Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Universal Foods Corp. v. Wisconsin Labor & Industry Review Commission

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

)

Supreme Court, U.S,

$61*101 FILED

NO. JUL 17 1992

SUPREME COURT OF THE | Wrrice OF THE CLERK x |

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

OCTOBER 1990 TERM

UNIVERSAL FOODS CORPORATION,

Plaintiff-Petitioner,

vs.

STATE OF WISCONSIN LABOR &

INDUSTRY REVIEW COMMISSION

and BARBARA DAMATO,

Defen_ants-Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO ‘HE

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF WISCONSIN

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

COUNSEL OF RECORD FOR

UNIVERSAL FOODS CORPORATION:

ATTORNEY DANIEL J. STANGLE

OTJEN, VAN ERT, STANGLE,

LIEB & WEIR, S. C.

700 N. Water Street, Suite 800

Milwaukee, WI 53202

(414) 271-7271

Other members of Bar

of Wisconsin:

ATTORNEY THOMAS M. ROHE

OTJEN, VAN ERT, STANGLE,

LIEB & WEIR, S.C.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Le Did this Court in Lingle vs.

Norge Division of Magic Chef, 486 U.S.

399, 108 S. Ct. 1877, 100 L.Ed. 2d 410

(1988) intend to allow a state law cause

of action expressly governed by the terms

of a collective bargaining agreement?

2. Is an interpretation or analysis

of a collective bargaining agreement

necessary in order for a state agency to

decide whether an employee has a valid

claim under Wis. Stats. Section

102.35(3), so as to cause pre-emption by

Section 301 of the Labor Management

Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. Section 185?

ole

LIST OF ALL PARTIES

All of the parties to this

proceeding are listed in the caption on

the cover. Universal Foods Corporation

is a corporation without ae parent

company. All of the subsidiaries of

Universal Foods Corporation are wholly

owned subsidiaries. There are no

partially owned subsidiaries of Universal

Foods Corporation.

wtte

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES 7s + « « « Swe

REFERENCE TO OTHER REPORTS

OF OPINIONS DELIVERED IN

Tow eat sf fg lg fg wl WEE

GROUNDS FOR JURISDICTION .... viii

STATUTES INVOLVED ........ 1x

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .....e..-etl

Cite. oe 5 « @« « « «& « ba

POINT A: THE WISCONSIN

DECISION DIRECTLY

CONFLICTS WITH

SUPREME COURT AND

FEDERAL APPELLATE

ot 6) y Sl i |

CONCLUSION a ae |

Da Te. « « « ~« « « -« « « AwW1°158

-iii-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

1. Allis Chalmers vs. Lueck, 471 U.S.

202, 210, 213, 220, 105 S. Ct. 1904,

L.Ed. 2d 206 (1985)

-. Si, 38; 27, 38, 32

2. Hanks vs. General Motors Corporation,

859 F. 2d 67, 69 (8th Cir. 1988)

p. 23

3. Harris vs. Alumax Mill Products,

Inc., 897 F. 2d 400, 403 (9th Cir.

1990)

p. 23

4. Jackson vs. Liquid Carbonic Corp.,

863 F. 2d 111, 118-121 (list Cir.

1988)

-~iv-

5.

6.

Ve

8.

Johnson vs. Beatrice Foods Company,

921 F. 2d 1015, 1020 (10th Cir.

1990)

p. 23

Kirby vs. Alleghany Beverage Corp.,

811 F. 2d 253, 255-6 (4th Cir. 1987)

p. 19

Lingle vs. Norge Division of Magic

Chef, Inc., 486 U.S. 399, 411, 413,

418-9, 422, 108 S. Ct. i877, 100

L.Ed. 2d 410 (1988)

23

Litton Financial Printing Division

vs. NLRB, No. 90-285, , U.S.

, £238 8. Cb... 2235. L.Ed. 2d

(Decided June 13, 1991)

p. 22

-V=-

9. Magerer vs. John Sexton & Company,

912 F. 2d 525, 527, 529 (lst. Cir.

1990)

10. Miller vs. AT & T Network Systems,

850 F. 2d 543, 550-1 (9th Cir. 1988)

p. 19

11. Sluder vs. United Mine Workers of

America, 892 F. 2d 549, 554-6

(7th Cir. 1989)

p. 23

12. -Stikes vs. Chevron USA, Inc., 914 F.

2d 1265, 1269-1270 (9th Cir. 1990)

p. 19

13. Universal Foods Corporation vs. LIRC,

Wis. , 467 N.W. 2d 793

(Wis. App. 1991)

p. 10, 24

-_ oe

STATUTES

Labor Management Relations Act,

Section 301, 29 USC Section 185

p. 7, 11-12, 16, 20

Mass. Gen. Laws Ch. 152 Section 75b

p. 16

Sec. 102.23(1)(a), Wis. Stats.

p. 9

Sec. 102.35(3), Wis. Stats.

Sec. 809.62(1), Wis. Stats.

Db. 10-1

-vii-

13

REFERENCE TO OTHER REPORTS OF

_OPINIONS DELIVERED IN THIS CASE

The decision of the State of

Wisconsin Court of Appeals is’ being

published. Universal Foods Corporation

vs. Labor & Industry Review Commission,

Wis. , 467 N.W. 2d 793 (Wis.

App. 1991).

GROUNDS FOR JURISDICTION

The State of Wisconsin Court of

Appeals entered its decision in this

matter on February 12, 1991. A timely

Petition for Review was filed with the

Supreme Court of the State of Wisconsin,

on March 12, 1991. This Petition for

Review was denied on April 30, 1991,

which constitutes entry of the order

denying discretionary review, referred to

in Supreme Court Rule 13.1. This Court

is given jurisdiction over this matter by

-viii-

28 U.S.C. Section 1257.

STATUTES INVOLVED

1. 29 U.S.C. Section 185(a).

Suits for violation of contracts

between an employer and the labor

organization representing employees in an

industry affecting commerce as defined in

this chapter, or between any such labor

organizations, may be brought in any

District Court of the United States

having jurisdiction of the parties,

without respect to the amount in

controversy or without regard to the

citizenship of the parties.

2. Section 102.35(3), Wis. Stats.

Any employer who without reasonable

cause refuses to rehire an employe who is

injured in the course of employment,

where suitable employment is available

within the employe’s physical and mental

wfgee

limitations, upon order of the department

and in addition to other benefits, has

exclusive liability to pay to the employe

the wages lost during the period of such

refusal, not exceeding one year’s wages.

In determining the availability of

suitable employment the continuance in

business of the employer shall be

considered and any written rules

promulgated by the employer with respect

to seniority or the provisions of any

collective bargaining agreement with

respect to seniority shall govern.

3 Section 102.23, Wis. Stats.

(1) (a).

The findings of fact made by the

commission acting within its powers

shall, in the absence of fraud, be

conclusive. The order or award granting

or denying compensation, either

-xX=-

interlocutory or final, whether judgment

has been rendered on it or not, is

subject to review only as provided in

this section and not under Ch. 227 or S.

801.02. Within 30 days after the date of

an order or award made by the Commission

either originally or after the filing of

a Petition for Review with the Department

under S. 102.18 any party aggrieved

thereby may by serving a complaint as

provided in Par. (b) in filing the

summons and complaint with the Clerk of

the Circuit Court commence, in Circuit

Court, an action against the Commission

for the review of the order or award, in

which action the adverse party shall also

be made a defendant. If the Circuit

Court is satisfied that a party in

interest has been prejudiced because of

an exceptional delay in the receipt of a

-xi-

copy of any finding or order, it may

extend the time in which an action may be

commenced by an additional 30 days. The

proceedings shall be in the Circuit Court

of the county where the plaintiff

resides, except that if the plaintiff is

a state agency, the proceeding shall be

in the Circuit Court of the county where

the defendant resides. The proceedings

may be brought in any Circuit Court if

‘all parties stipulate and that court

agrees.

4. Section 809.62(1).

A party may file with the Supreme

Court a Petition for Review of an adverse

decision of the Court of Appeals pursuant

to s. 801.10 within 30 days of the date

of the decision of the Court of Appeals.

Supreme Court review is a matter of

judicial discretion, not of right, and ,

-xii-

ECE OO a

—-> -~—

. -

will be granted only when special and

important reasons are presented. The

following, while neither controlling nor

fully measuring the Court’s discretion,

indicates criteria that will be

considered:

(a) A real and significant .question

of federal or state constitutional law is

presented.

(b) The petition for review

demonstrates a need for the supreme court

to consider establishing, implementing or

changing a policy within its authority.

(Cc) A decision by the supreme court

will help develop, clarify or harmonize

the law, and

1. The case calls for’ the

application of a new doctrine rather than

merely the application of well-settled

principles to the factual situation; or

-xiii-

2. The question presented is a

novel one, the resolution of which will

have statewide impact; or

3. The question presented is not

factual in nature but rather is a

question of law of the type that is

likely to recur unless resolved by the

supreme court.

(ad) The court of appeals’ decision

is in conflict with controlling opinions

of the United States Supreme Court or the

supreme court or other court of appeals’

decisions.

(e) The court of appeals’ decision

is in accord with opinions of the supreme

court or the court of appeals but due to

the passage of time or changing

circumstances, such opinions are ripe for

reexamination.

-xiv-

I. STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The employee, Barbara Damato, began

working for the employer, Universal Foods

Corporation, in 1983. She worked for

approximately 6 weeks at which time she

was permanently laid off. A-93-94.1 She

was called back to work in October, 1984,

and worked approximately 4 weeks, at

which time she was again issued a notice

of lay-off. On the same date that she

was notified of her lay-off, she reported

that she had a problem with her arm. A-

94. The problem with Ms. Damato’s arm

eventually resulted in elbow surgery. A-

76. She was officially terminated,

effective November 15, 1985, after having

been laid off for a year. A-91, A-97-98.

From May 1, 1985 through April 30,

1988, the employer was subject to a

lwe will cite to the appropriate

pages in the Appendix to this Petition.

collective bargaining agreement with

Brewery Workers, Local 9 UAW, AFL-CIO,

which covered the plant in which the

applicant worked. The pertinent

provisions of that collective bargaining

agreement are as follows:

"3.02: Notice of

permanent job vacancy shall be

posted and the applicant with

greatest seniority shall

receive the job vacancy,

provided he is capable and

qualified to perform the

— work.

Whenever the phrase

‘capable and qualified’ is used

in this Article or elsewhere in

this contract, the individual

employee affected shall be

entitled to a fair trial in

performing the work, accept in

the following cases: . .. (c)

where he has a known handicap

which might prevent him from

performing the job

satisfactorily or safely.

4.02: If further

reductions are necessary in the

department, then regular

employees will be assigned or

laid off in accordance with

their seniority. The employee

with the least seniority will

be assigned or laid off first

and so on in that order,

provided the retained employees

are capable and qualified of

performing the remaining work.

4.03: . . . Employees

hired after May 1, 1969, and

laid off who have more than

-3-

five (5) years seniority shall

forfeit all seniority rights

after thirty-six (36)

consecutive months of lay-off,

and all employees with less

than five (5) years of

seniority shall forfeit all

seniority rights after twelve

(12) consecutive months of lay-

off.

4.05: When work is again

available, employees will be

recalled in the order of

seniority.

16.01: Where a grievance

may arise by reason of an

interpretation of this

Agreement, the parties to this

Agreement shall make all

reasonable efforts to settle

the same between them in the

-4-

foliowing order and procedure:

(Whereupon provisions are set

forth for a grievance and

arbitration procedure) ..."

A-115-124.

There was a dispute between the

employer and the employee as to whether

the employee was up for recall, and a job

available, prior to November 15, 1985,

when the employee would have forfeited

aljJ seniority rights pursuant to Article

4.03 of the collective bargaining

agreement. The employer claimed that

production never increased to the extent

that employees with seniority similar to

Ms. Damato’s were called back to work.

The employer gave examples of employees

who had more seniority than Ms. Damato,

and who lost their seniority at the same

time. A-96-98. According to the

employer, she was terminated, pursuant to

-5-

Article 4.03 of the collective bargaining

agreement. A-97-98.

The employee testified that Bernard

Frederick, the production superintendent

of the employer’s Packaging Department,

called her in October 1985 and asked if

she could come back to work. The

employee allegedly told him about the

cramp she was still having in her arn,

and that she would contact her doctor to

see what he thought. Her doctor

allegedly advised her to give it a try.

When she called Mr. Frederick back, he

allegedly stated, "Never mind, we don’t

need you", and told her to keep in touch

with him. A-77-78.

There was also a dispute between the

employer and the employee as to whether

the employee would have been capable of

performing work at the employer, assuming

it was available. A-83-85, A-88, A-99-

102.

The employee never grieved her

termination. A-81-82.

On February 9, 1988, the employee

filed an Application for Hearing before

the State of Wisconsin Department of

Industry Labor & Human Relations,

claiming an unreasonable refusal to

rehire within the meaning of Section

102.35(3), Wis. Stats. A hearing was

held before an administrative law judge

of that Department on January 23, 1989.

A-72. At chis hearing, counsel for the

employer, Universal Foods Corporation,

objected to the Department’s

Jurisdiction, on the grounds that the

case was preempted by Section 301 of the

Labor Management Relations Act and Lingle

v. Norge Division of Magic Chef, Inc.,

486 U.S. 399, 108 S. Ct. 1877, 100 L.Ed.

-7-

2d 410 (1988). A-74-75. The

administrative law judge indicated that,

until the Department of Industry, Labor

and Human Relations advised him

otherwise, he was obliged to conduct

hearings in these types of cases. A-74-

73. The administrative law judge

dismissed the Application for Hearing on

its merits. Findings of Fact and Order

of Administrative Law Judge Thomas R.

Jones, dated April 21, 1989. A-66-71.

The employee appealed the

administrative law judge’s decision to

the State of Wisconsin Labor & Industry

Review Commission (hereinafter LIRC),

which reversed. Findings of Fact and

Conclusions of Law of LIRC. (hereinafter

"Decision of LIRC") A-53-65. LIRC found

that the employer had unreasonably

refused to rehire the employee within the

meaning of Section 102.35(3), Wis.

- BA

A

Stats., and ordered the payments of money

based upon that finding. A-60-62.

Universal Foods began this action

for judicial review of the Decision of

LIRC in the Circuit Court for Milwaukee

County, pursuant to Section 102.23(1) (a),

Wis. Stats. The issue of whether the

applicant’s claim under 102.35(3), Wis.

Stats., was preempted by Section 301(a)

of LMRA was thoroughly briefed before the

Circuit Court. The Circuit Court, the

Honorable Francis T. Wasielewski

presiding, held that no interpretation of

the collective bargaining agreement was

necessary for LIRC to reach its decision.

Therefore, the employee’s claim under

Section 102.35(3), Wis. Stats., was not

preempted. A-46-48.

The Circuit Court’s decision was

timely appealed to the State of Wisconsin

Court of Appeals. The issue of federal

-9-

—

preemption was thoroughly briefed once

again before the Court of Appeals. The

Court of Appeals indicated that no

interpretation of the collective

bargaining agreement was required for

LIRC to decide this case. Hence, the

employee’s claim under Section 102.35(3),

Wis. Stats., was not preempted. A-13-16.

Aithough initially not recommended

for publication, the publication

committee of the Court of Appeals has

ordered that the opinion be published in

the official reports. A-5-6. It is

presently being published. Universal

Foods Corporation vs. _ LIRC, Wis.

___, 467 N.W. 793 (Wis. App. 1991).

Universal Foods timely filed a

Petition for Review to the Supreme Court

of the State of Wisconsin. In Wisconsin,

Supreme Court review is a matter of

judicial discretion. Section 809.62(1),

-10-

Wis. Stats. The preemption issue was

fully explored in the Petition for

Review. A-125-157. On April 30, 1991,

the Supreme Court of Wisconsin denied the

Petition for Review. Order of Supreme

Court, State of Wisconsin, dated April

30, 1991. A-1-2.

II. ARGUMENT

A. THE WISCONSIN DECISION DIRECTLY

CONFLICTS WITH SUPREME COURT AND FEDERAL

APPELLATE PRECEDENT.

The published decision of the

Wisconsin Court is in conflict with Allis

Chalmers vs. Lueck, 471 U.S. 202, 105 S.

ct. 1904, 85 L. Ed. 2d 206 (1985) and

Lingle vs. Norge Division of Magic Chef,

Inc., 486 U.S. 399, 108 S. Ct. 1877, 100

L. Ed. 2d 410 (1988). Under Lueck and

Lingle, a state cause of action is

preempted by Section 301 of the Labor

Management Relations’ Act, 29 U.S.C.

-ll-

Section 185, if its resolution requires

an analysis, consideration or

interpretation of a collective bargaining

agreement. Lueck, supra, 47 U.S. at 213,

220; Lingle, supra, 486 U.S. at 418-9,

422.

The Wisconsin statute involved in

this case specifically indicates that the

provisions of a collective bargaining

agreement shall govern:

"In determining the

availability of suitable

employment .. . any written

rules promulgated by the

employer with respect to

seniority or the provisions of

any collective bargaining

agreement with respect to

seniority shall govern."

Section 102.35(3), Wis. Stats.

-12-

In this case, the employer

specifically tried to prove that there

was no suitable work available to the

employee under the terms of the

collective bargaining agreement. A-93-

106. Under the terms of the statute,

LIRC was required to analyze and consider

the terms of the collective bargaining

agreement in coming to its decision as to

whether there was an unreasonable refusal

to rehire. Section 102.35(3), Wis.

Stats.

The language used by LIRC in its

written decision, makes clear that it did

analyze and consider the agreement:

"The Commission majority

concludes that a job was

available and that the

applicant was up for recall

under the union contract

procedure... .

The Commission, however,

has ruled that the employer

unreasonably refused to rehire

the applicant during the

contract recall period. The

employer has not shown that

today the applicant would not

be entitled under the union

contract to the work which she

can perform if the employer had

not refused to rehire her in

October of 1985."

A-56-57, A-60-61.

LIRC made specific findings with

respect to the employee’s rights under

the collective bargaining agreement. It

would have been open to further evidence

concerning what the employee’s' rights

would have been, had she been rehired.

The parties were litigating, and LIRC was

deciding, the employee’s rights under the

-14-

collective bargaining agreement. This is

specifically prohibited by the preemption

doctrine of Lueck and Lingle.

The Wisconsin court held that no

interpretation of the collective

bargaining agreement was necessary for

LIRC to decide this case. A-13-16.

This decision is in direct conflict

with Magerer vs. John Sexton & Company,

912 F. 2d 525 (list Cir. 1990). Magerer

involved a Massachusetts statute which

was worded very similar to the Wisconsin

statute:

"(3) In the event that any

right set forth in this section

is inconsistent with an

applicable collective

bargaining agreement, such

agreement shail prevail."

-15-

Mass. Gen. Laws Ch. 152 Section

75b; Magerer, 912 F. 2d at 527

fn. 1.

In finding that the cause of action

under the Massachusetts statute was

preempted, the lst Circuit distinguished

the Illinois statute upheld in Lingle.

Claims under the Massachusetts statute,

by its express terms, were subject to the

terms of any applicable collective

bargaining agreement. To the extent that

the collective bargaining agreement

governed the conduct underlying’ the

plaintiff’s clain, the claim would

require interpretation of the collective

bargaining agreement, and therefore, was

preempted by Section 301. Magerer, 912

F. 2d at 529. This same logic applies to

the Wisconsin statute. It also, by its

express terms, indicates that the

-16-

provisions of the collective bargaining

agreement shall govern.

Where the resolution of a state law

claim is substantially dependent upon an

analysis, or is inextricably intertwined

with consideration of the terms of the

collective bargaining agreement, the

claim is preempted. Allis Chalmers vs.

eer, 473 U.S. at 213, 220. In this

case, LIRC had to find that the employee

was up for recall under the collective

bargaining agreement, before it could

find an unreasonable refusal to rehire.

There was no other way to decide the case

under the terms of the Wisconsin statute.

Hence, the evaluation of the claim was

substantially dependent upon and

inextricably intertwined with a

consideration of the terms of the

collective bargaining agreement.

-l17-

Lueck also specified that state law

rights and obligations that can be waived

or altered by agreement of the private

parties are preempted by those

agreements. 471 U.S. at 213. In this

case, the length of time that employees

may retain seniority rights while on lay-

off, and the order upon which employees

are to be recalled after lay-off, are

terms which may be waived or altered by

agreement of the private parties

involved. A-116-120; Articles 4.02, 4.03

and 4.05. The employee’s claim under

Section 102.35(3), Wis. Stats., depends

upon these terms of the collective

bargaining agreement. Hence, it is

preempted.

Under the Wisconsin statute, the

ultimate finding which LIRC is called

upon to make is whether the employer’s

action in refusing to rehire the employee

-18-

XE

was "reasonable". Section 102.35(3),

Wis. Stats. "Reasonableness" requires

that everything be taken into account.

Where the reasonabieness of an employer’s

conduct vis-a-vis an employee is at

issue, it necessarily requires an

analysis of the terms of the collective

bargaining agreement. Such actions are

preempted. Stikes vs. Chevron USA, Inc.,

914 F. 2d 1265, 1269-1270 (9th Cir.

1990); Jackson vs. Liquid Carbonic Corp.,

863 F. 2d 111, 119 (ist Cir. 1988);

Miller vs. AT & T Network Systems, 850 F.

2d 543, 550-1 (9th Cir. 1988); Kirby vs.

Alleghany Beverage Corp., 811 F. 2d 253,

255-6 (4th Cir. 1987).

It is difficult to determine how the

Wisconsin Court came to the conclusion

that no interpretation of the collective

bargaining agreement was required to

decide the dispute in this case. The

-i19-

full analysis of the Wisconsin Court is

contained in a single paragraph, which is

somewhat conclusory. A-15-16. It relies

upon language from Lingle, which

specifies that a state law claim is

preempted by Section 301 of LMRA, only if

such application requires the

interpretation of a collective bargaining

agreement. Lingle, supra, 486 U.S. at

413. It concludes that, because no

interpretation was required here, there

is no preemption. A-16.

It is a polite deception to say that

no interpretation of the collective

bargaining agreement was necessary to

decide this case. LIRC was required to

make a series of findings about the

collective bargaining agreement to come

to its decision. It explicitly found

that the employee had enough seniority

under the collective bargaining agreement

-20-

to be recalled vis-a-vis other employees.

A-56-57; A-119-120, Article 4.05. It

found that Article 4.03 gave the

applicant a one-year recall period,

during which she would not forfeit her

seniority rights. It held that this

pe, icd did not expire until November 15,

1985. A-56-67, A-60-61, A-118-119,

Article 4.03. It found that’ the

applicant was "capable and qualified" to

perform the work within the meaning of

Article a A-59-60, A-115-116,

Article 3.02.

In order to make these findings,

LIRC had to define the terms of the

collective bargaining agreement. By

defining these terms, LIRC was invading

the field of federal labor law. If every

state court and administrative agency was

free to define collective bargaining

agreements, it would lead to an erosion

-21-

of the federal labor law principles

promoting the uniform interpretation of

collective bargaining agreements. Lueck,

471 U.S. at 210.

In the recent decision of Litton

Financial Printing Division vs. NLRB, No.

90-285, __—Ssp U.S. __, 111 S. Ct. 2215,

L.Ed. 2d. _ — (Decided June 13,

1991), this Court refused to defer to the

NLRB’s interpretation of a collective

bargaining agreement, since it would risk

the development of conflicting

principles. (p. 8 on Westlaw) What is

true for the NLRB is particularly true of

state agencies and courts. To allow

agencies and courts from fifty states to

define collective bargaining agreement

terms would create chaos in the field of

federal labor law.

The Federal Courts of Appeals have

held that state law causes of action are

-22-

preempted under Section 301(a) of LMRA if

the state law claim - requires

scrutinizing, evaluating, studying,

taking account of, referring to,

considering, or analyzing a collective

bargaining agreement. Johnson vs.

Beatrice Foods Company, 921 F. 2d 1015,

1020 (10th Cir. 1990); Harris vs. Aluma~x

Mill Products, Inc., 897 F. 2d 400, 403

(9th Cir. 1990); Sluder vs. United Mine

Workers of America, 892 F. 2d 549, 554-6

[vom « Cie. 1989); Jackson vs. Liquid

Carbonic Corporation, 863 F. 2d 111, 118-

121 (lst Cir. 1988); Hanks vs. General

Motors Corporation, 859 F. 2d 67, 69 (8th

Cir. 1988). LIRC did all of these. This

case law would suggest that the meaning

of "interpretation" as used by this court

in Lingle, 486 U.S. at 411, is much

broader than the narrow reading given by

the Wisconsin Court.

-23-

Since the Wisconsin Court’s decision

is being published, Universal Foods

orpo lon _vs. s, . Wie... ,

467 N.W. 2d 793 (Wis. App. 1991), the

analysis of the Wisconsin Court will be

the law in Wisconsin, unless certiorari

is granted in this case. In Wisconsin,

claims under Section 102.35(3), Wis.

Stats., will continue to be governed by

the terms of collective bargaining

agreements, and state agencies will

continue to analyze and consider the

terms of collective bargaining agreements

in deciding these claims. Wisconsin law

will be at variance with federal

preemption doctrine, as set forth in

Lueck and Lingle, and as_ specifically

applied by the lst Circuit in Magerer vs.

John Sexton & Company, 912 F. 2d 525 (1st

Cir. 1990). In order to avoid this

situation, the petitioner, Universal

-24-

Foods, respectfully requests that

certiorari be granted in this matter, and

that the Decision of the Court of Appeals

in Wisconsin be reversed.

lil. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the

petitioner, Universal Foods, respectfully

requests that the Court grant a writ of

certiorari to the Supreme Court of

Wisconsin, and reverse the Decision of

the Court of Appeals of Wisconsin.

Respectfully submitted:

Counsel of Record

for Plaintiff-Petitioner,

Universal Foods Corporation

DANIEL J. STANGLE

OTJEN, VAN ERT, STANGLE,

LIEB & WEIR, S.C.

Other counsel:

THOMAS M. ROHE

OTJEN, VAN ERT, STANGLE,

LIEB & WEIR, S.C.

-25-

APPENDIX

1. Order of Supreme

Court of the State

f Wisconsin

denying Petition

for Review, dated

April 30, 1991

Remittitur Order of

Court of Appeals,

dated May 1, 199]

Publication Order of

Wisconsin Court of

Appeals, dated

April 9, 1991

4. Acknowledgment of

Supreme Court of

Wisconsin of receipt

of Petition for

Review, dated

March 12, 1991

Decision of the Cour

of Appeals of

Wisconsin, dated

February 12, 1991

6. Judgment of

Milwaukee County

Circuit Court,

dated July 25, 199

A-i

Page

an

7. Memorandum Decision

of Milwaukee

County Circuit

Court, dated

July 10, 1990 > © « «© « AWS

¥ 75 “cy + } .+

naiine I I | ‘ ,

, ‘

i ‘ A ii A h wv

and Order of State

1f Wisconsin Labor

& Industry Review

. "yy ; em e c

COMMISSion . ° ; ; :, : ; aS

} ; indin ¥< f } +

‘ se | AAG > | A |

‘

ind Order

a | 7

iT oy

AU Lil. Lat te

| . > y »

LhnomaS ! j ne A-6'

T )

| f

° rages L, , } ,

Don > ‘ ” }

T , + ‘

y » ww

A 4 ins a

v _™ 7, + +}

L ¢ st L.A ny a Lit

J

T my ¥ ry i |

panuary >», }

I

} aie a a -

iif iJ Lng . . . Aen sa

’ Lleé + ‘ ' Ra rr +h? 1

i . \ ; LIV é ele e' s,Q L111 1 ;

_ . Tr . /

‘> ry) . ~~ +

Agreement, Re 3! nd¢

y A : ’

‘ ,

Exhibit 5, Article

/ A . 4

»e UZ, GS.eVa, te ' P

; A t

4.05 and 6.0] , ss BOW Lio

er : ‘

Petition for Review

cy ’ > ,

to Supreme Cou: |

} \¥ , , cy

WJ \ ii Rahy i" 4, ¢

> "

‘ ; > . . . yy ~~ -& ;

»

Office of the Clerk

SUPREME COURT

STATE OF WISCONSIN

Madison, April 30, 1991

To Hon. Francis Wasielewski

Milwaukee County Circuit Court

901 N. 9th St., Rm. 414

Milwaukee, WI 53233

James A. Beaudry

Beaudry & Beaudry

P. O. Box 311

Hales Corners, WI 53130-0311

Daniel J. Stangle

Thomas M. Rohe

Otjen, Van Ert, Stangle,

Lieb & Weir, S.C.

700 N. Water St., #800

Milwaukee, WI 53202

Lowell E. Nass

Asst. Attorney General

P.O. Box 7857

Madison, WI 53707-7857

The Court today announced an order in

your case as follows:

No. 90-1734 Universal Foods Corp. v.

LIRC and Damato L.C.#89CV014059

A petition for review pursuant

to sec. 808.10, Stats., having been filed

on behalf of plaintiff-appellant-

A-1

ttre! Militia

COURT OF APPEALS

OF WISCONSIN

P. O. BOX 1688

MADISON, WI 53701-1688

DISTRICT 1

REMITTITUR

UNIVERSAL FOODS CORPORATION,

PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT,

APPEAL NO. 90-1734

V.

T. Ct. NO. 89-CV-014059

LABOR & INDUSTRY REVIEW COMMISSION,

and BARBARA DAMATO,

DEFENDANTS~-RESPONDENTS.

THIS CAUSE WAS AN APPEAL TO REVIEW

THE JUDGMENT OF THE CIRCUIT COURT OF

MILWAUKEE COUNTY. UPON CONSIDERATION, IT

IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED BY AN OPINION

FILED ON FEBRUARY 12, 1991, THAT:

JUDGMENT AFFIRMED.

MTS Wrote Decision/Opinion

RAF Wrote Dissenting Opinion

PANEL: HON. MICHAEL T SULLIVAN

HON. WILLIAM R MOSER

HON. RALPH ADAM FINE

—V——

THE APPEAL RECORD IS HEREBY RETURNED

TO THE CLERK OF CIRCUIT COURT FOR

MILWAUKEE COUNTY.

1 CERTIFY THAT THE ABOVE

IS A CORRECT TRANSCRIPT OF

THE ORIGINAL ORDER AND

JUDGMENT OF THE COURT IN

THE ABOVE-ENTITLED CAUSE.

DATED: MAY 01, 1991.

/S/MLG

MARILYN L. GRAVES

CLERK, COURT OF APPEALS

DISTRICT I

Office of the Clerk

COURT OF APPEALS

231 E. STATE CAPITOL

P.O. BOX 1688

MADISON, WISCONSIN 53701-1688

TELEPHONE 608-266-1880

APRIL 9, 1991

To:

JAMES A. BEAUDRY

BEAUDRY & BEAUDRY

Pe Oe BOA Jae

HALES CORNERS, WI 53130-0311

DANIEL J. STANGLE

THOMAS M. ROHE

OTJEN, VAN ERT, STANGLE,

LIEB & WEIR, S.C.

700 N. WATER STREET

SUITE 800

MILWAUKEE, WI 53202-4206

LOWELL E. NASS

ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL

You are hereby notified that the Court

has entered the following order:

#90-1734 UNIVERSAL FOODS

CORPORATION v. LIRC & BARBARA DAMATO

wa

BEFORE EICH, CHM., FINE, ANDERSON,

LAROCQUE AND SUNDBY, JJ., PUBLICATION

COMMITTEE.

THE COURT HAVING FILED ITS OPINION

IN THE ABOVE-ENTITLED APPEAL AND THE

COURT HAVING CONCLUDED PURSUANT TO RULE

809.23 THAT THE OPINION SHOULD BE

PUBLISHED,

IT IS ORDERED THAT THE OPINION IN

THE ABOVE-ENTITLED APPEAL BE PUBLISHED IN

THE OFFICIAL REPORTS.

Marilyn L. Graves

Clerk of Court of Appeals

SUPREME COURT

OF WISCONSIN

P, O. BOX 1688

MADISON, WI 53701-1688

TELEPHONE (608) 266-1880

MARILYN L. GRAVES

CLERK

MARCH 12, 1991

TO: THOMAS M ROHE

OTJEN, VAN ERT, STANGLE,

LIEB & WEIR, S.C.

700 N. WATER ST., STE 800

MILWAUKEE, WI 53202-4206

RE: DISTRICT I

UNIVERSAL FOODS v. LIRC,

90 1734

(Opinion 2/12/91)

DEAR THOMAS M ROHE

THIS WILL ACKNOWLEDGE RECEIPT

OF THE PETITION FOR REVIEW WHICH HAS BEEN

FILED IN THE ABOVE MATTER PURSUANT TO

SEC. 8908.10, STATS. AND RULE 809.62 OF

THE RULES OF APPELLATE PROCEDURE. PLEASE

NOTE THAT THE CASE NUMBER AND THE

DESIGNATIONS OF THE PARTIES WILL REMAIN

IDENTICAL IN THE SUPREME COURT TO THE

A-7

DESIGNATIONS IN THE COURT OF APPEALS,

OTHER THAN THE PARTY FILING THE\PETITION

FOR REVIEW SHOULD ADD PETITIONER TO THE

PREVIOUS DESIGNATION. IF THE PETITION FOR

REVIEW IS GRANTED AND ADDITIONAL BRIEFS

ARE REQUIRED, THF BRIEFS WILL BE FILED

PURSUANT TO RULE 809.19 [9] AND WILL

THEREFORE HAVE THE SAME COLOR COVERS AS

THE BRIEFS WHICH THE PARTIES FILED WITH

THE COURT OF APPEALS.

BECAUSE THE COURT OF APPEALS

MAY ON ITS OWN MOTION RECONSIDER ITS

DECISION WITHIN 30 DAYS OF THE FILING OF

A PETITION FOR REVIEW, WE WILL BE

FURNISHING THE COURT OF APPEALS WITH A

COPY OF YOUR PETITION FOR REVIEW.

IF YOU HAVE ANY £QUESTIONS

REGARDING PROCEDURES ON THE PETITION FOR

REVIEW, PLEASE DO NOT HESITATE TO CONTACT

THIS OFFICE.

oe

YOURS VERY TRULY,

(signed)

MARILYN L. GRAVES

CLERK OF SUPREME COURT

PRESIDING JUDGE, COURT OF APPEALS,

DIST. 1

DANIEL J STANGLE

LOWELL E NASS

JAMES A BEAUDRY

a wy Sr cana

COURT OF APPEALS

DECISION

DATED AND RELEASED

February 12, 1991

No. 90-1734

STATE OF WISCONSIN

IN COURT OF APPEALS

DISTRICT I

UNIVERSAL FOODS CORPORATION,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

LABOR & INDUSTRY REVIEW COMMISSION,

and BARBARA DAMATO,

Defendants-Respondents.

APPEAL from a judgment of the

circuit court for Milwaukee county:

FRANCIS T. WASIELEWSKI, Judge. Affirmed.

Before Moser, P.J., Sullivan

and Fine, JJ.

SULLIVAN, J. This is an appeal

from a worker’s compensation = award.

A-10

Barbara Damato began working for the

Universal Foods Corporation in 1983. Her

pay, seniority, and conditions of

employment were covered by a union labor

agreement. Damato operated a packaging

machine that required repetitive motions.

Due to the repetitive motions, she

suffered a compensable injury to her left

wrist on November 15, 1984, for which she

received worker’s compensation and

disability payments. Also on November 15,

1984, she was laid off due to lack of

work, as waS appropriate for her

seniority status under the union

contract. Her accumulated seniority

amounted to just under one year due to

other previous layoffs. The circuit court

affirmed an order of the co-defendant,

Labor _and Industry Review Commission

(LIRC), which reversed the administrative

law judge’s findings and dismissal order.

A-il

LIRC found, and the circuit court agreed,

that Universal Foods Corporation was

unreasonable in refusing to rehire Damato

and liable to her for payment of lost

wages pursuant to sec. 102.35(3), Stats.

We affirm.

Universal asserts three issues

On appeal: (1) whether sec. 301 of the

Labor Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C.

sec. 185 preempted LIRC from interpreting

the collective bargaining agreement; (2)

whether LIRC’s findings are supported by

sufficient evidence; and, (3) whether

Universal was deprived of due process

because of the lack of adequate notice as

to the unreasonable refusal to rehire

claim.

The appellate court’s review of

agency decisions is identical to the

circuit court. West Bend Co. v. LIRC,

149 Wis. 2d 110, 117, 438 N.W. 2d 823,

A-12

>

<

Matter

evie

red

w

r

.

vw

vv

vv

vw

The

seniority or the provisions of

any collective bargaining

agreement with respect to

seniority shall govern.

applicable provision of the

collective bargaining agreement states:

Damato had just under one year seniority

at the time of layoff; therefore, she

forfeited "seniority rights after 12

4.03: . ; ; Employees

hired after May 1, 1969, and

laid off who have more than

five (5) years of seniority

shall forfeit all seniority

rights after 36 consecutive

months of layoff, and all

employees with less than five

(5) years of seniority shall

forfeit all seniority rights

after twelve (12) consecutive

months of layoff.

A-15

t

4

~

C

Cc

—

Ai

rs

i

ry

ecessa

r

|

vt

e

Ce

viaen

>

icient

+

suf

of

neo

efT)

|

A

vic

is sufficient. West Bend, 149 Wis. 2d at

117-18, 438 N.W. 2d at 827. Even if

contrary to the great weight and clear

preponderance of the evidence, the

findings will be upheld. Id. at 118, 438

N.W. 2d at 827.

To establish an_-— employer’s

liability under sec. 102.35(3), Stats.,

the employee has the burden of showing:

(1) that she was an employee; (2) that

she sustained a compensable injury; (3)

that she applied for rehire; and, (4)

that the employer refused to rehire her

because of the injury. West Bend, 149

Wis. 2d at 126, 438 N.W. 2d at 830-31.

The burden then shifts to the employer to

show a reasonable refusal to rehire. Id.

at 123, 438 N.W. 2d at 829. In order to

meet this burden, the employer must show:

(1) that the employee could not do the

work she applied for; and (2) that no

A-17

| ale es a On:

other suitable work was available. Id. at

126, 438 N.W. 2d at 831. Medical proof

that an employee is unable to perform a

job is necessary for the employer to

sustain its burden. Id. at 126, 438 N.W.

2d at 830 . The second element need not

be reached if the employer fails to

establish, with medical evidence, the

first element. See id. at 126, 438 N.W.

aa at $31.

The first two factors of

Damato’s prima facie case were not

disputed. LIRC found the third and fourth

factors were sufficiently established by

the testimony in the record.

It is the function of the

commission, not the reviewing

courts, to determine the

credibility of witnesses, and

it is for the commission to

weigh conflicting testimony and

A-18

decide who should be believed.

Section 102.23(6), Stats. We

are bound to accept the

findings of the commission

unless the evidence was

insufficient or incredible as a

matter of law.

Link. Indus., Inc. v. LIRC, 141 Wis. 2d

551, 558, 415 W.W. 2c S74, S77 (Ct. App.

1987). LIRC’s determination that the

employer’s representative, Mr. Frederick,

called Damato about a job in October 1985

was not incredible as a matter of law.

Damato was released and available for the

work as of July 1985. Just to be sure she

cleared the work available in October

with her doctor. However, as found by

LIRC, Mr. Frederick "blocked her

opportunity to show her ability to

perform the offered work." LIRC_ then

appropriately examined whether the

A=-19

:

employer met the shifted burden of the

other two factors. LIRC found no

persuasive answer in the record why Mr.

Frederick would call Damato to see if she

waS available to take a job if someone

with her seniority was not up for recall.

A job was found to be available and

Universal presented no medical proof that

Damato was unable to perform this job.

Universal did not meet its burden. These

findings are not insufficient or

incredible as a matter of law. Just as

the circuit court correctly "confirmed"

LIRC’s order, we do the same and uphold

the factual determinations of LIRC.

Finally, Universal claims that

it did not receive adequate notice of the

phone call in October 1985 which was the

basis for the unreasonable refusal to

rehire claim. Therefore, Universal

asserts that it was deprived of due

A-20

process. Supposedly, Universal was

surprised by Damato’s testimony taken

before the administrative law judge about

the October phone conversation with Mr.

Frederick which evidenced Universal’s

unreasonable refusal to rehire. However,

at the hearing, after Damato’s "surprise

testimony," Darrell Foeii, Universal’s

director of labor relations, testified as

follows:

Q. [Attorney Beaudry,

Damato’s counsel, on cross-

examination]: Now, you were

present in this hearing when my

client testified that Mr.

Frederick called her in October

of 1985 to come back to work?

A. [Darrell Foell]: Yes.

Q. Do you have any reason

to dispute her testimony?

A. Yeah, I do.

A-21

Q. What is your reason?

A. Well, when I heard it

from Ms. Damato before, I

called Mr. Frederick and asked

him, and he said he never

called her back.

Q. Now, Mr. Frederick is

available to testify here

today; isn’t he?

A. I have no idea; he’s a

retiree.

If Mr. Foell, director of labor

relations for Universal, knew about

Damato’s testimony early enough to call

Mr. Frederick and ask him what happened,

it could only have been Universal’s

choice not to present Mr. Frederick on

rebuttal. In addition, there was timely

notice of the hearing. The notice of

hearing, received by Universal, as well

as their counsel, indicated that the

A-22

"issue to be heard" was the "refusal to

rehire 102.35(3)." Universal had actual

notice of this issue. Their voluntarily

inadequate or limited presentation to the

tribunal does not amount to denial of due

process . See, e.g., Riemer v. Riemer, 85

Wis. 2d 375, 377-78, 270 N.W. 2d 93, 95

(Ct. App. 1978).

7 LIRC’s findings and

conclusions, properly based on state law,

sec. 102.35(3), Stats., are affirmed.

By the Court. -- Judgment

affirmed.

Not recommended for publication

in the official reports.

No. 90-1734

FINE, J. (dissenting). This is a

state-law claim brought under. section

102.35(3), Stats. Section 102.35(3)

imposes liability on an employer who,

"without reasonable cause[,] refuses to

rehire an employe [sic] who is injured in

the course of employment," provided it is

determined that "suitable employment is

available" for that employee. Section

102.35(3) also requires that eri in

determining the availability of suitable

employment ... the provisions of any

collective bargaining agreement with

respect to seniority shall govern."

Pursuant to this command, the Labor anc

Industry Review Commission applied the

collective bargaining agreement between

Universal Foods Corporation and the union

representing Barbara Damato in order to

ascertain her rights under that agreement

A-24

and thus whether Universal Foods

unlawfully refused to rehire her. The

Commission determined from the collective

bargaining agreement her accumulated

seniority at the time of her injury and

concluded that she had a one-year recall

period. State-law claims between

employees and employers that require the

application of collective bargaining

agreements are pre-empted by section

301(a) of the Labor Management Relations

Act of 1947, 29 U.S.C. sec. 185(a). I

respectfully dissent from the majority’s

conclusion to the contrary.1

lwe must reverse if Damato’s state-law

claim against Universal Foods is

pre-empted by section 301(a) of the Labor

Management Relations Act. Accordingly, I

do not discuss the other issues raised by

Universal Foods on this appeal.

A-25

Section 301(a) provides:

Suits for violation of

contracts between an employer

and a labor organization

representing employees in an

industry affecting commerce as

defined in this Act ... may be

brought in any district court

of the United States having

jurisdiction of the parties,

without respect to the amount

in controversy or without

regard to the citizenship of

Although suits within the ambit of

section 301(a) may also be brought in

state court, Charles Dowd Box Co. v.

Courtney, 368 U.S. 502 (1962), section

301(a) pre-empts the application of state

law "if such application requires the

interpretation of a collective-bargaining

A-26

agX t," Lingle v

agreement, single v.

M c ‘ Chef T ~ ARE

| agic sits yg LnNC., “2 >

r7 0n0cL \ Mw «z f = T VU

f \ T=" ™~ 7. 5

iysoO . iii€cC majyOrl1vy

_ +> miiat Cc > yy) ee a _

LL muStl. wo ee majOrlitry —

4

AT atrar? ~lacae —~KHe ee oe

YEVeET UIE LESS, iit ma Viiv y

P

= + ae | +7 7 + ™ 7 nat

S$t-at¢ Law Ciallil i- IU L

. “~ .

7 -Ta. _— > / } \ KRoaraA1IICO ..

Sec Osi « L{a) DeCcausec, Ln

e734 Atl? " = _ eee eee

VviAcw, Ad VU LIILeL yreta

. _ oe . } “—- ; ——

5 2 yY | y

OL LeCLLVS Dal JaLlnini 4

y - . : away tt - - - +

sa « Y y ,

iicUC Ssal y 4 4

aorarmine t+, a+ ’ y +

A —— ite Ses LLL a 2). i

742 » ia hRT A e732 &hkh 4 Rn + } ~

iVallanvic WiLiiidii eei— =,

neriod." Matorityv selivD

WoL A WU eo AGA ;UL — f oe ae SS

r 4 t

c@aoane ~hKHo ™~ ~ya eu

wwocCiii. Cc, Lilt tite! }OrILLYy

J P

_wnr OoOY'Y he + nr ’ . “— .

interpretation was necess

r

. lie aie le ie © i al ae | 4 , wey y

J &» * c —~ tt ¥ © bal QGaililill 4 >

J 7 is

— oy Taba ~ - co wa ne cae ie a =

Leowvweoev tl wu V/ woeililivVidaiv y it -

t 4

waAamWi 711011

ALIA UYU eo

Diir rane i . FF Vo

rut’ LIQ as iaqe 436 v¢

4 rITh or ~ + . )

/ 4 WilCil a at Ludi i

—_. ._ —~hHo v7 ~~ + — - ar

Li Ulli iit sun ‘ 4 C A il Lv y

i

_ 7

of

, . o ‘

2QC 7

i - c> > 4 Lg

‘eae in Se ;

Liacos this, as

,Y y + 2

- ~ Op. atv .

bs

. ry - ’ ,

nny | YY) rr

Nnolas D Ama C¢

= + hRAvxry

pre-empted by

- — vy /

the ma O LTY

4

—... o~ + -

. L10nNn Vs ~iLS

axe oOOom "+ ,

aqil eemehntce was

¥ mm a = ~

ae | mission =

.>* Tt a -y v7 Cc

I VamMmatlO Wad

rh = ror

11¢ Yc ar St. al i,

i

Ar 4 y>

\/ h/ « at “2 « } a |

L

An ! 1< rh > mer

sw A VA WO Lha Ll a4

us } "“|S131ICcC a +

if y pe 1usSe Vii

4

.,rAtrICAAN e734 4+}

fe Vv LSsSi1on a eS |

— ,_ + <71 Ot

P Li A — VicCw,

ru an } rn ] rY

» ¥ Leda pl! UN ©]

4

sal an cun y “on

. \/ Vv 1si0nNn t ass €

~ } ) }

—~ rhe a ba wal 4 +

tO Lie QuSK Ol

he test of pre-emption

collective bargaining

yuous and thus requires

but, rather, whether

e state remedy requires

Thy + —_ v7 - A> +

hus, 3 State-law tort

= + + on

, in employee for the

+ " } } ; . “ ‘

11th handling > f 1

S union. Allis-Chalmers

471 U.S. 202, 216-218

Lueck v. Aetna Life

» 24 559, 342 N.W. 2d

which specifically

ot onl T 9 - oo. aa | .

lmers, Lingle, 486 U.S.

at 405-406, reaffirms that section 301(a)

prevents the states from applying their

"individualized local rules when called

upon to enforce" collective bargaining

agreements, id., 486 U. S . at 404 n. 3,

and that "‘the pre-emptive force of sec.

301 is so powerful as to displace

entirely any state cause of action ‘for

violation of contracts between an

employer and a labor organization,’’"

id., 486 U.S. at 406 n. 5 (quoting

Franchise Tax _ Bd. of California vv.

Construction Laborers Vacation Trust for

Southern California, 463 U.S. 1, 23

(1983) (quoting section 301(a)). Thus,

and with specific relevance here, a

state~law claim is pre-empted by section

301(a) when resolution of that claim "is

substantially dependent upon analysis of

the terms of an agreement made between

the parties." Allis-Chalmers, 471 U.S. at

A-29

220. Stated another way, a state-law

claim with respect to rights within the

rh

ey

ambit fe) collective bargaini

Beatrice Foods Co., 921 F.

1015, _—————, ~ 1990 WESTLAW 197766 at 18-

(LOtThH Cir. 1990) interpreting Lingle

Justice Donald W. Steinmetz’s dissent

Lueck 1S instructive:

Because any duty allegedly

Violated by Allis-Chalmers in

the present case was

Specifically sreated by the

labor contract, and would not

ov sco oOr TT, . a n+ _ +

exist absent such contract, it

miliat 17 writ ; } - , + r

must fall within the ambit of

sec. 30] of the Labor

\

‘yy

|

>)

ng

Management Relations Act

(LMRA), which governs’ labor

agreements. Without the

existence of the labor contract

conferring disability benefits

upon union members, there can

be no action in this case on a

failure to pay such benefits. A

finding of bad faith will

necessarily be premised on a

finding that a labor agreement,

governed by federal law, has

been violated. To do as the

majority holds fragments

deferral labor law.

116 Wis. 2d at 578, 342 N.W. 2d at 708

(emphasis in original). Similarly, here,

the determination of whether "suitable

employment," as that term is defined by

section 102.35(3), was available for

Damato requires an analysis and

} Naa

application of the seniority rules in the

collective bargaining agreement; there

can be no finding that Universal Foods

has violated section 102.35(3) without

reference to that agreement. Since

Damato’s claim under section 102.35(3) in

effect seeks to enforce the seniority

provisions of the collective bargaining

agreement, and since the claim’s

resolution is dependent upon the terms of

that agreement, the claim is pre-empted

by federal law. I would reverse.

STATE OF WISCONSIN

CIRCUIT COURT

MILWAUKEE COUNTY

UNIVERSAL FOODS CORPORATION,

Plaintiff,

JUDGMENT

Case No. 89-CV-014059

LABOR AND INDUSTRY REVIEW COMMISSION

and BARBARA DAMATO,

Defendants.

The above action having come on for

hearing before the Court, Universal Foods

Corporation, plaintiff, appearing by

Thomas M. Rohe, Barbara Damato,

defendant, appearing by James A. Beaudry,

and the Labor-~ and Industry Review

Commission, defendant, appearing by

Donald J. Hanaway, Attorney General, by

Lowell EB. Nass, Assistant Attorney

General; and the Court having considered

the matter upon the record and written

arguments of counsel, and having on the

Awd

10th day of July, 1990, rendered its

written decision,

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that the

order of the Labor and Industry Review

Commission, dated October 3, 1989, be,

and same hereby is, in all respects

confirmed.

Dated at Milwaukee, Wisconsin, this

25th day of July, 1990.

BY THE COURT:

(signed)

FRANCIS T. WASIELEWSKI

Circuit Judge, Branch 17

STATE OF WISCONSIN

CIRCUIT COURT

MILWAUKEE COUNTY

UNIVERSAL FOODS CORPORATION,

Plaintiff,

vs. Case No. 89-CV-014-059

LABOR AND INDUSTRY REVIEW

COMMISSION AND BARBA®A DAMATO,

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM DECISION

Nature of Proceedings

This is an action for judicial

review, under sec. 102.23, Wis. Stats.,

of a workman’s compensation order of the

defendant, Labor and Industry Review

Commission (hereinafter "LIRC") dated

October 3, 1989, determining that the

plaintiff, Universal Foods Corporation

(hereinafter "Universal"), is liable to

the defendant, Barbara Damato

(hereinafter "Damato"), for the payment

A~35

of lost wages pursuant to sec. 102.35(3),

Stats., and awarding Damato a certain sum

as compensation for such lost wages. In

so acting, the LIRC reversed the findings

and dismissal order of the administrative

law judge, (hereinafter "ALJ") dated

April 21, 1989.

ISSUES

The court finds that the issues in

contention between the parties have been

properly defined by the LIRC, and

therefore adopts the LIRC’s statement of

the issues, as its own, as follows:

1) Is there credible and substantial

evidence to support the Commission’s

(LIRC) findings that the employer refused

to rehire the claimant (Damato) without

reasonable cause in violation of sec.

102.35(3), Stats.?

2) Is the claim under sec. 102 .35(3),

Stats., pre-empted by sec. 301(a) of the

A-36

Labor Management Relations Act where no

interpretation of the collective

bargaining agreement was required?

Applicable Statute

Section 102.35(3), Stats., provides:

Any employer who without

reasonable cause refuses to

rehire an employe who is

injured in the course of

employment, where suitable

employment is available within

the employe’s physical and

mental limitations, upon order

of the department and in

addition to other benefits, has

exclusive liability to pay the

employe the wages lost during

the period of such refusal, not

exceeding one year’s wages. In

determining the availability of

suitable employment the

A-37

continuance in business of the

employer shall be considered

and any written rules

promulgated by the employer

with respect to seniority or

the provisions of any

collective bargaining agreement

with respect to seniority shall

govern.

Factual Background

The Court adopts the factual

background, of Damato’s work history with

Universal, from the October 3, 1989

decision of the LIRC, as follows:

"The applicant (Damato)

began workiig for the employer

(Universal) in 1983. She

operated a packaging machine

and did repetitive work. Her

pay, seniority and conditions

of work were covered under a

A-38

union labor

suffered a

agreement.

(left wrist carpal

an injury

1984.

she received

date

Prior to

compensable

tunnel)

inj

4. Aik

compensation payment for t

injury and result

disability. On vember

1984, she was laid ff due

.,

lack of WOrK as

appropriate under the un

contrac for worker with

seniority. The employer

not rehired her. The issue

be resolved is whether

employer unreasonably refu

- cr r<¢ a en oe a Qa Y cri eh —

= s . 4 - Wiwesiddbl

meaning f section 102.35(3)

the Statutes. .

ct

a

Y

O

In October of 1985, the

employer’s representative, Mr.

Frederick, called the applicant

about a job which required

lifting of 25 pounds. This was

within the applicant’s one-year

union contract recall period,

which did not expire until

N > = Qe WW

November 15, 1985.

Frederick that she would check with her

doctor and call him back. That same day,

after receiving the approval of her

doctor to return to work, she called

Frederick back to accept his offer of

employment. However, Frederick said in

reply that Universal di not need her

anymore.

Standard of Review

In reviewing the decision of the

LIRC, this Court is bound by statute to

uphold the factual findings of the LIRC

if they are supported by substantial and

credible evidence. Section 102.23 Wis.

Stats. If there is relevant, credible

and probative evidence upon which a

reasonable person could rely upon to

reach the conclusion made the LIRC, the

LIRC’s findings must be upheld. Princess

House Inc. v. DILHR, 111 Wis. 2d 46, 54

(1983). The LIRC’s determinations on

issues of law are not binding on this

Court, however, case law requires that

legal determinations of the LIRC be

upheld if the Court finds that such

determinations are reasonable. Jenks v.

Wisconsin Department of Industry Labor

and Human Relations, 107 Wis. 2d 714 (Ct.

App. 1982).

Decisio

- The first issue is whether the LIRC’s

findings are supported by substantial and

credible evidence. Before the LIRC, the

plaintiff, Damato bore the burden of

establishing a prima facie case DY

=

my

meeting the requirements of a four prong

+

‘el

=]

=

test: (J a statutory

employee at the time of her injury; (2)

that she suffered a compensable injury;

(3) that she was able to return to work;

her without reasonable 1use.

Whether Universal was guilty of an

unreasonable refusal to rehire Damato,

pursuant to sec. 102.35(3), Stats., was a

question of fact the LIRC to decide.

Link Industries Inc. v. LIRC, 141 Wis. 2d

>] ’ 558 qa App. 198 / } . That the rArSseu

and second elements of Damato’s prima

facie case were established before the

LIRC 1s not disputed.

A-42

The LIRC found that the third factor

was established by the "medical opinions

of Dr. Zupnik and Dr. Wartinbee, dated

June and July of 1985, respectively,

that the applicant could perform the

offered work." (LIRC 10/3/89 decision, at

3.) The LIRC found the fourth factor was

established by the testimony of Damato.

Based on her testimony that Frederick had

called to offer her her job back, while

she was still within the union contract’s

recall period, the LIRC concluded "that a

job was available and that the applicant

was up for recall under the_- union

contract procedure. Otherwise, the

conversation With Mr. Frederick would not

have occurred." (Id. at 2.)

Thus, the LIRC determined that

Damato had established her prima facie

case. The burden then shifted to

Universal to show some reasonable cause

A-43

for its refusal to rehire her. This

Universal did not do. Universal contends

that all Frederick was doing, when he

called Damato, was checking on her

health, not offering to rehire her.

In attempting to prove this

contention, Universal relies upon the

testimony of Mr. Darrell Foell,

Universal’s representative. According to

Universal, Foell’s testimony established

"that employees with the applicant’s

Seniority were not recalled by November,

1985, and indeed employees with more

seniority than the applicant lost their

seniority lost their seniority at the

Same time applicant did." (Universal’s

1/19/90 brief at 9.)

The LIRC weighed this’ testimony

against that of Damato and determined

be-

that Damato’s test

credibility of a witness and the weight

to be given testimony, and reasonable

inferences drawn from that testimony, are

for the LIRC to determine. The Court may

not substitute its judgment for that of

the LIRC. Section 102.23(6), Stats. The

LIRC found Damato’s testimony credible is

supported by substantial and credible

evidence in the record. Therefore, even

though evidence may have been presented

by Universal that might lead to a

different conclusion, this Court may not

substitute its judgment on findings of

fact made by the LIRC when the findings

are supported by credible and substantial

evidence, as is the case here.

The fact that conflicting evidence,

on factual questions, was presented for a

determination to the LIRC, is not a

sufficient ground to overturn the

findings of the LIRC. Eastex Packaging

Co. v. ILHR Department, 89 Wis. 2d 739,

745 (1979).

II. The second issue is whether Damato’s

sec. 102.35(3), Stats. claim is

pre-empted by sec. 301(a) of the Labor

Management Labor Relations Act. Damato

contends her claim was not pre-empted,

because the LIRC did not have to

interpret the collective bargaining

agreement (hereinafter "CBA"). Universal

contends that her claim was pre-empted,

because the LIRC interpreted the CBA, in

reaching its decision. Universal argues

the LIRC was precluded from interpreting

the CBA, to grant Damato relief, pursuant

to the holding of Lingle v. Norge

Division of Magic Chef, Inc., 486 U.S.

__, 100° L.Ed. 2d 410, 422-3, 108 S.Ct.

1877 (1988).

The Court agrees with Universal that

Lingle does preclude judges, and by

A-46

implication state agencies, from

interpreting CBA’s when determining

questions of state law involving

labor-management relé -ions. According to

Lingle, such interpretations remain

"firmly in the arbitral realm. . . ." 100

L.Ed. at 422. Universal contends that it

was necessary for the LIRC to interpret

the CBA to reach its decision. Thus,

because the LIRC exceeded its

jurisdiction, by interpreting the CBA,

Universal argues this Court must overturn

the LIRC’s determination.

Damato argues, and the Court agrees,

that the LIRC did not have to interpret

the CBA to reach its decision. Since the

LIRC accepted the testimony of Damato,

regarding her being called back to work,

the LIRC did not have to construe the CBA

to arrive at its decision. The LIRC did

not interpret the CBA. And therefore no

A-47

pre-emption takes. place. It is the

opinion of the Court that the LIRC did

ts

fe:

not interpret the CBA in arriving at

determination. Therefore, Damato’s state

law claim was not pre-empted.

III. Universal has raised two additional

issues it claims are determinative in

this action for judicial review: (1) "Was

the employer’s right to due _ process

violated by a lack off adequate notice?;

and (2) Is a refusal to rehire an

employee who loses her seniority under a

collective bargaining agreement

reasonable?" (Universal’s 1/19/90 brief,

at 5.)

(1) In sum, Universal contends that a

"lack of adequate notice deprived the

employer of due process." (Id. at 11.)

Universal argues that it came to the

hearing prepared to dispute Damato’s

allegations of an unreasonable refusal to

A-48

rehire in February of 1987, but that it

was unprepared to dispute Damato’s

allegations of an unreasonable refusal to

rehire in November of 1985. Universal

argues that had it been put on proper

notice, it would have produced Frederick,

to refute Damato’s testimony. If, as

Universal claims, it was unfairly

prejudiced and deprived of due process,

that alone might be a sufficient ground

for the Court to reverse the LIRC’s

determination, as Universal argues,

citing Bituminous Casualty Co. v. DILHR,

97 Wis. 2d 730, 734 (1979).

However, the Court finds the

Bituminous, case is distinguishable from

the facts of this action, because there,

the employer did ask for an opportunity

to present evidence at the time of the

hearing. That did not occur in the case

at bar. Further, as Damato contends, and

A-49

the Court concurs, Universal’s due

process argument is without merit.

First, as clearly demonstrated by

the record, Universal knew of the

Frederick - Damato phone calls of

October, 1985, before the hearing, but

waived its opportunity for rebuttal by

failing to produce Frederick at the

hearing. Allen v. Allen, 78 Wis. 2d 263,

270 Claeys F Secondly, even assuming

Universal was Surprised by Damato’s

presentation, it is well settled law,

that, the right to any of the particular

elements of a fair hearing may be waived.

Appleton Electric Co. v. Minor, 91 Wis.

2d 825, 832 (1979). Finally, Universal,

upon timely notice, voluntarily appeared

and failed to ask for an adjournment to

bring in Frederick for rebuttal

testimony. Upon these facts, it is the

opinion of the Court that Universal was

A-50

not denied its right to procedural due

process. Riemer v. Riemer, 85 Wis. 2d

375, 377-78 (Ct. App. 1978).

(2) The second issue raised by Universal

be also without merit. The LIRC did not

base its decision on an interpretation of

the CBA. Instead, the LIRC’s decision was

based primarily on the credible and

substantial testimony of Damato.

Conclusion

It is the opinion of the Court that

the LIRC’s October 3, 1989 order is

supported by credible and substantial

evidence. Therefore, the entire order of

the LIRC, in this matter, dated October

3, 1989 is CONFIRMED. Counsel for the

defendant, LIRC, shall draw the

appropriate order and submit it under the

five (5) day rule.

Dated at Milwaukee, Wisconsin this 10th

day of July, 1990.

(Signed)

Francis T. Wasielewski.

Circuit Court Judge Presiding

. -

Yeas

BEFORE THE

STATE OF WISCONSIN

LABOR AND INDUSTRY REVIEW COMMISSION

BARBARA DAMATO

14803 West National Avenue

New Berlin, Wisconsin 53151

Applicant,

Claim No. 84-57446

S. S. No. 378-68-2329

RED STAR YEAST PLANT

Universal Foods

325 North 27th Street

Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53208

Employer.

SEE ENCLOSURE AS TO

TIME LIMIT ON FURTHER

APPEAL.

On April 21, 1989, an Administrative

Law Judge of the Worker’s Compensation

Division of the Department of Industry,

Labor and Human Relations (hereafter the

Department) issued a decision which

dismissed the applicant’s compensation

claim for the employer’s alleged refusal

A-53

="

to rehire her, within the meaning of

section 102.35(3) of the Statutes. A

timely petition for Commission review was

filed on the applicant’s behalf, pursuant

to section 102.18(3) of the Statutes. An

Answer to the petition was filed on

behalf of the employer.

The Commission reviewed the record,

applicable law and the written arguments

cof the parties. The Commission also

consulted with the Administrative Law

Judge regarding the credibility and

demeanor of the witnesses. Based upon

this review, the Commission majority

determines that the Administrative Law

Judge’s decision should be reversed based

upon the following:

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The applicant began working for the

employer in 1983. She operated a

packaging machine and did _ repetitive

A-54

a

work. Her pay, seniority and conditions

of work were covered under a union labor

agreement. She suffered a compensable

injury (left. wrist carpal tunnel) with an

injury date of November 15, 1984. Prior

to this hearing, she received primary

compensation payments for that injury and

resulting disability. On November 15,

1984, she was laid off due to a lack of

work, aS was appropriate under the union

contract for workers with her seniority.

The employer has not rehired her. The

issue to resolve is whether the employer

unreasonably refused to rehire her,

within the meaning of section 102.35(3)

of the Statutes. The Commission majority

determines that this ‘question must be

answered in the affirmative.

An applicant establishes a prima

facie case by showing the _ following

factors: (1) that she was a statutory

A-55

employe at the time of her injury, (2)

that she suffered a compensable injury,

(3) that she was able to return to work,

and (4) that the employer refused to hire

her. If these~ four factors are

established, the burden shifts to the

employer to show that either suitable

work was not available which the employe

could perform, or that the employer had

reasonable cause not to rehire her.

The applicant established the four

factors of her prima facie case. The

first two factors were not disputed. The

third and fourth factors were established

by the following facts. In October of

1985,- the employer’s representative, Mr.

Frederick, called the applicant about a

job which required lifting of 25 pounds.

This was within the applicant’s one-year

union recall period, which did not expire

until November 15, 1985. The Commission

A-56

majority concludes that a job was

available and that the applicant was up

for recall under the union contract

procedure. Otherwise, the conversation

with Mr. Frederick would not have

occurred.

The medical opinions of Dr. Zupnik

and Dr. Wartinbee, dated in June and July

of 1985, respectively, were that the

applicant could perform the offered work.

Sometime between July and November 27,

1985, the applicant’s condition worsened

because Dr. Olson performed a _e second

surgery around that date in November.

However, even considering that her

condition worsened, the applicant still

established her prima facie case. fThis

is true because the employe offered to

Mr. Frederick to clear the job

opportunity through her physician, but

Mr. Frederick did not allow her that

A-57

opportunity. He, in effect, blocked her

Opportunity to show her ability to

perform the offered work.

The burden then shifted to the

employer to show that suitable work was

not available which the applicant could

perforn, or that the employer had

reasonable cause not to rehire her.

The employer asserted that in

October of 1985, the applicant’s

seniority was not sufficient for a

recall. The Commission majority finds

this reason pretextual. As discussed

previously, if her seniority was not yet

up for recall under the union contract,

then why would Mr. Frederick call her for

a job? There is no persuasive answer to

this question in the record.

In conference with the

Administrative Law Judge, the Judge

expressed sympathy with the employer.

A-58

The Judge felt that if the applicant

mentioned recurring problems to Mr.

Frederick, then Mr. Frederick probably

thought there was no use in attempting to

place the applicant in the job, based

upon Mr. Frederick’s assumption that she

probably could not perform the lifting

required in the position. The judge also

felt that the employer may have called

the employe just to see how she was

doing, rather than to offer work. Tne

Commission majority sees no persuasive

evidence in the record to support the

Administrative Law Judge’s suppositions.

Furthermore, an employer has the burden

of proving that the applicant was not

able to perform the offered work. The

employer does not meet this burden by

simply assuming the applicant’s inability

to work, especially when the employer has

refused to allow the applicant to consult

f A-59

with her physicians to establish her

ability to perform the offered work.

Such unfounded assumptions by employers

are precisely the type of = conduct

prohibited by the statute.

The applicant has lifting

restrictions in effect today. However,

work is available at the employer’s

business which she can perforn. In

consultation with the Administrative Law

Judge, the Commission learned that the

Judge agreed the record showed that the

employer has work which the applicant

would be able to perform, even with her

current restrictions. Nonetheless, the

Judge feit that since the applicant was

not returned to work within her contract

recall period, she had no entitlement to

those jobs. The Commission, however, has

ruled that the employer unreasonably

refused to rehire the applicant during

A-60

her contract recall period. The employer

has not shown that today the applicant

would not be entitled under the union

contract to the work which she can

perform if the employer had not refused

to rehire her in October of 1985.

Therefore, the applicant’s current

physical condition provides no basis for

denying or limiting compensation to which

she would otherwise be entitled under

section 102.25(3) of the Statutes.

As of January 23, 1989, (the date of

hearing), the applicant still has found

no other employment. She is, therefore,

entitled to the statutory maximum of one

year’s lost wages. This amounts to

$22,308. Her attorney is entitled to 20

percent of the amount awarded herein.

Attorney’s fees are thereby set at

$4,461.60.

NOW THEREFORE, this

ORDER

That within 30 days of the date of

this Order, the employer shall pay the

applicant the sum of $17,846.40, and

shall pay the applicant’s attorney the

sum of $4,461.60. This decision is being

issued as a final Order only as to the

issue resolved herein.

Dated and mailed at

Madison, Wisconsin, this

3rd day of October, 1989.

(signed)

Kevin C. Potter, Chairman

(signed)

Carl W. Thompson,

Commissioner

PAMELA I. ANDERSON, COMMISSIONER

(dissenting)

I am unable to agree with the result

reached by the majority herein and I

dissent.

I agree with the Administrative Law

Judge that the employer did not violate

section 102.35(3). The employer

testified that they did not get to the

employe’s seniority for the year the

applicant was gone. This would be from

November 1984 to November 1985. While I

agree with the majority, it would have

been very helpful to have Mr. Frederick

at the hearing to testify about the

October conversation, I do not believe it

was crucial to establishing what work was

available. Since they had not reached

the applicant’s seniority by November of

1985 when her recall rights under the

contract ran out, then they also could

A-63

not have offered her work in October of

1985.

The majority assumes that the call

from Frederick offered the employe a job,

and then when she wanted to check with

her doctor, Frederick said "never mind,"

we do not need you. The Administrative

Law Judge believed that Frederick had

called only to check on how the employe

was doing. The Administrative Law

Judge’s opinion is more than sympathy for

the employe where the employer testified

that the employe did not have sufficient

seniority for recall before November 15,

1985. After that date, the emplvoye had

lost her union recall rights which she

did not even grieve. The employe also

had additional surgery and more permanent

restrictions on what she could do for the

employer.

I am convinced that the employer did

not unreasonably refuse to rehire the

employe. For these reasons, I would

affirm the Administrative Law Judge

decision and deny the penalty of one

year’s wages.

(signed)

Pamela I. Anderson, Commissioner

CC:

James A. Beaudry, Attorney

2363 South 102nd Street

West Allis, Wisconsin 53227

Daniel J. Stangle, Attorney

Otjen, Van Ert, Stangle,

Lieb & Weir, S.C.

First Financial Centre

700 North Water Street, Suite 800

Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202-4206

140-CD7423

A-

65

STATE OF WISCONSIN

DEPARTMENT OF INDUSTRY, LABOR

AND HUMAN RELATIONS

WORKER’S COMPENSATION DIVISION

P. O. BOX 7901

MADISON, WISCONSIN 53707

(608) 266-1340

378-68-2329

84-57446

Barbara Damato

14803 W. National Ave.

New Berlin, WI 53151

Applicant

James A. Beaudry

2363 S. 102nd St.

West Allis, WI 53227

~ Applicant Attorney

Red Star Yeast Plant

Universal Foods

3245 Ne 27tR St.

Milwaukee, WI 53208

Employer

Otjen, Van Ert, Stangle,

Lieb & Weir, S.C.

First Financial Centre

700 N. Water St., Suite 800

Milwaukee, WI 53202-4206

Respondent Attorney

>

1

66

Hearing was held January 23, 1989 in

Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

>

)

APPEARANCES:

Applicant, in person,

and by Attorney James

A. Beaudry;

Respondent by

Attorney Daniel J.

Stangle of Otjen,

Van Ert, Stanale,

Lieb & Weir, S.C.

67

- - -

r4 r-— c-4

*

r ~ c

4 cnt

J 4

4

( >

.

4 a4 4J

t . 4

4 ,

“~~

4 =

. _)

4 ,

a re

>

: =

>

4 4

’ ,

4

I J

j ‘

m4

>

14

_ ~ 4

‘ 4

1

4 >

+ ~ ~ »

4 4

4 »4 ~

+ ‘ es

TS +4 — J

4 4

U + ~

= Ly

ry at

j

fi ot

4

-

Ji uv) 4

a | oe

4

f =

4

‘ >

. by

da a.

" ae

pad = nd al

f phe +

. 4 iJ

4

. 4

rx

i c4 4

_ a

r pa

7 7 _

<t

s | »

iJ

+4 ‘. —

. 4

} ae ‘

; =

Cc yy phd

~

rx

‘ oF

ci 4 /

< i

~

_

sae | i

A at

) f

+ “

4 } 4

; -

; ra | | na

FINDINGS OF FACT

The applicant began working for

respondent in 1983. She operated a

packaging machine and did repetitive

work. Her pay, seniority and conditions

at work were covered under a union labor

agreement. The applicant was laid off due

to lack of work November 15, 1985 along

with other workers with her seniority.

Her accumulated seniority amounted to

just under one year due to other, prior

layoffs. The applicant and the other

workers with her seniority were not

recattea during the following year. The

applicant’s left wrist injury required

medical treatment during the layoff. She

received worker’s compensation as_ set

forth above. The medical restrictions the

applicant was under due to the left wrist

problem would have kept her from any work

she was qualified for at the company had

A-69

work existed in 1985 and should work

exist at present. The company terminated

~ ~n?Pi ran v7 - ae : , +. a-

the applicant when her seniority ran out

xT es on } - r¢ ) on mT} scm + a .

November 15, 1985. The applicant did not

contest under the labor contract the

“7 \ wile + "-ALIIN , . <> » o .

company’s act of counting worker’s

compensation leave as part of her layoff

cT

ime. Due to the cessation of temporary

total disability at the time of the

termination (the subject of a later claim

by the applicant against the insurance

company,) the company was not aware that

her status was anything other than layoff

when the termination was made. Because of

all these factors, the business decision

to terminate the applicant at the

expiration of her seniority was made with

reasonable cause and was not in any way

an act of discrimination due to the fact

the applicant had incurred this’ work

A-70

Injury. The claim for benefits pursuant

to sec. 102.35(3), is dismissed.

NOW, THEREFORE, this

ORDER

That the pending claim made pursuant

to sec. 102.35(3), Should be, and hereby

is, dismissed.

Dated at Madison,

Wisconsin, this 21st day

of April A.D., 1989.

(signed)

Thomas R. Jones

Administrative Law Judge

DEPARTMENT OF INDUSTRY,

LABOR AND HUMAN RELATIONS

a] lL 7 4 mY ncaa Ff a) jy t ~rT

vv I ( t >a

* ob. heh ae.ele.

KRA} / AMA

i LAL ,

abate’ ‘a _nT

wi sd A WwW ase ,

af

v,7 i KT / , A TAA ECG

° WeU. VU. t “£409

- NAD yr + TMT ALTO

P< y |= aa -

A rN Li A suf y

Re ~t an Yan on en | n+

> 4 V/ s\A aa ;

~ LT 7 1 ~ + ry ~ al ae, ~

} be | ()k i ¢ » } (

AIVNOUNRL rl VI rINUUBT I VWWoO

, ? 020

January 23, 1989

PRESIDING:

LIONOT RTT TOMA C NRC

HONORABLE THO MAS R. JONES

rer. CMpamMTiIIGT neo

Al INI »DLRATIVE LAW JUDGE

BARBARA R. HOFFMEIER, RPR

OFFICIAL REPORTER

(pages 6 & 7)

1984, and seven appears to be her

termination entry that shows that she was

terminated under the contract as of

November 20, 1985. Is that the date of

the termination, Mr. Stangle?

MR. STANGLE: The effective date

is November 15th, Your Honor. If you

would look at the third box from the left

on the top line, effective date, November

15th, 1985.

JUDGE JONES: OkKay. I have it.

I’ll just circle that with my blue pen.

That’s how it is on the exhibit now. So,

those are received 1 through 7. Mr.

Beaudry, how do you want to begin on your

case?

MR. BEAUDRY: I would like to

call the claimant as a witness.

BARBARA | DAMATO, called for

examination herein, after having been

AW-73

first duly sworn by the Administrative

Law Judge, was examined and testified as

follows:

MR. STANGLE: Your Honor, just

So it’s preserved for the record, we have

objected to the department’s jurisdiction

as we believe this case is pre-empted by

Lingle vs. Norge and section 3.01 of the

Federal Labor Management Relations Act.

JUDGE JONES: I’m familiar with

that Federal case, but the last I heard

it was reversed by the Supreme Court.

MR. STANGLE: That’s not

entirely accurate. The case was

substantially circumscribed and your

determination is dependent on your

interpretation of the bargaining

agreement.

JUDGE JONES: Maybe that’s it.

So far, the State of Wisconsin through

its Worker’s. Compensation Division and

A-74

the Labor and Industry Review Commission

has taken the position we can still hold

the hearings on discharges. So, until

they tell me different, I have to hold

the hearings.

MR. STANGLE: I appreciate that.

I would like the record preserved so I

don’t waive that on appeal.

JUDGE JONES: Mr. Beaudry, you

can go ahead.

DIRECT EXAMINATION

BY MR. BEAUDRY:

Q State your name.

A Barbara Ann Damato.

Q What is your address?

A 14803 West National Avenue, New

Berlin.

Q In 1984 you were employed by Red

Star Yeast; is that correct?

A Yes.

Q And what was your job there?

A-75

(pages 9-11)

JUDGE JONES: Well, lets back

up. I missed the date when she got her

doctor’s release. Ask that question

again.

Q (By Mr. Beaudry) When did the doctor

release you to return to work?

A Dr. Wartinbee, sometime in July, I

believe. He told me I could try going

back to work.

JUDGE JONES: July of what year,

1986?

THE WITNESS: No, I think it was

‘85. I’m not really sure.

JUDGE JONES: You first were off

from November of ’84 to June 29, 1985.

Then you had your elbow surgery in

November of ’85?

THE WITNESS: Correct.

JUDGE JONES: So, thinking back-

THE WITNESS: It was June of

"85.

JUDGE JONES: So you are saying

you were released to return to work in

late June of 1985?

THE WITNESS: Right. He told me

I could try going back to work.

JUDGE JONES: Your doctor then

was who?

THE WITNESS: Dr. Wartinbee.

JUDGE JONES: Pick it up from

there, please.

Q (By Mr. Beaudry) Now, did you have a

discussion with someone from Red Star

Yeast about your returning to work?

A Yes, I did, with my boss.

Q What was his name?

A Bernie Frederick.

Q When was that discussion?

A That was in October of ’85 when he

called me in to ask me if I could come

back to work.

Q What did you tell him at that time?

A I told him that knowing with the

cramps I was still having in my arn, I

would contact Dr. Wartinbee at the time

to see what he thought. Bernie said I

Should give him a call. I called my

doctor, and he said, "Go ahead and try

it, and I called Bernie back, and he

Said, "Never mind, we don’t need you."

This was for returning to the bagger

department, working in the bagger

department.

Q Did you have any further discussion

with him at that time?

A No. He just said I should stay in

touch with him.

Q Now, did you have a discussion with

him at a later time about returning to

work?

A Yes, I did, in December of ’85.

Q You spoke with Bernard Frederick; is

that correct?

A Yes, I did.

Q What was the conversation that you

had with him?

A Well, I had called him because I was

told by an employee that I worked with

that I was terminated, and I called

Bernie, and I said, "Do you need me for

work?" And he-= said, "No, you. are

terminated." And I said, "Why am I

terminated?" He said, "Because you were

on lay-off, and you weren’t able to come

back within a year’s time from a

lay-off." I said, "I wasn’t laid off, I

was injured." And he said, "You will have

to take it up with your union," and he

A-79

wouldn’t have any further conversation

with me.

Q You agree that your gross wage at

the time you were injured was $441.60 per

week?

A Yes.

Q Were you willing to go back to work

in October when you discussed it with Mr.

Frederick?

QO Are you aware of the fact that lower

seniority employees returned to work at

that time?

MR. STANGLE: Object, leading

and suggestive, assumes facts not in

evidence.

JUDGE JONES: Sustained.

Q (By Mr. Beaudry) Have you ever been

called to work by them since that time?

A No.

A-80

Q I want to show you what’s' been

marked as Respondent’s

(pages 14-18)

A I don’t recall any names, and I

didn’t write any down.

Q Was your second conversation with

Bernie Frederick or was it with Darrell

Foell?

A I spoke with Bernie Frederick.

Q You were a member of the collective

bargaining agreement in November of 1984

and even as late as November of 1985?

A Yes.

Q You did file a grievance over your

termination, didn’t you?

A I didn’t understand how to do it,

and everybody I talked to told me to do

something different, so I went to my

attorney.

Q You had a different lawyer at that

time?

rt

p44

A No, I did not. I was told I was

fired.

Q Just answer the question I’m asking,

please. If your lawyer has a additional

questions, I’m sure he will be able to

ask them.

You never went to Universal

Foods or Red Star Yeast or brought in

medical reports about your condition, did

you?

A No, I didn’t.

Q In fact, the worker’s comp. carrier,

Kemper Insurance, paid you disability

payments as late as 1987; isn’t that

true?

A Into ‘87.

Q Right. And at the present time you

have got permanent restrictions from Dr.

Olson; isn’t that true?

A Yes.

Q And what are those restrictions, Ms.

Damato, as you understand them?

A I don’t even remember.

Q Isn’t it true that when Dr. Olson

released you to return to work in 1986,

he started you out with a two pound

lifting restriction and said you could

build up to five pounds?

A Yes, I do recall that.

Q He never increased the restrictions,

has he?

A I never seen him to increase them.

QO So as far as Universal Foods and Red

Star Yeast were concerned, if they were

to take you back, they would have to

provide you work that you wouldn’t lift

over five pounds; isn’t that true?

A No, I would be willing to trying

something else.

Q Do you think the company should try

to give you work that’s heavier than what

the doctor told you you could do?

A I was willing to go back in October

when Bernie called me. This was my job. I

would be willing to try it.

MR. STANGLE: I have no other

questions, Your Honor.

EXAMINATION

BY JUDGE JONES:

Q At the company you ran a machine

that packaged the yeast?

A Yes.

Q Were you making those little foil

packages that people see in supermarkets?

A Yes.

Q You did things like watch the

machine and fill up the tray with

packaging material?

A Yes.

Q And if there was a problem, you

would call somebody?

A Yes, a problem with the machinery,

we would have to call somebody.

Q A little problem like a jam-up, you

knew how to --

A -- take care of it.

QO Was there lifting on that machine

job?

A Some but not very much. They were

teaching me how to run the scale before I

bee

got njured which involved a lot of

lifting.

Q So the job you were on when you got

your arm trouble was the scale job?

A No. It was the packaging, the

JUDGE JONES: Any redirect?

MR. BEAUDRY: Yes, I have one

REDIRECT EXAMINATION

BY MR. BEAUDRY:

Q In 1985, how did you contact Mr.

Frederick about returning to work?

A In October of 1985?

Q Yes.

A I called him by phone. It was after

he called me though I called him back.

Q And what was the type of work that

you understood from your conversation

with him was available to you?

A To work on the bagger.

Q That’s the packaging machine you

were on when you were hurt?

A No, this is a bigger bagger.

MR. BEAUDRY: That’s all the

questions I have.

JUDGE JONES: If he called you

to ask about the bagger job, how is that

that you diane go back to that job; was

something agreed between the two of you?

A-87

THE WITNESS: You mean when he

called me to ask me to come to run the

bagger?

JUDGE JONES: Right.

THE WITNESS: When I called him

back, he said, "Never mind, we don’t need

you," after my doctor told me to go ahead

and try running the bagger. The bagger is

run with twenty-five to fifty pound bags,

I believe. It’s not like you are doing it

alone. There is somebody there to help

you, and I was more than willing to try.

JUDGE JONES: Anything more, Mr.

Stangle?

MR. STANGLE: Not with this

witness.

JUDGE JONES: If Mr. Beaudry

wins benefits for you, he can get a

twenty percent fee. Has he told you about

that?

(pages 22-37)

the state of Washington, Idaho,

California, Maryland, Texas, Minnesota,

New Jersey, Missouri, Indiana.

JUDGE JONES: ee eI let Mr.

Stangle ask the questions, but I want to

know one thing: How is it that Mr.

Bernard Frederick signed her termination

notice? What was his position at the

company?

THE WITNESS: Mr. Frederick was

at the time in 1985 the production

superintendent of the packaging

department for the plant on Greves

Street. He was her -- not her immediate

Supervisor -- or -- but he would have

supervised Scott Burns (phonetic), Al Bop

(phonetic), a variety of other front-line

supervisors who would have directly been

responsible for the packaging department,

and as the production superintendent and

A-89

as the production superintendent of the

packaging department he is responsible --

one of the responsible individuals for

Signing it. Bill Rutter is the plant

Manager and his name is also on the

document.

JUDGE JONES: How do you spell

that Rutter name?

THE WITNESS: R-u-t-t-e-r.

JUDGE JONES: What is Mr.

Frederick’s relationship with the company

at this time?

/ THE WITNESS: He’s a retiree.

JUDGE JONES: Is this’ Rutter

still with the company?

THE WITNESS: Yes, Mr. Rutter is

still the plant manager.

JUDGE JONES: Okay, you can

continue Mr. Stangle.

Q (By Mr. Stangle) As director of

labor relations, the personnel files and

A-90

work records are in your personal custody

and control?

A Yes, sir.

Q At my request you reviewed Ms.

Damato’s personnel record and have it

with you today?

Q Were you able to determine whether

or not she was subject to lay-off before

her injury claim of November 15, 1984?

A Yes, sir. According to the file, she

would have been handed a lay-off slip on

November the 15th indicating that she was

to be laid off at the end of that shift

that day, and that is consistent with

what took place with a number of other

employees with seniority about the same

length of time.

Q Were you able to find the names of

any other individuals who were laid off

on the same date?

A Yes, a Phil Sporansa (phonetic),

Terry Sagrim (phonetic), Nancy Usoff

(phonetic), in addition to a number of

others. There are approximately eight to

ten employees who were laid off on either

November 15th .r November 16th of 1984.

Q Mr. Foell, as director of labor

relationships, you were familiar with the

collective bargaining agreement that

applied to the personnel at the Greves

Street facility?

Q You were involved with negotiations

of that contract?

A I have been since November of 1978.

Q Is there any distinction made in the

contract for individuals who are off work

for more than a year for lay-off as

opposed: to industrial injury and personal

illness?

A There certainly is, and there are a

number of different distinctions that

take place in the collective bargaining

agreement under I believe it’s section

4.03, an employee who has less than five

years of service will lose his or her

seniority upon being continuously laid

off for twelve months and an employee

with more than five years of service does

not lose his or her seniority until they

have been laid off for thirty-six months.

Q That has nothing to do with whether

you are injured at work or not, does it?

A Strictly in relationship to lay-off

due to lack of work.

Q Now, in Ms. Damato’s case

approximately how much did she actually

work in 1983?

A Well, according to the records that

we have, Ms. Damato worked for

approximately six weeks in 1983 at which

A-93

time she was permanently laid off. She

would not have achieved seniority at that

point in time, but due to the way we

handled operations of that nature, we do

attempt to call people back to work if

there is an opening so long as that

individual would not have lost his

seniority. In this case it would be

twelve months of continuous lay-off. She

was called back to work just short of

losing her first several weeks of

accumulation of work in October of 1984

and worked approximately four weeks at

that time at which time she was again

issued a notice of lay-off, and later on

that same date reported that she had a

problem with her arm, that was the last

day of work.

Q In reviewing Ms. Damato’s personnel

file, were you able to come across any

>

|

94

return to work slips form any doctor

whatsoever?

A None at all.

Q Now, we have had marked as exhibits

1 through 4 various doctor’s reports

including those from Dr. Zupnik, and you

had occasion to review these in my office

before the hearing, I believe, those

particular copies, the copies of then,

correct?

A Yes, that’s correct.

Q Prior to today, Mr. Foell, did

Universal Foods have any of those reports

in its possession?

A Universal had none of these reports

in its possession. They were obviously

forwarded by Ann Hamptom (phonetic) who

is an employee of Kemper our worker’s

compensation insurance carrier, and she

did not forward them to us.

Q So even as late as today, there is

no return to work slip from any doctor

showing that this claimant is ever fit to

work?

A That’s correct. I was not aware of

her ever being able to return to work.

Q Are there other individuals who were

laid off at the time she was that lost

their seniority and have been discharged?

A Yes, there’s an individual named

Phil Sporansa who was hired on January

9th of 1984 who lost his seniority on

January 15th -- November 15th of 1985,

the same date that Ms. Damato’s seniority

was terminated. Another employee named

Colleen Korlakowski (phonetic) who had

been laid off for a substantial period of

time also in 1985. Colleen did not quite

lose work due to being laid off for

twelve continuous months. She was offered

a return to work on or about November lst

A-96

of 1985 and refused to return to work at

that time and therefore lost her

seniority, but there also was one other

individual whose name I have forgotten at

this point who lost her seniority at the

same time.

Q Ms. Damato’s seniority date was

November 2, 1983?

A That’s correct.

Q These other individuals that lost

their jobs actually had more seniority

than she did?

A That’s not the case of Phil

Sporansa. He did not, but the other ones

did.

Q Had you had a conversation with Ms.

Damato regarding potential -- or after

November 15th of 1984?

A Yes, sometime in the middle of

February of 1986 I received a call from

Ms. Damato. She told me that she

A-97

understood that her name had been removed

from the seniority list and she wanted to

know why, and I responded to her at that

time that her name had been removed

because she had been on lay-off for

twelve months and under the collective

bargaining agreement a person with less

than five years of seniority lost her

seniority after twelve continuous months

of lay-off, and she responded that well

that wasn’t right. She wasn’t on lay-off,

and I said, "Well, our record shows you

were on lay-off, and if you disagree with

it, you ought to contact Jay Caplan

(phonetic) who is the president of the

local union and talk to him."

0 You heard Ms. Damato testify about

the physical restrictions given to her by

) 1 son?

A-98

Q She testified the last time she saw

Dr. Olson he restricted her to five

pounds of lifting, true?

A Yes. I heard that.

Q Is there any work available for her

at Universal where she would be

restricted to five pounds of lifting?

A Well, the only conceivable job that

I can think of that could be performed

under those agreements where the person

can’t lift as much as five pounds would

be in the packaging job that she had been

working on at the time that she was

injured, and even there, there’s a

serious question as to whether she would

be able to do the job with a five pound

weight restriction, but factually, our

entry level job today is the bagger job

and that job is one which results in

quite a number of claimed injuries. It is

bagging fifty pounds of crumbled yeast.

A~39

The first portion of the operation

involves a wrist flexion to close the top

of the bag and insert it into a heat

sealing unit. That portion of the job is

performed for twenty minutes. The

individual then goes into the next

portion of the job where they pick up

fifty pound bags by themselves at a rate

of four a minute and deposit them on a

pallet, and you work at that for

approximately twenty minutes and then you

go to operate a fork-lift truck for

approximately twenty minutes and then

repeat the rotation throughout the day.

With a five pound weight

restriction, there’s no way that Ms.

Damato could do that job.

Q With her seniority -- Lets assume

that there wasn’t a problem for a moment

with the collective bargaining agreement

and the discharge in November of 1985.

A-100

Lets assume for purposes of this question

that she still is on the rolls as an

employee. Under the collective bargaining

agreement with her seniority of three

months total work, is there any job that

She could go to other than the bagger

job?

A No, none at all.

Q That would be the the only one the

collective bargaining agreement would

allow you to put her in?

A That’s correct. That wasn’t the case

in 1983 because the contract’ read

differently in 1983. At that point in

time we had two separate departments, the

packaging department and the

manufacturing department. The bagging

operation was in the manufacturing

department, and we hired individuals into

the packaging department in 1983. In 1985

we did not because in our May 1985

A-101

contract negotiations we reached = an

agreement with the union that for hiring

purposes the plant would be treated as

having one seniority list and employees

would have to come into the open job. The

open job we have is a bagging job.

JUDGE JONES: This worker, Ms.

Damato, are you saying that following one

year after her November 15th, 1984

lay-off, she had not been recalled by the

company?

THE WITNESS: That’s correct.

JUDGE JONES: When did people of

her seniority get recalled?

THE WITNESS: The first time

that we had any recall for someone with

her seniority was well into February of

1986. In fact, one of the individuals

whose seniority date was November ist of

1983, I believe it’s Lisa Trapp

(phonetic) was recalled and laid off and

A-102

on from July of 1985 through roughly June

of 1986.

JUDGE JONES: Well, if you took

some other employees back in February of

1986 who apparently had been off long

enough to lose their seniority --

THE WITNESS: No.

JUDGE JONES: No?

THE WITNESS: No one had been

off long enough to lose their seniority.

We had some -- We had recalls in February

of ‘86, that if these individuals had

been on the seniority list yet they would

have been eligible for recall at that

time. What I’m saying, sir, is that

Universal Foods Corporation in its yeast

manufacturing division had some rather

troubling times through 1985 and 1986 and

employees like Lisa Trapp and Nancy Usoff

and Terry Sagrim all individuals whose

seniority dates were within roughly one

A-103

week of that held by Ms. Damato were

recalled and laid off and recalled and

laid off repeatedly during this period of

time. It was not until June of 1987 that

those individuals obtained more than

roughly three months of work during any

calendar year.

JUDGE JONES: But you are saying

you didn’t really have any recalls until

February of 1986, right?

THE WITNESS: We had recalls in

June, July, August, September, October,

November, December, each one of these

years -- months during this period of

time, but those recalls lasted for a week

at at time, very short periods of cine.

They typically were situations where

somebody would be off with a worker’s

compensation claim, they would be off on

vacation, they would be off on _ sick

leave, and we needed one person to fill

A-104

in. So one of these people would be

called back. However, we never got to the

position where Barbara Damato would have

been eligible for recall because she was

too low on the seniority list. In fact,

there were at least three people who lost

their seniority about November 15th or

November 16th of 1985 because they had

been laid off for twelve months. Barbara

Damato was not singled out or picked out

of any group.

JUDGE JONES: Let me break in.

I’m a simple guy. You have to answer

short questions with me. You are saying

up until the time of her termination

there was never a recall specifically for

Ms. Damato, right?

THE WITNESS: That’s correct.

JUDGE JONES: And that was

because you were -- the people you were

recalling were ahead of her in seniority?

A-i05

THE WITNESS: That’s correct.

JUDGE JONES: You never happened

to get to her?

THE WITNESS: That’s correct.

JUDGE JONES: So a year goes by,

and since she has been off a whole year,

she was removed from the roll?

THE WITNESS: That’s correct.

JUDGE JONES: That was that?

THE WITNESS: That’s right.

JUDGE JONES: You didn’t hire

back other people after her who had been

gone beyond their seniority time?

THE WITNESS: That’s right, we

did not.

JUDGE JONES: Anything more, Mr.

Stangle?

MR. STANGLE: No.

JUDGE JONES: Mr. Beaudry.

A-106

CROSS~-EXAMINATION

BY MR. BEAUDRY:

Q You indicate that Lisa Trapp -- Is

she still an employee with your company?

A That’s correct.

Q She was hired the same week that

Barbara Damato was, correct?

A Lisa Trapp, if my name is correct;

was hired the day before Ms. Damato was

hired.

Q You mentioned three other people

that were hired during that week that are

still employees?

A Yes, Nancy Usoff and Terry Sagrinm.

Q When was Nancy Usoff hired?

A I believe October 24th of 1983.

Q How about Terry Sagrim?

A I believe October 23rd of 1983.

Q Now, you were present in this

hearing when my client testified that Mr.

A-107

Frederick called her in October of 1985

to come back to work?

A Yes.

Q Do you have any reason to dispute

her testimony?

A Yeah, I do.

Q What is your reason?

A Well, when I heard it from Ms.

Damato before, I called Mr. Frederick and

asked him, and he said he never called

her back.

Q Now, Mr. Frederick is available to

testify here today; isn’t he?

A I have no idea; he’s a retiree.

Q If, in fact, she had gone back to

work in October of ‘85, that would have

extended her seniority an additional one

year’s time; is that correct?

A That’s correct.

Q And ultimately she would have gotten

probably partial call backs in the

A-108

following year that would have further

extended it just like Lisa Trapp had?

A Well, based on what I know today,

having seen these reports, I doubt that

she would have been permitted to come

back to work had Bernie called her back

in because, just as Ms. Damato said, she

would have had tc come back at the

bagging job, and according to this, she

had a five pound weight restriction.

There’s no way she could do the bagging

job.

Q You were here when she answered that

her doctor said she could try the bagging

job?

A Yes, I heard that.

Q You just told us that this is the

first time you saw these reports; is that

correct?

A That’s correct.

A-109

Q Isn’t it fair to assume that her

medical condition did not have anything

to do with your decision to recall or not

recall?

A Well, it is true her medical

decision -- or condition had nothing to

do with it. It was strictly a lay-off.

Q Especially those reports. You never

saw them?

A That’s correct.

Q If an employee is injured under your

collective bargaining agreement and

unable to return for a whole year, is

their seniority terminated?

A No.

Q Their seniority is only terminated

if there wouldn’t have been work

available for them; is that correct?

A That’s correct.

Q Now, at this time there is

approximately seven or eight’ people

A-110

working for Universal Foods that would

have lower seniority than Barbara Damato;

isn’t that correct?

A If she had retained her seniority;

that’s correct.

Q Some of those people were laid off

at the time she was and later called

back?

A No, no these were all new hires.

Q When were they hired?

A Some of them were hired in 1986,

some of them in 1987 - and again in 1988.

Q Now, when your employees are gone

for more than a year on lay-off, isn’t

at, in fact, the case where you

frequently call these people and ask them

to return to work if they were good

employees?

A We -- When we have eisktedee who are

on the seniority list, when their name

comes up on the list to be recalled, they

A-111

are recalled whether they are good

employees or not good employees because

they have seniority, and they are

entitled to be recalled at that point.

Q What about employees who have been

laid off for a year and are off your

seniority list but you concluded they

were good employees when they did work,

don’t you phone them and ask them if they

want a job back?

A No. We would be in violation of

affirmative action rules and policies if

they were to go about hiring from some

private hiring list. We do all of our

hiring of new employees from job

applicants, and we do not retain people

on a list for preferred hiring.

Q Even if they are outstanding

employees, they are not -- just never

going to come back to your company?

A-112

A They could come back to our company

if they applied for employment.

Q Could Barb Damato return to your

company if she had applied and her doctor

authorized her to work?

A Barbara Damato as with anybody else

who would apply for work and would seek

employment, would be given’ every

consideration and accordance with their

ability to perform the duties of the job.

Q Why didn’t you tell her that then in

February of 1986 when you spoke to her?

A She didn’t have a question about

whether she could be hired at that point.

Q You didn’t suggest that to her?

A I suggested that she contact Jay

Caplan who is her union steward to deal

with the question that she raised with me

which is why was she taken of of the

seniority list.

aW“ii3

MR. BEAUDRY: That’s all the

questions I have.

3.02 Notice of permanent job vacancy

shall be posted and the applicant with

the greatest seniority shall receive the

job vacancy, provided he is capable and

qualified to perform the work. Jobs will

be posted for a three (3) day period.

Employees may place their names on a list

which will be continuously available in

the plant office for any job opening

which may arise during any absences from

work.

Whenever the phrase "capable

and qualified" is used in this Article or

elsewhere in this contract, the

individual employee affected shall be

entitled to a fair trial in performing

the work, except in the following cases:

(a) Where he does not possess

the proper license required on the job.

(b) Where the job requires

mechanical skill, but he has not had

A~1i5

prior acceptable experience in that

mechanical branch.

(c) Where he has a—- known

handicap which might prevent him from

performing the job’ satisfactorily or

safely.

4.02 If further reductions are

necessary in the department, then regular

employees will be assigned or laid off in

acordance with their’ seniority. The

employee with the least seniority will be

asSigned or laid off first and so on in

that order, provided the retained

employees are capable and qualified of

performing the remaining work.

In the event assignments are

necessary to provide work for the more

senior employees, the employee must

accept the assignment or receive an

optional layoff. This layoff will be

considered as a regular layoff.

A-116

When a classification is

reduced, employees in that classification

by assignment shall be assigned out by

seniority first. If a further reduction

is necessary, it will be by seniority.

The employee whose job is eliminated will

be assigned to the job vacated by the

least senior employee in that

classification.

When a temporary job opening of

one (1) week or more occurs in a

classification, the most senior trained

and capable employee who has_ been

assigned out of that classification and

retains job rights in that classification

shall be assigned to the opening unless

his job classification and shift is

filled by assignment in which case he

will be assigned to his own job and the

employee he displaces will be assigned to

the opening.

A-117

If a permanent job opening

occurs and there is an employee working

in the Plant with rights to that specific

job classification and Shitt, the

employee will be returned to that job and

the opening will not be posted.

4.03 Seniority shall be defined as

length of service with the Company as

determined by the employee’s hiring date.

Seniority shall not be - subject’ to

adjustment for regular layoff except for

layoff of six (6) consecutive months,

when seniority will no longer accumulate

until recall. Seniority shall be subject

to adjustment for leaves of absence in

excess of forty-four (44) working days in

any (1) one contract year for reasons

other than illness, injury, military

service, or union service.

An employee who quits or is

discharged for cause shall forfeit all

A-118

seniority rights. Employees hired after

May 1, 1969, and laid off who have more

than five (5) years of seniority shall

forfeit all seniority rights after 36

consecutive months of layoff and all

employees with less than five (5) years

of seniority shall forfeit all seniority

rights after twelve (12) consecutive

months of layoff.

4.05 When work is again available,

employees will be recalled in the order

of seniority. It is understood that

employees to be rehired shall be notified

by registered mail, or the equivalent,

and if they fail to report for work

within seventy-two (72) hours of

notification, they shall be permanently

removed from the payroll and_e shall

forfeit all seniority. Any employee

unable to report for work for good and

sufficient reason within the required

A-119

seventy-two (72) hours of delivery of

notice of recall to his last reported

address, and who so notifies the Company

within one hundred and sixty-eight (168)

hours, shall be placed at the top of the

recall list.

When an employee who has rights

to a permanent job is recalled from

layoff, or returns from jury duty, he

will be assigned to his permanent job, if

it exists, no later than the Monday shift

of the following week.

ARTICLE 16

GRIEVANCES AND ARBITRATION

16.01 Where a grievance may arise by

reason of an interpretation of this

Agreement, the parties to this Agreement

Shall make all reasonable efforts to

settle the same between them and in the

following order and procedyre:

A-120

(A) Step No. 1 A bona fide

attempt shall be made to settle Such

differences between the Union and the

Company by the Shop Steward and the

Supervisor of the particular division and

shift affected. The Shop Steward must

present the grievance to the Supervisor

within seven (7) days of the alleged

violation and the Supervisor, on

receiving the grievance, shall process it

immediately and give an answer to the

Shop Steward within three (3) days.

(B) Step No. 2 i <4 such

difference is not satisfactorily settled,

it shall, within three (3) working days

after receipt of the Supervisor’s answer

in Step No. 1, be set forth in writing

signed by the grievant and the Shop

Steward and given to the Department

Superintendent, or his designated

representative, who shall discuss it with

A-i21

the Shop Steward within two (2) working

days after receipt of the grievance. The

Superintendent, or his designated

representative, shall give his written

answer within three (3) working days

after the meeting with the Steward.

(C) Step No. 3 If such

difference is not satisfactorily settled

by the Shop Steward and the

Superintendent under Step No. 2, the

matter shall be referred within three (3)

working days to the Plant Manager, or his

designated representative, and a

grievance committee of the Local Union

for the settlement of the difference. In

the event they cannot agree within three

(3) working days, after receipt of the

issue, then the matter shall be referred

to Step No. 4.

(D) Step No. 4 If the

differences shall have been submitted,

A-122

but not adjusted under Step No. 3, either

party may, within ten (10) working days

after the final meeting under Step No. 3,

request in writing that the differences

be submitted to an impartial arbitrator

mutually agreed upon by the Company and

the Union. The decision of the arbitrator

selected shall be final and binding on

both the Company and the Union. The

expenses of the arbitrator shall be

shared equally by the parties. The

arbitrator shall have no authority to

modify, add to, subtract from or change

any of the terms or conditions of this

Agreement. By mutual agreement, the

parties may waive any step of this

procedure or extend the number of days to

answer or move or appeal a grievance.

(1) The arbitrator shall meet

promptly, the intent being to expedite

the work at hand and to arrive at a

A-123

decision within thirty (30) days of the

date the case was first submitted to the

arbitrator.

(2) Should either side fail to

comply with the request to arbitrate

within the time specified, the party so

failing shall forfeit its case.

(3) Employees shall not be

locked out, cease work, walk out, or

engage in any strike during arbitration

and work shall continue under this

Agreement.

A-124

still having in her arm, and stated that

she would contact her doctor to see what

he thought. Her doctor allegedly advised

her to give it a try. When she called

Mr. Frederick back, he allegedly stated,

"Never mind, we don’t need you," and told

her to keep in touch with him. R. 8: 10,

22.

The employee never grieved her

termination. R. 8: 14 lines 9-24.

On February 9, 1988, the employee

filed an Application for Hearing claiming

an unreasonable refusal to rehire in

February 1987. The employer was never

put on notice prior to hearing that an

alleged refusal in October 1985 nn A be

an issue. See Application for Hearing

(Appx. p. 89).

IV. ARGUMENT

A. UNDER ALLIS~-CHALMERS VS. LUECK

AND LINGLE VS. NORGE, THE COMMISSION IS

A-125

PRE-EMPTED FROM ANALYZING COLLECTIVE

BARGAINING AGREEMENTS, WHICH IT MUST DO

TO DECIDE THIS CASE.

Since the pre-emption issue is a

legal issue of first impression, the

Court may decide it without deference to

the decision of the LIRC. West Bend

Company vs. LIRC, 149 Wis. 2d 110, 117,

438 N.W. 2d 823, 827 (1989).

Section 301 of the Labor Management

Relations Act, 29 USC Section 185,

precludes state agencies from analyzing,

considering, or interpreting collective

bargaining agreements. In Allis-Chalmers

Corporation vs. Lueck, 47 US 202, 105 S.

Ct. 2006, 85 L. Ed. 2d 120 (1985), the

Supreme Court states:

"We do hold that when

resolution of a state-law claim

is substantially dependent upon

analysis of the terms of an

A-126

agreement made between the

parties in a labor contract,

that claim must either be

treated as a Section 301 clain,

. « +» or dismissed as pre-

empted by federal labor-

contract law."

47 US at 220.

Lueck further clarifies this

doctrine as follows:

"(S)tate-law rights and

obligations that do not exist

independently of private

agreements, and that as a

result can be waived or altered

by agreement of private

parties, are pre-empted by

those agreements. . . . Our

analysis must focus, then, on

whether the Wisconsin’ tort

action for the breach of the

A-127

duty of good faith as applied

here confers non-negotiable

state-law rights on employers

or employees independent of any

right established by contract,

or, instead, whether evaluation

of the tort claim is

inextricably intertwined with

consideration of the terms of

the labor contract."

47 US at 213.

In Lueck, the Supreme Court held

that Wisconsin’s tort for bad faith

handling of an insurance claim was pre-

empted, since the obligation to make

timely payment of benefits arose out of a

collective bargaining agreement. A

determination of this question would

necessarily involve an analysis of the

party’s respective obligations under the

collective bargaining agreement. Hence,

A-128

it was a question. of federal contract

interpretation, and was pre-empted by

Section 301. 471 US at 215-6.

A close look at the Lueck case, and

the above quotations, reveal that a state

law cause of action is pre-empted by

Section 301 whenever the determination of

the claim requires an analysis or

consideration of the terms of a

collective bargaining agreement. Once a

state court or administrative agency must

look at a collective bargaining agreement

to determine what it means, the cause of

action is pre-empted.

The Lueck case was re-affirmed by

the Supreme Court in the decision of

Lingle vs. Norge Division of Magic Chef,

Inc., 486 US 399, 405-5, 108 S. Ct. 1877,

100 L. Ed. 2d 410 (1988). In Lingle, the

Supreme Court states:

A-129

"Today’s decision should make

clear that interpretation of

' collective-bargaining

agreements remains firmly in

the arbitral realm; Judges can

determine questions of state

law involving labor-management

relations only if such

questions do not require

construing collective-

bargaining agreements."

486 US at 411

In Lingle, the Supreme Court held

that an action brought under’ the

retaliatory discharge provision of

Illinois’ worker’s compensation statute

was not pre-empted by Section 301. In

order to show a retaliatory discharge

under the statute, the plaintiff has to

show (1) that he was discharged or

threatened with discharge and (2) that

A-130

the employer’s motive in discharging or

threatening to discharge him was to deter

him from exercising his rights under the

worker’s compensation statute or to

interfere with his exercise of those

rights. See Lingle vs. Norge, supra, 486

US at 407; Horton vs. Miller Chemical

Company, 776 F. 2d 1351, 1356 (7th Cir.

1985). The Supreme Court reasoned that

each of these purely factual questions

pertained to the conduct of an employee

and the conduct and motivation of the

employer. Neither of the elements

required a Court to interpret any term of

a collective bargaining agreement.

Likewise, in order to defend against the

retaliatory discharge claim, an employer

must show that it had a non-retaliatory

reason for the discharge. This factual

inquiry also did not turn on the meaning

of any provision of a_ collective

A-131

ee eee eee eee

bargaining agreement. Hence, the state

law remedy under Illinois’ retaliatory

discharge law was independent of the

collective bargaining agreement in the

sense of "independent" that matters most

for Section ' 301 pre-emption purposes:

resolution of the state-law claim did not

require construing the collective-

bargaining agreement. Lingle vs. Norge,

supra, 486 US at 407.

Lingle made clear that where all of

the factual issues in a case can be

determined without reference to the

collective bargaining agreement, the

state law cause of action was not pre-

empted by Section 301.

The cause of action in this case,

under Section 102.35(3), Wis. Stats., is

much more similar to the cause of action

in Lueck than the cause of action in

Lingle: a consideration of the

A-132

collective bargaining agreement is

necessary to resolve the cause of action.

Section 102.35(3), Wis. Stats.,

explicitly indicates that the provisions

of a collective bargaining agreement

shall govern, when determining the

availability of suitable employment for .

an injured worker:

"In determining the

availability of suitable

employment . . . any written

rules promulgated by the

employer with respect to

seniority or the provisions of

any collective bargaining

agreement with respect to

seniority shall govern."

Section 102.35(3), Wis. Stats.

In unreasonable refusal to rehire

cases, the employee has the burden to

establish (1) that he/she was an

A-133

employee; (2) that he/she sustained a

compensable injury; (3) that he/she had

applied for rehire; and (4) that the

employer refused to rehire him/her

because of the injury sustained at work.

West Bend Company vs. LIRC, 149 Wis. 2d

110, 126, 438 N.W. 2d 823 (1989). The

employer has the burden to prove (1) that

suitable work was not available within

the claimant’s mental and physical

conditions, West Lend, 149 Wis. 2d at

126, and/or (2) that the employer had

reasonable cause not to rehire the

employee. West Bend Company, 149 Wis. 2d

at 123.

In this case, the employer

specifically tried to prove that there

was no suitable work available to the

applicant under the terms of the

collective bargaining agreement. R. 8:

23-28. In such a situation, the statute

A-134

specifically indicates that the terms of

the collective bargaining agreement shall

govern. Section 102.35(3), Wis. Stats.

Hence, the Commission was required to

analyze and consider the terms of the

collective bargaining agreement in coming

to its conclusion as to whether there was

an unreasonable refusal to rehire.

As it was required to do, the

Commission did analyze the collective

bargaining agreement in coming to its

decision in this case. The language used

by the Commission in its written opinion,

makes this very clear:

"This was within the

applicant’s 1-year union

cont *st recall period, which

did not expire until November

15, 1985. The Commission

majority concludes that a job

was available and that the

A-135

applicant was up for recall

= under the union contract

procedure. .

The Commission, however, has

ruled that the employer

unreasonably refused to rehire

the applicant during the

contract recall period. The

employer has not shown that

today the applicant would not

be entitled under the union

contract to the work which she

can perform if the employer had

not refused to rehire her in

October of 1985."

Decision of LIRC, p. 2, 4.

The Commission analyzed the terms of

the collective bargaining agreement and

determined that the applicant had a 1-

year recall period, which did not expire

until November 15, 1985. The Commission

A~-136

also indicates that it would have been

open to further evidence as to whether

the employee would have been entitled

under the union contract to a job, if the

employer had not refused to rehire in

October 1985. In other words, the

parties were litigating, and the

Commission was deciding, what the

employee’s rights were under the

collective bargaining agreement. Section

301 of LMRA, as interpreted by Lueck and

Lingle, specifically prohibits this sort

of decision making by a state

administrative agency.

In addition, the Commission

implicitly, although not explicitly,

decided many other legitimate questions

under the collective bargaining

agreement. The Commission appears to

have held: (1) that the employee was on

lay off status at the time of the

A-137

termination; (2) that the Article 4.03

provision, concerning loss of seniority,

applies to employees who are both laid

off and suffering from an industria]

injury; (3) that Article 4.03 applies to

employees who cannot return to work

because of restrictions; (4) that the

employer can be considered as _ having

violated the collective bargaining

: S5eEme x cy] ~ . <t7— Ffajilae +

agreement even when an employee fails to

under the collective bargaining agreement

to be recalled vis-a-vis other employees

All of these require an analysis,

consideration, and interpretation of the

collective bargaining agreement to

ietermine how to apply that agreement to

the facts of the case.

— ¢ + “ lactiu

interpretation of the ollective

a 5» *¥

m6 hhh Go

bargaining agreement was necessary to

decide this case, and therefore, it was

not pre-empted by Section 301 of LMRA.

The reasoning of the Court of Appeals is

as follows:

"Damato had just under one year

seniority at the time of lay

off; therefore, she forfeited

‘seniority rights after 12

consecutive months of lay off’,

or November 15, 1985. Damato

was given full release to work

in July 1985. Based on the

testimony in the record, LIRC

found that a job was available

within the l-year recall period

and that Damato was not

rehired. No interpretation of

the collective bargaining

agreement was necessary to make

A-139

this finding. Hence, there is

Simply no pre-emption."

Slip op. p. 4.

In other words, after analyzing,

considering, and interpreting the terms

of the collective bargaining agreement,

the Court of Appeals determines the

applicant’s rights thereunder, and then

indicates that no interpretation of the

collective bargaining agreement is

necessary. The Court of Appeals

implicitly holds that as long as the

terms of the collective bargaining

agreement are unambiguous, and can be

readily discerned from a review of the

collective bargaining agreement, no

interpretation is necessary to decide the

case. In coming to this decision, the

Court of Appeals relies upon Lingle.

However, Lingle does not stand for this

A-140

proposition. The Court of Appeals

applied the wrong standard.

The Court in Lingle held that the

cause of action was not pre-empted in

that case, because the factual issues

involved could be resolved without an

analysis or consideration of the terms of

the collective bargaining agreement.

Lingle, supra, 486 US at 407. Lueck

makes clear that if the determination of

a state law cause of action requires an

analysis or consideration of the

collective bargaining agreement, it is

pre-empted:

"Our analysis must focus

on. . . whether evaluation of

the tort claim is inextricably

intertwined with consideration

of the terms of the _ labor

contract

A-141

We do hold that when resolution

of a state-law claim is

substantially dependent upon

analysis of the terms of an

agreement made between the

parties in a labor contract,

that claim must either be

treated as a Section 301 clain,

or dismissed as pre-

empted by federal labor-

contract law."

Lueck, supra, 471 US at eave

220. (emphasis added)

Lueck also makes clear that whenever

a state cause of action depends upon

terms which the parties may voluntarily

Walve or alter by a collective bargaining

agreement, it comes within the pre-

emption doctrine:

"Therefore, state-law rights

and obligations do not exist

A-142

Court

decis

independently of private

agreements, and that as a

result can be waived or altered

by agreement of private

parties, are pre-empted b)

those agreements

Therefore, under Wisconsin law

it appears that the parties to

an insurance contract are free

to bargain about what

‘reasonable’ performance of

their contract obligatio

entails That being so, this

tort claim is firmly rooted in

the expectations of the parties

that must be evaluated by

federal contract law."

Lueck, 202 US at 213, 217

In our case, the Commission and

of Appeals acknowledge that

ion depends upon the

A-143

applicant had a 1-year recall period,

which did not expire until November 15,

1985. This is a right which can be

voluntarily altered or waived by

agreement of the private parties.

Similar to Lueck, the parties here can

negotiate over what is "reasonable" with

respect to terminations. Under Wis.

Stats. Section 102.35(3), whatever

agreement’ the parties come to with

respect to this question must be applied

by the Commission in determining whether

there is an unreasonable refusal to

rehire. This is prohibited by Lueck.

There is absolutely nothing in

Lingle, which overrules any portion of

Lueck. Lingle involved a case in which

the tate law claim could be fully

Nn

litigated without an analysis,

consideration or interpretation of the

collective bargaining agreement. That is

not the case here. In order to decide

this Section 102.35(3) claim, the

Commission was required to consider,

analyze, and interpret the terms of the

collective bargaining agreement. This is

prohibited by Lueck and Lingle.

The standard applied by the Court of

Appeals also is in conflict with case law

from the Federal Courts of Appeals, which

have dealt with the same issue. In

Johnson vs. Beatrice Foods Company, 9221

F. 2d 1015 (10th Cir. December 10, 1990),

the Court held that a tort action for

intentional infliction of emotional

distress under Oklahoma law was. pre-

empted by Section 301 of LMRA. The

plaintiff in Johnson alleged that the

employer’s conduct, which allegedly

included discipline, suspension, and

harassment, was outrageous. The Court

reasoned:

A-145

"We interpret the Oklahoma law

to mean that all aspects of

Johnson’s employment, including

the terms of the CBA, must be

considered when evaluating

whether Beatrice’s conduct was

outrageous. We therefore agree

with the District Court that a¢

cannot be determined whether

Beatrice’s conduct was

outrageous without determining

whether the conduct was allowed

under the CBA."

921 F. 2d at 1020.

The claim was pre-empted, because

Oklahoma’s tort for intentional

infliction of emotional distress did not

create an independent method of measuring

when an employer’s work-related conduct

was outrageous. 921 F. 2d at 1021.

A-146

Under Johnson, if a decision maker

must determine whether alleged conduct

was allowed under the collective

bargaining agreement, it is sufficient to

come within the pre-emption doctrine. In

this case, the Commission specifically

determined what the employer’s

responsibilities were under the

collective bargaining agreement. It

determined that a job was available to

the employee within her _ restrictions

within the union recall period. Decision

of LIRC, B. 2.55 This is exactly the

type of determination which was

considered to be pre-empted in Johnson.

A state court or agency cannot determine

whether a certain action is allowed or

required by the collective bargaining

agreement without running afoul of the

pre-emption doctrine under Section 301.

A-147

In addition, Johnson’ re-iterates

that where the determination of a state

cause of action requires a consideration

of the terms of the collective bargaining

agreement, it is pre-empted. The

decision making process of the state

agency or court must be _ completely

independent of the terms of the

collective bargaining agreement, for

there to be no pre-emption. 921 F. 2d at

1020-1021. Since Wis. Stats. Section

102.35(3) specifically indicates that the

terms of a collective bargaining

agreement must govern, there is no method

of measuring an employer’s work-related

conduct independent of the collective

bargaining agreement. Under Johnson,

this case would be pre-empted.

In Sluder vs. United Mine Workers of

America, 892 F. 2d 549 (7th Cir. 1989),

the 7th Circuit held that an employee’s

A-148

state action against his union for

personal injuries, allegedly caused by

the union’s failure in its duty to

properly make safety inspections, was

pre-empted by Section 301. In holding

that the action was pre-empted, the 7th

Circuit stated:

"In our view, it would not be

possible to define, with the

precision demanded by Illinois

law, the scope of the union’s

duty without reference to the

collective bargaining agreement

that governs the relationship

between the company and the

union. Indeed, the necessity

for such a reference is evident

from the complaint itself.

The collective bargaining

agreement and the dispute

resolution process established

A-149

under that agreement set forth

the circumstances under which

such action by the union would

be permitted."

892 F. 2d at 554.

"(T)he allegations set forth in

Counts I and II of the

complaint can be resolved only

by defining the precise nature

of the duty assumed by District

> # and that duty can be

defined only by reference to

the collective bargaining

agreement."

892 F. 2d at 555-6.

In Sluder, the 7th Circuit makes

Clear that if the determination of a

state law action requires reference to a

collective bargaining agreement, the

action is pre-empted. In this case, the

Commission refers to the collective

A-150

bargaining agreement a number of times.

Decision of LIRC, Sm. 8B, & The

requirement to look at the collective

bargaining agreement to determine the

union’s duty in Sluder is the same as the

requirement to look at the collective

bargaining agreement tc determine the

employer’s duty under Section 102.35(3),

Wis. Stats. Such analysis is prohibited.

Similar decisions were rendered by

the 8th and 9th Circuits in Harris vs.

Alumax Mill Products, Inc., 897 F. 2d 400

(9th Cir. 1990) and Hanks vs. General

Motors Corporation, 859 F. 2d 67 (8th

Cir. 1988). In Harris, the employee’s

claim was pre-empted, because it required

an analysis of the collective bargaining

agreement. 897 F. 2d at 403. In Hanks,

the claim was considered to be pre-empted

because an assessment of the claim and

the employer’s actions would be

A-151

—." +=” Yo

impossible without reference to the

collective bargaining agreement, a task

exclusively within the realm of the

arbitrators. 859 F. 2d at 69.

In Jackson vs. Liquid Carbonic

Corporation, 863 F. 2d 11 (1st Cir.

1988), the Court held that an employee’s

state cause of action for invasion of

privacy was pre-empted under Section 301

of LMRA. The employee had _ been

discharged for failing a drug test, and

the employer relied upon the management

rights clause of the collective

bargaining agreement as a defense. The

Court indicated that in determining

whether the drug test which Jackson was

subjected infringed his right to privacy

under state law, the single most

important consideration was whether the

test was "reasonable" in light of the

circumstances. 863 F. 2d at 118. The

A-152

Court held that Jackson’s privacy claims

could only be resolved by deciding

whether the employer’s conduct was

"reasonable" under the labor contract,

taking into account the "expectations of

the parties". It held that this is

quintessentially a matter of federal law.

863 F. 2d at 119. Only by probing the

contours of the collective bargaining

agreement could one determine whether the

drug testing program was legitimately

implemented. Hence, the privacy cause of

action was pre-empted. Id. Jackson

indicates that if the determination of a

state law claim requires scrutinizing,

863 F. 2d at 118, evaluating, Id.,

studying, 863 F. 2d at 120, = taking

account of, 863 F. 2d at 121, the

collective bargaining agreement, it is

pre-empted.

A-153

i

In our case, the Commission studied,

evaluated, scrutinized, and took into

account the collective bargaining

agreement to come to its conclusion that

the alleged October 1985 phone call came

within the contractual recall period.

The Commission had to take the collective

bargaining agreement into account. The

statute requires that the terms of a

collective bargaining agreement govern

when there is a dispute as to the

availability of work to a previously

injured employee. Wis. Stats. Section

102.35(3). The Supreme Court decisions

in Lueck and Lingle, and the Federal

Appellate decisions interpreting these

two cases, mandate that such a

consideration of a collective bargaining

agreement is sufficient to bring the

state cause of action within the pre-

A~154

emption doctrine. The Court of Appeals

applied the wrong standard.

This case is an excellent candidate

- for Supreme Court review. The decision

of the Court of Appeals is in conflict

with controlling opinions of the United

States Supreme Court, namely Allis-

Chalmers Corporation vs. Lueck, 471 US

202, 105 S. Ct. 2006, 85 L. Ed. 2d 120

(1985) and Lingle vs. Norge Division of

Magic Chef, 486 US 399, 108 S. Ct. 1877

100 L. Ed. 2d 410 (1988). The decision

also conflicts with several decisions

from the various Federal Courts’ of

Appeal, including a 7th Circuit decision

in Sluder vs. United Mine Workers of

America, 892 F. 2d 549 (7th Cir. 1989).

This question is a novel one of first

impression, the resolution of which will

have statewide impact. There are

probably dozens of cases presently

A-139

pending before the Department of Industry

Labor & Human Relations, the Labor &

Industry Review Commission, and_ the

various courts, which involve unionized

employees who have brought claims under

Wis. Stats. Section 102.35(3). All of

these cases will be affected by the

manner in which the Supreme Court decides

the Section 301 pre-emption issue. This

is a question of law of a type that is

likely to recur unless resolved by the

Supreme Court. In addition, this case

gives the Supreme Court an opportunity to

develop, clarify, and harmonize the law

by mandating a new doctrine to give the

administrative agencies and courts

guidance as to the circumstances in which

a Section 102.35(3) claim should be

considered pre-empted by Section 301 of

LMRA. This case fits the purpose of the

A-156

Supreme Court, as defined by Wis. Stats.

Section 809.62(1).

B. SUPREME COURT REVIEW IS ALSO

APPROPRIATE ON THE ISSUE OF SUBSTANTIAL

AND CREDIBLE EVIDENCE. -

In this case, the employer produced

evidence that the employer had _ not

recalled a sufficient number of employees

to get to employees with Ms. Damato’s

seniority prior to November 15, 1984,

when her rights as an employee

terminated. R. 8: 23-27. There is

uncontradicted testimony that Colleen

Korlakowski. and one other employee had

more seniority than Ms. Damato, and were

laid off at the same time as her. R. 8:

26-27. There is absolutely no evidence

submitted by the employee to- the

contrary. Nowhere in the alleged October

1985 phone call between the employee and

Bernard Frederick did the employer

A-157

indicate that the applicant’s seniority

was sufficient to allow her to come back

to work. R. 8: 10, Lines 6-19.

Nevertheless, the Commission held,

without any evidence, that the applicant

was up for recall under the union

contract procedure. Decision of LIRC, p.

oe The Commission and the Court of

Appeals find no persuasive answer in the

record as to why Mr. Frederick would call

Ms. Damato if someone with her seniority

was not up for recall. Decision of Court

of Appeals, p. 6., Decision of LIRC, p.

2- However, neither tribunal explains

why Frederick, with knowledge of Damato’s

A-158

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.