Petition — Sea-Land Service, Inc. v. Akermanis

Supreme Court brief1983

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

. Sp ie & 1 £)

£8 A; d 3 4 < Office-Supreme Court, U.S.

ae ae ae

JAN

ss 26 1983

SEEN ST ovac

CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1982

>

SEA-LAND SERVICE, INC.,

Petitioner,

—against—

CARL O. AKERMANIS,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR AWRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

PETITION OF SEA-LAND SERVICE, INC.

FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

JOSEPH T. STEARNS

40 Wall Street

New York, New York 10005

(212) 344-4700

Aitorney for Petitioner

WALKER & CORSA

SANDRA R. M. GLUCK

Of Counsel

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Where respondent consented in district court to a Judge-

ment on a Reduced Verdict in response to the trial court’s offer

of a “remittitur” which was beyond the power of that court to

grant, did the Court of Appeals lack jurisuiction to entertain

his cross-appeal?

2. When the district court granted a new trial on “the

liability issues” in the event the “remittitur” was not accepted,

was it a violation of the United States Const. amend. VIi and

the Judiciary Act of 1789 for the Court of Appeals, after

having concluded that the “remittitur” accepted by respondent

could not validly have been offered, to re-examine facts found

by a jury by its own review of the evidence at trial for the

stated purpose upon remand of “focus{ing] the district court’s

attention on matters that may obviate the need for a new

trial. . .”?

3. Can the Court of Appeals remand a case to a district

court for “further consideration consistent with. . . [its]...

opinion” and ask for a re-exercise of discretion on an issue

upon which the Court of Appeals has held the district court

had already acted without abuse or mistake in law?

4. Where a district court orders a new trial in response to a

motion pursuant to Rule 59 Fed.R.Civ.P. because of “clear and

serious” error by the jury on a finding of fact, and is held by

the Court of Appeals to in all respects have applied the law

correctly and not to otherwise have abused its discretion, can

the Court of Appeals properly issue an advisory opinion in

order to “focus the district court’s attention” on an alternative

interpretation of how the jury might conceivably have inter-

preted the facts, in order to reach a result more pleasing to the

Court of Appeals, without improperly impairing the subse-

quent exercise of discretion of the district court?

5. If the Court of Appeals was required to affirm the district

court’s grant of a new trial, because in all respects it correctly

understood and applied the law and did not abuse its discre-

tion, should the Court of Appeals have ordered a complete

new trial on all issues of liability and damages ? In a seaman’s

comparative fault personal injury case brought pursuant to 46

U.S.C. § 688 et seq. (the Jones Act) are the liability issues ever

“completely separable” from the issue of damages and were

they in this case?

eee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ..........

TABLES OF ALPES ENED cv iscccdecvoscvcctevaces

PETITES WEEAI ccccccetocneccetesseccsvensces

FUMIO EOE So ekr ana teucdusededeesedivecvenss

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT:

A. THE COURT OF APPEALS ERRED IN DE-

TERMINING THAT IT HAD JURISDICTION

TO ENTERTAIN RESPONDENT'S CROSS-AP-

B. THE COURT OF APPEALS RE-EXAMINED

FACTS FOUND BY THE JURY IN VIOLATION

OF THE UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

AMEND. VII AND IMPERMISSIBLY INTER-

FERED WITH THE DISCRETION OF THE

EDS E GAIIRE b0deccervecvesanscceesces

C. THE ISSUES OF LIABILITY AND DAMAGES

WERE INSEPARABLE AND THE COURT OF

APPEALS ERRED IN AFFIRMING THIS AS-

PECT OF THE DiSTRICT COURT’S DECI-

WINE cnc cvassepecscnnecesvsaccecsbesseccees

APPENDIX A

Decision of the Court of Appeals filed September

Ue cs Kiara Ucdhwe Reh eeeeaa Reet eT een

14

19

24

27

APPENDIX B

Decision of the Court of Appeals dated October

28, 1982 denying Petitioner's Motion for Re-

hearing and Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc ..

APPENDIX C

Memorandum Opinion and Order of the United

States District Court, S.D.N.Y. dated October 14,

CN CUe Le cea CEL ehe cate he knta dneseee wena

APPENDIX D

Order of the United States District Court dated

November 2, 1981 denying Defendant’s Motion

Se NL obo be bean Ws anabe ben véskceves

APPENDIX E

Judgment On A Reduced Verdict entered Novem-

EE hoes cis veseee ee anthbebteeeensas

APPENDIX F

Memorandum Opinion and Order of the United

States District Court dated January 18, 1983 ....

APPENDIX G

CE TOG SEUe TROOONG accexvecacscccesees

APPENDIX H

Consent to Reduce Jury Verdict.............65.

PAGE

B-1

C-1

D-1

E-1

F-]

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES PAGE

Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. v. Yeatts, 122 F.2d 350 (4th

Sb EE 000.055 00d £040 sR eRe Eee caee ee 20

Akermanis v. Sea-Land Service, Inc., 521 F.Supp. 44

(SDNY 1981), rev’d and remanded, 688 F.2d 898 (2d

Gay El wk eae 0550500405 SRE eee passim

Bevevino v. M.S. Saydjari, 574 F.2d 676 (2d Cir. 1978). 4

Compton v. Luckenbach Overseas Corporation, 425

Fie COS CE SPTEN a boc a Ndesccecueweseneawsel 18, 20

Donovan v. Penn Shipping Co., Inc., 429 U.S. 648

(1977), affirming per curiam, Donovan v. Penn Ship-

ping Co., Inc., 536 F.2d 536 (2d Cir. 1976)....... 6, 14, 15,

16, 25, 27

Fairmount Glassworks v. Cub Fork Coal Co., 287 U.S.

RUE 6 ais 505 40ds bd bene eeneeensiaacteeeee 18, 20

Gasoline Products v. Champlin Refining Co., 283 U.S.

eh igs EERE CET ECE ree re 3, 25, 26, 2/7

Landry v. Two R. Drilling Co., 511 F.2d 138 (Sth Cir.

CONES «Seb winnn 0000 sa eos tenes hea banneceeeane 24, 26

Mattox v. News Syndicate Co., 176 F.2d 897 (2d Cir.),

C666. GON. Fee WD. SIS Ps oot vv kcustenccaveeus 16

Morgan v. Consolidated Rail Corp., 509 F. Supp. 281

Se FU 00 0b. i5'0-600nkne ca censens cneeab waa 21

Norfolk Southern Railroad Co. v. Ferebee, 238 U.S. 269

SOEa w0doutk0.60000400 504506000 SREREE eS eee 24, 27

Portman v. American Home Products Corp., 201 F.2d

Ee Wee ee SOE eo bccncccccatesavenwanadewesuaen 18, 20

Rivera v. Farrell Lines, Ltd., 474 F.2d 255 (2d Cir. 1973),

COk, GR. SES UD. GEE CaP ra ivcas cucnrcavasecnctens 25

vi

Stevenson v. Hearst Consol. Publications, Inc., 214 F.2d

PAGE

Pee AE, COs cabs diecniccessvoscpudecsrenews 21

Thompson v. Camp, 167 F.2d 733 (6th Cir.), cert. den.,

Bae Ce, CONTE chive cdevecctccucessconetccctes 24

United States ex rel. GREENHALGH vy. F.D. Rich Co.,

Inc., $20 F.2d 886 (9th Cir. 197S).........ceeeeeees 21

Westerman v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 577 F.2d 873 (Sth

GO SOU SSS oes Rescue Csuecedesebarevasanedaced 16

Woodworth v. Chesbrough, 244 U.S. 79 (1917). ....... 16

STATUTES

in Bie" i PP rrrrrerryr er reere rere i, 2, 19, 20

Federal Statutes:

Be APs GRUMEED cckccesviecesesacseussenene 2

45 U.S.C. § 51 et seq. (Federal apes Liability

PE ED Sedcccetvecvicserescccsnerecsss 2

46 U.S.C. § 688 et sez. (Jones Act).........0006- oe

Judiciary Act of 1789, C.20, 1 Stat. at L.84, § 22 i,

2, 20

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure:

DD NN 5.604 va ad eee de tdewanetddsancrasecess 7

PE Cea cbapecveertsnsevkecesakaceen L 5, 4, 7,-90

Supreme Court Rules:

gS Peer rrr rere ye Ter trae ce 27

ee re errr Ser rrr eT eee Ti 27

Vii

TREATISES

Moore’s Federal Practice, 2nd Ed., V. 6A .........44.

Prosser, Law of Torts, 4th Ed

PAGE

PETITION OF SEA-LAND SERVICE, INC.*

FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the Court of Appeals filed September 14,

1982 reversing the district court’s judgment and remanding the

case for further consideration consistent with the opinion,

reported in 688 F.2d 898, is reprinted in Appendix “A.”** The

decision of the Court of Appeals dated October 28, 1982

denying petitioner’s motion for rehearing and suggestion for

rehearing en banc appears here in Appendix “B.” The memo-

randum opinion of the United States District Court, Southern

District of New York of October 14, 1981 deciding petitioner’s

motion pursuant to Rule 59 Fed.R. Civ.P. by granting a new

trial on “liability issues” in the event respondent should not

accept a “remittitur” is reported at 521 F. Supp. 44 and is

reprinted in Appendix “C.” The opinion of the district court

denying petitioner’s motion for reargument of that decision is

reprinted in Appendix “D.” The Judgment on a Reduced

Verdict from which appeal was taken to the United States

Court of Appeals, Second Circuit is reprinted in Appendix

“E.” The decision of the district court on remand, which is

dated January 18, 1983, directing entry of judgment on the

jury verdict despite respondent’s agreement to accept the

Judgment on a Reduced Verdict, is here reprinted in Appendix

on”

: Parent companies:

R. J. Reynolds Industries, Inc.

Sea-Land Industries Investments, Inc.

Affiliates:

Sea-Land Industries, Inc.

Sea-Land Industries (Bermuda) Ltd.

Sea-Land Industries, U.S.A., Inc.

Sea Readiness, Inc.

= References to material included in the Appendices will be referred to

as “App.” followed by the appropriate letter.

JURISDICTION

Petitioner seeks review of a decision of the Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit filed September 14, 1982. By order

dated October 28, 1982, the Court of Appeals denied peti-

tioner’s petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en

banc. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28

U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

U.S. CONST. amend. VII:

In suits at common law, where the value in controversy

shall exceed twenty dollars, the right of trial by jury shall

be preserved, and no fact tried by a jury, shall be

otherwise re-examined in any Court of the United States,

than according to the rules of common law.

Judiciary Act of 1789, C.20, 1 Stat. at L.84:

Sec. 22. And be in further enacted, That final decrees

and judgments in civil actions in a district court, where

the matter in dispute exceeds the sum or value of fifty

dollars, exclusive of costs, may be re-examined, and

reversed or affirmed in a circuit court, holden in the same

district, upon a writ of error,**** (a) And upon a like

process, may final judgments and decrees in civil actions,

and suits in equity in a circuit court, *** be re-examined

and reversed or affirmed in the Supreme Court, **** (b)

But there shall be no reversal in either court on such writ

of error for **** any error in fact. ****

46 U.S.C. § 688 (Jones Act); 45 U.S.C. § 51 ef seq. (Federal

Employers’ Liability Act [FELA]).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Trial in the United States District Court, Southern District of

New York of this Jones Act' seaman’s personal injury action

resulted in a jury verdict in respondent’s favor on June 26,

1981 in the amount of $528,000 subject to reduction on

account of the jury’s finding (by special verdict) of respon-

dent’s 4% comparative fault.’ Petitioner’s motion for a new

1

2

46 U.S.C. §§ 688 ef. seq.

Certain elements of respondent’s damages were discounted by the

district court to present value reflecting inflation by agreement of the

parties. The verdict thus reduced was $489,514.61. Respondent never

reported his shipboard accident which he said occurred on June 4,

1977 and caused injury to his neck. At the time of this “injury,” which

was initially diagnosed as “sore neck muscles” and could not have

involved more than a sprain, he was suffering, at age 59, from the

effects of ancient cervical arthritis so severe that his treating doctor

testified that had he examined respondent before his injury he would

have “disqualified” him from work as a merchant seaman [App. G-6].

The jury damage verdict was in an amount within a few hundred

dollars of what was asked for in summation [App. G-8] and was

returned after the jury, despite an explicit charge on damages, inquired

whether they were required to “install figures” for damages [App.

G-9]. By special verdict the jury awarded $250,000 on account of pain

and suffering for what could only have been an aggravation of a

pre-existing condition, despite reference in respondent's medical rec-

ords after the injury that “Tylenol keeps arthritic pain under control

. . .” [App. G-11]. The award for future lost wages, from the date of

the verdict to age 65 was $118,000. Between his retirement at max-

imum union pension shortly after the accident, until the time of trial,

respondent was hospitalized on five occasions, for among other things,

circulatory impairment caused by peripheral vascular disease (arterios-

clerosis) resulting in crippling pain when respondent walked less than

100 yards [App. G-10}.

The district court described the verdict as “undoubtedly generous”

(521 F. Supp. 52, App. C-13]. But, in fact, it was in all respects

aberrant and the result of respondent’s attorney’s misconduct in telling

the jury, without basis, that petitioner’s witnesses had lied when such

argument was colorable only because of an otherwise irrelevant gap in

the trial record. Failing to properly confront how the verdict was

4

trial pursuant to Rule 59 Fed.R.Civ.P. resulted in an opinion

and order of the district court (the Hon. Charles S. Haight,

Jr.) of October 14, 1981 (521 F. Supp. 44, S.D.N.Y. 1981)

conditionally granting a new trial ‘‘on the issues of liability

[oniy]’’ because, in the district court’s view, the jury finding of

but 4% contributory negligence was so low as to lead the trial

judge to conclude that: ‘‘[i]n the circumstances of this case, I

have no difficulty at all in concluding that the minimal percent-

age assigned to that fault constitutes clear and serious error’’

[521 F. Supp. at 50, App. C-9]. The granting of a partial new

trial was conditioned upon respondent refusing to accept a

‘*remittitur’’: not one involving reduction of the jury’s damage

award on account of excessiveness but achieving the same

effect by increasing respondent’s comparative fault from the

jury’s 4% to 25%, a figure which was arbitrarily adopted by

the district court after its canvass of headnotes in West’s

Federal Practice Digest under the topic ‘‘assumption of risk,

contributory negligence and division of damages’’ [521 F.

Supp. at 50, App. C-9].

On October 26, 1981 petitioner moved to reargue the district

court’s decision on grounds that the court’s “remittitur” was,

in fact, an illegal additur. Since the district court had correctly

applied the law with respect to when and in what circumstances

a new trial be granted,’ and assessed the facts with respect to

the issue of respondent’s comparative fault without abusing its

discretion, petitioner argued that the proposed “iemittitur” be

obtained, the district court and later the Court of Appeals, impermis-

sibly sought to avoid a retrial for reason, apparently, of “judicial

economy.”

3s The district court cited (at 521 F. Supp. 44, 48) Bevevino v. M.S.

Saydjari, 574 F.2d 676, 677, 683-684 (2d Cir. 1978) for its specific

approval of the rule set out in 6A Moore’s Federal Practice § 59.08[5},

at 59-160-59-161 (1973) which provides that the trial judge should

“abstain from interfering with the verdict unless it is quite clear that

the jury had reached a seriously erroneous result.” [521 F. Supp. at

47-48, App. C-4]. The correctness of this rule was reaffirmed by the

Court of Appeals’ decision in this case [688 F.2d at 905, App. A-3}].

5

recalled and an unconditional new trial granted. Upon reargu-

ment, petitioner also urged that the district court had mistak-

enly viewed the issues of comparative fault and damages as

“completely separable”* in this or any other Jones Act case

and that a new trial on all issues was required. Defendant’s

reargument motion was denied in all respects by the district

court’s order dated November 2, 1981 [App. D].

On November 9, 198] respondent accepted the district

court’s “remittitur” in lieu of a new trial on liability issues

[App. H] and consented to «1 Judgment on a Reduced Verdict

[App. E]. Petitioner appealed and respondent, despite his

consent to the judgment appealed from, cross-appealed. Upon

appeal both petitioner and respondent argued that the district

court was without power to order a “remittitur,” the latter

despite his consent. Petitioner additionally argued, as it had in

district court, that the district court’s re-examination of facts

found by the jury respecting respondent’s contributory negli-

gence was in no way influenced by any mistaken view of the

law, but that the “remittitur” was beyond the power of the

district court to grant and, accordingly that a new trial on, at

least, the liability issues was absolutely required. But again

petitioner argued that because the issues of liability and dam-

ages were not completely separable a new trial on all issues was

mandatory.

In his cross-appeal respondent, despite his consent to the

Judgment on a Reduced Verdict (which established the Court

of Appeals’ jurisdiction), sought judgment based on the jury

verdict and for that purpose joined petitioner’s argument that

the “remittitur,” which he had accepted in order to avoid a

retrial, was invalid. In support of his argument that the district

court had mistakenly concluded that the jury’s 4% finding was

unconscionably low, respondent argued nots that the trial judge

had misunderstood the facts, but on/y that he had confused the

4 The prerequisite for granting a partial new trial established in

Gasoline Products Co. v. Champlin Refining Co., 283 U.S. 494 (1931)

which the district court decision cited [521 F. Supp. at 58, App. C-25].

6

proscribed defense in Jones Act cases of assumption o/ risk

with contributory negligence. In reply, petitioner argued that

the Court of Appeals was without power to consider respond-

ent’s cross-appeal because of plaintiff's consent to the judg-

ment appealed from’ and that, in any event, since the district

court had made no mistake of law in deciding the contributory

negligence issue, and had properly applied the correct test of

when a new trial must be granted, the Court of Appeals was

required to affirm the grant of a new trial but order it to be

held on all, not just the liability issues.

On September 14, 1982 the Court of Appeals (688 F.2d 898)

reversed the district court’s judgment and remanded the case to

district court for “further consideration consistent with [its]

opinion.” The Court of Appeals held that the “remittitur” was

impe: missible; but instead of ordering a new trial even on the

liability issues as the decision of the district court had pro-

vided, it asked the trial court to reconsider its re-examination

of the facts found by the jury. As the opinion makes clear, this

request was the result of the Court of Appeals’ own re-exami-

nation of the facts and its perception that inferences and

conclusions different from those arrived at by the trial judge

could possibly explain or “justify” the jury's 4% finding of

comparative fault.

In sum, the Court of Appeals, without concluding: (1) that

the district court had committed legal error by misapplying the

law with respect to either comparative negligence or the grant-

ing of a new trial; or, (2) that the court’s analysis of the facts

was so mistaken as to constitute an abuse of discretion and,

hence, require reversal on grounds of legal error, or (3) that the

district court’s opinion was too unclear for such assessment to

be made, asked for a second consideration of the facts in order

that the district court might successfuliy reconcile the jury’s

4% finding with suggestions of novel and, indeed, not before

5 On authority of Donovan v, Penn Shipping Co., Inc, 429 U.S, 648

(1977), affirming per curiam, Donovan v, Penn Shippowg Co., Inc.,

$36 F.2d $36 (2d Cir, 1976),

argued, ‘‘theories’’ of plaintiff's contributory negligence of-

fered by the Court of Appeals’ upon its ‘town review of the

evidence. . .”’ [App. F-7].

On the basis of reference to Rule 50(c) Fed. R.Civ.P. provid-

ing for a conditional order of a new trial in the event of a grant

by a district court of a motion for judgment n.o.v., the Court

of Appeals concluded that it was ‘‘entirely appropriate to

entertain the cross-appeal in this case’’ [688 F.2d at 904, App.

A-9] as a result of which the appeals court was ‘‘afford{ed]

. . the opportunity to focus the district court's attention on

matters that may obviate the need for a new trial or at least

limit its scope’’ [/d.]. The Court of Appeals then ‘‘turned to”’

the cross-appeal for purposes of proposing a new factual

theory of plaintiff's contributory negligence not mentioned in

the summation of either party or argued to the district court on

the post-trial motion. The purpose of this focusing of attention

was clearly to encourage the district court to attempt to

reconcile its view of the propriety of the jury’s contributory

negligence finding with the Court of Appeals’ view of another

‘possible’ basis of the jury’s finding of contributory negli-

gence—that respondent had been negligent ‘in the manner in

which he performed his work’’ [688 F.2d at 905, App. A-10).

This usual demonstration of contributory negligence had not

been argued in district court. Instead, the question of contribu-

tory negligence had focused upon the ‘‘continuing-to-work”’

theory in that plaintiff was not ordered or otherwise required

to perform the work renewing pedestal supports on-deck at the

time of his injury, which he had said had occurred in weather

conditions which were only a “‘little bit too rough’’ [App.

G-2]. This ‘‘theory,’’ that respondent ‘‘could have, by an

alternate course of conduct, avoided the danger’’ [521 F.

Supp. at 49, App. C-6] was the only basis for evaluation of

contributory negligence considered by the district court in the

Rule 59 Fed.R.Civ.P. motion, Properly so.

In the determination of the post-trial motion Judge Haight,

after first acknowledging the unquestionably sound principle

8

applicable to Jones Act cases—-that mere continuing to work in

the face of unsafe conditions is not basis, without more, for a

finding of contributory negligence—concluded upon thorough

review of the facts that there had been a requisite safe alterna-

tive admitted in plaintiff's testimony. At 521 F. Supp. 49

{App. C-7] the district court found as ‘‘essentially undisputed

facts’’: (1) that the project of replacing the on-deck fittings had

been going on for a period of a week, ten days, possibly

longer; (2) that plaintiff had been preparing some of the

replacement fittings while the vessel was in the Mediterranean

and that the weather [there] was ‘‘real beautiful’’; (3) that

plaintiff, while given a number of projects, exercised a consid-

erable degree of personal control as to which project he would

work upon at what time and (4) that the accident occurred on a

Saturday which was an overtime day on which plaintiff was

not required to work at all, unless he wished to accrue

overtime, On these bases, the district court found support for

defendant’s argument that ‘plaintiff could have performed

this work while the vessel was still sailing in the beautiful

weather of the relatively sheltered Mediterranean; or, the vessel

having progressed into the North Atlantic, he could have

deferred the work until a different time if the weather condi-

tions at a given moment created a hazardous condition,”’ [521

F, Supp. at 49, App. C-7; emphasis added.]

On the basis of this analysis of the facts the trial judge

concluded that he:

. . » [did] not hold that a 4% allocation of contributory

negligence can never be appropriate. But | do conclude

that, in the circumstances of this case, it cannot be. As the

defendant accurately states. . ., this is a case “tin which

plaintiff was working voluntarily on overtime and in

which he admitted that he exercised discretion as to when

and how he would perform this routine task.’’ No com-

pulsion to do this work at this time appears, Plaintiff

could have reasonably foreseen that it would be safer to

do burning and finishing on an exposed deck in the

Mediterranean rather than the North Atlantic, [521 F.

Supp. at 51; App. C-9, 10).

9

On January 18, 1983, in response to the obvious wish of the

Court of Appeals, the district court reversed itself entirely and

held that the jury assessment of the facts respecting contribu-

tory negligence had ‘‘not persuaded [him] that a four percent

contributory negligence factor is against the weight of the

evidence, thereby constituting serious error’’ [App. F-11],

despite having initially concluding that he had had ‘‘no diffi-

culty at all in concluding that the minimal percentage assigned

to that fault constitutes clear and serious error’’ [App. C-9]}.

The district court was specifically directed by the Court of

Appeals to first ‘‘consider whether the ‘work performance’

theory of contributory negligence finds enough support in the

evidence. . . to justify the four percent factor’’ and instructed

that ‘‘[i]f [the district court] concludes it does not, then [its]

order for a new trial will stand,’’ [688 F.2d at 905; App. A-11,

emphasis added]. If the district court found the 4% factor to

be justified on the basis of ‘‘work performance’’ negligence, it

had then to consider whether the jury had erred in not

attributing fault to plaintiff for negligently exercising his dis-

cretion, The trial court discharged its dual mandate and or-

dered entry of judgment on the jury verdict after concluding

that a four percent assessment for ‘‘work performance,”’ did

not ‘‘bring[ ] about a ‘seriously erroneous result.’ ’’ [App. F-8]

and that respondent’s ‘‘continuing-to-work,’’ upon which the

court’s original holding was based, could be ignored.

But whether the district court fairly weighed the ‘‘work

performance’’ evidence, assuming contrary to fact that any

existed, is by no means clear. In discessing this ‘‘issue’’ the

district court referred only to respondent’s argument in sum-

mation [App. F-7, n. 1] that he had been doing the work in the

only manner possible (i.e. which is properly an argument

against, not for, ‘‘work performance’’ negligence) because this

supposedly demonstrated that plaintiff had had ‘‘little room

for maneuver;’’ as well as to petitioner’s summation argument

(on the issue of proximate cause rather than contributory

negligence, which the court acknowledged) that the injury had

been wholly the result of a ‘‘momentary lapse of carelessness

on [respondent’s] part’’ [App. F-7, F-8, n. 2].

10

It would, therefore, seem that if the jury assessed four

percent for ‘‘work perfurmance”’ they did so in error and only

because of this understandable failure (assumed by the district

court [App. F-8, n. 2]) to grasp the significance of the contrib-

utory negligence/proximate cause distinction. To correct such

error, whether due to disobedience of instructions or under-

standable error is the principal office of a Rule 59

Fed.R.Civ.P. motion. But the test of whether the motion

should be granted is not whether the jury result can be

explained but, as the Court of Appeals said, whether it can be

‘*justified.’’ The motion is, of course, addressed to the trial

court’s conscience—to assess whether or not the verdict is

clearly wrong, not to explain or reconcile how a jury mistake

might have been made.

Whether, despite the district court’s apparent correct percep-

tion of the true basis of the motion, the correct test was

applied upon this ‘‘re-consideration’’ is, unfortunately, much

to be doubted. For in conclusion, Judge Haight said: ‘‘[m]y

own ‘feel’ for the case [to which the district court said it

thought the Court of Appeals had extended only ‘a certain

deference’ (App. F-9)] is that it was on this [continuing-to-

work] theory of contributory negligence that the jury held

plaintiff entitled to recover less than his full damages’’ [App.

F-11]. Sound enough. Why else was the ‘‘work performance’’

theory not charged and not raised before oral argument when

introduced by the Court of Appeals? The exhaustion of what

remained of the district court’s discretion could not have been

more poignantly expressed. In short, the district court ex-

plained the verdict rather than justified it. How, after all, cana

result based on a mistake be justified and why is not the trial

court’s ‘‘feel’’ rather than the appeals court’s rationalization

controlling?

Having decided that the jury’s error—what the court as-

sumed was its misperception of the contributory negligence

issue—‘‘justified’’ the verdict, the district court, as was neces-

sary in order to achieve the result sought by the Court of

Appeals, next proceeded to consider the second aspect of the

appeals court mandate: reconsideration of the proof respecting

the ‘‘continuing-to-work’’ contributory negligence theory

which had, of course, to be all but entirely discounted if on

reconsideration a new trial motion was to be denied. Dis-

counted it was, but in a way which the Court of Appeals had

not apparently thought possible, despite its own review of the

facts and assumed thorough familiarity with the district court’s

opinion which had not led it to suggest even the possibility of

error on this basis.

The Court of Appeals, with ample reason, characterized the

district court’s assessment of the ‘‘continuing-to-work”’ theory

f contributory negligence as ** . . . based on a conclusion

that Akermanis had authority to schedule his own work and

that he exercised poor judgment by agreeing to work on the

Los Angeles’ deck on June 4, 1977, when he might have

deferred the task to another day.’’ [688 F.2d at 904, App.

A-9]. The Court went on to state:

**fi}f that was the jury’s conciusion, then, based on the

evidence presented at trial, Judge Haight was acting

within his broad discretion in ruling that a finding of only

4% contributory negligence was against the weight of the

evidence and that a new trial should be granted.”’ [/d.]

In its most recent opinion, the district court characterized

this aspect of respondent’s contributory negligence as based on

the claim that respondent ‘‘should have refused to perform the

work in question in the conditions that prevailed on June 4”’

which the district court said was ‘‘a significantly different, and

from defendant’s point of view less appealing, proposition’’

from the question whether plaintiff should have performed this

work before that time while the vessel was in the Mediterra-

nean [App. F-10]; despite the fact that respondent was not

ordered to work on-deck that morning. He was, rather, asked

to continue work on the pedestal renewals by doing work either

underdecks or on-deck. At the time of the request, the morning

of June 4, 1977, respondent testified that ‘‘ . . . new parts

were to be made’’ [App. G-]]—work which would have been

12

done in the machine shop underdecks. Respondent was given

**no list’? [App. G-3] and the respect accorded one engineer by

another was inconsistent with his being told when and how to

do the routine work assigned [App. G-5]. Far from being less

appealing, respondent’s option to defer the work was the

substantial contributory negligence argument offered the jury.°

Instead of extensively considering respondent’s options on

the day of the injury—which the Court of Appeals had already

held to be sufficient basis for setting aside the jury’s verdict—

the district court primarily dealt with respondent’s discretion

prior thereto. The district court then proceeded to deal with

this less important argument by extended reference to respond-

ent’s overtime sheets for the voyage [App. F-9, 10].’ But

respondent’s options prior to the day of his accident was but

one of four ‘‘continuing-to-work”’ considerations including the

essentially undisputed one ‘‘that plaintiff, while given a num-

ber of projects . . ., exercised a considerable degree of per-

sonal control as to which project he would work upon at what

time’’ [521 F. Supp. at 49, App. C-7] which had led the district

6 In summation, petitioner framed the issue as follows:

Did he have to do the burning that morning? Could he have waited

until the afternoon? Could he have waited until the next day? The

answer clearly is yes. [App. G-7].

7 These overtime sheets allegedly demonstrate that respondent spent

some sixteen hours prior to June 4 working on this task. But this is in

direct conflict with his trial testimony that it would not have taken

more than 15 or 20 minutes to burn off the old angle irons [App. G-4;

emphasis added]; and that the replacements ‘* ‘didn’t take long to

make it [sic]. You don’t have to work for days. | could make four, five

in one day or maybe six, maybe all eight.’ ’’ [521 F.Supp. at 50; App.

C-8; emphasis added]. It is apparent that the district court’s most

recent opinion, reconsidering evidence heard some eighteen months

previously, seized on but one item of evidence without benefit of other

evidence which could put it into proper context. This deus ex machina

approach is, we submit, inevitable if district courts are to be placed in

the position of having to ‘‘reconsider’’ opinions granting new trials in

the absence of error of law or abuse of discretion.

13

court to originally hold that ‘‘[n]o compulsion to do this work

at this time appears’’ [521 F. Supp. at 51, App. C-10].

The district court in reconsidering the motion dealt with this

true ‘‘continuing-to-work’’ argument for contributory negli-

gence by concluding that ‘‘the chief engineer had made it plain

that he wished the work completed before the vessel reached

Rotterdam”’ [App. F-10]" and that plaintiff had, on June 4,

1977, been told to ‘‘resume burning and welding work on-

deck’’ and that the first assistant engineer had ‘‘reiterated [his]

direction that the work be performed that morning’’ [App.

F-11, emphasis supplied].

But respondent was not told to work on-deck; he was only

asked to continue a work assignment having both on-deck and

underdeck components [see pp. 11-12, supra]. Thus, although

he may have been told (as he testified) to resume burning,

welding and fabricating ‘‘work’’ that morning, that did not

mean that he was required to commence working on-deck in

the face of what he considered to be unsafe conditions.

According to his own testimony, respondent had ample discre-

tion as to ‘* ‘when and how he would perform this routine

task’ ’’ [521 F.Supp. at 51; App. C-9, 10]; and he could,

therefore, have deferred the on-deck work in favor of fabricat-

8 There is no such testimony in the record. The court was apparently

relying on the unfounded assertion of respondent's counsel in the

parties’ most recent submissions to the court that ‘the vessel arrived in

Rotterdam on June 6, 1977. . . where the crane was used to unload

other cargo. Consequently an inference may be drawn that the work

had to be completed since it could not be done in port and work was

required on the crane before discharge on June 6, 1977."’ [Plaintiff's

Trial (sic) Brief, Dec. 17, 1982 at p. 16, emphasis added.] This

argument is baseless for the simple reason that respondent was not

repairing the crane itself but an angle iron atop a pedestal which

provided a resting place for the crane’s securing turnbuckles which

respondent's own expert described as not involving the ‘‘safety of the

vessel’’, There was no testimony that any of these angle irons had to be

renewed by any particular date, or that if there was no angle iron

present the turnbuckle could not safely have been supported on the

pedestal itself.

14

ing new parts in the underdecks machine shop until conditions,

in his view, improved (as they did by no later than 12:00 noon

that same day when the wind force was but 3-4 (Beaufort scale)

about 1% hours after the accident) [Deck Log, June 4, 1977].

The district court’s analysis is, we respectfully submit, defi-

cient on account of its failure to discriminate between the

underdeck and on-deck work which respondent himself testi-

fied he was told the chief engineer wanted him to continue that

morning. It focuses almost entirely on what was in the mind of

the judge at the time he originally determined the new trial

motion (the ‘‘Mediterranean’’ argument), but does not address

the holding by the Court of Appeals that he would have been

justified, based on the evidence, in ordering a new trial if he

believed that the jury had concluded respondent should have

deferred the work to later that day or the following day. Since

Judge Haight states that it is his opinion that the jury did so

conclude [App. F-11], was he not bound to adhere to his

original ruling?

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

A.

THE COURT OF APPEALS ERRED IN DETERMINING

THAT IT HAD JURISDICTION TO ENTERTAIN

RESPONDENT'S CROSS-APPEAL

Despite this Court’s reaffirmance of “. . . the long-standing

rule that a plaintiff in federal court, whether prosecuting a

state or federal cause of action, may not appeal from a

remittitur order he has accepted” (Donovan v. Penn Shipping

Co., Inc., et al., 429 U.S. 648 [1977], affirming per curiam,

536 F.2d 536 [2d Cir. 1976}), the Court of Appeals refused to

apply the rule because of what it characterized as its rationale:

“waiver and efficiency” [688 F.2d at 903, App. A-7]. Respond-

ent’s consent to the Judgment on a Reduced Verdict was

disposed of as follows:

15

Now that we have adjudicated Sea-Land’s appeal and

agreed with appellant that the District Judge lacked the

power to condition the new trial order on a remittitur

adjusting the contributory negligence percentage, the first

step in ordering relief with respect to the appeal is, as

Sea-Land requests, to vacate the judgment entered upon

the reduced award on the ground that its entry was

erroneous. Once we do that, it is conceptually difficult

and practically unfair to think of the plaintiff as having

waived a cross-appeal by consenting to a judgment that

no longer exists. [688 F.2d at 903, App. A-7].

Apart from its dubious logic, this argument does not begin to

address the substantive issue presented by the agreement of but

one party to a particular disposition as that agreement affects

the rights of the other party. The important point is not

whether the judgment was of a kind which the district court

was authorized to offer, but the fact of respondent’s consent in

order to avoid a retrial on “the liability issues” with attendant

possibility of a defendant’s verdict or assessment by a second

jury of contributory negligence significantly greater than the

25% proposed by the district court. Nowhere, petitioner re-

spectfully submits, does the Court of Appeals come to grips

with that central issue.’

The authorities cited by the Court of Appeals in its opinion

and by this Court in its per curiam opinion in Donovan v.

Penn Shipping Co., Inc., supra make plain that the bar to

9 As was noted by a majority in the Court of Appeals in Donovan v.

Penn Shipping Co., 536 F.2d at 538:

The prejudice to the defendant in allowing the plaintiff to bypass

the second trial and obtain direct review of the remittitur is

therefore obvious. The defendant's right to have the second jury

consider the issue of damages, although conditioned upon the

plaintiff having first rejected the remittitur is nonetheless a valuable

one. It should not be lightly disregarded. Furthermore, in those rare

instances where a second trial is required, it provides yet an

additional gauge by which the Court of Appeals can judge the

propriety of the remittitur.

16

appeal by a party who has accepted a remittitur includes

cross-appeals. Mattox v. News Syndicate Co., 176 F.2d 897,

904 (2d Cir.), cert. den., 338 U.S. 858 (1949); Woodworth v.

Chesbrough, 244 U.S. 79 (1917) cited in Donovan v. Penn

Shipping Co., 429 U.S. at 649. See, also, Westerman v. Sears,

Roebuck & Co., 577 F.2d 873, 883 (Sth Cir. 1978). However,

under the rule fashioned by the Court of Appeals in this case,

which in effect permits the courts to ignore a consent to a

remittitur in circumstances where the underlying judgment “no

longer exists,” it can be anticipated that as a practical matter

the Donovan rule will not apply to many cross-appeals. This

“exception” would arise in any case where a defendant has

successfully appealed for a new trial on a liability issue and

plaintiff, who has accepted a remittitur of damages, cross-ap-

peals—for in each of those cases, too, the reduced iudgment

which had been consented to would “no longer exist” in the

event of a defendant's successful appeal and the Court of

Appeals would be required to consider plaintiff's cross-appeal.

It is not difficult to foresee that a defendant might forego a

powerful argument that a mistake was made in the court’s

conduct of the trial—for example, in the charge on a liability

issue—lest it face, should its argument succeed, restoration of

the jury’s damage assessment despite plaintiff's agreement that

such award was too high.'°

The appeals court's discussion of the “efficiency” rationale

of Donovan v. Penn Shipping Co., supra is, thus, badly flawed

10 In this case petitioner claimed that respondent had sustained no

damages, an argument which the district court expressly acknowl-

edged. See, 521 F. Supp. at 47 [App. C-3]. Since some damage is an

element of proof required to establish liability in any negligence case,

the holding by the Court of Appeals in this case that the issues of

liability and damages were “completely separable,” although obviously

wrong, would seemingly allow such holding in any case. It can

therefore be anticipated that cross-appeals concerning accepted remitti-

turs will be brought every time defendant appeals on liability, against

the possibility that the Court of Appeals will agree that remittitur

should not have been granted and, as here, “holds” the jury verdict

and orders retrial of liability only.

17

and not just to the extent already indicated. The discussion of

“efficiency” was obviously intended to be restricted to this

case, and was but the springboard for an advisory opinion

designed to influence the district court. Thus the Court of

Appeals determined that the efficiency argument was “less

persuasive” in this case for the following reasons:

. . .Normally, when an appellate court dismisses the ap-

peal or cross-appeal of a plaintiff who has accepted a

remittitur, the burden on the court system is reduced

because there will be neither an appeal nor a new trial.

That is not true in this case. If we dismiss the cross-appeal

and simply return the case to the District Court for a new

trial, now that the conditional aspect of the new trial

order has ben excised, there would clearly be less of a

burden on this Court. But that course would add consid-

erably to the burden on the District Court, which would

have to conduct a trial that the cross-appellant is prepared

now to show us should never have been ordered. [688 F.2d

at 903, App. A-7, 8; emphasis added.]

On the facts of this case, had respondent joined in peti-

tioner’s argument to the district court that it could not sup-

plant a jury’s finding of contributory negligence with one of its

own, instead of accepting the benefit of a decision which he

later argued was illegal, the trial judge, faced with the unusual

circumstance of agreement to error by both parties, might well

have himself “excised” his mistaken “remittitur.”'' And, of

course, it is hardly enough to say that this case is “unusual”

[688 F.2d at 904, App. A-9]; for that does not necessarily mean

11 Of all the curious aspects of this curious case, the most curious is

how respondent succeeded in exploiting the district court's error with

the assistance of the Court of Appeals. Perhaps the time has passed for

argument that the bar is, at least to some extent, obliged to relieve the

bench of the embarrassment which follows an obvious error, Not every

member of the federal bench is entirely familiar with the correct means

by which the courts can redress a jury error, But respondent's counsel

was.

18

that the Court of Appeals’ holding will be as limited (i.e., to

this case on/y) as that court perhaps believes.

The real premise of the court’s argument concerning sup-

posed efficiency—“cross-appellant is prepared now to show us

{that a new trial] should never have been ordered” [App.

A-9]—is false for the simplest reason: respondent failed to

make the required showing. Indeed, the showing offered was

not the demonstration which the Court of Appeals found

persuasive. In truth, the Court of Appeals “turned to” and

“entertained” the cross-appeal only in order to permit the

Court of Appeals to show the district court why a new trial

need not be ordered.

It is instructive to review the brief filed by respondent in the

Court of Appeals, for it demonstrates that a@// respondent was

prepared to show was that the district court had erred as a

matter of law in characterizing respondent’s failure to properly

exercise his discretion as comparative fault (respondent arguing

that this in fact constituted the proscribed defense of assump-

tion of risk). But the Court of Appeals specifically held that

the district court had not so crred [688 F.2d at 904, App. A-9].

Surely, as of the time of the filing of the Court of Appeals’

opinion, it was apparent that respondent was unprepared to

show that the new trial should not have been ordered, having

demonstrated neither legal error nor abuse of discretion which

are the sole proper predicates for a reversal by the Court of

Appeals on the new trial issue. See, Portman vy. American

Home Products Corp., 201 F.2d 847, 848 (2d Cir. 1953);

Compton v. Luckenbach Overseas Corporation, 425 F.2d 1130

(2d Cir. 1970); Fairmount Glassworks v. Cub Fork Coal Co.,

287 U.S. 474, 481 (1933) and see, also, pp. 20 to 21, infra. In

sum, the argument that the Court of Appeals could quickly

and efficiently dispose of the new trial issue without retrial was

not based on any showing which respondent could make, but

upon the issuance of an advisory opinion by the Court of

Appeals.

19

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is improper for two

reasons: (1) it represents an unconstitutional re-examinction of

the facts by the appeals court when this right, by the Seventh

Amendment of the United States Constitution, is reserved

exclusively to the district courts; and, (2) once the Court of

Appeais vacated the Judgment on a Reduced Verdict by hold-

ing the remittitur invalid, the court divested itself of jurisdic-

tion to further consider an appeal from a non-final order (for a

new trial). Surely, this Court has never before been confronted

with a decision of a Court of Appeals where that court neither

affirmed, reversed nor remanded for an essential clarifica-

tion."? The Second Circuit “entertained” the cross-appeal but

heid only: “[iJn short, the District Judge, upon remand, has

discretion whether or not to order a new trial” [688 F.2d at

905-06, App. A-11]. But this discretion had already been

exercised without demonstrated abuse or other legal error.

What ensued was a most unfortunate surrender by the district

court of its constitutional prerogative. We respectfully submit

that “judicial economy” cannot be purchased at such great

cost.

THE COURT OF APPEALS RE-EXAMINED FACTS

FOUND BY THE JURY IN VIOLATION OF THE UNITED

STATES CONSTITUTION AMEND. VII AND IMPERMIS-

SIBLY INTERFERED WITH THE DISCRETION OF THE

DISTRICT COURT.

Having determined that it should entertain the cross-appeal

notwiths:anding respondent’s consent to the reduced judg-

ment, and despite the resulting non-finality of the district

court’s order for a new trial, the Court of Appeals proceeded

to ignore the proper scope of appellate review in considering an

12 Or even for further proceedings consistent with a holding by the

appeals court affecting a decision already made. Here, the remand was

for further “consideration” of an issue entirely independent of the

validity of the remittitur (which was the only matter upon which the

appeals court reversed),

20

order granting or denying a new trial. This Court has long held

that neither it nor the circuit courts of appeals will *. . .

review the action of a federal trial court in granting or denying

a motion for a new trial for error of fact. . ."" [Fairmount

Glassworks vy. Cub Fork Coal Co., 287 U.S. at 481.] This rule

was restated by Hand, J. in Portman v. American Home

Products Corp., 201 F.2d at 848 as follows:

There may be errors that are not reviewable at all and

among those that are not are erroneous orders granting or

denying motions to set aside verdicts on the ground that

they are against the weight of the evidence.

See, also, Compton vy. Luckenbach Overseas Corporation, 425

F.2d 1130 (2d Cir. 1970). As pointed out by this Court in

Fairmount Glassworks v. Cub Fork Coal Co., supra, the

formulation of this rule is rooted in this Court’s interpretation

of the Section 22 of the Judiciary Act of 1789,'° which

provided that there be ‘no reversal in either [circuit or su-

preme] court on such writ of error. . . for any error in fact.”’

This Court went on to state:

Sometimes the rule has been rested on that part of the

Seventh Amendment which provides that ‘tno fact tried

by a jury, shall be otherwise re-examined in any court of

the United States, than according to the rules of the

common law.’’ [footnote omitted.] More frequently the

reason given for the denial of review is that the granting

or refusing of a motion for a new trial is a matter within

the discretion of the trial court. [287 U.S. at 482).

The re-examination of facts found by a jury is permitted the

district courts since such power was exercised by the English

common law courts and is therefore embraced by the Seventh

Amendment [Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. v. Yeatts, 122 F.2d

350, 353-354 (4th Cir. 1941)]. The function and proper role of

the Court of Appeals is limited to reviewing a trial court's

13 Act of September 24, 1979, chap, 20, 1 Stat. at L84, 85,

21

decision for errors of law or abuse of discretion. See, Steven-

son v. Hearst Consol. Publications, Inc., 214 F.2d 902, 910 (2d

Cir. 1954). In the instant case, the Court of Appeals identified

no such error of law or abuse of discretion. To the contrary, it

upheld the district court’s consideration of respondent's discre-

tion as a permissible head of comparative negligence [688 F.2d

at 904, App. A-9] and acknowledged that the district court

judge was acting within his broad discretion in finding that the

jury’s attribution of but 4% fault to plaintiff was seriously

erroneous so as to require a new trial [/d.].'"

Upon reaching that point in its analysis, the Court of

Appeals had no choice but to affirm the district court's

granting of a new trial. Such affirmance would have precluded

the district court judge from reconsidering his decision to grant

a new trial since the appeals court’s affirmance would have

made it the law of the case, United States ex rel.

GREENHALGH vy. F.D. Rich Co., Inc., 520 F.2d 886, 889

(9th Cir, 1975). Instead, the court went on to offer its own

review of the facts, positing that the jury’s aberrant verdict

might have bec justified by respondent's carelessness in per-

forming the task as opposed to his negligent exercise of

discretion as to when to perform it. In support of this theory,

the Court of Appeals seized upon a bare scrap of testimony

which, viewed in context of the entire trial and particularly

respondent’s difficulty with the English language, did not

mean at all what the Court of Appeals thought.'’ It is signifi-

14s It was the district court, not the Court of Appeals, which initially

cited Morgan v. Consolidated Rail Corp., 509 F. Supp, 281 (SDNY

1980) for the proposition that courts should be reluctant to overturn a

jury finding of negligence in an FELA [Jones Act] case. See 521 F.

Supp. at 48 [App. C-4].

1S The testimony in question was taken from respondent's cross-exami-

nation during which petitioner was attempting to demonstrate that in

fact respondent could not say why he had slipped and therefore could

not say that it was because of spray on deck or wind or seas (as

respondent's expert witness was later to testify). Thus, when asked

what caused his foot to come off the pedestal respondent replied:

22

cant that the district court, in reviewing and reconsidering its

earlier decision in accordance with the Court of Appeals’

direction, was of the opinion, based on its ‘‘feel’’ of the case,

that in fact the jury did nor attribute 4% fault to plaintiff

based upon this ‘‘explanation’’ by the Court of Appeals,

If the Court of Appeals had itself reinstated the jury verdict

on the basis of a holding that the district court had made an

error of fact and that 4% comparative fault was justified on

the “conduct of the work” theory noted above, there would be

no question but that the court had exceeded its powers by

reviewing the very matters which were exclusively within the

discretion of the trial judge. Petitioner submits that the fact

that the Court of Appeals remanded the case with a direction

to the trial judge to consider the “conduct of the work” theory

was no less without its powers. This is not to say that a Court

of Appeals cannot, for purposes of guidance in future cases,

advise trial courts that the Court of Appeals might have

decided the matter differently if it had been theirs to decide.

Mistakes should surely be cautioned against. But this is a

different matter entirely from what was done in this case—

where the Court of Appeals issued an advisory opinion to be

acted upon by the district court, not in some future case, but in

the case under appeal,'®

“because it was wet or the sea. . . the ship slightly rolling, just plain

slip” [688 F.2d at 905, n. 4; App. A-10, n, 4]. In elaborating upon why

he was uncertain what had occurred, respondent testified that he was

not /ooking at his foot (“I didn't watch my feot") at the time it

slipped: “that's why | say | don't know why” [/d.], The Court of

Appeals apparently interpreted respondent's “I didn't watch my foot”

as equivalent to “I didn't watch my step” and therefore indicative of

carelessness for that reason on his part, What the court perhaps did

not appreciate (as did the district court and the jury) was that

respondent, born and reared in Russia, had limited command of

English nuance.

16 ~=That the decision was advisory only (as opposed to the Court of

Appeals seeking clarification in order to determine whether the district

court had abused its discretion) is proven by the prospective affir-

mance whatever the result of the renewed exercise of discretion by the

district court.

23

The trial court judge was told: (a) to reconsider his initial

decision and (b) to consider it in light of the suggestions made

by the Court of Appeals. Any difference between this type of

interference with the discretion of the trial judge and the kind

which would result from a direct reversal without any remand

is, we submit, more apparent than real. In both cases, the

Court of Appeals has impermissibly reviewed facts found by a

jury; in both, it has acted upon a matter within the sole

discretion of the trial court.'’

In light of the recent decision of the district court, reversing

itself on the order to grant a new trial, the u/fra vires opinion

of the Court of Appeals is no longer only of theoretical

concern. Review of the district court judge’s most recent

opinion [App. F] demonstrates that he was powerfully in-

fluenced by the advisory opinion of the Court of Appeals in

exercising whatever remained of his discretion.'* This case,

17 In its petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en banc,

petitioner urged the Court of Appeals to recall its decision on this

basis, The same argument was made to the district court in connection

with its reconsideration of its earlier opinion. Understandably, the

district court felt bound to follow the directive of the Court of

Appeals.

18 ~~ For example, in noting that he must give ‘‘further consideration’’ to

whether the jury’s assessment of respondent's fault was against the

weight of the evidence, the district court states: ‘*[t}hat task necessi-

tates a review of the pertinent evidence, with a proper deference to

those portions of Judge Newman's opinion which analyze it."’ |App.

F-2, emphasis added.] After quoting the entire portion of the Court of

Appeals’ decision concerning this aspect of the case, the district court

continues: **[a]gainst this background, I first consider whether or not,

in light of the entire evidence and the Court of Appeals’ analysis of the

theories of contributory negligence revealed by the evidence, the jury's

assessment of a four percent factor is against the weight of the

evidence’’ [App. F-5, 6; emphasis added.] Perhaps not surprisingly,

the district court judge went on to conclude that a 4% factor was

**justified’’ for the ‘‘work performance’’ theory of comparative fault

[App. F-7] although additionally stating that his own ‘‘feel’’ for the

case led him to believe that it was in fact the ‘‘continuing-to-work”’

theory that was the basis of the jury’s finding of comparative fault

[App. F-11]. The district court then proceeded to reverse itself on its

original holding that respondent's discretion, or his failure to exercise

it, could not constitute but 4% contributory negligence.

24

then, raises issue whether the constitutional proscription

against re-examination of facts found by a jury can be circum-

vented if a court of appeals ‘‘advises’’ a district court as to

how it might have ‘*better’’ evaluated those matters within its

exclusive discretion.

OF

THE ISSUES OF LIABILITY AND DAMAGES WERE IN-

SEPARABLE AND THE COURT OF APPEALS ERRED IN

AFFIRMING THIS ASPECT OF THE DISTRICT COURT'S

DECISION.

While noting that this Court has held that it would rarely be

proper to allow a jury in a Jones Act or FELA case to consider

the issues of damages and contributory negligence separately

(Norfolk Southern Railroad Co. v. Ferebee, 238 U.S. 269, 273

(1915)), the Court of Appeals was of the opinion that this case

was the ‘‘rare’’ instance in which an exception to that rule

should apply. This is troublesome in view of the fact that save

for Landry v. Two R. Drilling Co., 511 F.2d 138 (Sth Cir.

1975) there is no case where, despite a mistake in determination

of the liability question, a jury’s damage verdict has been

retained.

We would submit that the courts since 1915 have routinely

confronted circumstances where they were convinced abso-

lutely of the correctness of the jury’s damage award, yet have

ordered complete new trials in comparative negligence cases on

account of an error in determination of liability. Moreover,

like the district court below, the Court of Appeals does not

appear to have considered whether ‘‘the error which has crept

into one element of the verdict did not affect the determination

of [aJnother issue,’’ Thompson v. Camp, 167 F.2d 733, 734

(6th Cir.), cert. den., 335 U.S. 824 (1948), and seemed satisfied

with an explanation [688 F.2d at 906, n. 5; App. A-12, n. 5]

that the jury may have disregarded the court’s instruction on

both the damages and contributory negligence issues.

25

But even if this polarized jury did not also err in fixing

damages, there is nevertheless compelling reason to order a

new trial on all issues. It is axiomatic that one of the elements

necessary to a finding of liability for negligence is ‘‘actual loss

or damage resulting to the interest of another.’’ Prosser, Law

of Torts, 4th Ed., p. 143. As the district court acknowledged,

it was petitioner’s position that ‘‘whatever symptoms plaintiff

had suffered, or was suffering from, resulted from other

physical conditions and maladies, not related to the alleged

accident’”’ [521 F. Supp. at 47, App. C-3]. In short, petitioner

claimed with reason that respondent had suffered no damages.

This case is, thus, fhe ‘‘rare’’ instance where there can be no

question that damages and liability are completely inseparable.

The press of litigation in the courts is well known and the

reluctance to order new trials is understandable. But concern

for efficiency should not be permitted to override basic fair-

ness. Donovan, supra, 536 F.2d at 538 (dissenting op. Fein-

berg, J.). This court in Gasoline Products Co. v. Champlin

Refining Co., supra, emphatically indicated that partial retrials

may not properly be resorted to ‘‘unless it clearly appears that

the issue to be retried is so distinct and separable from the

others that a trial of it alone may be had without injustice.”’

[283 U.S. 494 (1931) at 500; emphasis added.] This, would

seem to mean simply that the ‘‘without injustice’ requirement

is to be measured by whether the issues are distinct and

separable. The decision of the Court of Appeals, in affirming

the district court’s order for a new trial on liability issues only,

completely ignores this central consideration of separability,

focusing instead on the fact that the jury, by special verdict,

indicated both aggregate damages as well as damages dis-

counted for respondent’s comparative fault.'” In essence, the

19 Thus, the court held (688 F.2d at 906, App. A-13]:

In this case, a new trial, if one is held, need not reconsider damages.

Because Judge Haight submitted detailed interrogatories to the

jury, following substantially the form suggested in Rivera, supra,

474 F.2d at 259 n.5, we know the jury’s determination of aggregate

damages suffered by the plaintiff, as well as their view of how much

26

Court of Appeals seems to be saying that the issues of damages

and contributory negligence are separable whenever the jury

has found them separately and, by extension, that the older

cases (enjoining against partial new trials on these issues in

Jones Act or FELA cases) which did not employ special

verdicts are therefore distinguishable. This, we submit, repre-

sents an emphatic abandonment of the standard set by this

Court in Gasoline Products Co. v. Champlin Refining Co.,

supra: the analysis of the Court of Appeals begs completely the

question as to whether the issues are distinct and separable so

that a second jury can fairly retry one without the other. The

special verdict requiring the jury to make findings separately—

which enables a reviewing court to ascertain whether a jury has

erred on a particular issue—is completely irrelevant for pur-

poses of determining whether that issue may properly be

retried separately. For that, the facts of the case must be

examined, an exercise from which the Court of Appeals point-

edly abstained.”’

of a discount should be applied because of contributory negligence.

Armed with these specific findings, the District Court acted within

its discretion in excluding the issue of damages from retrial. C/.

Landry v. Two R. Drilling Co., 511 F.2d 138, 143 n.4 (Sth Cir.

1975) (court accepted 20% contributory negligence factor from first

trial and limited retrial on question of damages). Although it is

possible that the jury’s special verdicts encompassed some undis-

closed compromise, absent obvious inconsistencies we will not

presume that the jury’s findings represent anything other than good

faith responses to the questions presented. As Judge Haight has

already determined that the jury’s determination of damages is

supported by the evidence, we conclude that damages need not be

reconsidered at retrial,

20 The Court of Appeals makes no reference, for example, to peti-

tioner’s argument that one of the aspects of its defense on liability was

that respondent had suffered no damages.

27

CONCLUSION

This Court is confronted with a case in which the Court of

Appeals authored an advisory opinion, after, by excision of

the improper remittitur, it had deprived itself of jurisdiction to

consider an appeal from what was then a non-final order.

Faced with no choice but to affirm the grant of a new trial, the

Court of Appeals unconstitutionally asked the district court to

reconsider its exercise of discretion on the basis of what proved

an invalid suggestion, not a reasoned conclusion, that there

might have been a mistake made by the district court in

assessing facts found by the trial jury.

Responding to the impairment of its discretion by the Court

of Appeals, the district court recalled its prior opinion and

ordered entry of judgment for very significantly more than

that sum to which respondent had consented. A mistaken

concern for ‘‘judicial economy” led the courts below to ignore

their Constitutional mandates, the Judiciary Act of 1789 and

three decisions, at least, of this Court: Donovan v. Penn

Shipping Co., Inc., 429 U.S. 648 (1977); affirming per curiam,

Donovan v. Penn Shipping Co., Inc., 536 F.2d 536 (2d Cir.

1976); Gasoline Products Co. v. Champlin Refining Co., 283

U.S. 494 (1931), and Norfolk Southern Railroad Co, v. Fere-

bee, 238 U.S. 269 (1915).

This case is the extreme example of a Court of Appeals ‘‘so

far departing from the acceptable and usual course of judicial

proceedings. . . as to call for an exercise of the Court’s power

of supervision.’’ S. Court Rule 17.1(a). In both determining it

had jurisdiction to ‘‘entertain’’ respondent's cross-appeal and

in re-examining facts found by the jury by purportedly re-

viewing the district court’s opinion for errors of fact, the

district court: ‘*. . . decided a federal question in conflict with

an applicable decision of this Court.’’ S. Court Rule 17.1(c).

Judicial activism of this kind must be discouraged if there is to

be any predictability to the law.

28

Dated: New York, New York

January 25, 1983

Respectfully submitted,

JOSEPH T, STEARNS

40 Wall Street

New York, New York 10005

(212) 344-4700

Attorney for Petitioner

WALKER & CORSA

SANDRA R. M. GLUCK

Of Counsel

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

SECOND CIRCUIT

Argued May 12, 1982 Decided Sept. 14, 1982

Nos. 1088, 1089, Dockets 81-7833, 81-7873

+

CARL O. AKERMANIS,

Plaintiff-Appellee-Cross-A ppellant,

—) =

SEA-LAND SERVICE, INC.,

Defendant-Appellant-Cross-A ppellee.

eo

Joseph T. Stearns, New York City (Sandra R.M. Gluck and

Walker & Corsa, New York City, on the brief), for defendant-

appellant-cross-appellee.

Steven Thaler, New York City (Markowitz & Glanstein, New

York City, on the brief), for plaintiff-appellee-cross-appellant.

a

Before FEINBERG, Chief Judge, and NEWMAN and WINTER,

Circuit Judges.

EE

NEWMAN, Circuit Judge:

This appeal concerns primarily the issue, apparently one of

first impression in the federal courts, whether a trial judge may

use the device of a new trial order conditioned on a remittitur

to increase a jury’s determination of the percent of responsibil-

ity for an injury that is attributable to a plaintiff’s contributory

negligence. That device was employed in this suit under the

Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. § 688 (1976), brought by plaintiff Carl

O. Akermanis, an injured seaman, against defendant ship-

A-2

owner Sea-Land Service, Inc. After plaintiff agreed to the

remittitur, the District Court for the Southern District of New

York (Charles S. Haight, Jr., Judge) entered judgment on

November 17, 1981, in favor of the plaintiff. 521 F.Supp. 44.

Defendant appeals, contending that it is entitled to an uncondi-

tional order for a new trial. Plaintiff cross-appeals, seeking an

increased judgment based on the jury’s initial determination as

to the share of responsibility attributable to his negligence. For

reasons that follow, we conclude that a remittitur may not be

used to adjust a jury’s contributory negligence percentage, and

we therefore reverse and remand for further proceedings.

In the spring of 1977, Akermanis was a third assistant day

engineer aboard Sea-Land’s vessel S/S Los Angeles during a

voyage from Greece to Rotterdam. One of the plaintiff's duties

was to replace deteriorated angle irons on pedestals used to

secure the vessel’s deck cranes. At trial, Akermanis contended

that the defendant's negligence caused him to injure himself

while working on these pedestals. Although there was conflict-

ing evidence, Akermanis testified that on June 4, 1977, his

superiors instructed him to work on the deck burning off a

rusted pedestal bracket, despite rolling seas and a deck slippery

from the ocean’s spray. According to the plaintiff, as a result

of these unsafe working conditions, he lost his balance, hit his

head against the pedestal, and hurt his back when his head was

snapped backwards as he fell. The accident was said to have

severely injured Akermanis’ cervical spine and forced his early

retirement from the merchant marine.

Sea-Land Service contested almost all of Akermanis’ allega-

tions. First, Sea-Land claimed that Akermanis’ injuries

stemmed not from an accident aboard the Los Angeles, but

rather from several preexisting ailments. Second, Sea-Land

contended that it was in no way to blame for the condition of

the Los Angeles on June 4, 1977, that Akermanis had not been

ordered to work on the pedestal bracket at any particular time,

and that any risks Akermanis faced while working on the deck

were inherent in the life of a seaman. In addition, Sea-Land

raised the defense of contributory negligence, arguing that, if

working on the pedestal was unsafe, Akermanis, who was 59

A-3

years old and had 30 years of maritime experience at the time

of the accident, should have been able to appreciate the danger

and rearrange his schedule to work below deck until the

weather cleared. According to the defendant, Akermanis had

considerable discretion in scheduling his work. Moreover,

counsel for Sea-Land suggested that the alleged accident was

more likely the result of Akermanis’ carelessness in doing his

job than any fault of the defendant. Finally, Sea-Land intro-

duced evidence through a series of expert witnesses that contra-

dicted the testimony of Akermanis’ doctors as to the extent

and cause of his spinal injuries.

In response to a special verdict form, the jury found that

Sea-Land was negligent, that its negligence was a proximate

cause of Akermanis’ June 4, 1977, accident, and that as a

result of the accident, Akermanis suffered damages totaling

$528,000. The jury further found that Akermanis also was

negligent and that the share of responsibility attributable to his

negligence was four percent.

Following the jury’s verdict, Sea-Land moved for judgment

notwithstanding the verdict or, in the alternative, for a new

trial, pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 50(b). After reviewing the

record, Judge Haight concluded that there was sufficient

evidence to support the jury’s findings that negligence on the

part of the defendant caused the plaintiff's injuries. Because it

was not “ ‘clear that the jury had reached a seriously erroneous

result,’ ” Bevevino v. M.S. Saydjari, 574 F.2d 676, 684 (2d Cir.

1978) (quoting 6A Moore's Federal Practice 4 59.08{[5], at

59—160 to —161 (1973)), the District Court denied defen-

dant’s motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict [sic],

see Berner v. British Commonwealth Pacific Airlines, Ltd.,

346 F.2d 532, 538 (2d Cir. 1965) (evidence must be viewed most

favorably for the defendant on j.n.o.v. motion), cert, denied,

382 U.S. 983, 86 S.Ct. 559, 15 L.Ed.2d 472 (1966), and

declined to order a new trial of all the issues.

Judge Haight then considered the jury’s finding that plain-

tiff’s contributory negligence was a four percent cause of the

accident, and concluded that the selection of this percentage

was against the weight of the evidence, in his view a “clear and

Ad

serious error.” While he agreed that it was reasonable for the

jury to determine that Sea-Land’s negligence was the major

cause of the accident, he rejected four percent as the measure

of plaintiff's share of responsibility. His reasoning is set forth

in his memorandum opinion. He first assumed that the jury’s

finding of plaintiff's contributory negligence was based on

their acceptance of defendant’s evidence that Akermanis had

some discretion to determine when he would work on the

ship’s pedestals and had exercised that discretion without using

reasonable care. Judge Haight then determined that a factor of

only four percent for contributory negligence of this sort was

against the weight of the evidence and so substantially below

jury determinations in similar Jones Act cases as to warrant a

new trial. After referring to cases cited at 44A Modern Federal

Practice Digest Seamen § 29(4)(H) (West 1968), he concluded

that the lowest contributory negligence factor the evidence

would support was 25 percent. He therefore ordered a new trial

on liability issues, but with the condition that the defendant's

motion for new trial would be denied if the plaintiff would

accept a “remittitur” of damages based on an increase of the

contributory negligence factor from four to 25 percent, The

plaintiff accepted, and judgment was entered in favor of the

plaintiff for 75% of the jury’s determination of the total

amount of damages suffered.

We consider first Sea-Land’s appeal, which challenges the

District Court's authority to use the device of a remittitur to

adjust the jury’s determination of the contributory negligence

percentage. Remittitur is a limited exception to the sanctity of

jury fact-finding. It allows trial judges to reduce damages, but

only when an award is grossly excessive. As the Supreme Court

has stated, this exception is justified because, “[w]here the

verdict is excessive, the practice of substituting a remission of

the excess for a new trial is not without plausible support in the

view that what remains is included in the verdict along with the

unlawful excess—in that sense that it has been found by the

jury—and that the remittitur has the effect of merely lopping

A-5

off an excrescence,” Dimick v. Schiedt, 293 U.S. 474, 486, 55

S.Ct. 296, 301, 79 L.Ed. 603 (1935). But in Dimick, the

Supreme Court made clear that remittitur was not an expansive

doctrine: “Maintenance of the jury as a fact-finding body is of

such importance and occupies so firm a place in our history

and jurisprudence that any seeming curtailment of the right to

a jury trial should be scrutinized with the utmost care.” /d.

In giving that scrutiny to the use of remittitur in this case, we

note a fundamental difference beiween the use of remittitur to

decrease a determination of damages and its use here to

increase a contributory negligence percentage. Though both

have the same ultimate consequence of reducing the amount of

the judgment that the plaintiff is invited to accept as the price

of avoiding a new trial, the means by which the reduction is

accomplished differ in a way that is critical to determining the

lawfulness of the technique. A conditional reduction of a

damage calculation leaves in the judgment a portion of what

the jury awarded, a circumstance that the Supreme Court

considered crucial to its willingness to permit remittitur while

rejecting additur in Dimick. In this case, however, the condi-

tional ad/ustment of the contributory negligence percentage

inserts into the judgment something beyond what the jury

found: a conclusion that the plaintiff's negligence was respon-

sible for a greater share of the accident than the jury had

thought. In Dimick, the four dissenters thought it was need-

lessly artificial to deny a trial judge the authority to condition a

new trial order on payment of an additur while permitting him

to use the device of remittitur. In cither circumstance, they

argued, the judge is simple conditioning the new trial order on

the minimum adjustment necessary to render the verdict within

the bounds of reasonableness. But their view did not prevail.

We are therefore obliged to apply the rationale of the Dimick

majority, which, as we understand it, precludes any adjustment

that extends a jury’s finding, even if that extension results in a

reduced monetary judgment. '

! It could be argued that the type of remittitur permitted by Judge

Haight should be allowed since the increase in the contributory negligence

factor can be accomplished only with the consent of the plaintiff, whose

A-6

We have located only one case in which a trial court

attempted to use the remittitur device to adjust a jury’s

contributory negligence assessment, and that decision did not

survive appellate review. In Ferguson v. Chester A. Poling,

Inc. 285 N.Y.S. 340, 247 A.D. 727 (2d Dep’t 1936) (per

curiam), also a Jones Act case, the jury found that the plaintiff

had suffered damages of $25,000, and then reduced this sum

by $5,000 because the plaintiff's contributory negligence was a

20 percent cause of the accident. The trial court thought the

lowest reasonable contributory negligence factor was 60 per-

cent and therefore ordered a new trial unless the plaintiff

agreed to a reduction in the judgment from $20,00 to $10,000.

The Appellate Division reversed because “the question of

apportioning the negligence was peculiarly within the province

of the jury.” /d. at 341, 247 A.D. at 728. We agree with the

New York court that a jury’s apportionment of responsibility

in a Jones Act case is not subject to adjustment by the device

of a remittitur. In Ferguson the Appellate Division ordered

judgment upon the jury’s fact-finding. Whether that result or a

new tria: is warranted here requires consideration of plaintiff's

cross-appeal.

A. In considering the plaintiff’s cross-appeal, we face the

threshold issue of whether we have appellate jurisdiction. This

Circuit has followed the majority rule that a plaintiff who

accepts a remittitur may not appeal from a judgment entered

upon the reduced award. Donovan v. Penn Shipping Co., 536

F.2d 536 (2d Cir. 1976), aff’d per curiam, 429 U.S. 648, 97

S.Ct. 835, 51 L.Ed. 2d 112 (1977); Evans v. Calmar Steamship

share of fault is being enlarged. However, it was equally true in Dimick that

the increase in the amount of damages sought to be achieved by the use of

additur could have been accomplished only with the consent of the defen-

dant, who would have paid the increase. The Supreme Court's rejection of

additur, indeed, its grudging acceptance of remittitur, 293 U.S. at 484, 55

S.Ct. at 300, suggests that jury determinations are not to be enlarged upon,

even with the consent of the party thereby disadvantaged.

A-7

Co., 534 F.2d 519 (2d Cir. 1976). And we have also dismissed

the cross-appeal of a plaintiff who accepted a remittitur, even

though we adjudicated the merits of the defendant's appeal

from the judgment entered upon the reduced award. Mattox v.

News Syndicate Co., 176 F.2d 897, 904 (2d Cir.) cert. denied,

338 U.S. 858, 70 S.Ct. 100, 94 L.Ed. 325 (1949). But see Burris

v. American Chicle Co., 120 F.2d 218, 223 (2d Cir. 1941)

(questioning appealability but reaching merits of cross-appeal).

That rule, whatever its merit, see Donovan v. Penn Shipping

Co., supra, 536 F.2d at 538 (Feinberg J. (now C.J.), dissent-

ing); Reinertsen v. George W. Rogers Construction Corp., 519

F.2d 531 (2d Cir. 1975), does not necessarily preclude our

exercise of jurisdiction over Akermanis’ cross-appeal. The

rationale of Donovan v. Penn Shipping Co., supra, appears to

be two-fold: waiver and efficiency. The plaintiff who has

accepted a remittitur, even if the acceptance was under protest,

will not be heard to complain, and allowance of such appeals

would add to the burdens of courts.

Neither rationale applies here. Now that we have adjudi-

cated Sea-Land’s appeal and agreed with appellant that the

District Judge lacked the power to condition the new trial

order on a remittitur adjusting the contributory negligence

percentage, the first step in ordering relief with respect to the

appeal is, as Sea-Land requests, to vacate the judgment entered

upon the reduced award on the ground that its entry was

erroneous. Once we do that, it is conceptually difficult and

pratically unfair to think of the plaintiff as having waived a

cross-appeal by consenting to a judgment that no longer exists.

The rationale of court efficiency does not disappear, but it

becomes less persuasive. Normally, when an »ppellate court

dismisses the appeal or cross-appeal of a plaintiff who has

accepted a remittitur, the burden on the court system is reduced

because there will be neither an appeal nor a new trial. That is

not true in this case. If we dismiss the cross-appeal and simply

return the case to the District Court for a new trial, now that

the conditional aspect of the new trial order has been excised,

there would clearly be less of a burden on this Court. But that

course would add considerably to the burden on the District

A-8

Court, which would have to conduct a trial that the cross-ap-

pellant is prepared now to show us should never have been

ordered. What we really face is an issue that has nothing to do

with acceptance of a .emittitur: whether a cross-appeal will lie

as to a non-final order for a new trial when the main appeal

from a final judgment has already brought the case to an

appellate court.

That is similar to the situation that arises under Fed. R. Civ.

P. 50(c) when a trial court grants a motion for judgment n.o.v.

and alse, as required by Rule 50(c), conditionally grants a

motion for a new trial. Upon appeal of the judgment by the

party that wants judgment entered on the verdict, Rule 50(c)

provides that if the judgment is reversed, “the new trial shall

proceed unless the appellate court has otherwise ordered.” This

provision, which the Advisory Committee explains was not

intended to alter the scope of appellate review, see Fed. R. Civ.

P. 50 advisory committee note, contemplates that an appellate

court, after vacating the judgment n.o.v., may then review the

trial court’s ruling conditionally granting a new trial and

“otherwise order[ ]” that the new trial not be held. The result is

review of a new trial order that would not have been appeala-

ble, if not accompanied by the granting of a motion for

judgment n.o.v., until entry of judgment after retrial. See

Taylor v. Washington Terminal Co., 409 F.2d 145 (D.C. Cir.),

cert. denied, 396 U.S. 835, 90 S.Ct. 93, 24 L.Ed.2d 85 (1969).

Even more analogous is the procedure authorized by Rule

50(d), which applies when appeal is taken by a party whose

motion for judgment n.o.v. was denied. If that party prevails

on its appeal from the judgment entered upon the verdict, the

appellee is entitled to urge the court of appeals to order a new

trial, rather than order the entry of judgment n.o.v. See Neely

v. Martin K. Eby Construction Co., 386 U.S. 317, 329, 87

S.Ct. 1072, 1080, 18 L.Ed.2d 75 (1967) (making clear that

court of appeals can consider the new trial request apart from

the authority of Rule 50(d)). Our case in an amalgam of the

situations contemplated by Rules 50(c) and 50(d): like the 50(c)

appellant, Akermanis wants to be heard in opposition to the

trial court’s grant of a new trial, but he is not the party who

AY

appealed the judgment; like the 5O(d) appellee, he is the

adversary of the party who appealed the judgment, but he is

opposing, rather than supporting, an order for a new trial.

The situations contemplated by Rules 50(c) and 50(d) are

variations of the general authority of a court of appeals, upon

vacating a judgment, to “require such further proceedings to

be had as may be just under the circumstances.” 28 U.S.C.

§ 2106 (1976). The circumstances of this case are unusual, to

say the least. We need not and do not consider the full range of

otherwise interlocutory rulings that an appellee would like to

urge an appellate court to consider upon his adversary’s

successful appeal from a final judgment. But we think it is

entirely appropriate to entertain the cross-appeal in this case.

Doing so is in keeping with the spirit of Rules 50(c) and S50(d)

and, as will be seen in Part II(B), infra, affords us the

opportunity to focus the District Court’s attention on matters

that may obviate the need for a new trial or at least limit its

scope. We therefore turn to the cross-appeal.

B. In granting the defendant's motion for a new trial, Judge

Haight reasoned that the jury’s finding of contributory negli-

gence was based on a conclusion that Akermanis had the

authority to schedule his own work and that he exercised poor

judgment by agreeing to work on the Los Angeles’ deck on

June 4, 1977, when he might have deferred the task to another

day.’ If that was the jury’s conclusion, then, based on the

evidence presented at trial, Judge Haight was acting within his

broad discretion in ruling that a finding of only four percent

contributory negligence was against the weight of the evidence

and that a new trial should be granted.’

2 As the District Court correctly noted, under the Jones Act, negli-

gence requires more than knowledge of a hazard; it entails failure to adopt

safer alternative courses of action, See Tolar v. Kinsman Marine Transit Co.,

618 F.2d 1193, 1196 (6th Cir. 1980); Rivera v. Farrell Lines, Lid., 474 F.2d

255, 257-58 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 414 U.S, 822, 94S8.Ct. 122, 38 L.Ed.2d $55

(1973). Inquiry at the trial properly centered on what choices were available

to Akermanis and how he exercised those choices.

3 Indeed, if the jury thought that Akermanis was negligent in electing

to do his work at the time of the accident, there is at least a superficial

A-10

It is possible, however, that the jury’s finding of contribu-

tory negligence was not based on a conclusion that Akermanis

chose to work on the pedestal that day. The jury might have

concluded that Akermanis was directed to work on the pedes-

tal at the time of the accident, but that he was negligent in the

manner in which he performed his work. During cross-exami-

nation, Akermanis admitted that his own preoccupation with

burning the bracket might have contributed to the accident.‘

During his summation, counsel for the defendant reviewed the

events surrounding Akermanis’ accident “was something due

to, perhaps, a momentary lapse of carefulness on his part.” If

the jury was focusing on the plaintiff’s manner of working at

the time of the accident, it is arguable that they considered

Akermanis’ work performance to be negligent but that such

negligence represented only a slight percentage of the cause of

the accident. In his memorandum opinion, Judge Haight gave

no explicit consideration to this possible explanation for the

jury’s contributory negligence factor of four percent.

Ordinarily, we might not be so concerned that a trial judge

explicitly consider every possible justification for a jury’s

inconsistency with the finding that the defendant was negligent in ordering

him to do the work at that time. But inconsistency is not inevitable. The jury

may have thought that the defendant had negligently instructed him to work

at that time, but not in the form of such an absolute order as to preclude

Akermanis from exercising care in deciding whether to do the work or at

least whether to call to his superiors’ attention the risks of doing the work at

that time. In any event, it is a function of the comparative negligence

doctrine to permit the jury to reconcile conflicting versions of an episode.

4 Akermanis’ testimony on cross-examination included the following:

Q. Sir, in fact, do you know why your foot came off the

pedestal?

A. Because it was wet or the sea—the ship slightly rolling just

plain slip.

Q. You don’t know why?

A. Why? It could be the ship’s rolling. | don't know why.

Q. Sir—

A. | was concentrating on my work, right. | was interested to cut

off that thing. | didn't watch my foot. The foot was standing there.

I slipped while 1 working and the ship moved, the foot slipped.

That's why I say I don’t know why [emphasis added].

A-ll

verdict before concluding that a verdict is against the weight of

the evidence and ordering a new trial. But this case arises under

the Jones Act, and jury findings under that Act, which incor-

porates standards of the FELA, are particularly resistant to

being overturned. See Morgan v. Consolidated Rail Corp., 509

F.Supp. 281, 285 (S.D.N.Y. 1980). Because we recognize that a

trial judge, with a “feel” of the case, Neely v. Martin K. Eby

Construction Co., supra, 386 U.S. at 325, 87 S.Ct. at 1078, is

normally in the best position to determine whether a verdict is

against the weight of the evidence, we prefer to have Judge

Haight consider whether the “work performance” theory of

contributory negligence finds enough support in the evidence,

assessed in the context of the entire trial, to justify the four

percent factor. If he concludes it does not, then his order for a

new trial will stand. Even if he concludes that the “work

performance” theory alone would support a four percent

factor, then Judge Haight will have the option of either

entering judgment for the plaintiff on the jury’s damage

computation, reduced by only four percent, or ordering a new

trial. This latter option remains a possibility because of an

intimation in Judge Haight’s opinion that he thinks the jury

would have committed serious error if they had not attributed

at least part of the responsibility for the accident to Akermanis

for continuing to work on deck despite the inclement weather

and unsafe conditions. In other words, Judge Haight may find

that the “work-performance” theory justifies a four percent

factor, but that Akermanis’ negligence in continuing to work is

so strongly supported by the evidence that a verdict assessing

his share of fault at only four percent is against the weight of

the evidence, whether or not the jury based its findings of

contributory negligence on the “continuing-to-work” theory.

In short, the District Judge, upon remand, has discretion

whether or not to order a new trial.

If the District Court decides that a new trial is necessary to

determine the extent of Akermanis’ contributory negligence,

there will remain a question as to the proper scope of the

retrial. Rule 59(a) permits partial retrial of distinct issues but

the trial court must examine whether a jury’s award of dam-

A-12

ages and its finding of liability are sufficiently separate to

allow a partial new trial as to liability issues. See Gasoline

Products Co, v. Champlin Refining Co., 283 U.S. 494, 500, 51

S.Ct. 513, 515, 75 L.Ed. 1188 (1931) (Partial retrial “may not

properly be resorted to unless it clearly appears that the issue

to be retried is so distinct and separable from others that a trial

of it alone may be had without injustice.”). In its memoran-

dum opinion, the District Court indicated that, if a new trial

were necessary, it would be limited to questions of liability.

Defendant contends that any retrial should include redeter-

mination of damages since the jury might have perceived

comparative negligence as closely related to damages and

might have allowed its determination of damages to be in-

fluenced by its erroneous finding of relative fault.’

Courts have been reluctant to hold a new trial on contribu-

tory negligence without also retrying damages. See Rivera v.

Farrell Lines, Inc., 474 F.2d 255, 259 (2d Cir.) (Jones Act case),

cert, denied, 414 U.S, 822, 94S.Ct. 122, 38 L.Ed.2d 55 (1973);

cf. Norfolk Southern Railroad Co. v. Ferebee, 238 U.S. 269,

273 35 S.Ct. 781, 782, 59 L.Ed. 1303 (1915) (it would rarely be

proper to allow a jury to consider a question of damages

without also submitting the issue of contributory negligence).

But this reluctance has been expressed in cases like Rivera,

where the form of the jury verdict left the court “in the dark as

to what the total award would have been absent the finding of

contributory negligence and the extent to which that finding

affected the verdict.” Rivera, supra, 474 F.2d at 259. The jury

in that case had reported a finding of contributory negligence,

but had not been asked to report the percent of responsibility it

5 While it is understandable that the defendant would prefer a second

opportunity to persuade a jury to return a modest damage award, the logic

of the argument is unclear: if the jury had determined the amount of

damages in relation to their contributory negligence percentage, the setting of

a low percentage would indicate that, if anything, damages had been scaled

down from what they might have been had the contributory negligence factor

been high. In this circumstance, it would normally be the plaintiff, not the

defendant, who might have a claim that damages should be retried in the

event of a retrial as to contributory negligence.

A-13

attributed to plaintiff's contributory negligence. However,

when a jury arrives at its decision by detailed special verdicts,

enabling a trial or a reviewing court to be reasonably certain

that an erroneous verdict was reached independent of another

verdict, a partial retrial may be in order. See, e.g., Ferebee,

supra.

In this case, a new trial, if one is held, need not reconsider

damages. Because Judge Haight submitted detailed interroga-

tories to the jury, following substantially the form suggested in

Rivera, supra, 474 F.2d at 259 n. 5, we know the jury’s

determination of aggregate damages suffered by the plaintiff,

as well as their view of how much of a discount should be

applied because of contributory negligence. Armed with these

specific findings, the District Court acted within its discretion

in excluding the issue of damages from retrial. Cf. Landry v.

Two R. Drilling Co., 5i\ F.2d 138, 143 n. 4 (Sth Cir. 1975)

(court accepted 20% contributory negligence factor from first

trial and limited retrial to question of damages). Although it is

possible that the jury’s special verdicts encompassed some

undisclosed compromise, absent obvious inconsistencies we

will not presume that the jury’s findings represent anything

other than good faith responses to the questions presented. As

Judge Haight has already determined that the jury’s deter-

mination of damages is supported by the evidence, we con-

clude that damages need not be reconsidered at retrial.

In his opinion conditionally ordering a new trial, Judge

Haight indicated that the defendant is entitled to a new trial

“on the question of contributory negligence,” but the operative

language of his order grants a new trial “on liability issues.”

The authority provided by Rule 59(a) for a new trial on “part”

of the issues lias been used by some courts with precision. E.g.,

Higginbotham v. Ford Motor Co., 540 F.2d 762 (Sth Cir.

1976). If Judge Haight determines that a new trial, if held,

should be limited to the question of contributory negligence—

both its existence and its percentage—he has discretion to

narrow the retrial to that extent.° He might well conclude that

6 If this procedure were used, the jury would be told that defendant's

negligence has already been determined and that their task is only to

A-14

since the retrial is occasioned because the first jury assigned

too great a share of the blame to the defendant, Akermanis

should not have to persuade the second jury that the defendant

was negligent simply because he had made that demonstration

too convincingly to the first jury.’ On the other hand, the

District Judge also has discretion to retry all the liability issues,

if he concludes that a triai limited to contributory negligence

would not, on balance, be fair to the parties.

We have considered the other issues raised by the defendant

concerning evidentiary rulings and the instructions to the jury

and find them to be without merit. Accordingly, the judgment

is reversed, and the case remanded for further consideration

consistent with this opinion.

determine whether the plaintiff was contributorily negligent and, if so, to

determine what percentage of responsibility for the accident is attributable to

the plaintiff's contributory negligence. The parties would, of course, be

entitled to present all evidence relevant to the fault of both parties in order

for the jury to make an apportionment of fault.

7 In some situations, it might be inappropriate to order such a limited

partial new trial. For instance, if in this case the jury's contributory

negligence factor had been impermissibly high, then any retrial might have to

encompass all aspects of liability: it might be unclear from such a verdict

whether the jury really thought the defendant was liable or whether their

finding of liability coupled with a high assessment of contributory negligence

represented a compromise between factions. Similarly, if in this case the

jury's award of damages as well as its assessment of contributory negligence

had been low, then it might be necessary to afford the plaintiff the option to

retry damages as well as liability: the jury might have discounted the damages

to compensate for the plaintiff's contributory negligence.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

SECOND CIRCUIT

At a stated term of the United States Court of Appeals, in

and for the Second Circuit, held at the United States Court

House, in the City of New York, on the 28 day of October, one

thousand nine hundred and eighty-two.

No. 81-7833

81-7873

>

CARL O. AKERMANIS,

Plaintiff-Appellee-Cross-Appellant,

—

SEA-LAND SERVICE, INC.,

Defendant-Appellant-Cross-Appellee.

>

A petition for rehearing containing a suggestion that the

action be reheard in banc having been filed herein by counsel

for the plaintiff-appellee-cross-appellant, Carl O. Akermanis.

Upon consideration by the panel that heard the appeal, it is

Ordered that said petition for rehearing is DENIED.

B-2

It is further noted that the suggestion for rehearing in banc

has been transmitted to the judges of the court in regular active

service and to any other judge on the panel that heard the

appeal and that no such judge has requested that a vote be

taken thereon.

A. Daniel Fusaro, Clerk

S/ FRANCIS X. GINDHART

by FRANCIS X. GINDHART

Chief Deputy Clerk

STAMP

United States Court of Appeals, Second Circuit

Filed October 28, 1982

A. Daniel Fusaro, Clerk

C-1

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

S. D. NEW YORK

Oct. 14, 1981

No. 77 Civ. 6131-CSH

aoe

CARL O. AKERMANIS,

Plaintiff,

—

SEA-LAND SERVICE, INC.,

Defendant.

es

Markowitz & Glanstein, New York City, for plaintiff; Steven

Thaler, New York City, of counsel.

Walker & Corsa, New York City, for defendant; Joseph T.

Stearns, Sandra R. M. Gluck, New York City, of counsel.

+

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

HAIGHT, District Judge:

Plaintiff Car! Akermanis, a licensed marine engineer,

brought this action against his former employer, defendant

Sea-Land Service, Inc., to recover for damages allegedly

caused by an accidental injury suffered on board defendant’s

vessel LOS ANGELES on June 4, 1977. The complaint stated

causes of action for unseaworthiness, and for negligence under

the Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. § 688. The Court dismissed the

unseaworthiness claim at the conclusion of plaintiff’s case.

Defendant’s motion to dismiss the negligence cause of action

was denied, defendant offered evidence, and that cause of

action was submitted to the jury in the form of a special

C-2

verdict. The jury found that defendant’s negligence was a

proximate cause of plaintiff’s accident, and assessed damages

of $150,000 for past pain and suffering, $100,000 for future

pain and suffering, $160,000 for past lost earnings, and

$118,000 for future lost earnings. The damages consequently

totalled $528,000. Finally, the jury found that the contributory

negligence of plaintiff contributed to the accident in the

amount of 4%.

The Court entered judgment in plaintiff's favor for

$489,514.61. This amount reflected the 4% reduction for

contributory negligence, and a 2% discount on future dam-

ages, the parties having offered no proof on the relevant

economic issues. Doca v. Marina Mercante Nicaraguense, 634

F.2d 30, 40 (2d Cir. 1980). The judgment bore interest at 6%

per annum.

Defendant now moves pursuant to Rules 50 and 59,

F.R.Civ.P., for an order granting defendant judgment n. o. v.,

or in the alternative a new trial, or in further alternative a

remittitur. Plaintiff cross-moves to amend the judgment so as

to provide for interest at 9%.

Plaintiff was 59 years old at the time of the alleged accident.

He had been going to sea since 1936. After service in the

United States Navy, he obtained his first marine engineer’s

license in 1946, and, until the date of his accident, sailed

continuously in the Merchant Marine since that time. He

obtained a chief engineer’s license in 1957. At the pertinent

time, however, ,laintiff was sailing on board defendant’s vessel

LOS ANGELES as a third assistant day engireer, having

joined the vessel in that capacity on March 31, 1977.

The theory of plaintiff’s case was that, on the morning of

June 4, 1977, he was assigned to do burning and “finishing”

work on deck. The LOS ANGELES was then on a voyage

from Persian Gulf ports through the Mediterranean, bound for

Rotterdam. On the date of the accident, she had passd through

the Strait of Gibraltar, and was navigating in the North

Atlantic. Plaintiff’s work consisted of using a torch to burn off

C-3

the top of an iron pedestal, containing a deteriorated support

bracket for a turnbuckle, which was in turn used to secure one

of the movable cranes of the vessel while at sea. Plaintiff

contended that the place in which he was working was unrea-

sonably unsafe because the working of the vessel in the seas

had wetted the decks with spray, rendering the deck area

slippery. (Plaintiff, in his testimony, was not specific about the

physical cause of the accident about to be related, but his

contention through counsel, articulated throughout the case

and advanced with the assistance of expert testimony at the

trial, was that wind-blown spray from waves had rendered the

deck area hazardous for work.) Plaintiff was working on top

of hatch covers near the port edge of the coaming, between the

number 9 and 10 hatches. He testified that as he was burning

the top of the pedestal with his torch, he lost his balance,

struck his head on the pedestal, and that then his head was

jerked backwards as he fell. Plaintiff alleged a severe and

permanent injury to his cervical spine, : »sulting in his inability

to work again as a merchant seaman.

Defendant’s theories of the case were (1) no accident had

occurred, rather plaintiff was asserting a pretext to recover

damages before retiring; and (2) whatever symptoms plaintiff

had suffered, or was suffering from, resulted from other

physical conditions and maladies, not related to the alleged

accident.

Plaintiff testified at the trial. The chief officer and chief

engineer of the vessel testified by deposition. In addition to

these lay fact witnesses, there was an extensive amount of

medical evidence. The medical evidence took the form of

deposition testimony by plaintiff's post-accident treating phy-

sician, an orthopedist; hospital records relating to a number of

hospitalizations of plaintiff and consequent treatment, both

prior and subsequent to the accident; and the usual medical

expert witnesses, retained by the parties to give evidence at the

trial.

The opposing papers on the present motion rehearse at

length the parties’ contentions, factual, medical, and legal. In

passing upon defendant’s motion for judgment n. o. v. under

C-4

Rule 50(b), | must view the evidence in the light most favorable

to plaintiff. The standard is different on a motion for a new

trial under Rule 59; a new trial motion may be granted even if

there is substantial evidence to support the jury’s verdict, and

the trial judge is free to weigh the evidence himself and need

not view it in the light most favorable to the verdict winner.

Bevevino v. M.S. Saydjari, 574 F.2d 676, 677, 683-84 (2d Cir.

1978). However, even within the Rule 59 context, the moving

party must satisfy the trial judge that the verdict was contrary

to the weight of the evidence; and the Second Circuit in

Bevevino specifically approved the standard set forth by a

leading commentator that the trial judge should “abstain from

interfering with the verdict unless it is quite clear that the jury

had reached a seriously erroneous result.” /d. at 684, quoting

6A Moore’s Federai Practice, 4 59.08[5], at 59-160-59-161

(1973).

Implicit in this standard is the rule that “a trial judge should

not act merely as a ‘13th juror’ and set a verdict aside simply

because he would have reached a different result had he been

the trier of fact.” Borras v. Sea Land Service, Inc., 586 F.2d

881, 887 (ist Cir. 1978). It has also been said that “courts have

long been, and should be especially reluctant to overturn a jury

finding of negligence in an F.E.L.A. case.” Morgan v. Consoli-

dated Rail Corp., 509 F.Supp. 281, 285 (S.D.N.Y.1980), and

cases cited. This last observation is pertinent because Jones Act

cases are governed by F.E.L.A. principles.

Viewed in the light of these standards, defendant is not

entitled to judgment n. o. v., or, with the exception of the

contribwtory negligence issue discussed under Point II infra, to

a new trial. The accident either occurred or it did not. Defen-

dant argued that the evidence showed plaintiff did not report

the incident, and that he had attained the level of full retire-

ment benefits, from which defendant asked the jury to infer

that plaintiff had invented the accident in order to finance a

more comfortable retirement. The jury was entitled in law to

draw that inference; but it was equally entitled to believe the

plaintiff’s account of what happened to him, as it clearly did. I

do not regard the jury’s conclusion as seriously erroneous.

C-5

Having observed plaintiff’s demeanor and listened to his testi-

mony, | do not believe that he fabricated the accident.

On the question of defendant’s negligence, plaintiff's expert

witness testified that the prevailing conditions of wave, wind,

and the vessel’s motion through the seas resulted in spray on

the deck which rendered the area unsafe for the designated

work, Plaintiff testified that the chief engineer directed him to

perform the work. The chief officer’s duties included supervi-

sion of work on deck with a view to safety. There is no basis,

under either rule, to disturb the jury’s finding that defendant's

negligence contributed to the accident.

Finally, the jury was entitled to conclude, from the mass of

medical evidence, that the accident caused an injury to plain-

tiff’s cervical spine, permanent in nature, which, when super-

imposed upon whatever prior conditions plaintiff suffered

from, constituted the cause of a permanent disability to work

as a marine engineer. The Public Health Service treating

physician, Dr. Miller, during the course of a lengthy deposi-

tion, gave such testimony (Dep. Tr. 87, 88, 95, 96); a compara-

ble opinion was expressed by plaintiff’s trial expert, Dr. Golub,

who attached particular significance to a reversal of the upper

cervical curve which he detected in the x-rays.

There was, of course, contrary evidence from the two

medical expert witnesses defendant called at trial. The jury

could have accepted those opinions; it could also have drawn

certain of the inferences which defendant’s counsel asked it to

draw from plaintiff’s voluminous medical history. But again,

the jury elected not to do so; and it is a necessary function of

lay jurors to choose between conflicting medical opinion. In

addition, the jury was entitled to consider the fact, stressed by

plaintiff’s counsel in argument, that notwithstanding the pre-

viously existing conditions stressed by defendant, plaintiff had

worked without significant interruption at sea for many years

prior to the accident in suit. Defendant’s riposte, as previously

noted, was that plaintiff had decided it was time to retire, and

wished to augment his pension. But the jury was also entitled

to credit plaintiff’s testimony—as did I—when, in responding

to that suggestion by defendant’s counsel on cross-examina-

C-6

tion, he stated in substance that he loved the sea, it was his

home, he knew no other, he had not intended to retire, and

badly missed going to sea.

These considerations are fatal to defendant’s motion for

judgment n. o. v. under Rule 50, on the questions of liability

and causation discussed. Within the context of defendant’s

motion for a new trial under Rule 59, I could disturb the jury’s

findings on these issues only if I acted as an impermissible

“13th juror,” which | decline to do, because | am not per-

suaded that they were “seriously erroneous.”

The question of substance that arises, on this aspect of the

motion, relates to the jury’s finding of 4% contributory

negligence. As noted supra, there is no basis for disturbing the

jury’s findings that the area in which plaintiff was working was

unsafe by reason of spray on the deck, and that defendant’s

supervising officers, who directed plaintiff to perform this

work, knew or should have known of the hazard. But defen-

dant argued that plaintiff, a man of many years’ experience at

sea, and the holder of a chief engineer’s license, was equally

able to appreciate any danger, and that he could have, by an

alternative course of conduct, avoided the danger.

To sustain a theory of contributory negligence, defendant

was required to demonstrate something more than plaintiff’s

proceeding in the face of an apparent hazard. A theory of

negligence, so limited, is the legal equivalent of the defense of

assumption of the risk, which is not available in cases of this

nature. Rivera v. Farrell Lines, Inc., 474 F.2d 255, 257-58 (2d

Cir. 1973). It is necessary for the defendant to demonstrate “an

act of negligence other than [plaintiff’s] knowledge of the

dangerous condition,” such as a failure to take an alternate

route which would have avoided the hazard. /d. at 258. That is

to say, “the defense of contributory negligence requires evi-

dence of some negligent act or omission by the plaintiff other

than his knowledgeable acceptance of a dangerous condition.”

Tolar v. Kinsman Marine Transit Co., 618 F.2d 1193 (6th Cir.

1980), citing Rivera, supra. “A seaman may not be denied

C-7

recovery because he proceeds in an unsafe area of the ship or

uses an unsafe appliance in absence of a showing that there

was a Safe alternative available to him.” Tolar at 1195.

In the case at bar, defendant perceives the requisite safe

alternative in plaintiff's testimony that the project of replacing

the on-deck fittings had been going on for a period of a week,

ten days, possibly longer than that; that plaintiff had been

preparing some of the replacement fittings while the vessel was

in the Mediterranean; and that the weather in the Mediterra-

nean “was real beautiful theh.” It further appears from the

evidence that plaintiff, while given a number of projects as

assistant day engineer, exercised a considerable degree of per-

sonal control as to which project he would work upon at what

time. It is further established from the evidence that the

accident occurred on a Saturday, which was an overtime day,

and that plaintiff was not required to work on that day at all,

unless he wished to accrue overtime. From these facts, essen-

tially undisputed, defendant argues that plaintiff could have

performed this work while the vessel was still sailing in the

beautiful weather of the relatively sheltered Mediterranean; or,

the vessel having progressed into the North Atlantic, he could

have deferred the work until a different time if the weather

conditions at a given moment created a hazardous condition.

This theory finds arguable support in the following testimony

given by the plaintiff on cross-examination:

“Q. This project of cutting off and replacing these

pedestal supports owas an ongoing _ thing,

correct?” “A, Yes.”

“Q. It had been going on for a period of time, perhaps

a week, ten days, maybe more?” “A. Right.”

“Q. You were doing that when it was convenient and

you were doing other things when it was convenient and

you were doing the routine things one after the other as

you chose, correct?”

“MR. THALER: I object to form.”

“THE COURT: Overruled.”

“MR. THALER: Okay.”

C-8

“Q. As you chose?” “A. Like, working those pedes-

tals, when it was good weather, | could cut all those

gadgets off, get ready to weld these new parts over it,

because they had already made three or four of them. I

don’t know who made them. | could put those on in good

weather and when it was bad weather | could—they didn’t

take long to make it. You don’t have to work for days. I

could make four, five in one day or maybe six, maybe all

eight.” Tr. 28-29,

Against this record, the Court charged the jury, without

exception, on the issue of contributory negligence in pertinent

part as follows:

“In this case, in order to establish that the plaintiff was

negligent, the defendant must prove an act of negligence

other than the plaintiff's knowledge of a dangerous con-

dition in the area of his work. That is because under the

law, the plaintiff did not assume the risk of his employ-

ment. That is, he does not under the law assume the risk

of a negligently created condition.

“But the plaintiff was under a duty to make reasonable

use of his own senses, in order to avoid injury to himself.

In that regard, you must consider the defendant's argu-

ment that Mr. Akermanis could have arranged his work

schedule so as to complete this particular burning and

welding project while the vessel was in calmer waters,

earlier in the voyage, before passing through the straits of

Gibraltar into the North Atlantic.”

The jury, so instructed and in the light of this evidence,

answered in the affirmative the following question on the

special verdict:

“5. Has defendant proved, by a fair preponderance of

the credible evidence, that there was any contributory

fault of plaintiff Carl Akermanis, which proximately

caused his accident?”

C-9

And, having answered that question in the affirmative, the

jury assessed the percentage of contribution of the plaintiff's

own fault to the accident at 4%, leaving the remaining 96% to

fall upon defendant.

If the jury had concluded that plaintiff was free of contribu-

tory negligence, a question of some difficulty might have

arisen as to whether that conclusion was not only erroneous,

but “seriously” so. However, the jury by its verdict has voiced

its conclusion that, in fact, fault of the plaintiff contributed to

his accident. In the circumstances of this case, | have no

difficulty at all in concluding that the minimal percentage

assigned to that fault constitutes clear and serious error.

Defendant argues that a finding of 4% contributory negli-

gence is, in the circumstances, “unsupportable.” Main brief at

16. Defendant cites no case for this proposition, or to indicate

what a proper allocation should be, But | am persuaded, on

the basis of my own research, that the general proposition is

sound, and that a significant increase in the degree of contribu-

tory negligence is required to prevent a miscarriage of justice.

The subjects of “assumption of risk, contributory negligence,

and division of damages” are treated in West’s Federal Practice

Digest under “Seamen,” key number 29(4). Examination of the

headnotes indicates that, in cases where judge or jury have

found contributory negligence on the part of the plaintiff, the

allocated percentages fall for the most part between 20% and

50%. Of course, each case turns upon its own circumstances;

but this trend of decision reflects a general awareness that if a

seaman’s negligence contributed to his shipboard injury, it did

so to a significant degree.

While | find 10 precedent for so minimal an allocation in a

case where a seaman’s negligence has contributed to his own

injury, | do not hold that a 4% allocation for contributory

negligence can never be appropriate. But I do conclude that, in

the circumstances of this case, it cannot be. As defendant

accurately states in its brief at 16, this is a case “in which

plaintiff was working voluntarily on overtime and in which he

admitted that he exercised discretion as to when and how he

C-10

would perform this routine task.” No compulsion to do this

work at this time appears. Plaintiff could have reasonably

forseen that it would be safer to do burning and finishing work

on an exposed deck in the Mediterranean rather than the North

Atlantic. In somewhat comparable circumstances judges sitting

without juries have found 50% contributory negligence fac-

tors. See, e. g., Nygaard v. Peter Pan Seafoods, Inc., 508

F.Supp. 151, 154 (W.D.Wash.1981), per Senior District Judge

Beeks; Haughton v. Blackships, Inc., 334 F.Supp. 317

(S.D.Tex.1971), rev'd on other grounds, 462 F.2d 788 (Sth Cir.

1972).

In the case at bar, the jury clearly indicated its view that a

considerably greater share of fault should be allocated to the

defendant shipowner. In reaching that conclusion, the jury

presumably had in mind plaintiff's testimony that the chief

engineer instructed him to work on deck on the day in

question, testimony which permitted plaintiff's counsel to

argue in summation that, under the adverse weather conditions

prevailing, and nothwithstanding plaintiff's option to do some-

thing else that morning, “the assignment should never have

been given” by the chief engineer, and that the chief officer

should not have permitted plaintiff to continue in his work. Tr.

68. While I regard the jury’s precise assessed percentages as

impermissible, it is entitled to place the greater share of the

fault upon defendant. My view on this aspect of the case is

that, in the totality of circumstances, a contributory negligence

allocation of only 4% is seriously erroneous; and that defen-

dant is entitled to a new trial on liability issues, unless plaintiff

agrees to a remittitur of the damages awarded, based upon a

contributory negligence factor of 25%. The procedure that will

be followed in the event of a new trial is discussed under Point

VI infra.

Defendant contends that the jury’s awards of damages are

excessive. Consistent with preferred practice, cf. Gretchen v.

United States, 618 F.2d 177, 180-81 (2d Cir. 1980), the jury

C-11

completed a special verdict calculating separate amounts for

past and future loss of earnings, and past and future pain and

suffering. Defendant challenges each award.

In passing upon a motion challenging a jury’s verdict as

excessive, “the trial judge is not called upon to say whether the

amount is higher than he personally would have awarded,”

Dagnello v. Long Island Railroad, 289 F.2d 797, 806 (2d Cir.

1961), citing with approval Delaney v. New York Cent. R. Co.,

68 F.Supp. 70 (S.D.N.Y.1946), and Lopoczyk v. Chester A.

Poling, Inc., 60 F.Supp. 839 (S.D.N.Y.), aff'd, 152 F.2d 457

(2d Cir. 1945). In Delaney, this Court said:

“Even though I might disagree with the amount of the

verdict, | have no right to substitute my mind for that of

the jury. A verdict will not be set aside simply because it is

excessive in the mind of the Court, but only when it is so

grossly excessive as to shock the Court’s sense of justice

and the impropriety of allowing it to stand is manifest.”

68 F.Supp. at 73.

Lopoczyk, supra, expands on the theme in these words:

“It is familiar learning that the court should not set aside

a verdict on the ground that it is excessive unless it is so

high as to shock the conscience. This rule is to be applied

even where there is some feeling on the part of the trial

court that a smaller verdict would have been more appro-

priate . . . The principle is that if the court should set

aside the jury’s verdict in the absence of a showing of

caprice, passion or prejudice, it would be usurping the

jury’s function . . . The power to set aside should be

cautiously used because where pain and suffering and

permanent injury are involved there can be no exact

yardstick and the jury’s determination should stand unless

it is clearly unreasonable.” 60 F.Supp. at 840 (citations

omitted).

At the appellate court level, the standard of review is

essentially the same. See, e. g., Mileski v. Long Island Rail-

C-12

road, 499 F.2d 1169, 1173 (2d Cir. 1974) (“. . . we cannot say

that this award was so grossly excessive or shocking to the

conscience that it would be a ‘denial of justice to let it stand,’ ”

citing Dagnello, supra, and Grunenthal v. Long Island Rail-

road, 393 U.S. 156, 159, 89 S.Ct. 331, 333, 21 L.Ed.2d 309

(1968)); Gibbs v. United States, 599 F.2d 36, 39 (2d Cir. 1979);

Zarcone v. Perry, 572 F.2d 52, 56-57 (2d Cir. 1978); Fernandez

v. Chios Shipping Co., Ltd., 542 F.2d 145, 155 (2d Cir. 1976)

(“. . . although the jury’s verdict for the longshoreman was

generous, it was not so excessive as to shock the court’s

conscience”); Vaccaro v. Alcoa Steamship Co., 405 F.2d 1133,

1139 (2d Cir. 1968).

The jury’s award of lost earnings will stand if there is

evidence in the record to support it. Grunenthal v. Long Island

Railroad, supra, 393 U.S. at 160, 89 S.Ct. at 333; Williamson

v. Compania Anonima Venezolana de Navigacion, 446 F.2d

1339, 1342 (2d Cir. 1971). An award for pain and suffering,

necessarily depending upon less precise measures of calcula-

tion, will not be disturbed unless so grossly excessive as to

shock the conscience and to constitute a denial of justice.

Mileski, supra, and other cases cited.

Judged by these standards of review, the present jury’s

awards are invulnerable to challenge. The amounts for past

and future lost earnings find adequate support in the record.

As noted under Point I, supra, I decline to disturb the jury’s

findings that, as the result of the defendant’s negligence,

plaintiff suffered permanent injury which terminated a career

at sea he would otherwise have continued. Plaintiff became

disabled in June, 1977, at age 59. He called as a witness Daniel

Colon, a union official, who testified without contradiction

that the mandatory retirement age for merchant marine engi-

neers was 70, and that berths had been and remained available

on American flag vessels. Because of industrial retooling,

plaintiff would probably have had to upgrade his license from

steam to diesel in order to secure continued employment; but

he testified that it had been his intention to do so, and the jury

was entitled to believe him. The jury awarded plaintiff

$160,000 for past lost earnings (1977-1981), and $118,000 for

C-13

future lost earnings (post-1981), for a total of $278,000. The

amounts plaintiff would have earned under the union contract

were established by Colon’s testimony. Taking into account the

increases in wages called for by the union contract, and

reasonably predictable overtime based upon plaintiff's past

performance, plaintiff would have earned $225,336.62 during

the period 1977 through 1983 under a steam license and

$280,870.28 if he had obtained a diesel license. Thus the total

amount awarded by the jury is supported by the evidence of

what he would have earned, had he continued to sail through

age 66. The jury evidently declined to award future lost

earnings beyond that age although, as noted, plaintiff would

not have been required to retire until he was 70. The awards

for lost earnings, being supported by evidence in the record,

will not be disturbed.'

The jury also awarded plaintiff $150,000 for past pain and

suffering, and $100,000 for future pain and suffering, making

a total of $250,000 under this general heading. The total award

is undoubtedly generous. | might well have awarded a lower

figure. Neither of these factors, under the controlling authori-

ties, is of legal significance. The case concerns jury findings of

permanent and debilitating back pain, which put an end to the

career of a man who loved the sea. The award for pain and

suffering is not of a magnitude to shock the Court’s con-

science, or amount to a denial of justice.

In short, | deny the motion for a new trial or remittitur

based upon the asserted excessiveness of the damages

awarded,’

1 Defendant argues that a series of post-accident hospitalizations,

unrelated to the accident, would necessarily have prevented plaintiff from

earning wages in an amount equal to the jury's award. But the hospitaliza-

tions were of relatively brief duration, and, in view of the undisputed

evidence concerning the amount of shoreside vacation plaintiff received each

year under the union contract, would not necessarily have interrupted his

earnings.

2 Defendant complains that the jury adopted the figures suggested by

plaintiff's counsel in summation. As for lost earnings, counsel based his

C-14

IV.

As an alternative basis for relief, defendant contends that

improprieties of plaintiff's counsel during summation inflamed

the passion and prejudice of the jury, thereby depriving defen-

dant of a fair trial.

While defendant’s counsel is generally critical of his adver-

sary, Only two comments made by plaintiff’s counsel during

summation require discussion. The first involves what defen-

dant regards as an unfair imputation of perjury to defendant’s

witnesses. The issue arises in this manner. Chief Officer

Moulton of the LOS ANGELES testified by deposition that, in

a conversation with Chief Engineer Carver of that vessel on

April 1, 1977, the day after plaintiff joined the vessel for the

voyage in question, Carver told Moulton that ‘‘whenever he

asked Mr. Akermanis to perform a task requiring responsibil-

ity, Mr. Akermanis tended to become ill.”’’ Defendant relied

upon this testimony in urging that a wave of dizziness which

plaintiff testified he suffered several days after the accident

was not causally related to the accident. In order to rebut this

theory, plaintiff’s counsel relied upon the following testimony

yiven by Chief Engineer Carver at his deposition:

calculations on the record evidence, which as noted supra was sufficient to

sustain them. On pain and suffering, counsel said:

**We ask you to consider a sum of $150,000 for pain and suffering

to the present, and we ask you to consider $100,000 for pain and

suffering for the future.’’ While the jury gave favorable considera-

tion to those figures, counsel's remarks did not rise to the level of

expressed personal opinion that the Second Circuit criticized in

Mileski, supra, at 1172—1173, and thus did not necessitate a

curative instruction. Cf. Mileski at 1174. Nor did defendant object

to this use of specific figures, or ask for a special instruction. In

these circumstances, the adoption by the jury of figures suggested

by counsel in summation furnishes no basis for a new trial or

remittitur.

3 Carver's out-of-court declaration, offered to prove the truth of the

matter asserted, would appear to be inadmissible hearsay, Rules 801(c), 802,

F.R.Evid., but plaintiff raised no objection.

C-15

*“‘Q Did you know Mr. Akermanis before he joined the

vessel?’’ ‘‘A I attended school with him in Baltimore,

Maryland, electrical school at the union school.”’

**Q When was that about?’’ ‘‘A I have no idea now.

It was some time in the past.’’

Page 14:

**Q Did he ever sail on any of your ships?’”’ ‘‘A No.”’

In the light of that testimony, plaintiff’s counsel argued to the

jury that Moulton’s account of what Carver told him was a

fabrication, Carver having testified that plaintiff had not sailed

‘fon any of [his] ships.”’

Defendant attacks this argument as unfair because, in fact,

plaintiff had sailed on the LOS ANGELES with Chief Engi-

neer Carver during the period August through December,

1976. That is established by individual overtime sheets which

defendant produced, for the first time, in support of the

present motion. Long before trial, plaintiff had requested from

defendant all of his work records, documents which rested

within defendant’s possession and control. Defendant

forwarded a number of employment and overtime records to

plaintiff’s counsel; however, the overtime records for the

period August-December, 1976 evidencing plaintiff’s presence

on board the LOS ANGELES, were not included. Defendant’s

counsel, in his affidavit in support of the present motion, says:

**A search of our file indicates that we were not in

possession of plaintiff’s records for that period, which

were either misplaced or inadvertently not forwarded to

us by defendant. Our firm then appears to have inadvert-

ently forwarded the incomplete records to Mr. Thaler as

part of our production of documents.’’ Stearns affidavit

at 4 32, p. 29.

It is apparent, therefore, that defendant failed to comply

with a legitimate demand for production of highly pertinent

documents. Defendant now seeks to parlay its own failure into

C-16

a ground for obtaining a new trial. One can almost admire the

nerve of the effort, but it is devoid of merit. Defendant argues:

‘‘There are two questions presented: (1) did the attorney

for plaintiff know of the fact that, indeed, plaintiff and

Carver had sailed in August to December 1976 as respec-

tively Chief Engineer and Third Assistant Day Engineer

aboard S/S LOS ANGELES and; (2), if the attorney

should claim that he was not aware of this fact, what

would excuse his failure to inquire of plaintiff before

making such a central allegation of perjury in an effort to

tip the balance in his favor in argument before the jury.’’

Stearns affidavit at ¢ 30, pp. 28-29.

Counsel's peroration appears in the last paragraph of his

affidavit:

‘*. . , the new trial issue of misconduct as a result of the

imputation of perjury might be seen as turning upon

single factor: the attorney’s failure to ask plaintiff during

direct examination whether or not he had sailed with

Carver in 1976. A truthful answer to this question would

have deprived plaintiff of any basis for the assertions of

perjury in summation. A false answer would have, at

least, alerted the defendant to the existence of some

relevance io the question, and might have resulted in

conclusive refutation, with the same effect. Instead, the

attorney for plaintiff was content with what was at best,

ambiguity and withheld the argument until summation,

and this was deliberate.’’ Stearns affidavit, ¢ 43, p. 40.

Plaintiff’s counsel avers, in an answering affidavit, that

**plaintiff had no recollection of serving with [Carver] one way

or the other.’’ Thaler affidavit at 4 115, p. 55. I accept that

representation as plausible in the circumstances. Precisely for

that reason, plaintiff’s counsel explored the subject during

Carver’s deposition, with the answer quoted above. Plaintiff’s

counsel further explored the question by demanding the plain-

tiff’s work records, with the results also described above. In

C-17

these circumstances, plaintiff’s counsel can hardly be criticized

for asking the jury to draw the inference that Chief Officer

Moulton was embellishing his conversation with Carver. These

events do not reveal an improper failure on the part of

plaintiff’s counsel to inquire; they reveal an improper failure

on the part of defendant to respond to discovery. I accept the

inadvertence of that failure, but defendant is hardly in a

position to turn it to its advantage. It is permissible for

counsel, in summation, to argue that the opposing party's

witnesses were ‘‘less than candid and impartial’ if, in the

circumstances, the argument is ‘‘not without support in the

record.’’ Juaire v. Nardin, 395 F.2d 373, 377 (2d Cir. !968).

That is the situation in the case at bar.

The second issue requiring discussion relates to what counsel

for both parties said in their summations about the presence,

or absence, of spray upon the deck at the time of the alleged

accident. Plaintiff called an expert witness, Captain Adams, to

testify that, as the result of the wind and wave conditions and

speed of the vessel, spray would have been present on the deck

in the area where plaintiff was working. Plaintiff, in a supple-

ment to the pre-trial order, had identified Adams as an expert

witness it might call. At the conclusion of Adams’ testimony,

counsel for defendant advised the Court that he expected to

call an expert witness ‘‘on the sole question of the possibility or

likelihood of the existence of spray on the deck.’’ Counsel

stated further that he expected his expert to say that ‘‘the vessel

was making a wake at the time, cutting through the water, and

that there is no possibility whatsoever of such spray’’ from the

waves existing at the time reaching the work area.

Plaintiff objected to the proffered expert testimony, on the

grounds that defendant had failed to give notice of its intention

to call such an expert, either in response to plaintiff’s specific

interrogatories on the point, or, as required, in the pre-trial

order or a supplement thereto. The Court sustained plaintiff's

objections, finding entirely unpersuasive (for reasons ap-

pearing in the trial transcript and not here repeated) the

argument of defendant’s counsel that he had been taken by

surprise by Adams’ testimony about spray on deck.

C-18

In the light of the Court’s ruling that defendant was pre-

cluded from calling a ‘‘spray’’ expert, defendant's counsel

raised the question of whether plaintiff's counsel would be

permitted, in summation, to comment upon defendant's

failure to call an expert witness to rebut the claim of spray on

deck. The Court responded:

**! think that if Mr. Thaler undertook to say that in

summation, | would be bound to advise the jury of the

dialogue that we have just had, the application made on

behalf of the defendant, and my ruling in respect to it.’’

Against that background, defendant's counsel, in giving the

first summing up to the jury, argued as follows with respect to

the testimony of plaintiff’s expert, Captain Adams:

**He also indicated the spray, if any, coming aboard the

ship would be coming at a point where the seas met the

ship’s bow. He then later said that any place alongside the

starboard side some spray might be thrown up as a result

of waves or the sea lapping against the ship’s side and

might somehow come on the deck.

‘*He forgot to mention the fact that when a ship goes

through the water it makes a wake. The wake is the effect

of the ship pushing the water out of the way, and as the

water is imparted it moved away from the ship’s side, not

towards it.

**This might lead you to believe, and | suggest it’s correct

that in fact if any spray was coming aboard this ship as a

result of encountering waves as high as 5 or 6 feet it

would have been in the immediate vicinity of the star-

board bow, a distance of some 400 feet or more, most

likely 500 feet from where Mr. Akermanis was working.

**And in addition, you remember the testimony of Cap-

tain Adams to the effect that ship was, in breadth, that is

from side to side, some point port to starboard, some 78

feet wide.

C-19

‘That is correct, according to my calculations based on

Lloyd’s Registry, it was perhaps 10 feet. Another witness

said 7 or 8 feet inboard from the starboard rail which

means that he was a distance of no less than 68 feet on the

longer or leeward side away from the rudder at the time

of the occurrence.

**With all these factors considered and the additional fact

that he was standing above the deck a distance of three or

four feet, he was given the picture of the sea provided by

the scale photographs. It’s possible [sic] for the spray to

have been on the pedestal and the place where plaintiff

says it was.’’ (Tr. 6—8) (emphasis added) (The word

‘possible’? as appearing in the transcript should ob-

viously be ‘‘impossible.’’).

This argument led plaintiff's counsel, in his summation, to

say the following:

**Now, with regard to the spray, you recall the testimony

that the water itself with these forces will have a spray on

the water, a slight spray. Then the motion of the ship

through the water, the spray is going to come up over and

that was the undisputed testimony, notwithstanding what

you have heard in argument here. There has been no

testimony which disputes or contests that fact.’’ (Tr. 51).

The following thereupon occurred:

‘MR. STEARNS: In view of the Court’s ruling on this

point, this is an absolutely improper argument to make.”’

“THE COURT: I will say to the jury at this time that as a

result of the ruling on a poir’ of the law, which you are

not aware of and which need not concern you, at the time

the defendant decided to put on an expert witness to give

evidence on the point that spray could not have come on

the deck, as a result of a ruling of law which need not

concern you, I declined to let that testimony in. | think

you should know that in view of what counsel has just

presented to you in argument.” (Tr. 51).

C-20

Following summations, and in the absence of the jury, the

Court expressed concern that the remarks of plaintiff's counsel

transgressed the spirit, if not the precise wording, of the

Court’s ruling when defendant was precluded from calling a

“spray” expert. Upon further consideration, however, I accept

plaintiff's argument that the challenged statement of his coun-

sel constituted fair comment upon what defendant’s counsel

had argued in his summation. Having failed to abide by the

discovery rules and the requirements of the pre-trial order,

defendant was precluded from calling an expert witness to

describe how the vessel’s wake would prevent spray from the

waves affecting the work area. Defendant's counsel, in sum-

mation, sought to remedy the lack by supplying the testimony

himself. In those circumstances, plaintiff's counsel was en-

titled, in fairness, to argue to the jury that the presence of

spray was established by “the undisputed testimony, notwith-

standing what you have heard in argument here,” and that

there was “no testimony which disputes or contests that fact.”

It is, of course, well settled that “[iJmproper or intemperate

argument by counsel in summation may necessitate a new trial

where it tends to arouse undue passion or prejudice on the part

of the jury, thereby depriving the opposite party of a fair trial.”

Mileski, supra, at 1171, and cases there cited. The courts

should not hesitate to grant relief where counsel indulges in

“outrageous argument,” San Antonio v, Timko, 368 F.2d 983

(2d Cir. 1966), or when counsel “repeatedly went beyond the

bounds of propriety,” Koufakis v. Carvel, 425 F.2d 892, 901

(2d Cir. 1970). The Supreme Court has mandated a new trial

where the record reveals “a bitter and passionate attack on

petitioner’s conduct of the case, under circumstances tending

to stir the resentment and arouse the prejudice of the jury,”

New York Central R.R. Co. v. Johnson, 279 U.S, 310, 318, 49

S.Ct. 300, 303, 73 L.Ed. 706 (1929). But no such improprieties

were committed in the case at bar. On the contrary, the

comments which defendant particularly criticizes were justified

by the circumstances. Complaints of prejudicial and unfair

arguments to the jury are not sufficient to obtain a new trial

where the behavior of counsel is not outrageous, and the jury’s

C-21

verdict is justified, as in the case at bar, by the evidence in the

record. Fortunato v. Ford Motor Co., 464 F.2d 962, 971 (2d

Cir. 1972).

V.

The final question raised by the parties is the rate of interest

to be awarded on the judgment from the date of judgment‘

until the date of satisfaction of the judgment. Plaintiff con-

tends that New York law, which imposes an interest rate of 9%

per annum,” governs the issue. Plaintiff derives support for his

position from 28 U.S.C. § 1961, which provides:

“Interest shall be allowed on any money judgment in a

civil case recovered in a district court. Execution therefor

may be levied by the marshal, in any case where, by the

law of the State in which such court is held, execution

may be levied for interest on judgments recovered in the

4 In the case at bar, the judgment, which was signed on July 20, 1981,

states that interest was to commence on July 15, 1981, five days prior to

entry of judgment. This provision does not reflect the Court's determination

that prejudgment interest is appropriate in this case, a decision defendant

contends is precluded in a Jones Act case. Rather, it reflects an agreement

between the parties to the effect that defendant would pay interest on the

judgment from July 15, the original settlement date of the judgment, in

exchange for an extension of time until July 20 within which to submit its

own proposed judgment. Thus, defendant's cross-motion for an order

amending the date interest was to commence is denied as moot.

5 N.Y.C.P.L.R. § 5004, as amended effective June 25, 1981. Plaintiff

suggests that, if the Court should hold that New York law governs the

question of the rate of interest, the Court is not bound by § 5004, but instead

may look to the higher interest rates set in N.Y.G.O.L. 5-501. The purpose of

§ 5004, however, “is to set a fixed interest rate on judgments, independent of

the usury provisions of General Obligations Law § 5-501, except as otherwise

provided by statute.” Law Revision Comm'n Note to L.1972, c, 358, § 1.

The New York courts, to whom the Court must look should it find New York

law applicable, have applied § 5004 to the exclusion of GOL § 5-501. See

Siegal, Supplementary Practice Commentaries to N.Y.C.P.L.R. § 5004 (Mc-

Kinney’s Supp. Pamphlet 1964-80). Accordingly, this Court is not free to

award the higher rates of G.O.L. § 5-501, but is instead limited by the 9%

rate set forth in CPLR § 5004,

C-22

courts of the State. Such interest shall be calculated from

the date of the entry of the judgment, at the rate allowed

by State law.”

The Court’s original judgment provided for 6% interest. Plain-

tiff moves to amend to 9%.

Although the case at bar is a “civil case” and thus apparently

falls within the express terms of § 1961, defendant contends

that, since the cause of action arises under the Jones Act, a

federal statute, the question of the rate of post-judgment

interest is governed solely by federal law. Accordingly, defen-

dant would defer to the discretion of the trial judge, discretion

defendant feels was properly exercised when the Court signed a

judgment providing for interest at the rate of 6% per annum.

The language of § 1961 is mandatory; it directs that interest

“shall be” calculated at the rate allowed by state law. Its terms

do not permit of the exercise of judicial discretion in its

application. Cf. Briggs v. Pennsylvania R. Co., 334 U.S. 304,

312, 68 S.Ct. 1039, 1043, 92 L.Ed. 1403 (1948) (Rutledge, J.,

dissenting) (construing predecessor statute to § 1961). Nor does

§ 1961 differentiate between cases arising under this Court’s

diversity jurisdiction and those arising under its federal ques-

tion jurisdiction; the statute simply applies to all “civil cases.”

As the Second Circuit noted in Kotsopoulos v. Asturia Ship-

ping Co., S.A., 467 F.2d 91, 95 (2d Cir. 1972),

“the universal application of Section 1961 to all types of

claims makes for logical uniformity. Once a claim is

reduced to judgment, the original claim is extinguished

and merged into the judgment; and a new claim, called a

judgment debt, arises. See Restatement of Judgments § 47

(1942). A single rule should govern interest on any such

debt, the nature of the original claim having become

irrelevant under the doctrine of merger.”

Although Kotsopoulos was brought under the general maritime

law, its principles have since been applied to Jones Act cases.

Reinertsen v. George W. Rogers Construction Corp., 403

F.Supp. 1263 (S.D.N.Y. 1975); see Barrios v. Louisiana Constr.

Materials Co., 465 F.2d 1157, 1168 (Sth Cir. 1972).

C-23

Defendant cites Briggs v. Pennsylvania R. Co., 164 F.2d 21

(2d Cir. 1947), aff'd, 334 U.S. 304, 68 S.Ct. 1039, 92 L.Ed.

1403 (1948), as support for the proposition that federal rather

than state law governs the rate of interest in cases arising under

a federal statute. In Briggs, which involved a cause of action

under the F.E.L.A., there were two judgments entered—one

after the original trial and the other after remand by the Court

of Appeals. The question faced by the Second Circuit was

from which of the judgments interest should run, an issue

resolved in favor of the latter date by applying federal law.

Briggs is relevant to the case at bar, however, not because the

Second Circuit relied on federal! law to interpret the term “the

date of the judgment,” as that phrase was used in 28 U.S.C.

§ 811, the predecessor statute to § 1961, but because the

Second Circuit, and the Supreme Court on appeal, in reaching

that issue necessarily assumed the applicability of 28 U.S.C.

§ 811 to F.E.L.A., and thus Jones Act, cases. Interpretation of

§ 1961 is not an issue in this case; the language in § 1961

concerning the rate of interest is clear and unambiguous. The

issue is the statute’s applicability to a Jones Act case, and on

that Briggs is unequivocal.

From the foregoing, it is clear that § 1961, and through it

New York state law, controls the question of the appropriate

rate of interest, a rate set by N.Y.C.P.L.R. § 5004 at 9% per

annum. Moreover, it should be noted that, even if the question

of the rate of interest were left to the Court’s discretion,

considerations of public policy would warrant raising the rate

of interest to 9%. In today’s economy, it is not unusual for one

to earn interest on one’s money at a double-digit rate. Accord-

ingly, a defendant motivated only by self-interest would be

economically well advised to defer as long as possible the

payment of a judgment accruing interest at a rate of 6%. Such

a disincentive to ending litigation instigated for the purpose of

making a plaintiff whole should not be encouraged.°

6 One additional point on the form of the judgment should be noted,

although not directly raised on these motions. Defendant took the position in

the charge conference, after both sides had rested, that it was entitled to an

instruction that the claim for lost earnings should be calculated on the basis

C-24

Vi.

For the reasons stated under Point II supra, defendant is

entitled to a new trial on the question of contributory negli-

gence, unless plaintiff agrees to an appropriate remittitur. The

remaining question is the dimension of the new trial, if plain-

tiff does not agree to the remittitur.

Rule 59(a) provides that a new trial “may be granted on all

or part of the issues . . .” Thus the rule provides for partial

new trials in appropriate circumstances. “Perhaps the most

of net wages after taxes. Alternatively, defendant contended that the Court

should judicially notice the tax rates and perform the deduction itself. After

the requested instruction was denied, defendant submitted a counter-judg-

ment in an amount reduced to reflect an accountant’s calculation of the tax

impact. The Court declined to sign that judgment.

Defendant relied upon Norfolk and Western Railway v, Liepelt, 444 U.S.

490, 100 S.Ct. 755, 62 L.Ed.2d 689 (1980), which the Second Circuit

recognized in Doca, supra, at 35 may cast doubt upon that court’s earlier

rule that in an FELA case no deduction would be made for taxes. See

McWeeney v. New York, New Haven & Hartford R. R. Co., 282 F.2d 34 (2d

Cir.) (en bane), cert. denied, 364 U.S, 870, 81 S.Ct. 115, 5 L.Ed.2d 93 (1960).

In Liepelt plaintiff's expert testified that decedent, had he lived, would have

earned wages totalling $302,000. Defendant offered to prove, through an

expert actuary, that income taxes would have reduced the pecuniary loss to a

net figure of $138,327. Defendant also requested an instruction to the jury

that the award of damages would not be subject to income taxation. The jury

awarded plaintiff $775,000. The Court held that the proffered evidence

should have been received, and the requested instruction given.

In the case at bar, the parties were directed to submit their requests to

charge prior to trial. Defendant asked that the jury be instructed that any

award to plaintiff would not constitute taxable income. That charge was

given, Defendant did not ask for an instruction that the jury should reduce

its award to reflect net, after-tax figures until the proof was closed; and,

unlike the defendant in Liepelt, offered no expert testimony on the quantum

of the tax impact. In these circumstances, defendant was not entitled to the

requested charge. There was no evidence before the lay jury upon which to

base a calculation, and the belated timing of the request deprived plaintiff of

the opportunity to meet the issue with research on the law or with evidence of

his own. Nor was the Court prepared to reduce the judgment itself on the

basis of defendant's post-trial calculation. The factual issues, had they been

timely raised, were for the jury, and plaintiff cannot be deprived of his right

to jury trial upon them.

C-25

common example is the grant of a new trial limited to damages

when liability has been properly determined, but there also

may be a new trial on liability with the prior determination of

damages allowed to stand.” Wright and Miller, Federal Practice

and Procedure, § 2814, pp. 93-95 (1973). The granting of a

partial new trial is subject to a caveat that “it may not be

properly resorted to unless it clearly appears that the issue to

be retried is so distinct and separable from the others that a

trial of it alone may be had without injustice . . .” Gasoline

Products Co. v. Champlin Refining Co., 283 U.S. 494, 500-01,

51 S.Ct. 513, 515, 75 L.Ed. 1188 (1931).

Contributory negligence is a liability issue. As the Fifth

Circuit observed in Landry v. Two R. Drilling Co., 511 F.2d

138, 143 n.4 (Sth Cir. 1975), “[a]lthough contributory negli-

gence is often referred to in these cases as a factor ‘in

mitigation of damages’, e. g., Pope & Talbot v. Hawn, 346

U.S. 406, 409, 74 S.Ct. 202, 204, 98 L.Ed. 143 (1953), it is

conceptually a factor in assessing the relative /iabilities of the

parties.” (emphasis in original). Thus, where the trial court

fails to properly instruct the jury on contributory negligence,

but the jury’s calculation of damages is invulnerable to attack,

the new trial will be limited to liability issues, with the verdict

on damages to stand in the event defendant is again found

liable. Dazenko v. James Hunter Machine Co., 393 F.2d 287,

291 (7th Cir. 1968). Cf. Landry, supra, which presented the

converse situation:

“Because contributory negligence is a factor for determin-

ing the comparative liability between the parties, whether

under the Jones Act or general maritime law, Pope &

Talbot v. Hawn, supra, and because we see no reason to

disturb the jury’s finding on liability, Il supra, any award

in a new trial solely on the issue of damages must be

reduced by 20% by the Court.” 511 F.2d 143 at n.4.

In the case at bar, there is no basis to disturb the jury’s

award of damages. Consequently, if plaintiff does not accept a

remittitur based upon a 25% contributory negligence factor,

defendant will be entitled to a new trial on liability only, at

C-26

which defendant may relitigate the issues of its own negligence

and that of the plaintiff. Dazenko, supra.

For the foregoing reasons, it is ORDERED as follows:

1. Plaintiff’s motion to amend the judgment is granted.

Plaintiff is directed to file and serve, within fourteen (14) days

of the date of this Order, an amended judgment providing for

interest at the rate of 9% per annum from July 15, 1981 until

paid.

2. Defendant’s motion for judgment in its favor n. 0. v. is

denied.

3. Defendant’s motion for a new trial on damages issues is

denied.

4. Defendant’s motion for a new trial on liability issues is

granted, and a new trial ordered, unless within twenty (20)

days of the date of entry of the judgment called for by

paragraph | of this Order, plaintiff files with the Clerk of the

Court a remittitur of all damages in excess of that amount

resulting from application of a 25% reduction for contributory

negligence.

D-1

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

77 Civ. 6131-CSH

>

CARL O. AKERMANIS,

Plaintiff,

—against—

SEA-LAND SERVICE, INC.,

Defendant.

>

ORDER

Defendant’s motion for reargument of this Court’s opinion

and order dated October 14, 1981, presenting no matters or

controlling decisions which the Court has overlooked, is

hereby denied. Counsel for plaintiff need not respond to the

motion and is directed 19 keep the Court advised of his

intentions in accordance with the October 14 order.

It is So Ordered.

Dated: New York, New York

November 2, 1981

S/ CHARLES S. HAIGHT, JR.

Charles S. Haight, Jr.

U.S.D.J.

E-1

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

77 Civ, 6131-CSH

>

CARL O, AKERMANIS,

Plaintiff,

—against—

SEA-LAND SERVICES, INC.,

Defendant.

>

JUDGMENT ON A REDUCED VERDICT

The trial of the above entitled case having been tried before

the Honorable Charles S. Haight, Jr., District Judge before a

jury on June 15, 1981, and at the conclusion of the trial on

June 26, 1981 the jury having returned a verdict in favor of the

plaintiff, CARL O. AKERMANIS, in the sum _ of

$528,000.000, and against the defendant, SEA-LAND SERV-

ICES, INC., and the jury having found the plaintiff, CARL O.

AKERMANIS, four percent contributory negligent, and the

Court having ordered a new trial on liability in said action

unless said plaintiff filed with the Clerk of the Court a Consent

within twenty days of the date of entry of the judgment as

amended which provides for nine percent interest on the jury

verdict and plaintiff having filed with the Clerk of the Court a

remittitur of all damages in excess of that amount resulting

from the application of a twenty-five percent reduction for

contributory negligence, and said remittitur having been duly

executed and filed with the Clerk of the Court, it is

ORDERED, ADJUDGED and DECREED, that the plain-

tiff, CARL O. AKERMANIS, have judgment as against the

defendant, SEA-LAND SERVICES, INC., in the sum of

E-2

$232,500.00 for the loss of earnings and pain and suffering to

the present, and the sum of $171,000.00 for loss of earnings

and pain and suffering in the future less a two percent discount

to present value, leaving a sum total of $149,933.36 for future

loss of earnings and pain and suffering, and that plaintiff have

judgment in the sum of $382,433.36, together with costs and

interest at the rate of nine percent per annum commencing July

15, 1981 to such date on which the judgment is paid.

Dated: New York, New York

November 5, 1981

S/ CHARLES S. HAIGHT, JR.

Honorable Charles S. Haight, Jr.

United States District Judge

Judgment Entered 11/17/81

S/ Raymond F. Burghardt

Clerk

F-1

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

77 Civ, 6131-CSH

>

CARL O, AKERMANIS,

Plaintiff,

—against—

SEA-LAND SERVICE, INC.,

Defendant.

>

APPEARANCES:

MARKOWITZ AND GLANSTEIN

Attorneys for Plaintiff

233 Broadway

New York, New York 10279

Steven Thaler, Esq.

Of Counsel.

WALKER & CORSA

Attorneys for Defendant

40 Wall Street

New York, New York 10005

Joseph T. Stearns, Esq.

Sandra R. M. Gluck, Esq.

Of Counsel.

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

HAIGHT, District Judge:

Following trial of plaintiff’s claim under the Jones Act, 46

U.S.C. § 688 (1976), for an injury suffered on board defen-

dant’s vessel S/S LOS ANGELES, the jury found that defen-

dant’s negligence proximately caused plaintiff's accident; that

plaintiff's damages totalled $528,000; that plaintiff was also

F-2

negligent; and that the share of responsibility attributable to

his negligence was four percent. This Court entered judgment

for plaintiff in the amount of $489,514.61, representing the

four percent reduction for contributory negligence and a two

percent discount on future damages.

Thereafter defendant moved for judgment n.o.v. under Rule

50, F.R.Civ.P., or for a new trial under Rule 59, or a remittitur.

This Court denied the motion for judgment n.o.v., but ordered

a new trial on liability issues only unless plaintiff accepted a

remittitur of damages, based on an increase of the contribu-

tory negligence factor from four to 25 percent. 521 F.Supp. 44

(S.D.N.Y. 1981).

Cross appeals followed. Defendant contended it was entitled

to an unconditional order for a new trial. Defendant also

challenged various evidentiary rulings and the Court's charge

to the jury. Plaintiff sought an increased judgment based on

the jury’s initial, four percent determination of the share of

responsibility attributable to his negligence.

The Court of Appeals, in a unanimous opinion authored by

Judge Newman, after first concluding that it had appellate

jurisdiction over plaintiff's cross appeal, went on to hold that,

unlike a decrease of a determination of damages, the jury's

apportionment of responsibility was “not subject to adjust-

ment by the device of a remittitur.” 688 F.2d 898, 903 (2d Cir.

1982). To that extent, both parties succeeded on their appeals.

Defendant’s other pvints on appeal were rejected. This Court's

judgment was accordingly reversed, and the case remanded

“for further consideration consistent with this opinion,” /d. at

907.

The “further consideration” enjoined upon this Court by the

Court of Appeals requires me to decide whether, “in the

context of the entire trial,” the jury’s assessment of plaintiff's

fault “at only four percent is against the weight of the evi-

dence,” id. at 905. That task necessitates a review of the

pertinent evidence, with a proper deference to those portions

of Judge Newman's opinion which analyze it. | must then

choose between the three specific options which emerge from

the Court of Appeals’ decision: (1) entering judgment for

F-3

plaintiff on the jury’s original computation; (2) ordering a new

trial limited to the question of contributory negligence, both its

existence and its percentage; or (3) ordering a new trial on all

liability issues.

I directed counsel for the parties to file further briefs on the

question of which option should be adopted. These are now at

hand, and this decision resolves the issue.

Before addressing the specific question presented, defendant

argues at length that Judge Newman’s opinion for the Court of

Appeals is full of improprieties, rising to the level o

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.