Petition — L. G. Everist, Inc. v. United States

Supreme Court brief1983

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

82-1504 | oice Supreme Court, US. |

PiLeoD

waR 10 1983

eTcyvas

iE VA

|

|

|

|

In the Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1982

L. G. EVERIST, INC.,

Petitioner,

VS.

THE UNITED STATES.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

BERNARD M. JUNG

(Counsel of Record)

Suite 1820, City Center Square

1100 Main Street

Kansas City, Missouri 64105

(816) 842-2980

Attorney for Petitioner

E. L. Menpenwatt, Inc., 926 Cherry Street, Kansas City, Mo. 64106, (816) 421-3020

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

In an action brought by a Government contractor

under §10(a) of the Contract Disputes Act of 1978 (41

U.S.C. §609 (a) ):

1. Did the Court of Claims err by holding that, for

purposes of summary judgment under Court of Claims

Rule 101(d), only disputes as to “underlying,” evidentiary

facts, and not disputes as to inferences and conclusions

of fact, shall constitute issues of “material fact’’?

2. Do the conflicting inferences and conclusions of

fact drawn by the parties raise genuine issues as to ultimate

facts material to petitioner’s causes of action:

(a) for breach of contract by misrepresentation;

(b) for an equitable adjustment under the contract

Differing Site Conditions clause; and

(c) for breach of contract by non-disclosure of su-

perior knowledge;

which preclude summary judgment under Court of Claims

Rule 101(d)?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TIENEN « eneestpheiecnivqniescbensinnactsoatetonscenmecseesstnesees 1

TINIE * ‘Ganesesisssnutecnecnoceesocmeseuscovesvseen 1

PERU RMD BOO V ORV IED cccccsescsesecesssscocscscscsoccscscess ,

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 4

ARGUMENT . scidslelssidineimineniiinatiniiivn 10

I. THE COURT OF CLAIMS HAS PRE-

SCRIBED AN IMPROPER STANDARD OF

REVIEW FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT ........ 10

II. CONFLICTING INFERENCES OF FACT

RAISE GENUINE ISSUES OF ULTIMATE

MATERIAL FACT ..... ‘we 16

A. Breach Of Contract Based Upon Misrep-

resentation ‘ 16

B. Equitable Adjustment Under The Differ-

ing Site Conditions Clause .......................... 23

C. Breach Of Contract By Non-Disclosure

Of Superior Knowledge - 27

CONCLUSION ensiliteilhieiainndsstbhetenbecemtnoncnssciems 30

INDEX TO APPENDIX

Opinion of the United States Court of Claims ........ Al-Al12

Order of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Federal Circuit Al3

Notice of Receipt and Filing of Petition for Rehearing

and Suggestions for Rehearing in Banc ...................... Al4

Invitation for Bids ...................... Al15-A19

Iv

November 27, 1978 Geological Trip Report ............ A20-A21

July 23, 1979 Geological Trip Report ..........-.......-0-++- A22-A23

August 31, 1979 Project Memorandum .....................0+0-0++ A24

November 14, 1979 Construction Logbook Entry ........ A25

pe ey G8 ee A26

Excerpts from the Deposition of Bobby G. Kilcrease

sicisnessiaeaaesiithlasaataaitaeeeaiiaeiaintaaeceialliananial A27-A30

Excerpts from the Deposition of Garland Everist ....A20-A33

Excerpts from the Deposition of Cy Schulte .......... A34-A35

Excerpts from the Deposition of Aubrey C. Sanders,

Jr. A35-A45

Excerpts from the Deposition of George Spencer ....A45-A54

Excerpts from the Deposition of Bill Cutter ............ A54-A55

Excerpts from the Deposition of William K. Andersen

A55-A57

Defendant’s Responses to Interrogatories Nos. 50 and

94 of Plaintiff’s First Set of Interrogatories ........ A57-A58

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144, 90 S. Ct.

1598 (1970) 12, 19, 24, 26-27

American Manufacturers Mutual Insurance Co. v.

American Broadcasting-Paramount Theatres, Inc.,

388 F. 2d 272 (CA 2 1967) 15

Central National Life Ins. Co. v. Fidelity and Deposit

Company of Maryland, 626 F. 2d 537 (CA 7 1980) .... 13

Charbonnages De France v. Smith, 597 F. 2d 406 (CA

4 1979) 15

Cole v. Cole, 633 F. 2d 1083 (CA 4 1980) 20.000... 14

Vv

Empire Electronics Co. v. United States, 311 F. 2d 175

(CA 2 1962) cccdiabcianialddtanialeaslantainadeiaiiuabannbaiisbeties 13

Fitzsimmons v. Best, 528 F. od 692 (CA 7 1976) ........ 15, 27

Fortner Enterprises, Inc. v. United States Steel, 394

ce ee ee 14, 27

Foster Construction C.A. v. United States, 193 Ct. Cl.

587, 435 F. 2d 873 (1970) .................. 30

Heyman v. Commerce and Industry Insurance Co., 524

RE | SRR ie Lene 15, 27

Hollerbach v. United States, 233 U.S. 165, 34 S. Ct. 553

ITN =, suciecsiaatasganaionseriacessranteidbhcedidcananatasilicsab doediesdaeniclanmetteie 29

Insurance Company of North America v. Bosworth

Construction Co., 469 F. 2d 1266 (CA 5 1972) ............ 13

Kaiser Industries Corp. v. United States, 169 Ct. Cl.

310, 340 F. 2d 322 (1965) 23, 25, 26

Kamen Soap Products Co. v. United States, 124 Ct. Cl.

— eB ee ER OU) 10

Luckett v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., 618 F. 2d 1373 (CA

AIOE © ceseidinbeenticeicssiniipbemnesien 13

Moore-McCormack Lines, Inc. v. United States, 175

Ct. Cl. 496 (1966) 10

Morrison v. Nissan Co., Ltd., 601 F. 2d 139 (CA 4 1979) 13

Old Colony Trust Co. v. Omaha, 230 U.S. 100, 33 S. Ct.

967 (1912) 25

Paul E. Lehman, Inc. v. United States, 673 F. 2d 352

(Ct. Cl. 1982) 13

Pepper & Tanner, Inc. v. Shamrock Broadcasting, Inc.,

563 F. 2d 391 (CA 9 1977) 14

South Corporation v. United States, 690 F. 2d 1368

(CAFC 1982) 16

Stock & Grove, Inc. v. United States, 204 Ct. Cl. 103,

493 F. 2d 629 (1974) ..23, 26

VI

Tobin Quarries, Inc. v. United States, 114 Ct. Cl. 286,

SO eS SEES > CIID ® acpembsensbesenssbeenesinennssntseuraassntini 19

United States v. Diebold, Inc., 369 U.S. 654, 82 S. Ct.

993 (1962) hideiniensilatinness 12, 13, 15, 21, 30

United States v. Johnson, 153 Pr. 2d 846 (CA 9 1946) .... 19

United States v. Perry, 431 F. 2d 1020 (CA 9 1970) ...... 13

United States v. Seckinger, 397 U.S. 203, 90 S. Ct. 880

(1970) 26

United States v. Spearin, 248 U.S. 132, 39 S. Ct. 59

(1918) rs .26, 29

Statutes

5 U.S.C. §552(a) et seq. —_ ©

i IIE MEITIIIIIIID cscssscisihedeunindiirensuenestotenszernsescenetavetesensooans 2

28 U.S.C. §1255(1) . 2

28 U.S.C. §2071 .3, 10,11

28 U.S.C. §2072 10

28 U.S.C. §2503 2,14

41 U.S.C. §605 8

41 U.S.C. §609 2,4, 8, 13, 15, 16, 30

Federal Courts Improvements Act of 1982, Pub. L. No.

97-164, 96 Stat. 25

§161(10) 16

§403 (c) 2,9

Rules of Court

Rule 56(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure ....10, 11

Rule 13 of the Court of Claims Rules 14

Rule 101(d) of the Court of Claims Rules 3,11

Rule 133 of the Court of Claims Rules 14

Rule 134 of the Court of Claims Rules 14

vil

Miscellaneous

Restatement, Contracts, Second §159 22

Evans, Current Procedures in the Court of Claims, 55

yy EE ce 15

Lydon, The 1969 Rules Revision for the United States

Court of Claims, 58 Geo. L.J. 317 (1969) ................ 11

No.

In the Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1982

L. G. EVERIST, INC.,

Petitioner,

vs.

THE UNITED STATES.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

Petitioner prays that a writ of certiorari issue to re-

view the judgment herein of the United States Court of

Claims entered on September 24, 1982.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Claims,

not reported, is presented in the Appendix hereto at App.

Al-A12.!. There are no other opinions in this case.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Claims

was entered on September 24, 1982. On October 8, 1982,

1. References to the Appendix are to “App. ......... ”

2

petitioner timely filed a petition for rehearing and sug-

gestions for rehearing en banc with the Court of Appeals

for the Federal Circuit pursuant to §403(c) of the Federal

Courts Improvement Act of 1982, Pub. L. No. 97-164, 96

Stat. 25. (App. Al4) On December 13, 1982 the Court

of Appeals for the Federal Circuit denied the petition for

rehearing and suggestions for rehearing en banc. (App.

Al13) Jurisdiction is invoked under both 28 U.S.C.

§1254(1) and 28 U.S.C. §1255(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

1. 410U.S.C. §609(a) (1) (Supp. III 1979) which provides:

“(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2), and in

lieu of appealing the decision of the contracting of-

ficer under Section 6 [41 USC §605] to an agency

board, a contractor may bring an action directly on the

claim in the United States Court of Claims, notwith-

standing any contract provision, regulation, or rule

of law to the contrary.” ,

2. 41 U.S.C. §609(a)(3) (Supp. III 1979) which pro-

vides:

“(3) Any action under paragraph (1) or (2) shall

be filed within twelve months from the date of the

receipt by the contractor of the decision of the con-

tracting officer concerning the claim, and shall pro-

ceed de novo in accordance with the rules of the ap-

propriate court.”

3. 28 U.S.C. §2503 (1976 ed.) which provided:

“(a) Parties to any suit in the Court of Claims may

appear before a commissioner in person or by attorney,

produce evidence and examine witnesses. In accor-

3

dance with rules and orders of the court, commis-

sioners shall fix times for trials, administer oaths or

affirmations to and examine witnesses, receive evi-

dence and report findings of fact and, when directed

by the court, their recommendations for conclusions of

law in cases assigned to them, Hearings shall, if con-

venient, be held in the counties where the witnesses

reside.

“(b) The rules of the court shall provide for the fil-

ing in court of the commissioner’s report of facts and

recommendations for conclusions of law, and for op-

portunity for the parties to file exceptions thereto, and

a hearing thereon before the court within a reasonable

time. This section shall not prevent the court from

passing upon all questions and findings regardless of

whether exceptions were taken before a commis-

sioner,”

28 U.S.C. §2071 (1976 ed.) which provides:

“The Supreme Court and all courts established by

Act of Congress may from time to time prescribe rules

for the conduct of their business. Such rules shall be

consistent with Acts of Congress and rules of practice

and procedure prescribed by the Supreme Court.”

Court of Claims Summary Judgment Rule 101(d)

which provided:

“(d) Motion and Proceedings Thereon: After a mo-

tion for summary judgment has been filed, and after

the expiration of the time allowed for a response

thereto or for a reply to the response, if any (Rule 52

2. Pursuant to Court of Claims General Order No. 2 of

1973, after August 1, 1973, “Commissioners” of the Court of

Claims were known and referred to as “Trial Judges.”

4

(b)), such motion may (subject to the provisions of

Rules 54(b), 146(b) (2), and 166(b)) be assigned to

the calendar. (See Rule 14(b)(2).) The judgment

sought shall be rendered if the pleadings, depositions,

and admissions on file, together with the affidavits,

if any, show that there is no genuine issue as to any

material fact and that the moving party is entitled to a

judgment as a matter of law. A summary judgment

may be rendered on the issue of liability alone although

there is a genuine issue as to the amount of damages.”

28 U.S.C. App. p. 627 (1976 ed.)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner brought this action in the United States

Court of Claims pursuant to 41 U.S.C. §609(a)(1) for the

trial de novo of its contract and breach of contract claims.

No trial, however, was ever held and accordingly no find-

ings of fact were ever prepared by the Court of Claims

Trial Judge to whom the case was originally assigned.

On March 16, 1979, the United States, acting by and

through the Department of Agriculture, Soil Conservation

Service, issued an Invitation for Bids for the “Aravaipa

Creek Emergency Watershed Project” (the “Project’’).

(App. Al5) The Project contract work, as detailed in the

construction specifications, called for the excavation, selec-

tion, handling and placement of 75,000 tons of rock riprap.

(App. Al6; Al9) Construction Specification 216-8 directed

that the rock riprap was to be excavated from “the des-

ignated sources, or from other sources approved by the

Engineer.” (App. Al9) Bid opening was scheduled for

April 11, 1979.

Pursuant to a special “INSPECTION OF WORKSITE”

provision contained in the Invitation for Bids, the Project

Engineer (who was also the authorized representative of

the Contracting Officer) conducted a group showing of

the Project worksite, including the Government-designated

Project rock source, on April 4, 1979. (App. Al€; A26)

When the tour group arrived at the Government-designated

rock source (also known as the “Lackner quarry”), the

Project Engineer proceeded to designate the precise loca-

tion of the source, advising the prospective bidders that

the “designated area was approved.” (App. A27-A28)

The Project Engineer further stated that the rock at the

source was “approved” and that the Government geologist

had investigated the source and had determined that it

was rock “of quality” and “hard enough for riprap.”

(App. A27-A28)

Contrary to the pre-bid representations of the

Project Engineer, however, the Government geologist had

in fact not approved the rock at the Government-desig-

nated rock source. Rather, on the basis of his geological

investigations conducted in November, 1978, he had de-

termined that the risk of an “excessive breakdown of the

rock” resulting in “an excessive quantity of undersized

materials” existed at that source. (App. A20) By “ex-

cessive,” he testified that: “I meant the breakage would

be more than average or normal.” (App. A39) The ge-

ologist prepared a geological Trip Report dated November

27, 1978 expressly advising the Soil Conservation Service

engineers, including the Project Engineer, of this risk and

further stating that “a determination to use this source

should be contingent upon the results of the laboratory

tests in conjunction with test quarrying to evaluate the

breakdown characteristics of the rock.” (App. A20-A21;

A40) (Emphasis added.) Notwithstanding the specific

recommendations of its geologist, the Soil Conservation

Service made conscious decision not to test quarry the rock

source. (App. A55-A56)

The November 27, 1978 geological Trip Report, and

the conclusions and recommendations of the Government

geologist contained therein, were never disclosed to the

prospective bidders. (App. A4)

On April 9, 1979 petitioner’s Construction Manager

conducted a pre-bid inspection of the Project worksite, in-

cluding the Government-designated rock source. He had

been informed by petitioner’s Construction Superintendent,

who had attended the April 4, 1979, “worksite” showing,

that the Government-designated rock source was an ap-

proved source and that the rock within the source was

approved. (App. A48) The petitioner’s Construction Man-

ager, who prepared petitioner’s bid for the project, testi-

fied that: “The rock source appeared to me to be com-

petent, suitable for the use intended and we had been

informed that it was an approved source and the rock

in the source had been approved, which indicated to me

that construction losses would certainly be within normal

amounts, ratios.” (App. A50) Accordingly, he included a

15% allowance for waste material in petitioner’s bid esti-

mate for the Project. (App. A5l) The Government ge-

ologist testified that a high percentage of useable rock

would be the normal recovery rate to be expected from

a good commercial riprap quarry site. (App. A42)

On April 11, 1979, petitioner submitted the low bid for

the Project, and on May 2, 1979, petitioner was awarded

the contract for the Project, under its company trade name

of “Connolly-Pacific Co.” Following award of the con-

tract, petitioner commenced the excavation and handling

of rock from the Government-designated rock source, in

accordance with Construction Specification 216-8. After

substantial excavation into the bedrock, however, it be-

came apparent that, contrary to the Government’s represen-

7

tations, the vast bulk of the rock at the source was indeed

wholly unsuitable for use as riprap. Due to the uncon-

trollable tendency of the rock to break down excessively

into fines and fragments less than 3 inches in size during

excavation and handling, over 60-70% of the total rock

material excavated from the source was unsuitable for

use as riprap. (App. A22-A24) The record establishes, and

the Court of Claims has found in its order, that the waste

encountered by petitioner at the Government-designated

rock source was excessive. (App. A6; A42; A54-A55)

Petitioner gave timely notice under Clause 4, “DIF-

FERING SITE CONDITIONS,” of the contract General

Conditions that the excessive waste rock condition at the

Government-designated rock source constituted a com-

pensable differing site condition entitling petitioner to an

equitable adjustment to the contract price and time for

performance. (App. Al7-Al8) With the Government’s

vermission petitioner attempted to obtain better rock

from another source located nearby on the north side of the

Right Prong of Fourmile Creek, an area which had orig-

inally been specifically disapproved by the Project En-

gineer. (App. A27-A28; A35; A51) The rock on the north

side of the creek, however, proved to be of equaily poor

quality. No other rock sources were available as feasible

alternatives. (App. A35; A49)

Petitioner ultimately completed the Project on Jan-

uary 9, 1980, more than 75 days beyond the original 150

calendar days allowed for contract performance. The Gov-

ernment assessed petitioner $13,845.00 in liquidated dam-

ages, retaining $195.00 for each calendar day of delay after

October 29, 1979.

On February 18, 1980, petitioner submitted 5 total

claim for an equitable adjustment to the contract price in

the amount of $478,268 for the excessive waste rock con-

dition, together with a claim for the full remission of the

$13,845.00 in retained liquidated damages. Following the

submission of the claims, the Government released the

November 27, 1978 geological Trip Report, pursuant to a

Freedom of Information Act request by the petitioner.

(5 U.S.C. §552(a) et seq.) On August 15, 1980, petitioner’s

written claims were certified pursuant to 41 U.S.C.

§605(c) (1). On September 11, 1980, the Contracting Of-

ficer issued a final decision denying the claims.

On October 21, 1980 petitioner brought an action on

its claims against the United States directly in the United

States Court of Claims pursuant to 41 U.S.C. §609(a) (1),

for the trial de novo of its differing site condition claim and

its breach of contract actions based upon fraudulent mis-

representation and non-disclosure of superior knowledge.

On March 23, 1982, the Government filed a motion for

summary judgment under Court of Claims Rule 101, con-

tending that “there is no genuine issue as to any material

fact and defendant is entitled to judgment as a matter of

law.” The Government alleged that the Government-

designated rock source was not “at the site” within the

intended meaning of the differing site conditions clause;

that there were no erroneous representations; and that the

Government’s knowledge concerning the Government-

designated rock source was not superior knowledge. In-

cluded with its motion were a 51l-page brief, and 119 pages

of appended materials.

In response to that motion, petitioner filed a 68-page

brief in opposition, together with 214 pages of appended

documentary exhibits and deposition transcripts, vigor-

ously challenging the contention of the United States that

there was no genuine issue as to any material fact. On

August 12, 1982 the Government filed a 33-page reply

brief, together with 14 pages of appendix materials. The

total record before the Court of Claims on the motion for

summary judgment consisted of over 475 pages of deposi-

tions, affidavits and exhibits.®

On September 24, 1982, the Court of Claims entered

an order, without oral argum. it, granting the United

States’ motion for summary judgment. In addressing the

question of whether the Government had demonstrated

that there was no genuine issue as to any material fact,

the court stated on page 2 of its order:

“Before reciting the facts, we note our conclusion

that there are no genuine issues of material fact in

the record which would, in themselves, preclude sum-

mary judgment. While the inferences and conclusions

drawn from the facts by the parties differ radically at

times, the underlying material facts are not in genuine

dispute.” (App. A2) (Emphasis added.)

On September 30, 1982, the Court of Claims concluded

business. On October 8, 1982, petitioner timely filed a peti-

tion for rehearing and suggestions for rehearing en banc

with the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal

Circuit in accordance with §403(c) of the Federal Courts

Improvement Act of 1982. On December 13, 1982, the

Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit denied the peti-

tion for rehearing and suggestions for rehearing en banc,

without opinion. (App. A13)

3. Material portions of that record are contained in the

Appendix on pages Al5 through A58.

10

ARGUMENT

I. THE COURT OF CLAIMS HAS PRESCRIBED AN

IMPROPER STANDARD OF REVIEW FOR

SUMMARY JUDGMENT

The Court of Claims has prescribed a summary judg-

ment rule in this case which is in direct conflict with the

rules of practice and procedure prescribed by the Su-

preme Court and which flatly contravenes petitioner’s

statutory right to trial de novo under the Contract Dis-

putes Act of 1978. The Court of Claims has, by its ruling

and order in this case, so fundamentally erred and so

completely departed from the usual and accepted course of

judicial proceedings as to call for an exercise of this

Court’s power of supervision.

The rule-making authority of the Court of Claims is

based upon, and subject to, 28 U.S.C. §2071, which pro-

vides:

“The Supreme Court and all courts established

by Act of Congress may from time to time prescribe

rules for the conduct of their business. Such rules

shall be consistent with Acts of Congress and rules of

practice and procedure prescribed by the Supreme

Court.” (Emphasis added. )

See: Moore-McCormack Lines, Inc. v, United States, 175

Ct. Cl. 496, 501 (1966); Kamen Soap Products Co. v. United

States, 124 Ct. Cl, 519, 536-537, 110 F. Supp. 430, 439-440

(1953).

Rule 56(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure,

prescribed by the Supreme Court pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§2072, expressly provides that summary judgment may be

rendered only where the “pleadings, depositions, answers

11

to interrogatories, and admissions on file, together with

the affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine issue

as to any material fact and that the moving party is en-

titled to a judgment as a matter of law.” Pursuant to 28

U.S.C, §2071, the Court of Claims has adopted Rule 101(d)

which, in words identical to those of Rule 56(c), Fed. R.

Civ. P., provides that summary judgment may be rendered

only where it has been shown that there “is no genuine is-

sue as to any material fact.’

While Rule 56(c), Fed. R. Civ. P., and Rule 101(d)

of the Rules of the Court of Claims both expressly pro-

vide that summary judgment may be rendered only where

it has been shown that there is “no genuine issue as to

any material fact,” the Court of Claims has nonetheless

held, by its ruling in this case, that only those disputes as

to the underlying, evidentiary facts themselves shall con-

stitute issues of fact for purposes of summary judgment.

On page 2 of its order, the Court of Claims states:

“Before reciting the facts, we note our conclusion

that there are no genuine issues of material fact in

the record which would, in themselves, preclude sum-

mary judgment. While the inferences and conclusions

drawn from the facts by the parties differ radically at

times, the underlying material facts are not in gen-

uine dispute.” (App. A2) (Emphasis added.)

In spite of the fact that the inferences and conclusions

drawn from the underlying facts by the parties do indeed

differ radically, the Court of Claims has proceeded to sum-

mary judgment based solely and expressly upon the con-

4. Rule 101(d) of the Rules of the Court of Claims is

itself based upon Rule 56(c), Fed. R. Civ. P. See 28 U.S.C,

App. pp. 607-608, “Cross-Reference Table” to Rules of the Court

of Claims; and see generally, Lydon, The 1969 Rules Revision for

the United States Court of Claims, 58 Geo. L.J. 317 (1969).

12

clusion that the “underlying” facts contained in the record

are themselves not in genuine dispute.

In the leading case of United States v. Diebold, Inc.,

369 U.S. 654, 82 S. Ct. 993 (1962), the Supreme Court held

that, where differing inferences may properly be drawn

from the “underlying” facts contained in the record, issues

of ultimate fact are thus raised, and the case is not one

for summary judgment.

“(The District Court’s] findings represent a

choice of inferences to be drawn from the subsidiary

facts contained in the affidavits, attached exhibits

and depositions submitted below. On summary judg-

ment the inferences to be drawn from the underlying

facts contained in such materials must be viewed in

the light most favorable to the party opposing the

motion. A study of the record in this light leads us

to believe that inferences contrary to those drawn

by the trial court might be permissable. The ma-

terials before the District Court having thus raised a

genuine issue as to ultimate facts material to the

rule of International Shoe Co. v. Federal Trade

Comm’n it was improper for the District Court to

decide the applicability of the rule on a motion for

summary judgment. Fed. Rules Civ. Proc., 56(c), 28

U.S.C.A.” 369 U.S. at 655, 82 S. Ct. at 994.

The Supreme Court reaffirmed this principle in Adickes

v. S.H. Kress and Company, 398 U.S. 144, 157-160, 90 S.

Ct. 1598, 1608-1609 (1970), pointing out that the burden

is upon the moving party to establish the absence of a

genuine issue as to any material fact, including any in-

ferences of fact, and that such inferences of fact must be

viewed in the light most favorable to the party opposing

the motion.

13

The United States Courts of Appeals have uniformly

observed this fundamental rule of Diebold. Thus, in

Central National Life Insurance Co. v. Fidelity and

Deposit Company of Maryland, 626 F. 2d 537, 539 (CA 7

1980), the Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit held:

“Equally well settled is the fact that summary

judgment under Rule 56, Fed. R. Civ. P., should be

granted only where it is perfectly clear that there is

no dispute about either the facts of the controversy

or the inferences to be drawn from such facts. United

States v. Diebold, Inc., 369 U.S. 654, 655, 82 S. Ct.

993, 994, 8 L, Ed. 2d 176 (1962). Accordingly, even

though there may be no dispute about the basic facts,

still summary judgment will be inappropriate, if the

parties disagree on the inferences which may reason-

ably be drawn from those undisputed facts.” 626 F. 2d

at 539-540, (Emphasis in original.) °

By its ruling in this case, the Court of Claims has

placed itself in direct conflict with the Supreme Court and

all of the other United States Courts of Appeals, except

the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit.

This summary judgment rule prescribed by the Court

of Claims also violates petitioner’s statutory right to trial

de novo under the Contract Disputes Act of 1978. Under

41 U.S.C. §609(a) (3), all “direct access” actions by Gov-

ernment contractors are to proceed de novo, “in accor-

dance with the rules of the appropriate court.” In Paul E.

Lehman, Inc. v. United States, 673 F. 2d 352, 353 (Ct.

Cl. 1982), the Court of Claims thus recognized that in

5. See also: Empire Electronics Co, v. United States, 311

F. 2d 175, 180-181 (CA 2 1962); Morrison v, Nissan Co., Ltd.,

601 F. 2d. 139, 141 (CA 4 1979); Insurance Company of "North

America v. Bosworth Construction Co., 469 F. 2d 1266, 1268

(CA 5 1972); United States v. Perry, 431 F. 2d 1020, 1022 (CA

: Begg. s Laavett v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., 618 F. 2d 1373, 1377

14

such actions “the court conducts a trial de novo.” More

specifically, prior to October 1, 1982, 28 U.S.C. 82503(a)

and (b) expressly provided that parties to any suit in

the Court of Claims were to be entitled to produce evi-

dence and examine witnesses before a Court of Claims

Trial Judge, and to have a report prepared by that Trial

Judge of his findings of fact in the case. No such findings

of fact were ever prepared in this case, in spite of the fact

that, as the Court of Claims itself observes, the inferences

and conclusions of fact drawn by the parties from -

“underlying” facts differ radically.

Instead, the Court of Claims has undertaken to fashion

an order of summary judgment, disposing of all of the

issues of fact in this complex case, based entirely upon

the selection of various alleged inferences of fact asserted

by the Government in support of its version of the case.

“Selecting one set of conflicting inferences, as opposed to

another, is part of the ultimate factfinding process, not

of the disposition at the summary judgment stage.” Cole

v. Cole, 633 F. 2d 1083, 1089 (CA 4 1980). On a motion

for summary judgment, a court may not “speculate as

to the ultimate findings of fact.” Fortner Enterprises,

Inc. v. United States Steel, 394 U.S. 495, 506, 89 S. Ct.

1252, 1260 (1969); Pepper & Tanner, Inc. v. Shamrock

Broadcasting, Inc., 563 F. 2d 391, 393 (CA 9 1977).

As shown in Part II., infra, this case turns upon com-

plex and crucial issues of ultimate fact involving knowledge,

state of mind and contractual intent, issues which are

6. In accordance with 28 U.S.C. §2503(a) and (b), Rules

13, 133, and 134 of the Rules of the Court of Claims provide

that in all trials in that court, testimony shall be taken “in open

court”; that the Court of Claims Trial Judge shall be responsible

in the first instance for all findings of fact; that the Trial Judge

shall declare the proof closed only after the complete presenta-

tion of evidence; and that after the closing of evidence, the

Trial Judge shall ascertain the facts from the evidence and file

a report of his findings of fact with the Clerk, which report

=> a part of the record. 28 U.S.C. App. pp. 609,

15

wholly inappropriate for disposition on a motion for sum-

mary judgment. Fitzsimmons v. Best, 528 F. 2d 692, 694

(CA 7 1976); Heyman v. Commerce and Industry Insur-

ance Company, 524 F. 2d 1317, 1319-1321 (CA 2 1975);

Charbonnages De France v. Smith, 597 F. 2d 406, 414

(CA-4 1979). In undertaking to decide this case on a

motion for summary judgment, in the face of admittedly

conflicting inferences of fact, the Court of Claims has

denied petitioner its fundamental statutory right to the

trial de novo of all issues of fact, including all issues of

ultimate fact. American Manufacturers Mutual Insurance

Co. v. American Broadcasting-Paramount Theatres, Inc.,

388 F. 2d 272, 279 (CA 2 1967).”

Moreover, this case presents issues of continuing crit-

ical importance for the administration of the Contract

Disputes Act of 1978 by the recently established Court

of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. In its petition for

rehearing and suggestions for rehearing en banc filed

with the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, peti-

tioner urged that court to reconsider the September 24,

1982 order of the Court of Claims as being in direct

conflict with the rule of Diebold, and in clear violation

of petitioner’s statutory right to trial de novo under

41 U.S.C. 8609(a) (3). The Court of Appeals denied the

petition for rehearing and suggestions for rehearing en

banc, without any explication or modification of the ear-

lier order of the Court of Claims. (App. Al3) In failing

to rectify this fundamental error of the Court of Claims,

the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit has itself

7. See also: Evans, Current Procedures in the Court of

Claims, 55 Geo. L.J. 422, 426 n. 37 (1966), specifically pointing

out that where conflicting inferences of fact are drawn by the

parties, “the facts requisite for decision can be adequately de-

termined only through the usual method of submission of find-

ings of fact to the commissioner and his preparation of a report

in the conventional manner.” (Commissioner Evans was Chair-

man of the Court of Claims Committee on Rules from 1959 to

1968).

16

so far sanctioned a departure from the usual and accepted

course of judicial proceedings as to call for an exercise

of this Court’s power of supervision. Moreover, in its

first published decision, dated October 28, 1982, the Court

of Appeals for the Federal Circuit expressly adopted, as

binding precedent for the new judicial circuit, all of the

holdings of the Court of Claims announced prior to the

close of business on September 30, 1982. South Corpora-

tion v. United States, 690 F. 2d 1368, 1369 (CAFC 1982).®

In so adopting the holding of the Court of Claims in the

instant case, the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

has placed itself, and its Federal judicial circuit, squarely

in conflict with the Supreme Court and the other United

States Courts of Appeals, and has effectively prescribed a

procedural rule which essentially vitiates the Government

contractor’s statutory right to trial de novo under 41

U.S.C. §609(a) (3).

II, CONFLICTING INFERENCES OF FACT RAISE

GENUINE ISSUES OF ULTIMATE MATERIAL

FACT

A. Breach of Contract Based Upon Misrepre-

sentation

1. Construction Specification 216-8, Rock Riprap, pro-

vides that “Rock from the designated sources, or from

other sources approved by the Engineer shall be exca-

vated, selected, and handled as necessary to meet the

grading requirements in Section 8 of this specification

or on the drawing” and that “[t]he suitability of the rock

for riprap shall be approved by the Engineer.” (App.

A19)

8. Accordingly, the United States Claims Court will be sub-

ject to the holding of the Court of Claims in this case. Under

§161(10) of the Federal Courts Improvement Act of 1982, ef-

fective October 1, 1982, the Claims Court succeeded to the trial

jurisdiction of the Court of Claims under 41 U.S.C. §609(a).

17

According to his own testimony, Mr. Kilcrease, the

Project Engineer, advised the prospective bidders during

the pre-bid “worksite” tour of the Government-designated

rock source (a) that the source itself was approved; (b)

that the Government geologist had investigated the source

and had determined that it was rock “of quality” and

“hard enough for riprap”; and (c) that the rock at the

source was approved. (App. A27-A28)

Mr. George Spencer, petitioner’s Construction Man-

ager, who prepared petitioner’s bid, testified as follows

concerning his understanding of the specifications and

the Project Engineer’s representations concerning the

Government-designated rock source:

(a) “If a deposit was approved as a rock source it

would indicate to me that there was rock within

that source that would meet the specifications as

set forth in the documents. If the rock in that rock

source were approved it would indicate to me that

the bulk of that deposit would be suitable for the

use intended.” (App. A46) (Emphasis added.)

(b) “In that connection I was led to believe that

approval at the prebid showing was a valid indication

of the integrity of the source. It meant to me that

material from this source would be suitable for con-

struction of this project in accordance with the con-

tract documents.” (App. A48) (Emphasis added.)

(c) “The rock source appeared to me to be com-

petent, suitable for the use intended and we had been

informed that it was an approved source and the rock

in the source had been approved, which indicated

to me that the construction losses would certainly be

within normal amounts, ratios.” (App. A50) —

sis added.)

18

A high percentage of useable rock is the “normal” amount

of recovery which should be expected from a good com-

mercial riprap quarry. (App. A42) In view of the actual

condition of the rock at the Government-designated source,

it is clear that the Government’s representations, as under-

stood by Mr. Spencer, were indeed erroneous, It is beyond

dispute that in fact the vast bulk of the rock at that

source was wholly unsuitable for use as riprap. Fully

60-70%, at a minimum, of the rock material excavated

and handled from the source was unsuitable for use as

riprap, being fines and fragments less than 3 inches in

size. (App. A24; A25; A54-A55) The Government geol-

ogist himself characterized the volume of waste rock

actually encountered as “excessive”, meaning more than

“average or normal.” (App. A39; A42)

The Court of Claims, however, did not even acknowl-

edge this unequivocal testimony of Mr. Spencer in its

recitation of the “facts” on pages 2-7 of its order (App.

A2-A6), or in its discussion of the petitioner’s cause of

action for misrepresentation on pages 8-9 of its order.

(App. A6-A7) Rather, engaging in gross speculation as

to the ultimate facts of the case, the court simply pro-

nounces that the approval of the suitability of the rock

and the rock source pursuant to Construction Specification

216-8 was intended to relate only to those individual rock

fragments of acceptable gradation and quality which might

later be excavated from the source. Thus, the court states

that the Government’s approval was “with respect to the

quality and grading of the rock derived therefrom.” (App.

A4) (Emphasis in original.) Such an interpretation flies

squarely in the face of the Project Engineer’s own testi-

mony that both the Government-designated rock source

and the rock at that deposit were approved by him during

the pre-bid worksite tour. (A27-A28) This was obvi-

ously, and indeed had to be, an approval of the suitability

of the rock in situ, since no riprap at that time even

19

existed, the gradation of which could have been approved.

The interpretation adopted by the Court of Claims as

“fact” is thus not only contrary to the testimony of Mr.

Spencer, but manifestly illogical. The Government geol-

ogist himself testified that the percentage of specification

size rock fragments that it is possible to obtain from a

quarry for riprap is “primarily related to the quality of

the rock.” (App. A43) (Emphasis added.)

The Government, which has the burden of demon-

strating the absence of a genuine issue as to the inter-

pretation of Construction Specification 216-8, has never

even attempted to respond to this unequivocal testimony

of Mr. Spencer and the Government geologist, Adickes,

supra, at 157-159, 90 S. Ct. at 1608-1609.

2. The failure of the Government-designated Project

rock source to produce the necessary 75,000 tons of rock

riprap without excessive waste constituted a separate

breach of the implied warranty of suitability of the source.

United States v. Johnson, 153 F. 2d 846, 847-849 (CA 9 1946).

The Court of Claims has recognized that, in designating

a particular materials source for a Project, the Govern-

ment impliedly represents that the necessary materials

can be obtained frornm that source on a reasonably econom-

ical basis. Tobin Quarries, Inc. v. United States, 114

Ct. Cl. 286, 335, 84 F. Supp. 1021, 1022 (1949). Contrary

to the Court of Claims’ conclusion of “fact” that there

was no “designated” rock source (App. A3; A6; A7; Al0;

Al12), the evidence fully supports the reasonable inference

and conclusion that the Lackner quarry was indeed the

“contractually designated” Project rock source.

Construction Specification 216-8 at Section 2 “MATE-

RIALS” expressly provides that “Rock from the desig-

nated sources, or from other sources approved by the

Engineer shall be excavated, selected, and handled, . .”

(App. Al9) Clause 2, “Specifications and Drawings” of

20

the General Provisions provides that “The Contracting

Officer [including his authorized representative] shall fur-

nish from time to time such . . . information as he may

consider necessary, unless otherwise provided.” Pursuant

to Clause 2, the Project Engineer provided the necessary

further identification of the Government-designated rock

source, already expressly referred to in Section 2 of Con-

struction Specification 216-8 as the “designated” and “ap-

proved” source, by personally identifying its location for

the benefit of the prospective bidders during the pre-bid

worksite tour. As the Project Engineer most forthrightly

testified: “The designated area was approved, yes.”

(App. A28) (Emphasis added.)°

Petitioner’s President, Mr. Cy Schulte, further tes-

tified:

Q. [By Government counsel]: Schulte, prior to the

bidding, what was your understanding about the

contractual requirements regarding the source for

riprap? A. My understanding was that the ma-

terial would come from the designated source.

Q. And what was the designated source? A. Lack-

ner quarry.” (App. A34)

At no time did the Project Engineer advise the prospective

bidders that the proposed Lackner quarry site was not

to be considered the contractually designated Project rock

source. (App. A27-A28) Indeed, under questioning from

petitioner’s Construction Superintendent, he flatly stated

“The rock’s going to come from the Lackner quarry.”

(A32-A33) Moreover, the Assistant Contracting Officer

9. The status of the Lackner quarry as both a eee

“designated” and “approved” source is entirely consistent wi

Construction Specification 216-8—a fact which the Government

eT ce ce ne eee eee eee (App.

21

who attended the April 4, 1979 pre-bid “worksite” showing

expressly identified the Lackner quarry as a part of “the

project.” (App. A26) The foregoing evidence fully sup-

ports the inference and conclusion that the Lackner quarry

was indeed the contractually designated Project rock

source. Moreover, all such inferences must be viewed

in the light most favorable to petitioner. Diebold, supra.

3. In addition to the misrepresentations discussed in

A.l. and A.2., supra, the Government also breached its

contract with the petitioner by misrepresenting the pro-

fessional opinion of its own geologist concerning the suit-

ability of the rock at the Government-designated rock

source.

The Project Engineer expressly advised the prospec-

tive bidders that the Government geologist had inves-

tigated the Government-designated rock source, and had

determined that it was rock “‘of quality” and “hard enough

for riprap.” In fact the geologist had not approved the

rock, but rather had determined that the risk of an “ex-

cessive breakdown of the rock” resulting in an “excessive

quantity of undersized materials” existed at that rock

source, (App. A20) By “excessive” he meant “more than

average or normal.” Furthermore, by his geological Trip

Report of November 27, 1978, he expressly advised the

Soil Conservation Service to conduct test quarrying at

the site, in addition to the laboratory tests then being

conducted, in order to determine the breakdown char-

acteristics of the rock. (App. A20-A21; A40)*°

10. That the Government engineers relied upon this geologi-

cal information is clear from the record. (App. A29; A57)

Moreover, contrary to the court’s recitation of “facts” (App. A4),

the Government —_ expressly testified that his entire pur-

oy in investigating the source was to determine if it would

a “suitable source” (App. A37); that he was advising the

Government engineers as to the economic feasibility of the source

(App. A37); and that the risk of excessive waste was indeed

a to the question of the feasibility of the source. (App.

22

In so representing to the prospective bidders that

the Government geologist had determined that the Gov-

ernment-designated rock source was rock “of quality”

and “hard enough for riprap,” the Government grossly

misrepresented the facts. Indeed, the Project Engineer

testified:

Q. [By counsel for petitioner]: What was your

understanding of the term “hardness of the rock”?

* * * A. To me hardness is just what it says.

The hardness is such that it won’t break up in

handling.

Q. Breaking up— A. In smaller pieces.” (App.

A29)

It was precisely the risk of “an excessive breakdown of

the rock” at the Government-designated rock source about

which the Government geologist warned the Soil Con-

servation Service in his geological Trip Report. (App.

A20) And it was precisely this problem which was the

cause of the enormous quantities of waste rock which peti-

tioner actually encountered at the Government-designated

source. (App. A22-A24) The Government’s misrepresen-

tation of its geologist’s professional opinion constitutes

a clearly actionable misrepresentation of fact. Restate-

ment, Contracts, Second §159 and comment d thereto.

The Project Engineer’s representations concerning the pro-

fessional opinion of the Government geologist constitute

at the very least, an actionable misrepresentation by “‘half-

truth.” Restatement, Contracts, Second, §159, and com-

ment b thereto. While the petitioner discussed this mis-

representation at length on pages 39-44 of its brief in

opposition to the Government’s motion for summary judg-

ment, the Court of Claims avoided even addressing it in

its order of summary judgment. (App. A6-A7)

23

B. Equitable Adjustment Under the Differing

Site Conditions Clause

The Government-designated rock source was the des-

ignated and approved Project rock source referred to in

Construction Specification 216-8. (See discussion in Part

II.A.2., supra.) Moreover, Construction Specification 216-8

expressly required the contractor to excavate, select and

handle the necessary 75,000 tons of rock from the Gov-

ernment-designated rock source. (App. Al9) Under Stock

& Grove, Inc. v. United States, 204 Ct. Cl. 103, 110, 493

F. 2d 629, 632 (1974) (cited by the Court of Claims on

page 15 of its order (App. Al2)), the Government is

therefore contractually responsible under the Differing

Site Conditions clause for that designated rock source.

And see Kaiser Industries Corp. v. United States, 169

Ct. Cl. 310, 323, 340 F. 2d 322, 329 (1965).™

The Government further confirmed that the Govern-

ment-designated rock source was fully intended to be “at

the site” within the intended meaning of the Differing

Site Conditions clause by including it as a central and

integral part of the pre-bid Project “worksite” tour. Pur-

suant to the special “INSPECTION OF WORKSITE”

provision contained in the Invitation for Bids, the Project

Engineer conducted a “worksite” showing of the Project

on April 4, 1979. (App. Al6) The Project Engineer

testified, and petitioner’s Construction Superintendent fur-

11. The contention that some rock source other than the

Government-designated rock source may have existed as a pos-

sible alternative does not relieve the Government of its con-

tractual responsibility for the Project rock source which the

Government designated under the contract. Stock & Grove, supra,

at 110, 310 F.2d at 632. In fact, no other feasible and suitable

rock sources did exist. (App. A35) Indeed, the Project En-

gineer flatly stated that “The rock’s going to come from the

Lackner quarry.” (App. A32-A33) The Grand Reef Mine, al-

luded to by the court in footnote 6 on page 12 of its order (App.

Al0), was inaccessible to construction vehicles (App. A49), and

was never even considered by the Government as a suitable al-

ternative. (App. A41; A56-A57)

24

ther confirmed, that the Project “worksite” tour included

a showing of both the various rock placement sites and

the Government-designated rock source. (App. A27; A30-

A33) The Assistant Contracting Officer also testified

that the pre-bid showing of the Government-designated

rock source was included as an integral part of the Project

worksite tour:

“I attended the site showing of the Aravaipa

Project on April 4, 1978 conducted by Mr. Bobby

Kilcrease. I accompanied Mr. Kilcrease and the group

of potential bidders on a tour of the project, including

a visit to a rock source on the Lackner property.”

(App. A26) (Emphasis added.)

At no time did Mr. Kilcrease advise the prospective bid-

ders that the Government-designated rock source was

not to be considered a part of the Project “worksite.”

(App. A27-A28).

The Court of Claims failed to even include a reference

to the Inspection of Worksite provision in its recitation

of the “facts” of the case, or to acknowledge that the

Government-designated rock source was included as an

integral part of the Project worksite tour, by the Gov-

ernment’s own admission. And the Government, which

has the burden of demonstrating the absence of any gen-

uine issue of fact as to the intended scope of the Differing

Site Conditions clause, did not even attempt to respond

to these facts, Adickes, supra, at 157-159, 90 S. Ct. at

1608-1609."?

12. Openly acknowledging its assumed role of ultimate

fact-finder, the Court of Claims declared on page 15 of its order

that the Government-designated rock source “was by no means

as close to the contract as the quarries in the cited cases.” (App.

Al2) (Emphasis added.) This gross conclusion of fact not only

completely disregards the evidence firmly establishing that the

Government-designated rock source was the contractually des-

ignated and approved rock source, but totally ignores the fact

that the Government-designated rock source was expressly made,

(Continued on following page)

25

Moreover, the excavation, selection and handling of

the rock from the Government-designated rock source

constituted the major item of mandatory subsurface con-

tract work. As such, that contract work was obviously

“at the site”, since the Differing Site Conditions clause

expressly applies to “physical conditions at the site, of

an unusual nature, differing materially from those ordi-

narily encountered and generally recognized as inhering

in work of the character provided for in this contract.”

(App. Al7-Al8) (Emphasis added.) As the Court of

Claims observed in Kaiser Industries Corp., supra,

“The very heart of this undertaking was the ob-

taining of suitable rock in a reasonably economical

manner from a satisfactory quarry. It would be

illogical to conclude that Article 4, specifically ad-

dressed to subsurface conditions, was inapplicable to

the only part of the Project that involved such opera-

tions.” Id. at 323, 340 F. 2d at 329. (Emphasis added.)

The Assistant Contracting Officer expressly characterized

the Government-designated rock source as an integral

part of the “project” in his testimony concerning the

pre-bid worksite tour.”

Footnote continued—

and acknowledged to be, an integral part of the Project “work-

site,” a crucial fact not even present in the cases cited by the

court on pages 12-15 of its order. (App. Al0-A12)

13. That the Lackner quarry operation was contractually

intended to be an integral part of the Project contract “work’

and therefore within the scope of Article 4, is further confirm

by the fact that the Government assigned the Project me ap

tion Inspector to spend at least 50% oe See eee the

quarry operations. (App. A54) Indeed, his daily Construction

Log Book contains detailed reports of the q operation, not-

ing specifically the daily status of the “Work Force, ” in-

cluding men and equipment. (App. These actions are

clearly indicative of the Government’s sisekaiodl intent. Old

Colony Trust Co. v. Omaha, 230 U.S. 100, 118, 33 S. Ct. 967, 972

(1912). The court completely disregards these facts in its reci-

tation of the “ ” (App. A2-A6)

26

Finally, the court makes reference to Paragraph 2(a)

“MATERIALS” of the form set of Special Provisions,

which provides “Unless otherwise specified in this con-

tract the Contractor shall furnish all materials required

for completion of the contract.” (App. A3) This clause

does not even purport to refer to the Government’s ex-

press contractual responsibility for the differing site con-

ditions at the Government-designated rock source. As

the Supreme Court stated in United States v. Spearin,

248 U.S. 132, 137, 39 S. Ct. 59, 61 (1918) such provisions

“concerning contractor’s responsibility cannot be construed

as abridging rights arising under specific provisions of

the contract.” (Emphasis added.)'* In addition, under the

rule of United States v. Seckinger, 397 U.S. 203, 210, 90

S. Ct. 880, 884 (1970), Special Provision 2(a) must “be

construed most strongly against the drafter, which in

this case was the United States.” The Court of Claims,

in its order of summary judgment, never even addressed

these fundamental rules of contract interpretation as they

apply to Special Provision 2(a). And the Government,

which has the burden of demonstrating the absence of

any genuine issue as to the interpretation of these provi-

sions, has never attempted to even show how Special

Provision 2(a) was intended to deprive the mandatory

Differing Site Conditions clause of its normal application

to the Government-designated rock source. Adickes,

14. The Court of Claims itself has repeatedly held that

“clauses to whittle down or cut back the Changed Conditions

clause, which is prescribed for Government contracts, are not

broadly or sympathetically interpreted. Morrison-Knudson Co.

v. United States, 184 Ct. Cl. 661, 685-86, 397 F. 2d 826, 829, 841-42

(1968).” Stock & Grove, Inc. v. United States, 204 Ct. Cl, 103,

110, 493 F. 2d 629, 632 (1974). Thus, in Kaiser Industries Corp.

v. United States, 169 Ct. Cl. 310, 323-324, 340 F. 2d 322, 329

(1965) the court found that “{djefendant’s attempt to divest

itself of all contract responsibility with respect to these sub-

surface quarry conditions... cannot, in view of the retention of

Article 4 in the contract, be sustained,’

27

supra, at 157-159, 90 S. Ct. at 1608-1609. Moreover, as

stated in Fitzsimmons v. Best, supra, at 694 “The inter-

pretation of a contract the terms of which are disputed,

is very much a matter of the intent of the parties who

entered into the contract. Questions of intent are partic-

ularly inappropriate for summary judgment.” In such

circumstances, “[the court is] required to resolve all

ambiguities and disagreements in favor of the party

against whom summary judgment is sought, see United

States v, Diebold, Inc., supra, 369 U.S. at 655, 82 S. Ct.

993.” Heyman v. Commerce and Industry Co., 524 F. 2d

1317, 1321 (CA 2 1975).

C. Breach of Contract by Non-Disclosure of Su-

perior Knowledge

The court’s pronouncement that “the parties’ knowl-

edge was based upon data equally available to both” con-

stitutes gross speculation as to the ultimate facts of this

case. Fortner Enterprises, Inc. v. United States Steel,

supra. (App. A9) Contrary to the court’s assertion on

page 10 of its order (App. A8), that Mr. Spencer was

“aware of the potential significance of the extensive

jointing and fissuring of the rock,” Mr. Spencer expressly

testified that he did not consider the joints and fractures

which he observed to be “extensive” with respect to their

spacing. (App. A53)"® Specifically, he testified that the

distance between the joints and fractures which he ob-

served ranged at intervals of from 2 to 3 inches, at the

closest, up to several feet, and that he did not consider

15. The specifications provided that the rock riprap was

to be generally uniformly graded from 3 inches up to 18 inches,

with an allowance for 5% under 3 inches. The problem with

the excessive waste resulted from the fact that the material from

the Government-designated rock source was breaking down to

produce fines and fragments, 60-70% of which were smaller

than 3 inches in size. (App. A24; A30)

28

them to pose any problem with respect to rock breakdown.

(App. A53) Moreover, he considered the rock to be only

slightly to moderately weathered, and “very minor” in

extent. (App. A52) All told, on the basis of his April 9,

1979, pre-bid site inspection of the exposed rock out-

croppings at the Government-designated rock source (no

subsurface rock was exposed, since the rock source had

never previously been worked), Mr. Spencer testified that

“the rock source appeared to me to be competent, suitable

for the use intended and we had been informed that it was

an approved source and the rock in the source had been

approved, which indicated to me that the construction

losses would certainly be within normal amounts, ratios.”

(App. A50)

By contrast, Mr. Sanders, the Government’s geologist,

testified that on the basis of his November, 1978 geological

investigation of the Government-designated rock source,

he had determined that the jointing and fracturing which

he observed was “a result of the structural history of the

area; the movement of the rock masses probably related

to faulting”; and that it was therefore to be expected

that the subsurface bedrock would be weathered along

such fracture zones, (App. A39; A42)** He subsequently

reported, in his July 23, 1979 geological Trip Report, that

“(t]he problems with obtaining a high percentage of use-

able rock result from the high degree of fracturing, fault-

16. Mr. Sanders is an experienced Government geologist.

(App. A35; A36; A44-A45) Mr. Spencer, petitioner’s Construc-

tion Manager, by contrast is a civil engineer. (App. A45) The

Government engineers, who designed this Project, considered Mr.

Sanders’ geological advice and assistance essential to their plan-

ning of the Project, and specifically relied upon his geological

“knowledge, experience and expertise” in conducting the Govern-

ment’s evaluation of the Government-designated rock source.

(App. A29; A35; A57) Prior to his on-site investigation of the

Lackner quarry on November 17, 1978, the Government geologist

consulted a geological map of the area, and a geological publica-

tion maintained at his office in order to determine the geological

history and rock structure of the Project area. (App. A37; A44)

29

ing and weathering associated with these features; It is

extremely difficult to establish a blasting pattern to yield

a greater percentage of useable material due to the bed-

rock.” (App. A22-A23) He further expressly testified

that he was not surprised by the excessive waste, and

that indeed he expected such excessive waste to be en-

countered. (App. A42)**’ The foregoing evidence clearly

and convincingly supports the inference and conclusion

that the Government was indeed possessed of superior

knowledge concerning the subsurface geological conditions

at the Government-designated rock source.

Moreover, as discussed in Part II.A., supra, the Govern-

ment’s designation and approval of the Lackner quarry as

the Project rock source constituted a representation and

warranty that the material at the source was suitable for

the use intended. This was the understanding of peti-

tioner’s Construction Manager, and nothing in his pre-bid

inspection of the source led him to believe otherwise. The

law is well-settled that prospective bidders are not re-

quired to conduct extensive and costly subsurface ex-

ploratory investigations, such as test quarrying, in order

to verify such representations and warranties. United

States v. Spearin, supra, at 135-137, 39 S. Ct. at 61; Holler-

bach v. United States, 233 U.S. 165, 172, 34 S. Ct. 553, 556

(1914). The record is this case fully supports the con-

clusion that the prospective bidders should not reasonably

have been expected to test quarry the Government-

designated rock source. The Government had over

3 months, between its geological investigation in Novem-

ber, 1978 and the issuance of the Invitation for Bids on

March 16, 1979, within which to perform the recommended

test quarrying. The Government engineer who made the

17. Com with the court’s footnote 5 on page 10 of its

order (App. A8), asserting there was no evidence that the Gov-

ernment geologist knew that the excessive waste would be en-

30

decision not to test quarry testified that his decision may

have been based on “a time limitation.” (App. A56) The

prospective bidders had one week from the April 4, 1979

worksite showing of the Government-designated source

to the April 11, 1979 bid opening within which to pre-

pare a bid for the Project.’* Contrary to the court’s ap-

parent conclusion that “more conclusive data was available”

in the form of test quarrying (App. A9), the facts of the

case clearly support the reasonable inference and conclu-

sion that such “data” was most certainly not available in

the time allowed by the Government for the preparation

and submission of bids.

CONCLUSION

The summary judgment rule prescribed by the Court

of Claims in this case is in direct conflict with the rule

announced by the Supreme Court in United States v. Die-

bold, Inc., supra. In issuing an order of summary judg-

ment in this complex case, in the face of conflicting infer-

ences and conclusions of fact, the Court of Claims has vio-

lated petitioner’s fundamental statutory right to trial de

novo. Petitioner respectfully prays that the Court grant its

Petition For Writ of Certiorari, and that it vacate the

Court of Claims’ order of summary judgment and remand

this case to the United States Claims Court for trial in ac-

cordance with 41 U.S.C. §609(a).

BERNARD M. JUNG

18. In similar circumstances, the Court of Claims found in

Foster Construction C.A. v. United States, 193 Ct. Cl. 587, 616,

435 F. 2d 873, 888-889 re that “[t]he duty of the bidders

to investigate the site did not require to conduct geological

or other technical investigations, costly and perhaps impossible

in the 20 days available.”

Al

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF CLAIMS

No. 571-80C

L. G. EVERIST, INC., d/b/a CONNOLLY-

PACIFIC CO.

v.

THE UNITED STATES

Contracts; misrepresentation; superior knowledge;

equitable adjustment

Bernard M. Jung, attorney of record, for plaintiff.

Sandra P. Spooner, with whom was Assistant Attorney

General J. Paul McGrath, for defendant.

Before FRIEDMAN, Chief Judge, NICHOLS and

SMITH, Judges.

ORDER

(Filed September 24, 1982)

Plaintiff in this case seeks direct access review of a

contracting officer’s decision under the provisions of the

Contract Disputes Act of 1978. The case is before us on

defendant’s motion for summary judgment. Plaintiff

opposes the motion on the grounds that genuine issues

of material fact remain and that defendant is not entitled

to judgment as a matter of law. We grant defendant’s

motion for summary judgment.

A2

As is usual in this kind of case, plaintiff seeks relief

both off and on the contract. Off the contract, plaintiff

alleges that defendant has breached the contract on two

theories. First, plaintiff claims that the Government

fraudulently misrepresented the quantity of acceptable

rock in a quarry that the Government had approved as

a source for rock for the project herein. Second, plaintiff

claims that the Government had superior knowledge of

the quantity of acceptable rock, which it had a duty to

disclose to plaintiff but did not. On the contract, plaintiff

claims entitlement to an equitable adjustment based on

the Differing Site Conditions clause of the contract for

the unexpectedly small quantity of acceptable rock in

the quarry. We will discuss these three issues in the

foregoing order.

Before reciting the facts, we note our conclusion that

there are no genuine issues of material fact in the record

which would, in themselves, preclude summary judgment.

While the inferences and conclusions drawn from the facts

by the parties differ radically at times, the underlying

material facts are not in genuine dispute.

In early 1978, the Soil Conservation Service (SCS)

of the Department of Agriculture began planning the con-

struction of emergency streambank restoration on the

Aravaipa Creek in Arizona. As set out in the invitation

for bids (IFB), the contract, and the specifications, the

basic design of this project involved a compacted earth

fill core, with rock facing—called “riprap”’—to prevent

erosion. The specification for the riprap' read, in pertinent

part:

1. The Government used Specification No. 216-8—Rock

Riprap, instead of the more rigorous Nos, 61—Loose Rock Riprap

and 523—Rock for Riprap, because this project was designated

an emergency project pursuant to 7 C.F.R. §§ 624.1-624.9 (1982).

Of course, only the provisions of Specification No. 216-8 are

relevant here.

A3

2. MATERIALS

Individual rock fragments shal] be dense, sound and

free from cracks, seams and other defects conducive

to accelerated weathering. The rock fragments shall

be angular to subrounded in shape. The least dimen-

sion of each individual rock fragment shall be not less

than one-third the greatest dimension of the fragment.

Rock from the designated sources, or from other

sources approved by the Engineer[,] shall be exca-

vated, selected, and handled as necessary to meet the

grading requirements in Section 8 of the specification

or on the drawing. * * *

The specification addresses the characteristics of riprap.

First, it describes the quality of the rock itself. This

aspect of riprap is discussed at some length in the SCS

National Engineering Handbook, cited by plaintiff, where

the “quality” of rock is described as its soundness and

durability. Second, the specification describes the size,

or grading, of the rock used for riprap, The approval

requirement in section 8—‘‘The suitability of the rock tor

riprap shall be approved by the Engineer * * *”—refers

to these characteristics.

Besides its characteristics, the other issue concerning

the riprap is its source. There are only two references

to source in the contract. The first is Special Provision

2(a):

Unless otherwise specified in this contract the Con-

tractor shall furnish all materials required for the

completion of the contract.

The second is in the specification, quoted above: “the

designated sources, or * * * other sources approved by

the Engineer.” In the absence of any other contract

provisions relating to source, we must conclude that there

is no “designated source” of rock, that the contractor is

A4

free to find and use any source, that it is the contractor’s

duty to find a source, and that the source chosen by the

contractor is to be approved by the Government with

respect to the quality and grading of the rock derived

therefrom.

On November 17, 1978, as part of the preparation for

the project, Aubrey C. Sanders, Jr., an experienced Gov-

ernment geologist, made a field trip to one potential local

source of riprap, the Lackner quarry, for the purpose of

determining whether there was any local source of riprap.

Unless some source existed, regardless of its commercial

attractiveness, the project could not be undertaken at all.

The Lackner quarry was close to the project site, but it

was neither owned, operated, nor used by the Government.

Mr. Sanders stayed at the quarry for about one and

a half hours and produced a report (dated November 27,

1978) in which he stated that the rock was of sufficient

quality but expressed some reservations about the partic-

ular source. Noting that the rock was extensively fissured

and jointed, he was concerned that there could be “some

problem relative to excessive breakdown of the rock,

thereby yielding an excessive quantity of undersized mate-

rials.” He concluded that, all told, the quarry would

provide a sufficient quantity of rock of the appropriate

grading, but he cautioned that “a determination to use

this source should be contingent upon the results of * * *

test quarrying to evaluate the breakdown characteristics

of the rock.’”* The report was not made available to

prospective bidders.

2. Mr. Sanders also recommended laboratory tests, but it is

clear that such tests related solely to the quality of the rock.

These tests were conducted with satisfactory results.

The Government did not conduct any test quarrying because,

from its point of view, the purpose of the preparatory work was

only to ensure that a source of riprap existed, not necessarily

an economical source.

A5

On March 16, 1979, the IFB was issued. It contained

the contract provisions discussed above and announced

that tours of the site would be conducted. Pursuant to

this notice, an employee of plaintiff, L. G. Everist, who

was not a geologist, participated in a site tour on April 4,

1979, led by Bob Kilcrease, the SCS Area Engineer. Mr.

Everist (along with others) was taken to the construction

site and then to the Lackner quarry. Mr. Kilcrease told

the group that the Lackner quarry was an approved

source. According to his testimony, Mr. Everist took this

to mean that there was a sufficient quantity of rock of

adequate quality to satisfy the requirements of the con-

tract. Mr. Kilcrease also made it clear that the Govern-

ment did not own the quarry and that bidders would have

to strike their own bargain with Lackner. Mr. Everist

left the tour with the impression that the Government

expected that the Lackner quarry would be used because

of its proximity, but that bidders were free to use another

quarry, so long as its rock was approved,

A few days later, on April 9, 1979, Mr. Everist again

toured the quarry, this time with George Spencer, another

employee of plaintiff. Mr. Spencer was not a geologist

but he had had 30 years of experience in evaluating poten-

tial quarry sites for plaintiff. Mr. Spencer flew over

Lackner and another potential local source, the Grand

Reef Mine, and he toured Lackner on foot. He was aware

that Lackner was aproved for quality and understood

that his task was to decide whether it was also economical.

From the record it is clear that Mr. Spencer made virtually

the same observations as Mr, Sanders did, but Mr. Spencer

conducted no laboratory tests and did not consider test

quarrying due to the small size of the project. He con-

cluded that the Lackner quarry should be used and rec-

ommended it to his superior.

A6

Plaintiff submitted its bid on April 11, 1979, and was

awarded the contract on May 2, 1979. The contract, as

stated in the IFB, contained a Differing Site Conditions

clause; it required approval of any choice of rock; it neither

designated nor mentioned any quarry; and it required the

contractor to be responsible for supplying the materials

for construction.

Shortly after commencing quarrying operations, the

tendency of the Lackner rock to break excessively into

small pieces became apparent. The waste rate was run-

ning at about 50 percent, far higher than expected. There

is no dispute that the high waste rate slowed production

and increased costs to plaintiff. There is also no dispute

that an adequate quantity of riprap was eventually ob-

tained from the Lackner quarry.’ The contracting officer

denied plaintiff relief in a decision of September 11, 1980,

and plaintiff promptly filed its petition in this court on

October 21, 1980.

We first consider plaintiff's two breach of contract

claims—(1) misrepresentation and (2) superior knowledge

—and then consider (3) the equitable adjustment claim.

1. Plaintiff's claim of misrepresentation is founded

upon the contrast it draws between Mr. Sander’s reserva-

tions about the breakdown size of the rock in the Lackner

quarry and the statements of Mr. Kilcrease that the quarry

was an approved source of rock. The obvious difficulty

with this theory is the distinction, clearly drawn by the

contract, the specifications, Mr. Sanders, and Mr. Kilcrease

—and clearly understood by Messrs. Everist and Spencer—

3. The quarry consisted of two steep slopes facing each

other across a creek. The primary location was the northern

slope; however, Mr. Sanders noted in his first report that the

southern slope could be used if inadequate quantities were found

at the primary slope. Plaintiff did have to resort to the southern

A7

between the required physical characteristics of the riprap

(quality and grading) and the commercial requirements

for the source of the riprap. The short of the matter is

that Mr. Sanders expressed some hesitancy about the

amount of waste that might be involved, but Mr, Kilcrease

made no representations in that respect at all.‘ Mr. Kil-

crease said, and was only understood to say, that the

quality of rock was approved and that an adequate quan-

tity of it was available at Lackner. Plaintiff has alleged

no facts which would indicate that Mr. Kilcrease suggested

in any way what the cost of the quarrying would be.

Nor should we expect that such representations were

made. Bidders were encouraged to visit the project site

and to note sources of materials, and part of the calcula-

tion of the bid price must have been the estimated cost

of acquiring the required amount of riprap from whatever

source and by whatever means chosen. This was the

whole point of Mr. Spencer’s visit to the area, He visited

the Lackner quarry and the Grand Reef Mine and flew

over the whole area for the purpose of recommending

the most commercially attractive quarry. Having been

told only that the Government approved the Lackner rock

for quality and quantity, he chose Lackner as the most

economical.

Plaintiff's claim of misrepresentation must fail be-

cause the Government made no erroneous representation

material to the problem—excessive waste—upon which

plaintiff bases its suit, nor did plaintiff’s representatives

understand that any such representation was made.

4. It is instructive to compare this case with Tcbin Quarries,

Inc. v. United States, 114 Ct. Cl. 286, 333, 84 F. Supp. 1021,

1022 (1949). There the court found that a misrepresentation,

albeit innocent, had occurred because in designating in the con-

tract a ar site for the quarry the Government implicitly

represented that it was economical. Here, by contrast, no

designation was

A8

2. Plaintiff’s superior knowledge claim must also fail

on the threshold issue: we cannot find from the record

or from plaintiff’s factual allegations that the Government

had superior knowledge not reasonably available to plain-

tiff. Rather than entering into a detailed discussion of

the factors set out in Helene Curtis Industries ». United

States, 160 Ct. Cl. 437, 443-44, 312 F.2d 774, 778 (1963),

and H, N. Bailey & Assocs. v. United States, 196 Ct. Cl.

156, 177-78, 449 F.2d 376, 382-83 (1971), in this case we

are presented with a straightforward comparison of avail-

able information.

Mr. Spencer, while not a trained geologist, had a

great deal of experience in precisely the task before him.

His testimony and his longevity in his post demonstrate

that he was qualified for the task. Both he and Mr.

Sanders inspected the quarry on foot; Mr. Spencer also

examined it from the air. The observations of the two

were nearly identical and both were aware of the potential

significance of the extensive jointing and fissuring of the

rock. Mr. Spencer testified:

Q: [by Government counsel] Did you consider

whether these natural joints and fractures might

cause [exc]essive breakage when the placing was

done?

* os *

A: I decided they would not. [Emphasis supplied. ]

The only real difference between their reports was

their conclusions,® and then only in that Mr. Sanders was

5. Plaintiff makes much of Mr. Sanders’ statement, upon a

return visit to Lackner after | geen =! began to experience dif-

ficulties, that “[t]he degree o hee geen ta however, is not un-

expected as ted by my trip rt dated November 27,

1978.” (Emphasis supplied.) The post double negative cannot

be relied upon as evidence that Mr, Sanders knew that there

would be a high degree of breakdown. Indeed, his earlier sug-

on of test quarrying shows that he was in doubt prior to the

AQ

inclined to be cautious about the breakage rate and Mr.

Spencer was not. While Mr. Sanders would have test

quarried before using Lackner, Mr. Spencer, who was

actually deciding whether to use it, testified:

Q: [by Government counsel] Did you consider doing

some test quarrying?

A: No, ma’am.

ses ®@

Not on a job this size.

Q: Because it is too small?

A: That is correct.

We conclude that the parties’ knowledge was based

upon data equally available to both and that, while more

conclusive data was available, neither party chose to obtain

it. In these circumstances, there is no duty imposed upon

the Government to disclose its information to plaintiff.

T. F. Scholes, Inc. v. United States, 174 Ct. Cl. 1215, 1226,

357 F.2d 963, 970 (1966).

3. Finally, plaintiff's claim on the contract for an

equitable adjustment under the Differing Site Conditions

clause must fail because the excessive waste spoilage at

the Lackner quarry was not a site condition to which

the clause applied. The Differing Site Conditions clause

reads, in pertinent part:

(a) The Contractor shall promptly * * * notify

the Contracting Officer in writing of: (1) Subsurface

or latent physical conditions at the site differing mate-

rially from those indicated in this contract, or (2)

unknown physical conditions at the site, of an unusual

nature, differing materially from those ordinarily en-

countered and generally recognized as inhering in

work of the character provided for in this contract.

* * * [Emphasis supplied. ]

Al0

Our discussion of the terms of the contract should amply

demonstrate that the Lackner quarry was not “the site”

within the meaning of the contract. The Lackner quarry

was not designated or even mentioned by the contract;

furthermore, the contract made plaintiff solely responsible

for the acquisition of riprap. The Lackner quarry was

“at the site” only in the sense that plaintiff used it, not

within the contemplation of the contract.°

This does not entirely conclude our inquiry, however,

for this court has consistently given the Differing Site

Conditions clause a broad scope to effectuate it fully.

Kaiser Industries Corp, v. United States, 169 Ct. Cl. 310,

323-24, 340 F.2d 322, 329-30 (1965); Morrison-Knudsen Co.

v. United States, 184 Ct. Cl. 661, 666, 397 F.2d 826, 829

(1968); Stock & Grove, Inc. v. United States, 204 Ct. Cl.

103, 134-35, 493 F.2d 629, 646 (1974). Plaintiff argues,

based on the Kaiser doctrine that the Government cannot

disclaim all responsibility for conditions which, while

nominally not covered by the contract’s terms, are neces-

sarily part of the contractor’s performance. Kaiser Indus-

tries, 169 Ct. Cl. at 323-24, 340 F.2d at 329-30. Stated

thus, Kaiser states a doctrine which we wholeheartedly

endorse. On the other hand, it should not be expanded

to subvert the meaning of the contract.

The question for us is whether the use of the Lackner

quarry was necessarily so bound up with the contractor’s

performance that the Government should be responsible

for the conditions at the quarry. Examining the cases, we

6. To test the validity of this proposition, one might con-

sider the consequences of plaintiff's choosing the Grand Reef

Mine instead of the Lackner quarry. Not one word of the

contract or specifications would have changed, yet surely it is

clear that if plaintiff had chosen Grand Reef, all other facts re-

maining the same, plaintiff would have no action against the

Government. It only remains to be noted that plaintiff clearly

considered such an action in visiting Grand Reef Mine and in

making an aerial survey of the entire area.

All

find two particularly significant factors: the first and

most important is the extent to which the contract (and

accompanying drawings or specifications) or circumstances

anticipate the use of a particular quarry; the second is the

size of the difference between anticipated or represented

conditions and the actual conditions.

In Tobin Quarries, Inc. v. United States, 114 Ct. Cl.

286, 84 F. Supp. 1021 (1949), the contract required the

contractor to quarry its rock Moose Creek Butte, which

the Government represented to be “a solid rock forma-

tion.” Id, at 331-32, 84 F. Supp. at 1021. In that case,

however, there was an extreme amount of waste, stated by

the contractor to be 10 to 1 and 3 to 1, waste to suitable

rock, in various locations. Id. at 301, 304, 332, 84 F. Supp.

at 1021-22.

The facts in Kaiser were more extreme, which may

account for its broadly worded holding. In that case, the

Government owned two local quarries which, after years

of investigation, it had found to be the only ones in the

area. Kaiser Industries, 169 Ct. Cl. at 314, 340 F.2d at

324. The contract itself stated that the quarries were

“approved”—the Government had conducted extensive in-

vestigation of the quarries—and could be used without

charge. Id. at 314, 321-22, 340 F.2d at 324, 328-29. Indeed,

the way the bidding was set up, the Government in effect

allocated a particular quarry to the contractor. Id. at 319,

340 F.2d at 327. The quarry first used was “not a com-

mercially operable one at all.” It yielded 60 percent waste

and was exhausted of all usable material long before pro-

ducing the amount required by the contract. Id. at 314-15,

340 F.2d at 324-25.

Morrison-Knudsen also differs significantly from the

instant case. That contract not only designated borrow

pits, but it and the 98 accompanying drawings described

their location, section, relation to the project, and capacity

Al2

in great detail. Morrison-Knudsen, 184 Ct. Cl. at 672-73,

397 F.2d at 833. The proposal also included for the bid-

ders’ perusal field studies and material studies of the pits.

Id. at 672, 397 F.2d at 833. As in Kaiser, the pits failed

even to supply the quantity of material required by the

contract—contrary to express representations—and all of

the material from some of them was rejected by the Gov-

ernment for its low quality. Id. at 674, 379 F.2d at 834.

Finally, in Stock & Grove, the court was again pre-

sented with a contract that designated a specific site as

the quarry and required the contractor to quarry there.

Stock & Grove, 204 Ct. Cl. at 107, 110, 493 F.2d at 630,

632. And despite the Government’s implicit representa-

tions of quantity and quality, id. at 107-08, 493, F.2d at 630,

the contractor could not complete the contract without

more material from a new quarry and relaxed quality re-

quirements. Id.

Without again rehearsing the facts of the instant case

it should be apparent that the Lackner quarry was by no

means as close to the present contract as the quarries in

the cited cases. Neither the contract here, nor any of its

attachments, made any reference to Lackner and, as repre-

sented, Lackner supplied a fully sufficient quantity and

quality of rock for the project. It supplied the rock at

a higher cost than anticipated, but, in the circumstances,

that one fact cannot bring this case within the ambit of

the Kaiser doctrine.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED, after thorough con-

sideration of the parties’ submissions and without oral

argument, that defendant’s motion for summary judgment

is granted and the petition is dismissed.

BY THE COURT

/s/ Edward S. Smith

Edward S, Smith

Judge

SEP 24 1982

Al3

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

No. 571-80C

L. G. EVERIST, INC.,

d/b/a CONNOLLY-PACIFIC CO.,

Appellant,

v.

THE UNITED STATES,

Appellee.

ORDER

A suggestion for rehearing en banc and a petition for

reconsideration having been filed in this case,

UPON CONSIDERATION THEREOF, it is Ordered by

the court that the suggestion for rehearing en banc and

the petition be, and the same are hereby, Denied.

FOR THE COURT:

/s/ George E. Hutchinson

Clerk

December 13, 1982

Date

Al4

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

717 Madison Place, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20439

George E. Hutchinson Telephone: 633-6550

Clerk Area Code 202

Date November 9, 1982

APPEAL NO. 571-80C, L.G. Everist, Inc. d/b/a

Connolly-Pacific Co. v. The

United States

The following has been receivea and filed this date:

October 8, 1982.

( ) Appendix/Brief (NOTE: Appellee’s Brief due

40 days from the date

of service)

( ) Brief for Appellee

( ) Brief for Amicus Curiae

( ) Reply Brief

(X) Petition for Rehearing & Rehearing and Sug-

gestions for Rehearing In Banc

4

George E. Hutchinson, Clerk

/s/ Elizabeth J. Carroll

By Elizabeth J. Carroll

Deputy Clerk

Al5

INVITATION FOR BIDS

(CONSTRUCTION CONTRACT)

INVITATION NO.

SCS-11-AZ-79

DATE

March 16, 1979

NAME AND LOCATION DEPARTMENT OR

OF PROJECT AGENCY

Aravaipa Creek U. S. Department of

Emergency Agriculture

Watershed Project Soil Conservation

Graham County, Service

Arizona

BY (issuing office)

Soil Conservation Service

Room 3008 - Federal Bldg.

230 N. First Ave.

Phoenix, AZ 85025

Sealed bids in single copy for the work described herein

will be received until 1:00 p.m. local time at the place of

bid opening April 11, 1979 at Room 3008 - Federal Build-

ing, 230 N. ist Ave., Phoenix, Arizona 85025 and at that

time publicly opened.

Information regarding bidding material, bid guarantee,

and bonds

sf. ®*®

The following attachments hereto form a part of this in-

vitation for bids and any resultant contract: Bid Sched-

ule, Special Provisions, General Provisions-Standard Form

Al6

23-A, Labor Standard Provisions - Standard Form 19-A,

Instructions to Contractors Form AD-425b, Disabled Vet-

erans of the Vietnam Era - AD-716, Employment of the

Handicapped - Form AD-655, and Specifications and Draw-

ings listed under “Contents”.

Description of work Construction of emergency stream

bank restoration including compacted earth fill and rock

riprap. The work will be commenced within ten (10)

calendar days and completed within 150 calendar days

after date of receipt of notice to proceed.

INSPECTION OF WORKSITE - Prospective bidders may

assemble at the Post Office, Klondike, Arizona on Wednes-

day March 29, 1979 and Wednesday April 4, 1979 for a

group showing of the worksite. The group will leave at

10:00 a.m. on each of the above days. If you are unable

to attend one of the group showings, arrangements to

inspect the site may be made with Bob Kilcrease, Area

Engineer, SCS, 3241 Romero Rd., Tucson, Arizona 85705

(Phone: (602) 792-6602).

BID SCHEDULE

ARAVAIPA CREEK PROJECT

EMERGENCY WATERSHED PROTECTION - 216

Bid Spec. Unit

Item Work or Material No. Unit Quantity Cost Amount

1 Mobilization 216-1 Job 1

2 Loose Rock

Riprap 216-8 Ton 75,000

Al7

GENERAL PROVISIONS

(Construction Contract)

1. DEFINITIONS

(b) The term “Contracting Officer” as used herein

means the person executing this contract on behalf of

the Government and includes a duly appointed successor

or authorized representative.

2. SPECIFICATIONS AND DRAWINGS

The Contractor shall keep on the work a copy of the

drawings and specifications and shall at all times give the

Contracting Officer access thereto. Anything mentioned

in the specifications and not shown on the drawings, or

shown on the drawings and not mentioned in the specifi-

cations, shall be of like effect as if shown or mentioned

in both. In case of difference between drawings and

specifications, the specifications shall govern. In case of

discrepancy either in the figures, in the drawings, or in

the specifications, the matter shall be promptly submitted

to the Contracting Officer, who shall promptly make a

determination in writing. Any adjustment by the Con-

tractor without such a determination shall be at his own

risk ana expense. The Contracting Officer shall furnish

from time to time such detail drawings and other informa-

tion as he may consider necessary, unless otherwise pro-

vided.

4. Dirrertnc Site Conpirions

(a) The Contractor shall promptly, and before such

conditions are disturbed, notify the Contracting Officer

in writing of: (1) Subsurface or latent physical conditions

Als

at the site differing materially from those indicated in this

contract, or (2) unknown physical conditions at the site,

of an unusual nature, differing materially from those

ordinarily encountered and generally recognized as inher-

ing in work of the character provided for in this contract.

The Contracting Officer shall promptly investigate the

conditions, and if he finds that such conditions do ma-

terially so differ and cause an increase or decrease in the

Contractor’s cost of, or the time required for, performance

of any part of the work under this contract, whether or

not changed as a result of such conditions, an equitable

adjustment shall be made and the contract modified in

writing accordingly.

(b) No claim of the Contractor under this clause

shall be allowed unless the Contractor has given the notice

required in (a) above; provided, however, the time pre-

scribed therefor may be exteuded by the Government.

(c) No claim by the Contractor for an equitable ad-

justment hereunder shall be allowed if asserted after the

final payment under this contract.

Alg

SOIL CONSERVATION SERVICE

ARIZONA

CONSTRUCTION SPECIFICATION

216-8. ROCK RIPRAP

2. MATERIALS

Individual rock fragments shall be dense, sound and

free from cracks, seams and other defects conducive

to accelerated weathering. The rock fragments shall

be angular to subrounded in shape. The least di-

mension of each individual rock fragment shall be

not less than one-third the greatest dimension of

the fragment.

Rock from the designated sources, or from other

sources approved by the Engineer shall be excavated,

selected, and handled as necessary to meet the grading

requirements in Section 8 of this specification or on

the drawing. When filter or bedding material is

specified, it shall be selected to meet the grading re-

quirements in Section 8 or on the drawings.

8. ITEMS OF WORK AND CONSTRUCTION DETAILS

Items of work to be performed in conformance with

this specification and the construction details are:

a. Bid Item 2, Loose Rock Riprap

(1) This item shall consist of the furnishing and

placing of loose rock riprap, including shap-

ing the slopes and excavating for the toe,

as shown on the drawings and as staked in

the field.

(2) The suitability of the rock for riprap shall be

approved by the Engineer.

Aravaipa Creek, Arizona

Emergency Watershed Frotection § (216-8-3) 2/79

A20

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Soil Conservation Service

River Basin-Watershed Planning Staff

Suite 326, Arizona Title Bldg., 111 W. Monroe,

Phoenix, AZ 85003

DATE: November 27, 1978

SUBJECT: MGT - Trip Report - Geologic Assistance

on Aravaipa Creek

TO: T. Niles Glasgow

RBWP Staff Leader

On Friday, November 17th I travelled to Klondyke where

I met Bobby Kilcrease, Gene Goostree, a U.S. Forest Service

representative and the owner of Fourmile Ranch. The

purpose of this trip was to evaluate locally available rock

materials for use as riprap in conjunction with channel

stabilization work in the area.

The proposed quarry site is located in the SE 1/4 of sec-

tion 27, Township 7 South, Range 19 East on the south side

of Fourmile Creek. The rock is exposed on a steep, north

facing slope. This rock was field classified as andesite

porphry. Exposed rock is slightly to moderately weathered

at the surface. Weathering effects probably extend to a

depth of only a few feet. Fractures and joints cut the rock

at intervals ranging from a few inches to several feet.

The main limiting factor in using this source would ap-

pear to be the extensive jointing and fracturing. This

may create some problem relative to excessive breakdown

of the rock, thereby yielding an excessive quantity of

undersized materials. This problem can only be assessed

fully by doing some test quarrying at the site. The rock

appears to be of suitable hardness for use as riprap. How-

ever, the final determination of this should be based

upon the results of the tests currently being performed on

A21

rock samples submitted for laboring testing. This data will

be provided when testing is completed.

An alternate site was examined on the north side of the

creek about 400 feet west of the primary site. At this site

an andesitic basalt dike has intruded the porphry. This

rock is more dense and considerably less fractured than

the prophry. The dike is about 25 to 30 feet in width

and raises an estimated 40 feet above the canyon floor.

The dike trends in a northwesterly direction. This rock

appears to be of superior quality to the porphry. It is more

dense and much less fractured.

The required quantity of riprap has not yet been deter-

mined. The alternate site may not yield the required quan-

tity of material from the dike material. However, the ad-

jacent material is porphry like that at the primary site.

It is therefore recommended that the alternate site be

used as a riprap source. If the dike material does not yield

an adequate quantity of riprap than the adjacent porphry

could be utilized.

The primary site appears to offer useable materials. How-

ever, a determination to use this source should be con-

tingent upon the results of the laboratory tests in con-

junction with test quarrying to evaluate the breakdown

characteristics of the rock.

Aubrey C. Sanders Jr.

November 22, 1978

cc: (w/o att)

Ralph N. Arrington, SCE, Phoenix, AZ

Joseph L. Knisley, Jr., AC, Tucson, AZ

Bobby G. Kilcrease, ABS, Tucson, AZ

Gene R. Goostree, DC, Mesa, AZ

ACSANDERSJR: sls

A22

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Soil Conservation Service

River Basin-Watershed Planning Staff

Suite 326, Arizona Title Bldg., 111 W. Monroe,

Phoenix, AZ 85003

DATE: July 23, 1979

SUBJECT: MGT - Trip Report - Geologic Assistance on

Aravaipa Creek 216 Project

TO: T. Niles Glasgow

RBWP Staff Leader

On July 17th I travelled to Klondyke where I met Messrs.

Bobby Kilcrease and Quenton Isaacson. We were joined by

Mr. John Googins, Project Superintendent for the con-

tractor performing 216 work on Aravaipa Creek.

The purpose of this trip was to evaluate the rock riprap

being quarried for channel] protection. The rock being

quarried, in many instances, is breaking down to produce

undersized materials. This rock is being removed and

disposed of. As a result of this breakdown, more excava-

tion is required to obtain the needed quantities. The de-

gree of breakdown, however, is not unexpected as indicated

by my trip report dated November 27, 1978. The material

which is being used appears to be of adequate quality.

The problems with obtaining a high percentage of useable

rock result from the high degree of fracturing, faulting,

and weathering associated with these features. It is ex-

tremely difficult to establish a blasting pattern to yield a

greater percentage of useable material due to the bedrock.

Despite the somewhat low production rate the contractor

should be able to obtain adequate quantities of acceptable

quality rock from the present site.

A23

In the event that it is deemed necessary or desirable another

quarry site could be opened. A potential quarry site which

should produce higher quality rock is located nearby as

described in my report dated November 27, 1978. There

are some problems of accessibility to this site but they

could be overcome.

There appears to be a good working relationship between

SCS personnel on the job and the Contractors Superin-

tendent.

/s/ Aubrey C. Sanders, Jr.

Aubrey C. Sanders, Jr.

Geologist

Enclosure

cc: Gus Dornbusch, ASTC (WR), Phoenix, AZ

Ralph Arrington, State Conservation Engineer, Phoe-

nix, AZ

Joe Knisley, Area Conservationist, Tucson Area Office

Bobby G. Kilcrease, Area Engineering Specialist,

Tucson Area Office

A24

UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

Soil Conservation Service

Tucson Area Office

3241 N. Romero Road

Tucson, Arizona 85705

DATE: August 31, 1979

SUBJECT: AS - Contracts - 50-8A02-9-00068,

Aravaipa 216

TO: B.E. Osterquist, State Administrative Officer,

SCS, Phoenix

Attached is a construction schedule given to me this past

week by Connolly-Pacific’s Supt. John Googins. Their

projected completion date is December 21, 1979. This is

approximately 2 months past the contract date.

The quarry has produced a high percent of under 3 inch

material. This percentage has averaged 60-70% fines. The

result of this larger percentage of under 3 inch material is

a much larger handling of parent material in order to pro-

duce contract rock. The handling of extra material has

slowed the production of contract rock.

The contractor has added a second shift to his quarry opera-

tion this week in an attempt to increase production.

There is still a labor problem at the job site. The labor

union still has a picket line set up. The operators are cur-

rently working but that could change if a hearing set for

Sept. 4, 1979 in Tucson goes against Connolly-Pacific.

/s/ Bob Kilcrease

Bob Kilcrease

Government Representative

ce: Ralph Arrington (w/attach)

J. Knisley (w/o attach)

G.Goostree ”

A25

PLAINTIFF’S DEPOSITION EXHIBIT 30

(Excerpt from Government Construction Logbook)

Report No. 119 Date 14-Nov-1979

Weather Clear Cool Breeze

Work Period 0700 to 1630

WORK FORCE

Supt. John Googins Skilled Laborer

Foreman Bud Greer, Butch Raby 19 2

o + *

NARRATIVE

Rock riprap being hauled to “T” Section. 4 trucks

on riprap & 1 on waste - Loader for rock placement taken

to pit to work as one of 988’s blew a tire. Rock from last

nites shot is looking really good - Has a higher % useable

rock to waste. Maybe 40% useable to 60% waste. Rock

tests on “H” section completed this AM - No word as to

any more tests. Jack Stevenson, Portland TSC, Ralph

Arrington, Bill Andersen of Arizona State Office & Bob

Kilcrease Tucson A.O. were on the job site today - They

toured the repair of “W” Section - the work on Rattle-

snake Section. They looked at the test sections of “V”

“KF” “G” & “H” Sections - Talked with Googins & Dennis

of Connolly-Pacific about tests & round & square screens -

looked at “T” section rock to be placed & the rock pit

/s/ Bill Cutter C.E.T.

A26

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF CLAIMS

No. 571-80C

L. G. EVERIST, INC., d/b/a CONNOLLY-

PACIFIC COMPANY,

Plaintiff,

Vv.

THE UNITED STATES,

Defendant.

AFFIDAVIT

1. My name is Frank E. Wilimek. My present position is

Assistant State Administrative Officer with the Soil

Conservation Service, Phoenix, Arizona.

2. I attended the site showing of the Aravaipa Project on

April 4, 1978 conducted by Mr. Bobby Kilcrease. I ac-

companied Mr. Kilcrease and the group of potential

bidders on a tour of the project, including a visit to a

rock source on the Lackner property.

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is

true and correct. Executed on July 27, 1982.

/s/ Frank E. Wilimek

Frank E. Wilimek

A27

EXCERPTS FROM THE DEPOSITION OF

BOBBY G. KILCREASE

[8] Q. Would you identify all of the individuals who

represented the government who were present at the April

4, 1979 pre-bid work site tour for the Aravaipa Creek

project? A. There was myself and Frank Wilamek.

Q. Did the tour commence as scheduled at 10:00 a.m.

at the Klondyke post office? A. Approximately.

Q. Would you describe the various activities that were

undertaken during that tour? A. The tour consisted of

me taking the representatives of the contractors to the

various sites until they had a feel for what the project

was going to be, as far as placing the rock on dikes. Then

we made a tour up to this proposed site or—not proposed—

but what’s the word I want to use?—possible site that they

might use for rock. They looked at it and asked some ques-

tions and I told them some answers.

[11] Q. Was this the same source that was described

by the geologist as the proposed quarry site? A. Yes.

Q. Do you recall what you precisely told the bidders

at the time that you reached the proposed quarry site?

A. We went up and down the site and I told them that

our geologist had made an investigation of this source, he

had made an investigation, he removed samples to run

tests on; he said that the rock on that side, which would be

the south side, was hard enough for riprap, that on the

north side it was not quality rock to use on riprap.

[12] Q. And you told the bidders that, on the basis

of your investigation, the proposed quarry site was to

be considered as approved. A. Yes. The rock was ap-

proved on that side.

A28

Q. Did a discussion follow about the north side of

Right Prong Creek? A. To the best of my knowledge, no.

Q. But it was not approved. Is that correct? A.

That’s the best of my knowledge, yes.

[13] Q. The whole area was approved? Is that cor-

rect? A. No, sir.

Q. On the south side of the creek, that is? A. The

designated area was approved, yes.

Q. The designated area being what? A. One of the

faces of that bank.

Q. Which face was that? A. It was the south face.

[14] Q. Did you approve the site pursuant to the

specifications?

* * e

A. I said the geologist had approved that rock as be-

ing of quality.

Q. And the site was approved. A. The site was ap-

proved.

Q. That’s what youstated. A. Yes.

Q.. Was there anything else whatsoever said about

that quarry source? A. Not that I really know of.

[15] Q. Where was the reef? A. It was across the

Aravaipa Canyon. I have never been there. I just know

approximately where it was.

Q. The geologist had not investigated that. A. No.

Q. Had the geologist investigated any other sources

whatsoever? A. No. All we wanted was one source.

Q. How did it come about that that source was

choser: as the one to investigate? A. Mr. Lackner vol-

unteered it, and all we wanted was one source. So we

A29

knew that we had a project and could go on with our

engineering.

* * *

[19] Q. I’m now going to hand you what’s been

marked Plaintiff's Exhibit 7, and it’s the contracting of-

ficer’s decision on the claim of Connolly-Pacific Company,

which is the subject matter of this litigation, and I’d ask

you to review Claim Item No. 1 and the discussion under

that.

MS. SPOONER: No questions until I locate a copy,

please.

Okay, I have one.

[20] Q@. By MR. JUNG: Referring again to those

paragraphs under Claim Item No. 1, the first full para-

graph, it states:

“All bidders attending pre-bid site showings were in-

formed that the government had determined that the

quality of the rock as to hardness, located at the Lackner

property, had been determined to be acceptable to the gov-

ernment.”

What was your understanding of the term “hardness

of the rock”?

* * +

A. To me hardness is just what it says. The hard-

ness is such that it won’t break up in handling.

Q. Breaking up— A. In smaller pieces.

[24] Q. Why did you request geologic assistance in

your November 13th memo? A. To see if there was rock

available that could be used on the project.

Q. Did you consider the geologic advice and assis-

tance a necessity? A. Yes. It’s part of our planning

process.

A30

[33] Q. I’m now going to hand you what’s been

marked Plaintiff's Exhibit 21, and it’s a report dated

August 31, 1979, from you to Mr. Osterquist, and I’d ask

you to review that. A. Okay.

Q. Do you still agree with all of your findings and

observations? A. Yes.

Q. Do you feel anything should have been added to

that report which was not included? A. No.

Q. What do you mean by the term “fines”? A. Fines

is the material smaller than the minimum size specified.

Q. And in this case, that was three-inch? A. I

think three inches, yes.

Q. There was a tolerance, I believe, of five percent

under three inch. A. Yes.

EXCERPTS FROM THE DEPOSITION OF

GARLAND EVERIST

[11] Q. I'd like for you to tell me physically what

happened on the site showing, the government-sponsored

site showing, starting with the first time you contacted a

representative of the government or the government rep-

resentative contacted you. A. A group of contractors met

at the Klondyke General [12] General Store. Everybody

was logged in. From there everybody went up to a couple

of the dikes up on the—it would be the west end of the

job? Yeah, west or northwest, or whatever; showed

where the dike locations would be; and then we came

down, crossed the creek, and went up to the Lackner

ranch property.

s. ¢ 8

{[15] Q. Did anyone ask whether there were other

possible quarry sites— A. Yes.

A31

Q. Do you recall who asked? A. A representative

from D. C. Speer Construction Company.

Q. What was the question that was asked? A. He

asked if Mr. Kilcrease was familiar with the [16] Grand

Reef Mines.

Q. What did Mr. Kilcrease say? A. He said he

was not familiar and he did not know where they were

located, and that if he was interested in that, in the mines,

that he could contact some local people who would direct

him to where it was at.

Q. Did Mr. Kilcrease offer to take the D. C. Speer

representative or other representatives to the Grand Reef

Mine? A. No, he did not.

Q@. Are you certain about that? A. Yes.

’. * *

Q. Was there any other discussion of any other po-

tential [17] quarry site prior to your actual arriving at

the Lackner quarry? A. No.

Q. Tell me what happened after you arrived at the

quarry. A. When we arrived at the Lackner Ranch

everybody got out of their vehicles and into Eddie Lackner’s

four-wheel-drive pickup, in the back of it, and drove up

through the canyon, and Mr. Kilcrease said that the south

face was an approved source, or a source of approved rock.

Q. Did Mr. Kilcrease say anything else about the

Lackner quarry except that, as you say, the south face

was an approved source? A. He said that the north face

was not approved and that the large boulders in the creek

running down the center of the canyon would not be avail-

able to be used for riprap.

Q. Not available? Or not approved? A. Not ap-

proved.

A32

[18] Q. Do you recall anything else that was said?

A. Well, he said it was Lackner’s property, that the con-

tractor who got the job would be paying or making an

agreement with the Lackners for royalties. I’m sure there

were some other things said, but you have to ask me more

specific questions.

>. * *#

Q. Do you recall whether there was any discussion of

any other potential quarry sites during the tour of the

quarry? A. There were not.

Q. You’re certain about that? A. The reference to

the Grand Reef Mine was made at the Lackner Ranch.

It was a simple question-and-answer thing. It was never

brought up again during the tour.

[20] Q. Tell me again what he said. A. Okay. At

the initial meeting, when he told everybody about the

Lackner quarry that was listed in the plans, he said this

was the source of rock that the Soil Conservation had

found and had decided that approved quality rock could

be taken from that quarry site, and that they had looked

other places and hadn’t been able to find another area, but

that if a contractor wanted to go out and try to find an-

other quarry site some other place, they could try, sub-

ject to approval.

Q. Did he later change his explanation? A. Later,

after the group came back from the quarry, went and

looked at a couple of other dike locations toward the center

of the job, at that time he said, “All of the dike locations

are similar to this.” A majority of the contractors’ repre-

sentatives left at that time. I believe one or two of us

continued on down toward. I believe it was Area W, and

at that time, when we looked at that dike location, after

being asked about whether it was designated or approved,

A33

and what the difference was and what was the deal with

the Lackner quarry, he said, “The rock’s going to [21]

come from the Lackner quarry.”

Q. Are those his exact words? A. Those are very

close to his exact words.

[27] Q. In connection with the second time you

visited the Lackner quarry—in the company of Mr. Spen-

cer? A. Uh-huh.

Q. —What was the purpose of that visit? A. To

show him the quarry so that he could prepare a bid.

Q. What did you tell Mr. Spencer about the quarry?

[28] A. I told him, referring to your drawing again, that

area number one was the portion of the canyon which the

tour and Mr. Kilcrease had said was the source of rock.

Q. Was the source? A. The source of approved rock

or the rock was approved. Right there.

I told him that when we were given the SCS show-

ing that the SCS representatives took us into the canyon

and pointed toward area number one, shown on this dia-

gram, the south side of the canyon, and said, “This is where

the geologist has said there is sufficient and adequate rock

for riprap.”

eS #9

[29] Q. Did you tell Mr. Spencer that the area

marked number one on that map had been approved by

the Soil Conservation Service? A. Yes, as an adequate

source of rock.

* *¢ *

Q. What did you tell Mr. Spencer about the area

marked two on the map? [29A] A. That it was not an

approved source.

A34

EXCERPTS FROM THE DEPOSITION OF

CY SCHULTE

[13] Q. Mr. Shulte, the questions I’m going to ask

you now have to do with the Aravaipa Creek project, and

the first one is, did any Government representative prior

to the bidding ever represent to you personally that the

contractor on the Aravaipa Creek project would have to

obtain rock for riprap solely from the Lackner quarry?

A. No.

[14] Q. To your knowledge, was such a representation

made to anyone in Everist or Connolly-Pacific? A. Yes.

Q. To whom? A. To Garland Everist.

Q. (By MS. SPOONER) Shulte, prior to the bid-

ding, what was your understanding about the contractual

requirements regarding the source for riprap? A. My

understanding was that the material would come from the

designated source.

Q. And what was the designated source? A. Lack-

ner quarry.

* ss *

[28] Q. The map shows two outcroppings, one on the

south side of the creek labeled with number one and the

other on the north side of the creek labeled with a num-

ber two.

*. ¢ *#

Do you see those, Mr. Shulte? A. Yes.

Q. Do you recognize either of those sites as the site

of quarrying by Everist during the performance of the

Aravaipa Creek project? [29] A. Yes.

Q. Whichoneor both? A. Initially one.

Q. And was there also quarrying done in two? A.

Yes.

A35

Q. Was there quarrying done in any other site? A.

No.

Q. And you are certain about that? A. To the best

of my knowledge, yes.

Q. You testified earlier that it is your understanding

that a Government representative told Mr, Garland Everist

prior to the bidding that the Lackner quarry was the only

source from which a contractor could obtain rock riprap

for the Aravaipa Creek project, is that right? A. Yes.

Q. Is it your understanding that Mr. Everist was

directed to the area marked one or the area marked two

or both? A. The area marked one.

Q. How did it come that Everist did quarrying in

the area marked two? A. If I recall, they requested per-

mission to go to the area two to try and find some better

material.

[30] Q. Did you consider requesting going to some

area other than areatwo? A. No.

Q. Whynot? A. Noplace else to go.

EXCERPTS FROM THE DEPOSITION OF

AUBREY C. SANDERS, JR.

[6] A. Well, I have the responsibility, overall re-

sponsibility for all of the geology work, the technical as-

pects of the geology work in Arizona.

Q. Do you generally become involved in construction

projects when there is a geological problem involved? A.

I would say that’s true, yes.

[8] Q. Would you describe yourself as an engineering

geologist? A. Yes, I would,

A36

Q. What are the special qualifications and training

for an engineering geologist? A. Would you repeat that

question?

Q. Well, I'll rephrase it.

Does an engineering geologist have certain qualifica-

tions or training beyond that generally and normally at-

tained by a geologist? [9] A. Yes.

Q. What are those qualifications and training? A.

Well, the training can involve numerous things, but basi-

cally, it’s training in engineering principles as applied to

geology and geology as applied to the engineering pro-

fession.

Q. What is the special role that an engineering geol-

ogist plays that a regular geologist doesn’t in his day-to-

day activities? A. I would say that the engineering geol-

ogist interprets geological conditions as they relate to en-

gineering type projects, and it is just a specialized area.

Q. Is there any special experience or qualifications

that a geologist needs to have to hold himself out as an

engineering geologist? A. Yes, yes.

Q. What is the length of your experience as an en-

gineering geologist, in years? A. Well, I would say

about fifteen years.

[14] Q. Were you given an explanation as to what

was to be required of you during your field trip? A. Well,

of course I was given some indication of the requirements,

yes.

Q. What did you understand them to be? A. Basi-

cally, I was asked to go down and determine if there was

a suitable site available to obtain rock riprap for the

Aravaipa project.

Q. Who requested your assistance? A. Can you re-

phrase that question?

A37

Q. Yes. What individual contacted you to request

your assistance? A. To the best of my recollection, it

was Niles Glasgow.

Q. Who is Niles Glasgow? A. Niles Giasgow is an

assistant state conservationist in Arizona.

[15] Q. Did you review any particular documents

or reference materials prior to your investigation of the

proposed source of rock for the Aravaipa Creek project?

A. Yes.

Q. What was that? A. Well, I believe there were

two documents that I recall reviewing. One is the geologic

map of Graham County; the other one was a published

U.S. Geological Survey Report that I cannot recall the

title, but it covered that general area of the state.

Q. Where did you obtain access to this U.S.G.S. docu-

ment? A. The particular one in question?

Q. Yes. [16] A. We have it in our library.

[31] Q. Okay. Why did you describe this as a pro-

posed quarry site? A. Well, basically, it was the site,

the area which I was asked to look at to determine if it

would be a suitable source of riprap.

[33] Q. By MR. JUNG: Would you consider your

trip to the proposed quarry site as one to assist the en-

gineers in determining whether this source would provide

a feasible source in terms of economic feasibility for the

project?

THE WITNESS: Yes.

A38

Q. Well, isn’t it true that you state in the second

major paragraph of your trip report that there is a prob-

lem with respect to excessive breakdown of rock? A. No,

I don’t believe that I read that exactly that way.

Q. I’m referring to the sentence that states as fol-

lows:

[34] “This may create some problem relative to ex-

cessive breakdown of the rock, thereby yielding an ex-

cessive quantity of undersized materials.”

Doesn’t that relate to the economic feasibility of this

rock source for the project? A. It is relevant.

[49] Q. Did you determine the depth of the joints

and fractures? A. No.

Q. Why not? A. I didn’t have the equipment. It

wasn’t the purpose of the investigation to do this. This

was a preliminary investigation.

Q. But it was a feasibility investigation, wasn’t it?

A. In general terms, yes.

Q. * * * Was it a concern of yours as to the depth

of joints and fractures? A. Yes, I would say that was

a concern.

Q. But you were unable to determine whether these

were merely surficial joints and fractures or joints and

[50] fractures that extended to a depth into the bedrock?

A. It would be assumed that they extended to a depth.

Q. On what would you base that assumption? A.

Normally, jointing is not confined or related to the

weathering.

Q. So then you’re saying you did assume that the

joints and fractures extended some depth into the bedrock.

A. I assumed that.

A39

Q. What was the cause of the jointing and fractures

that you observed? A. Well, I would assume that the

jointing was a result of—could be the result of—well, it

is a result of the structural history of the area; the

movement, the rock masses probably related to faulting.

Q. You say related to faulting. What faulting was

there? A. At the site, at the time that I observed the

outcrops, I did not see any evidence of faulting at the

site itself, but there is faulting in the area.

[51] Q. Referring again to the second paragraph, sec-

ond full paragraph, does your terminology of “excessive

breakdown of rock” refer to a quantitative description or

a qualitative description, or both? A. I use that ter-

minology in a qualitative way.

Q. What do you mean, qualitatively, by the word

“excessive”? A. I suppose that I meant the breakage

would be more than average or normal.

[57] Q. Did you discuss the necessity of test quarrying

the site with Mr. Kilcrease when you conducted your geo-

logic investigation on November 17th, 1978? A. I don’t

recall that, whether I did or not.

Q. Your best recollection is what? A. Of course, I

believe that I did mention to him that it could only be

determined by doing some test quarrying, that the yield

could only be done by doing some test quarrying.

As I stated in my report, I think that we did talk

about that.

Q. And it was your recommendation that it be test

quarried.

A40

I’m referring to the top of page two, the last full sen-

tence, where you state as follows:

“However, a determination to use this source should

be contingent upon the results of laboratory tests in con-

junction [58] with test quarrying to evaluate the break-

down characteristics of the rock.” A. Okay. Are you

asking if I recommended that the SCS do test quarrying

at the site? Is this the question?

Q. I’m asking if it was your recommendation that,

before that source was chosen to be used for the project,

that it be test quarried. A. Are you referring to any

specific—

Q. I’m referring to use by the quarry by anyone. A.

Yes, then yes, right.

Q. So that was your professional recommendation.

A. Right.

[63] Q. How did you determine that those four in-

dividuals listed under the cc were to receive copies of

this report? A. Well, it’s procedural policy in the SCS

that certain individuals, depending upon their area of

responsibility, will eceive copies of such trip reports.

Q. And Mr. Arrington and Mr. Kilcrease were mem-

bers of the engineering staff.

Is that correct? A. Yes.

Q. And so, as a matter of course, they would receive

[64] this report. A. Yes.

Q. And to your knowledge, they did. A. Yes.

* * +s

[77] Q. By MR. JUNG: To your knowledge, was

any action ever taken as a followup to your recommenda-

tion for test quarrying the site, the proposed quarry site?

A. I’m not aware of any action along that line.

A4l

Q. Other than Mr. Kilcrease, did you discuss the

necessity for test quarrying with anyone? A. I don’t

recall for sure if I did or not. It’s possible that I did.

Q. Who would it be, more likely than not, that you

did, if in fact you did? A. Probably Ralph Arrington or

Bill Andersen, if in fact I did.

[78] Q. By MR, JUNG: Did you ever discuss or

confer with anyone at the SCS concerning sources of rock

for the project other than those described in your trip

report prior to the issuance of the invitation for bids? A.

Yes.

Q. What other sources were there? A. Bob Kil-

crease mentioned another source in the Klondyke area,

and that was about the extent of our discussion. In fact,

he mentioned that there was another possible source.

Q. How did he identify that source? A. I don’t

recall.

Q. When did he bring that up? A. At the time of

my trip report, my first trip report.

Q. Why didn’t you then check out that other source?

A. Well, we determined that the site that I looked at

[79] could provide a source of rock, and it was much

nearer, much more accessible, and we were merely trying

to ascertain the fact that there was a source available.

So there was no need, really, to check out another

site. He didn’t know exactly where the site was, either.

Q. So you were never asked then to view a source

known as the Reef or Grand Reef Mine? A. No.

[88] Q. When you visited the site on July 17th, 1979,

was the degree of the rock breakdown and the amount of

rock waste then being encountered consistent with your

expectations based upon your November 27th, 1978 field

trip? A. Yes, I think tliat it was consistent.

A42

Q. So, in other words, the amount of waste then

being encountered was the amount you expected to be

encountered. A. Relatively speaking, and in general

terms, yes, right, I would say so.

[89] Q. Is that to say you were not surprised by the

excessive waste? A. Yes.

Q. When you say in your 7-23-79 trip report, or

where you refer to a high percentage of usable rock, what,

[90] quantitatively, do you mean by high percentage of

usable rock”? A. * * * I mean basically normal per-

centage that you would expect from a good selected

quarry site. If you were out and selecting the ideal

quarry site, you would get a high percentage.

Q. That amount that would normally be encountered

in a good, economically feasible commercial riprap quarry?

A. * * * I would expect that high percentage of usable

rock from a good commercial quarry site.

[91] Q. You refer in your 7-23-79 trip report to the

fact that weathering was associated with certain features.

Why was weathering associated with the features de-

scribed in that trip report?

[92] A. Well, to some degree the weathering was

associated with fracturing and faulting, and it’s normal for

weathering to progress along fracture zones.

Q. Are you essentially saying then that the weather-

ing was more than you had anticipated? A. No, I didn’t—

no, no.

Q. Was the problem with the excessive waste rock

one of faulting and fracturing or one of unsound, weathered

A43

rock? A. I would say that there is no one single cause,

but these are contributing factors, along with the type of

operation conducted by the contractor.

Q. Would you say that, essentially, though, the rock

was unsound because of the effects of the weathering, to-

gether with the faulting and fracturing? A. Some of the

rock was unsound because of that; not all of the rock was

unsound.

Q. Are you saying there were zones of sound rock

and zones of unsound rock? A. You could possibly char-

acterize it that way.

[93] Q. Well, is that what you observed? A. Well,

let’s say there were areas with sound rock and areas with

more weathered rock. There were all gradations there.

But to say zones—I would characterize it more as areas.

But you could—you might choose to use the term “zones,”

but I would say “different areas.”

Q. These were on the south side. A. I am speaking

of the south side right now. The same could be said to be

true on the north side.

[95] Q. Would you say that the percentage of specifi-

cation size rock fragments which can be obtained from

a quarry for riprap is primarily determined by the quality

of the rock within the quarry itself?

[96] THE WITNESS: I would say that the amount

that you can or that it is possible to obtain would be pri-

marily related to the rock.

Q. By MR. JUNG: That is the percentage of spe-

cification size rock would be primarily dependent on the

quality of the rock in the quarry itself. A. The per-

centage that it would be possible to obtain would be pri-

marily related to the quality of the rock,

A44

[97] Q. * * * You referred earlier today about a

U.S.G.S. document that you had used in addition to the

geologic map of Graham and Greenlee Counties. [98]

A. Uh-huh.

Q. Did it discuss the proposed quarry site? A. No.

[99] Q. What did it discuss? A. As I said, as I re-

call, it was a general geology publication and it would dis-

cuss the rock types, the area of distribution, possibly the

ground water resources. I’m not sure it discussed ground

water resources or not. But a very general nature specific

to that general area.

Q. What information did you garner from reviewing

that document? A. Basically, a description of the type

of rock that might be found in that area, and probably some

information regarding the geologic structure of the area.

I don’t recall if the publication even included this specific

area. It may have been an adjacent area.

Q. Is this a standard document you have in your

geologic library? A. Yes, we have this in our library.

[102] Q. Let me ask you this: Have you had any

training or experience in drilling and blasting operations?

A. Do you mean by that question have I actually per-

formed these operations?

Q. Ejither/or. Either training in the form of formal

or informal education or on-hands training, or a combina-

tion. A. Well, I have observed drilling and shooting of

rock on many occasions.

Q. In connection with what kinds of projects A.

The construction of dams, construction of roads, around

quarries.

Q. When was this ? When did you observe these op-

erations? A. Over the last twenty years.

A45

[104] Q. Have you ever been an active participant

in a drilling or blasting operation? A. I have assisted

in an advisory role.

Q. What did you advise? A. On how to drill holes,

how to load the drill holes.

Q. You state in your July 27, ’79 trip report that it

was extremely difficult to establish a blasting pattern

due to the bedrock. A. Uh-huh.

Q. Do you still maintain that position? A. Yes.

Q. In what particular respects was it extremely dif-

ficult? A. Well, in one respect it was difficult to get the

drilling equipment into proper position, it was difficult

to predict how the rock was going to break initially, and

these things did make it difficult to establish a pattern.

Q. Your words are “extremely difficult.” Is that

correct? A. Oh, well, okay, I think it was extremely

difficult.

EXCERPTS FROM THE DEPOSITION OF

GEORGE SPENCER

[3] Q. And what is your position with L.G. Everist?

A. I'm a civil engineer.

[4] Q. Are you the manager of the construction divi-

sion of the company? A. In the Mid-West area, yes,

ma’am.

e aa e

Q. And what are your duties as manager of the con-

struction division of the central part of the United States

for Everist? A. I’m responsible for our construction proj-

ects.

A46

[8] Q. So would this work— I think I understand you

but I want to make sure I do understand. Would that work

include then going to a prospective source of building

material such as a quarry, looking at the quarry and de-

ciding whether it was a suitable source for building material

and how much it would cost you to retrieve building

material from that source? [9] A. I have trouble with

that in that I am not qualified to make all of the considera-

tions that you set forth, but it is an economic analysis as

opposed to a quality analysis.

Q. What is the difference between an economic anal-

ysis and a quality analysis? A. Well, once a particular

deposit has been approved or called acceptable, then we

compare the various deposits as to the degree of difficulty

in working— I suppose you would say the distance from

the project, the amount of material available. It’s more

economic investigations or determinations.

Q. And what is a quality determination? A. Quality

determinations are normally done in laboratories, I think.

In the final analysis they are done in laboratories.

Q. And what do you mean when you say the quality

of the source? Are you talking about hardness, perosity

(sp)? A. These are two of the criteria for structural

integrity.

’. * *#

[11] Q. What is your understanding of the term ‘ap-

proved’ when it is used in that context?

A. Ifa deposit was approved as a rock source it would

indicate to me that there was rock within that source that

would meet the specifications as set forth in the docu-

ments. If the rock in that rock source were approved it

would indicate to me that the bulk of that deposit would

be suitable for the use intended.

A47

Q. Would meet the specifications? A. Yes, ma’am.

[13] Q. Is there anything other than the distance be-

tween natural fractures that you look for in determining

the size of the material that will come out of the deposit?

A. Well, needless to say, we look at the material itself

if we are looking at a very loosely bonded sand stone and

there is a big distance between the seams, the distance be-

tween the seams in not indicative of large [14] rock com-

ing out. However we can go to a very good granite that

would have a uniform distance between the seams of a

foot or so and we will get foot or so rock out of it.

Q. Is there anything other than the kind of rock

and the distance between natural fractures that you look

for in determining the size of the material that will come

out of the deposit? A. Basically that’s it.

[24] Q. * * * What was your input into the L.G.

Everist bid for the Aravaipa Creek Project? [25] A. I

was responsible for assembling the bidding estimate.

Q. Initsentirety? A. Yes, ma’am.

Q. Did you work for anyone in that regard? In

other words, did you report to anyone who was ultimately

responsible for preparing the bid? A. Yes, ma’am.

Q. Whowasthat? A. Mr. Sholty.

Q. Were you responsible for determining the esti-

mated cost of obtaining rock riprap for that project? A.

Yes, ma’am.

Q. Anddidyoudothat? A. Yes, ma’am.

[26] Q. Did you do anything in connection with the

Aravaipa Creek Project on April 8th? A. Yes, ma’am.

A48

Q. What did you do? [27] A. Reviewed the plans,

specifications, discussed the project with people who had

been there prior to this.

Q. So you did not go out into the site until April

9th? A. This is correct.

[28] Q. What instructions were you given? A. Mr.

Sholty asked if I would be able to meet with Mr. Garland

Everist in Phoenix on 8th of April, 1979. He informed

me that early in the previous week Mr. Everist had viewed

the project on what is termed a prebid showing. He in-

formed me that Mr. Everist had attended this prebid

showing and as it relates to the rock source and Mr.

Kilcrease (sp) had informed Mr. Everist that the so-called

Lackner Quarry was an approved rock source and also

the rock in this source was approved. I subsequently met

with Mr. Everist and he confirmed this information to me.

Q. What did that mean to you when someone told

you that a Lackner quarry was an approved source of

rock? A. Thespecifications are very plain—By ‘specifica-

tions’ I mean the contract documents,—are very plain in

that they indicate the source of material to be approved

by the contracting agency. In that connection I was led

[29] to believe that approval at the prebid showing was

a valid indication of the integrity of the source. It meant

to me that material from this source would be suitable

for construction of this project in accordance with the

contract documents.

Se ££. *

Q. Are you saying the specifications led you to believe

that the approved rock source meant something specific

[30] to you? A. Yes, ma’am.

Q. What in the specifications told you what an ap-

proved rock source means? A. Do you have a copy of

the specifications with you?

A49

Q. No, I don’t. A. There is a recitaling in the

specifications that indicated the contracting office will

approve the rock source prior to its use, and I would

have to refer to that.

Q. And that’s what led you to believe— A. Yes,

ma’am.

*x ¢ *#

Q. Who was responsible on behalf of L. G. Everist

for deciding whether Everist would use that particular

[31] source or some other source? A. In the final analy-

sis Mr. Sholty.

Q. Did you make a recommendation? A. Yes,

ma’am.

Q. What did you recommend? A. I recommended

we use the Lackner source.

Q. Would you tell me specifically what you did when

you went to the Lackner Quarry on April 9th?

[32] A. I looked at the outcroppings of rock and

noted the dimensions of the seams, noted the extent of

exposures and attempted to ascertain the continuity of

the deposit. I also looked at some of the construction sites

or placement sites, I should say, apart from the quarry.

Q. Did you investigate any other potential sources

of rock for the Aravaipa Creek Project?

A. We talked with a Mr. Gordon White (sp), I think,

in connection with obtaining water. We asked him if

there were other sources in the area. He mentioned the

Grand Reef. We had heard it mentioned before so we

did fly over it and attempted to determine its accessibility

and decided it was inaccessible.

Q. Inaccessible for construction vehicles and— A.

Yes, ma’am.

A50

Q. Did you investigate any other potential sources

of rock prior to the bid? A. On our flight both to the

project and from the project we took an overview of the

area, and in that fashion, yes, [33] we looked at some

other outcroppings but we did not physically on the

ground go over any other potential quarry sites.

[38] Q. Isee down this list a stationary grizzly. What

is that? A. Rock separating device.

Q. Why did you determine to use a stationary grizzly

rather than a vibrating grizzly? A. There are many dif-

ferent ways of classifying riprap. In my estimate a job

of this size and the type of rock we were dealing with I

felt a stationary grizzly would be the proper tool to em-

ploy to meet the specifications as outlined in the contract

documents.

*. * *

[39] Q. What about the size? Was it small? A.

This is 75,000. This is a small job in our view as far as

quantity is concerned.

Q. Okay. And what about the rock source told you

that a stationary grizzly would be proper? A. We were

somewhat cramped as to room for equipment [40] in-

stallation early in the job. The rock source appeared to

me to be competent, suitable for the use intended and

we had been informed that it was an approved source

and the rock in the source had been approved, which

indicated to me that the construction losses would cer-

tainly be within normal amounts, ratios.

[45] Q. Now, when you went to the quarry on

April 9th you parked right by the area of the gate? A.

Yes, ma’am.

A51

Q. And you walked along the creek? A. Yes, ma’am.

Q. Did you look at both sides—both quarries, the one

on the north and the one on the south? A. I did not look

at the quarry on the north side because it had been in-

dicated at the prebid conference that that [46] quarry

would not be approved.

Q. That it would not be approved? A. It was not

approved.

Q. Or had not been approved? A. Was not.

Q. Did anyone tell you the government would not

approve that quarry if asked? A. Yes, ma’am.

Q. Who told you that? A. Mr. Everist told me that

he had been informed by Mr. Kilcrease that the north

quarry was not approved by the soil conservation geologists,

as the result it was not approved by the soil conservation.

Q. Did anyone tell you that the Soil Conservation

Service would not approve that quarry if a contractor

asked for approval? In other words, that that had been

specifically rejected as a quarry site? A. ‘That is my

understanding. It had oeen specifically rejected.

Q. This came by Mr. Everist? A. It came from Mr.

Everist who had been told by Mr. Kilcrease.

[49] Q. Okay. What does line Loss at 15% equals

13,000 tons mean? A. The project as outlined in the docu-

ments required 75,000 tons of material. It is my estima-

tion— It was my estimation that the loss we could rea-

sonably expect to encounter would be 15% or less for

this deposit, therefor 15% of the gross amount of material

required, which in this case is 88,000, is 13,000 tons. And

that is what the line Loss at 15% equals 13,000 tons means.

Q. You estimated in order to get 75,000 tons of usable

rock for the project you would have to excavate 88,000

tons? A. That’s correct. Yes, ma’am.

A52

[51] Q. Were you satisfied that the Lackner Quarry

would make [52] an acceptable source of rock for

Aravaipa Creek Project? A. Yes, ma’am.

Q. Did you test the rock at the Lackner Quarry for

hardness? A. In my fashion I did, ma’am.

Q. How did you do that? A. I—while walking over

the hill I selectively picked some of the reck that was

exposed and scratched it with a piece of steel, I knocked

2 or 3 pieces of it together at each stop, which to me was

an indication of hardness, tensile (sp) strength, com-

pressive strength, durability, things of that nature. I was

running a comparative test based on experience.

Q. And this was at the April 9th visit?

Q. Have you done core drilling? [53] A. Yes, ma’am,

I have.

Q. Prior to test hardness, prior to bidding? <A. Yes,

ma’am. If I could elaborate just a minute?

Q. Sure. A. Once again the economics involved

dictate the amount of investigation accomplished. When

I say we have done core drilling before we have, but the

contract arnount would be in the ten to twenty-five million

dollar range—

* * 7.

[57] Q. During your April 9th visit to the site did you

notice any weathering on the rock? A. Yes, ma’am.

Q. How would you characterize the degree of

weathering? A. What one would normally expect from

a lava flow.

Q. Was it slight weathering? A. Slight to moderate.

Q. Did you make an estimate in your own mind as

to how far the weathering extended down into the rock?

A. Yes,ma’am.

Q. Howmuch? A. Very minor.

A53

Q. Is minor a few inches or few feet or few yards?

A. Minor in my estimation would be certainly less than a

few feet, perhaps in the range of 8, 10, 12 inches.

Q. Did you see any natural fractures and joints in

the rock? A. Yes, ma’am.

Q. Were they extensive? A. Extensive in that I

saw them over a wide area but not extensive in that they

were very close together.

Q. How close were they together? [58] A. The

closest I observed them was about 2 to 3 inches and the

widest I saw one area where it was almost 3 feet between

the closest of these joints and fractures.

Q. Did you consider whether these natural joints and

fractures might cause obsessive breakage when the plac-

ing wasdone? A. Yes, ma,am.

Q. What did you decide? A. I decided they would

not.

Q. Did you consider doing some test quarrying? A.

No, ma’am.

Q. Do you know whether anyone connected with L.G.

Everist did consider doing test quarrying? A. Not to

my knowledge. This was never mentioned. Whether it

crossed somebody’s mind or not, I have no way of know-

ing.

Q. Is this not something that is generally done?

A. Notona job this size.

Q. Because it is too small? A. That is correct.

[64] Q. Mr. Lackner, I'm interested in the fact that

you appear to have been trained as a constructural en-

gineer but your work has been primarily in the area of—

at least somewhat in the area of geology. Do you have

training in geology? A. My name is Spencer.

Q. I’m sorry. What did I say? A. Lackner.

A54

Q. I’m sorry, Mr. Spencer. A. I have not had any

formal training in geology, no, ma’am.

Q. From where do you get your geologic expertise?

A. I really don’t know that I have geologic expertise. I

have been exposed to a lot of geology but I’m not a trained

geologist.

EXCERPTS FROM THE DEPOSITION OF

BILL CUTTER

[8] Q. Percentage-wise, approximately how much of

your time was spent at the quarry operation area? A. In

the early part of the job, probably twenty percent of my

time; in the latter portion of the job, probably eighty per-

cent.

Q. Eighty percent in the latter portion.

From what date would you delineate the latter por-

tion? A. I would have to have a calendar to reference

up the jobs. I’m not sure.

Q. Midway through the job? A. Probably.

[10] Q. By MR. JUNG: I’m now going to hand you

a log entry dated Wednesday, November 14th, and marked

Plaintiff's Exhibit 30, and ask that you review that.

THE WITNESS: Yes, sir.

Q. By MR. JUNG: Directing your attention again

to the underlined portion on the first page of the log entry,

which states “Rock from last night’s shot is looking really

good. Has a higher percentage useable rock to waste.

Maybe [11] forty percent useable to sixty percent waste.”

What do you by “higher”? Higher than what? A.

Higher percentage of usable rock compared to what they

had been running.

A55

Q. So they had been running over the sixty percent

waste. A. Yes, as best we could tell.

Q. This report here was based on a visual estimate.

A. Yes.

Q. Your statement that “this is really looking good”

then means that it’s good in comparison with what had

been achieved.

Is that what you’re saying? A. Yes.

Q. Would you consider this good in the sense that it

would be normally considered to be a good waste/rock

ratio in ariprap quarry? A. No.

. 8

EXCERPTS FROM THE DEPOSITION OF

WILLIAM K. ANDERSEN

[21] A. The approval of the source, contractor’s

source, would be given by the engineer.

Q. And what set of criteria or standards contained

in the specifications themselves would that approval be

based on?

SS *

A. It’s up to the engineer.

[48] Q. So you’re saying you based your final cost

estimate on the weight of rock and the type of rock that

was tested that had been previously selected for testing

by the geologist. Is that correct? A. True.

Q. It was stated in answer to Interrogatory No. 40

of the Plaintiff’s first set of Interrogatories in this [49] liti-

gation that you and Mr, Dornbusch had made the decision

not to test quarry what is described as the proposed quarry

A56

site in the second full paragraph of the memorandum dated

November 27th, 1978. Is that correct? A. True.

Q. When was that decision made? A. I don’t have

adate. It would have been after this report.

Q. Yes. Why was that decision made? A. Well, one,

because it was not a designated site. The contractor could

pick other sources of rock.

Other than that, I don’t recall, unless it was a time

limitation.

& + a

[50] Q. By MR. JUNG Could an approved source

also be a designated source?

THE WITNESS: That I don’t know.

Q. ByMR.JUNG: You drafted the 216-8 rock riprap

specifications, did you not? A. Yes.

Q. And you're testifying that you don’t know whether

an approved source could be a designated source?

7’. * *

[51] THE WITNESS: I don’t know.

Q. Did you conduct an archeological field trip with

a Mr. Lyle Stone in connection with the project? A. I

didn’t conduct it; I showed him all the sites that we had

on several projects.

Q. Did you show him the Aravaipa Creek project?

A. Yes.

Q. Did you take him to that area which has been

. designated in the geologic trip report of 11-27-78 by [52]

Mr. Sanders as the proposed quarry site?

THE WITNESS: Would you repeat that.

[Record read.]

THE WITNESS: I took him to the one in the report

that’s referred to as the proposed quarry site.

A57

Q. By MR. JUNG: Why did he have to be taken

to that site? A. We have environmental evaluations to

be made, and when government funding is used on a

project we’re required to have archeological clearance.

Q. Is that statutory or regulatory? Do you know?

That is, the requirement that you conduct archeological in-

vestigations during your design of the project? A. Not

during the design. This would be previous to the design.

Q. At some time, though, during the planning of

the project, you are required to conduct environmental in-

vestigations, including archeological investigations, are you

not?

THE WITNESS: Would you repeat that?

[Record read. 1

THE WITNESS: Yes.

[53] Q. By MR. JUNG: Did you show him any other

sources? A. No.

Q. Are you aware of any other archeological studies

having been undertaken at any other time in connection

with the project? A. No.

DEFENDANT’S RESPONSES TO PLAINTIFF’S

FIRST SET OF INTERROGATORIES

50. Identify each book, publication or guide relied

upon or consulted by the SCS in its investigation, evalua-

tion or testing of rock or rock sources for the Project.

Answer: Material Specification SCS-West No. 423; Per-

sonal knowledge, experience and expertise of

Aubrey C. Sanders, Jr. was utilized in conduct-

ing geologic investigation of site; geologic map of

Graham and Greenlee Counties, Arizona.

A58

94. Were you ever asked by a prospective bidder for

the Project to approve, inspect or otherwise consider a

quarry site known as the “Reef” or the “Grand Reef Mine”

for use as a source of rock for the Project?

Answer: No

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.