Petition — Rushen v. Spain

Supreme Court brief1983

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

In the Supreme Copit®*"=5°"“s

OF THE

United States

OctToBEer TERM, 1982

Rutu Rusuey, Director, California Department of

Corrections; Jess Marquez, Superintendent,

California Medical Facility,

Vacaville, California,

Petitioners,

Vs.

JoHNNY SPaIN,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

JoHN K. Van DE Kamp

Attorney General

WiuraM D. Stern

Assistant Attorney General

Rona.p E. NIver

COUNSEL OF RECORD

Deputy Attorney General

6000 State Building

San Francisco, CA 94102

Telephone: (415) 557-2653

Attorneys for Petitioners

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the ex parte communication

between a juror and the trial court

about a matter unrelated to any fact in

issue in respondent's state trial

requires reversal without a showing of

prejudice?

TABLE OF CONTENT

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

STATEMENT OF FACTS

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

ARGUMENT

THE EX PARTE COMMUNICATION

BETWEEN JUDGE AND JUROR DID

NOT PREJUDICE RESPONDENT AND

THEREFORE WAS HARMLESS BEYOND

A REASONABLE DOUBT.

CONCLUSION

18

21

56

ii.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Bacino v. United States

316 F.2d 11 (10th Cir. 1963)

Badger v. Cardwell

587 F.2¢ 968 (9th Cir. 1978)

Chapman v. California

386 U.S. 18 (1967)

Coleman v. Alabama

(1970) 339 U.S. l

Dennis v. United States

339 U.S. 162 (1950)

Engle v. Isaac

456 U.S. 107 (1983)

Faretta v. California

422 U.S. 806 (1979)

Gideon v. Wainwright

372 U.S. 335 (1963)

Gilbert v. California

388 U.S. 263 (1967)

Henderson v. United States

419 F.2d 1277 (Sth Cir. 1970)

Holmes v. United States

(4th Cir. 1960) 284 F.2d 716

Mata v. Sumner

6l1l P.2d 754 (9th Cir. 1979)

Mata v. Sumner

649 F.2d 713 (9th Cir. 1981)

Page

32

30

22

32

47

52

30

33

33

32

38

52

52

1ii.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CONTINUED

Page

Moore yv. Illinois

(1978) 434 U.S. 220 33

Morris v. Slappy

m2 .

51 U.S.L.W. 4399 (1983) 55

Parker v. Gladden

385 U.S. 363 (1966) 37

Remmer v. United States

347 U.S. 227 (1954) 47

Rice v. United States

(8th Cir. 1966) 356 F.2d 709 38

Rogers v. United States

422 U.S. 35 (1975) 32

Rose v. Lundy

455 u.S. 509 (1982) 52

Schneckloth v. Bustamonte

412 U.S. 218 (1973) 52

Shields v. United States

273 U.S. 583 (1927) 38

Smith v. Phillips

455 U.S. 209 (1982) 45

Stone v. Powell

428 U.S. 465 (1976) 52

Sumner v. Mata

449 U.S. 538 (1981) 52

Sumner v. Mata

455 U.S. 591 (1982) 23

lV.

:

:

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CONTINUED

Page

Turner v. Louvisian

379 U.S. 466 (1965) 37

United States v. Arr

451 F.2d 487 (4 - 1972) 32

qd Cir. 1978) 31

United States v. Burke

496 F.2d 373 (5th Cir. 1974) 40

United States v. Cassasa

588 F.2d 282 (9th Cir. 1973) 31

United States v. Doe

513 F.2d 709 (lst Cir. 1975) 31

United States v. Glick

463 F.2d 491 (2d Cir. 1972) 38

United States v

- Larki

417 P.2d 617 (lst Cir. 1963) 32

United States v. Marken

457 F.2d 186 (9th Cir. 1972) 37s on

United States v. McCoy

429 P.2d 739 (D.C. Cir. 1970) 30

United States v. Morrison

449 U.S. 361 (1981) 32

United States v. Nef

475 P.2d 861 (3d Cc

er. 1973) 31, 32

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CONTINUED

United States v. Parker

549 F.2d $998 (Sth Cir. 1977)

United States v. Reynolds

489 F.2d i (6th Cir. 1973)

United States v. Rodriguez

545 F.2d 829 (2d Cir. 1976)

United States v. Taylor

562 F.2d 1345 (2d Cir.)

cert. denied, 432 U.S. 909 (1977)

United States v. Treatman

§24 F.2d 320 (8th Cir. 1975)

United States v. Wade

388 U.S. 218 (1976)

Wade v. Jones

192 F.Supp. 333 (W.D. Ky. 1961)

Wainwright v. Sykes

433 U.S. 72 (1977)

STATUTES

28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)

Fed. Rules of Evid. Rules 606(b)

California Evidence Code § 1150

Page

31

31

31

30

37

33

45

52

No.

|

|

IN THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE

UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1982

RUTH RUSHEN, Director, California

Department of Corrections; JESS MARQUEZ,

Superintendent, California Medical

Facility, Vacaville, California,

Petitioners,

Vv.

JOHNNY SPAIN,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

The petitioner respectfully prays

that a writ of certiorari issue to

review the judgment and opinion of the

United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit entered in this proceeding

on January 24, 1983.

2.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals

is unreported. A copy of the opinion is

attached to this petition as Appendix A.

The opinion of the District Court for the

Northern District of California is

reported at 543 F.Supp. 757. A copy of

the opinion is attached to this petition

as Appendix B.

JURISDICTION

The judament of the Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit was entered on

January 24, 1983. Rehearing was denied

On March 17, 1983. This petition for

writ of certiorari was filed within 90

Gays of the latter date. 28 U.S.C. sec-

tion 2102(c); Supreme Court Rule 20.2,

29.4. This Court's jurisdiction is

invoked under 28 U.S.C section 1254(1).

3.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

United States Constitution, Amend-

ment VI, provides in part:

"In all criminal prosecu-

tions, the accused shall enjoy

the right ... to have the

assistance of counsel for his

defense."

Amendment XIV, section l, provides

in part:

"{NJor shall any State deprive

any person of life, liberty, or

property, without due process

of law. *. - ."

4.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. State Proceedings:

On October 1, 1971, the Marin County

Grand Jury filed an indictment charging

petitioner-appellee Johnny Spain with

five counts of murder, in violation of

California Penal Code section 187; one

count of conspiracy (§ 182) to escape

(§ 4530(a)), to possess a firearm

(§ 4574), and to kidnap (§ 207); and one

count of assault with a deadly weapon by

a life prisoner upon a non-inmate

(§ 4500) (sct 1-8).2/ Six other persons

(Stephen M. Bingham, David Johnson, Hugo

A. Pinell, Fleeta Drumgo, Luis N.

Talamantez, and Willie Tate) were charged

with these and other offenses in the

indictment.

1. "SCT" designates the Clerk's

Trancript of the proceedings in state

court.

uy

During the next three and one-half

years, the six defendants+/ filed nearly

200 written motions. Trial finally

began on March 25, 1975 (SCT 2721). On

August 12, 1976, the 226th day of trial,

after 24 days of deliberation, the jury

found respondent guilty of two counts of

murder, and of conspiracy to escape. He

was found not guilty on all other counts

(SCT 5300-5306).

+

On October l, L976, respondent's

motion for a new trial was denied and he

was sentenced to state prison for life

(SCT 5505-5506; 5507-5508).

On July 24, 1980, the California

Court of Appeal, First Appellate

District, affirmed the judgments of con-

viction of respondent and two ether con-

victed defendants (Pinell and Jobnson) in

People vy. Spain, Pinell, and Johnson,

Ze Bingham was never apprehended.

6.

No. 1/Crim. 16126, in the files of that

court (CR 1) .2/ The California Supreme

Court denied a hearing on October 15, 1980

(CR 1; Exh. B).

B. Federal Proceedings:

Respondent filed for petition for

writ of habeas corpus in federal district

court on June 29, 1981 in Spain v. Rushen,

C-81-2735 TEH. After ordering the filing

of a response, and holding oral argument,

the district court dismissed the petition

On November 24, 1981, for failure to

exhaust state remedies as to the second

(shackling) issve (CR 11:10).

On December 31. 1981, after exhaust-

ing state remedies, respondent filed a

3. "CR" refers to the District Court

Clerk's Record, followed by the docket

number and page number. "CR 1" designates

respondent's petition for writ of habeas

corpus in federal district court. A copy

of the above-referenced opinion is

attached to this petition as Appendix C.

Te

second petition for writ of habeas corpus

(CR 1). On January 6, 1982, an order to

show cause was issued (CT 3).

Petitioners filed a return to the order

to show cause on February 1, 1982 (CT 5).

On June 29, 1982, the district court

granted the petition for writ of habeas

corpus, ordering the State of California

to retry respondent within 90 days or

release him from custody with respect to

the convictions at issue (CT 11-12).

Petitioners filed a notice of appeal

on July 2, 1982 (CR 13).

On January 24, 1983, the Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit affirmed

the order of the district court in a

brief memorandum opinion. On March 1l7,

1983, the Court of Appeals denied a peti-

tion for rehearing and rejected the

suggestion for rehearing en banc.

Appendix D.

8.

STATEMENT OF FACTS

The opinion of the California Court

of Appeal adequately summarizes the facts

of the offenses. We set forth the court

of appeal's summary:

"Johnny Larry Spain was

found guilty of the first

degree murders (Pen. Code, §

187) of two of the three cor-

rectional officers who were

killed, and conspiracy to

escape by force or violence

(Pen. Code, §§ 182, 4530, subd.

(a)). There was no substantial

evidence that Spain personally

committed the murders; instead,

the evidence pointed to George

Jackson as the killer. Spain's

guilt of the murders was the

probable consequence of his and

Jackson's conspiracy to escape.

9.

His acquittals of the murders

of the third correctional offi-

cer and of the prisoners were

consistent with this theory,

the evidence indicating that it

was someone other than Spain or

Jackson who killed the third

officer and the prisoners.

"Because of the manner in

which the indictment was

framed, 4/ it was necessary

4. "'The Grand Jury of the

County of Marin .. . accuses

Stephen Mitchell Bingham, ...

John L. Spain [et al.J], of a

felony, to wit: conspiracy

-— + in that (a) Stephen

Mitchell Bingham and George

Lester Jackson, now deceased,

did prior to, and continuing on

Or about August 21, 1971 .. .

conspire ... together and

with other persons whose. names

are unknown to the Grand Jury

to ... commit felonies, to

wits (1) The escape by force

Or violence ... of George

Lester Jackson and others ...

fetc. (describing other

(Footnote 4 continued on next page)

19.

(and the trial court so ruled

and instructed the jury) for

the prosecution to prove that

before August 21, there was a

conspiracy between Jackson and

one Stephen Bingham to effect

Jackson's escape and that on

August 21, Spain joined that

conspiracy. In other words, if

there were no conspiracy for

Spain to join, he was not

guilty of conspiracy and,

therefore, not legally account-

able for the murders.

(Footnote 4 continued)

felonies)]. (6) On or about

August él, conspiracy of

Stephen Mitchell Bingham and

George Lester Jackson and other

persons ... ang Gig «.e «

conspire “= Ge with Stephen

Mitchell Bingham and George

Lester Jackson, and among them-

selves, for the purpose of

- e« « cCommitfing]) the felonies

above described... ‘'"

"The evidence that Jackson

had planned, and with the

assistance of a person or per-

sons outside the prison pre-

pared to escape, was clear.

There was evidence that Spain

was privy to these plans and

assisted these preparations.

But as to the central fact

necessary to be proven, that

Jackson and Bingham conspired,

the evidence, while sufficient,

is less compelling.

"The prison authorities

were aware long before August

21 by virtue of a letter in

Jackson's hand which had fallen

into theirs, that he had

encouraged others (not includ-

ing Bingham) to smuggle weapons

into the prison and to him and

12.

otherwise to assist him to

escape. After Jackson's death,

another letter in his hand was

found in the Adjustment Center;

some references in the letter

suggest it was written in or

about early August 1971. The

letter reveals that Jackson and

‘the party' were planning an

imminent escape and a variety

of violent escapades, that some

prisoners had ‘thrown water' on

the plans and, most signifi-

cantly, that Jackson was

already stockpiling weapons and

5/

had a gun.=

5. The letter stated: "They know

that so it's a question of them facing

the pigs guns they think or facing mine.

They're trying for a shakedown so that

T°ll lose mine. ....”"

14.

that they carried no arms,

closely searched before Jackson

and Bingham's visit. Neverthe-

less, Jackson emerged from the

visit with a bullet clip in his

hair (actually an '‘Afro' wig)

and an automatic pistol under-

neath it. The prosecution's

theory was that Bingham brought

Jackson the gun in the tape

recorder.

"The security arrangements

relative to the interview were

such that Jackson could have

removed an object from the tape

recorder without Bingham's

active cooperation, but it is

difficult to see how that act

could have been performed with-

out Bingham's knowledge. That

knowledge would not be suffi-

Cient to make Bingham a party

15.

to a conspiracy but it would be

sufficient to explain his dis-

appearance upon leaving the

prison.

"When Jackson returned to

the Adjustment center from the

interview, the bullet clip was

detected; whereupon, he remcved

the gun from under his wig and

forced one of the four correc-

tional officers, who were pre-

sent to open the cells of other

prisoners, many of whom emerged

and some of whom--including,

admittedly, Spain and Pinell,

and, as shown by sufficient

evidence, Johnson--played an

active role in binding the

officers and placing them in

cells where they were

assaulted. During the turmoil,

16.

two other officers were

admitted to the Adjustment

Center and subjected to similar

treatment. An officer accom-

panying the last to be admitted

raised an alarm. Jackson and

Spain then fled from the

Adjustment Center. Jackson was

shot and died instantly. Spain

was located in some shrubbery

in which he had taken cover.

Order was restored in the

Adjustment Center. One officer

had bled to death from a neck

wound; two had been shot to

death; three others had their

throats cut but survived; two

prisoners died from similar

wounds. A number of knives and

improvised knives were found in

various locations. No firearms

were discovered except

Jackson's pistol.

"Spain is a black and was

in August 1971 a member of the

Black Panther Party. Jackson

was also a member of the party,

and it is reasonably probable

that ‘the party’ of which he

spoke in the letter which

referred to his gun and his

plan to escape was the Black

Panther Party.

"The district attorney

argued to the jury that the

Black Panther Party had helped

to smuggle weapons or ammuni-

tion to Jackson and implied

that Spain's party membership

was evidence that he, too, was

‘involved in' the escape plan

and ‘working with' Jackson."

18.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Twelve years ago six persons died

during an attempted escape at San

Quentin Penitentiary. Respondent was

convicted for the murders of two of

those persons. During the trial one of

the jurors approached the trial judge

with the information that a4 person

mentioned in passing by a defense wit-

ness might have killed a friend. The

judge assured the juror that the person

mentioned would not testify, as indeed

he did not. After the trial the court

held a hearing with all defendants and

counsel present. The court ruled that

the information possessed by the juror

did not affect her ability to be fair

and impartial. The state appellate

courts concluded that the trial court's

ruling was correct.

Eleven years after the murders, a

district court rejected the conclusion

19.

of the state courts, holding that the

absence of an attorney when the juror

approached the trial court required the

granting of a writ of habeas corpus

without a showing of prejudice. The

Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals affirmed,

ruling that the absence of a record made

it impossible to determine the impact of

the error.

Petitioner submits that the rulings

of the lower federal courts have deviated

from this Court's opinion in Smith v.

Phillips, 455 U.S. 209 (1982). As in

Smith, the trial court determined that

the juroc was fair and impartial. As in

Smith, that factual finding by the state

court, after a full and fair hearing,

should have ended the matter.

This case is appropriate for this

Court's plenary review because the

disregard by this Circuit of federal-

State relations, as defined by this

20.

Court, is not an isolated instance. The

refusal of the Ninth Circuit to accord

due deference to factual findings by

the state courts, together with impor-

tance of this case in terms of its age

and the number of victims, makes a grant

of certiorari by this Court imperative.

21.

ARGUMENT

THE EX PARTE COMMUNICATION

BETWEEN JUDGE AND JUROR DID

NOT PREJUDICE RESPONDENT AND

THEREFORE WAS HARMLESS BEYOND

A REASONABLE DCUBT.

The district court held that a com-

munication between the trial court and a

jury during the course of the trial

violated the right of the respondent to

be present during the proceedings, and

his right to be represented by an attor-

ney. The court further held that the

deprivation of the right to an attorney

during a critical stage of the proceed-

ings required uutomatic reversal; but

even if it did not, the record did not

establish that the error was harmless

beyond a reasonable doubt.

The holding of the Ninth Circuit

Court of Appeals is contained in the

following paragraph:

"The state court made no

contemporary record of the

22.

ex-parte communication between

judge and juror or even of the

fact that it took place. In

this case the district court

correctly concluded that the

condition of the record made it

impossible to apply intelli-

gently the harmless error test.

Chapman v. California, 386 U.S.

18, 22 (1967). The court's

explanation of its decision to

Grant the habeas writ referred

to the inadequacy of the

State's record and the need for

extensive speculation in deter-

mining the extent of the error.

See Sumner v. Mata, 449 U.S. at

551. The harmless effect of

conceded constitutional error

Cannot be established by specu-

lation from a silent record.”

(Slip Op. at 3.)

aoe

Petitioner contends that the doc-

trine of harmless error was applicable

to the identified error and that the

record in the state courts, to which the

district court erroneously failed “to

accord a presumption of correctness

(28 U.S.C. § 2254(d); Sumner v. Mata,

455 U.S. 591 [1982]), established that

the error was harmless beyond doubt.

Before delineating these arguments at

length, petitioner reviews the operative

facts.

A. The Facts

At a hearing on a motion for a new

trial held on September 30, 1976, Juror

Patricia Fagan testified that she had

been born and raised in Los Angeles,

leaving that area to come to Concord in

1968 (SRT 23946-23951).2’ While growing

Te *“SRT" refers to the Reporter's

Transcript of the proceedings in state

court.

24.

up in Los Angeles, Fagan knew Carolyn

Olson, whom she termed a "good friend but

not a close one" (SRT 23949). Pagan

Stated that, although she cared for

Olson's little girl while Olson attended

U.C.L.A., they did not see each other

socially as adults (SRT 23948-23949).

In 1968, while in Concord, Fagan

learned that her childhood friend had

been slain (SRT 23951-23952). A cousin

subsequently advised her that Olson had

been killed by members of the Black

Panther Party (SRT 23954).

During voir dire of potential jurors

On June 12, 1975, Fagan was asked: "i.

How about crimes of violence? Any know-

ledge of that at all? A. No. a) .lCU GN

Witness, victim, otherwise? A. No."

(Ct.App. Opinion at 9.) Later appellant

Spain's attorney queried: "Q. Have you

heard of the Black Panther Party? A.

Yes. [9] Do you associate the Black

25.

Panther Party with any form of violence

in your own mind? A. No." Ct.App.

Opinion at 9.

Louis Albert Tackwood testified in

behalf of petitioner Spain in April of

1976 (SRT 18224-18792). Several times he

Stated that Elmer "Geronimo" Pratt was a

police informant who was assigned to help

George Jackson to escape from custody on

August 23, 1971. Tackwood claimed that

Pratt, the members of his “hit squad,"

and Jackson would have been assassinated

by police (SRT 18334-18337, 18352).

Pratt was later identified as a.leader in

the Los Angeles branch of the Black

Panther Party (SRT 18305).

During the course of his cross-

examination, the prosecutor asked

Tackwood whether he was aware that Pratt

had been “wanted for the robbery and

murder of a woman in Santa Monica" (SRT

18640). As a result of the question,

26.

juror Fagan went to the chambers of the

trial judge at the close of that day's

proceedings to inform him that she

believed that it was her friend whom

Pratt had killed (SRT 23957). She had

never before heard Pratt's name (SRT

23954), but since Carolyn Olson had been

killed in Santa Monica by a_ Black’

Panther, she thought that it might have

been more than a coincidence (SRT 23956-

23957). Fagan told the judge that she

might cry if the death of her friend was

explored further in court (SRT 5481; SRT

23977). She later explained that she

feared that she might break down in

court because she was "a very emotional

person" (SRT 23977). The judge advised

her “that I do not consider that a

matter of significance, and told her that

she should simply forget about it. I

didn't think the matter would be gone

into at all" (SRT 23919).

~

27.

That evening Patricia Fagan learned

from her mother that Elmer Pratt had been

convicted of murdering Carolyn Olson (SRT

23972). She did not otherwise discuss

the trial with her mother, confining her

questions to the identity of the slayer

of her childhood friend (SRT 23973). The

following morning Fagan informed the

judge that in fact Pratt had killed her

friend. She again warned that she might

lose composure if the death of her friend

was the subject of testimony at trial

(SRT 23820; SCT 5481). When the judge

reassured her that Pratt probably would

not be discussed further, Fagan told the

judge “that the information regarding

Pratt and my friend would have no adverse

effect on me, and played no part in my

evaluation of this case” (SCT 5481-5482).

She did inform other jurors that Pratt

had killed a friend (SRT 23972), “but no

comments derogatory of the Black Panther

28.

Party were made by me or anyone else in

my presence" (SCT 5482).

Fagan later averred that her state-

ments during voir dire were truthful.

"I have not been a victim of, or witness

to such crimes [of violence], and at the

time I answered the question, the death

of my friend in Santa Monica was not in

my mind” (SCT 5482).

With regard to the Black Panther

Party, her knowledge "was primarily

limited to a breakfast program for

school children conducted by that orga-

nization in the Los Angeles. area.

Therefore, I associate the Black Panther

Party with worthwhile activities”

(SCT 5482).

The trial court denied the motion

for a new trial (SRT 24014). The court

ruled that Pratt's conviction for the

murder of Fagan's friend lacked eviden-

tiary significance because Pratt did not

aa

29.

testify at trial (SRT 23985). The court

also found that Fagan did not inten-

tionally conceal the death of her friend

during voir dire (SRT 24013).

B. The Error and the Applicability of

the Harmless Error Doctrine.

Taken together, the opinions of the

district court and Court of Appeals hold:

(1) the ex parte communication between

judge and juror violated respondent's

right to be present with counsel; (2)

there was no adequate record of the con-

tents of those communications; (3) there-

fore, the error was reversible without an

attempt by the courts to assess preju-

dice. Petitioner submits that the record

was adequate and established beyond doubt

that the error was harmless. Chapman v.

California, 386 U.S. 18, 24 (1967).

The district court found that the ex

parte communication between judge and

juror violated respondent's right to be

30.

present with counsel. Dist. Ct. Opinion

11-16. Petitioner always has acknow-

ledged that the better practice would

have been for the trial court to have

held a hearing immediately, with respon-

dent and counsel present, when the juror

approached him. See, e.g., Faretta v.

California, saa: aie 806, 819 n.15

(1975) (right to be present); Badger v.

Cardwell, 587 F.2d 968, 970 (9th Cir.

1978) (same); United States v. McCoy,

429 ¥.24 739, 742 (D.C. Cis. 1976)

(right to counsel). The district court

correctly held that the violation of the

right to be present is to be judged

under the harmless error standard.

Dist. Ct. Opinion at n.9; United States

v. Taylor, 562 F.2d 1345, 1365 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 432 U.S. 909 (1977).

However, the district court also

held that the deprivation of the

right to counsel “dictates the automatic

31.

reversal of Spain's conviction." Dist.

Ct. Opinion at 17. Petitioner emphati-

cally disagrees.

The district court's ruling totally

disregarded decisional law. Courts have

held to be harmless the absence of the

accused or his attorney, or both, during

a communication between the trial court

and a juror. See United States v.

Cassasa, 588 F.2d 282, 285 (9th Cir.

1973); United States v. Boscia, 573 F.2d

827, 831-832 (3rd Cir. 1978); United

States v. Parker, 549 F.2d 998, 1000

(Sth Cir. 1977); United States Vv.

Rodriguez, 545 F.2d 829 (2d Cir. 1976);

United States v. Jones, 542 F.2d 186, 213

(4th Cir. 1976); United States v. Jones,

542 F.2d 196, 213 (4th Cir. 1976); United

States v. Doe, 513 F.2d 709, 711

(lst Cir. 1975); United States Vv.

Reynolds, 489 F.2d 4, 7-8 (6th Cir.

1973); United States v. Neff, 475 F.2d

32.

861 (3d Cir. 1973); United States v.

Arrigada, 451 F.2d 487, 489 (4th Cir.

1971); Henderson v. United States, 419

F.2d 1277 (Sth Cir. 1970); United States

v. Larkin, 417 F.2d 617 (lst Cir. 1963);

Bacino v. United States, 316 F.2d ll,

13-14 (10th Cir. 1963); see also Rogers

vy. United States, 422 U.S. 35, 40 (1975)

(dictum).

This Court has recognized that cer-

tain violations of the right to counsel

may be disregarded as harmless error.

United States v. Morrison, 449 U.S. 361,

365 (1981). For example, Coleman v.

Alabama (1970) 339 U.S. 1, held that an

accused had the right to an attorney at

a preliminary hearing, but recognized

that error could be harmless if evidence

developed at the hearing was not used at

trial. Id. at 10-11 & n.5. © A post-

indictment lineup is a critical stage

requiring the presence of counsel.

33.

United States v. Wade (1967) 388 U.S.

218; Gilbert v. California (1967) 388

U.S. 263. Yet denial of counsel can be

harmless if the state can prove convinc-

ingly that the in-court identification

was not the product of the lineup (United

States v. Wade, supra, at 240) and if

evidence of the lineup itself is excluded

(Gilbert Vv. California, supra, at

272-74). Indeed, even if such evidence

is introduced, it can be harmless. Id.;

see also Moore v. Illinois 1978) 434

U.S. 220, 232.

Thus, deprivation of counsel can be

harmless if the resulting taint infected

only one stage of the proceedings rather

than the entire prosecution as in Gideon

v. Wainwright (1963) 372 U.S. 335. The

harmless error doctrine is then available

to determine whether the localized taint

had affected the jury's deliberations and

34.

decision. As this Court said in

Morrison:

"Our approach has thus

been to identify and then

neutralize the taint by tailor-

ing relief appropriate in the

Circumstances to assure the

defendant the effective assis-

tance of counsel and a fair

trial. The premise of our

prior cases is that the consti-

tutional infringement iden-

tified has had or threatens

some adverse effect upon the

effectiveness of counsel's rep-

resentation or has _ produced

some other prejudice to the

defense. Absent such impact on

the criminal proceeding, how-

ever, there is no basis for

imposing a remedy in that pro-

ceeding, which can go forward

35.

with full recognition of the

defendant's right to counsel

and to a fair trial." 449 U.S.

at 365.

Applying this principle to the present

case, we submit that respondent is enti-

tled to no relief if it can be demonstra-

ted that the absence of counsel during

the communication between judge and juror

was harmless error. We submit that the

record of the state trial affirmatively

establishes that the error was harmless

beyond a reasonable doubt. Proof of the

total lack of prejudice suffered by

respondent comes from the sufficiency of

the hearing on the communication held

after the trial. The post-trial hearing

established what would have been proven

if the hearing had been held immediately:

(1) the information of which juror Fagan

was aware was irrelevant to any issue

developed during trial; (2) the juror was

36.

shown to be fair and impartial. We now

turn to a consideration of these issues.

C. Communications Between Judce and

Jury Did Not Prejudice Respondent.

The state court record establishes

beyond doubt that respondent was not

prejudiced by the communications between

the trial judge and the juror. The

issue of prejudice must be ap

'0

n"

O

Ay)

0

ey

@

QO.

from two different directions. First,

the content of the communication must be

assessed to determine whether it related

to some fact in controversy which arose

in the trial. See, e@.c., Rogers vy.

United States, supra, 422 U.S. at 40.

Second, the communication and the con-

tacts between judge and juror must be

evaluated for their relevance to the

question of the juror's fitness to

serve. Petitioner submits that the

information possessed by the juror was

irrelevant to any issue developed at

37.

trial and had no impact on the juror's

ability to be fair and impartial.

1. The Contents of the Statement

We believe that Parker v. Gladden

(1966) 385 U.S. 363, identifies the

interests of the accused which are sought

to be protected by the rule against ex

arte communications with jurors.

Quoting from Turner v. Louisiana (1965)

379 U.S. 466, 472-73, this Court stated

that "the ‘evidence developed’ against a

defendant shall come from the witness

stand in a public courtroom where there

is full judicial protection of the

defendant's right of confrontation, of

cross-examination, and of counsel.” 385

U.S. at 364. Thus, the danger of ex

parte communications is that the juror

may receive incorrect information about

either the facts or the law of the case

(cf. United States v. Treatman [8th Cir.

1975] 524 F.2d 320, 323; United States v.

38.

Marken [9th Cir. 1972) 457 F.2d 186,

188; Holmes v. United States [4th Cir.

1960] 284 F.2d 716, 718-19, or may be

influenced by the attitude or instruc-

tions of the court. Cf£. Shields vy.

United States (1927) 273 U.S. 583,

587-88; United States v. Glick (2d Cir.

1972) 463 F.2d 491, 494; Rice v. United

States (8th Cir. 1966) 356 F.2d 709,

715-17. It is to prevent such misinfor-

Mation or undue influence that the

rights to counsel and confrontation are

applicable to exchanges between judges

and juries. See, e.g., United States v.

Taylor, supra, 563 F.2d at 1365.

It follows, then, that the accused

has not been prejudiced by the imper-

missible communication if the record

Clearly demonstrates that the juror has

not received information pertinent to

the case and has not been influenced on

Pei

39.

the ultimate issue of guilt or inno-

cence.

The record in this case shows that

Fagan received no information from the

trial judge at all. Rather, it was she

who advised the judge what she remembered

about Geronimo Pratt. If she had

remained silent about the incident of her

friend's death, this issue never would

have arisen. Indeed, even if she had

used the irrelevant fact in deciding to

convict respondent, he would not be

entitled to relief. As he has repeatedly

pointed out, a verdict may not be

impeached with evidence of the mental

process of a juror. Cal. Evid. Code

§ 1150; Fed. Rules of Evid. Rule 606(b).

This issue has emerged only because

juror Fagan forthrightly advised the

trial judge that a name mentioned during

the proceedings evoked distant memozies.

40.

Her decision to come forth was commend-

able and cuts against any claim of pre-

judice on her part. Viewed in this

context, the issue of the ex parte com-

munication really is no issue at all.

Fagan learned nothing from the judge

which she did not previously know.

The record in this case thus conclu-

Sively demonstrates a total lack of pre-

judice to respondent. The subject of

the conversation between Fagan and the

trial court was unrelated to any fact in

controversy. C£. United States v.

Boscia, 573 F.2d 827, 831 (36 -©ae-

1978); United States v. Burke (5th Cir.

1974) 496 F.2d 373, 377. The fact that

Elmer Pratt murdered Carolyn Olson in

Santa Monica in 1968 was totally irrele-

vant to the prosecution of the crimes

committed in San Quentin on August 21,

1971. The murder committed by Pratt had

nothing to do with the introduction of a

4l.

gun into San Quentin by Stephen M.

Bingham. It had nothing to do with the

transfer of the weapon to George L.

Jackson. It had nothing to do with the

concealment of the weapon under a wig on

Jackson's head. It had nothing to do

with the introduction of the gun into the

Adjustment Center, to the amazement of

startled guards who were told by Jackson

that the "dragon had come."

Olson's death was not related to the

ensuing slaughter in the Adjustment

Center. Her death was not related to the

deaths of Paul Krasenes, Frank DeLeon,

Jere Graham, Ronald Kane, and Johnny

Lynn. Her death was not related to

Jackson's desperate bid for freedom and

subsequent death.

Pratt's murder of Olson did not

affect the defense of respondent; who

Claimed diminished capacity and "counter

conspiracy". Since Pratt was not called

42.

as a witness, his commission of a murder

in 1968 did not impeach his credibility.

Regarding his credibility, it is worth

noting that there was substantial evi-

dence adduced at trial that Pratt was an

Outlaw (SRT 18065, 18096, 18597, 18617,

18641).

Pratt's slaying of Olson had no

relevance to the credibility of

Tackwood. He was impeached by the self-

contradictory and incredible nature of

his testimony. References to Elmer

Pratt are a minuscule part of the fabric

woven by the fantastic quality of his

Claims at trial. Even if his testimony

had been believed, it would have made no

difference. Respondent's convictions of

murder and conspiracy are based on a

conspiracy between Jackson and Bingham.

There is no connection between Pratt and

Bingham in the record, and none was ever

asserted. No evidence even remotely

43.

suggested that Bingham was a state agent

who lured Jackson into the escape

attempt. At most, Fagan had second-hand

knowledge about a crime committed seven

years earlier by a shadowy figure who

Played no part in the offenses of which

appellee was convicted.

Finally, returning to a considera-

tion of the policies behind the prohibi-

tion of ex parte communications, we note

that the trial court gave no information

to Fagan regarding to the facts or the

law (cf&. United States v. Reynolds [6th

Cir. 1973] 489 F.2d 4, 7-8); nor did the

court attempt to influence the juror.

Rather, the court sought only to reassure

Fagan that the mention in court of the

name of a man who might have killed her

childhood friend was no cause for con-

cern. Cf. United States v. Neff (3d Cir.

1973) 475 F.2d 861.

44. =

We therefore submit that the contact

between judge and juror was not of the

species which the prohibition against ex

parte communications seeks to prevent.

Juror Pagan came away from her meeting

with the trial court with no new informa-

tion or bias. Beyond doubt the communi-

cation did not prejudice respondent.

2. Juror Bias.

The courts below held that the com-

munication between the judge and j

raised a question regarding the latter's

fitness to serve, a question which was

not resolved during the trial. Peti-

tioner submits that the question of

Fagan's impartiality was fully and

fairly litigated in the state courts.

She stated during voir dire that she

could be fair and unbiased. During the

motion for rew trial she testified that

she was not biased toward petitioner or

the Black Panthers. Both the trial

45.

court and court of appeal determined,

after a full and fair hearing with the

revelation of all pertinent facts, that

Fagan was a fair and impartial juror. We

believe that the state courts' finding is

entitled to a presumption of correctness

which was not rebutted by respondent. 28

U.S.C. § 2254(d); Wade v. Jones, 192

F.Supp. 333 (W.D. Ky. 1961). The error

in the opinions of the lower courts is in

their premise that a record should have

been made at the time of the ex parte

communication and that any record made

afterward was inadequate. Petitioner

contends that the post-trial record was

adequate to establish juror Fagan's fit-

ness to serve.

Smith v. Phillips, 455 U.S. 209

(1982), provides persuasive support for

our position. In Smith, one of the

jurors during trial submitted an applica-

tion to the district attorney's office

=

46.

for employment as an investigator. The

prosecuting attorneys were advised of

this application during the trial but

did not disclose this information to the

trial court or defense counsel. When

the matter was brought to light after

the verdicts, the trial court held a

hearing at which the juror testified.

The trial court found that the juror had

not reached a premature conclusion about

the defendant's guilt or was otherwis2

prejudiced against him. 455 u.S. at

213-214.

This Court upheld the convictions,

holding that the hearing was

legally adequate to determine the

juror's fitness to serve. "Due process

means a jury capable and willing to

decide the case solely on the evidence

before it, and a trial judge ‘ever watch-

ful to prevent prejudicial occurrences

and to determine the effect of such

47.

occurrences when they happen. Such

determinations may properly be made at a

hearing like that ... held in this

case." Id. at 217. This Court noted

that the determination of the juror's

bias vel non will frequently turn upon

the testimony of the juror in question,

but nevertheless held that it was

admissible. Quoting from Dennis v.

United States, 339 U.S. 162, 171 (1950),

this Court noted that "“'[o]ne may not

know or altogether understand the impon-

derables which cause one to think what he

thinks, but surely one who is trying to

live up to the sanctity of his oath is

well qualified to say whether he has an

unbiased mind in a certain matter.'* 455

U.S. at 217 n.7; sew also Remmer v.

United States, 347 U.S. 227, 230 (1954).

The defendant argued that, had the

prosecutors disclosed the application for

employment during the trial, the trial

48.

court could have replaced the juror with

an alternate. This Court rejected this

position: "This argument proves too

much. If the hearing and determination

to replace a juror during trial would

have adequately protected [the defen-

dant's) right to due process of law, and

would not have been rendered impossible

by necessary reliance on the juror's own

testimony, we see no reason why a post-

trial hearing and determination would be

any less protective or possible." 455

U.S. at 218 n.8.

In the present case, after a post-

trial hearing at which Fagan testified,

the trial court determined that there

was no juror bias which deprived appellee

of due process of law. Under Smith v.

Phillips, supra, the finding that

Fagan was not biased was a factual

Getermination which the district court

49.

should have accepted and this Court must

now accept.

The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals

based its affirmance of the district

court's grant of habeas corpus upon the

fact that a hearing was not held

immediately after the relevations by the

juror to the judge. But this Court said

that it did not matter whether the

hearing was held during or after trial.

455 U.S. at 218 n.8. In Remmer v.

United States, supra, for example, the

FBI investigated during trial the

attempted bribery of a juror and sub-

mitted a report to the judge and prose-

cutor without disclosure to defense

counsel. Rather than require a new

trial, this Court instructed the trial

judge to “determine the circumstances,

the impact thereof upon the juror, and

whether or not [they were] prejudiced,

in a hearing with all interested parties

50.

permitted to participate.” 347 U.S. at

230. Thus, a post-trial hearing can be

constitutionally adequate to reveal

whether a mid-trial irregularity is pre-

judicial.

C. The Importance of This Case.

It should be clear from all of the

above that respondent was accorded a fair

trial in California Superior Court. a

hearing established that the juror who

approached the judge during the trial had

received no ex parte information bearing

upon the issues raised at trial and was

able to discharge her duties with fair-

ness and impartiality. There remains

only the question of why this Court

should accept this case for plenary con-

sideration.

We are well aware that this Court,

which must devise rules for, and give

legal guidance to, every judicial forum

in this land cannot accept a case for

Sl.

review simply because it was incorrectly

decided. But more, much more, is at

stake here. It is not merely that the

trial lasted 18 months and cost the

People of the State of California over

$1 million. Nor is it that the crimes

involved, which left five people dead,

occurred almost twelve years ago and may

be difficult to prove upon retrial.

Rather, this case is a singular example

of the failure, if not outright refusal,

of some federal courts to accept this

Court's leadership in the area of

federal-state relations.

This Court's decisions have articu-

lated a clear policy of protecting the

Constitutional rights of those charged

with crimes in state courts while

respecting the interest of the states in

the finality of their criminal trials

and minimizing friction between the

federal and state systems of justice.

ares

52.

See Schneckloth v. Bustamonte, 412 U.S.

218, 259 (1973) (Powell, J., concurring).

This balancing of interests is largely

maintained by requiring that the state's

fact-finding process be reliable. Tf

that process admits reliable evidence

and provides a method for the correction

or elimination of error, then judgments

produced by that process will not be

disturbed. See, e.g., Engle vy. Isaac,

456 U.S. 107 (1983); Rose v. Lundy, 455

U.S. 509 (1982); Smith v. Phillips, 455

U.S. 209 (1982); Wainwright v. Sykes,

433 U.S. 72 (1977); Stone v. Powell, 428

U.S. 465 (1976). The courts in the Ninth

Circuit do not seem to have comprehended

this policy. See, e.g., Sumner v. Mata,

455 u.S. 591 (1982), rev'g. Mata v.

Sumner, 649 F.2d 713 (9th Cir. 1981);

Sumner v. Mata 449 U.S. 539 (1981),

rev'g. Mata v. Sumner, 611 F.2d 754 (9th

Cir. 1979).

53.

This case cries out for the correc-

tive process which only this Court can

now provide. Once again, the courts of

the Ninth Circuit have ignored the

reliability of the fact-finding process

of California courts and the use of that

process in this case to determine the

fairness and impartiality of the juror.

Finally, we respectfully remind this

Court of its recent comments about the

ordeal imposed upon victims of crimes by

a subsequent trial:

"Of course, inconvenience and

embarrassment to witnesses can-

not justify failing to enforce

constitutional rights cf an

accused: when prejudicial

error is made that clearly

impairs a defendant's constitu-

tional rights, the burden of a

new trial must be borne by the

prosecution, the courts, and

54.

the witnesses; the Constitution

permits nothing less. But in

the administration of criminal

justice, courts may not ignore

the concerns of victims. Apart

from all other factors, such a

course would hardly encourage

victims to report violations to

the proper authorities; this is

especially so when the crime is

one calling for public testi-

mony about a humiliating and

degrading experience such as

was involved here. Precisely

what weight should be given to

the ordeal of reliving such an

experience for the third time

need not be decided now; but

that. factor is not to be

ignored by the courts. The

spectacle of repeated trials to

establish the truth about a

55.

single criminal episode inevit-

ably places burdens on the

system in terms of witnesses,

records, and fading memories,

to say nothing of misusing

judicial resources." Morris v.

aoe, - 8.8. .... g 34

U.S.L.W. 4399, 4403 (1983).

Is it fair to ask victims of violent

Crimes to testify again about events 12

years old when a full and fair hearing in

state court established the impartiality

of the first jury? We think not, and

respectfully request this Court to

reverse the decision of the Ninth Circuit

Court of Appeals.

*

ye

56.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, we

respectfully submit that the petition for

writ of certiorari should be granted.

DATED: June 3, 1983

JOHN K. VAN DE KAMP,

Attorney General of the

State of California

WILLIAM D. STEIN

Assistant Attorney General

RONALD E. NIVER

Deputy Attorney General

Attorneys for Petitioner

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

JOHNNY SPAIN,

No. 82-4358

Appellee,

D.C. No. Cv-81-4858

-

ve

RUTH RUSHEN,

Directcr,

California

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

) MEMORANDUM

Department of )

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

Corrections,

JESS MARQUEZ,

Superintendent,

California Medical

Facility,

Vacaville,

California,

Appellants.

Appeal from the United States

District Court for the Northern

District of California

Honorable Thelton E. Henderson,

District Judge, Presiding

Argued and submitted January 10, 1983

BEFORE: GOODWIN and SNEED, Circuit

Judges, and JAMESON, District

Judge*

California appeals the district

court's grant of Spain's petition for a

* The Honorable William J. Jameson,

Senior United States District Judge,

District of Montana, sitting by

designation.

x

ee

yo

writ of habeas corpus under 28 U.S.C,

§ 2254. We affirm.

Spain was one of six prison inmates

involved in a 1971 escape attempt appar-

ently planned by prisoner George Jackson,

Jackson, three corrections officers, and

two other prisoners were killed in the

attempt.

Spain and five other inmates were

trieec on charges including assault,

conspiracy and murder. During voir dire,

Gefense counsel asked lengthy questions

about prospective jurors' knowledce of

Crimes of violence and their perceptions

of the "Black Panther Party." Spain was

the only defendant who was a "Black

Panther."

Spain was convicted of conspiracy to

escape anc murder of two of the three

corrections officers. He was found not

guilty of assault and of other counts in

the indictment.

3.

Late in the year-long trial the

judge met twice in chambers with juror

Patricia Fagan. Facan first expressed

concerns about her emotiona] responses

if a defense witness gave testimony that

linked a Black Panther who was unrelated

to the trial to the murder of one of her

friends several years earlier in Santa

Monica. The trial judce did not inform

the parties or counsel about these con-

cerns of the juror Fagan, nor did the

trial juége tell counsel about a second

visit by the juror who admitted to the

judge that she had told some other

jurors about her frienc's ceath at the

hanés of a Black Panther. Counsel thus

had no opportunity at the time to ques-

tion Facan about bias, or to inguire

whether other jurors might have been

biased by Fagan's disclosures. The

trial judge made no record of his

conversations with Fegan.

4.

California concedes that the ex-

parte communication between the trial

judge and juror viclateé Spain's Sixth

and Fourteenth Amendment rights to pres-

ence ané assistance cf ccunsel

Cal stages of tne proceedings. But the

state contencs that the errors were

harmless beyond a reasonable doubt.

In habeas proceecing a Gistrict

court is to presume correct the findings

of fact of state courts. Sumner v. Mata,

U.S. _ , 102 §.Ct. 1303, 1306-7

(1982). The state court's findings must

be fairly supportec by the record.

Sumner v. Mata, 449 U.S. 539, 550 (1980).

In order to determine whether constitu-

tional error is harmless, its scope must

be readily identifiable on review.

Holloway v. Arkansas, 435 U.S. 475, 490

(1978).

The state court made no contemporary

recoré of the ex-parte communication

5.

between judge and juror or even cf the

fact that it took place. In this case

the district court correctly concluded

that the condition of the record made it

impossible to apply intelligently the

harmless error test. Chapman v.

California, 386 U.S. 18, 22 (1966). The

court's explanation of its decision to

Grant the habeas writ referres to the

inadequacy of the state's record and the

need for extensive speculation in deter-

mining the extent of the error. ge

Sumner, 449 U.S. at 551. The harmless

effect of conceded constitutional error

Cannot be established by speculation

from a silent record.

We need not reach Spain's second

point: that he was denied a fair trial

because He was shackled during all his

appearances in state court following his

indictment.

Affirmed.

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

JOENNY SPAIN Civil Action File No.

C 81-4858 TEH

vs.

JUDGMENT

RUTE RUSEEN et al.

This action came on for hearing

before the Court, Honorable Thelton E.

Henderson, United States District Judge,

presiding, and the issues having been

Guly heard and a decision having been

Guly rendered,

It is Ordered and Adjudged that the

petition for writ of habeas corpus is

granted.

Dated at P

, this day

of , 49 .

“€lerk of the Court

By

THELTON E. HENDERSON

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

JOHNNY SPAIN,

Petitioner,

NO. © 81-4858 TEH

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

RUTH RUSHEN, )

Director, )

California )

Department of )

Corrections, )

JESS MARQUEZ, )

Superintendent, )

California Medical)

Facility, )

Vacaville, )

California, )

)

)

)

Respondents.

OPINION AND ORDER

This case is before the Court on

Spain's petition for a writ of habeas

corpus pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2254.

The Petitioner claims that he is in

custody pursuant to a judgment of con-

viction that is constitutionally defec-

tive as a result of events that occurred

at his trial. First, Spain contends

that ex parte communications that took

2.

place during his trial between a juror

and the trial judge deprived him of his

constitutional rights to assistance of

counsel and toc be present at a critical

stage of his trial. Second, the Peti-

tioner asserts that his Due Process right

to be presumed innocent at trial was

violated when he was forced to stand

trial while shackled and chained. For

the reasons set forth below, this Court

is compelled to issue the writ.

I. FACTS

The petition for writ of habeas cor-

Pus arises out of Spain's trial as one of

a group of defendants popularly known as

"The San Quentin Six." The trial, which

began in 1975, concerned August, 1971

events at San Quentin Prison’ that

resulted in the death of George Jackson

and five others. At the time these

events occurred, Petitioner Spain was

3.

incarcerated on a first degree murder

conviction.

The indictment on which the defen-

dants were tried contained twelve

counts' including conspiracy to escape

Ey force or violence, assault, ance

murder in the deaths of two prisoners

and three correctional officers. All of

the defendants were charged and tried on

the conspiracy and murder counts. The

trial began on March 25, 1975 and ended

on August 12, 1976 after twenty-four

(24) days of jury CGeliberation. Three

of the six defendants were acquitted on

all counts. One was convicted of one

count of assault, and another of two

counts of assault. The remaining defen-

Gant was Johnny Spain.

Spain, the only defendant who was a

member of the Black Panther Party, was

the only defendant convicted of con-

spiracy and/or murder. On @ theory of

vicarious liability arising out of the

conspiracy conviction, Spain was con-

victed of murder in the deaths of two of

the three correctional officers who died

in the escape attempt allegedly led by

Georce Jackson. People V. Spain,

Pinell, and Johnson, No. 1/Crim. 16126 at

2 (California Ct. App., July 24, 1980)

{hereinafter cited as Ct. App. Opinion].

Consistent with the vicarious liability

theory, Spain was acquitted of murder in

the deaths of the third correctional

officer and the two prisoners. Id.

The relevant portions of the record

at trial and on appeal have been lodged

with the Court+/ and thorouchly reviewed.

he The records referred to were

lodged with the Court in connection with

the case of Spain v. Rushen, et al.,

C 81-2738 TEH, which was dismissed

without prejudice by this Court on

November 24, 1981. See discussion of

Procedural Background, this Opinion,

infra, at pages 9-10. The earlier case

(Footnote continued on next page.)

The facts bearing on the petition are

not in dispute and are set out in detail

in the parties' able briefs and in the

unpublished opinion of the California

Court of Appeal affirmine the convic-

tions of Spain and the other two con-

victed defendants, People v. Spain,

Pinell, and Johnson, No. 1/Crim. 16126

(July 24, 1980). To the extent that

factual findings pertinent to the issues

raised here were made by the California

Court of Appeal, those findings are pre-

sumed to be correct. Sumner v. Mata,

U.S. , 102 S.Ct. 1303, 1306-07

(1982) (per curiam), 28 U.S.C. § 2254

(d).

Footnote 1 continued:

is related to the instant action within

the meaning of Local Rule 205=-2(b), and

judicial notice is hereby taken of the

entire record in C 81-2738 TEH. Fed. R.

Evid. 201.

6.

With respect to the ex parte commun-

ications between judge and juror, the

facts are as follows. Jury selection

took thirty-nine trial days. The sensa-

tional nature of the 1971 events and the

Black Panther membership of Georse

Jackson anc Petitioner Spain prompted

voir dire concerning both violence and

perceptions of the Black Panther Party.

The California Court cf Appeal cCescribed

the pre-trial voir dire as follows:

Fagan [the juror who had x

Parte communications with t

trial judge], during the voi

Gire of the venire, was shown a

vicdeotape of the trial judge's

acmonishing prospective jurors

of the importance of revealing

any association with crimes of

violence and attitudes toward

radical groups, specifically

the Black Panther Party. Fagan

was asked:

"QO. How about crimes of

violence? Any knowledge of

that at all?

«=

"0. Witness, victim otherwise?

_ —

>

Ba

"©. Have you heard of the

Black Panther Party?

"A. Yes.

"©. Do you associate the Black

Panther Party with any

form of violence in your

own mind?

"A. Bo."

Ct. App. Opinion at 9.

During the defense case at trial, a

witness for Spain testified that the

1971 events for which Spain and the

other defendants were on trial resulted

from a police plot to eiiminate a group

of Black Panthers bS5y setting up a

Panther “rescue” of George Jackson and

then ambushing the entire group. The

witness identified a Black Panther named

Pratt as a police informant involved in

the plot as leacéer of the “rescue”

group. Pratt, however, had been in

custody for the 1968 murder of a Santa

Monica woman during the entire period of

the alleged rescue plot. This informa-

tion about Pratt's whereabouts and the

reasons therefor was used to impeach the

Gefense witness on cross-examination.

T™d. at 9-10; see also Examination of

Juror Fagan at Post-trial hearing, Trial

Court Transcript 23957: 2-8 [hereinafter

cited as C.T.].

During a recess on the day of this

cross-examination, Juror Patricia Fagan

went to the chambers of trial Judge Henry

J. Broderick and told him that she sus-

pected that the murder referred to in

cross-examination was the murder of her

friend, Carolyn Olson, by a Black Panther

Party member. Record on Appeal, 5480:28

- 5481:13 {hereinafter cited as R.App.];

C.T. 23919:7-11; Ct. App. Opinion at 10.

Ms. Fagan told the judge that, if the

matter were gone into further, she might

Start to cry in the courtroom. R.App.

5481:13-14; Ct. App. Opinion at 10.

Judge Broderick indicated that it was

unlikely that the 1968 murder referred

9.

to was that of her friend anc told Ms.

Fagan not to concern herself with it.

R. App. 5481:14-17; C.T. 23919:25-28;

Ct. App. Opinion at 10. The judge also

asked Ms. Fagan whether Pratt's asso-

Ciation with her friend's murder would

affect her €isposition of the case. Ms.

Fagan responded in the negative. C.T.

23919:20-24, Ct. App. Opinion at 10. No

record was made of the conversation and

neither the parties nor their counsel

were informed of its occurrence at the

time it took place. Ct. App. Opinion at

ll.

That evening, Ms. Fagan asked her

mother the name of the person who killed

her friend Olson, and her mother

informed her that it was Pratt. R.App.

5§481:18-20; Ct. App. Opinion at 10.

The next day, Ms. Fagan went to see

Judge Broderick again to inform him that

she had confirmed that the testimony

10.

given on the previous day related to the

Geath of her friend. R.App. 5481:21-23;

C.T. 23920:1-4; Ct. App. Cpinion at 10-

ll. Ms. Fagan reiterated the effect that

renewed discussion of the 1968 murder

might have on her composure. R.App.

§481:23-25; C.T. 23920:4-101 Ct. App.

Opinion at ll. The judge advised Ms.

Fagan that the lawyers probably would not

go into the matter further, and asked

again whether Ms. Fagan's disposition

towaré the case would be affected by the

information in her possession. Id. Ms.

Fagan responded that she would be very

unsettled if Pratt were called to tes-

tify. Id. No record of this second con-

versation was made and none of the par-

ties was informed of its occurrence. Ct.

App. Opinion at ll.

Juror Fagan's second conversation

with Judge Broderick took place on

Friday. Evidence was presented the

ll.

following Monday, the next trial day,

that Pratt was a leader of the Black

Panther Party in Los Angeles. Ié. at

12.

Despite the cross-examination cques-

tion posed by the prosecutor concerning

Pratt's incarceration for murder, no

admissible evidence was introduced that

Pratt in fact had killed or teen con-

victed of killing Carolyn Olson. Ic. at

ll. Juror Fagan, however, told other

jurors that Pratt had been convicted cf

muréering a friend of hers. R.App.

5482:2-3; Ct. App. Opinion at ll; see

also Examination of Juror Fagan at post-

trial hearing’ C.T. 23971:24 = 23972:1,

23978:27 - 23979:1.2/ Ms. Pagan, in an

affidavit submitted in opposition to

2. The record is unclear as to

when, precisely, Ms. Fagan conveyed this

information to other jurors, though it

was clearly before the verdicts were

reached.

7 5 = oes ieee ae te

y *

Spain's motion for a new trial, denied

that she made any derogatory comments

about the Black Panther Party in her con-

versations with other jurors concerning

the death of her friend. R.App.

§482:2-7; Ct. App. Opinion at ll.

Following the testimony pertaining to

Pratt, Spain presented evidence of his

Black Panther Party membership. Ct. App.

Opinion at 12. In his closing statement,

the prosecutor argued to the jury that

the Black Panther Party helped to smuggle

weapons or ammunition to Jackson "and

implied that Spain's party membership was

evidence that he, too, was ‘involved in'

the escape plan and ‘working with'

[George] Jackson." Id. at 5-6.

Counsel for Spain learned of the con-

versations between Juror Fagan and Judse

Broderick after the jury returned its

verdict. A motion for new trial based on

these conversations was promptly filed.

P.App. 5437 et seq. Ms. Fagan's affida-

vit was submitted as part of the record

at the hearing on the new trial motion,

at which Ms. Fagan testified. In her

affidavit, Ms. Fagan stated that she

associated the Black Panther Party with

worthwhile activities and that at the

time of pre-trial voir dire the dceath of

her friend was not in her mind. R.App.

5482:7-18. No other jurors testified at

the hearing on the motion for a new

trial, at which Judge Broderick pre-

sided. The motion was denied in

October, 1976. C.T. 24013:12-24014:7.

The pertinent facts with respect to

the shackling of the Petitioner at trial

are as follows: Spain was indicted in

October, 197). From the time of his

indictment through his conviction in

1976, the Petitioner was shackled during

his appearances in state court. Prior

to leaving his cell each morning, Spain,

14.

like the other incarceratec defendants,

was placed in leg irons and belly chains,

and his hands were bound to his waist

chain through the use of additional

chains and handcuffs. Once in the court-

room, Spain's waist chain was shacklec to

his chair, which was bolted to the floor.

Beyond these restraints applied to the

individual defendants, an elaborate

system of courtroom security was

employed, including guards armed with

machine guns, a bullet proof barrier'

body frisks, and metal detectors.

During the pre-trial period, defen-

Gants, including Spain, filed several

motions requesting that they be unshack-

led, all of which were denied. See,

e.g., C.T. 1161, 1165-66. A motion to

reconsider the question of shackling at

trial was. filed on March 7, 1975 and

denied on March 14, 1975. The jury trial

commenced on March 25, 1975 with the

15.

Gefendants shackled in the manner

Gescribed above.

During the course of trial, Judge

Broderick made no express finding as to

why Petitioner Spain was shackled. On

October 1, 1976, just prior to sentenc-

ing, the trial judge orally addressed

the subject of the restraints imposed

Guring trial. C.T. 23994-24003. Peti-

tioner Spain's attorney objected to the

judge's statements on the ground that

the court should not be permitted to

state self-serving reasons for its

actions at such a late date, having

refused to holé a hearing on the

questior of restraints during trial.

Judge Broderick, however, expressed con-

cern that the appellate court be able to

review the decision to maintain the phy-

sical restraints during trial. Judge

Broderick therefore introduced into evi-

dence two court exhibits documenting the

Me

16.

reasons for his decision with respect to

shackling. Court Exhibit 17 is a bound

volume entitled "Composite Behavior

Report,” consisting of security incident

reports submitted to Judge Broderick

during the trial. Exhibit 18 is a set of

videotapes of misconduct by the defen-

Gants during the trial.2/

Exhibits 17 and 18 reveal that, while the

trial was in progress, Petitioner Spain

engagec in the following misconduct:

l. Throwing a file toward the jury

as jurors were being sworn.

June 12, 1975.

3. The existence of Exhibits 17 and

18 came to the attention of this Court

after the March 15, 1982 hearing on the

Order to Show Cause. The Court promptly

contacted the Deputy Attorney General

handling this case on behalf of the State

of California. As the result of the

State's diligent efforts, a copy of

Exhibit 17 and the original of Exhibit 18

were obtained anc lodged with the Court

on May 21, 1982.

Oo

et

J

"

@

yy

t

to a correc-

Generalize

tional officer while at San

Quentin. ("What goes around

comes around.") June 12, 1975.

rubbing chains

across chair arm during reading

cof the indictment. July 28,

1975.

Urinating on courtroom floor

while waiting to be returned to

San Quentin after close of the

day's proceedings. January 30,

1976.

10.

ll.

12.

Throwing "unknown instrument"

at opening in cell door at San

Quentin, striking the hand of a

officer was walking by.

February 2

Intentionally bumping defendant

Talamantez while in transit

from San Quentin to court.

February 27, 1976.

Throwing water at six security

officers who were restraining a

codefendant during court

recess. April 12, 1976.

Indecent anc unacceptable ver-

bal responses to questions from

correctional officers at San

Quentin, resulting in security

incident report on May 13,

1976.

Illegal possession of medica-

tion at San Quentin. June 21,

1976.

& F Yelling threat and obscenities

at correctional officers at San

Quentin. July 12, 1976.

14. Verbal belligerence with

security officers during court

The initial decision to shackle

Petitioner Spain was made at his indict-

ment, before any of Petitioner's disrup-

tive acts occurred. The decision to

keep Spain in shackles throughout the

trial was presumably based on Spain's

conduct in the courtroom and on the out-

of-court behavior reported to Judge

Broderick by the security team at San

Quenton, all of which is itemized in

chronological order in the foregoing

list.

II. PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

Petitioner Spain filed a notice of

appeal to the California Court of Appeal

on October 1, 1976, the same day that

20.

the judgment of conviction was entered

against him. R.App. 5507-5508, 5512.

Nearly four years later, Spain's convic-

tion was affirmed by the Court of Appeal,

which considered both of the issues

raised by the instant petition. With

respect to the ex parte communications

between Juror Fagan and the trial judge,

the state appellate court found that

though federal constitutional error was

committed, that error was shown by the

State to be harmless beyond a reasonable

Goubt. Ct. App. Opinion at 13-19. As to

the shackling of the defendants at trial,

the Court of Appeal ruled that even if

the shackling were assumed to constitute

a due process violation, the resulting

error was not prejudicial to the defen-

Gants. Ic. at 19-20.

The California Court of Appeal opin-

ion was filed on July 24, 1980. A Peti-

tion for Hearing before the California

Supreme Court was served on September 2,

1980. The California Supreme Court

denied a hearing, issuing an order to

that effect on October 15, 1980.

—

November 2, 1981 hearing on that peti-

tion, counsel were alerted to the

Court's concerns regarding exhaustion of

state remedies or the shacklin issue.

Spain promptly filed, on November 5,

1981, a petition for writ of habeas cor-

pus raising the shackling issue in the

California Supreme Court.

On November 24, 1981, this Court

Gismissed without prejudice Spain's

petition in C 81-2738 TEH for failure to

exhaust state remedies on the shackling

22.

issue. 4/

On December 23, 1981, the California

Supreme Court denied without a hearing

Spain's petition for writ of habeas cor-

pus. In re Johnny Spain,-Crim. No. 22325

celia Sep. Ct. Dee. 23, 2968) On

December 31, 1981, Spain filed the peti-

tion that is now before the Court. a

hearing in this case was held on March

15, 1982. With this procedural and

4, The Ninth Circuit's “total ex-

haustion” rule, which this Court viewed

as mandating dismissal of Spain's

earlier-filed petition, has since been

adopted by ee United States Supreme

Court. Rose v. Lund U.S. ___, 102

S.Ct. tise frse-T1382), The Court notes,

however, that the interpretation of

California Supreme Court Rules which gave

rise to the exhaustion concern resulting

in dismissal in C 81-2738 TEH is under-

mined, if not rejected, by the Ninth

Circuit's opinion in Maxwell v. Sumner,

673 F.2d 1031, 1034 n. 1 (9th Cir. 1982),

a case decided before Rose v. Lundy. See

enerally re exhaustion, Lynn and Bolz,

Federal Habeas Corpus Review of State

Criminal Cases, in Appeals and Writs in

Criminal Cases, §§ 4.25-4.42 (California

Continuing Education of the Bar 1982).

7 Se : eae

23.

factual background established, we now

turn to a discussion of the merits of

Petitioner Spain's claims.

III. DISCUSSION

A. Communications between juror and

judge.

1. Constitutional error.

Consistent with the Califoria Court

of Appeal decision in this case, the

Respondents here do not dispute that, as

a result of the ex parte communications

that took place during trial between

Juror Fagan and Judge Brocerick,

Petitioner Spain was denied his federal

constitutional rights to be present at a

critical stage of his trial and to be

represented by counsel. Absent a viola-

tion of the United States Constitution,

it would be error for this Court to

issue a writ of habeas corpus. Smith v.

Phi llips, U.S. , 102 De Ct. 940,

24.

948 (1982). The Court of Appeal decision

and the Respondents' concession notwith-

standing, to the extent that finding a

constitutional violation requires the

application of legal standards to histor-

ical facts, the existence of such a

violation must be independently deter-

minecé by this Court. Sumner v. Mata,

supra, 102 S. Ct. at 1306-07; Pierre v.

Thompson, 666 F.2d 424, 427 (9th Cir.

1982); see also Cuvler v. Sullivan, 446

U.S. 335, 342 (1980). Furthermore, a

determination of the fact and nature of

the constitutional error here is neces-

Sary to a full understanding of the

dispute between the parties concerning

the standard of review to be applied in

this case.

The California Court of Appeal,

reviewing this aspect of the case, per-

ceived the issue before it as

I ee ae ne

25.

aris{ing] at the confluence of

three streams of constitutional

doctrine, flowing from the

right of defendants in criminal

proceedings to trial by an

impartial jury, their right to

be personally present during

the proceedings, anc their

right to be represented by an

attorney.

Ct. App. Opinion at 12. Only the latter

two aspects of constitutional doctrine

are raised by Spain before this Court.

We note, however, extencing the

California Court's metaphor, that the

right to be tried by an impartial jury

is an ever-present undercurrent in the

right to be present and the right to

counsel Claims made here by the

Petitioner.

Focusing first on the right of a

Criminal defendant to be physically pre-

sent at a critical stage of the trial,

we note at the outset that this right is

not one enumerated in the United States

Constitution. Nonetheless, the Supreme

Court has recognized the constitutional

26.

stature of rights essential to due pro-

cess of law in a fair adversary pro-

ceeding, and has identified as one such

right that of the accused in a criminal

proceeding "to be present at all stages

of the trial where his absence might

frustrate the fairness of the proceed-

ings." Faretta v. California, 422 U.S.

806, 819 n.15 (1975). See also Badger v.

Cardwell, 587 F.2d 968, 970 (9th Cir.

1978).

The constitutional right to be pre-

sent thus extends to conferences between

judge and juror, at least where the

defendant's absence could, under some set

of circumstances, be harmful. United

States v. Walls, 577 F.2d 690, 697-98

(9th Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 893

(1978), The circumstances of this case

leave no doubt that Petitioner Spain's

absence during the conversations between

Juror Fagan and Judge Broderick might

a7.

have frustrated the fairness of the

trial and that the Petitioner's absence

therefore violated his constitutional

The right to jury trial in criminal

Cases, guaranteed in state proceecings

by force of the Fourteenth Amendment,

Duncan v. State of Touisiana, 391 U.S.

145 (1968), encompasses the right to

trial by an impartial jury. U.S. Const.

amend. VI, § 2 (emphasis supplied).

Stressing this impartiality requirement

at note 10 of its opinion in Turner v.

-¥ As the definition of the right

indicates, a finding that the right to

be present has been violated does not

necessarily mean that the proceedings

were per se unfair. Rather, a deter-

mination that the constititional right

was violated means only that the

Gefendant's absence occurred under cir-

cumstances that might give rise to a

deprivation of fundamental fairness. As

to ~the separate auvestion of whether a

violation of the right requires issuance

of the writ sought here, see discussion

of Standard of Review, this Opinion,

infra, at pages 16, 21-33.

28.

State of Louisiana, the Supreme Court

observed that

The requirement that a jury's

verdict "must be based upon the

evidence developed at trial”

raewsn VV. Dowd, 366 U.8.. 77,

722 (1961)] goes to the fun-

damental integrity of all that

is embraced in the constitu-

tional concept of trial by jury.

10/ "The jury is an essential

instrumentality--an appendage--

of the court, the body ordained

to pass upon guilt or innocence.

Exercise of calm and_ informed

judgment by its members is

essential to prover enforcement

of law." Sinclair v. United

States, 279 U.S. 749, 765

faeerl . . «

co) ao 466, 472 (1965) (emphasis

supplied). The content as well as the

fact cf the conversations between Juror

Fagan and Judge Broderick indicate that

the “fundamental intecrity of all that is

embraced in the constitutional concept of

trial by jury, was in oquestion during

those discussions.

During her second conversation with

the trial judge, Ms. Pagan let it be known

23.

that she had somehow confirmed what,

Guring their first conversation, she had

only suspected--that the Pratt about

whom testimony was being given had

murdered her friend. Ms. Fagan thus

conveyed to Judge Brocerick that she hae

et her disposal information not intro-

Guced at trial, either as evidence or

otherwise. &/

Furthermore, that the information

she possessed was extremely distrubing

to Ms. Fagan is revealed not only by

what Ms. Fagan told Judge Broderick

about her emotional state, but also bv

— )

6. Based on the post-trial hearin.

the trial court found that Ms. Pagan's

failure to reveal this information at

the pre-trial voir dire was not willful.

C.T. 24013:18-28. Petitioner Spain does

not challenge that finding, and we pre-

sume it to be correct. 25. U.05C;

§ 2254(¢e).

The Respondent's arcument that the

information in Ms. Fagan's possession

@id not relate to a fact in controversy

at trial is discussed, infra, at pages

24-26 of this Opinion.

30.

the fact that the conversations with him

occurred at all. Juror Fagan told the

judge, not once but twice, that continued

discussion at trial of her friend's death

might be so emotionally disturbing as te

cause her to cry. The truth of Ms.

Fagan's statements about her emotional

condition is apparent from the fact that,

in order to approach Judce Broderick, Ms.

Fagan had to overcome an explicit admoni-

tion from the judge himself not to

Giscuss the case with anyone. Cat.

23971:24-26. An issue so troubling that

it provokes an apparently conscientious

juror2/ to breach a clear instruction

from the court at least raises concerns

about the person's ability to continue to

7. At the time that these conversa-

tions with Judge Broderick occurred, Ms.

Fagan had been sitting on the jury, evi-

Gently without incident, for over eight

months. See Ct. App. Opinion at 13.

31.

be an impartial juror, concerns rein-

forced by the obvious emotional impact

that the testimony triggering the con-

versSations with the judge had on the

juror.

During each of the two discussions

he had with Ms. Fagan, Judge Broderick

inquired whether Ms. Fagan felt that she

could dispose of the case fairly despite

the information in her possession. This

fact confirms that the content and

mature of the conversations posed for

the trial judge, as for this Court,

Guestions about Ms. Fagan's fitness to

continue to serve as a juror. When

these ex parte communications occurred,

questions thus arose as to whether the

essential elements of trial by an impar-

tial jury, as articulated by the Supreme

Court in Turner v. State of Louisiana,

supra, continued to be satisfied.

32.

Petitioner Spain's absence from conver-

sations implicating a juror's ability to

judge impartially the case against him

presented the same possibility for frus-

ioe > ghee =

trating the fairness of the proceedings

| KG ; Semm intiseiat ome

as would his absence from initial voir

ie

dire. See United States v. Crutcher,

denied, 394 U.S. 908 (1968). See also

3 s 7 po %A > 5 ‘ 5 3

Alessandrello, 637 F.2d i3l, 138 3rd

al - 3 3 Ag rr «ec AO

Cir. 1980), cert. deniec€. 451 U.S. 949

\ iin r ~ Aas

(1981) Fed. R. Crim. P. 43 encompasses

pre-trial voir dire of jury). we are

compelled to conclude, therefore, that

the failure to provide for Spain's pres-

ence during the conversations between

uror Fagan deprived

a,

Cy

c

Judge Broderick an

him of his constitutional right to be

present at a critical stage of his trial.

33.

We turn next to the Petitioner's

Claim that the ex parte communications

between Ms. Fagan and the trial judge

deprived him of his right to counsel as

guaranteed by the Sixth and Fourteenth

Amendments to the Constitution. Gideon

vy. Wainwricht, uh Se Oe 335 (1963).

Although the right to counsel is not

absolute, it is fundamental to our

system of justice in that it is meant to

assure fairness in the adversary crimi-

mal process. United States v. Morrison,

449 U.S. 361, 364 (1981). Consistent

with this purpose,

the right to the assistance

of counsel has been under-

stood to mean that there can

be no restrictions upon the

function of counsel in

defending a criminal prosecu-

tion in accord with the tra-

ditions of the adversary

fact-finding process that has

been constitutionalized in

the Sixth and Fourteenth

Amendments.

Berrinc v. New York, 422 U.S. 853, 857

(1975).

Among the “traditions of the adver-

sary fact-finding process” constitutiona-

J¢ 7 -* ce -* =A = nw, me

lized in che Sixth anc Fourteenth

r , re seek i

_ — - - = . -r rs rr eS - = - -~r, me on

Amendments is the right to Be tried bBy a:

_ wes 4 - = T?7 ¢<¢ CAA - — | wr

impartial jury. U.S. Const. amend. VI

accord with the right to a trial by an

impartial jury. That th ight to be so

tried was put in issue by the conver-

Sations between Juror Fagan and Judce

Broderick is clear from the foregoing

discussion of Petitioner Spain's right te

be present during those conversations.

The absence of Spair's counsel from those

Same conversations prevented the attorney

from protecting the fundamental integrity

dl

r re

35.

of his client*s trial by jury and thus

violated Spain's Sixth Amendment right

to counsel.

In circumstances such as those pre-

sented here, the lawyer's function in

protecting a client's right to trial by

an impartial jury has several facets.

When there are mid-trial indications

that a juror may be unfit to continue to

serve on the jury, defense counsel's

first objective would be to determine,

by either direct or indirect parti-

eT

cipation in voir dire of that juror,

whether the person in fact remains

Gualified to sit on the jury. If, as a

result of that voir dire, the juror is

found to be biased or otherwise unfit to

serve, counsel would seek to have that

juror removed and replaced by an alter-

nate if possible. Even if the juror

were found fit to continue to serve,

however, a competent lawyer would have

36.

the remaining objective of preventing the

voir dire of the juror thereby “contami-

nated” from coming to the attention of

Other jurors in a way that might be pre-

judicial to the defendant. Counsel would

thus seek to have the court instruct the

voir dired juror so as to severely limit

if not eliminate conversations with ocher

jurors about the nature and conetnt of

the mid-trial voir dire, thereby mini-

mizing the possibility that other jurors

would be tained by either the fact or tre

substance of that voir dire.

In this case' because the trial judge

never informed the parties of his conver-

Sations with Ms. Fagan, Spain's lawyer

never had the opportunity to accomplish

these goais.2/

8. Thus, though the right to coun-

sel protected by the Sixth Amendment is

subject to waiver, Johnson v. Zerbst, 304

U.S. 458 (1938), no suggestion has been

(Footnote continued on next page.)

37.

In licht of the nature of the informa-

tion revealed to Judge Broderick by Ms.

Fagan, the words of Mr. Justice

Sutherland in Powell v. Alabama seem

particularly germane to this case.

Footnote 8 continued:

Or could be made that the right was

waived in this case. It is appropriate

to note in this context that Supreme

Court cases

have consistently recognized

the importart role the trial

judge plays in the federal

system of criminal justice.

"The judge is not a mere

moderator, but is the governor

of the trial for the purpose of

assuring its proper conduct

nn

Geders v. United States, 425 U.S. 80, 86

(1976). Though the cases establishing

this principle generally invoive federal

court trials, the role of the state

court judge in assuring the proper con-

duct of the trial by protecting the

defendant's federal constitutional

rights is no less important. Fulfill-

ment of this role is essential to mini-

mize federal intrusion into state

criminal 2s Siaaapeara See Engle vy.

Isaac, , 102 8. Ce. i506s

1571-72 1382). We note also the

(Footnote continued on next page.)

38.

The right to be heard would be,

in many cases, of little avail

if it did not comprehend the

right to be heard by counsel.

Even the intelligent and edu-

cated layman has small anéd

sometimes no- skill in the

egienee @t iaw . «es (eee

without the aic of counsel he

may be put on trial without a

proper charce, and convicted

upon incompetent evidence, or

evicence irrelevant to the

issue or otherwise inacmissible.

sa He requires tne guiding

hand of counsel at every step

of the proceedings against him.

er 45, 68-€9 (1932) (emphasis

supplied).

2. Standard of review.

Constitutional error having thus

Footnote 8 continued:

Supreme Court's observation, in a case

involving collateral attack on a state

Criminal conviction, that "[d]ue process

means a jury capable and willing to

decide the case solely on the evidence

before it, and a trial judge ever watch-

ful to prevent prejudicial occurrences

and to determine the effect of such

occurrences when thev happen.” Smith

v. Phillips, supra, 102 S. Ct. at 946.

39.

between Ms. Fagan and Judge Broderick,

we now must scrutinize the effect of

that error on Petitioner Spain's convic-

tion and thus the appropriateness of

nation involves the two-step process of

gGetermining the standard of review

applicable to the constitutional viola-

tion at issue and of applying that stan-

Garé to the facts before us.

S

4

ry)

—

1

1)

As the foregoing discussion

Clear, the right to presence and the

right to counsel violations that

occurred are closely related. The

interests protected by Spain's presence

would have been protected and furthered

had Spain's counsel alone participated

in a mid-trial voir dire of Ms. Fagan.

See Powell v. Alabama, supra, 287 U.S.

at 68-69, and this Opinion, supra, at

page 15. This congruence of the rights

at issue permits us to focus on the stan-

dard of review governing the right to

counsel violation that cccurred here. An

examination of the standard of review

applicable to the right to presence

violation would add nothing to the

analysis.=

9. Viola n ht to pres-

ence creates a presumption of prejudice.

United States v. Tavlor, 562 F.2d 1345,

1365 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 432 U.S.

909 (1977). Petitioner Spain suggests

that this presumption compels automatic

reversal of any conviction obtainec under

circumstances where the right was

violated. Petitioner's Memorandum in

ition for Writ of Habeas

Support of Pe

Corpus, 17:1 , Spain fails to note,

however, tha he cases cited in support

of this contention--Lewis v. United

States, 146 U.S. 370 (1892) and Hopt v.

People, 110 U.S. 574 (1884)--involved the

absence of the defendant from the initial

jury selection process. Where, as here,

the right to be present was violated by a

mid-trial communication between judge and

juror, the test applied is not automatic

reversal, but harmless error. United

States v. Taylor, supra, 562 F.20 at

1365; — also Unitec States v. Walls,

supra, 577 F.2a at 6968.

For a discussion of the application

of the harmless error test to the facts

of this case, see this Opinion, infra, at

pages 21-33.

41.

The State takes the position that

the California Court of Appeal was

correct in apolying the harmless error

test to the violation of Spain's right

to counsel. Spain argues that the

mature of the violation here recuires

automatic reversal of his conviction.

The principles that govern resolution of

this dispute between the parties are

enunciated and analyzed in depth by the

Ninth Circuit sitting en banc in Cooper

Vv. Pitzharris, 586 F.26 1325, 1331-33

(9th Cir. 1978), ert. denied, 440 U.S.

974 (1979), and were recently summarized

in Slappy v. Morris, 649 F.2d 718, 722-

23 (9th Cir. 1981), cert. granted,

Ties, - 308 OSes. 2748 - 288

Proper application of those principles

to the right to counsel deprivation

that occurred in this case dictates

the automatic reversal of Spain's

42.

conviction.+2/

As described by the Ninth Circuit in

Cooper, right to counsel cases are

separable into two groups: one group in

which the harmless error test applies,

and a second group in which violation of

the right results in automatic reversal

of the conviction. By examining the cir-

cumstances surrounding th right to

counsel violation in each of these

groups, the Court of Appeals identified

the factors that are critical te deter-

mining into which group a given case

_

falls.

10. Unlike state court factual

determinations, state court findings of

law are not entitled to deference in a

federal court consicering a petition for

writ of habeas corpus. Sumner v. Mata,

supra, 102 S. Ct. at 1306-07; Townsené

v. Sain, 372 U.S. 293, 318 (1963). Thus

the decision by the California Court of

Appeal that the harmless error test

applied to the right to counsel violation

here in no way binds this Court, which is

obligated to apolyv the controlling

federal law to the facts before it.

43.

In the group of cases to which the

harmless error test applies, the consti-

tutional error occurs under circum-

stances that permit a reviewing court to

determine from the record whether depri-

vation of the right to counsel was

harmless beyond a reasonable doubt.

This group of cases thus involves those

where

"the error occurs at trial and

its scope is readily iden-

tifiable. Accordingly, the

reviewing court can undertake

with some confidence its rela-

tively narrcw task of assessing

the likelihooc that the error

materially affected the delib-

erations of the jury.”

[Holloway v. Arkansas, 435 U.S.

at 4 at 490, 98 S.Ct. [1173]

at 1182 ((1978)).

Cooper v. Fitzharris, supra, 586 F.2d at

4332.

By contrast, in cases requiring

automatic reversal, the trial court

record is such that a reviewing court

seeking to discern the harmlessness of

44.

the right to counsel "iolation would be

forced to engage in "unguided specula-

tion.” Id.

When no counsel is provided or

counsel is prevented from

Gischarging his normal func-

tions, the evil lies in what

the attorney does not do, and

is either not readily apparent

on the record, or occurs at a

time when no record is made.

Id.; accord, Slappy v. Morris, supra, 649

F.2d at 723. Under such circumstances,

the harmless error standard, which is

predicated on review of a record that

reflects that the defendant was preju-

Giced in some specific fashion, is not

"susceptible to intelligent, evenhanded

application." Cooper v. Fitzharris,

supra, 586 F.2d at 1332, quoting Holloway

v. Arkansas, 435 U.S. at 490. A review-

ing court confronted with a deprivation

of the constitutional right to counsel

must reverse where the state of the

record precludes intelligent, evenhanded

application of the standard of review

>

wn

.

/

Ir

that would otherwise control.

A comparison of the facts in Cooper

v. FPitzharris. supra, and Slappy v.

Morris, supra, 22/ is instructive for

Lie A federal di

reviewing a state conviction

text of a petition for writ o

corpus is authorized to expand the trial

court record if necessary to determine

the appropriateness of issuance of the

writ. Harris v. Nelson, 394 U.S. 286

(1969); Rule 7, Rules Governing Section

2254 Cases, 28 U.S.C. foll. § 2254. As

Giscussed, infra, at pages 26-30[,] of

this Opinion, however, this Court's

ability to expand the state court record

is severely limited by the factual cir-

cumstances of the case before it.

i2. As noted above, the Supreme

Court has granted certiorari in Slappy

v. Morris, U.S. , 102 & Ct. 1746

(1982). The nature of the constitu-

tional violation at issue in Slapoyv is

markedly different from the violation at

issue here. Slappy concerns the circum-

stances under which failure of appointed

counsel to appear at trial will be

treated as a deprivation of the consti-

tutional right to counsel even though

the defendant was represented by subdsti-

tute counsel. With respect to the ex

parte communications between the judge

anc juror in Petitioner Spain's case, no

counsel appeared, either substitute or

otherwise. Thus the Slanpy case is used

(Footnote continued on next page.)

comprehending the distinction between

these two groups of cases and for

assessing the instant case in terms of

that distinction.

In Cooper, the petitioner alleged

resulting from errors and omissions com-

mitted by his attorney at trial. Alleged

as the trial lawyer's defaults were the

failure to object to the admission into

evidence of fruits of a warrantless

search, the failure to move to suppress

*

Statements made by the petitioner to the

police, the failure to object to testi-

mony concerning the identification of the

petitioner at a pre-incictment lineup,

and the failure to inform the petitioner

Footnote 12 continued:

here only to illustrate tke principles

Gictating automatic reversal of a convic-

tion and is not relied upon to establish

the existence of 3 constitutional

violation.

a4

47.

of his right to appeal. 586 F.2d at

1328. Distinguishing Cooper's case from

those in which reversale was automatic

once deprivation of the right to counsel

was shown, the Ninth Circuit observed

that

fiJn this case, appellant does

not assert that he was denied

counsel at trial, or that coun-

sei, though present, was

prevented from performing a

critical function or otherwise

impeced in the advocacy of

appellant's cause. Rather,

appellant contends that

although he had an attorney

present and acting freely on

his behalf, he did not have

effective assistance of counsel

because his attorney erred in

specific respects in the course

Of trial. ..-s- ([Tjhese cnis-

sions were not forced on

defense counsel. Their impact

appears on the face of the

trial record. Their prejudi-

cial effect can be evaluated

from that record with reaso-

nable certainty. In such a

case there is no reason to

reverse a conviction if it

appears that the defense was

not prejudiced by the alleged

inadequacies of counsel's

performance.

48.

Ié. at 1332. By applying these prin-

ciples, the court was able to ascertain

with "reasonable certainty” that the spe-

cific errors allecsedly committed by trial

counsel either were not errors under the

State of the law as it existed at the

time of trial or were not prejudicial.

See ic. at 1333-34.

In Slappy, the Ninth Circuit found

that the petitioner was denied his right

to counsel when the tiral judge, without

making any inquiry as to when the public

Gefender cricginally appointed to repre-

sent the defencant micht be available,

refused to grant a continuance of the

trial to enable that lawyer to be pre-

sent. 649 F.2d at 721-22. By arbi-

trarily depriving the petitioner of his

right to a “meaningful attorney-client

relationship,” the trial court infringed

on Slappy's Sixth Amendment right to

counsel. Given the nature of the

49,

constitutional violation, the competency

of the public defender appointed as sub-

stitute counsel was irrelevant. Id. at

723. The injury inflicted on Slappy

arose from interference with his rela-

tionship with his first lawyer, and

because the impact of that harm on the

defense could not be assessed by exa-

mining the trial record established by a

second lawyer, automatic reversal was

required.

When the facts of Petitioner Spain's

right to counsel violation are viewed in

light of the distinction thus drawn

between cases scrutinized under the

harmless error test and those subject to

automatic reversal, it is clear that

reversal is automatic here. The state

of the record, viewed in light of the

mature of the violation, precludes

intelligent application of the harmless

error standard. Counsel for Spain was

50.

barred from discharging the critical

function of protecting Spain's right to

trial by an impartial jury when the trial

judge failed to inform him of the ex

parte communications from Juror Fagan.

See Cooper v. Fitzharris, supra, 586 F.2¢e

at 1332. Spain's counsel was not only

prohibited from determining Ms. Fagan's

continuing fitness to serve on the jury,

but also was prevented from making

efforts to minimize the impact on other

jurors of Ms. Fagan's information ane

emotional state. See Gibson v. Clanon,

633 F.2d 851, 854 (9th Cir. 1980), cert.

Genied, 450 U.S. 1035 (1981); see also

Section TIII., A., 1. of this Opinion,

Supra. No record was made of the conver-

Sations between judge and juror at the

time they occurred, and the private

mature of those discussions prevented the

resultant interference with the normal

functions of Spain's lawyer from being

-

"readily apparent on the record."

Cooper v. Fitzharris, supra, 586 F.2d at

1332; Slappy v. Morris, supra, 649 F.2d

at 723. Reversal of Spain's conviction

is thus compelled because there is no

recoré that permits this Court to under-

take with confidence an assessment of

the “likelihood that the error materi-

ally affected the deliberations of the

jury." Holloway v. Arkansas, 435 U.S.

475, 490 (1978).

What is known from the record of the

trial is that Ms. Fagan had at her dis-

posal informaticn, not introduced as

evidence, connecting a leader of the

Black Panther Party to the violent death

of her friend, that the murder of her

friend was an extemely emotional issue

for Ms. Fagan; and that other jurors

were told by Juror Fagan of the murder

of her friend by a Black Panther Party

leader. The inability of Spain's lawyer

52.

to establish a record with respect both

to Ms. Fagan's possible bias and to

efforts to limit the contamination of

other jurors prevents this Court from

engaging in anything but "uncuidced

speculation" as to the impact of these

matters on the jury's deliberations.

Cooper v. Fitzharris, supra, 586 F.2d at

cr

ct

O

1332. The violation of Spain's righ

counsel under these circumstances there-

fore compels reversal of the conviction

and issuance of the writ without further

inquiry into the harmlessness vel non of

. 13

the constitutional error.s=/

13. Responcents cite two cases in

which the absence of counsel déurin

judge-jury communications was tested

under the harmless error standard,

United States v. Cassasa, 588 F.2d 282,

(9th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 441

U.S. 909 (1979) and United States v.

Reynolds, 489 F.2d 4, 7-8 (6th Cir.

Tsyth cert. denied, 416 U.S. 988 (1974),

on which the Cassasa court relied. Both

of these cases. involved communications

between the judge and jury during final

(Footnote continued on next page.)

$3.

The Respondents point to the post-

trial hearing on Spain's motion for a

new trial, contending that the record

Footnote 13 continued: .

jury deliberations rather than in th

midst of trial, and both are distin-

guishable from this case for two further

reasons. First and most important is

that in both cases a record existed of

all of the communications and the cir-

cumstances under which they occurred.

This is in stark contrast to the instant

case in which, though the record may

permit us to reconstruct the content and

Context of Ms. Fagan's conversations

with Judge Broderick, there is nothing

from which to discern exactly what other

jurors were told and the circumstances

under which they obtained information

from Ms. Fagan. Thus, unlike Cassasa

and Reynolds, the record here does not

enable this Court to determine whether

the constitutional error was harmless.

Second, neither case posed a question of

a violation of the defendant's constitu-

tional right to counsel. Both cases

were decided under Fed. R. Crim. P.

43(a), a Rule not implicated here

because Petitioner Spain was tried in

state, not federal, court. With respect

to this distinction, we note thet Rule

43(a), violation of which triggers the

harmless error standard adopted in Fed.

R. Crim. P. 52(a), concerns the absence

of a defendant at every trial stage, and

makes no reference to the right of a

federal criminal defendant to have

counsel present.

54.

adduced there concerning the ex _ parte

communications between judge and juror

permits this Court to make the assessment

required under the harmless error test

and thus obviates the need to automati-

Cally reverse Spain's conviction. The

defect in this contention is apparent

from the fact that reversal would be

required even if the harmless error stan-

Gard, rather than automati reversal,

were applicable to the right to counsel

violation in this case. We therefore

turn to application of the harmless error

test to demonstrate the weakness of

Responcents' contention, thereby also

illustrating the analysis by which this

Case would be decided if the deprivation

of Spain's right to be present were the

only constitutional error at issue here.

See Section III., A., 2. of this Opinion,

Supra, at 16, n. 9.

ihe

rial

the California

Petitioner Spain's

re

trial, implicitly

motion

court,

found the constitutional errors at issue

here to be harmless. c.T 24013:12-

24014:7. The California Court of Appeal

expressly reached the same conclusion.

Ct. App. Opinion at 14-17 As pointed

out above, a state court's fincines of

fact are entitled to a presumption of

correctness in a federal habeas corpus

proceeding. 28 U.S.C. § 2554(d)3; see

Rines v. Enomoto, 658 F.2d 667, 675 (9th

Cir. 1981). A state court's application

of the legal standard to those facts,

however, is not entitled to deference.

See Sumner v. Mata, pera, i002 $.Ct. et

1306-07; see also Imbler v. State of

California, 424 F.2d 631, 632 (9th Cir.)

(per curiam), cert. denied, 400 U.S.

w

a

presents

WwW)

Vv.

=

Chapman

©

“4

tt

oa |

©O

a

“a4

a

~

Present or

tions

at Spain's trial was harmless beyond a

reasonable doubt, the Respondents stress

the right to be tried by an impartial

jury that underlies each of these viola-

With respect to the content of the

conversations between Judge Broderick

and Juror Fagan, the Respondents empha~

size what they perceive as the reasons

that ex parte communications between

judge and juror are prohibited. As

Respondents see it, the prohibition is a

function of the dancer that a juror may

58.

receive incorrect information about the

facts or law of the case, or that a juror

may be influenced by the court's attitude

as conveyed through such communications.

Because the conversations between Ms.

Fagan ané Judge Broderick did not present

either of these dangers, the Respondents

argue that petitioner Spain was not pre-

judicedbby them. Not only was the sub-

ject matter of the discussions -- the

Geath of someone at the hands of an indi-

vidual who was neither a party nor a wit-

ness at Spain's trial -- unrelated to any

fact in controversy, but the trial court

@id not communicate facts or legal prin-

Ciples to Ms. Fagan, nor attempt in any

way to influence her. Thus, in

Respondents’ view, the content of the

conversations did not harm the Petitioner

because none of the dangers sought to be

prevented by the prohibition of ex parte

judge-juror communications was present.

Bi

Aes

59.

Respondents nonetheless acknowledge

that the defense may have been harmed by

the fact that, at the time of the con-

versations, Spain's lawyer was unable to

determine whether Ms. Fagan was biased

by the infermation about her friend's

death. At the hearing on Spain's motion

for a new trial, however, Ms. Fagan

testified that she was not biased

against Petitioner Spain, and, on the

basis of her testimony, the trial court

as well as the California Court of

Appeal founc Ms. Fagan to have been a

fair and impartial juror. The

Respondents point to the record of the

post-trial hearing as enabling this

Court to make the recuisite determina-

tion under the harmless error standard

and as showing that, in fact, the error

that occurred was harmless beyond a

reasonable doubt. As to the other

jurors, Respondents contend first that,

60.

as with the conversations between Ms.

Fagan and the judge, the content of the

information conveyed to them by Ms. Facan

was completely unrelated to matters that

the jury was called upon to cecide, ane

thus there is no reason to coubt their

impartiality. Furthermore, Respondents

argue that Petitioner Spain's failure to

Call the other jurors to testify at the

post-trial hearing constitutes a waiver

of any challenge to the conviction based

on juror contamination.

By focusing on the juror partiality

implications of Ms. Fagan's conversations

with the trial judge, Respondents ignore

Significant interests sought to be pro-

tected by the right to presence anc the

right to counsel, interests that cannot

be adequately safeguarded by a post-trial

hearing. The weaknesses in the Respon-

dents' argument are examined below.

61.

Respondents contend that because

Judge Broderick neither communicated

information to Ms. Fagan nor attempted

to influence her, Petitioner Spain could

not have been harmed by the substance of

what was said during the ex parte con-

versations. By concentrating on what

was said tc Ms. Fagan, the Respondents

overlook that Juror Fagan was telling

the trial judge that she had information

that was not introduced as evidence at

trial. This fact apparently escaped the

attention of the trial judge, but

nothing in the trial record permits us

to determine whether it would also have

gone unnoticed by Petitioner Spain and/

or his lawyer if they either had been

present at, or notified of the occur-

rence and content of, the conversations

between Ms. Fagan and Judge Broderick.

Spain was thus deprived of the oppor-

tunity to explore what Ms. Fagan knew,

62.

how she came to know it, the effect of

her knowledge on her state of mind with

respect to affording the Petitioner a

fair hearing, and ways of preventing the

1

information from coming to the attention

Possibly recognizing this weakness

in their argument, the Respondents stress

that Petitioner Spain could not have been

harmed by what was revealed during the

conversations between the juror and the

judge because the subject matter uncer

discussion was unrelated to anything in

controversy at trial. Though it is true

that Carolyn Olson's death and Elmer

Pratt's role in it were not directiy at

issue in Petitioner Spain's trial, it

does not follow, as Respondents contend,

that the subject uncer discussion between

Ms. Fagan and Judge Broderick was

“totally irrelevant" to the trial.

63.

Respondents' Memorandum of Points and

Authorities, 21:5-8. Respondents take

far too narrow a view of the trial.

As the pre-trial jury voir dire

reveals, Spain's counsel was concerned

from the outset that those who sat in

judgment on his client not have personal

experience with violence or associate

the Black Panther Party with violence.

The trial court acknowledged the vali-

City of this concern when it permitted

pre-trial voir dire on these subjects.

See this Opinion, supra, at page 3. Its

legitimacy is reflected in the violent

mature of the crimes charged, the

Gefense testimony about Spain's Black

Panther Party membership, and the

prosecution's suggestion in closing

argument that Spain's criminal liability

should be inferred from his association

with the Black Panther Party. When Ms.

Fagan talked to the judge about Carolyn

64.

Olson's death, she revealed that, her

voir dire testimony notwithstanding, com-

pare Smith v. Phillips, supra, 102 §.Ct.

at 943-44 n. 4, she had personal know-

ledge of violent crime. Carolyn Olson

was a good friend who had been brutally

murdered, That Ms. Fagan had personal

Oo

t--

wm

po |

ct

experience with vi crime, however,

was not the only information that came to

light during the juror's conversation

with the trial judge. Petitioner Spain

and his defense counsel might well have

been even more concerned, had they Known,

that Ms. Fagan believed that her good

friend had been killed by a leader of the

Black Panther Party.

Respondents Giscount this informa-

tion about the identity and political

affiliation of Carolyn Olson's killer

with the observation that Pratt was

neither a witness nor a party at trial.

This statement, though true, misses the

65.

point. From Petitioner Spain's perspec-

tive, the combination of Ms. Fagan's

knowledge, its emotional impact on her,

and the trial testimony concerning Elmer

Pratt's leadership role in the Black

Panther Party had potentially devastat-

ing implications. In @ case concerning

a violent series of events in which the

Black Panther Party plaved a key role,

see Ct. App. Opinion at 3-6, the defen-

Gant, though he e¢didc not know it, was

being judced by a juror greatly d¢is-

tressec by memories of the violent death

of her good friend at the hands of a

person she knew to be a Black Panther

Party member -=- a person shown by trial

testimony to be a leader of that party.

Extraordinary insight is not required to

perceive the potential harm to Peti-

tioner Spain if Ms. Fagan's personal

experience, rather than the evidence at

trial, were permitted to determine

jurors' assessment of the defendant’

wn

guilt or innocence. Té Spain or his

lawyer had been made aware of the content

of the communications between Juror Fagan

an opportunity to explore anc attempt to

.

limit this potential harm.

‘ ,

Apparently concecing that Ms.

~ - _ = =) _ nA “ne = _- ~ 9 Ar

Petitioner Spain, Responcents acknowlecce

- -h = —- = ei An ty 1A

tnat tne better course crf action woulc

= = = = - iA +s? ;

lave ceen co concucte a@ migcgetriaz vOolr

Aie- of We Yr _— “A [— _ Ars -*rAs rar ore

cire — ~e* raga! -~ expiore _ ~ YY.

Sations with Judge Broderick. Respon-

Gents' Memorancum of Points ane

the Respondents, however, failure tc

follow the concededly preferable course

was harmless because Ms. Fagan testified

post-trial that she was no

cv

Oo

~

ity)

“

mo

a,

uo

<

er

oy

@

67.

information she possessec or its effect

upon her.

Respondents correctly observe that a

juror is permitted to testify at a post-

<

trial hearing convened to determine

whether juror partiality played an

impermissible role in the outcome of a

juror may not testify post-trial about

the mental process by which she arrived

at a verdict. Mattox v. United States,

146 U.S. 140, 149 (1892); Fed. R. Evid.

606(b); People vy. Fall, supra, 108

Cal.App.3d at 378-80; Cal. Evid. Code

§ 1150(a). When Ms. Fagan's post-trial

testimony is examined in light of this

rule restricting juror impeachment of a

verdict, it is clear that, even relying

a

Fe)

reasonable doubt

a

«

beyond

prove

-

cannot

errors that

5 |

~

constitutiona

ne

t

that

juror

U0

RFandbook on

ne sance-

-*

-

ion

-

—

Gistine

@

-*

ws

.

ale

os

‘

concerns a

testimony in

juror

-

a

7

-

connection

articulated

That distinction,

69.

Mattox,24/ is embodied in modern eviden-

tiary rules. Rule 606(5) of the Federal

Rules of Evidence provides that

Upon inguiry into the valid:

i

4

c

"

O

"

of a verdict ...

may not testify as to any

matter or statement occurring

14. The Supreme Cou

Grew the distinction betw

anc inadmissible juro

follows:

[T]he evidence of jurors as to

the motives and influences

which affected their delibera-

tions, is inadmissible either

to impeach or to support th

verdict. But a juryman may

testify to any facts bearing

upon the guestion of the

existence of any extraneous

influence, although not as to

how far that influence operated

upon his mind.

Ié. at 149. Compare Fed. R. Evid.

: see also Cal. Evid. Code

juror's mind or emotions as

influencing him to assent to or

dissent from the verdict ...

Or concerning his mental pro-

attention or whether outside

brought to bear upon any juror.

See United States v. Moten, 582 F.26 654,

664-65 [s. Cis. 19786). California

Evidence Code Section 1150(a) similarly

distinguishes between independently

ascertainable events and the deliberative

process of the jury in cetermining the

admissibility of evidence offered to test

/

/

eo eee ne

71.

in

, ' 5 |

the validity of a verdict. +2/

The fact end content of Ms. Pagan's

conversations with Judge Broderick

Clearly fall into the category of mat-

i 2

Gity of a verdic

wise acmissible e

or conduct, conditions, or

events occurring, either within

or without the jury room, of

such a character as is likely

to have influenced the verdict

imoroperly. No evidence is

admissible to show the effect

of such statement, conduct,

condition, or event upon a

juror either in influencing him

to assent to or dissent from

the verdict or concerning the

mental process by which it was

determined.

See People v. Hall, supra, 108 Cal.App.

at 376-360.

72.

marginally relevant to the trial, see

C.T. 24013:12-17, 24014:1-7; Ct. App.

Opinion at 13-14 and 18-19, the potential

prejudice to Petitioner Spain did not

arise from Elmer Pratt's connection to

*he 1971 events at San Quentin but from

Ms. Fagan's knowledge of and reaction tec

matters not in evidence at trial. See

Giscussion, supra, at pages 25-26 of this

Opinion. The dancer that the verdict

might have been improperly influenced by

what Ms. Fagan knew, how it affected her,

and what the other jurors knew about the

death of Ms. Fagan's friend certainly

brings these matters within the scope of

those that may be the subject of post-

trial juror testimony in either

California state or federal court.

In neither state nor federal court,

however, could Ms. Fagan or any other

juror testify about how or whether the

circumstances of Carolyn Olsen's death

73.

influenced the decision to assent to the

verdict. Cal. Evid. Code § 1150(a);

Fed. R. Evid. 606(b). See also Cs.

App. Opinion at 17 (some of Ms. Fagan's

testimony at the motion for a new trial

insofar as it relates to her mental

attitude in arriving at the verdicts may

well have been inadmissible). Once it

is determined that prejudicial informa-

tion was improperly brought to the

jury's attention, the reviewing court

must decide whether the impropriety was

harmless in its effects on the jury's

Geliberations. That decision must he

made without reference to testimony from

jurors about what influenced their

verdict.

The Respondents' observation that a

juror may testify at a post-trial

hearing concerning juror partiality is

accurate but inapposite. Matters within

a juror's personal experience that

74,

relate to issues generally raised by all

Criminal trials are far different from

specific information implicating the

merits of a particular case but not

introduced in evidence. Thus, that a

juror may testify at a post-trial hearing

at which a court seeks to determine

whether juror partiality played an imper-

Missible role in the outcome of a trial,

. 2 : —— "Aw

Smith v. Phillips, supra, 102 S.Ct. at

944046, does not mean that a juror may

testify as to whether pre

mation concerning the merits of a case

and improperly brought to the attention

of the jury influenced the outcome of th

jury's deliberations.+2/

| ie

16. Smith v. Phillips, supra, 102

S. Ct. 940 (1582) provides a useful

contrast to the instant case. In Smith,

a criminal defendant contended that he

had been denied Due Process because,

during his state court trial, one of the

jurors in his case applied to the

prosecutor's office for a job as an

investigator. Though the juror's

(Footnote continued on next pace.)

This limitation on matters to which

@ juror may testify post-trial com-

pletely undermines the Respondents’

contention that Petitioner Spain waived

Footnote 16 continued:

interest in a federal law enforcement

Career was revealed and thoroughly exam-

ined by defense counsel during initial

voir dire, ic. at 943-44 n. 4, the fact

of the application was not brought to

the trial court's attention until some-

time after the verdict was rendered.

The trial court held ae post-trial

hearing on a motion to set aside the

verdict at which the errant juror

testified. The trial judge CGenied the

motion to set aside the verdict, finding

that the juror's action did not reflect

an inability to consider the guilt or

innocence of the defendant solely on the

evidence. The federal district court

issued a writ of habeas corpus, imputing

juror bias from the circumstances,

though unable to find sufficient evi-

dence of actual bias on the juror's

part.

Rejecting the use of implied juror

bias as grounds for requiring a new

trial, the Supreme Court reversed. The

Court observed that neither the federal

Gistrict nor the federal circuit court

took issue with the trial court's

findings, and stated that

(Footnote 16 continued on next page.)

76.

any challenge he might have had basec on

juror contamination by failing to call

Footnote 16 continued:

Due process means a jury cap-

able and willing to decide the

case solely on the evidence

before it, and a trial judce

ever watchful to prevent prej-

udicial occurrences and to

Getermine the effect of such

occurrences when they happen

- e« « [A] hearing suc!

=

conducted [by the t court]

here is sufficient to decide

allegations of juror par-

tiality. ..

102 S. Ct. at 946.

The contrast to Peti

case is striking. As poin :

text, the matter to be resolved at

post-trial hearing was quite different in

Smith from that in the instant case. The

Only issue in Smith was that of juror

partiality based on juror conduct unre-

lated to the merits of the case against

the Gefendant. Furthermore, the sequence

of events in Smith gave rise to a very

Gifferent constitutional claim from those

involved here. In Smith, as soon as the

information about Possible juror bias

came to light, a hearing was conducted

with the defendant and his counsel pre-

sent and participating. The only issue

at that hearing was juror partiality and

its Due Process implications, and the

(Footnote continued on next page.)

any challenge he might have had based on

juror contamination by failing to call

other jurors to testify at the post-

trial hearing. It is clear from the

record of the post-trial hearing that

Ms. Fagan communicated the fact of her

friend's death at the hands of lmer

Pratt to other jurors. F.App. 5482:2-<3;

C.T. 23971:28-23972:1. These other

Footnote 16 continued:

mature of the initial voir ire con-

cerning the juror's interest in a law

enforcement career mace _ th juror's

post-trial testimony virtually cumula-

tive. There was thus no ex parte com-

munication in Smith on which a claim cf

deprivation of the right to presence or

the right to counsel could be based, and

no revelation of significant information

concerning the merits of the case that

was not disclosed at the initial voir

dire. The harmlessness of the juror's

conduct in Smith could be determined

post-trial, and no harm independent of

that conduct was alleged. In the case

before this Court, the failure to the

trial judge to conduct a mid-trial voir

dire of Ms. Fagan gave rise to constitu-

tional violations not subject to cure by

a post-trial hearing.

ee

78. &

jurors, if called, could not have testi-

fied whether or to what extent this

information influenced their respective

Gecisions to assent to the merdicts.

Cal. Evid. Code § 1150(a); Fed. R. Evid.

606(5). Petitioner Spain raisec the

question of juror contamination both at

the trial court and the state appellate

court levels. C.T. 23985:11-15; Ct. App.

tions on juror postetrial testimony,

more to preserve his claim of juror

contamination.

To the extent that the constitu-

tional errors that occurred here impli-

cate the Due Process right to be tried by

a panel cf twelve impartial jurors, this

Court's consideration of that issue thus

is limited by the restrictions imposed on

juror testimony about the deliberative

process. These restrictions require the

roe a |

79.

application of an Djective test to

evaluate the effect that the prejudicial

information brought to the jury's atten-

tion by Ms. Fagan had on the outcome of

the trial. See United States Vv.

Armstronc, 654 F.26 1328, 1333 n. 2 (9th

Cir. 1981) and Miller v. United States,

403 F.2d 77, 83-84 n. 11.=——’ Uncer the

objective test, this Court must assess

for itself the likelihooe that the

information known and conveyec by Ms.

Fagan would affect a typical juror. Id.

Were this a case involving a

straightforward Due process Claim,

Getermination of the harmlessness vel

non of the error would be dictated by

Eve Though these cases involved

federal court trials at which jury con-

tamination occurred, the objective test

therein applied derives from the Federal

Rules of Evidence which are also

controlling in federal habeas corpus

cases. See Smith v. Cupp, 457 F.2d

1098, 1100 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 409

U.S. 880 (1972); see also Fed. R. Evid,

110l(a) and (e).

80.

"the nature of what [was] infiltrated and

the probability of prejudice.” United

States v. Love, 535 F.2d 1152, 1156 (9th

Cir.), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 847 (1976).

The nature of the information infiltrated

and the possibility of pre

posed have already been cdiscussecd at

lenath and need not be reiterated. Con-

sidered alone they would be sufficient to

raise a reasonable possibility

error materially affected the verdict anc

thus to compel issuance of the writ

sought here. Hinman v. McCarthy, supra,

676 F.2d at 349-50. Though tne

California Court of Appeal concluded that

the fact that Petitioner Spain was

acquitted on some counts shows that the

jury was not biased, Ct. App. Opinion at

17-18, that very fact is subject to pre-

Cisely the opposite inference. Spain was

the only defendant who was a member of

the Black Panther Party and the only

defendant convicted of conspir#¢y and

murder. The only counts on which Spain

was convicted were those with which he

was connected, not by any direct par-

ticipation in the acts of violence at

San Quentin, but by his association and

alleged conspiracy with George Jackson,

@lso a Black Panther. All of the other

Cefendants were acquitted of the con-

spiracy counts and the related substan-

tive crimes. This pattern of convic-

tions and accuittals, viewed from the

perspective of the dangers posed by Ms.

Fagan's personal exposure and reaction

to events linking the Black Panther

Party to other violent crime, certainly

raises a reasonable possibility that the

information knowm by Ms. Fagan and com-

municated to other jurors influenced the

verdicts.

This case, however, goes far beyond

a straight-forward Due Process claim

oo

to

.

based on extra-judicial influences on the

jury. The nature and circumstances of

these right to presence and right to

counsel viclations prevent this Court

from concluding beyond a reasonable doubt

influenced the

"

oO

rh

ct

r

om

om

"

|

oO

"

“”

that neithe

verdict rencerec against Petitioner

Spain. Chapman v. State of California,

Supra, 386 U.S. at 24.

trial hearing conducted in this case.

Even putting aside the limitations on

post-trial juror testimony already

aces 26-29 of this

Giscussed, supra, at

'O

Opinion, the function that was served by

Spain and his counsel at the hearing on

the motion for a new trial was far dif-

ferent from the one they would have per-

formed at a mid-trial voir dire of Ms.

Fagan. At the time the conversations

83.

occurred, Judge Broderick perceived no

connection between what Ms. Fagan told

him and the issues in the case being

tried. C.T. 23920:11-17; t. App.

Opinion at ll. Accordingly, the trial

juege's questions to Ms. Fagan went no

further than to inquire of the juror

whether the testimony about her friend

would affect her disposition toward the

case. If Petitioner Spain and his coun-

sel had been informed of the fact and

general content of the communications

between Ms. Fagan and the trial judge,

they would have been able to question

her in depth about the relationship

between her personal experience and her

attitude about the case on which she was

sitting. It is not unreasonable to

assume that such questions, posed at a

time when the emotional state prompting

Ms. Fagan's contacts with the judge was

still evident, might have elicited from

84.

Ms. Fagan different responses from those

given at the post-trial hearing.

Even if a mid-trial conference with

Spain and his counsel participating had

not resulted in removal of Ms. Fagan from

the jury, the defense team would have had

an opportunity to reassess the evidence

they wished to present in light of what

they learned about Ms. Fagan's exposure

to the Black Panther Party. This oppor-

tunity, once lost, could net be regained

by a post-trial hearing. Similarly, the

chance to keep Ms. Fagan's information

from reaching other jurors was a fleeting

one not susceptible to recapture after

the trial.

These irretrievable opportunities,

if exercised by the Petitioner, certainly

had the potential to influence the out-

come of the trial. If mid-trial voir

dire by Spain and his counsel had uncov-

ered bias requiring replacement of

4 Saw

85.

-

Ms. Fagan by an lternate juror

untainted by personal exposure to Black

Panther Party violence, it cannot be

concluded beyond a reasonable doubt that

the outcome of the trial with respect to

Petitioner Spain would have been the

same as it was with Juror Fagan sitting

on the jury. If, despite a mid-trial

voir dire, Ms. Fagan had remained on the

jury, but, based on what was learned of

Ms. Pagan's reaction to the death of her

friend, the Petitioner and his counsel

had decided not to introduce evidence

stressing Spain's membership in the

Black Panther Party, it cannot be said

with confidence that the pattern of ver-

Gicts and acquittals would have been the

same. It also cannot be concluded that

the verdicts on the charges against

Petitioner Spain would have been the

same had other jurors not been informed

that a Black Panther member had killed

86.

a good friend of one of their fellow

jurors, a fellow juror with whom they

were in almost constant contact for over

a year. Thus, the post-trial record not-

withstanding, a reasonable possibility

certainly exists that the failure to pro-

vide for the presence of Spain, or at

least his counsel, at a mid-trial voir

Gire of Ms. Fagan affected the outcome of

the case against the Petitioner.

As the foregoing alanysis reveals,

the very circumstances that require auto-

Matice reversal in this case, see this

Opinion, supra, at pages 19-21[,] would

require reversal if harmless error were

the applicable standard of review. The

violation of Petitioner Ssain'’s right to

be present anc right to counsel leave

this Court with no choice but to issue

the writ of habeas corpus sought by the

Petitioner.

87.

B. Shackling of Petitioner Spain.

Because the violation of Petitioner

Spain's Sixth Amendment right compels

issuance of the writ, we need not reach

the constitutional issue raised by

Spain's shackling claim. See New York

City Transit Authority v. Beazer, 440

U.S. 568, S582 (1979). Nor are we

required to decide whether that claim,

standing alone, mandates issuance of the

writ. We observe, however, that the

shackling of Petitioner Spain in the

extreme manner used in the trial court

appears to violate the right to a fair

trial that is a fundamental liberty

secured by the Fourteenth Amendment.

Drope v. Missouri, 420 U.S. 162, 172

(1975).

Shackling a Gefendant in the

courtroom is widely recognized as preju-

Gicial because it infringes on the

accused's richt to the presumption of

88.

innocence. Kennecy v. Caréwell, 487

F.2d 101 (6th Cir. 1973), cert. denied,

416 vu.S. 959 (1974); United States v.

U.S. 869 (1968).22/ See also Illinois

v. Allen, 397 U.S. 337, 344 (1970). The

presumption of innocence, though net

articulated in the Constitution, is a

basic component of a fair trial under

our system of criminal justice.

Estelle v. Williams, 425 U.S. 501, 503

(1976).

The right to the presumption of

innocence at trial is not, however, an

18. Thouch several of these cases

were decided under the supervisory power

of the federal appellate courts in

federal criminal cases, the principles

relied upon are equally applicable in

the constitutional context presented

here.

89.

absolute right. Under certain circum-

stances, it must give way to the court's

concern for the safety of other court-

room participants, United States v.

Samuel, supra, 431 F.2d at 615, or to

the neec for an orderly trial, see

Kennecy v. Cardwell, supra, 487 F.2d at

107. The question is whether, under the

circumstances of the instant case, the

Spain were justified.

From the moment f his indictment,

every state court appearance made 5b

Spain was made under the security

arrangements described in Part I. of

this Opinion. See above at page 6.

Based on Court Exhibits 17 and 18, as

well as Judge Broderick's statements

prior to sentencing, we must infer that

the decision to shackle the defendants

throughout the trial was based on the

nature of the offenses charged, the acts

Re a

90.

of the defendants during pre-trial and

trial proceedings, and the security inci-

Gent reports concerning the behavior of

the defendants at San Quentin, compiled

in Court Exhibit 17.

_ : . < \ ee ¢ WwW

The seriousness of the offenses w

~~“

not be underestimated. The events

leading to the indictment involved a

violent escape attempt in which five

people cied. Those events, however,

cccurrecd almost four years before the

trial commenced. In the interim,

tion in such misconduct appears to have

been limited to one altercation resulting

in his removal from the courtroom. C.T.

899, 900.

With respect to the trial itself,

Court Exhibits 17 and 18 provide this

Court with a unique opportunity to view

both the scope of the security measures

in use and the conduct of the Petitioner

and his co-defendants. The security

measures, including the physical

restraints placed on the defendants,

urtroor

were visible toc

re)

4

'o

0)

"

ct

te

e)

| ood

ze)

©

=]

ct

“”

See Court Exhibit 18 ané C.T. 24005:2-9.

4

he trial occupied 203 court days, not

including twenty-four Ga

deliberations, and took place over a

seventeen month period. During this

period, Petitioner Spain engaged in the

fourteen incidents of misconduct listed

in Part I. of this Opinion at pages 7-9.

Only seven of those fourteen incidents

occurred in the courtroom and only three

occurred while the jury was present.

It is obviously impossible to

Giscern whether and to what extent

_ ea

Petitioner Spain's misconécuct was

prompted by or contributed to by the

physical restraints under which he was

placed. Throughout the pre-trial ane

trial proceedings, however, Spain, as

well as other defendants, repeatedly

requested the opportunity to appear

unshackled. In lisht of the other

security measures in use at trial, the

failure to provide such an oppertunity is

of grave concern. See Illinois v. Allen,

Supra, 3297 U.S. at 346.

Because the shackling of riminal

Gefendants is regardec as a last resort,

id. at 344, the use of such a procedure

is justified only where no less drastic

alternative will suffice. Kennedy v.

Cardwell, supra, 487 F.2d at lll;

United States v. Escuer, 45° F.2d 431,

433 (7th Cir. 1972), cert. denied, 414

U.S. 1006 (1973); United States ex rel,

Boothe v. Superintencent, 506 F. Supp.

93.

1337, 1341 (E.D.N.Y.), rev'd on other

grounds, 656 F.2d 27 (2d Cir. 1981).

This case involves the uninterrupted

use of maximum plysical restraints on a

Gefendant whose disruptive conduct can

best be characterized as minor. When

viewed in light of the other security

precautions in place throughout the

trial, the failure to use a less drastic

alternative means of restraint might

well mandate reversal were this Court

recuired to resolve the shcakling issue.

III. CONCLUSION

Only with the greatest reluctance

will this Court or any other federal

court intrude upon e2 state criminal pro-

ceeding. See Engle v. Isaac, supra, 102

S$. Ct. at 1570-72. However, the protec-

tion and vindication of federal consti-

tutional rights requires that considera-

tions of comity give way to the writ

that stands as "a bulwark against

94.

convictions that violate ‘'funcamental

fairness.'" Id. at 1570. Petitioner

Spain's conviction, obtained in violation

of his Sixth Amendment rights to presence

and counséi, violates fundamental

fairness.

The petition for writ of habeas

corpus is granted. California shall com-

mence retrial of the petitioner within

ninety (90) days or he shall be released

from custody with respect to the convic-

tion at issue. The Court is aware that

the Petitioner may face continued incar-

Cceration stemming from another conviction.

SO ORDERED.

DATED: June 29, 1982

TEELTON £. HENDERSON

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL OF THE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT,

DIVISION THREE

PEOFLE OF THE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

1 Crim. 16126

Plaintifé and

Respondent, (Sup.Ct. No. 4094

vs.

JOHNNY LARRY SPAIN,

HUGO A. PINELL

and DAVID JOHNSON,

Defendants and

Appellants.

ee ee eee ee ee ee

Appellants Spain, Pinell, and

Johnson, three other state prisoners,

and an attorney (who remains a fugitive

from justice) were charged by a multi-

count indictment with offenses arising

from a disturbance at San Quentin Prison

on August 21, 1971. The disturbance was

triggered by prisoner George Jackson who

was killed while fleeing from the

prison's "Adjustment Center." Also

killed were three correctional officers

ot ‘ bs z.

a m2 ag

_ A et oe

a ‘ —~ ay > 5. ee * i ees Se

o2=

and two other prisoners.

Lengthy and various pre

ceedings were followed by a trial by jury

which, after three months of

tion, began with the

dence in July 1975, and conclude

final arguments in July 1976.

Geliberated for 24 days befor

appellants guilty as set forth

acquitting their codefendants.

Appellants Pinell and Spain

tenced to life imprisonment

already serving an indeterminate sent

of a term of years to life and Spain a

life term). Appellant Johnson, who had

Spent more time in custody awaiting trial

than the determinate sentence for the

crime of which he was

granted probation.

Spain

Johnny Larry Spain was found guilty

of the first degree murders (Pen. Code,

o3-

187) of two of the three correctional

officers who were killed, and conspiracy

to escape by force or violence (Pen.

Code, §§ 182, 4530, subd. (a).) There

was no substantial evidence that Spain

personally committed the murders;

instead, the evidence pointed to George

Jackson as the killer. Spain's guilt of

the murders was based on a theory of

vicarious liability: that the murders

were the probable consequence of his and

Jackson's conspiracy to escape. His

acquittals of the murders of the third

correctional officer and of the priso-

mers were consistent with this theory,

the evidence indicating that it was

someone other than Spain or Jackson who

killed the third officer and the priso-

ners.

Because of the manner in which the

-4-

i/

indictment was framed, it was necessary

(and the trial court so reled and

instructed the jury) for the prosecution

to prove that before August 21, there was

a conspiracy between Jackson and one

Stephen Bingham to effect Jackson's

escape and that on August 21, Spain

joined that conspiracy. In other words,

if there were no conspiracy between

Jackson and Bingham, then there was no

conspiracy for Spain to join, he was not

guilty of conspiracy and, therefore,

1. “The Grand Jury of the County of

Marin . . . accuses Stephen Mitchell

Bingham, . . . John L. Spain fet al.],

of a felony, to wit: conspiracy ... in

that (a) Stephen Mitchell Bingham and

George Lester Jackson, now deceased, did

prior to, and continuing on or about

apeest 21, i972 . - -« Conspirce . «'s

together and with other persons whose

mames are unknown to the Grand Jury to.

- « commit felonies, to wit: (1) The

escape by force or violence ... of

George Lester Jackson and others...

{etc. (describing other felonies)}. (b)

On oc about August 21, 1971, . «

defendant ... John L. Spain... did

(Footnote 1 continued on next page).

not legally accountable for the murders.

The evidence that Jackson had

planned, and with the assistance of a

person or persons outside the prison

prepared .to escape, was clear. There

was evidence that Spain was privy to

these plans and assisted these prepara-

tions. But as to the central fact

necessary to be proven, that Jackson and

Bingham conspired, the evidence, while

sufficient, is less compelling.

The prison authorities were

aware long before August 21, by virtue

of a letter in Jackson's hand which had

fallen into’ theirs, that he had

encouraged others (not including

Footnote 1 continues.

join the conspiracy of Stephen Mitchell

Bingham and George Lester Jackson and

ether persons ... and did . « s«

conspire . . . with Stephen Mitchell

Bingham and George Lester Jackson, and

among themselves, for the purpose of ..

° commit[ing] the felonies above

described... .”"

=6<

Bingham) to smuggle weapons into the pri-

son and to him and otherwise to assist

him to escape. After Jackson's death,

another letter in his hand was found in

the Adjustment Center; some references in

the letter suggest it was written in or

about early August 1971. The letter

reveals that Jackson and “the party” were

planning an imminent escape and a variety

of violent escapades, that some prisoners

had “thrown water” on the plans and, most

Significantly, that Jackson was already

Stockpiling weapons and had a gun.

On August 21, Jackson had _ two

intended visitors, Bingham and a "legal

investigator," Vanita Anderson. The

latter brought into the prison a small

tape secorder. She was frustrated in her

2. The letter stated: "They know

et so it's a questicn of them facing

pigs guns they think or facing mine.

they re — — a shakedown so that

mine . > . .

-Jo

attempt to see Jackson but, under cir-

cumstances which are ambiguous as to

whether there was a prearrangement bet-

ween ena gave the recorder to

Bingham just Sefore his visit. Jackson,

his hair, Bingham, Anderson, and her

tape recorder were, according to the

persons responsible for ensuring that

they carried no arms, closely searched

before Jackson and Bingham's visit.

Nevertheless, Jackson emerged from the

visit with a bullet clip in his hair

(acutally an "Afro" wig) and an automa-

tic pistol underneath it The

prosecution's theory was that Bingham

brought Jackson the gun in the tape

recorder.

3. The officer in charge of the

waiting room, who was aware that

Anderson had a tape recorder, asked

Bingham if he intended to use it “and he

said no, and .. . Vanita Anderson...

asked him if he wanted to use hers, and

he indicated that he did.”

The security arrangements relative

to the interview were such that Jackson

could have removed an object from the

tape recorder without Bingham's active

cooperation, but it is difficult to see

how that act could have been performed

without Bingham's knowledge. That

knowledge would not be sufficient to make

Bingham a party to a conspiracy but it

would be sufficient to explain his disap-

pearance upon leaving the prison.

When Jackson returned to the

Adjustment Center from the interview, the

bullet clip was detected; whereupon, he

removed the gun from under his wig and

forced one of the four correctional offi-

cers, who were present to open the cells

of other prisoners, many of whom emerged

and some of whom -- including, admit-

tedly, Spain and Pinell, and, as shown by

sufficient evidence, Johnson -- played an

active role in binding the officers and

-9-

placing them in cells where they were

assaulted. During the turmoil, two

other officers were admitted to the

Adjustment Center and subjected to simi-

lar treatment. An officer acccmpanying

the last to be admitted raised an alarm.

Jackson and Spain then fled from the

Adjustment Center. Jackson was shot and

died instantly. Spain was located in

some shrubbery in which he had taken

cover. Order was restored in the

Adjustment Center. One officer had bled

to death from a neck wound; two had been

shot to death; three others had their

throats cut but survived; two prisoners

Gied from similar wounds. A number of

knives and improvised knives were found

in various locations. No firearms were

discovered except Jackson's pistol.

Spain is a black and was in August

1971 a member of the Black Panther

Party. Jackson was also a member of the

|

|

ra |

«10-

party, and it is reasonably probable that

"the party” of which he spoke in the

letter which referred to his gun and his

plan to escape was the Black Panther

Party.

The district attorney argued to the

jury that the Black Panther Party had

helped to smuggle weapons or ammunition

to Jackson and implied that Spain's party

membership was evidence “hat he, too, was

"involved in” the escape plan and

"working with" Jackson.

Pinell

Hugo A. Pinell, nicknamed “Yogi,”

was found guilty of two counts of assault

with a deadly weapon on nonprisoners,

Namely, correctional officers,

Breckenridge and Rubiaco, by a life pri-

soner. (Pen. Code, § 4500.)

The evidence showed that while

Officer Rubiaco was opening cells,

Pinell, armed with a small knife, forced

a

Officer Breckenridge into a tier and

ordered three prisoners to take him to a

cell. Jackson and Spain forced Officer

Rubiaco to join him. Both officers were

bound, and for a certain period to time,

Placed face down on a bunk or made to

wear a pillowcase so that their vision

was interfered with. Rubiaco's neck was

cut twice by an unknown person and a

third time by Pinell. The last wound

was caused not by a knife but by an

object like a razor blade embedded in a

toothbrush, which was later found in the

cell.

Breckenridge saw Rubiaco's throat

being cut but could not tell by whom.

At the time or shortly before, he could

hear Pinell's voice, and said to him:

"There is no need for this, Yogi. Don't

ge. it Yegi.* A voice which he

recognized as Pinell's replied: *You

don't know who this is." Within seconds

-12-

of the infliction of the third wound on

Rubiaco, Breckenridge was stabbed twice

in the neck. Later, he was stabbed a

third time by an unidentified assailant.

Johnson

David Johnson was identified by

Office Breckenridce as one of the three

prisoners who was ordered by Pinell to

take him to the cell.

Breckenridge testified that Johnson

and a codefendant (who was acquitted)

bound him. Some time after Breckenridge

was stabbed twice, he heard the codefen-

Gant say, "These pigs aren't dead yet,"

and a voice, which he believed was

Pinell's say, “Go in and strangle them.”

Johnson applied a ligature to his neck

for a few seconds but released it when

Breckenridge pretended to expire. Por

this action Johnson was found guilty of

assault by means of force likely to pro-

Guce great bodily injury. (Pen. Code, §

4501.)

Although Breckenridge testified

that the third stab wound to his neck

(which occurred after Johnson strangled

him) caused blood to obscure his vision

and a state of shock to ensue, there was

medical evidence that it was one of the

first two wounds. Experts called by the

codefendant testified that the con-

sequences of the wound would include an

impairment of Breckenridge's perception

and mental functioning (and therefore

his ability to recognize Johnson). The

reliability of Breckenridge's iden-

tification of Johnson was also

challenged on the grounds of _ the

officer's limited prior association with

the prisoner and a suggestive pho-

tographic identification process.

Johnson and the codefendant offered, but

were not allowed, to prove by the testi-

mony of an expert in “eye witness

@14<

identification," a psychology professor,

that the reliability of such iden-

tification is adversely affected by such

factors as a difference in race between

the witness and the person to be iden-

tified.

Johnson was not a member of the Black

Panther Party.

I. Juror Fagan's Meetings

With the Judce

The following facts form the basis of

appellant's contention that violation of

their constitutional rights at trial by

an in camera meeting between the judge

and a juror requires reversal of their

convictions.

Patricia Fagan had from the age of

Six or seven been a "good," “close,” but

not “best” friend of Carolyn Olson.

Pagan's and Olson's mothers were "very

good" friends. Pagan cared for Olson's

Gaughter on a daily basis while Olson ~as

~1, $=

attending U.C.L.A. in about 1962. At

this time, the two women rarely visited

socially. Fagan knew Olson's husband.

In 1968, in Santa Monica, Olson was

killeé and her husband wounded. At the

time, Fagan was living in Concord. She

learned of Olson's death a couple of

weeks later. The circumstances of the

killing, as known to her, were that

Olson and her husband were playing ten-

nis when two people damanded their

money, ordered them to lie down, and

shot them. In 1970, Elmer "Geronimo"

Pratt was arrested for the murder and as

a member of the “L.A. 18," a group of

Black Panther Party members wanted in

connection with a shoot-out with the Los

Angeles Police. A month or two after

Pratt's apprehension, Fagan heard that

Olson had been killed by two persons,

members of the Black Panther Party, one

of them a leader.

-16<

Fagan, during the voir dire of the

venire, was shown a videotape of the

trial judge's admonishing prospective

jurors of the importance of revealing any

association with crimes of violence and

attitudes toward radical groups, specifi-

cally the Black Panther Party. Fagan was

asked:

"Q. How about crimes violence? Any

Knowledge of that at all?

"A. No.

"Q. Witness, victim, otherwise?

"A. No.

"Q. Have you heard of the

Black Panther Party?

"A. Yes.

"Q. Do you associate the

Black Panther Party with

any form of violence in

your own mind?

"A. Be.*

ake

During the course of the trial,

Spain called as a witness Louis Tackwood

who testified to a suprosed plot on the

part of various law enforcement officers

to encourage an attempt by George

Jackson to escape and by a group fo

Panthers to rescue him, whereupon all

would be ambushed by officers. Tackwood

mamed one Pratt as the leader of the

purported rescue group and identified

him as a police informant.

On cross-examination, Tackwood was

impeached by being asked whether he knew

that Pratt had been arrested in 1970 for

the murder of a Santa Monica woman, had

been convicted of the charged in 1972,

and had been in custody continuously

during the time when he was supposedly

involved in the rescue plot.

During the afternoon recess on the.

Gay of the above cross-examination,

according to Pagan, she “went to the

os

«Ifa

chambers of Judge Broderick and told him

a friend of mine had been murdered in

Santa Monica by a Black Panther Party

member, but that I did not know for cer-

tain that the two incidents were the same

and that if the matter were gone into

further, I might start to cry in the

courtroom. The judge indicated that it

was unlikely that the two incidents were

identical and said something to the

effect that I should not concern myself

with it. I then left his chambers."

The judge's recollection of the inci-

Gent was “in substantial agreement with

Mrs. Fagan's.' He “got the impression

that ["if . . . Pratt's killing of her

friend was gone into in the evidence of

the case"] the emotional drain on her

would be very high.” He attached "little

Significane, if any" to her association

of Pratt with Olson's murder, and told

her so and “that she should simply forget

~19<

about it." He asked her if it would

affect her disposition toward the case,

and she said that it would not.

Fagan returned home in the evening

and asked her mother, who "was up here

watching the proceedings,” but had not

attended that day, the name of the per-

son who had killed Olson. Her mother

informed her that it was Pratt.

The next day, Fagan went to see the

judge again and told him that she had

confirmed that Pratt was the killer of

her friend. She told him that if the

subject should come up again, “it would

cause me some concern for my emotional

composure in the courtroom," i.e., “if

the attorneys were going to go into it

much more thoroughly or much more deeply

e « « I was liable to start crying

° © « «” Her recollection was that "the

judge said the lawyers probably were not

going to go into that matter further and

-20-

I said something to the effect, 'O.K., no

problem, then’ ... -” The judge

recalled that he told her he didn't see

how the connection between Pratt and

Olson was "“significant™ but asked Fagan

if she felt that "it would have any

affect on her disposition towards the

case." According to the judge, "She said

that .. . she felt that if Mr. Pratt

were called to testify, that she would be

very unsettled by that.”

The judge did not hold a hearing with

regard to Fagan's communications, nor

inform the parties or their attorneys

thereof. His explanation for not doing

SO was that he didn't see how Fagan's

knowledge of Pratt's crime would have any

relation to the evidence in the case. He

admitted that the implications of

Pratt's knowledge as to her attitude

toward violence and her response to

questions on voir dire designed to elicit

——————

o2i-

expressions of that attitude “didn't

doawn on me."

No evidence was introduced that

Pratt had killed or had been convicted

of killing Olson.

Fagan, however, told other jurors

that Pratt had been convicted of mur-

dering a friend. She denied making any

Gerogatory comments about the Black

Panther Party in that connection.

The cross-examination of Tackwood

about Pratt's murder of a Santa Monica

woman and Fagan's first visit to the

judge occurred on a Thursday; her second

visit on a Friday. On Monday a witness

identified Pratt as “the leader of the

Panther in Los Angeles.”

Spain subsequently presented evi-

dence of his Black Panther Party menm-

bership and called as witnesses leaders

of the Black Panther Party, one of whom

testified briefly as to her experience

~23<

as a Panther and another as to her asso-

ciation with Spain.

Fagan's relation to Pratt and her

visits with the judge came to light after

the trial. Appellants moved for a new

trial on related grounds in the course of

which Fagan testified. In denying the

motion, the court . found that the

guestions put to Fagan on voir dire did

not call upon her to express her nowledge

of the kil.ing of Olson and of the Black

Panther Party's association with it and

that, even if they did, she did not

wilfully conceal such knowledge. With

regard to the juror's communications to

the judge, the court ruled that "the

event lacked any significance” and “had

no evidentiary qualifications” and was

handled correctly.

The issue on appeal arises at the

confluence of 4three streams of constitu-

tional doctrine, flowing from the right

en es

oF eile

ok” tot 2a ¥

@23<

of defendants in criminal proceedings to

trial by an impartial jury, their right

to be personally present during the pro-

ceedings, and their right to be repre-

sented by an attorney.

For our purposes, we assume, as all

appellants contend, that there was

federal constitutional error committed

as a consequence of the in camera con-

versations between Fagan and the trial

judge in that neither appellants nor

their counse) were seesent”

However, the matter must be put in

context and viewed from the perspective

4. The dissent seems to say that

the trial court by not including counsel

during the in-chambers discussion with

juror Fagan acted contrary to the

requirements of Penal Code section 1120.

Let us so assume. But because we agreed

that there was constitutional error,

obviously a matter of greater moment in

terms of the magnitude of the error and

the nature of the review as to rever-

sibility, we fail to perceive the rele-

vance of discussing the error in terms

of Penal Code section 1120.

@24<

of the entire case.

The incident arose more than eight

months into the trial, some three months

after the prosecution had rested and the

defense had begun the presentation of

evidence.

Tackwood's testimony, in the course

of which Pratt's name surfaced, consumed

a few days in a case that took a year of

actual trial time. |

Pratt figures, at most, tangentially

in the case. According to Tackwood, the

police and "others" plotted to induce

Jackson to escape. Pratt, a police

informant and a leader of a Southern

California Black Panther group, was to

mount a rescue operation from the outside

to aid Jackson in his escape. The final

scene of this plot would see the pclice

lying in wait, massacre Pratt, his rescue

group, and Jackson in the course of the

attempted escape. Pratt was not present

o25<

at the breakout; he was in jail and had

been there long before the breakout.

Pratt did not appear at the trial.

Neither was there any “rescue group"

present tc aid Jackson in his attempted

escape, nor did any member of that

5

alleged group appear at the sstai

5. The dissent asserts that juror

Fagan's knowledge that Pratt had been

convicted of the murder of her friend

"filled an ‘evidentiary gap' in the

prosecution's case." (At p. il.)

Unfortunately, we are not enlightened

further as to what the "“'‘evidentiary

gap'" was, before it got filled, par-

ticularly in view of the fact that the

testimony as to Pratt came in as a part

of the defense presentation. The

dissent thus seems to suggest that

unlike our characterization of Pratt as

"at most, tangentially,” relevant to the

case, Pratt and the fact of his convic-

tion were important. But, then, we are

confounded by the dissent stating that

"If Pratt's status was not relevant to

the jury's deliberations, in my view,

the potential for prejudice or bliss

looms even greater." (At Pa: Bada}

Again, unfortunately, the dessent expli-

cates no further. We return to the

dissent's “'evidentiary gap.'”

(Footnote 5 continued on next page).

As we see it, the error was

committed by the trial court in denying

appellants and their counsel the right to

be present at the conversations between

Pagan and the trial judge in order to

Footnote 5 continues.

It is an understatement to say that

Tackwood's testimony, on direct examian-

tion, strained the bounds of credibility,

but let us assume that the jury would

have believed the testimony but for juror

Fagan's knowledge of Pratt's conviction

and,d consequently, disbelieved him

because of that knowledge. What

""evidentiary gap'" was closed thereby?

Spain's convictions of murder and

conspiracy are based on a conspiracy bet-

ween Jackson and Bingham. There is no

conncection between Pratt and Bingham in

the record; none is asserted. There

is no evidence to suggest that Bingham is

an agent provocateur who lured Jackson

into the escape attempt. As to the

assault convictions, what does the Pratt

episode, from an evidentiary standpoint,

have to do with the substantive issue of

whether Johnson and Pinell committed the

assaults of which they were convicted.

The short answer is--absolutely nothing.

Thus, if there were some “'‘evidentiary

gap‘ in the prosecution's case," for cer-

tain, it was not "filled in" by juror

Fagan's knowledge, gained outside the

record, of Pratt's conviction.

* > .

ee. ee o Aes ew . ~*~ oe

-2J<

ascertain whether, as a result of the

Pratt murder of Fagan's friend, Fagan

would be prejudiced or biased against

eebetlents.©|

The bias or prejudice might have

arisen because Pratt was allegedly a

membr of the Black Panthers = and

appellant Spain was a Black Panther.

Appellants Johnson and Pinell, while not

members of the Black Panthers, were

blacks. Appellants, of course, were

entitled to 12 impartial persons, not

ll, in the determination of their guilt

6. The dissent tells us that if

the defendants and their counsel had

been present during the Fagan

questioning by the trial ocurt, “she

would have been disqualified." (At p.

5.) Further, if cross-examination of

Fagan had occurred, our brother White

States that he “would expect that she

{Fagan} would have been excused by

stipulation." (At p. 9.) We envy our

colleague's ability to predict that

which would have happened, but we

suggest it is irrelevant. The issue is

whether we reverse because of the error

that did happen.

-28=-

vel_ non. (People v. Pierce (1979) 24

Cal.3d 199, 208.)

The burden, therefore, was upon the

People to show, beyond a reasonable

doubt, that the error complained cf did

not contribute to the verdict (Chapman v.

California (1967) 386 U.S. 18), in other

words, that Fagan was not biased or

7

prejudices.”

7. There may -.well be situations

where the failure to accord a defendant

the constitutional rights involved here

sO permeate a trial as to constitute

reversible error per se. We do not per-

ceive that to be the case here.

The dissenting opinion cites two

cases of this court, People v. Locklar

(1978) 84 Cal.Apo.3d 224 (pp. 12-13) and

People v. McNeal (1979) 90 Cal.App.3d 830

(pp. 13-14), implying that we have in

this" case departed from the views

expressed in those cases.

In Locklar, as the dissent points

out, for apparently good and sufficient

reason, the attorney appearing for the

Gefendant refused to participate in any

way in the selection of the jury;

nevertheless, the trial judge proceeded

to impanel the jury. We held that to be

(Footnote 7 continued on next page).

-29-

We believe tht burden has been met. We

reason as follows:

Footnote 7 continues.

reversible error per se. We perceive a

substantial G@ifference between what

occurred in Locklar and what occurred

here. Apparently, the dissent does not.

In McNeal, while the jury was deli-

berating, it came to the attention of

the trial court that a juror had per-

sonal knowledge as to some aspect of the

case which hada “bearing on the way she

will vote.” (90 Cal.App.3d at p. 835.)

Unlike the case at bar, the trial

judge in McNeal advised counsel thereof.

The judge discussed the matter with

counsel and stated that he would not go

into the facts. The juror was brought

into chambers and counsel were present.

The judge told the juror that "we don't

want to go. into factual matters” (id.,

at p. 836) and asked several times

whether she could be fair and impartial.

Ultimately, she said "yes." The prose-

cutor suggested that the juror had evi-

Gence outside the record. The judge

then asked the juror, "'Do you feel you

could set that aside and judge the case

on the evidence?'" (Id., at p. 836.) The

juror answered that she could.

The error in McNeal was not the

absence of counsel but the failure to

find out what “facts” the juror had

knowledge of that were not in the

(Pootnote 7 continued on next page).

-30-

At the voir dire, Fagan testified

that she did not associate the

Footnote 7 continues.

record. Because of that failure, we did

not know, nor could it be known, from

the record whether the juror had

knowledge of facts aliunde the record of

a prejudicial nature. Under these cir-

cumstances, we held that it could not be

said that the error was harmless beyond

a reasonable doubt.

The dissent overlooks the crucial

Gistinction, in this aspect, between

McNeal and the case at bench, namely,

that in McNeal the record did not

Gisclose, whereas here the record does

disclose, the outside information of the

juror. The dissent states we paid "'lip

service’ to Chapman error" (at p. 14) in

McNeal because we found "no occasion to

examine and weigh the evidence in terms

of "“‘harmless error'”™ (at p. 14). It

would seem anomalous for a justice to

characterize his own opinion (White,

P.J. concurred in McNeal) as giving “'‘'lip

service'“ to a legal principle. More

important, the dissent fails to

understand that since the question in

McNeal was juror bias based on knowledge

of matters out-side the record, it did

not matter what the weight of the

inculpatory evidence in the record was

and, hence, there was no point in exa-

mining it. If it could nto be shown

beyond a reasonable doubt that the juror

was not so biased, then the judgment had

(Footnote 7 continued on next page).

=4hn

the Black Panther Party with “any form

of violence." During her conversation

with the trial judge regarding Pratt,

the court asked her if the Pratt killing

of her friend would affect her disposi-

tion toward the case and she replied

Footnote 7 continues.

to be reversed. As we pointed out in

McNeal and as we have noted above, it

Could not be shown for we did not know,

nor could we know, in McNeal, because of

the trial judge's actions, what that

knowledge was that precipitated the

problem.

People v. Sarazzawski (1945) 27

Cal.2d 7, cited in the dissent (pp.

5-6), supports our position. There, the

trial judge in impanelling a jury, told

them, in effect, that if they became the

jury and during the trial remembered

something they had forgotten during

their voir dire examination or realized

that some of their answers thereon had

been erroneous, "'it is your secret.

Don't say anything more about it.'”"

(Id., at p. 18.) The court held that

the judge's admonition was reversible

error per se, because, by the very

Mature of the admonition, “any disquali-

fication disco

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.