Opposition Brief — Malone v. Gilman Paper Co.

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

JACKIE D. MALONE,

Petitioner,

v.

GILMAN PAPER COMPANY,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Eleventh Circuit

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

WALLACE E. HARRELL

Counsel of Record

GILBERT, HARRELL, GILBERT,

SUMERFORD & MARTIN, P.C.

777 Gloucester Street

Suite 200

Post Office Box 190

Brunswick, Georgia 31521-0190

(912) 265-6700

WILSON - Eres Printinc Co., Inc. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Petitioner’s first question poses the issue of whether

the grant of a summary judgment is ever appropriate

when Petitioner has filed a claim for damages based

upon an alleged violation of Section 510 of the Em-

ployee Retirement Income Security Act, 29 U.S.C.

§ 1140 (1985).

2. Petitioner’s second question simply is a request that

this court review the record to determine whether

or not the district court and the Eleventh Circuit

Court of Appeals properly evaluated the evidence in

determining whether Petitioner had rebutted Respond-

ent’s clear and unambiguous evidence that there was

no causal link between Plaintiff’s alleged discharge

and his pension benefits. Inherent in this question

is whether Petitioner’s claim rises to the level of im-

portance that this Court should grant writ of

certiorari.

3. Even though the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals

did not reach this issue, Respondent contends that the

trial court was correct in holding that Petitioner had

no claim since ERISA § 510 does not apply to vested

pension plan participants.

(i)

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Respondent agrees with Petitioner’s statement listing

the parties to the proceeding.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

eb Dg Sy) |

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING...

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ......... Riliatinalasesemjmensitincedsorniece

OPINIONS BELOW ...... IGE lisiasildkiainiccsaiensncsesacncinectocee

EEE EO SEER EATON

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED .......000000....

ee at ag) OT |

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ....................00000000000....

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT 000...

I.

II.

Ill.

A GRANT OF SUMMARY JUDGMENT IS

APPROPRIATE WHEN PETITIONER HAS

FILED A CLAIM UPON AN ALLEGED VIO-

LATION OF SECTION 510 OF THE EM-

PLOYEE RETIREMENT INCOME SECU-

a ea cree © OOOO .............

PETITIONER’S WRIT OF CERTIORARI

SHOULD BE DENIED BECAUSE THE PETI-

TIONER’S CLAIM DOES NOT QUALIFY

UNDER THE STANDARD OF REVIEW OF

THIS COURT IN GRANTING WRITS OF

eS I cr

ERISA § 510 DOES NOT APPLY TO VESTED

PENSION PLAN PARTICIPANTS

a

ii

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

APPENDIX: Page

DEPOSITION OF JACK MALONE............. la

MEETING WITH JACK MALONE ............ 2a

AFFIDAVIT OF JACK MALONE... 4a

DEPOSITION OF DOMINICK RALPH SOR-

| _ FER RSNA OE RUT SO r NO Bate 5a

DEPOSITION OF WILLIAM H. DAVIS ......... 8a

DEPOSITION OF JOHN M. LOVE ............. 10a

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242,

106 S.Ct. 2505, 91 L.Ed.2d 202 (1986) 4

Baker v. Kaiser Aluminum and Chemical Corp.,

608 F. Supp. 1315 (N.D. Cal. 1984) — 0... 5, 15

Corum v. Farm Credit Services, 628 F. Supp. 707

ea a ellen 15

Dister v. Continental Group, Inc., 859 F.2d 1108

TU a nanedaoe 5-6, 9, 12-14

Gavalik v. Continental Can Co., 812 F.2d 834 (3rd

a nausea 6,9, 10, 12

Hayden v. First National Bank of Mt. Pleasant,

Texas, 595 F.2d 994 (5th Cir. 1979) _.......0..0..... 4

Ingersoll-Rand Company v. McClendon, —— U.S.

, 111 S.Ct. 478, 112 L.Ed.2d 474 (1990)... 7-9

Johnson v. United Airlines, Inc., 680 F. Supp.

rf BO LC C"s eee 16

Kelly v. Chase Manhattan Bank, 717 F. Supp. 227

ne cusea 16-17

Lujan v. National Wildlife Federation, US.

, 110 S.Ct. 3177, 111 L.Ed.2d 695 (1990).... 5

McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792,

93 S.Ct. 1817, 36 L.Ed.2d 668 (1973) _................ passim

Moehle v. N.L. Industries, Inc., 646 F. Supp. 769

(E.D. Mo. 1986), aff’d. without op. 845 F.2d

Se MI: I oso 15

Texas Department of Community Affairs v. Bur-

dine, 450 U.S. 248, 101 S.Ct. 1089, 67 L.Ed.2d

I es eeteisadene 9

Turner v. Schering-Plough Corp., 901 F.2d 335

I a PS ee aad oA, 6, 14

West v. Butler, 621 F.2d 240 (6th Cir. 1980)... 17

Statute:

Employee Retirement Income Security Act § 510,

Se a cessicaninn passim

Rules:

. & B.S ene ee ie 2

J. Moore, Moore’s Federal Practice Rules Pam-

phlet, Rules of the Supreme Court of the United

I SI ED CID oc cecceessnccevnareosccctersene 6, 7,9, 10

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

No. 90-1734

JACKIE D. MALONE,

Petitioner,

Vv.

GILMAN PAPER COMPANY,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Eleventh Circuit

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

Respondent agrees that the opinion of the courts be-

low are attached to Petitioner’s petition.

JURISDICTION

Respondent agrees that Petitioner has properly stated

the basis for jurisdiction of this court. Respondent de-

nies that certiorari should be granted,

2

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Respondent agrees that Petitioner has properly set

forth the statutory provisions involved in the litigation

that is the basis of Petitioner’s complaint. Rule 56 of

the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure as it relates to the

burden of proof and the response required to a motion

for summary judgment is also involved.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondent agrees to Petitioner’s statement of the

case except as follows:

Petitioner was employed by Respondent in its account-

ing department. (4a) In an effort to increase efficiency,

eliminate duplication and reduce overhead, Respondent

decided to reorganize and consolidate the accounting de-

partment in St. Marys, Georgia, part of which was lo-

cated in New York City. (5a-7a) This resulted in the

elimination of Petitioner’s then existing position with

Respondent. (5a-7a) Petitioner admits he was of-

fered other options which included continued employ-

ment in the accounting department at a lower wage, but

he contends it was offered in such a way that he con-

cluded he would not be able to do the work. (la-2a) The

employees in New York were given different retirement

options than Petitioner since they were going to be re-

quired to either retire if eligible or move from New York

to Georgia in order to continue employment. (5a-6a)

Petitioner refers in his statement to employees of Re-

spondent who had been employed at its “bag plant” and

who were given different retirement options than he.

The bag plant was being closed and those employees

were going to be allowed to retire, if eligible, or required

to move to another city of Georgia. (1lla-12a)

It is undisputed that regardless of any action taken

by Respondent relating to its pension plan for its em-

3

ployees, Petitioner’s pension rights have been unaffected

and in fact Petitioner is now receiving retirement bene-

fits in accordance with the plan in effect when he was

an employee before he retired. The pension rights of

Petitioner had become vested and were not affected by

his decision to take early retirement. (10a-11la)

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

1. The Supreme Court should deny Petitioner’s Writ

for Certiorari since the first question presented by Peti-

tioner merely contends that there can be no summary

judgment granted when Petitioner has filed a claim for

damages alleging violation of Section 510 of the Em-

ployee Retirement Income Security Act, 29 U.S.C. Sec.

1140 (1985). A summary judgment is appropriate in em-

ployment discrimination cases and specifically in ERISA

§ 510 cases. This court has clearly established summary

judgment viability when the movant’s state of mind is

an element in the case.

2. Petitioner’s writ of certiorari should be denied be-

cause Petitioner’s claim does not rise to the level of

importance that the Supreme Court typically requires.

There is no conflict between the Court of Appeals decision

and this court’s interpretation of ERISA §510 nor is

there any conflict between the Eleventh Circuit Court of

Appeals decision and any other circuit.

3. Petitioner’s pension rights were fully vested at the

time of his alleged termination and therefore he cannot

invoke the protection of ERISA § 510.

4

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. A GRANT OF SUMMARY JUDGMENT IS APPRO-

PRIATE WHEN PETITIONER HAS FILED A

CLAIM UPON AN ALLEGED VIOLATION OF SEC-

TION 510 OF THE EMPLOYEE RETIREMENT IN-

COME SECURITY ACT, 29 U.S.C. § 1140.

Petitioner contends in this petition for writ of certio-

rari that summary judgment cannot be granted when

Petitioner has filed a claim for damages alleging a viola-

tion of Section 510 of the Employee Retirement Income

Security Act, codified as 29 U.S.C. §1140. He claims

he is entitled to a jury trial. (Petitioner’s Brief, pp. i,

8) In support of his contention, Petitioner cites Hayden

v. First National Bank of Mt. Pleasant, Texas, 595 F.2d

994 (5th Cir. 1979) where the court stated that the

granting of summary judgment in employment discrim-

ination cases are questionable. (Petitioner’s Brief, p.

8) However, no har exists on the use of summary judg-

ment in employment discrimination cases. Summary

judgment is just as appropriate in employment discrim-

ination, and more specifically, in ERISA § 510 cases as

in other cases. Indeed, in Anderson v. Liberty Lobby,

Inc., 477 US. 242, 106 S.Ct. 2505, 91 L.Ed.2d 202

(1986), this court clearly established summary judg-

ment viability in discrimination cases in holding that

summary judgment may still be granted on the movant’s

motion in cases where the defendant’s state of mind is

an element in the case (as is the situation with employ-

ment discrimination cases). Id. at 2514, 2515. The court

in Anderson held that as long as the movant meets his

burden of showing no genuine issue of fact exists, the

non-movant is not relieved of his 6wn burden of produc-

ing evidence that establishes a genuine issue of fact to

avoid the grant of a summary judgment, even when a

party’s state of mind is an issue. The non-movant must

offer concrete evidence from which a reasonable juror

could return a verdict in his favor. Jd. at 2514.

5

The court in Dister v. Continental Group, Inc., 59 F.2d

1108 (2nd Cir. 1988) applied the Anderson rule to an

ERISA $510 case and held that to avoid summary

judgment a non-movant must offer “ ‘concrete evidence

from which a reasonable juror could return a verdict in

his favor’... and is not entitled to a trial simply be-

cause the determinative issue focuses upon the defend-

ant’s state of mind.” Jd. at 1114, quoting Anderson at

2514. The Dister court, citing Nash v. Jaqueline Coch-

ran, Inc., 548 F.Supp. 676, 678 (S.D. N.Y. 1982), also

stated that the purpose of summary judgment—avoiding

protracted, expensive, and harassing triais—apply equally

to discrimination cases and other areas of litigation. /d.

at 1114. In Baker v. Kaiser Aluminum and Chemical

Corp., 608 F.Supp. 1315 (D.C. Cal. 1984), the plaintiff

brought an action against his employer under ERISA

$510 alleging interference with his pension rights due

to wrongful discharge. In granting the defendant’s mo-

tion for summary judgment, the court stated that “a

party against whom summary judgment is sought is not

entitled to trial simply because he has asserted a cause

of action to which state of mind is a material element.

There must be some indication that he can produce the

requisite quantum of evidence to enable him to reach

the jury with his claim.” Jd. at 1319, quoting Hahn v.

Sargent, 523 F.2d 461, 468 (1st Cir. 1975), cert. denied,

425 U.S. 904, 96 S.Ct. 1495, 47 L.Ed. 2d 754 (1976).

The purpose of summary judgment is to enable a

_ arty who believes there is no genuine dispute essential to

the opponent’s case to demand proof of a material dis-

puted fact before lengthy litigation continues. Lujan v.

National Wildlife Federation, —— U.S; ——, 110 S.Ct.

3177, 3188, 4189, 111 L.Ed.2d 695 (1990). This effective

tool is as appropriate in ERISA § 510 cases as in other

cases, and courts have established that the existence of

an employer's state of mind and intent as a factor in a

case does not preclude the use of summary judgment.

6

Indeed, lower courts have established manageable stand-

ards and allocations of burdens of proof in determining

whether or not summary judgment should be granted in

ERISA § 510 cases. Petitioner’s contention would strip

the courts of a tool that is beneficial to both the litigants

and the court system and which the courts have proven

competent to evaluate in ERISA § 510 actions. See

Dister v. Continental Group, Inc., 859 F.2d 1108 (2nd

Cir. 1988), Gavalik v. Continental Can Co., 812 F.2d 834

(3rd Cir. 1987), and Turner v. Schering-Plough Corp.,

901 F.2d 335 (8rd Cir. 1990) (all adopting variations

of the test of indirect intent for the establishment of a

prima facie case by this court in McDonnell Douglas

Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792, 93 S.Ct. 1817, 36 L.Ed.2d

668 (1973). Therefore, Petitioner’s contention that sum-

mary judgment is not applicable to ERISA § 510 cases

is not meritorious.

II. PETITIONER’S WRIT OF CERTIORARI SHOULD

BE DENIED BECAUSE THE PETITIONER’S

CLAIM DOES NOT QUALIFY UNDER THE STAND-

ARD OF REVIEW OF THIS COURT IN GRANTING

WRITS OF CERTIORARL.

Petitioner’s writ of certiorari should be denied because

the Petitioner’s claim does not rise to the level of im-

portance that the Supreme Court typically requires in

granting certiorari to review a Court of Appeals de-

cision. Rule 10(1) of the Rules of the Supreme Court

states: “A petition for a writ of certiorari will be

granted only when there are special and important rea-

sons therefor.” J. Moore, Moore’s Federal Practice Rules

Pamphlet, Rules of the Supreme Court of the United

States, Rule 10(1) (1991). Petitioner’s claim does not

involve “special and important reasons” that Rule 10

requires. Both the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Georgia and the United States Court

of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit in granting summary

judgment to the defendant, found no meritorious claims

ee

7

in the Petitioner’s arguments. Indeed, in its order, the

Court of Appeals held that the defendant met its burden

of proof in showing that no causal link between the plain-

tiff’s retirement and his pension benefits existed, while

Petitioner presented no contrary evidence to Respondent’s

motion for summary judgment. Also, deposition testi-

mony from defendant establishes that Petitioner was not

terminated, but was given several options, including con-

tinued employment with defendant in a related capacity

with reduced responsibilities and pay and retraining.

However, plaintiff voluntarily elected to take early re-

tirement. (la-3a, 6a-7a, 12a-13a). Testimony from de-

fendant’s employees established that defendant’s deci-

sion to reorganize the accounting department to enable

it to operate more effectively was the purpose in offering

plaintiff the options, and while Petitioner might contend

he was “forced” to retire, no evidence exists to indicate

the decision was made solely or even substantially for

the purpose of avoiding pension liability. (5a-6a, 8a-9a,

lla-12a, 14a-15a).

Petitioner seems to claim that the decision of the

Court of Appeals is in conflict with the Supreme Court’s

interpretation of ERISA § 510 in Ingersoll-Rand Com-

pany v. McClenden, ——-U.S. ——, 111 S.Ct. 478, 112

L.Ed.2d 474 (1990), and therefore under Rule 10(1) (c)

of the Rules of the Supreme Court, the conflict creates

an important reason for granting a writ of certiorari.

Contrary to Petitioner’s claim, the decision of the Court

of Appeals is not in conflict with this Court’s interpre-

tation of the purpose of ERISA § 510 in Ingersoll-Rand

Company. Ingersoll-Rand Company held that the fed-

eral ERISA §510 statute pre-empts state regulation

when a right has been violated that is guaranteed by

ERISA § 510. In Ingersoll-Rand Company, an employee

of nine years was released four months before his pen-

sion would have vested. The employee sued in state court,

and this court reversed the state supreme court decision,

—————————————

8

ruling that state jurisdiction must yield to the federal

enactment and should be decided under ERISA stand-

ards. /d, at 481-482, 485-486. In stating that “. . . this

claim is prototypical of the kind Congress intended to

cover under £510”, this court’s interpretation of the

purpose of ERISA § 510 is not in conflict with the Court

of Appeals decision in the instant case. Jd. at 485. Un-

like the plaintiff in Ingersoll-Rand Company, Petitioner

in the instant case was fully vested for all benefits to

which he was entitled at the time of his retirement under

Respondent’s pension pian. Petitioner has only shown

that if he had continued to work until the age of 65

instead of taking an early retirement, the benefits he

would have received would have been greater than those

which he is presently receiving and that, in effect, is a

“savings” to Respondent. This, by itself, is not sufficient

to create a cause of action since anytime any employee

is discharged, the discharge results in a savings to an

employer both in salary and pension costs. The Peti-

tioner in the instant case has not established evidence

that the Respondent had intent or purpose to interfere

with Petitioner’s pension rights. The Court of Appeals

held that Petitioner presented no contrary evidence to

defendant’s evidence that no causal link between the Peti-

tioner’s retirement and pension benefits existed. (Peti-

tioner’s Brief, pp. A-3, A-4) Therefore, the Court of

Appeals decision that the Petitioner had not met his bur-

den of proof to establish any material issue of fact does

not conflict with this court’s interpretation of ERISA

§ 510, in holding that a case where an employee is termi-

nated a few months before his pension vests is the type

of case that Congress intended to cover under § 510 to

protect “plan participants from termination motivated by

an employer’s desire to prevent a pension from vesting’.

Id. at 485. The primary issues of Ingersoll-Rand Com-

pany and the instant case differ. The Court of Appeals

in the instant case has not decided Petitioner’s ERISA

claim in a way that conflicts with /ngersoll-Rand Com-

9

pany. Therefore, contrary to Petitioner’s contention, the

claim in the instant case does not meet the standard of

review of the United States Supreme Court under Su-

preme Court Rule 10/1) (¢).

The Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals does not render

the decision in the instant case in conflict with another

Court of Appeals decision on the same matter, nor did

the decision depart from the accepted and usual course

of judicial proceedings for this court to grant writ of

certiorari under Rule 10(1)(a) of the Rules of the Su-

preme Court. Although this question is apparently of

first impression in the Eleventh Circuit, several circuits,

in determining whether parties met their respective bur-

dens of proof in a motion for summary judgment in

ERISA § 510 cases, nave adopted this Court’s criteria

for allocations of burden and order of presentation of

proof for intent and motive elements. See Gavalik v.

Continental Can Co., 812 F.2d 834 (3rd Cir. 1987) and

Dister v. Continental Group, Inc., 859 F.2d 1108 (2nd

Cir. 1988). This court’s criteria was established in

McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792, 93

S.Ct. 1817, 36 L.Ed.2d 668 (1973), a Title VII case

alleging discriminatory treatment. This criteria was

summarized in Texas Department of Community Affairs

v. Burdine, 450 U.S. 248, 101 S.Ct. 1089, 67 L.Ed.2d 207

(1981) as follows:

First, the plaintiff has the burden of proving by the

preponderance of the evidence a prima facie case of

discrimination. Second, if the plaintiff succeeds in

proving the prima facie case, the burden shifts to

the defendant “to articulate some legitimate non-

discriminatory reason for the employee’s_ rejec-

tion...” Third, should defendant carry this burden,

the plaintiff must then have the opportunity to prove

by a preponderance of the evidence that the legiti-

mate reasons offered by the defendant were not its

true reasons but were a pretext for discrimination.

Burdine, 450 U.S. at 252-253, 101 Sup. Ct. at 1093

10

(1981). (Quoting McDonnell Douglas, 411 U.S. at

802, 804, 93 Sup. Ct. at 1824, 1825).

Based on the analysis that follows, the decision in the

instant case by the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals

meets the criteria of these various tests, and therefore,

the issues of this case do not meet the standard of review

for a grant of a writ of certiorari to the United States

Supreme Court under Rule 10(1) (a) of the Rules of the

Supreme Court.

The Third Circuit Court of Appeals adopted the

McDonnell framework in Gavalik v. Continental Can

Company, 812 F.2d 834 (3rd Cir. 1987), and formulated

requirements for the establishment of a prima facie case

in ERISA § 510 cases similar to the requirements in

McDonnell. The court held that “to establish a prima

facie case under ERISA § 510, an employee must demon-

strate (1) prohibited employer conduct; (2) taken for

the purpose of interfering; (3) with the attainment of

any right to which the employee may become entitled.”

Gavalik at 852. The plaintiff must establish his prima

facie case by a preponderance of the evidence. Gavalik

at 853.

Petitioner has not demonstrated by a preponderance of

the evidence that Respondent engaged in prohibited con-

duct. Petitioner states in his brief that Petitioner was

forced to retire because of unreasonable demands and

conditions placed on him. (Petitioner’s Brief, pp. 7, 8).

However. Petitioner produces no evidence other than his

own assertions of this claim. Deposition testimony from

Gilman Paper Company employees, however, establishes

that Petitioner was offered several options, one of which

included continued employment with Gilman Paper Com-

pany in a somewhat different, but related capacity with

reduced responsibility and pay. However, Petitioner vol-

untarily elected not to take the job, but rather to take

retirement. Even if Petitioner’s contention that he was

11

“forced” to retire is accepted (though in no way sup-

ported by any evidence before this court) there is stil!

no showing that Petitioner’s alleged forced retirement is

related to his pension benefits and that he was forced to

retire to save Respondent the cost of such benefits.

(la-3a, 6a-7a, 12a-13a). -—

In his brief, Petitioner also claims that the fact that

Respondent changed pension plans and gave Petitioner

several career options “created an inference that reduc-

ing the Petitioner’s future pension benefits, which re-

sulted in a correspondence cost reduction to the Respond-

ent, was at least one of the motivating factors which

caused the Respondent to force the Petitioner into early

retirement”. (Petitioner’s Brief, pp. 7-8) However, Peti-

tioner produces no evidence supporting these allegations.

Petitioner has not established by a preponderance of the

evidence that Respondent had intent or purpose to inter-

fere with Petitioner’s pension rights. Indeed, testimony

from management level employees of the Respondent es-

tablishes that the decision to reorganize the accounting

department was made as a result of a desire to enable

it to operate more efficiently and cost effectively. (5a-6a,

8a-9a, 1la-12a, 14a-15a) There is no evidence to indicate

that this decision was made solely, or even substantially,

for the purpose of avoiding pension liability. Petitioner at-

tempts to compare his situation with that of employees

of the defendant’s former grocery bag operation and with

that of some of its New York-based employees. (Peti-

tioner’s Brief, pp. 4-5) Petitioner was not, and has not

established himself to have been equally situated with

employees of the grocery bag operations or with employ-

ees of the accounting department located in New York

City. Petitioner was not employed in New York and did

not work for the grocery bag operation. He was based

at the papermill in St. Marys, Georgia. (4a) Even if

he was similarly situated, Petitioner still has the burden

of showing a causal link between his pension rights and

12

his discharge when Respondent has made an affirmative

showing that his alleged “discharge” had nothing to do

with his pension benefits.

Petitioner also submits as evidence of the Respondent’s

prohibited intentions the fact that Respondent terminated

the overfunded pension plan in order to acquire the ex-

cess assets. (Petitioner’s Brief, p. 7) However, Petitioner

does not allege and cannot prove that the termination of

the overfunded plan worked to the detriment of any plan

participant. It is undisputed that plan participants re

received and are receiving the benefits to which they are

entitled. (9a) It is also undisputed that Respondent has

established a new pension plan. (10a-lla) Therefore,

Petitioner has failed to establish a prima facie case

against Respondent, and the Eleventh Circuit Court of

Appeals correctly granted Respondent summary judgment,

not in opposition with the prima facie framework adopted

by the Gavalik court.

The Second Circuit has also adopted the McDonnell

framework and established a three-part test for plain-

tiffs to establish a prima facie case under ERISA § 510.

To establish a prima facie case, the plaintiff must show

that the plaintiff (1) belong to a protected group, (2)

was qualified for the position, and (3) was discharged

or denied employment under circumstances that give to

an inference of discrimination. Dister at 1114-1115. The

Petitioner does not establish a prima facie case under

the Dister test because, as has already been discussed in

the context of Gayalik, the Petitioner has failed to show

by a preponderance of the evidence that he was discharged

from his job. Petitioner claims that Respondent’s busi-

ness reason for the challenged practice was a pretext.

(Petitioner’s Brief, p. 8) The Dister court established a

framework for judging pretext claims. In Dister, a fired

employee sued under ERISA § 510 claiming he was re-

leased a few months before being eligible for benefits so

that the company could avoid paying these benefits. The

13

court, under a McDonnell test, held that the plaintiff had

the burden of proving, by a preponderance of the evi-

dence, that defendant’s legitimate, non-discriminatory

reason for releasing plaintiff was pretext for discrimina-

tion. Dister at 1113, 1115. The defendant had asserted

a corporate re-organization and a change in business

priorities caused the release of plaintiff. Jd. at 1115.

The Dister court, citing Burdine, 450 U.S. at 256, 101

S.Ct. at 1095, stated, “. .. a plaintiff may prevail upon

a showing that the employer’s given legitimate reason is

unworthy of credence, that is, that the reason supplied

was not the true reason for the unfavorable employment

decision.” Jd. at 1113. Dister also cited Lieberman v.

Grant, 630 F.2d 60, 65 (2nd Cir. 1980), stating “. .. pre-

text can be established by a showing that the asserted

neutral basis was so ridden with error that the employer

obviously could not honestly have relied on it.” Jd. at

1113. Even though the plaintiff in Dister had asserted

inconsistencies in defendant’s testimony and _ public

speeches by defendant’s executives as evidence of pretext

in defendant’s reasons for plaintiff’s release, the court

held that the plaintiff had failed to prove pretext by a

preponderance of the evidence and had not met his burden,

and so summary judgment for the defendant was prop-

erly granted. /d. at 1117.

Petitioner in the instant case produces no evidence or

case law to substantiate his claim of pretext, with the

exception of his own assertions. He has certainly not

established by a preponderance of the evidence that Re-

snondent’s decision to increase efficiency and eliminate

duplication in the accounting department was a pretext

for prohibited action in violation of ERISA § 510. There

is no evidence of inconsistencies in Respondent’s assertion

of legitimate business reasons in streamlining Respond-

ent’s accounting department. Indeed, Petitioner produces

no evidence that Petitioner’s added pension, had he re-

mained with Gilman Paper Company, was a motivating

14

factor at all in Respondent’s decision to create a more

efficient accounting department. Therefore, Petitioner has

not met his burden of proof, and under the Dister test,

the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals properly affirmed

summary judgment for the Respondent.

In Turner v. Schering-Plough Corp., 901 F.2d 335 (3rd

Cir. 1990), the court, applying the McDonnell test to an

ERISA § 510 case, held that the plaintiff, who had

worked for the defendant for 37 years before being re

leased and who was not deprived of his pension, had not

established a prima facie case to defeat a summary judg-

ment motion. Jd. at 348. The court stated:

All Turner has shown is that his termination de-

prived him of the opportunity to accrue additional

benefits through more years of employment. This

kind of deprivation occurs whenever an ERISA em-

ployer discharges an employee and is not alone pro-

bative of an intent to interfere with pension rights.

Where this is the only deprivation, a prima facie

case requires some additional evidence suggesting

that pension interference might have been a motivat-

ing factor. In this connection, we note that the

record contains no evidence that the savings to the

employer resulting from Turner’s termination were

of sufficient size that they may be realistically viewed

as a motivating factor.

Id. at 348.

As in the Turner case, Petitioner in the instant case

can only prove that the Petitioner no longer has the op-

portunity to accrue additional benefits through more years

of employment. Ignoring the fact that Petitioner volun-

tarily chose to retire and prevent additional benefits from

accruing, Petitioner has produced no evidence under the

Turner standard to prove by a preponderance that Re-

spondent’s legitimate, non-discriminatory reason was pre-

text or that the savings to the Respondent resulting from

Petitioner’s early retirement were of sufficient size to

15

realistically be viewed as a motivating factor. The

Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals decision in the instant

case is not in opposition to the Turner court’s analysis of

burden of proof responsibilities in summary judgment in

ERISA §510 cases involving employees whose benefits

have vested. Petitioner has exhibited no evidence or cases

that contradict this Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals

holding. However, Respondent has exhibited several Court

of Appeals decisions from several circuits regarding sum-

mary judgment in ERISA §510 cases that are not in

opposition to the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals deci-

sion. Since the standard of review of the United States

Supreme Court has not been met, the Order of the Court

of Appeals should be upheld, and the writ of certiorari

denied.

III. ERISA §510 DOES NOT APPLY TO VESTED PEN-

SION PLAN PARTICIPANTS.

Contrary to Petitioner’s assertions, an examination of

employer intent and the establishment of no causal link

between Petitioner’s retirement and his pension benefits

are not necessary to determine that the Respondent is

entitled to summary judgment. The petition for writ of

certiorari should be denied because the petitioner has no

cause of aciton under ERISA § 510. In granting sum-

mary judgment to the Respondent, the United States Dis-

trict Court for the Southern District of Georgia relied on

a long line of cases from sister jurisdictions and properly

concluded that an employee whose pension rights are

vested at the time of his termination cannot invoke the

protections of ERISA § 510. (Petitioner’s Brief, pp.

A-10-14) :

In its Order, the District Court quoted and discussed

the critical portions of Baker v. Kaiser Aluminum and

Chemical Corp., 608 F.Supp. 1315 (N.D. Cal. 1984),

Corum v. Farm Credit Services, 628 F.Supp. 707 (D.

Minn. 1986), and Moehle v. N.L. Industries, Inc., 646

16

F.Supp. 769 (E.D. Mo. 1986), aff'd. without op. 845

F.2d 1027 (8th Cir. 1988). These cases involve suits sub-

ject to rulings pursuant to ERISA § 510 and are clear

authority for the District Court’s proposition that vested

employees have no cause of action under § 510.

Other authority cited by the District Court, but not

discussed in its Order, is equally persuasive, and shows

that the weight of authority supports the District Court

decision. The court cited Johnson v. United Air Lines,

680 F.Supp. 1425 (D. Hawaii 1987). The Johnson Court

stated that because the plaintiff admitted during his

deposition that he was fully vested in his company’s pen-

sion plan at the time of his termination, to “the extent

that he alleges a violation of § 510 of ERISA based on his

alleged failure to vest in United’s pension plan because of

his discharge, defendants are entitled to summary judg-

ment” as to that count. Johnson at 1432, citing Logan v.

St. Luke’s-Roosevelt Hospital Center, 636 F.Supp. 226:

(S.D. N.Y. 1986). In the instant case, Petitioner was

fully vested in all benefits to which he was entitled at the

time of his retirement under Responcent’s Pension Plan.

(9a, Petitioner’s Brief, p. A-14)

In another case cited by the District Court, Kelly v.

Chase Manhattan Bank, 717 F.Supp. 227 (S.D. N.Y.

1989), a discharged employee brought an action which,

in part, alleged that his termination deprived him of an

opportunity to accrue additional benefits under his com-

pany’s pension plan. The court noted that the employer

had conceded that the plaintiff was fully vested in his

pension plan at the time of his dismissal, and that the

plaintiff’s claim was that had he remained as an employee

he would have accrued additional benefits. Kelly at 232.

The court held that “such a claim is not cognizable un-

der § 510.” Ibid. citing Dister v. Continental Group, 859

F.2d 1108, 1111 (2nd Cir. 1988). In the instant case,

Respondent readily concedes that Petitioner is fully vested

in the pension plan for benefits earned up to the time of

17

Petitioner’s election to take an early retirement. (9a,

Petitioner’s Brief, p. A-14) As in Kelly, Petitioner’s

claim is that had he remained an employee, he would

have accrued additional benefits. As in the claim in

Kelly, the claim in the instant case is not cognizable

under § 510.

In West v. Butler, 621 F.2d 240 (6th Cir. 1980), the

6th Circuit Court of Appeals reviewed the legislative his-

tory behind ERISA § 510. The Court held that, in pass-

ing ERISA § 510, Congress intended to prohibit employ-

ers from taking negative action against employees who

had not yet vested in their pension rights. West at 245.

In the instant case, it is undisputed that the Respondent

has in no way prevented Petitioner from obtaining his

pension rights vested at the time of his retirement. (9a,

Petitioner’s Brief, p. A-14) Congress did not intend for

employees with vested pension rights to have a cause of

action under ERISA §510. West at 245. Therefore,

contrary to Petitioner’s assertions, summary judgment is

appropriate in the instant case without reaching an ex-

amination of the evidence produced by the Petitioner re-

garding employer intent in Petitioner’s effort to meet his

burden of proof. Since Petitioner is vested, he has no

cause of action under ERISA § 510 and the petition for

writ of certiorari should be denied.

CONCLUSION

Respondent contends that it is clear this is a case

where the plaintiff has claimed damages based upon an

alleged violation of § 510 of the Employee Retirement

Income Security Act. A court may grant a summary

judgmei.. just as in other cases. Here Petitioner failed

to make an adequate response to Respondent's motion and

failed to show any causal link between Petitioner’s al-

leged discharge and his pension benefits. Respondent

made a clear showing that the reason for the change in

his job status had nothing to do with his pension rights.

18

Further, Petitioner has no claim under ERISA § 510

since it does not apply to vested pension plan participants.

For these reasons Respondent contends the petition for

certiorari should be denied.

Respectfu}ly submitted,

WALLACE E. HARRELL

Counsel of Record

GILBERT, HARRELL, GILBERT,

SUMERFORD & MARTIN, P.C.

777 Gloucester Street

Suite 200

Post Office Box 190

Brunswick, Georgia 31521-0190

May 28, 1991 (912) 265-6700

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

BRUNSWICK DIVISION

Civil Action No. CV289-096

JACKIE D. MALONE,

Plaintiff,

Vs.

GILMAN PAPER COMPANY,

Defendant.

STATE OF GEORGIA )

)

COUNTY OF CAMDEN __)

Deposition of JACK D. MALONE, taken on behalf of

the defendant herein, pursuant to Agreement, at 10:00

o’clock a.m., on Wednesday, November 1, 1989, at High-

way 40 East, Post Office Box 813, St. Marys, Camden

County, Georgia before Karen G. Bondurant a Notary

Public in and for the State of Florida at Large.

Q And after you had thought about it, do you recall

who you talked to about it when you decided that you

would not take that job?

A Yes, sir, I do.

Q Who was that?

A_ I talked to Mr. John Love and Mr. Billy T. Sutton.

2a

Q Do you recall when you talked with them, ap-

proximately?

A It was shortly before I retired. I had had a meet-

ing with Mr. Love and Mr. Sutton earlier, and John had

explained some of the options.

* * . *

Meeting With Jack Malone

4-22-86 @ 11:25 to 11:45 A.M.

Present:

Dominick Sorrentino

Lee Tompkins

B.T. Sutton

Jack Malone

1) Explained to Mr. Malone that Gilman felt that they

could not offer him severance pay or early retirement

with pay out at age 62.

2) Offered Mr. Malone the following options:

A) Retirement at his current age, with no severance

pay.

B) A job in Accounting—with retraining under the

Asst. Accounting Manager and a cut in pay of

$6,000 per year. Explained that he could not

make more than the Asst. Accounting Manager.

C) Explained that he could apply for LTD, and Mr.

Tompkins and Mr. Love would aid in trying to

get it approved.

Mr. Malone was not pleased at the options. He

wanted to be the first in St. Marys Kraft Div. to be

placed on full retirement (@ age 62—even if he is only

56) with severance pay is given to Kraft Bag employees

(salary) when the Grocery Bag Dept. closed (3 months

pay plus 1 week pay for each year worked up to a maxi-

mum of 1 year pay).

3a

Jack Malone:

Questions asked by Guy Farmer to Lee Tompkins

and Lee to Sutton.

Talked with Mike Pillen & D. Sorrentino on salary

range and job duties.

1st Question:

Any employee under a Supervisor making more than

the Supervisor?

Answer:

No

This is why Jack Malone is being requested to take

a pay cut from $37,000 to $31,000.

Accounting Manager 47,850 M.F. Randolph

Asst. Acct. Manager 32,000 Hub Baez

Accountant 25,730 E. Buck

Jr. Accountant 31,000 Jack Malone

Accounting Clerks ——--

2nd Question:

What will be the duties of Jack Malone if he stays

with the Company in this new job!!

Answer:

Mr. D. Sorrentino stated that he would handle Petty

Cash, some journal duties, account payable items

and other general duties * * *.

4a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

BRUNSWICK DIVISION

Civil Action No. CV289-096

JACKIE D. MALONE,

Plaintiff,

Vs.

GILMAN PAPER COMPANY,

Defendant.

AFFIDAVIT OF JACKIE D. MALONE

Personally, before the undersigned officer duly author-

ized by Georgia law to administer oaths and take ac-

knowledgments, appeared JACKIE D. MALONE, who,

after first having been duly sworn, deposes and says on

oath as follows, to-wit:

1. My name is JACKIE D. MALONE. I am the Plain-

tiff in the above styled action.

2. I was formerly employed by the Defendant, GIL-

MAN PAPER COMPANY, and was so employed until

July 1, 1986. At the time of my last employment with

GILMAN PAPER COMPANY, I was employed in the

Accounting Department at GILMAN PAPER COM-

PANY’S St. Marys, Georgia, facilities. I had been em-

ployed in the Accounting Department for approximately

twenty-five years. I was employed by GILMAN PAPER

COMPANY for a total of thirty-two years.

« * * *

5a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

BRUNSWICK DIVISION

Civil Action No. CV289-096

JACKIE D. MALONE,

Plaintiff,

vs.

GILMAN PAPER COMPANY,

Defendant.

STATE OF GEORGIA )

)

COUNTY OF CAMDEN )

Deposition of DOMINICK RALPH SORRENTINO,

taken on behalf of the plaintiff herein, pursuant to Agree-

ment, at 1:20 o’clock p.m., on Wednesday, November 1,

1989, at Gilman Paper Company, St. Marys, Camden

County, Georgia, before Karen G. Bondurant a Notary

Public in and for the State of Florida at Large.

Q Well, what were the circumstances under which

you transferred to St. Marys?

A The financial MIS Group relocated down here in

St. Marys, and I was part of the group.

Q Did Gilman still maintain an office in New York?

A Yes.

Q Where is the corporate headquarters of Gilman at

the present time?

A Gilman Paper Company?

Ait

6a

Q Yes, sir.

A I believe it is—it’s down here at St. Marys,

Georgia.

Q Well, before the financial MIS Group moved to St.

Marys, where was the headquarters of Gilman?

A In New York City.

Q When did the change take place under which the

financial MIS Group was transferred to St. Marys?

A I think it was July—June, July, August of ’86.

Q What was the reason for the change which took

place under which the financial MIS Group was moved

from New York to St. Marys?

A Well, the reason was that it would be more con-

venient to be here and [eliminate]* duplication of efforts

* * *&

CROSS EXAMINATION

BY MR. HARRELL:

Q (Handing document to witness) Mr. Sorrentino,

I’d like to hand you an exhibit that has been marked as

Defendant’s Exhibit No. 2 and ask you if you recognize

that document?

A (Examining document) Yes, I do.

Q That document concerns a meeting that apparently

took place on April 22nd, 1986; is that right?

A That’s correct.

Q And were you at that meeting?

A Yes, I was.

Q What do you recall about any conversation with

Jack Malone at that meeting?

A I remember that Billy Sutton went through the

options on [the paper with] Jack Malone asking—the

options that are written here in this memo. And he went

* Bracketed material reflects corrections in witness deposition by

Court Reporter.

aan ereermenniiaeaialtmniamaemniiaiea a

7a

through these three options very clearly, and the—what-

ever is written in the memo.

Do you want me to go through the options?

Q Yes, please.

A Well, he explained to Jack Malone that he could

take retirement without any severance pay. He could

either be the [Jr. Accountant]—work for Herb Baize,

the assistant—which will be the assistant accounting

manager, at a reduction in salary of $6,000, or he can go

[out on] LTD, which is disability, if he like.

Q Was there any discussion about why his salary

would have to be reduced?

A Yes. Mainly because the—Herb Baize was making

less than he was, and Herb was the assistant manager.

And we was making $6,000 [less]—Jack Malone was

making $6,000 more than Herb Baize.

Q Was there any discussion about the conditions of

employment, that is, how the—any training program

would be instituted and the conditions that would be em-

ployed in connection with that training program?

A Not at that meeting, because it was a very short

meeting. It was only 20 minutes, as you can see. Mr.

Sutton just went through the options with Jack.

Q Did Mr. Malone make any response to—to this?

Did he make any decision at that time?

A No, he didn’t.

Q At that time, had you moved to St. Marys?

A No.

Q What was your reason for being at this meeting?

A I was at this meeting mainly because Herb Baize

reports to me. And I guess that if Jack reported to Herb

Baize, he would be basically under my division.

. * * .

EE —

8a

IN THE UNJTED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

BRUNSWICK DIVISION

Civil Action No. CV289-096

JACKIE D. MALONE,

~ Plaintiff,

VS.

GILMAN PAPER COMPANY,

Defendant.

STATE OF GEORGIA) )

)

COUNTY OF CAMDEN) _ )

Deposition of WILLIAM H. DAVIS, taken on behalf of

the plaintiff herein, pursuant to Stipulation and Agree-

ment, at 2:00 o’clock p.m., on Wednesday, November 1,

1989, at Gilman Paper Company, St. Marys, Camden

County, Georgia before Karen G. Bondurant a Notary

Public in and for the State of Florida at Large.

o . . *

Q. What knowledge do you have concerning the deci-

sion to move the financial operations of Gilman Paper

Company from New York to St. Marys?

A I probably have as much as anybody.

Q What were the factors which caused Gilman Paper

Company to move the financial operations from New York

to St. Marys?

A Well, in the first place, office space is very expensive

in New York. And we had leased the second floor of the

Time and Life Building from I guess it’s the Rockefeller

9a

Estate interest that owned the Rockefeller Center until

they sold it to the Japanese here in just the last couple

of days.

Q Rockefeller Center?

A Rockefeller Center. The Time and Life Building

is one of the buildings in Rockefeller Center. There’s

about 10 or 15 of them total.

Q And the rent was kind of high?

A Rent was high. And not only was the rent high,

the rent had escalated dramatically since we signed the

lease.

I think it was around $12 to $18 a square foot per

year that we were paying for the space. And we had the

opportunity to sublease it for $42 a square foot to some-

one else.

So there was quite a bit of money to be made by free-

ing up most of the space that we had leased, and it just

made a lot of sense.

We were faced with a decision to put in a new com-

puter and spend a couple million dollars on a computer

system. And it made a lot of sense to make the move at

that time and build a building down here to house that

computer equipment and also to move our accounting and

computer people to St. Marys.

* * * *

Q And the reason that the plan was terminated was

so that Gilman could—Gilman Paper Company could get

these, what you call, excess funding—excess funds?

A That’s correct.

Q And once they’re withdrawn, then, of course, they’re

no longer available to pay pensions to employees?

A We’ve already paid all the pensions to the employ-

ees when we give them the annuity and all the cash, so

we ended our obligation.

* * * ”

|

|

|

10a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

BRUNSWICK DIVISION

Civil Action No. CV289-096

JACKIE D. MALONE,

Plaintiff,

vs.

GILMAN PAPER COMPANY,

Defendant.

STATE OF GEORGIA) )

)

COUNTY OF CAMDEN) )

Deposition of JOHN M. LOVE, taken on behalf of the

plaintiff herein, pursuant to Agreement, at 11:05 o’clock

a.m., on Wednesday, November 1, 1989, at Highway 40

East, St. Marys, Camden County, Georgia, before Karen

G. Bondurant a Notary Public in and for the State of

Florida at Large. °

Q When did—approximately when did the current

plain come into existence?

A I believe it was the first of ’88—'87.

Q Now, prior to the first of 87, what plan were you

a participant in?

A A similar plan for the salaried employees of Gil-

man Paper Company.

Q Now, was it salaried employees only in St. Marys

or did it also include the St. Marys-based employees, or

what employees did it include?

A It included all salaried employees of the company.

lla

Q Were you a participant in the same plan which

Jack Malone was a participant in at the time of his

retirement?

A There wasn’t—I don’t want to be too technical on

this, but there wasn’t a plan in existence at the time

that Mr. Malone actually went into retirement.

Q Were you a participant in the same plan with Mr.

Malone_one year prior to the date of his retirement?

A Yes.

Q And then that plan terminated?

A Yes.

Q And anew plan came into existence?

A Yes.

Q What is your understanding as to the reason the

earlier plan terminated?

A It was an overfunded plan, similar to many other

plans in our industrial and in other industries at that

time.

Q When you say overfunded, what do you mean?

A There were excess funds to provide the benefits

that the plan was to provide. They were—the acfuary’s

assumptions had been somewhat conservative, and there

were excess funds there which were not needed 40 provide

the benefits that the plan called for.

Q Are you aware of any decisions on the part of

Gilman Paper Company to try to get management em-

ployees to take early retirement?

A What management employees?

Q Well, management employees based here in St.

Marys.

A To take early retirement?

Q Yes.

A Related to this move?

124

Q Well, related to that move or just any other prac-

tice of the company to encourage management-level em-

ployees to take early retirement so as to cut costs.

A No, sir.

Q You're saying the bag plant employees’ jobs were

no longer existing?

A Yes.

Q Mr. Malone’s position was also being eliminated;

wasn’t it?

A Portions of it, yes. My understanding, at any rate.

Q There was a complete restructuring in the depart-

ment where ha had been working so that he would have

had to have retrained in order to remain an employee of

Gilman; is that right?

A Yes.

Q Now, if Mr. Malone had continued to work until

age 65, the pension benefits which he would have received

each month at that time would be substantially greater

than the benefits which he currently receives; is that not

correct, sir?

A It would have been greater, certainly, yes.

Q What meetings did you sit in on or participate in

where Mr. Malone was present and his future employ-

ment or employment options with the company were

discussed?

A When Mr. Malone was present?

Q Yes, sir.

A I had at least one meeting with him, and I believe

there were possibly two.

Q Do you recall the dates of those meetings?

A_ No, sir, I do not.

Q Did you make any notes or other records concern-

ing those meetings?

A No, sir, I did not.

13a

Q Tell me what you recall being discussed at this

meeting or meetings where Mr. Malone was present.

A My best recollection is that the options that were

available to Mr. Malone and what he desired to do about

those options, and to try to explain to him in as much

detail as I could what the options meant to him.

l4a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

BRUNSWICK DIVISION

Civil Action No. CV289-096

JACKIE D. MALONE,

Plaintiff,

Vs.

GILMAN PAPER COMPANY,

Defendant.

STATE OF GEORGIA )

)

COUNTY OF CAMDEN )

Deposition of MICHAEL PALLEN, taken on behalf

of the plaintiff herein, pursuant to Agreement, at 3:00

o'clock p.m., on Wednesday, November 1, 1989, at Gilman

Paper Company, St. Marys, Camden County, Georgia

before Karen G. Bondurant a Notary Public in and for

the State of Florida at Large.

Q And you joined the company as a controller?

A Yes.

Q Did you have any role in the decision to move the

accounting functions of Gilman Paper Company from

New York to St. Marys?

A Yes.

Q What role did you have?

A There was a decision made that we should look

into the benefits that could be accrued from combining

the operations.

We were aware that there was duplication of certain

efforts. And we also felt that by being closer to the

se eta gl nt aa a et ea A LO a at

l5a

operations, that the accounting department and the fi-

nanical functions would be more effective.

And I was asked my opinion on that and was ob-

viously a key player in that. And I came to the con-

clusion that this was in the best interest of the company

and supported that plan.

Q Now, did that move have a significant effect on the

job position which Jack Malone had held prior to the

time that the accounting functions of Gilman were moved

to St. Marys?

A I don’t know if I understand your question.

Q Did the decision to move the accounting functions

of Gilman Paper Company to St. Marys have an effect

on Mr. Malone’s position with the company?

A It did in the sense that we reevaluated all of the

functions. We were bringing down certain staff, we were

bringing down certain functions that had previously been

performed in New York, and we were trying to meld

requirements, eliminate certain duplications and match up

people as best as we could with the new tasks that they

were going to be doing.

Q Did you perfor manv sort of study or make any

inquiries as to exactly what Jack Malone did with Gilman

Paper Company?

A I worked with my two key assistants, Dom Sor-

rentino and Billy Sutton in laying out who was going to

be doing what, and what their opinions of people’s abili-

ties were. So I worked with them and relied on their

feedback to me.

Q What did Mr. Sutton tell you concerning Mr. Ma-

lone in the job which he performed for Gilman?

A Mr. Sutton was rather disappointed in Mr. Ma-

lone’s performance. He indicated that he had been happy

—unhappy for an extended period of time. And he re-

lated the specific jobs that Mr. Malone was doing, which

in my, you know, discussions with him and further pur-

suit, were basically clerical jobs.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.