Petition — American Dental Assn. v. Myers

Supreme Court brief1983

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

82-1508 | WAR Mb 1003

No.

Ab EXAM OES LeSTEVAS,

j

:

f

'

|

'

i } CLERK |

et

In the

Supreme Court of the Anited States

Octoser TrerM, 1982

AMERICAN DENTAL ASSOCIATION, and

DR. JOSEPH P. CAPPUCCIO,

Petitioners,

Vs.

DONALD R. MYERS,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

THIRD CIRCUIT

Peter M. Srikas

200 East Randolph Drive

Suite 7300

Chicago, Illinois 60601

(312) 861-1400

Counsel of Record s

Of Corzxsel

Cray H. Prrmures

Joun N. ScHo.nick

Peterson, Ross, Scoiorrs & SEmei

200 East Randolph Drive

Suite 7300

Chicago, Illinois 60601

(312) 861-1400

The Scheffer Press, Inc.—(312) 263-6850

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the defendant or the plaintiff has the

burden of proof with respect to venue when the de-

fendant timely objects to venue pursuant to Rule 12(b)

(3) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, and the

plaintiff fails to make any showing that the defendant

has a substantial nexus with the Virgin Islands.

2. Whether venue lies, pursuant to 15 U.S.C. $22, in

the Virgin Islands against a non-profit association such

as the American Dental Association when it promulgates

an ethics rule in Chicago, Illinois and neither does

business nor has any substantial contaets with the Vir-

gin Islands.

3. Whether personal service of process upon an in-

dividual within the Virgin Islands standing alone con-

fers personal jurisdiction over the individual, even though

it is unecontroverted that he has no continuing contacts

with the Virgin Islands.

ii

RULE 28.1 STATEMENT

The American Dental Association has no parents or

affiliates within the apparent meaning of Supreme Court

Rule 28.1.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

CRETN © FI oo cis ascaceseseccistastscssevscernecescvassessnosbunatnind i

SD ih TRIE cscs ass cerarascassesivusanditidesrganasbesstatdmmens ii

EE OE ITI "in Stinscrsstecsescisnsnstinaenemanicaninas iv

CRIN SOMO : <icicsocsstacocanciontccassacaumesmnieiienanenlsavirctestacentionees 1

STII Sicccsisecsshucedecseubsniedecdopansiactincocatinivatiaserchmaputantenmnase 2

PUN EINE isco nccssctsunasapececdosssacaunecmmsererediensersettd i

Pema. OE Cane: CANE a cccnsnecctscsnsanrsectovepsceciessssepseemsnascins 2

Reasons for Granting the Writ oo... eee pay ah

I. The Decision of the Third Cireuit Clearly

Conflicts with Decisions of This Court and

of Other Cirenit Courts of Appeals Regard-

ing the Burden of Proof in Objections to

Lf RR ACU ARONA, 36 [Piel Lie ct cats FA Ie ma 6

A. Conflict with This Court’s Decisions, .... 6

B. Conflict with Other Cireuits. .........0..00 7

(. The Decision of the Third Cireuit De-

parts from a Well Established Rule with

Respect to the Consideration of Venue

Objections Thereby Requiring This Court

to Exercise Its Power of Supervision. .. 8

If. The Opinion of the Majority on What Con-

stitutes “Transacting Business” for a Non-

Profit Corporation Conflicts with a Decision

of the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals and

Involves a Significant Question of Federal

DMIW.. iidsszscssccsunepnsensbresssaveigssacicandteanearcelstanizuspnneurctanies 11

iv

PAGE

III. The Third Cireuit’s Holding That Personal

Jurisdiction May Be Based on Mere Per-

sonal Service Over Dr. Cappuecio, Who Had

No Other Continuing Forum Contacts, Con-

stitutes a Violation of Constitutional Due

Process Which Should Be Corrected by This

RNIN Sk dccthoscsasbassebadbdbadictotmanendiainneaneeice meee opien 15

RPNUIINIIION © ceecesbssechaeunsusttnencasdsaseddcmapsciasanemnssolicasiaseamsireieetian 18

MNES ccencenatineiaridetbananc Innes nuaadnerneastnestaibacaininocniiuciaes la

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

PAGI

Airola v. King. 505 F. Supp. 30 (D. Ariz. 1980)... 9

Amateur-Wholesale Electronics vy. R. 1. Drake Co.,

515 F. Supp. 580 (S.D. Fla. 1981) .......cccccccsccsesssessseees 9

Aro Mfg. Co., Inc. v. Automobile Body Research Corp.,

302 F.2d 420 (Ist Cir, 1965), cert. denied, 383 U.S.

I > pastaccnencsaeai dances Sst epee vcrtsccnedibsdaniadaceses 7

Bartholomew vy. Virginia Chiropractors Ass’n, Inc.,

612 F.2d 812 (4th Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 446 U.S.

I seretiat hin pitch Dealialoe deka oaicenciasacseeulsoins 7, 12, 13, 14

Besuner vy. Faberge, Inc., 379 ¥. Supp. 278 (N.D. Ohio

ce grt he lee aT Bnet IR ne Ed eRe EEE NE SY 10

Call Carl, Inc. v. BP O'l Corp., 391 F. Supp. 867 (D.

MN NUNN © pucis-chueniansscitataninasiaciateescinhcshbesidicasban Rbdsadaiabi 10

Cascade Steel Rolling Mills, Inc. y. C. Itoh & Co.

(America), Inc., 499 F. Supp. 829 (D. Or. 1980)... 9

Conaway Enterprises, Inc. vy. Dyna Industries, Ine.,

567 F. Supp. 577 (W.D. Pa. 1962)... ccccccccscsssccsessscsssses 10

E. W. Kalkin, Inc. v. Linens & Things, Ltd., No. 82

) Geen Core Bee CRG TR, TOD occccccocesccssceccscecmnssess 9

4

PAGE

Fooshee v. Interstate Vending Co., 234 F. Supp. 44

SI sess aiencssinilepeininincntonedonennenneene 10

Fumneleap Inc. v. Orion Industries, 392 F. Supp. 938

Nass ac cs tnes csatartasineiiennecndebiesenanbebonieinicents 10

Goldfarb v. Virginia State Bar, 421 U.S. 773 (1975) ..14, 18

Grantham vy. Challenge-Cook Bros., tnc., 420 F.2d 1182

IIIT IIIT sna scocscsinanasitbiobieesnseheotoonctbesisepeinsnnameresancenss 8

Grappone, Inc. v. Subaru of America, Ine., 403

Be I. BD CE NBD. TOTO) ccccnccererssessecsoncvsnccsnscesseccocces 10

Hawkins v. National Baskethall Ass'n, 288 F. Supp.

SPIER PL, UMUIED " sitasccsnsnsscnsesscesnndeonseutbseneenveneocesnenesenete 10

Hayashi vy. Siunshine Garden Products, Inc., 285

F. Supp. 632 (W.D. Wash. 1967), aff'd sub nom.

Hayashi v. Red Wing Peat Corp., 396 F.2d 13 (9th

acc ct sa neibedaiidediiniihianenemniomsinaneninesebens 10

Hodaqdon vy. Needham-Skyles Oil Co., 1982 Fed. See.

Bax BUG. FOO, GBT CINTA. TRGB) cnccsseccccscssccssescecscscesseeses 9

Hodson v. A. H. Robins Co., Inc., 528 F. Supp. 809

TI class nc nnlenvtnininicstneeneubonanaseecsenesteontes

Hoffacker yv. Bike House, 540 F. Supp. 148 (N.D. Cal.

ate Satake cick cet tacisapdeteamsisiieseininnitcieieitinndnensaubtocianens 9

International Shoe Co. v. Washmgton, 326 U.S. 310

Air iia ic scl acaaceedgciecnonlonnanivisoienabinenidsiadinmnnnes 15, 16, 17

K. J. Schwartzhaum, Inc. v. Evams, Inc., 44 F.R.D.

IE Ti MENON. ssiecisodespovncsinianicnnebdnetiimsnabeenaniontinennse 10

Leroy v. Great Western United Corp., 443 U.S. 173

Iai ce anti apihdenmncenicoliennintnihainneeeensacons 5, 6, 7, 18

Lieb v. American Pacific Int'l, Inc., 489 F. Supp. 690

SAI UN OD <tesstosnsenecisonssersisisnsincntmaningeantinentvecieousensescese 10

Mowrey v. Johnson & Johnson, 524 F. Supp. 771

II Ps BINED aniceerrosnniiaoasaensacsnessinaiiavetanstcninanicomensesen 10

vi

PAGE

Myers vy. American Dental Ass'n, 695 F.2d 716 (3d

SII icici deialatas tcc iadeisdbedmnigcaavestnencokssshassoesseentecdsaeniostn 2,6

National Distillers & Chemical Corp. y. Department

of Energy, 487 F. Supp. 34 (D. Del. 1980) oo... 10

Pennoyer v. Neff, 95 U.S. 714 (1877) vce 15, 16

Pfeiffer y. International Academy of Biomagnetic

Medicine, 521 F. Supp. 1331 (W.D. Mo. 1981). ........ 9

Phillips v. Baker, 121 F.2d 752 (9th Cir. 1941) wo... 8

Piper Aircraft Co. vy. Reyno, 454 U.S. 235 (1981)... 5

Pocahontas Supreme Coal Co., Inc. vy. National Mines

Corp., 90 F.R.D. 67 (S.D.N.Y. 1981) .u....ccccssecseeee 9

Rush v. Savchuk, 444 U.S. 320 (1980) wo. 15,17

Ryan vy. Glenn, 52 F.R.D. 185 (N.D. Miss. 1971)... 10

Sarf v. Arnovitz, 19 B.R. 78 (F.D.N.Y. 1982) .....0... HW)

Shaffer v. Heitner, 433 U.S. 186 (1977) oc. 15, 16, 17

Smokey’s of Tidsa, Inc. v. American Honda Motor Co.,

Inc., 453 ¥. Supp. 1265 (B.D. Okla. 1978) oo. . 10

Stanley Works vy. Globemaster, Inc., 400 F. Supp. 1325

cick sceepennesinshtvonbeasavehiis 10

Sugarloaf Assocs. vy. Unity Savings Ass'n, Nos.

82-0811, 82-2838 (FE.D. Pa. Oct. 28, 1982) 0... 10

Wentiing v. Popular Science Publishing Co., 176

ey NE EE NAY, WU UII) csrenssccasossascsenssonccansensece 10

World-Wide Volkswagen Corp. v. Woodson, 444 U.S.

IIE sos aseas upiiiedbdisinsiscansesaddssaannsacsonscesecsily Waly AE

Yazawa v. J & F Import-Exrport Int'l Co., No. 81

Sy Cie cees Bets BU, B21, TOBE) nccscssccsssovssscccresosncnces i)

vii

PAGk

Strarutes Anp Rutes

Ur EO TU dnsekindinicntiaesnteniastvsinideenenteneis 2, 4, 6, 11, 14, 18

SUR s. BRUNET: ascinisinssicssieusncensanesenioseiensiiabandapeceiaidcsinie 4

aE SEs: ORIN <chsscissesveinesnss cimvenbitesnesninsindabicibediensibanteniha 4

Rules of the United States Supreme Court

PI: OUR sicsincdinicsicanansiacictencessnasiorastaiammsiencnseads 7,9, 10

Apprt10onaL AUTHORITIES

15 Wright, Miller & Cooper, Federal Practice & Pro-

II, “SIUIIIED seseninpactien idsistastaccateoncenisercneiisebadtonbsismabondis 8

Ehrenzweig, The Transient Rule of Personal Juris-

diction: The “Power” Myth and Forum Conveniens,

Se Base CE) dnctensutsasmaaeeircinanns 16

In THe

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

Octoner Term, 1982

AMERICAN DENTAL ASSOCIATION, and

DR. JOSEPH P. CAPPUCCIO,

Petitioners,

Us.

DONALD R. MYERS,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

THIRD CIRCUIT

—_— -—-

Petitioners pray that a writ of certiorari issue to re-

view the judgment and opinion of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Third Cireuit entered in this

proceeding on December 10, 1982, and the denial of the

petition for rehearing on January 10, 1983.

OPINIONS BELOW

The District Court entered a Memorandum and Order

which has not been reported and is reproduced at Ap-

pendix (hereinafter App.) la-6a,

= on

The majority opinion of the Court of Appeals affirm-

ing in part and reversing in part the District Court as

well as the concurring and dissenting opinion of Judge

Garth are reported at 695 F.2d 716, 731 (3d Cir. 1982).

The opinions are reproduced at App. 7a-67a.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on

December 10, 1982. (App. 7a). A timely petition for

rehearing in bane was denied on January 10, 1983. (App.

68a). The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under

28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

15 U.S.C. §22 provides as foliows:

Any suit, action, or proceeding under the antitrust

laws against a corporation may be brought not only

in the judicial district whercof it is an inhabitant,

but also in any district wherein it may be found or

transacts business; and all process in such cases

may be served in the district of which it is an in-

habitant, or wherever it may be found.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner the American Dental Association (“ADA”),

a voluntary professional dental association, is an Illinois

not-for-profit corporation with its principal place of busi-

ness in Chicago, Illinois, and one additional office in Wash-

ington, D.C. (Affidavi of Thomas H. Boerschinger, Ap-

pendix filed in the United States Court of Appeals (here-

inafter Cir. App.) 17). It has no office or employees in

the Virgin Islands. (Jd.).

Dr. Joseph P. Cappuccio (“Dr. Cappuccio”) is a former

president of the ADA, and he is a dentist residing and

—

practicing in Baltimore, Maryland. (Affidavit of Lois Mil-

ler, Cir. App. 20). It is uneontroverted that Dr. Cappue-

cio has not engaged in any business or any persistent

course of conduct within the Virgin Islands.

Respondent, a dentist who conducts his practice in the

Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico and Massachusetts, has

brought this action in the District Court of the Virgin

Islands alleging that ADA and Dr. Cappuccio had vio-

lated the Sherman Act and the Virgin Islands Anti-Mo-

nopoly Act through ADA’s alleged promulgation in Chi-

cago, Illinois, of certain sections of ADA’s Principles of

Ethies and Code of Professional Conduct. (Complaint, Cir.

App. 5). Dr. Cappuccio was served with the complaint

and summons while he was in the Virgin Islands. (U.S.

Marshals Service Process Receipt and Return, Cir. App.

13).

ADA has never held its Annual Session, its primary

meeting, in the Virgin Islands and during its entire his-

tory has only held two small meetings in the Virgin I[s-

lands. (Affidavit of Howard I. Wells, Cir. App. 19). Of

ADA’s 130,000 members only 19 reside in the Virgin Is-

lands, and of the approximately $14,000,000 in dues col-

lected from members in 1980 ADA collected merely $2,400

from members residing in the Virgin Islands. (Miller

Affidavit, Cir. App. 20). ADA receives no advertising

revenues from advertisers who reside in the Virgin Is-

lands. (Affidavit of Frank Cordero, Cir. App. 21).

ADA’s witnesses, particularly those concerning the for-

mulation, drafting, promulgation or interpretation of the

challenged ethical principles, either reside in Chicago or

are ADA officers with offices in Chicago. (Boerschinger

Affidavit, Cir. App. 17). All of ADA’s documentary evi-

~

dence is physically located at ADA’s principal office in

Chicago, Illinois.

in the trial court, ADA and Dr. Cappuccio filed a Mo-

tion to Dismiss the Complaint (Cir. App. 14), together

with a supporting memorandum (Cir. App. 22) and affi-

davits (Cir. App. 17-21). This motion contended that

personal jurisdiction was absent and that venue in the

Virgin Islands was improper. The District Court denied

the motion. The trial court held that although it did not

have venue pursuant to 15 U.S.C. §22, both because the

ADA was not a resident and because “no overt act oc-

curred in this jurisdiction’? (App. 3a), venue was prop-

er only under 28 U.S.C. §1391(b) on the theory that the

alleged antitrust injury took place in the Virgin Islands.

However, the District Court certified the questions of

venue and personal jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§1292(b) and thereafter the Third Cireuit Court of Ap-

peals allowed the interlocutory appeal.

In a two to one decision the Third Circuit affirmed the

District Court’s decision as to the ADA but reversed in

part as to Dr. Cappuccio. (Maj. opinion at App. 7a,

dissent at App. 34a). Although the majority opinion

upheld the District Court as to ADA, it did so in a high-

ly unusual fashion. It thoroughly discredited the District

Court in that it found that the District Court misinter-

preted 28 U.S.C. §1391(b) but then ignored the clear intent

of the District Judge with reference to whether ADA

was subject to venue under 15 U.S.C. §22. The trial

judge’s analysis was that since there was no way to sus-

tain venue under 15 U.S.C. 422, the only manner in which

it could hold the ADA in the case was pursuant to 28

U.S.C. §$1391(b). An examination of the trial court memo-

randum and the majority opinion and dissenting opinion

pox Pes

of the Court of Appeals makes it apparent that the

majority strained in order to continue to subscribe to

the notion that the concept of venue is a broad, liberal

concept which benefits plaintiffs at the expense of defen-

dants. It did this in spite of recent admonitions of this

Court to the contrary in somewhat related areas. See

Leroy v. Great Western United Corp., 443 U.S. 173

(1979) (venue); World-Wide Volkswagen Corp. v. Wood-

son, 444 U.S. 286 (1980) (jurisdiction); Piper Avrcraft

Co. v. Reyno, 454 U.S. 235 (1981) (forum non

conveniens).

This Petition is being filed to permit this Court to

establish definitive standards with reference to venue for

the inferior federal courts.

eo § a=

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE DECISION OF THE THIRD CIRCUIT CLEAR.

LY CONFLICTS WITH DECISIONS OF THIS

COURT AND OF OTHER CIRCUIT COURTS OF

APPEALS REGARDING THE BURDEN OF PROOF

IN OBJECTIONS TO VENUE.

A. Conflict with This Court’s Decisions.

The majority decision of the Third Cireuit Court of

Appeals in this case, Myers y. American Dental Ass’n,

695 F.2d 716, 718 (3d Cir. 1982) (App. 7a), is in direet

conflict with the decision of this Court in Leroy v. Great

Western United Corp., 443 U.S. 173 (1979), with respect

to the purpose of statutory venue and with respect to the

party having the burden of proving venue.

The majority of the Third Cireuit held that “the defen-

dant should ordinarily bear the burden of showing im-

proper venue in connection with a motion to dismiss.”

(App. 20a-2la). Thus, the majority placed the burden of

proof with respect to venue upon petitioners in this

matter. This determination, as to who has the burden

of proof on motions to dismiss for improper venue,

provided the majority the underlying basis upon which

it affirmed the District Court’s denial of petitioners’

venue motion, in spite of the fact that the majority

discredited the theory upon which the District Court

found venue and despite the fact that respondent did

not even argue Section 22 venue in the trial court. See

Dissenting Opinion at App. 42a.

This principle adopted by the majority of the Third

Cireuit flies in the face of this Court’s characterization

of venue:

= oe

In most instances, the purpose of statutorily

specified venue is to protect the defendant against

the risk that a plaintiff will select an unfair or incon-

venient place of trial. For that reason, Congress has

generally not made the residence of the plaintiff a

basis for venue in nondiversity cases. (Leroy v. Great

Western United Corp., 443 U.S. 1738, 183-184 (1979)

(emphasis in original) ).

By placing the burden of proving the inappropriateness

of respondent’s choice of forum on petitioners the Third

Cireuit has destroyed the congressional protection ac-

corded petitioners, and all other defendants, as reaffirmed

by this Court. In practice it also makes it impossible

for a defendant to sustain the burden since it makes the

defendant prove a negative.

The Third Circuit’s holding is also contrary to an

express statement of this Court as to which party must

demonstrate the appropriateness of venue. It is quite

clear that this Court ordinarily requires the plaintiff

to “justify its choice of forum.” Leroy vy. Great Western

United Corp., 443 U.S. at 183. This Court should, there-

fore, review the decision of the Third Cireuit Court

of Appeals in order to bring the Third Circuit in line

with the extant venue principles of the Supreme Court.

B. Conflict with Other Circuits.

In addition, there is no question that the decision

of the Third Circuit majority is in direct conflict with

the venue rules adopted by four other Circuit Courts

of Appeals thus triggering the application of Supreme

Court Rule 17.1(a). In the cases of Aro Mfg. Co., Inc.

v. Automobile Body Research Corp., 352 F.2d 400 (lst

Cir. 1965), cert. denied, 383 U.S. 947 (1966), Bartholomew

v. Virginia Chiropractors Ass’n, Inc., 612 F.2d 812 (4th

=

Cir. 1979), cert. dened, 446 U.S. 938 (1980), Grantham

v. Challenge-Cook Bros., Inc., 420 F.2d 1182 (7th Cir.

1969), and Phillips v. Baker, 121 F.2d 752 (9th Cir. 1941),

the First, Fourth, Seventh and Ninth Circuits respec-

tively have squarely held that the plaintiff must bear

the burden of proving the propriety of venue when

challenged by the defendant.

This irreconcilable c aflict was expressly recognized

by Judge Garth in his dissent below. (App. 39a). Judge

Garth embraced the “better view,” which is also sup-

ported by Professors Wright and Miller. See 15 Wright,

Miller & Cooper, Federal Practice & Procedure 43826

at 168.

There exists a definite need for uniformity of decision

among the Circuits with respect to the allocation of the

burden of proof on venue objections. The decision of

the Third Circuit stands basically alone in direct contra-

diction to the rule adopted by four other Circuits. This

Court should grant this Petition in order to resolve this

conflict concerning a rule of law which is fundamental to

the consideration of venue objections.

©. The Decision of the Third Circuit Departs from

a Well Established Rule with Respect to the

Consideration of Venue Objections Thereby Re-

quiring This Court to Exercise Its Power of

Supervision.

The Third Circuit’s decision drastically distorts the

law of venue. The majority opinion will have a significant

impact on the disposition of venue motions by lower

courts. No doubt many venue objections will turn on the

resolution of the question of which party bears the

burden of proof. This was certainly the critical factor

=

in the instant matter, as Judge Garth recognized in his

dissent below, where respondent had adduced and the

District Court had found absolutely no facts otherwise

justifying respondent’s choice of forum. (App. 52a-53a).

The importance of the Third Cireuit’s decision with

respect to the proper administration of justice and, in

particular, of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure is

obvious.

This Petition presents a glaring example of a decision

by the Third Cireuit Court of Appeals which “has so

far departed from the accepted and usual course of

judicial proceedings, or so far sanctioned such a course

by a lower court, as to call for an exercise of this court’s

power of supervision.” Supreme Court Rule 17.1(a). That

the allocation of the burden of proof with respect to

venue objections to the plaintiff is the “accepted and

usual course of judicial proceedings” is obvious from

even a casual review of the decisions of those trial courts

which have addressed the issue. See, e.g., E. W. Kalkin,

Inc. v. Linens & Things, Ltd., No. 82 C 4021 (N.D. II.

Oct. 25, 1982); Sarf v. Arnovitz, 19 B.R. 78 (E.D.N.Y.

1982); Hodgdon vy. Needham-Skyles Oil Co., 1982 Fed.

Sec. L. Rep. 999, 031 (D.D.C. 1982); Hoffacker v. Bike

House, 540 F. Supp. 148 (N.D. Cal. 1981); Hodson v. A.

H. Robins Co., Inc., 528 F. Supp. 809 (E.D. Va. 1981);

Pfeiffer v. International Academy of Biomagnetic Medi-

cine, 521 F. Supp. 1331 (W.D. Mo. 1981); Amateur-

Wholesale Electronics vy. R. L. Drake Co., 515 F. Supp.

580 (S.D. Fla. 1981); Pocahontas Supreme Coal Co., Inc.

v. National Mines Corp., 90 F.R.D. 67 (S.D.N.Y. 1981);

Yazawa v. J & F Import-Export Int'l Co., No. 81 C 0153

(N.D. Til. Aug. 11, 1981); Atrola v. King, 505 F. Supp.

30 (D. Ariz. 1980); Cascade Steel Rolling Mills, Ine. v.

ee

C. Itoh & Co. (America), Inc., 499 F. Supp. 829 (D. Or.

1980) ; Smokey’s of Tulsa, Inc. vy. American Honda Motor

Co., Inc., 453 F. Supp. 1265 (.D. Okla. 1978); Grappone,

Inc. v. Subaru of America, Inc., 403 F. Supp. 123 (D.

N.H. 1975); Stanley Works v. Globemaster, Inc., 400

F. Supp. 1325 (D. Mass. 1975); Call Carl, Inc. v. BP

Ou Corp., 391 F. Supp. 367 (D. Md. 1975); Besuner v.

Faberge, Inc., 379 F. Supp. 278 (N.D. Ohio 1974); Ryan

v. Glenn, 52 F.R.D. 185 (N.D. Miss. 1971); K. d.

Schwartzbaum, Inc. v. Evans, Inc., 44 F.R.D. 589 (S.D.

N.Y. 1968); Hayashi v. Sunshine Garden Products, Inc.,

285 F. Supp. 632 (W.D. Wash. 1967), aff’d sub nom.

Hayashi v. Red Wing Peat Corp., 396 ¥.2d 13 (9th Cir.

1968); Fooshee vy. Interstate Vending Co., 234 F. Supp.

44 (D. Kan. 1964). These courts have overwhelmingly

held that the burden of proof is to be carried by the

plaintiff after a timely objection has been made by the

defendant.

In fact, the majority of the District Courts within

the Third Cireuit had previously followed the proper

rule that the plaintiff must prove the propriety of his

choice of venue once objected to by the defendant. See,

e.g., Conaway Enterprises, Inc. v. Dyna Industries, Inc.,

547 F. Supp. 577 (W.D. Pa. 1982); Sugarloaf Assocs.

v. Unity Savings Ass’n, Nos. 82-0811, 82-2838 (18.D. Pa.

Oct. 28, 1982); Mowrey v. Johnson d&: Johnson, 524 F.

Supp. 771 (W.D. Pa. 1981); Lieb v. American Pacific Int’l,

Inc., 489 F. Supp. 690 (12.D. Pa. 1980); National Distillers

& Chemical Corp. v. Department of Energy, 487 F. Supp.

34 (D. Del. 1980); F'unnelcap Inc. v. Orion Industries,

392 IF. Supp. 938 (D. Del. 1975); Hawkins vy. National

Basketball Ass’n, 288 F. Supp. 614 (W.D. Pa. 1968);

Wentling v. Popular Science Publishing Co., 176 F. Supp.

—

652 (M.D. Pa. 1959). Despite such longstanding adher-

ence of these lower courts to the “accepted and usual”

rule, a majority of the Third Cireuit has decided that

the courts of that Circuit must no longer follow the

better reasoned and well established view. Therefore,

the decision of the Third Cireuit not only sanctions,

but mandates, that the trial courts of the Circuit depart

from their “accepted and usual course of judicial pro-

ceedings.”

This Court should grant this Vetition in order that

it may exercise its power of supervision over the Third

Cireuit in order to conform the Third Cireuit’s decision

to the “accepted and usual course of judicial proceed-

ings.” Moreover, the Court should review the decision

of the Court of Appeals to prevent the extraordinary

inconvenience to petitioners of having to litigate this

matter in the Virgin Islands, where petitioners have no

significant contacts, as demonstrated by the factual record

made in the trial court.

II. THE OPINION OF THE MAJORITY ON WHAT

CONSTITUTES “TRANSACTING BUSINESS” FOR

A NON-PROFIT CORPORATION CONFLICTS

WITH A DECISION OF THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

COURT OF APPEALS AND INVOLVES A SIG.

NIFICANT QUESTION OF FEDERAL LAW.

The Dissenting Opinion stated the issue involved here

as follows:

A corporation “transacts business” in a district

for purposes of section 12 of the Clayton Aet (15

U.S.C. §22) only if in the “ordinary and usual sense”

it transacts business of a “substantial character”

Eastman Kodak Co. of New York vy Southern Photo

Materials Co., 273 U.S. 359, 373, 47 S.Ct. 400, 403,

a 12

71 L.Ed. 684 (1927); United States v. Scophony

Corp., 333 U.S. 795, 807, 68 S.Ct. 855, 861, 92 L.Ed.

1091 (1948) (“The practical everyday business or

commercial concept of doing or carrying on business

‘of any substantial character’ [is] the test of

venue’’); Bartholomew vy. Virginia Chirvupractic

Ass’n., 612 F.2d 812, 815 (4th Cir. 1979); Sherman

College of Straight Chiropractic vy. American Chiro-

practic Ass’n., 5384 F. Supp. 488, 440-41 (N.D. Ga.

1982); Health Care Equalization Committee of the

Iowa Chiropractic Sociey v. Iowa Medical Society,

501 F. Supp. 970, 980 (S.D. Towa 1981); Athletes

Foot of Delaware, Inc. vy. Ralph Iabonati Co., Ine.,

445 F.Supp. 35, 43 (D.Del. 1977); Bogus v. American

Speech & Hearing Ass’n., 389 F. Supp. 327, 328-29

(E.D. Pa. 1975), rev’d on other grounds, 582 F.2d

277 (3d Cir. 1978); Friends of Animals, Ine. v.

American Veterinary Medical Ass’n., 310 F. Supp.

620, 622 (S.D.N.Y. 1970); Philadelphia Housing

Authority vy. American Radiator and Standard Sani-

tary Corp., 291 F. Supp. 252, 256 (.D. Pa. 1968).

This “transacts business” standard was intended by

Congress to be broader than the “may he found”

standard, Eastman Kodak Co., supra, 273 U.S. at

372-73, 47 S.Ct. at 402-403; United States v. National

City Lines, Inc., 334 U.S. 573, 579, 68 S.Ct. 1169,

1172, 92 L.Ed. 1584 (1948), but certainly more than

a few isolated and peripheral contacts with the par-

ticular judicial district must be present to constitute

business of a substantial character. Golf City, Ine.

v. Wilson Sporting Goods Co., Inc., 555 F.2d 426, 488

(5th Cir. 1977); Stern Fish Co. v. Century Seafoods,

Inc., 254 IF. Supp. 151, 153 (F.D. Pa. 1966). (Dissent-

ing Opinion, App. 53a-54a (emphasis added)).

In Bartholomew v. Virginia Chiropractors Ass’n, Inc.,

612 F.2d 812, 815-816 (4th Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 446

U.S. 938 (1980), the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals

cn aed

squarely held that venue did not lie as against defendant

American Chiropractic Association (“ACA”), of Des

Moines, Iowa, in the Western District of Virginia. In

making its decision, the Court relied upon the following

facts:

(1) Only 53 of ACA’s 8,875 members lived in

Virginia;

(2) ACA’s sole office was in Towa but that it trained

Virginia members in Des Moines, Iowa to work

on Virginia peer review panels;

(3) No directors or employees of ACA resided in

Virginia; and

(4) The only sales made in Virginia by ACA were

of pamphlets, journals and other educational and

public relations materials, but that ACA did

solicit advertising time on Virginia television

stations.

In the case at bar, the following facts are uncontested:

(1) Only 22 of ADA’s approximately 130,000 mem-

bers reside in the Virgin Islands (see Affidavit

of Lois Miller, Cir. App. 20);

(2) ADA has no office in the Virgin Islands (see

Affidavit of Thomas H. Boerschinger, Cir. App.

17);

(3) The ADA trustee who represents the Virgin

Islands resides in Arlington, Virginia, not the

Virgin Islands, and no ADA directors or em-

ployees reside in the Virgin Islands (Affidavit

of Lois Miller, Cir. App. 20); and

(4) No advertising from ADA’s publications arises

from the Virgin Islands (Affidavit of Frank

Cordero, Cir. App. 21).

In Bartholomew, the Court found that ACA solicited

advertising time on Virginia television stations and that

ie tice

ACA actually trained, in Des Moines, Towa, the individ-

uals who returned to Virginia to comprise the Virginia

peer review panels of which plaintiff complained and,

nevertheless, rejected plaintiff’s choice of venue. In con

trast plaintiff here only alleges that he received a copy

of the “Journal of the American Dental Association’’ in

the Virgin Islands that informed him of the ethical rules

on specialty announcements that he disagrees with, and

thus there is no ADA nexus sufficient to support venue

in the Virgin Islands.

As the Court aptly stated in Bartholomew in deserib-

ing ACA’s contacts with Virginia:

ACA’s solicitation of advertising time and its dis-

semination across Virginia boundaries of correspond-

ence, informational materials, public service educa-

tional programs by mail, radio, television and news-

paper (free of cost to ACA) was not transacting

business in the State within the meaning of Section

12 of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. 622. Likewise the

transmittal of such items into Virginia by mass

media for subsequent telecasting, broadeasting or

publishing was not within the Act’s domain. [Cita-

tions omitted.| Otherwise, every State in the Union

into which such programs were aimed or thrust by

media or mail would provide an acceptable forum for

suit based on ‘‘transact{ing| business’’ therein. (612

F.2d at 816 (emphasis added)).

Since there is both a conflict among the Third and

Fourth Cireuit Courts of Appeals and an important rea-

son to delineate the scope of Section 22 as applied to

professional associations heeause of the decision of this

Court in Goldfarb vy. Virginia State Bar, 421 U.S. 773

(1975), this Court should grant this Petition to provide

the much needed guidance on such a significant question

of federal law.

a eee

Ill. THE THIRD CIRCUIT’S HOLDING THAT PER.

SONAL JURISDICTION MAY BE BASED ON

MERE PERSONAL SERVICE OVER DR. CAP.

PUCCIO, WHO HAD NO OTHER CONTINUING

FORUM CONTACTS, CONSTITUTES A _ VIO-

LATION OF CONSTITUTIONAL DUE PROCESS

WHICH SHOULD BE CORRECTED BY THIS

COURT.

Personal jurisdiction over a defendant may, of course,

be obtained by the trial court only if there exists ‘‘mini-

mum contacts’’ between the defendant and the forum.

See International Shoe Co. v. Washington, 326 U.S. 310

(1945); Shaffer v. Heitner, 433 U.S. 186 (1977); World-

Wide Volkswagen Corp. v. Woodson, 444 U.S. 286 (1980) ;

Rush v. Savchuk, 444 U.S. 320 (1980). The mere fact that

in the instant matter Dr. Cappuccio was_ personally

served with process within the territorial limits of the

Virgin Islands fails to supply sufficient minimum con-

tacts which would satisfy modern notions of due process

adopted by this Court. The momentary presence of a

defendant within a particular jurisdiction and service of

process upon him, without more, is now an insufficient

basis for personal jurisdiction even when it involves the

Article I authority of the District Court in the Virgin

Islands and a claim based on Virgin Islands territorial

law.

In Pennoyer v. Neff, 95 U.S. 714 (1877), this Court

held that the presence of a defendant within the state

was a necessary prerequisite to a court’s assertion of

personal jurisdiction over him. Thus, personal jurisdic-

tion following Pennoyer was based upon the court's phys-

ical power over either persons or property. See Shaffer

v. Heitner, 433 U.S. at 199. As a result of the decision in

Pennoyer, it was generally thought that a defendant’s

am 16 a

presence within a state, no matter how transitory, cou-

pled with service on that defendant was sufficient to es-

tablish jurisdiction. See Ehrenzweig, The Transient Rule

of Personal Jurisdiction: The ‘‘Power’’ Myth and Forum

Conveniens, 65 Yale L.J. 289, 292 (1956).

The concepts of presence and physical power which had

been embraced by the Court in Pennoyer were substan-

tially discarded in /nternational Shoe Co. v. Washington,

326 U.S. 310 (1945). Rejecting the “power’’ concept, the

Court stated that due process requires that the defendant

have ‘‘certain minimum contacts with [the forum] such

that maintenance of the suit does not offend ‘traditional

notions of fair play and substantial justice.’’’ 320 U.S.

at 316. The inquiry into personal jurisdiction no longer

focused on presence but on whether the defendant’s con-

tacts with the forwn make it ‘‘reasonable’’ to require

the defendant to defend the suit there. 326 U.S. at 317.

In Shaffer v. Heitner, 433 U.S. 186 (1977), the Su-

preme Court overruled Pennoyer to the extent that it had

held that mere presence within the territorial confines of

the forum state was sufficient to obtain jurisdiction over

the defendant. Rather the Supreme Court held that ‘‘all

assertions of state-court jurisdiction must be evaluated

according to the standards set forth in /nternational Shoe

and its progeny.’’ 433 U.S. at 212. Thus, this Court ex-

pressly held that the assertion of personal jurisdiction

was to be subject in all cases to the “minimum contacts’’

test, stating that ‘‘/ijt is clear, therefore, that the law of

state-court jurisdiction no longer stands securely on the

foundation established in Pennoyer.’’ 433 U.S. at 206.

This Court has recently reaffirmed “minimum contacts’’

as the touchstone of persena! jurisdiction, pursuant to

ain AO en

which the relationship among the defendant, the forum

and the litigation must be considered. See World-Wide

Volkswagen Corp. v. Woodson, 444 U.S. at 291. More-

over, the Court has reaffirmed Shaffer's mandate that

assertion of personal jurisdiction in all cases must be

evaluated according to the standards of International

Shoe. See Rush v. Savchuk, 444 U.S. at 327.

It could not be plainer that one found and served in

the forum must be judged by the ‘‘minimum contacts’

test. That is the lesson of Shaffer, World-Wide Volks-

wagen and Rush vy. Savchuk. If “minimum contacts” are

not present, due process prohibits the exercise of per-

sonal jurisdiction by the forum. Mere personal service

while physically present in the forum does not alone

provide the efficient minimum contacts, even though

presence may bear upon whether sufficient jurisdictional

contacts exist. See Shaffer vy. Ieitner, 443 U.S. at 207.

In light of the decision by this Court in Shaffer and

its reaffirmation, in World-Wide Volkswagen Corp. v.

Woodson and Rush y. Savchuk, of the principles enuncia-

ted in /nternational Shoe as the sole test of whether per-

sonal jurisdiction comports with due process, it is clear

that the ‘‘transient rule’? adopted by the Third Circuit

in this matter cannot stand. Accordingly, this Court

should grant this Petition in order to ensure that the

‘‘minimum contacts’’ test is properly applied by the in-

ferior federal courts, and to lay to rest the vestige of

the “power’’ concept of personal jurisdiction.

=

CONCLUSION

This Court in Goldfarb established the principle that

professional associations in certain circumstances may be

liable under the antitrust laws. Since that decision, nu-

merous professional associations have been sued for al-

leged violations of the antitrust laws, thus making it im-

portant that this Court delineate the scope of ‘‘transact-

ing business’? for purposes of venue pursuant to 15

U.S.C. $22.

The majority opinion of the Third Cireuit has held the

ADA subject to venue in a jurisdiction many miles from

Chicago, Illinois contrary to the protection afforded to

defendants by this Court in Leroy, as well as contrary to

established federal case law on the implementation of

venue objections.

Petitioners respectfully request that this Court take

this case in order to define the scope of venue and the re-

spective burdens of proof once venue has been timely

raised. In addition, petitioners request that the Court also

—

take this case in order to determine the question of per-

sonal jurisdiction involving Dr. Cappuceio.,

Respectfully submitted,

Peren M, SriKAs

200 Kast Randolph Drive

Suite 7300

Chicago, Hlinois GO6O1

(312) 861-1400

Counsel of Record

Of Counsel

Cuay H. Pairs

Joun N. ScHounick

Peterson, Ross, Scutorns & Semen

200 East Randolph Drive

Suite 7300

Chicago, Hlinois GO601

(312) 861-1400

— |

APPENDIX

In The

DISTRICT COURT OF THE VIRGIN ISLANDS

Division of St. Thomas and St. John

DONALD R. MYERS,

Plaintiff,

vs.

AMERICAN DENTAL ASSOCIATION, ET. AL.,

Defendants.

Civil No. 68-80

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

CHRISTIAN, Chief Judge

This antitrust action is before the Court on a plethora

of motions raised by the American Dental Association

(ADA), the Virgin Islands Dental Association (VIDA)

and the individually named defendants. The ADA and

VIDA assert that venue does not lie in the Virgin Islands

but if we find that it does lie here then this forum is

inconvenient to the majority of the witnesses. See Fed.

R. Civ. P. 12(b)(3); 28 U.S.C. $1404(a) (1976). Doctors

Pomerantz and Kirshner contend that plaintiff failed to

state a claim against them upon which relief inay be

granted. Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(¢); see Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)

(6). In addition the ADA moves to dismiss the claims

against Doctors Kerr, Cappucio and Chavoor due to plain-

tiff’s failure to state a claim. Relief will be granted

and denied in part.

Plaintiff is a dentist and oral surgeon licensed to prac-

tice his profession in the Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico and

Massachusetts. He maintains that the defendants in order

=

to restrain trade agreed, combined and conspired to pro-

mulgate and enforce a code of ethics and professional

conduct for dentists who belong to the ADA and its con-

stituent societies. Dr. Myers avers that certain rules

of the code restrains his practice of dentistry and oral

surgery.

VENUE

The ADA and VIDA contend that venue cannot lie

in the Virgin Islands in the case at bar. They base their

assertions on 15 U.S.C. §22’ and 28 U.S.C. 1391(b).*

Under the general federal venue statute in non diversity

cases venue will lie where the cause of action arose or

where the defendants reside. In addition, the antitrust

acts expand venue to any district where a corporation

transacts business. The defendants maintain that Dr.

Myers failed to meet any of the venue standards and

therefore the case must be transferred or disinised. We

cannot agree.

The District Court of the Virgin Islands has more ex-

pansive jurisdiction than its stateside counterparts. As

a territorial court is |sic| is not limited to the constraints

placed on federal courts by Article LI Section 2 of the con-

stitution. In essence a federal territorial court wears two

- 'Seetion 22 provides:

Any suit, action, or proceeding under the antitrust

laws against a corporation may be brought not only

in the judicial district whereof it is an inhabitant,

but also in any district wherein it may be found or

transacts business; and all process in such cases may

be served in the district of which it is an inhabitant,

or wherever it may be found.

*Section 1391(b) provides:

(b) A civil action wherein jurisdiction is not founded

solely on diversity of citizenship may be brought only

in the judicial district where all defendants reside,

or in which the claim arose, except as otherwise pro-

vided by law.

nies

hats—one when it sits as a federal court and another

when it hears local matters. In the case sub jidice we

are wearing both hats simultaneously.

Certainly plaintiff’s canse of action based on the local

antimonopolies law, 11 V.LC. 41501 et. seq. is properly

before this Court. In Godfrey v. International Moving

Consultants, 1980 STT Supp. 498 (D.V.I. 1980) we held

that the federal venue provisions do not apply to the

District Court of the Virgin Islands when it is deciding

local matters. We cannot as readily circumvent the venue

provisions however, when the court is exercising federal

jurisdiction.’

Because the ADA and some of the individual defen-

dants do not reside here, venue will only lie in this

Court if the cause of action arose in the Virgin Islands.

Defendants rely on the “weight of the contacts test’’ to

support their contention that the action arose outside

the territory. That test provides that ‘‘if some overt

act pursuant to the conspiratorial meetings took place

in a district and it was a significant and substantial

element of the offense, then venue would lie in the dis-

trict.’’ Philadelphia Housing Authority v. American Ra-

diator and Standard Sanitary Corp., 291 F. Supp. 252,

260-61 (I.D.Pa. 1968); see Friends of Animals, Ine, v.

American Veterinary Med. Ass’n., 310 F. Supp. 620 (S.D.

N.Y. 1970). The core around which the threads of plain-

tiff’s complaint winds is the ADA’s adoption of the code

of ethics which restricted Dr. Myers’ practice. That code

was formulated and adopted by the ADA in Illinois. Once

the ADA embraced the eode VIDA’s charter required

it to do likewise. Thus defendants make a strong show-

ing that no overt act occurred in this jurisdiction.

*For an interesting discussion concerning venue and

article I courts see Graham v. Brotherhood of Firemen,

338 U.S. 232 (1949). (The District Court of the District

of Columbia).

——

Plaintiff’s choice of venue however is proper. Again

it is justified in part by the special status of the District

Court of the Virgin Islands. Dr. Myers’ federal cause of

action is based on the Sherman Antitrust Act, 15 U.S.C.

§1 et. seq. Because in most circumstances sections 1 and

2 of the Act do not apply in the Territories of the United

States, plaintiff must specifically rely on 15 U.S.C. §3.*

Section 3 provides that restraints of trade affecting the

Territories of the United States are illegal. The ADA’s

promulgation of the code of ethies in Illinois and VIDA’s

compulsory adoption ot if [sic] affected Dr. Myers’ prac-

tice in St. Thomas. Thus, even though many of the

overt acts of the alleged conspiracy occurred in Illinois

the injurious effects could be found in the Virgin Islands.

Furthermore, civil antitrust actions arise where the

damages occur. The injury that flows from an illegal con-

spiracy sounds in tort. Thus the antitrust claim can be

tried where the injury (i.e. the business damage) oceurs.

Albert Levine Assoc, y. Bertoni & Cotti, S.p.A., 314 F.

Supp. 169, 171 (S.D.N.Y. 1970),

*$3. Trusts in Territories or District of Columbia

illegal; combination a felony.

Every contract, combination in form of trust or other-

wise, or conspiracy, in restraint of trade or commerce

in any Territory of the United States or of the District

of abana, or in restraint of trade or commerce hetween

any such Territory and another, or between any such

Territory or Territories and any State or States or the

District of Columbia, or with foreign nations, or between

the District of Columbia and any State or States or

foreign nations, is declared illegal. Every person who

shall make any such contract or engage in any such com-

bination or conspiracy, shall be deemed guilty of a felony,

and, on conviction thereof, shall be punished by fine not

exceeding one million dollars if a corporation, or if any

other person, one hundred thousand dollars or by im-

prisonment not exceeding three years, or by both said

punishments, in the diseretion of the court.

—. eo

In summary, venue properly lies in this forum. Firstly,

plaintiff’s claim based upon local law invokes our article

T jurisdiction. Secondly, Dr. Myers brought snit under

a federal statute aimed at preventing illegal combina-

tions in restraint of trade in the territories. The restraint

of trade caused injury in the Virgin Islands and there-

fore the cause of action arose here, Defendants’ motions

hased on improper venue will be denied.

Defendants also assert that the Virgin Islands is an

inconvienent [sic] forum to try this ease. See 28 U.S.C,

§1404(2). Based on the affidavits proffered by plaintiff it

is clear that any forum would be inconvenient to some of

the witnesses. We foresee no undue hardship or injustice

to the parties by requiring them to try this action before

us. Accordingly, defendants’ motion based on forum non

conveniens will be denied,

MOTION TO DISMISS

The ADA, Dr. Pomeranz and Dr. Michael Kirshner,

move for judement on the pleadings asserting that there

is no cause of action against the individually named

defendants. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(c). Because the par-

ties proffered affidavits in support of their position the

Court will treat the motion as one for summary judg-

ment. Sve Fed. R. Civ. PL 56.

When considering a summary judgment motion the

Court must resolve all inferences and factual disputes

against the moving party unless the motion is supported

by affidavits or other evidence that lead to only one

conclusion, Chirinas de Alvarez vy. Creole Petroleum

Corp., 613 F. 2d 1240 (3d Cir. 1980). Indeed once the

moving party produces evidence that no material ques-

tions of fact exist then the adverse party must also

produce evidence to support his claim and may not rest

on the pleadings alone, Poponne yv. Nearn, 1980 STT

Supp. 89 (D.V.1. 1980). Plaintiff submitted two affidavits

in support of his claims. In those affidavits he failed to

show that Doctors Pomeranz, Kirshner, Kerr, and Cha-

~— oo

voor violated the antitrust acts in their individual capa-

city. As to these parties summary judgment will be

granted. Dr. Myers did implicate Dr. Capuecio in an

alleged conspiracy and therefore as a matter of law the

Court cannot dismiss the claims against him.

ORDER

The premises considered and the Court being duly

advised

IT IS ORDERED that the motion of defendants to

dismiss the action for improper venue be, and the same

is hereby, DENIED;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the motion of de-

fendants to transfer the action due to forum non con-

veniens he, and the same is hereby, DENTED;

TT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the motion of Doe-

tors Pomeranz and Kirshner to he dismissed from the

action he, and the same is hereby, GRANTED;

IT TS FURTHER ORDERED that the motion of the

American Dental Association to dismiss Doctors Kerr

and Chavoor from the action be, and the same is hereby,

GRANTED;

IT TS FURTHER ORDERED that the motion of

American Dental Association to dismiss Doctor Capuecio

from this case be, and the same is hereby, DENIED.

Dated: March 24, 1981

ENTER:

/s/ Almerie L, Christian

Almerie LL. Christian

Chief Judge

ATTEST:

/s/ Frank Blackinan

Frank Blackman

Clerk of the Court

—

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For The Third Cireuit

No. 81-2573

DONALD Ro MYERS

vs,

AMERICAN DENTAL ASSOCIATION, ET AL,

OPINION OF THE COURT

ROSENN, Circuit Judge.

This interlocutory appeal poses the question whether

a dentist practicing in the Virgin Islands may properly

bring suit in that jurisdiction alleging antitrust viola-

tions under the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1 et seq., and

the Virvin Islands Anti-Monopoly Law, 11 V.LC, § 1501

et seq., against the American Dental Association (ADA)

and certain nonresident individual defendants. The plain-

tiff, Dr. Donald R. Myers, challenges a rule promulgated

hy the ADA and subsequently implemented by the Virgin

Islands Dental Association (VIDA) whieh requires a

dentist who announces an area of specialization to limit

his practice to that area, Defendants moved to dismiss

the action on several grounds, including lack of per-

sonal jurisdiction over the individual defendants and im-

proper venue as to all of the defendants. The district

court granted the motion to dismiss as to several of the

individual defendants but denied the motion as to ADA

and Dr. Joseph P. Cappueecio, a past president of the

ADA. The court certified for appeal under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1292(h) the question of personal jurisdiction and venue

and this court granted leave to appeal. We affirm the

district court as to ADA but reverse in part as to Dr.

Cappuceio.

.

ADA, organized as an Illinois not-for-profit corpora-

tion, is a professional association of dentists. It has its

principal place of business in Chicago and an office in

—

Washington, D.C. ADA has no offices or employees in

the Virgin Islands.

VIDA is a constituent society of the ADA. Although

the record is sparse’ as to the precise nature of the

relationship between ADA and VIDA, and as to the

activities engaged in by the two organizations, several

points emerge. Defendants represent that VIDA is large-

ly autonomous from its parent organization. Nonethe-

less, certain bonds link the two organizations. Under

ADA’s by-laws. members of a constituent society such

as VIDA must also be dues paying members of ADA.

By virtue of that relationship, VIDA was required to

adopt the Principles of Ethics and Code of Professional

Conduct (Code) promulgated by ADA and was _ pro-

hibited from adopting any local rules inconsistent with

the Code.

At the core of this case is dissatisfaction with one of

the Code’s provisions. Plaintiff, a dentist licensed in

the Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico, and Massachusetts, ob-

jects to a provision of the Code which states:

A dentist who chooses to announce specialization .. .

shall limit the practice exclusively to the announced

special area(s) of dental practice ... .

Complaining that practitioners in areas with small pop-

ulations cannot develop an adequate practice if limited

solely to their area of specialization, plaintiff seeks to

hold himself out both as a general dentist and as an

oral surgeon. He commenced the instant lawsuit in fed-

eral district court alleging violations of federal and

Virgin Islands antitrust law and seeking injunctive re-

lief, declaratory relief, and damages. Service was aceom-

plished on the individual defendants while they were

attending the annual meeting of VIDA in the Virgin

*Defendants have moved to strike certain portions of

plaintiff’s brief on the ground that it raises certain

matters not of record. By separate order we grant de.

fendants’ motion.

— a

Islands. Dr. Cappuccio and the other individual defen-

dants were served under Fed.R.Civ.P. 4(d)(1) by the

United States Marshal serving summons and complaint

on each of them in the Virgin Islands. Service on ADA

was effectuated by similarly serving Dr. Kerr in his

capacity as the president of ADA under Fed.R.Civ.P.

4(d)(3). Defendants moved to dismiss, primarily on

the ground of improper venue. The district court granted

the motion to dismiss, which it treated as a motion

for summary judgment, against the individual defendants

Pomeranz, Kirshner, Kerr, and Chavoor; the court denied

the motion to dismiss with respect to ADA and _ in-

dividual defendant Cappuccio.

II.

A.

On appeal, both Dr. Cappuccio and ADA challenge

the district court’s exercise of personal jurisdiction over

them. An initial question posed only by ADA’s jurisdic-

tional challenge concerns whether ADA timely raised

its defense of lack of personal jurisdiction before the dis-

trict court. Our review of the pleadings before the dis-

trict court Jeads us to conclude that ADA has waived

its right to assert the defense.

In response to the complaint in this action defendants

filed a pleading entitled “Motion to Dismiss for Im-

proper Venue.” The motion requests that the action be

dismissed against the individual defendants on three

grounds: improper venue, lack of (personal) jurisdic-

tion, and failure to state an actionable claim. As to ADA,

however, the motion requests dismissal only on the

ground of improper venue. This division of defenses

is mirrored in defendants’ memorandum of law’ sup-

porting their motion to dismiss.

In their next pleading to the district court, “Reply

Memorandum in Support of Defendant American Dental

Association’s Motion to Dismiss for Improper Venue,”

defendants again fail to raise the question of lack of

-- }0a —

personal jurisdiction over ADA. And in their subse-

quent pleading, “Motion of Defendant American Dental

Association to Strike Plaintiff's Opposition to Defen-

dant’s Motion and Aeeompanying Affidavits, or, in the

Alternative, Response in Support of Defendant Ameriean

Dental Association’s Motion to Dismiss for Improper

Venue,” their last pleading prior to the district court’s

decision on their motion, defendants make only 2 pass-

ing reference to the issne of personal jurisdiction, a

reference which appears to concede jurisdiction with

respect to plaintiff’s federal antitrust claims.’

It is only in their motion to have the district court’s

decision certified for interlocutory appeal, “Motion of

Defendants American Dental Association and Dr. Cap-

puceio to Amend Order Denying Motions to Dismiss in

Order to Certify for Appeal Pursnant to 28 U.S.C, © 1292

(b),” that defendants for the first time raise as a de-

fense lack of personal jurisdiction over ADA? Plain-

tiffs did not object, however, to this untimely injection

of the jurisdictional defense. The district court there-

after certified, and we granted leave to appeal, the

questions of venue and personal jurisdiction. At oral

argument we requested the parties to file supplemental

briefs addressing whether ADA waived its right to

raise the defense of lack of personal jurisdiction.

*In a section of the Memorandum stated “Venue Is

Not Proper Under Local Law” defendants observe,

“Plaintiff cannot even assert jurisdiction absent his fed-

eral claim.”

* Defendants attempted to anticipate objections to their

tardiness in raising the jurisdictional question by point-

ing out in their motion that “the question of venue is

interwoven with that of personal jurisdiction. . . . It

should be emphasized that the motions of ADA and

Dr. Cappuecio are for dismissal for improper venue

and lack of jurisdiction.” We reject as bootstrap their

representation that the motions pertaining to venue ex-

pressly or implicitly raised the issue of jurisdiction.

—~-lla

The starting point of our analysis is Fed.R.Civ.P.

12(g) & (h), quoted in the margin.t The aim of Rule 12

“is to afford an easy method for the presentation of

defenses but at the same time prevent their use for

purposes of delay.” 2A J. Lueas & J. Moore, Moore's

Federal Practice § 12.02. at 2225 (2d ed. 1982). To ef-

fectuate that goal, Rule 12(¢) requires a party who

raises a defense by motion prior to answer to raise

all such possible defenses in a single motion. They can-

not be raised in a second, pre-answer motion. Rule 12(h)

imposes a higher sanction with respect to the failure

to raise the specifie defenses of lack of personal juris-

diction, improper venue, insufficiency of process, and in-

sufficiency of service of process. If a party files a pre-

answer motion but fails to raise one of the defenses

enumerated above, the party waives the omitted de-

fense and cannot subsequently raise it in his answer

or otherwise. 2A J. Lucas & J. Moore, supra, § 12.23.

*Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(¢) & (h) provides in pertinent part:

(x) Consolidation of Defenses in Motion. A

marty who makes a motion under this rule may

join with it any other motions herein provided for

and then available to him. If a party makes a mo-

tion under this rule but omits therefrom any de-

fense or objection then available to him which this

rule permits to be raised by motion, he shall not

thereafter make’a motion based on the defense or

objection so omitted, except a motion as provided

in subdivision (h)(2) hereof on any of the grounds

there stated.

(h) Waiver or Preservation of Certain Defenses.

(1) A defense of lack of jurisdiction over the

person, improper venue, insufficiency of process, or

insufficiency of service of process is waived (A) if

omitted from a motion in the cireumstanees de-

seribed in subdivision (g), or (B) if it is neither

made by motion under this rule nor included in a

responsive pleading or an amendment thereof per-

mitted by Rule 15(a) to be made as a matter o!

course.

— 12a —

Defendants maintain that their second pleading, Mo-

tion to Strike Plaintiff’s Opposition to Defendants’ Mo-

tion and Accompanying Affidavits, or, In the Alternative,

Response in Support of American Dental Association’s

Motion to Dismiss for Improper Venue, “expressly

broadened [their] earlier motion to dismiss to include

lack of personal jurisdiction over ADA.” They argue

that the second pleading should be treated as amending

the initial motion to dismiss and conclude that Rule

12(g) was therefore not violated. Defendants point to

several cases which they represent as permitting such

amendments. Neifeld v. Steinberg, 488 F.2d 428 (3d

Cir. 1971); Sunrise Toyota, Ltd. vy. Toyota Motor Co.,

55 FLR.D. 519 (S.D.N.Y. 1972); Roller Derby Associates

v. Seltzer, 54 F.R.D. 556 (N.D.DL. 1972); Marlin vy. Lain

Ou & Gas Co., 36 F.Supp. 252 (1.D.11. 1941); iutual

Life Insurance Co. v. Egeline, 30 F.Supp. 738 (N.D.Cal.

1939).

Defendants’ contention regarding the state of the plead-

ings is erroneous. As noted above, defendants’ second

pleading docs not raise the question of lack of personal

jurisdiction over ADA with respect to plaintiff's federal

antitrust claims.’ Nor are the cases cited by defendants

helpful. All of them involved situations where a pre-an-

swer motion was amended or supplemented prior to ar-

gument before the district court. In the present case, in

contrast, the defense of personal jurisdiction was not

raised before the district court until a/fer arguinent and

after the court rendered its decision on the motion.

*In their supplemental brief, filed at this court’s re-

quest, defendants cite to the district court’s opinion ap-

pearing at 68 and 76-78 of the appendix as raising

the defense of lack of personal jurisdiction over ADA.

Those citations are unavailing. The first involves a plain

reference not to ADA but to the individual defendants;

the second incorporates a section in which defendants

concede that personal jurisdiction exists with respect to

plaintiff’s federal antitrust claim. See supra note 2.

— 13a —

Defendants also note that plaintiff joined the issue of

personal jurisdiction over ADA and did not raise the is-

sue of their waiver of the defense before the district

court. Defendants thereby argue, in effect, that plaintiff

waived his riznt to raise the issue of defendants’ waiver.

A similar situation was addressed in Pila v. G.R. Leas-

ing & Rental Corp., 551 F.2d 941 (1st Cir. 1977). In Pia,

the defendant failed to raise before the district court the

defense of insufficiency of service of process, which, like

the defense of lack of personal jurisdiction, is controlled

by the stringent waiver provision of Rule 12(h). On ap-

peal to the First Cireuit, the court concluded that under

Rule 12(¢) & (h) the failure to raise the defense below

was ‘‘a fundamental and incurable matter,’’ 551 F.2d at

943, and rejected the defendant’s argument that the ob-

jection to the waiver was itself waived because not raised

helow. Accord, Lockett v. General Finance Loan Co., 623

F.2d 1128, 1132 n. 5 (Sth Cir. 1980).

We believe that the course adopted by Judge Campbell

in Pila for defenses that are subject to 12(h) waiver is

the proper one. The federal rules single out four defenses

which must be raised by the defendant’s initial responsive

pleading in order to be preserved. Such a rule reflects a

strong policy against tardily raising defenses that go not

to the merits of the case but to the legal adequacy of the

initial steps taken by the plaintiff in his litigation, namely

his service of process on the defendant and his choice of

forum for the action. Unless the defendant objects on

those grounds at the outset, he forfeits his right later to

raise them as a defense. The rule benefits the court as

well as the opposing party by requiring a litigant to raise

certain technical objections. the basis of which should be

apparent from the ontset of the action, before the litiga-

tion has moved forward. Unlike the situation where a

court on its own raises a defense which Rule 12 requires

a party to raise in its initial responsive pleading, see

Zeison v. Thomforde, 412 F.2d 56 (3d Cir. 1969), it may

sometimes he appropriate for an appellate court to en-

force sua sponte the waiver provisions of Rule 12.

— l4a—

In the case at bar, ADA’s motion to dismiss proceeded

before the district court solely on the basis that venue

was improper. The defense of lack of personal jurisdic-

tion over ADA was raised only after the district court

had ruled on defendant’s motion to dismiss. Accordingly,

we hold that under Rule 12(g) & (h), notwithstanding

plaintiff’s failure to object in the district court, ADA by

its failure timely to include in its motion to dismiss an

objection to the court’s exercise of personal jurisdiction

over it has waived its right to challenge the district

court’s exercise of personal jurisdiction.

B.

Defendants did timely raise the defense of lack of per-

sonal jurisdiction over the individual defendants, includ-

ing Dr. Cappuccio, the sole individual defendant not dis-

missed from the case by the district court. Before this

court defendants renew their claim that personal jurisdie-

tion does not exist over Dr. Cappuccio. Reduced to its

essence, defendant’s argument is that the sole basis for

personal jurisdiction over Dr. Cappuccio was the service

of process on him during his transitory presence within

the forum, a basis which defendants argue is inadequate

under current Supreme Court decisions, Rush v. Savchuk,

444 U.S. 320, 100 S.Ct. 571, 62 L.1d.2d 516 (1980): World-

Wide Volkswagen Corp. v. Woodson, 444 U.S. 286, 100

S.Ct. 580, 62 L.1d.2d 490 (1980): Shaffer v. Meitner, 433

U.S. 186, 97 S.Ct. 2569, 53 L.Ed.2d 683 (1977); and Inter-

national Shoe Co. v. Washington, 326 U.S. 310, 66 S.Ct.

154, 90 L.Ed. 95 (1945). We find defendants’ argument un-

persuasive.

Regardless of whether, as defendants maintain, the

“power” theory of jurisdiction, which recognizes a state’s

power to affect the legal relations of property or persons

within its borders, is so discredited that the mere tran-

sient physical presence of a defendant within a jurisdie-

tion will not support a court’s exercise of personal juris-

diction over him. we have no diffieulty in coneluding that

Tha -

on the facts of this case the assertion of personal juris-

diction over Dro Cappuceio is fully consistent with the

“minimum contacts” standard as it has been defined by

the Supreme Court.” Dr. Cappuceio’s presence in- the

Virgin Islands at the time of service of process was not a

mere fortuity, Rather, according to plaintiff's second af-

fidavit, Dr. Cappueeio had for some eight years been an

ADA trustee for the Virgin Islands and as sueh regularly

participated in the annual ieetings of VIDA, At. these

meetings Dro Cappuccio endeavored to carry out ADA

poliey with VIDA. Furthermore, it is alleged that Dr,

Cappuccio came to the Virgin Islands to urge adoption

of the Code of Ethies which is at the center of the dispute

underlying this action, Having purposefully entered the

district to advance the interests of the ADA in the Vir-

gin Islands, Dr. Cappuecio rendered himself subject) to

the jurisdiction of the Virgin Islands’ courts at least with

respect to disputes related to his presence there, The

instant litigation is one such lawsuit. We therefore hold

that the district court inay assert personal jurisdiction

over Dr. Cappuceso, who, properly served, had intentional-

lv entered within its territory for the purpose of engag-

ing in an activity upon which the lawsuit is predicated,

HT,

Defendants also object that venue does not lie in

the District of the Virgin Islands. A private antitrust

plaintiff bringing federal antitrust claims has at his dis-

posal two statutory sources of venue, The general venus

statute, 28 U.S.C. § 1291(b), permits an action not based

on diversity of citizenship to be brought either in the

“We therefore need not decide whether International

Shoe Co. v. Washington, 326 U.S. 310, 66 S.Ct. 154, 90

L.Ed. 95 (1945), and its progeny would ever bar a state’s

exercise of jurisdiction over a transient defendant where

jurisdiction has been initiated by proper service of process

upon him in its territory and a reasonable opportunity

to be heard.

— 16a—

judicial district where all defendants reside, or in the

district in which the claim arose. In addition, Section 12

of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. § 22 provides that an ae-

tion against a corporation under the antitrust laws may

be brought ‘‘not only in the judicial district whereof it

is an inhabitant, but also in any district wherein it may

be found or transacts business.’’ We proceed to evaluate

plaintiff’s choice of venue with respect to his federal

claim under these two alternatives. We also evaluate

plaintiff’s choice of venue with respect to his Virgin

Islands anti-monopoly claim under the relevant insular

statute.

A.

The district court held that venue before it was ap-

propriate under 28 U.S.C. § 1391(b), concluding that

‘(t]he restraint of trade caused injury in the Virgin

Tslands and therefore the cause of action arose here.’’

The court also held that with respect to plaintiff’s claims

under Virgin Islands law, venue was appropriate un-

der the court’s Article I jurisdiction. Defendants argue

that laying venue in the Virgin Islands for p'aintiff’s

federal antitrust claim is precluded by the Supreme

Court’s decision in Leroy v. Great Western United Corp.,

443 U.S. 173, 99 S.Ct. 2710, 61 L.Ed.2d 464 (1979). We

agree that venue under section 1391(b) is barred.

The Court in Leroy examined the purposes of section

1391(b) and concluded that “[i]n most instances, the pur-

pose of statutorily specified venue is to protect the de-

fendant against the risk that a plaintiff wil! select an un-

fair or inconvenient place of trial.’’ Jd. at 183-84, 99 S.Ct.

at 2716-2717 (footnote omitted). It therefore rejected the

notion that Congress intended in providing for venue

‘fwhere the claim arose’’ to lay venue at the place of

plaintiff’s residence. Rather, as the Court noted, the

provision for venue where a claim arises was added to

close a “venue gap’’ that had sometimes existed when

a plaintiff sought to sue multiple defendants who did not

reside in the same district. At most, the court concluded,

17a

the broadest interpretation of the language of $1391

(b) that is even arguably acceptable is that in the

unusual case in which it is not clear that the claim

arose in only one specific district, a plaintiff may

choose between those two (or conceivably more) dis-

tricts that with approximately equal plausibility—in

terms of the availability of witnesses, the accessibili-

ty of other relevant evidence, and the convenience of

the defendant (but not of the plaintiff)—may be as-

signed as the locus of the claim.

Td. at 185, 99 S.Ct. at 2717 (footnote omitted). See also

Caribe Trailer Systems, Inc. vy, Puerto Rico Maritime

Shipping Authority, 475 F.Supp. 711, 719 (D.D.C.1979)

(“To hold that a cause of action necessarily arose in the

district in which the plaintiff was injured is a ‘simplistic

rationale to which antitrust actions are not suscept-

ible.’ ’’).

Tn the case at bar the district court erroneously con-

cluded that an antitrust claim, in essence a form of tort

alleging business injury, can be brought under section

1391(b) where the injury oceurs, ie. at the plaintiff’s

residence. Defendants’ affidavits establish that none of

its potential witnesses are located in the Virgin Tslands,

and that the deliberations that led up to adoption of the

Code did not take place there. Under Leroy, Chicago and

not the Virgin Islands is the proper situs for a venue

based on where the cause of action arose. We therefore

conclude that venue does not lie in the Virgin Islands by

virtue of 28 U.S.C. § 1391(b). Accordingly, becanse no

other statutory source of venue exists with respect to

the federal antitrust claims against Dr. Cappuecio, the

district court’s denial of defendants’ motion to dismiss

the complaint as to him for improper venue is reversed.

As to plaintiff’s Virgin Islands anti-monopoly claims,

however, his choice of venue with respect to his claim

against Dr. Cappuccio is sustainable. 4 V.I.C. § 78(a)

provides in relevant part ‘‘All civil actions shall be ini-

tiated in the judicial division where the defendant resides

— 18a —

or where the cause of action arose or where the defen-

dant may be served with process.’’ Thus, the Virgin Is-

lands general venue statute offers the plaintiff the option

of laying venue wherever the plaintiff is able to assert

jurisdiction with respect to his Virgin Islands anti-mo-

nopoly claim. We conclude that exercising its Article I

jurisdiction as a local court, the district court can hear

plaintiff’s local law claim against Dr. Cappuccio.

B.

The second statutory source of venue for federal anti-

trust actions is section 12 of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C.

§ 22. The district court, having found venue under sec-

tion 1391(b), did not discuss section 22 in its memoran-

dum opinion. Similarly, the parties on appeal did not

focus their attention on this section. In dissenting as to

this issue, Judge Garth believes it is improper for us

to decide whether section 22 provides an alternative basis

for venue in this case without remanding to the district

court for findings of fact. In this connection, he also as-

serts the burden of proof of venue is upon the plaintiff.

(1)

Preliminarily, we note that subject matter jurisdiction

is undisputed in this case, and we have concluded, see

supra p. 721, that the court has personal jurisdiction over

the American Dental Association. The venue issue, there-

fore, unlike the jurisdictional issue, is not whether the

court has authority to hear the case but simply where

the case may be tried. Because federal courts are courts

"In an effort to find some basis for imposing the bur-

den on the plaintiff to prove proper venue, the dissent

in this case atiempts to analogize venue with jurisdiction.

See conc. & diss. op. at 732. But the cases reiterate that

“{jjurisdiction and venue are not to be confused. The

former connotes the power to decide a case upon the

merits; the latter connotes locality—the place where the

suit should be heard.’’ Standard Stoker Co. vy. Lower, 46

F.2d 678, 683 (D.Md.1931). Stated in other terms, venue

age

of limited jurisdiction, a presumption arises that they are

without jurisdiction until the contrary affirmatively ap-

pears. TJ'anzymore v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., 457 F.2d

1320 (3d Cir. 1972); United States ex rel. Gittlemacker v.

Philadelphia County, 413 F.2d 84 (3d Cir. 1969), cert. de-

nied, 396 U.S. 1046, 90 S.Ct. 696, 24 L.Ed.2d 691 (1970).

By contrast, a motion to dismiss for improper venue is

not an attack on jurisdiction but only an affirmative dila-

tory defense. Because of the nature of the motion, ‘‘it

is not necessary [as contrasted with jurisdiction] for the

plaintiff to include allegations showing the venue to be

proper.’ Fed.R.Civ.P. Form 2, Advisory Committee note

3. It logically follows therefore that on a motion for dis-

missal for improper venue under Rule 12 the movant has

the burden of proving the affirmative defense asserted by

it. United Rubber, Cork, Linoleum & Plastic Workers v.

Lee Rubber & Tire Corp., 269 F.Supp. 708, 715 (D.N.J.

1967), aff’d, 394 F.2d 362 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 393 U.S.

835, 89 $.Ct. 108, 21 L.Ed.2d 105 (1968).* In dissenting,

* (Continued)

concerns not the authority of the court to hear and ad-

judicate the case but relates to the convenience of the liti-

gants, Panhandle Eastern Pipe Line Co. v. Federal Power

Commission, 324 U.S. 635, 639, 65 S.Ct. 821, 823, 89 L.Ed.

1241 (1945), and to the proper place where the power to

adjudicate may be exercised. See United States ex rel.

Rudick vy. Laird, 412 F.2d 16, 20 (2d Cir.),cert. denied,

396 U.S. 918, 90 S.Ct. 244, 24 L.Ed.2d 197 (1969); Farm-

ers Elevator Mutual Insurance Co. v. Austad & Sons, Inc.,

343 F.2d 7, 11 (8thCir.1965). See generally C, Wright

Handbook of the Law of Federal Courts § 42, at 149 (2d

ed. 1970). As Judge Craven has noted, “The distinction

between jurisdiction and venue is of hornbook importance

and cannot be overemphasized.’’ Wheatley v. Phillips,

228 F.Supp. 439, 440 (W.D.N.C.1964). Any attempt,

therefore, to shift the burden of proof to the plaintiff

on this basis is without merit or authority.

* See also United States v. Orshek, 164 F.2d 741, 742

(8th Cir. 1947) ; United States v. Aetna Casualty & Surety

Co., 38 F.R.D. 418, 421 (N.D. Cal.1965) ; Goldberg v. Wharf

Constructors, 209 F.Supp. 499, 505 (N.D.Ala.1962).

— 20a —

Judge Garth asserts, however, that when a venue objec-

tion is raised by the defendant, the plaintiff has the bur-

den to establish proper venue. Although he cites cases

to support this view, these cases confuse jurisdiction with

venue or offer no reasons to support their position. Aro

Manufacturing Co. v. Automobile Body Research Corp.,

352 F.2d 400 (Ist Cir. 1965), cert. denied, 383 U.S. 947,

86 S.Ct. 1199, 16 L.Ed.2d 210 (1966), relied on in the dis-

sent, is a case involving territorial jurisdiction and not

venue.” Cases that hold the burden of establishing venue

is upon the plaintiff reach this result without distinguish-

ing between jurisdiction and venue.'’ We agree with Pro-

fessor Moore that this view is “unsound’’ and the defen-

* Likewise, Bartholomew vy. Virginia Chiropractic Ass'n,

612 F.2d 812 (4th Cir.1979), cert. denied, 446 U.S. 938,

100 S.Ct. 2158, 64 L.Ed.2d 791 (1980), cited by the dis-

sent, also relies, although indirectly, on Aro. Grappone,

Inc. v. Subaru of America, Inc., 403 F.Supp. 123 (D.N.

H.1975), directly relies on Aro, the jurisdiction case.

“There is no doubt that when a defendant’s motion to

dismiss raises a question concerning the court’s power

to entertain the action (i.e., jurisdiction), the burden of

proof with respect to that issue falls on the plaintiff.

See, e.g., McNutt v. General Motors Acceptance Corp.,

298 U.S. 178, 189, 56 S.Ct. 780, 785, 80 L.Ed. 1135 (1936)

(jurisdictional amount); Adams vy. American Bar Asso-

ciation, 400 F.Supp. 219, 222 (B.D.Pa.1975) (service of

process). But with those dilatory defenses that do not

concern the court’s authority to adjudicate, the defen-

dant bears the burden of proof. This is true with respect

to motions to dismiss for forum non conveniens, sce Aig-

ner v. Bell Helicopters, Inc., 86 F.R.D. 532, 548 (N.D.IIIL

1980); failure to join an indispensable party, see Meyer-

ding v. Villaume, 20 F.R.D. 151, 153 (D.Minn, 1957);

failure to exhaust remedies, see Dorn v. Meyers Park-

ing System, 395 F.Supp. 779, 786 (F.D.Pa.1975); and

failure to state a claim, see Canty v. City of Richmond,

Virginia, Police Department, 383 F.Supp. 1396, 1402 (E.D.

Va. 1974), aff’d, 526 F.2d 587 (4th Cir. 1975), cert. dented,

423 U.S. 1062, 96 S.Ct. 802, 46 L.Ed.2d 654 (1976).

— 2la —

dant should ordinarily bear the burden of showing im-

proper venue in connection with a motion to dismiss. See

1 J. Moore, Moore’s Federal Practice §0.140[1), at 1319-20

(2d ed.1982).""

The special antitrust venue statute, 15 U.S.C. 4 22, pro-

vides that in an action against a corporation under the

antitrust laws, venue will lie, inter alia, in any «district

where a corporation ‘‘transacts business’’ or “may be

found.’’** The motion to dismiss for improper venue was

" Judge Garth, citing to 15 C. Wright, A. Miller & E.

Cooper, Federal Practice and Procedure 4 3826 (1976),

urges that the “better view’’ is that ‘‘in venue, as in

jurisdiction, the plaintiff must bear the burden of proving

proper venue.’’ Cone. & Diss. op. at 733. The ‘better

view”’ referred to in Wright, Miller & Cooper, however,

is a quotation from a district court opinion, Ryan v.

Glenn, 52 F.R.D. 185, 192 (N.D.Miss.1971), and that opin-

ion, like other cases relied on by the dissent, offers no

reasons to support its view.

15 U.S.C. 4 22 provides in pertinent part: ‘‘Any suit,

action, or proceeding under the antitrust laws against a

corporation may be brought not only in the judicial dis-

trict whereof it is an inhabitant, but also in any district

wherein it may be found or transacts business... .”’

ADA is neither an inhabitant of, nor is found in, the

Virgin Islands. A corporation is an inhabitant of its state

of incorporation, in this case Illinois. Amateur-Wholesale

Elecs. v. R.L. Drake Co., 515 F.Supp. 580, 583 (S.D.Fla.

1981). And to be found in a district, a corporation must

by the carrying on of business by its officers or agents be

present there in a continuous and systematic way. Grap-

pone, Inc. v. Subaru of America, Ine., 403 F.Supp. 123,

128 (D.N.1H.1975). ADA’s activities in the Virgin Islands

do not rise to this level. To be “found’’ within the juris-

diction requires more contact than to transact business.

Stern Fish Co. v. Century Seafoods, Inc., 254 F.Supp.

151 (B.D.Pa.1966); Amateuwr-Wholesale Elecs. v. RU,

Drake Co., 515 F.Supp. 580 (S.D.Fla.1981). The ‘trans-

acts business’? term in the venue provision of the Clay-

i si be a

— pan

predicated on both this section and on section 1391(b).”

Judge Garth asserts that both in the district court and

on appeal the plaintiff resisted this challenge to venue

in the Virgin Islands on the basis of section 1391(b)

and that language of section 22 relating to being “found”

in the Virgin Islands but not on the basis that ADA

“transacts business” in the Virgin Islands. There is no

doubt, however, that all of section 22 was brought to

the attention of the district court. Defendant’s reply

memorandum, in support of its motion in the distriet

court to dismiss for improper venue, specifically noted

that “[tjhe primary statute governing venue in federal

antitrust matters” is 15 U.S.C. § 22. Defendant devoted

considerable attention in its written brief to the distriet

court to an analysis of the faets and law in) support

of its contention ‘‘that ADA does not transact business

in the Virgin Islands.” Although the distriet court con-

cluded erroneously that venue was proper under section

I391(b), and Myers naturally focused on vindicating the

district court’s view on appeal, we are not precluded

from affirming the order of the district court if it has

* (Continued)

ton Act has a much broader meaning than the “doing

business’’ language of the general venue statute. Sherman

College vy. Amerwan Chiropractors Ass’n, 534 F.Supp.

438, 440 (N.D.Ga.1982).

We note in passing that ADA, in its motion to dismiss,

did not object to service of process on the basis that it

violated 15 U.S.C. § 22 for failure to serve in Chicago

or wherever ADA ‘‘may be found.’’

‘In its memorandum opinion dismissing the ADA’s

venue motion, the district court stated: “The ADA and

VIDA contend that venue cannot lie in the Virgin Islands

in the case at bar. They base their assertions on 15

U.S.C. § 22 and 28 U.S.C. § 1391(b).” (Footnotes

omitted. )

— 23a

reached the right result, although for a wrong reason.”*

Because the burden is upon the movant (and not, as the

dissent repeatedly urges, upon the plaintiff) to show

that venue is improper under any permissible theory,

we must consider whether the district court’s decision

in plaintiff's favor may be affirmed on the ground that

the ADA transacted business in the Virgin Islands.

(2)

The Supreme Court first construed the phrase “trans-

acts business” of 15 U.S.C. 4 22 in Rastman Kodak Co.

v. Southern Photo Materials Co., 273 U.S. 359, 47 S.Ct.

400, 71 Lied. GS4 (1927). As the Court noted, the purpose

of the statute was to expand the fora in which venue

would lie for antitrust actions by providing for venue

not only in those jurisdictions where the corporation’s

continuous presence would support a conclusion that it

was “found” there, but also in those districts where

“in fact, in the ordinary and usual sense, it ‘transacts

business’ therein of any substantial character.” Jd. at 373,

47 S.Ct. at 403. This construction, the Court observed

in United States vy. Scophony Corp. of America, 333

U.S. 795, 68 S.Ct. $55, 92 Lied. 1091 (1948), “gave the

**In the review of judicial proceedings the rule is

settled that if the decision below is correct, it must be

affirmed, although the lower court relied upon a wrong

ground or gave a wrong reason.” Helvering v. Gowran,

302 U.S. 238, 245, 58 S.Ct. 154, 157, 82 L.Ed. 224 (1937).

See also Bernitsky v. United States, 620 F.2d 948, 950

(3d Cir.) (“[1]t is well established that we are free to

affirm the judgment of the district court on any basis

which finds sufficient support in the record.’’), cert. denied,

449 U.S. 870, 101 S.Ct. 208, 66 L.Ed.2d 90 (1980); PAAC

v. Rizzo, 502 F.2d 306, 308 n. 1 (3d Cir. 1974), cert.

denied, 419 U.S. 1108, 95 S.Ct. 780, 42 L.Ed.2d 804 (1975).

—

words ‘transacts business’ a much broader meaning for

establishing venue than the concept of ‘carrying on busi-

ness’ denoted by ‘found’ under the preexisting statute

and decisions.’’ Jd. at 807, 68 S.Ct. at 861.

Eastman Kodak and Scophony were decided in the

context of suits against ongoing businesses organized for

profit. The instant litigation, however, involves a suit

against a not-for-profit professional membership organi-

zation. We must therefore decide under what cireum-

stances such an organization may be said to “transact

business” so as to render it subject to the venue provi-

sior of the Clayton Act. Professional associations are

commonly devoted to the advancement and enforcement

of standards of conduct and competence for their mem-

bers. Common sense suggests that such an organization

is transacting business when it engages in activities on

a significant scale which further the association’s pur-

poses and objectives. In particular, when a_ national

professional organization, such as the American Dental

Association, polices the qualifications of inembers resid-

ing in a judicial district, or sets standards which it

attempts to enforce that directly pertain to the dental

practice of its members and the treatinent of their pa-

tients, the organization’s activities should provide a basis

for venue in the district in which they oceur.

A number of courts have grappled with the appliea-

bility of the “transacts business’? component of 15

U.S.C. § 22 to various membership organizations. The

decisions have not been uniform in approach or result.

**Compare Levin v. Joint Comm. on Accreditation of

Hlosps., 354 F.2d 515 (D.C. Cir. 1965); Courtesy Chev-

rolet, Inc. v. Tennessee Walking Horse Ass’n, 344 F.2d

860 (9th Cir. 1965); Sherman College of Straight Chiro-

practic v. American Chiropractic Ass’n, 534 F.Supp. 438

— Ba—

Nonetheless, a review of the decisions reveals that a num-

ber of courts have found venue to he proper on the

basis of conduct by the organization intended to imple-

ment its professional objectives. For exainple, in Bogus

v. American Speech & Hearing Association, 389 F.Supp.

327 (2.D. Pa. 1975), rev'd on other grounds, 582 F.2d

277 (3d Cir. 1978), the court held that the defendant

association transacted business in the district by virtue

of its practice of accrediting its members for practice,

its evaluation of acadeim/‘e and clinical service programs,

and its holding of accreditation workshops.

The workshops, certification, and accreditation are

the means hy which defendant attempts to fulfill its

*® (Continued)

(N.D. Ga. 1982); Health Care Equalization Comm, v.

Iowa Medical Soc’y, 501 F.Supp. 970 (8.D. Lowa 1980) ;

Bartholomew vy. Virginia Chiropractors Ass’n, 451 F.

Supp. 624 (W.D. Va. 1978), rev’d, 612 F.2d 812 (4th

Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 446 U.S. 938, 100 S.Ct. 2158, 64

L.Ed.2d 791 (1980); Bogus v. American Speech & Hear-

ing Ass’n, 389 F.Supp. 327 (1.D. Pa. 1975), rev’d on

other grounds, 582 ¥.2d 277 (3d Cir. 1978) (membership

organizations held to be transacting business within dis-

trict sufficiently to support venue under 15 U.S.C. § 22),

with Bartholomew vy. Virgina Chiropractors Ass’n, 612

F.2d 812 (4th Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 446 U.S. 938, 100

S.Ct. 2158, 64 L.Ed.2d 791 (1980); ef. Golf City, Ine. v.

Wilson Sporting Goods Co., 555 ¥'.2d 426 (5th Cir. 1977) ;

Academy of Ambulatory Foot Surgery v. American

Podiatry Ass'n, 516 F.Supp. 378 (S.D.N.Y. 1981);

Friends of Animals, Inc. v. American Veterinary Medical

Ass’n, 310 F.Supp. 620 (S.D.N.Y. 1970); Wentling v.

Popular Science Publishing Co., 176 F.Supp. 652 (M.D.

Pa. 1959); Elizabeth Hospital, Inc. v. Richardson, 167

F.Supp. 155 (W.D. Ark. 1958) aff’d, 269 F.2d 167 (8th

Cir.), cert. denied, 361 U.S. 884, 80 S.Ct. 155, 4 I,.Ed.2d

120 (1959); Midwest Fur Producers Ass'n v. Mutation

Mink Breeders Ass'n, 102 F.Supp. 649 (D.Minn. 1951)

(membership organizations held not to be transacting

business under 15 U.S.C. § 22).

— 26a —

goal of maintaining high standards for professionals

providing speech and hearing services and are

sufficient to mect the venue requirement that defen-

dant “transacts business” in this District.

Id. at 330 (footnote omitted). The court reached its con-

clusion notwithstanding that the defendant had repre-

sented that only 1.4% of its current membership resided

in the district, and only one representative of any of its

accreditation units had been in the district in the last

four years. Id, at 329.

Similarly, in Levin yv. Joint Commission on Accredita-

tion of Hospitals, 354 F.2d 515 (D.C. Cir. 1965), the

court of appeals reversed the district court’s dismissal

for improper venue. The court concluded that whether

the Joint Commission transacted business in the District

of Columbia was not to be determined by a comparison

of the volume of its activities in one place with its total

operations—“considerably less than one percent of the

Joint Commission’s total activities” took place in the

District of Columbia—but upon whether the Commis-

sion’s field inspection of hospitals in the district furth-

ered its objective of establishing and enforcing standards

for hospital operation. See also Courtesy Chevrolet, Ine.

v. Tennessee Walking Horse Association, 344 F.2d 860,

865 (9th Cir. 1965) (activity of the association’s repre-

sentatives in implementing in California licensing stan-

dards that were established in Tennessee for the raising

of horses contributed to a finding that the defendant

association transacted business so as to be subject to suit

in California); Sherman College of Straight Chiropractic

v. American Chiropractic Association, 534 Supp. 4388

(N.D. Ga. 1982) (sponsorship of three or four seminars

over a five-year period to fulfill goal of maintaining

high standards for professionals constitutes transacting

business under 15 U.S.C. § 22),"°

‘Not all courts have embraced this analysis. See, ¢.g.,

Bartholomew v. Virginia Chiropractors Ass’n, 612 F.2d

812 (4th Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 446 U.S. 938, 100 S.Ct.

as Ya a

Conversely, some of the cases in’ which membership

organizations were held not to be transacting business

in the district in which their members resided emphasize

that the defendant organizations exercised little or no

control over the activity of their members in the forum

district. Thus in Midwest Fur Producers Association

v. Mutation Mink Breeders Association, 102) F.Supp.

649 (D.Minn. 1951), the activity of the trade association

sued by plaintiff was primarily limited to contracting

with magazines of national circulation to place advertise-

ments and to contracting to sell members’ products for

a set commission. All of the association’s activity was

conducted outside of the forum state, the sole connection

with it being the benefits that acerued to the members.

And in Friends of Animals, Inc. v. American Veterinary

Medical Association, 310 F.Supp. 620 (S.D.N.Y. 1970),

the court refused to aseribe to a national association

the membership activities of a constituent local society in

determining whether the national transacted business in

the district where members of the loeal society were not

* (Continued)

2158, 64 L.Bd.2d 791 (1980); Academy of Ambulatory Foot

Surgery v. American Podiatry Ass'n, 516 F.Supp. 378

(S.D.N.Y. 1981). To the extent that they are not factually

distinguishable froin the ease at bar we find these latter

decisions unpersuasive. Both evaluate the activity of

membership organizations inter alia by reference to the

amount of commercial activity engaged in by the organi-

zations, and by comparing the relative number of mem-

bers within the district to the organization’s total mem-

bership. Whether a professional membership organization

is transacting business in a district should be determined

with reference to its purposes—ineluding the assurance

of professional standards of conduct—and not by refer-

ence to commercial standards. And this court has in

another context highlighted the fallacy of using a ratio

test to evaluate the substantiality of a national corpora-

tion’s activity in a particular district. See Hendrickson

v. Req O Co., G57 F.2d 9, 12-13 (8d Cir, 1981).

_

required to be members of the national and the local

society was not required by the national to adopt par-

ticular bylaws. The activities of the national itself in the

district were found to be so insubstantial as not to render

it amenable to suit there.

In the face of a Congressional statute that has ex-

panded the veuue provisions under the antitrust laws,

the dissent has laboriously endeavored to construct a

theory that would inexplicably undo Congress's liberal-

izing intentions by narrowly construing the “transacts

business” language of the statute. Judge Garth asserts

that in the not-for-profit associational context, the cases

that have held the association transacted business within

the meaning of section 22 did so on the basis of facts

“which established a continuing licensing, accreditation

or qualitative evaluation function on the part of the

Association.” Cone. & diss. op, at 740) (emphasis in

original). We beleve such a standard is neither soundly

conceived nor necessarily supported by an objective read-

ing of the cases. We fail to see why the statutory phrase

“transacts business” would restriet venue over non-profit

corporate businesses to the performance of a “licensing,

accreditation or qualitative evaluation function.” It is

true that in some cases where venue was held to be

proper, the defendant association has been involved in

accreditation or evaluation. See, ¢.g., Levin v. Joint Com-

mission on Acereditation of Hospitals, supra, 354 V.2d

at 517. But we are not convinced that aetivities of this

nature are a prerequisite to a finding that the association

transacts business. Indeed, in the Levin ease, supra, the

court’s decision that venue was proper in the Distriet

of Columbia did not turn on the specifie nature of the

Commission’s business (i.¢., accreditation). The relevant

factor was that the field inspections performed in the

district were “an essential aspect” of the Commission's

business and furthered its purposes. /d. at 517. Likewise,

in Courtesy Chevrolet, supra, relied on by the dissent,

the court’s decision was not predicated upon the regis-

— 29a —

tration activity of the Tennessee Walking Horse Asso-

ciation, but upon whether the totality of acts gave evi-

dence of activity in the district implementing “an essen-

tial objective of the Association.” 344 F.2d at 865.

Health Care Equalization Committee of the Towa

Chiropractic Society vy. Iowa Medical Society, 501 F.

Supp. 970 (S.D.lowa 1980), is also cited by the dissent

to support its theory. But we believe this ease actually

supports the majority’s construction of section 22. In

Health Care Equatization Committee, the court held that

venue in Towa was proper under 15 U.S.C. § 22 as to

defendant, American Medical Association, even though

the court found that AMA itself was not involved in

acereditation or evaluation. The court’s view was that

various activities of the AMA’s Committee on Quackery

in the forum state constituted the transacting of busi-

ness of “substantial character” within the district in the

“ordinary and usual sense. The nature of the contacts,

their direct reallionship to plaintiff's cause of action, and

the facet that it is alleged the AMA made the practice

of chiropractic a target, made it reasonable to subject

the AMA to suit here” by the Chiropractic Society. 7d. at

983 (citations omitted),

Thus, these cases do not support the theory that an

Association “transacts business” only when engaged in

“a continuing licensing, acened'tation, or qualitative eval-

uation function.” Cone. & diss. op. at 740 (emphasis in

original). On the contrary, these eases reflect a common

sense construction of the phrase “transacts business”

predicated upon an enalysis of the “essential objective”

of the association and the occurrence of business activity

in furtherance of that objeetive."

"In such a construction we are reminded that the

hrase “is not to be given a technical or legalistic mean-

ing.” Stern Fish Co. v. Century Seafoods, Inc., 254 F.

Supp. 151, 153 (E.D.Pa. 1966).

=

Judge Garth’s theory of “transacting business” not

only narrows Congress’ expansive policy for venue in

antitrust cases, but would render the proceedings judici-

ally inefficient and costly to the parties. He would deny

a readily available forum to an aggrieved citizen of the

Virgin Islands in a court that clearly has jurisdiction

over the parties and the subject matter. The plaintiff,

on basically the same operative facts, would be compelled

to proceed on his local anti-monopoly claims in the Virgin

[slands and on his federal claims separately in Illinois,

a district far removed from the place of ADA’s legis-

lative target—certain dentists practicing in the Virgin

Islands. This is a case touching on the livelihood of the

dentists in the Virgin Islands where the plaintiff is not

engaged in forum shopping. There is no sound reason,

when the local court has jurisd’ction over the parties

and the subject matier, to split the trial proceedings

into two and try one in a distant point on the mainland

where the local community can learn of it only by report.

“There is a local interest in having localized controversies

decided at home.” Gulf Oil Corp. ve Gilbert, 220 USS. 501,

509, 67 S.Ct. $39, 842, 91 Ld. 1055 (1946).

The dissent also urges that “[i]n the section 22 eon-

text, ... the district court’s failure to furnish findings

or reasons is fatal.” Cone. and diss. op. at 728 (footnote

oinitted). I’or the proposition, it cites to /7'C v. British

Oxygen Co., 529 F.2d 196, 200 (3d Cir. 1976) (en bane).

British Oxygen, however, involved an application for an

interlocutory injunction where Med.R.Civ.P. 52(a) speeifi-

‘*Of the other cases cited in the dissent, three involved

trial by the court on the merits without a jury. United

States v. Ohio Barge Lines, Inc., 607 V.2d 624 (3d Cir.

1979); Pepi, Inc. v. Helcar Corp., 458 ¥'.2d 1062 (3d Cir.

1972); O’Neill vy. United States, 411 F.2d 139 (3d Cir.

1969). A fourth, Kreda y. Rush, 550 F.2d 888 (3d Cir.

1977), involved a motion to disqualify counsel for conflict

of interest. None of the cases involved a motion to dis-

miss for improper venue under Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b).

— dla --

cally requires the trial court to set forth the findings

of fact and conclusions of law constituting the grounds

of its action. Rule 52(a), however, also provides that

these requirements “are unnecessary on decisions of

motions under Rules 12 or 56.” Rule 12(b)(3) involves

motions raising the defense of improper venue. There-

fore, findings of fact are not required in this situation.

See Mitchell y. Occidental Insurance, Medicare, 619 F.2d

28, 30 (9th Cir. 1980); Bus. Semel Associates, Inc. v.

United Fireworks Manufacturing Co., 355 F.2d 827, 830

n. 3 (D.C.Cir. 1965)..." Thus, the suggestion of Judge

" Although the dissent acknowledges that it can find

no case to support its position that the district court

must find facts or discuss its reasons for its choice of

section 22 venue, it suggests that “in analogous circum-

stances this court has uniformly imposed such a require-

ment so that appellate review would be possible.” At

736. | disagree, First, unlike the cases to which he refers,

Judge Garth recognizes that there is no “factual con-

troversy” here about the facts relevant to venue. ADA

itself provided detailed affidavits describing its activities

in the forum and did not dispute the affidavits Myers

offered. Second, the administrative agency cases to which

Judge Garth points, unlike the procedural dispute now

before us, were resolved on the merits by the agencies

involved. Iurthermore, in administrative agency cases

we must, under our scope of appellate review, ascertain

whether substantial evidence supports the agency’s find-

ings, Cotter v. Harris, 642 F.2d 700 (8d Cir. 1981) or,

with respect to certain agencies, whether the agency’s

review board has discharged its obligation to determine

whether the administrative law judge’s initial decision

was supported by substantial evidence, Sun Shipbuilding

& Dry Dock Co. v. McCabe, 593 ¥.2d 234 (8d Cir. 1979).

With respect to disability matters, we have noted that

both the Administrative Procedure Act governing adimin-

istrative adjudication generally and regulations appli-

cable to decisions of ALJ’s in disability matters “require

that the administrative law judge specify the reasons

or basis for the decision.” Cotter v. Harris, supra, 642

F.2d at 705.

—_

Garth that “at the very least, a remand to the district

court to correct this fault, is essential,” conc. & diss. op.

* (Continued)

The dissent also points to cases dismissed under Rule

37 or settled and dismissed under Rule 23 of the Federal

Rules of Civil Procedure. These cases also involve a final

determination of the disputes and not a purely procedural

issue as we have here. For instance, in Quality Prefabri-

cation, Inc. v. Daniel J. Keating Co., 675 ¥.2d 77, 81

(3d Cir. 1982), we required some articulation on the

record of the bases for the district court’s decision to

dismiss a complaint with prejudice under Fed.R.Civ.P.

37(b) for failure to provide discovery. It was the severity

of the “ultimate sanction” of a dismissal with prejudice

that led us to require a statement of reasons. Similarly,

we have required such an explanation when a district

court approves a class action settlement and dismisses

the complaint, see Bryan vy. Pittsburgh Plate Glass Co.,

494 F.2d 799, 804 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 900,

95 S.Ct. 184, 42 L.fed.2d 146 (1974). In these cases, a

statement of reasons was deemed essential to permit us

to review a final order denying the plaintiff his day in

court. By contrast, the instant case involves an inter-

locutory appeal denying a motion to dismiss for improper

venue and the effect of this decision is hardly of the same

consequence.

The dissent also discusses Interspace Corp. v. City of

Philadelphia, 438 F.2d 401, 404 (3d Cir. 1971), but glosses

over the precise holding of that case: that a statement

of reasons is not required when a district court rules

on a motion for class certification under Rule 23. Simi-

larly, in Plum Tree, Inc. v. Stockment, 488 F.2d 754, 756

(3d Cir. 1973), involving a motion under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1404(a) for transfer of venue, although we advised

that “it would be helpful” if the district court provided

a statement of explanation, we declined to require such

a statement. Furthermore, in Plum Tree, venue was pos-

sible in either of two jurisdictions, and a statement of rea-

sons was helpful in reviewing the decision to transfer

“wed ease to the alternate forum. No transfer is involved

ere.

== $8 .

at 738, is without foundation. Not only does the Rule not

require a remand, but no purpose would be served by

so doing when, as here, the facets are in affidavit form

and there is no controversy concerning the facets appli-

cable to section 22.*°

(3)

Against this background, we conclude that although

the record before us is sparse, it supports the conelusion

that the activity undertaken by ADA to bring about

acceptance of and compliance with its professional code

of eth'es in the Virgin Islands constitutes the transaction

of business of sufficiently substantial character to support

the plaintiff's choice of venue there. Plaintiff's affidavits

establish that certain officers of ADA eame to the Virgin

Islands to attend the business meeting of VIDA, among

*” (Continued)

Finally, Allis Chalmers Corp. v. Philadelphia Electric

Co., 521 F.2d 360 (3d Cir. 1975), cited by the dissent,

involves the court’s appellate jurisdiction. We required

reasons for a district court’s Rule 54(b) certification in

order to ascertain whether the appeal before us was

from a final or interlocutory order and thus whether

we had jurisdiction. We considered that a statement of

reasons was vital for a jurisdictional determination. Here,

we have no question of jurisdiction.

* Judge Garth would require “an extensive factual

basis” for the venue determination. Cone. & diss. op. at

742. No authority is offered for such a position. Rather,

courts have stated that “only one act may be enough

to fulfill the venue requirements of the statute.” Courtesy

Chevrolet, Inc. v. Tennessee Walking Horse Ass'n, 344

F.2d 860, 865 (9th Cir. 1965). See Golf City, Ine. v. Wil-

son Sporting Goods Co., 555 F.2d 426, 437 (5th Cir.

1977) (“Certainly the conducting of a golf tournament

by a corporation in a particular judicial district would

constitute the transaction of business in that district

within the meaning of the Clayton Act.”) (dictum). The

extensiveness of the factual record is unimportant if the

substantial character of the transaction is established.

—- 34a —

other reasons, to ensure that VIDA adopted ADA’s newly

promulgated Code of Professional Conduct. Moreover,

as noted above plaintiff-affiant has averred that as ADA

trustee of the Virgin Islands and Puerto Rico, Dr.

Cappuecio regularly participated in VIDA’s annual meet-

ings for eight consecutive years to ensure that VIDA

took no action inconsistent with ADA policy. The main-

tenance of high professional standards within the dental

profession by adopting and enforeing a code of conduct

is at the heart of the type of business transacted by

this professional membership organization. Plaintiff

claims that the damaging impact of this objective was

directly felt in the Virgin Islands and was visited upon

him personally there. The plaintiff was a direct target

of ADA’s Code of Conduct. These allegations are un-

disputed. We therefore hold that ADA’s direet, con-

tinual supervision in the Virgin Islands of VIDA to

ensure enforcement of ADA’s professional Code made it

reasonable to subject ADA to plaintiff's choice of venue

in the District of the Virgin Islands with respect to

plaintiff's federal antitrust claim. We also hold that, as

with Dr. Cappuecio, plaintiff's choice of venue is proper

with respect to his Virgin Islands anti-monopoly elaim

against ADA,

IV.

In summary, the order of the district court denying

defendants’ motion to dismiss the complaint as to Dr.

Cappuecio will be reversed as to the federal antitrust

claim and will be affirmed as to the Virgin Islands anti-

monopoly claim. The order will be affirmed as to the

district court’s denial of the motion to dismiss ADA as

a defendant for improper venue. The case will be re-

manded to the district court for further proceedings

not inconsistent with this opinion.

GARTH, Circuit Judge, concurring and dissenting.

Tf it were not for the Majority’s holding that Myers

had properly placed venue in the Virgin Islands pur-

— 35a —

suant to 15 U.S.C § 22) because the ADA “transacted

business” in that locale, I would have joined the Ma-

jority opinion which among other things rejects section

1391(b) venue and holds that personal jurisdiction was

obtained over the two defendants.

I cannot agree, however, with the Majority’s strained

attempt to find venue with respect to the ADA on the

basis of 15 U.S.C. § 22, That holding distorts the en-

tire focus of the ADA’s appeal, which disclaimed venue

under section 22 as well as under section 1391(b), but

which concentrated on the section 1391(b) argument, be-

cause Myers’ entire emphasis and the district court’s em-

phasis was on section 1391(b) venue. Indeed, before us

on appeal, no one urged or even mentioned section 22

venue.

In such a setting it is understandable that the Ma-

jority ignored the absence of faet findings or reasoned

articulation by the district court. Obviously, because no

one ever claimed section 22 venue, the district court had

no occasion to make the findings of fact or to furnish

reasons which would be crucial for a determination of

whether the ADA “transacted business” in the Virgin

Islands. Accordingly, the Majority was without benefit

of district court findings or the reasons which could

support the distriet court’s conclusions, both of which are

essential for appellate review. Despite this lack no re-

mand was ordered to cure this deficiency. Rather, the

Majority has seen fit to make its own findings as an

initial fact finder. It has done so, in order to support

an unwarranted conclusion—that venue lies in the Vir-

*15 U.S.C § 22 provides that:

Any suit, action, or proceeding under the anti-

trust laws against a corporation may be brought

not only in the judicial district whereof it is an in-

habitant, but also in any district wherein it may be

found or transacts business; and all process in such

cases may be served in the district of which it is an

inhabitant, or wherever it may be found.

~~ 36a —

gin Islands because the ADA transacted business there

within the meaning of 15 U.S.C § 22. Thus, while in my

opinion, the record developed by plaintiff is so inade-

quate that an outright reversal is called for, at the very

least, the failure of the district court to find faets or

identify its reasons pertaining to “transacting business”,

requires us to remand for that purpose.

Of even greater significance, the Majority holds that

the ADA, the defendant, had the burden of proving that

it had not “transacted business” in the Virgin Islands,

when as a matter of law it was the plaintiff who was

charged with the burden of proving venue and who

failed to carry his burden. Additionally, | suggest that

the Majority has employed an incorrect standard in de-

fining “transacting business” within the meaning of 15

U.S.C. § 22.

For all these reasons, | dissent.

5.

When a plaintiff seeks to assert his rights in a federal

court, as Myers has done in this case, he must prove

that that court, and not another court in a different lo-

cality or in a state system, has the authority to hear

the case. KVOS, Ine, v. Associated Press, 299 U.S, 269,

57 S.Ct. 197, 81 L.Ed. 183 (1936); ARO Manufacturing

Co. v. Automobile Body Research Corp., 352 V.2d 400,

403 (Ist Cir. 1965), cert. denied, 383 U.S. 947, 86 S.Ct.

1199, 16 L.Ed.2d 210 (1966). A plaintiff therefore is re-

quired to include a statement of jurisdiction in his com-

plaint. Fed.R.Civ.P.Rule 8(a)(1). Venue, however, is not,

strictly speaking, a matter of jurisdiction, and a plain-

tiff is therefore not required to include allegations es-

tablishing proper venue. Fed.R.Civ.P. Form 2, Advisory

Committee, note 3 (improper venue is an affirmative

dilatory defense, therefore plaintiff need not include al-

legations showing the venue to be proper). Since venue

is a privilege personal to the defendant, the defendant

must object if he thinks venue improper.

— 37a -—

However, unlike affirmative exculpatory defenses,

which touch the merits of the cause of action and which

the defendant must prove, it does not follow that the

defendant also has the burden of proving improper ven-

ue, which is an affirmative dilatory defense. While there

exists some authority for the proposition that the bur-

den is on the objecting defendant to establish that venue

is improper, see Maj. op. at 723-724, “the better view,

and the clear weight of authority is that, when objection

has been raised [by the defendant], the burden is on

the plaintiff to establish that the district he chose is a

proper venue.” 15 C. Wright, A. Miller & E. Cooper,

Federal Practice and Procedure § 3826 at 168 (1976 &

Supp.1982). Ryan v. Glenn, 52 F.R.D. 185, 192 (N.D.

Miss.1971) (“Although there is a sharp split of authority

on this point, the better view is that the burden of

proving proper venue rests with plaintiffs”); Hawkins

v. National Baskethall Ass'n, 288 F.Supp. 614, 615

(W.D.Pa.1968).*

The Majority opinion, however, claims that because

venue is not “jurisdiction,” and because the defendant

must raise an objection to venue in the first instance,

it “logically follows” that, on a motion to dismiss for

improper venue under Fed.R.Civ.P.Rule 12(b)(3), “the

movant |here the defendant] has the burden of proving

* See also Bartholomew v. Virginia Chiropractic Ass’n,

612 F.2d 812 (4th Cir.1979); Grantham v. Challenge-

Cook Bros., Inc., 420 F.2d 1182, 1184 (7th Cir.1970);

ARO Mfg. Co. vy. Automobile Body Research Corp.,

swpra; Hodson v. AH. Robins Co., Inc., 528 F.Supp.

809, 812 (E.D.Vir.1981); National Distillers and Chemi-

cal Corp. v. Dept. of Energy, 487 F.Supp. 34, 37 n. 9

(D.Del.1980) ; Grappone, Inc. v. Subaru of America, Inc.,

403 F.Supp. 123 (D.N.H.1975); Funnelcap Inc. v. Orion

Industries, 392 F.Supp. 938, 942 (D.Del.1975); Beswner

v. Faberge, [nc., 379 F.Supp. 278, 280 (N.J.Ohi01974) ;

United Industrial Corp. v. Nuclear Corp. of America, 237

F.Supp. 971, 979 (D.Del.1964); Bruner v. Republic Ac-

ceptance Corp., 191 F.Supp. 200 (E.D.Ark.1961

— 38a ~

[that venue was not proper}.” Maj. op. at 724. Although

authority is cited to support this view, the cases whieh

are cited either offer no reasons to support their posi-

tion, or they confuse venue, a dilatory defense, with af-

firmative exculpatory or substantive defenses.

While the party asserting an exculpatory defense, i.e.

such as those listed in Fed.R.Civ.P.Rule 8(c),’ should

have the burden of proving the defense asserted be-

cause such a defense goes to the merits of the cause of

action, the same is not true where an affirmative dila-

tory defense is raised. Affirmative dilatory defenses,

like the defense of lack of jurisdiction, touch only the

court’s legal authority to entertain the complaint. Such

defenses do not affect the merits, as exeulpatory de-

fenses do, Affirmative dilatory defenses, such as venue,

exert no preclusive effect. As such, there is no reason

to impose on a defendant, the burden of proving an af-

firmative dilatory defense, Rather, because the plaintiff

has traditionally had the burden of proving that a

court has authority to hear his case, Tanzymore v. Beth-

lehem Steel Corp., 457 ¥.2d 1320 (3d Cir.1972); United

States ex rel, Gitllemacher vy. Philadelphia County, 413

F.2d 84 (3d Cir.1969), cert. denied, 396 U.S. 1046, 90

S.Ct. 696, 24 L.Bd.2d 691 (1970), (see Maj. op. at 728-

724), it must follow that the plaintiff also has the bur-

den of proving proper venue, once a venue defense is

raised.

* Fed.R.Civ.P.Rule 8(¢) provides in part:

In pleading to a preceding pleading, a party shall

set forth affirmatively accord and _ satisfaction, ar-

bitration and award, assumption of risk, contribu-

tory negligence, discharge in bankruptcy, duress,

estoppel, failure of consideration, fraud, illegality,

injury by fellow servant, laches, license, payment,

release, res judicata, statute of frauds, statute of

limitations, waiver, and any other matter constitu-

ting an avoidance or affirmative defense,

— 39a

As [ have noted, those cases cited by the Majority

that hold that the burden of establishing venue is upon

the defendant, reach this result without distinguishing

between affirmative dilatory defenses and affirmative ex-

culpatory or substantive defenses, the latter of which

are the only defenses ineluded in’ Fed.R.Civ.P. 8(e).

(Maj. op. at 724). Significantly, the defense of improper

venue is not to be found in Rule 8(e), nor is it “a mat-

ter constituting an avoidance or affirmative defense”

within the meaning of Rule 8(e). Aceordingly, I find

little logic in Professor Moore’s unsupported assertion

that the rule that plaintiff has the burden of establishing

venue, when contested, is “unsound.” Sec 1 J. Moore,

Moore's Federal Practice, © O0140{a) at 1319-20 (1982)

and Maj. op. at 724. Rather, reason dictates that, when

objection is raised, it is the plaintiff who has the bur-

den to establish that the venue he has chosen is proper.

15 C. Wright, A. Miller & KE. Cooper, Mederal Practice

and Procedure, \ 3826 at 166-68 (1976 and Supp.1982).

Indeed in the 15 U.S.C. § 22 context, the authorities

are uniform in concluding that such is the case, i.e.,

that it is the plaintiff who must earry the burden of

establishing proper venue. Bartholomew, supra, 612 V.2d

811; ARO Mfg. Co., supra, 352 2d 400; Grappone, Inc.

v. Subaru of America, supra, 403 F.Supp. 123; United

Industrial Corp. v. Nuclear Corp. of America, supra, 237

F.Supp. 971; Bruner v. Republic Acceptance Corp., su

pra, 191 F.Supp. 200; Wentling v. Pomdar Science Pub-

lishing Co., 176 F.Supp. 652, 656 (M.D.Pa.1959); Pfeiffer

v. United Booking Office, 93 F.Supp. 368, 365 (NDT.

1950).

Thus, contrary to the Majority’s view, which has eri-

ticized reliance on cases involving dilatory defenses (at

723-724), such reliance is completely appropriate when

analyzing ou whom the burden of proof falls with re-

spect to proving venue. It is for that reasow that ARO

Manufacturing Co., supra, and those eases relying upon

ARO Manufacturing, are appropriate precedents sup-

= em

porting “the better view” that in venue, as in jurisdie-

tion, the plaintiff must bear the burden of proving prop-

er venue, 15 C. Wright, A. Miller & E. Cooper, l’ederal

Practice and Procedure, supra, § 3826.

“TIT suggest that the Majority Opinion has miscon-

eeived the thrust of the analogy which IT have drawn be-

tween jurisdiction and venue. See Maj.Op. at 724 n. 7.

T am quite aware of the difference hetween the power

of the court to entertain an action and the place where

it may be heard.

My discussion does not seek to equate the two con-

cepts but only to point out that both jurisdiction and

venue are dilatory defenses which require the plaintiff

to bear the burden of proving both. As such they do

not go to the merits of the cause of action. Both being

dilatory defenses, I have argued that cases discussing

burden of proof in a jurisdictional context, are appro-

priate authorities to rely upon in determining burden of

proof in a venue context. Thus, just as the burden of

proving jurisdiction rests upon the plaintiff as the Ma-

jority concedes, (see Maj.Op. at 724-725 n. 10), so too

must the plaintiff bear the burden of establishing prop-

er venue. Bartholomew vy. Virginia Chiropractic Ass’n,

612 F.2d 812 (4th Cir.1979); ARO Manufacturing Co. v.

Automobile Body Research Corp., 352 ¥.2d 400 (1st Cir.

1965), cert. denied, 383 U.S. 947, 86 S.Ct. 1199, 16 L.Ed.

24 210 (1966); 15 C. Wright, A. Miller & KE. Cooper,

Federal Practice and Procedure, \ 3826. Indeed, Bar-

tholomew, supra, is the only court of appeals authority

addressing 15 U.S.C. § 22 burden of proof in a not-for-

profit membership organization context. And, Bartholo-

mew holds that the burden of proving venue is squarely

on the plaintiff.

Thus, the distinction as to where the burden of proof

lies—a distinction which the Majority seeks to draw

between jurisdiction, venue and various other defenses

(which are characterized by the Majority as “dilatory”),

is not compelling. Without conceding in the least that

the defenses characterized by the Majority as “dilatory

defenses” are indeed dilatory defenses, | note that in

support of its argument, the Majority refers to the de-

fense of forum non conveniens,

— 4la —

In this case, plaintiff Myers not only rejected 15

U.S.C. § 22 venue in favor of section 1391(b) venue

by not urging section 22 venue, but he adduced no

sworn proofs which could support any claim that the

ADA “transacted business” in the Virgin Islands. Thus,

Myers has clearly failed to carry his burden. This fact

alone is enough, in the face of the ADA’s venue chal-

lenge, to reverse the district court, or at least, to re-

quire a remand to that court for a statement of its

reasons or for fact finding in the context of section 22.

* (Continued)

I have discussed burden of proof in that context in

n. 5, infra, in which I point out that the issue for reso-

lution in a 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a) motion is wholly dif-

ferent than the issue in a 15 U.S.C. § 22 motion. In

a 15 U.S.C. § 22 motion, as we have here, the question

is whether Congress has specifically authorized the plain-

tiff to bring an action in the chosen locale. Satisfaction

of the statutory criteria is mandated at the outset, or

the action must he dismissed,

In a 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a) context, the plaintiff has a

choice of legally permissible fora. It is with reeogni-

tion of the fact that an action has been brought in a

permissible locale under the statute, that a defendant

must seek to prove that, in the court’s discretion, it

would he more convenient to try the case elsewhere,

even though there is no bar as a matter of law to trying

the action in the locale chosen by the plaintiff.

It is in that setting that it is appropriate that the

defendant, who must prove the inconvenience of the

legally established venue, bear the burden of doing so.

The very statement of, and considerations affecting,

these two disparate types of venue, reveal that prin-

ciples affecting burden of proof in the one case have

no relation to the other. The same is true with respect

to the other examples of ‘‘dilatory defenses’’ found in

n. 10 of the Majority Opinion, none of which can be

analogized sufficiently to the 15 U.S.C. § 22 context to

carry the weight needed in order to support the Ma-

jority’s argument that the ADA, rather than pe is

charged with the burden of proving 15 U.S.C. § 22 venue.

— 42a —

A.

Before the district court, the ADA challenged venue

in the Virgin Islands both on the basis of 15 U.S.C.

§ 22 and the general venue provisions in 28 U.S.C. 4

1391(b). Myers, in his Affidavit in Opposition to Mo-

tion of Defendant American Dental Association to dis-

miss for improper venue, never addressed the challenge

to 15 U.S.C. § 22 “transacting business” venue. Myers’

only claim was that venue was proper under section

1391(b) and that defendant ADA was “found” in’ the

Virgin Islands within the meaning of 15 U.S.C. & 22.

Myers asserted no more than that his claims oecurred

in the Virgin Islands (Myers’ Motion, Pawe 1, App. 31);

that the ADA could be found in the Virgin Islands

(Myers’ Motion Page 2, App. 32), and that the VIDA

was not an autonomous body, only largely autonomous,

Id. Consistent with the absence of sworn assertions

which could support a claim of “transacting business,”

was the absence of a section 22 argument in Myers’

brief on appeal. (Myers’ Brief at 46-47),

The district court’s opinion on venue is conclusive

evidence of the facet that Myers did not depend upon

section 22 venue and that no consideration was given

to the elements of such venue, The distriet court prop-

erly recited that ADA claimed that neither section 22

nor section 1391(b) afforded venue in the Virgin Is-

lands. However, with the exception of just one sen-

tence in the district court opinion which stated “. . . the

anti-trust acts expand venue to any district where a

corporation transacts business,” the district court opin-

ion is totally barren of any section 22 discussion, fact

finding or reasons why section 22 venue was estab

lished. The opinion stresses the local Virgin Islands

antitrust law, section 1391(b) venue (a decision which

the Majority here properly overrules) and the fact that

the Virgin Islands is not an inconvenient forum for

trial under 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a). The entire opinion

— 48a —

of the district court is reproduced in the margin re-

vealing the absence of any section 22 discussion, ra-

tionale, or findings.’

_ *Following is the district court’s entire venue opin-

ion:

VENUE

The ADA and VIDA contend that venue cannot

lie in the Virgin Islands in the case at bar. They

base their assertions on 15 U.S.C. § 22 and 28 U.S.C.

§ 1391(b). Under the general federal venue stat-

ute in non diversity cases venue will lie where the

cause of action arose or where the defendants re-

wide. In addition, the antitrust acts expand venue

to any district where a corporation transacts busi-

ness. The defendants maintain that Dr. Myers failed

to meet any of the venue standards and therefore

the case must be transferred or dismissed. We can-

not agree.

The District Court of the Virgin Islands has

more expansive jurisdiction than its stateside coun-

terparts. As a territorial court is is [sic] not limited

to the constraints placed on federal courts by Ar-

ticle ITI Section 2 of the constitution. In essence a

federal territorial court wears two hats—one when

it sits as a federal court and another when it hears

local matters. In the case sub judice we are wearing

both hats simultaneously.

Certainly plaintiff's cause of action based on the

local antimonopolies jaw, 11 V.LC. § 1501 et seq.

is properly before this Court. In Godfrey v. Inter-

national Moving Consultants, 1980 STT Supp. 498

(D.V.1.1980) we held that the federal venue pro-

visions do not apply to the District Court of the

Virgin Islands when it is deciding local matters. We

cannot as readily circumvent the venue provisions

however, when the court is exercising federal juris-

diction.

Because the ADA and some of the individual de-

fendants do not reside here, venue will only lie in

this Court if the cause of action arose in the Vir-

gin Islands. Defendants rely on the “weight of the

— 44a —

The disinterest in section 22 venue exhibited by Myers

before the district court was similarly exhibited before us

on appeal. One may look long and hard at Myers’ appel-

late submissions, including his supplemental brief, and

still not find an argument predicated on section 22 venue.

While the fact that a plaintiff never claims, urges, or

argues a particular theory and furnishes no evidence

which could support such a theory may not be conclusive

in every circumstance, | suggest that a ruling must be

* (Continued)

contacts test” to support their contention that the

action arose outside the territory. That test pro

vides that “if some overt act pursuant to the con-

spiratorial meetings took place in a district and it

was a significant and substantial element of the of-

fense, then venue would lie in the district.” Phila-

delphia Housing Authority v. American Radiator

and Standard Sanitary Corp., 291 F.Supp. 252, 260-

61 (E.D.Pa.1968); see Friends of Animals, Inc. vy.

American Veterinary Med. Ass’n, 310 F.Supp. 620

(S.D.N.Y.1970). The core around which the threads

of plaintiff's complaint winds is the ADA’s adop-

tion of the code of ethics which restricted Dr. Myers’

practice. That code was formulated and adopted by

the ADA in Illinois. Once the ADA embraced the

code VIDA’s charter required it to do likewise.

Thus defendants made a strong showing that no

overt act occurred in this jurisdiction.

Plaintiff’s choice of venue however is proper.

Again it is justified in part by the special status

of the District Court of the Virgin Islands. Dr.

Myers’ federal cause of action is based on the

Sherman Antitrust Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1 et seq. Be-

cause in most circumstances sections 1 and 2 of

the Act do not apply in the Territories of the Uni-

ted States, plaintiff must specifically rely on 15

U.S.C. § 3. Section 3 provides that restraints of

trade affecting the Territories of the United States

are illegal. The ADA’s promulgation of the code of

ethics in Illinois and VIDA’s compulsory adoption

ot [sic] if [sic] [of it] affected Dr. Mvers’ practice

— 45a —

rendered against such a plaintiff when he has the burden

to prove that theory. Myers has failed to carry his

burden here and, without more, it appears manifest to me

that we cannot provide missing findings of fact, nor can

we supply the reasons for section 22 venue which the

district court failed to articulate, nor should we substitute

our theories for those which have not been espoused

by Myers.

* (Continued)

in St. Thomas. Thus, even though many of the

overt acts of the alleged conspiracy occurred in II-

linois the injurious effects could be found in the

Virgin Islands.

Furthermore, civil antitrust actions arise where the

damages occur. The injury that flows from an il-

legal conspiracy sounds in tort. Thus the antitrust

claim can be tried where the injury (i.e. the busi-

ness damage) occurs. Albert Levine Assoc. v. Ber-

iON Cotti, S.p.A., 314 F.Supp. 169, 171 (S.D.N.Y.

In summary, venue properly lies in this forum.

Firstly, plaintiff’s claim based upon local law in-

vokes our article I jurisdiction. Secondly, Dr. Myers

brought suit under a federal statute aimed at pre-

venting illegal combinations in restraint of trade

in the territories. The restraint of trade caused in-

jury in the Virgin Islands and therefore the cause

of action arose here. Defendants’ motions based on

improper venue will be denied.

Defendants also assert that the Virgin Islands is

an inconvienent [sic] [inconvenient] forum to try

this case. See 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a). Based on the

affidavits proffered by plaintiff it is clear that any

forum would be inconvenient to some of the wit-

nesses. We foresee no undue hardship or injustice

to the parties by Ss them to try this action

before us. Accordingly, defendants’ motion based on

forum non conveniens will be denied.

District Court Opinion, Appellant’s Appendix 81-84

(footnotes omitted).

= ee

B.

It is undisputed that the particular facts and circum-

stances must be found and assessed in each case in order

to determine whether the defendant corporatien is

“transacting business” in the district where the plaintiff

has sought to establish venue. Bruner v. United Accept-

ance Corp., 191 F.Supp. 200 (14.D. Ark. 1961). Cf. Ioff-

man Motors Corp. v. Alfa Romeo S.p.A., 244 F.Supp.

70 (S.D.N.Y. 1965). Little would be gained by belaboring

this point, unless as here, the district court failed to find

the facts specifically or failed to state reasons for its

conclusion. In such cireumstances, this court is in no

position to review the district court’s venue ruling.

While it is true that neither the Majority nor I have

found any case dealing directly with the need for the

district court to find facts or to discuss its reasons for

its choice of section 22 venue, it is clear that in analo-

gous circumstances this court has uniformly imposed

such a requirement so that appellate review would be

possible. We have done so even though no such mandate

was to be found in the governing statute, regulation, or

rule. For example, in the context of bargaining orders

imposed by the NLRB after finding violations of the

National Labor Relations Act, Judge Rosenn, writing

for the court, explained that the Board was required to

articulate its reasons so that we, as a court, could

properly exercise our reviewing function and could

“guarantee the integrity of the administrative process.”

NLRB vy. Armcor Industries Inc., 535 F.2d 239, 245 (3d

Cir. 1976). Accordingly this court required, even in the

absence of statute, regulation, or rule that the Board

had to make “specifie findings” and had to “clearly

explicate the basis for its decision to issue a bargaining

order.” Id. at 245.

The same requirements have been made in other ad-

ministrative contexts for the same reasons, i.¢., that such

an articulation is essential for intelligent court review.

— 47a —

See e.g., Sun Shipbuilding & Dry Dock Co. v. McCabe, 593

F.2d 234 (3d Cir. 1979) (requiring an ALJ to make

findings of fact); Cotter v. Harris, 642 F.2d 700 (3d

Cir. 1981) (requiring ALJ in determining disability un-

der Social Security Act to make findings of fact and

articulate reasons). If the requirements which we have

imposed for fact finding and articulation of reasons have

been imposed upon administrative agencies so that the

court can properly fulfill its review function, certainly

we cannot require less when we are called upon to review

a judicial determination. And, indeed, we have not.

We have required district courts to articulate the

grounds for their decision when they dismiss a complaint

with prejudice under Fed.R.Civ.P.Rule 37, even though

Rule 37 is silent as to such a requirement. Quality Pre-

fabrication y. Daniel J. Keating Co., supra, 675 F.2d at

81. Similarly, an articulation of reasons has been re-

quired upon entry of final judgment under Fed.R.Civ.P.

54(b), Allis-Chalmers Corp. vy. Philadelphia Electric Co.,

521 F.2d 360, 364 (3d Cir. 1975), and upon approval

of a class action settlement, Bryan vy. Pittsburgh Plate

Glass Uo., 494 F.2d 799, 804 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 419

U.S. 900, 95 S.Ct. 184, 42 L.Ed.2d 146 (1974). Of greatest

relevance for this case, however, is our requirement that

district courts articulate the basis for their decision on

a transfer of venue motion under 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a)

where the evidence and agruments are in doubt.’ Plum

°T recognize that in a Plum Tree, Inc. v. Stockment,

488 F.2d 754 (3d Cir. 1973), 28 U.S.C. 1404(a) context,

the burden of proof is appropriately upon the defendant

because in such a circumstance, where a plaintiff has

properly laid his action in a venue permissible under

§ 1404(a), any motion by the defendant to change venue

to a venue of the defendant’s choice requires the defen,

dant to produce evidence or considerations proving his

position. Thus, a 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a) decision is relevant

only after a determination has been made as to compli-

ance with the mandate of, in this case, 15 U.S.C. § 22—

— 4a —

Tree, Inc. v. Stockment, 488 F.2d 754, 756 (3d Cir. 1973).

“Furthermore, in making findings of fact on a transfer

order, it would be helpful if the district court specifically

related the evidence upon which it relies to the factors

stated in 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a).” Id. at 756. See Impervious

Paint Industries, Ltd. vy. Ashland Oil, Inc., 444 F.Supp.

465, 466 (E.D. Pa. 1978) (Plum Tree, supra, requires a

district court to “demonstrate its record” and find facts

before transferring under 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a)).

Similarly, the Supreme Court has required considera-

tion and articulation of those factors crucial to a district

court’s venue determination. Gwf Oil Corp. vy. Gilbert,

supra, 330 U.S. 501, 508, 67 S.Ct. 839, 848, 91 L.iéd. 1055;

see DeMateos v. Texaco, Inc., 562 F.2d 895, 900 (3d Cir.

1977) (listing the seven factors found in Lauritzen v.

Larsen, 345 U.S. 571, 73 S.Ct. 921, 97 L.Ied. 1254 (1953)

which must be considered by the district court).

With these principles as a background, it is difficult

for me to understand why the Majority not only ignores

such salutory requirements but, in order to substantiate

its untenable determination that a remand is unneces-

sary, seeks refuge in a literal reading of Fed.R.Civ.P.

52(a). See Maj. op. at 729 (formal findings of fact “are

unnecessary on decisions of motions under Rule 12

or 56”).

* (Continued)

a statute prescribing the legal standards to be satisfied

in determining venue. Indeed, the Supreme Court has

stated that “the doctrine of forwm non conveniens can

never apply if there is absence of jurisdiction or mistake

of venwe.” Gulf Oil Corp. v. Gilbert, 330 U.S. 501, 504,

67 S.Ct. 839, 840, 91 L.Ed. 1055 (1946) (emphasis

supplied).

Hence, the fact that the burden of proving venue is

placed on a defendant in a § 1404(a) context can give

little comfort to the Majority in a 15 U.S.C. 4 22 context.

— 49a —

While it is true that we do not require formal findings

of fact on decisions of Rule 12 motions, one of which

includes venue, we have nevertheless acknowledged that

“where, ... the district court is presented with conflict-

ing positions of substance... ; it is a salutary practice

to give the litigants, either orally or in writing, at least

a minimum articulation of the reasons for its decision.”

Interpace Corp. vy. City of Philadelphia, 438 F.2d 401,

404 (3d Cir. 1971). In Interpace, supra, this court refused

to issue a writ of mandamus vacating certain class

actions. The majority, while recognizing the need for an

articulation by the district court of its reasons, none-

theless held that the class action rule (Fed.R.Civ.P. 23)

did not require specific findings in the context of that

ease. Judge Adams forcefully disagreed with the ma-

jority’s interpretation of Rule 23 and stressed, as I do

here in a venue context, that an appellate court cannot

review a district court’s naked determinations without

findings or an articulation of the underlying basis of

the decision.

It is not surprising therefore that in order to be in

a position to assess the propriety of a district court’s

judgment, we have departed from the strict and literal

terms of Rule 52(a) in order to achieve this worthwhile

end. Thus we have required the district courts to state

their grounds for decision in a number of discretionary

areas wherever “values of consistency and predictability,

reviewability, and deterrence [citations] outweigh the

values of economy and efficiency that may be promoted

by allowing inarticulate decisions.” Quality Prefabrica-

tion v. Daniel J. Keating Co., 675 F.2d 77, 81 and n, 6

(3d Cir. 1982). This rule not only makes possible the

effective review of district court decisions but is consis-

tent with the purpose of Rule 52(a) and with the intent

of the Advisory Committee on Rules, which drafted the

final sentence of the Rule. Indeed it has heen argued

that Rule 52(a) should be read as a whole to require

findings of fact whenever a decision rests on factual

— 50a —

determinations; //orizons Titanium Corp. v. Norton Co.,

290 F.2d 421, 424 n. 3 (Ist Cir. 1961); 5A J. Moore,

Moore’s Federal Practice ¥ 52.08 (1982); sce Williamson

v. Tucker, supra, 645 F.2d at 410-11 (noting Fifth Cireuit

rule requiring the articulation of grounds for decision

on motions to hold party in civil contempt).

In this case it is essential to know the basis of the

district court’s 15 U.S.C. § 22 decision. As I have previ-

ously indicated, the district court disposed of this issue

with no discussion, no reasons, no findings, and indeed

on no ascertainable grounds. It is understandable there-

fore why the Majority does not refer to any such rea-

soned explanation, for there is none. Rather, the Ma-

jority, claiming that because the facts are in affidavit

form and “there is no controversy concerning the facts

“The Majority Opinion has criticized my contention

that a district court should furnish a Court of Appeals

with findings of fact, or at least, with a reasoned articu-

lation of its basis for decision, so that intelligent review

is possible. Maj.Op. at 729-733 n. 19. The Majority’s

criticism has taken the form of distinguishing those

eases cited in support of this argument. Those cases

reflect that, in many different contexts, such findings

or reasons hav been precisely what we have required.

Indeed, those cases, and the contexts which have given

rise to them, all have one common feature: in each, we

have insisted that even in the absence of any rule, regu-

lation or statute requiring findings or reasons, the dis-

trict court or the agency must furnish findings or rea-

sons, so that meaningful review can be effected.

I am fully aware that the cases to which I have re-

ferred in order to illustrate this principle, are not 15

U.S.C. § 22 cases. See text, swpra at 735-737. However,

the doctrine of reviewability announced in those cases

stands uncontradicted by any meaningful analysis, and

it is therefore just as applicable in the present context

as it is in the myriad situations in which it has already

been applied by this court.

— dla —

applicable to 4 22,” Maj. op. at 730, concludes that no

purpose would be served by a remand. The short answer

to this assertion is that on review, this court is not a

fact finder, nor can it supply reasons for the district

court. Moreover, even a cursory review of the affidavits

would reveal that in so far as “transacting business” is

concerned, the only reason that there is no factual con-

troversy, is that Myers never responded to the ADA’s

detailed affidavits! I address that subject in Part II A.

of this separate opinion.

I submit that if we require the district courts to

specify the grounds for their decision when making a

venue transfer under 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a), we can require

no less when district courts must determine whether

venue is proper in the first instance under 15 U.S.C.

§ 22. Such a requirement is essential to our function

of review and places no great burden on the district

courts, especially when, as here, the district court had

already prepared a memorandum opinion (see note 4,

supra). Onee made, such findings, reasons, and conelu-

sions, of course, are subject to our rules on review.

See O'Neill vy. U.S., 411 F.2d 129, 146 (3d Cir. 1969). If

the findings, reasons, or conclusions are insufficient to

permit review, as they are in this ease, a remand is

required, at the very least, to cure that deficiency. Plum

Tree, Inc., supra; O'Neill, supra.

It is apparent from the district court’s discussion that

its entire emphasis was on section 1391(b) venue, The

Majority correctly disposes of that issue because of the

teaching of Leroy yv. Great Western United Corp., 448

U.S. 173, 99 S.Ct. 2710, 61 L.ed.2d 464 (1979) which

does not depend upon fact finding or reasons. Therefore

in the section 1391(b) context little hinges on the dis-

trict court’s failure to furnish either. In the section 22

~~

context, however, the district court’s failure’ to furnish

findings or reasons is fatal. As we have said innumer-

able times, it is not the proper role of this court to make

findings of fact in the first instance. ’'TC vy. British

Oxygen Co. Ltd., 529 F.2d 196, 200 (3d Cir. 1976) (en

banc). Because of the complete lack of evidence support-

ing section 22 venue and the failure of Myers to carry

his burden in this respect, I believe that the district

court’s ruling should be reversed outright. As I have

mentioned earlier, however, at the very least, a remand

to the district court to correct this fault, is essential.

United States v. Ohio Barge Lines, Inc., 607 F.2d 624,

632 (3d Cir. 1979); Kreda v. Rush, 550 F.2d 888, 890

(3d Cir. 1977); FTC v. British Oxygen Co., Ltd., supra,

529 F.2d at 200; Pepi, Inc. v. IHelear Corp., 458 F.2d

1062, 1064-65 (3d Cir. 1972); O'Neill vy. UWS., 411 F.2d

139, 146 (3d Cir. 1969); cf. Chalfant v. The Wilmington

Institute, 574 F.2d 739, 751-52 (3d Cir. 1978) (Garth,

J., dissenting).

II.

Because it is evident that Myers has failed to earry

his burden, no matter what the proper test for “trans-

acting business” may be, had T been in the Majority,

and if the Majority held, as [ believe it should have,

that section 22 venue was unavailable there would have

been no need to discuss section 22 cases which define

“transacting business.” My concern here, however, is

* My reference to the district court’s failure to furnish

findings or reasons is not intended as a criticism of the

district court. As I have taken pains to point out earlier

in light of Myers’ actions in pressing only his § 1391(b)

venue argument it would have been surprising if the

district court had nevertheless insisted upon making find-

ings under § 22. My only purpose in emphasizing the

lack of such findings made by the district court is to

oint out this court’s improvidence in seeking to provide

acts and reasons and thus supply that, which the district

court was unable to, and did not supply.

—

that the district courts of this Cireuit may seize upon

and follow the Majority’s discussion—a discussion which

has been predicated upon a virtually non-existent record

and which | suggest is flawed--and thus may be drawn

into future error. [t is for that reason, despite my con-

viction that the ADA’s motion to dismiss on venue should

have been granted, that | address the subject of ‘‘trans-

acting business” within the meaning of section 22.

A.

A corporation “transacts business” in a distriet for

purposes of section 12 of the Clayton Act (15 U.S.C.

§ 22) only if in the “ordinary and usual sense” it trans-

acts business of a “substantial character” Lastman Ko-

dak Co. of New York y. Southern Photo Materials Co.,

273 U.S. 359, 373, 47 S.Ct. 400, 403, TL Led. 684 (1927) ;

United States vy. Scophony Corp., 333 U.S. 795, 807, 68

S.Ct. 855, 861, 92 L.Ed. 1091 (1948) (“The practical

everyday business or commercial concept of doing or

carrying on business ‘of any substantial character’ [is]

the test of venue’’); Bartholomew v. Virginia Chiroprac-

tic Ass’n., 612 F.2d 812, 815 (4th Cir. 1979); Sherman

College of Straight Chiropractic v. American Chiroprac-

tic Ass'n, 534 F.Supp. 438, 440-41 (N.D. Ga. 1982);

Health Care Equalization Committee of the lowa Chiro-

practic Society vy. lowa Medical Socicty, 501 F.Supp.

970, 980 (S.D.Iowa 1981); Athletes Foot of Delaware,

Ine. v. Ralph Libonati Co., Inc., 445 F.Supp. 35, 43 (D.

Del. 1977); Bogus vy. American Speech & Hearing Ass’n.,

389 F.Supp. 327, 328-29 (1.D.Pa. 1975), rev’d on other

grounds, 582 F.2d 277 (3d Cir. 1978); Friends of

Animals, Inc. vy. American Veterinary Medical Ass’n., 310

F.Supp. 620, 622 (S.D.N.Y. 1970); Philadelphia Housing

Authority vy. American Radiator and Standard Sanitary

Corp., 291 F.Supp. 252, 256 (f.D.Pa. 1968). This “trans-

acts business” standard was intended by Congress to be

broader than the “may he found” standard, Hastman

Kodak Co., supra, 273 U.S. at 372-73, 47 S.Ct. at 402-403;

— 54a —

United States v. National City Lines, Inc., 384 U.S. 573,

579, 68 S.Ct. 1169, 1172, 92 L.ed. 1584 (1948), but cer-

tainly more than a few isolated and peripheral con-

tacts with the particular judicial district must be pres-

ent to constitute business of a substantial character. Golf

City, Inc. v. Wilson Sporting Goods Co., Inc., 555 F.2d

426, 438 (5th Cir. 1977); Stern Fish Co. v. Century Sea-

foods, Inc., 254 F.Supp. 151, 158 (F.D.Pa. 1966). See

also Bogus v. American Speech and Hearing Ass’n.,

supra, 389 F.Supp. at 330. Ultimately, this court’s con-

clusion about the ADA’s business presence in the Dis-

trict of the Virgin Islands must stem from a common

sense determination of whether, as a “broader business

conception,” the ADA engages in any substantial busi-

ness operations in the district. U.S. vy. Scophony Corp.

of America, supra, 333 U.S. at 807, 68 S.Ct. at 861;

Academy of Ambulatory Foot Surgery v. American

Podiatry Ass’n., 516 F.Supp. 378, 382 (S.D.N.Y. 1981).

In reaching that determination [ cannot ignore the

fact that the ADA is not the conventional commercial

profit making organization whose business transactions

have traditionally been deseribed by sales and purchases.

Rather, it must be determined under what cireumstances

a not-for-profit membership organization such as_ the

ADA may be said to “transact business” within the

meaning of section 22.

While my overall thesis is that section 22 cannot

be viewed in a vacuum but must have factual content

nourished by district court findings of fact, in this part

of my discussion IT am obliged to refer to those undis-

puted facts which appear in affidavits filed by the ADA.

To complete the entire factual context presented to the

district court and to this court, I also include the two

“factual circumstances” upon which the Majority relies

in upholding section 22 venue.

The following are excerpts from affidavits submitted

by the ADA:

— 55a —

1, ADA’s headquarters and principal place of busi-

ness are located in Chicago, Illinois, with one ad-

ditional office in Washington, D.C. ADA has no

office and no employees in the Virgin Islands. (Af-

fidavit of T. Booersehinger, § 2);

2. Dr. Asher G. Chavoor, the member of the ADA’s

Board of Trustees who represents the Virgin Islands,

resides in Arlington, Virginia and practices in Wash-

ington, D.C., not the Virgin Islands; (Affidavit of

L. Miller, ADA Membership Supervisor, {| 6);

3. Of ADA’s approximately 130,000 members, only

19 resided in the Virgin Islands as of December 8,

1979 (Affidavit of I. Miller, {| 2);

4. ADA’s Annual Session, its major activity each

year, has never been held in the Virgin Islands (Af-

fidavit of H. Wells, ™ 2);

5. No advertising in ADA’s Journals originates

from advertisers located in the Virgin Islands (Af-

fidavit of F. Cordero, | 2);

6. ADA officials travel to the Virgin Islands only

on sporadie occasions on ADA business and, in faet,

ADA has only held two small meetings in the Vir-

gin Islands (Affidavit of HTH. Wells, § 3);

7. Under ADA’s constitution and bylaws, the VIDA

is largely autonomous in the eonduct of its acti-

vities (Affidavit of T. Boerschinger, { 3);

8. Only $2,400 in membership dues out of $14,000,-

000 collected nationally by the ADA came from

members in the Virgin Islands in 1980, or 0.01714%

of total membership revenues. (Affidavit of L. Miller,

7 3).

The affidavits submitted by Myers are not addressed

to section 22 conduct, but rather to personal jurisdie-

tional concepts. Nevertheless, it appears of reeord in

Myers’ affidavit that for some cight years Dr. Cap-

puccio participated in the VIDA’s annual meetings to

“make sure that the local association toed the line with

respect to ADA policy.” (App. 51; Maj. op. at 730).

— 56a —

In addition, that same affidavit can be read as claiming

that three of ADA’s officers had visited the Virgin Is-

lands on ADA business, and that Dr. Kerr, the 1980

President of the ADA, addressed the VIDA at its 1980

annual meeting and urged the passage of bylaws in-

corporating the ADA Code of Professional Conduct (App.

52; Maj. op. at 730).

These latter assertions by Myers are all that can be

gleaned from his affidavits as acts which in any way

pertain to the ADA’s transaction of business in the

Virgin Tslands. Indeed the Majority opinion depends

wholly on those two circumstances to support its holding

that the ADA “transacts business” sufficient to support

Myers’ choice of venue in the Virgin Islands. In so hold-

ing, the Majority states that “enforeing a Code of Con-

duct is at the heart of . .. a professional membership

organization[’s business],” and “ADA‘’s direct continual

supervision in the Virgin Islands of the VIDA to en-

sure enforeement of ADA’s professional Code subjects

it to plaintiff's choice of [federa] anti-trust] venue in

the District of the Virgin Islands.” (Maj. op. at 730-

731). [T cannot agree.

I suggest that the authorities dealing with section 22

venue in the context of not-for-profit professional or-

ganizations do not support the Majority’s conclusion

and that the Majority has erred in a significant respect

when it departs from the test established by those au-

thorities for determining the transaction of business

under 15 U.S.C. § 22. I also suggest that based on the

meager record before us there is no evidence which

could even support a finding that the ADA “transacted

business” in the Virgin Islands. See, e.g., FTC v. British

Oxygen Co., supra, 529 F.2d at 200.

B.

My examination of the authorities in this not-for-

profit associational context reveals the following.

— 57a —

1. Every case that has held that an Association

“transacted business” within the meaning of section 22

did so on the basis of facts which established a con-

tinuing licensing, accreditation or qualitative evaluation

function on the part of the Association. Only one case

(Sherman College, supra, (American Chiropractic Ass’n.))

holds otherwise. I discuss that case infra.

Levin v. Joint Commission on Accreditation of Hospi-

tals, supra, 354 F.2d at 517 (“The business of the Joint

Commission is that of accrediting hospitals. Field in-

spections are an essential aspeqt of that business.”)

Courtesy Chevrolet, Inc. v. Tennessee Walking Horse

Breeding and Exhibitors’ Ass’n. of America, 344 F.2d

860 (9th Cir. 1965) (The association is the sole body in

the U.S. in which this breed of horses may be regis-

tered. Horses not so registered are not recognized as

pure breeds and may not compete in shows. The Asso-

ciation supplies judges for the competition from which a

horse’s value is determined); Sherman College of Straight

Chiropractic vy. American Chiropractic Ass’n., supra, 534

F.Supp. at 441 (National Board of Chiropractic Exam-

iners) (That Board designs and scores the national chiro-

practic examination, sends the results to the state li-

censing board, and administers the test in the judi-

cial district semi-annually); Bogus v. American Speech

@ Hearing Ass’n., supra, 389 F.Supp. at 329 (Associa-

tion is the accrediting agent for college and university

programs. “The workshops, certification, and accredita-

tion are the means by which defendant attempts to

fulfill its goal of maintaining high standards for pro-

fessionals providing speech and hearing services and are

sufficient to meet the venue requirement that defen-

dant ‘transacts business’ in this District”); Health Care

Equalization Committee of the Iowa Chiropractic Society

v. Iowa Medical Society, supra, 501 F.Supp. at 983

(AMA’s Committee on Quackery transacts business in

Iowa by its direct involvement in its study of aspects

of the practice of chiropractic and its relation to the

practice of medicine in Towa).

— 58a —

2. The only Court of Appeals which did not discuss

the concept of licensing, accreditation or evaluation but

which considered section 22 venue in an associational

context, found no transaction of business even where the

Association had prepared materials for dissemination

through the radio, television or newspaper media. Par-

tholomew v. Virginia Chiropractors Ass’n., 612 F.2d

812 (4th Cir. 1979). That court considered a variety of

factors in holding that the Association had not trans-

acted business. Consideration of these factors was sum-

marized as follows:

Enumeration of the points of contact ACA | Ameri-

ean Chiropractic <Ass’n.] has with Virginia, even,

without limiting the discussion to the Western Dis-

trict, will entirely raze all imprint of its venue-pres-

ence. Virginia accounted for only 53 of the 8875

national members, .06 percent of its membership.

ACA never qualified to do business in Virginia (only

in Delaware) and its sole office was in Towa. In

Virginia, there were no offices, no officers, no agents,

no property, no purchases, no seminars or work-

shops, and no sales save of pamphlets, journals, and

other educational and public relations materials

generating very little revenue. All transactions were

by mail. No membership meetings were convened in

Virginia; no directors or employees resided there.

Id. at 816.

3. Other cases which refused to find a transaction

of business also looked to the factors of residence, mem-

bership, meeting activities, dues payment, seminars, and

the like which Bartholomew, supra, 612 F.2d at 815-17

had also considered. Golf City Inc. v. Wilson Sporting

Goods Co., supra, 555 F.2d 428; Academy of Ambulatory

Foot Surgery v. American Podiatry Ass’n., 516 F.Supp.

at 380-81; Health Care Equalization Committee of the

Iowa Chiropractic Society v. lowa Medical Society, supra,

501 F.Supp. 970; Friends of Animals v. American Ve-

terinary Medical Ass’n., swpra, 310 F.Supp. at 624.

— 50a —

4. Those cases where the findings did not support

an imputation of the local association’s activities to

the national association, held that the national associa-

tion did not “transact business” for venue purposes

within the meaning of section 22. Golf City Inc. v. Wilson

Sporting Goods Co., supra, 555 F.2d 428. (PGA did not

transact business in the district merely because members

of the local society sat on the Board of the national

organization and the logo of the PGA appeared on

membership applications of the local organization. For

the actions of the local to be ascribed to the national

organization, there must be such a total disregard for

the separate corporate entities that the two can be

viewed as a single entity); Academy of Ambulatory Foot

Surgery v. American Podiatry Ass’n., supra, 516 F.

Supp. at 380-81 (no imputation of the local’s activities

where the local was separately incorporated, was financial-

ly self-sufficient, maintained its own dues structure, mem-

bers of the local had to be members of the national,

the local’s constitution and by-laws paralleled those of

the national, and where the disciplinary decisions of the

local were reviewable by the national organization) ;

Friends of Animals v. American Veterinary Medical

Ass’n., supra, 310 F.Supp. at 624 (no imputation where

constituent societies could not solicit membership or col-

lect dues for national organization, the constituent socie-

ties were free to adopt by-laws and constitutions with-

out national approval and membership in the national

organization was not required); and St. Elizabeth Hos-

pital, Inc. vy. Richardson, 167 F.Supp. 155, 159 (W.D.

Ark. 1958) aff’d on other grounds, 269 F.2d 167 (8th

Cir. 1959) (no imputation of activities of local medical

societies to American Medical Association, merely be-

cause the local societies were obliged to follow the con-

stitution and by-laws of the national organization).

5. The only case to hold that an association had “trans-

acted business” where the most significant contact with

a district consisted of a series of three to four seminars

a “een

held by the national organization over a period of five

years was Sherman College of Straight Chiropractic v.

American Chiropractic Ass’n., supra, 534 F.Supp. 438

(American Chiropractic Ass’n.), a case which, in light of

the other authorities cited, appears to be out of the main-

stream of authority, but is in any event inapposite to the

case sub judice.

From this review, the following principles and stan-

dard clearly emerge:

A. “Transacting business” cannot be determined with-

out an extensive factual basis, i.e., evidence in the reeord

from which findings can be made.

B. The business activities of an association musi be

of a substantial character and unless its activity demon-

strates a total disregard for the separate corporate enti-

ties in its relationship with a local association, the local

association’s activities will not be imputed to the national

association and the national association will not be held

to have transacted business in the foreign locale.

C. The type of business, if it is not of a conventional

commercial character, must be of a nature whereby the

very licensing, accreditation and evaluative determinations

with respect to qualifications of the subject of the associ-

ation, must be conducted by the national associetion.

D. The plaintiff bears the burden of establishing sec-

tion 22 venue.

E. The standard by which a non-professional associa-

tion’s conduct must be measured in determining whether

it transacts business within the meaning of section 22 in

the district where the plaintiff has brought suit, may

therefore be stated as follows:

Where a national not-for-profit membership organiza-

tion (directly or through its societies, which act as

its agent), either conducts traditional business activi-

ties of a substantial character which by themselves

—bla-—

would support a holding of “transacting business” in

a conventional sense; or, where such an association

conducts regular evaluation, licensing or aceredita-

tion functions of a substantial character, such activity

will constitute the transaction of business supporting

venue under 15 U.S.C. § 22.

It is apparent from this recapitulation that the ADA

has not transacted business in the Virgin Islands and the

Majority’s holding that it has, must be deemed erroneous,

because contrary to the Majority’s holding, mere enforce-

ment of a professional code, even if such enforcement

is undertaken by a national organization, or encourage-

ment that such a code be adopted, without more, cannot

suffice to satisfy section 22’s requirement.

C.

First. as I have earlier demonstrated, the only relevant

evidence which appears of record has been that furnish-

ed by ADA and no findings of fact have ever been made

with respect to any evidence. It must be remembered that

the evidence is undisputed that the ADA has only nine-

teen ont of 120.000 members resident in the Virgin Is-

lands; that the ADA has no offices or employees in the

Virgin Isiands: that the ADA’s Annual Session has never

been held in the Virgin Islands: that no advertising in

the ADA’s Journals originates from advertisers located

in the Virgin Islands: that only 0.01714% of total ADA

membership revenues ($2,400 out of $14,000,000) origi-

nate in the Virgin Islands; and that once the VIDA

adopts a constitution and by-laws in conformity with that

of the ADA, the VIDA is autonomous. See p. 9-10 swpra,

for text of affidavits.

Second, the ADA does not license, evaluate or accredit

any members of the VIDA. Nor can it be said that VIDA’s

actions may he imputed to the ADA so as to establish

venue in the Virgin Islands through the actions of the

VIDA. The standard established for such impu

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.