Petition — Texas v. Garza
Supreme Court brief1983
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
— ... MAY 20 1983
IN THE
UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT
OCTOBER TERM, 1982
THE STATE OF TEXAS,
Petitioner
V.
REY GARZA,
Respondent
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE TEXAS COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
JIM MATTOX NANCY M. SIMONSON
Attorney General of Texas Assistant Attorney General
Acting Chief, Enforcement Division
DAVID R. RICHARDS CHARLES A. PALMER*
Executive Assistant Assistant Attorney General
Attorney General
P.O. Box 12548, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711
(512) 475-3281
*Attorney of Record
ov
QUESTION PRESENTED
WHEN A DEFENDANT IS JOINTLY TRIED FOR TWO
SEPARATE CRIMINAL OFFENSES, AND THE STATE
ELECTS AT THE CLOSE OF THE EVIDENCE TO PROCEED
ON ONLY ONE CHARGE, AND THE JURY IS UNABLE TO
REACH A VERDICT ON THE CHARGE THAT IS SUBMIT-
TED TO IT, DOES THE DOUBLE JEOPARDY CLAUSE OF
THE UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION BAR A SECOND
TRIAL AND CONVICTION FOR THE OFFENSE WHICH WAS
NOT SUBMITTED TO THE JURY?
-li-
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
QUESTION PRESENTED a eases
OPINIONS BELOW 7 RON es:
JURISDICTION . : Bee lee ae 6 2
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND
STATUTES INVOLVED . 3
STATEMENT OF THE CASE . | ees a
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT ......... ence eu Coe
Pee Ae? PU Ae «ee eee es 4
I. THERE ARE SPECIAL AND IMPORTANT REASONS
TO CONSIDER THE QUESTION PRESENTED ........ 4
II]. WHEN THE JURY IS UNABLE TO REACH
A VERDICT IN THE FIRST TRIAL, THE
DOUBLE JEOPARDY CLAUSE DOES NOT BAR
RETRIAL FOR AN OFFENSE NOT SUBMITTED
TO THE Pimms eUnm: ............ Pees ee ae
COINCIAISRUEN 2... ee es. En Ugo ee De UPN oh ere Ona
“lll
INDEX OF AUTHORITIES
Cases
Arizona v. Washington, 434 U.S. 497 (1978)
Ashe v. Swenson, 397 U.S. 436 (1970)
Benton v. Maryland, 395 U.S. 784 (1969)
Downum v. United States, 372 U.S. 734 (1963)
Gori v. United States, 367 U.S 364 (1961)
Green v. United States, 355 U.S. 184 (1957)
Illinois v. Somerville, 410 U.S. 458 (1973)
North Carolina v. Pearce, 395 U.S. 711 (1969)
Price v. Georgia, 398 U.S. 323 (1970)
South Dakota v. Neville, __._ U.S.
103 S.Ct. 916 (1983)
United States v. Martin Linen
Supply Co., 430 U.S. 564 (1977)
United States v. Perez, 9 Wheat. 579 (1824)
United States v. Scott, 437 U.S. 82 (1978)
Statutes and Constitutional Provisions
U.S. CONST. amend V
28 U.S.C. §1257(3)
ee
IN THE
UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT
OCTOBER TERM, 1982
THE STATE OF TEXAS,
Petitioner
‘.
REY GARZA,
Respondent
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE TEXAS COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE HONORABLE JUSTICES OF THE
SUPREME COURT:
The Petitioner respectfully prays that a writ of cer-
tiorari issue to review the judgment of the Texas Court
of Criminal Appeals entered in this case on March 23,
1983 denying Petitioner’s motion for rehearing.
OPINIONS BELOW
The panel opinion of the Texas Court of Criminal Ap-
peals is attached as Appendix B. The en banc opinion of
that court overruling Petitioner's motion for rehearing
is attached as Appendix A.
-2-
JURISDICTION
The panel opinion of the Texas Court of Criminal Ap-
peals was delivered on December 22, 1982. A timely fil-
ed motion for rehearing was denied on March 23,
1983. This petition for writ of certiorari is filed within
sixty days after final judgment in this case. This
Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. §1257(3).
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED
The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitu-
tion provides, in pertinent part, that ‘‘no person shall be
... Subject for the same offense to be twice put in jeopar-
dy of life or limb ...”’
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Respondent was charged on May 17, 1978, in a two-
paragraph indictment. The first paragraph alleged that
he had participated in a riot in which a police officer, U,.
P. Hernandez, had been assaulted; the second paragraph
alleged that Respondent had committed the offense of
aggravated assault on Hernandez. On November 6,
1978, Respondent entered pleas of not guilty, in a jury
trial, to both paragraphs of the indictment. At the con-
clusion of the evidence, the State elected to proceed on
the aggravated assault paragraph of the indictment.
After the jury had deliberated approximately thirty
hours, a mistrial was declared because the jury was
unable to reach a verdict.
On February 19, 1979, Respondent's motion to quash
the indictment, specifically the felony riot paragraph
thereof, was denied. On February 21, 1979, Respon-
dent’s request for the State to elect as to which
paragraph of the indictment on which it would proceed
was denied. A jury was impaneled, and at the conclu-
ao
sion of evidence on February 26, 1979, the State elected
to proceed on the first paragraph of the indictment, the
felony riot allegation. On February 27, 1979, the jury
found Respondent guilty of the offense of felony riot.
Respondent appealed his conviction to the Texas
Court of Criminal Appeals, and on December 22, 1982, a
three-judge panel of that court, one judge dissenting,
held that Respondent’s retrial and conviction for the of-
fense of felony riot violated the federal constitutional
proscription against double jeopardy. That court
granted Petitioner’s motion for leave to file motion for
rehearing en banc, but on March 23, 1983, the en banc
court, four judges dissenting, denied the motion for
rehearing.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
There are special and important reasons to consider
the question presented.
Respondent was not tried and convicted in violation of
the double jeopardy clause. Once the jury was discharg-
ed due to the ‘‘manifest necessity” of not having reach-
ed a verdict, the State was free to retry Respondent for
either of the two offenses originally alleged. There
should be no distinction, for double jeopardy purposes,
between the offense which was submitted to the jury in
the first trial and that which the State elected not to
pursue. In a case such as this, where manifest necessity
requires that the jury be discharged without reaching a
verdict, the slate is wiped clean, and the State should be
free to proceed, upon proper proof, with all criminal
charges it initially chose to bring against the defendant.
Because the State’s election not to proceed on one of the
charges did not amount to an acquittal and implies
nothing with respect to the question of guilt or in-
nocence, the subsequent retrial and conviction of
nfl
Respondent was not violative of the double jeopardy
doctrine.
ARGUMENT AND AUTHORITIES
i.
THERE ARE SPECIAL AND IMPORTANT
REASONS TO CONSIDER THE QUESTION
PRESENTED.
There are special and important reasons to
consider the issue presented herein. In holding
that Respondent’s retrial and conviction
violated the constitutional proscription against
double jeopardy, the Texas appellate court fail-
ed to adhere to settled principles established by
decisions of this Court. The state court's
misapplication of the federal double jeopardy
clause resulted in a miscarriage of justice
which, unless corrected by this Court, will be
repeated in other cases.
IT.
WHEN THE JURY IS UNABLE TO REACH
A VERDICT IN THE FIRST TRIAL, THE
DOUBLE JEOPARDY CLAUSE DOES NOT
BAR RETRIAL FOR AN OFFENSE NOT
SUBMITTED TO THE FIRST JURY.
The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitu-
tion provides that a state may not put a defendant in
jeopardy twice for the same offense. Benton v.
Maryland, 395 U.S. 784 (1969). Whether a retrial,
following declaration of a mistrial over a defendant’s ob-
jection, constitutes double jeopardy within the meaning
of the Fifth Amendment turns on whether, taking all the
oa
circumstances into consideration, there was a ‘‘manifest
necessity’ for the mistrial. United States v. Perez, 9
Wheat. 579, 580 (1824); Illinois v. Somerville, 410 U.S.
458, 461 (1973). The phrase ‘‘manifest necessity” does
not articulate ‘‘a standard that can be applied
mechanically or without attention to the particular pro-
blem confronting the trial judge.’’ Arizona v.
Washington, 434 U.S. 497 (1978). Because he “is best
situated intelligently to make such a decision,” Gori v.
United States, 367 U.S. 364, 368 (1961), the trial judge is
accorded broad discretion in determining whether
“manifest necessity’’ exists to declare a mistrial over
the defendant’s objection. Arizona v. Washington, 434
U.S. at 514. Particularly is this so when the mistrial is
premised upon the trial judge’s belief that the jury is
unable to reach a verdict, which is the ‘“‘classic basis for
a proper mistrial.’’ Arizona v. Washington, 434 U.S. at
509; Downum v. United States, 372 U.S. 734, 735-36
(1963):
[IJn this situation there are especially compell-
ing reasons for allowing the trial judge to exer-
cise broad discretion in deciding whether or not
“manifest necessity”’ justifies a discharge of
the jury. On the one hand, if he discharges the
jury when further deliberations may produce a
fair verdict, the defendant is deprived of his
‘valued right to have his trial completed by a
particular tribunal.’’ But if he fails to
discharge a jury which is unable to reach a ver-
dict after protracted and exhausting delibera-
tions, there exists a significant risk that a ver-
dict may result from pressures inherent in the
situation rather than the considered judgment
of all the jurors. If retrial of the defendant were
barred whenever an appellate court views the
“necessity” for a mistrial differently from the
trial judge, there would be a danger that the lat-
ter, cognizant of the serious societal conse-
-6-
quences of an erroneous ruling, would employ
coercive means to break the apparent
deadlock. Such a role would frustrate the
public interest in just judgments. The trial
judge’s decision to declare a mistrial when he
considers the jury deadlocked is therefore ac-
corded great deference by a reviewing court.
Arizona v. Washington, 434 U.S. at 509-10. The deci-
sion of the trial judge is given such great deference in
this situation because he “‘is in the best position to
assess all the factors which must be considered in mak-
ing a necessarily discretionary determination whether
the jury will be able to reach a just verdict if it continues
to deliberate.”’ Jd. at n.28.
The foregoing authorities clearly demonstrate the lack
of a double jeopardy bar to reprosecution of Respondent
for aggravated assault, the offense which was submitted
to the jury and upon which it was unable to agree. What
construction of the federal double jeopardy clause’,
then, prevents the State from trying Respondent for the
offense of felony riot? As noted in the dissenting opi-
nion in the Texas appellate court, North Carolina uv.
Pearce, 395 U.S. 711, 717 (1969) teaches that the double
jeopardy clause provides three related protections:
It protects against a second prosecution for the
same offense after acquittal. It protects
against a second prosecution for the same of-
fense after conviction. And it protects against
multiple punishments for the same offense.
1. There is no room for doubt that this case was decided on
federal constitutional grounds and not on the basis of the Texas
state constitution. As may be discerned from both the majority
and dissenting opinions, the scope of the double jeopardy clauses of
both constitutions is the same. See, South Dakota v. Neville,
U.S. , 103 S.Ct. 916, 919 n.5 (1983).
No conviction was obtained in the first trial, and only
one punishment was assessed for the offense of which
Respondent ultimately was convicted. Plainly,
therefore, neither of the latter two protections is involv-
ed herein. Neither, however, is the first double jeopardy
safeguard, that against reprosecution following acquit-
tal, applicable in the instant case. This Court has defin-
ed acquittal as ‘‘the ruling of a judge, whatever its label,
[which] actually represents a resolution [in the defen-
dant’s favor], correct or not, of some or all of the factual
elements of the offense charged.’”’ United States v.
Scott, 437 U.S. 82, 97 (1978), citing United States uv.
Martin Linen Supply Co., 430 U.S. 564, 571 (1977). An
implied acquittal results when the jury returns a verdict
of guilty on a lesser included offense following trial on
the greater charge. Price uv, Georgia, 398 U.S. 323
(1970); Green v. United States, 355 U.S. 184 (1957). The
sine qua non of a finding of acquittal, either express or
implied, is a determination that the fact-finder had a full
opportunity to return a verdict on the charge and failed
to do so. Price, 398 U.S. at 239: Green, 355 U.S. at
225. Here, the jury in the first trial never was afforded
an opportunity to decide Respondent’s guilt or in-
nocence of the offense of felony riot. The charge of
felony riot was withdrawn before the jury began its
deliberations, and its failure to reach a verdict on the
charge which was submitted to it—aggravated
assault—can in no way be construed as an acquittal of
the offense which it did not consider. No issues of fact
were necessarily determined in Respondent’s favor in
the first trial, Ashe uv. Swenson, 397 U.S. 436 (1970),
and thus no factual preclusion on the charge of felony
riot arose from the jury’s inability to determine Respon-
dent’s guilt or innocence of the assault charge. Further,
there is no suggestion that the State's election not to
proceed on the riot charge was necessarily, under Texas
criminal procedure, or in fact premised on a determina-
tion of the merits of the allegation.
os
Once the jury was properly discharged, the slate was
‘‘wiped clean.’’ North Carolina v. Pearce, 395 U.S. at
721. The proceedings then reverted to the procedural
posture which existed prior to trial, ie, Respondent
stood charged with the two distinct criminal offenses
alleged in the indictment. There is no constitutional or
rational basis for distinguishing between the two for
double jeopardy purposes. The Texas Court of Criminal
Appeals’ holding to the contrary should be reversed.
CONCLUSION
For these reasons, Petitioner prays that the petition
for certiorari to the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals
issue.
Respectfully submitted,
JIM MATTOX
Attorney General of Texas
DAVID R. RICHARDS
Executive Assistant
Attorney General
NANCY M. SIMONSON
Assistant Attorney General
Acting Chief, Enforcement
Division
CHARLES A. PALMER
Assistant Attorney General
P.O. Box 12548, Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711
(512) 475-3281
Attorneys for Petitioner
A-1
APPENDIX A
REY GARZA, Appellant
NO. 63,005 vs. — Appeal from HARRIS County
THE STATE OF TEXAS, Appellee
OPINION ON STATE’S MOTION FOR REHEARING
This is an appeal from a conviction for felony riot,
V.T.C.A., Penal Code Sec. 42.02. Punishment was
assessed at three years and appellant was granted pro-
bation. On original submission a panel of this Court
held the conviction was obtained in violation of the
jeopardy clauses of the Texas and United States Con-
stitutions, and reversed the conviction.
The record reveals that appellant was prosecuted on
an indictment alleging two offenses in separate counts:
(1) felony riot and (2) aggravated assault. In the first
trial, at the close of the evidence, the state elected to
proceed on the aggravated assault charge. The jury
subsequently was unable to agree upon a verdict and
was discharged. At the second trial, after the evidence
was Closed, the state elected to proceed on the felony riot
charge. The conviction challenged in this appeal follow-
ed.
The issue decided in appellant's favor on original sub-
mission is whether the state’s decision to abandon the
felony riot charge after jeopardy attached in the first
trial created a jeopardy bar to further prosecution of
that charge, even though the first trial subsequently
resulted in mistrial as to the aggravated assault charge
when the jury was unable to agree upon a verdict.
The general rule is well established. In Ex parte
Scelles, 511 S.W.2d 300, 301, the Court wrote:
A-2
"an Parish v. State, 145 Tex.Cr.B. 117,
165 S.W.2d 748 (1942), the court held that
where the second count only of the two count
indictment was submitted to the jury, failure to
submit the first count had been quashed, and
‘jeopardy’ attached on such count, since failure
to submit was tantamount to a ‘dismissal’ of
such count. See also Black et al. v. State, 143
Tex.Cr.R. 318, 158 S.W.2d 795 (1942).
‘‘And in Deisher v. State, 89 Tex.Cr.R. 467,
233 S.W. 978 (1921), it was held that where the
second count of the indictment was abandoned
and the court submitted only the first count,
the defendant cannot on a subsequent trial be
prosecuted on the abandoned count. See also
Johnson v. State, 97 Tex.Cr.R. 658, 263 S.W.
924, 927 (1924); Gilliam v. State, 131 Tex.Cr.R.
8, 96 S.W.2d 86 (1936); Mizell v. State, 83
Tex.Cr.R. 305, 203 S.W. 49 (1918).”’
Under this general rule it is clear that the panel cor-
rectly decided this case. It is contended by the State,
however, as it was in the dissenting opinion on original
submission, that the general rule does not apply because
the first trial ended in a mistrial when the jury was
unable to reach a verdict. We find no persuasive reason
to support an exception to the general rule in these cir-
cumstances. The jeopardy bar arises from the state’s
decision to abandon prosecution after jeopardy had at-
tached. The jeopardy bar arises at that moment, and
the abandoned prosecution passes out of the case. Hav-
ing been terminated by the state’s decision to abandon
prosecution, the cause is cornplete.
In its brief on rehearing the state relies on the
arguments advanced in the dissenting opinion on
original submission.
Ad
The dissent relied on Jones v. State, 586 S.W.2d 542;
Walker v. State, 473 S.W.2d 499; and Stanley v. State,
625 S.W.2d 320. None of those cases, however, involved
a multicount indictment; none involved an election by
the state whereby a charged offense in which jeopardy
had attached was abandoned; none, in sum, presented
any of the controlling facts present in this case. The
rule applied today was not implicated in those cases, nor
is any rule from those cases applicable to the facts in
this case.
The cissent also relied on Articles 36.31 and 36.33,
V.A.C.C.P., for the proposition that when a jury is
discharged because it is unable to reach a verdict ‘‘the
cause may be again tried.’’ This was certainly true as to
the charge submitted to the jury and upon which they
were unable to reach a verdict. It is not relevant,
however, to this case. The felony riot cause was aban-
doned and never submitted to the jury; it was not a
cause upon which the jury was unable to reach a verdict
and for which it was discharged. To hold that Arts.
36.31 and 36.33, supra, authorize retrial of the felony
riot charge in this case would require a similar holding
under Articles 44.29 and 40.08, V.A.C.C.P., that a rever-
sal of a conviction on one count of a multicount indict-
ment after abandonment of other counts would allow
reprosecution of the abandoned counts, because Arts.
44,29 and 40.08, supra, place a cause after reversal ‘‘in
the same position in which it was before any trial had
taken place.’’ Such a construction of those statutory
provisions, however, would be in direct conflict with
previous holdings of this Court, e.g. Ex parte Scelles,
supra; Black v. State, 158 S.W.2d 795; Gilliam v. State,
96 S.W.2d 86, and would be contrary to the protection
afforded by the jeopardy clause of the Texas and federal
constitutions. The misplaced reliance on Arts. 36.31
and 36.33, supra, is precisely analogous and equally
without merit.
A-4
The arguments raised on rehearing are without
merit. Furthermore, as in Black v. State, supra, no pro-
secution may now be had on either count of the indict-
ment. One count of the indictment was abandoned after
jeopardy attached at the first trial; the other count was
abandoned after jeopardy attached at the second
trial. Thus, a jeopardy bar has been created against pro-
secution of either count.
The motion for rehearing is overruled.
ODOM, Judge
(Delivered March 23, 1983)
En Banc
REY GARZA, Appellant
NO. 63,005 v. — Appeal from HARRIS County
THE STATE OF TEXAS, Appellee
DISSENTING OPINION ON STATE’S
MOTION FOR REHEARING
The law of jeopardy bottomed on the Fifth Amend-
ment is derived from the common law. According to
Blackstone the principle underlying the two pleas of
autrefois acquit and autrefois convict is a ‘‘universal
maxim of the common law of England, that no man is to
be brought into jeopardy of his life more than once for
the same offense,’’ 4 W Blackstone. Commentaries
335-336. In United States v. Wilson, 420 U.S. 332, 340
(1975) the opinion of the Court by Justice Marshall ex-
plores history of adoption of the Double Jeopardy
Clause and concludes that the language ultimately ap-
proved by the first Congress ‘‘tracked Blackstone’s
A-5
statement of the principles of autrefois acquit and
autrefois convict.’’ Id., at 342-343. With that lore in
mind, the Supreme Court has declared that which it
discerned:
“The underlying idea ... is that the State with
all its resources and power should not be allow-
ed to make repeated attempts to convict an in-
dividual for an alleged offense, thereby subjec-
ting him to embarrassment, expense and ordeal
and compelling him to live in a continuing state
of anxiety and insecurity, as well as enhancing
the possibility that even though innocent he
may be found guilty.’
Green v. United States, 355 U.S. 184, 187-188, 78 S.Ct.
221, 21 L.Ed.2d 199 (1957).
‘‘When a defendant has been once convicted
and punished for a particular crime, principles
of fairness and finality require that he not be
subjected to the possibility of further punish-
ment by being again tried or sentenced for the
same offense.”
United States v. Wilson, supra, U.S. at 343.
Accordingly, North Carolina v. Pearce, 395 U.S. 711,
717 (1969) confirms that the Double Jeopardy Clause
provides three related protections:
“It protects against a second prosecution for
the same offense after acquittal. It protects
against a second prosecution for the same of-
fense after conviction. And it protects against
multiple punishments for the same offense.’”’
1. All emphasis is supplied throughout by the writer of this opi-
nion unless otherwise indicated.
A-6
The Bill of Rights in the Texas Constitution adopts
the guaranty of the Double Jeopardy Clause in the Fifth
Amendment, but it also adds another. Article I, §14
provides:
‘‘No person, for the same offense, shall be twice
put in jeopardy of life or liberty, nor shall a per-
son be again put upon trial for the same offense,
after a verdict of not guilty in a court of compe-
tent jurisdiction.’
Thus, as well as its own bar to another trial for the
same offense after a verdict of not guilty, like the
United States, Texas embraced the common law notions
of autrefois acquit and autrefois convict. Simco Vv.
State, 9 Tex.App. 338, 348° (Ct.App. 1880); Doggett v.
State, 130 Tex.Cr.R. 208, 93 S.W.2d 399, 405 (1936)(Opi-
nion on Rehearing).
However, ‘’an accused must suffer jeopardy before he
can suffer double jeopardy,’’ Serfass v. United States,
420 U.S. 377, 393, 95 S.Ct. 1055, 43 L.Ed.2d 265
(1975). Jeopardy attaches in a jury trial when the jury
is empaneled and sworn—a federal constitutional rule
that is applicable to the states. Crist v. Bretz, 437 U.S.
28, 98 S.Ct. 2156, 57 L.Ed.2d 24 (1978). Still, “the con-
clusion that jeopardy has attached begins, rather than
ends, the inquiry as to whether the Double Jeopardy
9. This feature of our constitutional provision is not implicated in
the instant cause, and it will not be further noticed.
3. ‘“‘Autrefois acquit is only available in cases where the transac-
tion is the same and the two indictments are susceptible of, and
must be sustained by the same proof."’ See, e.g., Williams v. State,
58 Tex.Cr.R. 193, 125 S.W. 42, 43 (1910).
‘Autrefois convict only requires that the transaction, or the facts
constituting it, be the same.’’ See Doggett v. State, 130 Tex.Cr.R.
208, 93 S.W.2d 399, 405 (1936) (Opinion on Rehearing).
A-7
Clause bars retrial,’’ Illinois v. Somerville, 410 U.S. 458,
467, 93 S.Ct. 1066, 35 L.Ed.2d 425 (1973). For the Dou-
ble Jeopardy Clause ‘‘does not mean that every time a
defendant is put to trial before a competent tribunal he
is entitled to go free if the trial fails to end in a final
judgment,’’ Wade v. Hunter, 336 U.S. 684. 688, 69 S.Ct.
834, 93 L.Ed.2d 974 (1949). ‘‘[R]etrial is not
automatically barred when a criminal proceeding is ter-
minated without finally resolving the merits of the
charges against the accused,” Arizona v. Washington,
434 U.S. 497, 505, 98 S.Ct. 824, 54 L.Ed.2d 717 (1978).
When a jury is discharged without reaching a verdict
and from that ‘‘manifest necessity’’ the trial judge
declares a mistrial, the uniform answer to the inquiry
about whether a retrial is barred is that it is not pro-
hibited by the Double Jeopardy Clause of the Fifth
Amendment. Arizona v. Washington, supra; United
States v. Jorn, 400 U.S. 470, 91 S.Ct. 547, 27 L.Ed.2d
543 (1971); Wade v. Hunter, 336 U.S. 684, 69 S.Ct. 834,
93 L.Ed. 974 (1949); Kepner v. United States, 195 U.S.
100, 24 S.Ct. 797, 49 L.Ed. 114 (1904); United States v.
Perez, 9 Wheat. 578, 6 L.Ed. 165 (1824).* ‘‘[A] mistrial
4. The doctrine seems to have acquired its title from the opinion
of the court delivered by Justice Story, viz:
‘‘We are of the opinion that the facts constitute no legal
bar to a future trial. The prisoner has not been convicted
or acquitted, and may again be put to his defense. We
think that in all cases of this nature, the law has invested
courts of justice with the authority to discharge a jury
from giving any verdict, in their opinion, taking all the
circumstances into consideration, there is a manifest
necessity for the act, or the ends of public justice would
otherwise be defeated. *** [A]fter weighing the question
with due deliberation, we are of the opinion that such a
discharge constitutes no bar to further proceedings and
gives no right of exemption to the prisoner from being
again put upon trial.’
United States v. Perez, supra, 6 L.Ed. at 165-166.
A-8
premised upon the trial judge's belief that the jury is
unable to reach a verdict, long considered the classic
basis for a proper mistrial ... accords recognition to
society's interest in giving the prosecution one complete
opportunity to convict those who have violated its
laws,’’ Washington v. Arizona, supra, U.S. at 509.°
Before the unreported opinion of this Court on original
submission in McElwee v. State became a casualty of
constitutional uniformity mandated by the Supreme
Court of the United States in Crist v. Bretz, supra,
jeopardy in Texas did not attach in a jury trial until the
jury had been selected and sworn and thereafter the ac-
cused plead to the charging instrument. McElwee v.
State, 589 S.W.2d 455, 456, 457-460 (Tex.Cr.App. 1979);
Anderson v. State, 24 Tex.App. 705, 7 S.W. 40, 42
(Ct.App. 1886). However, once jeopardy attached, the
5. Society's interest had been recognized more elaborately by the
Supreme Court almost thirty years earlier, viz:
‘The double-jeopardy provision of the Fifth Amendment
... does not mean that every time a defendant is put to
trial before a competent tribunal he is entitled to go free if
the trial fails to end in a final judgment. Such a rule
would create an insuperable obstacle to the administra-
tion of justice in many cases in which there is no
semblance of the type of oppressive practices at which
the double-jeopardy prohibition is aimed. There may be
unforeseeable circumstances that arise during a trial
making its completion impossible, such as the failure of a
Jury to agree on a verdict. In such event the purpose of
law to protect society from those guilty of crimes fre-
quently would be frustrated by denying courts power to
put the defendant to trial again.*** What has been said
is enough to show that a defendant's valued right to have
his trial completed by a particular tribunal must in some
instances be subordinated to the public’s interest in fair
trials designed to end in just judgments."’
Wade v. Hunter, 336 U.S. 684, 688-689, 69 S.Ct. 834, 93 L.Ed.2d
974 (1949).
A-9
‘manifest necessity’’ teachings of United States v.
Perez, supra and see n. 4 ante, were followed by courts of
this State, e.g., Smith v. State, 22 Tex.App. 196, 2 S.W.
542, 544 (Ct.App. 1886), it being statutorily prescribed
in other terms since at least Old Code Article 619—the
genesis of present Article 36.31, V.A.C.C.P.: ‘‘... the
court may in its discretion discharge [the jury] where it
has been kept together for such time as to render it
altogether improbable that it can agree.’’ See generally
Bowles v. State, 606 S.W.2d 875, 878-880 (Tex.Cr.App.
1980) (Dissenting Opinion). And, consistent with the
consequences when a trial judge correctly determined to
apply the doctrine, Article 36.33, V.A.C.C.P., successor
to Old Code Article 621, provides: ‘‘When a jury has
been discharged ... without having rendered a verdict,
the cause may be again tried...’’ Thus, while the ‘‘valued
right’’ of an accused ‘‘to have his trial completed by a
particular tribunal is within the protection of the con-
stitutional guarantee against double jeopardy,” Crist v.
Bretz, supra, U.S. at 36, it is given full play until the
trial judge determines ‘‘it altogether improbable” that
the particular jury will agree and, perforce, ‘‘manitest
necessity’’ requires that he declare a mistrial. But once
that is done the prosecutor may invoke his correlative
right to retry the accused.
Just as such an accused is not prejudiced when merits
of charges against him are not finally resolved by a
jury, there seems to be no case which allows him to
assert harm in the failure to have the jury resolve other
charges against him that were not submitted to the
jury. Put another way, if the merits of the charges
against an accused have not been resolved when the trial
is terminated through manifest necessity, there is no
6. The accused has, of course, gone through the stress of a trial,
and I do not lightly dismiss the consequences of that. My reference
to ‘'‘prejudice”’ is the kind that substantially impairs presentation of
a defense and the like.
A-10
known constriction in the law of jeopardy that precludes
the State from calling upon the accused to answer to the
same charges and exercise his valued right to have that
trial completed by the particular tribunal in the selec-
tion of the members of which the accused has again par-
ticipated. If there is any authority to the contrary, the
majority does not reveal it.
What the majority characterizes as a ‘‘general rule’”’ is
inapposite and does not militate against the legal con-
clusions I reach. That rule is ‘‘general’’ only in the sense
that from time to time several decisions of the former
court of appeals and the Court applied it to a recurringly
common situation: a jury verdict is returned on one
count of a multicount indictment after either the pro-
secutor elected, or the trial judge elected for the State,
to submit just the one count. In such a situation the
consistent holding is that ‘‘jeopardy”’ barred reprosecu-
tion of that which had been ‘‘dismissed.’’ However, in
each instance the jury made findings and rendered a ver-
dict in the case. Thus, borrowing the phrase from
Justice Stevens in Arizona v. Washington, the criminal
trial is not terminated “‘without finally resolving the
merits of the charges against the accused, id., U.S. at
505.
To the creation of yet another abberation in the
already misunderstood law of jeopardy, I respectfully
dissent.
CLINTON, Judge
(Delivered March 23, 1983)
EN BANC
PUBLISH
Davis, W.C., J., McCormick, J., and Campbell, J., join
B-1
APPENDIX B
REY GARZA, Appellant
NO. 63,005 vs. —APPEAL From Harris County
THE STATE OF TEXAS, Appellee
OPINION
THE FIRST TRIAL
Rey Garza, appellant, was tried on a two count indict-
ment which alleged the felony offenses of aggravated
assault on a peace officer and knowingly participating in
a riot by assembly. By the allegations of the indict-
ment, the aggravated assault offense occurred during
the course of a felony riot in which appellant knowingly
participated. Appellant pled not guilty to both counts
of the indictment. At the conclusion of the case, the
State elected to proceed to the jury on the aggravated
assault on a peace officer count of the indictment. The
State abandoned the count of the indictment that alleg-
ed felony riot. After deliberating for 29 hours and 32
minutes the jury informed the trial judge that it was
unable to reach a verdict. A mistrial was declared, and
the jury was ordered discharged.
THE SECOND TRIAL
The State thereafter, over objection, reprosecuted the
appellant on the same indictment. However, during the
second trial, when the State made its election, it elected
to proceed to the jury on the felony riot count of the in-
dictment, which was the converse of what the State had
done at the first trial, i.e., at the first trial the State had
abandoned the felony riot count of the indictment and
the jury was only instructed on the aggravated assault
on a peace officer count of the indictment, whereas in the
B-2
second trial the State abandoned the aggravated assault
count and the case was submitted to the jury on the
felony riot count of the indictment. The jury convicted
the appellant of committing the offense of felony riot
and assessed punishment at three years’ confinement in
the penitentiary.
APPELLANT’S CONTENTION
Although appellant raises several contentions in his
appeal, because of the result we reach, we will only
discuss his contention that the trial court erred by fail-
ing to grant his ‘‘Motion to Quash Count I of the Indict-
ment Based on Double Jeopardy”’, which motion was fil-
ed prior to the commencement of the second trial. The
motion related to the felony riot count of the indictment
that had been abandoned by the State during the first
trial.
THE STATE’S RESPONSE
The State argues the following in its well written but
succinct brief: ‘‘[B]ecause Garza [the appellant] never
ran the gauntlet to a conviction at the first trial, jeopar-
dy should not attach as to either paragraph of the indict-
ment.”’
THE QUESTION
Because the State at the first trial, prior to the cause
being submitted to the jury, abandoned the felony riot
count of the indictment, was it thereafter precluded
from retrying the appellant for allegedly committing
that same offense?
THE ANSWER
Because we find that the double jeopardy provisions
of the Federal and State Constitutions bar such a retrial.
B-3
we answer the question in the affirmative. The ap-
pellant’s judgment of conviction for committing the riot
offense will be reversed and the prosecution ordered
dismissed.
THE PAST BLENDS IN WITH THE PRESENT
Although we find that this is probably a case of first
impression, in conjunction with this Court’s construing
the applicability of the double jeopardy clauses of the
respective Constitutions to such a factual situation as a
bar, nevertheless, we pause to observe that in the past
this Court has held that if conviction is based upon only
one count of several submitted to the jury, acquittal
may result as to the counts not submitted to the jury,
see Mizell v. State, 203 S.W.2d 49 (Tex.Cr.App.1918):
Martin v. State, 189 S.W.2d 262 (Tex.Cr.App.1916);
Millner v. State, 169 S.W. 899 (Tex.Cr.App. 1914); Davis
v. State, 136 S.W. 45 (Tex.Cr.App.1911), although an ac-
quittal as to the submitted count does not necessarily
result, see Hunt v. State, 59 S.W.2d 836
(Tex.Cr.App.1933); Blevins v. State 184 S.W.2d 290
(Tex.Cr.App.1944); Aven v. State 277 S.W. 1080
(Tex.Cr.App.1925), while an abandonment of a count
after jeopardy has attached always bars retrial of the
abandoned count. See Crocker v. State, 573 S.W.2d 190
(Tex.Cr.App.1978)(‘‘No double jeopardy problems are
extant with this type of submission because the jury
returns either an acquittal or a verdict of guilty on one
count only.’’); Parish v. State, 165 S.W.2d 748
(Tex.Cr.App.1942); Black v. State, 158 S.W.2d 795
(Tex.Cr.App.1942); Gilliam v. State, 96 S.W.2d 86
(Tex.Cr.App.1936); Johnson v. State, 263 S.W.2d 925
(Tex.Cr.App.1924); Lee v. State, 235 S.W.1093
(Tex.Cr.App.1921); Deisher v. State, 233 S.W.2d 978
(Tex.Cr.App.1921); Hewitt v. State, 167 S.W. 40
(Tex.Cr.App.1914); Betts v. State, 133 S.W. 251
(Tex.Cr.App.1911); Tracy v. State, 90 S.W. 308
(Tex.Cr.App.1905); Parks v. State. 79 S.W. 301
B-4
(Tex.Cr.App.1904); Stephens v. State, 37 S.W. 425
(Tex.Cr.App.1896); Moore v. State, 631 S.W.2d 245
(Tex.App. Amarillo. No P.D.R. 1982); Ex parte Scelles,
511 S.W.2d 300 (Tex.Cr.App.1794).
Recently, in Moore v. State, 631 S.W.2d 245
(Tex.App.Amarillo, No P.D.R.1982), Chief Justice
Reynolds of the Amarillo Court of Appeals stated the
following:
It is settled that jeopardy, in the sense of the
constitutional guarantee against double jeopar-
dy, attaches when the jury is empaneled and
sworn. Crist v. Bretz, 437 U.S. 28, 38, 98 S.Ct.
2156, 2162, 57 L.Ed.2d 24 (1978); Mc Elwee v.
State, 589 S.W.2d 457 (Tex.Cr.App. 1979). Ac-
cordingly, when the indictment’s second count
[in this cause] was dismissed after jeopardy at-
tached when the jury was impaneled and sworn,
the dismissal was tantamount to an acquittal of
the charge of aggravated assault, Black v.
State, 143 Tex.Cr.R. 318, 158 S.W.2d 795, 796
(1942), and, thereafter, appellant could not be
prosecuted for that act. Ex parte Scelles, 511
S.W.2d 300, 301 (Tex.Cr.App.1974).
Previously, this Court, in Black v. State, supra, had
stated the following:
Where a defendant has been tried on several
counts and convicted under one he is thereby
acquitted of the others, and may not later be
tried upon the ones for which he was so acquit-
ted. Thus, where there are several counts in an
indictment and only one is submitted to the
Jury, this amounts to an acquittal upon the
abandoned counts, and the defendant may not
upon a subsequeni trial be prosecuted on the
abandoned counts. [Emphasis Added].
B-5
Also, in Ex parte Scelles, 511 S.W.2d 300
(Tex.Cr.App.1974), this Court stated the following:
in Parish v. State, 165 S.W.2d 748
(Tex.Cr.App.1942), the court held that where
the second count only of the two count indict-
ment was submitted to the jury, failure to sub-
mit the first count had the same effect as if
such count had been quashed, and ‘jeopardy’
attached on such count, since failure to submit
was tantamount to a ‘dismissal’ of such count.
By adopting literally some of the language this Court
has stated in the past, with what the Amarillo Court of
Appeals stated in Moore v. State, supra, we find that
decision very persuasive and of great assistance to us in
our reaching the holding that the State was barred from
reprosecuting the appellant for committing the offense
of felony riot.
THE DOUBLE JEOPARDY CLAUSES OF THE
RESPECTIVE CONSTITUTIONS
The ‘‘Interpretive Commentary” to Art. I, Sec.14 of
the Texas Constitution, the double jeopardy clause of
the Texas Constitution, in Vol. I. V.A.Tex.Const., at
pages 332-333, states the following: ‘‘The guaranty in
this section ... is broader in scope [than autrefois acquit
and autrefois convict], for not only can a person not be
put on trial a second time for an offense of which he has
once been acquitted or convicted, but he may not be put
on trial a second time for an offense of which he has once
been placed in jeopardy. Hence, jeopardy, meaning
danger or hazard, can be based upon a prosecution
discharged for valid causes without a verdict, while
former conviction and acquittal are based upon verdicts
received.”’
B-6
The double jeopardy clause of the Fifth Amendment
to the United States Constitution is now made binding
upon the States through the due process clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment. Benton v. Maryland, 395 U.S.
784, 89 S.Ct. 2056, 23 L.Ed.2d 707 (1969). Jeopardy at-
taches when a jury is empanelled and sworn. Bretz v.
Critz, supra; United States v. Martin Linen Supply Co.,
430 U.S. 564, 97 S.Ct. 1341, 51 L.Ed.2d 642 (1977); cf.
United States v. Sanford, 429 U.S. 14, 97 S.Ct. 20, 50
L.Ed.2d 336 (1976); Mc Elwee v. State, supra.
In this instance, had both counts of the indictment
been submitted to the jury at the first trial, and the jury
had not been able to reach a verdict, and a mistrial had
been declared by the trial court on both counts, the fact
that a mistrial had been declared would not have
prevented a retrial on either count. A mistrial declared
because the jury was unable to agree ordinarily will per-
mit a second trial without violating the double jeopardy
prohibition. Gori v. United States, 367 U.S. 364, 81
S.Ct. 1523, reh den 368 U.S. 870, 82 S.Ct. 25, 7 L.Ed.2d
70 (1961); United States v. Perez, 9 Wheat 579, 6 L.Ed.
165 (1824). Thus, a second trial is not prohibited where
the first trial ends in a mistrial, provided the mistrial
was declared because it was manifestly or imperatively
necessary in order to preserve the doing of
justice. Therefore, we find it is necessary in this in-
stance to determine whether there was any showing by
the State of any manifest or imperative necessity that
would have warranted the trial court not submitting the
riot count of the indictment to the jury at the first
trial. In this regard, we observe that the State has fail-
ed to point out in this appeal where such manifest or im-
perative necessity existed that would account for the
trial court’s failure to submit to the jury at the first trial
the riot count of the indictment. Our search of the
record leads us to conclude that such necessity never ex-
isted,or if it did it is not reflected in the record.
B-7
‘‘A defendant’s valued right to have his trial com-
pleted by a particular tribunal is within the protection of
the constitutional guarantee against double
jeopardy.”’ Crist v. Bretz, supra. See also Torres v.
State, 614 S.W.2d 436 (Tex.Cr.App.1981). Only where
the prosecution has shown manifest or imperative
necessity may this valued right be defeated. McClen-
don v. State, 583 S.W.2d 777 (Tex.Cr.App.1979). In this
instance, jeopardy had attached in the first trial before
the State elected to abandon the felony riot
count. McElwee v. State, supra. The State’s abandon-
ment of the riot count precluded the appellant from hav-
ing the same jury decide his guilt on that allegation. If
the riot allegation had been submitted to the jury, the
jury may very well have been able to resolve appellant's
guilt for allegedly committing that offense. But, the
jury was not given that opportunity. We observe in this
regard that the jury at the first trial was able to find cer-
tain co-defendants guilty and others not guilty of the of-
fenses alleged against those persons, which offenses we
find arose out of the same transaction that implicated
the appellant. As noted, we are unable to find in this
record any manifest or imperative necessity that would
have precluded the first jury from resolving, or at least
attempting to resolve, the issue of appellant’s guilt for
committing the offense of felony riot. Therefore, the
State’s abandonment of the riot allegation of the indict-
ment at the first trial barred any retrial for that
offense. The appellant's trial, for allegedly committing
the offense of felony riot, was null and void.
In light of what we have stated above, we disagree
with the State that reprosecution is dependent upon
whether or not there was a conviction at the first trial on
at least one submitted count of the charging instrument.
Therefore, we will not further discuss the State's
response.
B-8
OUR CONCLUSIONS
Under the circumstances and facts of this cause, when
the jury was unable to agree upon a verdict at the first
trial, it should have thereafter been permitted to pro-
ceed only on the aggravated assault of a peace officer
allegation of the indictment. This was permitted by vir-
tue of manifest or imperative necessity and Art. 36.33,
V.A.C.C.P. However, the State was not permitted to
once again prosecute the appellant for allegedly commit-
ting the offense of felony riot. This was legally imper-
missible for the reasons stated. The riot count of the in-
dictment became poisoned by the double jeopardy
clauses of the Federal and State Constitutions’. The
mistrial order only permitted retrial of any non-poisoned
allegations still pending in the indictment—in this in-
stance the aggravated assault on a peace officer count.
See and compare Patterson v. State, 581 S.W.2d 696
(Tex.Cr.App.1979); Vardas v. State, 518 S.W.2d 826
(Tex.Cr.App.1975); Ochoa v. State, 492 S.W.2d 576
(Tex.Cr.App.1973). The State should not have been per-
mitted a second opportunity to persuade another jury to
return a verdict of guilty against the appellant upon the
riot count of the indictment.
The judgment of conviction is therefore reversed with
instructions to the trial court to enter an order dismiss-
ing the prosecution thereunder.
TEAGUE, Judge
Delivered December 22, 1982
Panel 2, 2nd Quarter, 1982
Composed of:
John F. Onion, Jr., Presiding Judge
Sam Houston Clinton, Judge
Marvin O. Teague, Judge
B-9
REY GARZA, Appellant
NO. 63,005 v. — Appeal from HARRIS County
THE STATE OF TEXAS, Appellee
DISSENTING OPINION
Constitutionally and statutorily the State of Texas is
prohibited from twice putting an accused in jeopardy.
Convicted of the felony offense of riot, denounced by
V.T.C.A. Penal Code, §42.02, the second time he was
tried on the same indictment, which also alleged the
felony offense of aggravated assault on a peace officer,
defined by id., §22.02(a)(2), appellant premises all his
four grounds of error on the facts that prosecution on
the count alleging riot had been abandoned by the State
just before the case was submitted to the jury at the
first trial, and that the jury was properly discharged
when it manifested the altogether improbability that it
could agree on a verdict with respect to aggravated
assault on a peace officer.
Thus, appellant contends the trial court erred in deny-
ing his pretrial motion to quash the indictment insofar
as it alleged riot, in overruling his motion that the pro-
secution be required to elect before trial which one of
two counts would be tried, in thereafter allowing the
prosecution to abandon the count of aggravated assault
and, lastly, in submitting to the jury only riot. The
question presented, then, is what remains in an indict-
1. Fifth Amendment to the Constitution of the United States,
made applicable to the States through the Fourteenth Amendment
by Benton v. Maryland, 395 U.S. 784, 39 S.Ct. 2056, 23 L.Ed.2d 707
(1969); §14, Bill of Rights, Article I, Constitution of the State of
Texas; Articles 1.10 and 1.11, V.A.C.C.P.
B-10
ment that may be prosecuted again after the State has
elected to abandon its first count and is unable to con-
vince a jury to find an accused guilty of the offense alleg-
ed in the second count. The answer, of course, is one of
law.
Jeopardy attached when the jury in the first trial had
been empaneled and sworn. Crist v. Bretz, 437 U.S. 28,
98 S.Ct. 2156, 57 L.Ed.2d 24 (1978). But, in the or-
dinary case, ‘‘retrial is not automatically barred when a
criminal proceeding is terminated without finally resolv-
ing the merits of the charges against the accused,”’
Arizona v. Washington, 434 U.S. 497, 98 S.Ct. 824, 54
L.Ed.2d 717 (1978). That a jury is unable to agree on its
verdict is a ‘classic example” of a happening that will
not preclude a second trial, Downum v. United States,
372 U.S. 734, 736, 83 S.Ct. 1033, 10 L.Ed.2d 100 (1963),
and that matter is regulated by statute in this
State. See Article 36.31, V.A.C.C.P. and, e.g., Bowles v.
State, 606 S.W.2d 875.(Tex.Cr.App. 1980). In this kind
of ‘‘manifest necessity’’ for declaring a mistrial, the
jeopardy that had once attached becomes, so to speak,
unattached, and our statute provides that ‘‘the cause
may be again tried,”’ Article 36.33, V.A.C.C.P. United
States v. Sanford, 429 U.S. 14, 97 S.Ct. 20, 50 L.Ed.2d
17 (1976).
What is before the Court now, however, is not an or-
dinary case. Appellant urges that the issue presented
has already been resolved by the Court, early and late, in
a number of decisions cited in his brief. They run from
Mizell v. State, 83 Tex.Cr.R. 305, 203 S.W. 49 (1918),
through Ex parte Scelles, 511 S.W.2d 300 (Tex.Cr.App.
1974), which cites many more, to Patterson v. State, 581
S.W.2d 696 (Tex.Cr.App. 1979); but in each the accused
was convicted of an offense other than the one aban-
B-11
doned at some point in the proceeding.” The matter ap-
pears to be one of first impression in this State.
The principle at work in the line of cases relied on by
appellant is that when the merits of at least one of the
charges on trial has been resolved against the accused,
and the others have not been effectively withdrawn from
consideration by the jury, a general verdict of guilty
leaves the trial court uncertain as to which offense its
judgment should adjudicate guilt of the defendant.
Jones v. State, supra, at 544; Walker v. State, 573
S.W.2d 499, 500 (Tex.Cr.App. 1971). But when none of
the charges has been resolved on the merits, a general
proposition of Jeopardy law is that retrial of the cause is
not barred, and Article 36.33, supra, is in accord with
that if mistrial has been declared because the jury was
unable to agree on a verdict. The cause thus stands as if
it had never been tried, and the State is, as it should be,
allowed second opportunity to persuade another jury to
return a verdict of guilty on whichever count of the in-
dictment is ultimately submitted. See Stanley v. State,
625 S.W.2d 320, 323-324 (Tex.Cr.App. 1981).
2. Black v. State, 143 Tex.Cr.R. 318, 158 S.W.2d 795 (1942) is il-
lustrative of the rule applied in that situation, which the Court
quotes from Texas Jurisprudence:
‘‘Where a defendant has been tried on several counts
and convicted under one he is thereby acquitted of the
others, and may not later be tried upon the ones for which
he was so acquitted. Thus where there are several counts
in an indictment and only one is submitted to the jury,
this amounts to an acquittal upon the abandowed counts,
and the defendant may not upon a subsequent trial be
prosecuted on the abandoned counts." (All emphasis is
mine unless otherwise indicated.)
That rationale still obtains in this Court, as Jones v. State, 586
S.W.2d 542, 544 (Tex.Cr.App. 1979) demonstrates.
B-12
Accordingly, I conclude that the trial court did not err
in any of the particulars asserted by appellant, and
would perforce overrule his four grounds of errors.
However, the majority concludes that the trial court
erred in denying appellant’s pretrial motion to quash the
indictment insofar as it alleged riot. To reach that
result the majority utilizes the doctrine of ‘‘manifest
necessity’’ in a manner that, I must say frankly, is alien
to the jeopardy jurisprudence of this State and of the
Supreme Court of the United States. That is, a deter-
mination must be made ‘‘whether there was any show-
ing by the State of any manifest or imperative necessity
that would have warranted the trial court not submit-
ting the riot count of the indictment to the jury at the
first trial.’’
The ‘‘manifest necessity’’ doctrine, while not a precise
formulation, is the test to examine exercise by a trial
court of its discretionary authority ‘‘to discharge a jury
from giving any verdict,’’ United States v. Perez, 9
Wheat 579, 580, 6 L.Ed. 165 (1824), the declaration be-
ing made ‘‘over the objection of the defendant,”’ Arizona
v. Washington, 434 U.S. 497, 505, 98 S.Ct. 824, 830, 54
L.Ed.2d 717 (1978). Compare United States v. Jorn, 400
U.S. 470, 91 S.Ct. 547, 27 L.Ed.2d 543 (1971). So far as
has been ascertained neither this Court nor the Supreme
Court has deemed the doctrine a measure for deciding
whether a trial court is justified in withholding one or
more counts of an indictment from consideration by the
jury, and the majority finds no support for its twisting
the square of manifest necessity into the round hole of
submission of counts to a jury. Conceptually the two
simply will not fit.
Accordingly, I respectfully dissent.
CLINTON, Judge
B-13
(Delivered December 22, 1982)
BY: Panel 2, 2nd Quarter, 1982, composed of:
John F. Onion, Jr., Presiding Judge
Sam Houston Clinton, Judge
Marvin O. Teague, Judge
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.