Opposition Brief — Cathey v. Metropolitan Life Insurance

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

: | Supreme Court, U.S

\ FILED

o

~~

i

No. 90-1682 JUN 3° 1991

eeEE——————————

QFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

JAMES C. CATHEY and BETTE CATHEY,

~ Petitioners,

METROPOLITAN LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY,

THE Dow CHEMICAL COMPANY, and

MICHAEL H. MADDOLIN,

Respondents,

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

to the Supreme Court of Texas

CONSOLIDATED BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

WILLIAM J. TOPPETA

Counsel of Record

DAVID J. LARKIN, JR.

JAMES M. LENAGHAN

One Madison Avenue

New York, New York 10010

(212) 578-3317

Counsel for Respondent

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co.

ACE PICKENS A. J. HARPER IT

Counsel of Record Counsel of Record

BROWN, MARONEY, ROSE, KATHERINE D. HUNT

BARBER & DYE FULBRIGHT & JAWORSKI

1300 One Republic Plaza 1301 McKinney Street

Austin, Texas 78701 Houston, Texas 77010

(512) 472-5456 (713) 651-5151

Counsel for Respondent Counsel for Respondent

Michael H. Maddolin The Dow Chemical Company

SPOT SET

WILSON - Eras Printine Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Are claims raised in the context of state-court pro-

ceedings that could have been raised in prior federal

proceedings precluded from being reheard?

2. Does the Employee Retirement Income Security

Act of 1974, as amended (“ERISA”), pre-empt state

laws providing remedies for alleged improper processing

of a claim for ERISA benefits?

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ........n..............cccccsccceseeceeeees i

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. ......................c.c..c.cc.ccccs0. iv

py ese ls ay ie! |: Eee 2

REASONS THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED.. 7

I. BECAUSE THE QUESTION PETITIONERS

RAISE IS BARRED UNDER THE “CLAIM

PRECLUSION” DOCTRINE, PETITIONERS

RAISE NOTHING FOR THIS COURT TO

| Sibel ialeiiahaeigmnbisskobincndeehakabiinbtescseies 7

II. BECAUSE THE JUDGMENT OF THE SU-

PREME COURT OF TEXAS COMPORTS

WITH APPLICABLE DECISIONS OF THIS

COURT, THERE IS NOTHING “SPECIAL”

OR “IMPORTANT” FOR THIS COURT TO

TT thiedblntacseethinintsitsaeseetissndanicanccannnnncons ainevenciaaas 10

alii ialsaiennnnininttiainiaadbsainnsenensententen 21

LIST NAMING ALL PARENT COMPANIES AND

SUBSIDIARIES OF RESPONDENTS METROPOLI-

TAN LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY AND THE

DOW CHEMICAL COMPANY, AS REQUIRED BY

IE TE PE EOI GOP ancascscnscccssccsssccnscnsesnssassen la

(iii)

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Anschultz v. Connecticut General Life Insurance

Co., 850 F.2d 1467 (11th Cir. 1988) .................... 14

Cathey v. Dow Chemical Co. Medical Care Pro-

gram, 907 F.2d 554 (5th Cir. 1990), cert. de-

nied, 59 U.S.L.W. 3562, 111 S. Ct. 964, 112 L.

i a i a ciated passim

Cathey v. Metropolitan Life Insurance Co., 805

I TI 1

Commercial Life Insurance Co. v. Superior Court,

47 Cal. 3d 473, 764 P.2d 1059, 253 Cal. Rptr. 682

(1988), cert. denied sub nom., Juliano v. Com-

mercial Life Insurance Co., USS. , 109

S. Ct. 2087, 104 L. Ed. 2d 651 (1989) _.............. 13, 14

Cramer v. Association Life Insurance Co., Inc.,

569 So. 2d 533 (La. 1990), cert. denied, 59 U.S.

L.W. 3652, 111 S. Ct. 1891, 113 L. Ed. 2d 447

(£ | RIRARISED aE OR San Ne tS Recaro Re eae 15, 16

Goodrich v. General Telephone Co., Cal. 3d

, 773 P.2d 450, 259 Cal. Rptr. 64 (1989)...... 14

Goodrich v. General Telephone Co. of Calif., 195

Cal. App. 3d 675, 241 Cal. Rptr. 640 (1987)... 13

Herendeen v. Champion International Corp., 525

ef Bev eI aI rei 8

Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, US. ——,

111 S. Ct. 478, 112 L. Ed. 2d 474 (1990) ........... passim

Insurance Board v. Muir, 819 F.2d 408 (3d Cir.

BRIER Da ESD Se ens ue Barre oe aoe 20

Kanne v. Connecticut General Life Insurance Co.,

687 F.2d 489 (9th Cir. 1988), cert. denied,

U.S. ——, 109 S. Ct. 3216, 106 L. Ed. 2d 566

I ae ae aaa eeueetis 14

Kelly v. Sears, Roebuck and Co., 882 F.2d 453

Re SU oT eaeaneniontas 14

In re Life Insurance Co. of N. Am., 857 F.2d 1190

i a Dt ee aceasiconnenas 14

McClendon v. Ingersoll-Rand Co., 779 S.W.2d 69

(1989), rev'd, U.S. , 111 S. Ct. 478,

i: Si al ceenmeees 11

McManus v. Travelers Health Network of Florida,

742 F. Supp. 377 (W.D. Tex. 1990) ................ 14, 15, 18

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Marrese v. American Academy of Orthopaedic

Surgeons, 470 U.S. 373 (1985) ...........0. 10

Massachusetts Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Russell, 473

I a 13

Mayfield v. Hartford Ins. Co., 699 F. Supp. 605

(W.D. Tex. 1988), disapproved and withdrawn

sub nom., McManus v. Travelers Health Net-

work of Florida, 742 F. Supp. 382 (W.D. Tex.

UUEITUEE. scesessines iss chesseaitnnenenaventulachicshesintpbchaeeiataaianabelladiteinddadaione 15

Metropolitan Life Insurance Co. v. Massachusetts,

I a a aniieniss 19

Migra v. Warren City School District Board of

Education, 465 U.S. 75 (1984) 20.00... scone 7,8, 10

Moreno v. Marbin Productions, Inc., 296 F.2d 543

I a 8

Pilot Life Insurance Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U. S. 41

IIIT <<ccisnssd-cneniseisahssscstenarsiedeienkedtiaacabinadahoosnauhaieiaiaiaaniain ainda passim

Ramirez v. Inter-Continental Hotels, 890 F.2d 760

SEIN scassh thoteithnitntanbadashcnibhesibidabanieinascaaashdhe oie lnsamia 11, 14, 16

Union Labor Life Insurance Co. v. Pireno, 548

Rg RE Nee A ll Soest MeN 19, 20

Vail v. Texas Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Co.,

_ 5 &S p Bf | nen eneenenrenn 18, 19, 20

STATUTES, RULES

Federal

United States Supreme Court

NRE ERE AS Ce oe OS SE IEE — =

RIESE MCE Em Eee SEES - 8

Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974

(ERISA) [29 U.S.C. §§ 1001-1464] 200. i

fete Le Tek) |) | SRC ennene oe 11

Ss Se Riis Oh NOD assiccccncenkececcesncanceatnae 11

a aaa 3

§ 502(a), 29 U.S.C. § 1182(a) 0.0... 11, 12, 13, i5

I 11,12

ee Oe es ecascacenanisioncenrtons 10

§ 614(a), 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a) 0. 10

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

§ 514(b) (2) (A), 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b) (2) (A)... 4, 11

§ 514(c) (1), 29 U.S.C. § 1144(c) (1) -.............. 10

McCarran-Ferguson Act [5 U.S.C. §§ 1011-1015] .4, 19, 20

State

Tex. Bus. & Com. Code Ann. [Deceptive Trade

STII «10s ssicnensanntennmannaneiassatenanennmenisid 3, 14,18

tee eracladalighintaantniadanesenanglil 8, 19, 20

ES EREREES SRR Neate tawenmer mers an 18

Bs es ID AMER, GIR, TERRE csccscccnecnccecnceeerseceerscntnese 18

I a ahalibansdinatilinbsiiieoen 8

EE Oe ee a SON 8

III TIE cinnsnosnasadsiemenhiivehsacsanbumieinnsninieaannn passim

Con rene en aR a oi 3, 20

asst ways inn atnniehlinidnensaieediaialatiah 8, 20

MISCELLANEOUS

18 C. Wright, A. Miller, & E. Cooper, Federal

Practice and Procedure §§ 4408, 4404, 4406,

SITTIN i: on cacscinmannseieaeeinasestanmiannnaagtinameansht 7-8

Note, Consumer Protection—Breach of Warranty

Merger Doctrine No Defense to Deceptive Trade

Practices Suit for Breach of Express Warranty,

Alvarado v. Bolton, 749 S.W.2d 47, 20 St. Mary’s

I i ell alin eeliaeinidit 18

Note, Jnsurance—Deceptive Trade Practices—Pri-

vate Cause of Action for Unfair Insurance Claim

Settlement Practices Exists Under Texas Decep-

tive Trade Practices Act and Insurance Code, 20

es UD Gs WG UID ccccscecccccescscsscersdinessenns 18

Note, The 104(a)(2) Personal Injury Exclusion

and the Texas Deceptive Trade Practices Act: A

Possibie Exclusion, 41 Baylor L. Rev. 563

arr a cata aia eientaeiahbial 18

IN THE

Suyeoees Curt of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1990

No. 90-1682

JAMES C. CATHEY and BETTE CATHEY,

Petitioners,

Vv.

METROPOLITAN LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY,

THE Dow CHEMICAL COMPANY, and

MICHAEL H, MADDOLIN,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

to the Supreme Court of Texas

CONSOLIDATED BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

The respondents, Metropolitan Life Insurance Com-

pany, The Dow Chemical Company, and Michael H. Mad-

dolin, respectfully request that this Court deny the peti-

tion for writ of certiorari, seeking review of the judg-

ment of the Supreme Court of Texas in this case. The

opinion of the Supreme Court of Texas is reported at 805

S.W.2d 387 (1991).

2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner James C. Cathey, a former employee of re-

spondent The Dow Chemical Company (“Dow”) (A. 2),'

and his wife, petitioner Bette Cathey, ask this Court to

grant them relief on a claim for “twenty-four (24) hour

a day nursing” care benefits under Dow’s “Employee

Benefit Plan” (R. 230; A. 2).2 Petitioners’ last request

for identical relief came to an end in February of this

year when this Court denied their petition for review of

the Fifth Circuit’s holding that “the Catheys are not en-

titled to around-the-clock nursing benefits” under the

same Dow Plan here at issue. Cathey v. Dow Chemical

Co. Medical Care Program, 907 F.2d 554, 556 (5th Cir.

1990), cert. denied, 59 U.S.L.W. 3562, 111 S Ct. 964, 112

L Ed. 2d 1051 (1991) (“Cathey-I); see also Petition

for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, No. 90-960, (Dec. 12,

1990) (Petition, Cathey-I”).* Petitioners characterize

Cathey-I as affording them “no effective relief.” Petition

for a writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court of Texas,

No. 90-1682, at 5, n.1 (April 30, 1991) (Petition,

Cathey-Il’’).

Cathey-I was filed in Texas state court and removed to

federal district court under the civil enforcement provi-

1 All “A.” references are to the Appendix of the Petiiton for a

Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court of Texas; all “R.” refer-

ences are to the Record on Appeal before the Supreme Court of

Texas.

2 The Dow Plan is sponsored by Dow (A. 2), with respondent

Metropolitan Life Insurance Company (‘‘MetLife’’) acting as “claims

administrator” (A. 2; R. 230). See also Cathey v. Dow Chemical Co.

Medical Care Program, 907 F.2d 554, 556 (5th Cir. 1990), cert. de-

nied, 59 U.S.L.W. 3562, 111 S. Ct. 964, 112 L. Ed. 2d 1051 (1991).

Mr. Cathey is retired. 907 F.2d at 555. The requested nursing

benefits are for Mrs. Cathey, a dependent beneficiary under the

Dow Plan. Id.

3 Only the plan itself—The Dow Chemical Company Medical Care

Program-—was named as defendant in petitioners’ federal action.

907 F.2d at 554.

3

sions of ERISA, section 502, 29 U.S.C. 1132. See 907

F.2d at 555.‘ By their present action, also commenced in

the state courts of Texas (‘Cathey-I/”), petitioners seek

to obtain relief under section 16 of article 21.21 of the

Texas Insurance Code (“section 16’).

Section 16 provides remedies to private litigants pur-

portedly injured by various “acts or practices” specified

by section 4 of article 21.21 of the Texas Insurance Code,

the regulations of the Texas State Board of Insurance,

and section 17.46 of the Texas Business & Commerce

Code, commonly known as the Texas Deceptive Trade

Practices Act.® See Petition, Cathey-I] at 5, 12. The

Catheys refused a court-ordered opportunity to amend

their Texas petition to “state an ERISA cause of action”

(A. 2; see also A. 32), notwithstanding the fact that they

voluntarily amended their Texas petition twice for reasons

of their own choosing (see R. 230). The Supreme Court of

Texas, citing controiling authority of this Court,* ulti-

mately held that petitioners’ section 16 claim was pre-

empted by ERISA because “[slection 16... provide[s]

recovery that was not included under ERISA” (A. 8).

The Texas Supreme Court therefore affirmed summary

judgment in respondents’ favor (A. 1, 9). It is that

grant of summary judgment, decided by the Supreme

Court of Texas “in a way that [comports] with appli-

cable decisions of this Court,” see Rule 10.1(b), U.S.

Sup. Ct. (1991), that petitioners ask this Court to re-

view for alleged error.

* By commencing their action for nursing benefits under ERISA,

petitioners necessarily conceded that the Dow Plan was an ERISA

plan.

5 Tex. Ins. Code Ann. art. 21.21 §16(a), (b) (Vernon Supp.

1991); see also id. $2(b) (defining “Board’’).

* E.g., Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, US. , 111 S. Ct.

478, 112 L. Ed. 2d 474 (1990); Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaur, 481

U.S. 41 (1987) (see A. 4, 6, 10-11).

4

By their Petition for a Writ of Certiorari in Cathey-l,

the Catheys asked this Court to consider the following

question:

Can ERISA preempt a state law regulating unfair

insurance practices that was enacted pursuant to the

McCarran-Ferguson Act, notwithstanding the lan-

guage of the “saving clause” in 29 U.S.C. § 1144

(b) (2) (A) that explicitly saves from preemption

“any law of any State which regulates insurance”?

Petition, Cathey-I at ii. Only four months ago, petition-

ers boldly stated, in their Reply to respondent’s opposition

to the Petition in Cathey-I, that “[t]he issue of [ERISA]

preemption is now ripe for consideration.” Petitioners’

Reply Brief, On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, No.

90-960, 3 (‘“Reply, Cathey-I”) (emphasis added). This

Court denied that Petition, 59 U.S.L.W. at 3562, 111

S. Ct. at 964, 112 L. Ed. 2d at 1051, and should similarly

deny the Petition in the present, related case.

The question raised by the Petition in Cathey-II re-

works only slightly the above-quoted question from

Cathey-I to reflect petitioners’ continuing view that this

Court’s opinion in Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481

U.S. 41 (1987), was too broadly decided:

Is this Court’s decision in Pilot Life Insurance Co.

v. Dedeaux properly read to require preemption of a

state law regulating unfair insurance practices, even

though § 1144(b) (2) (A) of ERISA expressly saves

from preemption “‘any law of any State which regu-

lates insurance”?

Petition, Cathey-I/J at i. Although the question as phrased

in Cathey-I did not explicitly refer to Pilot Life (which

petitioners now dub a “problem,” Petition, Cathey-II at

18), petitioners’ briefs in Cathey-I did. Then as now,

petitioners argued that whether section 16 was pre-

empted by ERISA “turn[ed] on the proper reading of

5

Pilot Life.” Reply, Cathey-I at 3; see also Petition,

Cathey-II at 3. Then as now, petitioners called on this

Court “to reconcile ERISA’s preemption and saving

clauses . . .,” Petition, Cathey-II at 3, by “explain[ing]

how” (as petitioners put it) “the saving clause can be

effectively read out of ERISA in deference to the preemp-

tion clause.” Reply, Cathey-I at 3.

Not only are the questions raised in both Cathey Peti-

tions the same,’ but there is only one set of facts present

—the facts scarcely referenced in the Catheys’ current

Petition. It should be remembered that arguments in both

Petitions relate to the Catheys’ contention that their

claim for 24-hour-a-day nursing care benefits under the

Dow Plan was wrongly denied—a claim the Fifth Circuit

previously laid to rest by rejecting it. 907 F.2d at 561. It

should also be noted that while neither the record in Cathey-

I nor the record in Cathey-II explain why, it was the

Catheys who selected the health benefits under Dow’s so-

called ‘New Plan” of which they continue to complain.*®

Moreover, while the Fifth Circuit held, ni Cathey-I, that

petitioners were “not entitled to around-the-clock nursing

benefits,” it nevertheless also held that they were “mini-

mally entitied to fifty home visits annually,” provided

that conditions for Plan coverage were otherwise met. /d.

It is that holding, in Cathey-I, which the Supreme Court

of Texas, in Cathey-II, acknowledged as affording peti-

7 Petitioners raised additional questions in Cathey-I, not relevant

to the instant Petition. See Petition, Cathey-I at ii.

8 The Fifth Circuit held that the Catheys were bound by “their

selection” of the benefits available under the “New Plan.” 907 F.2d at

560 (emphasis added). The reason for that selection, although not

explicitly stated, may be surmised. As the Fifth Circuit noted in

Cathey-I, the “Old” Dow Plan contained a “total lifetime maximum

of $50,000” on the nursing benefits here at issue, 907 F.2d at 556

(emphasis added), while the New Plan had no specific dollar cap on

nursing benefits other than the comprehensive plan limit of

$1,000,000 (R. 65), “albeit [the Plan does] not [cover] beyond fifty

home visits annually.” 907 F.2d at 561.

6

tioners “partial recovery on their ERISA claim” (A. 2,

n. 1), but which petitioners characterize as affording

them ‘‘no effective relief.” Petition, Cathey-IJ at 5, n.1.

The Cathey-II Texas petition sought to obtain what peti-

tioners would apparently deem “effective relief.” It de-

manded an award of “actual damages” under Texas state

law in excess of the “just sum of ONE MILLION DOL-

LARS ($1,000,000.00) for the [respondents’] breach of duty

to [petitioners]” (R. 234), plus “treble the amount of ac-

tual damages they may show themselves entitled to as a

matter of law” (R. 234), as well as ‘“‘exemplary damages in

the amount sufficient to punish [respondents] and to deter

others from being tempted to engage in the same or simi-

lar conduct” to that in which respondent purportedly en-

gaged (R. 235). While petitioners now seek to “limit this

appeal [sic] to their claims under the Texas Insurance

Code, article 21.21, § 16,” Petition, Cathey-IJ at 5, the

fact remains that petitioners demanded the forgoing re-

lief in part, as an “[a]lternative[]” to their request for

“payment of past, present and future benefits” under the

Dow Plan (R. 230, 232) (emphasis added).

Petitioners have already obtained relief under the Dow

Plan. 907 F.2d at 561. They simply consider it “ [in] ef-

fective.” Petition, Cathey-II at 5, n.1. That view reveals

the shallowness of petitioners’ arguments. Petitioners do

not call on this Court to balance “the need for prompt

and fair claims settlement procedures against the public

interest in encouraging the formation of employee bene-

fits plans’ which Congress achieved in enacting ERISA.

Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 54. Rather, petitioners seek to

destroy that balance by grafting onto ERISA’s “exclu-

sive” remedial scheme® a string of statelaw remedies

which ERISA excludes but which petitioners—as opposed

to Congress—apparently deem “effective.”

® Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 54, 57; Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon,

U.S. at , 111 S. Ct. at 485, 112 L. Ed. 2d at 487 (1990).

7

REASONS THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED

I. BECAUSE THE QUESTION PETITIONERS RAISE

IS BARRED UNDER THE “CLAIM PRECLUSION”

DOCTRINE, PETITIONERS RAISE NOTHING FOR

THIS COURT TO REVIEW.

Rule 10 of this Court permits the discretionary writ of

certiorari to be granted “only when there are special and

important reasons therefor.” (Emphasis added). Because

the present Petition raises no more than the question this

Court previously addressed and answered in Pilot Life

and Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon and declined to re-

visit in Cathey-I, there is nothing for the Court to recon-

sider which is either ‘‘special” or “important.”

Indeed, for the Court to review the question it previ-

ously declined to revisit in Cathey-I would defeat the doc-

trine of “claim preclusion,” endorsed by this Court in

Migra v. Warren City School District Board of Education,

465 U.S. 75, 77 n.1 (1984). Claim preclusion refers to “the

preclusive effect of a judgment in foreclosing litigation of

matters that should have been raised in an earlier suit.”

Id. As part of the doctrine of “res judicata,” it serves

the goal of leaving parties (and courts) who have worked

their way through facts and legal theories to judgment in

final repose.’°

Claim preclusion is properly enforced when the “gist”

of two actions is the same, or when the evidence required

in a prior proceeding ‘or which would have been required,

had al] claims relevant to the same transaction been

10 As the eminent authority on federal practice and procedure

has put it, doctrines under the umbrella of “res judicata’’—of which

“claim preclusion” is one—focus

on the need to protect a victorious party against oppression by a

wealthy, wishful, or even paranoid adversary. Some opinions

reflect an additional concern with protecting an unsuccessful

party against his own folly in risking a second try.

18 C. Wright, A. Miller, & E. Cooper, Federal Practice and Proce-

dure § 4403 at 14 (1981). In Migra, 465 U.S. at 77 n.1, this Court

8

tested) is the same as in a subsequent proceeding." 18

C. Wright, A. Miller, & E. Cooper, Federal Practice and

Procedure § 4407, 60-61 (1981); see also Herendeen v.

Champion Int’l Corp., 525 F.2d 130, 133-34 (2d Cir.

1975); Moreno v. Marbin Productions, Inc., 296 F.2d

543, 544 (2d Cir. 1961). It is enforceable by parties to

a second action who are either the same as those to a

prior suit or who “bore such a relationship to the first

suit or to the parties [to it]” that it is proper to preclude

new claims relating to the same transaction from being

litigated, thereby preserving the desired state of repose.

Migra, 465 U.S. at 84; 18 Wright, supra, § 4406 at 45,

47.

There can be no question that the “gist” of Cathey-I

and Cathey-II is the same or that the parties to both ac-

tions “bore such a relationship” to each other that it is

proper for the final judgment in Cathey-I to bar peti-

tioners from continuing to litigate the legal significance

of their invalid claim for 24-hour-a-day nursing care

benefits under the Dow Plan. Both actions alleged the

same entitlement to the same benefits under the same

employee benefit plan. Compare 907 F.2d at 555-56 with

R. 229-31. In both actions, petitioners maintained that

MetLife, acting through one of its agents (respondent

Michael H. Maddolin), wrongly denied their invalid

claim. Compare 907 F.2d at 555-57 with R. 229-31. The

petitioners in both actions are identical, and while the

referred to Wright et al., supra, as “helpful” in gaining a better

understanding of ‘“‘claim preclusion.”

11 A proceeding is “prior,” for purposes of claim preclusion, if a

judgment in that proceeding is rendered “prior” to the entry of

judgment in subsequent or parallel proceedings. Wright et al., supra,

§ 4404 at 23-24. In the present case, because the prior proceeding

arose under federal law, 907 F.2d at 555-56, this Court need not

consider the impact of claim preclusion under Texas law, as the

Court was required to do with regard to the prior Ohio proceedings

at issue in Migra. See 465 U.S. at 85-87.

9

named respondents differ,’* the Plan sued in Cathey-I

only acts through its fiduciaries and their employees—

namely, through Dow, MetLife, and employees such as

respondent Moddolin—a fact which the Fifth Circuit’s

opinion in Cathey-I made abundantly clear by referring,

either expressly or generically, to each respondent to the

present Petition. See 907 F.2d at 555-557. Absolute

privity among the parties to both actions therefore ex-

ists. Moreover, as Pilot Life, Ingersoll-Rand and a multi-

tude of other lawsuits demonstrate, many ERISA benefit

actions are brought against employers, as ERISA-plan

sponsors, or insurance companies, as either claims ad-

ministrators or insurers of the benefits that many plans

provide, rather than against the plan itself. See, e.g.,

Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 43; Ingersoll-Rand, —— USS. at

, 111 S. Ct. at 481, 112 L. Ed. 2d at 481. In any

event, these petitioners had the opportunity to combine

their present allegations with an ERISA cause of action

(A. 32), they simply chose not to take it (A. 2). Nothing

separates Cathey-I from Cathey-I7 but petitioners’ own

refusal to amend their pleadings, in their attempt to try

the same case before different judicial forums, in the

hope that they would somehow obtain what they deem

“effective relief.”

Finally, and conclusively, it is irrefutable that peti-

tioners could or should have raised their section 16 claim

in the context of Cathey-I, because they did raise it, by

their prior Petition to this Court. Petition, Cathey-I at

ii. Petitioners’ suggestion that it is now time for this

Court “to reexamine and clarify its decision in Pilot

Life,” Petition, Cathey-II at 3, is a subterfuge."* That is

12 The federal action named only the Dow Plan as defendant; the

current state-court action names Dow, MetLife and Michael H.

Maddolin, a MetLife employee responsible for claim processing

under the Dow Plan, as defendants.

18 Petitioners overlook the fact that this Court did reexamine,

clarify, and staunchly adhere to its Pilot Life decision as recently

10

precisely what petitioners argued last time. Reply,

Cathey-I at 1, 3. What petitioners really want is a sec-

ond bite at the apple. They should not get it. There is

nothing in Cathey-IJ that should not or could not have

been addressed in Cathey-I, or vice-versa. Petitioners

may not squeeze under the claim-preclusion bar and

squander precious judicial resources by trying different

legal theories before different judicial bodies, in their

repetitive bid for disparate judicial relief. They are pre-

cluded, by the final judgment in Cathey-J, from further

pursuing their section 16 claim, which this Court previ-

ously declined to consider. See 59 U.S.L.W. at 3562, 111

S. Ct. at 964, 112 L. Ed. 2d at 1051; see also Migra, 465

U.S. at 77 n.1, 84-85; Marrese v. American Academy of

Orthopaedic Surgeons, 470 U.S. 373 (1985).

Il. BECAUSE THE JUDGMENT OF THE SUPREME

COURT OF TEXAS COMPORTS WITH APPLICA-

BLE DECISIONS OF THIS COURT, THERE IS

NOTHING “SPECIAL” OR “IMPORTANT” FOR

THIS COURT TO REVIEW.

ERISA “supersedes any and all State laws" insofar

as they may now or hereafter relate to any employee ben-

efit plan... .,” ERISA § 514(a), 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a)

as December of last year, when it found that ERISA preempts reme-

dies arising under the wrongful discharge laws of the very State

from which the present petitioners hail—Texas. Ingersoll-Rand,

US. at , 111 S. Ct. at 481, 485-86, 112 L. Ed. 2d 481-82,

487-88. Moreover, while the Petition in Cathey-I] makes no mention

of Ingersoll-Rand (except insofar as it is cited by the Texas Supreme

Court in materials contained in the appendix to the Petition), peti-

tioners did cite /ngersoll-Rand in their Reply in Cathey-I, indicating

that petitioners knew this Court had revisited its Pilot Life holding

only five months ago. See Reply, Cathey-I at 2.

14 For purposes of ERISA § 514, 29 U.S.C. § 1144, “ ‘State law’

includes all laws, decisions, rules, regulations, or other State action

having the effect of law, of any State... .” Id. §514(c) (1), 29

U.S.C. § 1144(c) (1).

11

(emphasis added), but saves from pre-emption “any

State law which regulates insurance, banking, or se-

curities.”** ERISA § 514(b) (2) (A), 29 U.S.C. § 1144

(b) (2) (A) (emphasis added). Petitioners concede (as

they must) that their section 16 claim ‘“‘relate[s] to”

Dow’s ERISA plan (see R. 231; see also Cathey, 907

F.2d at 555-56). They argue, however, that section 16

is saved from pre-emption by ERISA’s saving clause. Pe-

tition, Cathey-II at 14-28. According to petitioners, sec-

tion 16 “undeniably” regulates insurance. Petition,

Cathey-II at 17.

Petitioners’ assertion has previously been denied by the

Fifth Circuit, which held that section 16 does not “reg-

ulate insurance” within the meaning of ERISA’s sav-

ing clause. Ramirez v. Inter-Continental Hotels, 890

F.2d 760, 763 (1989). Moreover, this Court, only six

months ago, in holding that ERISA pre-empts the Texas

wrongful-discharge law insofar as it provides “‘a remedy

for the violation of a right expressly guaranteed by § 510

{of ERISA] and exclusively enforced by § 502(a),” unan-

imously reiterated that ERISA’s civil enforcement scheme

is “exclusive.” Ingersoll-Rand, —— U.S. at aan

S. Ct. at 486, 112 L. Ed. 2d at 488."* In reaching that

conclusion, this Court reversed the Supreme Court of

Texas, which had found to the contrary. See McClendon

v. Ingersoll-Rand Co., 779 S.W. 2d 69 (1989). It should,

therefore, come as no surprise that in Cathey-l] three

concurring justices of the Supreme Court of Texas made

15 ERISA defines “employee benefit plan[s]” to include “employee

welfare benefit plan[s].” ERISA § 2(3), 29 U.S.C. § 1002(3) (em-

phasis added). The latter include plans which supply “medical, sur-

gical, or hospital care or benefits.” ERISA §2(1), 29 U.S.C.

§ 1002(1).

16 All Justices joined in Part II-B of the Court’s opinion in

Ingersoll-Rand, which reiterates that ERISA’s civil enforcement

provisions are “exclusive.’”” ——— U.S. at , 111 S. Ct. at 480, 112

L. Ed. 2d at 481; see also 111 S. Ct. at 484-86.

12

special reference to this Court’s decision in Jngersoll-Rand,

calling Ingersoll-Rand (which had just been decided)

and Pilot Life into question (A. 10-11). What is equall

clear is that even the Texas Supreme Court justices who

concurred in Cathey-II “[(r]jecogniz[ed] that IJngersoll-

Rand... and Pilot Life . .. control this case...” (A.

10-11) and required them to ‘find that ERISA pre-empts

section 16 (A. 11).

Pilot Life held that, because the addition of state-

law remedies would destroy the delicate balancing of

interests Congress had achieved when it determined

which remedies should be available in ERISA benefit

actions, state-law remedies relating to claims for bene-

fits under an ERISA plan would be pre-empted. 481

U.S. at 55-57. That point was hammered home and ex-

panded by this Court’s decision in /ngersoll-Rand, which

held that although ERISA does not expressly pre-empt

all state-law remedies, under the doctrine of implied pre-

emption, state “cause[s] of action w[ill] be pre-empted”

if they “conflict[] directly with an ERISA cause of ac-

tion.” —— USS. at , 111 S. Ct. at 484-85, 112 L. Ed.

2d at 486.7 In reaching that conclusion, this Court noted

that it had “examined [section 502(a) of ERISA] at

some length” in Pilot Life, and set forth again, in its en-

tirety, the underpinning rationale it had previously

stated:

“(T]he detailed provisions of § 502(a) set forth

a comprehensive civil enforcement scheme that rep-

resents a careful balancing of the need for prompt

and fair claims settlement procedures against the

public interest in encouraging the formation of em-

ployee benefit plans. The policy choices reflected in

the inclusion of certain remedies and the exclusion

17 A statelaw remedy conflicts with ERISA if it provides a

remedy for rights “expressly guaranteed” by ERISA and exclu-

sively enforced by section 502(a), 29 U.S.C. § 1182(a). U.S. at

, 111 S. Ct. at 486, 112 L. Ed. 2d at 488. The rights at issue

in Ingersoll-Rand arose under section 510 of ERISA, 29 U.S.C.

§ 1140, which guarantees against interference with protected ERISA

rights. Id.

13

of others under the federal scheme would be com-

pletely undermined if ERISA-plan participants and

beneficiaries were free to obtain remedies under

state law that Congress rejected in ERISA. ‘The

six carefully integrated civil enforcement provisions

found in § 502(a) of the statute,as finally enacted

. . . provide strong evidence that Congress did not

intend to authorize other remedies that it simply

forgot to incorporate expressly.’” 418 U.S., at 54

(quoting Massachusetts Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Rus-

sell, 473 U.S. 134, 146 (1985) ).

Ingersoll-Rand, —— U.S. at , 111 S. Ct. at 485, 112

L. Ed. 2d at 487 (emphasis in original).

The import of ERISA’s implied pre-emption of state-

law remedies has not been lost on any jurisdiction. The

State of California, for example, in finding that ERISA

pre-empted California statutory remedies similar to those

at issue in the present case, noted as early as 1988 that

[W]hile [ERISA’s] saving clause may allow states

to enact statutes that regulate the substantive terms

of insurance policies [citation omitted], the clause

does not allow states to enact statutes that provide

conflicting procedural remedies (see Pilot Life,

supra, 107 S. Ct. at pp. 1555-1558). A contrary rule

would undermine ERISA’s important policy of pro-

moting uniformity in employee benefit-law remedies,

by creating the potential for conflicting standards

of recovery. [Citation omitted. ]

Commercial Life Ins. Co. v. Superior Court, 47 Cal. 3d

473, 484, 764 P.2d 1059, 1066, 253 Cal. Rptr. 682, 689

(Cal. 1988), cert. denied sub nom., Juliano v. Commercial

Life Ins. Co., US. , 109 S. Ct. 2087, 104 L. Ed.

2d 651 (1989) (emphasis in original).’* Indeed, a year

18The “only case decided after Pilot Life’ to which peti-

tioners are able to point as alleged support for their request

that this Court reconsider its Pilot Life holding— Goodrich v.

General Tel. Co. of Calif., 195 Cal. App. 3d 675, 241 Cal. Rptr. 640

(1987)—is an intermediate California decision. That decision was

14

before this Court’s Jngersoll-Rand decision, the Fifth Cir-

cuit had already concluded that section 16 conflicted with,

and therefore was pre-empted by, ERISA’s “exclusive”

remedial scheme, 890 F.2d at 763-64 (citing Pilot Life).

Other jurisdictions have reached similar conclusions. Jn

\ re Life Ins. Co. of N. Am., 857 F.2d 1190 (8th Cir. 1988)

(Missouri statute prohibiting vexatious refusal to pay

insurance claims pre-empted by ERISA); Kanne v. Con-

necticut Gen. Life Ins. Co., 867 F.2d 489 (9th Cir.

1988), cert. denied, USS. , 109 S. Ct. 3216, 106

L. Ed. 2d 566 (1989) (California statute prohibiting un-

fair insurance claims processing pre-empted by ERISA) ;

Kelly v. Sears, Roebuck and Co., 882 F.2d 453 (10th Cir.

1989) (ERISA pre-empts Colorado bad-faith insurance

law); Anschultz v. Connecticut Gen. Life Ins. Co., 850

F.2d 1467 (11th Cir. 1988) (Florida statute providing

private right of action to persons injured by violations

of state’s insurance code pre-empted by ERISA); Mc-

Manus v. Travelers Health Network of Florida, 742 F.

Supp. 377 (W.D. Tex. 1990) (Texas common-law rem-

edies and remedies under the Texas Deceptive Trade

effectively overruled a year later by the definitive ruling of the

Supreme Court of California in Commercial Life, which held that

the same California statute at issue in Goodrich, which provided

remedies for “unfair methods of competition and unfair and decep-

tive acts or practices in the business of insurance,” was pre-empted

by ERISA, as required by this Court’s holding in Pilot Life. 47

Cal. 3d at 483-84, 764 P.2d at 1065-66, 253 Cal. Rptr. at 688-89. In

its discussion of the applicable law in Commercial Life, the Califor-

nia Supreme Court did not even refer to Goodrich, although it did

discuss Kanne, infra, and other decisions consistent with its hold-

ing. See 47 Cal. 3d at 482-83, 764 P.2d at 1064-65, Cal. Rptr. at 687-

88. It subsequently vacated the lower court’s opinfOn in Goodrich and

transferred the matter to the “Court of Appeal, Second Appellate

District, . . . with directions .. . to reconsider in light of Commer-

cial Life ....” Goodrich v. General Tel. Co., 773 P.2d 450, 259 Cal.

Rptr. 64 (1989). Hence, the case law to which petitioners point

ultimately estahlishes the remarkable unanimity of opinion on the

question they raise.

OEE |

15

Practices Act pre-empted by ERISA) ;' Cramer v. As-

sociation Life Ins. Co., Inc., 569 So. 2d 533 (La. 1990),

cert. denied, 59 U.S.L.W. 3652, 111 S. Ct. 1391, 113

L. Ed. 2d 447 (1991) (remedial provisions of Louisiana

Insurance Code pre-empted by ERISA). The State of

Texas, by virtue of its opinion in the present case, now

stands in line with that substantial body of law (A. 7-8,

10-11).

Petitioners nevertheless persist in alleging that some

act of respondents, which allegedly deprived them of 24-

hour-a-day nursing benefits under the Dow Plan (R.

230-31), entitles them to exploit state-law remedies under

section 16, even though the Fifth Circuit previously de-

termined that petitioners have no right to benefits for

around-the-clock nursing care. Cathey-I, 907 F.2d at 561.

Assuming, arguendo, that some act of respondents did

interfere with petitioners’ ERISA rights (and respond-

ents maintain that, pursuant to Cathey-/, no such allega-

tion is sustainable), petitioners are nevertheless barred

from obtaining state law remedies under section 16. The

claim of petitioners for section 16 remedies is, at bottom,

no more than a claim for ERISA benefits, or a claim

based on alleged interference with protected ERISA

rights. The “exclusive” remedy for both claims is section

-§02(a) of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1182(a). Ingersoll-Rand,

—— US. at , 111 S. Ct. at 485, 486, 112 L. Ed. 2d

at 487, 488; Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 56-57. Petitioners’

19 Petitioners cite to Mayfield v. Hartford Ins. Co., 699 F. Supp.

605 (W.D. Tex. 1988), as an “opinion that . . . correctly recognizes

that article 21.21 [of the Texas Insurance Code] fits within the sav-

ing clause as a law regulating insurance... .” Petition, Cathey-II

at 17. In McManus v. Travelers Health Network of Texas, the

United States District Court for the Western District of Texas,

with respect to its decision in Mayfield, stated as follows: “The

Court hereby disapproves of and withdraws that opinion.” 742

F. Supp. at 382. Petitioners do not acknowledge Mayfield’s with-

drawal.

16

section 16 claim therefore conflicts with ERISA causes of

action and is pre-empted by ERISA, see Ramirez, 890

F.2d at 763-64, a conclusion with which the justices of

the Texas Supreme Court agree (A. 1-3, 10-11). This

Court should accordingly decline petitioners’ invitation to

slide state-law remedies which “relate to” ERISA plans

under a legal microscope once again, as it did three and

a half months ago in Cathey-I, 59 U.S.L.W. at 3562, 111

S. Ct. at 964, 112 L. Ed. 2d at 1051 (with respect to the

same statutory provisions petitioners ask this Court to

reconsider), and as it did two months ago, with respect

to similar remedial provisions arising under the Louisi-

ana Insurance Code. Cramer, 569 So. 2d at 5338, cert. de-

nied, 59 U.S.L.W. at 3652, 111 S. Ct. at 1391, 113 L.

Ed. 2d at 447.° There is nothing to “reexamine and

clarify” with respect to ERISA pre-emption of state-law

remedies for alleged improper handling of ERISA benefit

claims or alleged interference with protected ERISA

rights which has not been amply and precisely disposed

of by this Court’s prior opinions in Pilot Life and Inger-

soll-Rand.

This Court’s controlling holdings with respect to

ERISA’s implied pre-emption of conflicting state-law

remedies are not the only bases under ERISA for denying

the present Petition. The private remedies available to

Texas consumers, which petitioners seek under section 16,

do not, in any event, “regulate insurance” within the

meaning of ERISA’s saving clause. In Pilot Life, this

Court confronted the question of whether a Mississippi

20 The opinion of the Louisiana Supreme Court, which concluded

that remedial provisions of the Louisiana Insurance Code were pre-

empted by ERISA, relied not only on Pilot Life but also on Ramirez,

in which the Fifth Circuit held that section 16 was pre-empted by

ERISA. Cramer, 569 So. 2d at 539.

17

cause of action based on the alleged bad-faith processing

of an insuranceclaim was saved from ERISA pre-

emption. 481 U.S. at 44. This Court found that while

the Mississippi law of “bad faith’ was “identified .. .

with the insurance industry,” id. at 50, its roots were

firmly planted in general principles of tort and contract

law. Jd. at 50. As a result, a “common sense” under-

standing of the phrase “regulates insurance” inescapably

required the conclusion that the broader base of “bad

faith” law in Mississippi could support any breach of

contract claim. Jd. Such comprehensive state laws do not

“regulat[e] insurance” within the meaning of ERISA’s

“saving clause” and are subject to ERISA pre-emption.

Id.

Section 16, like the Mississippi bad-faith law at issue

in Pilot Life, traces its roots to the law of torts and con-

tracts and was enacted by the Texas legislature specifi-

cally to alter or eliminate some defenses that had devel-

oped under the common law, thereby providing what

Texas deemed necessary consumer protections.*' See, e.g.,

21 In their Cathey-I] Petition, petitioners studiously avoid a firm

characterization of what lies at the heart of their section 16 claim,

undoubtedly because it resembles the Mississippi bad-faith claim

pre-empted in Pilot Life. Stray references to “representations”

allegedly made to petitioners, Petition, Cathey-IJ at 4, and to “mis-

representations” vaguely connected with insurance, id. at 12, 18,

however, indicate that “misrepresentation” of some sort is probably

at issue. A close reading of even the aforementioned loose allega-

tions indicates Dow is accused of representing that the Catheys

“were covered” under the employee benefit plan, td. at 4 (emphasis

added), and that MetLife, acting through its agent, then “refused

to continue paying for Bette Cathey’s [24-hour-a-day] nurse, despite

the earlier representations” of Dow. Jd. at 4. Dow’s “representa-

tion” was correct—the Catheys were covered under the Dow Plan.

Cathey-I, 907 F.2d at 555—and petitioners were not entitled to

24-hour-a-day nursing care. 7d. at 561. Petitioners’ arguments are

18

Note, Consumer Protection—Breach of Warranty Merger

Doctrine No Defense. to Deceptive Trade Practices Suit

for Breach of Express Warranty, Alvarado v. Bolton, 749

S.W.2d 47 (Tex. 1988), 20 St. Mary’s L.J. 689, 690-91

(1989); Note, Insurance—Deceptive Trade Practices—

Private Cause of Action for Unfair Insurance Claim Set-

tlement Practices Exists Under Texas Deceptive Trade

Practices Act and Insurance Code, 20 St. Mary’s L.J.

707, 707-09 (1989). Section 16 is simply one piece of an

overall statutory framework which focuses, in part, upon

the insurance industry but was designed to “encompass

virtually everv area of consumer protection” in the State

of Texas. Note, The 104(a)(2) Personal Injury Exclu-

sion and the Texas Deceptive Trade Practices Act: A

Possible Exclusion, 41 Baylor L. Rev. 563, 564 (1989).

It, together with the Texas Deceptive Trade Practices

Act,” were enacted to make clear that “disgruntled

Texas consumers have a powerful weapon in their

hands.” Jd. at 565. That “weapon” includes treble dam-

ages and attorney’s fees. Tex. Ins. Code Ann. art. 21.21

§ 16(b); see also McManus v. Travelers Health Network,

742 F. Supp. at 380-81 (remedy of treble damages un-

der Texas Deceptive Trade Practices Act pre-empted

by ERISA); Vail v. Texas Farm Bureau Mut. Ins. Co.,

754 $.W.2d 129 (Tex. 1988) (insured’s rights of reme-

dial relief under article 21.21 of the Texas Insurance

Code and under the Texas Deceptive Trade Practices Act

are not mutually exclusive; each incorporates the other).

Indeed, even petitioners concede that section 16, on

its face, sweeps into its scope all violations actionable

therefore not only fatally flawed as a matter of law, they are with-

out factual merit.

22 See, e.g., Tex. Bus. & Com. Code Ann. §17.50(a) (Vernon

1987) (indicating the actions consumers may bring to obtain dam-

ages, including actions pursuant to Article 21.21 of the Texas

Insurance Code).

ease ial

19

under section 17.46 of the Texas Deceptive Trade Prac-

tices Act (A. 12), which is aimed at all business entities

within its scope, not only at insurers, as the Supreme

Court of Texas, see Vail, 754 S.W.2d at 135, and the

Fifth Circuit, see Ramirez, 890 F.2d at 763, have recog-

nized (see also A. 8). Common sense dictates that sec-

tion 16 is therefore part of a comprehensive enforcement

scheme designed to redress all unfair or deceptive trade

practices in Texas, and as such is a law of general ap-

plication which cannot be saved from ERISA pre-emption.

Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 50.

This Court has also adopted the McCarran-Ferguson

Act test as a tocol for determining when a state law

“regulates insurance” within the meaning of ERISA’s

saving clause. Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 48-49. As the Fifth

Circuit previously found, section 16 fails that test. Ra-

mirez, 890 F.2d at 763-64.

Under the McCarran-Ferguson Act test, three criteria

are evaluated to determine if a particular practice falls

within the “business of insurance” and therefore “regu-

lates insurance” within the meaning of ERISA’s saving

clause. Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 47, 51; Metropolitan Life

Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts, 471 U.S. 724, 742-43 (1985).

The three criteria are:

“TF lirst, whether the practice has the effect of

transferring or spreading a_ policyholder’s risk;

second, whether the practice is an integral part of

the policy relationship between the insurer and the

insured; and third, whether the practice is limited

to entities within the insurance industry.”

481 U.S. at 48-49 (emphasis in original) (quoting Union

Labor Life Ins. Co. v. Pireno, 458 U.S. 119, 129 (1982) ).

Section 16 fails to meet all three criteria. It does not

spread or transfer any risk. Ramirez, 890 F.2d at 763.

Risk spreading occurs when the parties to an insurance

contract enter into it, not when some after-the-fact event

20

occurs, such as the payment or denial of a benefit claim

under a previously-transferred risk or the commencement

of a lawsuit for such a benefit, as in the present case.

See Union Labor Life Ins. Co. v. Pireno, 548 U.S. 119,

130 (1982). Nor is section 16 “integral” to the relation-

ship between any insurer and an insured; rather, “it

declares only that, whatever terms have been agreed upon

in the insurance contract, a breach of that contract” may

in some cases entitle a “person” to treble damages, plus

attorney’s fees. Ramirez, 890 F.2d at 763; see also Pilot

Life, 481 U.S. at 51; Insurance Board v. Muir, 819 F.2d

408;>411-13 (8d Cir. 1987); Tex. Ins. Code Ann. art.

21.21 §16(b) (Vernon Supp. 1991). Finally, section 16

is not limited to entities within the insurance industry.

Petitioners themselves claim a “private” right of action

under the statute (Petition, Cathey-IJ at 12), which

sweeps into its scope unfair and deceptive trade prac-

tices in which virtually any business entity in the State

of Texas may engage. See Vail, 754 S.W.2d at 135; see

also Tex. Ins. Code Ann. art. 21.21 §16(a) (Vernon

Supp. 1991) (incorporating section 17.46 of the Texas

Business & Commerce Code). Because section 16 fails

each requirement of the McCarran-Ferguson Act test, it

does not “‘regulat{e] insurance” within the meaning of

ERISA’s saving clause and is not saved from ERISA

pre-emption. Piot Life, 481 U.S. at 50; Ramirez, 890

F.2d at 763.

21

CONCLUSION

Petitioners are precluded by the final judgment in

Cathey-I from litigating claims that could or should have

been raised in that action. Moreover, the decision of the

Texas Supreme Court, which petitioners ask this Court

to review, comports with the applicable decisions of this

Court. There is nothing “special” or “important”? under

Rule 10 for this Court to consider. The Petition should

therefore be denied.

ACE PICKENS

Counsel of Record

BROWN, MARONEY, ROSE,

BARBER & DYE

1300 One Republic Plaza

Austin, Texas 78701

(512) 472-5456

Counsel for Respondent

Michael H. Maddolin

Dated: New York, New York

June 3, 1991

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM J. TOPPETA

Counsel of Record

DAVID J. LARKIN, JR.

JAMES M. LENAGHAN

One Madison Avenue

New York, New York 10010

(212) 578-3317

Counsel for Respondent

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co.

A. J. HARPER II

Counsel of Record

KATHERINE D. HUNT

FULBRIGHT & JAWORSKI

1301 McKinney Street

Houston, Texas 77010

(7138) 651-5151

Counsel for Respondent

The Dow Chemical Company

APPENDIX

rt eS

m 3

7 _ ‘ : he

; f < : ie “

¢ ye eG s

. -

.

-

-

‘ ‘ e :

la

APPENDIX

LIST NAMING ALL PARENT COMPANIES AND

SUBSIDIARIES OF RESPONDENTS

METROPOLITAN LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY

AND THE DOW CHEMICAL COMPANY,

AS REQUIRED BY RULE 29.1 OF THIS COURT

Metropolitan Life Insurance Company

ASSET MANAGEMENT INTERNATIONAL, INC.

ASSOCIATED ADVISORS FUND, INC.

CS FIRST BOSTON GLOBAL FUND MANAGERS

LTD.

DTSS INCORPORATED

EUROPEAN & PACIFIC INVESTMENT

MANAGEMENT

GENESIS SEGUROS GENERALES, SOCIEDAD

ANONIMA DE SEGUROS Y REASEGUROS

KOLON-MET LIFE INSURANCE CO., LTD.

MECCO HOLDING, INC.

MET LIFE INTERNATIONAL REAL ESTATE

EQUITY SHARES, INC.

METLIFE AGRICULTURAL CREDIT CORP.

METLIFE FINANCIAL SERVICES, INC.

METLIFE FUNDING, II, INC.

METLIFE HEALTHCARE NETWORK OF

CALIFORNIA, INC.

METLIFE HEALTHCARE NETWORK OF

NORTHEAST FLORIDA, INC.

METPARK FUNDING, INC.

METROPOLITAN LIFE FOUNDATION

METROPOLITAN MANAGEMENT COMPANY

METROPOLITAN SERIES FUND, INC.

METROPOLITAN STRUCTURES WEST, INC.

MONTREAL INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT

MORGUARD RESOURCES LIMITED

NATIONAL ELECTRONIC INFORMATION

CORPORATION

2a

PARKCOMMUNICATIONS, INC.

QUADREAL CORPORATION

SANTANDER MET, S.A.

SEGUROS GENESIS, S.A.

TORONTO INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT

UR HOLDING COMPANY, INC.

VANBRIT INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT

The Dow Chemical Company

Aardvark Limited

Agron Ine.

Airco Generon Systems LP

Anticorrosivos Industriales Limitada

Arabian Chemical Company Limited

Bear Mountain CoGen, Inc.

Biochimica Del Balento S.p.A.

Brea Canyon CoGen, Inc

BCC CoGen, Ine.

Canary Moving Limited

Carleton Shipping and Leasing Corporation

Carleton Shipping and Leasing Limited

Chalk Cliff CoGen, Inc.

Chimtrade

Compagnie des Services Dowell Schlumberger S.A.

Conklin IPP, Ine.

Corona Energy Corporation

CoGen Admin Services, Inc.

CoGen Kern Bluff, Inc.

CoGen Lime Rock

CoGen Lynchburg, Inc.

CoGen Lyondell, Inc.

CoGen Poso Creek, Inc.

CoGen Power, Inc.

CoGen Terrace Bay, Inc.

Cranley Corporation Limited

Cromarty Petroleum Co. Limited

CC CoGen, Inc.

CEC Prime, Inc.

8a

Dartigue Limited

Destec Energy, Inc.

Destec Engineering, Inc.

Destec Fuel Resources, Inc.

Destec Holdings, Inc.

Destec Operating Company

Destec Ventures, Inc.

Devonshire Underwriters Limited

Dexco Polymers

Donichem Chemical KFT

Double “C” CoGen, Inc.

Dow Chemical Iberica S.A.

Dow Corning (Korea) Ltd.

Dow Corning (Thailand) Ltd.

Dow Corning (UK) Management Ltd.

Dow Corning de Argentina S.A.I.C.

Dow Corning de Colombia, S.A. (Siliconas de

Colombia Limitad a)

Dow Corning de Mexico S.A. de C.V.

Dow Corning de Venezuela S.A.

Dow Corning do Brasil Ltde.

Dow Corning Africa Silicones Inc.

Dow Corning Australia Pty. Ltd.

Dow Corning Canada, Inc.

Dow Corning Construction S.A.

Dow Corning Coordination Center S.A.

Dow Corning Corporation

Dow Corning Enterprises, Inc.

Dow Corning Foreign Sales Corporation, Inc.

Dow Corning Foundation

Dow Corning France S.A.

Dow Corning GmbH

Dow Corning GmbH (Austria)

Dow Corning Hansil Limited

Dow Corning Hong Kong Limited

Dow Corning Iberica S.A.

4a

Dow Corning International Sales Corporation

Dow Corning Investment S.A.

Dow Corning Japan Ltd.

Dow Corning KK

Dow Corning Limited

Dow Corning New Zealand Ltd.

Dow Corning Opthamalmics, Inc.

Dow Corning S.p.A.

Dow Corning S.A.

Dow Corning Silicon Energy Systems, Inc.

Dow Corning STI Limited

Dow Corning STI, Inc.

Dow Corning Taiwan, Inc.

Dow Corning Wright Corporation

Dow Kakoh Kabushiki Kalsha

Dow Mitsubishi Kasel Limited

Dow-United Technologies Composite Products Inc.

Dowell Schlumberger (Asia) Limited

Dowell Schlumberger (Eastern), Inc.

Dowell Schlumberger (Far East), Inc.

Dowell Schlumberger (Middle East), Inc.

Dowell Schlumberger (Western) S.A.

Dowell Schlumberger de Chile Limitada

Dowell Schlumberger de Venezuela, S.A.

Dowell Schlumberger do Brasil Servicos Petroliferos

Ltda.

Dowell Schlumberger Argentina Sociedad Anonima

de Mineria

Dowell Schlumberger Canada Inc.

Dowell Schlumberger China, Inc.

Dowell Schlumberger Corporation

Dowell Schlumberger Inc.

Dowell Schlumberger International, Inc.

Dowell Schlumberger Italia S.A.

Dowell Schlumberger Participation

Dowell Schlumberger Peru, S.A.

Dowell Schlumberger Statistics Limited

DowElanco

5a

DowElanco (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd

DowElanco (NZ) Limited

DowElanco (Singapore) Pte. Ltd.

DowElanco de Colombia S.A.

DowElanco Argentina 8.A.

DowElanco Australia Limited

DowElanco B.V.

DowElanco Canada Inc.

DowElanco Chile S.A,

DowElanco China Ltd.

DowElenco Denmark A/S

DowElanco Export 8.A.

DowElanco GmbH

DowElanco Iberica S.A.

DowElanco Industrial Ltda.

DowElanco International Ltd.

DowElanco Italia S.r.L.

DowElanco Japan Limited

DowElanco Limited

DowElanco Mexicana, S. A. de C. V.

DowElanco Pacific Limited

DowElanco Pflanzenschutzmittel Vertriebsg.m.b.H.

DowElanco S.A.

DowElancoSverige AB

DowElanco Taiwan Ltd.

DowElanco Tarim S.A.

DowElanco Venezuela, C.A.

Drilling Services S.A.

DCU/LB Trust

DH Compounding Company

DS Technical Services, Inc.

Eagle Flying Limited

E! Dorado Terminals Company

Epoxital S.R.L.

Etoxilados del Plata S.A.

Etudes Et Fabrication Dowell Schlumberger

Eurosemences, S.A.

6a

Family Comercio e Industria de Produtos de Limpeza

Ltda.

First Chemical Factoring SpA

Fort Saskatchewan £thylene Storage Corporation

Fort Saskatchewan Ethylene Storage Limited

Partnership

Generon Systems

Generon Systems A.G.

Gruppo Lopetit S.p.A.

Gruppo Lopetit Trading SRL

Gurit Essex AG

H-D Tech. Ince.

Hammer Pharma 8.p.A.

Hartel Diensten B.V.

HEP CoGen, Inc.

Indian Hills Development Corp. of Carroll County

International Chemical and Mining Corporation

International Oilfield Contractors, Inc.

J.C.P. Laboratories Inc.

Joliet Marine Terminal Trust Partnership

Kern Front CoGen, Inc.

Laboratories Pharmaceuticals Biotic Maroc S.A.R.L.

Lakeside Laboratories, Inc.

Louisiana Gasification Technology, Inc.

Lucky Dow Chemical Ltd.

Marion Morrell Dow (Europe) A.G.

Marion Merrell Dow Inc.

Merrell Dow Belgium S.A.

Merrell Dow Espana S.A.

Merrell Dow France et Cie (SNC)

Merrell Dow France S.A.

Merrell Dow Funal K.K.

Merrell Dow Manufacturing Limited

Merrell Dow Pharma GmbH

Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals (Canada) Inc.

Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals (N.Z.) Limited

Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals Australia Pty Ltd.

Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals Inc.

el

7a

Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals International Inc.

Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals K.K

Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals Limited

Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals Pacific Limited

Merrell Dow Portuguesa Sociedade Quimica, S.A.

Merrell Puerto Rico, Inc.

N.V. Dow Corning S.A.

Northway CoGen, Inc.

NBW Industria E. Commercio Limitada

NKY Distribution Center Inc.

Oilfield International Equipment and Supplies, Inc.

Oilfield International Equipment and Supplies, Pty. Ltd.

P.T. Pacific Indomas Plastic Indonesia

Pacific Chemical (Pakistan) Ltd (PCPL)

Perennator GmbH

Petroquimica-Dow S.A. (Petrodow)

Promix System

Prosperity IPP, Inc.

Pumptech N.V.

PACLAN FB Haushaltsartikal Vertriebs GmbH

Recon Associates, Inc.

Rio Grande CoGen, Inc.

San Joaquin CoGen, Inc.

Scotdril Offshore Company

Services Conseils Dowell Schlumberger

Services Dowell Schlumberger S.A.

Sierra CoGen, Inc.

Sileover SpA

Siliconas de Chile Limitada

Siliconlas Del Peru S.A.

Siltech Limited

Site Services, Inc.

Societe Chimique Grevis S.A.

Stony Brook CoGen, Inc.

Suministradora de Productos Quimicos, S.A.

SJC CoGen, Inc.

Technical Consultants, Inc.

The Cynara Company

8a

Tower Assurance Company Limited

Ulsan Pacific Chemical Corporation

United AgriSeeds, Inc.

Vorakim Kimya Sanayi Ve Ticaret Anonim Sirketi

Wabiskaw Explorations Ltd.

Wickhen Products of Delaware, Inc.

Wickhen Products Inc.

Wm. H. Muller S.A.—Minerios, Comercio e Navegacao

Zhejiang Pacific Chemical Corporation

i

Be

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.