Opposition Brief — American Booksellers Ass'n v. Webb
Supreme Court brief1991
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
DaryL_ A. ROBINSON
| Supreme Court, US. |
7a FILED
= «APR 29
No. 90-1523 sali
- HE CLERK |
In The
Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1990
&
4
AMERICAN BOOKSELLERS ASSOCIATION, INC.,
Petitioners,
JAMES WEBB, etc. et al.,
Respondents.
,%
vw
Petition For Writ Of Certiorari To The
Court Of Appeals For The Eleventh Circuit
,%
——_
BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
Ly.
f
MicHaAEL J. Bowers Georce M. WEAVER
Attorney General of Special Assistant Attorney
Georgia General of Georgia
Counsel of Record
9040 Roswell Road
Suite 410, River Ridge
Atlanta, Georgia 30350
Senior Assistant Attorney
General of Georgia
WILLIAM F. AmMIDEO (404) 641-6010
Assistant Attorney Genera:
of Georgia
COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-4964
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
1. Whether the Court of Appeals erred in conclud-
ing that the provision of the Georgia minors’ access law,
which has never been enforced or construed by the Geor-
gia courts, that prohibits the “knowing[]” display in pub-
lic of material obscene for minors and having no serious
value for any reasonable minor does not have ¢ substan-
tial deterrent effect on protected expression, is subject to
narrowing constructions, and is therefore not subject to
facial overbreadth invalidation.
2. Whether the Court of Appeals erred in conclud-
ing that the library exemption of the Georgia minors’
access obscenity law, which has never been enforced or
construed by the Georgia courts, is not violative of the
Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.
il
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
CUESTA FREON DO? 60. es ne ceive ste ee nee eee i
TABLE OF COUT BESS so oe ci neve ccacttaveeenwes ii
TABLE OF AUTPIAARIE Ee . ws cccrsewendenaee . wi
STATEMENT OF THE CARE... 6202s ccs kecsieemee 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT.................... Pa
BIGGS 5 we hc ks beeen oe de ae ee ee 7
I. THE GEORGIA ACT IS SUPPORTED BY THE
STATES’ STRONG INTERESTS IN PROTECTING
MINORS FROM ACCESS TO MATERIALS HARM-
FUL TO THEM AND IN PROTECTING THE
RIGHTS OF PARENTS TO SUPERVISE THE —
DEVELOPMENT OF THEIR CHILDREN ........ 7
II. THIS COURT HAS IMPOSED STRICT LIMITA-
TIONS ON THE FACIAL INVALIDATION OF
STATE STATUTES FOR OVERBREADTH ...... 10
Il. THE COURT OF APPEALS CORRECTLY HELD
THAT, FOR REASONS EITHER UNAVAILABLE
TO OR NOT RECOGNIZED BY THE DISTRICT
COURT, THE ACT PLACES ONLY A MINOR
BURDEN ON PROTECTED ADULT SPEECH.. 14
IV. THE COURT OF APPEALS DID NOT ERR IN
UPHOLDING THE LIBRARY EXEMPTION
UNDER THE RATIONAL BASIS TEST OF
As FRE LE «vk e con cenaananeeeneee 21
CONCLUSION
ill
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
Casis
American Booksellers Ass'n v. Rendell, 481 A.2d 919
(Pa. Super. 1984) ............... 0.000000. 1, 2, 15, 26
American Booksellers Ass‘n v. Virginia, 882 F.2d 125
ey ca cesses sess eee. 1, 2, 16, 19
American Booksellers Ass'n v. Webb, 654 F.Supp. 503
a 4
American Booksellers Ass'n v. Webb, 643 F.Supp.
oo vids prs evecesedscccceees 3
Bethel School District v. Fraser, 478 U.S. 675 (1986).... 15
Bolger v. Youngs Drug Products, 463 U.S. 60 (1983)..... 8
Broadrick v. Oklahoma, 413 U.S. 601 (1973) ....10, 11, 12
Brockett v. Spokane Arcades, 472 U.S. 491 (1985) ...... 10
Butler v. Michigan, 352 U.S. 380 (1957)............. 8, 14
Cole v. Richardson, 405 U.S. 676 (1972)............... 12
Commonwealth v. American Booksellers Ass'n, 236
2D) 16
Erznoznik v. City of Jacksonville, 422 U.S. 205 (1975)
eee ee edn ce secs accedecess 6, 9, 14, 18
FCC v. Pacifica Foundation, 438 U.S. 726 (1978).....9, 15
Pasoy v. Scnultz, 487 US. 474 (1988)................ 13
Ginsberg v. New York, 390 U.S. 629 (1968)..... co SS, i
Hamling v. United States, 418 U.S.-87 (1974).......... 18
Hart Book Stores v. Edmisten, 612 F.2d 821 (4th Cir.
iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page
Pomweber ©. Bile, Zor Gab. G78 CIRO P vnc ccc ce ek 16
IDK, Inc. v. County of Clark, 836 F.2d 1185 (9th Cir.
MES ARUSSascasuusateeey seabes or sae wkaes en el osu 13
Interstate Circuit, Inc. v. City of Dallas, 390 U.S. 676
CN ew ote hace 2 ee VTA es Oe SSC ee ce eR eo AD 9
Jenkins v. Georgia, 418 U.S. 153 (1974) ............... 10
Kucharek v. Hanaway, 902 F.2d 513 (7th Cir. 1990)
NCEE CUTE CRP REP TARR CEOS eT EES ORCS EEN ES CORE aa, omy Of
Long v. 130 Market St. Gift & Novelty, 440 A.2d 517
SU CED nae code Sac weaewnenva sean ee menwas 26
M.S. News Co. v. Casado, 721 F.2d 1281 (10th Cir.
DENY te Sac wus tach ek nt Ce uN es 2, 12, 14, 19, 20, 25
Members of City Council v. Taxpayers for Vincent, 466
oh Be | A ea pon b a ee. haere e em 11
Miller v. California, 413 U.S. 15 (1973)............. 9, 14
New York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747 (1982)..... 6. 7, 21, 12
New York State Club Ass’n v. City cf New York, 108
Be RR wes kos oh ok es bo cack coeeendmeieues 22
Paris Adult Theatre I v. Slaton, 413 U.S. 49 (1973) ..9, 2?
Paract ©. Cg; GET UD. FAS GUO ne esa ceecaes 11
Piepenburg v. Cutler, 649 F.2d 783 (10th Cir. 1981).... 26
ge eB) er ee 24
Pope v. Hitnois, 461 U.S. 697 (1987) ............>. passim
Railroad Commission of Texas v. Pullman Co., 312
ae ERD 6 hada ke deena cesar seaward ewer pada 3
Ripplinger v. Collins, 868 F.2d 1043 (9th Cir. 1989) ...25, 27
Rose vw. Locet, G25. US. GB CGT ads woos oc ce eee
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page
Sewell v. State, 238 Ga. 495 (1977), app. dism., 435
U.S. 982 (1978) ..... Sh Pee ee er er rere i> ae
Smith v. California, 361 U.S. 147 (1959) ..00 0. 17
Time, Inc. v. Hill, 385 U.S. 374 (1966)................ 13
Upper Midwest Booksellers Ass'n v. Minneapolis, 780
van oer Gin Car. P9GS)............4... 2, 14, 19, 26
Virginia v. American Booksellers Ass'n, 484 U.S. 383
EC eg hee er Ue a ne ee Pay ae
Young v. American Mini Theatres, 427 U.S. 50 (1976) . ee
STATUTES
Ark. Stat. Ann. § 5-68-308(c) (1987) ......0.0.000..... 23
Colo. Rev. Stat. § 18-7-503(1)(a) (1990)....0.0.... ee
Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, § 1365(k)(3) (1987)... ee
Ga. Code Ann. § 16-12-102, et seq. (1988)........ passim
Idaho Code §§ 18-1517(1)(d), -4102(B) (1987) ..... ae
Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 38, §§ 11-20.1(b)(2), 11-21(e)()
ee er nee 23
Ind. Code Ann. § 35-49-3-4(2) (Burns 1985).......... 23
oma Lege Ann. & 726.7 (1979) ....... 2... cbc s. 23
Kan. Stat. Ann. §§ 21-4301(4)(b), -4301a(2)‘b),
-4301a(2)(c), -4301a(2)(d) (1988) ........... epee
La. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 14:106.D(1) (West 1986)........ 23
Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 17, § 2911(2)(A) (1983 &
SU OL ei atu tay cranes eel ae ae
vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page
Mass. Ann. Laws ch. 272, §§ 28, 28C, 29B(e) (Law
Co-op. 1960 @ Sap SRF vi vores sneces cee t ss 23
Mich Comp. Laws Ann. §§ 752.367(a)(ii),
722.676(a) (1994 Ge Cie, FO nw kee sss sce. +s 23
Minn. Stat. Ann. § 617.295(a) (West 1987)........... 23
Miss. Code. Ann. § 97-29-107(1)(c) (Supp. 1990) ..... 23
Neb. Rev. Stat. §§ 28-810(4), -815(1) (1989) .......... 23
Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 201.237 (1986)................ 23
N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 649-A:4 (1986)............. oe
N.M. Stat. Anm. @ SQsR7oRiRP Gime ec sco as se vss esses 23
N.Y. Penal Law §§ 235.10, 263.20(2) (McKinney
hi: ) ) I 23
N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 14-190.15(c)(2) (1986)...... cafes. 23
N.C. Gen. Stat. § TR=00GRICS) CPS ccc cece sce 23
N.D. Cent. Code §§ 12.1-27.1-03.1(2)(c), -27.1-11,
-27.2-O5(2) (19S Ge PAR Bae ic pvc ance eas scses 23
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §§ 2907.32(B), .321(B)(1),
.322(B)(1), .323(A) (Anderson Supp. 1990)......... 24
Or. Rev. Stat. §§ 167.085(2), .089 (1990).............. 24
S.C. Code Ann. § 16-15-385(c)(2) (Law Co-op.
Supp. 1990) . .. ...s05 4 eae een eee aah ss \ 5 24
S.D. Codified Laws Ann. §§ 22-24-31(4), -37(2)
1b .:.) Sr rare Pte Le 24
Utah Code Ann. §§ 76-10-1224, -1226 (1990 &
supp. 1996) ....<c0ss evan becr re ere eer eet ceca ss 24
vii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued
Page
Vt. Stat. Ann. tit. 13, § 2805(b)(3), (c)(3) (Supp.
CCl eee nch a teh W keke uh euse abs Leeks «6 44-26% 24
Va. Code Ann. §§ 18.2-383(1), -391.1(1) (1988) ....... 24
Wash. Rev. Code §§ 9.68.015, 9.68.100 (1988) ........ 24
Wis. Stat. Ann. § 944.21(8)(a), (b)(5) (Supp. 1990) .... 24
Wyo. Stat. § 6-4-302(c)(ii)(1988) ©2002. 24
OrHerR AUTHORITIES
I GUMSII FONG) og ee ces in ceca aeneee eases
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
The Geergia minors’ access law, which is found at
1984 Georgia Laws 1495, Ga. Code Ann. §§ 16-12-102, et
ceq. (“the Act”), became effective on July 1, 1984. The Act
is 2 modest attempt to in some way restrict the exposure
to minors of materials harmful to them. An example of
such materials is Defendants’ Exhibit 1, which was
described by the Eleventh Circuit as follows:
Defendant's Exhibit 1, Human Digest (June
1984), found in a convenience store with no
restriction on in-store access by minors, would
be “harmful to minors” and thus subject to sec-
tion 16-12-103’s ban on sales to minors and dis-
play. The cover refers to several articles within
that are written from the juvenile perspective:
“*Why My Mom Loves Oral Sex!’ ”; “ ‘I Made
X-Rated Videos for Dad!’ ”; “ ‘Sex Slave Sis!’ ”;
and “ ‘My Anal Aunt!’ ”.
919 F.2d at 1505 n.22.
A number of municipalities and almost all states
have minors’ access laws.' American Booksellers
' See Amici Curiae Brief of the State of Georgia, et al.,
Appendix, Virginia v. American Booksellers Ass'n, 484 U.S. 383
(1988), which cites statutes of 48 states regulating the display
or exhibition of materials harmful to minors. In their brief,
Georgia and 19 other states urged the Court to note probable
jurisdiction of a Fourth Circuit decision striking the Virginia
minors’ access statute. American Booksellers Ass'n v. Virginia,
792 F.2d 1261 (4th Cir. 1986), vacated 488 U.S. 905 (1988).
Inasmuch as the Fourth Circuit has now reversed itself, Ameri
can Booksellers Ass'n v. Virginia, 882 F.2d 125 (4th Cir. 1989), and
all other recent circuit decisions have upheld minors’ access
laws, there is no present reason for Supreme Court interven-
tion.
Association and its kindred plaintiffs have for several
years doggedly pursued an unsuccessful national cam-
paign against such laws. See, e.g., American Booksellers
Ass‘n v. Virginia, 882 F.2d 125 (4th Cir. 1989) (upholding
Virginia minors’ access statute); American Booksellers Ass’n
v. Rendell, 481 A.2d 919 (Pa. Super. 1984) (upholding
Pennsylvania minors’ access statute). Attacks by other
plaintiffs on minors’ access laws have also been largely
unsuccessful. See, e.g., Upper Midwest Booksellers Ass’n v.
Minneapolis, 780 F.2d 1389 (8th Cir. 1985) (upholding Min-
neapolis minors’ access ordinance); M.S. News v. Casado,
721 F.2d 1281 (10th Cir. 1983) (upholding Wichita minors’
access ordinance).
Unlike plaintiffs’ statement in their petition, they did
not at the trial of this action present “extensive uncon-
tradicted” or “substantial evidence to support their con-
stitutional challenges.” (Petition at 9, 12). Nor are
plaintiffs correct in saying that defendants “presented no
evidence in the trial court controverting the material evi-
dence submitted by plaintiffs.” (/d.) Plaintiffs’ witnesses
offered no support to their case. For example, Norma
Klein and Patrick Conroy testified that, even based on
their flawed understanding that the Act permitted regula-
tion on the basis of isolated excerpts, they did not believe
their works to be subject to the Act. (R. IV at 113-14, 153,
155). Moreover, Bobbie West Alford, who showed no
understanding of the Act, testified that she did not
believe that the work about which she expressed concern,
“Cat on a Hot Tin Roof,” would be subject to regulation.
(Id. at 97-98). Instead of supporting plaintiffs’ position,
the testimony of these witnesses actually shows that the
Act would not have any effect on speech materials.
At trial, defendants submitted evidence showing that
the Act places a very small burden on affected establish-
ments. Rayford Collins, a Fulton County, Georgia, law
enforcement officer, testified that the sample of plaintiffs’
establishments he visited before the effective date of the
Act were already in compliance. (R. V at 19-30). Janice
Horton, a Georgia State Senator, testified regarding a
display of sexually explicit materials at a convenience
store in McDonough, Georgia. She testified that Defen-
dants’ Exhibit 1, which is mentioned above, along with
two other sexually explicit exhibits (Defendants’ Exhibits
2 and 3) were openly displayed with no restrictive signs
and within reach of children. (R. IV at 75-76).
Plaintiffs have in their petition described the journey
of this case through the lower federal courts and Georgia
Supreme Court. After a period of abstention under Rail-
road Commission of Texas v. Pullman Co., 312 U.S. 496
(1941), the district court declared the display provision
and library exemption of the Act unconstitutional. Ameri-
can Booksellers Ass’n v. Webb, 643 F. Supp. 1546 (N.D. Ga.
1986).2 As summarized by the Eleventh Circuit, the
2 During abstention, the Georgia Supreme Court resolved
adversely to plaintiffs a state constitutional issue they had
raised. 254 Ga. 399 (responding to certified questions). The
Georgia court also declined an open-ended request “to con-
strue the provisions in Act 1319, 1984 Ga. Laws 1495, which
have been challenged in this suit.” Jd. at 401. Due to the
anticipatory nature of the challenge and the absence of enforce-
ment facts, the court found “it to be inappropriate to establish
the parameters within which the Act may or may not be
operative.” Id. Plaintiffs’ repeated misrepresentations to this
Court that the Georgia Supreme Court refused to construe the
statute narrowly ill serve their credibility. (Petition at 8, 13).
district court “interpreted the statute to ‘reduce an adult’s
selection of reading materials to a book list suitable for a
fifth grade class.’” 919 F.2d at 1495. The district court
concluded that this drastic and unacceptable effect would
occur because: the Act covers “ ‘the predominate amount
of all of the adult reading material’ ”; the application of
the “harmful to minors” provision is determined by the
maturity of “most minors” including those 10 years old;
in order to comply with the Act a bookseller would be
required to perform the impossible task of reviewing “his
entire inventory”; and there are no readily available nar-
rowing constructions. 643 F. Supp. at 1549-55. Presaging
future developments, the district court conceded, how-
ever, that if the Act applied “only to material on the
fringe of protected expression,” id. at 1554, or “to mate-
rials inappropriate for minors approaching the age of
majority,” it might well be constitutional. Id. at 1556. See
also 919 F.2d at 1498 (noting district court’s concessions).
In a later order, the district court found the library
exemption not to be severable and struck the entire stat-
ute. American Bocksellers Ass’n v. Webb, 654 F. Supp. 503
(N.D. Ga. 1987).
On December 27, 1990, the Court of Appeals for the
Eleventh Circuit reversed the judgment of the district
court. Exercising independent appellate review,’ the court
held that under Pope v. Illinois, 481 U.S. 497 (1987), a
decision unavailable to the district court and which prob-
ably would have altered the district court’s conclusions,
there was a “dramatic[{] decrease[] [in] the amount of
> The parties agreed that the Eleventh Circuit should use
independent appellate review. 919 F.2d at 1498, 1498 n.10.
material actually covered by the ban on display and [in]
the indirect burden suffered by adults as a result.” 919
F.2d at 1505. Moreover, the court of appeals concluded
that readily available narrowing constructions further
reduced any burden on adult speech. 919 F.2d at 1508-09.
The Eleventh Circuit also disagreed with the district
court’s conclusion that the Act’s exemption of public
libraries is subject to strict scrutiny and therefore viola-
tive of the Equal Protection Clause. The court of appeals
summarized all of its holdings:
We find the statute is readily susceptible to a
narrowing construction that reduces the scope
of materials covered, produces only a slight bur-
den on adults’ access to protected material, and
fully comports with the First Amendment. We
also reverse the district court’s determination
that an exemption granted in the statute to
libraries is subject to strict scrutiny and violates
the Equal Protection Clause.
919 F.2d at 1495.
,
-
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
This case presents a facia] attack on the constitu-
tionality of the Georgia minors’ access obscenity statute.
Plaintiffs have challenged the statute prior to its construc-
tion or enforcement by Georgia courts. The statute is
designed to discourage premature exposure of minors to
materials harmful to them.
This statute is supported by two strong state inter-
ests. First, the states have a “ ‘compelling’ ” interest in
“ ‘safeguarding the physical and psychological well-being
of a minor.’” New York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747, 756-57
(1982) (cit. omitted). Second, the states have a substantial
interest in protecting the rights of parents to supervise
the development of their children. Ginsberg v. New York,
390 U.S. 629, 639 (1968). These state interests support
laws limiting not just the sale but also the display to
minors of material harmful to them.
Facial overbreadth challenges are disfavored. The
successful maintenance of such a challenge requires dem-
onstration that: (1) the statute “is not readily subject to a
narrowing construction by the state courts,” and (2) the
statute’s “deterrent effect on legitimate expression is both
real and substantial.” Erznoznik v. City of Jacksonville, 422
U.S. 205, 216 (1975).
The Eleventh Circuit correctly held that plaintiffs
failed to meet the test for facial overbreadth invalidation.
As other circuits and lower courts have held in review of
similar laws, the court of appeals held that the Act piaces
only a “slight burden on adults’ access to protected mate-
rial.” 919 F.2d at 1495. The court reached this conclusion
by applying Pope v. Illinois, 481 U.S. 497 (1987), which was
not available to the district court, to the Ginsberg-derived
definition of “harmful to minors.” The court recognized
that Pope does not permit regulation of material as long as
“any reasonable minor, including a seventeen-year-old,
would find serious value.” 919 F.2d at 1504-05. The Elev-
enth Circuit also held that the scienter requirement,
which punishes only “knowing|[]” displays, and the ready
availability of a construction permitting compliance by
use of “blinder racks” “dramatically decreases the
amount of material actually covered by the ban on dis-
play and the indirect burden suffered by adults as a
result.” 919 F.2d at 1506.
The Eleventh Circuit also correctly upheld the library
exemption against plaintiffs’ equal protection attack.
Consistently with other circuits, the court of appeals
employed the rational basis test. 919 F.2d at 1509-10. The
court correctly recognized that the exemption to this
obscenity statute for libraries is rationally related to the
states’ legitimate interest in controlling the commercial
distribution and display of obscene materials and the
states’ legitimate interest in protecting educational uses
of explicit materials. 919 F.2d at 1511-13.
Therefore, the decision of the Eleventh Circuit is
correct and plaintiffs’ petition should be denied.
ys
_
ARGUMENT
I. THE GEORGIA ACT IS SUPPORTED BY THE
STATES’ STRONG INTERESTS IN PROTECTING
MINORS FROM ACCESS TO MATERIALS HARM-
FUL TO THEM AND IN PROTECTING THE
RIGHTS GF PARENTS TO SUPERVISE THE
DEVELOPMENT OF THEIR CHILDREN.
Minors’ access laws are supported by two weighty
state interests. First is the compelling state interest in
protecting minors from obscene materials. Second, the
states have a substantial interest in protecting the rights
of parents to supervise the development of their children.
This Court has repeatedly affirmed that states have a
strong interest in protecting the welfare of minors. In New
York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747 (1982), the Court concluded:
“It is evident beyond the need for elaboration that a
State’s interest in ‘safeguarding the physica! and psycho-
logical well-being of a minor’ is ‘compelling.’ ” Id. at
756-57 (cit. omitted) (emphasis added). In Ginsberg v. New
York, 390 U.S. 629 (1968), the Court acknowledged ” ‘scci-
ety’s transcendent interest in protecting the welfare of
children.’ ” 390 U.S. at 640 (cit. omitted) (emphasis
added). The Court made it clear that this interest is
“independent” from parents’ interests in their children.
Id. at 639-40.
In addition to the states’ compelling interest in the
welfare of minors, states have a substantial interest in
protecting the rights of parents to supervise the develop-
ment of their children. In Ginsberg, the Court recognized
that parents’ right “to direct the rearing of their children
is basic in the structure of our society.” 390 U.S. at 639.
The Court went on to hold that the minors’ access law in
question there was supported by this interest. Id. See also
Bolger v. Youngs Drug Products, 463 U.S. 60, 73 (1983)
(describing the governmental interest in “aiding parents’
efforts to discuss birth control with their children” as
“substantial”) (emphasis added).
In Ginsberg, the Court affirmed a conviction under a
New York statute for the sale to a 16-year-old boy of two
“ ‘girlie’ ” magazines which were “harmful to minors” as
defined by the statute. 390 U.S. at 631-33. This result was
reached even though the magazines were “not obscene
for adults.” Id. at 634. The Court distinguished the New
York statute in question there from the Michigan statute
struck down in Butler v. Michigan, 352 U.S. 380 (1957),
which forbade the distribution to adults of materials
believed to have an adverse effect on minors. 390 U‘S. at
634-35.
The states’ interests in the protection of minors from
sexually explicit materials and preservimg the rights of
parents as recognized and upheld in Ginsberg extend
beyond the sale to minors of objectionable materials and
include the display of such material in public places. The
Court characterized the New York statute, which it
upheld, as denying minors “access” to harmful material,
390 U.S. at 636 (emphasis added), restricting their right
“to judge and determine for themselves what sex material
they may read and see,” id. at 636-37, a regulation of “the
availability of sex material to minors,” id. at 639 (emphasis
added), and a restraint on “minors’ exposure to such mate-
rial.” Id. (emphasis added). See also id. at 641.
Since Ginsberg, the Court has repeated the view that
the states’ legitimate interests extend to all exposure to
minors of materials obscene for them. In FCC*v. Pacific
Foundation, 438 U.S. 726 (1978) (plurality opinion), the
Court summarized Ginsberg as holding that “[b]ook-
stores and motion picture theatres, for example, may be
prohibited from making indecent material available to
children.” Id. at 749 (emphasis added). See also Interstate
Circuit, Inc. v. City of Dallas, 390 U.S. 676, 690 (1968)
(“because of its strong and abiding interest in youth, a
State may regulate the dissemination to juveniles of, and
their access to, material objectionable as to them”)
(emphasis added); Erznoznik v. Jacksonville, 422 U.S. 205,
212 (1975); Miller v. California, 413 U.S. 15, 18-19 (1973);
Paris Adult Theatre I v. Slaton, 413 U.S. 49 (1957).
10
It is thus clear that the states’ legitimate interests in
protecting minors from harmful materials extend to all
means of public access including display. Obviously, the
Georgia Act would not fully express these interests if it
forbade only the sale to minors of harmful materials but
allowed other forms of dissemination such as display.
Il. THIS COURT HAS IMPOSED STRICT LIMITA-
TIONS ON THE FACIAL INVALIDATION OF
STATE STATUTES FOR OVERBREADTH.
An overbroad statute is one that sweeps protected
First Amendment activity into its scope. This Court has
often made clear that the normal procedure for handling
a threat by a state or federal statute to constitutionally
protected activity is invalidation of the particular applica-
tion — not striking the statute on its face. For example, in
Jenkins v. Georgia, 418 U.S. 153 (1974), the Court reversed
a conviction under the Georgia adult obscenity statute for
exhibiting the movie “Carnal Knowledge,” but did not
facially invalidate the statute. See also Brockett v. Spokane
Arcades, 472 U.S. 491, 502-05 (1985) (citing cases); Broad-
rick v. Oklahoma, 413 U.S. 601, 613-14 (1973) (citing cases).
In order to limit use of the doctrine to serious threats
to First Amendment values, this Court has issued a
number of restrictions. It has frequently warned that
facial invalidation for overbreadth is “strong medicine”
which should be used “sparingly and only as a last
resort.” Broadrick, 413 U.S. at 613. Defendants submit that
11
courts should be especially scrupulous in their observa-
tion of the limitations on facial invalidation for over-
breadth when, as in the case before this Court, the
challenge is made prior to enforcement. In these cases,
the states or other authorities have had no opportunity to
eliminate by enforcement or construction any potential
unconstitutional applications.
In circumscribing use of the facial overbreadth doc-
trine, this Court has ruled that the existence of valid
applications will normally save a statute from facial
invalidation. See, e.g., Parker v. Levy, 417 U.S. 733, 760
(1974) (describing the Court’s “reluctance to strike down
a statute on its face where there were a substantial
number of situations to which it might be validly
applied”); Ferber, 458 U.S. at 773 (upholding child por-
nography statute “whose legitimate reach dwarfs its
arguably impermissible applications”). Thus, the possi-
bility of one or several unconstitutional applications is
not sufficient to invalidate a statute. Members of City
Council v. Taxpayers for Vincent, 466 U.S. 789, 800 (1984)
(“the mere fact that one can conceive of some impermiss-
ible applications of a statute is not sufficient to render it
susceptible to an overbreadth challenge”). Every statute
is probably susceptible to some unconstitutional applica-
tion. This Court has said:
“Without a substantial overbreadth limitation,
review for overbreadth would be draconian
indeed. It is difficult to think of a law that is
utterly devoid of potential for unconstitu-
tionality in some conceivable application.”
New York v. Ferber, 485 U.S. at 772 n.27 (cit. omitted). See
also Broadrick, 413 U.S. at 618 (statute upheld although it
12
“may be susceptible of some other improper applica-
tions”). Expressing the same principle, the Court has also
suggested that potential unconstitutional applications of
a state statute are not a basis for invalidation so long as
the statute reaches a “central core of constitutionally reg-
ulable conduct.” Ferber, 458 U.S. at 771 n.26. See also
Broadrick, 413 U.S. at 615-18.
This Court has imposed two basic requirements for
facial overbreadth invalidation. In Erznoznik, the Court
held: “[A] state statute should not be deemed facially
invalid unless [1] it is not readily subject to a narrowing
construction by the state courts, and [2] its deterrent
effect on legitimate expression is both real and substan-
tial.” 422 U.S. at 216 (cits. omitted). Note that the ele-
ments are conjunctive: both must be present in order for a
state statute to be facially invalidated. Id. at 217. The
Eleventh Circuit quoted and followed this Court’s admo-
nition that, when considering narrowing constructions,
“‘It]he key to application of this principle is that the
statute must be “readily susceptible” to limitation.’ ” 919
F.2d at 1500 (quoting Virginia v. American Booksellers Ass’n,
484 U.S. 383, 397 (1988)).
The requirement of “substantial” overbreadth applies
4
with particular force
‘‘where conduct and not merely
speech is involved.’ ” Broadrick, 413 U.S. at 615, (quoted
in Ferber, 458 U.S. at 770). As the Eleventh Circuit con-
cluded minors’ display laws regulate “ ‘conduct plus
speech’ ” and substantial overbreadth must therefore be
shown for invalidation. 919 F2d at 1500; accord M.S.
News, 721 F.2d at 1289.
13
One corollary of the above-mentioned prerequisites
to facial overbreadth invalidation is that the presence of
an earlier state court decision narrowing the scope of a
statute is not essential to its withstanding constitutional
challenge. See Frisby v. Schultz, 487 U.S. 474, 481-83 (1988)
(construing and upholding language of municipal picket-
ing ordinance previously unconstrued by state courts);
Cole v. Richardson, 405 U.S. 676 (1972) (construing previ-
ously unconstrued language of a Massachusetts loyalty
oath statute in a manner so as to uphold it); Rose v. Locke,
423 U.S. 48, 51-52 (1975) (holding that previous applica-
tions of a statue are not “a prerequisite to a statute’s
withstanding constitutional attack”); Time, Inc. v. Hill, 385
U.S. 374, 397 (1966) (refusing to invalidate on its face a
New York privacy statute and stating that the Court
“confidently expect[ed] that the New York courts [would]
apply the statute consistently with the constitutional
command”); IDK, Inc. v. County of Clark, 836 F.2d 1185,
1191 (9th Cir. 1988) (“If the courts of a state could adopt a
construction of its statute that eliminates the constitu-
tional defects, federal courts should defer.”)
The Eleventh Circuit found “no relevant distinction” in
the test for facial overbreadth invalidation and “the constitu-
tional standards applicable to a time, place, and manner
restriction.” 919 F.2d at 1502. The court concluded:
In evaluating the display ban under either test, the
crucial inquiry, at least in this case, is whether the
restriction on adults’ access to protected speech is
unnecessarily burdensome or “significant,” or,
stated differently, whether alternative modes of
adult access are unduly restricted.
Id.
14
II. THE COURT OF APPEALS CORRECTLY HELD
THAT, FOR REASONS EITHER UNAVAILABLE
TO OR NOT RECOGNIZED BY THE DISTRICT
COURT, THE ACT PLACES ONLY A MINOR
BURDEN ON PROTECTED ADULT SPEECH.
The Eleventh Circuit correctly held that the Act
places only a minor burden on protected adult speech.
The court of appeals found the “slight burden on adults’
access to protected material” to be “far less than the
district court suggests.” 919 F.2d at 1495, 1506. Similar
conclusions have been reached by other courts reviewing
minors’ access laws. For example, in M.S. News, the Tenth
Circuit concluded that “the proscription on display of
material harmful to minors does not unreasonably restrict
adults’ access to material which is not obscene as to
them.” Id. at 1288. In support of its conclusion, the court
pointed out: “[A]dults may still have some access to
materials not obscene as to them, and they may purchase
such material.” Id. at 1289. And in Upper Midwest, the
Eighth Circuit held that the Minneapolis display ordi-
nance whic! it sustained did not substantially interfere
with adult free speech:
We believe that the ordinance in the instant
case is one that is “carefully limited,” Miller, 413
U.S. at 24, and that does not unduly burden the
First Amendment rights of adults. See Butler, 352
U.S. at 383; cf. Erznmoznik, 422 U.S. at 213. Any
burden here is the result of the permissible reg-
ulation of material that is obscene as to minors.
The restriction in relation to adults is merely an
incidental effect of the permissible regulation
and is minimal in its impact. Adults are still free
to request a copy of restricted material to view
from a merchant or to peruse the material in
adults only bookstores or in segregated sections
15
of ordinary retail establishments. More signifi-
cantly, adults are still able to view any of the
material in a free and unfettered fashion by
purchasing it. The continued availability of
these materials to adults for purchase under the
ordinance weighs strongly in favor of the ordi-
nance’s constitutionality.
Id. at 1395. See also American Booksellers Ass'n v. Rendell,
481 A.2d at 941 (“although adults may be inconvenienced
in their perusal or purchase of graphic inaterials harmful
to minors, though not obscene for adults, adult access to
these materials will not significantly be impaired” and
“any inhibitory effect on dissemination to adults does not
render the display provision [of the Pennsylvania minors’
access law] constitutionally defective, given the state’s
legitimate interest in shielding children from these mate-
rials”).
This Court has also recognized on several occasions
that for the sake of protecting minors minimal effects on
protected adult speech are constitutionally acceptable. See
Bethel School District v. Fraser, 478 U.S. 675, 684 (1986)
(“This Court’s First Amendment jurisprudence has
acknowledged limitations on the otherwise absolute
interest of the speaker in reaching an unlimited audience
where the speech is sexually explicit and the audience
may include children”); FCC v. Pacifica Foundation, 438
U.S. 726, 729 (1978) (plurality opinion) (upholding the
power of the FCC to regulate for the protection of chil-
dren a radio broadcast which was “indecent but not
obscene”).
In a straightforward application of Pope v. Illinois, 481
U.S. 497 (1987), the Eleventh Circuit held that under the
Act materia! could not be found obscene for minors as
16
long as “any reasonable minor, including a seventeen-
year-old, would find serious value.” 919 F.2d at 1504-05.
Of course, Pope was not available to the district court
when it declared the Georgia Act unconstitutional for
overbreadth. In concluding that “Georgia courts would
interpret section 16-12-102 in light of Pope,” the court of
appeals cited Hunter v. State, 257 Ga. 571 (1987), in which
the Georgia Supreme Court recognized Pope to be appli-
cable to the Georgia Act. 919 F.2d at 1504. The Eleventh
Circuit also followed the Fourth Circuit and Virginia
Supreme Court in their understanding of the effect of
Pope. 919 F.2d at 1504-05 (citing American Booksellers Ass'n
v. Virginia, 882 F.2d at 127 (quoting Commonwealth v.
American Booksellers Ass'n, 236 Va. 168, 372 S.E.2d 618, 624
(1988))).
Petitioners suggest that the failure of the Georgia
Supreme Court to answer a certified question seeking
construction of the display provision of the Georgia Act
distinguishes this case from the Virginia case and dictates
that the Georgia statute be stricken as unconstitutional.
For a number of reasons, petitioners’ argument is invalid.
Most obviously, Pope was not available at the time the
Georgia Supreme Court was requested to construe the
Act. Moreover, the Georgia Supreme Court was not asked
any specific questions about the meaning of the Georgia
statute but rather simply how it “construe[d] the provi-
sions in Act 1319, 1984 Ga. Laws 1495, which have been
challenged.” 744 F.2d at 786. This question is far different
from the specific constructions requested of the Virginia
Supreme Court. As the Eleventh Circuit pointed out, the
Georgia Supreme Court simply expressed its reluctance
to construe the statute “in the absence of enforcement
17
facts, finding instead that the challenge was anticipa-
tory.” 919 F.2d at 1497. But most importantly the effect of
Pope on the Ginsberg-derived definition of minors
obscenity as repeated in the Georgia Act, Virginia statute,
and all other minors’ access laws, is not a matter of state
statutory construction but rather federal constitutional
law. And, as discussed above, the absence of earlier state
court decisions narrowing the scope of a state statute is
not fatal to constitutionality, particularly where as here
the statute does not have a significant effect on protected
adult speech.
As the Eleventh Circuit concluded, the burden on
adult speech is also “far iess than the district court sug-
gests” when one gives full effect to the requirement of the
Act that displays be made “knowingly,” § 16-12-102(2),
-103, before they are subject to regulation. 919 F.2d at
1506. The district court had erroneously concluded that in
order to comply with the Act a bookseller would be
required to review “his entire inventory” and in effect
pre-screen all new purchases. 643 F.Supp. at 1553. The
Eleventh Circuit properly concluded that the district
court’s confusion on this issue led it to overestimate the
effect of the Act on adult speech. 919 F.2d at 1506. As this
Court has explained, it is a statute without a knowledge
or scienter element that requires a bookseller “to make
himself aware cf the contents of every book in his shop.”
Smith v. California, 361 U.S. 147) 153-54 (1959) (striking a
Los Angeles obscenity ordinance containing no scienter
element and thus imposing strict liability).4
4 Although the prosecution need not prove knowledge
that materials are obscene, this Court has consistently held that
(Continued on follow‘ng page)
18
Defendants maintain that in view of the minimal
burden on adult speech as is evident from the application
of Pope and the Act’s scienter requirement, the consider-
ation of narrowing constructions is unnecessary. In
Erznoznik, this Court held that, regardless of the ready
availability of narrowing constructions, a state statute
may not be invalidated for facial overbreadth unless “its
deterrent effect on legitimate expression is both real and
substantial.” 422 U.S. at 216.
Assuming, however, the necessity of considering nar-
rowing constructions of the Georgia Act, it is manifest
that the Eleventh Circuit properly recognized the use of
blinder racks to be a nonburdensome manner of compli-
ance. Although more onerous methods of compliance can
be imagined, just as hypothetical unconstitutional appli-
cations of any statute can be imagined, the court con-
cluded that “blinder racks do not ‘exhibit, expose, or
display in public’ material subject to section
16-12-103(e).” 919 F.2d at 1508. In reaching this result, the
court applied the ordinary meanings of the words of the
Act. The court of appeals further concluded:
Therefore, under our reading of section
16-12-103(e), it is not necessary that booksellers
physically segregate material placed behind
(Continued from previous page)
no o1.e may be convicted of an obscenity offense unless he is
aware of the “contents[,] . . . character and nature of the
materials.” Hamling v. United States, 418 U.S. 87, 123 (1974). Just
as in all other states, obscenity statutes in Georgia are applied
consistently with this constituiional requirement. See Sewell v.
State, 238 Ga. 495, 496 (1977), app. dism., 435 U.S. 982 (1978),
citing Hamling, 418 U.S. 87.
19
blinder racks from material accessible to minors.
Since the statute is “readily susceptible” to such
a reading, we need not consider broader inter-
pretations of the requirements for compliance
with section 16-12-103(e). Virginia v. American
Booksellers Ass'n, Inc., 484 U.S. at 397-99, 108 S.
Ct. at 645 (1988). Placing the relatively small
amount of reading materials subject to section
16-12-103 behind biinder racks only slightly bur-
dens adults’ access to such material. Blinder
racks do not impose a “substantially overbroad”
regulation on “conduct plus speech.” (See the
discussion above at pp. 1499-1500, 1502). Adults
may peruse and purchase the material without
restriction. Under either the balancing test for
regulations on material protected to one group
but not another, or the test for the constitu-
tionality of a time, place, and manner regula-
tion, (see the discussion above p. 1502), the
burden on adults’ access to material protected as
to them is constitutionally insignificant and
therefore permissible. See M.S. News, 721 F.2d at
1288-89 (relying in part on blinder racks excep-
tion to uphold statute against facial challenge).
919 F.2d at 1508-09. Plaintiffs have argued that recogni-
tion of a readily available construction under which the
use of blinder racks avoids a “display in public” consti-
tutes rewriting the Act. This argument is obviously falla-
cious.
The Eleventh Circuit decision this Court is asked to
review is fully consistent with all other pertinent circuit
decisions. The Fourth, Eighth, and Tenth Circuits have
upheld minors’ access laws against facial overbreadth
challenges. American Booksellers Ass'n v. Virginia, 882 F.2d
125 (4th Cir. 1989); Upper Midwest Booksellers Ass'n v.
20
Minneapolis, 780 F.2d 1389 (8th Cir. 1985); M.S. News Co. v.
Casado, 721 F.2d 1281, 1288 (10th Cir. 1983).
The dissent below by District Judge Pointer to the
majority’s view of the overbreadth issue was based on a
misunderstanding of the Act. Although District Judge
Pointer agreed “we should assume that Georgia would
adopt a narrow construction of the section,” he concluded
that the Act would have a broader affect on adult speech
than the majority found because, according to Judge
Pointer, the Act regulates matter that “contains” explicit
material. 919 F.2d at 1515. Judge Pointer apparently failed
to understand that the Act, although some of its provi-
sions overlap, only regulates material that “taken as a
whole” satisfies the prurience and lack of serious value
elements. Ga. Code Ann. § 16-12-102(1)(A), (C). It is sig-
nificant that even the district court recognized that no
material is subject to regulation under the Act unless
“taken as a whole” it satisfies the definition of “harmful
to minors.” 590 FKSupp. at 688. Evidently realizing Judge
Pointer’s misunderstanding of this aspect of the Act,
petitioners do not suggest to this Court that Judge
Pointer’s analysis of the overbreadth issue should pre-
vail.
Plaintiffs do, however, make a curious argument
against the constitutionality of the display provision of
the Act. They propose that the “harmful to minors” defi-
nition in the Act be interpreted to regulate “material
deemed ‘harmful’ to any minor.” (Petition at 19)
(emphasis in original). Plaintiffs thus propose that the
Act be construed to regulate material which, meeting the
other prongs of the obscenity test, also lacks serious value
21
for a five year old child. If the Act required this construc-
tion, defendants would concede its unconstitutionality.
As the Eleventh Circuit recognized, however, the Act
does not require such a contrived construction. In effect,
plaintiffs argue that the Act should be construed in isola-
tion from Pope, without regard to the Act’s scienter
requirement, and without recognition of obvious narrow-
ing constructions, in order that it may be held unconstitu-
tional. (Petition at 15). Although ambivalent on the point,
plaintiffs complain to this Court that under the Eleventh
Circuit decision the Act is “a duplicative and meaningless
statute which encompasses little or nothing more than
that covered by Georgia’s general obscenity laws.” (Peti-
tion at 17). Of course, the states are not forbidden by the
Constitution from enacting laws having no significant
effect on private conduct. And plaintiffs’ “open season”
view that state laws should be broadly construed for the
purpose of striking them is in derogation of all precedent
and reason.
IV. THE COURT OF APPEALS DID NOT ERR IN
UPHOLDING THE LIBRARY EXEMPTION
UNDER THE RATIONAL BASIS TEST OF EQUAL
PROTECTION.
The Act contains in § 16-12-104 an exemption for
public and school libraries. The Eleventh Circuit correctly
held that this legislative classification is not subject to
strict scrutiny under the Equal Protection Clause. 919 F.2d
at 1509. The court then correctly held that the library
exemption does not violate the Equal Protection Clause
because it is rationally related to the states’ legitimate
interest in controlling the commercial distribution and
22
display to minors of obscene materials and the states’
legitimate interest in protecting educational uses of
explicit materials. 919 F.2d at 1511-13.5 See Paris Adult
Theatre I v. Slaton, 413 U.S. 49, 57 (1973) (recognizing
“legitimate state interests al stake in stemming the tide of
commercialized obscenity”).
In a 1988 decision, this Court emphasized the diffi-
culty of a successful equal protection challenge to a legis-
lative classification. In New York State Club Ass'n v. City of
New York, 108 S. Ct. 2225, 2236 (1988), the Court held:
Legislative classifications, however, are pre-
sumed to be constitutional, and the burden of
showing a statute to be unconstitutional is on
the challenging party, not on the party defend-
ing the statute: “those challenging the legislative
judgment must convince the court that the legis-
lative facts on which the classification is appar-
ently based could not reasonably be conceived
to be true by the governmental decisionmaker.
(cit. sated! te a case such as this, the plaintiff
can carry this burden by submitting evidence to
show that the asserted grounds for the legisla-
tive classification lack any reasonabie support in
fact, but this burden is nonetheless a consider-
able one. [cit. omitted]
Id. at 2236 (emphasis in original).
> The Eleventh Circuit also noted a Seventh Circuit sug-
gestion that library exemptions to obscenity statutes may
“serve the purpose of shielding libraries from groundless com-
plaints that they are disseminating obscene materials.” 919 F.2d
at 1511 n.38 (citing Kucharek v. Hanaway, 902 F.2d 513 (7th Cir.
1990)).
23
It is important to understand that almost all
obscenity statutes contain exemptions. defenses, or pre-
sumption exceptions applying to various classes of per-
sons, institutions, organizations, and categories of
activities. Such measures are found in adult obscenity
statutes, minors’ access laws, child pornography statutes,
and other obscenity regulations. A number of states pro-
vide exemptions or defenses for such educational uses as
represented by libraries, schools, and universities.
Although libraries are probably included in all educa-
tional exemptions and defenses, obscenity statutes of 32
states recognize specific exemptions for
libraries.® If strict scrutiny is to be applied to all of these
6 Ark. Stat. Ann. § 5-68-308/c) (1987); Colo. Rev. Stat.
§ 18-7-503(1)(a) (1990); Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, § 1365(k)(3)
(1987); Ga. Code Ann. § 16-12-104 (1988); Idaho Code
§§ 18-1517(1)(d), -4102(B) (1987); Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 38,
§§ 11-20.1(b)(2), 11-21(e)(1) (1979 & Supp. 1990); Ind. Code
Ann. § 35-49-3-4(2) (Burns 1985); Iowa Code Ann. § 728.7
(1979); Kan. Stat. Ann. §§ 21-4301(4)(b), -4301a(2)(b),
-4301a(2)(c), -4301a(2)(d) (1988); La. Rev. Stat. Ann.
§ 14:106(D)(1) (West 1986); Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 17,
§ 2911(2)(A) (1983 & Supp. 1990); Mass. Ann. Laws ch. 272,
§§ 28, 28C, 29B(e) (Law Co-op. 1980 & Supp. 1991); Mich.
Comp. Laws Ann. §§ 752.367(a)(ii), 722.676(d) (1991 & Supp.
1990); Minn. Stat. Ann. § 617.295(a) (West 1987); Miss. Code
Ann. § 97-29-107(1)(c) (Supp. 1990); Neb. Rev. Stat.
§§ 28-810(4), -815(1) (1989); Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 201.237
(1986); N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 649-A:4 (1986); N.M. Stat. Ann.
§ 30-37-5.D (1989); N.Y. Penal Law §§ 235.10, 263.20(2) (McKin-
ney 1989); N.C. Gen. Stat. §§ 14-190.15(c) (2) (1986); N.C. Gen.
Stat. § 19-20(b)(3) (1983); N.D. Cent. Code
§§ 12.1-27.1-03.1(2)(c), -27.1-11, -27.2-05(2) (1985 & Supp. 1989);
(Continued on following page)
24
statutes, the courts have much work to do. As everyone
knows, strict scrutiny is “strict in theory and fatal in
fact.”
In applying the rationa! basis test of equal protection
to the library exemption, the Eleventh Circuit followed
the overwhelming preponderance of authority. If this case
involved fully protected First Amendment interests, a
strict scrutiny standard would certainly be appropriate.”
Plyler v. Doe, 457 U.S. 202, 216-17 (1982). Except in a very
few cases, strict scrutiny has not been applied in equal
protection review of regulations of any category of
(Continued from previous page)
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §§ 2907.32(B), .321(B)<1), .322(B)(1),
-323(A) (Anderson Supp. 1990); Or. Rev. Stat. §§ 167.085(2), .089
(1990); S.C. Code Ann. § 16-15-385(c)(2) (Law Co-op. Supp.
1990); S.D. Codified Laws Ann. §§ 22-24-31(4), -37(2) (1988);
Utah Code Ann. §§ 76-10-1224, -1226 (1990 & Supp. 1990); Vt.
Stat. Ann. tit. 13, § 2805(b)(3), (c)(3) (Supp. 1990); Va. Code
Ann. §§ 18.2-383(1), -391.1(1) (1988); Wash. Rev. Code
§§ 9.68.015, 9.68.100 (1988); Wis. Stat. Ann. § 944.21(8)(a), (b)(5)
(Supp. 1990); Wyo. Stat. § 6-4-302(c)(ii)(1988).
The Model Penal Code contains an affirmative defense if
“dissemination was restricted to .. . . institutions or persons
having scientific, educational, governmental cr other similar
justification for possessing obscene material.” Model Penal
Code Sec. 251.4(3)(a) (Proposed Official Draft 1962). A number
ot the above-cited statutes also incorporate this provision.
? On page 23 of the petition, plaintiffs misstate that “the
State itself conceded that if the display proscription affects
First Amendment protections, strict scrutiny would be applica-
ble and the exemption would be unconstitutional.” Defendants
never made any statement resembling this in any of the lower
court briefs.
a
25
obscene materials. In Young v. American Mini Theatres, 427
U.S. 50 (1976), the Court's plurality opinion appears to
apply a reasonable basis test to a zoning regulation of
erotic, but non-obscene, material. Id. at 71-72. See aiso
Hart Book Stores v. Edmisten, 612 F.2d 821, 831 n.13 (4th
Cir. 1979) (“The Mini Theatres plurality apparently consid-
ered that clzssification of sexually explicit materials
would invoke only minimal scrutiny, 427 U.S. at 70-73.”)
In Kucharek v. Hanaway,. 9C2 F.2d 513 (7th Cir. 1990), the
Seventh Circuit applied the rational basis test of equal
protection in upholding an exemption to a Wisconsin
obscenity statute for libraries, schools, and contract
printers. Id. at 520-21. The Ninth Circuit has reached a
similar conclusion. In Ripplinger v. Collins, 868 F.2d 1043
(9th Cir. 1989), the Ninth Circuit applied the rational
basis test and rejected an equal protection challenge to an
exemption to both adult obscenity and minors’ access
provisions in an Arizona statute. Id. at 1050.
The Tenth Circuit has reached the same conclusion.
In M.S. News, 721 F.2d 1281, that court employed the
rationality test in upholding an exemption in a Wichita
minors’ access law for noncommercial displays or distri-
butions. The Tenth Circuit convincingly pointed out the
different incentives involved in commercial and non-com-
mercial uses of covered materials:
Commercial enterprises have the economic
incentive to make sales and are therefore more
likely to press the display and dissemination of
material harmful to minors. Hence making a
distinction between commercial and noncom-
mercial enterprises is sufficiently grounded in a
legitimate state interest.
26
Id. at 1291-92. Although the Georgia Act does not exempt
as many non-commercial uses as the Wichita ordinance,
the Eleventh Circuit correctly recognized that its library
exemption does in fact distinguish commercial from non-
commercial uses. 919 F.2d at 1511. Moreover, in Piepen-
burg v. Cutler, 649 F.2d 783 (10th Cir. 1981), the Tenth
Circuit upheld an affirmative defense in a Utah obscenity
statute for educational and similar uses. Id. at 785-87.
Numerous other lower court decisions have reached
the same conclusion. See e.g., American Booksellers Ass'n v.
Rendell, 481 A.2d 919, 942 (Pa. Super. 1984); Long v. 130
Market St. Gift & Novelty, 440 A.2d 517, 523-24 (Pa. Super.
1982).
Plaintiffs cite the Eighth Circuit’s decision in Upper
Midwest, 780 F.2d 1389, as creating a circuit conflict on
equal protection. review of exemptions to obscenity stat-
utes. (Petition at 25 n.5). In Upper Midwest, the district
court applied strict scrutiny in striking exemptions to a
Minneapolis minors’ access ordinance for libraries,
schools, and several other categories of institutions and
individuals. The district court held, however, that the
remainder of the ordinance was constitutional and sever-
able. The district court’s use of strict scrutiny to strike the
exemptions was not appealed to or reviewed by the
Eighth Circuit. 780 F.2d at 1391. Noting that the exempted
uses were probably already protected through the serious
value prong of the obscenity test, the Eighth Circuit did
review and uphold the district court’s decision on sever-
ability. Id. at 1398-99. Thus, the Eighth Circuit’s decision
does not create a circuit conflict. As is evident from the
above discussion, all recent circuit decisions have applied
27
the rational basis test in upholding exemptions and
defenses similar to that presented here.
It would indeed be anomalous to strike on equal
protection grounds exemptions and defenses for educa-
tional and non-commercial uses of sexually explicit mate-
rial. This would result in the criminalization of more
speech than the Georgia Legislature has chose to crimi-
nalize. As the Eleventh Circuit stated, “Finally, striking
down such an exemption would hinder rather than pro-
mote robust speech.” 919 F.2d at 1512. See also Ripplinger,
868 F.2d at 1050 (striking an obscenity statute exemption
“would not serve the first amendment policy of encour-
aging and furthering free expression”); Kucharek, 902 F.2d
at 520 (noting the curiosity of challenging an exemption
on the ground of its “leniency”).
,’
v
CONCLUSION
For the above-stated reasons, the Court should deny
plaintiffs’ petition. As concluded by the Eleventh Circuit,
the Georgia minors’ access law, when understood in light
of this Court’s decision in Pope, the scienter provision,
and readily available narrowing constructions, has only
an incidental and minimal effect on protected adult
speech. This effect is not substantial and not a basis for
facial overbreadth invalidation. As the Fourth, Eighth,
Tenth and now Eleventh Circuits have recognized,
minors’ access laws at most work a slight inconvenience
to a limited amount of adult speech while preserving
ultimate access by adults. Moreover the decision by the
28
Georgia legislature to protect public libraries from
obscenity prosecutions is eminently rational and not in
conflict with the Equal Protection Clause. This conclusion
by the Eleventh Circuit is also consistent with all perti-
nent decisions of other circuits.
Respectfully submitted,
MicHaet |. Bowers
Attorney General of Georgia
Georce M. WeavER
Special Assistant Attorney
General of Georgia
Counsel of Record
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.