Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Eastern Air Lines, Inc. v. Air Line Pilots Ass'n, International

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

O

60-1902 | rissp

JUN 12 399

a LFFICE OF TL Glen

IN THE ai

Supreme Court of the GAnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

EASTERN AIR LINES, INC.,

Petitioner,

v.

AIR LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION, INTERNATIONAL

and EASTERN AIR LINES MASTER EXECUTIVE COUNCIL,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

RONALD B. NATALIE

JOSEPH L. MAnson, III*

DEAN R. BRENNER

VERNER, LIIPFERT, BERNHARD,

McPHERSON AND HAND, CHARTERED

901 15th Street, N.W.

Suite 700

Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 371-6000

Attorneys for Petitioner

*Counsel of Record

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Railway Labor Act limits a carrier’s

right to use self-help in the face of a crippling strike

by prohibiting the carrier from treating newly hired

replacements in training as permanent replacements

for strikers, where the offers of permanent employ-

ment accepted by the replacements were uncondi-

tional, and where the carrier could not have recruited

sufficient replacements to restore its operations with-

out making such unconditional offers of permanent

employment?

il

STATEMENT OF INTERESTED PERSONS

All parties to this case are named in the caption.

Pursuant to Rule 29.1 of the Rules of this Court,

petitioner Eastern Air Lines, Inc. (‘‘Eastern’’) hereby

states that its nominal parent company is Continental

Airlines Holdings, Inc. (‘“‘CAH’’). On April 19, 1990,

a Chapter 11 Bankruptcy Trustee, Martin R. Shugrue,

Jr., was appointed by the United States Bankruptcy

Court for the Southern District of New York to man-

age and control Eastern, replacing CAH (then known

as Texas Air Corporation) and its management. See

In re Ionosphere Clubs, Inc., 113 Bankr. 164 (Bankr.

S.D.N.Y. 1990).

Eastern’s only non-wholly owned subsidiary is Bar

Harbor Airways, Inc. (““BHA’’). Eastern owns 99.5%

of BHA’s outstanding stock.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Sg |)

STATEMENT OF INTERESTED PERSONS .............

IIE. shidsacnscslocbenseuvseisrtinevecscoccsveneescsees

STATEMENT OF THE CASE. ..........ccccccrcccccccccsscsceee

SS EE

i I IUD occ cvcceccnccescoscnccscscess

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ..................

A. The Circuits Are Split On The Important

Issue Of Federal Labor Law Raised In

a ssautuinauduacseives

1. National II And United Support East-

aaa. ccnoneteuneinbuenusseons

2. The Eighth Circuit’s Trans World De-

cision Is Distinguishable And

I Sati bicandilichaakshdesnsiienitereusxebecseveees

. The Eleventh Circuit’s Decision Violates

The Precepts Set Forth By This Court In

Its Trans World Decision .................0.006-

1. Contrary To This Court’s Decision In

Trans World, The Eleventh Circuit

Makes Self-Help More Limited Under

The RLA Than The NLRA ...............

2. Contrary To This Court’s Decision In

Trans World, The Eleventh Circuit

Implies A New Limitation On The

RLA Right Of Self-Help ....................

18

iv

Table of Contents Continued

C The Eleventh Circuit’s Decision Destroys

An Airline’s Right Under Mackay To Con-

tinue rating During A Pilot Strike By

Hiring Permanent Replacements ............

D. The Eleventh Circuit’s Decision Ignores

The Hiring Needs Of Airlines Attempting

To Fulfill Their Statutory Obligation To

Operate During Pilot Strikes ..................

CONCLUSION .ncccccccoccsscsesccssccccscsssccesesensssncessceessosnces

APPENDICES

Appendix A, Opinion of the Court of Appeals

CERPOUUIE BD, LID) ccsecicrsscscceicctscccassnnssscesess

Appendix B, Order of the District Court

CIE Ba IUD eceitcnsiscnndtnsenidenenesessrcdonicores

Appendix C, Order of the Court of Appeals

on Petition(s) for Rehearing and Sugges-

tion(s) of Rehearing En Banc

GE SEG IEEE ddencesetcincenssscciecenncesévonceciosons

Appendix D, Judgment of the Court of

Appeals

(Issued as Mandate, March 26, 1991) ..........

Appendix E, Declaration of Alan C. Gibson

(attachments omitted) .............:cccceceeeeeeeeeeeeees

Appendix F, Declaration of Karen Averill

(QEUREREROIED GUIUOG) on cccccsesccscsctevccsescsceccceees

Appendix G, Railway Labor Act

NRE EIEE SE SEG SN eT eT ae

21

22

23

la

20a

3la

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Air Line Pilots Ass’n, Int’l v. Eastern Air Lines,

Inc., 863 F.2d 891 (D.C. Cir. 1988), reh’g en

banc denied, 863 F.2d 913 (D.C. Cir. 1989) ... 21

Atr Line Pilots Ass’n, Int’l v. United Air Lines,

Inc., 802 F.2d 886 (7th Cir. 1986), cert. denied,

SP Rie I I sactnictendndactendbaitisccciecsens, 12,13

Air Line Pilots Ass’n Int’l v. United Air Lines,

Inc., 616 F. Supp. 849 (N.D. Ill.), amending,

614 F. Supp. 1020 (N.D. Ill. 1985), rev’d in

part on other grounds, 802 F.2d 886 (7th Cir.

1986), cert. denied, 480 U.S. 946 (1987) .... 3,9,12,20

Anderson, Clayton & Co., 120 N.L.R.B. 1208

SITE shisdeiicietineivilasieahesdnnblasiiteshiiasdailesichiitiiiisnisensianoients 16,20

Belknap, Inc. v. Hale, 463 U.S. 491 (1983) ... 11,14,17,22

Brotherhood of R.R. Trainmen v. Jacksonville Ter-

minal, 394 U.S. 369 (1969) .....................0.s0000 15

Brotherhood of Ry. & S.S. Clerks v. Florida East

Coast Ry., 384 U.S. 238 (1966) ...................... 23

Burlington Northern R. Co. v. Maintenance of Way

Employees, 481 U.S. 429 (1987) ........cseeeeee 15

Eastern Air Lines, Inc. v. Air Line Pilots Ass’n,

Int'l, 710 F. Supp 1342 (S.D. Fla.), aff'd, No.

89-5229 (11th Cir. June 7, 1989) ...... 18,19

Home Insulation Services, 255 N.L.R.B. 311 (1981),

enforced, 665 F.2d 352 (11th Cir. 1982) ......... 20

Hot Shoppes, Inc., 146 N.L.R.B. 802 (1964) .......... 15

In re Ionosphere Clubs, Inc., 113 Bankr. 164 (Bankr.

ata? TT OWE sseetnasuabioidditite cucacetat ees ds. ii

In re Ionosphere Clubs, Inc., 922 F.2d 984 (2d Cir.

BNNUEEP ‘Weciecisohendsenitdciiediiessmnbcnieadimuetdiat Ate 22

Table of Authorities Continued

Page

International Ass’n of Machinists, Lodge 1652 v.

International Aircraft Services, Inc., 302 F.2d

BOB GE CR RI nensctasticeneticsiseeicascaibabibecdanes 10

Kurz-Kasch, Inc., 286 N.L.R.B. 1343 (1987), re-

manded on other grounds, 865 F.2d 757 (6th

EE BIE sactoencecescaicsansvinnampenbamebinstaainaieliiliadiais 20

Missouri v. Jenkins, __ U.S. __. , 110 S. Ct. 1651

CRIED sixcinnnnevsnhannentiinseshinndaniiccenentamsaltaamameinall 2

National Airlines, Inc. v. International Ass’n of Ma-

chinists & Aerospace Workers, 430 F.2d 957

(5th Cir. 1970), cert. denied, 400 U.S. 992

CRIP ad -vantesetnciccccevessicetinbls eigeaidinalinaiieiiiaibheknte passim

Newberry Energy Corp., 227 N.L.R.B. 436

ERIE. sacetsivercaiunienniuniautvcieieaksaieadinaniaeeinainraimes 15

NLRB v. Cutting, Inc., 701 F.2d 659 (7th Cir.

DD. sxnsecctesreresentceinvaignnaasiddaidaaiamambeinns 8

NLRB v. Erie Resistor, 373 U.S. 221 (1968) ........ 8,9,22

NLRB v. Fleetwood Trailer Co., 389 U.S. 375

IUD incnicinsuihonevetunieeunsnstaminnaneaigmcanibtaeedbadiain passim

NLRB v. Mackay Radio & Tel. Co., 304 U.S. 333

ENED ccutesicihvnnnsnnasuptcensniesibaniadiiaammnbmigauunaladshins passim

Solar Turbines, Inc., 302 N.L.R.B. No. 3, slip op.

a , Reese em 16,17,18,20

Southwest Engraving Co., 198 N.L.R.B. 694

SI IETE Anuinnnichnnnconeientasaueidaiisamanaaiidnbibinmemipiainae 20

Trans World Airlines v. Independent Fed’n of Flight

Attendants, 489 U.S. 426 (1989) .................... passim

Trans World Airlines v. Independent Fed’n of Flight

Attendants, 818 F.2d 839 (8th Cir. 1987), rev'd

in part on other grounds, 489 U.S. 426

CD cctenucncvacsonncinetnistirsaititeisinimnaimbanilahaiedials 13,14

vii

Table of Authorities Continued

Page

Statutes

Judiciary and Judicial Procedure,

62 Stat 928, 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) ................0... 2

— Jurisdictional Amendments Act of

94 Stat. 2369, 28 U.S.C. § 1881 oes. ~

District and Circuit Judges - Appointments,

92 Stat. 1629, 28 U.S.C. § 1837(a) ................. 8

National Labor Relations Act,

49 Stat. 449, 29 U.S.C. § 151 et seq. ............. 15,18

Railway Labor Act, 44 Stat. 577, 49 Stat. 1189

(as amended),

OI © icecccsvesircsobcestadoncmscentan passim

i I Pini. csrnanccencestanesinoneincns 7

i heetiindccsrnniatianiicndilintinnsieannecannss 19

i I hii irik cutcttstcckenmaccesestetconsnacatnses 7

Regulations and Rules

i sn weisnnhinetnnababnincbaimadaeedniehenne 12

aon conc ctouhacascacsnnabedaudunssueensensioons 12

en nin spn ndicinsaichanietiilianenenbaamnnn 12

Eleventh Circuit Rule 35-6 0...............ccceeeeeeeeeees 2

SOND COURS TREO BOLT nn... ccccccceccsccnssscccccceceseves ii

Other

Westfall, Striker Replacements and Employee Free-

dom of Choice, 7 Lab. Lawyer 137 (1991) ..... 14

1 4 a ® 7 - ,

. ahs be ws yy. Oe Beka Ai, i yee

| bs

To

i

beens 3

ns.

2 wh

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1999

No. 90-

EASTERN AIR LINES, INC.,

Petitioner,

Vv.

Arr LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION, INTERNATIONAL

AND EASTERN AIR LINES MASTER EXECUTIVE COUNCIL,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF

CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

Eastern Air Lines, Inc. (‘‘Eastern’’) respectfully

seeks review of the decision of a split panel of the

Eleventh Circuit holding that Eastern could not treat

new hire pilots as permanent replacements for strik-

ers before the new hires completed Eastern’s train-

ing. The decision ignores uncontradicted evidence that

Eastern was only able to recruit a sufficient number

of replacement pilots to continue flying duri.g the

strike by offering them permanent employment from

their first day of training. Unless this Court reviews

the decision, Eastern’s bankrupt estate will face tens

of millions of dollars in claims for back-pay from strik-

ers, and airlines will effectively lose their right to

hire permanent replacements for striking pilots.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Eleventh Circuit is reported at 920 F.2d 722

and is reprinted at pages la to 19a of the Appendix

(‘‘App.’’). The order of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit denying rehearing

and rehearing in banc is not yet reported, but is

reprinted at App. 3la to 32a. The Eleventh Circuit’s

mandate is reprinted at App. 33a to 34a. The order

of the United States District Court for the Southern

District of Florida, which Eastern appealed, is re-

ported at 744 F. Supp. 1140 and is reprinted at App.

20a to 30a.

JURISDICTION

The opinion and judgment of the Eleventh Circuit

were entered on December 20, 1990. App. la, 34a.

Eastern’s Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion of

Rehearing In Banc was denied on March 15, 1991.

App. 3la-32a. This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked un-

der 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTE INVOLVED

This case involves the Railway Labor Act (““RLA’’),

45 U.S.C. § 151 et seg. The provisions of the RLA

1 Pursuant to Eleventh Circuit Rule 35-6, Eastern’s pleading,

which was entitled “Suggestion of Rehearing In Banc,”’ was also

treated as a Petition for Rehearing. See Eleventh Cir. R. 35-6

(“A suggestion of rehearing en banc will also be treated as a

petition for rehearing before the original panel.”); App. 32a (“The

Petition(s) for Rehearing are DENIED...the Suggestion(s) of

Rehearing En Banc are DENIED.”’). Thus, this Petition for Writ

of Certiorari is timely filed within 90 days of the Eleventh

Circuit’s order denying rehearing and rehearing in banc. See

Missouri v. Jenkins, ___ U.S. ___ , 110 S. Ct. 1651, 1662 (1990)

(noting Eleventh Cir. R. 35-6).

relied upon by the Eleventh Circuit are reprinted at

App. 60a to 61a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Eleventh Circuit’s decision will imperil airlines

during future strikes. As the record here shows, pilots

will not leave their jobs to join a carrier as replace-

ments for strikers contingent on completing several

weeks of federally-required training before the strike

ends, whenever that may be. The decision eviscerates

the airlines’ right under NLRB v. Mackay Radio &

Tel. Vo., 304 U.S. 333 (1938) (““Mackay’’) to operate

during strikes with permanent replacements, conflicts

with decisions in other circuits,? and implies a new

limitation on self-help under the RLA contrary to this

Court’s decision in Trans World Airlines v. Inde-

pendent Fed’n of Flight Attendants, 489 U.S. 426, 442

(1989) (“Trans World’).

A. Statement of Facts

On March 4, 1989, the Air Line Pilots Association,

International (““ALPA’’) launched what it termed a

sympathy strike against Eastern, and only 6% of

Eastern’s pilots reported for work. App. 37a. As a

result, Eastern canceled all but a small portion of its

flights and filed for bankruptcy five days later. App.

37a-38a. After Eastern attempted to persuade the

strikers to return to work and sought an injunction

2 National Airlines, Inc. v. International Ass’n of Machinists

& Aerospace Workers, 430 F.2d 957 (5th Cir. 1970), cert. denied,

400 U.S. 992 (1971) (“National IT’); Air Line Pilots Ass’n Int'l

v. United Air Lines, Inc., 616 F. Supp. 849 (N.D. Ill.), amending,

614 F. Supp. 1020 (N.D. Ill. 1985), rev’d in part on other grounds,

802 F.2d 886 (7th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 480 U.S. 946 (1987)

(‘United’).

against the strike, Eastern began, as a last resort,

recruiting experienced replacement pilots on March

21, 1989. App. 38a, 46a.

For the first several days, Eastern departed from

its longstanding practice of treating new hire pilots

immediately as permanent employees and told recruits

that they would not be permanent employees until

they completed training. App. 47a n.31, 57a. Because

it soon became clear that Eastern could not attract

enough recruits on those terms, Eastern stated on

March 27, 1989 and thereafter in recruiting materials

and employment offers that Eastern would employ

new hire pilots as permanent replacements and that

they would be guaranteed permanent pilot positions

if they accepted Eastern’s offer of employment. See

App. 49a, 57a-58a.

Eastern hired 1,223 replacement pilots during the

strike; the replacements held airline transport or com-

mercial pilot 'icenses and averaged 5,700 hours of

flight experience with smaller carriers. App. 37a, 40a

n.20, 52a. The uncontradicted evidence is that East-

ern would have been unable to attract sufficient qual-

ified replacement pilots to operate without promising

them permanent employment from their first day of

training.* App. 49a-50a, 52a-53a, 58a.

Eastern treated the replacements at issue identi-

cally to all other Eastern pilots hired during the 25

years preceding ALPA’s strike. See 43a-46a. As of

* Eastern submitted to the District Court over 70 declarations

from replacement pilots stating specifically that they would not

have left their prior jobs to join Eastern unless they were treated

as permanent replacements from the first day of training. ALPA

did not submit any evidence contradicting these declarations.

their first day of training, the replacements came on

Eastern’s payroll, received Eastern seniority numbers

and Eastern dates of hire, had all applicable employ-

ment taxes paid, and began active ‘‘service’’ under

the Eastern-ALPA collective bargaining agreement

used to calculate vacation, sick leave, pension and

other benefits. Jd.

A small number of Eastern pilots initially crossed

ALPA’s picket line. App. 36a, 37a. Thereafter, East-

ern’s pilot positions were also filled by returning

strikers and replacements. Jd. Both the returning

strikers and replacements had to complete training

or retraining required by the Federal Aviation Admin-

istration (‘““FAA’’), under Eastern’s supervision and

control. App. 39a, 40a-42a, 53a-54a. Eastern assigned

replacements to specific positions and aircraft, and

trained them in a program that lasted for at least

eight weeks—a longer period than normal because

Eastern’s limited training facilities were fully taxed

due to the need to train such a large number of pilots.

App. 40a-4la.

As Eastern’s efforts to recruit and train replace-

ments became more successful in the summer of 1989,

and as Eastern was beginning to restore its scheduled

service, the solidarity of the striking pilots began to

wane. See App. 38a-39a. In early August 1989, several

hundred strikers offered to return to work. App. 39a.

Eastern immediately brought these pilots back to

work and retrained them ahead of replacements who

were awaiting training. App. 39a-40a. On August 11,

1989, Eastern determined that it had enough pilots

(replacements and returning strikers) to restore its

full operations. See App. 3a, 39a. Thus, on that day,

Eastern immediately stopped hiring replacements and

announced that no positions were available to any

additional strikers seeking to return to work, but that

they would be recalled as positions became available

in the order in which they offered to return to work.

Id.

ALPA’s strike continued for three more months,

finally ending on November 22, 1989, when ALPA

offered, on behalf of the remaining strikers, to return

to work. Jd. Because Eastern had accelerated the re-

training of returning strikers, approximately 227 re-

placement pilots were still in training when ALPA’s

strike ended. App. 3a, 39a. The Eleventh Circuit’s

decision holds Eastern liable for not laying off the

227 replacements to create vacancies for the strikers

to fill, although Eastern previously guaranteed per-

manent employment to the replacements.‘ App. 3a,

18a.

If Eastern had laid off the 227 replacements, each

returning striker would have had to complete up to

30 days of retraining, including full upgrade and tran-

sition training for new positions, because the replace-

ments did not hold the same positions that the senior

strikers vacated. App. 53a-54a. This retraining would

have taken several months, and Eastern would have

‘ The Eleventh Circuit’s decision goes even further. Aside from

the 227 replacements, other replacements had not completed

their initial operating experience (‘‘IOE’’), which consists of 10-

25 hours of flying on regular revenue flights after a pilot finishes

all ground and flight training. See App. 42a n.25. The Eleventh

Circuit also found that IOE was part of Eastern’s training pro-

gram and effectively holds Eastern liable for declining to lay

off the replacements who had not completed IOE by the strike’s

end. See App. 12a n.5.

had to cancel hundreds of flights in the meantime for

two reasons. App. 54a. First, the strikers could not

have completed their required retraining in time to

staff Eastern’s scheduled flights. Jd. Second, replace-

ments would have quit because of their impending

furlough. Jd.

B. The Decision Below

The Eleventh Circuit’s two-to-one decision estab-

lishes a new per se rule: new hire pilots who do not

complete training before a strike ends are not per-

manent replacements, even if, as here, they accepted

permanent employment, specific job assignments and

pay. App. la-2a, 12a-15a. The decision does not ad-

dress Eastern’s legitimate and substantial business

justification that Eastern was only able to continue

operating during the strike by offering recruits per-

manent employment from the outset of training.

Rather, the decision finds that a new hire pilot does

not meet the RLA’s definition of “‘employee’’ before

completing training® and, therefore, a new hire pilot

is not a permanent replacement until after he or she

5 The RLA defines “‘employee’’ as:

“{E}very person in the service of a carrier (subject to

its continuing authority to supervise and direct the

manner of rendition of his service) who performs any

work defined as that of an employee or subordinate

official in the orders of the Interstate Commerce Com-

mission now in effect... .”

45 U.S.C. § 151, Fifth. The RLA specifically covers ‘every air

pilot or other person who performs any work as an employee

or subordinate official of [a] carrier or carriers, subject to its

or their continuing authority to supervise and direct the manner

of rendition of his service.” 45 U.S.C. § 181.

completes training. App. 9a-10a, 14a. The Eleventh

Circuit avoids the offer and acceptance test used by

the Fifth Circuit in National II for determining

whether an airline may treat a new hire as a per-

manent replacement. App. 15a-17a. The decision holds

that because Eastern’s replacements in training were

not ‘‘employees” under the RLA, Eastern should have

laid them off when the strike ended to create vacan-

cies for strikers. App. 14a, 17a.

Accordingly, the Eleventh Circuit affirmed the Dis-

trict Court, which pursuant to its jurisdiction under

28 U.S.C. §§ 1331, 13837(a), and the RLA granted

ALPA’s motions for summary judgment on its claims

on behalf of the strikers for damages and for a pre-

liminary injunction. App. 19a, 29a. The Eleventh Cir-

cuit remanded to the District Court the subsidiary

question of the precise number of strikers that East-

ern should have reinstated. App. 18-19a.

The Eleventh Circuit reached this result even

though an airline’s right to hire permanent replace-

ments does not stem from the RLA’s provisions gov-

erning employment in general, but rather comes from

an employer’s inherent right to continue its business

during a strike. See Mackay, 304 U.S. at 345. See

also NLRB v. Cutting, Inc., 701 F.2d 659, 662 (7th

Cir. 1983). The decision considers only whether the

replacements in training were “‘employees’’ within the

meaning of the RLA to decide if they actually oc-

cupied the strikers’ jobs before the strike ended, un-

der NLRB v. Fleetwood Trailer Co., 389 U.S. 375,

379 (1967).° App. 6a-7a, 12a-15a.

6 The Eleventh Circuit’s decision also relies on dicta in NLRB

v. Erie Resistor, 373 U.S. 221, 232 (1963). See App. 7a. Erie

The Eleventh Circuit’s decision ignores Fleetwood

Trailer’s statement that the occupying of strikers’

jobs by replacements is merely one legitimate and

substantial business justification that supports an em-

ployer’s refusal to reinstate strikers.’ Thus, the de-

cision does not consider the sufficiency of Eastern’s

justification that Eastern had to offer replacements

permanent employment from the first day of training

to attract enough replacements to avoid shutting down

during the strike.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

A. The Circuits Are Split On The Important Issue Of

Federal Labor Law Raised In This Case

The Eleventh Circuit’s decision conflicts with Na-

tional II (Fifth Circuit) and United (the Northern Dis-

trict of Illinois). This Court should resolve this conflict

so that employers and unions can negotiate and op-

erate in full knowledge of the law concerning striker

replacements.

Resistor involved an employer’s grant of super-seniority to cross-

overs and replacements. By contrast, Eastern did not disturb

its seniority list. Returning strikers maintained their seniority

and did not lose accrued seniority during the strike. The em-

ployer in Erie Resistor was found to have acted in a manner

that was inherently destructive of union membership based upon

detailed factual findings not made here.

7 Fleetwood Trailer states:

“In some situations, ‘legitimate and substantial busi-

ness justifications’ for refusing to reinstate striking

employees who engaged in an economic strike, have

been recognized. One is when jobs claimed by the

strikers are occupied by workers hired as permanent

replacements during the strike in order to continue

operations.”

389 U.S. at 379.

10

1. National II And United Support Eastern’s Position

In National II, the Fifth Circuit established a two-

step test to determine whether 67 replacements were

permanent replacements by the strike’s end. 430 F.2d

at 961. First, in deciding when a replacement is hired:

“(T]he critical time is when the arrangements

with the replacement worker have become

fixed and irrevocable. Thus, if the employer

has the intention to bind itself to a firm con-

tract of employment, and the employee has

accepted a specific job assignment, the re-

placement is ‘hired’ even though subse-

quently he may be divested of his job for

failure to pass medical or security clearance.”

Id. (citation omitted). Second, the replacement must

thereafter “‘actually com{e] on the payroll.’ Jd.

Eastern’s replacements met this test. Before the

strike ended, they accepted offers of permanent em-

ployment and specific job assignments, and they had

come on Eastern’s payroll.

The Eleventh Circuit majority dismisses these facts

by declaring that replacements in training did not

have “fixed and irrevocable” employment.® App. 16a.

8 In adopting the “fixed and irrevocable” language, the Fifth

Circuit in National II was following the Fourth Circuit in In-

ternational Ass’n of Machinists, Lodge 1652 v. International Air-

craft Services, Inc., 302 F.2d 808, 812 (4th Cir. 1962) (“‘JAM’’).

See National II, 480 F.2d at 961. In ZAM, the Fourth Circuit

held that if the employer “‘bound itself irrevocably by contracts

of employment made with replacement employees some time

before they went to work,” the replacements were hired before

the strike ended. 302 F.2d at 812. The Fourth Circuit directed

the district court to “ascertain when the new employees had

1}

Their employment was, however, “fixed and irrev-

ocable”’ as defined in National II (acceptance of per-

manent employment and a specific job assignment)

and under state contract law. See Belknap, Inc. v.

Hale, 463 U.S. 491 (1983) (‘“Belknap’’).

The decision also attempts to distinguish National

IT on two other grounds, each of which is unavailing.

First, the decision notes that National II did not in-

volve replacements who had to pass a training pro-

gram. App. 16a. But, National IJ did involve 63

replacements who had not even reported to the air-

line, a far cry from Eastern’s replacements who had

all begun training on Eastern’s payroll before ALPA’s

strike ended.® Just because this case involved pilots

(for whom training is required) while Nationai IT in-

volved mechanics is no reason to reject National II's

binding offer and acceptance test.

payroll status and what, if any, enforceable legal obligations the

company incurred in its arrangements with them.” Jd. at 813.

Eastern’s replacements in training clearly met the Fourth Cir-

cuit’s test, having accepted firm offers of permanent employment —

and acquired payroll status before ALPA’s strike ended.

* Accordingly, even though National’s replacements were ‘‘not

actually performing the work ordinarily discharged by the former

strikers” (App. 13a), National IT held that they were- permanent

replacements if they had accepted permanent employment and

specific job assignments, and came on National’s payroll. Thus,

a factor critical to the Eleventh Circuit majority (App. 13a) is

irrelevant under National IT. The Eleventh Circuit’s decision also

overemphasizes pilot training in singling out the replacements

as ‘‘unqualified.’’ Neither the replacements nor the strikers were

immediately ‘‘qualified to perform the work Eastern’s pilots or-

dinarily discharged.”’ App. 12a. Eastern’s operations would have

been curtailed and disrupted while strikers completed retraining.

See App. 54a.

12

Second, the decision labels medical and security

clearance as mere ‘“‘technicalities’’ as compared to

training. App. 16a. There is no basis in law or the

record for this “distinction” as Circuit Judge Ander-

son pointed out in his dissent; all three are require-

ments that pilots must fulfill after they accept

permanent employment.’° App. 19a. Eastern’s new

hires were permanent replacements when they met

National IIs standard, without regard to whether

they had satisfied training, medical, or security clear-

ance requirements.

United also supports Eastern here. In United, Judge

Bua of the Northern District of Illinois held that 539

United new hire pilots who accepted offers of per-

manent employment, including 114 new hires who did

not even begin training during the strike, were per-

manent replacements. 616 F. Supp. at 851 (“‘Per-

manent replacements hired from outside the company,

unlike striking pilots who cross over, need not ac-

tually begin working in order to retain their jobs fol-

lowing the conclusion of a strike.”). A fortion,

Eastern’s new hires, who all began training during

the strike, were permanent replacements. The Elev-

enth Circuit’s decision does not even address the sig-

nificant United district court decision."

‘For instance, the FAA regulates pilot training, medical

clearance, and airline security. 14 C.F.R. Parts 121, 67, 108.

1 The Seventh Circuit reversed a prior decision in the same

case on a different issue. See Air Line Pilots Ass’n, Int'l v.

United Air Lines, Inc., 802 F.2d 886 (7th Cir. 1986), cert. denied,

480 U.S. 946 (1987). The Seventh Circuit held that a different

group of 500 new hires (the “Group of 500’) who did not accept

offers of permanent employment and, with a few exceptions,

never came to work were not “employees” within the RLA’s

iii.

13

2. The Eighth Circuit’s Trans World Decision Is Distin-

guishable And Wrong

The Eleventh Circuit followed the Eighth Circuit’s

Trans World decision, 819 F.2d 839 (8th Cir. 1987)

rev'd in part on other grounds, 489 U.S. 426 (1989).

App. 10a-lla, 12a.!2 That decision, which involved

TWA’s hiring of replacement flight attendants during

a strike, is inapposite. TWA never offered employ-

ment to flight attendants before they completed train-

ing (for which they paid tuition) except after the strike

began. 819 F.2d at 841 n.2. By contrast, Eastern

treated the replacements at issue exactly as it treated

all new hire pilots for the 25 years before ALPA’s

strike began.

The Eighth Circuit’s decision is wrong because it

confuses whether an airline may refuse to lay off new

hires because the airline, out of necessity, offered

them permanent employment, with the separate and

distinct question of whether new hires qualify as RLA

“employees” to assert claims under the RLA against

their employer. An airline seeking to operate during

definition, and ALPA could not succeed on a claim on-behalf of

the Group of 500 against United for violating the RLA. 802

F.2d at 892-93. The Group of 500 would not have been per-

manent replacements under National II or under Judge Bua’s

subsequent decision in any event; they received only expense

reimbursements rather than salary and signed agreements pro-

viding that they would not be employees during training. The

Group of 500 were very different from Eastern’s replacements

and United’s 539 other new hires.

2 The Eleventh Circuit also relied on the Seventh Circuit’s

United decision (App. lla, 12a), which held that ALPA could

not assert RLA claims on behalf of the Group of 500, who had

expressly agreed that they were not permanent employees dur-

ing training. That decision is plainly inapposite. See n. 11, supra.

14

a strike, as it is entitled to do under Mackay, must

recruit and hire replacements without knowing when

the strike will end. See Westfall, Striker Replacements

and Employee Freedom of Choice, 7 Lab. Lawyer 137,

146 (1991) (““The Mackay doctrine allows each side to

a bargaining dispute, in effect, to ‘test the market’

by seeking and using alternative sources of labor and

employment, respectively.’’). Eastern’s offers of per-

manent employment to potential new hires were

wholly necessary in that context.

RLA “employee” status is very different. It does

not depend upon or arise ipso facto from a strike.

Because Eastern voluntarily extended the terms of

its collective bargaining agreement to the new hires

(creating obligations under state contract law as es-

tablished in Belknap), it was academic whether the

new hires could someday assert claims as RLA “‘em

ployees.’’* Indeed, under National II, permanent re-

placements acquire that status when hired, before they

are “employees” under any definition, statutory or

otherwise. This Court should grant this Petition and

reject the Eighth Circuit’s analysis in Trans World,

which focuses on an irrelevant and esoteric question.

18 In fact, the Eleventh Circuit’s answer to this irrelevant ques-

tion was itself wrong because Eastern’s replacements in training

were subject to Eastern’s supervision and control, and required

attendance in training does constitute work. See App. 41a. In-

deed, during IOE (which is training according to the Eleventh

Circuit), new hires piloted Eastern revenue flights. See App. 42a,

12a-13a.

15

B. The Eleventh Circuit’s Decision Violates The Pre-

cepts Set Forth By This Court In Its Trans World

Decision

The Eleventh Circuit’s decision conflicts with this

Court’s decision in Trans World both by substantially

narrowing the RLA right of self-help and in doing so

by implying a new limitation on that right.

1. Contrary To This Court’s Decision In Trans World, The

Eleventh Circuit Makes Self-Help More Limited Under

The RLA Than The NLRA

This Court reiterated in Trans World the funda-

mental principle that the RLA “provide{s] greater av-

enues of self-help’ than the National Labor Relations

Act (““NLRA’’), 29 U.S.C. § 151 et seg. Trans World,

489 U.S. at 438 (citing Burlington Northern R. Co.

v. Maintenance of Way Employees, 481 U.S. 429, 444

(1987); Brotherhood of R.R. Trainmen v. Jacksonville

Terminal, 394 U.S. 369, 391-92 (1969)). The Eleventh

Circuit’s decision vitiates this Supreme Court doc-

trine. The decision makes the right of RLA employers

to hire permanent replacements during a strike much

narrower than the corresponding NLRA right. Nu-

merous cases decided under the NLRA hold, contrary

to the Eleventh Circuit’s decision here, that new hires

become permanent replacements when hired, without

regard to their need for training or their beginning

work after the strike ended."

4 B.g., Newberry Energy Corp., 227 N.L.R.B. 436, 437 (1976)

(“The Board has uniformly held that where an employer makes

a commitment to an applicant for a striker’s job it will normally

regard that commitment as a legitimate replacement even though

the striker requests reinstatement before the replacement ac-

tually begins to work.”’) (footnote omitted); Hot Shoppes, Inc.,

146 N.L.R.B. 802, 804 (1964) (“And under established Board

16

Recently, the National Labor Relations Board

(‘“‘NLRB”’) reaffirmed this holding and rejected the

Eleventh Circuit’s view in Solar Turbines, Inc., 302

N.L.R.B. No. 3, slip op. (March 11, 1991) (‘‘Solar

Turbines’’). The NLRB ruled that 39 new hires who

had not taken (much less, passed) a preemployment

drug and alcohol test or begun work before the strike

ended were permanent replacements for strikers be-

cause of the employer’s ‘‘clear commitment to hire

them as permanent replacements.” Jd. at 5. Solar

Turbines holds that replacements fill strikers’ jobs ‘‘as

of the time the putative replacements accept an em-

ployer’s offers of permanent employment in the strik-

ers’ jobs,” even if the replacements actually began

work after the strike ended. Jd. at 3. By contrast,

the Eleventh Circuit disregarded Eastern’s clear com-

mitment to the new hires that Eastern would hire

them as permanent replacements and held that East-

precedent the fact that replacements lacked experience and re-

quired some training, and that some did not remain permanently

in Respondent’s employ, does not detract from Respondent’s

intent at the time of hiring that the replacement become the

permanent replacements of the strikers. Accordingly, we find

that Respondent intended to, and did in fact, hire permanent

replacements for the strikers.”) (footnote omitted); Anderson,

Clayton & Co., 120 N.L.R.B. 1208, 1214 (1958) (“The replace-

ments admittedly were totally inexperienced and without known

aptitudes or fitness for the jobs to which they had been assigned,

jobs which require training estimated at 1 to 4 months or so

.... Despite all these matters, ... and the fact that six of the

so-called permanent replacements had only received their as-

signment to these positions prior to the conclusion of the strike

and entered upon their duties only after the conclusion of the

strike ... the employer had the right during the pendency of

the strike to assign anyone it cared to work permanently on

these jobs and that such assignments must be considered as

permanent replacements.”’).

17

ern’s new hires did not fill the strikers’ jobs as of

the time the new hires accepted Eastern’s offers of

permanent employment. App. 14a-15a.

In addition, Solar Turbines rejects the Eleventh

Circuit’s focus on whether new hires met the statu-

tory definition of ‘“‘employee” to decide whether an

employer hired permanent replacements before the

strike ended.'* The NLRB finds that irrespective of

whether the new hires were statutory “‘employees’’

before the strike ended for purposes of collective bar-

gaining, the employer could treat the new hires as

permanent replacements for strikers if the employer

hired them on that basis:

“The question before us here is not whether

the Respondent was required to bargain with

the Union before administering the drug and

alcohol tests to the putative replacements.

Rather, the question is whether the hiring

commitment made to prospective employees

was sufficient to effect the permanent re-

placement of strikers.”

Id. at 4 n.38 (emphasis added).

‘6 The NLRB relied on this Court’s decision in Belknap, which

states as follows:

“That the offer and promise of permanent employ-

ment are conditional does not render the hiring any

less permanent if the conditions do not come to pass.

All hirings are to some extent conditional.”

463 U.S. at 504 n.8, (quoted in Solar Turbines, slip op. at 6).

Thus, even though Eastern’s new hires had to complete training

to fly for Eastern, they were still permanent replacements both

under Belknap and Solar Turbines, contrary to the Eleventh

Circuit’s view.

18

Eastern’s new hire pilots at issue here were per-

manent replacements under Solar Turbines’ analysis,

even though that decision was issued in an NLRA

case. Thus, the Eleventh Circuit’s decision violates

the fuiidamental principle reiterated by this Court in

Trans World. The Eleventh Circuit substantially nar-

rowed the RLA right to hire permanent replacements

as compared to the right as construed in NLRA cases

such as Solar Turbines, and the hiring of permanent

replacements is a critical component of an employer’s

right under either statute to use self-help. The Elev-

enth Circuit’s result is backwards; this Court held in

Trans World that the RLA permits greater, not

lesser, avenues of self-help as compared to the NLRA.

2. Contrary To This Court’s Decision In Trans World, The

Eleventh Circuit Implies A New Limitation On The RLA

Right Of Self-Help

The Eleventh Circuit’s decision also conflicts with

Trans World’s admonition not to imply new limita-

tions on the RLA right of self-help. In Trans World,

this Court stated:

“(W]e should hesitate to imply limitations on

all but those forms of [RLA] self-help that

strike a fundamental blow to union or em-

ployer activity and the collective bargaining

process itself.’’

489 U.S. at 442.1

\

‘6 Unlike the more typical situation involving the use of RLA

self- -help, Eastern and ALPA had not exhausted the RLA’s bar-

gaining processes when ALPA began its strike. ALPA claimed

that it went on strike in sympathy with the International As-

sociation of Machinists’ strike against Eastern, which also began

on March 4, 1989. See Eastern Air Lines, Inc. v. Air Line Pilots

19

The Eleventh Circuit’s decision implies a new lim-

itation on RLA carriers’ use of self-help by severely

constraining airlines’ ability to recruit replacement

pilots, even though the RLA does not impose any

such constraint. The Eleventh Circuit’s decision jus-

tifies this result by finding conclusorily that ‘‘East-

ern’s treatment of the returning pilots strikes a

fundamental blow to the union and collective bar-

gaining process.’’ App. 18a. The decision goes so far

as to find that Eastern did not promote a purpose

of the RLA set forth in 45 U.S.C. §15la by not

“avoid{ing] any interruption to commerce or to the

operation of any carrier engaged therein.’’ App. 17a.

The facts are to the contrary. Eastern treated the

returning strikers and the replacements precisely the

same. Eastern deemed them all permanent employees

from their first day of training. This treatment did

not strike a fundamental blow to ALPA in the 25

years preceding the strike. Moreover, Eastern did not

abuse its Mackay right during ALPA’s strike. Eastern

stopped hiring replacements as soon as Eastern sat-

isfied its need for additional pilots, three months be-

fore the strike ended. App. 3a, 39a. Cf. Fleetwood

Trailer, 389 U.S. at 379 (alleged replacements hired

two months after strike ended). Indeed, were it not

for Eastern’s promise to recruits that Eastern would

treat them as permanent employees from the first

day of training, Eastern would not have had sufficient

Ass’n, Int'l, 710 F. Supp. 1342 (S.D. Fla.), affd, No. 89-5229

(11th Cir. June 7, 1989). From a carrier’s standpoint, the need

for self-help is the same whether it faces a primary strike or a

sympathy strike: ‘‘to carry on the business.’”’ Mackay, 304 U.S.

at 345.

20

replacement pilots to fly its full schedule. App. 49a-

50a, 52a, 58a.

The law is also to the contrary. Other employers,

including United Air Lines and National Airlines, law-

fully declined to reinstate strikers because their po-

sitions were filled by replacements who had not

completed training or otherwise not begun work when

the strike ended, provided that the replacements had

accepted offers of permanent employment by then.

National II, 480 F.2d at 961 (63 replacements not

even on National’s premises at strike’s end); United,

616 F. Supp. at 851 (114 replacements had not begun

training by strike’s end). See also Solar Turbines, slip

op. at 5-7 (replacements had merely been assigned job

classifications, work departments and employee badge

numbers before strike ended); Kurz-Kasch, Inc., 286

N.L.R.B. 1348, 13860 (1987), remanded on other

grounds, 865 F.2d 757 (6th Cir. 1989) (replacements

started work one month after strike ended because

employer could not train them earlier); Home Insu-

lation Services, 255 N.L.R.B. 311, 312 n.9 (1981),

enforced, 665 F.2d 352 (11th Cir. 1982) (rejecting ar-

gument that replacements who accepted permanent

employment, but did not report to work before strike

ended were not permanent replacements); Southwest

Engraving Co., 198 N.L.R.B. 694, 695 (1972) (replace-

ment began work two months after strike ended);

Anderson, Clayton & Co., 120 N.L.R.B. at 1214 (re-

placements merely received assignments before strike

ended, needed one to four months of training, and

began work after strike ended).

This Court should review the Eleventh Circuit’s de-

cision because it is at odds with this Court’s decision

in Trans World.

21

C. The Eleventh Circuit’s Decision Destroys An Air-

line’s Right Under Mackay To Continue Operating

During A Pilot Strike By Hiring Permanent Replace-

ments

If the Eleventh Circuit’s decision remains intact,

airlines will be unable to use their Mackay right dur-

ing future pilot strikes for at least two reasons. First,

the record here shows that pilot recruits will not leave

their existing jobs to become replacements subject to

layoff if they do not complete several weeks of train-

ing before the strike ends. See App. 49a-50a, 52a,

58a. Because potential replacements do not know

when a strike might end, the decision creates an un-

tenable risk in the eyes of recruits that airlines may

have to layoff replacements.

Under the Eleventh Circuit’s decision, an airline

can only hire replacements who are temporary, not

permanent, at least until they complete training. This

radical change will make it much harder for airlines

to recruit replacements, as Eastern’s experience

proves. Airlines will not have enough replacements to

operate during strikes, and the travelling public will

suffer as a result.’

‘7 ALPA speculated below that Eastern could have emulated

United with the Group of 500 and pre-trained an entire work

force of replacements before the strike began. Eastern, a carrier

in financial extremis, certainly could not have afforded to main-

tain two pilot work forces. See Air Line Pilots Ass’n, Int'l v.

Eastern Air Lines, Inc., 863 F.2d 891 (D.C. Cir. 1988), reh’g

en bane denied, 863 F.2d 913 (D.C. Cir. 1989) (Eastern lost $1

billion from 1980 to 1988). The pre-training of an entire body

of replacements is also much more draconian than Eastern’s

conduct, which enabled hundreds of strikers to return to work.

ALPA also suggested disingenuously that Eastern could have

22

Second, even if an airline could recruit new hires

on contingent terms, the union could easily oust them.

The union need only dribble strikers back to work

equal in number to each class of new hires as it

completes training and prepares to embark on IOE.

The airline could not operate while the cross-overs

completed retraining, and the bulk of the strikers

could stay out indefinitely without any risk of being

permanently replaced.

This Court has repeatedly reaffirmed Mackay.

Trans World, 489 U.S. at 483; Belknap, 463 U.S. at

504 n.8; Fleetwood Trailer, 389 U.S. at 379; Hrie

Resistor, 373 U.S. at 221. This Court should review

the Eleventh Circuit’s decision to prevent Mackay

from becoming a nullity during future airline strikes.

D. The Eleventh Circuit’s Decision Ignores The Hiring

Needs Of Airlines Attempting To Fulfill Their Sta-

tutory Obligation To Operate During Pilot Strikes

The uncontradicted evidence before the Eleventh

Circuit was that Eastern could not recruit enough

replacement pilots to operate during ALPA’s strike

by offering them employment contingent on their

completion of training. See App. 49a-50a, 58a. Never-

theless, the Eleventh Circuit held that the very em-

ployment terms that Eastern tried and found

inadequate to attract replacements are the only terms

that Eastern could have lawfully used.

As even the Eleventh Circuit concedes in conclusory

fashion, the law is that strikers need not be reinstated

if an employer has a legitimate and substantial busi-

entered into additional subcontracts with Continental Airlines,

a practice for which ALPA sued Eastern in another case. See

In re Ionosphere Clubs, Inc., 922 F.2d 984 (2d Cir. 1990).

23

ness justification. Fleetwood Trailer, 389 U.S. at 379.

The Eleventh Circuit did not, however, recognize that

Eastern, as a carrier subject to the RLA, had a “‘duty

to make all reasonable efforts to continue its opera-

tions during a strike ... ” Brotherhood of Ry. & S.S.

Clerks v. Florida East Coast Ry., 384 U.S. 238, 247

(1966). Eastern tried to recruit a sufficient number

of replacements based upon the terms ultimately man-

dated by the Eleventh Circuit, but could not do so.

It was certainly reasonable for Eastern to fulfill its

duty to continue flying by reverting to its 25 year

practice of offering permanent employment from the

first day of training.

The Eleventh Circuit did not even consider whether

this justification was sufficient. In light of the sub-

stantial risk that other airlines will have to shut down

during future strikes given Eastern’s proven inability

to recruit sufficient replacements on the Eleventh Cir-

cuit’s terms, this Court should set this matter for

plenary consideration.

CONCLUSION

This case is critical to the airline and railroad in-

dustries. The Eleventh Circuit’s decision itself states

that the issue at stake has never been decided by

vais Court. App. 9a. The decision threatens the well-

established rights of an employer to hire permanent

replacements for strikers and to operate during a

strike. Eastern’s estate faces tens of millions of dol-

lars in claims, and the decision endangers airlines in

future strikes. This Court should review such a far-

reaching and ill-advised decision.

24

For the foregoing reasons, Eastern Air Lines, Inc.

respectfully requests that the Court grant this

Petition.

Respectfully submitted,

RONALD B. NATALIE

JOSEPH L. MANSON, III*

DEAN R. BRENNER

VERNER, LIIPFERT, BERNHARD,

MCPHERSON AND HAND, CHARTERED

901 15th Street, N.W.

Suite 700

Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 371-6000

Attorneys for Petitioner

Dated: June 12, 1991

*Counsel of Record

APPENDIX

.

:

8

-

ye eS A SS er

ee ee eo ee ae

se SO

f

:

3

ve ’

é

se

4S

y

¢

I rg te ee PO RE te Pe oN NC RES ee OE Gee Ee Sa Eee Cree tee” eT are seers a ae

la

APPENDIX A

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 90-5658

D.C. Docket No. 89-1630-Civ-EBD

EASTERN AIR LINES, INC.,

Plaintiff-Counterclaim

Defendant-Appellant,

versus

AIR LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION

INTERNATIONAL, EASTERN AIR

LINES MASTER EXECUTIVE COUNCIL,

Defendants-Counterclaim

Plaintiffs- Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Southern District of Florida

(December 20, 1990)

Before HATCHETT, and ANDERSON, Circuit Judges, and

ESCHBACH”", Senior Circuit Judge.

HATCHETT, Circuit Judge:

In this expedited case, we affirm the district court’s

ruling that Eastern Air Lines, Inc. (Eastern) is obligated

* Honorable Jesse E. Eschbach, Senior U.S. Circuit Judge for the

Seventh Circuit, sitting by designation.

2a

under the Railway Labor Act to reinstate returning pilot-

strikers prior to awarding pilot positions to new hire pilots

who, at the time the pilot-strikers unconditionally offered

to return to work, had not successfully completed East-

ern’s training program and had not started flying regular

revenue flights.

FACTS

On March 4, 1989, the International Association of Ma-

chinists and Aerospace Workers, AFL-CIO (IAM), which

is the collective bargaining representative for mechanics

and ground service employees at Eastern, initiated a strike

against Eastern. On the same day, the Air Line Pilots

Association, International (ALPA), which is the collective

bargaining representative for Eastern’s pilots, and the

Eastern pilot group decided to honor the IAM’s picket

lines by engaging in a sympathy strike.

Shortly after the strike commenced, Eastern began hir-

ing and training new pilots to fill vacant positions caused

by the strike. For at least the first ten days of this hiring

process, Eastern told prospective new hire pilots that they

would become Eastern employees and assume permanent

status upon completion of their training. Subsequently,

Eastern informed new hire pilots that they would be con-

sidered permanent replacements for Eastern’s striking pi-

lots on the first day of training.

Eastern periodically entered the new recruits into the

pilot training program which it administered under Federal

Aviation Administration (FAA) guidelines. The training

program lasted at least eight weeks (but in some cases

took as long as four months), and included ground school

instruction, oral and written examinations, and extensive

use of sophisticated cockpit and flight simulators. See gen-

erally 14 C.F.R. §§ 121.403-09, 121.424, 121.433 (1990).

New hire pilots were also required to complete between

ten to twenty-five hours of operating experience on the

——w

3a

type of aircraft for which they had been trained. This

operating experience, called Initial Operating Experience

(IOE), must be performed on Eastern aircraft under the

supervision of a “check pilot.’”’ See 14 C.F.R. § 121.434

(1990). Under FAA requirements, Eastern’s pilot trainees

must pass: (1)an FAA-administered examination after

completing ground school; (2) an FAA-administered simu-

lator test; and (3) an FAA-administered check ride at the

conclusion of IOE. If the trainee successfully completes

each of these requirements, the FAA issues a certificate

which permits the trainee to fly regular revenue flights

under Eastern’s supervision and authority.

By early August of 1989, many of Eastern’s striking

pilots had made unconditional offers to return to work.

On August 11, 1989, Eastern publicly stated that no pilot

positions were available to former strikers. Instead, East-

ern announced that strikers wishing to return to work

would be placed on inactive status on a preferential recall

list for future pilot positions as they became available. As

of August 11, 1989, a significant number of new hire re-

placement pilots were still in training.

On November 22, 1989, the ALPA terminated the pilot

strike and notified Eastern that all former strikers were

immediately and unconditionally available to return to

work. As of that date, at least 227 new hire replacement

pilots remained in training.' From at least early August,

1989, until August 2, 1990, when the district court granted

ALPA’s motion for a preliminary injunction, Eastern filled

vacant pilot positions by giving preference to its new hire

pilots, rather than Eastern’s striking pilots who had un-

conditionally offered to return to service.

' Eastern maintains that 227 new-hire pilots remained in training as

of November 22, 1989, while ALPA contends that at least 250 re-

placement pilots remained in training as of that date.

4a

PROCEDURAL HISTORY

On August 11, 1989, Eastern filed this action against

ALPA seeking a declaratory judgment under the Railway

Labor Act (RLA), 45 U.S.C. §§ 151-188, declaring that its

“new hire pilots in training are permanent replacements

who may not be deprived of active employment by strikers

who have offered to return to work but have not yet been

reinstated.”” ALPA counterclaimed requesting injunctive,

declaratory, and monetary relief under the RLA. By its

counterclaim, ALPA sought to vindicate its rights and the

rights of former strikers against ‘‘Eastern’s refusal to rein-

state former strikers to Eastern pilot positions by treating

non-employee ‘trainees’ as permanent replacements.”’ Both

Eastern and ALPA filed motions for summary judgment.

ALPA also moved for preliminary injunctive relief under

Count I of its counterclaims.

The district court entered summary judgment for ALPA

and denied Eastern’s request for summary judgment. Fur-

ther, the district court granted ALPA’s motion for pre-

liminary injunctive relief under Count I of its

counterclaims, (1) enjoining Eastern from treating its train-

ees as permanent replacements, or awarding trainees pilot

positions ahead of former striking pilots who uncondition-

ally returned to work, (2) ordering reinstatement for each

former striking pilot prior to awarding pilot positions to

new hire pilots who remained trainees as of November 22,

1989, and (3) enjoining displacement of striking pilots by

new hire pilots who remained trainees as of November 22,

1989. ALPA’s motion for preliminary injunctive relief de-

fined trainees as “new hire pilot recruits who have not

completed new hire pilot training—including Initial Oper-

ating Experience training flights and the receipt of a final

Federal Aviation Administration... release to perform

Eastern pilot services—and have not flown their initial,

FAA-authorized Eastern revenue flight.”

eee ee Cee Senet ee

5a

CONTENTIONS

Eastern contends that the district court erroneously

ruled that the RLA requires it to displace its newly hired

trainee pilots and reinstate former striking pilots to avail-

able Eastern pilot positions. According to Eastern, its new

hire pilots who were still in training when the strike ended,

were permanent employees. Consequently, Eastern argues

that under striker replacement law, the returning strikers

are not entitled to displace these permanent replacement

pilots. Further, Eastern contends that the district court’s

preliminary injunction is impermissibly vague. Fed. R. Civ.

P. 65(d).

ALPA contends that the district court properly granted

summary judgment because Eastern violated the RLA by

refusing to reinstate returning strikers prior to awarding

pilot positions to pilot trainees. Pilot trainees are not ‘‘per-

manent replacements” under the RLA, ALPA argues, un-

til they fully complete training and operate their post-IOE

initial revenue flight. Moreover, ALPA contends that the

district court’s preliminary injunction satisfies the require-

ments of Fed. R. Civ. P. 65(d).

ISSUE

The sole issue in this case is whether the district court

correctly determined that the RLA requires Eastern to

reinstate former striking pilots prior to awarding pilot po-

sitions to new hire pilots in training.”

2 In its brief, Eastern contends that the issue is: ‘Whether a bankrupt

airline such as Eastern may treat new hire pilots as permanent re-

placements for striking pilots from their first day of training....”

Eastern’s status as a bankrupt airline is of little legal significance in

determining whether it is obligated under the RLA to reinstate re-

turning pilots.

6a

DISCUSSION

A. Standard of Review

Our review of the district court’s grant of summary

judgment ‘“‘is plenary, and we must apply the same legal

standards used by the district court.” Fernandes v. Bank-

ers National Life Ins. Co., 906 F.2d 559, 564 (11th Cir.

1990). “‘We will affirm the district court if, after constru-

ing the evidence in the light most favorable to the non-

moving party, we find that there is no genuine issue as

to any material fact and that the moving party is entitled

to judgment as a matter of law.” William Penn Life Ins.

Co. of New York v. Sands, 912 F.2d 1359, 1361 (11th Cir.

1990). Further, we review the district court’s grant of a

preliminary injunction only for an abuse of discretion. Zar-

dui-Quintana v. Richard, 768 F.2d 1213, 1216 (11th Cir.

1985).

B. The Railway Labor Act and Reinstatement Rights

Under the RLA, airline employees remain statutory em-

ployees of the carrier during a strike unless they secure

other work. See Independent Fed’n of Flight Attendants v.

Trans World Airlines, Inc., 819 F.2d 839, 842 (8th Cir.

1987) (Trans World), rev’d on other grounds, 103 L. Ed.

2d 456 (1989); cf. NLRB v. Fleetwood Trailer Co., 389

U.S. 375, 378-79 (1967) (Fleetwood Trailer). Consequently,

an employer’s refusal to reinstate former strikers after an

economic strike constitutes an unfair labor practice unless

the employer can prove that the failure to reinstate is

based upon “‘legitimate and substantial business justifica-

tions.” See Fleetwood Trailer, 389 U.S. at 378-79 (quoting

NLRB v. Great Dane Trailers, 388 U.S. 26, 34 (1967)).

Where, for instance, an employer hires permanent re-

placement employees during an economic strike to continue

operations, and refuses to discharge the permanent re-

placements in order to make room for returning strikers,

the Supreme Court has found the employer’s decision to

Bic ciceemneemaenenteneieninniatnataeaiiiaiatiaa titans

Ta

be supported by a legitimate and substantial business jus-

tification. See NLRB v. Mackay Radio & Telegraph Co.,

304 U.S. 333, 345-46 (1938) (Mackay); Fleetwood Trailer,

389 U.S. at 379 (an employer has ‘“‘legitimate and sub-

stantial business justifications’’ for refusal to reinstate

when “‘the jobs claimed by the strikers are occupied by

workers hired as permanent replacements during the strike

in order to continue operations’); NLRB v. Erie Resistor

Corp., 373 U.S. 221, 232 (1963) (Erie Resistor) (under

Mackay, “‘an employer may operate his plant during a

strike and at its conclusion need not discharge those who

worked during the strike in order to make way for re-

turning strikers.’’). Under these circumstances, the em-

ployer’s legitimate interest in continuing operations is

“deemed to outweigh the damage to concerted activities

caused by permanently replacing strikers.”’ Erie Resistor,

373 U.S. at 232. Although this exception, referred to as

the Mackay exception, is firmly rooted in striker replace-

ment doctrine, “[c]ourts have been reluctant to extend”’

it. Trans World, 219 F.2d at 846 (citing Erie Resistor,

373 U.S. at 232; International Ass’n of Machinists and

Aerospace Workers v. J.L. Clark Co., 471 F.2d 694, 698

(7th Cir. 1972)).?

C. District Court’s Ruling

The district court began its analysis by noting that ‘‘[n]Jo

authority binding on this court has directly addressed the

* Though the courts have developed much of this striker-replacement

doctrine in the context of the National Labor Relations Act (NLRA),

the Supreme Court in Trans World Airlines, Inc. v. Independent Fed’n

of Flight Attendants, 103 L. Ed. 2d 456, 465 (1989), observed “that

carefully drawn analogies from the federal common labor law developed

under the NLRA may be helpful in deciding cases under the RLA.”’

The Supreme Court cautioned, however, that “the NLRA ‘cannot be

imported wholesale into the railway labor arena. Eve> rough analogies

must be drawn circumspectly with due regard for the many differences

between the statutory schemes.’’’ Trans World, 103 L. Ed. 2d at 469

(quoting Trainmen v. Jacksonville Terminal, 394 U.S. 369, 383 (1969)).

8a

issue of whether replacements still in training at the time

a strike is called off may be accorded permanent replace-

ment status.” The district court defined trainees as “‘new

hire pilots who were still in training, and who had not yet

begun flying regular revenue flights... when the ALPA

pilots made unconditional offers to return to work.”

In the absence of binding authority, the district court

followed Trans World, 819 F.2d at 845-47, cert. denied in

rel. part, 485 U.S. 958 (1988), and Air Line Pilots Ass’n.

Intern. v. United Air Lines, Inc., 302 F.2d 886 (7th Cir.

1986) (United Air Lines), cert. denied, 480 U.S. 946 (1987),

and held that “[t]o the extent that the pilot trainees in

the instant case had not performed the work ordinarily

discharged by the striking pilots, the trainees were not

employees protected by the RLA.” Further, the district

court found that although Eastern ‘“‘had a legitimate and

substantial business justification to replace striking pilots

with replacement pilots who could promptly assume the

requisite duties and responsibilities of striking pilots, the

same does not hold true with regard to trainees.’”’ Based

upon these findings, the district court concluded that ‘‘the

Mackay balance weighs in favor of reinstating the striking

pilots in place of the trainees.”’

In this court, Eastern argues that, contrary to the dis-

trict court’s conclusion, its trainee pilots are permanent

replacement employees, and that it is not, therefore, ob-

ligated to reinstate returning strikers. According to East-

ern, this case is controlled by National Airlines, Inc. v.

International Ass’n of Machinists and Aerospace Workers,

416 F.2d 998 (5th Cir. 1969) (National I), appeal after

remand, 430 F.2d 957 (5th Cir. 1970) (National ID), cert.

denied, 400 U.S. 992 (1971). In response, ALPA argues

(1) that returning pilots are entitled to displace pilot train-

ees because the trainees are not yet “permanent employ-

ees” under the RLA, (2) that National I and National II

are consistent with the district court’s holding, and (3) that

this court should follow the Eighth Circuit’s holding in

9a

Trans World, and the Seventh Circuit’s decision in United

Air Lines.

D. Analysis

In this case, it is undisputed that replacement pilots who

had begun flying regular revenue flights before Eastern’s

striking pilots made their unconditional offers to return to

work, may be accorded permanent replacement status un-

der the Mackay exception, and are not to be displaced to

create positions for returning strikers. At issue is whether

Eastern is obligated, under the RLA, to reinstate return-

ing pilots prior to awarding pilot positions to new hire

pilots in training who had not (1) completed Eastern’s

training program and IOE, (2) obtained an FAA certificate,

and (3) begun flying regular revenue flights under East-

ern’s supervision and authority.

We note at the outset that neither the Supreme Court

nor this court has specifically addressed whether the RLA

requires an employer to reinstate returning strikers before

awarding permanent positions to new hire trainees, such

as the trainee pilots involved in this case. The answer to

this question turns on whether Eastern’s trainees were

“permanent replacements.’’

1. Trainees, Trans World, and United Air Lines

The narrow Mackay exception does not apply in this

case because Eastern’s trainee pilots did not attain the

status of permanent replacement employees. The RLA de-

fines an ‘“employee”’ as:

every person in the service of a carrier (subject

to its continuing authority to supervise and direct

* Because the Supreme Court in Mackay and Fleetwood Trailer struck

the balance when it held that a legitimate and substantial business

justification supports an employer’s decision to displace strikers with

permanent replacements in order to continue operations, we do not

consider the balance anew.

10a

the manner of rendition of his service) who per-

forms any work defined as that of an employee

or subordinate official in the orders of the In-

terstate Commerce Commission now in ef-

ey

45 U.S.C. §151, Fifth. Further, 45 U.S.C. § 181 limits

“employee” status and the scope of RLA protection to

“every air pilot or other person who performs any work

as an employee or subordinate official of [a] carrier or

carriers, subject to its or their continuing authority to su-

pervise and direct the manner of rendition of his service.”

(Emphasis added.) .

In Trans World, the Eighth Circuit applied 45 U.S.C.

§ 181 and held that, under the RLA, a carrier’s new hire

trainees who had not completed their training prior to the

end of a strike were not permanent employees, and were

subject to displacement by returning strikers. See Trans

World, 819 F.2d at 845-46. The facts of Trans World are

indistinguishable from those in this case. In Trans World,

the carrier hired and trained large numbers of would-be

permanent replacement employees to continue operations

during a flight attendant strike. At the conclusion of the

strike, approximately 463 of the new hires had not com-

pleted flight attendant training.

After the strike, the carrier gave the trainees permanent

replacement status and job placement preference over re-

turning strikers. As in this case, Trans World argued that

its trainees constituted permanent replacements under the

RLA because the carrier had told the trainees that they

were permanent employees, and paid them a salary. The

Eighth Circuit rejected the carrier’s argument finding that

“those flight attendants holding a trainee status at the

end of the strike may not be retained over striking em-

ployees.” Trans World, 819 F.2d at 842. As the court

explained:

—s

lla

The trainees in question, although hired by TWA,

never performed any services for TWA under its

supervision prior to the Union’s offer to return

to work. Thus, they cannot be considered em-

ployees within the meaning of the RLA.

Trans World, 819 F.2d at 845-46. The Trans World court

thus held that carriers cannot refuse to reinstate strikers

by treating trainees as permanent replacements, and that

carriers cannot reserve job positions for trainees once stri-

kers unconditionally offer to return to work. Trans World,

819 F.2d at 845-47; see also Railway Labor Executives’

Ass’n v. Wheeling Acquisition Corp., 736 F. Supp. 1397,

1403 (E.D. Va. 1990) (“RLA rights are conferred only on

‘employees’ of a ‘carrier’ who currently perform work for

that carrier.’’)

Similarly, in United Air Lines, the Seventh Circuit held

that “unless a person has performed services for the em-

ployer under that employer’s supervision he is not an em-

ployee for purposes of the RLA.”’ United Air Lines, 802

F.2d at 913. In United Air Lines, the carrier recruited

and began training some 500 pilots (the Group of 500)

prior to the commencement of a pilot strike. United Air

Lines offered 375 of these recruits, who had successfully

completed their training, employment beginning on

May 17, 1985, the day ALPA went on strike. All but a

few of the Group of 500 honored ALPA’s picket lines. In

response, United Air Lines stated that it would not hire

any member of the Group of 500 who had failed to report

to work, except for cases involving personal hardship or

other extenuating circumstances.

ALPA filed suit alleging that United Air Lines’s actions

with respect to the Group of 500 violated the RLA. The

district court found for the Group of 500 concluding that

they had become employees on May 17, 1985, the day the

strike began, and that United Air Lines’s treatment of

these pilots after that date violated the RLA, 45 U.S.C.

12a

§ 152, Fourth. The Seventh Circuit reversed holding that

the Group of 500 were not “employees” under the RLA

entitled to the protections of 45 U.S.C. § 152, Fourth.

United Air Lines, 802 F.2d at 911 n.17. The Seventh

Circuit opined:

These pilots never performed any work for United

nor did they ever submit to United’s supervision

of them in their work. By its own terms, the

definition of employee under the RLA would ex-

clude our giving the Group of 500 employee stat-

us.

United Air Lines, 802 F.2d at 911. The court went on to

state that ‘‘trainees ... simply do not fall within the RLA’s

definition of employee.”’ United Air Lines, 802 F.2d at

913.

2. Eastern’s Trainees

Based upon the persuasive reasoning in Trans World

and United Air Lines, we hold that Eastern’s new hire

trainee pilots did not obtain the status of “permanent em-

ployees.”’ First, the trainees were not qualified to perform

the work Eastern’s pilots ordinarily discharged. As pre-

viously stated, under FAA guidelines, Eastern’s trainee

pilots are required to complete a series of FAA exami-

nations and obtain an FAA pilot certificate before oper-

ating on Eastern’s regular revenue flights. To satisfy these

requirements, Eastern enrolled its new-hire pilots in a

training program which, in some cases, lasted as long as

four months. Eastern’s training program included ground

school instruction, examinations, flight simulator training,

and IOE.® Consequently, a trainee would only become qual-

’ We reject Eastern’s contention that IOE is not part of the training/

qualification process. See, ¢.g., Trans World, 819 F.2d at 841 n.2 (ex-

plaining that flight attendants are not qualified to perform revenue

service until they complete IOE); Rosenbalm Aviation, 15 N.M.B. 313,

314-15 (1988) (holding that IOE is part of training mandated by the

13a

ified to fly regular revenue flights for Eastern when the

trainee successfully completes the training program, passes

the FAA examinations, obtains an FAA pilot certificate

and secures a release from the FAA.

Second, Eastern’s trainees were not actually performing

the work ordinarily discharged by the former strikers. As

the district court correctly reasoned:

Trainees, to be sure, are not qualified to perform

in the stead of striking pilots. In fact, they may

never be. Optimistically, they may ultimately fill

the shoes of the striking employees. It would be

presumptuous and premature, therefore, to af-

ford trainees permanent replacement status which

would otherwise permit Eastern to keep them in

its employ notwithstanding the termination of the

strike.

Eastern suggests that the distinction between trainees

and returning strikers is an artificial one because the for-

mer strikers, like the trainees, must submit to training

prior to again flying regular revenue flights. According to

ALPA, “striking pilots can be requalified within a matter

of days.”” Eastern maintains, however, that “having now

been out of the cockpit for over 10 months, it would take

a minimum of 10 days of training, to requalify a returning

striker, provided that the pilot were returning to his or

her prestrike category position,’ and assuming the pilot

did not return to his or her prestrike category position,

the process could take “‘up to 30 days.” Our review of

the record convinces us that the distinction between train-

ees and Eastern’s returning pilots is real. First, the former

strikers, unlike the trainees, have actually flown regular

revenue flights for Eastern. Second, the returning pilots

FAA, and that “{aJn individual may not serve as part of the cockpit

crew in revenue service until he has successfully completed the training

program.’’). As Eastern acknowledges, IOE is necessary to obtain FAA

certification.

l4a

are only required to complete requalification training.

Whether the duration of the requalification training is a

“matter of days,’’ ten days, or even thirty days, that per-

iod is substantially less than the time required to train

and qualify the new hire pilots.

Despite the fact that Eastern’s trainee pilots may never

be qualified to fly regular revenue flights, Eastern argues

that they are permanent employees because Eastern im-

mediately placed the pilot trainees on its payroll, and gave

them seniority numbers. We do not consider these unilat-

eral actions to be dispositive of whether EF:astern’s trainees

are permanent employees. As the Eighth Circuit concluded

in Trans World:

The RLA does not extend its coverage based upon

the employer’s labelling of persons as employees

or the payment of salary. Rather, RLA coverage

is determined by the work the person performs

under supervision of the employer. This perform-

ance factor is determinative in trainee situations

because it is the only requirement that the stat-

ute explicitly includes. Thus, clear statutory lan-

guage supports the conclusion that the trainees

are not employees protected by the RLA because

these trainees were not “performing any work’’

of the carrier by any stretch of the imagination.

Trans World, 819 F.2d at 846 (emphasis in original).

Further, Eastern urges this court to disregard the

Eighth Circuit’s decision in Trans World and the Seventh

Circuit’s holding in United Air Lines because, according

to Eastern, a new hire recruit need not attain “employee”

status under the RLA to be deemed a permanent replace-

ment. We reject Eastern’s urgings. Acceptance of East-

ern’s analysis would result in the creation of two classes

of common carrier employees; “permanent employees’’ en-

titled to the benefits and privileges of the RLA and bound

15a

by its duties and penalties, and a second class of ‘‘perm-

anent employees” (the trainees) whose employer/employee

relationship is not governed by the regulatory framework

established by the RLA, and who are not extended the

same benefits and obligations available to the other class

of “‘permanent employees.”’ No authority leads us to create

such an anomalous situation.

3. National I and National II

Eastern argues that National IJ is controlling and re-

quires that we hold that its trainees are permanent re-

placements. In National I, the Fifth Circuit held that the

carrier had exceeded the permissible bounds of self-help

by discharging employees who had engaged in an unlawful

wildcat strike; the carrier “‘was entitled only to hire re-

placements for the strikers in order to operate its airline.”

416 F.2d at 1007. In reversing the district court, the Fifth

Circuit held that, under the RLA, the carrier could only

refuse to reinstate former strikers if the strikers’ jobs had

been “‘filled’’? by permanent replacements “either at the

time of the discharge or before the time the strike would

have run its course.’”’ National I, 416 F.2d at 1007. The

Fifth Circuit remanded the case to the district court to

determine the number of positions “‘filled’’ by replace-

ments. On remand, the district court held that the carrier

had “‘hired’’ sixty-seven replacements as of the date that

the strikers would have returned to work. National Air-

lines, Inc. v. International Ass’n of Machinists, 308 F.

Supp. 179, 182 (S.D. Fla.), rev’d, 480 F.2d 957 (5th Cir.

1970), cert. denied, 400 U.S. 992 (1971).

The Fifth Circuit again reversed the district court, and

remanded the case for a determination of the number of

striking employees who had been “‘replaced’’ by new hire

employees as of the date the strike would have ended. ‘In

cases of replacement of a striker,”’ the court concluded:

the critical time is when the arrangements with

the replacement worker become fixed and irrev-

16a

ocable. Thus, if an employer has the intention to

bind itself to a firm contract of employment, and

the employee has accepted a specific job assign-

ment, the replacement is “hired’’ even though

subsequently he may be divested of the job for

failure to pass medical or security clearance.

430 F.2d at 961 (citations omitted).

Although National I and National II are instructive, we

do not agree with Eastern that these cases compel a re-.

versal of the district court. First, in National II, the Fifth

Circuit carefully noted that the critical time for determin-

ing when an employee is replaced is when the arrange-

ments with the worker become “fixed and irrevocable.”

430 F.2d at 961. In this case, although the new hires were

on the payroll, as trainees their employment status could

hardly be classified as ‘‘fixed and irrevocable” given that

they could only fly regular revenue flights for Eastern if

they successfully completed the training program and sat-

isfied FAA requirements.

Second, National II did not, as does the present case,

involve the employment status of trainees who could only

work for the employer when they satisfactorily completed

a lengthy training program and secured the requisite gov-

ernmental releases and certificates. Nothing in National

II permits carriers to refuse to reinstate former strikers

by reserving available job positions for a significant period

of time while a pool of unqualified trainees completes this

process.

Third, we read the Fifth Circuit’s dictum that a “re-

placement is ‘hired’ even though subsequently he may be

divested of the job for failure to pass medical or security

clearance” to mean that an employer can treat a new hire

as a permanent replacement where, but for the failure to

subsequently satisfy a technical qualification, the new hire

would otherwise be considered a permanent employee. The

prerequisites at issue in this case (i.e. satisfactory com-

17a

pletion of Eastern’s training program and compliance with

the FAA’s requirements) do not amount to technicalities

which would allow Eastern, under National II's reasoning,

to treat a trainee as a permanent replacement prior to

the trainee satisfying these job requirements. Conse-

quently, we hold that the Mackay exception does not apply

in this case because Eastern’s trainees were not permanent

replacements.

4. RLA Policy

Our conclusion, that Eastern is required to reinstate

returning pilots prior to awarding pilot positions to new

hire pilots, is consistent with RLA policy. Eastern’s de-

cision to refuse to reinstate returning pilots while reserv-

ing available pilot positions for unqualified trainee pilots,

did not promote one of the declared purposes of the RLA

which is to “avoid any interruption to commerce or to the

operation of any carrier.” 45 U.S.C. § 151a. As the district

court reasoned:

Hiring trained, qualified pilots is congruous with

the undisputed purpose of the RLA: providing

for uninterrupted transportation service, thereby

maintaining the status quo. Enlisting a fleet of

unqualified trainees for potential future hiring

needs, however, satisfies a concern significantly

more remote. To be sure, trainees cannot fly rev-

enue raising flights until they have completed the

training program. Their utility to the airline is

contingent upon becoming qualified for the po-

sition. Thus, contracting with unqualified persons

for future employment as pilots did not serve to

fill the void left by the striking pilots, at least

not until some later date.

Further, we agree with the Eighth Circuit’s observation

in Trans World that:

to amass a trainee pool capable of replacing the

entire striking workforce at some future date

18a

after the strike has ended .. . is inconsistent with

the RLA’s grant of protections to those persons

who actually perform services for the employer.

819 F.2d at 846.

Moreover, Eastern’s treatment of the returning pilots

strikes a fundamental blow to the union and the collective

bargaining process. See Trans World, 103 L. Ed. 2d at

471 (“‘we should hesitate to imply limitations on all but

those forms of self-help that strike a fundamental blow to

union or employer activity and the collective bargaining

process itself.’’). Not only does Eastern’s decision to give

preference to trainees over returning strikers discourage

employees from exercising their rights to organize and to

strike, it undermines one of the RLA’s central goals: the

preservation of the employer-employee relationship both

during and after a strike. See Fleetwood Trailer, 389 U.S.

at 378; Empresa Ecuatoriana de Aviacion, S.A. v. District

| Lodge No. 100, 690 F.2d 838, 845 (11th Cir. 1982), cert.

| dismissed, 463 U.S. 1250 (1983).

5. Preliminary Injunction

Finally, we find that the district court’s preliminary in-

junction is not impermissibly vague. Rule 65(d) of the Fed-

| eral Rules of Civil Procedure simply requires “that an

| ordinary person reading the court’s order should be able

to ascertain from the document itself exactly what conduct

is prescribed.”’ See C. Wright and A. Miller, 11 Federal

Practice and Procedure § 2955 at 536-37 (1973 & Supp.

i990}, see also Williams v. City of Dothan, Ala., 818 F.2d

755, 76i (ith Cir. 1987) (‘As this court has noted, Rule

65(d) sheuld not be applied strictly; rather the inquiry

should be whether the parties subject to the injunctive

order understood their obligations under the order.”’). Here,

the district court’s order clearly requires Eastern to rein-

; state the number of former strikers necessary to fill those

pilot positions unlawfully reserved for trainees at the end

! of the strike. Because the district court has yet to deter-

a

19a

mine the specific number of Eastern pilot positions covered

by the preliminary injunction and other issues, we remand

the case to the district court.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, we hold that the district

court properly concluded that the RLA requires Eastern

to reinstate returning strikers prior to awarding pilot po-

sitions to new hire pilots in training. We remand this case

to the district court for further proceedings.

AFFIRMED and REMANDED FOR FURTHER

PROCEEDINGS.

ANDERSON, Circuit Judge, dissenting:

Respectfully, I dissent. In my judgment, binding prec-

edent in this circuit requires reversal. In a very similar

context, the Former Fifth Circuit held that a newly-hired

permanent employee is not displaced by a returning striker

“even though subsequently he may be divested of the job

for failure to pass medical or security clearance.” National

Airlines, Inc. v. International Ass’n of Machinists and Aer-

ospace Workers, 430 F.2d 957, 961 (5th Cir. 1970). I do

not agree with the majority that the conditions of em-

ployment in National Airlines—i.e., medical or security

clearance—can be dismissed as merely technical. In the

airline industry, the medical condition and security clear-

ance of workers is not technical.

20a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

CASE NO. 89-1630-CIV-DAVIS

EASTERN AIR LINES, INC.,

Plaintiff,

Vv.

AIR LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION,

INTERNATIONAL, and EASTERN

MASTER EXECUTIVE COUNCIL,

Defendants.

FILED

U.S. Dist. Ct.

S. D. Of Fla. Miami

August 2, 1990

ROBERT M. MARCH

ORDER

THIS MATTER is before the court on the following Motions:

(1) AIR LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION, INTERNA-

TIONAL’s (‘““ALPA’’) Motion for Preliminary Injunctive

Relief under Count I of ALPA’s Counterclaims;

(2) ALPA’s Motion for Summary Judgment; and

(3) EASTERN AIR LINES, INC.’s Motion for Summary

Judgment.

I. BACKGROUND

The facts material to the issue presently before the court

are largely undisputed. On March 4, 1989, after fully ex-

hausting the dispute resolution mechanisms of the Railway

/

2la

Labor Act! (““RLA’’) the International Association of Ma-

chinists and Aerospace Workers, AFL-CIO (“IAM’’) com-

menced a strike against Eastern Air Lines, Inc.

(“EASTERN’’). On that same day, the AIR LINE PILOTS

ASSOCIATION, INTERNATIONAL (“ALPA’’), by vote of its

Master Executive Council, honored the I[AM’s picket lines.

In an action before this court, ALPA’s strike was held to

be a lawful sympathy strike. Eastern Air Lines, Inc. v.

Air Line Pilots Ass’n, Intern., 710 F. Supp. 1342 (S.D.

Fla.), affd, No. 89-5229 (11th Cir. June 7, 1989).

During the ALPA strike, EASTERN hired new pilot

recruits to fill pilot positions left vacant because of the

strike. Under Federal Aviation Administration (‘“FAA’’)

guidelines, trainee pilots must complete a series of FAA

examinations, obtain an FAA pilot certificate, and secure

a release from the FAA before operating EASTERN air-

craft on regular revenue flights. Each new hire pilot, ir-

respective of level of experience, is required under these

guidelines to complete training successfully before flying

regular revenue flights. Under EASTERN’s own regula-

tions, pilot trainees and current pilot employees must

undergo periodic training to familiarize themselves with

specific EASTERN procedures and aircraft type. In order

to meet the above requirements, EASTERN’s new hire pil-

ots were placed in a six to eight-week EASTERN training

program. The program generally includes ground school

instruction, flight simulator training, and the completion

of training flights under the direction of EASTERN and/

or FAA flight instructors.

By the middle of August 1989, several striking ALPA

pilots had made individual unconditional offers to return

to work for EASTERN. On or about August 11, 1989,

EASTERN announced that EASTERN pilot positions were

no longer available to former strikers and that former

‘45 U.S.C. §§ 151-188 (1982).

22a

strikers wishing to return to work would be placed on

inactive status on a preferential recall list for future pilot

positions that might become available. At this point, ap-

proximately 800 new hire replacement pilots were still in

training. On November 22, 1989, ALPA informed EAST-

ERN of its unconditional termination of the pilot strike

and that all former strikers were immediately and uncon-

ditionally available to return to work. By this date, ap-

proximately 250 new hire replacement pilots remained in

training. From at least early August to the present date,

EASTERN has filled vacant pilot positions from the ranks

of its new hire pilots rather than from the ALPA pilots

who had unconditionally offered to return to service.

On August 11, 1989, EASTERN filed this declaratory

judgment action. ALPA has counterclaimed for injunctive

and declaratory relief. It is undisputed in this lawsuit that

replacement pilots who had actually begun flying regular

revenue flights before ALPA pilots made their uncondi-

tional offers to return to work may be accorded permanent

replacement status, and need not be displaced to create

positions for returning strikers. Thus, both parties agree

that the only issue to be determined at this juncture is

the reinstatement rights of the returning strikers vis-a-vis

those new hire pilots who were still in training, and who

had not yet begun flying regular revenue flights (‘‘train-

ees”) when the ALPA pilots made unconditional offers to

return to work.

II. DISCUSSION

ALPA now moves for summary judgment as to EAST-

ERN’s claims and for a Preliminary Injuncticn under Count

I of its Counterclaim. EASTERN has filed a Cross Motion

for Summary Judgment on its Complaint for Declaratory

Relief.

A. SUMMARY JUDGMENT STANDARD

A party seeking summary judgment bears the burden

of demonstrating that there exists no genuine dispute as

23a

to any material fact. Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c) and (e); An-

derson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 247-48 (1986).

All reasonable doubts as to the facts are to be resolved

in favor of the party opposing summary judgment. Mer-

cantile Bank & Trust v. Fidelity Deposit Co., 750 F.2d

838, 841 (11th Cir. 1985). While the burden on a party

seeking summary judgment is great, the opposing party

has a duty to present affirmative evidence in order to

defeat a properly supported motion for summary judg-

ment. Anderson, 477 U.S. at 250. As stated at the outset,

the facts in the instant dispute are largely undisputed, and

both parties have filed Motions for Summary Judgment.

B. THE RAILWAY LABOR ACT

Within the jurisprudence of reinstatement rights under

the National Labor Relations Act (““NLRA’’), an employ-

er’s refusal to reinstate former strikers constitutes an un-

fair labor practice, unless the employer can show that his

action is supported by a legitimate and substantial business

justification. NLRB v. Fleetwood Trailer Co., 389 U.S. 375,

378 (1967); NLRB v. Great Dane Trailers, Inc., 388 U.S.

26, 34 (1967). As first illustrated by the Supreme Court

in NLRB v. Mackay Radio & Telegraph Co., 304 U.S. 333

(1938), one such justification arises when, in an economic

strike, returning strikers’ jobs have been filled by workers

hired as permanent replacements during the strike in order

for the employer to continue operations. Fleetwood Tratler,

389 U.S. at 379. In such cases, it is routinely held that

an employer is not bound to discharge the permanent re-

placements in order to make room for returning strikers.

See, e.g., Belknap, Inc. v. Hale, 463 U.S. 491, 500 (1983);

Fleetwood Trailer, 389 U.S. at 378; NLRB v. Erie Resistor

Corp., 373 U.S. 221, 232 (1963); Mackay, 304 U.S. at 345-

47. In short, the employer’s interest in continuing oper-

ations is ‘deemed to outweigh the damage to concerted

activities caused by permanently replacing strikers.’ Erie

Resistor, 373 U.S. at 232. While the burden of proving

that the replacements were hired as permanent employees

24a

falls squarely on the shoulders of the employer, Fleetwood

Trailer, 389 U.S. at 378, the law allows for a considerable

degree of contingency in the replacements’ employment

contract. See Belknap, 463 U.S. at 502-04.

Moreover, the issue of reinstatement rights has focused

on the rights of the returning strikers, not on the rights

or degree of protection afforded to the replacement work-

ers.2 Under Belknap, the rights of the replacement em-

ployees are enforceable even if antithetical to the rights

of the returning strikers. A corollary follows: the rights

of the replacement employees do not determine whether

the employer has an obligation to reinstate past strikers.*

Although the principles discussed above arose under the

National Labor Relations Act, courts have uniformly held

that the general rule of Mackay applies with equal force

in cases arising under the Railway Labor Act* (‘““RLA’’).

See Trans World Airlines v. Independent Fed’n of Flight

Attendants, 489 U.S. 426 (1989); National Airlines, Inc.

v. International Ass’n of Machinists & Aerospace Workers,

416 F.2d 998 (5th Cir. 1969), appeal after remand, 430

F.2d 957 (5th Cir. 1970). In Trans World Airlines, supra,

the Supreme Court recently approved the borrowing of

precedent developed under the NLRA in order to aid the

analysis of reinstatement rights under the RLA. The Court

borrowed extensively from common law developed under

the NLRA, but cautioned that because of the differing

2 As will be more fully developed in Part II.C., post, the inquiry as

to whether the replacements are permanent is relevant not to determine

the replacements’ entitlement, but to determine the existence of a le-

gitimate and substantial business justification.

* Again, the status of the replacements is relevant for the purpose

of determining whether an employers’ decision not to reinstate return-

ing strikers is justified. See supra note 2. Here, as ALPA admits,

EASTERN might be liable in contract to the replacements, irrespective

of whether they are covered by the RLA.

*45 U.S.C. §§ 151-188 (1982).

TT

25a

policies inherent in the two Acts, NLRA principles ‘‘cannot

be imported wholesale into the railway labor arena.” Id.

at 1233 (quoting Brotherhood of R.R. Trainmen v. Jack-

sonville Terminal Co., 394 U.S. 369, 383 (1969)).

In the context of the RLA, the former Fifth Circuit,®

after recognizing the common carrier’s duty to- make all

reasonable efforts to continue its operations during a strike,

held the hiring of permanent replacements to be consistent

with the attempt to restore service. National Airlines, Inc.

v. International Ass’n for Machinists and Aerospace Work-

ers, 416 F.2d 998, 1006 (5th Cir. 1969) (“‘National I’). In

its opinion after remand, the Fifth Circuit provided guid-

ance in identifying replacement workers, noting as critical

the time when arrangements with the replacement workers

become fixed and irrevocable:

Thus, if an employer has the intention to bind

itself to a firm contract of employment, and the

employee has accepted a specific job assignment,

the replacement is ‘hired’ even though subse-

quently he may be divested of the job for failure

to pass medical or security clearance.

National Airlines, Inc. v. International Ass’n of Machinists

and Aerospace Workers, 430 F.2d 957, 961 (5th Cir. 1970)

(‘National IT’), cert. denied, 400 U.S. 992 (1971). The

court went on to stress, however, that a mere offer and

acceptance is not always enough. The court also found

important ‘‘the necessity of actually coming on the payroll’’

and the commencement of actual employment. In remand-

ing the issue to the district court for further factual de-

terminations as to whether the strikers had been replaced,

the court concluded that “[iJn the present case, the for-

mation of an employment contract with a replacement,

’ The Eleventh Circuit adopted as binding all decisions of the former

Fifth Circuit handed down by October 1, 1981. Bonner v. City of Pri-

chard, Ala., 661 F.2d 1206 (11th Cir. 1981).

26a

which never ripens into actual employment, may not dis-

place the statutory right of the discharged employee to

return to the status quo.” Jd. Thus, National II teaches

that something more than an employment contract be-

tween the employer and replacement employee must exist

before the striking employee’s status is supplanted.

Whether participating in a training program constitutes

that ‘‘something more” is the question now before this

court.

C. STRIKERS OR TRAINEES?

No authority binding on this court has directly addressed

the issue of whether replacements still in training at the

time a strike is called off may be accorded permanent

replacement status. The United States Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit, however, has answered that ques-

tion in the negative. Independent Fed’n of Flight Attend-

ants v. Trans World Airlines, 819 F.2d 839 (8th Cir. 1987),

rev'd on other grounds, 489 U.S. 426 (1989) (“Flight At-

tendants’’). In Flight Attendants, the Eighth Circuit held

that replacement personnel (flight attendants) who had not

completed training prior to the end of an IFFA strike

could not be accorded permanent replacement status under

the RLA.’ Jd. In arriving at this conclusion, the court

observed that ““RLA coverage is determined by the work

the person performs under supervision of the employer.”

Id. at 846; accord Air Line Pilots Ass’n v. United Airlines,

802 F.2d 886, 913 (7th Cir. 1986) (“unless a person has

‘The Supreme Court granted certiorari on an issue regarding the

status of cross-over employees, but did not address the issue of re-

placement trainees. Trans World Airlines v. Independent Federation of

Flight Attendants, 489 U.S. 426 (1989).

7 The RLA provides coverage to “every air pilot or other person who

performs any work as an employee or subordinate official of such car-

rier or carriers, subject to its or their continuing authority to supervise

and direct the manner of rendition of his service.”’ 45 U.S.C. § 181.

« I ae A NY i RE ar teh nll Ad

27a

performed services for the employer under that employer’s

supervision he is not an employee for purposes of the

RLA”’), cert. denied, 480 U.S. 946 (1987).

To the extent that the pilot trainees in the instant case

had not performed the work ordinarily discharged by the

striking pilots, the trainees were not employees protected

by the RLA. Trainees, to be sure, are not qualified to

perform in the stead of the striking pilots. In fact, they

may never be. Optimistically, they may ultimately fill the

shoes of the striking employees. It would be presumptuous

and premature, therefore, to afford trainees permanent

replacement status which would otherwise permit EAST-

ERN to keep them in its employ notwithstanding the ter-

mination of the strike. As the Eighth Circuit has remarked:

[T]o amass a trainee pool capable of replacing

the entire striking workforce at some future date

after the strike has ended . . . is inconsistent with

the RLA’s grant of protections to those persons

who actually perform services for the employer.

Flight Attendants, 819 F.2d at 846.

That EASTERN trainees do not enjoy permanent re-

placement status under RLA is consistent with the bal-

ancing analysis germane to NLRA disputes. See Mackay,

304 U.S. 333 (1938). The inquiry that has continuously

controlled the issue of reinstatement rights under the

Mackay rule is whether the failure to reinstate returning

strikers is necessary for the continued operation of the

business. If so, the action is deemed to be a legitimate

and substantial business justification. Fleetwood Trailer,

389 U.S. at 378. The need to continue employer’s oper-

ations is particularly salient here, in light of the RLA’s

concern for the continued operation of this country’s vital

network of transportation industries.

While this court agrees that EASTERN had a legitimate

and substantial business justification to replace striking

28a

pilots with replacement pilots who could promptly assume

the requisite duties and responsibilities of striking pilots,

the same does not hold true with regard to trainees. Hiring

trained, qualified pilots is congruous with the undisputed

purpose of the RLA: providing for uninterrupted trans-

portation service, thereby maintaining the status quo. En-

listing a fleet of unqualified trainees for potential future

hiring needs, however, satisfies a concern significantly

more remote. To be sure, trainees cannot fly revenue rais-

ing flights until they have completed the training program.

Their utility to the airline is contingent upon becoming

qualified for the position.* Thus, contracting with unqual-

ified persons for future employment as pilots did not serve

to fill the void left by the striking pilots, at least not until

some later date.

And, the inquiry now is whether Eastern has a legiti-

mate and substantial business justification for preferring

unprepared trainees over striking pilots who have returned

to work. In this vein, the Supreme Court has held that:

In some situations, “legitimate and substantial

business justifications” for refusing to reinstate

striking employees who engaged in an economic

strike, have been recognized. One is when the

jobs claimed by the strikers are occupied by work-

ers hired as permanent replacements during the

strike in order to continue operations.

* Although the former Fifth Circuit stated in Nationc: IJ, 430 F.2d

at 961, that included among those “hired” as permanent replacements,

are persons ‘“‘subsequently ... divested of the job for failure to pass

medical or security clearance,”’ ante at 7, this court does not read that

passage to mean that a trainee, unqualified for the position ne is seek-

ing, must be accorded permanent replacement status. Even if the court

would accord such status to an otherwise qualified person when not

able to meet medical or security clearance, that does not compel the

same conclusion for a person inherently incapable of performing the

job in question because of lack of skill and training.

eet SD le th lL at, a tO AO Mar

.

:

y

4

3

:

a

a

7

29a

Fleetwood Trailer, 389 U.S. at 379 (emphasis added). Thus,

EASTERN has no legitimate business justification in choos-

ing to employ trainees who have not yet occupied pilot

positions, over unconditionally available, striking pilots,

even if it has enforceable contractual obligations to the

trainees. Id.; cf. Belknap, 463 U.S. at 512 (employer may

be liable in contract to ousted replacement pilots, even

though forced to reinstate strikers in an unfair labor prac-

tices dispute).

III. CONCLUSION

That the striking pilots are entitled to displace trainees

does not necessarily imply that Eastern acted unreasonably

in cultivating a sizable training pool of potential pilots to

assuage a future crisis. But this court must balance com-

peting interests: the rights of striking pilots to return to

their jobs against management’s efforts to maintain the

status quo throughout the strike. After careful consider-

ation, this court concludes that the Mfackay balance weighs

in favor of reinstating the striking pilots in place of the

trainees. Accordingly, it is hereby

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED as follows:

[1] that ALPA’s Motion for Preliminary Injunctive Re-

lief under Count I of ALPA’s Counterclaims be

GRANTED;

[2] that ALPA’s Motion for Summary Judgment be

GRANTED;

[3] that EASTERN AIR LINES, INC.’s Motion for Sum-

mary Judgment be DENIED.

30a

DONE AND ORDERED in Chambers at Miami, Florida,

this 3lst day of July, 1990.

/s/ Edward B. Davis

EDWARD B. DAVIS

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

ec: Counsel of record

rap/hms 073190

3la

APPENDIX C

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 90-5658

EASTERN AIR LINES, INC.,

Plaintiff-Counterclaim

Defendant-Appellant,

versus

AIR LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION

INTERNATIONAL, EASTERN AIR

LINES MASTER EXECUTIVE COUNCIL,

Defendants-Counterclaim

Plaintiffs-Appellees.

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Southern District of Florida

FILED

U.S. COURT OF APPEALS

ELEVENTH CIRCIUT

MARCH 15, 1991

MIGUEL J. CORTEZ

CLERK

ON PETITION(S) FOR REHEARING AND

SUGGESTION(S) OF REHEARING EN BANC

(Opinion December 20, 1990 , 11th Cir., 19 , __ F.2d

me

32a

Before: HATCHETT and ANDERSON, Circuit Judges, and

ESCHBACH", Senior Circuit Judge.

PER CURIAM:

( X ) The Petition(s) for Rehearing are DENIED and no

member of this panel nor other Judge in regular active

service on the Court having requested that the Court be

polled on rehearing en banc (Rule 35, Federal Rules of

Appellate Procedure; Eleventh Circuit Rule 35-5), the Sug-

gestion(s) of Rehearing En Banc are DENIED.

( ) The Petition(s) for Rehearing are DENIED and the

Court having been polled at the request of one of the

members of the Court and a majority of the Circuit Judges

who are in regular active service not having voted in favor

of it (Rule 35, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure; Elev-

enth Circuit Rule 35-5), the Suggestion(s) of Rehearing En

Banc are also DENIED.

( ) A member of the Court in active service having

requested a poll on the reconsideration of this cause en

banc, and a majority of the judges in active service not

having voted in favor of it, Rehearing En Banc is DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/s/ Joseph W. Hatchett

UNITED STATES CIRCUIT JUDGE

* Honorable Jesse E. Eschbach, Senior U.S. Circuit ORD-42

Judge for the Seventh Circuit, sitting by designation. (9/90)

ae

33a

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 90-5658

D.C. Docket No. 89-1630-Civ-EBD

EASTERN AIR LINES, INC.,

Plaintiff-Counterclaim

Defendant-Appellant,

SA eh NN

versus

AIR LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION

INTERNATIONAL, EASTERN AIR

LINES MASTER EXECUTIVE COUNCIL,

Defendants-Counterclaim

Plaintiffs-Appellees.

Sr ew a ee Sm

. Appeal from the United States District Court

a: or the Southern District of Florida

Before HATCHETT and ANDERSON, Circuit Judges, and

ESCHBACH"’, Senior Circuit Judge.

JUDGMENT

This cause came to be heard on the transcript of the

record from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Florida, and was argued by counsel;

ANDERSON, Circuit Judge, dissented and filed an opinion.

* Honorable Jessee E. Eschbach, Senior U.S. Circuit Judge for the

Seventh Circuit, sitting by designation.

34a

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is now hereby

ordered and adjudged by this Court that the judgment of

the said District Court in this cause be and the same is

hereby AFFIRMED; and that this cause be and the same

is hereby REMANDED to said District Court in accord-

ance with the opinion of this Court;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that plaintiff-counterclaim

defendant-appellant pay defendants-counterclaim plaintiffs-

appellees the costs on appeal to be taxed by the Clerk of

this Court.

Entered: December 20, 1991

For the Court: Miguel J. Cortez, Clerk

By: /s/ Karleen McNabb

Deputy Clerk

ISSUED AS MANDATE: March 26, 1991

- es

35a

APPENDIX E

(ATTACHMENTS OMITTED)

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

MIAMI DIVISION

Case No. 89-1630-CIV-DAVIS

EASTERN AIR LINES, INC.,

Plaintiff,

v.

AIR LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION,

INTERNATIONAL, and EASTERN AIR

LINES MASTER EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

Defendants.

DECLARATION OF ALAN C. GIBSON

I, Alan C. Gibson, do hereby swear and affirm as fol-

lows:

1. I am Staff Vice President, Labor Relations at Eastern

Air Lines, Inc. (“Eastern’’), a position I assumed on Au-

gust 11, 1987. In this position, I have day-to-day respon-

sibility for the development, implementation and

administration of all labor relations policies and collective

bargaining agreements of Eastern, including those gov-

erning the employment of Eastern pilots represented by

the Air Line Pilots Association, International (‘‘ALPA’’).

With the exception of a five month period in 1966, I have

been continuously employed by Eastern since 1964 in var-

ious positions concerning either the administration of labor

relations policies governing the employment of Eastern

pilots represented by ALPA, pilot crew scheduling or pilot

36a

bidding and utilization. I offer this Declaration to provide

factual information supporting Eastern’s position that its

new hire pilots in training are properly treated by Eastern

as permanent replacements for the formerly striking pilots

and, like all other Eastern pilots, properly hold a seniority

date as of their first day of training at Eastern. I also

offer this Declaration to clarify certain misrepresentations

reflected in the Declaration of J. Randolph Babbitt (“Bab-

bitt Dec.’’) submitted by ALPA in support of its motion

for summary judgment and for preliminary injunctive re-

lief.

I. BACKGROUND

| 2. ALPA’s Offer To Return To Work. At 5:30 p.m.

; EST on Wednesday, November 22, 1989, I received a tele-

phone call from Charles Copeland, Master Executive Chair-

man for ALPA at Eastern. Mr. Copeland read aloud to

me a letter which he stated was then being faxed to me.

The letter stated that ALPA was terminating its strike

against Eastern which had begun on March 4, 1989 and

was making an unconditional offer to return to work on

behalf of pilots still on strike.’

3. Pilot Employment As Of ALPA’s Offer. Of the ap-

proximately 3500 active pilots at Eastern as of March 3,

1989, 214 never honored ALPA’s strike, and 754 had par-

ticipated in the strike for some time but had individually

offered to return to work prior to ALPA’s offer on No-

vember 22 (“crossover pilots’). Of the crossover pilots,

844 had been recalled to active service, with their full

seniority, prior to ALPA’s November 22 offer to return;

30 had been recalled but had not yet begun retraining as

of that date; and 94 had not been recalled but remained

on the preferential recall list as of that date. In addition

‘Mr. Copeland subsequently advised Eastern that individual striking

pilots might want to continue to honor the picket line of the IAM,

which continues on strike to this date.

2 J ee ie | a

alates

lt tah te sme eave

37a

to the 968 crossover pilots, during the ALPA strike East-

ern hired 1223 new hire pilots, of whom 936 remain in

Eastern’s employment today. Of the new hires still at

Eastern, 709 had completed their training and were in line

service as pilots as of 5:30 p.m. on November 22, 1989;

227 new hires remained in training. Of those 227 new hire

pilots in training on November 22, 19 remained in training

as of January 12, 1990. Of the remaining, 183 completed

training and are now at work in revenue service; 25 have

left Eastern’s employ.

4. Eastern Delayed New Hire Training To Accom-

modate Returning Strikers. Following ALPA’s strike on

March 4, 1989, only 6% of Eastern’s pilots elected to

report for work, and Eastern was therefore forced to can-

cel all but a small portion of its schedule.? On March 6,

1989 Eastern’s President, Phil Bakes, publicly pleaded with

Eastern’s pilots to return to work in order ‘‘to save East-

ern and to save your jobs,” and the jobs of thousands of

other Eastern employees who were promptly furloughed

due to the strike.? On March 6-8, 1989, Eastern unsuc-

cessfully sought an injunction to compel ALPA to termi-

nate pilot participation in the strike. Subsequently, on

From March 4 through June 8, Eastern was able to operate only

its Eastern Shuttle, its South American routes, and a few other do-

mestic routes, in total approximately 10% of its pre-strike schedule.

On March 6, 1989 Eastern promulgated Return-To-Work procedures

to govern the reinstatement of striking pilots to available positions.

Attachment A. The Procedures clearly indicated that strikers were

welcome to return to available positions, but that a returning striker

could not displace a working pilot. The Procedures provided that stri-

kers would be reinstated in the order in which they made offers to

return to work, subject to qualifications. These Procedures have been

consistently utilized to date. Since the start of the strike 874 returning

strikers have been reinstated to active service in accord with these

Procedures. Eastern has not considered positions to be available where

it has made a commitment to a new hire pilot to fill the position,

whether or not that new hire pilot has completed the training necessary

for the position.

28a

March 9, 1989, the economic consequences of the strike

by its pilots forced Eastern to file for reorganization under

Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code.‘ Eastern quickly con-

cluded that a successful reorganization would depend on

the speed with which it would be able to return to the

marketplace and attempt to recapture market share. That

speed, however, was restricted by the number of pilots

immediately available, complexities of pilot training and

staffing, and the limitations of Eastern’s pilot training

facilities.° Accordingly, Eastern announced its intention to

gradually rebuild its flight schedule and on March 21, 1989

began recruiting and advertising for new pilots to staff

its operations as permanent replacements for the striking

pilots. I was placed in charge of the initial phases of the

new pilot hiring program.

5. Although in the early months of the ALPA strike

there were few crossovers,® by June 1989, after it became

‘ALPA was fully aware that its actions might force Eastern into

bankruptcy. In an ALPA videotape distributed to Eastern pilots three

weeks prior to the strike, ALPA’s financial advisor, Farrell Kupersmith,

acknowledged that Eastern might go into bankruptcy if the pilots went

on strike. Attachment B at 13. In a videotape distributed to employees

three days prior to the strike, Eastern Chairman Frank Lorenzo stated

that “Eastern does not have the financial resources to be able to

withstand a strike.’’ Attachment C at 2. On March 7, 1989, at a federal

court hearing on Eastern’s motion for a temporary restraining order

preventing ALPA from striking, ALPA’s counsel further confirmed that

ALPA was aware of the consequences of its actions, asking rhetorically

“Don’t you think the Eastern pilots are aware that what they are doing

might result in a Chapter 11 proceeding?” Attachment D at 100.

* Pilot training requires the extensive use of very sophisticated cockpit

and flight simulators, and the availability of simulator time is a dom-

inant factor in determining a carrier’s maximum pilot training capa-

bility. Eastern maintains 9 simulators and can, if operating at its

maximum capability, train approximately 130 pilots per month. East-

ern’s pilot training department has operated at its maximum capability

since March 27, 1989 and continues to do so today. In an effort to

increase its training capability during the strike Eastern unsuccessfully

attempted to contract for simulator time with other carriers, a common

industry practice.

* Between March 27 and July 30, 168 formerly striking pilots became

39a

apparent that Eastern was continuing to operate, was suc-

cessfully finding a more than adequate supply of qualified

new hire applicants, and was proceeding to reorganize, the

number of crossovers began to increase. By late July and

early August 1989, ALPA’s leadership and general mem-

bership were publicly debating the possibility of an offer

to return to work. While the leadership and a majority of

those who voted in a general membership vote ultimately

rejected that option at that time, 307 striking pilots, ap-

parently spurred by the debate, made offers to return to

work between August 1 and August 11, 1989. In light of

the sudden availability of so many crossovers, Eastern an-

nounced on that date that it was terminating its pilot

hiring program and that it would not commence any ad-

ditional new hire training classes (although a large number

of qualified candidates had already been interviewed for

such classes). An additional 279 striking pilots made in-

dividual offers to return to work after August 11 and prior

to ALPA’s offer on November 22. As of November 22

(and continuing as of the date of this Declaration), 874

crossover pilots had been recalled to work in accordance

with Eastern’s Recall-To-Work Procedures: 94 crossover

pilots remain on the preferential recall list in the order in

which they made their offers to return.

6. As a result of the availability of the additional 307

crossover pilots, Eastern “stretched out’’ the training of

those new hire pilots already in class to make possible the

more rapid recall and requalification training of the re-

turning strikers, thus permitting a more rapid expansion

of its flight schedule in the Fall months. If Eastern had

not adjusted its pilot training schedule to accommodate

and facilitate the return of the striking pilots, substantially

all of the 227 new hire pilots at issue would have concluded

crossovers. In accordance with Eastern’s Return-To-Work Procedures,

all were promptly recalled with full seniority, went through requalifi-

cation training and returned to work.

40a

their training prior to ALPA’s offer to return on Novem-

ber 22, 1989. Thus, contrary to Mr. Babbitt’s suggestion

of hostile discrimination by Eastern against returning stri-

kers, see Babbitt Dec. at ¢ 7, Eastern’s voluntary decision

to advance the requalification training of the crossovers

actually made it possible for them to return to work faster

than was otherwise required.

II. THE NATURE OF PILOT TRAINING AT EASTERN.

7. Every pilot hired by Eastern during the strike was

already licensed by the Federal Aviation Administration

as an airline transport pilot or commercial pilot with multi-

engine rating and instrument rating. In addition, each ap-

plicant had to possess the following minimum qualifications

in order to receive further consideration for employment

at Eastern: (i) 1,200 hours of fixed wing flight time, and

(ii) 200 hours of pilot in command of multiengine aircraft

(or military equivalent) flight time.” Thus, every pilot ap-

plicant offered employment by Eastern is already an FAA

licensed and qualified pilot. Despite such qualifications,

every pilot hired at Eastern has always been required to

complete further training under Eastern’s FAA-required

and approved Pilot Training Program. This program pro-

vides Eastern-specific training to each new hire pilot,

training them in Eastern’s flight operations and flight crew

management procedures and Eastern’s specific cockpit

equipment configurations for the type of aircraft to which

they were assigned.® The FAA-approved training program

7 Since the commencement of ALPA’s strike against Eastern on March

4, 1989, most of Eastern’s new hire pilots have substantially exceeded

these qualifications, frequently including years of experience as pilot in

command for charter, supplemental and commuter carriers. Pilots hired

since the beginning of ALPA’s strike have possessed an average of

approximately 5,700 hours of pilot flight time experience.

* While the aircraft and operating procedures of most major carriers

are similar, each carrier has unique features in its equipment and pro-

cedure.

- on ot tae cir O

4la

includes an Eastern-specific syllabus for pilot training for

each pilot position (Captain, First Officer, Second Officer)

on each type of aircraft in Eastern’s fleet. New hire pilots

are trained in basic Eastern operating procedures and then

in the specific position and equipment to which they will

be assigned. During training each pilot is subject to the

supervision and control of Eastern Flight Operations man-

agement personnel.’ Neither the basic structure nor the

requirements of its Pilot Training Program were changed

during the ALPA strike (due to facility constraints, how-

ever, pilot training was requiring at least eight weeks to

complete, longer than prior to the strike).'°

8. The Eastern-specific training which a new hire East-

ern pilot receives would be of limited use to that pilot if

he resigned from Eastern to join another major carrier

with similar aircraft equipment, because the pilot would

have to complete that carrier’s training program.!! Again,

the training at issue here is not training to learn how to

be a pilot; all of Eastern’s new hire pilots are fully qual-

ified and licensed FAA pilots with thousands of hours of

flight experience. The training they are required to com-

* Following his or her acceptance of an offer of employment as a

pilot with Eastern, each new hire pilot is assigned by Eastern to report

to a scheduled initial pilot training program. At the outset of the

program, all pilots in training are advised of Eastern’s rules and reg-

ulations regarding their conduct as Eastern employees generally and

their attendance and performance in the training program. All such

pilots in training have their entire training schedules set by Eastern,

including the starting and ending time of classes, duration of breaks

and location of accommodation during training.

© As stated, as a result of the August influx of a large number of

crossover pilots, the training for new hire pilots was stretched out to

accommodate the training of returning strikers, and in some cases has

taken up to 4 months.

"| Tllustrative of this point is Eastern’s experience in its 1973 merger

with Caribair. Caribair pilots who were qualified as DC-9 Captains were

nonetheless required to undergo full re-training as DC-9 Captains under

the Eastern training syllabus.

42a

plete is to familiarize them with Eastern procedures and

equipment and is no different from the training required

by veteran Eastern pilots when they change position or

aircraft type. In fact, Eastern has an “up or out’’ policy,

whereby veteran Eastern pilots must, to continue their

employment at Eastern, eventually successfully complete

the same training for a Captain position as required by

Eastern’s new hire pilots who have been trained for such

positions.

9. Pursuant to FAA regulations, see 14 C.F.R. § 121.433

(‘Training Required’’), Eastern’s Pilot Training Program

includes ground school (technical classroom training com-

plete with written examinations) and extensive use of so-

phisticated cockpit and flight simulators. Pursuant to a

separate FAA regulation, see 14 C.F.R. § 121.4385 (‘‘Op-

erating Experience’), following the completion of the East-

ern Pilot Training Program, each pilot is required to fulfill

anywhere from 10-25 hours of operating experience on the

aircraft for which he has been trained. Such experience,

referred to as Initial Operating Experience (““IOE’’), is

obtained by the new hire pilot or veteran Eastern pilot

on assuming a crew member position on a revenue flight,

under the supervision of a “check pilot,” who observes

the new hire’s performance. A pilot’s IOE does not take

place until the pilot has completed all appropriate ground

and flight training as prescribed by 14 C.F.R. § 121.433,

and have been assigned as a regular pilot to a pilot dom-

icile. Indeed, the only reference to a pilot’s “‘initial on-line

qualification” in the Eastern-ALPA agreement is found in

Section 27(T) (“Assignment Of Flying At A Domicile’)

(Attachment E), not in Section 26 (“Training’’).”

2 Mr. Babbitt’s statement that pilot training at Eastern includes IOE

is a gross mischaracterization. Babbitt Dec. at q 5. Initial operating

experience is only necessary to obtain FAA certification, and is clearly

not part of his Eastern provided training and is not included on any

pilot training syllabus. Thus, at Eastern, a new hire pilot’s IOE occurs

ee ti

43a

III. PILOTS IN TRAINING AT EASTERN HAVE ALWAYS

BEEN RECOGNIZED IN ALL RESPECTS AS EM-

PLOYEES IN THE SERVICE OF EASTERN

10. Mr. Babbitt’s Declaration acknowledges that new

hire pilots in initial training have always been awarded

pilot seniority numbers and accrued seniority from their

first day of training. Babbitt Dec. ¢ 9. Incredibly, Mr. Bab-

bitt nonetheless erroneously asserts that such pilots are

not treated as Eastern employees under the Eastern-ALPA

contract or past practice. This assertion is belied not only

by the award of a seniority number but also by the fact

that new hire pilots have always been treated as in the

“service” of Eastern and have received pay, and accrued

seniority, vacation, sick leave and service credit for pen-

sion purposes under the Eastern-ALPA contract from their

first day of training, which is considered to be their ‘‘date

of hire.’’®

after the pilot completes training and reports to his or her assigne*

domicile and is accomplished while the pilot is flying in revenue service.

‘8 Mr. Babbitt’s assertions are also belied by positions taken by ALPA

in grievance proceedings conducted pursuant to the Eastern-ALPA

agreement. For example, in the grievances of Robert S. Braunstein

and Kenneth Nease, which were heard together on June 25, 1987,

ALPA’s representative, Mr. John Loomos, took the position that the

Eastern-ALPA agreement governed new hire pilots while in training.

“Section 26 of the Agreement ... protects the pilot from having to

pay for any training that he receives while he is in the employ of

Eastern; that would be training which is necessary for him to obtain

or maintain his qualifications to function as an Eastern pilot.” Attach-

ment G at 7-8. During that same hearing, Mr. Loomos stated that “‘[a

pilot’s] name goes on the seniority roster at the date you are hired.

We all know the rates of pay and working conditions of these pilots

or any pilot hired by Eastern is governed by the Agreement (between

Eastern and ALPA).” Jd. at 26. Likewise, in a grievance filed on June

7, 1989, ALPA represented one of the pilot’s hired as a permanent

replacement during the strike who had been terminated by Eastern

prior to the completion of his initial training. Attachment H. Thus, Mr.

Babbitt’s assertions that new hire pilots in training are not represented

by ALPA and are not covered by the Eastern-ALPA agreement are

contradictory to positions previously adopted by ALPA.

44a

11. New Hire Pilots In Training At Eastern Have

Always Been Placed On The Payroll On Their First Day

In Training. Section 3-B of the Eastern-ALPA Agree-

ment, “Longevity Pay Rates’’ (attached hereto as Attach-

ment F, as amended February 23, 1986) provides as

follows:

Pilots in their first year of

accredited service with Eastern as

a pilot shall be paid only a

monthly salary calculated in

accordance with the following table:

lst six months $1,450.00

2nd six months $1,600.00"

During my entire 25 years of service at Eastern, new hire

pilots arriving at Eastern have been placed on the payroll

pursuant to this provision, or its predecessors, on their

first day of training at Eastern,* which is usually six to

eight weeks prior to their first flight as a pilot in revenue

service for Eastern. Thus, initial training has consistently

been recognized and treated by both Eastern and ALPA

as in the “service” of Eastern. All pilots hired by Eastern

since March 4, 1989 have been placed on the payroll on

their first day of training in accordance with this prac-

tice.* To illustrate the past application of this provision,

I enclose as Attachment I copies of training and personnel

records for four pilots which show that historically a new

“In an effort to attract qualified new hire pilots during the strike,

Eastern has such pilots salaries somewhat higher than those specified

in the agreement.

“On their first of training new hire pilots are issued an employee

identification number and an identification card which is identical to

those of all Eastern employees.

“ Eastern begins deducting all applicable taxes (i.e., federal and state

withholding and social security taxes) and begins paying unemployment

insurance commencing with a new hire pilot’s first day of training.

New hire pilots also become eligible for employee passes on their first

day of training.

45a

hire pilot’s date of employment for the purpose of semi-

annual pay increases required by the Eastern-ALPA agree-

ment, 1.e., “pay progression date,” is also the first day

the pilot reports to training.

12. New Hire Pilots In Training At Eastern Have

Always Been Placed On The Seniority List And Have

Accrued Seniority From Their First Day of Training.

Section 18-B of the Eastern-ALPA Agreement, attached

hereto as Attachment J, provides:

Except as provided in Section 19 of this Agree-

ment, seniority shall begin to accrue from the

date a pilot is first placed on the payroll on reg-

ular pilot status, at which time he will be given

a concurrent seniority number and from which

date seniority shall continue to accrue during his

period of service.

Pursuant to this provision, during my entire tenure at

Eastern, new hire pilots always have been placed on the

Eastern pilot seniority list as of their first day of train-

ing.'? This practice has continued unchanged as to all pilots

hired by Eastern since March 4, 1989. To illustrate the

past application of this provision, I enclose as Attachment

K, two separate intercompany memoranda which record

the assignment of seniority dates and numbers to new hire

pilots in training, always as of their first day of training.

The ALPA MEC Chairman at that time (L.D. Schulte or

J.J. Bavis) is shown as a recipient of each memorandum.

13. Under the Eastern-ALPA Agreement, A Pilot’s

“‘Service’’ At Eastern Commences From The First Day

Of Training. In my twenty-five year experience at East-

ern, the “date of hire” of a pilot has always been consid-

ered by both Eastern and ALPA to be the date he reports

‘7 In fact, a new hire pilot’s relative seniority within his training class

will be used to award him or her initial domicile assignment, subject

only to the positions available at the time.

46a

for training; “service” as a pilot has always been calcu-

lated to run from that date of hire for all purposes. For

example, pursuant to Documents 90 (‘A Plan’) and 91

(“B Plan’’) (see Attachments L and M) a pilot’s date of

hire controls accrual of service credits under both of East-

ern’s pilot pension plans. To illustrate, Attachment N,

Eastern pension information reports and training records

on three individual pilots, demonstrates that the original

employment date and active service date for pension cal-

culation purposes are calculated from the first day of train-

ing. Pursuant to Section 16(A\1) of the Agreement

(‘Vacations’) (Attachment 0), a “newly employed pilot”

accrues vacation days commencing with his or her first

day of training. Pursuant to Section 38 (“Sick Leave’’)

(Attachment P), pilots also accrue sick leave ‘for each

month of service’’ which commences with the first day of

training. Similarly, under Document 12, Paragraph 13 of

the Eastern-ALPA Agreement (Attachment Q), a pilot be-

comes eligible for participation in Eastern’s medical in-

surance plan after Laving “attained sixty (60) days of

company active service,” which service commences on the

first day of training. For at least the past 25 years, with

the knowledge and approval of ALPA, Eastern has treated

all new hire pilots in initial training as in the service of

Eastern for purposes of vacation accrual, sick leave ac-

crual, pension service credit and eligibility for medical in-

surance. Thus, Mr. Babbitt’s assertion that a new hire pilot

in training is not covered by the Eastern-ALPA agreement

is belied by the overwhelming practice of the parties. The

fact that trainees do not pay union dues is not relevant

because pilots are not required to pay union dues during

the period they are probationary pilots.

IV. EASTERN HAS PROMISED ITS NEW HIRE PILOTS

THAT THEY WOULD BE PERMANENT REPLACE-

MENTS AS OF THEIR FIRST DAY OF TRAINING.

14. Eastern began advertising and recruiting for new

pilots on March 21, 1989, planning to start its first new

47a

hire training class on March 27, 1989. All recruiting ma-

terials noted the existence of a labor dispute and stated

that new pilots, once hired, would be permanent replace-

ments for striking pilots; 7.e.,that they would not be subject

to displacement if favor of returning strikers.”

15. ALPA Proclaimed That Eastern Would Not Be

Able To Recruit Sufficient Qualified Pilots. One of AL-

PA’s propaganda themes to convince its members to re-

main on strike was that, unlike the circumstances during

the ALPA strike against Continental Airlines in 1983, there

were no longer sufficient qualified pilots available for East-

ern to be able to replace them. See Attachment S. Indeed,

during a conversation I had with Mr. Babbitt, in July 1989,

he stated that ALPA had not expected that Eastern would

be able to recruit sufficient qualified pilots to replace those

on strike.

16. ALPA’s Campaign To Discourage New Hire Pilots

From Accepting Employment With Eastern. ALPA’s re-

sponse to Eastern’s bankruptcy and announced intent to

hire new pilots was prompt and hostile. ALPA publicly

supported the sale of Eastern to third parties and publicly

stated that it would not negotiate with, or return to work

for, current Eastern management. See Attachment T.

While ALPA proclaimed that Eastern could not hire suf-

ficient pilots to operate, it nonetheless promptly launched

a campaign to discourage potential applicants from even

considering employment at Eastern. ALPA created and

* Eastern was 2ware that commitments of permanent replacement

status to new hire pilots could become an obstacle to an early settlement

of the strike. Accordingly, still hopeful that striking pilots would return

in large numbers before their replacements finished training, Eastern

initially elected to make a change from its past practice described in

4{ 10-13, supra, and advised its initial recruits that they would become

Eastern employees and attain permanent replacement status as pilots

upon completion of their training, rather than upon its commencement,

as in the past. A copy of Eastern’s initial March 1989 ‘Fact Sheet”

for pilot recruits is Attachment R.

48a

distributed at least three special information packages for

prospective pilot applicants which are enclosed as Attach-

ments U, V, and W. These packages reflect the hostile

comments and themes which ALPA had already begun to

utilize by word of mouth among pilots to discourage ap-

) plications at Eastern. Among the statements circulated by

| ALPA were the following:

Eastern is attempting to hire SCABS .... Un-

) derstand this: the day you sign your name in any

| way to a document at Eastern Air Lines you

have committed suicide in your airline career. . .

All new hires will be furloughed before they ever

get started and will be in every airline’s computer

| as a SCAB and forever unhireable.

Att. U, at p. 2 (emphasis added)

Why are you not an Eastern employee until suc-

| cessful completion of training? .. . Is the training

|

| program a numbers game to show the bankruptcy

) judge?

Att. U, at p. 20

According to ALPA, new pilots will be consid-

ered strike-breaking pilots whenever they report

for any flight operations function—including re-

current or initial training if a strike is in prog-

ress.

*>_ * *&

Traditionally, flying a revenue trip has been the

confirmation of strike-breaking status. However,

ALPA now says that once a strike has begun,

presence on the property for training of any kind

will place pilots in a strike-breaking status.

Att. V, Part 2 at page 6.

49a

ALPA—[you will be considered] a strike-breaker

by all airline pilots the day you start training.

A SCAB, like a tattoo, is forever.

Att. W, at p. 12 (emphasis added)

17. The Results Of ALPA’s Cempaign. As of March

24 it was clear to Eastern’s pilot recruiters that many

qualified pilot candidates were available and interested but

hesitant—largely because of ALPA’s hostile rhetoric and

threats by ALPA representatives that new hire pilots

would be displaced promptly at the conclusion of the strike

since they would not be considered employees until suc-

cessfully completing training. While many highly experi-

enced pilots who formerly flew for charter or freight or

commuter carriers expressed interest, they also expressed

a reluctance to terminate their current employment with-

out firmer assurances from Eastern. Accordingly, Eastern

decided to advise all applicants that it was offering em-

ployment and permanent replacement status, effective from

the first day of pilot training, thus returning to Eastern’s

longstanding policy and practice. On March 27, 1989, I

caused the recruiting literature to be revised accordingly.

A copy of the revised ‘‘Fact Sheet’’ for pilot recruits is

enclosed as Attachment X.

18. Eastern’s Promises To The New Hire Pilots. All

of Eastern’s new hire pilot trainee classes have been re-

peatedly assured by senior management officials, including

Mr. Bakes (President of Eastern), Mr. Matthews (Senior

Vice President Human Resources), and Captain Frank Cau-

sey (Eastern’s Vice President for Flight Operations during

the period when all of the new hire training classes com-

menced) that they would be given seniority numbers and

treated as permanent replacement employees from their

first day of training. I firmly believe that such assurances

have been absolutely essential to Eastern’s recruiting and

have helped to avoid any massive attrition from the train-

50a

ing program in response to ALPA’s threats and efforts

at intimidation.”

V. ALPA’s Threats Against Working Pilots.

19. Mr. Babbitt’s suggestion that ALPA seeks to vin-

dicate the rights of crossover pilots in this litigation is

disingenuous. Babbitt Dec. ¢ 6. ALPA has made no secret

of its contempt for pilots who crossed the picket line and

returned to work, and has leveled a barrage of unflattering

remarks at such pilots, calling them such names as “‘scabs,”’

“crawl backs,” and ‘“‘scum.”’ Attachment Y. In fact, ALPA

has actively sought to discipline members who abandoned

the strike, relying on reports from the then striking pilots

in the field to compile a list of suspected strikebreakers

for review by ALPA’s Article § Committee, the group

responsible for coordinating the punishment of strikebreak-

ers for violation of ALPA’s Constitution and Bylaws.

ALPA also urged its members to draft and sign sworn

statements that they had witnessed those pilots who dish-

onored the strike:

[T]he Article 8 proceedings against scabs are on-

going in the Atlanta Base. We need signed state-

ments from pilots who have made contact with

scabs, talked to the scabs and seen the scabs at

work. This is your chance to push people who

have jeopardized your career in their own jeop-

ardy. Please return any statements to us early

| next week.

/ Attachment Z; see also Attachments AA and BB. Thus,

; ALPA made it clear that pilots who returned to work for

. '* During the course of their training program, Eastern’s new hire

pilots have been housed at various hotels in Miami. From the date our

first trainee class arrived, striking ALPA pilots have been stationed

at these hotels almost continuously. The striking pilots’ apparent mis-

sion was to talk the trainees out of their interest in Eastern, whether

by cajolery or coercion.

|

5la

Eastern by signing the preferential recall list immediately

became ‘‘scabs” subject to union discipline:

[P}ilots who have called or gone in to have their

names put on a recall list will be removed from

the list of those eligible to draw strike benefit

checks ... [and] are considered to be scabs... .

[T]he act of signing up for recall subjects every

pilot doing so to the filing of Article 8 charges

and the implementation of a minimum $10,000.00

fine, even if the individual has resigned from

ALPA.

Attachment CC; see also Attachment DD. Indeed, as al-

ready found by the United States Bankruptcy Court for

the Southern District of New York, ALPA repeatedly man-

ifested its hostility to the veteran Eastern pilots who

elected to work during the strike:

ALPA’s assertion that it has commenced the law-

suit [seeking to enjoin Eastern’s lease of aircraft

with crews from anether company for the pur-

pose of performing Eastern flying during the

strike] on behalf of and to benefit its employees

who desire to return to work with Eastern is

disingenuous and in contradiction to ALPA’s

avowed strike policies which are calculated to dis-

courage any of its members from returning to

work for Eastern. Returnees are treated by

ALPA with the utmost contempt and subject to

disincentive sanctions.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions 01 Law, Eastern Air

Lines, Inc. v. Air Line Pilots Association International (In

re Ionosphere Clubs, Inc.), Adversary Proc. No. 89-6143A

(Bankr. S-D.N.Y. entered October 4, 1989) at 8 4 27 (At-

tachment EE hereto).

ee ag OS

i Sette ieee

ht eee | ROS Ene ea _ ge tee teem eres ay et > tee

52a

VI. EASTERN’S STATUTORY RIGHT TO SELF HELP

WOULD BE MEANINGLESS IF IT CANNOT TREAT

NEW HIRE PILOTS AS PERMANENT REPLACE-

MENTS FROM THEIR FIRST DAY OF TRAINING

20. As discussed in ¢ 16, ALPA’s campaign to under-

mine Eastern’s pilot recruiting program focused heavily

on the lack of job security at Eastern and the fact that

trainees would be ‘“‘at risk.’”’ In my view, and as attested

by the Declarations of 49 new hire pilots, Eastern would

have been unable to attract the number of qualified pilots

who have applied and been hired to fill pilot positions

without a promise of permanent replacement status from

the first day of training. This is particularly true in light

of the high experience level of those pilots. A number of

these pilots had established themselves with substantial

seniority at smaller air carriers (charters, freight and com-

muter carriers) or as corporate pilots, but were frequently

regarded as “too old’”’ to be hired in junior position at

major carriers, where they would have to spend many

years to gain sufficient seniority to fly as Captain. Not

knowing when the ALPA strike might end, many such

pilots inquired extensively to assure themselves that they

would be guaranteed permanent replacement status from

their first day of training and would not be ‘“‘at risk’’ at

any time at Eastern once they had sold their businesses

or resigned their prior position, given up years of seniority,

and in some cases relocated themselves and their families.

Thus, in the absence of a promise of permanent replace-

ment status from the first day of training, Eastern’s sta-

tutory right to use permanent replacements to continue

operation would be rendered meaningless.

21. The reliability of Eastern’s promise of permanent

replacement status to all of its new hire pilots is also

crucial to Eastern’s ability to conduct future negotiations

with ALPA. At some point two or three or five years

from now, Eastern will again face negotiations with ALPA

on the next contract. During those negotiations, ALPA

53a

will surely threaten a strike if its demands are not met;

Eastern will be at a severe disadvantage if it is not equally

able to assert an intent to operate and to hire replacement

pilots if necessary. I believe that if Eastern dishonors its

promises to its new hire pilots in this dispute, it will be

unable to recruit and hire replacement pilots during any

future strike. ALPA would surely make all potential ap-

plicants aware of the unreliability of Eastern’s promises.

Eastern’s theoretical right to operate would be an empty

threat and Eastern would then be at ALPA’s mercy to

either capitulate at the bargaining table or to cease op-

erations for the duration of any strike. Thus, failure to

honor its commitments this time would totally emasculate

Eastern in future collective bargaining with any of its

labor unions. Eastern’s ability to conduct future negotia-

tions effectively thus compels it to honor its present com-

mitments of permanent replacement status to new hire

pilots from their first day of training.

VII. IRREPARABLE INJURY

22. Mr. Babbitt’s Declaration wrongly asserts that

“striking pilots can be requalified within a matter of days.”

Babbitt Dec. at ¢ 11. In fact, having now been out of the

cockpit for over 10 months, it would take a minimum of

10 days of training, to requalify a returning striker, pro-

vided that the pilot were returning to his or her prestrike

category position. However, the pilot vacancies for which

the pilots in training, as of November 22, were being

trained were among the most junior pilot positions avail-

able, including 105 B-727 second officers and 40 DC-9 first

officers. These were not the prestrike category positions

of either the 227 most senior strikers nor the 94 unrecalled

crossover pilots whose names remained on the preferential

recall list as of ALPA’s November 22 offer. Accordingly,

upon recall such senior returning strikers would require

full retraining, a process requiring up to 30 days and cost-

ing Eastern (depending upon whether the pilot requires

requalification, transition or upgrade training) any where

| 54a

from $9000-$35,000 per pilot,” and, due to the ongoing

training of working pilots, it would take months to com-

plete the retraining of over 220 returning pilots. Most

importantly, if this Court orders Eastern to displace the

227 pilots who were still in training on November 22,

Eastern will be forced to cancel hundreds of flights, thus

causing great inconvenience to the travelling public, and

costing Eastern millions of dollars in lost revenue, which

it desperately needs, and significant amounts of goodwill

at a time when it is struggling to recapture marketshare

and to reorganize. Eastern will be forced to cancel flights

because, as stated above, most of the returning strikers

affected by such an order will require up to 30 days of

training before they can resume line flying. However, it

is my firm conviction that a significant number of the

affected new hire pilots, knowing that they will be fur-

loughed by Eastern, will resign their employment with

Eastern before the returning strikers can be trained.

I declare, under penalty of perjury, that the foregoing

is true and correct to the best of my knowledge, infor-

mation and belief.

Executed this 16th day of January 1990.

/s/ Alan C. Gibson

Alan C. Gibson

20 Moreover, at the time of the next annual bid, which the Eastern-

ALPA agreement provides must be effective between June 1 and Au-

gust 1 of each year, these senior returning pilots will be able to assert

their seniority to obtain a higher permanent category positions, neces-

sitating additional training for them and, due to the “ripple effect’ of

such pilot staffing changes, the retraining of hundreds of other pilots

as well.

' =

55a

APPENDIX F

(ATTACHMENTS OMITTED)

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

MIAMI DIVISION

Case No. 89-1630-CIV-DAVIS

EASTERN AIR LINES, INC.,

Plaintiff,

v.

AIR LINE PILOTS ASSOCIATION,

INTERNATIONAL and EASTERN AIR

LINES MASTER EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

Defendants.

DECLARATION OF KAREN AVERILL

I, Karen Averill, do hereby swear and affirm as follows:

1. I served as the coordinator of pilot recruiting at East-

ern Air Lines, Inc. (‘‘Eastern’’) from March 14, 1989 until

August 11, 1989, when Eastern announced that it was

terminating its pilot hiring program in light of the large

influx of crossover pilots during the previous few weeks.

While the pilot hiring program was ongoing, I was re-

sponsible for the overall administration of the process by

which Eastern recruited, screened, and interviewed appli-

cants for pilot positions at Eastern. Prior to March 14,

1989, I was employed by Eastern for approximately three

years as a professional recruiter for prospective employees

in all job categories.

2. On March 21, 1989, two and a half weeks after ALPA

commenced its strike against Eastern, Eastern began to

EE ELD OTT ILO ae

ae Be

56a

advertise that it was hiring pilots to replace its striking

pilots. The advertisements clearly stated that Eastern was

offering full-time, permanent positions to new hire pilots.

A copy of Eastern’s standard pilot recruiting advertise-

ment is enclosed as Attachment A; a list of the newspapers

and dates on which this ad was run is enclosed as At-

tachment B.

3. Between March 21 and August 11, Eastern received

more than two thousand employment applications from

persons who fully satisfied, and indeed, in most instances,

far exceeded Eastern’s minimum qualifications for hire as

a line pilot.' However, aware of the close scrutiny that

the new hire pilots would receive, Eastern developed pro-

cedures to ensure that the pilots it hired would meet the

highest standards. In general, once a person’s employment

application was received, a pilot recruiter would contact

the applicant and conduct a telephone screening interview

to determine whether the pilot satisfied Eastern’s mini-

mum qualifications. If the pilot recruiter determined that

the pilot applicant satisfied Eastern’s minimum qualifica-

tions, Eastern sent the applicant an information package,

which contained an employment application, a fact sheet,

and other information about Eastern, and scheduled a pre-

hire interview with the applicant at the earliest available

date (generally within a few days after the applicant re-

ceived the information package).

4. The pre-hire interviewing process was rigorous, con-

sisting first of a group briefing conducted by a pilot re-

‘ Every pilot hired by Eastern during the strike was already licensed

by the Federal Aviation Administration as an airline transport pilot or

a commercial pilot with multiengine rating and instrument rating. In

addition, each applicant had to possess the following minimum quali-

fications in order to receive further consideration for employment at

Eastern: (i) 1,200 hours of fixed wing flight time, and (ii) 200 hours

of pilot in command of multiengine aircraft (or military equivalent) flight

time.

57a

cruiter, followed, for the remainder of a full day, by a

series of individual interviews to ascertain whether the

applicant possesed the qualifications and proficiencies nec-

essary to be hired as a pilot by Eastern. If the applicant

was determined to be fully qualified, he was offered a

permanent pilot position at the end of the interview proc-

ess and, if the offer was accepted, a mutually agreeable

date was established for the beginning of his initial train-

ing, which was, however, contingent upon the applicant’s

successful completion of a background check and a physical

examination.

5. In the three years I have been employed by Eastern,

a new hire pilot was always placed on the payroll and the

Eastern pilot seniority list as a permanent Eastern em-

ployee beginning wi*h his or her first day. co: ..aining.

However, for approximately 10 days following ti * com-

mencement of ALPA’s strike, Eastern initially t-.d pro-

spective new hire pilots that they would become Eastern

employees and assume permanent replacement status as

pilots only upon completion of their training.

6. Shortly after Eastern began to advertise for new

pilots, ALPA initiated an aggressive effort to discourage

potential applicants from applying for pilot positions at

Eastern and to encourage those who had accepted pilot

positions not to report for training or to leave Eastern.

Among other things, ALP4 ‘mphasized that new hire pil-

ots would not be considered permanent Eastern employees

until they had completed training and threatened that,

until such time, they could and would be displaced if ALPA

elected to end its strike.

7. ALPA’s efforts to discourage persons from applying

for pilot positions at Eastern and from completing training

once they had been hired (which are described more fully

in the accompanying Declaration of Alan C. Gibson), cre-

ated widespread concern and confusion on the part of ac-

tual and potential applicants as to the security of new hire

58a

pilot positions at Eastern. Many qualified pilot applicants

told me, and other pilot recruiters that, because of ALPA’s

intimidation, including threats by ALPA that new hire

pilots in training were not permanent employees and would

be displaced if ALPA elected to end its strike, they did

not desire to pursue further their interest in a pilot po-

sition at Eastern. During those initial weeks of the pilot

hiring program, approximately 100 pilot applicants, who

had been sufficiently interested in Eastern (despite AL-

PA’s strike) to apply for a pilot position, appear for a pre-

hire interview and accept an offer of employment, sub-

sequently failed to appear for their scheduled class date.

9. Consequently, to insure that it would continue to

attract qualified pilot applicants, on March 27, 1989, East-

ern revised its fact sheet and returned to its long estab-

lished practice of offering permanent employee status to

pilots effective their first day of training. Eastern then

recontacted pilot applicants who had earlier decided not

to pursue further their interest in a pilot position at East-

ern (including those pilots who had failed to report for a

scheduled class date), and informed them that new hire

pilots would be considered permanent employees as of their

first day of training. Many of these persons then decided

to reschedule their training class dates.

10. It is my firm belief that Eastern’s decision to return

to its established practice effectively defused concern on

the part of pilot applicants and trainees as to the per-

manent nature of their positions, and, in my view, made

it possible for Eastern to attract qualified pilot applicants

who, without a guarantee of a permanent employee status

as of their first day of training, would not otherwise have

decided to apply for and to accept employment at Eastern.

59a

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is

true and correct to the best of my knowledge, information,

and belief.

Executed this 16th day of January, 1990.

/s/ Karen Averill

Karen Averill

60a

APPENDIX G

Railway Labor Act Provisions

45 U.S.C. § 151, Fifth provides as follows:

Fifth. The term “‘employee’”’ as used herein includes every

person in the service of a carrier (subject to its continuing

authority to supervise and direct the manner of rendition

of his service) who performs any work defined as that of

an employee or subordinate official in the orders of the

Interstate Commerce Commission now in effect, and as

the same may be amended or interpreted by orders here-

after entered by the Commission pursuant to the authority

which is conferred upon it to enter orders amending or

interpreting such existing orders: Provided, however, That

no occupational classification made by order of the Inter-

state Commerce Commission shall be construed to define

the crafts according to which railway employees may be

organized by their voluntary action, nor shall the jurisdic-

tion or powers of such employee organizations be regarded

as in any way limited or defined by the provisions of this

chapter or by the orders of the Commission.

The term ‘‘employee’”’ shall not include any individual while

such individual is engaged in the physical operations con-

sisting of the mining of coal, the preparation of coal, the

handling (other than movement by rail with standard rail-

road locomotives) of coal not beyond the mine tipple, or

the loading of coal at the tipple.

45 U.S.C. § 181 provides as follows:

§ 181. Application of subchapter I to carriers by air

Ali of the provisions of subchapter I of this chapter except

section 153 of this title are extended to and shall cover

every common carrier by air engaged in interstate or for-

eign commerce, and every carrier by air transporting mail

for or under contract with the United States Government,

6la

and every air pilot or other person who performs any work

as an employee or subordinate official of such carrier or

carriers, subject to its or their continuing authority to

supervise and direct the manner of rendition of his service.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.