Tiburon (1980) 447 U.S. 255, 260; Penn Central

Transp. Co. v. City of New York (1978) 438 U.S. 104, 124; Kaiser

Aetna v. United States (1979) 444 U.S. 164, 174 n. 8; San Diego Gas

& Elec. Co. v. City of San Diego (i981) 450 U.S. 621, 653

(dissenting opinion); MacDonald, Sommer & Frates v. County of

Yolo (1986) 477 U.S. 340; Nollan v. California Coastal Commn.

(1987) 483 U.S. 825; Keystone Bituminous Coal Assn. v. DeBenidic-

tis (1987) 480 US 470; United States v. Riverside Bayview Homes

(1985) 474 U.S. 121; Williamson County Regional Planning Commn.

v. Hamilton Bank (1985) 473 U.S. 172; Hodel v. Virginia Surface

Mining & Reclamation Assn., Inc. (1981) 452 U.S. 264; Schad v.

Borough of Mount Ephraim (1981) 452 U.S. 61.

9 For similar assessments, see, e.g., 1988 Zoning and Planning

Law Handbook 14, 342 (Gordon, Ed., 1988); 1 Williams, American

Land Planning Law (1988 Cum. Supp.] 53.

ee

877) In that case, the absence of standards permitted the

court to ignore testimony that each of the supposedly permit-

ted uses of land had no evonomic value to the property

owner.

Here, while acknowledging the “elusive” nature of the

concept of economic viability (App. C, p 19), and acknowl-

edging that the County zoned the property so as to permit

one home on each 160 acres of land (App. C, p 22), the court

below concluded that no taking occurred. Aside from the

erroneous assertion by the court that LBE could have sought

rezoning to 10 acre parcels (App. C, p ) Vi the possibility

and value of available uses is a question of fact, which can-

not be decided on the pleadings.

The confusion extant in the law permits this sort of result.

Clarity from this Court would be reflected in clarity and

consistency below.

B. There is Conflict Among Lower Courts

About Whether Trial of the Facts is

Required to Find That a Regulation

“Substantially Advances a Legitimate

State Interest” or Whether that Find-

ing can be Made as a Matter of Law

As an alternative, the cases cited above hold that a taking

occurs when a land use regulation fails to substantially ad-

vance a legitimate state interest. There is, however, no lower

court agreement on how to make this determination.

The conflict on this issue is starkly apparent when the

California Court of Appeal opinion in this case is set beside

the nearly contemporaneous decision of the 9th Circuit Court

10 It could not. The County refused to process any such

applications.

«%2.

of Appeals in McDougal v. County of Imperial (9th Cir.

1991) 942 F.2d 668. °

In the case at bench, LBE attacked the County and City

ordinances for, among other things, being unnecessary to

accomplish their stated goals of ensuring that sufficient

facilities were available to support additional housing. The

reason for that was that LBE had already seen to it that

adequate infrastructure was available for far more than the

number of homes it sought to build. Thus, LBE sought a

trial at which it would prove that the ordinances being used

to prevent development of its property failed to substantially

advance a legitimate state interest because infrastructure

already existed to support this development.

The California Court of Appeal refused to permit trial.

Rather, it concluded as a matter of law, without any

evidence, that the governmental prohibitions were necessary.

Rather than examining evidence, the California court dealt in

sweeping generalities like this:

“Local government legislation is constitutional

on its face if it bears ‘a substantial relationship to

the public welfare ...’ and inflicts no irreparable

injury on the landowner. [Citation.].. .

“Both County’s Guidelines and City’s Growth

Management Ordinance satisfy this test. The

County enacted the Guidelines to promote efficient

and effective delivery of community services and

to conserve the resources of County by encourag-

ing urban development to occur wihin cities. The

Guidelines emphasize annexation as a means to

accomplish these purposes.” (App. C, p 11)

In sharp contrast, the 9th Circuit's McDougal opinion

holds that such decisions must be based on a critical exami-

nation of evidence and cannot be made as a matter of law on

a motion to dismiss (the functional equivalent of the demur-

rer rulings in this state court proceeding):

» t%

“The district court held that the McDougals ‘failed

to establish that the County’s actions do not sub-

Stantially advance a legitimate state interest.’

However, they have no obligation to ‘establish’ the

illegitimacy of the County’s motivations on a

motion to dismiss. Likewise, the McDougals

allege that the requirements for a conditional use

permit and a verified ground water model were

impossible to satisfy and did not relate to legiti-

mate concerns of the County, but the district

court’s order gives no consideration to these

charges.

“The legitimacy of the public interest involved,

how much it is furthered by the regulatory actions

at issue, the extent of the public benefit obtained or

expected, and the degree that the McDougals’

property rights and reasonable investment-backed

expectations have been impaired are all factors

which lie at the heart of the takings inquiry. These

things typically cannot be assessed properly with-

out a factual inquiry. ([Citation.]” (942 F.2d at

679-680; emphasis added.)

The decision in the case at bench and McDougal CAN-

NOT both be correct. Either a factual inquiry is needed or

the issue is one of law. This stark conflict is endemic to this

field of the law. Anarchy will continue to reign, with courts

randomly choosing whichever approach will best serve their

desires of the moment, until this Court ends the conflict and

confusion.

oe

C. There is Confusion in the Lower

Courts About What This Court Meant

by “Reasonable, Investment-Backed,

Profit Expectations”

Sixteen times in the last decade or so, this Court has noted

that the question of whether a regulation effects a taking of

private property for public use must be analyzed in terms of

the impact of the regulation on the property owner’s

“reasonable [or distinct] investment-backed expectations.”

In three of those decisions which involved land use regula-

tions, this Court considered the concept of profit or reason-

able return on investment. !

However, in none of those cases, did this Court explain

how the impact on a property owner’s profit expectations was

to be considered. It was simply said, and then left un-

elaborated. As a result, lower courts — as well as all par-

ticipants in the land use process — have little guidance.

While they have been told that the expectation must be more

11 Penn Central Transp. Co. v. City of New York (1978) 438 U.S.

104; Andrus v. Allard (1979) 444 U.S. 51; Kaiser Aetna v. United

States (1979) 444 U.S. 164; PruneYard Shopping Center v. Robins

(1980) 447 U.S. 74; Hodel v. Virginia Surface Min. & Recl. Assn.

(1981) 452 U.S. 264; Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV

Corp. (1982) 458 U.S. 419; Kirby Forest Indus., Inc. v. United

States (1984) 467 U.S. 1; Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co. (1984) 467

U.S. 986; United States v. Locke (1985) 471 U.S. 84; Williamson

County Reg. Plan. Commn. v. Hamilton Bank (1985) 473 U.S. 172;

United States v. Riverside Bayview Homes, Inc. (1985) 474 U.S.

121; Connolly v. Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp. (1986) 475 U.S.

211; MacDonald, Sommer & Frates v. County of Yolo (1986) 477

U.S. 340; Keystone Bituminous Coal Assn. v. DeBenedictis (1987)

480 U.S. 470; Hodel v. Irving (1987) 481 U.S. 704; Nollan v.

California Coastal Commn. (1987) 483 U.S. 825.

12 Penn Central, 438 U.S. at 136; Williamson County, 473 U.S. at

200; Keystone, 480 U.S. at 496, 501.

« 48.

than a “... unilateral expectation or an abstract need ...”

(Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co. [1984] 467 U.S. 986, 1005)

and that the concept has its basis in ideas of “.. . justice and

fairness ...” (Kirby Forest Indus., Inc. v. United States

[1984] 467 U.S. 1, 14), this Court has given little more.

The Court has not yet taken the opportunity either to

reconcile its general formulation of “reasonable, investment-

backed expectations” with earlier cases emanating either

from the Court itself or from influential lower courts or to

overrule any of the earlier cases. It is time for the Court to

let the citizens of this country know whether it is serious

about its protection against regulatory takings and, if so, how

that protection is to be achieved.

For example, in Village of Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co.

(1926) 272 U.S. 365, the regulation diminished the value of

the property by 75%. In Hadacheck v. Sebastian (1915) 239

U.S. 394, the regulation diminished the value of the property

by 88%. And in what may be the most eggregious example,

the regulation in William C. Haas Co. v. City of San Fran-

cisco (9th Cir. 1979) 605 F.2d 1117, diminished the value of

the property by 95%. No taking was found in any of these

cases. Both Euclid and Hadacheck were decided before this

Court’s series of cases during the last decade introduced the

“expectations” test. Haas never discusses the test. Nonethe-

less, each of the older cases is now cited by lower courts to

demonstrate that regulations far more onerous than the one

being litigated have been upheld. (See, e.g., App. C, pp

19-22, 25.)

But can these earlier cases be so routinely relied on to

determine if there has been a taking? What light is shed on

the older cases’ validity by the more recent decisions of this

Court? Can the older cases continue to be uncritically used

as benchmarks for how far regulation may diminish property

without compensation? How does leaving the property

owner with 5% of the value of his land (or 12%, or even

25%) comport with “reasonable, investment-backed, profit

a”

expectations” or “economically viable use?” When that

question is posed to a lay audience, the universal response is

either groans or nervous laughter.

As a consequence, commentators agree that there is no

standard which the lower courts believe they can apply. The

result is total unpredictability:

“Investment Backed Expectations.’ This is an-

other phrase which has recently been adopted and

repeated widely. Again, it is difficult to know what

to make of it... The state courts have struggled

for a long time over the same question... Close

analysis of these cases indicates that there is no

consensus in the vast body of state law on this

point; it is an area of almost pure gut juris-

prudence.” (1 Williams, American Land Planning

Law [1988 Cum. Supp.] 54-55; emphasis added.)!3

Neither regulators nor property owners are able to predict

with any degree of confidence the outcome in a specific case.

Thus, numerous cases are litigated which might otherwise be

resolved short of the courthouse. Fundamental Constitu-

tional protections deserve more identifiable road signs than

that.

Notwithstanding this Court’s repeated employment of the

“profit expectations” concept, however, lower courts are in

conflict on whether even to accept the notion of profitability

as a factor to consider in determining whether a taking has

occurred. The Second Circuit and the Ninth Circuit have

flagrantly flaunted their rejection of the idea,!* while the

13 For similar reactions, see, e.g., Mandelker, /nvestment-Backed

Expectations: Is There a Taking? (1987) 31 J. Urb. & Contemp. L.

3; Peterson, Land Use Regulatory “Takings” Revisited: The New

Supreme Court Approaches (1988) 39 Hast. L. J. 335, 345.

si E.g., Park Avenue Tower Associates v. City of New York (2d

Cir. 1984) 746 F.2d 135; William C. Haas Co. v. City of San

Francisco (9th Cir. 1979) 605 F.2d 1117; MacLeod v. County of

Santa Clara (9th Cir. 1984) 749 F.2d 541.

Eighth Circuit, the Eleventh Circuit, the Federal Circuit, and

the highest courts of New York, Washington, Arizona, and

the District of Columbia have expressed a willingness to

determine from the evidence -whether the uses permitted

by the regulation permit the owner to obtain a reasonable

return.

Here, the Court of Appeal acknowledged the “consi-

derable controversy” over whether to examine profit expecta-

tions (App. C, p 23), but concluded — again, as a matter of

law, without evidence — that LBE could not even raise the

issue (App. C, pp 24-25).

The question is: what needs to be alleged? LBE alleged

facts showing that it had worked long and hard with both the

County and the City to develop plans which were acceptable

to the regulators, received assurances from the regulators

that the project was acceptable, and then — after the expen-

diture of millions of dollars in reliance — the regulators

decided to preclude development. LBE seeks only the

chance to present its case to a trier of fact. Those facts show

sufficient interference to warrant trial.

15 E.g., Florida Rock Indus., Inc. v. United States (Fed. Cir. 1986)

791 F.2d 893; Northern Westchester Professional Park Associates v.

Town of Bedford (1983) 60 N. Y. 2d 492, 458 N.E. 2d 809; Orion

Corp. v. State (1987) 109 Wash. 2d 621, 642 (“present, possible, and

reasonably profitable use”); Ranch 57 v. City of Yuma (1986) 152

Ariz. 218, 731 P 2d 113 (“reasonable return on the property”);

Hornstein v. Barry (D. C. App. 1987) 530 A.2d 1177 (“reasonable

financial return”); Wheeler v. City of Pleasant Grove (11th Cir.

1987) 833 F.2d 267, 271 (“... the landowner’s loss takes the form

of an injury to the property’s potential for producing income or an

expected profit”); Nemmers v. City of Dubuque (8th Cir. 1985) 764

F.2d 502, 504-05 (reasonable return on the difference in value with

and without the offending regulation).

II.

<-'.

THE COURT BELOW CONTINUED CALIF-

ORNIA’S REFUSAL TO FOLLOW THIS

COURT’S DECISION IN FIRST ENGLISH

WHEN IT HELD THAT THE GOVERN-

MENT’S GOOD INTENTIONS PRECLUDED

ANY FINDING OF A TAKING

What happened in the Court of Appeal seems evident: the

Court of Appeal agreed with the goals announced by the City

and the County and, as a consequence, failed to subject those

governmental assertions to any scrutiny at all (in sharp con-

trast to McDougal, discussed above), and then went so far as

to hold that LBE could be wiped out financially without

recourse so long as the governmental intentions were per-

ceived to be legitimate. There is no mistaking the Court of

Appeal’s theory. These are its own words:

“Where the public benefits greatly, it is constitu-

tional to restrict the use of one’s land. [Citation.]

In some cases, no compensation may be required

even if almost all uses are taken. [Citation.]” (App

C, p 10; emphasis added.)

“No taking results when a partial moratorium

measure is enacted to protect the public health,

safety or morals. ([Citation.]” (App C, p 19; em-

phasis added.)

That theory is utterly at odds with this Court’s First

English decision, in which it was plainly stated that:

“This basic understanding of the [Fifth] Amend-

ment makes clear that it is designed not to limit the

governmental interference with property rights per

se, but rather to secure compensation in the event

of otherwise proper interference amounting to a

taking.” (482 U.S. at 314-315; emphasis added.)

The decision below is also in direct conflict with the 9th

Circuit’s McDougal decision which says:

2

“We cannot agree that any legitimate purpose

automatically trumps the deprivation of all eco-

nomically viable use, such that whenever a regula-

tion has a health or safety purpose, no compensa-

tion is ever required even if the land owner is

thereby denied all use of his property.

* *

“To hold that a legitimate public interest alone

precludes a taking without regard to the degree of

private deprivation turns the Court’s balancing of

interests into a bright-line test for which there is no

precedent. The Court’s own disclaimers make this

clear. [Citations.]” (942 F.2d at 676, 677)

A. The Decision Below Conflicts With

Other Decisions of this Court

This Court has consistently held that good governmental

intentions cannot be accomplished in defiance of the Fifth

Amendment. First English was express on the subject. (482

U.S. at 321) That is also the clear import of cases like

Kaiser Aetna v. U.S. (1979) 444 US 164, U.S. v. Security

Industrial Bank (1982) 459 US 70, and Loretto.!© In each

of them this Court concluded that properly motivated

governmental goals could be accomplished only in com-

pliance with the Fifth Amendment.

In a similar vein, of course, are cases such as Preseault v.

ICC (1990) 494 U.S. 1, Ruckelshaus v. Monstanto Co. (1984)

467 U.S. 986, Dames & Moore v. Regan (1981) 453 U.S.

654, and the Regional Rail Reorganization Act Cases (1974)

419 U.S. 102. In each of them, this Court was faced with the

6 Involving, respectively, public access to a private marina,

retroactive application of bankruptcy legislation, and cable TV

access to apartment buildings.

- 6.

claim that Congress, in pursuit of legitimate goals,!” had

taken private property in violation of the Fifth Amendment.

In each, this Court directed the property owners to the U.S.

Claims Court to determine whether these legitimate exercises

of legislative power required compensation.

The decision below elevates good intentions above the

Constitution. That, it cannot do.

B. The Decision Below is Typical of

California Decisions Since 1987 Which

Pay No More Than Lip Service to This

Court’s Seminal Decision in First

English

In 1987, this Court bluntly told the California courts that

they were out of step with this Court's interpretation of the

Just Compensation Clause and with most of the rest of the

country, as well:

As this Court put it in First English:

“{Tjhe California courts have decided the compen-

sation question inconsistently with the require-

ments of the Fifth Amendment.” (482 U.S. at 311)

Two weeks later, the Court decided Nollan. There, stri’:-

ing down as “extortion” (483 U.S. at 837) a standard Califor-

nia Coastal Commission permit condition (repeatedly applied

and judicially approved in Califomia), this Court said:

“Our conclusion on this point is consistent with the

approach taken by every other court that has consid-

ered the question, with the exception of the Califor-

nia state courts.” (483 U.S. at 839)

7 Respectively, the preservation of rail transportation corridors,

the registration of pesticides, the aftermath of the Iranian hostage

crisis, and the provision of rail service to the Northeast United

States.

<iha

One would have thought that double-barrelled message

would have been clear and that the California judiciary

would have responded by providing the protection demanded

by this Court and the Constitution. Everyone who thought

that has been disappointed. The California courts have

continued as though it were “business as usual,” apparently

counting on this Court's limited capacity to review state

court judgments to insulate their continued scofflaw modus

operandi from review.

The blunt fact, however, is that the California Courts of

Appeal have refused to follow this Court’s decision in First

English. (The California Supreme Court has declined to

review any regulatory taking cases since First English.) This

began with the remand of First English itself, as recently

noted by the 9th Circuit Court of Appeals, which said that it

did “not believe” that the California court’s decision on the

First English remand was based on “an accurate description

of the Chief Justice’s opinion... .” (McDougal, 942 F.2d at

679) That California attitude continues through cases like

the one at bench. The analysis in this case makes it clear

that the California judiciary remains unwilling to acknowl-

edge that government regulation can run afoul of the Fifth

Amendment. The facts alleged here are outrageous. Yet the

California courts refused even to permit the matter to go to

trial. It is time to return the law of Califc nia to that of the

rest of the Union.

III. ARBITRARY AND CAPRICIOUS LAND USE

REGULATIONS — UNRELATED TO THE

PURPOSES SUPPOSEDLY SERVED BY THEM

— VIOLATE PROPERTY OWNERS’ SUB-

STANTIVE DUE PROCESS RIGHTS

The Ninth Circuit recently summarized the rules relating

to actions alleging deprivation of substantive due process:

4.

“We have recognized that the due process clause

includes a substantive component which guards

against arbitrary and capricious government action,

even when the decision to take that action is made

through procedures that are in themselves constitu-

tionally adequate. [Citation.]” (Sinaloa Lake

Owners Assn. v. City of Simi Valley (9th Cir. 1989]

864 F.2d 1475, 1483)

The reason for this type of protection is to guard against

the human tendency to overreach:

“(GJjovernmental power is a double-edged sword; if

wielded in an abusive, irrational or malicious

fashion it can cause grave harm. ([Citation.]”

(Sinaloa, 864 F.2d at 1484)

See also Bateson v. Geisse (9th Cir. 1988) 857 F.2d 1300,

1303 (judgment finding substantive due process violation

was affirmed because “... the interference with property

rights was irrational or arbitrary”) and Herrington v. County

of Sonoma (9th Cir. 1987) 834 F.2d 1488, 1501, amended in

other respects, 857 F.2d 567 (judgment finding substantive

due process violation was affirmed because the County’s

action “. . . was irrational or arbitrary”).

To determine whether a substantive due process violation

has occurred, a factual inquiry — resulting in a balancing

process —— must be performed:

“(ijn determining whether the constitutional line

has been crossed, a court must look to such factors

as the need for the [governmental action], the

relationship between the need and the [action

taken], the extent of [damage] inflicted, and

whether [the action was taken] in a good faith

effort ... or maliciously ... for the very purpose

of causing harm.” (Sinaloa, 864 F.2d at 1486;

brackets, the Court’s.)

-%.

Here, the complaint plainly alleges that there was no

rational justification for preventing development of LBE’s

property. LBE had cooperated with both the County and the

City in planning the development of the entire area of which

its property was a small part, had contributed money toward

the construction of oversized utilities through neighboring

properties in order to service the expected development of its

own property, and purchased the property only after being

assured that its development concepts were compatible with

those of the County and City. The complaint alleges that

there were adequate facilities to service the LBE develop-

ment without burdening either the County of the City. Thus,

refusal to permit development was irrational, arbitrary, and

capricious. Enough was alleged to merit trial.

IV. THERE IS HOPELESS CONFUSION

THROUGHOUT THE COUNTRY ON WHAT

IT TAKES TO “RIPEN” A REGULATORY

TAKING CASE FOR LITIGATION ON THE

MERITS

“Ripeness” in land use litigation does not seem to be a

concept whose full ramifications have been carefully consid-

ered by this Court. Rather, in the course of not deciding the

compensation issue in cases which preceeded First English

during the 1980s, this Court concluded that the facts of the

cases before it were, for one reason or another, not suffi-

ciently well-developed to form the basis for such a

conclusion.

The rules were plainly developed in an ad hoc way, and

seem intended to be applied in later cases in a similar ad hoc

way, depending on the circumstances of those later cases.

However, as illustrated by the case at bench, some lower

courts — feeling more comfortable applying rules mechani-

cally — are treating this Court’s ad hoc determinations as

though they were carved on stone tablets and not to be

a Sto

varied. Because of the rapid proliferation of “ripeness”

decisions in the lower courts, this Court’s guidance is needed

to explain the flexible nature of the investigation required by

the “ripeness” concept. In other fields of law, for example,

the Court has not discussed “ripeness” in the rigid manner

which appears in the land use field. Rather, it has said that

the concept must be applied in a “... pragmatic way ...”

(Abbott Laboratories v. Gardner [1967] 387 U.S. 136, 149)

For example, in Columbia Broadcasting System v. United

States (1942) 316 U.S. 407, a case involving an FCC rule

which had not yet been applied to any broadcaster, the Court

found a dispute which was ripe for decision:

“Such regulations have the force of law before

their sanctions are invoked as well as after. When,

as here, they are promulgated by order of the

Commission and the expected conformity to them

Causes injury cognizable by a court of equity, they

are appropriately the subject of attack ...” (316

U.S. at 418-19; emphasis added.)

See also Maryland Casualty Co. v. Pacific Coal & Oil Co.

(1941) 312 U.S. 270, 273:

“Basically, the question in each case is whether the

facts alleged, under all the circumstances, show

that there is a substantial controversy, between

parties having adverse legal interests, of sufficient

immediacy and reality to warrant the issuance of a

declaratory judgment.”

That description, setting aside municipal game-playing,!®

aptly describes most land use controversies which reach

litigation.

18 See San Diego Gas & Elec. Co. v. City of San Diego (1981) 450

U.S. 621, 655-656, fn. 22 [Brennan, J., dissenting]; Nollan, 483 U.S.

at 841; First English, 482 U.S. at 321.

2

A. There Are No Rational Rules

The absence of rational rules is evigent merely by examin-

ing the land use/ripeness decisions rendered by this Court.

The one thing which emerges is that not even the Justices of

this Court can confidently say that they know when a land

use case is sufficiently ripe.

In San Diego Gas, for example, the issues were held not

ripe —— by a vote of 5-4. Williamson County went 6-3

against ripeness. MacDonald, Sommer & Frates was a 5-4

decision against ripeness. First English was held ripe, 6-3.

Thus, in four recent cases, the Justices of this Court cast

17 votes for ripeness and 19 votes against ripeness. When

even the Justices of this Court have that much trouble agree-

ing on the ripeness of any particular case, it seems fair to

conclude that there are no clear rules operating.

B. There is No Consistency

Nor i. there any consistency.

For example, in Preseault v. ICC (1990) 494 U.S. 1, this

Court held that an action challenging the constitutionality of

legislation could not be ripe until after the property owner

sought compensation for the legislation’s impact. In stark

contrast, California’s courts hold that an inverse condemna-

tion action seeking compensation cannot be ripe until after

the property owner challenges the constitutionality of the

legislation. (E.g., Rossco Holdings, Inc. v. State [1989] 212

Cal. App. 3d 642.)

In the case at bench, the California Court of Appeal held

that “informal” presentations of development proposals could

not suffice to ripen a controversy, while a panel of the 9th

Circuit has held to the contrary. (Compare App. C, pp 14-15

with Hoehne v. County of San Benito (9th Cir. 1989] 870

F.2d 529.)

. ©

In the case at bench, the California Court of Appeal held

that a variance must be applied for to ripen a controversy,

while a panel of the 9th Circuit has held to the contrary.

(Compare App. C, pp 16-17 with Herrington v. County of

Sonoma [9th Cir. 1987] 834 F.2d 1488, 1496.)

The vagueness of the requirements of the ripeness require-

ment in land use cases results in random and inconsistent

treatment of parties who are otherwise similarly situated. A

more unjust result is hard to picture.

C. The “Rules” Used Below Are So Rigid

That They Make No Sense and Ensure

the Property Owner Will Lose

The rigidity with which the California court believed this

Court required the ripeness “rules” in Williamson County

and MacDonald, Sommer & Frates v. County of Yolo (1986)

477 U.S. 340 to be applied is expressed in the opinion:

“The developer must establish that it has submit-

ted at least one meaningful application for a devel-

opment project which has been thoroughly

rejected, and that it has prosecuted at least one

meaningful application for a zoning variance, or

something similar, which has been finally denied.

[Citations.]” (App. C, pp 20-21; emphasis added.)

Thus, the Court below categorically refused to examine

the facts on the ad hoc basis which this Court has repeatedly

required. (See, e.g., Kaiser Aetna v. U.S. [1979] 444 U.S.

164, 175; Penn Central, 438 U.S. at 124.) Instead, the opin-

ion insists that all cases must be forced into an immutable

template of first applying for a development permit and then

applying for a variance before it will consider a case “ripe”

for judicial review.

The problem is that the opinion below takes a test de-

signed for the “ad hoc” factual examination of Williamson

*.

County and rotely applies it to all factual contexts. The

inappropriateness of doing that at bench demonstrates the

need for this Court to tell lower courts unequivocally that

there is no set formula for ripeness, but rather an ad hoc

examination of the facts of the particular case in light of its

peculiar circumstances.

Here, for example, the property owner was faced by two

different agencies. The County, which had actual, legal

charge over regulation of this property, refused to do any-

thing, abdicating in favor of the City. The City, after much

planning and replanning, refused to complete the processing

of preliminary planning work needed to permit development.

The County also refused to approve any planning and zoning

changes which would permit development. Both entities

made it clear that development was precluded. No purpose

would have been served by jumping through additional theo-

retical hoops for the sole purpose of “ripening” a case for

litigation, as opposed to actually seeking to develop prop-

erty. What could be more final than statements between

governmental decision makers that no approval would be

given and that LBE should seek its resolution in court? LBE

does not believe this Court intended its ripeness rules to be

applied solely as academic exercises, when there is no realis-

tic hope that further action will result in development

permission.

In this field, lower courts have even had trouble agreeing

on how to determine when it is “futile” for a property owner

to continue with fruitless applications:

“The lower federal court attempts to wrestle with

the meaning of ‘futility’ have led to a bewildering

set of judicial statements.” (Mandelker & Blaesser,

Applying the Ripeness Doctrine in Federal Land

Use Litigation, 11 Zoning & Planning Law Report

. 6.

[July-Aug 1988] 49, 53; emphasis added.)!?

In First English, this Court demonstrated the flexibility

intended for the “ripeness” concept which, here, the court

below ignored. In First English, suit was filed one month

after the regulation was adopted —— without any application

for a permit or variance — because the regulation permitted

no economically viable use. The County attempted to have

this Court dismiss the appeal because of this supposedly

“unripe” condition. This Court refused to do so, and dealt

with the substantive issue presented.

Thus, where it is clearly alleged?° that the regulation

denies all economically viable use — in contrast to situa-

tions like Williamson County, where the issue was the type of

development, not whether there could be any reasonable

development — First English indicates that a case is ripe for

adjudication without more, because the regulator's final

answer is certain.

Two commentators recently surveyed the field and con-

cluded that there is little rhyme or reason to the application

of the ripeness concept. Not only did they find differences

from one court to another, they found inconsistent results

even within the single court which has treated the issue most

19 In fields other than land use, this Court has had no trouble

recognizing futility and excusing parties from engaging in it as a

prelude to litigation. (See, e.g., Glover v. St. Louis-San Francisco

Ry. Co. [1969] 393 U.S. 324, 330-331 [discrimination by labor union

against its members]; Houghton v. Shafer [1968] 392 U.S. 639, 640

[denying law book use to prison inmate]; King v. Smith [1968] 392

U.S. 309, 312, fn. 4 [denial of AFDC benefits].) In each case, there

was an available administrative avenue which, if pursued, theoreti-

cally could have yielded the relief sought. This Court lost no time in

explaining that there was no requirement to seek theoretically

available, but pragmatically futile, relief before filing suit.

20 Please recall that, like First English, this is a pleading case in

which no factual inquiry has yet been made by any court. All that is

before this Court is the factual allegations in the pleadings.

. 2

often. That sort of confusing result cries out for this Court’s

intervention:

“The ‘finality’ requirement has been the most

troublesome for the lower federal courts to apply.

Some judges have openly admitted their difficulty

in determining ‘when enough is enough’ under this

requirement. [Citations.]

“The Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit has

had the most opportunities to refine this first prong

of the ripeness doctrine. But its decisions have not

yet yielded any predictable approach for plaintiff

property owners.” (Mandelker & Blaesser, Apply-

ing the Ripeness Doctrine in Federal Land Use

Litigation 11 Zoning & Planning Law Report

[July-Aug. 1988] 49, 53; emphasis added.)7!

The reality of the confusion spawned by the ripeness

“rules” is that the odds overwhelmingly favor the govern-

ment. As one government lawyer expressed it, “{lJike the

vagueness of the three-factor analysis [for determining what

is a taking], this [ripeness] requirement has _ historically

worked to the advantage of government regulators.”

(Lawrence, Regulatory Takings: Beyond the Balancing Test

[1988] 20 The Urban Lawyer 389, 400 fn. 71) The playing

field needs to be levelled in order to satisfy the Fifth Amend-

ment protection guaranteed property owners.

21 The 9th Circuit’s confusion about “futility” has led it to go so

far as to hold that, in order for a property owner to prove that it

would be futile to apply for a permit, the property owner must

actually apply and be turned down! (Kinzli v. City of Santa Cruz

(9th Cir. 1987] 818 F.2d 1449, 1454)

~ wh

CONCLUSION

In First English and Nollan, this Court declared that the

rights of property owners are to be protected by the judiciary

against the “... cleverness and imagination ...” of

governmental word games (Nollan, 483 U.S. at 841), even if

that “... lessen[s] to some extent the freedom and flexibility

of land use planners and governing bodies of municipal

corporations ...” (First English, 482 U.S. at 321). In the

process, this Court recognized a meaningful, compensatory

remedy for regulatory takings.

However, if there is no way to get a regulatory taking case

to trial, the remedy is unavailable. If this Court is as serious

about Constitutional protection for private property owners

as its 1987 decisions indicate and the recent grants of Cer-

tiorari in Yee, PFZ, and Lucas appear to reinforce, further

explication is needed. Your message is not being heard by

many lower courts.

Petitioner prays that Certiorari be granted.

Dated: December 23, 1991.

Respectfully submitted,

PAUL R. HAMILTON

Counsel of Record

and

KAREN J. LEE

of HAMILTON & SAMUELS

MICHAEL M. BERGER

of BERGER & NORTON

Attorneys for Petitioner

LONG BEACH EQUITIES, INC.

Sa path RAMA Ter

EXHIBIT A

of, 40

NOT TO BE PUBLISHED

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL

OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION SIX

COURT OF APPEAL-SECOND DIST.

FILED

MAR 15 1991

ROBERT N. WILSON, Clerk

Deputy Clerk

LONG BEACH EQUITIES, INC., etc.,

Plaintiff and Appellant,

v.

COUNTY OF VENTURA, et al.,

Defendants and Respondents.

2d Civil No. B045047

(Super. Ct. No. 103364)

(Ventura County)

THE CITY OF SIMI VALLEY, et al.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

SUPERIOR COURT OF THE

COUNTY OF VENTURA,

Respondent.

LONG BEACH EQUITIES, INC., et al.,

Real Parties in Interest.

No. B046558

hh os

Long Beach Equities, Inc. (LBE) desires to build 249

single-family residences on a 250-acre parcel of land it

owns adjacent to the City of Simi Valley (City). LBE

contends that land use regulations of the County of

Ventura (County) and City, on their face and as applied,

will so greatly delay its development plans as to render

them economically infeasible.

We hold that this suit is not ripe for adjudication. We

affirm the ivdgment for County and grant City’s petition

for issuance of a writ of mandate to compel the trial

court to enter an order sustaining City’s demurrer with-

out leave to amend.

LBE sued these entities seeking damages for inverse

condemnation, among other things.’ The trial court

sustained County’s demurrer to LBE’s first amended

complaint without leave to amend. LBE moved for

reconsideration and proffered a second amended com-

plaint. The court denied the motion and sustained City’s

demurrer without leave as to several counts, but over-

ruled that demurrer on counts for inverse condemnation,

denial of due process and declaratory and injunctive

relief.

LBE appealed the judgment entered on County’s

demurrer and the ruling rendered on its motion for

reconsideration. City filed a petition for a writ of man-

date to compel the trial court to vacate its order overrul-

ing the demurrer. We have consolidated these actions on

appeal in the interest of judicial economy and to aid in

the resolution of this lawsuit. (Omaha Indemnity Co. v.

Superior Court (1989) 209 Cal.App.3d 1266, 1272; see 9

: Complainant Marr Ranch Associates is not a party to this appeal.

Also, LBE has sued the County Board of Supervisors, the Ventura

Planning Commission and the Simi Valley City Council. We shall

refer to all County and City defendants as County and City,

respectively.

i: Se

Witkin, Cal. Procedure (3d ed. 1985) Appeal, § 62,

pp. 86-87, § 64, pp. 88-89, § 65, pp. 89-90.)

STANDARDS OF REVIEW

LBE has the burden to prove that the trial court

abused its discretion in sustaining County’s demurrer

without leave to amend. (Goodman v. Kennedy (1976)

18 Cal.3d 335, 349.) The City has the burden to show

that the trial court’s order is erroneous as a matter of law

and that it will suffer harm which cannot be corrected on

further appeal. (Omaha Indemnity Co. v. Superior

Court, supra, 209 Cal.App.3d at pp. 1273-1274.)

We must construe the allegations of LBE’s complaint

liberally to attain substantial justice among the parties.

(Code Civ. Proc., § 452.) We deem true all material and

properly pleaded facts. (Pan Pacific Properties, Inc. v.

County of Santa Cruz (1978) 81 Cal.App.3d 244, 251.)

We also shall consider all the matters which have been

determined by the trial court as appropriate for judicial

notice. (Code Civ. Proc., § 430.30; First English Evan-

gelical Lutheran Church v. County of Los Angeles

(1989) 210 Cal.App.3d 1353, 1368.)?

We cannot consider, however, conclusions of fact or

law, Opinions or speculation and allegations which are

contrary either to law or to the judicially-noticed facts.

(See Pan Pacific Properties, Inc. v. County of Santa

Cruz, supra, 81 Cal.App.3d at pp. 251, 255, fn. 2; Agins

v. Tiburon (1980) 447 U.S. 255, 259, fn. 6.)

2 Tie California Court of Appeal heard First English Evangelical

Lutheran Church v. County of Los Angeles, supra, 210 Cal.App.3d

1353 (hereinafter cited as First English i]) on remand from the

Unites States Supreme Court in First Lutheran Church v. Los

Angeles County (1987) 482 U.S. 304 (hereinafter cited as First

English I).

-A 4-

BACKGROUND

On June 25, 1969, the Ventura County Planning

Commission adopted Guidelines for Orderly Urban

Development (Guidelines). The Guidelines were

adopted to assure the “efficient provision of urban

services and sound urban land use planning” and to

avoid “the problems and costs associated with urban

sprawl” through coordinated planning with other local

government entities.

The Guidelines provide policies, standards and

criteria to evaluate applications for zone changes from

rural to urban land use classifications and for “related

land use development matters.”

The Guidelines provide that urban growth of develop-

ing communities in Ventura County should proceed in a

compact and logically expanding form which includes

satisfactory permanent open space areas. Proposed

development should be functionally linked to the agen-

cies providing public services in the area for efficiency

and accessibility of community facilities, utilities and

services, employment centers and cultural opportunities.

Those areas served by the facilities and utilities of a

city should be located within the limits of that city;

urban development should be required to locate within

cities, and proposed developments at the fringe of

existing developed areas should be examined for their

impact on the costs of governmental services and antici-

pated revenue.

The stages of development contained in the Ventura

County General Plan, in their present form and as re-

vised later, are to be utilized to evaluate development

proposals and government actions which spur urban-

ization.

at Se

A revision of the Guidelines in 1976 emphasized that

urban development should occur within incorporated

cities. Applicants for development within a city’s sphere

of influence were directed to apply to the appropriate

city, instead of the county. Annexation of unincorpo-

rated properties was encouraged to ensure that urban

services are provided by municipalities rather than by

county service areas.

As of 1980, City’s General Plan designated the

subject area for residential development of a maximum

of 1,100 units and for a shopping center.

On September 15, 1981, County’s Open Space Plan

designated the area of the subject property as open

space. This designation generally allows for minimum

lot sizes of 10 acres. County also adopted City’s Gen-

eral Plan as the Simi Valley Area Plan (the SVAP)

portion of the County’s General Plan. The County’s

plan shows an “Urban Reserve overlay” for the area of

the property. This overlay contemplates residential

development, but it encourages developers to deal

directly with the appropriate city to proceed.

LBE alleges that in adopting the SVAP, the County

expressly recognized that the property should be devel-

oped with urban uses in the densities stated in the text

because: (1) the SVAP showed that over 80 percent of

the area’s valley floor had already been developed; (2)

private and public utility and sewer infrastructure had

been extended to meet the needs of the development and

is more than adequate to provide service at comfortabl.

levels of safety, adequacy and efficiency; (3) develop-

ment at the density designated is necessary to meet the

residential housing needs of the area and to fulfill the

County’s regional housing. obligations; (4) the County

recognized the City’s desire that the property be devel-

oped as shown in the City’s General Plan.

yy ©

In 1984 LBE purchased 250 acres of land located in

unincorporated territory adjacent to and within the

sphere of influence of City.?

LBE alleges that before it purchased the property, the

City agreed that if LBE submitted a specific plan for

1,100 units it would be approved. Pursuant to City’s

request, LBE prepared such a specific plan. It paid all

fees for that plan and for an Environmental Impact

Report (EIR) on the plan. The City Council then became

the applicant for the specific plan which provided for

development of 1,730 units on the combined properties.

To accommodate new grading ordinances, the specific

plan and a proposed general plan amendment were

modified to reduce the number of units to 1,059 and to

eliminate the shopping center.

LBE helped to pay for oversized infrastructure adja-

cent to its property which could service the development

project at the density set forth above. LBE shared in

engineering costs for easements it granted. All neces-

sary infrastructure and public services for the projected

residents of the property are in place. LBE asserts that

the property would be serviced by county service

districts.

In late 1985, City passed an urgency interim or-

dinance. The ordinance imposed a partial moratorium on

approval of various land use permits, particularly in

hillside areas, until City could review and revise its

General Plan. City enacted the ordinance after it

monitored development and land use trends in the

community. It realized that various land uses then

permitted might conflict with proposed revisions to its

General Plan.

3 Marr Ranch Associates purchased 2,538 acres in the same area.

a

City enacted the interim measure to consider those

proposals “in an atmosphere of land use stability ....”

LBE alleges that the ordinance “effectively imposed a

moratorium on all processing of major new projects

”

In July 1986, City also adopted a temporary growth

management plan which would severely limit the number

of building permits to be issued annually. The plan

takes note of population trends and includes provisions

for reevaluation in 1991 based on facts obtained from

the 1990 census. These facts are to be considered in

relation to the criteria set forth in the measure, in the

revised General Plan and in the County population

guidelines. The plan is effective until January 1, 1996.

The plan requires that a developer obtain approval of

its proposed project from City, among others, to become

eligible for a waiting list to apply for building permits.

The revised City General Plan, adopted in October

1988, designated approximately 325 units for LBE’s

property. LBE then prepared, but did not file, a tentative

map for 249 single family residences to meet the new

design criteria of City and County.

City now requires that another specific plan on the

entire property be prepared. LBE alleges that this

requirement is illegal.

On information and belief, LBE alleges that it would

take up to 10 years to proceed with the proposed 249-

unit development. LBE would be required to complete a

specific plan and an EIR, process other required land use

applications and get in line to compete with other devel-

opment applicants for available building permits.

LBE asserts. conclusional allegations that “[t]he

inescapable fate of delay” is clear and that its tremen-

dous carrying costs cannot be overcome. It alleges that

ai Q-

its property would diminish in value until it is worth

nothing.

Because it “recognized” the “impossibility of devel-

oping within the City’s jurisdiction, ...” LBE turned to

the County which “foreclosed all development of the

Property whatsoever.”

County amended its General Plan on May 24, 1988,

allegedly to foreclose LBE’s development project.

County temporarily rescinded the applicable area plan.

It downzoned much of the property to OS-160 (open

space zoning which allows one unit per 160 acres), and

it temporarily precluded all processing of any develop-

ment in the urban reserve overlay. Jt denied LBE’s

prescreening application which sought to amend the

County’s General Plan.

Around August 1988, County would not let LBE

make application to process the project through County.

County told LBE it must first apply for a general plan

amendment and promote the adoption of a new area plan

for Simi Valley. LBE alleges this could take two to

three years.

LBE applied for a prescreening application to seek the

general plan amendment. The County Board of Super-

visors considered LBE’s application on January 17,

1989, and denied the application, stating that any devel-

opment of the proposed project must occur in the City

after annexation. This has been the position of County

since 1969.

The Complaint

LBE recites these allegations to support its seven

causes of action. First, it alleges inverse condemnation.

LBE states that City and County’s actions in rescinding

the area plan, forbidding all development in the urban

-A 9-

reserve overlay, downzoning the property, imposing a de

facto or actual moratorium (on development) and impos-

ing a growth-control plan to preclude large scale residen-

tial development has resulted in a de facto taking in

violation of article I, sections 7 and 19 of the California

Constitution and of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amend-

ments to the United States Constitution.

LBE alleges that these actions deprive the subject

property of substantially all its value, renders it un-

marketable and forbids substantially all reasonable

economic beneficial use of the property, thereby thwart-

ing its reasonable investment-backed expectations.

The second cause of action is for denial of substantive

and procedural due process. LBE asserts that the defen-

dants have restricted the use of its property to open

Space without a legitimate purpose and without evidence

to support such action.

The third cause of action alleges denial of equal

protection because defendants have limited the use of

LBE’s property to open space in contrast to uses allowed

the owners of compara!\le properties in the County.

The fourth cause of action seeks relief for deprivation

of civil rights under 42 United States Code sections 1983

and 1988. LBE alleges that defendants knowingly and

wrongfully deprived it of due process, equal protection

and just compensation under the California and federal

constitutions under color of state law.

The fifth cause of action is captioned conspiracy to

deprive plaintiffs of civil rights. It realleges the various

actions of City and County as a pattern of conduct

intended to deprive LBE of its legal rights under color of

State law.

The sixth cause of action seeks declaratory and

injunctive relief as to the rights, duties, and obligations

-A 10-

among the parties regarding the various actions alleged

in the complaint.

Lastly, LBE seeks a writ of mandate under Code of

Civil Procedure section 1085 for abuse of discretion by

County in acting in the manner described above.

LBE alleges it exhausted all “reasonable” administra-

tive remedies; or, alternatively, that its attempts to

secure such relief would be “impractical and futile.”

DISCUSSION

To state a cause of action for inverse condemnation,

LBE must plead facts which show either that: (1) the

application of the general zoning laws to its property

does not substantially advance a legitimate state interest;

or (2) such laws deprive it of substantially all economi-

cally viable use of its land; or (3) it has been deprived of

reasonable investment-backed expectations for the

property because of such laws. (Agins v. Tiburon, supra,

447 U.S. at pp. 260, 262; also see Nollan v. California

Coastal Comm’n (1987) 483 U.S. 825, which refined the

first prong of the Agins test to require that the regulation

advance the precise state interest which avowedly

motivated it.)

No precise rule exists to determine when property has

been taken by inverse condemnation. (Agins v. Tiburon,

supra, 447 U.S. at pp. 260-261; MacDonald, Sommer &

Frates v. County of Yolo et al. (1986) 477 U.S. 340,

348-349.) We start with the proposition that government

regulations are presumed to be motivated by and to

reasonably serve their avowed purposed. (First English

II, supra, at p. 1372.) We then weigh the private interest

asserted against the public’s interest as shown in enact-

ments passed in the exercise of the state’s police powers.

Where the public benefits greatly, it is constitutional to

-A 11-

restrict the use of a person’s land. (/d., at pp. 1366-

1367, fn. 10.) In some cases, no compensation may be

required even if almost all uses are taken. (J/d., at

p. 1366.)

Facial Attack on Legislation

Local government legislation is constitutional on its

face if it bears “a substantial relationship to the public

welfare ...” and inflicts no irreparable injury on the

landowner. (Agins v. Tiburon, supra, 447 U.S. at p. 261;

Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co. (1926) 272 U.S. 365,

395-397.) This is true even where a substantial diminu-

tion in value of the property is alleged. (Agins, supra, at

p. 261.)

Both County’s Guidelines and City’s growth manage-

ment ordinances satisfy this test. The Guidelines require

the “efficient provision of urban services and sound

urban land use planning” to avoid “the problems and

costs associated with urban sprawl... .”

The criteria in the Guidelines are well designed to

accomplish precisely this legitimate purpose. They

require compact development within existing cities

which can closely link public services, employment and

cultural opportunities in an efficient and centralized

manner. Such development is intended to include and

preserve “satisfactory permanent open space areas... .”

LBE argues that County and City’s actions to thwart

LBE’s project are contrary to Government Code provi-

sions which support the development of housing, citing

Government Code sections 65583, 65580, and 65581.

Although these sections promote the development of

residential housing, such development is not encouraged

when it destroys needed open space and contributes to

urban sprawl. (See Gov. Code, § 65561, subd. (b).)

-A 12-

Government Code section 65561, subdivision (b)

promotes the enactment of local ordinances designed to

preserve open space; such ordinances discourage the

“premature and unnecessary conversion of open-space

land to urban uses ....” California recognizes that the

preservation of open space is necessary to assure “the

continued availability of land for the production of food

and fiber, for the enjoyment of scenic beauty, for recrea-

tion and for the use of natural resources.” (Gov. Code,

§ 65561, subd. (a).)

County’s Guidelines are an exercise of the govern-

ment’s police powers which substantially advance the

goals of Government Code section 65561, subdivision

(a) — to prevent the ill effects of poorly planned ur-

banization. (Agins v. Tiburon, supra, 447 U.S. at p. 261;

First English II, supra, at p. 1370.) To accomplish these

goals, the Guidelines urge landowners such as LBE to

apply for annexation to a city to assure that public

services will be properly and adequately provided by an

existing municipality.

City’s growth management ordinance is also designed

to accomplish these goals. The City expressly recog-

nizes the need for new jobs, improved shopping facilities

and housing opportunities for all the residents of the

community.

City enacted the ordinance (No. 638) “to protect the

unique, hill-surrounded environment; enhance the

quality of life; promote public health, safety or welfare

and the general well-being of the community ....” By

limiting the rate, distribution, quality and type of resi-

dential development on an annual basis, with periodic

reviews of the ongoing situation, City seeks “to improve

local air quality, reduce traffic demands ... and ensure

that future demands for such essential services as water,

sewers and the like are met... .”

-A 13-

Such government purposes, which protect the public

weal, have long been recognized as legitimate. (See

Agins v. Tiburon, supra, 447 U.S. at pp. 261-262, citing

Penn Central Transp. Co. v. New York City (1978) 438

U.S. 104, 129; Village of Belle Terra v. Boraas (1974)

416 U.S. 1, 9; Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co., supra, 272

U.S. at pp. 394-395.) Courts will not interfere with a

municipality’s determination of policy. (Associated

Home Builders Etc., Inc. v. City of Livermore (1976) 18

Cal.3d 582, 605.)

Ordinances which seek to preserve the surrounding

environment and which consider open space and the

density of development benefit both developers and the

public by “assuring careful and orderly development of

residential property with provision for open-space

areas.” (Agins v. Tiburon, supra, 447 U.S. at p. 262.)

Ripeness of Attack on Legislation as Applied

An attack on regulatory legislation as applied to a

particular parcel of property is not ripe for adjudication

in inverse condemnation unless the plaintiff shows that:

(1) the regulation has gone so far that it has accom-

plished a taking, and (2) that compensation tendered is

not just. (MacDonald, Sommer & Frates v. County of

Yolo et al., supra, 477 U.S. at p. 348; Lake Nacimiento

Ranch Co. v. San Luis Obispo Cty. (9th Cir. 1987) 841

F.2d 872, 876.)

LBE bears a heavy burden to show that its “as ap-

plied” attack is ripe. LBE must first show tha: City and

County have made a “final and authoritative determina-

tion of the type and intensity of development legally

permitted on the subject property.” (MacDonald,

Sommer & Frates v. County of Yolo et al., supra, 477

U.S. at p. 348.) “A court cannot determine whether a

-A 14-

regulation has gone ‘too far’ unless it knows how far the

regulation goes.” (/bid.)

The developer must establish that it has submitted at

least one meaningful application for a development

project which has been thoroughly rejected, and that it

has prosecuted at least one meaningful application for a

zoning variance, or something similar, which has been

finally denied. (Lake Nacimiento Ranch Co. v. San Luis

Obispo Cty., supra, 841 F.2d at pp. 876-877; see also

Williamson Planning Comm’n v. Hamilton Bank (1985)

473 U.S. 172, 187-188; Kinzli v. City of Santa Cruz (9th

Cir. 1987) 818 F.2d 1449, 1454, as amended at 830 F.2d

968.) Informal or tentative development proposals are

insufficient to meet these tests. (Lake Nacimiento,

supra, at p. 876.)

The test is not one of exhaustion of a particular

administrative remedy — whether the developer has

exhausted all administrative appeals regarding a particu-

lar application. The developer must show that it has

submitted the appropriate, meaningful applications

necessary to proceed with the particular project and that

it has received a final rejection of those applications.

(Williamson Planning Comm’n v. Hamilton Bank, supra,

473 U.S. at pp. 186-190; Lake Nacimiento Ranch Co. v.

San Luis Obispo Cty., supra, 84. ~.2d at pp. 876-877.)

The case of Kinzli v. City of Santa Cruz, supra, 818

F.2d 1449, a case similar to the instant one, illustrates

how these rules apply.

The Kinzli family owned land adjacent to the City of

Santa Cruz for many years. Gradually the property

became surrounded by urban development.

Through a stipulated judgment in eminent domain, the

city successfully obtained four acres of the property for

construction of a public street. The city promised the

Kinzlis that they could develop the property with high

-A 15-

density uses once the road was built. The city never

built the road.

In 1979, the voters passed a siow growth initiative

which limited the use of the property to open space until

1990. The measure precluded the city from providing

certain urban services in the area in which the property

was located.

The city enacted a greenbelt overlay ordinance to

implement the initiative. The ordinance set out the

requirements to obtain special use permits and the

conditions for extensions of urban services to the green-

belt area. Limited single family and accessory structures

could be built upon application for special permits.

High density development, formerly available and

sought by the Kinzlis, was forbidden.

The Kinzlis tried to sell the property on the condition

that residential building permits could be obtained. One

potential buyer abandoned an application he filed on

behalf of the Kinzlis because a government staff engi-

neer told him that the city could not provide water to the

property. The Kinzlis did not submit applications for

other uses.

In 1980, the Kinzlis sued the city charging that the

ordinance, and the city’s conduct regarding the condem-

nation proceedings, violated federal constitutional and

civil rights and rights under California laws.

At trial, the court discussed the merits of the taking

claim and denied it. The appellate court found that the

trial court erred in discussing the merits because the

claim was not ripe. Because the Kinzlis had not submit-

ted a “meaningful” development plan or an application

for a variance, the appellate court held that the claim

should have been dismissed. (See Kinzli v. City of Santa

Cruz, supra, 818 F.2d at p. 1455.) .

-A 16-

Failure to avail oneself of admiinistrative solutions,

which might obviate the need to consider constitutional

questions, renders a claim for inverse condemnation

unripe for adjudication. (Hodel v. Virginia Surface Min.

& Recl. Assn. (1981) 452 U.S. 264, 297.)

In MacDonald, Sommer & Frates v. County of Yolo et

al., supra, 477 U.S. 340, the Supreme court rejected as

unripe allegations that a city and county unconstitution-

ally restricted use of its property to open space when it

denied a tentative subdivision tract map to build 159

single and multiple family homes. (Pp. 344, 352, fn. 8.)

There, as here, the plaintiff urged that any application

for a zone change, a variance or other relief would be

futile. Its allegations that all principal and accessory

uses were no longer permitted and that its property had

no value were rejected as speculative and conclusional.

(Id., at pp. 345, 351, citing San Diego Gas & Electric

Co. v. San Diego (1981) 450 U.S. 621, 631-632, fn. 12;

and Williamson Planning Comm’n v. Hamilton Bank,

supra, 473 U.S. at pp. 187-188.)

Denial of approvals for a particular and relatively

intensive residential development, as here, cannot be

equated with a refusal to permit any beneficial use

whatsoever. (MacDonald, Sommer & Frates v. County

of Yolo et al., supra, 477 U.S. at p. 347.)

In the instant case, LBE has not submitted an applica-

tion for annexation to City even though the Guidelines,

since 1969, have urged developers who propose projects

like this one to do so. Nor has LBE applied for a zoning

change or variance. The open-space zoning ordinance at

issue here has been in effect for the subject property

since 1981. The revision of the General Plan is but a

temporary situation. If LBE does not want to wait, it

could apply for a variance to obtain a designation for

10-acre parcels per residential unit.

-A 17-

Nevertheless, LBE contends that County has fore-

closed ail developments of its property within County.

LBE relies on the following passage from the amended

general plan:

“The Urban Reserve overlay designation is applied to

all unincorporated land within a city’s adopted Sphere of

Influence. Although LAFCO has determined these areas

to be appropriate for eventual annexation and urbaniza-

tion, the Urban designation was not applied to all lands

within the LAFCO sphere boundaries because it could

result in urban development being permitted without

annexation. Accordingly, unincorporated lands within

spheres have been designated under this General Plan

either as Existing Community, Rural, Agricultural or

Open Space. Under these designations, therefore, more

intense development could not occur on affected lands

until they are annexed.”

This language does not foreclose all development, but

merely restates County’s position since 1969 on annexa-

tion. The growth management ordinance is a temporary,

partial moratorium on certain kinds of development.

If LBE successfully applied for annexation, it could

explore other possibilities for development under the

growth management ordinance. These possibilities may

not reflect what LBE desires to build. This, however,

does not constitute an unconstitutional taking. (See

Williamson Planning Comm’n v. Hamilton Bank, supra,

473 U.S. at pp. 187-188.) Proposals for affordable

housing and housing for seniors, for example, have

priority under the growth management ordinance.

Therefore, LBE’s claim of a regulatory taking, as ap-

plied, is not ripe. (Kinzli v. City of Santa Cruz, supra,

818 F.2d at pp. 1454-1455.)

-A 18-

LBE cannot take solace in First English I, supra,

which stated that damages may be available for tempo-

rary total takings. In that case, the California courts

assumed that a taking had already occurred. (See First

English I, supra, at p. 311.) Moreover, First English I,

supra, was expressly limited to its facts. Said the court:

“We limit our holding to the facts presented, and of

course do not deal with the quite different questions that

would arise in the case of normal delays in obtaining

building permits, changes in zoning ordinances, vari-

ances, and the like which are not before us.” (/d., at

p. 321.) The Supreme Court then remanded the case to

the California Supreme Court for further proceedings on

the question of whether there had been an unconstitu-

tional taking under the ordinance there in question.

Neither is it “ ‘clear beyond peradventure ...°” that

the growth management ordinance would result in such

excessive delay that it can be assumed that all of the

property’s beneficial uses have presently been destroyed.

(See Kinzli v. City of Santa Cruz, supra, 818 F.2d at

p. 1454, fn. 5, citing Norco Construction, Inc. v. King

County (9th Cir. 1986) 801 F.2d 1143, 1145.) The

instant temporary ordinance calls for a reevaluation in

1991 of its restrictions, pursuant to the 1990 census and

it automatically expires in 1996. Unless a temporary

moratorium is total and is unreasonable in purpose,

duration or scope, the restrictions it places on develop-

ment are not compensable. (First English II, supra, at

pp. 1372-1373.)

In First English II, supra, the county enacted a

temporary moratorium on building after a flood so that it

could conduct a study of the situation. This did not

constitute an unconstitutional taking. No taking results

when a partial moratorium measure is enacted to protect

the public health, safety or morals. (/d., at p. 1362; see

-A 19-

also Associated Home Builders Etc., Inc. v. City of

Livermore, supra, 18 Cal.3d 582.)

Loss of Substantially All Economic Use

The second prong of the Agins taking test is whether

the regulations deny the property owner substantially all

economically viable use of the land. (Agins v. Tiburon,

supra, 447 U.S. at p. 260.) The meaning of this concept

is elusive, but the general rule is that “the existence of

permissible uses determines whether a development

restriction denies a property holder the economically

viable use of its property.” (Lake Nacimiento Ranch Co.

v. San Luis Obispo Cty., supra, 841 F.2d at p. 877, citing

cases.)

The denial of the highest and best use does not consti-

tute an unconstitutional taking of the _ property.

(Macleod v. Santa Clara County (9th Cir. 1984) 749

F.2d 541, 548.) Even where there is a very substantial

diminution in the value of land, there is no taking. (/d.,

at pp. 547-548, citing Hadacheck v. Sebastian (1915)

239 U.S. 394 — diminution in value from $800,000 to

$60,000 not a taking; William C. Haas v. City & Cty. of

San Francisco (9th Cir. 1979) 605 F.2d 1117, 1120 —

diminution in value from $2 million to $100,000 not a

taking.) The burden of proof is on the applicant, who

faces an uphill battle. (Lake Nacimiento Ranch Co. v.

San Luis Obispo Cty, supra, 841 F.2d at p. 877.)

In MacLeod v. Santa Clara County, supra, 749 F.2d

541, MacLeod purchased cattle grazing property and

found it unprofitable. At one time the county granted

him a use permit to harvest hardwood, which he also

found to be unprofitable. Then, MacLeod attempted to

farm the land, which he found infeasible due to irriga-

tion problems.

-A 20-

He then successfully applied to the state for permis-

sion to harvest timber. He entered into a contract to sell

harvested timber to a third party. County, citing various

public health, safety and welfare concerns, denied him a

use permit. MacLeod sued for inverse condemnation.

The court, ruling for the county, found that the denial

of the permit application did not interfere with other

primary objectives; (1) holding the property for invest-

ment purposes, and (2) cattle grazing. (MacLeod v.

Santa Clara County, supra, 749 F.2d at p. 547.)

In William C. Haas v. City & Cty. of San Francisco,

supra, 605 F.2d 1117, the appellant claimed that rezon-

ing and imposition of other land use restrictions so

diminished the value of his investment property that it

amounted to a taking. The court disagreed.

On June 28, 1971, Haas contracted to purchase a large

unimproved parcel of land in San Francisco. The con-

tract was conditioned on the procurement of a valid site

permit for his proposed high-rise development project.

As of July 7, 1971, the date of application for the

permit, the property was zoned for the proposed use.

Nonetheless, the planning commission denied the permit

because the project “would have a detrimental effect on

the City as a whole and upon the residents and property

of the neighborhood.” (William C. Haas v. City & Cty.

of San Francisco, supra, 605 F.2d at p. 1119.) The city

relied on a recent urban design plan developed for

inclusion in the city’s master plan.

Haas appealed on August 13, 1971. Two weeks later

the commission formally adopted the urban design plan.

On August 26, 1971, interim height and bulk restrictions

were adopted by the commission, and Haas withdrew the

application.

On November 9, 1971, Haas sut

the commission to comply with the new height

limitations. The commission approved the application

for a site permit on the revised plans, and the board of

permit appeals denied a petition for rehearing sought by

Surrounding residents. Haas then bought the land for

$1,650,000, plus various fees. He broke ground and

commenced construction.

A neighborhood improvement association filed a wat

petition on April 20, 1972, on the growagd that Haas

failed to comply with the California Environmesta!

Quality Acts of 1970 and 1972. Although he prevauiga

in the trial court, Haas lost on all appeals. The caurrs

held that he did not state a sufficient claim for a vested

right despite the site permit, because he had not under-

taken “substantial construction” nor had he %ncurrec

substantial liabilities. Haas had to start anéw

By then, however, Haas faced “insurmountable ®

barriers” to the proposed project because the planning»

commission had adopted a 40-foot height restriction

density controls and had rezoned the property. Haas

sued to challenge the rezoning and other land\use restric-

tions On constitutional grounds. He ogre « that the

combined impact of these restrictions des

\

value of his property investment. |

The court held that, as a matter of law, nq Stated no

claim for iaverse condemnation. His _n us conten-

syed the

oe

tions all rested on the premise that the rezoning and the

land use restrictions were so grossly disproportionate in ,

their detriment to him, as opposed to the benefits con-

ceivably inured to the public’s general welfare, that they

constituted a taking. (William C. Haas v. City & Cry

San Francisco, supra, 605 F.2d at p. 1120.)

The Haas court upheld the land use regulations |

because they were reasonably related to health, safety

morals or general welfare. Such police power regula

-A 22-

tions are routinely upheld even when they nearly destroy

or severely affect recognized real property interest or

flatly prohibit the most beneficial use. (William C. Haas

v. City & Cty. of San Francisco, supra, 605 F.2d at

p. 1120.) Although the standard of reasonable relation is

lower than that set forth recently by the Supreme Court

in Agins and Nollan, the purposes of a comprehensive

plan to decrease population density, to preserve natural

resources, and to promote aesthetics are sufficient to

Support the restrictions which have been enacted here as

a matter of law. (/d. at pp. 1120-1121.)

LBE, like Haas, argued it was left with no economi-

cally viable use. Even if it wefe true that LBE’s profit

may be severely reduced, and we find this assertion

speculative, it would fail to meet the test that there be no

viable economic use of the property. This rule holds

true even if the zoning restrictions preclude recovery of

the initial investment made. (William C. Haas v. City &

Cty. of San Francisco, supra, 605 F.2d at pp. 1120-

1121.)

The restrictions in the growth management ordinance

and the open-space zoning designations reveal the

availability of beneficial uses upon annexation, such as

senior or affordable housing. Although County has

downzoned most of the subject property to O-S 160

(open-space designation permitting one residential

Structure per 160 acres of land), LBE may apply for a

zoning variance for permissible 10-acre parcels. (And

see Lake Nacimiento Ranch Co. v. San Luis Obispo Cty.,

supra, 841 F.2d at p. 877 — government entities need

not show the availability of such uses.)

The availability of variances or of other additional

special uses strongly suggests there are other economi-

cally beneficial uses not expressly included in such

ordinances. (Lake Nacimiento Ranch Co. v. San Luis

Obispo Cty., supra, 841 F.2d at p. 877.)

-A 23-

Reasonable Investment-Backed Expectations

LBE opines that its reasonable investment-backed

expectations (RIBE), to profitably build out a subdivi-

sion of homes, has been rendered economically in-

feasible because of delays caused by the laws and the

conduct of defendants.

There is considerable controversy whether courts

should consider a landowner’s profit expectations in an

inverse condemnation action. (See Lake Nacimiento

Ranch Co. v. San Luis Obispo Cty., supra, 841 F.2d at

pp. 877-878, esp. fn. 4, citing Williamson Planning

Comm’n v. Hamilton Bank, supra, 473 U.S. at pp. 190-

191, fn. 12; and cf. Keystone Coal Association v.

DeBenedictis (1987) 480 U.S. 470, 499.)

Although in some cases it may be a legitimate con-

sideration, here LBE has not stated facts which enable it

to proceed on this theory.

Although the developer in Avco Community

Developers, Inc. v. South Coast Regional Com. (1976)

17 Cal.3d 785, spent more that $2 million in building

infrastructure and had obtained a final map as well as a

permit to complete rough grading, the court concluded

that its failure to obtain a permit from the coastal com-

mission and obtain final building permits left it without

a vested interest upon which it could rely. (P. 793.)

The court so held even though it found that the

approvals Avco had previously received led Avco to

reasonably expect it would be allowed to build without

further discretionary approvals. (Avco Community

Developers, Inc. v. South Coast Regional Com., supra,

17 Cal.3d at p. 790.) Under Avco, one cannot obtain a

vested right to build in reliance on “the assurances of

”

city officials that construction ... was permitted, ...” or

-A 24-

on spending large sums for preliminary development

costs. (/d., at p. 792.)

According to Avco, reasonable investment-backed

interests depend upon performing substantial work and

incurring substantial liabilities based on good faith

reliance on the actual issuance of building permits in

accord with the laws applicable at the time of their

issuance. (Avco Community Developers, Inc. v. South

Coast Regional Com., supra, 17 Cal.3d at pp. 791-792.)

In MacDonald, Sommer & Frates v. County of Yolo et

al., supra, 477 U.S. at page 349, the Supreme Court

stated that until the landowner has obtained a final

decision regarding the application of zoning and subdivi-

sion regulations to his property, it is impossible to know

whether the land retains any reasonable beneficial use or

whether his reasonable investment-backed expectations

have been destroyed. LBE has not submitted an applica-

tion for annexation, much less applied for and obtained

an actual building permit. (See also Agins v. Tiburon,

supra, 447 U.S. at p. 262.)

In MacLeod v. Santa Clara County, supra, 749 F.2d

541, all three bases of this theory are discussed. On the

vested rights theory, the court said that although

MacLeod had every reason to believe his application (for

a county use permit to harvest timber) would be granted,

he “must have been aware that the standards and condi-

tions governing the issuance of the permit might cause

his application to be denied.” (/d., at p. 548.)

On the theory of economic viability, the court said

that denial of the permit did not interfere either with

holding the property for investment purposes or with the

interim, although unprofitable, use of cattle grazing.

(MacLeod v. Santa Clara County, supra, 749 F.2d at

pp. 546-548.) Diminution in expected value, even if that

loss is severe, does not constitute a taking. (/d., at

p. 548, citing Hadacheck v. Sebastian, supra, 239 U.S.

-A 25-

394 — $800,000 investment became worth $60,000; and

William C. Haas v. City & Cty. of San Francisco, supra,

605 F.2d at p. 1120 — $2 million investment became

worth $100,000.)

As here, the gravemen of MacLeod’s contention was

that a taking requiring compensation occurred “because

he has been denied the opportunity to exploit his prop-

erty by pursuing a particular project he had come to

believe would be available for development. This

argument fails.” (MacLeod v. Santa Clara County,

supra, 749 F.2d at p. 548; see esp. William C. Haas v.

City & Cty. of San Francisco, supra, 605 F.2d at

pp. 1120-1121; and also MacDonald, Sommer & Frates

v. County of Yolo et al., supra, 477 U.S. at p. 347.)

iS me

[The] [p]rediction of profitability is essentially a

matter of reasoned speculation that courts are not espe-

cially competent to perform....’” (MacLeod v. Santa

Clara County, supra, 749 F.2d at p. 548, quoting Andrus

v. Allard (1979) 444 U.S. 51, 66; and see Hodel v.

Virginia Surface Min. & Recl. Assn., supra, 452 U.S. at

pp. 296-297.) Since Penn Central Transp. Co. v. New

York City, supra, 438 U.S. 104, the Supreme Court has

rejected such arguments as “ ‘quite simply untenable.’ ”

(MacLeod, supra, at p. 548, quoting Penn Central

Transp. Co. v. New York City, supra, 438 U.S. at

p. 130.) The Fifth Amendment “is not a panacea for

less-than-perfect investments or business opportunities.”

(Id., at p. 549.)

Regardless of how we analyze RIBE, we come up

with the same conclusion — LBE has not stated facts

which support recovery for inverse condemnation as a

matter of law.

-A 26-

Due Process

LBE’s due process allegations are conclusional,

premature and, upon our review of the judicially-noticed

legislation, incorrect as a matter of law. (Kinzli v. City

of Santa Cruz, supra, 818 F.2d at p. 1456, citing the

Supreme Court in Williamson Planning Comm’n v.

Hamilton Bank, supra, 473 U.S. at p. 199.)

Even if a Fifth Amendment takings claim could

arguably be recast as one sounding in substantive due

process, it would be premature. (Kinzli v. City of Santa

Cruz, supra, 818 F.2d at p. 1456.) And, there can be no

denial of procedural due process, under the Fourteenth

Amendment, until the substantive due process claim is

ripe. ([bid.)

An ordinance that is reasonably related to the public

welfare of the population it significantly affects is

constitutional. (Associated Home Builders Etc., Inc. v.

City of Livermore, supra, 18 Cal.3d at pp. 606-607; alsu

see McMillan v. Goleta Water Dist. (9th Cir. 1986) 792

F.2d 1453, 1457.) The Guidelines and the growth

management initiative are reasonably related to the

public welfare.

Equal Protection

LBE has insufficiently and improperly alleged that

defendants have violated the equal protection clause of

the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Con-

Stitution. LBE alleged that defendants have arbitrarily

set aside its property as open space as opposed to the use

allowed owners of other comparable property.

Absent the allegation of the invasion of fundamental

rights or the existence of a suspect classification, the

right to equal protection is not violated unless the

-A 27-

classification made bears no rational relationship to a

legitimate state interest. (McMillan v. Goleta Water

Dist., supra, 792 F.2d at p. 1456; Pennell v. San Jose

(1988) 485 U.S. 1, 14, citing Vance v. Bradley (1979)

440 U.S. 93.) This is true even if some discrimination is

alleged. (McMillan, supra, at p. 1456.)

Here, the classification of the land as open space,

which was made long before LBE purchased it, is ration-

ally celated to the legitimate state interest in preventing

urban sprawl and its concomitant effects as outlined in

the Guidelines and the growth management ordinance.

The allegation that defendants have treated LBE in a

discriminatory manner as opposed to others is ioo vague.

Although LBE’s second amended complaint, proffered at

the motion for reconsideration, more specifically alleged

that owners of other property have been treated more

equitably, there are material differences among these

projects which render the allegation unsupportable as a

matter of law.

In one instance, the development was never approved.

In the other instances, sewer and water are being pro-

vided to the properties by facilities governed by entities

other than the City Council.

The instant property, however, would likely be

serviced by the Simi Valley County Sanitation District

and the Waterworks District Number 8, both of which

are governed by the City Council of Simi Valley. The

requirement of annexation is entirely consistent with this

Situation, as explained in the Guidelines.

Civil Rights

LBE’s allegation that it has been deprived of due

process, equal protection and just compensation in

inverse condemnation under color of state law, pursuant

-A 28-

to title 42 United States Code sections 1983 and 1988, is

not ripe because there has been no final decision on

meaningful applications. (See Williamson Planning

Comm'n v. Hamilton Bank, supra, 473 U.S. at pp. 187-

188.)

Conspiracy

LBE alleges a conspiracy among the defendants to

perform the activities previously alleged. There is no

separate cause of action for civil conspiracy apart form

overt acts done in furtherance of activities which are

legally compensable. (Widdows v. Kech (1968) 263

Cal.App.2d 228, 234; and see Escamilla v. City of Santa

Ana (C.D.Cal. 1985) 606 F.Supp. 928, regarding 42

United States Code section 1983 allegations.) Because

we find LBE has not alleged any actionable activities,

we hold that there is no actionable conspiracy.

Relief by Writ, Injunction and Declaratory Relief

Because there is no basis in law or equity to grant

relief under the facts alleged, there is no ground upon

which we can grant relief by way of writ, injunction or

declaration.

ILBE has sued City and County because of disap-

po.sted expectations concerning its development plans.

LBE states no cause of action even if it has expended

substantial sums on infrastructure and _ preapproval

planning, and even though there will be some delay in

bringing some development proposal to fruition. These

expenditures and delays are the normal incidents of

development projects and are not actionable, per se.

We affirm the judgment as to County.

EXHIBIT B

RE:

M4.

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

COURT OF APPEAL

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT

ROBERT N. WILSON, CLERK

DIVISION: 6

Hamilton & Samuels B046558

Karen J. Lee

4000 Macarthur Blvd.

Suite 5700

Newport Beach, CA. 92660

Simi Valley, City of

VS.

Ventura County Superior Court

Long Beach Equities, Inc.

2 Civil B046558

Ventura No. 103364

2 2.

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

COURT OF APPEAL

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT

ROBERT N. WILSON, CLERK

DIVISION: 6 DATE: 04/12/91

Hamilton & Samuels

Karen J. Lee

4000 Macarthur Blvd.

Suite 5700

Newport Beach, CA. 92660

RE: Long Beach Equities, Inc.

VS.

Ventura, County of

2 Civil B045047

Ventura No 103364

THE COURT:

THE PETITION FOR REHEARING IS GRANTED

EXHIBIT C

fl ++

2

f

: ae : 7 1 : A

: (ai yea bas oe Poe eee oe we ee

ee ee es Te hUhLheTCTTCOh i. _

a

-C 1-

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL

OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION SIX

COURT OF APPEAL-SECOND DIST.

FILED

JUN 27 1991

ROBERT N. WILSON, Clerk

Deputy Clerk

LONG BEACH EQUITIES, INC., etc.,

Plaintiff and Appellant,

¥v.

COUNTY OF VENTURA, et al.,

Defendants and Respondents.

2d Civil No. B045047

(Super. Ct. No. 103364)

(Ventura County)

~—--

a

THE CITY OF SIMI VALLEY, et al.

Petitioners,

¥v.

SUPERIOR COURT OF THE

COUNTY OF VENTURA,

Respondent.

LONG BEACH EQUITIES, INC., et al.,

; Real Parties in Interest.

ae

—"*

No. B046558

4,

OPINION ON REHEARING

Long Beach Equities, Inc. (LBE) desires to build 249

single-family residences on a 250-acre parcel of land it

owns adjacent to the City of Simi Valley (City). LBE

contends that land use regulations of the County of

Ventura (County) and City, on their face and as applied,

will so greatly delay its development plans as to render

them economically infeasible.

We hold that this suit is not ripe for adjudication. We

affirm the judgment for County and grant City’s petition

for issuance of a writ of mandate to compel the trial

court to enter an order sustaining City’s demurrer with-

out leave to amend.

LBE sued these entities seeking damages for inverse

condemnation, among other things.’ The trial court

sustained County’s demurrer to LBE’s first amended

complaint without leave to amend. LBE moved for

reconsideration and proffered a second amended com-

plaint. The court denied the motion and sustained City’s

demurrer without leave as to several counts, but over-

ruled that demurrer on counts for inverse condemnation,

denial of due process and declaratory and injunctive

relief.

LBE appealed the judgment entered on County’s

demurrer and the ruling rendered on its motion for

reconsideration. City filed a petition for a writ of

mandate to compel the trial court to vacate its order

overruling the demurrer. We have consolidated these

actions on appeal in the interest of judicial economy and

' Complainant Marr Ranch Associates is not a party to this appeal.

Also, LBE has sued the County Board of Supervisors, the Ventura

Planning Commission and the Simi Valley City Council. We shall

refer to all County and City defendants as County and City,

respectively.

3

-C 3-

to aid in the resolution of this lawsuit. (Omaha Indem-

nity Co. v. Superior Court (1989) 209 Cal.App.3d 1266,

1272; see 9 Witkin, Cal. Procedure (3d ed. 1985)

Appeal, § 62, pp. 86-87, § 64, pp. 88-89, § 65, pp.

89-90.)

STANDARDS OF REVIEW

LBE has the burden to prove that the trial court

abused its discretion in sustaining County’s demurrer

without leave to amend. (Goodman v. Kennedy (1976)

18 Cal.3d 335, 349.) The City has the burden to show

that the trial court’s order is erroneous as a matter of law

and that it will suffer harm which cannot be corrected on

further appeal. (Omaha Indemnity Co. v. Superior

Court, supra, 209 Cal.App.3d at pp. 1273-1274.)

We must construe the allegations of LBE’s volumi-

nous complaint liberally to attain substantial justice

among the parties. (Code Civ. Proc., § 452.) We deem

true all material and properly pleaded facts. (Pan

Pacific Properties, Inc. v. County of Santa Cruz (1978)

81 Cal.App.3d 244, 251.) We also consider all docu-

ments which have been determined by the trial court as

appropriate for judicial notice, many of which are men-

tioned in the complaint. (Code Civ. Proc., § 430.30;

First English Evangelical Lutheran Church v. County of

Los Angeles (1989) 210 Cal.App.3d 1353, 1368.)? They

include resolutions, reports and other official acts of

County and City. (Pan Pacific, supra, at p. 25S, fn. 2.)

2 The California Court of Appeal heard First English Evangelical

_Lutheran Church v. County of Los Angeles, supra, 210 Cal.App.3d

1353 (hereinafter cited as First English IT) on remand from the

United States Supreme Court in First Lutheran Church v. Los

Angeles County (1987) 482 U.S. 304 (hereinafter cited as First

English 1).

-C 4-

We may not consider conclusions of fact or law,

opinions, speculation or allegations which are contrary

either to law or to judicially-noticed facts. (See Pan

Pacific Properties, Inc. v. County of Santa Cruz, supra,

81 Cal.App.3d at pp. 251, 255, fn. 2; Agins v. Tiburon

(1980) 447 U.S. 255, 259, fn. 6.)

The Complaint — The Facts

On June 25, 1969, the Ventura County Planning

Commission first adopted Guidelines for Orderly Urban

Development (Guidelines). The Guidelines provide

policies, Standards and criteria to evaluate applications

for zone changes from rural to urban land use clas-

sifications and for “related land use development

matters.”

The Guidelines initially were adopted to assure the

“efficient provision of urban services and sound urban

land use planning” and to avoid “the problems and costs

associated with urban sprawl” through coordinated

planning with other local government entities.

Those Guidelines provided that urban growth of

developing communities in Ventura County should

proceed in a compact and logically expanding form

which includes satisfactory permanent opem space areas

within physically developed land.

The revised Guidelines of 1976 and 1985 continued

the theme that urban development should occur within

existing, incorporated cities because cities provide a full

range of municipal services. County removed the

language regarding retention of permanent open space

within developed land in its revised Guidelines.

According to the Guidelines, land uses which would

be allowed by County should be equal to or more restric-

tive tham those uses allowed by City within a city’s

-C §-

sphere of influence. Before new urban development

proceeds, the land should be annexed to City to ensure

that the full range of urban services are provided by

municipalities. Within “areas of interest” to a City, as

here, such development should be allowed only within

existing communities.

The Ventura County General Plan, with its discussion

of stages of development, may be used as a tool to

evaluate proposals for urban development.

As of 1980, City’s General Plan designated the

subject area for residential development of a maximum

of 1,100 units and for a shopping center. On September

15, 1981, County’s Open Space Plan designated the

subject property as having an “Urban Reserve overlay.”

This overlay contemplates residential development, but

it encourages developers to deal directly with the appro-

priate city to proceed. County also adopted City’s

General Plan as the Simi Valley Area Plan (the SVAP)

portion of the County’s General Plan.

LBE alleges that in adopting the SVAP, the County

expressly recognized that the property should be devel-

oped with urban uses in the densities stated in the text

because: (1) the SVAP showed that over 80 percent of

the area’s valley floor had already been developed; (2)

private and public utility and sewer infrastructure had

been extended to meet the needs of the development and

is more than adequate to provide service at comfortable

levels of safety, adequacy and efficiency; (3) develop-

ment at the density designated is necessary to meet the

residential housing needs of the area and to fulfill the

County’s regional housing obligations; (4) the County

recognized the City’s desire that the property be devel-

oped as shown in the City’s General Plan.

-C 6-

In 1984 LBE purchased the subject 250 acres of land

located in unincorporated territory adjacent to and within

the “areas of interest” of City.?

LBE alleges that before it purchased the property, the

City agreed that if LBE submitted a specific plan for

1,100 units, it would be approved. Pursuant to City’s

request, LBE prepared such a specific plan. It paid all

fees for that plan and for an environmental impact report

(EIR) on the plan.

The City Council then became the applicant for the

specific plan which provided for development of 1,730

units. To accommodate new grading ordinances, the

specific plan and a proposed General Plan amendment

were modified to reduce the number of units to 1,059

and to eliminate the shopping center.

LBE helped to pay for oversized infrastructure adja-

cent to its property which could service the development

project at the density set forth above. LBE shared in

engineering costs for easements it granted. All neces-

sary infrastructure and public services for the projected

residents of the property are now in place. LBE asserts

that the property could be serviced by county service

districts.

In late 1985, City passed an urgency interim ordi-

nance. The ordinance imposed a partial moratorium on

providing approval for various land use permits, particu-

larly in hillside areas, until City could review and revise

its General Plan. City enacted the ordinance after it

monitored development and land use trends in the

community. It realized that various land uses then

permitted might conflict with proposed revisions to its

General Plan. City wanted to consider those uses “in an

Marr Ranch Associates purchased approximately 2,500 acres in

the same area.

Py a

atmosphere of land use stability ....” LBE alleges that

the ordinance “effectively imposed a moratorium on all

processing of major new projects” including its own

project, “until the City could review and revise its

General Plan.”

In July 1986, City adopted a temporary growth man-

agement plan which would severely limit the number of

building permits to be issued annually. The plan takes

note of population trends and includes provisions for

reevaluation in 1991 based on facts obtained from the

1990 census. Those facts are to be considered in relation

to the criteria set forth in the measure, in the revised

General Plan and in the County population guidelines.

The plan is effective until January 1, 1996.

The plan requires that a developer obtain approval of

its proposed project from City, among others, to become

eligible for a waiting list to apply for building permits.

The revised City General Plan, adopted in October

1988, designated approximately 325 units for LBE’s

property. LBE then prepared, but did not file, a tentative

map for 249 single family residences to meet the new

design criteria of City and County.

City now requires that another specific plan on the

entire property be prepared. LBE alleges that this

requirement is illegal, and on information and belief

alleges that it would take up to 10 years to proceed with

the proposed 249-unit development. LBE would be

required to complete a specific plan and an EIR, process

other required land use applications and get in line to

compete with other development applicants for available

building permits.

LBE asserts that “[t]he inescapable fate of delay” is

clear and that its tremendous carrying costs cannot be

overcome. It alleges that its property would diminish in

value until it is worth nothing.

-C 8-

Because it “recognized” the “impossibility of devel-

oping within the City’s jurisdiction, ...” LBE turned to

the County which “foreclosed all development of the

Property whatsoever.’

County amended its General Plan on May 24, 1988,

allegedly to foreclose LBE’s development project.

County downzoned much of the property to OS-160

(open space zoning which allows one unit per 160

acres).

Around August 1988, County would not let LBE

make application to process the project through County.

County told LBE it must first apply for a General Plan

amendment and promote the adoption of a new area plan

for Simi Valley. LBE alleges it was told that it would

take two to three years to adopt a new area plan.

LBE began to seek a General Plan amendment to

amend the County General Plan for development of the

250-acre parcel. The County Board of Supervisors

considered LBE’s prescreening application on January

17, 1989, and denied it, stating that any development of

the proposed project must occur in the City after

annexation.

The Complaint — The Theory

LBE recites the foregoing allegations to support its

seven causes of action. The first is for inverse condem-

nation. LBE states that City and County’s actions in

rescinding the area plan, forbidding all development in

the urban reserve overlay, downzoning the property,

imposing a de facto or actual moratorium (on develop-

ment) and imposing a growth-control plan to preclude

large scale residential development has resulted in a de

facto taking in violation of article I, sections 7 and 19 of

-C 9-

the California Constitution and of the Fifth and Four-

teenth Amendments to the United States Constitution.

LBE alleges that these actions deprive the subject

property of substantially all its value, renders it un-

marketable and forbids substantially all reasonable

economic beneficial use of the property, thereby thwart-

ing its reasonable investment-backed expectations.

The second cause of action is for denial of substantive

and procedural due process. LBE asserts that the defen-

dants have restricted the use of its property to to open

space without a legitimate purpose and without evidence

to support such action.

The third cause of action alleges denial of equal

protection because defendants have limited the use of

LBE’s property to open space in contrast to uses allowed

the owners of comparable properties in the County.

The fourth cause of action seeks relief for deprivation

of civil rights under 42 United States Code sections 1983

and 1988. LBE alleges that defendants knowingly and

wrongfully deprived it of due process, equal protection

and just compensation under the California and federal

constitutions under color of state law.

The fifth cause of action is captioned conspiracy to

deprive plaintiffs of civil rights. It realleges the various

actions of City and County as a pattern of conduct

intended to deprive LBE of its legal rights under color of

State law.

The sixth cause of action seeks declaratory and

injunctive relief as to the rights, duties and obligations

among the parties regarding the various actions alleged

in the complaint.

Lastly, LBE seeks a writ of mandate under Code of

Civil Procedure section 1085 for abuse of discretion by

County in acting in the manner described above.

-C 10-

LBE alleges that the City and County have imposed

“an ever changing series of obstacles on the develop-

ment of the Property,” and have therefore made

“development of the Property a practical impossibility

..” Further, LBE alleges it “exhausted all reasonable

administrative remedies,” and “[f]urther attempts to

secure relief through administrative procedures

would be totally impractical and futile.”

DISCUSSION

To state a cause of action for inverse condemnation,

LBE must plead facts which show either that: (1) the

application of the general zoning laws to its property

does not substantially advance a legitimate state interest;

or (2) such laws deprive it of substantially all economi-

cally viable use of its land. (Agins v. Tiburon, supra,

447 U.S. at p. 260; also see Nollan v. California Coastal

Comm’n (1987) 483 U.S. 825, which refined the first

prong of the Agins test to require that the regulation

advance the precise state interest which avowedly

motivated it.)

No precise rule exists to determine when property has

been taken by inverse condemnation. (Agins v. Tiburon,

supra, 447 U.S. at pp. 260-261; MacDonald, Sommer &

Frates v. County of Yolo et al. (1986) 477 U.S. 340,

348-349.) We start with the proposition that government

regulations are presumed to be motivated by and to

reasonably serve their avowed purposed. (First English

IT, supra, at p. 1372.) We then weigh the private interest

asserted against the public’s interest as shown in enact-

ments passed in the exercise of the state’s police powers.

Where the public benefits greatly, it is constitutional to

restrict the use of one’s land. (/d., at pp. 1366-1367, fn.

10.) In some cases, no compensation may be required

even if almost all uses are taken. (/d., at p. 1366.)

-C 11-

Facial Attack on Legislation

Local government legislation is constitutional on its

face if it bears “a substantial relationship to the public

welfare ...” and inflicts no irreparable injury on the

landowner. (Agins v. Tiburon, supra, 447 U.S. at p. 261;

Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co. (1926) 272 U.S. 365,

395-397.) This is true even where a substantial diminu-

tion in value of the property is alleged. (Agins, supra, at

p. 261.)

Both County’s Guidelines and City’s Growth Man-

agement Ordinance satisfy this test. The County enacted

the Guidelines to promote efficient and effective deliv-

ery of community services and to conserve the resources

of County by encouraging urban development to occur

within cities. The Guidelines emphasize annexation as a

means to accomplish these purposes.

City enacted its ordinance “to protect the unique,

hill-surrounded environment; enhance the quality of life;

promote public health, safety or welfare and the general

well-being of the community ....” By limiting the rate,

distribution, quality and type of residential development

on an annual basis, with periodic reviews of the ongoing

situation, City seeks “to improve local air quality, reduce

traffic demands ... and ensure that future demands for

such essential services as water, sewers and the like are

MR.

Courts have long recognized the legitimacy of such

ordinances, because such laws are designed to protect

the public weal. (See Agins v. Tiburon, supra, 447 U.S.

at pp. 261-262, citing Penn Central Transp. Co. v. New

York City (1978) 438 U.S. 104, 129; Village of Belle

Terre v. Boraas (1974) 416 U.S. 1, 9; Euclid v. Ambler

Realty Co., supra, 272 U.S. at pp. 394-395.) Courts will

not interfere with a municipality’s determination of

-C 12-

policy. (Associated Home Builders Etc., Inc. v. City of

Livermore (1976) 18 Cal.3d 582, 605.)

LBE argues that County and City’s actions are de-

signed to thwart LBE’s project and that they are contrary

to Government Code provisions which support the

development of housing, citing Government Code sec-

tions 65583, 65580, and 65581. Although these sections

promote the development of residential housing, such

development is not encouraged when it fails to conserve

needed open space and contributes to urban sprawl. (See

Gov. Code, § 65560, et seq.)

The state also seeks to assure that open space is

conserved wherever possible through open space plans.

(Gov. Code, § 65562.) A “ ‘[l]ocal open-space plan’ is

the open-space element of a county or city general plan

.... (Gov. Code, § 65560, subd. (a).) Government

Code section 65560, subdivision (b) states that open

space is defined to mean, inter alia, “any parcel or area

of land ... essentially unimproved and devoted to an

Open-space use as defined in this section, and which is

designated on a local [or] regional ... open-space plan

as any of the following: ... (4) Open space for public

health and safety, including, but not limited to, areas ...

required for the protection of water quality and ... areas

required for the protection and enhancement of air

quality.”

The Guidelines and the Growth Management Ordi-

nance express local legislative determinations: 1. to

assure that land continues to be available for the use of

natural resources (Gov. Code, § 65561, subd. (a)); 2. to

discourage premature and unnecessary conversion of

open-space land to urban uses and to discourage noncon-

tiguous development patterns (§ 65561, subd. (b)), even

though this project is contiguous to developed land; and

3. to preserve valuable open space land by adoption and

-C 13-

Strict administration of such ordinances or by other

appropriate means (§ 65561, subd. (c)).

The Guidelines substantially advance these goals by

encouraging urban development only within cities to

asure the efficient and effective delivery of a full range

of municipal services. Although the Growth Manage-

ment Ordinance expressly acknowledges the need for

new jobs, improved shopping facilities and housing

opportunities for all the residents of the community, it

also recognizes the need to limit growth to preserve

water and air quality. (See Gov. Code, § 65560, subd.

(b)(4).) Such legislative action is well designed to

prevent the ill effects of poorly planned urbanization.

(Agins v. Tiburon, supra, 447 U.S. at p. 261; First

English II, supra, at p. 1370.)

LBE’s allegations state that as of 1980 the City’s

General Plan slated a portion of the subject property for

residential development. LBE also alleged that as of

September 1981, the County adopted the City’s General

Plan as the SVAP which recognized that the property

should be developed for urban uses.

That County and City have projected residential and

other urban uses for the area in their General Plans does

not entitle LBE to develop its land. (Avco Community

Developers, Inc. v. South Coast Regional Com. (1976)

17 Cal.3d 785, 795-796; MacLeod v. Santa Clara County

(9th Cir. 1984) 749 F.2d 541, 548.) The Guidelines and

the Growth Management Ordinance provide substantial,

legitimate bases for the protection of the public welfare

regarding such development. We may not interfere with

such policy. (Associated Home Builders Etc., Inc. v.

City of Livermore, supra, 18 Cal.3d at pp. 604-605.)

LBE acknowledged in its complaint that County’s

Land Use Plan imposed an urban reserve overlay which

encourages developers to deal directly with City so that

such development is placed within incorporated cities

a

-C 14-

whenever and wherever possible, as stated in the

Guidelines. The open-space plan maps show this urban

reserve overlay as of September 15, 1981.

Ripeness of Attack on Legislation as Applied

An attack on regulatory legislation as applied to a

particular parcel of property is not ripe for adjudication

in inverse condemnation unless the plaintiff shows that:

(1) the regulation has gone so far that it has accom-

plished a taking, and (2) compensation tendered is not

just. (MacDonald, Sommer & Frates v. County of Yolo

et al., supra, 477 U.S. at p. 348; Lake Nacimiento Ranch

Co. v. San Luis Obispo Cty. (9th Cir. 1987) 841 F.2d

872, 876.)

LBE bears a heavy burden to show that its “as ap-

plied” attack is ripe. LBE must first show that City and

County have made a “final and authoritative determina-

tion of the type and intensity of development legally

permitted on the subject property.” (MacDonald, Som-

mer & Frates v. County of Yolo et al., supra, 477 U.S. at

p. 348.) “A court cannot determine whether a regulation

has gone ‘too far’ unless it knows how far the regulation

goes.” (Ibid.)

The developer must establish that it has submitted at

least one meaningful application for a development

project which has been thoroughly rejected, and that it

has prosecuted at least one meaningful application for a

zoning variance, or something similar, which has been

fina'ly denied. (Lake Nacimiento Ranch Co. v. San Luis

Obispe Cty., supra, 841 F.2d at pp. 876-877; see also

Williamson Planning Comm’n v. Hamilton Bank (1985)

473 U.S. 172, 187-188; Kinzli v. City of Santa Cruz (9th

Cir. 1987) 818 F.2d 1449, 1454, as amended at 830 F.2d

968.) Informal or tentative development proposals are

-C 15-

insufficient to meet these tests. (Lake Nacimiento,

supra, at p. 876.)

The test is not one of exhaustion of a particular

administrative remedy — whether the developer has

exhausted all administrative appeals regarding a particu-

lar application. The developer must show that it has

submitted the appropriate applications necessary to

proceed with the particular project and that it has re-

ceived a final rejection of those applications. (William-

son Planning Comm’n v. Hamilton Bank, supra, 473

U.S. at pp. 186-190; Lake Nacimiento Ranch Co. v. San

Luis Obispo Cty., supra, 841 F.2d at pp. 876-877.)

The case of Kinzli v. City of Santa Cruz, supra, 818

F.2d 1449, a case similar to the instant one, illustrates

how these rules apply.

The Kinzli family owned land adjacent to the City of

Santa Cruz for many years. Gradually the property

became surrounded by urban development.

Through a stipulated judgment in eminent domain, the

city successfully obtained four acres of the property for

construction of a public street. The city promised the

Kinzlis that- they could develop the property with high

density uses once the road was built. The city never

built the road.

In 1979, the voters passed a slow growth initiative

which limited the use of the property to open space until

1990. The measure precluded the city from providing

certain urban services in the area in which the property

was located.

The city enacted a green belt overlay ordinance to

implement the initiative. The ordinance set out the

requirements to obtain special use permits and the

conditions for extensions of urban services to the green-

belt area. Limited single family and accessory structures

could be built upon application for special permits.

ES

-C 16-

High density development, formerly available and

sought by the Kinzlis, was forbidden.

The Kinzlis tried to sell the property on the condition

that residential building permits could be obtained. One

potential buyer abandoned an application he filed on

behalf of the Kinzlis because a government staff engi-

neer told him that the city could not provide water to the

property. The Kinzlis did not submit applications for

other uses.

In 1980, the Kinzlis sued the city charging that the

ordinance, and the city’s conduct regarding the condem-

nation proceedings, violated federal constitutional and

civil rights and rights under California laws.

At trial, the court discussed the merits of the taking

claim and denied it. The appellate court found that the

the trial court erred in discussing the merits because the

claim was not ripe. Because the Kinzlis had not submit-

ted a “meaningful” development plan or an application

for a variance, the appellate court held that the claim

should have been dismissed. (See Kinzli v. City of Santa

Cruz, supra, 818 F.2d at p. 1455.)

Failure to avail oneself of administrative solutions,

which might obviate the need to consider constitutional

questions, renders a claim for inverse condemnation

unripe for adjudication. (Hodel v. Virginia Surface Min.

& Recl. Assn. (1981) 452 U.S. 264, 297.)

In MacDonald, Sommer & Frates v. County of Yolo et

al., supra, 477 U.S. 340, the Supreme Court rejected as

unripe allegations that a city and county unconstitution-

ally restricted use of its property to open space when it

denied a tentative subdivision tract map to build 159

single and multiple family homes. (Pp. 344, 352, fn. 8.)

There, as here, the plaintiff urged that any application

for a zone change, a variance or other relief would be

futile. Its allegations that all principal and accessory

tt

uses were no longer permitted and that its property had

no value were rejected as speculative and conclusional.

(Id., at pp. 345, 351, citing San Diego Gas & Electric

Co. v. San Diego (1981) 450 U.S. 621, 631-632, fn. 12;

and Williamson Planning Comm’n v. Hamilton Bank,

supra, 473 U.S. at pp. 187-188.)

Denial of approvals for a particular and relatively

intensive residential development, as here, cannot be

equated with a refusal to permit any beneficial use what-

soever. (MacDonald, Sommer & Frates v. County of

Yolo et al., supra, 477 U.S. at p. 347.)

In the instant case, LBE has not submitted an applica-

tion for annexation to City even though the Guidelines,

since 1969, have urged developers who propose projects

like this one to do so. LBE did not follow through on its

application for a tentative tract map, nor has LBE al-

leged that it applied for a zoning change, or sought other

favored uses such as senior and affordable housing.

Nevertheless, LBE contends that County has fore-

closed all development of its property within County.

LBE relies on the following passage from the amended

General Plan:

“The Urban Reserve overlay designation is applied to

all unincorporated land within a city’s adopted Sphere of

Influence. Although LAFCO has determined these areas

to be appropriate for eventual annexation and urbaniza-

tion, the Urban designation was not applied to all lands

within the LAFCO sphere boundaries because it could

result in uban development being permitted without

annexation. Accordingly, unincorporated lands within

spheres have been designated under this General Plan

either as Existing Community, Rural, Agricultural or

Open Space. Under these designations, therefore, more

intense development could not occur on affected lands

until they are annexed.”

-C 18-

This language does not foreclose all development, but

merely restates County’s position since 1969 on annexa-

tion. City’s Growth Management Ordinance is also a

temporary, partial moratorium on certain kinds of

development.

If LBE successfully applied for annexation, it could

‘explore other possibilities for development under the

Growth Management Ordinance. These possibilities

may not reflect what LBE desires to build. This, how-

ever, does not constitute an unconstitutional taking.

(See Williamson Planning Comm'n v. Hamilton Bank,

supra, 473 U.S. at pp. 187-188.)

LBE cannot take solace in First English I, supra,

which stated that damages may be available for tempo-

rary total takings. In that case, the California courts

assumed that a taking had already occurred. (See First

English I, supra, at p. 311.) Moreover, First English 1,

supra, was expressly limited to its facts. Said the court:

“We limit our holding to the facts presented, and of

course do not deal with the quite different questions

that would arise in the case of normal delays in obtain-

ing building permits, changes in zoning ordinances,

variances, and the like which are not before us.” (/d., at

p. 321.) The Supreme Court then remanded the case to

the California Supreme Court for further proceedings on

the question of whether there had been an unconstitu-

tional taking under the ordinance there in question.

Neither is it “ ‘clear beyond peradventure ...’” that

the Growth Management Ordinance would result in such

excessive delay that it can be assumed that all of the

property’s beneficial uses have presently been destroyed.

(See Kinzli v. City of Santa Cruz, supra, 818 F.2d at p.

1454, fn. 5, citing Norco Construction, Inc. v. King

County (9th Cir. 1986) 801 F.2d 1143, 1145.) The

instant temporary ordinance calls for a reevaluation in

1991 of its restrictions, pursuant to the 1990 census and

-C 19-

it automatically expires in 1996. Unless a temporary

moratorium is total and is unreasonable in purpose

duration or scope, the restrictions it places on develop-

ment are not compensable. (First Cnglish II, supra, at

pp. 1372-1373.)

In First English II, supra, the county enacted a

temporary moratorium on building after a flood so that it

could conduct a study of the situation. This did not

constitute an unconstitutional taking. No taking results

when a partial moratorium measure is enacted to protect

the public health, safety or morals. (/d., at p. 1362; see

also Associated Home Builders Etc., Inc. v. City of

Livermore, supra, 18 Cal.3d 582.)

Loss of Substantially All Economic Use

The second prong of the Agins taking test is whether

the regulations deny the property owner substantially all

economically viable use of the land. ‘Agins v. Tiburon,

supra, 447 U.S. at p. 260.) The meaning of this concept

is elusive, but the general rule is that “the existence of

permissible uses determines whether a development

restriction denies a property holder the economically

viable use of its property.” (Lake Nacimiento Ranch Co.

v. San Luis Obispo Cty., supra, 841 F.2d at p. 877, citing

cases.)

The denial of the highest and best use does not con-

Stitute an unconstitutional taking of the property.

(MacLeod v. Santa Clara County, supra, 749 F.2d at p.

548.) Even where there is a very substantial diminution

in the value of land, there is no taking. (J/d., at pp.

547-548, citing Hadacheck v. Sebastian (1915) 239 U.S.

394 — diminution in value from $800,000 to $60,000

not a taking; William C. Haas v. City & Cty. of San

Francisco (9th Cir. 1979) 605 F.2d 1117, 1120 —

diminution in value from $2 million to $100,000 not a

-C 20-

taking.) The burden of proof is on the applicant, who

faces an uphill battle. (Lake Nacimiento Ranch Co. v.

San Luis Obispo Cty., supra, 841 F.2d at p. 877.)

In MacLeod v. Santa Clara County, supra, 749 F.2d

541, MacLeod purchased cattle grazing property and

found it unprofitable. At one time the county granted

him a use permit to harvest hardwood, which he also

found to be unprofitable. Then, MacLeod attempted to

farm the land, which he found infeasible due to irriga-

tion problems.

He then successfully applied to the state for permis-

sion to harvest timber. He entered into a contract to sell

harvested timber to a third party. County, citing various

public health, safety and welfare concerns, denied him a

use permit. MacLeod sued for inverse condemnation.

The court, ruling for the county, found that the denial

of the permit application did not interfere with other

primary objectives: (1) holding the property for invest-

ment purposes, and (2) cattle grazing. (MacLeod v.

Santa Clara County, supra, 749 F.2d at p. 547.)

In William C. Haas v. City & Cty. of San Francisco,

supra, 605 F.2d 1117, the appellant claimed that rezon-

ing and imposition of other land use restrictions so

diminished the value of his investment property that it

amounted to a taking. The court disagreed.

On June 28, 1971, Haas contracted to purchase a large

unimproved parcel of land in San Francisco. The con-

tract was conditioned on the procurement of a valid site

permit for his proposed high-rise development project.

As of July 7, 1971, the date of application for the

permit, the property was zoned for the proposed use.

Nonetheless, the planning commission denied the permit

because the project “would have a detrimental effect on

the City as a whole and upon the residents and property

of the neighborhood.” (William C. Haas v. City & Cty.

-C 21-

of San Francisco, supra, 605 F.2d at p. 1119.) The city

relied on a recent urban design plan developed for

inclusion in the city’s master plan.

Haas appealed on August 13, 1971. Two weeks later

the commission formally adopted the urban design plan.

On August 26, 1971, interim height and bulk restrictions

were adopted by the commission, and Haas withdrew the

application.

On November 9, 1971, Haas submitted a new plan to

the commission to comply with the new height and bulk

limitations. The commission approved the application

for a site permit on the revised plans, and the board of

permit appeals denied a petition for rehearing sought by

surrounding residents. Haas then bought the land for

$1,650,000, plus various fees. He broke ground and

commenced construction.

A neighborhood improvement association filed a writ

petition on April 20, 1972, on the ground that Haas

failed to comply with the California Environmental

Quality Acts of 1970 and 1972. Although he prevailed

in the trial court, Haas lost on all appeals. The courts

held that he did not state a sufficient claim for a vested

right despite the site permit, because he had not under-

taken “substantial construction” nor had he incurred

substantial liabilities. Haas had to start anew.

By then, however, Haas faced “insurmountable

barriers” to the proposed project because the planning

commission had adopted a 40-foot height restriction,

density controls and had rezoned the property. Haas

sued to challenge the rezoning and other land use restric-

tions on constitutional grounds. He contended that the

combined impact of these restrictions destroyed the

value of his property investment.

-C 22-

The court held that, as a matter of law, he stated no

claim for inverse condemnation. His numerous conten-

tions all rested on the premise that the rezoning and the

land use restrictions were so grossly disproportionate in

their detriment to him, as opposed to the benefits con-

ceivably inured to the public’s general welfare, that they

constituted a taking. (William C. Haas v. City & Cty. of

San Francisco, supra, 605 F.2d at p. 1120.)

The Haas court upheld the land use regulations

because they were reasonably related to health, safety,

morals or general welfare. Such police power regula-

tions are routinely upheld even when they nearly destroy

or severely affect recognized real property interests or

flatly prohibit the most beneficial use. (William C. Haas

v. City & Cty. of San Francisco, supra, 605 F.2d at p.

1120.) Although the standard of reasonable relation is

lower than that set forth recently by the Supreme Court

in Agins and Nollan, the purposes of a comprehensive

plan to decrease population density, to preserve natural

resources, and to promote aesthetics are sufficient to

support the restrictions which have been enacted here as

a matter of law. (/d., at pp. 1120-1121.)

LBE, like Haas, argued it was left with no econo-

mically viable use. Even if it were true that LBE’s

profit may be severely reduced, it would fail to meet the

test that there be no viable economic use of the property.

This rule holds true even if the zoning restrictions

preclude recovery of the initial investment made.

(William C. Haas v. City & Cty. of San Francisco,

supra, 605 F.2d at pp. 1120-1121.)

The restrictions in the Growth Management Ordi-

nance and the open-space zoning designations do not

rule out development upon annexation. Although

County has downzoned most of the subject property to

OS-160 (open-space designation permitting one residen-

tial structure per 160 acres of land), LBE may apply for

-C 23-

a zoning change for permissible 10-acre parcels. (And

see Lake Nacimiento Ranch Co. v. San Luis Obispo Cty.,

supra, 841 F.2d at p. 877 — government entities need

not show the availability of such uses.)

The possibility of obtaining a zoning change or

applying for other additional special uses strongly

Suggests there are other economically beneficial uses

not expressly included in such ordinances. (Lake

Nacimiento Ranch Co. v. San Luis Obispo Cty., supra,

841 F.2d at p. 877.)

Reasonable Investment-Backed Expectations

LBE opines that its reasonable investment-backed

expectations (RIBE), to profitably build out a subdivi-

sion of homes, has been rendered economically in-

feasible because of delays caused by the laws and the

conduct of defendants.

There is considerable controversy whether courts

should consider a landowner’s profit expectations in an

inverse condemnation action. (See Lake Nacimiento

Ranch Co. v. San Luis Obispo Cty., supra, 841 F.2d at

pp. 877-878, esp. fn. 4, citing Williamson Planning

Comm’n v. Hamilton Bank, supra, 473 U.S. at pp.

190-191, fn. 12; and°cf. Keystone Coal Association v.

DeBenedictis (1987) 480 U.S. 470, 499.)

Although in some cases it may be a legitimate con-

sideration, here LBE has not stated facts which enable it

to proceed on this theory.

Although the developer in Avco Community

Developers, Inc. v. South Coast Regional Com., supra,

17 Cal.3d 785, spent more than $2 million in building

infrastructure and had obtained a final map as well as a

permit to complete rough grading, the court concluded

that its failure to obtain a permit from the coastal

-C 24-

commission and obtain final building permits left it

without a vested interest upon which it could rely. (P.

793.)

The court so held even though it found that the

approvals Avco has previously received led Avco to

reasonably expect it would be allowed to build without

further discretionary approvals. (Avco Community

Developers, Inc. v. South Coast Regional Com., supra,

17 Cal.3d at p. 790.) Under Avco, one cannot obtain a

vested right to build in reliance to “the assurances of city

officials that construction ... was permitted, ...” or on

spending large sums for preliminary development costs.

(Id., at pp. 792-793.)

In MacDonald, Sommer & Frates v. County of Yolo et

al., supra, 477 U.S. at page 349, the Supreme Court

stated that until the landowner has obtained a final

decision regarding the application of zoning and subdivi-

sion regulations to his property, it is impossible to know

whether the land retains any reasonable beneficial use or

whether his reasonable investment-backed expectations

have been destroyed. LBE has not submitted an appli-

cation for annexation, much less applied for and ob-

tained an actual building permit. (See also Agins v.

Tiburon, supra, 447 U.S. at p. 262.)

In MacLeod v. Santa Clara County, supra, 749 F.2d

541, the concept of reasonable investment-backed

expectations is discussed in conjunction with the Agins

prongs of vested rights and economic viability. As to

the vested rights theory, the court said that although

MacLeod had every reason to believe his application (for

a county use permit to harvest timber) would be granted,

he “must have been aware that the standards and condi-

tions governing the issuance of the permit might cause

his application to be denied.” (/d., at p. 548.)

-C 25-

On the theory of economic viability, the court said

that denial of the permit did not interfere either with

holding the property for investment purposes or with the

interim, although unprofitable, use of cattle grazing.

(MacLeod v. Santa Clara County, supra, 749 F.2d at pp.

546-548.) Diminution in expected value, even if that

loss is severe, does not constitute a taking. (J/d., at p.

548, citing Hadacheck v. Sebastian, supra, 239 U.S. 394

— $800,000 investment became worth $60,000; and

William C. Haas v. City & Cty. of San Francisco, supra,

605 F.2d at p. 1120 — $2 million investment became

worth $100,000.)

As here, the gravamen of MacLeod’s contention was

that a taking requiring compensation occurred “because

he has been denied the opportunity to exploit his prop-

erty by pursuing particular project he had come to

believe would be available for development. This

argument fails.” (MacLeod v. Santa Clara County,

supra, 749 F.2d at p. 548; see esp. William C. Haas v.

City & Cty. of San Francisco, supra, 605 F.2d at pp.

1120-1121; and also MacDonald, Sommer & Frates v.

County of Yolo et al., supra, 477 U.S. at p. 347.)

“oe.

[The] [p]rediction of profitability is essentially a

matter of reasoned speculation that courts are not espe-

cially competent to perform....’” (MacLeod v. Santa

Clara County, supra, 749 F.2d at p. 548, quoting Andrus

v. Allard (1979) 444 U.S. 51, 66; and see Hodel v.

Virginia Surface Min. & Recl. Assn., supra, 452 U.S. at

pp. 296-297.) Since Penn Central Transp. Co. v. New

York City, supra, 438 U.S. 104, the Supreme Court has

rejected such arguments as “ ‘quite simply untenable.

> 99

(MacLeod, supra, at p. 548, quoting Penn Central,

supra, at p. 130.) The Fifth Amendment “is not a

panacea for less-than-perfect investment or business

opportunities.” (/d., at p. 549.)

-C 26-

Regardless of how we analyze RIBE, we come up

with the same conclusion — LBE has not stated facts

which support recovery for inverse condemnation as a

matter of law.

Due Process

LBE’s due process allegations are conclusional and

premature. (Kinzli v. City of Santa Cruz, supra, 818

F.2d at p. 1456, citing the Supreme Court in Williamson

Planning Comm’n v. Hamilton Bank, supra, 473 U.S. at

p. 199.)

Even if a Fifth Amendment takings claim could

arguably be recast as one sounding in substantive due

process, it would be premature. (Kinzli v. City of Santa

Cruz, supra, 818 F.2d at p. 1456.) And, there can be no

denial of procedural due process, under the Fourteenth

Amendment, until the substantive due process claim is

ripe. ([bid.)

An ordinance that is reasonable related to the public

welfare of the population it significantly affects is

constitutional. (Associated Home Builders Etc., Inc. v.

City of Livermore, supra, 18 Cal.3d at pp. 606-607; also

see McMillan v. Goleta Water Dist. (9th Cir. 1986) 792

F.2d 1453, 1457.) The Guidelines and the Growth

Management Ordinance are reasonably related to the

public welfare. -

ys

Equal Protection

LBE alleges that defendants have arbitrarily set aside

its property as open space, whereas comparable property

in the County has not been similarly restricted.

Absent the allegation of the invasion of fundamental

rights or the existence of a suspect classification, there is

no violation of equal protection unless the classification

bears no rational relationship to a legitimate state inter-

est. (McMillan v. Goleta Water Dist., supra, 792 F.2d at

p. 1456; Pennell v. San Jose (1988) 485 U.S. 1, 14,

citing Vance v. Bradley (1979) 440 U.S. 93.) This is

true even if some discrimination is alleged. (McMillan,

supra, at p. 1456.)

As with the due process cause of action, the claim

here is not ripe. LBE’s second amended complaint,

proffered as a motion for reconsideration, provided more

specific allegations concerning owners of other property

who have allegedly been treated more equitably. Even

if the trial court had allowed the second amended com-

plaint to be filed, it would still be subject to demurrer

absent LBE’s filing a proper application.

Civil Rights

LBE’s allegation that it has been deprived of due

process, equal protection and just compensation in

inverse condemnation under color of state law, pursuant

to title 42 United States Code sections 1983 and 1988, is

not ripe because there has been no final decision on

meaningful applications. (See Williamson Planning

Comm’n v. Hamilton Bank, supra, 473 U.S. at pp.

187-188.)

-C 28-

Conspiracy

LBE alleges a conspiracy among the defendants to

perform the activities previously alleged. There is no

separate cause of action for civil conspiracy apart from

overt acts done in furtherance of activities which are

legally compensable. (Widdows v. Koch (1968) 263

Cal.App.2d 228, 234; and see Escamilla v. City of Santa

Ana (C.D.Cal. 1985) 606 F.Supp. 928, regarding 42

U.S.C. §1983 allegations.) Because we find LBE has

not alleged any actionable activities, we hold that there

is no actionable conspiracy.

Relief by Writ, Injunction and Declaratory Relief

Because there is no basis in law or equity to grant

relief under the facts alleged, there is no ground upon

which we can grant relief by way of writ, injunction or

declaration.

LBE has sued City and County because of disap-

pointed expectations concerning its development plans.

LBE states no cause of action even if it has expended

substantial sums on infrastructure and _ preapproval

planning, and even though there will be some delay in

bringing some development proposal to fruition. These

expenditures and delays are the normal incidents of

development projects and are not actionable, per se.

We affirm the judgment as to County.

As to City’s petition, let a writ of mandate issue to

compel the trial court to enter a new and different order

sustaining City’s demurrer in its entirety without leave

to amend. Costs to City and County.

-C 29-

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

GILBERT, Acting P.J.

We concur:

YEGAN, J.

ABBE, J.”

” Retired Associate Justice of the Court of Appeal sitting under

assignment by the Chairperson of the Judicial Council.

-C 30-

Bruce A. Thompson, Judge

Superior Court County of Ventura

Hamilton & Samuels and Paul R. Hamilton, Karen J.

Lee and Deborah M. Rosenthal, for Plaintiff, Appellant

and Real Party in Interest Long Beach Equities, Inc.

James L. McBride, County Counsel, Dennis L.

Slivinski, Assistant County Counsel, for Defendant and

Respondent, County of Ventura.

John Torrance, City Attorney, Marjorie Baxter,

Assistant City Attorney; Freilich, Stone, Leitner &

Carlisle and Katherine E. Stone and Margaret A. Sohagi,

for Defendants, Respondents, and Petitioners City of

Simi Valley and City Council of The City of Simi

Valley.

No appearance for Respondent Superior Court of the

County of Ventura.

Baker & McKenzie and Robert H. Philibosian, for

Real Party in Interest Marr Ranch Associates, Inc.

Burke, Williams & Sorensen and J. Robert Flandrick,

Virginia R. Pesola as Amici Curiae on behalf of Peti-

tioner City of Simi Valley.

Pacific Legal Foundation and Ronald A. Zumbrun,

Edward J. Connor, Jr., Timothy V. Kassouni as Amici

Curiae on behalf of Real Party in Interest Long Beach

Equities, Inc.

-C 31-

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

COURT OF APPEAL

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT

ROBERT N. WILSON, CLERK

DIVISION: 6

Hamilton & Samuels

Karen J. Lee

4000 Macarthur Blvd.

Suite 5700

Ne

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Long Beach Equities, Inc. v. County of Ventura · 505 U.S. 1219 | Frix