Petition — Jabara v. Webster

Supreme Court brief1983

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

fhce SUP

Of ¥ i Ls rT)

aPk bk) 1983

6 . as.

ALEXANDS R L. STV

yaaa

reme Court, *$.

; IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1982

ABDEEN M. JABARA,

Petitioner,

Ve

WILLIAM H. WEBSTER, et al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

SIXTH CIRCUIT

JOHN H.F. SHATTUCK

Counsel of Record

BURT NEUBORNE

MARK H. LYNCH

DAVID E. LANDAU

JERRY J. BERMAN

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION

FOUNDATION

600 Pennsylvania Avenue, S.E.

Washington, D.C. 20003

(202) 544-1681

Counsel for Petitioner

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

l. Does the Fourth Amendment permit warrant-

less surveillance by a Federal agency of the

contents of an American citizen's private

electronic communications, simply because the

agency has the technical capability to monitor

the streams of unintelligible signals that

carry those communications?

ae Does subsection (e)(7) of the Privacy

Act, 5 U.S.C. § 552a(e)(7), permit a Federal

agency to maintain, as part of an "intelli-

gence" investigation unrelated to any unlawful

activity, records describing a person's

exercise of First Amendment rights?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioner is Abdeen M. Jabara.

Respondents are William H. Webster,

Director, Federal Bureau of Investigation;

Lt. Gen. Lincoln Faurer, Director, National

Security Agency; William French Smith, Attor-

ney General; L. Patrick Gray, former Acting

Director, Federal Bureau of Investigation;

Neil J. Welch, Special Agent, Federal Bureau

of Investigation; Winston Churchill, Special

Agent, Federal Bureau of Investigation; John

Doe and Richard Roe, unknown present or former

Special Agents, Federal Bureau of Investiga-

tion; and James Boe and William Poe, unknown

present or former agents or officials of the

National Security Agency.

Respondents Webster, Smith, and

Faurer are sued in their official capacities;

all other respondents are sued in their indi-

vidual and/or former offical capacities, ex-

cept for respondent Gray, who remains a defen-

dant in his individual capacity only.

(ii)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

OPINIONS BELOW wccccccccccccccedtheccecses 6

JURISDICTION wcccccccccccces@sccsccececccs 3

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED Se Coen Bene, Ce 0 2 22 ae 6 4

STATEMENT OF THE CASE news ee 8-2 ee eet .@< @26@ 84:8. @ 5

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ..seeeecesees 20

I. The Sixth Circuit's Holding

that the Fourth Amendment

Permits Warrantless Surveil-

lance of the Contents of An

American Citizen's Private

Electronic Communications Is

Squarely in Conflict with

Katz v. United States and

1€S PLOGENY cecccccccccccccsese 26

+ The Sixth Circuit's Construc-

tion of Subsection (e)(7) of

The Privacy Act Conflicts

With the Eleventh Circuit's

Construction of the Subsec-

tion and Undermines the

Aims of the Privacy Act As

SB WHOLS cocccscecsacevesssssess 26

CONCLUSION eee eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee 48

(iii)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Albright v. United States, 631 F.2d 915

(D.C. Cif. 1980) eCoesesnesessesat, 44, 47

Arkansas v. Sanders, 442 U.S. 753

CEPT OL eveseccescoeseeseensseaeeveses 28, 29

Birnbaum v. United States, 588 F.2d 319

(2d «5 oe 1978) 6.6 2 6-24 8.18 8 6.8 6.8.0 2:22.02 6 a4

Camara v. Municipal Court, 387 U.S. 523

(1967) 2 8 88 2-6 e £39 8 2 6.8 8 0.8 2 6.8.6.6 62 2 6 8 2 2 80 34

Clarkson v. IRS, 678 F.2d 1368 24, 25, 37

(11th Cir. 1982) ...4+..38, 42, 45, 46, 47

Committee on Masonic Homes v. NLRB, 556

F.2d 214 (3d og 1974) a ew oe fe 2 oO a ey ee OF 44

Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443

(1971) o;©€. 8.5 6 0 £26 6 Co Oe Ore? £22.86 82 Ce 82 2 C2 2.e 34

Edwards v. California, 314 U.S. 160

(1941) *enreereneee#keer#ee#e*e###*#*e## ## # # # # # # #@ @# @#@ # #@ @ @ 36

FBI v. Abramson, 102 S. Ct. 2054 (1982) .. 44

Florida v. Brady, 406 So.2d 1093 (Fla.

1981), cert. granted, 50 U.S.L.W.

3924 (U.S. May 25, 1982)

(NO. 8121636) weccccccccseveecceseesee 32

Halkin v. Helms, 598 F.2d 1 (D.C. Cir.

1978) oe wp e*eeeeee#e##e#t##e#e###*#e#e#####e#e#ee## ee @# # @ 8

Hester v. United States, 265 U.S. 57

(1924) *enrieenrer#kee#e#kee##e#ee#e#t#e#ee##e#e#*e#e##e# # # # # # © @ 32

Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347 20, 26

(1967) er er eee ee yee ee. oe 30, ai» 32, 33

(iv)

Cases: Page

Lamont v. Department of Justice, 475

F. Supp. 761 (S.D.N.Y. 1979) “eee eeee 44

Oliver v. United States, 686 F.2d 356

(Sth Cir. 1982), cert. granted, 51

U.S.L.W. 3552 (U.S. Jan. 25, 1983)

Cs BaeUS) esa cccececcoescasticesccece Im

Olmstead v. United States, 277 U.S. 438

(1928) “eneree ew#eeeeeneeeeeetrteeeeeeee eee @ 31

Smith v. Maryland, 442 U.S. 735 (1979) ... 28

Rural Housing Alliance v. USDA, 498 F.2d

73 (D.C. Cit. 1974) oeeeweeeeeeneeeeeeee 43

Stanford v. Texas, 379 U.S. 476 (1965) ... 35

United States v. Chadwick, 433 U.S. 1

(1977) *“eereeeenrneeentreee #e#eeeeeee#ee#e#e#e#ee#*# 29

United States v. Dunn, 674 F.2d 1093 (5th

Cir.), petition for cert. filed, 51

U.S.L.W. 3260 (U.S. Oct. 15, 1982)

(NO. 82-508) weccccccccccccssccescccse 32

United States v. Knotts, 51 U.S.L.W 28, 30

Base (sO. BOS. 1, T9SR) ccvvcvssessve oe

United States v. United States District 26

Coere. 667 Uuh. 297 CUSTA) cesccosecdee aa

Walter v. United States, 447 U.S. 649

(1980) Se Oe Oeeeseeeevws@e ee’ eCeeVeveeo27oes8 @€ 8 60.808 2006 8 8 & 28

Zurcher v. Stanford Daily, 436 U.S. 547

(1978) *enereeeeeenteeeeereteeeeeeee#eeeee#ee#ee#ee#ee 35

(v)

Constitutional And Statutory

Authorities: Page

U.S. Const., Amend. I tteccoseese®y 25, 37, €2

.S. Const., Amend. Iv Soe eee eee reece se Passim

> U.8.C.. ¢ 5952(b) (7) coeccceccccccccah, 42, 47

> U.S.C. § 552a(e) (7) co eee eee eres sees s Passim

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) PEVCKO Ob 64 ted b0 48 6 0 < 4

Office of Management and Budget

Privacy Act Guidelines,

40 Fed. Reg. 28,965 (1975) Coccccccccces 42

Supreme Court Rule 17.1(a) J ee ee ne |

Legislative Materials:

Subcomm. on Government Information «&

Individual Rights of the House

Comm. On Government Operations 5

Subcomm. on Administrative

Practice & Procedure of the

Senate Comm. on the Judiciary,

Freedom of Information Act and

Amendments of 1974 (Pub. L. No.

93-502) Source Book: Legisla-

tive History, Texts, and Other

Documents, 94th Cong., lst Sess.

(1975) (Joint Comm. Print) Gesecsese £6

(vi)

Legislative Materials: Page

Senate Comm. on Government Operations &

Subcomm. on Government Information

and Individual Rights of the House

Comm. on Government Operations,

Legislative History of the Privacy

Act of 1974, S. 3418 (Pub. L. No.

93-579): Source Book on Privacy,

94th Cong., 2d Sess. (1976) (Joint

Comm. Print) .ecccvceceddy 40 41, 43, 44

3 Senate Select Committee to Study

Governmental Operations with

Respect to Intelligence Activities,

Final Report, S. Rep. No. 755, 94th

Cong., 20 SESS. (1976) wecccccccccccsee ed

5 Intelligence Activities -- S. Res.

21: Hearings before the Senate

Select Comm. to Study Governmental

Operations with Respect to Intel-

ligence Activities, 94th Cong.,

Tet Sess. (1975) waeccovcsccccescecceeGs, F

Protecting Individual Privacy in Fed-

eral Gathering, Use, and Disclo-

sure of Information, S. Rep. No.

1183, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. (1974) ..40, 41

S. Rep. No. 813, 89th Cong., 1st

Sess. (1965) ee ee ee eee

Staff Analysis of House and Senate

Compromise Amendments to Federal

Privacy Act (1974) wcccccccccccccccccecdl

Attorney General's Memorandum on the

1974 Amendments to the Freedom of

Information Act (197464) wccccecrvssceseseS

(vii)

Page

Statement of President Ford on Imple-

mentation of Privacy Act of 1974

(Sept. 29, 1975) *oentieeeeene + @& @ © © © @ @ 45

Other Authorities:

Guidebook to the Freedom of Information

and Privacy Acts (R. Bouchard & J.

Franklin eds. 1980) *e*eereoeeseeee#e#ee#e#e#e#e#e##ee#e¢ 46

Hon. Griffin B. Bell, Electronic Surveil-

lance and the Free Society, 23

St. LOULS Usede V LEETS) eeeeceven 22

Note, Government Monitoring of Interna-

tional Electronic Communications:

National Security Agency Watch List

Survelllance and The Fourth Amend-

ment, 5! Cal. L. Rev. 429 (1978) .. 9

(viii)

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1982

No. 82-

ABDEEN M. JABARA,

Petitioner,

Ve

WILLIAM H. WEBSTER, et al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

SIXTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner Abdeen M. Jabara respect-

fully prays that a writ of certiorari issue to

review the judgment of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit entered in

this proceeding on October 21, 1982, reversing

the judgment of the United States District

Court for the Eastern District of Michigan

entered in this proceeding on June 13, 1979.

The district court, on motion for summary

judgment, had declared (1) that certain war-

rantless surveillance by the National Security

Agency of the contents of petitioner's private

overseas electronic communications violated

the Fourth Amendment; and (2) that the main-

tenance by the Federal Bureau of Investigation

of certain records describing how petitioner

has exercised his First Amendment rights vio-

lated subsection (e)(7) of the Privacy Act, 5

U.S.C. § 552a(e)(7). The court below vacated

the district court's order enjoining such con-

duct.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court below an-

nouncing the judgment at issue is reported at

691 F.2d 272 (6th Cir. 1982), and appears in

the appendix hereto ("Pet. App.") at 90. The

unreported order of the court below denying

the petition for rehearing appears at Pet.

App. 104. The unreported dissent of Circuit

Judges Merritt and Jones from the denial of

rehearing en banc appears at Pet. App. 107.

The opinion of the district court is reported

at 476 F. Supp. 561 (E.D. Mich. 1979), and ap-

pears at Pet. App. 1. The district court's

unreported partial judgment appears at Pet.

App. 84.

JURISDICTION

The judgment :ought to be reviewed

by this petition was entered on October 21,

1982. Pet. App. 90. The order of the court

below denying petitioner's timely petition for

rehearing was entered on December 17, 1982.

Pet. App. 104. The order of the Sixth Circuit

denying rehearing en banc was initially

entered on December 17, 1982, and subsequently

re-entered on December 22, 1982, as amended to

include the dissent of Circuit Judge Merritt,

in which Circuit Judge Jones concurred. Pet.

App. 107. On March 8, 1983, Circuit Justice

O'Connor extended the time in which to file

this petition from March 16, 1983, to and in-

cluding April 16, 1983, the date on which this

petition is being filed. This Court's juris-

diction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

U.S. Constitution, Amendment IV:

The right of the people

to be secure in their

persons, houses, papers,

and effects, against

unreasonable searches and

seizures, shall not be

violated, and no Warrants

Shall issue, but upon

probable cause, supported

by Oath or affirmation,

and particularly

describing the place to be

searched, and the persons

or things to be seized.

Privacy Act, subsection (e)(7), 5 U.S.C.

§ 552a(e) (7):

(e) Each agency that

maintains a system of

records shall --

* * *

(7) maintain no record

describing how any

individual exercises

rights guaranteed by the

First Amendment unless

expressly authorized by

Statute or by the

individual about whom the

record is maintained or

unless pertinent to and

within the scope of an

authorized law enforcement

activity[.]

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitoner is a politically active

Michigan lawyer. | A second-generation

American born to parents of Lebanese origin,

petitioner founded and has served as president

of the Association of Arab-American University

Graduates.2 Since 1967, he has lectured

1 Jabara Aff. (July 18, 1973) 44 1-2.

Petitioner received his law degree from

Wayne State University Law School in 1966.

At all times relevant hereto, petitioner

has been a member in good standing of the

Bar of the State of Michigan. Id. 4 1.

2 Id. 4 2. See Supplemental Jabara Aff.

in Support of Discovery Motion (Dec. 12,

(Footnote continued. )

and published on issues relating to the Middle

East conflict.3 In the course of his

activities, petitioner has decried what he re-

gards as harassment of Arab students by the

FBI,4 and has urged Arabs living in the

United States "to mount legal challenges to

(Footnote continued. )

1974) ¥ 2. The organization is a non-

profit, tax-exempt corporation "organized

and operating to further the dissemination

of accurate and scientific knowledge about

the Middle East and improve the bonds

among Americans of Arab heritage and

between the Arab and American people."

Jabara Aff. (July 18, 1973) ¥ 2.

Petitioner has been active in the

Organization of Arab Students and the

Young Socialist Alliance. First Amended

Complaint ¥ 12.

3 Jabara Aff. (July 18, 1973) ¥ 2. Peti-

tioner is, among other things, co-editor

of The Arab World: From Nationalism to

Revolution (Medina U. Press, Ill. 1971),

and has served as editor of Free Pales-

tine, a periodical. Plaintiff*s Answers

to Defendants' First Interrogatories ¥ 1;

Jabara Aff. (July 18, 1973) 4 2. Some of

petitioner's lectures on the Middle East

Situation, and on United States policy in

the Middle East, are recounted in

Supplemental Jabara Aff., supra note 2,

q 4.

4 First Amended Complaint ¥ 16.

FBI investigations" targeting them. >

Beginning at least as early as 1967

and continuing with some interruptions until

1975, petitioner himself became a subject of

investigation by the FBI.® As part of its

investigation, the FBI requested that the NSA

Supply it with any information concerning

petitioner that might "come into" the NSA's

possession. / The NSA, without first ob-

5 476 F. Supp. 561, 574 (E.D. Mich.

1979), Pet. App. 48. See also First

Amended Complaint { 2; Supplemental Jabara

Aff., supra note 2, ¥ 3.

6 476 F. Supp. at 564, Pet. App. 3.

7 Answer to First Amended Complaint by

Defendants Levi, Kelley, Welch, and

Churchill 4 19. The FBI's investigatory

tactics also included physical surveil-

lance by informants and agents, inspection

of petitioner's bank records, warrantless

electronic surveillance, interviews of

third parties regarding petitioner, and

the maintenance and dissemination of in-

formation acquired during the investiga-

tion. 476 F. Supp. at 564, Pet. App. 6.

taining a warrant, intercepted and summarized

for the FBI a series of petitioner's private

overseas electronic communications. 8

8 476 F. Supp. at 577, Pet. App. 58; An-

swer to First Amended Complaint, supra

note 7, ¥ 17.

International electronic communications

channels are monitored by the NSA at the

request of the FBI, the CIA, the Depart-

ment of Defense, and other Federal agen-

cies. See 5 Intelligence Activities -- S.

Res. 21: Hearings Before the Senate

Select Comm. to Study Governmental Opera-

tions With Respect to Intelligence Activ-

ities, 94th Cong., Ist Sess. 9-12, 20

(1976) (statement of Lt. Gen. Lew Allen,

Jr., Director, NSA) ["5 Intelligence

Activities"); Halkin v. Helms, 255 F.2d 1,

q(D.C. Cir. 1578). The agency "picks up

all communications carried over a specific

link that it is monitoring," using a

technique that has been described as

"analogous to a vacuum cleaner." 3 Senate

Select Committee to Study Governmenta

Operations with Respect to Intelligence

Activities, Final Report, S. Rep. No. 7/55,

94th Conq., 2d Sess. /41 (1976). The

Signals that carry the electronic communi-

cations through such channels may be

reduced to intelligible form when the

NSA's computers are instructed to target

such key features as specified names or

words mentioned in a communication. See

Halkin v. Helms, 598 F.2d at 4 (describing

process). 8y Such means, particular com-

(Footnote continued, )

At no time during the seven years of

FBI investigation did any evidence emerge

"linking [petitioner] to the commission or

anticipated commission of any specific

crime."9 Moreover, no evidence was ever

(Footnote continued. )

munications, targeted for interception

from among the unintelligible signal

streams the NSA indiscriminately monitors,

are rendered available for human examina-

tion. See 5 Intelligence Activities,

Supra, at 19 (statement of Lt. Gen. Lew

Allen, Jr., Director, NSA). See generally

Note, Government Monitoring of Interna-

tional Electronic Communications: Na-

tional Security Agency Watch List Sur-

velllance and the Fourth Amendment, 51 S.

Cal. L. Rev. 429 (1978).

476 F. Supp. at 564, Pet. App. 4.

Defendants admitted that, with one

exception, the information they collected

on petitioner was not collected "pursuant

to a criminal investigation." Answer to

First Amended Complaint, supra note 7,

4 10. The FBI/NSA surveillance of peti-

tioner's overseas communications "was not

incidental to the investigation of non-

parties" -- that is, was not conducted in

the course of monitoring other individuals

Or organizations. 476 F. Supp. at 577,

Pet. App. 59. The district court stated

that "the record . . . does not disclose

any reason for the targeting and examina-

tion of these communications other than

(Footnote continued. )

produced "to establish that Jabara or the do-

mestic organization to which he belongs has

been implicated in any way with a foreign

agent or organization or acting in collabora-

tion with a foreign power."!9 pespite

the utter lack of such evidence, and despite

the lack of any evidence "implicat[ing] na-

national security,"!! the FBI has dis-

seminated information regarding petitioner --

including information received from the NSA --

to 17 government agencies, three foreign

governments, and other persons outside the

FBI.12

(Footnote continued.)

the fact that Jabara was a party to them."

Id., Pet. App. 60. See also id. at 579

n.12, Pet. App. 67 n.12.

10 476 F. Supp. at 579, Pet. App. 468.

11 476 F. Supp. at 574, Pet. App. 48.

This and other factors led the district

court to conclude that the FBI's investi-

gation may not have been "wholly prompted

by legitimate or good faith national se-

curity concerns." Id. at 574-75, Pet.

App. 48.

12 Id. at 565, Pet. App. 7; id. at 577,

Pet. App. 58.

w 4 «

On October 19, 1972, petitioner,

seeking declaratory and injunctive relief,

filed suit in the district court, alleging

that the investigatory tactics deployed

against him by FBI officials violated his

First, Fourth, Fifth, and Ninth Amendment

rights.'3 Petitioner subsequently

amended his complaint to allege that the FBI's

maintenance of records describing how he exer-

cised rights protected by the First Amendment

violated provisions of the Privacy Act,

5 U.S.C. § 552a.'4 Named as defendants

13 Complaint 44 9-12. NSA officials were

subsequently joined as defendants. Second

Amended Complaint 44 9-10.

14 Second Amended Complaint ¥ 58.

Petitioner also amended his complaint to

add claims for damages under 18 U.S.C. §

2520 and under the First, Fourth, Fifth,

and Ninth Amendments. First Amended

Complaint at p. 15. The district court

subsequently bifurcated the suit with

respect to the issues of liability and

damages. 476 F. Supp. at 565 n.1, Pet.

App. 10 n.1. Only the disposition of

petitioner's claim for declaratory and

(Footnote continued. )

were the Attorney General, the Director of the

FBI, the Director of the NSA, and several

named and unnamed agents and employees of the

FBI and Nsa.!5

Following five years of litigation

Over contested discovery matters, !® de-

fendants and plaintiffs filed cross-motions

for summary judgment.!7 In a judgment

entered on June 13, 1979, the district court

held that the warrantless examination of the

contents of petitioner's private overseas com-

(Footnote continued. )

injunctive relief is before this Court.

See id.

15 Complaint 4 3; First Amended Complaint

4% 3-9; Second Amended Complaint 4 2-11.

16 See Jabara v. Kelley, 62 F.R.D. 424

(—E.D. Mich. 1974); Siac v. Kelley, Civ.

No. 39065 (E.D. Mich. June 27, )

(unpublished opinion); Jabara v. Kelley,

75 F.R.D. 475 (E.D. Micn. 1977).

17 See Joint Appendix on Appeal to Sixth

Circuit at 78-82. Defendants also sought

dismissal of the First and Second Amended

Complaints.

munications violated the Fourth Amend-

ment.!'8 Stressing that no evidence had

been produced to establish that petitioner was

a foreign agent or was acting in collaboration

with a foreign power, the district court con-

cluded that the Fourth Amendment violation was

"clear."19

18

19

476 F. Supp. at 578-79, Pet. App. 65-

68. Because defendants had admitted "the

threshold and ultimate issue" -- that the

NSA had intercepted petitioner's overseas

communications, and had targeted them for

transmission to and examination by the FBI

-- the district court concluded that

"resort need not be made to privileged

material to establish a violation of

[Jabara's] constitutional rights." 476 F.

Supp. at 578, Pet. App. 63.

476 F. Supp. at 579, Pet. App. 68

(footnote omitted). The district court

enjoined the Director of the NSA "from us-

ing plaintiff's name or other personal

identifier as a means for selecting for-

eign cable communications for analysis,

summary, examination or dissemination

without first obtaining a judicial warrant

pursuant to procedures provided for by

applicable law." Partial Judgment qj 5,

Pet. App. 86-87. The court further en-

joined “[aJll remaining defendants not em-

ployed by the [NSA] .. . from requesting

(Footnote continued. )

The district court also held that

the FBI's maintenance of records describing

petitioner's exercise of First Amendment

rights violated subsection (e)(7) of the Pri-

vacy Act, 5 U.S.C. § 552a(e) (7), on the ground

that the “intelligence” investigation to which

the FBI's records were said to relate was not

focused on any "Specific past, present or fu-

ture criminal acts."29 Hence, the court

ruled, the maintenance of such records could

not be justified under subsection (e)(7) as

being “pertinent to and within the scope of an

(Footnote continued. )

the [NSA] to use plaintiff's name or other

personal identifier as a means for select-

ing copies of plaintiff's foreign communi-

cations or communications to plaintiff

from a foreign origin for analysis,

review, Summary or dissemination without

first obtaining a judicial warrant pur-

Suant to procedures provided by applicable

law." Id.

20 476 F. Supp. at 581, Pet. App. 77.

authorized law enforcement activity."2!

On appeal, the Sixth Circuit held

that the district court had erred in granting

petitioner's motion for summary judgment on

both the Fourth Amendment and Privacy Act

issues.22 On the Fourth Amendment is-

sue, the court ruled that no warrant was re-

quired for the NSA's general monitoring of the

channels that carried petitioner's private

communications,23 and therefore that no

21 Id. The district court enjoined

defendants and their successors in office

"from recording, maintaining, using or

disseminating information about the

Plaintiff's political beliefs,

communications, speeches, writings,

associations or activities, both public or

private, which do not relate to specific

Criminal acts." Partial Judgment q¥ 9,

Pet. App. 88-89.

22 The district court on March 11, 1980,

had denied defendants' motion for

reconsideration. Pet. App. 83A.

warrant was required for the NSA to select,

reduce to intelligible form, and examine peti-

tioner's private communications carried over

those channels.24 Analogizing the unin-

telligible electronic signals scanned by the

NSA to papers lawfully seized by an arson in-

vestigator at the scene of a fire under the

"plain view" exception to the warrant require-

ment,25 the Sixth Circuit ruled that the

warrantless interception and examination of

the contents of petitioner's communications,

and their dissemination to the FBI, could not

violate the Fourth Amendment. 26

Petitioner argued that, whatever the

propriety of warrantless NSA monitoring of the

25 Id. at 277, Pet. App. 97, citing United

States v. Gargotto, 476 F.2d 1009 (6th

Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 421 U.S. 987

(1975).

26 691 F.2d at 278-79, Pet. App.100-01.

streams of unintelligible signals that carried

his electronic communications, his Fourth

Amendment rights were violated when the NSA

targeted his private communications for

interception, and reduced the signals that

carried those communications to intelligible

form.27 The court below acknowledged

27

Brief for Plaintiff-Appellee 20-21.

Petitioner noted that before the signals

that carried his messages were reduced to

intelligible form, his communications were

"not open to scrutiny by either an ‘in-

truding eye' or an ‘uninvited ear.' Katz

v. United States, 389 U.S. 347, 352

(1967)." Id. at 21. In support of this

argument, petitioner cited Walter v. Uni-

ted States, 447 U.S. 649 (1980), which in-

volved the warrantless opening of film

boxes in the FBI's possession, and the

subsequent viewing of the films by the

FBI. Plaintiff-Appellee's List of Cita-

tions Updating Brief at 2. As petitioner

noted, this Court held in Walter that

"(t]he fact that FBI agentS were lawfully

in possession of the boxes of film did not

give them authority to search their con-

tents." 447 U.S. at 654.

that petitioner had "an actual (subjective)

expectation of privacy when he sent [his] tel-

egraphic messages overseas,"28 but sim-

ply denied that any illegal search and seizure

occurred when his messages were selected for

interception and reduced to intelligible

form. 29

The Sixth Circuit also held that the

district court had incorrectly construed sub-

section (e)(7) of the Privacy Act. Rejecting

the district court's construction of the sub-

section's "law enforcement activity" exemption

as "too narrow,"39 the court below held

without explanation that the exemption permits

the FBI to maintain records relating to an in-

dividual's exercise of First Amendment rights

28 691 F.2d at 278, Pet. App. 100

(emphasis added).

29 Id.

30 691 F.2d at 280, Pet. App. 103.

even if incident to an “intelligence investi-

gation" unrelated to any unlawful activi-

ty.31 The court remanded the cause to

the district court to apply the "correct legal

Standard, "32

On December 17, 1982, the court be-

low denied rehearing.33 Rehearing en

banc was denied over the dissent of Circuit

Judges Merritt and Jones, who stated their

view that petitioner's Fourth Amendment rights

"were probably violated" by the FBI/NSA sur-

veillance, and that “the issue is of suffi-

cient importance to require a hearing by the

full Court."34

31 at 279-80, Pet. App. 102.

id.

32 Id. at 280, Pet. App. 103.

33 Pet. App. 104.

34 Pet. App. 107.

- 30 «

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. The judgment below squarely con-

flicts with this Court's holding in Katz v.

United States, 389 U.S. 347 (1967), that war-

rantless government surveillance of a person's

private communications violates the Fourth

Amendment even where no "physical intrusion

into any given enclosure" is involved. Id. at

353. The judgment below mocks that holding by

allowing a person's private electronic commu-

nications to be intercepted and examined with-

Out a warrant simply because the government

has the technical capability to monitor the

unintelligible signal streams that carry those

communications. But to hold that a person's

expectations of privacy in his communications

are thus to be measured by the government's

capacity to defeat them by means of advanced

technology is to obliterate the fundamental

distinction between public and private that

alone renders the Fourth Amendment's protec-

tions meaningful.

The court below confused the chan-

nels through which petitioner's communications

were sent with the contents of the communica-

tions themselves -- an error of constitutional

magnitude. Just as the daily collection of

the mail by the United States Postal Service

does not entitle any government agency, with-

Out a warrant, to open and read the sealed en-

velopes thus collected, 35 so the moni-

toring of undifferentiated streams of signals

carrying private electronic communications

does not entitle government agencies to inter-

cept and examine those communications without

35. See, e.g., Birnbaum v. United States,

588 F. 319, 324 (2d Cir. 1978), citin

Ex parte Jackson, 96 U.S. 727, 733 ( ).

a warrant. Without a warrant, a government

agency is no more free to intercept and exam-

ine the contents of a person's private elec-

tronic communications than it is to open and

read his mail or to wiretap his telephone.

The sweep of the judgment challenged

herein makes plenary review by this Court es-

pecially critical. On the analysis of the

court below, it is immaterial whether a person

Claiming illegal surveillance of his private

overseas communications is a foreign agent or

acting in collaboration with a foreign power,

or whether national security is implica-

ted. 36 Indeed, under the court's rea-

36 See Supra page 10. Thus, this case

presents no occasion for this Court to

consider whether warrantless targeting and

interception of an individual's private

overseas communications is permissible

where the individual is a foreign agent or

acting in collaboration with a foreign

power, Or where national security is

implicated. Cf. Hon. Griffin B. Bell,

Electronic Surveillance and the Free

Society, 23 St. Louis U.L.J. 1, 4 (1979)

(Footnote continued. )

soning, it is immaterial whether the person's

electronic communications are international or

purely domestic. For according to the court

below, it is the fact that a government agency

has the technical capability to monitor the

channels through which the unintelligible sig-

nals carrying a person's communications are

sent that renders lawful the warrantless in-

terception and examination of particular com-

munications carried over those channels. A

more frightening and far-reaching repudiation

of Katz and its progeny can scarcely be imag-

ined. Review on this issue should therefore

be granted.

2. The court below also erred in

concluding that Congress, when it enacted the

"law enforcement activity" exemption to sub-

(Footnote continued. )

(noting "the need to do away with all-

purpose incantations about national secu-

rity").

= 22 @

section (e)(7) of the Privacy Act, intended to

permit the FBI to maintain, as part of an "in-

telligence" investigation unrelated to any un-

lawful activity, records describing an indi-

vidual's exercise of his First Amendment

rights. The legislative history of the Pri-

vacy Act and of the provision here at issue,

the interpretation of that provision by the

D.C. Circuit in Albright v. United States,

631 F.2d 915 (D.C. Cir. 1980), and the

Attorney General's and contemporaneous

judicial interpretation of parallel language

in the Freedom of Information Act, 5 U.S.C.

§ 552(b)(7), render untenable the Sixth

Circuit's construction. Moreover, the Sixth

Circuit's construction of subsection (e)(7)'s

"law enforcement activity" exemption squarely

conflicts with the Eleventh Circuit's

construction in Clarkson v. IRS, 678 F.2d

1368, 1375 (11th Cir. 1982). Finding the

"balance struck by the [district] court in

o» 9 «

Jabara .. . appropriate," the Eleventh Cir-

Cuit held that any investigation by the Inter-

nal Revenue Service, pursuant to which First

Amendment records are maintained under subsec-

tion (e)(7)'s “law enforcement activity" ex-

emption, must be related to some past, pres-

sent, Or anticipated statutory violation. Id.

Because the Sixth Circuit's con-

struction of subsection (e)(7)'s “law enforce-

ment activity" exemption would defeat the

purposes of the subsection and of the Privacy

Act as a whole; because of the widespread

application of subsection (e)(7) and its

direct bearing on the exercise of fragile

First Amendment freedoms; and because the

Sixth Circuit "has rendered a decision in

conflict with the decision of another federal

court of appeals on the same matter,” Supreme

Court Rule 17.1(a), the proper construction of

the provision is an issue that warrants

plenary review by this Court.

= a

I.

The Sixth Circuit's Holding that the

Fourth Amendment Permits Warrantless

Surveillance of The Contents of An

American Citizen's Private Electron-

ic Communications Is Squarely in

Conflict with Katz v. United States

and Its Progeny

Although, as the court below ob-

served, the monitoring of petitioner's mes-

sages involved "sophisticated, high-technology

methods and equipment," 691 F.2d at 278, Pet.

App. 99, the applicable constitutional princi-

ple could not be more old-fashioned: "([T]he

broad and unsuspected governmental incursions

into conversational privacy which electronic

surveillence entails necessitate the applica-

tion of Fourth Amendment safeguards." United

States v. United States District Court, 407

U.S. 297, 313 (1972) (footnote omitted). See

Katz v. United States, 389 1).S. 347, 351-52

(1967). Yet just those safeguards were sac-

rificed by the court below in the name of the

ajivanced technology employed in this case,

«= 27 «

The court below incorrectly supposed

that the fact of the NSA's monitoring of the

channels through which petitioner's communica-

tions were sent rendered unreasonable any expvec-

tation he had that the actual contents of those

communications would remain private. Thus, even

though the court acknowledged that petitioner had

"an actual (subjective) expectation of privacy

when he sent [his] . . . messages overseas," 691

F.2d at 278, Pet. App. 100 (emphasis added), the

court nevertheless concluded that no constitu-

tional injury occurred when the actual contents

of his private communications were intercepted

and examined without a warrant.

But it was precisely at the moment of

such interception and examination that peti-

tioner's “reasonable expectation of privacy" in

his electronic communications was invaded. Until

that moment, the contents of his messages were

not open to scrutiny by either an “intruding

—.

eye" or an "uninvited ear." Katz, 389 U.S. at

352. Cf. Been v. Maryland, 442 U.S. 735, 743

(1979) (distinguishing between privacy expec-

tation as to the telephone number a person

dials, and as to "the contents of his conver-

Sation") (emphasis in oriqinal). And the in-

trusion that occurred resulted not from any

mere augmentation of "the sensory faculties

bestowed upon [the defendants] at birth,"

United States v. Knotts, 51 U.S.L.W. 4232,

4234 (U.S. Mar. 1, 1983), but from the techno-

logical transformation of the electronic sig-

nals carrying petitioner's private communica-

tions -- signals otherwise unintelligible by

human beings, no matter how augmented their

natural faculties.

The act of reducing petitioner's

communications to intelligible form parallels

the opening of the boxes of film in Walter v.

United States, 447 U.S. 649 (1980), the open-

ing of the luggage in Arkansas v. Sanders, 442

o 39 «

U.S. 753 (1979), and the opening of the foot-

locker in United States v. Chadwick, 433 U.S.

1 (1977). The fact that the boxes of film in

Walter, the luggage in Sanders, and the foot-

locker in Chadwick were lawfully within the

government's possession at the time did not

relieve the government of its obligation to

secure a warrant before examining the contents

of those containers.

So, too, the fact that streams of

unintelligible electronic signals might law-

fully be monitored without a warrant -- a

point petitioner does not concede -- cannot

relieve the government of the obligation to

secure a warrant before intercepting and exam-

ining the contents cf the communications those

Signals carry. The Fourth Amendment "safe-

guard[s) individuals from unreasonable govern-

mental invasions of legitimate privacy inter-

ests." Chadwick, 433 U.S. at 11. Those

interests are rendered no less legitimate, nor

= 30 «

the governmental invasions of such interests

any more reasonable, simply because electronic

communications are involved. See Katz, 389

U.S. at 352; United States v. United States

District Court, 407 U.S. at 312-13.

To answer that intercepting and re-

ducing otherwise unintelligible signals to in-

telligible form is nothing more than “scienti-

fic enhancement" of natural human faculties,

compare Knotts, 51 U.S.L.W. at 4235, would be

to negate the very concept of an "intrusion"

-- reasonable or otherwise.38 It was

precisely so frightening a prospect that this

38 In Knotts, by contrast, this Court

stressed that "there is no indication that

the beeper was used in any way to reveal

information as to the movement of the drum

within the cabin, or in any way that would

not have been visible to the naked eye

from outside the cabin." 51 U.S.L.W. at

4235. The “scientific enhancement"

(Footnote continued. )

= 31 «

court squarely foreclosed in Katz, holding

that the Fourth Amendment's reach "cannot turn

upon the presence or absence of a physical in-

trusion into any given enclosure." 389 U.S.

at 353. That the “intrusion" in this case may

have involved plucking messages from airwave

channels can make no constitutional differ-

ence. The “unjustifiable intrusion

+ « « upon the privacy of the individual,"

Olmstead v. United States, 277 U.S. 438, 478

(1928) (Brandeis, J., dissenting), occurred

(Footnote continued.)

afforded by the beeper in Knotts merely

enabled the police to keep track of a mov-

ing car after its driver had resorted to

"evasive maneuvers." Id. at 4233.

No invasion of privacy was therefore in-

volved; no expectation of privacy was de-

feated. This Court stressed that “scien-

tific enhancement of this sort raises no

constitutional issues which visual sur-

veillance would not also raise." Id. at

4235 (emphasis added). See also id. at

4236 (Stevens, J., joined by Brennan &

Marshall, JJ., concurring in judg-

ment).

o 329 «

when the contents of petitioner's messages

were rendered intelligible.

Apparently regarding petitioner's

communications as being, in effect, within

"earshot" of anyone who can “hear" the signals

that carry them, the court below treated peti-

tionerc's communications as being entitled to

no greater Fourth Amendment protection than

"conversations in the open." Katz, 389 U.S.

at 361 (Harlan, J., concurring). But it was

impossible for anyone to “hear"™ petitioner's

communications until the signals that carried

them were intercepted and rendered intelligi-

ble by the NSA.39 And contrary to

39 Compare Hester v. United States,

1.5. 57 (1924); Florida ¥. Brady, 406

So.2d 1093 (Fla. 1981), cert. granted, 50

U.S.L.W. 3934 (U.S. May 25, 1982) (No.

81-1636); Oliver v. United States, 686

F.2d 356 (Sth Cir. 1982), cert. granted,

51 U.S.L.W. 3552 (J.S. Jan 25, 135 (No.

82-15); United States v. Dunn, 674 F.2d

1093 (5th Cir.), petition tor cert. filed,

51 U.S.U.W. 3260 oF: ~ Oct. 5, 1950) (NO.

82-508). See also Knotts, 51 U.S.L.W. at

4235-35 (Rlackmun, J., jJOined by Brennan,

Marshall & Stevens, JJ., concurring in

judgnent).

= 33 -

another metaphor misapplied by the court be-

low, the electronic communications transmitted

by petitioner were no more in “plain view"

when the signals that carried them were moni-

tored by the NSA than was the film in the box-

es in Walter when seized by the police. 40

The judgment below rests on no nar-

row exception to generally applicable Fourth

Amendment protections. This case does not in-

volve any considerations peculiar to surveil-

lance of international, as distinct from

purely domestic, communications. Nor is there

any claim of exigency here that could justify

waiving the warrant requirement. Compare,

40 See supra page 16. If petitioner's

messages had been intelligible when moni-

tored, the constitutional injury would

indeed have occurred fully at that point;

in such circumstances, the monitoring

itself would have constituted a warrant-

less wiretap, violating petitioner's

reasonable assumption that the messages he

has transmitted “will not be broadcast to

the world." Katz, 389 U.S. at 352.

e.g., Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443,

459-64 (1971); Camara v. Municipal Court, 387

U.S. 523, 539 (1967). Grounded, instead, in

the premise that the warrant requirement sim-

ply does not apply whenever sophisticated

technology enables the government to "“per-

ceive" otherwise private communications, the

judgment below baldly repudiates the teachings

of Katz and its progeny.

Should the judgment below escape this

Court's plenary review, government officials

would have a green light to ignore Katz -- not

simply with respect to surveillance of over-

seas communications, but with respect to sur-

veillance of domestic communications as well.

At its narrowest, the judgment below stands

for the unacceptable proposition that the

Fourth Amendment is inapplicable to the inter-

ception of overseas communications so long as

the NSA supplies the tools of such surveil-

= 35 «

lance. Taken to its logical conclusion, the

judament below embodies the view that the

Fourth Amendment can no longer shield a per-

son's private communications from surveillance

so long as the means employed by the govern-

ment to intercept and examine such communica-

tions are sufficiently sophisticated.

The resulting chill on private ex-

pression would be incalculable.4! wWith-

out any warrant requirement to limit the gov-

= —— +=

41 specially where, as here, "First

Amendment interests would be endangered by

a search," "the courts [must] apply the

warrant requirements with particular exac-

titude." Zurcher v. Stanford Daily, 436

U.S. 547, 565 (1978). See also Stanford

v. Texas, 379 U.S. 476, 482-85 (1965);

United States v. United States District

Court, 407 U.S. 297, 313-14 (1972). The

possibilities of “abuse,” Zurcher, 436

U.S. at 566, inherent in such “dragnet

type .. . practices" as those employed

here, Knotts, 51 U.S.L.W. at 4235, cannot

be overstated.

ernment's ability to transforin the private

into the public at will, the Fourth Amend-

ment's protections themselves would quickly

lose all meaning. The rule announced by the

court below would thus render the Fourth

Amendment no more than "a promise to the ear

to be broken to the hope, a teasing illusion

like a munificent bequest in a pauper's will."

Edwards v. California, 314 U.S. 160, 186

(1941) (Jackson, J., concurring). Neither the

Fourth Amendment nor this Court's precedents

Can countenance any such result. Accordingly,

review on this issue should be granted.

Il.

The Sixth Circuit's Construction

of Subsection (e)(7) of the Privacy

Act Conflicts With the Eleventh

Circuit's Construction of the

Subsection and Undermines the Aims

of the Privacy Act as a Whole.

Wholly apart from its judament with

respect to the Fourth Amendment issue, the

o 37 «

court below erred in holding that subsection

(e)(7) of the Privacy Act, 5 U.S.C. § 552a-

(e)(7), permits the FBI to maintain records

describing an individual's exercise of First

Amendment rights as part of an "intelligence"

investigation unrelated to any unlawful

activity. This construction of the subsection

is untenable, squarely conflicts with the

construction given by the Eleventh Circuit in

Clarkson v. IRS, 678 F.2d 1368 (11th Cir.

1982), and undermines the fundamental aims of

the Privacy Act as a whole,42

42 The record below established that the

FBI's maintenance of records relating to

petitioner's political activities did not

relate to investigation of any unlawful

conduct. See 476 F. Supp. at 581, Pet.

App. 78-79. Thus, the FBI's maintenance

of records describing petitioner's First

Amendment activities could be justified,

if at all, only by construing the "law

enforcement activity" exemption of subsec-

tion (e)(7) to include "intelligence"

investigations unrelated to any unlawful

activity. Petitioner does not contend

that the "law enforcement activity" ex-

(Footnote continued.)

The legislative history of subsection

(e)(7) establishes that the provision was in-

tended to preclude agencies from maintaining

records of First Amendment activities in con-

nection with "intelligence" investigations,

where such investigations do not focus on spe-

cific unlawful activity. Thus, Rep. Moorhead,

presenting H.R. 16373 to the House sitting as

a Committee of the Whole, explained that the

bill would permit the government to maintain

records on political activists as part of

"(lj awful criminal investigations," but not

(Footnote continued, )

emption necessarily requires an investiga-

tive focus on specific criminal activity;

nor did the Eleventh Circuit in Clarkson

understand the district court in this case

to have imposed such a requirement in

every situation. See 678 F.2d at 1375.

on those simply “exercising first amendment

rights."43 And although Rep. Ichord, in

discussing on the House floor the specific

"law enforcement activity" exemption ultimate-

ly enacted in subsection (e)(7), see Source

Book on Privacy, Supra note 43, at 901,

emphasized that such activity might include

"legitimate national or internal security

intelligence and investigations," id. at 902,

Such investigations were understood by

Congress, in this context, not to entail "col-

lection of protected information . . . about

43 Senate Comm. on Government Opera-

tions & Subcomm. on Government Information

and Individual Rights of the House Comm.

on Government Operations, Legislative

History of the Privacy Act =? TO74, 3.

3416 (bab L. No. eEEYEDE Source Book on

Privacy, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. 885 (19/76)

(Joint Comm. Print) ["Source Book on

Privacy"].

law-abiding Americans." Id. at 210.44 The

Privacy Act as a whole was "designed to prevent

44

Reprinting Protecting Individual Pri-

vacy in Federal Gathering, Use, and Disclo-

sure of Information, S. Rep. No. 1183, 93d

Cong., 2d Sess. 57 (1974) (accompanying S.

3418). See Source Book on Privacy, supra

note 43, at 903 (Rep. Ichord acknowledging

that "no file would be kept of persons who

are merely exercising their constitutional

rights"). Indeed, the "law enforcement ac-

tivity" exemption was repeatedly referred to

on the House floor as the "criminal exemp-

tion," see id. at 885-86 (emphasis added),

Suggesting that some in Congress deemed the

exemption to require an investigative focus

on specific criminal misconduct, and not,

alternatively, on conduct that could give

rise simply to civil or administrative sanc-

tions. To be sure, not every "intelligence"

investigation focuses on unlawful activity;

but only those that do may come within the

rubric of “law enforcement activity" within

the meaning of subsection (e)(7).

Although S. 3418, as reported, did not

include the "law enforcement activity" exemp-

tion, it did include a much broader exemption

-- one that would have allowed the mainten-

ance of records describing the political ac-

tivities of individuals if the agency head

determined that doing so was required for

"the administration of a statute." See

Source Book on Privacy, Supra note 43, at 988

(Footnote continued. )

the kind of illegal, unwise, over-broad, in-

vestigation and record surveillance of law-

abiding citizens which [had] resulted in re-

cent years from actions of some over-zealous

investigators, [and] from the curiosity of

some government administrators." Source Book

on Privacy, supra note 43, at 867 (statement

of Sen. Ervin, sponsor of S. 3418). By enact-

ing the "law enforcement activity" exemption,

(Footnote continued.)

(Staff Analysis of House and Senate Com-

promise Amendments to Federal Privacy

Act). But the Senate bill's exemption,

broader than the exemption ultimately

enacted, would itself clearly have pre-

cluded the maintenance of records on an

individual's exercise of First Amendment

rights where no specific unlawful activity

was involved. Source Book on Privacy,

Supra note 43, at 209-10, S. Rep. No.

1183, Supra, at 56-57. Not only did the

compromise bill narrow the exemption; it

also broadened the subsection's protection

of First Amendment rights. See Source

Book on Privacy, supra note 43, at 988

(Staff Analysis of House and Senate Com-

promise Amendments to Federal Privacy

Act).

- 42 -

"Congress did not intend to dilute the guaran-

tees of the First Amendment by authorizing the

maintenance of files on ‘persons who are mere-

ly exercising their constitutional rights.'"

Clarkson v. IRS, 678 F.2d at 1374.49

The view that the "law enforcement ac-

tivity" exemption requires investigative focus

on specific unlawful activity is buttressed by

the common understanding of parallel language

in subsection (b)(7) of the Freedom of Infor-

mation Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. § 552(5)(7) ("Ex-

emption 7"), exempting from disclosure under

the FOIA certain “investigatory files compiled

for law enforcement purposes." As Attorney

General Levi explained, records of general

information-gathering for monitoring purposes

are not for “law enforcement purposes" under

45 Quoting Office of Management and Bud-

get, Privacy Act Guidelines, 40 Fed. Reg.

28,965 (1975) (quoting 120 Cong. Rec. H.

19,892 (daily ef Nov. 20, 1974) and H10,

952 (daily ed. Nov. 21, 1974)).

-43-

Exemption 7 "except where the purpose for

which the records are held and used by the

agency becomes substantially violation-orient-

ed."46 This view accords with contem-

poraneous judicial interpretations of the ex-

emption as requiring a showing that the inves-

tigatory files "were compiled for adjudicative

or enforcement purposes." See, e.g., Rural

Housing Alliance v. USDA, 498 F.2d 73, 80

(D.C. Cir. 1974) (per Wilkey, J.) (emphasis

in original), reprinted in Source Book on

46 Memorandum On The 1974 Amendments To

Freedom of Information Act (1975) (empha-

Sis added), reprinted in Subcomm. on Gov-

ernment Information & Individual Rights of

the House Comm. on Government Operations &

Subcomm. on Administrative Practice & Pro-

cedure of Senate Comm. on the Judiciary,

Freedom of Information Act and Amendments

of 1974 (Pub. L. No. 93-502) Source Book:

Legislative History, Texts, and Other

Documents, 94th Cong., lst Sess. 516

(1975) (Joint Comm. Print).

» @4 -

Privacy, supra note 43, at 1430, 1436.47

A "violation-oriented" construction of

subsection (e)(7), unlike the Sixth Circuit's

construction, also finds support in the inter-

pretation given the provision by the D.C.

Circuit in Albright v. United States, 631 F.2d

915 (D.C. Cir. 1980). There the D.C. Circuit

confirmed that Congress intended a broad con-

struction of the subsection's prohibition on

maintaining records of First Amendment activi-

ties and a narrow construction of the prohi-

bition's exemptions. Id. at 918-20 & n.5.

47 See also Lamont v. Department of Jus-

tice, 475 F. Supp. 761, 774-75 (S.D.N.Y.

1979) (per Weinfeld, J.) ("generalized

monitoring and information gathering...

are not related to the [FBI's] law en-

forcement duties") (citing subsection

(e)(7) and Exemption 7) (discussing period

of surveillance of plaintiff when evidence

suggested no illegal activity); Committee

on Masonic Homes v. NLRB, 556 F.2d 214,

219 (3d Cir. 1977) (files compiled for

"law enforcement purposes" within meaning

of Exemption 7 "'‘'are the files prepared

(Footnote continued.)

- 45 -

Such an understanding of subsection (e)(7) ac-

cords with the Privacy Act's broader mission

of “provid[ing] special safeguards whenever

the rights of citizens to free speech and ex-

pression are involved." Source Book on Pri-

vacy, supra note 43, at 1002 (Statement by

President Ford on Implementation of Privacy

Act of 1974) (Sept. 29, 1975) (emphasis

added).

As construed by the court below,

subsection (e)(7)'sS exemption for records

maintained pursuant to “law enforcement acti-

vity" would entirely swallow the provision's

prohibition on the maintenance of records for

(Footnote continued.)

by Government agencies to prosecute law

violators'" (quoting S. Rep. No. 813, 89th

Cong., lst Sess. 9 11965)). Cf. FBI v.

Abramson, 102 S. Ct. 2054, 2060 (1982)

(name check summaries developed by the FBI

pursuant to White House request for infor-

mation about certain public personalities

"were not compiled for law enforcement

purposes" within meaning of Exemption 7).

purely political purposes. For precisely that

reason, the Eleventh Circuit in Clarkson v.

IRS, 678 F.2d 1368 (11th Cir. 1982), construed

subsection (2)(7) much as the district court

did in this case -- to require at least some

violation-oriented investigative focus before

the IRS might maintain records of First Amend-

ment activities under the subsection's "law

enforcement activity" exemption.48 unless

48 In Clarkson, the Eleventh Circuit held

that subsection (e)(7) was violated "to

the extent that the IRS has engaged in the

practice of collecting protected informa-

tion [about plaintiff's activities], un-

connected to any investigation of past,

present or anticipated violations of the

Statutes which it is authorized to en-

force." 678 F.2d at 1375. The court

pointedly noted that the "law enforcement

activity" exemption had been criticized as

inviting misuse, contrary to the intent of

Congress, to "'open[ ] a loophole that

threatens to swallow the rule,' and ‘may

well perpetrate those fishing expeditions'

that subsection (e)(7) is designed to

preclude.'" Id. at 1374 n.9, quoting

Guidebook to the Freedom of Information

and Privacy Acts 46, 74-75 n.70 (R.

Bouchard & J. Franklin eds. 1980).

anchored to a requirement that any “intel-

ligence" investigation constituting “law

enforcement activity" be focused on specific

unlawful activity, the subsection's general

protection against Big Brother surveillance of

entirely lawful political activity would soon

be eviscerated.

Because the Sixth Circuit's interpre-

tation of subsection (e)(7) plainly contra-

dicts the intent of Congress, the interpreta-

tion of the subsection by the D.C. Circuit in

Albright, and the contemporaneous construction

of parallel language in the FOIA by the Attor-

ney General and by the courts; and because the

Sixth Circuit's construction of the “law en-

forcement activity" exemption conflicts

squarely with the Eleventh Circuit's construc-

tion in Clarkson, plenary review on this

issue, as well as on the Fourth Amendment

issue, is warranted.

- 48 -

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, petitioner

respectfully prays that the instant petition

be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN H.F. SHATTUCK

Counsel of Record

BURT NEUBORNE

MARK H. LYNCH

DAVID E. LANDAU

JERRY J. BERMAN

AMERICAN CIVIL LIBERTIES UNION

FOUNDATION

600 Pennsylvania Avenue, S.E.

Washington, D.C. 20003

(202) 544-1681

Counsel for Petitioner”

April 16, 1983.

* Petitioner acknowledges the assistance of

David H. Remes of Kaye, Scholer, Fierman,

Hays & Handler, and Lucinda Starrett, a

Student at the University of Pennsylvania

School of Law, in the preparation of this

petition.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

SOUTHERN DIVISION

ABDEEN M. JABARA,

Plaintiff,

Vv. Civil No.

39065

CLARENCE M. KELLEY,

ET AL.,

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM OPINION

This case presents a constitutional

and statutory challenge to various

practices employed by the National Security

Agency, the Federal Bureau of Investiga-

tion and several of their agents in

conducting an investigation of the

plaintiff. Although long, the history of

this case is one consisting mainly of

contested discovery matters, most of

which have involved various privilege

claims on the part of the government.

See Jabara v. Kelley, 75 F.R.D. 475 (E.D.

2

Mich. 1977); Jabara v. Kelley, No. 3-9065

(E.D. Mich. June 27, 1975); Jabara v.

Kelley, 62 F.R.D. 424 (E.D. Mich. 1974).

The motions now before the Court, the

defendants' motion to dismiss and for

summary judgment and the plaintiff's

motion for summary judgment, represent the

first time the Court has been called upon

to resolve the merits of this suit.

The facts in this case have been

developed through a long and tedious

process of discovery which has caused the

Court a great deal of concern. However,

the Court is now satisfied that the

plaintiff has received all of the requested

discovery materials to which he is

entitled. Similarly, the Court is satis-

fied that the disclosures required of the

defendants have not compromised the

national security or any ongoing criminal

Or national security investigation.

3

Because the Court has upheld certain

governmental claims of executive privilege

and the state secrets privilege, the

following summary of facts is necessarily

incomplete. Although the public record is

incomplete, the defendants, during the

course of this litigation, have submitted

various in camera affidavits upon which

they now rely in support of their motions.

I FACTS

The plaintiff, Abdeen Jabara, a

Detroit attorney, has been and is an

active member of or participant in various

Arab organizations. Beginning in 1967,

the FBI began investigating Jabara and

that investigation continued with some

interruptions until December, 1975. The

investigation, although appearing to have

some continuity, involved a plurality of

discrete and independent events, each of

which has led to some FBI intelligence

gathering activity directed at Jabara.

4

Although the investigation did involve at

least one criminal aspect, the record is

devoid of any evidence linking the

plaintiff to the commission or anticipated

commission of any specific crime. Instead,

the defendants seek to justify their

intrusions into the plaintiff's life as a

legitimate national security investigation.

The investigatory tactics employed by

the FBI include physical surveillance by

informants and agents, inspection of

Jabara's bank records, warrantless

electronic surveillance by the FBI and NSA,

interviews of third parties regarding

Jabara and the maintenance and dissemina-

tion of information gained during the

investigation.

The most frequently used investiga-

tory tactic was the use of informants who

reported on Jabara's presence at various

public and private political gatherings.

5

In addition to reporting Jabara's presence

at such gatherings, the information

Supplied by the informant usually included

a summary of political discussions or

speeches by Jabara. In addition, the FBI

file contains several reports which appear

to have resulted from the physical sur-

veillance of the plaintiff. The record

also supports the conclusion that much of

the public and private surveillance of

Jabara was the result of incidental

contacts. In other words, the presence

of FBI informants at meetings and dis-

cussions attended by Jabara does not

appear to have resulted solely from an

investigatory interest in Jabara.

Included in information regarding Jabara

is data which the FBI has recieved from

Zionist sources.

In addition to the surveillance

mentioned above and as a part of broader

6

national security investigation, the FBI

sought to obtain information regarding

Jabara's bank records. Although there is

some dispute regarding the scope of this

portion of the investigation, it does

appear that the FBI obtained information

regarding a deposit to one of Jabara's

accounts, revealing the identity of one of

his clients.

The record also establishes that

Jabara's telephone and wire communications

have been intercepted by the FBI and NSA.

On several occasions the FBI has inciden-

tally intercepted Jabara communications

pursuant to electronic surveillance

directed at others. Furthermore, the FBI,

as part of its investigation of Jabara,

requested that NSA forward to the Bureau

any information coming into its

poss2ssion regarding the plaintiff.

Pursuant to this request NSA supplied the

FRI with several summaries of Jabara's

7

foreign wire communications. None of these

electronic surveillance activities were

conducted pursuant to a warrant.

The information obtained through

these various investigatory tactics has

been recorded and maintained in FBI files.

In addition, the FBI has disseminated

information regarding Jabara in its

possession to 17 government agencies and

three foreign governments.

From this factual basis, Jabara seeks

relief pursuant to eight separate causes

of action. The first cause of action

alleges a violation of the fourth amendment

and 18 U.S.C. §§ 2511 and 2520 as the result

of the defendants' electronic surveillance

of Jabara's telephone and other communica-

tions. The second cause of action alleges

that the defendants' conduct violated the

plaintiff's first amendment rights of free-

dom of speech and association. The third

cause of action alleges warrantless

8

searches, seizures and collection of

information in violation of the first and

fourth amendments. The fourth cause of

action alleges that the interception of

conversations between the plaintiff and

his clients violated the clients' sixth

amendment rights, and damaged Jabara's

professional reputation and his ability to

pursue his profession in violation of the

first and fifth amendments. The fifth

cause of action alleges unreasonable

invasions of the plaintiff's privacy in

violation of the first, fourth, fifth and

ninth amendments. The sixth cause of

action alleges that the inspection of the

plaintiff's bank records violated the

fourth amendment. The seventh cause of

action alleges that the conduct of the FBI

in this case exceeds its statutory author-

ity and is also beyond the constitutional

authority of the executive branch of the

federal government. The eighth cause of

9

action alleges that the defendants have

violated various provisions of the Privacy

Act by maintaining and disseminating

records concerning Jabara's first amend-

ment activities.

As part of the relief sought the

plaintiff requests an injunction against

the defendants' further interception of

his wire communications; an injunction

prohibiting the defendants from conduct-

ing surveillance, collecting, recording,

maintaining, using or disseminating

information of any kind about the lawful

political, social, banking, telephone and

other activities of the plaintiff; a

mandatory injunction ordering the

defendant FBI to produce before the Court

for destruction all records or other

materials of any kind maintained by them

concerning Jabara's constitutionally

10

1

protected activities.

II MOOTNESS

The defendants contend that Jabara's

claims for declaratory and injunctive

relief should be dismissed as moot because

of the current status of the FBI investiga-

tion of the plaintiff. First, the FBI,

through the affidavit of Special Agent

Robert F. Peterson, asserts that in

December 1975, it determined that it had

no further investigatory interest in

Jabara and thereupon terminated its in-

vestigation. Second, the defendants have

agreed to destroy all files maintained

under Jabara's name as requested by Jabara.

Third, the FBI has submitted an extensive

set of guidelines relating to criminal and

security investigations which it contends

l Jabara has also submitted a claim for

damages. That claim is not at issue here

since the Court has bifurcated this suit

with respect to the issues of liability

and damages.

11

protects against the possibility of future

abusive conduct such as that alleged in

the plaintiff's second amended complaint.

While some Courts have refused to

grant injunctive relief where official

policy revisions have, in effect, made

continuation of the challenged conduct

impossible, see Washington Free Community,

Inc. v. Wilson, 484 F.2d 1078 (D.C. Cir.

1973), and other courts have recognized

that injunctions should be cautiously

issued against police conduct on the mere

possibility that it may be repeated, see

Long v. District of Columbia, 469 F.2d

927 (D.C. Cir. 1972), the Court is of the

opinion that Jabara's claim for injunctive

relief is not moot. The Court has examined

the extensive set of regulations submitted

by the FBI and cannot conclude that they

preclude conduct of the type alleged here.

Indeed, many sections of the defendants'

brief could, in another context, be used

12

to support an argument that the FBI's

conduct in this case was within the ambit

of those regulations. Therefore, the

Court cannot conclude that these guidelines

would necessarily inhibit future FBI con-

duct of the kind alleged in this case and,

therefore, does not render Jabara's claim

for relief moot.

Nor is the Court persuaded that the

cessation of the Jabara investigation

requires that the plaintiff's claims be

dismissed as moot. Numerous Supreme

Court antitrust decisions have cautioned

against declaring a case moot where the

defendant would be free to reinstitute the

complained of practice. United States v.

Phosphate Export Assn.; 393 U.S. 199 (1968);

United States v. W.T. Grant Co., 345 U.S.

629 (1953). This consideration applies

with even more force where the defendant,

although agreeing to stop the conduct in

question, continues to assert its legality.

13

Walling v. Helmerich & Payne, Inc., 323

U.S. 37 (1944).

Based on these decisions, the Court

cannot conclude Jabara's claim for injunc-

tive relief is moot. Although the FBI has

claimed to have stopped the Jabara inves-

tigation in 1975, neither the Court nor

the plaintiff were aware of this fact until

October, 1978, when the defendants moved

for a summary judgment with respect to the

second amended complaint. Furthermore,

there is no indication that Jabara's poli-

tical views or his willingness to assert

them have changed. Considering the amount

of FBI attention focused on Jabara's poli-

tical activities, it is hard to conclude

that the investigatory interest of the FBI

will not be rekindled in the future. Fur-

thermore, given the fervor with which the

FBI asserts the legality of its conduct,

the Court is of the opinion that the chance

of recurrence is all the more probable.

14

The Court might be persuaded to

accept the defendants' argument were the

investigation more limited in scope or

time. However, given the length of the

investigation along with the numerous

investigatory tactics employed, the Court

finds it difficult to conclude that the

FBI would not reinstitute actions against

Jabara. Considerations of this type

militate against a finding of mootness

in cases such as this. Berlin Democratic

Club v. Rumsfeld, 410 F.Supp. 144 (D.D.C.

1976).

In sum, the Court is of the opinion

that the FBI's posture with respect to

the cessation of the challenged conduct

along with the existence of what the

Court perceives to be important and un-

resolved legal issues militates heavily

against declaring the plaintiff's claim

for injunctive relief moot.

The defendants also contend that the

15

cessation of the Jabara investigation

and the willingness of the FBI to under-

take file destruction makes the plaintiff's

claim for declaratory relief moot. In

essence, the defendants maintain that in

its present posture the case lacks the

immediacy and reality necessary to justify

a declaratory judgment. See Maryland

Casualty Co. v. Pacific Coal & Oil Co.,

312 U.S. 270 (1941).

There is no question that a contro-

versy exists with respect to the legality

of the defendants' conduct. The only

issue is whether the alleged cessation of

this activity is sufficient to deprive

this case of the required reality and imm-

ediacy. In its discussion of mootness

with respect to injunctive relief, the

Court pointed to many factors which permit

an inference that the FBI's investigation

of Jabara could well be reopened. This

is not a situation where the defendant

16

has admitted that his conduct is illegal

or has forsworn any intent to engage in

Similar conduct in the future. To the

contrary, the defendants earnestly and

vigorously assert the legality of their

conduct. Furthermore, the defendants have

asserted that one of their reasons for

attempting to avoid a declaratory judgment

in this case is so that they will be un-

fettered in future investigations of

Jabara should such investigations become

necessary. Assuming that Jabara continues

to publicly and privately espouse his

political views, an activity in which the

defendants have an apparent interest, the

Court cannot conclude that the probability

of similar conduct occurring in the future

is all that remote. Upon consideration of

the above cited factors, therefore, the

Court is of the opinion that this case is

one where the threat of future investiga-

tion is sufficiently real to permit Jabara

17

to pursue the remedy of a declaratory

judgment.

III JUSTICIABILITY

The defendants maintain that Jabara's

first amendment claims are not justiciable

at least insofar as they relate to certain

investigatory practices because his allega-

tions of harm amount to nothing more than

a subjective chill of his right of free

speech. Within this ostensibly non-

justiciable category of claims, the

defendants group the following: the use

of informers and agents to monitor Jabara's

public and private political speeches and

discussions; the physical surveillance of

Jabara's visible activities on three

occasions; interviews with Jabara's neigh-

bors; and the dissemination of information

obtained by these means.

The major dispute between the parties

with respect to the issue of justiciability

is the interpretation to be given to the

18

Supreme Court decision in Laird v. Tatum,

408 U.S. 1 (1972). In Tatum, the

plaintiffs alleged that the United States

Army violated their first amendment rights

through a program of domestic surveillance.

The conduct complained of was part of a

system of domestic intelligence collection

undertaken by the Army to help it identify

possible future civil disorders. The sys-

tem consisted of the collection of informa-

tion about public activities thought to

have some potential for civil disorder,

the reporting of that information to Army

Intelligence Headquarters, the dissemina-

tion of these reports from headquarters to

major Army posts around the country, and

the storage of this information in a com-

puter data bank. Much of the information

was collected from the news media, but

some of it was obtained from civilian law

enforcement agencies and Army agents who

attended public meetings.

19

The Supreme Court held that the

plaintiffs' allegations regarding this

system of data collection failed to

present a justiciable controversy because

the only harm alleged by the plaintiffs

was a "Subjective chill" on their first

amendment right of free speech. The

Court distinguished the plaintiff's

allegations from the facts in other cases

involving a First Amendment chill by

noting:

In recent years this Court has

found in a number of cases that

constitutional violations may arise

from the deterrent, or "chilling,"

effect of governmental regulations

that fall short of a direct prohibi-

tion against the exercise of First

Amendment rights. E.g., Baird v.

State Bar of Arizona, 401 U.S. 1

(1971); Keyisihian v. Board of

Regents, U.S. 589 (1967);

Lamont v. Postmaster General, 381

U.S. 301 (1965); Baggett v. Bullitt,

377 U.S. 360 (1964). In none of

these cases, however, did the chill-

ing effect arise merely from the

individual's knowledge that a govern-

mental agency was engaged in certain

activities or from the individual's

concomitant fear that, armed with

the fruits of those activities, the

20

agency might in the future take some

Other and additional action detri-

mental to that individual. Rather,

in each of these cases, the challenged

exercise of governmental power was

regulatory, proscriptive, or compul-

sory in nature, and the complainant

was either presently or prospectively

subject of the regulations, proscrip-

tions, or compulsions that he was

challenging. Id. at ll.

After noting that the plaintiff's

allegations could be labeled as a disagree-

ment with the Executive Branch and that the

chill alleged resulted from some "specu-

lative apprehension" that the information

obtained would be used against them in the

future, the Court held that these "[a]lle-

gations of a subjective 'chill' are not an

adequate substitute for a claim of present

objective harm or a threat of specific

future harm." Id. at 14.

The defendants rely on Tatum and sub-

sequent decisions to support their conten-

tion that several of Jabara's claims are

nonjusticiable. It is true that Tatum and

some lower courts have failed to find a

21

justiciable issue in claims for relief

similar to those presented by Jabara.

Clearly Tatum forecloses the possibility

of a justiciable subjective chill arising

from a general system of public survei-

llance, data gathering and dissemination,

absent some sort of harassment. Cases

following Tatum have found similar claims

to be nonjusticiable. In Donohoe v.

Duling, 465 F.2d 196 (4th Cir. 1972), the

Court found no justiciable controversy

where police conducted surveillance of

demonstrations and public vigils and made

and retained photographs of the demonstra-

tors. In Fifth Avenue Peace Parade

Committee v. Gray, 480 F.2d 326 (2nd Cir.

1973), the Court failed to find a justi-

ciable controversy where the FBI had

obtained records from a bank and a bus

company in order to determine the identity

and number of persons planning to attend a

demonstration. Finally, in Philadelphia

22

Yearly Meeting of the Religious Society

of Friends v. Tate, 519 F.2d 1335 (3rd

Cir. 1975), the Court found no justiciable

controversy existed with respect to the

plaintiffs' claims that their first amend-

ment rights had been chilled by police

activities consisting of photography and

data gathering at public meetincs and the

dissemination of this information to other

law enforcement POR

Despite these cases relied on by the

defendants, the Court is of the opinion

that Jabara has presented a justiciable

first amendment claim. His allegations of

a system of independently unlawful intru-

sions into his life as the result of his

2 Despite this, the Court found that

the plaintiffs had alleged sufficient harm

as a result of the defendants' failure to

restrict disclosure of the information in

their possession to police groups and

their actual disclosure on national tele-

vision of the names of the plaintiff

Organizations and certain of the individ-

ual plaintiffs as subjects of police

dossiers.

23

lawfully held and lawfully expressed

political views is sufficient to take the

chilling effect which he alleges outside

the realm of speculation and subjectivity.

Unlike Tatum this is not a case where the

plaintiff is attacking a general system

of intelligence gathering. Nor can the

Court say that, as in Tatum, the chill

alleged by Jabara results from the mere

knowledge that he is being investigated.

The plaintiff alleges that not only

has he felt fear at expressing his poli-

tical views, but that others have been

deterred from associating with him because

of the FBI investigation. Not only this,

but the plaintiff alleges that false and

misleading reports of his activities have

been accumulated by the FBI and dissemin-

ated to other federal agencies and foreign

governments. In addition, Jabara has

alleged injury to his reputation and legal

24

business as the result of publicity

surrounding the FBI investigation of him.

Case law supports the proposition

that allegations such as the ones set

forth in this case present a justiciable

controversy. For example, in Berlin

Democratic Club v. Rumsfeld, 410 F.Supp.

144 (D.D.C. 1976), the Court stated:

This Court agrees that actions

beyond “legitimate surveillance

activities" are a proper subject of

challenge. Thus, while collection

and retention of information, if

collected in a legal manner, cannot

be challenged, public dissemination

of that information in a false or

defamatory manner and with no lawful

purpose, disruption of legitimate

activities, termination of employ-

ment, illegal electronic surveillance,

and other forms of harassment are

subject to challenge as beyond

“legitimate surveillance activities."

Moreover, even legitimate surveillance

activities, if undertaken in conjunc-

tion with illegitimate activities in

a manner which raises the inference

that the motive was intimidation or

coercion, would be subject to chall-

enge. Cf. Allee v. Medrano, 416 U.S.

802, 812, 94 S. Ct. 2191, 2198, 40

L.Ed. 2d 566, 578 (1974); United

States v. McLeod, 385 F.2d 734, 750

(Sth Cir. 1967); Lankford v. Gelson,

364 F.2d 197 (4th Cir. 1966). Even

25

a cursory reading of the acts alleged

in the complaint raises a sufficient

inference to render this action

justiciable. Id. at 15l.

See also Alliance to End Repression v.

Rochford, 407 F.Supp. 115 (N.D. Ill. 1975)

(Tatum found inapposite where the plain-

tiffs alleged that "they were specific

objects of both overt and covert surveill-

ance on the part of the defendants") ;

Paton v. LaPrade, 524 F.2d 862 (3rd Cir.

1975) (sufficient allegation of harm by a

high school student whose future job

Opportunities were threatened by FBI

maintenance of a file on her).

Similarly, in Socialist Workers Party

v. Attorney General, 419 U.S. 1314 (1974)

(Marshall, Circuit Justice), Justice

Marshall, in ruling on an application to

stay an order entered by the Court of

Apeals for the Second Circuit, cautioned

against an overbroad application of Tatum

to cases where the alleged chill is

26

specific. In Socialist Workers Party,

the plaintiffs challenged the FBI's

intention to infiltrate the national

convention of the Young Socialist Alliance

On the ground that it would dissuade mem-

bers from attending and would impede the

exercise of free speech by those in

attendance. Although Justice Marshall

resolved the motion for a stay in favor of

the government, he rejected the contention

that the plaintiffs had failed to present

a justiciable controversy:

In this case, the allegations

are much more specific [than those in

Tatum]; the applicants have complained

that the challenged investigative

activity will have the concrete

effects of dissuading some YSA dele-

gates from participating actively in

the convention and leading to possible

loss of employment for those who are

identified as being in attendance.

Whether the claimed "chill" is sub-

stantial or not is still subject to

question, but that is a matter to be

reached on the merits, not as a thre-

shold jurisdictional question. The

specificity of the injury claimed by

the applicants is sufficient, under

Laird, to satisfy the requirements of

Art. III. Id. at 1314.

27

For the reasons set forth above, the

Court denies the defendants’ motion to

dismiss for lack of justiciability.

IV. CONSTITUTIONAL CLAIMS

The Court's conclusion that Jabara

has alleged sufficient harm to state a

justiciable claim of course does not

establish that he is entitled to relief.

In order to establish such entitlement

Jabara must show that this injury was the

result of violations of his constitutional

rights. The major constitutional allega-

tions in the complaint are that Jabara's

first and fourth amendment rights were

3

violated by the actions of the defendants.

3 The plaintiff has also alleged vio-

lations of his Fifth, Sixth and Ninth

Amendment Rights. The Court will deal with

the Sixth Amendment claim later in this

Opinion. With respect to the claimed

violations of the Fifth and Ninth Amend-

ments, the Court is of the opinion that

they add nothing to Jabara's other con-

stitutional causes of action and are to be

dismissed insofar,as they purport to re-

present independent grounds for relief.

28

(a) The Fourth Amendment Claims

It is clear to the Court that many of

the investigatory practices employed by

the defendants are not violative of fourth

amendment law. First, there can be no

doubt that a person's reasonable expecta-

tion of privacy is not violated by physical

surveillance in public. Fifth Avenue Peace

Parade Committee v. Gray, 480 F.2d 326 (2nd

Cir. 1973). Nor is the use of informants

for surveillance purposes violative of the

fourth amendment, without some sort of

harassment or incitement to crime. Hoffa

v. United States, 385 U.S. 293 (1966);

Handshu v. Special Services Division, 349

F.Supp. 766 (S.D. N.Y. 1972). Similarly,

in United States v. Miller, 425 U.S. 435

(1976), the Court held that the government

does not violate a criminal defendant's

fourth amendment rights when it reviews

his bank records. Jabara seeks to dis-

tinguish Miller on the basis that it

29

involved a criminal investigation. This

position is untenable. The Miller court

held that the documents in question were

the business records of the bank and that

a customer had no reasonable expectation

of privacy therein:

The depositor takes the risk, in

revealing his affairs to another

that the information will be conveyed

by that person to the Government.

This Court has held repeatedly that

the Fourth Amendment does not pro-

hibit the obtaining of information

revealed to a third party and con-

veyed by him to Government authori-

ties, even if the information is re-

vealed on the assumption that it will

be used only for a limited purpose

and the confidence placed in the

third party will not be betrayed.

425 U.S. at 443.

In light of this broad language, the Court

is of the opinion that a distinction based

upon the type of investigation involved is

without merit. Since Jabara can claim no

reasonable expectation of privacy in such

records, his fourth amendment rights are

not violated by the inspection thereof.

Finally, the Court is of the opinion

30

that the maintenance and dissemination of

information gained through practices not

violative of the fourth amendment cannot

in and of itself violate the fourth amend-

Cig

For the reasons set forth above, the

Court grants the defendants' motion to dis-

miss with respect to all fourth amendment

claims based on physical surveillance, the

use of informers, the inspection of bank

records and the maintenance and dissemina-

tion of information obtained through these

practices.

(b) The First Amendment Claims

Jabara's first amendment claims center

around the alleged inhibiting effect that

the defendants' activities have had upon

his first amendment rights of free speech

4 Although the plaintiff alleges that

information so disseminated was in some

respects false, this fails to state a

fourth amendment cause of action since no

independent privacy violation is alleged.

31

and association. The defendants argue

that the plaintiff is not entitled to

judgment upon these claims because the

first amendment gives him no greater right

against governmental investigatory intru-

sion than the fourth amendment. Accord-

ingly, the defendants argue that a first

amendment cause of action cannot be

predicated on investigatory tactics, such

as those outlined above, which the Court

has held to be nonviolative of fourth

amendment rights. The plaintiff, on the

other hand, argues that several cases

have implicitly recognized that the first

amendment affords a person greater sub-

stantive rights than the fourth amendment.

There is little authority regarding

the relationship between the first and

fourth amendments in the context of govern-

mental investigations. The most exhaustive

and explicit treatment of the issue is

contained in Reporters Committee for

32

Freedom of the Press, et al., v. American

Telephone & Telegraph Co., et al., No.

76-2057 (D.C. Cir., August ll, 1978).

Reporters Committee involved a challenge

by several journalists and newspapers to

the practice of a telephone company of

providing telephone billing records of

journalists' calls to government agents

investigating possible crimes. The

majority of the Court resolved the first

and fourth amendment claims against the

plaintiffs. Circuit Judge Wilkey in his

opinion for the Court also discussed the

relationship of the first and fourth

aeanieeaees With respect to the

plaintiffs' fourth amendment claims, Judge

Wilkey found the telephone company's

action indistinguishable from the examina-

tion of bank records, and he therefore

5 This discussion was not joined in by ©

the other judges on the panel and was not

necessary to disposition of the case.

33

found no fourth amendment violation on the

authority of Miller, supra. Judge Wilkey

then held that because there was no fourth

amendment violation there could be no

first amendment violation.

He described the plaintiffs' argument

as follows:

The crux of plaintiffs' argu-

ment, then, is that they have a right

to establish relationships in secret

under circumstances in which the

Fourth Amendment ensures no secrecy

and that they have a right to engage

in furtive action free from investi-

gative scrutiny within an arena

ordinarily open to such scrutiny. In

short, plaintiffs' claim that the

zone of privacy guaranteed them by

the Fourth and Fifth Amendments does

not give them adequate privacy within

which to conduct clandestine collec-

tion and that they, apart from other

citizens, must have a broader zone of

privacy.

Slip Op. at 43.

and he posited the issue as follows:

The question thus presented is this:

Does the First Amendment afford

plaintiffs this extra margin of

privacy by imposing substantive or

procedural limitations on good faith

criminal investigative action above

and beyond the limitations imposed

by the Fourth and Fifth Amendments.

34

Judge Wilkey answered this question in the

negative:

In my view, the guarantees of

the Fourth and Fifth Amendments

achieve their purpose and provide

every individual with sufficient

protection against good faith inves-

tigative action for the full enjoy-

ment of his First Amendment rights

of expression. To the extent an

individual insists that he must

shield himself from the prospect of

good faith investigation and operate

in secrecy in order to exercise

effectively particular First Amendment

liberties, he must find that shield

and establish that secrecy within the

framework of Fourth and Fifth Amend-

ment protections. This is not to say

that the First Amendment never gives

rise to any privacy-type interests

apart from those secured by the

Fourth and Fifth Amendments. It does

mean, however, that such interests

are overridden in criminal cases by

the public's interest in effective

law enforcement investigation at

least insofar as they go beyond pro-

tections already afforded by the

Fourth and Fifth Amendments.

Slip Op. at 44.

In reaching this conclusion, Judge

Wilkey relied on a long line of cases

involving varying fact situations. He

placed principal reliance on Zurcher v.

35

Stanford Daily, 436 U.S. 547 (1978), where

police had searched the offices of a coll-

ege newspaper pursuant to a valid search

warrant, The District Court granted the

plaintiff journalists' request for declar-

atory relief based on their argument that

the first amendment required that evidence

in a newspaper's possession be obtained

by a subpoena duces tecum rather than by a

search warrant unless police make a clear

showing that the evidence would otherwise

be destroyed. The Court, after admitting

that first amendment values were implica-

ted, in effect dismissed any notion that

the first amendment provided additional

protection beyond that accorded by the

fourth amendment in such circumstances:

Neither the Fourth Amendment nor the

cases requiring consideration of

First Amendment values in issuing

search warrants, however, call for

imposing the regime ordered by the

District Court. Aware of the long

struggle between Crown and press and

desiring to curb unjustified official

intrusions, the Framers took the

36

enormously important step of subject-

ing searches to the test of reason-

ableness and to the general rule re-

quiring search warrants issued by

neutral magistrates. They neverthe-

less did not forbid warrants where

the press was involved, did not re-

quire special showings that subpoenas

would be impractical, and did not

insist that the owner of the place to

be searched, if connected with the

press, must be shown to be implicated

in the offense being investigated.

Further, the prior cases do no more

than insist that the courts apply the

warrant requirements with particular

exactitude when First Amendment in-

terests would be endangered by the

search. As we see it, no more than

this is required where the warrant

requested is for the seizure of

criminal evidence reasonably believed

to be on the premises occupied by a

newspaper. Properly administered,

the preconditions for a warrant--

probable cause, specificity with

respect to the place to be searched

and the things to be seized, and over-

all reasonableness--should afford

sufficient protection against the

harms that are assertedly threatened

by warrants for searching newspaper

offices. Id. at 565.

As further support for his conclusion,

Judge Wilkey cites several cases dealing

with mail covers, the use of informants

and physical surveillance, all of which

tend to indicate by way of implication

37

that a good faith criminal investigation

which does not tread on fourth amendment

rights does not violate the first amend-

ment. See Slip Op. at 49-53.

In support of their contention that

the first and fourth amendments are co-

extensive in the context of a legitimate

investigation, the defendants also rely

on Sinclair v. Kleindienst, No. 610-73

(D.D.C. Sept. 23, 1977), where the

plaintiff challenged warrantless electron-

ic surveillance of his telephone communi-

cations as authorized by the Attorney

General. In addition to the alleged

violations of their fourth amendment

rights, the plaintiffs also alleged viola-

tions of the first, ninth and fifth amend-

ments. Although the Court held that these

alleged violations would be relevant to

the issue of damages, it concluded that

they did not provide an independent basis

for recovery:

38

These allegations are necessar-

ily intertwined with the reasonable-

ness of the wiretaps and the good

faith belief of the defendants in the

legality of their conduct, issues

which were raised in the first cause

of action and which remain in the

case. Therefore, these causes of

action must succeed or fail as the

first cause of action succeeds or

fails. To the extent they are not in-

dependent bases for recovery, they are

dismissed. These issues remain in the

case, however, for if plaintiffs prove

the wiretaps were unreasonable and the

defendants acted in bad faith, they

will be permitted to show any chill on

their first amendment rights, invasion

of their privacy, or their subjection

to a bad faith prosecution in order to

determine the measure of damages to

which they would be entitled.

Slip Op. at ll.

The Court is convinced that the

analysis of Judge Wilkey and that followed

by the Court in Sinclair is correct insofar

as it sets forth the legal principle that

the first amendment and the fourth amend-

ment provide coextensive zones of privacy

in the context of a good faith criminal

investigation. Furthermore, the Court

believes that this principle applies with

equal force to good faith national

39

security investigations which are not

strictly criminal in nature. Any holding

otherwise would clearly place an insur-

mountable burden on any good faith inves-

tigation. Almost any investigation, no

matter how nonintrusive, will implicate

some first amendment rights. Physical

surveillance, the use of informers and

discussions with other persons about the

subject will necessarily reveal some of

the subject's associations, beliefs,

expressions and communications of all

kinds. To tailor investigations se as to

avoid implicating a subject's first amend-

ment activites would be impossible. This

is especially true when one considers the

varied and common forms of speech which

receive first amendment protection.

The Court is unpersuaded by the

plaintiff's argument that the principle of

coextensive first and fourth amendment.

protection in the context of a good faith

40

investigation is refuted by a number of

cases which have upheld the justiciability

of first amendment claims without a dis-

cussion of relevant fourth amendment

principles. Aside from the fact that the

issue now before the Court is different

from those decided in the cases relied on

by the plaintiff, the Court is of the

Opinion that these cases for the most part

support, rather than refute, the proposi-

tion that in the context of a good faith

investigation, the privacy protections

guaranteed by the first and fourth amend-

ments are coextensive.

Nearly all of the cases relied on by

Jabara mention an allegedly illegitimate

investigatory motive or illegitimate in-

vestigatory practices as part of the basis

for their decision. For example, in

Philadelphia Yearly Meeting of the

Religious Society of Friends v. Tate, 519

F.2d 1335, 1338-39 (3rd Cir. 1975), the

41

Court stated:

It is not apparent how making infor-

mation concerning the lawful activi-

ties of plaintiffs available to non-

police groups or individuals could

be considered within the proper ambit

of law enforcement activity. ...

We think plaintiffs" allegations of

specific identification of most of

the plaintiffs in the television

broadcast when joined with the

absence of a lawful purpose, make an

adequate showing for pleading purposes

of an invasion of plaintiffs' rights

to associational privacy and freedom

of speech (emphasis supplied).

And in Berlin Democratic Club v. Rumsfeld,

410 F.Supp. 144, 151 (D.D.C. 1976), the

Court stated:

This Court agrees that actions

beyond "legitimate surveillance

activities" are a proper subject of

challenge. Thus, while collection

and retention of information, if

collected in a legal manner, cannot

be challenged, public dissemination

of that information in a false or

defamatory manner and with no lawful

purpose, disruption of legitimate

activities, termination of employment,

illegal electronic surveillance, and

other forms of harassment are subject

to challenge as beyond "legitimate

Surveillance activities." Moreover,

even legitimate surveillance activi-

ties, if undertaken in conjunction

with illegitimate activiites ina

manner which raises the inference

42

that the motive was intimidation or

coercion, would be subject to

challenge.

See also Handshu v. Special Services

Division, 349 F.Supp. 766, 771 (S.D. N.Y.

1972). ("A hearing may establish that

some of the alleged informer and infiltra-

tion activities are unrelated to legiti-

mate law enforcement functions.") Fifth

Avenue Peace Parade Committee v. Gray, 480

F.2d 326, 332 (2nd Cir. 1973) ("Beyond any

reasonable doubt that FBI had a legitimate

interest in and responsibility for the

Maintenance of public safety and

6

organ. .+« »")

6 Other cases relied on by Jabara, al-

though not referring to illegitimate con-

duct specifically, clearly involved alle-

gations of police activity outside the

scope of legitimate investigatory tactics.

See American Civil Liberties U. v. City of

Chicago, 431 F.Supp. 25 (1976) (physical

attacks and disruption of sources of fin-

ancial support); Alliance to End Repression

v. Rochford, 407 F.Supp. 115 (N.D. Ill.

1975) (incitement to commit unlawful acts,

warrantless electronic surveillance,

illegal search and seizure, and summary

punishment and harassment); Philadelphia

43

The only case to suggest a contrary

result is Paton v. LaPrade, No. 1091-73

(D. N.J. November 29, 1978), where the

plaintiff alleged a first amendment viola-

tion when the return address of her letter

to the Socialist Workers Party was record-

ed by the FBI, pursuant to a mail cover

placed on the addressee. The plaintiff

had intended to direct this letter to the

Socialist Labor Party as part of an assign-

ment for a high school social studies

course. Although the Court found that the

plaintiff's fourth amendment rights were

not violated by the mail cover, the Court

held that the postal regulation authoriz-

ing mail covers for national security

purposes was so vague and overbroad that

it violated the first amendment.

Resistance v. Mitchell, 58 F.R.D. 139

(E.D. Pa. 1972) (physical violence,

threats, illegal searches and seizures,

illegal electronic surveillance and denial

of the right to counsel).

44

Although on the surface Paton appears

to stand for the proposition that the first

amendment gives one a greater protection

from good faith investigatory practices

than the fourth amendment, a closer exam-

ination discloses that the decision in

Paton was a narrow one and that it, in

fact, supports the proposition previously

adopted by this Court. In essence, the

Court in Paton held that the term "nation-

al security" as used in the Postal Regula-

tion was so vague and overbroad that to

sanction mail covers in its name would

lead to abuses and would, in fact, permit

mail covers to be employed by public

officials "to pursue their personal pre-

dilections." Thus, the Court did not find

that a mail cover which was imposed because

of legitimate national security concerns

was invalid. Rather, it found a regula-

tion permitting both legitimate and ille-

gitimate mail covers to be unconstitutional.

45

There is no indication that the Paton

court, if faced with a decision not involv-

ing the constitutionality of a statut# or

regulation would have held that the zone

of privacy guaranteed by the first amend-

ment exceeds that provided by the fourth

amendment in an objectively legitimate

national security investigation. In fact,

the Court specifically recognized that

mail covers were legitimate in the context

of a valid criminal investigation. Thus,

it is clear to this Court that Paton did

not question the proposition that first

amendment privacy rights must yield in the

face of a good faith investigation;

instead, it held that a statute which did

not distinguish between legitimate and

illegitimate national security investiga-

tions was invalid.

It is clear from the above that the

crucial issue with respect to investigatory

practices under consideration in this

46

section of the opinion is whether the FBI's

investigatory conduct can be termed a good

faith national security ot:

From the evidence presented both in the

public record and in the in camera affida-

vits, the Court concludes that genuine

issues of material fact exist with respect

to this issue, and that the summary judg-

ment motions of both the plaintiff and

defendants must be denied. In its earlier

Opinions in this case the Court has alluded

to the merits of the investigation. For

example, a 1974 opinion concerning dis-

covery matters stated "the court is of the

opinion that the investigation which the

7 The Court will not at this time

attempt a precise definition of this term.

However, in the Court's opinion, a "good

faith national security investigation"

suggests more than a subjective perception

of a threat to the national security--it

suggests an investigation which is in

response to a demonstrable threat to the

nation or its citizens and which is calcu-

lated to deal with or provide information

regarding that threat.

47

8 conducting was

defendants admit they were

conducted pursuant to legitimate govern-

mental concerns." Jabara v. Kelley, 62

F.R.D. 424, 431 (E.D. Mich. 1974). How-

ever, in a 1977 opinion, again regarding

discovery matters, the Court stated that

"its in camera review has not revealed any

evidence to establish that the plaintiff

or the domestic organization to which he

belongs has been implicated in any way

with a foreign agent or organization of or

acting in collaboration with a foreign

power." Jabara v. Kelley, 75 F.R.D. 475,

493 (E.D. Mich. 1977). These passages do

not reflect inconsistent findings but

merely indicate the varying inferences

which can be drawn both from the in camera

submissions and the public record in the

3 In view of the defendants' admission

that the investigation continued until at

least December, 1975, the use of the past

tense appears to have been inappropriate.

48

case. On the one hand, the in camera

affidavits tend to indicate that a gener-

alized and legitimate government concern

provided the impetus for the investigation.

On the other hand, the length of the

investigation, its seeming preoccupation

with Jabara's political views, the fact

that in many instances Jabara was encour-

aging other Arabs to mount legal challenges

to FBI investigations and the failure of

the investigation to uncover any concrete

evidence that Jabara's activities implica-

ted national security along with other

factors tend to indicate that the investi-

gation was not wholly prompted by legiti-

mate or good faith national security

concerns. As a result, the Court is of

the opinion that it can grant neither

Jabara's nov the defendants' motion for

summary judgment with respect to the

plaintiff's first amendment claim on the

basis of the record as it now stands.

49

The Court realizes that this decision

places the future course of this litiga-

tion in some doubt. It may well be that a

public trial on the nature of the FBI's

investigation will be impossible because

of national security considerations. How-

ever, the Court cannot take such considera-

tions into account when deciding a motion

for summary judgment. The Court is bound

to grant such relief only when no genuine

issue of material fact exists. Given the

nature of the record in this case, the

Court must conclude that a genuine issue

regarding the motives and legitimacy of

the Jabara investigation exists, the re-

solution of which requires a fact finder.

(c) The Sixth Amendment Claim

As part of his fourth cause of action,

the plaintiff alleges that the sixth amend-

ment rights of his clients were violated

by the interception of telephone communica-

tions between himself and said clients.

50

The Court is of the opinion that this

portion of Jabara's complaint must be dis-

missed pursuant to F.R.C.P. 12(b) (6)

because it fails to state a claim upon

which relief can be granted. Manifestly,

the rights guaranteed by the sixth amend-

ment are those of the client and not the

attorney. Therefore, assuming that a

sixth amendment violation can be asserted

on the facts of this san ee the client

has standing to assert a violation of his

sixth amendment rights. In this case,

Jabara, even as an attorney, lacks suffi-

cient standing to assert violations of his

clients' rights to counsel as a personal

cause of action. For this reason, the

plaintiff's sixth amendment claim must be

dismissed.

9 The decision in Moro v. Telemundo

Incorporado, 387 F.Supp. 920 (D. Puerto

Rico 1974), casts doubt on the validity of

such an assumption.

51

V. ELECTRONIC SURVEILLANCE BY THE FBI

The defendants have also moved for a

summary judgment with respect to the

plaintiff's constitutional and statutory

claims arising out of the FBI's incidental

interception of Jabara's conversations

with individuals who were the target of

FBI aes The plaintiff's complaint

alleges that this conduct violated the

fourth amendment and Title III of the

Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets Act

of 1968, 18 U.S.C. §§ 2510-2520. The Court

is of the opinion that the defendants'

motion is to be granted with respect to

these claims.

First, it is clear that the

plaintiff's theory of recovery cannot be

based on the provisions of Title III.

10 The plaintiff had admitted in his

brief in support of his motion for summary

judgment that the record does not support

a finding of prima facie illegal electron-

ic surveillance.

52

Although Title III requires a warrant for

certain types of electronic surveillance,

it did not legislate with respect to the

President's power to authorize electronic

surveillance with respect to matters of

national security. 18 U.S.C. § 2511(3).

In United States v. United States Court

(Keith), 407 U.S. 297 (1972), the Supreme

Court held that clear language of Title

III reveals that it did not legislate with

respect to national security surveillances

and that such surveillances therefore are

not subject to the warrant requirements

contained in 18 U.S.C. § 2518. Accord,

Halliman v. Mitchell, 418 F.Supp. 1056

(N.D. Cal. 1976). However, in Zweibon v.

Mitchell, 516 F.2d 594 (D.C. Cir. 1975),

(en banc), a plurality of the Court held

that Title III was applicable to any

situation where a warrant was constitu-

tionally required for electronic surveill-

ance. In other words, the Court

23

recognized that while Title III does not

legislate with respect to the necessity of

obtaining a warrant for national security

wiretaps, it does provide procedures and

remedies applicable to any national secur-

ity wiretap where a warrant is otherwise

required by the Constitution.

Thus, even considering Zweibon, it is

clear that Title III does not in and of

itself require a warrant for national

security investigations. As a result, the

issue which must be resolved is whether

there is a constitutional basis, aside

from Title III, which requires a warrant

for electronic surveillance such as that

conducted in this case. In Keith, the

Court held that a warrant was constitu-

tionally required for domestic national

security wiretaps. However, the Court

specifically left open the issue of

whether a warrant is required for a

toreign national security wiretap:

54

As stated at the outset, this case

involves only the domestic aspects

of national security. We have not

addressed and express no opinion as

to the issues which may be involved

with respect to the activities of

foreign powers or their agents. 407

U.S. at 321-22.

Courts considering the question left

open in Keith have almost unanimously held

that a warrant is not required for a

foreign national security surveillance:

[B]ecause of the President's consti-

tutional duty to act for the United

States in the field of foreign rela-

tions, and his inherent power to pro-

tect national security in the context

of foreign affairs, we reaffirm what

we held in United States v. Clay,

[430 F.2d 165 (5th Cir. 1970), rev'd

on other grounds 403 U.S. 698 (1970)],

that the President may constitution-

ally authorize warrantless wiretaps

for the purposes of gathering foreign

intelligence. United States v. Brown

484 F.2d 418, 426 (5th Cir. 1973).

Accord, United States v. Butenko, 494 F.2d

593 (3rd Cir. 1974) (en banc), cert.

denied, 419 U.S. 881 (1974); United

States v. Smith, 321 F.Supp. 424 (C.D.Cal.

1971); United States v. Humphrey, 456

F.Supp. 51 (E.D. Va. 19780.

55

The only case questioning this pro-

position is Zweibon v. Mitchell, supra,

involving electronic surveillance of the

Jewish Defense League. The Zweibon

pluralicy voiced its disapproval of the

decisions in Brown and Butenko and ex-

pressed a belief that a warrant is re-

quired for both domestic and foreign

national security electronic surveillances.

Despite this, the plurality opinion did

not go so far as to hold that a warrant

was required for all foreign intelligence

surveillances:

the President's authority with

respect to the conduct of foreign

affairs does not excuse him from

seeking judicial approval before

instituting a surveillance, at lrast

where the subject of the surveillunce

is a domestic organization that is

not the agent of or acting in collab-

Oration with a foreign power. Id.

at 655.

In light of these decisions, the Court is

of the opinion that a warrant is not

required for foreign intelligence elec-

56

tronic surveillance authorized by the

President where the target of the sur-

veillance is an agent of or acting in

collaboration with a foreign power.

Applying this holding to the instant

case, the Court concludes that a warrant

was not required for the FBI wiretaps in

question. In an earlier opinion, the

Court found that the subjects of these

surveillances were associated with a

foreign-based international terrorist

movement. Jabara v. Kelley, 75 F.R.D. at

489. In addition, the Court has carefully

reviewed the in camera affidavit of FBI

Special Agent Robert F. Peterson regarding

the targets of the FBI wiretaps at issue.

Based on the facts set forth in this

affidavit, it would be impossible to con-

clude that the surveillance in question

was not primarily for foreign intelligence

purposes. Nor would it be possible to

conclude that the subjects of these sur-

57

veillances were not agents or collabora-

tors of a foreign power. ‘herefore, on

the authority of the above cited cases,

the Court holds that prior judicial

approval in the form of a warrant was not

required for the surveillancesin question.

In addition, the Court's finding that the

wiretaps in question were primarily for

foreign intelligence purposes forecloses

any possibility of a post-interception

judicial finding that the electronic sur-

veillances in question were unreasonable.

United States v. Butenko, 494 F.2d 593

(3rd Cir. 1974). Accordingly, the Court

grants the defendants' motion for summary

judgment with respect to those claims con-

cerning the reasonableness of the FBI's

interceptions as well as those claims

based on the failure to procure a warrant

for such interceptions.

VI NSA SURVEILLANCE

During the course of its investiga-

58

tion of Jabara, the FBI requested the

National Security Agency to supply any

available information regarding the

plaintiff that might come into its

possession. Pursuant to this request,

summaries of Jabara's electronically

intercepted communications were forwarded

by NSA to the FBI. Two of these communi-

cations were used as leads and the FBI

disclosed their contents outside the

Bureau in order to identify and obtain a

document referred to in one of the commu-

nications and to confirm Jabara's travel

plans as discussed in another communica-

tion.

Based on this record, the plaintiff

maintains that he is entitled to declara-

tory and injunctive relief with respect

to these warrantless electronic surveill-

ances because they violate his constitu-

tional and statutory rights. The

defendants, on the other hand, have moved

59

for dismissal of this cause of action for

want of proof, arguing that the evidence

required to litigate this issue is covered

by the state secrets privilege. This con-

tention is based on the fact that the Court

has upheld claims of privilege with respect

to the method of interception employed by

NSA and the contents of the communications

intercepted.

Before reaching the merits of these

contentions, it is important to distinguish

the NSA intercepts from the incidental

interceptions by the FBI discussed earlier.

First, while it is not clear that Jabara

was the target of the NSA interceptions,

it is apparent that the FBI specifically

requested summaries of Jabara's foreign

communications. Thus, at least with

respect to the examination and disclosure

of these summaries, the conduct of NSA and

the FBI was not incidental to the investi-

gation of nonparties. Second, while the

60

Court cannot say with any certainty

whether the interceptions in question were

conducted pursuant to the investigation of

an agent or collaborator of a foreign

power, there is no evidence that Jabara's

communications were targeted by the FBI

for examination because of the identity of

the other party. In other words, while

the impetus for the interceptions in

question remains unclear, the record,

including the in camera affidavits, does

not disclose any reason for the targeting

and examination of these communications

other than the facts that Jabara was a

party to them,

The primary issue, therefore, is

whether this factual background establishes

a case of illegal electronic surveillance

or whether the claim must be dismissed

because its proof would involve the dis-

closure of information guarded by the state

secrets privilege. In support of their

61

position that the claim must be dismissed,

the defendants rely on Halkin v. Helms,

No. 75-1773 (D.D.C. June 30, 1977) aff'd

in part and rev'd in part, No. 77-1922

(D.C. Cir. June 16, 1978), where the

plaintiffs sought relief for allegedly

unlawful electronic surveillance activi-

ties conducted by NSA. In response to

NSA's motion, the District Court dismissed

the complaint of Halkin et al. with

respect to certain interceptions holding

that national security considerations pre-

cluded disclosure of whether the alleged

interceptions had in fact taken place.

With respect to certain other alleged

interceptions, the Court held that the

national security would not be compromised

by requiring NSA to disclose whether or

not these interceptions occurred.

On appeal, the Circuit Court of

Appeals for the District of Columbia

affirmed the District Court's dismissal

62

with respect to the first group of inter-

ceptions. The Court of Appeals reversed

with respect to the second group of

alleged interceptions, holding that even

disclosure of the fact of interception

would jeopardize the national security.

See also Totten v. United States, 92 U.S.

105 (1875); Kinoy v. Mitchell, 67 F.R.D. 1

(S.D. N.Y. 1975).

Although the Court agrees with the

general proposition that an action should

be dismissed if its proof would disclose

state secrets, this case is clearly diff-

erent from Halkin. In Halkin the District

Court dismissed certain allegations

"because the threshold and ultimate issue--

the fact of interception--cannot be ad-

mitted or denied." Slip Op. at 5. In

this case, that threshold and ultimate

issue is an admitted fact. There is no

question that summaries of several of the

plaintiff's conversations were obtained

63

by the FBI from NSA. This, the plaintiff

argues, entitles him to the relief sought

because there was no prior judicial

approval.

The Court is of the opinion that

resort need not be made to privileged

material to establish a violation of the

plaintiff's constitutional rights and

that the plaintiff is entitled to a judg-

ment with respect to the defendants'

liability as to this issue. The defen-

dants' contention that the technique used

to intercept Jabara's communications some-

how poses questions of whether the fourth

amendment is applicable has no merit what-

soever. Long ago the Supreme Court recog-

nized that "the Fourth Amendment protects

people not places" and that the method of

intrusion has no bearing on the protection

ll

afforded by that amendment when the

11 "[O]nce it is recognized that the

Fourth Amendment protects people--and not

64

intrusion is made into an area where

there is a reasonable expectation of

privacy. Katz v. United States, 389 U.S.

347 (1967). In light of Katz, the Court

cannot give credence to the defendants'

assertion that "the methodology described

by paragraph 5(b) [of the in camera

affidavit of Secretary of Defense Harold

Brown] alone suggests on its face. . .

that the very applicability of the Fourth

Amendment is arguably not at issue."

Defendants' Brief at 22.

From the Court's review of Secretary

Brown's affidavit, it is apparent that the

fact that Jabara's communications were

simply '‘areas'--against unreasonable

searches and seizures, it becomes clear

that the reach of that amendment cannot

turn upon the presence or absence of a

physical intrusion into any given en-

closure. .. . The fact that the elec-

tronic device employed to achieve that end

did not happen to penetrate the wall of

the booth can have no constitutional sig-

nificance." Katz v. United States, 389

U.S, 347, 353 (1967).

65

intercepted in the ways described without

more may present a question of whether his

privacy has been violated. In this case,

however, not only is interception an ad-

mitted fact, but it is also admitted that

Jabara's intercepted communications were

targeted for transmission to and examina-

tion by the FBI. Based upon these admiss-

ions, it is impossible for the Court to

conclude that the fourth amendment has not

been violated.

The defendants do not and could not

contend that Jabara has no reasonable

expectation of privacy in his foreign

communications, In addition, the defend-

ants cannot rationally argue that the

interception of these communications,

when coupled with the transmission of

summaries of their contents, did not vio-

late this privacy. Thus, the only

question which must be resolved is whether

the procedure is immune from the warrant

66

requirement.

In their brief the defendants argue

that:

Plaintiff's presumption that commu-

nications to which he was a party

were not acquired as a result of

Surveillance on an agent of a foreign

power is totally unsupported by the

record. Communications have both a

sender and a recipient. Plaintiff

apparently overlooks the possibility

that the party to his communication,

or some other aspect of its content,

may have been the actual object of

surveillance and not the plaintiff

himself.

Defendants' Brief at 22.

If, in fact, the object of the surveill-

ance in question was an agent or collabor-

ator of a foreign power, it is arguable

that a warrant would not have been re-

quired for interception. See Part V,

Supra. Despite this, the defendants'

argument overlooks the fact that the FBI

reguested NSA to supply the Bureau with

any information about Jabara which came

into NSA's possession in the course of its

foreign intelligence activities. Thus,

67

while the impetus for intercepting the

communications in question may not have

been Jabara's activities, Jabara clearly

was the target of this intelligence

activity insofar as it was the FBI's

request which caused Jabara's communica-

tions to be targeted for transmission to

and examination by the Bureau. This, the

Court believes, is a clear violation of

Jabara's fourth amendment rights regard-

less of whether he or an agent or colla-

borator of a foreign power was the target

of the nia. Therefore, the

Court is of the opinion that the defendants

have failed to produce and could not pro-

duce any evidence which would establish

that the transmission and examination of

12 There is nothing in the record to

suggest that any impetus for the trans-

mission and subsequent examination of these

summaries existed other than the fact that

Jabara was a participant in the communica-

tions.

68

Jabara's communications was subject to the

foreign agent or collaborator exception to

the warrant requirement.

Furthermore, any contention that a

warrantless search directed at Jabara can

be justified by the plaintiff's affilia-

tions must fail in light of the Court's

earlier finding "that its in camera review

[of materials submitted by the government]

has not revealed any evidence to estab-

lish that the plaintiff or the domestic

organization to which he belongs has been

implicated in any way with a foreign agent

or organization or acting in collaboration

with a foreign power," Jabara v. Kelley,

75 F.R.D. at 493.

Thus, it is clear to the Court that

a fourth amendment violation has occurred.

As noted above, the mode of interception

employed by NSA does involve serious

fourth amendment questions with respect to

whether NSA surveillance alone violates a

69

person's reasonable expectations of

privacy and is subject to the warrant

requirement of the fourth amendment. How-

ever, the examination of the contents of

conversations thus intercepted would vio-

late a persons' reasonable expectation of

ST at and is tantamount to what has

generally been referred to as an inter-

ception in cases and statutes dealing with

more traditional modes of electronic

surveillance. Consequently, absent some

recognized exception to the warrant re-

quirement, the targeting of a person's

conversations intercepted by NSA for

summarization, transmission to, and sub-

sequent examination by other agencies must

be done pursuant to prior judicial author-

ization akin to a warrant. Here no such

13 This is expecially true in this case

where at least two of the communications

in question were used for investigative

lead purposes by the FBI.

70

exception exists. Jabara has not been

shown to be an agent or collaborator of a

foreign power and even if it were shown

that such an agent or collaborator was the

Other party to Jabara's intercepted

communications, that circumstance would be

irrelevant to the warrant requirement.

Since the FBI's interest in Jabara led to

the transmission and examination of the

summaries in question, any applicable

exception to the warrant requirement must

be based on Jabara's status or identity.

Accordingly, the plaintiff's motion

for summary judgment with respect to this

issue is granted. In view of the fact

that Title III remedies apply to any

interception requiring a warrant, see

Zweibon, supra, the Court need not decide

whether Title III was in fact violated in

view of its holding that the Constitution

71

: 14

requires a warrant in these circumstances.

VII THE PRIVACY ACT

The plaintiff's eighth cause of

action alleges that the defendants have

violated certain provisions of the Privacy

Act, 5 U.S.C. §§ 552a(e) (1) and (7), by

maintaining records regarding how Jabara

exercises his first amendment ae

As a remedy for these alleged violations,

Jabara asks the Court to order the de-

struction of "all records or other

14 From the in camera affidavits it

appears that Title III would not provide

a separate ground for requiring a warrant

in this case in view of the Supreme Court's

holding in Keith that national security

surveillance conducted pursuant to execu-

tive order is not within the ambit of

Title Ift.

15 In his brief, Jabara alleges that the

defendants have violated other sections of

the Privacy Act, to wit: 5 U.S.C. § 552a

(c) (6), regarding transfer of information,

and 5 U.S.C. § 552a(b) regarding the

accuracy of records. Since neither of

these allegations are set forth in the

complaint, the Court will not consider

them on this motion.

72

materials of any kind maintained by them

concerning the constituionality [sic]

protected activities of the plaintiff."

Plaintiff's Second Amended Complaint at

4.

First, the Court is of the opinion

that the plaintiff has alleged sufficient

harm to maintain an action for relief

under the Privacy Act. Section 552a(g) (1)

provides in part:

Whenever any agency. . . fails to

comply with any other provisions of

this section, or any rule promulgated

thereunder, in such a way as to have

an adverse effect on an individual. . .

the individual may bring a civil

action against the agency, and the

district courts of the United States

shall have jurisdiction in the matters

under the provisions of this sub-

section.

The breadth of this grant of juris-

dictional authority is evident from the

Senate Report accompanying an earlier

version of the Privacy Act:

» »- eThe grant of a cause of action

to any “aggrieved person" is designed

to encourage the widest possible

73

citizen enforcement through the

judicial process. This is necessary,

as mentioned, since the Act does not

give any administrative body author-

ity to ensure compliance with the Act.

The Committee intends the use of the

term "aggrieved person" to afford the

widest possible standing consistent

with the constitutional requirement

of "case or controversy" in Article

III, Sec. 2 of the Constitution. In

this respect, the provision is

designed, among other things, to

Supply certain deficiencies in stand-

ing and ripeness which the courts

found in the Environmental Protection

Agency v. Mink, 410 U.S. 73 (1973),

Laird v. Tatum, 408 U.S. 1 (1972) and

Stark v. Shultz, 416 U.S. 21 (1974).

1974 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News

6997.

In view of the plaintiff's afore-

mentioned allegations of harm, including

his allegations regarding the falsity of

data contained in the FBI files, the Court

concludes that he has alleged sufficient

harm to permit him to maintain this action

under the Privacy Act.

Turning to the merits of Jabara's

Priyacy Act claims, Section 552a(e) (1)

provides that an agency may:

74

maintain in its records only such

information about an individual as is

relevant and necessary to accomplish

a purpose of the agency required to

be accomplished by statute or by

executive order of the President.

In view of the fact that the violation

alleged in the plaintiff's eighth cause

of action appears to relate only to

§ 552a(e) (7) and since the plaintiff's

brief fails to mention § 552a(e)(1) as a

ground for recovery, the Court is of the

Opinion that the alleged violation of

§ 552a(e)(7) is the only Privacy Act

allegation properly before the Court and

that the §552a(e)(1) claim is to be dis-

missed.

With respect to the alleged violation

of § 552a(e)(7) the Court is of the

opinion that there is no genuine issue of

material fact and that Jabara is entitled

to judgment on his claim that the

defendants' maintenance of records violates

that provision of the Privacy Act.

75

Section 552a(e)(7) provides that an agency

shall:

Maintain no record describing how any

individual exercises rights guaran-

teed by the First Amendment unless

expressly authorized by statute or by

the individual about whom the record

is maintained or unless pertinent to

and within the scope of an authorized

law enforcement activity.

It is undisputed that the defendant

FBI has made, maintained and transmitted

records regarding Jabara's expression of

his political views in public and private

speeches. Although the defendants do not

contend there is a specific statute

authorizing them to maintain such records,

they do content that the maintenance of

such records is "pertinent to and within

the socpe of an authorized law enforce-

ment activity."

Unfortunately, the term “authorized

law enforcement activity" is not defined

in the Privacy Act. There are, however,

portions of the legislative history of

76

the Act which shed some light on the scope

of this term. The original Senate Bill

upon which the Privacy Act was based con-

tained various exceptions for records

which were referred to as "investigative

information" and "law enforcement intelli-

gence information." As used in the

Original bill, these terms were defined as

follows:

The term "investigative information"

has a special and narrow meaning

under this bill. It has been dis-

cussed at length in the section of

the report entitled, "Law Enforce-

ment Files". It means information

associated with an identifiable

individual compiled by--

(1) an agency in the course of

conducting a criminal investiga-

tion of a specific criminal act

where such investigation is

pursuant to a statutory function

of the agency. Such information

may pertain to that criminal act

and be derived from reports of

informants and investigators, or

from any type of surveillance.

The term does not include

criminal history information nor

does it include initial reports

filed by a law enforcement

agency describing a specific

77

incident, indexed chronologi-

cally and expressly required by

State or Federal statute to be

made public; and

The term "law enforcement intelli-

gence information" means information

associated with an identifiable

individual compiled by a law enforce-

ment agency in the course of conduct-

ing an investigation of an individual

in anticipation that he may commit a

specific criminal act, including

information derived from reports of

informants, investigators, or from

any type of surveillance. The term

does not include criminal history

information nor does it include

initial reports filed by a law

enforcement agency describing a

specific incident, indexed chrono-

logically by incident and expressly

required by State or Federal statute

to be made public.

Given this definition, it is diffi-

cult to conclude that the self-contained

exemption in § 552a(e)(7) relating to law

enforcement activity applies to any

records which do not relate to specific

past, present or future criminal acts.

Merely because the FBI may act within its

authority by monitoring the public or

78

private speeches of a person i. the course

of a legitimate security investigation

does not give it the right to maintain

records relating to the contents of these

speeches where the investigation does not

focus On a past or anticipated specific

criminal act.

The defendants appear to recognize

this fact when they argue:

In this respect, each of the investi-

gative activities described in para-

graph 2 of the in camera Williamson

affidavit was undertaken pursuant to

the suspected violation of a parti-

cular federal statute [e.g., para.

2(a)], or in aid of a bona fide

security investigation to prevent

the violation of a federal statute.

Defendants' Brief at 20.

Upon review of the Williamson affida-

vit, the Court is of the opinion that it

cannot sustain the defendants' position.

While the affidavit does reveal one

particular instance where the investiga-

tion of a suspected violation by someone

other than Jabara did lead to an investi-

79

gation of Jabara, this investigation app-

ears to have been of a limited nature.

Furthermore, the Court cannot see how the

records maintained regarding Jabara's

political views as expressed in his

speeches and discussions has any relevancy

to the one criminal violation set forth

in the Williamson affidavit.

Other than this one instance, the

Court finds nothing in the Williamson

affidavit to support a finding that the

FBI investigation of Jabara was in

response to any suspicion that he was

involved in any past specific crime or

that he would commit any specific future

crime. Accordingly, the Court grants the

plaintiff's motion for summary judgment

with respect to the defendants' liability

for the alleged violation of § 552a(e) (7).

Given the plaintiff's request to sub-

mit further memoranda on the issue of

relief, the Court will not rule on the

80

issue of whether file destruction is the

appropriate remedy for this violation.

Instead, the Court orders that the parties

file memoranda and such other documents

as will be relevant to a determination sig

the appropriate remedy for this violation.

VIII AUTHORITY OF THE FBI

As his eighth cause of action the

plaintiff seeks relief based on an allega-

tion that the FBI and the individual

defendants lack the authority to conduct

16 In view of this, the Court is of the

opinion that a decision on the plaintiff's

contention that file destruction is

warranted not only by the Privacy Act but

also as an exercise of the Court's general

equity powers is not required at this time.

First, in view of the fact that a factual

dispute exists with respect to the legi-

timacy and good faith nature of the FBI's

investigation, it is not apparent that

file destruction should be undertaken as

a general equitable remedy. Second, the

equitable remedy requested in Jabara's

complaint is the same as that requested

pursuant to the Privacy Act. Therefore,

if file destruction is ordered under the

Privacy Act, the question of whether file

destruction is available as a general

equitable remedy will be moot.

81

the type of investigation set forth in the

complaint. Jabara characterizes the

defendant's conduct as a "noncriminal

domestic security" investigation. He

argues that neither presidential directives

nor statutes confer upon the FBI the

authority to conduct such an investigation.

The defendants assert that their con-

duct falls within the express authority of

the Attorney General set forth in 28 U.S.C.

§ 533:

The Attorney General may appoint

officials. . . (3) to conduct other

investigations regarding official

matters under the control of the

Department of Justice and the Depart-

ment of State as may be directed by

the Attorney General.

The defendants also rely on 28 C.F.R.

§ 0.85(d), promulgated pursuant to this

statute by the Attorney General. This

regulation directs the FBI to "take

charge of the investigative work in

matters relating to espionage, sabotage,

subversive activities, and related matters."

82

The Court is of the opinion that

this issue cannot be resolved on a motion

such as this. The question of whether the

FBI's actions in the Jabara investigation

were ultra vires depends not only upon the

lack of an actual connection between

Jabara and any potential threat to the

national security; it also depends upon

the reasonable suspicions of the FBI

gathered from existing vbiaiae Given

the Court's earlier discussion regarding

the factual issues surrounding the legi-

timacy and purpose of the FBI investiga-

tion of Jabara, the Court concludes that

genuine issues of material fact exist with

respect to whether the investigation of

17 The Court rejects Jabara's contention

that the statute, regulations and

Presidential directives applicable to FBI

authority limit the FBI to the investiga-

tion of present and future criminal acts.

Without expressing any opinion with

respect to purely internal matters, the

Court is of the opinion that the FBI's

investigative authority extends to author-

ized national security investigations

involving foreign influences.

83

Jabara falls within the ambit of FBI

authority. Consequently, the parties'

respective motions for summary judgment

on this issve are denied.

IX CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, the

Court grants in part and denies in part

the defendants' motion to dismiss and for

summary judgment. Similarly, the Court

grants in part and denies in part the

plaintiff's motion for summary judgment.

The parties will be directed to supply the

Court with further memoranda regarding the

future course of this litigation and the

declaratory, injunctive and monetary

relief due the plaintiff on a date to be

set by the Court.

An appropriate order shall be sub-

mitted.

RALPH M. FREEMAN

United States District Judge

Dated: June 13, 1979

83a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

SOUTHERN DIVISION

ABDEEN M. JABARA,

Plaintiff,

Vv. Civil No.

39065

CLARENCE M. KELLEY,

ET AL.,

Defendants.

Filed March ll, 1980

ORDER DENYING DEFENDANT'S

MOTION FOR RECONSIDERATION

This matter having come on before

this Court by Motion of Defendant and the

Plaintiff having responded thereto and

the Court, upon a thorough review of the

arguments raised in Defendant's Motion

and supporting Affidavits, the record in

this cause, the Reply Memorandum of

Plaintiff and further being fully advised

in the premises;

83b

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED THAT

Defendant's Motion for Reconsideration be,

and the same is hereby, DENIED.

RALPH M. FREEMAN

United States District Judge

84

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

SOUTHERN DIVISION

ABDEEN M. JABARA,

Plaintiff,

Vv.

WILLIAM WEBSTER, et al.,

Defendants.

Civil Action No. 39065

PARTIAL JUDGMENT

This matter came before the Court on

the Motion of Plaintiff for Summary Judg-

ment and the Motion of the Defendants to

Dismiss and Summary Judgment pursuant to

Rules 12(b) (6) and 56, Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure, after the issuance by

this Court of three Memorandum Opinions

relating to Plaintiff's discovery of the

facts.

After submission of memoranda in

support of the respective motions and oral

85

arguments having been heard, and after the

Court's consideration of the entire public

and in camera record in this case and the

issuance of a Memorandum Opinion on June

13, 1979, concerning certain of the dis-

positive issues and merits of this cause,

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED AND

ADJUDGED:

1. Defendants' motion to dismiss for

mootnes and for lack of justiciability is

denied.

2. Plaintiff's Fourth Cause of Action

is dismissed.

3. Plaintiff's Third Cause of Action

as to the claim of Fourth Amendment

violations of Plaintiff's rights is dis-

missed. The First Amendment claim of

Plaintiff's Second and Third Causes of

Action presents genuine issues of material

fact and, therefore, will be upheld pend-

ing further proceedings thereon in this

Cause,

86

4. Defendants' Motion to Dismiss

Plaintiff's First Cause of Action is here-

by granted as to electronic surveillance

conducted by Defendant Federal Bureau of

Investigation.

5. Plaintiff's Motion for Summary

Judgment on the First Cause of Action is

hereby granted against the officially-

sued defendants regarding the summariza-

tion, transmission to, and subsequent

examination of Defendant Federal Bureau

of Investigation of Plaintiff's communica-

tions intercepted by Defendant National

Security Agency.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Director

of the National Security Agency is

enjoined from using plaintiff's name or

other personal identifier as a means for

selecting foreign cable communications

for analysis, summary, examination or

dissemination without first obtaining a

judicial warrant pursuant to procedures

87

provided for by applicable law. All

remaining defendants not employed by the

National Security Agency are enjoined

from requesting the National Security

Agency to use plaintiff's name or other

personal identifier as a means for select-

ing copies of plaintiff's foreign communi-

cations or communications to plaintiff

from a foreign origin for analysis,

review, summary or dissemination without

first obtaining a judicial warrant

pursuant to procedures provided by

applicable law.

6. Defendants' Motion to Dismiss

Plaintiff's Fifth Cause of Action is here-

by granted as to all conduct alleged to be

in violation of Plaintiff's Fourth, Fifth

and Ninth Amendment rights, except that

pertaining to the selection, review,

summary and dissemination of plaintiff's

foreign communications by the National

Security Agency. Defendants' Motion to

88

Dismiss that part of the Cause pertaining

to alleged violations of plaintiff's

First Amendment rights is denied pending

further proceedings thereon.

7. Defendants' Motion to Dismiss

Plaintiff's Sixth Cause of Action is

granted.

8. The parties’ respective Motions to

Dismiss or for Summary Judgment on

Plaintiff's Seventh Cause of Action are

hereby denied, and the Court concludes

that genuine issues of material fact exist

with respect to whether Defendants' in-

vestigation of Plaintiff falls within the

ambit of FBI authority.

9. Plaintiff's Motion for Summary

Judgment on the Eighth Cause of Action is

granted as to record maintenance and

dissemination governed by 5 U.S.C. § 552a

(e)(1). It is ordered that Defendants

and their successors in office are

enjoined from recording, maintaining,

89

using or disseminating information about

the Plaintiff's political beliefs,

communications, speeches, writings,

associations or activities, both public

or private, which do not relate to speci-

ficate criminal acts.

10. The Court will retain jurisdiction

of this action pending disposition of all

matters in this cause not resolved in

this Decree and for the purpose of issuing

any additional order required to effectu-

ate this Decree.

RALPH M. FREEMAN

United States District Judge

Dated: April 4, 1980.

90

No. 80-1391

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

seit en en SS

’! United States District

v. Court for the Eastern

District of Michigan,

WiLtiaM H. WEBSTER, ET AL., Loe

Southern Division.

Defendants-Appellants.

Decided and Filed October 21, 1982

Before: Martin, Circuit Judge; Peck and Brown,® Senior

Circuit Judges.

BaILeY Brown, J. Appellee, Abdeen M. Jabara (Jabara), a

Detroit lawyer of Arab extraction, has over the years been

interested and active in Arab causes. The Federal Bureau

of Investigation (FBI), as a result of his activities, began an

investigation of him in 1967. This investigation was not con-

tinuous and varied from time to time as to intensity and as

to the technique used. The technique used by the FBI in-

cluded physical surveillance by agents and informants, includ-

ing his speech-making activities, inspection of Jabara’s bank

records, warrantless electronic surveillance by the National

Security Agency (NSA), and interviews of third parties regard-

ing Jabara. This information was maintained and disseminated

by the FBI.

* Circuit Judge Brown retired from regular active service under

the provisions of 28 U.S.C. §371(b) on June 16, 1982, and became a

Senior Circuit Judge.

91

Jabara v. Webster, et al. No. 80-1391

Jabara filed an action in district court in Detroit in October,

1972, alleging several causes of action. The defendants include

the Attorney General, the Directors of the FBI and NSA in

their official capacities and certain known and unknown officers

and employees of the FBI and the NSA. One cause of action

alleged was that Jabara’s fourth amendment rights were vio-

lated as a result of NSA’s interception of his “communications

by means of warrantless electronic surveillance and/or dis-

closed summaries of these interceptions to the Federal Bureau

of Investigation.”' Another cause of action alleged was that

the defendants violated a provision of the Privacy Act, 5 U.S.C.

§ 552a(e)(7), by maintaining records with respect to Jabara’s

exercise of his first amendment rights. The district judge,

on cross-motions for summary judgment, granted judgment

and injunctive relief to Jabara as to both of these claims

and defendants appealed.?

I.

A preliminary question presented on this appeal is whether

this court can, as contended by defendants, properly consider

in camera the classified appendix that defendants filed in

the district court.4 Jabara’s position is that this court should

not consider the materials in the classified appendix at all

unless the materials are made available to him or at least to

his counsel subject to a protective order. The district court

determined (75 F.R.D. 475, 487 (1977) ) that these materials,

because they are properly protected by the state secret priv-

ilege, should be submitted in camera; this was done without

1 Second amended complaint. (App. at 69).

2 The history of this litigation, including citations to re —_ rs) ay

ions dealing with resolution of discovery issues, is clear

set out in the opinion of the district court resulting in t ye -

summary ju eet and injunctive relief. Jabara v. Kelley, 476 F.

Supp. 561 (E.D. Mich. 1979).

3 In camera treatment and the assertion of the state secret privilege

were supported by the in camera affidavits of Secretaries of Defense

Schlesinger, Runisfield and Brown.

92

No. 80-1391 Jabara v. Webster, et al.

access by Jabara or his counsel. We conclude that the district

court was correct in its ruling and, further, that this court

likewise may properly receive in camera and so consider such

materials in the classified appendix. United States v. Reynolds,

345 U.S. 1 (1953); Kerr v. United States District Court for

the Northern District of California, 426 U.S. 394 (1976); and

Halkin v. Helms, 598 F.2d 1 (D.C. Cir. 1978).

II.

To understand the fourth amendment issue raised by the

NSA’s interception of Jabara’s communications and supplying

these to the FBI, all without a warrant, it is necessary briefly

to describe the factual background of this claim and then to

outline the contentions of the parties.

The NSA intelligence gathering operation is described

sufficiently for present purposes in Halkin, 598 F.2d at 4, as

follows (footnote omitted ) :4

A brief description of NSA and its functions is appro-

priate. NSA itself has no need for intelligence informa-

tion; rather, it is a service organization which produces

intelligence in response to the requirements of the Direc-

tor of Central Intelligence. Intelligence Activities: Hear-

ings Before the Select Comm. to Study Governmental

Operations with Respect to Intelligence Activities of the

U.S. Senate, 94th Cong., Ist Sess. Vol. V at 9 (1975)

(Hearings). The mission of the NSA is to obtain intelli-

gence from foreign electrical communications. Signals are

acquired by many techniques. The process sweeps up

enormous numbers of communications, not all of which

can be reviewed by intelligence analysts. Using “watch-

lists”—lists of words and phrases designed to identify com-

munications of intelligence interest-NSA computers scan

the mass of acquired communications to select those

which may be of specific foreign intelligence interest.

4See also: Note, Government Monitoring of International Elec-

tronics Communications: National Security Agency Watch List Sur-

vemgnee and the Fourth Amendment, 51 S. Cal.L.Rev. 429 at 431

(1978).

93

Jabara v. Webster, et all. No. 80-1391

Only those likely to be of interest are printed out for

further analysis, the remainder being discarded without

reading or review. Intelligence analysts review each of

the communications selected. The foreign intelligence

derived from these signals is reported to the various

agencies that have requested it (Hearings at 6). Only

foreign communications are acquired, that is, communi-

cations having at least one foreign terminal (Hearings

at 9).

On November 1, 1971, the FBI, without a warrant, requested

the NSA to supply it with the contents of Jabara’s telegraphic

communications sent overseas, and the NSA complied by fur-

nishing the FBI with summaries of six of such communications.

Defendants contend that the fourth amendment does not

apply to and limit NSA’s gathering of foreign intelligence.

They also contend that, in any event, the facts surrounding the

acquisition by the NSA of overseas telegraphic communications

such as those sent by Jabara are subject to the state secret

privilege.’

Jabara, however, does not even contend on this appeal that

the interception by the NSA violated his fourth amendment

rights; we may therefore take as a given that the information

was legally in the hands of the NSA. What Jabara does con-

tend, and the district court agreed, is that his rights were vio-

lated when the NSA turned over the information, without a

warrant, to the FBI. Defendants, on the other hand, contend

that, since the NSA had lawfully intercepted and had made a

record of the content of Jabara’s communications, the fourth

amendment was not implicated when the FBI requested and

obtained the summaries from the NSA. This is so, defendants

contend, because there simply was no “search” or “seizure”

5 This was so held in Halkin, supra; indeed in Halkin, it was held

that, pursuant to the state secret privilege, the government did not

even have to divulge to plaintiffs whether the had intercepted

their overseas communications. Here, as previously indicated, the

government has divulgea in the open record that N did intercept

and later turn over to the FBI Jabara’s communications.

94

No. 80-1391 Jabara v. Webster, et al.

when this information was turned over to another agency of

the government.

Defendants still further contend that, even if there was a

“search” or “seizure” when the FBI obtained the summaries

from the NSA, a warrant was not required because there is a

“foreign agent” exception to the warrant requirement and the

foreign agent exception was applicable here since, at the time

the FBI made the request for the summaries, it had reasonable

cause to believe that Jabara was in fact a foreign agent.

Jabara, on the other hand, contends that there is no foreign

agent exception to the warrant requirement and that, in any

event, at the time the FBI made the request, it had no reason-

able cause to believe that he was a foreign agent.

In connection with defendants’ contention that the FBI had

reasonable cause to believe that Jabara was a foreign agent

when it requested the summaries, there is a threshold pro-

cedural issue. After the district court had made its decision

that Jabara’s fourth amendment rights were violated when the

summaries were supplied to the FBI (476 F.Supp. 561

(1979) ), defendants moved for reconsideration and filed ad-

ditional open and in camera affidavits* to support their con-

tention that, at the time the FBI made the request for the

summaries, it had reasonable cause to believe that Jabara was

a foreign agent. The defendants argued, in support of their

motion to reconsider, that they had been surprised by the

court’s decision that the FBI's acquisition of the summaries

was a fourth amendment violation since they had thought that

the controlling issue was the legality of the NSA’s interception

of the overseas telegraphic communications. Defendants fur-

ther argued that, since the NSA’s interception of the overseas

6 These affidavits were executed by — Agen French of the

FBI, who is in the Records Management Division in Washington. De-

fendants contend that these affidavits, particularly the in camera one,

demonstrate that on the day the FBI requested the summaries of

Jabara’s overseas communications from NSA, November 1, 1971, it

had received solid information from the Central Intelligence Agency

that Jabara was, indeed, a cadre member of a Middle East terrorist

organization.

95

Jabara v. Webster, et al. No. 80-1391

telegraphic communications in performance of its foreign in-

telligence function did not invade Jabara’s fourth amendment

rights whether or not Jabara was a foreign agent, they had no

reason to emphasize the FBI's reasonable belief that he was.

The district court, in its unreported memorandum denying the

motion to reconsider (App. at 190), determined that the

question whether there was cause to believe Jabara was a

foreign agent had been an issue in the case and that it had

theretofore determined (75 F.R.D. at 493) that, in the record

then before it, there was no evidence that Jabara was con-

nected with or was a foreign agent.? The district court

further determined that the additional affidavits executed by

FBI agent French and filed in support of the motion to re-

consider (as proof of a reasonable belief that Jabara was a

foreign agent) contained no information that had not been

available to defendants throughout the litigation. The district

court denied the motion to reconsider because the foreign

agent status of Jabara had been in issue and because the in-

formation in the additional affidavits had been available to

defendants prior to the grant of summary judgment. Defen-

dants contend on appeal that the district court did not even

consider, as they contend it should have, the additional in

camera affidavit of Agent French in making its decision to

deny the defendants’ motion to reconsider the grant of sum-

mary judgment, while Jabara contends that the district court

did consider it. It appears to us that the district court only

determined that the information contained in these French

affidavits had been available all along and did not weigh and

determine whether the in camera affidavit demonstrated that

there was reasonable cause to believe that Jabara was a for-

eign agent. Since, however, we determine herein that Jabara’s

fourth amendment rights were not violated when the sum-

7 We agreed that, as the record stood at the time the district court

granted summary judgment to Jabara, it did not support reasonable

cause to believe that Jabara was a foreign agent when the FBI

requested the summaries from the NSA.

96

No. 80-1391 Jabara v. Webster, et al.

maries of his overseas telegraphic messages were furnished to

the FBI irrespective of whether there was reasonable cause

to believe that he was a foreign agent and whether there is

a foreign agent exception to the warrant requirement, we need

not consider the question whether the district court abused

its discretion in not weighing the contents of the in camera

French affidavit and whether the affidavit established such

reasonable cause.

The district court, in determining that Jabara’s fourth

amendment rights were violated when the FBI, without a

warrant, obtained the summaries of his overseas telegraphic

communications, distinguished the holding of the District of

Columbia Circuit in Halkin v. Helms, 598 F.2d 1 (1978).

There the court held (see note 5 herein at page 5) that applica-

tion of the state secret privilege required dismissal of plaintiffs’

claims based on alleged interception by the NSA of their over-

seas communications because the fact of interception need

not be and was not divulged. Here, on the other hand, de-

fendants had divulged the interception and later transmittal

to the FBI.* Thus, the district court reasoned, the state secret

privilege was no impediment to the adjudication of Jabara’s

fourth amendment claim. The district court went on to hold,

citing Katz v. United States, 389 U.S. 347 (1967), that the

fourth amendment was implicated since Jabara had a reason-

able expectation of privacy with respect to his overseas tele-

graphic communications. The district court further held that,

since the record, classified or otherwise, did not reveal evi-

dence that Jabara was a foreign agent or was acting in col-

laboration with a foreign agent, even if there is a foreign agent

exception to the warrant requirement, the exception could not

be applied here. The district court therefore granted summary

judgment and injunctive relief to Jabara. 476 F.Supp. at 577-

579.

As heretofore stated, Jabara does not contend on appeal that

8 As pointed out in Halkin, 598 F.2d at 9, it is not altogether clear

why this disclosure was made by the defendants in the instant case.

97

Jabara v. Webster, et al. No. 80-1391

the NSA’s interception of his foreign telegraphic communica-

tions violated his fourth amendment rights, and therefore we

may take as a given the proposition that the NSA lawfully

received and was in possession of the communications. From

this proposition defendants argue, we think correctly, that

Jabara’s fourth amendment rights were not violated when the

summaries were turned over to the FBI because this was not a

“search” or “seizure” within the meaning of the amendment.

This is a clear implication of such decisions as United States

v. Gargotto, 476 F.2d 1009 (6th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 421

U.S. 987 (1975). There an arson investigator gathered some

papers from the floor of the burned building as evidence of

the cause of the fire. These papers were later turned over to

federal agents when they appeared to be gambling records.

The court held that the papers were lawfully in the possession

of the arson investigator under the “plain view” exception. It

further held that the federal agents lawfully obtained posses-

sion from the arson investigator, stating (476 F. 2d at 1014):

Evidence legally obtained by one police agency may be

made available to other such agencies without a warrant,

even for a use different from that for which it was orig-

inally taken. Gullett v. United States, 387 F.2d 307 (8th

Cir. 1967), cert. denied 390 U.S. 1044, 88 S.Ct. 1645,

20 L.Ed.2d 307 (1968).

The holding by our court in Gargotto was followed by our

court in United States v. Lewis, 504 F.2d 92, 104 (6th Cir.

1974), cert. denied, 421 U.S. 975 (1975).

Jabara contends, however, that there was a “search” or

“seizure” when the summaries were turned over by the NSA

to the FBI under the holding in Walter v. United States, 447

U.S. 649 (1980). There some pornographic 8-millimeter films,

in boxes that were in sealed packages, were misdelivered after

shipment, and the recipient opened the packages. On the

boxes were descriptions and drawings that clearly indicated

their contents. The recipient, however, did not view the films

98

No. 80-1391 Jabara v. Webster, et al.

but turned them over to an FBI agent. FBI agents, then,

without a warrant, viewed the films with a projector. The

question before the Court was whether the films should have

been suppressed because the showing of the films with a

projector was an illegal search under the fourth amendment.

In a five-to-four decision, the Court held that the showing

of the film with a projector was a “search” and therefore the

showing violated the fourth amendment. Justice Stevens au-

thored the lead opinion for the majority, saying (447 U.S. at

654):

[NJotwithstanding that the nature of the contents of

these films was indicated by descriptive material on their

individual containers, we are nevertheless persuaded that

the unauthorized exhibition of the films constituted an

unreasonable invasion of their owner's constitutionally

protected interest in privacy. It was a search; there was

no warrant; the owner had not consented; and there were

no exigent circumstances.

It is perfectly obvious that the agents’ reason for view-

ing the films was to determine whether their owner was

guilty of a federal offense. To be sure, the labels on the

film boxes gave them probable cause to believe that the

films were obscene and that their shipment in interstate

commerce had offended the federal criminal code. But

the labels were not sufficient to support a conviction and

were not mentioned in the indictment. Further investi-

gation—that is to say, a search of the contents of the films

—was necessary in order to obtain the evidence which

was to be used at trial.

The fact that FBI agents were lawfully in possession

of the boxes of film did not give them authority to search

their contents. Ever since 1878 when Mr. Justice Field’s

opinion for the Court in Ex parte Jackson, 96 US 727, 24

L Ed 877, established that sealed packages in the mail

cannot be opened without a warrant, it has been settled

that an officer’s authoritv to possess a package is distinct

from his authority to examine its contents.

99

Jabara v. Webster, et al. No. 80-1391

(Citations and footnotes omitted).

In the instant case, on the contrary, Jabara’s very words,

summaries of which were supplied to the FBI, had been law-

fully intercepted by and were in the records of the NSA. NSA

therefore already had in its records, after it intercepted, all

that it supplied to the FBI. Jabara appears to argue, however,

that the fact that the NSA acquired, stored and retrieved a

large amount of information using sophisticated, high-tech-

nology methods and equipment should lead to the conclusion

tha

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.