Opposition Brief — Clarke v. Loma Linda Foods, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1992

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

pre,

Hdrens cout, US |

FILED

: DEC 2 1999

No. 91-786

In the Supreme Court ofthe“ "“™

United States

October Term, 1991

ERNEST L. CLARKE,

Petitioner,

Vv.

LOMA LINDA FOODS, INC., LARRY BOGGESS.

TED O. COOK, NABIL RAZZOUK.,

ADAM SCHLERETH, and JAMES SMEENGE,

Respondents

Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Ninth Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION

TONI RAE BRUNO

Attorney of Record for Respondent

LOMA LINDA FOODS, INC

CHASE, ROTCHFORD, DRUKKER & BOGUSIT

A Law Corporation

700 South Flower Street

Fifth Floor

Los Angeles, California 90017

Telephone: (213) 626-8711

DAVID F. LINK

CHASE, ROTCHFORD, DRUKKER & BOGUSI

Attorney for Respondent

LOMA LINDA FOODS, IN(

Westside Le aw y Publishers Los Angeles, C alifornia (310) 207-0272

Dll

) > 2

3 A

‘ ?

4 : |

sh :

é

| ‘x! »

Emin Ne |

¥ : ;

fe :

a vl : :

Sans is

| }

-\ |

a

;

; ;

; : ;

; : ' :

ato |

\ a

a | |

S|

\ es \

2

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

May a plaintiff-employee who has failed to allege:

(1) the existence of an internal administrative

procedure to address a grievance with his employer

under an employment contract; (2) any attempt on

his part to comply with such a procedure; or (3) any

interference by the defendant-employer with such an

attempt raise, for the first time on petition for

certiorari to this Court, a claim that there has been

an impairment of his right to enforce his employment

contract under 42 U.S.C. § 1981?

Does the language of 42 U.S.C. § 1981, “make and

enforce contracts,” extend to prospective agreements

a sales employee may enter with customers on behalf

of his employer?

. May one who voluntarily abandons his employment

duties maintain an action pursuant to 42 U.S.C.

§ 1981 against his employer for racially motivated

discharge?

Does plaintiff's complaint in the Federal District

Court of California, Central District, state a cause

of action upon which relief can be granted under

42 U.S.C. § 1981 given the one-year statute of

limitations set forth in California Code of Civil

Procedure, section 340, subdivision (3)?

il

LIST OF PARTIES

Petitioner: Ernest L. Clarke, an individual, Plaintiff-

Appellant, Clarke v. Loma Linda Foods

Inc., et al., United States Court of Appeal

No. 90-55284, United States District Court

No. CV-88-1403-R B(Ex).

Respondents:

LOMA LINDA FOODS, INC., a corpo-

ration, Defendant-Appellee, Clarke v.

Loma Linda Foods Inc., et al., United

States Court of Appeal No. 90-55284,

United States District Court No. CV-

88-1403-RB(Ex).

LARRY BOGGESS, an individual,

Defendant-Appellee, Clarke v. Loma

Linda Foods Inc., et al., United States

Court of Appeal No. 90-55284, United

States District Court No. CV-88-1403-

RB(Ex).

TED O. COOK, an_ individual,

Defendant-Appellee, Clarke v. Loma

Linda Foods Inc., et al., United States

Court of Appeal No. 90-55284, United

States District Court No. CV-88-1403-

RB(Ex).

TED O. COOK, an_ individual,

Defendant-Appellee, Clarke v. Loma

Linda Foods, Inc., et al., United States

Court of Appeal No. 90-55284, United

States District Court No. CV-88-1403-

RB(Ex).

NABIL RAZZOUK, an _ ndividual,

Defendant-Appellee, Clark v. Loma

Linda Foods, Inc., et al., United States

ill

Court of Appeal No. 90-55284, United

States District Court No. CV-88-1403-

RB(Ex).

ADAM SCHLERETH, an individual,

Defendant-Appellee, Clark v. Loma

Linda Foods, Inc., et al., United States

Court of Appeal No. 90-55284, United

States Court No. CV88-1403-R B(Ex).

JAMES SMEENGE, an individual,

Defendant-Appellee, Clark v. Loma

Linda Foods, Inc., et al., United States

Court of Appeal No. 90-55284, United

States Court No. CV88-1403-RB(Ex).

Petitioner’s complaint alleges the individuals were

agents of the corporation, LOMA LINDA FOODS, INC.

The parent corporation to LOMA LINDA FOODS, INC.

is presently Nutricia Corporation. There are no

subsidiaries of LOMA LINDA FOODS, INC. which are

not wholly owned.

iV

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .................... ek pois oe i

a NE eg re ets cdo kavcceganvenypenionatova il

I od oes cde vavcdnduaccevadixenacnedscesesces l

PI ooo dvs pis dno chcn peanakethescvseccwaes: 2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND

SI tos os eccaian da ncutivaxcevaascensenees 2

oe co wie avesectieicsacaeees 2

STATERE OF THE CASE. ....... 0. .cccccccccscceccccssess 3

ee Pee ees oases neon ks cv sitscecdvscssacs 4

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT .................. 5

I.

PETITIONER HAS FAILED TO ESTABLISH ANY

GROUND REQUIRED BY THIS COURT FOR

ISSUANCE OF A WRIT OF CERTIORARI........ 5

I.

CLARKE’S COMPLAINT FAILS TO STATE A

CLAIM UPON WHICH RELIEF MAY BE

GRANTED IN THAT IT CONTAINS NO

ALLEGATIONS LOMA LINDA INTERFERED

WITH HIS RIGHT TO USE LEGAL PROCESS

TO ENFORCE HIS EMPLOYMENT

NEE Owl ox cab anta sc ccieavccnenactanucsundesevnceees 8

IIT.

42 U.S.C. § 1981 DOES NOT EXTEND TO THE

RIGHT OF AN EMPLOYEE TO MAKE SALES

CONTRACTS WITH CUSTOMERS OF HIS

IIE iiss civunsasccacaskoess peraeaaerans 10

IV.

CLARKE’S COMPLAINT FAILS TO ALLEGE

FACTS TO SUPPORT A CLAIM OF

RACIALLY MOTIVATED DISCHARGE......... 10

V.

CLARKE’S CLAIMS BASED UPON 42 U.S.C.

§ 1981 ARE BARRED BY THE APPLICABLE

STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS

VI.

CONCLUSION

Vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases Page(s)

Bratton v. Bethlehem Steel Corp.

GOD F2e GS GAD Fe oiciccccccceccccsccvccesses 12

Darnell v. Campbell County Fiscal Court

731 F.Supp. 1309 (E.D.Ky. 1990).................. 11

Gauvin v. Trombatore

682 F.Supp. 1067 (N.D. Cal. 1988).................. )

Goodman v. Lukens Steel Co.

483 U.S. 656 107 S.Ct. 2617,

ee Re lo) nee ec 6, 12

Hicks v. Brown Group, Inc.

rrr Len 1]

Kauffman v. Moss

420 F.2d 1270 (CA3), cert. denied, 400

U.S. 846, 91 S.Ct. 93, 27 L.Ed.2d

OO a ences asin is aedaxdineseenabieucteicnrera aes ®

Koch v. Yunich

‘SOD Fe I Ae Faia on cnc dsckccecccncctncacescess 8

LaVay Corp. v. Dominion Federal Sav.

& Loan Ass’n

830 F.2d 522 (CA4 1987), cert. den.,

484 U.S. 1065, 108 S.Ct. 1027,

OB EG ee a vic ekc che cade sivccncvevass 11

National Labor Relations Board v.

Pittsburgh S.S. Co.

340 U.S. 498 71 S.Ct. 453 (1951) ......000..0..... 5,7

Nelson v. International Paint Co.

TEGO FBG Ga ee ie va vaneencsscccncccsecctvcss 1!

Patterson v. McLean Credit Union

491 U.S. 164, 109 S.Ct. 2363,

105 L.Ed.2d 132 (1989) ............... £34 7:4 0)

Powell v. Jarvis

660 F236 Shi CCAS Wile aster )

Vil

Powell v. Workmen’s Compensation Board

of The State of New York

Cee se fe | es 8

Trader v. Fiat Distributors, Inc.

476 F.Supp. 1194 (D. Del. 1979).........00..0....... 9

Williams v. Eggleston

170 U.S. 304, 3.09 18 S.Ct. 617,

Oe eI ooo opdv connec vaeuvevcnevuccesenss 10

Wilson v. Garcia

471 U.S. 261 105 S.Ct. 1938,

ey Ie IN oc v ccc cscs scoseccccvecesecteves 12

Yates v. Avco Corp.

er ce Pe Foon i ccc cusdvvccdeseeaass 11

Statutes

California Code of Civil Procedure,

Section 340, subdivision (3)................... 2, 3, 12

Civil Rights Act of 1991

ee Noe oe aay 6

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

a aR lg ee Ae Sie nee eer ae OAR eet 3

Supreme Court Rules

Tg in Si Sa a a eee See ee oes DOT DH 5

42 U.S.C. § 2000e, et seq.

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964......... a

Other

12A American Jurisprudence 2d Contracts

ee I I oc prcn rade css sdavdessoocyes 10

No. 91-786

In the Supreme Court of the

United States

October Term, 1991

ERNEST L. CLARKE,

Petitioner,

V.

LOMA LINDA FOODS, INC., LARRY BOGGESS,

TED O. COOK, NABIL RAZZOUK,

ADAM SCHLERETH, and JAMES SMEENGE,

Respondents.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION

Respondent LOMA LINDA FOODS, INC. (“LOMA

LINDA”) hereby submits its brief in opposition to the

petition for writ of certiorari filed by ERNEST L.

CLARKE seeking review of the Ninth Circuit Court of

Appeals decision rendered in this matter May 28, 1991.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit issued May 28, 1991 is an unreported memo-

randum decision. By footnote, the opinion provides it

is not appropriate for publication. At 933 F.2d 1013

the case name and number are merely listed among those

a

|

not suitable for publication as a part of the table of

Decisions Without Published Opinions.

The opinion of the district court is contained in the

Appendix to this brief at pages 25 through 43 thereof.

JURISDICTION

LOMA LINDA FOODS, INC. takes no issue with the

Statement of jurisdiction set forth in the petition.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STATUTES

In addition to the statutory provisions set forth in

the petition, the following statute of California is

involved, California Code of Civil Procedure, section

340, subdivision (3), the statute of limitations for

personal injury actions:

“Within one year:

(3) An action for libel, slander, assault, battery,

false imprisonment, seduction of a person

below the age of legal consent, or for injury

to or for the death of one caused by the

wrongful act or neglect of another. . .”

INTRODUCTION

Review of the petition for certiorari demonstrates

CLARKE presents no issue of federal law not settled

by this Court and reveals the Ninth Circuit opinion

neither conflicts with decisions of this Court nor creates

a conflict in decisions between the circuits. In fact, the

petition itself makes no claim to the contrary. CLARKE

merely seeks one more level of judicial review of the

facts which precipitated his decision not to continue his

employment. Consequently, the petition fails to meet

the criteria necessary for review by petition for writ of

certiorari set forth in the rules of this Court as well

as the decisional law and merits no consideration.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

CLARKE'’s initial complaint filed June 2, 1987, in the

United States District Court for the Northern District

of Illinois, Eastern Division, was transferred to the

Central District of California February 25, 1988.

(Respondent’s Appendix [“Resp. App.”] B-3.) Following

motions to dismiss, CLARKE filed his second amended

complaint with leave of court on September 11, 1989.

In addition to LOMA LINDA, that complaint named

Larry Boggess, Ted O. Cook, Nabil Razzouk, Adam

Schlereth and James A. Smeenge, individually. It also

alleged the individual defendants acted as agents of

LOMA LINDA. The complaint sought damages based

on asserted violations of 42 U.S.C. § 1981 only. (Resp.

App. A-I through 21.)

On January 8, 1990 pursuant to the motion of LOMA

LINDA, joined by the individual defendants, the district

court dismissed CLARKE’s action for failure to state

a claim upon which relief could be granted in accord

with Federal Rules of Civil Procedure Rule 12(b)(6).

(Resp. App. B-16.) The court found that the action was

barred by the one-year statute of limitations, California

Code of Civil Procedure, section 340, subdivision (3),

and that under Patterson v. McLean Credit Union, 491

U.S. 164, 109 S.Ct. 2363, 105 L.Ed.2d 132 (1989)

CLARKE could not state a claim upon which relief could

be granted.

CLARKE appealed the district court’s decision to the

Ninth Circuit. By its unpublished opinion of May 28,

1991, the Ninth Circuit affirmed the district court order

of dismissal without addressing the statute of limitations

issue. (App. 2-18.)

‘STATEMENT OF FACTS

The complaint alleges CLARKE, a black Jamaican-

American, was employed by LOMA LINDA as a sales

representative beginning September, 1982 in the

company’s Great Lakes territory which encompassed

Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio and

Wisconsin. (Resp. App. A-4.) In March of 1985, LOMA

LINDA began to carry out acorporate restructuring plan,

under which personnel relocations would be necessary,

but contemplated no employee layoffs as a result of the

plan. (District Court Docket no. 66, p.6) Later in March

LOMA LINDA informed CLARKE the Great Lakes

territory would be closed and he, along with other staff,

would need to be reassigned to other areas of the country.

(Resp-App._A-6) On April 18, 1985, CLARKE was

informed his new territory would be centered in New

York. (Resp. App. A-6.)

CLARKE refused to report to his newly assigned sales

territory. He was advised he would be required to be

in his reassigned territory June 3, 1985 in order to

continue his employment. CLARKE decided not to make

the move. (Resp. App. A-2) Based on CLARKE’s decision

not to accept reassignment, his employment did not

continue beyond June 3, 1985. (Resp. App. A-2, 11)

CLARKE was an employee of LOMA LINDA throughout

the time period alleged in the complaint. (Resp. App.

A-4) His reassignment was solely geographical and

involved no new job responsibilities. (Resp. App. A-

6) The complaint asserts no conduct on the part of LOMA

LINDA after June 4, 1985. (Resp. App. A-6 through

11)

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

PETITIONER HAS FAILED TO ESTABLISH

ANY GROUND REQUIRED BY THIS COURT

FOR ISSUANCE OF A _ WRIT OF

CERTIORARI.

The rule is clear that “[a] petition for a writ of certiorari

wi!l be granted only when there are special and important

reasons therefor.” (Sup. Ct. R. 10.1) Rule 10.1 sets forth

the factors this Court considers in evaluating a petition

for writ of certiorari. Among those factors are whether

a circuit court of appeals of the United States has:

rendered a decision in conflict with the decision of

another circuit court on the same matter (Sup. Ct. R.

10.1(a)); decided an important question of federal law

which has not been, but should be, settled by this Court

(Sup. Ct. R. 10.1(c)); or decided a federal question in

a way that conflicts with applicable decisions of this

Court (Sup. Ct. R. 10.1(c)). This Court has forcefully

expressed it will grant certiorari only “in cases involving

principles the settlement of which is of importance to

the public, as distinguished from that of the parties,

and in cases where there is a real and embarrassing

conflict of opinion and authority between the Circuit

Courts of Appeals.” National Labor Relations Board

v. Pittsburgh S.S. Co., 340 U.S. 498, 502, 71 S.Ct. 453

(1951). Yet, in this case involving an unpublished

opinion, CLARKE’s petition has demonstrated no

ground for issuance of a writ of certiorari.

CLARKE'’s first stated reason for grant is styled “[the

Ninth Circuit] Failed To Give Due Emphasis To The

Fact That The Primary Focus Of The Patterson Case

Is The ‘Contract’ Aspect of 42 U.S.C. § 1981. . .” (Pet.,

p. 5.) However, substantive review of the briefing which

follows that heading reveals no discussion of any manner

in which the Ninth Circuit opinion conflicts with this

Court’s decision in Patterson v. McLean Credit Union,

491 U.S. at 180 or any other opinion of this Court.

On appeal to the Ninth Circuit, CLARKE argued

Patterson had been wrongly decided, despite the fact

that, as recognized by the Court of Appeals, it remained

binding authority which that court could not alter. (App.

15, n.2) There is no question that the Ninth Circuit

properly applied the Patterson case as decided by this

Court to the facts of this case.' While CLARKE proceeds

to assert “there is some genuine inconsistency and

confusion in the lower courts, especially at the trial court

level, on the application of Patterson,” (Pet. p. 7), he

makes no reference to any circuit court cases which are

in conflict.

Petitioner’s second “reason for grant” asserts that by

virtue of the Ninth Circuit opinion and Patterson,

employers are granted immunity from suit when they

impair the right of an employee to make sales contracts.

'CLARKE does not address the impact of the Civil Rights Act

of 1991 (Pub. L. 102-166) on the issues in this case. While the

act will have the effect of overruling some aspects of the Patterson

decision, that circumstance does not diminish the validity of the

result reached in this case in light of the issues addressed in sections

II, III and IV of this brief. Furthermore, as discussed more fui.

in section V of this brief, the dismissal of CLARKE’s action is

mandated based solely on the applicable statute of limitations.

Under this Court’s decisica in Goodman v. Lukens Steel, 483 U.S.

656, 661-62, 107 S.Ct. 2617, 96 L.Ed.2d 572 (1987), California’s

one year statute of limitations was appropriately applied.

Consequently, arguments based on the effect of the Civil Rights

Act of 1991 on Patterson, or the effect of that act upon any other

substantive liability theory under 42 U.S.C. § 1981 are moot.

(Pet., p. 9.) However, the present case involves no such

“immunity” from suit. The only claims pled in the

complaint were based on 42 U.S.C. § 1981. Thus, the

opinion in no way abridges other potential claims for

relief whether state or federal. As Patterson explicitly

recited, claims such as those in that case, like those in

the present case, are more appropriately asserted as

employment discrimination claims under Title VII of

the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e, et seq.,

than under § 1981 which is more limited. Patterson v.

McLean Credit Union, 491 U.S. at 180. In addition,

this circumstance demonstrates the consistency of the

Ninth Circuit opinion with the decisional law of this

Court and the other circuit courts rather than evidences

any reason for grant. Moreover, as discussed more fully

in section III of this brief, the ability of an employee

to make sales contracts is not the kind of right protected

by § 1981.

CLARKE'’s third and final purported reason for grant

is entirely factual. Such a contention provides no basis

for this Court to review the decision of the Ninth Circuit.

This Court will not review mere conflicts in the evidence.

National Labor Relations Board v. Pittsburgh S.S. Co.,

340 U.S. at 503. As a part of his factual reason for

grant, CLARKE mentions four district court rulings

which he avers were incorrect, but makes not a single

argument as to why any of them was wrongly decided

and cites no authority whatsoever. (Pet., p. 10-12)

Il.

CLARKE’S COMPLAINT FAILS TO STATE A

CLAIM UPON WHICH RELIEF MAY BE

GRANTED IN THAT IT CONTAINS NO

ALLEGATIONS LOMA LINDA INTERFERED

WITH HIS RIGHT TO USE LEGAL PROCESS

TO ENFORCE HIS EMPLOYMENT

CONTRACT.

Patterson made it clear that the right to enforce a

contract protected by 42 U.S.C. § 1981 is one’s right

to use legal process to enforce that contract. Patterson

v. McLean Credit Union, 491 U.S. at 177. Examination

of the complaint, however, demonstrates that it nowhere

alleges any grievance procedure adopted by LOMA

LINDA, any attempt by CLARKE to redress his

grievances with LOMA LINDA through any such process,

or any attempt by CLARKE to redress that grievance

by any other legal process. The complaint is further

fatally defective in that it contains no allegations as to

any manner in which LOMA LINDA interfered with or

frustrated CLARKE in an attempt to avail himself of

a company grievance process or other form of legal

process. At the very least, a violation of § 1981 for

interference with the right to enforce a contract must

allege that there was some interference with the plaintiff's

access to legal process. Jd. The complaint is entirely

silent on these issues.

Complaints which rely on federal civil rights statutes

are plainly insufficient unless they contain specific

allegations of fact indicating a deprivation of civil rights,

rather than state simple conclusions. Koch v. Yunich,

533 F.2d 80, 85 (CA2 1976); Powell v. Jarvis, 460 F.2d

551, 558 (CA2 1972); Kauffman v. Moss, 420 F.2d 1270,

1275 (CA3), cert. denied, 400 U.S. 846, 91 S.Ct. 93,

27 L.Ed.2d. 84 (1970); Powell v. Workmen’s Compen-

sation Board of The State of New York, 327 F.2d 131,

137 (CA2 1964); Trader v. Fiat Distributors, Inc., 476

F.Supp. 1194, 1197-98 (D. Del. 1979); Gauvin vy.

Trombatore, 682 F.Supp. 1067, 1071 (N.D. Cal. 1988).

The actual allegations contained in the complaint recite

plaintiff “complained” to “superiors” of one of the

individual defendants, but “received no remedy or relief”;

plaintiff “attempted to negotiate with defendants .. .

but his efforts were ignored or rebuffed;” “defendants

refused to engage in good faith discussions of the terms

and conditions associated” with other positions;

defendants “gave plaintiff inaccurate and incomplete

information regarding relocation assistance policies and

practices;” and defendants made “no further response”

to plaintiff's citation to his difficulty in finding suitable,

affordable housing. (Resp. App. A-5, 6-9, 11) Such

assertions cannot be rationally construed to allege an

employer’s interference with an employee’s access to legal

process.

CLARKE, in blatant conflict with the actual allegations

contained in his complaint, states in his petition he was

“frustrated” in his “attempts to access the internal

grievance process.” Even if such an allegation were truly

contained in the complaint, it would be insufficient to

state the necessary element of a§ 1981 claim, interference

with access to legal process. A plaintiff must allege

specific facts to state a federal civil rights claim; mere

conclusory allegations are insufficient. /d.

10

42 U.S.C. § 1981 DOES NOT EXTEND TO THE

RIGHT OF AN EMPLOYEE TO MAKE SALES

CONTRACTS WITH CUSTOMERS OF HIS

EMPLOYER.

CLARKE’s novel suggestion, without citation to

authority in law, or support in reason, that 42 U.S.C.

§ 1981 protects his right to make sales contracts on behalf

of his employer (Pet., p. 9.) was properly rejected by

the Ninth Circuit as without merit. As the Ninth Circuit

opinion expressly held, the claimed “right” of an

employee to make sales contracts is clearly not the kind

of right embodied in § 1981. (App. 15.) It is axiomatic

that, regardless of race, one may only enforce contracts

to which he is a party. Williams v. Eggleston, 170 U.S.

304, 3.09 18 S.Ct. 617, 42 L.Ed. 1047 (1898); 12A

Am.Jur.2d Contracts § 425 (2nd ed. 1991). CLARKE

himself makes no claim he was a contracting party with

those to whom he sold LOMA LINDA food products.

IV.

CLARKE’S COMPLAINT FAILS TO ALLEGE

FACTS TO SUPPORT A CLAIM OF

RACIALLY MOTIVATED DISCHARGE.

The allegations of CLARKE’s complaint acknowledge

he chose not to report on June 3, 1985 to the sales

territory newly assigned to him as a result of LOMA

LINDA’s business necessity to reorganize all of its sales

territories. (App. 12) Thus, no discharge occurred in

this case. In fact, Petitioner’s brief on appeal.to the Ninth

Circuit, conceded his “employment with Loma Linda

came to an end in June of 1985 as a result of conduct

on the part of defendants that made it impractical for

1]

him to continue.” (“Brief of Appellant,” p. 17.) Such

a claim cannot reasonably be construed to be a discharge

because of race. Instead it demonstrates the actual nature

of the facts here: CLARKE no longer works for LOMA

LINDA through his own choice.

An employee’s decision that a transfer is not

economically advantageous or is perceived by him to

be impractical does not amount to a discharge, direct

or constructive. A constructive discharge must be based

on objective criteria that would create intolerable

conditions a reasonable person could not be expected

to bear. Yates v. Avco Corp., 819 F.2d 630, 636-37 (CA6

1987); Darnell v. Campbell County Fiscal Court, 731

F.Supp. 1309, 1312-13 (E.D.Ky. 1990). Therefore,

despite CLARKE’s contention that racially motivated

discharge is compensable under 42 U.S.C. § 1981

subsequent to Patterson in reliance on Hicks v. Brown

Group, Inc., 402 F.2d 630 (CA8 1990), the pleadings

of the instant case provide no basis to address that issue.

V.

CLARKE’S CLAIMS BASED UPON 42 U.S.C.

§ 1981 ARE BARRED BY THE APPLICABLE

STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS.

Where venue of an action is transferred between

districts, the law of the state in which the transferree

district sits is applied with regard to statute of limitations

issues. LaVay Corp. v. Dominion Federal Sav. & Loan

Ass'n, 830 F.2d 522, 526 (CA4 1987), cert. den., 484

U.S. 1065, 108 S.Ct. 1027, 98 L.Ed.2d. 991 (1988); Nelson

v. International Paint Co., 716 F.2d 640, 643 (CA9 1983).

This prevents plaintiffs from filing suits in inappropriate

forums in order to gain the advantage of that forum’s

law. Lavay, 830 F.2d at 526.

a

12

The district court correctly concluded California’s one-

year statute of limitations set out in Code of Civil

Procedure, section 340, subdivision (3) was applicable

under this Court’s decision in Goodman v. Lukens Steel

Co., 483 U.S. 656, 661-62, 107 S.Ct. 2617, 96 L.Ed.2d

572 (1987). Goodman held the statute of limitations to

be applied to cases filed under 42 U.S.C. § 1981 is the

same as that to be applied to 42 U.S.C. § 1983 actions.

Id. at 660. Applying the rule of Wilson v. Garcia, 471

U.S. 261, 266-68, 105 S.Ct. 1938, 85 L.Ed.2d 254 (1985),

this Court held in Goodman that where there is more

than one potentially applicable statute of limitations,

the civil rights statutes require federal courts to apply

the state personal injury statute of limitations. Goodman,

482 U.S. at 661. This is the same rule the Ninth Circuit

has applied since 1980. Bratton v. Bethlehem Steel Corp.,

649 F.2d 658, 663 (CA9 1980). Given that the last

wrongful acts alleged against LOMA LINDA occurred

prior to June 4, 1985 and the complaint was not filed

until June 2, 1987, CLARKE’s claims under § 1981 were

time-barred approximately a year before the action was

brought.

13

Vi.

CONCLUSION

For the above reasons, the petition for writ of

certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

TONI RAE BRUNO

Attorney of Record for Respondent

LOMA LINDA FOODS, INC.

CHASE, ROTCHFORD, DRUKKER & BOGUST

700 SOUTH FLOWER STREET

FIFTH FLOOR

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90017

TELEPHONE: (213) 626-8711

DAVID F. LINK

CHASE, ROTCHFORD, DRUKKER & BOGUST

Attorneys for Respondent

LOMA LINDA FOODS, INC.

LPPENDICES

Edward E. Robinson

ROBINSON, DeMILLS & ASSOCIATES, P.C.

5117 South Cornell Avenue

Chicago, IL 60615

(312) 288-6938

Attorneys for Plaintiff

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

ERNEST L. CLARKE, )

Plaintiff, ) No. CV 88-1403 RB(Ex)

VS. ) SECOND AMENDED

LOMA LINDA FOODS. ) COMPLAINT; DEMAND

INC.. et al.. ) FOR JURY TRIAI

)

)

Defendants.

FIRST CLAIM FOR RELIEF

(Racially Motivated Impairment of Contract

42 USC, Section 1981)

Plaintiff complains and alleges as follows:

NATURE OF THE CASE

|. This is an action brought by a sales representative,

Ernest L. Clarke, against his former employer, Loma

linda Foods, Inc., and against Larry Boggess, Ted O.

RESP. APPENDIX A

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

A-2

Cook, Nabil Razzouk, Adam Schlereth, and James A.

Smeenge, both individually and in their capacity as

agents of said former employer. Plaintiff alleges that

said defendants intentionally discriminated against him

on the basis of his race (black), that he was compelled

to sell only to black customers pursuant to company

policy, and that he was later fired when he found it

economically too burdensome to comply with said policy

of defendant Loma Linda Foods, Inc. This racialiy

motivated conduct was referred to as wrongful

termination in plaintiff's Section 1981 claim in his First

Amended Complaint filed more than a year before the

United States rendered their decision in Patterson v.

McLean Credit Union, U.S. —__, 109 S.Ct. 2363

(decided June 15, 1989). Patterson held that Section 1981

is applicable only to racially motivated conduct that

impairs the making and enforcing of contracts. With

a slight change in focus, but no material change in the

underlying facts, this Second Amended Complaint

reveals that the Patterson decision has no material

impact on plaintiffs cause of action. The facts underlying

plaintiff's claim of wrongful termination as well as his

pendant claims of breach of contract, intentional

interference with contract, and intentional infliction of

emotional distress, show racially motivated conduct on

the part of the defendants which impaired plaintiff's right

to make and enforce contracts in violation of Section

1981.

Furthermore, the facts alleged by plaintiff herein,

many of which are already admitted to by defendants,

constitute a separately distinguishable basis for plaintiff's

cause of action under Section 1981, post- Patterson. The

plaintiff in Patterson was an office worker. Plaintiff in

the instant case was a sales representative and, as such,

it was the very nature of his business to make contracts

a

A-3

for the sale of infant formula and other products

manufactured or distributed by defendant Loma Linda

Foods, Inc. This means that racially motivated conduct

of any kind that impaired his ability to make and enforce

sales contracts on the same basis as a white citizen is

actionable under Section 1981. Such conduct includes

constructive termination, breach of contract, intentional

interference with contract, intentional infliction of

emotional distress, and any other such conduct.

Plaintiff seeks money damages for lost wages and

benefits, liquidated, compensatory and punitive

damages, and injunctive and declaratory relief, including

an order requiring defendant Loma Linda Foods, Inc.,

to modify its practices and policies which result in

unlawful discrimination based on race.

JURISDICTION

2. Jurisdiction over this action is based upon Title

28, USC Section 1331 (federal question), and Title 42

USC Section 1981. Section 1981 states:

“All persons within the jurisdiction of the

United States shall have the same right in every

State and Territory to make and enforce

contracts, to sue, be parties, give evidence, and

to the full and equal benefit of all laws and

proceedings for the security of persons and

property as is enjoyed by white citizens, and

shall be subject to like punishment, pains,

penalties, taxes, licenses, and exactions of every

kind, and to no.other.”

PLAINTIFF

3. Plaintiff was one of two sales representatives in

the Great Lakes sales territory of defendant Loma Linda

Foods, Inc., at the time his employment was terminated

A-4

on June 3, 1985. He had worked for defendant since

September of 1982. He was one of only two black sales

representatives out of the approximately 100 such

positions maintained by Loma Linda Foods, Inc.,

nationwide.

DEFENDANTS

4. Defendant Loma Linda Foods, Inc., is a business

corporation incorporated in the State of California, with

its principal place of business also in California. It was

at all relevant times a wholly-owned subsidiary of the

Seventh-day Adventist Church, a Maryland non profit

corporation, and shared a large body of policies and

practices with this its parent church organization. During

the time period covering the events cited in this

complaint, the individual defendants were all employees

of Loma Linda Foods, Inc., with various corporate,

administrative and managerial titles and responsibilities.

5. On or about September |, 1982, plaintiff was

employed by defendant Loma Linda Foods as a sales

representative for its Great Lakes Territory, which

territory included the states of Illinois, Indiana,

Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin.

6. All pre-employment interviews decisions and

commitments to hire plaintiff were conducted in Illinois,

including an interview with the president of defendant

Loma Linda Foods.

7. Plaintiff's initial sales area was the northwestern

suburbs of Chicago, a middle to upper class white

community.

8. On a date certain that plaintiff does not now recall

defendant Ted O. Cook met in Chicago with plaintiff

and the other Chicago area sales representative (a white

male) and, after an extensive review of sales activities

A-5

and records, decided to immediately reassign plaintiff

to the south side of Chicago, a predominantly black

community, for the reason, as expressly stated by

defendant Cook, that blacks should only sell to blacks.

9. Plaintiff was immediately reassigned to the south

side of Chicago despite his strenuous objections to the

transfer, citing the blatantly racist basis for the transfer,

and his outstanding sales record in his non-black

territory. These racially motivated acts of defendant

imposed new contract terms and conditions on plaintiff

and thus impaired plaintiff’s right to make and enforce

his employment contract with defendants in violatior

of Section 1981.

10. Plaintiff complained to defendant Cook’s superiors

but received no remedy or relief.

1]. As a proximate result of defendants’ discrimination

against plaintiff, plaintiff has sustained and continues

to sustain substantial losses in earnings and other

employment benefits. Plaintiff is thus entitled to recover

compensatory damages from defendants in an amount

according to proof.

12. Defendants did the acts alleged herein maliciously,

fraudulently and oppressively and with the wrongful

intention of injuring plaintiff and with an improper and

evil motive amounting to malice. Plaintiff has suffered

and continues to suffer humiliation and mental anguish,

all to his damage, and is thus entitled to recover punitive

damages from defendants in an amount according to

proof.

WHEREFORE, plaintiff requests judgment against

said defendants jointly and severally for compensatory

damages in the amount of Six Hundred Twenty

Thousand Dollars ($620,000.00) or according to proof,

A-6

and for exemplary and punitive damages in the amount

of Nine Hundred Thousand Dollars ($900,000.00) or

according to proof; for an order requiring defendant

Loma Linda Foods, Inc., to modify its practices and

policies which result in unlawful discrimination based

on race; all together with the costs of this action,

statutory attorneys’ fees pursuant to 42 USC, Section

1988; and such other relief both legal and equitable,

as the Court deems just.

SECOND CLAIM FOR RELIEF

(Racially Motivated Impairment of Contract

42 USC, Section 1981)

1-7 The allegations of paragraphs | through 7 of the

hereinabove First Claim for Relief are realleged and

incorporated herein by reference.

8. On or about March 25, 1985, defendant Loma Linda

Foods announced its plan to close down its Great Lakes

Territory and reassign staff (this would include plaintiff)

to other areas of the country, leaving the specific details

to the regional managers.

9. On or about April 18, 1985, defendant Adam

Schlereth, then district manager of the Northeastern

Region of defendant Loma Linda Foods, Inc., called

plaintiff from Connecticut to say that he had consulted

with defendant James Smeenge, his predecessor in the

northeast, and they had decided that plaintiff would be

transferred to a predominantly black community in New

York City. This was confirmed by plaintiff in a telephone

conversation with defendant James Smeenge at his new

location in Florida. Plaintiff was told that this was due

to a company policy of blacks selling only to blacks.

Plaintiff attempted to negotiate with defendants the

changed terms and conditions associated with the

— EE

A-7

position in New York City, citing in particular the high

cost of housing, but these efforts were ignored or

rebuffed. These racially motivated acts of defendants

impaired plaintiff's right to make and enforce employ-

ment contracts with defendants in violation of Section

1981.

10. As a proximate result of defendants’ discrimination

against plaintiff, plaintiff has sustained and continues

to sustain substantial losses in earnings and other

employment benefits. Plaintiff is thus entitled to recover

compensatory damages from defendants in an amount

according to proof.

11. Defendants did the acts alleged herein maliciously,

fraudulently and oppressively and with the wrongful

intention of injuring plaintiff and with an improper and

evil motive amounting to malice. Plaintiff has suffered

and continues to suffer humiliation and mental anguish,

all to his damage, and is thus entitled to recover punitive

damages from defendants in an amount according to

proof.

WHEREFORE, plaintiff requests judgment against

said defendants jointly and severally for compensatory

damages in the amount of Six Hundred Twenty

Thousand Dollars ($620,000.00) or according to proof,

and for exemplary and punitive damages in the amount

of Nine Hundred Thousand Dollars ($900,000.00) or

according to proof; for an order requiring defendant

Loma Linda Foods, Inc., to modify its practices and

policies which result in unlawful discrimination based

on race; all together with the costs of this action,

Statutory attorneys’ fees pursuant to 42 USC, Section

1988; and such other relief, both legal and equitable,

as the Court deems just.

A-8

THIRD CLAIM FOR RELIEF

(Racially Motivated Impairment of Contract

42 US“, Section 1981)

1-8. The allegations of paragraphs | through 8 of the

hereinabove Second Claim for Relief are realleged and

incorporated herein by reference.

9. On or about April 18, 1985, defendant Adam

Schlereth, then district manager of the Northeastern

Region of defendant Loma Linda Foods, Inc., called

plaintiff from Connecticut to say that he had consulted

with defendant James Smeenge, his predecessor in the

northeast and they had decided that plaintiff would be

transferred to a predominantly black community in New

York City, clearly suggesting that it would be better

for a black person to try to develop sales opportunities

for the company in the targeted community. Plaintiff

expressed to defendants his interest in two other open

positions, including a position in San Diego, California,

but defendants refused to engage in good faith

4 discussions of the terms and conditions associated with

either position. Defendants’ racially motivated refusal

to consider plaintiff's requests to be considered for the

two other open positions impaired plaintiff's right to

make and enforce employment contracts with defendants

in violation of Section 1981.

10. As a proximate result of defendants’ discrimination

against plaintiff, plaintiff has sustained and continues

to sustain substantial losses in earnings and other

emplovment benefits. Plaintiff is thus entitled to recover

compensatory damages from defendants in an amount

according to proof.

11. Defendants did the acts alleged herein maliciously,

fraudulently and oppressively and with the wrongful

— a

A-9

intention of injuring plaintiff and with an improper and

evil motive amounting to malice. Plaintiff has suffered

and continues to suffer humiliation and mental anguish,

all to his damage, and is thus entitled to recover punitive

damages from defendants in an amount according to

proof.

WHEREFORE, plaintiff requests judgment against

said defendants jointly and severally for compensatory

damages in the amount of Six Hundred Twenty

Tnousand Dollars ($620,000.00) or according to proof,

and for exemplary and punitive damages in the amount

of Nine Hundred Thousand Dollars ($900,000.00) or

according to proof; for an order requiring defendant

Loma Linda Foods, Inc., to modify its practices and

policies which result in unlawful discrimination based

on race, all together with the costs of this action,

statutory attorneys’ fees pursuant to 42 USC, Section

1988; and other relief, both legal and equitable, as the

Court deems just.

FOURTH CLAIM FOR RELIEF

(Racially Motivated Impairment of Contract

42 USC, Section 1981)

|-8. The allegations of paragraphs | through 8 of the

hereinabove Second Claim for Relief are realleged and

incorporated herein by reference.

9. On or about May I, 1985, and again on or about

May 13, 1985, defendants Nabil Razzouk, Adam

Schlereth and Ted O. Cook intentionally and for racial

reasons, gave plaintiff inaccurate and incomplete

information regarding relocation assistance policies and

practices of defendant Loma Linda Foods, Inc. Said

racially motivated acts of said defendants impaired

plaintiff's right to make and enforce contracts of

A-10

employment with defendants in violation of Section

1981.

10. As a proximate result of defendants’ discrimination

against plaintiff, plaintiff has sustained and continues

to sustain substantial losses in earnings and other

employment benefits. Plaintiff is thus entitled to recover

compensatory damages from defendants in an amount

according to proof.

11. Defendants did the acts alleged herein maliciously,

fraudulently and oppressively and with the wrongful

intention of injuring plaintiff and with an improper and

evil motive amounting to malice. Plaintiff has suffered

and continues to suffer humiliation and mental anguish,

all to his damage, and is thus entitled to recover punitive

damages from defendants in an amount according to

proof.

WHEREFORE, plaintiff requests judgment against

’ said defendants jointly and severally for compensatory

damages in the amount of Six Hundred Twenty

Thousand Dollars ($620,000.00) or according to proof,

and for exemplary and punitive damages in the amount

of Nine Hundred Thousand Dollars ($900,000.00) or

according to proof; for an order requiring defendant

Loma Linda Foods, Inc., to modify its practices and

policies which result in unlawful discrimination based

on race, all together with the costs of this action,

Statutory attorneys’ fees pursuant to 42 USC, Section

1988; and other relief, both legal and equitable, as the

Court deems just.

A-I1

FIFTH CLAIM FOR RELIEF

(Racially Motivated Impairment of Contract

42 USC, Section 1981)

1-8. Tue allegations of paragraphs | through 8 of the

hereinabove Second Claim for Relief are realleged and

incorporated herein by reference.

9. On or about May 21, 1985, defendant Nabil

Razzouk, pursuant to the policy and practice of requiring

blacks to only sell to blacks, issued an ultimatum to

plaintiff to be physically present at his new position in

New York City by June 3, 1985, or his employment

would be terminated.

10. Plaintiff responded citing, among other things,

his difficulty in finding suitable, affordable housing in

New York City. There was no further response from

defendant Loma Linda Foods, Inc., except as to thi

details of plaintiff's termination such as payment for

accumulated unpaid vacation hours.

11. Defendant’s constructive termination of plaintiff

was racially motivated and impaired plaintiff's right to

make and enforce contracts of employment with

defendants in violation of Section 1981.

12. As a proximate result of defendants’ discrimination

against plaintiff, plaintiff has sustained and continues

to sustain substantial losses in earnings and other

employment benefits. Plaintiff is thus entitled to recover

compensatory damages from defendants in an amount

according to proof.

13. Defendants did the acts alleged herein maliciously,

fraudulently and oppressively and with the wrongful

intention of injuring plaintiff and with an improper and

evil motive amounting to malice. Plaintiff has suffered

A-12

and continues to suffer humiliation and mental anguish,

all to his damage, and is thus entitled to recover punitive

damages from defendants in an amount according to

proof.

WHEREFORE, plaintiff requests judgment against

said defendants jointly and severally for compensatory

damages in the amount of Six Hundred Twenty

Thousand Dollars ($620,000.00) or according to proof,

and for exemplary and punitive damages in the amount

of Nine Hundred Thousand Dollars ($900,000.00) or

according to proof; for an order requiring defendant

Loma Linda Foods, Inc., to modify its practices and

policies which result in unlawful discrimination based

on race, all together with the costs of this action,

Statutory attorneys’ fees pursuant to 42 USC, Section

1988; and other relief, both legal and equitable, as the

Court deems just.

SIXTH CLAIM FOR RELIEF

(Racially Motivated Impairment of Contract

42 USC, Section 1981)

1-8. The allegations of paragraphs | through 8 of the

hereinabove First Claim for Relief are realleged and

incorporated herein by reference.

9. Plaintiff was immediatel, reassigned to the south

side of Chicago despite his strenuous objections to the

transfer, citing the blatantly racist basis for the transfer,

and his outstanding sales record in his non-black

territory. These racially motivated acts of defendant

impaired plaintiff's right to make and enforce sales

contracts in his work as a sales representative for

defendant Loma Linda Foods, Inc., in violation of

Section 1981.

A-13

10. As a proximate result of defendants’ discrimination

against plaintiff, plaintiff has sustained and continues

to sustain substantial losses in earnings and other

employment benefits. Plaintiff is thus entitled to recover

compensatory damages from defendants in an amount

according to proof.

11. Defendants did the acts alleged herein maliciously,

fraudulently and oppressively and with the wrongful

intention of injuring plaintiff and with an improper and

evil motive amounting to malice. Plaintiff has suffered

and continues to suffer humiliation and mental anguish,

all to his damage, and is thus entitled to recover punitive

damages from defendants in an amount according to

proof.

WHEREFORE, plaintiff requests judgment against

said defendants jointly and severally for compensatory

damages in the amount of Six Hundred Twenty

Thousand Dollars ($620,000.00) or according to proof,

and for exemplary and punitive damages in the amount

of Nine Hundred Thousand Dollars ($900,000.00) or

according to proof; for an order requiring defendant

Loma Linda Foods, Inc., to modify its practices and

policies which result in unlawful discrimination based

on race, all together with the costs of this action,

statutory attorneys’ fees pursuant to 42 USC, Section

1988; and other relief, both legal and equitable, as the

Court deems just.

SEVENTH CLAIM FOR RELIEF

(Racially Motivated Impairment of Contract

42 USC, Section 1981)

1-7 The allegations of paragraphs | through 7 of the

hereinabove First Claim for Relief are realleged and

incorporated herein by reference.

A-14

8. On or about March 25, 1985, defendant Loma Linda

Foods announced its plan to close down its Great Lakes

Territory and reassign staff (this would include plaintiff)

to other areas of the country, leaving the specific details

to the regional managers.

9. On or about April 18, 1985, defendant Adam

Schlereth, then district manager of the Northeastern

Region of defendant Loma Linda Foods, Inc., called

plaintiff from Connecticut to say that he had consulted

with defendant James Smeenge, his predecessor in the

northeast and they had decided that plaintiff would be

transferred to predominantly black community in New

York City. This was confirmed by plaintiff in a telephone

conversation with defendant James Smeenge at his new

location in Florida. Plaintiff was told that this was due

to a company policy of blacks selling only to blacks.

Plaintiff attempted to negotiate with defendants the

changed terms and conditions associated with the

position in New York City, citing in particular the high

cost of housing, but these efforts were ignored or

rebuffed. These racially motivated acts of defendants

impaired plaintiff’s right to make and enforce employ-

ment contracts with defendants in violation of Section

1981.

10. As a proximate result of defendants’ discrimination

against plaintiff, plaintiff has sustained and continues

to sustain substantial losses in earnings and other

employment benefits. Plaintiff is thus entitled to recover

compensatory damages from defendants in an amount

according to proof.

11. Defendants did the acts alleged herein maliciously,

fraudulently and oppressively and with the wrongful

intention of injuring plaintiff and with an improper and

evil motive amounting to malice. Plaintiff has suffered

A-15

and continues to suffer humiliation and mental anguish,

all to his damage, and is thus entitled to recover punitive

damages from defendants in an amount according to

proof.

WHEREFORE, plaintiff requests judgment against

said defendants jointly and severally for compensatory

damages in the amount of Six Hundred Twenty

Thousand Dollars ($620,000.00) or according to proof,

and for exemplary and punitive damages in the amount

of Nine Hundred Thousand Dollars ($900,000.00) or

according to proof; for an order requiring defendant

Loma Linda Foods, Inc., to modify its practices and

policies which result in unlawful discrimination based

on race; all together with the costs of this action,

statutory attorneys’ fees pursuant to 42 USC, Section

1988; and such other relief, both legal and equitable,

as the Court deems just.

EIGHTH CLAIM FOR RELIEF

(Racially Motivated Impairment of Contract

42 USC, Section 1981)

1-8 The allegations of paragraphs | through 8 of the

hereinabove Second Claim for Relief are realleged and

incorporated herein by reference.

9. On or about April 18, 1985, defendant Adam

Schlereth, then district manager of the Northeastern

Region of defendant Loma Linda Foods, Inc., called

plaintiff from Connecticut to say that he had consulted

with defendant James Smeenge, his predecessor in the

northeast and they had decided that plaintiff would be

transferred to predominantly black community in New

York City, clearly suggesting that it would be better

for a black person to try to develop sales opportunities

for the company in the targeted community. Plaintiff

A-16.

expressed to defendants his interest in two other open

positions, including a position in San Diego, California,

but defendants refused to engage in good faith

discussions of the terms and conditions associated with

either position. These racially motivated acts of

defendant impaired plaintiff's right to make and enforce

sales contracts in his work as a sales representative for

defendant Loma Linda Foods, Inc., in violation of

Section 1981.

10. As a proximate result of defendants’ discrimination

against plaintiff, plaintiff has sustained and continues

to sustain substantial losses in earnings and other

employment benefits. Plaintiff is thus entitled to recover

compensatory damages from defendants in an amount

according to proof.

11. Defendants did the acts alleged herein maliciously,

fraudulently and oppressively and with the wrongful ©

intention of injuring plaintiff and with an improper and

evil motive amounting to malice. Plaintiff has suffered

and continues to suffer humiliation and mental anguish,

all to his damage, and is thus entitled to recover punitive

damages from defendants in an amount according to

proof.

WHEREFORE, plaintiff requests judgment against

said defendants jointly and severally for compensatory

damages in the amount of Six Hundred Twenty

Thousand Dollars ($620,000.00) or according to proof,

and for exemplary and punitive damages in the amount

of Nine Hundred Thousand Dollars ($900,000.00) or

according to proof; for an order requiring defendant

Loma Linda Foods, Inc., to modify its practices and

policies which result in unlawful discrimination based

on race; all together with the costs of this action,

Statutory attorneys’ fees pursuant to 42 USC, Section

A-17

1988; and such other relief, both legal and equitable,

as the Court deems just.

NINTH CLAIM FOR RELIEF

(Racially Motivated Impairment of Contract

42 USC, Section 1981)

1-8 The allegations of paragraphs | through 8 of the

hereinabove Second Claim for Relief are realleged and

incorporated herein by reference.

9. On or about May |, 1985, and again on or about

May 13, 1985, defendants Nabil Razzouk, Adam

Schlereth and Ted O. Cook intentionally and for racial

reasons gave plaintiff inaccurate and incomplete

information regarding relocation assistance policies and

practices of defendant Loma Linda Foods, Inc. These

racially motivated acts of defendant impaired plaintiff’s

right to make and enforce sales contracts in his work

as a sales representative for defendant Loma Linda

Foods, Inc., in violation of Section 1981.

10. As a proximate result of defendants’ discrimination

against plaintiff, plaintiff has sustained and continues

to sustain substantial losses in earnings and other

employment benefits. Plaintiff is thus entitled to recover

compensatory damages from defendants in an amount

according to proof.

11. Defendants did the acts alleged herein maliciously,

fraudulently and oppressively and with the wrongful

intention of injuring plaintiff and with an improper and

evil motive amounting to malice. Plaintiff has suffered

and continues to suffer humiliation and mental anguish,

all to his damage, and is thus entitled to recover punitive

damages from defendants in an amount according to

proof.

A-18

WHEREFORE, plaintiff requests judgment against

said defendants jointly and severally for compensatory

damages in the amount of Six Hundred Twenty

Thousand Dollars ($620,000.00) or according to proof,

and for exemplary and punitive damages in the amount

of Nine Hundred Thousand Dollars ($900,000.00) or

according to proof; for an order requiring defendant

Loma Linda Foods, Inc., to modify its practices and

policies which result in unlawful discrimination based

on race, all together with the costs of this action,

statutory attorneys’ fees pursuant to 42 USC, Section

1988; and other relief, both legal and equitable, as the

Court deems just.

TENTH CLAIM FOR RELIEF

(Racially Motivated Impairment of Contract

42 USC, Section 1981)

1-8 The allegations of paragraphs | through 8 of the

hereinabove Second Claim for Relief are realleged and

incorporated herein by reference.

9. By letter dated May 21, 1985, defendant Nabil

Razzouk, pursuant to the policy and practice of requiring

blacks to only sell to blacks, issued an ultimatum to

plaintiff to be physically present at his new assignment

in New York City by June 3, 1985, or his employment

would be terminated.

10. Plaintiff responded citing, among other things,

his difficulty in finding suitable, affordable housing in

New York City. There was no further response from

defendant Loma Linda Foods, Inc., except as to the

details of plaintiff's termination such as payment for

accumulated unpaid vacation hours.

11. Defendant’s constructive termination of plaintiff

was racially motivated and impaired plaintiff’s right to

capsaicin paisa

A-19

make and enforce sales contracts in his work as a sales

representative for defendant Loma Linda Foods, Inc.,

in violation of Section 1981.

12. As a proximate result of defendants’ discrimination

against plaintiff, plaintiff has sustained and continues

to sustain substantial losses in earnings and other

employment benefits. Plaintiff is thus entitled to recover

compensatory damages from defendants in an amount

according to proof.

13. Defendants did the acts alleged herein maliciously,

fraudulently and oppressively and with the wrongful

intention of injuring plaintiff and with an improper and

evil motive amounting to malice. Plaintiff has suffered

and continues to suffer humiliation and mental anguish,

all to his damage, and is thus entitled to recover punitive

damages from defendants in an amount according to

proof.

WHEREFORE, plaintiff requests judgment against

said defendants jointly and severally for compensatory

damages in the amount of Six Hundred Twenty

Thousand Dollars ($620,000.00) or according to proof,

and for exemplary and punitive damages in the amount

of Nine Hundred Thousand Dollars ($900,000.00) or

according to proof; for an order requiring defendant

Loma Linda Foods, Inc., to modify its practices and

policies which result in unlawful discrimination based

on race, all together with the costs of this action,

statutory attorneys’ fees pursuant to 42 USC, Section

1988; and other relief, both legal and equitable, as the

Court deems just.

A-20

ELEVENTH CLAIM FOR RELIEF

(Racially Motivated Impairment of Contract

42 USC, Section 1981)

1-8 The allegations of paragraphs | through 8 of the

hereinabove Second Claim for Relief are realleged and

incorporated herein by reference.

9. On June 4, 1985, defendant James Smeenge, in

the company of a fellow employee of defendant Loma

. Linda Foods, Inc., appeared without notice or warning

at plaintiff's home in Bolingbrook, Illinois, and in the

presence of plaintiffs wife, children, house guests and

neighbors, demanded in a loud and boisterous voice

clearly intended to cause embarrassment and distress,

that plaintiff give him the keys to plaintiff's company

owned car. Defendant James Smeenge then without

plaintiff's permission proceeded to load plaintiff's

product samples from plaintiff's garage into the car

before driving it away, all to plaintiff's great shock and

embarrassment. Upon information and belief, this

treatment of plaintiff was largely based upon race, and

it impaired plaintiff's right to make and enforce sales

contracts in his work as a sales representative for

defendant Loma Linda Foods, Inc., in violation of

Section 1981.

10. As a proximate result of defendants’ discrimination

against plaintiff, plaintiff has sustained and continues

to sustain substantial losses in earnings and other

employment benefits. Plaintiff is thus entitled to recover

compensatory damages from defendants in an amount

according to proof.

11. Defendants did the acts alleged herein maliciously,

fraudulently and oppressively and with the wrongful

intention of injuring plaintiff and with an improper and

A-21

evil motive amounting to malice. Plaintiff has suffered

and continues to suffer humiliation and mental anguish,

all to his damage, and is thus entitled to recover punitive

damages from defendants in an amount according to

proof.

WHEREFORE, plaintiff requests judgment against

said defendants jointly and severally for compensatory

damages in the amount of Six Hundred Twenty

Thousand Dollars ($620,000.00) or according to proof,

and for exemplary and punitive damages in the amount

of Nine Hundred Thousand Dollars ($900,000.00) or

according to proof; for an order requiring defendant

Loma Linda Foods, Inc., to modify its practices and

policies which result in unlawful discrimination based

on race, all together with the costs of this action,

Statutory attorneys’ fees pursuant to 42 USC, Section

1988; and other relief, both legal and equitable, as the

Court deems just.

JURY DEMAND

Plaintiff hereby demands jury trial of all claims herein

Stated.

DATED: September 11, 1989

ROBINSON, DeMILLS &

ASSOCIATES, P.C.

By:

Edward E. Robinson

Attorneys for Plaintiff

B-|

8

Fic.

JAN «8 1990 |

CLERK, U.S. DISTRICT COURT

CALIFORNIA

© cai DISTRICT OF DEPUTY

L ere. .

‘a a

oe ae i a, | = i ;

2 =r wie, AK ; Te *. } .

Ome a a

haw St thee ee Me eee: Ae

wey

fe rs _ aoe ee? - GS -

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

ERNEST L. CLARKE,

Plaintiff,

No. CV 88-1403 RB(Ex)

LOMA LINDA FOODS, MEMORANDUM OF

INC.; LARRY BOGGESS; DECISION AND

)

)

Vv )

)

)

TED O. COOK: ORDER GRANTING

)

)

)

)

\

NABIL RAZZOUK; ADAM \ DEFENDANT'S

SCHLERETH; and MOTION

JAMES SMEENGE, TO DISMISS

Defendants.

Defendant Loma Linda moves, pursuant to Rule

12(b)(6) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, to

dismiss plaintiff's Second Amended Complaint claiming

violations of 42 U.S.C. §1981. The individual defendants

join in Loma Linda’s motion. For the reasons explained

RESP. APPENDIX B

"BEST AVAILABLE COPY

B-2

below, the Court grants the motion as to all the claims,

and the action is ordered dismissed without leave to

amend.

Allegations and Procedural Background

This is an action for racial discrimination brought

under 42 U.S.C. §1981. Plaintiff is Ernest L. Clarke

(“Clarke”). Defendants are Loma Linda Foods, Inc.

(“Loma Linda”); Larry Boggess (“Boggess”); Ted O.

Cook (“Cook”); Nabil Razzouk (“Razzouk”); Adam

Schlereth (‘“Schlereth”); and James Smeenge

(“Smeenge”) (collectively “defendants”.

The Second Amended Complaint, asserting eleven

claims for relief under §1981, alleges in substance that

Clarke, a sales employee of Loma Linda, was reassigned

by his employer, apparently in 1983, to an all-black sales

territory in Chicago’s southside, and that thereafter, in

early 1985, he requested to be assigned to a sales territory

in San Diego, but was re-assigned instead to a

predominately black sales territory in the New York City-

Connecticut area. He refused to take the assignment

and was terminated on June 4, 1985. Clarke alleges that

all of these acts — the transfers, the refusal to transfer

and his termination — were racially motivated. Further,

he alleges that, by virtue of these acts, the defendants

impaired his “right to make and enforce his employment

contract” (Claims | to 5) and his “right to make and

enforce sales contracts in his work as a sales represen-

tative of Loma Linda” (Claims 6 to 11).

Clarke filed his initial complaint on June 2, 1987,

in the United States District Court for the Northern

District of Illinois, and it was assigned to U.S. District

Judge Shadur. On December 21, 1987, Clarke filed a

first amended complaint. Defendants filed an answer

that did not raise the affirmative defense of the statute

B-3

of limitations, and then moved to transfer the action.

In February 1988, Judge Shadur ordered the case

transferred to this District pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§1406(a), adding that “[t]o avoid any potential

limitations question, transfer rather than dismissal is

called for, and this action is indeed ordered transferred

to the United States District Court for the Central

District of California.” Memorandum of Decision and

Order at 5 (February 25, 1988) (footnote omitted).

On July 28, 1989, Loma Linda filed a summary

judgment motion based largely on Patterson v. McLean,

109 S.Ct. 2363 (1989). This Court treated that motion

as a motion to dismiss under Rule 12(b)(6) and dismissed

the First Amended Complaint for failure to state a claim.

Clarke was given twenty days to amend.

On September 11, 1989, Clarke filed his Second

Amended Complaint, serving it by mail on opposing

counsel on September 12, 1989. On October 4, 1989,

Loma Linda filed this motion to dismiss. On October

10, 1989, the rest of the defendants filed a joinder in

Loma Linda’s motion.

Contentions

Defendants contend that all eleven §1981 claims are

barred by the one-year statute of limitations, and that

all claims allege post-employment acts not actionable

under §1981 in light of Patterson v. McLean.

Clarke raises numerous points in opposition:

(a) defendants’ motion is not timely because it was

not filed within twenty days of Clarke’s serving the

Second Amended Complaint;

(b) concerning the statute of limitations: (i) defendants

did not plead the statute of limitations in their answer

to the first amended complaint and cannot do so now;

B-4

(ii) Judge Shadur’s transfer order decided the limitations

issue against defendants; (iii) the statute of limitations

was tolled while the individual defendants were out of

the state; (iv) the Pre-Trial Conference Order did not

raise the issue, and it cannot be raised now; (v)

California’s three-year statute, not the one-year statute,

applies; (vi) even if the one-year statute applies, Clarke

may have other claims, making dismissal without leave

inappropriate;

(c) his allegations concerning Loma Linda’s re-

location policies, see 4th Claim, ¥ 9, state a §1981 claim;

(d) his claims are essentially racially motivated

termination claims, which §1981 covers;

(e) the U.S. Supreme Court’s granting certiorari in

a §1981 case suggests §1981 covers wrongful discharge:

and

(f) his claims are essentially claims for refusal to hire,

to which §1981 applies.

In reply, defendants insist that (1) their motion is

timely; (2) the statute of limitations argument is viable,

because they have not yet responded to the Second

Amended Complaint; (3) Judge Shadur never addressed

the issue whether the action is barred by the statute

of limitations; (4) the one-year statute applies, and

Clarke’s cases are distinguishable; (5) Patterson clearly

bars plaintiff's §1981 claims; and (6) §1981 does not

apply to racially motivated terminations.

Analysis

1. 12(b)6) standard

“The conditions that must be met before a motion

may be granted under Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(6) are quite

strict. [A] complaint should not be dismissed for failure

B-5

to state a claim unless it appears beyond doubt that

the plaintiff can prove no set of facts in support of his

claim which would entitle him to relief.’ Conley v.

Gibson, 335 U.S. 41, 45-46 (1957). In applying this

standard, [the court] must treat all of the plaintiff's

allegations as true.” Church of Scientology of California

v. Flynn, 744 F.2d 694, 695-96 (9th Cir. 1984) (some

citations omitted); see also Hishon v. King & Spalding,

467 U.S. 69, 73 (1984). Thus, “[o]n a motion to dismiss,

material [factual] allegations of the complaint are taken

as admitted and the complaint is to be liberally construed

in favor of the plaintiff.” Keniston v. Roberts, 717 F.2d

1295, 1300 (9th Cir. 1983).

“Ordinarily, leave to amend should be freely given

in the absence of prejudice to the opposing party.” /d.

(citations and quotations omitted); Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(a).

However, leave to amend may be denied where there

has been a repeated failure to cure deficiencies by

amendments or where it is apparent that further

amendment would be an exercise in futility. /d. (citing

Foman v. Davis, 371 U.S. 178, 182 (1962)).

2. Timeliness of This Motion

Loma Linda’s motion to dismiss is timely. Clarke's

service of the Second Amended Complaint by mail

extended the twenty-day period by which Loma Linda

had to respond by three days. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 6.

In addition, Clarke did not apply for the clerk’s entry

of any defendant’s default. Absent such an application,

the other defendants could and did file a technically

late response. FE.g., Schwarzer, Tashima & Wagstaffe,

Federal Civil Procedure Before Trial, par. 6:3 (1989).

By joinder in the Loma Linda’s motion, the other

defendants have responded.

B-6

3. Timeliness of the Statute of Limitations Issue

Defendants timely raised the statute of limitations

issue. The First Amended Complaint, to which

defendants filed an answer, has been dismissed. The

operative pleading is now the Second Amended

Complaint, which supersedes the prior complaints and

renders them of no legal effect. E.g., Fritz v. Standard

Security Life Ins. Co., 676 F.2d 1356, 1358 (11th Cir.

1982); 6 Wright & Miller, Federal Practice and

Procedure §1476 at 389 (1971 & Supp. 1989)..An initial

responsive pleading is superseded by the response to

an amended complaint. Wright & Miller, §1476 at 391

& n.26. This motion, then, is defendants’ first response

to the operative pleading.

In any event, because defendants could have added

the statute of limitations defense by motion at a later

Stage in the litigation, it is appropriately raised now.

Accord Sylla v. Massey- Ferguson Inc., 595 F.Supp. 590,

591-92 (E.D. Mich. 1984) (granting summary judgment

motion on statute of limitations issue, even though

defendant did not raise it in the answer).

For these same reasons, the Court is not persuaded

by Clarke’s arugument that the Pre-Trial Conference

Order (which was filed before the Second Amended

Complaint) bars assertion of a limitations defense.

4. Judge Shadur’s Treatment of the Statute of

Limitations

Judge Shadur did not decide whether the statute of

limitations bars this action. He transferred, rather than

dismissed, this action “to avoid potential limitations

question.” Judge Shadur alluded to the possibility that,

if the case had been dismissed rather than transferred,

the statute of limitations could have run before Clarke

"aia aaa a

B-7

could re-file it. See Burnett v. New York Central C. R.

Co., 380 U.S. 424, 430 & n.7 (1964). To avoid that

problem, he transferred the case.

5. Which Statute of Limitations (One-year or

Three-year) Applies

The Court concludes that California’s one-year statute

of limitations applies to an action under 42 U.S.C. §1981.

Preliminarily there is the issue of which jurisdiction’s

law — Illinois or California — applies. The law of the

transferee jurisdiction, not the transferor jurisdiction,

applies to a case transferred under §1406(a), e.g., Nelson

v. International Paint Co., 716b F.2d 640, 643 (9th Cir.

1983), cert. denied, 108 S.Ct. 1027 (1988); see generally

| J.W. Moore, Moore’s Federal Practice par 0.145[.4

- .5] (2d ed. 1989), including the transferee jurisdiction’s

statute of limitations. E.g., LaVay Corp. v. Dominion

Federal Savings & Loan Ass’n, 830 F.2d 522, 526-27

(4th Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 108 S.Ct. 1027 (1988);

Haglund v. Dow Chemical Co., 35 Fed. R. Serv. 2d

(Callaghan) 107, 114-15 (E.D. Cal. 1982). This is so even

if the complaint was filed within the transferor

jurisdiction’s statute of limitations; the transferee

jurisdiction’s shorter statute of limitations still bars the

claim. LaVay, 830 F.2d at 526-27; T-Birds, Inc. v.

Thoroughbred Helicopter, 540. F.Supp. 548, 550-51

(E.D. Ky. 1982) (applying transferee’s shorter statute

of limitations to bar claim; granting summary judgment).

Next, there is the issue of what statute of limitations

applies in this case. Clarke posits that when he initially

filed his complaint (June 2, 1987) California’s three-year

Statute applied, see Cal. Civ. Proc. Code §338((a); he

concludes it still applies. Section 338(a) provides that

“[a]n action upon a liability created by statute, other

B-8

than a penalty or forfeiture,” must be brought within

three years.

Defendants counter that the one year statute, Cal.

Civ. Proc. Code §340(3), applies. Section 340(3) provides

that the following actions must be brought within one

year:

An action for libel, slander, assault, battery,

false imprisonment, seduction of a person

below the age of legal consent, or for injury

to or for the death of one caused by another

by the wrongful act or neglect of another....

Defendants are correct: the one-year statute applies

to an action under 42 U.S.C. §1981 filed in California.

Because neither §1981 nor §1983 provide a statute

of limitations, courts must “borrow” the most approp-

riate state statute. Goodman yv. Lukens Steel Co., 107

S.Ct. 2617, 2620 (1987) (§1981); Wilson v. Garcia, 105

S.Ct. 1938, 1942 (1985) (§1983). When a state has more

than one statute of limitation, the personal injury statute

applies. Wilson, 105 S.Ct. at 1947-49; see also Owen

v. Okure, 109 S.Ct. 573, 576-82 (1989).

Since the Supreme Court’s decision in Goodman

(decided June 19, 1987), it has been clear that the same

statute of limitations which applies to §1983 actions also

applies to §1981 actions. This proposition had been

established in this Circuit much earlier. Bratton v.

Bethelehim Steel Corp., 649 F.2d 658,663 (9th Cir. 1980).

Since the Supreme Court’s decision in Wilson vy.

Garcia, (decided April 17 1985), it has been clear that

California’s one-year personai injury limitation period

applies to §1983 actions. Del Percio v. Thornsley, 877

F.2d 785, 786 (9th Cir. 1989); Merritt v. County of Los

Angeles, 875 F.2d 765, 767 fn.1 (9th Cir. 1989). Given

B-9

the Ninth Circuit’s rationale in Bratton, it was reasonable

to conclude that after April 17, 1985, the one-year

limitation period applied to both §1983 and §1981

actions filed in California. Any doubts on this score,

of course, were removed by the Supreme Court in

Goodman.

The last wrongful act alleged in the Second Amended

Complaint occurred on June 4, 1985. As previously

noted, this action was filed June 2, 1987. Thus, the action

is time-barred.

The Ninth Circuit addressed the retroactivity of

Wilson in Usher v. City of Los Angeles, 828 F.2d 556

(9th Cir. 1987), and held:

in states such as California, where the effect

of Wilson v. Garcia is to shorten the limitation

period for 42 U.S.C. § 1983 actions, the

limitation period for causes of action arising

prior to Wilson shall be either (1) the pre-

Wilson period, commencing at the time the

cause of action accrues, or (2) the post- Wilson

period, commencing with the Wilson decision,

whichever expires first.

Usher, 828 F.2d at 561 (emphasis added).

Applying Usher to the last wrongful act alleged, the

plaintiff's claims were time-barred after June 4, 1986.

Plaintiff urges that the Court apply an Usher

retroactivity analysis to the Goodman case, i.e., permit

a pre-Goodman plaintiff to file an action either within

three years or within one year of Goodman, whichever

comes first. Under this approach, plaintiff claims are

not time-barred.

B-10

The flaw in plaintiffs argument is that there is a

fundamental difference between the situation faced by

the Ninth Circuit in Usher and that presented in the

case sub judice. Wilson overturned clear Ninth Circuit

precedent. Goodman did not. As explained above, the

existence of a three-year statute of limitations for §1981

actions filed after Wilson was in serious doubt,

particularly because the Ninth Circuit had previously

equated §1981 with §1983 for statute of limitations

purposes. Bratton, supra, 649 F.2d at 663. At the very

least, whether the limitations period for a §1981 action

filed in California was one year or three years was very

much up in the air after Wilson, because the Ninth Circuit

had “not ruled on the question.” Jones v. Bechtel, 788

F.2d 571,574 (9th Cir. 1986).

6. Tolling of the Statute of Limitations

Clarke, however, argues that §340(3) was tolled —

an issue defendants do not address.

The possiblility of statutory tolling precludes dismissal

against the individual defendants based on the statute

of limitations; but the tolling statute does not apply to

Loma Linda.

The relevant California tolling statute provides

If, when a cause of action accrues against a

person, he is out of the state, the action may

be commenced within the term herein limited,

after his return to the state, and if, after the

cause of action accrues, he departs from the

State, the time of his absence is not part of

the time limited for the commencement of the

action.

B-11

Cal. Civ. Proc. Code §351 (West’s 1982). This tolling

statute applies to civil rights claims. Maurer vy.

Individually and As Members of Los Angeles County,

691 F.2d 434, 436-37 (9th Cir. 1982) (§1983 claims).

The Second Amended Complaint does not allege

whether or when the individual defendants were out of

state after the claims accrued; in fact, it does not allege

in which states they reside. Because it does not “appear[]

beyond doubt that the plaintiff can prove no set of facts

in support of his claims entitling him to relief,” Conley,

355 U.S. at 45-46, dismissal on statute of limitations

grounds is inappropriate as to the individual defendants.

Section 351, however, does not apply to corporations.

Epstein v. Frank, 125 Cal.App.3d 111, 119 n.4 (1981);

Loope v. Greyhound Lines, Inc., 114 Cal.App.2d 611,

614 (1952). Hence, the claims against Loma Linda were

not tolled by the statute.

Accordingly, the claims against Loma Linda only are

dismissed on the ground that they are barred by

California’s one-year statute of limitations.

7. Patterson v. McLean

The Court now turns to the issue whether the Second

Amended Complaint states a claim in light of Patterson

v. McLean, 109 S.Ct. 2363 (1989), and concludes it does

not. Patterson teaches that Title VII, not §1981, covers

an employer’s post-employment racial discrimination

against its employees — with, however, one limited

exception: claims for failure to promote because of race

where the effect of the promotion would be to enter

into a “new contract,” i.e., a “new and distinct”

relationship with the employer. As the Supreme Court

explained:

B-12

the question whether a promotion claim is

actionable under §1981 depends on whether the

nature of the change in position was such that

it involved the opportunity to enter into a new

contract with the employer. If so, then the

employer’s refusal to enter the new contract

is actionable under §1981. . . . Only where the

promotion rises to the level of an opportunity

for a new and distinct relation between the

employee and the employer is such a claim

actionable under §1981.

Patterson, 109 S.Ct. at 2377.

None of the eleven claims allege that plaintiff was

denied a promotion, much less that he was denied an

opportunity to enter into a distinctly new contractual

relationship with his employer. Indeed, the conduct

complained of in claims 1-5, although no doubt

actionable under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act, is

the type of post-employment conduct held in Patterson

to fall outside of §1981.

The fifth claim alleges that plaintiff was told to move

to New York or be fired. Plaintiff alleges constructive

termination. Yet §1981 does not reach discriminatory

discharge of an employee. See, Overby v. Chevron USA,

Inc., 884 F.2d 470, 473 (9th Cir. 1989). In Overby, the

Ninth Circuit, interpreting Patterson, held that §1981

does not cover retaliatory discharge. By analogy, §1981

cannot be said to cover discriminatory discharge,

constructive or otherwise.

In claims 6-11, plaintiff alleges that his termination

impaired his ability, as a sales employee, “to make and

enforce sales contracts. .. .” This is indeed plaintiff’s

most imaginative effort to avoid the sweep of Patterson.

Regrettably, this effort falls short.

B-13

Holding that Patterson permits such an end run would

lead to anomalous results. It would mean that only

employees engaged in sales would have protection under

§1981 for discriminatory discharge by their employers;

whereas no other type of employee would.

On the face of the Second Amended Complaint, it

is clear that plaintiff was an employee of defendant Loma

Linda. The pleading is replete with references to his

“employment” by plaintiff. See e.g., Second Amended

Complaint, p. I, 1. 23 (“This is an action .. . against

his former employer”); p. 4, 1. 5 (“his employment was

terminated”); p.4, 1. 20-21 (“. . . plaintiff was employed

by defendants . . .”) (emphasis added). It is evident that

plaintiff entered into sales contracts as an agent for his

principal, Loma Linda.

The Court is mindful of the Supreme Court’s

admonition in Patterson to refrain from “twist[ing] the

interpretation” of §1981 to cover conduct otherwise

subject to remedies provided under Title VII. To read

§1981’s language — “the same right ... to make...

contracts. . . as is enjoyed by white citizens” — to include

a right of sales employees to make contracts for others

would be precisely the type of stretching and straining

the Supreme Court enjoined the lower courts to eschew.

The Court concludes that permitting only sales

employees to bring actions under §1981 for discrimi-

natory termination would “circumvent the detailed

remedial scheme” of Title VII. Patterson, 109 S.Ct at

2375.

8. Retroactivity of Patterson

At oral argument, plaintiffs counsel for the first time

urged that this Court refrain from giving Patterson

retroactive application. Plaintiff failed to raise this issue

B-14

in his brief, and the Court need not consider it. Local

Rule 7.9. Nonetheless, even had this issue been timely

raised and briefed, the Court would be constrained to

give Patterson retroactive effect.

The general rule is that civil cases are decided “in

accordance with the law existing at the time of decision.”

Goodman vy. Lukens Steel, 482 U.S. 656, 662 (1987);

see also Robinson v. Neil, 409 U.S. 505 (1973).

Accordingly, decisions of the Supreme Court are usually

applied retroactively in civil cases. However, as the

Supreme Court explained in Chevron Oil v. Huson, 404

U.S. 97 (1971), there is an exception to this general rule.

A decision should be given only prospective application

if three criteria are satisfied:

(1) the holding must establish a new principle of law,

either by overruling clear past precedent on which

litigants have relied, or by deciding an issue of first

impression whose resolution was not clearly

foreshadowed;

(2) the merits and demerits of each case must be

weighed by looking to the history of the rule in dispute,

its purpose and effect, and whether retroactive

operations will further or retard the rule’s operation;

and

(3) retroactive application must create the risk of

producing substantially inequitable results. Chevron v.

Huson, 404 U.S. at 106-07.

Plaintiff does not satisfy either of the first two factors.

In this regard, it does not appear that Patterson overruled

any clear precedent. The decision itself does not purport

to overrule past precedent; the decision merely

“reaffirm[s] that §1981 prohibits racial discrimination

in the making and enforcement of private contacts.”

B-15

Patterson, 109 S.Ct. at 2370. The Ninth Circuit has

described Patterson as “confirm[ing]” and “clarif[ying]”

§1981’s scope. Overby, 884 F.2d at 472. Hence, the first

Chevron v. Huson criteron is not met. Accord, Prather

v. Dayton Power & Light Co., 1989 U.S. Dist. LEXIS

10756 at *2-3 (Sept. 7, 1989 S.D. Ohio).

Moreover, plaintiff fails to satisfy the second criterion.

Patterson teaches that §1981 does not cover the conduct

of which Clarke complains. The Supreme Court refused

to read §1981 “broadly where the result is to circumvent

the detailed remedial scheme” of Title VII. Patterson,

109 S.Ct. at 2375. The Court concluded that Title VII,

not §1981, is the proper remedy for persons alleging

that they have been discriminated against in their terms

and conditions of employment. The remedies and

procedures of Title VII reflect a congressional choice

that balances the concerns of both employers and

employees. The purpose to be served by Patterson, viz.,

preserving the balance between §1981 and Title VII, is

best served by applying Patterson retroactively. Accord,

Thompson v. Johnson & Johnson Management Center,

U.S. Dist. LEXIS at *5; Brackshaw, 723 F.Supp. at 62.

This conclusion accords with the holdings of the vast

majority of the federal courts that have addressed the

issue whether Patterson applies retroactively. See

Malekian v. Pottery Club of Aurora, Inc., 1989 U.S.

Dist. LEXIS 13687*7 (D. Col. November 9, 1989);

Williams v. Edsal Mfg. Co., 1989 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 12606

*8 n.3 (N.D. Ill. October 24, 1989); Prather v. Dayton

Power & Light Co., 1989 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 10756 (Sept.

7, 1989 S.D. Ohio); Brackshaw vy. Miles, 723 F.Supp.

60 N.D. Ill. 1989); Morgan v. Kansas City Area Trans.

Authority, 720 F.Supp. 758, 759-61 (W.D. Mo. 1989);

H11 v. County of Cook, 719 F.Supp. 721, 725 n.3 (N.D.

B-16

Ill. 1989); Jorday v. U.S. West Direct Do., 716 F.Supp.

1366, 1368 (D. Colo. 1989) (granting motion to dismiss);

Williams v. National Railroad Passenger Corp., 716

F.Supp. 49, 50 n.1 (D.D.C. 1989) (declining to depart

from general rule applying cases retroactively; granting

summary judgment). But see Thomas v. Beech Aircraft

Corp., 1989 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 11284 (D. Kan. Sept. 25,

1989); Gilsepie v. First Interstate Bank of Wis. S.E.,

717 F.Supp. 649 (E.D. Wis. 1989) (refusing to apply

Patterson retroactively when action had already been

tried and the retroactivity issue was before the court

on post-verdict motions).

9. Denial of Leave to Amend

The plaintiff was given an opportunity to amend his

complaint in light of Patterson. In view of the statute

of limitations bar and the failure to state a claim under

Patterson, the Court concludes that leave to amend again

would be an exercise in futility. Kenniston,717 F.2d at

1300.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, defendants” motion to

dismiss the Second Amended Complaint is granted, and

the action is dismissed without leave to amend.

IT IS SO ORDERED

Dated: January 8, 1990

: ROBERT C. BONNER

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

PROOF OF SERVICE BY MAIL

State of California

SS.

County of Los Angeles

I, the undersigned, say: I am and was at all times

herein mentioned, a citizen of the United States and

a resident of the County of Los Angeles, over the age

of eighteen (18) years and not a party to the within

action or proceeding; that my business address is 11852

Santa Monica Boulevard, Suite 3, Los Angeles,

California 90025; that on December 2, 1991, I served

the within Brief In Opposition To Petition in said action

or proceeding by depositing true copies thereof, enclosed

in a sealed envelope with postage thereon fully prepaid,

in the United States mail at Los Angeles, California,

addressed as follows:

Clerk, United States Edward E. Robinson

Supreme Court Robinson, De Mills & Associates

One First Street, N.E. 5117 South Cornell Avenue

Washington, D.C. 20543 Chicago, Illinois 60615

(By Express Mail: original

and forty copies) Dara DeHaven

Powell, Goldstein,

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals Grasier & Murphy

Ninth Judicial Circuit 35 Broad Street

50 United Nations Plaza Atlanta, Georgia 30335

Room 59

San Francisco, CA 94101 Paul Reynolds

Kinkle, Rodiger & Spriggs

Clerk, U.S. District Court 3393 Fourteenth Street

Honorable Robert Bonner Riverside, California 92501

Central District

United States Courthouse

312 North Spring Street

Los Angeles, California 90012

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing

is true and correct. Executed on December 2, 1991, at

Los Angeles, California.

Betty J. Malloy

(Original signed)

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.