Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Dooley v. Korean Air Lines Co.

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

= . L aad. dk

sa 2 as Ls ; a

LY ps:

9 he 251 Supreme Court, ey

AuG 9 1931

IN THE OFFICE OF THE CitkK

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

>

PHILOMENA DOOLEY, et al.,

Petitioners,

—V.—

KOREAN AIR LINES, LTD.,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

PLAINTIFFS’ TRIAL COMMITTEE

Attorneys for Petitioners

MILTON G. SINCOFF

(Counsel of Record)

STEVEN R. POUNIAN

KREINDLER & KREINDLER

100 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10017

(212) 687-8181

DONALD W. MADOLE

GEORGE E. FARRELL

SPEISER, KRAUSE, MADOLE & LEAR

On the Petition: 1216 Sixteenth Street, N. W.

MILTON G. SINCOFF Washington, D.C. 20036

STEVEN R. POUNIAN (202) 223-8501

> |

i

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Does the Warsaw Convention Treaty provide the exclusive

cause of action for passenger deaths and injuries in interna-

tional accidents and bar recovery of punitive damages

allowed by applicable federal maritime law?

i

LIST OF PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The following plaintiffs are parties to this proceeding: Phi-

lomena Dooley, Kimberly Saavedra, Edward Ccampo, Mau-

reen Lombard, David Powrie, Julia Lombard, Mayuree

Siripoon, Thomas Mahalek, Michael Kole, Marie Gill, Betty

Lim, Maureen Oren, David WuDunn, Renay Bevins, Jose

Bolante, Robert Caltabellatta, Sungwha Oh Yoo, Jwa Hong,

Christina Ting, Sarah Swift, Kyung Hwa Park, Hee Sook

Lee, U! Ran Lim, Eun Jung Oh, Hans Ephraimson-Abt,

Jeung Em Yun, Elisa Chan, Maria Beirn, Robert Speir,

Dorothy Jones, Michael Jones, Cecille Chuapoco, Felino

Bayona, Eric Forman, Marsha Maikovich, Parvaneh Zareh,

Nan M. Oldham, In Jig Lin, Louella Nassief, Rosario Bay-

ona, Dorothy Irwin, Marjorie Zicherman, Willie James,

Roberta Cruz, Robert Boyar, Elia Baek, Yon Shen Liu, Chan

May Kung, Huey Ping Yeh-Wang, Liu-Tsuei Lee, Yueh-Lan

Liu, Tzen Chang, Hsing-Wu Wang, Chi-Chin Lin, Lih-Hwa

Yu Chen, Andi Donovan, Leo Fitzpatrick, Mildred Burgess,

Shirley Katz, Kathryn McDonald, William Cunningham,

Chong Cha Kim, Jae Gwan Sim, Ahduk Homlaor, Mo

Hsiang Lai Tsao, William Stevens, Lolita DoFredo, Richard

Bowden, JoAnn Dunn, Gerard Metcalf, Alexander Alcabasa,

Terry Weng, Soon Hi Choi Lee, Diana Chao, Sandra Baker

Yoon, Charles Fonville, Daisy Bickell, Republic Bank of New

York, Rudolfo Cruz, Emelinda Lantin, Shan Leung, Erlinda

Alora, Akemi Hammerstein, Indep, Lenore Lebow and Anto-

nio Guevara.

The defendant is Korean Air Lines, Ltd.

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW...........

LIST OF PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING.......

py Re a aes ay |. Se

i C656 660006 ocecsscccesesees

iC Tho d bu ee dee bS0 ee 2s etseesvesceess

I.

II.

CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO

RESOLVE A CONFLICT AMONG THE

CIRCUITS AND STATE COURTS OF LAST

RESORT OVER WHETHER THE WARSAW

CONVENTION TREATY CREATES AN

EXCLUSIVE CAUSE OF ACTION.........

CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED

BECAUSE THE DECISION BELOW

AMENDS THE CONVENTION TO UPSET

AN ESTABLISHED COMMON LAW REM-

EDY CONTRARY TO THIS COURT’S

DECISIONS ON PUNITIVE DAMAGES

AND WARSAW’S INTERPRETATION .....

TT ci eekeceeebestrscerrcsccvccscccecece

PAGE

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: PAGE

Alvarez v. Aerovias Nacionales de Columbia, 756 F.

es re Os a ls oc cc nee vedecduscaspess y

Air France v. Saks, 470 U.S. 392 (1985) ............ 16, 17

Benjamins v. British European Airways, 572 F.2d 913

(2d Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1114 (1979).. 10

Boehringer-Mannheim Diagnostics v. Pan American

World Airways, 737 F.2d 456 (Sth Cir. 1984), cert.

GR, Se Cs SIO a oo 6 bb ceevscicccveses 10, 14

Browning-Ferris v. Kelco Disposal, 492 U.S. 257

ST 4 65.0: 50s s6 beeen eamere ba cewa tie swakeens 8, 15, 16

Calderon v. Azrovias Nacionales de Columbia, 738 F.

Supp. 485 (S.D. Fla. 1990), appeal dismissed, 929

Se & oi. ge ae Re eee i)

Chan v. Korean Air Lines, 490 U.S. 122 (1989)...... 9, 15

Eastern Airlines v. Floyd, 111 S. Ct. 1489 (1991). .8, 15, 16

Evich v. Morris, 819 F.2d 256 (9th Cir.), cert. denied,

Se Se te I in. do kek We eiekédGeee eeceees as’ 1]

Floyd v. Eastern Airlines, 872 F.2d 1462 (11th Cir.

1965), vov'd, 111 S.CR. FOSD CIGSI) oc ccccccsccces: 16

Guaranty Trust v. United States, 304 U.S. 126 (1938) 8, 15

Harpalani v. Air India, 634 F. Supp. 797 (N.D. II.

Elsie tee ROE SR Ae OR ep ee Nee ee ee 17

Herd & Co. v. Krawill Machinery, 359 U.S. 297 (1959) 15

Hill v. United Airlines, 550 F. Supp. 1048 (D. Kan.

Css GEG 0500s Conde seswesnes nes ienehisesweeess 17

PAGE

In Re Air Crash in Bali, Indonesia, 684 F.2d 1301 (9th

Gh danse code denareeuseaseo coder becaevs 7, 9, 12

In Re Air Crash at Gander, Newfoundland, 684 F.

I. Te Carsales Me TUEED chide vecadccccesdvenves 16

In Re Air Disaster at Lockerbie, Scotland, 928 F.2d

See Ge a ED hn uc Kane ieceunavucbustecacace passim

In Re Air Disaster at Lockerbie, Scotland, 733 F.

Supp. 547 (E.D.N.Y. 1990), aff’d, 928 F.2d 1267 (2d

EU PE eh cde anecenakabeyssweseee cubtewedees 16

In Re Hijacking of Pan American Aircraft at Karachi,

729 F. Supp. 17 (S.D.N.Y. 1990), rev’d, 928 F.2d

Se ee Mirae Wk 6 9:00 0400000 00esessedeeenn 9, 17

In Re Merry Shipping, 650 F.2d 622 (Sth Cir. 1981) . 11

In Re Mexico City Aircrash, 708 F.2d 400 (9th Cir.

PS Cubbies ve lsu oawewde ed vee ebeuunecereenes zo & 82

Johnson v. American Airlines, 834 F.2d 721 (9th Cir.

Ns oo o04bnee tbuede Chablis ee 7,9

Kossick v. United Fruit, 365 U.S. 731 (1961) ........ 11

Newsome v. Trans International Airlines, 492 So.2d

592 (Ala.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 950 (1986) ...... 10

Pacific Mutual v. Haslip, 111 S. Ct. 1032 (1991) ..8, 15, 16

Rhymes v. Arrow Air, 636 F. Supp. 737 (S.D. Fila.

any nr ee 9

Sheris v. Sheris Co., 212 Va. 825, 188 S.E.2d 367, cert.

Gee. GES Ve Cad dh 40 608s as sKeaswes ,

Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee, 464 U.S. 238 (1984) ....... 8, 15

Smith v. Wade, 461 U.S. 30 (1984) ...........05- 8, 15, 17

Tokio Marine v. McDonnell Douglas, 617 F.2d 936 (2d

Cee TREND én vas vabccecdies benvenceneteaweseeseas 10

vi

PAGE

Trans World Airlines v. Franklin Mint, 466 U.S. 243

Dds ciumendcusaduateetsaielendeeadeseaees 15

Velasquez v. Aerovias Nacionales de Columbia, 747 F.

Grew Ge. Fak. FR oo decccedevversccaeees 10

Statutes and Other Authorities:

Sie Gs FU Wey. Ge Bae vce ecvecicncswendsdeues 1]

RES OEE bbu ct ccceecéetrvsseasdusuacuaeen 1

Se ae FT SB i odscccccccccosécanavedecebaseees 14

Be ee SD he ve Sc dbcccedacdonkscsstueceses 14

Wee: B Seen nensddvccccndcsnancnemeeencecews 17

Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Relat-

ing to International Transportation by Air, Oct. 12,

1929, 49 Stat. 3000, T.S. No. 876 (1934), reprinted

Agreement Relating to Liability Limitations of the

Warsaw Convention and Hague Protocol, Agreement

CAB 18900, Approved by Executive Order E-23680,

May 13, 1966 (Docket 17325), 31 Fed. Reg. 7302

(1966), reprinted in Civil Aeronautics Board, Aero-

nautical Statutes and Related Material 515-16 (1974) 4

Calkins, The Cause of Action Under the Warsaw Con-

vention, 26 J. Air L. & Com. 323 (1959).......... 13

Drion, Limitation of Liabilities in International Air

Law (Martinus Nijhoff 1954)..............eeeeee- 13

Matte, Treatise on Air-Aeronautical Law (McGill Uni-

WE GD 6c oc cecescene basadeueseeuseeoaeises 13

Miller, Liability in International Air Transport,

SY TSC iis ccvccvseesecsnavenedbeanceeudaavees 13, 17

Vii

PAGE

Second International Conference on Private Aeronauti-

cal Law Minutes (Warsaw, 1929) (R. Horner & D.

SNe Se inedeeu ens nwbee a ecéweweece 17

hence *y

» ai sti

3 7

, ad

2 ry

_ ‘

- Z

- = i

+

‘ ra 7

\

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

>

PHILOMENA DOOLEY, et al.,

Petitioners,

—V.—

KOREAN AIR LINES, LTD.,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

>

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion, including the dissent, of the Court of Appeals

for the District of Columbia Circuit (A-1, infra)’ is reported

at 932 F.2d 1475 (D.C.Cir. 1991). It reversed a district court

determination made at trial without a formal opinion.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on May

7, 1991. In two orders dated July 5, 1991, the Court of

Appeals denied KAL’s petition for rehearing or rehearing en

banc. A-52-3. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

1 References to ‘“‘A-__”’ are to pages in the Appendix of this Petition.

2

PROVISIONS OF LAW INVOLVED

This case raises the interpretation of Articles 17, 24 and 25

of the Warsaw Convention Treaty’ and its relationship to

federal maritime law of punitive damages.

WARSAW CONVENTION

Article 17

The carrier shall be liable for damage sustained in the

event of the death or wounding of a passenger or any other

bodily injury suffered by a passenger, if the accident which

caused the damage so sustained took place on board the air-

craft or in the course of any of the operations of embarking

or disembarking.

Article 24

(1) In the cases covered by Articles 18 and 19 any action

for damages, however founded, can only be brought subject

to the conditions and limits set out in this convention.

(2) In the cases covered by Article 17 the provisions of the

preceding paragraph shall also apply, without prejudice to

the questions as to who are the persons who have the right to

bring suit and what are their respective rights.

Article 25

(1) The carrier shall not be entitled to avail himself of the

provisions of this convention which exclude or limit his liabil-

ity, if the damage is caused by his wilful misconduct or by

such default on his part as, in accordance with the law of the

2 Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Relating to Interna-

tional Transportation by Air, Oct. 12, 1929, 49 Stat. 3000, T.S. No.

876 (1934), reprinted in 49 U.S.C. § 1502 note (1976) (Warsaw Con-

vention).

3

court to which the case is submitted, is considered to be

equivalent to wilful misconduct.

(2) Similarly the carrier shall not be entitled to avail him-

self of the said provisions, if the damage is caused under the

same circumstances by any agent of the carrier acting within

the scope of his employment.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners are the surviving family members and estate

representatives of one hundred thirty-seven passengers killed

in the Korean Air Lines (KAL) disaster of September 1, 1983.

KAL flight 7 departed from Kennedy Airport, New York

bound for Seoul, South Korea.

KAL 7’s three pilots flew the plane off course on a short-

cut route for over five hours, including three hours in Soviet

airspace. The danger of Soviet airspace was well known to

KAL and its flight crews by virtue of specific training, warn-

ings and the 1978 shootdown of another KAL airliner in

Soviet airspace, killing and injuring fourteen passengers.

KAL 7 was a 747 aircraft equipped with numerous naviga-

tional instruments which continuously informed the pilots of

their exact position. Yet those pilots falsified a series of posi-

tion reports to air traffic controllers to conceal their devia-

tion. While over the Sea of Japan off Sakhalin Island,

U.S.S.R., the plane was fired upon by a Soviet military

fighter and crashed, killing all aboard.

Prior proceedings

Actions were filed against KAL in various district courts

and transferred pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1404 and 1407 to

the United States District Court of the District of Columbia.

Plaintiffs’ complaints sought wrongful death and survival

damages against KAL, including claims for punitive damages

under federal maritime law.

4

Plaintiffs’ actions are governed by the 1929 Warsaw Con-

vention. This treaty together with the Montreal Agreement?

impose a damage cap of $75,000 on passenger death and

injury claims. The damage limitation and liability exclusions,

however, do not apply if the airline commits wilful miscon-

duct. Article 25 provides that an airline responsible for wilful

misconduct may not assert ‘‘the provisions of this Conven-

tion which exclude or limit . . . liability.’’

On July 17, 1989, a consolidated trial on liability (wilful

misconduct) and punitive damages commenced.

Shortly before the trial, KAL moved to dismiss plaintiffs’

punitive damage claims by asserting that the plaintiffs’ exclu-

sive cause of action was under the Warsaw Convention and it

barred punitive damages and preempted contrary federal

maritime law.

During the trial, the district court denied KAL’s motion to

dismiss plaintiffs’ punitive damage claims.

The jury verdicts of wilful misconduct and punitive

damages. On August 2, 1989, the jury rendered a special ver-

dict, finding that KAL committed wilful misconduct and was

a proximate cause of the passengers’ deaths.

In a subsequent verdict, the same jury awarded punitive

damages in the amount of $50,000,000 to be shared equally

by the plaintiffs (about $362,000 for each passenger’s fam-

ily).

KAL thereafter moved and the district court denied judg-

ment notwithstanding the verdicts or for a new trial. KAL

then appealed.

The Court of Appeais’ decision. On May 7, 1991, the

Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit unani-

mously affirmed the wilful misconduct verdict.

3 Agreement Relating to Liability Limitations of the Warsaw Conven-

tion and Hague Protocol, Agreement CAB 18900, Approved by Execu-

tive Order E-23680, May 13, 1966 (Docket 17325), 31 Fed. Reg. 7302

(1966), reprinted in Civil Aeronautics Board, Aeronautical Statutes

and Related Material 515-16 (1974).

5

By a 2-1 majority, however, the Court of Appeals vacated

the punitive damages award.

The majority opinion vacating the punitive damage

verdict. Two judges concluded that the Article 17 provision

that ‘‘[t]he carrier shall be liable for damage sustained in the

event of the death or wounding of a passenger. . .’’ barred

recovery of punitive damages ailowed by federal maritime

law.

The majority found that while ‘‘the Convention does not

address the issue of punitive damages . . .’’, such recoveries

‘fare incompatible with the liability scheme set forth in

Article 17.’’ 932 F.2d at 1485-6, A-20-1. In the court’s view,

an award of punitive damages ‘‘would be contrary to the

expectations’’ of the treaty’s civil and common law drafters.

Id. at 1487, A-23.

The majority recognized the conflict among the circuits

regarding whether the Convention ‘‘preserves independent

domestic causes of action based on tort law’’ or ‘‘provides

the exclusive cause of action.’’ Jd. at 1488, A-25. But the

court stated: ‘‘[iJn deciding only that punitive damages are

contrary to the Convention, we need not take sides in the

exclusivity debate.’’ Ibid.

The court considered Article 24 which in relevant part

states that: ‘‘any action for damages, however founded, can

only be brought subject to the conditions and limits set out in

this convention . . . without prejudice to the questions as to

who are the persons who have the right to bring suit and

what are their respective rights.’’ The majority found that

“farticle 24 provides a clear textual basis for concluding that

the Convention overrides liability awards that are inconsistent

with Article 17.’’ Ibid.

The court also addressed the treaty’s Article 25 which

applied by virtue of the jury’s verdict that KAL committed

wilful misconduct. Article 25 provides that an airline respon-

sible for wilful misconduct may not assert ‘‘the provisions of

this convention which exclude or limit his liability . . .

”

6

The majority found ‘‘that the drafters would not have con-

sidered Article 17 a ‘limitation’ on liability’? under Article 25.

Id. at 1489, A-26. In reaching this conclusion, the majority

adopted the Second Circuit’s decision in Jn re Air Disaster at

Lockerbie, Scotland, 928 F.2d 1267 (2d Cir. 1991) (Locker-

bie).

Finally, the majority concluded that punitive damages were

contrary to the Convention’s goals because such awards

‘‘would increase the amount of litigation, the cost of insur-

ance, and ultimately the price of air transportation.’’ 932

F.2d at 1489, A-28.

The dissenting opinion on the punitive damage

verdict. The dissent, noting the conflict among the circuits

on the exclusivity issue, found that the Convention was not

the sole cause of action for passengers injured on interna-

tional flights: ‘‘Article 24’s reference to ‘any action for dam-

ages, however founded’ clearly contemplates actions arising

under separate sources of law. . .’’. Id. at 1492, A-33.

Thus, the dissent reasoned, plaintiffs could pursue their

federal maritime law punitive damage claims, subject to the

Convention’s limitations. Since KAL committed wilful mis-

conduct under Article 25, any Convention limitations—

including the punitive damage bar read by the majority into

the treaty—were inapplicable. Jd. at 1494, A-37.

According to the dissent, ‘‘the history as well as the lan-

guage of Article 25 supports the conclusion that punitive

damages are not prohibited by the Warsaw Convention in

cases of willful misconduct even if a cause of action based

solely on the Convention would not authorize such dam-

ages.’ Ibid.

The dissent observed that the majority opinion relied heav-

ily on the Second Circuit opinion in Lockerbie, but did not

expressly adopt Lockerbie’s holding that the Convention was

exclusive and preempted contrary law. Jd. at 1493, A-35. The

dissent concluded that “‘[i]f the court does not premise its

holding on an exclusivity rationale, it must mean that Article

a ee

17 acts as a limitation on the liability that an air carrier

would face when sued under separate causes of action. But

then Article 25 would some into play and waive any such lim-

itation in cases of wilful misconduct... .”’ lbid.

The dissent further observed that the Warsaw Convention

cannot preempt federal maritime law damages because both

laws ‘‘stand in rough equipoise under the Supremacy

Clause’’. Ibid.

Plaintiffs petition this Court for a writ of certiorari.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

There are two compelling grounds for this Court to grant

certiorari and review the punitive damage decision below.

I. A conflict exists among circuit courts and state courts of

last resort as to whether the Warsaw Treaty provides the

exclusive cause of action for death or injury of a passenger in

an international aviation accident and bars the application of

other laws.

In barring the award of maritime law punitive damages,

the majority below relied heavily upon the Second Circuit in

Lockerbie. It held Warsaw established an exclusive cause of

action without punitive recoveries, but the majority below

declined to decide the exclusivity issue. The Lockerbie plain-

tiffs seek certiorari in a petition filed contemporaneously with

this petition.

The Ninth Circuit on three occasions and Virginia’s highest

court have held that Warsaw allows causes of action under

local law subject to the Convention’s rules.* Indeed, Article

24 provides that the treaty’s monetary damage limit applies

to ‘‘causes of action, however founded, . . .”’ whether based

4 Johnson v. American Airlines 834 F.2d 721 (9h Cir. 1987); Jn re

Mexico City Aircrash, 708 F.2d 400 (9th Cir. 1982); In re Air Crash in

Bali, Indonesia, 684 F.2d 1301 (9th Cir. 1982); Sheris v. Sheris Co.,

212 Va. 825, 188 S.E.2d 367, cert. denied, 409 U.S. 878 (1972).

sa tae ie ae

on civil law contract, common law tort, or other applicable

local precepts. (emphasis added). Warsaw’s drafters expressly

approved local law tort actions.

If Warsaw is not exclusive, then the verdict of maritime

law punitive damages must be reinstated. Wilful misconduct

found by the jury and unanimously affirmed below invokes

Article 25 to nullify any liability exclusion and thus justify

the punitive damage verdict.

This Court should determine whether the treaty permits a

verdict awarding punitive damages under federal maritime

law.

II. Certiorari should be granted because the majority

below amended the Convention to overturn an established

common law remedy contrary to recent decisions of this

Court on punitive damages and Warsaw’s interpretation.

The majority acknowledged that Warsaw does not mention

punitive damages and in Article 24 expressly preserves local

law remedies. Yet the court read the Convention as a civil

law accord which implicitly barred punitive damages.

This Court, however, recently considered the common law

as part of the treaty’s diverse background.* Common law

nations with a long punitive damage tradition participated in

drafting the Convention. No intent was ever expressed by

Warsaw’s framers to exclude punitive recoveries.

This Court has directed that existing common law remedies

must be preserved absent clear and express treaty language.°

And four recent decisions of this Court have rejected claims

that laws contain a tacit bar to punitive recoveries.’

5 Eastern Airlines v. Floyd, 111 S. Ct. 1489 (1991).

6 Guaranty Trust v. United States, 304 U.S. 126 (1938).

7 Pacific Mutual v. Haslip, 111 S. Ct. 1032 (1991); Browning-Ferris v.

Kelco Disposal, 492 U.S. 257 (1989); Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee, 464

U.S. 238 (1984); Smith v. Wade, 461 U.S. 30 (1984).

9

In construing the treaty, this Court has observed that

‘‘where the text is clear . . . we have no power to insert an

amendment.’ This Court should uphold Warsaw’s plain

terms and reinstate the award of maritime common law puni-

tive damages.

ARGUMENT

I. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO RESOLVE

A CONFLICT AMONG THE CIRCUITS AND STATE

COURTS OF LAST RESORT OVER WHETHER THE

WARSAW CO”'VENTION TREATY CREATES AN

EXCLUSIVE CAUSE OF ACTION

This Court should decide whether the Warsaw treaty cre-

ates an exclusive cause of action barring punitive damages.

On three occasions, the Ninth Circuit has held that the

Convention is not exclusive and does not preempt, but allows

local law causes of action subject to the Convention’s rules.

Johnson v. American Airlines, 834 F.2d 721, 723 (9th Cir.

1987); In re Mexico City Aircrash, 708 F.2d 400, 405 n. 25

(9th Cir. 1982); Jn re Air Crash in Bali, Indonesia, 684 F.2d

1301, 1311 n. 8 (9th Cir. 1982). The Supreme Court of Vir-

ginia has held ‘‘that the Warsaw Convention does not create

an independent right of action but only a presumption of lia-

bility leaving it for local law to grant the right of action.”’

Sheris v. Sheris Co., 212 Va. 825, 188 S.E.2d 367, cert.

denied, 409 U.S. 878 (1972).

8 Chan v. Korean Air Lines, 490 U.S. 122, 135 (1989).

9 Three district court decisions in the Eleventh Circuit, together with

the district court reversed by Lockerbie, have held the Convention is

not exclusive and permits state law causes of action. A/varez v. Aero-

vias Nacionales de Columbia, 756 F.Supp. 550 (S.D.Fla. 1991);

Calderon v. Aerovias Nacionales de Columbia, 738 F.Supp. 485

(S.D.Fla. 1990), appeal dismissed, 929 F.2d 599 (11th Cir. 1991); Jn re

Hijacking of Pan American Aircraft at Karachi, 729 F.Supp. 17

(S.D.N.Y. 1990), rev’d, Lockerbie; Rhymes v. Arrow Air, 636 F.Supp.

737 (S.D.Fla. 1986).

10

The Second Circuit, Fifth Circuit and the Supreme Court

of Alabama created the conflict by holding the Convention to

be the exclusive cause of action and preempting local law.

Lockerbie, 928 F.2d at 1270; Boehringer-Mannheim Diagnos-

tics v. Pan American World Airways, 737 F.2d 456, 459 (Sth

Cir. 1984) (Convention exclusive and preempts recovery

under Texas law), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1186 (1985); New-

some v. Trans International Airlines, 492 So. 2d 592, 599

(Ala.) (Warsaw exclusive and preempts state common law

causes of action), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 950 (1986).'°

The exclusivity-preemption issue has been the source of

successive contradictory decisions. Until 1978, the Second

Circuit held that no cause of action was established by the

treaty. See Benjamins v. British European Airways, 572 F.2d

913, 919 (2d Cir. 1978) (overruling prior case law which

required plaintiffs to base their cause of action outside the

treaty), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1114 (1979). The Second Cir-

cuit then ruled that Warsaw created a cause of action, but

was not exclusive and allowed local law claims. Jbid; Tokio

Marine v. McDonnell Douglas, 617 F.2d 936, 942 (2d Cir.

1980). Most recently, Tokio Marine was overruled by Locker-

bie.

The majority below declared that ‘‘we need not take sides

in the exclusivity debate.’’ 932 F.2d at 1488, A-25. The court,

however, applied the Convention as plaintiff’s exclusive cause

of action by ruling that the Warsaw’s Article 17 ‘‘overrides’’

maritime law claims for punitive damages. Jbid.; Section II,

infra.

Exclusivity was necessarily indispensable to the majority’s

opinion because Article 25 directs that an airline responsible

for wilful misconduct ‘‘shall not be entitled to avail himself

of the provisions of this convention which exclude or limit

his liability... .”’

10 += Florida federal district court has held that the Convention creates

an exclusive cause of action. Velasquez v. Aerovias Nacionales de

Columbia, 747 F.Supp. 670 (S.D. Fla. 1990).

11

If plaintiffs’ federal maritime claims proceed subject to

Warsaw, any treaty bar to punitive damages would ‘‘exclude

or limit’? KAL’s liability. But KAL’s wilful misconduct

invokes Article 25 which denies KAL the benefit of such a

bar. The Convention cannot nullify the jury’s damage verdict

unless Warsaw both denies punitive recoveries and preempts

plaintiffs’ federal maritime law actions.

The majority below held that Warsaw’s ban on punitive

damages was absolute and applied despite KAL’s wilful mis-

conduct. The court based its ruling on Lockerbie, which held

that Article 17 created a passenger’s sole cause of action and

thus did not ‘‘exclude or limit . . . liability’? under Article

25. 932 F.2d at 1489, A-26 (‘‘we agree with the Second Cir-

cuit that the drafters would not have considered Article 17 a

‘limitation’ on liability.’’). As the dissent below observed:

The majority relies heavily on Lockerbie for the proposi-

tion that Article 25 does not trump Article 17, but there

the court had taken exclusivity as its starting point. It is

one thing to say that the Convention prohibits punitive

damages because it is the sole available cause of action

and does not provide for them; it is quite another to

conclude that Article 17 acts as a limitation on damages

restricting recovery under other causes of action that

allow punitive damages. Jd. at 1493, A-35 (dissent).

Federal maritime law and the Warsaw treaty share equal

stature under the Constitution. U.S. Const. art. VI, cl. 2

(‘‘the laws of the United States . . . and all treaties made

. . . Shall be the supreme law of the land. . .’’); Kossick v.

United Fruit, 365 U.S. 731, 739 (1961) (held federal maritime

law is supreme under Article 6 of the Constitution). Maritime

law allows for recovery of punitive damages in plaintiffs’ sur-

vival claims under established common law principles. Evich

v. Morris, 819 F.2d 256 (9th Cir.) (‘‘punitive damages are

available in a general maritime survival action . . .’’), cert.

denied, 484 U.S. 914 (1987); In re Merry Shipping, 650 F.2d

622 (Sth Cir. 1981) (‘‘punitive damages may be recovered

12

under general maritime law upon a showing of willful and

wanton misconduct. . .’’).

The treaty preserved and did not preempt plaintiffs’ mari-

time rights of action. Article 24 states that the Convention’s

limits and conditions apply to ‘‘any action for damages, how-

ever founded. . . .’’ (emphasis added). The Ninth Circuit

observed that ‘‘[t]he best explanation for the wording of

article 24(1) appears to be that the delegates did not intend

. the cause of action created by the Convention to be

exclusive... .’’ In re Mexico City Aircrash, 708 F.2d 400,

414 n. 25 (9th Cir. 1983).

The fundamental purpose of the Convention was to limit

recovery in international airline accident cases to $8,300

(Article 22), except when wilful misconduct is proved. Article

24 imposed that limitation on all causes of action, whether

based on civil law contract, common law tort, local statutes,

or whatever. Jn re Air Crash in Bali, Indonesia, 684 F.2d

1301, 1311 n. 8 (9th Cir. 1982) (‘‘the Convention has never

been read to /imit plaintiffs to a cause of action arising

thereunder, but rather to limit the recovery in suits for

injury.’’).

No language in the treaty states or implies that the Con-

vention prescribes the universal cause of action.

Warsaw’s drafters openly discussed and agreed that the

Convention permits local law tort actions. The chief United

States’ delegate to the 1955 Hague Convention reviewed the

treaty’s history, including the initial drafting conferences held

in Paris and Madrid by the International Technical Commit-

tee of Legal Aeronautical Experts (CITEJA). He concluded:

There is nothing in the Convention which automatically

makes the cause of action under Warsaw supercede all

other causes of action... .

Not only is the implication from the drafting of Article

24 clear that the possibility of tort action was contem-

plated, but this point was specifically raised in the pre-

liminary discussions held in Madrid by the Citeja.

13

There, during the debate on the draft text which ulti-

mately became Article 24, the committee discussed the

possibility of tort suits...

[N]o attempt was made by the framers of the Conven-

tion to outlaw the right of a plaintiff . . . to bring an

action in tort.

Calkins, The Cause of Action Under the Warsaw Conven-

tion, 26 J. Air. L & Com. 323, 327-8 (1959). Indeed, War-

saw’s drafters attempted but failed to reach agreement on a

single uniform cause of action. Internationa! Conference on

Private Aviation Law (Paris 1926) (‘‘[I]t is impossible to set

in a single formula the various legal concepts of the various

ee ©

From Warsaw’s inception, commentators have invariably

agreed that the treaty is not exclusive. Drion, Limitation of

Liabilities in International Air Law 135-6 (Martinus Nijhoff

1954) (Article 24 and its drafting history confirm that an

action may be ‘‘founded on the contract or brought outside

the contract as an action in tort. . .’’); Matte, Treatise on

Air-Aeronautical Law 382 (McGill University 1981), quoting

R.C. Ac. Haye, Vol Il, p. 285 (1934) (The Convention ‘‘set

new bounds on an action in liability, boundary limits, but

without regulating the essence itself.’’); Miller, Liability in

International Air Transport 235 (Kluwer 1977) (‘‘The phrase

“however founded’ in Article 24(1) shows that the drafters of

the Convention were aware that an action might be brought

on several possible grounds.’’).

The decisions which decree that Warsaw is exclusive are

bereft of supporting references to the treaty’s text, drafting

history and commentary.'' 932 F.2d at 1492, A-34 (dissent).

11 Four commentators extensively cited in Lockerbie—Miller, Drion,

Matte and Calkins—all conclude that the Convention is nof exclusive.

See p. 13, supra. And Lockerbie incorrectly states that ‘‘[t]he Ninth

Circuit has . . . rebutted the idea that a cause of action may be

14

Instead, the rationale of ‘‘uniformity’’ was used by those

courts to legislate an exclusive cause of action never contem-

plated by Warsaw’s drafters. Lockerbie, 928 F.2d at 1275;

Boehringer-Mannheim, 737 F.2d at 459.

A flood of additional federal court cases would follow

from a denial of certiorari or aff:rmance. All minor Warsaw

claims involving baggage, delay and injury would be vested

with federal question jurisdiction irrespective of the amount

of damages. 28 U.S.C. § 1331. And those same minor claims

would be removable from state courts. 28 U.S.C. § 1441(b).

Il. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED BECAUSE

THE DECISION BELOW AMENDS THE CONVEN-

TION TQ UPSET AN ESTABLISHED COMMON LAW

REMEDY CONTRARY TO THIS COURT’S DECI-

SIONS ON PUNITIVE DAMAGES AND WARSAW’S

INTERPRETATION

Certiorari should be granted because the majority below

imposed a punitive damage bar contrary to the Convention,

long-standing common law, and basic rules of treaty con-

struction set down by this Court.

No Warsaw provision mentions punitive damages. The

majority acknowledged that ‘‘the Convention does not

address the issue of punitive damages .. .’’ 932 F.2d at

1485, A-20. Moreover, Article 24 provides that the Conven-

tion applied ‘‘without prejudice’’ to local damage laws and

the ‘‘respective rights” of the plaintiffs.’ The majority con-

ceded that ‘pursuant to Article 24 the proper ‘measure’ of

founded on some law other that the Convention . . .’’ 928 F.2d at

1274. While Lockerbie cited Mexico City Aircrash as supporting

authority, that decision along with other Ninth Circuit cases have

clearly held that the Convention permits local law causes of action.

Mexico City Aircrash, 708 F.2d at 405 n.25.

12. One noted commentator observed that under Article 24(2), ‘‘[t]he

criteria for determining the categories of recoverable damages [under

the Warsaw Convention] and the measure of damages vary greatly

from country to country. . . .”’ Drion, supra, at 125-6. ;

15

damages recoverable under Article 17 is left to the domestic

law of the contracting states . . .’’ 932 F.2d at 1488, A-25.

A punitive damage bar constitutes a judicial alteration of

Warsaw contrary to this Court’s admonition in Chan vy.

Korean Air Lines, 490 U.S. 112 (1989), that ‘‘we must. . .

be governed by the text [of the Warsaw Convention]. . .”’

and ‘‘where the text is clear. . . we have no power to insert

an amendment.’’ Jd. at 126-7.

This Court has ruled that a treaty may not overturn exist-

ing common law remedies absent clear and express language.

Guaranty Trust v. United States, 304 U.S. 126, 143 (1938);

see Trans World Airlines v. Franklin Mint, 466 U.S. 243, 252

(1984) (the treaty’s monetary damage limit could not be over-

turned in the face of ‘‘ambiguous congressional action

.... and ‘‘[ljegislative silence’); Herd & Co. v. Krawill

Machinery, 359 U.S. 297, 304 (1959) (‘‘No statute is to be

construed as altering the common law, farther than its words

import.’’).

Four recent decisions of this Court upheld punitive dam-

ages as an integral common law tort remedy and reject claims

that the Constitution or federal statutes contain a tacit bar on

punitive awards. Pacific Mutual v. Haslip, 111 S. Ct. 1032

(1991) (Fourteenth Amendment of the Constitution);

Browning-Ferris v. Kelco Disposal, 492 U.S. 257 (1989)

(Eighth Amendment of the Constitution); Si/kwood v. Kerr-

McGee, 464 U.S. 238 (1984) (Atomic Energy Act); Smith v.

Wade, 461 U.S. 30 (1983) (Civil Rights Act).

The majority below improperly read the treaty in the vac-

uum of a ‘‘civil law context’’. 932 F.2d at 1487, A-24. This

Court, however, recently held that common law tradition

should be considered in interpreting the Warsaw Convention.

Eastern Airlines v. Floyd, 111 S. Ct. 1489 (1991) (Court

relied on ‘‘the unavailability of compensation for purely psy-

chic injuries in many common and civil law countries at the

time of the Warsaw Conference’’). This Court has approved

consideration of the shared expectations of the treaty’s civil

and common law framers in construing the text, not whole-

16

sale adoption of civil law rules. Air France v. Saks, 470 U.S.

392, 399 (1985).

The treaty was drafted with common law participants

England and Australia, with the United States present as an

observer. This Court recognized that common law punitive

damages were recoverable in England and Australia, along

with the United States, for many years prior to and at the

time of the 1929 Convention. Pacific Mutual v. Haslip, 111

S.Ct. at 1041-2, 1047 (Scalia, J., concurring) (common law

punitive damages have existed in England and the United

States for over two hundred years).

Given that the treaty was drafted to apply to common law

Signatories, it was unreasonable for the majority below to

conclude from the treaty’s silence on punitive damages that

Warsaw’s drafters intended a punitive bar.'?

The majority held that Article 17’s imposition of liability

on airlines for ‘‘damages sustained’’ constituted an implicit

exclusion of punitive recoveries. The Second and Eleventh

Circuits reached the same conclusion. Lockerbie, 928 F.2d at

1282; Floyd v. Eastern Airlines, 872 F.2d 1462, 1487 (11th

Cir. 1989), rev’d on other grounds, 111 S. Ct. 1489 (1991).'*

-13.‘- The decision below restricts damage awards in common law nations

but grants civil law plaintiffs all available remedies, including moral

damages, which are based in part on the defendant’s degree of fault.

Lockerbie, 928 F.2d at 1282 (France and Germany allow fault based

damages in injury and death cases).

Warsaw signatories Australia, Canada and the United States allow

the recovery of common law punitive damages without limitation.

Browning-Ferris v. Kelco Disposal, 492 J.S. at 273 n. 18, 278 n.24

(1989). In 1964, thirty-five years after the Warsaw Conference, -

England imposed restrictions on punitive damages, but did not com-

pletely bar recovery. Ibid.

14.‘ Three district courts have held that the treaty bars punitive damages:

In re Disaster at Lockerbie, Scotland, 733 F. Supp. 547 (E.D.N.Y.

1990), affirmed by the Second Circuit, together with Jn re Air Crash at

Gander, Newfoundland, 684 F.Supp. 927 (W.D. Ky. 1987) and Harpa-

lani v. Air India, 634 F.Supp. 797 (N.D. Ill. 1986). Three district

courts have held that punitive damages are recoverable in treaty cases:

17

Article 17 affirmatively provides that ‘‘[t]ne carrier shall be

liable for damage sustained in the event of death. . . of a

passenger. . .’’ Article 17 does not define recoverable dam-

ages, but merely established the conditions precedent which

trigger an airline’s liability. Air France v. Saks, 470 U.S. at

397 (‘‘Articie 17 establishes the liability of international air

carriers for harm to passengers.’’); Miller, supra, at 125

(‘Article 17 . . . did not purport to regulate the type of

damage which could be compensated.’’).°

In the discussions at the Warsaw Conference and CITEJA

meetings concerning Article 17 and its predecessor articles,

there is no suggestion whatsoever that the treaty’s drafters

intended to eliminate existing rights of recovery or define

damages. Second International Conference on Private Aero-

nautical Law Minutes 166-7, 255 (Warsaw, 1929) (R. Horner

& D. Legrez trans. 1975).

In Smith v. Wade, 461 U.S. 30 (1983), this Court rejected

similar arguments that the phrase ‘‘for redress’’ in 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983 ‘‘means that Congress intended to limit recovery to

compensatory damages.’’ Jd. at 36 n. 5. This Court found

such a construction was ‘‘strained’’ and ruled that punitive

damages were recoverable under the statute. Ibid.

the district court below, reversed by the majority opinion, Jn re

Hijacking of Pan American Aircraft at Karachi, 729 F. Supp. 17

(S.D.N.Y. 1990), reversed by Lockerbie, and Hill v. United Airlines,

550 F.Supp. 1048 (D. Kan. 1982).

15 These conditions are: the death, wounding or bodily injury to a pas-

senger; an accident which caused the damage; and such accident taking

place on board the aircraft or in the course of any of the operations of

embarking or disembarking.

18

CONCLUSION

Certiorari should be granted to review the majority opinion

below.

On the Petition:

Respectfully submitted,

PLAINTIFFS’ TRIAL COMMITTEE

Attorneys for Petitioners

Milton G. Sincoff (Counsel of Record)

Steven R. Pounian

KREINDLER & KREINDLER

100 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10017

(212) 687-8181

—and—

Donald W. Madole

George E. Farrell

SPEISER, KRAUSE, MADOLE & LEAR

1216 Sixteenth Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 223-8501

Milton G. Sincoff

Steven R. Pounian

APPENDIX

¥

}

4

INDEX TO APPENDIX

PAGE

Opinion of Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia Circuit dated May 7, 1991 and reported at

ee Cee, BOE) cccccccccccvcececse A-l

Order of Court of Appeals for the District of Colum-

ee Be) A-52

Order of Court of Appeals for the District of Colum-

rr SU SD. POOR vveccccccccesccceees A-53

+ ee Gm.

A-l

Notice: This opinion is subject to formal revision before publication in

the Federal Reporter or U.S.App.D.C. Reports. Users are requested to

notify the Clerk of any formal errors in order that corrections may be made

before the bound volumes go to press.

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Argued January 25, 1991 Decided May 7, 1991

No. 89-5415

IN Re Korean Air Lines Disaster OF

SEPTEMBER 1, 1983,

KorEAN Auk Lines Company, Lrrp.,

APPELLANT

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of Columbia

(Civil Action No. 83-0345)

George N. Tompkins, Jr., with whom Desmond T: Barry,

Jr. was on the brief, for appellant.

Steven R. Pounian, with whom Milton G. Sincoff,

Donald W. Madole and George E. Farrell were on the brief,

for appellees, Philomena Dooley and 136 others. Juanita

M. Madole also entered an appearance for appellees.

Irene M. Solet and Robert S. Greenspan, Attorneys,

Department of Justice, entered appearances for the Fed-

eral appellees.

Bills of costs must be filed within 14 days after entry of judgment. The

court looks with disfavor upon motions to file bills of costs out of time.

A-2

Thomas J. McLaughlin and Mary Rose Hughes entered

appearances for appellee The Boeing Company.

Before: Mikva, Chief Judge, BUCKLEY and THOMas,

Circuit Judges.

Opinion for the court filed by Chief Judge Mixva, except

as to Part II(C).

Opinion for the court as to Part II(C) filed by Circuit

Judge BUCKLEY.

Opinion dissenting in part filed by Chief Judge Mikva.

Mikva, Chief Judge: On September 1, 1983, a Korean

Air Lines (“KAL”) Boeing 747 airliner was shot down

somewhere over the Sea of Japan by one of the Soviet

Union’s SU-15 interceptor aircraft, killing all 269 persons

on board. The approximate crash site placed the flight

more than 300 nautical miles off course and in Soviet air-

space. Before trial, the district court granted summary

judgment for the United States on claims that it had

breached a duty to warn. See In re Korean Air Lines

Disaster of September 1, 1983, 646 F. Supp. 30 (D.D.C.

1986). In an appeal brought by the unsuccessful plaintiffs

in those cases, we upheld the district court’s decision. See

Wyler, et al. v. Korean Air Lines, Inc., et al., No. 86-5400

(D.C. Cir. Mar. 29, 1991). Additional background on the

disaster is provided in our opinion in the companion

appeal.

In this case, KAL appeals from a judgment entered

against it by the district court after a jury found KAL

guilty of willful misconduct and awarded damages to a

group of 137 plaintiffs; the award included $50 million in

punitive damages. KAL challenges both the willful mis-

conduct verdict and the assessment of punitive damages.

Although KAL raises some valid concerns about the qual-

ity of the evidence ~ulmitted to the jury, we conclude that

the finding of willful misconduct was permissible. How-

ever, we vacate the punitive damage award.

teeta enemies

A-3

I. BACKGROUND

On August 31, 1983, Korean Air Lines Flight 007

(“KE007”) left New York’s Kennedy Airport bound for

Seoul, South Korea, with a stop in Anchorage, Alaska.

After refueling there, KE007 took off from Anchorage

International Airport at 1300 Greenwich Mean Time

(“G.M.T.”), or 4:00 a.m. local time. The Anchorage Air

Traftic Control (“ATC”) Center instructed KE007 to

climb and maintain a flight level of 33,000 feet and

“proceed direct BETHEL when able.” BETHEL, located

approximately 360 nautical miles west of Anchorage, is

the navigational gateway for Route R20 of the North

Pacific Composite Route System, which operates like a

multi-lane highway for civilian flights across the Pacific

Ocean between North America and Asia. BETHEL also

serves as a navigational waypoint at which an airplane

can cross-check its position against a radio fix. Route R20

has a series of navigational waypoints with precise geo-

graphical coordinates, each about 300 miles apart, that

KE007 would follow on a direct path and use for course

verification and reporting purposes. These waypoints were

designated BETHEL, NABIE, NUKKS, NEEVA,

NINNO, NIPPI, NYTIM, NOKKA and NOHO. See Map

of the North Pacific (attached as an appendix to this

opinion). Position reports from the crew to ATC ground

controllers were required at BETHEL and _ other

waypoints up through NIPPI, some 1800 miles from

Anchorage. Anchorage ATC transfers control of aircraft

following Route R20 to Tokyo Center at waypoint NIPPI.

At the time that these events took place, Anchorage

ATC had radar coverage for less than half the distance

to BETHEL. The Federal Aviation Administration’s

(“FAA”) Kenai radar installation provided coverage as far

as Cairn Mountain, approximately 165 nautical miles west

of Anchorage. FAA radar surveillance was terminated at

1327:50 G.M.T. From that point on, Anchorage ATC |

would rely on the crew’s position reports (calculated in-

“flight with the help of the waypoints and on-board sys-

tems) to track KE007’s location and adherence to R20. At

| ae

A-4

1349 G.M.T., KE007’s pilot reported reaching BETHEL

and estimated that they would pass over their next

reporting waypoint. NABIE, at 1430 G.M.T.

After BETHEL, KE007 did not have any direct com-

munications with Anchorage ATC. During the remainder

of the flight, the crew reported reaching each successive

waypoint up to NIPPI, when Anchorage transferred con-

trol to Tokyo. These reports were relayed to Anchorage

ATC by another KAL flight, KE015, which had departed

Anchorage 14 minutes after KE007 and also was following

Route R20. At NABIE, KE007 should have been able to

communicate directly with Anchorage ATC through the F

St. Paul Island radio transmitter, but the crew was unable

to do so, having instead to relay the report through /

KEO15. KAL elicited testimony that this was not neces- /

sarily unusual and could be caused by weather. Plaintiffs

countered that such a problem was rare, and they sug-

gested that the direct broadcast was impossible because

KE007 was already 90 miles off course at NABIE and out

of the range of St. Paul Island’s radio. This happened

again at the next waypoint, NEEVA, where KE007 should

have reported by using the Sheyma Island radio station.

Evidently the pilot of KE015 became suspicious that

something was wrong when KE007 requested that he

relay this position report to Anchorage ATC, in part

because KE007’s time of arrival at that waypoint was nine

minutes late and the explanation KE007’s crew gave for

the delayed arrival (strong headwinds) conflicted with his

own observations just four minutes behind. Plaintiffs con-

tended at trial that the inability to use the Sheyma Island

radio station and the inconsistent headwind reports

resulted from the fact that KE0G7 was now 170 miles off

course and inside Soviet airspace.

After control of KE007 was transferred from Anchorage

ATC, the crew reported to the controllers in Tokyo that

they had reached NIPPI and estimated their time of

arrival at NOKKA as 1826 G.M.T. A subsequent accident

report concluded that the wind conditions reported by

KE007 at NIPPI did not match those experienced on R20

=

A-5

and were more consistent with a position over 200 miles

to the north-northwest over the Kamchatka Peninsula,

U.S.S.R. The final direct transmission from the KE007

crew to ground controllers was a report to Tokyo at

1827:10 G.M.T. that the plane was rapidly decompressing

and descending. The flight recorders and most of the

wreckage were never recovered, so the details of what

happened remain a mystery. However, contrary to KAL’s

suggestion, there was evidence from which to calculate an

approximate crash site, including intermittent acoustic

signals from an underwater flight recorder beacon

received by search vessels in the area along with debris

from the crash found in the Sea of Japan and washed

ashore on Hokkaido Island.

Plaintiffs’ liability claims in all of these actions grow

from a hypothetical flight deviation that they claim was

apparent on FAA radar shortly after take-off and could

be extrapolated across the entire route to the approximate

crash site in the Sea of Japan (after flying for about three

hours in Soviet airspace and crossing over the Karnchatka

Peninsula and Sakhalin Island). See Appendix. At trial,

plaintiffs attempted to establish willful misconduct by the

KE007 flight crew by theorizing that, due to an error in

programming the Inertial Navigation System (“INS”)

prior to departure from Anchorage, KE007 deviated from

its plotted course to Seoul and entered Soviet airspace.

The INS is a navigational device which stores pre-

programmed flight plans and displays data during the

flight showing present position, waypoint positions, and

any course deviations from the designated route. The INS

units use gyroscopes to calculate positions during flight,

and they must be programmed before takeoff by inserting

the exact coordinates for latitude and longitude at the

particular gate where the aircraft is parked.

At trial, plaintiffs contended that the crew must have

known of the misprogramming either before leaving

Anchorage or shortly thereafter, but decided to proceed

rather than turn back and face possible disciplinary action

such as suspension. Plaintiffs argue that the crew's loca-

i

A-6

tion reports were fabricated to cover up the error in pro-

gramming. Furthermore, according to the plaintiffs, the

crew must have been fully aware of the serious risk of

straying into Soviet airspace, given that a similar KAL

flight had been intercepted and forced down five years

earlier. In 1978, KAL flight 902 had strayed deep into sen-

sitive Soviet airspace near northern Europe, over 1000

miles off course. A Soviet fighter fired on the aircraft

when it took evasive maneuvers, forcing an emergency

landing on a frozen lake. This incident, which caused sev-

eral fatalities, was evidently discussed in subsequent KAL

training programs.

Plaintiffs’ evidence consisted of radar reports covering

‘the initial leg of KE00O7’s flight, an investigative report

completed by the Secretary General of the International

Civil Aviation Organization (“ICAO”) three months after

the incident (hereinafter referred to as the “ICAO

Report,” although KAL emphasizes that it was never offi-

cially adopted by the ICAO Council), expert testimony

from two pilots with extensive experience flying across the

Pacific, and reports of prior unrelated incidents involving

KAL navigation errors. At the close of plaintiffs’ case,

KAL moved unsuccessfully for a directed verdict. KAL

then introduced the testimony of the air traffic controllers

who monitored KE007 on radar and communicated with

its crew, the testimony from the Deputy United States

representative to ICAO and the report of the Air Naviga-

tion Commission (“ANC”) of ICAO criticizing the Secre-

tary General’s Report. The jury returned a liability verdict

against KAL, and in a subsequent verdict awarded plain-

tiffs $50 million in punitive damages. The trial judge

entered judgment on the verdict and denied KAL’s motion

for judgment notwithstanding the verdict (“JNOV”).

Il. ANALYSIS

On appeal, KAL argues (1) that there was insufficient

evidence of willful misconduct to support the jury’s ver-

dict; (2) that several pieces of evidence used to prove will-

A-7

ful misconduct (the ICAO Report, the expert testimony

based on that report, and the prior incidents) should not

have been admitted; and (3) that the award of punitive

damages was improper. We find merit in only the last of

these contentions.

A. Evidence of Willful Misconduct

Initially, KAL contends that the district court's final

jury instruction misstated the standard for willful miscon-

duct. KAL requested a definition of willful misconduct as

the “intentional performance of a wrongful act,” but alleg-

edly the court defined it only as the “intentional perfor-

mance of an act.” KAL has taken the actual instruction

out of context:

Willful misconduct is the intentional performance of

an act with knowledge that the act will probably

result in an injury or damage, or in some manner as

to imply reckless disregard of the consequences of its

performance.

This is precisely the formulation approved by this court

in KLM Royal Dutch Airlines v. Tuller, 292 F.2d 775, 778

(D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 368 U.S. 921 (1968).

KAL’s primary argument on appeal! is that there was

no evidence from which a reasonable jury could find will-

ful misconduct. Both sides mischaracterize what evidence

was adduced at trial and for what purposes. In view of

what was actually presented to the jury, we conclude that

the evidence was not so one-sided that KAL was entitled

to a JNOV or new trial. Cf. In re Korean Air Lines Disas-

ter of September 1, 1983, 704 F. Supp. 1135, 1136-51

(D.D.C. 1988) (hereinafter “Jn re KAL Disaster”) (detail-

ing how each piece of plaintiffs’ evidence could fit into the

puzzle and what permissible inferences a jury might draw

therefrom). The hard evidence of what happened is

sparse: Anchorage radar showed that KE007’s initial

flight path was generally in the direction of waypoint

BETHEL (though plaintiffs introduced additional radar

evidence of a deviation appearing at this early stage in the

flight), and wreckage was discovered in the Sea of Japan

a

A-8

shortly after a distress call from the crew. Although the

exact crash site was never established, KAL does not deny

that KEO007 must have strayed hundreds of miles off

course to end up in or near the Sea of Japan. The ques-

tion is at what point did the flight go off course and why.

Plaintiffs’ theory, based in part upon the inconclusive

ICAO Report, posits that the deviation was caused by an

initial INS programming error that caused KE007 to stray

progressively further off course during the flight. KAL

emphasizes the flimsiness of this explanation but fails to

offer one of its own; it contends that KE007 was on course

throughout the flight across the Pacific until, for some

entirely mysterious reason, it veered dramatically off

course after waypoint NIPPI.

KAL argues that the radio transmissions from KE007’s

crew at each waypoint verify that they remained on course

along Route R20. Plaintiffs respond by pointing to suspi-

cious circumstances such as KE007’s inability to commu-

nicate directly with air traffic control in Anchorage

(having instead to relay its reports through KE015), and

reporting wind conditions that were inconsistent with

those encountered by KE015. KAL replies that the com-

munications and reported wind conditions were in no way

unusual, adding that these items could not provide evi-

dence of the supposed course deviation. But all that plain-

tiffs were trying to prove at this point was that the

uncorroborated reports from the crew were not persuasive

evidence of their being on course. Plaintiffs suggested that

the crew had a motive to lie because they knew they

would face suspension if they admitted their error and

turned back. A jury could legitimately discount the accu-

racy of those reports, in which case KAL’s version of the

probable flight path would be at least as speculative as

plaintiffs’ extrapolation. Given this lacuna, and the undis-

puted fact that the airliner was shot down hundreds of

miles off course, a jury could credit plaintiffs’ coherent

theory of what happened, derived from circumstantial evi-

dence such as the early radar reports of a mild course

deviation before BETHEL and the arguably inconsistent

wind reports.

A-9

A critical element in plaintiffs’ scenario is evidence that

a course deviation was evident as early as waypoint

BETHEL that grew progressively larger during the flight.

The FAA radar showed that halfway between Anchorage

and BETHEL, KE007 was six miles north (to the right)

of what would have been a direct heading toward the first

waypoint. Military radar data from the uncertified though

apparently accurate King Salmon station showed that

KE007 was 12 miles north of a direct heading shortly

before reaching BETHEL. Plaintiffs’ witnesses inter-

preted this evidence as indicating a drift off course,

extrapolating it to suggest at least a 12 mile deviation by

the time KE007 passed BETHEL (well outside the 1-2

mile margin of error allowed). KAL argues that KE007

could proceed toward BETHEL any way it wanted (the

ATC course clearance for R20 only applied once it left the

coast after BETHEL), and being six miles off the most

direct path at the half-way point and 12 miles off just

before BETHEL would not justify an extrapolation of a

12 mile deviation at BETHEL. But plaintiffs introduced

testimony that the flight would have reappeared on radar

if it had suddenly turned directly toward BETHEL. A jury

could reasonably believe plaintiffs’ explanation of a devia-

tion at BETHEL rather than KAL’s evidence to the con-

trary, see In re KAL Disaster, 704 F. Supp. at 1138, 1142,

and then extrapolate that deviation across the entire

flight to the approximate crash site, just as juries are nor-

mally permitted to draw conclusions from less than com-

plete direct evidence of what happened. This is not simply

a case where the district court let the jury chuose, on the

basis of mere speculation and conjecture, between hypo-

thetical scenarios of what happened. Contrast Siegel v.

Mazda Motor Corp., 878 F.2d 435, 437-39 (D.C. Cir. 1989)

(“When the record thus contains competing, unrebutted

hypotheses consistent with driver error [rather than a

mechanical defect in the transmission] ... we can discern

no basis upon which to say that any one of the possible

explanations is “more probable” than the others.”).

Contrary to KAL’s suggestion, plaintiffs did not simply

use the flight path postulated by the ICAO Report and

A-10

based on the Soviet version of the intercept. Even if this

aspect of the ICAO Report was arguably unreliable, a jury

could make its own evaluation based upon the evidence

supplied by plaintiffs and then accept the ICAO conclu-

sions of possible causes drawn from the assumed flight

path. Once the jury accepted plaintiffs’ extrapolated path,

the question becomes why the crew did nothing to correct

the error. Because the flight recorder was never recovered,

we only know that the crew claimed throughout the flight

that they were on course. As explained above, plaintiffs

discount these reports as fabrications. Plaintiffs’ experts

testified that, assuming the course deviation posited by

plaintiffs, the deviation was probably the result of an

error in programming the INS. The ICAO Secretary Gen-

eral reached the same tentative conclusion in his report.

Moreover, plaintiffs’ experts testified that the crew would

have known of the deviation or, if they did not, that their

ignorance was due to gross negligence in failing to check

their instruments. (The jury was also informed that the

ICAO Report concluded that the crew probably would not

have been aware of the error.) Plaintiffs then introduced

evidence of a 1978 Soviet intercept of a KAL flight to

prove that this crew would have known of the hazards of

straying into Soviet airspace.

Appellees add that even if one believed KAL’s claim

that KE007 stayed on course up to waypoint NIPPI, the

flight must have then turned suddenly in the direction of

Sakhalin Island to reach the crash site. KAL responds

that if this were the correct scenario, there would be no

basis for a finding of willful misconduct. However, the

crew could not have failed to notice such a glaring devia-

tion, and their failure to notify ATC until after they were

decompressing suggests willful misconduct. Appellees are

not using this as a fallback scenario so much as they are

emphasizing KAL’s inability to suggest any innocent

explanation for the disaster. Admittedly, plaintiffs’ case

at trial did not include any “smoking guns,” but that is

because no one knows exactly what happened. There was

sufficient evidence here from which to decipher a pattern

A-ll

of conduct giving rise to liability. If the only evidence for

the proposed course deviation had been the wreckage in

the Sea of Japan, plaintiffs could not have prevailed sim-

ply by drawing a straight line from Anchorage and argu-

ing that the crew would have known of this course

deviation but chose to cover it up. Here there was addi-

tional, albeit not uncontroverted, evidence that a course

deviation appeared almost immediately after take-off,

consistent with a 10 degree error in setting the INS longi-

tude coordinate at Anchorage, combined with somewhat

suspicious radio reports from the crew. When “questions

{of willful misconduct] depend upon inferences to be

drawn from essentially circumstantial evidence ... [o]ne

can hardly imagine a clearer case in which such questions

should have been left to the jury.” Berner v. British Com-

monwealth Pacific Airlines, 346 F.2d 532, 538 (2d Cir.

1965) (reversing JNOV for plaintiffs in an air crash case),

cert. denied, 382 U.S. 983 (1966).

B. Evidentiary Rulings

1. The ICAO Report and Plaintiffs’ Expert Testimony

KAL objects to the introduction of the ICAO Report

(and the appended Soviet intercept report), contending

that it was hearsay not within the public records excep-

tion of Rule 803(8), Fep. R. Evip. That rule provides, in

pertinent part, that the following are not hearsay:

Records, reports, statements, or data compilations, in

any form, of public offices or agencies, setting forth

... factual findings resulting from an investigation

made pursuant to authority granted by law, unless

the sources of information or other circumstances

indicate lack of trustworthiness.

Fep. R. Evip. 803(8)(C). “Rule 803(8)(C) is to be applied

in a commonsense manner, subject to the district court’s

sound exercise of discretion ....” City of New York v.

Pullman Inc., 662 F.2d 910, 914 (2d Cir. 1981), cert.

denied, 454 U.S. 1164 (1982). KAL argues that there were

no “factual findings” because the final report from the Sec-

retary General — criticized for lacking hard evidence from

A-12

which to draw its conclusions — was never adopted by the

ICAO Council. KAL also contends that the sources of the

Report’s information concerning the probable flight path,

especially the so-called “Russian line” provided in the

Soviet intercept report, lacked trustworthiness. Finally,

KAL argues that admission of the ICAO Report contra-

vened Rule 403, FED. R. Evip., because the jury was misled

into believing that the conclusions were authoritative.

We disagree with KAL’s characterization of the Report

as non-final. By a special resolution passed a few weeks

after the disaster, the ICAO Council directed “the Secre-

tary General to institute an investigation ... and to pro-

vide an interim report to the Council within 30 days ...

and a complete report during the 110th Session of the

Council.” After first giving the Council an interim report

as required by the resolution, the Secretary General ulti-

mately provided his “final report” to the Council, although

he qualified it by conceding that the report was based on

incomplete evidence and promising to supplement the

Report if any new information came to light. The minutes

of the Council session indicate the submission of the Sec-

retary General’s “final report” on December 12, 1983. The

Council had the power to endorse or ignore the Report

but apparently not revise it. Cf. New York v. Pullman, 662

F.2d at 914 (“As an interim report subject to revision and

review, the report did not satisfy the express requirement

of the Rule that the proffered evidence must constitute

the ‘findings’ of an agency or official.”). After sending the

Report to the Air Navigation Commission for review and

comment to determine whether any changes should be

made in ICAO’s Rules of the Air in light of the incident,

the Council chose not to endorse it. Even so, the Secre-

tary General was acting in the capacity of a public official

when he conducted “an investigation made pursuant to

authority granted by law” (in this case, the special resolu-

tion) and issued his final report. Cf. In re Multi-Piece

Rims Prods. Liab. Lit., 545 F. Supp. 149, 151 (W.D. Mo.

1982) (admitting letters from NHTSA employee acting in

an official capacity and describing evaluative tests).

|

|

A-13

We are somewhat more troubled, however, with the dis-

trict court’s resolution of the trustworthiness question

under Rule 803(8)(C). Although the ICAO Report was

based on very limited hard evidence, this alone would not

undermine its finality or trustworthiness. See Beech Air-

craft v. Rainey, 488 U.S. 153, 168 (1988) (upholding the

“broad admissibility” of facts, conclusions, evaluations

and opinions contained in an aircraft accident report,

because “the admission of a report containing ‘conclu-

sions’ is subject to the ultimate safeguard—the opponent’s

right to present evidence tending to contradict or diminish

the weight of those conclusions”). In this case, the district

court let KAL introduce the ANC report criticizing the

Secretary General’s report. But KAL’s trustworthiness

objection focuses on the Preliminary Soviet Report

appended to the ICAO Report and the Secretary General's

use of the uncorroborated “Russian line” in arriving at his

conclusions. Among other problems with the Soviet

report, KAL claims that it was politically motivated, seek-

ing to exonerate the Soviet Union's actions. Standing

alone, we doubt that the Soviet report would have been

admissible under Rule 803(8)(C), but its inclusion as an

appendix to the ICAO Report would not automatically

render the Secretary General’s otherwise admissible

report objectionable. See FAA v. Landy, 705 F.2d 624, 633

(2d Cir.) (“As a statement by a foreign government to the

federal government, incorporated in the FAA’s factual

findings resulting from an investigation made pursuant to

authority granted by law, the [German] telex was admissi-

ble as a public record and report under Fed.R.Evid.

803(8)(C).”), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 895 (1983).

The more difficult question is whether the alleged

untrustworthiness of the Soviet report renders the ICAO

Report inadmissible on those same grounds, at least those

portions based in part on the Russian intercept line. Rule

803(8)(C) “assumes admissibility in the first instance but

with ample provision for escape if sufticient negative fac-

tors are present.” Fep. R. Evin. 803 advisory committee

note. “The burden is on the party disputing admissibility

A-14

to prove the factual finding to be untrustworthy.” l/nited

States v. American Tel. & Tel. Co., 498 F. Supp. 353, 364

(D.D.C. 1980); accord In re Aircrash in Bali, Indonesia,

87! F.2d 812, 816 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 110 S. Ct. 277

(1989). In Rainey, the Supreme Court observed that “a

trial judge has the discretion, and indeed the obligation,

to exclude an entire report or portions thereof ... that she

determines to be untrustworthy.” 488 U.S. at 167. While

the Soviet report may have been particularly untrustwor-

thy in its rendition of the actual intercept (indeed, in a

recent interview with Izvestia, the Soviet pilot responsible

for the shootdown disputed the sanitized official version,

see Wash. Post, Jan. 25, 1991, at Al6), the radar track

itself was generally believed by several sources, including

the United States government. At a news briefing on the

day of the incident, the Secretary of State told reporters

that KE007 “strayed into Soviet airspace over the Kam-

chatka Peninsula” and was tracked by the Soviets “for

some 2-1/2 hours.”

The district court clearly understood its duty to make

a threshold trustworthiness finding and recognized its

power to exclude any portions of the Report it felt were

untrustworthy. KAL’s counsel effectively conceded that

the factual section of the ICAO Report (contained in the

first 35 pages) was admissible. The district court initially

decided not to admit one section of the ICAO Report dis-

cussing the Russian intercept line, but then let even that

part in when KAL’s counsel retracted his initial objection

to the section standing alone. The district court decided

that KAL’s trustworthiness objections were more properly

addressed to the jury for purposes of evaluating the

weight to be accorded the Secretary General’s conclusions:

“{Yjou might convince the jury that it is not worth the

paper it is written on, but I am not going to throw the

whole report out just because they might believe that in

this particular case.” Not surprisingly, the transcript of

the district court’s decision from the bench lacks the clar-

ity of a written opinion. In hindsight, we would rather the

court had made explicit preliminary findings, preferably

A-15

in limine, as to the trustworthiness of each challenged

portion of the ICAO Report. But mindful that the burden

was and is on KAL, we are not convinced that the court

failed to carry through on its duties under Rules 104(a)

and 803(8) or abused its discretion when it admitted the

ICAO Report in its entirety.

Furthermore, as explained previously, plaintiffs did not

rely on the Secretary General’s report (or the Soviet inter-

cept report) to establish the probable flight path. Instead,

once the jury accepted plaintiffs’ extrapolation, the ICAO

Report helped fill the causation gap by evaluating the

likelihood that an INS programming error was at fault.

Indeed, even the ANC Report that KAL introduced to

criticize the ICAO Report confirmed that there was a

“significant deviation from track” that could not be

explained. The danger, of course, is that the jury was also

presented with the ICAO Report’s working assumption

based on the Russian line, and this may well have influ-

enced their willingness to believe plaintiffs’ extrapolation.

Even so, this is precisely the sort of judgment call by the

trial judge that is entitled to deference on appeal and will

not be disturbed absent clear error. See United States v.

Payne, 805 F.2d 1062, 1066-67 (D.C. Cir. 1986) (per

curiam). The district court did not abuse its discretion

under Rules 803(8)(C) and 403.

Finally, KAL criticizes the admission of testimony by

plaintiffs’ experts, again because of the supposed lack of

any basis, other than the ICAO and Soviet reports, for the

assumed deviation from which all their opinions sprang.

Appellees respond that both experts were qualified pilots

with significant trans-Pacific experience, and that the

ICAO Report was a legitimate source for them to rely on.

Because we have decided that the ICAO Report was prop-

erly admitted, the expert testimony is also unobjection-

able.

2. Evidence of Prior Incidents

Plaintiffs introduced evidence of prior KAL incidents

to suggest that the crew knew they risked suspension if

A-16

they returned to Anchorage for reprogramming, and that

the crew was aware of the hazards of straying into Soviet

airspace. KAL objects that evidence of these prior inci-

dents was irrelevant and unduly prejudicial. Rule 404(b),

Fev. R. Evip., allows the admission of evidence concerning

“prior bad acts” in limited circumstances, to prove

“motive, opportunity, intent, preparation, plan, knowl-

edge, identity, or absence of mistake or accident.” It is of

course true that a prior incident must be sufficiently simi-

lar to be probative of intent or motive in relation to the

incident at issue. See, e.g., Edwards v. Consolidated Rail

Corp., 567 F. Supp. 1087, 1105-06 (D.D.C. 1983), aff'd

mem., 733 F.2d 966 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 883

(1984).

In this case, plaintiffs sought to demonstrate through

circumstantial evidence what the crew of KE007 knew or

should have known about the consequences of their con-

duct and also to rebut KAL’s suggestion that misprogram-

ming was impossible or correctable en route. These are

permissible ends that do not require the exacting degree

of similarity that would be necessary when using prior bad

acts to prove specific intent or motive. See Exum v. Gen-

eral Elec. Co., 819 F.2d 1158, 1162-63 (D.C. Cir. 1987)

(“How substantial the similarity must be is in part a func-

tion of the proponent’s theory of proof,” and a theory of

notice “imposes aé_ less rigorous requirement of

similarity.”).

KAL aeserts that it never claimed misprogramming was

impossible or that crews did not know about the hazards

of intruding Soviet airspace. Neither statement is entirely

correct. While the evidence of these prior incidents was

no doubt somewhat prejudicial, plaintiffs appear to have

introduced it for permissible purposes. See, e.g., United

States v. Payne, 805 F.2d at 1066-67. Knowledge (not spe-

cific intent or motive) was a relevant issue, notwithstand-

ing KAL’s mild concession in opening argument that the

crew would have known of the dangers of flying into

Soviet airspace. If KAL wanted to remove the issue from

trial so as to exclude evidence of the 1978 shootdown, a

attic aetna

-

ar ails pate tte re CICS:

A-17

pre-trial stipulation might have done the trick. In fact,

before trial KAL was arguing that the intercept was an

unforeseeable, superseding cause of the disaster, a claim

the court felt had to be left to the jury. See Jn re KAL

Disaster, 704 F. Supp. at 1149 & n.37. We conclude that

the evidence of prior incidents was properly admitted at

trial.

A-18

C. Punitive Damages

BuckLey, Circuit Judge: These consolidated wrongful

death actions are governed by the terms of the Warsaw

Convention, a multilateral treaty to which the United

States has adhered since 1934. See Convention for the

Unification of Certain Rules Relating to International

Transportation by Air, Oct. 12, 1929, Article 1(1), 49 Stat.

3000, T.S. No. 876 (1934), reprinted in 49 U.S.C. app.

§ 1502 note (1988). Relying on Floyd v. Eastern Airlines,

872 F.2d 1462, 1483-89 (11th Cir. 1989) (“Floyd I”), rev'd

on other grounds, 59 U.S.L.W. 4307 (U.S. Apr. 17, 1991),

KAL argues that the Convention disallows awards of puni-

tive damages and that the district court therefore erred in

submitting the issue to the jury. KAL’s position was

recently adopted by the Second Circuit in Jn re Air Disas-

ter at Lockerbie, Scotland, on Dec. 21, 1988, No. 90-7388,

slip op. 2927 (2d Cir. Mar. 22, 1991) (“Lockerbie”).

Plaintiffs maintain that punitive damages are permitted

whenever they are available under applicable local law

and, in any event, should be recoverable once it is shown

that the carrier acted with willful misconduct. For the rea-

sons that follow, we agree with KAL and our sister cir-

cuits; hence, we set aside the jury’s award of punitive

damages.

The Warsaw Convention establishes the liability of

international air carriers for harm to passengers, baggage,

or goods; fixes limitations on such liability; and achieves

a degree of uniformity in documentation and in the proce-

dures and substantive law applicable to claims arising out

of international air carriage. See Lowenfeld & Mendel-

sohn, The United States and the Warsaw Convention, 30

Harv. L. Rev. 497, 498-500 (1967). The central purpose

of the Convention is to limit the liability of air carriers.

The contracting states in 1929 believed that limitations

on liability would promote the development of the fledg-

ling commercial air industry by allowing the airlines to

predict their exposure to monetary damages and thereby

obtain needed capital and adequate insurance coverage.

A-19

See Eastern Altrlines v. Floyu, 59 U.S.L.W. 4307, 4312

(U.S. Apr. 17, 1991) (“Floyd II”); Lockerbie, slip op. at

2934; Reed v. Wiser, 555 F.2d 1079, 1089 (2d Cir.), cert.

denied, 434 U.S. 922 (1977); Lewenfeld & Mendelsohn,

supra, 80 Harv. L. Rev. at 498-500.

Article 17 of the Convention defines a carrier’s liability

for harm to passengers. See Air France v. Saks, 470 U.S.

392, 397 (1985). Article 17 provides:

The carrier shall be liable for damage sustained in

the event of the death or wounding of a passenger or

any other bodily injury suffered by a passenger, if the

accident which caused the damage so sustained took

place on board the aircraft or in the course of any of

the operations of embarking or disembarking.

Article 24 allows contracting states to decide the stand-

ing and “respective rights” of claimants who seek recovery

under Article 17, provided that “any action for damages,

however founded, can only be brought subject to the con-

ditions and limits set out in this convention.” Under Arti-

cle 25, a carrier “shall not be entitled to avail himself of

the provisions of this convention which exclude or limit

his liability” when it is shown that the damage suffered

by the claimant was caused by the carrier’s “willful

misconduct,” as defined by the law of the forum court.

Under the Convention as originally ratified, Article

22(1) limited the carrier’s Article 17 liability to approxi-

mately $8,300, and Article 20(1) allowed the carrier to

avoid liability altogether by proving that it acted with due

care. See Floyd I, 872 F.2d at 1467. With respect to flights

to or from the United States, these provisions were super-

seded by the Montreal Agreement, an agreement among

air carriers executed in 1966 and approved by the Civil

Aeronautics Board pursuant to its authority under the

Federal Aviation Act of 1958. In the Montreal Agreement,

air carriers raised the per passenger liabilitv limit to

$75,000 and assumed virtual strict liabiiity for death or

injury of passengers by waiving their due care defenses

under Article 20(1). See Crder of Civil Aeronautics Board

a aetna meamaaina iain ieee ae

A-20

Approving Increases in Liability Limitations of Warsaw

Convention and Hague Protocol, May 13, 1966 (approving

Agreement CAB 18900), 31 Fed. Reg. 7302 (1966),

reprinted in 49 U.S.C. app. § 1502 note. KAL has been a

party to the Montreal Agreement since 1969. See Chan v.

Korean Air Lines, 490 U.S. 122, 124 (1989).

Whether punitive damages are allowable in actions gov-

erned by the Warsaw Convention must, in our opinion,

turn on the nature of the liability contemplated by Article

17. The Convention sets forth an international liability

scheme that was intended to be uniform. See Lockerbie,

slip op. at 2956-57; Floyd I, 872 F.2d at 1488. We must

honor this uniformity by “giv[ing] the specific words of

the treaty a meaning consistent with the shared expecta-

tions of the contracting parties.” Saks, 470 U.S. at 399.

If a recovery is inconsistent with the shared expectations

underlying Article 17, it is precluded. See Lockerbie, slip

op. at 2961-62; Floyd J, 872 F.2d at 1487. Cf. Floyd II, 59

U.S.L.W. at 4309, 4311 (term “bodily injury” in Article 17

excludes recovery for purely mental injuries); Saks, 470

U.S. at 405 (“accident” requirement precludes liability

under Article 17 unless injury caused by unexpected or

unusual event external to passenger).

Although the Convention does not address the issue of

punitive damages, the Article 17 phrase “liable for damage

sustained” strongly implies that the carrier's responsibil-

ity is compensatory and extends only to the reparation of

loss resulting from the death or injury of passengers. See

Floyd I, 872 F.2d at 1483, 1486; Jn re Air Crash Disaster

at Gander, Newfoundland, 684 F. Supp. 927, 931 (W.D.

Ky. 1987) (“Gander”). The words “damage sustained” do

not refer to legal damages; they refer to actual harm expe-

rienced, whether physical injury to the passenger or, in

the case of death, monetary or other loss to his survivors.

See Lockerbie, slip op. at 2959; see also Calkins, The Cause

of Action Under the Warsaw Convention (pt. 2), 26 J. Air

L. & Com. 323, 335 (1959). Article 17 does not specify that

the damage must be sustained “by the passenger” and thus

allows for the possibility of traditional wrongful death

A-21

actions. The requirement that the damage “so sustained”

be “caused” by an accident on board the aircraft, however,

reenforces the conclusion that recovery is available only

for actual loss; an accident cannot “cause” punitive dam-

ages. Lockerbie, slip op. at 2959-60.

French is the controlling language of the Convention.

See Article 36; Floyd II, 59 U.S.L.W. at 4309; Saks, 470

U.S. at 397. The relevant phrase in French is “dummage

survenu.” The parties have not suggested that this phrase

carries any special meaning in French law, and we are sat-

isfied that “damage sustained” in the official American

version of Article 17 — the version ratified by the Senate

in 1934 — is an accurate translation of “dummage

survenu.” See Lockerbie, slip op. at 2958-59; Floyd 1, 872

F.2d at 1486-87; Gander, 684 F. Supp. at 931.

The wording of Article 17 thus describes liability for

compensatory or actual damages — that is, damages that

“will compensate the injured party for the injury sus-

tained ... [or] will simply make good or replace the loss

caused by the wrong or injury.” Black's Law Dictionary

352 (5th ed. 1979). In contrast, punitive damages are rec-

ognized by federal courts as retributive and deterrent in

nature. See Lockerbie, slip op. at 2937-38; Floyd 1, 872 F.2d

at 1487. They “are not compensation for injury,” but

rather are awarded “to punish reprehensible conduct and

to deter its future occurrence.” IBEW v. Foust, 442 U.S.

42, 48 (1979) (quoting Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 418 U.S.

323, 350 (1974)). “Their role therefore ‘runs counter to the

normal reparative function of tort and contract

remedies.” Browning-Ferris Indus. v. Kelco Disposal, Inc.,

109 S. Ct. 2909, 2932 (1989) (O’Connor, J., concurring in

part and dissenting in part) (quoting K. Redden, Punitive

Damages § 2.1, at 24 (1980)). The purposes served by

punitive damages are incompatible with the liability

scheme set forth in Article 17. See Floyd J, 872 F.2d at

1487.

In Lockerbie, the Second Circuit pointed out that a

minority of state courts in the United States view punitive

A-22

or exemplary damages as serving, at least in part, a

“compensatory” function. Lockerbie, slip op. at 2938-39.

The court concluded, however, that the Warsaw Conven-

tion preempts all state-law causes of action; otherwise, the

uniform application of the Convention would be disrupted

by the uneven patchwork of state punitive damages theo-

ries (a potential problem in diversity suits arising in states

that adhere to the minority view). See id. at 2944-52. We

need not reach this preemption question because plain-

tiffs here base their claim to punitive damages solely on

federal maritime law. See Brief for Appellees at 29, 35-36.

Our construction of the Convention does not end with

a word-by-word parsing of Article 17. We may properly

look to the larger context of the Convention and its his-

tory, including the negotiations of its drafters and the

interpretations given it by contracting states. See Floyd I],

59 U.S.L.W. at 4309; Saks, 470 U.S. at 396-97. In doing

so, we must interpret and apply the terms of Article 17

in accordance with their French legal meaning because the

Convention was drafted in’French by civil law jurists.

Floyd II, 59 U.S.L.W. at 4309; Saks, 470 U.S. at 399; see

Block v. Compagnie Nationale Air France, 386 F.2d 323,

330 (5th Cir. 1967), cert. denied, 392 U.S. 905 (1968).

Nothing in the minutes and notes of the Convention’s

drafters indicates that the contracting parties ever consid-

ered the concept of punitive or deterrent damages for pas-

sengers’ deaths. See Lockerbie, slip op. at 2958; Floyd I,

872 F.2d at 1487. The drafting history does indicate, how-

ever, that the drafters intended the carrier’s liability to

be contractual in nature. See Second International Confer-

ence on Private Aeronautical Law: Minutes (Warsaw 1929),

at 22 (R. Horner & D. Legrez trans. 1975) (“Warsaw

Minutes”) (“The system of liability of the Convention is

based only upon the document of carriage.”) (statement

of Henri De Vos, reporter).

The kinds of damages available in French civil actions

founded on contract parallel the compensatory forms of

monetary recovery available in American tort suits. See

A-23

Lockerbie, slip op. at 2954-56, 2960. One commentator has

observed, “There is nothing in French law prohibiting

compensation for any particular kind of damage, be it

mental injury, suffering due to the death of a member of

the family, or pain and suffering due to a physical injury.

Provided the damage is certain and direct, all forms of

damage can be compensated to their full extent.” G. Mil-

ler, Liability in International Air Transport 112 (1977)

(emphasis in original) (footnote omitted). The French

concept of dommage matériel provides compensation for

pecuniary loss resulting from death or injury; dommage

moral is roughly equivalent to compensatory damages for

nonpecuniary loss, such as pain and suffering. See R.

Mankiewicz,. The Liability Regime of the International Air

Carrier 157 (1981); G. Miller, supra, at 112-14.

These notions of recoverable damages are compensa-

tory and not punitive in character. The same can be said

of the kinds of recovery afforded by other civil law con-

tracting states, such as Germany. See Lockerbie, slip op.

at 2960-61. The Warsaw Convention practice of the prin-

cipal common law contracting party, Great Britain, is con-

sistent with this understanding. Although English courts

in tort contexts do permit punitive damages in “unique -

and rare circumstances,” id. at 2961 (citing Roukes v. Bar-

nard, {1964} 1 All E.R. 367, 410 (H.L.) (Lord Devlin)),

they have construed “dommage” in Article 17 to encom-

pass only “monetary loss.” See id. at 2959 (citing

Fothergill v. Monarch Airlines Ltd., [1981] App. Cas. 251,

[1980] 2 All E.R. 696, [1980] 2 Lloyd’s Rep. 295, 299

(H.L.) (Lord Wilberforce)). We conclude, therefore, that

a monetary liability that is punitive and does not compen-

sate for loss suffered would be contrary to the expecta-

tions of the jurists who drafted Article 17 and the

contracting states that adopted it.

This conclusion comports with our obligation to con-

strue the Convention in a manner that will promote uni-

formity. See Floyd IJ, 59 U.S.L.W. at 4313. The uniform

application of the treaty would be threatened if the

United States, alone among contracting states, imposed

A-24

a form of liability wholly outside the compensatory

scheme of Article 17. See Lockerbie, slip op. at 2974-75;

Floyd I, 872 F.2d at 1487-88. Undoubtedly, punitive liabil-

ity for international carriers “would be controversial for

most signatories,” and we should construe the Convention

to avoid such a “potential source of divergence.” Floyd 1],

59 U.S.L.W. at 4313.

In challenging our reading of “damage sustained,”

plaintiffs rely on Smith v. Wade, 461 U.S. 30, 36 n.5

(1983), in which the Supreme Court dismissed the argu-

ment that the phrase “for redress” in 42 U.S.C. § 1983

precludes recovery of punitive damages. Smith only con-

firms our analysis. In addition to noting that the tort

cause of action created by section 1983 is expansive, 461

U.S. at 36 n.5, the Court relied on the common law con-

text in which Congress enacted section 1983, a context in

which punitive damages were a well-established tort rem-

edy. See id. at 35, 37 n.5. Cf. Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee

Corp., 464 U.S. 238, 255 (1984) (federal regulation of

nuclear plant safety does not preempt punitive damages

award because “Congress assumed that traditional princi-

ples of state tort law would apply with full force unless

. expressly supplanted”). Similarly, we may infer from

its civil law context that Article 17 does not contemplate

the award of punitive damages.

Plaintiffs argue that Article 24’s references to actions

for damages “however founded” and to claimants’

“respective rights” make the availability of punitive dam-

ages a matter of local law. But Article 24 requires that

any action for damages within the scope of the Conven-

tion satisfy the Convention's “conditions and limits.” This

requirement ensures the uniform application of the Con-

vention. See N. Matte, Treatise on Air-Aeronautical Law

419 (1981). The most natural reading of the treaty is that

the terms of liability established by Article 17 are among

the “conditions” enforced by Article 24. See Calkins,

supra, 26 J. Air L. & Com. at 327 (“conditions and limits”

language in Article 24 designed “to protect the Conven-

tional cause of action,” 12., Article 17); see also G. Miller,

A-25

supra, at 125 (“What Article 17 does is to determine the

conditions under which an air carrier shall be liable.”);

Floyd II, 59 U.S.L.W. at 4308. Thus, Article 24 provides

a clear textual basis for concluding that the Convention

overrides liability awards that are inconsistent with Arti-

cle 17.

Some courts and commentators have concluded that

Article 24 preserves independent domestic causes of

action based on tort law. See, e.g., [n re Aircrash in Bali,

Indonesia, on Apr. 22, 1974, 684 F.2d 1301, 1311 n.8 (9th

Cir. 1982); Calkins, supra, at 327. Others disagree, taking

the view that the Convention, when applicable, provides

the exclusive cause of action. See, ey., Boehringer-

Mannheim Diagnostics, Inc. v. Pan Am. World Airways,

737 F.2d 456, 458 (5th Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S.

1186 (1985). See also Floyd I, 872 F.2d at 1482 n.33 (dis-

cussing cases). In deciding only that punitive damages are

contrary to the Convention, we need not take sides in the

exclusivity debate.

Regardless of their views on independent causes of

action, most authorities agree that pursuant to Article 24

the proper “measure” of damages recoverable under Arti-

cle 17 is left to the domestic law of the contracting states.

See Harris v. Polskie Linie Lotnicze, 820 F.2d 1000, 1002

(9th Cir. 1987); Mertens v. Flying Twer Line, 341 F.2d 851,

858 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 382 U.S. 816 (1965); R. Man-

kiewicz, supra, at 189; H. Drion, Limitation of Liabilities

in International Air Law 125-26 (1954). This fact, how-

ever, begs the question whether such damages may be

more than compensatory.

We think it evident they may not. In reporting the pre-

liminary draft of the proposed treaty to the national dele-

gates at Warsaw, the International Technical Committee

of Air Law Experts (“CITEJA”) stated:

The question was asked ... if one could determine

who the persons upon whom the action devolves in

the case of death are, and what are the damages sub-

ject to reparation. It was not possible to find a satis-

A-26

factory solution to this double problem, and the

CITEJA esteemed that this question of private inter-

national law should be regulated independantly |sic]

from the present Convention.

Warsaw Minutes at 255 (emphasis added). The reporter's

use of the word “reparation” bolsters our reading of Arti-

cle 17 and “tends to exclude the concept of punitive

damages.” Lockerbie, slip op. at 2967.

Moreover, the drafting history shows that the CITE-

JA’s inability to formulate a single rule for calculating

damages resulted from the difficulty of choosing among

widely varying national laws of descent and distribution

governing who could sue on a decedent’s behalf in wrong-

ful death actions and who could sue only for personal loss.

See id. at 2964-67; see also Calkins, supra, at 327-28 (dis-

cussing excerpts of drafting record). This inability does

not suggest that the drafters ever contemplated the possi-

bility of imposing liability that goes beyond compensation

for loss, however determined. Lockerbie, slip op. at 2967.

Nor does a finding of willful misconduct under Article

25 create a right to recover punitive damages. Articie 25

bars the carrier from relying on those provisions in the

Convention that “exclude or limit” liability. Article 17 is

not among these. It is settled that willful misconduct

negates the due care exclusion from liability contained in

Article 20 and the monetary limitations contained in Arti-

cle 22. See Lockerbie, slip op. at 2971; Grey v. American

Airlines, 227 F.2d 282, 285 (2d Cir. 1955), cert. denied, 350

U.S. 989 (1956). Disagreement about whether other provi-

sions are affected, see H. Drion, supra, at 80 n.5 (citing

authorities), does not obscure the fact that certain key

articles in the Convention continue to apply in cases of

willful misconduct, and no authority suggests that the

basic liability terms of Article 17 (or any of the other

“conditions” preserved by Article 24) were to be displaced.

See Lockerbie, slip op. at 2971-72. Given the drafting con-

text discussed above, we agree with the Second Circuit

that the drafters would not have considered Article 17 a

“tl

limitation” on liability. See id. at 2972. In sum, Article

A-27

25 is “most reasonably interpreted as [an] exception| | to

the limitations on the recovery of compensatory damages

within the Convention, not as authority for the recovery

of punitive damages.” Gander, 684 F. Supp. at 932 (em-

phasis in original); accord Floyd I, 872 F.2d at 1484.

The Hague Protocol of 1955 and the Montreal Protocol

No. 4 of 1975 provide further confirmation. These Proto-

cols, among other things, clarified Article 25 to make it

explicit that the limits on liability lifted in the event of

willful misconduct are only the monetary limits contained

in Article 22. See Floyd I, 872 F.2d at 1483-84 & n.35. The

United States has not ratified the Hague or Montreal Pro-

tocols and they are not binding on us, but we may look

to them for clarification of the Convention’s terms. /d. at

1484 n.35; see Saks, 470 U.S. at 403-04 (“subsequent inter-

pretations of the signatories help[ | clarify the meaning”

of terms (referring to history of unratified Protocols)); see

also Floyd II, 59 U.S.L.W. at 4312. As the dissent points

out, the Hague Protocol did more than clarify Article 25;

it also “narrow[ed] the waiver of limitations in cases of

willful misconduct.” Dissenting Op. 7. It did so by adopt-

ing a new treaty definition of willful misconduct that sup-

planted Article 25’s reference to forum law. See Lowenfeld

& Mendelsohn, supra, 80 Harv. L. Rev. at 503-06. But

that substantive amendment does not belie the view that

the Protocol’s specific reference to the monetary limits of

Article 22 was understood only to be a clarification. See

Floyd I, 872 F.2d at 1483.

The policies underlying the Convention support our

conclusions. The Convention represented a_ bargain

between air carriers on the one hand and passengers and

shippers on the other. Carriers obviously gained from the

limitations on liability agreed to by the contracting states,

but passengers and shippers also benefited, primarily from

the Convention’s clear presumption of liability, which

eliminated the difficult task of proving fault on the part

of the carrier. Furthermore, under the law of contract as

it existed prior to the Convention, the carrier could essen-

A-28

tially avoid liability for harm resulting from the often haz-

ardous business of air transportation:

{I]n reality, this Convention creates against the air

carrier an exceptional system, because in the major-

ity of the countries of the world, contracts of carriage

are concluded under a system of free contract. The

carrier is free to insert in the contract clauses which

exclude or reduce his liability, as much for goods as

for travelers. You are of course aware that they have

lost no opportunity to do so, and presently many air

carriers operate under this unregulated contractual

system, and, in practice, in fact, they are not liable.

Warsaw Minutes at 47 (statement of Georges Ripert of

France).

The essential bargain struck by the contracting parties

in Warsaw was presented to the United States Senate as

a principal reason for ratifying the Convention:

It is believed that the principle of limitation of lia-

bility will not only be beneficial to passengers and

shippers as affording a more definite basis of recovery

and as tending to lessen litigation, but that it will

prove to be an aid in the development of international

air transportation, as such limitation will afford the

carrier a more definite and equitable basis on which

to obtain insurance rates, with the probable result

that there would eventually be a reduction of operat-

ing expenses for the carrier and advantages to travel-

ers and shippers in the way of reduced transportation

charges.

Senate Comm. on Foreign Relations, Message from the

President of the United States Transmitting a Convention

for the Unification of Certain Rules Relating to Interna-

tional Transportation by Air, Sen. Exec. Doc. G, 73d

Cong., 2d Sess. 3-4 (1934) (Report of Secretary of State

Cordell Hull). The award of punitive damages would be

contrary to this essential bargain because it would

increase the amount of litigation, the cost of insurance,

and ultimately the price of air transportation. See

A-29

Lockerbie, slip op. at 2975-77; Floyd I, 872 F.2d at 1487-

88.

Our dissenting colleague suggests that our reading of

the Convention will leave undeterred the diabolical carrier

who might deliberately sabotage its own aircraft in the

hope of reaping a fraudulent insurance recovery. This sce-

nario ignores, of course, the important deterrence pro-

vided by the criminal law. Moreover, because of the

“accident” requirement in Article 17, it is by no means

certain that the protections of the Convention would be

available to a carrier that destroyed its own aircraft. Cf.

Floyd II, 59 U.S.L.W. at 4309 (“an air carrier is liable for

passenger injury [under the Convention] only when ...

there has been an accident”); Saks, 470 U.S. at 406-07

(same). As the dissent’s scenario is not before us, we

express no opinion on any speculative questions it might

or might not raise.

What we can and do say, however, is that whatever evil

one might be willing to impute to the corporate mind, the

possibility of so wanton an act does not license us to dis-

regard the policy choices made by the Convention’s con-

tracting parties. See Floyd I], 59 U.S.L.W. at 4312

(“Whatever may be the current view among Convention

signatories, in 1929 the parties were more concerned with

protecting air carriers and fostering a new industry than

providing full recovery to injured passengers, and we read

[the terms of Article 17] in a way that respects that legis-

lative choice.”). Article 17 of the Warsaw Convention

“sets the parameters” of plaintiffs’ right of recovery at

compensatory damages only. Gander, 684 F. Supp. at 932.

These parameters are not expanded by Articles 24 or 25.

Accordingly, we vacate the jury’s award of punitive dam-

ages.

KAL argues that the district court committed a second

error by failing to undertake a choice-of-law analysis prior

to instructing the jury on punitive damages. As we con-

clude that such damages are not recoverable even if plain-

tiffs are correct about choice of law, this issue is not

A-30

relevant to our disposition of the case. We therefore

express no view On this aspect of the dissenting opinion.

II]. CONCLUSION

The district court properly left the willful misconduct

decision to the jury and did not abuse its discretion in

admitting plaintiffs’ evidence. The district court erred,

however, in allowing plaintiffs to pursue their punitive

damage claims, and therefore we vacate the jury’s punitive

damage award in this case.

So ordered.

A-31

Mikva, Chief Judge, dissenting from Part II(C): I do not

share my colleagues’ conclusion that the Warsaw Conven-

tion bars recovery of punitive damages. Instead, I would

remand with instructions that the district court engage in

a proper choice of law analysis.

A. Warsaw Convention

The Warsaw Convention, officially denominated the

Convention for the Unification of Certain Rules Relating

to International Transportation by Air, Oct. 12, 1929, was

adhered to by the United States in 1934. See 49 Stat.

3000, T.S. No. 876 (1934), reprinted in 49 U.S.C. App.

§ 1502, note The Convention was negotiated with hopes

of facilitating the growth of the infant airline industry,

and the drafters sought to create a scheme that would

presume carrier liability for air disasters but cap mone-

tary liability at a very low level. Article 17 provides that

“|t}he carrier shall be liable for damage sustained in the

event of the death or wounding of a passenger ....” As

the majority explains, this liability appears to cover only

compensatory damages. Article 22 originally capped mon-

etary damages at approximately $8,300 per passenger.

That figure was raised to $75,000 by the 1966 Montreal

Agreement for flights to and from the United States (un-

dermining the goal of uniformity for the sake of prevent-

ing denunciation by the United States government).

Two other provisions of the Convention are of particu-

lar relevance in the instant appeal. Article 24 leaves pro-

cedural questions to local law provided that “any action

for damages, however founded, can only be brought sub-

ject to the conditions and limits set out in _ this

convention.” This language contemplates the availability

of causes of action that are separate from Article 17,

though governed by the limitations of the Convention.

Finally, Article 25 provides that “(t]he carrier shall not

be entitled to avail himself of the provisions of this con-

vention which exclude or limit his liability, if the damage

is caused by his willful misconduct ....” The dispute

before us requires that we carefully sort out the interplay

of these various sections.

A-32

The majority holds that the Warsaw Convention was

intended to provide compensatory relief only, and that

therefore punitive damages are not availabie even in

causes of action not based on Article 17. Nowhere are

punitive damages explicitly prohibited. In this country,

“legislative silence with respect to punitive damages

do[es] not preclude such a recovery.” Racich v. Celotex

Corp., 887 F.2d 393, 396 (2d Cir. 1989); see Silkwood v.

Kerr-McGee Corp., 464 U.S. 238, 255 (1984). Even so, I am

persuaded by the majority's conclusion that Article 17

cannot be read to authorize the recovery of punitive dam-

ages for claims based on the Convention. If any of the

plaintiffs in these cases premised their complaints solely

on a Warsaw Convention cause of action, | would concur

in holding that they were not entitled to recover punitive

damages. But few if any of the complaints were so limited

in pleading only the Convention as a cause of action.

The plaintiffs in these cases brought their damages

claims against KAL under a potpourri of legal theories

including the Warsaw Convention. In denying KAL’s

motion to strike plaintiffs’ jury demand, the district court

untangled the sources underlying each of the plaintiff's

complaints and found that most alleged a combination of

state and federal claims (both common law and statutory)

along with claims based on the Convention. See In re

Korean Air Lines Disaster of September 1, 1983, 704 F.

Supp. 1135, 1151-55 (D.D.C. 1988). Almost all of the com-

plaints alleged something other than merely the Conven-

tion as a basis for recovery and several failed to plead the

applicability of the Convention at all. See id. at 1151 n.40,

1154-55. The district court correctly emphasized that,

whatever the cause of action, the claims were all subject

to the limitations contained in the Convention.

The majority decides that complaints sounding in other

causes of action such as federal maritime law are also not

entitled to punitive damage awards. | find this step in the

court’s logic somewhat difficult to fathom. There appear

to be two basic rationales underlying such a conclusion:

(1) the Convention provides the exclusive cause of action

A-33

(thereby entirely preempting other possible causes of

action that might separately allow punitive damages), or

(2) Article 17 creates an implicit limitation on liability

governing recoveries premised on separate causes of

action (a.k.a. partial preemption). The majority appears

to employ the latter rationale, but then dismisses the

force of Article 25 in part on the strength of decisions

premised on the exclusivity rationale. I think neither one

is persuasive and therefore respectfully dissent.

1. Exclusivity

The majority correctly eschews reliance on the first

approach, choosing “not [to] take sides in the exclusivity

debate.” Maj. Op. at 25 The Convention is not the exclu-

sive remedy for passengers injured on_ international

flights; in fact, Article 24’s reference to “any action for

damages, however founded” clearly contemplates actions

arising under separate sources of law but places some lim-

its on recovery. Courts and commentators have rejected

suggestions that the Convention provides the exclusive

cause of action for international air disasters. See, e.g., Jn

re Air Crash in Bali, Indonesia, 684 F.2d 1301, 1311 n.8

(9th Cir. 1982) (“[T]he Convention has never been read

to limit plaintiffs to a cause of action arising thereunder,

but rather to limit the recovery in suits for injury.”); Tokio

Marine & Fire Insur. Co. v. McDonnell Douglas Corp., 617

F.2d 936, 942 (2d Cir. 1980) (“[T]he Convention drafts-

men ... did not intend that cause of action to be

exclusive.”); Calkins, The Cause of Action under the War-

saw Convention, 26 J. Air L. & Com. 323, 327-28 (1959).

The Second Circuit just recently decided that the War-

saw Convention prohibits the recovery of punitive dam-

ages. See In re Air Disaster at Lockerbie, Scotland on Dec.

21, 1988, slip op. No. 269 (2d Cir. Mar. 22, 1991). The

court took exclusivity as its working premise, see id. at

2940-44, 2963, somewhat astonishing in light of the Sec-

ond Circuit’s own precedents. For a long time, that court

had held that no cause of action is established by the Con-

vention. See Benjamins v. British European Airways, 572

A-34

F.2d 913, 919 (2d Cir. 1978) (finally overruling proposition

that had been accepted for twenty years), cert. denied, 439

U.S. 1114 (1979). In subsequent decisions, the court ruled

that this cause of action was not exclusive. See Tokio

Marine, 617 F.2d at 942. Now, by dismissing the state-

ment in Tokio Marine as mere dicta, the Second Circuit

has gone full circle from believing that the Convention

provides no cause of action to deciding that it provides

the sole cause of action for plaintiffs.

Apart from its apparent failure to abide by circuit pre-

cedent, the Lockerbie court’s support for the exclusivity

holding is hardly overwhelming. For instance, the court

emphasized (at 2942) that other countries have held that

the Convention is the exclusive cause of action. These

were not interpretations of the Convention, however: the

common law countries cited in the opinion all had to enact

national legislation making Article 17 the exclusive cause

of action. The United States has, of course, never done

so. Moreover, its description of decisions from other cir-

cuits is also somewhat perplexing. For instance, in one

case the Ninth Circuit observed that “the delegates did

not intend that the cause of action created by the Conven-

tion to be exclusive.” Jn re Mexico City Aircrash of Oct.

31, 1979, 708 F.2d 400, 414 n.25 (9th Cir. 1983). Yet the

Lockerbie court asserts that the decision “rebutted the

idea that a cause of action may be founded on some law

other than the Convention.” Slip op. at 2941-42.

In fact, the Ninth Circuit has concluded on more than

one occasion that the cause of action is not exclusive. See,

e.g., In re Air Crash in Bali, Indonesia, 684 F.2d at 1311

n.8. All told, the decisions from other circuits appear to

be evenly divided on the issue, notwithstanding the court’s

claim in Lockerbie (at 2963) that the weight of authority

is fairly one-sided. See Floyd v. Eastern Airlines, Inc., 872

F.2d 1462, 1482 n.33 (11th Cir. 1989) (collecting cases),

reu'd on other grounds, 59 U.S.L.W. 4307 (April 17, 1991).

See also Alvarez v. Aerovias Nacionales de Colombia S.A.,

59 U.S.L.W. 2481 (S.D. Fla. Jan. 25, 1991) (distinguishing

exclusive remedy of the Convention from the suggestion

A-35

that it also provides the exclusive cause of action). The

Supreme Court has twice now declined to address the

exclusivity question. See Eastern Airlines, Inc. v. Floyd, 59

U.S.L.W. at 4314; Air France v. Saks, 470 U.S. 392, 408

(1985). The fundamental error of the Lockerbie court’s

decision is the premise that the cause of action provided

by the Warsaw Convention is exclusive, and my colleagues

are wise not to enter this fray unnecessarily.

2. Implicit Limitation in Article 17

If the court does not premise its holding on an exclusiv-

ity rationale, it must mean that Article 17 acts as a

limitation on the liability that an air carrier would face

when sued under separate causes of action. But then Arti-

cle 25 would come into play and waive any such limitation

in cases of willful misconduct: “The carrier shall not be

entitled to avail himself of the provisions of this conven-

tion which exclude or limit his liability, if the damage is

caused by his wilful misconduct ....” Art. 25(1). The

majority relies heavily on Lockerbie for the proposition

that Article 25 does not trump Article 17, but there the

court had taken exclusivity as its starting point. It is one

thing to say that the Convention prohibits punitive dam-

ages because it is the sole available cause of action and

does not provide for them; it is quite another to conclude

that Article 17 acts as a limitation on damages restricting

recovery under other causes of action that allow punitive

damages.

The Eleventh Circuit has also decided not to take sides

in the debate over exclusivity. In resolving the punitive

damages question in Floyd, the court first decided that the

Convention is not itself a basis for seeking punitive dam-

ages. The court concluded that Article 17 was entirely

compensatory in tone and rejected plaintiffs’ argument

that Article 25’s reference to willful misconduct implied

an exception. See 872 F.2d at 1483-85. Next the court

rejected the plaintiffs’ effort to seek punitive damages

under state common law, holding that state law was pre-

empted to the extent that it was inconsistent with the

compensatory scheme of Article 17. See id. at 1485-87.

A-36

Preemption analysis will not work in this case, however,

because we are confronted with two legal schemes that

stand in rough equipoise under the Supremacy Clause: the

Warsaw Convention and federal maritime law. See Jn re

Air Crash Disaster Near New Orleans, 821 F.2d 1147, 1161

n.19 (5th Cir. 1987) (“As a ratified treaty of the United

States the Warsaw Convention is equal in stature and

force as any other domestic federal law.”); Committee of

U.S. Citizens in Nicaragua v. Reagan, 859 F.2d 929, 936-

37 (D.C. Cir. 1988). The Convention cannot, therefore,

preempt federal law to the extent of any inconsistency

with its compensatory tone; Article 17 can only prevent

recovery of punitive damages otherwise available under

federal maritime law if it is construed as a limit or condi-

tion governing damages under Article 24, but then it

becomes subject to waiver in cases where Article 25

applies.

The court in Floyd also relied on subsequent proposals

which would have amended Article 25 so that it would

only trump the monetary cap in Article 22. See 872 F.2d

at 1483-84 (discussing the Hague and Montreal Proto-

cols). But the original language of Article 25 does not sug-

gest that only Article 22 was covered, and the United

States never ratified these amendments. See id. at 1468-

69. Moreover, the United States responded to the pro-

posed changes by threatening to denounce the entire Con-

vention unless the monetary limits were raised

substantially. See Lowenfeld & Mendelsohn, The United

States and the Warsaw Convention, 80 Harv. L. Rev. 497,

509-16, 532-46 (1967). In Floyd, the Eleventh Circuit can-

didly admitted that this country never ratified the Proto-

cols, but found “their clarification of the operation of

Article 25 to be instructive.” 872 F.2d at 1484 n.35. This

reasoning is difficult to square with the Supreme Court’s

recent instruction that “where the text is clear ... we have

no power to insert an amendment.” Chan v. Korean Air

Lines, Ltd., 490 U.S. 122, 134 (1989) (“We must thus be

governed by the text—solemnly adopted by the govern-

ments of many separate nations—whatever conclusions

might be drawn from the intricate drafting history ... .”).

A-37

Indeed, in reversing the decision that compensatory

damages for purely mental injuries were available under

Article 17, the Supreme Court criticized the lower court’s

interpretation of subsequent drafting history surrounding

the Protocols. See Eastern Airlines, Inc. v. Floyd, 59

U.S.L.W. at 4312-13. To the extent that the 1955 negoti-

ating history cited by the Eleventh Circuit in Floyd

reflects the Hague drafters’ understandings about what

their predecessors may have had in mind a generation

earlier, it is entitled to only marginal weight. See

McKelvey v. Turnage, 792 F.2d 194, 200 (D.C. Cir. 1986)

(“As the Supreme Court and this court have repeatedly

remarked, the views of later Congresses as to the meaning

of enactments by their predecessors are of little, if any,

significance.”), aff'd, 485 U.S. 535 (1988).

At best, the subsequent proposals and accompanying

drafting history demonstrate only that the original text

was ambiguous. At worst, the proposals imply that the

negotiators wanted to adjust the bargain that had been

struck originally. Indeed, the amended version of Article

25 proposed in the unratified Hague Protocol would not

have simply clarified an existing understanding of Article

25 but represented a revised quid pro quo: in exchange for

a higher ceiling on damages, carriers sought to narrow the

waiver of limitations in cases of willful misconduct. See

Lowenfeld & Mendelsohn, at 503-06. See also Comment,

Role of Choice of Law in Determining Damages for Interna-

tional Aviation Accidents, 51 J. Ain L. & Com. 953, 989

(1986) (discussing Guatemala Protocol which would have

eliminated Article 25 altogether in exchange for a higher

monetary cap of $100,000). Thus, the history as well as

the language of Article 25 supports the conclusion that

punitive damages are not prohibited by the Warsaw Con-

vention in cases of willful misconduct even if a cause of

action based solely on the Convention would not authorize

such damages.

The majority concludes that allowing punitive damage

windfalls would contravene the Convention’s primary pur-

pose and understanding of the contracting parties that the

A-38

treaty was intended to limit the liability of air carriers.

The scheme of the Convention closely resembles work-

men’s compensation statutes which allow workers to

recover prescribed compensatory damages for accidental

job-related injuries. These laws reflect a quid pro quo

between employees, who are relieved of the burden of

proof, and employers, who benefit from the cap on dam-

ages. See 2A A. Laksken, WoRKMEN’s COMPENSATION LAW

§ 65.11 (1990), at 12-9. Similarly, the Warsaw Convention

balances strict carrier liability for injuries sustained by

passengers (Articles 17 and 20) against a cap on monetary

damages (Article 22). See Block v. Compagnie Nationale

Alr France, 386 F.2d 323, 327 (5th Cir. 1967), cert. denied,

392 U.S. 905 (1968).

~ However, workmen’s compensation laws do not limit

the availability of separate damage actions in cases of

intentional misconduct by the employer. See, e.g., Pratt v.

National Distillers & Chem. Corp., 853 F.2d 1329, 1336-39

(6th Cir. 1988) (punitive damages are available for inten-

tional injuries), cert. denied, 489 U.S. 1012 (1989); Larsen

§§ 68.00-.14. Similarly, the narrow exception in Article 25

of the Convention does not undermine the basic purpose

of limiting carrier liability; it simply recognizes that in

cases of serious misconduct carriers should not enjoy the

benefits of these limitations. Imagine that a carrier

decided to deliberately sabotage one of its own flights in

hopes of receiving a large insurance settlement on the air-

craft. If such egregious conduct went undetected, a finan-

cially strapped airline could invest a paltry amount in

anticipated payments to decedents’ estates (on a typical

flight of the Concorde, for instance, that might create

maximum liabilities of $500,000 to the passengers) in

exchange for a multi-million dollar insurance pay-off.

Even if such unthinkable conduct came to light, the maxi-

mum compensatory judgment to the plaintiffs might still

be less than the potential insurance recovery discounted

by the risk that the fraud might be discovered. The major-

ity’s decision would completely foreclose the availability

of punitive damages even in such an egregious case. While

A-39

the facts of the present case are not as stark as those

hypothesized, the point remains the same: if plaintiffs can

demonstrate willful misconduct, the limitations of the

Convention (and the goals that those limitations serve)

should have no application.

B. Choice of Law

KAL’s pre-trial motion to dismiss plaintiffs’ punitive

damage claims was premised exclusively on its argument

that the Warsaw Convention precluded such an award.

Near the end of the trial, the district court denied KAL’s

motion from the bench. Apparently for the first time in

the proceedings, KAL’s counsel then requested a choice

of law analysis, but in a very vague and non-committal

way.

_

The Court: What law should I pick?

Mr. Barry: I don’t know.

The Court: Where is this case being tried on the

issue of liability?

Mr. Barry: Here in the District of Columbia.

The Court: With respect to damages, this aspect of

damages which would ordinarily tail along will be a

part of an action on liability and damages, except for

the construct of the treaty; | mean, what law would

apply?

Mr. Barry: Well, Your Honor, I think you have to

do a choice of law analysis, just as Judge Green did

in the Air Florida litigation here on this very same

issue, and she held that laws of differing jurisdictions

were going to apply to different issues.... 1 don’t

know the answer to the question .... | raise only a

probiem. I wasn’t anticipating this, to tell you the

truth.

The decision alluded to by KAL counsel was /n re Air

Crash Disaster at Washington, D.C. on January 13, 1982,

559 F. Supp. 333 (D.D.C. 1983) (hereinafter “Jn re Air

Florida Crash”). The district court’s questions reflect a

couple of assumptions: that forum law would automati-

A-40

cally govern liability issues and that damages would pre-

sumptively be governed by the same jurisdiction’s laws.

Both premises are questionable: choice of law principles

followed by the District of Columbia courts seek to apply

the substantive law of the jurisdiction with the closest

connection .. and greatest interest in a claim, see Hercules

& Co. v. Shama Restaurant Corp., 566 A.2d 31, 40-41 (D.C.

App. 1989), and separate choice of law analysis of differ-

ent substantive issues (called “depecage”) is now routine.

See id.; In re Air Florida Crash, 559 F. Supp. at 341.

The threshold question is whether the choice of law

basis for KAL’s motion to dismiss the punitive damages

claims was raised too late. Unlike jurisdictional issues,

courts need not address choice of law questions sua

sponte. It is not clear whether the District of Columbia

would follow a default rule that presumes local law con-

trols unless choice of law objections are raised in a timely

manner, but that seems to be the norm. See Cavic uv.

Grand Bahama Devel. Co., 701 F.2d 879, 882-83 (11th Cir.

1983); Kramer, /nterest Analysis and the Presumption of

Forum Law, 56 U. Cui. L. Rev. 1301 (1989). Although

“It}he choice of law question regarding punitive damages

should be resolved as suon as possible,” Jn re Air Crash

Disaster at Sioux City, lowa, on July 19, 1989, 734 F.

Supp. 1425, 1429 (N.D.IIL 1990) (hereinafter “Jn re lowa

Crash”), Rule 12(h)(2), Feo. R. Civ. P., provides that “[a]

defense for failure to state a claim: upon which relief can

be granted ... may be made ... [as late as] the trial on

the merits.” If the short verbal exchange cited above was

enough to place the issue before the judge, then the dis-

trict court should have engaged in a choice of law analysis

or at least asked for supplemental briefing at that point.

See Smith v. Atlas Off-Shore Boat Service, Inc., 653 F.2d

1057, 1059-60 n.1 (5th Cir. 1981) (failure to state a claim

could be pressed on appeal where defendant had

“sufficiently alerted” the court of the defense during trial).

KAL preserved the argument, though just barely. Cf. In

re Air Florida Crash, 559 F. Supp. at 336-37 (rejecting

contention that Air Florida “waived” its right to present

A-41

a choice of law argument for the first time on reconsidera-

tion of the district court’s ruling, noting that its “interest

in the question arose only when this Court ruled that

divergent punitive damages laws would govern these par-

ties’ liability”).

The next question is whether KAL properly pled that

Korean law was applicable. Rule 44.1, Fep. R. Civ. P.,

does not require that a choice of law argument based on

foreign law appear in the pleadings. Instead, as the Advi-

sory Committee explained, “[t]he new rule does not

attempt to set any definite limit on the party’s time for

giving the notice of an issue of foreign law; in some cases

the issue may not become apparent until the trial and

notice then given may still be reasonable.” In a related

vein, appellees contend that KAL failed to satisfy the

proof requirements in Rule 44.1, but the explanation in

the Advisory Committee notes suggests otherwise. See

also Pollack, Proof of Foreign Law, 26 Am. J. Comp. L. 470

(1978). Along with its memoranda of law in support of its

JNOV motion, KAL filed a translation and explanatory

letter concerning the relevant provisions of the Korean

civil code, and added that “KAL preserved its argument

that Korean law applied to the issue of punitive damages

by including in each Answer filed in this litigation a ‘No-

tice of Applicability of Foreign Law’ pursuant to Fed. R.

Civ.P. 44.1.” The district court never explicitly rejected

KAL’s choice of law argument on grounds of being unrea-

sonably late, and I believe it should have been addressed.

The district court entirely failed to engage in the

required choice of law analysis. KAL contends that the

district court improperly applied D.C. law on the punitive

damages question because a proper choice of law analysis

would have required reference to Korean civil law. KAL

argues that, in multi-district airplane crash litigation,

involving plaintiffs from- numerous other jurisdictions

(both foreign and domestic), the trial court could not just

unthinkingly apply forum law to the punitive damages

question. Indeed, several other courts have engaged in

sometimes agonizing choice of law analyses in similar

A-42

cases. See In re Air Crash Disaster Near Chicago, Illinois

on May 25, 1979, 644 F.2d 594 (7th Cir.);cert. denied, 454

U.S. 878 (1981) (hereinafter “Jn re Chicago Crash”); In re

Iowa Crash, 734 F. Supp. 1425; In re Air Florida Crash,

559 F. Supp. 333. See generally Lowenfeld, Mass Torts and

the Conflict of Laws: The Airline Disaster, 1989 U. Ii. L.

Rev. 157.

For state law claims brought in federal court under

diversity jurisdiction, the district court must apply the

choice of law principles of the state in which it sits. See

Klaxon Co. v. Stentor Elec. Mfg. Co., 313 U.S. 487, 496

(1941). When a case is transferred pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1407(a) by the Panel on Multi-District Litigation, the

transferee court must apply the choice of law rules of the

states where the transferor courts sit. See In re Chicago,

644 F.2d at 610 (citing Van Dusen v. Barrack, 376 U.S.

612 (1964)). No such analysis was undertaken in this case.

Cf. Day & Zimmermann, Inc. v. Challoner, 423 U.S. 3, 4

(1975) (per cur:am) (reversing federal court’s decision to

ignore forum =.a.e’s choice of law rule that would have

required application of Cambodian law to wrongful death

action). The district court appears to assume that forum

law automatically controls and that dépecage is inappro-

priate, but even application of District of Columbia choice

of law principles would dictate otherwise, see Hercules &

Co., 566 A.2d at 40-41, and we have no idea what would

happen if the district court applied the choice of law prin-

ciples of each transferor court. The district court erred in

failing to undertake a choice of law analysis in this case,

a task best left in the first instance to the district court

on remand. Even so, it is necessary to explain at some

length below why I am unpersuaded by appellees’ argu-

ments.

Appellees suggest that their punitive damage claims

were not derived from state law but arose from general

federal maritime law. In similar circumstances, the Third

Circuit held that

the maritime character of the tort brings the contro-

versy under the governance of federal law and it is

A-43

immaterial whether admiralty or diversity jurisdic-

tion is relied upon as justification for suing in the

federal forum. Obviously, a court thus undertaking to

apply federal substantive law would have no occasion

to defer to or apply state choice of law rules.

Scott v. Eastern Air Lines, Inc., 399 F.2d 14, 17 (3d Cir.

1967) (plane crash in Boston Harbor), cert. denied, 393

U.S. 979 (1968). The district court never explained its

refusal to engage in a Klaxon choice of law analysis in

these terms, though its treatment of KAL’s motion to

strike plaintiffs’ jury demand suggests this reasoning. See

In re KAL Disaster, 704 F. Supp. at 1151-57. There the

district court held that all of the plaintiffs had properly

pleaded (or could amend their complaints to so plead) fed-

eral maritime claims and the Warsaw Convention as

causes of action, see id. at 1154, 1155-56 (but recognizing

that some plaintiffs had only pled state law claims

brought pursuant to diversity jurisdiction).

Even if that was the district court’s undisclosed reason

for not engaging in a Klaxon analysis for each transferor

court, it would not relieve the court of the need to engage

in some choice of law analysis under federal law. See

Lauritzen v. Larsen, 345 U.S. 571, 575-77 (1953) (finding

a conflict between application of Danish and U.S. mari-

time law). In other words, if application of federal mari-

time law would authorize punitive damages but Korean

law would not, a conflict may exist that needs to be

resolved. This is precisely what happened in Harris v. Pol-

skie Linie Lotnicze, 820 F.2d 1000 (9th Cir. 1987), a case

where the court had to decide as a matter of federal

choice of law principles whether Polish law or California

law provided the measure of recovery in a wrongful death

claim arising from a crash in Poland and governed by the

Federal Sovereign Immunities Act.

In undertaking the federal choice of law analysis, the

court in Harris looked to the ResTaTEMENT (SECOND) OF

ConF.Lict oF Laws (1969) as “an appropriate starting

point.” See id. at 1003-04. The RESTATEMENT is, however,

a dubious choice of law methodology for a federal court

a

A-44

to pick. Choice of law is a very messy field, with different

approaches endorsed by competing camps. See In re Paris

Air Crash of March 3, 1974, 399 F. Supp. 732, 739 (C.D.

Cal. 1975) (describing it as “a veritable jungle”). In the

past, the lex loci delicti rule was widely used in tort cases,

directing courts to use the substantive law of the jurisdic-

tion where the injury occurred, and vestiges of this much

criticized approach remain in the Rk&stATEMENT. See

RESTATEMENT (SECOND) OF CONFLICT OF LAWS (hereinafter

“Rest.”) §§ 145-146, 175 (presumption of applying the

local law where the injury occurred unless another jurisdic-

tion has a more significant relationship to the incident or

the parties involved). In Harris, the court decided to apply

Polish law of damages, largely because that was the site

of the accident and no other jurisdiction had a demonstra-

bly greater interest in the case. See 820 F.2d at 1004 &

n.5. In fact, the lex luct starting point used by the

RESTATEMENT might be difficult to apply in this case: it is

not clear whether KE007 was shot down in Soviet air-

space, over Japanese territory or in international waters.

Cf. In re Air Florida Crash, 559 F. Supp. at 348 n.21 (de-

scribing earlier case involving a DC-4 mid-air collision

where half of the wreckage fell into the Potomac River

(deemed part of the District of Columbia) and the ether

half fell on the Virginia shore); Jn re Air Crash Disaster

Near Bombay, India, 531 F. Supp. 1175, 1182 (W.D. Wash.

1982) (parties disputed whether aircraft crashed in inter-

national waters or within India’s territorial waters).

indeed, largely because of such uncertainties, the Supreme

Court has declined to place much emphasis on the lex loci

rule in maritime torts. See Romero v. International Termi

nal Oper. Co., 358 U.S. 354, 384 (1959); Lauritzen, 345

U.S. at 583-84.

The ResTaTEMENT also endorses an amalgam of the

“most significant relationship” (or “center of gravity”) test

and governmental interest methodologies, see Rest. § 6,

reflecting an uneasy compromise struck among the

drafters. See von Mehren, Recent Trends in Choice-of-Law

Methodology, 60 CORNELL L. REV, 927, 963-64 (1975). The

A-45

governmental interest approach seeks to identify which

jurisdictions may have an actual interest in having their

substantive law apply to a particular controversy, but the

resolution of true conflicts is achieved through different

means depending on the variant. See generally G. Smith,

Choice of Law in the United States, 38 HASTINGs L.J. 1041,

1043-50 (1987). Whatever the relative merits of the vari-

ous approaches, the court in Harris went straight to the

RESTATEMENT as a good source for general choice of law

rules to be used as federal common law in the area.

In counting up the contacts, KAL emphasizes that

South Korea is its place of incorporation, its principal

place of business, and the place wher its crews are

trained. Appellees respond that many of the passengers

came from, the flight originated in, and all of the tickets

were purchased in the United States. They cite a decision

that sugsests using a “center of gravity” approach like the

RESTATEMENT in maritime cases. See Hellenic Lines Ltd.

v. Rhoditis, 398 U.S. 306 (1970). In that case, the Supreme

Court applied the Jones Act to a claim by a Greek seaman

injured on a Greek ship while it was in American territo-

rial waters, emphasizing that the Greek company that

owned the ship had its largest offices in the U.S., was

owned by a Greek citizen domiciled in the U.S., and trans-

ported cargo to and from the United States. See id. at 307-

10. But Hellenic Lines does not necessarily support appel-

lees’ analysis of the relevant contacts in this case because

the site of the accident and KAL’s principal place of busi-

ness were not in the United States. See Romero, 358 U.S.

at 383-84 (applying Spanish law to maritime tort claim

brought by a Spanish sailor injured on board a Spanish

ship while in American waters); Lauritzen, 345 U.S. at 592

(applying Danish law to maritime tort that occurred in

Cuban waters because all parties and the ship were Dan-

ish, even though the injured sailor embarked on the ship

in New York).

Lauritzen employed something akin to the general,

multi-factor approach described in section 6 of the

. A-46

RESTATEMENT, though without the initial presumption for

applying the lex loci rule:

Maritime law, like our municipal law, has attempted

to avoid or resolve conflicts between competing laws

by ascertaining and valuing points of contact between

the transaction and the states or governments whose

competing laws are involved. The criteria, in general,

appear to be arrived at from weighing of the signifi-

cance of one or more connecting factors between the

shipping transaction regulated and the national inter-

est served by the assertion of authority.

Id. at 582 (the relevant contacts included the place of the

wrongful act, the law of the flag, the allegiance or domicile

of the injured, the allegiance of the shipowner, the place

of the contract, the inaccessibility of a foreign forum, and

the law of the forum); accord Romero, 358 U.S. at 383. In

fact, Lauritzen gave the “law of the flag” the same pre-

sumptive weight that the ResTaTEMENT gives to the place

of injury. See 345 U.S. at 585-86 (because the ship was

registered in Denmark, Danish law “must prevail unless

sume heavy counterweight appears”).

At least two federal courts have used the contacts dis-

cussed in Lauritzen to resolve choice of law problems in

air disasters on the high seas. In Noel v. Airponents, Inc.,

169 F. Supp. 348 (D.N.J. 1958), a case where a Venezuelan

airliner crashed in the Atlantic Ocean, the district court

held that federal maritime law would guvern to impose

liability on the U.S. corporation that had serviced the air-

craft before departure. The court emphasized that “[t]he

parties to the present litigation are American nationals,

and neither the foreign carrier nor the Republic of Vene-

zuela appear to have any interest in the outcome.” /d. at

350-51. In Air Crash Near Bombay, 531 F. Supp. 1175, a

case where an Air India Boeing 747 crashed into the Ara-

bian Sea shortly after takeoff, the district court held that

Indian law would govern product liability claims against

the American manufacturers of allegedly defective aircraft

components. The court focused on “the essentially Indian

character of this aircraft accident in Indian territorial

A-47

waters on a flight originating in India involving an Indian

air Carrier and predominantly Indian victims.” /d. at 1191.

This case presents a much sharper conflict, however,

because the contacts appear to be more evenly divided

and do not point overwhelmingly to one jurisdiction or the

other.

As KAL correctly points out, the question of punitive

damages is of primary interest to jurisdictions having

some link to the defendant. See Jn re Chicago Crash, 644

F.2d at 612-13 (decedents’ home jurisdictions only have

an interest in recovery of compensatory damages); /n re

Air Florida Crash, 559 F. Supp. at 352-55. Assuming this

is not a Klaxon thicket, the choice is between recovery of

punitive damages under general federal maritime law ver-

sus non-recovery under Korean civil law. See Jn re Air

Florida Crash, 559 F. Supp. at 347 & n.19, 351. The bal-

ancing of competing interests is no easy task, and even

trying to decipher what those interests are is an undertak-

ing fraught with difficulties. Even assuming that Korea

made a conscious decision to protect home businesses

from excessive judgments, an interest it deemed more

important than the added increment of deterrence from

punitive damages, such a trade-off for purposes of inter-

nal Korean law does not mean that other interested juris-

dictions cannct choose to apply punitive damages if they

have a countervailing interest in punishment and deter-

rence that is involved in the controversy. In this case, the

United States has an interest in both punishing egregious

conduct that begins in this country and deterring its

future recurrence. The United States’ interest in deterring

willful misconduct on international flights linked to its

borders might well outweigh Korea’s more parochial inter-

est in protecting home businesses. Cf. Bernhard v. Har-

rah’s Club, 16 Cal. 3d 313, 128 Cal. Rptr. 215, 546 P.2d

719 (applying California dram shop law to accidents

caused by-Nevada taverns even though Nevada had inten-

tionally immunized its taverns from such liability), cert.

denied, 429 U.S. 859 (1976).

A-48

I would therefore remand the punitive damages ques-

tion to the district court with instructions to engage in a

proper choice of law analysis.

A-49

APPENDIX

A-50

A-51

A-52

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

—

No. 89-5415—September Term, 1990

CA 83-0345

Filed: July 5, 1991

—

IN RE: KOREAN AIR LINES DISASTER

OF SEPTEMBER l, 1983

+

Before:

MIKVA, Chief Judge;

BUCKLEY and THOMAS, Circuit Judges.

—

ORDER

Upon consideration of appellant’s petition for rehearing,

filed June 5, 1991, it is

ORDERED, by the Court, that the petition is denied.

Per Curiam

FOR THE COURT:

CONSTANCE L. DUPRE, CLERK

By: ROBERT A. BONNER

Robert A. Bonner

Deputy Clerk

A-53

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

>

No. 89-5415—September Term, 1990

CA 83-0345

Filed: July 5, 1991

aaa

IN RE: KOREAN AIR LINES DISASTER

OF SEPTEMBER 1, 1983

+

Before:

MIKVA, Chief Judge;

WALD, EDWARDS, RUTH B. GINSBURG, SILBERMAN,

BUCKLEY, WILLIAMS, D. H. GINSBURG, SENTELLE,

THOMAS, HENDERSON and RANDOLPH, Circuit Judges.

+

ORDER

Appellant’s Suggestion For Rehearing En Banc has been

circulated to the fuil court. No member of the Court

requested the taking of a vote thereon. Upon consideration

of the foregoing it is

ORDERED, by the Court en banc, that the suggestion is

denied.

Per Curiam

FOR THE COURT:

CONSTANCE L. DUPRE, CLERK

By: ROBERT A. BONNER

Robert A. Bonner

Deputy Clerk

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Dooley v. Korean Air Lines Co. · 502 U.S. 994 | Frix