Petition for Writ of Certiorari — City of Rolling Meadows v. Kuhn

Supreme Court brief1992

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

N Pas | vypprenié Court, U.S.

Mlel 4 a aes

— —_——_ <2 4

In The | YUL 13 1993

OSFIGE OF THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the Unites Sta es

@ctober Cerm, 1990

THEODORE M. KUHN and the SOCIETY OF

SEPARATIONISTS, INC.,

Respondents,

U.

CITY OF ROLLING MEADOWS and

CITY COUNCIL OF ROLLING MEADOWS,

Petitioners.

———

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

DONALD M. Rose*

KATHLEEN Ross

Rose & Ross, Lrp.

4215 Kirchoff Road

Rolling Meadows, IL 60008

708/303-6100

Counsel for Petitioners

*Counsel of Record

American Reprographics Management, Inc.™ (312) 332-2764

ee ————— — “_S

Cy ee ae _—_

ee

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether plaintiffs in First Amendment cases attain

standing by merely alleging it, or whether plaintiffs must, in

response to a motion to dismiss, offer some proof of their

allegations regarding standing?

2. Does the First Amendment prohibit sectarian religious

imagery with an historical basis on any municipal seal?

‘i

THE PARTIES

The names of the parties to the proceeding are contained

in the caption.

Petitioner, the City of Rolling Meadows, is an Illinois

municipal corporation. The City Council is the elected, governing

body of the City, and the Mayor is the elected head of the Council.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

APM PPT WBMES DIG 5.0 ccescecesesessssevecevensvsccesesensveveseeceees i

SS Fe ee ee ii

PE FR GEE OID secre cic sivecoccevesniersnsnsscrssovesevevecsceseovecersess iii

Pe Fe EI os cscscevesenccsseevceneceversesoresevorsicareczeveees iv

ai stemsesadappovegniobauenies 1

EERE Ca eee a 2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED.........cccccccsseeee. 2

PM UMNO, OUT UNIS CAI oc ccseccecccessesccesesecvsssesossesevevosases 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT o.00.....ccccccscceseceeseeeees 11

a oak acitnls ean vicedcnnsbndusi 11

Tl. ESTABLISHMENT CLAUSE ........0.c.cccccccccssseseseseseees 16

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Aguilar v. Felton, 473 U.S. 402 (1985) 00.0... cccceesssssteeeeeseseeeees 19

County of Allegheny v. American Civil Liberties Union,

DODD, Ce, IE II anc cissesereeccerssenesesens 6, 9, 10, 16, 17, 18

Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578 (1987) ........:ccccsssssseeeeeeeeeees 19

Freedom from Religion Foundation, Inc. v. Zielke,

Oe Fe Se rs Re iicccenterceectiniicrrrsescnnrenecevesinnine 13, 14

Lee v. Weisman, 111 S. Ct. 1305 (1991)............cccccccccssccccsrersrrreees 10

Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602, 91 S. Ct. 2105

CERF Ro wsisasnsnthtaniesinpsiscnennionsciniennianienilleniasio’ 6, 9, 10, 11, 18, 19, 20, 21

Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668 (1984) 2.0... eeeeeeeeeeeeeeee 11, 18, 21

Marsh v. Chambers, 463 U.S. 783 (1983) ........ccccccccecseeereeeeees 11,18

Munro v. Socialist Workers Party, 107 S. Ct. 533 (1986) ........... 21

Roemer v. Board of Public Works, 426 U.S. 736 (1976) ............. 19

Schlesinger v. Reservists Committee to Stop the War,

es ee sidan tiicsenntadatscbitnsichiessaieseennesimninoniatintiniiiaiie 9

Sierra Club v. Morton, 405 U.S. 727 (1972) ..........cccccceeeseeereeeees 12

Turner v. Safley, 107 S. Ct. 2254 (1987) .......ccccccccccscsossssssssseesecees 21

Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans United

for Separation of Church and State, Inc.,

Fee T ONT 8, 9,11, 13, 15

Vance v. Bradley, 440 U.S. 93 (1979) ...........scsssessssssseserceeeeseceeeees 21

Wallace vu. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38 (1985) ..............cccccceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees 19

Walz v. Tax Commission, 397 U.S. 664 (1970) ..........ccccceeeeeeeeeees 19

Wooley v. Maynard, 430 U.S. 705 (1977) ...........csssscseseceesseeeeeeeeeees 8

Page

CONSTITUTION

I ricinisssecisnteicnsutniindisiaiiccilics meter ren 2

NI Beictntalhihitisiiantititaiclasetcin ctl nt ok Se ent 2

STATUTES AND RULES

Sr i cntcteninsicisaloisennianenaesecpiicandoieanleicictcncee eee 2

BA SES SN spiitereciastbcsasiipttieiihisttaannssnsiipimtisioisaca Caen 4

Sar Paste NI NT iiiessedasonilndiesceniessealdéasiibieaapeenttansmmaddashacaaliicaas anaes 4

Se Sa MPD casictiscsticiessicaideiemitaisdasantaanechisatedatia nea 4

a SP SO Assssissistcininiencssunibeiebidibapasobicundavedddanate etn Esme 4

Sa eee ID sinsrectiestninirniaisnshichisabsceeecbsemrenciaiioienuusalaanaeniaa aaa 4

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the Hnited States

@ctoher Term, 1990

THEODORE M. KUHN and the SOCIETY OF

SEPARATIONISTS, INC.,

Respondents,

v.

CITY OF ROLLING MEADOWS and

CITY COUNCIL OF ROLLING MEADOWS,

Petitioners.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COUFT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner, THE CITY OF ROLLING MEADOWS, respect-

fully prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment

and opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh

Circuit entered in this case on March 19, 1991.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Seventh Circuit is not yet reported but is reproduced in the

appendix at App. la.

The February 9, 1990, decision of the United States District

Court for the Northern District of Illinois, which was reversed

by the foregoing decision of the Seventh Circuit, is published

2

at 729F. Supp. 1242 (N.D. Ill. 1990) and is included in the appendix

at App. 5la.

The February 22 and March 13, 1990 orders of the District

Court making that decision applicable to the City were not

reported but are included in the appendix at App. 66-7a.

The City filed a Petition for Rehearing, With Suggestion for

Rehearing In Banc, which was denied June 10, 1991. The order

denying rehearing is not yet reported but is reproduced in the

appendix at App. 47a.

The City moved, and was granted, a stay of the mandate

pursuant to Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, 41(b).

JURISDICTION

Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C.,

Sec. 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

This case involves the Establishment Clause of the First

Amendment to the United States Constitution, which provides:

Congress shall make no law respecting an establish-

ment of religion.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. THE CITY’S SEAL

The City Seal of Rolling Meadows, drawn by an eighth grade

student and adopted by the City in 1960, has caused this litigation.

App. 54a.

Adoption of the seal was part of the City’s Fifth Anniversary

celebration. App. 54a. A contest to design the seal was held among

the City’s grammar school children, and a committee selected

the design of Cheryl Knudsen as the winner. Cheryl, in an

affidavit, stated of her motivation for the design, “I drew what

I saw [and} had no purpose other than to complete an assign-

ment.” App. 55a.

3

The Rolling Meadows seal, in color reproduction, follows:

The seal appears on all City-owned vehicles, (except fire

trucks), including police cars, on City vehicle tax stickers

purchased by residents, on the shoulder patch of the uniforms

worn by City police officers, on City stationery, and in the City

Council chambers (App. 54a) and on any other property which

the City wishes to identify.

2. THE PLAINTIFFS

The Society of Separationists is a Maryland corporation

“.. devoted to the complete and absolute separation of state

and church... .”! which “.. frequently represents... .” its

members in actions such as this one, because:

Due to the often unpopular or nonmajoritarian stance

taking [sic] by persons or organizations involved in

civil rights conflicts, the Society will represent its

members, who generally have sufficient standing,

when those members desire anonymity.?

Plaintiff, Kuhn, plead that he is a resident of Rolling

Meadows and a member of the Society.®

3. THE DISTRICT COURT DECISION

The plaintiffs sued the City in District Court, alleging that

the City’s seal is unconstitutional because inclusion of a cross,

even though it was mistaken for a utility pole by the Society’s

agent (App. 60a), taking up 0.8256% of the seal’s surface* and

positioned in front of a “nondescript one-story building”® violates

the First Amendment.

Respondents invoked the jurisdiction of the District Court

under 28 U.S.C. 1983; 1988; 1343(3), (4); 1331; 2201 and 2202.

(Third Amended Complaint, page 1, paragraph 1)

The plaintiffs contended that the seal violates the consti-

tution because, as to Kuhn:

i) the actions of the City “... denigrate his religious

opinions and philosophical ideas... .”;

| Plaintiffs’ Third Amended Complaint, at page 3, paragraph 10.

2 Plaintiffs’ Third Amended Complaint, at page 3, paragraph 11.

3 Plaintiffs’ Third Amended Complaint, at page 1, paragraph 3 and

page 3, paragraph 11.

4 Defendants’ Memorandum in Support of Their Answer to Plaintiffs’

Motion for Summary Judgment, at Exhibit E, filed December 13, 1988.

5 Plaintiffs’ Memorandum in Support of Motion for Summary Judgment,

page 1.

ii)

iil)

o

making him feel like an “. . . outcast or second class

»,

citizen somehow not worthy of full citizenship... .”;

He is “... constantly visually bombarded ....” by

display of the seal; (Third Amended Complaint,

paragraph 4)

and he was injured because

i)

ii)

iii)

iv)

v)

vi)

vil)

he had to display the City’s vehicle sticker which has

a copy of the seal;

the City’s garbage sacks have a copy of the seal; (Third

Amended Complaint, paragraph 5)

he receives “... many items of correspondence... .

from the City which contain the seal; (Third Amended

Complaint, paragraph 6)

he avoids the use of public property on which the seal

is displayed; (Third Amended Complaint, paragraph

7)

“.. he mightily strives... .” to avoid seeing the seal;

“He will often avoid using the route to the downtown

area of Rolling Meadows ....” where the seal is

displayed; (Third Amended Complaint, paragraph 8)

“

he is “... genuinely and substantially embarrassed

and humiliated when he is called upon to show family

and friends the City in which he lives due to the

pervasive nature of the seal... .” ; (Third Amended

Complaint, paragraph 9)

And the Third Amended Complaint alleged as to plaintiff, Society

of Separationists, only that:

i)

li)

it is a Maryland corporation licensed in Illinois; a

nonprofit, nonpolitical, educational organization;

devoted to “... complete and absolute separation of

state and church... .”;

6

iii) its membership includes “... numerous individuals

.... in Illinois, the U. S., and the world; (Third

Amended Complaint, paragraph 10)

iv) it “... frequently represents ....” its members in

actions “. . . such as this one.”;

v) due to the unpopularity of “. .. civil rights conflicts,

the Society will represent its members, who generaliy

have sufficient standing, when those members desire

anonymity.” ; [Emphasis added.]

vi) Kuhn is a member of the Society, as well as others

who live, do business in, or travel through, the City

of Rolling Meadows;

vii) the other members of the Society suffer “... many

of the same injuries ....” as Kuhn; “The Society,

having been requested to pursue this action, will fairly

and adequately represent the interests of its members.”

(Third Amended Complaint, paragraph 11)

That’s it! The District Court and the Seventh Circuit found that

Kuhn, and consequently the Society, had standing. App. 10a.

The City moved to dismiss the Third Amended Complaint

for failure of standing. The District Court denied the motion.

App. 34a.

The Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals affirmed.

The District Court found that the cross on the City’s seal

did not violate the Establishment Clause of the First Amendment.

App. 52a.

The District Court first noted the “. . . Supreme Court’s most

recent guidance... .” in County of Allegheny v. American Civil

Liberties Union, 109 S. Ct. 3086, (1989) which reconfirmed the

three part test set forth in Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602,

91 S.Ct. 2105 (1971), and relied on Lemon to determine if the

City’s seal is constitutionally permissible. App. 59a.

At the outset, the plaintiffs conceded that the Rolling

Meadows seal does not violate the “purpose” and “entanglement”

parts of the Lemon test. App. 59a. Thus, the District Court had

7

but to determine whether the principal or primary effect of the

Rolling Meadows seal is to advance religion. App. 60a.

Because of the physical context in which the cross appears

on the seal, the District Court found that the primary effect of

Rolling Meadows seal is not to advance religion. App. 60a.

The Court reached that conclusion because the cross rep-

resents but “. . . one aspect of the origin of the Rolling Meadows

community.”, each of the four pictures on the seal suggests a

different feature of the community on its fifth anniversary, the

cross is included in a scene, the abstract cross is not as strong

a symbol of Christianity as would be a lone or prominent cross,

(App. 61a) the cross takes up a “relatively small” space and is

surrounded by other symbols which “neutralize” it. App. 62a.

The District Court also noted that while there may be crosses

on municipal seals which endorse religion, Rolling Meadows

. is not one of those seals. There would be no

meaningful difference between holding otherwise and

holding that no municipal seal may contain a cross.

App. 62a.

4. THE COURT OF APPEALS DECISION

A divided panei of the Seventh Circuit reversed the District

Court stating that:

. we find that sectarian religious imagery simply

has no place on municipal seals. App. 2a.

The majority opinion, written by Judge Bauer, and the

dissent authored by Judge Easterbrook, engaged in a spirited

debate with each first addressing the standing of the plaintiffs

to bring the action.

The majority opinion acknowledged that “simple indigna-

tion” cannot be the basis for Article III standing, and the

“overstated language” of Kuhn’s complaint alleged injuries

“however slight” of little more than “identifiable trifles” . App.

8-9a. Despite those disclaimers, the majority found that Kuhn

had standing, anyway, because if he was “... not permitted

EEO

8

to sue, then there is simply no way to test the constitutionality

of the city seals.” App. 17a.

The majority then moved on to consider whether the cross

on Rolling Meadows sea! “established” a religion. App. 17a.

Judge Easterbrook dissented, vigorously, to the majority’s

conclusion that plaintiffs had standing. He observed that claims

about detours are about as trifling as one can produce. App.

33a. Such trifles “sidle up” , he wrote, against the holding in

Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans United for Sep-

aration of Church and State, Inc., 454 U. S. 464 (1982) that mere

offense at a government’s alleged complicity in religion does not

create standing. App. 33a.

Judge Easterbrook questioned why, if offense is not enough

to establish standing, a detour attributable to that same offense

establishes standing? App. 33a. The answer could not be, as the

majority suggested, that “. . . detour ‘validates the existence of

genuine distress’... .” App. 33a. Since dismay does not establish

standing pursuant to Valley Forge, the dissent contended, new

and better ways to prove its existence cannot create standing

either. App. 33a.

At the least, Judge Easterbrook argued, the plaintiffs ought

to be required to “prove” the allegations of the trifles suffered.

App. 34-5a. Judge Easterbrook doubted that Kuhn’s allegations

established standing, even if they could be proven. App. 36a.

Although Kuhn objected to displays of the seal, most of the

locations in which the seal is displayed did not lead to an

alteration, however slight, in his conduct. App. 36a. Moreover,

those displays of the seal, which led him to alter his conduct,

could be eliminated with the “simple self-help remedy” (App. 36a)

provided in Wooley v. Maynard, 430 U.S. 705 (1977). App. 37a.

Kuhn would then suffer no injury, in fact. Kuhn could edit the

seal from his garbage bags and tax sticker, pursuant to Wooley,

but he lacked standing to stop others from having or using the

seals. App. 37a.

The dissent points out that Kuhn never alleged that he goes

out of his way to avoid public displays of the Rolling Meadows

seal. App. 37a. Kuhn alleged only that he was “embarrassed”

9

by the seal so he doesn’t enter the public buildings where it is

displayed. App. 37a. Those allegations were, Judge Easterbrook

noted, a challenge only to the display of the seal in a particular

place rather than an objection to its composition. App. 37a. The

injury, the dissent concluded, could be eliminated by removing

the seals from the public way. App. 37a. No seal, no detour, and

no injury. App. 37a.

Judge Easterbrook’s dissent reminds that Article III of the

Constitution limits judicial power to cases and controversies. App.

38a. If because no one is injured there is no controversy, the

suit must be dismissed: “There is no exception for subjects that

as a result cannot be raised at all.” App. 39a. The dissent observed

that such a view would convert standing into a requirement that

“... must be observed only when satisfied.” Schlesinger v.

Reservists Committee to Stop the War, 418 U. S. 208, 227 (1984)

and Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans United for

Separation of Church and State, 454 U.S. 464, 489 (1981). App.

39a.

As to the merits of the Establishment Clause case, the

majority first declared its intent to

... correct the district court’s reluctance to apply the

full breadth of Establishment Clause freedoms and to

reiterate our commitment to an energetic first amend-

ment. App. 17a.

The majority relied on Lemon v. Kurtzman, and County of

Allegheny v. American Civil Liberties Union, just as the District

Court, (App. 19a.) and found that only the “effects” test of Lemon

need be applied. App. 20a.

The majority opinion concluded that because the U. S.

Supreme Court held a nativity on the grand staircase of the court

house in Allegheny County unconstitutional, then the cross on

the Rolling Meadows seal was also unconstitutional. App. 21a.

Moreover, since the creche in County of Allegheny was only

displayed seasonally, while the Rolling Meadows seal is displayed

all year, this is a more compelling case for finding the challenged

display unconstitutional. App. 22a. The majority acknowledged

that the “context” in which the creche was displayed in County

10

of Allegheny was crucial, but concluded that the rest of the Rolling

Meadows seal did not keep the cross from being unconstitutional.

App. 22a.

On the contrary, Judge Easterbrook, in his dissent, suggested

that the Seventh Circuit “bypass Lemon” as Justice O’Connor

has done, and, instead ask directly: would an objective observer

view the seal as an endorsement of religion? If that is done,

the dissent concluded, it will not be taken as an endorsement

of religion since the cross on Rolling Meadows seal “. . . looks

more like a telephone pole than a cross; its arms are too short

to crucify anyone.” App. 43a.

5. PETITION FOR REHEARING

The City’s Petition for Rehearing was denied by the panel

which heard the case. Judge Easterbrook, despite his eariier

dissent, voted to deny the City’s Petition for Rehearing so that

the case could “... proceed without further delay to the Court

that can resolve the issues the panel addressed.” Citing Lee v.

Weisman, i11 S. Ct. 1305 (1991) granting certiorari, 908 F.2d

1090 (1st Cir. 1990). App. 48a.

A majority, six, of the active members of the Seventh Circuit,

voted to deny a rehearing in banc. Five voted to grant rehearing

in banc. Judge Cudahy wrote a dissent to the denial of the

rehearing in banc, Judge Manion joining. App. 47-8a.

Judge Cudahy shared Judge Easterbrook’s misgivings as

to Kuhn’s standing to challenge the seal, in the first place. App.

48a. Judge Cudahy wrote that the District Court was correct

in finding Rolling Meadows seal constitutional:

Assuming that the diminutive symbol in question is

a Roman cross—it might be a telephone pole—any

message of endorsement is either non-existent or de

minimus. There is little evidence of meaningful offense

from the fancied religious implications of this ambig-

uous design—created by a schoolchild. App. 48a.

Judge Cudahy concluded his dissent by stating that “This

important opinion needs careful reconsideration by the whole

court and/or the United States Supreme Court.” App. 50a.

ae i

11

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The majority opinion of the Seventh Circuit, that theplaintiffs

in this case have standing, is a clear departure from the holding

of this Court in Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans

United for Separation of Church and State, Inc., 454 U.S. 464

(1982). Review of this case would provide the Supreme Court

an opportunity to announce whether Valley Forge still holds,

or whether pleading psychological injuries, will now suffice to

establish standing in First Amendment cases.

The Seventh Circuit invalidated the City’s seal purportedly

on the basis of the “effects” test of Lemon. App. 21a. In doing

so, it refused t consider the history of the seal, the context of

the cross as but one of many symbols, or to assess it in light

of other, traditional acknowledgments of religion which this

Court has sustained. Eg. Marsh v. Chambers, 463 U.S. 783 (1983);

Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668 (1984).

The merits of this case raise the question whether the

application of the Lemon test to all Establishment Clause cases

should continue, given its persistent tendency to invalidate some

practices with substantial historical roots while letting other,

similar expressions, survive.

I. STANDING

The majority opinion of the Seventh Circuit excused the

plaintiffs, Kuhn and the Society, from proving, or even verifying,

the factual! allegations used to establish standing. App. 35a.

The City moved to dismiss® the Third Amended Complaint,

inter alia, because Kuhn and the Society had not alleged standing.

The City’s motion pointed out to the District Court that

i) the bare allegation that the City’s “action” resulted

in an unnamed, abstract injury to Kuhn and the

Society did not confer standing; (paragraph 4)

6 Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss Plaintiffs Third Amended Complaint

for Failure of Standing and to State a Cause on which Relief Can Be

Granted, filed December 22, 1987.

12

ii) nor did indignation; (paragraph 5)

iii) Article III limits judicial review to actual controversies;

(paragraph 6)

iv) facts sufficient to show standing must always be plead;

(paragraph 7) and

v) “Standing must never be assumed.” (paragraph 7)

After Kuhn and the Society filed their answer to the City’s

motion to dismiss, it was even more apparent that neither Kuhn

nor the Society had standing.” When reminded by the City that

Sierra Club v. Morton, 405 U.S. 727 (1972) requires that facts

sufficient to allege standing must be plead in the complaint, the

plaintiffs made the astonishing assertion that:

Plaintiffs’ specific injuries are detailed in brief (sic)

which accompanies this motion.’

to which the City replied:

At some time, plaintiffs must realize that they cannot

show standing by allusion, illusion and reference to

matters other than those in the complaint.®

And at that, the only allegation of injury in the plaintiffs’ brief

was that the seal caused Kuhn “... great emotional distress

and philosophical discomfort.”

In response to the City’s challenge that no cognizable injury

had been plead in any of the plaintiffs’ four complaints, Kuhn

answered:

7 Although ordered by the Court to answer the City’s motion to dismiss,

Kuhn and the Society filed a motion and brief in Opposition to

Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss, instead; both of which the City and

the District Court treated as the plaintiffs’ answer.

5 Plaintiffs’ Motion in Opposition to Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss

which was treated as an answer, at I, page 1.

% The City’s Reply to Plaintiffs’ Motion in Opposition to Defendants’

Motion to Dismiss, filed January 15, 1988, page 2.

10 Plaintiffs’ Brief in Opposition to Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss, at

3.

.

13

That Plaintiffs have standing to bring this 42 U.S.C.,

Section 1983, First Amendment action against the

Defendants herein as they have suffered cognizable

personal injury as a result of the inclusion in the official

seal of emblem (sic) of the City of Rolling Meadows.!!

Although completely nonsensical, plaintiffs’ response illustrates

their obstinate refusal to tell what injury they suffered.

In summary, Kuhn’s pleadings show that he was able to

allege only psychological consequences from the City’s seal:

— he “feels” like an “outcast”; (Third Amended, par. 4)

— he “suffers” because of the City’s seal; (par. 4)

— he “mightily strives” to avoid seeing the seal; (par. 8)

— he is “embarrassed” and “humiliated” by it. (par. 9)

That’s why the City moved to dismiss because of the lack of

injury, citing Valley Forge Christian College. Prior to the Seventh

Circuit opinion in this case, psychological injury didn’t count

toward standing. Valley Forge, 765-6. To reach its conclusion,

the Seventh Circuit majority opinion gave lip service, only, to

the Valley Forge requirement that “simple indignation” cannot

be a basis for Article III standing. App. 8a

Ironically, the majority ignored the previous holding of the

Seventh Circuit in Freedom from Religion Foundation, Inc. v.

Zielke, 845 F.2d 1463 (7th Cir. 1988), which was written by one

of the majority in this case, and required some verification of

the allegations of standing.

Siace the City’s Motion to Dismiss (for failure of standing)

was filed December 22, 1987, some five months before the Seventh

Circuit opinion in Zielke was published, that opinion was not

available to guide the District Court in deciding Kuhn v. Rolling

Meadows. Significantly, though, the City presented, nearly

verbatim, to the District Court, the same principles for testing

Kuhn’s standing which appeared, months later, in the Seventh

Circuit Zielke opinion:

11 Motion (Answer), at I, page 1.

14

The City of Rolling Meadows:

Standing focuses on the party seeking to get his

complaint before a federal court and not on the issues

he wishes to have adjudicated. [Emphasis in

original. }!?

The Seventh Circuit in Zielke:

An analysis of a litigant’s standing to bring an action

in federal court focuses not on the claim itself but on

the party who is bringing the challenge. Freedom from

Religion Foundation, Inc. v. Zielke, 845 F.2d 1463, 1467

(7th Cir. 1988) [Emphasis added.]

Yet, the Seventh Circuit majority opinion in Kuhn v. Rolling

Meadows focused exclusively on the issues which Kuhn hoped

to raise, rather than on him:

... if Kuhn ... [is] not permitted to sue, then there

is simply no way to test the constitutionality of the

city seals. App. 17a.

The majority in Kuhn has determined that he has standing

because this is a very important First Amendment case, and

if Kuhn is not allowed to bring it, perhaps no one else will.

Even so, the Seventh Circuit cannot cite one example from

the record of injury to Kuhn and refers, instead, to the “burdens”

imposed upon Kuhn by the City’s seal. App. 8a. The subtle shift

from the “injury” formerly mandatory for standing to a mere

“burden”, indicates a shift in the requirements for standing, at

least in this Circuit.

The Seventh Circuit majority opinion in Kuhn is just plain

wrong when it alleges that the City did not challenge Kuhn’s

allegations of injury. App. 13a. The City did object to plaintiff's

allegations of standing: the gist of the City’s Motion to Dismiss

was that the City didn’t know what Kuhn’s injury was. Having

lost the Motion to Dismiss, the City again raised standing as

an affirmative defense that the complaint did not contain

allegations of a “‘cognizable’”’ injury. Finally, the City

12 Defendants’ Reply to Plaintiffs’ Motion in Opposition ... at

paragraph 2, page 4.

15

raised Kuhn’s lack of injury (except psychological) in the

Summary Judgment proceeding.'*

Finally, the Seventh Circuit opinion does not address how

the City might probe injuries so subjective that, really, only the

pleader knows: Kuhn is “embarrassed”, “humiliated” , “mightily

strives”, and has “philosophical discomfort”. How could the City

“.. oppose Kuhn’s statements that he seeks to avoid contact

with the Rolling Meadows seal ...” as the Seventh Circuit

maintains it should have? App. 13a. Follow him with a video

camera to show he did, in fact, drive by City Hall? Call him

a liar and be done with it?

Only Kuhn knows what’s in his head, and if he refuses to

spill the beans and the Courts do not make him, then his injuries,

other than indignation, embarrassment, and humiliation shall

remain his secret.

Even taking Kuhn at his word that the seal causes him

some degree of “philosophical discomfort”, the City has long

believed that he suffered no injury of the sort required by Valley

Forge. This may be because the allegations are in “overstated

language” (App. 9a) and, therefore, suspect. There is no way

for the City to confirm these suspicions, however, and the majority

opinion gives plaintiffs in First Amendment cases, a pass:

For the purposes of standing, we need not consider

if the plaintiffs can prove injury. It is enough that

the plaintiffs, Kuhn and Harris, have pleaded good-

faith allegations of damage that can be remedied by

the federal courts. [Emphasis in original.] App. 9a.

Plaintiffs, hereafter, are apparently on the honor system when

pleading standing in First Amendment cases.

The majority’s view is that it does not matter whether

plaintiffs cannot prove standing since that failure goes only to

the issue of damages, anyway. App. 10a. That view is tragically

flawed. Cases will be decided as here, where no Article III

controversy exists. The time and fees for such a pointless crusade

will already have been expended before it is ever known whether

‘3 Additional Memorandum on Summary Judgment, filed September

26, 1989, at 3.

16

the “facts” alleged for standing are merely an amalgam of buzz

words from previous opinions or what a plaintiff has actually

lived.

Perhaps the “... willingness of the plaintiffs to incur a

tangible, albeit small cost that validates the existence of genuine

distress ....”, as the Seventh Circuit majority opinion put it

(App. 9a) is a euphemism for a plaintiff simply saying what

he must to get by.

If a constitutional claim rides on a detour, fine, but let’s

at least first make the plaintiff establish that there was, indeed,

a detour. Simply saying it doesn’t make it so.

II. THE ESTABLISHMENT CLAUSE

The Seventh Circuit found the cross on the City’s seal to

be “. .. surely a sectarian display.” and, as an endorsement of

Christianity, a violation of the First Amendment. App. 24a.

Since the nation has a tradition of acknowledging, for-

thrightly, its religious heritage (“In God We Trust” ; San Diego;

prayers in Congress; “... one nation under God ....”), the

Seventh Circuit’s invalidation of the City’s seal is at odds with

national tradition and current practice. Unless, of course, there

is a separate ‘Federal standard’ which makes unconstitutional

for a unit of loca] government that which is acceptable for the

Federal government.

Or is it a ‘holiday standard’? What is otherwise a violation

of the First Amendment is not if displayed on a holiday:

The City’s seal is a permanent statement that is viewed

year-round, while the creche is displayed only season-

ally amidst the secular celebration of Christmas. App.

22a.

So, we have, now, a holiday exception to the constitution. It seems

that if a thing is unconstitutional when touched by government,

then it is always so, no matter the day or occasion.

Or does constitutionality depend upon location rather than

context, as the Seventh Circuit opinion suggests. App. 21a. The

District Court, in this case, analyzed the cross on the City’s seal

17

in the context in which it appears. App. 60a. That’s what County

of Allegheny v. American Civil Liberties Union, requires. Doing

that, the only conclusion possible was that:

... the seal before us cannot be fairly characterized

as prominently displaying the cross. The question, as

we understand it, is not whether a cross may appear

in a municipality’s seal; but rather, whether the context

in which the cross appears has the effect of endorsing

religion. There certainly may exist municipal seals that

contain crosses and that convey messages endorsing

religion. This, however, is not one of those seals. There

would be no meaningful difference between holding

otherwise and holding that no municipal seal may

contain a cross. App. 62a.

The District Court viewed the entire seal and did not, as

plaintiffs would prefer, focus on only the cross with tunnel vision.

By focusing, as do plaintiffs, only on the 0.8256% of the seal

taken by the cross, its significance is, of course, distorted.

Plaintiffs hope this Court will ignore the context in which the

City seal is found because it is reproduced in a setting which

totally neutralizes any effect which the cross, if displayed

prominently or alone, might otherwise have had, of establishing

religion. App. 62a.

Yet, the Seventh Circuit majority opinion concentrates on

where the seal is displayed: location, and brings up the secular

context of the cross, with what it is included, only to signal an

awareness of the U. S. Supreme Court Opinion in County of

Allegheny. App. 21-2a.

Whether or not the challenged symbol fails the establishment

test should depend upon what it contains, not where it is

displayed. If the seal only acknowledges and does not establish

religion, then it does not matter where or how the seal is displayed.

And what of coercion? Is government acknowledgment of

the part religion has played in history a violation of the

Establishment Clause, whether or not coercion is present? The

Seventh Circuit majority mentioned coercion not at all; only the

dissent raised the issue. App. 39a.

18

The “test” for establishment clause violations, which has

evolved from Lemon, is a misnomer. From it, no standards nor

criteria have resulted: only rulings which contradict each other

and conflict with the everyday practices of other governmental

actors, including this Court in Marsh v. Chambers and Lynch

v. Donnelly.

Governmental accommodation or acknowledgments of the

historical significance of religion are often sustained and, in doing

so, the Courts seem to ignore Lemon. Perhaps this is where the

‘Federal standard’ comes in. The Federal government, when

meeting “establishment” challenges, must neither take, nor pass,

the Lemon tests.

For the City of Rolling Meadows, earnestly trying to comply

with the constitution, the maze is indecipherable: this Court

imposes a “test” which the City seal seems to pass, but then

the Seventh Circuit holds the cross, unconstitutional, per se:

The conspicuous depiction of the preeminent symbol

of a particular faith on that seal conveys a message

of approval that is simply inconsistent with the first

amendment. App. 22a.

Is there really a test or are all crosses, even those that look like

telephone poles, per se, unconstitutional?

The Latin cross on the Rolling Meadows seal is surely

a sectarian display. As such, we hold that it endorses

Christianity in violation of the first amendment. App.

23-4a.

The City does not ask this Court to overrule Lemon. Rather,

the Lemon test might be re-examined to determine if it is

functioning as intended.

Judge Easterbrook’s dissent points out that only four Justices

relied on Lemon in Allegheny, and Lynch also “bypasses the

Lemon ‘tests’ ” altogether. App. 42a.

Indeed, many of the members of this Court have expressed

misgivings with different aspects of the Lemon test: County of

Allegheny v. American Civil Liberties Union, 109 S.Ct. 3086,

3134 (1989) (Kennedy, J., concurring in the judgment and

19

dissenting in part) (“Substantial revision of our Establishment

Clause doctrine may be in order”); Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S.

38, 112 (1985) (Rehnquist, J., dissenting) (Lemon test is “a

constitutional theory [that] has no basis in the history of the

amendment it seeks to interpret, is difficult to apply and yields

unprincipled results” ); Aguilar v. Felton, 473 U.S. 402, 429, (1985)

(O’Connor, J., dissenting) (expressing “doubts about the entan-

glement test”); Roemer v. Board of Public Works, 426 U.S. 736,

768 (1976) (White, J., concurring in the judgment) (“I am no more

reconciled now to Lemon IJ than I was when it was decided.

.... The threefold test of Lemon I imposes unnecessary and

.... Superfluous tests for establishing [a First Amendment

violation}”’); Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578, 636 (1987) (Scalia,

J., dissenting) (“pessimistic evaluation .... of the totality of

Lemon is particularly applicable to the ‘purpose’ prong’”’).

So, while others, including some on this Court, have sug-

gested that Lemon may be an inappropriate standard, the City

respectfully suggests that its selective application creates even

more uncertainty, chaos and frustration.

Finally, the evolution and application of the Lemon tests

seem to have exceeded even the apparent intent expressed by

Chief Justice Burger in the paragraph preceding that now famous

one containing the “three tests”:

In the absence of precisely stated constitutional

prohibitions, we must draw lines with reference to the

three main evils against which the Establishment

Clause was intended to afford protection: “sponsorship,

financial support, and active involvement of the

sovereign in religious activity.” Citing Walz v. Tax

Commission, 397 U.S. 664, 668, 90 S. Ct. 1409, 25 L.

Ed. 2d 697 (1970). Lemon v. Kurtzman, 91 S. Ct. 2105,

2111 (1971).

What a long way, in subsequent application, Lemon has

wandered from the three evils which its author addressed. Of

course, the majority’s discussion of the City’s seal states that

the cross “endorses”, “promotes”, (App. 2la) “conveys” and

“approves” religion. App. 22a. Not once, though, does the opinion

address whether the City “sponsors” a religion with “financial

20

support”: nor does it question whether the City is actively involved

in religious activities.

None of the “evils” of establishment clause violations which

Chief Justice Burger set out in Lemon have befallen anyone

because of Rolling Meadows seal. It is “pallid”. (App. 40a.)

(Easterbrook, J.) It is difficult to discern how the City’s seal failed

any test which was passed, with honors, by “In God We Trust”.

And what of history? Plaintiffs just simply refuse to recognize

that the cross on the City’s seal has historic significance. They

complain that if it had “... well-known architectural, artistic

or historic significance... .” viewers would assume that the sea!

was not an attempt to establish a religion.’ Perhaps plaintiffs

perceive historicity as only that offered by the wonderful old

places in America, St. Louis, or St. Augustine. Rolling Meadows

history started when it was incorporated in 1955, and the seal

reflects the City, as perceived by a child, five years later:

** * *

3. When an eighth grader, my art teacher

assigned the project of drawing a City seal.

4. Idid my assignment by drawing a four-leaf

clover with the things I saw in Rolling

Meadows: a tree in one section, a bird in

one, a school in the third, and the new church

being built in my neighborhood, in the last.

* ee *

6. I drew what I saw, had no purpose other

than to complete an assignment, and had

no idea what the establishment of religion

was,... .}5

The Seventh Circuit discounted the intent of the seal’s creator

(App. 23a); yet, the Supreme Court in Lemon considered the

“legislative purposes” of the statutes there challenged to see if

14 Brief for Plaintiffs-Appellants, 90-1673, in the United States Court

of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, at 11, 23.

15 Defendants’ Memorandum in Support of Their Answer to Plaintiffs’

Motion for Summary Judgment, filed December 13, 1988, Exhibit A,

Affidavit of Cheryl Knudsen Keifer, paragraphs 3, 4, and 6.

21

the establishment clause was violated and found “. . . no basis

for a conclusion that the legislative intent was to advance

religion.” [Emphasis added.] Lemon, 2111.

Unfortunately, in this case, there is no preamble to the seal

which can be studied in order to determine the motive for its

adoption. But, the affidavit of Cheryl, its creator, is uncontro-

verted, that the seal was created in a secular setting for a wholly

secular reason, and any benefit to anyone or anything was neither

imagined nor intended, nor could it have been foreseen.

The Seventh Circuit has overlooked that when factual issues

determine the constitutionality of governmental action, a Federal

court may not hold a trial and use its own findings to upset

the decisions of the political branches. Vance v. Bradley, 440

U.S. 93, 110-12 (1979). Even on matters touching the First

Amendment, Courts must accept plausible judgments by other

governmental actors. Turner v. Safley, 107 S. Ct. 2254, 2264-5n.

(1987); Munro v. Socialist Workers Party, 107 S. Ct. 533, 537-

8 (1986).

Rolling Meadows judgment in adopting Cheryl’s seal was

both plausible and constitutional in light of Justice O’Connor’s

concurring opinion in Lynch:

Those government acknowledgments of religion serve,

in the only ways reasonably possible in our culture,

the legitimate secular purposes of solemnizing public

occasions, expressing confidence in the future, and

encouraging the recognition of what is worthy of

appreciation in society. For that reason, and because

of their history and ubiquity, those practices are not

understood as conveying government approval of

particular religious beliefs. Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S.

668, 693 (1984). [Emphasis added. ]

To do otherwise is to compromise the First Amendment’s

guarantee of the free exercise of religion. The goal of the First

Amendment is free exercise, to which nonestablishment is

instrumental. Nonestablishment should not be used to rewrite

history or repudiate the obvious.

22

But worse, framed as this case is, by atheists, their success

will be a signal that nonreligion or anti-religion is the attitude

preferred by the Federai Courts. The action of the Court in

removing a cross would not be “neutral”. It would have the

“effect” of giving those who recognize the genesis of the seal,

whether or not they have a religious axe to grind, constitutional

grievances of their own.

If the plaintiffs are allowed to use the Constitution merely

as a scissors to snip inclusion of all things religious from

municipal history, history will, indeed, have been skewed. While

the Establishment Clause is read to keep governments from

setting up churches, it is not a license to eradicate the part religion

has played in history, either.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Petitioners respectfully request

that this petition for a writ of certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit be granted and the

case set for plenary review.

Respectfully submitted,

DONALD M. Rosse*

KATHLEEN Ross

Rose & Ross, Lrp.

4215 Kirchoff Road

Rolling Meadows, IL 60008

708/303-6100

Counsel for Petitioners

*Counsel of Record

APPENDIX

A NG Ke.

la

In the

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

No. 90-1542

CLINT W. HARRIS and

THE SOCIETY OF SEPARATIONISTS, INC.,

Plaintiffs-A ppellees,

Vv.

CiTy oF ZION, LAKE COUNTY, ILLINOIS,

MAYOR OF ZION and ZION C!Ty COUNCIL,

Defendants-Appellants.

Appeal for the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Illinois.

No. 87 C 7204—James B. Zagel, Judge.

No. 90-1673

THEODORE M. KUHN and

THE SOCIETY OF SEPARATIONISTS, INC.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

City oF ROLLING MEADOWS, MAYOR OF ROLLING MEADOWS

and ROLLING MEADOwS CITY COUNCIL,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Illinois.

No. 87 C 7205—James B. Zagel, Judge.

ARGUED SEPTEMBER 17, 1990—DecIDED Marcu 19, 1991

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

Before BAUER, Chief Judge, FLAUM and EASTERBROOK,

Circuit Judges.

BAUER, Chief Judge. In these two appeals, consolidated

for decision in the district court, we are asked to deter-

mine whether the Establishment Clause of the first amend-

ment prohibits the use of sectarian religious symbolism

on a municipality’s corporate seal. In both cases, we find

that sectarian religious imagery simply has no place on

municipal seals.

In Kuhn v. City of Rolling Meadows and Harris v. City

of Zion, both at 729 F. Supp. 1242 (N.D. IIl. 1990), the

Society of Separationists (“Society”) and two of its mem- |

bers, Theodore M. Kuhn and Clint W. Harris, filed suit

against the cities of Rolling Meadows and Zion, respec-

tively, as well as against their mayors and members of

their city councils in their official capacities, under 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983. Both suits seek declaratory and injunctive relief.

The plaintiffs in each case claim that the seal of Rolling

Meadows and the seal, emblem and logo of Zion violate

the Establishment Clause of the first amendment because

they contain Christian symbolism. All parties moved for

summary judgment under Fed. R. Civ. P. 56.

The district judge drew a fine distinction between the

two cases. In Kuhn, the district court found that, although

the official seal of Rolling Meadows contains a Latin cross,

it does not violate the first amendment. Thus, the court

denied the plaintiffs’ motion and later entered judgment

for the City of Rolling Meadows. In Harris, however, the

district court found that Zion’s seal, emblem and logo do

present constitutional violations. The court granted the

plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment, enjoining Zion

from further use of its current seal, emblem and logo.

Theodore M. Kuhn and the Society (plaintiffs in Kuhn)

and the City of Zion (defendant in Harris) appealed. Find-

ing that both the seal of Rolling Meadows and the seal,

emblem, and logo of Zion represent unconstitutional uses

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

of religious imagery, we reverse the district court judg-

ment in Kuhn, and affirm in Harns.'

I. Background

A Rolling Meadows

Rolling Meadows adopted its current seal in 1960, in

celebration of the City’s fifth anniversary. The seal was

designed as a school art assignment by Cheryl Knudsen,

then an eighth grade student at the Salk School in Rolling

Meadows.? Knudsen simply drew the things she saw in

Rolling Meadows: inside her design of a four-leaf clover,

she drew a tree in one section, a bird in another, a school

in the third, and the new church being built in her neigh-

borhood in the last section. The anniversary committee

that presented the winning design to the City Council for

approval altered Knudsen’s design somewhat. The tree

was changed to a leaf, and the bird was replaced by a

water tower and two industrial buildings. The neighbor-

hood church was retained. This final design was approved

by the Rolling Meadows City Council in June 1960. (See

Appendix A for Rolling Meadows seal.) The Rolling Meadows

seal is displayed on all City-owned vehicles, including police

patrol cars. The seal is also found on City letterhead, on

1 With no material issues of fact in dispute, the district court

ruled on the motions for summary judgment as a matter of law.

It is well-settled that whether a government display violates the

first amendment is indeed a question of law. See Mather v. Village

of Mundelein, 864 F.2d 1291, 1292 (7th Cir. 1989); American Jew-

ish Congress v. City of Chicago, 827 F.2d 120, 123 (majority opin-

ion), 129-30 (7th Cir. 1987) (J. Easterbrook, dissenting). Thus, on

review we examine the issues de novo with “no deference to the

district court’s resolution.” Mather, 864 F.2d at 1292.

2 There is some dispute in the record concerning the school that

Knudsen attended and her grade in that school when she designed

the seal. As the district court properly found, these facts are ir-

relevant, having no bearing on the larger issues in the appeal.

Resolution of such disputes is therefore unnecessary.

4a

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

the shoulder patches worn by uniformed members of the

Rolling Meadows Police Department, on the residents’

garbage sacks, on vehicle tax stickers, and in the City

Council chambers.

Kuhn and the Society sued, objecting to the Latin cross

(i.e. a cross whose base stem is longer than the other

three arms) in the right quadrant of the Rolling Meadows

seal. This cross stands prominently before a one story

building—the church that was under construction in Chery]

Knudsen’s neighborhood back in 1960. While the building

depicted in the right quadrant of the seal is not ooviously

a church (its flat appearance could suggest another indus-

trial building or a school), there is no doubt that the struc-

ture in front of the building is a Latin cross. There also

can be no doubt that a Latin cross is the principal and

unmistakable symbol of Christianity as practiced in this

country today. See American Civil Liberties Union v. City

of St. Charles, 794 F.2d 265, 267 (7th Cir.) (enjoining St.

harles’ prominent display of a lighted Latin Cross as

part of the municipality’s annual Christmas display), cert.

denied, 479 U.S. 961 (1986).

Kuhn and the Society claimed that the presence of the

cross on the Rolling Meadows seal promotes or endorses

Christianity and, thus, violates the first amendment which

prohibits any law “respecting the establishment of reli-

gion.” U.S. Const. amend. I. The district court found that,

in the context of the Rolling Meadows seal, the relation

between the cross and Christianity is weak. The court

believed that the other images in the seal—specifically,

the leaf, the industrial scene and the school—“neutralize”’

the sectarian impact of the cross and preclude any un-

constitutional endorsement of Christianity. Kuhn, 729 F.

Supp. at 1248. From this decision, Kuhn and the Society

appealed.

B. Zion

To understand the genesis and design of Zion’s corpo-

rate seal, emblem and logo, we must consider the rather

5a

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

unique history of the City. In 1896, the Reverend John

Alexander Dowie founded the Christian Catholic Church,

an evangelical protestant sect that still flourishes today

in a world-wide fellowship. Six years after the founding

of the Church, Reverend Dowie established the City of

Zion in Lake County, Illinois, in March 1902. The May

3, 1902 edition of ‘‘Leaves of Healing,” the Church news-

letter edited by Dowie, explains the reasons- for which

Zion was founded: “Zion City . . . is being built for the

purpose of the extension of the kingdom of upon earth

. . where God shall rule in every department of family,

i commercial, educational, adeno and polit-

ic _

At the first meeting of the Zion City Council on May 6,

1902, Reverend Dowie, who had assumed the title “‘Gen-

eral Overseer of the Christian Catholic Church in Zion,”

presented the new City Council with a proposed corporate

seal. This proposed seal consisted of a shield draped with

a ribbon that reads ‘‘God Reigns’ and encircled by the

words “Corporate Seal” and “City of Zion, Illinois.” The

shield lies in the center of the seal and is divided into

four sections. Each section contains a different symbol.

The left section contains a Latin cross; the upper section

contains a dove carrying a branch; the right section con-

tains a sword and a crown; and the lower section contains

the name “Zion.” In cio eae proposed seal to the

Zion City Council, Reverend Dowie urged:

I ask you to accept (this seal) and use it reverently.

Let no hand ever hold this lever and put this seal

to anything that God does not approve. Let the of-

ficer who uses this seal feel, as he pulls this lever

and makes this impression, ‘God Reigns,’’ that the

document must be such a one as God approves.

May every commission of every officer which bears

the seal of this City be looked upon as solemn thing;

that it is a commission to bear such authority, how-

ever small or great, as God’s minister—God’s minister

in law—God’s minister in the Eternal Covenant in a

measure.

a

6a

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

Minutes of First Council Meeting, City of Zion, May 6,

1902. Reverend Dowie alsc explained the meaning of the

symbols included in the seal:

Look at the Dove which is the emblem of the Holy

Spirit, bearing the Message of Peace and Love over

the seas. The Cross represents everything to us in

Redemption, Salvation, Healing, Cleaning and Keep-

ing Power. The Sword is the Sword of the Spirit,

which is the Word of God. The Crown is the Crown

of Glory, the Crown of Joy, the Crown of Righteous-

ness, the Crown of Rejoicing.

Id.

The City Council unanimously approved Reverend Dowie’s

proposal, and his design has remained the corporate seal

for the City of Zion until the present day.? (See Appen-

dix B for the Zion seal.) The Zion City Council later de-

signed the City’s emblem and logo. The emblem is simply

the central part of the seal, consisting of the shield with

its four sections, and the ribbon that reads “God Reigns.”

The logo also is derived from the seal. The logo is cir-

cular and contains a large ‘“‘Z.”’ To the left of the ‘Z’”’

lies a Latin cross; to the right of the “‘Z” lies the crown

and the scepter; and above the “‘Z’’ flies the dove carry-

ing the branch. (See Appendices C and D for the Zion

emblem and logo.) The seal or emblem appears on the

City flag, on the City letterhead, in the City Council

chambers, on City vehicle stickers of all vehicles operated

by Zion residents, and on the shoulder patches of City

police officers and fire fighters. The logo appears on the

Zion water tower and on City street signs.

The district court found that the images displayed on

the Zion seal, emblem, and logo function as strong sym-

bols of a particular sect of Christianity with nothing to

3 The sword in the right section of the shield was later changed

to a scepter. This is the only variation in Zion’s present seal from

Reverend Dowie’s original design.

ante

7a

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

“neutralize” the religious message. “The City of Zion’s

seal, emblem and logo have the effect of endorsing a

Christian message. Nothing more is required to demon-

strate a violation of the Establishment Clause.” Harris

v. City of Zion, 729 F. Supp. at 1250 (quoting County

of Allegheny v. American Civil Liberties Union, 109 S.

Ct. 3086, 3105 (1989)). Thus, the district court granted the

motion for summary judgment of Harris and the Society

and permanently enjoined the display of Zion’s seal, em-

blem or logo in their current forms. The City of Zion

appealed.

II. Discussion

A. Standing

The first issue we must consider is whether the plain-

tiffs have standing to maintain this suit. Because Article

III of the Constitution limits the “judicial power’’ of the

United States to the resolution of “‘cases and controver-

sies,”’ the authority of federal courts ‘“‘cannot be defined,

and indeed has no substance, without reference to the

necessity to adjudge the legal rights of ao in actual

controversies.”’ Valley Forge Christian College v. Ameri-

cans United for Separation of Church and State, 454 U.S.

464, 471 (1981) (quoting Liverpool S.S. Co. v. Commission-

ers of Emigration, 113 U.S. 33, 39 (1885)). See also Allen

v. Wright, 468 U.S. 737, 750 (1983). To have standing, the

plaintiff must have “alleged such a personal stake in the

outcome of the controversy as to assure that concrete ad-

verseness which sharpens the presentation of issues upon

which the court so largely depends for illumination of dif-

ficult constitutional questions.”” Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S.

186, 204 (1961).

In order to establish a “personal stake” in the case, a

plaintiff must show that he has suffered “some threat-

ened or actual injury resulting from the putatively illegal

action. .. .”" Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490, 499 (1974)

(quoting Linda R. S. v. Richard D., 410 U.S. 614, 617

(1973)). See also Moose Lodge No. 107 v. Irvis, 407 U.S.

vill

8a

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

163, 166-67 (1972); Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S. 88, 101 (1968).

That injury must be fairly traceable to the challenged ac-

tion of the defendant, and it must be likely to be redressed

by a favorable decision. Valley Forge, 454 U.S. at 472. The

requirement that the plaintiff allege an “injury-in-fact,”

whether economic or non-economic, excludes simple indig-

: nation as a basis for Article III standing. That the plain-

tiffs may be offended by the defendants’ conduct is not

enough to confer standing. St. Charles, 794 F.2d at 268.

See also Allen, 468 U.S. at 751 (“The injury alleged must

be ‘distinct and palpable,’ and not ‘abstract’ or ‘conjec-

tural’ or ‘hypothetical.’ ’”’) (quoting Gladstone, Realtors v.

Village of Bellwood, 441 U.S. 91, 100 (1979) and Los An-

geles v. Lyons, 461 U.S. 95, 101-02 (1983)); People Orga-

nized for Welfare and Employment Rights v. pson,

727 F.2d 167, 171 (7th Cir. 1984) (“The injury brought

about by a violation of law must. . . affect one’s posses-

sions or bodily integrity or freedom of action, . . . and

not just one’s opinions, aspirations or ideology.”) The fed-

eral courts simply are not constituted as “ombudsmen of

the general welfare.”’ Valley Forge, 454 U.S. at 487.

With these general considerations in mind, we turn to

the plaintiffs’ claims. Because the Society alleges no in-

jury to itself, its standing depends on that of its members:

the individual plaintiffs K and Harris. Valley Forge

Christian College, 454 U.S. at 476 n.14; Warth, 422 US.

at 511; St. Charles, 794 F.2d at 267. Kuhn and Harris

each allege several direct burdens imposed on them by

the presence of the religious symbols in the City seals.‘

Kuhn claims he is injured by the requirement that he dis-

play the Rolling Meadows seal, which is depicted in the

municipality’s vehicle tax sticker, on the windshield of his

automobile; that he is likewise required to dispose his

household refuse in garbage sacks that display the seal;

* Although Kuhn and Harris allege that they are taxpayers, they

do not claim injury from any expenditure of tax revenues by either

city to display or maintain the seals. Thus, their status as tax-

payers is urelevant. See St. Charles, 794 F.2d at 267.

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

and finally, that he “mightily strives to avoid any visual

contact” with the Rolling Meadows seal by utilizing alter-

native travel routes. Harris alleges similar types of injury—

that he is required to display on his automobile the Zion

vehicle tax sticker which, like the Rolling Meadows sticker,

contains the City’s seal, and that he too “mightily strives”

to avoid viewing Zion’s seal, emblem or logo by altering

his travel routes. Specifically, Harris alleges that he avoids

the particular route that brings him within visual contact

of Zion’s water tower which exhibits the Zion logo. Fol-

lowing our decision in St. Charles, 794 F.2d 265 (conclud-

ing that the ACLU had standing to challenge the lighted

cross in St. Charles’ Christmas display), the district court

held that both Kuhn and Harris alleged sufficient injury

to confer standing on these plaintiffs. We agree.

Regardless of the overstated language of the complaints,

the plaintiffs’ alleged injuries, however slight, are indeed

judicially cognizable. As the Supreme Court stated, “‘An

identifiable trifle is enough for standing to fight out a

question of principle; the trifle is the basis for standing

and the principle supplies the motivation.’”’ United States

v. SCRAP, 412 U.S. 669, 689 n.14 (1972) (quoting Davis,

Standing: Taxpayers and Others, 35 U. Chi. L. Rev. 601,

613 (1968)). The injuries claimed by Kuhn and Harris are

little more than “identifiable trifles.” As noted above, the

fact that the plaintiffs may be offended by the seals of

Rolling Meadows and Zion does not confer standing. It

is the willingness of the plaintiffs to incur 2 tangible,

albeit small cost that validates the existence of genuine

distress and warrants the invocation of federal jurisdic-

tion. St. Charles, 794 F.2d at 268. See also Saladin v.

City of Milledgeville, 812 F.2d 687, 690-692 (1ith Cir.

1987) (appellants had standing to challenge the constitu-

tionality of the Milledgeville seal which contained the word

“Christianity” in the center of the seal).

For the purposes of standing, we need not consider if

the plaintiffs can prove injury. It is enough that the plain-

tiffs Kuhn and Harris have pleaded good-faith allegations

of damage that can be remedied by the federal courts.

|

10a

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

The test for standing, as for jurisdiction generally, is what

the complaint alleges, not what the evidence shows. St.

Charles, 794 F.2d at 269. “If a plaintiff merely fails to

prove injury, his failure goes to damages (or in an equity

case like this, to the right to obtain an injunction), rather

than to jurisdiction.” /d. That the allegations of a com-

plaint may be sufficient to confer standing also is supported

by South East Lake View Neighbors v. Department of

Housing and Urban Development, 685 F.2d 1027, 1034

(7th Cir. 1982), where this court declared:

A challenge to standing does not justify an inquiry

into the strength of a complaint. Questions of stand-

ing deal exclusively with whether the plaintiff alleged

facts satisfying the constitutional and prudential lim-

itations of the doctrine. The ability of the complaint

on its merits to survive a summary judgment motion

or support an award in law or equity after a full trial

is irrelevant. . . . Consequently, the district court con-

sidering a motion to dismiss for lack of standing ac-

cepts all material allegations in the complaint as true

and liberally construes the document in favor of the

plaintiff.

Id. at 1034 (citations omitted). Thus, Kuhn and Harris

have sufficiently alleged a personal stake in this litiga-

tion to justify the exercise of the court’s remedial powers

on their behalf. The litigants, then, have standing to main-

tain these suits.

In his dissent, infra at 33, Judge Easterbrook disagrees

with our analysis. He doubts that Kuhn and Harris ex-

perience the sort of injury necessary for standing. Judge

Easterbrook cites Lujan v. National Wildlife Federation,

110 S. Ct. 3177 (1990), to suggest that Kuhn and Harris

may not sufficiently have “proved” their injuries. We

disagree with this interpretation. Conferring standing

upon Kuhn and Harris in no way conflicts with Lujan.

On the contrary, Kuhn and Harris fully satisfy the logic

of Lujan.

In Lujan, a national wildlife group challenged the en-

tire “land withdrawal review program’”’ of the Bureau of

lla

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

Land Management. This program determined the status

of public land and its availability for private uses such

as mining. The plaintiffs claimed a right to challenge the

Bureau’s decisions under § 10(a) of the Administrative

Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. § 702, which provides: “A person

suffering legal wrong because of agency action, or adverse-

ly affected or aggrieved by agency action within the mean-

ing of a relevant statute, is entitled to judicial review

thereof.”” The Supreme Court determined that the plain-

tiffs did not satisfy § 702’s requirements for judicial

review because they failed to identify an ‘agency action”’

within the meaning of § 702. The court held that neither _

the allegations of the complaint nor the supporting affi-

davits “enable the respondents to challenge the entirety

of the so-called ‘land withdrawal review program.’ ”’ Id.

The Supreme Court, then, denied standing because the

plaintiffs failed to meet the statutory requirement that

they be adversely affected or aggrieved by an agency action.

We note that in its discussion of standing, the Lujan

Court focused on the allegations of the complaint and

turned to the affidavits to search for any saving support.

At no time did the Court state that well-pleaded allega-

tions of the complaint, if they appropriately identified an

“agency action,” would not be sufficiert to confer standing.

See 110 S. Ct. at 3189-93. The failure of the plaintiffs—evi-

dent in both the complaints and affidavits—was that they

sought “wholesale improvement of the ([Bureau’s] program

by court decree, rather than in the offices of the Depart-

ment [of the Interior] or the halls of Congress, where pro-

grammatic improvements are normally made.” Jd. at 3190.5

5 Even if Lujan somehow is read to stand for the dissent’s prop-

osition that the plaintiffs must be “‘put vo their proof,” the instant

cases are clearly distinguishable from Lujan. Lujan involved judi-

cial review of an administrative action; standing to challenge such

an action was determined by statutory interpretation. In Kuhn

and Harris, we must grapple with the meaning and implication

of the first amendment. Standing for Establishment Clause claims

should be determined primarily by applying the well-settled law

from prior Establishment Clause cases, not by applying an ill-

suited analysis from an inapposite case.

—

12a

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

Thus, when the dissent suggests that, after Lujan, Kuhn

and Harris ‘‘must do more than allege; in response to a

motion for summary judgment, they must produce affida-

vits showing the essential kind of injury,” it blurs the

distinction between the allegations sufficient to confer

standing and the evidence necessary to support a motion

for summary judgment. As to the former, our above re-

view of the plaintiffs’ well-pleaded allegations makes clear

that Kuhn and Harris have adequately alleged palpable

injuries. But as to the latter, we need consider further

both the governing law and the record to assess the dis-

sent’s ent that Kuhn and Harris have not sufficient-

ly ea their allegations of injury. Such an examination

leads us to conclude that the claims of Kuhn and Harris

do not suffer from a failure of proof.

Rule 56(e) states:

When a motion for summary judgment is made and

supported as provided in this rule, an adverse party

may not rest upon the mere allegations or denials

of the adverse party’s pleading, but the adverse par-

ty’s response, by affidavits or as otherwise provided

in this rule, must set forth specific facts showing that

there is a genuine issue for trial. If the adverse party

does not so respond, summary judgment, if appropri-

ate, shall be entered against the adverse party.

Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(e). These two sentences were added

in 1963 to overcome the line of cases, chiefly in the Third

Circuit, which had impaired the utility of the summary

judgment device by permitting the adverse party to rest

on the pleadings, which on their face may present a gen-

uine issue for trial. Rule 56 requires, then, that the ad-

verse party present some evidence to block a grant of

summary judgment for the movant. See Notes of Advisory

Committee on Rules, Fed. R. Civ. P. 56; see also Celotex

Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 324 (1986) (‘Rule 56] re-

quires the nonmoving party to go beyond the pleadings

and by her own affidavits, or by the depositions, answers

to interrogatories, and admissions on file, designate spe-

13a

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

cific facts showing that there is a genuine issue for trial.’’)

(quotations omitted).

A close examination of the record demonstrates the cor-

rectness of the district court’s finding that no material

facts were in dispute, making summary judgment an ap-

propriate resolution of these cases. The Cities of Rolling

Meadows and Zion simply failed to challenge the factual

allegations of injury that Kuhn and Harris declared in

their affidavits. For instance, in its answer to Kuhn’s mo-

tion for summary judgment, Rolling Meadows neglected

to oppose Kuhn’s statements that he seeks to avoid con-

tact with the Rolling Meadows seal and that the City

would not collect his personal refuse because he refused

to place the garbage in the official bag that depicts the

objectionable seal. Instead, the city argued that the seal

does not endorse religion. To that end, Rolling Meadows

submitted affidavits from several individuals to demon-

strate the absence of any sectarian endorsement.® By its

failure to challenge the declarations of injury in Kuhn’s

affidavit, the City of Rolling Meadows accepted those

statements as true, and waived any claim that Kuhn’s

allegations of injury present a triable issue.

Similarly, in Harris, the City of Zion also failed to chal-

lenge Harris’s declarations of injury contained in his af-

fidavit. Harris stated that he avoids certain routes that

bring him within visual contact of the Zion seal. Nowhere

does the City challenge these averments. Thus, like Rolling

Meadows, Zion must be deemed to have accepted these

declarations; therefore, there is no genuine issue of fact

suitable for trial concerning Harris’s injuries. As Fed. R.

Civ. P. 56(e) and Celotex instruct us, one of the principal

6 Specifically, Rolling Meadows submitted the affidavits of Cheryl

Knudsen Keifer, the school girl who designed the seal, Phil Prete,

a 1960 alderman of the city who participated in the seal’s adop-

tion, William Ahrens, a Rolling Meadows public official who de-

clares that the seal’s purpose is not to establish religion, and James

Muldowney, an engineer who measured the actual space that the

image of the cross occupies on the seal.

l4a

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

purposes of the summary judgment rule is to isolate and

ie pe of factually unsupported claiins or defenses. 477

U.S. at 324. The district court correctly employed the

mechanism of summary judgment in determining that Kuhn

and Harris provided sufficient, uncontested allegations of

injury.”

The dissent also employs a touch of hyperbole to add

vigor to its arguments. When discussing why the Harris

case “looks like a put-up job,” the dissent compares Har- '

ris’s claims of injury with the allegations in St. Charles

and Doe v. Village of Crestwood, 917 F.2d 1476 (7th Cir.

1990). The dissent describes how the plaintiffs in those

earlier cases were compelled by religious scruples ‘‘to

change the pattern of their lives.’ For Harris, the seal

is only ‘“‘an attractive nuisance, not an irritant compell-

ing changes of the sort we discussed in St. Charles and

Crestwood.” Infra at 34. But what, in fact, were the

injuries in St. Charles ana Crestwood that so outweigh

the injuries of Kuhn and Harris? In St. Charlies, the plain-

tiffs argued that ‘‘they were so offended by the lighted

7 In developing its argument that Kuhn and Harris have failed

in their proofs, the dissent mischaracterizes the record. For ex-

ample, the dissent states: ‘{Djespite what the majority says, Kuhn

does not allege that he goes out of his way to avoid public displays

of the seal. His affidavit umits any such assertion, contending in-

stead that he is embarrassed by the seal, and he does not enter

public buildings where it appears.” See infra at 37 (emphasis in

original). These statements are not accurate. First, as we have

described, Kuhn alleged specifically in his complaint (which is, of

course, the primary focus of the standing weet that “he will

often avoid using the route to the downtown area of Rolling Meadows

. . . Where the seal of the City of Rolling Meadows is most promi-

nently displayed.” See Third Amended Complaint, para. 8. Second,

in his affidavit submitted in support of his motion for summary

judgment, Kuhn states: “In order to avoid seeing the Rolling

Meadows seal, I avoid public offices of the City of Rolling Meadows

such as the City Hall and the Public Works Building.” See Affi-

davit of Theodore M. Kuhn, para. 5. As we discuss above, the city

never challenged this statement of injury. Nowhere in his affidavit

does Kuhn state that he is “embarrassed” by the seal.

15a

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

cross that they departed from their accustomed routes of

travel to avoid seeing it.” 794 F.2d at 267. Such an injury

was sufficient to confer standing on that plaintiff. (We note

that the objectionable government exhibit in St. Charles,

the lighted cross on top of the firehouse, was displayed

only at Christmas time for, at most, five weeks per year.)

In Crestwood, the injury that provided standing was sim-

ply that John Doe, a resident of the Village of Crestwood,

could not enjoy the use of a beer garden for a few hours

one afternoon each year. 917 F.2d at 1478. Hardly the

kind of injury that would lead to a change in the very

pattern of one’s life.

Kuhn and Harris at least endure as much of an injury

as did the plaintiffs in St. Charles and Crestwood. If any-

thing, Kuhn and Harris probably suffer an even greater

degree of distress due to the fact that the seals of Rolling

Meadows and Zion are displayed year-round, throughout

the cities, causing these plaintiffs to alter permanently

their behavior. Cf. Friedman v. Board of County Com-

missioners of Bernalillo County, 781 F.2d 777, 782 (10th

Cir. 1985) (Comparing the challenged seal of Bernalillo

County to the creche display in Lynch v. Donnelly, 465

U.S. 668 (1984), the Tenth Circuit noted, “The seal, unlike

the creche, pervades the daily lives of county residents;

[the creche] is displayed once a year for a brief period

on a single parcel of government land. [The seal] appears

on all county paper work, on all county vehicles, even on

county sheriff's uniforms.’’). Kuhn and Harris even offer

claims of injury that did not exist in St. Charles. Kuhn

alleges (and the City of Rolling Meadows admits) that he

is required to dispose of his refuse in garbage bags that

depict the seal. Both Kuhn and Harris allege (and both

cities admit) that they are required to display their Cities’

tax sticker, which contains the challenged seals, on their

car windshields.®

8 The dissent claims that the effect of Wooley v. Maynard, 430

U.S. 705 (1977), ought to be addressed. We fail to see how Wooley

(Footnote continued on following page)

16a

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

The dissent also argues that conferring standing on Kuhn

and Harris represents a departure from circuit precedent,

citing Judge Flaum’s opinion in Freedom from Religion

Foundation, Inc. v. Zielke, 845 F.2d 1463 (7th Cir. 1988).

We disagree. On the contrary, Zielke provides additional

support for our analysis and holding in the instant cases.

Zielke supports the proposition that well-pleaded allega-

tions of palpable injury will satisfy the standing require-

ment. The reason that the plaintiffs in Zielke failed to

obtain standing was not due to a “failure of proof.” In-

stead, the Zielke plaintiffs failed to satisfy the standing

requirement because they were unable to allege any true

injury. In Zielke, this court declared:

Provided a litigant alleges the existence of a distinct

and palpable injury, even a minor injury can satisfy

the case or controversy requirement of Article III

. . . . [The plaintiffs] allege that the display [of a

monument depicting the Ten Commandments in a

public park] is a rebuke to their religious beliefs and

that they are offended by its presence; but they ad-

mit that they have not altered their behavior as a

result of the monument. The psychological harm that

results from witnessing conduct with which one dis-

agrees, however, is not sufficient to confer standing

on a litigant.

845 F.2d at 1467 (citations omitted). Zielke supports con-

ferring standing upon Kuhn and Harris. The Zielke plain-

tiffs never argued that they changed their behavior, as

8 continued

applies to this case. There are simply no facts in the record to

indicate that Kuhn and Harris ever tried to cover up their vehi-

cle tax stickers, or how Rolling Meadows and Zion would react

if they attempted to do so. We can only speculate—or we could

deny standing because Kuhn and Harris did not cover up or cut

out the objectionable of their stickers and thereby incur crim-

inal liability, as did the plaintiffs in Wooley. Either of these ap-

proaches is misguided; there are sufficient allegations in the com-

plaints to confer standing on Kuhn and Harms.

17a

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

Kuhn and Harris have stated in both their complaints and

affidavits.

Behind this exposition of the case law “‘lies the prac-

tical recognition that if the injury, tenuous though it be,

suffered by the involuntary audience for a display alleged

to constitute an establishment of religion does not confer

standing to sue, there will be no judicial remedy against

establishments of religion that do not depend on public

funds.” St. Charles, 794 F.2d at 268. This “practical rec-

ognition” in no way suggests that Kuhn and Harris have

not satisfied the legal standards necessary for standing.

Instead, this notion only points out that if Kuhn and Har-

ris are not permitted to sue, then there is simply no way

to test the constitutionality of the city seals.

B. The Establishment Clause

We turn now to the merits of these appeals. Because

there were no material issues in dispute, the district court

appropriately resolved these cases on summary judgment.

It remains for us to correct the district court’s reluctance

to apply the full breadth of Establishment Clause free-

doms and to reiterate our commitment to an energetic

first amendment.

The first amendment provides that ‘“‘Congress shall make

no law respecting the establishment of religion, or pro-

hibiting the free exercise thereof.”’ U.S. Const. amend.

I. It is generally accepted that the framers had two pur-

poses in mind when they drafted the above quoted lan-

guage: “to prevent the establishment of a national church,

and to forbid a national preference of one Christian sect

over another.” American Jewish Congress v. City of Chi-

cago, 827 F.2d 120, 123 (7th Cir. 1987) (holding that the

placement of a nativity scene in Chicago’s City Hall fos-

tered an identification of the City with Christianity, thus

violating the Establishment Clause).

Perhaps originally the Religion Clauses merely sought to

protect the diversity of faiths and practices within Chris-

tianity itself. Thus, Joseph Story could fairly write that

18a

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

“the real object of the [first] amendment was, not to

countenance, much less to advance, Mahometanism, or

Judaism, or infidelity, by prostrating Christianity; but to

exclude all rivalry among Christian sects, and to prevent

any national ecclesiastical establishment, which should give

to a hierarchy the exclusive patronage of the national

government.” 2 J. Story, Commentaries on the Constitu-

tion of the United States § 1877 at 594 (1851) (quoted in

Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38, 52 n.36 (1985)). See also

American Jewish Congress, 827 F.2d at 123-24. But when

the principles of religious freedom and tolerance were ex-

amined “‘in the crucible of litigation,’’ the Supreme Court

“unambiguously concluded that . . . the first amendment

embraces the right to select any religious faith or none

at all.”” Wallace, 472 U.S. at 52-53.

In addition to the individual’s complete freedom of con-

science, “(t]he Religion Clauses also have come to stand

for the principle of governmental neutrality, meaning not

only that government should not favor one religion over

another, but also that government should not favor reli-

gion over nonreligion.” American Jewish Congress, 827

F.2d at 124. With the incorporation of first amendment

freedoms into the Due Process Clause of the fourteenth

amendment,® ‘t]he modern Supreme Court has treated

the establishment clause as a aeadins to the courts to

strike down all public acts, federal, state, and local, whose

primary purpose or predominant effect is to promote one

religious group at the expense of others or even promote

religion as a whole at the expense of the nonreligious,

a position that treats even the nonreligious simply as

another sect.”’ St. Charles, 794 F.2d at 270.

9 See Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296, 303 (1940) (“The fun-

damental concept of liberty embodied in [the fourteenth amend-

ment] embraces the liberties guaranteed by the first amendment.

The first amendment declares that Congress shall make no law

respecting an establishment of religion or prohibiting the free ex-

ercise thereof. The fourteenth amendment has rendered the legisla-

tures of the states as incompetent as Congress to enact such laws.’’).

19a

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

Needless to say, determining if a given public act pro-

motes a particular religious sect (including, as we have

said, the sect of nonbelievers) is no easy task. Yet, in this

delicate area of constitutional adjudication, we are re-

minded that the first amendment does not merely pro-

hibit the establishment of a state church or a state reli-

gion; instead, it demands that there should be no law even

respecting the establishment of religion. A given law or

governmental practice might not establish a state religion

but nevertheless be one “respecting” such a religion, and

hence offend the first lites. sare See Lemon v. Kurtz-

man, 403 U.S. 602, 612 (1971) (holding that the statutory

programs of Rhode Island and Pennsyivania that provide

state aid to church-related elementary and secondary schools

are unconstitutional). At the same time, “‘it has never been

thought possible or even desirable to enforce a regime of

total separation between religion and government.” Com-

mittee for Public Education v. Nyquist, 413 U.S. 756, 760

(1973). As a consequence, cases arising under the Religion

Clauses of the first amendment have presented some of

the most perplexing questions in constitutional law. /d.

Our task, then, is to assess the seals of Rolling Meadows

and Zion in light of these constitutional principles.

To determine if the challenged government conduct does

indeed offend the constitution, we rely upon the now fa-

miliar three-prong test that was first annvnciated in

Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602, and recently recon-

firmed in County of Allegheny v. American Civil Liber-

ties Union, 109 S. Ct. 3086.1° If a statute or practice that

10 The dissent expends considerable effort counting justices and

speculating on the future of Establishment Clause jurisprudence

in order to suggest that the holding of County of Allegheny is

“shaky at best.’ Infra at 40. We submit that the fact that Coun-

ty of Allegheny was a 5-4 decision, and that one of the members

of the majority has since left the court, is not relevant; County

of Allegheny is still the law of the land, and should be followed

by intermediate federal courts of appeals unless and until we are

given contrary direction from the Supreme Court.

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

touches upon religion is to be permissible under the Es-

tablishment Clause, then 1) it must have a secular pur-

pose (i.e. its purpose must not be to advance particular

religious beliefs); 2) it must neither advance nor inhibit

religion in its principal or primary effect; and 3) it must

not foster an excessive entanglement with religion. Coun-

ty of Allegheny, 109 S. Ct. at 3100; Lemon, 403 U.S. at

612-613. The challenged practice or statute—here the cor-

rate seal of Rolling Meadows and the seal, emblem ard

ogo of Zion—must pass each of these tests to be found

constitutional.

1. Rolling Meadows

The district court correctly limited the examination of

the constitutionality of the Rolling Meadows seal to the

second prong of Lemon; the seal neither evinces an illegit-

imate purpose nor fosters any religious entanglement.

Thus, the “effects” element forms the critical inquiry of

this appeal.

Briefly, as to the first Lemon element, it is clear that

Cheryl Knudsen, the school girl who essentially designed

the seal, acted with no unconstitutional purpose in mind.

Knudsen simply drew what she saw as she observed her

growing community. And in adopting Knudsen’s design in

celebration of the City’s fifth anniversary, Rolling Meadows

did not abandon its ad snare neutrality. See American

Jewish Congress, 827 F.2d at 126. The City Council adopted

the child’s entry in order to provide the City with a pleas-

ing design for its seal. There is no evidence to suggest

that the city sought to encourage religion in general or

Christianity in particular with the adoption and use of the

seal. That the City needed an official Rolling Meadows

seal to identify city property and correspondence is with-

out question. Thus, the secular purpose element of the

Lemon analysis is satisfied, as the City’s intent in adopt-

ing the seal was neither to advance nor inhibit religious

practice. See Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578, 585

(1987). See also Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668, 690

(1984) (O’Connor, J., concurring).

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

Similarly, the Rolling Meadows seal creates no entangle-

ment with religion. The fact that the seal happens to

depict a church in Ms. Knudsen’s neighborhood, the Com-

munity Church of Rolling Meadows, does not necessarily

entangle the city’s business with the mission of the de-

picted church. There is no evidence in the record to sug-

gest that the Community Church ever intruded into the

affairs of the City or that the City ever participated in

the policies or operations of the Community Church. Thus,

the third prong of the Lemon test is also satisfied.

The second, “‘effects’’ element of Lemon, however, is

not so easily met. The aim of the “effects” or endorse-

ment element is to prevent “government from conveying

or attempting to convey a message that religion or a par-

ticular religious belief is favored or preferred... .

Whether the word is endorsement, favoritism, or promo-

tion, the essential principle remains the same: the Estab-

lishment Clause prevents the government from appearing

to take a position on questions of religious belief.” County

of Allegheny, 109 S. Ct. at 3101 (quotation omitted). See

also Edwards, 482 U.S. at 593 (‘Because the primary pur-

pose of the Creationism Act is to advance a particular

religious belief, the Act endorses religion in violation of

the first amendment.”’).

In County of Allegheny, the Supreme Court found that

a Christmas nativity scene displayed on the Grand Stair-

case of the Allegheny County Gertheens endorsed a pat-

ently Christian message, thus violating the Establishment

Clause. By displaying the creche on the most prominent

part of the seat of county government, the county sent

an unmistakable message t!.at it supported and promoted

Christian praise to God. 109 S. Ct. at 3104. In the same

way, the obvious presence of a Latin cross on the cor-

porate seal of Rolling Meadows also endorses or promotes

a particular religious faith. It expresses an unambiguous

choice in favor of Christianity. It presents to any observer

a clear endorsement of all those beliefs associated with

a Latin cross in violation of the Establishment Clause of

the first amendment.

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

Like the seat of county government in County of Alle-

__ gheny, or the City Hall Building in American Jewish Con-

gress, the corporate seal of a municipality is ‘plainly under

government control . . . (and is) a clear symbol of govern-

ment power.” American Jewish Congress, 827 F.2d at

128. In fact, the Rolling Meadows seal presents a more

compelling case for finding the challenged display uncon-

stitutional. The City’s seal is a permanent statement that

is viewed year-round, while the creche is displayed only

seasonally amidst the secular celebration of Christmas.

The Latin cross oi the seal, then, brings together church

and state in a manner that suggests their alliance perhaps

even more ardently than the unconstitutional creche dis-

plays in County of Allegheny or American Jewish Con-

gress. The seal of Rolling Meadows acts as the City’s im-

primatur for official correspondence, property and busi-

ness. The conspicuous depiction of the pre-eminent symbol

of a particular faith on that seal conveys a message of

approval that is simply inconsistent with the first amend-

ment.

Relying on the presence of other images on the seal,

the district court found that “the relation of the chal-

lenged image before us, in the context we receive it, to

. religion, or more specifically Christianity, is weak.

. . - The remaining pictures sufficiently neutralize the seal

to avoid any religious me a lone or prominent cross

would convey.” Kuhn v. Rolling Meadows, 729 F.. Supp.

at 1248. Although we agree that the context surrounding

the challenged image is crucial,'! we do not agree that the

particular context in this case—the other images on the

seal—save the cross on the seal from an unconstitutional

endorsement of Christianity. The images on the seal are

is oe of Allegheny makes clear that the constitutionality of

ligious a will often depend upon its context. ‘The govern-

sy s use of religious aatedien is unconstitutional if it the

effect of endorsing religious beliefs, and the effect of the govern-

wn use of religious symbolism depends upon its context.” 109

. Ct. at 3103.

een ee

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

not just neutral snapshots of the community; they are

charged with endorsement. The City tries to hide behind

the fact that a young girl essentially designed the seal

with no attempt to endorse a particular faith. Yet, re-

gardless of its origins, the Rolling Meadows seal does pro-

mote the selected images it depicts. To any observer, the

Rolling Meadows seal expresses the City’s approval of

those four pictures of City life—its flora, its schools, its

industry and commercial life, and its Christianity.‘

It is this last expression of approval—Rolling Meadows’

endorsement of Christianity—that simply cannot withstand

constitutional scrutiny. The City argues that the cross on

the seal invokes Christianity no more than conventional

public acknowledgements of religion that continue to per-

vade American culture, such as the slogan “In God We

Trust” on U.S. currency. See, e.g., Lynch, 465 U.S. at

675 (“Our history is replete with official references to the

value and invocation of Divine guidance in deliberations

and pronouncements of the Founding Fathers and contem-

porary leaders.”). Yet, in the line-drawing process that

erects a “blurred, indistinct, and variable barrier’’ be-

tween legitimate invocations of the deity and unconstitu-

tional infringements, we have found that “the more sec-

tarian the display, the closer it is to the original targets

of the Establishment Clause, so the more strictly the

clause is applied.” St. Charles, 794 F.2d at 271. See also

Lemon, 403 U.S. at 614. The Latin cross on the Rolling

‘2 The Supreme Court has determined that, when evaluating the

government’s use of religious symbolism, the court must consider

observers of the symbolism to include both adherents and non-

adherents. “{Ajn important concern of the effects test is whether

the symbolic union of church and state effected by the challenged

vernmental action is sufficiently likely to be perceived by ad-

coventa of the controlling denominations as an endorsement, and

by the nonadherents as a disapproval of their individual religious

choices.” Grand Rapids School District v. Ball, 473 U.S. 373, 390

(1985). Because the cross in the Rolling Meadows seal endorses

Christianity, by implication it also expresses disapproval for diver-

gent religious opinions.

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

Meadows seal is surely a sectarian display. As such, we

hold that it endorses Christianity in violation of the first

amendment.

2. Zion

In Harris v. City of Zion, the district court found that

Zion’s seal, emblem and logo violates the “effects” or en-

dorsement element of the Lemon test. 729 F. Supp. at

1250. The district court suggested that the Zion seal, em-

blem and logo might also violate the “purpose” element

as well. Jd. at 1249-50. We agree with the district court’s

analysis. First, the purpose for the adoption of Zion’s

unique seal was primarily sectarian. In its adoption of its

seal, Zion abandoned fundamental neutrality and acted

with the intent to advance a particular religious viewpoint.

See American Jewish Congress, 827 U.S. at 126 (quoting

Corporation of Presiding Bishop v. Amos, 107 S. Ct. 2862,

2868 (1952)). Second, the seal, emblem, and logo continue

to endorse and promote that sect of Christianity that

founded the city and designed the seal in clear violation

of the first amendment.!*

As to the first point, Zion argues that, no matter what

the original City Council’s purpose in adopting the seal

in 1902, the current City Council voted to retain the seal

strictly for historical purposes. The City maintains that

because the City Council has the authority to modify the

seal at any time, the fact that the Council chose to re-

tain the seal for valid reasons provides a new, wholly

secular purpose to the seal’s adoption. Thus, the City ar-

13 Because we hold that the Zion seal, emblem and logo violate

the second element of the Lemon analysis, nothing more is re-

uired to demonstrate a violation of the Establishment Clause.

ounty of Allegheny, 109 S. Ct. at 3105. Yet, because the history

and purpose of the Zion seal is so much a part of this appeal, and

because of the inherent deli of first amendment adjudication,

we discuss the import of the first, “secular purpose” element of

Lemon as well.

ea FBT a ah At ENN NSA NNT aig tap i sil

a a Rn ele te

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

gues, Reverend Dowie’s glowing explanation of the seal’s

religious significance is no longer relevant. The City relies

on our statement in American Jewish Congress that the

original purpose of Chicago’s 1959 creche display does not

form the purpose of a similar display in 1985. See Amer-

ican Jeursh Congress, 827 F.2d at 126 (quoting Mayor

Daley’s 1959 comment on the Chicago nativity scene,*4

and concluding that, “although perhaps relevant to the

original purpose of the nativity scene, [Mayor Daley’s com-

ment] reveals little about the purpose behind the 1985-86

display.’’).

The district court distinguished Zion’s seal from the

Chicago nativity scene by noting that the creche must be

erected and dismantled each Christmas season, a practice

that requires a new purpose every year. The Zion seal,

on the other hand, was adopted by one legislative deci-

sion on May 6, 1902, and has remained essentially unal-

tered. Nevertheless, the City points to a May 20, 1986

resolution in which the Council voted to retain the seal

for historical reasons. The 1986 resolution, the City ar-

gues, is the true expression of purpose for the Zion seal.

We are not persuaded. ‘While the court is normally def-

erential to a state’s [or municipality’s] articulation of a

secular purpose, it is required that the statement of such

purpose be sincere and not a sham.” Edwards, 482 U.S.

at 586-87. See also Wallace, 472 U.S. at 64 (Powell, J.,

concurring); id. at 75 (O’Connor, J., concurring in judg-

ment). The minutes from the May 20, 1986 Council meet-

ing offer, at best, meager evidence to demonstrate that

the decision to retain the current seal was prompted by

a desire to honor Zion’s history. With such explicit reli-

gious design behind the seal’s original adoption in 1902,

something more than a perfunctory appeal to history is

14 Mayor Daley (the First) said of the nativity scene: ‘‘We are

a Christian nation. I think the more religion we can get in politics,

the better off we are.”” American Jewish Congress, 827 F.2d at

126.

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

required to legitimatize the underlying purpose of this par-

ticular seal.

Even if we accept the 1986 resolution as an “historical”’

revision of p , the Zion symbols constitute an uncon-

stitutional endorsement of Christianity, specifically, the

Christian Catholic sect that still flourishes in Zion. The

Zion seal presents the quintessential violation of the “long-

standing constitutional principle that government may not

engage in a practice that has the effect of promoting or

endorsing religious beliefs.’’ County of Allegheny, 109 S. Ct.

at 3115. The City argues that the symbols in the seal—

the shield, the sword or scepter, and the dove—do not

convey a religious message. The City maintains that to

the average resident who is not aware of Zion’s history,

the shield connotes achievement, the sword or scepter rep-

resents power or authority, and the dove suggests peace.

The City concedes, however, that the Latin cross is sin-

gularly religious.

We are not convinced. It may be true that each sym-

bol (with the exception of the cross), if taken individual-

ly, possesses several meanings, some religious and some

secular. But when all the symbols, including the cross,

are depicted in a single design under a flowing ribbon

which reads “God Reigns,” there is no question that the

message conveyed is not only religious, but also sectarian.'5

1S Again, we note that, when examining Zion’s use of Christian

symbolism in its corporate seal, we must consider the likely

perceptions of both adherents and nonadherents of the challenged

religious imagery. See supra at note 12. With this broad, objective

standard, the court must evaluate the overall impact of the seal,

emblem and logo. See Friedman v. Board of County Commission-

ers of Bernalillo County, 781 F.2d 777, 781 (10th Cir. 1985) (“The

existence of a non-secular effect is to be ju by an objective

standard, which looks only to the reaction of the average receiver

of the government communication or the average observer of the

government action.”). Thus, as the district court found on Zion’s

motion for reconsideration, the fact that the City’s mayor does

not believe that the seal conveys a religious message or that the

1600 residents who signed a petition do not feel that the seal

(Footnote continued on following page)

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

The cross, shield, sword, scepter, dove, and crown are per-

haps the most dominant and recurring images of Chris-

tianity. Depicting these patently religious symbols on a

corporate seal that is wholly owned and controlled by the

City connotes the City’s approval for the message con-

veyed. See American Jewish Congress, 827 F.2d at 128

(‘Because City Hall is so plainly under government own-

ership and control, every Fi te and activity in the build-

ing is implicitly marked with the stamp of government

approval.’’) With its Christian imagery, therefore, Zion’s

corporate seal, emblem, and logo inevitably create an un-

mistakable impression that the local government tacitly

endorses Christianity.

Perhaps Zion’s strongest argument lies in its claim that

its seal, emblem and logo merely commemorate the his-

torical origins of the City and, thus, convey no unconstitu-

tional endorsement. The seal does not advance religion,

Zion maintains, but only celebrates the City’s roots. This

argument is buttressed by the fact that the City of Zion

can indeed boast a unique history, which this court re-

spects. This religious heritage may deserve commemora-

tion. Nevertheless, the City may not honor its history by

retaining the blatantly sectarian seal, emblem, and logo.

These symbols transcend mere commemoration, and effec-

tively endorse or promote the Christian faith.

In Friedman, the only other case on record that in-

volves a seal containing a Latin cross, the Tenth Circuit

held that the county’s seal violated the Establishment

Clause because its depiction of a golden cross under the

Spanish motto, “CON ESTA VENCEMOS” (“With This

We Conquer’’), clearly endorsed Christianity as its prin-

cipal or primary effect. The Tenth Circuit enjoined the

county’s use of the challenged seal even though the reli-

1S continued

denotes discrimination is barely relevant, and clearly non-probative.

The key issue in this case is not the mayor’s views or even dis-

crimination. The question to be resolved solely involves the pri-

mary Fog wy and predominant effect of Zion’s seal, emblem and

logo. We find that purpose and effect to violate the first amendment.

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

gious imagery in the seal was said to commemorate the

role of the Catholic Church in the settlement of the South-

west. See 781 F.2d at 779. The City of Zion seeks to

distinguish its corporate seal from the seal of Bernalillo

County by noting that the Latin cross in the Zion seal

is smaller and shares space on the seal with a crown, a

scepter and a dove. We find this argument a baseless at-

tempt at distinction. Instead, we choose to follow the fun-

damental reasoning of the Tenth Circuit: “If the chal-

lenged practice is likely to be interpreted as advancing

religion, it has an impermissible effect and violates the

Constitution, regardless of whether it actually is intended

to do so.” Jd. at 781.

Zion’s seal, emblem, and logo do indeed endorse Chris-

tianity. As the district court found, nothing within the four

corners of Zion’s seal, emblem or logo detracts from their

sectarian message. No appeal to history can abate that

message when the images in the seal are abstract symbols

of a particular Christian sect. The Establishment Clause,

at the very least, “prohibits government from appearing

to take a position on questions of religious belief.”” County

of Allegheny, 109 S. Ct. at 3101. The resulting endorse-

ment of religion need not be material or tangible; an im-

plicit symbolic benefit is enough. Friedman, 781 F.2d at

781 (construing Larkin v. Grendel’s Den, 459 U.S. 116,

125 (1982)). Thus, Zion’s use of its current seal, emblem,

and logo must be discontinued due to their unconstitution-

al endorsement of Christianity.

III. Conclusion

We hold that the corporate seal of the City of Rolling

Meadows and the seal, emblem and logo of the City of

Zion represent unconstitutional endorsements of a partic-

ular religious faith. Accordingly, we affirm the district

court’s judgment in Harris v. Zion, and reverse in Kuhn

v. City of Rolling Meadows. Thus, both cities are perma-

nently enjoined from continued use of their seals (and in

Zion's case, its emblem and logo as well) in their present

unconstitutional forms.

29a

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

APPENDIX A

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

APPENDIX B

3la

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

APPENDIX C

44, Y Z Ay

JE OM,

"ig

—~ AA a

32a

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

APPENDIX D

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

EASTERBROOK, Circuit Judge, dissenting. Applying

Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971), to religious sym-

bols on city seals is no cakewalk. Lemon’s “three-part

test” is not a test. It is a triad of questions, the answers

to which conflict in all interesting cases. Conflict is what

makes a case worth litigating. How to resolve conflicts?

It is easy to list things to inquire about and hard to estab-

lish weights that produce outcomes congruent with the

Constitution. Lemon does the former but not the latter.

You need an understanding of the religion clauses, not

a list of factors, to resolve tough cases such as ours. Be-

fore giving a constitutional opinion, however, we should

be sure that there is a case or controversy. I have my

doubts, and it is on this ground that the majority and

I part company.

I

Plaintiffs say that they must go out of their way to

avoid pee Ree. geo symbols. This sort of allegation we

deemed sufficient in ACLU v. City of St. Charles, 794

F.2d 265, 267-69 (7th Cir. 1986), and Doe v. Village of

Crestwood, 917 F.2d 1476, 1478 (7th Cir. 1990). Stand-

ing sometimes depends on an “identifiable trifle”. Claims

about detours are about as trifling as one can produce.

They sidle up against the line drawn by Valley Forge

Christian College v. Americans United For Separation

of Church and State, Inc., 454 U.S. 464 (1982), which holds

that offense taken at the government’s complicity in reli-

gion does not create standing. Cf. Allen v. Wright, 468

U.S. 787 (1984). If offense is not enough, why is a detour

attributable to that offense enough? The answer cannot

be, as my colleagues say, that the willingness to take a

detour ‘“‘validates the existence of genuine distress” (ma-

jority op. at 9); Valley Forge tells us that dismay does

not establish standing, and therefore new and better ways

to prove its existence cannot create standing. St. Charles

holds instead that the detour narrows the class of plain-

tiffs and scope of dispute. If that is its function then we

must ensure, when the plaintiffs’ claims are challenged,

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

that they have changed their daily constitutionals, that

we are indeed dealing with injured rather than ideologi-

cal plaintiffs. Both cities contested the plaintiffs’ claims,

yet the district court decided the cases without resolving

these disputes.

My colleagues say that in determining standing to sue

the allegations of the complaint must be taken as gospel.

Some lan in St. Charles looks in this direction, dis-

tinguishing the allegations needed to establish standing

from the proof needed to prevail, 794 F.2d at 269, but

the defendants there conceded the plaintiff's detour. These

cities do not concede that the plaintiffs have rearranged

their daily routines to avoid exposure to religious sym-

bols. Quite the contrary, Zion contends that Harris moved

in precisely because of the imagery in its seal. Harris

related during his deposition that he had been recruited

by the Society of Separationists as a potential plaintiff

(apparently none of the existing residents of the city ob-

jected to the seal). He moved to a — house within

the city’s limits and lent his name to the oe This

looks like a put-up job, distinct from the claim in St.

Charles and Crestwood that long-time residents had been

compelled by religious scruples to change the patterns of

their lives. Harris has not incurred a “tangible, albeit

small cost that validates the existence of genuine distress”

(majority op. at 9); he has incurred a tangible cost to ex-

pose himself to the seal. For Harris the seal is an attrac-

tive nuisance, not an irritant compelling changes of the

sort we discussed in St. Charles and Crestwood. At the

end of the day, what matters is that St. Charles recog-

nized that the plaintiff could not prevail without proving

the “detour” allegations of the complaint. 794 F.2d at 269.

Today’s opinion dispenses with that requirement.

Ought we render constitutional judgment on the theory

that federal courts are bound to accept whatever the

scrivener put in the complaint? Then parties could con-

fer jurisdiction on a court by consent, and collusive litiga-

tion would burgeon. Impositions on federal courts could

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

flourish: one citizen of Illinois could sue another under the

diversity jurisdiction by alleging that he is a citizen of

Indiana, and despite the defendant’s protests the court

would not examine the veracity of the allegation. Yet

courts do examine the jurisdictional allegations of com-

plaints—that is what 28 U.S.C. $1359 and Fed. R. Civ.

P. 12(bX1), among other tools, are for.

Lujan v. National Wildlife Federation, 110 S. Ct. 3177

(1990), furnishes an example. The D.C. Circuit allowed an

inference of standing from the general allegations of the

complaint, despite a challenge by the defendants and an

inability of the plaintiffs to substantiate their allegations

with proof. The Supreme Court reversed, holding that

plaintiffs must do more than allege; in response to a mo-

tion for summary judgment, they must produce affidavits

showing the essential kind of injury. So it should be in

our cases. So it has been in the past in this circuit. Plain-

tiffs in Freedom from Religion Foundation, Inc. v. Zielke,

845 F.2d 1463 (7th Cir. 1988), contended that a monument

displaying the Ten Commandments violated the establish-

ment clause. Most of the plaintiffs said that they took of-

fense; we deemed this insufficient under Valley Forge.

One of their number, Phyllis Grams, alleged that she lived

nearby. This, too, we held insufficient:

Although Grams lives in the City of La Crosse, the

appellants did not demonstrate that she lives any-

where near Cameron Park, that the monument is

visible in the course of her normal routine, or that

her usual driving or walking routes take her past the

park. The appellants also failed to establish that

Grams suffered any injury simply because of her close

proximity to the . . . allegedly unconstitutional dis-

play. We therefore conclude that Grams cannot estab-

ish Article III standing simply on the basis of her

alleged but unproven proximity to the offending conduct.

845 F.2d at 1469. If Phyllis Grams had to prove her claims

when challenged, why not Clint Harris and Theodore Kuhn?

See also O'Hair v. White, 675 F.2d 680, 696 & n.35 (Sth

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

Cir. 1982) (in banc) (plaintiff must prove the factual allega-

tions used to establish standing); Citizens Concerned for

Separation of Church and State v. Denver, 628 F.2d 1289,

1298 (10th Cir. 1980). A requirement of proof is essential

to avoid unnecessary constitutional adjudication, and I do

not see why we should go out of our way (take a detour?)

to undermine that safeguard.

Doubtless there is a sense in which failure of proof does

not abolish standing. A plaintiff suing a driver who, he

says, ran him down in the street, loses outright if the

evidence shows that the injury was suffered falling down

stairs at home; we do not retroactively dismiss for want

of standing. It is easy to marshal cases for this proposi-

tion; the majority does so, citing not only St. Charles but

also South East Lake View Neighbors v. rtment of

Housing and Urban Development, 685 F.2d 1027, 1034

(7th Cir. 1982). Little beyond nomenclature is at sake,

because both of these cases recognize that the plaintiff

must prove the allegations in order to ching? my as Lujan

held. See also Crawford v. United rates, 96 F.2d 924,

928-29 (7th Cir. 1986).

Failure of proof is not the only problem. I doubt that

the ~——— establish standing even if they can be

roved. The cities put their seals on vehicle stickers, gar-

age bags: public buildings and cars, and public docu-

ments. Plaintiffs object to all of these, but most of these

uses do not lead to an alteration in conduct. Harris’s com-

plaint, for example, protests the appearance of the seal

on mail Zion sends him. But he does not allege that these

symbols lead him to alter his conduct in any fashion. So

too with the seal on the stickers that demonstrate pay-

ment of the vehicle tax: Harris contends that he avoids

looking at the sticker, but this is hardly a detrimental

alteration in conduct; drivers are supposed to look at the

road ahead of them, not at tax stickers. Even this tiny

inconvenience could be eliminated. Someone with a sim-

ple self-help remedy for his problem suffers no “‘inj

in fact” and is not entitled to a judicial remedy that ad-

versely affects the interests of his neighbors who may like

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

the seals. Plaintiffs have such a remedy. Wooley v. May-

nard, 430 U.S. 705 (1977), allows plaintiffs to cut out or

cover up the objectionable portions of the seals. Drivers

may not be conscripted as billboards for ideas of which

they disapprove. So too with the imprinting of seals on

the garege bags Rolling Meadows supplies. If it tried

to stop Kuhn from using bags without seals he would have

standing—but only to claim his _ under Wooley to edit

the bags. For all we can tell, the city has no objection

to redaction. Counsel for Kuhn said at oral argument that

Rolling Meadows does not pick up from that

do not bear the seal. But the record not reveal whether

this is because of the absence of the seal or because the

substitute bags were the wrong size or material. Silence

pag vor pe of this nature is not a firm basis for reaching

a difficult constitutional question. At all events, our plain-

tiffs lack standing to stop other persons from having or

using the seals. Could Maynard have obtained an injunc-

tion blocking New Hampshire from putting ‘Live Free

or Die” on any license plates? I doubt it.

The public seals (e.g., on the water tower in Zion) give

the best case for standing, because residents then may

say: “I take a longer route to avoid viewing that seal.”

There are two problems. First, despite what the majority

says, Kuhn does not allege that he goes out of his way

to avoid public displays of the seal. His affidavit omits

any such assertion, contending instead that he is embar-

rassed by the seal, and that he does not enter public

buildings where it appears. (Would he have used these

buildings in the absence of the seal?) Second, allegations

of this kind, if proven, challenge only the display of

the seal in a particular place, not its composition. St.

Charles allowed the plaintiff to object to a particular,

visible cross; we did not say that because the city erected

a 35-foot, lighted cross in public, the plaintiff could obtain

an order forbidding, say, a crucifix on the mayor’s desk.

The constitutional injury could be eliminated by taking

down the cross; here any injury could be eliminated by

removing the seals from the water tower and other public

places.

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

Knowing that someone, somewhere, is using a seal with

a cross yields purely abstract injury, a demand that the

first amendment be enforced for its own sake. Under

Valley Forge neither Harris nor Kuhn has standing to

challenge internal use, any more than they would have

— eon iy an icon in the rp office, or a

créche being stored in the basement of city hall. Even

if they had standing, they could not prevail on the merits.

Bowen v. Roy, 476 U.S. 693, 699-701 (1986). Perhaps one

could say that they have “standing”’ once they come across

a single seal but that the relief should be limited to get-

ting the seals out of the public eye, but this would be

a detail. What matters is that they have asked for—and

the majority gives them—relief more extensive than that

necessary to eliminate their injuries. Call it standing, call

it redressability, call it (following Roy) the limited scope

of permissible relief on the merits, the point is the same.

They have at most an entitlement to the obliteration of

the symbols that cause detours; any more extensive relief

is unwarranted. We should dismiss the complaints to the

extent they challenge anything other than placements that

lead to inconvenient detours, and remand the residue with

instructions to put plaintiffs to their proof.

My colleagues’ unwillingness to do this stems in part

from their belief that if the plaintiffs lack standing, then

“there is simply no way to test the constitutionality of

the city seals” (majority op. at 17). This misunderstands

two things: my position, and the Constitution. I do not

say that the plaintiffs lack standing utterly; I contend,

rather, that the district court should determine whether

the plaintiffs’ factual assertions are true. If these plain-

tiffs cannot prove their allegations, perhaps some other

residents of Zion and Rolling Meadows could. One who

says that he was run down by a truck must prove it, and

the demand for proof no more obliterates tort litigation

than my position would wipe out establishment clause liti-

gation. But if it did, so what? Article III of the Constitu-

tion limits judicial power to cases and controversies. If

because no one is injured there is no controversy, then

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

the Constitution demands that the court dismiss the suit.

There is no exception for subjects that as a result can-

not be raised at all. “ ‘The assumption that if [plaintiffs]

have no standing to sue, no one would have standing, is

not a reason to find standing.’ Schlesi v. Reservists

Committee to Stop the War, 418 U.S. (208,] 227 [(1984)].

This view would convert standing into a requirement that

must be observed only when satisfied.” Valley Forge, 454

U.S. at 489. Constitutional decisions ma sme A necessary in

the course of deciding real cases. Marbury v. Madison,

5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137 (1803). Courts do not create cases

so that they will have the opportunity to render constitu-

tional decisions. Adjudication is a byproduct of a real con- -

troversy, and not the other way around. If there is no

case, then there is no occasion for deciding a constitutional

question, and we should not mourn or struggle st

this allocation of governmental = Hewitt v. Helms,

482 U.S. 755, 7616 -62 (1987); Alliance to End Repression

v. Chicago, 820 F.2d 873, 876 (1987).

II

I comment briefly on the merits because we may not

be the final decision-makers.

The establishment clause of the first amendment, as I

understand it, forbids taxation and coercion in ate as of

religion but does not forbid the disp yf of religious sym-

bols. Allegheny County v. ACLU, 109 S. Ct. 3086, ae

(1989) (Kennedy, J., dissenting); American Jewish Congres

v. Chicago, 827 F.2d 120, (7th Cir. 1987) (Easter-

brook, J., dissenting). I omit the line of argument that

produces this conclusion and refer readers to my earlier

opinion and Justice Kennedy’s (which Chief Justice Rehn-

quist and Justices White and Scalia joined). Religious im-

agery on city seals does not raise taxes (seals with crosses

are no more costly to produce than seals using other sym-

bols) or penalize non-observance. The Constitution distin-

guishes threats from shadows. Zion’s seal has been in use

for 89 years without stifling religious diversity or slow-

zs Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

ing the conversion of a religious enclave to a secular city.

Not one resident of Zion other than Harris has expressed

concern. Instead of driving non-believers away, the seal

attracted Harris to it.

_ Perhaps a seal could penalize non-belief by striking fear

into the hearts of viewers. See Friedman v. Board ©

County Commissioners, 781 F.2d 777 (10th Cir. 1985) (in

banc). “Con esta vencemos”, Bernalillo County’s slogan,

was one the Jesuits used when burning heretics. When

the police cars bearing it toured a predominantly Indian

population, which had been mistreated by the Christians,

there was reason to fear that the “Christian police” were

at hand, —- with the Graid Inquisitor in tow. 781

F.2d at 779. Zion’s seal carries no such message to an

objective (or any other) observer, and Rolling Meadows’

is pallid.

Justice Kennedy’s views did not prevail in Allegheny.

Three justices (Brennan, Marshall, & Stevens, JJ.) took

a strict separatist position, and two (Blackmun & O’Con-

nor, JJ.) reached the conclusion that a local government

may use religious symbols if it does not “endorse’’ reli-

gion. 109 S. Ct. at 3100-01. That two-justice position, the

most narrow offered in support of the judgment, is the

“holding” of Allegheny. Marks v. United States, 430 U.S.

188, 193 (1977). Any legal position rejected by seven jus-

tices is shaky at best, and we cannot be confident that it

will survive. Stability has not been a notable feature of

establishment clause jurisprudence. No one should be sur-

prised if the view held by four justices, one with deeper

historical roots, see AJC, 827 F.2d at 135-37, eventually

obtains a majority.

Applying the two-justice ‘no endorsement” view to city

seals produces nothing but headaches. What is endorse-

ment in a world pervaded by religious imagery, from ‘the

eye in the Great Seal of the United States (the eye of

God in a pyramid representing the Christian Trinity) to

“In God We Trust” on the coinage to Thanksgiving Day

(to Whom are thanks being given?) to the religious stamps

4la

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

the Postal Service issues at Christmas and Easter to the

names of our cities (Los Angeles, San Francisco, Corpus

Christi) and submarines (the same list; there is even a

‘“‘Los Angeles class” of submarines)? See Aronow v. United

States, 432 F.2d 242 (9th Cir. 1970); O’Hair v. Murray,

588 F.2d 1144 (5th Cir. 1979). Did the United States en-

dorse a particular religion when putting “Corpus Christi”’

on a submarine? But perhaps the name’s significance has

been forgotten, or is overlooked in daily use. Why not

say the same about the imagery on seals?

Does the city “endorse” everything on its seals? The

majority answers yes and on this ground gives judgment

for the plaintiffs. But Justices Blackmun and O’Connor

did not cleave to such a view. Allegheny involved religious

symbols on public property. The justices could have said

that a city necessarily endorses whatever appears in its

halls. Had they done this, the Court would have held un-

constitutional the placement of a huge menorah in front of

Pittsburgh’s city hall. Yet the Court sustained the place-

ment, because a nearby Christmas tree withdrew any im-

plication that the city endorsed Judaism. Should one not

say the same thing for at least the Rolling Meadows seal,

in which the cross is surrounded by secular symbols, in-

cluding a leaf, a school, and a water tower? The major-

ity’s riposte—whatever the city prints, it endorses—is in-

consistent with the views of six justices in Allegheny.

Cases such as ours show some of Lemon’s problems.

The majority immediately throws away one “prong” of

its test for both cases, and a second tine (“purpose’’)

sloughs off for Rolling Meadows. Everything collapses to

the no-endorsement rule, one more compelling if divorced

from the three-part test (or as advanced thinkers call it

these days, ‘‘tri-partite inquiry”). Why use three parts

when only one matters?

A majority of the Court has reached this conclusion,

making our reference to Lemon cutdated. The four dis-

senting justices in Allegheny withheld support, 109 S. Ct.

at 3134, and Justice O’Connor, who provided the essen-

tial fifth vote for the majority, did so without relying on

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

Lemon, a case of which she has been critical. Aguilar v,

Felton, 473 U.S. 402, 426-30 (1985) (O’Connor, J., dissent-

ing). Thus only four justices relied on Lemon in Allegheny.

Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668 (1984), the Court’s other

recent case dealing with religious symbols, also bypasses

the Lemon ‘“‘tests’’. We should take this cue and do like-

wise.

To see why Lemon has lost its tang one need look no

further that the majority’s application of its purpose

prong. My colleagues say that Zion’s seal violates the first

amendment because it was designed by Rev. Dowie and

adopted by the city council in 1902 to carry out the re-

ligious mission of the Christian Catholic Church. Indeed

so; Zion was founded as a religious utopian community,

and the Theocratic Party governed for more than two '

generations. In 1902 no one would have given this a sec-

ond thought: the speech clause of the first amendment

was not applied to the states until Gitlow v. New York,

268 U.S. 652 (1925), and the religion clauses were not ex-

tended to the states for another 27 years. Zorach v.

Clauson, 343 U.S. 306 (1952). Given our commitment to

cultural and religious diversity, Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 .

U.S. 205 (1972), the establishment of religious communities

is unexceptionable. Many of this Nation’s founders sought

to establish religiously identifiable communities, and their

value has been shown recently by the Mormons, who

needed separate communities to survive hostility to their

beliefs, and 7 the Amish, whose a of life is tightly

integrated with their religious beliefs. The purpose behind

Zion’s creation—of which its seal is only an incidental

part—does not count against it.

Why should a purpose to promote religion ever condemn

an act of government? Often it does not: all of the accom-

modation-of-religion cases flunk this purpose inquiry, yet

many accommodation rules are sustained and, when doing

this, the Court ignores Lemon. Michael W. McConnell, Ac-

commodation of Religion, 1985 Sup. Ct. Rev. 1. Other

laws have religious purposes (e.g., the Sunday closing

laws) but are sustained because they also have secular

purposes.

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

Suppose Zion originally built schools because Rev. Dowie

said they made for better missionaries. Would the schools

in Zion have to be torn down? Fra Angelica painted to

glorify the Roman Catholic Church; do we doubt that the

display of his paintings in the National Gallery has a

secular purpose? Why would the purpose of maintaining

the seal in Zion be different? If there is something wrong

with the seal, how about the city’s name? This, too, was

picked for a religious purpose and conveys a religious

message—more potent than the seal. Must the city change

its name?

The majority allows that a genuine change of heart can

cleanse the improper motive. Yet why has not Zion had

a change of heart? Are we looking into the heads of the

members of the city council who voted in 1986 to retain

the seal for (they assert) historical reasons? The Theo-

cratic Party lost power in Zion more than 40 years ago

and is defunct. So far as the record shows, not one mem-

ber of Zion’s city council belongs to the Christian Catho-

lic Church or owes office to constituents who support that

faith. Before declaring that the current purpose of the seal

is religious, we would need a trial that has not yet oc-

curred. Zion can’t lose a motive question on an empty

record. (There were fat records in Edwards v. Aguillard,

1 578 (1987), and Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38

(1985).)

So we should bypass Lemon as Justice O’Connor did

in Allegheny and ask her question directly: would an ob-

jective observer view these seals as endorsements of

Christianity? Whether the observer would have this re-

action gives me more trouble than it does the majority.

The imagery in Zion’s seal is overwhelming, but the his-

torical context may prevent an informed observer from in-

ferring contemporary endorsement. As for Rolling Meadows:

its seal is not powerfully Christian. The object of every-

one’s attention looks more like a telephone pole than a

cross; its arms are too short to crucify anyone. The orig-

inal plaintiff dropped out because he came to conclude that

the symbol is a utility pole in front of an industrial build-

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1678

ing. We know, from the affidavit of the artist, that it was

meant to be a cross, but an objective observer lacks this

knowledge. I do not think we can say, as the majority

does (op. at 4), that it is “‘no doubt” a cross. It is ‘‘ob-

viously” a cross only after you know the genesis of the

seal, whici is to say that to the outside observer it is

not obviously a cross. It is enough, however, that Rolling

Meadows concedes that an observer would take this as

a cross, and we ought to accept the concession rather than

treat the ddbotable as obvious.

How, then, are we to carry out the tasks set for us by

Justices Blackmun and O’Connor? There is no straightfor-

ward way—perhaps no way, period—to do so. Which may

indicate that we have been sent on a wild goose chase,

that the proper answer lies along the path of the sepa-

ratists (Justices Brennan, Marshall, and Stevens) or along

the path marked by Justice Kennedy. The best I can do

is to predict that Justices Blackmun and O’Connor would

condemn the use of any religious imagery not nestled in

a secular context. What kind of context? We discussed

the subject in Crestwood, 917 F.2d at 1478-79:

Two contexts mattered—first the season, for in each ~

case [Allegheny and its predecessor Lynch] the gov-

ernment was displaying the symbols appropriate to

the time of year; sno bo the immediately surrounding

symbols, for in each case the government was dis-

playing an assortment of symbols appropriate to all

aspects of the holidays. Christmas and Hanukkah are

secular as well as religious holidays; to use symbols

appropriate to all aspects of the occasion is not to

endorse a particular religion. Mather v. Village of

Mundelein, 864 F.2d 1291 (7th Cir. 1989). If Christ-

mas may be a secular holiday, the state may recog-

nize whose birthday is being commemorated.

Zion’s symbols do not have a secular context of any sort.

Rolling Meadows is not trying to put the cross in a sea-

sonal context and is not displaying all of the symbols for

an occasion. It selected a few, which are unrelated ex-

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673 y

cept by being within the borders of the city. Governance

is not a “context’’ that drains the siynificance of a reli-

gious image.

So long as the two-justice position in Allegheny rules,

we must condemn these seals (if we reach the merits).

This approach avoids the need to apply judicial aesthetic

judgment, or perhaps recur to the gestalt psychologists.

I don’t know ats to determine what observers think, if

they think at all about these seals. Line drawing in this

area will be erratic and heavily influenced by the personal

views of the judges. We ought to use bright line rules,

and Allegheny (while it lasts) admits of this one.

A true Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

USCA 79004—Midwest Law Printing Co., Inc., Chicago—3-19-91—500

46a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Chicago, Illinois 60604

June 10, 1991

Before

Hon. WILLIAM J. BAUER, Chief Judge

Hon. WALTER J. CUMMINGS, Circuit Judge

Hon. HARLINGTON WooD, JR., Circuit Judge

Hon. RICHARD D. CuDAHY, Circuit Judge

Hon. RICHARD A. POSNER, Circuit Judge

Hon. JOHN L. CoFFEY, Circuit Judge

Hon. JOEL M. FLauM, Circuit Judge

Hon. FRANK H. EASTERBROOK, Circuit Judge

Hon. KENNETH F. RIPPLE, Circuit Judge

Hon. DANIEL A. MANION, Circuit Judge

Hon. MICHAEL S. KANNE, Circuit Judge

No. 90-1542

CLINT W. HARRIS and

THE SOCIETY OF SEPARATIONISTS, INC.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

v.

CiTy OF ZION, LAKE COUNTY, ILLINOIS,

MAYOR OF ZION and ZION CITY COUNCIL,

Defendants-Appeliants.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Illincis, Eastern Division.

No. 87 C 7204—James B. Zagel, Judge.

(Caption continued on following page)

47a

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

No. 90-1673

THEODORE M. KUHN and

THE SOCIETY OF SEPARATIONISTS, INC.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

Vv.

CITY OF ROLLING MEADOWS, MAYOR OF

ROLLING MEADOWS and THE ROLLING

MEaADOwsS CITY COUNCIL,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division.

No. 87 C 7205—James B. Zagei, Judge.

ORDER

Defendants-Appellants, the City of Zion, the Mayor of

Zion and the Zion City Council, and Defendants-Appellees,

the City of Rolling Meadows, the Mayor of Rolling Meadows

and the Rolling Meadows City Council, filed petitions for

rehearing and suggestions of rehearing in banc on April

2, 1991. All members of the panel voted to deny the peti-

tions for rehearing. A vote of the active members of the

court was requested, and a majority of the active judges

have voted to deny a rehearing in banc. Circuit Se

Cudahy, Posner, Coffey, Manion and Kanne voted to grant

rehearing in banc. The petitions for rehearing are there-

fore DENIED.

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

EASTERBROOK, Circuit Judge, concurring in the denial

of rehearing in bane. My vote against rehearing does not

reflect second thoughts about the position stated in my

dissenting — or doubt about the importance of the

issues. I believe, instead, that the case should proceed

without further delay to the Court that can resolve the

issues the panel addressed. Cf. Lee v. Weisman, 111 S.

Ct. 1305 (1991), granting cert. to review 908 F.2d 1090

(1st Cir. 1990).

CUDAHY, Circuit Judge, with whom MANIoN, Cireuit Judge,

joins, dissenting from denial of rehearing en banc.

Whatever else may be said about the panel opinion (Harris

v. City of Zion, No. 90-1542; Kuhn v. City of Rolling

Meadows, No. 90-1673, slip op. (7th Cir. Mar. 19, 1991)),

its potential impact is sweeping. The rationale that any

religious reference (“endorsement” is a misnomer) in a

municipality’s mark or name is constitutionally suspect ap-

parently puts in jeopardy the names of famous cities across

the land. St. Louis, Santa Fe, Los Angeles—even places

like Devil’s Head and Hell’s Canyon (diabolism?)}—come to

mind, not to mention Zion itself. The resonantly Biblical

name ‘Zion’ for a city, under the present logic, advances

and endorses Judaism or Christianity or both.

I think that the district court had it right in Rolling

Meadows. Assuming that the diminutive symbol in question

is a Roman cross—it might be a telephone pole—any mes-

sage of endorsement is either non-existent or de minimis.

There is little evidence of meaningful offense from the

fancied religious implications of this ambiguous design—

created by a schoolchild. The plaintiffs’ injury is elusive,

and I share Judge Easterbrook’s doubt whether it is the

sort of harm that rises to a “‘case or controversy” or the

type of injury crying out for constitutional redress. Cf.

Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans United for

Separation of Church and State, Inc., 454 U.S. 464, 482-87

49a

- Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673

(1982) (simple offense at perceived constitutional violation

not enough to provide standing).

The Zion seal has been part of that city’s nearly 100-

year history, and has always been so regarded (with af-

fection and pride) until the plaintiff's claim of harm im-

plausibly conjured up the First Amendment. Again, the

claim of injury seems not only too far-fetched to win ‘“‘case

or controversy” status but actually appears manufactured

for purposes of litigation only. In any event the Zion seal

merely reflects an historical fact—that the city was founded,

named and emblematized as an act of protestant evange-

lism. It is not the function of the courts to cause the his-

torical facts to vanish—even through a whiff of the First

Amendment. |

If the seal of Salt Lake City were to show Brigham

Young emerging from the mountains toward the valley

of the Great Salt Lake with the Book of Mormon (or even

the golden plates of Joseph Smith) tucked under his arm,

anyone with a common sense of history would see this as

reflecting a dramatic event in American history—hardly

as an endorsement of a religion. In fact, there were ex-

cellent reasons why the Mormons might have named their

Utah destination ‘‘Zion”!—thereby catching themselves in

the constitutional snares of the present doctrine.

This analysis to meet the Lemon test, Lemon v.

Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602, 612-13 (1971). In Rolling Meadows

only the “effects” prong is arguably implicated and it seems

to me that the seal gives rise to no effects of consequence.

In Zion both the “effects” and the “purpose” prongs are

met by the historical setting of the seal. Any religious

purpose resides far in the past while the current purpose

is purely commemorative, and the present effects of the

seal are only to call a unique history to mind.

The history of the city of Zion (Illinois) cannot be erased

or obliterated. The city has stood for almost a hundred

1 Cf. Zion National Park in southwestern Utah.

50a

Nos. 90-1542 & 90-1673 «

years as a memento of Christian evangelism. To destroy

the seal, which contemporaneously reflected the founding

of the city, is to demean an important value in the name of

a threat which simply isn’t there. It is significant that the

Zion city council, containing no members of the “Chris-

tian Catholic” sect and presumably therefore victims rather

than beneficiaries of the seal’s imagined religious implica-

tions, voted with enthusiasm to keep it as their historical

heritage.

The ‘wall of separation’”’ between church and state is

not in question, but we need not sprinkle broken glass

and string barbed wire on top. This important opinion

needs careful reconsideration by the whole court and/or

the United States Supreme Court.

A true Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

USCA 79004—Midwest Law Printing Co., Inc., Chicago—6-10-91—500

5la

Clint W. HARRIS, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

v.

CITY OF ZION, et al.,

Defendants.

Theodore M. KUHN,

Plaintiffs,

v.

CITY OF ROLLING MEADOWS, et al.,

Defendants.

Nos. 87 C 7204, 87 C 7205.

United States District Court,

N.D. Illinois E.D.

Feb. 9, 1990

Residents of two cities and a separationist organization

brought action against the two cities for declaratory and

injunctive relief, seeking to enjoin further display of religious

symbols on the cities’ corporate seals. Plaintiffs moved for

summary judgment. The District Court, Zagel, J., held that: (1)

the first city’s seal’s principal or primary effect was not one that

advanced religion, and (2) the second city’s seal’s emblem and

logo had the effect of endorsing a Christian message.

Grai ted in part, and denied in part.-

1. Constitutional Law

Presence of cross on city’s corporate seal did not have

principal or primary effect of advancing religion, and thus, did

not violate First Amendment’s establishment clause; cross was

only one of several pictures that comprised display on seal, and

remaining pictures sufficiently “neutralized” seal to avoid any

religious message lone or a prominent cross would convey.

U.S.C.A Const.Amend. 1.

_ ee ee

52a

2. Constitutional Law

Presence of cross and dove of peace along with words “God

Reigns” on city’s seal were intended by city’s legislature to

identify city with Christian Catholic Church and impart

symbolically the values of that church; thus, seal violated First

Amendment’s establishment clause. U.S.C.A. Const.Amend. 1.

Richard M. Gutman, Chicago, IIL, for plaintiffs.

Roderick A. Palmore, Jane A. Zimmerman, Paul S. Chervin,

Wildman, Harrold Allen & Dixon, Chicago, IIll., Berle L. Schwartz,

Highland Park, Ill., Adeline Jay Geo-Karis, Zion, for City of Zion,

et al.

Donald Rose, Cathleen Ross, Rose & Ross, Ltd., Rolling

Meadows, IIl., for City of Rolling Meadows, et al.

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

ZAGEL, District Judge.

I. INTRODUCTION

The plaintiffs in Kuhn v. City of Rolling Meadows and the

plaintiffs in Harris v. City of Zion bring actions under 42 U.S.C

sec. 1983, seeking declaratory and injunctive relief. The plaintiffs

in Kuhn have moved for summary judgment pursuant to

Fed.R.Civ.P. 56. The plaintiffs and the defendants in Harris have

both moved for summary judgment under Fed.R.Civ.P. 56. A

summary judgment motion under Rule 56 imposes on the movant

the burden of establishing the lack of a genuine issue of material

fact. Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322-23, 106 S.Ct. 2548,

2552, 91 L.Ed.2d 265 (1986). Because there are no material factual

issues in dispute in either case, summary judgment is appropriate

for the resolution of this litigation.

The two cases before the Court present the same legal issue:

the constitutionality of a religious symbol in a municipality’s

corporate seal. Our judgment is this: In Kuhn v. City of Rolling

Meadows we deny the plaintiffs’ motion. We hold that the official

seal of the City of Rolling Meadows does not violate the First

Amendment of the United States Constitution. However, because

the defendant in Ku/in has not moved for summary judgment,

53a

we take no further step than to deny the plaintiffs’ motion for

summary judgment. In Harris v. City of Zion we deny the

defendants’ motion and grant the plaintiffs’ motion. We hold

that the seal, emblem, and logo of the City of Zion violate the

First Amendment of the United States Constitution, and therefore

enjoin the City of Zion from their continued use.

Il. FACTS

A. The City of Rolling Meadows

The plaintiffs are Theodore M. Kuhn, a resident of the City

of Rolling Meadows, and the Society of Separationists, Inc., a

Maryland corporation. The defendants are the City of Rolling

Meadows, Cook County, Illinois (“Rolling Meadows”), the Mayor

of Rolling Meadows, and the City Council of Rolling Meadows.

The plaintiffs sue the individual members of the City Council,

which includes the Mayor, in their official capacities

Rolling Meadows’ corporate seal (Exhibit A) appears below:

Exhibit A

This seal appears on all city-owned vehicles, including all

police cars and some fire trucks, on the city vehicle stickers of

all vehicles operated by city residents, on the shoulder patch

of the city police officers, on the city letterhead, and in the City

Council chambers.

Rolling Meadows adopted the sea! in 1960, the year Rolling

Meadows celebrated its fifth anniversary. An eighth grader,

Cheryl Knudsen, designed the seal in response to a school art

assignment. In an affidavit, Knudsen described the inspiration

55a

for her design: “I drew what I saw, [and] had no purpose other

than to complete an assignment.” An independent committee

selected, and the City Council approved the adoption of,

Knudsen’s design.

B. The City of Zion

The plaintiffs are Clint W. Harris, a resident of the City

of Zion, and the Society of Separationists, Inc. The defendants

are the City of Zion, Lake County, Illinois (“Zion”), the Mayor

of Zion, and the Zion City Council. The plaintiffs sue the

individual members of the City Council, which includes the

Mayor, in their official capacities.

Zion’s corporate seal (Exhibit B), which contains the Zion

emblem, and Zion’s logo (Exhibit C) appear below:

Exhibit B

57a

Exhibit C

The emblem is found in the seal and is surrounded by the phrases

“CORPORATE SEAL” and “CITY OF ZION, ILLINOIS.”

The seal or logo appears on the city flag, on the city letterhead,

in the City Council chambers, on the city vehicle stickers of all

vehicles operated by city residents, on the shoulder patch of the

city police officers and fire fighters, on the city’s water tower

located near Ninth Street in Zion, on all city street signs, and

on all city-owned vehicles.

‘

z

4

-

=

+

i

‘|

k

;

i

58a

At the first meeting of the Zion City Council on May 6, 1902,

the Reverend John Alexander Dowie, “the Overseer of the

Christian Catholic Church in Zion,” presented the City Council

with a proposed City of Zion corporate seal. The Christian

Catholic Church of Zion was and is an Evangelical Protestant

church founded by Dowie. The City of Zion was also founded

by Dowie “for the purpose of the extension of the Kingdom of

God upon earth ... where God shall rule in every department

of family, industry, commercial, educational, ecclesiastical and

political life.” The City Council’s Minutes are clear, in the words

of Dowie, on the purpose of the seal:

In presenting to you this seal, I ask you to accept it

and to use it reverently. Let no hand ever hold this lever

and put this seal to anything that God does not approve.

Let the officer who uses this seal feel, as he pulls this

lever and makes this impression, “God Reigns,” that the

document must be such a one as God approves.

May every commission of every officer which bears the

seal of this city be looked upon as solemn thing; that it

is a commission to bear such authority, however small or

great, as God’s minister — God’s minister in law—God’s

minister in the Eternal Covenant in a measure.

City of Zion, Minutes of First Meeting of City Council, May 6,

1902. Dowie later makes clear the meaning of each symbol in

the emblem:

Look at that Dove which is the emblem of the Holy Spirit,

bearing the Message of Peace and Love over the seas. The

Cross represents everything to us in Redemption, Salvation,

Healing, Cleaning and Keeping Power.

The Sword is the Sword of the Spirit, which is the Word

of God.

The Crown is the Crown of Glory, the Crown of Joy, the Crown

of Righteousness, the Crown of Rejoicing.!

1 The sword was later changed to a scepter.

59a

Id. The City Council, all of whose members belonged to the

Christian Catholic Church in Zion and the Theocratic Party,

unanimously adopted the ordinance establishing the proposed

seal as the official corporate seal of the City of Zion. In 1978

the city developed the logo, modelled on the city’s seal, t6 affix

to the Zion water tower.

Ill. DISCUSSION

A. Introduction

As we enter this Establishment Clause thicket, see Doe v.

Small, 726 F.Supp. 713 (N.D.I1.1989) (Shadur, J.), we look first

to the Supreme Court’s most recent guidance in County of

Allegheny v. American Civil Liberties Union, __ U.S. ____, 109

S.Ct. 3086, 106 L.Ed.2d 472 (1989). As Judge Shadur notes, County

of Allegheny reconfirmed the three part test in Lemon uv.

Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602, 91 S.Ct. 2105, 29 L.Ed.2d 745 (1971),

on which we rely to determine if the challenged government

conduct is permissible. For a court to find a statute or government

practice constitutional:

First, the statute must have a secular legislative purpose;

second, its principa! or primary effect must be one that

neither advances nor inhibits religion, ...; finally, the

statute must not foster “an excessive government, entan-

glement with religion”.

Id. 91 S.Ct. at 2111. The statute or practice must pass each of

these three “tests” to be found constitutional.

B. Rolling Meadows

{1] The plaintiffs’ concede that the Rolling Meadows seal

does not violate the “purpose” and “entanglement” prongs of

the Lemon test. We bear in mind that if any one of the three

prongs is violated the seal is unconstitutional. It therefore

behooves the defendant to agree that the seal does not violate

the “purpose” and “entanglement” prongs. Yet, the defendant

oddly insists we examine these “two crucial criteria.”

We agree with the plaintiff that the seal does not violate

the “purpose” and “entanglement” tests. Although the seal does

not have a preamble revealing the purpose for its adoption, the

60a

defendant submitted affidavits indicating the city adopted the

seal for the purpose of celebrating the community’s fifth

anniversary. The designer of the seal was an eighth grader who

swears, “I drew what I saw, [and] had no purpose other than

to complete an assignment.” An independent committee chose

the seal as the winning entry. We conclude that the legislative

purpose in adopting the seal was secular.

Nothing in the record suggests, and neither party argues,

that the seal involves excessive entanglement with government.

The core issue is whether the seal’s principal or primary

_ effect is one that advances religion. Lemon, 91 S.Ct. at 2111.

As the Supreme Court has noted, whether the verb we choose

is “advance,” “endorse,” “favor,” “prefer,” or “promote,” the

principle is the same: “The Establishment Clause, at the very

least, prohibits government from appearing to take a position

on questions of religious belief or from ‘making adherence to

a religion relevant in any way to a person’s standing in the

political community.’” County of Allegheny, 109 S.Ct. at 3101

(quoting Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668, 104 S.Ct. 1355, 1366,

79 L.Ed.2d 604 (1984) (O’Connor, J., concurring)).

The primary effect of the seal turns largely on the overall,

“Synique physical” context, American Jewish Congress v. City

of Chicago, 827 F.2d 120, 128 (7th Cir.1987), in which the

challenged religious symbol here, the cross,? appears. The

Supreme Court has stated that “the government’s use of religious

symbolism is unconstitutional if it has the effect of endorsing

religious beliefs, and the effect of the government’s use of religious

symbolism depends upon its context.” County of Allegheny, 109

S.Ct. at 3103. Based upon the context in which the cross appears

in the Rolling Meadows seal, we find that the primary effect

of the seal does not advance religion.

-

2 We do not quibble with the plaintiffs over whether the challenged

symbol is in fact a cross. The defendants counter with the experience

of Robert Sherman, a Society of Separationists member and director

of the Northern Illinois Chapter of Atheists, who abandoned his

challenge to the Rolling Meadows seal. After researching the challenged

symbol, Sherman concluded that the symbo! was in fact a utility pole

in an industrial setting. We conclude, for the purpose of the plaintiffs’

summary judgment motion, that the symbol is a cross.

6la

The challenged content of the seal, the cross, is a symbol

of Christianity. American Civil Liberties Union v. City of St.

Charles, 794 F.2d 265, 271 (1986). We are particularly sensitive

that this symbol is “not only religious but also sectarian.” Id.°

This is of concern to us because “the more sectarian the display,

the closer it is to the original targets of the [establishment] clause,

so the more strictly is the clause applied.” Jd. We are also mindful

that the municipal corporate seal in which the cross appears

is not unlike City Hall, which is a “symbol of government power”

and “marked with the stamp of government approval.” City of

Chicago, 827 F.2d at 128. We proceed with both of these concerns

in mind.

In the context of the Rolling Meadows seal, the cross

represents one aspect of the origin of the Rolling Meadows

community. Each of the four pictures on the seal, including the

cross, water tower, leaf, and school‘, suggests a different feature

of the Rolling Meadows community as found on its fifth

anniversary. Notably, the image that includes the cross appears

as a scene: Although the cross obviously appears in a style that

is more abstract than the way it would register on a photographic

plate, we do not find that the image’s level of abstractness renders

the image, in the context of the other four images, as strong

a symboi of Christianity (or religion) as would a lone or prominent

cross. Although this distinction may appear to emanate from

the offices of an interior decorator, see City of Chicago, 827 F.2d

at 129 (Easterbrook, J., dissent), we find it relevant. While there

is no doubt that a Latin cross is itself a symbol of Christianity,

we conclude that the relation of the challenged image before us,

in the context we receive it, to the referent at issue—religion,

or more specifically, Christianity—is weak. We refrain from

emphasizing this point too strongly because to the average

observer of the Rolling Meadows seal there does appear a Cross.

8’ The seal varies slightly among its reproductions. The cross, which

is obviously of most interest to us, is not uniform in all the seals. It

is fair to say, however, that the cross appears as a Latin cross in each

seal.

‘ The plaintiffs allege the lower quadrant of the seal contains a single

family residence. The defendants claim the building is in fact a school.

This difference is not material to the decision of this court.

62a

However, we must take the image as we see it in, not out of,

context. See R. Arnheim, Visual Thinking 135-52 (1969).

The plaintiffs argue that the cross on the Rolling Meadows

corporate seal is “large,” “conspicuous,” “prominent,” and

“massive.” We do not agree. We hesitate to use adjectives to

muddle the clarity of Exhibit A. However, as we noted, the cross

is only one of several pictures that comprise the display on the

seal. We find that the remaining pictures sufficiently “neutralize”

the seal to avoid any religious massage a lone or a prominent

cross, City of St. Charles, 794 F.2d at 267 (cross in display found

“highly prominent”), would convey.

Were it not for the other symbols that surround the cross,

the fact that the cross occupies a relatively small portion of the

seal’s space, and to a lesser extent, the fact that the cross appears

in scene form, a nonadherent might consider the seal an

endorsement of religion. This case would thus be indistin-

guishable from the cases in which the prominent display of a

cross has been held unconstitutional. However, the seal before

us cannot be fairly characterized as prominently displaying the

cross. The question, as we understand it, is not whether a cross

may appear in a municipality’s seal; but rather, whether the

context in which the cross appears has the effect of endorsing

religion. There certainly may exist municipal seals that contain

crosses and that convey messages endorsing religion.5 This,

however, is not one of those seals. There would be no meaningful

difference between holding otherwise and holding that no

municipal seal may contain a cross.

C. Zion

[2] The plaintiffs challenge Zion’s seal, emblem, and logo.®

Zion’s corporate seal consists of the Zion emblem surrounded

by the phrases “CORPORATE SEAL” and “CITY OF ZION,

ILLINOIS.” Zion’s logo contains the same three symbols—a

cross, a dove, and a crown with a scepter—found in the emblem,

5 See, for example, our discussion of the City of Zion’s seal below.

6 The plaintiffs also challenge an alleged motto of Zion’s: “Where God

Rules, Man Prospers.” Zion denies having such a motto. To the extent

Zion does not and will not use this motto the challenge is moot.

63a

but does not appear in the form of a shield and does not contain

a ribbon inscribed with the words “GOD REIGNS.”

The defendants argue that the corporate seal, emblem, and

logo have three secular purposes:

First, the seal is required by state law to authenticate municipal

records. Second, the seal, emblem and logo facilitate the

identification of property with the municipality and identify

the community itself. Finally, all three symbols commemorate

the rich and unique historical heritage of Zion as an experiment

in establishing a twentieth century utopian community.

Defendants’ Motion for Summary Judgment at 2. The plaintiffs

challenge the content of the seal (the emblem), not the validity

of Zion’s having a municipal seal. Therefore, the first and second

of these alleged purposes are irrelevant. The third alleged

purpose—that the historical significance of the city’s founding

outweighs the original religious purpose—is not without merit.

The city was in fact a religious experiment and the seal, emblem,

and logo recognize that origin. But it is clear that in adopting

the Zion seal the Zion legislature sought to identify the City

of Zion with the Christian Catholic Church and impart sym-

bolically the values of the church. That purpose was blatantly

sectarian at the seal’s adoption.

The defendants argue that even if the orginal purpose of

the city in adopting the seal were religious, the current, relevant

purpose is historical, and therefore secular. We disagree with

respect to the seal and the emblem. The defendants rely on City

of Chicago for their proposition that “the original purpose of

a government’s use of a symbol has little if any relevance to

an analysis of whether its current use has a secular purpose.”

Memorandum in Support of Defendants’ Motion for Summary

Judgment, at 5. However, City of Chicago involved a creche that

the city erected and dismantled every Christmas season. The

Seventh Circuit treated each season’s creche display as involving

a distinct decision made by the city. City of Chicago, 827 F.2d

120, 126 (mayor’s 1959 comment “reveals little about the purpose

of the 1985-86 display”). In the case before us, one legislative

decision on May 6, 1902 adopted the city seal and emblem. The

record shows the city has used essentially the identical seal and

64a

emblem ever since. We thus find the relevant purpose was not

secular. To support their contention that the relevant legislative

purpose is found much later than in the Minutes accompanying

the seal’s original adoption, the city points to the Minutes of

City Council, May 20, 1986, in which the City Council voted

to retain the city seal in its current form for historical reasons.

The Minutes do not clearly demonstrate that the Council’s vote

to retain the seal was motivated purely for historical purposes.

In any event, and especially with respect to the later-developed

logo, this issue is not dispositive because, as we discuss below,

the effect of the seal, emblem, and logo is not secular.

In fact, the effect of the seal, emblem, and logo advances

religion and violates the effects prong of the Lemon test.

Regardless of whether one knows of the religious origin of the

City of Zion and can discount the religious effect of the seal

accordingly, the seal, emblem, and logo, as we discuss below,

are sectarian. We do not impute complete knowledge of history

to the average observer of the seal—whether adherent or

nonadherent. We therefore cannot assume that the average

member of Zion’s political community will have either general

or specific knowledge of Zion’s “unique” history. In fact, the

defendants’ own expert on the history of the City of Zion,

Professor Philip Cook, stated otherwise: “it is possible that the

majority of Zion’s 15,000 inhabitants know little of its unique

history.” Affidavit of Philip L. Cook, at 4. We therefore find that

the average observer would consider that Zion makes adherence

to religion relevant to a person’s standing in the political

community.

The defendants are not correct when they assert that the

symbols in the seal and logo “merely recognize Zion’s early

religious history” (emphasis added). Nothing within the four

corners of the seal or the logo detracts from their sectarian

messages. The symbols in question are abstract and function

as strong symbols of a particular sect of Christianity. As Reverend

Dowie indicated, each of the three symbols has an independent

religious significance. The sum of the individual symbols imparts

a decidedly religious, in fact sectarian, message. The seal,

containing the emblem, connotes an even stronger message

because the symbols appear on a shield below a ribbon that

65a

reads “GOD REIGNS.” Nothing “neutralizes” the religious

message.

The First Amendment declares that “Congress shall make

no law respecting an establishment of religion....” The

Supreme Court and the Seventh Circuit precedents teach that

a municipality may not display religious symbols in a way that

endorses religion. We find that the City of Zion’s seal, emblem,

and logo have the effect of endorsing a Christian message.

Nothing more is required to demonstrate a violation of the

Establishment Clause. County of Allegheny, 109 S.Ct. 3086, 3105.

We therefore permanently enjoin the display of the City of Zion’s

seal, emblem, and logo in their current forms.

IV. CONCLUSION

We deny the plaintiffs’ summary judgment motion in Kuhn

v. Rolling Meadows. We grant the plaintiffs’ summary judgment

motion as to the Zion seal, emblem, and logo and deny the

defendants’ summary judgment motion in Harris v. City of Zion.

We permanently enjoin the City of Zion from the continued use

of its seal, emblem, and logo in their present forms.

66a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT, NORTHERN

DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS, EASTERN DIVISION

Name of Assigned

Judge or Magistrate James B. ZaGeL

Case Number 87 C 7205

Date 22 Feb 90

Case Title KUHN V. CITY OF ROLLING MEADOWS

(1) [xx] Judgment is entered as follows:

The Defendants’ motion for summary judgment is granted. In

accordance wi

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — City of Rolling Meadows v. Kuhn · 505 U.S. 1218 | Frix