Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Rowland v. Patterson

Supreme Court brief1992

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

| Buprome co, 1.8, |

oF

%1°920 1893

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court Of Che United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

JANET L. ROWLAND

and DONALD E. ROWLAND

Petitioners,

V.

DONALD A. PATTERSON, M.D,

TOM J. ALTIZER, M.D.,

MICHAEL A. WINSLOW, M.D.,

ROBERT K. HOBBS, M.D.

and ROBERT J. CIRINCIONE

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

MARVIN ELLIN*

LaVONNA L. VICE

ELLIN & BAKER

1101 St. Paul Street

Baltimore, Maryland 21202

Telephone: (301) 727-1787

Attorneys for Petitioners

; *Counsel of Record

December 4, 1991

Balmar Legal Publishing Divison, Washington, D.C. 20005 (202) 659-3610

“<q

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 56(c), can

a court usurp the function of the jury and find as a matter of law

that there are no genuine issues of material facts when the

inferences to be drawn from those facts depend upon application

of the “reasonable person” standard?

2. When a State’s highest court has ruled on a point of

law, may a federal court rely upon that state’s intermediate

appellate court decision on the same point of law?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Bee ee PIE Ce et tt te ill

Ee ]

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT ......... 2

STATUTORY PROVISIONINVOLVED ...... 2

maraememeres Gr Ire CASE... www se eee 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ..... 6

I. THIS COURT SHOULD ESTABLISH A

CLEAR AND STRINGENT TEST FOR

DETERMINING WHETHER SUMMARY

JUDGMENT SHOULD BE GRANTED IN

CASES INVOLVING THE APPLICATION

OF A “REASONABLE PERSON”

eg aay se he ee es 6

Il. THE FEDERAL COURT MUST RELY

UPON A STATE’S HIGHEST COURT

RULING ON A POINT OF LAW AND

NOT UPON AN INTERMEDIATE COURT

RULING THAT IS IN CONFLICT WITH

THE HIGHEST COURT’S RULING. ... 13

Se a es ee ee 16

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Anixter v. Home-Stake Production Co., 939 F.2d

1420 (10th Cir.1991) .. 2.2.2.0.

Azalea Meats, Inc. v. Muscat, 386 F.2d 5

(SC. 167)... . se eee.

Baysinger v. Schmid Products Co., 307 Md. 361,

Si ASE oS we ek ec

Cada v. Baxter Healthcare Corp., 920 F.2d 446

‘i: 4. 3 jinn

Celotex Corporation v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317

eo

Cook v. Baker Equipment Engineering Co. Inc.,

582 F.2d 862 (4th Cir.1978) .........

Durham v. Business Management Associates,

847 F.2d 1505 (11th Cir. 1988) ........

Erie R. Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938) ....

Fries v. Chicago & Northwestern Transportation

Co., 909 F.2d 1092 (7th Cir. 1990) ......

Kedzierski v. Kedzierski, 899 F.2d 446

PRR SO at ees es ek

Lutheran Hospital v. Levy, 60 Md.App. 227,

482 A.2d 23 (1984), cert. denied, 302

Md. 288, 487 A.2d 292 (1985) ........

Mathews v. Ashland Chemical, Inc., 703 F.2d 921

Oe WI a ee ee hos ws

Milwaukee Area Vo. Tech. v. U.S. Steel Corp.,

847 F.2d 435 (7th Cir. 1988) .........

Pennwalt Corp. v. Nasios, 314 Md. 433, 550

MC os oes oo sh es

PAGES

iv

CASES

Pierce v. Ford Motor Co., 190 F.2d 910 (4th Cir.),

cert. denied, 342 U.S. 887(1951) .......

Rowland v. Patterson, 852 F.2d 108 (4th Cir. 1988),

rev'd en banc, 882 F.2d 97 (1989) ......

Smith v. Duff and Phelps, Inc., 891 F.2d 1567

CE as ree ek 4

Smith v. States Marine International, Inc., 864

we Pi. ee a eee

TSC Industries, Inc. v. Northway, Inc., 426 U.S.

GIR GIGE 6 oc RE ORS OC eee

United States v. Kubrick, 444 U.S. 111 (1979) ...

STATUTES

og 2 eS. , russ nee eres

Md. Cts. & Jud. Proc. Code Ann. § 3-2A-01

OC Ss i ee ee

Md. Cts. & Jud. Proc. Code Ann. § 5-109 .....

ae U.Bk OS iaeene cree pete ee ae ee

OTHER AUTHORITIES

10 C. Wright & Miller, Federal Practice and Proce-

dare: Cowl 6 iar CRSOOD 6 ce Siece ces

When statute of limitations commences to run

against malpractice action against physician,

surgeon, dentist, or similar practitioner, 80

ADDS a eee eee eee

PAGES

mo NS

a"

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court Of Che United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

JANET L. ROWLAND and DONALD E. ROWLAND

Petitioners,

V.

DONALD A. PATTERSON, M.D,

TOM J. ALTIZER, M.D.,

MICHAEL A. WINSLOW, M.D.,

ROBERT K. HOBBS, M.D.

and ROBERT J. CIRINCIONE

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners, Janet L. Rowland and Donald E. Rowland,

respectfully request that a writ of certiorari issue to review the

judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth

Circuit entered in this proceeding on August 15, 1991.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinions of the Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

(Appendix A) and the district court (Appendix B) which form

the basis of this petition are unreported. The opinion of the

Health Claims Arbitration Office of Maryland (Appendix C) is

unreported. The Maryland circuit court opinion of the Circuit

Court for Washington County (Appendix D) is unreported. The

2

opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit (Appendix

E) affirming the district court’s dismissal for lack of jurisdiction

is reported at 852 F.2d 108. The opinion of the Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Circuit sitting en banc (Appendix F) and reversing

the district court’s dismissal for lack of jurisdiction is reported

at 882 F.2d 97. The opinion of the district court (Appendix G)

dismissing Petitioners’ claim for lack of jurisdiction is un-

reported.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

was entered on August 15, 1991. Petition for Rehearing and

Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc was denied on September 9,

1991 and this Petition for Writ of Certiorari was timely filed.

This court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

Rule 56(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Fed. R.

Civ. P. 56(c), provides in pertinent part:

Motion and Proceedings Thereon. The motion [for

summary judgment] shall be served at least 10 days

before the time fixed for the hearing. The adverse

party prior to the day of hearing may serve opposing

affidavits. The judgment sought shall be rendered

forthwith if the pleadings, depositions, answers to

interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with

the affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine

issue as to any material fact and that the moving party

is entitled to a judgment as a matter of law.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

For several months prior to May 24, 1982, Janet L.

Rowland, then thirty-eight years of age, suffered from intermit-

tent low back pain. She visited the Respondents in their office,

submitted to a myelogram, and was advised that the pain and

3

numbness she was experiencing in her left leg was due to a

“bulging disc.” Mrs. Rowland was advised that surgery was

required.

On June 3, 1982, Mrs. Rowland was operated on at

Washington County General Hospital in Hagerstown,

Maryland. Contrary to acceptable standards of care, the Respon-

dent Patterson lacerated her right iliac artery and vena cava.

Within a twenty four hour period following surgery, Mrs.

Rowland submitted to two more emergency surgeries to save

her life.

Following the repairs of the vascular trauma negligently

inflicted by the Respondents, Mrs. Rowlaad’s condition con-

tinued to deteriorate. By June 11, 1982, she was again operated

on to remove a large hematoma and a portion of the vertebral

body. Disc material was removed to relieve pressure on the

nerve roots and prevent further deterioration of Mrs. Rowland’s

condition.

Mrs. Rowland was discharged from Washington County

General Hospital on July 23, 1982 in a permanently disabled

State. Her voluntary bladder and bowel function had been

destroyed. She suffered from unremitting pain in the lower

extremities and lower back.

Atall times pertinent hereto, the Respondents advised Mrs.

Rowland that her condition arose from the complexity of the

surgery. She was never advised that the complications she

suffered from were the result of negligently inflicted injuries to

her iliac artery and vena cava. She was told her condition would

improve. When Mrs. Rowland was discharged on July 23, 1982,

she believed she had suffered from the natural complications of

surgery.

Mrs. Rowland’s complications were such that she was

re-confined by Dr. Patterson at Washington County General

Hospital on January 14, 1983 with an admitting diagnosis of

4

“chronic lumbar arachnoiditis.” She was placed in traction and

other treatments were attempted until Mrs. Rowland was dis-

charged on January 14, 1983.

In the early part of 1983, a general practitioner recom-

mended to Mrs. Rowland that she seek a second opinion as to

the reason for her disability, pain, and complications. Thus, in

March of 1983, she sought the opinion of a specialist, Dr.

Thomas Ducker, at the University of Maryland Hospital in

Baltimore, Maryland. She was admitted for various studies from

March 13 to March 23, 1983.

During this time, it was suggested to the Petitioners for the

first time, by Dr. Ducker, that Mrs. Rowland’s complications

were due to medical negligence. Prior to this point, the

Petitioners in their earlier conversations in June of 1982 with

the doctors at the Washington County General Hospital were

told that the damage and complications suffered by Mrs.

Rowland were a result of natural complications of surgery.

Subsequent to their visit to Dr. Ducker, Petitioners sought

the advice of counsel and on July 16, 1985 filed a medical

malpractice claim with the Health Claims Arbitration Office of

the State of Maryland.!

On motion by the Respondents, the Panel Chairman

granted summary judgment on May 6, 1987 stating that the

statute of limitations had run on the Petitioners’ claims. On June

15, 1987, the Petitioners filed a complaint in the United States

District Court for the District of Maryland.?

Maryland law requires that all medical malpractice claims be ar-

bitrated as a pre-condition to filing in court. Md. Cts. & Jud. Proc. Code Ann.

§ 3-2A-01 et. seq. The filing of a claim in the Health Claims Arbitration

Office is a filing for statute of limitation purposes. The arbitration panel is

comprised of three persons, an attorney (Panel Chairman) a physician and a

layperson. All matters of law are decided by the Panel Chairman individually.

+

—

Jurisdiction was based on diversity of citizenship. At the time the

complaint was filed Petitioners were citizens of West Virginia and Respon-

dents were citizens of Maryland.

5

Respondents renewed their motion for summary judgment

in the district court on the basis that the statute of limitations had

run on Petitioners’ claims. On July 16, 1990 the district court

granted the motion.? On August 15, 1991 the Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Circuit affirmed the district court and on Septem-

ber 9, 1991 denied the Rowlands’ Petition for Rehearing and

Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc.

At issue, for statute of limitation purposes, was whether

Mrs. Rowland was on notice of her claim prior to the running

of the statute.* In Maryland, as in many other jurisdictions, such

notice occurs when a reasonably prudent person in the same or

similar circumstances either knew or should have known of

possible wrongdoing. Baysinger v. Schmid Products Co., 307

Md. 361, 514 A.2d 1 (1986).°

> Petitioners’ complaint was originally dismissed on October 5, 1987

for lack of subject matter jurisdiction. On July 18, 1988 the Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Circuit affirmed. Rowland v. Patterson, 852 F.2d 108 (4th Cir.

1988). However, the court, sitting en banc reversed the district court on

August 10, 1989. Rowland v. Patterson, 882 F.2d 97 (4th Cir. 1989).

* Md. Cts. & Jud. Proc. Code Ann § 5-109 states that a claim for medical

malpractice must be brought within three years from the date of discovery or

five years from the date of the injury - whichever is less. It was not disputed

that the Petitioners brought their action within the five year limitation.

> This is what is known as the “discovery rule.” Any differences between

the jurisdictions in applying the “discovery rule” usually involves the quan-

tum of knowledge necessary to trigger the running of the statute of limita-

tions. For example, in Maryland the statute does not begin to run until the

plaintiff has knowledge that a duty was owed, that it was breached and that

the injuries were a result thereof. Pennwalt Corporation v. Nasios, 314 Md.

433, 550 A.2d 1155 (1988). Whereas other jurisdictions may only require

knowledge of injury and causation. United States v. Kubrick, 444 U.S. 111

(1979) (malpractice claim brought pursuant to the Federal Tort Claims Act).

See also, When statute of limitations commences to run against malpractice

action against physician, surgeon, dentist, or similar practitioner, 80

A.L.R.2d 368.

6

In the instant case both the district court and the court of

appeals held as a matter of law that a reasonable person in Mrs.

Rowland’s situation would have undertaken further investiga-

tion more than three years prior to her commencing suit. In so

deciding, both courts usurped the function of the jury and relied

upon their own judgment as to what a reasonable person would

do in the same situation as Mrs. Rowland. In support of their

holdings, both courts relied on the intermediate appellate

decision of Lutheran Hospital v. Levy, 60 Md.App. 227, 482

A.2d 23 (1984), cert. denied, 302 Md. 288, 487 A.2d 292 (1985)

that was decided prior to a contrary decision by Maryland’s

highest court in Baysinger v. Schmid Products co., 307 Md. 361,

514 A.2d 1 (1986).

Moreover, both courts relied upon the same intermediate

appellate decision in support of their decision as to the quantum

of knowledge required to put a person on notice of a claim.

Instead of requiring that a person know all four elements of a

malpractice claim i.e., duty, breach, causation and harm, both

courts only require ‘ a finding that Mrs. Rowland was aware of

her injuries and that they resulted from her surgery.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THIS COURT SHOULD ESTABLISH A

CLEAR AND STRINGENT TEST FOR

DETERMINING WHETHER SUMMARY

JUDGMENT SHOULD BE GRANTED IN

CASES INVOLVING THE APPLICATION OF

A “REASONABLE PERSON” STANDARD.

This Court needs to establish a clear and stringent test for

determining when summary judgment is appropriate in statute

of limitation cases wherein the “reasonable person” standard is

implicated. Currently, Rule 56(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure provide that summary judgment shall lie if “there is

no genuine issue as to any material fact and that the moving party

5

is entitled to a judgment as a matter of law.” In most cases the

courts are confronted with whether or not there are any conflict-

ing material facts or whether or not a party has established facts

sufficient to get his case to a jury. See, e.g., Celotex Corporation

v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317 (1986). In such cases, once the un-

disputed facts are determined, it is relatively simple to apply the

law to determine whether judgment should issue.

However, in many cases in which summary judgment is

sought on the basis that an applicable statute of limitations has

run, the facts themselves are not in dispute, but rather, the

inferences to be drawn from those facts are disputed. This is

particularly true in situations where application of a “discovery

rule” is necessary for a final determination. Because application

of the “discovery rule” necessarily involves judging the

plaintiff's actions according to a “reasonable person” standard,

summary judgment should rarely, if ever, be available. Indeed,

this Court suggested as much in 7SC I/ndustries, Inc. v.

Northway, Inc., 426 U.S. 438, 450, n.12 (1976)(citing 10 C.

Wright & Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure: Civil § 2729

(1973)), wherein it was stated that the “jury’s unique com-

petence in applying the “reasonable man” standard is thought

ordinarily to preclude summary judgment in negligence cases.”

The need for this Court’s guidance in this area cannot be

overstated. Because the running of the statute of limitations is a

defense to nearly every type of civil action and because many

jurisdictions, including the federal, adopt some type of “dis-

covery rule”, the Court’s granting of the writ in the instant case

will resolve an important question as to what standard or test

should be applied when summary judgment is sought and the

“reasonable person” test is implicated.

Although all_of the circuits, when confronted with the

granting or denial of summary judgment in statute of limitation

cases, rely on Rule 56(c) for initially determining whether there

are any material facts in dispute, they are split as to what, if any,

8

standard should be applied when the facts themselves are not in

dispute but rather the inferences that should be drawn when the

“reasonable person” standard is implicated.

Thus, some circuits routinely grant or affirm summary

judgment when the facts are not in dispute and simply find as a

matter of law that a reasonable person would have been on notice

of a possible claim at some point beyond the applicable statute

of limitations. Other circuits recognize that whenever the in-

ferences themselves are subject to a “reasonable person” stand-

ard, they are in and of themselves genuine issues of material fact

precluding summary judgment.

An example of this can be found by comparing the instant

case with admonitions of the Fourth Circuit in Cook v. Baker

Equipment Engineering Co., Inc. ,582 F.2d 862, 865 (1978)(em-

phasis in original) wherein the court stated:

In no other area of the law does the lay jury play a

more definitive role than in a negligence case when it

is required to determine whether an actor’s conduct is

prudent and reasonable under the given circumstan-

ces... The inferences to be drawn from the proofs turn

on the degree of corroboration mixed with the overall

skill of persuasion demonstrated by the respective

- adversaries... With this understanding, it should be

readily perceived that a summary proceeding which

denies the parties the right of trial by jury and which

attempts to decide the case on abbreviated proof

should rarely be used in negligence suits.

The court continued and quoting from Pierce v. Ford Motor Co.,

190 F.2d 910 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 342 U.S. 887 (1951):

It is only where it is perfectly clear that there are no

issues in the case that a summary judgment is proper.

Even in cases where the judge is of opinion that he

will have to direct a verdict for one party or the other

9

on the issues that have been raised, he should ordinari-

ly hear the evidence and direct the verdict rather than

attempt to try the case in advance on a motion for

summary judgment...

Id.

Yet, in the instant case, the Fourth Circuit held that a

reasonable person in the same or similar circumstances as Mrs.

Rowland would have been on notice of a possible claim at a time

outside the statute of limitations. This is despite the undisputed

fact that Mrs. Rowland was assured that her injuries were the

result of natural complications of surgery, despite the un-

disputed fact that Mrs. Rowland continued under the care of the

negligent physician and despite the undisputed fact that Mrs.

Rowland was still confined to the hospital at a point in time that

the court held she was on notice of her claim.

In so holding the Fourth Circuit simply stated that “{W]hile

the Rowlands obviously did not have the expertise of Dr.

Ducker, they did have sufficient information by June 12, 1982

to cause a reasonable person to investigate further to see if

malpractice had occurred.” App. A, at p. 5-a. Thus, not only did

the district court and the Fourth Circuit deny the Rowlands the

right to have a jury decide what a “reasonable person” would

have done in the same or similar circumstances, neither court

acknowledged whether the inferences to be drawn from the

undisputed facts in and of themselves create a genuine issue of

material fact. Moreover, in the absence of any stated test or

standard by which the courts measure the appropriateness of

granting summary judgment when the “reasonable person”

standard is implicated, it is unclear how the courts measured the

Rowland’s actions against that of a reasonable person.

In looking to the other circuits itis abundantly apparent that

the lack of any standard for measuring a party’s actions against

that of a reasonable person has produced anomalous and incon-

sistent results. The most striking example of this is the Fifth

10

Circuit’s decision in Smith v. States Marine International, Inc.,

864 F.2d 410 (Sth Cir. 1989) and the Seventh Circuit’s decision

in Fries v. Chicago & Northwestern Transportation Co., 909

F.2d 1092 (7th Cir. 1990).

The undisputed facts in Smith revealed that the plaintiff,

while working in the engine room of various ships, had been

exposed to loud noises on a continuing basis. He suffered

temporary hearing loss which returned after being away from

the noise. In the mid-1970’s the plaintiff began to notice

problems with his hearing and despite pleading from his spouse

and friends, did not seek medical attention until May 1986. It

was not until February of 1987 that an action was filed against

the employer.

The district court granted summary judgment in favor of

the defendant on the basis that the plaintiff knew or had

reasonable opportunity to discover his cause of action. In revers-

ing, the Fifth Circuit noted that on the undisputed facts it would

be up to the trier of fact to determine what inferences should be

drawn from those facts and whether a reasonable person would

have been on notice of a claim.

In Fries the undisputed facts revealed that the plaintiff,

while working as a machinist, had been exposed to loud noises

on a continuing basis. He suffered from a ringing in his ears

which only subsided after being away from work for a period of

time. As early as 1981 the plaintiff began to notice problems

with his hearing but did not seek medical treatment until 1985

and did not file his action until 1987.

The district court granted the defendant’s motion for sum-

mary judgment on the basis that the plaintiff knew or reasonably

should have known of a possible claim as early as 1981. The

Seventh Circuit agreed, stating that a reasonable person would

have investigated the cause of his injury in 1981.

11

It could be argued that because these cases involve applica-

tion of the “reasonable person” standard and they are so fact

dependent, it would be difficult, if not impossible, to fashion a

uniform standard for deciding summary judgment. However, as

the decisions in Smith and Fries, supra, indicate, it is clear that

the lack of a discernable standard produces anomalous results

even when the facts are identical. Moreover, such an argument

actually points out the need for a uniform standard which would

allow most if not all such cases to be decided by a jury. It is

precisely when the courts begin distinguishing the nuances of

the fact patterns, to decide whether summary judgment is ap-

propriate, that inconsistent results follow.

A further comparison of the Seventh Circuit’s approach

with that of the Fifth Circuit’s indicates a discernable trend

consistent with those court’s rulings in Smith and Fries, supra.

See, e.g., Milwaukee Area Vo. Tech. v. U.S. Steel Corp., 847

F.2d 435 (7th Cir. 1988)(affirming summary judgment as to

notice of claim); Cada v. Baxter Healthcare Corp., 920 F.2d

446 (7th Cir. 1990)(same); Kedzierski v. Kedzierski, 899 F.2d

681 (7th Cir. 1990)(same); Mathews v. Ashland Chemical, Inc.,

703 F.2d 921 (Sth Cir. 1983)(issues requiring determination of

reasonableness of acts and conduct of parties precludes sum-

mary judgment).

Another example of how the circuits are inconsistently

applying the “reasonable person” standard can be found in cases

alleging securities fraud. In these type of cases the issue is

whether a reasonably prudent investor in the same or similar

circumstances as the party alleging the fraud would have been

on notice as to possible fraud and undertaken further investiga-

tion prior to the running of the statute of limitations.

For example, in Durham v. Business Management As-

sociates, 847 F.2d 1505 (11th Cir. 1988), investors in a limited

partnership brought a securities fraud action alleging that the

partnership was a sham. In affirming the district court’s denial

12

of summary judgment the Eleventh Circuit followed the Fifth

Circuit’s reasoning and held:

Inevitably the factual issue of due diligence involves,

to some extent at least, the state of mind of the person

whose conduct is to be measured against this test and

it is simply not feasible to resolve such an issue on

motion for summary judgment.

Id. at 1509 (quoting Azalea Meats, Inc. v. Muscat, 386 F.2d 5

(Sth Cir. 1967).

In Smith v. Duff and Phelps, Inc., 891 F.2d 1567 (11th Cir.

1990), the Eleventh Circuit again affirmed the denial of sum-

mary judgment notwithstanding that the undisputed facts

revealed that the plaintiffs had received information in the form

of letters and newspaper articles which indicated that something

was amiss concerning the price of certain stock. The court held

that “a genuine issue of material fact remains regarding whether

the February 1984 letter and the various Wall Street Journal

articles would have put a reasonable person on notice of fraud

and whether Smith exercised due diligence in determining

whether he had been defrauded. Such questions are best resolved

by the jury.” /d. at 1572.

On the other hand, the Tenth Circuit, in Anixter v. Home-

Stake Production Co., 939 F.2d 1420 (10th Cir. 1991), has

followed the Seventh Circuit’s lead by substituting its judgment

as to what a reasonable person would do with that of the jury’s.

In Anixter, the district court denied defendants’ motion to

dismiss on limitations ground and a jury returned a verdict in

favor of the plaintiffs. The Tenth Circuit reversed and held that

the plaintiffs’ claim was time barred because reasonable inves-

tors in the same circumstances would have been on inquiry

notice of their claims when they became aware of an action filed

by the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) together

with an article which appeared in the Wall Street Journal.

13

Thus, it is clear that the circuits are split as to when a case

should proceed to a jury when the “reasonable person” standard

is implicated. Although no clear test has emerged from any of

the circuits, there is a discernable difference among the circuits

as to the burden a litigant must bear to survive a motion for

summary judgment.

Therefore, it is urged that this Court grant this Petition for

Writ of Certiorari in order to establish a clear test for determining

whether summary judgment should be granted in cases involv-

ing application of the “reasonable person” standard.

If. THE FEDERAL COURT MUST RELY UPON

A STATE’S HIGHEST COURT RULING ON

A POINT OF LAW AND NOT UPON AN IN-

TERMEDIATE COURT RULING THAT IS

IN CONFLICT WITH THE HIGHEST

COURT’S RULING.

This Court’s decision in Erie R. Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S.

64 (1938) mandates that federal courts sitting in diversity apply

the law of the state in which the action arose. This court has also

stated that the law of the state is that expressed by statute and

by the state’s highest court. /d. at 78. In the instant case the

district court and the Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

ruled in contravention of this doctrine by not looking to

Maryland’s highest court for their decisions.

Both the district court and the Fourth Circuit relied upon

an intermediate Maryland appellate court (Maryland Court of

Special Appeals) decision for two points of law, both of which

have been expressly overruled by Maryland’s highest court

(Maryland Court of Appeals), in granting summary judgment to

the Respondents.

First, both courts relied on Lutheran Hospital v. Levy, 60

Md.App. 227, 482 A.2d 23 (1984), cert. denied, 302 Md. 288,

487 A.2d 292 (1985), for the proposition that summary judg-

14

ment is appropriate in cases involving whether a reasonable

person would have been on notice of a possible claim. However,

the plaintiff in Levy admitted in her testimony that she was aware

of all the elements of her cause of action and indeed had engaged

the services of an attorney to prosecute her claim. In reversing

the trial court, the Maryland Court of Special Appeals held that

the judge had incorrectly applied the law in that he extended the

running of the statute of limitations to allow a reasonable time

for investigation.

To the extent Levy might be interpreted for allowing a court

to find as a matter of law that a reasonable person would have

undertaken further investigation of a claim, it was expressly

rejected by the Maryland Court of Appeals in Baysinger v.

Schmid Products Co., 307 Md. 361, 514 A.2d 1, 4 (1986)(cita-

tions omitted):

We shall assume, without deciding, that there is no

dispute of material, primary fact in the instant case.

From the primary facts some tribunal must deduce

when the plaintiffs were on notice. That ultimate fact

is ordinarily a question for the trier of facts going to

the merits. Whether or not the plaintiffs failure to

discover his cause of action was due to failure on his

part to use due diligence, or to the fact that defendant

so concealed the wrong that plaintiff was unable to

discover it by the exercise of due diligence, is or-

dinarily a question of fact for the jury.

Second, both courts again relied on Levy, supra, for the proposi-

tion that a party need only be on notice as to two of the necessary

elements of a tort action i.e.; causation and harm. The district

court held that “knowledge of an actionable claim is not neces-

sary to trigger the running of the limitations period. Instead, all

that is required is knowledge of the injury and its cause.” App.

B at pp. Sb-6b. The Fourth Circuit agreed with this analysis.

App. A at p. 5-a.

15

However, this reasoning was expressly rejected by the

Maryland Court of Appeals in Pennwalt Corp. v. Nasios, 314

Md. 433, 550 A.2d 1155 (1988). Interestingly, this case arose

out of a question certified to the United States District Court for

the District of Maryland. In Pennwalt the court held that:

To bring a negligence action, a plaintiff must prove:

(1) a duty owed by the defendant to the plaintiff; (2)

a breach of that duty by the defendant; (3) an injury

to the plaintiff; and (4) that injury was proximately

caused by the defendant’s breach of duty.... In our

prior cases, discovery of elements (1) and (2) were not

in question. We see no reason, however, to hold that

a plaintiff who cannot discover injury or causation

should be entitled to relief while a plaintiff who

cannot discover breach of duty is left without a

remedy. A plaintiff who cannot gain knowledge of a

defendant’s breach of duty is in the same position as

one who cannot discover injury because both are

“blamelessly ignorant” and cannot be said to have

slept on their rights.

550 A.2d at 1165-1166.

Thus, both the district court and the Fourth Circuit ignored

Maryland law in direct contravention of Erie R. Co. v. Tompkins,

supra. Therefore, this Court should issue the writ in the instant

case to rectify a glaring mistake and to ensure that the federal

courts not only apply state law while sitting in diversity, but

apply the law as enunciated by that state’s highest court.

16

CONCLUSION

Petitioners respectfully request that their petition for a writ

of certiorari be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Marvin Ellin*

LaVonna L. Vice

Ellin & Baker

1101 St. Paul Street

Baltimore, Maryland 21202

Telephone: (301)727-1787

Attorneys for Petitioners

*(Counsel of Record)

APPENDIX A

l-a

No. 90-1074

UNPUBLISHED

United States Court Of Appeals

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

Janet L. Rowland; Donald E. Rowland,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

¥.

Donald A. Patterson, M.D.; Tom J. Altizer, M.D.;

Michael A. Winslow, M.D.; Robert K. Hobbs, M,D:

Robert J. Cirincione, M.D..,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District

Court for the District of Maryland, at Baltimore

Norman P. Ramsey, District Judge,

(CA-87-1560-R)

Argued: March 4, 1991

Decided: August 15, 1991 é

Before PHILLIPS and MURNAGHAN, Circuit Judges, and

BRITT, United States District Judge for the Eastern District of

North Carolina, sitting by designation.

Affirmed by unpublished opinion. Judge Phillips wrote the

opinion, in which Judge Murnaghan and Judge Britt joined.

OPINION

PHILLIPS, Circuit Judge:

Janet and Donald Rowland appeal the district court’s dis-

missal by summary judgment of their medical malpractice ac-

tion on the ground that it was barred by the statute of limitations.

2-a

The Rowlands principally contend that the district court erred

in determining the date on which their claims against the defen-

dants accrued. We disagree and affirm.

In May 1982, Janet Rowland sought treatment from Dr.

Donald Patterson for a back injury she had sustained in a car

accident. Dr. Patterson recommended surgery, and told Mrs.

Rowland that following surgery she would be out of the hospital

within two weeks and would be able to return to work in six

weeks. On June 3, 1982, Mrs. Rowland underwent back surgery

at the Washington County Hospital. Dr. Patterson performed

this surgery, during the course of which Mrs. Rowland’s right

iliac artery and vena cava were lacerated.

Because of the lacerations, Mrs. Rowland was taken back

to the operating room for an arteriogram the next morning. The

arteriogram indicated that Mrs. Rowland had to undergo emer-

gency surgery to repair the damaged blood vessel. Dr. Su, a

vascular surgeon, performed this surgery on June 5, 1982. After

the procedure, Dr. Su told Mr. Rowland that his wife had almost

died, and that her worsened condition after the back surgery was

caused by Dr. Pattersons’ puncturing of the vena cava. J.A. at

454-56. Mrs. Rowland also learned at that time of Dr.

Patterson’s puncturing of the vena cava. J.A. at 325-26.

After Dr. Su’s surgery, Mrs. Rowland remained in bad

condition — paralyzed from her waist down. Sometime before

June 11, 1982, she therefore consulted Dr. Carey, a neurosur-

geon. Dr. Carey told her that further surgery was needed,

indicating that her vena cava had been cut during Dr. Patterson’s

surgery. By Mrs. Rowland’s admission, therefore, she knew at

the time she consulted with Dr. Carey, some time before June

11, 1982, that something had gone wrong during Dr. Patterson’s

surgery. J.A. at 331 (deposition testimony). On June 11, 1982,

Dr. Carey performed the surgery. After that procedure, Mrs.

3-a

Rowland still felt numb from her waist down. Her condition did

not begin to improve until she started physical therapy.

Mrs. Rowland was discharged from the hospital on July 23,

1982, seven weeks after Dr. Patterson’s initial surgery. At that

point, her condition remained poor, as she had no feeling from

her waist to her feet. She also had to take medication to control

her bladder and her bowels. Because of her medical problems,

Mrs. Rowland could not return to work.

In March 1983, following the advice of a general prac-

titioner, Mrs. Rowland sought the opinion of Dr. Ducker at the

University of Maryland hospital. After studying Mrs.

Rowland’s condition, Dr. Ducker concluded that Mrs. Rowland

suffered from multiple lower nerve dysfunctions caused by the

injuries she sustained during Dr. Patterson’s surgery. Dr. Ducker

also told the Rowlands that Mrs. Rowland’s complications were

caused by medical malpractice, and he suggested a lawsuit

against Dr. Patterson. The Rowlands did decide to file suit, but

waited until July 16, 1985 to do so. At that time, they sued Dr.

Patterson and various other members of the Washington County

Hospital staff as of the date of Pattersons’s surgery, claiming

personal injury and loss of consortium.

After discovery, the district court granted the defendants’

motion for summary judgment, concluding that as a matter of

law the action was time-barred. Specifically, the court held that

under Maryland law, controlling in this diversity action, the

Rowlands’ malpractice claims accrued no later than June 12,

1982, following Dr. Carey’s surgery, and was barred by

Maryland’s three-year medical malpractice “discovery” statute.

This appeal followed.

4-a

II

Under Md. Cts. & Jud. Proc. Code Ann. § 5-109(a).

[a]n action for damages for an injury arising out of the

rendering of or failure to render professional services by a health

care provider...shall be filed within the earlier of: (1) five years

of the time the injury was committed; or (2) three years of the

date the injury was discovered.

It is undisputed that in this case § 5-109(2), the three years

from date of discovery statute of limitations applies, as the

shorter of the two limits. The questions are (1) when, as a matter

of Maryland law, is discovery deemed to have occurred, hence

the claim for medical malpractice to have accrued?; and (2)

when, under the proper discovery rule, did discovery, hence

accrual, occur here?

Under Maryland law, discovery occurs when the claimant

first has either actual knowledge of the wrong or sufficient

information to cause a reasonable person to investigate the

possibility of wrong, in which case the person is charged with

knowledge of all the facts that would have been discovered by

a reasonably diligent investigation. See Poffenberger v. Risser,

431 A.2d 677, 680-81 (Md. 1981) (“the cause of action accrues

when the claimant in fact knew or reasonably should have

known of the wrong.”); Lutheran Hospital v. Levy, 482 A.2d 23,

29 (Md. App. 1984) (“The crucial date is the date the claimant

is put upon inquiry, not the date an expert concludes there has

been malpractice.”).

Applying these discovery principles, the district court con-

cluded that on the undisputed facts of record, the Rowlands were

on inquiry notice by the time Mrs. Rowland discussed her

condition with Dr. Carey following his surgery on June 11,

1982. The district court summarized the Rowlands’ knowledge

as of that time as follows:

S-a

In addition to experiencing the harmful effects of Dr.

Patterson’s surgery, both plaintiffs were provided an explana-

tion for their unanticipated difficulties. Dr. Su explained to

Donald [Mr. Rowland] that Janet’s [Mrs. Rowland] worsened

condition was the result of damage to the vena cava, which had

been inadvertently lacerated during Dr. Patterson’s surgery. Dr.

Carey confirmed Dr. Su’s findings to Janet during his consult-

ations with her following the June 11, 1982, surgery. Thus, by

mid June at the latest, the Rowlands knew the following: Janet’s

surgery had gone badly; she required three additional proce-

dures to correct the errors of Dr. Pattersons’ initial surgery; and

they were both told that an unusual event, laceration of the vena

cava, had caused her problem.

Rowland v. Patterson, Civil Action No. R-87-1560, slip op.

at 8 (D. Md. July 16, 1990). mi

The Rowlands contend that this conclusion was not war-

ranted as a matter of law on the summary judgment record, that

there was evidence from which a trier of fact could have found

instead that discovery only occurred when Dr. Ducker first

directly suggested Dr. Pattersons’s fault in March of 1983. As

the district court correctly pointed out, however, Dr. Ducker did

not provide the Rowlands with any new facts — his conclusion

that malpractice had occurred was based on information the

Rowlands already had available to them. While the Rowlands

obviously did not have the expertise of Dr. Ducker, they did

have sufficient information by June 12, 1982 to cause a

reasonable person to investigate further to see if malpractice had

occurred. The district court therefore do not err in concluding

that discovery, for purposes of the statute of limitations, oc-

curred no later than June 12, 1982.

In a fall-back position, the Rowlands argue that the

Maryland continuous treatment doctrine tolls the statute of

limitations. In Maryland, however, the old common law con-

tinuous treatment rule has been held not to survive the discovery

6-a

rule of § 5-109(2), which controls here. Hill v. Fitzgerald, 501

A.2d 27, 32 (Md. 1985) (“provisions of § 5-109... are plainly

inconsistent with the survival of the continuing treatment rule”).

The Rowlands argue that even if we affirm the district

court’s grant of summary judgment as to malpractice claims

against Dr. Patterson based on his initial surgery, we should find

that they have alleged “separate and independent acts of

negligence that occurred up to and including January 14, 1983”

that accordingly were not time-barred. Appellant’s Br. at 21,

citing Jones v. Speed, 577 A.2d 64 (1990). In Jones, the

Maryland Court of Appeals remanded to permit the plaintiffs to

amend their complaint so as to allege acts within the limitations

period as discrete claims despite their discovery of earlier acts

which were time-barred by the discovery rule. The original

Jones complaint contained sixteen counts, each alleging that by

a separate act Dr. Speed was negligent in failing to properly

diagnose Mrs. Jones’ condition, and a seventeenth count alleg-

ing loss of consortium. Although the first nine counts, which

described Mrs. Jones’ first nine visits with Dr. Speed, clearly

were barred even if considered as separate “claims,” by the

five-year statute of limitations, the later counts, if so considered,

were within the statutory period. Over Dr. Speed’s objections,

the appellate court affirmed dismissal of only the first nine

counts and remanded to allow the Joneses to amend to specifi-

cally allege the later acts within the limitations period as one

separate, discrete claim of malpractice.

In the present case, the Rowlands refer us to paragraphs 21

and 22 of their Statement in Support of Claim. J.A. at 543. These

paragraphs read as follows:

21. In support of the Claimant’s contention that she had not

been informed by the Defendant Patterson that he had inflicted

injury to her vascular system and had further ignered cauda

equina compression which had been permitted to exist in the

postsurgical period is the fact that she permitted the Defendant

7-a

Patterson to reconfine her at the Washington County Hospital

on January 14, 1983. She had an admitting diagnosis of “chronic

lumbar arachnoiditis.”

22. In spite of the fact that the Defendant Patterson knew

or by the exercise of due care was charged with such knowledge

that the Claimant’s disability and pain was from permanently

injured nerve roots which arose from the surgery of June 3, 1982

and his failure to promptly recognize and decompress the cauda

equina immediately following manifestation of the paralysis, he

nonetheless ordered traction for her. The claimant remained

confined by these defendants until January 26, 1983, at which

time she was discharged in essentially the same condition as she

was upon her admission on January 14, 1983.

J.A. at 543. These paragraphs also appear as paragraphs 26

and 27 of Count I of the Rowlands’ complaint. J.A. at 13. The

Rowlands argue that, as inJones v. Speed, these alleged acts of

negligence occurring within the three-year limitation period

should not be held time-barred on summary judgment.

Aside from the fact that this theory seems not to have been

advanced in the district court, the allegations relied upon by the

Rowlands do not, as did those of the Jones plaintiffs, arguably

constitute separate discrete acts of negligence giving rise to

separate claims. The first is simply an argumentative factual

assertion designed to demonstrate original ignorance (non-dis-

covery) of the injury. The second merely describes an inter-

mediate course of treatment which is not alleged to have caused

any separate, discrete injury.

By contrast, the Jones plaintiffs had alleged, and offered

affidavit support for the allegation, that each of successive,

separate treatments provided by their doctor had constituted the

negligent infliction of distinct injury.

8-a

We are therefore not persuaded to take the course here that

the Maryland appellate court thought warranted in Jones v.

Speed in the interest of justice.

AFFIRMED

/s/ Norman P, Ramsey

Norman P. Ramsey

United States District Judge

APPENDIX B

’ —s

1-b

CIVIL ACTION NO. R-87-1560

IN THE

United States District Court

FOR THE DISTRICT OF MARYLAND

JANET L. ROWLAND, ET AL

Plaintiffs

vo

DONALD A. PATTERSON, M.D., ET AL.

Defendants

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

Pending before the Court in the above-captioned case are

two sets of motions. Defendant Robert J. Cirincione, M.D., has

filed a motion to dismiss or for summary judgment, or in the

alternative, for more definite statement. Defendants Donald A.

Patterson, M.D., Robert J. Hobbs, M.D., Michael A. Winslow,

M.D., and Tom J. Altizer, M.D., have jointly moved for sum-

mary judgment. The plaintiffs have filed oppositions to both sets

of motions, and counsel for Dr. Cirincione and Dr. Patterson

have informed the Court that they do not wish to file replies to

the Rowlands’ oppositions. Finding no hearing necessary, the

Court is now prepared to rule without need for a hearing. Local

Rule 105.6 (D. Md. 1989). For the reasons set forth below, the

motions for summary judgment will be granted.

I. Background

Plaintiffs, Janet Rowland (“Janet”) and her husband

(“Donald”), bring this action seeking compensation for injuries

resulting from a back operation performed on Janet at the

Washington County Hospital. The defendants named in the

Complaint were all members of the hospital's medical staff on

2-b

the date of the surgery. The action is brought under the tort

theories of medical malpractice and respondent superior. For

the most part, the facts surrounding the Janet’s injuries are

undisputed.!

In May 1982, Janet sought treatment from Dr. Patterson for

injuries sustained in an automobile accident. She complained of

pain in her lower back and hip, as well as numbness in her leg.

After an examination, Dr. Patterson advised Janet that she

required surgery and indicated that after the operation, she

would be released from the hospital within two weeks and be

able to return to work within six weeks. Based on the pre-opera-

tive discussions with the defendant, Donald understood that the

purpose of the operation was to alleviate his wife’s pain and,

therefore, anticipated that her condition would improve follow-

ing the surgery.

The alleged negligent surgery was performed by Dr. Pat-

terson on June 3, 1982. The following morning Donald learned

that his wife was being rushed back into the operating room for

an arteriogram procedure, which was to be performed by another

physician. Donald was instructed by the medical staff to leave

the hospital and wait at home for further information. Later that

day Dr. Su telephoned the plaintiff and explained to him that

Janet’s life was in danger and, as a result, surgery was required.

Dr. Su performed the operation on June 5, 1982. After the

surgery, Dr. Su informed Donald that Janet’s worsened condi-

tion, which included lower body paralysis, was the result of

complications which arose during Dr. Patterson’s surgery. Dr.

Su further explained that during the back surgery, a major blood

vessel, the vena cava, had inadvertently been punctured twice.

Janet’s condition continued to deteriorate. Dr. Carey, a

neurosurgeon, examined the plaintiff and determined that

' To the extent there are any facts in dispute, the Court must, for the

purspose of this ruling, view the facts in a light most favorable to the

plaintiffs.

3-b

”_

another operation was necessary to repair the damage to Janet’s

lower back. After performing the operation on June 11, Dr.

Carey explained to Janet that her worsened health was the result

of damage to the vena cava, which had been cut during Dr.

Patterson’s surgery.

Janet was finally discharged from the hospital on July 23,

1982, seven weeks after her initial surgery. At that time, she

experienced severe pain and discomfort and had little control

over her lower body. Moreover, Janet was unable to walk

without assistance and was placed on medication to regulate her

bowel and bladder functions. Due to her weakened state and

poor health, Janet was unable to return to her employment as a

nurse’s aide.

In March of 1983, Janet was examined by Dr. Ducker at

the University of Maryland Hospital. Dr. Ducker studied Janet’s

medical records and tested her lower body reflexes. He then

explained to the Rowlands that Dr. Patterson’s surgical proce-

dure was relatively simple and suggested that negligence may

have taken place since these type of health complications should

not have resulted from the surgery.

The Rowlands however, waited until July 16, 1985, to file

Suit pursuant to the Maryland Health Care Malpractice Claims

Act. Md. Cts. & Jud. Proc. Code Ann. § 3-2A-01 et seq. (Repl.

Vol. 1989). The defendants moved for summary judgment,

claiming that the action was barred because the statute of

limitations had run. The arbitration chairman granted the

defendants’ motion and the plaintiffs subsequently filed suit in

this Court. The defendants once again move for summary judg-

ment.

II. Standards for Summary Judgment

Summary judgment under Rule 56 of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure serves the important purpose of “conserv[ing]

judicial time and energy by avoiding unnecessary trial and by

4-b

providing a Speedy and efficient summary disposition” of litiga-

tion in which the plaintiff fails to make some minimal showing

that the defendant may be liable on the claims alleged. Bland v.

Norfolk & S.R., 406 F.2d 863, 866 (4th Cir. 1969).

The applicable standards for analyzing a motion for sum-

mary judgment under Rule 56 are well-established. The defen-

dant seeking summary judgment bears the burden of showing

the absence of any genuine issue of material fact and that he is

entitled to judgment as a matter of law. Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c);

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322-23 (1986). In

determining if the defendant has met this burden, the Court must

consider whether, when assessing the evidence in light most

favorable to the plaintiff, a “fair-minded jury could return a

verdict for the plaintiff... .” Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,

477 U.S. 242, 252 (1986); Pulliam Inv. Co., Inc. v. Cameo

Properties, 810 F.2d 1282, 1286 (4th Cir. 1987). Nevertheless,

the “mere existence of a scintilla of evidence in support of the

plaintiff's position will be insufficient” to defeat a motion for

summary judgment. Anderson, 477 U.S. at 252. See also Bar-

wick v. Celotex Corp., 736 F2d 946, 958-59 (4th Cir. 1984). The

plaintiff must identify for the Court some dispute of fact that is

material to the legal issues presented in the case in order to

successfully oppose a motion for summary judgment. “The plain

language of Rule 56(b) mandates the entry of summary judg-

ment, after an adequate time for discovery and upon motion,

against a party who fails to make a showing sufficient to

establish the existence of an element essential to that party’s case

and on which that party will bear the burden of proof at trial.”

Celotex, 477 U.S. at 322. It is against these standards that the

Court shall review defendants’ motion.

lif. Analysis

At common law, limitations against a cause of action

commenced upon occurrence of the wrongful act. However, an

exception was recognized for medical malpractice suits which

5-b

allowed the limitations period to begin when the wrong was

discovered or when, through the exercise of diligent inquiry, it

should have been discovered. Hahn v. Claybrook, 130 Md. 179,

100 A. 83 (1917). This common law rule has been codified by

the Maryland General Assembly. The relevant statutory

provision reads: “An action for damages for an injury arising

out of the rendering of or failure to render professional services

by a health care provider . . . shall be filed within . . . [t]three

years of the date of injury was discovered.” Md. Cts. & Jud.

Proc. Code Ann. § 5-109(a)(2) (Repl. Vol. 1989). There being

an absence of legislative direction regarding what conduct con-

Stitutes “discovery,” a brief overview of judicial treatment of the

rule is warranted.

For the purpose of the discovery rule, actual, not construc-

tive, knowledge of the wrong is required to start the running of

the limitations period. Poffenberger v. Risser, 290 Md. 631, 431

A.2d 677 (1981); Hahn, 130 Md. at 186, 100 A. at 85. Actual

knowledge may be either express or implied. Express

knowledge is established by direct evidence, whereby notice of

the wrong that caused the injury is directly communicated.

Poffenberger, 431 A.2d at 680. See Baltimore v. Whittington,

78 Md. 231, 235-236, 27 A. 984, 985 (1893). Implied notice, in

contrast, is inferred from circumstantial evidence. Such

knowledge is established when the party to be charged becomes

aware of circumstances which, through the exercise of diligent

investigation, would lead him to acquire knowledge of the

wrong that caused the injury. Poffenberger, supra.

Here, the Rowlands contend that the action did not accrue

until March 1983, when they were told by Dr. Ducker that

malpractice may have occurred. According to the rule, however,

knowledge of an actionable claim is not necessary to trigger the

running of the limitations period. Lutheran Hospital v. Levy, 50

Md. App. 227, 240, 482 A.2d 23, 29 (1984). See Jones v. Suger,.

18 Md. App. 99, 105 & n.3, 305 A.2d 219, 223 & n.3 (1973).

6-b

Instead, all that is required is knowledge of the injury and its

cause. In medical malpractice suits, the injury is often dis-

covered long after the negligent conduct was performed but

prior to the time the party knows that a cause of action may lie

against the medical practitioner. As a result, a plaintiff’s statute

of limitations may begin to run before that plaintiff becomes

aware that he has an actionable claim. Nevertheless, § 5-

109(a)(2) demands that actions must be filed within three years

of the time the plaintiff acquires knowledge, either express or

implied, of the nexus between the alleged wrong and the injury.

Hill v. Fitzgerald, 304 Md. 689, 699-700, 501 A.2d 27, 31-31

(1985). Applying these concepts to the case at bar, it is clear

that the Rowlands had acquired sufficient knowledge of Janet’s

injury, as of June 12, 1982, for the limitations period to be

triggered.

Based on their pre-operative discussions with Dr. Patter-

son, the Rowlands had certain basic expectations of the effects

which would result from the back surgery. However, when Janet

awoke from the surgery, she had lost control of her lower body

and experienced severe pain and discomfort. In the weeks

following the surgery, Janet experienced unremitting physical

pain, of which Donald was well aware. Furthermore, in an

attempt to ameliorate the damage, Janet underwent three addi-

tional surgical procedures. As a result, Janet remained in the

hospital four weeks longer than had originally been expected.

In addition to experiencing the harmful effects of Dr.

Patterson’s surgery, both plaintiffs were provided an explana-

tion for their unanticipated difficulties. Dr. Su explained to

Donald that Janet’s worsened condition was the result of damage

to the vena cava, which had been inadvertently lacerated during

Dr. Patterson’s surgery. Dr. Carey confirmed Dr. Su’s findings

to Janet during his consultations with her following the June 11,

1982, surgery. Thus, by mid June at the latest, the Rowlands

knew the following: Janet’s surgery had gone badly; she re-

7-b .

quired three additional procedures to correct the errors of Dr.

Patterson’s initial surgery; and they were both told that an

unusual event, laceration of the vena cava, had caused her

problem.

The basic rationale underlying the discovery rule is that it

is unfair to bar recovery for an injury that a reasonably prudent

person would be unable to discover. Harig v. Johns-Manville

Products, 284 Md. 70, 81-83, 394 A.2d 299, 305-306 (1978).

Therefore, the cause of action accrues only after the party to be

charged has actual knowledge that “something wrong had been

done”. Lutheran, 60 Md. App. at 236, 482 A.2d at 27.

The Rowland’s contend that they did not discover the

injury until Dr. Ducker offered his opinion on March 3, 1983,

that a possible legal claim existed; Dr. Ducker’s opinion, how-

ever, was based entirely on facts already known to the plaintiffs.

It is well established, that an action under the discovery rule does

not accrue at the time the party receives in hand expert advise

that malpractice may have occurred; rather, the clock begins to

run once the party has knowledge of those facts which serve as

the basis for an actionable claim. /d. at 239-240, 482 A.2d at 29.

For the plaintiffs, this occurred when Dr. Su and Dr. Carey

informed Donald and Janet of the underlying cause of the

medical problems.

As a result, the discovery rule dictates that the plaintiffs

were under a duty, as of June 12, 982, to investigate further and

are, therefore, charged as of that date with notice of all facts that

such an investigation would have disclosed, Poffenberger, 290

Md. at 637, 431 A.2d at 681, including Dr. Ducker’s opinion

that malpractice may have taken place. For the forgoing reasons,

the Court concludes that the limitations period expired on June

12, 1985. Since this suit was not filed until July 16, 1985, the

defendants are entitled to summary judgment.

Accordingly, it is this /6th day of July, 1990, by the United

States District Court for the District of Maryland,

8-b

ORDERED:

1. That defendants’ motions for summary judgment are

GRANTED; and

2. That the Clerk of the Court shall mail a copy of this

Memorandum and Order to all counsel of record.

/s/Norman P. Ramsey

Norman P. Ramsey

United States District Judge

APPENDIX C

l-c

HCA NO. 85-376

BEFORE THE

HEALTH CLAIMS ARBITRATION

OFFICE OF MARYLAND

JANET L. ROWLAND and DONALD E. ROWLAND

Claimants

Vs.

DONALD A. PATTERSON, M.D., et al.

Health Care Providers

OPINION AND ORDER

All Defendants in the above captioned matter have moved

for summary judgment in their favor based upon two grounds:

a release of the original tortfeasors by the Claimant bars this

action against subsequent tortfeasors (the Defendants); and, the

claim is barred for failure to file within three years of the date

when the injury was discovered.

The first ground can be disposed of summarily. Based on

two recently filed cases and because there are also genuine

disputes of fact surrounding the execution of the proffered

release, Summary judgment is not appropriate at this state of the

proceedings. Morgan v. Cohen No. 53 in the Court of appeals

of Maryland, filed April 7, 1987, and Hovermill v. Cohen No.

54 in the court of Appeals of Maryland, filed April 7, 1987.

The second ground presents a greater problem. It is con-

ceded that the limitation clock begins to run when the Plaintiff

has an awareness implied from knowledge of circumstances

which ought to put a person of ordinary prudence on inquiry,

thus charging that person with notice of all facts which such an

investigation would, in all probability, have disclosed had it

been properly pursued.

2-c

The Defendant’s memorandum in support of Motion for

Summary Judgment contains a lengthy and impressive list of

circumstances and facts known to the Claimants at the time of

Dr. Carey’s surgery, June 11, 1982, or shortly thereafter. It is

sufficient to merely summarize the Claimants’ knowledge as of

that time. The Claimants expected the operation to ease the pain

of a prior medical problem; they expected Mrs. Rowland to be

discharged routinely from the hospital after surgery; Mrs.

Rowland nearly died from the first operation; something had

gone wrong in the first surgery, specifically, her vena cava had

been cut in two places; she had to undergo two emergency

operations; she was in great pain.

The knowledge of these circumstances as of June 12, 1982,

or shortly thereafter, was sufficient to start the three year period

during which the Claimants were under a duty to investigate

further, and they are, therefore, charged with notice of all the

facts that such an investigation would have disclosed.

The Claimants suggest two reasons why summary judg-

ment should not be granted. They suggest that the panel chair-

man does not have authority to decide this issue under

§3-2A-05(a)1 of the Health Care Malpractice Claim Subtitle:

O’Hara v. Kovens 305 Md. 280, 503 A.2d 133 (1986). I believe

that case requires summary judgment as a “matter of law” in

those instances where there is no dispute of the facts, following

ordinary principles governing summary judgment, and where,

based on these facts, reasonable persons could only find that the

Claimants were on notice more than three years prior to date this

Claim was brought.

The Claimants also suggest that the continuing treatment

rule, as articulated in Waldman v. Rohrbaugh 241 Md. 137, 215

A.2d 825 (1966), tolls the limitation period until the medical

treatment is terminated. The problem is that the rule itself

contains the caveat “...unless the patient sooner knew or

reasonably should have known of the injury or harm, in which

3-c

case the statute would start with actual or constructive

knowledge,” thus bringing the issue back to principal question.

For reasons cited herein, it is therefore this 6th day of May,

1987, hereby ORDERED:

1. The Health Care Providers’ Motion for Summary Judg-

ment, based on the release of the original tortfeasor, is denied.

2. The Health Care Providers’ Motion for Summary Judg-

ment, based on limitation is granted.

3. Judgment is hereby entered in favor of the Health Care

Provider Donald A. Patterson, Robert K. Hobbs, Michael A.

Winslow, Tom J. Altizer, and Robert J. Cirincione.

4. The costs, as assessed by the Director’s Office, shall be

paid one-half by the Claimants and one-half by the Defendant

Health Care Providers.

Lucien T. Wi

Lucien T. Winegar

Panel Chairman

15 North Court Street

Frederick, MD 21701

301/663-1234

APPENDIX D

l-d

NO. 15,733 CIVIL

IN THE

Circuit Court

FOR WASHINGTON COUNTY

JANET L. ROWLAND AND DONALD E. ROWLAND

Plaintiffs

Vs.

DONALD A. PATTERSON, M.D.

TOM J. ALTIZER, M.D.

MICHAEL A. WINSLOW, M.D.

ROBERT K. HOBBS, M.D.

ROBERT J. CIRINCIONE, M.D.

Defendants

MEMORANDUM OPINION

Aggrieved by an adverse ruling before the Health Claims

Arbitration Board, the plaintiffs decided to challenge the

decision of the Arbitrator by filing suit in the United States

District Court for the District of Maryland on June 15, 1987. The

procedural requirements as set forth in the Maryland statutes and

as interpreted by the Maryland Court of Appeals in Oft v.

Kaiser-Georgetown Health Plan, Inc., 309 Md. 641 (1987),

were fully complied with in a timely fashion.

Firstly, they filed a notice of rejection with the Health

Claims Arbitration Board within 30 days, and secondly, they

filed a notice of action to nullify and complaint in the United

States District Court within 30 days. This was a conscious

decision, an election on their part to proceed in the Federal

Court. Had they chosen, they could have initiated their suit

simultaneously in two jurisdictions by also proceeding in a

timely fashion to file a complaint in state court in Washington

2-d

County, Maryland. They chose deliberately to proceed solely in

the Federal Court and deliberately allowed the 30-day time

limitations to expire without filing a complaint against the

defendants in Maryland.

Months later, and after encountering diversity of citizen-

ship problems in the federal proceedings, they belatedly initiated

action in the Circuit for Washington County on August 16, 1988.

In respect to the state court proceedings, this court finds

that there was substantial non-compliance with the statutory

requirements. The compliance with this requirement is a condi-

tion precedent to vesting the state court with jurisdiction.

This court finds that the non-compliance was not simply

an oversight or inadvertent failure to comply with a technical

requirement. Rather, however, I find that the non-compliance

was as a result of their decision to proceed in Federal Court,

exclusively. The belated decision to file in the state court was

made more than a year late and only after the plaintiffs en-

countered federal jurisdictional problems.

Dated: February 3, 1989

Daniel W. Moylan

Associate Judge

APPENDIX E

l-e

No. 87-1721

United States Court of Appeals

Fourth Circuit

JANET L. ROWLAND; Donald E. Rowland

Plaintiffs - Appellants

v.

DONALD A. PATTERSON, M.D.;

Tom J. Altizer, M.D.;

Michael A. Winslow, M.D.

Robert K. Hobbs, M.D.

Robert J. Cirincione, M.D.

Defendants-Appellees

Argued March 10, 1988

Decided July 18, 1988

Rehearing Denied September 6, 1988

Before MURNAGHAN and CHAPMAN, Circuit Judges and

McMILLAN, United States District Judge for the Western

District of North Carolina, sitting by designation.

MURNAGHAN, Circuit Judge:

On July 16, 1985, Janet L. Rowland and Donald Rowland

filed with the Maryland Health Claims Arbitration Office

(HCAO) a malpractice proceeding against five defendants who

are medical doctors. The step was taken in accordance with the

Maryland Health Care Malpractice Claims subtitle of the Courts

and Judicial Proceedings Article of the Annotated Code of

Maryland. Md. Cts. & Jud.Proc.Code Ann §§ 3-2A-01 to -09.

That subtitle establishes as a pre-condition to legal action in

court the institution of a medical malpractice proceeding. Md.

Cts. & Jud.Proc.Code Ann §3-2A-02; Davison v. Sinai Hosp. of

2-e

Baltimore, 462 F.Supp. 778 (D.Md.1978), aff'd, 617 F.2d 361

(4th Cir.1980); see Ott v. Kaiser-Georgetown Community

Health Plan, Inc., 309 Md. 641, 646, 526 A.2d 46, 49 (1987).

Thereafter, following asummary judgment on May 6, 1987

by the HCAO for the defendants on the grounds that limitations

had expired, plaintiffs filed a notice of rejection with the HCAO

on June 12, 1987. Three days later, plaintiffs, alleging diversity

jurisdiction, filed in the United States District Court for the

District of Maryland a civil action to nullify the HCAO decision

in favor of the defendants. !

Judicial review under a standard akin to de novo review of

the HCAO decision was called for. Md. Cts. & Jud.Proc.Code

Ann. § 3-2A-06. Review is not precisely de novo since the

HCAO decision has continuing vitality. The court on prelimi-

nary motion may modify, correct or vacate the award if it was

procured by fraud or misconduct, occasioned by prejudice, or if

the HCAO had exceeded its authority or committed a mistake

of law or fact appearing on the face of the award. Md.Cts. &

Jud.Proc.Code Ann. §§ 3-2A-06(c), 3-223, 3-224. Otherwise,

the award is admissible in any subsequent judicial proceeding

and is presumed correct. Section 3-2A-06(d). Not only does the

HCAO award have continuing vitality, but so do constituent

elements of the proceeding. For example, when Donald

Rowland’s deposition in the HCAO proceeding was taken on

December 15, 1986, it became admissible in the subsequent

judicial proceeding. Section 3-2A-06(e).

On June 15, 1987 when the complaint was filed with the

clerk of the Maryland federal district court, the plaintiffs and the

defendants were diverse.2 However, they were admittedly not

diverse on July 16, 1985 when the HCAO proceeding first was filed.

]

The nullification action which was accompanied by a Complaint was

virtually identical with the medical negligence claim filed initially with HCAO.

“The defendants seek to controvert that fact, but in view of the result

by the district court it never reached the issue. For reasons later appearing

herein we need not and should not reach it either.

3-e

The question of controlling importance, of course, is which

of those two filings: the HCAO filing or the filing of the

complaint in federal court commenced the action for purposes

of determining the existence of diversity jurisdiction. It is well

settled that diversity is judged as of the time of commencement

of suit. Mollan v. Torrance, 22 U.S. (9 Wheat.) 537, 6 L.Ed. 154

(1824); Smith v. Sperling, 354 U.S. 91, 77 S.Ct. 1112, 1 L.Ed.2d

1205 (1957); Mullins v. Beatrice Pocahontas Co., 489 F.2d 260

(4th Cir.1974). We must decide which filing commenced the

suit. The district court ruled that the HCAO filing commenced

it, found that on the date of commencement the parties were not

diverse, and therefore dismissed the case for want of subject

matter jurisdiction.

The district judge proceeded from the view that an action

must commence for all purposes on a single date. He first found

that the HCAO filing commenced the action for limitations

purposes. He then stated that, because of a current disinclination

to expand diversity jurisdiction, he should not hold that there

was commencement of the action on two different occasions,

once when the HCAO action was initiated on July 16, 1985, for

limitation purposes, and again when the federal district court

suit was filed on June 15, 1987 for purposes of determination of

diversity.

There may be some doubts as to the correctness of the

district court’s logic. An action can commence on more than one

date because of the holding in Erie Railroad v. Tompkins, 304

U.S. 64, 58 S.Ct.817, 82 L.ED. 1188 (1938). Federal courts

Sitting in diversity generally apply state statutes of limitations.

Ragan v. Merchants Transfer & Warehouse Co.n, 337 U.S. 530

69 S.Ct. 1233, 93 L.Ed. 1520 (1949). Thus, a federal action may

commence for limitations purposes upon whatever event the

state has defined for that purpose, e.g., the date of service of the

complaint. Yet for all other purposes the federal action will

commence under the applicable Federal Rule of Civil Proce-

4-e

dure, Rule 3, that states that an action commences when the

complaint is filed. However much it linguistically offends one’s

first impression, in legal principle, there could indeed be two

different times of commencement.

However, even if the reasoning employed by the district

court should prove to be slightly faulty, he was on the right track

and the result remains the same. We agree with the conclusion

that the present action commenced for purposes of determining

diversity when the HCAO proceeding was filed. Federal courts

apply federal rules of procedure, both those promulgated in the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure as well as wholly judge made

procedural rules, unless the Erie doctrine commands otherwise.

Hanna v. Plumer, 380 U.S. 460, 85 S.Ct. 1136, 14 L.Ed.2d 8

(1965); Ely, The Irrepressible Myth of Erie, 87 Harv.L.Rev.

693(1974). The present case requires us to decide which of two

filings commenced an action in federal court for purposes of

determining the existence of diversity jurisdiction. That is a

purely federal procedural question, since no state substantive

right is involved. Hanna, 380 U.S. at 471, 85 S.Ct. at 1143; 28

U.S.C. § 2072.

Looking at the situation solely from a federal point of view,

what occurred on July 16, 1985, the bringing of the HCAO

action, happened to amount for federal purposes to a commen-

cement of the cause of action.> Two reasons lead us to that

conclusion. One, the HCAO proceeding continued to have effect

when and after the case took on a completely judicial aspect.

> The dissent suggests that Cannon v. Kroger, 832 F.2d 303 (4th Cir.

1987), reh’g denied, 837 F.2d 660 (4th Cir.1988), supports its result. To the

extent that Cannon is relevant, it simply supports a proposition to which the

majority and dissent agree, viz, that a federal procedural question is involved

in the present case. The dissent states “[Cannon] lends support to the

proposition that federal courts should apply the Federal Rules unless there is

a compelling reason not to do so.” We agree and have applied federal

procedura! law to the facts of the present case and have decided federally

when the case “commenced” for purposes of determining diversity of the

S-e

Two, submission to the HCAO is a condition precedent to filing

suit in federal court as well as to state court filing. The HCAO

filing then is the first filing necessary to institute a federal civil

action. We hold that the HCAO filing commenced the suit for

purposes of determining diversity jurisdiction. At the time of filing

the HCAO proceeding on July 16, 1985, there was no diversity.

Consequently, dismissal was, therefore, appropriate.

AFFIRMED.

McMILLAN, District Judge, dissenting:

The majority would hold that, for purposes of deciding

diversity of citizenship of the parties, this action was “com-

menced” by the filing of a claim with a Maryland state ad-

ministrative agency, rather than by “filing a complaint with the

[federal] court,” as required by Rule 3 of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure.

I respectfully dissent.

This suit is a medica] malpractice action by plaintiffs Janet

Rowland and Donald Rowland against five medical doctors.

Under Maryland statue, the Rowlands were required to file a

claim with the Maryland Health Care Claims Arbitration Office

as a precondition to filing a suit in either state or federal court.

Md.Cts. & Jud.Proc.Code Ann. § 3-2A-02; Davison v. Sinai

Hospital of Baltimore, 462 F.Supp. 778, 780 (D.Md.1978, aff'd,

617 F.2d 361 (4th Cir. 1980). The Health Care Claims Arbitra-

tion Office (“HCAO”) is an administrative agency of the State

of Maryland. It is not a state or federal court.

parties. That we measure diversity for that purpose by turning to an event

occurring outside of a federal court makes ours no less a decision of federal

procedural law for, in the same mannner federal procedural law requires, in

cases removed from state court, that diversity exist at the time of commen-

cement in State court as well as when the petition for removal is filed (z.e., at

a time when commencement could only be by pertinent state rules). See 14A

C. Wright, A. Miller and E. Cooper, Federal Practice and Procedure, § 3723,

311-14 (1985).

6-e

The Rowlands filed their claim with the Maryland HCAO

on July 16, 1985. At the time they filed their claim, both the

Rowlands and the defendants were residents of Maryland.

On May 6, 1987, the HCAO granted defendants’ motion

for summary judgment on the ground that the claim was untime-

ly under the three-year statue of limitations applicable to medi-

cal malpractice claims against health care providers in

Maryland. Md.Cts. & Jud.Proc. Code Ann. § 5-109.

On June 15, 1987, plaintiffs initiated this suit by filing their

complaint in the United States District Court for the District of

Maryland. Plaintiffs allege that they were residents of West

Virginia at the time they filed their complaint in federal court.

Although defendants dispute the fact of plaintiffs’ West Virginia

residence on June 15, 1987, the court below assumed it. We

likewise assume that, for the purpose of deciding this appeal,

the parties were of diverse citizenship on June 15, 1987.

The district court dismissed the suit on the basis that the

suit commenced for diversity purposes on July 16, 1985, the date

the claim was filed with the Maryland state agency (HCAO),

rather than on June 15, 1987, the date plaintiffs filed their

complaint in United States District Court. The district judge

observed that the filing of the HCAO claim tolled the state statue

of limitations. He dismissed the case because he concluded that

there should not be two dates for commencement of suit, and

because he was concerned not to “expand” diversity jurisdiction.

As the majority observes, this reasoning is not supported

by the law. Federal courts sitting in diversity jurisdiction are

bound to apply state law in determining what event tolls a state

statue of limitations, notwithstanding the language of

Fed.R.Civ.Proc.Rule 3. (“An action is commenced by filing a

complaint with the court.”) Walker v. Armco Steel Corporation,

446 U.S. 740, 751-752, 100 S.Ct. 1978, 1985-1986, 64 L.Ed.2d

659 (1980); See, also, Ragan v. Merchants Transfer &

Warehouse Co., 337 U.S. 530, 69 S.Ct.1233, 93 L.Ed. 1520

7-e

(1949). Where a state recognizes an event different from the

filing of the complaint in the court as commencing the suit for

the purpose of tolling a state statue of limitation, Rule 3 still

governs the definition of “commencement of suit” for other

purposes, such as time deadlines for responsive pleadings.

Walker, 446 U.S. at 751-752, 100 S.Ct. at 1985-1986.

The majority also recognizes that the question when an

action commences for the purpose of determining diversity is a

matter of federal law. See, Ziady v. Curley, 396 F.2d 873, 874

(4th Cir.1968); See, also, Kantor v. Wellesley Galleries, Ltd.,

704 F.2d 1088, 1090 (9th Cir.1983) (following Ziady). However,

the majority reaches a result that is unsupported by federal law.

The circuit courts that have addressed the issue unani-

mously hold that, except in cases removed from state court,

diversity of citizenship is determined with reference to the date

on which a complaint is filed in federal court. Topp v. CompAir

Inc. 814 F.2d 830,832, n. 1(1st Cir.1987) (“Citizenship, for

purposes of establishing diversity jurisdiction, is determined as

of the date of initiation of suit...[citations omitted]... Here, since

suit was filed on August 30, 1985, the citizenship of CompAir

Inc. will be determined as of that date”); Lugo-Vina v. Pueblo

International, Inc. 574 F.2d 41, 42, n. 1 (1st Cir. 1978) (“Diver-

sity] [j]urisdiction is to be determined as of the time of the filing

of the complaint.” ) Wigand v. Flo-Tek, Inc. 609 F.2d 1028, 1032

(2nd Cir.1979) (“Diversity) jurisdiction is to be determined as

of the commencement of suit. ... When the complaint in this case

was filed on September 19, 1972, the offices and operations of

Flo-Tek had been located in Hopewell Junction, N.Y. for ap-

proximately a year [footnote omitted].”); Nationwide Mutual

Fire Insurance Co. v. T & D Cottage Auto Parts and Service

Inc. 705 F2d 685, 688 (3rd Cir.1983) (“,,, diversity jurisdiction

is generally determined by the facts that existed at the time the

complaint was filed.”); Mullins v. Beatrice Pocahontas Co., 489

F.2d 260, 261 (4th Cir.1974) (“Plaintiff’s complaint was filed

8-e

on February 14, 1968, and that, of course, is the crucial date for

determination of defendant’s citizenship.”); Seafoam, Inc. v.

Barrier Systems, Inc. 830 F.2d 62, 66 (Sth Cir. 1987) (“It is well

established law that the jurisdiction of a federal court sitting in

diversity is determined as of the time of the filing of the

complaint.”); Jason’s Foods, Inc. v. Peter Eckrich & Sons, Inc.

768 F.2d 189, 190 (7th Cir. 1985) (“...we direct the district judge

to make and certify to us, within thirty days, his finding on the

defendant’s principal place of business is the relevant date for

purposes of establishing federal [diversity] jurisdiction.”); Co-

Efficient Energy Systems v. CSL Industries, Inc. 812 F.2d 556,

557 (9th Cir.1987) (“Diversity of citizenship is determined as

of the time of the filing of the complaint.”) Mann v. City of

Tucson, Department of Police, 782 F.2d 790, 794 (9th Cir. 1986)

(“Existence of diversity jurisdiction is determined by the citizen-

ship of the parties as the time of the filing of the complaints, not

at the time the cause of action arose or after the action is

commenced.”). Scoggins v. Pollock, 727 F.2d 1025, 1028 (11th

Cir. 1984) (Court determined diversity of citizenship by deter-

mining the facts as of the date the plaintiff filed the suite);

Prakash v. American University, 727 F.2d 1174, 1179, n. 28

(D.C.Cir.1984) (“Diversity of citizenship must exist when the

action is brought-here 1978-and not when the cause of action

arose”); Beghin-Say International v. Ole-Bendt Rasmussen, 733

F.2d 1568, 1572 (Fed.Cir.1984) (“That determination [whether

the parties had diversity of citizenship] must be made as of the

filing date of a complaint, or of an amended complaint, and

cannot be changed by action of a party thereafter.”’).

Those courts use the date the complaint is filed as the date

of commencement of suit because they are bound to do so by

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure Rule 3. Rule 3 states: “A civil

action is commenced by filing a-complaint with the court.”

(Emphasis added.) The Advisory Committee’s note to Rule 3

states,“...2. This rule governs the commencement of all actions,...”

G-e

Rule 3 has the force and effect of a federal statue. Courts

have adopted a narrowing construction of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure only where that construction serves the goals of

the Erie doctrine, (preserving the integrity of state substantive

law in diversity cases), or where an application of a rule would

exceed the limits imposed by the Constitution or the Rules

Enabling Act, 28 U.S.C. § 2072. See, Walker,446 U.S. at 751-

752, 100 S.Ct. at 1985-1986. The application of the federal rules

by a court sitting in diversity jurisdiction is not a matter of discretion.

When a situation is covered by one of the Federal

Rules, the questions facing the court is a far cry from

the typical, relatively unguided Erie choice: the court

has been instructed to apply the Federal Rule, and can

refuse to do so only if the Advisory Committee, this

Court, and congress erred in their prima facie judg-

ment that the Rule in question transgresses neither the

terms of the Enabling Act nor constitutional restric-

tions [footnote omitted].”

Hanna v. Plumer, 380 U.S. 460, 471, 85 S.Ct. 1136, 1144, 14

L.Ed. 2d 8 (1965) (Emphasis added).

Here, as noted above, there is no issue of conflict between

federal and state law because the question when diversity is

determined is a matter of federal law. Nor is there any contention

that the application of Rule 3 to determine diversity of citizen-

ship would violate the Constitution or the Rules Enabling Act.

The majority holds that the HCAO filing was the date of

commencement of suit because “the HCAO proceeding con-

tinued to have effect when and after the case took on a complete-

ly judicial aspect,” and “submission to the HCAO is a condition

precedent to filing suit in federal court as well as state court.”

These observations may be accurate, but they provide no basis

for disregarding the plain language of Rule 3.

10-e

The majority’s holding is tinged with a further irony. The

court could not exercise its subject matter jurisdiction at the time

the HCAO claim was filed because exhaustion of the HCAO

administrative process is a precondition of jurisdiction over a

medical malpractice claim in Maryland. Davison 462 F.Supp.

at 780-781. Yet, under the majority’s view, this date is the

appropriate time to which a court, subsequent to exhaustion of

administrative remedies, looks back in order to determine if the

parties are diverse. Thus, the majority would have a federal court

determine its jurisdiction with reference to a time at which it

could not have sustained its jurisdiction.

Because | respectfully believe the majority's reasoning and

result to be unsupported by law, and because I believe federal

courts should apply the language of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure, absent a compelling reason for a narrowing construc-

tion I dissent. !

Judge Hall has called attention to a prior decision by this court, Cannon

v. Kroger Co., 832 F.2d 303 (4th Cir.1987).

In Cannon, plaintiff asserted that her suit under § 301 of the Labor

Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 185, was commenced for the

purpose of tolling the six-month statute of limications when, in compliance

with North Carolina Rules of Civil Procedure Rule 3, a North Carolina court

issued a Summons in response to plaintiff’s application to file a state court

complaint.

A divided panel of the Fourth Circuit rejected that assertion. The majority

held that the United States Supreme Court’s decision in West v. Conrail et

al., 481 U.S. 35, 107 S.t. 1538, 95 L.Ed. 2d 32 (1987), mandated the

application of the Federa/ Rules to determine when the limitation period

applicable to claims under § 301 was tolled. The majority also held that the

North Carolina state court summons was not the equivalent of a Federal

complaint under Fed. R. Civ. P. Rule 8(a)(2), and that because a complaint

within the meaning of Rule 8(a)(2) was not filed within the limitation period,

the action was not commenced within that period under Fed. R. Civ. P. Rule 3.

Although the facts and reasoning of Cannon are not identical, the decision

lends support to the proposition that federal courts should apply the Federal

Rules unless there is a compelling reason not to do so.

APPENDIX F

1-f

No. 87-1721

United States Court of Appeals,

Fourth Circuit

Janet L. ROWLAND; Donald E. ROWLAND,

Plaintiffs-A ppellants,

Va

Donald A. PATTERSON, M.D.;

Tom J. Altizer, M.D.;

Michael A. Winslow, M.D.;

Robert K. Hobbs, M.D.;

Robert J. Cirincione, M.D.;

Defendants-A ppellees.

Argued Feb. 7, 1989

Decided Aug. 10, 1989

Before ERVIN, Chief Judge, RUSSELL, WIDENER, HALL,

PHILLIPS, MURNAGHAN, SPROUSE, CHAPMAN,

WILKINSON, AND WILKINS, Circuit Judges, en banc.

PHILLIPS, Circuit Judge:

Maryland law requires medical malpractice claimants to

exhaust an arbitration remedy provided by the state as a precon-

dition to bringing any civil action on the claim in state or federal

court. The question on this appeal is whether when a rejected

arbitration claim is followed by a federal action invoking diver-

sity jurisdiction, diversity is determined by the parties’ citizen-

ship at the time the state arbitration claim was filed or at the time

the federal diversity action was later commenced. We hold that

2-f

citizenship at the time the federal action was commenced by

filing a complaint controls, and on that basis vacate the district

court’s contrary ruling and its resulting dismissal of this action

for lack of diversity jurisdiction.

I

This action is one for medical malpractice brought by

plaintiffs Janet Rowland and Donald Rowland against five

medical doctors, the appellees on this appeal. Pursuant to

Maryland law, the Rowlands were required to file a claim with

the Maryland Health Care Claims Arbitration Office (HCAO)

as a precondition to bringing a legal action for malpractice in

either state or federal court. Md.Cts. & Jud.Proc.Code Ann. §

3-2A-02. HCAO is an administrative agency of the State of

Maryland, not a court of law.

The Rowlands filed their claim with the Maryland HCAO

on July 16, 1985. At the time they filed this claim, both the

Rowlands and the defendants were citizens of Maryland

On May 6, 1987, the HCAO granted defendants’ motion

for summary judgment on the ground that the claim was untime-

ly under the three-year statue of limitations applicable to medi-

cal malpractice claims against health care providers in

Maryland. Md.Cts&Jud.Proc.Code Ann § 5-109.

On June 15, 1987, plaintiffs commenced this action by

filing their complaint in the United States District Court for the

District of Maryland, alleging that they were residents of West

Virginia at the time they filed their complaint in federal court.

Defendants disputed the plaintiffs’ allegation that on June 15,

1987, they were citizens of West Virginia and argued alterna-

tively that 'n any event the time for determining diversity was

July 16, 1985, the date the claim was filed with HCAO.

The district court did not address the disputed issue of the

plaintiffs’ citizenship at the time their federal complaint was

filed, but dismissed the action on the ground that for diversity

3-f

purposes the action was commenced on July 16, 1985, when the

claim was filed with the HCAO, at which time the parties

concededly were not of diverse citizenship. The district court

observed that under the Maryland statute the filing of the HCAO

claim tolled the state statue of limitations. Concluding that there

should not be two dates for commencement of suit, and because

of a concern not to “expand” diversity jurisdiction, the court

dismissed the action.

This appeal followed.

II

From the beginning of the diversity jurisdiction, the rule in

actions commenced by plaintiffs in federal court has been that

the citizenship of the parties at the time of commencement of

the action determines whether the requisite diversity exists. See

Mollen v. Torrance, 22 U.S. (9 Wheat.) 537, 6 L.Ed. 154

(1824):; Conolly v. Taylor, 27 U.S. (2 Pet.) 556, 7 L.Ed. 518

(1829). The rule is not derived from nor dependent upon inter-

pretation of either the constitutional source of diversity jurisdic-

tion in Art. III, § 2, or its statutory grant in 28 U.S.C. § 1331.

Neither text expressly or by implication addresses this intersti-

tial question. The rule is therefore purely a judicial one, an-

nounced and reiterated in the earliest Supreme Court cases as an

a priori principle, apparently grounded simply in then cus-

tomary judicial ways of looking at the attachment of jurisdiction

and in the obvious necessity to have some clear rule on the

matter. See Mollern, 22 U.S. at 539 (Marshal, C.J.) (“It is quite

clear, that the jurisdiction of the court depends on the state of

things at the time of the action brought....”); Conolly, 27 U.S. at

565 (Marshall, C.J.) (“[A] jurisdiction depending on the condi-

tion of the party is governed by that condition as it was at the

commencement of the suite.”). This is not the only rule that

might validly (so far as any constitutional or statutory con-

straints are concerned) have been adopted to control on the

point, but its reliability as a convenient bright-line mechanical

4-f

rule that is clearly compatible with general notions of the

attachment of jurisdiction has assured its uninterrupted con-

tinuation from the beginning. See generally 13B C. Wright, A.

Miller, & E. Cooper, Federal Practice and Procedure & 3608

(1984) (hereinafter Wright, Fed.Prac.).

While over time there have been various ways in which a

federal action could be “commenced,”! since 1938 civil actions

are, per the civil rules, commenced by “filing a complaint with

the court.” Fed.R.Civ.P. 3. since the official Rule’s adoption

therefore, this public act of filing has fixed the time of commen-

cement of federal civil actions, hence the convenient and reliable

reference point for determining the existence of diversity under

the broader, antecedent “time of commencement” rule.

We make these obvious points simply to indicate that the

basic rule is one of federal interstitial common law, judicially

created, grounded in policy and necessity rather than in any

constitutional or statutory commands or constraints. And to

make the further point that a routine application of the basic rule

as now made act-specific by Rule 3 would require that diversity

be determined as of the time the federal complaint in this action

was filed rather than, as the district court held, the time that the

earlier State arbitration claim was filed.

Il

The best way to address the jurisdictional issue here is by

considering the arguments made by appellees for not applying

the basic rule as now made act-specific by Rule 3. There are

essentially two arguments as we understand the appellees’ posi-

tion. The first is that application of the federal time of commen-

cement rule here “would violate well established principles of

1

Until adoption of the federal rules in 1938, state law, per the Conform-

ity Act, ch. 255, § 5, 17 Stat. 197 (1872), determined the specific acts, hence

times, of commencement of federal actions at law. See 1] Moore’s Federal

Practice para. 3.03 (1989). The times were thus various, and specific applica-

tions of the time of commencement rule, comparably various.

5-f

Maryland’s substantive law,” hence, presumably, the principle

of Erie R.R. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64, 58 S.Ct. 817, 82 L.Ed.

1188 (1938). Appellees’ Brief at 6.2 The second, an alternative

argument is that even if-a federal rule fixing the time for

determining diversity is applicable, the appropriate federal rule

is that applied in removal cases, which looks to the time of

commencement of any prior “action before a state tribunal.”

Appellees’ Brief at 15.

We take these in order and also consider a third argument

that may be implicit in appellees’ position.

A

There is no Erie problem here. It is true that Maryland’s

statutory requirement of arbitration as a precondition to legal

action has substantive aspects which, under Erie, must be

honored by federal courts. Most critically, the precondition itself

must be enforced by those courts. We have so held. Davison v.

Sinai Hosp. of Baltimore, Inc., 462 F.supp. 778 (D.Md.1978);

aff'd, 617 F.2d 361 (4th Cir. 1980) (diversity action properly

dismissed for failure to comply with precondition). Further-

more, the statutory provision that filing the arbitration claim

tolls the applicable Maryland statute of limitations must be

honored by federal courts under the settled principle that such

state tolling provisions are effectively substantive for Erie pur-

poses. Walker v. Armco Steel Corp., 446 U.S. 740, 750-51, 100

S.Ct. 1978, 1985, 64 L.Ed.2d 656 (1980).

But that exhausts-at least for purposes of this case and the

issues presented on this appeal-any Frie-protected elements of

the state statute. The state law does not purport to fix the time

for determining federal diversity jurisdiction-even assuming

that it might constitutionally do so, a matter not before us. There

is in Consequence simply no question here of displacing any state

) . . .

“ The appellees do not invoke Erie by name, but their argument based

upon the primacy of state substantive principles could only rest upon Erie’s

constituuonal constraints.

6-f

rule of decision (of whatever nature) with the federal rule, hence

there is no impediment under Erie to applying the federal rule.

Cf. Walker, 446 U.S. at 751, 100 S.Ct. at 1985 (“Rule 3 governs

the date from which various timing requirements of the Federal

Rules begin to run, but does not affect state statutes of limita-

tions.”’).

B

The alternative argument, that if federal law applies, it

should be the federal rule for determining diversity in removed

cases, is equally unavailing.

The removal rule is different, and in a way which, if

applicable, would support the appellees’ position. For it requires

that to support diversity jurisdiction in removed cases, diversity

must have existed both at the time the action was originally

commenced in state court and at the time of filing the petition

for removal. See 14A Wright, Fed. Prac., § 3723, at 311-314 (1985).

The short and sufficient answer to this argument is twofold.

First, technically this is not a removed case, originally com-

menced in a state court, but a federal case which originated in

the federal system with the filing of a federal complaint. It is

therefore one to which the federal time of commencement rule

literally applies. Second, and more important, it does not have

the features that gave rise to the different federal rule for

removed cases. That rule apparently has been thought necessary

to prevent nondiverse defendants in a state-filed action from

acquiring a new domicile, removing on the basis of diversity,

and thereby depriving plaintiffs of their forum of choice. See id.

at 313-14. Here the parties who allegedly have brought about

diversity are not defendants but the plaintiffs, so that a successful

invocation of federal jurisdiction here will not have involuntari-

ly deprived any party of any original rightful choice of forum.

It is true that plaintiffs’ conduct may have allowed them to

“manufacture” a basis for jurisdiction that did not exist from the

7-f

accrual of their claim. But this is simply an accepted and

necessary consequence of the basic right of plaintiffs so to

“manufacture” a bona fide diversity jurisdiction. See generally

13B Wright, Fed.Prac. § 3608, at 450-51.

Neither the form nor the underlying rationale for the federal

removal rule requires its application here.

C

In the end, the only possible argument for not applying here

the federal time of commencement rule is one of policy. Though,

as indicated, appellees seemingly have confined their position

to contending that Erie considerations forbid application of the

rule, or that the removal rule analogy somehow compels it, we

think it appropriate to address this last possibility as well. We

do so for two reasons: first, it may be implicit in appellees’

formal arguments which, as indicated, were not altogether clear

as to their conceptual bases; second, it was the basis for the

vacated panel majority opinion in this case. 852 F.2d 108,

110-11 (4th Cir.1988).

Under this theory, cases of this type presumably would be

treated as special cases requiring special treatment. Though not

controlled either by state substantive rules or by the federal

removal rule, neither should they be controlled by Rule 3’s

fixing of the “time of commencement” as the time of filing a

federal complaint. Presumably, the special nature of such cases

would be that state law has imposed some substantively enfor-

ceable precondition to maintaining a legal action upon a par-

ticular claim. In such cases, it could be contended, the federal

rule for determining diversity should, as a matter of policy, be

by reference to the act commencing compliance with the precon-

dition rather than the act of filing a later federal complaint.

Assuming that such a policy choice were possible for us in

the face of Rule 3-a matter of obvious doubtfulness that we need

not decide-we would not make that choice generally, and

8-f

specifically decline to make it in this case. It would not be a good

policy for general application in “precondition” cases. Certainly

it would not be as good a policy as continuing to adhere to the

basic rule in such cases, for two reasons.

First, the basic rule insures greater certitude in making the

jurisdictional determination at issue. It provides a uniform ref-

erence point in the form.of a readily identifiable act of public

record, uniformly recorded throughout the federal system. By

contrast, reference to the many acts that might be deemed to

“commence” compliance with the variety of present and future

State preconditions to suit would be fraught with obvious uncer-

tainties and administrative difficulties.

’ Though state prelitigation procedures are not, of course, confined to

medical malpractice claims, the state medical malpractice procedures

presently in place provide an apt illustration of the difficulties and uncertain-

ties that the proposed rule would produce. There are presently in effect a

number of state procedures generally comparable in the critical respect to

Maryland’s. While they vary greatly in detail, all require acts, some multiple

acts, of one kind or another that could be contended to be the “commence-

ment” of the preliminary proceeding, hence, under the theory under discus-

sion, the “commencement” of any ensuing legal action. See, e.g.,

Fla.Stat.Ann §§ 768.041 et seg. (1986) (claimant required by § 768.57

“[p]rior to filing a claim...[to] serve upon each prospective defendant...a

notice of intent to initiate litigation....”). Hawaii Rev.Stats.Ann. §§ 671-11

et seq. (1988) (claimant required by § 671-12 to “submit the claim to the

medical claim review panel before a suit based on the claim may be com-

menced in any court of this State”): Idaho Code Ann. §§ 6-1001 et seq. (1979)

(claimant required by § 6-1007 to serve “a true copy of the claim” at the

“commencement” of compulsory proceedings for prelitigation considera-

tion); La.Rev.State.Ann. § 40:1299.47 et seq. (Supp.1989) (per §

1299.47(B)(1)(a)(i), “No action...may be commenced in any court before the

claimant’s proposed complaint has been presented to a medical review

panel...”); Mont.Code Ann. § 27-6-101 et seq. (1987) (per § 27-6-301),

“Claimants shall submit a case for consideration of the [medical legal panel]

prior to filing a complaint in any ...court...by addressing an application...to

the director of the panel.””); N.H.Rev.Stat.Ann §§ 519-A:1 et seq. (1974) (per

§ 519-A:2, claims may be voluntarily submitted to hearing panel “prior to

institution of any litigation [by] fil{ling] initially with the clerk of court...;

9-f

Second, there is nothing to choose between the two rules

in terms of the relative fairness of their applications over time.

The disadvantage presumably thought to result to the defendants

in this case from application of the basic rule is that it may permit

plaintiffs to “manufacture” a basis for federal jurisdiction that

would not exist were defendants’ proposed rule adopted. The

basic rule obviously may have that effect in this case, but the

defendants proposed rule would not protect future defendants

from the same result. The very occasional plaintiff minded to

“manufacture” diversity jurisdiction by going to the trouble of

changing domicile would be as able to do so under defendants’

proposed rule as under the basic rule.4

New Mex.Stat.Ann §§ 41-5-1 et seq. (1998) (per § 41-5-15, "No malpractice

action may be filed in any court...before application is made to the medical

review commission....”). Pa.Code T. 37 §§ 171.1 et seq. (1989) (per § 171.23,

An action may be commenced [before an arbitration panel] by the filing of

[a] fee...and a notice complaint or complaint with the Administrator...in

person or by certified mail...”); 9 Utah Code Ann. §§ 78-14-1 et seg. 1987)

(per § 78-14-12) prelitigation consideration of ...claims...condition precedent

to commencing litigation”; “party initiating ...shall file a request...with [state

agency] within 60 days after the filing of a statutory notice of intent to

commence action...”); Va.Code Ann. §§ 8.01-581.2, claimant must “notify”

putative defendant of claim by mail “prior to commencing” an action,

where-upon either claimant or potential defendant may then “request” medi-

cal panel review by mailing request to Chief Justice); Wis.Stat.Ann. §§

655.42 et seq. (Supp.1988) (per § 655.44, request for mediation a precondi-

tion to court action; “shall be delivered in person or sent by registered mail

to the director”); Wyo.Stat. §§ 9-2-1501 et seq. (1987) (per § 9-2-1506,

review by medical review panel precondition to legal action; instituted by

“application” to panel director).

These statutes sufficiently illustrate the difficulty and uncertainty that

would result from rejection of the nationally uniform rule based on Rule 3 in

order to accommodate this sort of state precondition to legal action.

No rule except one that fixed diversity as of the time at the latest that

a cause of action accrued could protect putative defendants against this

inevitable consequence of the basic right of a plaintiff originally to choose

both the forum and the timing of an action. unworkability of any such rule is

obvious and is not suggested here. See 13B Wright, Fed. Prac. § 3608, at 452.

10-f

In terms of their essential fairness in this respect, the two

rules are therefore a standoff. Under the circumstances, stability

and certainty of application dictate adhering to the well-settled,

known rule, and so we choose, assuming that we have any choice

in the face of Rule 3.

IV

For these reasons we hold that the district court erred in

dismissing the action because the parties were not of diverse

citizenship at the time the state arbitration claim was filed. The

appropriate rule for application here is that the existence of

diversity should be determined by reference to the time the

federal complaint was filed. Accordingly, we vacate and remand

the action for further proceedings consistent with this opinion.°

SO ORDERED.

. By this holding we do not of course purport to decide the jurisdictional

issue raised by defendants’ alternative objection that plaintiffs were not of

diverse citizenship at the time the federal complaint was filed. That issue

presumably remains for resolution by the district court under the proper time

of commencement rule.

APPENDIX G

ae

ra a ee

hameniah.! PLS is

eae a!

de

1-g

CIVIL ACTION NO. R-87-1560

IN THE

United States District Court

FOR THE DISTRICT OF MARYLAND

JANET L. ROWLAND AND DONALD E. ROWLAND

Plaintiffs.

‘.

DONALD A. PATTERSON, M.D., ET AL.

Defendants

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

Before the Court is defendants Patterson’s, Altizer’s,

Winslow’s, and Hobbs’ motion to dismiss. The motion has been

fully briefed and responded to and the Court now rules without

need for a hearing, pursuant to Local Rule 6(G) (D. Md. 1987).

Defendants allege that his Court lacks subject matter juris-

diction because at the commencement of this action diversity

did not exist between the plaintiffs and the defendants, and that

the subsequent move of the plaintiffs to West Virginia cannot

establish diversity. The Court agrees and will grant defendants’

motion to dismiss.

Plaintiffs contend that this action commenced with the

filing of the complaint with this Court on June 15, 1987.

Defendants, on the other hand , claim that this action was

commenced by the filing of the suit with the Health Claims

Arbitration Office (HCAO) on July 16, 1985. At that time, both

plaintiffs and defendants were residents of the State of

Maryland, and no diversity existed.

2-g

It is well established that the existence of diversity is

determined at the commencement of the action. See Mollan v.

Torrance, 22 U.S. (9 Wheat) 154 (1824). Plaintiffs argue that

the action before the HCAO was a separate and distinct action

from this filing, and that, for purposes of diversity, commence-

ment began on June 15, 1987.

Plaintiffs have cited several cases dealing with diversity,

but none establish their contention that this action did not

commence with the HCAO filing. Furthermore, plaintiffs con-

tend that, for purposes of tolling the statute of limitations, this

Suit was commenced on July 16, 1985, with the filing of the

HCAO suit. Plaintiffs have espoused a novel but unpersuasive

argument to explain this disparity. It is illogical and un-

reasonable for an action to “commence” on two separate dates.

When, as here, the legislature has provided for an ad-

ministrative remedy which tolls the statute of limitations, this

Court finds that commencement of the administrative remedy

also serves to institute proceedings for purposes of determining

diversity jurisdiction.

Because no diversity existed when this suit was com-

menced on July 16, 1985, this Court lacks subject matter juris-

diction over the case. It is therefore unnecessary to address the

issue of the plaintiffs’ present citizenship.

Historically, diversity jurisdiction was created to provide

a neutral forum for fear that prejudice existed in state courts, but

this argument loses much of its force in today’s society. See

Wasson v. Northrup World Wide Aircraft Serv., Inc., 443 F.

Supp. 400, 401, (D.C. Tex. 1978). “It seems highly unlikely that

this type of prejudice exists in much quantity today.” Asher v.

Patific Power & Light Co., 249 F. Supp. 671, 674 (D.C. Cal.

1965). Given the disfavor in which diversity is held, accepting

plaintiffs’ argument would create an unwarranted expansion of

diversity jurisdiction. The proper forum for this case is in the

State Court system.

3-g

It appears from the pleadings that defendant Robert J.

Cirincione, M.D., did not join in the motion to dismiss. Because

the Court finds it lacks subject matter jurisdiction, there is no

good reason to keep the case open as to him. Therefore, the

motion to dismiss will be granted for the case as a whole and

not just the named movants.

Accordingly, for the reasons stated herein, it is this 5th day

of October, 1987, by the United States District Court for the

District of Maryland,

ORDERED:

1. That defendants’ motion to dismiss is GRANTED

WITHOUT PREJUDICE to plaintiffs’ right to refile in state

court; and,

2. That the Clerk of the Court shall mail copies of the

Memorandum and Order to all counsel of record.

/s/ Norman P, Ramsey

Norman P. Ramsey

United States District Judge

APPENDIX H

- ~is. a > oe _ see OT aE ane at han

, oe ee

s+ Ve t .

feet ae ee! SS

AG ing es

“ight Se

: a ae oe a

@ a. ? a 7 2 x oe i]

ro

0 i

’

rs) ' is : _ ;

- a ra a a y - , ee Scone eae 7 - — SS — — = aa 7 >

1-h

No. 90-1074

United States Court Of Appeals

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

FILED September 9, 1991

JANET L. ROWLAND;

DONALD E. ROWLAND

Plaintiffs - Appellants

Vv.

DONALD A. PATTERSON, M.D.;

TOM J. ALTIZER, M.D.;

MICHAEL A. WINSLOW, M.D.;

ROBERT K. HOBBS, M.D.;

ROBERT J. CIRINCIONE,M.D.

Defendants - Appellees

On Petition for Rehearing with

Suggestion for Rehearing In Banc

Appellants’ filed a petition for rehearing with suggestion

for rehearing in banc. No member of the Court requested a poll

on the suggestion for rehearing in banc, and the original judicial

panel voted to deny the petition for rehearing.

The Court denies the petition for rehearing with suggestion

for rehearing in banc.

Entered at the direction of Judge Phillips, with the concur-

rence of Judge Murnaghan and Judge Britt.

For the Court,

Clerk

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.