Amicus Brief — Doucet v. Diamond M Drilling Co.
Supreme Court brief1983
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
en N00. 82-1032
In the
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM. 1982
HERMAN J. DOUCET,
APPELLANT
VS.
DIAMOND M DRILLING COMPANY,
APPELLEE
ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT
MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE AND
BRIEF FOR AMICUS CURIAE
MISSISSIPPI TRIAL LAWYERS ASSOCIATION
JAMES A. GEORGE
GEORGE AND GEORGE, LTD.
8110 Summa Drive
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70809
(504) 769-3064
COUNSEL FOR
AMICUS CURIAE
MISSISSIPPI TRIAL LAWYERS
ASSOCIATION
A B Letter Service, Inc., 327 Chartres St., New Orleans, La. (504) 581-5555
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1982 NO. 82-1032
HERMAN J. DOUCET,
APPELLANT
VS.
DIAMOND M DRILLING COMPANY,
APPELLEE
MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF
FOR AMICUS CURIAE
MISSISSIPPI TRIAL LAWYERS ASSOCIATION
IN SUPPORT OF APPELLANT,
HERMAN J. DOUCET
Pursuant to Rule 36.1 of the Rules of this Court, the
Mississippi Trial Lawyers Association hereby moves for
leave of this court to file this Brief Amicus Curiae in sup-
port of the appellant, Herman J. Doucet.
The grounds for this motion are as follows:
1) Appellee, Diamond M Drilling Company, has re-
fused written consent to the filing of this amicus brief. Ac-
cordingly, this motion is being filed pursuant to Rule 36.1
of the Rules of this Court.
2) This case involves the question of what standard
of review should be applied by a federal court of appeals
reviewing the grant or denial of a judgment n.o.v. in a
longshoreman’s third-party negligence action against a
vessel owner pursuant to 33 U.S.C. §905(b).
3) The Mississippi Trial Lawyers Association is prin-
cipally composed of attorneys representing plaintiffs,
many of whom are personal injury litigants, and many of
whom will be affected by the outcome of this case.
4) The Mississippi Trial Lawyers Association be-
lieves that litigants in 33 U.S.C. §905(b) actions should
receive a uniform standard of review of grants or denials of
judgments n.o.v. throughout the circuit courts of appeals,
and that this standard should be consistent with the
Seventh Amendment of the United States Constitution.
Accordingly, the Mississippi Trial Lawyers Associa-
tion hereby moves this Court for leave to file the following
amicus brief in support of the position of appellant.
Respectfully submitted:
JAMES A. GEORGE
GEORGE AND GEORGE, LTD.
8110 Summa Drive
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70809
(504) 769-3064
COUNSEL FOR AMICUS CURIAE
MISSISSIPPI TRIAL LAWYERS
ASSOCIATION
January ___, 1983
i
TABLE OF CONTENTS
PAGE
TABLE OF CONTENTS... . . . .. .. . .. . . i
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. . . . . . .. ii
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE
MISSISSIPPI TRIAL LAWYERS ASSOCIATION.....1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT.........cccssssssssssesssesssessseesnsseees 2
Wo r...... 2
I. CONFLICTING STANDARDS UTILIZED BY
CIRCUIT COURTS OF APPEALS REVIEWING
GRANTS OR DENIALS OF JUDGMENT
N.O.V. IN 33 U.S.C. §905(b) NEGLIGENCE
ACTIONS OBSTRUCT BOTH CONGRESS’
INTENT OF UNIFORMITY IN THE AP-
PLICATION OF THE LONGSHOREMEN’S
AND HARBOR WORKERS’ COMPEN-
SATION ACT AND THE UNIFORM
APPLICATION OF THE NEGLIGENCE
STANDARD PROVIDED BY THIS
COURT IN SCINDIA STEAM NAVIGATION
CO., LTD., V. DE LOS SANTOS. . ... 2
A. Conflicting Standards of Review are
Utilized by Various Circuit Courts of
Appeals Reviewing Grants or Denials of
Judgments N. O. V. in 8905 0b) Actions. . . 4
B. The Legislative History of the Long -
shoremen’s and Harbor Workers’ Compen-
sation Act Shows That Application of
Conflicting Standards of Review By
Various Courts of Appeals Violates
The Congress’ Mandate. . .. . . . . . 12
II. THE SEVENTH AMENDMENT OF THE
UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION MAN-
DATES THAT THIS COURT ESTABLISH
A STANDARD OF REVIEW IN §905(b)
CASES FOR ALL OF THE CIRCUITS TO
ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES PAGE(S)
Armstrong v. Commerce Tankers Corp.,
423 F.2d 957 (2d Cir. 1970), cert. denied,
400 U.S. 833, 91 S.Ct. 67, 27 L.Ed.2d 65 (1970)............. 7
Atlantic & Gulf Stevedores, Inc. v. Ellerman Lines, Ltd.,
369 U.S. 355, 82 S.Ct. 780, 7 L.Ed.2d 798 (1962),
re-hearing denied 369 U.S. 882, 82 S.Ct. 1137,
8 L.Ed.2d 284, motion denied 371 U.S. 803, 83
Sem. 16, 17
Baltimore & Carolina Line v. Redman,
295 U.S. 654, 55 S.Ct. 890, 79 L. Ed. 1636 (1935). 15, 16
Boeing Company v. Shipman,
411 F. 2d 365 (5th Cir. 1981). . . . . . . 5, 6. 8
Byrd v. Blue Ridge Rural Elec. Cooperative,
356 U.S. 525, 78 S.Ct. 893, 2 L.Ed.2d 953 (1958)......... 17
Daddi v. United Overseas Export Lines, Inc., etc.,
674 F.2d 175 (2d Cir. 1982). . . . . . . . . . . .es. 9
Doucet v. Diamond M Drilling Company,
683 F. 2d 886 (5th Cir. 1982). . . 5, 6, 9, 11, 16, 17
Galloway v. United States,
319 U.S. 372, 63 S.Ct. 1077, 87 L. Ed. 1458 (1949)....... 15
Kunz v. Utah Power and Light Co.,
526 F.2d 500 (Oth Cir. 1975). . . . . . ee 11
Lemon v. Bank Lines, Ltd.,
656 F. 2d 110 (5th Cir. 1981). . . .. .. .seiesissesvetesees 6
Mattivi v. South African Marine Corp., “Huguenot”,
618 F. ad 163 (2d Cir. 1980). . . 6. 7. 8, 9. 10, 11. 15
Mendel Schwimmer d/b/a Supersonic Electronics Co. v.
Sony Corporation of America, 677 F. 2d 946 (2d
Cir. 1982), cert. denied U.S. S.Ct. (Nov. 8, 1982,
Docket No. 82-277).....sssssssssssersssesesseessssessnseessenses 12,14
McCormack v. Noble Drilling Corporation,
608 F. 2d 169 (5th Cir. 1979). . . . .. 5 at n. 10
Neely v. Martin K. Eby Construction Co.,
386 U.S. 317, 87 S.Ct. 1072, 18 L. Ed. 2d 75 (1967). . 15
iii
Robinson v. Zapata Corp.,
664 F. 2d 45 (5th Cir. 1981). . . . . . . . . . .. . 8
Scindia Steam Navigation Co., Ltd. v. De Los Santos,
451 U.S. 156, 101 S.Ct. 1614, 68 L.Ed.2d 1
Turner v. Japan Lines, Ltd.,
651 F.2d 1300 (9th Cir. 1981), cert. denied
U.S. S.Ct. (Nov. 1, 1982, Docket No. 81-2349)............. 11
Venture Technology, Inc. v. National Fuel Gas
Distribution Corporation, et al., — F.2d
(2d Cir. 1982), cert. denied U.S. S.Ct. (Nov. 8,
1982, Docket No. 82-362). . . . . .. . . . e. 12
CONGRESSIONAL PROCEEDINGS
H.R. Rep. No. 92-1441, 92nd Congress,
% 3 at n. 1
S. Rep. No. 92-1125, 92nd Congress,
0 A 3, 4, 12, 13, 14
CONSTITUTIONS
United States Constitution, Amendment VI1.......... i, 15,16
STATUTES
83 U.S.C. $001-O50........sccccssscersssreecsescesseees i, 2, 3, 4, 12, 13, 15
e passim
re iachascnscasithicccredudidesbaibekncdsssuselaspbidhessaataies 7, 8,9, 10
TREATISES
9 Wright & Miller, Federal Practice & Procedure. ... 12
1
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1982 NO. 82-1032
HERMAN J. DOUCET,
APPELLANT
VS.
DIAMOND M DRILLING COMPANY,
APPELLEE
AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF
STATEMENT OF INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE
The Mississippi Trial Lawyers Association is a non-
profit organization composed of approximately eight hun-
dred members of the Mississippi State Bar Association,
practicing within the territorial jurisdiction of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.
The filing of this brief reflects the concern of amicus
that two of the stated purposes of the Association, to
preserve the adversary system of justice and to protect the
right of trial by jury, of those who are damaged in person
and in property, will be subverted if this Court does not
resolve the conflicting standards of review utilized by
various federal courts of appeals reviewing grants and
denials of judgments n.o.v. in 33 U.S.C. §905(b) actions.
Amicus has been denied the written consent of
respondent, Diamond M Drilling Company, to file this
brief.
SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT
Appellant in this action contends that the Fifth Cir-
cuit Court of Appeals epplied an improper standard of
review when it reversed the trial court's denial of judgment
n. o. v. in this case. Amicus will argue in this brief that this
court should provide the federal courts of appeals with a
uniform standard of review to be applied to grants or
denials of judgments n.o.v. in longshoremen’s negligence
actions pursuant to 33 U.S.C. §905(b).
ARGUMENT
I, CONFLICTING STANDARDS UTILIZED BY CIR-
CUIT COURTS OF APPEALS REVIEWING GRANTS
OR DENIALS OF JUDGMENTS N. O. V. IN 33 U.S.C.
§905(b) NEGLIGENCE ACTIONS OBSTRUCT BOTH
CONGRESS’ INTENT OF UNIFORMITY IN THE AP-
PLICATION OF THE LONGSHOREMEN'S AND HAR-
BOR WORKERS’ COMPENSATION ACT AND THE
UNIFORM APPLICATION OF THE NEGLIGENCE
STANDARD PROVIDED BY THIS COURT IN SCIN-
DIA STEAM NAVIGATION CO, LD, V. DE LOS
SANTOS.
The Longshoremen's and Harbor Workers’ Compen-
sation Act, 33 U.S.C. §§901-950 (hereinafter the Act“),
provides in its §905(b) (hereinafter the ‘'§905(b) action“)
that longshoremen may sue a vessel owner for injury
“caused by the negligence of a vessel“. The Congress’
primary objective in amending the Act in 1972 with regard
to third-party actions against a vessel was to eliminate the
3
absolute liability of the vessel towards the longshoreman
on the basis of ‘‘unseaworthiness"’, a ‘‘non-delegable duty
or the like.! However, persons to whom compensation is
payable under the Act retain the right to recover damages
for negligence against the vessel. . 2 In the lending
Supreme Court decision on §905(b) actions, Scindia Steam
Navigation Co., Ltd. v. De Los Santos, 451 U.S. 156, 101
S.Ct. 1614, 68 L.Ed.2d 1 (1981), this Court stated that
the longshoremen’s] right to recover from the shipowner
for negligence was preserved in §905(b), which provided a
statutory negligence action against the ship e (emphasis
added). Therefore, as the Senate Committee on Labor and
Public Welfare (hereinafter the Senate Committee“)
stated in its Senate Report, the vessel's liability is to be
based on its own negligence....'’4
Scindia, supra, adopted a standard of negligence to
be applied in §905(b) netions. b This Court accepted that
the vessel may be liable if it actively involves itself in the
cargo operations and negligently injures a longshoreman
or if it fails to exercise due care to avoid exposing
longshoremen to harm from hazards they may encounter in
areas, or from equipment, under the active control of the
vessel during the stevedoring operation. 6 Although this
1 8. Rep. No. 92-1125 92nd Congress, 2d Session, at 10 (1972)
(hereinafter Sonate Rep.'’) (as noted in Scindia Steam Navigation Co, v,
De Los Santos, 461 U.S. 156, 101 8.Ct, 1614, 68 L. Ed. 2d 1 (1981), H. R.
Rep. No. 92-1441 92nd Congress, 2d Session (1972) is in all relevant
aspects identical to the Senate Report.)
2 Senate Rep., at 10,
3 451 U.S., at 166.
4 Senate Rep., at 11.
5 451 U.S,, at 167, 172, 176, 176.
8 74, at 167.
4
statement of the standard of negligence dealt with cargo
operations, it should be applicable to all longshore workers
within the coverage of the Act, (for example, a casing crew
member, such as Doucet) where the vessel ‘actively in-
volves itself“ in the longshore operations and fails to ex-
ercise due care to avoid exposing longshoremen to harm
from hazards...."7 occurring during such operations.
However, Scindia's holding, intended to provide a
uniform standard of negligence in §905(b) actions, is
emasculated when the various federal courts of appeals ap-
ply diverse standards of review to the sufficiency of the
evidence necessary to establish negligence. Such a
haphazard application of varying standards of review to
the Scindia negligence standard also violates the policy of
the Congress in enacting the 1972 Amendments to the Act.
The Senate Committee stated its intent “that the
negligence remedy authorized in the bill shall [not] be ap-
plied differently in different ports depending on the law of
the State in which the port may be located.“ 8 Such legal
questions brought under the Act shall be determined as a
matter of federal law. 9 The Congress has thus stated its
intent that application of the Act shall be uniform
throughout the scope of its coverage.
A. CONFLICTING STANDARDS OF REVIEW ARE
UTILIZED BY VARIOUS CIRCUIT COURTS OF Ap.
PEALS REVIEWING GRANTS OR DENIALS OF
JUDGMENTS N. O. v. IN §905(b) ACTIONS,
At least three different standards of review are
"Id.
8 Senate Rep., at 12.
9 1
5
applied in §905(b) actions by the federal courts of appeals.
Doucet v. Diamond M Drilling Co., 683 F. 2d 886 (5th
Cir. 1982) is the latest enunciation of the standard of
review utilized by the Fifth Circuit in §905(b) actions. The
Doucet court stated that the rule of Boeing Company v.
Shipman, 411 F.2d 365 (5th Cir. 1969) (en banc) concerning
the appellate standard of review for the sufficiency of the
evidence in such cases was firmly establish . 10 In the
second footnote of its opinion, the Doucet Court stated
that:
“On motions for directed verdict and for judg-
ment notwithstanding the verdict the Court
should consider all of the evidence—not just that
evidence which supports the non-mover's case—
but in the light and with all reasonable inferences
most favorable to the party opposed to the mo-
tion...A mere scintilla of evidence is insufficient
to present a question for the jury. The motions for
directed verdict and judgment n.o.v. should not
be decided by which side has the better case, nor
should they be granted only when there is a com-
plete absence of probative facts to support a jury
verdict, There must be a conflict in substantial
evidence to create a jury question. However, it is
the function of the jury as the traditional finder
of the facts, and not the court, to weigh conflict-
ing evidence and inferences, and determine 9
credibility of witnesses (footnote omitted).
(emphasis added).
Ironically, the Fifth Circuit itself appears to apply
its own Boeing standard of review for §905(b) actions dif-
10 683 F.2d, at 880 quoting McCormack v. Noble Drilling Corpora-
tion, 608 F.2d 169 (5th Cir. 1979).
11 74, at 889 int. 2.
ferently on different occasions. Contrary to the above
Doucet court's reading of Boeing, the Fifth Circuit panel in
Lemon v. Bank Lines, Ltd., 656 F.2d 110 (5th Cir. 1981)
citing Boeing, apparently examined only the evidence sup-
porting the jury’s verdict in a §905(b) action, ie. the
evidence in support of the non-movant.!2 Lemon reversed
the trial court’s grant of judgment n.o.v. for the defendant
vessel owner. It seems, then, that the Fifth Circuit has
rendered conflicting decisions applying its own standard of
review, that stated in Boeing Company v. Shipman, supra.
The Second Circuit’s standard for the review of the
sufficiency of the evidence in §905(b) actions is at odds
with the Fifth Circuit standard. In Mattivi v. South
African Marine Corp., “Huguenot”, 618 F.2d 163 (2d Cir.
1980) the Court states that:
“The trial court should grant a judgment n.o.v.
only when (1) there is such a complete absence of
evidence supporting the verdict that the jury's
findings could only have been the result of sheer
surmise and conjecture, or (2) there is such an
overwhelming amount of evidence in favor of the
movant that reasonable and fair minded men
could not arrive at a verdict against him. 13
Mattivi, applying the above standard to a §905(b)
IZ in this case, the jury found that the defendant shipowner was
negligent in the method and manner of stowing the cargo and that the
negligence proximately contributed to the plaintiff's injury. The
evidence supporting their verdict [for the non-movant] included the fact
that the chief mate had actual knowledge of the improper loading tech-
nique and failed to take actions to either correct the stowage or warn the
plaintiff..." (emphasis added). 656 F.2d, at 116.
13 618 F.2d, at 168.
7
action, relies upon Judge Anderson's opinion in Armstrong
v. Commerce Tankers Corp., 423 F.2d 957 (2d Cir. 1970),
cert. denied, 400 U.S. 833, 91 S.Ct. 67, 27 L.Ed.2d 65
(1970).
Armstrong affirmed a judgment n.o.v. in favor of a
defendant shipowner and agent in a negligence action
brought pursuant to the Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. 688 et seq.
(hereinafter the Jones Act“). Affirming the trial court,
Judge Anderson stated that the evidence must be viewed
in the light most favorable to the party other than the mo-
vant. The motion [for directed verdict or judgment n. o. v.]
will be granted only if (1) there is a complete absence of pro-
bative evidence to support a verdict for the non-movant
„1 and that where “ ‘it is apparent that the jury’s find-
ing that some act of negligence was performed by the plain-
tiff's shipmates was sheer surmise and conjecture’ "15 the
verdict of the jury will be set aside. Thus, the Mattivi
Court, reviewing a §905(b) action, looked to a Jones Act ac-
tion for the standard of review to be used to determine the
sufficiency of the evidence. Mattivi applied the stricter
standard of review traditionally used in Jones Act actions
which requires a complete absence of probative evidence
to support a verdict for the non-· movant. . 16 before a jury
verdict will be set aside.
Jones Act actions are based on a statutory negli-
gence cause of action,!7 as are §905(b) actions, The Mattivi
Court, therefore, seems to equate the standard of review
14 Armstrong v. Commerce Tankers Corp., supra, at 959.
15 Td, at 960.
16 Td, at 959.
17 46 U.S.C. §688.
8
for the sufficiency of evidence in §905(b) actions with those
of Jones Act actions (both statutory negligence actions). 18
The Fifth Circuit, on the other hand, applies two distinct
standards when reviewing the sufficiency of the evidence
in §905(b) actions and in Jones Act actions. As previously
stated, the Fifth Circuit standard of review in §905(b) cases
is “firmly established” by Boeing Company v. Shipman,
supra. In Robinson v. Zapata Corp., 664 F. 2d 45, (5th Cir.
1981), a Jones Act action, the Fifth Circuit states that ‘‘the
standard to be applied to a Jones Act claim is more
stringent. The [trial] court may direct a verdict or grant a
judgment n.o.v. on a Jones Act claim only when there is a
complete absence of probative facts supporting the non-
ee position. (emphasis by the Court) [citations omit-
ted.
Hence, the stricter standard of review applied by the
Second and Fifth Circuits in requiring a ‘‘complete absence
of probative evidence to support a verdict 20 before a
directed verdict or judgment n.o.v. will be granted in Jones
Act actions is also applied to §905(b) actions by the Second
Circuit. This is contrary to the Fifth Circuit standard of
review for §905(b) actions stated in Boeing and Doucet
which require examination of all of the evidence in the light
most favorable to the non-movant and if there is substan-
tial evidence opposed to the motions, that is, evidence of
such quality and weight that reasonable and fair-minded
men in the exercise of impartial judgment might reach dif-
ferent conclusions, the motions should be denied, and the
18 618 F.2d, at 168. See text at notes 13-16,
19 664 F.2d, at 47.
20 4, and 423 F.2d, at 959.
9
case submitted to the jury. 21
The Second and Fifth Circuits are thus applying in-
consistent standards of review in §905(b) actions. The
Second Circuit allows a directed verdict or judgment n.o.v.
only when there is a “complete absence of probative
evidence to support a verdict”’.22 In the Fifth Circuit, the
standard of reviewing decisions on these motions is that
only if there is substantial evidence opposed to the mo-
tion” will such motion be denied. 28 “A mere scintilla of
evidence is insufficient to present a question for the
jury 24 in the Fifth Circuit.
That the Serond Circuit requires a stricter standard
of review in §905(b) cases than does the Fifth Circuit,
because the former applies the traditional Jones Act stand-
ard to §905(b) actions, is further illustrated by the recent
case of Dabbi v. United Overseas Export Lines, Inc., etc.,
674 F.2d 175 (2d Cir. 1982). There, the Second Circuit af-
firmed a judgment n.o.v. for the defendant vessel owner in
a §905(b) action where the trial court had ruled that ‘‘on the
basis of the uncontroverted evidence, [the plaintiff's] ver-
sion of the accident was a physical impossibility. 25 The
Court went on to say that in such a case, reasonable and
fair-minded men could only find for defendant.“ 26 citing
21 83 F. 2d. at 889 fnt. 2.
22 Mattivi v. South African Marine Corp, “Huguenot”, supra, at
167-168 citing Armstrong v. Commerce Tankers Corp., supra, at 959.
23 Doucet v. Diamond M Drilling Co.,"supra, at 889 fnt. 2.
25 674 F.2d, at 177.
26 74
10
Mattivi, supra. Thus, when evidence presented by the non-
movant is physically impossible“, it seems that there is a
“complete absence of probative evidence to support a ver-
diet“ and the Second Circuit will necessarily allow a judg-
ment n.0.v.
At first blush, the standards of review applied by the
Second and Fifth Circuits do not appear to be in conflict
because of their similar phraseology. The second prong of
the Mattivi standard of review states that or (2) [if] there
is such an overwhelming amount of evidence in favor of the
movant that reasonable and fair-minded men could not ar-
rive at a verdict against him“ 27 the directed verdict or
judgment n. o. v. will be granted. This is very similar to the
Fifth Circuit’s requirement of more than a mere scintilla
of evidence” to deny such motions, as a mere scintilla“
would not be enough evidence in the Second Circuit to
counterbalance the “‘overwhelming evidence in favor of the
movant...”, entitling movant to the directed verdict or
judgment n. o. v.
However, the Mattivi court stated that the trial
court...correctly concluded that given the complete
absence of substantial evidence supporting the verdict the
jury’s finding could only have been the result of sheer sur-
mise and conjecture.” (emphasis added).28 Thus, Mattivi
utilized only the first alternative of its two-pronged stand-
ard of review in a §905(b) action, which is the stricter stand-
ard of review used by both the Second and Fifth Circuits in
reviewing the evidence in Jones Act actions. Therefore, the
use of this standard of review in Mattivi implies that
had there been evidence to support the verdict, the entry of
27 618 F.2d, at 168.
28 4, at 169.
11
judgment n. o. v. would have been reversed by the Second
Circuit. Conflicting standards of review are utilized by the
Second and Fifth Circuits, despite some ostensible
similarities in the phrasing of the standards.
Finally, the Ninth Circuit offers a third standard of
review in §905(b) actions. In Turner v. Japan Lines, Ltd.,
651 F.2d 1300 (9th Cir. 1981), cert. denied U.S. S.Ct. (Nov.
1, 1982, Docket No. 81-2349), the Ninth Circuit stated:
“This court will not disturb a jury’s verdict ‘unless we find
that the evidence was insufficient as a matter of law to sup-
port [the] verdict—that the evidence was such that no
reasonable man would accept it as adequate to establish
the existence of each fact essential to liability.’ [quoting
from] Kunz v. Utah Power and Light Co., 526 F.2d 500, 504
(9th Cir. 1975).“29 The Court went on to hold “that the
evidence taken together was sufficient to support the
jury’s verdict for plaintiff, and that the magistrate erred in
giving judgment n.o.v. to defendants [vessel owners]. 30
Thus, the Ninth Circuit utilizes a strict standard of review
for §905(b) cases in that the evidence must be such that
no reasonable man would accept it“ before the Court will
allow a jury verdict to be negated, in contrast to the
relatively broader standard applied by the Fifth Circuit in
Doucet, supra, and the apparently stricter standard ap-
plied by the Second Circuit in Mattivi, supra.
Conflicts between the Circuit Courts as to the stand-
29 651 F.2d, at 1304.
30 7a, at 1305.
12
ard of reviewing the sufficiency of the evidence necessary
to support a jury’s verdict are not limited to §905(b) ac-
tions. As evidenced by two very recent cases where cer-
tiorari was denied by this Court, this conflict is a signifi-
cant problem in other areas of law as well. Justice White
succinctly explained this in his dissent to the denial of cer-
tiorari in two cases decided on the same date, Mendel
Schwimmer d/b/a Supersonic Electronics Co. v. Sony Cor
poration of America, 677 F.2d 946 (2d Cir. 1982), cert.
denied, U.S. S.Ct. (Nov. 8, 1982, Docket No. 82-277) and
Venture Technology, Inc. v. National Fuel Gas Distribu-
tion Corporation, et al, — F.2d __ (2d Cir. 1982), cert.
denied U.S. S.Ct. (Nov. 8, 1982, Docket No. 82-362). Justice
White stated: Thus, the federal courts of appeals follow
three different approaches to determining whether
evidence is sufficient to create a jury issue. See 9 Wright &
Miller, Federal Practice & Procedure §2529, at 572.
Because the scope of review will often be influential, if not
dispositive, of a motion for judgment n.o.v., this disagree-
ment among the federal courts of appeals is of far more
than academic interest.” (emphasis added). 31
B. THE LEGISLATIVE HISTORY OF THE LONG-
SHOREMEN’S AND HARBOR WORKERS’ COMPEN-
SATION ACT SHOWS THAT APPLICATION OF CON-
FLICTING STANDARDS OF REVIEW BY VARIOUS
COURTS OF APPEALS VIOLATES THE CONGRESS’
MANDATE,
The 1972 Amendments to the Act were part of a
J Mendel Schwimmer d/b/a Supersonic Electronics Co. v. Sony
Corporation of America, 677 F. 2d 946 (2d Cir. 1982), cert. denied U.S.
S.Ct. (Nov. 8, 1982, Docket No. 82-277) (White, J., dissenting); Venture
Technology, Inc. u. National Fuel Gas Distribution Corporation, et al,
F.2d — (2d Cir. 1982), cert. denied U.S. S.Ct. (Nov. 8, 1982, Docket No.
82-362) (White, J., dissenting).
13
comprehensive plan to upgrade the benefits, extend
coverage to protect additional workers, provide a specified
cause of action for damages against third parties, and to
promulgate necessary administrative reforms. 32 The
Senate Committee emphasized in its report to the 1972
Amendments that safety to the longshoreman was a prime
motivation for the amendments. “It is the Committee's
view that every appropriate means be applied toward im-
proving the tragic and intolerable conditions which take
such a heavy toll upon workers’ lives and bodies in this in-
dustry...[which includes] a workmen’s compensation
system which maximizes industry’s motivation to bring
about such an improvement. 33 The Senate Committee in-
tended and provided that longshoremen retain the right
to recover damages for negligence against the vessel 4
The Committee went on to say that
ſplermitting actions against the vessel based on
negligence will meet the objective of encouraging
safety because the vessel will still be required to
exercise the same care as a land-based person in
providing a safe place to work. Thus, nothing in
this bill is intended to derogate from the vessel’s
responsibility to take appropriate corrective ac-
tion where it knows or should have known about
a dangerous condition’’.35
Therefore, §905(b), as added to the Act in 1972, was a reac-
tion to “intolerable conditions“ in the industry which
Ws. Rep. No. 92-1125, 92nd Congress, 2d Session, at 1 (1972). See
also fnt. 1, supra, of text.
33 Senate Rep., at 2.
344, at 10.
35 74.
14
would insure that longshoremen are to retain the right to
recover” for a vessel’s negligence which causes them in-
jury. Finally, the Senate Committee stated that: the
negligence remedy authorized in the bill shall [not] be ap-
plied differently in different ports depending on the law of
the State in which the port may be located. The Committee
intends that legal questions which may arise in actions
brought under these provisions of the law shall be deter-
mined as a matter of federal law“. 36
Thus, because of the nature of the longshoreman’s
occupation which remains one of the most hazardous
types of occupations...""37 and the expressed purpose of
the Committee to improve “intolerable conditions’’, this
Court endeavored in its landmark decision in Scindia,
supra, to define what due care is owed to the longshoreman
by the vessel. However, even though the question of the
due care owed by the vessel is presumably settled by Scin-
dia, the application of its principles have been greatly af-
fected by the conflict between the federal courts of appeals
as to what standard of review should be utilized in deter-
mining whether the evidence adduced proves negligence of
the vessel. A reiteration of Justice White’s dissent
previously quoted from concisely states the significance of
this issue: ‘‘Because the scope of review will often be in-
fluential, if not dispositive, of a motion for judgment n. o. v.,
this disagreement among the federal courts of appeals is of
far more than academic interest“. 38
88 Id, at 12
37 4
38 Mendel Schwimmer d/b/a Supersonic Electronics Co. v. Sony
Corporation of America, supra and Venture Technology, Inc. v. National
Fuel Gas Distribution Corporation, et al, supra, at note 31.
15
It is respectfully submitted that in order to further
the policies of Congress in amending the Act, and to
establish a uniform application of Scindia among the cir-
cuits, this Court should resolve the conflict among the
federal courts of appeals as to the standard of review in
§905(b) actions. A review of the cases previously cited
demonstrating the conflict among the federal courts of ap-
peals reveals the varying outcomes of longshoremen’s
third-party actions against vessels and demonstrates the
need for this Court to provide a uniform standard of review
in §905(b) actions.
II. THE SEVENTH AMENDMENT OF THE UNITED
STATES CONSTITUTION MANDATES THAT THIS
COURT ESTABLISH A STANDARD OF REVIEW IN
§905(b) CASES FOR ALL OF THE CIRCUITS TO
FOLLOW.
The Seventh Amendment to the Constitution of the
United States provides: In suits at common law, where
the value of the controversy shall exceed twenty dollars,
the right of trial by jury shall be preserved, and no fact
tried by a jury shall be otherwise re-examined in any Court
of the United States, than according to the rules of the
common law.“ A judgment n.o.v., although it usually re-
quires a re-examination of the record by a Court of the
United States“, is not a violation of the right to trial by
jury so as to be made unconstitutional by this amendment.
As the Mattivi panel noted: The constitutionality of
directed verdicts and judgments n. o. v. is well established.
Galloway v. United States, 319 U.S. 372, 63 S.Ct. 1077, 87
L.Ed. 1458 (1943), settled the constitutionality of directed
verdicts, and Baltimore & Carolina Line v. Redman, 295
U.S. 654, 55 S.Ct. 890, 79 L.Ed. 1636 (1935), as sup-
plemented by Neely v. Martin K. Eby Construction Co.,
16
386 U.S. 317, 87 S.Ct. 1072, 18 L.Ed.2d 75 (1967),
established the constitutionality of judgment n. O. v. “9
However, this is not to say that the federal courts .
appeals can re-determine facts found by the jury or
substitute their own judgment for that of the jury on fact
questions, As the Doucet court itself reiterated: ‘‘ However,
it is the function of the jury as the traditional finder of the
facts, and not the Court, to weigh conflicting evidence and
inferences, and determine the credibility of witnesses (foot-
note omitted). 40
This Court has time and again affirmed that it is for
the jury to decide questions of fact and it is for the courts
to decide questions of law. Indeed in Baltimore & Carolina
Line, Inc. u. Redman, Justice Van Devanter stated: The
aim of the [seventh] amendment, as this court has held, is
to,..retain the common-law distinction between the prov-
ince of the court and that of the jury, whereby, ... issues of
law are to be resolved by the court and issues of fact are to
be determined by the jury under ee instructions
by the court [footnotes omitted]’’.4
In Atlantic & Gulf Stevedores, Inc. b. Ellerman
Lines, Ltd., 369 U.S. 355, 82 S.Ct. 780, 7 L.Ed.2d 798
(1962), re-hearing denied 369 U.S, 882, 82 S.Ct. 1137, 8
L.Ed.2d 284, motion denied 371 U.S. 803, 83 S.Ct. 15, 9
L. Ed. 2d 51 (a negligence action by a longshoreman against
a vessel owner now established by statute as a ‘'§905(b)
action"), this Court affirmatively enunciated that neither
39 618 F.2d, at 167 n.3.
40 683 F.2d, at 890 n. 2.
41 295 U.., at 657, 65 S.Ct., at 891.
17
[the Supreme Court] nor the Court of Appeals can re-deter-
mine facts found by the jury any more than the District
Court can pre-determine them...",42 based on the seventh
amendment's admonition that no fact tried by a jury,
shall be otherwise re-examined...."’
Thus, the seventh amendment “fashions ‘the federal
policy favoring jury decisions of disputed fact question.’
Byrd v. Blue Ridge Rural Elec, Cooperative, 356 U.S. 525,
638, 539, 78 S.Ct. 893, 901, 2 L.Ed.2d 963.43
Therefore, an appellate court should not substitute
its own judgment on questions of fact for that of the jury's
judgment where there is any evidence to support a jury's
verdict. To do so would require the court to judge credibili-
ty and weigh evidence, a function reserved to the jury by
the seventh amendment.
This Court should adopt a standard of review ap-
plicable to grants or denials of judgments n. o. v. in §905(b)
actions requiring the jury's verdict to be upheld whenever
there is any evidence to support it. Without such a uniform
standard of review, federal courts of appeals utilizing a
broader standard of review, such as that applied in Doucet,
invade the province of the jury reserved to it by the
seventh amendment.
CONCLUSION
For the reasons stated, amicus respectfully prays
that the judgment of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals
42 500 U.S., at 358, 359, 82 S.Ct., at 783,
43 7/4, at 360, Id, at 784,
18
be reversed and that the judgment of the trial court be re-
instated,
Respectfully submitted:
JAMES A, GEORGE
GEORGE AND GEORGE, LTD.
8110 Summa Drive
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70809
(504) 769-3064
COUNSEL FOR AMICUS CURIAE
MISSISSIPPI TRIAL LAWYERS
ASSOCIATION
January) 198.
19
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
I HEREBY CERTIFY that a copy of the above and
foregoing has this date been forwarded to all attorneys of
record by depositing the same in the United States Mail,
first-class postage prepaid and properly addressed to the
said attorneys.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana this
1983.
day of January,
JAMES A. GEORGE
GEORGE AND GEORGE, LTD.
8110 Summa Drive
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70809
(504) 769-3064
COUNSEL FOR AMICUS CURIAE
MISSISSIPPI TRIAL LAWYERS
ASSOCIATION
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.