Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Envirodyne Industries, Inc. v. Lumpkin

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

se Court, U.S.

eee =

9 4-2 ¢ 6 . AUG 15 1991

\ DEFice OF THE CLERK

aa

IN THE o

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

>

ENVIRODYNE INDUSTRIES, INC.,

Petitioner,

—_vV.—

FRANK LUMPKIN, ETAL.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Stanley B. Block Edwin B. Mishkin

(counsel of record) Richard F. Ziegler

Charles B. Wolf Daniel J.H. Greenwood

Michael I. Richardson CLEARY, GOTTLIEB, STEEN

VEDDER, PRICE, KAUFMAN & HAMILTON

& KAMMHOLZ One Liberty Plaza

222 North LaSalle Street New York, New York 10006

Chicago, Illinois 60601 (212) 225-2000

(312) 609-7500

Attorneys for Petitioner

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

If the petition for certiorari is granted, the questions pre-

sented are:

1. Whether, in light of this Court’s recent decision in

Lampf, Pleva, Lipkind, Prupis & Petigrow v. Gilbertson, 59

U.S.L.W. 4688 (June 20, 1991) (No. 90-333) (to be reported

at 111 S. Ct. 2773 (1991)), the timeliness of federal claims for

employee benefits under a plan governed by the Employee

Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA), 29 U.S.C. § 1001

et seq., should be governed by the uniform limitations period

that is repeatedly provided in ERISA for closely analogous

claims, rather than the widely varying limitations periods that

are provided in state statutes of limitations?

2. Whether, if no uniform federal limitations period is to

be applied, this Court’s decision in UAW v. Hoosier Cardi-

nal Corp., 383 U.S. 696 (1966), and federal policy under

ERISA mandate that the timeliness of federal claims for

employee benefits be governed by the Illinois five year statute

of limitations for contracts not exclusively in writing (the

period concededly applicable under the law of the forum

state), rather than the different state limitations period that

the court below selected to achieve its preferred outcome?

r

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The parties to the proceeding, in addition to those named

in the caption, are a certified class of former employees of

WSC Corporation who were represented for the purpose of

collective bargaining by the Progressive Steel Workers Union

(‘‘“PSWU’’) or belonged to other bargaining units at the Wis-

consin Steel Mill who were plaintiffs below and are respon-

dents in this Court. The Wisconsin Steel Mill was operated

by an unincorporated division of International Harvester

Corporation (now known as Navistar, Inc.) until it was sold

in 1977 to EDC Holding Company, a wholly owned subsidi-

ary of petitioner Envirodyne Industries, Inc. and the parent

of WSC Corporation. The named class representatives are:

Frank Lumpkin, Rafael Alvarez, Delbert C. Auguston,

Wayne Schwartz, Felix Vasquez and John Randall.

The following information is provided pursuant to Rule

29.1 of the Court: Petitioner Envirodyne Industries, Inc. is a

corporation. Its parent corporation and sole shareholder is

Emerald Acquisition Corporation. A majority of the out-

standing shares of Emerald Acquisition Corporation common

stock are beneficially owned by Salomon Brothers Holding

Company Inc, a wholly owned subsidiary of Salomon Inc.

Envirodyne Industries, Inc. has no subsidiaries that are not

wholly owned subsidiaries or indirect wholly owned subsidi-

aries.

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

GPRPRe ROCIO PRIVEE) . ccc ccc cccccccccccccs i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ..... bpheke dane ii

I PEED oo cece ccc ccceccccccccees vii

Ry. Ge Viii

Enc 6 he Seen cnacsececsccecesocese l

eet cae ree ddesectsesocseees ]

ce ceeeenectaveversveces 2

I MEIER, 5 ven wcccccccccecccccceuces 2

pn eS 2

PR CUTGRG Sane benecscoscsccscecsesss 3

B. The Seventh Circuit Decision ............... 4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .......... 5

POINT I

CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO

DETERMINE THE LIMITATIONS PERIOD FOR

ERISA ACTIONS IN ACCORDANCE WITH

CONGRESSIONAL INTENT AND TO ELIMI-

NATE THE APPLICATION OF WIDELY VARY-

ING STATE LAW RULES THAT FRUSTRATE

CONGRESS’ EXPLICIT PREEMPTION OF ‘‘ANY

Ns oc bcc bcedsesccecccese 5

A. The Seventh Circuit’s Decision Conflicts With

The Fundamental Teaching Of Lampf, Pleva: 5

iv

B. The Existing Law Concerning The Limitations

Period Applicable To ERISA § 502 Actions Is

Chaotic, Involving Periods Ranging From Two

TO: PO SE 6 wos oc Wb SkN 65sec cebsec uses

1.

The Courts Apply Widely Varying State

BP coe ens chun wee ga6he enc

The States Disagree On The Appropriate

Limitations Period For Contract Actions .

C. Lampf, Pleva’s Selection Of The Limitations

Period Contained In The Same Federal Statute

Directly Fits The ERISA Statutory Scheme...

1.

The Limitations Periods Contained In

ERISA, A Comprehensive Scheme

Expressly Intended To Preempt State Law,

Demonstrate Congressional Intent........

Virtually Identical ERISA Actions For

Employee Benefits Are Governed By The

Explicit Limitations Period Set Out Else-

GQ I ccc ackasecteaNeece ses

Sensible Administration Of Federal Benefits

Law Compels Application Of ERISA’s Explicit

BO OT eee eT eee ee

Bs

Uniformity Is Particularly Important

Because Of The Multi-State Nature Of

Much Litigation Under ERISA ..........

Lack Of Uniformity Wastes Judicial And

Pension Fund Resources .............0..

PAGE

10

1]

1]

14

16

16

18

PAGE

POINT I

CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO

CLARIFY THE RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN

THIS COURT’S DECISIONS IN LAMPF, PLEVA

AND HOOSIER CARDINAL WITH RESPECT TO

FEDERAL EMPLOYEE BENEFIT CLAIMS...... 19

A. The Court Should Clarify That Hoosier Cardi-

nal Does Not Apply To This Hybrid LMRA-

IE 4.6 bec c'ueceveudesse be baneeces 19

B. This Court Should Clarify The Tension

Between Hoosier Cardinal And Lampf, Pleva

With Respect To § 301 Claims Generally..... 21

POINT III

CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED BE-

CAUSE THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT’S DETERMI-

NATION OF THE APPROPRIATE LIMITA-

TIONS PERIOD UNDER ERISA AND SECTION

301 MISCONSTRUES FEDERAL POLICY UNDER

ERISA AND CONFLICTS WITH THIS COURT’S

DECISION IN HOOSIER CARDINAL AND THE

DECISIONS OF OTHER COURTS OF APPEAL . 22

A. The Seventh Circuit Misconstrued The Mean-

ing And Substance Of Federal Policy Under

Se ee EP Na eee eGuhvecbaswes cececus 23

1. The Seventh Circuit Improperly Rejected

The Applicable Limitations Period Under

State Law Without Finding That It Was

Contrary To Federal Policy ............. 23

2. The Seventh Circuit’s Analysis Of Federal

Policy Conflicts With ERISA, Its Legisla-

tive History, Hoosier Cardinal And Other

Federal Appellate Court Decisions ....... 25

vi

PAGE

B. The Seventh Circuit’s Application Of The

Written Contract Limitation Period To Claims

For Collectively Bargained Employee Benefits

Violates The Holding Of Hoosier Cardinal... 28

ET Sui os ina cuunnn Jekeeeevis case seas os 30

Vii

TABLE OF APPENDICES

PAGE

Appendix A: Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit ....... la

Appendix B: Opinion of the United States District

Court for the Northern District of Illi-

nois On motion to dismiss ............ 32a

Appendix C: Opinion of the United States District

Court for the Northern District of IlIli-

nois On motion for rehearing.......... 40a

Appendix D: Text of relevant portions of ERISA ... 43a

Appendix E: Text of Illinois statutes of limitations

for actions on contracts entirely in writ-

ing and for actions on other contracts. 62a

Appendix F: Complaint in this action.............. 63a

Viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases PAGE

Adams v. Gould, Inc., 739 F.2d 858 (3d Cir. 1984),

cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1122 (1985) ................ 20

Agency Holding Corp. v. Malley-Duff & Assocs., Inc.,

ee es tic debe tes cétbocedbccsccses 17, 18

Alessi v. Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc., 451 U.S. 504

I i Ae ate ile ee aa ie Oe a a wit te LB a a die 00 11

Baird & Warner, Inc. v. Addison Indus. Park, Inc., 70

Ill. App. 3d 59, 387 N.E.2d 831 (lst Dist.

CE ite kites nite eee tea a aioe h'6 ew 5% 24, 29, 30

Biros v. Spalding-Evenflo Co., 934 F.2d 740 (6th Cir.

ali we Ua bade eae id 0b ave es ans ba Céeedeeeess 27

Brown v. Transamerica Freight Lines, 72 L.R.R.M.

a EN Es SE hos berenwee bese cneecatabasces 23, 24

Byrnes v. DeBolt Transfer, Inc., 741 F.2d 620 (3d Cir.

Pacts i PUG Selb kun th se aehed waCeMewk head alss 26

Central States Pension Fund v. Kraftco, Inc., 799 F.2d

1098 (6th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 1086

NEE cise bly Sneed. 6 Fab aS OSE Eb EO aee ek Rees 27

Central States S.E. & S.W. Areas Pension Fund v. Jor-

dan, 127 L.R.R.M. (BNA) 2795, 110 Lab. Cas.

(CCH) 4 10,779 (N.D. Ill. 1987), rev’d, 873 F.2d 149

Ce SNE ci ndddnvicet obanet eabarkkeekeetans 6, 9

Ceres Partners v. GEL Assocs., 918 F.2d 349 (2d Cir.

urs gilaia Wd E-Od ach 4 dd ede EAR Oa bee enh enwes 7, 17

PAGE

Connors v. Hallmark & Sons Coal Co., 935 F.2d 336

SE OE ern ee 26

Corkery v. SuperX Drugs Corp., 602 F. Supp. 42

SS OE TS 6.0 ee ke she ceed Neds déseeeecenss 9, 10

Cowden v. Montgomery County Soc’y For Cancer

Control, 591 F. Supp. 740 (S.D. Ohio 1984)....... 10

Dameron yv. Sinai Hosp. of Baltimore, Inc., 815 F.2d

ey ES oc Shas ound db teh 0ee~ cee needs 10, 26

DelCostello v. International Brotherhood of Teamsters,

ee EE MG d's 0.6 5.c 64-000 8008000% 13, 19, 20

Edwards v. Wilkes-Barre Pub. Co. Pension Trust, 757

F.2d 52 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 843 (1985) 8

Estate of Grant v. U.S. News & World Report, Inc.,

GP FH. Dem. BOS GAC. TSGBD. «cc ccccccccccccss 10

FMC Corp. v. Holliday, ___. U.S. ___., 111 S. Ct.

Re i eee ere ee 11, 16, 18

Fogerty v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 850 F.2d 430

ce wG ink vcoke tan tral ve ker wensawes 26

Gavalik v. Continental Can Co., 812 F.2d 834 (3d

Cir.), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 979 (1987) ........... 9

Goodman v. Lukens Steel Co., 107 S. Ct. 2617 (1987) 30

Hawaii Carpenters Trust Funds v. Waiola Carpenter

Shop, Inc., 823 F.2d 289 (9th Cir. 1987).......... 8, 27

Heideman v. PFL, Inc., 904 F.2d 1262 (8th Cir. 1990),

cert. denied, ____ U.S. ___., 111 S. Ct. 676 (1991) )

Held v. Manufacturers Hanover Leasing Corp., 912

f& 8 og: Ye ee | errr rr errr rrr es 8, 16

In re EDC, Inc., 930 F.2d 1275 (7th Cir. 1991)...... 3

Jenkins v. Local 705 Int’! Brotherhood of Teamsters

Pension Plan, 713 F.2d 247 (7th Cir. 1983)........ 6

Lampf, Pleva, Lipkind, Prupis & Petigrow v. Gilbert-

son, 59 U.S.L.W. 4688 (June 20, 1991) (No. 90-333)

(to be reported at 111 S. Ct. 2773 (1991)) ........ passim

LeBlanc v. G.D. Searle & Co., 178 Ill. App. 3d 236,

533 N.E.2d 41 (1st Dist. 1988), leave to appeal

denied, 125 lll. 2d 566, 537 N.E.2d §11 (1989)..... 17

Lumpkin v. Envirodyne Indus., Inc., 11 E.B.C. 2580

(N.D. Ill. Nov. 7, 1989) (available at 1989 WL

152300 and 1989 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 13303) ........ 17

Lumpkin v. Envirodyne Indus., Inc., 933 F.2d 449 (7th

eg | PRT Gree nny rae parr trerAy hm me 5, 495 om

McClure v. Zoecon, Inc., No. 90-1489 (Sth Cir. July

11, 1991) (available at 1991 WL 123896 and 1991]

Sas Sees EL Us oo ba eee needs cece s 9, 10

Merk v. Jewel Food Stores, 641 F. Supp. 1024 (N.D.

Ill. 1986), aff’d, 848 F.2d 761 (7th Cir.), cert.

Going, Fae Di GA, Fee CID sev oecbcccccecceses’s 23

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor, 481 U.S. 58

TE Had ca hath acca stare nese eer eae dads aes 20

Miles v. New York State Teamsters Conference Pen-

sion and Retirement Fund, 698 F.2d 593 (2d Cir.

|. ear mera araT: FOE SI phn Py Saal, srgoyk Pewee 27

Nedd v. United Mine Workers of America, 556 F.2d

190 (3d Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 1013

ners sda ed oleae he eee eee eee eee 21

Pratl v. Hawthorn-Mellody Farms Dairy, Inc., 53 WU.

App. 3d 344, 368 N.E.2d 767 (1st Dist. 1977) ..... 23

Xi

Reed v. United Transp. Union, 488 U.S. 319

Is br aicu'aktuila oore aria dala te ae ane care nea 13, 18

Robbins v. Iowa Road Builders Co., 828 F.2d 1348

(8th Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 487 U.S. 1234 (1988). 16

Salyers v. Allied Corp., 642 F. Supp. 442 (E.D. Ky.

PGE sob es Caan eee eee sheds ca ee ee ee ae 9

Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85 (1983)... 12

Smith v. ABS Indus., Inc., 653 F. Supp. 94 (N.D.

8 PP ee eT Cre rar ripe tae mr TA 20

Sparks v. Ryerson & Haynes, Inc., 638 F. Supp. 56

ic SE IG 6468 vcdkekvnavenvaned dogeen sone 8, 20

Strong v. Lewis, 204 Ill. 35, 68 N.E. 556 (1903)..... 17

Teamsters Pension Fund vy. John Tinney Delivery

SOPR Fae Cede Btm TG UE. SOS ov cc cuca dees 26

Textile Workers Union of America v. Lincoln Mills of

AGN, F353 Ud. GD CFS cic vhecsouscccsvanes 21

Trustees of Wyo. Laborers Health and Welfare Plan v.

Morgen & Oswood Constr. Co., 850 F.2d 613 (10th

Case < oc 4 eS Cae ees eka deabaretnaeeeweeles 24

UAW vy. Hoosier Cardinal Corp., 383 U.S. 696

SE 9.5 aca ened eakseedee eee Vandel eteeriases passim

Vernau v. Vic’s Mkt., Inc., 896 F.2d 43 (3d Cir.

FN Ati rived Cis Ox eeesstdeesneaet Keer 8, 9, 26

Wiison v. Garcia, 471 U.S. Zbl CISGS) ioc ccc cccecces 18, 30

Statutes, Regulations and Rules

Federal

Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA),

ek ee ee ee DS | fe ee rae eel Pe >

Xil

PAGE

Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA),

SN NG I lcs BEDE 65s ccceccecveweneen passim

Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA),

Ts OD, bob ok keds ce ecvesees 12, 13

Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA),

Cte os, BP Wc. B UFUS oc ccc cccecvecces y Ae ae

Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA),

Ge OR > A 4

Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA),

section. 4070, 29 U.S.C. § 1370 00... cc cc cc eves te ae

Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA),

OP GE icis OO OOS 6s es osccveescnss a 13s 2

Judicial Improvements Act of 1990, Section 313, 28

a uae els vale lag dsd Caw ues Kawa ws IZ, 25

Labor Management Relations Act (LMRA), Section

ee ee es Oe es cb bask boda eee cab bedess passim

Multiemployer Pension Plan Amendments Act of 1980,

Pub. L. No. 96-364, Section 4301, 94 Stat. 1208

ae eu as ae kak sake ae Rae eS Ke 15

Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act

ee Oe ee, Oe a ceuesiweeedeeades ; 16

Securities Act of 1933, Section 18, 15 U.S.C. § 77r.. 13

Securities Exchange Act of 1934, Section 10(b), 15

ita sc cada e eee ehee rake a wees 7

Securities Exchange Act of 1934, Section 28, 15 U.S.C.

cE a rr ey See ne ae 13

Securities Exchange Commission Rule 10b-5, 17 C.F.R.

ere Pere Tere rr errr ree 7

Xlil

PAGE

Single Employer Pension Plan Amendments Act of

1986, Pub. L. No. 99-272, Section 11014, 100 Stat.

Ee cos. 55s ena aeo ek ae akeneeetane eee eal 15

State

Cal. Cav. Code $337 (West 196D) .. 2.6 ccccnccvvcss 9

Cal. Civ. Code § 339 (West 1982) .................- 9, 10

DA. Code Ann. § 12-301(7) (1961) .. 2... cece wecces 10

Ill. Ann. Stat. ch. 110, ¢ 13-205 (Smith-Hurd

ee em dee ee ee ae eed as ens eae 9, 23, 29

Ill. Ann. Stat. ch. 110, ¢ 13-206 (Smith-Hurd

62 ey Mk eye ON 9, 24, 29

Ill. Ann. Stat. ch. 110, ¢ 13-210 (Smith-Hurd 1984) .. 17

Ind. Code Ann. § 34-1-2-1 (Burns 1986)............. 9

Ind. Code Ann. § 34-1-2-2 (Burns 1986)............. 9, 10

lowa Code Ann. § 614.1 (West 1950 & Supp. 1991).. 9

Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 413.120 (Michie/Bobbs-Merrill

ee eee ee eins Shack dete bd © 9

Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 413.090 (Michie/Bobbs-Merrill

ee Less he wan pews 6a esd eee eee 9, 10

Md. Cts. & Jud. Proc. Code Ann. § 5-101 (1989).... 10

Legislative History and Other Materials

120 Cong. Rec. 29933 (August 22, 1974), reprinted in

1974 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 5177, 5188

(93d Cong., 2d Sess.) (statement of Sen. Williams) . 12

120 Cong. Rec. 29942 (August 22, 1974) (statement of

gs thik AO ae 12

X1V

126 Cong. Rec. 20202 (July 29, 1980) (Joint Explana-

tion of $1076: Multiemployer Pension Plan Amend-

eee Tee Me Tc a dnd se oe eos eee be Rded ee tenes

H.R. 4200, 93d Cong., Ist Sess. § 698 (1973), reprinted

in 2 (pt. 1) Employee Retirement Income Security

Act of 1974 Legislative History 2102 (1976)........

H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 1280, 93d Cong., 2d Sess. 327,

reprinted in 1974 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News

oa ren rr nr er re

H.R. Rep. No. 533, 93d Cong., Ist Sess. 17, reprinted

in 1974 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 4639, 4655

S. Rep. No. 127, 93d Cong., Ist Sess. 35, reprinted in

1974 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 4838, 4871

PAGE

15

25

20

1]

11

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

oe

ENVIRODYNE INDUSTRIES, INC.,

Petitioner,

—_—V,—

FRANK LUMPKIN, ET AL.,

Respondents.

>

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

10 THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner Envirodyne Industries, Inc. (‘‘Envirodyne’’)

respectfully prays that a Writ of Certiorari issue to review the

judgment and decision of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit, entered in this proceeding on May

17, 1991.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Seventh Cir-

cuit (la)' is reported at 933 F.2d 449 (7th Cir. 1991). The

Memorandum Opinion and Order of the District Court for

the Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division granting

respondents’ motion for certification of the class and grant-

ing petitioner’s motion to dismiss (32a), is reported unoffi-

cially at 11 Employee Benefits Cases 2580 (N.D. Ill. Nov. 7,

l References to the Appendix hereto are cited ‘‘__a’’.

2

1989), 1989 WL 152300 and 1989 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 13303.

The District Court’s Memorandum Opinion and Order deny-

ing respondents’ motion to reconsider the dismissal of the

action (40a), is reported unofficially at 1990 WL 7086 and

1990 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 451 (N.D. Ill. Jan. 18, 1990).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Seventh Cir-

cuit was entered on May 17, 1991. The jurisdiction of this

Court is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

The case involves Section 502 of the Employee Retirement

Income Security Act (‘‘ERISA’’), 29 U.S.C. § 1132, and Sec-

tion 301 of the Labor Management Relations Act

(‘“LMRA’’), 29 U.S.C. § 185, as well as the statutes of limi-

tation that are contained in ERISA Sections 413, 4003(e)(6),

4003(f)(S), 4070 and 4301, 29 U.S.C. §§ 1113, 1303(e)(6),

1303(f)(S5), 1370 and 1451, all of which provide that suits

brought under such sections must be brought within three

years after discovery but not more than six years from the

accrual of the claim being asserted, except in case of fraud or

concealment. The text of these statutory sections is set out in

full in the Appendix (43a). The decision below applied the

Illinois statute of limitations for actions on a contract entirely

in writing and considered the statute governing contracts not

entirely in writing, Ill. Ann. Stat. ch. 110, 44 13-205 and i3-

206 (Smith-Hurd 1984), each of which also is set out in the

Appendix (62a).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This action is brought by a plaintiff class consisting of

approximately 2,700 former employees of the Wisconsin Steel

Works against petitioner Envirodyne to recover benefits

under a collectively bargained employee benefit plan main-

tained by Envirodyne’s subsidiaries and to which Envirodyne

was not a party. The last in a series of related litigations, it

was filed nine years after the cause of action accrued and

over seven years after the same plaintiffs sued the mill’s pre-

vious owner to recover the same sums.

A. The Facts

In 1977, International Harvester Company (now Navistar

International Transportation Corporation) (‘‘Navistar’’) sold

its Wisconsin Steel Division to EDC Holding Company

(““EDC’’), a wholly-owned subsidiary of Envirodyne. The

transaction was structured as a leveraged buyout whereby

EDC paid $15 million and other consideration to acquire the

assets of the Division. EDC gave Navistar a mortgage cover-

ing certain assets in the amount of $50 million, and assumed

pension and contractual obligations that had accrued under

Navistar’s ownership.

In 1980, Navistar unexpectedly foreclosed on its mortgage,

causing EDC and its subsidiaries immediately to cease opera-

tions and file a petition under Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy

Code which remains pending.” The bankruptcy spawned a

number of lawsuits.

In 1981, respondents sued Navistar, claiming that it was

responsible for the pension and welfare benefits accrued both

before and after the sale to EDC. This suit was settled in

1988 for $14.8 million. Respondents also filed claims for

these benefits in the Chapter 11 proceeding which were

released as part of the Navistar settlement. Respondents did

not join Envirodyne (which was never in Chapter 11) as a

defendant in their suit against Navistar.

In addition, respondents recovered the insured portion of

their pension benefits from the Pension Benefit Guaranty

2 As the Seventh Circuit observed in an opinion arising from the

debtor-in-possession’s claims against Navistar, EDC’s operation of the busi-

ness from 1977 through 1980 permitted ‘‘[s]Jome of the workers. . . [to]

h[o]ld on to their jobs for three more years. . . .”’ than otherwise would

have occurred. Jn re EDC, Inc., 930 F.2d 1275, 1281 (7th Cir. 1991).

4

Corporation (‘‘PBGC’’). In turn, the PBGC commenced an

action against Navistar and Envirodyne in 1981 to recoup the

benefits it paid.’

On February 17, 1989, nine years after EDC’s bankruptcy,

Over seven years after respondents commenced their lawsuit

against Navistar, and shortly after announcement of the

arm’s length sale of Envirodyne to its present owner, respon-

dents sued Envirodyne, asserting that it was the alter ego of

the bankrupt subsidiaries. On this theory, respondents claim

that Envirodyne is accountable for over $80 million in unpaid

pension and welfare benefits and interest charges which were

not collected from Navistar or the PBGC. Count I of the

Complaint seeks these benefits under section 502(a)(1)(B) of

ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a)(1)(B), and Count II requests the

same relief under section 301 of the LMRA, 29 U.S.C. § 185.

Jurisdiction was predicated on these sections.

Envirodyne moved to dismiss the Complaint on the

grounds that the respondent class released its claims in set-

tling the action against Navistar and, alternatively, that the

claims were untimely. On November 7, 1989, the District

Court granted Envirodyne’s motion, holding that the release

of claims in the settlement agreement with Navistar barred

respondents’ claims against Envirodyne. Respondents filed a

motion to reconsider which was denied on January 19, 1990

upon essentially the same grounds as the original order. In

each decision, the District Court found it unnecessary to

reach the statute of limitations issue.

B. The Seventh Circuit Decision

On May 17, 1991, the United States Court of Appeals for

the Seventh Circuit reversed and remanded the case to the

District Court for further proceedings. The Seventh Circuit

considered the release to be ambiguous on its face and held

3. The PBGC’s claims against Envirodyne were based on Envirodyne’s

statutory liability to the PBGC as a parent company under ERISA § 4062, 29

U.S.C. § 1362, not on any alter ego theory. Early in the litigation, the PBGC

and Envirodyne reached agreement on Envirodyne’s statutory liability and

the case was settled as to Envirodyne.

|

that it was ‘‘necessary to define the parties’ intent by looking

to extrinsic and parol evidence’’ which was not sufficiently

contained in the record on appeal. (13a).

Addressing Envirodyne’s contention that the claims were

untimely, the Seventh Circuit further held that, under Section

502 of ERISA, the courts ‘‘must apply the most appropriate

state statute of limitations so long [as] it is consistent with

federal law and policy.’’ (28a). The Seventh Circuit recog-

nized that, in alter ego cases, the Illinois courts apply a five

year statute of limitations for contracts which are not exclu-

sively in writing. Nevertheless, the Court held that ‘‘as a mat-

ter of federal policy the longer [ten-year] statute of

limitations [for written contracts] should apply’’ and further,

that ‘‘there is no basis in federal law for characterizing their

claims as an oral contract for purposes of the statute of limi-

tations.’’ (30a).

Accordingly, the Seventh Circuit concluded that its ‘‘deci-

sion paves the way for the plaintiffs to present their case

against Envirodyne more fully in the district court.’’ (30a).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

POINT I

CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO DETERMINE

THE LIMITATIONS PERIOD FOR ERISA ACTIONS IN

ACCORDANCE WITH CONGRESSIONAL INTENT AND

TO ELIMINATE THE APPLICATION OF WIDELY

VARYING STATE LAW RULES THAT FRUSTRATE

CONGRESS’ EXPLICIT PREEMPTION OF “ANY AND

ALL”’ STATE LAWS

A. The Seventh Circuit’s Decision Conflicts With The Fun-

damental Teaching Of Lampf, Pleva.

The Seventh Circuit’s decision below applies a state law

statute of limitations to permit claims under ERISA to be

brought against a parent corporation on an alter ego theory

for a subsidiary’s benefit plan default—almost nine years

6

after the claim arose and was discovered and more than seven

years after plaintiffs commenced similar litigation against the

business’s former owner and filed claims in the subsidiary’s

bankruptcy proceedings. Yet ERISA itself explicitly sets three

years as the limitations period for actions on directly analo-

gous claims and expressly preempts ‘‘any and all’’ state law

provisions relating to employee benefit plans.

Writing a month before this Court’s decision in Lampf,

Pleva, Lipkind, Prupis & Petigrow vy. Gilbertson, 59

U.S.L.W. 4688 (June 20, 1991) (No. 90-333) (to be reported

at 111 S. Ct. 2773 (1991)), the Seventh Circuit did not con-

sider the limitations periods set out in ERISA itself as a pos-

sible source of federal law to govern claims under ERISA

§ 502.* Lampf, Pleva applied a uniform limitations period

from federal law to actions under Section 10(b) of the Securi-

ties Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. § 78j(b), reversing

more than three decades of borrowing state law limitations

periods by the lower courts.

As Lampf, Pleva now makes clear, the courts must con-

sider federal as well as state sources of law in determining the

limitations period applicable to federal claims for which Con-

gress has not expressly provided a statute of limitations.

Indeed, the Court’s decision in Lampf, Pleva emphasizes that

a limitations period contained elsewhere in the federal statu-

tory scheme at issue is likely to provide the most compelling

evidence of the Congress’ intent and a better source of law

for the courts to apply than a forum state’s statute of limita-

tions for unrelated claims.

Critically, ERISA contains several identical limitations

periods for claims that are directly analogous to the ERISA

claim asserted here. Each of these periods provides claimants

three years from discovery of the claim, but not more than

4 In light of the Seventh Circuit’s unequivocal decisions applying only

state law in Central States S.E. & S.W. Areas Pension Fund v. Jordan, 873

F.2d 149 (7th Cir. 1989) and Jenkins v. Local 705 Int’l Brotherhood of

Teamsters Pension Plan, 713 F.2d 247 (7th Cir. 1983), and litigating prior to

Lampf, Pleva, the parties did not argue that federal law was applicable.

7

six years from accrual (except in case of fraud or conceal-

ment), to commence an action. ERISA §§ 413, 4003(e)(6),

4003(f)(5), 4070 and 4301, 29 U.S.C. §§ 1113, 1303(e)(6),

1303(f)(S), 1370 and 1451. Indeed, as discussed below, Con-

gress’ three year-six year limitations scheme was applicable to

the plaintiffs in this very case with respect to their successful

recovery of a portion of their benefits under the plan at issue

here. See part 1.C.2, infra, pp. 14-16. As with the securities

law scheme in Lampf, Pleva, these limitations periods apply

to claims each of which ‘‘is an integral element of a complex

web of regulations’’ and ‘‘target[s] the precise dangers that

are the focus of [§ 502]’’. Lampf, Pleva, 59 U.S.L.W. at

4690.

In disregarding the ERISA scheme, the Seventh Circuit’s

opinion conflicts with the fundamental instruction of Lampf,

Pleva. Moreover, the wide variance in the state limitations

periods selected by other lower courts is wholly at odds with

ERISA’s clear purpose: to create a uniform federal law gov-

erning employee benefits. Certiorari should be granted and

the decision below reversed or vacated to vindicate Congres-

sional intent in accord with Lampf, Pleva.

B. The Existing Law Concerning The Limitations Period

Applicable To ERISA § 502 Actions Is Chaotic, Involving

Periods Ranging From Two To Twenty Years.

Current law regarding the selection of the limitations

period to govern ERISA § 502 claims is in even more ‘‘disar-

ray’’ than was the case with the claims under the Securities

Exchange Act of 1934, § 10(b), 15 U.S.C. § 78j(b), at issue in

Lampf, Pleva. Ceres Partners v. GEL Assoc., 918 F.2d 349,

354-55 (2d Cir. 1990). The range of state law limitations

periods applied by the lower courts to actions under Rule

10b-5, 17 C.F.R. § 240.10b-5 (1990), promulgated thereun-

der, was one to ten years. See Ceres, 918 F.2d at 354-55. The

limitations periods applied to date by the lower courts to

ERISA claims vary even more widely—from three years to

fifteen years—and in states where the matter has not yet

arisen, the same state law periods vary from two to twenty

5

years.”

As was the case with securities law claims, a handful of

lower courts have departed from the automatic borrowing of

state law in setting the limitations period for ERISA claims.

The Third Circuit and a district court in the Sixth Circuit

have applied ERISA’s explicit limitations period, rather than

state law, to claims under the statute that were not expressly

governed by it. Edwards v. Wilkes-Barre Pub. Co. Pension

Trust, 757 F.2d 52, 55 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 843

(1985) (borrowing ERISA § 413 limitations period)®; Sparks

v. Ryerson & Haynes, Inc., 638 F. Supp. 56 (E.D. Mich.

1986) (borrowing ERISA § 413 limitations period).

Two other circuit courts have noted that they might reject

state limitations periods in favor of ERISA’s own provisions

if they were writing on a slate free of earlier decisions in their

circuits and this Court’s pre-Lampf, Pleva analysis, see

Hawaii Carpenters Trust Funds v. Waiola Carpenter Shop,

Inc., 823 F.2d 289, 297-98 (9th Cir. 1987); Held v. Manufac-

turers Hanover Leasing Corp., 912 F.2d 1197, 1201 n.4 (10th

Cir. 1990) (§ 510 action), but they perceived themselves

bound to apply state law periods. So far as we are aware

every Other lower court has borrowed one of a variety of

potentially applicable forum state statutes of limitations to

govern claims under ERISA § 502.

1. The Courts Apply Widely Varying State Law Periods.

Significantly, courts looking to state law sources disagree

on the appropriate state statute of limitations to apply to

ERISA actions. Thus, various federal courts have applied

5 This Court has never addressed the appropriate limitations period

under ERISA § 502.

6 The Third Circuit has not consistently looked to federal law. See

Vernau v. Vic’s Mkt., Inc., 896 F.2d 43, 45 (3d Cir. 1990) (in trustee’s § 502

action to recover past due contributions, applying three year Pennsylvania

wage payment and collection limitation period, without discussion of

Edwards or ERISA statutory limitations periods).

9

state limitations periods applicable to claims for damages for

withholding or detaining personal property, recovery of

wages, breach of contact and others.’ The majority of the cir-

cuits apply the forum state’s contract statute of limitations,

although in some states, including Illinois (the forum state

below), that period itself varies depending upon whether the

claim is on a written or oral contract.® The resulting law var-

ies widely from circuit to circuit and state to state—the

reported decisions apply limitations periods for essentially

7 For cases under § 502, see, e.g., Vernau v. Vic’s Mkt., Inc., 896

F.2d 43, 45 (3d Cir. 1990) (applying Pennsylvania wage payment and collec-

tion statute of limitations); Salyers v. Allied Corp., 642 F. Supp. 442, 444

(E.D. Ky. 1986) (withholding personal property or detaining personal prop-

erty); Central States S.E. & S.W. Areas Pension Fund v. Jordan, 127

L.R.R.M. (BNA) 2795, 110 Lab. Cas. (CCH) § 10,779 (N.D. Ill. 1987)

(unwritten contracts), rev’d, 873 F.2d 149, 152-54 (7th Cir. 1989) (written

contracts).

See also with respect to another section of ERISA that lacks an explicit

statute of limitations, § 510 (relating to claims for interference with protected

rights under ERISA), Gavalik v. Continental Can Co., 812 F.2d 834 (3d

Cir.), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 979 (1987) (applying residual limitations period

applicable to an employment discrimination claim); Clark v. Coats & Clark,

Inc., 865 F.2d 1237, 1241-42 (11th Cir. 1989) (wage recovery (two vears) and

enforcement of statutory rights (20 years)); Heideman v. PFL, Inc. , 904 F.2d

1262, 1267 (8th Cir. 1990), cert. denied, U.S. , 811 5. Cr. CS

(1991) (contracts); McClure v. Zoecon, Inc., No. 90-1489 (Sth Cir. July 11,

1991) (available at 1991 WL 123896 and 1991 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 14692)

(applying wrongful discharge period; dissent would apply contract period);

Corkery v. SuperX Drugs Corp., 602 F. Supp. 42, 45 (M.D. Fla. 1985)

(employee termination claims). 7

8 States that distinguish between written and unwritten contracts

include, for example, California, Cal. Civ. Code § 339 (West 1982) (two year

period for unwritten contracts), § 337 (four years, written contracts); Ken-

tucky, Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 413.120 (Michie/Bobbs-Merrill 1972) (five

years, unwritten contracts), § 413.090 (15 years, written); Illinois, Ill. Ann.

Stat. ch. 110 § 13-205 (Smith-Hurd 1984) (five years, unwritten), 4 13-206

(ten years, written); Indiana, Ind. Code Ann. § 34-]-2-1 (Burns 1986) (six

years, unwritten), § 34-1-2-2 (ten years, written contracts entered into after

1982; 20 years, written contracts entered into before 1982); and lowa, lowa

Code Ann. § 614.1.4 (West 1950 & Supp. 1991) (five years, unwritten),

§ 614.1.5 (ten years, written).

10

identical ERISA § 502 actions ranging from three to fifteen

9

years.

2. The States Disagree On The Appropriate Limitations

Period For Contract Actions.

The limitations period for § 502 claims still would not be

uniform even if every circuit court were to adopt the current

majority view characterizing such claims as contract actions,

because of the wide variation in the states’ limitations periods

for contract actions: state contract limitation periods range at

least from as short as two years to as long as twenty years.

See, e.g., Cal. Civ. Code § 339 (West 1982) (two year period

for oral contracts); Md. Cts. & Jud. Proc. Code Ann. § 5-

101 (1989) (three year contracts period); D.C. Code Ann.

§ 12-301(7) (1981) (three year contracts period); Ky. Rev.

Stat. Ann. § 413.090 (Michie/Bobbs-Merril! 1972) (15 year

contracts period); Ind. Code Ann. § 34-1-2-2 (Burns 1986)

(20 year period for written contracts entered into before

1982). This dramatic lack of consensus among the state legis-

latures as to the appropriate limitations period for contract

actions makes that body of law particularly inappropriate as

the source to govern federal claims under ERISA.

9 See, e.g., Estate of Grant v. U.S. News & World Report, Inc., 639

F. Supp. 342, 347-48 (D.D.C. 1986) (three years); Dameron v. Sinai Hosp. of

Baltimore, Inc., 815 F.2d 975, 981-82 (4th Cir. 1987) (three years); Cowden

v. Montgomery County Soc’y For Cancer Control, 591 F. Supp. 740, 754-55

(S.D. Ohio 1984) (15 years). In actions under ERISA § 510, which also lacks

an explicit statute of limitations, courts have gone even further—the Elev-

enth Circuit has applied limitations periods of both two and /wenty years to

different claims under this section in the same action. Clark, 865 F.2d at

1241-42 (action under § 510 claiming that employees were terminated to

avoid pension liabilities; court applied two year limitations period to back

wages claim and 20 year period to reinstatement claim); see also Corkery, 602

F. Supp. at 45 (two years); McClure, supra (two years).

1]

C. Lampf, Pleva’s Selection Of The Limitations Period Con-

tained In The Same Federal Statute Directly Fits The

ERISA Statutory Scheme.

ERISA and the LMRA form a comprehensive regulatory

scheme intended to create a uniform federal law governing

employee benefits. Alessi v. Raybestos-Manhattan, Inc., 451

U.S. 504, 523 (1981) (ERISA ‘‘establish[es] pension plan reg-

ulation as exclusively a federal concern’’). Reliance on widely

varying state law limitations periods disrupts this federal

interest in uniformity.

1. The Limitations Periods Contained In ERISA, A

Comprehensive Scheme Expressly Intended To Pre-

empt State Law, Demonstrate Congressional Intent.

As this Court held in Lampf, Pleva, the central task of the

courts in crafting a limitations period is to discern Congres-

sional intent. When Congress has enacted a general scheme

of federal law, Congress can be presumed to have intended

that the logic of that scheme itself, not extraneous and unre-

lated state law, will be the primary source of interstitial law-

making. As Lampf, Pleva holds, ‘‘consideration of state-law

alternatives [is] unnecessary where Congress has provided an

express limitations period for correlative remedies within the

same enactment.’’ 59 U.S.L.W. at 4691.

ERISA was enacted to provide a national solution to a

national problem. ‘‘Because of the interstate character of

employee benefit plans, the Committee believe it essential to

provide for a uniform source of law.’’ H.R. Rep. No. 533,

93d Cong., Ist Sess. 17, reprinted in 1974 U.S. Code Cong.

& Admin. News 4639, 4655; S. Rep. No. 127, 93d Cong., Ist

Sess. 35, reprinted in 1974 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News

4838, 4871.

In furtherance of this goal of national uniformity, ERISA

contains a preemption provision that is ‘‘conspicuous for its

breadth,’’ FMC Corp. v. Holliday, U.S. , os S

Ct. 403, 407 (1990), conclusively demonstrating Congressio-

nal intent to eliminate state legislation as a source of law in

12

the pension area. ERISA § 514, 29 U.S.C. § 1144"; 120

Cong. Rec. 29933 (August 22, 1974), reprinted in 1974 U.S.

Code Cong. & Admin. News 5177, 5188 (statement of Sen.

Williams) (‘‘It should be stressed that with the narrow excep-

tions specified in the bill, the substantive and enforcement

provisions . . . are intended to preempt the field for Federal

regulations, thus eliminating the threat of conflicting or

inconsistent State and local regulation of employee benefit

plans.’’); Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85, 98

(1983) (‘‘section [514]’s pre-emptive scope [is] as broad as its

language’’).

Thus, Congressional intent to create a uniform law is clear;

it is entirely anomalous to conclude that the limitations

period applicable to this uniform law must vary according to

the forum in which the suit is filed. Congress expected that

“fa body of Federal substantive law will be developed by the

courts to deal with issues involving rights and obligations

under private welfare and pension plans,’’ 120 Cong. Rec.

29942 (August 22, 1974) (statement of Sen. Javits), not that

the courts would simply absorb into Federal law the very

*‘multiple and potentially conflicting State laws,’’ id., that

Congress sought to preempt.

Lampf, Pleva rejects the presumption applied below that

where Congress fails to provide an explicit statute of limita-

tions it always intends that the courts borrow a limitations

period from an analogous statute of the forum state.'' As

discussed in the following section, the limitations periods

10 ERISA § 514 states, in pertinent part:

Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, the provisions of

this title and title IV shall supersede any and all State laws insofar as

they may now or hereafter relate to any employee benefit plan

described in section 4(a) and not exempt under section 4(b).

11 Indeed, Congress itself has explicitly rejected this presumption, at

least as to statutes enacted after 1990. The Judicial Improvements Act of

1990, § 313, 28 U.S.C. § 1658 establishes a four year limitations period for

civil claims arising under Federal statutes enacted after its date where Con-

gress has not otherwise provided a limitations period. See Lampf, Pleva, 59

U.S.L.W. at 4691 n.10.

ee:

13

contained in ERISA itself clearly indicate Congress’ balanc-

ing of the competing interests involved in setting a statute of

limitations in precisely this context of employee benefit

claims. Thus, the Congressional limitations period is a far

‘*closer analogy,’’ Lampf, Pleva, 59 U.S.L.W. at 4689 (plu-

rality), id. at 4694 (Kennedy, J., dissenting) (each quoting

Reed v. United Transp. Union, 488 U.S. 319, 324 (1989) and

DelCostello v. International Brotherhood of Teamsters, 462

U.S. 151, 171 (1983)), a ‘‘closer fit,’? Lampf, Pleva, 59

U.S.L.W. at 4690 (plurality), and a more appropriate source

for interstitial lawmaking for ERISA actions than various

state statutes of limitations that were enacted with entirely

different considerations in mind. As the Lampf, Pleva Court

held, there is ‘‘no clearer indication of how Congress would

have balanced the policy considerations implicit in any limita-

tions provision than the balance struck by the same Congress

in limiting similar and related protections.’ Jd. at 4690.

The securities law claim at issue in Lampf, Pleva was judi-

cially created, unlike ERISA § 502. Nevertheless, the Lampf,

Pleva analysis is directly applicable here: ERISA is a compre-

hensive statutory scheme plainly intended to create a uniform

federal law in an important area of federal interest, and each

of § 502 and the other specific ERISA claims and their limi-

tations provisions is ‘‘an integral element of [the same] comp-

lex web of regulations.’’ Jd. at 4690. Indeed, the evidence of

Congress’ intention to avoid application of state law is even

more compelling here than in the context of the securities

claim at issue in Lampf, Pleva, since ERISA’s preemption

clause is far more powerful than that contained in the securi-

ties acts. Compare ERISA § 514, 29 U.S.C. § 1144 (supersed-

ing ‘‘any and all State laws’’ relating to employee benefit

plans) with Securities Exchange Act, § 28, 15 U.S.C. § 78bb

(allowing states concurrent regulatory jurisdiction); Securities

Act of 1933, § 18, 15 U.S.C. § 77r (similar).

14

2. Virtually Identical ERISA Actions For Employee Ben-

efits Are Governed By The Explicit Limitations

Period Set Out Elsewhere In ERISA.

Claims arising from a benefit plan often, as in this case,

involve a number of ERISA’s express rights of action,

because no single provision may authorize the full amount of

recovery sought by plan beneficiaries. No source of Congres-

sional intent suggests that Congress—having created a uni-

form period to govern claims for one portion of the

beneficiaries’ recovery—nonetheless intends to have their

claims for another portion of the same recovery, arising from

the identical facts and circumstances, governed by highly var-

iable state law limitations periods.

Thus, § 502, at issue here, provides for suits by beneficia-

ries against plans or their sponsors to enforce rights under

employee benefit plans. In practice—as in this action—such a

suit will ordinarily involve the uninsured portion of the bene-

fits, since a suit involving the insured portion is generally

brought under ERISA § 4003, which authorizes claims by

and against the PBGC. Claims are brought against the PBGC

if it has declined to pay insured benefits, and by the PBGC

after it has paid such benefits in order to recover its pay-

ments from other responsible parties. Significantly, suits

commenced by or against the PBGC are expressly governed

by the limitations periods in ERISA §§ 4003(e)(6) and

4003(f)(5), 29 U.S.C. §§ 1303(e)(6), 1303(f)(5). Each of those

subsections provides for a limitations period of three years

from discovery of the claim, but not more than six years

from accrual except in case of fraud or concealment.

Suits under § 4003 with respect to insured benefits are pre-

cisely analogous to suits commenced under § 502 to recover

the remaining uninsured portion of the same employee bene-

fits, since both involve disputes regarding contractual and

statutory obligations under the identical plan. Thus, the pol-

icy considerations regarding the applicable limitations periods

are identical and the periods should also be identical.

15

In contrast, application of a state law limitations period

can lead to the perverse result—as in this very case—that

plaintiffs would be permitted more time to bring suit to

recover the portion of their benefits which Congress chose to

leave uninsured than to sue the PBGC to obtain the federally

insured portion of their benefits, which Congress determined

was entitled to more protection. This turns the Congressional

scheme on its head.

Furthermore, all suits regarding breach of fiduciary duty or

an employer’s termination liability upon the termination of a

benefit plan, whether involving insured or uninsured benefits,

are also covered by explicit statutes of limitations providing

for the identical three year-six year period. ERISA §§ 413,

4070, 4301, 29 U.S.C. §§ 1113, 1370, 1451.

Indeed, each time Congress has amended ERISA to add a

statute of limitations, it has used this same three year-six year

period. Section 413, covering actions for breach of fiduciary

duty, was contained in the original House bill and in ERISA

as originally enacted. When Congress later expanded the sub-

stantive reach of the Act, it enacted new statutes of

limitations—each providing for the same period—to cover the

new claims. Thus, the Multiemployer Pension Plan Amend-

ments Act of 1980, Pub. L. No. 96-364, 94 Stat. 1208 added

ERISA § 4301 as a limitations period for ‘‘an action under

the bill.”’ 126 Cong. Rec. 20202 (July 29, 1980) (Joint Expla-

nation of $1076: Multiemployer Pension Plan Amendments

Act of 1980). Similarly, the limitations periods of §§ 4003

and 4070 were added by the Single Employer Pension Plan

Amendments Act of 1986, Pub. L. No. 99-272, § 11014, 100

Stat. 261-64 (1986), which comprehensively overhauled the

enforcement mechanisms of Title 1V (concerning plan termi-

nation insurance), and together with § 4301, they cover all

actions under Title IV.

In short, in Congressional revisions and enactments of var-

ious different parts of ERISA over a 12 year period, Con-

gress has repeatedly set the same three year-six year

limitations period to govern every claim for which it has con-

16

sidered the limitations question. Nothing in ERISA itself or

its legislative history suggests that by not specifying a limita-

tions period for § 502, Congress intended—after explicitly

preempting aii state law in this area, see supra, p. 11-12—to

bring in through the back door all the uncertainty and varia-

tion of state law by having federal courts look only to state

law to fill this lacuna in the enactment.

D. Sensible Administration Of Federal Benefits Law Com-

pels Application Of ERISA’s Explicit Limitation Period.

The remaining considerations in the Lampf, Pleva

analysis—the need for uniformity and predictability to serve

federal policy and judicial economy and the multistate nature

of actions under the relevant statute—compel the selection of

the ERISA limitations period for ERISA claims.

1. Uniformity Is Particularly Important Because Of The

Multi-State Nature Of Much Litigation Under

ERISA.

State by state determinations of the applicable limitations

period for claims under ERISA § 502 are particularly prob-

lematic because many benefit plans are multi-state. See, e.g.,

Robbins v. Iowa Road Builders Co., 828 F.2d 1348, 1353 n.3

(8th Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 487 U.S. 1234 (1988) (court

troubled by applying a state’s statute of limitations period to

claims regarding multi-state plan); Held v. Manufacturers

Hanover Leasing Corp., 912 F.2d 1197, 1199-1200, 1202-03

(10th Cir. 1990) (considering difficult choice of law issues in

determining which state’s law to apply); cf. FMC Corp. v.

Holliday, 111 S. Ct. at 408 (ERISA’s broad pre-emption

clause intended to avoid ‘“‘inefficiencies’’ that might result

from ‘‘an environment of differing State regulations’’). Even

small plans will often cover employees or plants in different

states—as is the case in the instant action.

As with RICO and the federal securities laws, actions

under ERISA § 502 (and LMRA § 301) are often multistate

in nature. Thus, the reasoning that compelled the Court to

17

apply a uniform federal limitations period to actions under

RICO, rather than looking to state law, is equally applicable

here:

The multistate nature of RICO indicates the desirability

of a uniform federal statute of limitations. With the

possibility of multiple state limitations [periods], the use

of state statutes would present the danger of forum

shopping and, at the very least, would ‘virtually guaran-

te[e] . . . complex and expensive litigation over what

should be a straightforward matter.’

Agency Holding Corp. v. Malley-Duff & Assocs., Inc., 483

U.S. 143, 154 (1987) (citations omitted).

Indeed, in states with ‘‘borrowing statutes,’’ different

plaintiffs may have different applicable limitations periods

even in the same action, resulting in a tremendous waste of

judicial and pension plan resources.’* For instance, in this

action, a relatively small single-employer benefit plan cover-

ing only one plant in Illinois involves beneficiaries who reside

in at least two states.”

Thus, even in a litigation involving a relatively simple bene-

fit plan, limitations periods of multiple states potentially are

12 Typical state borrowing statutes provide that where a cause of action

arises out-of-state, the forum shall apply the shorter of its own statute of lim-

itations or the statute of the other state. See, e.g., Ill. Ann. Stat. ch. 110,

4 13-210 (Smith-Hurd 1984). The borrowing statute often is interpreted to

preclude an out-of-state plaintiff from obtaining a longer limitations period

than could be obtained in his or her home state. See, e.g., Ceres Partners v.

GEL Assoc., 918 F.2d 349, 353 (2d Cir. 1990); Strong v. Lewis, 204 Ill. 35,

68 N.E. 556 (1903); LeBlanc v. G.D. Searle & Co., 178 Ill. App. 3d 236, 533

N.E.2d 41 (ist Dist. 1988), leave to appeal denied, 125 Ill. 2d 566, 537

N.E.2d 811 (1989) (Iilinois borrowing statute requires applying limitations

law of state of plaintiff's residence).

13. While no details regarding the members of the class appear in the

record in this action, the class certified is the same class as was certified in

Lumpkin v. International Harvester Co., 81 Civ. 6674 (N.D. IIl.). See Dis-

trict Court opinion on motion to dismiss (34a). The complaint in that action

alleges that ‘‘all or nearly all other plaintiff class members are citizens of IIli-

nois or Indiana.”’

18

involved. Not only does the District Court have to make a

separate determination of which statute to apply with respect

to each state, but the resulting limitations period in a single

lawsuit could vary from 2 to 20 years, depending on the acci-

dent of the individual plaintiffs’ current and former resi-

dences. As this Court has recognized, such a situation is a

powerful justification for application of uniform federal law.

Agency Holding, 483 U.S. at 150, 154; Reed v. United

Transp. Union, 488 U.S. 319, 326 (1989) (‘‘diversion of

resources to collateral statute-of-limitations litigation would

be foreign to the central purposes of [LMRDA] § 101(a)(2),

and thus we are persuaded that all claims under that provi-

sion should be characterized in the same way’’); Wilson v.

Garcia, 471 U.S. 261, 274 & n.33 (1985) (uniform law of lim-

itations necessary under 28 U.S.C. § 1983 to eliminate situa-

tion where ‘‘multiple periods of limitations would often apply

to the same case’’).

2. Lack of Uniformity Wastes Judicial And Pension

Fund Resources.

The wide variation in limitations periods makes rational

planning impossible for multi-state plans, sponsors and fidu-

ciaries, who may have unknown and certainly contingent lia-

bilities in uncertain amounts for indeterminate periods of

time, as well as for pensioners, who may lose actions for ben-

efits in mistaken reliance on longer statutes of limitations.

Furthermore, the uncertainty and opportunities for litiga-

tion tactics lead to delay and increased cost over a peripheral

issue. The burden of this delay and expense ultimately may

be borne by pension funds and their beneficiaries, contrary to

any intent of the statute. FMC Corp. v. Holliday, 111 S. Ct.

at 408. Thus, ERISA is a classic example of a statute where

‘*a uniform statute of limitations is required to avoid intoler-

able ‘uncertainty and time-consuming litigation.’ ’’ Agency

Holding Corp. v. Malley-Duff & Assocs. Inc., 483 U.S. 143,

150 (1987) (citing Wilson v. Garcia, 471 U.S. 261, 272

(1985)).

- . ree anil

19

POINT Il

CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO CLARIFY

THE RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN THIS COURT’S DECI-

SIONS IN LAMPF, PLEVA AND HOOSIER CARDINAL

WITH RESPECT TO FEDERAL EMPLOYEE

BENEFIT CLAIMS

A. The Court Should Clarify That Hoosier Cardinal Does

Not Apply To This Hybrid LMRA-ERISA Claim.

This action is a hybrid, involving not only the claim under

ERISA § 502 to enforce rights under the employee benefit

plans discussed in POINT I, but also a claim under LMRA

§ 301 to enforce a collective bargaining agreement.

This Court’s decision in UAW v. Hoosier Cardinal Corp.,

383 U.S. 696, 705-06 (1966), determined that in an action

brought under § 301 of the LMRA, the limitations period

ordinarily is to be determined by reference to the closest anal-

ogy in the law of the forum state.'* In De/Costello v. Interna-

tional Brotherhood of Teamsiers, 462 U.S. 151 (1983),

however, the Court limited Hoosier Cardinal, and held that

in a hybrid action alleging both breach of the collective bar-

gaining agreement and breach of the union’s duty of fair rep-

resentation, a uniform limitations period borrowed from the

NLRA would apply.

This action, like De/Costello, is a hybrid action involving

*‘inextricably interdependent’’ claims that should be governed

by the same statue of limitations. De/Costello, 462 U.S. at

14. Hoosier Cardinal upheld the application of Indiana’s limitations

period for unwritten contracts to an action under LMRA § 301 on a collec-

tive bargaining agreement, where reference to parol evidence was required to

establish plaintiffs’ standing to enforce it. As is shown in POINT III below,

Illinois law, like Indiana law, distinguishes between written and unwritten

contracts and applies its limitations period for unwritten contracts to actions

where parol evidence is necessary, including actions based on an alter ego

claim. Accordingly, the Seventh Circuit misapplied Hoosier Cardinal in

determining to disregard settled Illinois law and apply the written contracts

limitations period to this alter ego action.

20

164-65. As several lower courts have recognized, this type of

LMRA action to enforce pension benefits is virtually identical

to the parallel ERISA action and should be governed by the

same statute of limitations.'* Indeed, the Seventh Circuit in

the decision below applied the same limitations period to

both claims without discussion.

The legislative history also noted the close connection

between the two claims:

[With respect to suits to enforce benefit rights under the

plan or to recover benefits under the plan which do not

involve application of the Title I provisions, they may be

brought not only in U.S. district courts but also in State

courts of competent jurisdiction. All such actions in

Federal or State courts are to be regarded as arising

under the laws of the United States in similar fashion to

those brought under section 301 of the Labor Manage-

ment Relations Act of 1947.

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Taylor, 481 U.S. 58, 65-66

(1987) (quoting H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 1280, 93d Cong., 2d

Sess. 327, reprinted in 1974 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.

News 5038, 5107).

As is shown in POINT I above, the appropriate limitations

period for the ERISA § 502 claim in this action is the three

year-six year period provided by Congress for other actions

under ERISA. Certiorari should be granted to clarify that

DelCostello limits Hoosier Cardinal at least to the extent that

both parts of this hybrid ERISA § 502-LMRA § 301 claim

should be governed by one limitations period: the three year-

six year limitations period set out in ERISA.

1S = See, e.g., Adams v. Gould, Inc., 739 F.2d 858 (3d Cir. 1984) (apply-

ing ERISA § 413 limitations period to LMRA § 301 claim), cert. denied, 469

U.S. 1122 (1985); Sparks v. Ryerson & Haynes, Inc., 638 F. Supp. 56 (E.D.

Mich. 1986) (combined ERISA/LMRA claim for pension benefits; court

applied ERISA § 413 period); Smith v. ABS Indus., Inc., 653 F. Supp. 94,

101 (N.D. Ohio 1986) (same); see also DelCostello v. International Brother-

hood of Teamsters, 462 U.S. 151 (1983) (borrowing uniform federal limita-

tions period for another type of hybrid § 301 action).

4

21

B. This Court Should Clarify The Tension Between Hoosier

Cardinal And Lampf, Pleva With Respect To § 301

Claims Generally.

Lampf, Pleva also applies to the LMRA § 301 claim in this

action, even if it is analyzed separately from the companion

ERISA claim. Lampf, Pleva requires that the courts look to

federal law for a limitations period where a claim is based on

a judicially implied cause of action. Hoosier Cardinal, on the

other hand, created a presumption that a missing limitations

period ‘‘is to be determined, as a matter of federal law, by

reference to the appropriate state statute of limitations. . .

unless [state law] is unreasonable or otherwise inconsistent

with national labor policy.’’ Hoosier Cardinal, 383 U.S. at

705-706.

The LMRA § 301 cause of action, though explicit, is func-

tionally equivalent to a judicially implied cause of action,

because Congress purposefully left the entire dimensions of

the action to the judiciary to create in a common law man-

ner. Textile Workers Union of America v. Lincoln Mills of

Alabama, 353 U.S. 448 (1957) (determining that § 301 creates

a federal law of collective bargaining agreements); see also

Nedd v. United Mine Workers of America, 556 F.2d 190, 203

(3d Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 1013 (1978) (implying

right of action under another section of the LMRA; court

characterizes issue as ‘‘not unlike that considered in Textile

Workers’’). Since a § 301 claim is equivalent to an implied

right of action, this Court may conclude that, on further con-

sideration in light of Lampf, Pleva, that all § 301 claims

should be decided under a uniform federal statute of limita-

tions, rejecting the variable results which have flowed from

the Hoosier Cardinal decision.

Alternatively, since some claims brought under § 301 may

not implicate any other federal law or policy, Hoosier Cardi-

nal may retain vitality in those cases. At a minimum, this

Court should clarify that in those § 301 cases in which other

closely related federal statutes are implicated, as is the case

here, the best source of Congressional intent is such federal

22

law and Hoosier Cardinal does not require the use of state

limitations periods.

POINT Ul

CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED BECAUSE THE

SEVENTH CIRCUIT’S DETERMINATION OF THE

APPROPRIATE LIMITATIONS PERIOD UNDER ERISA

AND SECTION 301 MISCONSTRUES FEDERAL POLICY

UNDER ERISA AND CONFLICTS WITH THIS COURT’S

DECISiON IN HOOSIER CARDINAL AND THE

DECISIONS OF OTHER COURTS OF APPEAL

If state law continues to supply the limitations period for

federal employee benefit claims after Lampf, Pleva, a Writ

of Certiorari should issue because the Seventh Circuit’s selec-

tion of the state law period is based on a fundamental misap-

prehension of Congress’ intent in ERISA. Furthermore, it

stands in direct conflict with this Court’s decision in Hoosier

Cardinal and the decisions of other federal courts of appeal.

The Seventh Circuit’s decision conflicts with Hoosier Car-

dinal because the court rejected the limitations period which

concededly applies under Illinois law without finding that the

state law was inconsistent with national labor policy or other

federal interests. Moreover, the Seventh Circuit’s creation of

a novel and unsound federal policy conflicts with the deci-

sions of other courts of appeal and is not supported by

ERISA or its-legislative history. Indeed, the application of a

ten year period for written contracts to this action has no

basis in either federal or state law and, accordingly, consti-

tutes impermissible judicial legislation.

Finally, by applying a limitations period for written con-

tracts to a claim based upon a collective bargaining agree-

ment, the Seventh Circuit ignores a basic holding of Hoosier

Cardinal itself, that such claims are controlled by the limita-

tions period for contracts which are not exclusively in writ-

ing.

23

A. The Seventh Circuit Misconstrued The Meaning And Sub-

stance Of Federal Policy Under ERISA And § 301.

1. The Seventh Circuit Improperly Rejected The Applica-

ble Limitations Period Under State Law Without Find-

ing That It Was Contrary To Federal Policy.

In Hoosier Cardinal, this Court held that ‘‘the timeliness

of a § 301 suit . . . is to be determined, as a matter of fed-

eral law, by reference to the appropriate state statute of limi-

tations.’’ 383 U.S. at 704-05. The Court explained that:

[T)he characterization of [an] action for the purpose of

selecting the appropriate state limitations provision is

ultimately a question of federal law. But, there is no

reason to reject the characterization that state law would

impose unless that characterization is unreasonable or

otherwise inconsistent with national labor policy.

383 U.S. at 706 (citation omitted).

Under Illinois law, the five year statute of limitations for

actions On unwritten contracts would apply to respondents’

claims here. Ill. Ann. Stat. ch. 110, ¢ 13-205 (Smith-Hurd

1984). It is well-established that:

A contract cannot be said to be in writing unless the

parties thereto, as well as the terms and provisions

thereof, can be ascertained from the instrument itself. If

the party to a written contract is not named therein, the

contract is defective as containing only part of the agree-

ment.

Pratl v. Hawthorn-Mellody Farms Dairy, Inc., 53 Wl. App.

3d 344, 368 N.E.2d 767, 770 (ist Dist. 1977). Thus, under

Illinois law, as in Hoosier Cardinal, actions for breach of a

collective bargaining agreement are characterized as claims

based on unwritten contracts because ‘‘parol proof must be

resorted to, in order to show with whom the bargain was

made.’’ Jd.; see also Merk v. Jewel Food Stores, 641 F.

Supp. 1024, 1036 (N.D. Ill. 1986), aff’d, 848 F.2d 761 (7th

Cir.), cert. denied, 109 S. Ct. 393 (1988); Brown v. Trans-

24

america Freight Lines, 72 L.R.R.M. 2678, 2679 (N.D. Ill.

1969).

Similarly, where an action is based on alter ego theory, Illi-

nois law characterizes the claim as one based upon an unwrit-

ten contract, and applies the five year limitations period.

Baird & Warner, Inc. v. Addison Indus. Park, Inc., 70 Ill.

App. 3d 59, 387 N.E.2d 831, 843-44 (Ist Dist. 1979).'°

The Seventh Circuit acknowledged that, under Illinois law,

the five year statute applied to this action, but nevertheless

chose to reject that law. Instead, it borrowed the Illinois ten

year statute for actions based on contracts exclusively in writ-

ing. Ill. Ann. Stat. ch. 110, 4 13-206 (Smith-Hurd 1984), It

reached this result without expressly finding that Illinois law

is ‘‘unreasonable or otherwise inconsistent with national

labor policy,’’ the test articulated in Hoosier Cardinal. 383

U.S. at 706.

No such finding could be made. Manifestly, Illinois law

does not discriminate against federal interests. Contrast

Trustees of Wyo. Laborers Health and Welfare Plan vy.

Morgen & Oswood Constr. Co., 850 F.2d 613 (10th Cir.

1988) (rejecting Wyoming’s two year limitations period for

actions based on a federal statute where an eight year period

was permitted for analogous state actions). To the contrary,

16 The Baird & Warner court stated:

[E}]ven if the complaint were sufficient to state a cause of action in con-

tract, the ten year statute applicable to written contracts would not be

applicable. Neither Ruud nor Bliss [the alleged alter egos] were parties

to the contract; Baird could only seek to hold them liable in contract

by producing parol evidence showing that because of their relationship

to Addison, they should be held liable as if they were parties to the

contract. But where a person is not named in the written contract and

parol evidence is necessary to show the existence of the contractual

relationship, the contract is unwritten insofar as that person is con-

cerned and the limitations statute relating to written contracts is not

applicable.

Baird & Warner, 387 N.E.2d at 843-44. The same result applies here because

Envirodyne was not named in the collective bargaining agreement, and parol

evidence relating to its relationship with the bankrupt subsidiaries is required

to hold Envirodyne liable.

25

as shown below, Illinois law comports in every respect with

federal labor policy under ERISA and § 301.

2. The Seventh Circuit’s Analysis Of Federal Policy

Conflicts With ERISA, Its Legislative History,

Hoosier Cardinal And Other Federal Appellate Court

Decisions.

Even assuming that the Seventh Circuit implicitly made the

findings required by Hoosier Cardinal, it misapplied federal

policy. The Seventh Circuit asserted that application of Illi-

nois’ shorter, five year statute ‘‘would surely yield a result

anomalous with the legislative history and purpose of

ERISA.’’ (30a). Therefore, it concluded that ‘‘as a matter of

federal policy the longer statute of limitations should apply.’’

(29a).

There is no such federal policy. Despite its conclusory

invocation of ERISA’s legislative history, the Seventh Circuit

offered no authority for its view that the longest potentially

applicable statute should be borrowed. Indeed, no policy

expressed in ERISA or its legislative history requires a limita-

tions period as long as ten years.

To the contrary, the statute and legislative history show

that a five year period is not repugnant to ERISA. First,

ERISA itself uniformly provides for a three year and six year

limitations period for every claim covered by an express

period. ERISA §§ 502, 4003(e)(6), 4003(f)(5), 4070 and 4301;

29 U.S.C. §§ 1113, 1303(e)(6), 1303(f)(5), 1370 and 1451.

Second, in enacting ERISA, Congress rejected a five year

limitations period, contained in the Senate bill, and substi-

tuted the shorter three year period under § 413, 29 U.S.C.

§ 1113. H.R. 4200, 93d Cong., Ist Sess. § 698 (1973),

reprinted in 2 (pt. 1) Employee Retirement Income Security

Act of 1974 Legislative History 2102 (1976). Finally, in the

Judicial Improvements Act of 1990, Congress adopted a four

year limitations period for all statutes subsequently enacted

which do not contain a specific limitations period. 28 U.S.C.

§ 1658. Accordingly, it is difficult to fathom why application

26

of a five year statute of limitations under ERISA’s statutory

scheme would be ‘‘anomalous’’ as the Seventh Circuit sug-

gests.

Furthermore, the Seventh Circuit’s decision conflicts with

Hoosier Cardinal. That decision under § 301 expressly

approved the shorter limitations period governing oral con-

tracts to serve the goal of federal labor policy to achieve a

‘‘relatively rapid disposition of labor disputes.’’ 383 U.S. at

707. This Court rejected the union’s argument that applica-

tion of a six year period applicable to oral contracts was

repugnant to federal labor policy and that the longer limita-

tions period for written contracts should be applied.

Consistent with Hoosier Cardinal but in conflict with the

Seventh Circuit, some courts of appeal similarly have selected

shorter limitations periods, and rejected potentially applicable

longer periods, in suits under ERISA § 502. See, e.g.,

Fogerty v. Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., 850 F.2d 430, 432 (8th

Cir. 1988) (five year statute for breach of contract applicable

under ERISA; ten year statute for written contract for pay-

ment of money inapplicable); Vernau v. Vic’s Mkt., Inc., 896

F.2d 43, 45 (3d Cir. 1990), Byrnes v. DeBolt Transfer, Inc.,

741 F.2d 620, 625 (3d Cir. 1984) and Teamsters Pension

Trust Fund yv. John Tinney Delivery Serv. Inc., 732 F.2d 319,

322-23 (3d Cir. 1984) (each applying three year state statute

under § 301 and ERISA; six year statute inapplicable).

Moreover, the Seventh Circuit’s implicit conclusion, that

the five year limitations period under Illinois law is inade-

quate as a matter of federal policy, conflicts with the deci-

sions of four other Circuits.'’ Still other Circuits have

expressly approved a six year state limitations period as being

17. See Fogerty, supra (five year statute applicable under ERISA); Ver-

nau, supra, Byrnes, supra, and John Tinney Delivery Serv., supra (three year

statute applicable under ERISA); Connors v. Hallmark & Sons Coal Co.,

935 F.2d 336 (D.C. Cir. 1991) (applying three year statute under § 301 and

ERISA); Dameron v. Sinai Hosp. of Baltimore, Inc., 815 F.2d 975, 981-82

(4th Cir. 1987) (applying three year statute under ERISA).

27

fully consistent with federal policy under ERISA.’ Thus,

even if the Seventh Circuit correctly framed the issue as man-

dated by Hoosier Cardinal, it misapplied federal policy as

reflected in the decisions of other Circuits and Hoosier Cardi-

nal itself.

Furthermore, the Seventh Circuit’s decision is illogical. It

asserted that the longest imaginable limitations period should

apply because pensions accrue and are paid over many years,

and ERISA was passed for the purpose of protecting bene-

fits. (29-30a). However, these considerations cannot justify a

nine year delay in asserting a known claim.'? That an employ-

ee’s pension accrues over many years does not affect an indi-

vidual’s ability to enforce the employer’s pension obligation

within a reasonable time after the cause of action is known.

Indeed, respondents here promptly asserted claims for the

same benefits against Navistar.

In short, the Seventh Circuit’s version of ERISA policy is

ipse dixit, unsupported by reference to the statute iiself or its

legislative history. In ‘‘borrowing’’ a state limitations period

which would not apply under state law, the Seventh Circuit

engaged in unfettered legislation, following neither Congres-

sional intent nor the mandate of a state legislature. See

Lampf, Pleva, 59 U.S.L.W. at 4690 n.8 (‘‘we find no sup-

port in our cases for the practice of borrowing only a portion

of an express statute of limitations. Indeed, such a practice

comes close to the type of judicial policy making that our

borrowing doctrine was intended to avoid’’).

18 See, Hawaii Carpenters Trust Funds v. Waiola Carpenter Shop,

Inc., 823 F.2d 289, 297-98 (9th Cir. 1987); Biros v. Spalding-Evenflo Co.,

934 F.2d 740 (6th Cir. 1991); Central States Pension Fund v. Kraftco, Inc.,

799 F.2d 1098 (6th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 1086 (1987); Miles v.

New York State Teamsters Conference Pension and Retirement Fund, 698

F.2d $93 (2d Cir. 1983).

19 Moreover, as noted supra, many of the benefits sought in this case

are not pension benefits, as the Seventh Circuit assumed.

28

B. The Seventh Circuit’s Application Of The Written Con-

tract Limitation Period To Claims For Collectively Bar-

gained Employee Benefits Violates The Holding Of

Hoosier Cardinal.

In selecting the appropriate statute of limitations under

§ 301, Hoosier Cardinal characterized a claim for vacation

pay under a written collective bargaining contract as ‘‘one

not exclusively based upon a written contract’’ and applied

Indiana’s six year limitations period for breach of an oral

contract. 383 U.S. at 706-07. The Court applied this period

because the action was ‘‘based partly upon the written collec-

tive bargaining contract and partly upon the oral employment

contract each employee had made.”’ Jd. at 699. As the Court

explained:

Proof of the breach and measure of damages, however,

both depend upon proof of the existence and duration

of separate employment contracts between the employer

and each of the aggrieved employees. Hence, this § 301

suit may fairly be characterized as one not exclusively

based upon a written contract. Jd.

Id. at 706. Thus, it concluded that ‘‘we cannot agree that

federal law requires that this action be regarded as exclusively

based upon a written contract.’’ Jd.

The Seventh Circuit’s decision stands in direct conflict with

Hoosier Cardinal by holding that:

Despite the fact that some of the plaintiffs’ claims are

based on the collective bargaining agreement and are

brought under the LMRA, there is no basis in federal

law for characterizing their claims as an oral contract

for purposes of the statute of limitations.

(30a). On the contrary, Hoosier Cardinal requires that

respondents’ § 301 claim be characterized as an action based

upon an oral contract.” As shown in Point IJ, the same

result applies to the parallel ERISA § 502 claim.

20 There can be no doubt that, if Lampf Pleva does not compel a con-

trary result, Hoosier Cardinal applies to respondents’ § 301 claim. Both cases

involve claims for benefits under a written collective bargaining agreement

29

Indeed, the reasons for applying the oral contract period

here are even more compelling than in Hoosier Cardinal.

Respondents’ claims depend upon more than a showing of

their years of service and duration of employment which can

only be established by their separate employment contracts.

Envirodyne was not a signatory to the collective bargaining

agreement. Thus, respondents must also show that Enviro-

dyne was the employer under an alter ego theory. Even under

the Seventh Circuit’s own decision, it is clear that the evi-

dence required to support an alter ego claim goes far beyond

that required to establish a written contract. (25a).

Under these circumstances, as the Seventh Circuit recog-

nized, Illinois courts apply the limitations period for oral

contracts. Baird & Warner, Inc., quoted at fn. 16 supra.

However, the Seventh Circuit did not consider the reasons

why Illinois applies the shorter limitations period to an alter

ego case. The Seventh Circuit noted that written contract lim-

itations periods tend to be longer because proof of the con-

tract terms is presumably documented and, therefore, more

reliable. But the court completely failed to consider the

import of this policy consideration in an alter ego case where

the plaintiff must show that the documented relationships

ought to be set aside.” The problems of proof which caused

pursuant to § 301. Indeed, respondents here seek to recover vacation benefits

as did the plaintiffs in Hoosier Cardinal. Both cases involve state statutory

schemes which include separate statutes for breach of written contracts and

contracts that are not exclusively in writing. 383 U.S. at 705; Ill. Ann. Stat.

ch. 110. 44 13-205, 13-206 (Smith-Hurd, 1984). And, although respondents

here seek additional benefits such as enhanced pension payments, that fact

does not provide a valid basis for application of the ten year period of limita-

tion for written contracts. Entitlement to the pension, vacation, medical and

other benefits they seek requires proof of the existence and duration of sepa-

rate employment contracts. 383 U.S. at 707.

21 The Seventh Circuit even mistakenly concluded that a written con-

tract limitations period would apply because ‘‘presumably, the pension plan

in this case is at least written in part.’’ (29a). This standard reverses the

approach taken by Illinois law, Hoosier Cardinal and a host of other cases

which hold that a contract which is not exclusively in writing is deemed to be

an oral contract. See cases cited in Part III.A.1, supra, pp. 23-25.

30

the Illinois courts to adopt the shorter limitations period for

oral contracts in alter ego cases are manifestly present here.

Baird & Warner, Inc., supra. And it is widely recognized that

tort claims, such as the fraud or misrepresentation which

plaintiffs must prove here, should be subject to shorter limi-

tations periods than claims based solely upon written con-

tracts. See Goodman v. Lukens Steel Co., 107 S. Ct. 2617

(1987); Wilson v. Garcia, 471 U.S. 261 (1985).

In an increasingly fertile field of litigation, the Seventh Cir-

cuit’s mistaken creation of federal policy, at odds with deci-

sions of this Court in Hoosier Cardinal and Lampf, Pleva,

and the decisions of several other Circuits, threatens to cause

confusion and forum shopping.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the requested Writ of Certiorari

should issue.

Dated: August 15, 1991

/s/ STANLEY B. BLOCK

Stanley B. Block Edwin B. Mishkin

(counsel of record) Richard F. Ziegler

Charles B. Wolf Daniel J.H. Greenwood

Michael I. Richardson CLEARY, GOTTLIEB, STEEN

VEDDER, PRICE, KAUFMAN & HAMILTON

& KAMMHOLZ One Liberty Plaza

222 North LaSalle Street New York, New York 10006

Chicago, Illinois 60601 (212) 225-2000

(312) 609-7500

Attorneys for Petitioner

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

IN THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

—

Argued Oct. 26, 1990

Decided May 17, 1991

No. 90-1233

ed

FRANK LUMPKIN, ef al.,

Plaintiffs-A ppellants,

—_—VvV.—

ENVIRODYNE INDUSTRIES, INC.,

Defendant-Appellee.

Before:

BAUER, Chief Judge, and

CUMMINGS and RIPPLE, Circuit Judges.

>

CUMMINGS, Circuit Judge.

I. Background

This case requires us to untangle the legal positions of par-

ties disputing whether former employees of the Wisconsin

Steel Division (‘‘Division’’) should be awarded more than $40

million in lost pension benefits that they earned from 1977-

1980. The litigation before us represents but one chapter in a

complex cycle of litigation stemming from the sale of a steel

2a

plant in 1977.' The plaintiff class appeals Judge Moran’s

grani of Envirodyne’s motion to dismiss their case for vested

benefits earned between 1977 and 1980. Because this dis-

missal was granted on the basis of a failure to state a claim,

Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(6), we construe the facts on appeal in a

light most favorable to the plaintiffs.

International Harvester (its name has since changed to

‘*Navistar’’ and it will be referred to as such) owned the

Division, which included a steel plant located in Chicago, Illi-

nois, the steel mill’s inventory and receivables, two iron-ore

mines, and a coal mine, for 75 years. In 1977, Navistar con-

cluded that the plant was no longer profitable for the corpo-

ration and began to look for a buyer. However, the plant did

not come unencumbered. Any prospective buyer of the Divi-

sion would not only receive a steel plant but also would

assume responsibility for over $62 million in unfunded pen-

sion liabilities, a considerable amount for any prospective

buyer to absorb.

In 1977, Navistar found an unlikely buyer, however, in

Envirodyne Industries, Inc., a small engineering company

located in Oak Brook, Illinois, interested in purchasing the

Division in order to test new environmental technologies.

Envirodyne also viewed the Division as serving certain short-

term pressing financial needs. Navistar’s sale of the Division

to Envirodyne was not a straight sale, however, and ulti-

mately the deal took the form of a transfer of title by Navis-

tar to two wholly-owned subsidiaries of Envirodyne, set up

specifically for the purpose of assuming control over the

Division. The two subsidiaries were named EDC Holding

Company (‘‘EDC’’), a subsidiary of Envirodyne, and WSC

Corporation (‘‘WSC’’), in turn a subsidiary of EDC. Under

the terms of the sale by Navistar, the two subsidiaries

| Still pending before this Court are appeals arising out of Judge

Moran’s decision in Pension Ben. Guaranty Corp. v. Envirodyne Industries,

Inc., 10 EBC 1458 (N.D.III.1988) that Navistar was held to be liable to the

plaintiffs for the employees’ pension benefits only to the date of sale. This

Court held recently that Navistar was not liable in fraud to EDC. In re EDC,

Inc., 930 F.2d 1275 (7th Cir.1991).

3a

assumed responsibility for the substantial unfunded amma

fund of the Division.

This arrangement endured from 1977 until 1980, when

EDC and WSC filed for bankruptcy under Chapter 11 of the

Bankruptcy Code and the Division closed. The bankruptcy

filing was precipitated by Navistar, which foreclosed on the

mortgages extended to EDC and WSC as part of the sale of

the Wisconsin Steel Division.’

The bankruptcy spawned a flurry of litigation, precipitated

by the claims brought by the creditors of EDC and WSC for

the debts due to them. In 1980, the logical defendant was not

the parent of the two subsidiaries, Envirodyne, which had yet

to grow into the Fortune 500 company which it has now

become, but Navistar, for it was Navistar that initiated and

leveraged the sale of the Division in the first place to Enviro-

dyne, a buyer that was alleged to be undercapitalized and

incapable of assuming sole responsibility for the huge pension

fund. Indeed, Lehman Brothers, which had prepared a report

reviewing the terms of the ultimate sale of the Division by

Navistar to EDC and WSC, stated unequivocally that the

deal smelled of fraud, and called for Envirodyne to take

responsibility for the pension benefits as opposed to the two

subsidiaries, set up presumably to insulate the parent from

liability for the pension fund.

A series of claims was subsequently brought against Navis-

tar. First, there were the claims brought by the creditors of

EDC and WSC for the debts of the two subsidiaries. Next

were two sets of pension claims for the pension monies due

to the former employees of the Division for benefits from the

period both before and after the sale of the Division. Under

the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974

(““ERISA’’), 29 U.S.C. §§ 1081 et seq., the employees filed

claims for vested pension benefits with the Pension Benefit

Guaranty Corporation (‘‘PBGC’’), which acknowledged that

the claims were insured and proceeded to assume fiscal

responsibility for a portion of the claims. PBGC in turn filed

2 EDC and WSC could not afford to pay for the Wisconsin Steel Divi-

sion at once, so that Navistar extended credit to the purchasers in the form of

mortgages.

4a

suit against Navistar for indemnification for the pension

claims it had satisfied. The remaining claim against Navistar

was filed by Frank Lumpkin ef ai/., the class of former

employees of the Division, who filed claims for the pension

and contractual obligations not guaranteed by the PBGC and

running from 1977 through 1980.

These three lawsuits were subsequently consolidated by

Chief Judge Moran into what became known as Lumpkin I.

Before trial of these consolidated claims, Navistar settled

with the various parties for $14.8 million in February 1988.

Contained in the Settlement Agreement was a release, which

has since become crucial to the disposition of the instant

case. The release provided that ‘‘[t]he Settlement Agreement

settles all claims by or on behalf of members of the Settle-

ment Class in the Lumpkin class action and in the WSC

bankruptcy proceedings.’’ The Definitions section of the Set-

tlement Agreement identified the parties included in the Set-

tlement Agreement. They included Navistar, the Lumpkin

Class, EDC and WSC. Significantly, however, Envirodyne

Industries, Inc. was not named in the Settlement Agreement,

and the Lumpkin plaintiffs’ present claims hinge on a finding

that Envirodyne was not released by the terms of the Settle-

ment Agreement. This is a point to which we will return.

One important fact worth noting at the outset is that when

the settling parties presented the Settlement Agreement in dis-

trict court for a fairness hearing by Judge Moran, counsel to

the Lumpkin class pronounced in open court that the plain-

tiffs did not intend by the release to absolve Envirodyne of

potential liabilities. Plaintiffs’ counsel suggested also that it

wished to reserve its rights against Envirodyne even though

EDC and WSC were named explicitly in the release. At the

time of this statement, Judge Moran did not make any

explicit ruling on the viability of future claims by plaintiffs

against Envirodyne.

Following the Settlement Agreement, the other claims out-

side the Settlement went io trial. In Pension Ben. Guaranty

Corp. v. Envirodyne Industries, Inc., Judge Moran held that

Navistar was liable to the PBGC for the employees’ pension

benefits to the date of the 1977 sale and not after. 10 EBC

= ee eee

Sa

1458 (N.D.11.1988). The district judge determined further

that Navistar had no liability to the debtors-in-possession,

EDC and WSC. The decision rejected Envirodyne’s claim

that Navistar was liable to it for fraud, recognizing that

Envirodyne had the necessary information available and was

not an ‘‘unsophisticated old person relying on some glib-

tongued huckster.’’ 10 EBC at 1462. This Court recently

affirmed Judge Moran’s decision that Navistar was not liable

in fraud to EDC. In re EDC, Inc., 930 F.2d 1275 (7th

Cir.1991). In that decision, the Court, alluding to cases like

this one, acknowledged that ‘‘venturesome creditors might try

. to pierce the corporate veil and reach Envirodyne’s

assets and might even succeed.’’ Jn re EDC, Inc., 930 F.2d at

1279. Thus at the time the present litigation began, the plain-

tiffs had entered into the 1988 Settlement Agreement with

Navistar, whose pension liability had been limited as a matter

of law to the 1977 sale by Judge Moran’s decision in Pension

Ben. Guaranty Corp. v. Envirodyne Industries, Inc. See note

1 supra.

Remaining unrecovered as a result of the proceedings were

the pension benefits earned by the plaintiff class from the

time that the Division was sold in 1977 to the time that it

closed three years later in 1980. In an effort to recover these

benefits, the plaintiff class successfully petitioned for recerti-

fication for this class action suit against Envirodyne Indus-

tries, Inc., the parent corporation of the defunct subsidiaries

EDC and WSC. The plaintiffs brought this class action suit

under ERISA Section 502 (29 U.S.C. § 1132) and the Labor

Management Relations Act (‘‘LMRA’’) Section 301 (29

U.S.C. § 185) for uninsured pension and contract benefits for

the period from the date of sale in 1977 to the date of closure

in 1980. The basis for their claim against the parent corpora-

tion was that Envirodyne, as parent of EDC and WSC, was

liable for the lost benefits under a corporate law alter ego

theory. In other words, plaintiffs asserted that they should be

permitted to disregard the corporate form that would other-

wise insulate Envirodyne Industries from plaintiffs’ pension

claims against EDC and WSC.

6a

As mentioned earlier, Judge Moran, in a memorandum

‘order, certified a plaintiff class identical to the class in

Lumpkin I, but the plaintiffs’ claims did not advance much

further because Judge Moran in the same order proceeded to

grant Envirodyne’s motion to dismiss. The district judge

based his decision on several grounds. First and foremost, he

concluded that Envirodyne was released under the terms of

the Settlement Agreement. Although the Settlement Agree-

ment did not name Envirodyne Industries, there were, in

Judge Moran’s view, compelling reasons for insulating

Envirodyne from liability under the terms of the release. Cit-

ing the specific language of the release, he recognized that the

Settlement Agreement contained the statement that ‘‘all

claims’’ in both the class action and the bankruptcy proceed-

ing were released. According to this reasoning, if alter ego

claims could have been asserted against Envirodyne in the

bankruptcy proceeding, then claims against Envirodyne

would be barred under the plain terms of the settlement

release. See District Court Memorandum and Order of

November 7, 1989, at 9-10 (Plaintiffs’ App. A-10-A-11).

Additionally, Judge Moran found a more indirect means of

concluding that the Settlement Agreement precluded the

plaintiffs’ suit against Envirodyne. Since Navistar entered

into the Settlement Agreement on the condition that it would

be forever released for any further liabilities in the dispute,

subsequent litigation in this matter must be reviewed with an

eye to its possible effect on the validity of the release. If the

suit filed by the Lumpkin plaintiffs against Envirodyne could

expose Navistar to further liabilities, such a suit would vio-

late the terms of the Settlement Agreement. Judge Moran

recognized that the results of the 1988 trial in Pension Ben.

Guaranty Corp. v. Envirodyne Industries, Inc. made it highly

unlikely that Envirodyne, if held liable in a suit by the

Lumpkin class, could successfully obtain contribution from

Navistar. However, he went on to say that ‘‘when the bar-

gain was struck [in the Settlement Agreement] the trial had

not yet commenced, and the interested parties could not be

certain of the outcome.’’ Memorandum and Order of

November 7, 1989, at 10 (Plaintiffs’ App. A-11). Because he

_&#7f$y$°$°™°™°m6= LL.

Ta

believed the Settlement Agreement cannot be viewed in hind-

sight, Judge Moran thought that its terms must be taken to

include the possibility that Envirodyne would proceed against

Navistar, and that the release specifically foreclosed this pos-

sibility. Jd.

Judge Moran concluded that the release prevented the

plaintiff class from bringing suit against Envirodyne, and

therefore he did not reach the statute of limitations defense

put forward by Envirodyne. As an alternative grounds for

dismissal, Envirodyne had claimed that the plaintiffs’ class

action was time-barred by the Illinois five-year statute of lim-

itations for disputes arising on an oral contract. The plaintiff

contends in response that the claims here are properly charac-

terized as controversy over the terms of a written contract, so

that the longer ten-year statute of limitations applies. If the

latter is true, then the plaintiffs’ action is not barred by the

statute of limitations.

After Judge Moran granted defendant’s motion to dismiss,

the plaintiffs filed a timely notice of appeal in this Court.’

On appeal, the plaintiffs asserted that the motion to dismiss

was improvidently granted on several grounds, and claimed

that as a matter of law the Settlement Release does not

immunize Envirodyne from suit. Because the release is assert-

edly ambiguous on its face, its proper construction hinges on

the outcome of a searching examination of the parties’ intent.

This appeal comes to us on the granting of a motion to dis-

miss, with an inadequate record for us to decide the question.

Therefore, we remand to the district judge to determine the

parties’ intent on the basis of a more developed evidentiary

record. Although Judge Moran declined to reach the statute

3. When plaintiffs first filed their notice of appeal, this Court ques-

tioned whether the appeal was timely. Upon review of plaintiffs’ jurisdic-

tional memorandum, filed in response to our order, we conclude that their

appeal was timely filed. The limitations period for filing was tolled from the

date of the district court’s denial of plaintiffs’ motion to reconsider the

court’s grant of the motion to dismiss. Fed.R.App.P. 4(a)(4)(iii). The district

court denied plaintiffs’ motion to reconsider on January 18, !990. The plain-

tiffs filed their notice of appeal on January 30, 1990. Plaintiffs had thirty

days to file their notice of appeal so that their appeal was timely.

8a

of limitations issue in the case, both parties briefed it, and we

decide it, because the plaintiffs’ claims may go forward on

the remand. We hold that the proper statute of limitations

under Illinois law for the plaintiffs’ action is ten years, since

the plaintiffs’ claims resemble claims on a written contract.

Therefore, their claims are not time-barred.

II. Analysis

A. The Federal Policy Underlying ERISA

Before reviewing the specific legal controversies at issue in

the case, it is worthwhile to place this case in perspective.

First and foremost, the dispute in this case arose in the

shadow of ERISA, the complex, comprehensive federal stat-

ute passed by Congress to protect the pension rights of

employees. Thus the dispute here arose between one party,

the plaintiff employees, whose right to pension benefits has

been explicitly protected by Congress in the enactment of a

comprehensive legislative scheme, and the defendant, a cor-

poration whose liability for such pension benefits is contested

under ERISA and under principles of both contract and cor-

porate law.

Whether plaintiffs’ claims under ERISA and Section 301 of

the LMRA are meritorious is not for us to decide. Our task

is limited to a review of Judge Moran’s decision to grant the

defendant’s motion to dismiss. Clearly the plaintiffs have

stated a cause of action under both federal statutes. First of

all, Section 301 of the LMRA authorizes district courts to

decide suits for violation of contracts between an employer

and a labor organization, and it is uncontested that plaintiffs

were representing all former employees belonging to the Pro-

gressive Steel Workers Union or other bargaining units.* In

turn, ERISA Section 502 provides for civil enforcement, per-

mitting pension plan beneficiaries to bring a private action to

recover benefits due to them under the terms of a benefit

plan. Specifically, ERISA provides that ‘‘[aJn employee bene-

4 Envirodyne does not challenge the jurisdiction of the district court

under the LMRA or ERISA (Defendant’s Br. at 1).

9a

fit plan may sue or be sued under this title as an entity.’’

ERISA Section 502(d)(1), codified at 29 U.S.C. § 1132(d)(1).

The plaintiff class cites other sections of ERISA in support

of its claims. Section 203 sets forth the minimum vesting

standards for pension benefits. ERISA requires that ‘‘[e]ach

pension plan shall provide that an employee’s right to his

normal retirement benefit is nonforfeitable upon attainment

of normal retirement age.’” ERISA Section 203(a), codified at

29 U.S.C. § 1053. Section 204(g) protects accrued benefits

from being decreased by amendments to the specific pension

plan. ERISA Section 204(g)(1), codified at 29 U.S.C. § 1054.

Finally, the plaintiffs refer in their appeal to Section

206(d)(1), ERISA’s anti-alienation provision. This section,

heavily relied upon by the plaintiffs in their brief and at oral

argument, requires that ‘‘[e]Jach pension plan shall provide

that benefits provided under the plan may not be assigned or

alienated.’’ ERISA Section 206(d)(1), codified at 29 U.S.C.

§ 1056(d)(1).

The plaintiffs place particular weight on this last section,

the anti-alienation provision, which they believe protects the

employees of the Division from either expressly or impliedly

waiving their right to pension benefits by entering into the

Settlement Agreement. ERISA’s anti-alienation provision

assertedly protects them from such an unknowing waiver of

pension benefits, for the release, if it includes Envirodyne,

would operate to deny the plaintiffs their pension benefits for

the period after the Division was sold to the subsidiaries of

Envirodyne.

Plaintiffs’ analysis begs the question. The issue is not

whether the anti-alienation provision contained in ERISA

prevents plaintiffs from waiving their pension benefits. It

clearly does not. Rather, the question here is whether the

plaintiffs released their claims against Envirodyne by settling

their claims with EDC and WSC. Interpreting a settlement

agreement presents a question of contract law, in which

“‘[t]he primary object in construing a contract is to give

effect to the intention of the parties.’’ Air Line Stewards and

Stewardesses Ass’n v. American Airlines, Inc., 763 F.2d 875,

877-878 (7th Cir. 1985), certiorari denied, 473 U.S. 1059, cit-

10a

ing Schek v. Chicago Transit Auth., 42 Ill.2d 362, 364, 247

N.E.2d 886, 888 (1969). Absent clear language in the Settle-

ment Agreement to resolve a dispute over the proper con-

struction of a contract, a court may go outside the four

corners of the contract and consider extrinsic and parol evi-

dence presented by the parties. This requires the district court

to then conduct fact-finding so that it may resolve the ambi-

guities inherent in the contract. LaSalle Nat’! Bank v. Service

Merchandise Co., 827 F.2d 74, 78 (7th Cir. 1987).

The former employees of the Division, who comprise the

plaintiff class, have no other recourse to recover the pension

and welfare benefits due to them from their service to the

Division from 1977 to 1980. The anti-alienation provision,

while clearly manifesting Congress’s intent to protect workers

from unknowingly signing away their vested pension benefits,

does not impose a bar on settlement agreements wherein pen-

sion claims are knowingly and intentionally resolved by

employees. Fair v. International Flavors & Fragrances, Inc.,

905 F.2d 1114, 1115-1116 (7th Cir. 1990); Nichol v. Pullman

Standard, Inc., 889 F.2d 115, 121 (7th Cir. 1989). To apply

the anti-alienation provision in this case would establish the

untenable rule that ERISA prevents plaintiffs from ever

entering into a settlement in a dispute over lost pension bene-

fits.

The plaintiffs’ position, favoring a rigid application of the

anti-alienation provision, is not defensible. They cite the

Supreme Court’s recent decision in Guidry v. Sheet Metal

Workers Pension Fund, 493 U.S. 365, 110 S.Ct. 680, 107

L.Ed.2d 782, for the proposition that ‘‘there is mo exception

to this [anti-alienation] policy ever.’’ (Plaintiffs’ Br. at i9

(emphasis in original)). If this were true, then the Settlement

Agreement, in which the plaintiffs plainly recovered a portion

of their pension claims, would be invalid so long as any

amount of unrecovered pension benefits remained at issue.

This no-exception rule, if applied here, would render a Settle-

ment Agreement valid only on the continued approval of the

plaintiffs, a result that is svrely inconsistent with the whole

lla

purpose of encouraging settlement agreements to resolve legal

claims.

While the anti-alienation provision of ERISA does impose

a firm rule preventing pensioners from alienating their bene-

fits, this case is simply outside the realm of the provision.

The legal question in this case revolves not around the proper

construction of a specific provision in ERISA, but rather

around legal questions of corporate and contract law. As the

defendant rightly points out, the anti-alienation provision

protects individuals who pledge their pension benefits as col-

lateral or squander their benefits before retirement (Defen-

dant’s Br. at 20).° The Settlement Agreement in this case does

not fall into either category. Instead, the question on appeal

is whether the employees can recover pension benefits earned

between 1977 and 1980 from Envirodyne under the theory

that the release in the Settlement Agreement does not extend

to Envirodyne and that Envirodyne can be held liable for the

pension and welfare benefits under an alter ego theory.

B. Application of the Settlement Release to Envirodyne

1. The intent of the parties

Turning to the release itself, the question to be resolved

concerns the proper interpretation of a contract entered into

by informed parties represented by counsel. Should the

release be read broadly to include Envirodyne, even though

Envirodyne is nowhere named in the Settlement Agreement?

In construing the terms of a contract, a court is required to

engage in a two-fold inquiry. First, it is necessary to look to

the plain language of the provision at issue. Reviewing Illi-

nois law, this Court has noted that ‘‘[t]he starting point must

be the contract itself. If the language of the contract unam-

biguously provides an answer to the question at hand, the

S As support for their reading of the anti-alienation provision, the

defendant analogizes to an identical provision of the Internal Revenue Code,

Section 401(a)(13), which states that the I.R.C. anti-alienation provision

applies to arrangements where benefits are ‘‘anticipated, assigned (either at

law or equity), alienated or subject to attachment, garnishment, levy, execu-

tion or other legal or equitable process.’’ Treasury Reg.Sec. 1.401(a)-13(b).

12a

inquiry is over.’’ LaSalle Nat’l Bank v. Service Merchandise

Co., 827 F.2d 74, 78 (7th Cir. 1987). If the plain language of

the contract is ambiguous, then ‘‘the court must go on to

declare [the contract’s] meaning.’’ Jd. If the court finds that

a contract is ambiguous and that extrinsic evidence is undis-

puted, then the interpretation of the contract remains a ques-

tion of law for the court to decide. City of Clinton v.

Moffitt, 812 F.2d 341, 344 (7th Cir. 1987). However, if the

parties dispute the extrinsic evidence on an ambiguous con-

tract, then a fact-finder must be called upon to determine the

intent of the parties. Jd.; LaSalle Nat’! Bank, 827 F.2d at 78;

Air Line Stewards and Stewardesses Ass’n v. American Air-

lines, Inc., 763 F.2d 875, 878 (7th Cir. 1985).°

We hold that as a matter of law the release is ambiguous

on its face. Envirodyne is not identified by name as a settling

party, and the release, while it names WSC and EDC,

nowhere states that naming the subsidiaries operates to

release the parent corporation.

Judge Moran declined to examine fully the parties’ intent,

believing instead that ‘‘[t]he issue is not . . . their subjective

intent but the necessary implications of the bargain which

they made.’’ District Court Memorandum and Order of

November 7, 1989, at 9 (Plaintiffs’ App. A-10). In effect the

district court tacitly admitted by this statement that the plain

language of the release is insufficient to determine Enviro-

dyne’s status. However, to draw any conclusions conceining

the necessary implications of this bargain requires going

beyond the language contained in the writing itself. Therefore

6 This approach has been questioned in Riley v. American Family

Mut. Ins. Co., 881 F.2d 368 (7th Cir. 1989), where the Court recognized that

either federal common law or state contract law might govern the release of

rights under Title VII or other similar federal statutes. Jd. at 371. The Court

in Riley concluded that where plaintiffs execute a settlement release on the

advice of counsel and absent fraud or duress, they may release their rights

under Title VII. Jd. at 373-374. The critical difference, however, between

Riley and the case at hand is that the district judge in Riley made an explicit

finding that the release was unambiguous. See also Constant v. Continental

Tei. Co., 745 F Supp. 1374 (C.D.II. 1990) (same analysis applied to Age Dis-

crimination in Employment Act). Here Judge Moran made no specific find-

ing that the release contained in the Settlement Agreement was unambiguous.

l3a

it is mecessary to define the parties’ intent by looking to

extrinsic and parol evidence. The record on appeal is insuffi-

cient for us to ascertain the parties’ intent. This inquiry must

properly be carried out by the district court judge, who has

the parties and the evidence before him. In Air Line Stewards

and Stewardesses, this Court decided that although the settle-

ment agreement in a sex discrimination case was ambiguous

on its face, it did not provide for retroactive retirement credit

for employees upon consideration of extrinsic evidence. The

Court declined to remand for findings of fact, concluding

that the issues in the case had been fully briefed, and the

Court had before it all of the relevant extrinsic evidence. 763

F.2d at 879. We cannot do the same here, because the record

is incomplete. The district judge made no findings of fact,

and there may well be extrinsic evidence outside the record

on appeal that bears upon the proper determination of the

parties’ intent.

Although this Court cannot make factual findings concern-

ing the intent of the parties from this record, we can examine

the legal principles that will apply to the district court’s evi-

dentiary inquiry. First, it must be determined under applica-

ble law whether, as plaintiffs contend, a specific intent to

release is required for Envirodyne to be released from further

liabilities pursuant to the Settlement Agreement. Second, this

Court must decide whether Envirodyne is specifically

included in the release by virtue of the fact that it is the par-

ent corporation of two corporate entities named explicitly in

the release, EDC and WSC.

Envirodyne advances two arguments in support of its posi-

tion that the Settlement Agreement released it from the

instant lawsuit. The first is what plaintiffs call the ‘‘implied’’

or ‘‘general’’ release argument. It concerns the proper scope

to be given to a release as a matter of law. The plain lan-

guage of the release nowhere mentions Envirodyne. In order

to prevail, the defendant must demonstrate that such a

requirement is unnecessary and that, as a matter of law, a

generally worded release operates to release potential defen-

dants from all foreseeable claims. This was the ancient com-

mon law rule under which ‘‘a release extinguished the cause

l4a

of action to which it related,’’ and a release of one party

released all others jointly liable, without regard to the intent

of the parties. Zenith Radio Corp. v. Hazeltine Research,

Inc., 401 U.S. 321, 343, 91 S.Ct. 795, 808, 28 L.Ed.2d 77.

Unfortunately for Envirodyne, in the very same opinion, the

Supreme Court put that rule to rest, rejecting it in favor of

the rule set forth in the Second Restatement of Torts: ‘‘The

straightforward rule is that a party releases only those other

parties whom he intends to release.’’ Jd. at 347, 91 S.Ct. at

810.

The plaintiffs in this case assert that they did not intend to

release Envirodyne by entering into the Settlement Agree-

ment. Indeed, at the fairness hearing the plaintiffs’ attorney

announced to the district court that plaintiffs were reserving

their rights against Envirodyne. Before we conclude, how-

ever, that the rule in Zenith governs this case, a more search-

ing analysis is required.

In a case involving a federal cause of action, the extent to

which a release binds parties unnamed is an issue governed

by federal law. Locafrance U.S. Corp. v. Intermodal Systems

Leasing, Inc., 558 F.2d 1113 (2d Cir. 1977) (Oakes, J.).

However, because there is no general federal common law,

conflicting interpretations of this mandate have arisen among

the circuits. See Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Transport Work-

ers Union, 451 U.S. 77, 101 S.Ct. 1571, 67 L.Ed.2d 750. The

Second Circuit in Locafrance favored a uniform federal

rule—namely, that a release of a joint tortfeasor or cocon-

spirator does not release others ‘‘unless the party signing the

release intended the others to be released.’’ Locafrance, 558

F.2d at 1115.

The Ninth Circuit disagrees. In Mardan Corp. v. C.G.C.

Music, Ltd., 804 F.2d 1454 (9th Cir. 1986), Judge Norris

readily acknowledged that the scope of the validity of a

release of a federal cause of action is governed by federal

law. Mardan, 804 F.2d at 1457. However, the court believed

that the governing federal law does not require the courts to

establish a uniform federal rule. Rather, the federal law in

this area arises through the incorporation of ‘‘state rules of

decision,’’ which ‘‘furnish an appropriate and convenient

15a

measure of the governing federal law.’’ Jd. at 1458. See

Burks v. Lasker, 441 U.S. 471, 486, 99 S.Ct. 1831, 1841, 60

L.Ed.2d 404 (in stockholders’ derivative suit brought under

federal law, state law should be applied).

Judge Norris’ point in Mardan is well-taken here. In fash-

ioning a federal rule of decision, courts must often look to

the applicable state law for guidance in areas where Congress

has not provided for a uniform federal rule. Therefore in

Mardan, where the purchaser of a musical instrument plant

brought an action against the vendor under the Comprehen-

sive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability

Act (““CERCLA”’’) (42 U.S.C. §§ 9601-9657 (1982)), the court

applied New York law, holding that the action was barred by

that state’s law of release.’ Jd. at 1461.

The Mardan rule makes sense, for the alternative presented

in Locafrance places the job of inventing a uniform federal

rule within the discretion of the first federal judges that gets

their hands on the issue. This leaves too much to chance. If

Congress intended federal courts to be bound by a single

standard when a federal cause of action arises, then it could

have provided for such a rule for cases where a federal cause

of action raises an accompanying question of interpretation

of a related legal position.

Turning then to state law, we must examine the law-of

release in Illinois. In Illinois, the law of release has been

reviewed by the courts in the area of tort law as a result of

the express provisions contained in the Illinois Contribution

Among Joint Tortfeasors Act (Ill.Rev.Stat. ch. 70, para. 302

(1989)), which provides in part (c):

When a release or covenant not to sue or not to enforce

judgment is given in good faith to one or more persons

liable in tort arising out of the same injury or the same

wrongful death, it does not discharge any of the other

tortfeasors from liability . . . unless its terms so provide

7 The majority included the appropriate caveat that state law will sup-

ply the content of the federal rule so long as the governing state law ‘‘does

not in any way appear to be aberrant or hostile to federal interests.’’ Mar-

dan, 804 F.2d at 1460.

l6a

but it reduces the recovery on any claim against the oth-

ers to the extent of any amount stated in the release

. . Or in amount of the consideration actually paid for

it, whichever is greater.

The Illinois Supreme Court has construed the Act as

applied to a generally worded release arising out of the settle-

ment of an action for personal injuries. A/sup v. Firestone

Tire & Rubber Co., 101 Ul.2d 196, 77 Ill.Dec. 738, 461

N.E.2d 361 (1984). There the injured plaintiffs, who were in

one car at the time of the accident, entered into a settlement

containing a general release of the driver and his parents,

who were in the other car, ‘‘and all other persons, firms, and

corporations, both known and unknown.”’ Jd. at 197, 77

Ill.Dec. 738, 461 N.E.2d 361. The release also posed ‘‘a

complete bar to all claims or suits for injuries or damages of

whatsoever nature resulting or to result from said accident.”’

Id. at 199, 77 Ill.Dec. 738, 461 N.E.2d 361. Subsequently,

after discovering that a defective tire might have precipitated

the accident, the plaintiff’s administrator filed suit against

the tire manufacturer.

On review, the Illinois Supreme Court held that the tire

manufacturer was not released, despite the apparent breadth

of the settlement language. In its analysis, the state court crit-

icized the common law rule whereby the release of one tort-

feasor released all joint tortfeasors, and relied instead upon

the Illinois Contribution Among Joint Tortfeasors Act. Rec-

ognizing the danger that plaintiffs may ‘‘unwitting[ly] dis-

charge . . . joint tortfeasors,’’ id. at 201, 77 Ill.Dec. 738,

461 N.E.2d 361, the court declined to release Firestone when

it was not named or specifically designated in the release. The

1984 opinion, by the court’s own admission, established a

new rule of decision under Illinois-law:

We judge that the widespread use of and reliance upon

general releases to discharge all tortfeasors, including

those not specifically identified in the release, require

that our decision here be made prospective in operation.

. . We accordingly hold that this decision will apply

17a

prospectively to releases from liability executed after the

date of the filing of this opinion.

Id. at 202-203, 77 Ill.Dec. 738, 461 N.E.2d 361 (citations

omitted). See also Stewart v. Village of Summit, 114 Ill.2d

23, 30, 101 Ill.Dec. 862, 865, 499 N.E.2d 450, 453 (1986)

(‘‘{Tjhe public policy of this jurisdiction is that no instrument

purporting to terminate the liability of a tortfeasor serves to

discharge any other tortfeasor from liability for the same

injury unless its terms so provide.’’).

In this case the plaintiff class has not brought a tort suit,

and the district court failed to find the analogy to tort law to

be persuasive. But the law to be applied is not the law of tort

but the law of release as applied to the proper interpretation

of a recorded settlement agreement. The 1988 settlement

release entered into by the plaintiffs should be interpreted in

light of pervasive legal trends rather than the antiquated com-

mon law rule.

Here the release entered into by the plaintiffs was of the

same general nature as the settlement release in Alsup. By

settling with Navistar, the plaintiffs, along with the other set-

tling parties agreed to settle ‘‘any and all claims, actions,

causes of action, rights or liabilities, including Unknown

Claims, by a Settlement Class Member or on behalf of a Set-

tlement Class Member or by anyone claiming through or

under a Settlement Class Member by way of subrogation or

otherwise, that have been asserted or could have been

asserted in the Chapter 11 bankruptcy proceed or of Jn re

Wisconsin Steel Company.’’ (Settlement Agreement at 4,

reprinted in Plaintiffs’ Br. at A-21). This is plamly a general

release that purports to resolve all claims, but it nowhere

mentions Envirodyne by name. Nor does the release mention

that Envirodyne is one of the parties that plaintiffs intend to

release. :

There are two separate questions concerning the release,

and the decisions of the Illinois Supreme Court in Alsup and

the Supreme Court’s requirement of a specific intent to

release in Zenith provide the appropriate framework for con-

struing the release in view of its facial ambiguity. This

SS

18a

requires the district court to give proper consideration to the

extrinsic evidence necessary to define the parties’ intent.

2. Envirodyne’s invocation of the alter ego doctrine

Our above conclusion does not wholly pave the way for

plaintiffs’ suit against Envirodyne to go forward, for Enviro-

dyne advances another argument in favor of its position. It is

what the plaintiffs characterize as the defendant’s ‘‘express’’

release argument—that the defendant is released because

WSC and EDC are specifically named in the Settlement

Agreement and because Envirodyne is the parent corporation

of the two subsidiaries, it benefits from the release under an

alter ego theory.

Envirodyne, in advancing this argument, seeks protection

from a doctrine whose purpose is to prevent a corporation

that has acted fraudulently or unjustly from protecting itself

from liability by shielding itself with the protective mantle of

the corporate form. Essentially, defendant’s argument is but

another way of restating the argument that the release of one

party operates to release all others. This time, however, the

defendant bases its argument on a principle of corporate

law—in short, the defendant has served up a red herring. As

we understand its approach to the a/ter ego doctrine, defen-

dant argues that if it is found to be the alter ego of the sub-

sidiaries, then its relation to the subsidiary is close enough

for Envirodyne to be considered a party to the release.

However, the alter ego doctrine, as invoked by Enviro-

dyne, does not work this way. Courts will allow plaintiffs to

pierce the corporate veil to impose liability on a defendant

who unjustly seeks protection in the corporate form. The

alter ego doctrine is a sword, not a shield, the basis for a

cause of action, not a defense. By asserting that the a/ter ego

doctrine applies to its case, Envirodyne essentially inculpates

itself by admitting that WSC and EDC are corporate shells

and that Envirodyne, the parent corporation, is the real party

at interest in the Settlement Agreement. Envirodyne’s wish to

be recognized as an alter ego of the subsidiaries here could

return to haunt it when the district court decides whether

19a

plaintiffs may pierce the corporate veil. By asserting that it is

an alter ego, Envirodyne may be barred from stating that it is

not an alter ego at a later stage of the litigation. In Goldstein

v. Scott, 108 Ill.App.3d 867, 872, 64 Ill.Dec. 374, 378, 439

N.E.2d 1039, 1043 (1982), the Illinois Appellate Court recog-

nized that a party may not assert that it is the alter ego and

then, when it is no longer advantageous to do so, deny it.

Goldstein involved a defendant church corporation, which

sued its liability insurer for coverage on a property damage

claim. A federal district court held in favor of the church

believing it to be the alter ego of the uninsured beneficial

owner of the property. Jd. at 871, 64 Ill.Dec. 374, 439

N.E.2d 1039. Subsequently, the church attempted to escape

liability for personal injuries caused by the property damage,

claiming that it was not the a/ter ego of the property owner.

Id. at 872, 64 lil.Dec. 374, 439 N.E.2d 1039. The state appel-

late court concluded that the church may not assert that it is

the alter ego and later deny it:

[The church] having sought the finding that it was [the

property owner’s] alter ego ... and having obtained

the finding it so vigorously sought is judicially estopped

from denying in this action that it is the [property own-

er’s] alter ego. ... A party cannot play ‘‘fast and

loose’. . . or blow “‘hot and cold’’ during the course

of litigation. When a party assumes a certain position in

a legal proceeding and succeeds in maintaining that posi-

tion, he may not thereafter assume a contrary position.

Id. at 872, 64 Ill.Dec. 374, 439 N.E.2d 1039, citing Finley v.

Kesling, 105 lll.App.3d 1, 60 Ill.Dec. 874, 433 N.E.2d 1112

(1982).

C. Proper Application of the A/ter Ego Doctrine

Were we to accept the defendant’s view of the alter ego

doctrine, the Court would be sanctioning the abuse of the

corporate form. In this case, the a/ter ego doctrine applies to

the plaintiffs’ theory of the case, for it is they who have

20a

alleged control, fraud and undercapitalization by defendant

in order to pierce the corporate veil.

In cases involving claims to pension benefits protected by

ERISA, it has been recognized that there is a federal interest

supporting disregard of the corporate form to impose liabil-

ity. ERISA protects workers from their employers’ attempts

to deny them pension benefits. As the First Circuit made

clear in Alman v. Danin, 801 F.2d 1 (1st Cir.1986), where it

allowed the plaintiffs to press forward with their suit against

the incorporators of an underfunded corporation, ‘‘ERJSA

. cannot be said to attach great weight to corporate

form,”’ id. at 3.

In reaching this conclusion, the A/man court first examined

the proper approach a court should take when it decides

whether to disregard the corporate entity where a federal

cause of action is asserted. First, the court noted that

although ‘‘[t]here is no litmus test in the federal courts gov-

erning when to disregard corporate form,’’ the Supreme

Court has stated that ‘‘the doctrine of corporate entity, rec-

ognized generally and for most purposes, will not be regarded

when to do so would work fraud or injustice.’”’ Jd. at 3,

quoting Taylor v. Standard Gas & Electric Co., 306 U.S.

307, 322, 59 S.Ct. 543, 550, 83 L.Ed. 669. Moreover, the

protection afforded by the corporate form might be undercut

by the overriding federal legislative policy reflected in the

particular statute providing an aggrieved party with a cause

of action.

The underlying congressional policy behind ERISA clearly

favors the disregard of the corporate entity in cases where

employees are denied their pension benefits. In Pension Ben.

Guaranty Corp. v. Ouimet Corp., 711 F.2d 1085 (1983), cer-

tiorari denied, 464 U.S. 961, 104 S.Ct. 393, 78 L.Ed.2d 337,

the First Circuit pierced the corporate veil to impose liability

upon the solvent members of a corporation that had declared

bankruptcy. The court emphasized that the congressional

intent of ERISA is to hold employers responsible for pension

benefits, so that when the corporate form poses a bar to lia-

bility, ‘‘concerns for corporate separateness are secondary to

what we view as the mandate of ERISA.’’ Jd. at 1093; see

2la

also Pension Ben. Guaranty Corp. v. Anthony Co., 537

F.Supp. 1048 (N.D.IlI.1982) (employer and parent were a sin-

gle employer for purposes of imposing liability for vested,

unfunded benefits; parent corporation obligated to make

good on deficiency from pension plan termination). Thus

under Ouimet Corp., the corporate form chosen by defen-

dant does not necessarily preclude plaintiffs from piercing the

corporate veil and suing Envirodyne. If justice would be

served and potential fraud nullified then plaintiffs should be

able to proceed against the party that has actual control of

WSC and EDC.

Conversely, widening the scope of the release so that it

applies to Envirodyne would undermine the above-articulated

reasons for piercing the corporate veil in the first place. In

Alman, the court recognized that the corporate veil may be

pierced more easily in ERISA cases than in pure contract

cases in order to promote the federal policies underlying the

statute: ‘‘Allowing [the parent] of a marginal [undercapita-

lized subsidiary] to invoke the corporate shield in circum-

stances where it is inequitable for them to do so and thereby

avoid financial obligations to employee benefit plans, would

seem to be precisely the type of conduct Congress wanted to

prevent.’’ Alman, 801 F.2d at 4.

The Ninth Circuit has previously upheld a district court’s

decision to disregard the corporate form so that plaintiffs in

that case would recover unpaid contributions to their pension

plan. Laborers Clean-Up Contract Admin. Trust Fund vy.

Uriarte Clean-Up Service, Inc., 736 F.2d 516 (9th Cir.1984).

The court recognized that the corporate defendant was a

dummy corporation set up for the purpose of carrying forth

the business of certain individual shareholders. In making

this determination, the Ninth Circuit identified three factors:

1) the amount of respect given to the separate identity of the

corporation by its shareholders; 2) the fraudulent intent of

the incorporators; and 3) the degree of injustice visited on the

litigants by respecting the corporate entity. Jd. at 524. The

court found that all three prongs of the test were satisfied, in

particular identifying the extent to which the incorporators

22a

undercapitalized the corporation so that the corporation was

unable to operate as a business or satisfy its debts.

Alman and Uriarte thus provide a framework for applying

the alter ego doctrine to determine whether its underlying

purposes have been met. The plaintiffs have yet to prove in

court their entitlement to benefits from Envirodyne. If they

are able to do so as a matter of law, it will be because they

have successfully shown that Envirodyne is the alter ego of

WSC and EDC so that the corporate form should be disre-

garded.

There is authority to suggest that the release of a subsidi-

ary does not prevent alter ego claims from being brought

against the parent. In Mesler v. Bragg Management Co., 39

Cal.3d 290, 702 P.2d 601, 216 Cal.Rptr. 443 (1985) (Mosk,

J.), the California Supreme Court construed a California

statute which, like the Illinois Contribution Among Joint

Tortfeasors Act, abrogated the common law rule that the

release of one party released all. The court concluded that the

plaintiff who settled with a subsidiary could still proceed

against the parent, rejecting earlier decisions construing the

same statutory provision. Contra M/V American Queen vy.

San Diego Marine Construction Corp., 708 F.2d 1483, 1490

(9th Cir.1983); Fuls v. Shastina Properties, Inc., 448 F.Supp.

983 (N.D.Cal.1978).

The Mesler court properly drew a distinction between cases

where the corporate veil is pierced so that a parent is held lia-

ble for the actions of a subsidiary and cases where the parent

attempts to evade liability by benefitting from a release that

applies to a subsidiary. In cases where the veil is pierced to

expose the parent to liability, it is not as though one corpora-

tion is held liable for the acts of another corporation; instead

a ‘‘hole’’ is ‘‘drilled in the wall of limited liability erected by

the corporate form.’’ Jd. 702 P.2d at 607, 216 Cal.Rptr. at

449. Aside from the liability of the parent where the alter ego

doctrine applies, the corporate form remains intact. There-

fore, the veil is pierced only to the extent that justice requires

and no further.

While permitting veil-piercing in the above equitable cir-

cumstances, the Mes/ler court addressed the situation in which

23a

the parent invokes the alter ego doctrine to benefit from a

release and escape liability. According to its rationale, if the

wall of the corporate form remains erect in all other respects,

‘‘when the plaintiff settles with only the subsidiary, the par-

ent’s liability continues. To hold otherwise would be to

defeat the policy of promoting justice that lies behind the

alter ego doctrine.’’ Jd. The opinion in Mesler provides a

credible argument that the a/ter ego doctrine can be invoked

to impose liability on a parent even when the plaintiff settles

with the subsidiary.®

Envirodyne claims that the equities favor its position, and

that the Settlement Agreement requires that it be relieved

from any further liabilities. However, Envirodyne’s desire to

remain insulated by the settlement release cannot bar the

plaintiffs’ claim to benefits, where Envirodyne provides the

only recourse for the plaintiffs to recover their vested pension

benefits. Therefore, justice can hardly be said to require that

the release be interpreted broadly so as to exonera‘e a party

unnamed in the release.

Moreover, Envirodyne does not contest the plaintiffs’

claim that the subsidiaries, WSC and EDC, were set up spe-

cifically for Envirodyne’s purchase of the Division. Yet the

plaintiffs allege that the corporate veil should be pierced

because the two subsidiaries were grossly undercapitalized

and appear to have been set up for no other reason than to

insulate the parent, Envirodyne, from potential claims against

the Division for pension benefits or other liabilities. See Pen-

sion Ben. Guaranty Corp. v. Envirodyne Industries, Inc., 10

EBC 1458, 1462 (N.D.III.1988). At least from the perspective

of Lehman Brothers, which issued a report concerning the

sale by Navistar of the Division to the two subsidiaries of

Envirodyne, the transaction was a fraud, and the report

demanded that Envirodyne assume responsibility for the pen-

8 The court in Mesler analogized to agency cases in different jurisdic-

tions in which a suit against the principal is not precluded by the release of

the agent. Mes/er, 39 Cal.3d at 303 n. 5, 702 P.2d at 608 n. 5, 216 Cal.Rptr.

at 450 n. S.

24a

sion benefits instead of insulating itself from liability by cre-

ating a corporate shell.

Because in all probability Envirodyne has not been released

by the Settlement Agreement, the plaintiffs will be able to

present their case for piercing the corporate veil in the district

court. In order .. prevail, the plaintiffs must satisfy the

requirements for piercing the corporate veil. Under Illinois

law, two factors are required:

[Flirst, there must be such unity of interest and owner-

ship that the separate personalities of the corporation

and the individual no longer exist; and second, circum-

stances must be such that an adherence to the fiction of

separate corporate existence would sanction a fraud or

promote injustice.

Koch Refining v. Farmers Union Central Exch., Inc., 831

F.2d 1339, 1345 (7th Cir.1987), certiorari denied, 485 U.S.

906, 108 S.Ct. 1077, 99 L.Ed.2d 237, quoting Gallagher v.

Reconco Builders, Inc., 91 lll.App.3d 999, 1004, 47 Ill.Dec.

555, 558-59, 415 N.E.2d 560, 563-564 (1980); see also Jn re

Kaiser, 791 F.2d 73, 75 (7th Cir.1986) (permitting a/ter ego

claims whenever reliance on the corporate form would

‘‘defeat some strong equitable claim’’), certiorari denied,

Wise v. Kaiser, 479 U.S. 1011, 107 S.Ct. 655, 93 L.Ed.2d

710. As to the first requirement of the Illinois a/ter ego doc-

trine, the plaintiff must show the degree of control by the

parent by ‘‘presenting evidence of misrepresentation; com-

mingling of funds, assets, or identities; undercapitalization;

failure to operate at arm’s length; and failure to comply with

corporate formalities.’ Koch Refining, 831 F.2d at 1345, cit-

ing Main Bank v. Baker, 86 Ill.2d 188, 205-206, 56 Ill.Dec.

14, 22, 427 N.E.2d 94, 102 (1981).

The second requirement of the Illinois a/ter ego doctrine—

that adherence to the corporate form would give rise to fraud

or injustice—will apply if the plaintiff proves the existence of

either fraud (such as intentional wrongdoing) or injustice.

Koch, 831 F.2d at 1345. However, proper application of Illi-

nois’ test for piercing the corporate veil invariably involves

factual questions to be determined by the circumstances of

‘ 25a

each case. Id., citing Stap v. Chicago Aces Tennis Team,

Inc., 63 Ill.App.3d 23, 28, 20 Ill.Dec. 230, 234, 379 N.E.2d

1298, 1302 (1st Dist.1978). In Koch Refining, this Court con-

ducted an individualized inquiry based on the lilinois alter

ego doctrine to conclude that a bankruptcy trustee can pierce

the corporate veil to bring an alter ego claim against the

debtor corporation’s shareholders.

D. The Possibility of Bringing Claims Against Envirodyne in

the Bankruptcy Proceeding

Envirodyne has two remaining arguments to support its

claim that the settlement release should operate to relieve it

from liability for the plaintiffs’ lost pension benefits. Rather

than addressing whether or not Envirodyne actually is

released, these arguments concern other provisions in the Set-

tlement Agreement. Defendant’s first argument addresses lan-

guage preventing ‘‘any and all claims . . . that -have been

asserted or could have been asserted in the Chapter 11 bank-

ruptcy proceeding.’’ (Settlement Agreement at 4, reprinted in

Plaintiff’s Br. at A-21). The question, then, is whether a

claim against Envirodyne ‘‘could have been asserted’’ in the

Chapter 11 bankruptcy proceeding.

At first glance, it would appear that the answer to the

question is ‘‘yes.’’ This Court has held previously that alter

ego claims may be brought in bankruptcy by the trustee of a

bankrupt corporation, Koch Refining v. Farmers Union Cen-

tral Exchange, Inc., 831 F.2d 1339, 1346 (7th Cir.1987).

However, the Court recognized that trustees had standing to

bring only those claims which apply to all creditors of the

debtor corporation generally. Jd. at 1349. As the Court in

Koch Refining stated:.‘‘If the liability is to all creditors of

the corporation without regard to the personal dealings

between such officers and such creditors, it is a general

claim,’’ id. Alternatively, the Court recognized that ‘‘the

trustee has no standing to bring personal claims of creditors.

A cause of action is ‘personal’ if the claimant himself is

harmed and no other claimant or creditor has an interest in

the cause,’’ id. at 1348 (emphasis in original).

26a

In the Chapter 11 proceeding, Jn re Wisconsin Steel Com-

pany, Nos. 80 B 3766 through 80 B 3773, Adversary No. 81

A 0442, 1989 WL 39995 (Bktcy.N.D.IIl.), the former employ-

ees of the Division comprised only one of the several credi-

tors in the proceeding. They were the only creditors to assert

claims for lost pension benefits. Their claims are properly

described as personal claims and not general claims. The

logic of Koch Refining therefore leads necessarily to the con-

clusion that plaintiffs’ alter ego claims against Envirodyne

could not have been asserted in the bankruptcy proceeding

because they were not claims of the creditors generally but

ERISA claims unique to the former employees.

E. Envirodyne’s Potential Claims Against Navistar

The final argument advanced by Envirodyne in its attempt

to show that it was released from claims by the plaintiffs

concerns the possibility that Envirodyne might bring claims

against Navistar as a result of this litigation. Plainly, the set-

tlement agreement releases Navistar from any further liabili-

ties stemming from its sale of the Division to the subsidiaries

of Envirodyne. Therefore, if as a result of this suit Navistar

were exposed to additional liability, plaintiffs’ suit would vio-

late the terms of the settlement agreement.

In his order granting Envirodyne’s motion to dismiss,

Judge Moran addressed the possibility that the defendant

would bring a claim against Navistar. He concluded that a

suit by Envirodyne against Navistar was a possibility at the

time that the plaintiffs entered into the settlement agreement.

Therefore, it was not, in Judge Moran’s view, relevant that

at the conclusion of the trial in Pension Ben. Guaranty Corp.

v. Envirodyne Industries, Inc., he held that Navistar was lia-

ble only for pension benefits accruing until 1977, the year the

Division was sold to the subsidiaries of the defendant. See

District Court Memorandum and Order of November 7,

1989, at 9-10 (Plaintiffs’ Br. at A-10-A-11).

The district court’s analysis was incomplete concerning

Navistar’s potential liability to Envirodyne, for Judge

Moran’s decision at trial does not provide the only bar to any

27a

suit Envirodyne might bring against Navistar. As the plain-

tiffs correctly point out, their a/ter ego claims against Enviro-

dyne are in fraud, alleging that Envirodyne knowingly set up

undercapitalized subsidiaries in order to escape any liabilities

for claims arising out of its acquisition of the Division.

Envirodyne cannot impute its fraud to another party. If it is

liable to the plaintiffs under an a/ter ego theory, then it is lia-

ble for its own improper intentional actions and cannot

obtain indemnification from Navistar.

Moreover, any right of contribution that Envirodyne might

have against Navistar is properly limited by the method this

Court has identified for determining contribution rights

under ERISA. Contrary to the plaintiffs’ assertion, a non-

settling defendant does possess a right of contribution under

ERISA. Donovan vy. Robbins, 752 F.2d 1170 (7th Cir.1985).

The Donovan Court identified this right to contribution, but

went on to reject the traditional rule that imposes no limit on

the non-settling defendant’s right to contribution. /d. at

1180. Instead, Donovan advocated the adoption of a rule

based on comparative fault. Under a comparative fault

regime, no party pays more than its adjudicated fair share.

As explained in Donovan:

[T]he court fixes the percentage of the plaintiff’s dam-

ages that is attributable to the fault of the settling defen-

dants, multiplies that percentage by the judgment

against the nonsettling defendants, and deducts the

resulting amount from the judgment.

Id. Judge Moran has in essence satisfied the comparative

fault inquiry recommended in Donovan by establishing that

Navistar was liable for pension benefits due to the plaintiffs

only up to the time of the sale of the Division.? Envirodyne

no longer has any possible claim against Navistar.'°

9 Judge Moran’s ruling is on appeal. See note | supra.

10 Although Donovan concludes that there is a right to contribution

under ERISA, this matter is still unsettled. In a 1989 district court decision,

28a

F. The Applicable Statute of Limitations

Because the district judge concluded that the sett'sment

release applied to Envirodyne, he saw no need to reach the

statute of limitations issue. However, because the Settlement

Agreement is ambiguous and requires additional fact-finding

to determine the parties’ intent, it is necessary to address the

statute of limitations. Envirodyne raises the issue as an

affirmative defense to the suit against it.

The plaintiffs filed suit against Envirodyne in February

1989, nine years after the Division went into bankruptcy.

ERISA itself does not impose a statute of limitations under

Section 502, the civil enforcement provision; therefore the

district court must apply the most appropriate state statute of

limitations so long it is consistent with federal law and pol-

icy. Wilson v. Garcia, 471 U.S. 261, 266-267, 105 S.Ct. 1938,

1941-1942, 85 L.Ed.2d 254; Central States, Southeast and

Southwest Areas Pension Fund v. Jordan, 873 F.2d 149, 152

(7th Cir.1989).

This Court has held previously that an employee’s claimed

eligibility for pension benefits is a creature of contract law.

Jenkins v. Local 705 International Brotherhocd of Teamsters

Pension Plan, 713 F.2d 247 (7th Cir.1983). Under Illinois

law, there are two separate statutes of limitations for actions

on contracts. For actions on oral contracts, the statute of

limitations is five years. Ill.Rev.Stat. ch. 110, para. 13-205

(1989). Alternatively, a ten-year statute of limitations applies

to actions on written contracts. Ill.Rev.Stat. ch. 110, para.

13-206 (1989).

Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Yampol, 706 F.Supp. 596 (N.D.III.1989), Judge

Leinenweber concluded that ‘‘ERISA does not expressiy create a right of

contribution in favor of fiduciaries.”’ Yampol, 706 F.Supp. at 598. He

referred to the opposite conclusion in Donovan as dictum and concluded that

the fiduciary in that case had failed to satisfy the Supreme Court’s precondi-

tions for finding a federal right of contribution under a statute that does not

expressly create such aright. See Texas Industries, Inc. v. Radcliff Materials,

Inc., 451 U.S. 630, 101 S.Ct. 2061, 68 L.Ed.2d $00; Northwest Airlines, Inc.

v. Transport Workers Union, 451 U.S. 77, 10! S.Ct. 1571, 67 L.Ed.2d 750.

29a

To determine which statute of limitations properly applies,

the nature of the plaintiffs’ claims must be examined. The

plaintiffs have brought their suit under ERISA Section

502(a)(1)(B) for lost benefits due to them under the pension

plan. Presumably the pension plan in this case is at least writ-

ten in part, so that the Illinois ten-year statute of limitations

applies. Our conclusion is fully consistent with the decisions

of this Court in Jenkins and Jordan. Jenkins held that an

employee’s action to recover pension benefits based on the

written terms of a pension plan was governed by the Illinois

ten-year statute of limitations, 713 F.2d at 253, and Jordan

recognized that although the pension plan in that case was

based at least in part based on orally conducted collective

bargaining negotiations, an ERISA delinquency action was

still governed by the ten-year statute of limitations because

the longer statute of limitations ‘‘contribute[d] to the stability

of pension funds and . . . encourage[d] employers to meet

their obligations.’’ 873 F.2d at 154.

Despite this Court’s decisions in Jordan and Jenkins apply-

ing the ten-year statute of limitations to actions arising under

ERISA and the LMRA, Envirodyne argues that the shorter

limitations period should apply when an alter ego theory is

alleged, because parol evidence is indispensable, as the party

to be held liable is not named in the contract. As support,

defendant cites Baird & Warner, Inc. v. Addison Indus.

Park, Inc., 70 Ill.App.3d 59, 73, 26 Ill.Dec. 1, 13-14, 386

N.E.2d 831, 843-844 (1st Dist.1979). That case is distinguish-

able because it involved purely a matter of state law. The

application of a state statute of limitations to a federal cause

of action is ‘‘ultimately a question of federal law.’’ Jordan,

873 F.2d at 154, citing Jnternational Union, etc. v. Hoosier

Cardinal Corp., 383 U.S. 696, 86 S.Ct. 1107, 16 L.Ed.2d

192; Jenkins, 713 F.2d at 251. The decisions of the Illinois

courts regarding the applicability of the two statutes of limi-

tations are helpful but not binding, for they do not take into

consideration the national interests at stake. Jordan, 873 F.2d

at 154.

As explained above, as a matter of federal policy the

longer statute of limitations should apply, because the plain-

CO

30a

tiffs’ claims are for vested pension benefits that have alleg-

edly become due to them over a period of years. To truncate

the available period for claims by applying the shorter statute

of limitations would fly in the face of ERISA. Pension bene-

fits vest and accrue throughout the career of an employee.

They are often paid out over a period of several decades.

Moreover, the difference between the two statutes of limita-

tions may be explained by the fact that parties to a written

contract can demonstrate the existence of their bargained-for-

exchange over a longer period of time, for the agreement is

evidenced by the writing. An oral contract, on the other

hand, if not important enough to memorialize in writing, is

less deserving of legal protection over time, and liability may

be harder to prove, presumably because the parties must rely

on memory to recollect the terms of the oral agreement in

court.

Despite the fact that some of the plaintiffs’ claims are

based on the collective bargaining agreement and are brought

under the LMRA, there is no basis in federal law for charac-

terizing their claims as an oral contract for purposes of the

statute of limitations. See Trustees of Wyoming Laborers

Health and Welfare Plan v. Morgen & Oswood Constr. Co.,

850 F.2d 613, 621 (10th Cir.1988) (Wyoming’s ten-year stat-

ute of limitations for written contracts applies to actions

brought under ERISA and LMRA Section 301). Indeed, fed-

eral policy favors the protection of pension benefits, and it

would surely yield a result anomalous with the legislative his-

yry and purpose of ERISA to nip claims for vested pension

benefits in the bud through application of the shorter statute

of limitations.

III. Conclusion

This decision paves the way for the plaintiffs to present

their case against Envirodyne more fully in the district court.

We cannot decide the merits of the plaintiffs’ ERISA and

LMRA claims for lack of a sufficientiy developed record

Since the scope of the settlement release comes down to a

3la

question of the parties’ intent in view of the Settlement

Agreement’s ambiguity, the matter is remanded to the district

judge for a full evidentiary inquiry.

Cause remanded for further proceedings in accordance

with this opinion.

32a

APPENDIX B

IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

>

Nov. 7, 1989

No. 89 C 1330

>

FRANK LUMPKIN, RAFAEL ALVAREZ, DELBERT C. AUGUST-

SON, WAYNE SCHWARTZ, FELIX VASQUEZ and JOHN

RANDALL,

Plaintiffs,

ean ak

ENVIRODYNE INDUSTRIES, INC.,

Defendant.

>

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

>

MORAN, District Judge. 2

In 1977 International Harvester Company sold its Wiscon-

sin Steel division in a structured arrangement by which EDC

Holding Company (EDC), a wholly-owned subsidiary of the

present Envirodyne Industries, Inc. (Envirodyne), purchased

the assets of the division, which were then held by various

subsidiaries of EDC. One of those subsidiaries, WSC Corpo-

ration (WSC), operated the steel facilities (Wisconsin Steel)

where the plaintiffs in this action were employed. In 1980

EDC and WSC sought bankruptcy protection and Wisconsin

Steel permanently closed. In the interim, after the EDC

33a

acquisition and prior to or as a result of the closure, employ-

ees had acquired pension and contractual rights, and they

had pre-existing rights from their employment at Interna-

tional Harvester which EDC and WSC Stéel had assumed as

part of the acquisition. The bankrupt companies could not

pay those obligations or the obligations to a host of credi-

tors, including International Harvester.

Those events led to others. The Pension Benefit Guaranty

Corporation (PBGC) accepted the responsibility of paying

ERISA pensions and sued International Harvester, claiming

on various grounds that International Harvester was liabie to

it for those pension obligations not only through the time of

sale but until Wisconsin Steel closed. The creditors of EDC

and WSC claimed in bankruptcy court that the International

Harvester was liable to the debtors-in-possession for all debts

they had accumulated, or at least (since the realizable assets

were but a small fraction of those debts) that International

Harvester’s claims should be subordinated. The former

employees sued International Harvester, Lumpkin, et al. v.

International Harvester Company, 81 C 6673, (Lumpkin J),

claiming that International Harvester was responsible to them

for pension and contractual obligations not guaranteed by

PBGC and arising through the entire period until the closure

of Wisconsin Steel. see

Ultimately all these disputes came together in this court

and they were set for trial. Shortly before trial the parties set-

tled Lumpkin I for $14.8 million. The other disputes went to

trial, and this court, about a year ago, determined that Inter-

national Harvester was liable to PBGC to the date of sale but

not thereafter, and that it was not liable to the debtors-in-

possession.

The former employees now bring this action against

Envirodyne, claiming uninsured pension and contract benefits

for the period from sale to closure, 1977-1980. As a threshold

matter they ask for certification of the same class as was cer-

tified in Lumpkin J, and that motion is granted. Envirodyne

agrees that class disposition is appropriate, but it believes

that the class should only include former employees covered

by Progressive Steel Workers Union (PSWU) contracts.

34a

Envirodyne has, conceptually, a point. The class representa-

tives are surrogates for the PSWU because that union disap-

peared with the demise of Wisconsin Steel. Presumably the

unions who are parties to other collective bargaining units

remain in being and are free to assert their claims, if they

wish. As a practical matter, however, the affected employees

are few in number and, divided among several unions, still

fewer are represented by any of the other unions. Plaintiffs

represent that those employees were covered by ‘‘me-too”’

collective bargaining contracts tied to the PSWU contract.

Judge Kocoras included them in the Lumpkin I class, and

there is every reason to believe that those unions acquiesced

in being represented by the class in that action. In the

absence of some indication that they do not so acquiesce in

this action, or some more compelling reason for exclusion

than those now presented, we see no reason for defining the

class any differently than in Lumpkin I.

Envirodyne’s motion to dismiss is another matter. Plain-

tiffs raise claims under both ERISA and § 301 of the Labor

Management Relations Act. Both claims rely upon plaintiffs’

belief that EDC and WSC were so insubstdfitial that they can

pierce the corporate veil and hold Envirodyne liable for the

obligations negotiated by WSC with the PSWU in the 1977-

1980 collective bargaining agreements. They claim, in short,

that Envirodyne was the alter ego of WSC. Envirodyne con-

tends that both claims are barred by a five-year limitations

period applicable to each and that, in any event, the claims

were released in the settlement of Lumpkin IJ. Plaintiffs con-

tend that the limitations periods are ten years and deny that

the claims were reieased. We believe that the claims were

released, for the reasons set forth below, and grant the

motion to dismiss. We therefore do not reach the limitations

issues.

Envirodyne has large’ managed to stay outside the mael-

strom of these various litigations. PBGC named Envirodyne

as a defendant because it was, due to common control, an

employer. Envirodyne subsequently settled with PBGC for an

undisclosed amount, in the context of a statutory scheme

which set a cap on liability related to net worth at the rele-

35a

vant time. Envirodyne’s net worth was then relatively mod-

est. It has since grown significantly, and during the trial

against International Harvester this court recalls some rum-

blings by the WSC creditors of proceeding in some fashion

against Envirodyne. Nothing came of it, and this action has

been the only attempt to reach Envirodyne for more than its

statutory liability as an employer upon termination of a plan.

At the time of the Lumpkin I settlement the plaintiffs had

class claims against International Harvester arising from both

their International Harvester and WSC periods of employ-

ment. They also had bankruptcy claims against WSC, arising

from the WSC period which WSC included in its claims

against International Harvester. While the WSC _ period

claims, whether viewed as claims directly against Interna-

tional Harvester or indirectly through WSC, were considera-

bly greater than the claims arising from the International

Harvester period, the settlement negotiations and the settle-

ment amount largely related to the benefits arising during the

International Harvester period, and the claims arising during

the WSC period were severely discounted. The results of the

trial substantially vindicated that approach.

In any event, at the time of the settlement International

Harvester had an interest in resolving both the direct plaintiff

claims and their bankruptcy claims which WSC was seeking

to advance. The Settlemei,t Agreement resolved ‘‘all claims’’

both in the class action which could have been asserted in the

bankruptcy proceeding. The class members were barred and

enjoined from prosecuting against International Harvester

‘either directly or indirectly’’ any claim related to the settled

claims. The WSC damage claims at trial were, consequently,

reduced by the prior settlement of the class claims.

Contemporaneously with the final order approving the set-

tlement, counsel for the class raised the possibility of a suit

against Envirodyne and noted that the class contended that

the settlement did not bar such a suit and that International

Harvester contended that it did (and this court noted, not

unreasonably, that we would not have to deal with it as a

related case if it were ever filed, but without considering that

we should deal with it irrespective of the related case rules).

36a

Class counsel, immediately after negotiating the settlement,

had, apparently, also written Envirodyne suggesting that the

parties negotiate settlement of the claims they now bring in

this action and threatening suit if the claims were not settled.

Envirodyne demurred, threatened to bring International Har-

vester, EDC and WSC into any contemplated action, and so

advised International Harvester. There, apparently, matters

stood until plaintiffs brought this action somewhat less than

a year later.

Defendant contends that plaintiffs cannot pursue an alter

ego claim against Envirodyne because a claim against Enviro-

dyne could well result in a claim against International Har-

vester in violation of the Settlement Agreement. Plaintiffs

respond that the scope of a release is primarily a matter of

intent, that Envirodyne was never explicitly released, thai

federal law does not require a reservation of rights to pre-

serve rights against an alter ego, that an alter ego is liable not

because it is the same company as the released entity but

because justice and equity require that the obligations of the

alter ego be recognized and that there is no indirect claim

against International Harvester.

The issue has been joined here to a considerable extent by

reference to emerging law respecting tortfeasors. The time

was when the release of one tortfeasor released ali, but the

wronged party could, upon settling with one tortfeasor, pre-

serve rights against others by using the right magic words,

covenanting not to sue, rather than releasing the party with

whom the settlement was being made. A specific reservation

of rights might, on occasion, be helpful. That the preserva-

tion of rights against one party should depend upon the

sophistication of the draftsman of the documents memorializ-

ing settlement with*® another was, for many courts, an exces-

sive reliance upon formalism. The federal courts (and federal

law controls here) rejected that doctrine and looked, instead,

to the intent of the parties. Zenith Radio Corp. v. Hazeltine

Research, Inc., 401 U.S. 321, 343-347 (1971). Reliance upon

that formalism in the states has been considerably diminished

in recent years by the enactment of contribution statutes.

37a

That history does not, however, answer the question of

whether a settlement of claims against one entity releases

claims against a related entity, although it has, apparently,

influenced that answer. In Stewart v. Village of Summit, 114

Ill.2d 23, 499 N.E.2d 450, 101 Ill.Dec. 862 (1986), for exam-

ple, the plaintiff used the right magic language in a settle-

ment of a tort claim against an employee and thereby

preserved a derivative claim against an employer, without any

consideration of whether the employer could thereafter seek

indemnification from the employee under either prior law or

recently enacted contribution legislation. A similar result was

reached against an alter ego defendant in a California tort

case, Mesler v. Bragg Management Co., 39 Cal.3d 290, 702

P.2d 601 (1985). The California Supreme Court there

described its perception of the reasons for the alter ego doc-

trine, reasons which the plaintiffs warmly embrace here,

although the court’s decision turned upon an interpretation

of the California contribution statute.

We are not, however, dealing with tort claims, and the

effect of a settlement with one tortfeasor is persuasive only

by analogy. We could just as well look to the effect of a

release of a debtor upon the liability of a guarantor or the

effect of the release of one obligor upon the liability of a co-

obligor. Or we could, as have some courts, analyzed the

effect of the settlement from the perspective of the fiction

upon which the alter ego concept rests—that, because of vari-

ous circumstances, the dominating party should be treated as

the same entity which was bound. That was the approach fol-

lowed in Allied Chemical Corp. v. Randall, 321 F.2d 320 (7th

Cir.1963), the logical result of that approach is that the dom-

inating party cannot be liable if there is no claim against the

dominated party. M/V American Queen v. San Diego Marine

Construction Corp., 708 F.2d 1483, 1490 (9th Cir.1983);

Rose Hall, Ltd. v. Chase Manhattan Overseas Banking, 576

F. Supp. 107, 130-131 (D.Del.1983), aff’d without opinion,

740 F.2d 956, 958 (3d Cir.1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1159

(1985); Fuls v. Shastina Properties, Inc., 448 F. Supp. 983,

989 (N.D.Calif.1978). If that approach were followed here

the motion would have to be granted. WSC was the promi-

38a

sor. It has been released. Plaintiffs allege that various cir-

cumstances require that Envirodyne be answerable for WSC’s

obligation, but that obligation no longer exists.

Logic has, however, a limit in evaluating the impact of a

concept rooted in notions of fairness and justice and the

judicially-sanctioned belief that substance should triumph

over form. Perhaps we should consider that impact in light

of the bargain that was made. And we evaluate that impact

not from the perspective of Envirodyne’s alleged wrongdoing

in not making provision for plaintiffs’ benefits, but from the

perspective of the agreement the class made with Interna-

tional Harvester to settle their claims. From that perspective

we conclude that the motion should be granted.

Plaintiffs contend that they mever intended to release

Envirodyne and point to their contemporaneous assertions of

liability both to Envirodyne and in court. They were, how-

ever, also aware that both Envirodyne and International Har-

vester were contending that the release was total and that

plaintiffs could not proceed against Envirodyne. Clear it is

that plaintiffs hoped to preserve rights against Envirodyne.

The issue is not, however, their subjective intent but the nec-

essary implications of the bargain which they made.

Alter ego claims could have been brought in the bank-

ruptcy proceeding. Koch Refining v. Farmers Union Central

Exchange, Inc., 831 F.2d 1339 (7th Cir.1987), cert. denied,

___ U.S. ___, 108 S.Ct. 1077 (1988); Matter of Kaiser, 791

F.2d 73 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 1011 (1986). If

International Harvester bought its peace on post-sale claims

solely as to those asserted by the class against WSC, then

there was nothing to prevent the class from seeking to have

the same issues raise through claims against Envirodyne as

alter ego, with Envirodyne then asserting the employee claims

against International Harvester on the same grounds that the

debtors-in-possession were asserting with respect to all other

unfunded debts. That risk was, as a practical matter, reduced

by the imminence of trial; its realization depended upon judi-

cial assent to a tardy expansion of already complex disputes.

But it was conceptually, at least, a risk, and the class agreed

in broad language not to prosecute thereafter any claim,

39a

either directly or indirectly, against International Harvester.

In view of the results of the trial it is highly improbable that

Envirodyne could now proceed against International Har-

vester even were this action to proceed. But when the bargain

was struck the trial had not yet commenced, and the inter-

ested parties could not be certain of the outcome. We believe

that by the agreement that was made International Harvester

paid for the extinguishment of all class claims, however they

might be raised, and that the class assented.

40a

APPENDIX C

IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

>

Jan. 18, 19

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Envirodyne Industries, Inc. v. Lumpkin · 502 U.S. 939 | Frix