Opposition Brief — Sanchez v. City of Santa Ana

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ee

& Buprome Court, Ug.

vw 0 ‘a 1

9 No.

‘inBp

JUN 24 199)

ose | GFFICE OF THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

JESSE J. SANCHEZ,

Petitioner,

VS.

CITY OF SANTA ANA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF {N OPPOSITION TO

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

CHARLES W. MATHEIS, JR.

Counsel of Record

BEAM & BROBECK

600 West Santa Ana Boulevard, Suite 1000

Santa Ana, California 92701-2022

(714) $58-3944

EDWARD J. COOPER

City Attorney

CITY OF SANTA ANA

20 Civic Center Plaza

Santa Ana, California 92701

(714) 647-5201

Attorneys for Respondent

Lawyers Brief Service / Legal Printers / (213) 383-4457 / (714) 720-1510

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

JESSE J. SANCHEZ,

Petitioner,

VS.

CITY OF SANTA ANA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

CHARLES W. MATHEIS, JR.

Counsel of Record

BEAM & BROBECK

600 West Santa Ana Boulevard, Suite 1000

Santa Ana, Califomia 92701-2022

(714) 558-3944

EDWARD J. COOPER

City Attorney

CITY OF SANTA ANA

20 Civic Center Plaza

Santa Ana, Califomia 92701

(714) 647-5201

Attorneys for Respondent

PREFATORY STATEMENT

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

I.

II.

V.

ARGUMENT

I.

PETITIONER'S HIRING

PETITIONER'S INCREASING

PERFORMANCE PROBLEMS

PETITIONER'S WORK-

RELATED STRESS AND

EVENTUAL RESIGNATION

PETITIONER'S WORKERS'

COMPENSATION RECOVERY

PROCEDURAL HISTORY OF CASE

PETITIONER MISSTATES

THE NINTH CIRCUIT'S

DECISION BELOW - THE

NINTH CIRCUIT

CORRECTLY HELD THAT

PETITIONER'S RECOVERY

BEFORE A STATE

ADMINISTRATIVE AGENCY

PRECLUDES HIS RECOVERY

FOR THE SAME INJURY

UNDER SECTION 1983

oie

16

16

THE NINTH CIRCUIT

DETERMINED THAT

PETITIONER'S

RECOVERY BEFORE THE

WCAB PRECLUDED A

SECOND RECOVERY FOR

EMOTIONAL DISTRESS

INJURY AND DID NOT

RELY UPON THE

CALIFORNIA WORKERS '

COMPENSATION

SYSTEM'S EXCLUSIVITY

PROVISION 16

THE NINTH CIRCUIT

CORRECTLY APPLIED

THIS COURT'S RULE

CONCERNING THE

PRECLUSIVE EFFECT OF

A STATE ADMINISTRA-

TIVE DECISION IN A

SUBSEQUENT SECTION

1983 ACTION 22

THE NINTH CIRCUIT

CORRECTLY DETERMINED

THAT, UNDER

CALIFORNIA LAW,

PETITIONER'S

RECOVERY HEREIN IS

BARRED BY EITHER

CLAIM OR ISSUE

PRECLUSION 30

ol tea

————

II. PETITIONER (1) MIS-

STATES THE LAW AND THE

FACTS REGARDING THE

SECONDARY ISSUE HEREIN

BY ARGUING THAT

RESPONDENT DID NOT

PROPERLY RAISE THE

DEFENSE OF PRECLUSION;

AND (2) MISSTATES THE

IMPORTANCE OF THE

ISSUE 39

A. RESPONDENT DID RAISE

IN A PROPER AND

TIMELY MANNER THE

ISSUE OF THE

PRECLUSIVE EFFECT OF

PETITIONER'S PRIOR

RECOVERY FOR THE

SAME ALLEGED INJURY 39

1. PETITIONER

MISSTATES THE

RECORD 39

2. THE AUTHORITIES

CITED ARE

INAPPOSITE 42

B. THE ALLEGED FAILURE

TO TIMELY RAISE THE

DEFENSE OF PRECLU-

SION IS NOT AN

"IMPORTANT ISSUE"

DESERVING OF A WRIT

OF CERTIORARI 46

-iii-

|

III. PETITIONER'S THIRD

QUESTION PRESENTED IS

MOOT DUE TO THE NINTH

CIRCUIT'S RECENT

DECISION ON REHEARING

OF THE COMPANION CASE

OF SANCHEZ V. CITY OF

SANTA ANA 48

CONCLUSION 48

APPENDICES

Appendix M: Second Consent Decree

and Final Judgment

[11/7/87]

Appendix N: California Labor Code

Section 4850

Appendix O: Order and Amended

Opinion [Filed 7/11/90]

Amended [5/24/91]

-iv-

_ .

904 F.2d 1405 (10th Cir. 1990)

cert. denied, 111 S.Ct. 350

(1990) 27, 28

Assoc. v. Solimino,

U.S. s.ct

—— ,

59 U.S.L.W. 4616

(June 10, 1991) 25, 29

ny |

’

848 F.2d 725 (6th Cir. 1988)

cert. denied, 488 U.S.

1007 (1989) , 26

Buckhalter v. Pepsi-Cola General

Bottlers, Inc.,

820 F.2d 892 (7th Cir. 1987) 28

Busick v. Workmen's Compensation —

Appeals Board,

7 Cal.3d 967, 104 Cal.Rptr.

42 (1972) 30, 31

Clemmer v. Hartford Ins. Co.,

22 Cal.3d 865, 151 Cal.Rptr.

285 (1978) 32

Eilrich v. Remas,

839 F.2d 630 (9th Cir. 1988),

cert. denied, 488 U.S. 819,

109 S.Ct. 60 (1988) 27

’

884 F.2d 657 (2nd Cir. 1989) 26

-V=-

Page(s)

o

829 F.2d 1056 (11th Cir. 1987) 28

Hollywood Refrigeration Sales Co., Inc.

vy. Superior Court

’

164 Cal.App.3d 754, 210

Cal.Rptr. 619 (1985) 31

- Vv. Guste,

773 F.2d 616 (5th Cir. 1985) 42, 43

Howlett v. Rose,

«2 » 110 S.Ct.

2430 (1990) 20

s ,

456 U.S. 461, 102 S.Ct. 1883

(1982) 22, 23

League of United Latin American Citizens

410 F.Supp. 873 (C.D. Cal. 1976) 4

Ow ’

249 U.S. 152, 39 S.Ct. 227 (1919) 19

Migra v. Warren City School Dist.,

465 U.S. 75, 104 S.Ct. 892

(1984) 23, 36

Slater v. Blackwood,

15 Cal.3d 791, 126 Cal.Rptr.

225 (1975) 30

State Farm Mutual Auto Ins. Co. v.

Mid-Continent Casualty Co.,

518 F.2d 292 (10th Cir. 1975) 43

’

843 F.2d 276 (8th Cir. 1988) 27

-vi-

Page(s)

United States v. First Nat. Bank of

Circle,

652 F.2d 882 (9th Cir. 1981)

478 U.S. 788, 106 S.Ct.

3220 (1986)

’

865 F.2d 982 (9th Cir. 1988)

STATUTES

28 U.S.C. Section 1738

42 U.S.C. Section 1983

California Labor Code Section 3600

California Labor Code Section 3601

California Labor Code Section 4850

-vii-

44

45

PREFATORY STATEMENT

Petitioner simply refuses to allow

any aspect of this case to rest without

multiple judicial challenges. In this

Petition, petitioner asks the Court to

reconsider the Ninth Circuit Court of

Appeals' determination that his prior

recovery for permanent stress-related

injuries before the California Workers'

Compensation Appeals Board ("WCAB") bars

his attempt to obtain a second recovery

for the same injuries. Thus, petitioner

seeks to undermine the important policy

of judicial finality and repose.

In essence, petitioner asks this

Court to grant a writ of certiorari to

determine: (1) whether or not an unchal-

lenged decision and award of damages by

a state administrative agency is entitled

to preclusive effect in a subsequent

Section 1983 case, a question which this

-il-

Court already answered five years ago,

and (2) whether a defense which was not

available when the case was filed, but

which was raised before the district

court (in a brief filed before the

damages phase of trial) was raised in a

timely manner.

The first issue has already been

resolved in University of Tennessee v.

Elliott, 478 U.S. 788, 106 S.Ct. 3220

(1986), and that case is being followed

throughout the circuit courts. Nonethe-

less, after having adjudicated the nature

and extent of his alleged emotional

injuries, and after having recovered

damages for the same alleged injury,

petitioner claims that he should be

allowed to adjudicate that claim once

again so that he can attempt to improve

his recovery.

The second issue raised is

completely without merit and, in any

- 2-

event, it is clearly not sufficiently

"special and important" to warrant this

Court's consideration.

Accordingly, for these reasons,

explained in more detail below, the Peti-

tion should be denied.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

I. PETITIONER'S HIRING

Jesse J. Sanchez ("petitioner") was

employed by the City of Santa Ana Police

Department (the "Department" ) from

September 1975 to September 1979. He was

hired as part of the Minority Officer

Recruitment Effort ("MORE") and _ the

Community-Oriented Policing ("COP")

program, which, through the efforts of

Chief of Police Raymond C. Davis, made

available many new police officer

positions during 1973-74, most of which

were filled by minorities, primarily

Hispanics. [Appendix D.5] Contrary to

petitioner's misstatement in his Peti-

tion, he was hired as part of these

voluntary recruitment programs, not as a

result of any court decision, including

the district court's decision in League

of United Latin American Citizens v. City

of Santa Ana, 410 F.Supp. 873 (C.D. Cal.

1976) (this interim ruling was not made

until the year following Sanchez's hire,

and the case was not finally resolved

until 1978 by consent decree, which did

not impose any hiring order on the

Department). {Appendix M.7]

II. PETITIONER'S INCREASING

PERFORMANCE PROBLEMS

Beginning in August 1978,

petitioner's work performance began to

Gecline, as he showed an increasing

= nes same anaes

unwillingness to follow established

Department rules and procedures. Peti-

tioner was counseled repeatedly, but

showed no improvement. Due to these

performance problems, in late February

1979, petitioner was not recommended for

continued merit pay. [ER 701-03] He was

told at that time that he might lose his

present merit pay due to che decreasing

level of his work performance. [Appendix

D.6} Two weeks later, on March 15, 1979,

petitioner left work during the day with-

out completing his shift and with no

apparent reason for doing so. [Appendix

D.6) Shortly thereafter, petitioner's

merit pay steps were officially removed,

in accordance with the City's existing

procedures. [Appendix D.6] This issue

is discussed at length in the City's

Cross-Petition for Writ of Certiorari,

filed concurrently herewith.

III. PETITIONER'S WORK-RELATED

STRESS AND EVENTUAL RESIGNATION

Petitioner then requested and was

granted three medical leaves of absence.

[Appendix D.7] In March and May 1979,

petitioner also filed two separate

workers' compensation claims, alleging

that he was suffering from work-related

stress. The second of those claims was

dismissed as being unnecessary and

redundant to the first. [ER 916-17]

On September 6, 1979, after four

months of medical leave of absence,

petitioner wrote the City Personnel

Director, stating that his doctor had

authorized his return to work and

requesting information about his assign-

ment. [Appendix D.7]) He was told that

he would be in patrol. Then, on

September 10, 1979, he wrote another

letter stating that his doctor advised

that he could perform the patrol assign-

- 6 -

eee...

ment, but that he refused to return to

work unless his merit pay, which had been

removed in accordance with the City

Charter and merit pay resolution, was

restored immediately. {Appendix D.7]

After the City refused his demand, peti-

tioner wrote a third letter in which he

resigned, stating that his resignation

was a result of the City's refusal to

restore his merit pay. [Appendix D.7-8]

IV. PETITIONER'S WORKERS!

COMPENSATION RECOVERY

Petitioner then amended his

previously filed workers' compensation

claim to allege permanent emotional

disability. Petitioner also sought

recovery under Section 4850 of the

California Labor Code, which allows

injured police officers to recover a

year's leave of absence pay for injury or

illness arising in the course of his or

her duties. [Appendix N} The Workers'

Compensation Appeals Board held a hearing

on petitioner's claims on September 20,

1981. Both parties were represented by

counsel at the hearing. [ER 1103, 1107]

After hearing from both sides, the WCAB

determined that it did not have jurisdic-

tion to award the leave of absence pay

requested under Section 4850, because

Sanchez had resigned. The WCAB- did,

however, accept jurisdiction over

petitioner's remaining claims for

permanent emotional injuries. [ER 1103]

Thus, the WCAB awarded petitioner

$8,662.50 for his permanent partial

disability (30 1/2%) caused by stress-

related emotional injuries occurring

Guring his employment, up to September

10, 1979. (ER 1103) Petitioner

misstates in his Petition that he was

awarded disability only from March to May

- 8-

. |

eS te

) 1979 -- petitioner may have only worked

| from March to May 1979, but he was

awarded benefits covering the period from

March to September, at which time he

resigned. Further, because he was conm-

pensated for a "permanent disability," he

received his emotional distress award for

any injuries continuing into the future.

Vv. PROCEDURAL HISTORY OF CASE

Petitioner and two other Latino

Police Officers filed this action in

United States District Court, Central

District of California, on May 20, 1979,

1/ The original parties to this action were:

(1) plaintiffs Jesse J. Sanchez, Victor Torres

and Robert Caro, and (2) defendants City of Santa

Ana, City of Santa Ana Police Department, Police

Chief Raymond C. Davis, Personnel Director,

Donald Bott, Captain E.B. Hansen, Captain Robert

Stebbins, Lieutenant Oliver Lee Drummond,

Lieutenant Michael Lewellen, Lieutenant Dale

Sterzer, Lieutenant Norwood Williams, Lieutenant

Lawrence Pitzer, Sergeant Gary Dixon, Sergeant

William Bruns, Sergeant John Collins, Sergeant

(continued...)

alleging various constitutional and

common law claims arising out of their

employment and/or the termination of

their employment with the Department.

{Appendix D.8] Plaintiffs named the

City, Chief Davis and sixteen (16) other

individuals as defendants.

On June 3, 1983, the district court

entered partial summary judgment? only in

favor of petitioner and only against the

City and Chief Davis” as to petitioner's

procedural due process claim relating to

l/ (...continued)

Richard Faust, Sergeant James McDaniels, Sergeant

Michael Lanners, and Sergeant John Dittus. The

claims of Torres and Caro against all defendants,

as well as _ Sanchez’s claims against all

defendants except for the City of Santa Ana, were

dismissed by the District Court and are the

subject of the companion appeal, attached hereto

as Appendix 0O.

2/ Contrary to petitioner’s mischaracterization

of the record, respondent did dispute the issues

stated in petitioner’s Motion for Partial Summary

Judgment. [ER 939-48; ER 1223-28]

3/ The District Court later exonerated Chief

Davis from personal liability. [Appendix D.8]

- 10 -

——————————

the removal of his merit pay. [Appendix

H.1-2] Then, after a 39-day trial which

began in April 1985, the district court

determined that the three plaintiffs had

failed to present any evidence of

discrimination or wrongful treatment.

[ER 421-27] In fact, Judge Kenyon stated

that the evidence showed they had been

treated "with kid gloves," that "no

reasonable person could find from the

evidence presented that the Department

engaged in any discriminatory actions"

and that plaintiff Sanchez had used the

discrimination laws as a "sword" to

"intimidate or harass individuals into

conforming their conduct to [his] dic-

tates." [ER 421-27] Thus, on June 18,

1985, the court directed a verdict in

favor of the City and all of the individ-

ual defendants, with the exception of

petitioner's procedural due process claim

against the City (relating to the removal

- ll-

of his merit pay) for which partial

summary judgment previously had been

granted. [Appendix F.9)]

In October 1985, the district court

began a new trial (with the same jury)

for the sole purpose of determining

petitioner's damages for the alleged

procedural due process violation related

to the removal of his merit pay.

[Appendix D.9] In pre-trial briefing,

the City (respondent herein) argued that

petitioner's claim for emotional distress

damages was precluded by his previous

adjudication and recovery before the

WCAB. [ER 1096-99] Only after the

district court had rejected the preclu-

sion argument, petitioner approached

respondent and asked respondent to agree

upon the amount of income that would have

been earned by petitioner under various

pay steps, and further asked respondent

to stipulate that any recovery should be

- 12 =

offset by including petitioner's previous

workers' compensation recovery, as part

of his actual earned income for 1980.

(ER 1015] Respondent agreed to this

stipulation only because the district

court had previously ruled on its

preclusion argument, and respondent

sought to facilitate a presentation of

the evidence. Petitioner mischarac-

terizes the record in his Petition by

stating that "Respondent elected, by

stipulation with petitioner, to have the

sum received in the WCAB proceeding

setoff .. ." (See Petition, p. 53).

Respondent pnever made an "election"

between two alternative theories and

never abandoned its preclusion argument.

At trial, the jury awarded

petitioner $400,000 in back and future

pay for a "constructive discharge"

because of the alleged procedural due

process violation in the manner of his

- 13 -

merit pay removal, and $500,000 in

damages for emotional distress arising

from this procedural due process viola-

tion. {Appendix D.9] Contrary to

petitioner's misstatement, respondent did

present evidence at the trial on damages,

by both presenting its own witness and

cross-examining petitioner's expert

witnesses. Both parties appealed the

decision. [ER 453, 454]

On appeal, the Ninth Circuit

properly reversed the emotional distress

award for petitioner, but affirmed

petitioner's $400,000 verdict for the

alleged procedural due process violation.

[Appendix D.17] The Ninth Circuit deter-

mined that because emotional injuries are

fully compensable under California's

Workers' Compensation Act, and because

petitioner had already sought and recov-

ered damages for his emotional injuries

in his claims before the WCAB, his emo-

- 14 -

i

tional distress claim arising from the

same circumstances and time period in

this action was barred, and he should not

have been allowed an opportunity to

obtain a double recovery. [Appendix

D.17)7 Thus, the Ninth Circuit vacated

the jury's $500,000 award for emotional

distress damages. [Appendix D.17] Peti-

tioner's Petition for Rehearing before

the Ninth Circuit was denied on February

22, 1991, and this Petition for Writ of

Certiorari followed. [Appendix E]

4/ Contrary to petitioner’s statement, there is

no indication that the Ninth Circuit "ignore[d]

the fact that respondent had elected" an offset

of petitioner’s workers’ compensation recovery.

In fact, petitioner never raised the allegation

that the parties had stipulated to an offset

before the Ninth Circuit in this appeal.

Moreover, the Ninth Circuit did determine that

respondent had not waived its right to assert

preclusion. [Appendix D.16]

- 15 -

ARGUMENT

I.

PETITIONER MISSTATES THE NINTH

CIRCUIT'S DECISION BELOW - THE

NINTH CIRCUIT CORRECTLY HELD

THAT PETITIONER'S RECOVERY

BEFORE A STATE ADMINISTRATIVE

AGENCY PRECLUDES HIS RECOVERY

FOR THE SAME INJURY UNDER

SECTION 1983

A. THE NINTH CIRCUIT DETERMINED

THAT PETITIONER'S RECOVERY

BEFORE THE WCAB PRECLUDED A

SECOND RECOVERY FOR EMOTIONAL

DISTRESS INJURY AND DID NOT

RELY UPON THE CALIFORNIA

WORKERS' COMPENSATION SYSTEM'S

EXCLUSIVITY PROVISION

First, petitioner erroneously argues

that the Ninth Circuit's decision was

based on the exclusive remedy provision

of California's Workers' Compensation Act

and that the Court's decision conflicts

with other circuits in applying the

exclusive remedy provisions of a state's

workers' compensation system. (See

Petition, pp. 20-28) Plaintiff, however,

- 16 -

completely mischaracterizes the basis of

the Ninth Circuit's decision, and thus,

misstates the primary issue herein.

The Ninth Circuit stated the issue

herein as follows: "The City contends

that Sanchez's claim in federal court for

emotional distress, is barred under res

judicata principles by his state workers'

compensation award. On this point the

City prevails." [Appendix D.15-16]

Similarly, in reaching its holding, the

Ninth Circuit § stated, "Sanchez has

already recovered damages under the

workers' compensation system for his

emotional injuries. We therefore vacate

the jury's damage award » ei

[Appendix D.17]

Thus, it is clear that the Ninth

Circuit relied on the doctrine of res

judicata (or preclusion) in reaching its

decision to vacate the jury's award and

Gid not (as Petitioner claims) rely on

-17 -

the irrelevant exclusive remedy

provisions of California's Workers’

Compensation Act. Put simply, the Ninth

Circuit recognized that petitioner

elected to pursue a remedy for his

alleged work-related emotional injuries

through the workers' compensation systen,

that he obtained a monetary award for a

permanent emotional disability without

having to prove fault, and that he should

not be allowed an opportunity to improve

his award for the same injury in a

subsequent federal court action.

Second, in his attempt to show that

he is entitled to a second recovery under

Section 1983, petitioner also misstates

and mischaracterizes the entire nature of

the workers' compensation system by

describing it as a system of "limited

compensation" in which there is no

opportunity to raise "fault-based

Claims." Rather, workers' compensation

- 18 -

provides an opportunity for employees to

recover fully for their work-related

physical and emotional injuries, without

regard to negligence or fault. See, e.g.

Cal.Lab.Code § 3600. Thus, workers'

compensation allows an employee such as

petitioner to avoid having to prove fault

in order to facilitate complete recovery

-- it does not, as petitioner argues,

prevent the employee from asserting

"fault-based" claims.

Petitioner's attack on the workers'

compensation’ systen, based on his

unsupported claim that it denies a

plaintiff's federal rights, is conm-

pletely without merit. This Court upheld

the constitutionality of workers' compen-

sation systems and the important policies

enforced by such systems long ago.

Middleton v. Texas Power & Light Co.,

249 U.S. 152, 163, 39 S.Ct. 227, 230-31

(1919). Moreover, plaintiff erroneously

- 19 -

states that the holding of Howlett v.

Rose, on U.S. a ’ 110 §.Ct. 2430,

2443 (1990), is inconsistent with the

exclusive remedy provision of a workers'

compensation system. This is, at best,

a twisted reading of Howlett. In fact,

Howlett did not discuss workers' compen-

sation exclusivity at all. Rather, in

Howlett, this Court addressed whether a

state law could prohibit federal claims

while allowing a plaintiff to bring

similar state claims. In holding that

such a state statute which specifically

discriminated against federal claims was

unconstitutional, the Court also stated

that it "must act with utmost caution"

before challenging a neutral state rule

which denies a federal right. Howlett,

_... US. at ., 110 8.:CE. at 3440.

Workers' compensation remedies are part

of a "neutral state rule," and petitioner

presents no basis in this case to chal-

- 20 -

oats tn Ce etm a le

lenge the remedies he voluntarily chose

to pursue under California's workers'

compensation systen.

In sum, petitioner's first argument

as to why this Court should grant a writ

of certiorari is crucially flawed for at

least two reasons: (1) the Ninth Circuit

did not rely primarily on the exclusivity

provisions of California's Workers’

Compensation Act to reach its decision,

and (2) there is no basis for contending

that the remedial provisions of

California's workers' compensation

system, to which petitioner voluntarily

availed himself, conflict with the

remedies otherwise available under

a

Section 1983.

- 21-

B. THE NINTH CIRCUIT CORRECTLY

APPLIED THIS COURT'S RULE

CONCERNING THE PRECLUSIVE

EFFECT OF A STATE ADMINISTRA-

TIVE DECISION IN A SUBSEQUENT

SECTION 1983 ACTION

Petitioner's second argument as to

why this Court should issue a writ of

certiorari is that the Court’ should

determine whether claim preclusion should

apply to an administrative agency's find-

ings in a subsequent Section 1983 suit.

Petitioner ignores the fact, however,

that this issue has already been decided

by the United States Supreme Court, and

this Court's rule is being followed by

the circuit courts.

Through a series of recent

decisions, this Court has established the

rules to determine the preclusive effect

of a state administrative agency's

decision in a case subsequently brought

in federal court. First, in Kremer v.

Chemical Construction Corp., 456 U.S.

« 22 ~

ear Wa Boe a

461, 102 S.Ct. 1883 (1982), this Court

determined that under 28 U.S.C. § 1738,

a federal court deciding a Title VII

claim must give preclusive effect to a

decision of a state court which upheld a

state administrative agency's finding of

no discrimination.

Second, in Migra v. Warren City

School Dist., 465 U.S. 75, 104 S.Ct. 892

(1984), this Court determined that a

state court's judgment reviewing an

administrative decision would have the

same preclusive effect in a subsequent

Section 1983 action that the state court

would give the decision. Thus, in these

two cases, the Court established that

state administrative determinations were

generally entitled to preclusive effect,

in some cases depending upon the appli-

cable state law. Furthermore, neither of

these two decisions made any distinction

- 23-

between "claim preclusion" and "issue

preclusion."

Then, in University of Tennessee v.

Elliott, 478 U.S. 788, 796-99, 106 S.Ct.

3220, 3225-3226 (1986), this Court

answered the exact question which

petitioner has presented herein. In

Elliott, this Court held that when a

state administrative agency acts in a

judicial capacity and resolves disputed

issues, the federal court deciding a

subsequent Section 1983 claim should give

the same preclusive effect to the

agency's decision -- even if it is

unreviewed by a state court -- as would

be given under state law:

"Accordingly, we hold that when a

state agency ‘acting in a judicial

capacity .. . resolves disputed

issues of fact properly before it

which the parties have had an

adequate opportunity to litigate,'

(citation), federal courts must give

the agency's factfinding the same

preclusive effect to which it would

be entitled in the State's courts."

- 24 -

id., 478 U.S. at 799, 106 S.Ct. at 3226.

In Elliott, the Court discussed the

important policies which favor giving

preclusive effect to administrative deci-

sions. In particular, the Court focused

on the need for judicial finality and

repose, and the policies of avoiding

repetitive litigation and conserving

judicial resources. Elliott, 478 U.S. at

798-99, 106 S.Ct. at 3226. Moreover,

this Court very recently reaffirmed the

presumption generally favoring adminis-

trative preclusion. In Astoria Federal

ssoc. P

U.S. ’ s.ct , 59 U.S.L.W. 4616

(June 10, 1991) ,2 although the Court

found that state administrative decisions

5/ In Astoria, the Court also reiterated that

the reasoning favoring administrative preclusion

particularly applies in Section 1983 claims (as

opposed to Title VII and ADEA claims). Id.,

59 U.S.L.W. at 4617.

- 25 -

should not be given preclusive effect in

ADEA actions, the Court stated:

tive bodies that have attained

finality. . .. To hold otherwise

would, as a general matter, impose

unjustifiably upon those who have

already shouldered their burdens,

and drain the resources of an

adjudicatory system with disputes

resisting resolution."

Id. (emphasis added). ‘

Elliott's holding regarding the

preclusive effect of state administrative

decisions has also been followed through-

out the circuit courts. See e.g., Fondel

vy. Grumman Aerospace Corp., 884 F.2d 657,

658-59 (2nd Cir. 1989) (following

Elliott, yet denying preclusive effect to

administrative decision due to New York

law); Barnes v. McDowell, 848 F.2d 725,

730 (6th Cir. 1988) cert. denied, 488

U.S. 1007 (1989) (following Elliott, yet

determining no preclusive effect to

- 26 -

oe tC AR sie bettie th

Personnel Board's determination under

state law); Stillians v. State of Iowa,

843 F.2d 276, 281, n.3 (8th Cir. 1988)

(implying that under Elliott and in order

to enforce policy of "repose," federal

courts should apply res judicata to

administrative decisions); Eilrich v.

Remas, 839 F.2d 630, 632-33 (9th Cir.

1988), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 819, 109

S.ct. 60 (1988)% (following Elliott and

holding that district court appropri-

ately applied California law to give

preclusive effect to administrative

decision in subsequent Section 1983

action); Amoco Production Co. v. Heiman,

904 F.2d 1405, 1415 (10th Cir. 1990)

6/ This Court has previously denied a petition

for writ of certiorari which raised the same

question presented for review herein. In

Eilrich, 488 U.S. 819, 109 S.Ct. 60 (1988),

Docket No. 87-1895, one question presented was

“whether unreviewed legal conclusions of state

agencies must be given collateral estoppel effect

in subsequent actions under 42 U.S.C. § 1983."

Id.

- 27 -

cert. denied, 111 §s.Ct. 350 (1990)

(following Elliott and determining that

under state law administrative agency's

determination is entitled to preclusive

effect); Buckhalter v. Pepsi-Cola General

Bottlers, Inc., 820 F.2d 892, 895 (7th

Cir. 1987) (following Elliott and holding

that determination by state Human Rights

Commission was entitled to preclusive

effect in Section 1983 claim); cf.,

Gjellum v. City of Birmingham, 829 F.2d

1056, 1062 (11th Cir. 1987) (holding that

under Elliott, the federal court must

apply state issue preclusion rules, but

not claim preclusion rules).

Petitioner voluntarily sought a

remedy before the WCAB for the same

emotional distress injury claimed in the

action before the district court. The

WCAB made findings of fact and deter-

mined the nature and extent of peti-

tioner's injury. Based upon the above

- 28 -

decisions, petitioner cannot now sidestep

the WCAB's findings and relitigate his

alleged emotional distress injury in an

attempt to obtain a more lucrative award.

Thus, despite petitioner's attempts

to confuse the issue by distinguishing

between "claim preclusion" and "issue

preclusion,"“ the Ninth Circuit herein

applied the correct rule adopted by this

Court and accepted by the circuit courts,

when it held, "Whether Sanchez's

compensation award for emotional injuries

bars under res judicata principles his

section 1983 claim for damages for

emotional distress is answered by state

law." {see Appendix D.17 (emphasis

added) ]

Z/ In its recent decision concerning the

preclusive effect of a state administrative

agency’s decision in a subsequent ADEA action,

this Court (as in its previous decisions)

rejected any distinction between "claim" and

"issue" preclusion. Astoria, U.S. at __,

__ S.Ct. at __—s_,, 559 ' U.S.L.W. at 4617.

- 29 -

Cc. THE NINTH CIRCUIT CORRECTLY

DETERMINED THAT, UNDER

CALIFORNIA LAW, PETITIONER'S

RECOVERY HEREIN IS BARRED BY

EITHER CLAIM OR ISSUE

PRECLUSION

California courts apply the

following rule to determine whether a

subsequent case is barred under claim

preclusion: “a judgment for the defen-

dant is a bar to a subsequent action by

the plaintiff on the same injury to the

same right, even though he presents a

different legal ground for relief."

Slater v. Blackwood, 15 Cal.3d 791, 795,

126 Cal.Rptr. 225, 226 (1975) (citations

omitted) (emphasis in the original).

Moreover, the California Supreme

Court has stated that a prior judgment

bars relitigation "on matters which were

raised _or could have been raised, on

matters litigated or litigable." Busick

v. Workmen's Compensation Appeals Board,

7 Cal.3d 967, 975, 104 Cal.Rptr. 42, 48

- 30 -

(1972) (emphasis added) (holding that

assault and battery judgment bars second

recovery under workers' compensation

system). Thus, the Ninth Circuit herein

correctly determined that under

California law, petitioner's claim for

emotional distress injuries arising out

of his employment were "litigable" before

the WCAB, and thus his WCAB recovery for

emotional injuries precluded a _ second

recovery on the same claim, citing

California Labor Code § 3601 and

Hol] i _Refri ti Sa] : I

v. Superior Court, 164 Cal.App.3d 754,

757, 210 Cal.Rptr. 619, 620 (1985).

[Appendix D.17]

The California Supreme Court has

Similarly defined issue preclusion as

follows:

", . . a party will be collaterally

estopped from relitigating an issue

only if (1) the issue decided in a

prior adjudication is identical with

that presented in the action in

= 31 -

question; and (2) there was a final

judgment on the merits; and (3) the

party against whom the plea is

asserted was a party or in privity

with a party to the_ prior

adjudication."

Clemmer_v. Hartford Ins. Co., 22 Cal.3d

865, 874, 151 Cal.Rptr. 285, 288 (1978).

The record establishing the elements

of both claim and issue preclusion, and

thus establishing the preclusive effect

of petitioner's workers' compensation

recovery, is clear:

Le In his action before the WCAB,

petitioner raised his claims

regarding his alleged emo-

tional, stress-related injuries

arising from his employment

from March to September 1979.

‘TER 1103)

2. Petitioner's emotional distress

claims arose from his employ-

ment, and thus, were

- 32 -

recoverable before the WCAB.

[ER 1103]

The WCAB held aée hearing

regarding the nature and extent

of petitioner's emotional,

stress-related injuries arising

out of his employment with

respondent. [ER 1103}

Both petitioner and respondent

were parties to the WCAB action

and were present at the hear-

ing. [ER 1103]

The WCAB awarded petitioner

damages for his permanent

disability caused by his

emotional injuries. [ER 1103}

The WCAB award became final

when petitioner chose not to

appeal the decision to the

California courts. [Appen-

dix D.7]

- 33 -

Petitioner, however, mischarac-

terizes the record by arguing that the

"state court was unable to address the

merits of the claim" and “the state

tribunal ruled that it lacked jurisdic-

tion or authority to decide some or all

of the claims or issues before it." (See

Petition, pp. 41-42). The record belies

these statements in at least’ three

crucial ways.

First, petitioner was not "barred

for jurisdictional reasons" from

presenting the emotional distress claims

that are the subject of this case. The

emotional distress damages which peti-

tioner sought in his Section 1983 action

were for respondent's conduct during the

period from March to September 1979.9

8/ By virtue of the district court’s grant of

summary judgment on the procedural due process

claim and its dismissal of all other claims, the

sole possible basis for petitioner's claim for

emotional injuries under his Section 1983 claim

(continued...)

- 34 -

© an Cat CPN Bist Le Ae.

~ MD IS LMR IY

This is precisely the claim which was

both brought before the WCAB and decided

by the WCAB. The WCAB determined that it

"lacked jurisdiction" only to award

petitioner leave of absence pay. [ER

1103, 1107) The WCAB did, however,

compensate petitioner for a “permanent

disability," thus not only covering

petitioner's emotional injuries from

March to September 10, 1979, but also

projecting that recovery into the future.

Similarly, the emotional injury claim

petitioner pursued in the district court

was based upon his alleged injuries

occurring during his employment with the

Department up through September 10, 1979.

In sum, contrary to petitioner's claims,

8/ (...continued)

was the removal of his merit pay steps which

occurred in the March to September 1979 time

frame. This is the same time period for which

petitioner sought and obtained full recovery for

his permanent emotional distress injuries in the

WCAB hearing.

- 35 -

the WCAB fully compensated him for his

emotional injuries.

Petitioner's attempts to distin-

guish Migra, 465 U.S. 75, 104 S.Ct. 892,

are entirely disingenuous. Like the

plaintiff in Migra, petitioner herein

sought and obtained recovery for conduct

which allegedly occurred prior to his

resignation, and the recovery took into

consideration his continuing "permanent

disability," thus compensating him for

the period following his resignation.

Likewise, the jury's award also con-

sidered petitioner's permanent emotional

injuries, and compensated him therefor.

Thus, as in Migra, petitioner was compen-

sated for the entire period of his

alleged injuries, and the Ninth Circuit

properly recognized that he should not

have been allowed to pursue a second

recovery and obtain a second award for

the same injury.

- 36 -

ae MSY pital be, Laan Pet E he cre §

fad es Aden

Second, petitioner erroneously

argues that the WCAB did not consider the

"merits" of petitioner's emotional dis-

tress clain. Indeed, the only issue

which the WCAB did decide on the merits

is the same issue for which petitioner

sought emotional distress damages under

Section 1983. Simply put, the WCAB

determined whether petitioner suffered

emotional distress and stress-related

injuries as a result of his employment

with respondent. That is precisely the

"merits" of petitioner's claim for

emotional distress under Section 1983.

Third, petitioner erroneously (and

surprisingly) argues that he was not

entitled to recover any emotional dis-

tress damages in his action before the

WCAB. (See Petition, pp. 45-46) This

ludicrous argument ignores the fact that

petitioner sought an award, and the WCAB

did, in fact, award petitioner damages

- 37 -

for his emotional and stress-related

injuries. This argument also ignores the

fact that petitioner has never tendered

back his WCAB recovery to the City after

suddenly discovering that he allegedly

was "not entitled" to a WCAB recovery.

In sum, the Ninth Circuit correctly

determined that under California law,

petitioner's recovery before the WCAB

barred his second recovery on the same

Claims for emotional distress injuries.

Thus, petitioner misstates both the law

and the facts when he argues that he "has

been effectively left without any remedy

at all for any emotional distress or

injuries for the period commencing in May

1979 and thereafter." This is precisely

the remedy that petitioner received from

the WCAB.

- 38 -

Piette 4

II.

PETITIONER (1) MISSTATES THE

LAW AND THE FACTS REGARDING THE

SECONDARY ISSUE HEREIN BY ARGU-

ING THAT RESPONDENT DID NOT

PROPERLY RAISE THE DEFENSE OF

PRECLUSION; AND (2) MISSTATES

THE IMPORTANCE OF THE ISSUE

A. RESPONDENT DID RAISE IN A

PROPER AND TIMELY MANNER THE

ISSUE OF THE PRECLUSIVE EFFECT

OF PETITIONER'S PRIOR RECOVERY

FOR THE SAME ALLEGED INJURY

Petitioner has both misstated the

record and miscited authorities to argue

that respondent did not timely raise the

defense of preclusion.

i. PETITIONER MISSTATES THE

RECORD

First and foremost, respondent did

raise the defense of preclusion before

the damages phase of the trial, at which

time the issue became ripe. Respondent

asserted its position that petitioner was

precluded from recovery in its pre-trial

- 39 -

"Brief re. Allowable Damages." [ER 1096-

99; Appendix D.17} Thus, the district

court was given an opportunity to rule

upon the preclusion issue before the

trial on damages, and petitioner has

misstated the facts and attempted to

mislead the Court by stating that

respondent did not afford "the district

court the opportunity to rule upon [the

defense) prior to post-trial motions.

-" (See Petition, p. 53).

Second, petitioner erroneously

states that respondent “elected” to

reduce petitioner's award in the district

court by his WCAB recovery (apparently

arguing that this alleged "election"

amounted to a waiver of the preclusion

defense). (See Petition, p. 53).

Petitioner never raised this issue on

appeal before the Ninth Circuit;

accordingly, the alleged "election"

likewise cannot be raised in this

- 40 -

;

|

;

:

:

Pies on

Petition. Moreover, petitioner misstates

the record. Contrary to petitioner's

attempt to show that respondent abandoned

its preclusion argument, respondent

simply agreed to stipulate to an amount

petitioner had earned for 1980 (which

included the WCAB recovery [ER 1015]}) in

order to avoid a costly and time-

consuming trial on damages; this

stipulation was reached, however, only

after the district court had rejected

respondent's claim that petitioner's

emotional distress recovery was entirely

precluded. Respondent's stipulation was

in no way an abandonment or waiver of its

preclusion defense.

Third, petitioner fails to mention

two key facts herein: (1) respondent

could not raise the defense of the

preclusive effect of the WCAB award when

it filed its Answer in 1979 because the

WCAB did not reach a decision until two

- 41 «

years later, and (2) because respondent

raised the defense before the trial on

damages, the defense was actually

litigated at the damages phase of the

trial. These two facts establish (as the

Ninth Circuit determined) that respondent

did raise the defense in a timely manner.

2. THE AUTHORITIES CITED ARE

INAPPOSITE

Petitioner argues that the "Ninth

Circuit has placed itself at odds with

several other circuits" (emphasis added)

and then proceeds to cite only two cases,

both of which are distinguishable from

the case at bar.

First, in Home Depot, Inc. v. Guste,

773 F.2d 616, 620-21 n.4 (5th Cir. 1985),

the Court stated in a footnote that

because the appellant had never raised

the defense of preclusion, the court

would not consider whether it was

- 42 -

Ae AW otic ech Nid ote, Cea

applicable in that case. Respondent

herein, on the other hand, did raise the

defense and raised it before the trial on

damages (when the issue became signifi-

cant). [ER 1096-99; Appendix D.17]

Moreover, Home _ Depot involved the

preclusive effect of a recent Supreme

Court decision, and not the preclusive

effect of plaintiff's prior recovery,

which was the issue decided herein.

Thus, Home Depot is clearly distinguish-

able on its facts, and the holding is

inapplicable herein.

Second, in State Farm Mutual Auto

s. Vv id-Contin as Bs

518 F.2d 292, 296 (10th Cir. 1975), the

preclusive effect of a prior judgment was

not even an issue. Rather, at issue in

State Farm was the defense of estoppel

under a particular rule of insurance law.

Moreover, in State Farm, the defense was

not raised at trial, whereas respondent

- 43 -

herein did raise the issue at the damages

phase of the trial.

Finally, petitioner miscites two

inapplicable Ninth Circuit decisions to

argue erroneously that the decision

herein is “at odds" with other Ninth

Circuit decisions. Contrary to peti-

tioner's assertion, United States v.

First Nat. Bank of Circle, 652 F.2d 882,

886-87 (9th Cir. 1981) did not hold that

a theory which was not included in a pre-

trial order could never be _ tried.

Rather, in First Nat. Bank, the court

merely accepted the respondent's argument

that the theory both was not included in

the pre-trial order and contradicted the

facts stated in the pre-trial order. Id.

The Court also stated, however, that pre-

trial orders should be liberally

construed. Jd. The preclusion defense

herein, however, did not contradict the

facts of any pre-trial order -- although

- 44 <-

ey bie

m Pon ee

PN SP Bei St le PAL Can tH HDR RRB Rta A SA sap ls

not mentioned in the pre-trial order, it

was undisputed that petitioner had sought

and gained recovery before the WCAB.

Likewise, Wood v. Sunn, 865 F.2d

982, 987 (9th Cir. 1988) is inapplicable.

Unlike defendant in that case, respondent

herein did present the defense to the

district court before the trial on

damages, whereas the holding in Wood v.

Sunn was based on the failure to raise

the defense before trial.

Thus, for the above reasons, as well

as petitioner's mischaracterization of

the record and authorities, the Court

should deny the Petition on the second

question presented.

- 45 =

B. THE ALLEGED FAILURE TO TIMELY

RAISE THE DEFENSE OF PRECLU-

SION IS NOT AN “IMPORTANT

ISSUE" DESERVING OF A WRIT OF

CERTIORARI

"A petition for writ of certiorari

will be granted only when there are

special and important reasons therefor."

Rules of the United States Supreme Court,

Rule 10.

Respondent's alleged failure to

timely raise the preclusion defense, a

contention which the Ninth Circuit

rejected, is not the sort of "special and

important" issue that needs resolution by

the United States Supreme Court. More-

over, as explained above, petitioner has

exercised license with the legal authori-

ties cited above in a misguided attempt

to show that a "conflict" exists among

the circuit courts, and that this is an

issue worthy of Supreme Court review.

Likewise, petitioner has attempted to

- 46 -

wendeibaiudy zm

pene, lal splhia thabdla ie a

a eee Te

Pe ee 2 eS

ee Mee nO. Moi ee oa tee Oe

aNd Ci Seong, eg ie Ln Aa BILE

manufacture an important issue. by

mischaracterizing the Ninth Circuit's

decision herein as a "rule," when in

fact, the Ninth Circuit recognized the

general rule that preclusion must be

pleaded, but also determined that the

specific circumstances of this case

warranted an exception to that rule.

[Appendix D.17] This is just another

example of petitioner's unwillingness to

accept any adverse ruling without

multiple challenges.

In short, this is not the sort of

question which this Court should spend

its limited and valuable time and

resources deciding.

- 47 -

IiIt.

PETITIONER'S THIRD QUESTION

PRESENTED IS MOOT DUE TO THE

NINTH CIRCUIT'S RECENT DECISION

ON REHEARING OF THE COMPANION

CASE OF SANCHEZ V. CITY OF

SANTA ANA

Shortly after petitioner filed this

Petition for Writ of Certiorari, the

Ninth Circuit on rehearing in Sanchez II

awarded petitioner the requested attor-

ney's fees. [Appendix O] Accordingly,

the third question presented herein is

now moot.

CONCLUSION

In sum, petitioner asks this Court

to give him a "second bite at the apple"

by reversing the Ninth’ Circuit's

determination that petitioner's recovery

before the WCAB bars a second recovery

for the same injury. Moreover, peti-

- 48 -

tioner misstates the basis of the

decision below and asks this Court to

reopen an issue which was settled five

years ago with this Court's decision in

University of Tennessee v. Elliott. For

the reasons set forth above, respondent

respectfully requests that the Court deny

this Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

DATED: June 23, 1991

Respectfully submitted,

CHARLES W. MATHEIS, JR.

BEAM & BROBECK

By:

Charles W. Matheis, Jr.

Attorneys for Respondent

City of Santa Ana

OC1-4809 - 49 -

APPENDIX M

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

LEAGUE OF UNITED LATIN

AMERICAN CITIZENS,

LAWRENCE FELIX, NARCISO

C.A. NO.

CV 74-767-F

ARCE, and EFREN LOZANO, SECOND

Individually, and on CONSENT

behalf of all others DECREE AND

Similarly situated, FINAL

JUDGMENT

Plaintiffs,

THE CITY OF SANTA ANA, A

Municipal Corporation,

JERRY M. PATTERSON, in

his official capacity as

Mayor of the City of

Santa Ana, BRUCE C.

SPRAGG, in his official

capacity as City Manager

of the City of Santa Ana,

DONALD BOTT, in his

official capacity as Fire)

Chief of the City of )

Santa Ana, and RAYMOND C.)

DAVIS, in his official )

capacity as Police Chief )

of the City of Santa Ana,)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

Vv. )

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

Defendants. )

)

Plaintiffs filed a complaint herein

on March 23, 1974, alleging’ that

defendants have engaged in employment

APPENDIX M.1

discrimination based on race and national

origin. A trial has been held herein

resulting in a decision and opinion

reported at 410 F.Supp. 873, supplemented

by a subsequent decision reported at 13

FEP Cases 1019, 13-E.P.D. 411,308. An

interlocutory appeal taken by the

defendants has been dismissed by the

Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals by order

dated September 28, 1977.

By a consent decree _ entitled

"Consent Decree in Partial Settlement of

Action," entered on December 16, 1977,

most, but not all issues in this lawsuit

were settled. The instant Second Consent

Decree constitutes a settlement of all

remaining issues between the parties at

the District Court level. Defendant,

however, reserves the right to appeal a

single ruling.

The defendants enter into’ the

instant consent decree without admitting

APPENDIX M.2

liability of the validity of any of

plaintiffs' claims. This decree is

entered into as a partial settlement of

an existing dispute, and defendants do

not admit that there is or has been any

violation of any law, rule, or

regulation. Nothing herein shall require

the employment, promotion or selection of

less qualified persons over more

qualified persons as determined by valid

selection criteria, nor require

employment of persons who do not meet

valid qualification standards, nor

require displacement of incumbent

employees or hiring of unneeded

employees.

Declarations by counsel filed herein

show that notice to class members of the

instant decree has been carried out. No

objections to the settlement have been

made.

APPENDIX M.3

On December 20, 1974, Lawrence Felix

was certified as class representative.

The

represented class herein is as

follows:

in

"(a) all Mexican-Americans who

have applied for employment as

police officers or firefighters with

the defendant City of Santa Ana

within three years of the

commencement of this action; (b) all

Mexican-Americans who presently are

applicants for such employment; and

(c) all Mexican-Americans who may

apply for such employment in the

future, who apply during’ the

effective term of any final decree

this Court may issue eo « «®

The term "Mexican-American" as used

this Consent Decree shall be

interpreted to mean any person who has a

"Spanish surname" or is "Spanish

language" as those terms are utilized by

APPENDIX M.4

the United States Department of Commerce,

Bureau of the Census, in the 1970 United

States Census.

The Court has reviewed this Second

Consent Decree and Final Judgment of

Lawsuit and the Declaration of

Plaintiffs' counsel submitted

concurrently herewith and has determined

that the provisions herein are fair and

reasonable to all parties and _ the

represented class.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT Is HEREBY

ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED that:

i. Plaintiffs shall seek no back

pay claims for class members

Peter Jimenez, Mike Alvarez,

and John Sierra. Defendants

shall offer firefighter

positions to these three class

members, as vacancies occur,

provided the above-named three

class members successfully

APPENDIX M.5

complete the remaining portions

of the selection process, i.e.,

the medical examination and

background check.

Defendants may appeal only this

Court's ruling on the issue of

whether the "Form 45" Fire

Aptitude Test has been shown to

be job-related or validated

according to the requirements

of the law. Neither plaintiffs

nor defendants shall appeal any

other issue, including’ the

issue of whether the "Form 45"

test had an adverse impact upon

Mexican-American applicants.

Plaintiff Felix shall receive

$500 in full and _ complete

satisfaction of all claims he

may have against defendants.

This District Court already has

ruled at pages 74 and 75 of the

APPENDIX M.6

Memorandum Opinion, filed March

12, 1976, that a hiring order

shall be entered herein for

both police officer and

firefighter positions. The

Court, however, left to future

proceedings, or to Court-

approved stipulation of the

parties, a determination of the

extent and duration of that

hiring order. By stipulation

the hiring orders shall be as

follows:

a. No hiring order shall

be entered for police

officer positions;

b. During any calendar

year, defendants

shall engage in good

faith efforts to

insure that no less

than approximately

APPENDIX M.7

30% of all new

appointees into

firefighter positions

shall be Mexican-

Americans until such

time as 23% of the

entire uniformed

workforce in the

Santa Ana Fire

Department is

Mexican-American;

Defendants shall file an annual

report with the Court, and

serve a copy upon plaintiffs'

attorneys, on the second Monday

in January of each year that

the hiring order remains in

effect, beginning January,

1980. The report shall set

forth:

a. The total number of

persons hired into

APPENDIX M.8

the Santa Ana Fire

Department during the

immediately preceding

calendar year;

The total number of

Mexican-Americans

hired into the Fire

Department during the

immediately preceding

calendar year;

The total number of

uniformed employees

in the Fire

Department as of the

date of the report;

and

The total number of

uniformed employees

in the Fire

Department who are

Mexican-American as

APPENDIX M.9

of the date of the

report.

Plaintiffs shall take no action

concerning a breach of the

provisions of Paragraph 5

absent giving defendants thirty

days notice and opportunity to

cure the breach.

The Court shall retain |

jurisdiction of this lawsuit

and this Consent Decree shall

remain in force and effect

until dissolved. Once the

percentage of Mexican-Americans

in the entire uniformed

workforce in the Santa Ana Fire

Department reaches 23%, the

Court shall, upon the motion of

defendants, or any of them, and

with no further cause shown,

order this Consent Decree

dissolved.

APPENDIX M.10

The back pay and other relief

to be received by all

identifiable class members,

other than Plaintiff Felix and

the class members mentioned in

paragraph one above, shall be

as set forth on the attached

Appendix "A".

Paragraph 10 of the _ first

Partial Consent Decree provided

that plaintiffs' counsel could

seek an additional costs and

fees award for work done at the

District Court level subsequent

to entry of the first Partial

Consent Decree. That paragraph

10 also provided that

Plaintiffs' counsel could seek

an additional costs and fees

award for work to be done on

any appeal on the condition

that plaintiffs were the

APPENDIX M.11

prevailing party on the appeal.

Paragraph 10 of the _ prior

Consent Decree shall be

modified as follows:

a. A. Thomas Hunt and

the other attorneys

employed by the

Center for Law in the

Public Interest shall

reduce their claim of

approximately $3,000

for costs and

attorneys' fees for

all time expended on

this case after entry

of the first Partial

Consent Decree on

December 16, 1977,

and before entry of

the instant Consent

Decree, to a sum of

$1,000.

APPENDIX M.12

b. Walter Cochran-Bond

shall reduce his

eieais o f

approximately $10,000

for costs and

attorneys' fees for

time expended on this

case after entry of

the first Partial

Consent Decree on

December 16, 1977,

and before entry of

the instant Second

Partial Consent

Decree, to a sum of

$6,500.

Cc. If defendants succeed

on any appeal of the

"Form 45" validation

issue, plaintiffs'

counsel shall receive

no costs or fees for

APPENDIX M.13

work done on the

appeal. z¢€

plaintiffs, however,

prevail on the

appeal, plaintiffs'

counsel shall be

entitled to a costs

and fees award,

provided that

plaintiffs' counsel

shall not seek more

than $5,000 for their

costs and fees for

work done on the

appeal. This $5,000

limitation shall not

be applicable should

this case be accepted

for review by the

United States Supreme

Court.

APPENDIX M.14

DATED: November , 1978

WARREN J. FERGUSON

United States District Judge

CONSENTED TO:

A. THOMAS HUNT

TIMOTHY B. FLYNN

Center for Law in the Public Interest

WALTER COCHRAN-BOND

PAUL BRYAN GRAY

By

A. THOMAS HUNT

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

KEITH L. GOW, City Attorney

EDWARD J. COOPER, Assistant City Atorney

CARRIE MACMILLAN, Deputy City Attorney

By

CARRIE MACMILLIN

Attorneys for Defendants

APPENDIX M.15

Michael Alvarez - potential job offer

Narciso Arce - job offer - appointed

January, 1977; backpay - $7,950.31

John Delgado - backpay - $12,803.37

Ernest Hernandez - job offer - declined,

employed as firefighter by City of

Chula Vista; backpay - $8,853.50

Peter Jiminez - potential job offer

Efren Lozano - job offer - appointed

January, 1977; backpay - $8,513.47

Andrew Montoya - backpay - $10,539.11

Richard Rodriguez - backpay - $3,969.50

John Sierra - potential job offer

APPENDIX M.16

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

LEAGUE OF UNITED LATIN

AMERICAN CITIZENS,

et al.

CASE NUMBER

CV 74-767-F

NOTICE OF

Plaintiff(s) ENTRY

CITY OF SANTA ANA,

et al.

)

)

)

)

)

)

vs. )

)

)

Defendant(s) )

)

TO THE ABOVE NAMED PARTIES AND TO THEIR

ATORNEY(S) OF RECORD:

You are hereby notified that a

second consent decree & final judgment

in the above entitled

case was entered in the docket on

_____ November 7, 1978 °

You are also notified that if this

case was tried and you _ introduced

APPENDIX M.17

ee eters

exhibits into evidence, they must be

claimed at this office after the

expiration of thirty days from the

receipt of this notice. (After sixty

days in cases in which the United States,

its officers or agencies were parties)

Unless they are claimed within thirty

days after the expiration of the above

period, they will be destroyed pursuant

to Local Rule 20(a). If an appeal is

taken they will, of course, be held until

the Appellate Court finally determines

the matter. Exhibits which are attached

to a pleading will not be destroyed but

will remain as a permanent record in the

case file.

Civ 26 (11/86) NOTICE OF ENTRY

APPENDIX M.18

CERTIFICATE OF MAILING

I, Edward M. Kritzman, Clerk, United

States District Court, Central District

of California, and not a party to the

within action, hereby certify that on

November 7 , 1978, I served a

true copy of this notice of entry on the

parties in the within action by

depositing true copies thereof, enclosed

in sealed envelopes, in the United States

Mail in the United States Post Office

mail box at Los Angeles, California,

addressed as follows:

Paul B. Gray

1042 West Santa Ana Blvd., Ste. C

Santa Ana, CA 92703

Theodore A. Johnson

401 Civic Center Dr., West

Suite 570

P.O. Box 324

Santa Ana, CA 92702

Frank J. Fekete

Deputy City Attorney

20 Civic Center Plaza

Santa Ana, CA

APPENDIX M.19

EDWARD M. KRITZMAN, CLERK

By _Katherine M. Clatanoff

Deputy Clerk

NOTICE

IN ACTIONS ARISING UNDER THE ECONOMIC

STABILIZATION ACT, THE EMERGENCY

PETROLEUM ALLOCATION ACT, AND THE ENERGY

POLICY AND CONSERVATION ACT, NOTICES OF

APPEAL TAKEN FROM THIS JUDGMENT MUST BE

FILED IN THE TEMPORARY EMERGENCY COURT OF

APPEAL IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE RULES OF

PROCEDURE OF THAT COURT.

APPENDIX M.20

APPENDIX N

CALIFORNIA LABOR CODE SECTION 4850

§ 4850. Law enforcement officers,

firefighters and lifeguards; leave of

absence with salary in lieu of temporary

disability payments; duration of section.

Whenever any city policeman, harbor

policeman of any harbor district, city,

county, or district firefighter, sheriff

or any officer or employee of a sheriff's

office, any inspector, investigator,

detective, or personnel with comparable

title in any district attorney's office,

or lifeguard employed year round on a

regular, full-time basis by a county of

the first class, who is a member of the

Public Employees' Retirement System or

subject to the County Employees

Retirement Law of 1937 (Chapter 3

(commencing with Section 31450) of Part

3 of Division 4 of Title 3 of the

Government Code) is disabled, whether

temporarily or permanently, by injury or

APPENDIX N.1

illness arising out of and in the course

of his or her duties, he or she shall

become entitled, regardless of his or her

period of service with the city or

county, or district, to leave of absence

while so disabled without loss of salary

in lieu of temporary disability payments,

if any, which would be payable under this

chapter, for the period of the

disability, but not exceeding one year,

or until such earlier date as he or she

is retired on permanent disability

pension, and is actually receiving

disability pension payments, or advanced

disability pension payments pursuant to

Section 4850.3 of the Labor Code. This

section shall apply only to city

policemen, harbor district policemen,

sheriffs, or any officer or employee of

a sheriff's office, and any inspector,

investigator, detective, or personnel

with comparable title in any district

APPENDIX N.2

attorney's office, who are members of the

Public Employees' Retirement System or

subject to the County Employees

Retirement Law of 1937 (Chapter 3

(commencing with Section 31450) of Part

3 of Division 4 of Title 3 of the

Government Code) and excludes employees

of a police department whose principal

duties are those of a telephone operator,

clerk, stenographer, machinist, mechanic,

or otherwise, and whose functions do not

Clearly fall within the scope of active

law enforcement service, and excludes

employees of a county sheriff's office

whose principal duties are those of a

telephone operator, clerk, stenographer,

machinist, mechanic, or otherwise, and

whose functions do not clearly come

within the scope of active law

enforcement service. It shall also apply

to city, county, or district firefighters

who are members of the Public Employees'

APPENDIX N.3

Retirement System or subject to the

County Employees Retirement Law of 1937

(Chapter 3 (commencing with Section

31450) of Part 3 of Division 4 of Title

3 of the Government Code) and excludes

employees of the city fire department,

county fire department, and of any fire

district whose principal duties are those

of a telephone operator, clerk,

stenographer, machinist, mechanic, or

otherwise, and whose functions do not

clearly fall within the scope of active

firefighting and prevention service. It

shall also apply to deputy sheriffs

subject to the County Employees

Retirement Law of 1937 (Chapter 3

(commencing with Section 31450) of Part

3 of Division 4 of Title 3 of the

Government Codes). It shall also apply

to lifeguards employed year round on a

regular, full-time basis by counties of

the first class who are subject to the

APPENDIX N.4

County Employees Retirement Law of 1937

(Chapter 3 (commencing with Section

31450) of Part 3 of Division 4 of Title

3 of the Government Code). If the

employer is insured, the payments which,

except for the provisions of this

section, the insurer would be obligated

to make as disability indemnity to the

injured, the insurer may pay to the

insured.

This section shall remain in effect

only until January 1, 1990, and as of

that date is repealed, unless a later

enacted statute, which is chaptered

before January 1, 1990, deletes or

extends that date.

APPENDIX N.5

APPENDIX O

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Jesse J. SANCHEZ; VicToR TORRES; -

ROBERT CARO,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

_ Nos. 85-6504;

Crry oF SANTA ANA; City OF 86-6226, 87-5614,

SANTA ANA PoLicE DEPARTMENT; 88-5853

Don Botts; Raymonp C. Davis; E.

B. HANSEN; ROBERT STEBBENS; D.C. No.

Norwoop WILLIAMS; LEE CV-79-1818-KN

DRUMMOND; LAWRENCE PITZER; ORDER AND

MICHAEL LEWELLEN; DALE STERZER; AMENDED

Gary Drxon; JoHn Couns; JoHn OPINION

McDANIELs; MICHAEL LANNERS;

WILLIAM Bruns; Jounn Dritus;

RICHARD Faust; JoHN McCLain,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Central District of California

David V. Kenyon, District Judge, Presiding*

Argued and Submitted

December 4, 1989—Pasadena, California

Filed July 11, 1990

Amended May 24, 1991

Before: Alfred T. Goodwin, Chief Judge,

Mary M. Schroeder and Diarmuid F. O’Scannlain,

Circuit Judges.

*Judge Irving Hill, District Judge for the Central District of California,

presided over many of the pretrial orders.

APPENDIX 0.1

COUNSEL

Meir J. Westreich, Glendale, California, for the plaintiffs-

appellants.

Charles Matheis, Jr., Santa Ana, California; Larry J. Roberts,

Orange, California; Daniel F. Fears, Paul, Hastings, Janofsky

& Walker, Costa Mesa, California, for the defendants-

appellees.

APPENDIX 0.2

SE oe

SANCHEZ v. Crry oF SANTA ANA 6581

ORDER

The order and amended opinion filed February 27, 1991 is

amended as follows:

Slip op. at 2216, line 7, following “fees”: insert a comma

after the word “fees” and then insert “including fees on

appeal,”

Slip op. at 2216, line 9, following “(9th Cir. 1990).”: insert:

“The district court shall determine the amount of fees that can

be attributed to the part of Sanchez’s appeal that was success-

ful, and shall award reasonable attorney’s fees and costs to the

extent of Sanchez’s success, both for the work in the district

court and on appeal.”

Slip op. at 2216, 1st full paragraph: delete: “The parties

will bear their own costs of appeal.”

With these amendments the petition for rehearing is denied.

Judges Schroeder and O’Scannlain have voted to reject the

suggestion for rehearing en banc, and Judge Goodwin so rec-

ommends.

The full court has been advised of the sup »estion for

rehearing en banc and no active judge has requested a vote on

whether to rehear the matter en banc. Fed. R. App. P. 35(b).

The petition for rehearing is DENIED and the suggestion

for rehearing en banc is REJECTED. |

Plaintiff's request for an extension of time within which to

file a motion for attorneys’ fees is now moot. This order has

resolved the issue of attorneys’ fees.

The mandate in this case is stayed for 90 days to permit the

preparation and filing of a petition to the Supreme Court.

APPENDIX 0.3

6582 SANCHEZ v. Crry OF SANTA ANA

OPINION

GOODWIN, Chief Judge:

Jesse J. Sanchez, Victor Torres, and Robert Caro, former

police officers of the Santa Ana Police Department (SAPD),

appeal district court judgments in their action against the City

of Santa Ana, and various Police Captains, Lieutenants and

Sergeants for alleged deprivation of rights secured by the first

and fourteenth amendments, in violation of 42 U.S.C.

§§ 1981, 1983, 1985, 1986 and alleged employment discrimi-

nation by the City of Santa Ana in violation of 42 U.S.C.

§§ 1981, 1983, 2000e-2(a). The City of Santa Ana also

appeals. That appeal is addressed in Sanchez v. City of Santa

Ana, 915 F.2d 424 (9th Cir. 1990) (Nos. 86-6386, 88-5827,

88-5855).

Between 1975 and 1978, the number of Hispanic police

officers at the SAPD greatly increased as a result of a Bilin-

gual Lateral Transfer Program designed to encourage

Spanish-speaking officers from other California police depart-

ments to transfer to the SAPD. See generally League of

United Latin Am. Citizens (LULAC) v. City of Santa Ana, 410

F. Supp. 873 (C.D. Cal. 1976) (finding SAPD hiring practices

unconstitutional and instituting a hiring order to remedy past

practices of discriminatory hiring).

In November 1977, 100 of 225 SAPD officers took a writ-

ten examination to become Sergeant. Following the examina-

APPENDIX 0.4

SANCHEZ v. Crry OF SANTA ANA 6583

tion, the City Personnel Department proposed that the passing

score be adjusted to enable more Hispanic officers to pass the

written examination and become eligible to compete in the

oral examination for the position of Sergeant. The chief of

police did not support the proposal. It was not implemented.

In December 1978, Sanchez, who was hired pursuant to the

Bilingual Lateral Transfer Program, observed on the roll call

board a cartoon he considered to be racially offensive. San-

chez took a copy of the cartoon to the City Personnel Depart-

ment. The police chief punished those involved in

disseminating the cartoon. Sanchez also received an official

reprimand for violating the chain of command by bringing the

cartoon to the attention of the City Personnel Department,

rather than the proper SAPD officials.

On January 9, 1978, Sanchez, Caro and Torres, together

with other members of the SAPD, chartered an Orange

County chapter of the Latino Peace Officers Association

(LPOA), with Caro as president and Torres as vice-president.

At a January 13, 1978 meeting between Chief Davis and

minority officers, Caro, on behalf of the LPOA, presented

Chief Davis with a packet of materials detailing racial prob-

lems within the SAPD (the “LPOA Packet’). Pursuant to

Chief of Police Davis’s instructions, Lieutenant Salazar and

Lieutenant Lewellen were assigned to investigate the allega-

tions as well as the cartoon incident. The lieutenants prepared

a report for Chief Davis. The report found no racial problems,

noted some isolated incidents of offensive language, and char-

acterized some minority officers as “super-sensitive.”

According to the plaintiffs, LPOA members during the next

few months, became targets of selective enforcement of

SAPD rules and of peer ostracism. They also claim that vari-

ous defendants made racially offensive slurs. The complaints

alleged that LPOA members resigned from the organization

because of their fears of ostracism and discrimination by

defendants. Plaintiffs also alleged that unsafe vehicles were

APPENDIX O.5

6584 SANCHEZ v. CrTy OF SANTA ANA

assigned to LPOA members and that they did not receive ade-

quate police back-ups during certain operations. Sanchez and

Torres claim that secret and illegal personnel files were kept

on them by various defendant-supervisors.

On January 13, 1978, Caro complained to Lieutenant Wil-

liams, his supervisor, that Bannon, an Anglo officer, used

unnecessary force during an arrest. The allegations prompted

an investigation by Bannon’s supervisor, Lieutenant Dixon,

but no charges resulted. Caro complained to Lieutenants Wil-

liams and Jordan, Sergeants Dittus, and Garza (the Affirma-

tive Action Officer), that Dixon was biased.

Following the investigation, Chief Davis terminated Caro’s

employment on the ground that his allegation against Bannon

was unfounded and made with evil intent. The termination

statement also said that Caro was untruthful during the subse-

quent investigation. Despite Caro’s contention that the inves-

tigation was biased and hostile to him, due to his involvement

with the LPOA, the termination was upheld by the Santa Ana

Personnel Board, the California Superior Court, and the Cali-

fornia Court of Appeals.

Following Caro’s discharge, Torres made a public state-

ment regarding continued discrimination at the SAPD.

Although he was not formally reprimanded, Torres was

reminded of his duty to present discrimination claims within

the SAPD before airing his grievances to the public.

In January of 1978, Torres applied for the position of

Assistant Team Leader (ATL) for the patrol division, and,

based on his 1977 test scores, he was next in line for the posi-

tion. The list expired, however, and in March of 1978, Torres

submitted his application to an ATL oral board (Lieutenants

Lewellen and Sterzer and Sergeant Bruns). Torres testified

that he was questioned about and orally reprimanded for his

involvement with the LPOA and the LPOA Packet. Torres

never became an ATL.

APPENDIX 0.6

SANCHEZ v. Crry OF SANTA ANA 6585

In September of 1978, Torres requested a leave of absence

to attend to his ill parents. His request was denied. Torres then

appealed and was granted a one-week leave. At the end of the

week he voluntarily resigned from the SAPD. In an April,

1979 letter to Personnel Director Botts, Torres stated that he

resigned to assist his parents. Torres now claims, however,

that he was constructively discharged as a result of racial dis-

crimination.

In March of 1979, Sanchez also resigned from the SAPD.

He claims that he was constructively discharged following the

removal of his merit pay. See Sanchez, slip op. at _.

On May 18, 1979, Sanchez, Torres and Caro filed a com-

plaint seeking damages and injunctive relief for violations of

their civil rights.’ Plaintiffs moved for full discovery of SAPD

personnel files and the defendants sought a protective order to

limit plaintiffs’ discovery. The court granted the protective

order in part, limiting plaintiffs’ discovery to (1) statistical

data, compiled by the SAPD, regarding the number of full-

time, permanent members of the SAPD who were discharged

or who resigned while under investigation, between February

1973 and July 1979 and (2) comparative data regarding the

compensation of members of the SAPD between May 1975

and July 1979, with no identification of individual members

beyond ethnic and sex classifications. The court’s grant of the

protective order was without prejudice to the plaintiffs’ mov-

ing for production of the protected material if the action were

certified as a class action. The plaintiffs thereafter moved for

class certification on behalf of all Hispanic officers, pursuant

‘On June 13, 1978, Sanchez filed a Charge of Discrimination with the

United States Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC). On

May 17, 1978, Torres filed a similar charge with the EEOC. On March 7,

1978, Caro also filed a charge with the EEOC. Plaintiffs received a right-

to-sue letter from the U.S. Department of Justice on April 11, 1979 and

timely instituted this civil action in federal district court on May 18, 1979.

See 42 U.S.C. § 2000e.

- APPENDIX 0.7

6586 SANCHEZ v. City oF SANTA ANA

to Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(b)(1), (b)(2), which the district court

denied on February 26, 1980.

Defendants moved to dismiss or in the alternative for sum-

mary judgment or partial summary judgment. Partial sum-

mary judgment was granted to defendants as to (1) all issues

conceming defendants’ hiring practices; (2) Sanchez’s com-

plaints based on his failure to get Crime Scene Investigator

pay; (3) Torres’s claim of discrimination for failure to pro-

mote him to Sergeant; and (4) all generalized claims of a dis-

parate impact from disciplinary proceedings being more

frequent towards Hispanics than others. Defendants were also

granted partial summary judgment as to all of Caro’s pre-

termination claims. Caro’s pre-termination claims were pre-

cluded by his state proceedings, but Caro’s post-termination

claims were preserved.

Sanchez was granted summary judgment against the City of

Santa Ana on his claim of denial of due process in removal

of his merit pay, but was denied summary judgment on his

first amendment discriminatory retaliation claim. Following

thirty-nine days of trial, a verdict was directed in favor of the

defendants on all remaining claims. The court, as noted in the

companion appeal, referred Sanchez’s claims for damages to

the jury.

The City moved for judgment notwithstanding the verdict

or for a new trial and both motions were denied. The defen-

dants’ motions for attorney’s fees were granted and defen-

dants were awarded $471,558.71. Sanchez’s motion for

determination of prevailing party status was granted on his

due process claim but denied on his other claims; he was

denied attomey’s fees and costs.

JURISDICTION

All but five of the defendants’ contend that this court lacks

*Defendants Collins, Dittus, Faust, Lanner and McDaniel.

APPENDIX 0.8

SANCHEz v. Crry OF SANTA ANA 6587

jurisdiction over this appeal because the district court improp-

erly vacated Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(b) certification of the final

directed verdict judgments, and the plaintiffs did not timely

appeal from the certified judgment. We reject this contention.

In directing a verdict on most of the plaintiffs’ claims, the

district court ordered the defendants to prepare a judgment in

conformance with the directed verdict. There is no indication

in this order that the court directed the judgment to be certi-

fied under Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(b).‘

On December 4, 1985, the defendants filed a proposed

judgment reciting that there was no just reason for delay, and

directing that judgment be entered forthwith pursuant to Rule

54(b). The district court entered the judgment and served it on

all the parties. It is undisputed that the plaintiffs failed to file

a notice of appeal within thirty days of this judgment, as

required by Fed. R. App. P. 4.

At a hearing on February 24, 1986, the plaintiffs argued

that the December 5, 1985 judgment was not appealable

because the district court had not intended to certify the judg-

ment under Rule 54(b). The plaintiffs reminded the court that

on December 9, 1985, four days after entry of judgment, the

court had indicated that it intended there be only a single,

final judgment from the case. At a March 10, 1986 hearing on

7A motions panel of this court has previously ruled that this court has

jurisdiction over the plaintiffs’ appeal. While this court gives deference to

motions panel decisions made in the course of the same appeal, we have

an independent duty to decide whether we have jurisdiction. See Schlegel

v. Bebout, 841 F.2d 937, 941 (9th Cir. 1988).

“Rule 54(b) provides in part: “When more than one claim for relief is

presented in an action, whether as a claim, counterclaim, cross-claim, or

third-party claim, or when multiple parties are involved, the court may

direct the entry of a final judgment as to one or more but fewer than all

of the claims or parties only upon an express determination that there is

no just reason for delay and upon an express direction for the entry of

judgment.”

APPENDIX 0.9

6588 SANCHEZ v. City OF SANTA ANA

the plaintiffs’ motion to correct the judgment, the court stated

that it never intended to certify the judgment under Rule 54(b)

and vacated the 54(b) certification.

Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(a) provides that clerical mistakes in

judgments arising from oversight or omission may be cor-

rected by the court at any time on its own initiative or on the

motion of any party and after such notice, if any, as the court

orders. “The error can be corrected whether it is made by a

clerk or by the judge.” Blanton v. Anzalone, 813 F.2d 1574,

1577 (9th Cir. 1987).

In deciding whether the district court may alter a judgment

pursuant to Rule 60(a), our focus is on what the court origi-

nally intended to do. Jd. Rule 60(a) is limited, however, to

correcting errors “arising from omission” and may not be

used to correct more substantial errors, such as errors of law.

Waggoner v. R. McGray, Inc., 743 F.2d 643, 644 (9th Cir.

1984) (per curiam).

The situation here falls under Rule 60(a). The district judge

stated on the record that he never intended to grant 54(b) cer-

tification. We find no reason to doubt the district judge’s

statements, particularly in light of his failure to direct the

defendants to include 54(b) certification in the final judgment

he asked them to prepare. See Blanton, 813 F.2d at 1577.

Accordingly, the error arose from oversight or omission and

was within the district court’s power to correct under 60(a).

See Waggoner, 743 F.2d at 644.°

‘The defendants contend that the district court did not have the authority

to correct the judgment under Rule 60(a) because the rule may not be used

to correct substantial errors. By “substantial” errors, the court means non-

clerical errors; it is not referring to the magnitude of the error. Waggoner,

743 F.2d at 644-45. Because the district court’s error was clerical, it was

within the district court's power to correct the judgment under 60(a).

APPENDIX 0.10

SANCHEz v. CrTy OF SANTA ANA 6589

PROTECTIVE ORDER

{1} Plaintiffs claim that the district judge improperly issued

a protective order denying them discovery of SAPD personnel

files and allowing limited discovery of SAPD compiled statis-

tical data. Defendants correctly argue that the protective order

was proper because of the confidential nature of the requested

files. |

[2] Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 26(c) provides that a

court may limit discovery to protect from annoyance, embar-

rassment, oppression, or undue burden or expense. Federal

common law recognizes a qualified privilege for official

information. Kerr v. United States Dist. Ct. for N.D. Cal., 511

F.2d 192, 198 (9th Cir. 1975), affd, 426 U.S. 394 (1976).

Government personnel files are considered official informa-

tion. See, e.g., Zaustinsky v. University of Cal., 96 F.R.D. 622,

625 (N.D. Cal. 1983), affd, 782 F.2d 1055 (9th Cir. 1985).

To determine whether the information sought is privileged,

courts must weigh the potential benefits of disclosure against

the potential disadvantages. If the latter is greater, the privi-

lege bars discovery. Jepsen v. Florida Bd. of Regents, 610

F.2d 1379, 1384-85 (Sth Cir. 1980); Zaustinsky, 96 F.R.D. at

625.

The relevance of plaintiffs’ discovery request for employ-

ment data is undisputed. Most of the relevant information,

however, could have been developed by interrogatories. It is

well-settled that an employee may prove his or her claim of

unlawful discrimination by evidence that other employees of

different races or national origin were treated differently in

similar circumstances. McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green,

411 U.S. 792, 804-805 (1973); Diaz v. American Telephone

& Telegraph, 752 F.2d 1356, 1362-63 (9th Cir. 1985). Statis-

tical evidence alone may make out a prima facie case of

unlawful discrimination. Wards Cove Packing Co., Inc. v.

Antonio, _ U.S. _, 109 S. Ct. 2115, 2121 (1989).

APPENDIX 0.11

6590 SANCHEZ v. Crry oF SANTA ANA

Plaintiffs seek more than statistical data of officer employ-

ment termination, discipline and compensation. They

demanded access to the SAPD’s personnel files to compile

their own statistics. While these files are not absolutely privi-

leged, the confidential nature of the employee personne! files

Suggests that opening the files to the plaintiffs for a general

search could reach well beyond the legitimate inquiries neces-

sary to this litigation and would impact disciplinary proce-

dures within the SAPD. The SAPD claims that the files

contain additional confidential information that is irrelevant to

plaintiffs’ suit.

[3] The district court did not abuse its discretion in denying

access to these files. See Ah Moo v. A.G. Becker Paribas, Inc.,

857 F.2d 615, 619 (9th Cir. 1988). While plaintiffs demon-

strate the relevance of statistics to their suit, they fail to show

that discovery of the actual files was necessary. Focused dis-

covery could have been employed. Plaintiffs accuse the

defendants of inaccurate statistical conclusions, but they were

free to utilize the statistics to draw their own conclusions. In

addition, the plaintiffs had access to the same EEOC data

from which the SAPD’s expert compiled the statistics in ques-

tion, and, when investigating a charge, the EEOC has “a

broad right of access to relevant evidence.” University of Pa.,

Petitioner v. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, _

U.S. _, 110 S. Ct. 577, 583 (1990) (citing 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-

8(a)). The SAPD’s expert did not draw conclusions from the

files themselves but from the EEOC data. Plaintiffs have not

alleged that the EEOC data is biased or that they were denied

access to this data. They fail to show prejudice from the

denial of their full discovery request.

SUMMARY JUDGMENT ON PAY AND PROMOTION

CLAIMS

[4] Plaintiffs claim that the SAPD’s promotion policies,

which require officers to be employed by the SAPD for a cer-

tain period of time before they can be eligible for promotions,

APPENDIX 0.12

SaNncuHez v. Crry oF SANTA ANA 6591

have a discriminatory impact on Hispanic officers hired later-

ally from other police departments.° Plaintiffs challenge the

district court’s finding that these pay and promotion claims

were governed by LULAC, 410 F. Supp. 873 (C.D. Cal.

1976). We agree that the district court misapplied LULAC.

[5] In LULAC the district court held that the City of Santa

Ana engaged in discriminatory hiring practices that resulted

in disproportionally few Mexican-American police or fire-

men. 410 F. Supp. at 911-12. The suit was brought in 1974

by a rejected Hispanic police applicant and by the League of

United Latin American Citizens on behalf of its members.

Finding unlawful discrimination, the district court also man-

dated that a preferential hiring order be instituted in future

proceedings. Jd. at 911. The district court in the instant case

held that LULAC governed “all aspects of /ateral transfers

including credits, salary and classification.” (emphasis

added). LULAC, however, makes no mention of the City’s

policies on lateral hiring or potential discrimination that may

result from those policies. LULAC only addresses hiring poli-

cies for new applicants to the police force. Moreover, the

bilingual lateral transfer program began in 1974-75 following

the initiation of the LULAC suit. Because the district court

erroneously applied LULAC we reverse the district court's

grant of summary judgment on this issue and remand for con-

sideration of the plaintiffs’ claim.

SUMMARY JUDGMENT ON OTHER DISPARATE

IMPACT CLAIMS

Plaintiffs alleged that the defendants enforced City and

department regulations in a racially and ethnically discrimina-

tory fashion. On the basis of the defendants’ statistical data,

which did not reveal any discrimination, the district court

*Officers hired laterally from other police departments enter as “step C”

employees as compared to rookie police officers who enter at “step A.”

Advancement to steps D and E is based on merit.

APPENDIX 0.13

‘ee

6592 SANCHEZ v. City oF SANTA ANA

granted summary judgment to defendants on all generalized

claims of disparate impact from disciplinary proceedings.

On appeal, plaintiffs challenge this summary judgment

because they were denied equal access to personnel files

which they claim would have allowed them to compile con-

tradictory statistics and challenge defendants’ evidence. As

discussed previously, this claim has no merit.

DENIAL OF CLASS CERTIFICATION

[6] Sanchez, Torres, and Caro brought this action as indi-

viduals and as a class on behalf of all Spanish-surnamed indi-

viduals employed by the City as police officers, past, present

and future, pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(a), (b)/1), (b)(2).

The district court denied class certification primarily upon a

finding that the three no-longer-employed plaintiffs failed to

meet the commonality and typicality requirements of Fed R.

Civ. P. 23(a)(2) & (3). This ruling is correct.

On appeal plaintiffs argue that the denial of equal access to

the personnel files prevented them from specifically alleging

commonality or typicality. As previously noted, this claim has

no merit and the district court did not abuse its discretion in

refusing to certify this class. Caldeira v. County of Kauai, 866

F.2d 1175 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, _ U.S. _, 110 S. Ct. 69

(1989); Probe v. State Teachers’ Retirement Sys., 780 F.2d

776, 779 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 476 U.S. 1170 (1986).

CARO’S PRE-TERMINATION CLAIMS

[7] Caro claims that the district court erred in granting sum-

mary judgment to defendants on his pre-termination claims

based on a finding that the claims were barred by res judicata.

We affirm the district court.

Following Caro’s termination from the SAPD, he appealed

the dismissal to the Personnel Board of the City of Santa Ana

APPENDIX 0.14

SaNcHEz v. City oF SANTA ANA 6593

seeking a reversal and reinstatement. The Personnel Board

denied his requests, and Caro instituted an action in the Cali-

fornia Superior Court seeking the same relief. He lost in the

Superior Court and appealed to the Court of Appeals where

he also lost. The Court of Appeals specifically found that

Caro was afforded a full and fair hearing at the Personnel

Board and that there was no bias or prejudice, racial or other-

wise, involved in, or causing his discharge. The court also

held that there were no due process violations. In response to

the res judicata defense in the district court, Caro argued that

the defendants conspired to obstruct justice and deter wit-

nesses who might have testified on his behalf in violation of

42 U.S.C. § 1985(2).

It is well-established that where a federal constitutional

claim is based on the same asserted wrong as a State action

and the parties are the same, res judicata will bar the federal

constitutional claim, whether or not it was asserted specifi-

cally in state court. 28 U.S.C. § 1738 (1982); Trujillo v.

County of Santa Clara, 775 F.2d 1359, 1363 (9th Cir. 1985);

Scoggin v. Schrunk, 522 F.2d 436, 437 (9th Cir. 1975), cert.

denied, 423 U.S. 1066 (1976).

[8] In California, to whose law we must look for the appli-

cable res judicata and collateral estoppel principles, Punton v.

City of Seattle, 805 F.2d 1378, 1380 (9th Cir. 1988), cert.

denied, 481 U.S. 1029 (1989), res judicata precludes a plain-

uff from litigating a claim if the claim “relates to the same

‘primary right’ as a claim in a prior action, the prior judgment

was final and on the merits, and the plaintiff was a party or

in privity with the party in the prior action.” Trujillo, 775 F.2d

at 1366, (citing Slater v. Blackwood, 15 Cal.3d 791, 795, 543

P.2d 593, 594, 126 Cal. Rptr. 225, 226 (Cal. 1975)). Caro’s

claim was based upon the same due process rights, the state

court judgment was final, and he was a party to the action.

Moreover, he could have raised the specific allegation of con-

spiracy to obstruct justice in his state court proceedings.

APPENDIX O.15

6594 | SANCHEZ v. Crry oF SANTA ANA

Caro argues that he was not afforded a full and fair oppor-

tunity to litigate the claim in the state court and, accordingly,

he should not be barred from litigating his pre-termination

claims in federal court. We reject this contention.

Collateral estoppel does not apply when the party against

whom it is asserted did not have a “full and fair opportunity~

to present the case. Kremer v. Chemical Constr., 456 U.S.

461, 480-81 (1982); Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 90, 95

(1980). The Supreme Court has stated, however, that “state

proceedings need do no more than satisfy the minimum pro-

cedural requirements of the Fourteenth Amendment's Due

Process Clause in order to qualify for the fuil faith and credit

guaranteed by federal law.” Kremer, 456 U.S. at 481. Caro

claims that Community Service Officer Christine Schuller

was intimidated by various defendants and as a result would

not testify on his behalf. He failed, however, to produce proof

of that assertion. Moreover, Caro does not claim, and we do

not find, that the California courts violated minimum stan-

dards of due process.

Caro also contends that issue and claim preclusion should

not apply to claims brought under 42 U.S.C. § 1985(2). While

the Supreme Court has not stated specifically that claim and

issue preclusion principles apply to section 1985(2) conspir-

acy claims, it has held these principles applicable to Title VII

and section 1983 suits. See Migra v. Warren City School Dist.

Bd of Ed., 465 U.S. 75 (1984) (state preclusion law applies to

section 1983 claims); Kremer, 456 U.S. at 461 (claim and

issue preclusion apply to Title VII actions). Moreover, in

Rutledge v. Ariz. Bd. of Regents, 660 F.2d 1345 (9th Cir.

1981), affd, Kush v. Rutledge, 460 U.S. 719 (1983) we

afforded full faith and credit to state judicial proceedings

involving an athlete’s claim that he was assaulted by his

coach and that the team engaged in a cover-up of the incident

in violation of section 1985(2). Likewise, we conclude that

Caro’s claim that justice was obstructed during the Personne!

Board and state court proceedings is barred.

APPENDIX 0.16

Ee

SaANcCHEz v. City OF SANTA ANA 6595

DIRECTED VERDICTS

Following the completion of the plaintiffs’ oral presenta-

tion of evidence, defendants were granted directed verdicts on

all remaining claims. Plaintiffs appeal the verdicts on the fol-

lowing claims: (1) The existence of a racially discriminatory

atmosphere; (2) The unlawful retaliation against the plaintiffs

for engaging in protected speech; (3) The discrimination and

retaliation based on race and national origin; and (4) The con-

spiracies against plaintiffs due to their exercise of first amend-

ment rights, their race and national origin, and defendants’

obstruction of justice.

A. Discriminatory Environment

[9] Plaintiffs allege the existence of a racially discrimina-

tory atmosphere at the SAPD in violation of 42 U.S.C. § 1981

and Title VII, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e. They claim that enough evi-

dence was presented that a reasonable jury could have found

the existence of a hostile work environment.... . This is a

mischaracterization of the record. We affirm judgment to the

defendants.

Plaintiffs do not distinguish between their causes of action

under section 1981 and Title VII. They contend that parallel

claims under section 1981 and Title VII should be assessed by

like standards. The Supreme Court has stated, however, that

while there is a “necessary overlap” between these two stat-

utes, section 1981 does not apply to post-contract formation

conduct unrelated to an employee’s right to enforce his or her

contract. Patterson v. McLean Credit Union, _ U.S. _, 109 S.

Ct. 2363, 2374-75 (1989). Title VII, on the other hand,

applies to racial harassment in the course of employment. See

id. at 2374; Meritor Savings Bank, FSB v. Vinson, 477 U.S.

57, 65-66 (1986) (Court discusses Title VII’s application to

sexual harassment). Because plaintiffs’ hostile atmosphere

claim does not involye specific allegations of a refusal to

make a contract or the impairment of their ability to enforce

APPENDIX 0.17

6596 SANCHEZ v. Crry OF SANTA ANA

contract rights, it should be analyzed under Title VII.

Patterson, 109 S. Ct. at 2374.’

In the district court’s pretrial order, it was agreed that Title

VII claims would not be tried by a jury. We have held that a

jury trial need not be provided in Title VII cases. See Slack

v. Havens, 522 F.2d 1091, 1094 (9th Cir. 1975); cf. Miller v.

Fairchild Indus., Inc., 885 F.2d 498, 507 (9th Cir. 1989)

(where plaintiff brings an equitable discrimination claim

under Title VII and a legal claim under section 1981 based on

the same facts, the trial judge must follow the jury’s factual

findings), cert. denied, __ U.S. __, 110 S. Ct. 1524 (1990).

Accordingly, even if plaintiffs’ discriminatory atmosphere

claim is meritorious, we may not remand it for a jury determi-

nation.

In moving for a directed verdict, the defendants did not dis-

tinguish between plaintiffs’ Title VII and 1981 claims. Like-

wise, in directing a verdict the district court did not make this

distinction. The court found simply that “no reasonable per-

son could find for the plaintiffs.” In our review, however, we

must make this distinction. We are not deciding whether the

district court improperly took the issue away from the jury,

but whether the district court erred in deciding the issue with-

out hearing from the defense.

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 41(b) allows the district

judge presiding over a bench trial to decide the case following

the close of the plaintiffs’ case. In Johnson v. United States

Postal Service, 756 F.2d 1461, 1464 (9th Cir. 1985), we held

that a district court’s factual findings made pursuant to Rule

41(b) should be reviewed under the clearly erroneous stan-

"Title VU of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 makes it “an unlawful

employment practice for an employer . . . to discriminate against any indi-

vidual with respect to his compensation, terms, conditions, or privileges

of employment, because of such individual’s race, color, religion, sex, or

national origin” 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a)(1) (1988).

APPENDIX 0.18

SANCHEZ v. City oF SANTA ANA 6597

dard. We also held that ultimate findings under Rule 41(b) are

mixed questions of law and fact and are reviewed de novo. Id.

at 1465. While the defendants did not make a Rule 41(b)

motion, their motion for a directed verdict at the close of

plaintiffs’ case on an issue that will ultimately be decided by

the judge has the same effect. Accordingly, we adopt the same

standard of review.

We cannot say that the district court’s ultimate conclusion,

that the plaintiffs failed to prove the existence of a discrimina-

tory atmosphere, is incorrect as a matter of law. The “directed

verdict” is affirmed.

B. First Amendment Claims

[10] Sanchez and Torres allege that they were unlawfully

retaliated against for exercising their first amendment rights

in violation of 42 U.S.C. § 1983. Our review of the record

indicates that reasonable jurors could find retaliation on one

or more of these claims. These claim are remanded for jury

consideration of the potential liability of Chief Davis, Cap-

tains Hansen and Stebbens, and Lieutenant Williams to

Sanchez,* and the potential liability of Lieutenants Lewellen,

Sterzer and Pitzer and Sergeant Bruns to Torres. The directed

verdicts in favor of the City and the remaining defendants are

affirmed. The specific instances testified to do not impose lia-

bility upon the City for the alleged retaliation by individual

officers. Public entities are liable under section 1983 only

when the constitutional violation occurs as a result of a policy

or custom. Monell v. New York City Dep’t of Social Services,

436 U.S. 658, 690-91 (1978); City of St. Louis v. Praprotnik,

485 U.S. 112, 122-23 (1988). Plaintiffs failed to prove the

existence of such a policy or custom.

"In this appeal, we do not consider Sanchez’s claims of retaliation for

first amendment protected activity where the alleged retaliation is poor

reviews and the removal of his merit pay. These claims are the same as

those for which he received a jury verdict. See Sanchez v. City of Sania

Ana, 915 F.2d 424, 426-28, 430-31 (9th Cir. 1990.)

APPENDIX 0.19

6598 SANCHEZ v. City or SANTA ANA

“To make out a cause of action under section 1983, plain-

tiffs must plead that (1) the defendants acting under color of

state law (2) deprived plaintiffs of rights secured by the Con-

stitution or federal statutes.” Soranno’s Gasco, Inc. v. Mor-

gan, 874 F.2d 1310, 1313-14 (9th Cir. 1989) (quoting Gibson

v. United States, 781 F.2d 1334, 1338 (9th Cir. 1986), cert.

denied, 479 U.S. 1054 (1987)). A violation of section 1983

occurs where an employee is wrongfully retaliated against for

speech protected by the first amendment. See Connick v.

Myers, 461 U.S. 138 (1983); Mt. Healthy City Bd. of Educ. v.

Doyle, 429 U.S. 274 (1977); Pickering v. Board of Educ. of

Township High School Dist. 205, Will County Ill., 391 U.S.

563 (1968); Allen v. Scriber, 812 F.2d 426 (9th Cir.),

amended, 828 F.2d 1445 (1987).

To make a successful claim for wrongful retaliation under

the first amendment and section 1983, the plaintiff must prove

that: (1) the statement that brought on the retaliation is one of

“public concern,” (2) the constitutionally protected expression

is a “substantial” or “motivational” factor in the employer’s

adverse decision or conduct; and (3) the interests of the

plaintiff/employee in commenting on the matter of public

concern outweigh the state’s interest in maintaining efficient

public services. See Allen, 812 F.2d at 430-32. The defendants

concede or do not contest that the incidents alleged by San-

chez and Torres are protected under the first amendment.

Sanchez and Torres testified to numerous instances that a

reasonable jury could have found to be unconstitutional retali-

ation. Plaintiffs testified that the above identified defendants

reacted adversely to the formation of the LPOA, the LPOA

meeting with city personnel, the submission of the LPOA

packet, the filing of EEOC complaints, the instigation of legal

activity, Torres’s press conference, and Sanchez’s and Tor-

res’s public support of Caro following his discharge. More-

over, both Sanchez and Torres testified to being ostracized

and victims of a “silent treatment” and of selective enforce-

ment of the rules, and Torres claimed that he was penalized

APPENDIX 0.20

= EIAs

SANCHEz v. Crry OF SANTA ANA 6599

in his interview for the ATL position and received poor

reviews. These claims of first amendment retaliation are

therefore remanded for suomission to the jury. Sanchez and

Torres are entitled to a jury determination of whether the first

amendment has been violated, and by whom, and what dam-

ages, if any, would be required to repair any injuries caused

by the alleged retaliation.

The evidence, however, does not support a claim that the

SAPD’s policy of bringing grievances to authorities in the

SAPD before bringing them to the City or the public, was

unreasonable as to Sanchez. The Supreme Court has held that

a public employer can impose reasonable limitations on the

manner that employer grievances are handled. Connick, 461

U.S. 138. “The problem ... is to arrive at a balance between

the interests of the [employee] as a citizen, in commenting

upon matters of public concern and the interest of the State,

as an employer, in promoting efficiency of the public service

it performs through its employees.” Pickering, 391 U.S. at

568.

In applying this test, we have held that a police department

has a great interest in protecting itself from false and unfavor-

able publicity generated by its employees. Allen, 812 F.2d at

432; Boyd v. Gain, 558 F.2d 553, 554 (9th Cir. 1977) (court

refuses to expunge reprimands from personnel files of officers

who issued public statements about the police department’s

stop and frisk tactics), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 1087 (1978).

The SAPD’s policy of bringing grievances first through

appropriate channels to authorities in the department before

bringing them to the City or the public is reasonable and not

arbitrary. There was no constitutional violation in requiring

officers to communicate “through channels” before enlisting

public opinion to their cause.

APPENDIX 0.21

6600 SANCHEZ v. Crty oF SANTA ANA

C. Discrimination/Retaliation

All three plaintiffs claim that substantial evidence was pre-

sented to sustain their allegations that the defendants violated

sections 1981, 1983, and Title VII by retaliating against them

because of their race. Their claims are founded on the four-

teenth amendment’s equal protection and due process clauses.

This directed verdict is affirmed. Caro’s claims are barred.

Sanchez received favorable verdicts from the jury on his sepa-

rate fourteenth amendment due process claim.* There is no

evidence to support Torres’s claims; his grievances are best

addressed under the first amendment analysis discussed previ-

ous'y.

D. Conspiracies

Plaintiffs claim that substantial evidence supports the infer-

ence of a single conspiracy managed and implemented by

Chief Davis and Captain Hansen and involving all other

defendants. They allege the same incidents of first amend-

ment protected activities to support their conspiracy claim

under section 1983. While we agree that enough evidence

exists to reverse many of the directed verdicts, we do not find

evidence to support a conspiracy claim under 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983.

Plaintiffs also claim that the defendants conspired to

obstruct justice by deterring witnesses from testifying on

behalf of Caro and by presenting false evidence at Caro’s ter-

mination hearing depriving them of equal protection under the

law in violation of 42 U.S.C. §§ 1985(2), 1986. This claim is

meritless.

Section 1985 proscribes conspiracies to interfere with civil

*Our decision to vacate the award of $500,000 for emotional distress

injury because it is barred by principles of res judicata, see Sanchez, 915

F.2d at 431-32, does not affect our decision here.

APPENDIX 0.22

SANCHEZ v. City OF SANTA ANA 6601

rights. A claim brought under the first and second clauses of

section 1985(2) requires a direct or indirect purpose to

deprive any persons of the equal protection of the laws, or the

equal privileges or immunities under the laws and a class

race-based animus. See Kush, 460 U.S. 719; Griffin v. Breck-

enridge, 403 U.S. 88 (1971); Bretz v. Kelman, 773 F.2d 1026,

1028 (9th Cir. 1985) (en banc). To be actionable, the conspir-

acy must result in overt acts, done in furtherance of the con-

spiracy, that are both the cause in fact and proximate cause of

plaintiffs’ injuries. See Arnold v. IBM, 637 F.2d 1350, 1355

(9th Cir. 1981). A mere allegation of conspiracy without fac-

tual specificity is insufficient to support a claim. Karim-

Panahi v. Los Angeles Police Dept., 839 F.2d 621, 626 (9th

Cir. 1988).

Plaintiffs allege the required class — Hispanic police offi-

cers — but their evidence of a conspiracy to obstruct justice

aimed at the class is lacking. The basis of their claim is that

State court proceedings were obstructed when defendants

allegedly intimidated Officer Schuller from testifying on

Caro’s behalf. As noted above, this claim is barred by res

judicata. Moreover, defendants have presented uncontroverted

evidence that Schuller refused to testify of her own free will.

Plaintiffs also claim that Officer Fernandez was influenced

to suppress evidence that Sergeant Dixon, who originally

investigated Caro’s complaint against Officer Bannon, was

hostile to Caro. Plaintiffs presented evidence that Fernandez

lied to the Personnel Board about his knowledge of Sergeants

Dixon’s potential bias. Even viewing this evidence in Caro’s

favor, however, one incident does not amount to substantial

evidence of a conspiracy to obstruct justice directed at the

class of Hispanic police officers.”

“Plaintiffs also allege that Chief Davis lied about the handling of the

Caro matter when he testified in the state proceedings and that Lieutenant

Williams inflated his state court testimony of Caro’s excessive force

charge. Neither of these incidents, however, evidence a conspiracy

between two or more SAPD members.

APPENDIX 0.23

|

6602 SANCHEZ v. Crry oF SANTA ANA

Likewise, plaintiffs’ claim against the individual defen-

dants under section 1986 is meritless. “Section 1986 imposes

liability on every person who knows of an impending viola-

tion of section 1985 but neglects or refuses to prevent the

violation.” Karim-Panahi, 839 F.2d at 626. A violation of

section 1986 thus depends on the existence of a valid claim

under 1985. Id.; Trerice v. Pedersen, 769 F.2d 1398, 1403

(9th Cir. 1985); Mollnow v. Carlton, 716 F.2d 627, 632 (9th

Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1100 (1984).

INDIVIDUAL LIABILITY ON REMAND

[11] The individual defendants contend that they are

immune from liability. We address their claim to guide the

district court upon remand, and hold that the district court -

erred in ruling that the defendants were entitled to immunity

because the law in this area was insufficiently clear. On

remand, however, the court should also consider whether any

of the defendants were performing discretionary functions and

enjoyed qualified immunity for their actions on that basis.

Government officials performing discretionary functions

enjoy qualified immunity from liability for civil damages as

long as their conduct does not violate “clearly established

statutory or constitutional rights of which a reasonable person

would have known.” Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 818

(1982). Good faith qualified immunity attaches if the offi-

cial’s conduct is objectively reasonable “as measured by ref-

erence to clearly established law.” Id. See also Anderson v.

Creighton, 483 U.S. 635, 639-40 (1987) (the contours of the

right must be sufficiently clear to a reasonable official so that

the actor would have understood that what he was doing vio-

lated that right).

[12] The causes of action upon which we reverse the

directed verdict involve particular rights that were clearly

established at the time of the alleged incidents. See Connick

v. Myers, 461 U.S. 138 (1983)(“for at least 15 years, it has

APPENDIX 0.24

bitin diiai

SANCHEz v. City OF SANTA ANA 6603

been settled that a State cannot condition public employment

on a basis that infringes the employee’s constitutionally pro-

tected interests in freedom of expression.”); Gutierrez v.

Municipal Ct. of Southeast Judicial Dist., Los Angeles

| County, 838 F.2d 1031, 1050-51 (9th Cir. 1988) (governmen-

tal officials are not entitled to qualified immunity from a sec-

tion 1981 or section 1983 action based on intentional

discrimination), vacated on mootness grounds, _ U.S. _, 109

S. Ct. 1736 (1989); Flores v. Pierce, 617 F.2d 1386, 1392

(9th Cir.) (“[nJo official can in good faith impose discrimina-

tory burdens on a person or group by reason of a racial or eth-

nic animus against them. The constitutional right to be free

_.- from such invidious discrimination is so well established and

SO essential to the preservation of our constitutional order that

all public officials must be charged with knowledge of it.”),

cert. denied, 449 U.S. 875 (1980); Rogers, 454 F.2d at 238

(racially discriminatory atmosphere claim is actionable under

Title VI).

ATTORNEY’S FEES

Upon post-trial motion, the Sergeant-defendants and the

other nine individual defendants were awarded attorney’s fees

under 42 U.S.C. § 1988. Plaintiffs challenge these awards.

The district court found that the plaintiffs abused the legal

process and dragged innocent individuals through the court

system. Plaintiffs contend that, because many of the defen-

dants’ motions for summary judgment were denied, their

claiinas have merit and attorney’s fees were improperly

awarded against them. Both sides claim too much from the

record. Court time was wasted by both sides, some of it on

groundless claims by plaintiffs, some of it by litigation-happy

defense tactics. The meters in the law offices were running,

but fee shifting was not warranted in this case.

Under section 1988 a court may award attorney’s fees to a

prevailing defendant if the court finds that the plaintiff’s

APPENDIX 0.25

6604 SANCHEZ v. Crry oF SANTA ANA

action is “frivolous, unreasonable, or without foundation.”

Christiansburg Garment Co. v. Equal Employment Opportu-

nity Commission, 434 U.S. 412 (1978). See also Hughes v.

Rowe, 449 U.S. 5, 14-16 (1980) (applying Christiansburg to

42 U.S.C. § 1983 case). In Jensen v. Stangel we held that

denials of motions to dismiss and summary judgment may

suggest that a plaintiff's claims are not without merit. 762

F.2d 815, 818 (9th Cir. 1985). While defendants are correct

in noting that in Jensen we reversed the attorney’s fees award

primarily upon other grounds, Jensen nevertheless, provides

guidance.

As in Jensen, two trial judges presided over different parts

of these proceedings. By denying many of defendants’

motions for summary judgment, Judge Hill apparently

believed that parts of the plaintiffs’ case had enough merit to

proceed to the next stage of litigation. Judge Kenyon, after

hearing 39 days of trial, found that most of the claims were

not proven or were otherwise barred. Logic and fairness dic-

tate that where two judges disagree, attorney’s fees should not

be awarded en gross for bringing a frivolous case.

Massive fee awards against plaintiffs who continue to trial

are contrary to Congress’ goal of “promoting vigorous prose-

cution of civil rights violations under Title VII and § 1983.”

Miller v. Los Angeles County Bd. of Educ., 827 F.2d 617, 619

(9th Cir. 1987). We therefore reverse the district court’s

award of attorney's fees. To the extent that the City had to

finance heavy defense costs, there is abundant evidence in this

record that the City could have avoided much of the problem

by employing a less confrontational approach to departmental

grievances after having recently been through, and losing, the

LULAC litigation.

We need not address whether the allocation of the burden

of the fee award was an abuse of discretion because we hold

that no award was warranted.

APPENDIX 0.26

SANCHEZ v. CiTy OF SANTA ANA 6605

The district court abused its discretion in denying attor-

ney’s fees to Sanchez. A plaintiff in a civil rights suit is a pre-

vailing party and is entitled to an award of attomney’s fees if

he “has succeeded on ‘any significant issue in litigation which

achieve[d] some of the benefit the parties sought in bringing

suit.’ Texas State Teachers Ass'n v. Garland Independent

School Dist., _ U.S. _, 109 S. Ct. 1486, 1493 (1989). We

remand to the district court to award reasonable attorney’s

fees, including fees on appeal, in connection with that part of

the verdict affirmed in the City’s companion appeal, Sanchez

v. City of Santa Ana, 915 F.2d 424 (9th Cir. 1990). The dis-

trict court shall determine the amount of fees that can be attri-

buted to the part of Sanchez’s appeal that was successful, and

shall award reasonable attorney’s fees and costs to the extent

of Sanchez’s success, both for the work in the district court

and on appeal.

AFFIRMED IN PART, REVERSED IN PART AND

REMANDED.

APPENDIX 0.27

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.