Amicus Curiae Brief — Schmidt v. United States
Supreme Court brief1991
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
(S)
9)
No. 91-87
IN THE
Supreme Court of the Gnited States
OCTOBER TERM, 1991
MICHAEL SCHMIDT.
Pe titioner.
V.
UNITED STATES,
Respon den t -
On Petition For Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals of the Seventh Circuit
AMICUS CURIAE OF
THE PARISH COUNCIL OF
OUR LADY OF LOURDES CATHOLIC CHURCH,
THE DANUBE-SWABIAN ASSOCIATION, USA, INC.,
THE TRICENTENNIAL FOUNDATION,
THE AMERICAN AID SOCIETY OF
GERMAN DESCENDANTS, AND THE
INSTITUTE FOR GERMAN-AMERICAN RELATIONS
(SUPPORTING PETITIONER)
nr
JAMES VICTOR Voss, Esa.
(Counsel of Record)
MEYER, Unkovic & Scori
1300 Oliver Building
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Telephone: 412/456-2800
PETER N. JANSSON, ESQ
Jansson & Shupe, Ltd.
245 Main Street
Racine, WI 53403
Telephone: 414/632-6900
Attorneys for the Amici Curiae
Case No. 91-87
IN THE UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT
1991-92 Term
MICHAEL SCHMIDT, Petitioner-Defendant
vs.
UNITED STATES, Respondent-Plaintiff
MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE
I OR OUT-OF-TIM LING
The Parish Council of Our Lady of
Lourdes Catholic Church, Milwaukee, WI,
the Danube-Swabian Association, USA, Inc.,
Warren, MI, the Tricentennial Foundation,
Sepulveda, CA, the American Aid Society of
German Descendants, Chicago, IL, and the
Institute for German-American Relations,
Pittsburgh, PA, acting through counsel,
and praying that this Court waive the time
requirements of Rule 36.2 for the filing
of this Motion, hereby request leave of
«he
this Court to file a brief as amici curiae
in the above-entitled appeal. Further,
leave of Court for out-of-time filing is
respectfully requested.
As required by Rule 36.2, the pro-
posed brief accompanies this motion.
The amici curiae, as set forth fur-
ther in the brief itself, are groups of
American citizens deeply concerned about
an increasing, institutionalized denial of
citizens' rights by the Office of Special
Investigations (OSI) of the United States
Justice Department's Criminal Division,
particularly in recent denaturalization
and deportation proceedings.
The amici curiae view Schmidt's peti-
tion to the Supreme Court as very impor-
tant because the OSI's disregard for
Schmidt's rights, as reflected in the
OSI's arguments against him, typifies a
|
a3a
dangerous new tack in OSI prosecution
practices.
This amicus brief describes key
characteristics of this growing new tack,
and asks this Court for help. While
Schmidt's counsel concentrates on the
narrow question of denial of trial
(certainly important to Schmidt), the
attached brief deals more directly with
the substantive issues raised by the OSI's
current efforts against many citizens:
-use of mere guard-status as grounds
for a finding of "persecution";
-persistent misapplication of this
Court's Fedorenko decision in an
effort to find a per se rule which
this Court never intended; and
-attempts to strip away knowledge
and intent as elements of "persecu-
tion," even in the absence of active
wrongful conduct.
aie
These issues are relevant to disposi-
tion of the case, just as they were
relevant in disposition of the just-issued
Sixth Circuit case of Petkiewytsch v. INS,
decided September 30, i991. Unlike the
briefs of the parties in the instant case,
the attached amicus brief cites and
applies the very thorough Petkiewytsch
decision. Petkiewytsch appears to be the
most thorough judicial analysis to date o:
precisely the substantive questions impor-
tant to Schmidt's appeal.
The amici curiae sought consent of
both parties. Consent was granted by
Schmidt, after refusal by his counsel.
The OSI refused its consent, just as it
did earlier when requested to consent to
proposed filing of an amicus brief with
the Seventh Circuit.
This brief would have been prepared
~s
and filed earlier had the attorneys ear-
lier been aware of the Seventh Circuit's
denial of rehearing. The brief was filed
promptly when this fact became known and
the amici requested that this brief be
filed. .
Respectfully Submitted,
(a / Vyaa
Meyer, Unkovic & Scott
1300 Oliver Building
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Telephone: 412/456-2800
meyer Victor Voss, Esq.
Peter N. Jansson, Esq.
Jansson & Shupe, Ltd.
245 Main Street
Racine, WI 53403
Telephone: 414/632-6900
eS ae
Case No. 91-87
IN THE UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT
1991-92 Term
MICHAEL SCHMIDT, Petitioner-Defendant
vs.
UNITED STATES, Respondent-Plaintiff
On Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals of the Seventh Circuit
AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF OF
THE PARISH COUNCIL
OF OUR LADY OF LOURDES CATHOLIC CHURCH,
THE DANUBE-SWABIAN ASSOCIATION, USA, INC.
THE TRICENTENNIAL FOUNDATION,
THE AMERICAN AID SOCIETY OF
GERMAN DESCENDANTS, AND THE
INSTITUTE FOR GERMAN-AMERICAN RELATIONS
(Supporting Michael Schmidt)
James Victor Voss, Esq.
Meyer, Unkovic & Scott
1300 Oliver Building
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Telephone: 412/456-2800
Peter N. Jansson, Esq.
Jansson & Shupe, Ltd.
245 Main Street
Racine, WI 53403
Telephone: 414/632-6900
Attorneys for the Amici Curiae
ee
TABLE OF CONTENTS Page
Table of Authorities ........ i
Interest of the Amici Curiae .....1
Argument .«.«+«-e«eeeeese eee e 8
Mere Status As a Guard Is
Insufficient As Grounds For
a Holding of Assistance In
Persecution Because of Race,
Religion, National Origin or
POLACSZGGL GOAMAOM. «© oe ew ew ew ew ew ew ee DB
The Per Se Rule Urged by the
OSI Is Not Found in the
Fedorenko Decision. .....++.+.7
Knowledge Is an Essential Element
of Persecution: For Race, Religion,
National Origin or Political
Gpameeis ss ete wwe ww we ew lw el UG
The Lower Court Decisions in the
Instant Case Allow the Practice
of Guilt By Association. ...... 13
Summary of Argument. ......... 15
ar ee ee ee ee
Appendix (Amici Curiae Letters). ... 19
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Petkiewytsch v. INS
Decided September 30, 1991
Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals
_ F2d
Decision Attached
Fedorenko v. United States
United States Supreme Court
(1981)
449 US 490
66 L Ed 2d 686
303 & Ce 737.
Kulle v. INS
7th Circuit Court of mpneaete
825 F2d 1188 . ;
ST _O E E
The amici curiae are groups of Amer-
ican citizens deeply concerned about an
increasing, institutionalized denial of
citizens' rights by the Office of Special
Investigations (OSI) of the United States
Justice Department's Criminal Division,
particularly in recent denaturalization
and deportation proceedings.
Michael Schmidt is a long-time Ameri-
can citizen who is innocent of involvement
in Nazi persecution by any reasonable
standard of law. The amici curiae see the
OSI's attacks against Schmidt and others,
including many friends and neighbors, as
gross perversions of the law.
The amici curiae view Schmidt's peti-
tion to the Supreme Court as critically
important because the OSI's disregard for
Schmidt's rights, as reflected in the
OSI's positions and arguments against hin,
=2-
typifies a dangerous new tack in OSI
practices. This amicus brief describes
key characteristics of this new approach,
and asks this Court to stop it.
The enormous strength and perhaps-
even-excessive motivation of the OSI's
prosecutorial machine, applied against an
aging group of low-level World War II
conscriptees who cannot begin to afford
the kinds of defense the OSI's assaults
demand, are matters of grave concern to
the amici curiae. The OSI's assaults
against Schmidt and others are assaults on
their fellow American citizens.
The amici curiae recognize the OSI's
massive strength and the lack of effective
legislative and administrative oversight
as a prescription for massive denials of
citizens' rights. They see such abuses
occurring at an accelerating pace, even as
the 1940's fall more decades into the past.
-3-
In view of the mixed signals coming
from various appeals courts and the OSI's
persistence in applying unreasonable rules
and standards, the amici curiae understand
that the intervention of this Court is
needed to bring reform to the administra-
tion of justice in an area of great and
particular importance to then.
The interest of the amici curiae is
shown further by their attached letters.
ARGUMENT
Mere Status As a Guard Is Insufficient
As Grounds For a Holding of Assistance
In Persecution Because of Race, Religion,
, tea Rs Ao (boty
Unable to find a continuing stream of
defendants who actively assisted in Nazi
persecution because of race, religion,
national origin or political opinion, the
OSI is increasingly, as in Schmidt's case,
basing its complaints against aging Ameri-
-4-
can citizens merely upon their status as
guards some 40-50 years ago -- rather than
on allegations of specific active wrongful
conduct.
The OSI's accusations against Schmidt
with respect to his service during the war
all relate to status. He is not accused
of ever hurting anyone during his time as
a guard, of ever shooting anyone or at
anyone, of ever striking or even shoving
anyone, or of ever having seen any such
things. Schmidt admitted serving as a
guard outside a walled prison, and this
alone was the basis for the summary judg-
ment against him.
The very recent unanimous decision of
the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals in the
case of Petkiewytsch v. INS, (decided Sep-
tember 30, 1991; decision attached), is
the most thorough judicial analysis to
date of precisely the substantive ques-
a eT
-5-
tions raised in the instant appeal. Its
logic and ruling clash directly with the
Seventh Circuit decision from which
Schmidt here appeals. The Sixth Circuit's
review of legislative histories and case
law clearly compelled its decision that
mere status as a guard does not satisfy
the statutory language regarding "persecu-
tion." This Court should adopt the Sixth
Circuit's rationale on the guard-status
issue and related issues.
Like Schmidt, Petkiewytsch was a
guard against whom no accusations of
active wrongdoing were made. The Pet-
kiewytsch decision is commended to the
Court.
Turning for a moment to a procedural
issue in the instant case, the district
court ignored undisputed evidence of
admirable conduct by Schmidt and found
guilt by status on summary judgment,
-6-
denaturalizing citizen Schmidt for "assis-
ting in persecution" without even giving
him a chance to stand before a court, even
once. Summary judgment clearly denied
Schmidt an appropriate opportunity to
defend himself.
It is ironic that the Seventh Cir-
cuit, in the portion of its 2-1 majority
opinion which described the horrors of the
Third Reich, referred to "incarceration
without trial for indefinite periods of
time." Michael Schmidt, too, has been
denied a trial, despite the absence of any
specific active-conduct charge against him
and despite his long-time status as an
American citizen. Furthermore, for three
and one-half years this retired janitor
and his family have been put through hell
at the hands of our government, despite
the fact that, in the words of the Sixth
Circuit in the Petkiewytsch decision:
=Joa
"Deporting this petitioner would not
further the Holtzman Amendment and
would carry out no discernable policy
of the United States." (page 20)
This Court should overturn the deci-
sion of the Seventh Circuit in the instant
case, and stop the OSI from accusing
elderly Americans of having "assisted in
persecution" based merely on their former
status as guards.
The Per Se Rule Urged By the OSI
Is Not Found in the Fedorenko Decision.
A key part of the OSI's current
approach to condemning merely on the basis
of status is a gross misapplication of the
Supreme Court's decision in Fedorenko v.
United States, 449 US 490 (1981).
The OSI makes much of a portion of
footnote 34 of the Fedorenko decision
which states, "[T]here can be no question
that a guard who was issued a uniform and
armed with a rifle and a pistol, who was
paid a stipend and was regularly allowed
-8-
to leave the concentration camp ... fits
within the statutory language about
persons who assisted in the persecution of
civilians." When they generalize this
footnote statement, the OSI attorneys
misread it and the intent of the decision.
If the Court had intended Fedorenko
to establish the ironclad per se rule
urged by the OSI, it would not have been
put in a footnote. In fact, it is only
reasonable to read "a guard who" as the
Court's way of referring to Fedorenko in
particular. But not all guards were like
Fedorenko; Schmidt most certainly was not.
Indeed, the Supreme Court's clear
intent, as set forth later in the same
footnote, is that cases be examined on a
case-by-case basis. The Court said:
"Other cases may present more
difficult line-drawing problems but
we need decide only this case."
In its arguments against Schmidt, the
as nnn emma
-9-
OSI has contended that Fedorenko and its
progeny focus on the conduct of a typical
armed guard of prisoners at a concentra-
tion camp to hold that guard duty per se
renders a visa applicant under the DPA
ineligible for a visa. In fact, however,
the cases since Fedorenko have looked at
individual conduct, and that was just as
Fedorenko commands.
Perhaps the strict per se rule urged
by the OSI would be acceptable if applied
at a time before citizenship rights have
accrued to an individual, as in Kulle v.
INS, 825 F2d 1188 (CA7 1987). But after
rights have accrued, as in Schmidt's and
other denaturalization cases, Fedorenko
Clearly does not close the door to show-
ings of fact contrary to the OSI's expec-
tations of the typical guard.
Fedorenko was never intended as the
simplistic per se tool that OSI urges for
litt anal
-10-
use against prison and camp guards of the
World War II era. The crack in the door
was not slammed shut.
Summary judgment, as in Schmidt's
case, precludes the sort of detailed anal-
ysis which the Supreme Court calls for in
Fedorenko. See also Petkiewytsch, supra.
For that reason alone, the lower court
should be reversed in the present matter.
This Court should correct the persis-
tent misapplication of its 1981 Fedcrenko
by the OSI.
Knowledge Is an Essential Element
of Persecution For Race, Religion,
National Origin or Political Opinion.
Because of the OSI's inability to
allege active wrongful conduct, the OSI
now often finds it necessary, as in
Schmidt's case, to go to the extreme of
arguing that a person whom it could not
accuse of persecution in the form of
specific wrongful conduct need not even
alae it le
-ll-
have had concurrent knowledge of persecu-
tion because of race, religion, national
origin or political opinion.
This leads to an unusual conclusion,
to wit: A long-time American citizen who,
as an eastern European teenager of German
heritage conscripted by the Germans, did
not actively assist in Nazi persecution 50
years ago and did not have knowledge of
Nazi persecution on grounds of race,
religion, national origin or political
opinion, nonetheless must be denaturalized
by a federal court, without trial, ona
summary finding of having "advocated or
assisted in persecution on grounds of
race, religion, national origin or politi-
cal opinion."
The OSI's misreading of Fedorenko is
part of its effort to skirt the knowledge
issue. The OSI has argued that enforcing
concentration camp enslavement through
VE
-12-
service as a guard is conduct which per se
constitutes the assistance in persecution
proscribed by the DPA. This is a dramatic
overstatment of Fedorenko. In fact, that
Supreme Court decision makes it very clear
that Fedorenko knew what was going on at
the Treblinka concentration camp. He knew
there was persecution, and he knew it was
for reasons of race, religion, national
origin or political opinion. To imply
that such knowledge is unnecessary is
simply wrong. That view cannot stand
under the light of Fedorenko.
Knowledge and intent must be elements
of "assisting in persecution." The idea
of unintentional persecution is a contra-
Giction in terms. As Judge Pell said in
his dissent below,
"I cannot conceive how a person can
be rendering assistance in persecu-
tion without some showable knowledge
"
-13-
This Court should require that know-
ledge of persecution on grounds of race,
religion, national origin or political
opinion be a prerequisite to a finding of
actionable "assistance in persecution,"
certainly at least in the absence of
specific allegations of active wrongful
conduct.
The Lower Court Decisions in the
Instant Case Allow the Practice
of Guilt By Association.
The OSI attorneys accuse Michael
Schmidt of nothing specific -- but the
entire Holocaust in general, and pile on
top of that "immorality" because of the
lot that life dealt out to the man, who
never even counted himself a Nazi. It is
purely a matter of guilt by association.
Indeed, what the OSI lawyers are
doing in this matter, as can be seen
Clearly by a reading of the Amended Con-
plaint, is beneath the moral equivalent of
[a
-14-
what Schmidt is said to have done. Acting
under color of law, they are mercilessly
ruining the life of an innocent man. Like
guilty Nazis of the day (who should indeed
be denaturalized and deported under appli-
cable law), the OSI lawyers are themselves
administering blows, under color of law --
but with complete disregard for personal
guilt or innocence. Furthermore, they
appear to be doing so in the belief that
somehow they represent some higher good.
There is no specific charge of wrong-
doing against Michael Schmidt. He must
not be condemned based on guilt by assoc~
iation. Condemnation because of status is
precisely what troubles us about Nazi
atrocities.
Yet, the decision of the district
court on summary judgment, and the up-
holding of that decision by the Appeals
Court on a 2-1 vote, unless overturned,
-15-
will serve to allow the OSI's continued
practice of guilt by association.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
The OSI is still engaging in efforts
to secure for itself an effective prosecu-
torial tool -- i.e., court holdings that a
person's mere status as a guard is suffi-
cient grounds for a holding of "assistance
in persecution." Such a concept is wrong
on its face, and is not supported either
by legislative history or case law.
Nevertheless, in view of decisions like
that here appealed by Schmidt, a strong
Supreme Court ruling against the concept
of guilt by mere status is desperately
needed.
The OSI argues that a per se rule on
this point is found in the 1981 Supreme
Court decision in Fedorenko. Such argu-
ment is a gross misapplication of the law.
———————oo”6h— OCCULT ee
Ee
-16-
In fact, the Fedorenko decision is direct-
ly concerned with the nature of individual
conduct, as certain subsequent cases
clearly note. But the OSI needs to be
told, and clarification is needed by the
courts.
The OSI argues, as it does against
Schmidt, that knowledge of persecution is
not an essential element of persecution
because of race, religion, national origin
or political opinion. It bases its argu-
ments on Fedorenko, a decision which
Clearly fails to support that rash conclu-
sion. Knowledge of persecution must be
clearly understood to be a prerequisite to
a finding of actionable "assistance in
persecution."
Guilt by association is contrary to
the American system of law. Court deci-
sions and government prosecutions surely
should not be based on concepts and
-17=
holdings which are tantamount to guilt by
association.
A thorough hearing and ruling on the
issues of this case by this honorable
Court are necessary to work justice for
Michael Schmidt. A hearing and ruling are
also necessary at this time to guide the
often-divided lower courts, who are faced
with the OSI's persistent arguments based
on incorrect principles. Stated very
directly, a hearing and ruling by this
Court are essential as a guide for, or
throttle on, the OSI with respect to the
handling of its ever-growing docket of
cases against aged American citizens.
ONC
The amici curiae respectfully request
that the petition of Michael Schmidt for a
hearing of his appeal be granted. They
further request that this honorable Court
|
-18-
eventually render a decision clarifying
the issues summarized above, which are of
great importance to the amici curiae and
others who love justice.
Respectfully Submitted,
James Victor Voss, Esq.
Meyer, Unkovic & Scott
1300 Oliver Building
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
Telephone: 412/456-2800
Peter N. Jansson, Esq.
Jansson & Shupe, Ltd.
245 Main Street
Racine, WI 53403
Telephone: 414/632-6900
Attorneys for the Amici Curiae
Amici Curiae Letters
Milwaukee, WI 53220 OCT, 1 isl
Our Lady of Lourdes Congregation
3722 S. 58th Street
Dear Mr. Jansson,
As a parish council we have voted to file a friend of the court brief in the
Michael Schmidt case because we fee! so strongly about the denial of rights to
ethnic German conscriptees who had the misfortune to serve as guards during
World War 0 and are not accused of ty specific wrongdoing. We believe that
they are being punished merely because of their status.
Would you be so kind as to file a brief on our behalf?
Thank you for your kind attention to this matter.
fest Counst of Ous Lady of Lourdes Congregation
OCTAUe-1991 16:52 FRO. ‘<“YSrEr To 141-8 sce7 Pa
Danube Swabian Association of the U.S.A Inc.
Berband der Bonauschwaben in den AGA, vc. B.
Sept. 29,1991
Mr. Peter N. Jansson, At<or-ey
245 Main Street,
Mezzanine Suite
Racine, WI 53403
Dear Mr. Jansson!
We, the above orcanization, wish to file a Friend of the Court Brief on behalf of
Michael Schmidt, because of the cross wrougs we see in this case and a moter of
other where our Senicr Citizens have been tarceted by the OSI. —
We would be hapry if other organizations join us in the Brief.
Kindly prepare the necessary Amicus Brief anc accept cur appreciation.
incerely
Aé2m Mece2i, President
hae oe e tie eS ae ed
Darmbe Swabian Associatica of the U.S.A. Inc.
BEST AVAILABLE COPY
es
ae Bt
Fp ett ie ete
“a Pin at ate ee
sg aril owl
rena
tee
‘Sipiiadaes
I
THE TRICENT ENNIAL FOUNDATION
Horonng Cver 200 Years of Cerman-American Achievenent
Mr. Peter Jansson, £3q.
Jansson & Shupe, Ltrs.
26€ Main Street
Racine, #1 §2203
Oct. 2, 1991
Dear Mr. Jansson,
As an organization we further the Laterests of the
Gersan-acerican comsunity, Indefinite as to asupber
of persons, of the general publis. Many cf them have
paid tke altis
p a ye price for Freedos and Dencoracy
or the Jnited States.
We Pespectfully request you to represert our
interests and to file a friend of the court orief in
the case of Michsel Schaidt, because we fael stronly
about the dental of rights to ethnic Gersans, who
had the gisfortune to serve as conscriptees and were
asaigned to guard duty during Yorid War IZ and have
not been accused of any specific wrongdoing, except
of serving on the loseing side.
Tf there is such-se-thing az justice or sorals in
our society, than we gust raise the question- wad
Morgenthau and his plan or Eisenhower, as discribed
in the Book "Other Losses" by James Bacque, after
the War --- or the Siots during the
Wer over
Dresden more zoraliy accountable or responsible than
a soldier ordered ts pull guard duty in time of Yar?
Thank you for you interest in this matter,
Sincerely,
H. W. Zderhara
8628 Onn0n Avenue, cs Angeves. Cailtomis OIMs5e15
@15 663-0805
PO. SOX 44587, Wasningion, DC, 20026-4367
Q0d 223-4817
PRad . 802
a Aid Society
of German DP astendlante
6540 Norch Milweckee Aven:e - CHICAGO, BUNOS 60671
Gecober 3, 1991
Mr. Petar 3. Janasoa, attorney
245 Main Screet,
Mezzacinse Saite
Racine, WI $3403
Dear Mr. Jansson:
We, the above orgacization, wish to file a Friend of the Courc Brief on behaif of
Michael Scheidt, becacse of the gross wrongs we see in Chis case and « aucber of
ethers where our Senior Cicizeas have been targeced by the O51.
We would be happy if other ergenizations join ws in this Brief. Kindly prepare .
che necessary Amicus Brief and sccept vur appreciation.
Bans Gebavi, President
Acaricar Ald Society of German Descendaacs
ss TOTEL FRGE
-8cz
INSTITUTE FOR
GZRMAN AMERICAN
RELATIONS (IGAR)
$349 McLane: Bead
Suse 4102
Prarga. PA 15207
Tel = (4D) Dees
FAX. 4123) 264-772
10/2/91
Peter Jansson
Jansson & Shupe, Ltc.
245 Maic St.
Racine, WI $3403
Dear Mr. Jansson,
Qur organization wishes to submit an amicus curiae brief before the
Supreme Court regarding the Michael Schmidt case, using the argument:
which we discussed.
We are aware of many cases in which the OSI is usicg just status as
a@ guard and other strained and wrongful arguments to denaturslize
asc
deport elderly Acerican citizens wNO are ethnic Germans from Easter=
Europe.
Uncil 3 ¢ays aco, we were nct aware that we cctid file such a brief
and appreciate your doing sc.
Sincerely,
(ly. Equcaie
. Dr. Marianne Bouvier
Executive Director
Institute fcr German Americas Relaticns
MB:21
RECOMMENDED FOR FULL TEXT PUBLICATION
Pursuant to Sixth Curcuit Rule 24
No. 90-3952
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT
LEONID PETKIEWYTSCH, 7
Petitioner,
v. Petition for Review
of a Deportation Order
IMMIGRATION AND of the Board of
NATURALIZATION SERVICE, Immigration Appeals
Respondent. |
Decided and Filed September 30, 1991
Before: MERRITT, Chief Judge; LIVELY, Senior
Circuit Judge; and HULL, Chief District Judge. °
LIVELY, Senior Circuit Judge. The question in this
case is whether a permanent resident alien who served
involuntarily as a civilian guard in a German “labor
education camp” during the period of Nazi control and
who never personally abused prisoners is subject to
deportation under the Immigration and Nationality Act of
1952, as amended, (the Act), 8 U.S.C. § 1101, et seq.
More specifically, the question arises under section
*The Honorable Thomas G. Hull, United States District Chief
Judge for the Eastern District of Tennessee, sitting by designation.
2 Petkiewytsch v. INS No. 90-3952
241(a)(19) of the Act, 8 U.S.C. § 1251(a)(19)(the
Holtzman Amendment). The Holtzman Amendment was
enacted in 1978; section 103 provides for the deportation
of any alien who, under the direction of or in association
with the Nazi government of Germany, ordered, incited,
assisted, or otherwise participated in the persecution of
any person because of race, religion, national origin, or
political opinion between March 23, 1933 and May 8,
1945. Holtzman Amendment § 103, Pub. L. No. 95-549,
92 Stat. 2065, codified at 8 U.S.C. § 1251(a)(19).
l.
The facts relating specifically to the petitioner's
background and conduct are not disputed by the parties
and consistent factual determinations were made by the
immigration judge and the Board of Immigration Appeals
(the Board).
A.
The petitioner is a 67 year old married male and a
native of Poland. The petitioner lived in Poland under
Nazi occupation until 1944. In 1944, petitioner, then age
21, fled with his family from Poland to Czechoslovakia to
avoid the consequences of battle and occupation by the
approaching Russian army. From Czechoslovakia, the
petitioner and his family were sent with other refugees to
a transit camp in Austria. After arriving in Austra, the
family was ordered by the Germans to report to the labor
exchange in Kiel, Germany. At Kiel, the family was
separated. The petitioner's parents were assigned to a
local fish cannery while the petitioner and his twin brother
were ordered to report to the Kiel-Hasse labor education
camp to serve as civilian guards. The petitioner and his
twin brother objected to the assignment but nevertheless
reported for duty. Refusing the assignment would have
subjected the petitioner to imprisonment or execution.
After reporting to the camp, the petitioner, ep
serving as a civilian guard, was issued a used uniform of a
a a Mate tl a >.
No. 90-3952 Petkiewytsch v. INS 3
Gestapo SS member and given a rifle with five rounds of
ammunition. The petitioner was instructed on how to
escort prisoners to and from work sites and how to clean
and load his rifle. His guard duties required him to act as
a perimeter guard, to escort prisoners to work sites and,
on a rotating basis, to stand guard at the entrance to a
bunker where prisoners were interrogated and sometimes
mistreated. The petitioner's penny Apes sap was to
prevent the escape of prisoners and he was under orders to
shoot an pe oa i to escape. When not on duty,
the petitioner was allowed unescorted liberty outside the
camp which he used to visit his family. petitioner
was informed that he would be imprisoned or shot if he
disobeyed orders or attempted to run away.
While serving as a civilian guard, the petitioner
witnessed frequent mistreatment of prisoners and was
aware that some executions took place. However, during
his eight-month service as a civilian guard the petitioner
never used his rifle, never struck a prisoner and never
personally inflicted any form of abuse upon prisoners
beyond impeding their escape through his presence as a
civilian guard.
At the war's conclusion, the petitioner and his twin
brother sought work at local farms. They were quickly
apprehended by the British, however, and interned for
thirty-four months as suspected war criminals. After his
internment, the petitioner was released by the British
under “category 5,” which meant that he was totally
exonerated of my wrongdoing and of all charges against
him. In March 1948, the petitioner applied to the
Preparatory Commission of the International Refugee
Organization to receive benefits as a refugee, which
would have certified him for entrance into the United
States under the Displaced Persons Act of 1948 (DPA),
Pub. L. No. 80-774, ch. 647, 62 Stat. 1009 (1948), as
amended, June 16, 1950, Pub. L. No. 81-555, ch. 262,
64 Stat. 219 (1950). However, part II of annex I to the
Constitution of the Internati Refugee Organization
(IRO), which was incorporated by reference into the DPA
4 Petkiewytsch v. INS No. 90-3952
as enacted in 1948, denied benefits to anyone who could
be shown “to have assisted the enemy in persecuting civil
poe .._." IRO Constitution, annex I, part Il
§ 2(a); DPA § 2(b). The petitioner was denied assistance
from the IRO because he had served as a guard at the
labor education camp. In 1955, the petitioner applied to
the United States Consulate in Hamburg, Germany for an
immigration visa under the Immigration and Nationality
Act, which then contained no provision denying admission
to those who had participated or assisted in Nazi
persecutions. On March 9, 1955, the petitioner was
issued an immigration visa under the Act by the American
Consulate in Hamburg, Germany, and has lived in the
United States as a permanent resident since 1955.
The administrative record contains expert testimony
regarding the system of camps established by the Nazi
regime, their purposes and their organizational control.
The most repressive Nazi camps came under the direction
the German SS, the organization established by Hitler to
suppress groups targeted on the basis of race, religion and
national origin. Concentration camps were established
prior to the war in order to intimidate and torture those
largeted groups perceived as impeding Nazi goals.
Concentration camps were used by the SS as permanent
institutions of the state and were designed as intimidation
instruments for political dissenters, opposition groups and
groups in society that the Nazi regime determined to be
unworthy of full citizenship. These camps contained
many permanent buildings, heavily concentrated inmates
and were surrounded with electric wire carrying a lethal
charge.
After the outbreak of war, sub-camps of the
concentration camps emerged, also controlled by the
German SS, which became known as the extermination
camps. Consisting of gas chambers, railroad sidings and
very little else, extermination camps such as Auschwitz,
Treblinka and Buchenwald were intended and used solely
No. 90-3952 Petkiewytsch v. INS 5
to eliminate Jews and other groups of people deemed
inferior by the Nazis.
Forced labor camps were another suv-component of
concentration camps, also primarily under the control of
the German SS. Forced labor camps were temporary
outcamps typically set up near concentration camps or
near a particular work site to permit exploitation of the
labor available from the concentration camp for economic
purposes. These camps were also fenced, but much less
extensively than concentration camps, and the fencing
typically did not contain a lethal charge.
This appeal involves a labor education camp. Labor
education camps were initially created as repositories for
foreign laborers involuntarily deported into Germany to
fill the acute labor shortage created by the massive
mobilization for wa However, the labor education
camps also quickly became used as punishment camps for
workers accused of slacking, other labor infractions or
other generalized violations of state policy, such as sexual
contact with German nationals, minor crimes, practicing
religion in a language other than German or failing to
wear a special badge designating one as Jewish or Polish.
Labor education camps involved much less security than
other camps and typically involved sentences of relatively
short duration.
At the Kiel-Hasse labor education camp there was no
fence nor any other feature of a concentration or
extermination camp and the normal period of
incarceration was fifty-six days. Physical abuses,
malnutrition and overcrowded conditions were
nevertheless prevalent and former inmates testified to
interrogations, torture and executions. Expert witnesses
testified that documents from Kiel-Hasse revealed that
guards were prohibited from beating prisoners at Kiel-
Hasse. These witnesses expressed the opinion that the
inmates experienced persecution primarily at the hand of
SS guards present at the camp and more senior Gestapo
officials rather than at the hand of civilian guards such as
6 Petkiewytsch v. INS No. 90-3952
the petitioner.
Il.
In July 1985 the United States Immigration and
Naturalization Service (INS) issued an Order to Show
Cause charging that the petitioner was deportable, among
other provisions, under section 103 of the Holtzman
Amendment, for assisting or otherwise participating in
Nazi persecution. The petitioner denied the allegations in
the show cause order material to deportation under the
Holtzman Amendment. In April 1986 an eight-day
evidentiary hearing was held before an immigration law
judge on the issue of deportability. During the hearing
the testimony of numerous witnesses was admitted,
including historians with expertise in the operation of
Nazi camps, former inmates of Kiel-Hasse, government
officials and family members of the petitioner.
In March 1987 the immigration judge issued a brief
opinion that ordered the deportation proceedings against
the petitioner terminated. The immigration judge found
that the petitioner had not personally engaged in any
persecutorial acts and that the petitioner's “wrongful
conduct, at most, was his acceptance under duress of his
duties as a civilian labor education camp guard.” Noting
the petitioner's young age at the relevant time period, the
immigration judge concluded that the petitioner “was
equally a victim of the times that he lived in... ." The
government appealed the immigration judge's opinion to
the Board.
The Board rendered a decision in May 1990 reversing
the decision of the immigration judge and ordering
deportation. After a thorough review of the evidence, the
Board agreed with the factual findings deemed critical by
the immigration judge that the petitioner's service as a
civilian guard was involuntary and that the petitioner had
not personally engaged in any acts of abuse. The Board
in fact described the petitioner as "a rather reluctant guard
who performed his duties as ordered in order to escape
No. 90-3952 Petkiewytsch v. INS 7
imprisonment or death." Unlike the immigration judge,
however, the Board found these factual determinations to
be without legal relevance in applying the =a
Amendment. The Board concl that only
“objective effect" of the petitioner's conduct conbules
(emphasis in original) and that the “objective effect" of
his service as a civilian guard was to assist the Nazis in
their persecution of those within Kiel-Hasse by preventing
their escape.
The Board found the key issue presented by the case to
be whether Kiel-Hasse was a place where persecution
occurred due to race, nationality, religion or political
Opinion, as is required for deportation under the Holtzman
Amendment. After reviewing the policies served by the
labor education camps and the practice of using the camps
as an enforcement mechanism to carry out labor decrees
directed against foreign workers deemed politically
suspect, racially unreliable or of an inferior national
origin, the Board concluded that Kiel-Hasse was a
repository for the persecution of people based on race,
nationality and political opinion. The Board further found
that persecution took place in Kiel-Hasse, not only by the
fact of involuntary confinement, but also by deprivation,
torture and executions. The Board thus concluded that the
petitioner was deportable under the Holtzman Amendment
because of his duties as a guard at a camp where persons
were persecuted based upon race, religion, national origin
or political opinion.
The petitioner has challenged the factual finding of the
Board that Kiel-Hasse was a place of persecution based
upon race, religion, national origin or political opinion.
However, the record contains evidence of deprivations,
torture and executions at Kiel-Hasse that leaves no
question but that it was a place of persecution.
Additionally, petitioner's contention that internment at
Kiel-Hasse required the commission of an act by the
inmate, and thus that the persecution in the camp was
innate
8 Petkiewytsch v. INS No. 90-3952
based upon an infraction rather than upon race, religion or
national origin is unpersuasive. While German nationals
were not immune from labor education camp
imprisonment for genuine labor—violations, the record
clearly demonstrates that the “infractions” resulting in
labor education camp imprisonment were predominantly
based upon race and nationality, such as the refusal of
Jews, Poles or other eastern workers to wear the insignia
assigned to them on their clothing. Persecution stemming
from such “infractions” must, therefore, be considered to
be based on race, religion, national origin or political
opinion. We agree with the Board's decision in this
regard.
IV.
This brings us to the principal issue presented by this
appeal: Whether the Board correctly construed the
Holtzman Amendment to require the deportation of one
who involuntarily served as a labor education camp
civilian guard to avoid imprisonment or death and who
never personally committed any acts of abuse against
prisoners.
The Holtzman Amendment was added to the Act in
1978. Section 103 of the amendment provides, in
pertinent part:
Any alien in the United States . . . shall, upon
the order of the Attorney General, be deported
who-
-_s *
(19) during the period beginning on March 23,
1933, and ending on May 8, 1945, under the
direction of, or in association with-
(A) the Nazi government of Germany,
(B) any government in any area occupied
No. 90-3952 Petkiewytsch v. INS 9
by the military forces of the Nazi government of
Germany,
(C) any government established with the
assistance or cooperation of the Nazi government
of Germany, or
(D) any government which was an ally of
the Nazi government of Germany,
ordered, incited, assisted, or otherwise participated
in the persecution of any person because of race,
religion, national origin, or political opinion; . . .
8 U.S.C. § 1251(a)(19).
A.
Whether § 1251(a)(19) requires the result reached by
the Board is clearly a question of statutory construction.
The standard of review applicable to questions of statutory
construction was stated by the Supreme Court in INS v.
Cardoza-Fonseca, 480 U.S. 421 (1987): - ” aoe
judiciary is the final authority on issues of statutory
construction and must reject administrative constructions
which are contrary to clear congressional intent. [Citing
cases.] If a court, employing traditional tools of statutory
construction, ascertains that Congress had an intention on
the precise question at issue, that intention is the law and
must be given effect.’ " Jd. at 447-48 (quoting U.S.A.
Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc., 467
U.S. 837, 843 n.9 (1984)). We discuss briefly the
development of the relevant legislation as a background to
our more specific treatment of the issue before the court.
B.
Congress passed the DPA in 1948 as a means of
temporarily eliminating restrictive immigration quotas and
providing relief to the vast numbers of persons displaced
by the ravages of World War II by permitting their
10 Petkiewytsch v. INS No. 90-3952
entrance into the United States for permanent residence.
As initially enacted, the DPA expressly prohibited the
issuance of a visa “to any person who is or has been a
member of, or participated in, any movement which is or
has been hostile to the United States or the form of
government of the United States.” DPA § 13, Pub. L.
No. 80-774, ch. 647, Stat. 1009, 1014 (1948). In
addition, § 2(b) of the DPA limited the application of the
DPA to those “who [were] the concern of the
International Refugee Organization" under the terms of
that organization's constitution. Congress thus
incorporated by reference the provision of annex I, part Il
of the IRO Constitution which listed the categones of
persons who were not of concern to the IRO. Such
persons were described in the IRO Constitution as
follows:
2. Any other persons who can be shown:
(a) to have assisted the enemy in persecuting
civil populations of countries, Members of the
United Nations; or
(b) to have voluntarily assisted the enemy
forces since the outbreak of the Second World War
in their operations against the United Nations. '
‘Mere continuance of normal and peaceful duties,
not performed with the specific purpose of aiding
the enemy against the Allies or against the civil
population of territory in enemy occupation shall
not be considered to constitute “voluntary
assistance”.
IRO Constitution, Chapter XXIX, annex I, part Il § 2(a)
& (b)(footnote in original).
Congress subsequently amended § 13 of the DPA in
~ 1950 to prohibit issuance of a visa “to any person who
No. 90-3952 Petkiewytsch v. INS 11
advocated or assisted in the persecution of any person
because of race, religion, or national origin... .” June
16, 1950 Amendment to DPA, Pub. L. No. 81-555, ch.
262, 64 Stat. 219, 227 (1950). Thus, as enacted in 1948
and as amended in 1950, the DPA effectively blocked
immigration to the United States of those who assisted in
persecution.
The Immigration and Nationality Act as adopted in
1952 did not proscribe issuance of visas to those who had
assisted in persecution during the war. Section 340(a) of
the Act, 8 U.S.C. § 1451(a), did provide authority to
denaturalize and revoke the citizenship of one who gained
admission to the United States either illegally, by
concealment of a material fact, or by willful
misrepresentation. Thus, one who entered the United
States under the DPA by concealing assistance or
participation in rsecution remained subject to
deportation under § 340(a) of the Act. However, because
the Act contained no restrictive provision similar to the
DPA, a person who assisted in persecution but who
entered the United States pursuant to the Act legally and
without concealment or misrepresentation was not subject
to deportation under § 340(a).
This loophole in the Act was remedied by section 103
of the 1978 Holtzman Amendment which added to the
permanent immigration laws of the United States a
provision for the deportation of aliens who participated in
Nazi-directed persecution of individuals “because of”
race, religion, national origin or political opinion. The
Holtzman Amendment thus provided an independent basis
for deporting immigrants who entered the United States
lawfully despite their participation or assistance in
persecution of civilians during the war.
wd
Although the parties briefed the case extensively and
argued it fully, their positions can be stated rather
succinctly. The petitioner contends that this is a case of
12 Petkiewytsch v. INS No. 90-3952
first impression because no court has decided that a
resident alien who has been found to have served
involuntarily as a guard in a labor education camp is
deportable under the Holtzman Amendment. He argues
that these two factors - involuntariness and guard duty in
the least restrictive type of Nazi detention camp -
demonstrate that he was not a war criminal. The
legislative history of the Holtzman Amendment makes it
clear, he asserts, that it was not intended to apply to a
person with his wartime record.
The government responds that neither of the factors
cited by the petitioner makes any difference. The cases,
meeteniats Fedorenko v. United States, 449 U.S. 490
(1981), make it clear, according to the government, that
the petitioner is deportable because Kiel-Hasse was a
“place of persecution” and the petitioner assisted in the
persecution of individuals “because of race, religion,
national origin, or political opinion.” It is enough, the
government argues, that the petitioner wore a uniform and
carried a loaded weapon and his job was to prevent the
escape of those confined and subject to persecution.
It is clear that the case is unique in at least one respect:
the immigration judge and,the Board agreed that the
petitioner acted involuntarily Yand that the record contains
no evidence that the petitioner personally abused or
mistreated any inmate. Many of the cases we have
examined contained sharply conflicting evidence of the
alien's personal participation in persecution, and
deportability often turned on a court's resolution of such
evidence. Here, although a number of former inmates of
Kiel-Hasse testified, none was able to relate an incident in
which the petitioner abused anyone.
V.
The Holtzman Amendment, although an independent
legisiative act, was designed to “establish within the
permanent U.S. immigration law a provision which . . .
appeared previously in [the DPA]." H.R. Rep. No. 95-
No. 90-3952 Petkiewytsch v. INS 13
1452, 9Sth Cong., 2d Sess. at 3, reprinted in 1978 U.S.
Code Cong. & Admin. News 4700, 4702. Thus, our
Starting point is the Supreme Court's construction of the
DPA in Fedorenko. We then examine decisions applying
the teachings of Fedorenko to cases under the Holtzman
Amendment.
A.
Fedorenko involved denaturalization proceedings against
Feodor Fedorenko. Fedorenko gained permanent
admission to the United States in 1949 under the 1948
DPA. During the war, Fedorenko, who was a Ukranian,
served in the Russian army. He was captured by the
Germans and required to serve as an armed guard at the
Nazi extermination camp, Treblinka. 449 U.S. at 494.
Fedorenko denied personal involvement in the atrocities at
Treblinka, but admitted that he followed orders by
shooting in the general direction of escaping inmates
during an uprising. /d. at 500. In his application for a
visa under the DPA, Fedorenko deliberately concealed his
service as a guard at Treblinka. /d. at 496. In 1969
Fedorenko applied for citizenship, again concealing his
service at Treblinka, and became a United States Citizen.
Id. at 497. Arguing that his service at Treblinka
constituted “assist{ance] [to] the enemy in persecuting
civil populations” under the 1948 DPA, the government
instituted a denaturalization action against Fedorenko in
1976 under section 340(a) of the Act, 8 U.S.C. § 1451(a)
for concealment of material evidence.
The Supreme Court held that Fedorenko's involuntary
service as an armed guard at Treblinka disqualified him as
a matter of law from admission to the United States under
the DPA. /d. at 514. In so ruling, the Supreme Court
specifically rejected the argument that the DPA required
the conduct constituting assistance in persecution to be
voluntary. /d. at 512. In place of interpreting the DPA
to include a voluntariness requirement, the Supreme Court
directed lower courts to focus “on whether particular
conduct can be considered assisting the persecution of
14 Petkiewytsch v. INS No. 90-3952
civilians.” Jd. at n.34 (emphasis in original). The
Supreme Court offered some assistance to lower courts in
making this difficult determination by describing a
continuum of conduct:
Thus, an individual who did no more than cut the
hair of female inmates before they were executed
cannot be found to have assisted in the persecution
of civilians. On the other hand, there can be no
question that a guard who was issued a uniform
and armed with a rifle and a pistol, who was paid
a stipend and was regularly allowed to leave the
concentration camp to visit a nearby village, and
whe admitted to shooting at escaping inmates on
orders from the commandant of the camp, fits
within the statutory language about persons who
assisted in the persecution of civilians.
Id. Having described the continuum, the Court noted that
"[o}ther cases may present more difficult line-drawing
problems... ." /d.
B.
The "line drawing” in cases under the Holtzman
Amendment has been particularly difficult and has
produced conflicting results. In Schellong v. INS, 805
F.2d 655 (7th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 481 U.S. 1004
(1987), the court of appeals applied the Holtzman
Amendment to affirm the deportation of a person who
voluntarily joined a special commando unit of the Nazi SS
and served as an armed guard at two concentration camps.
Id. at 656-57. There was no evidence, however, that
Schellong personally engaged in physical abuse of
prisoners while serving as a guard. /d. at 657. The court
noted that it had previously held in United States v.
Kairys, 782 F.2d 1374 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 476 U.S.
1153 (1986), that service as a guard at a concentration
~camp equaled persecution under the DPA without proof of
personal involvement in _ atrocities. Id. at 660.
Concluding that the purposes of the two statutes were
No. 90-3952 Petkiewytsch v. INS 15
identical, the court found that proof of Shellong's service
as a guard at a concentration camp established that he had
“assisted in persecution for purposes of Secticn
1251(a)(19)" and therefore was deportable. /d. at 661.
The court specifically rejected the argument that an
individual must have actively or personally yo in
persecution to be deportable under the Holtzman
Amendment as inconsistent with Fedorenko. Id. This
holding was reaffirmed in Kulle v. INS, 825 F.2d 1188
(7th Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 1042 (1988).
Another court reached a different conclusion in
Laipenieks v. INS, 750 F.2d 1427 (9th Cir. 1985), a
deportation proceeding under the Holtzman Amendment
against a native of Latvia. The petitioner had served
voluntarily as a member of the Latvian Political Police, an
Organization formed to investigate and arrest individuals
who participated in Soviet atrocities against Latvian
citizens during the period of Soviet domination which
preceded Nazi occupation. /d. at 1429. Although
Laipenieks admitted slapping Soviet sympathizers taken as
prisoners, the court of appeals found that the INS failed to
establish by clear and convincing evidence that
Laipenieks' individual conduct had been motivated by the
political opinion of the prisoners. Relying on the
legislative history of the Holtzman Amendment, the court
held that deportability under § 1251(a)(19) "may only be
sustained when the evidence establishes that the individual
in question personally ordered, incited, assisted, or
otherwise participated in the persecution of individuals.”
Id. at 1431 (emphasis added). Relying on note 34 in
Fedorenko and the legislative history of the Holtzman
Amendment, the court concluded that the proper analysis
under the Holtzman Amendment was whether there was
"proof of personal active assistance or participation in
persecutorial acts... ." /d. at 1432 (emphasis added).
On the other hand, the court in Maikovskis v. INS, 773
F.2d 435 (2d Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 476 U.S. 1182
(1986), found that personal motivation was immaterial.
Maikovskis's application for admission to the United
16 Petkiewytsch v. INS No. 90-3952
States under the 1948 DPA concealed his voluntary
service as the Chief of Police in a Nazi-dominated
precinct in Latvia. Jd. at 438. In response to the death of
two Latvian police officers at the hands of Soviet partisans
in the village of Audrini, Maikovskis ordered his Latvian
police to join with German soldiers in arresting all of the
Audrini villagers, approximately 200-300 persons, and in
burning the village to the ground. /d. Maikovskis denied
involvement in the subsequent executions and murder of
almost all of the villagers. Jd. Nevertheless, his personal
participation in the persecution of civilians was clearly
established. | Maikovskis argued, however, that the
government had failed to produce evidence that his
conduct was personally motivated by the villager's
political opinion. /d. at 445. Citing to the language,
purpose and legislative history of the Holtzman
Amendment, the court of appeals held that the personal
motivation of the alien for assisting in persecution is
immaterial when it is shown that the Nazi persecution in
which the alien participated took place because of race,
religion, national origin or political opinion. Jd. at 445-
46.
Vi.
Although the Holtzman Amendment was designed to fill
a loophole in the permanent immigration law and its
language is similar to that found in the DPA, the
legislative history indicates an intention, at least in part, to
accomplish a different purpose. The DPA was designed
to provide relief to the multitude of displaced persons and
refugees in Europe after the end of World War Il. The
problem was one of immense proportions and there was
need for immediate action. These factors doubtless
account for the absence of any legislative history
addressing the provision in the 1948 DPA excluding
persons who had assisted in persecution and for the
decision merely to incorporate portions of the IRO
constitution. Thirty years later, when the Holtzman
Amendment was ted, it had become clear that some
war criminals, act perpetrators of the Holocaust and
No. 90-3952 Petkiewytsch v. INS 17
other war crimes, had entered this country under the 1952
Act. The Holtzman Amendment provi the basis for
their deportation.
A.
The Holtzman Amendment's legislative history contains
a clear and repetitive message that the amendment was
intended to deny “sanctuary in the United States to Nazi
war criminals” 124 Cong. Rec. 31,647 (1978)(statement
of Rep. Holtzman) (emphasis added), and that the “bill
applies to any person who committed war crimes under
the Nazis... .” /d. at 31,649 (emphasis added). The
specific discussion on the House floor in which
Representative Holtzman explained the purpose and
of the bill demonstrates that the focus of the bill's intent
centers on Nazi war criminals. Indeed, reference to "Nazi
war criminals” or “war criminals” is made no less than
nineteen times during the short discussion in which the
purpose and reach of the bill is explained. See 134 Cong.
Rec. 31,646-50 (1978). At one point Representative
Holtzman explained the bill as follows: “The bill as
reported here contains an amendment that limits the
language of the bill solely 10 those persons who engaged
in war crimes... ." 134 Cong. Rec. 31,647
(1978)(emphasis added). Again she stated, “[T]he bill is
intended to cover active participation and not mere
acquiescence by the population as a whole." /d. at 31,649
(emphasis added). Representative Holtzman was joined in
explaining the bill by another subcommittee member,
Represeniative Eilberg, who stated the bill's purpose:
Mr. EILBERG. [T]he purpose of this bill, which
is cosponsored by all of the members of the
Subcommittee on Immigration, Citizenship and
International Law, is to prevent the entry into, as
well as facilitate the deportation from the United
States of aliens who have engaged in persecution
based on race, religion, national origin or political
opinion under the Nazis.
ee
18 Petkiewyitsch v. INS No. 90-3952
Id. at 31,647 (emphasis added). Mr. Eilberg and Ms.
Holtzman each went on to make several additional
references regarding the bill's applications to those who
engaged in war atrocities. Id. at 31,647-48.
Representative Eilberg also stated:
{T}hat dreadful period in the history of mankind
should forever serve as a tragic reminder to all
civilized people of the terrible extremes to which
an entire nation can be led by a small but highly
organized group of demented and ruthless leaders.
This bill addresses itself to the members of that
group--to the perpetrators of the “Holocaust.”
Id. at 31,647 (emphasis added).
We appreciate the fact that statements in floor debate
often do not truly refiect the purpose of an act of
Congress. Nevertheless, this bill was the work of
Representative Elizabeth Holtzman, and her statement of
its purpose is entitled to careful consideration, particularly
in view of the similar statements found in the committee
report. Representative Eilberg’s siatements concerning
the intent of the subcommittee which first approved the
Holtzman Amendment is equally persuasive.
The Holtzman Amendment's purpose of reaching war
criminals is further clarified by statements in the
legislative history indicating the degree of participation in
persecution necessary to come within the Holtzman
Amendment. The statement of the Holtzman
Amendment's purpose reads:
Purpose of the Bill
The purpose of the bill is to exclude from
admission to the United States aliens who have
persecuted any person on the basis of race,
religion, national origin, or political opinion and to
facilitate the deportation of such aliens who have
been admitted into the United States.
No. 90-3952 Petkiewytsch v. INS 19
H.R. Rep. No. 95-1452, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. at 1,
= in 1978 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News
4700. This language appears to require active
participation in persecution going beyond “assistance.” In
discussing the Holtzman Amendment's application, the
House Report goes on to state that “it is important to
Stress that the conduct envisioned must be of a deliberate
and severe nature and such that is condemned by civilized
governments, ..." /d. at 7, 1978 U.S. Code Cong. &
Admin. News at 4706.
B.
Fedorenko established that the DPA provision making
persons who assisted in Nazi persecutions ineligible for
immigration visas did not depend upon whether the visa
applicant had acted voluntarily. Thus, standing alone, the
fact that the petitioner in this case acted involuntarily
would not have rendered him eligible for entry into the
U.S. under the DPA. If the Holtzman Amendment is to
be given precisely the same meaning as the DPA, we
agree that involuntariness alone would not preclude
deportation under section 1251(a)(19). We need not
address the difficult question of the effect of
involuntariness, standing alone, under the Holtzman
Amendment, however, for after disposing of the
voluntariness issue, the Fedorenko court added the
frequently quoted footnote 34.
In the footnote, the Supreme Court stated that the
proper focus of a court faced with the problem of limiting
the DPA's exclusionary language only to those whom
Congress intended to exclude should be upon “whether
particular conduct can be considered assisting in the
persecution of civilians." 449 U.S. at $13 n. 34
(emphasis in original). Fedorenko was found subject to
denaturalization for several reasons. He was “a guard
who was issued a uniform and armed with a rifle and a
pistol, who was paid a stipend and was regularly allowed
to leave the concentration camp to visit a nearby village,
and who admitted to shooting at escaping inmates on
20 Petkiewytsch v. INS No. 90-3952
orders from the commandant of the camp... ." dd.
Obviously, Fedorenko's most egregious conduct was
shooting at escaping inmates. The petitioner in the
present case, Petkiewytsch, did not ever fire his rifle or
otherwise abuse or attempt to injure an inmate.
If, as the Supreme Court stated, the focus under the
DPA should be on the “particular conduct” of the
immigrant, then given the legislative history of the
Holtzman Amendment, that focus should be even more
searching under § 1251(a)(19). Although Petkiewytsch
wore a uniform and carried a rifle, the Board found that
he was at all times a reluctant civilian guard, once himself
imprisoned for failing to perform his guard duties
diligently. The camp where he served was the least
punitive of all types of Nazi camps. The Board also
found that the petitioner served under duress and that he
was told he would be shot if he attempted to escape. He
never personally engaged in acts of persecution, and was
released by the British authorities, who interned him as a
suspected war criminal, upon a finding that the charges
could not be sustained. His “particular conduct" just does
not fit the description of a “Nazi war criminal” or a
"person[ ] who engaged in war crimes,” repeatedly
described as the class sought to be made deportable by the
Holtzman Amendment.
Given all the circumstances disclosed by this record, we
do not believe that Fedorenko requires a finding that
Petkiewytsch is subject to deportation under
§ 1251(a)(19). Deporting this petitioner would not further
the goal of the Holtzman Amendment and would carry out
no discernable policy of the United States.
Vil.
In addition to seeking deportation under the Holtzman
Amendment, the Order to Show Cause alleged that the
petitioner was also subject to deportation under 8 U.S.C.
§§ 1251(a)(1) & (2). Subsection (a)(1) provides for the
deportation of one who was excludable by the law existing
No. 90-3952 Petkiewytsch v. INS 21
at the time of entry into the United States, and subsection
(a)(2) provides for the deportation of one who entered the
United States in violation of Chapter 12 of the
Immigration and Nationality Act. The Order to Show
Cause alleges that petitioner was excludable from entry
into the United States under subsection (a)(1) and that his
entry was illegal under subsection (a)(2). The gist of this
charge is that Petkiewytsch had procured documentation
for entry into the United States “by fraud or willfully
misrepresenting a material fact{,}) ..." 8 U.S.C.
§ 1182(a)(19), and thus was excludible and his entry
illegal.
The Board did not reach this charge, and the parties
have not raised it here. We agree with the Maikovsis
court that when an alien has made misrepresentations,
"the materiality of the misrepresentations is established
where the government shows that disclosure of the
concealed information probably would have led to the
discovery of facts warranting the denial of a visa." 773
F.2d at 442. In view of our conclusion that
Petkiewytsch's service for eight months as a guard at
Kiel-Hasse did not subject him to deportation, we do not
believe his failure to disclose that conduct related to a
“material fact." Furthermore, it would be hard to
conclude that the petitioner's failure to disclose his post-
war internment was a “willful[ ] misrepresentation” given
his complete exoneration by the British authorities.
The petition for review is granted and the decision of
the Board of Immigration Appeals is reversed.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.