Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Carpenters Southern California Administrative Corp. v. El Capitan Development Co.

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

91-489

OFFI@E OF THE CLERK

No. a

—— —

— —

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

CARPENTERS SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA

ADMINISTRATIVE CORPORATION,

Petitioner,

VS.

EL CAPITAN DEVELOPMENT COMPANY,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT

—

——

JAMES P. WATSON*® JOHN T. DECARLO

STANTON, Kay & WATSON PATRICK CONNOR

180 Sutter Street, DECARLO, CONNOR & SELVO

Third Floor 500 So. Virgil Avenue

San Francisco, CA 94104 Suite 320

(415) 788-3496 Los Angeles, CA 90920

DONALD T. MEADERS (213) 738-7959

KINDEL & ANDERSON

555 South Flower Street,

29th Floor

Los Angeles, CA 90071-2498

(213) 680-2222

*Counsel of Record

BOWNE OF GAN FRANCISCO, INC. + 190 NINTH ST. + 6.F.. CA 94103 + (415) 664-2300

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Does § 514(a) of the Employee Retirement Income Se-

curity Act of 1974 (“ERISA”), 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a), preempt

Californa Civil Code § 3111, which permits fringe benefit trust

funds to record and foreclose mechanics’ liens to secure payment

of contributions owed to the funds for work performed by fund

participants on the liened property?

2. Does a state lien law, which creates a security interest in

improved real property to protect the pension and health benefits

of employees who worked on the property, and which is part of a

larger statutory framework to protect the workers’ entire wage

package, “relate to” ERISA-regulated employee benefit plans in

a manner which triggers the preemption clause of § 514(a) of

ERISA?

3. In enacting ERISA, did Congress intend to strip employ-

ees who receive pension and health benefits from multi-employer

trust funds of the protection of state lien laws, while leaving the

lien rights of employees who receive fringe benefits directly from

their employers undisturbed?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

as Page

I

ee PED 6 ob kcséecec¥evusvaadinceaeewads l

II

PEED 0c 5.0 ned dk sd en 60 bb ks bbeeKea Aes 2

Il]

PEACE POPU MI sc cen scckcveredecseesens 2

IV

STATEMENT OF THE CAGE .....ccccsvccccssccccas 2

A. Preliminary Statement ..........0.ccccccccccces 2

Th FI pin e'vicbuesdeaveuacetenupaears 3

CA. PRUE ok bs oven ceeuceenewacuenesaes 4

V

REASONS THE WRIT SHOULD BE GRANTED..... 6

A. The Guidance of This Court is Needed to Resolve a

Conflict Among Lower Appellate Courts ......... 6

B. The California Supreme Court’s Decision Ignores the

Framework for Preemption Analysis Developed by

Bee GE a ccvccncdnussaiapmiuetse een ess 8

C. The Court Should Grant Certiorari to Clarify the

Scope of the Holding in Pilot Life Insurance Co. v.

| PUTT ere ee ee er PO 15

D. Preemption of State Lien Laws Leaves an Unex-

plained “Gap” in the Collection Remedies Available

to Multi-Employer Benefit Trust Funds........... 18

FE. Preemption of California Civil Code Section 3111

Disrupts the California Statutory Scheme for Protect-

ing the Wages and Benefits of Workmen ......... 20

VI

COPING EARN o 5 js ks 5 ckabe cea ethewe sae aeeeens 24

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases

Alessi v. Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc. (1981) 451 U.S. 504,

ee 10

American Benefit Plan Administrators v. Foley, 2 EBC 1897

CCL ESe Ceol eke css bes yas versed cenees 18

American Telephone and Telegraph Co. v. Merry, (2d Cir.

EP OPTI T EEE TT TORT EE Ee 9,22

Carl Allen v. McWilliams Electric Co., (D. Mo. 1980) 494

Ee ee 18

Carpenters Health & Welfare Fund v. Parnas Corp., (1986)

ED vn ways es ccbevevederseceses 5, 6-7

Carpenters Health & Welfare Fund of Philadelphia v. Am-

oe a ee >, 6

Carpenters Pension Trist v. Kronschnabel, (9th Cir. 1980)

632 F.2d 745, cert. denied (1981) 453 U.s. 922, 101 S.Ct.

EEC ceca gicebeVieveoveesnssssnes 6, 22

Carpenters Southern California Administrative Corporation

v. El Capitan Development Company, (1991) 53 Cal.3d

Ee 5

Connolly Development, Inc. v. Superior Court (1976) 17

ec wesw wre k wks cecu es wees es 6 13, 20

CSCAC v. D&L Camp Construction, (9th Cir. 1984) 738

TOES ES 20

CSCAC v. Majestic Housing, (9th Cir. 1984) 743 F.2d 1341 20

Duffy v. King Cavalier, (1989) 218 Cal.App.3d 1517..... 14

Edwards v. Bethlehem Steel Corp. (Ind. App. 1990), 554

Ne ee ees Caves ene bess cbeeasis ss 7

FMC Corporation v. Holliday (1990) 498 U.S. _,, 111

ee ct ky cu kas eee ek eens see 10, 11

Fort Halifax Packing Co., Inc. v. Coyne (1987) 482 U.S. 1,

ES Eee 8, 12, 13

Franchise Tax Board v. Construction Laborers Vacation

Trust, (1988) 204 Cal. App.3d 955 ................. 10, 14

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

CASES

Ironworkers Pension Fund vy. Terotechnology Corporation

(1990) 891 F.2d 548, cert. denied, (1991) _-. U.S. ___.,

NE eh aoe ook ty See kee tetas aeanee 5,7

Jones v. Rath Packing Co., (1977) 430 U.S. 519, 97 S.Ct.

Fe Eee a ee eee 11

Laborers Fringe Benefit Funds v. Northwest Concrete &

Construction, Inc. (6th Cir. 1981) 640 F.2d 1350, ..... 6, 17

Lane v. Goren, (9th Cir. 1983) 743 F.2d 1340 .......... 14

Lingle v. Norge Division of Magic Chef, Inc. (1988) 486

fs ee sk a rn 11

Mackey v. Lanier Collection Agency & Service (1988) 486

che & | se rrr rrr 6, 10, 14, 19

Malone v. White Motor Corp., (1978) 435 U.S. 497, 98

ee te a ay eg aac ahh we o 8

Martin v. Becker (1915) 169 Cal. 301 ................. 20

Massachusetts v. Morash (1989), 490 U.S. 107, 109 S.Ct.

aah ses co kee csc eae eae wee sete eeeuis 12

McMahon v. McDowell, (3d Cir. 1986), 794 F.2d 100... 7

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts (1985) 471

Se ee EE SING wn sok ones kaseebiaeeeeenser ll

Morrison-Knudsen Construction Co. v. OWCP (1982) 461

Is wan nnd cdkecadeeseeueeenss 23.

NLRB v. Associated General Contractors of California, Inc.,

ee BE ere 8

Planned Consumer Marketing, Inc. v. Coats & Clark, Inc.,

(1968) S27 N.Y 3.26 185, $22 M.Bk.2d3 ............. 7

Pilot Life Insurance Co. v. Dedeaux, (1987) 481 U.S. 41,

EE onus 55 Cis on vee Senate eS 5, 8,9, 10, 13, 15

Plumber’s Local 458 v. H. Immel, Inc. (1989) 151 Wis. 2d,

8 aR ey lanai aye 6

Retirement Fund of the Fur Mendliaieiiee Industry v.

Getto & Getto, Inc., (S.D. N.Y. 1989) 714 F.Supp. 651 = 7

EE

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

CASES

Retirement Trust Fund of the Plumbing, Etc. v. Franchise

Tax Board, (9th Cir. 1990) 909 F.2d 1266............ 10

Sasso v. Vachris (1985) 484 N.E.2d 1359, 494 NYS 2d

EE Pn caer hte dF LET Rah Peo tone Meee gig rat 6, 17

Shaw v. Delta Airlines (1983) 463 U.S. 85, 103 S.Ct. 28909, 10

Sheet Metal Workers Pension Plan v. Columbia Savings &

Loan Association (1990) 221 Cal.App.3d Supp. 21..... 6,7

Stone v. Stone, (9th Cir. 1980) 632 F.2d 740, cert denied,

ta els Be ae OG oe) ee 9, 21

Sturgis v. Miller, F.2d _._ (U.S.C.A. No. 90-15054

SE a OPED ost ce'eccck bessscaneseeuaauen 7,14

Trustees for the Alaska Hotel & Restaurant Employees

Health & Welfare Fund v. Hansen, (Alaska 1984) 688

Pu RG K5 Ecc de Kisses ss bebe b eek cans DARE e ees 6

Tuttle v. Montford (1857) 7 Cal. 358 .................. 21

United States v. Carter (1956) 353 U.S. 210 77 S.Ct. 793 22

Vermeer v. Tomken Construction, (1980) 49 Or. App. 37-19

Constitutions

California Constitution Article XIV Section 3 ........... 20

Statutes and Codes

California Code of Civil Procedure Section 1182......... 20

California Civil Code:

EE ik cs ck bo Rea ce eee eke cee 2, 14, 23

SNE EOE Sn eccensres 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 20, 21, 22

Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974:

avn euhekbbes Babee eee eee 2, 15, 19

ED ss vob ceed ese0bens wecen keene 18

a rere ere vole ideas 16

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

STATUTES AND CODES

PIF EETE SORT TET EET UTE TS & hom 5m ke

I cc snk eek be eeb an beh eekes ceeees 2

ts. cee biahshu hd eecacha cen 2, 16, 18, 19

28 U.S.C.:

GS cc au: abe Gee eh bash eee berate 2

ass cu 6s chk O64 KS Oe e bd OS G0 ea GOK eES 2

29 U.S.C.:

ae ee iict ec nue ee Ewe baw eak's 3

ae oes Soar ca kd eee ea ee ES 18

re es eS i ek i idee a aie 19

ED, nas vacnceacessebennenesa 3

rr sr eu weak kb eee 23

re eek kin nb d¥ boa o ee ck beeeewees 23

ee ea od ae ek ee 15

a Seek A kN iR eke nekeaeW adeeb seuen 3

tne capi gn nk eee e aA eke ken 3

EE RGMEDOIED 5 og cn ccacencacecveceteses 19

cack ees Oks KwabeA be 50 0eaR ARSED 15, 18

EN is cac44c bs 0b 50s Rs bike ROR Rea ee Dee 2,5

ig ek te ho ee eek at am ae

EE ina on koa 5 bh eae Swe OMEN SRS ER ASS 2, 16, 18

Labor Management Relations Act of 1947:

ee eo eels Len ee ost h esata eauen 19

et so aa. Leen keke aaa ees 19

SCT FUSIONS) OG GB) oon ceca ccccesenceccscas 3

Other Authorities

Daniel Q. Mills, “Industrial Relations and Manpower in

Construction” (Cambridge; MIT Press, 1977) p. 385... 7-8

Dunlop, The Structure of Collective Bargaining (New York;

Free Press of Glencoe, 1961) pp. 255 .........ceceees 7

No.

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

CARPENTERS SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA

ADMINISTRATIVE CORPORATION,

Petitioner,

VS.

Et CAPITAN DEVELOPMENT COMPANY,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT

Petitioner Carpenters Southern California Administrative Cor-

poration respectfully prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review

the judgment of the Supreme Court of the State of Caufornia

entered in this case on June 20, 1991.

I

CPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the California Supreme Court (Appendix A,

infra) is reported at 53 Cal.3d 1041. The first decision of the

District Court of Appeal in this action (Appendix B, infra) is not

officially reported. The order of the California Supreme Court

directing the District Court of Appeal to reconsider its initial

decision (Appendix C, infra) is not officially reported. The

second opinion of the District Court of Appeal (Appendix D,

infra) is not officially reported.

2

Ul

JURISDICTION

The opinion of the California Supreme Court was filed on

June 20, 1991.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to the

provisions of 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

This Petition is timely filed with this Court under the provisions

of 28 U.S.C. § 2101(c).

Il

STATUTORY PROVISIONS

The relevant statutory provisions are: (1) California Civil Code

§ 3111; (2) California Civil Code § 3110; (3) § 514(a) of the

Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, 29 U.S.C.

§ 1144(a); (4) §514(c) of the Employee Retirement Income

Security Act of 1974, 29 U.S.C. § 1144(c); (5) § 502(a) of the

Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, 29 U.S.C.

§ 1132(a); (6) § 515 of the Employee Retirement Income Secur-

ity Act of 1974, as subsequently amended, 29 U.S.C. § 1145.

Pertinent portions of these statutory provisions are reproduced

at Appendix E, infra.

IV

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Preliminary Statement

The California Supreme Court has erroneously held that

§ 514(a) of the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of

1974 (“ERISA”) preempts a California statute that facilitates

the collection of fringe benefit contributions from delinquent

employers by employee benefit trust funds. In so doing, the

California Supreme Court has misapplied the law and reached a

result that is flatly contrary to the language and intent of ERISA

—the very federal law that supposedly preempts the statute. The

result strips employee benefit trust funds of a valuable tool for

3

assuring that employers make fringe benefit payments on behalf

of covered employees. Contrary to both federal and state policy,

the decision below protects delinquent employers at the expense

of innocent pian participants.

B. Nature of the Suit

This is an action instituted by the Carpenters Southern Califor-

nia Administrative Corporation (“CSCAC”). CSCAC is the

administrator of certain multi-employer benefit trust funds (“the

Carpenters Trust Funds”). The Carpenters Trust Funds provide

pension, health and welfare, vacation and apprenticeship benefits

to covered carpentry employees and their families. The Funds are

multi-employer benefit trust funds organized pursuant to the

provisions of § 302(c)(5) and (6) of the Labor Management

Relations Act of 1947, as amended, 29 U.S.C. § 186(c) (5)-(6).

The Carpenters Trust Funds are employee pension benefit

plans or employee welfare benefit plans within the meaning of

ERISA; see 29 U.S.C. §§ 1002(1) and 1002(2) (a). The Funds

derive their revenues from contributions made by employers on

behalf of covered carpentry employees, pursuant to the provisions

of collective bargaining agreements executed by the employers

and by unions affiliated with the United Brotherhood of

Carpenters and Joiners of America (collectively the “Union’’).

Such collective bargaining agreements require that employers

contribute a specified sum to each trust fund for each hour

worked by covered employees.

CSCAC is a “fiduciary,” as that term is defined in ERISA, 29

U.S.C. § 1062(21)(A). One of its duties as administrator of the

Carpenters Trust Funds is to collect contributions from signatory

employers who have failed to pay the required trust fund contri-

butions. To ensure the continued ability of the Carpenters Trust

Funds to provide benefits, CSCAC is obligated, by contract and

by federal law, to use its best efforts to colect the delinquent

contributions.

The present action was instituted in the Superior Court of the

State of California for the County of Kern. The suit sought

foreclosure of mechanics liens on property located in Kern

County, which was owned and developed by respondent El

4

Capitan Development Company (“El Capitan”). The action was

founded on the provisions of California Civil Code § 3111, which

permits multi-employer trust funds to record and foreclose

mechanics’ liens to recover unpaid fringe benefit contributions

owed to such trust funds on behalf of covered employees who

perform work to improve the liened property.

Civil Code § 3111 provides:

“For the purposes of this chapter, express trust funds estab-

lished pursuant to a collective bargaining agreement to which

payents are required to be made on account of fringe benefits

supplemental to a wage agreement for the benefit of a

claimant on particular real property shall have a lien on such

property in the amount of the supplemental fringe benefit

payments owing to it pursuant to the collective barganing

agreement.”

Under this statute, if the trust fund is not paid—i.e., if a

contractor fails to make employee fringe benefit contributions for

work performed on a construction project—the trust fund can

record a mechanics’ lien on the property and can foreclose the

lien to compel payment of the debt. The mechanics’ lien remedy

is thus an effective menas of assuring that contractors fulfill their

promise to pay fringe benefit contributions.

In the present case, CSCAC sought to recover delinquent

contributions owed by a contractor whose employees performed

work on a residential real estate development owned by El

Capitan. The total sum claimed is $121,729.23, plus interest and

costs. Though a default judgment was obtained against the

contractor, efforts to directly collect contributions from the delin-

quent contractor failed. CSCAC therefore timely recorded

mechanics’ liens on the Ei Capitan property and sought foreclo-

sure of the liens in the present action as a means of collecting the

trust fund contributions.

C. Proceedings Below

E] Capitan filed a demurrer to CSCAC’s complaint, asserting

that CSCAC’s right to maintain the present action is preempted

5

by § 514(a) of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a), which provides, in

pertinent part:

“T]he provisions of this subchapter and subchapter III of

this chapter shall supersede any and all state laws insofar as

they may now or hereafter relate to any employee benefit

plan...”

The trial court sustained the demurrer of El Capitan; judgment

was entered by the Kern County Superior Court on August 8,

1985 and a timely appeal was filed by CSCAC.

In reliance on the opinion in Carpenters Health & Welfare

Fund v. Parnas Corp., (1986) 176 Cal. App.3d 1196, the Court of

Appeal reversed the trial court and held that Civil Code § 3111

was not preempted by ERISA (E/ Capitan I, Appendix B, infra.)

E] Capitan filed a petition for review in the California Supreme

Court, asserting that the decision of this Court in Pilot Life

Insurance Co. v. Dedeaux, (1987) 481 U.S. 41, 107 S.Ct. 1549,

compelled a ruling that § 3111 is preempted. The California

Supreme Court remanded the case to the Court of Appeal for

further consideration in light of Pilot Life. (Appendix C, infra.)

On remand, the Court of Appeal reversed its earlier opinion and

held that Pilot Life had “changed” the law, requiring preemption

of § 3111 (El Capitan II, Appendix D).

CSCAC timely filed a petiton for review in the California

Supreme Court, supported by briefs and letters from more than a

dozen counsel for prospective amici curiae. On April 21, 1988, the

California Supreme Court granted review. On June 20, 1991, the

California Supreme Court issued its decision (Carpenters South-

ern California Administrative Corporation v. El Capitan Develop-

ment Company, 53 Cal.3d 1041 (“El Capitan III’) Appendix A,

infra.) By a vote of 5-2, the California Supreme Court held that

Civil Code § 3111 is preempted because it “relates to” ERISA

regulated employee benefit plans “by creating an additional fund-

ing mechanism for ERISA plans not provided for by Con-

gress...” 53 Cal.3d at 1051. The court relied heavily upon the

recent decision of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

in Ironworkers Pension Fund v. Terotechnology Corporation

(1990) 891 F.2d 548, cert. denied, (1991) __. U.S. ___., 110

6

S.Ct. 3272, and rejected the reasoning in other recent appellate

__court opinions upholding the use of state collection remedies to

enforce employers’ collection obligations to multi-employer fringe

benefit trust funds; see, e.g. Plumber's Local 458 v. H. Immel,

Inc. (1989) 151 Wis. 2d 233, 445 N.W.2d 43; Sheet Metal

Workers Pension Plan v. Columbia Savings & Loan Association

(1990) 221 Cal. App.3d Supp. 21; Sasso v. Vachris (1985) 484

N.E.2d 1359, 494 NYS 2d 856; Carpenters Health & Welfare

Trust Fund v. Parnas Corp., (1986) 176 Cal. App.3d 1196. The

lengthy and vigorous dissent filed by two justices argued that the

majority had ignored the standards for ERISA preemption set

forth by this Court in Mackey v. Lanier Collection Agency &

Service (1988) 486 U.S. 825, 108 S.Ct. 2182 and other cases and

concluded that the majority had misapplied ERISA’s preemption

clause.

Because the present case squarely presents an issue on which

there is a split of authority among lower appellate courts (and

between the members of the California Supreme Court itself)

CSCAC now petitions this court for a writ of certiorari.

V

REASONS THE WRIT SHOULD BE GRANTED

A. The Guidance of This Court is Needed to Resolve a Conflict

Among Lower Appellate Courts.

For many years, state and federal appellate and trial courts

have reached conflicting conclusions regarding the application of

§ 514(a) of ERISA to state collection remedies; see e.g., Sasso v.

Vachris (1985) 484 N.E.2d 1359, 494 NYS 2d 856 [state

collection remedies not preempted]; Carpenters Health & Wel-

fare Fund of Philadelphia v. Ambrose (3d Cir. 1983) 727 F.2d

279 [same]; Laborers Fringe Benefit Funds v. Northwest Concrete

& Construction, Inc. (6th Cir. 1981) 640 F.2d 1350, 1352 [state

injunctive remedies available to enforce collection of trust fund

contributions]; Trustees for the Alaska Hotel & Restaurant Em-

ployees Health & Welfare Fund v. Hansen, (Alaska 1984) 688

P.2d 587 [enactment of 1980 amendments to ERISA did not

displace state collection remedies]; Carpenters Health & Welfare

7

Trust Fund v. Parnas Corporation (1986) 176 Cal. App.3d 1196

[state lien laws not preempted by ERISA] (disapproved in E/

Capitan III); Sheet Metal Workers Pension Plan v. Columbia

Savings & Loan Association (1990) 221 Cal. App.3d Supp. 21

{same holding] (also disapproved in E/ Capitan III); Retirement

Fund of the Fur Manufacturing Industry v. Getto & Getto, Inc.,

(S.D.N.Y. 1989) 714 F.Supp. 651, 670 [state collection remedies

not preempted]; Planned Consumer Marketing, Inc. v. Coats &

Clark, Inc., (1988) 527 N.Y.S.2d 185, 190-191, 522 N.E.2d 3

[state corporate statute permitting judgment creditor to bring

action against a director or officer for contribution violations

relating to an ERISA trust not preempted by ERISA]; McMahon

v. McDowell, (3d Cir. 1986), 794 F.2d 100 (state collection

remedies preempted]; Jronworkers Pension Fund v. Tero-

technology (Sth Cir. 1990) 891 F.2d 548, cert. denied (1991),

—— US. — ~, 110 S.Ct. 3272. [ERISA preempts state lien

remedy for fringe benefit trusts]; Edwards v. Bethlehem Steel

Corp. (Ind. App. 1990), 554 N.E. 2d 43 [same].'

The issue of preemption of state lien laws is of critical impor-

tance to employee benefit trusts in the construction industry,

because such trusts depend heavily on the lien laws to enforce the

contribution obligations of employers. The construction industry

is a highly fragmented segment of the American economy; in

California, thousands of small contractors compete to perform

construction work. (See, John T. Dunlop, “The Industrial Rela-

tions System in Construction,” in Weber (Ed.) The Structure of

Collective Bargaining (New York; Free Press of Glencoe, 1961)

pp. 255-277, and Daniel Q. Mills, “Industrial Relations and

Manpower in Construction” (Cambridge; MIT Press, 1977) p.

‘In a just-published decision, a divided panel of the U.S. Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit has held that California Civil Code § 3111

is preempted by ERISA; Sturgis v. Miller, _. F.2d —__ (US.C.A.

No. 90-15054 (September 3, 1991)). The panel majority held the

statute preempted because “Section 3111 contains a clear reference to

and connection with ERISA.” The dissent argued that Civil Code

§ 3111 is part of a comprehensive statutory scheme to protect California

employees’ entire wage and fringe benefit package and is beyond the

preemptive reach of ERISA.

8

385. Small construction companies often go bankrupt, dissolve or

simply “‘disappear.”* One federal appellate court has taken spe-

cific note of a contractor which reportedly changed the name of

its business eighteen times within a period of just nine months; see

NLRB v. Associated General Contractors of California, Inc., (9th

Cir. 1980) 633 F.2d 766, 769. Absent the availability of a lien or

other security device to compel payment, trust funds are often

unable to collect delinquent benefit contributions. Elimination of

the lien remedy may jeopardize the ability of the funds to provide

pension and health and welfare benefits at current levels.

As the dissenters in the California Supreme Court argued: “To

conclude that state lien laws are preempted when ERISA plans

are involved means that millions, perhaps billions, of dollars. . .

are jeopardized... To suggest that a Congress that adopted a

comprehensive law to protect the interests of participants in

employee benefit plans intended to preempt state lien laws strains

credulity.” 53 Cal.3d at 1064.

B. The California Supreme Court’s Decision Ignores the

Framework for Preemption Analysis Developed by This

Court.

While acknowledging and citing many of the cases from this

Court reviewing ERISA preemption issues, the California Su-

preme Court’s opinion ignores the framework for preemption

analysis set forth by this Court in Fort Halifax Packing Co., Inc.

v. Coyne (1987) 482 U.S. 1, 107 S.Ct. 2211 and Pilot Life Ins.

Co. v. Dedeaux, (1987) 481 U.S. 41 41-42, 107 S.Ct. 1549. Both

Fort Halifax and Pilot Life emphasize the principle that, under

ERISA, as in any preemption analysis, “ “The purpose of Con-

gress is the ultimate touchstone’” (Fort Halifax, 482 U.S. 1, 19,

107 S.Ct. 2211, 2216; citing Malone v. White Motor Corp.,

(1978) 435 U.S. 497, 504, 98 S.Ct. 1195, 1189 (1978).) In Pilot

Life, this Court stated that “[i]n expounding a statute we [are]

? The 1977 Census of Construction Industries found that there were

more than 288,000 “specially trained contractors”. On the average, each

firm employed just six construction workers. See, U.S. Bureau of

Census, Census of Construciton Industries (1977), cited in Statistical

Abstract of the United States (1979) Table 1365, p. 776.

, |

9

not... guided by a single sentence or member of a sentence, but

look to the provisions of the whole law and to its object and

policy.” Pilot Life, supra, 481 U.S. 41, 51, 107 S.Ct. 1549, 1555.

Ignoring these settled principles, the California Supreme Court’s

majority focused narrowly on two phrases in Section 514 of

ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1144.

Section 514(a) states that ERISA supersedes “any and all

state laws insofar as they may now or hereafter relate to any

employee benefit plan...” 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a). The California

Supreme Court has held that Civil Code § 3111 is preempted

because it “relates to” employee benefit plans “by creating a

mechanism for enforcing an employer’s contribution obligations

that Congress did not provide.” 53 Cal.3d at 1048.

The lower court reasoned that Civil Code § 1311 must be

within the preemptive reach of § 514(a) because “a law ‘relates

to’ an employee benefit plan in the normal sense of the phrase, if

it has a connection with or reference to such a plan.” (£/ Capitan

IIT) 53 Cal.3d at 1048, citing Pilot Life, supra, 481 U.S. 41, 47,

107 S.Ct. 1849 (1987). But this Court has never stated that

determination of whether a law “has a connection with or refer-

ence to” an ERISA-regulated plan is, by itself, dispositive of the

preemption question. Indeed, this Court’s decision in Shaw v.

Delta Airlines, (1983) 463 U.S. 85, 100, n. 21, 103 S.Ct. 2890

recognizes that “[s]jome state actions may affect employee bene-

fit plans in too tenuous, remote or peripheral a manner to warrant

a finding that the law ‘relates to’ the plan”. State collection

remedies were clearly a “peripheral” concern of Congress at the

time ERISA was enacted in 1974. Indeed, the subject of collec-

tion remedies is not addressed at all in the 1974 legislative history.

The California Supreme Court does not suggest any possible

reason why Congress would have wished to wipe out long-

standing collection remedies created by state law.

Many laws which have “a connection with or reference to...a

plan” have been held not to be preempted by ERISA; see e.g.,

American Telephone and Telegraph Co. v. Merry, (2d Cir. 1979)

592 F.2d 118, 121; Carpenters Pension Trust v. Kronschnabel,

(9th Cir. 1980) 632 F.2d 745, cert. denied (1981) 453 U.S. 922,

101 S.Ct. 3159; Stone v. Stone, (9th Cir. 1980) 632 F.2d 740,

10

cert. denied (1981) 453 U.S. 922, 101 S.Ct. 3159. See also,

Retirement Trust Fund of the Plumbing, Etc. v. Franchise Tax

Board, (9th Cir. 1990) 909 F.2d 1266, 1280-1281 [tax levy

procedure which permitted garnishment of benefits owed to

participants under a plan not to be preempted by ERISA because

the levy “only tenuously affects the vacation trust itself’);

Franchise Tax Board v. Construction Laborers Vacation Trust,

(1988) 204 Cal. App.3d 955.

Admittedly, the scope of ERISA’s preemption clause is broad;

see Pilot Life Insurance Co. v. Dedeaux (1987) 481 U.S. 41, 16,

107 S.Ct. 1549, 1552. This Court has previously held that the

preemption clause is as broad as its language suggests; see Shaw

v. Delta Air Lines, 463 U.S. 85, 98-100 and nn. 18-20, 103 S.Ct.

2890, 2900-01 and nn. 18-20. But In each of this court’s decisions

in which a state law has been held preempted by ERISA, the law

has trenched upon the regulatory scheme of ERISA in some

meaningful way. See Alessi v. Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc. (1981)

451 U.S. 504, 523, 101 S.Ct. 1985 [state statute limiting plans’

set-off rights preempted]; Pilot Life Insurance Co. v. Dedeaux

(1987) 481 U.S. 41, 107 S.Ct. 1549 [state law claims relating to

administration of plan preempted]; Mackey v. Lanier Collections

Agency and Service (1988) 486 U.S. 825, 108 S.Ct. 2181 [state

statute excluding ERISA plan benefits from garnishment pre-

empted]; FMC Corporation v. Holliday (1990) 498 U.S. ___.,

111 S.Ct. 403 [state statute denying subrogation rights to ER-

ISA-regulated plans preempted]; Ingersoll-Rand v. McClendon

(1990), 498 U.S. ___, 111 S.Ct. 478 [wrongful discharge action

alleging termination to avoid benefit plan liability preempted ].’

> In Shaw v. Delta Air Lines (1983) 463 U.S. 85, 103 S.Ct. 2890, this

court held certain provisions of the New York Human Rights Law to be

preempted by ERISA but “only insofar as it prohibits practices that are

lawful under federal law.” 463 U.S. at 108, 103 S.Ct. at 2906. California

Civil Code § 3111 does not purport to prohibit any practices which are

lawful under federal law; nor does it restrict the operation of multi-

employer trust funds in any way. Thus, under the Shaw test, the statute

survives preemption.

1]

In the present case, by contrast, use of the mechanic’s lien

remedy will have no appreciable effect on the ERISA regulatory

scheme, while preemption of California Civil Code § 3111 will

frustrate the state’s purpose in protecting entire wage and fringe

benefit package of workers. As this Court has stated: “We also

must presume that Congress did not intend to preempt areas of

traditional state regulation.” Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Massa-

chusetts (1985) 471 U.S. 724, 740, 105 S.Ct. 2380, 2389 citing

Jones v. Rath Packing Co., (1977) 430 U.S. 519, 525, 97 S.Ct.

1305, 1309. Cf. Lingle v. Norge Division of Magic Chef, Inc.

(1988) 486 U.S. 399, 168 S.Ct. 1877.

The California Supreme Court further held that Civil Code

Section 3111 falls within the terms of Section 514(c) of ERISA,

29 U.S.C. § 1144(c), which provides that ERISA’s preemptive

reach includes any law which “purports to regulate, directly or

indirectly, the terms and conditions of employee benefit plans.”

According to the California Supreme Court, “Section 3111

regulates ERISA plans by creating a funding mechanism not

provided by Congress.” 53 Cal.3d at 1051.

The California Supreme Court’s holding that the provision of

an ancillary state collection rernedy somehow “regulates” fringe

benefit trust funds simply makes no sense. Permitting such funds

to have lien rights to secure tha portion of a workers total

compensation package which is paid as fringe benefits does not

“regulate” such funds in any meaningful way. In finding that Civil

Code § 3111 “regulates” employee benefit plans, the California

Supreme Court stretches the natural meaning of the term beyond

recognizable limits. Black’s Law Dictionary (Sth Ed., 1979)

defines “regulates” as “to fix, establish or control; to adjust by

rule, method or established mode; to direct byTule or restrictions;

to subject to governing principles or laws... Regulate means to

govern or direct according to rule or to bring under control of

constituted authority and prohibit, to arrange in proper order, and

to control that which already exists.” Permitting employee benefit

trusts to exercise a collection remedy does not “regulate” such

trusts since it does not limit, direct, prescribe or control their

conduct. Cf FMC Corp. v. Holliday (1990), 498 U.S. —_, 111

S.Ct. 403 [a state statute which precludes benefit plans from

12

exercising subrogation rights relates to and regulates such plan].

Not only does it not regulate the “terms and conditions” of

employee benefit plans; it does not direct, limit or control their

operation in any significant way. Like other portions of Califor-

nia’s mechanics’ lien law, it does regulate land rights, by making

landowners potentially liable for the full value of labor contributed

to works of improvement on their property.

This Court’s holding in Fort Halifax Packing Co., Inc. v.

Coyne, (1987) 482 U.S. 1, 107 S.Ct. 2211 contains a thorough

and detailed analysis of the purpose of the preemption clause of

§ 514(a) of ERISA. This Court held that the preemption clause

was designed “to establish a uniform administrative scheme,

which provides a set of standard procedures to guide processing of

claims and disbursement of benefits.” 482 U.S. at 9, 107 S.Ct. at

2216. Summarizing its analysis, this Court stated: “It is thus clear

that ERISA’s preemption provision was prompted by recognition

that employers establishing and maintaining employee benefit

plans are faced with the task of coordinating complex administra-

tive activities. A patchwork scheme of regulation would introduce

considerable inefficiencies in benefit program operation, which

might lead those employers with existing plans to reduce benefits,

and those without such plans to refrain from adopting them.

Preemption ensures that the administrative practices of a single

plan will be governed only by a single set of regulations.” 482 U.S.

at 11, 107 S.Ct. at 2217.‘

The issue in Fort Halifax was whether a Maine statute requir-

ing employers to provide a one-time severance payment to em-

ployees in the event of a plant closing was preempted by ERISA.

The Court held that the statute was not preempted by ERISA

because it did not create any “potential for the type of conflicting

regulation of benefit plans that ERISA preemption was intended

to prevent.” 482 U.S. at 14, 107 S.Ct. at 2219.

“ In a subsequent decision, this Court stated that “in enacting ERISA,

Congress’ primary concern was with the mismanagement of funds

accumulated to finance employee benefits and the failure to pay em-

ployee benefits from accumulated funds.” Massachusetts v. Morash

(1989), 490 U.S. 107, 109 S.Ct. 1668.

13

This Court’s holding in Fort Halifax compels the conclusion

that California Civil Code § 3111 is not preempted by ERISA.

Civil Code § 3111 has no impact whatsoever on the processing of

benefit claims and the disbursement of benefits. Its whole focus is

external to the benefit administration process. Nor is there

anything inconsistent in the holding of Pilot Life and Fort Hali-

fax, both cases focus on the issue of whether state regulation

intrudes on the process of providing employee benefits and ad-

ministering employee benefit claims.°

Fort Halifax further holds that where a state statute does nor

implicate the concerns of ERISA’s preemption provision—that is,

the statute does not address the plans’ internal administrative

functions—there is no preemption:

“If a state law creates no prospect of conflict with a federal

statute, there is no warrant for disabling it from attempting to

address uniquely local social and economic problems.” 482

US. at 19, 107 S.Ct. at 2221.

California has recognized the frequent problems that workers,

subcontractors and materialmen encounter in securing payment

for their services on construction projects. (See Part E, infra.)

The California mechanics’ lien statutes provide a comprehensive

framework for ensuring that all such parties get paid for labor and

materials contributed to works of improvement or real property.

See, generally, Connolly Development, Inc. v. Superior Court

(1976) 17 Cal.3d 803. Neither the California Supreme Court nor

E] Capitan has cited any language in the text of ERISA or in its

legislative history to indicate that Congress intended to upset the

carefully integrated California statutory scheme for protecting the

> In Pilot Life, supra, 481 U.S. at 51-52, 107 S.Ct. at 1555, this Court

held a state cause of action preempted “because, in this case, the state

cause of action seeks remedies for the improper processing of a claim for

benefits under an ERISA-regulated plan...” [Emphasis supplied ]

14

wages and fringe benefits of workers employed on construction

projects in California. °

Many courts have emphasized that, outside the benefit admin-

istration context, employee benefits trusts should be treated the

same as other business entities. For example, in Duffy v. King

Cavalier, (1989) 218 Cal.App.3d 1517, the court held that an

employee benefit trust should have the same rights as any other

investor to secure redress for stockbroker fraud. Similarly, in Lane

v. Goren, (9th Cir. 1083) 743 F.2d 1340, the court held that

employee benefit trusts that act as employers cannot assert the

shield of Section 514(a) of ERISA to exempt themselves from

the application of fair employment laws. See also, Franchise Tax

Board v. Construction Laborers Vacation Trust, (1988) 204 Cal.

App.3d 955. The California Supreme Court has suggested no

reason why employee benefit trust funds should not have the same

rights as other creditors entitled to utilize the lien remedy.

®As the dissent noted in Sturgis v. Miller,

No. 90-15054. September 3, 1991):

“California creates mechanic’s liens in favor of ‘mechanic’s, mate-

rialmen, contractors, subcontractors, lessors of equipment, artisans,

architects, registered engineers, licensed land surveyors, machinists,

builders, teamsters, and draymen, and all persons and laborers of

every class performing labor upon or bestowing skill or other

necessary services . . .’ Cal. Civil Code 3110. Section 3111 provides

the same lien to employee benefit trust funds for unpaid employer

contributions. California thus does not single out ERISA plans for

special treatment, but gives ERISA plans the same procedure to

recover unpaid employer contributions as California gives to em-

ployees who are not members of ERISA plans. Employee benefits

(which may include pension, health, welfare, and vacation benefits)

are an important part of an employee’s compensation. The result of

the majority’s opinion is that employees who are not members of an

ERISA plan may use mechanic’s liens to ensure that employers

fulfill their obligations to pay benefits—but members of ERISA

plans may not. This turns the logic of Mackey on its head. Mackey

precludes state laws that single out ERISA plans; it does not

prohibit evenhanded state law enforcement procedures.”

F.2d ..... (Sth Cir.

15

Because the California Supreme Court has applied ERISA’s

preemption clause without reference to the purpose of the clause,

and the purpose of ERISA itself, this court should grant certiorari

and reverse.

C. The Court Should Grant Certiorari to Clarify the Scope of

the Holding in Pilot Life Insurance Co. v. Dedeaux.

A central issue in this case, and other cases considering the

issue of ERISA preemption of state collection remedies, is the

applicability of this Court’s holding in Pilot Life Insurance Co. v.

Dedeaux (1987) 481 U.S. 41, 107 S.Ct. 1549. In Pilot Life, this

Court held that the remedies provided by § 502 of ERISA to

claimants seeking empioyee benefits from ERISA-regulated ben-

efit plans preempted all parallel state laws. This Court held that

“The detailed provisions of § 502(a) set forth a comprehensive

civil enforcement scheme... The policy choices reflected in the

inclusion of certain remedies and the exclusion of others under

the federal scheme would be completely undermined if ERISA-

plan participants and beneficiaries were free to obtain remedies

under state law that Congress had rejected in ERISA.”

Pilot Life focuses on provisions of ERISA which have been in

the statute since its inception. Pilot Life contains no discussion of

the collection remedies which were added to ERISA in 1980, nor

does it suggest that any collection remedy whatsoever was pro-

vided by ERISA pnor to 1980. The “carefully integrated statutory

scheme” described in Pilot Life did not, prior to 1980, contain any

remedy which could possibly displace existing state law collection

remedies.

Petitioner respectfully submits that the California Supreme

Court has read Pilot Life far too broadly.’ While all parties agree

"This Court succinctly stated the limits of its holding in Pilot Life in

its decision in Metropolitan Life Insurance Co. v. Taylor, (1987) 481

U.S. 58, 107 S.Ct. 1542 issued the same day: “In Pilot Life Insurance

Co. v. Dedeaux, ante [citation] the Court held that state common law

causes of action asserting improper processing of a claim for benefits

under an employee benefit plan regulated by the Employer Retirement

Income Security Act (ERISA) 88 Stat. 829, 29 U.S.C. § 1001, et seq.,

are preempted by the Act.”

16

that the reach of federal preemption under § 514(a) of ERISA is

wide, there is no hint in the legislative history or in any of the

terms of the statute that Congress believed it was canceling

literally dozens of state collection statutes across the country at a

single stroke. Indeed, the legislative history of the 1980 amend-

ments to ERISA compels the opposite conclusion. During hear-

ings on the Multi-employer Pension Plan Amendments Act of

1980, which added §§ 512(g) and 515 to ERISA, 29 U.S.C.

§§ 1132(g) and 1145, the validity of post-ERISA state collection

remedies was recognized. House Report No. 96-869(II) on H.R.

3609 of the House Committee on Ways and Means, 96th Cong.,

2d Sess., contains the following commentary on the new collec-

tion provisions:

“The Committee’s amendment provides that in the case of a

civil action by any person to collect delinquent multi-em-

ployer plan contributions, regardless of otherwise applicable

law, the court before which the action is brought may award

the plaintiff (1) reasonable attorneys’ fees, (2) court costs

and (5) liquidated damages not to exceed twenty percent of

the amount of delinquent contributions as determined by the

court. However, these items are to be awarded to a plaintiff

only to the extent that the multi-employer plan in question

provided for such an award. The bill preempts any state or

other law which would prevent the award of reasonable

attorneys’ fees, court costs or liquidated damages or which

would limit liquidated damages to an amount below the

twenty percent level. However, the bill does nor preclude the

award of liquidated damages in excess of the twenty percent

level if an award of such a higher level of liquidated damages

is permitted under state or other law. The Committee

amendment does not change any other type of remedy

permitted under state or federal law with respect to delin-

quent multi-employer contributions."’ [Emphasis supplied }

This legislative history demonstrates that Congress did not

intend to strip multi-employer trust funds of their existing collec-

tion remedies under state law. Instead, the intent was to provide

powerful new weapons, in the form of potential awards of attor-

neys’ fees, interest and liquidated damages, to discourage employ-

17

ers from engaging in protracted and expensive litigation over

simple collection claims.*

As the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit noted in

Laborers Fringe Benefit Funds v. Northwest Concrete & Construc-

tion, Inc., (1981) 640 F.2d 1350, 1352:

“The legislative history underlying Section 502 indicates that

Congress intended that the enforcement provisons should

have teeth: the provisions should be liberally construed ‘to

provide both the Secretary and participants and beneficiaries

with broad remedies for redressing or preventing violations of

the Act.’ H. Rep. No.93-533, 93d Cong. & Ad. News p.

4639, 4655. This history further states that ‘the intent of the

Committee is to provide the full range of legal and equitable

remedies available in both state and federal courts and to

remove jurisdictional and procedural obstacles which in the

past appear to have hampered effective enforcement of

fiduciary responsibility under state law for recovery of bene-

fits due to participants.’”” [Emphasis supplied. ]

* In Sasso v. Vachris, (1985) 494 NYS 2d 856, 489 N.E. 2d 1359 the

New York State Court of Appeals rejected the argument that the

collection remedies added to ERISA ip 1980 dispiaced state law,

reasoning as follows:

“Nor do the 1980 amendments to ERISA indicate an intent on the

part of Congress to preempt state remedies such as § 630 [of the

New York Business Corporation Law]. They merely added a

statutory obligation upon employers to make contributions to multi-

employer plans as required by the terms of the employee benefit

plan or the collective bargaining agreement [citation omitted] and

provided a civil cause of action in favor of fiduciaries to enforce this

obligation [citation omitted]. Contrary to the positon taken by

defendants, the relevant legislative history of these amendments

evince a specific congressional intent that ERISA’s civil remedies

merely supplement, rather that supersede, existing state remedies

such as Business Corporation Law § 630, at least insofar as they

provide for the collection of delinquent employer contributions to

employee benefit plans.”

18

D. Preemption of State Lien Laws Leaves an Unexplained

“Gap” in the Collection Remedies Available to Multi-

Employer Benefit Trust Funds.

In support of its conclusion that ERISA preempts state collec-

tion remedies, the California Supreme Court notes that § 515 of

ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1145, permits employee benefit plans to

bring collection actions against delinquent employers. The court

reasoned that the presence of this collection remedy within

ERISA supports the inference that state lien remedies are pre-

empted. E/ Capitan III, 53 Cal.3d at 1052. The difficulty with this

reasoning is that § 515 was not added to ERISA until 1980,

though ERISA’s preemption clause was part of the original

Statute enacted in 1974. The amendment of ERISA in 1980 to

include a collection remedy simply cannot support the inference

that the preemption clause was intended to wipe out state collec-

tion remedies. If this were so, there would be a six year “gap”

during which employee benefit trust funds had neither remedies

under ERISA nor remedies under state lien laws.

The California Supreme Court avoids this anomaly by asserting

that § 502(a) (3) of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a) (3), which was

part of ERISA as initially enacted, created a collection remedy.

El Capitan III, 53 Cal.3d at 1052. But numerous federal courts

have held that no remedy for collection of delinquent employer

contributions was provided by ERISA prior to the addition of

§ 515 in 1980.

For example, in Carl Allen v. McWilliams Electric Co., (D.

Mo. 1980) 494 F. Supp. 53, a federal district court refused ‘to

permit employee benefit trusts to sue an allegedly delinquent

employer under § 502 of ERISA, stating “This suit for contribu-

tions of money allegedly due and owing qualifies only for the

future equitable relief prayed for... not for a money award for

past violations.” 494 F. Supp. at 56. The same conclusion was

reached by another federal trial court in American Benefit Plan

Administrators v. Foley, 2 EBC 1897 (CD Cal. 1981) where the

court stated “Prior to 1980, § 502(g) of ERISA (29 U.S.C.

§ 1132(g)) provided only for equitable relief and any action for

unpaid plan contributions could, therefore, only be brought under

§ 301 of the Labor Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 185.”

1

State courts reached the same conclusion. For example, in

Vermeer v. Tomken Construction, (1980) 49 Or App. 37, the

Court of Appeals held that the pre-1980 version of § 502(a) of

ERISA did not provide a cause of action to recover delinquent

trust fund contributions. The court stated: “ERISA provides no

remedy for trustees seeking to recover delinquent contributions to

a trust fund... therefore, though plaintiff's action is one to

enforce the terms of its agreement with defendant, it is not an

action under 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a) (3) (B) (ii) requiring exclusive

federal jurisdiction . . .” These cases belie the California Supreme

Court’s assertion that § 515 of ERISA was added to the statute

only to “streamline” an already-existing collection remedy. There

simply was no ERISA collection remedy prior to 1980.

Once it is established that ERISA did not, as originally

enacted, contain a remedy to compel payment of delinquent

employer trust fund contributions, the illogic of the California

Supreme Court’s decision is plain. If, as the California Supreme

Court held, § 514(a) of ERISA was intended to prempt all non-

federal collection remedies, why did ERISA, as originally en-

acted, contain no substitute remedy, and why does the 1974

legislative history contain no reference to collection issues? The

obvious answer is that Congress did not intend that ERISA’s

preemption clause would apply to such remedies.

The reasoning of this Court in Mackey v. Lanier Collection

Agency (1988) 486 U.S. 825, 108 S.Ct. 2182 is particularly

instructive in this regard. In Mackey, this Court concluded that

Georgia’s general garnishment statute was not preempted by

ERISA because (1) ERISA provides no means for execution of

judgments against employee benefit plans and (2) the federal

scheme for enforcement of judgments evidenced by FRCP 69(a)

contemplates the use of state procedures to enforce judgments.

Applying the same reasoning as in Mackey to this case, it can be

seen that (1) prior to 1980, ERISA provided no collection

remedy and (2) the only federal collection remedy then availabl.,

under § 301(a) of the Labor Management Relations Act, 29

U.S.C. § 185(a) did not purport to preempt ancillary state collec-

tion remedies. In fact, federal courts have explicitly recognized

that § 301 does not displace state lien laws; see CSCAC v.

20

Majestic Housing, (9th Cir. 1984), 743 F.2d 1341; CSCAC v.

D&L Camp Construction, (9th Cir. 1984), 738 F.2d 999.

E. Preemption of California Civil Code Section 3111 Disrupts

the California Statutory Scheme for Protecting the Wages

and Benefits of Workmen.

The statute at issue in this case is not an isolated piece of

legislative handiwork. It is part of an integrated network of

California laws designed to ensure that construction workmen

receive their full wages for labor contributed for works of im-

provement on California real property.

The mechanics’ lien remedy was spawned by the California

Constitution itself. The Constitution of 1879 required the Legisla-

ture to grant laborers and materialmen a lien upon property which

they had improved. (See California Constitution Article XIV,

Section 3; Martin v. Becker (1915) 169 Cal. 301, 316.) As the

California Supreme Court has noted, “This state, from the

earliest days, and consistently thereafter, has asserted its interest

in protecting the claims of laborers and material men.” Connolly

Development, Inc. v. Superior Court (1976) 17 Cal.3d 803, 826.

California Code of Civil Procedure § 1182, the predecessor to

California Civil Code § 3111, was amended in 1965 to eliminate

an ambiguity in the lien law. Though laborers were clearly

entitled to record and foreclose mechanics’ liens to protect their

claims to direct wages, an issue had arisen as to whether they

could assert lien rights with regard to fringe benefit payments

made, in the first instance, to third parties. Since the intent of.the

lien law was to protect the workers’ entire wage package, the law

was amended to grant lien rights to protect the workers’ fringe

benefits. Assemblyman James R. Mills, Chairman of the State

Assembly Committee on Rules, stated the purpose of the legisla-

tion as follows:

“This bill provided that those trust funds established in

accordance with collective bargaining agreements between

labor and management, and to which management payments

are made to provide fringe benefits to the wage agreement,

shall be entitled to a lien on particular real property in the

amount of the supplemental fringe benefit payments owing to

21

it... These contributions are sometimes deducted from the

wage checks of the workers, and, in all cases, they are part of

the total wage package of the worker . .. The ambiguousness

of the present law prohibits the trust funds from asserting the

worker’s lien rights. Although they have a sole fiduciary

obligation to collect the money, this ambiguousness has

resulted in loss of monies of substantial amounts to the

workers and to the trust funds. This bill would permit a

limited clarification to permit lawful trust funds the right to

assert the workers’ lien rights as they already exist, and

would not expand or enlarge the rights which the worker now

has.” {Emphasis supplied}?

The interest of the State of California in providing a compre-

hensive remedy to protect the wage package, including fringe

benefits, of workers who perform construction services would be

gravely eroded if Civil Code § 3111 is nullified by the preemptive

force of federal law. The importance of the statute is equivalent to

the state law provisions considered in Stone v. Stone, (9th Cir.

1980) 632 F.2d 740, cert. denied (1981) 453 U.S. 922, 101 S.Ct.

3159. In Stone, a federal appellate court affirmed a trial court

decision which held that ERISA did not preempt California state

courts from ordering an ERISA-regulated pension plan to pay a

portion of a plan participant’s pension benefits directly to his or

her ex-spouse. The lower court cited the state’s critical interest in

*The California Supreme Court holds that the mechanic’s lien

remedy is preempted because it creates new substantive rights against

parties not involved in the employer-trust fund relationship. As the

dissent notes, however, “The lien does not create personal liability of the

owner. It has long been recognized that the lien of the mechanic, artisan

and supplier is equitable because those parties have created the very

property upon which the lien attaches. Cf Tustle v. Montford (1857) 7

Cal. 358, 360, Connolly Development, Inc. v. Superior Court, (1976) 17

Cal.3d 803, 825-827. Obviously, return of the materials or labor to the

unpaid supplier or laborer is not a viable option, and the law’s recogni-

tion of the unpaid suppliers’ and laborers’ contribution to the improve-

ment does not create a debt or personal liability on the part of the owner,

but only an interest in the property they helped create.” E/ Capitan III

53 Ca.3d at 1065 (Broussard, J., dissenting).

22

regulating the sensitive area of family law, stating that “both

Congress and the courts recognize that the whole subject of

domestic relations of husband and wife, and parent and child,

belongs to the laws of the states and not to the laws of the United

States.” See also, American Telephone and Telegraph Co. v.

Merry, (2d Cir. 1979) 592 F.2d 118, 121; Carpenters Pension

Trust v. Kronschnabel, (9th Cir. 1980) 632 F.2d 745, cert. denied

(1981) 453 U.S. 922, 101 S.Ct. 3159.

Preemption of California Civil Code § 3111 would create an

anomaly in California law. Those workers whose payments for

fringe benefit contributions are deducted from their cash wages

would have a lien right for the full amount of their compensa-

tion.'° By contrast, those workers who receive fringe benefits from

employee benefit plans to which their employers directly contrib-

ute would be deprived of lien rights for a substantial portion of

their total compensation package. (For many workers, the fringe

benefit payments now constitute as much as thirty-five percent of

their total compensation. )

This Court has long recognized that fringe benefits are an

integral part of the workman’s total compensation. In United

States v. Carter (1956) 353 U.S. 210 77. S.Ct. 793, this court

held that a surety to fringe benefits funds on a payment bond

furnished by a contractor pursuant to the Miller Act (40 U.S.C.

§ 269a et seq.) was subject to suit by fringe benefit funds seeking

to recover delinquent employer contributions. This Court rea-

soned in part that the “contributions were a part of the compensa-

'° The California Supreme Court asserts that employee benefit plans

are different from the other entities entitled to assert mechanic’s lien

rights, because the other entities directly perform labor and provide

material for construction projects, which the plans do not. 53 Cal.3d at

1049. While this may be true, it is scarcely a basis for invalidating the

lien rights of the benefit plans. The benefit plans act as a repository and

funding source for benefits provided to workmen who do contribute to

works of improvement on real property. Permitting the workmen to

pursue lien claims for the cash portion-ef their wages, while denying lien

protection for the portion of their wages paid into employee benefit plans

eviscerates the California Legislature’s intent to protect the entire wage

package of the workman.

23

tion for the work to be done by [the] employees” and that

trustees “stand in the shoes of the employees and are entitled to

enforce their rights.” 353 U.S. at 217-218, 220. See, also, Morri-

son-Knudsen Construction Co. v. OWCP (1982) 461 U.S. 624,

631, 102 S.Ct. 2045. .

it is simply incomprehensible that Congress intended that

workmen who derive fringe benefits from ERISA-regulated em-

ployee benefits plans would become second class citizens, without

the full protection of lien rights enjoyed by their coworkers.'' Yet

that is the result of the California Suprerne Court’s reasoning in

the El Capitan case.

'! As the dissent below noted: “ERISA plans and others who have

unpaid claims based on construction projects are usually unpaid because

there are not enough funds to go around. To permit architects, engineers,

surveyors, mechanics, laborers and others enumerated in Civil Code

§ 3110 to obtain liens while denying liens to ERISA plans is to make

ERISA plans second-class creditors. The effect of the preference will

ordinarily mean that Section 3110 creditors will have a preference and

will receive all or part of their claims while ERISA plans will have none.

Making the plans second-ciass creditors flies in the face of ERISA’s

express policy to protect the interest of participants of the plan (29

U.S.C. § 1001(b), (c)) and, more particularly, ERISA’s express policy

“to provide reasonable protection for the interests of participants and

beneficiaries of financially distressed multi-employer pension plans” and

“to provide a financially self-sufficient program for the guarantee

of employer benefits under multi-employer plans.” (29 U.S.C.

§ 100la(c)(3), (4).)” 53 Cal.3d at 1062.

24

VI

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth herein, petitioner prays that the writ of

certiorari be granted.

DATED: September 16, 1991

STANTON, Kay & WATSON

JAMES P. WATSON*

DECARLO, CONNOR & SELVO

JOHN T. DECARLO

PATRICK CONNOR

KINDEL & ANDERSON

DONALD T. MEADERS

* COUNSEL OF RECORD

Appendix A

[ No. $000772. June 20, 1991.]

Carpenters Southern California Administrative Corporation,

Plaintiff and Appeliant,

Vv.

El Capitan Development Company,

Defendant and Respondent.

Counse!

Cox, Castle & Nicholson, Stanton, Kay & Watson, James P.

Watson, Charles P. Scully, Donald C. Carroll, DeCarlo & Con-

nor, John T. DeCarlo, Patrick Connor, Richard A. Brownstein

and Karen L. Holliday for Plaintiff and Appellant.

Lionel Richman, Pappy & Davis, George A. Pappy, Jett &

Laquer, Wayne Jett, Hill, Farrer & Burrill, Stuart H. Young, Jr.,

McCarthy, Johnson & Miller, Raphael Shannon, Lori A. Nord,

Gilbert & Sackman, Steven J. Kaplan, Kenneth J. Sackman,

Gerald M. Feder, David R. Levin, Van Bourg, Weinberg, Roger

& Rosenfeld, Victor J. Van Bourg, Michael B. Roger, Blythe

Mickelson and Michael W. Schnake as Amici Curiae on behalf of

Plaintiff and Appellant.

Littler, Mendelson, Fastiff & Tichy, Karen E. Ford, Major

Williams, Jr., Dorothy J. Stephens and Gregory R. Meyer for

Defendant and Respondent.

Musick, Peeler & Garrett, Lynn K. Thompson and Roberta J.

Burnette as Amici Curiae on behalf of Defendant and

Respondent.

Opinion

PANELLI, J.—The issue presented is whether Civil Code sec-

tion 3111,’ which creates liens on real property in favor of trust

' Civil Code section 3111 provides: “For the purposes of this chapter,

an express trust fund established pursuant to a collective bargaining

agreement to which payments are required to be made on account of

A-2

funds established pursuant to collective bargaining agreements, is

preempted by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of

1974 (ERISA). (29 U.S.C. § 1001 et seq.) We conclude that

ERISA does preempt section 3111.

Facts

Carpenters Southern California Administrative Corporation

(CSCAC) is the administrator and the assignee of rights of

various multiemployer trust funds established under collective

bargaining agreements, including the Carpenters’ Trust Funds.

The Carpenters’ Trust Funds are employee pension benefit plans

or employee welfare benefit plans within the meaning of ERISA.

(See 29 U.S.C. § 1002(1), (2)(A), & (21)(A).) CSCAC is a

“fiduciary” as defined in ERISA. (29 U.S.C. § 1002(21)(A).)

Collective bargaining agreements often require employers to

make contributions to trust funds for the benefit of covered

employees. In the present case, the covered employees are mem-

bers of unions affiliated with the United Brotherhood of

Carpenters and Joiners of America (Unions). CSCAC, due to its

fiduciary relationship with the Unions and in its role as adminis-

trator of the trust, has a duty to collect contributions from

employers who fail to make the required payments to the trust.

E] Capitan Development Company (El Capitan) developed a

condominium project on its property in Bakersfield. The general

contractor was Grupe Construction (Grupe). Grupe subcon-

tracted with Pacific Southwest Framing for part of the framing

work. In its complaint, CSCAC alleges that John Hall Enter-

prises (John Hall), with whom CSCAC made a collective bar-

gaining agreement, and Pacific Southwest Framing are a single

entity. John Hall failed to inake fringe benefit contributions to the

trust funds in excess of $121,000.

fringe denefits supplemental to a wage agreement for the benefit of a

claimant on particular real property shall have a lien on such property in

the amount of the supplemental fringe benefit payments owing to it

pursuant to the collective bargaining agreement.”

All further statutory references are to the Civil Code unless otherwise

indicated.

A-3

Pursuant to section 3111, CSCAC recorded trust fund liens

against E! Capitan’s real property in order to collect the delin-

quent contributions to the trust funds. CSCAC later sued El

Capitan in Kern County Superior Court to foreclose the liens.

CSCAC alleged that, because John Hall and Pacific Southwest

Framing are a single entity, Pacific Southwest Framing was

bound by CSCAC’s agreement with John Hall and was therefore

obligated to make the contributions to the trust. CSCAC further

alleged that because the unpaid contributions were due on ac-

count of work performed on El Capitan’s property, section 3111

created liens on that property.

Ej Capitan, which has not signed a collective bargaining agree-

ment with CSCAC, demurred to CSCAC’s complaint, arguing

that ERISA preempted section 3111. (See 29 U.S.C. § 1144.)

The trial court granted El] Capitan’s demurrer with leave to

amend. When CSCAC declined to amend, the court entered a

judgment of dismissal.

The Court of Appeal reversed the judgment. We granted E]

Capitan’s petition for review anc retransferred the matter to the

Court of Appeal for reconsideration in light of Pilot Life Ins. Co.

v. Dedeaux (1987) 481 U.S. 41 [95 L.Ed.2d 39, 107 S.Ct. 1549]

(hereafter Pilot Life). On remand, the Court of Appeal con-

cluded that ERISA preempted section 3111 and affirmed the

judgment of dismissal. We affirm.

Discussion

Introduction

(la) Section 3111 creates liens on real property in favor of

trust funds established pursuant to collective bargaining agree-

ments in amounts equal to the fringe benefit contributions which

are due under those collective bargaining agreements. Under

section 3111, if an employer fails to make contributions, the trust

fund can record a lien on the property where the work was

performed and foreclose the lien to compel payment of the debt.

? Pacific Southwest Framing has not signed a collective bargaining

agreement with CSCAC.

A-4

(2a) ERISA is a comprehensive federal statutory scheme

designed to promote the interests of employees and their benefi-

Ciaries in employee benefit plans. (Shaw v. Delta Airlines, Inc.

(1983) 463 U.S. 85, 90 [77 L.Ed.2d 490, 497, 103 S.Ct. 2890].)

“[ERISA] imposes participation, funding, and vesting require-

ments on pension plans....As part of this closely integrated

regulatory system Congress included various safeguards to pre-

clude abuse and ‘to completely secure the rights and expectations

brought into being by this landmark reform legislation.’ S. Rep.

No. 93-127, p.36 (1973). Prominent among these safeguards [is]

...§514(a), 29 U.S.C. § 1144, ERISA’S broad pre-emption

provision. ...” (Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon (1990) 498

At [112 L.Ed.2d 474, 482-483, 111 S.Ct. 478, 482]

(hereafter Jngersoll-Rand).)

(1b) We must decide whether ERISA’s broad preemption

provision encompasses section 3111. We conclude that it does.

(2b) “ *[T]he question whether a certain state action is pre-

empted by federal law is one of congressional intent. “The

purpose of Congress is the ultimate touchstone.” ’ [ Citations. ] To

discern Congress’ intent we examine the explicit statutory lan-

guage and the structure and purpose of the statute. [ Citations. }

... [1] Where, as here, Congress has expressly included a broadly

worded pre-emption provision in a comprehensive statute such as

ERISA, our task of discerning Congressional intent is considera-

bly simplified.” (Jngersoll-Rand, supra, 498 U.S. at p. — [112

L.Ed.2d at p. 483, 111 S.Ct. at p. 482).)

Section 514(a) of ERISA expressly preempts “any and all

State laws insofar as they may now or hereafter relate to any

employee benefit plan... .” (29 U.S.C. § 1144(a), italics added.)

Section 514(c) of ERISA defines the terms used in section

514(a): “(1) The term ‘State Law’ includes all laws, decisions,

rules, regulations, or other State action having the effect of law, of

any State....[{]] (2) The term ‘State’ includes a State, any

political subdivisions thereof, or any agency or instrumentality of

either, which purports to regulate, directly or indirectly, the terms

and conditions of employee benefit plans covered by this sub-

chapter.” (29 U.S.C. § 1144(c).)

A-5

CSCAC argues that ERISA preempts only those siate laws

that regulate the terms and conditions of ERISA plans. This

argument derives from the phrase “purports to regulate,” which

appears in the definition of “State” in section 514(c)(2) of

ERISA. (29 U.S.C. § 1144(c)(2).) The case law, however, does

not support CSCAC’s argument. All that is necessary to invoke

ERISA’s statutory preemption provision is that the state law in

question “relate to” an ERISA plan. As will be shown, section

3111 “relates to” such plans by creating a mechanism for enforc-

ing an employer’s contribution obligations that Congress did not

provide.

Furthermore, even if we were to accept for the sake of argu-

ment CSCAC’s proposition that a state law, to be preempted,

must regulate an ERISA plan, section 3111 still would be

preempted. Although section 3111 does not specifically require

that certain terms be included in a plan, it does purport to

regulate the conditions under which the terms of a plan can be

enforced. The section does so by creating an additional cause of

action for enforcing contribution obligations and by making an

additional entity liable for such contributions. (See Jron Workers

Pension Fund v. Terotechnology (Sth Cir. 1990) 891 F.2d 548,

553 (hereafter Jron Workers).)

The Breadth of Federal Preemption Under ERISA

(2c) The United States Supreme Court in a series of opinions

has emphasized the unusual breadth of ERISA’s express preemp-

tion provision, describing section 514(a) of ERISA as a “virtually

unique pre-emption provision” (Franchise Tax Bd. v. Laborers

Vacation Trust (1988) 463 U.S. 1, 24, fn. 26 [77 L.Ed.2d 420,

440, 103 S.Ct. 2841]), and as a clause “conspicuous for its

breadth.” (FMC Corp. v. Holliday (1990) 498 U.S.

[112 L.Ed.2d 356, 364, 111 S.Ct. 403, 407].) The court has also

characterized the provision as “deliberately expansive” (Pilot

Life, supra, 481 U.S. at p. 46 [95 L.Ed.2d at p. 46], citing Alessi

v. Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc. (1981) 451 U.S. 504, 523 [68

L.Ed.2d 402, 416, 101 S.Ct. 1895]), and as “establish[ing} as an

area of exclusive federal concern the subject of every state law

that ‘relate[s] to’ an employee benefit plan governed by ERISA.”

A-6

(FMC Corp. v. Holliday, supra, 498 US. > eee

L.Ed.2d at p. 364, 111 S.Ct. at p.407].)

(3) Consistent with the foregoing, the high court has also

interpreted broadly the statutory term “relate to.” (29 U.S.C.

§ 1144(a).) Most recently, in Ingersoll-Rand, supra, the court

explained that “[t]he key to §514(a) is found in the words

‘relate to.” Congress used those words in their broad sense,

rejecting more limited pre-emption language that would have

made the clause ‘applicable only to state laws relating to the

specific subjects covered by ERISA.’” (Ingersoll-Rand, supra,

498 US. at p. [112 L.Ed.2d at p. 483, 111 S.Ct. at p. 482],

citations omitted.) This is consistent with the court’s previous

instruction in Pilot Life that “ ‘a state law “relate[s] to” a benefit

plan, “in the normal sense of the phrase, if it has a connection

with or reference to such a plan.” ’” (Pilot Life, supra, 481 U.S.

at p. 47 [95 L.Ed.2d at p. 48], citations omitted.) “Because of the

breadth of the preemption clause and the broad remedial purpose

of ERISA, ‘state laws found to be beyond the scope of [section

514(a) of ERISA] are few.’ ”(Cefalu v. B. F. Goodrich Co. (Sth

Cir. 1989) 871 F.2d 1290, 1294, fn. omitted.)

In determining whether section 3111 “relates to” a benefit plan,

we take note that the United States Supreme Court has on several

occasions stated that “state laws which make ‘reference to’

ERISA plans are laws that ‘relate to’ those plans within the

meaning of § 514(a) [of ERISA].” (Mackey v. Lanier Collection

Agency & Serv. (1988) 486 U.S. 825, 829 [100 L.Ed.2d 836, 843,

108 S.Ct. 2182], citing Pilot Life, supra, 481 U.S. at pp.47-48 [95

L.Ed.2d at pp. 47-48]; Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Massachu-

setts (1985) 471 U.S. 724, 739 [85 L.Ed.2d 728, 740, 105 S.Ct.

2380].) Indeed, the court has “virtually taken it for granted that

state laws which are ‘specifically designed to affect employce

benefit plans’ are pre-empted under § 514(a).” (Mackey v.

Lanier Collection Agency & Serv., supra, 486 U.S. at p. 829 [100

L.Ed.2d at p. 844].)

A-7

Section 3111 Is Specifically Designed to Affect Employee

Benefit Plans

(1c) Section 3111 is specifically designed to affect employee

benefit plans. The section expressly refers to “trust fund[s]

established pursuant to a collective bargaining agreement” and

provides to such funds a mechanics’ lien remedy not provided by

Congress. Thus, section 3111 singles out ERISA plans for special

treatment.

CSCAC argues that “ERISA trust funds receive no greater

benefits under [section 3111] than any other party entitled to

invoke the mechanics’ lien remedy.” To be sure, section 3111

does treat ERISA plans the same as other parties whose claims

are based on having furnished labor or materials for a construction

project. The significant difference, however, is that ERISA plans

do not furnish labor or materials for construction projects. Ac-

cordingly, to treat them as persons who do furnish labor or

materials is to single them out for special treatment.’ Because

section 3111 singles out ERISA plans for special treatment and

is, in fact, designed to affect them specifically, we conclude the

statute “relates to” ERISA plans.‘

> Another significant difference between ERISA plans and other

persons whose claims are based on furnishing labor or materials is that

the latter assert their claims under section 3110. Section 3111 is

specifically for the use of express trust funds established pursuant to

collective bargaining agreements.

*CSCAC contends that because section 514(a) of ERISA refers to

“plans” and section 3111 refers to “trust funds,” section 3111 is not

preempted by ERISA. However, other statements and arguments made

by CSCAC belie the contention that section 3111 does not affect

ERISA plans. For example, CSCAC states that the “Carpenters Trust

Funds are employee pension benefit plan or employee welfare benefit

plans within the meaning of ERISA; see 29 U.S.C. §§ 1002(1) and

1002(2)(a).” (Italics added.) Also, CSCAC argues that the mechan-

ics’ lien action codified in section 3111 provides an effective and

necessary remedy for employee benefit plans to enforce an employer's

promise to pay fringe benefit contributions and that preemption of

section 3111 may affect the p/ans’ ability to maintain benefit levels for

their participants.

A-8

Preemption Does Not Require Regulation of the Terms and

Conditions of an ERISA Plan

(4) Contrary to CSCAC’s argument, it is well settled that a

state law need not regulate the terms and conditions of an ERISA

plan for preemption to apply. The United States Supreme Court

has rejected the similar argument that the statutory term “pur-

ports to regulate” in section 514(c)(2) of ERISA causes section

514(a) of ERISA to preempt only those state laws that affect a

plan’s terms, conditions, or administration. (Jngersoll-Rand,

supra, 498 US. at p. [112 L.Ed.2d at p. 485, 111 S.Ct. at p.

484].) In rejecting this argument, the court stated that, “[the

argument] misreads § 514(c)(2) [of ERISA] and consequently

misapprehends its purpose....Section 514(c)(2) expands,

rather than restricts, [the] definition [of State] for pre-emption

purposes in order to ‘include’ state agencies and instrumentalities

whose actions might not otherwise be considered state law. Had

Congress intended to restrict ERISA’s pre-emptive effect to state

laws purporting to regulate plan terms and conditions, it surely

would not have done so by placing the restriction in an adjunct

definition section while using the broad phrase ‘relate to’ in the

pre-emption section itself. Moreover, if §514(a) [of ERISA]

were construed as [defendant] urges, the ‘relate to’ language

would be superfluous—Congress need only have said that ‘all’

state laws would be pre-empted. Moreover, our precedents fore-

close this argument. In Mackey, the Court held that ERISA pre-

empted a Georgia garnishment statute that excluded from gar-

nishment ERISA plan benefits. [Mackey v. Lanier Collections

Agency & Serv., supra, 486 U.S. at pp. 828, fn. 2, 830 (100

L.Ed.2d at pp. 843, 844).] Such a law clearly did not regulate the

terms or conditions of ERISA-covered plans, and yet we found

preemption. Mackey demonstrates that § 514(a) cannot be read

so restrictively.” (Ingersoll-Rand, supra, 498 U.S. at p.

[112 L.Ed.2d at p. 485, 111 S.Ct. at p. 484].)°

*The Court of appeal originally decided this case by relying on

Carpenters Health & Welfare Trust Fund v. Parnas Corp. (1986) 176

Cal.App.3d 1196 [222 Cal.Rptr. 668]. the Parnas case was decided

before, and is inconsistent with, Pilot Life. Rather than using the “relate

to” test, the Parnas decision used the much narrower preemption

A-9

Section 3111 Also Regulates ERISA Plans

(1d) Even though a state law need not regulate ERISA plans

to be preempted, a finding that a state law does regulate ERISA

plans necessarily includes a finding that the law “relates to” such

a plan. (Local Union 598 Etc. v. J.A. Jones Const. Co. (9th Cir.

1988) 846 F.2d 1213, 1218, affd. (1988) 488 U.S. 881 [102

L.Ed.2d 202, 109 S.Ct. 210] (hereafter Jones).)°® Section 3111

regulates ERISA plans by creating a funding mechanism not

provided by Congress. Hence, the fact that section 3111 regulates

ERISA plans provides further support for the conclusion that

section 3111 “relates to” ERISA plans and is preempted.

Federal case law directly on point supports our view that

section 3111, by creating an additional funding mechanism for

ERISA plans not provided for by Congress, “regulates,” and

hence “relates to,” ERISA plans and is for that reason pre-

empted. In Iron Workers, supra, 891 F.2d 548, the Fifth Circuit

considered a Louisiana mechanics’ lien law that was functionally

identical to section 3111. Borden Chemical had entered into a

contract for maintenance services with Terotechnology Corpora-

tion. A trade council, on behalf of several unions, executed a

collective bargaining agreement with Terotechnology for work to

be performed at the Borden plant. The agreement required

Terotechnology to contribute to employee benefit funds for the

work by its employees at the Borden plant. After a period of

standard discussed above: “ERISA’s preemption of ‘State law’ is only of

such laws as regulate the ‘terms and conditions’ of employer benefit

plans.” (Parnas, supra, 176 Cal.App.3d at p. 1201, italics in original.)

As the Parnas decision conflicts with Pilot Life and our decision in this

case, it is disapproved. Similarly, Sheet Metal Workers Pension Plan v.

Columbia Savings & Loan Assn. (1990) 221 Cal.App.3d Supp. 21 [270

Cal.Rptr. 608], which relies on Parnas in concluding that section 3111 is

not preempted, is disapproved.

* In discussing the interrelationship of the “purports to regulate” and

“relate to” language, the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals stated, “[t]he

narrower ‘purports to regulate’ test is included within the broader ‘relates

to’ test. [Citations.] Thus a finding that a statute ‘purports to regulate’

an employee benefit plan necessarily includes a finding that it ‘relates to’

such a plan.” (Fn. omitted. Jones, supra, 846 F.2d at p. 1218.)

A-10

compliance, Terotechnology stopped contributing. The unions

and funds filed liens pursuant to Louisiana’s Private Works Act

against Borden’s real property. The Fifth Circuit held that the

Louisiana law, because it created an additional method of enforc-

ing the funding requirements of employee benefit plans, was

preempted under section 514(a) of ERISA.

(5) In reaching its conclusion, the Jron Workers court dis-

cussed the kinds of state laws that have been found to “relate to”

employee benefit plans: “The state laws that have previously been

found to be preempted by section 514(a) [of ERISA] because

they ‘relate’ to ERISA plans fall into four categories[: (1) ] laws

that regulate the type of benefits or terms of ERISA plans[; (2) ]

laws that create reporting, disclosure, funding or vesting require-

ments for ERISA plans[; (3)] laws that provide rules for the

calculation of the amount of benefits to be paid under ERISA

plans[; and (4)] laws and common law rules that provide

remedies for misconduct growing out of the administration of the

ERISA plan. The principle underlying all of these decisions

[ preempting state laws] would appear to be that the state law is

preempted by section 514(a) if the conduct sought to be regu-

lated by the state law is ‘part of the administration of an employee

benefit plan’: that is, the state law is preempted if it regulates the

matters regulated by ERISA: disclosure, funding, reporting, vest-

ing, and enforcement of benefit plans.”’ (Iron Workers, supra, 891

F.2d at p. 553, italics added.)

(le) Section 3111 specifically purports to regulate employee

benefit plans by providing an additional method of funding, a lien

against real property, which is not provided by, and therefore is

not allowed under, ERISA. In essence, section 3111 creates a

new state cause of action for the collection of contributions owed

to benefit plans and makes an additional entity liable for such

contributions. Lien actions under section 3111, which are gov-

erned by state law, are not subject to the jurisdiction of the federal

courts under ERISA. (Carpenters Southern Cal. Admin. v. Ma-

jestic Housing(9th Cir. 1984) 743 F.2d 1341, 1346.)’

"In Majestic Housing, supra, the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals

considered the connection between section 3111 and ERISA. The court

A-11

ERISA preempts new state-law causes of action for the collec-

tion of contributions because, consistent with its goal of providing

“appropriate sanctions and ready access to federal courts” (29

U.S.C. § 1001(b)), ERISA itself provides the remedies for the

collection of contributions. Section 502(a) of ERISA (29 U.S.C.

§ SC 1132(a)) provides in part that “[a] civil action may be

brought—...{{]] (3) by a participant, beneficiary, or fiduciary

(A) to enjoin any act or practice which violates any provision of

this title or the terms of the plan or (B) to obtain other

appropriate equitable relief (i) to redress such violations or (ii) to

enforce any provisions of this title or the terms of the plan.” (29

U.S.C. § 1132(a) (3), italics added.)

Additionally, section 515 of ERISA (29 U.S.C. § 1145) pro-

vides: “Every employer who is obligated to make contributions to

a multiemployer plan under the terms of the plan or under the

terms of a collectively bargained agreement shall, to the extent

not inconsistent with law, make such contributions in accordance

with the terms and conditions of such plan or such an agree-

ment.” Hence, a participant, beneficiary or a fiduciary can bring

an action under section 502(a) of ERISA (29 U.S.C. § 1132(a))

to enforce an employer’s obligation under section 515 of ERISA

(29 U.S.C. § 1145).

held that “[an] action to enforce [a] lien against Majestic’s property

[was] one under state, and not federal law. Consequently, the district

court was without jurisdiction to rule on the motion for summary

judgment.” (Jd. at p. 1346.)

* CSCAC argues that ERISA, as originally enacted in 1974, did not

include a cause of action for the collection of benefit contributions and,

hence, Congress could not have intended to preempt state law causes of

action. The dissent adopts CSCAC’s position, arguing further that we

must determine the scope of ERISA’s preemption provision as of 1974,

without regard to subsequent amendments. (Dis. opn., post, pp. 1059-

1060.)

The premise of these arguments is incorrect. Even in 1974 ERISA

contained a cause of action to enforce its terms, section 502 (29 U.S.C.

§ 1132), and the remedies provided in section 502 are exclusive. With

the addition of section 515 of ERISA (29 U.S.C. § 1145) in 1980,

Congress sought only to streamline the process of collecting delinquent

A-12

(6) As the Court of Appeal in this case and the federal court in

Iron Workers, supra, noted, Pilot Life, supra, establishes that the

remedies in section 502 of ERISA are exclusive and displace

state laws which purport to create parallel remedies. “[T]he

detailed provisions of § 502(a) set forth a comprehensive civil

enforcement scheme.... The policy choices reflected in the in-

clusion of certain remedies and the exclusion of others under the

federal scheme would be completely undermined if ERISA-plan

participants and beneficiaries were free to obtain remedies under

state law that Congress rejected in ERISA. ‘The... carefully

integrated civil enforcement provisions found in § 502(a) of the

statute as finally enacted... provide strong evidence that Con-

gress did not intend to authorize other remedies that it simply

forgot to incorporate expressly.’ (Jron Workers, supra, 891 F.2d

at p. 555, quoting Pilot Life, supra, 481 U.S. at 54 [95 L.Ed.2d at

pp. 52], italics in original.) “The expectations that a federal

common law of rights and obligations under ERISA-regulated

plans would develop, ... would make little sense if the remedies

available to ERISA participants and beneficiaries under § 502(a)

{of ERISA] could be supplemented or supplanted by varying

state laws.” (Pilot Life, supra, 481 U.S. at p. 56 [95 L.Ed.2d at p.

53].)

contributions exclusively under federal law. (See 126 Cong. Rec. 23029

(1980): “Recourse available under current law for collecting delinquent

contributions is insufficient and unnecessarily cumbersome. . . . Federal

pension law must permit trustees of plans to recover delinquent contri-

butions efficaciously, and without regard to issues which might arise

under labor-management relations law—other than 29 U.S.C. § 186.”)

* Various amici curiae have asserted that section 3111 is saved from

preemption by a statement in the legislative history of the Multi-

Employer Pension Plan Amendments Act of 1980 (Pub.L. No. 96-364,

94 Stat. 1208 [hereafter Amendments]). We disagree. The Amend-

ments, among other things, added section_515 of ERISA (29 U.S.C.

§ 1145) and revised section 502(g) of ERISA (29 U.S.C. § 1132(g))

pertaining to awards of attorney fees, costs, and liquidated damages in

actions for delinquent contributions.

Commenting on the statutory provisions of section 502(g) of ERISA

(29 U.S.C. § 1132(g)), the relevant House committee stated: “the Bill

preempts any state or other law which would prevent the award of

A-13

(1f) In essence, CSCAC’s action under section 3111 is a civil

action by a fiduciary to enforce the provisions of ERISA with

regard to employer contributions (i.e., § 502(a) of ERISA, 29

U.S.C. § 1132(a) & § 515 of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1145) and to

enforce the terms of the plan (i.e., the funding contributions

required by the collective bargaining agreement). Like the Loui-

siana law in Jron Workers, supra, 891 F.2d 548, the state is

attempting to “regulate” the terms and conditions of a pension

plan through the use of a new cause of action, its lien laws. State

laws, however, may not be used to supplement or supplant the

civil enforcement scheme developed by ERISA. (See Pilot Life,

supra, 481 U.S. at p. 56 [95 L.Ed.2d at p. 53].)

in summary, by providing an additional cause of action to those

already provided by ERISA, section 3111, like the Louisiana law

in Iron Workers (supra, 891 F.2d 548), “regulates” ERISA

plans. This recognition further supports the conclusion that the

section “relates to” ERISA plans and is, thus, preempted.

reasonable attorney’s fees, court costs or liquidated damages, or which

would limit liquidated damages to an amount below the twenty percent

level. However, the Bili does not preclude the award of liquidated

damages in excess of the twenty percent level if an award of such a

higher level of liquidated damages is permitted under state or other law.

The Committee Amendment does not change any other type of remedy

permitted under state or federal law with respect to delinquent multiem-

ployer contributions.” (H.R. No. 96-868, pt. 2, on H.R. No. 3909 of the

House Com. on Ways and Means, 96th Cong., 2d Sess., pp. 3037-3038

(1980).)

Amici curiae argue that this section of the legislative history indicates

that Congress did not intend to preempt state laws granting mechanics’

lien rights to employee benefit plans. This reading of the House report is

too broad. This single comment, pertaining to specific collateral reme-

dies such as liquidated damages and attorney fees against delinquent

employers, does not evidence a legislative intent to allow for remedies

against delinquent employers that are not provided for in ERISA. Such

an interpretation of this comment would vitiate the extensive legislative

history of ERISA and the numerous United States Supreme Court

statements regarding Congress’s choice of certain enforcement provi-

sions and the exclusion of all others.

A-14

Other Arguments

Invoking Mackey v. Lanier Collections Agency & Serv., supra,

486 U.S. 825 [100 L.Ed.2d 836, 108 S.Ct. 2182] (Mackey),

CSCAC argues that section 3111 is not preempted because it is

an “ancillary state collection remed[y].” In Mackey, a creditor

sought to garnish money that an ERISA plan owed to its

beneficiaries, who were the creditor’s debtors. The Mackey court

analyzed a Georgia antigarnishment statute and Georgia’s general

garnishment procedures. The court concluded that a Georgia

Statute that barred the garnishment of funds or benefits of an

employee benefit plan subject to ERISA was preempted by

ERISA. The court held that this antigarnishment statute ex-

pressly referred to, and solely applied to, ERISA plans, and that

state laws which make reference to ERISA plans are laws that

“relate to” those plans within the meaning of section 514(a) of

ERISA (29 U.S.C. § 1144(a)). (Mackey, supra, 486 U.S. at p.

829 [100 L.Ed.2d at p. 843].) The ERISA plan beneficiaries in

Mackey further argued that the entire Georgia garnishment

procedure is preempted by ERISA. The United States Supreme

Court held that Georgia’s garnishment statute, as a generally

applicable mechanism for the enforcement of judgments, was not

preempted by ERISA. (Jd. at p. 841 [100 L.Ed.2d at p. 851].)

Mackey’s analysis of Georgia’s general garnishment procedures

does not save section 3111 from preemption. The decision con-

cerned a third party action for enforcement of judgments against

beneficiaries of an ERISA plan. ERISA does not contain reme-

dial provisions for such actions. Largely for this reason, the

United States Supreme Court concluded that “state-law methods

for collecting money judgments must, as a general matter, remain

undisturbed by ERISA; otherwise, there would be no way to

enforce such a judgment won against an ERISA plan.” (Mackey,

supra, 486 US. at p. 834 [100 L.Ed.2d at p. 846].) The present

case is not similar because ERISA expressly provides remedies

for recovery of delinquent contributions to employee benefit plans.

Furthermore, in holding that the Georgia garnishment statute

was not preempted, the high court noted that the statute “cre-

ate[d] no substantive causes of action, nor new bases for relief, or

any grounds for recovery; [it] does not create the rule of decision

A-15

in any case affixing liability.” (Mackey, supra, 486 U.S. at p. 834,

fn. 10 [100 L.Ed.2d at p. 847].) In contrast, California’s trust

fund lien statute does more than provide a new enforcement

mechanism for collecting judgments; it creates new substantive

rights. (Cf. Jron Workers, supra, 891 F.2d at p. 555.) Section

3111 permits the creditor (the trust fund) to enforce a debt (for

outstanding fringe benefit contributions) not against the debtor

(the defaulting employer), but against the property of a third

party that is not a party to the collective bargaining agreement.

Section 3111 gives a trust fund a right to a lien against the

property of third parties, such as El] Capitan, that the fund would

not, and does not, have under ERISA. In the absence of section

3111, El Capitan would have no liability to the funds for the

fringe benefit contributions. Therefore, section 3111 cannot be

upheld under Mackey as it creates a new substantive right against

the property of a third party that is not created by ERISA and,

thus, goes beyond being a mere means of enforcing a judgment.

(See Iron Workers, supra, 891 F.2d at p. 556.)

CSCAC next argues that section 3111 is not preempted be-

cause “[i]t regulates land nghts, historically a power reserved to

the state.” (7) However, “[i]n order to avoid preemption, it is not

sufficient that a state statute represent the exercise of traditional

state power. [Citation.] A purported fundamental state interest is

relevant only when there is an element of uncertainty as to

whether the challenged state law falls within the scope of the

ERISA preemption clause... . [|] However, the strength of the

state interest is of no consequence where the state law clearly

‘purports to regulate’ an employee benefit plan. ‘In order to avoid

being preempted, a state law in addition to being an exercise of

traditional police powers must also affect the plan ‘‘in too tenuous,

remote, or peripheral a manner to warrant a finding that the law

‘relates to’ the plan.""’"’ (Jones, supra, 846 F.2d at pp. 1220-

1221, citations omitted, italics added.) Section 3111 does not

affect ERISA plans merely in a “tenuous, remote, or peripheral”

manner, instead, it has a substantive effect. The section makes an

additional entity liable to plans for contributions. (See J/ron

Workers, supra, 891 F.2d at p. 556.)

A-16

Lastly, CSCAC argues that section 3111 “provides an effective

and necessary remedy for employee benefit plans.” That this may

be so is irrelevant. The United States Supreme Court has specifi-

cally held that even state laws which may help to effectuate

ERISA’S underlying purposes are still preempted. (Mackey,

supra, 486 U.S. at pp. 829-830 [100 L.Ed.2d at p. 844].) In

Mackey, the United States Supreme Court explained that

““*(t]he pre-emption provision [of § 514(a)}....displace[s] all

state laws that fall within its sphere, even including state laws that

are consistent with ERISA’s substantive requirements.’ Metropol-

itan Life Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts, [471 U.S. 724, 739]....

Legislative ‘good intentions’ do not save a state law within the

broad pre-emptive scope of § 514(a).” (Mackey, supra, 486 U.S.

at pp. 829-830 [100 L.Ed.2d at p. 844], italics added.) Thus, the

fact that the trust fund lien procedure may provide a remedy

useful to CSCAC is irrelevant.

Disposition

For the foregoing reasons, we conclude that Civil Code section

3111 is preempted by ERISA. The judgment of the Court of

Appeal is affirmed.

Lucas, C. J., Kennard, J., Arabian, J., and Baxter, J.,

concurred.

BROUSSARD, J.—I dissent. In Mackey v. Lanier Collection

Agency & Service (1988) 486 U.S. 825 [100 L.Ed.2d 836, 108

S.Ct. 2182] (hereafter Mackey), the United States Supreme

Court adopted two fundamental rules for the construction and

application of the express preemption provision (29 U.S.C.

§ 1144(a)) of the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of

1974 (ERISA) (29 U.S.C. § 1001 et seq.). The majority violate

both of them. Mackey also sets out three areas of state law which

are not preempted. All three are applicable in the instant case.

The majority ignore two areas and unduly limit the third. The

majority opinion attempts to dispose of Mackeyas a case which

merely deals with garnishment. However, it is clear that the

express statements and the reasoning of the high court are not

A-17

limited to garnishment but provide broad instruction as to the

state laws which are not preempted.

While it is, of course, proper to emphasize the broad language

used by the United States Supreme Court in describing the

preemption clause of ERISA, we may not stop there, but must

also recognize the limitations on preemption. And when we

recognize the correct function of a mechanics lien and the

relationship of the lien provided by Civil Code section 3111 to

employee compensation, it is clear under Mackey that we may not

discriminate against ERISA plans by denying them liens given to

others similarly situated, that we may not discriminate against

ERISA plan members in providing remedies for recovery of

compensation, that Congress did not intend to preempt state law

liens, including mechanics liens, and that, although probably not

essential to the decision in the instant case, Congress intended to

permit certain state law actions by ERISA plans to recover

delinquent employer contributions.

I. The Preemption Clause and Its Expansive Nature

The preemption clause of ERISA is very broad and encom-

passing, and although it could be read as preempting the applica-

tion of state law in any case in which an ERISA plan is a party, it

is settled that state law can be applied to some cases involving

ERISA plans and that we look to congressional intent in deter-

mining which state laws may be applied. The clause preempts

“any and all State laws insofar as they may now or hereafter relate

io any employee benefit plan... .” (29 U.S.C. § 1144(a), italics

added.) “The term ‘State law’ includes all laws, decisions, rules,

regulations, or other State action having the effect of law, of any

State.” (29 U.S.C. § 1144(c) (1).)

The United States Supreme Court has characterized the provi-

sion as “deliberately expansive” (Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux

(1986) 481 U.S. 41, 46 [95 L.Ed.2d 39, 46, 107 S.Ct. 1549]),

and as establishing “‘as an area of exclusive federal concern the

subject of every state law that ‘relate[s] to’ an employee benefit

plan governed by ERISA.” (FMC Corp. v. Holliday (1990) 498

US. . [112 L.Ed.2d 356, 364, 111 S.Ct. 403, 407].) A

state law relates to a benefit plan, in the normal sense of the

A-18

“6 >»

phrase, “ ‘if it has a connection with or reference to such a plan.

(Pilot Life Ins. Co. .. Dedeaux, supra, 481 U.S. 41, 47 [95

L.Ed.2d 39, 48].)

The language of the preemption provision and of the United

States Supreme Court cases is so broad that it could be under-

stood as meaning that state law could never be applied in

litigation involving an ERISA plan, except in cases coming within

the express exemption of the preemption clause for cases involv-

ing state laws regulating insurance, banking or securities. How-

ever, such a broad interpretation of the provision and the cases

would be improper.

[T]he question whether a certain state action is pre-empted

by federal law is one of congressional intent. “The purpose of

Congress is the ultimate touchstone.”’ [Citations.] To discern

Congress’ intent we examine the explicit statutory language and

the structure and purpose of the statute. (See FMC Corp. v.

Holliday, 498 U.S. : , 111 S.Ct. 403, 407, 112 L.Ed.2d

356 (1990), citing Shaw y. Delta Air Lines, Inc., supra, 463 U.S.,

at 95, 103 S.Ct., at 2898-99).” (Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McCienaon

(1990) ___ US. [112 L.Ed.2d 474, 483, 111 S.Ct.

478, 482].)

In the recent case of Ingersoll-Rand, the high court addressed

the purpose of the preemption clause. In that case a fired

employee claimed that he was wrongfully terminated for the

principal reason that his pension was about to vest after nearly 10

years of employment and that the employer sought to avoid the

expense of the pension. The court explained the purpose of the

preemption provision as follows: The preemption provision “was

intended to ensure that plans and plan sponsors would be subject

to a uniform body of benefit law; the goal was to minimize the

administrative and financial burden of complying with conflicting

directives among States or between States and the Federal

Government. Otherwise, the inefficiencies created could work to

the detriment of plan beneficiaries. FMC Corp., 498 U.S. at ___.,

111 S. Ct., at 408 (citing Fort Halifax, 482 U.S., at 10-11, 107

S.Ct., at 2216-17); Shaw, 463 U.S. at 105, and n. 25, 103 S.Ct.,

at 2904, and n. 25.) Allowing state based actions like the one at

issue here would subject plans and plan sponsors to burdens not

1

| ne

A-19

unlike those that Congress sought to foreclose through [the

preemption provision]. Particularly disruptive is the potential for

conflict in substantive law. It is foreseeable that state courts,

exercising their common law powers, might develop different

substantive standards applicable to the same employer conduct,

requiring the tailoring of plans and employer conduct to the

peculiarities of the law of each jurisdiction.” (Ingersoll-Rand Co.

v. McClendon, supra, 498 U.S. ' [112 L.Ed.2d 474,

486, 111 S.Ct. 478, 484).)

II. Congressional Intent and the Preemption Clause

The majority, in applying ERISA’s express preemption clause,

rely upon 29 United States Code section 1145, which requires

that employers who have agreed to make contributions to a

multiemployer plan shall make those contributions to the extent

not inconsistent with law. This provision provides federal causes

of action to recover employer delinquencies. However, the section

was not part of ERISA as originally enacted and for this reason it

furnishes no support for the view that the preemption clause in

ERISA preempted such causes of action. In Mackey, the United

States Supreme Court made clear that in interpreting the pre-

emption clause of ERISA, the congressional intent to be deter-

mined is the intent of the Congress that enacted the preemption

clause and not the intent of subsequent Congresses. [W]e must

look at the language of ERISA and its structure, to determine the

intent of the Congress that originally enacted the provision in

question. ‘It is the intent of the Congress that enacted [the

section]... that controls.” Teamsters v. United Staies, 431 U.S.

324, 354, n. 39 (1977).” (Mackey, supra, 486 U.S. at p. 840 [100

L.Ed.2d 851, 108 S.Ct. at p.2191.)

The provisions of 29 United States Code section 1145 were

| added to ERISA in 1980 as part of the Multiemployer Pension

| Plan Amendments Act. Since it was not part of ERISA as

| originally enacted, it is improper for the majority to rely upon it in

construing the express preemption provision.

Moreover, even if it were proper to consider the Multiemployer

Pension Plan Amendments Act of 1980 in construing the express

A-20

preemption provision, the entire 1980 act and its legislative

history must be considered, and when this is done it must be

concluded that Congress sought to retain state law actions to

recover delinquencies and only intended a limited preemption of

state law governing actions to recover delinquencies. As will be

pointed out later in this opinion in connection with implied

preemption, it is clear that Congress, when it enacted the Mul-

tiemployer Pension Plan Amendments Act of 1980, expressly

provided for the application of state law to actions for recovery of

delinquencies in certain circumstances (29 U.S.C.; § 1132(g)),

and that the legislative history of the act shows that Congress

intended the preemption of state law only where it limited

recovery against the employer to an amount less than federal law

provided. The majority ignore 29 United States Code section

1132(g) and the legislative history dealing with preemption.

Accordingly, at the outset, we must conclude that the provi-

sions of 29 United States Code section 1145 may not be consid-

ered in construing the preemption clause or to show an intent on

the part of the Congress to preempt state laws permitting recovery

for employer delinquencies equal to or greater than that permitted

by federal law.

II]. Laws Specifically Designed to Affect ERISA Plans

In Mackey, the high court stated that it has “virtually taken it

for granted that state laws which are ‘specifically designed to

affect employee benefit plans’ are pre-empted” under the preemp-

tion clause. (Mackey, supra, 486 U.S. at p. 829 [100 L.Ed.2d at

p. 844, 108 S.Ct. at p. 2185.]) On the basis of this rule the high

court invalidated a Georgia statute that exempted ERISA plans

from the state’s garnishment law. (/bid.) The majority in their

bottom line—by exempting ERISA plans from mechanics lien

laws—violate the rule against special treatment of ERISA plans.

As pointed out above, the express preemption provision applies

to “any and all State laws.” That term applies not merely to

Statutes but also to “decisions .. . having the effect of law of any

State.” (29 U.S.C. § 1144(c)(1).) Accordingly, just as it is

ordinarily improper for the Legislature to adopt statutes specifi-

—_—

A-21

cally designed to affect ERISA plans, it is improper for this court

through its decisions to establish laws specifically designed to

affect ERISA plans.

The ultimate effect of the majority opinion is to subject ERISA

plans and members of ERISA plans to special treatment. Civil

Code section 3110 grants mechanics liens to numerous specifi-

cally identified persons for services rendered when such persons

have been unpaid and have contributed to an improvement. Civil

Code section 3111 provides the same mechanics lien for ERISA

plans which administer fringe benefits like health insurance and

pension benefits. By permitting those enumerated in section 3110

to obtain liens but denying liens to ERISA plans, the majority

single out ERISA plans for special treatment. The payments to

the ERISA plan sought to be recovered are part of the compensa-

tion of those who furnish labor for the improvement. The net

effect of the state law established by the majority is that employ-

ees who are not members of ERISA plans obtain liens for their

entire unpaid compensation, whereas those who are members and

receive part of their compensation through ERISA plans obtain a

lien for only part of their compensation.

The majority seek to justify the special treatment of ERISA

plans by asserting that, unlike those mentioned in Civil Code

section 3110, ERISA plans do not furnish labor or materials to

the construction project. (Maj. opn., ante, p. 1049.) However, as

I demonstrate, the ERISA claim is part of the compensation for

the worker and must be treated the same as the other

compensation.

The cases have recognized that the claims of the ERISA plans

are part of the employee’s compensation and must be treated the

same as the compensation. In Plumber's Local 458 v. H. Immel,

Inc. (1989) 151 Wis.2d 233, [445 N.W.2d 43, 44-45], the

mechanics lien statute provided for a lien for “any person furnish-

ing labor,” and the court concluded that the lien statute could not

be restricted to hourly wages but included claims by ERISA plans

for funds for fringe benefits.

Similarly, in the closely analogous situation presented in United

States v. Carter (1956) 353 U.S. 210 [1 L.Ed.2d 776, 77 S.Ct.

A-22

793], the issue was the liability of a surety to fringe benefit funds

on a payment bond furnished by a contractor, as required by the

Miller Act (40 U.S.C. § 269a et seq.), for the protection of

persons furnishing labor or materials for the construction of

federal buildings. The statute provided that every “person who

has furnished labor or material in the work provided for in such

contract... shall have the right to sue on such payment bond. . .

for the sum justly due him.” (40 U.S.C. § 270b(a). The court

stated: “The Miller Act represents a congressional effort to

protect persons supplying labor and material for the construction

of federal public buildings in lieu of the protection they might

receive under state statutes with respect to the construction of

nonfederal buildings.” (353 U.S. at p. 216 [1 L.Ed.2d at p.

782].) Among the protection under state statutes, obviously, is

the mechanics lien statute applying to private buildings; thus, the

issue is clearly analogous. Notwithstanding that the statute was

phrased in terms “furnished labor,” the court concluded that the

fringe benefit funds could maintain an action on the bond. The

court reasoned in part that the “contributions were a part of the

compensation for the work to be done by [the] employees” and

that trustees “stand in the shoes of the employees and are entitled

to enforce their rights.” (Jd., at pp. 217-218, 220 [1 L.Ed.2d at

pp. 783-784]; see Morrison-Knudsen Constr. Co. v. Director,

OWCP (1982) 461 U.S. 624, 631 [76 L.Ed.2d 194, 200, 103

S.Ct. 2045].)

A similar view is found in our code sections dealing with stop

notices and state payment bonds (the state Miller Act counter-

part), which treat claims by laborers and ERISA plans as being

the same thing. (See Civ. Code, §§ 3181, 3247.)

Our court has long recognized the basic principle that claims

for fringe benefits are part of the compensation and must be

treated accordingly as to creditors’ rights. Thus in Dunlop v.

Tremayne (1965) 62 Cal.2d 427 [42 Cal.Rptr. 438, 398 P.2d 774,

17 A.L.R.3d 368], we held that under the preference statute

applicable to assignments for the benefit of creditors, Code of

Civil Procedure section 1204, health, welfare, and pension contri-

butions would be included under the term “wages.” The court

reasoned: “The terms and conditions of the payments were

A-23

ascertained by the employers and representatives of the employ-

ees in wage negotiations, as part of a total wage package. Pay-

ments are made by the employer not as a gift but in consideration

of the services of the employees. In an economic sense they are

wages.” (62 Cal.2d at p. 431.)

We cannot ignore the practical effect of our decisions. ERISA

plans and others who have unpaid claims based on construction

projects are usually unpaid because there are not enough funds to

go around. To permit architects, engineers, surveyors, mechanics,

laborers and others enumerated in Civil Code Section 3110 to

obtain liens while denying liens to ERISA plans is to make

LRISA plans second-class creditors. The effect of the preference

will ordinarily mean that section 3110 creditors will have a

preference and will receive all or part of their claims while

ERISA plans will receive none. Making the plans second-class

creditors flies in the face of ERISA’s express policy to protect the

interest of participants in the plans (29 U.S.C. § 1001(b), (c))

and, more particularly, ERISA’s express policy “to provide rea-

sonable protection for the interests of participants and benefi-

ciaries of financially distressed multiemployer pension plans” and

“to provide a financially self-sufficient program for the guarantee

of employer benefits under multiemployer plans.” (29 U.S.C.

§ 100la(c) (3), (4).)

The express preemption clause in ERISA is directed at state

law generally, including both statutory and decisional law.

Whether special treatment of ERISA plans is accomplished by a

statutory exemption from general law requirements as in Mackey,

or by a decision of the court permitting application of a specific

provision to everyone by enumerating them individually but

leaving out ERISA plans, the effect is the same. The special

treatment is preempted and, because the majority .. the bottom

line provide for special treatment, the law enunciated in their

decision is contrary to federal law and is thus preempted. More-

over, the decision discriminates against union employees belong-

ing to multiemployer ERISA plans by denying them lien rights

for the full amount of their compensation—while allowing non-

ERISA employees liens for all of their compensation.

A-24

IV. State Laws Not Preempted

Congress has not preempted state lien laws.

Mackey establishes three classes of state laws that are not

preempted.

The first class is those cases where Congress has provided for

the application of state law. (Mackey, supra, 486 U.S. at p. 832

[100 L.Ed.2d at pp. 845-846, 108 S.Ct. at pp. 2186-2187].) As

will appear in part VI of this opinion, Congress has expressly

provided for the use of state law to enforce the duty to make

payments to ERISA plans. “ERISA plans may be sued in a

second type of civil action, as well. These cases—lawsuits against

ERISA plans for run-of-the-mill claims such as unpaid rent,

failure to pay creditors, or even torts committed by an ERISA

plan —are relatively commonplace.” (486 U.S. at p. 833 [100

L.Ed.2d at p. 846, 108 S.Ct. at p. 2187], fn. omitted.) As will also

appear, mechanics liens are such run-of-the-mill claims.

The third class was the one before the high court, garnishment.

Because it was directly involved in Mackey it is treated first. The

reasoning of the high court is much broader than garnishment

used to collect a judgment, and it is improper to treat this part of

the Mackey opinion, as the majority do (maj. opn., ante, at pp.

1054-1055), as merely establishing a garnishment exception to

the preemption clause. The reasoning is applicable not merely to

garnishment but to all enforcement mechanisms for collecting

money judgments and also prejudgment mechanisms to secure

the collection of debts, including liens such as the mechanics lien

before us. And, while Mackey obviously involved a suit against an

ERISA plan, it is apparent the same view should apply when the

plan sues.

In Mackey, the court reasoned: “ERISA does not provide an

enforcement mechanism for collecting judgments won in cither of

these two types of actions. Thus, while section [1132(d)], the

‘sue and be sued’ provision, contemplates execution of judgments

won against plans in civil actions, it does not provide mechanisms

to do so. Moreover, Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 69(a), which

would apply when either type of civil suit discussed above is

brought against an ERISA plan in federal court, defers to state

ieee

A-25

law to provide methods for collecting judgments. [ Citation. ]

Consequently, state-law methods for collecting money judgments

must, as a general matter, remain undisturbed by ERISA; other-

wise, there would be no way to enforce such a judgment won

against an ERISA plan. If attachment of ERISA plan funds does

not ‘relate to’ an ERISA plan in any of these circumstances, we

do not see how respondent’s proposed garnishment order would

do so.” (486 U.S. at pp. 833-834 [100 L.Ed.2d at p. 846, 108

S.Ct. at p. 2187], fn. omitted.)

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, rule 69(a) provides that

proceedings “supplementary to and in aid of a judgment, and in

proceedings on and in aid of execution shall be in accordance with

the practice and procedure of the state in which the district court

is held.” It follows that parties seeking to obtain a judgment lien

must do so on the basis of state law. Since ERISA does not

provide for judgment liens and, so far as I am aware, the federal

government has not adopted a recording act for federal real

property judgment liens, the proceedings to obtain and enforce

judgment liens thus are entirely matters of state law even where

the judgment is a federal judgment.

Generally, proceedings to establish and enforce liens are run-

of-the-mill state law proceedings. The preliminary 20-day notice

of intent to file a mechanics lien (Civ. Code, §§ 3097, 3114) is

probably the most often served legal document in our state.

Similarly, mortgages and deeds of trust are probably among the

most frequently recorded documents in this state, and, of course,

the purpose of the recording is to establish the lien. The reconvey-

ance to cancel the mortgage or deed of trust lien is recorded with

equal frequency.

Furthermore, to conclude that state lien laws are preempted

when ERISA plans are involved means that millions, perhaps

billions, of dollars invested by ERISA pension plans in notes

secured by mortgages and deeds of trust are jeopardized. Those

liens, like mechanics liens, provide an “additional cause of action”

in the property of a fourth party, a party other than the employer,

employee or the plan, and ERISA does not provide a method to

enforce mortgages. To suggest that a Congress which adopted a

comprehensive law to protect the interests of participants in

A-26

employee benefit plans (29 U.S.C. § 1001(b)) intended to pre-

empt state lien laws strains credulity.

Generally, state law prejudgment mechanisms for securing the

ultimate payment of debts are utilized by the federal courts.

While Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, rule 69(a) provides for

the adoption of state law methods to obtain collection after.

judgment, rule 64 provides for the adoption of prejudgment state

law methods to secure payment of debts. The rule provides that

the remedies thus available “include arrest, attachment, garnish-

ment, replevin, sequestration, and other corresponding or

equivalent remedies, however designated and regardless of

whether by state procedure the remedy is ancillary to an action or

must be obtained by an independent action.” Under this provision

it is clear that the builders of a building for an ERISA plan and

their workers should be able to secure and enforce in federal court

(when jurisdiction is proper) a mechanics lien arising against the

property under state law. Likewise, ERISA plans under this

provision should be entitled to enforce state law liens, including

mechanics liens.

No distinction may be made as to liens arising from the

provisions of ERISA plans and other liens in favor or against

ERISA plans. In Mackey, the Solicitor General argued that while

other types of garnishment may be permitted with respect to

ERISA plans, the court should not permit garnishment when it

will affect whether benefits will be paid to a plan participant.

ERISA expressly provides that a participant or beneficiary may

bring an action to recover benefits due, to enforce rights under the

plan, to clarify rights under the plan and to obtain equitable relief

(29 U.S.C. § 1132(a)(1)(B), (a)(3)), and Pilot Life Ins. Co. v.

Dedeaux, supra, 481 U.S. 41 (hereafter Pilot Life), held that

ERISA preempted state law causes of action by a participant or

beneficiary to enforce his or her rights.

The Mackey court rejected the Solicitor General’s argument on

the ground that the preemption clause did not permit the distinc-

tion—it could not be held that the garnishment did not “relate to”

the plan when fourth parties were involved but did “relate to” the

plan when the rights of plan participants were involved. (486 U.S.

at p. 836 [100 L.Ed.2d at p. 848, 108 S.Ct. at pp. 2188-2189.) |

A-27

Similarly, here, it may not be concluded that mechanics liens do

not “relate to” the plan when laborers or suppliers seek to

establish liens against an office building built by a plan, but

“relate to” the plan when it seeks to recover employer

contributions.

The majority argue that Civil Code section 3111 creates new

substantive rights permitting the plan to enforce a debt against

property of a fourth party who is not a party to the collective

bargaining agreement. (Maj. opn., ante, p. 1055) However, the

lien does not create personal liability of the owner. It has long

been recognized that the lien of the mechanic, artisan and

supplier is equitable because those parties have created the very

property upon which the lien attaches. (Tuttle v. Montford

(1857) 7 Cal. 358, 360; Connolly Development, Inc. v. Superior

Court (1976) 17 Cal.3d 803, 825-827 [132 Cal.Rptr. 477, 553

P.2d 637].) Obviously, return of the materials or labor to the

unpaid supplier or laborer is not a viable option, and the law’s

recognition of the unpaid supplier’s and laborer’s contributions to

the improvement does not create a debt or personal liability on

the part of the owner, but only an interest in the property they

helped create.

The fact that the mechanics lien may provide a priority against

fourth parties, so that if the debt is unpaid the lienor may proceed

to the detriment of fourth parties, does not mean that a personal

cause of action is created. The effect of a lien against property is

to give the lienor priority against some other claimants to the

property, such as owners, subsequent mortgagees, judgment lien-

ors or purchasers. In other words, the fact that a lien may

prejudice fourth party claimants is not unique to mechanics liens

but is common to all liens, and the effect in all cases is to give the

lienor an actionable claim against the property affecting fourth

parties with lesser priority. Only when the employer and the

owner are the same, such as a specification builder, will the owner

be individually liable, and then his liability exists even though the

plan does not seek to enforce the lien. As we have seen, the

ERISA plan merely stands in the shoes of the workers and seeks

recovery of their compensation, so its lien also is based upon the

creation of the very property upon which the lien attaches.

A-28

The fact that California has created a cause of action limited to

property rights of a fourth party does not mean there is preemp-

tion. The Georgia garnishment statute upheld in Mackey created

a cause of action in favor of a fourth party against ERISA plans.

ERISA is fundamentally concerned with the relationship between

the members of the plan, employers, and the plan and its

fiduciary, and hardly any of its provisions are concerned with the

rights and duties of fourth parties.

I conclude that ERISA, which does not preempt state laws

providing mechanisms to collect judgments, also does not pre-

empt state laws providing prejudgment mechanisms to secure the

payment of debts such as liens, and that this is true even if

Congress has preempted causes of action to collect the debt.

V. The Cause of Action to Recover Employer Payments

Since the instant case involves a state law lien which is not

preempted whether or not the related cause of action to collect

the debt is preempted, it does not seem necessary to reach the

issue whether ERISA’s preemption ciause preempts actions to

enforce the agreed payment. Nevertheless, I will deal with the

issue because the majority address it. My conclusion is that

ERISA, as originally enacted, did not provide a federal cause of

action for plans to recover a money judgment against delinquent

employers and that, if state law causes of action were found

preempted, the fundamental congressional purpose of protecting

employee benefits would be defeated.

As pointed out above, in interpreting the preemption clause we

look to the intent of the Congress that enacted the clause and

consider the structure of ERISA. In a comprehensive statute to

regulate ERISA plans there are obviously three areas requiring

regulation, namely, the relationship between the employer and the

ERISA plan, the operation of the plan in using the assets, and the

relationship between the plan and its members and beneficiaries.

The civil enforcement section of ERISA, as originally enacted,

provided for a federal cause of action by a participant or benefici-

ary to recover benefits due from an ERISA plan, to enforce rights

under the plan terms, and to clarify future nights. (29 U.S.C.

§ 1132(a)(1)(B).) A federal cause of action was also provided

A-29

for actions by the Secretary of Labor, participant, beneficiary, or

fiduciary against fiduciaries for breach of duty by a fiduciary. (29

U.S.C. § 1132(a)(2).) There was a general provision to enforce

the terms of the plan, but that provision was limited to equitable

relief. Subparagraph (3) of 29 United States Code section

1132(a) provided for an action “by a participant, beneficiary or

fiduciary (A) to enjoin any act or practice which violates any

provision of this subchapter or the terms of the plan, or (B) to

obtain other appropriate equitable relief (i) to redress such

violations or (ii) to enforce any provisions of this subchapter or

the terms of the plan.” (Italics added.)

It is apparent that subparagraph (3) of 29 United States Code

section 1132(a) only provides for equitable proceedings. Because

subparagraph (1) expressly provides for causes of action to

recover benefits due to participants and beneficiaries, and because

they are mentioned along with fiduciaries in subparagraph (3), it

is Clear that the latter subparagraph does not authorize an action

at law to recover a money judgment against delinquent employers,

and that as originally enacted Congress did not provide for such a

federal cause of action. The fact that in 1980 Congress found it

necessary to add provisions for a money judgment against a

delinquent employer (29 U.S.C. §§ 1145, 1132(g)) lends support

to the conclusion that, as originally enacted, ERISA did not

provide for such an action.

Once it is recognized that Congress did not provide a federal

cause of action to recover delinquencies in ERISA as originally

enacted, we must conclude that Congress did not intend to

preempt such causes of action under state law. A conclusion that

there was no action to collect employer delinquencies under either

federal or state law would simply defeat the fundamental purpose

of ERISA to protect employee benefit rights. (29 U.S.C. § 1001.)

We cannot attribute such an intent to Congress.

VI. Implied Preemption of Causes of Action for

Delinquencies

Even though the express preemption clause of ERISA did not

preempt state law causes of action to recover money judgments

A-30

for employer delinquencies, the question remains whether the

1980 amendments to ERISA in themselves established an intent

to preempt the state law causes of action. Although the existence

of a detailed regulatory scheme does not by itself imply preemp-

tion, special features of a law may do so, including that the state

law provides a parallel scheme of federal rights. (See /ngersoll-

Rand Co. v. McClendon, supra, 498 U.S. : [112

L.Ed.2d 474, 486-487, 111 S.Ct. 478, 484-486].)

The 1980 amendments included 29 United States Code section

1145, which imposed a federal duty upon employers to make their

contributions to a multiemployer plan, and 29 United States Code

section 1132(g), which provided the damages to be awarded in

actions to enforce section 1145. However, section 1132(g) (2) (C)

expressly provides for application of state law in certain circum-

stances, and the legislative history of the 1980 enactment makes

clear that the 1980 amendments were intended to retain state law

causes of action and to preempt state law only insofar as it

provided for lesser damages than those provided by Congress.

The fact that Congress has provided for damages to be fixed in

part under state law contemplates state law causes of action to

determine what are state law damages. The legislative history of

the amendments makes clear that this is exactly what Congress

contemplated.

The staff report of the Senate Committee of Labor and Human

Relations states that the Multiemployer Pension Plan Amend-

ments Act Of 1980 was intended “to promote the prompt pay-

ment of contributions and assist plans in recovering the ‘cost

incurred in connection with delinquencies.” (Staff Rep. of the

Sen. Com. on Labor and Human Relations, Sen. No. 1076:

Multiemployer Pension Plan Amendments Act of 1980, 96th

Cong., 2d Sess., p. 44 (1980) Sen. Labor Com. Print.) Congress

recognized that the instability of the construction industry caused

funds to accrue benefit obligations without collecting sufficient

contribution to fund those benefits. (H.R.Rep. No. 96-869(I), 2d

Sess., p. 51 (1980), reprinted in 1980 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.

News, pp. 2918, 2921.) “The Bill preempts any state or other law

which would prevent the award of reasonable attorney’s fees,

court costs or liquidated damages, or which would limit liquidated

A-31

damages to an amount below the 20 percent level. However, the

Bill does not preclude the award of liquidated damages in excess

of the 20 percent level where an award of such a higher level of

liquidated damages is permitted under applicable State or other

law. The Committee amendment does not change any other type

of remedy permitted under State or Federal law with respect to

delinquent multiemployer plan contributions.” (1980 U.S. Code

Cong. & Admin. News, supra, at pp. 3037-3038, italics added.)

It is thus clear that in 1980 Congress intended to retain state

causes of action and did not intend to preempt state causes of

action to recover delinquencies except to the extent that such

causes of action precluded an award of damages provided by the

1980 amendments.

VII. No Additional Remedies Language

In Pilot Life, the high court stated: “In sum, the detailed

provisions of [29 United States Code § 1132(a)]} set forth a

comprehensive civil enforcement scheme that represents a careful

balancing of the need for prompt and fair claims settlement

procedures against the public interest in encouraging the forma-

tion of employee benefit plans. The policy choices refiected in the

inclusion of certain remedies and the exclusion of others under

the federal scheme would be completely undermined if ERISA-

plan participants and beneficiaries were free to obtain remedies

under state law that Congress rejected in ERISA. ‘The six

carefully integrated civil enforcement provisions found in [29

United States Code § 1132(a)] as finally enacted... provide

strong evidence that Congress did not intend to authorize other

remedies that it simply forgot to incorporate expressly.” (481

US. at p. 54 [95 L.Ed.2d at p. 52], first and second italics added,

third italics in original.)

In Pilot Life, it was held that a state law action for breach of

the covenant of good faith and fair dealing brought by a plan

participant for delay in paying benefits was preempted.

The majority rely upon the above quoted language in arguing

that a state law cause of action to enforce claims for employer

delinquencies is preempted. However, the language must be read

A-32

in context, and within its own limitations. To read the quoted

language broadly as meaning that states may not provide any

remedies in cases involving ERISA plans would be directly

contrary to the subsequent Mackey case, decided shortly after

Pilot Life. Mackey held that state law garnishment and run-of-

the-mill causes of action were not preempted. It is apparent that

the high court is not reading the language so broadly as to

generally preempt state law remedies involving fourth parties

since neither the majority nor the dissent in Mackey saw fit to

even discuss the language. By its own terms Pilot Life’s language

is limited to cases involving claims by participants and benefi-

Cciaries, and as pointed out above, 29 United States Code section

1132(a) provides both a federal cause of action for damages and

equitable relief in such cases. By. contrast, the section as origi-

nally enacted provided only equitable relief where a plan sued to

enforce the employer’s promise to pay. There were not six

carefully crafted remedies to sustain the rights of the plans.

Additionally, the predicate for preemption is that Congress has

provided remedies, but as pointed out above, Congress has not

provided mechanisms, like liens, for collection of debts whether

before or after judgment. I conclude that the broad language is

inapplicable here because it is limited to actions by participants

and beneficiaries, and to situations where Congress has provided

remedies. .

Iron Workers Pension Fund v. Terotechnology (Sth Cir. 1990)

891 F.2d 548, 553, also relied upon by the majority (maj. opn.,

ante, p. 1053) is largely based on a broad reading of the no-

additional-remedy language of Pilot Life. The court did-not

recognize that, as so read, Pilot Life would be in direct conflict

with the later Mackey decision or that, even assuming that

Congress provided a cause of action t» collect delinquencies, it

did not provide mechanisms to collect the amounts found due.

There also is no merit in the claim that Civil Code section 3111

is preempted because it imposes funding requirements. It does not

establish the level of funding. It is no more a funding statute than

statutes providing for attachment, garnishment, judgment liens, or

mortgage liens are funding statutes.

A-33

VIII. Conclusion

I conclude that Civil Code section 3111 is not preempted by

ERISA. California law, whether due to statute or judicial deci-

sion, is preempted by ERISA if it singles out ERISA plans for

special treatmeat. ERISA plans, in seeking the agreed payments,

stand in the shoes of their members furnishing labor for improve-

ments, and by treating the plans differently than other compensa-

tion claims, including those of nonmembers, the majority opinion,

not the Legislature, provides special treatment for ERISA plans

and their members.

Although the sweep of the preemption clause in ERISA is

broad, it does not preempt state lien laws or other pretrial

mechanisms for securing payment of debts. In addition, although

the point probably need not be decided, the absence of any federal

cause of action at law to recover a money judgment for employer

delinquencies precludes finding that Congress intended, when the

preemption clause was adopted, to preempt such state causes of

action because such preemption would mean that there was no

cause of action, state or federal, to recover payments promised to

ERISA plans. Given the fundamental, expressed purpose of

Congress to protect employee benefits, an intent to preclude all

such actions cannot be attributed to Congress. In the Multiem-

ployer Pension Plan Amendments Act of 1980, Congress sought

to add new remedies to permit collection of employer delinquen-

cies and sought to preempt state law remedies only insofar as they

precluded the full recovery provided by federal law. The congres-

sional history shows that Congress believed there were state

remedies to recover delinquencies and intended to preserve them.

Civil Code section 3111 has not been preempted, and the

judgment of the Court of Appeal should be reversed.

Mosk, J., concurred.

A-34

Appendix B

Not To Be Published In Official Reports

In the Court of Appeal

of the State of California

Fifth Appellate District

Carpenters Southern California Administrative Corporation,

Plaintiff and Appellant,

Vv.

El] Capitan Development Company,

Defendant and Respondent.

5 Civil No. F006233

(Super. Ct. No. 185215)

[Filed Mar 20 1987]

OPINION

APPEAL from a judgment of the Superior Court of Kern

County. Henry E. Bianchi, Judge.

Cox, Castle & Nicholson, James P. Watson, Law Offices of

Charles P. Scuily, Inc., Donald C. Carroll, De Carlo & Connor,

John T. De Carlo, Law Offices of Richard A. Brownstein, Karen

L. Holliday, for Plaintiff and Appellant.

Littler, Mendelson, Fastiff & Tichy, Karen E. Ford and Major

Williams, Jr., for Defendant and Respondent.

Appellants, Carpenters Southern California Administrative

Corporation (hereafter CSCAC) filed a complaint in Kern

County Superior Court against E] Capitan Development Com-

pany (hereafter E] Capitan) and numerous Does, with the pur-

pose of foreclosing on mechanics’ liens. CSCAC had filed the

mechanics’ liens in order to collect fringe benefit contributions

allegedly due its members pursuant to a collective bargaining

agreement entered into with a subcontractor. During the term of

the agreement, CSCAC members who were carpenters coming

A-35

under the collective bargaining agreement were employed by the

subcontractor, who in turn worked on E] Capitan’s property. The

subcontractor allegedly failed to pay fringe benefit contributions

in excess of $121,000 under the terms of the collective bargaining

agreement.

El] Capitan demurred. In the demurrer, it was argued the

complaint failed to state a cause of action because the California

statutory lien procedure upon which it was based (Civ. Code,

§ 3111)’ was preempted by the Employee Retirement Income

Security Act of 1974, as amended (hereafter ERISA). (See 29

U.S.C. 1144.) The demurrer was granted with leave to amend.

Plaintiffs declined to amend (purportedly upon agreement by the

parties. Judgment was entered on August 8, 1985. CSCAC timely

appeals.

FACTS

Both parties have attempted to abbreviate the facts since the

issue presented is ultimately one of law and many of the facts are

undisputed.

CSCAC is the administrator and assignee of rights involving

various multi-employer trust funds. The carpenters’ trust funds

are such multi-employer benefit trusts. They are organized pursu-

ant to section 302, subsection (c)(5) of the Labor Management

Relations Act of 1947. (See 29 U.S.C. § 18, subsec. (c) (5).) As

a result, CSCAC is a fiduciary, as defined by ERISA, and the

trust funds in question are employee pension benefit plans or

welfare plans within the meaning of ERISA. (See 29 U.S.C.

§ 1002, subsecs. (1), (2)(A), and (21)(A).)

The trust funds in question are funded through employer

contributions for covered employees. In this case, those employ-

ees were members of unions affiliated with the United Brother-

hood of Carpenters and Joiners of America (hereafter Union).

Due to its fiduciary relationship with the unions, and in its role as

administrator of the trust, CSCAC is under a duty to collect

' All statutory references are to the Civil Code unless otherwise

indicated.

A-36

contributions from employers who have failed to voluntarily make

the required payments to the trust.

A condominium project was constructed on property in Bakers-

field owned by El Capitan. The general contractor on the project

was Grupe Construction. Grupe subcontracted with Pacific

Southwestern Framing for part of the framing on the condomin-

ium project.

In the complaint, CSCAC alleged John Hall Enterprises, the

subcontractor with whom the collective bargain agreement in

question was made, was an entity related to Pacific Southwestern

Framing. As a result, Pacific Southwestern Framing was bound

by the agreement with Hall, and therefore responsible for making

the contributions to the trust. However, neither El Capitan nor

Pacific Southwestern Framing were signatories to the collective

bargaining agreement.

Since the unpaid contributions represent work performed on E]

Capitan property, CSCAC asserted the position in its complaint

that mechanics’ liens could be placed upon the real property

pursuant to section 3111. The section is part of the statutory

scheme in California for allowing trust funds such as those in the

present case to place liens on real property in an amount equal to

the unpaid fringe benefit contributions under collective bargaining

agreements. (See, ¢.g., §§ 3111, 3111.5, 304, 3114-3116, 3123,

3128-3140, 3143-3154.) Mechanics’ liens in this action were

timely recorded by CSCAC on the El Capitan property, and

foreclosure was sought in this action as a means of collecting the

trust fund contributions still owed.

IS APPLICATION OF SECTION 3111 IN THE INSTANT

CASE PREEMPTED BY ERISA?

DISCUSSION

Section 3111 provides:

“For the purposes of this chapter, an express trust fund

established pursuant to a collective bargaining agreement to

which payments are required to be made on account of fringe

benefits supplemental to a wage agreement for the benefit of

A-37

a claimant on particular real property shall have a lien on

such property in the amount of the supplemental fringe

benefit payments owing to it pursuant to the collective

bargaining agreement.”

The pertinent portions of ERISA Provide:

“[ T]he provisions of this subchapter and subchapter III of

this chapter shal] supersede any and all State laws insofar as

they may now or hereafter relate to any employee benefit

plan....” (29 U.S.C. § 1144, subsec. (a); ERISA § 514,

subsec. (a).)

“The term ‘State law’ includes all laws, decisions, rules,

regulations, or other State action having the effect of law, of

any State. A law of the United States applicable only to the

District of Columbia shall be treated as a State law rather

than a law of the United States.

“The term ‘State’ includes a State, any political subdivi-

sions thereof, or any agency or instrumentality of either,

which purports to regulate, directly or indirectly, the terms

and conditions of employee benefit plans covered by this

subchapter.” (29 U.S.C. § 1144, subsecs. (c)(1) & (2);

ERISA § 514, subsecs. (1) & (2).)

According to El Capitan, section 3111 is preempted by the

above provisions of ERISA. The two-prong test for preemption in

this area was recently expressed by the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit:

“The U.S. Supreme Court cases addressing the issue of

preemption of state statutes by § 514 have begun with the

question of whether the challenged state statute ‘related to’

employee benefit plans within the meaning of § 514(a). E.g.

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts, 105 S.Ct. at

2389; Shaw v. Delta Airlines, Inc., 468 U.S. at 98-101, 103

S.Ct. AT 2900-2902. The Supreme Court in Shaw v. Delta

Air Lines discussed the ‘relates to’ provision of ERISA, in

holding that the New York Human Rights and Disability

Benefits Law ‘related to’ an ERISA plan. The Court stated

that ‘[a] law “relates to” an employee benefit plan, in the

A-38

normal sense of the phrase, if it has a connection with or

reference to such a plan.’ Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc. 463

U.S. at 96-97, 103 S.Ct. at 2899-2900. The Court applied

this definition to the laws in question in Shaw, and held that

the laws ‘prohibit{ed] employers from structuring their em-

ployee benefit plans in a manner that discriminates on the

basis of pregnancy,’ and required employers to pay employ-

ees specific benefits. These requirements ‘related to’ plans

and, thus, called into play the preemption clause. Shaw v.

Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. at 96-97, 103 S.Ct. at 2899-

2900. The Court stated that Congress meant to use the

statutory words in their broadest sense. Jd. at 97, 103 S.Ct. at

2900.

“In this Circuit, there is also a requirement that the state

law be a rule which ‘purports to regulate’ ERISA plans.

Martori Bros. Distributor v. James-Massengale, 78) F.2d

1349 (9th Cir.1986). Martori founder this second prong in

Lane v. Goren, 743 F.2d 1337 (9th Cir. 1984), which held

that the California Fair Employment and Housing Act, as

applied to employees of a Trust which administered ar

ERISA plan, did not regulate the Plan as a plan, but only as

any other employer would be regulated.” (United Food &

Commercial Workers v. Pacyga (9th Cir. 1986) 801 F.2d

1157, 1160.)

The state law in Pacyga was found to be one which “purports to

regulate the Plan as a plan, inasmuch as it disallows a specific

provision of the Plan, rather than regulating the activities of the

Plan that are common to other groups.” (/bid.)

The question of preemption was vigorously researched and

briefed, both in the trial court and in the briefs before us.

However, in fairness to the court below, subsequent to its granting

of the demurrer and entry of judgment, Division One of the First

Appellate District handed down its opinion in Carpenters Health

& Welfare Trust Fund v. Parnas Corp. (1986) 176 Cal.App.3d

1196.

Diidiniiineeimmiaieeenal

A-39

The Parnas court reached the opposite result as that reached by

the trial court in the instant case: section 3111 is not preempted

by ERISA.

CSCAC did not discuss Parnas in its opening brief since, again,

the case was filed after the opening brief. E] Capitan, on the other

hand, takes issue with the case and urges us not to follow it. In

their reply brief, CSCAC argues that Parnas was correctly

decided and should be followed. We agree.

E] Capitan launches a long multi-pronged attack for preemp-

tion. However, we conclude the Parnas decision was correctly

decided and that we should follow it. (Auto Equity Sales, Inc. v.

Superior Court (1962) 57 Cal.2d 450.)

Although we have differed with other appellate courts when

convinced they are wrong (e.g., Price v. Superior Court (1986)

186 Cal.App.3d 156), we do so only when a strong showing is

made that the case is wrong and deserves a different appellate

opinion and possible attention from a higher court. In this case we

have studied E] Capitan’s criticisms of the Parnas rationale and

conclude Parnas made the proper distinction between federal

substantive law relating to covered plans and state remedies to

enforce the nights arising from such plans.

The judgment is reversed. Respondent to recover costs of

appeal.

WOOLPERT

Acting P.J.

WE CONCUR:

BALLANTYNE

J.

VARTABEDIAN

tg

* Assigned by the Chairperson of the Judicial Council.

A-40

Appendix C

Order Granting Review

After Judgment by the Court of Appeal

Fifth District, Division One, No. F006233-S000772

In the Supreme Court of the State of California

In Bank

Carpenters Southern California Administrative Corporation,

Appellant

v.

E] Capitan Development Company,

Respondent

[Filed Jun 18 1987]

Respondent’s petition for review GRANTED. The cause is

transferred to the Court of Appeal, Fifth Appellate District, for

reconsideration in light of Pilot Life Insurance Company v.

Dedeaux (1987) 107 S. Ct. 1549.

The request for an order directing publication of the opinion is

denied.

Lucas

Chief Justice

Panelli

Associate Justice

Arguelles

Associate Justice

Eagleson

Associate Justice

Kaufman

Associate Justice

Associate Justice

Associate Justice

A-41

Appendix D

Certified for Publication

In the Court of Appeal of the State of California

Fifth Appellate District

Carpenters Southern California Administrative Corporation,

Plaintiff and Appellant,

¥,

El Capitan Development Company,

Defendant and Respondent.

5 Civil No. F008840

(Super. Ct. No. 185215)

OPINION

[Filed Jan 11 1988]

APPEAL from a judgment of the Superior Court of Kern

County. Henry E. Bianchi, Judge.

Cox, Castle & Nicholson, James P. Watson, Law Offices of

Charles P. Scully, Inc., Donald C. Carroll, De Carlo & Connor,

John T. De Carlo, Law Offices of Richard A. Brownstein, Karen

L. Holliday, for Plaintiff and Appellant.

Littler, Mendelson, Fastiff & Tichy, Karen E. Ford and Major

Williams, Jr., for Defendant and Respondent.

Appellant, Carpenters Southern California Administrative Cor-

poration (CSCAC), filed a complaint in Kern County Superior

Court against El Capitan Development Company (E] Capitan)

and numerous Does, to foreclose on mechanics’ liens. CSCAC

had filed the mechanics’ liens in order to collect fringe-benefit

contributions allegedly due its members pursuant to its collective

bargaining agreement with a subcontractor. During the term of

the agreement, CSCAC members, wi.u were carpenters covered

by the collective bargaining agreement, were employed by the

subcontractor, who in turn performed work on El Capitan’s

A-42

Property. The subcontractor allegedly failed to pay fringe benefit

contributions, in excess of $121,000, due under the terms of the

collective bargaining agreement.

E] Capitan demurred. It argued the complaint failed to state a

cause of action because the California statutory lien procedure

upon which it was based (Civ. Code, § 3111)' was Preempted by

the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, as

amended (ERISA). (See 29 U.S.C. 1144.) The demurrer was

granted with leave to amend. Plaintiffs declined to amend (pur-

portedly upon agreement by the parties.) Judgment was entered

on August 8, 1985. CSCAC timely appealed.

We reversed the judgment. However, the California Supreme

Court granted respondent’s petition for review and transferred the

matter to us for reconsideration in light of a subsequently decided

case, Pilot Life Insurance Company v. Dedeaux (1987) 107 S.Ct.

1549 (hereinafter Pilot Life). We do so, and conclude the recent

decision requires us to affirm the judgment on the basis of federal

preemption.

FACTS

CSCAC is the administrator and assignee of rights involving

various multi-employer trust funds, including the carpenters’ trust

funds. They are organized pursuant to section 302. subsection

(c)(5) of the Labor Management Relations Act of 1947. (See 29

U.S.C. § 18, subsec. (c)(5).) As a result, CSCAC is a fiduciary,

as defined by ERISA, and the trust funds in question are

employee pension benefit plans or welfare Plans within the

meaning of ERISA. (See 29 U.S.C. § 1002, subsecs. (1),

(2)(A), and (21)(A).)

These trust funds are funded through employer contributions

for covered employees. In this case, those employees were mem-

bers of unions affiliated with the United Brotherhood of

Carpenters and Joiners of America (Union). Due to its fiduciary

relationship with the unions, and in its role as administrator of the

' All statutory references are to the Civil Code unless otherwise

indicated.

A-43

trust, CSCAC is under a duty to collect contributions from

employers who have failed to voluntarily make the required

Payments to the trust.

A condominium project was constructed on property in Bakers-

field owned by E] Capitan. The general contractor on the Project

was Grupe Construction. Grupe subcontracted with Pacific

Southwestern Framing for part of the framing on the condomin-

ium project.

In the complaint, CSCAC alleged John Hall Enterprises, the

subcontractor with whom the collective bargain agreement was

made, was an entity related to Pacific Southwestern Framing. As

a result, Pacific Southwestern Framing was bound by the agree-

ment with Hall, and therefore responsible for making the contri-

butions to the trust. However, neither El Capitan nor Pacific

Southwestern Framing signed the collective bargaining

agreement.

Since the unpaid contributions represent work performed on E]

Capitan property, CSCAC alleged mechanics’ liens could be

placed upon the rea! property pursuant to section 3111. The

section is part of California’s statutory scheme which permits

trust-fund liens on real property in amounts equal to the fringe

benefit contributions owed under collective bargaining agree-

ments. (See, e.g., §§ 3111, 3111.5, 304, 3114-3116, 3123, 3128-

3140, 3143-3154.) Mechanics’ liens in this action were timely

recorded by CSCAC on the E] Capitan property, and foreclosure

was sought in this action as a means of collecting the trust fund

contributions still owed.

APPLICATION OF SECTION 3111

VERSUS PREEMPTION BY ERISA.

Section 3111 provides:

“For the purposes of this chapter, an express trust fund

established pursuant to a collective bargaining agreement to

which Payments are required to be made on account of

fringe benefits supplemental to a wage agreement for the

benefit of a claimant on Particular real property shall have a

A-44

lien on such property in the amount of the supplemental

fringe benefit payments owing to it pursuant to the collective

bargaining agreement.”

The pertinent portions of ERISA Provide: F

“[ T Jhe provisions of this subchapter and subchapter ITI of

this chapter shall supersede any and all State laws insofar as

they may now or hereafter relate to any employee benefit

plan....” (29 U.S.C. § 1144, subsec. (a); ERISA § 514,

subsec. (a).)

“The term ‘State law’ includes all laws, decisions, rules,

regulations, or other State action having the effect of law, of

any State. A law of the United States applicable only to the

District of Columbia shall be treated as a State law rather

than a law of the United States.

“The term ‘State’ includes a State, any political subdivi-

sions thereof, or any agency or instrumentality of either,

which purports to regulate, directly or indirectly, the terms

and conditions of employee benefit plans covered by this

subchapter.” (29 U.S.C. § 1144, subsecs. (c)(1) & (2);

ERISA § 514, subsecs. (1) & (2).)

According to El Capitan, section 3111 is preempted by the

above quoted provisions of ERISA. The question of preemption

was vigorously researched and briefed in the trial court. Subse-

quent to the trial court’s granting of the demurrer and entry of

judgment, Division One of the First Appellate District filed its

opinion in Carpenters Health & Welfare Trust Fund v. Parnas

Corp. (1986) 176 Cal. App.3d 1196. The Parnas court reached

the opposite result as that reached by the trial court in this case.

According te Parnas, section 3111 is not preempted by ERISA.

El] Capitan took issue with the Parnas case and urged it not be

followed by this court. In reply, CSCAC argued Parnas was

correctly decided and should be followed. We agreed with

CSCAC, applying Parnas and Auto Equity Sales, Inc. v. Superior

Court (1962) 57 Cal.2d 450.

We studied El Capitan’s criticisms of the Parnas rationale and

concluded Parnas made the proper distinction between federal

A-45

substantive law relating to covered plans and state remedies to

enforce the rights arising from such plans.

In Pilot Life, the issue before the court was phrased by Justice

O’Connor as follows:

“This case presents the question whether the Employee

Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA), 88 Stat.

829, as amended, 29 U.S.C. § 1001 ef seq., preempts state

common law tort and contract actions asserting improper

processing of a claim for benefits under an insured employee

benefit plan.” (Pilot Life, supra, 107 S.Ct. at pp. 1550-

1551.)

The employee, Dedeaux, received a work-related injury. His

employer had an employee disability insurance plan through Pilot

Life. Dedeaux sought permanent disability status; nevertheless,

his benefits were terminated after two years. Subsequently they

were reinstated and terminated several times over another three-

year period. (/d. at p. 1551.)

Ultimately, Dedeaux filed a diversity action in federal court. He

alleged three causes of action based upon state law (tortious

breach of contract; breach of fiduciary duties; fraud in the

inducement), rather than any cause of action available to him

under ERISA. (Jd. at p. 1551.)

Pilot Life’s motion for summary judgment was granted after

the district court found all the state claims to be preempted. The

fifth circuit reversed, relying upon Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v.

Massachusetts (1985) 471 U.S. 1724. Eventually, the Supreme

Court reversed, finding preemption. (Pilot Life, supra, at pp.

1551-1558.)

Although the court in Pilot Life was concerned with state

causes of action, it discussed remedies at some length. The

opinion cannot be read without concluding the high court was

purposely broad in its view of preemption. We quote a few such

passages which combine to preclude us from looking for distinc-

tions between substantive law and remedies.

“To summarize the pure mechanics of the ,Provisions

quoted above: [29 U.S.C. § 1144, subsecs. (a) and

A-46

(b) (2) (A) ] If a state law ‘relate[s] to... employee benefit

plan[s],’ it is pre-empted. § 514(a)....

“*(T]he question whether a certain state action is pre-

empted by federal law is one of congressional intent. “ ‘The

Purpose of Congress is the ultimate touchstone.”’’ [Cita-

tions.] We have observed in the past that the express pre-

emption provisions of ERISA are deliberately expansive, and

designed to ‘establish pension plan regulation as exclusively a

federal concern.’ [Citations.]” Pilot Life, supra, at p. 1552.)

In its discussion of Dedeaux’s state law bad-faith-claim, the

court continued:

“The Solicitor General, for the United States as amicus

curiae, argues that Congress clearly expressed an intent that

the civil enforcement provisions of ERISA § 502(a) be the

exclusive vehicle for actions by ERISA-plan participants and

beneficiaries asserting improper processing of a claim for

benefits, and that varying state causes of action for claims

within the scope of § 502(a) would pose an obstacle to the

purposes and objectives of Congress. Brief for United States

as Amicus Curiae 18-19. We agree. The conclusion that

§ 502(a) was intended to be exclusive is supported, first, by

the language and structure of the civil enforcement provi-

sions, and second, by legislative history in which Congress

declared that the pre-emptive force of § 502(a) was modeled

on the exclusive remedy provided by § 301 of the Labor-

Management Relations Act (LMRA), 61 Stat. 156, 29

U.S.C. § 185.

“The civil enforcement scheme of § 502(a) is one of the

essential tools for accomplishing the stated purposes of

ERISA....

“In sum, the detailed provisions of § 502(a) set forth a

comprehensive civil enforcement scheme that represents a

careful balancing of the need for prompt and fair claims

settlement procedures against the public interest in encour-

aging the formation of employee benefit plans. The policy

A-47

choices reflected in the inclusion of certain remedies and the

exclusion of others under the federal scheme would be

completely undermined if ERISA-plan participants and ben-

eficiaries were free to obtain remedies under state law that

Congress rejected in ERISA. ‘The six carefully integrated

civil enforcement provisions found in § 502(a) of the statute

as finally enacted... provide strong evidence that Congress

did not intend to authorize other remedies that it simply

forgot to incorporate expressly.’ (Russell, supra, at 146, 105

S.Ct., at 3093 (emphasis in original).” (Pilot Life, supra,

107 S.Ct. at pp. 1555-1556, fn. omitted.”

Still later, the court stated:

“The expectations that a federal common law of rights and

obligations under ERISA-regulated plans would develop,

indeed the entire comparison of ERISA's § 502(a) to § 301

of the LMRA, would make little sense if the remedies

available to ERISA participants and beneficiaries under

§ 502(a) could 5e supplemented or supplanted by varying

state laws.” (Id. at p. 1558.)

Although a state law providing for mechanics’ liens is a special

statutory collection alternative, that remedy cannot be divorced

from the substantive contractual rights which create the debt. To

be effective, the lien claim depends upon the validity and conse-

quences of an agreement of some sort. In this instance, a labor

agreement is the subject matter. Failure of one party to the Plan

to make contributions results in the denial of benefits to the

others. Federal remedies are provided. Mechanics’ lien rights are

omitted.

Along this same line of thinking is the very recent appellate

court decision in Cairy v. Superior Court (1987) 192 Cal.App.3d

840. In Cairy the defendant, Cairy, was charged with violation of

Labor Code section 227: willful, and with intent to defraud,

failure to make payment to a pension fund as required by a

collective bargaining agreement. (Id. at p. 842.) The defendant’s

demurrer to the information on the grounds of preemption was

overruled. After concluding ERISA preempted Labor Code sec-

tion 227, the Court of Appeal issued a peremptory writ of

A-48

mandate directing the lower court to vacate its order overruling

the demurrer, and instructed the court to make a new order

sustaining the demurrer. (Jd. at pp. 845-846.)

The Cairy court uses an expansive approach to preemption

consistent with Pilot Life:

“Section 227 ‘regulates’ the terms end conditions of em-

ployee benefit plans to the common sense meaning of that

word. ‘Regulate’ means ‘to control or direct according to a

rule.’ (American Heritage Dict. (1976) p. 1096.) It is

axiomatic, therefore, the power to regulate includes the

power to enforce. (See, e.g., Pac. Legal Found. v. State

Energy Resources, etc. (9th Cir. 1981) 659 F.2d 903, 926.)

Here the state is attempting directly to regulate the terms

arid conditions of a peasion plan by using its criminal law to

obf4in compliance with those terms end conditions (i.¢., to

‘control or direct’ an employer’s behavior in relation to terms

and conditions of the pension plan). Thus, section 227 is

preempted by ERISA unless it falls within the exception for

‘generally applicable’ criminal laws of the state.” (Cairy v.

Superior Court, supra, 192 Cal.App.3d at p. 843.)

We agree a similar interpretation is required in our case. The

state is attempting to “regulate” the terms and conditions of a

pension plan through the use of its mechanics’ lien laws. (See also

Lembo v. Texaco, Inc. (1987) 194 Cal.App.3d 531.) The state’s

mechanics’ lien laws may not be used to supplement or supplant

the civil enforcement scheme developed under ERISA. naed

Life, supra, 107 S.Ct. at p. 1558.)

A-49

The judgment is affirmed. Respondent to recover costs of

appeal. ;

WOOLPERT

Acting P.J.

WE CONCUR:

BALLANTYNE

J.

VARTABEDIAN

3.”

* Assigned by the Chairperson of the Judicial Council.

A-50

Appendix E

Relevant Statutory Provisions

Civil Code § 3111. Trust fund lien under labor agreement

For the purposes of this chapter, an express trust fu

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Carpenters Southern California Administrative Corp. v. El Capitan Development Co. · 502 U.S. 963 | Frix