Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Aerovias Nacionales de Colombia, S. A. v. Alvarez

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

91-688.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

|

}

i

}

>

AEROVIAS NACIONALES DE COLOMBIA, S.A., AVIANCA, INC.,

and COMMODORE AVIATION, INC.,

Petitioners,

—_—vV.—

MARIA BERNARDA ALVAREZ, as Personal Representative of

the Estate of Amanda Maria Alvarez, Deceased, and on

behalf of PEDRO P. ALVAREZ and MARIA BERNARDA

ALVAREZ,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

George N. Tompkins, Jr.

Counsel of Record

CONDON & FORSYTH

1251 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10020

(212) 757-6870

Attorneys for Petitioners AEROVIAS

NACIONALES DE COLOMBIA,

S.A., AVIANCA, INC. and

COMMODORE AVIATION, INC.

i

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether the decision of a District Court that the cause of

action created by the Warsaw Convention is not exclusive,

which decision is separate from and preceded consideration

of a motion to remand the case to the state court from which

removed, is insulated from federal appellate review by 28

U.S.C. § 1447(d)?

i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING BELOW

The parties before the Court and to the proceedings below

are:

1. Petitioners AEROVIAS NACIONALES DE COLOM-

BIA, S.A. (AVIANCA), AVIANCA, INC. and COMMO-

DORE AVIATION, INC. (COMMODORE).

2. Respondents Maria Bernarda Alvarez, as personal repre-

sentative of the Estate of Amanda Maria Alvarez (Deceased),

and on behalf of Pedro P. Alvarez and Maria Bernarda

Alvarez.

RULE 29.1 LIST

1. AVIANCA has the following non-wholly owned subsidi-

aries: Helicopteros Nacionales de Colombia, S.A. (Helicol),

Aerocomercio Internal Ltda., Sociedad Productora y Com-

erc. de Alimentros Ltda. (Presto), Corporacion de Viajes

Ltda. (Coviajes) and Sociedad Aeronautica de Medellin Con-

solidada, S.A. (SAM).

2. AVIANCA, INC. is a wholly owned subsidiary of

AVIANCA.

3. COMMODORE is a subsidiary of Israel Aircraft Indus-

tries International, Inc.

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW...........

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING BELOW ........

PE NE MR ck sere eedtcesceeccveciees PCT Eee

pe es yy |. SE eee

CPOE cewtcceesvcseevssousereccesers

EE ca bbb 6065 ct eeeedeeeesccceeveeneees

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED............

ye ye ae aya ey |. | Ge

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ..........

I.

Il.

THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT’S FAILURE TO

REVIEW THE DISTRICT COURT’S DECI-

SION AS TO THE EXCLUSIVITY OF THE

WARSAW CONVENTION CAUSE OF

ACTION CONFLICTS IN PRINCIPLE

WITH THE COURT’S DECISION IN WACO

V. UNITED STATES FIDELITY & GUAR-

ANTY CO. AND THE DECISIONS OF

OTHER CIRCUIT COURTS OF APPEAL ..

THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION

SANCTIONS A DECISION BY THE DIS-

TRICT COURT WHICH SO FAR EXCEEDS

THE PERMISSIBLE LIMITS OF TREATY

INTERPRETATION AS TO REQUIRE THE

EXERCISE BY THE COURT OF ITS

SUPERVISOR? POWERS .....cccccceccees

iv

PAGE

Ill. THE DECISION BELOW RAISES RECUR-

RING IMPORTANT AND UNRESOLVED

QUESTIONS OF FEDERAL APPELLATE

Fb rcvbka ceri sekeceedernci ye 15

A. Review is Necessary to End Confusion

Among Lower Courts and Litigants Inter-

preting 28 U.S.C. § 1447(d)} .........06.. 15

B. The Eleventh Circuit Decision Extends the

Nonreviewability Rule Beyond the Limits

Fe Gres Oe oo os encase 6 aed 17

ee Reverie rete Pere re eer e Tee Tere 19

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: PAGE

Aerovias Nacionales de Colombia, S.A. v. Calderon,

No. 91-418 (U.S. cert. filed Sept. 13, 1991)........ 6, 7

Air France v. Saks, 470 U.S. 392 (1985) ............ 14, 18

Allen v. Ferguson, 791 F.2d 611 (7th Cir. 1986) ..... 9, 16

Armstrong v. Alabama Power Co., 667 F.2d 1385

6th | RE re ery ee re re ere )

Benjamins v. British European Airways, 572 F.2d 913

(2d Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1114 (1979).. 3n

Boehringer-Mannheim Diagnostics, Inc. v. Pan Ameri-

can World Airways, Inc., 737 F.2d 456 (Sth Cir.

1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1186 (1985).......... 14

Boys Mkts., Inc. v. Retail Clerk’s Union Local 770,

pe RT rr. ie 18

Calderon v. Aerovias Nacionales de Colombia, S.A.,

929 F.2d 599 (11th Cir. 1991), petition for cert. filed,

ee E.R ee ee passim

Chan v. Korean Air Lines, Ltd., 490 U.S. 122

RRR Appear pet nies Beet ea FUR eee am lay ah wo Ne Ark ee ge ae 14, 18

Clorox Co. v. U.S. Dist. Court for the Northern Dist.

of California, 779 F.2d 517 (9th Cir. 1985)........ 9, 16

Cohen v. Beneficial Indus. Loan Corp., 337 U.S. 541

Ce Se shn ecu eaeres tater aede were dab teneears lin

Eastern Airlines, Inc. v. Floyd, 113 L. Ed. 2d 569

SG Saws baesd ehei ee bra eeehaenee eee aeaeeernes 14, 18

Eggink v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 22 Av. Cas.

Cee Fe ctee Gees es SHOE 60s eves verndiveses 14

vi

PAGE

Foster v. Chesapeake Ins. Co., 933 F.2d 1207 (3d Cir.

POOR 60:4: ¢-5sbekvngceens badness 9, lln, 16

Glasser v. Amalgamated Workers Union Local 88, 806

Fe Saoe Chee Gls SOs brane Keweveess 12, 13, 16, 17

Hansen v. Blue Cross of California, 891 F.2d 1384 (9th

Cae Re 5 0 boob 4k oe ee ee eeieiee ee eee 12, 13, 16

In re Air Disaster at Lockerbie, Scotland, on December

21, 1988, 928 F.2d 1267 (2d Cir. 1991), cert. denied,

@ U.S.5..W. sane Ct. 1B, TR occ ctediven 12, 14, 15

In re Air Disaster Near Cove Neck, New York, on Jan-

uary 25, 1990, No. 843 (J.P.M.D.L. June 14, 1990) 2

In re Life Ins. Co. of N. America, 857 F.2d 1190 (8th

Coe, FD iva wasn's ondcds dees cane ee eee 16

In re TMI Litigation Cases Consolidated II, 940 F.2d

SSS GO Gis Fe cbs che cde smancactadeetevate 10

Karl Koch Erecting Co. v. N.Y. Convention Center

Dev. Corp., 838 F.2d 656 (2d Cir. 1988).......... 9

Katsaris v. United States, 684 F.2d 758 (11th Cir.

POS 656 cnctarbesecenakeearer ees hemeraasioese 9, 16

Kozera vy. Spirito, 723 F.2d 1003 (1st Cir. 1983) ..... 9

Mitchell v. Carlson, 896 F.2d 128 (Sth Cir. 1990).... 9, 16

Pelieport Investors, inc. v. Budco Quality Theatres,

Inc., 741 F.2d 273 (9th Cir. 1984)..... 9, 10, lln, 16, 18

Regis Associates v. Rank Hotels (Management) Ltd.,

So 7.06 25s GR Cah. TR has 6s der snwinseesenes 9, 16

Rhymes v. Arrow Air, Inc., 636 F. Supp. 737 (S.D.

Paes TD ive ae n0i4aed be eeeens eee 4, 15, 18n

Soley v. First Nat’l Bank of Commerce, 923 F.2d 406

Se GOB adi ocen ves cake edivdeeeeeseveee 16, 17

Vii

PAGE

Southeast Mortg. Co. v. Mullins, 514 F.2d 747 (Sth

Gs MOU o agen k22e05 ba FOC a pwehs bee Gnd erdeaveves 9

Survival Systems Division of the Whittaker Corp. v.

U.S. Dist. Court for the Southern Dist. of Califor-

nia, 825 F.2d 1416 (9th Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 484

Cy Se enh e eda che caedekeceeetesebecans 17

Tillman v. CSX Transportation, Inc., 929 F.2d 1023

(Sth Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 60 U.S.L.W. 3262 (Oct.

Fp EE nc RGR aa sO Ni sae Oe Febee bi o6 hakdeeda deters 16

Trans World Airlines, Inc. v. Franklin Mint Corp., 466

as aber dieeeahueviaseeidaweweees 14, 18

Velasquez v. Aerovias Nacionales de Colombia, S.A.,

747 F. Sapp. 670 (S.D. Fin. 1990)... cccccevcees 14, 18n

Waco v. United States Fidelity and Guaranty Co., 293

Saeels A aos aes bs ooo hee a eee ones passim

Whitman v. Raley’s, Inc., 886 F.2d 1177 (9th Cir.

SK oss FAS RaW eG Sek tae kee nse A hears tena eeenes 16, 17

Statutes, Rules & Treaties:

Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Relat-

ing to International Transportation by Air, Oct. 12,

1929, 49 Stat. 3000, T.S. No. 876 (1934), reprinted

in note following 49 U.S.C. App. § 1502 ......... passim

Se Uae BE 60-0 oo ehecenievexeedyisussevees 2

ee Oe a 65 oh bo kied Cavedetasveascvensancees lin

Be Wie OE nk ev inscurccouteceeneipucssedenes 3, 4

Se ee a oe ck bb ecen beech vacueeccecaeyeuen 2

y 2S Fok fo Ser er rT errr Ty 3, 4

ee Ee a Es ox i ke dada te needsnranesdeeeewen passim

Te Ue OUR i aka 0 0 ee tka vhensexteseneneeenee 6

kanal

"Os 4 .

on Gal AP ryt

a

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1991

No.

>

AEROVIAS NACIONALES DE COLOMBIA, S.A., AVIANCA, INC.,

and COMMODORE AVIATION, INC.,

Petitioners,

—_—V.—

MARIA BERNARDA ALVAREZ, as Personal Representative of

the Estate of Amanda Maria Alvarez, Deceased, and on

behalf of PEDRO P. ALVAREZ and MARIA BERNARDA

ALVAREZ,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

<i

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The Petitioners AEROVIAS NACIONALES DE COLOM-

BIA, S.A. (AVIANCA), AVIANCA, INC. and COMMO-

DORE AVIATION, INC (COMMODORE) respectfully pray

that a writ of certiorari issue to review the order of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit,

entered in the above-captioned proceeding on October 4,

1991, dismissing the appeal of the Petitioners.

OPINIONS BELOW

The unreported Order of the Court of Appeals for the

Eleventh Circuit is reprinted in the Appendix hereto at la,

infra.

2

The Memorandum Opinion and Order of Remand of the

United States District Court for the Southern District of Flor-

ida (King, J.) is reported at 756 F. Supp. 550, and is

reprinted in the Appendix hereto at 2a, infra.

JURISDICTION

The Order of the Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Cir-

cuit was entered on October 4, 1991. The jurisdiction of this

Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

The statutory provision involved is 28 U.S.C. § 1447(d)

which provides:

An order remanding a case to the State court from

which it was removed is not reviewable on appeal or

otherwise, except that an order remanding a case to the

State court from which it was removed pursuant to sec-

tion 1443 of this title shall be reviewable by appeal or

otherwise.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On January 25, 1990, an AVIANCA Boeing 707 aircraft

operating as Flight 052 from Colombia to New York crashed

in the vicinity of Cove Neck, New York. Of the 149 passen-

gers on board, 65 were killed and 84 were injured. Numerous

passenger wrongful death and personal injury actions were

filed against Petitioners in various United States District

Courts and in the state courts of Florida. The Judicial Panel

on Multidistrict Litigation transferred all federal actions to

the Eastern District of New York and Chief Judge Thomas

C. Platt for coordinated and consolidated pretrial proceed-

ings pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1407. In re Air Disaster Near

Cove Neck, New York, on January 25, 1990, No. 843

(J.P.M.D.L. June 14, 1990).

The present case involves one of the wrongful death

actions arising out of the crash. Respondents’ decedent was

travelling on AVIANCA Flight 052 pursuant to a ticket

which provided for ‘‘international transportation’’ within the

meaning of Article 1 of a treaty of the United States known

as the Warsaw Convention.’ It is undisputed that the Warsaw

Convention is applicable to this and the other pending

actions arising out of the crash of Avianca Flight 052.’

The action originally was commenced in the Circuit Court

for Dade County, Florida and sought relief solely pursuant to

the Florida Wrongful Death Statute. The Complaint as filed

did not make reference to the Warsaw Convention or assert

any rights thereunder, although the Complaint did allege that

Respondents’ decedent was killed in the accident involving

AVIANCA Flight 052 on January 25, 1990. The Complaint

also alleged that Respondents’ decedent was travelling pursu-

ant to a ticket for AVIANCA Flight 052 which originated in

Colombia and was destined for New York.

The District Court Proceedings: Petitioners timely removed

the action to the United States District Court for the South-

ern District of Florida pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331 and

1441 on the ground that Respondents’ claims arise under and

are governed by the Warsaw Convention and federal question

jurisdiction therefore exists.’

After removal, Respondents moved to remand the action

on the ground that the Complaint did not invoke or raise any

1 Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Relating to Interna-

tional Transportation by Air, Oct. 12, 1929, 49 Stat. 3000, T.S. No.

876 (1934), reprinted in note following 49 U.S.C. App. § 1502.

2 The Warsaw Convention applies ‘‘to all international transportation

of persons, baggage, or goods performed by aircraft for hire.’’ War-

saw Convention, Article 1, 49 Stat. 3014. It also is undisputed that

Article 17 of the rasta 60 creates a cause of action for wrongful

death. See Benjamins v. British European Airways, 572 F.2d 913 (2d

Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1114 (1979).

3 _—«*It is conceded that removal was available only on federal question

grounds.

4

federal law, treaty or statute and was founded solely on the

Florida Wrongful Death Staiute. In support of the motion,

Respondents argued that the Warsaw Convention does not

provide the exclusive cause of action but provides only an

exclusive remedy that preempts inconsistent state law reme-

dies. Therefore, Respondents’ argument continued, there was

no federal question involved so as to confer jurisdiction by

removal on the District Court pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331

and 1441.

In opposing the remand motion, Petitioners argued that

regardless of the allegations in the Complaint and the reliance

by Respondents on local state law for the alleged cause of

action for wrongful death, the Warsaw Convention applied

by operation of law to provide Respondents with the exclu-

sive cause of action and therefore removal on federal ques-

tion jurisdiction grounds was proper.

Prior to addressing or deciding the remand motion, the

District Court reached a decision that the Warsaw Conven-

tion cause of action is not exclusive even where it unquestion-

ably applies to the transportation. Appendix at Sa-10a, infra,

756 F. Supp. at 553-55. In reaching this decision, the District

Court, relying on its own 1986 decision in Rhymes v. Arrow

Air, Inc., 636 F. Supp. 737 (S.D. Fla. 1986) (King, J.), rea-

soned as follows:

At the outset of this discussion, it is important to rec-

ognize that the availability of a federal cause of action

founded upon the Warsaw Convention has been

squarely resolved in the circuit. . . . If there were no

federal cause of action, this court would need to go no

further before reaching a decision to remand this case to

state court. Because a federal cause of action exists

under the Warsaw Convention, however, the court needs

to determine whether it is exclusive.

+ * bd

Although the Warsaw Convention sets forth certain

uniform procedural rules with respect to the filing of

LS

claims, it is clear that the Convention does not presup-

pose to make such rules completely uniform. . . . The

fact that a federal cause of action has been recognized

under the Warsaw Convention does not change the fact

that the Convention leaves matters to local law.

* * *

[Vjarious courts, including the Velasquez court, have

taken the contrary position that a cause of action arising

under the Warsaw Convention is the exclusive federal

cause of action available to plaintiffs.

7 * *

Many of the other courts which state that the Warsaw

Convention’s cause of action is exclusive have done so

without much, if any, discussion; others have simply

addressed the issue in dicta. Moreover, these cases also

generally fail to analyze the ‘‘however founded’’ lan-

guage of Article 24(1) and the distinction between reme-

dies and causes of action under the Convention.

* ” *

For the reasons set forth above, this court holds that

the Warsaw Convention does not create the exclusive

cause of action in those cases to which it is applicable.

Appendix at Sa-10a, infra, 756 F. Supp. at 553-55.

Following this decision, the District Court then addressed

and proceeded to decide the remand motion, holding:

Having determined that the Warsaw Convention does

not create an exclusive cause of action, this court next

addresses whether the defendants can properly remove

this case.

+ * a

Because the plaintiff has set forth a cause of action

under state law without bringing in any federal theory

and because the Warsaw Convention’s cause of action is

6

not exclusive, the plaintiff’s complaint does not arise

under federal law so as to confer removal jurisdiction

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331 and 1441.

Appendix at 10a-12a, infra, 756 F. Supp. at 555-56.

The District Court granted the motion and remanded the

action to the Circuit Court for Dade County, Florida.

Appendix at 12a, infra, 756 F. Supp. at 556.

The Court of Appeals Proceedings: Petitioners filed a Peti-

tion for Writ of Mandamus, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1651,

requesting the Eleventh Circuit to direct the District Court to

vacate the remand order and reinstate the action. The Peti-

tion for a Writ of Mandamus was denied on March 8, 1991.

Before the Petition was denied, Petitioners also filed a Notice

of Appeal from the decision of the District Court that the

Warsaw Convention did not provide the exclusive cause of

action. Pursuant to a Memorandum of the Court of Appeals

dated March 22, 1991, the jurisdictional issue was carried

with the case and was fully addressed in the briefs along with

the substantive issue of whether the Warsaw Convention pro-

vides Respondents’ exclusive cause of action.

After Petitioners filed their brief on the merits, Respon-

dents filed a motion to dismiss the appeal on the authority of

Calderon v. Aerovias Nacionales de Colombia, S.A., 929

F.2d 599 (11th Cir. 1991), in which an appeal similar to this

case was dismissed for lack of appellate jurisdiction. A peti-

tion for a writ of certiorari in Calderon was filed on Septem-

ber 13, 1991 and currently is pending before the Court.

Aerovias Nacionales de Colombia, S.A. v. Calderon, No. 91-

418 (U.S. cert. filed Sept. 13, 1991). The Court of Appeals,

in an Order dated October 4, 1991, granted Respondents’

motion and dismissed the appeal in this case simply stating:

The district court’s conclusion regarding the exclusivity

of the remedy provided by the Warsaw Convention is

inextricably interwoven with its decision to remand the

action to state court. Accordingly, its order is not

7

appealable. See Calderon v. Aerovias Nacionales de

Colombia, 929 F.2d 599 (11th Cir. 1991).

Appendix at la, infra.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The issue presented in this case is the same issue presented

in the petition for a writ of certiorari in Aerovias Nacionales

de Colombia, S.A. v. Calderon, No. 91-418 (U.S. cert. filed

Sept. 13, 1991), currently pending before the Court—the

extent to which 28 U.S.C. § 1447(d) shields from review a

district court’s decision regarding the scope and effect of the

Warsaw Convention cause of action. As the Convention is a

treaty of the United States, this issue has far reaching ramifi-

cations, not only on the substantive rights of Petitioners in

this case, but on all pending and future actions to which the

Convention applies. The court below has expanded the non-

reviewability rule of 28 U.S.C. § 1447(d) to encompass, not

simply remand orders, but decisions of a substantive non-

jurisdictional nature if the decision has a subsequent effect

on the separate decision to remand.

The Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit, on the

authority of its prior Calderon decision, incorrectly held that

28 U.S.C. § 1447(d) precluded it from reviewing the substan-

tive decision of the District Court that the Warsaw Conven-

tion did not provide Respondents with the exclusive cause of

action and thus dismissed the appeal. In following the

Calderon decision and holding that it had no jurisdiction to

review this substantive decision of the District Court, the

Eleventh Circuit has again decided a federal question in a

way that conflicts in principle with the applicable decisions of

the Court and numerous other Circuit Courts. The Eleventh

Circuit thereby has sanctioned such a departure by the Dis-

trict Court from the accepted and usual principles of treaty

interpretation as to require the Court to exercise its power of

supervision.

8

The Eleventh Circuit also has incorrectly decided a recur-

ring important question of federal appellate jurisdiction, viz,

the intended scope of § 1447(d), which should be reviewed

and settled by the Court in order to insure uniformity in the

application of § 1447(d).

I

THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT’S FAILURE TO REVIEW

THE DISTRICT COURT’S DECISION AS TO THE

EXCLUSIVITY OF THE WARSAW CONVENTION

CAUSE OF ACTION CONFLICTS IN PRINCIPLE WITH

THE COURT’S DECISION IN WACO V. UNITED

STATES FIDELITY & GUARANTY CO. AND THE DECI-

SIONS OF OTHER CIRCUIT COURTS OF APPEAL

As in the Calderon case, this case does not involve an

appeal from a remand order. This case involves an appeal

from a district court’s substantive legal] decision regarding the

scope and effect of a treaty of the United States, which pre-

ceded consideration of a remand motion and ultimate entry

of a remand order.

Prior to remanding this action, the District Court decided

that the Warsaw Convention does not provide Respondents

with the exclusive cause of action. The Eleventh Circuit, in

dismissing the appeal, held that 28 U.S.C. § 1447(d) bars

review of this decision because the court viewed the District

Court’s exclusivity decision as ‘‘inextricably interwoven with

its decision to remand the action to state court.’’ Appendix at

la, infra. This holding of the Court of Appeals is erroneous

and conflicts in principle with the Court’s decision in Waco

v. United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co., 293 U.S. 140

(1934) and numerous decisions of other Circuit Courts of

Appeal.

In Waco, 293 U.S. 140 (1934), a case involving a district

court’s order of dismissal of a party’s cross-action (third-

party action) which resulted in the remand of the case to

9

state court, the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals had dismissed

the appeal on the grounds that no appeal lies from an order

of remand. In reversing the Fifth Circuit and holding the dis-

missal order reviewable, the Court stated:

If the District Court’s order stands the cross-action will

be no part of the case which is remanded to the state

court. Indeed, if the District Court was right, the cause

could not have been remanded except for the exclusion

of the [third-party defendant] as a party. True, no

appeal lies from the order of remand; but in logic and in

fact the decree of dismissal preceded that of remand and

was made by the District Court while it had control of

the cause. Indisputably this order is the subject of an

appeal; and, if not reversed or set aside, is conclusive

upon the petitioner.

Waco, 293 U.S. at 143.

The limitations on the scope of the nonreviewability rule as

to remand orders, as enunciated by Waco, have been recog-

nized by numerous Circuit Courts of Appeal in interpreting

and applying 28 U.S.C. § 1447(d). See Foster v. Chesapeake

Ins. Co., 933 F.2d 1207, 1211 (3d Cir. 1991); Mitchell v.

Carlson, 896 F.2d 128, 132 (Sth Cir. 1990); Regis Associates

v. Rank Hotels (Management) Ltd., 894 F.2d 193, 194-95

(6th Cir. 1990); Karl Koch Erecting Co. v. N.Y. Convention

Center Dev. Corp., 838 F.2d 656, 658 (2d Cir. 1988); Allen

v. Ferguson, 791 F.2d 611, 613-15 (7th Cir. 1986); Clorox

Co. v. U.S. Dist. Court for the Northern Dist. of California,

779 F.2d 517, 520 (9th Cir. 1985); Pelleport Investors, Inc. v.

Budco Quality Theatres, Inc., 741 F.2d 273, 276-77 (9th Cir.

1984); Kozera v. Spirito, 723 F.2d 1003, 1005 n.1 (ist Cir.

1983); Katsaris v. United States, 684 F.2d 758, 761 (11th Cir.

1982); Armstrong v. Alabama Power Co., 667 F.2d 1385,

1387 (11th Cir. 1982); Southeast Mortg. Co. v. Mullins, 514

F.2d 747, 749 (Sth Cir. 1975).

For example, in Pelleport Investors, Inc. v. Budco Quality

Theatres, Inc., 741 F.2d 273 (9th Cir. 1984), the Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit held that appellate jurisdiction

10

exists to review a substantive legal decision which precedes a

remand order. The court held:

[T]he district court ordered the case remanded to state

court after it found the parties’ agreement to litigate in

state court enforceable. Not only did the court’s deter-

mination that the forum selection clause was valid and

enforceable precede the remand order, it formed the

basis of that order. Like the dismissal in Waco, the

court’s decision that the contract clause is enforceable, if

not reversed or set aside, is conclusive upon [defendant],

and, therefore, must be reviewed. To hold otherwise

would deprive [defendant] of its right to appeal a sub-

stantive determination of contract law. We cannot

believe that Congress intended to immunize such deci-

sions from review. -

Pelleport, 741 F.2d at 277.

The general principles and rationale enunciated by the

Supreme Court in Waco and its progeny are that the statu-

tory nonreviewability rule has its limits and does not extend

to insulate from review substantive decisions rendered prior

to remand which affect the substantive rights of a party. The

extension of 28 U.S.C. § 1447(d) to insulate such decisions

from appellate review would deprive a litigant of its right to

appeal a substantive legal determination as to the scope and

effect of a treaty binding upon that party in subsequent pro-

ceedings. Cf. In re TMI Litigation Cases Consolidated II, 940

F.2d 832, 845-47 (3d Cir. 1991).

As in Waco, Petitioners here sought review of a substan-

tive legal decision (i.e. the exclusivity of the Warsaw Conven-

tion cause of action) that preceded the remand order. In

summarily holding that this aspect of the District Court’s

decision was not reviewable, the Eleventh Circuit sidestepped

the essential distinction drawn by the Court in Waco between

an appeal from a remand order and an appeal from a deci-

sion which precedes a remand order, by characterizing the

District Court’s exclusivity decision as ‘‘inextricably interwo-

ven’’ with the decision to remand. Appendix at la, infra. It

1]

is this aspect of the Eleventh Circuit’s decision which con-

flicts in principle with Waco.‘

In order to arrive at its result, the court below, as did the

court in Calderon, ignored that the District Court first and

separately rendered a substantive decision that the Warsaw

Convention cause of action was not exclusive and that

Respondents, at their option, could bring a wrongful death

action under local state law, even where the Convention

unquestionably applies. Only after this decision had been ren-

dered did the District Court then proceed to address and then

decide the remand motion. The District Court specifically

segregated the exclusivity issue from the jurisdictional issue

and first addressed, at some length and in a separately

labelled section, the exclusivity issue. The District Court itself

recognized that it was making a substantive legal decision

apart from the jurisdictional issue when it stated:

If there were no federal cause of action, this court

would need to go no further before reaching a decision

to remand this case to state court. Because a federal

cause of action exists under the Warsaw Convention,

however, the court needs to determine whether it is

exclusive.

Appendix at 6a, infra, 756 F. Supp. at 553.

Only after the District Court had decided that the federal

Warsaw Convention cause of action is not exclusive did the

District Court separately address the remand issue:

Having determined that the Warsaw Convention does

not create an exclusive cause of action, this court next

4 The District Court’s decision prior to remand, that the Warsaw Con-

vention does not provide Respondents’ exclusive cause of action, is a

binding legal decision which affects the substantive rights of Petition-

ers and is appealable as a final collateral order pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1291. See Cohen v. Beneficial Indus. Loan Corp., 337 U.S. 541

(1949); Foster, 933 F.2d at 1211; Pelleport, 741 F.2d at 278. The deci-

sion in effect ends the litigation in the federal forum, amounting to a

dismissal since its effect is to surrender jurisdiction to the state court

and, if not appealable now, the order will be unreviewable. /d.

12

addresses whether the defendants can properly remove

this case.

Appendix at 10a, infra, 756 F. Supp. at 555.

It is clear that the decision to remand was not based on the

allegations of the Complaint but necessarily was preceded by

the substantive legal decision of the District Court that the

Warsaw Convention cause of action is not exclusive. The Dis-

trict Court’s erroneous decision on this issue should not be

insulated from review because it preceded a remand order nor

because of the Eleventh Circuit’s self-serving but faulty view

of the decision as ‘‘inextricably interwoven’’ with the remand

order.

The court below also ignored the numerous substantive

effects that the District Court’s decision has on the rights of

the parties after remand, apart from the jurisdictional effects.

For example, the District Court’s decision will affect Peti-

tioners’ substantive rights as to the applicable substantive

law, choice of law rule and measure of damages. See Jn re

Air Disaster at Lockerbie, Scotland, on December 21, 1988,

928 F.2d 1267 (2d Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 60 U.S.L.W. 3293

(Oct. 15, 1991). The court below, in summarily dismissing the

appeal, failed to address these issues.

As with the district court’s decision in Calderon, the Dis-

trict Court’s exclusivity decision in this case can be applied to

any Warsaw Convention case and in a non-jurisdictional con-

text. The Court of Appeals in this case simply ignored the

wide-ranging nonjurisdictional effects of the District Court’s

decision, as did the Eleventh Circuit in Calderon, and relying

on Calderon, dismissed the appeal. In this, the court below

erred.

The Calderon court was confused as to the scope and

effect of § 1447(d) and Waco in an action governed by the

Warsaw Convention. This confusion is evidenced by the pre-

emption cases it relied upon in dismissing the Calderon

appeal. See, e.g., Hansen v. Blue Cross of California, 891

F.2d 1384 (9th Cir. 1989); Glasser v. Amalgamated Workers

13

Union Local 88, 806 F.2d 1539 (llth Cir. 1986). The courts

in those cases would have reviewed the district court decisions

preceding the remand orders but for the fact that the federal

law which the defendants there attempted to invoke to sup-

port removal did not definitely apply to the factual allega-

tions in the complaints. Thus, the decisions affected only the

forum and not the substantive rights of the parties. Unlike

Glasser and Hansen, the applicability of the federal law in

this case, the Warsaw Convention, is unquestionable. More-

over, the issue of the exclusivity of the Convention cause of

action affects not only the forum in which the case is to be

heard but has conclusive binding effects on the substantive

rights of the Petitioners in state court subsequent to remand.

Even Glasser noted that where the district court reaches ‘‘the

merits of the preemption argument’’, the decision is review-

able. 806 F.2d at 1540.

The rationale and principle of Waco cannot be circum-

vented to deprive Petitioners of their right to appeal a deci-

sion of substantive law simply by labeling that decision as

‘‘inextricably interwoven’’ with the jurisdictional issue or

simply because the ‘‘exclusivity’’ issue also affects jurisdic-

tion.

Il

THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION SANCTIONS A

DECISION BY THE DISTRICT COURT WHICH SO FAR

EXCEEDS THE PERMISSIBLE LIMITS OF TREATY

INTERPRETATION AS TO REQUIRE THE EXERCISE

BY THE COURT OF ITS SUPERVISORY POWERS

The decision of the Eleventh Circuit in turn effectively has

sanctioned the District Court’s erroneous decision that the

Warsaw Convention does not provide the exclusive cause of

action, a decision which has wide-ranging implications

beyond the facts of this case. |

Although the District Court recognized that the Warsaw

Convention creates a federal cause of action for wrongful

14

death and that numerous decisions have held that this cause

of action is the exclusive cause of action for claims arising

out of ‘‘international transportation,’’ the District Court nev-

ertheless held that the Convention cause of action is not

exclusive but only creates the exclusive ‘‘remedy.’’ Appendix

at 10a, infra, 756 F. Supp. at 555. In reaching this decision,

the District Court failed to properly review the language,

goals and drafting history of the Convention, contrary to

well established rules of treaty interpretation. See Eastern

Airlines, Inc. v. Floyd, 113 L. Ed. 2d 569 (1991); Chan v.

Korean Air Lines, Ltd., 490 U.S. 122 (1989); Air France v.

Saks, 470 U.S. 392 (1985); Trans World Airlines, Inc. v.

Franklin Mint Corp., 466 U.S. 243 (1984).

The language, goals and drafting history of the Warsaw

Convention establish that the Convention was intended to

create the uniform cause of action for damages arising out of

international transportation by air. As a treaty which was

created for the purpose of establishing uniform rules with

respect to the liability of air carriers, the Convention exclu-

sively governs the iights and responsibilities of passengers

and carriers wherever it applies. See Lockerbie, 928 F.2d

1267; Boehringer-Mannheim Diagnostics, Inc. v. Pan Ameri-

can World Airways, Inc., 737 F.2d 456 (Sth Cir. 1984), cert.

denied, 469 U.S. 1186 (1985); Velasquez v. Aerovias

Nacionales de Colombia, S.A., 747 F. Supp. 670 (S.D. Fila.

1990); Eggink v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 22 Av. Cas.

(CCH) 17,731 (S.D.N.Y. 1990). As the court stated in Lock-

erbie:

The principal purposes that brought the Convention into

being and presumably caused the United States to

adhere to it were a desire for uniformity in the laws gov-

erning carrier liability and a need for certainty in the

application of those laws. Hence, the test to be applied

is whether these goals of uniformity and certainty are

frustrated by the availability of state causes of action for

death and injuries suffered by passengers on interna-

tional flights. We do not see how the existence of state

15

law causes of action could fail to frustrate these pur-

poses.

Lockerbie, 928 F.2d at 1275 (citations omitted).

The District Court’s non-exclusivity decision is not an iso-

lated incident. The practice prevails in the Southern District

of Florida of permitting plaintiffs to avoid the full applica-

tion of the Warsaw Convention to wrongful death and per-

sonal injury actions simply by not mentioning the Convention

in the complaint. The Rhymes and Calderon cases are clear

examples. In failing to review the District Court’s decision

regarding the exclusivity of the Warsaw Convention cause of

action, the Eleventh Circuit sanctions this practice. Of even

greater import, the court below has tacitly decided that the

application of the uniform liability rules of the Convention is

at the option of the plaintiff. The Court should exercise its

supervisory powers in order to ensure the consistent and uni-

form application of the Warsaw Convention and its goals.

Ill

THE DECISION BELOW RAISES RECURRING IMPOR-

TANT AND UNRESOLVED QUESTIONS OF FEDERAL

APPELLATE JURISDICTION

The scope of § 1447(d) in relation to the wholesale remand

of Warsaw Convention cases in the Southern District of Flor-

ida, and eventually throughout the Eleventh Circuit, raises a

recurring important question of federal appellate jurisdiction

which should be clarified and resolved by the Court.

A. Review is Necessary to End Confusion Among Lower

Courts and Litigants Interpreting 28 U.S.C § 1447(d)

The courts have given § 1447(d) and Waco inconsistent

interpretations which has led to confusion and irreconcilable

conflicts among the lower courts as to the application of

§ 1447(d) and its effect on the litigants.

16

Confusion exists as to whether a substantive decision pre-

ceding a remand order merely is ‘‘interwoven with’’ or

‘‘intrinsic to’’ the remand, or whether such a decision is sepa-

rate and apart from the remand order and, thus, reviewable.

See, e.g., Calderon, 929 F.2d 599; Soley v. First Nat’l Bank

of Commerce, 923 F.2d 406 (Sth Cir. 1991); Hansen, 891

F.2d 1384; Whitman v. Raley’s, Inc., 886 F.2d 1177 (9th Cir.

1989); Glasser, 806 F.2d 1539; Allen, 791 F.2d 611; Clorox,

779 F.2d 517; Pelleport, 741 F.2d 273. The lack of any defin-

itive guidance or standard has resulted in the development of

questionable rationale and doctrines which often ignore the

substantive effects of such decisions on the parties after

remand. See, e.g., Soley, 923 F.2d 406; Whitman, 886 F.2d

1177. Indeed, the doctrine adopted in Whitman and Soley, as

to whether a pre-remand decision is reviewable, is unworka-

ble and irrelevant in a Warsaw Convention case such as here,

because only the effect of the Convention, and not its appli-

cability, is disputed.

Similarly, some courts have held that while a substantive

decision preceding a remand order is reviewable, the court is

powerless to reinstate the action in federal court even if the

substantive decision preceding remand was erroneous. See,

e.g., Tillman v. CSX Transportation, Inc., 929 F.2d 1023

(Sth Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 60 U.S.L.W. 3262 (Oct. 7,

1991); Soley, 923 F.2d 406; Allen, 791 F.2d 611. Yet other

courts not only have reviewed the substantive decision pre-

ceding a remand order but have reinstated the action in fed-

eral court. See, e.g., Foster, 933 F.2d 1207; Mitchell, 896

F.2d 128; Regis, 894 F.2d 193; Clorox, 779 F.2d 517; Kat-

saris, 684 F.2d 758.

Courts also have held that it is within the state court’s dis-

cretion, after remand, to determine the preclusive effects of a

district court’s pre-remand substantive decision in the state

court proceedings. Hansen, 891 F.2d 1384; In re Life Ins.

Co. of N. America, 857 F.2d 1190 (8th Cir. 1988); Pelleport,

741 F.2d 273. Other courts have simply defined this troubling

issue away, concluding that the district court’s pre-remand

decision would have no preclusive effect on the state court’s

6

17

consideration of the same issue. Soley, 923 F.2d 406; Whit-

man, 886 F.2d 1177; Survival Systems Division of the Whit-

taker Corp. v. U.S. Dist. Court for the Southern Dist. of

California, 825 F.2d 1416 (9th Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 484

U.S. 1042 (1988); Glasser, 806 F.2d 1541. In summarily dis-

missing the appeal, the court below did not consider the pre-

clusive effect that the District Court’s non-exclusivity decision

would have on the rights of Petitioners in the subsequent

state court proceedings.

Review by the Court is necessary to provide definitive guid-

ance to end the recurring confusion and conflict among the

lower courts in the application and interpretation of Waco

and § 1447(d), particularly in relation to the intended scope

of the Warsaw Convention cause of action.

B. The Eleventh Circuit Decision Extends the Nonreviewabil-

ity Rule Beyond the Limits of 28 U.S.C. § 1447(d)

The Eleventh Circuit’s extension of the nonreviewability

rule to an exclusivity decision preceding a remand order, in

actions governed by the Warsaw Convention, is improper and

is contrary to the purpose, intent and scope of both § 1447(d)

and the Warsaw Convention. The policy underlying the non-

reviewability of remand orders is conspicuously absent in

cases such as this. The rationale for the rule is to prevent

delay by protracted litigation over simple jurisdictional issues

and is justified where the decision affects only the forum.

This rationale is not applicable when a decision which pre-

cedes and then results in the remand order affects the sub-

stantive rights of a party after remand. In Waco, the Court

recognized the right of a litigant, such as Petitioners, to

appeal a conclusive substantive legal decision which preceded

a remand order. The Court declined to extend the nonre-

viewability rule to such decisions because to do so would

extend the rule beyond its intended scope and purpose.

Therefore, ‘‘where a district court bypasses the jurisdictional

arguments and reaches the merits of a. . . dispute, the pol-

icy [of § 1447(d)] is inapplicable. Any delay caused by [the]

18

appeal . . . is a delay that must be countenanced.’’ Pelle-

port, 741 F.2d at 277.

Federal question removal jurisdiction was intended to pro-

vide a federal forum for the protection of federal rights and

to encourage the development of expertise by federal courts

in the interpretation and application of federal law. Boys

Mkts., Inc. v. Retail Clerk’s Union Local 770, 398 U.S. 235,

246 n.13 (1970).° The Court has granted certiorari to ensure

the uniform interpretation of treaties and has granted certio-

rari to ensure the uniform and consistent interpretation of the

Warsaw Convention in accordance with the express goals of

the drafters of the treaty. See Floyd, 113 L. Ed. 2d at 584-88;

Chan, 490 U.S. at 134 n.5; Saks, 470 U.S. at 399; Franklin

Mint Corp., 466 U.S. at 247, 255-56. The extension of

§ 1447(d) to encompass the District Court’s determination

that the Warsaw Convention cause of action is not exclusive

runs directly counter to the goal of uniformity sought to be

achieved by the treaty. The effect of the Eleventh Circuit

decision in this case is to allow each district court to reach its

own conclusion as to the scope and effect of the Convention.

This has resulted in inconsistent decisions which as of now

are held in the Eleventh Circuit to be completely insulated

from review.° Congress certainly did not intend to immunize

from federal appellate review a matter of treaty interpretation

by the nonreviewability rule.

The District Court effectively has subordinated a treaty of

the United States, created for the express purpose of creating

5 The extension of the nonreviewability rule to the decision in this

action not only binds Petitioners to an erroneous and adverse decision

as to the Warsaw Convention by the District Court, but frustrates,

rather than facilitates, the formation of a uniform, interpretive body

of federal law.

6 There are even conflicting decisions in the Southern District of Flor-

ida on this exclusivity issue. Compare Velasquez v. Aerovias

Nacionales de Colombia, S.A., 747 F. Supp. 670 (S.D. Fla. 1990)

(Convention cause of action is exclusive and removal proper) with

Rhymes v. Arrow Air, Inc., 636 F. Supp. 737 (S.D. Fla. 1986) (Con-

vention cause of action is not exclusive and removal improper).

———=V— ss t—“‘_O™OSCSC

19

a uniform system of liability, to a state wrongful death stat-

ute. Given the increasing frequency with which plaintiffs are

adopting this ploy to avoid the full effect of the Convention,

the issue of the reviewability of such pre-remand decisions

will recur and continue to escalate until the Court resolves

this important issue.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

should be granted.

Respectfully submitted, \

George N. Tompkins, Jr.

Counsel of Record

CONDON & FORSYTH

1251 Avenue of the Americas

“New York, New York 10020

(212) 757-6870

Attorneys for Petitioners AEROVIAS

NACIONALES DE COLOMBIA,

S.A., AVIANCA, INC. and

COMMODORE AVIATION, INC.

Of Counsel:

Michael J. Holland

Andrew J. Harakas

Deborah A. Elsasser

Dated: October 24, 1991

APPENDIX

INDEX TO APPENDIX

Order of the Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit

er

Memorandum Opinion and Order of Remand of the

United States District Court for the Southern District

of Florida (King, J.) dated January 25, 1991 and

reported at 756 F. Supp. 550 (S.D. Fla. 1991).....

PAGE

la

IN THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTE! CIRCUIT

>

No. 91-5197

Filed October 4, 1991

aa

MARIA BERNARDA ALVAREZ, as personal representative of

the Estate of Amanda Alvarez, Deceased and on behalf

of Pedro Alvarez and Maria Bernarda Alvarez,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

—versus—

AEROVIAS NACIONALES DE COLOMBIA, S.A.,

AVIANCA INC., AND COMMODORE AVIATION, INC.,

Defendants-A ppellants.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Florida

+

Before:

FAY, HATCHETT and DUBINA,

Circuit Judges.

7

BY THE COURT:

Appellee’s motion to dismiss the appeal is GRANTED. The

district court’s conclusion regarding the exclusivity of the

remedy provided by the Warsaw Convention is inextricably

interwoven with its decision to remand the action to state

court. Accordingly, its order is not appealable. See Calderon

v. Aerovias Nacionales de Colombia, 929 F.2d 599 (11th Cir.

1991).

2a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

No. 90-2494-ClV.

Jan. 25, 1991

ae

Maria Bernarda ALVAREZ, as Personal Representative of the

Estate of Amanda Maria Alvarez, Deceased, and on

behalf of Pedro P. Alvarez and Maria Bernarda Alvarez,

Plaintiff,

—_—V.—

AEROVIAS NACIONALES de COLOMBIA, S.A.,

Avianca, Inc., and Commodore Aviation, Inc.,

Defendants.

>

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND

ORDER OF REMAND

JAMES LAWRENCE KING, Chief Judge.

This case arises out of the tragic airplane crash of Avianca

Flight 52 in Cove Neck, New York, on January 25, 1990.

The case was originally filed as a wrongful death action in

the Circuit Court in and for Dade County, Florida. The

defendants removed the action to this court, claiming that

removal was proper because the Warsaw Convention’ pro-

vided the plaintiff’s exclusive cause of action. This case is

now before the court on the plaintiff’s motion to remand the

case to state court.

] Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Relating to Interna-

tional Transportation by Air, concluded at Warsaw, Poland, October 12,

1929, adhered to by the United States June 27, 1934, 49 Stat. 3000, 3014,

reprinted in 49 U.S.C.App. § 1502 note (1988) (hereinafter ‘‘Warsaw Con-

vention’’).

3a

The basis for the defendants’ removal of this action to this

court stems from the fact that the accident was one of ‘‘inter-

national transportation.’’ Article 1(1) of the Warsaw Conven-

tion states: ‘‘This Convention shall apply to all international

transportation of persons, baggage, or goods performed by

aircraft for hire.’’ At the time of the crash, Flight 52 was en

route from Medellin, Colombia, to John F. Kennedy Airport

in New York. Defendants assert that, inasmuch as plaintiff’s

decedent was travelling pursuant to a ticket which provided

for ‘‘international transportation’’ within the meaning of the

Warsaw Convention, the provisions of the Warsaw Conven-

tion apply to this action and exclusively govern it.

Before delving into the issues which comprise the parties’

arguments for removal and remand of this case, the court

must first address another matter. In another case arising out

of the crash of Avianca Flight 52, the defendants removed

the action to the Southern District of Florida. Calderon v.

Aerovias Nacionales de Colombia, 738 F. Supp. 485

(S.D.Fla.1990) (Aronovitz, J.), appeal filed, No. 90-5560

(11th Cir.1990). In Calderon, Judge Aronovitz entered an

order remanding the case to state court. The defendants

appealed the decision, and oral argument before the Eleventh

Circuit Court of Appeals was heard on December 20, 1990.

Defendants have asked this court to delay ruling on the

motion to remand pending the result of the Calderon appeal,

but this court must reject that request for several reasons.

First, although it is possible that the appellate decision

could affect the outcome in this case, the oral argument in

the appellate court and the applicable precedent in the area

of remand reveal that the Eleventh Circuit is probably more

concerned with the issues of appellate jurisdiction and review-

ability than with the issues which this court faces. The Elev-

enth Circuit has also already denied a petition for mandamus

in Calderon.

Furthermore, a deferred ruling could result in a mooting of

the issue raised by the parties, due to the probability of a

transfer of this case from this jurisdiction by the Judicial

Panel on Miultidistrict Litigation. Although the defendants

have asserted that no hearing on transfer has been scheduled

4a

within the near future, the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Lit-

igation has already transferred several cases arising from this

same air disaster to the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of New York.

Finally, it is the duty and responsibility of this court to

proceed deliberately toward a decision in this case. Should

the Eleventh Circuit reach and decide the issues now before

this court in a different manner, the parties in this case can

then seek appropriate relief.

State Law Causes of Action and the Warsaw Convention

Plaintiff filed her complaint in state court, grounding the

action in state wrongful death law and nowhere invoking any

federal law or statute as a basis for her claim. In the notice

of removal, the defendants have asserted the right to remove

this case to federal court pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1441 and

1331, claiming that the Warsaw Convention provides the

exclusive federal cause of action under the facts alleged in the

complaint. The defendants argue that their notice of removal

properly vested this court with removal jurisdiction, because

plaintiff’s attempt to plead this case under the Florida

Wrongful Death Act, without reference to federal law and

the Warsaw Convention, is simply an attempt to circumvent

an exclusively federal cause of action founded upon the Con-

vention. They argue that, in the context of a case in which

the Warsaw Convention applies, no state cause of action is

available as a theory of liability.

In support of the motion to remand to the Florida court,

however, the plaintiff argues that the Warsaw Convention

does not provide the exclusive cause of action. Rather, the

plaintiff argues that her action can proceed as a state law

cause of action that is bounded by the exclusive remedy pro-

vided for in the Warsaw Convention. Thus, the plaintiff

argues, the Warsaw Convention provides an exclusive remedy

that may preempt inconsistent remedies otherwise available

under state law, but state law theories may still provide the

cause of action. Removal would therefore be inappropriate

because the exclusive remedy limitations of the Warsaw Con-

Sa

vention would be no more than a defense to a valid state law

cause of action.

In addressing the arguments set forth by the parties in their

briefs and at oral argument, including the argument of the

amicus curiae,’ the court must address two inconsistent deci-

sions that were rendered in this district. The first decision

was reached by this court in 1986 in Rhymes v. Arrow Air,

Inc., 636 F.Supp. 737 (S.D.Fla.1986) (King, C.J.). The sec-

ond decision was reached several months ago in Velasquez v.

Aerovias Nacionales de Colombia, S.A., 747 F.Supp. 670

(S.D.Fla.1990) (Scott, J.). These two memorandum opinions

each address the issues presented in the motion to remand

sub judice, but each comes to a different conclusion as to the

exclusivity of the federal cause of action available under the

Warsaw Convention. Neither the United States Supreme

Court nor the United States Court of Appeals for the Elev-

enth Circuit has yet provided a definitive answer to this ques-

tion of exclusivity, see Floyd v. Eastern Airlines, Inc., 872

F.2d 1462, 1482 & n. 33 (11th Cir.1989), cert. granted,

U.S. , 110 S.Ct. 2585, 110 L.Ed.2d 266 (1990), but the

language and history of the Warsaw Convention, as they

have been interpreted by the courts, provide the necessary

guidance to resolve this issue.

The Cause of Action Under the Warsaw Convention

At the outset of this discussion, it is important to recognize

that the availability of a federal cause of action founded

upon the Warsaw Convention has been squarely resolved in

this circuit. See Floyd, 872 F.2d at 1469-70; see also Velas-

quez, 747 F.Supp. at 675; Rhymes, 636 F.Supp. at 739-40.

Although many initially assumed that the Warsaw Conven-

tion created a cause of action, for decades following the

United States’ adherence to the Convention, the courts of the

United States did not even interpret the Convention as creat-

2 Representing the amicus curiae, Guillermo Camargo, the law firm of

Podhurst, Orseck, Josefsberg, Eaton, Meadow, Olin & Perwin filed a memo-

randum and appeared at the hearing before this court in support of the plain-

uiff’s motion to remand.

6a

ing an independent cause of action. Beginning in the late

1970’s, however, courts reexamining this issue have generally

changed course and recognized the existence of an indepen-

dent cause of action founded upon the Warsaw Convention.’

If there were no federal cause of action, this court would

need to go no further before reaching a decision to remand

this case to state court. Because a federal cause of action

exists under the Warsaw Convention, however, the court

needs to determine whether it is exclusive.

Exclusivity of Warsaw Cause of Action

In determining whether the Warsaw Convention creates the

exclusive cause of action in cases such as the instant case, it

is important to look at the history and language of the Con-

vention. The history behind the Warsaw Convention reveals

that there were two basic goals underlying the drafting of the

Convention. As the Eleventh Circuit has stated, those goals

were: (1) ‘‘to establish uniformity as to documentation such

as tickets and waybills, and procedures for dealing with

claims arising out of international transportation’’; and (2),

the more important goal at that time, ‘‘to limit the potential

liability of air carriers in the event of accidents and jost or

damaged cargo.’’ Floyd, 872 F.2d at 1467. In attempting to

implement these goals, the Convention did in fact establish

requirements for air waybills and tickets, and a limitation

was indeed placed on the liability of carriers, although this

limitation has since been modified. The Convention also

made uniform various procedural rules for claims arising

from losses that occur in international transportation.

3. See, e.g., Floyd, 872 F.2d at 1469-70; In re Mexico City Aircrash,

708 F.2d 400 (9th Cir. 1983); Benjamins v. British European Airways, 572

F.2d 913 (2d Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1114, 99 S.Ct. 1016, 59

L.Ed.2d 72 (1979); Rhymes v. Arrow Air, 636 F.Supp. at 740.

4 Agreement Relating to Liability Limitations of the Warsaw Conven-

tion and the Hague Protocol, Agreement CAB 18900, approved by CAB

Order No. E-28680, May 13, 1966, 31 Fed.Reg. 7302 (1966) (‘‘Montreal

Agreement’’).

ad pine aa

7a

Although the Warsaw Convention sets forth certain uni-

form procedural rules with respect to the filing of claims, it is

clear that the Convention does not presuppose to make such

rules completely uniform. While the Convention sets forth

rules on such matters as presumptions of liability, liability

limitations, and statutes of limitations, it also leaves many

matters to the laws of the sovereign nations that have signed

the Convention or adhered to it. In several instances, it even

expressly commands the application of the local law of the

forum. See, e.g., Warsaw Convention Arts. 28(2),° 29(2)°.

The fact that a federal cause of action has been recognized

under the Warsaw Convention does not change the fact that

the Convention leaves matters to local law. In dealing with

problems arising among sovereign nations, the Convention

appears to have been unconcerned with the manner in which

a forum determined the substance of its local law. The court

has found no evidence which would indicate that the Conven-

tion was concerned with whether the applicable local substan-

tive law was the result of state law within a federal system of

government or national law.

A few courts, including Judge Scott in Velasquez, have

held that the Warsaw Convention creates the exclusive federal

cause of action under which a plaintiff may bring action.

Many other courts,’ including this court in Rhymes, have

held that the Convention allows causes of action arising

under both state law and federal law (the Warsaw Conven-

tion), but the Convention provides the exclusive remedy that

preempts inconsistent remedies otherwise provided for under

5 **Questions of procedure shall be governed by the law of the court to

which the case is submitted.’’ Warsaw Convention Art. 28(2).

6 ‘*The method of calculating the period of limitation shall be deter-

mined by the law of the court to which the case is submitted.’’ Warsaw Con-

vention Art, 29(2).

7 In this district alone, in cases arising out of an aircrash of a Pan

American flight in 1982, eight judges remanded cases to state court. These

judges included Judge Aronovitz, Judge Atkins, Judge Davis, Judge Hast-

ings, Judge Hoeveler, Judge Kehoe, Judge Spellman, and the undersigned.

See memorandum of Amicus Curiae in Support of Plaintiff’s Motion to

Remand at 2 n. 2.

ee

8a

state law causes of action. See Floyd, 872 F.2d at 1482 n. 33

(collecting cases following these two contrary approaches).

The Eleventh Circuit has expressly declined to decide whether

the Warsaw Convention preempts state law causes of action,

but the Eleventh Circuit’s opinions reflect the distinction

between the availability of a cause of action under the Con-

vention and the exclusivity of the remedy. See Floyd, 872

F.2d at 1469-70, 1482 & n. 33°; St. Paul Insurance Co. v.

Venezuelan International Airways, Inc., 807 F.2d 1543, 1546

(11th Cir.1987) (‘The Warsaw Convention creates the cause

of action upon which [the plaintiff] relies and is the exclusive

remedy against international air carriers for lost or destroyed

cargo.’’).

Rhymes v. Arrow Air, supra, involved a case of wrongful

death, stemming from an international air disaster, in state

court based on state law. The defendants in Rhymes, as the

defendants here, removed the case based on the grounds that

the wrongful death claims necessarily presented a federal

cause of action under the Warsaw Convention. In concluding

that removal was improper, this court held that the Warsaw

Convention created the exclusive remedy, not the exclusive

cause of action, in cases to which the Convention applied.

In the analysis in Rhymes, the court focused on the history

of the Convention and, more particularly, on the language of

Article 24(1i). Article 24(1) of the Warsaw Convention states

that ‘‘any action for damages, however founded, can only be

brought subject to the conditions and limits set out in this

convention.’’ Warsaw Convention Art. 24(1) (emphasis

added).” ‘‘The best explanation for the wording of Article

8 Although the court in Floyd declined to decide the exclusive nature

of a cause of action founded under the Warsaw Convention, the court none-

theless remanded both the federal cause of action and the parallel state law

cause of action to the district court. 872 F.2d at 1467, 1490.

9 Although Subsection | of Article 24 applies to claims for damaged

baggage or goods, Subsection 2 makes claims for personal injury subject to

Subsection 1. Warsaw Convention Art. 24(2). Subsection 2 then goes on to

add that Subsection | applies ‘‘without prejudice to the questions as to who

are the persons who have the right to bring suit and what are their respective

rights.’’ Id.

9a

24(1) appears to be that the delegates did not intend that the

cause of action created by the Convention to be exclusive.

For example, in the United States, state law causes of action

may be invoked by plaintiffs injured during international air

transportation.’’ Jn re Mexico City Aircrash, 708 F.2d at 414

n. 25; see also Johnson v. American Airlines, Inc., 834 F.2d

721, 722 (9th Cir.1987) (‘‘State-law claims . . . can only be

maintained subject to the conditions and limits outlined in

the Warsaw Convention.’’); Tokio Marine & Fire Insurance

Co. v. McDonnell Douglas Corp., 617 F.2d 936, 942 (2d

Cir. 1980).

As was already noted, various courts, including the Velas-

quez court, have taken the contrary position that a cause of

action arising under the Warsaw Convention is the exclusive

federal cause of action available to plaintiffs. Instead of ana-

lyzing and distinguishing the Rhymes opinion, the only place

the Velasquez opinion even confronts Rhymes is in a brief

footnote.'° Moreover, Velasquez does not discuss the ‘‘how-

ever founded’’ language from Article 24(1), except in a foot-

note in the order on rehearing. See Velasquez, 747 F.Supp. at

678 n. 4.

Velasquez focused on the Convention’s concern for uni-

formity. Judge Scott stated that if separate state law causes

of action were allowed to supersede the Convention’s exclu-

sivity, air carriers in this country alone would be exposed to

50 separate and distinct causes of action. Jd. at 676. How-

ever, as was discussed previously, the uniformity desired by

the drafters of the Convention was not complete and utter

uniformity. The Convention itself makes provisions for the

application of local law. See supra notes 5-6 and accompany-

ing text.

Many of the other courts which state that the Warsaw

Convention’s cause of action is exclusive have done so with-

out much, if any, discussion; others have simply addressed

10 ‘*The Court recognizes that its opinion today is contrary to the hold-

ing reached by Chief Judge King in Rhymes v. Arrow Air, Inca, 636 F.Supp.

737 (S.D.Fla. 1986). However, having thoroughly considered the reasoning

employed in Rhymes the Court must respectfully disagree and reach a con-

trary conclusion.’’ Velasquez, 747 F.Supp. at 675 n. 15.

10a ~

the issue in dicta. Moreover, these cases also generally fail to

analyze the ‘however founded’’ language of Article 24(1) and

the distinction between remedies and causes of action under

the Convention.

By creating an exclusive remedy, the Convention achieved

the uniformity desired while still allowing the use of state

law. Comments expressed by delegates at the early stages of

the negotiations leading up to the Convention may indeed be

reflective of a desire to eliminate all reference to the laws of

the various sovereign nations in an effort to achieve complete

uniformity, but the Convention clearly departed from the

desires of those delegates as evidenced by the provisions that

call for the use of local law. Those courts who rely on such

comments fail to give the proper import to the Convention’s

‘‘however founded’’ language and to the express references to

state law. Their concerns about uniformity are nonetheless

satisfied by the existence of the Convention’s exclusive rem-

edy, which, among other things, allows claims not otherwise

available under local law to be filed under the Convention

and which limits the liability that can be imposed on carriers

for claims brought under local law.''

For the reasons set forth above, this court holds that the

Warsaw Convention does not create the exclusive cause of

action in those cases to which it is applicable.

Preemption

Having determined that the Warsaw Convention does not

create an exclusive cause of action, this court next addresses

whether the defendants can properly remove this case. In

11 As an exclusive remedy, the Warsaw Convention creates a cause of

action which allows suit where a cause of action would not otherwise be

available. This result satisfies the uniformity concern of those delegates who

desired to assure that relief would be available, even in nations with laws on

compensation that ‘‘dragged’’ behind the laws of other nations. Yet, the

‘*however founded’’ language of Article 24 allows local causes of action

“subject to the conditions and limits set out in this convention.’’ Warsaw

Convention Art. 24(1). The Convention therefore achieves uniformity by cre-

ating a remedy where none exists, as well as by limiting the remedy otherwise

available under local laws.

| connec

lla

making this determination, the court must look to the plain-

tiff’s complaint. In her complaint, the plaintiff has set forth

a claim solely under the Florida Wrongful Death Act, thereby

choosing to forego any federal cause of action founded under

the Warsaw Convention. As such, the only basis for removal

to this court would be founded upon the ‘‘well-pleaded com-

plaint’’ rule. As this court has stated in Rhymes, however,

because the Warsaw Convention does not provide the exclu-

sive cause of action in cases to which it applies, the plaintiff

may, at her election, set forth her claim solely under a state

law theory. If, as here, the plaintiff elects to sue solely upon

an available state law cause of action, the defendants cannot

remove merely by asserting a preemption defense that would

limit and condition the state law cause of action. See Okla-

homa Tax Commission v. Graham, 489 U.S. 838, 109 S.Ct.

1519, 1520-21, 103 L.Ed.2d 924 (1989); Metropolitan Life

Insurance Co. v. Taylor, 481 U.S. 58, 63-66, 107 S.Ct. 1542,

1546-47, 95 L.Ed.2d 55 (1987); Franchise Tax Board v. Con-

struction Laborers Vacation Trust, 463 U.S. 1, 103 S.Ct.

2841, 77 L.Ed.2d 420 (1983); Gully v. First National Bank in

Meridian, 299 U.S. 109, 57 S.Ct. 96, 81 L.Ed. 70 (1936);

Rhymes, 636 F.Supp. at 742 (‘‘Pleading a defense under the

Warsaw Convention as the Defendants have done will not lay

a proper basis for removal to this court.’’).

The plaintiff and the amicus curiae have also argued that

removal is inappropriate and that a remand is mandated even

if this court were to hold that the Warsaw Convention’s

cause of action is the exclusive cause of action available.

Because a ruling on this issue is unnecessary and because it

would be based on an interpretation of the Warsaw Conven-

tion that this court has declined to follow, this court chooses

not to address this issue. The court further wishes to make

clear that it expresses no view on the merits of this argument,

and this opinion should not be interpreted as either approv-

ing or disapproving of the argument set forth by the plaintiff

and the amicus curiae.

Because the plaintiff has set forth a cause of action under

state law without bringing in any federal theory and because

the Warsaw Convention’s cause of action is not exclusive, the

12a

plaintiff’s complaint does not arise under federal law so as to

confer removal jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331

and 1441. While the Warsaw Convention’s exclusive remedy

may indeed serve to preempt inconsistent and contradictory

provisions of the plaintiff’s state law theory, this preemption

arises only as a defense to the plaintiff’s claims. Accordingly,

after careful consideration of this matter, this court

ORDERS and ADJUDGES that the plaintiff's motion for

remand be, and the same hereby is, GRANTED. This case is

hereby REMANDED to the Circuit Court for the Eleventh

Judicial Circuit in and for Dade County, Florida.

DONE and ORDERED.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.