Petition — Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Inc. v. Malandris

Supreme Court brief1983

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

- 2- 2 0 1 8 Office-Supreme Court, U.S.

.:

No. 82-__ eth Be

JON 10 1983

IN THI A EXANDER » SPEAR,

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1982

MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER

& SMITH INCORPORATED.

Petitioner,

JUNG JA MALANDRIS,

Respondent,

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

ROGERS & WELLS

William P. Rogers

(Counsel of Record)

Guy C. Quinlan

James N. Benedict

David A. Schulz

200 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10166

(212) 878-8000

HOLME ROBERTS & OWEN

Donald K. Bain

lohn M. Kobayashi

1700 Broadway

Denver, Colorado 80290

(303) 861-7000

titornevs for Petitioner

QUESTION PRESENTED

May a United States Court of Appeals properly attempt to

cure a grossly excessive jury verdict by ordering remittitur in

lieu of a new trial, where the trial itself was marked by

repeated incidents of prejudicial and inflammatory courtroom

misconduct, the issues as to liability and damages were insepa-

rable, and the question of liability was sharply contested?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

All of the parties appearing in the District Court and the

Court of Appeals are listed in the caption.*

’ P if iil Rul ha! t ‘ ‘1 | |

i | "i & Smith In norated } 4} |

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Be ee By oe gg ne

ee SUMO LO RE, De ew I ee ene

ee Or RG PR ic ke ccc eens ae I\

gh a 2g SANG ae rae ee eeu eas

COPPER LU geek cee cess

PU, FIT oo int even es ss oie es 2

BD COR WEE CR ik ec eee ees 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.......... 7

The En Banc Order of the Court of Appeals

Resolves Important Due Process Issues in Direct

Conflict With Controlling Decisions of This Court

and With Decisions of Courts of Appeals in Other

NEES SASUSSI ONES hg TU ee oe 7

1]

fe Se en ee ac hee sea ene os

FABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases PAGE

City of Cleveland v. Peter Kiewit Sons’ Co., 624 F.2d

Te CORTE CO, ESE hic cece rece eksseunecahuceee 10

Dorin v. Equitable Life Assurance Society of U.S., 382

ee NF ice be dee ee tun eerste, 10

Draper 4irco, Inc., 580 F.2d 91 (3d Cir. 1978)...... 10

Ford Motor Co. v. Mahone, 205 F.2d 267 (4th Cir. 1953) 10

Glazer v. Glazer, 374 F.2d 390 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied,

MO OT) OD OO ken b ances ehednesdanunccpus 1]

Te ie Mies, S08 US. 155 C1905) oc ccc wc cceess 7

es Pie OE TE. FET CISGE se gcc cece keckans 7

Koufakis v. Carvel, 425 F.2d 892 (2d Cir. 1970) ....... 10

Minneapolis, St. Paul & S.S.M.R. v. Moquin, 283 U.S.

i ii ica ceewenectneerccicateas 7, 10

Ouachita National Bank v. Tosco Corp., 686 F.2d 1291

RU PUREE i vace ns ce weet tava s beeen s ee wen 10

Schweiker v. McClure, 456 U.S. 188 (1982)........... 7

Statutes

TF 8 FED ok hikes shi bcc b cee a sce acasen ncn. 2

3

Te 6 oe ak ci wee we eae eee een en eee

IN THI

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM 1982

‘cise i shes ieiahiiagteieineaii

MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER & SMITH INCORPORATED,

Petitioner,

JUNG JA MALANDRIS,

Respondent.

peereanensserenemienetenstnaeat oo

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner, Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Incorpo-

rated (“Merrill Lynch”), prays that a Writ of Certiorari issue to

review the en banc judgment and opinions of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit entered in this proceed-

ing on March 31, 1983.

OPINIONS BELOW

Annexed hereto are the following decisions from the Court

of Appeals, which are not yet reported: the en banc order

reinstating the judgment of the panel (Appendix A); the

Original majority opinion of the panel (Appendix B); the

dissenting opinion of Judge Logan, as a member of the panel

(Appendix C); the dissenting opinion of Chief Judge Seth,

rendered after consideration en banc (Appendix D); and the

5

ne

concurring and dissenting opinion of Judge Seymour, rendered

after consideration en banc (Appendix E). The opinion of the

District Court for the District of Colorado, which is reported

at 447 F. Supp. 543, is annexed as Appendix F.

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

rhe original judgment of the panel of the Court of Appeals

for the Tenth Circuit was entered on March 4, 1981. A timely

petition for rehearing with suggestion of rehearing en banc was

granted on April 17, 1981, and the judgment of the panel

simultaneously was vacated. On February 23, 1982 the Court

requested supplemental briefs from the parties, and oral argu-

ment was presented to the Court sitting en banc on May 6,

1982.

On March 31, 1983, the en banc Court issued an order

reciting that it was “unable to reach a majority opinion or

judgment tor disposition of this appeal” (Appendix A, p. A-2).

The Court further stated:

Upon being re-polled on the issue of disposition in the

light of the stalemate, the court, by a vote of four to

three, determined to sustain the judgment of the panel,

but otherwise adheres to the views expressed in the opin-

lions issued stimulateously with this order.

(/d., tootnote omitted). Four separate opinions were issued.

Four of the seven judges expressed disapproval, on various

grounds, of the result reached by the panel, which was never-

theless given effect by the Court’s action.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Plaintiff suffered financial losses totalling approximately

$30,000 in a brokerage account which her husband had

opened, in her name, at Merrill Lynch (Tr. VII at 49-50, Apdx.

790-91).' She thereafter brought the present action for inten-

tional infliction of emotional distress and for common law

fraud; the diversity jursidiction of the District Court was

invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1332. No allegation was made that

any member of Merrill Lynch’s management was aware of any

alleged wrongdoing. After a trial which included various epi-

sodes of crying, screaming, table pounding and shouted accu-

sations and threats by plaintiff or her husband, the jury

returned a verdict awarding plaintiff $1,030,000 in compensa-

tory damages, and $3,000,000 in punitive damages.

Plainuff’s husband testified that he had asked an account

representative in Merrill Lynch’s Denver office, one John

Barron, to sell the couple’s stock in United Airlines, so that the

proceeds could be deposited in a bank account in plaintiff's

name (Tr. Ill at 78, Apdx. 353). Plaintiff’s husband further

testified that he had been persuaded to invest the money in the

stock market, contrary to plaintiff's wishes, by various misrep-

resentations on the part of Barron, including a promise that

plaintiff would participate in a risk-free “partnership” with

Merrill Lynch (Tr. II] or 95-103, Apdx. 366-72). Mr. Malandris

further testified that Barron had induced him to forge plain-

tiff’s name on a power of attorney (Tr. III at 108, Apdx. 376).

No evidence was offered that any of Barron's superiors were

aware of his alleged misconduct, or approved or ratified it.

In addition to the $30,000 financial loss, plaintiff sought

damages for her subsequent emotional distress and depression,

| “Tr.” refers to the trial transcript; “ Apdx.” refers to the Appendix

filed with the Court of Appeals

4

which were manifested chiefly in an excessive preoccupation

with religion (Tr. IV at 70, 99-100, Apdx. 456, 480: Tr. V at

13-14, 62 Apdx. 519, 559). However, plaintiff was never

hospitalized, and apparently did not require any medical treat-

ment, Or consult any physicians other than the psychiatric

witnesses at the trial.

The record indicated that plaintiff had suffered serious

mental and emotional problems for many years prior to her

financial loss, and that she had been advised several years

before to seek psychiatric treatment, but had not done so (Tr.

IV at 61-63, 101-102, 106-107, Apdx. 448-50, 481-82, 486-87).

Che psychiatric witnesses called on behalf of plaintiff testified

that she had long been fearful, reclusive, and Suspicious,

frequently frightened by dreams and premonitions, and Subject

to episodes of bizarre behavior (Tr. III at 55, 86-87. Apdx. 334,

359-60; Tr. IV at 57, 89-90, Apdx. 446, 472-73). They further

testified that plaintiff's emotional distress at the time of trial

was caused by a number of factors. including a recent FBI

search of her home, for which Merrill Lynch concededly had

no responsibility (Tr. IV at 44, 58-60, 69-99, Apdx. 434-35,

446-48, 477-78). It was undisputed that plaintiff's psychiatric

history was not known to Barron, or to any other employee of

Merrill Lynch.

The trial was marked by several “highly inflammatory”

incidents (Appendix C, p. C-4). These included the plainuff’s

uncontrolled weeping on the stand during her direct testimony;

an outburst of crying and screaming by plaintiff during Bar-

ron’s tesumony, which caused the trial judge to have the jury

removed from the courtroom; shouted recriminations by plain-

uiff’s husband while he was being cross-examined by deten-

dant’s counsel; and an incident during which plaintitf’s

husband leaped to his feet, began pounding his fists on the

furniture, and shouted that detendant’s principal witness was

lying, and that he would kill him. Defendant’s timely motion

for a mistrial was denied

Through plaintiff's psychiatric testimony the jurv was pre

sented with an extensive description of her difficult early life

‘nan

and experiences of poverty and hardship. Because a claim for

punitive damages was made, plaintiff was also permitted to

introduce evidence of Merrill Lynch’s assets and net worth. In

a highly emotional summation, plaintiff’s counsel urged the

jury to “send a message” by the size of its verdict (Tr. VIII at

50, Apdx. 863).

The jury returned a verdict of $1,030,000 in compensatory

damages, and $3,000,000 in punitive damages. Defendant's

timely motions for judgment n.o.v. and for a new trial were

denied.

On appeal to the Tenth Circuit, all three members of the

panel which initially considered the matter agreed that the

verdict was excessive as a matter of law, and could not be

permitted to stand. The Court was divided, however, as to the

appropriate remedy.

The majority of the panel, while agreeing that the award of

punitive damages was “excessive and unwarranted” (Appendix

B, p. B-42), stated that the excessiveness of the verdict “does

not lead us to the conclusion that the liability determination

was tainted here” (/d.). The majority accordingly held that a

new trial would not be required if plaintiff agreed to a

remittitur reducing the punitive damages from $3,000,000 to

$1,000,000.

One member of the panel dissented, stating that the compen-

satory award also “profoundly shocks me to the extent | am

convinced passion and prejudice entered into the determina-

tion” (Appendix C, p. C-3) and that a new trial should be

required. The dissenting opinion noted the absence of any

evidence to support the amount of the compensatory award,

Stating that the figure “appears to have been plucked from the

air” (id.), and that the amount of the punitive damages was

also “a product of passion and prejudice” (id., p. C-4)

Almost two years afier the grant of rehearing en banc, a

sharply divided Court of Appeals announced that it had been

unable to arrive at a majority opinion or decision. The three

6

members of the panel adhered to their original views. One

additional judge joined in the opinion of the panel majority,

i.e., concluding that the verdict was excessive, but that the

defect could be cured by ordering remittitur. Chief Judge Seth

filed an opinion concluding that a new trial should be ordered,

Stating (Appendix D, p. D-1):

The record shows that the damages complained of were

from a variety of sources, there were preexisting prob-

lems, the testimony was by lay witnesses as to their

subjective evaluations, there were marital problems, the

alleged forgery and the extensive participation by the

husband. The amount of money involved must also be

included. It was in this context that there was injected the

passion and prejudice resulting mostly from the outbursts

by the plaintiff in the courtroom. The result was that a

large measure of punitive damages was included in the

compensatory award. The amount of the compensatory

damages is just too large to be otherwise explained. |

don’t think this can be cured by a reduction in the amount

of punitive damages.

The remaining two judges who participated’ acknowledged

“the occurrence of several emotional outbursts by Mrs. Malan-

dris and her husband during the trial” (Appendix E, p. E-2),

but characterized such outbursts as “genuine human responses

to testimony which was not credible” (id.), and concluded that

the original jury verdict should be reinstated. “Upon being

repolled on the issue of disposition in light of the stalemate”

(Appendix A, p. A-2), the Court voted 4 to 3 to reinstate the

judgment of the panel, while otherwise adhering to the various

views expressed in the four separate opinions which were filed.

~ One of the eight active judges on the Tenth Circuit disqualified

himsell, and took no part in the proceedings en ban

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The En Banc Order of the Court of Appeals Resolves

Important Due Process Issues in Direct Conflict With Control-

ling Decisions of this Court and With Decisions of Courts of

Appeals in Other Circuits.

The issue presented in this case is whether, when a grossly

excessive jury verdict follows a course of prejudicial and

inflammatory courtroom conduct, a United States Court of

Appeals may nevertheless seek to correct the verdict by remitti-

tur, rather than by ordering a new trial. That question would

seem to have been resolved definitively by this Court’s decision

in the early leading case of Minneapolis, St. Paul & S.S.M.R.

v. Moquin, 283 U.S. 520, 521-22 (1931), where the Court

stated:

[No] verdict can be permitted to stand which is found to

be in any degree the result of appeals to passion and

prejudice. Obviously such means may be quite as effective

to beget a wholly wrong verdict as to produce an excessive

one. A litigant gaining a verdict thereby will not be

permitted the benefit of calculation, which can be little

better than speculation, as to the extent of the wrong

inflicted upon his opponent. [Emphasis supplied]

This result would also seem to be mandated by the due process

requirement of a fair trial before impartial fact-finders.’ Yet,

the instant decision of the Tenth Circuit, the most recent

departure from the principles laid down in Moquin, is unfortu-

nately not unique. While a majority of the Circuits have

adhered to the Moquin standard, others have adopted remitti-

tur as a remedy in the case of actual courtroom misconduct,

and have disregarded this Court’s admonition against “calcula-

3 See, e.g., Schweiker v. McClure, 486 U.S. 188,198 (1982); Irvin \

Dowd, 366 U.S. 717, 722 (1961); In re Murchison, 349 U.S. 133, 136

(1955).

tion, which can be little better than speculation” as to the

extent of the prejudicial impact on the jury. (See, infra pp.

10-11.)

That prejudicial and inflammatory misconduct did occur in

the trial of the present action is undisputed on the record. The

trial judge described one series of episodes, which he character-

ized as “unfortunate,” as follows (Tr. 1Vat 125, Apdx. 723-24):

The record ought to reflect that during the testimony of

Mr. Barron on cross-examination by Mr. Fishman, Mrs.

Malandris, who was seated in the public sector of the

courtroom in the first row behind the bar, began to cry

and then began to scream, and I ordered the jury out of

the box and excused them. As they were walking out of

the box, Mr. Malandris jumped up and began to yell,

something about, “How can a man lie like that?” and

began to pound his fists against the seat.

In his opening statement, plaintiff's counsel had told the jury

that plaintiff was being kept outside the courtroom for reasons

which would become apparent (Tr. | at 6, Apdx. I11); the

meaning of this statement became clear when plaintiff wept

continuously during her direct testimony (Tr. Vat 59-64; Apdx.

556-61). No explanation appears in the record for the fact that,

despite counsel’s comment, plaintiff was seated in the specta-

tor section of the courtroom when Merrill Lynch’s principal

witness was called to testify.

As noted, the courtroom dramatics by plaintiff’s husband

also included shouted threats that he would kill defendants’

witness for allegedly lying (Tr. VI at 124, Apdx. 722). Mr.

Malandris also engaged in a similar outburst when he was

confronted with prior inconsistent testimony while being cross-

examined (Tr. 1V at 10, Apdx. 404-05).

I’m not no match for no 20 people in college Uf you want

to trick me, fine, you can do it, trick me, it is a very easy

thing to do. . . God help me, so help me, let me die in

this chair.

9

The summation by plaintiff’s counsel also included blatant

appeals to the emotions of the jury. Although plaintiff’s

psychiatric problems had long predated her financial loss, and

although her emotional distress did not require either hospital-

ization or medical care at home, plaintiff's counsel told the

jury (Tr. VIII at 51, Apdx. 864):

“You have to determine compensation. What's it worth

to have your mind destroyed, to be dead to this world,

permanent condition, twenty, thirty, forty years of that

suffering of humiliation, grief, the shame, the outrage;

the damage—the damage—the damage.

“Deprived of a few joys in life she had by willful

”

intentional outrage.

Further, as Judge Logan noted in his dissenting opinion

(Appendix C, p. C-S):

Because punitive damages were sought, counsel for

Malandris was allowed to comment to the jury on Merrill

Lynch’s considerable net worth. On the other hand,

because Malandris’ emotional distress resulted from her

loss of financial security, her extremely impoverished life

was presented. Counsel requested the jury to

“Send a message, a warning, a deterrent to this

country, to this state, to this city, to New York, to

Chicago, to San Francisco, to Los Angeles, telling

those people who were entrusted with the life savings of

others that they shall not conceal—they shall not bear

false witness to signatures. They shall not gamble with

other people’s money. They shall not take advantage of

the uneducated.”

These incidents were followed by a verdict which all three

members of the panel held to be grossly excessive as a matter

of law. Nevertheless, two of the three panel members somehow

arrived at the conclusion that the determination as to liability

was not “tainted” by the courtroom outbursts, and that remit-

10

titur would be an adequate remedy. The result reached by the

Tenth Circuit in this action is in direct conflict with the rules

prevailing in the majority of other Circuits, which we submit

are in accord with the principles laid down in Moquin. See,

e.g., City of Cleveland v. Peter Kiewit Sons’ Co., 624 F.2d 749

(6th Cir. 1980) (setting aside “grossly excessive” verdict of

$350,000 for damages to a municipal dock); Draper v. Airco,

Inc., 580 F.2d 91, 95 (3d Cir. 1978) (setting aside verdict of

$585,000 for wrongful death); Ford Motor Co. v. Mahone, 205

F.2d 267, 272 (4th Cir. 1953) (“grossly excessive” verdict of

$234,330 required new trial even though plaintiff had accepted

remittitur to $135,000). As the Third Circuit stated in Draper,

580 F.2d at 97:

A jury which is prejudiced with respect to its finding of

liability is not likely to be free from prejudice in awarding

damages. Because there is a substantial probability that

the error which affected the liability verdict also affected

the determination of damages, the new trial must deal

with both liability and damages.

See also, Koufakis v. Carvel, 425 F.2d 892, 901 (2d Cir. 1970)

(“It seems to us that the trial judge should not guess about the

jurors’ reactions to an obviously improper argument.”).

Unfortunately, however, the Tenth Circuit’s departure from

these principles is not unique. Decisions in other Circuits have

also sanctioned remittitur in lieu of new trial in the face of

actual prejudice; the result has been to permit the very kind of

“calculation, which can be little better than speculation” which

this Court condemned in Moquin, 283 U.S. at 521-22. See,

e.g., Ouachita National Bank v. Tosco Corp., 686 F.2d 1291,

1295 (8th Cir. 1982) (remittitur allowed as an alternative to a

new trial even though summation by counsel was held to be

“so intemperate as to have contributed to the jury awarding to

[plaintiff] a sum grossly exceeding that reasonably supported

by the evidence . . .”); Dorin v. Equitable Life Assurance

Society of U.S., 382 F.2d 73, 77 (7th Cir. 1967) (remittitur

approved as alternative to new trial even though trial judge

stated that “it is quite obvious that the jury was inflamed by

passion and prejudice in awarding the amount of damages

above mentioned”). Cf., Glazer v. Glazer, 374 F.2d 390, 413

(Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 389 U.S. 831 (1967).

The result reached by the Tenth Circuit is contrary to

principles of due process and to prior decisions of this Court

and of other Courts of Appeals. We submit that this departure

from sound judicial procedure should be corrected in the

exercise of this Court’s supervisory power.

CONCLUSION

For each of the reasons set forth above, this Court should

issue a Writ of Certiorari to review the judgment and opinions

of the Court below.

Dated: June 9, 1983

Respectfully submitted,

ROGERS & WELLS

William P. Rogers

(Counsel of Record)

Guy C. Quinlan

James N. Benedict

David A. Schulz

200 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10166

(212) 878-8000

HOLME ROBERTS & OWEN

Donald K. Bain

John M. Kobayashi

1700 Broadway

Denver, Colorado 80290

(303) 861-7000

Attorneys for Petitioner

APPENDICES

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Appendix

Order of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Tenth Circuit on Rehearing In Banc in Malandris vy.

Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, No. 77-1957

Se ee A-]

Majority Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Tenth Circuit in Malandris vy. Merrill Lynch,

Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Nos. 77-1957 & 78-1855

ee © Pee) ce se B-]

Dissenting Opinion of Judge Logan in Malandris vy.

Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Nos. 77-1597

& 78-1655 (10h Cir. March 4, 1961) .........++4..- C-]

Dissenting Opinion of Chief Judge Seth on Rehearing In

Banc in Malandris v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner &

Smith, No. 77-1957 (10th Cir. March 31, 1983)...... D-|

Concurring and Dissenting Opinion of Judge Seymour

on Rehearing In Banc in Malandris vy. Merrill Lynch,

Pierce, Fenner & Smith, No. 77-1957 (10th Cir. March

LM Ae ee E-]

Opinion of the United States District Court for the

District of Colorado in Malandris v. Merrill Lynch,

Pierce, Fenner & Smith, 447 F. Supp. 543 (D. Col.

APPENDIX A

Order of the Court of Appeals

on Rehearing In Banc

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

TENTH CIRCUIT

No. 77-1957

March 31, 1983

i

JUNG JA MALANDRIS,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

—_—V—

MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER &

SMITH, INCORPORATED,

Defendant-Appellant,

COLORADO TRIAL LAWYERS’ ASSOCIATION,

Amicus Curiae.

APPEARANCES:

WILLIAM P. ROGERS (Guy C. Quinlan, James N. Benedict,

John A. Karaczynski of Rogers & Wells, New York, New York,

and Donald K. Bain and John M. Kobayashi of Holme,

Roberts & Owen, Denver, Colorado, were also on the brief) for

Defendant-A ppellant.

WILLIAM R. FISHMAN (David H. Drennen of Fishman,

Gengler & Geman, P.C., Denver, Colorado, was also on the

brief) for Plaintiff-Appellee.

A-2

J. CONRAD METCALF and WILLIAM A. TRINE, Attorneys,

Boulder, Colorado, were on the brief for the Colorado Trial

Lawyers’ Association, as Amicus Curiae.

+

Before

SETH, Chief Judge, and HOLLOWAY, BARRETT, DOYLE,

McKay, LOGAN and SEYMOUR, Circuit Judges.*

a

The in banc court was unable to reach a majority opinion or

judgment for disposition of this appeal.’ Upon being re-polled

on the issue of disposition in light of the stalemate, the court,

by a vote of four to three,” determined to sustain the judgment

of the panel, but otherwise adheres to the views expressed in

the opinions issued simultaneously with this order.

It is therefore ordered that the judgment of the panel 1s

sustained and that such judgment is re-entered as follows:

In No. 77-1957, we conclude that the judgment should be

affirmed, provided that the plaintiff accepts a reduction in the

The Honorable Robert H. McWilliams, Circuit Judge, did not

participate in the consideration or disposition of this appeal or the

hearing in banc thereon.

I In No. 78-1855, Malandris v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner &

Smith, Incorporated, a separate appeal was taken from an order of the

district court denying relief under Rule 60(b) F.R.Civ.P. In that appeal

the original panel opinion and judgment of the court was that the

order of the district court be affirmed. No rehearing or rehearing in

banc was sought from that ruling and that order was not reconsidered

in banc. The appellate judgment in No. 78-1855 was not vacated by

our order granting rehearing in banc in No. 77-1957.

tv

Judges Holloway, Barrett, Doyle and Seymour voted to sustain the

judgment originally entered by the panel majority in the Conclusion of

the panel opinion. That judgment was vacated when rehearing in banc

was granted but is re-entered, as stated below.

A-3

punitive award to $1,000,000. Therefore the cause is remanded

to the district court with directions that an order be entered

providing that if, within a reasonable time to be fixed by the

district court, the plaintiff accepts a reduction of the judgment

by reducing the punitive damages award to $1,000,000 or thus

a total judgment of $2,030,000, with costs and interest as

provided in and accruing from the entry of the original

judgment, then the judgment as so modified shall be final;

otherwise, an order shall be entered granting a new trial of the

cause.

It is further ordered that there be published following this

order the original opinion by Judge Holloway for a majority of

the panel, now adhered to as expressing the views of Judges

Holloway, Barrett and Doyle. There will also be published

herewith the concurring and dissenting opinion of Judge Sey-

mour, in which Judge McKay joins, and the dissenting opin-

ions of Chief Judge Seth and Judge Logan.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

APPENDIX B

Majority Opinion of the Court of Appeals

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

TENTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 77-1957 & 78-1855

March 4, 1981

tt

JUNG JA MALANDRIS,

Plaintiff-A ppellee,

—_—V—

MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER & SMITH INCORPORATED,

Defendant-Appellant.

APPEARANCES:

William P. Rogers (Guy C. Quinlan, James N. Benedict,

John A. Karaczynski of Rogers & Wells, New York, New York,

and Donald K. Bain and John M. Kobayashi of Holme,

Roberts & Owen, Denver, Colorado, were also on the brief) for

Deferdant-A ppellant.

William R. Fishman (David H. Drennen of Fishman,

Gengler & Geman, P.C., Denver, Colorado, was also on the

brief) for Plaintiff-Appellee.

J. Conrad Metcalf and William A. Trine, Attorneys,

Boulder, Colorado, were on the brief for the Colorado Trial

Lawyers’ Association, as Amicus Curiae.

a

Before

HOLLOwayY, DOYLE and LOGAN, Circuit Judges.

——

HOLLOwAY, Circuit Judge

Defendant Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Inc.

(Merrill Lynch or defendant hereafter) appeals from a judg-

ment awarding plaintiff Jung Ja Malandris damages in the

amount of $4,030,000—$1,030,000 as compensatory damages

and $3,000,000 as punitive damages—on claims of common

law fraud and intentional infliction of emotional distress (No.

77-1957), asserting numerous errors. Merrill Lynch also seeks

reversal of the district court’s order denying its motion to

vacate the judgment and grant a new trial on the basis of newly

discovered evidence and fraud (No. 78-1855).

Mrs. Malandris commenced this action against Merrill

Lynch as the result of transactions between Mrs. Malandris’

husband and an account executive of Merrill Lynch’s Denver

office, John Barron. The transactions were related to an

account with Merrill Lynch which was solely in Mrs. Malan-

dris’ name and which transactions resulted in a loss of approxi-

mately $30,000 to the account.’ Mrs. Malandris alleged that

the actions of defendant constituted a violation of § 10(b) of

the 1934 Securities Exchange Act, Rule 10b-5, § 22(a) of the

1933 Securities Act, various rules of the New York Stock

Exchange, the National Association of Securities Dealers’

Rules of Fair Practice and the Chicago Board of Options

Apparently $30,000 of the compensatory award was for the actual

monetary loss of plaintiff, although this was not specified in the

verdict for compensatory damages of $1,030,000. This $30,000 element

of the plaintiff's recovery is not specifically challenged in the defen-

dant’s briefs. Defendant does argue that the testimony of its account

executive established that all of the transactions were properly author-

ized for Mrs. Malandris by her husband, but the jury implicitly

rejected such a theory and we find that no grounds are shown to set

aside the jury’s resolution of this issue.

B-3

Exchange (CBOE), and of § 4-8-315(a) of the Colorado stat-

utes, the state statute prohibiting wrongful transfer of securi-

ties.

In addition, Mrs. Malandris alleged that the actions consti-

tuted common law fraud, intentional infliction of emotional

distress, conversion of her property, and breach of fiduciary

duty. (II App 26-41). Jurisdiction was asserted on federal

question grounds as to the claims under the Securities Acts and

regulations, and on diversity and pendent jurisdiction grounds

as to the state law claims. Along with some other claims the

claims of violations of the Securities Acts and regulations were

withdrawn by the plaintiff before submission of the case to the

jury, and only the claims of fraud, intentional infliction of

emotional distress, and for punitive damages were submitted.

The jury returned a verdict of $1,030,000 in compensatory

damages and $3,000,000 in punitive damages. Motions for a

directed verdict, for judgment notwithstanding the verdict, and

for a new trial were denied by a written Memorandum and

Order of the trial judge discussing the issues raised and the

evidence in detail. 447 F.Supp. 543. Defendant appeals from

the judgment asserting, infer alia, that the evidence does not

support an action for intentional infliction of emotional dis-

tress, that the trial court erred in refusing to grant a mistrial

due to emotional outbursts at trial by Mr. and Mrs. Malandris,

that all the damages are so excessive as to indicate that they

resulted from passion and prejudice, that the award of punitive

damages is unsupported by the evidence and barred by the

Colorado one-year statute of limitations on actions for penal-

ties and statutory liabilities, and that the punitive damage

statute is unconstitutional as applied in this case. (Brief of

Defendant 1-2).’

Defendant also moved the court to vacate the judgment and

grant a new trial pursuant to F.R. Civ. P., 60(b)(2) and (3),

alleging that defendant had newly discovered evidence of a

2 Separate briefs for each appeal have been filed by the parties. When

discussing the issues in the separately numbered appeals our references

will be to the particular briefs filed in the respective appeals.

B-4

material and controlling nature which established that the

judgment “was procured as a result of the fraud and misrepre-

sentations of plaintiff’s husband, Steven Malandris.” The mo-

tion was denied at the conclusion of a hearing before the trial

judge. Defendant also appeals the denial of this motion,

claiming an abuse of discretion and errors of Law. (Brief of

Defendant, 2).

I

THE APPEAL FROM THE ORIGINAL JUDGMENT

A. The claim of intentional infliction of emotional distress

In considering the defendant’s challenges to the damage

awards we must heed the restrictive rules governing appellate

review after a jury verdict as outlined in Tennant v. Peoria &

Pekin Union Railway Co., 31 U.S. 29, 35:

The focal point of judicial review is the reasonableness

of the particular inference or conclusion drawn by the

jury. It is the jury, not the court, which is the fact-finding

body. It weighs the contradictory evidence and inferences,

judges the credibility of witnesses, receives expert instruc-

tions, and draws the ultimate conclusion as to the facts.

The very essence of its function is to select from among

conficting inferences and conclusions that which it con-

siders most reasonable. Washington & Georgetown R. Co.

v. McDade, 135 U.S. 554, 571, 572; Tiller v. Atlantic

Coast Line R. Co., supra, [318 U.S. 54] 68; Bailey v.

Central Vermont Ry., 319 U.S. 350, 353, 354. That con-

clusion, whether it relates to negligence, causation or any

other factual matter, cannot be ignored. Courts are not

free to reweigh the evidence and set aside the jury verdict

merely because the jury could have drawn different in-

ferences or conclusions or because judges feel that other

results are more reasonable.

We must view the evidence in the light most favorable to the

party who prevailed before the jury and thus will discuss it in

B-5

this manner. Rasmussen Drilling, Inc. v. Kerr-McGee Nuclear

Corp., 571 F.2d 1144, 1149 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S.

862. Erroneous admissions or exclusions of evidence and

erroneous orders or rulings are not grounds for setting aside a

verdict unless the error affects the substantial rights of the

parties. /d. at 1149; Harris v. Quinones, 507 F.2d 533, 539,

(10th Cir.). And, of course, since only claims based on state

law were tried, Colorado law is controlling.

The tort known as intentional infliction of emotional distress

was recognized by the Supreme Court of Colorado in Rugg v.

McCarty, 476 P.2d 753, 756:

We recognize that an action in tort will lie to recover

damages for severe emotional distress without any accom-

panying physical injury, subject to the limitations as set

forth in Restatement (Second) of Torts § 46 (1965).

See also Hansen v. Hansen, 608 P.2d 364 (Colo. App.); Meiter

v. Cavanaugh, 580 P.2d 399 (Colo. App.); Enright v. Groves,

560 P.2d 851 (Colo. App.). We will focus on § 46 of the

Restatement of Torts (2d) because of the reliance on it by the

Colorado Court. Section 46 provides:

(1) One who by extreme and outrageous conduct inten-

tionally or recklessly causes severe emotional distress to

another is subject to liability for such emotional distress,

and if bodily harm to the other results from it, for such

bodily harm.

(2) Where such conduct is directed at a third person,

the actor is subject to liability if he intentionally or

recklessly causes severe emotional distress

(a) to a member of such person’s immediate fam-

ily who is present at the time, whether or not such

distress results in bodily harm, or

(b) to any other person who is present at the time,

if such distress results in bodily harm.

Thus, the four essential elements of such a claim are that (1)

the conduct is extreme and outrageous; (2) the conduct is

B-6

intentional or reckless; (3) the conduct causes emotional dis-

tress; and (4) the distress is severe. Chuy v. Philadelphia Eagles

Football Club, 595 F.2d 1265, 1273 (3d. Cir.). For the conduct

to be considered extreme and outrageous, it must “go beyond

all possible bounds of decency and ... be regarded as

atrocious, and utterably intolerable in a civilized community.

Generally, the case is one in which the recitation of the facts to

an average member of the community would arouse his resent-

ment against the actor, and lead him to exclaim ‘Outra-

geous!’” Rugg v. McCarty, supra at 756 (quoting comment d

to § 46).

The requisite intent is present where the actor desires to

inflict severe emotional distress and knows that it is substan-

tially certain to result from his conduct, or where he acts

recklessly “in deliberate disregard of a high degree of probabil-

ity that the emotional distress will follow.” Restatement (Sec-

ond) of Torts, /d. The resulting distress must be extreme as

opposed to trivial, in other words “so severe that no reasonable

man could be expected to endure it.” § 46, supra, comment i.

Moreover, the distress must be “reasonable and justified under

the circumstances.” /d.

If the distress is exaggerated in comparison to that which a

reasonable man would experience, there is no liability unless

the defendant is aware of the plaintiff’s peculiar susceptibility

to emotional distress. /d., comments f and j. The plaintiff's

peculiar susceptibility to emotional distress thus both broadens

and narrows the scope of the tort. It broadens the scope in that

a jury may find the defendant's conduct to be outrageous in

light of his knowledge of the plaintiff's peculiar susceptibility

where it would not be so without such knowledge. /d., com-

ment f. Yet it narrows the scope in that without such knowl-

edge, the defendant is not liable for exaggerated emotional

distress. /d., comment j.

Defendant makes three main arguments in asserting that a

case of intentional infliction of emotional distress was not

made out. First, it says that the elements of the tort were

absent, that the tort consists of extreme and outrageous con-

duct which is intentional or reckless so as to cause severe

B-7

emotional distress to another, and that its employee Barron did

not have the requisite intent to harm Mrs. Malandris and his

conduct was neither extreme nor outrageous. Contrary to most

cases where a plaintiff was threatened, harassed, or abused,

defendant asserts that here “the record establishes that defen-

dant attempted to generate a profit for the Malandrises and

that, as a result of advice which Barron gave them, they did

make money by trading in options . . . and on several other

occasions either realized profits or minimized the losses they

would have otherwise incurred in other stock transactions.”

(Brief of Defendant, 19).

Second, defendant asserts that there was absolutely no direct

contact between the plaintiff and Mr. Barron, that this claim

would have to come within the class of cases in which conduct

is directed at a third party, here the plaintiff’s husband, with

whom Mr. Barron conducted all of the stock transactions.

Because the tort requires that the plaintiff be present at the

time the wrongful conduct is directed at the third party, the

action will not lie in this case. (Brief of Defendant, 15-20)

Third, defendant contends that recovery for intentional

infliction of emotional distress is subject to clear limitations,

one being that there is “no liability where the plaintiff has

suffered exaggerated and unreasonable emotional distress, un-

less it results from a peculiar susceptibility to such distress of

which the actor has knowledge.” (Brief of Defendant, 21).

Defendant notes that Mrs. Malandris had a background of

psychiatric problems and indeed suffered exaggerated emo-

tional distress. Defendant says the evidence does not show that

Mr. Barron was aware of Mrs. Malandris’ “exaggerated sus-

ceptibility” to distress and hence defendant cannot be held

liable. (Brief of Defendant, 21-22).

Last, defendant complains that the presentation of its de-

fense was hampered by the trial court’s exclusion of expert

testimony designed to show the conservative nature of options

trading and to rebut plaintiff’s expert testimony as to the

unsuitability of such transactions for a customer in plaintiff's

position. Defendant says that the “unwarranted exclusion of

such testimony on a material issue is reversible error,” espe-

B-8

cially in a case like this where the “outrageous” nature of

defendant’s conduct resulted in an “astronomical” award of

damages. (Brief of Defendant, 19-20).

In considering these contentions we now turn to the evi-

dence. As noted above, the record is evaluated in the light most

favorable to the plaintiff as the prevailing party under the

jury’s verdict.

The plaintiff’s version of the events was presented largely

through Steven Malandris, her husband. Mr. Malandris

described himself and his wife as uneducated people, Mr.

Malandris having quit school in the tenth grade because of his

inability to keep up with his schoolwork. The school advised

him to learn a manual trade and he joined the Army for this

purpose but was unsuccessful in two attempts to lean various

trades. He was finally able to obtain a high school equivalency

degree after taking the test three times.

While stationed in Korea during his tour of duty, Mr.

Malandris met and married the plaintiff. Mrs. Malandris is

Korean and has never been to school. She can neither read nor

write Korean or English. Her family was very poor. Mrs.

Malandris was forced to leave home at the age of nine to work

and help support her family. It was established that plaintiff

was born on June 1, 1942 and Mr. Malandris was born on May

19, 1941. (VI App., Plaintiff’s Ex. 84).

After marrying and coming to the United States, the couple

adopted a spartan lifestyle, spending very little for anything

other than basic necessities and doing nothing in the way of

entertainment. Mr. Malandris obtained a job as a baggage

handler for United Airlines, working almost every waking

hour, including all major holidays. All of his earnings except

that needed for bare essentials were put into a joint savings

account.

Mr. Malandris first became interested in stock when he read

about how much money he could make on United Airlines

stock from a company bulletin board at work. He was con-

cerned with financial security for his wife and the fact that

manual labor did not offer security in the event of physical

incapacity. Consequently, he decided to buy a thousand shares,

B-9

which was later sold at a profit. The proceeds were redeposited

in the savings account and Mr. Malandris was soon thereafter

approached by various salesmen, offering him everything from

vacuum cleaners to a chinchilla raising business. Mrs. Malan-

dris began to recognize her husband’s gullibility and insisted

their savings be put into an account in her name alone. Mrs.

Malandris thereafter controlled all of their money, giving her

husband only enough money to pay bills or buy specific

necessities.

In 1973 Mr. Malandris again decided that they should buy

stock in United Airlines since it was his impression from the

company billboard that even if the company went out of

business, they couldn’t lose money on the stock. He convinced

his wife to agree to his plan and together the couple went to the

banks and withdrew all of Mrs. Malandris’ accounts. They

then went to a brokerage house and purchased 2800 shares of

United Airlines stock in Mrs. Malandris’ name. IV App.

347-48.

In the summer of 1973, plaintiff “had a feeling” that the

stock should be sold and requested her husband to find a

broker to sell it for her. She refused to return to the broker

with whom she had previously dealt because he had embar-

rassed her by handing her an upside down newspaper to see if

she could read. (/d. 349). Mr. Malandris contacted the local

Merrill Lynch office because it was apparent to him from

Merrill Lynch’s advertising that “[o]ther companies get the

leftovers and Merrill Lynch gets the top people.” (/d., 350).

After calling the Denver office of Merrill Lynch, Mr. Malan-

dris asked to speak to someone who “handles just air-line

stock” and was put through to a Mr. Barron, a retired military

man who became a registered broker in February of 1973, four

or five months prior to meeting Mr. Malandris. (V App. 621).

The two talked briefly on the phone and then met at defen-

dant’s office later that same day. (IV App. 351-53). It was at

that meeting that Mr. Malandris discussed opening an account

in his wife’s name alone:

Q. Did you ask them about opening an account in your

wife’s name only?

B-10

A. Yes, and he wanted to know why, you know, what’s

the reason for this. And I told them—there is only like

one kind of business, the wife wanted the stock sold

and put it back into the bank, and then he asked me,

“Do you agree with that?” And I said, “It doesn’t

matter whether I agree or not. The wife—it’s the

wife’s money, the wife’s stock, and it’s her decision,”

and then he wanted to know more about the wife.

Q. What did you tell him?

A. I told him like, you know, she is a Korean woman,

and I didn’t—and she is—and she really feels insecure

and how she says I am a very gullible person, and then

he says, “That’s—you know how gullible get taken

advantage of, taken in by certain people, but not this

company. A good thing—if I had gone to another

company, I have to worry but not to worry here.

And your wife wants the account in her name,” and

then I told him about the banks and then he laughed

and he says, “Your wife,” he said, “Being she is so

uneducated I won’t be mad at her for this idea, but

putting money in the bank but,” he said, “Would you

believe, there are college graduate people putting

money in banks. What do you think the banks do,

hold the money? You go to a bank someday and you

ask them how much have you got on deposit in this

bank, and they will say, add all your customer’s

accounts up, and say 5,000,000 and ask you whether

this $5,000,000 is right here in the bank in the ground.

No, they will tell you it’s in the New York Stock

Exchange. They are taking the dumb monies people,

even though they are dumb, taking that money and

giving the people little money, and they are putting it

in the stock market and making money off people.

That’s all that banks do. They are making money off

people,” and I said, “Well the wife wants it in the

bank because it’s safe, and it’s her future. I under-

stand the stock market is not safe,” and he said,

“Well, you know nothing about the stock market,”

and I said, “No.” (/d., 353-54).

B-11

Mr. Malandris testified that he informed Mr. Barron in

subsequent meetings that he was a baggage handler, that the

couple had no other stock nor savings, that the couple never

went out, that Mr. Malandris wore his work uniform all the

time to save on clothing and laundry expenses, and that he

never bought meals at work. (/d., 356).

Mr. Barron subsequently opened an account in Mrs. Malan-

dris’ name, indicating on the new account information form

that she was referred by Tom Travers, a United Airlines pilot,

that she had previous investment experience, that Mr. Malan-

dris was a mechanic with an annual income of $22,000, and

that she had a net worth of $100,000. (VI App. 955). The

account was opened and all transactions took place without

Mr. Barron ever consulting the plaintiff. (V App. 625). Mr.

Malandris denied telling Mr. Barron that he was a mechanic,

that he was referred by Tom Travers, or that either he or his

wife had a net worth of $100,000. (IV App. 397-98). Mr.

Travers also denied knowing either Mr. or Mrs. Malandris and

denied referring either one to Mr. Barron. (III App. 129-30).

After the account was opened the plaintiff changed her mind

about selling the stock but did agree to allow the stock

certificates to be deposited at Merrill Lynch for safekeeping.

Mr. Malandris testified that Mr. Barron thereafter advised Mr.

Malandris that due to a decline in price, the stock should be

sold without consulting the plaintiff, stating:

“What does she know. You told me she doesn’t know

anything about it, do you want to be looking out for her.

You are really thinking about her future or aren’t you

worrying about her future? . . . You already told me she

doesn’t understand what is happening, and she doesn’t

know a darn thing, and you don’t sound like you know

nothing about it either. Trust me. I am in this, and 1 know

what is happening.” (IV App. 361).

The stock was sold and when Mr. Malandris informed

plaintiff of the sale, she became very upset, accusing him of

having the account in his name and of lying to her. Mr.

Malandris promised to deposit the proceeds of the sale in a

B-12

savings account as soon as they became available. (/d., 362-

64).

However, Mr. Malandris testified that when he went to pick

up the proceeds, Barron began talking to him about the

options market,’ which had begun in April of 1973 and with

which Barron had no prior experience. Mr. Barron did not talk

in terms of options but as “an opportunity to go in partnership

with Merrill Lynch,” and Mr. Malandris said Barron told him

(IV App. 366-69):

“You know, Merrill Lynch doesn’t take chances, and

banks don’t take chances, and this is only given to really

top people, people fight with it, but I feel sorry for you

and your wife. Nobody probably has ever given you this

opportunity before. . . . What it consists of, it’s guaran-

teed first off . . . What are you concerned with? Why are

you putting the money back in the bank? Why does your

wife want the money in the bank?. . . [T]his is guaran-

teed, and you are going to get 20 percent interest.”

Mr. Malandris said he was not given the required prospectus

on the options exchange until much later, and then with the

explanation that even though Mr. Barron was required to give

him the prospectus, Mr. Malandris would not understand the

material in the book and Mr. Barron really couldn’t see any use

in giving him the book. (/d., 385). To take advantage of the

opportunity, of options transactions, Barron decided plaintiff's

account should be switched from a straight cash account to a

margin account,* although he did not use that term with Mr.

3 “Options” transactions were described in the testimony as trans-

actions which involve the purchaser of the option paying a certain

amount of money for the right to purchase a security at a stated price

for a certain time. Correspondingly the seller agrees to sell the security

at the agreed price during that time if the purchaser decides to exercise

his option. (III App. 312).

4 In the testimony, a margin account was defined as one in which the

customer borrows money from the broker in order to buy more stock,

with the customer’s stock being held as collateral for the loan. The

B-13

Malandris. He explained only that Mrs. Malandris would need

to put up 50 percent of the partnership money and in order “to

make her 50 percent even to Merrill Lynch’s 50 percent she

would have to borrow some kind of money that defendant was

going to loan her.” (/d., 370). Barron repeatedly emphasized

that this “partnership” did not involve the stock market but

rather the “banking department of Merrill Lynch.” (/d., 371).

When Mr. Malandris said he would discuss the proposition

with his wife, Barron told him:

“I have never met your wife. I have never seen your wife.

I have never talked to your wife. You are telling me your

wife has never been to school. Doesn’t know anything.

What are you going to talk to her about? It’s like talking

to the wall.” (/d., 373).

Mr. Malandris testified that he finally agreed not to consult

his wife and then signed some papers as directed by Mr.

Barron. Mr. Barron also told him he needed Mrs. Malandris’

signature On a document later determined to be a power of

attorney (authorizing Mr. Malandris to act on his wife’s behalf)

brokerage firm makes money on a margin account in two ways. First,

it charges interest on the loan at a higher rate than what it must pay to

borrow the funds itself. Second, because the customer has increased

purchasing power with the borrowed funds, he purchases more stock

than he would in a straight cash account and thus the oroker is earning

more commissions. (III] App. 301-03).

Most brokerage firms require the equity (’.e., the difference between

the market values of the securities and the amount of the debt fer the

loan) in the account to be no less than 25 percent of the market value

of the stock held by the account. This 25 percent (or any higher

percentage set by the brokerage firm) is known as the maintenance

margin. Should the equity in the account drop below the maintenance

margin, the broker demands that the customer deposit additional

funds or additional stocks. If the customer is unable to do either of

these things, the broker will begin liquidating the collateral by selling

the customer's stock. (/d.)

To switch an account from straight cash to margin requires a

customer's authorization evidenced by his signature on a hypotheca

tion card. Defendant failed to produce any evidence at trial that such a

card was signed by plaintiff. (V App. 577-78)

B-14

and, when informed that Mrs. Malandris would not sign since

she believed her money was in the bank, Mr. Malandris said

that Barron told him to sign her name for her. (/d., 374-76).*

Mr. Malandris acquiesced in the “partnership” for awhile, even

bringing more money to Barron after telling his wife that he

was using the money to pay off bills resulting from his

mother’s illness and from bringing his wife’s relatives to

America. (/d., 378-79).

Difficulty with the margin account developed when the New

York office returned some of the forged documents requesting

new signatures by Mrs. Malandris. When Mr, Barron insisted

that Mr. Malandris sign his wife’s name again, Mr. Malandris

began to worry that his wife would find out the money was not

in the bank. He told Barron that he wanted to end the

“partnership” and sought the return of his wife’s stock. At this

point Mr. Malandris said that Mr. Barron threatened him with

jail, saying:

“You knew this was your wife’s account only. You had no

authority to be doing it. . . . You said your wife is

dumb, let’s use that. . . . And she has never worked.

Who will take care of your wife when you go to jail?”

(/d., 381).

Finally Mr. Malandris said that he again forged his wife’s name

to the papers, assured by Mr. Barron that there was nothing to

worry about, the papers were simply paperwork and “every-

thing is guaranteed.” (/d., 383).

Subsequently Mr. Malandris overheard a group of pilots at

work discussing the options exchange and learned for the first

time that there was a considerable risk involved. He then

angrily called Mr. Barron who responded that the pilots didn’t

know what they were talking about and that everything was

guaranteed or otherwise Merrill Lynch would not invest its

4a When Mr. Malandr:s decided to trade in options, he signed margin

agreements and a put and call agreement in his own name. (VI

4956-58). When these were returned from New York, he signed his

wite’s name to a new put and call agreement. (/d. at 960)

B-15

own money. Mr. Malandris said he believed and trusted Barron

again. (/d., 386-88).

Near the end of 1973 Barron called Mr. Malandris and

unexpectedly demanded immediate delivery of $42,000, ap-

parently to cover the amount loaned to the account by defen-

dant. Malandris said Barron informed him that unless he

delivered the money, defendant would “completely end the

partnership” and sell everything in the account, (/d., 389-90),

that Barron then tried to convince him that even though the

account represented “everything the wife had”, the amount of

money lost in the account was “really nothing” (/d., 390-91):

That’s nothing. There are some people who in a matter of

days lose half a million dollars. This is just giving you a

taste of what the market is.

Malandris testified that Barron then suggested a new invest-

ment to recoup the loss without Mrs. Malandris learning of the

loss. He stated that he would purchase Pennzoil stock and

make back all the money that had been lost. Mr. Malandris

refused to agree and instead told Barron to sell whatever was

left in the account and he would “give back the wife her

money, whatever is left.” (/d.) Mr. Malandris subsequently

picked up a check for $33.300 dated December 27, 1973, and a

subsequent check for $517.24. (/d.)*°

4b In options and Northwest Airlines transactions there was an overall

net loss of approximately $30,000 to the Malandris account. There was

a gain of approximately $14,000 on the sale of options, which fund

was applied on the purchase of 4600 shares of Northwest Airlines

stock, and a loss of approximately $44,000 on the sale of Northwest

Airlines stock. Detendant maintains that the Northwest Airlines stock

sale was Mr. Malandris’ decision, as Barron testified. (Brief of Defen-

dant 10-11). The plaintiff says the sale followed a demand by Barron

for $42,000 in connection with the margin account, and that the

proceeds were then used to repay defendant its margin loan. (Brief ot

Plainutf 26). On the basis of Mr. Malandris’ testimony, the conclusion

could have been drawn by the jury that Barron knew the power of

attorney was forged and that Mr. Malandris had no right to direct a

sale of the Northwest Airlines stock.

A brief outline of the Malandris account transactions from Mr.

Mandell’s testimony (III A.303-05) and the exhibits is as follows:

B-16

After picking up the checks, Mr. Malandris said that he

talked by phone with Barron who warned him that it would be

to Mr. Malandris’ advantage to “keep quiet on the whole

thing,” not to tell anyone, and not to talk to a lawyer. (/d.,

392).

Mr. Malandris subsequently told his wife of the loss of her

money. He described her having initial reactions of disbelief

and then anger, first refusing to believe that the money was not

safely in the bank, and then becoming angry that her husband

had stood by and let people steal her money. (/d., 444). Mrs.

Malandris has, according to her husband, undergone a marked

change since learning of the loss. She no longer wants to have

children, she is prejudiced “against white people who wear

suits,” and is “wrapped up in. . . religion,” spending most of

her time listening to religious programs on the radio. (/d.,

398).

Mr. Malandris sought help from several people in recovering

his wife’s money, including his senator, the Securities and

Exchange Commission, the New York Stock Exchange, and

defendant. (/d., 393-94, 401). His attempt to seek the assis-

tance of the Securities and Exchange Commission and his

displeasure in not receiving assistance led him to be considered

as a Suspect in a bombing at the Denver SEC office. As a

result, the FBI searched the Malandrises’ home, leading Mrs.

Malandris to believe that defendant and the government were

in “cahoots” and that defendant had caused the FBI to

conduct the search. (/d., 478).

In late September of 1973, 2800 shares of United Airline stock were

sold, generating $57,400 in proceeds. Thereafter, 50 shares of Winter

Park Telephone Stock were sold, generating $730 in proceeds and an

additional $3,900 was deposited by Mr. Malandris in the account.

Forty options calls on Northwest Airline stock were written generating

$19,000 in proceeds and almost simultaneously, the account purchased

4,000 shares of Northwest Airline stock, followed less than two weeks

later by a purchase of an additional 500 shares of Northwest stock.

Consequently, in early October, the account included $118,000 worth

of Northwest Airline stock which was purchased from the $78,000

worth of client’s funds (including proceeds from the option sales) and

$40,000 borrowed from Merrill Lynch. (See Plaintiff's Exhibit 1).

B-17

It is true that Mr. Barron directly and vigorously contra-

dicted almost all of Mr. Malandris’ version of the transactions.

Among other things Barron testified that he did not have Mr.

Malandris forge his wife’s power of attorney, that all the

transactions were authorized by Mr. Malandris for his wife,

and that he did not promise any “partnership” with defendant.

Barron maintained that Mr. Malandris was knowledgeable

about the types of transactions undertaken, that Mr. Malandris

was the one to first express interest in options trading, that

Barron fully explained the risks of such trading, and that it was

Mr. Malandris who had been interested in airline stock and

decided to buy Northwest Airline stock.

Two psychiatrists testified concerni: g their assessment of

Mrs. Malandris’ present mental state and the causes of her

condition. One of them, Dr. Grey, had seen Mrs. Malandris in

1972 as a result of her inability to conceive. He described her

as being depressed in 1972 over problems with her sisters and

with her inability to become pregnant but said that she was

able to function quite well in her role as a housewife. (/d.,

489). However, in November 1975 when he saw her again she

was plaintive, crying, unable to control herself, non-function-

ing and “almost paralyzed in her depression, in her religious

mania,” what he would call “dead to the earth, dead to this

life. . . .” Ud. at 491, 497). From his six examinations of

Mrs. Malandris in 1975, 1976 and 1977 Dr. Grey attributed her

change to the loss of her money “because the money was all

the security that she had.” (/d., 493). It was his opinion that

her condition appears to be permanent and he doubted and

questioned how she could come out of it. (/d.)

Dr. Frey, a psychiatrist who examined Mrs. Malandris on

behalf of the defendant, was of the opinion that she had a

“depressive neurosis” and described her as becoming “increas-

ingly sad, upset, depressed, [and] tearful over this great loss.”

(Id., 477, 513). In addition, she felt humiliated and felt “a

terrible loss of face” by having details of her background and

personal life divulged in the presence of many strangers as a

result of the instant lawsuit. (/d., 479). As a result of her

feelings, Dr. Frey explained that Mrs. Malandris had increas-

ingly turned to religion for solace. (/d., 480).

B-18

Dr. Frey agreed with Dr. Grey that Mrs. Malandris’ early

deprivations made her more vulnerable to the subsequent loss

of security she felt when she lost her money. (/d., 492; V App.

548). Dr. Frey diagnosed Mrs. Malandris as having a “depres-

sive neurosis” attributed to three major losses stemming from

the Merrill Lynch transactions: “the actual loss of money, the

very, very important loss of control, which was essential to her

over Mr. Malandris and a very important loss of face.” 513-19.

Dr. Frey believed that antidepressant medication would be

“[vJery, very effective in lifting and in easing and in dealing

with the picture of depression,” (VA.522), and that with other

medication and psychotherapy there was a very high likelihood

of significantly helping a person such as Mrs. Malandris. He

said that some mental health center treatment of this sort

would not necessarily have to be extended over years and

years, although work with individual therapists once or twice a

week could take a matter of years. (/d. at 529, 535, 573).

We conclude that the evidence was sufficient to enable the

jury to find liability for intentional infliction of emotional

distress. Even if Mr. Barron did not intend to inflict severe

emotional distress, the evidence would support inferences that

such distress was “certain, or substantially certain, to result

from his conduct,” see Restatement, Second of Torts, § 46,

comment i, and that Barron knew from the beginning of these

transactions that the plaintiff was very concerned with finan-

cial security and wanted her money in a Savings acount; that

even if his actions had not resulted in a loss, Mr. Barron should

have reasonably foreseen that there was a “high degree of

probability that the emotional distress” would occur when

plaintiff learned that her instructions had not been followed.

Id.“. . .{RJeckless conduct causing emotional distress renders

an actor as liable as if he had acted intentionally. See comment

i to § 46.” Chuy v. Philadelphia Eagles Football Club, supra,

595 ©2060 at 1275.

We cannot accept defendant’s contention that the conduct

could not be found to be outrageous. There was evidence that

Mr. Barron avoided consulting the plaintiff before making

unauthorized transactions in her account, knowing that such

B-19

transactions were directly contrary to her wishes; that he

convinced her husband to misrepresent the facts to her and

used Mr. Malandris as a pawn, knowing that the plaintiff

insisted on having the account in her name alone because of

her husband’s gullibility; that Barron continued to suggest

high-risk investment decisions to Mr. Malandris, knowing the

plaintiff was very concerned with financial security; and that

even when the account showed a $30,000 loss, Barron persisted

in trying to conduct other transactions with what remained of

plaintiff’s savings.

In light of such evidence, we feel the trial court was not in

error in submitting the issue to the jury. It is true that the

evidence was sharply conflicting as noted, with Mr. Malandris’

account being almost entirely contradicted by Mr. Barron’s

testimony. However, these conflicts in testimony were issues of

fact to be resolved by the jury. Boehm y. Fox, 473 F.2d 445,

447 (10th Cir.); Jaeco Pump Co. v. Inject-O-Meter Manufac-

turing Co., 467 F.2d 317, (10th Cir.). The jurors are the

exclusive judges of the credibility and weight to be given to the

testimony of any witness. Boehm v. Fox, supra; United States

v. Plemons, 455 F.2d 243, (10th Cir.). See DeCicco v. Trinidad

Area Health Ass’n, 573 P.2d 559, 562 (Colo. App.) (quoting

Section 46, comment h: “where reasonable men may differ, it

is for the jury, subject to the control of the court, to determine

whether, in the particular case, the conduct has been suffi-

ciently extreme and outrageous to result in liability.”).

We cannot agree with the defendant that the absence of

direct contact between Barron and the plaintiff precludes

liability in these rather unusual circumstances, or that the

record compels a finding that the conduct was directed at Mr.

Malandris so that only subsection 2 of § 46 may apply. Bar-

ron’s conduct involved funds which belonged to the plaintiff,

as he knew, and which were in an account in her name alone.

The evidence that he used the plaintiff’s husband to gain

control of the money does not establish that his conduct was

directed solely at Mr. Malandris.

The sufficiency of the evidence in this respect is supported

by the examples discussed under § 46. Moreover, in Chuy v.

Philadelphia Eagles Football Club, supra, liability was found

where a football team physician made a statement to the press

that plaintiff, a member of the team, was suffering from a

potentially fatal disease. Plaintiff, after reading the statement,

became very upset and depressed. Even though plaintiff had

had prior contact with the team physician, the conduct upon

which liability was based was not between plaintiff and the

doctor, but between the doctor and a third party. The absence

of the plaintiff during the tortious conduct was irrelevant in

that case just as it is here. In both situations the plaintiff was

the party most likely to suffer emotional distress upon learning

of the defendant’s actions. See § 46, illustrations 15 and 16.

We agree with defendant that plaintiff’s reaction to Barron’s

conduct was somewhat extreme, although the sudden realiza-

tion that half of one’s savings was gone could be expected to

cause even the most stable individual great distress. We cannot

agree that, as a matter of law, the evidence was wholly

insufficient for the jury to find defendant liable for the injury

to the plaintiff. There was evidence that Barron was advised

that plaintiff was an insecure, illiterate Korean woman; that

she was so concerned with financial security that she refused to

allow her husband any control over their finances; that Barron

knew of the couple’s frugal lifestyle, denying themselves even

the simplest pleasures in order to save money; and that Barron

knew that he was dealing with all the savings the plaintiff had.

(IVA. 353-56). It was a permissible inference that Barron could

reasonably anticipate an exaggerated reaction to the loss of the

savings which plaintiff valued so highly. We do not feel it

necessary that Barron know specifically of Mrs. Malandris’

previous depression or that she had previously been referred to

a psychiatrist. See Restatement, Second, of Torts § 46, com-

ment f and illustrations 9-13.

As to defendant’s contention that its expert testimony was

improperly excluded, we find no reversible error. The question

of the simplicity of options trading was raised by defendant on

cross-examination of plaintiff’s expert witness, as defendant’s

citation to the record shows. (See Brief of Defendant at 20; III

B-2]

App. 309-10).° The court rejected defendant’s subsequent at-

tempts to introduce evidence as to the simplistic and conserva-

tive nature of options trading, reasoning that it was irrelevant

and also stating:

What I am saying, given the counts as they are, a

simplified explanation of these accounts, this kind of

trading, to the jury is prejudicial and unfair to the

testimony. It’s not what some expert can explain. It’s

what Barron knew and what Malandris knew. (VI App.

811; see VI App. 773-76, 799-800).

While we have some concern about this ruling, we cannot

say that the trial court abused its discretion in excluding the

evidence. The court explained in its order denying defendant’s

motions for judgment notwithstanding the verdict and for a

new trial, that such testimony could mislead and misdirect the

jury as to the issues in the case. 447 F.Supp at 547. We cannot

hold that it was an abuse of discretion to exclude the evidence.

See F.R.Evid. 403; Weinstein’s Evidence, ¢ 403[04).

In sum, we are persuaded that the evidence was sufficient to

go to the jury on the claim of intentional infliction of severe

emotional distress and to justify a compensatory damage

award on that basis.

B. The fraud claim

Defendant argues that an award of damages for emotional

distress was also improper on the claim of common law fraud.

Defendant says that such damages are allowed only where the

injury could have been reasonably anticipated to be a natural

and probable consequence of defendant’s conduct, and not

5 Plaintiff asserts that a question during the course of cross examina-

tion was erroneously attributed to plaintiff's counsel. (Brief of Plain-

tiff, 42). The question in issue asked the witness to explain whether the

concept of writing call options is a simple concept. Whether or not

plaintiff's counsel asked for this explanation is irrelevant since the

previous question by defense counsel had raised the same question. (III

R. 310).

B-22

where the underlying tort is a “business fraud.” Additionally

defendant contends that because such damages were not recov-

erable in a fraud action, special verdicts should have been

submitted to the jury to determine whether the jury found

liability for emotional distress based on the tort of intentional

infliction of emotional distress or on the theory of common

law fraud. Since this request was denied, it is impossible to tell

which of the two theories of liability was found by the jury and

therefore the general verdict must be set aside. (Brief of

Defendant, 22-25).

In Valley Development Co. v. Weeks, 364 P.2d 730, 733

(Colo.), the Colorado Court stated:

[U]nder ordinary circumstances there can be no recovery

in tort for mental anguish suffered by a plaintiff in

connection with an injury to his property, either real or

personal. Where, however, the act occasioning the injury

to property was inspired by fraud, malice, or like motives,

mental suffering is often held to be a proper element of

damage.

See also McNeill v. Allen, 534 P.2d 813, 819 (Colo. App.).

We thus are not persuaded by defendant's assertions that the

award of damages for mental distress was improper under a

fraud theory. Whether based on the principle of recovery for

intentional infliction of emotional distress or for fraud, we

conclude that the verdict for compensatory damages should

not be disturbed when the evidence in the record is considered

as a whole and favorably to the prevailing party, as we must.

C. The claim of excessiveness of the compensatory

damages award

Defendant vigorously challenges the amount of the verdict

as to both compensatory and punitive damages, alleging that it

is sO grossly excessive that it must have resulted from passion

or prejudice. Defendant argues that “[dJespite an out-of-

pocket loss of only $30,000, the jury awarded plaintiff dam-

ages of $4,030,000, or approximately 134 times the actual

financial loss incurred.” (Brief of Defendant, 31). The defen-

B-23

dant also specifically attacks both the compensatory award of

$1,030,000 and the $3,000,000 punitive award as wholly unjus-

tified. We will consider the compensatory award now and will

later treat the claim of excessiveness of the punitive damages

award.

Defendant contends that the amount of the compensatory

award is clearly disproportionate to the injuries sustained, that

the highest award of compensatory damages for emotional

distress ever previously allowed by a Colorado court is $30,000

awarded in DeCicco v. Trinidad Health Ass'n, 573 P.2d 559

(Colo. App.), and that no jurisdiction has upheld an award ot

more than $60,000 in the absence of physical injury or death.

(/d., 33). According to defendant, the evidence even viewed In

the light most favorable to plaintiff does not support the

compensatory damages. Defendant points out that plaintiff

was suffering from mental problems before the alleged tort

occurred and that there were other causes for the subsequent

emotional distress plaintiff suffered after the loss of her

money.

Defendant further says that the FBI search of plaintiff's

home after the bombing of the Denver SEC office was a major

cause of plaintiff’s mental problems and that defendant clearly

was not responsible for this search. (/d., 34-35). Defendant

also contends that the punitive award bears no rational rela-

tionship to the alleged injury, noting it is three times the

maximum fine permitted under federal law for a criminal act,

which is an indication that “the verdict was dictated by

emotion, and not by any reasoned consideration of the evi-

dence.” Gd., 35-36).

We have said that absent an award so excessive as to shock

the judicial conscience and to raise an irresistible inference that

passion, prejudice, corruption or other improper cause invaded

the trial, the jury’s determination of the damages is considered

inviolate.“* Metcalfe v. Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Rail-

Sa We have not treated these statements as a bar to remittitur in all

cases. See, e.g., R.E.B., Inc. v. Ralston Purina Co., 525 F.2d 749 (10th

Cir.) Gury verdict reduced by amount of double recovery).

B-24

way Co., 491 F.2d 892, 898 (10th Cir.); Ketchum v. Nall, 425

F.2d 242 (10th Cir.); see Hudson v. Smith, 618 F.2d 642, 646

(10th Cir.); Colorado Coal Furnace Distributors, Inc. v. Prill

Manufacturing Co., 605 F.2d 499 (10th Cir.). Such bias,

prejudice or passion can be inferred from excessiveness. Wells

v. Colorado College, 478 F.2d 158, 162 (10th Cir.); Earl W

Baker & Co. v. Legaly, 144 F.2d 344, 347 (10th Cir.). However,

a verdict will not be set aside on this basis unless it is so plainly

excessive as to suggest that it was the product of such passion

or prejudice on the part of the jury. Wells v. Colorado College,

supra, see Snowden v. Matthews, 160 F.2d 130, 131 (10th Cir.).

Such cases recognize the principle that if the court deter-

mines that the verdict was the result of passion or prejudice, or

for any other reason it appears that the jury erred or abused its

discretion not only on the issue of damages but also on the

issue of liability, the court must unconditionally order a new

trial and cannot give the plaintiff the option to accept a lesser

amount. 6A Moore’s Federal Practice ¢ 59.05[3], pp. 59-59,

59-67 and 59-68; Minneapolis St. Paul and Sault Ste. Marie Ry.

Co. v. Moquin, 283 U.S. 520, 521-22; see Curtis Publishing

Co. v. Butts, 388 U.S. 130, 160.

However, another remedy is also recognized. Where the

court concludes there was error only in an excessive damage

award, but not one also tainting the finding of liability, the

appellate court may order a remittitur and alternatively direct a

new trial if the plaintiff refuses to accept the remittitur, a

widely recognized remedy. See Holms v. Wack, 464 F.2d 86, 89

and n.3 (10th Cir.) (citing Botsford v. Ideal Trucking Co., 417

F.2d 681 (2d Cir.) as illustrating a “remittitur ordered by

appellate court”); Minker v. St. Louis—S.F. Ry. Co., 574 F.2d

1056, 1060 (10th Cir.) (discussing the claim of an excessive

verdict but stating that the appellate court was not “inclined to

order a remittitur” in that case); Stapleton v. Kawasaki Heavy

Industries, Ltd., 608 F.2d 571, 574. n.7, modified, 612 F.2d 905

(Sth Cir.); Curtis Publishing Co. v. Butts, 351 F.2d 702, 717-19

(Sth Cir.), aff'd. 388 U.S. 130; Lanfranconi v. Tidewater Oil

Co., 376 F.2d 91, 96-97 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 389 U.S. 951

(conditional remittitur of a portion of a punitive award);

B-25

Covey Gas & Oil Co. v. Checketts, 187 F.2d 561, 563 (9th Cir.);

11 Wright and Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure, § 2820,

pp. 133-35; 6A Moore’s Federal Practice ¢ 59.05[3], pp. 59-

67-59-68. Cf. Bankers Life & Casualty Company v. Kirtley,

307 F.2d 418, 426 (8th Cir.). And see Kresse v. Bennett, 379

P.2d 807, 808 (Colo.) (conditional remittitur of a portion of

exemplary damages).

For reasons explained below, we do not disturb the compen-

satory award here but must agree that the punitive damage

award was excessive. However, we do not feel that the verdict

was the result of passion or prejudice so that the determination

of liability is tainted; and since we conclude that there is only

error in the size of the punitive award, the remedy of remittitur

is appropriate. Especially in a case like this involving a claim of

Outrageous conduct, it is not a jury’s duty to set aside, even if

it were possible, “all the decencies of human emotion when

called upon to decide controversy,” although it is their duty

“not to allow emotion to overcome fact, not to allow sympathy

to overcome reason, not to allow desire for result to overcome

justice.” Barnes v. Smith, 305 F.2d 226, 229 (10th Cir.). In this

case we conclude that excessiveness of the punitive award does

not demonstrate that the liability determination was tainted.

We are convinced that the remedy of remittitur is proper and

fair, and that ordering a new trial because of the size of the

punitive award would be unfair to the plaintiff since we are

persuaded that only the size of that award was error requiring

relief.

With these standards in mind, we turn first to the defen-

dant’s challenges to the compensatory award. We are not

persuaded by defendant’s reasoning that the overall verdict is

excessive because it is 134 times the amount of the “actual

financial loss.” There is no requirement that the award for

mental distress bear any relationship to the financial loss

incurred as a result of the tortious acts. Indeed, actions for

intentional infliction of emotional distress are often brought

against creditors by plaintiff-debtors, a situation in which the

plaintiff often has suffered no financial loss. See Prosser,

Handbook on the Law of Torts, § 12 at 57 (4th Edit.). We also

B-26

note that while the loss of $30,000 is much the smaller item, it

represented the loss of one-half of the couple’s savings. Hence

the relevant inquiry is whether the compensatory award was

excessive in relation to the injury—an injury consisting of the

emotional distress suffered by the plaintiff and its long-range

effects on her, as well as the financial loss.°

It is true that here there was evidence that prior to the loss of

her money plaintiff had experienced emotional difficulties and

had been examined by a psychiatrist in 1972 in relation to her

inability to become pregnant. The psychiatrist who had seen

her in 1972 described her condition then as depression due to

problems with her two sisters. (IV App. 489). And while the

trial court characterized plaintiff's condition as the “tragedy of

a lost life,” we note that there was no evidence that plaintiff

requires hospitalization or someone in the home to care for her

physical needs. Apparently she is able to function to this

extent.

Nevertheless, before the impact of these transactions in the

latter part of 1973, plaintiff was able to function quite well as a

housewife. She was 31 years of age and had a well-ordered,

though frugal, marriage relationship. In contrast, after the

disastrous 1973 transactions, plaintiff by 1975 had become

almost paralyzed in her depression and in her religious mania,

according to Dr. Grey:

| observed that she became almost like paralyzed in her

depression, in her religious mania, and she became really,

what I would call, she became dead to the earth, dead to

this life, because everything was “I don't care,” and

giving up, you see, totally, her interest now, and that

affected, you know, all the relationships which she had

towards the husband, towards her own family.

And the contact which has been so close before to the

family, now it’s practically nonexistent, and nothing is

really important for her. (IV App. 491).

6 Defendant apparently does not challenge the reasonableness of the

$30,000 portion of the verdict, arguing only that the $1 million award

for mental distress and the $3 million award of punitive damages are

excessive,

B-27

The psychiatrist felt that plaintiff’s condition had adversely

affected her marital life and appeared to be permanent. As to

the cause of the changes in her condition, he said the only

possible cause was the financial loss which totally undermined

her security. (IV App. 492-93).

As noted, Dr. Frey, who examined the plaintiff for the

defendant, was of the opinion that she had a “depressive

neurosis.” He attributed plaintiff's condition to three causes:

the loss of the money, the loss of plaintiff’s control over her

husband’s actions, and the humiliation resulting from an FBI

search of her home. (V App. 515). Although defendant argues

that this testimony established that the FBI search was a

primary cause of plaintiff's condition, we note that Dr. Grey's

testimony indicated that the loss of her money was the sole

cause. Hence the jury was entitled to determine that the impact

of the transactions alone caused the plaintiff's condition.

There was sufficient evidence to Support the inference that

before the impact of the transactions with defendant, plaintiff

functioned well in her admittedly limited world and took an

interest in her home, her husband, her sisters and in her hope

to have children, and that since this episode, these interests

have ceased and plaintiff has withdrawn to the point that

religion is her only interest. With respect to the evidence on

causation and plaintiff’s condition, we are persuaded by the

cogent observations of the trial judge who saw and heard the

plaintiff and all the evidence. These views were expressed in his

order denying post-trial motions (447 F.Supp. at 545-46):

The evidence also shows, orpane doubt, that Jung Ja

Malandris has sustained rmanent emotional injury

which has destroyed her « |ity to function as a human

being. She has rejected this world and lives only in the

anticipation of life after death. This results in her total

preoccupation with religion.

The defendant urges that the verdicts be set aside

because they are “so grossly excessive as to shock the

judicial conscience.” What is most relevant in this case Is

not the judicial conscience, it is the conscience of the

community as represented by the six people who served

B-28

on this trial jury. They heard this evidence and they

considered whether the conduct of John Barron went

beyond the bounds of decency and was utterly intolerable

in a civilized community. The defendant's counsel wish to

make much of the fact that there was only a $30,000.00

economic loss. They, like their client, fail to understand

that such economic losses can and do result in human

suffering which cannot be evaluated arithmetically. This is

not a case of a lost investment, it is the tragedy of a lost

life. Is $1,000,000.00 too great a value to place upon that

life?

The defendant denies that there is any showing of

proximate causation between its acts and plaintiff's emo-

tional state. The jury was correctly instructed as follows:

Proximate cause means that cause which in natu-

ral and probable sequence produced the claimed

injury. It is the cause without which the claimed

injury would not have been sustained. See C.J.I.

§ 9:24.

The evidence shows that Jung Ja Malandris did have a

predisposition to suffer severe emotional! injury from any

economic loss and the psychiatric testimony that she was

greatly affected by the loss of control of her husband is an

important aspect in this case. That loss of control was a

consequence of the defendant’s interference in this cou-

ple’s relationship. It is apparent to me, as it must have

been to the jury, that, knowing that which he did know

about the plaintiff, John Barron should be held to know

that a reasonably foreseeable consequence of the manipu-

lation of Steven Malandris and the deceit of his wife

would be the collapse of her ability to function. The

defense has pointed out that there were other factors

contributing to plaintiff's emotional condition. Yet, it

failed to produce any evidence which would separate the

effects of its wrongful conduct from the effects of other

influences. The law in Colorado is clear that the aggrava-

tion of a pre-existing condition can result in liability if the

wrongdoer is unable to isolate the impact. Stephens v.

B-29

Koch, Colo., 561 P.2d 333 (1977): Intermill v. Heumesser,

154 Colo. 496, 391 P.2d 684 (1964). (Emphasis added).

We cannot reject the conclusion of the trial judge that the

jury's award of compensatory damages was justified. Consid-

ering the whole of the evidence, including the plaintiff's

condition before and after the impact of the transactions, her

age, the medical testimony of present and permanent mental

injury to the plaintiff, and the jury’s opportunity to observe

Mr. and Mrs. Malandris’ testimony and her emotional appear-

ance on the stand, we are satisfied that the compensatory

award itself is not so plainly excessive that we should infer that

it was the product of passion or prejudice or hold that it is

shocking to the conscience of the court.

D. The punitive damages award

Defendant presses these principal arguments in objecting to

the award of punitive damages. First, it argues that the

evidence is insufficient to allow imposition of punitive dam-

ages against it as the corporate employer of Mr. Barron, even

assuming a sufficient showing to allow punitive damages

against Barron himself. Secondly, defendant asserts that the

punitive damages claim was barred by the Colorado one year

Statute of limitations imposed on actions to recover any

penalty or forfeiture under any penal statute. Third, defendant

says that the Colorado punitive damages statute, as applied in

this case, violates the federal Due Process and Equal Protec-

tion Clauses and the Colorado Due Process Clause. Lastly,

defendant strongly argues that the punitive award of

$3,000,000.00 is grossly excessive in any event.

7 No argument is made that punitive damages should not be awarded

in cases involving intentional infliction of emotional distress because

compensatory damages for that tort are themselves awarded due to

defendant's outrageous conduct. Cf. Eckenrode v. Life of America

Ins. Co., 470 F.2d 1, 5 (7th Cir.). It is clear that under Colorado law

both compensatory and punitive damages may be awarded for this

tort. Enright v. Groves, 560 P.2d 851, 854 (Colo. App.).

B-30

It is convenient to discuss the arguments on the statute of

limitations and the constitutional questions first, and then the

remaining questions which both require consideration of the

evidence pertaining to the punitive award.

(1) The one-year statute of limitations

The defendant argues that the plaintiff's claim for punitive

damages is barred by the statute of limitations provided by

§ 13-80-104 Colo. Rev. Stat. (1973).” This is a special statute

providing that all actions for any penalty or forfeiture on any

penal statute must be brought within one year. The Colorado

courts and the federal district judges in Colorado are divided

on the applicability of the statute to claims for punitive

damages.’ The latest opinion in Colorado is Jones v. Harding

Glass Co., _....P2d._. (Cole. Ct. App., July 3, 1960), which

held the one-year statute inapplicable in such circumstances,

one Judge dissenting. The Supreme Court of Colorado granted

certiorari to review that decision on November 28, 1980.

8 Section 13-80-104 provides:

“All actions and suits for any penalty or forfeiture of any penal

statute, brought by this state or any person to whom the penalty or

forfeiture is given, in whole or in part shall be commenced within

one year after the offense is committed and not after that time.”

The transactions in question occurred in the latter part of 1973 and

this action was commenced on February 14, 1975. This would be

within the three-year bar imposed by § 13-80-109 on actions for fraud

and within the six-year bar applicable to actions on the case pursuant

to § 13-80-110.

9 The cases holding that § 13-80-104 does apply include Sherwood vy.

Graco, inc., 427 F. Supp. i55 (D.Colo., Finesiiver, J.); Biser v.

Adkins, 75-F-1096 (D.Colo., January 26 and April 5, 1977, Finesilver,

J.) and Hixon v. Elano Products Co., 74-F-1163 (D.Colo., August 17,

1976, Finesilver, J.). Cases holding that § 13-80-104 does not apply

include Dorney v. Harris, 482 F.Supp. 323 (D.Colo.,Kane,J.);

Griswold v. Lange Co., C 4681 (D.Colo., April 18, 1977, Arraj, J.);

Alexander v. Graco, Inc., 75-W-104 (D.Colo., January 19, 1977,

Winner, C.J.); and Wagner v. Johns-Manville Products Corp., 77-

0703-2 (District Court, Boulder, Colo., January 10, 1978, Dane, J.);

Resource Exploration & Mining, Inc. v. Itel Corp., 492 F.Supp. 515,

§17 (D. Colo.) (Carrigan, J.).

B-31

The plaintiff responds that the argument based on the one

year statute is raised for the first time on appeal, that defen-

dant’s failure to assert the issue at trial constituted a waiver,

that the general statement of an affirmative defense that

plaintiff's claims are barred by the “applicable statutes of

limitations” was not sufficient notice to preserve the defense,

and that defendant made no motion concerning the defense to

the trial court. On the merits, plaintiff adopts the arguments of

the amicus and says that the special statute itself and the more

persuasive opinions demonstrate the inapplicability of the

one-year statute.

We agree that the issue concerning § 13-80-104 was not

presented in the trial court and may not be asserted for the first

time on appeal. It is true that defendant’s answer includes a

fourth defense that “[p]laintiff’s claims are barred by the

applicable statutes of limitations.” (Il App. 22). Further, the

pre-trial order also includes a statement among defendant’s

claims “ . . . that Plaintiff’s claims are barred by the applica-

ble statutes of limitation and the doctrine of laches, ratifica-

tion, waiver and estoppel. . .” and a statement that one of the

contested issues of law, according to defendant, is “[w]hether

plaintiff's claims are barred by the applicable statutes of

limitations.” (II App. 44, 49). Defendant points to no other

reference to limitations in the pleadings, orders, trial briefs and

cites no reference to § 13-80-104 or the theory that punitive

damages claims are governed by the one year statute applicable

to actions for any penalty or forfeiture on any penal statute.

We note that defendant’s trial brief filed September 13,

1977, following defendant’s answer and the September 6, 1977

pre-trial order, contains an argument as Proposition | that a

one-year statute of limitations applies to plaintiff's claim under

§ 12 (2) of the 1933 Securities Act. (I Orig. R. 84-85).'° This

10 ~—s-‘ This limitations argument is grounded on 1S U.S.C. § 77 m impos-

ing a one-year limitation on such a securities claim after the discovery

of the untrue statement or after such discovery should have been made

by the exercise or omission, of reasonable diligence, unless the action is

brought within one year after the violation, and in no event more than

three years after the sale of the security.

B-32

Securities Act claim was abandoned by the plaintiff at trial. We

note further that the trial brief of plaintiff contained a discus-

sion of punitive damages, but nowhere within such discussion

was any reference to limitations or the applicability of the

one-year statute of limitations of § 13-80-104 made. (I Orig.

R.99-102). Furthermore, we note that while the trial judge

discussed briefly defendant’s objections to the punitive dam-

ages verdict in his order denying the post-trial motions, he

made no reference to any contention by defendant based on

any statute of limitations. 447 F.Supp. at 546.

Thus there is not only a failure by plaintiff to assert

§ 13-80-104 by citation or theory in the trial court. Addi-

tionally, a different one-year limitation actually relied on re-

specting the Security Act claim was identified and argued, and

that one year statute became moot when plaintiff withdrew the

Security Act claim. Viewing the whole of these circumstances

in the record we must agree that the limitation imposed by

§ 13-80-104 was not raised in the trial court and may not be

asserted for the first time on appeal.'' See Singleton v. Wulff,

428 U.S. 106, 120; New v. Grant, 548 F.2d 281, 286-87 (10th

Cir.); Stanspec Corp. v. Jelco Inc., 464 F.2d 1184, 1187 (10th

Cir.); cf. Chiodo v. General Waterworks Corporation, 380 F.2d

860, 868 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 389 U.S. 1004.

11 Defendant additionally argues that the burden is on the plaintiff to

show that a claim for a penalty was commenced within the time

permitted by the statute, citing Afchison, T. & S.F. R. Co. v. Tanner,

36 P. $41 (Colo.) and Denning v. A. D. Wilson & Co., 326 P.2d 77

(Colo.). We recognize that in a diversity case the question of the

burden of proof is one of iocal law, even though the pleading

requirements are controlled by federal law. See Palmer v. Hoffman,

318 U.S. 109, 116-17. However, assuming the correctness of defen-

dant’s argument that the one-year statute applies, and that plaintiff

had the burden of proving the claim was brought within one year, there

is no indication from the record that defendant raised the issue

concerning § 13-80-104 at trial, or otherwise in the trial court, as

noted. Under these circumstances we will not now consider this issue.

B-33

(2) The challenge to the constitutionality of the

punitive damage statute

Defendant also presents a constitutional argument against

the punitive award. It contends that the Colorado punitive

damages statute, as applied in this case, is violative of the

federal Due Process and Equal Protection Clauses as well as

the Due Process Clause of the Colorado constitution. Defen-

dant reasons that punitive damages are penal in nature and

serve the same functions as criminal punishment. Yet none of

the procedural safeguards imposed in criminal proceedings are

afforded defendants subjected to punitive damages. (Brief of

Defendant, 45-52).

Plaintiff again responds that this argument was not raised at

trial and hence cannot be raised now. Replying on the merits,

plaintiff says that punitive damages statutes have been upheld

by the Supreme Court of the United States against like objec-

tions and that no violations of due process occurred here.

Further plaintiff argues that there are clear standards in the

statute which are applied with a great deal of certainty by the

Colorado courts. (Brief of Plaintiff, 58-60).

We have on occasion addressed questions raised for the first

time on appeal when they involved due process implications.

E.g., Staton v. Mayes, 552 F.2d 908, 915 (10th Cir.); cert

denied, 434 U.S. 907; Gomes v. Williams, 420 F.2d 1364, 1367

(10th Cir.); but see Curtis Publishing Co. v. Butts, 388 U.S.

130,143. Here we feel we should consider the constitutional

claim involving the due process and equal protection issues

raised.

We note that the defendant is not alone in questioning the

validity of punitive damage statutes. See, e.g., Dobbs, Hand-

book on the Law of Remedies, § 3.9, 219-20. Nevertheless, the |

Supreme Court has clearly recognized that “. . . the Constitu-

tion presents no general bar to the assessment of punitive

damages in a civil case. . .” Curtis Publishing Co. v. Butts,

388 U.S. 130, 159; see Day v. Woodworth, 54 U.S. 362, 371,

and we are not persuaded that any basis for a departure from

this view is demonstrated. The statute does clearly define strict

standards and they are applied carefully by the courts, as the

B-34

trial judge did here. Therefore we are convinced that the

Statute is valid and not violative of the federal or State

constitutions.’

(3) The claim that the evidence supported no award of puni-

tive damages and that the award was grossly excessive

Detendant argues that to impose punitive damages against a

corporation for the acts of an employee it must be shown that

the corporation authorized or approved the act for which

exemplary damages are claimed, or that it approved of or

participated in the wrong of its agent, or that it failed to

exercise proper care in selecting its agent. Defendant contends

that approval of a specific transaction without knowledge of

its wrongful aspects is an insufficient basis for holding a

corporation liable for punitive damages. Yet no more than this

was proven at trial; /.e. “that the sales manager and officer of

defendant’s Denver office had approved the opening of an

account in plaintiff’s name and were aware that the stock

transactions had occurred.” (Brief of Defendant, 38). And,

according to defendant, “there was not a scintilla of evidence

to indicate that any member of defendant’s management knew

of the alleged wrongs, let alone authorized or participated in

them.” (/d., 39). Further, it argues that there is no evidence to

indicate that defendant was negligent in hiring Mr. Barron.

Even if the court was correct in stating that defendant was

negligent in supervising Mr. Barron, negligent supervision is

not a sufficient basis on which to impose punitive damages.

I2 We tind no Colorado case dealing with the specific due process

arguments of defendant. An equal protection argument and a double

jeopardy contention, based on a prior criminal conviction preceding

the damage suit alleging the same facts, were rejected in E. F Hutton

and Co. v. Anderson, 896 P.2d 413 (Colo. App.). While not addressing

constitutional challenges, opinions of the Colorado Supreme Court

have upheld punitive damages awards under this same statute. E.z.,

Kresse v. Bennett, 379 P.2d 807, (Colo.); see also Herald Co. vy.

Harper, 293 F.Supp. 1101, 1105 (E.D.Mo.), aff’d., 410 F.2d 125 (8th

Cir.); Daugherty v. Firestone Tire and Rubber Co., 85 F.R.D. 693

(N.D.Ga.); Annotation, Constitutionality of Statute permitting puni-

tive damages for personal injury or death, §1 A.L.R. 1379.

B-35

Additionally, defendant asserts that the court erroneously

failed to instruct the jury that plaintiff must prove beyond a

reasonable doubt both the commission of the alleged wrong

and the authorization, approval or participation by the corpo-

ration. Similarly, defendant says that the court erred in refus-

ing to charge that an officer or director of defendant must

have authorized or participated in the wrong, rather than

someone as subordinate as a local manager. (/d., 36-40).

In rejecting the defendant’s objections to the punitive award

the trial judge stated in his Memorandum and Order (447

F.Supp. at 546):

The defendant contends that punitive damages are not

allowable in this case. On this issue the jury was in-

structed that such damages could be considered only if the

plaintiff had proven beyond a reasonable doubt that the

injury was attended by circumstances of fraud, malice,

insult or a wanton and reckless disregard of the rights and

feelings of the plaintiff. Again, I join the jury in the view

that the evidence was sufficient to make such a finding

and the amount of the damages imposed as a sanction

against the defendant bears a reasonable relationship to

the amount of the compensatory damages in the verdict.

Big O Tire Dealers, Inc. v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co.,

561 F.2d 1365 (10th Cir. 1977).

To say, as defendant argues, that the corporate defen-

dant cannot be sanctioned for the misconduct of its

employee in this case is to ignore the evidence that the

sales manager and office manager of the Denver office of

Merrill Lynch approved and participated in that miscon-

duct and failed to exercise proper care in selecting and

supervising this salesperson. The jury was properly in-

structed and there is sufficient evidence to support the

verdict for punitive damages.

We are persuaded to agree with the trial court’s conclusions

to the extent that a substantial punitive award was justified and

permissible under Colorado law. However, for reasons given

B-36

later we cannot agree to sustain a punitive award of this size in

these circumstances.

age 3

Colorado has long allowed punitive damages.'’ However, the

rule has developed that a principal cannot be held liable in

exemplary damages for the act of an agent unless it is shown

that it (a) authorized or approved the servant’s tortious act; or

(b) approved of or participated in the act; or (c) failed to

exercise proper care in the selection of its servant.'* Holland

Furnace Co. v. Robson, 402 P.2d 628, 631 (Colo.); see Ristine

v. Blocker, 61 P.486, 489 (Colo. App.); Lake Shore & Michigan

Southern Railway Co. v. Prentice, 147 U.S. 101; Restatement

(Second), Agency § 217C;'° Restatement (Second), Torts

§ 909.'°

13 Sec. 13-21-102, Colo. Rev. Stat. (1973), derived from an 1889

Statute, provides:

Exemplary damages. In all civil actions in which damages are

assessed by a jury for a wrong done to the person, or to personal or

real property, and the injury complained of is attended by circum-

stances of fraud, malice or insult, or a wanton and reckless

disregard of the injured party's rights and feelings, the jury, in

addition to the actual damages sustained by such party, may award

him reasonable exemplary damages.

14 This rule, known as the complicity rule, is apparently the current

minority rule, while the majority of courts allow punitive damages

against the employer under ordinary principles of respondeat superior.

See Dobb, Handbook on the Law of Remedies, § 3.9, 214 (1973);

Prosser, Handbook on the Law of Torts, § 2, 12 (1971).

15 § 217C provides:

Punitive damages can properly be awarded against a master or

other principal because of an act by an agent if, but only if:

(a) the principal authorized the doing and the manner of the act,

or

(b) the agent was unfit and the principal was reckless in employ-

ing him, or

(c) the agent was employed in a managerial capacity and was

acting in the scope of employment, or

(d) the principal or managerial agent of the principal ratified or

approved the act.

16 § 909 provides:

B-37

We agree with defendant that the evidence does not indicate

that it failed to exercise proper care in the selection of Mr.

Barron. Nevertheless, although the question is close we feel the

proof was sufficient to go to the jury on the issue of punitive

damages since there was some evidence to support inferences

of authorization or approval and participation by defendant’s

local managers'® in the tortious acts to the extent of being

wanton and reckless in handling the transactions.'” Defen-

dant’s rules, rules of the New York Stock Exchange, and of the

Chicago Board Options Exchange were in evidence. From the

various rules there were stated duties for defendant’s office

manager or his designate to be informed as to the essential

facts relative to the customer to approve opening his account,

to satisfy himself as to the desirability of such customer before

approving the acceptance of the account, to “qualify” the

customer before allowing him to trade in options (and stating

Punitive damages can properly be awarded against a master or

other principal because of an act by an agent if, but only if,

(a) the principal or managerial agent authorized the doing and

the manner of the act, or

(b) the agent was unfit and the principal or a managerial agent

was reckless in employing or retaining him, or

(c) the agent was employed in a managerial capacity and was

acting in the scope of employment, or

(d) the principal or managerial agent of the principal ratified or

approved the act

18 We reject defendant's assertion that the actions of a local manager

are insufficient to allow the imposition of punitive damages against the

corporation, especially where, as here, defendant delegated a great deal

of authority to its local branch managers. See Doralee Estates v. Cities

Oil Co., 569 F.2d 716, 721-22 (2d Cir); General Motors

Cir); Restatement

Service

Acceptance Corp. v. Froelich, 273 F.2d 92 (D4

(Second) Torts § 909

19 Hence we need not decide whether negligent supervision is sufficient

per se to impose punitive damages against the corporation. In the

instant case, it could be found that defendant's managerial agents had

an affirmative duty to participate in and approve some of the account

decisions, as discussed below. These duties would necessarily include

supervision of the account

B-38

that in some cases he may want to have a personal interview

with the customer, see Plaintiff’s Ex.31), and to approve a

switch from a cash to a margin account. (V App. 561-591, see,

e.g., Plaintiff's Exhibits 21-41). The trial court properly

charged the jury that (VI App. 912):

You have also heard testimony about these rules. While

these rules do not have the force of law and while no

liability can be found to result from the mere violation of

any or all of such rules, you may consider the fact that the

Defendant was a member of these organizations which

had adopted these rules in considering whether the con-

duct of the Defendant was such that liability should be

found under these instructions which are the applicable

law in this case.

See Master Commodities, Inc. v. Texas Cattle Management

Co., 586 F.2d 1352, 1357 (10th Cir.); Carelli v. Denber & Rio

Grande Western R.R. (No. 72-1487, 10th Cir., 12/26/73, pp.

5-6) (unpublished).

Defendant argues that “it is unreasonable to suggest that the

sales manager should be required to conduct a personal inter-

view as to everyone,” and that at most the manager was

negligent in his supervision of plaintiff’s account. While this

argument is persuasive, we do not feel the trial court erred in

submitting the punitive damages issue to the jury. The evidence

included the rules as evidentiary matter and evidence permit-

ting an inference of lack of any managerial contact with

plaintiff or any meaningful review or supervision of her trans-

actions. There was evidence indicating that defendant took

Mrs. Malandris’ stock as collateral for its loan, without any

authorization from her,”’ when the account was switched to a

margin account. (V A. 577-78).

20 There was evidence indicating that an hypothecation agreement had

been signed by Mr. Malandris in his own name, but that this authoriza

tron was returned by the New York office (which approved all such

documents) requestine an authorization signed by the customer, Mrs

Malandris. (Ill A. 186-203). The request for a properly executed

hypothecation was routed to Mr. Barron by a new accounts clerk in

B-39

Defendant's Denver sales manager testified that to the best

of his knowledge, he did approve the switch of plaintiff's

account from cash to margin. (V A.569). While written ap-

proval by defendant’s manager was required before options

transactions could be conducted, defendant produced no such

writing. Defendant’s own compliance rules forbid Merrill

Lynch employees acting as witnesses on power of attorney

forms, but one of its employees witnessed the forged signature

on the power of attorney in this account. Defendant’s Denver

sales manager testified that he initialed approval of the unsolic-

ited order for the sale of 5,000 shares of Northwest Airlines

stock at $17.25 per share which liquidated most of Mrs.

Malandris’ account. (V A. 585-86; see note 4b, supra). While

the case is not free from doubt, considering all the evidence the

jury could draw the inference that there was some managerial

participation in wanton and reckless handling of the trans-

actions so that the punitive damage matter was a jury issue.

See Restatement (Second) Agency § 213 and comment h.

The argument that the managers had no knowledge of

Barron's conduct is not persuasive. There was evidence from

which substantial responsibility of the managers for knowing

about this type of transaction could be inferred. It could be

found that the managers themselves disregarded proper safety

procedures, indicating wanton and reckless conduct on the part

of management. See Leslie v. Jones Chemical Co., 551 P.2d

234, 235 (Nev.); Franklin Inv. Co., v. Smith, 383 A.2d 355,

359 (D.C.App.); S.H. Kress & Co. v. Rust, 120 S.W.2d 425,

428 (Tex.).

Further, we do not find reversible error in the court's failure

to instruct that plaintiff must prove beyond a reasonable doubt

both the commission of the alleged wrong and the authoriza-

tion, approval or participation in the wrongful act by the

corporate management. Defendant did not make such an

objection to the charge at trial. (VI App. 822-27, 927-28). We

Denver when ts was received from New York. /d. There was no

evidence that an hypothecation agreement was ever signed by Mrs

Malandris or in her name

B-40

deem the objection waived and do not consider it here.

F.R.Civ.P. 51; Scholz Homes, Inc. v. Wallace, 590 F.2d 860,

864 (10th Cir.). And in view of the charge given on the burden

of proof as to punitive damages,”' we see no plain error. (See

VI A. 920-21, 926).

21 Defendant bases this assertion on 1973 Colo. Rev. Stat. § 13-25-127

(2) which provides:

Exemplary damages against the party against whom the claim is

asserted shall only be awarded in a civil action when the party

asserting the claim proves beyond a reasonable doubt the commis-

sion of a wrong under the circumstances set forth in section

13-21-102. Nothing in this subsection (2) shall be construed as

preventing a party asserting the claim from being awarded money

damages or other appropriate relief, other than exemplary dam-

ages, if he sustains the burden of proof by a preponderance of the

evidence.

The instruction given by the trial court explicitly stated that the

plaintiff must prove “beyond a reasonable doubt that the injury

complained of was attended by circumstances of fraud, malice, insult

or a wanton and reckless disregard of the rights and feelings of the

Plaintiff.” (VI App. 920). Further, the charge stated that in order to

award punitive damages the jury must also further find that the

plaintiff had proved that the Denver sales managcr or office manager

authorized or approved the manner and doing of the act for which

exemplary damages are claimed, or that they approved of or partici-

pated in the wrong of the agent, or that they failed to exercise proper

care in selecting the agent and he was unfit. (/d. at 921). Then, in a

later portion of the charge on compensatory and punitive damages the

court instructed the jurors, “. . . and if you find beyond a reasonable

doubt that punitive damages should be awarded in the case, then you

would use the form of verdict for Plaintiff on punitive damages.” (/d.

at 926).

As stated earlier, we feel the evidence was insufficient to establish

that defendant was negligent in hiring Mr. Barron. Hence the portion

of the instructions noted above presenting the alternative theory of

negligent hiring was subject to an objection. Where there is an

objection to the erroneous submission of one alternative theory of

liability, it can be argued that a general verdict cannot stand since it

cannot be determined whether the jury based liability on the theory

erroneously submitted. E.g., Sunkist v. Winckler & Smith Co., 370

U.S. 19, 27, 30. Here, although defendant argued that there was no

corporate involvement on any basis for submission of the punitive

damage issue, defendant did not object to the instruction at trial, or on

appeal, on the ground that it included an alternative submission of the

negligent hiring theory, and the charge given was similar in this respect

to defendant's tendered instruction on the complicity rule which

B-4]

In sum, we are satisfied that no reversible error is demon-

strated in the submission to the jury of the punitive damage

issue.

We turn now to defendant’s vigorous objections that the

$3,000,000 punitive award is grossly excessive. Defendant says

that the award bears no rational relationship to the alleged

injury and notes that it is three times the size of the maximum

fine permitted under federal law for a criminal act. It says that

this demonstrates that “the verdict was dictated by emotion,

and not by any reasoned consideration of the evidence.” (Brief

of Defendant 35-36).

The Colorado Supreme Court has stated that the purpose of

punitive damages is to punish the wrongdoer and deter similar

conduct in the future. Frick v. Abell, 602 P.2d 852, 854

(Colo.). The proper factors to be considered include: (1) the

nature of the act which caused the injury; (2) the economic

status of the defendant; and (3) the deterrent effect of the

award on others. /d. In addition, Colorado requires that the

punitive damages bear some relation to the compensatory

award. Big O Tire Dealers v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co.,

561 F.2d 1365, 1376 (10th Cir.), cert. dismissed, 434 U.S. 1052;

Wegener v. Rodeo Cowboys Association, 290 F.Supp. 369, 370

(D.Colo.); aff'd, 417 F.2d 881 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 398

U.S. 903.

Punitive damages have been sustained under Colorado law

in ratios as high as six-to-one in comparison to compensatory

damages, see Big O Tire Dealers, supra. Thus the approxi-

mately three-to-one ratio in the present case presents no prob-

lem in itself. Moreover, there was evidence indicating that in

included the alternative of negligent hiring. (1 R.160). There was

sufficient evidence to sustain punitive damages under the other theories

of managerial involvement. In these circumstances, we feel that any

error in submitting the negligent hiring theory should not now be

considered on appeal. Union Pacific Railroad Co. v. Lumbert, 401

F.2d 699, 701-02 (10th Cir.); Comins v. Scrivener, 214 F.2d 810, 814

(10th Cir.); Rochester Civic Theatre, Inc., v. Ramsay, 368 F.2d 748,

751-53 (8th Cir.). See Continental Oil Co. v. Brack, 381 F.2d 682,

684-85 (10th Cir.); Sunkist v. Winckler & Smith Co., supra, 370 U.S.

at 27.

B-42

1976 defendant had total assets worth over six billion, six

hundred million dollars, shareholders’ equity of over six hun-

dred thirty-two million dollars, and a net worth of over one

hundred six million dollars. (See Plaintiff’s Ex. 85). However,

the crucial question for us here is whether the punitive award

was so excessive that it shocks the judicial conscience or leads

to an inescapable inference that it resulted from improper

passion or prejudice on the part of the jury.

We must agree the $3,000,000 punitive award is excessive

and unwarranted. An award of substantial compensatory dam-

ages and sizeable financial worth do not inescapably mean that

some ratio of punitive damages is permissible. The question

remains here as to whether the verdict is shocking to the

conscience of the court or excessive under the statute providing

that the jury “may award [the plaintiff] reasonable exemplary

damages.” § 13-21-102, Colo. Rev. Stat. (1973); see, Kresse v.

Bennett, supra, 379 P.2d at 808. Keeping in mind all the

relevant factors we are convinced that the $3,000,000 award is

excessive and beyond a reasonable punitive award under the

Colorado statute and must be reduced. See Lanfranconi v.

Tidewater Oil Co., 376 F.2d 91, 96-98 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,

389 U.S. 951; Kresse v. Bennett, supra, 379 P2d at 808;

Mooney v. Henderson Portion Pack Co., 339 F.2d 64, 65-66

(6th Cir.); Texas Co. v. Christian, 177 F.2d 759, 762 (Sth Cir.).

This conviction that the punitive award was excessive does

not lead us to the conclusion that the liability determination

was tainted here. As explained in Part I C, supra, we are

persuaded that a new trial on liability need not be ordered and

that the established remedy of remittitur, long used by the

federal courts, is proper and fair here. *'* We are convinced,

therefore, that we should require a remittitur to reduce the

punitive award to $1,000,000, for the judgment to stand. If the

plaintiff declines to accept a reduced judgment, there should

21a The authorities cited in Part I C, supra, and cases noted in the text

above illustrate familiar use of the remittitur remedy as proper. See the

discussion in 6A Moore's Federal Practice, ¢ 59.05{3] p. 59-47 to

59-68.

B-43

be a new trial on all issues since we feel that a new trial on less

than all the issues could not be had without confusion and

uncertainty, which would amount to a denial of a fair trial.

Gasoline Products Co. v. Champlin Refining Co., 283 U.S.

494, 500. Accordingly we remand the cause with directions that

the trial court enter a remittitur order for acceptance of a

judgment reducing the punitive award to $1,000,000 or

otherwise for a new trial of all issues.

E. Defendant's motion for a mistrial

In the appeal from the original judgment, defendant argues

further that the court should have granted a mistrial due to

emotional outbursts by plaintiff and her husband during Mr.

Barron’s testimony. The denial of the motion was an abuse of

discretion, according to defendant. Although ihe jury was

asked to leave when the outbursts began, defendant contends

that the jury was present during at least part of the scene.

Further, defendant suggests that plaintiff’s counsel should have

anticipated that such a reaction would occur and should not

have allowed the plaintiff to be present during Barron’s testi-

mony.

Defendant adds that the above errors were compounded by

plaintiff's counsel who “repeatedly appealed for sympathy for

the plaintiff, and sought to incite hostility against the defen-

dant,” by references to plaintiff’s poverty and defendant’s

wealth. (Brief of Defendant, 25-31). Further, the “cumulative

prejudice” was increased due to “speeches and outbursts” by

plaintiff's husband during his cross-examination. (/d.) Thus,

alternatively defendant urges this court at least to reverse for a

new trial.

The conduct which prompted the motion for a mistrial came

during the redirect examination of Mr. Barron, and was

described by the trial judge as follows:

The record ought to reflect that auring the testimony of

Mr. Barron on cross-examination by Mr. Fishman, Mrs.

Malandris, who was seated in the public sector of the

courtroom in the first row behind the bar, began to cry

B-44

and then began to scream, and I ordered the jury out of

the box and excused them. As they were walking out of

the box, Mr. Malandris jumped up and began to yell,

something about, “How can a man lie like that?” and

began to pound his fists against the seat. (VApp. 723-24).

The jury was excused as soon as Mrs. Malandris’ outburst

began. The trial judge could not say on his own observation

where the jury was when Mr. Malandris began to yell, but

thought the jurors were on their way out. /d. at 724. An

immediate motion for a mistrial was made and denied. (/d.)

The jurors were given a cautionary instruction when they

returned to the courtroom including, inter alia, instructions

not to consider the outbursts as evidence, not to allow such

occurrences to affect their opinion, and not to judge the case

on the basis of sympathy or prejudice. (V App. 724-25). A

subsequent motion for a new trial, based in part on these

outbursts, was denied by the trial judge for reasons which he

explained in detail (447 F.Supp. at 546-47):

The intervening day of testimony and weekend between

the Malandris’ conduct and closing arguments and sub-

mission to the jury must be considered in evaluating any

effect of this unfortunate incident on the jury’s delibera-

tion. Additionally, the conduct of Mr. and Mrs. Malandris

must be viewed in the context of the trial. There is

nothing to indicate that either of these people engaged in

any theatrics or that they deliberately attempted to use

this as a means to communicate with the jury. Having

observed the entire trial, including the incident in ques-

tion, it is my finding and conclusion that these outbursts

were genuine human responses to testimony which was

not credible and which went directly to the pivotal issues

in the case. Mrs. Malandris’ actions were entirely consis-

tent with the testimony of both psychiatrists. Mr. Malan-

dris’ reaction to the testimony of Mr. Barron can best be

characterized as instinctive, uncontrolled anger. It is not

possible to try lawsuits in a sterile chamber, wholly free

from the effects of human emotions, particularly in a case

B-45

in which the injury complained of is severe emotional

distress. The prejudice to the defendant in this case from

the emotional outburst by the plaintiff is no greater thana

plaintiff's display of disfigured or dismembered parts of

his body on a claim for physical injury. See S. Gard,

Jones on Evidence § 15:4 at 10 (6th ed. 1972).

While both parties have cited state court decisions which

may indeed be considered, the ruling on such a motion is

governed by federal law. See Holmes v. Wack, 464 F.2d 86, 88

(10th Cir.); 6A Moore’s Federal Practice € 59.05. The matter

of declaring a mistrial or granting a new trial on such grounds

is peculiarly within the discretion of the trial judge for he is in

a better position than this court to assess the potentially

prejudicial impact of such conduct by parties, witnesses and

counsel. Standard Industries, Inc. v. Mobil Oil Corp., 475 F.2d

220, 228 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 829: see Franklin v.

Shelton, 250 F.2d 92, 99-100 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 355 U.S.

959.

Furthermore, even though it is true, as plaintiff states, that

defendant did not object to many of the errors it now com-

plains of, we acknowledge the proposition asserted by defen-

dant that litigants are entitled to a fair trial and that frequent

objections, even though valid, may prejudice the party object-

ing. Koufakis v. Carvel, 425 F.2d 892, 900-901 (2d Cir.). Hence

we have considered these claims of error to determine whether

they were of such magnitude as to have seriously prejudiced

defendants’ right to a fair trial. Edwards v. Sears, Roebuck

and Co., 512 F.2d 276, 286 (Sth Cir.).

We conclude that the trial court did not abuse its discretion

in these circumstances. As noted in Franklin v. Shelton, supra,

250 F.2d at 99:

[T]he conduct of a party in weeping or crying in the

courtroom does not necessarily justify a new trial, where

it does not clearly appear that such conduct improperly

influenced the jury. Nothing in the record indicates that

the trial Judge abused his discretion in not ordering a

mistrial. It must be presumed that he was in the best

B-46

position to discover whether plaintiff's conduct had such

an effect upon the jury that the trial could not continue

on a fair basis.

See also Price v. H.B. Green Transportation Line Inc., 287

F.2d 363, 364 (7th Cir.).

In view of the trial judze’s conclusions we have noted, we

cannot agree that the conduct of the plaintiff and her husband

is comparable to the “schooled histrionics, affected ignorance

of matters on which they possessed virtually expert knowledge,

[and] their dramatizations and theatrical displays” which

would have req:tired 4 new trial in the court’s opinion, al-

though dismissal was ordered on other grounds in Drasner v.

Thomson McKinnon Securities, Inc., 433 F.Supp. 485, 489-91

(S.D.N.Y.); see Cecil Corley Motor Co., v. General Motors

Corp., 380 F.Supp. 819, 861 (M.D. Tenn.). Nor did the closing

argument of plaintiff’s counsel “so far exceed the bounds of

proper argument that we are bound to reverse the district

court,” as was done in Draper v. Airco, Inc., 580 F.2d 91, 94

(3d Cir.), and Edwards v. Sears, Roebuck and Company, 512

F.2d 276 (Sth Cir.). Taken together, the theories of liability and

the compensatory and punitive damages issues justified fair

comment, within reasonable bounds of vigorous advocacy, on

defendant’s conduct, its financial status, and the purpose of

deterrence.

We are satisfied that there was no abuse of discretion or

reversible error in the denial of the motion for a mistrial.

THE APPEAL FROM THE DENIAL OF THE

RULE 60(b) MOTION

In No. 78-1855 defendant appeals from the trial court’s

order denying defendant's motion to set aside the judgment

and to grant a new trial pursuant to F.R.Civ.P. 60(b)(2) and

22 E.R.Civ.P. 60(b) provides in pertinent part

B-47

Defendant asserts that newly discovered evidence secured

from the SEC, the FBI and the Denver District Attorney’s

office, demonstrates that Mr. Malandris lied throughout the

trial. According to Merrill Lynch this evidence shows, inter

alia: 1) that Mr. Malandris sought to file a false criminal report

accusing Barron of having forged plaintiff’s signature to a

power of attorney, which Mr. Malandris subsequently admitted

having forged himself; 2) that Mr. Malandris first came to

Merrill Lynch because he wanted to “sell short” and his

previous broker would not allow him to do so; 3) that before

trial Mr. Malandris had demonstrated substantial knowledge of

financial matters, even to the point of correcting a mistake by

an SEC attorney as to the mechanics of selling short; and 4)

that Mr. Malandris was not totally dependent on Barron for

investment advice and admitted to the FBI that in November

1973 he directed Barron to execute certain stock transactions.

(Brief of Defendant 9-10).

Defendant claims that this evidence is newly discovered,

could not have been discovered in time to move for a new trial

under F.R.Civ.P. 59(b), and is of such a material and control-

ling nature that it would probably change the verdict. Because

the case was dependent almost entirely on the testimony of Mr.

Barron and Mr. Malandris, credibility was a crucial factor in

the case. Thus defendant argues that the newly discovered

evidence, directly contrary to Mr. Malandris’ testimony at

trial, would have changed the outcome of the trial. Defendant

maintains that, contrary to the trial court's determination, it

had indeed exercised due diligence in attempting to gather this

information at an earlier time. It was not a lack of diligence

but rather a change in circumstances that resulted in the

eviderice being produced after the judgment. According to

On motion and upon such terms as are just, the court may relieve

a party or his legal representative from a final judgment, order, or

proceeding for the following reasons: (2) newly discovered

evidence which by due diligence could not have been discovered in

time to move for a new trial under Rule $9%(b); (3) fraud (whether

heretofore denominated intrinsic or extrinsic), misrepresentation, or

other misconduct of an adverse party

B-48

defendant, various Government agencies had _ repeatedly

refused requests to produce evidence until the changed circum-

stance of the large verdict in this case. It was only then that the

agencies decided, “in the interest of justice,” to release addi-

tional information. (/d. 19-26).

Defendant additionally argues that this same evidence dem-

onstrates that the judgment was procured through fraud in

that it shows that Mr. Malandris “repeatedly and systemati-

cally perjured himself at trial. . .” (/d. at 26); accordingly the

judgment should have been set aside and a new trial granted.

Plaintiff responds that defendant’s allegations are unsup-

ported by any admissible evidence. Further, this “new” evi-

dence concerns collateral issues or seeks Only to impeach Mr.

Malandris’ testimony. Plaintiff argues that defendant was not

diligent in attempting to locate this evidence since it made no

formal attempts to obtain any information from Government

sources prior to trial. In fact, plaintiff says that much of the

allegedly “new” evidence was in defendant’s possession before

the trial and some of it was actually used by the defendant at

trial. (Brief of Plaintiff at 1-7).

At the conclusion of a hearing the trial court denied defen-

dant’s motion. With respect to the 60(b)(2) motion, it was

found that the evidence would be impeaching and collateral

and also that defendant failed to make an adequate showing

that the information was not available at an earlier time

through the exercise of due diligence. With respect to the claim

under Rule 60(b)(3), the court held that fraud had not been

shown. (VIII App. 1114-1118).

We are satisfied that the record amply supports the trial

court's findings and conclusions made in denying the motion.

There is evidence that much of the proof could have been

discovered earlier through due diligence such as by the filing of

formal Freedom of Information Act requests promptly or by

contacting parties known to defendant prior to trial who might

have pertinent information. Nor do we feel that the district

court erred in holding that fraud had not been shown, particu-

larly in view of his conclusions, formec at his vantage point,

an. the credibility af the twa principal witnesses. In holding

B-49

that the testimony about the SEC contact with Mr. Malandris

and Mr. Malandris’ contacts with the Denver District Attor-

ney’s office did not justify a new trial, the trial judge stated

(VIII A. at 1115):

I sat through this trial. I watched both of these wit-

nesses whose testimony is challenged sitting on the witness

stand, and it is my view that if that additional [24]

testimony had been presented at trial, it would not have

changed my opinion which I expressed myself in the post

verdict memorandum and order that I join the pid ape

believing the version of the contacts with the Merrill,

Lynch firm and Mr. Barron that was given by Mr. Malan-

dris, and I do not believe the testimony of Mr. Barron.

In reviewing the denial of a Rule 60(b) motion, we are

mindful that the decision whether to grant relief is addressed to

the sound discretion of the trial court, Chief Freight Lines Co.

v. Local Union No. 886, 514 F.2d 572, 576-77 (10th Cir.);

Wilkin v. Sunbeam Corp., 466 F.2d 714 (10th Cir.), cert.

denied, 409 U.S. 1126. We are generally limited to determining

whether the ruling amounts to an abuse of discretion. V.7-A.,

Inc. v. Airco, Inc., 597 F.2d 220, 223 (10th Cir.); see Security

Mutual Cas. Co. v. Century Cas. Co., 621 F.2d 1062, 1068

(10th Cir.). We conclude that the record supports the trial

judge’s ruling and that he did not err or abuse his discretion in

denying the Rule 60(b) motion for a new trial.

CONCLUSION

Accordingly, in No. 78-1855 the district court’s order deny-

ing the motion made under Rule 60(b) is affirmed. In No.

77-1957, we conclude that the judgment should be affirmed,

provided that the plaintiff accepts a reduction in the punitive

award to $1,000,000. Therefore the cause is remanded to the

district court with directions that an order be entered providing

that if, within a reasonable time to be fixed by the district

court, the plaintiff accepts a reduction of the judgment by

B-50

reducing the punitive damages award to $1,000,000 or thus a

total judgment of $2,030,000, with costs and interest as pro-

vided in and accruing from the entry of the original judgment,

then the judgment as so modified shall be final; otherwise, an

order shall be entered granting a new trial of the cause.

APPENDIX C

Dissenting Opinion of Judge Logan

Nos. 77-1957 and 78-1855

7

JUNG JA MALANDRIS

Vv.

MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER

& SMITH, INCORPORATED

>

LOGAN, Circuit Judge, dissenting:

I agree with most of the analysis in the carefully crafted

majority opinion. But in important respects I disagree and,

therefore, must dissent.

The trial judge here refused to grant a new trial sought by

Merrill Lynch on grounds that the actual and punitive damages

awards were grossly excessive. As an appellate court reviewing

that denial, we apply the well-established abuse of discretion

standard. E.g., Brown v. Richard H. Wacholz, Inc., 467 F.2d

18 (10th Cir. 1972); Barnes v. Smith, 305 F.2d 226 (10th Cir.

1962). This Circuit has firmly stated that “absent an award so

excessive or inadequate as to shock the judicial conscience and

to raise an irresistible inference that passion, prejudice, corrup-

tion or other improper cause invaded the trial, the jury’s

determination of the fact is considered inviolate.” Jd., 305 F.2d

at 228 (emphasis added). In many cases through the years we

have made the same categorical statements that the judgment

must be affirmed unless the award is so high that passion and

prejudice must have affected the verdict. See Minker v. St.

Louis-S.F. Ry., 574 F.2d 1056 (10th Cir. 1978); Brown v.

Skaggs-Albertson’s Properties, Inc., 563 F.2d 983 (10th Cir.

C-2

1977); Metcalfe v. Atchison, T. & S.F. Ry., 491 F.2d 892 (10th

Cir. 1974); Brown v. Richard H. Wacholz, Inc., 467 F.2d 18

(10th Cir. 1972); Ketchum v. Nall, 425 F.2d 242 (10th Cir.

1970); Lane v. Gorman, 347 F.2d 332 (10th Cir. 1965); Grey-

hound Corp. v. Jones, 327 F.2d 904 (10th Cir. 1964); Franklin

v. Shelton, 250 F.2d 92 (10th Cir. 1957), cert. denied, 355 U.S.

959 (1958); E. L. Farmer & Co. v. Hooks, 239 F.2d 547 (10th

Cir. 1956), cert. denied, 353 U.S. 911 (1957); Chicago, R.I. &

Pac. Ry. v. Kifer, 216 F.2d 753 (10th Cir. 1954), cert. denied,

348 U.S. 917 (1955); Earl W. Baker & Co. v. Lagaly, 144 F.2d

344 (10th Cir. 1944).

If the verdict is the result of passion and prejudice we must

reverse and send the case back for a new trial. Minneapolis, St.

P. & S.S.M.R. v. Moquin, 283 U.S. 520 (1931); 11 Wright &

Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure, § 2815 (1973); 6A

Moore’s Federal Practice ¢ 59.05[3], p.59-59 (1979). In Mo-

quin, the Supreme Court forbade the use of remittitur in a case

where the verdict was found excessive as a result of passion or

prejudice. As explained in Moquin,

“no verdict can be permitted to stand which is found to be

in any degree the result of appeals to passion and preju-

dice. Obviously such means [prejudicial conduct] may be

quite as effective to beget a wholly wrong verdict as to

produce an excessive one. A litigant gaining a verdict

thereby will not be permitted the benefit of calculation,

which can be little better than speculation, as to the extent

of the wrong inflicted upon his opponent.”

283 U.S. at 521-22.

Appellate courts have ordered remittiturs when reversible

error is found in the trial proceedings, the effects of which can

be reasonably approximated to either a definite portion of a

verdict Or a maximum amount. See 6A Moore’s Federal

Practice 4 59.05(3). We did that in R.E.B., Inc. v. Ralston

Purina Co., 525 F.2d 749 (10th Cir. 1975), when erroneous

instructions resulted in the jury awarding double recovery. See

also Allied Materials Corp. v. Superior Products Co., 620 F.2d

224 (10th Cir. 1980). I recognize that some other appellate

C-3

courts seem to have gone further and substituted their judg-

ment for that of a jury or trial judge, when they considered the

damages merely excessive. E.g., Abernathy v. Southern Pac.

Ry., 426 F.2d 512 (Sth Cir. 1970); Lanfranconi v. Tidewater Oil

Co., 376 F.2¢ 91 (2d Cir. 1967).

The instant case is not one in which we can reasonably

approximate the amount of the jury’s error without acting as a

second jury. The awards at issue here—for emotional suffering

and punitive damages—are of such indeterminate character

that there are no criteria for segregation. We have only our

overall impressions to guide us, our judicial conscience. | do

not trust the personal opinion of appellate judges, including

myself, based on a review of the written record only, to

fine-tune damages awards in such a case; but I can determine

whether an award is so excessive as to shock my judicial

conscience and raise the irresistible inference that passion and

prejudice affected the jury verdict.

This is such a case, I believe, and I think the proper

approach is to remand for retrial so that new fact-finders can

assess the proper damages to award. The actual damages

award made in this case profoundly shocks me to the extent |

am convinced passion and prejudice entered into the deter-

mination. The world has changed a great deal since a judgment

of $5,000 for the death of a six-year old would be challenged as

excessive. See, e.g., Earl W. Baker & Co. v. Lagaly, 144 F.2d

344 (10th Cir. 1944). Still, apparently the largest verdict for

emotional stress ever awarded in Colorado is $30,000. Merrill

Lynch claims the largest award previously made in the United

States is $60,000, when there was no physical injury or death.

One publication specializing in reporting personal injury ver-

dicts indicates awards as high as $90,000 for intentional inflic-

tion of mental suffering, though it is not apparent whether

physical injury occurred there. 2A Personal Injury Valuation

Handbooks 1455 (1976). Here the award for mental suffering

is $1,000,000. This figure appears to have been plucked from

the air; it is not supported by any documentation. Mrs.

Malandris’ condition required neither hospitalization nor pro-

fessional care at home. Indeed, we have no evidence she saw

C-4

any doctor other than the psychiatrist who testified for her at

trial. She was able to attend the trial and to be a witness,

although she cried a lot on the stand. The record shows her

neurosis stemming from the Merrill Lynch incident was pre-

ceded by emotional problems relating to a host of other

personal troubles.

The same infirmity seems to apply to the punitive damages

award. I am not prepared to say a $3,000,000 award against a

national corporation is excessive in all circumstances. Relevant

to corporate liability for punitive damages is the management

level of the officials who participated in the tort or who could

be regarded as culpable. Here only Barron’s immediate super-

visors were inculpated to any degree, and the evidence against

them merely suggests they disregarded proper safety proce-

dures established by the company. Considering the low level of

corporate involvement in this case, | am convinced that this

$3,000,000 punitive damages award is a product of passion and

prejudice.

In reaching my conclusions I am also influenced in part by

several highly inflammatory moments during the trial. During

Barron’s testimony on the pivotal issues of the case, Mrs.

Malandris began crying and screaming. As the jury was being

removed from the room because of that incident, Mr. Malan-

dris jumped up and yelled that he would kill Barron and that

Barron was a liar. (App. 721-23). This dramatic scene was

preceded by a brief direct examination of Mrs. Malandris,

during which she apparently wept at nearly each question.

(App. 556-61). Another incident involved Mr. Malandris.

During cross-examination, confronted with the fact that his

deposition conflicted with his testimony that he never read the

New York Times, Malandris replied,

“That is not true. You are saying things. If you want to

Say it, say it.

“I’m talking, not you. I’m not no match for no 20

people in college. If you want to trick me, fine, you can

do it, trick me, it is a very easy thing to do. Make you feel

like a big man, just do it, fine.”

C-5

Upon being cautioned to just answer the question, Malandris

replied: “I’m sorry. | have never read the New York Times.

God help me, so help me, let me die in this chair.” (App.

404-05).

Because punitive damages were sought, counsel for Malan-

dris was allowed to comment to the jury on Merrill Lynch’s

considerable net worth. On the other hand, because Malandris’

emotional distress resulted from her loss of financial security,

her extremely impoverished life was presented. Counsel re-

quested the jury to

“send a message, a warning, a deterrent to this country, to

this state, to this city, to New York, to Chicago, to San

Francisco, to Los Angeles, telling those people who were

entrusted with the life savings of others that they shall not

conceal—they shall not bear false witness to signatures.

They shall not gamble with other people’s money. They

shall not take advantage of the uneducated.”

(App. 863)

I believe that the foregoing events, combined with the

grossly excessive awards, amply demonstrate that passion and

prejudice invaded the trial. This being so, the proper action on

our part is to order a new trial.

APPENDIX D

Dissenting Opinion of Chief Judge Seth

on Rehearing In Banc

No. 77-1957

ae

JUNG JA MALANDRIS

—_—V—

MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER & SMITH, INC.

>

SETH, Chief Judge, dissenting.

I must respectfully dissent from the majority opinion and

also indicate a disagreement with some of the concurring

opinions. In my view, the problem in this appeal does not arise

from the fact of, nor from the amount of, the punitive

damages. Instead, the error in the verdict and judgment is that

the compensatory damages are excessive and were the result of

passion and prejudice. The compensatory award was

$1 030,000.00.

The record shows that the damages complained of were

from a variety of sources, there were preexisting problems, the

testimony was by lay witnesses as to their subjective evalua-

tions, there were marital problems, the alleged forgery and the

extensive participation by the husband. The amount of money

involved must also be included. It was in this context that there

was injected the passion and prejudice resulting mostly from

the outbursts by the plaintiff in the courtroom. The result was

that a large measure of punitive damages was included in the

compensatory award. The amount of the compensatory dam-

ages is just too large to be otherwise explained. I don’t think

this can be cured by a reduction in the amount of punitive

D-2

damages. The general view is that there should be no remittitur

where there is passion and prejudice. Again, considering the

amount of money invested by plaintiff and her then existing

condition, the compensatory damage award must be grossly

excessive.

It is apparent that appellate courts may order remittitur. The

question remains as to how it should be exercised. | would

limit it to formula cases, Big O Tire Dealers v. Goodyear Tire

& Rubber Co., 561 F.2d 1365 (10th Cir.), or double recovery

cases and other instances where there is present some adequate

measure for a reduction. | find no measure whatever in the

case before us and thus would hold that a remand for a new

trial is required.

The awarded punitive amount is not too far out of line

comparing it to the excessive compensatory award and the

position of the defendant. The remittitur ordered by the

majority moves the punitive award from the higher end of the

ratio or scale to the lower end. This is done with the comments

in the panel opinion that the award is excessive and unwar-

ranted. This again points to the excessive nature of the com-

pensatory award not the punitive damage award.

It would thus remand the case for a new trial on all issues.

APPENDIX E

Concurring and Dissenting Opinion of Judge Seymour

on Rehearing In Banc

No. 77-1957

+

JUNG JA MALANDRIS

ome Y _—

MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER & SMITH. INC.

*

SEYMOUR, Circuit Judge, with whom MCKAY, Circuit Judge,

joins, concurring and dissenting.

The only point of disagreement between the majority panel

opinion and the dissent is whether the jury’s determination of

liability was tainted by passion and prejudice, thus requiring a

new trial. The dissent concludes that passion and prejudice did

infect the jury’s determination of liability and that a new trial

is required. The dissent bases that conclusion on what it

perceives to be an excessive award of both actual and punitive

damages, as well as the occurrence of emotional incidents

during trial that the dissent believes inflamed the jury. The

majority, on the other hand, concludes that passion and preju-

dice did not affect the finding of liability and that a new trial is

therefore not mandated. With respect to the award of dam-

ages, the majority finds the actual damages not excessive:

however, it finds the punitive damages so excessive that a

remittitur is in order.

I agree with the majority opinion in all respects except in its

conclusion that a portion of the punitive damages must be

remitted. After reviewing the law and the record in this case, |

am convinced the entire award should stand.

E-2

The district court concluded that passion and prejudice did

not affect the jury’s determination of liability:

“Considering the evidence as a whole, in my judgment,

this jury verdict was produced not by any passion, preju-

dice or sympathy generated by the plaintiff's conduct or

that of her husband; it was, rather, the product of a sense

of outrage and indignation about the callous and cavalier

conduct of the defendant’s agent acting in complete

disregard of the rights and sensitivities of the plaintiff

whose emotional and economic security was in his

hands.”

Malandris v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, 447

F.Supp. 543, 547 (D. Colo. 1977). This decision must be

accorded great deference.’ In my judgment the record supports

the determination in this case.

Inferring passion and prejudice solely from the size of the

verdict is unwarranted. Here, the dissent bases its conclusion

both on the size of the verdict and on the occurrence of several

emotional outbursts by Mrs. Malandris and her husband

during the trial. However, | do not agree that these outbursts

support the dissent’s conclusion. The record contains abundant

evidence of an outrageous course of conduct by defendant's

broker. The district judge who heard the spontaneous out-

bursts, which were made in response to the broker’s testimony

portraying Mr. Malandris as a liar, viewed them as “genuine

human responses to testimony which was not credible,” /d. at

$47. In addition, the judge considered Mrs. Malandris’ reac-

tion as a demonstration of the extent of her mental and

emotional damage, creating no greater prejudice to the defen-

dant than when a plaintiff who suffers physical injuries from

l One authority states that “[t}]he trial court's determination as to

whether the verdict is the result of the passion or prejudice will not be

disturbed on appeal, unless the determination ts clearly erroneous.” 6A

J. Moore, Moore’s Federal Practice { $9.05{3) at 59-59 (1982). The

trial court’s denial of a motion for new trial will be reversed only upon

a finding of a gross abuse of discretion. Holmes v. Wack, 464 F.2d 86,

89 (10th Cir. 1972).

E-3

the tort of another displays those injuries to the jury by

appearing in the courtroom. /d. Viewing the incidents in the

context of the trial, I am not led to an irresistible inference that

the verdict on liability was the result of the outbursts rather

than the jury’s extreme indignation over the broker’s activities.

I also agree with the panel majority that the amount of

compensatory damages awarded Mrs. Malandris is not exces-

sive. The record establishes that the jury was not considering

minor emotional distress when it computed the damages but

had before it evidence showing that Mrs. Malandris incurred

extensive, possibly permanent, emotional injury that had de-

stroyed her ability to function normally. Under these circum-

stances, the award of $1,000,000 does not shock my judicial

conscience.

Notwithstanding my agreement with the panel majority thus

far, | cannot concur in the remittitur ordered as to the punitive

damages. I recognize that in some cases the award of punitive

damages may be so excessive that it shocks the judicial con-

science, even though the jury’s resolution of the issue of

liability is free from passion and prejudice. See, e.g., Holmes

v. Wack, 464 F.2d 86, 89 & n.3 (10th Cir. 1972); 6A J. Moore,

Moore's Federal Practice 4 59.05{3] at 59-67 to 68 (1982); 11

C. Wright & A. Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure § 2820

at 133-35 (1973). In such cases, remittitur furthers both justice

and judicial economy. However, after reviewing the record in

this case, and considering the size of the corporate defendant

and the reprehensible nature of the conduct giving rise to the

injury, the amount of punitive damages assessed against Merrill

Lynch does not shock my judicial conscience.

Ordering a remittitur in this case is particularly troublesome

because no independent basis exists to support it apart from

the size of the verdict. As the majority recognizes, the three to

one ratio of punitive damages to actual damages is well within

the range approved by Colorado law. Moreover, the assets of

the defendant are vast and the conduct of its broker deplor-

able. Under these circumstances, an appellate court should be

particularly reluctant to order a remittitur, especially when the

jury’s award has been upheld by the trial court on a motion for

E-4

new trial. See Hedrick v. Hercules Inc., 658 F.2d 1088, 1095

(Sth Cir. 1981); Transok Pipeline Co. v. Darks, 565 F.2d 1150,

1156 (10th Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 435 U.S. 1006 (1978); 11 C.

Wright & A. Miller § 2820 at 135 (quoting Taylor v. Washing-

ton Terminal Co., 409 F.2d 145, 148 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied,

396 U.S. 835 (1969)).

An amount which one judicial conscience finds shocking

may be entirely palatable to another, as is shown by the diverse

reactions of the members of this court to the size of the verdict

in this case. This state of affairs reveals the pitfalls inherent in

judicial tinkering with the jury’s determination of the amount

of exemplary damages necessary to punish outrageous behav-

ior and prevent its recurrence.

In sum, I agree with the dissent that the personal reactions

of appellate judges standing alone are poorly suited to govern

the modification of a punitive damage award. We are unde-

niably substituting our judgment for that of the jury and, in

my view, encroaching upon its function. For these reasons,

and because I conclude that the determination of liability is not

he result of passion and prejudice and the award of compensa-

tory damages does not shock my judicial conscience, | would

affirm the award in its entirety.

APPENDIX F

Opinion of the District Court

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF COLORADO

Civ. A. No. 75 M 156

October 19, 1977

i

JUNG JA MALANDRIS,

Plaintiff,

MERRILL LYNCH, PIERCE, FENNER

& SMITH, INC.,

Defendant.

Appearances:

William R. Fishman and David H. Drennen, Denver, Colo.,

for plaintiff.

Donald K. Bain and John M. Kobayashi, Holme, Roberts &

Owen, Denver, Colo., for defendant.

7

MATSCH, District Judge.

After a four day trial with sharply conflicting testimony and

upon instructions that liability could be found for fraud and

deceit and for the intentional infliction of emotional distress, a

jury of six persons returned a verdict for the plaintiff for

$1 ,030,000.00 in compensatory damages and $3,000,000.00 in

punitive damages. The defendant seeks a judgment notwith-

F-2

standing the verdict or, alternatively, a new trial. A proper

consideration of these motions requires some comment on the

evidence.

The plaintiff, Jung Ja Malandris, is a naturalized citizen of

the United States who was born and raised in the Republic of

Korea. She has had no formal education of any kind and she is

unable to read or write in any language. The plaintiff married

Steven Malandris when he was on active duty as a truck driver

ir. the United States Army in Korea.

After discharge, Mr. Malandris obtained employment as a

baggage handler for United Airlines working first in New

Jersey and later at Stapleton International Airport in Denver,

Colorado. Recognizing that as an uneducated and unskilled

worker his earning capacity is entirely dependent upon his

physical strength, Steven Malandris has relentlessly worked

double shifts and all of the overtime and holiday time which he

could obtain from his employer.

Steven and Jung Ja Malandris have pursued an extraor-

dinary life style, wholly dominated by a search for financial

security. Although their income has been maximized, Mr. and

Mrs. Malandris have avoided most of the expenditures or-

dinarily incurred by other couples in comparable circum-

stances. They have not gone to restaurants or movies; they

have not subscribed to magazines or newspapers; they have not

visited in the homes of others or had guests in their apartment;

and they have lived at a subsistence level. In sum, Mr. and Mrs.

Malandris have existed in an isolated environment wholly

separate from the society surrounding them.

Steven’s hard work and their unusual life style enabled Mr.

and Mrs. Malandris to accumulate more than $60,000.00 and,

as a result of a posting of the price and income record of

United Airlines stock on an employees’ bulletin board, they

invested all of their savings in United’s common stock.

Jung Ja Malandris was the dominant marriage partner and,

although Steven earned it, she controlled the couple’s money.

In this way, she also controlled her husband.

When the plaintiff became disquieted and uncomfortable

about the future of United Airlines stock, she directed her

husband to sell it and to put the proceeds into bank deposits.

Mr. Malandris went to Merrill Lynch for that purpose and

F-3

there he met Mr. John Barron, an account executive who was a

retired army officer. While the testimony of Steven Malandris

and John Barron sharply conflicts in most important respects,

taken as a whole the evidence supports the version of Mr.

Malandris. He said that John Barron induced him to leave the

proceeds of the United Airlines sale with Merrill Lynch be-

cause the firm could make money for him just as banks made

income from the investment of funds placed on deposit. Steven

Malandris testified that John Barron said that there would be a

“partnership” with Merrill Lynch with an assured gain and no

possibility of any loss. The plaintiff’s husband also said that he

was induced to mislead his wife and to forge her signature on a

power of attorney by the representations and later the threats

of John Barron. What remains undisputed is that a margin

account was opened in the name of Jung Ja Malandris and that

a number of transactions were made on the Chicago Board of

Options Exchange for this account. The account was closed

with a loss of approximately $30,000.00.

The conflicting testimony of John Barron was that Steven

Malandris came to him and directed him not only to sell the

United Airlines stock, but also instructed him to open a margin

account in his wife’s name and, after computing the margin

requirement without assistance, gave specific directions for

each of his options trades.

After viewing the demeanor and manner of these two wit-

nesses while they testified during the trial and after considera-

tion of the other evidence in the case, including the documents

in evidence and the unexplained absence of some of the routine

documentation, I join the jury in rejecting the testimony of

John Barron as lacking credibility. The evidence fully supports

the finding that John Barron knew that he was dealing with a

man and his wife who were wholly innocent of the risks

involved in the securities market; that he knew of the extraor-

dinary efforts to achieve the life savings brought to him; that

he knew that the airlines stock was in the name of the plaintiff

and that Mr. Malandris had delivered all of his earnings to his

wife; that he deliberately manipulated Steven Malandris to

deceive his wife and to conceal from her the investments which

were made; that he knew Jung Ja Malandris was a Korean

from a background of poverty and deprivation to whom

F-4

financial security was of great importance; that he knew of the

extraordinary life style which this couple followed; and, finally,

that he, Barron, had no previous experience with options

trading.

The evidence also shows, beyond doubt, that Jung Ja Ma-

landris has sustained permanent emotional injury which has

destroyed her ability to function as a human being. She has

rejected this world and lives only in the anticipation of life

after death. This results in her total preoccupation with reli-

gion.

The defendant urges that the verdicts be set aside because

they are “so grossly excessive as to shock the judicial con-

science.” What is most relevant in this case is not the judicial

conscience, it is the conscience of the community as repre-

sented by the six people who served on this trial jury. They

heard this evidence and they considered whether the conduct of

John Barron went beyond the bounds of decency and was

utterly intolerable in a civilized community. The defendant’s

counsel wish to make much of the fact that there was only a

$30,000.00 economic loss. They, like their client, fail to under-

stand that such economic losses can and do result in human

suffering which cannot be evaluated arithmetically. This is not

a case of a lost investment, it is the tragedy of a lost life. Is

$1,000,000.00 too great a value to place upon that life?

The defendant denies that there is any showing of proximate

causation between its acts and plaintiff's emotional state. The

jury was correctly instructed as follows:

Proximate cause means that cause which in natural and

probable sequence produced the claimed injury. It is the

cause without which the claimed injury would not have

been sustained. See C.J.1. § 9:24

The evidence shows that Jung Ja Malandris did

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Inc. v. Malandris · 464 U.S. 824 | Frix