Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Investacorp, Inc. v. Arabian Investment Banking Corp.
Supreme Court brief1991
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
Bupreme Court, Us |
ole FILED
| OCT 17 1999
In the OFFIGE OF THE CLERK
Supreme Court of the United States.
October Term, 1991.
INVESTACORP, INC.,
Petitioner,
Vv.
ARABIAN INVESTMENT BANKING
CORPORATION
(INVESTCORP) E.C. D/B/A INVESTCORP
AND INVESTCORP INTERNATIONAL, INC.
Respondents.
Petition for Writ of Certiorari to
the United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit.
Petition for Writ of Certiorari
RICHARD S. ROSS, ESQ.
Counsel of Record
Suite 107
Senator Building
13899 Biscayne Blvd.
North Miami Beach, Fl. 33181
(305) 945-7444
October 17, 1991
No. 91-
In the
Supreme Court of the United States.
October Term, 1991.
INVESTACORP, INC.,
Petitioner,
V.
ARABIAN INVESTMENT BANKING
CORPORATION
(INVESTCORP) E.C. D/B/A INVESTCORP
AND INVESTCORP INTERNATIONAL, INC.
Respondents.
Petition for Writ of Certiorari to
the United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit.
Petition for Writ of Certiorari
RICHARD S. ROSS, ESQ.
Counsel of Record
Suite 107
Senator Building
13899 Biscayne Blvd.
North Miami Beach, Fl. 33181
| (305) 945-7444
October 17, 1991
Oe ie
eat ah
re ee 1h
ery ae os s
ae ad er rin =| | rs
~t i Gey es es a ee : rare eK k: fi
Pred
o)
ae Par tee
3
ee
Curis: Te ar eo a J Sire
ee? Oe
” ee ee ee ee ee a a ee
QUESTIONS PRESENTED.
1. Whether an_ evidentiary presumption of
"suggestiveness” arises from the United States Patent and
Trademark Office's decision to allow a mark to be
registered without proof of secondary meaniong.
2. Whether third party listings of portions of a mark
makes that mark "descriptive".
ben
J
A
}
—"-
j
| es
,
f
Table of Contents.
Opinions Below
Jurisdiction
Statutory Provision
Statement of the Case
Argument
Evidentiary presumption of
suggestiveness
Third party use
Conclusion
Appendices
A. Memorandum and Order of Court of
Appeals, May 29, 1991
B. Memorandum of District Court,
September 5, 1989
C. Order of Court of Appeals denying
Petition for Rehearing, July 23, 1991
D. First response by PTO to application
Serial No. 644,563 ("Investcorp"),
September 17, 1987
E. Second response by PTO to application
Serial No. 644,563 ("Investcorp"),
October 13, 1987
F. First response by PTO to application
Serial No. 688,188 ("Investacorp"),
January 25, 1988
1Sa
28a
30a
32a
34a
G. Second response by PTO to application
Serial No. 688,188 ("Investacorp"),
April 13, 1988 37a
Table of Authorities cited.
Cases.
Abercrombie & Fitch Co. v. Hunting World, Inc.,
537 F.2d 4 (2d Cir. 1976). ae
Citibank N.A. v. Citibanc Group, Inc.,
724 F.2d 1540 (11th Cir. 1984) 8
Dollar-A-Day Rent-A-Car Systems, Inc, In re,
173 U.S.P.Q. 435 (T.T.A.B. 1972) 10
EZ Loader Boat Trailers, Inc. v. Cox Trailers, Inc.,
746 F.2d 375 (7th Cir. 1984) 5
Firestone Tire & Rubber Company v. The Goodyear Tire &
Rubber Company, The, 186 U.S.P.Q. 557 (T.T.A.B. 1975)
affd 189 U.S.P.Q. 348 (C.C.P.A. 1975). 8, 10
GTE Corporation v. Williams, 904 F.2d 536, 538 (10th
Cir. 1990). 4, 5, 6
Investacorp, Inc. v. Arabian Investment Banking
Corporation (Investcorp) E.C., ___ F.2d 3500 (11th Cir.
1991). 4,5, 9, i6
Investographs, Inc. v. Dynamics Investment Service, Inc.,
130 U.S.P.Q. 43 (T.T.A.B 1961) ~)
Miss Universe, Inc. v. Little Miss U.S.A., Inc., 212
U.S.P.Q. 425 (N.D. Ga. 1981) 8
ili
Money Store v. Harriscorp Fin., Inc., The, 689 F.2d 666
(7th Cir. 1982) 5
Papercutter, Inc. v. Fay's Drug Co., Inc.,
900 F.2d 558 (2d Cir. 1990) 5
Pizzeria Uno Corp. v. Temple, 747 F.2d 1522 (4th Cir.
1984) 5, 6
Playboy Enterprises, Inc. v. Chuckleberry
Publishing, Inc., 687 F.2d 563 (2d Cir. 1982) 5
Rubber Specialty, Inc. v. Sneaker Circus, Inc., 195
U.S.P.Q. 798 (S.D. Fla. 1977) 5
Safeway Stores, Inc. v. Safeway Discount Drugs, Inc.,
675 F.2d 1160 (11th Cir. 1982) 8, 10
Turner v. H.M.H. Publishing Company, Inc., 380 F.2d 224
(Sth Cir. 1967), cert. denied, 389 U.S. 1006 (1967) 8
Wynn Oil Company v. Thomas, 839 F.2d 1183 (6th Cir.
1988) 7
Yamaha Corp. of America v. Ryan, 13 U.S.P.Q.2d 1157
(C.D. Cal. 1989) 8
Statutes.
15 U.S.C. 1052(e) 2
15 U.S.C. 1125(a) 2
28 U.S.C. 1254(1) 2,11
iv
Other Authorities.
J. McCarthy, TRADEMARKS AND UNFAIR
COMPETITION (2ed. 1984) 6, 7,8
TRADEMARK MANUAL OF EXAMINING
PROCEDURE (6th rev. 1986) i1
No. 91-
In the
Supreme Court of the United States.
October Term, 1991.
INVESTACORP, INC.,
Petitioner,
Vv.
ARABIAN INVESTMENT BANKING
CORPORATION
(INVESTCORP) E.C. D/B/A INVESTCORP
AND INVESTCORP INTERNATIONAL, INC.
Respondents.
Petition for Writ of Certiorari to
the United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit.
OPINIONS BELOW.
The opinion of the court of appeals (A. 1a-14a) is
reported at _- F.2d 3500 (11th Cir. 5-29-91); the opinion
of the district court (A.15a-27a) is reported at 722 F. Supp.
719 (S. D. Fla. 1989). The decision of the United States
Patent and Trademark Office ("PTO") allowing the
registrability of the "Investcorp" mark (A. 30a-33a) is
identified by application Serial No. 664,563; and the
decision of the PTO on the protectability of the
"Investacorp" mark (A. 34a-37a) is identified by application
Serial No. 688,188.
JURISDICTION.
2
The decision of the court of appeals was entered on
May 29, 1991. A petition for rehearing was denied on July
23, 1991. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).
STATUTORY PROVISION.
The Lanham Act requires the PTO to grant
registration of marks that do not fall within certain
statutory bars enumerated in section 2 of the Act, 15
U.S.C. 1052:
No trade-mark by which the goods of the applicant
may be distinguished from the goods of others shall
be refused registration on the principal register on
account of its nature unless it--
zs s 8
(e) Consists of a mark which, (1) when used on or
in connection with the goods of the applicant is
merely descriptive....
15 U.S.C. 1052 (e) (1988).
STATEMENT OF THE CASE.
Petitioner-plaintiff, Investacorp, Inc.
("INVESTACORP"), brought suit against respondents-
defendants Arabian Investment Banking Corporation
(Investcorp, E.C.) and Investcorp International, Inc. (both
defendants referred to as "INVESTCORP") based upon
claims of service mark infringement and_ unfair
competition, among other claims. Jurisdiction was based
upon 15 U.S.C. 1125 (a). Upon cross motions for summary
judgment, the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Florida entered judgment in favor of
INVESTCORP.
a SS
3
The lower court found the service mark "Investacorp"
to be "descriptive"; protection was denied because
secondary meaning was not established. In support of this
finding, the court relied on a list of purported third party
users of the formative "invest" as probative of the
"descriptiveness" of the mark.
Upon review, the court of appeals refused to make an
evidentiary presumption that the mark was"suggestive” as
concluded by the United States Patent and Trademark
Office. The court further concluded that third party
listings of the formative "invest" makes "Investacorp"
descriptive. Thus, the appellate court affirmed the lower
court's decision.
INVESTACORP is a Florida corporation whose
primary business is providing financial services as a
broker/dealer and as an intermediary between individuals,
corporations and _ institutions seeking investment
opportunities. INVESTACORP began using its service
mark "Investacorp" in 1978 to designate the services it
performed and at all times did continue using the mark
without abandonment. There are two respondents in this
case: Investcorp E.C., the parent corporation, and its
wholly owned subsidiary, Investcorp International, Inc.
Investcorp E.C. is an investment bank headquartered in
Bahrain which began doing business in the United States
under that name in 1983.
In June of 1987, INVESTCORP filed for federal
service mark registration, Serial No. 664,563, claiming a
protectable interest in its mark "Investcorp". The United
States Patent and Trademark Office (PTO) permitted the
application to proceed to registration without proof of
secondary meaning. The PTO did not find the mark
"Investcorp” to be descriptive. It thereafter passed the
mark to publication for potential opposition to registration.
INVESTACORP opposed the registration of "Investcorp"
4
in February, 1988 based upon its prior use of the mark
"Investacorp".
Prior to the opposition, in October 1987,
INVESTACORFP filed for federal service mark registration,
Serial No. 688,188, for its mark "Investacorp". The PTO
issued an Office action refusing to register the mark based
upon the earlier filed application for the mark "Investcorp".
The PTO did not find the mark "Investacorp" to be
descriptive.
ARGUMENT.
The Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals failed to accord
a presumption of protectability to the "Investacorp" mark.
The presumption arises from either or both of the PTO's
two actions which found the "Investacorp" and "Investcorp"
marks to be protectable without proof of secondary
meaning. The court of appeals failure is in direct conflict
with the decisions of other United States courts of appeal
regarding this issue. These courts hold that an evidentiary
presumption of "“non-descriptiveness” of a mark arises from
the PTO's decision to register the mark without proof of
secondary meaning.
"Most courts that have considered the issue do hold
that the PTO's decision to register a mark without
requiring proof of secondary meaning creates a rebuttable
presumption that the mark is suggestive, arbitrary, or
fanciful rather than merely descriptive.” GTE Corporation
v. Williams, 904 F.2d 536, 538 (10th Cir. 1990). The
Eleventh Circuit, however, held that it would "not defer to
an ethereal determination that is not affirmatively stated
by the [PTO]." Jnvestacorp, Inc. v. Arabian Investment
RRP Recut rT
5
Banking Corporation (Investcorp) E.C., _ F.2d 3500, 3506
(11th Cir. 1991). Since the PTO did not affirmatively state
that the marks "Investacorp" and "Investcorp" were not
descriptive, the court reasoned that it would not defer to
that agency's conclusion of protectability even though it
acknowledged that "it is proper to defer to any deter-
mination made by the agency ‘entrusted with the duty of
administering the Lanham Act,’...." Jd. (Emphasis Added).
The court resorted to a form-over-substance logic to
overrule the PTO's decision. This action is contrary to the
fundamental principles of law.
Five different courts of appeal, including the United
States District Court for the Southern District of Florida,
that have considered this issue have held that the PTO's
decision to register a mark without requiring proof of
secondary meaning creates a rebuttable presumption that
a mark is not merely descriptive. See, eg, GTE
Corporation, supra; Papercutter, Inc. v. Fay’s Drug Co., Inc.,
900 F.2d 558, 563 (2d Cir. 1990); Wynn Oil Company v.
Thomas, 839 F.2d 1183, 1190 (6th Cir. 1988); Pizzeria Uno
Corp. v. Temple, 747 F.2d 1522, 1528-29 (4th Cir. 1984);
Playboy Enterprises, Inc. v. Chuckieberry Publishing, Inc., 687
F.2d 563, 567 (2d Cir. 1982); The Money Store v. Harriscorp
Fin., Inc., 689 F.2d 666, 673 (7th Cir. 1982); Abercrombie
& Fitch Co. v. Hunting World, Inc., 537 F.2d 4, 11 (2d Cir.
1976). See also Rubber Specialty, Inc. v. Sneaker Circus, Inc.,
195 U.S.P.Q. 798, 801 (S.D. Fla. 1977). But see EZ Loader
Boat Trailers, Inc. v. Cox Trailers, Inc., 746 F.2d 375, 379
(7th Cir. 1984) (conflict within the Seventh Circuit).
The Fourth Circuit has perhaps best articulated the
reasons for adopting the presumption of nondescriptive-
ness:
If thc Patent and Trademark Office finds the mark
sugg¢stive.. it will grant registration without
requiring proof of secondary meaning. The
6
significance of registration without proof of sec-
ondary meaning in this case, as it is in any similar
case, is that the Patent and Trademark Office has
"concluded" that the mark or figure was not "merely
descriptive’ ‘but suggestive’ and this “essential fact
[i.e., the action of the Patent and Trademark
Office] must be considered prima facie correct by a
court in considering the validity of a trademark, or
the prima facie evidence rule would be rendered
ineffective.
Pizzeria Uno Corp. v. Temple, 747 F.2d at 1529 (Emphasis
Added).
The fundamental conflict created by the Eleventh
Circuit's minority holding resides in its misbelief that the
PTO has the discretion to make a affirmative, recorded
finding of non-descriptiveness. It does not.
The Lanham Act requires the Patent and Trade-
mark Office to grant registration of marks that do
not fall within certain statutory bars, enumerated in
section 2 of the Act, 15 U.S.C. 1052. The Patent
and Trademark Office has the burden of proof "that
the mark sought for registration falls within the
statutory bars of section 2."
GTE Corporation v. Williams, 904 F.2d at 538 n. 2 quoting
2 J. McCarthy, TRADEMARKS AND UNFAIR
COMPETITION, Section 19:25 at 928 (2d ed. 1984).
Thus, the PTO will only make an affirmative finding of
Statutory non-compliance (i.e. that a mark. is merely
descriptive) and not statutory compliance. It is erroneous
for the court of appeals to impose a burden that is legally
impossible to prove.
Professor McCarthy, a well known commentator in the
field of trademark and service mark law, has adopted
7
appellate judicial precedent which more resolutely adheres
to the PTO's findings:
[W]here it can be argued with equal force that a
mark is descriptive and on the contrary that it is
arbitrary and fanciful, the courts should not overrule
the action of the Patent [and Trademark] Office to
whose care Congress has entrusted the preliminary
determination as to whether a mark fulfills the
requirements of the statute.
See 2 J. McCarthy, supra, Section 11:16 (citation omitted)
(Emphasis Added).
The court of appeals substituted its opinion for that of
the PTO. It overruled the PTO's decision confirming the
protectability and registrability of the marks. The decision
of the Eleventh Circuit results in federal question forum
shopping. This Court should prevent such a result.
THIRD PARTY USE
In addition to the appellate court's divergence from the
majority respecting PTO evidentiary presumptions of
suggestiveness, the court also considered third party listings
to support its finding. However, the manner in which that
court relied upon listed "third party use" mandates review.
The court of appeals found that a list of users of the
formatives "invest" and "corp" supported its conclusion that
"Investacorp" was a descriptive service mark. It further
found that competitors need to use these terms in order to
render financial services. However, it was improper for the
court to: (1) rely on a list alleged users as evidence of use;
(2) consider formatives of the mark "Investacorp" instead
of reviewing the mark in its entirety; (3) fail to consider
the type of services provided by the third parties and
whether those services were being provided under an
8
active use of the mark; (4) fail to consider whether such
use was made in a descriptive manner, and; (5) conclude
that competitors need to use formatives of the mark to
render competitive services.
First, the court relied upon a list of alleged users of the
formative "invest" to support its finding. A list of use is not
probative of actual use. See Turner v. H.M.H. Publishing
Company, Inc., 380 F.2d 224, 228 n.2 (Sth Cir. 1967) cert.
denied, 389 U.S. 1006 (1967); Miss Universe, Inc. v. Little
Miss U.S.A., Inc., 212 U.S.P.Q. 425, 429 (N.D. Ga. 1981).
See also 1 J. McCarthy, TRADEMARKS AND UNFAIR
COMPETITION, Section 11:26 (1973). The court
completely ignored this issue.
Second, by refering to only the formative "invest", the
court failed to consider the entirety of that third party
listing vis-a-vis the subject mark. INVESTACORP makes
no claim to words such as "investment" or "investor", or of
like "invest" formatives, which comprise a majority of the
listed users’ names. The appellate court did not consider
this factor.
In Safeway Stores, Inc. v. Safeway Discount Drugs, Inc.,
675 F.2d 1160 (11th Cir. 1982), the court stated that "a
consideration relevant in determining the significance of
third party use is the entire name a third party uses." /d.
at 1165. Further, though terms considered individually
may denote characteristics of a particular good or service,
it does not follow that "because the components of a
compound mark are descriptive, that the mark in its
entirety is descriptive." The Firestone Tire & Rubber
Company v. The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company, 186
U.S.P.Q. 557, 559 (T.T.A.B. 1975) ("Biasteel" trademark)
affd 189 U.S.P.Q. 348 (C.C.P.A. 1975). See also Citibank
N.A. v. Citibanc Group, Inc., 724 F.2d 1540 (11th Cir. 1984)
("Citibank" service mark); Yamaha Corp. of America v.
Ryan, 13 U.S.P.Q.2d 1157 (C.D. Cal. 1989) ("Musicsoft"
REE Here ail -
trademark).
One need not speculate with respect to the "invest"
formative. That component of a compound mark has
previously been determined not to render the mark, in its
entirety, descriptive. In Investographs, Inc. v. Dynamics
Investment Service, Inc., 130 U.S.P.Q. 43 (T.T.A.B. 1961),
the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board concluded that the
service marks "Invest-o-gram" and “Investograph" for
investment newsletter services were protectable interests.
It found that "when considered in their entireties, [the
service marks] extend beyond the term 'invest'." Jd. at 44.
The court's failure to comment on, or at least distinguish,
this case which was presented below begs review. The
entirety of the "Investacorp” service mark is the yardstick
to judge its protection and not its component make-up.
Third, the court of appeals recognized a "handful of
businesses who use the combination of the formatives
‘invest’ and ‘corp’ in their mark," Investacorp, Inc. v.
Arabian Investment Banking Corporation (Investcorp) E.C.,
___ F.2d at 3505, to support its finding. The court,
however, failed to recognize the types of goods or services
provided by those listed users and whether or not their
listed use was active.
A review of the record suggests that the "handful" of
businesses breakdowns as follows: (1) one “Investcorp"
mark was listed as a state of Minnesota registered service
mark, however, the service provided was for construction
and repair; (2) two “Investicorp" marks were listed with no
identification of the type of goods or services provided; and
(3) one abandoned "“Investacorp" trademark application
(abandoned on March 29, 1985) was listed for computer
software goods. Again, no evidence was protfered on the
activity of use regarding these marks. Further, these uses
are wholly unrelated to the use for which either
"Investacorp" or “Investcorp" is made by these parties. The
10
type of business in which the third party use is engaged is
relevant in determining the significance of that use.
Safeway Stores, Inc. v. Safeway Discount Drugs, Inc., 675
F.2d at 1165. The court of appeals did not address this
issue.
Fourth, the appellate court did not consider if the
listed third party users used the "invest" formative in a
descriptive manner. Review of the record supports that
they did not. In fact, the record clearly supports that the
said formative was used strictly as a source identifier of the
names of the particular companies and not used in a
descriptive manner. Even the respondents use their mark
"Investcorp" as a source identifier as evidenced by their
attempt to register that mark with the PTO. Where there
is no evidence that other users have used "Investacorp” to
describe financial services, this is evidence that the term is
neither a natural nor obvious way to describe the services.
See The Firestone Tire & Rubber Company, supra,; In re
Dollar-A-Day Rent-A-Car Systems, Inc., 173 U.S.P.Q. 435
(T.T.A.B. 1972) (No descriptive use by others is a strong
argument in favor of non-descriptiveness).
Fifth, the court concluded the issue of distinctiveness
by finding that competitors "need to use [the] terms
[‘invest' and '‘corp'].". Investacorp, Inc. v. Arabian
Investment Banking Corporation (Investcorp) E.C., __ F.2d
at 3505. Even though this test is improperly based upon
formatives rather than the entirety of the mark, the finding
is unsupportable.
While "over eighty competing broker-dealers use the
word ‘invest’ in their mark,” /d., over twelve thousand other
broker-dealers do not. Furthermore, if the court's finding
were correct, then why do not some of the largest world-
wide broker-dealers use that term as part of their mark, for
example: Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc.; Goldman Sachs &
Co.; Merrill Lynch Pierce Fenner & Smith, Inc.;
1i
Painewebber; Prudential Securities; Shearson Lehman
Brothers; and Smith Barney Harris Upham & Company,
Incorporated. Clearly the competitors of INVESTACORP
do not need to use the term "invest" in their name and
neither use, nor need to use, the term "Investacorp" as part
of their mark.
CONCLUSION.
The PTO did not refuse to register either "Investacorp"
or "Investcorp" on the ground of descriptiveness. See
TRADEMARK MANUAL OF EXAMINING
PROCEDURE, Section 1209 (6th rev. 1986). See also 15
U.S.C. 1052(e)(1). Thus, the category under which those
marks must fall is “suggestive” and not "descriptive". The
appellate court's decision to substitute its opinion over that
of the PTO ignores the substance of the PTO's decisions
and directly conflicts with the majority holding of the
courts of other circuits. Not only does a presumption of
protection arise from the PTO's decisions with respect to
"Investacorp" and “Investcorp", but the respondents own
attempt to register their mark acts as an estoppel to assert
that the marks are not protectable.
Many issues of fact remain regarding third party usage.
The courts below need to address the entire "Investacorp"
mark, and services rendered thereunder, when considering
the significance of third party use. Actual use is the issue,
not listed use. The record is clear, however, that third
party use of the mark "Investacorp" for financial services is
non-existent.
12
Reversal and remand are respectfully requested.
October 17, 1991
Respectfully submitted,
RICHARD §. ROSS, ESQ.
Counsel of Record
Suite 107
Senator Building
13899 Biscayne Blvd.
North Miami Beach, Florida 33181
la
Appendix A.
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit
No. 89-6060
INVESTACORP, INC.,
Plaintift-Appellant,
V.
ARABIAN INVESTMENT BANKING
CORPORATION
(INVESTCORP) E.C. D/B/A INVESTCORP
AND INVESTCORP INTERNATIONAL, INC.
Defendants-Appellees.
Before
Johnson and Hatchett, Circuit Judges,
Smith, Senior U.S. Circuit Judge.
(sitting by designation)
MEMORANDUM AND ORDER
Entered May 29, 1991
Plaintiff, Investacorp, Inc. (Investacorp), appeals the
grant of summary judgment entered in favor of defendants,
Arabian Investment Banking Corporation (Investcorp E.C.)
and Investcorp, International, Inc. (Investcorp
2a
International) on claims of service mark infringement and
unfair competition. 722 F.Supp. 719. Because the
undisputed facts show appellant does not have a
protectable interest in its claimed service mark, we affirm
the judgment of the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Florida.
Facts
Appellant, Investacorp, is a Florida corporation whose
primary business is providing financial services as a
broker/dealer and as a financial intermediary between
individuals, corporations and _ institutions seeking
investment opportunities. There are two appellees in this
case: Investcorp E.C., the parent corporation, and its
wholly owned subsidiary, Investcorp International.
Investcorp E.C. is an investment bank headquartered in
Bahrain which began doing business in the United States
under that name in 1983. Investcorp International was
created by Investcorp E.C. in November of 1986 to
continue conducting the business of its parent in the
United States. Hereinafter, the two co-appellees will be
referred to as "Investcorp".
Investcorp filed for federal service mark registration in
June of 1987. The Patent and Trademark Office (PTO)
allowed the Investcorp service mark to pass for potential
opposition to registration. Four months later, in October
1987, Investacorp filed for federal service mark
registration. In February, 1988, Investacorp filed a Notice
of Opposition with the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board
of the PTO, opposing registration of the Investcorp service
mark.
Later in 1988, Investacorp sued Investcorp on several
counts of service mark infringement and_ unfair
competition. The district court granted summary judgment
in favor of defendant on all counts of the complaint,
3a
because it determined that plaintiff does not have a
proprietary interest in the mark "Investacorp". Plaintiff
appeals to this Court asserting that genuine issues of
material fact are involved in the trial court's summary
resolution of the claims.
Issues
We must determine whether the district court's finding
involved the resolution of an issue of material faci. As an
appellate court, we must also determine the applicable law,
independent of that interpretation rendered by the district
court. If no issue of material fact was presented and the
independently determined applicable law supports the
grant of summary judgment ordered by the district court,
then we must affirm.’
Opinion
Plaintiff, Investacorp, alleges that defendants,
Investcorp, unfairly competed by infringing on plaintiff's
unregistered service mark. Appellant asserts that the
district court should have found genuine issues of material
fact presented in the following counts: Federal service
mark infringement,” Florida common law service mark
infringement, Florida common law unfair competition, and
violation of the Florida anti-dilution law.’ As the parties
do in their briefs, we evaluate the federal service mark
infringement claim as a measuring stick for the whole host
of claims that appellant asserts. If the federal service mark
claim fails in this case for the reason cited by the district
court, that plaintiff had no proprietary interest in the
' Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c).
2 Lanham Act Section 43(a), 15 U.S.C. Section 1125(a) (1988).
> Fla. Stat. Ann. Section 495.151 (West 1988).
4a
"Investacorp" mark, then all of appellant's claims will fail.
Prima Facie Service Mark Infringement
To prove service mark infringement in this case, plaintiff
must prove (1) that defendant used a term in commerce
(2) in connection with their services (3) which is likely to
be confused with the term (4) in which plaintiff possesses
the right to use to designate their services.‘ Appellee
concedes that elements (1) and (2) are present. The district
court, however, found that plaintiff did not own the right
to designate its service with the term "Investacorp" and
hence had no protectable interest that could be infringed.
Consequently, summary judgment was entered for
defendant.
In order for defendant to infringe on plaintiff's mark,
plaintiff must have a protectable property interest in the
mark "Investacorp".” Ordinarily, such an interest is derived
when a business uses a mark to represent its services.°
Each time a business uses a mark, it enhances the
customer recognition of the mark and its association with
the service, thereby inuring to the business greater rights
in the mark.’ However, a business does not automatically
obtain rights in a mark by using it. A business will obtain
rights in a mark upon first use only if the mark is
* Lanham Act Section 43(a), 15 U.S.C. Section 1125(a) (1988).
° American Television & Communications Corp. v. American
Communications & Television, Inc., 810 F.2d 1546, 1548, 1 U.S.P.0.2d
2084, 2085 (11th Cir. 1987).
. 1 J. McCarthy, TRADEMARKS AND UNFAIR
COMPETITION Section 16:1 (2d ed. 1984).
ae
oe
Sa
"inherently distinctive.” If the mark is not inherently
distictive, a business may obtain rights in the mark when it
attains a secondary meaning.’ Therefore, to determine if
and when plaintiff obtained rights in the mark "Investa-
corp," we must determine if the mark "Investacorp" is
inherently distinctive.
The Categories of Distinctiveness
There are four categories of distinctiveness in which a
service mark may be classified.'” In ascending order they
are: (1) Generic; (2) descriptive; (3) suggestive; and (4)
arbitrary or fanciful.'’ The demarcation between each
category is more blurred than it is definite.’* A term
which suggests the basic nature of the service is generic.’
The term "Milk Delivery" is an example of a generic
service mark for a hypothetical milk delivery service.* A
generic term is typically incapable of achieving service
mark protection because it has no distinctiveness. A
® Id. at Section 16:2.
a
10 American Television, 810 F.2d at 1548, 1 U.S.P.Q.2d at 2085.
we
"2 Soweco, Inc. v. Shell Oil Co., 617 F.2d 1178, 1183, 207 U.S.P.Q.
278, 282 (Sth Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 450 U.S. 981, 101 S.Ct. 1516, 67
L.Ed.2d 816 (1981).
3 American Television, 810 F.2d at 1548, 1 U.S.P.Q.2d at 2086.
4 The examples given in this paragraph are believed to be
hypothetical service marks for a fictional milk delivery service. The
examples are given strictly for pedagogical reasons and have no legal
effect.
'S American Television, 810 F.2d at 1548, 1 U.S.P.Q.2d at 2086.
6a
descriptive term merely identifies a characteristic or quality
of a service."© An example of a descriptive service mark
might be "BarnMilk.” Because a descriptive service mark
is not inherently distinctive, it may be protected only if it
acquires a secondary meaning.'’ The personal name
component of a service mark such as "Barney's" to denote
a milk delivery service is also considered not inherently
distinctive and hence merely descriptive."* However, if the
personal name mark acquires secondary meaning, it is
afforded the strength of an inherently distinctive mark.’
Marks which are descriptive of geographic location of the
source of the service are treated in the same manner as
personal name marks.” A suggestive term suggests the
characteristics of the service "and requires an effort of the
imagination by the consumer in order to be understood as
descriptive" of the service.”’ "Barn-Barn" is an example of
a suggestive term. Because a suggestive service mark is
inherently distinctive, no proof of secondary meaning is
required for it to be protectable.” "An arbitrary or
fanciful [term] bears no relationship to the service."~
Arbitrary and fanciful terms are also inherently distinctive,
so they are protectable without proof of secondary
meaning. "Barnbarnfish" is an example of an arbitrary or
* &
- 2
© J. MCCARTHY, supra note 6, Section 13:2.
7
20 Id. at Section 14:1.
21 American Television, 810 F.2d at 1549, 1 U.S.P.Q.2d at 2086.
oe.
23 Id.
eens
Ta
fanciful service mark.
Distinctiveness Inquiry
The district court determined that the term "Investacorp"
was descriptive. Because the distinctiveness categorization
given a term is a question of fact,“ we must determine
whether the district court's finding involved a genuine issue
of material fact.”
Investacorp is a corporation in the business of advising
their customers in corporate investment opportunities.
Pursuant to a customer's desires, Investacorp sells stocks,
bonds and other securities which are often initially issued
by corporations. The two key formatives in the term
"Investacorp" are "invest" and "corp". "Invest" is the verb " to
commit (money) in order to earn a financial return,"
and "corp" is the widespread abbreviation for a
corporation. It is beyond doubt that the term "Investacorp"
bears a relationship to the type of services being offered by
plaintiff. Hence, it cannot be an an arbitrary or fanciful
term.”” The only two categories remaining that are
eligible for service mark protection are the descriptive and
suggestive categories. Thus, we must determine whether
the mark is descriptive or suggestive.
To determine whether a term is descriptive, third party
24 Soweco, 617 F.2d at 1183 n. 12, 207 U.S.P.Q. at 282 n. 12.
2 Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c).
*° WEBSTER'S NEW COLLEGIATE DICTIONARY, 603 (1979).
“” See J. MCCARTHY, supra note 6, Section 11:2.
8a
usage by competitors is probative.” We reject appellant's
argument that third party usage is not relevant to the
distinctiveness inquiry because there is a plethora of
authority embracing the relevancy of third party usage.”
The likelihood of prospective use by competitors is high.
Both of the two formatives "invest" and "corp" pervade the
lexicon of business terminology. Because the two
formatives are indispensable to the investment services
industry, we agree that it is very likely that competitors will
need to use these terms.
Moreover, the popularity of actual use of the two ke ey
formatives also indicates that the mark is descriptive.
Over eighty competing broker-dealers use the word "invest"
in their mark, and there are a handful of businesses who
use some combination of the formatives "invest" and "corp"
in their mark. We find the popularity of use by competitors
is extreme.
Also probative of the descriptiveness of a mark is the
idea that is conveyed to the observer by the plain
dictionary definition of the formatives comprising the
mark.*! In this case, the two formatives combined in the
8 Vision Center v. Opticks, Inc., 596 F.2d 111, 116, 202 U.S.P.Q.
333,338 (Sth Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 1016 100 S.Ct. 668, 62
L.Ed.2d 646 (1980).
29 In re Bongrain Int'l Corp., 894 F.2d 1316, 1317 13 U.S.P.Q.2d
1727, 1728 (Fed. Cir. 1990); Burke-ParsonsBowlby Corp. v. Appalachian
Log Homes, Inc., 871 F.2d 590, 593, 10 U.S.P.Q.2d 1443, 1445 (6th Cir.
1989); Security Center, Ltd. v. First Nat'l Security Centers, 750 F.2d 1295,
1298-1299, 225 U.S.P.Q. 373, 375-76 (Sth Cir. 1985); Telemed Corp.
Tel-Med, Inc., 588 F.2d 213, 218, 200 U.S.P.Q. 427 432 (7th Cir. 1978).
%© Vision Center, 596 F.2d at 117, 202 U.S.P.Q. at 339.
31 Id. at 116, 202 U.S.P.O. at 338.
9a
term "Investacorp" literally convey to the observer that
appellant is in the business of investing in corporations.
Because the customer who observes the term can readily
perceive the nature of plaintiff's services, without having to
exercise his imagination, the term cannot be considered a
suggestive term.” The only remaining categorization that
is eligible for protection is the descriptive category.
Accordingly, "Investacorp"” must be merely descriptive.
Plaintiff relies on the inaction of the Patent and
Trademark Office to inject an issue of fact into the district
court's determination of distinctiveness. When the
defendant submitted the "Investcorp" mark application, the
PTO passed the mark on to publication. Because a finding
of descriptiveness is one of the grounds for refusal of
registration, appellant argues that the PTO must have
decided that "Investcorp" was not merely descriptive;
otherwise, the PTO would not have passed the mark on to
publication according to Section 1209 of the
TRADEMARK MANUAL OF EXAMINING
PROCEDURE.” Moreover, appellant notes, the PTO
opted to reject plaintiff's subsequent application to register
"Investacorp” because the similar "Investcorp" application
was pending, instead of on the ground that it was merely
descriptive. Plaintiff argues that this indicated that the
PTO found the similar mark also not descriptive.
Plaintiff asserts that these two facts negatively imply that
the PTO found that both marks, "Investacorp" and
"Investcorp," were not merely descriptive. Consequently,
because it is proper to defer to any determination made by
the agency "entrusted with the duty of administering the
Lanham Act," appellant argues that we must accept the
= i.
33 (6th rev. 1986).
10a
determination made by the PTO in accord with Wynn Oil
Co. v. Thomas.
The soft spot in appellant's argument is that there is no
recorded finding by the PTO that either service mark was
not descriptive. Consequently, all that this Court can do is
guess at what the PTO's determinations were while
evaluating the merit of each mark. We do not know
whether the PTO even considered the descriptiveness of
either mark. Although we will bestow proper respect to the
determinations of the PTO, we will not defer to an
ethereal determination that is not affirmatively stated by
the administrative agency. Therefore, withstanding the
implications that appellant points out, the finding that
"Investacorp" is merely descriptive involved no genuine
issue of material fact. Consequently, in heeding the
proposition that the descriptiveness category encompasses
a broad range,” the term “Investacorp" is merely
descriptive and hence is not inherently distinctive.
Secondary Meaning
Because the term is not inherently distinctive, for
appellant to have a protectable interest in the term
"Investacorp,” it must have attained secondary meaning
before the date that appellee used the similar term
"Investcorp".” The district court determined that the term
“Investacorp" did not attain secondary meaning by the time
appellees first used it. Because the existence of secondary
% 839 F.2d 1183, 1190, 5 U.S.P.Q.2d 1944, 1949 (6th Cir. 1988).
% Vision Center, 596 F.2d at 116, 202 U.S.P.Q. at 338.
© (Co-Rect Products, Inc. v. Marvy! Advertising Photography, Inc., 780
F.2d 1324, 1330, 228 U.S.P.Q. 429, 431 (8th Cir. 1985).
lla
meaning is a question of fact,” we determine whether
this determination required the resolution of a genuine
factual issue.
Because secondary meaning must attach to the mark
before appellee first used the mark, we must determine the
date that appellee first used the mark "Investcorp". The
district court decided that appellee first used the mark in
March of 1983. Appeilant disputes this finding by pointing
out certain facts. Investcorp E.C. first began using the
service mark in March of 1983. In June of 1987, Investcorp
E.C. created a subsidiary entitled Investcorp International
to be responsible for conducting all of Investcorp's business
in the United States. Investcorp E.C., the parent, licensed
to Investcorp International the right to use the "Investcorp"
service mark in the United States.
Appellant asserts that because the parent, Investcorp
E.C., intended not to use the mark in the United States, it
had abandoned the use of the mark. The argument goes
that the previous use by the parent corporation between
1983 and 1987 does not count because it had abandoned
the mark. Hence, appellant argues that appellee's first use
did not occur until 1987, when the subsidiary, Investcorp
International, first began using the mark in the United
States.
To establish abandonment, appellant must prove (1)
nonuse and (2) intent not to resume use.” Appellant's
37 Aloe Creme Laboratories, Inc. v. Milsan, Inc., 423 F.2d 845, 849,
165 U.S.P.Q. 37, 41 (Sth Cir.) cert. denied, 398 U.S. 928, 90 S.Ct. 1818,
26 L.Ed.2d 90 reh'g denied, 400 U.S. 856, 91 S.Ct. 23, 27 L.Ed.2d 95
(1970).
3° E. Remy Martin & Co., S.A. v. Shaw-Ross Intemational Imports,
Inc., 796 F.2d 1525, 1532, 225 U.S.P.Q. 1131, 1136 reh'g denied, en banc,
765 F.2d 154 (11th Cir. 1985).
12a
argument is disingenuous because although Investcorp E.C.
did not intend to use the mark in the United States, it
intended Investcorp International, its wholly-owned
subsidiary, to continue the use of the mark in its place. All
that occurred was a reorganization of Investcorp's
Structure; the intent was for Investcorp to continue to use
the mark through its subsidiary, Investcorp International.
Therefore, Investcorp never intended to cease using the
"Investcorp" mark and there was no abandonment. Thus,
Investcorp's first use of their mark occurred in March of
1983, and the secondary meaning of "Investacorp" must
attach by that date.
Secondary meaning is the connection in the consumer's
mind between the mark and the provider of the service.”
Plaintiff has the burden of sustaining a high degree of
proof in establishing a secondary meaning for a descriptive
term.” This requisite high degree of proof must be
considered by the court when ruling on a motion for
summary judgment.’ Absent consumer survey evidence,
as is the case here, four factors can be considered in
determining whether a particular mark has acquired a
secondary meaning:
(1)[T]he length and manner of its use; (2) the
nature and extent of advertising and promotion; (3)
the efforts made by the plaintiff to promote a
conscious connection in the public's mind between
the name and the plaintiff's ... business; and (4) the
extent to which the public actually identifies the
39 AmBrit, Inc. v. Kraft, Inc., 812 F.2d 1531, 1536 n. 14, 1
U.S.P.Q.2d 1161 (11th Cir. 1986).
“© Vision Center, 596 F.2d at 119, 202 U.S.P.Q. at 341.
*) Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 106 S.Ct. 2505, 91
L.Ed.2d 202 (1986). ‘
13a
name with the plaintiff's [service.}”
Appellant began designating their services with the
"Investacorp" mark in January of 1978. Thus, the length of
appellant's use of the mark was five years prior to the
appellee's use of their mark. However, there is nothing
significant about the manner of appellant's use of the
mark, other than appellant merely “displayed its service
mark on nearly all of its transactional documents."
The nature and extent of appellant's advertisement and
promotion and its achievement of a conscious connection
in the public's mind between the mark and the appellant's
business during the relevant time period is far short of
spectacular. During this period, appellant's advertising
expenditures did not exceed one-hundred dollars per
month. Although, appellant emphasizes growth and showed
a high ratio of sales dollars to advertising dollars during
the relevant period, this fact does not indicate that
appellant's bantam advertising campaigns made major
inroads to the consumer psyche.
The evidence that the public actually identifies the mark
with appellant's business is also lacking. Although instances
of consumer confusion are probative of secondary
meaning,” the few isolated instances cited by appellant
are not adequate to present a genuine issue of material
fact. Consequently, we agree that the undisputed facts
show that the mark "Investacorp" did not acquire secondary
meaning before the end of the relevant time period.
Conclusion
‘2 Conagra, Inc. v. Singleton, 743 F.2d 1508, 1513, 224 U.S.P.Q. 552,
555 (11th Cir. 1984).
“8 McCarthy, supra note 6, Section 15:3.
l4a
In order to prove all of its claims, appellant must
establish ownership of the right to use the mark to
designate its services. Because the undisputed facts show
that the "Investacorp" mark is not inherently distinctive, a
protectable interest does not attach until the mark acquires
a secondary meaning. The district court found that the
undisputed facts established that “Investacorp" did not
acquire secondary meaning before appellee commenced
use of their similar service mark, "Investcorp". Therefore,
appellant does not own a protectable interest in the
"Investacorp" service mark. We agree with the district
court's view of the evidence. Accordingly, as a matter of
law, appellee did not infringe on the appellant's service
mark or unfairly compete with appellant because appellant
never owned a protectable interest in the mark,
"Investacorp", and appellee is entitled to judgment.
Affirmed.
1Sa
Appendix B.
United States District Court
Southern District of Florida
CASE NO. 88-1962-CIV-SCOTT
INVESTACORP, INC.,
Plaintiff,
_-
ARABIAN INVESTMENT BANKING
CORPORATION (INVESTCORP) E.C.,
et.al.,
Defendants.
MEMORANDUM OPINION ON MOTIONS
FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT
Plaintiff, Investacorp, Inc. ("Investacorp"), instituted this
action against Defendants, Arabian Investment Banking
Corporation (Investcorp) E.C. ("Investcorp E.C.") and
Investcorp International, Inc. ("Investcorp International"),
claiming: (1) service mark infringement under section 43
of the Lanham Act, 15 U.S.C. Section 1125(a) (Count I);
(2) federal common law unfair competition (Count II); (3)
federal common law service mark infringement (Count
III); (4) Florida common law service mark infringement
(Count IV); (5) Florida common law unfair competition
(Count V); and (6) violation of the Florida anti-dilution
statute, Fla. Stat. Section 495.151 (Count VI). The case is
before the Court on cross motions for summary judgment
filed pursuant to Rule 56 of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure.
I. Background
16a
Plaintiff Investacorp is a Florida corporation whose
primary business is that of a financial services company
providing services as a broker/dealer and as a financial
intermediary between individuals, corporations and
institutions seeking investment opportunities through a
nationwide network of licensed registered representatives.
Defendant Investcorp E.C. is an investment bank
headquartered in Manama, Bahrain. It provides investment
and advisory services in real estate, direct investment,
portfolio investment, treasury and regional banking
investment activities for a broad range of investors
throughout the Gulf region. Defendant Investcorp
International is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Investcorp
E.C. and is headquartered in New York.
In June 1987, Investcorp E.C. filed an application for
federal registration of the "Investcorp" mark. Four months
later, in October 1987, Investacorp sought registration of _
its mark "Investacorp", and in February, 1988 filed a Notice
of Objection to Investcorp E.C.'s registration request.’
This suit followed.
On the eve of trial and with discovery completed, both
plaintiff and defendants moved for summary judgment.
Plaintiff has moved for partial summary judgment as to its
claims for service mark infringement. Simultaneously,
Defendants have moved for an order granting summary
judgment in their favor as to all claims asserted against
them. The Court heard oral argument on these motions on
August 29, 1989.
II. Legal Standard
Summary judgment is proper "if the pleadings,
1 Proceedings regarding the parties’ registration applications have been
stayed pending resolution of this case.
17a
\
depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions on
file, together with the affidavits, if any, show that there is
no genuine issue as to any material fact and that the
moving party is entitled to a judgment as a matter of law."
Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c). The burden is on the moving party
to demonstrate the absence of a genuine issue as to any
material fact. Kciser v. Coliseum Properties, Inc., 614 F.2d
406 (Sth Cir. 1980). This burden "may be discharged by
showing -- that is, pointing out to the District Court -- that
there is an absence of evidence to support the nenmoving
party's case." Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 106
S.Ct. 2548, 2554, 91 L.Ed.2d 265 (1986). The burden then
shifts to the nonmoving party to "go beyond the pleadings
and . . . designate ‘specific facts showing that there is a
genuine issue for trial.” Celotex, 106 S.Ct. at 2253, citing
Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(e). Assuming there has been adequate
time for discovery, summary judgment should then be
entered against "a party who fails to make a showing
sufficient to establish the existence of an essential element
to that party's case, and on which that party will bear the
burden of proof at trial.” Jd.
III. Analysis
A. Plaintiff's claims for Federal Common Law of Unfair
Competition and Service Mark Infringement.
Initially, defendants argue that the federal common law
claims of unfair competition and service mark infringement
asserted by plaintiff in Counts II and III of the amended
complaint do not state a claim and should be dismissed
because no such common law exists. Although plaintiff
contends that there in fact exists a federal common law of
service mark infringement and unfair competition, it has
not cited a single post-Erie case sustaining a claim for
federal common law service mark infringement of|sic]
unfair competition, and the Court's independent research
18a
did not reveal any.”
A dual system of federal and state law provide[sic] the
legal grounds for service mark protection. At the federal
level, the Lanham Act applies, and at the state level, both
the common law of unfair competition and a network of
Statutory laws apply. Gilson, TRADEMARK
PROCEDURE AND PRACTICE, Volume 1, Section 1.04.
Thus, while infringement of a federally unregistered
trademark may give rise to causes of action under (a)
Section 43(a) for federal unfair competition, (b) state
unfair competition common law, and (c) a state statute, it
does not give rise to causes of action for either federal
common law unfair competition or service mark
infringement. In sum, federal common law does not serve
as a basis for service mark protection, and any
development of such a body of law was arrested by Erie
Railroad Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64, 58 S.Ct. 817, 82
L.Ed. 1188 (1938). Jd. at Section 7.01[1]. See also Skil
Corporation v. Rockwell Int'l. Corp., 375 F.Supp. 777, 782
(N.D. Ill. 1974) (In enacting Section 43(a) of the Lanham
Act, "Congress undoubtedly recognized and intended to
remedy the destructive effect that Erie had upon the
development of a uniform federal common law of unfair
competition... ."). Counts II and III of plaintiff's amended
complaint must therefore be dismissed and summary
judgment entered in favor of defendants as to those two
counts.
B. Plaintiff's Claim Under the Lanham Act and its Florida
Common Law and Statutory Claims.
2 At oral argument, plaintiff cited Keebler Co. v. Rovira Biscuit
Corp., 624 F.2d 366 (1st Cir. 1980) and Jn re Sawyer Electrical Mfg. Co.,
144 F.2d 893 (C.C.P.A. 1944) in support of its position. Those cases,
however, do not stand for the proposition that the federal common law
of trademarks and unfair competition developed prior to the Supreme
Court's decision in Erie applies today.
19a
The remainder of plaintiff's amended complaint consists
of claims under Section 43(a) of the Lanham Act, 15
U.S.C. Section 1125{a), Florida's common law of
trademark infringement and unfair competition, and
Florida's anti-dilution statute, Fla. Stat. Section 495.151. To
establish these claims, plaintiff must prove a protectible
interest in the mark allegedly infringed.’ American
Television & Communications Corp. v. American
Communications & Television, Inc., 810 F.2d 1546, 1548
(11th Cir. 1987); Creamette Co. v. Conlin, 191 F.2d 108,
111-12, (Sth Cir. 1951), cert. denied, 342 U.S. 945 (1952)
(applying Florida law); Abner's Beef House Corp. v. Abner's
Int'L, Inc., 227 So.2d 865, 867 (Fla. 1969); American Bank
v. First American Bank & Trust, 455 So.2d 433, 445-46 (Fla.
5th DCA 1984); Marks v. Cayo Hueso, Ltd., 437 So.2d 775,
777 (Fla. 3d DCA 1983).
1. Categorizing the Mark.
To ascertain whether plaintiff has a protectible property
right in the term "Investacorp", the Court must first
categorize it. The cases have identified four categories of
terms with respect to service mark protection: (1) generic;
(2) descriptive; (3) suggestive; or (4) arbitrary or fanciful.
These categories indicate different levels of protectability.
> To prove a protectible interest, plaintiff must establish that (i) it
actually used the mark "Investacorp” before the defendants began using
the “Investcorp” mark, and (ii) the “Investacorp" mark is either
inherently distinctive or had acquired a secondary meaning prior to the
date on which defendants commenced using the same or similar mark.”
Co-Rect Products, Inc. v. Marvy! Advertising Photography, Inc., 780 F.2d
1324, 1330 (8th Cir. 1985); Scott Paper Co. v. Scott's Liquid Gold, Inc.,
589 F.2d 1225, 1231 (3d Cir. 1978); Abner’s Beef House Corp. v. Abner’s
International Inc., 227 So.2d 865 (Fla. 1969). Defendants concede that
plaintiff used the mark “Investacorp" before they began using the
"Investcorp” mark.
20a
They are summarized as follows in American Television and
Communications Corp. v. American Communications and
Television, Inc., 810 F.2d 1546, 1548-49 (11th Cir. 1987)
(citations omitted):
A generic name suggests the basic nature of the
article or service. Most courts hold that a generic
term is incapable of achieving trade name
protection. A descriptive term identifies a
characteristic or quality of an article or service, and
may become a protectible trade name only if it
acquires a secondary meaning. The distinction
between descriptive and generic terms is one of
degree. A suggestive term suggests, rather than
describes, a characteristic of the goods or services
and requires an effort of the imagination by the
consumer in order to be understood as descriptive;
it requires no proof of secondary meaning to be
protectible. An arbitrary or fanciful name bears no
relationship to the product or service and is also
protectible without proof of secondary meaning.
Defendants assert that the plaintiff cannot establish a
protectible interest in the mark allegedly infringed because
the term "Investacorp" falls into the descriptive category of
terms with respect to legally protectible interests. This
requires plaintiff to establish a secondary meaning to the
term in order to establish a protectible interest. Plaintiff
argues that "Investacorp” is not a descriptive term but an
arbitrary or, at least, a suggestive term for which no
showing of secondary meaning is necessary.
In determining the mark's status, the Court rejects
outright plaintiff's contention that the term “Investacorp"
is an arbitrary term. Unlike such marks as EXXON,
KODAK, SHELL, CAMEL, and DREFT, which are
meaningless in relation to the products, the term
"Investacorp” bears a relationship to the service being
2ila
offered by plaintiff. The oily real issue, therefore, is
whether "Investacorp" is a désctiptive or suggestive term.
The Court concludes that the term "Investacorp" is a
descriptive term. Without thé use of imagination, the term
forthwith describes the esserace of plaintiff's business and
conveys to the unknowing 4n immediate idea of the
services being offered by plaintiff. "Because the name does
not require ‘imagination, thought and perception to reach
a conclusion as to the naturé Of the goods' or services, it
cannot be considered a suggestive term." Vision Center v.
Optick, Inc., 596 F.2d 111,116 (Sth Cir. 1979) (citing Stix
Products, Inc. v. United Merchants & Mfrs., Inc., 295 F.Supp.
479, 488 (S.D.N.Y. 1968)).
Another test used by the Courts in determining the
descriptiveness of a mark is the extent to which those
engaged in similar businesses have used the phrase. Vision
Center, 596 F.2d at 117. Here, over eighty listed
NASD-registered broker-dealers use the term "invest" in
their names. Additionally, thé T & T Trademark Research
Report submitted by defendants reveals an "Investcorp" in
Minnesota, an "Investcorp & Associates" in Dallas, an
"Investicorp" in New York and Chicago and another
company that sought to register "Investacorp" before the
plaintiff did. These facts furth¢r support the descriptiveness
of plaintiffs mark. See Visiort Center, 596 F.2d at 117 &
n.15 (the court considered thiat the name "Vision Center"
had been adopted by a largé number of optical stores in
other parts of the nation jin finding that name to be
descriptive); Telemed Corp. v: Tel-Med, Inc., 588 F.2d 213,
218 (7th Cir. 1978) (court considered that the terms "tel"
and "med" likely to form part of trademark use by
competitors, and 254 business names began with the prefix
"Tel" or “Tele” in the Manhattan Telephone Directory);
American Heritage Life Insurance Co. v. Heritage Life Ins.
Co., 494 F.2d 3, 11 (Sth Cir. 1974) (court considered that
the word "heritage" is used in the corporate names of
22a
insurance companies all over the country in finding that
term to be descriptive). These facts further support the
Court's conclusion that "Investacorp" is a descriptive term.
2. Is there sufficient evidence of secondary meaning?
Although the mark "Investacorp" is descriptive, it may
rise to the level of protectability if shown to have acquired
a secondary meaning "prior to the date on which the
defendant[s] commenced using the same or similar mark."
Co-Rect Products, Inc. v. Marvy! Advertising Photography,
Inc., 780 F.2d 1324, 1330 (8th Cir. 1985). To establish that
its mark has acquired a secondary meaning, plaintiff must
show that the consuming public connects the mark with
plaintiff rather than the services offered. American
Television, 810 F.2d at 1549. Only where the plaintiff can
show that “the corporate name denotes to the consumer or
purchaser ‘a single thing coming from a single source” can
a secondary meaning be shown. American Television, 810
F.2d at 1549; American Heritage, 494 F.2d at 12; Aloe
Creme Laboratories, Inc. v. Milsan, Inc., 423 F.2d 845, 850
(Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 398 U.S. 928 (1970). The intentions
or desires of the creator of the mark or its owner are
irrelevant; the consumer's state of mind is paramount.
Co-Rect Products, 790 F.2d at 1330.
The Eleventh Circuit in Congra, Inc. v. Singleton, 743
F.2d 1508, 1513 (11th Cir. 1984) identified four types of
evidence that are considered in ascertaining whether
secondary meaning has attached to a mark: (1) the length
and manner of the mark's use; (2) the nature and extent of
advertising, promotion and sale; (3) the plaintiff's efforts
to promote a conscious connection in the public's mind
between the name and the plaintiff's product or business;
and (4) the extent to which the public actually identifies
23a
the name with the plaintiffs product or venture.’ To
establish secondary meaning for a descriptive term, "a high
degree of proof is necessary." American Television, 810 F.2d
at 1549 (citing Vision Center, 596 F.2d at 118 and American
Heritage Life Ins. Co. v. Heritage Life Ins. Co., 494 F.2d 3,
12 (Sth Cir. 1974)). This high standard of proof must be
considered by the Court on the parties’ motions for
summary judgment. See Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,
477 U.S. 242, 106 S.Ct. 2505, 91 L.Ed.2d 202 (1986).
In evaluating a claim of secondary meaning, consumer
surveys are recognized as the most direct and persuasive
evidence of secondary meaning. See, e.g., Vision Center, 596
F.2d at 119 ("In assessing a claim of secondary meaning,
the chief inquiry is the attitude of the consumer toward the
mark; does it denote to him a ‘single thing coming from a
single source’? Short of a survey, this is difficult of direct
proof.") (quoting Aloe Creme Laboratories, inc. v. Milsan,
Inc., 423 F.2d 845 (Sth Cir. 1970)). During oral argument,
plaintiff conceded that here there is no evidence involving
an objective survey of the public's perception of the name
"Investacorp."® Instead, the only evidence offered to show
secondary meaning was the extent of plaintiff's advertising
and the growth of its sales.°
* The relevant time period for determining the secondary meaning
factor here is 1983, the date defendants first used the mark "Investcorp”
in the United States. See Scott Paper, 589 F.2d at 1231; Chase Federal
Savings & Loan Assoc., 681 F.Supp. 771, 779 (S.D. Fla. 1987).
> This lack of evidence alone is a “significant hindrance to meeting
the standard of proof required.” Security Centers, Ltd. v. First National
Security Centers, 750 F.2d 1295, 1301 (Sth Cir. 1985) (citing Vision
Center, 596 F.2d at 119).
© Prior to oral argument, plaintiff failed to point out to the Court
in its summary judgment memoranda any evidence of secondary
meaning. Instead, plaintiff precariously chose to merely assert that
"Investacorp” is not a descriptive term and that even if the term
24a
The amended complaint establishes that in the years
1977 through October, 1983, plaintiff spent a total of
$4,323 in advertising. Plaintiff's estimated volume of sales
grew from $74,825 in October 1978 to more that $27
million in October 1983.
In considering plaintiffs evidence of advertising
expenditures, the Court emphasizes that "it is not the
amount of money spent on advertising that is important,
but the results achieved with the money spent." Bank of
Texas v. Commerce Southwest, Inc., 741 F.2d 785, 788 (Sth
Cir. 1984) (citing Aloe Creme Laboratories, Inc. v. Milsan,
Inc., 423 F.2d 845, 850 (Sth Cir. 1970). Here, there is
insufficient evidence that the purchasing public has come
to link the term "Investacorp" with plaintiff. Other than its
own speculation, plaintiff presented no evidence of the
meaning of its name to any investors. There is no
testimony of any consumers that "Investacorp" means the
plaintiffs business to them. Given this record, the Court
cannot conclude that plaintiff's evidence of advertising is
sufficient to establish that its promotional efforts were
successful in altering the meaning of "Investacorp" to the
consuming public.
As to the growth of plaintiff's sales, the Court finds the
same weakness as it did with the proffered evidence of
advertising. More is needed to establish the necessary
consumer association than the mere proof of sales and
growth under the mark "Investacorp" because such proof
only measures plaintiffs effort to establish secondary
meaning - - it does not determine its success. There must
also be evidence that the public associates the name
"Investacorp" with plaintiff. See American Television, 810
"Investacorp” is descriptive, it is entitled to a trial to prove that the term
has acquired a secondary meaning.
25a
F.2d at 1549 (evidence of annual reports insufficient
without surveys or other evidence of the meaning of
plaintiff's name to plaintiff's suppliers and investors). Here,
however, there is insufficient evidence establishing that
association. As previously noted, other than its own
speculation, plaintiff presented no evidence of the meaning
"Investacorp" to any investors. There is no testimony that
"Investacorp" means the plaintiff's business to them.
Although not relied on by plaintiff as evidence of
secondary meaning, the Court notes that the evidence of
actual consumer confusion is scant. The evidence in the
record consists mostly of anecdotal testimony of plaintiff's
own registered representatives that they were unsure
and/or concerned as to whether plaintiff was related to
defendants.
The remaining evidence amounts to only two alleged
incidents of uncertainty as to whether there was a
connection between plaintiff and defendants. One of the
incidents was related by Mr. John Porter, an employee of
FSC Securities Corporation, one of plaintiff's competitors,
who testified in deposition that he once contacted plaintiff
concerning what he believed to be a NASD compliance
problem involving plaintiff, but which actually involved one
of the defendants. The other incident invioved the
testimony of Mr. John Van Heuvelen, the Unit Investment
Trust Department's manager at Dean Witter Reynolds Inc.,
another one of plaintiffs competitors. Mr. Van Heuvelen
testified that he had read a Forbes magazine article that
he believed was about plaintiff when in fact, it was about
defendants.
These instances of confusion were short-lived and
involved no customers of plaintiff's business. This evidence
is therefore insufficient to establish secondary meaning. See
Safeway Stores, Inc. v. Safeway Discount Drugs, Inc., 675
F.2d 1160, 1167 (11th Cir. 1982) ("Short- lived confusion or
26a
confusion of individuals casually acquainted with a business
is worthy of little weight . . . while confusion of actual
customers of a business is worthy of substantial weight.")
The evidence here falls short of demonstrating that the
primary significance of the name "Investacorp" in the minds
of consumers of financial products and services is not the
product, broker-dealer services, but the producer of the
product, Investacorp, Inc. See Security Centers, 750 F.2d at
1301 (evidence of the sums spent in advertising, of
plaintiff's use of the mark for two years before defendant
set up shop, and of defendant's alleged imitation or
appropriation of the mark insufficient to establish
secondary meaning in the absence of consumer survey). See
also Vision Center, 596 F.2d at 119 (testimony of seven
customers that “Vision Center" meant the plaintiff's
business to them, testimony that plaintiff had occasionally
received mail addressed to other establishments that had
"vision" in their name, evidence that a customer of one of
defendant's stores in another city believed the plaintiff and
defendant were associated, and recognition of plaintiff's
long use of the term insufficient to establish secondary
meaning without any consumer survey). Given plaintiff's
failure to meet its substantial evidentiary burden as to the
issue of secondary meaning, it is appropriate for the court
to deny plaintiffs motion for partial summary judgment
and grant defendants’ motion for summary judgment.’
IV. Conclusion
For the reasons stated above, it is ORDERED and
ADJUDGED as foliows:
” Since the Court concludes that the plaintiff has not met its
substantial evidentiary burden with respect to the secondary meaning
issue, it need not address the issues of likelihood of confusion, likelihood
of injury to business reputation, dilution or abandonment.
27a
1. Plaintiffs motion for partial summary judgment is
denied.
2. Defendants’ motion for summary judgment as to all
claims asserted against them is granted. Summary judgment
is entered in favor of the defendants and against plaintiff
on each of the six counts contained in the amended
complaint.
3. The amended complaint is dismissed with prejudice.
4. Plaintiffs Motion to Compel the Production of —
Documents and Things is denied as moot.
5. Defendants’ Motion In Limine to Exclude Undisclosed
Witnesses is denied as moot.
DONE AND ORDERED in Chambers at Miami,
Florida this Sth day of September, 1989.
/s/THOMAS E, SCOTT
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE
28a
Appendix C.
United States Court of Appeals
for the Eleventh Circuit
No. 89-6060
INVESTACORP, INC.,
Plaintiff-Appellant,
Vv.
ARABIAN INVESTMENT BANKING
CORPORATION
(INVESTCORP) E.C. D/B/A INVESTCORP
AND INVESTCORP INTERNATIONAL, INC.
Defendants-Appellees.
Before
Johnson and Hatchett, Circuit Judges,
Smith, Senior U.S. Circuit Judge.
(sitting by designation)
ON PETITION(S) FOR REHEARING
(July 23, 1991)
PER CURIAM:
The petition(s) for rehearing filed by appellant,
Investacorp, Inc. is denied.
29a
ENTERED FOR THE COURT:
/s/ JOHNSON, J,
UNITED STATES CIRCUIT JUDGE
30a
Appendix D.
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE
PATENT AND TRADEMARK OFFICE
IN REPLY REFER TO THE FOLLOWING AND THE
FILING DATE:
SERIAL NO.: 73/664563
APPLICANT: ARABIAN INVESTMENT BANKING
CORPORATION (ETC)
MARK: INVESTCORP
ACTION NO.: 01
MAILING DATE: 9/17/87
The assigned Examining Attorney has reviewed the
referenced application and determined the following.
The name, “Investcorp Funding, Inc.," appears in the
record. The Applicant must explain: (1) the relationship
between the Applicant and this party, (2) whether that
party holds any rights in the mark, (3) how the Applicant
benefits from any use of the mark by that party and (4)
how the Applicant controls the nature and quality of the
service under this use. 37 C.F.R. Section 2.38; TMEP
section 1201.09(b).
Pending a satisfactory explanation as to the Investcorp
Funding, Inc. requested above, the Examining Attorney
refuses registration because the Applicant is not the owner
of the mark. Trademark Act Section 1, 15 U.S.C. Section
1051 (1986). Only the owner of a mark may apply to
register the mark.
se ll Ns
3la
If the Applicant is doing business as, is also known as, or
is trading as "Investcorp," the Applicant must amend the
preamble of the application to read "Arabian Investment
Baking[sic] Corporation dba Investcorp." TMEP section
802.02.
The Applicant must amend the dates-of-use clause to
indicate a type of commerce which may be regulated by
Congress, for example, territorial commerce or foreign
commerce between the United States and a specified
foreign country. TMEP section 806.05.
No set form is required for response to this Office
action. The Applicant must respond to each point raised.
The Applicant should simply set forth the required changes
or statements and request that the Office enter them. The
Applicant must sign the response. In addition to the
identifying information required at the beginning of this
ietter, the Applicant should provide a telephone number to
speed up further processing.
The Examining Attorney has searched the Office records
and has found no similar registered or pending mark which
would bar registration under Trademark Act Section 2(d),
15 U.S.C. Section 1052(d) (1986). TMEP section 1105.01.
Js/R. Ellsworth Williams
Trademark Attorney
Law Office 6
(703) 557-2937
32a
Appendix E.
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE
PATENT AND TRADEMARK OFFICE
SERIAL NO.: 73/664563
APPLICANT: ARABIAN INVESTMENT
BANKING CORPORATION (ETC)
MARK: INVESTCORP
ACTION NO.: 02
MAILING DATE: 10/13/87
TRADEMARK INTERVIEW AND AMENDMENT
RECORD
EXAMINER'S AMENDMENT:
In accordance with the authorization granted by the
above applicant or attorney, the application has been
amended as noted below. No response is necessary unless
you object to the amendment.
The preamble should be amended to read: Arabian
Investment Banking Corporation (Investcorp) E.C. also
known as Investcorp.
The dates of use clause should be amended to indicate
that the mark in[sic] used in commerce between Bahrain
and [the]United States.
Investcorp Funding Inc. is a wholly owned subsidiary of
the applicant.
33a
Law Office 6
(703) 557-2937
34a
Appendix F.
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE
PATENT AND TRADEMARK OFFICE
IN REPLY REFER TO THE FOLLOWING AND THE
FILING DATE
SERIAL NO.: 73/688188
APPLICANT: INVESTACORP, INC.
MARK: INVESTACORP, INC.
ACTION NO.: 01
MAILING DATE: 1/25/88
The assigned Examining Attorney has reviewed the
referenced application and determined the following.
The present recitation of services is unacceptable as
indefinite. The Applicant may adopt the following
recitation, if accurate: Investment consulting and brokerage
services in the fields of securities, mutual funds,
partnerships, and other investments. TMEP section
1301.05.
If the Applicant adds new classes in response to the
Office action, then the Applicant must comply with each of
the following.
(1) The Applicant must submit five additional specimens
of use for each new class; these specimens must be of a
type which were in use on or before the filing date of the
application. TMEP section 1113.01.
35a
(2) The Applicant must state dates of first use and use in
commerce for the mark in each new class; these dates must
be on or before the filing date of this application. TMEP
section 1113.01.
(3) The Applicant must submit an affidavit or declaration
under 37 C.F.R. Section 2.20 signed by the Applicant to
verify (1) and (2) above. 37 C.F.R. Sections 2.71(a) and
(b).
(4) The Applicant must list the services by class with the
classes listed in ascending numerical order. TMEP section
1113.01.
(5) The Applicant must submit a filing fee for each
international class of services added to the application; the
filing fee is $200.00 per class. TMEP sections 809.01 and
1113.01.
(6) If the name of another party appears on new
specimens, the Applicant must indicate the relationship
between the Applicant and that party, whether that party
holds any rights in the mark and how the Applicant
controls the use by that party. TMEP section 1201.03.
The Applicant must insert a disclaimer of the descriptive
term, "INC.,” in the application. Trademark Act Section 6,
15 U.S.C. Section 1056 (1986); TMEP section 904.06.
A properly worded disclaimer should read as follows:
No claim is made to the exclusive right to use the term,
"INC.," apart from the mark as shown.
Although the Examining Attorney has searched the
Office records and has found no similar registered mark
which would bar registration under Trademark Act Section
2(d), 15 U.S.C. Section 1052(d) (1986), the Examining
36a
Attorney has found a pending application which may bar
registration.
If this earlier-filed application matures into a
registration, the Examining Attroney may refuse
registration under Section 2(d) of the Act. The Examining
Attorney encloses a copy of the information concerning
application Serial No. 664,563. 37 C.F.R. Section 2.83.
Trademark Attorney
Law Office VI (703) 557-2937
37a
Appendix G.
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE
PATENT AND TRADEMARK OFFICE
SERIAL NO.: 73/688188
APPLICANT: INVESTACORP, INC.
MARK: INVESTACORP, INC.
ACTION NO:: 02
MAILING DATE: 4/13/88
Action on this application is suspended pending the
disposition of application No. 664563.
Ls/Ira J. Goodsaid
Examining Attorney
Law Office 6
(703) 557-2937
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.